Opposition Brief — Ohio Savings Bank v. Estate of Popp

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

5 ~

ome, — ——

| scerema Cow, tae

RiLen

No. 94-1232 | [ish a ORL wes

7 — ~ ee |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

———

OHIO SAVINGS BANK,

Petitioner,

THE ESTATE OF JOAN POPP,

Respondent.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Ohio Supreme Court

-* ee

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

* puienlabasetennsniiasiaoammmamaanes

Hoc A. Carin, Esq.

Counsel of Record

14600 Detroit Avenue

Suite 1150

Lakewood, Ohio 44107

(216 221-2323

\ttorney for Respondent

tate of Joan Popp

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Is the trial court’s Judgment against the petitioner for

damages in a specified dollar amount and a 10% mone-

tary penalty thereon pursuant to § 2109.52 of the Ohio

Revised Code the equivalent of a felony conviction under

Ohio law so as to entitle it (Ohio Savings Bank) under the

U.S. constitution to:

1. A mandatory jury trial required by the Sixth

Amendment therein; and/or

2. Avoidance of any determination of liability

under R.C. 2109.52 pursuant to the Four-

teenth Amendment herein unless the

respondent can prove that it (petitioner)

acted with knowledge and/or a culpable

mental state?

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

TABLE OF AUTH sos 6ctkne nnd eeueniasanews iii

EPROM EPL. BINIIG 6 650.54 ccs ecg ee bau eae eee 1

CPTPGING DELI .o.ccsnssansicadeaneeeran 1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT.................... 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

rr ye re 2

STATEMENT OF THE CAGE «0 osc cccsccsdcsdnscaes 6

REASONS POR RESGCTION «oo. cceccevcessscusess 8

Since Sections 2109.50 and 2109.52 of the Ohio

Revised Code as applied against OSB in this case

are statutes which govern a civil proceeding with

a financial or pecuniary penalty rather than a

quasi criminal or criminal proceeding, OSB has

no United States constitutional issue for this hon-

orable Court’s review. .............ceeeeeeeeee 8

CAL BAPE sv «sce xvas nk eanekun ae ewuEeeee een 20

oo

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES:

Bloom v. State of Illinois, 391 U.S. 194, 88 S.Ct. 1477

ae SS BO ae ee eee 17

Hicks v. Feiock, 485 U.S.- 624, 108 S.Ct. 1423 (1988) ..14, 17

in Re Black, 145 Ohio St. 405 (1945) ....... 0. cn ceee. 10

Duncan v. Louisiana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 S.Ct. 1444

STOO ee a ee ee 14

In Re: Howard, 79 Ohio App. 203 (Franklin County

Court of Appeals, 1947) ..............22-eeeeeeeee. 9

Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372 U.S. 144, S.Ct.

se hic cee dane e sos chan 16

Linguist v. Hayes, Administrator, 22 Ohio Opp. 141

(Lucas County Court of Appeals, 1926)............ 9

Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S., 419, 105 S.Ct.

ee repre eer rr eT eee e 14

Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Tucker, 230 U.S. 340, 33 S.Ct.

eS, TT errr 16

Morissette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 72 S.Ct.

BE a occ ie kee rece nent enencsscenenes: 14

Penfield Co. v. SEC, 330 U.S. 585 (1947)...........-5- 14

Southwestern Tel. Co. v. Danahar, 238 U.S. 482, 35

8 ee ee eee ree 15

State v. Beasley, 14 Ohio St.3d 175 (1984)............ 12

State v. Hill, 72 Ohio App.3d 233, 594 N.E.2d 164

(Cuyahoga County Court of Appeals, 1991)....... 12

U.S. v. Garcia, 751 F.2d 1033 (9th Cir. 1985) ......... 14

U.S. v. Halper, 490 U.S. 435, 109 S.Ct. 1892 (1989) .... 14

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES —- Continued

Page

United States v. International Minerals & Chem.

Corp., 402 U.S.. 556, 91 S.Ct. 3697 (9971). .......... 14

United States v. United States Gypsum, 438 U.S. 422,

ee Te, ne oo ico Pela eee ann cee 15

Wozniak v. Wozniak, 90 Ohio App.3d 400 (Court of

Appeals of Ohio, Summit County, 1991)............ 9

STATUTES AND RULES:

Ohio Revised Code Section 1343.03(A) .............. 11

Ohio Revised Code Section 2109.50 ............. passim

Ohio Revised Code Section 2109.52 ............. passim

Ohio Revised Code Section 2929.11(B)(5)............ 12

Ohio Revised Code Section 2929.11(C)(2)............ 12

Ohio Revised Code Section 2929.14(B)............... 12

OTHER:

Sixth Amendment, U.S. Constitution ................. 2

Fourteenth Amendment, U.S. Constitution............ 2

Ohio Rules of Civil Procedure, Rule 56(C) ....... 19, 20

Rules of the United States Supreme Court, Rule

| PSPS Ree oP Er ae ree here nanse 2

No. 94-1232

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

.

OHIO SAVINGS BANK,

Petitioner,

vs.

THE ESTATE OF JOAN POPP,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Ohio Supreme Court

*

RESPONDENT'S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

4

INTRODUCTION

Hugh A. Carlin, Attorney for the Estate of Joan Popp,

hereinafter referred to as “respondent” respectfully sub-

mits this Memorandum in Opposition to the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari previously filed by petitioner herein,

Ohio Savings Bank, hereinafter referred as “OSB”.

+

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinions in question are set forth on pp. 1 and 2,

and Appendixes (“App.”) 1, 2, and 21 of OSB’s previously

filed petition with this honorable Court.

*

1

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

OSB’s previously filed petition with this Court fails

to set forth any substantial United States constitutional

issue so as to provide it (this Court) with any reason to

exercise its discretion to review the aforementioned Ohio

Courts’ Judgments within the meaning of Rule 10(1),

Rules of the Supreme Court.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

U.S. Constitution, Sixth Amendment provides:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial,

by an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed,

which district shall have been previously ascer-

tained by law, and to be informed of the nature

and cause of the accusation; to be confronted

with the witnesses against him; to have com-

pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for

his defense.”

App. 1.

The Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

provides in part that:

“Section 1. All persons born or naturalized

in the United States, and subject to the jurisdic-

tion thereof, are citizens of the United States and

of the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States: nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws...

App. 2.

_ Section 2109.50 of the Ohio Revised Code provides:

“Upon complaint made to the probate court

of the county having jurisdiction of the adminis-

tration of a trust estate or of the county wherein

a person resides against whom the complaint is

made, by a person interested in such trust estate

or by the creditor of a person interested in such

trust estate against any person suspected of hav-

ing concealed, embezzled, or conveyed away or

of being or having been in the possession of any

moneys, chattels, or choses in action of such

estate, said court shall by citation, attachment or

warrant, or, if circumstances require it, by war-

rant or attachment in the first instance, compel

the person or persons so suspected to forthwith

appear before it to be examined, on oath, touch-

ing the matter of the complaint. Where neces-

sary such citation, attachment or warrant may

be issued into any county in the state and shall

be served and returned by the officer to whom it

is delivered. The officer to whom such process is

delivered shall be liable for negligence in its

service or return in like manner as sheriffs are

liable for negligence in not serving or returning

a capias issued upon an indictment. Before issu-

ing an extra-county citation, attachment or war-

rant, the probate judgment may require the

complainant to post security with the probate

court in such amount and in such form as the

probate judge shall find acceptable in order to

cover the costs of the proceeding under this

section, including in such costs a reasonable

allowance for the travelling expenses of the per-

son or persons against whom an extra-county

citation, attachment or warrant is to be issued.

Such security may be in the form of a bond, the

amount, terms, conditions and sureties of which

shall be subject to the approval of the probate

judge.

The probate court may initiate proceedings

on its own motion.

The probate court shall forthwith proceed to

hear and determine the matter.

The examinations, including questions and

answers, shall be reduced to writing, signed by

the party examined, and filed in the probate

court.

If required by either party, the probate court

shall swear such witnesses as may be offered by

either party touching the matter of such com-

plaint and cause the examination of every such

witness, including questions and answers, to be

reduced to writing, signed by the witness, and

filed in the probate court.

All costs of such proceedings, including the

reasonable travelling expenses of a person

against whom an extra-county citation, attach-

ment or warrant is issued, shall be assessed

against and paid by the party making the com-

plaint, except as provided by Section 2109.52 of

the Revised Code.”

App. 3.

Section 2109.52 of the Ohio Revised Code provides:

“When passing on a complaint made under

Section 2109.50 of the Revised Code, the probate

court shall determine, by the verdict of a jury if

either party requires it or without if not

required, whether the person accused is guilty

of having concealed, embezzled, conveyed

away, or been in the possession of moneys, chat-

tels, or choses in action of the trust estate. If such

person is found guilty, the probate court shall assess

the amount of damages to be recovered or the court

may order the return of the specific thing concealed

or embezzled or may order restoration in kind. The

probate court may issue a citation into any

county in this state, which citation shall be

served and returned as provided in Section

2109.50, requiring any person to appear before it

who claims any interest in the assets alleged to

have been concealed, embezzled, conveyed, or

held in possession and at such hearing may hear

and determine questions of title relating to such

assets. In all cases, except when the person found

guilty is the fiduciary, the probate court shall forth-

with render judgment in favor of the fiduciary or if

there is no fiduciary in this state, the probate court

shall render judgment in favor of the state, against

the person found guilty, for the amount of the

moneys or the value of the chattels or choses in

action concealed, embezzled, conveyed away, or held

in possession, together with ten percent penalty and

all costs of such proceeding or complaint; except

that such judgment shall be reduced to the

extent of the value of any thing specifically

restored or returned in kind as provided in this

Section.

ren haeeniannennemanmeneriame

If the person found guilty is the fiduciary,

the probate court shall forthwith render judg-

ment in favor of the state against him for such

amount or value, together with penalty and

costs as provided in this Section.” (Emphasis

supplied)

App. 4.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The pertinent facts of the case are as follows:

Joan Popp died on January 30, 1991. On January 30,

1991, there existed a savings account solely in the name

of Joan Popp at Ohio Savings Bank with a $55,505.13

balance on that date (App. 6, p. 9).

On February 13, 1992, said savings account was

reduced to a zero balance by OSB’s payment to William

A. Hamann, Administrator of $55,833.86 (App. 5 and 6,

p- 11), based on the documents he presented to them.

Those documents included a forged Cuyahoga County

Probate Court Letters of Administration in his name, and

a forged Ohio Estate Tax Release (App. 6, pp. 10 and 12,

respectively).

As of February 13, 1991, there was no lawfully

appointed Administrator of the Estate of Joan Popp,

Deceased.

The aforementioned forged Letters of Administration

used by Hamann to withdraw the entire balance of Joan

Popp’s savings account from OSB was irregular on its

face because in the printed portion it referred to: “I,

Francis J. Talty, Judge of the Probate Court within and for

said County,” however, the forged signature is that of

John J. Donnelly, Probate Judge (App. 6, p. 10).

On or about July 23, 1991, the Administrator of the

Estate of Joan Popp filed a Complaint for the Conceal-

ment, Embezzlement or Conveying Away Assets pur-

suant to the authority of R.C. 2109.50 in the Cuyahoga

County Probate Court against various defendants includ-

ing Hamann and OSB. The Administrator's Complaint

alleged that OSB concealed, embezzled or conveyed away

or is or was in possession of moneys, chattels or choses of

action of the Popp estate.

In March, 1992, OSB filed a Complaint in Cuyahoga

County Common Pleas Court, Case No. 228027, entitled

OSB v. Transohio Savings Bank, William A. Hamann, Jr,

Marvin P. Schatz, and Virginia Popp Durma.

On May 28, 1993, OSB took the deposition of Ham-

ann in the aforementioned related civil action removed to

U.S. District Court, Case No. 1:92CV 2025. The pertinent

portions of such deposition were:

(a) The seal on the forged Letters of

Administration was altered to limit the notary

seal to include the words “State of Ohio,

Cuvahoga County” (App. 7, p. 22).

With respect to the forged Ohio Estate

t was used for a Cuyahoga County

{ not have the stamp used for tax

unty but only had a signature

pp. 22-24, App. 6, p. 12).

for substituted defendant, Reso-

obtained by discovery from

OSB in the U.S. District Court case, its internal operations

manual regarding the procedure to be followed in closing

various accounts including those of deceased depositors

(See Appendix 8, p. 30 entitled, “II] Converting, Transfer-

ring and Closing Procedures for Decedent Account, Sec(a)(5)”.)

On November 3, 1992, the Cuyahoga County Probate

Court rendered its judgment in favor of appellee on its

R.C. 2109.50 Complaint against OSB in the principal

amount of $55,833.86 and the 10% penalty thereon

required by R.C. 2109.52.

On or about December 30, 1992, the Cuyahoga

County Probate Court awarded the undersigned attorney

fees totalling $33,000 (computed at the rate of $125 per

hour) of which amount $12,750 was attributable solely to

the commencement and prosecution of the aforemen-

tioned R.C. 2109.50 et. seq. proceeding against OSB

- through that date.

The Eighth District Court of Appeals, Case No.

64718, App. 2; OSB’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari, on

September 21, 1994, the Supreme Court of Ohio, Case No.

94-1253 rendered its Judgment Entry wherein it declined

jurisdiction to hear OSB’s appeal from the Eighth District

Court of Appeals Judgment dated April 18, 1993.

*

REASONS FOR REJECTION

Since Sections 2109.50 and 2109.52 of the Ohio

Revised Code as applied against OSB in this case are

statutes which govern a civil proceeding with a financial

Or pecuniary penalty rather than a quasi criminal or

criminal proceeding, OSB has no United States constitu-

tional issue for this honorable Court’s review.

R.C. 2109.50 and .52 have been held to constitute a

civil proceeding, namely for conversion with a financial

penalty, Wozniak v. Wozniak, 90 Ohio App.3d 400 (Court of

Appeals of Ohio, Summit County, 1993); In Re Howard, 79

Ohio App. 203 (Franklin County Court of Appeals, 1947);

Linquist v. Hayes, Administrator, 22 Ohio App. 141 (Lucas

County Court of Appeals, 1926). Page 407 of Wozniak,

supra, described the nature of the inquiry under R.C.

2109.50 as follows:

“The inquiry under R.C. 2109.50 focuses on

the ownership of the asset and whether posses-

sion of the asset is being impermissibly con-

cealed or withheld from the estate. Thus, a

plaintiff has stated an actionable cause under

R.C. 2109.50 if he alleges that the asset is the

exclusive property of the estate and that the

defendant has unauthorized possession of the

asset or in some way has impermissibly dis-

posed of it. See Fecteau, 171 Ohio St. at 125, 12

O.0.2d at 141, 167 N.E.2d at 893.”

Pages 411 and 412 of Wozniak, supra, described the

nature of an action under R.C. 2109.50 as civil, namely for

conversion with the complainant’s accompanying rights

to recover pre and/or post judgment interest as follows:

“In a civil action, the recovery of prejudg-

ment interest is afforded litigants under both the

common law and the statutory provision of R.C.

1343.03(C). Moore v. Univ. of Cincinnati Hosp.

(1990), 67 Ohio App.3d 152, 154, 586 N.E.2d 213,

214. Generally, though, Ohio common law does

not allow prejudgment interest in civil actions

10

based on tortious conduct. /Id.; Cleveland Ry. Co.

v. Williams (1926), 115 Ohio St., 584, 155 N.E.

133, syllabus. Some exceptions to this general

rule exist, in particular, actions for conversion of

personal property. Lyle v. Durham (1984), 16

Ohio App.3d 1, 3, 16 OBR 1, 3, 473 N.E.2d 1216,

1218; Booth v. Cincinnati Finance Co. (1923), 19

Ohio. App. 130, 135, aff’d (1924), 111 Ohio St.

361, 145 N.E. 543; Morris v. Pearl Street Auction

Co. (1939), 61 Ohio App. 452, 15 O.O. 283, 22

N.E.2d 740.”

The sole legislative purpose of an Ohio Revised Code

2109.50 proceeding is to provide a speedy and effective

way of discovering moneys, chattels or choses in action

belonging to a trust estate and of securing their return for

administration, In Re Black 145 Ohio St. 405 (1945), and

Wozniak, supra. Compare this statutory purpose to that of

a solely criminal proceeding which is to determine

whether the defendant has violated a rule of conduct

required by society and to punish him or it accordingly.

In support of its previously filed Writ of Certiorari,

OSB primarily relies on the premise that the 10% penalty

under R.C. 2109.52 made its adjudication of liability

thereunder a felony conviction by the trial court. OSB’s

reliance on this premise is misplaced for any or all of the

following reasons:

1. This 10% financial penalty is not punitive in

nature but is compensatory at least to the extent that it at

least partially reimburses the complainant for his

expenses for the commencement and completion of pro-

ceedings under R.C. 2109.50, et. seq. The language of R.C.

2109.50 and .52 clearly demonstrates that they are self-

11

contained statutory provisions which are silent as to com-

pensation of a prevailing complainant for any expenses of

this litigation other than court costs. As applied to this

case, the Popp estate legal expenses through trial were at

2.5 times the $5,583.86 (10% statutory penalty) assessed

against OSB. It is estimated that through the completion

of this brief’s preparation (based on the Probate Court

allowed hourly rate of $125), the Popp estate legal

expenses will be at least four times the $5,583.86 statutory

penalty assessed against OSB by the trial court.

2. Sections 2109.50 and .52 of the Ohio Revised

Code make no provision for the award of any interest to a

successful complainant. Therefore, the 10% penalty under

the latter statutory provision is the equivalent to the 10%

interest rate applicable to a plaintiff judgment in a civil

proceeding required by § 1343.03(A) of the Ohio Revised

Code.

OSB’s contention that R.C. 2109.52 could result in a

10% statutory penalty totalling an astronomical fixed

amount in dollars such as one million dollars should be

rejected and ignored by this Court in this case because:

(1) it has absolutely nothing to do with the actual statu-

tory financial penalty required to be assessed against

petitioner under this statutory provision; and (2) this

financial penalty is the functional equivalent to the 10%

interest rate required for a plaintiff judgment in an Ohio

Civil proceeding.

OSB argues that the 10% statutory penalty assessed

against it by the trial court is the equivalent of either a

second degree felony conviction or at least the fine there-

for. This contention ignores and fails to take into account

12

Ohio law as to the mandatory penalties applicable to a

second degree felony conviction. Section 2929.11(B)(5) of

the Ohio Revised Code provides as follows:

“Except as provided in Division D of this

Section or Sections 2329.71 and 2329.72 and

Chapter 2925 of the Revised Code, terms of

imprisonment for a felony shall be imposed as fol-

lows:

(5) for a felony of the second degree, the mini-

mum term shall be two, three, four or five years, and

the maximum term shall be fifteen years.”

(Emphasis provided)

Section 2929.11(C)(2) of the Ohio Revised Code pro-

vides that the maximum fine for a second degree felony

shall not exceed $7,500.

Section 2929.14(B) of the Ohio Revised Code limits

the sentencing court’s authority in a criminal proceeding

to impose a fine in a citation to imprisonment for a felony

conviction as follows:

“(B) The court shall not impose a fine in addi-

tion to imprisonment for a felony unless a fine is

specifically adapted to deterrence of the offense or

correction of the offender, or the offense was com-

mitted with the purpose of establishing, main-

taining, or facilitating an activity of a criminal

syndicate, as defined in § 2923.04 of the Revised

Code, or the offense was committed for hire or

purpose of gain.” (Emphasis supplied)

At least two Ohio cases have held that a fine without

imprisonment of the defendant (whether conditionally

suspended and/or probationable) renders that conviction

void, State v. Beasley, 14 Ohio St.3d 175 (1984), and State v.

13

Hill, 72 Ohio App.3d 233, 594 N.E.2d 164 (Cuyahoga

County Court of Appeals, 1991).

R.C. 2109.52, however, makes no provision for the

imprisonment of any defendant or respondent adjudged

to be guilty thereunder or under R.C. 2109.50. Therefore,

in the absence of any proof by OSB that the Ohio legisla-

ture intended to enact a statute which would be void on

its face for requiring a criminal conviction without any

mandatory, conditional or unconditional imprisonment of

the defendant, the 10% penalty referred to above should

not make R.C. 2109.52 a wholly criminal statute.

In addition, this aforementioned mandatory-fixed

10% penalty does not meet any of the following criteria

set forth in R.C. 2929.14(B) for imposing a fine in addition

to imprisonment for a felony conviction: (1) that the fine

be specifically adapted to the deterrence of any offense

described in R.C. 2109.50 and .52; (2) that it (the fine) be

specifically adapted to the correction of the offender,

namely OSB in this case. That is, economic/business deci-

sions and criteria, not the $5,583.38 mandatory financial

penalty from this case will govern OSB’s future conduct

regarding the closing of a customer’s bank account after

his or her death.

None of the cases cited in OSB’s Petition for Writ of

Certiorari, namely pp. 8-29 inclusive, are appropriate for

this Court’s determination of whether R.C. 2109.52 as

applied to it by the trial court in this case deprived it of

its Fourteenth Amendment right to due process and/or

equal protection under the law or its Sixth Amendment

right to trial by jury.

14

Some of OSB’s aforementioned cited cases fall into

the following categories distinguishable from the 10%

mandatory penalty involved in R.C. 2109.52:

1. The commission of a crime against and properly

involving imprisonment, fine or both for conviction, Mor-

isette v. United States, 342 U.S. 246, 72 S.Ct. 240 (1952);

Liparota v. United States, 471 U.S. 419, 105 S.Ct. 2084

(1985); U.S. v. Halper, 490 U.S. 435, 109 S. CT. 1892 (1989);

U.S. v. Garcia, 751 F.2d 1033 (9th Cir. 1985).

2. The commission of a crime against a person

involving imprisonment, fine or both, Duncan v. Louisi-

ana, 391 U.S. 145, 88 S.Ct. 1444 (1968).

3. Violation of a prior court order involving some

form of imprisonment without a fine Hicks v. Fetock, 485

U.S. 624, 108 S. CT. 1423 (1988); Penfield Co. v. SEC, 330

U.S. 585 (1947).

In OSB’s cited case of Bloom v. State of Illinois, 391

U.S. 194, 88 S.Ct. 1477 (1968), the defendant was accused

of criminal contempt for presenting for probate a false/

fraudulent will prepared after decedent died and was

sentenced to jail under a statute with no stated minimum

or maximum confinement period and with no fine. There

is no comparison between that case and the case at bar

which involved an adjudication of guilty for monetary

damages and 10% penalty thereon but no imprisonment.

In OSB’s cited case of United States v. International

Minerals & Chem. Corp., 402 U.S. 558, 91 S.Ct. 1697 (1971),

the defendant was charged with violation of a statute

which prohibited the shipment of corrosive liquids in

interstate commerce without so labeling them. There is no

15

comparison between that case which involves an act dan-

gerous to public safety and the case at bar, which

involved a transfer of a decedent’s bank account balance

to a person not legally entitled to receive it.

In OSB’s cited case of United States v. United States

Gypsum, 438, U.S. 422, 98 S.Ct. 2864 (1978), the defendant

was charged with conspiring with competitors to keep

prices down in restraint of trade. In that case, it was not

always apparent whether the act in question was econom-

ically justifiable or in restraint of trade until after it

occurred. Contrast that situation with this case where

OSB transferred a decedent’s bank account to a person

not legally entitled or authorized to receive it based on

documents irregular on their face and contrary to their

own internal rules, regulations and procedures required

to close a deceased depositor’s account at that financial

institution.

In OSB’s cited case of Southwestern Tel. Co. v. Danahar,

238 U.S. 482, 35 S.Ct. 886 (1915), a statutory penalty was

involved at $100 per day for 63 days due to the defendant

telephone company’s failure to provide telephone service

to a previously delinquent bill paying customer unless

and until she provided a deposit. In that case, this Court

found that the regulations which the defendant was

enforcing were reasonable due to the prohibitive expense

it would otherwise incur to collect its delinquent tele-

phone bills and that the statutory penalty of $6,300 as

compared to the approximately $10 telephone bill

involved was disproportionate to the actual financial loss

it caused the customer by enforcement of those regula-

tions. Contrast that situation to the case at bar where

16

OSB’s violation of R.C. 2109.52 caused respondent finan-

cial loss at least two to four times the amount of the 10%

statutory penalty in question and the nominal time spent

and expense incurred if upon seeing documents irregular

on their face, it called the Probate Court to confirm

whether Hamann was the Popp Estate Administrator.

OSB’s cited case of Missouri Pacific Ry. v. Tucker, 230

U.S. 340, 33 S.Ct. 961 (1913), this Court fixed mandatory

financial penalty in question was $500 as compared to the

actual defendant’s shipment overcharge of $3.02. That

situation is totally unlike the assessment of the 10% pen-

alty against OSB in the case at bar which is less than one-

fourth of the respondent’s costs in prosecution or pro-

ceedings under R.C. 2109.50 and .52 including all Appel-

late Court, Ohio Supreme Court, and U.S. Supreme Court

proceedings to date.

OSB’s cited case of Kennedy v. Mendoza-Martinez, 372

U.S. 144, 83 S.Ct. 554 (1963), defendants were charged

with fleeing the U.S. to avoid military service, the penalty

for which was loss of U.S. citizenship. Contrast the poten-

tial loss of liberty in terms of loss of freedom to return to

the U.S. (and in the case of one of the defendants

involved, his potential of becoming a stateless person), if

the defendants were found guilty in that case to the 10%

penalty involved in this case which is a small fraction of

the respondent’s total financial losses including litigation

expense caused by the petitioner.

Page 13 of OSB’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari con-

tends that both the amount of the 10% penalty in question

and its mandatory penalty renders it solely criminal in

17

nature. This contention, however, ignores the basic char-

acteristics set forth in Hicks v. Feiock, supra, which differ-

entiate between civil and criminal contempt proceedings.

In that case, this Court set forth the characteristics of a

civil contempt proceeding as including the following: (1)

Punishment must be remedial and inure for the com-

plainant’s benefit; and (2) when the punishment involves

a fine, it is paid to the complainant or can be avoided by

performing the act required by the prior court order.

In Hicks v. Feiock, supra, this Court set forth the char-

acteristics of a criminal contempt proceeding as including

the following: (1) Punishment is rendered to show the

court’s authority with respect to the underlying proceed-

ing wherein the contemptuous conduct occurred; and (2)

where the punishment involves a fine, it is required to be

paid to the court.

R.C. 2109.50 and .52 do not involve either civil or

criminal contempt proceeding because none of the pro-

hibited conduct described therein involves any violation

of a prior court order. The 10% monetary penalty in R.C.

2109.52, however, involves both of the characteristics of

civil contempt described above, namely remedial punish-

ment which is for the benefit of the complainant, namely

payment of the monetary assessment involved directly

the Popp estate as the complainant rather than the trial

court.

This 10% penalty, however, does not involve any of

the characteristics of a criminal contempt proceeding

enumerated above since it is not punishment for the trial

court to show its authority after one or more of its prior

orders were violated by the defendant and since it is not

18

paid to the court when the complainant is the fiduciary of

a victimized trust, estate or guardianship.

OSB will not benefit from the possible remand of the

respondent’s complaint to the Cuyahoga County Probate

Court for further proceedings based on any alleged Four-

teenth Amendment right to avoidance of Judgment under

2109.52 without proof that it acted with knowledge and/

or a culpable mental state because:

1. It permitted the transfer of Joan Popp’s funds on

deposit after her death to a person not authorized to

receive them in reliance on certain documents which

were irregular on their face; namely: (a) that forged Let-

ters of Administration which had typed in the name of

one Probate Judge but with the purported signature of a

second Probate Judge, App. 6, p. 10; and (b) the forged

Letters of Administration also had a partial seal which

was not from or by the Probate Court, see the portion of

Hamann’s deposition set forth at App. 7, p. 21.

2. It permitted the transfer of Joan Popp’s funds on

deposit after her death to a person not authorized to

receive them in a manner contrary to its own written

internal manual/procedure for doing so, (App. 8, p. 30).

This regulation/written procedure required that when a

deceased customer’s account was to be closed, the check

must be made payable to “The Estate of (decedent's

name)” or to “(name of fiduciary), (title) of the Estate of

(decedent’s name)” (i.e., William A. Hamann, Adminis-

trator of the Estate of Joan Popp, Deceased). In this case,

however, the check to reduce the Popp account to a zero

balance issued by OSB after her death was made payable

19

to “William A. Hamann, Administrator”, (App. 5, App. 6,

p. 11).

3. It also permitted the transfer of Joan Popp’s

funds to a person not authorized to receive them in

reliance on an Ohio Estate Tax Release which was not

authorized in the generally accepted/customary manner,

namely with a stamp from the Cuyahoga County Auditor

(as the local agent for the Ohio Department of Taxation,

Estate Tax) rather than the signature line actually used,

(App. 6, p. 12, and App. 7, pp. 22-24).

OSB will not benefit from the possible remand of

respondent’s complaint to the trial court for further pro-

ceedings because of an alleged violation of its Sixth

Amendment and/or Ohio Statutory right to a jury trial

because: (1) it previously waived its right to a jury trial

by conceding that respondent’s complaint against it was a

civil proceeding when it filed in December, 1992, a

Motion to Dismiss this Complaint and/or for Summary

Judgment. OSB cannot have it both ways, namely to

initially treat the complaint as a civi! proceeding by filing

a Motion for Summary judgment but thereafter contend

that the proceeding was criminal or quasi-criminal, only

after losing that Motion; and (2) as a civil proceeding,

respondent was properly granted Motion for Summary

Judgment by the trial court on its complaint when it

satisfied the requirements to do so set forth in O.R.C.P.,

Rule 56(C). Such requirements were that there be no

genuine issues as to the material facts and that the

movent be entitled to judgment as a matter of law.

+

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, respondent concludes as

follows:

1. That the trial court’s rendering judgment against

OSB pursuant to R.C. 2109.52 for $55,833.81 and 10%

penalty thereon did not deny it due process of law, within

the meaning of the Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S.

Constitution merely because there was no proof before

such judgment that it acted knowingly and/or with crim-

inal intent.

2. That the rendering of this judgment was not prej-

udicial to OSB since even with a remand to the trial court,

the existence of knowledge by OSB that it transferred the

proceeds of the Popp account a person not authorized to

receive them could be proven at that time.

3. That the trial court’s rendering judgment against

OSB on Summary Judgment did not deny its constitu-

tional and/or statutory right to a jury trial since all of the

summary judgment requirements set forth in O.R.C.P.,

Rule 56(C) were satisfied.

Respectfully submitted,

HucH A. Carun (0010723)

Counsel of Record

14600 Detroit Avenue #1150

Lakewood, Ohio 44107

(216) 221-2323

Attorney for Respondent

la

APPENDIX 1

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS AT ISSUE

U.S. Constitution, Sixth Amendment provides:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial,

by an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed,

which district shall have been previously ascer-

tained by law, and to be informed of the nature

and cause of the accusation; to be confronted

with the witnesses against him; to have com-

pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for

his defense.”

2a

APPENDIX 2

The Fourteenth Amendment to the U.S. Constitution

provides in part that:

“Section 1. All persons born or naturalized

in the United States, and subject to the jurisdic-

tion thereof, are citizens of the United States and

of the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which skall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the

laws...”

—

3a

APPENDIX 3

Section 2109.50 of the Ohio Revised Code

provides:

“Upon complaint made to the probate court

of the county having jurisdiction of the adminis-

tration of a trust estate or of the county wherein

a person resides against whom the complaint is

made, by a person interested in such trust estate

or by the creditor of a person interested in such

trust estate against any person suspected of hav-

ing concealed, embezzled, or conveyed away or

of being or having been in the possession of any

moneys, chattels, or choses in action of such

estate, said court shall by citation, attachment or

warrant, or, if circumstances require it, by war-

rant or attachment in the first instance, compel

the person or persons so suspected to forthwith

appear before it to be examined, on oath, touch-

ing the matter of the complaint. Where neces-

sary such citation, attachment or warrant may

be issued into any county in the state and shall

be served and returned by the officer to whom it

is delivered. The officer to whom such process is

delivered- shall be liable for negligence in its

service or return in like manner as sheriffs are

liable for negligence in not serving or returning

a capias issued upon an indictment. Before issu-

ing an extra-county citation, attachment or war-

rant, the probate judgment may require the

complainant to post security with the probate

court in such amount and in such form as the

probate judge shall find acceptable in order to

cover the costs of the proceeding under this

section, including in such costs a reasonable

allowance for the travelling expenses of the per-

son or persons against whom an extra-county

4a

citation, attachment or warrant is to be issued.

Such security may be in the form of a bond, the

amount, terms, conditions and sureties of which

shall be subject to the approval of the probate

judge.

The probate court may initiate proceedings

on its own motion.

The probate court shall forthwith proceed to

hear and determine the matter.

The examinations, including questions and

answers, shall be reduced to writing, signed by

the party examined, and filed in the probate

court.

If required by either party, the probate court

shall swear such witnesses as may be offered by

either party touching the matter of such com-

plaint and cause the examination of every such

witness, including questions and answers, to be

reduced to writing, signed by the witness, and

filed in the probate court.

All costs of such proceedings, including the

reasonable travelling expenses of a person

against whom an extra-county citation, attach-

ment or warrant is issued, shall be assessed

against and paid by the party making the com-

plaint, except as provided by Section 2109.52 of

the Revised Code.”

5a

APPENDIX 4

Section 2109.52 of the Ohio Revised Code provides:

“When passing on a complaint made under

Section 2109.50 of the Revised Code, the probate

court shall determine, by the verdict of a jury if

either party requires it or without if not

required, whether the person accused is guilty

of having concealed, embezzled, conveyed

away, or been in the possession of moneys, chat-

tels, or choses in action of the trust estate. If such

person is found guilty, the probate court shall assess

the amount of damages to be recovered or the court

may order the return of the specific thing concealed

or embezzled or may order restoration in kind. The

probate court may issue a citation into any

county in this state, which citation shall be

served and returned as provided in Section

2109.50, requiring any person to appear before it

who claims any interest in the assets alleged to

have been concealed, embezzled, conveyed, or

held in possession and at such hearing may hear

and determine questions of title relating to such

assets. In all cases, except when the person found

guilty is the fiduciary, the probate court shall forth-

with render judgment in favor of the fiduciary or if

there is no fiduciary in this state, the probate court

shall render judgment in favor of the state, against

the person found guilty, for the amount of the

moneys or the value of the chattels or choses in

action concealed, embezzled, conveyed away, or held

in possession, together with ten percent penalty and

all costs of such proceeding or complaint; except

that such judgment shall be reduced to the

extent of the value of any thing specifically

6a

restored or returned in kind as provided in this

Section.

If the person found guilty is the fiduciary,

the probate court shall forthwith render judg-

ment in favor of the state against him for such

amount or value, together with penalty and

costs as provided in this Section.” (Emphasis

supplied)

7a

APPENDIX 5

¢

OFFICJALSSHECK

Two SIGNATURED>AEDURED WHEN Oy" $3,000 00

OHIO SAVINGS BANK “7

@¢

1801 EAST NINTH STREET CLEVELANO. OmMIO 44114

Pee ORK Ge WiLLLAM A. HAMANN , ADMINISTRATOR

ee eo

4 > Sum, Se

: : ‘ o£ dl F

. (TO CLOSE ACCOUNT. 816-00-06400 _____ __. THE OHIO SAVINGS BANK.

; © pers «ae aan — > , bis : wae Ge

‘

‘ P oCme-+ caw am oe we

> a - —_ - © ~~~,

‘ sae 6 PEs ot! Peve*he ‘ ht Ne © SAsSmvinne ae i = 3% ALbeeeyn ” sa ee Tmered

=- er a | 7. ——Te es wre" (ee, “ee: °°) -eogeen-.-*. oewer os) wee, 7-0 ler 0 Cc -—_we OU e —__- -* @ -«

- = & om or a St | _-_ St ed ~ ~ (mn eel Tl alll a

8 8 Og ooog 0 ‘a 8 a 8 '

6334071" HOEG Or 20040 13S C305 YUU0SS6336s58

?

a

_—

~ —

‘ ~—.

| Sv _

Pe a ~

~~ “AN

= ~

=. * ~ im ss

‘oo — ~. ie —

| — cd ~2 >> \ es

rected is EF FANE — oa i ~ a eae.

Pees C..EVO.L AAD OH 5S Ke SSO 2 «a ok

a" c4eea2.e3s & gt ie 2 = “3 « shin J es *

= iat <- M“POSVEAA EM ADeiyx.c 2 ~—~—

~ ~ a

= -_ é -”~ . — = —

P ~/ FP ae IW! @ 3Sss ‘\ \, ~ _

TRENEReE ri Ae tt les NS a ~

7 -

“4

o-

8a

APPENDIX 6

OHIO SAVINGS BANK

May 10, 1991

Alan G. Gelbman, Esq.

2000 Standard Building

1370 Ontario Avenue

Cleveland, OH 44113

Re: Estate of Joan E. Popp

vs. William A. Hamann, Jr., et al.

Dear Mr. Gelbman:

Pursuant to the subpoena issued to Ohio Savings

Bank enclosed please find a copy of the savings history

for the year 1991 along with a copy of the withdrawal

ticket closing the account, appointment papers, tax

release, and the front and back of the check issued. The

original documents are with Mr. Ramsey of the FBI.

Should you require any further information please

feel free to contact us.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Ruth Michaels

Ruth Michaels

Legal Dept.

9a

p90 021391 O2139' O CLOSED 328.73 .00 51,304.24 021391 060189 O-NONE

yee CLOSEOUT INT 00

gone 40 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-000021 BAL $$.505.13 TC B 1,503.12

1g-9008 400 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-D0002! BAL $5,505.13 IC B 658.28

4g 076 400 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-00002! BAL $5,505.13 TC B 666.48

¢ -0006 470 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-O00021 Bai 55,50S.13 ITC B 674.79

gone 400 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-000021! BAL 55,505.13 TC B 698.22

1g -000€ 400 HIST=1 021381 TLR OS-000021 Bal $5,833.86 TC 940 328.73

g-0926400 HIST-O 021391 TLR OS-00002! BAL .00 TC 910 55,833.86

10a

IN THE PROBATE COURT

Division of the Court of Common Pleas

1023 No. 1024992

STATE OF OHIO )

) SS.

Cuyahoga County _ )

I, FRANCIS J. TALTY, Judge of the Probate Court and

for said County, in the State aforesaid, do hereby certify

and make known, that on 12th day of February one

thousand nine hundred and ninety-one of Administration

Of Estate of Joan Popp aka Joan E. Popp deceased, were

granted William A. Hamann, Jr., Administrator

The same are now in full force and effect.

IN TESTIMONY WHEREOF, I have set my hand and

affixed the seal of said Probate Court, at Cleveland, Ohio,

in said County, this 12th day of February, 19891.

/s/ John J. Donnelly

Probate Judge

By: /s/ M.M. Meyer

Deputy Clerk

lla

7

OHIO SAVINGS BANK

1601 EAST NINTH STREET CLEVELAND. OHIO arya

4

_ TWO SIGNATURES AE GY

= 3 al > » eee * 5 _~_, _ " <——.. = of.

.

€

83340

OFFICINE K aii 34 :

WHEN €R $5,000 00 4

ee

-~»>

a 44% ys’ 5. +

\ DATE ee aoe an-00

- --« ad , '

. q°

z

3

' ‘

LOSE _ACC

Re ACC

yver.a-

he ewmof 55,83

— DERAL HOME LOAN BANK © NaSHVLLE MARES ~ 3%

> See —

°° > Eee; ~ * eee

"83340 70

SO6B4000910!.

BeelsBGe' hod |

THE OHIO SAVINGS BA “ ogg 5 .,

ORAWER “e SS y ] te ;

a 7 or’ :

|

‘s

BY ; fad

—_—. = 9 <i ‘

AUTHORIZED SIGNATURE ™ as SrYASSS

--

=> eee Se eet eS eee cee > ee eee = * eee =

10010 357"" O310S “O00SS583386."

12a

OHIO DEPARTMENT OF TAXATION

ESTATE TAX

P.O. BOX 530, COLUMBUS, OHIO 43216

Date 2-12-91

To: OHIO SAVINGS

(NAME OF COMPANY WHOSE STOCKS OR

BONDS ARE TO BE TRANSFERRED OR INSTITU-

TION WHERE DEPOSIT OR OTHER PROPERTY IS

LOCATED)

The Tax Commissioner of Ohio consents to the

immediate transfer of the following property now in

your possession,

Control or custody:

To: William A. Hamann, Jr., Administrator

Description:

Acct. #816K00-06400 -— $51,304.24 (6-1-89) plus

interest

belonging to or standing in the name of joint name of

JOAN E. POPP, deceased, late of Cuyahoga County, State

of Ohio Date of Death January 30, 1991

JEAN A. FERRYMAN

TAX COMMISSIONER AGENT

BY:/s/ J.A. Ferryman

Tax Commissioner

l3a

SAVINGS ACCOUNT WITHDRAWAL

RECEIVED FROM

OHIO SAVINGS BANK

ACCOUNT NUMBER

816-00-06400

AMOUNT WITHDRAWN

55833.86

86

DOLLARS CENTS

SIGNED William A. Hamann Jr., Admr.

SIGNED DL #PM 680029

New

Address: Administrator

Check

Payable To: William A. Hamann,

Check No. 833407 /Cash

Transferred

To Account Number:

VALIDATION STAMP

[stamp] Remarks: DEATH CERTIFICATE APPOINT-

MENT PAPERS TAX RELEASE

SAV: 011 (REV 6/86)

l4a

PASSBOOK SAVINGS ACCOUNT

THIS CERTIFIES THAT Account No. 816 K 00 No. 06400

JOAN POPP

HAS CPENED A REGULAR SAVINGS DEPOSIT

ACCOUNT WITH

OHIO SAVINGS BANK

CLEVELAND, OHIO

herein called the Bank. This passbook is issued and, by

the acceptance hereof, is held subject to all the provisions

of the laws of the State of Ohio, the Rules and Regula-

tions of the Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corpora-

tion, and the Articles of Incorporation, Constitution and

By-Laws of the Bank, and to the rules contained in the

Bank’s Guide to Savings Accounts provided to the

Accountholder at the time of opening this account, all as

the same now exist or may hereafter be amended and is

transferable only on the records of the Bank by the holder

hereof in person, or by duly authorized attorney. Upon

surrender of this passbook accompanied by a properly

executed order to make said transfer. The Bank may treat

the holder of record as the owner for all purposes with-

out being affected by any notice to the contrary until this

account is transferred on the books of the Bank.

Interest on deposits shall be paid as determined by the

Board of Directors of the Bank and shall be subject to

change without notice.

Deposits may be made through the mail by check, money

order or registered letter. Always state account number.

Do not send cash by mail.

15a

All deposits are made subject to the Bank’s policies on

collection of checks or other items. For your protection and

ours, when a check is accepted, a hold is placed on your

account for the amount of checks presented for payment, in

accordance with the Bank’s Funds Availability Policy.

Inquiries may be made at the branch in regard to informa-

tion concerning the length of hold for a particular check

transaction.

This book must be presented when money is deposited or

withdrawn.

The owner of this account should notify the Bank of any

change of address, name, or Taxpayer Identification Number.

Rev. 11/88

[seal]

ORGANIZED 1889

PASSBOOK SAVINGS ACCOUNT

THIS CERTIFIES THAT Account No. 816 K 00 No. 06400

JOAN POPP

HAS OPENED A REGULAR SAVINGS DEPOSIT

ACCOUNT WITH

OHIO SAVINGS BANK

CLEVELAND, OHIO

herein called the Bank. This passbook is issued and, by the

acceptance hereof, is held subject to all the provisions of the

laws of the State of Ohio, the Rules and Regulations of the

Federal Savings and Loan Insurance Corporation, and the

Articles of Incorporation, Constitution and Ry-Laws of the

Bank, and to the rules contained in the Bank’s Guide to

Savings Accounts provided to the Accountholder at the time

l6a

of opening this account, all as the same now exist or may

hereafter be amended and is transferable only on the records

of the Bank by the holder hereof in person, or by duly

authorized attorney. Upon surrender of this passbook accom-

panied by a properly executed order to make said transfer.

The Bank may treat the holder of record as the owner for all

purposes without being affected by any notice to the con-

trary until this account is transferred on the books of the

Bank.

Interest on deposits shall be paid as determined by the Board

of Directors of the Bank and shall be subject to change

without notice.

Deposits may be made through the mail by check, money

order or registered letter. Always state account number. Do

not send cash by mail.

All deposits are made subject to the Bank’s policies on

collection of checks or other items. For your protection and

ours, when a check is accepted, a hold is placed on your

account for the amount of checks presented for payment, in

accordance with the Bank’s Funds Availability Policy.

Inquiries may be made at the branch in regard to informa-

tion concerning the length of hold for a particular check

transaction.

This book must be presented when money is deposited or

withdrawn.

The owner of this account should notify the Bank of any

change of address, name, or Taxpayer Identification Number.

Rev. 11/88

[seal]

ORGANIZED 1889

17a

PASSBOOK SAVINGS ACCOUNT

THIS CERTIFIES THAT Account No._8!16 x_00_ wo.__06400

WITHORAWAL OEPOosiT DATE BALANCE

1604 10525.53 |JUN 1-09 ¢ 10525 .353

- 100A 40776.91i | JUN gate cM «=: 53.:1504.24

1503.12) DEC31-89 Hs 5@807.36

658.28, MAR31-90_— | i ‘53465 .64

666.48) JUN30-90 54132.12

674.79) SEP30-90 aa 54806.91

698.22) DEC31-90 INT 55505.13

! 328.73) FEB13-91 INT 55833.86

! 52A55833.86 FEB13-91 « .0Q|

EO

wu OY

ONS Ah

al

THIS BOOK MUST BE PRESENTED WHEN MONEY |S DEPOSITED OR WITHORAWN

—— + ee eee i mm re |

| ORGANIZED 1889

: - al lial

eo re a . . vs Rs

18a

APPENDIX 7

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OF [sic] OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

Ohio Savings Bank,

Plaintiff,

Case No

1:92CV2025

VS.

TransOhio Savings Bank,

and

Estate of Virginia Pop [sic] Durma,

and

William A. Hamann, Jr.,

and

Marvin Schatz,

Defendants.

DEPOSITION OF WILLIAM A. HAMANN, JR., a

Defendant herein, called by the Plaintiff as upon cross-

examination under the statute, taken before me, A. Ann

Manning, Notary Public in and for the State of Ohio, by

agreement of counsel, at the Marion Correctional Institu-

tion, in the Office of O. H. Wood, III, Assistant Deputy

Warden, Marion-Williamsport Road, Marion, Ohio, 43302

on Friday, May 28, 1993, beginning at 10:55 a.m. and

concluding at 3:39 p.m.

19a

APPEARANCES

FOR THE PLAINTIFF: Roy E. Lachman

Assistant General Counsel

200 Ohio Savings Plaza

1801 East Ninth Street

Cleveland, Ohio 44114

FOR THE DEFENDANT W. Eric Baisden

R.T.C., RECEIVER FOR Attorney at Law

TRANSOHIO SAVINGS Brouse & McDowell

BANK: 500 First National Tower

Akron, Ohio 44308-1471

FOR THE DEFENDANT Hugh A. Carlin

ESTATE Attorney at Law

OF VIRGINIA POPP Lakewood Center North

DURMA: 14600 Detroit Avenue

Suite 1030

Lakewood, Ohio 44107

FOR THE DEFENDANT George Stuhldreher

MARVIN SCHATZ: Attorney at Law

Gallagher, Sharp, Fulton

Sixth Floor, Bulkley

Building

Cleveland, Ohio 44115

[p. 3] STIPULATIONS

It is stipulated by and between counsel for the

respective parties that the deposition of WILLIAM A.

HAMANN, JR., a Defendant, called by the Plaintiff as

upon cross-examination, pursuant to the Rules of Civil

Procedure, may be taken at this time by A. Ann Manning,

Notary Public in and for the State of Ohio, by agreement

of counsel and without Notice of other legal formality;

that said deposition may be reduced to writing in sten-

otypy by the Notary Public, whose notes may thereafter

20a

be transcribed out of the presence of the witness; that

proof of the official character and qualifications of the

Notary Public is waived; and that the examination, read-

ing and signature of the said WILLIAM A. HAMANN, JR.

to the transcript of his deposition is expressly waived by

the witness; said deposition to have the same force and

effect as though signed by the said WILLIAM A. HAM-

ANN, JR.

* * *

[p. 124] A That is, that is correct.

Q When you handle estates for other people and

met other fiduciaries, did you ever meet other people that

acted similar to the way Mrs. Durma acted?

A Yeah.

Q In being cautious or guarded in her handlings

with the attorney?

A Yes. Because most people are not — don’t deal

with this on a, on a routine basis and they don’t know

what they are up against and there’s unfortunately an

inbred distrust of lawyers and, uh, so, yeah. More people

than not are somewhat cautious and guarded.

Q So you didn’t think that her actions were any-

thing out of the unusual? I mean you had seen this

before, right?

A Yes, I had.

Q Mr. Hamann, handing to you what’s been marked

Plaintiff’s Exhibit T, that’s the forged letter of appoint-

ment of the Joan Pop [sic] Estate.

2la

A Yes.

Q Okay. And directing your attention to February

13th, 1991, the date that you went to Ohio Savings Bank

with the Joan Pop [sic] assets book.

A Yes.

Q Do you recall if Ohio Savings Bank personnel that

[p. 125] day, upon you presenting this document to them,

Plaintiff’s Exhibit T, calling the Probate Court to verify if

that was a valid estate number, if that estate had, in fact,

been opened and if you were the duly qualified acting

administrator of the Pop [sic] Estate?

A Ido not believe that such a call was made.

Q Mr. Hamann, do you recall Ohio Savings Bank

personnel on that date ever questioning you about the

fact that the Probate Court seal was not clearly evidenced

on the Plaintiff’s Exhibit T?

A Somebody questioned me about a seal. Whether

it was Ohio Savings, — in fact, um, if that’s the document I

remember going with a pencil, I believe, over a certificate

at one of the banks. That may be. I don’t remember

specifically but, if there was a question, I remember tak-

ing a pencil and saying, “Look. This is raised,” and

shading it somehow. Other than that, I, I don’t recall.

Q Was that when you were at Ohio Savings Bank?

A It may have been.

Q And you told us under prior questions of Mr.

Lachman that, and I know we don’t have a Plaintiff's

Exhibit T copy that’s showing about the seal, but you

22a

recall when you prepared this forged document that it

was in the general area of where the “John” is in the

signature of John Donnelly and by the three lines of the

“County” and [p. 126] “by”, the word “by”, b-y, near the

bottom?

A (Nods head affirmatively)

Q And you recall quite clearly the words “Probate

Court” did not appear on the seal that you used?

A They absolutely did not appear on the seal that I

used.

[Q As you told us, you used a notarial public seal

with the “notarial public” to show up, you used tape over

that. On the seal what did show up was the State of Ohio

and part of the seal of the Great State of Ohio?

A Correct.

Q On that date, February 13th, 1991, did Ohio Sav-

ings Bank personnel with regard to the Pop [sic] Estate

question you about Plaintiff’s Exhibit V, the tax release?

You recall Plaintiff’s Exhibit V is the tax release?

A Yes, I do recall the Exhibit and I do not recall any

question about the tax release.

Q They never asked you any questions that would

lead you to believe that they thought there was some-

thing unusual about this?

A No.

Q Do you recall what the original of Plaintiff's

Exhibit V looked like concerning the tax commissioner’s

stamp?

23a

A Well, it looked exactly like your copy there with

[p. 127] the exception that, um, I believe the signature

was in blue. Um, and there was no stamp. That was a

typed signature block.

© And normally when a tax release is properly

issued by the tax commissioner, there’s like a pre-printed

ink stamp that appears near the bottom of the signature?

A That’s right.

Q You recall seeing that on hundreds of tax

releases, don’t you?

A On every one that I did.

© However on Plaintiff’s Exhibit V, that inked tax

commissioner’s pre-printed stamp did not appear; is that

correct?

A That’s correct.

Q And Ohio Savings Bank personnel never ques-

tioned you that that ink stamp was missing from this tax

release, Plaintiff’s Exhibit V; isn’t that correct?

A That's right. Now, let me clarify just one state-

ment that may have been a partial misstatement. Every

tax release that was issued by Cuyahoga County had the

stamp on it. Tax releases that came directly from Col-

umbus, which some did, and tax releases which came

from other counties sometimes had just a signature or the

typed name under or a signature with a typed name over.

Not all counties used the stamp and the State of Ohio tax,

uh, [p. 128] Department of Taxation down in Columbus

which, on occasion, would issue a tax release on certain

type of asset would not yield a stamp but all Cuyahoga

24a

County releases that were issued from the Cuyahoga

County department used the stamp.

Q And Joan Pop [sic] died a resident of Cuyahoga

County, Ohio; is that correct?

A Correct.

Q And, in fact, even on Plaintiff’s Exhibit V it even

states:

“Belonging to or standing in the name or joint

name of Joan E. Pop [sic], Deceased, late of

Cuyahoga County, State of Ohio, date of death

January 30th, 1991.”

Referring to the Plaintiff's Exhibit V. Therefore, the tax

commissioner’s printed stamp would have appeared on

this tax release since she died in Cuyahoga County, Ohio;

is that correct?

MR. LACHMAN: Objection.

A In my experience on every Cuyahoga County tax

release that I ever got in, in 20 years had the stamp.

Q And the Ohio Savings Bank person on that day,

February 13th, never questioned you that the stamp was

not on this tax release, Plaintiff’s Exhibit V?

A No.]

[p. 129] QO Referring you back to Plaintiff’s Exhibit

T, the forged certified letter of appointment, with the

same date reference and the reference to the Pop [sic]

Estate, did Ohio Savings Bank personnel ever question

you that the certified letter of appointment starts off, “I,

Francies [sic] J. Talty, Judge of the Probate Court,” how-

ever —

25a

A (Nods head affirmatively)

Q - the certified letter is signed “John J. Donnelly,

Probate Judge, by” — I can’t recall the signature.

A I can’t either.

Q Do you remember whose name you put on there

as the clerk?

A Idon’t - I’m not sure there is even a clerk by that

name.

Q Looks like an M. M. Meyer, deputy clerk.

A Sounds reasonable.

Q Did Ohio Savings Bank personnel on February

13th, 1991, regarding the Pop [sic] Estate in Plaintiff’s

Exhibit T, ever question you that the printed name of

Francis J. Talty in the first line is not the person who

signed or had deputy clerk authorization signature of

signing Talty’s name but, in fact, John J. Donnelly’s name

is signed at the end?

A No.

26a

APPENDIX 8

COPY

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF OHIO

EASTERN DIVISION

OHIO SAVINGS BANK ) CASE NO: 1:92 CV 2025

Plaintiff, JUDGE BATTISTI

MAGISTRATE STREEPY

Ve

)

)

)

TRANSOHIO SAVINGS?

BANK, et al.,

)

Defendants.

DEFENDANT, RESOLUTION TRUST CORPORA-

TION’S BRIEF IN RESPONSE TO OHIO SAVINGS

BANK’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT AND

REPLY TO OHIO SAVINGS BANK’S BRIEF IN OPPO-

SITION TO RESOLUTION TRUST CORPORATION'S

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

Mary K. Whitmer

Supreme Court Reg. #0018213

Robert M. Stefancin

Supreme Court Reg. #0047184

W. Eric Baisden

Supreme Court Reg. #0055763

BROUSE & McDOWELL

500 First National Tower

Akron, OH 44308-1471

(216) 535-5711

Attorneys for Defendant,

Resolution Trust Corporation,

in its capacity as Receiver for

Transohio Savings Bank

I].

27a

INTRODUCTION

Whenever the Association is informed of a deceased

account holder, it is their responsibility to flag the

signature card on each and every account in that

customer’s name.

In addition to placing flags on the signature cards, the

terminal hold message number “04”, “DEATH

NOTICE”, must be entered in the terminal. Refer to

the Olivetti Manual for terminal entry procedure.

The following sections are to aid in the often compli-

cated handling of decedent accounts.

LEGAL DOCUMENTS REQUIRED

There are a number of legal documents required in the

handling of decedent accounts. The following sections

on “Procedures for Handling Each Type of Account by

Ownership” must be referred to for specifics as to

which documents are required. The purpose of this

section is to merely provide samples of documents

which may be required, and give some background

knowledge as to their use.

A. Tax Release

If the Association has been advised of the death

of a savings account owner, extreme care should

be exercised with regard to the account from the

moment of death notification to the actual dis-

bursement of funds. The Ohio revised code

5731.39 provides in pertinent part:

“No... financial institution . . . having in posses-

sion, control or custody, a deposit standing in the

name of a decedent, or in trust for a decedent, or

in the name of a decedent and another person or

persons, shall deliver or transfer an amount in

excess of three-fourths (3/4’s) of the total value of

28a

such deposits, including accrued interest and div-

idends, as of the date of the decedent’s death,

without the written consent of the Ohio Tax Com-

mission. The written consent of the Tax Commis-

sion need not be obtained prior to the delivery or

transfer of amounts having the value three-

fourths (3/4’s) or less of said total value.”

In other words, you must not permit a with-

drawal of more than three-fourths (3/4’s) of the

balance of the savings account held in the name

of a deceased account holder without first receiv-

ing a tax release properly signed by an agent of

the Ohio Tax Commissioner.

In the event that three-fourths (3/4’s) of the

funds are withdrawn from an account without a

tax release, the signature card should be flagged

with the information that there is a hold on the

remaining one-fourth (1/4) of the balance of the

account pending receipt of the tax release. There

are two exceptions to the requirement of a tax

release. A tax release is not required if:

1. The account owner was not a permanent resi-

dent of the State of Ohio at the time of death.

2. If the account balance at the time of death is

less than $500.00.

Following is a sample of a tax release.

Order Relieving the State from Administration

In accordance with the statutes as set forth by the

State of Ohio, the assets of a decedent's Estate

may be released without administration provided

the assets totally do not exceed $15,000.00.

The next of kin, or heirs, of the decedent must file

with Probate Court for an Application for Release

29a

of Assets Without Administration. This release

will set forth the name of the decedent, the date

of the original application, and the date the mat-

ter came to be heard by the probate judge; it will

name the person or persons to whom particular

assets are to be paid. It will also list the debts

against the estate, as well as the amount of money

to be released. The funds in the account shall be

paid to the person or persons named in the order

for release of assets upon presentation of this

document, together with proper identification of

the person named as the recipient of the assets, a

properly executed withdrawal ticket, a Tax

Release, and the savings passbook. It is not neces-

sary to obtain a copy of the Letters of Appoint-

ment, since none would be issued in the case.

The funds in the account must be paid in check

form only, payable to the person or persons

named in the order. Obtain a copy of the order

(the court issues an order for each asset men-

tioned) for the permanent records of the Associa-

tion. Note on the withdrawal ticket the fact that

the withdrawal was made pursuant to such an

order.

The following is a sample of an Order Relieving

the Estate from Administration:

III. CONVERTING, TRANSFERRING, AND CLOSING

PROCEDURES FOR DECEDENT ACCOUNTS

REFER TO SECTION ON “PROCEDURES FOR

HANDLING EACH TYPE OF ACCOUNT OWNER-

SHIP” FOR PROPER USE OF THESE PROCEDURES.

A. Closing or Transferring a Decedent Account

When the Executor, Administrator, survivor, or

properly authorized person presents the proper

30a

documents, a decedent account may be closed

by the following procedures.

1. Note on the signature card that the owner is

deceased and the date.

2. Have the Executor, Administrator, Survivor or

Properly authorized person complete a with-

drawal ticket.

3. Attach required documents to the withdrawal

ticket.

4. Proceed to close the account.

[5.In the case of an Estate Account, the check

must be made payable to “The Estate of

(deceased account owner)” or to “John Smith,

Executor of the Estate of (deceased account

owner)”.]

If the surviving owner is closing the account,

he may have the funds in any form he wishes.

In the case of a Successor Trustee, Guardian,

Custodian or Fiduciary, the check must be

made payable to the Successor.

REFER TO SPECIFIC TYPE OF OWNERSHIP

FOR DETAILS.

6. An account may be transferred to a new

account, in any form of ownership, after com-

pleting the above. If a check is required for

close-out, simply have the customer endorse

the check and open the new account.

* * *

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.