Opposition Brief — Kaliardos v. General Motors Corp.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 94-1574 i TRE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

NICHOLAS KALIARDOS,

Petitioner,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

BASF CORPORATION, H.B. FULLER COMPANY,

H.B. FULLER AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.,

and DAUBERT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ GENERAL MOTORS,

BASF AND FULLER

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

HERBERT FURMAN BERNARD J. CANTOR

29709 Deer Run (Counsel of Record)

Farmington Hills, MICHAEL P. BRENNAN

Michigan 48331 RoBER> S. NOLAN

(810) 661-2293 HARNESS, DICKEY &

Attorney for PIERCE, P.L.C.

Respondent-Defendant 5455 Corporate Drive

General Motors Corporation. Troy, Michigan 48098

(810) 641-1600

April 20, 1995 Attorneys for

creed

Washington, 0.C. « THIEL PRESS © (202) 328-3286

ILABLE COPY

——

Respondents-Defendants.

:

(1)

RULE 14.1(a) QUESTIONS

PRESENTED BY PETITIONER

. Did the magistrate-judge in the trial court err in hold-

ing that the evidence produced by Plaintiff in response

to Defendant’s motion for summary judgment did

not create a genuine issue of material fact concerning

whether accused products infringed asserted claims,

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents,

such as to require a full trial?

. Did the trial judge in the trial court err in adopting the

“Report and Recommendation” of the magistrate-

judge and dismissing Plaintiff’: action on the merits

and by abusing his discretion in denying Plaintiff’s

motion for leave to supplement his responses with a

test report of his expert and/or in not granting Kaliar-

dos’ request for an oral hearing?

. Did the appeal court err in affirming the district

court’s dismissal of Plaintiff-Appellant’s case concern-

ing the evidence Kaliardos offered and the plain lang-

uage and historical intent of the application of Federal

Rule 56?

.Is the federal judiciary using Rule 56 to rid their

dockets of difficult cases and/or litigants and, if so,

will such use of Rule 56 be allowed to continue?

(1)

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS RULE 14.1(b)

All the parties in the court below are identified in the

caption of the Petition.

RULE 29.1 LIST OF PARENTS AND SUBSIDIARIES

General Motors Corporation’s Rule 29.1 list is attached

at Appendix D.

BASF Corporation’s Rule 29.1 list is attached at

Appendix E.

H.B. Fuller Company’s Rule 29.1 list is attached at

Appendix F.

H.B. Fuller Automotive Products, Inc. is a wholly-

owned subsidiary of H.B. Fuller Company.

Daubert Industries, Inc.’s Rule 29.1 list of parents and

subsidiaries appears in its separate Brief in Opposition to

the Petition for Writ of Certiorari.

(112)

Page

TABLE OF CONTENTS

RULE 14.1(a) QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Re

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS RULE 14.1(b).......... ii

RULE 29.1 LIST OF PARENTS AND SUBSIDIARIES ....... ii

a iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES, STATUTES AND

oS v

SUMMARY OF OPPOSITION TO CERTIORARI........... 2

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF CASE.................... %

PACTUAL BACKGROUND .............0c ccc ccccene '

PROCEEDINGS IN THE DISTRICT COURT............. 9

KALIARDOS PATENT NO. 3,959,530................. 13

KALIARDOS PATENT NO. 4,356,036. ................ 15

KALIARDOS LACKS FACTUAL EVIDENCE OF

SIMILARITY OF FUNCTION/WAY/RESULTS......... 16

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT TESTIFIED THAT BASF’S

COATINGS DO NOT CONTAIN MOST OF THE

INGREDIENTS SPECIFIED IN KALIARDOS’

ER 18

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT BYRD TESTIFIED THAT THE

FULLER COATINGS DO NOT CONTAIN ALL OF

KALIARDOS’ CLAIMED INGREDIENTS............. 19

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT GEECK TESTIFIED THAT

DAUBERT’S COATING DOES NOT CONTAIN

ALL OF THE CLAIMED INGREDIENTS ............. 20

EXCLUSION OF EVIDENCE ..... 0. ccc ccc ccc eens 21

(iv)

Page

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

BY APPELLANT KALIARDOS UNDER

CUES MAA og 555 ke ee 25

‘1. Did the magistrate-judge in the trial court err in

holding that the evidence produced by Plaintiff in

response to Defendant’s motion for summary judg-

ment did not create a genuine issue of material fact

concerning whether accused products infringed

asserted claims, either literally or under the doc-

trine of equivalents, such as to require a full trial?” ....... 25

“*2. Did the trial judge in the trial court err in adopt-

ing the ‘“‘Report and Recommendation”’ of the magis-

trate-judge and dismissing Plaintiff’s action on the

merits and by abusing his discretion in denying Plain-

tiff’s motion for leave to supplement his responses

witha test report of his expert and/or in not granting

Kaliardos’ request for an oral hearing?”............+.. 26

‘*3. Did the appeal court err in affirming the district

court’s dismissal of Plaintiff-Appellant’s case concern-

ing the evidence Kaliardos offered and the plain lang-

uage and historical intent of the application of Federal

MPP eT TCT E TEC CE RET TURE E TELL 27

**4. Is the federal judiciary using Rule 56 to rid their

dockets of difficult cases and/or litigants and, if so,

will such use of Rule 56 be allowed to continue?”’........ 28

Ge. cdc Rakha ee wba eer nee ewes 30

APPENDICES:

Appendix A — Magistrate’s ‘Report and Recommen-

«ve 6 a 63 Cee a ee 6 en a ee la

Appendix B — District Court’s Opinion Granting Summary

Judgment of Non-Infringement to Co-Defendants

National Starch and Beazer East..........+0e0eee0:> 27a

Appendix C — Order Granting Partial Summary Judg-

sment of Mom-Infringement 2... ccc ccc ccwnsosasene 39a

Appendix D — General Motors Corporation Rule 29.1

PEPPUPTTCTT TTT TC CUTE ETT Te 42a

(v)

Page

Appendix E — BASF Corporation Rule 29.1 Statement ..... 49a

Appendix F — H.B. Fuller Rule 29.1 Statement .......... 50a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

Adickes v. S.H. Kress & Co., 398 U.S. 144, 158 n.17

0 4d We 6 Be ae ok kok vbw wcl 26

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,

249-50, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 212, 106 S.Ct.

Sy SE EE 4 6 ws Co ek bee cea’. oot: 2, 3, 24

Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 618, 75 L.Ed.2d

318, 333, 1031 S.Ct. 1382, 1397 EE re 14

Buiiders Concrete, Inc. v. Bremerton Concrete Products

Co., 757 F.2d 255, 257 (Fed. Cir. | 2,3, 22

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322,91

L.Ed.2d 265, 273, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552

GI hb tg eno ek ee ee od he ole Rie 2, 23, 28

Fowle v. C&C Cola, 868 F.2d 59, 67 (3rd Cir. Pere 26

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co..

339 U.S. 605, 609-10, 94 L.Ed. 1097, 1102,

70 S.Ct. 854, 856-57 has da hd we Ces es 3, Ba, ao

Griffin v. M.D.O.C., 5 F.3d 186, 190 (6th Cir., eee 14

Intellicall, Inc. v. Phonometrics Inc., 952 F.2d 1384,

Sa ir G dak obo deb 00 6s ye i vas hoe mk nk 25

Kaliardos v. General Motors et al., 777 F.Supp. 543

SESE EER Roce Ci re ee 20

Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Sealy Mattress Co. of Michigan,

837 F.2d 1422, 1425-26 (Fed. Cir. CE irae ee a 22-23

Lewmar Marine, Inc. v. Barient, Inc., 827 F.2d 744,

Sr 4

Malta v. Schulmerich Carollons, Inc., 925 F.2d 1320,

1327, 1329 (Fed. Cir. 1991), reh. den., 959 F.2d

923 (1992), cert. denied, 119 L.Ed.2d 566

(vt)

Cases, continued: _Page_

Mannesmann Demag Corp. v. Engineered Metal Products

Co., 793 F.2d 1279, 1282 (Fed. Cir. 1986) .......... §, 22

Markman v. Westview Instruments Inc., 1995 U.S.App.

LEXIS 7595, p. 21 (Fed. Cir., Apr. 5, 1995). ........... 14

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith

Radio Corporation, 475 U.S. 574, 586-7, 89

L.Ed.2d 538, 552, 106 S.Ct. 1848 (1986) ............. 28

Smithkline Diagnostics Co. v. Helena Laboratories Corp.,

859 F.2d $78, S89 (Fed. Cir. 1968)... 2c cc cece es 3, 22

United States v. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667, 673-74, 65

L.Ed.2d 424, 432, 100 S.Ct. 2406 (1980) ............ 27

Statutes:

Se es ITER: oc es be ea do esectueetenenas 26, 27

SG eer errr re ey ey eo os ee 4

Other Authorities:

H.R. Rep. No. 94-1609 (1976)... ........0c cece ceoucs 27

RS MPC TECT CCIE ee 3, 27, 29

Se ee PINs oo 6 cee ca weesen tesco senvewss 25

RK Rt Seer rer rrr errr rrr eran ok 2, 24

ate BOGS FORA. cc ccc cer ees erdbaeerenseus as 26

gy a Re) Sore rr errr rT eT Tere. ee 26

No. 94-1574

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

NICHOLAS KALIARDOS,

Petitioner,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

BASF CORPORATION, H.B. FULLER COMPANY,

H.B. FULLER AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.,

and DAUBERT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

RESPONDENTS’ GENERAL MOTORS,

BASF AND FULLER

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO THE HONORABLE SUPREME COURT:

The Respondents General Motors Corporation, BASF

Corporation, H.B. Fuller Company and H.B. Fuller Auto-

motive Products, Inc. respectfully request that this Court

deny the Petition for Writ of Certiorari submitted by

Petitioner Nicholas Kaliardos.

]

2

SUMMARY OF OPPOSITION TO CERTIORARI

The Petition for Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Summary judgment of noninfringement was properly

granted and affirmed because of the admitted lack of

evidence that is required by the substantive patent law

to prove infringement of the claims of the patents-in-suit.

There is no genuine issue of any material fact; rather,

there is an admitted absence of material facts that are

essential to Petitioner’s prima facie case. Hence, “the

plain language of Rule 56(c) [F.R.C.P.] mandates the

entry of summary judgment.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett,

477 U.S. 317, 322, 91 L.Ed.2d 265, 273, 106 S.Ct. 2548,

2552 (1986); Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S.

242, 249-50, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 212, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2511

(1986) (‘‘There is no issue tor trial unless there is suffici-

ent evidence favoring the nonmoving party for a jury to

return a verdict for that party.’’)

Specifically, there are only two ways to prove infringe-

ment under the substantive patent law: (1) literal infringe-

ment; and (2) “doctrine of equivalents” infringement.

First, to prove literal infringement, the patentee has the

burden of showing that every single one of the elements

specified in at least one of his patent claims is actually

found in the accused product. E.g., Butlders Concrete,

Inc. v. Bremerton Concrete Products Co., 757 F.2d 255,

257 (Fed.Cir. 1985). Petitioner Kaliardos’ experts, how-

ever, admitted that at least some of the ingredients

specified in his patent claims are not found in the accused

coating products. Thus, there was insufficient evidence

to support a jury verdict of literal infringement so that

summary judgment was mandated.

Second, to prove infringement under the “doctrine of

equivalents,’’ the patentee has the burden of showing that

the accused product contains the same or the equivalent

3

of each ingredient specified in at least one patent claim

AND that the accused product performs substantially

the same function, in substantially the same way, to

produce substantially the same result as the entire com-

bination of ingredients specified in such patent claim.

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339

U.S. 605, 609-10, 94 L.Ed. 1097, 1102, 70 S.Ct. 854,

856-57 (1950); Butlders Concrete, supra 757 F.2d at

258. In addition, the patentee must explain, by sub-

stantial, comparative, factual evidence, how and why

each of these three similarities exist. Malta v. Schulmerich

Canillons, Inc., 925 F.2d 1320, 1327, 1329 (Fed.Cir.

1991), reh. den., 959 F.2d 923 (1992), cert. denied, 119

L.Ed.2d 566 (1992). Here, Petitioner Kaliardos’ expert

testified that he has no factual evidence showing that

the function/way/results of the accused coatings are

similar to the combinations specified in the claims of

the patents-in-suit. Thus, there was insufficient evidence

to support a jury verdict of infringement under the

“doctrine of equivalents’”’ so that summary judgment

was mandated by Rule 56 F.R.C.P.

There is no such thing as Kaliardos’ asserted ‘‘pre-

sumption of infringement.’’ Under the substantive patent

law, the patentee has the burden of proving infringement

by a preponderance of evidence. Smithkline Diagnostics

Co. v. Helena Laboratories Corp., 859 F.2d 878, 889

(Fed.Cir. 1988); Mannesmann Demag Corp. v. Engineered

Metal Products Co., 793 F.2d 1279, 1282 (Fed.Cir.

1986). Petitioner Kaliardos’ litany of discovery disputes

and discovery motions are not material to the summary

judgment decision which focuses on Kaliardos’ failure to

show all of the essential elements required by the sub-

stantive patent law to prove infringement. Anderson,

477 U.S. at 247-48, 91 L.Ed.2d at 211 (1986) (‘Only

4

disputes over facts that might affect the outcome of the

suit under the governing law will properly preclude the

entry of summary judgment. Factual disputes that are

irrelevant or unnecessary will not be counted.”)!

Petitioner Kaliardos’ case is based upon his notion,

without any factual evidence whatsoever, that General

Motors automobile assembly plant personnel must have

secretly added the ingredients which Kaliardos lists in

his patented recipes into the drums of coating which

G.M. purchases, before spraying the coating into auto-

mobile doors. Kaliardos simply does not believe the

BASF records of the formulations it has used since 1953

to the present—nor does he believe the testimony and the

numerous laboratory tests of his own experts—nor the

Fuller and Daubert formulation and production records—

nor the deposition testimony of numerous BASF, Fuller

and General Motors past and present employees—nor the

laboratory tests made by each of the Defendants. Yet,

each clearly establishes that the accused coatings do not

contain the ingredients set forth in his patent claims.

The magistrate-judge summed up Kaliardos’ case as

follows:

My review of this record establishes that the form-

ulas used by the defendants in manufacturing their

coatings have repeatedly been shown not to contain

the essential elements of the Kaliardos patents,

through both the disclosure of the formulas and

ltronically, if BASF’s accused coating actually did infringe,

Kaliardos’ patents would be invalid under 35 U.S.C. §102(b)

because BASF’s accused coating was “‘on sale’ by BASF and in use

by General Motors for many years before Kaliardos made his inven-

tions and before the filing dates of his patent applications. Lew-

mar Marine, Inc. v. Barient, Inc., 827 F.2d 744, 747 (Fed. Cir.

1987) (‘‘That which would literally infringe if later in time, antici-

pates if earlier than the date of the invention.”’)

5

scientific testing of those formulas. There is simply

no evidence in this record which would create a

genuine issue of material fact as to whether any of

the accused products infringe upon Kaliardos’

patents either literally or under the doctrine of

equivalence. Simply put, plaintiff’s case is one that

began with, and continues to rest upon, pure specu-

lation and conclusion. This is insufficient to with-

stand summary judgment. Accordingly, for the

reasons stated, I respectfully recommend that the

defendants’ motions for summary judgment be

granted and that this matter be dismissed. [emphasis

added]?

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF CASE

Petitioner Kaliardos’ Statement of the Case and State-

ment of Facts omit most of the relevant facts. Therefore,

Respondents state such relevant facts below.

Petitioner Kaliardos is appealing from the Federal

Circuit’s affirmance of the district court’s grant, based

upon the magistrate-judge’s ‘‘Report and Recommenda-

tion,” of three separate motions for summary judgment

of non-infringement of Kaliardos’ patents. These motions

were brought by: (1) General Motors Corporation

(“G.M.”) and its supplier BASF Corporation, jointly;

(2) Daubert; and (3) H.B. Fuller Company and its sub-

sidiary H.B. Fuller Automotive Products, Inc., jointly

(“Fuller”). This present Brief in Opposition to the Peti-

tion for Certiorari is submitted on behalf of General

Motors, BASF and Fuller.

2See attached Magistrate’s Report and Recommendation, p.

26a, Res. App. A. Note that page numbers cited as “‘A-__ ,”” in

this brief refer to the Appendix which was submitted to the

Federal Circuit.

6

Kaliardos complains that anti-rust, wax-type coatings

which have been used by General Motors in some of its

model automobiles, and which have been supplied by the

other parties, infringe Kaliardos’ Patent Nos. 3,959,530

and 4,356,036. These two patents claim specific formu-

lations or “recipes’’ for wax-type coatings. Each of the

suppliers use different formulations or recipes which

was the reason for their separate motions.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

Starting in 1953, BASF (and its predecessors) supplied

General Motors with a coating comprising a mixture of:

(1) a synthetic wax; (2) a microcrystalline wax; (3) a

hydrocarbon resin; and, (4) an aluminum particle pig-

ment. These ingredients were dissolved in naphtha and

mineral spirit solvents. The liquid coating was sprayed

into the interiors of car doors and body parts of some,

but not all, model cars. The solvents evaporated leaving

a thin coating of wax-resin-pigment upon the metal sur-

faces to protect against moisture and rusting. BASF

supplied that coating, substantially unchanged (i.e.,

except for slight changes in percentages of ingredients)

to G.M. for about 34 years, from 1953 until 1987), when

it discontinued the product. Kaliardos complains that

that coating infringed his patents, even though that coat-

ing predates his patents by many years.

The BASF coating meets the requirements of G.M.’s

performance specification, No. 998-1128, which describes

the tests the coating must pass. (A-656-660)

In 1983, while still using BASF’s aluminum colored

coating, G.M. began using a “‘clear”’ coating (i.e., actually

a tan colored coating wihout aluminum pigment) which

was supplied by Daubert and others. Fuller began supply-

7

ing its formulation of the “clear” coating after August

1988. This coating must meet the requirements of G.M.’s

performance specification No. 998-2150. Kaliardos

asserts that the Daubert formulations infringe both of

his patents and that the Fuller formulation infringes

only the earlier 530 patent.

In 1972, about 19 years after G.M. began using the

accused BASF coating, Nicholas Kaliardos, who was in

the drycleaning business and who is a self-taught chemist,

invented his first coating recipe, and filed the patent

application which became the °530 patent-in-suit that

issued May 25, 1976. Between 1973 and 1980, Kaliardos

submitted a number of samples of different anti-rust

coating formulations to the G.M. Fisher Body Division

for performance testing. Mr. Kaliardos stated that

“*[M] any of the coatings which the plaintiff supplied [to

G.M.] do not relate to the patents-in-suit.” (Plaintiff's

Response to Request No. 5, August 26, 1989). There is

no evidence that any of the coatings that Kaliardos sup-

plied contained the specific recipes set forth in his patent

claims. The samples which he submitted did not meet

G.M. specifications (G.M. engineer Reichel Dep., A-791).

In 1980, G.M. advised Mr. Kaliardos that it would no

longer test proposed samples because he “has yet to sub-

mit any material that would meet our specifications”

(A-674).

In 1981, Kaliardos filed his second patent application

which issued October 26, 1982 as Patent No. 4,356,036

(036). The specification of this patent includes a copy

of portions of G.M.’s earlier published specification No.

998-1128 which relates to the aluminum colored coating

that had been supplied by BASF since 1953.

Regardless as to whether Kaliardos’ samples did or did

not meet G.M.’s specifications, Mr. Kaliardos’ patented

8

\

formulations could not be used in an automobile manu-

facturing plant because his formulations include a large

amount of a chlorinated solvent called perchloroethylene

or tetrachloroethylene. This ingredient is required in

both of his patents. Perchloroethylene is a dry-cleaner’s

spot remover and is “very important” to his formulation.

Kaliardos’ ’036 patent (col. 8, line 31, A-50) states:

‘The use of perchloroethylene is very important

because it cleans and dissolves any oil present on

the surface and allows the coating to make good

contact with the surface.”

G.M. does not use any chlorinated solvents in coatings

because the material is hazardous (G.M. engineer Reichel,

A-799-800). Kaliardos’ chemical expert Geeck testified

that perchloroethylene is not permitted in an automotive

plant because it is dangerous in large quantities (Geeck

Dep., A-3326). Kaliardos’ other chemical expert Strand-

bergh testified that perchloroethylene is toxic and is

considered to be carcinogenic (Strandbergh Dep., A-864).

Fuller’s chemist testified “It’s very irritating to the lungs

and throat area.” (Pellny Dep., A-744.)

Moreover, perchloroethylene costs about three to four

times more than the naphtha solvent used by ail of the

Defendants (Edwards Dep., A-923; Fuller chemist Pellny

Dep., A-774). In addition, perchloroethylene attacks and

damages the paint that is used on cars. Therefore, it is

not usable in a car (BASF analytical chemist Fujimoto

Dep. A1029-30). Perchloroethylene, in the quantities

required by Kaliardos’ formulations, is detectable by its

distinctive smell, according to Kaliardos’ chemical expert

(Epstein Dep., A-909).

There is no evidence that anyone has ever manu-

factured, purchased or used the coating formulations

that are specified in any of the Kaliardos patent claims.

9

In 1980, when General Motors refused to test any

more samples, Mr. Kaliardos concluded, without any

factual support, that G.M. must be using his patented

formulations. Hence, he wrote to G.M. in the early

1980’s complaining of infringement.

In response, G.M. and BASF advised him that they

were not using his formulation and, in 1984, they gave

him a liquid sample of the BASF coating to test so as to

satisfy himself that the BASF formulation was not the

same as his patented formulations. Kaliardos had that

material tested by a chemical laboratory in 1985. The

laboratory reported that it did not find the ingredients

of his patented formulations. Nevertheless, Kaliardos

filed a complaint in the U.S. District Court in Detroit

on September 14, 1988 against G.M. and BASF for

patent infringement and alleged conspiracy and misap-

propriation of his proprietary information. The conspir-

acy and misappropriation count was dismissed by sum-

mary judgment for lack of factual support and as barred

by the Statute of Limitations.?

PROCEEDINGS IN THE DISTRICT COURT

Discovery depositions were taken of six BASF chem-

ists including: the chemist who originated the formula-

tion of BASF’s accused coating in 1953; the two chemists

who successively were responsible for the formulation of

the BASF coating; BASF’s manager of technical services

and quality control; BASF’s research manager; and two

BASF analytical chemists who performed analytical tests

on BASF’s accused coating. Kaliardos also took the

depositions of a former BASF workman who had mixed

3See magistrate-judge’s “Report and Recommendation” of

December 27, 1990, A-2337 and the district court’s Order of

June 5, 1991, A-2363). No appeal was taken from that Order.

10

BASF coatings and of six G.M. engineers and technicians.

In addition, Kaliardos was supplied with all of the BASF

formulation data from 1953 to 1987, including ingredi-

ents, percentages of ingredients, sources of ingredients,

batch mixture records, and reports of chemical labora-

tory tests.

The Defendants took the discovery depositions of Mr.

Kaliardos and of his chemical expert witness, David Byrd,

who testified that he had re-tested the same 1984 sample

that G.M. and BASF had given to Mr. Kaliardos and that

he failed to find in that sample most of the ingredients

listed in Kaliardos’ patent claims. He hedged on his find-

ings concerning perchloroethylene by stating in his

written reports that he detected less than 5% perchloro-

ethylene. However, when cross-examined at his deposi-

tion, he admitted that less than 5% was “‘another way

of saying” that he found none (Byrd Dep., A-3002).

As a result of this discovery, on January 30, 1992

G.M. and BASF filed a joint motion for summary judg-

ment of non-infringement. But, before decision, Kali-

ardos amended his complaint and brought in more

supplier companies. He added Defendants Daubert, H.B.

Fuller Company, National Starch & Chemical Corpora-

tion and Koch Fuels, Inc. Later, he added Beazer East,

Inc. and H.B. Fuller Automotive Products, Inc. That

resulted in further discovery which delayed the pending

G.M./BASF motion for summary judgment.

On September 7, 1990, Koch Fuels was dismissed by

summary judgment because it “had no involvement in the

subject matter of this suit.”” Next, on November 12,

1991, National Starch’s and Beazer’s “Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment of Non-Infringement” was granted. They

were dismissed because their coatings were found by

the court not to infringe Kaliardos’ patents, either

11

literally or under the doctrine of equivalents. That

decision is reported at 777 F.Supp. 543 (E.D. Mich.,

1991) (see attached copy at Appendix B). No appeal was

taken by Kaliardos.*

In December 1991, Daubert and Fuller filed their

separate motions for summary judgment of non-infringe-

ment, and G.M. and BASF, jointly, re-filed their motion

for summary judgment of non-infringement. However,

rulings were deferred until further discovery depositions

were taken of Kaliardos’ expert Byrd and of several other

chemists who, by then, had been retained by Mr. Kali-

ardos to conduct more tests on the various coatings

involved in this lawsuit. Samples of Fuller's coating,

which has a different formulation than the coatings

made by BASF or Daubert, were supplied to Kaliardos

for these tests. Also, Kaliardos was given complete infor-

mation about Fuller’s formulations, production, etc.

Similarly, Daubert supplied complete information con-

cerning its formulations, its records of the contents of

each of the batches of coatings it made, etc.

All of this resulted in Kaliardos’ stipulation to an

“Order Granting Partial Summary Judgment of Non-

Infringement,” dated October 16, 1992 (Appendix C).

This Order held that certain of Kaliardos’ patent claims

were not infringed literally or under the doctrine of

equivalents, and these claims were dismissed from the

lawsuit. That left Kaliardos’ complaint that: BASF,

Daubert and Fuller coatings infringe claims 1 and 2 of

‘in its Opinion, the district court held that certain of the

ingredients that are listed in Kaliardos’ patent claims were

required for either literal infringement or for doctrine of equiv-

alents infringement because these ingredients were added to the

claims by Kaliardos in order to secure approval of his patent

(777 F.Supp. at pp. 545, 549, 29a-30a, 38a).

12

the °530 patent under the doctrine of equivalents; that

BASF and Daubert coatings literally infringe claims 1, 5

and 6 of the ’036 patent; and, that BASF and Daubert

coatings infringe claims 1-6 of the 036 patent under the

doctrine of equivalents.

The discovery depositions of Kaliardos’ expert chem-

ists Byrd and Geeck were no easy matter. They refused

to answer numerous questions; they refused to produce

test samples; and Byrd walked out of one deposition

(which resulted in a motion to compel and an Order

assessing sanctions for unilaterally terminating the depo-

sition). A number of court hearings on motions to com-

pel and court Orders were required to obtain meaningful

information from them. Obtaining the facts from Kali-

ardos and his experts Byrd and Geeck dragged over a

long period of time. On Defendants’ request, the court

ordered Byrd and Geeck to appear for the continuations

of their depositions in the courthouse where a magistrate

was available to immediately rule on their objections to

deposition questions or refusals to answer them.

Finally, an oral hearing on the motions for summary

judgment was conducted by the magistrate-judge on

October 22, 1992. At that time Kaliardos’ counsel and

Defendants’ counsel presented their oral arguments. No

testimony was taken at the hearing.

On October 7, 1993, U.S. Magistrate-Judge Marc L.

Goldman handed down his “Report and Recommenda-

tion” (Appendix A) which recommended that the district

judge grant the three motions for summary judgment.

Kaliardos filed objections. While his objections were

pending, Kaliardos filed a motion for leave to file a belated

supplement, comprising an unsworn test report prepared

by his expert Byrd, to his responses to the motions for

summary judgment of non-infringement. That report

13

related to tests conducted by Byrd on BASF coatings. In

these tests, he mixed a number of additional ingredients

into samples of BASF coatings and compared the modi-

fied BASF coating samples with each other. He did not

compare them with the patented compositions. The dis-

trict judge denied the motion, holding that the report was

untimely and was unverified. Although not decided, it

was apparent on its face that the report was unrelated to

the issue of whether BASF’s actual, unadulterated formu-

lation was the same as the patented formulations. The

report did not relate to either Daubert’s or Fuller’s

coatings.

On March 30, 1994, the district court issued its “Order

Accepting Magistrate-Judge’s October 7, 1993 Report

and Recommendation”’ granting the three motions for

summary judgments (A-1) and issued a Judgment dismiss-

ing the lawsuit (A-3). Kaliardos appealed only from the

district court’s Order of March 30, 1994.° The Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit affirmed the district court

on November 22, 1994.®

Turning now to the patent claims-in-suit and the lack

of evidence of infringement:

KALLIARDOS PATENT NO. 3,959,530’

Kaliardos asserts that claims 1 and 2 of the 530 patent

are infringed by the BASF, Daubert and Fuller coatings.

The claims read as follows:

“1. A cleaning and protective coating composition

consisting essentially of a mixture of: wax residue

Copy attached to Petition at p. 48.

Copy attached to Petition at p. 54.

See copy at Kaliardos’ Petition for Writ of Certiorari, p. 62.

14

such as paraffin and microcrystalline wax, perchlo-

roethylene, petroleum distillate having a boiling

point ranging between 350° and 380°F and, a non-

ionic surfactant such as nonylphenoxypoly(ethyl-

eneoxy)ethanol and, a small arnount of [N,N,N’,N’-

tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine].

2. The composition set forth in claim 1 wherein said

paraffin wax comprises at least 3%, said microcrys-

talline wax comprises at least 2%, said nonionic sur-

factant comprises at least 1% and said ethylenedia-

mine comprises at least 1%.”

The district court found, in the non-appealed decision

granting National Starch’s and Beazer’s motion for sum-

mary judgment, that the italicized terms were changes

that were made by Kaliardos in response to the Patent

Office examiner’s rejection and that “these changes were

necessary to secure the patent” (see 777 F.Supp. at p.

545; Kaliardos file history, pp. 33-34, A-1619-1620).°

8The absence of those necessary ingredients from the

accused coatings is another reason why summary judgment of

non-infringement is appropriate. The district court’s unappealed

decision that the italicized ingredients are necessary for infringe-

ment of the patent claims, due to the Patent Office prosecution

history, is the law of the case. Griffin v. M.D.O.C., 5 F.3d 186,

190 (6th Cir., 1993); Arizona v. California, 460 U.S. 605, 618,

75 L.Ed.2d 318, 333, 1031 S.Ct. 1382, 1397 (1993) (“As most

commonly defined, the doctrine [of law of the case] posits that

when a court decides upon a rule of law, the decision should

continue to govern the same issues in subsequent stages in the

same case.) See Markman v. Westview Instruments Inc., 1995

U.S.App. LEXIS 7593, p. 21 (Fed.Cir., Apr. 5, 1995) (“con-

struing and determining the scope of the claims in a patent is

strictly a legal question for the court.”

15

KALIARDOS PATENT NO. 4,356,0369

Kaliardos complains that BASF’s coating and Daubert’s

coatings literally infringe claims 1, 5 and 6 and, also, in-

fringe claims 1-6 of the 036 patent under the doctrine

of equivalents. These claims read as follows:

“1. An anti-corrosion coating composition compris-

ing a mixture of aluminum paste or zinc paste con-

taining aluminum or zinc flakes and a solvent,

microcrystalline wax, aromatic hydrocarbon resin

having a softening point, R and B, of 70°C.-140°C.,

chlorinated rubber having a combined chlorine con-

tent of at least 66%, neutral barium sulfonate, chlo-

rinated solvent, aromatic hydrocarbon solvent and

mineral spirits.

2. The anti-corrosion coating composition set forth

in claim 1 wherein said composition comprises by

weight:

aluminum paste or zinc 15-43%

microcrystalline wax 5-4%

aromatic hydrocarbon resin 10-18%

chlorinated rubber 2-6%

neutral barium sulfonate .5-1%

chlorinate solvent 7-23%

aromatic hydrocarbon solvent 22-32%

mineral spirits 1.3-4%

3. The anti-corrosion coating composition set forth

in claim 1 wherein said composition comprises by

weight:

aluminum paste 21-28%

microcrystalline wax 1.3-3.5%

aromatic hydrocarbon resin 7-23%

neutral barium sulfonate .5-1%

2 Copy at Petition, p. 77.

16 :

chlorinated solvent 7-23%

aromatic hydrocarbon solvent 23-42%

mineral spirits 1.3-3.5%

4. The anti-corrosion coating composition set forth

in claim 1 wherein said composition comprises by

weight:

zinc paste 15-43%

microcrystalline wax .5-4%

aromatic hydrocarbon resin 10-18%

neutral barium sulfonate .5-1%

chlorinated solvent 7-23%

aromatic hydrocarbon solvent 23-42%

mineral spirits 1.9-4%

5. The anti-corrosion coating composition set forth

in claim 1 wherein said chlorinated solvent com-

prises perchloroethylene.

6. The anti-corrosion coating composition set forth

in claim 1 wherein said aromatic hydrocarbon sol-

vent comprises toluene and xylene.

The district court held that “{T]he italicized terms

were changes made by the plaintiff in response to refer-

ences cited by the P.T.O. These changes were necessary

to secure the patent.” (See 777 F.Supp. at p. 545.)!°

KALIARDOS HAS NO EVIDENCE OF SIMILARITY

OF FUNCTION/WAY/RESULTS

For infringement under the doctrine of equivalents,

the patentee must prove by comparative factual evidence

that the accused product, as a whole, has substantially

10-There is no evidence that the italicized terms are found

in the accused coatings, which is another reason why summary

judgment of non-infringement is appropriate.

17

the same function/way/results as the entire product that

is specified in the patent claims AND, in addition, must

separately explain how and why the function/way/results

are the same. Malta v. Schulmerich Carillons, Inc.,

supra, 925 F.2d at 1327. Kaliardos has presented no such

factual evidence. There is no evidence in the record

where anyone said or demonstrated or established in

any way, whether by fact or even by opinion, that the

BASF, Daubert, or Fuller accused coatings have substan-

’ tially the same function/way/results as the coating com-

positions that are specified in the patent claims of either

the °530 or ’036 patents. To the contrary, Kaliardos’

expert Byrd testified that he has no such evidence, as

follows:

Q. Do you have any evidence to establish that any of

the coatings of any of the defendants which are

accused of infringements in this case perform sub-

stantially the same function in substantially the

same way to produce substantially the same re-

sults as the compositions that are specified in the

claims of Mr. Kaliardos’ Patent No. 5,950,530?

THE WITNESS: I don’t know.

You don’t know the answer to that question?

That’s right. (A-3052-53)

0: POD

Do you have any evidence to establish that any of

the accused products of any of the defendants in

this lawsuit perform substantially the same func-

tion in substantially the same way to produce sub-

stantially the same result as those of the compo-

sition of chemical ingredients specified in the

claims of Mr. Kaliardos’ Patent No. 4,356,036?

A. THE WITNESS: No. (A-3052)

With respect to the alleged infringement by Fuller of

the ’530 patent claims 1 and 2 under the doctrine of

18

equivalents, Kaliardos’ expert Byrd affirmatively stated

that the function/way/results are not the same:

Q. Is it fair to say that the H.B. Fuller material that

you tested does not give the same results as the

Kaliardos’ patented formulations?

A. Yer

Q. Is it fair to say that the H.B. Fuller material that

you tested does not perform the same function as

the Kaliardos’ patented formulations?

A. Yes.

Q. And is it fair to say that the H.B. Fuller formula-

tions that you tested do not work the same way as

the Kaliardos’ patented formulations?

A. Yes. (A-3026)

Further, Kaliardos, expert Byrd testified that he did

not even conduct any comparative tests to determine

whether any of the Defendants’ coatings work in the

same way (A-3049-50) or perform the same functions

(A-3051) or produce the same results as the compositions

specified in the claims of the °530 (A-3042) or the 036

patents (A-3042).

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT TESTIFIED THAT BASF’S

COATINGS DO NOT CONTAIN MOST OF THE

INGREDIENTS SPECIFIED IN THE PATENT CLAIMS

Referring to the ingredients that are listed in claim 1

of the 530 patent, Byrd testified that BASF’s coating

“Do not have a nonionic surfactant” (A-3015); that he

did not find any nonylphenoxypoly(ethyleneoxy)ethanol

in BASF’s coating (A-3032); that he did not find any

[N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydrocypropyl)ethylenediamine] in

any BASF coating (A-3018, 3028, 3032); and that he

did not find any petroleum distillate having a boiling

19

point ranging between 350° and 380° F in BASF’s coat-

ing (A-3017). Further, initially he testified that he did

not detect any perchloroethylene in BASF’s coating

(A-3004).

Referring to claim 2 of the ‘530 patent, Byrd testified

that he never determined the amounts of the ingredients

in any of the accused coatings of any of the Defendants

(A-3064). He admitted that he does not have any evi-

dence that BASF’s accused coating contains the percent-

ages of ingredients that are spelled out in claim 2 of the

530 patent (A-3062, 3063).

As to claims 1, 5 and 6 of the ’036 patent, Kaliardos’

expert Byrd testified that BASF’s coatings do not have

each of the claimed ingredients. More specifically, Byrd

testified that he did not find in BASF’s coating any aro-

matic hydrocarbon resin having a softening point, R and

B, of 70°C.-140°C (A-3004). He testified that he did

not find any chlorinated rubber having a combined

chlorine content of at least 66% (A-3004); and he did

not find any chlorinated solvent (A-3005). He testified

that he did not find neutral barium sulfonate (A-3005);

nor any barium sulfonate at all (A-3031, 3017). As to

claims 2, 3 and 4 of the ’036 patent, he did not even

attempt to determine whether BASF’s coating contained

the percentages of the ingredients that are set forth in

those claims (A-3064).

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT BYRD TESTIFIED THAT

THE FULLER COATINGS DO NOT CONTAIN

ALL OF KALIARDOS’ CLAIMED INGREDIENTS

Byrd testified that Fuller’s coatings do not contain

four of the five ingredients listed in Kaliardos’ claims 1

and 2 of the 530 patent. The only common ingredient

is wax. He said that “Fuller doesn’t have perchloroethy-

lene” (A-3260); Fuller’s coating “Does not include a

20

small amount of [N,N,N’,N’-tetrakis(2-hydroxypropy])-

ethylenediamine]” (A-3032); and, he testified that Ful-

ler’s coating does not include a “nonionic surfactant such

as nonylphenoxypoly(ethyleneoxy)ethanol” (A-3262).

Byrd also testified that he did not find in Fuller’s coat-

ings “petroleum distillate having a boiling point ranging

between 350 and 380 F” (A-3261), which the district

court held was “necessary to secure the patent.” (See

Kaliardos v. General Motors, 777 F.Supp. at p. 545.)

With respect to claim 2 of the ’530 patent, no evidence

whatsoever was presented concerning any similarity of

percentages of ingredients between Fuller’s coatings and

the amounts of ingredients specified in claim 2.

KALIARDOS’ EXPERT GEECK TESTIFIED THAT

DAUBERT’S COATING DOES NOT CONTAIN

ALL OF THE CLAIMED INGREDIENTS

During discovery, Daubert made available its formula-

tions, laboratory test reports and its batch manufactur-

ing records, which identified each of the materials and

the amounts of the materials mixed together to make

Daubert’s coatings. Kaliardos’ expert chemist, Mr. Geeck,

examined these materials and testified that “[E] xcept

for the wax, Daubert coating formulations are not the

same as the formulations specified in the claims of either

Kaliardos’ ’530 patent and ’036 patent’ (Geeck Dep.,

A-3322, 3324). Additionally, Mr. Geeck testified that

he did not find any ethylenediamine in Daubert’s coat-

ings (A-3302, 3303); nor did he find any petroleum dis-

tillate having a boiling point ranging between 350

and 380 F (A-3304); he did not find any [N,N,N’,N’-

tetrakis(2-hydroxypropyl)ethylenediamine] (A-3305,

3306, 3311); nor did he find any neutral barium sulfon-

ate (A-3320, 3322); nor did he find any chlorinated sol-

vents (A-3321). No evidence was presented to show that

21

Daubert’s coatings contain the same percentages of

ingredients that are specified in the Kaliardos patent

claims.

EXCLUSION OF EVIDENCE

Kaliardos’ Petition, at page 39, and elsewhere, refers to

evidence concerning a Pontiac Grand Prix door and a

laboratory analysis of the coating taken from the door.

That evidence was excluded by the magistrate because of

failure to identify what the material was or where it came

from. It should not have been referenced by Petitioner

in his brief. To explain, Kaliardos’ expert Byrd, apparent-

ly unwittingly, tested a sample piece of the hard, blue-

colored, epoxy adhesive which is used within Pontiac

Grand Prix doors to “glue” the bent edges of the metal

door panels together. Kaliardos had that sample piece

additionally tested by another laboratory in California.

Upon investigations by G.M., unrefuted affidavits were

submitted to the magistrate with a motion to exclude the

blue-colored sample and the tests concerning it. The

unrefuted affidavits identified that sample as an epoxy

adhesive, not a wax coating, and established that G.M.

did not use wax coatings in that particular model car

(Burton Affidavit, A-1492; Cantalin Affidavit, A-1495;

Mayhem Affidavit, A-1480).

During his deposition, Kaliardos’ expert Byrd admitted

that he had known all along, and he had told Kaliardos,

that the “blue” material was not the same as the tan

colored coatings-in-suit and he admitted that the material

was an adhesive (Byrd, A-3254, 3256). Since the magis-

trate excluded that material, it should not have been

included in Kaliardos’ petition.

22

ARGUMENT AGAINST CERTIORARI

The patentee has the burden of proving infringement,

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents, by a

preponderance of evidence. Smithkline Diagnostics Co. v.

Helena Laboratories Corp., 859 F.2d 878, 889 (Fed. Cir.

1988); Mannesmann Demag Corp. v. Engineered Metal

Products Co., 793 F.2d 1279, 1282 (Fed.Cir. 1986).

To prove literal infringement, Kaliardos must present

factual evidence showing that every single ingredient that

is specified in the asserted patent claims is actually found

in the accused coatings. Builders Concrete, Inc. v. Brem-

erton Concrete Products Co., 757 F.2d 255, 257 (Fed.

Cir. 1985). To prove infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents, Kaliardos must provide substantial factual

evidence showing: (1) that BASF’s, Fuller’s and Dau-

bert’s coatings contain either the same or an equivalent

of each and every ingredient that is specified in the pat-

ent claims-at-issue; AND, (2) that the accused coatings

perform substantially the same function, in substantially

the same way, to produce substantially the same results

as the coating formulations specified in such patent

claims. Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products

Co., 339 U.S. 605, 609-10, 70 S.Ct. 854, 856-57, 94

L.Ed. 1097, 1102 (1950); Builders Concrete, Inc. v.

Bremerton Concrete Products Co., 757 F.2d at 258;

AND, (3) to explain by factual, comparative, evidence

how and why the accused coatings have the same func-

tion/way/results as the combination of ingredients that

are specified in the patent claims. That is the controlling

patent law which Kaliardos must meet in order to defeat

a motion for summary judgment. Malta v. Schulmerich

Carillons, Inc., 925 F.2d 1320, 1327, 1329 (Fed.Cir.

1961), cert. denied, 119 L.Ed.2d 566 (1992). The law is

well settled. Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Sealy Mattress Co. of

23

Michigan, 837 F.2d 1422, 1425-26 (Fed.Cir. 1989).

Malta, supra, 925 F.2d at p. 1329 explains:

6eé

.

. substantial evidence of comparison as to the

function, way and result is required as part of the

patentee’s prima facie case of infringement under

the doctrine [of equivalents]. Therefore, if the com-

parison evidence is not substantial, the issue may

not be submitted to the jury.

We have also held that the comparison as to each

Graver Tank element must be made ‘explicitly’ and

‘separately.” Lear Siegler, 837 at 1425-26. Conse-

quently, a jury verdict of infringement under the

doctrine can only survive a motion for JNOV if sub-

stantial evidence was presented that explicitly and

separately compares the function/way/result of the

accused device with the function/way/result of the

claimed invention to show that they are substan-

tially the same.”

If any one of the essential elements of proof of in-

fringement is missing, summary judgment is mandated

under Rule 56(c). It is not discretionary. Celotex Corp.

v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322-23, 91 L.Ed.2d 265, 273,

106 S.Ct. 2548, 2552 (1986):

“In our view, the plain language of Rule 56(c) man-

dates the entry of summary judgment, after ade-

quate time for discovery and upon motion, against

a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to

establish the existence of an element essential to

that party’s case, and on which that party will bear

the burden of proof at trial. In such a situation,

there can be ‘no genuine issue as to any material

fact,’ since a complete failure concerning an essen-

tial element of the non-moving party’s case necess-

arily renders all of facts immaterial. The moving

24

party is ‘entitled to a judgment as a matter of law’

because the non-moving party has failed to make a

sufficient showing on an essential element of her

case with respect to which she has the burden of

proof.”

In Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247-

48, 91 L.Ed.2d 202, 211, 106 S.Ct 2505 (1986), the

Court stated the standard for summary judgment:

‘Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

provides that summary judgment ‘shall be rendered

forthwith if the pleadings, depositions, answers to

interrogatories and admissions on file, together

with the affidavits, if any, show that there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact and that the

moving party is entitled to a judgment as a matter

of law.

By its very terms, this standard provides that the

mere existence of some alleged factual dispute be-

tween the parties will not defeat an otherwise prop-

erly supported motion for summary judgment; the

requirement is that there be no genuine issue of

material fact. [emphasis in original]

As to materiality, the substantive law will identify

which facts are material. Only disputes over facts

that might affect the outcome of the suit under the

governing law will properly preclude the entry of

summary judgment. Factual disputes that are irrele-

vant or unnecessary will not be counted. [empha-

sis added]

[T| here is no issue for trial unless there is suffi-

cient evidence favoring the non-moving party for a

25

jury to return a verdict for that party. 477 US. at

249.

[T]he standard for summary judgment mirrors the

standard for a directed verdict under Fed. R. Civ.

P. 50(a). 477 U.S. at 250.”

THE QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW BY

APPELLANT KALIARDOS UNDER RULE 14.1(a)!!

“1. Did the magistrate-judge in the trial court err in

holding that the evidence produced by Plaintiff in re-

sponse to Defendant’s motion for summary judgment

did not create a genuine issue of material fact concern-

ing whether accused products infringed asserted claims,

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents, such

as to require a full trial?”

It is clear that there was no genuine issue of material

fact concerning the motions for summary judgment.

There cannot be a genuine issue of material fact where

the non-moving party, Kaliardos, failed to present some

of the essential evidence to show literal infringement (i.e.,

the presence of every single claimed ingredient in the

accused products) or infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents (i.e., evidence of the presence of equivalent

ingredients AND showing substantially similar function/

way/results with explanations as to how and why).

Hence, there was no error by the district court or the

court of appeals which warrants the grant of certiorari.

Intellicall, Inc. v. Phonometrics Inc., 952 F.2d 1384,

1389 (1992) (summary judgment of non-infringement

1 Note, the argument headings are reproductions of Kaliar-

dos’ four ‘Questions Presented for Review’”’ in his Petition for Writ

of Certiorari.

26

properly granted where patentee failed to produce evi-

dence of equivalency).

“*2. Did the trial judge in the trial court err in adopt-

ing the “Report and Recommendation” of the magis-

trate-judge and dismissing Plaintiff’s action on the merits

and by abusing his discretion in denying Plaintiff's

motion for leave to supplement his responses with a test

report of his expert and/or in not granting Kaliardos’

request for an oral hearing?”

The district judge stated that, “pursuant to 28 USC

636(b)(1)(B), Fed. R. Civ. Pr. 72(b), he conducted a de

novo review of the magistrate’s “‘Report and Recom-

mendation,” which found that Kaliardos lacks essential

evidence. There is no showing as to exactly where or how

he committed error in so doing.

Moreover, there was no abuse of discretion in deny-

ing Plaintiff’s motion to supplement his responses with

a test report which was untimely and not verified and,

therefore, not in accordance with Rule 56(e). The court

properly relied upon Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398

U.S. 144, 158 n. 17 (1970) and Fowle v. C&C Cola,

868 F.2d 59, 67 (3rd Cir. 1989), which states:

6é

.

. .There was no compliance [by the expert’s

report] with Rule 56 (e) ... the substance of the

report was not sworn to by the alleged expert, there-

fore, the purported expert’s report is not competent

to be considered on a motion for summary judg-

ment. See Adickes v. S. H. Kress & Co., 398 US.

144, 158, 158 n.17, 90 S.Ct. 1598, 1608 n. 17, 26

L.Ed. 142 (1970) (‘unsworn statement does not

meet the requirements of Fed. Rule Civ. P. 56(e)’).”

Further, there was no abuse of discretion in not grant-

ing Kaliardos’ request for another oral hearing before

27

deciding the motions for summary judgment. Kaliardos

had an oral hearing before the magistrate; he was not

entitled to another oral hearing before the district judge.

That question was definitively addressed in United States

v. Raddatz, 447 U.S. 667, 673-74, 65 L.Ed.2d 424,

432-3, 100 S.Ct. 2406 (1980). Referring to 28 U.S.C.

636(b)(1)(B), Raddatz states that the district judge is

required to “make a de novo determination of those

portions of the [magistrate’s] report or specified pro-

posed findings or recommendations to which objection

is made.” And, “It should be clear that on these disposi-

tive motions, the statute calls for a de novo determina-

tion, not a de novo hearing.” Then Raddatz quotes

from the House Report, H.R. Rep. No. 94-1609 (1976):

The use of the words ‘de novo determination’

is not intended to require the judge to actually

conduct a new hearing on contested issues.

Raddatz summarizes:

. In providing for a ‘de novo determination’

rather than a de novo hearing, Congress intended to

permit whatever reliance a district judge, in the

exercise of sound judicial discretion, chose to place

on a magistrate’s proposed findings and recom-

mendations.”

“3. Did the appeal court err in affirming the district

court’s dismissal of Plaintiff-Appellant’s case concerning

the evidence Kaliardos offered and the plain language

and historical intent of the application of Federal Rule

56?”

The appeals court affirmed the district court’s sum-

mary judgment dismissal because of the absence of essen-

tial evidence of infringement. As this Court stated in

28

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co., Ltd. v. Zenith Radio

Corporation, 475 U.S. 574, 586-7, 89 L.Ed.2d 538, 552,

106 S.Ct. 1348 (1986):

‘When the moving party has carried its burden

under Rule 56 (c), its opponent must do more than

simply show that there is some metaphysical doubt

as to the material facts.

In the language of the Rule, the nonmoving party

must come forward with specific facts showing that

there is a genuine issue for trial.”

Kaliardos made no such showing. Hence, there was no

error in affirming the dismissal.

“4. Is the federal judiciary using Rule 56 to rid their |

dockets of difficult cases and/or litigants and, if so, will

such use of Rule 56 be allowed to continue?”

Kaliardos misinterprets the purpose of Rule 56. The

purpose is to rid the dockets of factually unsupported

claims. Pertinent here is this Court’s statements in Celo-

tex supra:

“One of the principal purposes of summary judg-

ment rule is to isolate and dispose of factually

unsupported claims or defenses, and we think that

it should be interpreted in a way that allows it to

accomplish this purpose (477 U.S. at 373)

The Federal Rules of Civil Procedure have for

almost 50 years authorized motions for summary

judgment upon proper showings of the lack of a

genuine, triable issue of material fact. Summary

judgment procedure is properly regarded not as a

29

disfavored procedural shortcut, but rather as an inte-

gral part of the Federal Rules as a whole, which are

designed ‘to secure the just, speedy and inexpen-

sive determination of every action.’

Rule 56 must be construed with due regard not only

for the rights of persons asserting claims and de-

fenses that are adequately based in fact to have

those claims and defenses tried to a jury, but also

for the rights of persons opposing such claims and

defenses to demonstrate in the manner provided

by the Rule, prior to trial, that the claims and

defenses have no factual basis.” (477 U.S. at 327)

This present lawsuit is utterly without factual founda-

tion. This is the very kind of case for which summary

judgment has been designed.

30

CONCLUSION

Respondents General Motors, BASF and Fuller respect-

fully ask this Court to deny Kaliardos’ Petition for Writ

of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

HERBERT FURMAN BERNARD J. CANTOR

29709 Deer Run (Counsel of Record)

Farmington Hills, MICHAEL P. BRENNAN

Michigan 48331 RoBert S. NOLAN

Attorney for HARNESS, DICKEY &

PIERCE, P.L.C.

Respondent-Defendant

General Motors

Corporation

5445 Corporate Drive

Troy, Michigan 48098

(810) 641-1600

(810) 641-0270 (FAX)

Attorneys for

Respondents-Defendants

General Motors Corporation,

BASF Corporation,

H.B. Fuller Company,

H.B. Fuller Automotive

Products, Inc.

April 20, 1995

la

APPENDIX A

Magistrate’s ‘‘Report and Recommendation”

[Filed Oct 7 93]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION — FLINT

Civil No. 88-CV-73729-DT

NICOLAS KALIARDOS,

Plaintiff,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, BASF

CORPORATION, DAUBERT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

H.B. FULLER COMPANY and H.B. FULLER

AUTOMOTIVE PRODUCTS, INC.,

Defendants.

HON. PAUL V. GADOLA

HON. MARC L. GOLDMAN

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION

This is an action claiming infringement of certain

claims of United States Patents 4,959,530 [’530] and

4,356,036 [’036]. The defendants in this action are

General Motors [GM] and three companies which sup-

plied General Motors with anti-corrosive coatings for use

on its automobiles, BASF Corporation, Daubert Indus-

tries, Inc., and H.B. Fuller Company. The pertinent

facts are as follows.

2a

BACKGROUND

In the late 1960’s and early 1970’s, the plaintiff,

Nicholas Kaliardos, was engaged in the dry cleaning

business. Sometime around 1971, Kaliardos began

experimenting with the chemicals used in his dry cleaning

business in an effort to develop an anti-corrosion wax

coating for use on automobiles. He began this experimen-

tation after being told that the Fisher Body Division of

General Motors was looking for a coating for bare steel

that would withstand salt spray. In the period between

1972 and 1981, Kaliardos submitted several samples of

his products to the Fisher Body Corrosion Laboratory for

testing. After each test, Fisher Body reported that the

product did not meet GM Material Specification 998-

1128. However, Kaliardos was never shown the test

results. Curious about the performance of his product

and suspicious of the conclusory test reports from

Fisher Body, Kaliardos submitted his creations to inde-

pendent laboratories for testing. Kaliardos claims that the

results of these independent tests revealed that his

coatings met GM’s anti-corrosion requirements.

In 1974, Kaliardos submitted an anti-corrosion coating

invention to the Patent and Trademark Office [PTO].

The Patent Office Examiner initially objected to the

broad language in the proposed claims, and Kaliardos

modified those claims to specifically define several of the

terms. On May 25, 1976, Kaliardos was granted U.S.

Patent 3,959,530 [The °530 patent]. (Gaim 1 to the

530 patent reads:

A cleaning and protective coating composition

consisting essentially of a mixture of:

wax residue such as paraffin and microcrystalline

wax, perchloroethylens, petroleum distillate having

a boiling point ranging between 350 degrees and

3a

380 degrees F. and a nonionic surfactant, such as

nonylphenoxypoly (ethyleneoxy) ethanol, and a

small amount of [N,N,N’, N’-tetrakis (2-hydroxy-

propyl) ethylenediamine] .!

In both the patent application and an affidavit filed in

connection with this case, Kaliardos explained the func-

tion of the various ingredients of his coating. The wax

residue is waterproof and remains pliable in both cold

and hot weather. Petroleum distillate, recommended as

Solvent 140 in the patent language, acts as a carrier for

the other ingredients, dissolving the wax once the wax is

heated. The coating spreadability is improved by the

surfactant, and the coating adheres better to the metal

car body once the chelating agent is added. Finally, and

most importantly according to Kaliardos, the perchetoro-

ethylene dissolves any oil remaining on the metal. This

chlorinated solvent cleans the car body, helping the other

coating materials to stick to the bare surface. “Sagging”

had been a prevalent problem with other coatings, and

Kaliardos claims that he eliminated sagging and flaking

problems when he began using perchloroethylene in his

experiments. Perchloroethylene was commonly used as

a spot remover in the dry cleaning industry.

After receiving the °530 patent, Kaliardos began

experimenting with weldable zinc and anti-corrosive

coatings. He continued submitting his coatings for testing

at the Fisher Corrosion Lab. In 1978, General Motors

amended Material Specification 998-1128, and began

requiring aluminum pigment, hydrocarbon resins, and a

petroleum solvent in its anti-corrosion coatings. Kaliardos

'The underlined portions of the language indicate the changes

that were made at the direction of the patent office in order to

secure the patent.

4a

added aluminum to his coating to meet GM Material

Specification 998-1128.

On October 26, 1982, Kaliardos was granted a patent

for a new formula containing zinc or aluminum. Claim

1 to U.S. Patent No. 4,356,036 [the ’036 patent] reads:

An anti-corrosion coating composition comprising:

a mixture of aluminum paste or zinc paste contain-

ing aluminum or zinc flakes and a solvent, micro-

crystalline wax, aromatic hydrocarbon resin having a

softening point, R and B, of 70C. - 140C., chlori-

nated rubber having a combined chlorine content

of at least 66%, neutral barium sulfonate, chlori-

nated solvent, aromatic hydrocarbon solvent, and

mineral spirits.

In the patent language, Kaliardos recommends using

perchloroethylene as the chlorinated solvent and using

toluene and xylene as the aromatic hydrocarbon solvents.

Ingredients that were not part of the ’530 patent, but

were included in the ’036 patent, include chlorinated

rubber and aluminum or zinc paste. According to Kali-

ardos, he added the chlorinated rubber because it has a

high resistance to acids and alkalies. He stated that with-

out the ingredient, the coating would not pass the GM

detergent test listed in the material specifications. The

aluminum paste provided a silver pigment for the coatings

and also forms a protective finishing layer over the other

ingredients. Aluminum is apparently more effective than

zinc because less of the material is required.

For many years prior to 1979 and continuing to the

present, General Motors has used wax-type coatings to

prevent corrosion on the inside surfaces of its auto-

5a

mobiles.” Defendants BASF, Daubert, and Fuller, are

among the several companies that supply GM with wax-

type anti-corrosion coatings. BASF claims that it has

manufactured an anti-corrosion coating since the 1960s,

based on Canadian Patent 743,631 issued to Rebecca

Sandretto, a former employee of a predecessor company,

in 1966. Daubert has supplied GM with coatings since

1979. Fuller was not organized until August 1988, when

it bought certain assets of the Widger Chemical Co., and

the company has supplied coatings to GM since its

inception.

In early 1980, before Kaliardos obtained the ’036

patent, the Fisher Corrosion Lab notified Kaliaros that

after seven years of testing his anti-corrosion products,

they were discontinuing any further testing because none

of Kaliardos’ products had met GM’s specifications.

However, Fisher Body apparently relented and tested

another coating. In an October 23, 1980 letter, Fisher

Body informed Kaliardos that his aluminized sample did

not meet the requirements of Specification 998-1128.

Kaliardos was directed to make no further submissions.

In late 1982 or early 1983, after obtaining the ’036

patent, Kaliardos contacted General Motors and began

claiming that the anti-corrosion coatings provided by

their suppliers and used on their vehicles infringed both

his 036 and ’530 patents. Kaliardos claimed that GM

had directed its suppliers to manufacture coatings based

on the samples and formulas that Kaliardos had provided

for testing.

2 Other automakers were using an “oily wax” as early as 1975,

but the thickness of the early coatings caused problems on the

assembly line.

6a

On September 14, 1988, after years of correspondence

and testing, Kaliardos filed a complaint in the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Michigan,

charging General Motors and BASF with patent infringe-

ment. In February 1990, Kaliardos added four other

suppliers as defendants, including Daubert and H.B.

Fuller.?

In 1991, after a lengthy period of discovery, the

defendants filed motions for summary judgment. They

asserted that plaintiff had failed to establish that the

defendants had infringed his two patents either literally

or under the doctrine of equivalents. In response to this

motion, plaintiff submitted the affidavit of his expert,

David Byrd, which purportedly established that the

products used by GM and manufactured by the defen-

dant did infringe plaintiff’s patents. Because the affidavit

contained information which contradicted testimony

Byrd had given previously in depositions, a new round of

discovery began.

Following completion of this new round of discovery,

new motions for summary judgment were filed by the

defendants. In response to these motions, plaintiff agreed

to modify his claims. Plaintiff conceded that the coatings

manufactured by BASF, Fuller, and Daubert do not

literally infringe any of the claims of the ’530 patent. He

further conceded that the coatings of the above-named

defendants do not infringe claims 3, 4, 5, and 6 of the

*530 patent under the doctrine of equivalents. Thus,

plaintiff continues to assert that GM has infringed all

3Two of these new defendants, Beazer East Inc., and National

Starch & Chemical Corporation, were granted summary judgment

in a memorandum opinion and order entered by the Honorable

Paul V. Gadola. Kaliardos v. General Motors Corp., 777 F.Supp.

543 (E.D. Mich. 1991).

7a

claims of the ’530 patent, both literally and under the

doctrine of equivalents, and that the rest of the defen-

dants have infringed only claims 1 and 2 of the °530

patent under the doctrine of equivalents.

With respect to the ’036 patent, plaintiff conceded

that the Fuller coating does not infringe that patent

under either theory. He also conceded that the BASF

and Daubert coating do not literally infringe claims 2,

3, 4, and 7 of the ’036 patent and, further, that they do

not infringe claim 7 of the ’036 patent under the doctrine

of equivalents. Finally, plaintiff conceded that Daubert

coating Nox-Rust X-170 does not infringe the ’036

patent at all. An order granting summary judgment on

these claims was entered by United States District Judge

Paul V. Gadola on October 19, 1992.

As a result of this order, the following claims remain

against each defendant:

1. BASF-—Infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents of claims 1 and 2 of the ’530 patent.

Literal infringement of claims 1, 2 and 7 of the

036 patent. Infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents of claims 1-6 of the ’036 patent.

2. DAUBERT-—Infringement of claims 1 and 2 of

the ’530 patent under the doctrine of equivalents.

Literal infringement of claims 1, 5 and 6 of the

‘036 patent. Infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents of claims 1-6 of the ’036 patent.

3. FULLER—Infringement of claims 1 and 2 of the

’530 patent under the doctrine of equivalents.

4. GENERAL MOTORS-—The claims against GM are

derivative of those against the suppliers because

GM is named as a user of the accused products.

There is also an allegation that GM may have

infringed the patents by adding chemicals to the

8a

coatings after they had been delivered by the

suppliers.

The defendants are requesting summary judgment with

respect to each of these claims.

LEGAL PRINCIPLES

Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure pro-

vides that summary judgment shall be granted if there is

no genuine issue of material fact. The burden is first on

the moving party to show that there is an absence of evi-

dence to support the non-moving party’s case. Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Hines v. Joy

Manuf., 850 F.2d 1146, 1149-50 (6th Cir. 1988); Gregg

v. Allen-Bradley Co., 801 F.2d 859,861 (6th Cir. 1986).

Once the moving party presents sufficient evidence to

support the motion, the burden shifts to the adverse

party to set forth facts showing a genuine triable issue.

Fed.R.Cwv.P. 56(e); Gregg, 801 F.2d at 861.

Summary judgment should be granted against a party

who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish the

existence of an element essential to that ~urty’s case.

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. at 325. In deciding

the question, the court must bear in mind the quantum

and quality of proof necessary to support liability at

trial. The standard mirrors that governing a directed ver-

dict under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 50(a). The

inquiry under each is the same: Whether the evidence

presents a sufficient disagreement to require submission

to a jury, or whether it is so one-sided that one party

must prevail as a matter of law. Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 251-52 (1986). The non-

movant “must do more than simply show that there is

some metaphysical doubt as to the material facts.”

———_>rs sve ee EEE

9a

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp., 475

U.S. 574, 586 (1986). If the evidence put forward by the

non-moving party is merely colorable, or is not signifi-

cantly probative, summary judgment may be granted.

Id. Similarly, speculation or hypothesis is not sufficient

to create a genuine issue of material fact. Boddy v. Dean,

821 F.2d 346, 349 (6th Cir. 1987). With this standard

in mind, I now turn to the legal principles which control

in this case.

In his decision granting National Starch and Beazer’s

motions for summary judgment, Judge Gadola outlined

the law of patents which is applicable to the case. Kali-

ardos v. General Motors Corp., 777 F.Supp. 543 (E.D.

Mich. 1991). Because this is the ‘‘law of the case” which

must be followed in this report and recommendation, |

will repeat it here.

A patent is a federal statutory grant under 35 U.S.C.

§101. The patent, to be protected, must comport

with certain statutory requirements. Section 112 of

Title 35 states in relevant party that:

[A patent] specification shall conclude with one

or more claims particularly pointing out and

distinctly claiming the subject matter which the

applicant regards as his invention.

35 U.S.C. §112. The Federal Circuit has stated that

“(t]he claims alone delimit the right to exclude;

only they may be infringed.” Environmental Instru-

ments Inc. v. Sutron Corp., 887 F.2d 1561, 1564

(Fed.Cir. 1989).

In patent law, every element of the claim must be

found in the accused product—either actually or by

a substantially equivalent element—in order to find

an infringement.

10a

[W]here the respondent in constructing his

[product] omits one of the ingredients of the

complainant’s combination, he does not infringe

the complainant’s patent.

Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d

931, 950 (Fed.Cir. 1987) [Nies, J., concurring],

cert. denied, 485 U.S. 961, 1009, 108 S.Ct. 1226,

1474, 99 L.Ed.2d 426 (1988); see also Lemelson v.

United States, 752 F.2d 1538, 1551 (Fed. Cir.

1985) [“the plaintiff must show the presence of

every element or its substantial equivalent in the

accused (product)”’].

Thus, the accused infringer . . . is entitled to

summary judgement, on the ground of non-

infringement, by pointing out that the patentee

failed to put forth evidence to support a finding

that [an element] of the asserted claim was met

by the . . . accused [product]. Johnston, 885

F.2d at 1578.

Infringement may be shown in only two ways. First,

if every single element of limitation in the claim is

found in the accused product, there is literal infringe-

ment. See Builders Concrete, Inc. v. Bremerton

Concrete Produs. Co., 757 F.2d 255, 257 (Fed.Cir.

1985). Second, infringement can occur where the

accused product has corresponding elements which

perform substantially the same function in sub-

stantially the same way to obtain the same result.

See Graver Tank Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 339

U.S. 605, 609-10, 70 S.Ct. 854, 856-57, 94 L.Ed.

2d 1097 (1950); Builders Concrete, 757 F.2d at

258. This second path to infringement is called the

doctrine of equivalents.

The doctrine of equivalents will not extend to allow

the patentee to recapture through equivalence cer-

tain coverage given up during prosecution of his

| es

lla

patent application. See Pennwalt, 833 F.2d at 934,

n.1. Therefore, the language changed by the plaintiff

in securing his patents is critical if the doctrine of

equivalents infringement is pursued. This limitation

is called prosecution history estoppel.

Prosecution history estoppel, which precludes a

patentee from obtaining a claim construction that

would resurrect subject matter surrendered during

prosecution of his patent application . . . limits a

patentee’s reliance on the doctrine of equivalents.

Builders Concrete, 757 F.2d at 258; see also Jonsson

v. Stanley Works, 711 F.Supp. 1395, 1403 (N.D.

Ohio 1989) [‘‘Arguments and remarks made by

plaintiff’s counsel during prosecution of the patent

application can also be used to determine the scope

of the claims”], aff’d., 903 F.2d 812 (Fed.Cir.

1990). Finally, a claimant may not “broaden his

claim by dropping [an] element which he was

compelled to include in order to secure his patent.”

1.T.S. Rubber Co. v. Essex Rubber Co., 272 US.

429, 443, 47 S.Ct. 136, 141, 71 L.Ed. 335 (1926).

In view of the issues remaining in this case, it is neces-

sary to note in greater detail what is required of a plain-

tiff who is aiieging infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents. In Lear Siegler, Inc. v. Sealy Mattress Co. of

Michigan, 873 F.2d 1422 (Fed. Cir. 1987), the court

recognized that under Graver Tank, infringement under

the doctrine of equivalents does not require complete

identity for every purpose and in every respect, but does

require substantial identity of the function performed,

means by which the function is performed, and the result

achieved. 873 F.2d at 1425. This substantial identity

must be proven with respect to all three of these ele-

ments. As stated in Lear Siegler, 873 F.2d at 1425-26

12a

[relying on Nestier Corp. v. Menasha Corp.-Lewtsystems

Div., 729 F.2d 1576, 1579-80 (Fed.Cir. 1984)]:

The party asserting infringement must present

“evidence and argument concerning the doctrine

and each of it elements” (emphasis added). The

evidence and argument on the doctrine of equival-

ents cannot merely be subsumed in plaintiff’s case

of literal infringement.

* * *

Absent the proper Graver Tank context, 1.e., a show-

ing of how plaintiff compares the function means

and result of its claimed invention with those of

the accused device, a jury is more or less put to sea

without guiding charts when called upon to deter-

mine infringement under the doctrine .. . [N/estier

requires that the three Graver Tank elements must

be presented in the form of particularized testimony

and linking arguments.

In Lear Siegler, the court found that there was no testi-

mony broken down into the three Graver Tank elements

as required by Neistier. Additionally, the court found

that there was no argument linking the evidence elicited

to the three elements of equivalence doctrine. The court

therefore concluded that it has been error to submit the

matter to the jury and that a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict should have been granted. Lear Stegler, 873

F.2d at 1427.

The same analysis was utilized by the Federal Circuit

in Malta v. Schulmerich Carillons, Inc., 952 F.2d 1320

(Fed. Cir. 1991). In Malta, the cowrt found that in the

absence of “particularized testimony and linking argu-

ment as to each of the function/means/result prongs of

the tripartite Graver Tank equivalency test,” infringe-

ment under the doctrine of equivalents may not be

found. Jd. at 1327.

13a

This type of analysis is equally applicable in motions

for summary judgment. First, it must be noted that the

same summary judgment standard is applied to patent

claims as applied to other types of claims. Avia Group

Int'l. v. L.A. Gear California, Inc., 853 F.2d 1557,

1561 (Fed. Cir. 1988). In London v. Carson Pirie Scott

& Co., 946 F.2d 1534, 1536 (Fed. Cir. 1991), the court

recognized that there can be no genuine issue of material

fact where a party has failed to adduce proof to meet an

essential part of the applicable legal standard. The court

applied this principle in determining whether the plaintiff

had created an issue of fact as to whether the defendant

infringed plaintiff’s patent under the doctrine of equiva-

lents. The court found that in order to survive summary

judgment, the plaintiff would be required to present

some evidence showing that the defendant’s product per-

formed substantially the same function in substantially

the same way to achieve substantially the same result.

The absence of evidence on any one of these three ele-

ments would warrant a grant of summary judgment with

respect to the claim of infringement. 946 F.2d at 1539-

40. This standard is equally applicable to the case at bar.

In finding that there existed no genuine issue of

material fact as to whether National Starch and Beazer

infringed either of these two patents, the court stated

that Kaliardos had failed to present any evidence showing

that the ingredients used in these two defendants’ pro-

ducts contained any one of the elements of plaintiff's

claims. The court went on to note that, in prosecuting his

patents, plaintiff had made changes in his applications in

order to secure the patent. In the ’530 claim, plaintiff

had modified the coating so as to require a) perchloro-

ethylene and b) petroleum distillate having a boiling

point ranging between 350 degrees and 380 degrees

l4a

Fahrenheit. In the ’036 patent, claim 1 was modified to

require a) aromatic hydrocarbon resin having a softening

point, R and B of 70C.-140C, and b) chlorinated rubber

having a combined chlorine content of at least 66%.

The court went on to find that, in order to have literal

infringment of claim 1 of the ’530 patent, the challenged

product would have to contain perchloroethylene, a

nonionic surfactant and [N.N.N.’,N’-tetrakis (2-hydroxy-

propyl) ethylenediamine]. In order for there to be

infringement by equivalents of claim 1 of the °530

patent, the challenged substance would have to contain

perchloroethylene.

For there to be literal infringement of claim one of the

"036 patent, the accused substance would have to contain

mixtures of aluminum paste or zinc paste or equivalent

mixtures, aromatic hydrocarbon resins having softening

points, R and B, of 70 degrees C.-140C., chlorinated

rubber having chlorine content of at least 66% and aro-

matic hydrocarbon solvents or chlorinated solvents. In

order for there to be infringement by equivalents of the

°036 patent, the aromatic hydrocarbon resins and chlori-

nated rubber with chlorine content of at least 66% was

considered essential. These findings by Judge Gadola are

applicable to this report under the law of the case doc-

trine and will be applied here. See Gnffin v. MDOC, No.

91-1523, 1993 U.S. App LEXIS 24392 (6th Cir. Sep-

tember 23, 1993).4

* While the law of the case doctrine is generally applied to deci-

sions of a lower court that have been decided on appeal, the doc-

trine would seem to be applicable in this case, where a district

judge has made findings on issues later presented to a magistrate

judge.

OR BN Ot Rabe am

ate

15a

ANALYSIS

Plaintiff’s responses to the motions for summary judg-

ment are difficult to analyze because his claims have

evolved over time. Indeed, his factual and legal arguments

have evolved greatly since the court’s decision on the

Beazer and National Starch motions. Analysis is further

complicated by the fact that the evidence put forward

by the plaintiff is inconsistent in the sense that tests per-

formed on the same substances over a period of years

have produced differing results. This has resulted in con-

flicting affidavits being filed by plaintiff's primary

expert, David Byrd.

In analyzing the evidence in this case for the purpose

of resolving the motions for summary judgment, the

court must be mindful of the nature of the evidence

presented by the opposing parties. The defendants have

submitted affidavits, deposition testimony, and docu-

ments showing that the products that they were produc-

ing and selling to GM did not infringe upon plaintiff’s

products either literally or under the doctrine of equiva-

lents.

In response, the plaintiff and his expert have analyzed

what they believed were sealants from six GM car doors

selected at random from junkyard to determine whether

the sealants in those cars infringed on plaintiff's patents.

Unfortunately, plaintiff’s inability to identify the mate-

rials tested, their confusion over the cars from which

the doors were taken, and their inability to identify the

producers of the particular sealants found on the doors

have increased the difficulty in evaluating the evidence.

The best that can be said for plaintiff’s evidence in

opposition to the motions for summary judgment is that

it is muddled and difficult to comprehend. In light of this

16a

state of the record, I believe that the clearest way to

analyze whether there exists a genuine issues of fact for

trial is to examine the remaining allegations against

each defendant individually to determine what, if any-

thing, remains as a legitimate factual issue requiring jury

determination.

BASF

As noted above, plaintiff claims that BASF’s $51Z001

wax coating has infringed claims 1 and 2 of the ’530

patent under the doctrine of equivalents and has infringed

the ’036 patent both literally and under the doctrine of

equivalents. BASF claims that it has used a single anti-

corrosion coating formula, which it has occasionally

altered, since the early 1960’s. As of September 3, 1976,

the formulation for BASF’s $51Z001 wax coating was

listed as follows:

VM&P Naptha—54.66%

Mineral Spirits—7.79%

High melting point wax—.60%

Petroleum hydrocarbon resin—23.39%

Aluminum flake powder—2.12%

Microcrystalline wax—11.44%

Sometime prior to January 31, 1984, hydrocarbon

resin was substituted for petroleum resin, and leafting

aluminum flake paste was substituted for leafing alumi-

num powder. BASF substituted No. 2429 Naphtha for

VM&P Naphtha in May 1982, but switched back to the

VM&P Naphtha in August 1982. The aluminum paste

used by BASF includes trace amounts of stearic acid,

which can act as both a surfactant and a chelating agent.

According to BASF, the formula is based on a patent

for an anti-corrosion coating issued in Canada to Rinshed-

ats

—_—T —

17a

Mason Company” employee, Rebecca Sandretto. The

Sandretto patent lists as ingredients: Microcrystalline

wax, a hydrocarbon solvent [VM&P Naphtha is recom-

mended], pigment [Aluminum, iron and other metals

are suggested], and a petroleum resin [petroleum resin ts

a hydrocarbon resin] .°

In November 1984, GM provided Kaliardos with a can

of a liquid sample of BASF’s coating for testing. Chemi-

cal Industrial Services, Inc. [CIS] tested the sample, and

in a report dated January 29, 1985, CIS stated that the

sample did not contain perchloroethylene, which is neces

sary for infringement of the '530 patent. The test also

failed to disclose the presence of chlorinated solvent or

chlorinated rubber, which would be necessary for infringe-

ment of the ’036 patent. The test also found Naphtha,

which is primarily an aliphatic solvent, rather than an

aromatic hydrocarbon solvent. VM&P Naphtha will not

dissolve Parlon, the chlorinated rubber suggested by

Kaliardos in the 036 patent. Byrd Dep. pp. 134-135.

On May 8, 1988, David Byrd submitted results from a

test conducted on the same sample of BASF coating. The

test results showed a quantity of less than 5% perchloro

ethylene or other chlorinated solvents. However, Byrd

later testified that this finding was the equivalent of no

detection at all. The test also did not detect chlorinated

rubber.

In October 1989, David Byrd again tested a sample of

BASF coating on different machinery and issued the

following findings concerning the substances contained in

the coating:

sit appears that Rinshed-Mason was purchased by Inmont

Corporation, which itself was later purchased by BASF.

SExhibt 15, Defendants’ Motion for Summary Judgement.

18a

Microcrystalline wax—present

Hydrocarbon resin—present

Chlorinated rubber—present

Aluminum—present

Zinc—not detected

Barium—present trace

Surfactant—present

Perchloroethylene—present

On January 2, 1990, Kaliardos gave Clayton Environ-

mental Consultants a sample of the same BASF coating

and a sample of sealant allegedly taken from the doors of

a 1983 Oldsmobile Ciera. Gas chromatrography/mass

spectrometry tests performed at Clayton’s Novi labora-

tory detected aromatic compounds in both samples, but

did not detect tetrachloroethane.’ Clayton then sent a

sample to their Windsor laboratory for static headspace

analysis by gas chromatography using an electron capture

detector [GC/ECD]. The presence of a very small amount

of tetrachloroethane was detected by the test.® Finally,

on October 19, 1992, mere days before the motion for

summary judgment was argued, Mr. Byrd submitted

another affidavit stating that further tests on the BASF

’Tetrachloroethane is another name for perchloroethylene.

SThere is some question as to what was actually tested at the

Windsor laboratory. According to Daryl Strandbergh, the director

of the Novi lab, he sent over a liquid material in a sealed test tube

to Windsor. This would indicate that the material sent was from

the sample submitted by GM. Paul Epstein, the director of the

Windsor lab testified that the substance that was tested was solid

and gummy in texture which would seem to indicate that it was

the sample taken from the Ciera. The chemist conducting the

test, Paul Johnson later filed an affidavit stating that the substance

that he tested was a liquid, rather than a solid substance. The

defendant’s motion to strike all of these affidavits, because of the

inability to identify the substance tested, was denied.

19a

liquid material disclosed the presence of 1,1 dichloro-

ethene and certain aromatic solvents.

BASF has submitted the affidavit and deposition of

Tommie Bemis, who formulated the BASF product for

23 years. He stated that BASF has never used perchloro-

ethylene, any other chlorinated solvent, chlorinated

rubber, zinc, or neutral barium sulfate in its product.

BASF has also submitted the affidavit of Rebecca San-

dretto, the holder of the Canadian patent on the BASF

product who states that her invention did not contain

perchloroethylene. Finally, BASF relies on the CIS tests

which revealed no perchloroethylene in the substance.

To the extent that plaintiff asserts that the BASF

product literally infringes the 036 patent, I must con-

clude that the defendant is entitled to summary judg-

ment. In order for there to be a literal infringement of

claim 1 of the ’036 patent, every single element of

limitation must be found in the accused product. The

036 patent requires that there be, among other ingredi-

ents, neutral barium sulfonate. Here, even assuming that

perchloroethylene was contained in the BASF product

as found in some of plaintiff’s tests, there is simply no

evidence of any neutral barium sulfonate. Indeed, Mr.

Byrd testified that while he did detect some barium in

one of his tests, he never tested for neutral barium

sulfonate. In the absence of any evidence of the presence

of this required element of claim 1 of the '036 patent,

it cannot be said that the plaintiff has met his burden of

showing a genuine issue of fact with respect to literal

infringement. Accordingly, summary judgment on this

claim should be granted to BASF.?

9 Even if it could be said that there was sufficient evidence to

create a genuine issue of fact on the claim of literal infringement of

[footnote continued]

er ey

20a

The question of whether there exists a genuine issue

of fact on the claim of infringement by equivalents of

both patents revolves around the Graver Tank function/

way/result analysis. As noted earlier, the Federal Circuit

requires that there be explicit testimony and linking

argument substantiating all three aspects of equivalency.

Lear Siegler, 873 F.2d at 1425-26. Here, there is no such

testimony. Indeed, when specifically asked whether any

of the defendants products perform substantially the

same function in substantially the same way to produce

substantially the same results as plaintiff’s two patents,

Mr. Byrd testified that he had no evidence to support

that conclusion. Indeed, he stated that he did not con-

duct any tests on any of the defendants’ products to

determine how their ingredients work in combination

or whether they work the same way as plaintiff’s pro-

ducts. In the absence of any evidence that the Graver

Tank elements have been met in this case, BASF is also

entitled to summary judgment on the claims of infringe-

ment of both the ’036 and ’530 patents under the doc-

trine of equivalents.!°

DAUBERT

Daubert began developing a wax-type anti-corrosion

coating in 1975, and they first started selling a product

formulated to meet CM Specification 998-1128 in

the ’036 patent, there is no evidence that the components of the

accused product meet the percentage requirements of the second

claim of that patent.

10RASF and General Motors have also asserted that plaintiff’s

patents are invalid under 35 U.S.C. §102(b) since the “infringing”

product was sold by BASF and used by General Motors more than

one year before the dates of Kaliardos’ patent applications. In view

of my recommendation, this issue does not need to be resolved.

MA ens ont! AAO SARL MOLLY

2ia

February 1979. Since 1979, Daubert has produced three

different wax-type anti-corrosion formulas. NOX RUST

X-151, which was used by the company from 1979 until

1986, combines:

Microcrystalline wax—16-21%

Polyethylene wax—.6-.8%

Hydrocarbon resin—!4.5-16.5%

Lead sulfonate—.4-.6%

Colloidal silica—.7-1.2%

Aluminum paste—1.0-2.0%

VM&P Naphtha—6.2-59.0%

In 1986, the company discontinued manufacture of

NOX RUST X-151 and started manufacturing a product

without aluminum to meet GM Material Specification

998-2250, which was issued in 1983 and calls for a clear

coating. This product, NOX RUST X-170,"! combines:

Hydrocarbon resin—29.8-34.5%

Barium sulfonate—1.8-2.1%

Petroleum oil—6-7%

VM& P Naphtha—41.5-42.5%

Caster oil derivative—.5-1.6%

Colloidal silica—.4-1.5%

Petrolatum wax—8.5-10.5%

Microcrystalline wax—7.0-10.7%

Plaintiff contends that the NOX-RUST X-151 infringes

the ’530 patent under the doctrine of equivalents and the

036 patent both literally and under the doctrine of

equivalents. He further contends that NOX-RUST X-170

infringes the 530 patent under the doctrine of equiva-

lents. In support of this claim, plaintiff relies solely on

11 naubert discontinued production of the NOX RUST X-170

in 1990 and began using NOX RUST X-175. The X-175 formula is

not alleged to be infringing either of the patents.

22a

tests conducted on the door of a 1984 Buick Skylark

which he believes contained a Daubert sealant. Tests on

that door detected chlorinated rubber and solvents but

also detected zinc and no aluminum. A trace of per-

chloroethylene was also detected.

Defendants have submitted the results of tests con-

ducted by the Shrader Laboratory on its door coatings

which show that its coatings do not contain any chlori-

nated solvents. They also contend that plaintiff has

failed to establish that the Skylark door contains any

sealant manufactured by Daubert.

As noted above, the uncontested evidence shows that

NOX-RUST X-170 was not manufactured until 1986.

Daubert therefore contends that whatever is on the

1984 Skylark cannot be X-170. Daubert further notes

that the test of the Skylark door disclosed zinc, but not

aluminum. The uncontested evidence shows that NOX-

RUST X-151 did not contain zinc, but did contain

aluminum.

Because the Skylark was manufactured before 1986,

the material on the door cannot be NOX-RUST X-170.

Because the sealant contains zinc, but no aluminun, it

cannot be NOX-RUST X-151. Thus, there is no evidence

in this record to suggest that these Daubert sealants

infringed plaintiff’s patents either literally or under the

doctrine of equivalents. I therefore recommend that

Daubert’s motion for summary judgment be granted.!”

121 should also be noted that any coating alleged to contain

chlorinated rubber or aluminum cannot infringe the °530 patent

either literally or under the doctrine of equivalents. Kaliardos

stated in his application for the ’036 patent that chlorinated rubber

performs the important function of making the coating more

resistant to detergents. I find that this additional ingredient in the

[footnote continued]

ORR ABM ct Pil AT tees Baise

23a

FULLER

Fuller manufactures two formulas that are named in

this suit. The formula for WC-2291 lists:

Microcrystalline wax—15-30%

VM&P Naphtha (an aliphatic solvent containing

small amounts of aromatics)—20-40% |

Aliphatic oil (Hydro treated)—1-5%

Calcium sulfonate—5-10%

Paraffinic wax—5-10%

Aliphatic hydrocarbon resin—15-30%

A second product, WC-2291-P, is similar to WC-2291, but

also contains mineral spirits.

Kaliazrdos claims that Fuller coatings WP-2291 and

WP-2291-P infringe claims 1 and 2 of his ’530 patent

under the doctrine of equivalents. In support of this

claim, David Byrd submitted an affidavit on October

19, 1992 stating that he detected the chlorinated solvent

1,1, dichloroethene and the aromatic solvents benzene,

toluene, ethylbenzene and xylene in both the WC-2291

and WC-2291-P coating samples submi*ted by Fuller.

Byrd also stated that he examined wax coatings taken

from the doors of a 1987 Chevrolet Celebrity, a 1988

Oldsmobile Delta 88, and a 1991 Pontiac Grand Prix.’°

He stated that he found microcrystalline wax and per-

chloroethylene in the Celebrity and the Delta 88 and

’036 patent materially affects the basic ingredient composition of

the ’530 patent. Dow Chemical v. American Cyanamid Co., 615

F.Supp. 471 (E.D. La. 1985), aff'd 816 F.2d 617 (Fed. Cir. 1987).

Similarly, the addition of aluminum in the ’036 patent materially

affects the composition of the ’530 patent in that it is said to

provide a hard shell as well as pigment.

13 piaintiff initially identified the Pontiac Grand Prix as a 1989

Cadillac Eldorado. After a great deal of discovery and expense, it

has been properly identified.

<< Sisal SI

24a

found zinc and surfactants in the Grand Prix.'* In his

affidavit, Byrd also compares the ingredients of the

"530 patent with the recipe for the Fuller WC-2291-P

and concludes that the Fuller coating “thas the ingredients .

or their equivalents of claim 1 of U.S. Patent No.

3,959,530.”

In response, Fuller has submitted the affidavit of

Michael Pellney, a chemist and the Technical Director for

Fuller and before that, for Widger Chemical. Pellney

States in his affidavit that there is neither perchloro-

ethylene nor aromatic hydrocarbon solvents in the

Fuller formulas, both of which are necessary to find

infringement of the 530 patent under the doctrine of

equivalents, pursuant to the law of the case. He further

states that Fuller never manufactured or sold coatings

containing the ingredients in Kaliardos’ patents.

In addition, Fuller contends that the tests conducted

on the doors of the 1987 Celebrity and the 1988 Olds

Delta cannot be considered in opposition to its motion

for summary judgment. This contention is correct. It

should be remembered that Fuller did not begin manu-

facturing these coatings until 1989 and therefore, no

coating by Fuller could possibly be on these vehicles.

l4The deposition testimony and affidavits regarding the 1991

Pontiac Grand Prix has been stricken by me in an order dated

October 1, 1992. There was meager evidence in the record that this

vehicle even contained a wax coating similar to those in issue here.

Indeed the evidence seemed to indicate that Mr. Byrd tested an

adhesive rather than a coating. Regardless, Byrd filed two affi-

davits, one stating that the Pontiac contained a Daubert coating,

the other stating that it contained a Fuller coating. Plaintiff’s

inability to identify the source of the alleged sealant on the 1991

Pontiac door compelled the conclusion that it not be considered

against any of the defendants.

25a

Finally, as with the BASF motion, there is no showing,

with the requisite specificity, that the accused product

performs substantially the same function, in substanti-

ally the same way with substantially the same results as

the patented substance. Indeed, Byrd’s testimony at his

deposition is to the contrary. He specifically stated that

there is no evidence to meet and he has conducted no

tests to estalbish the Graver Tank requirements. There-

fore, I find that there is no genuine issue of fact for trial

on the issue of infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents and recommend that summary judgment be

granted in favor of Fuller.

GENERAL MOTORS

General Motors was initially alleged to have infringed

plaintiff’s patents under 35 U.S.C. §271(a) as an unauth-

orized user or seller of the patented inventions. Because

I have concluded that plaintiff has failed to meet his

burden of creating a genuine issue of fact on the issue of

infringement with respect to the three suppliers, sum-

mary judgment should also be granted in GM’s favor.

Plaintiff's secondary contention that GM may have

modified the materials supplied by the other defendants

so as to infringe on the patent is the exact type of specu-

lative and conclusory argument which may not be deemed

to create a genuine issue of fact for trial. See Matsushita

Elec. Indus. Co., 475 U.S. at 86; Boddy, 821 F.2d at

349. Accordingly, for the reasons stated with respect to

the other defendants, summary judgment should be

granted to General Motors.

RE REE ER SO PRCA

26a

CONCLUSION

My review of this record establishes that the formulas

used by the defendants in manufacturing their coatings

have repeatedly been shown not to contain the essential

elements of the Kaliardos patents, through both the dis-

closure of the formulas and scientific testing of those |

formulas. There is simply no evidence in this record

which would create a genuine issue of material fact as |

to whether any of the accused products infringe upon

Kaliardos’ patents either literally or under the doctrine of

equivalence. Simply put, plaintiff’s case is one that began

with, and continues to rest upon, pure speculation and

conclusion. This is insufficient to withstand summary

judgment. Accordingly, for the reasons stated, I respect-

fully recommend that the defendants’ motion for sum-

mary judgment be granted and that this matter be dis-

missed.

Pursuant to Rule 72(b) of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure and 28 U.S.C. §636(b)(1), the parties are

hereby notified that within ten days after being served

with a copy of this recommendation, they may serve and

file specific written objections to the proposed findings

and recommendations. Further, either party may respond

to another party’s objections within ten days after being |

served with a copy thereof. The parties are further

informed that failure to timely file objections may con-

stitute a waiver of any further right of appeal to the

United States Court of Appeals. Untted States v. Walters,

638 F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1981).

Moat RAL: RB: Westone nee Ate mei it BBL eae AES a

/s/ Marc L. Goldman

MARC L. GOLDMAN

UNITED STATES MAGISTRATE JUDGE

Date: OCTOBER 7, 1993

27a

APPENDIX B

District Court’s Opinion Granting Summary Judgment

Non-Infringement to Co-Defendants

National Starch and Beazer East

[Kaliardos v. General Motors et al,

777 F.Supp. 543 (E.D. Mich. 1991)]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT,

E.D. MICHIGAN, S.D.

No. 88-73729

NICOLAS KALIARDOS,

Plaintiff,

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION,

BASF CORPORATION, DAUBERT INDUSTRIES,

INC., H.B. FULLER COMPANY, NATIONAL

STARCH & CHEMICAL CORPORATION, and

BEAZER EAST, INC., JOINTLY AND SEVERALLY,

Defendants.

Nov. 12, 1991

Alex Rhodes, Richard Knoll, Birmingham, Mich., for

Nicolas Kaliardos.

Herbert Furman, General Motors Corp., Detroit, Mich.,

Bernard J. Cantor, Harness Dickey, Troy, Mich., for

General Motors Corp., BASF Corp. and H.B. Fuller Co.

28a

Ira S. Auslander, Auslander & Churilla, John A. 4

William J. Schramm, Brooks & F.ushman, Southfield,

Mich., for Daubert Industries, Inc.

William G. Abbatt, Ernie L. Brooks, Brooks & Kush-

man, Bob Randenburg, Southfield, Mich., for Nat. Starch 1

& Chemical Corp. and Beazer East, Inc.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER :

GRANTING DEFENDANTS’ NATIONAL STARCH :

& CHEMICAL CORPORATION AND BEAZER ;

EAST, INC. MOTION FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT ON COUNT 1, PATENT

INFRINGEMENT

GADOLA, District Judge.

Plaintiff Nicholas Kaliardos filed this complaint on

September 14, 1988, charging General Motors Corpora-

tion and BASF Corporation with infringing U.S. Patent

Nos. 3,959,530 and 4,356,036. In February 1990 plain-

tiff added claims of infringement against National Starch

& Chemical Corporation. In September 1990 plaintiff

added claims of infringement against Beazer East, Inc.

ca Nain nein Rte NAS Neh be Bain IS PLL NOs eds ee NMS eS NE tee are ea Shao lt

The patents each relate to specific mixtures of chemi-

cal ingredients for wax-type, solvent-based, anti-rust

coatings. Plaintiff accuses National Starch and Beazer of

infringement by manufacturing and selling wax-type,

solvent-basee coatings to General Motors. Defendants

National Starch and Beazer now bring the instant motion

for summary judgment on the patent infringement claims

against them. For the reasons set forth below, the defen-

dants’ motion is granted.

29a

FACTS

During the 1970’s vehicle corrosion was a serious

problem for automobile manufacturers. The plaintiff, a

self-taught chemist, experimented with, tested and

invented two wax-type, anti-corrosion coatings. Plaintiff

submitted his inventions to the Patent and Trademark

Office (PTO). After some language difficulties expressed

by the Patent Office Examiner, plaintiff was granted

U.S. Patent No. 3,959,530 and No. 4,356,036. Claim 1 to

U.S. Patent No. 3,959,530 reads as follows:

A cleaning and protective coating composition

consisting essentially of a mixture of

wax residue such as paraffin and microcrystalline

wax,

perchlogoethylene,

petroleum distillate having a boiling point ranging

between 350 degrees and 380 degrees F., and

a nonionic surfactant such as nonylphenoxypoly

(ethyleneoxy) and

a small amount of [N.N.N’, N’-tetrakis (2-hydro-

xypropyl) ethylenediamine].

The italicized terms were changes made by the plaintiff in

response to references cited by the PTO. These changes

were necessary to secure the patent. Claim 1 to US.

Patent No. 4,356,036 reads as follows:

An anti-corrosion coating composition com-

prising

a mixture of aluminum paste or zinc paste con-

taining aluminum or zinc flakes and a solvent,

microcrystalline wax,

aromatic hydrocarbon resin having a softening

point, R and B, of 70 C.-140 C.,

30a

cholrinated rubber having a combined chlorine

content of at least 66%,

neutral barium sulfonate,

chlorinated solvent,

aromatic hydrocarbon solvent and

mineral spirits.

Again, the italicized terms were changes made by the

plaintiff in response to references cited by the PTO.

These changes were necessary to secure the patent. Plain-

tiff asserts he invented the two wax-type, anti-corrosion

coatings to specifically meet the requirements of General

Motors Material Specifications 998-1128 and 998-2150.

General Motors never accepted any of plaintiff’s coatings

for use.

From 1980 to the present, General Motors has used

wax-type coatings on the inside surfaces of its auto-

mobiles. From the mid-1970s, Koppers, Inc. and Parr,

Inc., predecessor companies to National Starch and

Beazer, supplied General Motors with a wax-type coating,

defendants’ product No. 820-1913, that General Motors

sprayed into the interior of car doors and other body

parts. Two prototype batches of a dripless coating, defen-

dants’ product No. 820-1914, were made in 1987-88.

Both of these products correspond to General Motors

Material Specification 998-2150. According to defen-

dants and their affiant Mr. Habjanic, no coating was

supplied by National Starch, Beazer or any predecessor

company that met General Motors Material Specification

998-1128. National Starch is the successor to a part of

Beazer’s business that used to supply coating No. 820-

1913.

Plaintiff claims that General Motors received proprie-

tary information from plaintiff during the testing process

on his patented coating. Plaintiff further claims that

te Rb bi eta

3la

General Motors gave this information to National Starch

and Beazer, among others, in order to duplicate and

utilize the coatings without compensating the plaintiff.

National Starch, Beazer and General Motors deny these

allegations. Further, defendants’ affiants Mr. Habjanic

and Mr. Meilus state that the defendants’ products No.

820-1913 and No. 820-1914 do not contain the identical

nor the essential ingredients contained in the plaintiff's

patented coatings. The plaintiff, in a sworn affidavit,

disputes this last contention, further adding that “the

ingredients or their equivalents which Mr. Habjanic repre-

sents are not present in Koppers 820-1913 and 820-1914

coatings are necessary for meeting the General Motors

998-1128 and 998-2150 Material Specifications.”

STANDARD OF REVIEW

Under Rule 56(c) of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-

dure, summary judgment may be granted “‘if the plead-

ings, depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admis-

sions on file, together with the affidavits, if any, show

that there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and

that the moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.” ‘‘A fact is ‘material’ and precludes grant of sum-

mary judgment if proof of that fact would have [the]

effect of establishing or refuting one of the essential

elements of the cause of action or defense asserted by the

parties, and would necessarily affect [the] application of

appropriate principle[s] of law to the rights and obliga-

tions of the parties.” (Citation omitted.) Kendall v.

Hoover Co., 751 F.2d 171, 174 (6th Cir. 1984) (quoting

Black’s Law Dictionary 881 (6th ed. 1979)). The Court

must view the evidence in a light most favorable to the

! Kaliardos Affidavit at para. 13.

32a

nonmovant as well as draw all reasonable inferences in

the nonmovant’s favor. See United States v. Diebold,

Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655, 82 S.Ct. 993, 994, 8 L.Ed.2d

176 (1962); Bender v. Southland Corp., 749 F.2d 1205,

1210-11 (6th Cir. 1984).

The movant bears the burden of demonstrating the

absence of all genuine issues of material fact. See Gregg

v. Allen-Bradley Co., 801 F.2d 859, 861 (6th Cir. 1986).

The initial burden on the movant is not as formidable as

some decisions have indicated. The moving party need

not produce evidence showing the absence of a genuine

issue of material fact; rather, ‘“‘the burden on the moving

party may be discharged by ‘showing’—that is, pointing

out to the district court—that there is an absence of evi-

dence to support the nonmoving party’s case.’”’ Celotex

Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 325, 106 S.Ct. 2548,

2554, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). Once the moving party

discharges that burden, the burden shifts to the non-

moving party to set forth specific facts showing a genuine

triable issue. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e); Gregg, 801 F.2d at 861.

To create a genuine issue of material fact, however,

the nonmovant must do more than present some evi-

dence on a disputed issue. As the United States Supreme

Court stated in Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477

U.S. 242, 249-50, 106 S.Ct. 2505, 2511, 91 L.Ed.2d

202 (1986).

There is no issue for trial unless there is sufficient

evidence favoring the nonmoving party for a jury to

return a verdict for that party. If the [nonmovant’s]

evidence is merely colorable, or is not significantly

probative, summary judgment may be granted.

(Citations omitted); See Catrett, 477 U.S. at 322-23, 106

S.Ct. at 2552-53; Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith

Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 586-87, 106 S.Ct. 1348,

ze ee eee ee en are Seen ae Can eb mene anne oo

33a

1355-56, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986). The standard for sum-

mary judgment mirrors the standard for a directed verdict

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 50(a). Anderson, 477 U.S. at 250,

106 S.Ct. at 2511. Consequently, a nonmovant must do

more than raise some doubt as to the existence of a fact;

the nomovant must produce evidence that would be

sufficient to require submission to the jury of the dispute

over the fact.

Further, summary judgment is as applicable in patent

cases as any other. As the Federal Circuit stated in John-

ston v. IVAC Corp., 885 F.2d 1574, 1576 (Fed.Cir.

1989):

As in other cases, the grant of summary judgment

under Fed.R.Civ.P. 56 is appropriate in a patent

case where no genuine issue of material fact exists

and the movant is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.

e a4

[T]he motion of an accused infringer for judgment

on the ground of non-infringement of a patent may

be granted where the patentee’s proof is deficient in

meeting an essential part of the legal standard for

infringement.

APPLICABLE LAW

A patent is a federal statutory grant under 35 U.S.C.

§101. The patent, to be protected, must comport with

certain statutory requirements. Section 112 of Title 35

states in relevant part that:

[A patent] specification shall conclude with one or

more claims particularly pointing out and distinctly

claiming the subject matter which the applicant

regards as his invention.

34a

35 U.S.C. §112. The Federal Circuit has stated that

“(t]he claims alone delimit the right to exclude; only

they may be infringed.’’ Environmental Instruments Inc.

v. Sutron Corp., 877 F.2d 1561, 1564 (Fed.Cir. 1989).

In patent law, every element of the claim must be

found in the accused product—either actually or by a

substantially equivalent element—in order to find an

infringement.

[W]here the respondent in constructing his [pro-

duct] omits one of the ingredients of the com-

plainant’s combination, he does not infringe the

complainant’s patent.

Pennwalt Corp. v. Durand-Wayland, Inc., 833 F.2d 931,

950 (Fed.Cir. 1987) (Nies, J., concurring), cert. denied,

485 U.S. 961, 1009, 108 S.Ct. 1226, 1474, 99 L.Ed.2d

426 (1988); see also Lemelson v. United States, 752

F.2d 1538, 1551 (Fed.Cir. 1985) (“the plaintiff must

show the presence of every element or its substantial

equivalent in the accused [product]”’).

Thus, the accused infringer . . . is entitled to sum-

mary judgment, on the ground of non-infringement,

by pointing out that the patentee failed to put forth

evidence to support a finding that [an element] of

the asserted claim was met by the . . . accused

[product].

Johnston, 885 F.2d at 1578.

Infringement may be shown in only two ways. First, if

every single element of limitation in the claim is found in

the accused product, there is literal infringement. See

Builders Concrete, Inc. v. Bremerton Concrete Prods. Co.,

757 F.2d 255, 257 (Fed.Cir. 1985). Second, infringement

can occur where the accused product has corresponding

elements which perform substantially the same function

35a

in substantially the same way to obtain the same result.

See Graver Tank Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 339 U.S.

605, 609-10, 70 S.Ct. 854, 856-57, 94 L.Ed. 1097

(1950); Buslders Concrete, 757 F.2d at 258. This second

path to infringement is called the doctrine of equivalents.

The doctrine of equivalents will not extend to allow

the patentee to recapture through equivalence certain

converage given up during prosecution of his patent appli-

cation. See Pennwalt, 833 F.2d at 934 n.1. Therefore, the

language changed by the plaintiff in securing his patents

is critical if the doctrine of equivalents infringement is

pursued. This limitation is called prosecution history

estoppel.

Prosection history estoppel, which precludes a

patentee from obtaining a claim construction that

would resurrect subject matter surrendered during

prosecution of his patent application . . . limits a

patentee’s reliance on the doctrine of equivalents. ...

Builders Concrete, 757 F.2d at 258; see also Jonsson v.

Stanley Works, 711 F.Supp. 1395, 1403 (N.D.Ohio

1989) (“Arguments and remarks made by plaintiff’s

counsel during prosecution of the patent application can

also be used to determine the scope of the claims”),

aff'd., 903 F.2d 812 (Fed.Cir. 1990). Finally, a claimant

may not “broaden his claim by dropping [an] element

which he was compelled to inciude in order to secure his

patent.” J.7.S. Rubber Co. v. Essex Rubber Co., 272 US.

429, 443, 47 S.Ct. 136, 141, 71 L.Ed. 335 (1926).

ANALYSIS

Plaintiff Kaliardos claims that National Starch and

Beazer have infringed Claim 1 of each of his patents.

However, plaintiff has not produced sufficient initial or

rebuttal evidence to meet his burden of production.

36a

In response to interrogatories asking plaintiff which of

the products manufactured or sold by National Starch

and/or Beazer infringes plaintiff’s patents, plaintiff identi-

fied the product sold under General Motors Specification

998-1128. However, no sales of this product by National

Starch or Beazer have been identified by the plaintiff. In

fact, the defendants’ affiant states that no product sold

by National Starch, Beazer or their predecessors matched

General Motors Material Specification 998-1128.° If the

defendants did supply General Motors with the coating it

used under 998-1128, then plaintiff should have come

forth with some hard evidence. The plaintiff states that

he needs more time to effect discovery to retrieve this

evidence. However, National Starch has been a named

defendant for 20 months. Beazer has been a named defen-

dant for over 13 months. Thus, this court is lead to the

conclusion that there is either no link betwewn the

movants and 998-1128, or plaintiff has been extremely

dilatory in his discovery. Either conclusion is fatal to

plaintiff’s case.

Further, the affidavits of Habjanic and Meilus state

that National Starch’s and Beazer’s wax-type coatings do

not include (a) perchloroethylene,* (b) nonionic surfac-

tants,” (c) [N.N.N’, N’-tetrakis (2-hydroxypropy]l)

2 Plaintiff's Answer No. 17 to Defendant Beazer’s First Set of

Interrogatories; Plaintiff’s Answer No. 7 to Defendant National

Starch’s First Set of Interrogatories.

3 Habjanic Affidavit at para. 3.

* Habjanic Affidavit at para. 7 (referring to movants’ product

820-1913); id. at para. 11 (referring to movants’ product 820-

1914); Meilus Affidavit at paras. 7 and 14 (referring to all movants’

anti-corrosion coatings).

> Habjanic Affidavit at para. 9 (referring to movants’ product

820-1913); Meilus Affidavit at para. 8 (referring to all movants’

anti-corrosion coatings).

aad Mond arta yd ina

37a

ethylenediamine] ,° (d) mixtures of aluminum paste or

zinc paste or equivalent mixtures,’ (e) aromatic hydro-

carbon resins having softening points, R and B, of 70

degrees C.-140 degrees C.,° (f) chlorinated rubber having

a combined chlorine content of at least 66%,” (g) aro-

matic hydrocarbon solvents,!® or (h) chlorinated sol-

vents.!! Plaintiff has not put forth any proof that these

affidavits are false or misleading. The only evidence

plaintiff has offered is his own affidavit. The Plaintiff

states that the ingredients of movants’ products 820-1913

and 820-1914 listed in the attachments to the Habjanic

Affidavit are accurate.!* The plaintiff then points out

that the ingredients in the movants’ products are identi-

fied by their trademark names and not their chemical

formulae.!? The complainant continues:

There are no disclosures in Attachments “A” and

“B”’ of the ingredients in the trademarked products,

their chemical formula [sic] or their percentages by

weight.

SMeilus Affidavit at para. 9 (referring to all movants’ anti-

corrosion coatings).

” Habjanic Affidavit at para. 12 (referring to movants’ products

820-1913 and 820-1914).

8Meilus Affidavit at para. 10 (referring to all movants’ anti-

corrosion coatings).

9 Habjanic Affidavit at para. 13 (referring to movants’ products

820-1913 and 820-1914); Meilus Affidavit at para. 11 (referring to

all movants’ anti-corrosion coatings).

10Meilus Affidavit at para. 13 (referring to all movants’ anti-

corrosion coatings).

II Meilus Affidavit at para. 12 (referring to all movants’ anti-

corrosion coatings).

12k aliardos Affidavit at para. 8.

13 ryid. at para. 9.

38a

Kaliardos Affidavit at para. 10. While this is true, this

does not refute the very clear statements made by Mr.

Habjanic and Mr. Meiluc. All this does is tell the court

that the plaintiff does not know these trademarked pro-

ducts’ chemistry. This bare statement does not indicate

that the trademarked products used as ingredients in the

movants’ products contain any one of the elements in

the patentee’s claims.

Elements (a) through (c) are essential for literal

infringement of Claim 1 to U.S. Patent 3,959,530. Ele-

ment (a) is essential for equivalent infringement of Claim

1 to U.S. Patent 3,959,530. Elements (d) through (h) are

essential for literal infringement of Claim 1 to USS.

Patent 4,356,036. Elements (e) and (f) are essential for

equivalent infringement of Claim 1 to U.S. Patent

4,356,036. As not all elements are present in the movants

products, patent infringement is not possible. Therefore,

summary judgment in favor of the movants is proper.

Johnston, 885 F.2d at 1578.

39a

APPENDIX C

Order Granting Partial Summary Judgment

of Non-Infringement

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MICHIGAN

SOUTHERN DIVISION

Civil Action

Case No. 88-CV-73729-DT

HON. Paul V. Gadola

NICOLAS KALIARDOS,

Plaintiff,

vs.

GENERAL MOTORS CORPORATION, BASF

CORPORATION, DAUBERT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

H.B. FULLER COMPANY, and H.B. FULLER

AUTOMOTIVE INDUSTRIES, INC.,

jointly and severally,

Defendants.

ORDER GRANTING PARTIAL

SUMMARY JUDGMENT OF NON-INFRINGEMENT

Upon stipulation of the Plaintiff Nicolas Kaliardos

(Kaliardos) and the Defendants General Motors Corpora-

tion (General Motors); BASF Corporation (BASF);

Daubert Industries, Inc. (Daubert); H.B. Fuller Com-

pany (Fuller Company); and H.B. Fuller Automotive

Products (Fuller Automotive), by and between their

respective counsel, IT IS HEREBY ORDERED:

40a

1. The BASF, Fuller Automotive, and Daubert coat-

ings do not literally infringe claims 1, 2, 3, 4, 5 and 6 of

U.S. Patent No. 3,959,530.

2. The BASF, Fuller Automotive; and Daubert coat-

ings do not infringe claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent

No. 3,959,350 under the Doctrine of Equivalents.

3. Plaintiff’s complaint with respect to infringement of

claims 3, 4, 5 and 6 of U.S. Patent No. 3,959,530 is dis-

missed with prejudice.

4. The Fuller Automotive coatings do not infringe any

of the claims of U.S. Patent No. 4,356,036 by literal

infringement or under the Doctrine of Equivalents.

5. The BASF and Daubert coatings do not literally

infringe claims 2, 3, 4 and 7 of U.S. Patent No. 4,356,-

036.

6. The BASF and Daubert coatings do not infringe

claim 7 of U.S. Patent No. 4,356,036 under the Doctrine

of Equivalents.

7. Plaintiff’s complaint of infringement of claim 7 of

U.S. Patent No. 3,356,036 is dismissed with prejudice

with respect to BASF and Daubert.

8. Plaintiff’s complaint of infringement of U.S. Patent

No.4,356,036 by Fuller Company and Fuller Automotive

is dismissed with prejudice.

9. Daubert’s coating Nox-Rust X-170 does not infringe

U.S. Patent No. 4,356,036.

Dated:10/16/92 /s/ [Ilegible]

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

4la

SO STIPULATED:

/s/ Alex Rhodes /s/ Bernard J. Cantor

Attorney for Plaintiff Attorney for Defendants

General Motors, BASF, H.B.

Fuller Company and H.B.

Fuller Automotive Products, Inc.

/s/ John A. Artz (10/14/92)

Attorney for Defendant

Daubert Industries, Inc.

42a

APPENDIX D

General Motors Corporation Rule 29.2 Statement

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO

SUPREME COURT RULE 29.1

General Motors Corporation does not have a parent

company. Its non-wholly owned subsidiaries that have

issued shares to the public are identified below.

Publicly Traded Subsidiaries and Affiliates:

Isuzu Motors Ltd.

Suzuki Motor Corp.

Other Subsidiaries:

AC Bakony Kft.

Adela Investment Co. S.A.

AeroVironment, Inc.

AMBRAKE Corporation

Anadolu Otomotiv Sanayi VE Ticaret A.S. |

Applied Intelligent Systems, Inc.

Aralmex, S.A. de C.V.

ARINC Incorporated

Asset Leasing GmbH

| Aura S.r.1.

Autos y Maquinas del Ecuador S.A, (AYMESA)

Banque de Credit General Motors

Bujias Mexicanas, S.A. de C.V.

CAMI Automotive, Inc.

CEI Co., Ltd.

Calsonic Harrison Co., Ltd.

Carus Grundstucks-Vermietungsgesellschaft mbH & Co.

Object Kuno 65 KG

Carus Grnndstucks-Vermietungsgesellschaft mbH & Co.

Object Leo 40 KG

43a

Other Subsidiaries, continued:

Centro Tecnico Herramental, S.A. de C.V.

Cilva Holdings Plc

Cimflex Teknowledge

Coalition Undertaking Remedial Efforts, Inc.

Colonial Mortgage Service Company of California

Comau Productivity Systems, Inc.

Compagnie des Faisceaux Tunisiens International S.A.

Compania Nacional de Direcciones Automotrices, S.A.

de C.V.

Componentes Delfa, C.A.

Constructora Venezolana de Vehiculos, C.A.

Controladora General Motors, S.A. de C.V.

Convesco Vehicle Sales GmbH

DHB America Inc.

DHB-Componentes Automotivos S.A.

DRB s.a./n.v.

Daewoo Automotive Components, Ltd.

Delkor Battery Company, Ltd.

Detroit Diesel Corporation

Diavia S.r.1.

EDESA Societe Anonyme Holding

EPEC S.A.

Empresa Mixta GEMACVEN, S.A.

Freev ale Limited

G. & F. Company

GM Nigeria Limited

G.M.A.C., Financiera de Columbia S.A. Compania de

Financiamiento Comercial

General Motors Bankgesellschaft m.b.H.

General Motors Egypt, S.A.E.

General Motors France Automobiles S.A.

General Motors Hungary Automotive Distribution

Limited Liability Company (aka General Motors

Hungary (Distribution) Ltd.)

44a

Other Subsidiaries, continued:

General Motors Hungary Automotive Manufacturing

Limited Liability Company (aka General Motors

Hungary (Manufacturing) Ltd.)

General Motors Kenya Limited

Genie Mecanique Zairois, S.A.R.L.

I.K. Coach Co., Ltd.

IBC Vehicles (Distribution) Limited

IBC Vehicles Limited

ITC Inland Teknik Oto Yan Sanayi Limited Sirketi

limor Engineering, Inc.

Ilmor Engineering, Ltd.

Industries Mecaniques Maghrebines, S.A.

Industrija Delova Automobila, Kikinda

Isuzu-General Motors Australia Limited

Isuzu Motors Limited

Jinbei GM Automotive Co. Ltd.

Kabeltrommel GmbH & Co. KG

Kabelwerke Reinshagen GmbH

Kabelwerke Reinshagen Werk Berlin GmbH (aka Kabel-

werke Reinshagen Berlin Plant GmbH)

Kabelwerke Reinshagen Werk Neumarkt GmbH (aka

Kabelwerke Reinshagen Neumarkt Plant GmbH)

Macopel, S.A. de C.V.

Mecel AB

Metal Casting Technology, Inc.

Millbrook Pension Management Ltd.

National Car Rental System Inc.

New Cure, Inc.

New United Motor Manufacturing, Inc.

New Venture Gear, Inc.

Omnibus BB Transportes, S.A.

Opel-Automobilwerk Eisenach-PKW GmbH (a/k/a Opel-

AWE GmbH)

45a

Other Subsidiaries, continued:

Opel-Handler Versicherungsdienst GmbH

Opel-Wohnbau GmbH

P.T. Mesin Isuzu Indonesia

PDES, Inc.

PW-Allison Engines

Packard CTA Pty. Ltd.

Packard Electric Vas kft

Penske Transportation, Inc.

Perceptron, Inc.

Promotora de Partes Electricos Automotrices

Qual-Effic Services, Inc.

Robotic Vision Systems, Inc.

Ruedas de Aluminio, C.A.

Saab Automobile AB

Senalizacion y Accesorios del Automovil Yorka, S.L.

Shinsung Packard Company, Ltd.

Sociedad de Comercializacion Internacional Colmotores

S.A.

Societe Francaise des Amortisseurs de Carbon S.A.

Subaru-Isuzu Automotive, Inc.

Sung San Company, Ltd.

Suzuki Motor Corporation

Truck and Bus Engineering U.K., Limited

United Australian Automotive Industries Limited

Uveral S.A.

Vanguarda Componentes Automotivos, S.A.

Vauxhall Motors (Finance) Plc

View Engineering, Inc.

Volvo GM Canada Heavy Truck Corporation

Volvo GM Heavy Truck Corporation

Woodbridge Foam Deutschland, GMBH

46a

Other Subsidiaries, and Affiliates

of Electronic Data Systems Corporation:

Aristacom International, Inc.

BSS Belgique

BSS Greece

BehaviorTech, Inc.

Beijing International Information Processing Company

Limited

CAPSCO Software Canada, Ltd.

CLIOR

CLS Corporation

COGSYS Limited

Centigram Communications Corporation

China Management Systems Corporation

Comtrac Corporation

EDS Hellas

EDS-Scicon Defence Limited

Empenion Corporation

Europe Assurance Informatique

F.1.J. (France Informatique Juridique)

Federal Integrated Systems Corporation

First City Bancorporation of Texas, Inc.

GEST’HELP Huissier

GMB Belgique

Healthco Holding Corporation

Hitachi Data Systems Holding Corporation

Hospitality Franchise Systems, Inc.

Infosys

Institut des Techniques Avancees

Interpractice Systems, Inc.

Japan Systems Kabushiki Kaisha (aka Japan Systems

K.K.)

LEA GP Incorporated

MCE

47a

Other Subsidiaries, and Affiliates

of Electronic Data Systems Corporation,

continued:

Neodata Holdings, Inc.

Nippon EDS Co., Ltd. (aka Nippon EDS Kabushiki

Kaisha)

Postal Buddy Corporation

PROGICAL

Riser Foods, Inc.

Simpad, Sociedad Anonima de Capital Variable (aka

Simpad, S.A. de C.V.)

Soft-Switch, Inc.

Systems Control Technology, Inc.

Systems Technology Management Corporation

Telecommunications Data Services, Incorporated

The ASK Group, Inc.

Thomas Group, Inc.

Westcott Communications, Inc.

YLYS Informatique

Other Subsidiaries, and Affiliates of

Hughes Aircraft Company:

ACCSCO S.A.

AMRAAM International Licensing Company

American Mobile Satellite Corporation

Comlinear Corporation

ELTRO GmbH

ELEKLUFT Elecktronic-und Luftfahrtgerate GmbH

Empresa Nacional de Optica S.A.

FLIR Systems, Inc.

First Portland Technology Corp.

Guiado y Control SA

HBH Company

HESI-FTIC Environmental Sciences, Inc.

Hughes Escorts Communications Limited

48a

Other Subsidiaries, and Affiliates of

Hughes Aircraft Company,

continued:

Hughes-J VC Technology Corporation

Hughes-Kenwood RDSS, Inc.

Hughes-Pareto Research Partnership

Hughes Software Systems Private Limited

i-Logix Inc.

Interactive Entertainment, Inc.

International Electro-Optical Industry Anonim Sirketi

International Mobile Machines Corporation

Japan Communications Satellite Company, Inc.

Japan Satellite Communications Network Corporation

Microelectronics and Computer Technology Corporation

Nippon Avionics Co., Ltd.

Pacific Monolithics, Inc.

RALS (RAM Alternate Launcher System)

Satelitron S.A. de C.V.

Societe Lyonnaise d’ Informatique Boursiers

Software Productivity Consortium, Inc.

Translant, Inc.

UKADGE Systems Limited

49a

APPENDIX E

BASF Corporation Rule 29.1 Statement

BASF Corporation is a subsidiary of BASF Aktien-

gesellschaft of Ludwigshafen, Germany.

50a

APPENDIX F

H.B. Fuller Rule 29.1 Statement

H.B. FULLER AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES

AS OF NOVEMBER 30, 1994

H.B. Fuller Company

Branches: Indonesia, Korea, Netherlands (LPD)

H.B. Fuller Company Puerto Rico, Inc.

H.B. Fullor International Inc.

Branches: Australia, Hong Kong, Singapore

ChemEquity, Inc.

ChemEquity Communications, Inc.

F.A.1. Trading Company

Fiber-Resin Corporation

H.B. Fuller Automotive Products, Inc.

Lombard Acquisition Corporation

H.B. Fuller Automotive Technology Systems, Inc.

Foster Products Corporation

TEC Incorporated

H.B. Fuller Licensing & Financing Inc.

Alreline, Inc.

Kativo Chemical Industries, S.A.

(See listing of subsidiaries on the following pages.)

Pinturas Centroamericanas Costa Rica S.A.

Mundo de Colores Pintica, S.A.

Pinturas Ecuatorianas, S.A.

Distribuidora Americana, S.A.

Glidden Panama S.A.

Glidden Avenida Nacional, S.A.

Glidden Colon, S.A.

Glidden Chitre, S.A.

Glidden David, S.A.

Glidden Bethania, S.A.

5la

Glidden El] Dorado, S.A.

Glidden Via Espana, S.A.

Glidden Chorrera, S.A.

Fabrica Pinturas Glidden, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Austria GesmbH

H.B. Fuller Belgium N.V./S.A.

Harved Oy

H.B. Fuller GmbH, Luneburg

Karl Sager, GmbH

H.B. Fuller GmbH, Munich

Isar-Rakoll Chemie, GmbH

H.B. Fuller France S.A.

H.B. Fuller Blattmann AG

H.B. Fuller Italia s.r.1.

H.B. Fuller SICAM S.p.A.

H.B. Fuller (Jersey) Limited

H.B. Fuller Nederland B.V.

Prakoll, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Sverigo AB

H.B. Fuller Holdings Limited

H.B. Fuller U.K. Limited

H.B. Fuller Coatings Limited

H.B. Fuller Canada, Inc.

H.B. Fuller Company Australia Pty. Ltd.

H.B. Fuller (China) Adhesives Ltd.

H.B. Fuller India Private Limited

H.B. Fuller Japan Company, Ltd.

H.B. Fuller Korea Co., Ltd.

H.B.F. Adhesives (Malaysia) Sdn. Bhd.

H.B. Fuller Company (N.Z.) Ltd.

H.B. Fuller Holdings (NZ) Ltd.

H.B. Fuller Powder Coatings (NZ) Ltd.

H.B.Fuller Powder Coatings Pty. Ltd.

H.B. Fuller (Philippines), Inc.

H.B. Fuller-Realty (Philippines) Company

52a

H.B. Fuller Taiwan Company Ltd.

H.B. Fuller (Thailand) Co., Ltd.

Multi-Clean Products Pty. Ltd.

Multi-Clean (Lebanon) S.A.R.I.

H.B. Fuller Lebanon S.A.R.L.

Nippon Tilement Company, Ltd.

KATIVO CHEMICAL INDUSTRIES,

S.A. AND CONSOLIDATED SUBSIDIARIES

AS OF SEPTEMBER 30, 1994

Chemical Supply, S.A.

H.A. Fuller Argentina, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Latin America

H.B. Fuller Bolivia, Ltda.

H.B. Fuller Brasil, Ltda.

H.B. Fuller Brasil — Sul, I tda.

H.B. Fuller Chile, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Colombia, Ltda.

Kativo Costa Rica, S.A.

Kativo Comercial, S.A.

Reca Quimica, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Costa Rica, S.A.

Acrilicos de Centroamerica, S.A.

Alfombras Canon, S.A.

Analko, S.A.

Sinteticos, S.A.

Deco Tintas, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Dominicana, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Ecuador, S.A.

Inversiones Kem Supply, S.A.

Kativo de E] Salvador, S.A.

Kativo Industrial de El] Salvador, S.A.

H.B. Fuller El Salvador, S.A.

53a

Deco Tintas de El Salvador, S.A.

Norchem, Ltda.

Kativo Comercial de Guatemala, S.A.

Compania Mercantil de Pinturas

Kativo de Guatemala, S.A.

Kiosko de Pinturas, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Guatemala, S.A.

Sinteticos de Guatemala, S.A.

Punlo de Viniles, S.A.

Alfombras Canon de Guatemala, S.A.

Kativo de Honduras, S.A.

Aerosoles de Centroamenica, S.A.

Alfombras Canon, S.A.

Comercial Punto de Viniles, S.A.

Kiosko Comercial, S.A.

Kativo Comercial, S.A.

Punto de Viniles, S.A.

Kiosko de Pinturas, S.A.

Fabrica de Pinturas Surekoto de Honduras, S.A.

Servicios e Inversiones de Honduras, S.A.

Deco Tintas De Honduras, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Honduras, S.A.

Comercial Fuller, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Mexico, S.A.

Industrias Kativo de Nicaragua, S.A.

Ditribuidora Industrial y Comercial, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Nicaragua, S.A.

Chemical Supply Corporation

Kativo de Panama, S.A.

Kativo Comercial, S.A.

Colorcentro, S.A,

Fuller Istmena, S.A.

Procesamientos Contables, S.A.

Alquileres Industriales, S.A.

Alfombras Canon, S.A.

54a

Deco Tintas Comerciales, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Panama, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Comercial, S.A.

Deco Tintas de Panama, S.A.

Vigilia, S.A.

Sistema Integrados, S.A.

Chemical Supply Peruana, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Peru, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Uruguay, S.A.

H.B. Fuller Venezuela, S.A.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.