Opposition Brief — Jersey Central Power & Light Co. v. Freehold Cogeneration Associates

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

JUL § 1995 ;

: lo

Nos. 941977, 94-1905... ae |

~~

inetd

IN THE

Hupreme Court of the United Htates

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

Respondent.

THE NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF THE RATEPAYER ADVOCATE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

Respondent.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT F. SHAPIRO

Counsel of Record

LYNN N. HARGIS

MARTIN W. GITLIN

Chadbourne & Parke

1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 289-3000

Attorneys for Respondent Freehold

July 5, 1995 Cogeneration Associates, L.P.

a)

A \

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether Section 210(e) of the Public Utility

Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 ("PURPA") and the Federal

Energy Regulatory Commission's implementing regulations,

which exempt qualifying cogeneration facilities from state

rate regulation, preempt the New Jersey regulatory agency

from modifying the rates of a qualifying cogeneration facility

in a long-term contract where those rates were "locked-in"

and approved by the agency under another provision of

PURPA in orders that were not challenged and that have

become final and nonappealable.

RULE 29.1 LIST

Respondent Freehold Cogeneration Associates, L.P.

("Freehold") is a limited partnership. Constellation Energy,

Inc., through wholly-owned subsidiaries, owns a | percent

general partnership interest and a 49 percent limited

partnership interest in Freehold. Constellation Energy, Inc.

is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Constellation Holdings, Inc.,

which, in turn, is a wholly-owned subsidiary of Baltimore

Gas & Electric Company, a publicly traded company. The

other general partner in Freehold is APS Freehold, Inc., with

a 1 percent general partnership interest. APS Freehold, Inc.

is a privately held corporation. The remaining limited

partnership interest in Freehold (49 percent) is held by APS

Associates, L.P. APS Associates, L.P. comprises Advanced

Power Systems, Inc., a privately held corporation owning a

98 percent general partnership interest, and Interstate

Business Corporation and Wilson Securities Corporation,

each a privately held corporation owning a | percent limited

partnership interest.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

RULE 29.1 LIST

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

I. Nature of the Case

II. The Statutory and Regulatory Scheme

A. Federal Power Act.

B.

Section 210 of PURPA

The FERC's Rules Under

Section 210(a) (Purchase

at Avoided Cost)

Section 210(e) and the

FERC's Rules Thereunder

(Exemption from Utility

Regulation) fedsens

Implementation of the FERC's

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont'd)

TTT. — Peachupnt TOU esssissssitinivsaveintbaetnspscies 9

IV. The Decision Below....ccccccccsctecsecesccccescsececece 12

. Neither The New Jersey Board

of Regulatory Commissioners, the

Appellee Below, Nor the Federal

Energy Regulatory Commission, the

Agency Whose Rules Are Being

Applied, Are Challenging the Third

Circusit's TRON ocicsscsscstcsisciadiiniineiatiennes 3

II. The Third Circuit's Holding is Fully

Consistent With the Other High

Appellate Court Decisions That

Have Addressed Attempts to

Revisit An Approved QF Contract............. 15

Ill. The Third Circuit's Decision is

- Consistent With Recent Decisions

By the FERC Interpreting PURPA

and Its Regulatigett.......sccccccesscesoesssovnrssabatannes 17

-iv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont'd)

Page

Jersey Central's Allegations of a

Large Disparity Between Avoided

Costs and the Rates That It Will

Pay Under the PPA Are Wholly

Unsubstantiated and Are Irrelevant

FERC's Implementing Regulations

Are No Longer Subject To Challenge........... 21

Freehold Presented a Valid Claim

That It is Exempt From Rate :

Regulation Under Section 210(€)..............+++ 23

A. As an Action Under Section

210(e) of PURPA, Jurisdiction

Over This Matter Properly

Resided with the Federal

B. The BRC Impermissibly

Sought to Regulate Freehold's

Rates After They Had Been

Locked-In and Approved...............+ 25

The "Regulatory Out" Clause of the PPA

Does Not Confer on the BRC Power to

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont'd)

Page

VIII. The Division of The Ratepayer

Advocate's Claim That the BRC's

Approval of the PPA Was Ultra

Vires Is Baseless And, In Any

Event, Untimely Raised................0sssssseeees 28

LATIN, .cvsescrsctsvessssnsiinseinieiuiieaiainimitbliteeein 29

APPENDICES TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

COURT CASES:

Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp. v.

Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n,

675 F.2d 1226 (D.C. Cir. 1982),

rev'd on other grounds sub nom.,

Am. Paper Inst. v.

Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp.,

AGI U.S. 4GZ (19C3) esccceccccasescccssossssesvecscceecesceses 8, 22

Am. Paper Inst., Inc. v.

Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp.,

AGT TI BE AOD C1963) neceecececccccarscsscccccsoccssssesseeseses 7, 21

Bristol Energy Corp. v.

N.H. Public Utils. Comm'n,

13 F.3d 471 (ist Cir. 1994)..........cccecccccccccecsoesssesenss 24

Duignan v. United States,

ZIG UB. TOS CIB ET )asceccccciesisevinsasnisciserinncececcosnsccheots 28

Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n v. Miss.,

456 U.S. T42 (1962) nxceseseeccossiccecsccsccccerseseeseeses 4,9, 20

Fed. Power Comm'n v.

S. Cal. Edison Co.,

376 U.S. 20S (19G4).nc.cerecccceercsecsscesecroccseccsccrsccsecsseses 3

Indep. Energy Producers Ass'n v.

Cal. Pub. Utils. Comm'n,

36 F.3d 848 (9th Cir. 1984)...........cccceseeeeees 13, 15, 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page

Jersey Central Power & Light Co. v.

Fed. Power Comm'n,

FID UD. GE CEC i cceececcrnpriccuicicnctssersinvenasinscuseseenpenee 2

Pub. Utils. Comm'n v.

Attleboro Steam & Elec. Co.,

ZFS CS, BS CEFR ep scecerensirinsinnecisitensiitnietitaiionsbascisiiaaaias 3

Shaw v. Delta Airlines,

AGS US. FE Ga ais cscencscncqiinishsiictiianinthinnsvaniacninen 24

Smith Cogeneration Management, Inc. v.

Corp. Comm.,

963: P.2d 1227 (ORER. 19935) ..cccosecinreoscasseventniesen 13, 16

United States v. Nixon,

AES US. GES CIF) acecceceveritisiinccnunsilinttiiamnascitvets 21

United States v.

Pub. Utils. Comm'n of Cal.,

bo gS Ge. 14 |. < | See ern 3,9

ADMINISTRATIVE CASES:

Conn. Light & Power Co.,

71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH)

F-G1 GSS 06 CETTE CFI cers secccccanevetsemcianisiisincnsaians 15

Metro. Edison Co./Penn. Elec. Co.,

Docket No. ER95-41-000 (approved by

vote of the FERC on June 28, 1995).............ssssseeees 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page

New York State Elec. & Gas Corp.,

71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH)

| 61,027 (1995).............cccccccecscscecscsreressesessceseees 8, 17, 22

West Penn Power Co.,

71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH)

F 61,153 (1995)...........cccocscsrsssesssscesecssecesesesesors 8, 17, 19

STATUTES:

Federal Power Act of 1935,

I iisvotaiciciihiaicciaatvieincebnesoneneanastsnsinisincensoetion 3

Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act

of 1978, Pub.L.No. 95-617,

G2 Gee BEET CG a assisccsccesscscecncasssssccccscsesoscsoses passim

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(a) (1988).......cccccesesercereeseneeseneeees 5,24

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(b) (1988)........cscccsssserereesssecsecnssenseesers 5

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(€) (1988)........ccscssercesesssercererescessereesees 6

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(f) (1988)..........cereccereecercererseseesenes 6, 24

1G US.) § BIAa- BL) (BSEG) nanan eneceseneesoresi 6, 24

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(h)(2)(B) (1988).......cscssecerereeseereseseesees 7

16 U.S.C. § 2633€a) (1988)...........c.ceccssssecserereecerenssserseserssee 6

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page

REGULATIONS:

Small Power Prod. and Cogeneration

Facilities, Order No. 69, 45 Fed. Reg.

12214 (Feb. 5, 1980), aff'd in part

and vacated in part, Am. Elec. Power

Serv. Corp. v. Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n,

675 F.2d 1226 (D.C. Cir. 1982), rev'd

in part, Am. Paper Inst. v. Am. Elec.

Power Serv. Corp., 461 U.S. 402 (1983).............. passim

18 CPR. S ZZ. Ci ietencataterttirnnshenctesiisttiicecesess 7

18 C.F. § 2OZ. SOG NZ) CH issiccrecitecieseinstsscescissceseses 7

18 CPR. SZ SOC I Ce icteric te tobeiraeitinctvicks. 8

18 CER. § ZOZ SOG IZ) C1GOG cnciccscsscecsnnvckcasoviectonisarnvecss 7

18 CPR. § ZOA GE CGI i ricsseccssnaceitalablsiebiedicticinen 9

1S CPR. § FOSS CGO 0 rscsensstcesicataccadibaii eetlaaatitetnns 9

18 CER, § 292.6026) (1996 ssserossaisccccidscssiutierciatsneteceas 23

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Page

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th Cong.

2d. Sess. (Oct. 10, 1978) reprinted in

1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. (92 Stat.) 783 1-32.........ccscscrcereeerees

Nos. 94-1977, 94-1995

IN THE

Hupreme Court of the United Htates

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT COMPANY,

Petitioner,

v -

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

Respondent.

THE NEW JERSEY DIVISION OF THE RATEPAYER ADVOCATE,

Petitioner,

Vv.

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

Respondent.

ON PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITIONS FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

L NATURE OF THE CASE

Respondent Freehold Cogeneration Associates, L.P.

("Freehold") is a “qualifying cogeneration facility"

("qualifying facility” or "QF") under the Public Utility

Regulatory Policies Act of 1978, Pub.L.No. 95-617, 92 Stat.

3117 (1978) ("PURPA"). Pursuant to one section of

PURPA, the Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

("FERC") issued rules, to be implemented by the states, that

established, inter alia, the rates that utilities must pay for the

purchase of electricity from qualifying facilities. Pursuant to

another section of PURPA, the FERC issued rules that are

self-effectuating, i.e., not to be implemented by the states,

exempting QFs from all state laws and regulations respecting

rates and financial and organizational regulation of utilities.

In 1992, the New Jersey Board of Regulatory

Commissioners ("BRC") implemented the FERC rules by

approving the rates contained in a long-term power purchase

agreement ("PPA") between Freehold and Jersey Central

Power & Light Company ("Jersey Central") for the life of

the PPA. The BRC's order was never challenged and is final .

and nonappealable. Freehold contended, and the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit held in the

"Freehold" decision below,! that, once the rates in the PPA

were determined by the BRC to be just and reasonable and

prudently incurred for the life of the PPA in a final and

nonappealable order, the BRC's implementation under

PURPA ceased. Consequently, its requirement in 1994 that

Freehold renegotiate those rates or submit to a hearing that

would lead to a modification of the rates or withdrawal of the

BRC's prior approval is preempted by PURPA and the

FERC's implementing regulations. Those regulations

specifically allow qualifying facilities to lock-in the rates for

l Freehold Cogeneration Associates, L.P. v. Board of Regulatory

Commissioners of the State of New Jersey, 44 F.3d 1178 (3rd. Cir.

1995). (Pet. App. A-1 - A-29).

the life of the contract and exempt qualifying facilities from

rate regulation by the states.

The Third Circuit's decision below is consistent with

PURPA and the FERC's implementing regulations and with

the two high appellate court decisions that have addressed

the issue of a state's right to revisit the rates in a QF contract

once they have been established. There is no compelling

reason to hear this case.

IL THE STATUTORY AND REGULATORY

SCHEME

A. Federal Power Act

In 1935, the Congress enacted Part II of the Federal

Power Act ("FPA"), 16 U.S.C. §§ 824-824k (1988), which

delegated to the Federal Power Commission (now the FERC)

the exclusive authority to regulate the rates for the

transmission and sale at wholesale of electric energy in

interstate commerce. United States v. Pub. Utils. Comm'n of

Cal., 345 U.S. 295 (1953). The legislation was a "direct

result" of this Court's holding in Pub. Utils. Comm'n v.

Attleboro Steam & Elec. Co., 273 U.S. 83 (1927) that the

states lacked authority to regulate the rates for interstate

sales of electricity for resale. United States v. Pub. Utils.

Comm'n of Cal., supra, 345 U.S. at 311. See Jersey Central

Power & Light Co. v. Fed. Power Comm'n, 319 U.S. 61, 67-

68 (1943); Fed. Power Comm'n v. Southern California

Edison Co., 376 U.S. 205, 215-216 (1964).

B. PURPA

In 1978 Congress passed PURPA as part of

comprehensive national energy legislation to address the

nation's energy crisis. See Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n v.

Miss., 456 U.S. 742, 745-6 (1982). To make the nation more

energy independent, the Congress determined that certain

types of electricity production facilities were to be

encouraged because they provide important benefits to

society. Jd. at 745-6, 750. Those facilities include small

power production facilities that use renewable energy

sources such as solar, wind, biomass and water, and

cogeneration facilities that use fuel more efficiently by

sequentially producing from that fuel both electricity and

useful thermal energy (usually in the form of steam) for

manufacturing or heating purposes. /d. at 750, n.11.

PURPA represents a marked, albeit limited, departure from.

the traditional regulatory scheme, under which the FERC

exercises exclusive jurisdiction over wholesale rates in

interstate commerce. Under PURPA, the contract rates for a

utility’s wholesale purchases from QFs are determined

according to regulations promulgated by the FERC, but

implemented by state utility commissions.

‘. Section 210 of PURPA

The QF provisions of PURPA reflect Congress’

determination that there were two chief impediments to

encouraging such non-utility energy producers: (1) utilities

were reluctant to buy power from them; and (2) such power

producers themselves were reluctant to shoulder the burdens

of traditional utility regulation. Jd. at 750-51. To overcome

these impediments, Congress, in enacting Section 210 of

PURPA ("Section 210"), provided a framework for federal

and state implementation of utility purchase obligations and

ratemaking principles, exemption from federal and state

utility regulation, and certain judicial review mechanisms.

4

Section 210(a), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(a) (1988), directed the

FERC to prescribe "such rules as it determines necessary to

encourage cogeneration," which would require electric

utilities to offer to purchase electric energy from, and sell

back-up and other necessary energy to, such qualifying

facilities. ;

Section 210(b), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(b), provides that

the regulations promulgated by the FERC under Section

210(a) shall ensure that the rates for the purchase of power

from a QF shall be "just and reasonable" to the electric

consumers of the purchasing electric utility, and shall not

exceed the incremental cost to the electric utility of

alternative electric energy. This incremental cost of

alternative electric energy is commonly referred to as the

electric utility's "avoided cost."2

However, the conference committee report

accompanying PURPA made it clear that in referring to the

term "just and reasonable":

It is not the intention of the conferees that

cogenerators and small power producers become

subject, by virtue of this language, and the rules

promulgated under this section, to the type of

examination that is traditionally given to electric

utility rate applications to determine what is the just

and reasonable rate that they should receive for their

2 Section 210(d) defines the term "incremental cost of alternative

electric energy" used in Section 210(b) for purchases from QFs as: "the

cost to the electric utility of the electric energy which, but for the

purchase from such cogenerator or small power producer, such utility

would generate or purchase from another source.”

electric power. The conferees recognize that

cogenerators and small power producers are different

from electric utilities, not being guaranteed a rate of

return on their activities generally or on the activities

vis-a-vis the sale of power to the utility and whose

risk in proceeding forward in the cogeneration or

small power production enterprise is not guaranteed

to be recoverable.

H.R. Conf. Rep. No. 1750, 95th Cong. 2d. Sess. (Oct. 10,

1978) reprinted in 1978 U.S.C.C.A.N. (92 Stat.) 7831-32.

The conference report continued:

The establishment of utility type regulation over them

would act as a significant disincentive to firms

interested in cogeneration and small power

production.

Id. at 7832.

In keeping with this clear Congressional purpose,

Section 210(e), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(e), authorizes the FERC

to issue rules to exempt QFs from "state laws and

regulations respecting the rates, or respecting the financial

and organizational regulation of electric utilities" and from

federal utility regulation.

Section 210(f), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(f), provides for

state implementation of the FERC’s rules promulgated under

Section 210(a).

Section 210(g), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(g), specifies that

judicial review respecting any proceeding conducted by a

state regulatory authority for purposes of implementing any

requirement under Section 210(a) can be had pursuant to the

same conditions as specified under Section 123 of PURPA,

16 U.S.C. § 2633(a) (i.e., in state court). Section

6

210(h)(2)(B), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(h)(2)(B), permits

qualifying facilities to petition the FERC to enforce the

state’s implementation of the FERC’s rules as mandated by

Section 210(f) and, if the FERC does not initiate an

enforcement action within 60 days, authorizes the QF to

bring an enforcement action in the appropriate United States

district court. Sections 210(g) and (h), therefore, by their

terms specifically apply to review of the state

implementation of the FERC’s rules promulgated under

Sections 210(a) and (f). Neither Section 210(g) nor (h)

requires that proceedings respecting rules promulgated by

FERC pursuant to Section 210(e), authorizing FERC to

exempt QFs from certain regulation, be initiated in any

particular forum.

y 5 The FERC's Rules Under Section

210(a) (Purchase at Avoided Cost)

In issuing rules under Section 210(a), the FERC

determined that the rate at which a utility would be required

to purchase power from QFs would be equal to the utility’s

full avoided cost. 18 C.F.R. §§ 292.101(b)(6), 292.304(b)(2)

(1994). Upon a challenge to these regulations, this Court

held that a rate for QF power equal to the utility's full

avoided cost is just and reasonable to the electric consumers

of the electric utility and fully in accordance with Sections

210(a) and (b) of PURPA. Am. Paper Inst., Inc. v. Am. Elec.

Power Serv. Corp., 461 U.S. 402 (1983).

The FERC's rules implementing Section 210(a)

provide that if a QF sells electric energy or capacity

pursuant to a legally enforceable obligation over a specified

term, the rates for such purchases shall, at the option of the

QF, be based on the utility's avoided costs as calculated

either (1) at the time of the delivery of the power, or (2) at

the time the obligation is incurred. 18 C.F.R. § 292.304(d)(2)

(1994). The FERC's regulations further provide that, where

7 .

the rates are based on avoided costs calculated at the time the

obligation is incurred (the so-called "lock-in" right), "the

rates for such purchases do not violate [FERC’s regulations

or PURPA] if the rates for such purchases differ from

avoided costs at the time of delivery." 18 C.F.R.

§ 292.304(b)(5) (1994).

Thus, the FERC explicitly recognized that a utility’s

avoided costs might change over time, but that any such

change subsequent to the QF's incurring a legally enforceable

obligation? to provide power to the utility would not cause

that obligation to violate PURPA or the rules promulgated

thereunder. See Small Power Prod. and Cogeneration

Facilities; Regulations Implementing Section 210 of PURPA,

Order No. 69, 45 Fed Reg. 12,214, 12,224 (Feb. 25, 1980)

("The import of this section is to ensure that a qualifying

facility which has obtained the certainty of an arrangement is

not deprived of the benefits of its commitment as a result of

changed circumstances."), aff'd in part and vacated in part,

Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp. v. Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n,

675 F.2d 1226 (D.C. Cir. 1982), rev’d in part, Am. Paper

Inst. v. Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp., 461 U.S. 402 (1983);

West Penn Power Co., 71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep.

(CCH) 4 61,153 (1995); New York State Elec. & Gas Co.,

71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) ¢ 61,027 (1995).

3 The FERC used the term "legally enforceable obligation” in its

rules to encompass obligations that did not rise to the level of an

executed contract. As the Commission explained in its preamble to the

regulations: “Use of the term ‘legally enforceable obligation’ is intended

to prevent a utility from circumventing the requirement that provides

capacity credit for an eligible facility merely by refusing to enter into a

contract with the qualifying facility." 45 Fed. Reg. at 12,224 (February

25, 1980).

3. Section 210(e) and the FERC's

Rules Thereunder (Exemption

from Utility Regulation)

To remove the second impediment to QF

development identified by Congress, the burdens of

traditional utility regulation, Section 210(e) authorizes the

FERC to promulgate rules to exempt QFs from both federal

and state utility regulation if it determines such exemption is

necessary to encourage cogeneration and small power

production. Pursuant to Section 210(e), the FERC issued

rules exempting QFs from most federal utility regulation and

from all state laws and regulations regarding rates and the

financial and organizational regulation of utilities. 18 C.F.R.

§§ 292.601 and 292.602 (1994).

Cc. Implementation of the FERC's Rules

The provisions for implementing the FERC'’s rules

are unusual. Section 210(f) provides that each state

regulatory authority must implement the FERC's rules under

Section 210(a) for each electric utility for which it has

ratemaking authority. Thus, despite the fact that wholesale

electricity rates are the exclusive province of the FERC, see

United States v. Pub. Utils. Comm'n of Cal., supra, PURPA

carved out a limited exception to this rule by requiring the

states to implement one portion of the federal regulations

under PURPA. See Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n v. Miss., 456

U.S. at 759-761.

iL FACTUAL BACKGROUND ‘

Freehold is constructing a qualifying cogeneration

facility in Freehold, New Jersey. In 1989, the BRC issued an

order (reproduced at App. A to this Brief) exempting, or

"grandfathering,” the Freehold project from the BRC's 1989

competitive bidding procedure for the acquisition of new

9

capacity for New Jersey utilities. As the 1989 order

indicated, the new procedure expressly provided that the

BRC would determine on a case-by-case basis whether to

exempt a particular project, and Freehold was one of a

number of projects that it exempted. Jersey Central opposed

Freehold's request to be exempted, but did not appeal the

BRC's order approving that request. Nor did the New Jersey

Division of The Ratepayer Advocate ("DRA") or anyone

else appeal. That order is final and nonappealable.

The BRC's 1989 order directed Freehold and Jersey

Central to negotiate a contract with pricing tied to the

benchmark price contained in Jersey Central's 1989

competitive bidding solicitation. After more than 2 years of

negotiations, the parties signed the PPA on March 26, 1992.

On March 31, 1992, Jersey Central submitted the

PPA to the BRC for approval (letter accompanying

submittal is reproduced at App. B). In doing so, Jersey

Central expressly argued that the contract rates should be

protected for the life of the contract:

Principles of equity dictate that the Board provide

both the purchasing utility and the cogenerator with

sufficient assurances that the avoided costs contract

rate, once approved by the Board, will not be subject

to further scrutiny. In this regard, FERC has indicated

that neither the purchasing utility nor the QF are to be

deprived of the mutual benefits of entering into a long-

term contract based on Board approved avoided cost

rates. In order to preserve the benefit of the bargain

between the utility and the QF, flow-through of the

purchased power costs incurred under this or similar

agreements must be assured.

In the instant case, both JCP&L and Freehold need

to have the certainty that neither this nor future

10

Boards will impair the utility's right to flow-through

to and/or fully and timely recover from its ratepayers

the contracted for, and Board-approved, purchase

price over the full term of the Agreement or exercise

jurisdiction over this or similar agreements.

App. B-3.

The BRC issued an order approving the PPA on

July 8, 1992. (Reproduced at App. C). In that order, the

BRC stated that "the price is equal to 100% of the applicable

avoided cost" (App. C-5), and found that:

the rates specified and the costs resulting therefrom

[are] reasonable and reasonably and prudently

incurred by JCP&L throughout the full term of the

Agreement. Therefore the Board and its successors

will allow JCP&L to flow-through and/or fully and

timely recover the rates specified in the Agreement...

Id. (Emphasis added). Neither Jersey Central nor any other

party, including the DRA, opposed approval of the PPA.

Neither Jersey Central nor any other party sought appellate

review of the Board's order approving the PPA. That order

is final and nonappealable.

The BRC issued an order, dated April 12, 1993 (the

"Towner Order"), directing electric utilities in New Jersey to

assess their existing contracts with qualifying facilities under

PURPA and to bring to its attention any contracts that the

utilities believed no longer were economic. Jersey Central

informed the BRC that the Freehold PPA might be a

candidate for buyout or modification. Freehold then met

with the BRC's staff and voluntarily agreed to certain price

concessions in exchange for certain nonprice modifications to

the PPA.

11

On January 4, 1994, the BRC issued an order

pursuant to purported state authority rejecting the voluntary

agreement between Freehold and the BRC's staff and

directing Freehold and Jersey Central to renegotiate the rates

in the PPA or to negotiate a buyout of the PPA. If no

agreement was reached within thirty (30) days, the BRC

would commence an evidentiary hearing to consider revoking

its prior approval of the PPA. (Order reproduced at

App. D). When no agreement was reached, the BRC issued

an order commencing evidentiary hearings. (Order

reproduced at App. E). The hearings continued from March,

1994 through the beginning of January, 1995, when they

were halted as a result of the Third Circuit's decision below.

The Third Circuit's decision was a direct result of a

Complaint filed by Freehold against the BRC and Jersey

Central in the United States District Court for the District of

New Jersey. The Complaint alleged that the BRC was

preempted under PURPA and the FERC's implementing

regulations from revisiting the order approving the PPA and

the rates contained therein. The district court dismissed the

Complaint on jurisdictional grounds.

IV. THE DECISION BELOW

In a unanimous decision, the Third Circuit reversed

the district court, finding that the court not only had

jurisdiction, but also that federal law preempted the BRC

from revisiting its prior approval of the PPA and its rates:

Based on the overall scheme of PURPA and its stated

goal, and especially section 210(e) and the

implementing rules promulgated by the FERC, we

hold that Congress intended to exempt qualified

cogenerators from state and federal utility rate

regulations.

12

Freehold, 44 F.3d at 1192. (Pet. App. A-24). The court

found that once the BRC had completed its implementation

of Section 210(a) by its 1992 order approving the PPA, its

present attempt to modify the PPA or revoke its prior order

constituted "exactly the type of regulation from which

Freehold is immune under section 210(e)." Jd.

The court went on to explain that its decision was

consistent with two recent high appellate court decisions:

Indep. Energy Producers Ass'n v. Cal. Pub. Utils. Comm'n,

36 F.3d 848 (9th Cir. 1984) and Smith Cogeneration

Management, Inc. v. Corp. Comm'n, 863 P.2d 1227 (Okla.

1993). The court also reviewed the so-called "regulatory-

out" clause in the PPA, which it found to be "unambiguous,"

and determined that:

this clause does not purport to confer on the

BRC any jurisdiction it would not otherwise have. In

particular, it reflects no intent on the part of Freehold

to surrender any of the protection from state rate

regulation conferred upon it by section 210(e).

Freehold, 44 F.3d at 1194 (Pet. App. A-28).

Jersey Central, the BRC, and the DRA filed a request

for rehearing of the panel and of the Third Circuit en banc,

which was denied on March 7, 1995. Two weeks after

rehearing was denied, Jersey Central filed a petition with the

FERC, asking the FERC to void the PPA notwithstanding

the Third Circuit's decision. That petition is still pending.

Jersey Central and the DRA filed their petitions for a writ of

certiorari with this Court on June 5, 1995. The BRC did not

file a petition.

13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

L NEITHER THE NEW JERSEY BOARD OF

REGULATORY COMMISSIONERS, THE

APPELLEE BELOW, NOR THE FEDERAL

ENERGY REGULATORY COMMISSION, THE

AGENCY WHOSE RULES ARE BEING

APPLIED, ARE CHALLENGING THE THIRD

CIRCUIT'S HOLDING

As discussed supra in the Statement of the Case, the

issue in this case is whether the actions of the BRC are

preempted by PURPA and the implementing regulations

promulgated by the FERC. Tellingly, the New Jersey state

agency whose actions are at issue here appears to have

accepted the decision of the Third Circuit. Conspicuously

absent from these proceedings is.a petition by the BRC for a

writ of certiorari, an absence that suggests that the BRC can

live with the Freehold decision.4

Similarly, the federal government is not troubled by

the merits of this case. In response to the Third Circuit's

request below to brief the jurisdictional issues and "any of

the other issues raised by this appeal that it desires to" (See

App. F to this Brief for the text of the court's order), the

FERC filed a brief amicus curiae addressing the jurisdictional

issues in the case but expressly declined the court's invitation

to address the merits. On all the jurisdictional issues, the

FERC sided with Freehold, advocating the same position that

the court ultimately adopted. (The FERC's amicus brief is

4 On June 26, 1995, the BRC filed Notices of Appearance with

this Court in these proceedings in which it specifically stated that it

would not be filing a brief in this matter.

14

reproduced at App. G). More recently, the FERC has cited

the Third Circuit's decision with approval. See, e.g., Conn.

Light & Power Co., 71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep.

(CCH) § 61,035 at 61,152 (1995) (the Third Circuit's

Freehold decision "supports our conclusion").

Roth the BRC’s and the FERC's acceptance of the

Third Circuit's decision fully justifies this Court's denial of

the writ.

IL THE THIRD CIRCUIT'S HOLDING IS FULLY

CONSISTENT WITH THE OTHER HIGH

APPELLATE COURT DECISIONS THAT HAVE

ADDRESSED ATTEMPTS TO REVISIT AN

APPROVED QF CONTRACT

The Court of Appeals’ decision, far from conflicting

with the decisions of other appellate courts and the FERC, as

suggested by Jersey Central (Pet. at 13), is fully consistent

with the two other high appellate court decisions that have

addressed whether a state may reconsider the rates paid to a

QF under a power purchase contract.

In Indep. Energy Producers Ass'n, Inc. v. Cal. Pub.

Utils. Comm'n, 36 F.3d 848 (9th Cir. 1994), the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit struck down a

program under which the California Public Utilities

Commission ("CPUC") permitted the utilities to reduce the

rates paid to QFs under long-term contracts if the utilities

determined that the QFs did not meet certain criteria

established by the FERC's regulations implementing

PURPA. In reviewing the program, the court observed that:

The underlying motivation behind the CPUC

program is to lower the rates set in [the utilities']

standard offer contracts because they are higher than

the Utilities’ current avoided costs. [T]his differential

15

exists because the standard offer contracts lock the

Utilities into paying rates that were calculated on

incorrect assumptions about the future cost of fossil

fuels.

Id., 36 F.3d at 858. As to that "underlying motivation,"

however, the court found that, notwithstanding the "incorrect

assumptions" attendant to the original approval of the

contract, PURPA and the FERC's implementing regulations

precluded the CPUC and the utilities from unilaterally

changing the rates once they had been locked-in by contract:

The fact that the prices for fuel, and therefore the

Utilities' avoided costs, are lower than estimated, does

not give the state and the Utilities the right unilaterally

to modify the terms of the standard offer contract.

** * [In promulgating its regulations implementing.

PURPA, t]he Commission recognized that, at times,

the avoided cost rate provided in the contract might be

greater or less than the utility's current avoided costs

but that certainty as to rate was important...

Id., 36 F.3d at 858 (Citing to the FERC's preamble to its

PURPA rules). This is consistent with the holding of the

Third Circuit below. See Freehold, 44 F.3d at 1194 (Pet

App. A-28 - A-29). Once Freehold and Jersey Central

established the rates in the PPA and the BRC's order

approving those rates became final and nonappealable, the

BRC and Jersey Central were precluded from changing those

rates unilaterally.

The Third Circuit's holding also is consistent with a

recent decision of Oklahoma’s highest court. Smith

Cogeneration Management, Inc. v. Corp. Comm'n, 863 P.2d

1227 (Okla. 1993). There the court held that PURPA

deprives the state regulatory commission of authority to

revisit the avoided cost rates in a QF contract once they have

16

been established. Jd., 863 P.2d at 1241. The court

invalidated a state regulatory commission rule that required

utilities to include in their contracts with QFs a clause

allowing the commission to modify the terms and conditions

of the contract during the term of the contract. It found that

"[r]econsideration of long-term contracts with established

estimated avoided costs imposes utility-type regulation of

QFs. PURPA and FERC regulations seek to prevent

reconsideration of such contracts." Jd., 863 P.2d at 1240.

The court concluded that the "Corporation Commission

rules, to the extent which they require qualifying facilities to

include a notice provision allowing reconsideration of avoided

costs after the contract is agreed upon, are preempted by

federal law." Jd., 863 P.2d at 1242. The analysis and

conclusion of the Oklahoma court apply equally to the

BRC’s attempt to revisit Freehold’s rates nearly two years

after approving them in a final and nonappealable order, as

the Third Circuit correctly held. See Freehold, 44 F.3d at

1193 (Pet. App. A-25 - A-26).

lil. THE THIRD CIRCUIT'S DECISION IS

CONSISTENT WITH RECENT DECISIONS

BY THE FERC INTERPRETING PURPA AND

ITS REGULATIONS

The Third Circuit's decision also is fully consistent

with the interpretation of PURPA and its regulations

advanced by the FERC, the agency charged with

implementing and administering the statute. On several

recent occasions, the FERC has considered and rejected

requests by utilities to declare the rates contained in their

power purchase contracts with QFs to be invalid. See, e.g.,

West Penn Power Co., 71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep.

(CCH) ¥ 61,153 (1995); New York State Elec. & Gas Corp.,

71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) 4 61,027 (1995)

("NYSEG"); Metro. Edison Co./Penn. Elec. Co., Docket

17

a= ch moore rao ene

No. EL95-41-000 (approved by vote of the FERC on

June 28, 1995).5

In NYSEG, for example, the utility sought an order

from the FERC to relieve it of its obligation to purchase

energy from two QFs at rates that had been established in

separate power purchase contracts that had been approved

by the state commission in final and nonappealable orders.

The utility's purported justification for its request was that

circumstances had changed since the contracts were executed,

resulting in a situation in which the rates contained in the

contracts exceeded its then-current avoided cost. The FERC

denied the utility's petition, holding that, under its

regulations, the contract rates were established (i.e., "locked-

in") at the time of contracting.

Specifically, the FERC noted that its regulations

provide that the rates under a power purchase contract do

not violate PURPA if they differ from avoided costs at the

time the electricity is delivered. 71 Fed. Energy Reg. ~

Comm'n Rep. at 61,116, citing 18 C.F.R. § 292.304(b)(5)

(1994). Those regulations were promulgated in the belief

that "in the long run, 'overestimations’ and 'underestimations'

will balance out" and that the lock-in of the rates would

"ensure that a [QF] which has obtained the certainty of an

arrangement is not deprived of the benefits of its

commitment as a result of changed circumstances." /d., citing

Small Power Prod. and Cogeneration Facilities, 45 Fed. Reg.

at 12224 (Feb. 5, 1980). (See App. H to this Brief for text

of NYSEG order.)

5 Metropolitan Edison Company and Pennsylvania Electric

Company are utility affiliates of Jersey Central and are owned by a

common parent, General Public Utilities Corp.

18

This is the same holding as that adopted by the Third

Circuit below: once the purchase rates for electricity sold by

a OF to a utility have been locked-in and approved, those

rates may not be changed unilaterally by the utility or the

state commission as a result of changed circumstances. See

also West Penn, 71 Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) at

61,495-96 (rejecting utility's assertion that changed

circumstances -- i.e., decreases in its projections of avoided

cost from those contained in power purchase contract with

the QF -- justified reduction of the rates it paid under that

contract, which had been approved by the state commission

in a final and nonappealable order). (See App. I to this Brief

for the text of the West Penn order.)

IV. JERSEY CENTRAL'S ALLEGATIONS OF A

LARGE DISPARITY BETWEEN AVOIDED

COSTS AND THE RATES THAT IT WILL PAY

UNDER THE PPA ARE WHOLLY

UNSUBSTANTIATED AND ARE IRRELEVANT

IN ANY EVENT

Jersey Central argues that this Court should grant the

writ because of the "disbenefits” that the PPA allegedly will

cause to Jersey Central's ratepayers (Pet. at 8, 13-14).

Jersey Central completely fails, however, to offer any

support for its claims.

Jersey Central argues that at the time the BRC

approved the PPA in 1992, the rates specified therein

exceeded its avoided cost. When Jersey Central submitted

the PPA for BRC approval, however, it never suggested that

the rates exceeded its avoided cost. Indeed, it argued that the

rates contained in the PPA should be protected for the life of

the PPA. See Factual Background, supra, at 9-12. When the

BRC approved the PPA, it specifically held that the rates

were "equal to 100% of the applicable avoided cost." (App.

19

C-5). No party challenged that determination. Even when

the BRC sought to revisit the rates under the PPA, it did so

on the basis that estimates of avoided costs had declined

since the PPA was approved (see App. D-4, 11, 12, E-2),

rather than on any alleged mismatch at the time of

contracting. Thus, Jersey Central's claim amounts to little

more than a post hoc rationalization that rings hollow here.

PURPA was enacted because utilities refused to deal

with cogenerators and small power producers. Fed. Energy

Reg. Comm'n v. Miss., 456 U.S. at 750-51. Absent PURPA,

there would have been no cogeneration contracts. The

utilities would have continued their construction on the

traditional "cost plus" basis and there would have been no

competition for generating capacity. PURPA helped to

establish the competitive market for generation by requiring

utilities to stop their anticompetitive actions and start acting

in the best interests of the nation. In the absence of

cogeneration, traditional utility construction would have led

to far higher rates for electric consumers.§

6 Jersey Central's claim (Pet. at 14) that the PPA will result in

excessive costs to ratepayers compared to current market alternatives is

wildly inaccurate. Under the utility's market test, nearly all of Jersey

Central's existing generating capacity would be found to be excessively

expensive as well. Moreover, Jersey Central neglects to point out that,

absent PURPA, utilities would have continued to build plants like the

Three Mile Island II nuclear unit, partly owned by Jersey Central, which

has cost ratepayers hundreds of millions of dollars without providing any

electricity. Under the PPA, in contrast, Freehold only gets paid if it

performs properly. As for the Wall Street Journal article cited by Jersey

Central (Pet. at 14), the reporter was demonstrably biased, focusing

primarily on exotic technologies that have experienced problems, not on

the hundreds of conventional cogeneration plants, like the Freehold

project, that have provided and will provide reliable, cost-effective power.

Further, to the extent that there have been decreases

in avoided costs since the rates under the PPA were locked-

in, as Jersey Central has suggested (Pet. at 8), the FERC, in

its implementing rules, specifically contemplated that such

changes might occur, but found that the potential for such

changes was outweighed by the importance of providing the

certainty required for financing of QF projects. See Small

Power Prod. and Cogeneration Facilities, 45 Fed. Reg. at

12,224; NYSEG, supra.

In any event, the relationship between Jersey

Central's current avoided cost and the rates under the PPA is

irrelevant for purposes of this case. As is discussed in

greater detail infra, once the BRC approved the rates in a

final and nonappealable order, its implementation of the

FERC's avoided cost regulations was at an end. Section

210(e) of PURPA and the FERC's regulations promulgated

thereunder at 18 C.F.R. § 292.602(c) (1994) specifically

exempt Freehold from state rate regulation. Consequently,

the BRC lacks authority to modify the rates in the approved

PPA, as the Third Circuit correctly held.

Vv. FERC’S IMPLEMENTING REGULATIONS ARE

NO LONGER SUBJECT TO CHALLENGE

The provisions of Section 210 of PURPA are not self-

implementing. Rather, PURPA Section 210 is given effect

through the issuance of rules by the FERC. These rules have the

"force of law." See United States v. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683, 694-96

(1974). Thus, Jersey Central's reference to the statutory

requirements of PURPA instead of the FERC's implementing

regulations (Pet. at 22) is unavailing.

The FERC issued its regulations respecting the rates

for the purchase of power from QFs, including the right of a

QF to the "lock-in" estimates of avoided cost, in 1980. They

were affirmed by this Court in 1983. Am. Paper Inst., supra.

21

For 15 years, these rules have been consistently applied and

relied upon by an entire industry. It is far too late to

challenge them now. Indeed, the United States Court of

Appeals for the District of Columbia Circuit, on review of

the FERC’s rules implementing PURPA, expressly observed

in 1982 that the time to challenge them was when they were

promulgated, not years later:

Thus, if petitioners fail to pursue their remedies

now, they do so at their peril of losing the right ever

to challenge the validity of the Commission's

regulations.

Am. Elec. Power Serv. Corp. v. Fed. Energy Reg. Comm'n,

675 F.2d 1226, 1232 (D.C. Cir. 1982), rev'd on other

grounds sub nom., Am. Paper Inst. v. Am. Elec. Power Serv.

Corp., 461 U.S. 402 (1983). See also NYSEG, 71 Fed.

Energy Reg. Comm'n Rep. (CCH) at 61,116 (App. H-32),

("It is now far too late in the Commission's implementation

of PURPA for NYSEG to argue, for the first time, that these

particular regulations have legal and policy flaws requiring

that we abrogate contracts entered into under these

regulations.") (emphasis in original).

VL FREEHOLD PRESENTED A VALID CLAIM

THAT IT IS EXEMPT FROM RATE

REGULATION UNDER SECTION 210(e)

A. As an Action Under Section 210(e) of

PURPA, Jurisdiction Over This Matter

Properly Resided with the Federal Courts

The Third Circuit correctly held that the district

court had jurisdiction over Freehold's claim and that the

jurisdictional bar contained in Section 210(g) applies only to

those portions of Section 210 that require utilities to

purchase energy from and sell energy to qualifying facilities

(Section 210(a)), and to the requirement that state authorities

implement the federal rules (Section 210(f)).

Freehold did not challenge the BRC’s implementation

pursuant to Section 210(f) of the FERC's rules under Section

210(a). Rather, Freehold brought this proceeding under

Section 210(e) and the FERC’s rules implementing that

section, 18 C.F.R. § 292.602(c) (1994). Indeed, the BRC

admits that the challenged order of the BRC was not issued

to implement the FERC's rules, but pursuant to purported

state law.? See App. D-12, E-6, E-7. In its brief amicus

curiae to the Third Circuit, the FERC agreed that Freehold

presented a valid claim under Section 210(e), and that the

federal court had jurisdiction over that claim. See App.

7 The BRC consistently has cited state law as its authority to

hold the hearings to revise or revoke the PPA. (e.g., App. D-12, E-6,

7). Further, in arguing in the district court against the assertion of federal

jurisdiction over this matter, the BRC consistently invoked its purported

powers under state law, 48:2-40, to "revoke or modify an order made by

it." There thus can be no-legitimate dispute that the BRC proceeded

under state law to regulate Freehold's rates.

23

G-14. See Shaw v. Delta Airlines, 463 U.S. 85 (1983) ("It is

beyond dispute that federal courts have jurisdiction over

suits to enjoin state officials from interfering with federal

rights...").

In asserting that Section 210(g) of PURPA deprives

the federal courts of jurisdiction, Jersey Central

mischaracterizes the holding in Bristol Energy Corp. v. N.H.

Public Utils. Comm'n, 13 F.3d 471 (1st Cir. 1994). In Bristol “3

Energy, the First Circuit, on review, held that the federal

courts have jurisdiction over a Section 210(e) claim:

We have considered -- and we reject -- PUC's

argument that 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(g) divests federal

courts of jurisdiction. Section 824a-3(g) places limits

on federal jurisdiction in proceedings involving rules

i j : : rules

not at issue in this case.... We conclude that federal

question jurisdiction exists in this case, ... because

plaintiffs allege a preemption claim and seek to enjoin.

state officials from interfering with a federal right, ie.,

the QF exemption.

13 F.3d at 474 (emphasis supplied). The QF exemption is

the Section 210(e) exemption.

The jurisdictional issue in the present case is virtually

identical to that in the Bristol Energy case. On that issue the

First Circuit determined that the limitations on federal

jurisdiction imposed by Section 210(g) are inapplicable

where, as here, plaintiffs "allege a preemption claim and seek

to enjoin state officials from interfering with a federal right,

24

i.e., the QF exemption." Jd.® The Third Circuit reached the

same result below. See also Indep. Energy Producers, supra,

(district court exercised jurisdiction to hear a claim that the

state agency action that permitted modification of approved

QF contract rates was preempted by PURPA).

B. The BRC Impermissibly Sought to

Regulate Freehold's Rates After They Had

Been Locked-In and Approved

In its January 5, 1994 order directing Jersey Central

and Freehold to negotiate a buy-out or reformation of the

PPA (App. D) and in its March 7, 1994 order instituting

proceedings to reform the rates under the PPA or revoke its

earlier approval of the PPA (App.E), the BRC

impermissibly attempted to regulate the rates to be paid by

Jersey Central to Freehold under the PPA. Indeed, the

BRC's express reason for ordering negotiations and

commencing the hearing was because of its view that the

rates contained in the PPA exceeded the then-current avoided

cost of Jersey Central. See App. D-11. Further, both orders

were issued under purported authority of the New Jersey

regulatory statute. App. D-12, E-7. Nowhere in either order

does the Board suggest that its inquiry constitutes continued

implementation of PURPA or give any indication that the

actions are being pursued under any authority other than

state law. Any such state law or regulation that would

permit the BRC to modify the rates under the PPA is

precisely the type of law or regulation (i.e., those respecting

8 On the merits, the First Circuit addressed the authority to

compel disclosure of data under section 712 of the Energy Policy Act of

1992, a statute that is not implicated in this case.

25

"rates") from which QFs such as Freehold specifically are

exempted pursuant to Section 210(e) of PURPA and the

FERC's regulations. Consequently, as the Third Circuit

correctly held, the BRC's attempt to modify the rates under

the PPA constituted regulation of Freehold's rates, an

activity that expressly is preempted by Section 210(e).9

9 Jersey Central, relying on N.Y. State Conference uf Blue Cross

& Blue Shield Plans v. Travelers Ins. Co., 115 S.Ct. 1671, 1682 (1995)

and Cippolone v. Liggett Group, Inc., 112 S.Ct. 2608 (1992), argues

that the Third Circuit improperly expanded the preemptive effect of

PURPA Section 210(e). In fact, neither of these cases supports Jersey

Central's claims. Jersey Central cites Blue Cross, a case interpreting the

preemptive effect of ERISA, for the proposition that the Third Circuit

disregarded the presumption that Congress did not intend to supplant

state law. In this case, however, it is beyond cavil that Section 210(e),

as implemented by the FERC's regulations, expressly exempts QFs from

all "State laws and regulations respecting the rates . . . of electric

utilities." Consequently, any such presumption is overcoine by the plain

language of the statute.

Similarly, Jersey Central cites Cippolone for the proposition

that the Third Circuit has expanded the preemptive scope of Section

210(e) beyond its "express" preemption of “utility-type" regulation to

matters beyond the reach of that section. In fact, nowhere in the language

of Section 210(e) or the FERC's implementing regulations is there any

"express" language discussing “utility-type" regulation. Indeed, despite

Jersey Central's attempt to limit "utility-type" regulation to some form of

the traditional "cost-of-service" rate regulation to which utilities

historically have been subject, that term is nowhere defined in the statute

or regulations. Rather, the language of Section 210(e) and 18 C.F.R.

§ 292.602(c)(1) (1994) plainly exempts QFs from all state laws and

regulations "respecting" the “rates” of electric utilities. Thus,-to the

extent that the BRC attempted, under color of state law, to modify the

"rates" contained in the PPA, its action expressly was preempted by

PURPA, as the Third Circuit correctly held.

26

VIL THE "REGULATORY OUT" CLAUSE OF

THE PPA DOES NOT CONFER ON THE

BRC POWER TO ALTER QF RATES

The so-called "regulatory out" clause contained in

Section 20.2(a) of the PPA,!9 by its plain terms, cannot be

read as an affirmative grant of authority to the BRC (or, for

that matter, to the FERC or any other agency) to regulate

Freehold’s rates in a manner that otherwise would be

impermissible under PURPA and the FERC’s regulations, in

particular 18 C.F.R. § 292.602(c), exempting qualifying

facilities from state laws respecting the rates of electric

utilities. The provision does not state that the BRC is

the right to modify the contract rates or to deny

Jersey Central the right to recover from its ratepayers

payments made by Jersey Central under the PPA. The

provision merely states that, "in the event that the BRC, the

FERC or any legislative, judicial, administrative or other

governmental agency having jurisdiction over the parties, the

Agreement or the transactions contemplated thereby, should

disallow in whole or in part or otherwise impair the full and

timely recovery by the Company from its customers...", one

of several options shall be implemented. The provision does

no more than refer to whatever valid jurisdiction exists

independently of the contract-and address the allocation of

risks steming from any exercise of that valid jurisdiction. All

parties (plus the Third Circuit) agreed that the clause was

unambiguous. The Third Circuit correctly held that "this

clause does not purport to confer on the BRC any

jurisdiction it would not otherwise have." 44 F.3d at 1194.

(Pet. App. A-28). As previously explained (see pp. 19-21,

10 Section 20.2(a) of the PPA is quoted in full in the Third

Circuit's decision below. 44 F.3d at 1193, n.12 (Pet. App. A-27, n.12).

27

supra), the BRC had no preexisting authority to revisit the

QF rates it had approved years before.

VOL THE DIVISION OF THE RATEPAYER

ADVOCATE'S CLAIM THAT THE BRC'S

APPROVAL OF THE PPA WAS ULTRA

VIRES IS BASELESS AND, IN ANY EVENT,

UNTIMELY RAISED

The DRA asserts that the PPA is "void ab initio"

because the BRC approved rates that were too high and the

BRC's action therefore was "ultra vires". (Pet. at 4). This

argument is insubstantial. First, the DRA did not raise its

ultra vires argument before the district court. Consequently,

as the Third Circuit correctly held, 44 F.3d at 1182, n.3 (Pet.

App. A-4, n.3), the DRA failed to preserve the issue on

appeal and therefore was barred from raising it before the

Third Circuit and likewise is barred from raising it here. See

Duignan v. United States, 274 U.S. 195, 200 (1927) ("It is

only in exceptional cases coming here from the federal courts

that questions not pressed or passed upon below are

reviewed.") Secondly, the DRA's claim is belied by the

BRC's express statement in its order approving the PPA that

the rates were "equal to 100% of the applicable avoided

cost." (App. C-5). The DRA did not challenge Jersey

Central's petition for approval of the PPA or the BRC's

order approving it, which is final and nonappealable.

28

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petitions for a Writ of

Certiorari filed by Jersey Central and the DRA should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT F. SHAPIRO

Counsel of Record

LYNN N. HARGIS

MARTIN W. GITLIN

Chadbourne & Parke

1101 Vermont Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005

(202) 289-3000

July 5, 1995

29

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

APPENDIX B

APPENDIX C

APPENDIX D

APPENDIX E

APPENDIX F .

APPENDIX G

APPENDIX H

APPENDIX I

APPENDICES

TABLE OF CONTENTS

New Jersey BRC Decision of July 31,

1989

Jersey Central Letter of March 31,

1992 to New Jersey BRC

New Jersey BRC Decision of July 8,

1992

New Jersey BRC Decision of

January 5, 1994

New Jersey BRC Decision of

March 7, 1994

Order in No. 94-5168, USCA for the

Third Circuit, dated April 26, 1994

FERC Brief Amicus Curiae in No. 94-

5168, USCA for the Third Circuit

FERC Order in New York State

Electric & Gas Corp., Docket No.

EL95-28-000, dated April 12, 1995

FERC Order in West Penn Power

Company, Docket No. EL95-30-000,

dated May 8, 1995

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

BOARD OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

Two Gateway Center

Newark, N.J. 07162

IN THE MATTER OF ) ELECTRIC/LEGAL

THE CONSIDERATION ) ORDER REGARDING

AND DETERMINATION ) MOTION FOR

OF COGENERATION ) RECONSIDERATION

AND SMALL POWER ) QE DENIAL OF

PRODUCTION STANDARDS ) GRANDFATHER

PURSUANT TO THE ) STATUS

PUBLIC UTILITY )

REGULATORY POLICIES _) BPU Docket No.

ACT OF 1978 ) 8010-687B

Carella, Byrne, Bain & Gilfillan, by Arthur T.

Vanderbilt, III, Esq., Roseland, New Jersey,

and Huber Lawrence and Abell, by Blossom

A. Peretz, Esq., New York, New York, for

Enserch Development Corporation and

Turner Power Corporation

Kirsten, Simon, Friedman, Allen, Cherin & Linken,

by John K. Enright, Esq., Newark, New

Jersey, for Jersey Central Power & Light

Company

BY THE BOARD:

On September 28, 1988, this Board issued two orders

in Document No. 8010-687B. The first order adopted a

Stipulation of’ Settlement which set forth a revised set of

procedures under which New Jersey investor owned electric

utilities would select and purchase electric capacity and

A-l

energy from qualified cogeneration and small power

production facilities, independent power producers and large

scale conservation projects. Said stipulation provided at

page 10:

In addition, the provisions of this Settlement

Agreement shall not be applicable to proposed APP

capacity which may, as determined on a case by case

basis, be grandfathered and subject to Board policies

and procedures regarding cogeneration and small

power production in effect prior to the effective date

of this agreement.

The second order issued on September 28, 1988, in

turn, designated a number of projects to be grandfathered. In

reviewing projects that were in development but were

without power purchase agreements, the Board considered

the following criteria in determining whether grandfathered

status should be granted: (1) whether ratepayers would be

better off if a particular project was grandfathered, i.e.,

whether the grandfathering of that project was in the public

interest; (2) whether negotiations between a project and a

utility have resulted in a firm pricing agreement; and (3) the

effect that grandfathering would have on the development of

the project.

On October 12, 1988, Ebasco Services, Inc. (Ebasco)

filed a Motion for Reconsideration requested modification of

the Board's September 28, 1988 order by grandfathering the

cogeneration project being jointly developed by Enserch

Development Corporation (Enserch), an affiliate of Ebasco,

and Turner Power Corporation (Turner) at the Nestle Foods

Corporation (Nestle) plant in Freehold, New Jersey (the

Freehold Project).! This project contemplates a 100

megawatt cogeneration facility to serve the electric and

l For purposes of discussion, the name “Enserch” will be used to

identify the movants in this matter.

A-2

thermal needs of Nestle with any excess electrical energy and

capacity produced by the facility to be sold to Jersey Central

Power & Light Company (JCP&L).

By letter dated November 30, 1988, the Board was

advised that Enserch had changed counsel and was requested

to "defer action on the Motion for Reconsideration for

several weeks to afford (counsel for Enserch) the

opportunity to review the filing in this matter and determine

if it should be supplemented or amended."

Under cover letter dated January 27, 1989, Enserch

filed a Supplemental Motion for Reconsideration for the

stated purpose of providing the Board ". . . with complete

information regarding the history of the Freehold Project,

which had not been included in the Motion filed on

October 12, 1988, in order to assist the Board in its analysis

regarding grandfathering the Freehold Project, so as to

demonstrate to the Board that the Freehold Project meets the

criteria for grandfathering." JCP&L has opposed the relief

requested by Enserch essentially for the reason that, in the

opinion of the utility, no firm pricing agreement had been

reached between the parties. In addition, Enserch filed a

motion dated May 4, 1989, in which it requested the Board

to compel JCP&L to continue negotiations in this matter.

Subsequent to the filing of the Supplemental Motion

for Reconsideration, the parties have held several meetings

which were attended by Board staff and have submitted

additional information with the Board.

In its initial moving papers, Enserch argued that the

Board had erred by: (1) failing to provide a "reasoned

explanation" for the selection of the grandfathering criteria;

(2) selecting "patently unsatisfactory" grandfathering criteria;

(3) failing to provide a reasoned explanation for its selection

of grandfathered qualifying facilities; and (4) failing to

A-3

grandfather the Freehold Project based upon the selected

criteria set forth in the Board's Order. Enserch further argued

that as the September 28, 1988 Decision and Order

constituted either a final decision in a contested case or the

culmination of a rulemaking proceeding, the Board erred by

failing to comply with the procedures set forth in the New

Jersey Administrative Procedures Act. N.JL.S.A, 52:14B-1 et

seq, While we believe that our decision; herein renders these

arguments moot, we pause briefly to respond thereto.

As indicated hereinabove, the Stipulation of

Settlement provided that the Board would determine, on a

case by case basis, which projects, if any, would be

grandfathered and, therefore, be subject to the Board policies

and procedures theretofore in effect. We believe that the

criteria set out by the Board are fair and practical based upon

the history of and the circumstances surrounding this

proceeding and the affected projects. These criteria reflect

the Board's central statutory responsibility to ensure that the

ratepayers receive safe, adequate and proper service at just

and reasonable rates, and the Board's strong policy concern,

as well as its obligations under PURPA and the pertinent

regulations promulgated thereunder (e.g., 18 C.F.R. 292.401),

to encourage cogeneration. It was the considered opinion of

the Board that the status of these projects specifically set

out in the Board's Decision and Order of September 28,

1988, and the attending benefit to the public interest inherent

there: as sources of reliable and economical electric power,

warranted those projects being grandfathered without the

need for further review or the submission of addition

information. This determination, however, did not prejudice

or preclude the opportunity of any other developer,

including Enserch, to request through a formal filing, that the

Board find that its project should similarly be grandfathered.

The Board would note that the adoption of the

grandfathering criteria was in direct correlation to the

A-4

adoption of the Stipulation of Settlement. Therefore, the

Board considers the arguments of Enserch which pertain to

alleged violations of the Administrative Procedure Act to be

similar to those previously made in a Motion for a Stay and

for Reconsideration of the Board's Decision and Order

Adopting the Stipulation of Settlement filed by the Clean

Coal Developers. In its Order denying said Motion issued

on October 19, 1988, the Board stated, in pertinent part:

There can be no doubt that the record in the

Board's consideration of cogeneration and small

power production is extensive. This proceeding

was initiated in October 1980, and lengthy

hearings were held at the Board wherein a full

record was developed.

The culmination of this effort was a Board

Decision and Order issued on October 14, 1981,

wherein procedures and policies affecting the

development of cogeneration and small power

production in New Jersey were established. The

Board further directed that within five years

therefrom, a review of cogeneration and small

power production would be commenced. Said

review was initiated in a timely manner and

additional hearings were held before the Board

on September 9 and 11, 1987. :

It is clear, therefore, that the consideration of

cogeneration and small power production

policies in New Jersey is and has been a formal

ongoing proceeding before the Board under one

caption and one docket number. In addition, the

consideration of those policies set out in the

Decision and Order of October 14, 1981 was

necessary in order for the board to ultimately

rule on the appropriateness and reasonableness

A-5

of modification affecting the development of

cogeneration and small power production in

New Jersey.

Therefore, for substantially the same reasons

that we rejected the arguments of the Clean Coal

Developers, the Board rejects the claim of Enserch

that the Board erred in promulgating its criteria for

determining which projects are to be grandfathered.

With respect to the application for reconsideration

which is now before us, and based upon our review and

consideration of all submissions in this matter, it is the

opinion of the Board that the development of the Freehold

Project could potentially provide long term benefits to the

ratepayers of JCP&L. This project could provide JCP&L

with an efficient source of energy and capacity that may

offset or delay the need for the utility to build additional

generation or transmission facilities. Such results would

assist JCP&L by allowing it to continue to provide safe,

adequate and proper service to its ratepayers in an area that

has experienced substantial load growth in the recent past.

The Board is of the further opinion that grandfathering, as

opposed to the bidding process now in place, appears to be

consistent with the timely development of the Freehold

Project. |

It is the further opinion of the Board that while

negotiations had not resulted in a firm pricing agreement, the

submissions before us indicate that the parties had reached a

pricing agreement in principle, and despite some uncertainties

therein, we believe that understanding to be sufficient base

upon which to support a determination that grandfathered

status should be approved.

As stated in our September 28, 1988 order and

restated hereinabove, applications from cogeneration and

A-6

small power production projects seeking grandfathered status

will be reviewed and considered on a case by case basis

taking into account the specific facts presented therein. The

Board's final decision must balance the ratepayers’ interest in

receiving safe, adequate and proper service with their interest

in the setting of just and reasonable rates for that service.

After full review and consideration, the Board finds

that the facts specific to this matter warrant the approval of

grandfathered status to the Freehold Project. In taking into

account the interests of the parties and the ratepayers and in

recognizing the uncertainties in the pricing agreement, the

Board also finds that any pricing arrangement and results

from further negotiations will be assessed against the current

level of JCP&L's forecast of its avoided cost as delineated in

its Request for Proposals, which was approved by the Board

on May 10, 1989. We believe that such treatment will result

in a fair level of costs to be borne by the ratepayers while

permitting an opportunity for the timely development of the

project and the realization of project benefits to the

ratepayers. This pricing approach is consistent with the

Board policy in effect prior to the adoption of the

Stipulation of Settlement regarding the appropriate payments

to be made to those projects that wished to receive the

benefits which are inherent in a levelized pricing structure.

As indicated hereinabove, the Board recognizes the potential

benefits of the Freehold Project, including those related to

meeting the capacity needs of JCP&L. In order that these

potential benefits may be realized, both parties are

encouraged to negotiate to reasonable settlement on the issue

of pricing subject to the parameters set out above. The

Board will support such negotiations and will be receptive to

any resulting agreement that will provide an opportunity for

the project to succeed.

Accordingly, the Motion for Reconsideration and the

Supplemental Motion for Reconsideration are granted to the

A-7

’ ’

2: ™

extent that grandfathered status, subject to the terms set out

hereinabove, is approved for the Enserch Freehold Project.

Based upon the foregoing, the Board considers the motion of

Enserch to compel JCP&L to continue negotiations to be

moot.

DATED: July 31, 1989 BOARD OF PUBLIC UTILITIES

BY: /s/

CHRISTINE TODD WHITMAN

PRESIDENT

/s/

GEORGE H. BARBOUR

COMMISSIONER

ATTEST:

/s/

KAREN KENNEDY

APPENDIX B

JCP&L GPU Jersey Central Power & Light Company

Daniel V. Gulino 300 Madison Avenue

Attomey Morristown, N.J. 07892

(201) 488-3404

March 31, 1992

Chrys Wilson, Secretary

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

44 South Clinton Avenue

CN 350

Trenton, New Jersey 08625

Re: Application of Jersey Central Power & Light

Company for Approval of the Power Purchase

Agreement Between Jersey Central Power & Light

C 1 Freehold C say ‘ates LP

Dear Ms. Wilson:

Pursuant to the Board's Orders dated October 14,

1981 and December 7, 1983 entered in Docket No. 8010-687,

entitled "In_the Matter_of the Consideration —and

Standards Pursuant to the Public Utility Regulatory Policies

Act of 1978” ("PURPA"), Jersey Central Power & Light

Company ("JCP&L") submits for filing and approval the

Power Purchase Agreement, dated March 24, 1992, (the

"Agreement") between JCP&L and Freehold Cogeneration

Associates, L.P. ("Freehold").

B-1

JCP&L respectively requests that the Board review

the terms of the Agreement, find and determine that the

Agreement is in the public interest and in accordance with the

law, and that the costs to be incurred by JCP&L with respect

thereto are prudently incurred. In support of this

application, JCP&L respectfully states:

I

Freehold is a New Jersey limited partnership whose

general partners are Advanced Power Systems, Inc. of St.

Charles, Maryland and Constellation Energy, Inc. of

Baltimore, an affiliate of Baltimore Gas & Electric Company.

Freehold proposes to own, operate and maintain at a site

adjacent to the Nestle Beverages Company facility in

Freehold, New Jersey, a cogeneration facility having a

nameplate capacity of approximately 112 megawatts for the

purpose of generating electricity and producing steam! for

the Nestle facility.

Freehold will own and operate the facility as a

PURPA qualifying cogeneration facility ("QF") using natural

gas as the primary energy source, but will also have the

ability to use a secondary energy source such as oil. Heat

will be extracted from the facility and used to produce steam

for the adjacent Nestle facility. The Agreement provides that

100 megawatts (92°F) of the capacity and electrical energy of

the facility will be sold to and will be under the dispatch

control of JCP&L.

| The Thermal Sales Agreement between the Seller and Nestle

contains confidential and proprietary information. At the request of the

parties to that agreement, JCP&L is not submitting a copy of the

Thermal Sales Agreement with this application. Moreover, upon the

request of the Board, the Seller will submit the Thermal Sales

Agreement after receipt of a Protective Order from the Board.

B-2

II

In its order entitled "Order Regarding Motion for

Reconsideration of Denial of Grandfather Status", dated July

31, 1989 (the "Order"), the Board grandfathered the Project

from the Stipulation of Settlement (BPU Docket No. 8010-

687B) which requires, among other things, that the State's

electric utilities competitively bid all non-utility generation

capacity. In its Order, the Board directed "that any pricing

arrangement that results from further negotiation will be

assessed against the current level of JCP&L's forecast of its

avoided costs as delineated in its Request for Proposals,

which was approval by the Board on May 10, 1989".

Accordingly, pursuant to the Board's Order, the total Project

payments are equal to JCP&L's 1989 Avoided Costs.

Pursuant to the Agreement, the Variable Energy

Payment will be made to Freehold for each kilo-watt hour

generated and sold to JCP&L during a scheduled Dispatch

Period and associated start-up and shut-down periods. The

Variable Energy Rate is established at 2.20¢ per kWH in

1995, and will be escalated 7% per year on each January |

commencing with January 1, 1996. Based on these dispatch

rates, it is expected that the facility will be economically

dispatched for about 7000 hours/year. With an average

annual availability of 94%, the capacity factor for the facility

should be approximately 75%. The Fixed Payment

component of the Project pricing will commence on the

Commercial Operation Date and will increase on each

anniversary of the Commercial Operation Date by a

predetermined amount. Freehold will be entitled to receive

the full Fixed Payment only if the annual Contract

Availability remains at or above 94%. If the Contract

Availability falls below 94%, the Fixed Payment is reduced

proportionately.

B-3

en

Finally, the term of the Agreement is for twenty (20)

years commencing on the Commercial Operation Date, which

occurs 48 months after the month in which regulatory

approval of the Agreements is obtained. Furthermore, the

Agreement also provides for a Suspense Account should the

Seller elect to front-end load payments. As provided in the

Agreement, Freehold must propose the percentage of and

number of years during which Fixed Payments are to be

front-end loaded. The Agreement, however, limits the front-

end loading duration to twenty years and the front-end

loading percentage to 65% consistent with JCP&L's prior

power purchase agreements.

Il

State utility commissioners are vested with the

esponsibility of assuring that the jurisdictional utilities act in

the public interest in their contractual arrangements. This

fundamental tenet of regulatory law has given rise to the

question of whether this Board or its successor might at

some point in the future try to exercise jurisdiction over this

Agreement or refuse to permit JCP&L to flow through to,

and/or fully and timely recover from its ratepayers the rates

specified in the Agreement over the full term thereof.

Principles of equity dictate that the Board provides

both the purchasing utility and the cogenerator with

sufficient assurances that the avoided costs contract rate,

once approved by the Board will not be subject to further

scrutiny. In this regard, FERC has indicated that neither the

purchasing utility not the QF are to be deprived of the

mutual benefits of entering into a long-term contract based on

Board approved avoided cost rates. In order to preserve the

benefit of the bargain between the utility and the QF, flow-

through of the purchased power costs incurred under this or

similar agreements must be assured.

B-4

In the instant case, both JCP&L and Freehold need to

have the certainty that neither this nor future Boards will

impair the utility's right to flow-through to and/or fully and

timely recover from its ratepayers the contracted for, and

Board-approved, purchase price over the full term of the

Agreement or exercise jurisdiction over this or similar

agreements.

Based upon the foregoing, JCP&L respectfully

requests that the Board:

(1) approve the terms of the Agreement;

(2) find and determine that the Agreement is in

the public interest and in accordance with the

law; and

(3) find and determine that the costs to be paid

by JCP&L under the Agreement are prudently

incurred and may appropriately be recovered

in rates through the levelized energy

adjustment charge or otherwise.

Respectfully Submitted,

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER &

LIGHT COMPANY

ee

Daniel V. Gulino

Its Attorney

300 Madison Avenue

Morristown, New Jersey 07962

B-5

APPENDIX C

AGENDA DATE: 6/9/92

STATE OF NEW JERSEY

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

Two Gateway Center

Newark, NJ 07102

APPLICATION OF JERSEY )

CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT )

COMPANY FOR APPROVAL __)

OF THE POWER PURCHASE i+)

AGREEMENT BETWEEN )

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER )

& LIGHT. COMPANY AND ) DOCKET NO.

FREEHOLD COGENERATION _ ) EM9203059

ASSOCIATES, L.P. )

(Service List Attached)

BY THE BOARD:

By letter dated March 31, 1992, Jersey

Central Power & Light Company (JCP&L petitioned the

Board of Regulatory Commissioners (Board) for approval of

the proposed agreement (Agreement) for the purchase of

electric power from Freehold Cogeneration Associates, LF.

(Freehold).

Freehold is a New Jersey limited partnership

whose general partners are Advanced Power Systems, Inc.

and Constellation Energy, Inc., an affiliate of Baltimore Gas

& Electric Company, which proposes to own, operate and

maintain a cogeneration facility (Facility) at the Nestle

Beverages Company plant (Nestle) in Freehold, New Jersey.

The Facility will be approximately 112 megawatts (MW) in

size and will be a Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act

(PURPA) qualifying facility (QF) under Federal Energy

Regulatory Commission guidelines. The Agreement provides

C-1

pare

Bae

Grok

ag

for Freehold to deliver 100 MW to JCP&L and steam and

possibly native loan electricity to Nestle.

The cs will use natural gas of regulatory

approval and continues for 20 years from the commercial

operation date, which is anticipated to be 48 months after the

date of regulatory approval. The commercial operation date

may be extended due to force majeure without penalty, and

for up to three years by making payments into a liquidated

damages fund.

The Freehold/Nestle project is grandfathered

under the policies and procedures in effect prior to the

current competitive bidding procedures. The Facility was

grandfathered in an Order issued on July 31, 1989, in Docket

No. 8010-687B. The conditions set forth in the Board's

grandfathering Order set a cap on the pricing ‘based on the

avoided costs contained in JCP&L's first round of

competitive bid Requests for Proposals (RFPs) approved by

the Board on June 6, 1989.

The terms and conditions in the Agreement

are similar to or superior, from a ratepayer perspective, to

those contained in the bid contracts and as established in the

Stipulation of Settlement (Stipulation) in Docket No. 8010-

687B. Subject to certain technical and contractual limits,

JCP&L shall have complete dispatching control of the

Facility. |

The price in the Agreement is equal to the

June 6, 1989 avoided cost. The payment to Freehold is

comprised of a variable energy rate of 2.2 cents per kilowatt-

hour escalated at 7% per year and a fixed capacity payment

which produces a total payment equal to the avoided cost.

Since the variable energy rate in this contract

has a fixed escalation rate of 7%, the Board believes a

comparable fuel contract is essential to protect electric

ratepayers from the possibility that the project would not be

financially viable in the future if its actual fuel price

escalations significantly exceed 7%. A letter of intent

between NJNG and Freehold was reviewed by Board Staff

and Staff has indicated to the Board that it is satisfied that its

C-2

terms and conditions will allow for the project to be viable

over its term.

There is a suspense account provision which

requires Freehold to secure 100% of any levelization incurred

by the project. Freehold can choose the levelization it

requires for financing, between 0 and 65% for a period of up

to 20 years. This account exceeds the ratepayer

protection i in the Stipulation of Settlement since

the competitive bidding guidelines require security only if

- jevelization exceeds 120% of avoided cost for gas projects

and the Agreement requires the full amount of the surplus

account to be secured with a letter of credit.

The expected capacity factor of the facility is

75% with an average availability of 94%. The fixed payment

will be reduced if the facility's annual availability factor falls

below 94%. To determine the fixed payment the annual

availability multiplier is equal to the lesser of one (1.00) and

the quotient obtained by dividing the contract availability by

ninety-four one-hundredths (.94). This accounts for outages

whether maintenance, forced or force majeure.

In addition, by letter dated April 13, 1992,

Freehold requested that the Board find the Facility, which

will supply steam to Nestle and electric energy to JCP&L, is

not a public utility subject to the jurisdiction of the Board.

The Facility is a qualifying facility (QF)

pursuant to Federal Energy Regulatory Commission

regulations applicable to cogenerators. The Board has on

several occasions previously addressed the issue of whether

the sale of steam or electricity from a QF to its thermal host

will subject the cogenerator to Board jurisdiction. In its

Order in In the Matter of the Petition for Approval of Power

Docket NO. EM88111219 (March 31, 1989), where th

Board stated as follows:

Petitioners have also requested that

the Board find that the sale by

Chambers to Dupont of steam and a

C-3

portion of the electrical output of the

facility will not result in Chambers

being deemed a public utility subject

to the jurisdiction of the Board.

Chambers, a third party developer,

proposes to develop the cogeneration

facility on property owned by

Dupont and intends to sell thermal and

electrical energy and capacity to

Dupont with all excess electrical

energy and capacity being sold to

Atlantic Electric. In instances such as

this, where the developer provides —-

thermal and electrical energy and

capacity only to the host with all of

the excess electrical energy and

capacity being sold to a public utility,

the Board does not believe that the

sale of thermal or electrical energy and

capacity to the host should subject the

third party developer or its affiliates

to the jurisdiction of the Board.

Therefore, the Board HEREBY

DETERMINES that the sale by

Chambers to Dupont of steam and a

portion of the electrical output of the

facility will not result in Chambers

Cogeneration Limited Partnership or

any of its individual general or limited

partners or their parents or affiliates

being deemed a public utility subject

to the jurisdiction of the Board.

Freehold requested that the same finding be

provided for its Facility. The Facility will sell 100 MW of

capacity and energy to JCP&L and will supply steam and

possibly native load electricity to Nestle. Its sole steam host

will be Nestle.

Board Staff has reviewed a copy of a site

plant for the Facility, showing the boundaries for the Facility

site and the Nestle property, the location of the Facility and

the location of the Nestle plant. The Facility will be located

C-4

on land immediately adjacent to the Nestle plant that is

owned by Nestle. The steam lines used to deliver steam to

Nestle will not cross a public way.

Based upon its review of the location and

ownership of the Freehold facilities and their relationship to

the industrial host, the Board believes that the proposed

Freehold facility meets the standards espoused in the Board's

Chambers Order. On that basis the Board concurs that the

sale of steam or electricity from the facility by Freehold to

Nestle would not subject the developer or its affiliates to the

jurisdiction of the Board under present policy.

The Board has reviewed the Order

grandfathering the Facility and the conditions established

therein and finds that the Agreement meets or exceeds the

requirements for approval. The price is equal to 100% of the

applicable avoided cost and the contract terms and conditions

from the Stipulation were met or exceeded. The long term

gas contract when signed will provide a stable fuel supply

which will assist in assuring ratepayers that the project will

be in a position to produce electricity economically for the

term of the Agreement. The Board FINDS that the

Agreement is consistent with the grandfathering Order.

Based on the above, the Board FINDS the

Agreement to be fair and reasonable and that it will impart

substantial benefits to JCP&L's ratepayers over the life of

the project.

Accordingly, the Board, having reviewed the

Agreement and being satisfied that it is in the public interest

and in accordance with applicable law, the aforementioned

Board Orders as entered in Docket Nos. 8010-687 and 8010-

687B, and the Stipulation of Settlement, HEREBY

the Power Purchase Agreement between Jersey

Central Power & Light Company and Freehold Cogeneration

Associates, Inc., dated as of March 26, 1992, and as such

finds the rates specified therein and the costs resulting

therefrom to be reasonable and reasonably and prudently

incurred by JCP&L throughout the full term of the

Agreement: Therefore, the Board and its successors will

allow JCP&L to flow-through and/or fully and timely recover

C-5

the rates specified in the Agreement and the costs resulting

thereform in the manner set forth in the Board's Order dated

September 28, 1988 (Docket No. 8010-687B) and the July 1,

1988 Stipulation of Settlement adopted thereby, and as

clarified in the Board's Order dated October 2, 1990 in

Docket No. EM88050655.

In addition, the Board having reviewed the

possible sale of thermal and electric energy by Freehold to

Nestle, its industrial host, HEREBY DETERMINES that the

sale by Freehold to Nestle of steam and a portion of the

electric output of the facility will not result in Freehold or

any of its partners, parents or affiliates being deemed a

public utility subject to the jurisdiction of the Board.

DATED: JULY 8, 1992 BOARD OF REGULATORY

COMMISSIONERS

BY:

/s/

DR. EDWARD H. SALMON

CHAIRMAN

/s/

JEREMIAH F. O'CONNOR

COMMISSIONER

/s/ :

CARMEN J. ARMENTI

COMMISSIONER

ATTEST:

/s/

IRENE JOHNSON

SECRETARY

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the

within document is a true copy of

the original in the files of the Board

of Public Utility commissioners

/s/

Chrys Wilson

Secretary

SERVICE LIST

Daniel V. Gulino, Attorney

Jersey Central Power & Light Co.

300 Madison Avenue

Morristown, N.J. 07962

Joseph Bowring

New Jersey Secrest of the Public Advocate

Division of Rate Counsel

744 Broad Street

Newark, N.J. 07102

Robert Chilton, Director

Division of Electric

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

Two Gateway Center

Newark, N.J. 071002

Michael Ambrosio, Chief

Bureau of Rates & Tariffs

Division of Electric

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

Two Gateway Center

Newark, N.J. 071002

Blossom A. Peretz, Esq.

Sills, Cummis, Zuckerman, Radin,

Tischman, Epstein & Gross

One Riverfront Plaza

Newark, N.J. 07102-5400

Todd R. Jaffe

Market Development Manager

Constellation Energy

250 West Pratt Street

Baltimore, M.D. 21201-2423

Helen Wallenstein, DAG

Deputy Attorney General

1207 Raymond Bivd.

Newark, NJ 07109

C-7

I HEREBY CERTIFY that the

within document is a true copy

of the original in the files of the

Board of Public Utility

commissioners

/s/

Chrys Wilson

Secretary

APPENDIX D

AGENDA DATE: 11/24/93

State of New Jersey

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

CN 350

Trenton, NJ 08625-0350

APPLICATION OF JERSEY )

CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT )

COMPANY FOR APPROVAL )

OF THE POWER PURCHASE

AGREEMENT BETWEEN

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER &

LIGHT COMPANY AND

FREEHOLD COGENERATION

ASSOCIATES, L.P.

AND

VERIFIED PETITION OF

FREEHOLD COGENERATION

ASSOCIATES, L.P., FOR

APPROVAL OF JOINT

AGREEMENT BETWEEN

BOARD OF REGULATORY

COMMISSIONERS STAFF &

FREEHOLD COGENERATION

ASSOCIATES, L.P.

:

DOCKET NO. |

EM92030359

aa nee en eee

Ne ee Ne ee a a ee ee ee ee ee Se”

(Service List Attached)

BY THE BOARD:

By letter dated November 3, 1993, Freehold

Cogeneration Associates, L.P., ("FCA") petitioned the Board

of Regulatory Commissioners ("Board") for approval of a

Joint Agreement between the staff of the Board ("Staff") and

FCA recommending certain proposed modifications to the

D-1 Docket No. EM92030359

Power Purchase Agreement ("Agreement between Jersey

Central Power and Light Company ("JCP&L" or

"Company") and FCA previously approved by the Board by

Order dated July 8, 1992.

FCA is a New Jersey limited partnership whose

general partners are Advanced Power Systems, Inc. and

Constellation Energy Inc., an affiliate of Baltimore Gas &

Electric Company, which proposes to own, operate and

maintain a 110 megawatt (MW) cogeneration facility

("Facility") at the Nestle Beverages Company plant

("Nestle") in Freehold, New Jersey. The Facility will be a

Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act ("PURPA")

qualifying facility ("QF") under Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission guidelines. The Agreement provides for FCA to

deliver 100 MW of electric capacity and associated energy to

JCP&L, and steam and possibly native load electricity to

Nestle.

The Facility will use natural gas as a primary fuel

with fuel oil as the probable backup fuel. The Facility will

be a combined cycle facility using a combustion turbine, a

heat recover steam generator and a steam turbine.

The Agreement begins on the date of regulatory

approval and continues for 20 years from the commercial

operation date, which is anticipated to be 48 months after the

date of regulatory approval. The commercial operation date

_ may be extended due to force majeure events without

penalty, and for up to three years by making payments into

a liquidated damages fund.

Background:

In early 1988, pursuant to the then-effective

cogeneration policies of the Board of Public Utilities

("BPU"), predecessor agency to the Board, Enserch

Development Corporation and its partner, Turner Power

D-2 Docket No. EM92030359

Corporation, the original developers of the project,

commenced negotiations on a power purchase agreement

with JCP&L. During the pendency of those negotiations, the

BPU adopted its competitive bidding guidelines (BPU

Docket No. 8010-687B, Order dated September 28, 1988).

Competitive bidding effectively replacing negotiations as the

means of procuring long-term electric capacity and energy

power purchase agreements with non-utility generators.

Concurrent with the adoption of its competitive

bidding guidelines, the Board approved a list of projects that

were grandfathered from competitive bidding. (Docket No.

8010-687B, Order dated September 28, 1988) The

grandfathered cogeneration projects had all reached an

agreement on price with the utility, and were permitted to

finalize power purchase agreements without being required to

go through a competitive bid process.

FCA was not on the original list of projects

grandfathered by the BPU. FCA therefore filed a Motion for

Reconsideration asking the BPU to reconsider its decision to

not grandfather the project. The BPU subsequently issued

an Order grandfathering the project or reconsideration. In

grandfathering the project from competitive bidding,

however, the BPU determined that the project's pricing

should not exceed an avoided cost cap used by JCP&L in its

1989 RFP. (Docket No. 8010-687B, Order dated July 31,

1989) 7

Subsequent to the FCA project being grandfathered,

FCA and JCP&L spent over two years negotiating a power

purchase agreement. A power purchase agreement was

ultimately agreed to and submitted to the Board for approval

on March 31, 1992. By written Order dated July 8, 1992,

the Agreement was approved by the Board. The pricing in

the agreement was equal to the maximum level ordered by the

Board in its grandfathering order, which is the price cap used

in JCP&L's 1989 RFP.

D-3 Docket No. EM92030359

ee

Since the Board's original grandfathering Order and

subsequent approval of the FCA Agreement, two significant

events have occurred. The first is that avoided costs have

dropped significantly. Second, Public Service Electric & Gas

Company (PSE&G) and Towner Electric I, L.P. ("Towner

Electric") negotiated buy-out of a power purchase agreement

in late 1992. In the Matter of the Joint Petition of Public

Service Electric and Gas Company a Towner Electric I. LP,

for Approval of a Second Amendment to Power Purchase

and Interconnection Agreement, Decision and Order, Docket

No. EM91040844, ("Towner"). The Towner Electric

contract pricing exceeded forecasts of PSE&G's avoided costs

by over $500 million of a net present value (NPV) basis for

the 440 MW project; PSE&G, however, was able to

terminate the contract for a buy-out payment of $18.5

_ million.

The Towner case brought to the forefront the concept

of buying out contracts which are no longer beneficial based

upon changed circumstances. The Board in its Order

approving the Towne Electric buy-out, directed the other

electric utilities under its jurisdiction to:

"aSsess existing contracts with particular

emphasis on those projects in the earliest

stages of development to determine whether

or not they remain economic and whether

there are any candidates for exploring buy-

outs or other remedial measures"; and to

report back to the Board staff.

Consistent with that order, JCP&L reported to Staff

that the FCA Agreement exceeded JCP&L's September 1991

avoided costs by $190 million NPV and that the project was

in the early stages of development. JCP&L subsequently

initiated buy-out talks with the project. Those overtures

were rejected by the project.

D-4 Docket No. EM92030359

As a result of the positions taken by JCP&L and

FCA, it was clear to Staff that no agreement was going to be

mutually reached between FCA and JCP&L. Staff therefore

pursued directly with FCA mitigation of the Towner

concerns raised by the Board and identified by JCP&L. In

recognition of the apparent economic development benefits

of the planned cogeneration project for the steam host

(Nestle Foods) and the Township of Freehold, as well as the

economic activity related to the construction and operation

of the cogeneration facility and the substantial benefits for

gas ratepayers attendant to the proposed gas supply

contract, Staff explored price concessions directly with FCA

as an alternative to a project buyout. Staff and FCA

ultimately reached an agreement on price concessions

intended to meet the concerns raised by the Board in its

Towner Order.

These concessions were memorialized in a Joint

Agreement between Staff and FCA which was filed with the

Board on November 3, 1993 for its approval. At its

November 10, 1993 agenda meeting, the Board formally set a

schedule for written comments on the Joint Agreement as

well as on the modified gas service agreement between FCA

and New Jersey Natural Gas Company, which was filed on

November 23, 1992 (Docket No. GM92111058). Comments

and/or replies thereto were received from JCP&L, the

Department of the Public Advocate-Division of Rate

Counsel ("Rate Counsel"), New Jersey Natural Gas

Company ("NJNG"), V.O.L.C.E., and Board Staff.

D-5 Docket No. EM92030359

The Joint Agreement:

The Joint Agreement contains certain proposed

pricing concessions by FCA. The Joint Agreement

recommends that the Board in its Decision and Order

approving the Joint Agreement, recommended to JCP&L that

FCA and JCP&L enter into an amendment to the Agreement

whereby FCA will agree to effectively lower its rates and

provide other incremental benefits as set forth in the Joint

Agreement in exchange for certain non-financial modifications

to the Agreement.

The proposed pricing concessions included in the

Joint Agreement are as follows: .

(a) FCA will provide an additional 10 MW to

JCP&L with no additional capacity charges and |

the energy priced the same as in the Agreement.

(b) FCA will lower its variable energy rate from

3.302 cents per kwh to 3.271 cents per kwh

effective February 1, 2001. After January 1,

2002, the variable energy rate will escalate at 6%

per year as opposed to 7% per.year.

(c) The capacity payments to FCA will be

reduced by $10 million per year for each of the

last three years of the Agreement.

(d) FCA agrees not to sell electricity directly to

either Nestle or to Interstate Waste Technologies

which is developing a sludge to methanol project

on an adjacent site.

FCA requested that the Board approve the Joint

Agreement and find and determine that the Joint Agreement

and the modifications to the power purchase agreement

address all concerns about possible contract renegotiation

D-6 Docket No. EM92030359

and/or buyout of the Agreement raised by the Board in its

Towner Order and by JCP&L in its response to that Order.

Summary of Comments:

FCA argues for approval of the Joint Agreement.

FCA states that it was willing to live with the terms of the

original Agreement. It did not seek any modifications to the

original Agreement. It has offered price concessions in an

attempt to meet the Board's concerns raised in the Towner

Order, not in exchange for other non-price concessions. FCA

values the price concessions at approximately $50 million net

present value (NPV). FCA believes the Staff, in negotiating

and signing the Joint Agreement, was appropriately

exercising its role of insuring that Board's policies are

properly implemented.

JCP&L opposes approval of the Joint Agreement.

As an alternative, JCP&L urges that the Board require FCA

to demonstrate that the project is viable under current

avoided costs. If FCA fails to so demonstrate, JCP&L

believes the Board should require FCA to enter into

negotiations with JCP&L for (a) an appropriate buy-out of

the project or (b) an amendment to revise the pricing to be

consistent with current avoided costs. If no agreement

between JCP&L and FCA is reached within 90 days, JCP&L

believes the Board should commence a proceeding to

determine if the Order approving the power purchase

agreement should be modified or revoked, or, in the

alternative, to disallow recovery from JCP&L's customers of

such portion of the costs thereunder which are found to be

substantially in excess of JCP&L's current avoided costs.

In April and September of 1993, JCP&L made buy-

out offers to FCA. In response to JCP&L's September offer,

FCA stated that in settlement discussions with Staff had

resulted in considerable progress and it was therefore

inappropriate to discuss buy-out with JCP&L. JCP&L

D-7 Docket No. EM92030359

alleges that FCA's discussions with Staff removed are

incentive on FCA's part to engage in meaningful buy-out or

price reduction negotiations with JCP&L.

JCP&L argues that its due process rights have been

violated because of the expedited comment period established

by the Board. JCP&L received the petition for approval of

the Joint Agreement on November 5, 1993. On November 9,

1993, JCP&L filed a letter stating that the proposed schedule

for consideration of this matter was too ambitious. Further,

JCP&L requests hearings on the many factual issues which it

alleges require consideration. Finally, JCP&L objects to Staff

acting in an advisory capacity in this matter since it is

essentially a party to a contested agreement.

JCP&L argues that the Board should not modify the

terms of a freely negotiated agreement between itself and the

project at the request of one party. JCP&L concedes that

the Joint Agreement includes some price reductions, but

contends that the purported savings are approximately $17

million NPV as opposed to the $50 million NPV estimated

by FCA. Additionally, JCP&L strongly opposes the

changes to other contract terms requested by FCA in

exchange for the pricing concessions. Specifically, JCP&L

does not believe the price concessions address the economic

concerns raised in the Board's Towner Order. Therefore, it

does not believe FCA should be relieved of "regulatory risks"

as requested. Also, JCP&L claims that FCA is now asking

to modify terms concerning assignment that JCP&L has

previously refused to modify.

JCP&L contends that the proposed modified price

agreement exceeds current avoided costs by approximately

$1.1 billion over in term, or $350 million NPV. JCP&L does

not believe the Board should take any actions which would

enhance the viability of this project or relieve it of its

obligations under the Board's Towner Order.

D-8 Docket No. EM92030359

Rate Counsel urges the Board to deny the relief

requested in the petition and to order the parties to

renegotiate based upon current avoided costs. Further, Rate

Counsel argues that the Administrative Procedures Act

requires that the Board conduct evidentiary hearings prior to

making a determination regarding this matter.

Rate Counsel concurs with JCP&L that even with the

proposed amendments the agreement is uneconomical and

will continue to impose an egregiously heavy burden on

JCP&L ratepayers. Rate Counsel believes this is contrary to

the Board's Towner Order, wherein the Board directed

utilities to review their existing contracts to determine

whether or not these contracts remain economic and explore

measures that could be taken to remedy any uneconomical

contract.

NJNG believes that the Board should approve both

the modified gas service agreement (GSA) and the Joint

Agreement between Staff and FCA. In essence, NJNG

argues for approval of the Joint Agreement based on its belief

that it will provide economic and environmental benefits in

addition to the benefits to the customer of NJNG.

By letter dated November 15, 1993, V.O.LC.E., an

unincorporated association of residents of Freehold

Township, submitted comments on the Joint Agreement and

to support a Motion to Intervene. V.O.L.C.E. believes FCA

is required to receive a Certificate of Need prior to

constructing the facility. V.O.I.C.E. disputes many of the

alleged benefits identified in FCA's petition and argues that

the modified agreement is not in the best interest of

ratepayers.

By letter dated November 19, 1993, FCA responded

in opposition to V.O.I.C.E.'s motion. FCA contends that the

V.O.1.C.E. motion:

D-9 Docket No. EM92030359

PN a yh Crt ad 6! Soa RISES Coan Oh 8 5

SS ENCORE Ee OMe cae ey Ce ee ope ad x

1) fails to identify what interest, if any the

V.O.1.C.E. members have in this proceeding,

and

2) fails to identify how those interests are different

from those represented by Rate Counsel.

FCA also argued that V.O.I.C.E.'s substantive

arguments lack merit. FCA refutes V.O.I.C.E.’s argument

that the FCA facility is a public utility which must obtain a

Certificate of Need prior to constructing its facility.

FCA argues that the proposed facility is not a public

utility, rather it is a non-utility generator which is exempt

from state regulation under federal law (PURPA) and is

exempt from the requirement of filing for a Certificate of

Need.

With regard to the Motion to Intervene, V.O.I.C.E.

has not demonstrated a direct interest in this proceeding

under N.LA.C, 1;1-16.1(a), nor has it demonstrated whether

any such interest is different from that which is represented

by Rate Counsel. We concur with FCA that the proposed

facility is not a public utility and is therefore exempt from

the requirement of filing for a Certificate of Need.

Accordingly, the Motion to Intervene of V.O.I.C.E. is

HEREBY DENIED.

Discussion:

Both JCP&L and Rate Counsel indicate in their

comments that they were excluded from the negotiations

between Staff and FCA. JCP&L, in particular, strongly

criticizes the actions of Staff in this matter. Before moving

to the substance of the Joint Agreement the Board will

briefly address this issue.

D-1t0 Docket No. EM92030359

In its response to comments, Staff explains its role in

the process from the time of the filing of JCP&L's Towner

response through the filing of the petition and Joint

Agreement with the Board in early November. It is clear to

the Board that Staff acted eritirely in good faith in this

matter. Contrary to the accusations of JCP&L, it appears

that Staff kept the Company fully informed of the status and

content of the discussions. Staff is correct in its assessment

that JCP&L has limited unilateral ability to demand contract

pricing concessions, to the extent that FCA is meeting all of

its contractual commitments. Staff undertook a legitimate

attempt to address the concerns raised in the Board's Towner

Order and JCP&L's response thereto, and to procure more

reasonable rates for JCP&L and its ratepayers. Rather than

launching an inappropriate attack on Staff, JCP&L should

have lauded the effort by Staff to attempt to reach a

negotiated resolution of this issue which would have the

effect of reducing rates to its customers. In the strongest

possible terms, the Board rejects the unfounded attacks on

Staff and other assertions that due process rights were

violated.

We concur with JCP&L and Rate Counsel however,

that while the Joint Agreement provides price concessions

by FCA relative to the original Agreement, which somewhat

improve the economics of the transaction, the revised pricing

terms are still far in excess of current avoided cost forecasts.

It is estimated by JCP&L that the original agreement exceeds

current avoided costs by $1.215 billion, while the proposed

modified agreement exceeds current avoided costs by $1.145

billion (or $370 million and $350 million NPV, respectively).

Absent any further modifications, it is apparent to us that

JCP&L's customers will most likely be saddled with these

excessive costs for the next twenty years, were the project to

proceed.

D-11 Docket No. EM92030359

As indicated above, the Joint Agreement leaves the

pricing in the Power Purchase Agreement significantly above

current forecasts of avoided cost. As such, the Board does

not believe it represents a reasonable resolution of this matter

consistent with the concerns raised in the Board's recent

Towner decision. Therefore, the Board REJECTS the Joint

Agreement. The Board HEREBY ORDERS JCP&L and

FCA to enter into immediate good faith negotiations to

develop modifications to the Agreement to bring it more in

line with current avoided costs, or, in the alternative for an

appropriate buy-out of the Agreement, subject to the Board's

approval. If no agreement between FCA and JCP&L is

reached and submitted to the Board within thirty days of the

date of this Order the Board will commence an evidentiary

proceeding, pursuant to N.JL.S.A, 48:2-40, to consider what

actions, if any, should be taken by the Board, including

modification or revocation of its Order approving the

Agreement.

We would note that information has been introduced

into this record which indicates that there would be

substantial economical benefits for both Freehold Township

and Nestle from the: development of the FCA project.

Specifically, Freehold Township would receive over $6

million in direct benefits, including an upgrade to its water

and sewer system plus contributions to various civic projects

Nestle would receive site lease benefits and energy discounts

estimated to be worth $2 million per year. We therefore urge

the parties to include in their discussion mechanisms which

would preserve the benefits to Nestle and the Township

which have been anticipated in reliance upon the

development of this project.

The substantial magnitude of the apparent economic

disbenefit associated with the existing Agreement combined

with the fact that the project is in the relatively early stages

of development warrants our deep concern and resultant

D-12 Docket No. EM92030359

directive to the parties to negotiate modifications to the

Agreement or a buy-out, consistent with the Board's

regulatory oversight obligations. If the parties work together,

we are hopeful that significant savings to ratepayers can be

achieved while maintaining the benefits for Freehold

Township and Nestle and at the same time allowing FCA to

continue with the project with prices more consistent with

current avoided costs or, in the alternative, working out an

appropriate project termination which leaves all parties

whole. Thus, the Board is giving the parties an opportunity

to try to craft such an agreement in a manner which is least

disadvantageous to all parties. However, the Board is

putting JCP&L and FCA on notice that if they cannot reach

agreement on either reasonable renegotiated pricing terms

more consistent with current avoided costs or a buy-out

arrangement within 30 days, the Board is prepared to

commence a proceeding to consider whether its previous

approval of this Agreement should be modified or otherwise

reconsidered or revoked.

Finally, the Board does not believe it is appropriate

to make a determination concerning the gas service agreement

until such time as the issues concerning the power purchase

agreement have been resolved. On that basis, the Board will

defer action on the gas service agreement until the issues

D-13 Docket No. EM92030359

concerning the power purchase agreement have been

resolved.

DATED: January 5,1994 BOARD OF REGULATORY

COMMISSIONERS BY:

/s/

DR. EDWARD H. SALMON

CHAIRMAN

/s/

JEREMIAH F. O'CONNOR

COMMISSIONER

/s/

CARMEN J. ARMENTI

COMMISSIONER

ATTEST:

/s/

IRENE JOHNSON

SECRETARY

D-14 Docket No. EM92030359

SERVICE LIST

DOCKET NO. EM92030359

DANIEL V. GULINO,

ATTORNEY

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER

& LIGHT CO.

MADISON AVENUE

MORRISTOWN, N.J. 07962

ROBERT CHILTON,

DIRECTOR

DIVISION OF ELECTRIC

BOARD OF REGULATORY

COMMISSIONERS

TWO GATEWAY CENTER

NEWARK, N.J. 07102

BLOSSOM A. PERETZ, ESQ.

' SILLS, CUMMIS,

ZUCKERMAN, RADIN,

TISCHMAN, EPSTEIN &

GROSS

ONE RIVERFRONT PLAZA

NEWARK, N.J. 07102-5400

TODD R. JAFFE

MARKET DEVELOPMENT

MANAGER

CONSTELLATION ENERGY

250 WEST PRATT STREET

BALTIMORE, MD 21201-

2423

D-15

DR. JOSEPH BOWRING

DEPARTMENT OF THE

PUBLIC 30 ADVOCATE

DIVISION OF RATE

COUNSEL

31 CLINTON STREET,

11TH FL.

NEWARK, NJ 07101

MICHAEL AMBROSIO,

CHIEF

BUREAU OF ELECTRIC

RATES & TARIFFS -

BOARD OF

REGULATORY

COMMISSION

TWO GATEWAY CENTER

NEWARK, NJ 07102

HELENE WALLENSTEIN,

DAG '

DEPUTY ATTORNEY

GENERAL

124 HALSEY STREET

NEWARK, N.J. 07101

GERALD W. CONWAY

BERLACK, ISRAELS &

LIBERMAN

95 MADISON AVENUE

MORRISTOWN, NJ 07960

Docket No. EM92030359

APPENDIX E

AGENDA DATE: 2/18/94

3/4/94

State of New Jersey

Board of Regulatory Commissioners

CN 350

Trenton, NJ 08625-0350

APPLICATION OF JERSEY )

CENTRAL POWER & LIGHT )

COMPANY FOR APPROVAL ) ELECTRIC ORDER

OF THE POWER PURCHASE ) DENYINGSTAY

AGREEMENT BETWEEN ) AND ESTABLISHING

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER & ) PROCEDURAL

LIGHT COMPANY AND ) SCHEDULE

FREEHOLD COGENERATION )

)

AND

VERIFIED PETITION OF )

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ) DOCKET NO.

ASSOCIATES, L.P., FOR ) EM920930359

APPROVAL OF A JOINT )

AGREEMENT BETWEEN )

BOARD OF REGULATORY )

COMMISSIONERS STAFF & _)

FREEHOLD COGENERATION )

ASSOCIATES, L.P. )

(SERVICE LIST ATTACHED)

BY THE BOARD:

This matter is before us for consideration of further

procedures consistent with our January 5, 1994 Order of

Denial in the above matter. In that Order, the Board rejected

a Joint 4 KO between Freehold Cogeneration

Associates, L.P. (Freehold) and the Board's Staff for certain

modifications of the Power Purchase Agreement (Agreement

E-1 Docket No. EM92030359

ee et ~ “¢4 Ae, Ps

yc ee Oe TN Be Si oa BR v %

ey eR EAE oP tence Ota tats Loe aE ORE SP NG

or PPA) between Freehold and Jersey Central Power and

Light Company (JCP&L) because we found that, even with

the proposed modifications, the Agreement remains far in

excess of current avoided cost forecasts and is not otherwise

beneficial to ratepayers. We further ordered that Freehold

and JCP&L enter into good faith negotiations to attempt to

reach agreement on a modification of the purchase rates

contained in the PPA or an appropriate buyout of the

Agreement. We further indicated that if these negotiations

were not successful within 30 days, the Board would

commence a proceeding and hold hearings to consider what, if

any, further action we can and should take, including possible

reconsideration, modification or revocation of our July 1992

Order in the above matter, wherein we approved the

Agreement and granted ratemaking approval of the pass-

through of the costs associated with the Agreement to

JCP&L's customers.

While Freehold and JCP&L did undertake some

limited negotiations, they were not able to reach agreement

on a modification of the Agreement or a buyout within the

30-day timeframe. The Board was so advised by a letter

from JCP&L dated February 3, 1994. In its letter, JCP&L

requested that the Board commence a proceeding as set forth

in its January 5, 1994 Order and transmit the matter to the

Office of Administrative Law (OAL) for hearings.

By letter dated February 10, 1994, Freehold

responded to JCP&L's letter and, pursuant to N.J.A.C. 14:1-

8.7, requested a stay of the proceedings referred to in the

Board's January 5, 1994 Order and the hearing requested by

JCP&L in its letter. While Freehold-asserts that the parties

should be given more time to negotiate, the basis of its

request for a stay is to allow the federal court to rule on its

pending complaint and motion for summary judgment in the

United States District Court for the District of New Jersey.

Freehold's complaint, filed on January 19, 1994, seeks

declaratory judgment that the Board's January 5, 1994 Order

directing negotiations among the parties and "threatening

revocation of its prior regulatory approval" are preempted

by the Public Utilities Regulatory Policies Act of 1978

(PURPA), 16 U.S.C.A. Sections 796 and 824a-3 et seq. and

the regulations promulgated pursuant thereto by the Federal

E-2 Docket No. EM92030359

Energy Regulatory Commission (FERC). Freehold also

seeks an order Pinson enjoining enforcement of these

provisions of the January 5, 1994 Order. On February 8,

1994, Freehold filed a motion for summary judgment with

the federal court, seeking an order granting summary

judgment in its favor on the issues raised in its complaint and

request for injunctive relief.

Freehold has requested that the Board suspend any

proceedings on the PPA pursuant to its Order of January 5,

1994 until the question of preemption is definitely resolved.

Freehold contends that if the Board proceeds with hearings

affecting the PPA while the preemption issue is before the

federal court, Freehold will suffer irreparable harm. Freehold

contends that the proposed ings will create a "cloud on

the terms of the PPA" which will create uncertainty about

this project in the financial community. Freehold also cites

the burden and expense of defending itself before the Board.

By letter dated February 17, 1994, JCP&L responded

to Freehold's February 10, 1994 letter and opposed the

request for a stay. JCP&L contends that Freehold has not

met the legal requirements for a stay, in that it has not

demonstrated a likelihood of success on the merits or a

showing of irreparable harm to justify a stay. Neither has it

demonstrated that the legal right underlying its claim is well

settled or that the balance of the equities weighs in its favor.

JCP&L urges the Board to deny the request for a stay and to

proceed with the contemplated hearings in light of the

significant and adverse financial impact on JCP&L and its

customers stemming from the PPA. By letter dated

February 17, 1994, Rate Counsel also opposed the request

for a stay.

Discussion

The issues before us at this time are whether to grant

Freehold's request for a stay of further proceedings before

the Board, pending resolution of Freehold's complaint in

federal court and, if not, what the scope and schedule of our

proceedings should be.

E-3 Docket No. EM92030359

RAEN BRT nO RP

Pursuant to N.J.A.C. 14:1-8.7(d), a stay will be

granted for "good cause shown." The criteria for determining

good cause for the granting of emergent relief such as the

imposition of a stay pending appeal are well settled. For a

stay to be granted, the moving party must show:

®; that the movant will suffer immediate and

irreparable harm if a stay is not granted;

2. that there is a reasonable probability that the

moving part will succeed on the merits;

3. that the legal right underlying the movant's

claim is well settled; and-

4. that the balance of the equities in granting or

denying relief weighs in the movant's favor.

Crowe v, DeGioia 90 N.J. 125 (1982); Zoning Board

the Township of S Service Electric Cable TV. of

NL Inc., 198 NuJ. Super. 170 (App. Div. 1985); Doumani v.

Casino Control Commission of New Jersey, 614 F. Supp.

1465 (D.N.J. 1985). |

A review of Freehold's request for a stay in light of

these criteria reveals an inadequate showing to justify the

imposition of a stay. Based on our review of the record in

this matter, we do not believe that Freehold has satisfied

even a single one of the above criteria.

First, Freehold has failed to demonstrate that it will

suffer any immediate or irreparable harm absent a stay of the

Board's Order. Freehold claims that if the Board proceeds

with hearings there will be a cloud on the terms of the PPA,

which will create uncertainty in the financial community.

However, in November 1993, in Re of the Joint

Agreement between Freehold and Staff, Freehold asserted

that lenders would not make commitments to finance the

project until the rate issue was resolved. It is clear to us that

uncertainty regarding this project has existed in the financial

community for some time because of the uneconomic nature

of the project and that the uncertainty will continue to exist

until all issues involved in this matter are resolved.

E-4 Docket No. EM92030359

Freehold also claims that the federal court will be able

to resolve this matter more expeditiously than the Board in

order to remove the uncertainty. This is unlikely if we were

to retain this matter at the Board and adopt the procedural

hearing schedule as set forth below. This schedule would

enable the matter to be ready for Board consideration in late

April, after development of a full record and evidentiary

hearing(s). Freehold had originally proposed an anticipated

return date of March 28, 1994 for its motion for summary

judgment in federal court. Moreover, any decision rendered

by the United States District Court will likely be appealed

by the unsuccessful party. Clearly, whether the Board

grants a stay or not, uncertainty about the PPA will likely

exist for some time, until the entire matter is finally resolved

and all appeals are completed. If anything, having the Board

retain and hear this matter on the schedule set forth below

may well bring the matter to a more expeditious resolution

than granting a stay at this time.

Second, Freehold has not conclusively demonstrated

that it is likely to prevail on the merits in federal court. The

issue raised by Freehold's complaint and motion for

summary judgment has not been conclusively decided by the

courts. As stated in JCP&L's responses in opposition to the

request for a stay, Freehold's preemption arguments are far

more complex and uncertain than Freehold Asserts. Freehold

argues that the Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of

1978 (PURPA) and federal regulations adopted thereunder

by the Federal Energy Regulatory Commissioners, preempt

the actions contemplated by the Board citing the recent

decision of the Oklahoma Supreme Court in Smith

Service Commission of Oklahoma. The Board notes that the

Oklahoma decision was decided by a 6-3 vote and that, as

pointed out by JCP&L in its January 7, 1994 letter brief, a

review of the Oklahoma decision discloses numerous

and legal distinctions from the issues facing the Board in this

case. Primarily, the cogenerator in the Oklahoma decision did

not have a negotiated ides cen agreement with the

utility. Moreover, as described above, the FERC regulations

provide that an electric utility and a cogenerator can agree to

terms and conditions that differ from those in the regulations.

The presence of an express clause in the PPA wherein the

E-5 Docket No. EM92030359

. ="

parties, without any reservations, agreed to certain

procedures in the event the Board were to disallow charges

associated with the agreement from being passed on to the

JCP&L ratepayers, casts doubt on Freehold's claim that it is

likely to prevail on the merits. In addition, as JCP&L notes

in its letter opposing a stay, there appears to be good cause

for the federal court to dismiss Freehold's complaint on

abstention and other grounds, including comity, election and

exhaustion of remedies. If this occurs, the merits of

Freehold's preemption argument will not be reached in federal

court until after the Board conducts a proceeding, if at all.

The balance of the equities is clearly not in Freehold's

favor. If we deny the request for a stay, Freehold will have a

full and fair opportunity to raise its preemption argument

and other legal and factual arguments against further Board

action in a proceeding before the Board. In addition,

Freehold's alleged burden and expense in "defending" itself

before the Board is not sufficient reason for a stay. For these

reasons, Freehold's request for a stay is HEREBY DENIED.

In its January 5, 1994 Order, the Board stated that if

negotiations between Freehold and JCP&L failed, it would

hold a hearing pursuant to N.J.S.A. 48:2-40 to consider

whether to modify or revoke its Order. approving the PPA -

and the ratemaking pass-through-of the costs associated

therewith to JCP&L's customers. N.J.S.A. 48:2-40 grants

the Board at any time the power to revoke or modify an

order made by it.

. 54 NJ. 418, 425 (1969); N.J. Bell Tel, Co, v.

Bd, of Pub, Util. Comm's. 12 NuJ. 568, 579 (1953) Central R.

Co, of N.J. v. Dept, of Public Utilities, 7 N.J. 247, 254-255

(1951); Sudler v, Environ, Disposal Corp., 219 N.J. Super.

52, 62 (App. Div.) certif. denied 109 NJ. 56 (1987). The

Board also possesses authority to "[i]nvestigate upon its

own initiative . .. any matter concerning any public utility."

. 48:2-19. The Board also has a continuing obligation

under N.LS.A. 48:2-21 to ensure that a utility's rates are just

and reasonable. In re Revision of Rates by Redi-Flo Corp.

76 NJ. 21 (1978).

While we are mindful of the need for rate stability in

purchase power agreements and while reconsideration of our

E-6 Docket No. EM92030359

ratemaking treatment of the rates associated with such an

agreement is not a step to be taken lightly, given the

magnitude of the discrepancy which has developed between

the rates under this Agreement and current projections of

avoided costs, combined with the fact that the project has

not yet been financed nor commenced construction, we

believe that our continuing authority to assure that the rates

of JCP&L are just and reasonable requires us to reopen the

record in this matter to consider what, if any, actions we can

and should take at this time consistent with applicable law

and our regulatory mandate under NLLS.A. 38:2-21.

In light of the substantial decline in avoided costs

since the Board's approval of the Freehold PPA, the failed

negotiations between Freehold and JCP&L and the Board's

powers under N.LS.A. 48:2-21 and 48:2-40, the Board

HEREBY to retain this matter and to hold

evidentiary hearings to consider the following issues:

1. The status of the Freehold project;

a The viability of the project, including the

prospects for meeting remaining milestones

and obtaining financing;

3 The economics of the project, including the

amounts expended to date, the projected costs

of the project, a comparison of the rates under

the PPA to JCP&L's most current avoided

cost estimates, and the impact of the costs

associated with the PPA on ratepayers;

4. Whether the Board can reconsider, modify or

revoke its 1992 Order approving the PPA and

allowing for the pass-through of the rates

associated with the PPA to JCP&L

ratepayers;

5. Whether the Board should reconsider, modify

or revoke its 1992 Order approving the PPA

setting the level of rates associated with the

PPA permitted to be passed through to

JCP&L ratepayers, and if so, to what extent;

E-7 Docket No. EM92030359

6. Whether the Board can order a reasonable

buy-out of the PPA;

7. Whether the Board should order a buy-out of

the PPA and if so at what price.

We note that Freehold's preemption arguments can

certainly be raised in the context of these issues.

Accordingly, we HEREBY DENY Freehold's request for a

stay of the proceedings and we will commence a proceeding

to consider the above issues.

At our February 18, 1994 agenda meeting we

established a procedural schedule which among other things,

set the date for prefiled testimony as March 14, 1994,

established hearing dates on March 21 and 22, 1994 and

dates for briefs and reply briefs on March 31, 1994 and April

6, 1994, respectively. On February 28, 1994, Freehold filed

an Emergent Motion for Reconsideration of the Board's Oral

Decision of February 19, 1994, which established a

scheduled for discovery, hearings and briefing. Freehold

characterizes the hearing schedule as being highly

abbreviated. It asserts that the Board expedited the schedule

based on two incorrect assumptions. The first being that the

parties are familiar with the issues involved. Freehold asserts

that the legal, policy and factual issues are far more complex

than the Board assumed. Specifically Freehold is concerned

that the parties be given sufficient time to present arguments

on the possibility that any Board action to modify or revoke

its approval of the PPA would be preempted by federal law

and/or be contrary to state and federal constitutional

provisions and that the parties have the opportunity to fully

explore the economics of the Freehold cogeneration project.

Freehold also put for the loss of its long-time counsel as a

reason for giving them additional time.

The second assumption which Freehold refers to is

that the hearing schedule takes into account Freehold's

previously stated concern that financing for the project will

be difficult to obtain until the matter is resolved. Freehold

expresses concern that if the purchase terms are altered it will

not be able to obtain financing. It now argues that it should

E-8 Docket No. EM92030359

be given "a complete opportunity to develop a full record in

an orderly manner."

Based on these arguments, Freehold asks the Board to

alter the hearing schedule in one of three ways. First

Freehold asks that the Board transmit the matter to the OAL

so that a complete record can be developed. Alternatively,

Freehold asks that the schedule be restructured to provide for

a aac consideration of the issues starting with the extent

of the Board's authority under federal and state law.

Freehold's last request is that the submission of pre-filed

testimony be deferred two weeks until March 28, 1994 so

the district court be given time to rule on Freehold’s motion

for summary judgment! and the parties be given sufficient

time to assimilate the material obtained through discovery

and obtain the services of non-party experts and other

witnesses.

Replies to Freehold's Motion were filed by JCP&L

and Rate Counsel. Both JCP&L and Rate Counsel objected

to Freehold's request to send the matter to the OAL and for a

phased consideration. Both JCP&L and Rate Counsel

expressed a desire to keep the process moving. However,

JCP&L did not object to a two week delay in the schedule,

nor did Rate Counsel specifically object.

Given our prior determination to hear this matter

directly, we remain convinced that Freehold's request that the

matter be transmitted to the OAL be denied. NLS.A.

52:14F-8(b) provides than an Administrative Law Judge shall

1 Ataconference call with United States District Court Judge Mary

Little Parell held on Tuesday, February 22, 1994, the Judge set Oral

Argument for Wednesday, March 14, 1994, and indicated she would

attempt to rule from the bench after Oral Argument on Freehold’s

Motion for Summary Judgment and the cross-motions to dismiss.

At that time the Judge also expressed the hope that the Board would

consider Freehold's request for a two-week extension favorably.

E-9 Docket No. EM92030359

not be assigned to hear "[aJny matter where the head of an

agency, a commissioner or several commissioners, are

required to conduct or, determine to conduct the hearing

directly or individually." An agency's determination to hear a

case directly rather than to transfer the case to the OAL is

within the agency's discretion, and the agency head clearly

has the right not to transfer a case to the OAL. In-re

i 90 NLJ. 85, 90-92, 104 n.

8 (1992); i

Unemployed-Emploved Council of N.J. Inc. v.

Horn, 84 N.J. 646, 654 (1980); Frank v. Ivy Club, 228 NLL

Super. 40, 55 (App. Div. 1988), rev'd on other grounds, 120

NJ. 73 (1990), cert. denied, 498 ULS. 1073, 111 S.Ct. 799,

112 Lied. 2d 860 (1991); Matter of Cole, 194

237, 245-45 (App. Div. 1980), app. dismissed, 84 N.J. 433

(1980).

Accordingly the Board HEREBY REAFFIRMS its

determination to hear this matter because of the important

legal, factual and policy decisions involved and because there

is no requirement that the matter be transmitted to the OAL.

The Board is convinced that Freehold's request that

the hearing schedule provide for phased consideration of the

issues should be denied. The Board will give all parties a full

and fair opportunity to raise all issues relevant to this matter.

Freehold has already asked for and has been given additional

time by counsel for the other parties for the submission of

discovery requests. By agreement of all parties, the date for

discovery requests was moved from Friday February 25,

1994 to Tuesday March 1, 1994 and the date for responses

was moved from Friday March 4, 1994 to Tuesday March 8,

1994. This action allows Freehold's new counsel the

opportunity to familiarize himself with the issues. In

addition, Freehold has other counsel which have continued to

work on the matter and should be familiar with the issues

involved in discovery.

However, the Board will grant Freehold’s last request

and defer the submission of pre-filed testimony for two

weeks. Such action would defer all other phases of the

hearing for two weeks. Deferral of submission of pre-filed

testimony accedes to Judge Parell's request that in the

interests of comity the Board grant Freehold an extension and

E-10 Docket No. EM92030359

would likely avoid a filing by Freehold for an emergent stay

in federal court. A two-week delay could also see resolution

of the federal district court case in either party's favor. If

resolved in Freehold's favor all concerned parties will have

been spared unnecessary work, pending the outcome of any

subsequent appeals which may result. If the Board prevails,

the hearing schedule can proceed without the interference

that could result from a simultaneous federal court

proceeding. Deferral also gives the parties more time to fully

prepare themselves for the remainder of the hearing schedule.

The delay that would result from such deferral is minor and

still allows the Board to resolve this matter expeditiously.

Accordingly, we HEREBY DENY Freehold's request

to transmit this matter to the OAL and for a phased

consideration of the issue before the Board. We HEREBY

GRANT Freehold's request for a two week delay in the filing

of prefiled testimony and subsequent hearing dates and

be Accordingly, the revised procedural schedule will be

as follows:

Responses to the first round of testimony:

Tuesday, March 8, 1994

Monday, March 28, 1994

Wednesday, April 6, 1994

Thursday, April 7, 1994 at 9:30 a.m. at the

Board's hearing room Two Gateway Center,

Newark, NJ

Briefs: Friday, April 15, 1994

Reply Brief: Thursday, April 21, 1994

The parties may continue to exchange follow-up

discovery requests up through the beginning of the hearings.

The parties are directed to cooperate to respond to these

requests as promptly as possible, in light of the above

schedule.

JCP&L is directed to provide appropriate notice of

the hearings consistent with applicable law.

Copies of all documents should be served on all

parties no later that 5:00 p.m. on the above dates. Copies

E-11 Docket No. EM92030359

should also be filed with the Board at its Trenton offices

with copies to Board's Staff in Newark and the Attorney

General's Office in Newark. Parties should be prepared to

execute appropriate confidentiality agreements, if necessary.

If there are any disagreements among the parties concerning

discovery or other procedural matters, these should be

brought to the attention of the advising Deputy Attorney

General, with copies to all parties. If any such matter cannot

be resolved among the parties, the issue will be brought back

to the Board's agenda for resolution. i

The above schedule is, in our view, reasonable and

necessary in light of the cloud of uncertainty which Freehold

contends now hangs over the project. We further believe that

the schedule is reasonable because the parties’ familiarity

with the subject matter obviates the need for a lengthy and

extensive discovery process.

Concurrent with its filing of its Emergent Motion for

Reconsideration of the Board's hearing schedule, Freehold

filed a Motion for Reconsideration of the Board's Order of

January 5, 1994 concerning this matter.. The issues raised in

E-12 Docket No. EM92030359

that Motion will be considered by the Board at a future

meeting and memorialized in a separate order.

DATED: March 7, 1994

BOARD OF REGULATORY

COMMISSIONERS

BY:__J/s/

HERBERT H. TATE, JR.

PRESIDENT

/s/

CARMEN J. ARMENTI

COMMISSIONER

/s/

DR. EDWARD H. SALMON

COMMISSIONER

ATTEST:

/s/

JULIE FORD

ACTING SECRETARY

E-13 Docket No. EM92030359

APPENDIX F

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

THIRD CIRCUIT

April 26, 1994

#A-116

No. 94-5168

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES,

Appellant

v.

BOARD OF REGULATORY COMMISSIONERS OF

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY;

JERSEY CENTRAL POWER AND LIGHT COMPANY

(DNJ (Trenton) D.C. Civil No. 94-375 (MLP))

Present: BECKER and NYGAARD, Circuit Judges.

l. Motion by Appellant requesting the Court to

ask the Federal Energy Regulatory

Commission to submit a brief as an amicus

curiae.

2. Motion by Appellee Board of Regulatory

Commissioners of the State of New Jersey for

acceptance of late response.

/s/

Mary Arnold 597-5019

Deputy Clerk

F-]

ORDER

The foregoing motions are granted. The Federal

Energy Regulatory Commission is requested to submit a brief

amicus curiae on the jurisdictional issues facing this Court by

July 1, 1994. The Appellees' brief shall be filed within thirty

(30) days of the filing of the amicus curiae brief; Appellant's

reply brief shall be filed within fourteen (14) days of the

filing of Appellees' brief. The Commission is invited to

address any of the other issues raised by this appeal that it

desires to. The parties shall supply Commission counsel

with the relevant papers.

By the Court,

Circuit Judge

Dated: May 6, 1994

APPENDIX G

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 94-5168

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

v.

BOARD OF REGULATORY COMMISSIONERS OF

THE STATE OF NEW JERSEY, ET AL.,

~ DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey

Honorable Mary Little Parell, Judge

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE FEDERAL ENERGY

REGULATORY COMMISSION

SUPPORTING PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

SUSAN TOMASKY

GENERAL COUNSEL

JEROME M. FEIT

SOLICITOR

SAMUEL SOOPPER

ATTORNEY

FOR AMICUS CURIAE

FEDERAL ENERGY

REGULATORY

COMMISSION

WASHINGTON, D.C. 20426

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

STATEMENT OF INTEREST.............ssscsessscessscenscsesseseveoes l

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION..........:cccsssssssesseeseeerees 1

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUE. .........c.cssccsssessseesersseseesesees 2

PERTINENT STATUTORY AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS. ....oc-cccscsscessscsccascescosoccsscessonsrsesnesecase all

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...........csscssscesscessssesesseseeseees 3

I, Nature of the Case and Proceedings Below.............. 3

II. Statement Of Facts............ccsssssssssssessereeseeseessscessenes 3

A. Regulatory Context...........cssssseseesssersereeesees 3

B. The Proceedings Below...........ssessessssseeees 6

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT. tssssssssssssssssssesneeneentes 9

ARGUMENT ....n0.c0ssccssicoseccssccassnsssacssensneccossgesennrsnsesoaqaessess 12

I. FREEHOLD PROPERLY INVOKED

FEDERAL JURISDICTION TO RESOLVE

ITS CLAIM THAT ITS FEDERALLY-

ESTABLISHED PURPA RIGHTS ARE

BEING UNLAWFULLY INFRINGED

BY THE STATE REGULATORY

PCT i cincctca died ncn d isccsabccnnseeonenninesatgsncenanessen 12

A. The Jurisdictional Limitations Of Section

210(g) Of PURPA Have No Application

To This Proceeding..................cccssccessresesees 12

G-2

B. The Johnson Act Does Not Apply

To A Complaint Asserting That

Federal Law Preempts A State

Pe Pi is ciieassterniceeemnessossspercoseoe 16

i. The District Court's Reliance On

i idligtdi sitandadeiesctisiciceessccssovees 19

II. BECAUSE THE STATE AUTHORITY

OVER FREEHOLD'S RATES IS

EXCLUSIVELY DERIVED FROM

PURPA, THE ABSTENTION DOCTRINE

IS INAPPROPRIATE HERE..............ss0escseseseereee 20

A. Burford Abstention Is Inappropriate

PG iccintdcccliectnacbbbicscectdnterscenestssereessoretzvece 21

B. Younger Abstention Is Similarly

Inappropriate........... satataidielidbidiewiccactadevehinn 23

C. Pullman Abstention Is Likewise

TIE a iecreisiicessscscintereveonasevenscoesess 24

CONE I isis incdsris ec nedihitetennbidicasicciie 25

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

COURT CASES:

Airco Industrial Gases, Inc. v. Teamsters Health

and Welfare Pension Fund, 850 F.2d 1028

(3rd Cir. 1988).........cssecesesessesssesesseensnssssnsneneneneecenenenenens 13

Aluminum Company of America v. Utilities Commission

of North Carolina, 713 F.2d 1024 (4th Cir. 1983),

cert, denied, 465 U.S. 1052 (1984)...........ceesesssseeeeeeeees 18

American Paper Institute, Inc. v. American Electric

Power Service Corp., 461 U.S. 402 (1983).......-.-ssseseeeeees 5

Bristol Energy Corp. v. State of New Hampshire Public

Utilities Commission, 13 F.3d 471.(1st Cir. 1994)........ 15

Burford v. Sun Oil Co.,

319 U.S. 315 (1943).....cccceeereeees ascesecensasensonceseeesese 2,10,20

Colorado River Water Conservation District v. United

States, 424 U.S. 800 (1976)........ssccersessessereesseeeseeseneenees 20

Coruzzi v. State of New Jersey, 705 F.2d 688

(3rd Cir. 1983).......ccsscesescsseseseseeeensnensssensnsnsecseseenensnenenens 23

FERC v. Mississippi,

456 U.S. 742 (1982).......c.ccssccscesceccerenseerserssecsssenssssenses 3,4

Greensboro Lumber Co. v. Georgia Power Co.,

643 F. Supp. 1345 (N.D. Ga. 1986), affd,

844 F.2d 1538 (11th Cir. 1988)...........ccsssceeseeseeees 13,16

Hagans v. Levine,

415 U.S. 528 (1974)......ccccscsessersercercenserssessnssessessnsensenes 22

Hawaii Housing Authority v. Midkiff,

RF ae Ca ia aisles tnceincstreescncinecanssecisesecseciones 24

International Brotherhood of Electric Workers v.

Public Service Commission of Nevada,

ee EF Rrcerticncccrccsteccensnnseaccosprensnces 18

Kennecott Corp. v. Smith,

G37 F.2d 181 (oad Cie) FCO). ..ncccvcscecccceceorescosecoccsccccecece 22

Kentucky West Virginia Gas Company v. Pennsylvania

Public Utility Commission, 791 F.2d 1111 (3rd Cir.

I iscitsipsechdiidientanaepeseiiaenereovenncionsennstnsstenccee 10,18,21

Middlesex County Ethics Comm. v. Garden State

Bar Agee, S57 US. SES FEZ) ccccceccscesascnscrencsesescccnercce 23

Middle South Energy Inc. v. Arkansas Public Service

Comm'n, 772 F.2d 404 (8th Cir. 1985), cert. denied,

ee Fe tric cctnontcacensscnstttninnsnsstenmecnaqererces 23

New Orleans Public Service v. City of New Orleans,

QE RTF Fae Ce Oe this ncsibicciccenviersemtenstesions 10,21,22,24

New Orleans Public Service, Inc. v. City of New

Orleans, 782 F.2d 1236 (5th Cir. 1986),

vacated in part on other grounds, 798 F.2d 858

(1986), cert, denied, 481 U.S. 1023 (1987)..............-0+++ 17

Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman,

SR PIE Niikisicissinciaconebieineiesteennnesenncsnncconn 2,10,20

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc.,

ME ETO ccrcctvectnsesnnevnsesisovinntinnoseetinintntinpsicvon 12

United Service Automobile Association v. Muir,

192 F.2d 356 (31d Cir. 1986).......-ceererersrsrerereesesesesesees 20

Younger v. Harris,

AO1 U.S. 37 (1971)...scscecereressesssnsnenensnsnsnsnsnenenenenens 2,10,20

ADMINISTRATIVE CASES:

Freehold Cogeneration Associates, L.P.,

65 FERC ¥ 62,004 (1993).....--ssrsesssrerssssersneenensrnensnnsesecs 6

STATUTES:

Federal Power Act,

16 U.S.C. § 824.....scsssessesssssesessenencescnssncnnsnencenensencnsensoes 3

Johnson Act,

16 U.S.C. § 1342......sccccscsssseesssnsneneensnenennenenensnsncnnes 2,9,16

Public Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978

(PURPA) for Qualifying Facilities (QFS)

2B U.S.C. § 133 1....sssssesssseesessesssesersenensensnsnsenenensessnsnsreess l

Section 210(g), 16 U.S.C. § $24a-3(Z)...--cceereercercercerserees 2

REGULATIONS:

18 C.F.R. § 290.101 .......ecsecsssssssssncencensensensnencensensnnsnccncenensees 2

18 C.F.R. § 292.301(b)(1)..---secesseseesserenssnsnersensenensnnsnsnsenences 19

18 C.F.R. § 292.303; 292.304.....esserserrsssersrsersensnrencensnnsncenens 5

18 C.F.R. § 292.602(C)...-.-cesssssesseesenensnsenssencncensnsnsnsenenners 5,14

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 94-5168

FREEHOLD COGENERATION ASSOCIATES, L.P.,

PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT,

Vv.

BOARD OF REGULATORY COMMISSIONERS OF

THE

STATE OF NEW JERSEY, ET AL.,

DEFENDANTS-APPELLEES.

On Appeal from the United States District

Court for the District of New Jersey

Honorable Mary Little Parell, Judge

BRIEF FOR AMICUS CURIAE FEDERAL ENERGY

REGULATORY COMMISSION

SUPPORTING PLAINTIFF-APPELLANT

STATEMENT OF INTEREST

This brief is filed in response to the Court's Order of

May 6, 1994, requesting the Federal Energy Regulatory

G-7

Commission ("Commission" or "FERC") to address "the

jurisdictional issues facing this Court" and inviting the

Commission to respond to "any of the other issues raised by

this appeal that it desires to." FERC will limit its response

to the jurisdictional issues and the related issue of abstention.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

FERC agrees with the jurisdictional statement

contained in the brief (Pet. Br. 1) of plaintiff-appellant

Freehold Cogeneration Associates, L.P. (Freehold), that the

district court had jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1331

over this action to enforce the exemption of the Public

Utility Regulatory Policies Act of 1978 (PURPA) for

Qualifying Facilities (QFs) from state rate and financial

regulation, 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(e), and the commission's rules

promulgated thereunder. 18 C.F.R. § 290.101, et seq.

STATEMENT OF THE ISSUES

The Commission will address the following issues:

1. Whether the district court erred in its

conclusion that it was without jurisdiction to entertain:

Freehold's complaint because of the jurisdictional

limitations of Section 210(g) of PURPA, 16 U.S.C. § 824a-

3(g).

rh Whether the district court erred in finding that

the Johnson Act, 16 U.S.C. § 1342, deprived it of jurisdiction

to review the order of a state commission challenged on the

ground that it violated PURPA.

3. Whether the district court could properly rely

on the contract between Freehold and Jersey Central Power

& Light (Jersey Central) to find it was without jurisdiction

over Freehold's complaint.

G-8

4. Whether the complaint is dismissible under

the principles of abstention established by Younger v. Harris,

401 U.S. 37 (1971), Burford v. Sun Oil Co,, 319 U.S. 315

(1943), and Railroad Commission of Texas v. Pullman, 312

U.S. 496 (1941).

PERTINENT STATUTORY AND REGULATORY

PROVISIONS

The statutory and regulatory provisions pertinent to

this case are contained in the Addendum to this brief.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

L Nature of the Case and Proceedings Below

We adopt the statement in Freehold's brief (at pp. 4-

5) concerning the nature of the case.

IL Statement of Facts

A. Regulatory Context

1. Under Part II of the Federal Power Act

(FPA), 16 U.S.C. § 824 et seq, the Commission has the

exclusive authority to regulate "public utilities" that sell

electric power at wholesale in interstate commerce. See 16

U.S.C. § 824(e). In 1978, Congress modified the FPA with

the enactment of PURPA, which was designed "to encourage

the development of cogeneration and small power production

facilities" to foster increased use of alternatives to fossil

fuels. FERC v. Mississippi, 456 U.S. 742, 750

(1982)(footnote omitted).

PURPA defined a "cogeneration facility" as one

which produces both electricity and "steam or forms of

G-9

useful energy (such as heat) which are used for industrial,

commercial, heating or cooling purposes.” 16 U.S.C. §

796(18)(A). It also created a category of "qualifying

cogeneration facilities" (known as QFs), which would include

any facility which the "the Commission determines, by rule,

meets such requirements (including requirements respecting

minimum size, fuel use, and fuel efficiency) as the

Commission may, by rule, prescribe," as well as certain

ownership requirements. 16 U.S.C. § 796 (18)(B).!

2. In enacting PURPA, Congress sought to

eliminate two major barriers that had previously impeded the

growth of cogeneration facilities: that 11(1) traditional electric

utilities were reluctant to purchase power from, and to sell

power to, the nontraditional facilities, and (2) the regulation

of these alternative energy sources by state and federal utility

autho’ ities imposed financial burdens upon the nontraditional

facilities and thus discouraged their development." FERC v.

Mississippi, supra, 456 U.S. at 750-751 (footnotes omitted).

To meet the first problem, Section 210(a) of PURPA,

16 U.S.C. § 824a-3, required the Commission to prescribe

"such rules as it determines necessary to encourage

cogeneration and small power production," including rules

requiring traditional utilities to purchase electricity from

QFs. FERC v. Mississippi, supra, 456 U.S. at 751.2 To

overcome the second barrier, Section 210(e) of the Act

requires the Commission to implement regulations exempting

l The PURPA QF category also includes "small power

production” facilities using renewable resources to generate electricity, 16

U.S.C. § 796(17), which receive the same statutory benefits as

cogeneration QFs such as Freehold.

2 In turn, Section 210(f) of PURPA requires that “each State

regulatory authority shall . . . implement" the rules adopted by the

Commission under Section 210(a) to encourage QF development. 16

U.S.C. § 824a-3(f).

G-10

QFs from such federal regulation to which traditional electric

utilities are subject, including most provisions of the FPA, as

well as "State laws and regulations respecting the rates, or

respecting the financial or organizational regulation, of

electric utilities." 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(e)(1).

3. In accordance with these provisions of

PURPA, the Commission promulgated regulations governing

transactions between utilities and QFs, including a specific

requirement that a utility must purchase electricity made

available by a QF at a rate up to the utility's full avoided

cost. 18 C.F.R. §§ 292.303; 292.304 (1993). See generally

American Paper Institute, Inc, v. American Electric Power

Service Corp., 461 U.S. 402, 414-415 (1983). Avoided cost

is defined by the statute as "the cost to the electric utility of

the electric energy which, but for the purchase from [a QF],

such utility would generate or purchase from another

source.” Section 210(d), 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(d).

Acting pursuant to Section 210(e)(1) of PURPA, the

commission also promulgated regulations exempting QFs

from various federal and state regulatory requirements. 18

C.F.R. § 292.602(c). That section states, in pertinent part:

(1) Any [QF] shall be

exempted . . . from State law or

regulation respecting:

(i) The rates of electric

utilities; and

(ii) The financial and

organizational regulation of

electric utilities.

It is this exemption for QFs from state utility regulation,

provided for in Section 210(e) of PURPA and further fleshed

G-11

out by Commission regulations, which is the basis of

Freehold's claim here.

B. The Proceedings Below.

Freehold, certified as a QF by the Commission in

October, 1993,2 intends to construct and maintain a

cogeneration facility in Freehold, New Jersey. To this end,

on March 26, 1992, Freehold entered into a long-term

Purchase Power Agreement (PPA) with Jersey Central

Power & Light Company (Jersey Central), under which

Freehold would provide capacity and energy to Jersey

Central over a twenty-year period at rates set at 1989

avoided costs. On July 8, 1992, the Board of Regulatory

Commissioners of the State of New Jersey (BRC) issued an

order approving the PPA and the rates it established. JA.

113-118.

The present dispute stems from the BRC's attempt

to reexamine the level of Freehold's avoided cost rates. On

April 12, 1993, the BRC issued an order (the Towner order),

directing electric utilities to explore remedies for contracts

with QFs that were no longer economically sound. JA. 215-

223. On January 5, 1994, the BRC issued an order rejecting

a settlement reached by its staff and Freehold which would

have modified the rates on the ground that "the Joint

Agreement leaves the pricing in the [PPA] significantly above

current forecasts of avoided cost." JA. at 141. The BRC

went on to urge Freehold and Jersey Central to negotiate a

modification of the PPA pursuant to Towner, but advised

the parties "that if they cannot reach agreement on either

reasonable renegotiated pricing terms more consistent with

current avoided costs or a buy-out arrangement within 30

days," the BRC would "commence a proceeding to consider

: Freehold Cogeneration Associates. L.P., 65 FERC { 62,004

(1993).

G-12

whether its previous approval of (the PPA] should be

modified or otherwise reconsidered or revoked." Id. at 142.

(In fact such a proceeding was instituted and is presently

ongoing).

2. At this point, Freehold filed a civil action in

the United States District Court for the District of New

Jersey against both the BRC and Jersey Central, seeking a

declaratory order that BRC's January 5, 1994, order initiating

a proceeding to determine whether the PPA should be

modified, was preempted by PURPA and asking that court

enjoin the state proceeding. The BRC and Jersey Central

moved to dismiss the complaint on various grounds, three of

which were relied upon by the district court in its March 18,

1994, order dismissing Freehold's complaint.

First, the court found that the case was governed by

PURPA's judicial review provisions, 16 U.S.C. § 824a-3(g),

which incorporates 16 U.S.C. § 2633, divesting the federal

courts of jurisdiction to review certain orders of state

regulatory commissions. JA. at 883-884.4 Second, it held

Subsection (g) provides:

(1) Judicial review may be obtained respecting any

proceeding conducted by a State regulatory authority or

nonregulated electric utility for purposes of implementing any

requirement of a rule under subsection (a) of this section in the

same manner, and under the same requirements, as judicial

review may be obtained under section 2633 of this title in the

case of a proceeding to which section 2633 of this title applies.

(2) Any person (including the Secretary) may bring an

action against any electric utility, qualifying small power

producer, or qualifying cogenerator to enforce any requirement

established by a State regulatory authority or nonregulated

electric utility pursuant to subsection (f) of this section. Any

such action shall be brought only in the manner, and under the

requirements, as provided under section 2633 of this title with

respect to an action to which section 2633 of this title applies.

G-13

that judicial review was precluded by the Johnson Act, 28

U.S.C. § 1342 (set out at p. 16, infra), which curtails federal

jurisdiction with respect to orders of state regulatory

authorities if certain specified conditions are all met. Id. at

884-887. Third, the judge relied on the choice of law

provision in the PPA itself (set out at JA. 104-105). Her

reading of the contract indicated that "the parties

contemplated that all disputes arising under the PPA would

be resolved either by the BRC or by a New Jersey state

court." Id. at 887 (emphasis in original).

This appeal followed, while the BRC proceeding

continued below.

SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT

L

A. Freehold properly invoked federal court

jurisdiction in this case under 28 U.S.C. § 1331. Freehold’s

claim is that its federally-established PURPA rights under

Section 210(e) are being violated by a state proceeding,

precisely the type of situation addressed by Section 1331.

The district court's contrary conclusion was based. on

an erroneous reading of Section 210(g) of PURPA as a broad

exception to federal jurisdiction over PURPA claims.

Neither subsection of Section 210(g) applies to a claim, like

Freehold's, that state action is barred by Section 210(e) and

the FERC regulations promulgated thereunder exempting

QFs from state utility regulation.

Section 2633, 16 U.S.C. § 2633 (reproduced in the statutory

appendix), is the general judicial review provision of PURPA, which

essentially divests the federal courts of jurisdiction “over any action

arising under any provision of subchapter I or III’ of PURPA, subject to

certain exceptions.

G-14

B. The district court's dismissal of Freehold's

complaint on the basis of the Johnson Act, 28 U.S.C. § 1342,

was also erroneous. Because the statute only bars

complaints against state regulatory proceedings where

jurisdiction is based "solely on . . . repugnance of the order to

the Federal Constitution," governing case law demonstrates

that the Johnson Act is no bar to a statutory preemption

claim. Since Freehold's claim is clearly based on PURPA, a

statutory ground, the district court misapplied the Act.

Similarly, the Act's requirement that the state order

challenged does not affect interstate commerce is lacking here

since any allegation of a PURPA violation inherently

contains an allegation of such impact.

c. Finally, the district court's dismissal of the

case on the basis of the choice of law clause of the PPA is

also erroneous. Freehold accurately, we submit,

characterizes its case as a preemption claim brought against

the BRC to enforce PURPA rather than a dispute under the

PPA. The PPA provision is irrelevant to this issue.

IL.

The abstention doctrine, established in Younger v.

Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971)(Younger), Burford v. Sun Oil Co.,

319 U.S. 315 (1943)(Burford), and Railroad Commission of

Texas v. Pullman, 312 U.S. 496 (1941)(Pullman), should not

be applied to this case.

A. The inapplicability of Burford abstention is

established by the decision of this Court in Kentucky West

Virginia Gas Company v. Pennsylvania Public Utility

Commission, 791 F.2d 1111 (3rd Cir. 1986), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 941 (1988), and that of the Supreme Court in New

Orleans Public Service v. City of New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350

G-15

(1986)(NOPSI), which hold the doctrine inappropriate to a

claim that federal rate regulation preempts action by a state

regulatory body.

B. Younger abstention would also be

inappropriate here. This Court has held that state interests

protected by Younger are generally outweighed by a claim of

federal preemption. In addition, the Supreme Court in

NOPSI made clear that a ratemaking proceeding, such as the

one here, is a legislative process to which Younger abstention

has no application.

&. Finally, Pullman abstention only applies in

cases where the court would have to resolve difficult and

unsettled questions of state law before a substantial

constitutional question can be decided. Neither prerequisite

is present in this case, which raises a claim that PURPA, a

federal statute, preempts the action of a state regulatory

body.

_—

ARGUMENT

L FREEHOLD PROPERLY INVOKED FEDERAL

JURISDICTION TO RESOLVE ITS CLAIM

THAT ITS FEDERALLY-ESTABLISHED PURPA

RIGHTS ARE BEING UNLAWFULLY

INFRINGED BY THE STATE REGULATORY

ACTION

As described above, even though Freehold brought its

complaint under 28 U.S.C. § 1331, the district court ignored

this provision while relying on the review provisions of

PURPA, the Johnson Act and the terms of the PPA to find it

had no jurisdiction to decide Freehold's claims. We believe

that the district court's analysis is flawed and that Section

1331 jurisdiction was properly invoked by the Freehold.

G-16

A.

210(g) Of PURPA Have No Application T

This Proceeding

By holding that Section 210(g) of PURPA, 16 U.S.C.

§ 824a-3, divests the federal courts of jurisdiction in this

case, the district court, in our view, not only ignored the

Freehold's assertion of jurisdiction under Section 1331, but

also the inherent limitations of Section 210(g) itself.

1. At the outset, the district court's assessment

of federal jurisdiction did not confront Freehold's assertion

that its preemption claim properly invoked federal

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331. As we understand it,

Freehold's position on this aspect of the case is that its

federally-established PURPA rights are being violated by a

state proceeding. This is precisely the situation addressed

by Section 1331, as the Supreme Court explained in Shaw v.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 96 n.14 (1983)(authorities

omitted; emphasis added):

It is beyond dispute that federal courts

have jurisdiction over suits to enjoin

state officials from interfering with

federal rights. ... A plaintiff who

seeks injunctive relief from state

regulation, on the ground that such

regulation is preempted by a federal

statute which, by virtue of the

Supremacy Clause of the Constitution,

must prevail, thus presents a federal

question which the federal courts have

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 to

resolve.

Accord, Airco Industrial Gases, Inc. v. Teamsters Health and

Welfare Pension Fund, 850 F.2d 1028, 1032-1035 (3rd Cir.

1988).

The district court apparently believed that Section

1331 was irrelevant because it read PURPA Section 210(g) as

carving out a broad exception to federal jurisdiction over

PURPA claims other than judicial review of a final decision

by FERC. JA. at 884. In the court's view (id.),

[Bly enacting [Section 210(g)] and §

2633, Congress specifically provided

that judicial review of orders by the

State regulatory authorities was to

made only by the state courts or

FERC. The only instance where

Congress provided for federal

jurisdiction is where a party seeks

judicial review of a decision by FERC.

Here, FERC has made no

determination which this Court might

review, nor

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.