Opposition Brief — Bethlehem Minerals Co. v. Church & Mullins Corp.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

» Court, US.

FILED

APR 20 1995

St Lt eat |

No. 94-1561 3 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1994

BETHLEHEM MINERALS COMPANY,

ETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION,

ETH-ELKHORN CORPORATION AND

BETHENERGY MINES, INC.,

B

B

Petitioners,

CHURCH AND MULLINS CORPORATION,

CLAUDE JOHNSON, CHARLIE JOHNSON, JACK

JOHNSON, MARTHA KENDRICK, PRISCILLA

STILTNER, BEN JOHNSON, MOLLY THORNBERRY

AND BETTY JANE JOHNSON STEWART,

Respondents.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari

to the Supreme Court of Kentucky

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HERMAN W. LESTER GARY C. JOHNSON

Counsel of Record P.O. Box 231

207 Caroline Ave. Pikeville, KY 41502

P.O. Drawer 551 (606) 437-4002

Pikeville, KY 41502

(606) 437-6218 S. STROTHER SMITH III

903 E. Main Street

GILBERT K DAVIS Abingdon, VA 24210

9516-C Lee Hwy. (703) 628-3422

Fairfax V 22031

703) 352-3850 Attorneys for

Respondents

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether Petitioners’ claim that

due process requires vacatur of the Ken-

tucky Supreme Court's June 4, 1992 Opin-

ion was pressed or passed on below.

2. Whether certiorari is precluded

by the existence of an independent and

adequate state law ground for decision,

where Petitioners obtained the relief

they requested, since Special Justice

Hays recused himself from further parti-

cipation in the proceedings below and

since the Kentucky Supreme Court recon-

sidered the merits of the willful tres-

pass issue.

3. Whether certiorari must be de-

nied because the controversy is moot,

Since the Kentucky Supreme Court reheard

the willful trespass issue and decided

the issue against Petitioners by a 6 to l

vote.

———————————————————

4. Whether the Kentucky Supreme

Court's Order Denying Petitioners’ Peti-

tion for Rehearing conflicts with Aetna

Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S.

813 (1986), or otherwise raises any im-

portant issue of federal law, when there

is no record evidence that any Kentucky

Supreme Court Justice or Special Justice

who participated in the consideration of

this case had any direct, personal, sub-

stantial, and pecuniary interest in the

outcome of this case.

oid o

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS emmOuNTHD - - + + ** * ° i

TABLE OF erppaspmeiTigg . - + *** °° Vv

STATEMENT OF | Sa 1

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT - +--+: °* ° 16

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Zz. CERTIORARI MUST BE DENIED ON

THE GROUND THAT PETITIONERS '

CLAIM THAT DUE PROCESS RE-

QUIRES VACATUR OF THE KEN-

TUCKY SUPREME COURT'S JUNE

4, 1992 OPINION WAS NOT

PRESSED OR PASSED ON BELOW. .- 18

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED

BECAUSE THERE IS AN INDE-

PENDENT AND ADEQUATE STATE

LAW GROUND FOR DECISION,

SINCE PETITIONERS OBTAINED

THE RELIEF THEY REQUESTED,

WHEN SPECIAL JUSTICE HAYS

RECUSED HIMSELF FROM FUR-

THER PARTICIPATION IN THE

PROCEEDINGS BELOW AND WHEN

THE KENTUCKY SUPREME COURT

RECONSIDERED THE MERITS OF

THE WILLFUL TRESPASS ISSUE .- - 21

-iii-

Le ew

L¥.

TABLE OF CONTENTS (CONT'D)

CERTIORARI MUST BE DENIED

BECAUSE THE CONTROVERSY IS

MOOT, SINCE THE KENTUCKY

SUPREME COURT REHEARD THE

WILLFUL TRESPASS ISSUE AND

DECIDED THE ISSUE AGAINST

PETITIONERS BY A 6 TO 1

VOTE —%

THE KENTUCKY SUPREME

COURT'S ORDER DENYING PETI-

TIONERS' PETITION FOR RE-

HEARING DOES NOT CONFLICT

WITH AETNA LIFE INSURANCE

CO. v. LAVOIE, 475 U.S. 813

(1986), OR OTHERWISE RAISE

ANY IMPORTANT ISSUE OF FED-

ERAL LAW ae oe

CONCLUSION

APPENDIX

-iv-

26

OF A ITIE

Cases

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v.

Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

ci eres FE

Bankers Life & Casualty Co.

v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S.

71 (1988)

Bray v. Alexander Clinic, 113 S.

Ct. 753 (1993) coe ee eee

Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456

(1988) erga

Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct.

2546 (1991)

Fox Corp. v. Muller, 296 U.S.

207 (1935) ;

In re Murchison, 349 U.S. 133

(1955) > [a

Kentucky Utilities v. South

East Coal Co., 836 S.W.2d

407 (Ky. 1992), cert.

dismissed under Rule 46,

113 S. Ct. 1147 (1993)

Lewis v. Continental Bank

Corp., 494 U.S. 472

(1990) oo

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032

(1983) a vaio, Setar ae Piende

Murdock v. Memphis, 87 U.S. (20

Wall.) 590 (1875) art de

LZ,

28

passim

10,

20

a3

19

21

21

29

43

26

23

21

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (CONT'D)

Cases Page

offutt v. United States, 348 U.S.

11 (1954) a ig ae gh Se 31

Tumey v. Ohio, 273 U.S. 510

(1927) Pee See Sie tae a aa ee 29

Withrow v. Larkin, 421 U.S. 35

(1975) Ae ear IY ee ee 32

yYlst v. Nunnemaker, 111 S. Ct.

ee fen 4 6 lk ee ee a) 24

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37

(1971) el Ae ere ae Ga a a ae 12

Statutes

a eee. § £a0 «se eee 8 eS 6

Me Comer §€§ 423 «2s 2+ © © we eo 8 6, 14

a -. Cie D. TEi8e « + 6 + & BO i3, 22

Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann. § 26A.015

(Michie 1992) ... + ++ + «+ > 2

7 2 Gee. oft, fhe + 2 * 8 WH 48 26

-vi-

(ht ae i Mas ta Di an SO De

STATEMENT OF T CASE

This case involves two judgments of

the Pike County Circuit Court. The first

judgment, entered September 16, 1986,

determined title to the mineral estate in

a 375-acre tract on Three Mile Creek in

Pike County, Kentucky, that is commonly

known as "Tract 42" (Sept. 16, 1986 Opin-

ion, Findings of Fact and Conclusions of

Law). The Pike County Circuit Court

found that Petitioners held title to 164

acres of Tract 42, and that Respondents

held title to the remaining 211 acres

(Id.). The second judgment, entered Feb-

ruary 25, 1987, awarded Respondents dam-

ages in the principal sum of $16,947,778,

plus prejudgment interest, for willful

trespass (Feb. 25, 1987 Opinion, Findings

of Fact and Conclusions of Law).

Petitioners appealed to the Kentucky

Court of Appeals, which, on January 12,

1990, affirmed the trial court's decision

-l1-

on title, but which reversed the finding

of willful trespass and prejudgment in-

terest and remanded for a recalculation

of damages. On September 19, 1990, the

Kentucky Supreme Court granted discre-

tionary review.

Supreme Court Justice Dan Jack

Combs, sua sponte, recused himself. By

Order dated September 17, 1991, the

Honorable Robert F. Stephens, the Chief

Justice of the Kentucky Supreme Court,

appointed John Doug Hays as a Special

Justice to replace Justice Combs (Appel-

lants’ and Cross-Appellees' Response to

Motion to Recuse Special Justice John

Doug Hays, Exh. A; App., infra, la-2a).

Special Justice Hays's appointment

was made pursuant to Ky. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§ 26A.015(3) (Michie 1992), which au-

thorizes the Chief Justice to appoint a

Special Justice when any justice is dis-

qualified. To implement the statute, the

a

Oi

Kentucky Supreme Court adopted a proce-

dure for appointment of a Special Justice

(Response to Motion to Recuse, Exh. B;

App. 3a-5a). At the beginning of each

annual term, each justice is required to

provide the Chief Justice with a list of

not less than ten attorneys from his ju-

dicial district who meet the constitzu-

tional requirements for service and who

have the ability to serve as a Special

Justice (App. 4a). Once advised of a

justice's disqualification, the Chief

Justice appoints a Special Justice from

the list previously submitted to him by

the disqualified justice (Id.). John

Doug Hays was included on the standing

list of qualified attorneys from Justice

Combs's judicial district.

Contrary to Petitioners’ allegation

) in its Petition for Certiorari (Petition

for Writ of Certiorari at 4, 6), Justice

Combs did not "personally select” or

EU CHE kd POY Rhee cn

aSe<

2

:

"personally designate” John Doug Hays to

serve as Special Justice. The Kentucky

Supreme Court's September 17, 1991 Order,

entered by the Deputy Chief Justice

Charles Leibson, states:

Honorable John D. Hays, a

member of the Kentucky Bar with

offices in Pikeville, Kentucky,

who was appointed by Chief Jus-

tice Robert F. Stephens to sit

as special justice of the Su-

preme Court in the determina-

tion of this cause by reason of

the disqualification of Justice

Dan Jack Combs, was on Septem-

ber 17, 1991, prior to any con-

sideration of this cause, ad-

ministered the Constitutional

Oath by the undersigned.

(App. la-2a.) Petitioners’ allegation

that Justice Combs designated Special

Justice Hays is based solely on a news-

paper article in the Lexington Herald-

Leader, dated June 25, 1992. The arti-

cle quotes Justice Combs as stating: "I

just suggested to the Chief Justice that

he (Hays) would be a fine special judge.

There was no special reason” (Bethlehem

Memorandum in Support of Supplemental

a

Soar Soke (Sec SA UN BES SE DORR SACn. Sal Oa eRe SRE eae omar ae

ES ON? BLE Gen ee

Motion to Recuse Special Justice John

Doug Hays, Exh. A at Bl).

On June 4, 1992, the Kentucky Su-

preme Court rendered its decision, which

reversed in part the court of appeals and

reinstated in all respects the judgment

of the Pike County Circuit Court (Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari at App. la).

The majority opinion was written by Spe-

cial Justice Hays with the concurrence of

three justices; three justices dissented.

On June 24, 1992, Petitioners filed

a Petition for Rehearing and a Motion to

Recuse Special Justice Hays. The Peti-

tion for Rehearing sought reconsideration

of the Supreme Court's decision on will-

ful trespass, damages, and prejudgment

interest, and incorporated by reference

the arguments in the Motion to Recuse

(Bethlehem Petition for Rehearing at 2).

In seeking recusal, Petitioners wrote

that they did not "call into question the

in

integrity of any member of the Court or

Special Justice who sat in this case”

(Bethlehem Memorandum in Support of Mo-

tion to Recuse Special Justice John Doug

Hays at 2). The Petitioners alleged in-

stead that the court’s procedure for ap-

pointing a Special Justice violated §§

110(3) and 123 of the Kentucky Constitu-

tion (Id. at 6-11). The Petitioners fur-

ther alleged that Special Justice Hays's

impartiality might reasonably be ques-

tioned because of his former professional

association with the trial judge after

the trial judge had left the bench, and

because of Hays’s withdrawal from repre-

sentation of third parties involved in

unrelated litigation brought against Pet-

itioner BethEnergy Mines, Inc. (Id. at

11-15) .’

In the Motion to Recuse, Petition-

ers complained of Special Justice Hays's

previous participation in another tres-

pass action brought against Petitioner

BethEnergy Mines, Inc., Osborne v. Beth-

ei-

ES ROR cee

| Although the Petitioners were aware

| from the very instant of Special Justice

Hays's appointment of all of the predi-

cate facts upon which they based their

Motion to Recuse, the Petitioners con-

cededly waited over nine months to file

the Motion, until after the Kentucky Su-

Energy Mines, Inc., Civil Action No. 88-

100 (Pike Cir. Ct.), an unrelated case

involving different creditors and dif-

ferent transactions (Bethlehem Memorandum

in Support of Motion to Recuse Special

Justice John Doug Hays at 3-4, Exh. B).

On June 3, 1988, Special Justice Hays

withdrew from representation of the

plaintiffs in the Osborne case. Hays’'s

withdrawal was based on the fact that his

firm, Stratton, May & Hays, P.S.C., had

represented Petitioners in another case

(Appellants’ Response to Motion to Re-

cuse, Exh. 6). Moreover, Petitioners

) complained that the trial judge in this

! case, William T. Scott, had been a part-

ner of Stratton, May & Hays for approx-

imately two years after Judge Scott had

left the bench (Bethlehem Memorandum in

Support of Motion to Recuse Special Jus-

tice John Doug Hays at 13-15). Judge

Scott had left the firm long before Spe-

cial Justice Hays had been appointed in

this case.

x

preme Court had rendered its June 4, 1992

Opinion against Petitioners (Id. at 17) .’

Petitioners’ Motion to Recuse and

Petition for Rehearing sought prospec-

tive relief. Petitioners prayed that

"Special Justice Hays .. . be recused

from any further proceedings in this ap-

peal and the Opinion of the Court of Ap-

peals affirmed or, alternatively, this

case must be reconsidered in its entirety

by a constitutionally constituted court"

In their Motion to Recuse, Peti-

tioners stated that they delayed filing

the Motion in order to avoid antagoniz-

ing the court before the court issued its

opinion (Bethlehem Memorandum in Support

of Motion to Recuse Special Justice John

Doug Hays at 17).

Petitioner BethEnergy Mine, Inc.'s

counsel of record in the Kentucky Supreme

Court, John M. Stephens and Lively M.

Wilson, also represented Petitioner Beth-

Energy in the Osborne case (Appellants’

Response to Motion to Recuse, Exh. C).

Petitioners’ counsel could not have

avoided being aware, because of their

frequent dealings with the firm of Strat-

ton, May & Hays, of Judge Scott's pre-

vious association with this prominent

Kentucky firm.

aQ~

Ae Lane

(Bethlehem Memorandum in Support of Mo-

tion to Recuse Special Justice John Doug

Hays at 1-2 (emphasis added)). Similar-

ly, the Petition for Rehearing prayed

that the court of appeals’ decision be

"affirmed or, alternatively, this case

reconsidered in its entirety” (Bethlehem

Petition for Rehearing at 10).

On July 6, 1992, Petitioners filed a

Motion for Leave to File a Supplemental

Motion te Recuse Special Justice Hays and

a Supplemental Petition for Rehearing.

In this Motion, for the first time, Peti-

tioners alleged that they were denied due

process because the Chief Justice had

selected Special Justice Hays at Justice

Combs's suggestion (Bethlehem Memorandum

in Support of Supplemental Motion to Re-

cuse Special Justice John Doug Hays at

2). In their Supplemental Petition and

Motion, Petitioners again demanded that

"Special Justice Hays .. . be recused

«9-

from further participation in this ap-

peal,” and the appeal "reconsidered in

its entirety by a constitutionally con-

stituted court” (Id. at 5; Bethlehem Pro-

posed Supplemental Petition for Rehearing

at 1).

On August 25, 1992, the Kentucky

Supreme Court decided Kentucky Utilities

vy. South East Coal Co., 836 S.W.2d 407

(Ky. 1992), cert. dismissed under Rule

46, 113 S. Ct. 1147 (1993). In that de-

cision, the court upheld its procedure

for appointment of a Special Justice,

rejecting arguments based on the Kentucky

Constitution.

On August 28, 1992, two Orders were

entered by the Supreme Court of Kentucky

in the instant litigation. In the first

Order, Special Justice Hays recused him-

self sua sponte from further participa-

tion (Special Justice John Doug Hays’s

Order of Aug. 28, 1992 at App. 6a-7a),

420-

thereby providing Petitioners with the

precise relief requested. Although find-

ing that Petitioners’ Motion to Recuse

An ad eR E Tei,

stated no grounds for disqualification,

Special Justice Hays stated that he acted

in order to avoid any further allegation

of impropriety (Id. at App. 7a).

In the second Order, the Kentucky

Supreme Court denied Petitioners’ Motion

to Recuse and Motion to File a Supplemen-

tal Petition for Rehearing as moot, based

upon Justice Hays's sua sponte recusal

from further participation (Chief Justice

Stephens’s Order of Aug. 28, 1992 at App.

8a-8b). The supreme court further

granted Petitioners’ oral argument in

support of their Petition for Rehearing

(Id.).

On August 25, 1992, Petitioners

filed a civil rights action in the United

States District Court for the Eastern

District of Kentucky against the individ-

«2% ~

ual justices of the Kentucky Supreme

Court, Bethlehem Minerals Co. v. John

Doug Hays et al., No. 92-86 (E.D. Ky.,

filed Aug. 25, 1992). The complaint

sought injunctive relief to vacate the

Kentucky Supreme Court's June 4, 1992

Opinion, on the same substantive grounds

Petitioners had asserted in their pending

petition for rehearing in state court.

On January 20, 1993, the federal district

court dismissed the complaint in the ex-

ercise of its discretion to abstain under

the Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37

(1971), doctrine (Jan. 20, 1993 Order).

After the federal district court

dismissal, Petitioners filed a Motion for

Leave to File a Second Supplemental Peti-

tion for Rehearing. Although ostensibly

for the purpose of presenting supplemen-

tal authority related to the original

petition for rehearing, Petitioners’ Mo-

tion also included a proposed amendment

$2

Oe ee ee eine Sone re tnt, See eran tT Cone Ee aris asta

ee acne

to their prayer for relief. The amend-

ment omitted Petitioners’ demand for re-

consideration and sought in lieu thereof

that Special Justice Hays'’s vote be ex-

cluded from the supreme court's tally anda

that the decision of the court of appeals

be affirmed by a 3 to 3 vote (Bethlehem

Proposed Supplemental Petition for Re-

hearing at 4). Respondents opposed this

Motion, arguing that Petitioners had

failed to file their Supplemental Peti-

tion within the 20-day period allowed by

Ky. R. Civ. P. 76.32(2) and that the Spe-

cial Justice issue should not be resur-

rected (Response and Objection to Motion

for Leave to File Second Supplemental

Petition for Rehearing at 2). On Decem-

ber 14, 1993, the Kentucky Supreme Court

denied Petitioners’ Motion without com-

at3-

ment (Dec. 14, 1993 Order at App. lla-

12a) .’

After Justice Combs retired from the

bench, a special election to select his

replacement to serve out his term was

held. On August 27, 1993, the Kentucky

Supreme Court entered an Order assigning

the Petition for Rehearing for oral argu-

ment on December 15, 1993 before the full

court (Chief Justice Stephens's Aug. 28,

1993 Order).* At oral argument, Chief

*In response to the dismissal of

their federal action, Petitioners also

filed a Motion to Enter Judgment and to

Withdraw Petition for Rehearing if Motion

Granted. This Motion, however, did not

raise any federal question. The Motion

alleged that the Kentucky Supreme Court's

June 4, 1992 Opinion was void because it

was rendered in violation of § 123 of the

Kentucky Constitution (Bethlehem Motion

to Enter Judgment and to Withdrawal Peti-

tion for Rehearing If Motion Granted at

2).

‘Oral argument on Petitioners’ Peti-

tion for Rehearing was consolidated with

oral argument in a related case, Bethle-

hem Minera — -

Corp., No. 93-SC-587-TG (Pike Cir. Ct.),

which was an appeal by Petitioners from

the Pike County Circuit Court’s denial of

st@-

j

ela RRA ah dtd oo 0% + ody

ee RON: a ohh ete

Justice Stephens advised Petitioners’

counsel that the court had upheld the

constitutionality of its procedure for

appointment of a Special Justice in the

Kentucky Utilities case (Dec. 15, 1993

Tape of Oral Argument, 12:06:50 to

12:09<39) .

On November 23, 1994, the Kentucky

Supreme Court denied Petitioners’ Peti-

tion for Rehearing by a 6 to 1 vote (Or-

der Denying Petition for Rehearing, Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari at App. 16a)

The court rejected all of Petitioners’

state law arguments (Id. at App. 17a-

18a). In response to Petitioners’ due

process theory, the court stated:

{I]t is noteworthy that in this

case petitioners were granted

the relief they requested;

after motion by petitioners,

Petitioners’ Motion to Vacate the Pike

County Circuit Court judgments. On No-

vember 23, 1994, the Kentucky Supreme

Court unanimously affirmed the trial

court's denial of Petitioners’ Motion to

Vacate the judgments.

-15-

Special Justice Jchn Doug Hays,

sua_ sponte, recused himself

from further participation in

the above-styled action to

avoid any appearance of impro-

priety and this Court granted a

second oral argument in this

Matter. The Court granted Pe-

titioners the relief requested

and there is nothing in the

opinicn of this Court to sup-

port the bald assertion by the

petitioners that they were de-

nied due process of law in this

matter.

(I at App. 17a (emphasis added) .)

SUMMARY OF THE ARGUMENT

Certiorari should be denied because

Petitioners’ claim that vacatur is the

only available remedy to cure the alleged

due process violation was not pressed or

passed upon below. Moreover, certiorari

should be denied because there is an in-

dependent and adequate state law ground

for decision, which is that Petitioners

obtained below the relief they had re-

quested. Furthermore, certiorari should

be denied because the Kentucky Supreme

a. oe

a Palla aainea

ee ee ere

0 DP Aah A as int a ae eet ats bias Aas!

Court's rehearing on the merits makes

this controversy moot.

Even assuming arquendo that there is

no procedural bar to review in this

Court, certiorari should be denied be-

cause the Kentucky Supreme Court’s Order

Denying Petitioners’ Petition for Rehear-

ing does not conflict with Aetna Life

Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, 475 U.S. 813

(1986), or otherwise raise any important

issue of federal law. Petitioners do not

allege that any justice or Special Jus-

tice who participated in the June 4, 1992

decision had any direct, personal, sub-

stantial, and pecuniary interest in the

outcome. There is no record evidence to

support Petitioners’ allegation that Jus-

tice Combs had any such interest in the

decision, but, in any event, he recused

himself from consideration on the merits.

Petitioners’ allegation that Justice

Combs personally selected Special Justice

mh

Hays is not supported by the record and

does not provide a basis for any substan-

tial federal due process claim.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

CERTIORARI MUST BE DENIED ON

THE GROUND THAT PETITIONERS '

CLAIM THAT DUE PROCESS REQUIRES

VACATUR OF THE KENTUCKY SUPREME

COURT'S JUNE 4, 1992 OPINION

WAS NOT PRESSED OR PASSED ON

BELOW.

Petitioners assert that prospective

recusal of Special Justice Hays did not

cure the denial of due process and that

vacatur is the only acceptable remedy

(Petition for Writ of Certiorari at 12).

However, this claim was not pressed by

Petitioners or passed on by the Kentucky

Supreme Court, and therefore the claim

has been procedurally defaulted. In re-

viewing the decisions of state courts,

this Court will not decide federal claims

that were not pressed or passed on below.

2a-

Mirena 6

Clark v. Jeter, 486 U.S. 456, 459-60

(1988).

Petitioners sought prospective re-

cusal and reconsideration in their plead-

ings below as the remedy for the alleged

due process violation (Bethlehem Motion

to Recuse at 1-2; Bethlehem Petition for

Rehearing at 10; Bethlehem Memorandum in

Support of Supplemental Motion to Recuse

Special Justice John Doug Hays at 5;

Bethlehem Proposed Supplemental Petition

for Rehearing at 1). In Petitioners’

proposed Second Supplemental Petition for

Rehearing, Petitioners, for the first

time, demanded that Special Justice

Hays's vote be excluded and the court of

appeals’ decision be affirmed on a 3 to 3

vote (Bethlehem Proposed Supplemental

Petition for Rehearing at 4). However,

the proposed Supplemental Petition, which

the Kentucky Supreme Court refused to

hear because of Petitioners’ procedural

~49-

ne OEE OCR eee: TT ee OE eT en

Ee eA SE LIAS Et Sea a

default, requested this remedy only for

alleged violations of the Kentucky Con-

stitution (Id. at 1-3). Petitioners did

not mention the federal due process

clause, let alone request vacatur for

denial of due process (Id.). Petition-

ers' failure to allege that due process

required affirmance of the court of ap-

peals' decision or vacatur of the Ken-

tucky Supreme Court's June 4, 1992 Opin-

ion bars them from making this claim on

appeal. See Bankers Life & Casualty Co.

v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 77-78 (1988)

(challenge to punitive damages award

barred where appellant failed to refer to

federal excessive fines clause as basis

for its claim that damages awarded were

excessive).

~20-

ELLOS LOTTIE Se ee ST

II. CERTIORARI SHOULD BE DENIED BE-

CAUSE THERE IS AN INDEPENDENT

AND ADEQUATE STATE LAW GROUND

FOR DECISION, SINCE PETITIONERS

OBTAINED THE RELIEF THEY RE-

QUESTED, WHEN SPECIAL JUSTICE

HAYS RECUSED HIMSELF FROM FUR-

THER PARTICIPATION IN THE PRO-

CEEDINGS BELOW AND WHEN THE

KENTUCKY SUPREME COURT RECON-

SIDERED THE MERITS OF THE WILL-

FUL TRESPASS ISSUE.

This Court will not consider an is-

sue of federal law on direct review from

the judgment of a state court if that

judgment rests on a state law ground that

is independent of the merits of the fed-

eral claim and is an adequate basis for

the court’s decision. Fox Corp. v. Mul-

ler, 296 U.S. 207, 210 (1935); Murdock v.

Memphis, 87 U.S. (20 Wall.) 590, 635-36

(1875). This rule applies regardless of

whether the state law ground is substan-

tive or procedural. C man _v. Thompson,

111 S. Ct. 2546, 2554 (1991).

An independent and adequate state

law ground for the decision here is that

Petitioners obtained the relief they had

a23«

requested below. Petitioners sought only

prospective recusal of Special Justice

Hays and reconsideration on the merits in

their Supplemental Motion to Recuse and

in their Supplemental Petition for Re-

hearing, where Petitioners raised for the

first time a claim that they were denied

due process because Justice Combs al-

legedly had suggested Special Justice

Hays's appointment (Bethlehem Memorandum

in Support of Supplemental Motion to Re-

cuse Special Justice John Doug Hays at 5;

Bethlehem Proposed Supplemental Petition

for Rehearing at 1). Petitioners ob-

tained the precise relief requested:

Special Justice Hays recused himself from

further participation in this case, and

the Kentucky Supreme Court granted Peti-

tioners a rehearing on the merits.

Although the Order Denying Petition-

ers' Petition for Rehearing also states

that there was no due process violation,

=393-

the plain statement rule of Michigan v.

Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983), and its prog-

eny has no application here. Under Long,

if "it fairly appears that the state

court rested its decision primarily on

federal law, or to be interwoven with

federal law," this Court may reach the

federal question unless the state court's

opinion contains a "'plain statement’

that [its] decision rests upon adequate

and independent state grounds.” Id. at

1042.

Viewed in its full context, the Ken-

tucky Supreme Court’s decision rested

primarily on the basis that Petitioners

had obtained the relief requested, i.e.,

prospective recusal of Special Justice

Hays and a rehearing on the merits. The

August 28, 1992 Order denied Petitioners’

Motion to Recuse and Motion for Leave to

File a Supplemental Petition for Rehear-

ing, expressly on this basis. Since this

~33-

Order clearly was based on state law,

this Court must presume that the subse-

quent denial of Petitioners’ Petition for

Rehearing did not silently disregard the

State law ground as an adequate and inde-

pendent ground for decision. See Ylst v.

Nunnemaker, 111 S. Ct. 2590, 2594, 2596

(1991). In denying the Petition for Re-

hearing, the Kentucky Supreme Court did

not ignore the procedural bar; it ex-

pressly held that Petitioners had ob-

tained the relief requested.

Moreover, although Petitioners com-

plain now that the Kentucky Supreme Court

did not apply a de novo standard of re-

view in rehearing this case, Petitioners

did not request de novo review in their

Petition for Rehearing. Petitioners pre-

sented no new arguments on the merits in

their Petition for Rehearing, and the

justices were singularly unimpressed with

Petitioners’ Petition.

-24-

ar PO EN

Seven months after the court had

entered its August 28, 1992 Order, the

court denied as untimely Petitioners’ Mo-

tion for Leave to File a Second Supple-

mental Petition for Rehearing. If

granted, this Motion would have withdrawn

Petitioners’ demand for reconsideration

in lieu of a demand that Special Justice

Hays's vote be treated as void and that

the court of appeals’ decision be af-

firmed by a 3 to 3 vote. Since this Mo-

tion was denied as a result of Petition-

ers' procedural default,°* there is an

independent and adequate ground for the

"Although the Order denying Peti-

tioners’' leave to file their proposed

second Supplemental Petition gave no

rationale, it is clear that the Order was

based on Petitioners’ procedural default.

Respondents opposed the Motion solely on

the state law ground that it was untimely

and that the Special Justice issue should

not be resurrected. Ky. R. Civ. P.

76.32(2) requires that a Petition for

Rehearing be filed within 20 days of the

court’s decision, and the time limitation

may not be waived. The court accordingly

did not reach the merits of the second

Supplemental Petition.

26.

Kentucky Supreme Court's denial of leave

to supplement Petitioners’ Petition for

Rehearing.

Under all of these circumstances,

certiorari must be denied, since there is

an independent and adequate state law

ground for the decision. Petitioners

obtained below the relief they requested,

and Petitioners' Motion for Leave to File

a Second Supplemental Petition for Re-

hearing was denied based on Petitioners’

procedural default.

III. CERTIORARI MUST BE DENIED BE-

CAUSE THE CONTROVERSY IS MOOT,

SINCE THE KENTUCKY SUPREME

COURT REHEARD THE WILLFUL TRES-

PASS ISSUE AND DECIDED THE IS-

SUE AGAINST PETITIONERS BY A 6

TO 1 VOTE.

Under Article III of the Constitu-

tion, federal courts may adjudicate only

actual ongoing cases or controversies.

Lewis v. Continental Bank Corp., 494 U.S.

472, 477 (1990). Article III denies to

=26-

SR Ee Re RS a Ne ee ee eT a aT ere nT i ane ae ee nee

EL EE LT EN TAT

federal courts the power to decide ques-

tions that cannot affect the rights of

litigants. Id. at 477. Moreover, the

case-or-controversy requirement exists

through all stages of trial and appellate

proceedings. Id.

Petitioners allege that due process

requires vacatur of the Kentucky Supreme

Court's June 4, 1992 Opinion and recon-

Sideration of the decision on its merits

by a properly constituted court. How-

ever, Petitioners already have obtained a

rehearing by a regularly constituted pan-

el of justices on the merits of their

willful trespass issue, which is the only

substantive issue preserved by Petition-

ers in their Petitioner for Rehearing.

The Kentucky Supreme Court's November 23,

1994 Order Denying Petition for Rehearing

Clearly reached and decided adversely to

Petitioners the merits of the case, by a

6 to 1 vote. Because Petitioners already

o3F

have obtained all the relief to which

they are entitled, the case is moot.

IV. THE KENTUCKY SUPREME COURT'S

ORDER DENYING PETITIONERS' PE-

TITION FOR REHEARING DOES NOT

CONFLICT WITH AETNA LIFE IN-

SURANCE CO. v. LAVOIE, 475 U.S.

813 (1986), OR OTHERWISE RAISE

ANY IMPORTANT ISSUE OF FEDERAL

LAW.

Petiticners’' argument that Special

Justice Hays is clothed with the same

cloak of disqualification worn by Jus-

tice Combs because Justice Hays was se-

lected from Justice Combs's standing list

of qualified attorneys is nothing less

than a direct challenge to Kentucky's

judicial selection system. Petitioners

have no support for their theory that due

process requires federal supervision of

Kentucky's judicial selection process.

Petitioners correctly recognize that

Aetna Life Insurance Co. v. Lavoie, su-

pra, 475 U.S. at 828, defines the cir-

cumstances where due process requires

-28-

judicial disqualification of a particular

justice for reasons peculiar to that

case. In Aetna Life, the Court observed

that not "[a]1ll questions of judicial

qualification . . . involve constitution-

al validity. Thus matters of kinship,

personal bias, state policy, remoteness

of interest, would generally seem to be

matters merely of legislative discre-

tion.” Id. at 820 (quoting Tumey v.

Ohio, 273 U.S. 510, 523 (1927)). Due

process, however, requires that no judge

“be a judge in his own case [or be] per-

mitted to try cases where he has an in-

terest in the outcome.” Aetna Life In-

Surance Co. v. Lavoie, supra, 475 U.S. at

822 (quoting In re Murchison, 349 U.S.

133, 136 (1955)). The Court concluded

that due process is violated where a

judge has a "direct, personal, substan-

tial, pecuniary interest in reaching a

conclusion.” Aetna Life Insurance Co. v.

~29-

Lavoie, supra, 475 U.S. at 820. In

Aetna, due process was violated by the

participation of an Alabama Supreme Court

justice in a decision addressing un-

settled issues affecting the recovery of

punitive damages for bad-faith refusal to

pay an insurance claim where identical

legal issues were present in two pending

state court actions filed by the justice

against insurance companies. Id. at 823-

24.

The present case does not bear even

the remotest resemblance to the situation

in Aetna Life. Unlike Aetna Life, Peti-

tioners do not contend in their Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari that any Supreme

Court justice or Special Justice who par-

ticipated in the decision in this case

had any direct, personal, substantial,

and pecuniary interest in the outcome.

Petitioners instead allege that Justice

Combs had a direct, personal, substan-

~<30-

tial, and pecuniary interest in the out-

come of this case when the Kentucky Su-

preme Court granted discretionary review.

The record contains no evidence to sup-

port such an allegation, but even assum-

ing arguendo that the allegation were

true, there would be no denial of due

process.

The due process clause protects

against situations where there is a high

probability of actual bias on the part of

the decisionmaker. See Withrow v. Lark-

in, 421 U.S. 35, 47 (1975); Offutt v.

United States, 348 U.S. 11, 17-18 (1954).

Justice Combs recused himself and did not

vote or otherwise participate in the pan-

el that decided this case. There is no

evidence that any decisionmaker below

violated the Aetna Life constitutional

barrier by "act[ing] as a judge in his

own case." Aetna Life Insurance Co. v.

Lavoie, supra, 475 U.S. at 824.

S23

Petitioners’ allegation that their

due process rights were violated by Jus-

tice Combs's direction or selection of

his replacement raises no substantial

federal question. In the first instance,

the Kentucky Supreme Court's records,

through which the court speaks, establish

that Chief Justice Stephens, not Justice

Combs, selected Special Justice Hays.

Moreover, Petitioners’ suggestion

that the unconstitutional risk of bias is

created when a recused justice suggests

his replacement is meritless. There is a

"presumption of honesty and integrity in

those serving as adjudicators." Withrow

v. Larkin, supra, 421 U.S. at 47. Peti-

tioners have not set forth any legal or

factual basis for their allegation that

the Kentucky Supreme Court's procedure

for appointment of a Special Justice re-

sults in biased decisionmaking or other-

wise warrants the extraordinary action ©!

<239<

RASS ON Re aarti

ad SATAN Tt BND Rl AE ts ins epi

federal interference with Kentucky's ju-

dicial selection process.

Petitioners do not allege in their

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari that

Justice Combs's replacement, Special Jus-

tice Hays, or any other justice who sat

in decision of this case, had any direct,

personal, substantial, and pecuniary in-

terest in the outcome. They have waived

any right to make such a claim here. See

Bray v. Alexander Clinic, 113 S. Ct. 753,

vivanaittihas

765 (1993).

fe

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certio-

rari must be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

HERMAN W. LESTER

Counsel of Record

207 Caroline Avenue

P.O. Drawer 551

Pikeville, KY 41502

(606) 437-6218

GILBERT K. DAVIS

9516-C Lee Highway

Fairfax, VA 22031

(703) 352-3850

GARY C. JOHNSON

P.O. Box 231

Pikeville, KY 41502

(606) 437-4002

S. STROTHER SMITH III

903 E. Main Street

Abingdon, VA 24210

(703) 628-3422

Attorneys for Respondents

-34-

APPENDIX

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

90-SC-081-DG

CHURCH AND MULLINS APPELLANTS

CORPORATION, ET AL.

ON REVIEW FROM COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 87-CA-001052

(Pike Circuit Court No. 00-72-88-43D)

Vv.

BETHLEHAM MINERALS APPELLEES

COMPANY, ET AL.

to be heard with:

90-SC-000784-DG

BETHLEHAM MINERALS APPELLANTS

COMPANY, ET AL.

ON REVIEW FROM COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 87-CA-001052

(Pike Circuit Court No. 00-07-28843D)

V.

CHURCH AND MULLINS APPELLEES

CORPORATION, ET AL.

ORDER

Honorable John D. Hays, a member of

the Kentucky Bar with offices in Pike-

ville, Kentucky, who was appointed by

Chief Justice Robert F. Stephens to sit

as special justice of the Supreme Court

la

in the determination of this cause by

reason of the disqualification of Justice

Dan Jack Combs, was on September 17,

1991, prior to any consideration of this

cause, administered the Constitutional

Oath by the undersigned.

ENTERED September 17, 1991.

Charles M. Leibson

Deputy Chief Justice

2a

PROCEDURE FOR APPOINTMENT OF A SPECIAL

JUSTICE OF THE SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

This Court hereby adopts the follow-

ing policy to be employed when one member

het ata

of the Court is disqualified from sitting

in a case. SCR 1.020(1), Ky. Const.

§116.

: Jurisdiction

Pursuant to KRS 26A.015(3) (a), any

! Justice disqualified under the provisions

: of that section shall be replaced by the

Chief Justice.

Therefore, if a justice disqualifies

himself from participation in the consid-

eration of a case before it is ready for

review by the members of the Court, the

Chief Justice shall appoint an attorney

to serve as a Special Justice of the Ken-

tucky Supreme Court. A case is "ready

for review" within the meaning of this

; rule ten days before it is scheduled for

oral argument.

; Selection S J

At the beginning of the annual term

of the Supreme Court each justice shall

provide the Chief Justice with a list of

not less than ten attorneys from his dis-

trict who meet the constitutional quali-

fications for service and have the abil-

ity to serve as a special justice.

Once advised of a justice's disqual-

ification, the Chief Justice shall ap-

point a special justice from the list

previously submitted to him by the dis-

qualified justice.

tf Notice of Selection

An order appointing a special jus-

tice shall be filed with the Clerk of the

Supreme Court and entered in the record

of the case. Copies of the order of ap-

pointment shall be circulated to the Spe-

Cial Justice, the Justices of the Supreme

Court and the parties to the action.

4. Service as Special Justice

4a

1 pap Spare rte a i are

The Supreme Court Administrator

shall coordinate the service of Special

Justices of the Supreme Court. Compensa-

tion for each 7.5 hour day of service as

a Special Justice is $262.53 per day,

plus 20.5 per mile for travel connected

with court service.

All sitting. All concur except Win-

tersheimer, J., dissents.

ENTERED October — . 2509,

Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

5a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

90-SC-000081-DG

90-SC-000784-DG

CHURCH AND MULLINS CORPORATION;

CLAUDE JOHNSON, Individually, etc.;

CHARLIE JOHNSON; JACK JOHNSON;

MARTHA KENDRICK; PRISCILLA STILTNER;

HAZEL JOHNSON; BEN JOHNSON; MOLLY

THORNBERRY; BETTY JANE JOHNSON

STEWARD

MOVANTS /CROSS-RESPONDENTS

ON REVIZW FROM COURT OF APPEALS

NOS. 87-CA-000988 and 87-CA-001052

(Pike Circuit Court No. 00-72-88-43D)

V.

BETHLEHEM MINERALS COMPANY ;

BETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION;

BETH-ELKHORN CORPORATION ;

BETH ENERGY MINES, INC.

RESPONDENTS /CROSS-MOVANTS

RDER

Comes John Doug Hays, duly appointed

Special Justice of the Supreme Court of

Kentucky, being advised of the motion of

respondents/cross-movants for his recusal

by the Supreme Court of Kentucky, and

hereby sua sponte recuses himself from

further deliberation and participation in

6a

the proceedings in the above styled ac-

tions. No grounds have been stated by

the respondents/cross-movants which would

justify the disqualification of this Spe-

cial Justice, pursuant to KRS 26A.015(3)

(a). However, in order to avoid any fur-

ther allegation or appearance of impro-

priety, said Special Justice hereby re-

cuses himself from further participation

in the above-styled action.

John Doug Hays

John Doug Hays

ENTERED: August 28, 1992.

7a

a a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

90-SC-000081-DG

90-SC-000784-DG

CHURCH AND MULLINS CORPORATION;

CLAUDE JOHNSON, Individually, etc.;

CHARLIE JOHNSON; JACK JOHNSON ;

MARTHA KENDRICK; PRISCILLA STILTNER;

HAZEL JOHNSON; BEN JOHNSON; MOLLY

THORNBERRY; BETTY JANE JOHNSON

STEWART

MOVANTS/CROSS -RESPONDENTS

ON REVIEW FROM COURT OF APPEALS

NOS. 87-CA-000988 and 87-CA-001052

(Pike Circuit Court No. 00-72-88-43D)

vi

BETHLEHEM MINERALS COMPANY ;

BETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION;

BETH-ELKHORN CORPORATION;

BETH ENERGY MINES, INC.

RESPONDENTS /CROSS-MOVANTS

ORDER

This Court being advised that in the

interest of avoiding any appearance of

impropriety on his part or the part of

this Court, Special Justice John Doug

Hays has sua sponte recused himself from

further participation herein, the motion

of respondents/cross-movants to recuse

8a

a

Special Justice John Doug Hays from fur-

ther deliberations and participation in

the above-styled actions is denied as be-

ing moot.

The motion of respondents/cross-

| movants for oral argument in support of

| their petition for rehearing is granted.

Such oral argument will be scheduled by

further order of this Court.

The motion of respondents/cross-

movants for oral argument in support of

their motion to recuse Special Justice

Hays is denied as being moot.

The motion of respondents/cross-

movants for leave to file a supplemental

petition for rehearing is denied because

the additional evidence contained therein

pertains to the participation of Special

Justice John Doug Hays whose recusal ren-

ders said issue moot.

Stephens, C.J. and Lambert, Leibson,

Reynolds, Spain and Wintersheimer, JJ.,

9a

sitting. Combs, J., not sitting. All

concur.

ENTERED August _28 _, 1992.

Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

10a

SUPREME COURT OF KENTUCKY

90-SC-000081-DG

90-SC-000784-DG

93-SC-000587-TG

BETHLEHEM MINERALS COMPANY,

BETHLEHEM MINES CORPORATION,

BETH-ELKHORN CORPORATION, AND

BETHENERGY MINES, INC.

APPELLANTS, APPELLEES

AND CROSS APPELLANTS

APPEAL FROM COURT OF APPEALS

NO. 87-CA-G00988, NO. 87-CA-0001052

AND NO. 93-CA-1299

(Pike Circuit Court No. 00-07-28843D)

V.

CHURCH AND MULLINS CORPORATION,

CLAUDE JOHNSON, Administrator of

the Estate of John Johnson and

Individually, CHARLIE JOHNSON,

JACK JOHNSON, MARTHA KENDRICK,

PRISCILLA STILTNER, HAZEL JOHNSON,

BEN JOHNSON AND MOLLY THORNBERRY,

AND BETTY JANE JOHNSON STEWART

APPELLEES, APPELLANTS

AND CROSS-APPELLEES

ORDER

Appellees' motion for leave to file

a second supplemental petition for re-

hearing is denied.

Lambert, Leibson, Reynolds and

Spain, JJ., sitting. All concur.

lla

ENTERED December 14, 1993.

Robert F. Stephens

Chief Justice

12a

i

eG nt Te

SG at a

meee y é

$i RAST sof

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.