Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Estate of Ravetti v. Commissioner
Supreme Court brief1995
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
mE Newey re ae
v FILED
941362 FEB 8 1995
No. 94-
OFFICE OF THE CLERK
Im the Supreme court
| OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1994
ESTATE OF SILVIO RAVETTI
Petitioner,
Vs.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE
Respondent
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
19045 Portola Dr, Suite Fl
Salinas, CA 93908
Telephone: (408) 455 1420
Attorney for Petitioner
RICHARD H. FOSTER
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW
I. DOES THE OTHER SPOUSE HAVE A RIGHT TO
JUDICIAL REVIEW OVER THE GRANTING OF
INNOCENT SPOUSE STATUS UNDER $6013(E) OCF
THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE?
II. IS THE OTHER SPOUSE AN INDISPENSABLE
PARTY IN TAX COURT LITIGATION CONCERNING
§6013(E) OF THE INTERNAL REVENUE CODE?
III. IN ADJUDICATING FRANK LYON SHAM LOSS
DEDUCTIONS COULD MOTIVATION BE DETERMINED
AT THE PARTNERSHIP LEVEL BEFORE TEFRA?
IV. MUST THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE
COME FORWARD WITH EVIDENCE OR A FINDING
IN THE STATUTORY NOTICE TO FIND THAT THE
GENERAL PARTNER HAS FRANK LYON SHAM
MOTIVATION?
V. ARE AGREEMENTS BETWEEN TAXPAYERS AND
THE INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE GOVERNED BY
THE GENERAL CONTRACT LAW OF MISTAKE AND
CAPACITY TO CONTRACT ?
. ae ae
= = a NT
ii
TABLE OF CONTENTS
QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW i
TABLE OF CONTENTS ii
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES iii
OPINIONS BELOW 1
JURISDICTION 2
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED 2
STATEMENT OF THE CASE 5
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 12
1. THE TAX COURT SHOULD HOLD THE OTHER
SPOUSE AN INDISPENSABLE PARTY IN
LITIGATION CONCERNING §6013(e) 13
2. THE LOWER COURTS HAVE MISAPPLIED FRANK
LYON IN ADJUDICATING ALLEGED SHAM LOSS
15
DEDUCTIONS
a) IMPUTING THE INTENT OF THE GENERAL
PARTNER TO THE TAXPAYER BEFORE TEFRA
IS IMPROPER 16
b) THE BURDEN IS ON IRS TO COME
FORWARD WITH EVIDENCE OR AT LEAST A
STATUTORY NOTICE FINDING THAT THE
GENERAL PARTNER HAD FRANK LYON
MOTIVATION 18
ee
nina es AS ROSIN tn kn Mt cbs: ro Rashes iv.
athe PhS
Liane ea
AACA iO COND Saha 6p Wists
Se et I tit ho” Celia Bot a! tale Sa i
ven
iii
3. AGREEMENTS BETWEEN TAXPAYERS AND THE
INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE SHOULD BE
GOVERNED BY GENERAL CONTRACT LAW
PRINCIPLES 20
CONCLUSION 21
APPENDIX
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
STATUTES PAGE i
26 USC 6013(e) 2,6,8,13 |
26 USC 6231(a) (3) 16
26 USC 7442 2
28 USC 1254 2
DECISIONS
Barney v Baltimore City
73 U. S. 280 (1867) 14
Comm. v Gretzinger 107 SCt 980 (1987) 19
Comm. v Gooch 64 SCt 184 12
Flora v U. S. 362 U.S. 145, 80 SCT
630, 4 L.ed 2d 625 (1960) 15
Flynn v U.S. (3d Cir) 786 F2d 586 i3
Frank Lyon Co v U.S. 435 U. S. 561,
98 SCt 1291 (1978) 7
Hawley v Comm TC Memo 1988-77 16
Independent Electrical v Comm. (9 Cir)
781 F2d 721 16
Laing v U.S 423 US 161, 46 LEd2d 416,
96 SCt 473
Scar v Comm. (9 Cir) 814 F2d 1363 19
Shields v Barrow 58 U. S. 130 (1855) 13
U.S. v Crooks (9 Cir) 884 F2d 1441 7
Federal Practice and Procedure
Wright et al 14
No. 94-
Im the Supreme court
OF THE
UNITED STATES
OCTOBER TERM 1994
ESTATE OF SILVIO RAVETTI
Petitioner,
Vs.
COMMISSIONER OF INTERNAL REVENUE
Respondent
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT
OPINIONS BELOW
The opinion of the Court of Appeals
in #93-70852 was not published. It is
attached as Appendix A. In this docket
number the order of the Tax Court with
respect to the innocent spouse issue was
published as TCM 1989-45, it is attached
as Appendix B. The opinion on the merits
was published as TCM 1993-343, it is
2
attached as Appendix C.
The opinion of the Court of Appeals
in #93-70851 was not published, it is
attached as Appendix D. The order of the
Tax Court refusing to grant relief from
collection under Tax Court Rule 55 is
attached as Appendix E. The opinion of
the Tax Court on the merits was published
as TCM. 1993-418, It is attached as
Appendix F.
JURISDICTION
The decisions of the Court of
Appeals were entered on October 11, 1995.
Justice O'Connor as Circuit Justice
extended the time for filing this
petition until February 8, 1995. This
Courts jurisdiction in invoked under 28
uSC 1254.
Jurisdiction was conferred below by
26 USC 7442.
STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED
Section 6013(e) - INNOCENT SPOUSE STATUTE
(e) Spouse Relieved of Liability in
Certain Cases.-~~
(1) In general .~--Under regulations
prescribed by the Secretary if---
(A) a joint return has been made
under this section for a taxable year,
(B) on such return there is 4
substantial understatement of tax
attributable to grossly erroneous items
of one spouse,
(Cc) the other spouse establishes
that in signing the return he or she did
er te
aehidtadnidas eT .
3
not know, and had no reason to know, that
there was such substantial
understatement, and
(D) taking into account all the
facts and circumstances, it is
inequitable to hold the other spouse
liable for the deficiency in tax ‘for such
taxable year attributable to such
substantial understatement. .....
TRANSITIONAL RULE
Section 6013(e), INNOCENT SPOUSE STATUTE
26 Section 6013
1984 Act. Section 424(c) of Pub. L.
98-369, Div. A as amended by Pub. L. 100-
647, Section 6004, Nov. 10, 1988, 102
Stat. 3685, provided that :
(1) In general.---Except as provided
in paragraph (2), the amendments made by
subsections (a) and (b) [amending subsec.
(e) of this section and enacting section
66(b), (c), redesignating as section
66(d) former (66(b), and amending
headings of section 66 and 66(a) of this
title] shall apply to all taxable years
to which the Internal Revenue Code of
1954 applies. Corresponding provisions
shall be deemed to be included in the
Internal Revenue Code of 1939 and shall
apply to all taxable years to which such
Code applies.
"(2) Authority to disregard
community property laws.--- Subsection
(b) of section 66 of the Internal Revenue
Code of 1954, as added by subsection (b)
[section 66(b) of this title], shall
apply to the taxable years beginning
after December 31, 1984."
"(3) Transitional rule.---If---
4
"(A) a joint return under
section 6013 of the Internal Revenue Code
of 1954 [this section] was filed before
January 1, 1985,
"(B) on such return there is an
understatement (as defined in section
6661(b)(2)(A) of such Code {section
6661(b)(2)(A) of this title] which is
attributable to disallowed deductions
attributable to activities of one spouse,
“(C) the amount of such
disallowed deductions exceeds the taxable
income shown on such return,
"(D) without regard to any
determination before October 21, 1988,
the other spouse establishes that in
signing the return he or she did not
know, and had no reason to know, that
there was such an understatement, and
"(E) the marriage between such
spouses terminated and immediately after
such termination the net worth of the
other spouse was less than $10,000,
notwithstanding any law or rule of law
(including res judicata), the other
spouse shall be relieved of liability for
tax (including interest, penalties, and
other amounts) for such taxable year to
the extent such liability is attributable
to such understatement, and, to the
extent the liability so attributable has
been collected from such other spouse, it
shall be refunded or credited to such
other spouse. No credit or refund shall
be made under the preceding sentence
unless claim therefore has been submitted
to the Secretary of the Treasury or his
delegate before the date 1 year after the
date of the enactment of this paragraph
[No. 10, 1988], and no interest on such
5
credit or refund shall be allowed for any
period before such date of enactment."
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
This Petition relates to separate
appeals from the Tax Court on petitions
for redetermination covering different
taxable years for the same taxpayer. The
Court of Appeals ordered them calendared
together with the case of the same
taxpayer verses the United States. They
were assigned to the same panel of the
Court which declined to hear oral
argument and decided all cases the same
day, October 11, 1994. CA # 93-70852
concerns the tax years 1976,1977, and
1978. CA #93-70852 concerns the tax year
1982. The years 1979, 1980, and 1981 are
now before the Ninth Circuit on appeal
from two separate Tax Court decisions.
All of the tax years except 1982
involve the innocent spouse judicial
review issue which is before this Court
by separate petition in Estate of Ravetti
v United States.
The cases which are the subject of
this petition both concern the
substantive tax issues involved in this
litigation. They both have some of the
same questions presented for review.
Since they were at least partially
consolidated by the Court of Appeals, we
thought it appropriate to join them in
this petition.
As was indicated in the companion
petition before this Court, the Taxpayer
6
and his wife filed joint income tax
returns for the years 1976 - 1981. After
audits the Internal Revenue Service
issued joint deficiency notices for all
years. They were divorced in 1982, and
Mrs Ravetti received over a half million
dollars in the property settlement. They
filed separate petitions in the Tax
Court. No notice of the wife's petition
was given or required by the Tax Court
rules to be given to the Taxpayer by her
attorney.
Without notice to Petitioner,
although notice was requested, and
without an opportunity to be heard the
Internal Revenue Service stipulated for
the tax years 1976-1981, in three
separate dockets, that Mrs. Ravetti was
an innocent spouse under the provisions
of 6013(e) if the Code. The Tax Court
then issued a decision relieving her from
any liability for the tax deficiencies in
question. As we indicated in the District
Court petition, as a matter of law she
was not entitled to this status. Among
other things, her net worth exceeded
$10,000 and this disqualified her under
the Transitional Rules to the amended
innocent spouse statute.
We have raised the basic question of
procedural due process involved in these
proceedings in the companion case Estate
of Ravetti v United States, and we will
not cover the same ground here. In this
case we discuss the fundamental question
of whether in circumstances such as this
the other spouse is an indispensable
party to litigation relieving federal tax
liability under §6013(e) in the Tax
7
Court.
neither involved oral testimony, they had
different procedural histories. .
CA #70851 was decided on summary
judgment, and CA#70852 on Stipulated
facts submitted under Tax Court Rule 122.
Each docket involved the disallowance of
different partnership losses, but the
Congress in 1982. Both cases also involve
a disregard of basic contract law
principles in agreements between the
Internal Revenue Service and the tax
Payers by both the Tax Court and the
Court of Appeals.
The Taxpayer had "presenile
dementia" and was confined in a mental
before the Court. He was declared
incompetent by the California Courts in
1985 and died Of Alzheimer's disease in
1986.
CA #70852 concerned the tax years
1976-78. Two investments were disallowed
Co. v United States 435 U. S. 561; 98
S.Ct 1291 (1978). One involved coal
limited partnerships and individual coal
8
lease investments, and the other was an
investment in a movie.
The promoter and general partner in
the coal cases was a thief. He was
indited for security fraud in connection
with these transaction. In the Ninth
Circuit decision in U. S v Crooks (9th
Cir) 884 F2d 1441 he was described as a
check kiter who did not have coal leases
at all. In the movie investment which had
an all star cast including John
Carradine, Kurt Jurgens, and Peter Graves
the general partner was not identified.
The cast were paid on a contingent basis,
Unfortunately, there was a loss.
Both the Tax Court and the Ninth
Circuit held that the intent of the
general partner controlled for the
purpose of determining whether the
transaction was motivated by economic
substance outside of tax considerations,
and in neither investment had the
Taxpayer proved that the general partner
was not solely motivated by tax
considerations. However, the Tax Court in
CA# 93-70852 refused to penalize the
Taxpayer for a tax motivated transaction
on the grounds that the Service had
failed to prove it.
The statute of limitations would bar
liability in CA93-70852 unless a valid
waiver was executed by the Taxpayer.
Since the stipulated statement of the
treating physician established that he
was suffering from dementia, under well
established contract principles no valid
waiver could have been executed, since
the Taxpayer was incompetent to execute
one.
CA# 9370851 involves the bizarre
situation of collection before trial ina
docketed Tax Court case in violation of
$6213(a). The issue involves a
stipulation between I. R. S. District
Counsel and the Attorney for the
Taxpayer. In that connection Counsel
wrote the attorney for the service
agreeing to stipulate to the merits of
the oil investment, but reserving the
right to defend on the basis of the
special defenses unique to the Taxpayer
as follows:
These defenses which in the
main involve the late Mr. Ravetti's
mental incompetency include the
statute of limitations, profit
motivation, imputed intent before
TEFRA, theft loss ceductions and the
innocent spouse issue which is
presently before the Ninth Circuit."
The stipulation between attorneys
allowed special defenses, did not mention
a dollar amount, and did not contain any
reference to a waiver of restrictions on
collection. However, in a purportedly
parallel document to be Signed by the
petitioner a waiver was included in the
other stipulations executed by the
lawyers. After collection effort
commenced, Mr. Kinghofer the district
counsel involved was contacted and
advised that the waiver had been included
by mistake.
However, higher authority in the
Service refused to modify the agreement.
10
Petitioner then rescinded the stipulation
on which the judgment of the Tax Court is
based. After a motion under Tax Court
Rule 55 to restrain collection, the Tax
Court and the Ninth Circuit held that
this agreement was written in stone, and
refused to allow the recision.
In its motion for summary judgment
the Service introduced no facts except
the stipulation. It did not identify the
general partner. No finding was made with
respect to the partnership and the
general partner was not even identified
in the statutory notice. The Ninth
Circuit held the burden was on the
Petitioner to prove that the investment
was not solely tax motivated at the
general partner level, and the Taxpayer's
motivation was immaterial.
We realize this is a petition for
certiorari and the Court is not in the
main concerned with the justice of the
petitioners treatment below, but we
cannot help but comment on the sorry
treatment this taxpayer received below,
both judicially and administratively.
The first petition to the Tax Court
in this matter was filed in 1982. The Tax
years date back to 1976, almost twenty
years ago. The Taxpayer is dead, as is
his ex wife, as are most of the potential
witnesses. No continuance was ever
granted the Petitioner, and motions to
consolidate the cases by Petitioner were
denied three times. Facts stipulated in
one case are ignored in the other. For
example, the principle ground for
rejecting the stipulated fact that
tes ar le ae a
11
Ravetti was demented in the first Tax
Court case was the absence of the raw
medical records. These records are
included in the second case. In regard to
a theft deduction for the coal investment
promoters the IRS refused to name a year
of discovery, despite the fact that
audits, indictments, and convictions all
took place within the period from 1976 to
1982 all of whose tax years were before
the Tax Court in one docket or another.
In one of the Tax Court dockets still
before the Ninth Circuit there is a
Stipulation which establishes that the
Service was informed of Ravetti's
alzheimer's disease before waivers of the
Statute of limitation were executed. This
information was disregarded by the
service.
Counsel for the Service at one time
totaled seven, and stretched
geographically from Idaho to Los Angeles,
and a number of points in between. This
Court will note at least four different
Judges in the Tax Court on in the
opinions supplied in the Petitions. There
were at least four more.
All this took place because what the
Tax Court and the Service calls "special
projects" were involved. This caused,
because they overlapped years, multiple
government counsel in the same case. It
probably led, because of the form
documents involved, to the mistake which
caused premature collection. In denying
the normal right to try related cases
together, the Court allowed the Service
to ignore in one docket facts stipulated
in the other.
12
Below we raised the question whether
refusing to consolidate these cases was
such a depravation of substantive right
as to require reversal. We would not
presume to ask for Supreme Court review
on such a ground. However, if review is
granted on grounds of more national
importance, perhaps, the rights of this
taxpayers estate could be taken into
account in the future disposition of the
case.
REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
The principal ground for granting
the writ is the denial of meaningful
judicial review by granting innocent
spouse status without allowing the person
most directly concerned to object. Estate
of Ravetti v U. S. represents the attempt
to obtain review in the District Court,
this case deals with an attempt in the
Tax Court. Having both cases before the
Court gives a unique opportunity to
examine the problem from both planes of
reference.
Each Court has problems in dealing
with this question. The Tax Court with
Comm. v Gooch 64 S. CT 184 and the
District Court with the Anti Injunction
Act. We submit, however, that there must
be federal judicial review in one of them
on this question of federal tax law to
satisfy the Constitution. The national
importance of this question is self
evident, and for this Court as with the
Court below the case is one of first
impression.
13
The merits of these cases should be
considered also. These cases arose before
TEFRA, and the effective date of the
regulation implementing the assigning of
profit motivation to the partnership
level. Furthermore, imputing a motivation
which forfeits even "at risk" deductions
to a taxpayer when the check kiting
promoter general partner obtained their
money by fraudulent misrepresentation
defies common sense.
The refusal of the Tax Court and the
Court of Appeals to apply the basic
contract principles of mistake and
capacity to contract in agreements
between taxpayers and the Internal
Revenue Service should be reviewed. In
this connection these cases are in direct
conflict with the case of Flynn v U.
S.(3Cir) 786 F2d 586(1986). In both
administrative law and when the federal
courts are directly involve, attorneys
should be able to trust government
agencies not to take advantage of
mistakes which while they benefit the
government were not in the contemplation
of the parties. Nor should they be
allowed greater latitude in dealing with
incompetents than private individuals.
While this Court has upheld and stated
these principles many times, the
importance of the sanctity of agreements
between citizens and their government
requires constant admonition from this
Court. Of the many duties of the Supreme
Court, this one may be the most
important.
1. THE TAX COURT SHOULD HOLD THE OTHER
SPOUSE AN INDISPENSABLE PARTY IN
14
LITIGATION CONCERNING §6013(e)
In the 1855 case of Shields v Barrow
58 U.S. 130, long before the rule was
codified in Rule 19 of the Federal Rules
of Civil Procedure, this Court defined
indispensable parties for the purposes of
federal litigation.
"Persons who not only have an
interest in the controversy, but an
interest of such a nature that a
final decree cannot be made without
either affecting that interest or
leaving the controversy in such a
condition that its final
determination may be wholly
inconsistent with equity and good
conscience."
This principle was not limited to
what was then the equity side of the
courts. Barney v Baltimore City 73 U. S.
280 (1867); See Federal Practice and
Procedure, Wright et al §1601. It may
well be that in Tax Court litigation the
requirement in cases of this nature is so
fundamental as to be a requirement of due
process, regardless of equity powers.
A joint return is unique, not to
speak of the association of man and wife.
Partnership returns are simply conduits.
In the other situations cited below the
taxpayer affected has a right of federal
judicial review of his own case. Here, as
a practical matter Mrs. Ravetti's status
has been finally adjudicated. Questioning
that status in state court without
congressional action conferring state
court jurisdiction would be useless.
ee ee Oe ee ye Oe ee en ee
15
The Government could have joined the
cases under Tax Court Rule 60, but chose
not to do so. In "good conscience" the
Tax Court could have required them to do
so. It could have done so by adjudicating
the right in Petitioner's case. ;
Furthermore, disregarding our inquiry was
not fair or proper of government counsel.
We recognize that some might argue
that this would be the exercise of the
equity power. However, splitting
jurisdiction with the District Court has
other serious problems, including the
inhibitions on tax jurisdiction discussed
by Judge Jensen in the District Court. In
Flora v U. S 362 U.S. 145, 80 SCt 630, 4
L.ed 2d 625 (1960) this Court emphasized
that in income tax matters it was the
intent of Congress to give as broad a
jurisdiction as possible in preference to
the exercise of jurisdiction in the
District Court. In Laing v U.S 423 US
161, 46 LEd2d 416 96 SCt 473 the Court
also said that it is not to be presumed
that Congress did not in tax matters
intend the Tax Court not to have
jurisdiction. Only the Supreme Court has
the power of court supervision to find
the proper answer, and it should do so.
2. THE LOWER COURTS HAVE MISAPPLIED FRANK
LYON IN ADJUDICATING ALLEGED SHAM LOSS
DEDUCTIONS
The investment losses in the Tax
Court cases were all disallowed as shams
under the rule of Frank Lyon supra.
This rule involves a two part test. That
is, a transaction is a sham if (1) it is
not motivated by any economic substance
16
outside of tax considerations and (2) is
without economic substance because no
real potential for profit exists.
The consequence of disallowance on
this ground is that a taxpayer loses his
deduction not only for those amounts
which were not at risk, unassumed
mortgage depreciation and the like, but
all amounts which were "at risk"
including his out of pocket cash
payments. In a practical way this amounts
to a penalty or forfeiture without the
burden of proof required in fraud cases.
We question in this petition the
lower Courts' interpretation of the
burden of coming forward with evidence, )
and the burden of proof in Frank Lyon
sham cases. We also question whether the |
motivation of the general partner instead
of the taxpayer should be considered by
the courts in such cases. Particularly,
before the effective date of TEFRA.
a)IMPUTING THE INTENT OF THE GENERAL
PARTNER TO THE TAXPAYER BEFORE TEFRA
IS IMPROPER
The Ninth Circuit in imputing the
general partners intent to the taxpayer
relied on the Tax Court's case of Hawley
v Comm. TC Memo 1988-77 and its own cases
Independent Electrical v Comm. (9 cir)
781 F.2d 728. These are part of a series
of cases commencing in the early eighties
that first the Tax Court and the then the
Courts of Appeals began disregarding the
motivation of the taxpayer and deciding
that the motivation of the promoter,
general partner should control in
17
declaring an investment a sham. (Although
most cases at least made an attempt to
set forth evidence that the taxpayer had
Similar tax avoidance ideas.)
In this case the matter was taken to
extremes since the promoter general
partner was a thief and the taxpayer was
incompetent. These rulings had the
commendable aim of controlling abusive
tax shelters, however there was no
statutory warrant for doing so until the
enactment of TEFRA in 1982.
The actual statute applicable to our
case is §6231 (a) (3) which reads as
follows:
Partnership item--The term
“partnership item" means, with
respect to a partnership, any
item required to be taken into
account for the partnership's
taxable year under any
provision of subtitle A to the
extent regulations prescribed
by the Secretary provide that,
for purposes of this subtitle,
such item is more appro riatel
determined at the artnershi
level than at the artners
level. Emphasis added
The regulation necessary to implement the
statute is $301.6231(b) which reads as
follows:
(b) Factors that affect the
determination of partnership
items. The term “partnership
item" includes the accounting
practices and the legal and
factual determinations that
18
underlie the determination of
the amount, timing and
characterization of items of
income, credit , gain, loss,
deduction, etc Examples of
these determinations
are:.......whether partnership
activities have been engaged in
with the intent to make a
profit......Emphasis added
The statute was enacted in 1982 and the
regulation in 1986. Regulation
§301.6231(d) of the regulation provides
that "This section shall apply with
respect to partnership taxable years
beginning after September 3, 1982." Our
years are 1976,1977,1978 and 1982.
Taxation is a creature of statute
and adjudicating profit motivation at the |
partnership level was not authorized for |
our years. The report of the conference :
committee makes clear that the Congress
thought it was changing the law when it
adopted this statute in TEFRA. The wide
spread use of this doctrine without
congressional sanction should be
reviewed. Particularly, where the general
partner was a thief, his intent should
not be attributed to the demented
incompetent taxpayer. Congress has |
provided in §465 and other sections :
adequate control of abusive tax shelters,
some which apply to these years.
b) THE BURDEN IS ON IRS TO COME
FORWARD WITH EVIDENCE OR AT LEAST A
STATUTORY NOTICE FINDING THAT THE
GENERAL PARTNER HAD FRANK LYON
MOTIVATION
19
In none of the three partnerships
whose losses were disallowed was there a
finding as to the motivation of the
general partner in the statutory notice.
In the movie and the oil partnership the
general partner was not even identified.
The Court below simply held that the
burden was on the taxpayer to identify
and prove the general partners intent was
not to avoid taxes. In other words, the
taxpayer must prove a negative, and mere
accusation by issuing a statutory notice
with a dollar amount, casts the burden on
the taxpayer to come forward with
evidence which shows the Tax Court and
the Service were " Clearly in error".
This would not seem to be in accord
with this Court's ruling on a similar
issue in Comm. v Groetzinger 107 S.Ct 980
(1987) where the Court held that
questions of the legitimacy of a business
when reviewed by appellate courts are
questions of law not of fact. See p987,
988 Sct.
In the Court below we questioned the
statutory notice since no findings with
respect to the partnership or the general
partner were made in CA #70851. We relied
on the 9th Circuit case of Scar v Comm
(9th Cir) 814 F2d 1363. There the Court
held that in order for a statutory notice
to have the force of a presumption there
must be an official finding, not a mere
accusation. In both cases below, in the
case of the movie and oil investments,
the statutory did not even identify the
general partner. In neither case did the
Service introduce any evidence, other
than to state the losses, to prove the
es
20
general partners motivation or to
establish that the investments were
illegitimate or a sham.
Under the principles of Frank Lyon
and Groetzinger this case should be
reviewed and the Service and lower courts
advised that more than an accusation must
be made to cast more of a burden on a
taxpayer than to prove that he invested
in what to him reasonably appeared to be
a legitimate business.
3. AGREEMENTS BETWEEN TAXPAYERS AND THE
INTERNAL REVENUE SERVICE SHOULD BE
GOVERNED BY GENERAL CONTRACT LAW
PRINCIPLES
Both cases in this petition involve
stipulations, in neither did the Tax
Court evaluate the testimony of
witnesses. The Service did not question
that Ravetti had presenile dementia or
that he was confined in a mental
institution approximately four months
before the waiver. There has never been a
question of malingering, and the taxpayer
should have laid any question to rest by
dying of the disease. The Service could
have called the Doctor if they had doubt
but they did not. They could have
introduced the medical records in CA
#70852 if they wanted to but they chose
not to do so. In CA#70851 they could have
challenged our statement that the
attorney for the government who drafted
the stipulation conceded that collection
was allowed in the taxpayers document by
mistake. They chose not to do so. They
could have challenged our statement in
21
the Rule 55 motion that the Services
stated motivation for collection was to
deny administrative expense funds
including attorney's fees for this case.
They chose not to do so. We submit that
their failure was because the fact we
allege are true.
This Court has recognized the
principle of mistake in contract law
Since the 1879 case of First National
Bank v Hall. Flynn Vv U. s. Supra
recognizes that parol evidence is
admissible to prove that a waiver of
restrictions on assessments is invalid,
and is in direct conflict with this case.
The Court there applied general contract
law, this Court should accept review, and
reestablish the principle that Internal
Revenue has no greater rights than
private litigants do in agreements with
taxpayers during either the
administrative process or in cases in the
courts. It is also possible that the
Court might want to Suggest that the
Internal Revenue Service as
representative of the Sovereign might be
held to an even higher standard in
agreements with the nation's citizens.
CONCLUSION
The Ninth Circuit's depravation of
judicial review should not be allowed to
stand. Nor should the attribution of
profit motivation to the general partner
which is being made by the lower courts
before Congressional authorization. still
less should the Court allow seizure of
taxpayer assets in cases in the Tax Court
to give the Internal Revenue an edge in
22
the conflict.
This case as it stands represents in
its published version an abandonment to
the Internal Revenue Service the field of
domestic relations. In its unpublished
version, in a practical sense, it
abandons the field of sham losses to the
agency. The loss deduction for trade or
businesses authorized by Congress will be
at the mercy of the Service. This case is
an extreme one, and the administration of
the tax law will be aided by the Court
restating that the basic right to fair
treatment and constitutional procedure
applies even in tax cases.
Dated: February 7, 1995
Respectfully Submitted,
Richard H. Foster
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.