Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Taylor v. United States

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

wi “sae

(\

\\) 941138 DEC 29 19%

No.

GpRICE—OE—IHE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

KEITH T. TAYLOR, Petitioner

V.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ARMED FORCES

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RICHARD KEITH STUTZEL

Major, U.S. Marine Corps

Counsel of Record

BRIAN CHRISTOPHER LANSING

Lieutenant, Judge Advocate

General’s Corps

U.S. Naval Reserve

NAVY-MARINE CORPS APPELLATE

DEFENSE DIVISION

Washington Navy Yard

Washington, D.C. 20374-1111

(202) 433-4161

Counsel for Petitioner

December 1994

Se a a a a a

QUESTION PRESENTED

Does a so-called "unit sweep inspection" of Petitioner’s

military organization violate Petitioner’s Fourth Amendment right

against unreasonable searches and seizures when the inspection is

ordered following an anonymous report of Petitioner’s drug use to

command authorities and this information is wrongly withheld by

those individuals from the commanding officer authorizing the

inspection?

(i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

RUUMEEUMIUS WUMMEEOSEED cc cc ccc ccc ewes i

py Be me Soy) 61) >. iv

EE ee |

re SA os an bh We do 0 @ 00's 68-08 oe 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION AND REGULATIONS

a 2

RORREIEOE GF SEUSS 26 we cece ects 4

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .......... 5

Petitioner's Fourth Amendment right against

unreasonable searches and seizures was violated by

members of Petitioner’s chain of command when those

individuals, who suspected petitioner of illegal drug

use, misled Petitioner’s commanding officer into

conducting an inspection of Petitioner’s work section

where the purported inspection in actuality was a

subterfuge search because it was a deliberate attempt to

circumvent the requirement for a prior probable cause

determination.

EE OO ee eee eee ee ee 9

APPENDIX A (Opinion of the U.S. Court of

Ee ee la

APPENDIX B (Opinion of the U.S. Navy-Marine

Corps Court of Military Review) ................ 18a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978) .......... 8,9

National Treasury Employees Union v. Von Raab,

ee li gd ake 5 he Se aaa ek OO 9

New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987) .......... 5,9

Skinner v. Railway Labor Executives’ Association,

re eee ee a ae 9

United States v. Barnett, 18 M.J. 166

ee eee ee eee eee ee eee 6

United States v. Bickel, 30 M.J. 277 (C.M.A. 1990) ... 5,9

United States v. Flowers, 23 M.J. 647

a Sy er ee ee 5

United States v. Gardner, 41 M.J. 189 (C.M.A. 1994) oo

United States v. House, 604 F.2d 1135 (8th Cir. 1979) ... 8

United States v. Johnston, 24 M.J. 271 (C.M.A. 1987) 9

United States v. Lange, 15 U.S.C.M.A. 486,

p Eee Re Fee Pe eee eee eee 6

United States v. Lefkowitz, 618 F.2d 1313 (9th Cir. 1980) . 8

United States v. Taylor, 41 M.J. 168 (C.M.A. 1994) .. 1,4,7

United States v. Taylor, No. 91-0669

(N.M.C.M.R. February 24, 1993) ............ 2,4

United States v. Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20 (C.M.A. 1989) Scan

United States v. Vasquez, 605 F.2d 1269 (2d Cir. 1979) .. 8

United States v. Williams, 737 F.2d 594 (7th Cir. 1984) 8

Constitutional Provision:

U.S. Constitution, Amendment IV ............. 2,5,10

Statutes:

Asters 36, ULI. 19 UBC. OGG vn cc cccviccnes 5

Article 67(aX(3), U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C. § 867(aX3) ....... 4

Article 112a, U.C.M.J., 10 U.S.C.§ 912a ............ 4

Pe Ss SD a 5 Fk a ee ee oe ec es 2

Military Rules of Evidence:

Military Rule of Evidence 311(a), Manual for Courts-

Martial, United States, 1984 ............... 2,5

Military Rule of Evidence 313(b), Manual for Courts-

Martial, United States, 1984 ............... 3,5

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

KEITH T. TAYLOR, Staff Sergeant

United States Marine Corps,

Petitioner

Vv.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE ARMED FORCES

The Petitioner, Keith T. Taylor, respectfully prays that a

writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Military Appeals' rendered in this

proceeding on September 30, 1994.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Military

Appeals, United States v. Taylor, 41 M.J. 168 (C.M.A. 1994), is

reprinted as Appendix A.

' The United States Court of Military Appeals has been renamed the United

States Court of Appeals for the Armed Forces. All cases relevant to this petition

were decided before the name change, so the original name of the court is used

in this petition.

. (d)

2

The opinion of the United States Navy-Marine Corps Court

of Military Review’, United States v. Taylor, No. 91-0669

(N.M.C.M.R. February 24, 1993), is reprinted as Appendix B.

JURISDICTION

/

The United States Court of Military Appeals affirmed the

decision of the United States Navy-Marine Corps Court of Military

Review on September 30, 1994. Title 28 U.S.C. § 1259(3)

provides jurisdiction in this case and entitles Petitioner to seek

review of the United States Court of Military Appeals’ decision.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

AND REGULATIONS INVOLVED

The Fourth Amendment provides:

——The right of the people to be secure in their

persons, houses, papers, and effects, against

unreasonable searches and seizures, shall not be

violated; and no Warrants shall issue, but upon

probable cause, supported by Oath or affirmation,

and particularly describing the place to be

searched and the persons or things to be seized.

Military Rule of Evidence 311(a) provides:

Evidence obtained as a result of an unlawful

search or seizure made by a person acting in a

governmental capacity is inadmissible against the

accused if: (1) Objection. The accused makes a

timely motion to suppress or an objection to the

? The United States Navy-Marine Corps Court of Military Review has been

renamed the United States Navy-Marine Corps Court of Criminal Appeals. All

cases relevant to this petition were decided before the name change, so the

original name of the court is used in this petition.

3

evidence under this rule; and (2) Adequate

interest. The accused had a reasonable expectation

of privacy in the person, place or property

searched; the accused had a legitimate interest in

the property or evidence seized when challenging

a seizure; or the accused would otherwise have

grounds to object to the search or seizure under

the Constitution of the United States as applied to

members of the armed forces.

Military Rule of Evidence 313(b) provides, in pertinent part:

An "inspection" is an examination of the whole or

part of a unit . . . to determine and to ensure the

security, military fitness, or good order and

discipline of the unit... . An order to produce

body fluids, such as urine, is permissible in

accordance with this rule. An examination made

for the primary purpose of obtaining evidence for

use in a trial by court-martial or in other

disciplinary proceedings is not an inspection

within the meaning of this rule. If the purpose of

an examination is to locate weapons or

contraband, and if: (1) the examination was

directed immediately following a report of a

specific offense in the unit . . . and was not

previously scheduled; (2) specific individuals are

selected for examination; or (3) persons examined

are subjected to substantially different intrusions

during the same examination, the prosecution must

prove by clear and convincing evidence that the

examination was an inspection within the meaning

of this rule.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioner, an active duty Marine, was charged with

wrongfully using marijuana within the period of December | to

December 12, 1989, in violation of Article 112a, Uniform Code of

Military Justice (U.C.M.J.), 10 U.S.C. § 912a. The evidence

consisted of a positive result for marijuana in a urinalysis test

administered to Petitioner pursuant to a purported inspection of his

work section, the S-1 section of Headquarters Company, Fifth

Marine Regiment, First Marine Division. At his Special Court-

Martial, Petitioner moved to suppress the results of the urinalysis

test on the grounds that the inspection conducted on his work

section was a subterfuge to allow his urine to be seized without a

probable cause search because anonymous allegations of drug use

had been made against him. Petitioner’s motion to suppress the

results was denied by the military judge.

Notwithstanding his pleas to the contrary, Petitioner was

found guilty of the wrongful use of marijuana. Petitioner was

sentenced to hard labor without confinement for 45 days, reduction

to the lowest enlisted pay grade, and to be discharged from the

Marine Corps with a bad-conduct discharge. The sentence was

approved by the convening authority.

The United States Navy-Marine Corps Court of Military

Review affirmed the findings and sentence. United States v.

Taylor, No. 91-0669 (N.M.C.M.R. February 24, 1993). In its

unpublished opinion, the court held by a two-to-one majority that

the order to conduct the urinalysis test on the members of

Petitioner's work section was not a subterfuge search for

contraband.

On appeal, pursuant to Article 67(a\(3), U.C.M.J., 10

U.S.C. § 867(a)(3), the United States Court of Military Appeals

affirmed Petitioner’s conviction and sentence. United States v.

Taylor, 41 M.J. 168 (C.M.A. 1994). In a three-to-two decision,

the court held that the urinalysis test conducted on the members of

Petitioner’s work section was not a subterfuge search for

contraband.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The protections of the Fourth Amendment are applied to

the military through the President’s promulgation of Rules of

Evidence pursuant to Article 36(a), Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 10 U.S.C. § 836(a). United States v. Taylor, 41 M.J. 168,

170 (C.M.A. 1994). Military Rule of Evidence 31 1(a) provides for

the suppression of evidence seized as a result of an unlawful search

or seizure. If the evidence is seized based upon a suspicion of

criminal activity, the suspicion must rise to the level of probable

cause. The evidence must be seized pursuant to an authorization

to search a specific person or place for specific evidence.

Improper attempts to circumvent the requirement for a probable

cause determination in such cases, or "subterfuge" searches,

constitute an illegal seizure, and will result in suppression of the

evidence at trial. United States v. Bickel, 30 M.J. 277 (C.M.A.

1990); cf New York v. Burger, 482 U.S. 691 (1987).

A legitimate military inspection, on the other hand, is

outside the parameters of probable cause searches. Military Rule

of Evidence 313(b) governs the admissibility of evidence seized

pursuant to an inspection. The basic distinction between a military

search and an inspection, as it pertains to evidence later used in a

court-martial, is the underlying rationale for the seizure. If the

seizure is based primarily upon a desire to procure evidence against

an individual for use in a prosecution, then it must proceed from

probable cause or some other legitimate exception to that

requirement. If the seizure has a legitimate inspection purpose,

then the later use of the evidence in a court-martial is permitted.

United States v. Flowers, 23 M.J. 647 (N.M.C.M.R. 1986).

However, when a contraband inspection focuses upon a particular

unit or portion of that unit to circumvent the requirement for

procuring a probable cause search of one of the members of that

unit, there must be clear and convincing evidence that the

inspection was not a subterfuge for a search. United States v.

Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20 (C.M.A. 1989).

In Petitioner’s case, the commanding officer of Petitioner’s

unit, Captain Lindsay, had decided to conduct an inspection of part

of his unit, but he did not select any particular part of the unit for

6

the inspection. On December 7, 1989, the unit Substance Abuse

Control Officer (SACO), Sergeant Ramon, had received an

anonymous telephone call that Petitioner had used marijuana.

Sometime the next day, December 8, or the following Monday,

December 11, he had relayed this information to the officer-in-

charge of the S-1 section, Captain Jackson. On December 11,

Captain Jackson called Captain Lindsay and encouraged selection

of the S-1 section, of which Petitioner was part, for the urinalysis

inspection. Captain Jackson did not inform Captain Lindsay of the

anonymous tips regarding Petitioner. Since volunteering a section

for a urinalysis inspection was highly unusual, the call aroused

suspicions on the part of Captain Lindsay, and he spoke to

Sergeant Ramon about them. He specifically asked Sergeant

Ramon, "Is there anything special going on in the S-1 section that

I should know about?" Sergeant Ramon replied, "I don’t think I’m

at liberty of discussing this with you at this particular time, sir."

Without pursuing his questioning any further, Captain Lindsay then

selected the S-1 section for a urinalysis inspection on the next day,

December 12. On the day of the urinalysis, Captain Jackson

discovered that Petitioner was at home recuperating from having

had three wisdom teeth extracted. Captain Jackson then telephoned

Petitioner and ordered him back to the base to prove that he was

authorized to stay home. When Petitioner showed Captain Jackson

the authorization he had received from his dentist, instead of

allowing him to go home, Captain Jackson ordered Petitioner to

provide a urine sample. The fact that Captain Jackson took great

effort to make certain that Petitioner provided a urine sample,

regardless of the fact that Petitioner was exempt from his duties,

demonstrates that Petitioner was specifically targeted for the

urinalysis by his superiors.

The underlying conduct of those executing inspections

must be reviewed in determining the legitimacy of the inspection.

United States v. Barnett, 18 M.J. 166 (C.M.A. 1984). The actions

of the superiors in Petitioner’s chain-of-command demonstrate that

the purported inspection of Petitioner’s urine, conducted under the

guise of a routine urinalysis test, was, in actuality, nothing more

than a pretext for obtaining evidence of Petitioner’s reputed drug

use. The facts in this case are not unlike the scenario presented in

United States v. Lange, 15 U.S.C.M.A. 486, 35 C.M.R. 458

7

(1965), in which the Court of Military Appeals held that a "shake-

down" inspection of a military barracks was not a valid inspection

because it was conducted only after a squadron administrative

officer had learned of a theft from the barracks. In Petitioner’s

case, the urinalysis sweep of Petitioner’s work section was urged

by Sergeant Ramon and Captain Jackson only after these

individuals received an anonymous tip that Petitioner was using

illegal drugs. Because the urinalysis was conducted with a view

toward obtaining evidence of unlawful drugs in Petitioner’s urine

sample, it is clear that the motive shared by Sergeant Ramon and

Captain Jackson was to search for evidence to be used in a

criminal prosecution, rather than to test the general readiness of the

S-1 section. Accordingly, the evideiice obtained against Petitioner

was seized by way of a search, not an inspection.

The lower courts, however, held that the principal focus,

in determining whether the inspection was valid, was on the

conduct of Captain Lindsay, since he ultimately ordered the

inspection of the S-1 section. Captain Lindsay, the lower courts

held, was isolated from any information implicating Petitioner as

a drug user, since no one had informed Captain Lindsay of the

anonymous tips. Therefore, Captain Lindsay’s ultimate decision

to inspect the S-1 section was not a pretext to seize Petitioner’s

urine. However, two important facts belie this conclusion: Captain

Lindsay saw the need to question Captain Jackson’s- motive for

volunteering his section for the urinalysis; and, upon questioning

Sergeant Ramon about his suspicions, he was given a patently

evasive answer which he elected not to pursue further. Thus, the

lower courts’ conclusion that Captain Lindsay’s suspicions were

satisfied by his exchange with Sergeant Ramon is insupportable.

It was preposterous that the commanding officer’s concerns were

allayed by the misleading information provided; nevertheless, he

selected the S-1 section for the inspection. Taylor, 41 M.J. 168,

at 175 (Wiss, J., dissenting). The evidence shows that Captain

Lindsay clearly had reason to suspect that Petitioner was using

drugs, which negates the legitimacy of labelling the urinalysis as

merely an innocent "inspection" of Petitioner’s work section.

Even if the lower court’s holding that the commanding

officer was not aware of the information about Petitioner is

accepted, his order to inspect the S-1 section falls outside the

8

parameters of a legitimate inspection because his subordinates

knowingly withheld information from him regarding Petitioner’s

alleged drug use, while manipulating his decision to include

Petitioner’s work section, and therefore Petitioner, in the

inspection. The Court of Military Appeals held that because

Captain Lindsay never received any information implicating

Petitioner, a wall of ignorance existed around him; therefore, his

choice of the S-1 shop was not tainted by the anonymous

information known to Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon. /d.

at 172. However, Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon

intentionally misled Captain Lindsay into believing that there was

no special reason to pinpoint the S-1 shop, despite the fact that

they had specific reason to pinpoint Petitioner, a member of that

shop, based upon the reports of his drug usage. By doing so they

improperly influenced the commander’s inspection decision. In

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978), this Court held that an

essential statement made in a police affidavit for a search warrant

that is a deliberate falsehood, or made in deliberate disregard for

the truth, voids the warrant. Franks thereby opened the door to

attacks on the veracity of the facts underlying a probable cause

determination by focusing on the improper conduct of the "police"

authorities, and by admonishing that the fruit of such searches

would not be admissible in evidence. Furthermore, several Federal

circuits have held that Franks applies to omissions from affidavits,

if those omissions are material. United States v. Williams, 737

F.2d 594 (7th Cir. 1984); United States v. Lefkowitz, 618 F.2d

1313 (9th Cir. 1980); United States v. Vasquez, 605 F.2d 1269 (2d

Cir. 1979); United States v. House, 604 F.2d 1135 (8th Cir. 1979).

Although Petitioner’s case does not involve a probable cause

determination per se, it involves an analogous situation in which

a probable cause determination should have been made by the

commanding officer, but was precluded by the actions of his

subordinates.

Since positive results from a properly ordered inspection

would be admissible in a trial by court-martial, the facts

surrounding the authorization of the inspection must be carefully

scrutinized to ensure that the inspection is not being used to

circumvent the requirement for a prior probable cause

determination. The deliberate omission of material matters by

9

Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon while advising Captain

Lindsay on which section to choose for the urinalysis sweep

exhibits disregard for the whole truth on the part of those in a

position to influence the commanding officer’s decision to order an

inspection of a work section. The fact that these individuals were

fully aware that this work section contained a suspected drug user,

of whose identity they were well aware, evinces a deliberate

attempt to circumvent the requirement to obtain a probable cause

search authorization concerning that suspect. Moreover, the

actions of these two individuals amounts to official misconduct by

military command authorities with responsibilities analogous to

police authorities in this situation. The spirit of this Court’s

decision in Franks precludes these subordinates from intentionally

misleading their commanding officer into selecting Petitioner’s

work section for a unit inspection when they had material

information which they should have presented to the commanding

officer, but intentionally and deceptively omitted. The Fourth

Amendment’s requirement for a search authorization based upon

probable cause is intended to prevent the very type of

governmental violation of fundamental individual rights exhibited

in this case. Therefore, the lower courts have eroded the

protection against unreasonable searches and seizures available to

service members through the Fourth Amendment and the Military

Rules of Evidence by disregarding this Court’s precedence set forth

in Franks.

CONCLUSION

Inspections, both military and civilian, are proper under the

Fourth Amendment. Bickel, 30 M.J. at 282; United States v.

Gardner, 41 M.J. 189 (C.M.A. 1994); Skinner v. Railway Labor

Executives’ Association, 489 U.S. 602 (1989); National Treasury

Employees Union v. Von Raab, 489 U.S. 656 (1989). However,

when a so-called inspection is in reality a pursuit of specific

evidence against a particular individual, it is a search subject to the

requirements of the Fourth Amendment. New York v. Burger, 482

U.S. 691 (1987); United States v. Johnston, 24 M.J. 271 (C.M.A.

1987).

10

Petitioner’s case presents a fundamental question of

Constitutional Law which was resolved against Petitioner in

sharply divided opinions in both of the lower appellate courts:

Does a procedure in which urine is seized from a servicemember

where a previous anonymous complaint about the servicemember’s

drug use has been received, and the information is then used

against the servicemember both in ordering a unit sweep of his

work section, and in singling him out to provide the sample,

constitute a valid military inspection under the Fourth Amendment?

This is a significant question which, in view of the ever-increasing

drug testing in our society, needs to be resolved. This issue bears

directly on the ability of the military to fairly maintain good order

and discipline while ensuring the promotion of justice for service

members. Accordingly, this Court should issue a writ of certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD KEITH STUTZEL

Major, U.S. Marine Corps

Counsel of Record

BRIAN CHRISTOPHER LANSING

Lieutenant, Judge Advocate

General’s Corps

U.S. Naval Reserve

NAVY-MARINE CORPS APPELLATE

DEFENSE DIVISION

Washington Navy Yard

Building 111

Washington, D.C. 20374-1111

(202) 433-4161

Counsel for Petitioner

December 1994

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A

U.S. COURT OF MILITARY APPEALS

No. 93-0595

NMCM 91 0669

UNITED STATES, Appellee,

V.

KEITH T. TAYLOR, Appellant.

Argued March 16, 1994

Decided September 30, 1994

For Appellant: Lieutenant David P. Sheldon, JAGC, USNR

(argued)

For Appellee: Lieutenant J.L. Epperson, JAGC, USNR

(argued); Colonel T.G. Hess, USMC, Commander S.A. Stallings,

JAGC, USN, and Captain Brett D. Barkey, USMC (on brief).

Military Judge: A.M. Crebbin

Opinion of the Court

CRAWFORD, Judge:

Contrary tc his pleas, appellant was convicted of wrongful use

of marijuana, in violation of Article 112a, Uniform Code of

Military Justice, 10 USC § 912a. The convening authority

approved the sentence of a bad-conduct discharge, 45 days’ hard

(la)

2a

labor without confinement,’ and reduction to the lowest enlisted

grade. The Court of Military Review affirmed the findings and

sentence in an unpublished opinion. We granted review on the

following issue:

WHETHER APPELLANT’S COMMAND

CONDUCTED A SUBTERFUGE SEARCH

WHEN’ SEIZING APPELLANT’S URINE

WHICH WAS PURPORTEDLY SEIZED

PURSUANT TO AN INSPECTION.

We hold that appellant’s command complied with Mil.R.Evid.

313(b), Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1984, and did

not conduct a subterfuge search in directing a_ urinalysis

examination which resulted in seizure of appellant’s urine.

FACTS

Appellant was an administrator in the S-1 section of the Sth

Marine Regiment, Ist Marine Division, Camp Pendleton,

California. On December 7, 1989, he had three wisdom teeth

removed and was placed on 24-hours of bed rest. The

commissioned officer in charge of the S-1 section was Captain

(Capt.) Jackson. The Marines of the S-1 section fell under the

command of Capt. Lindsay, the headquarters company commander

of the Sth Marine Regiment.

On the same date that appellant had his teeth pulled, Sergeant

(Sgt.) Ramon, the Regimental Substance Abuse Control Officer

(SACO), received an anonymous telephone message on his

answering machine that someone in the S-1 section had been using

drugs.

On the following day, Friday, December 8, 1989, Capt. Lindsay

made a decision to order a random urinalysis test the following

week. Capt. Lindsay was not aware of the anonymous tip received

'The court below erroneously stated this as confinement. Unpub. op. at 1.

3a

by Sgt. Ramon. Capt. Lindsay told his executive officer to tell

Sgt. Ramon about his decision to order the random urinalysis.

Capt. Lindsay had several responsible and legitimate reasons for

ordering a urinalysis inspection. First, Sgt. Ramon, an experienced

SACO, was scheduled to separate from the service and Capt.

Lindsay wanted to conduct the inspection prior to his separation.

Second, with the Christmas holiday season approaching, Capt.

Lindsay wanted to deter use of drugs in his command. And

finally, he wanted to comply with Marine Corps directives

requiring urinalysis testing. Capt. Lindsay had only a limited

number of vials and had not yet decided how to select the section

to be tested. He discussed the options with Sgt. Ramon.

Sometime that same day Sgt. Ramon told Capt. Jackson about the

anonymous call he had received about drug use by someone in the

S-1 section.

On Monday, December 11, 1989, Sgt. Ramon told Capt. Jackson

that a former member of the S-1 section had reported to him that

appellant was a drug user. Thereafter, the Court of Military

Review found:

Captain Jackson called Captain Lindsay and asked when

Captain Lindsay planned on doing urinalysis testing.

Captain Lindsay replied, "Well, this week." Captain

Jackson responded, "How do you plan to do it?” After

Captain Lindsay replied, "It’s going to be random,"

Captain Jackson stated, "Well, what about the S-1

section?" Captain Lindsay then said, "Fine, that fits right

along, and why not just go ahead and get it out of the

way." (R. 46). During the conversation, Captain Jackson

did not tell Captain Lindsay about information he had

received from Sergeant Ramon....

Unpub. op. at 2-3.

Capt. Lindsay testified that no one had ever volunteered a

section before. With his suspicion perhaps raised, Capt. Lindsay

asked Sgt. Ramon, "Is there anything special going on in the S-1

shop that I should know about?" Ramon replied to the effect of

4a

"Not at this time." After this conversation on Monday, December

11, Capt. Lindsay then directed that the SACO conduct a urinalysis

sweep of the S-1 section the next day.

That same Monday afternoon appellant’s noncommissioned

officer told him to go home because his face was swollen and he

was not feeling well. Since his pain persisted, at 8:00 p.m.

appellant went to the dental clinic and was given a pain killer and

a "no duty" chit which excused him from duty until 8:00 a.m.,

Wednesday, December 13, 1989.

On Tuesday, December 12, 1989, appellant remained at home

based on his excusal from work because of a "no duty" chit.

During the early afternoon Sgt. Ramon told Capt. Jackson that he

had received another report that appellant had smoked marijuana

earlier with a female friend and had requested "Gold Seals,"

supposedly a diuretic to conceal drugs in the urine. At

approximately 3:00 p.m. Capt. Jackson, not being sure whether

appellant had a "no duty" chit, told appellant’s NCOs to have

appellant come to work. Appellant did. At this time he was told

to provide the urine specimen that formed the, basis for his

conviction.

DISCUSSION

As we stated in United States v. Lopez, 35 M.J. 35, 39 (CMA

1992):

The military, like the Federal and state systems, had

hierarchical sources of rights. These sources are the

Constitution of the United States; Federal Statutes,

including the Uniform Code of Military Justice; Executive

Orders containing the Military Rules of Evidence;

Department of Defense Directives; service directives; and

Federal common law. Unlike the Federal Rules of

Evidence, Section III of the Military Rules of Evidence

"codifies" the constitutional rules. Normal rules of

statutory construction provide that the highest source

authority will be paramount, unless a lower source creates

Sa

rules that are constitutional and provide greater rights for

the individual; for example, Mil.R.Evid. 305(e) as to

notice to counsel, or Article 31, UCMJ, 10 USC § 831,

requiring warnings to suspects not in custody.

The paramount source is the U.S. Constitution. The Fourth

Amendment to the Constitution provides:

The right of the people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable searches

and seizures, shall not be violated, and no Warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause, supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly describing the place to be

searched, and the persons or things to be seized.

The next applicable source is the Uniform Code of Military

Justice, 10 USC §§ 801-934. Pursuant to Article 36(a), UCMJ, 10

USC § 836(a), the President has promulgated Rules of Evidence.

Mil.R.Evid. 311(a) sets forth the modern understanding of the

Fourth Amendment by stating that "[e]vidence obtained as a result

of an unlawful search or seizure made by a person acting in a

governmental capacity is inadmissible against" a person with

standing to challenge its admissibility.

Mil.R.Evid. 311 through 317, like the decisions of the Supreme

Court, divide Fourth Amendment issues between coverage (that is,

when the Fourth Amendment is applicable) and protections.

Mil.R.Evid. 314(d) provides that "[g]overnment property may be

searched .. . unless the person to whom the property is issued or

assigned has a reasonable expectation of privacy therein at the time

of the search." See also United States v. Wooten, 34 M.J. 141

(CMA 1992) (no expectation of privacy in bank records): United

States v. Parrillo, 34 M.J. 112 (CMA 1992) (overheard telephone

call not a search); United States v. Schmitt, 33 M.J. 24 (CMA

1991) (automobile may have been abandoned); United States v.

Britton, 33 M.J. 238 (CMA 1991) (no expectation of privacy in

another’s locker even though not used for 5 months); see United

States v. Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20, 23 (CMA 1989).

6a

We have discussed the privacy interest in numerous cases before

this Court. See United States v. McCarthy, 38 M.J. 398 (CMA

1993); United States v. Middleton, 10 M.J. 123 (CMA 1981). As

we indicated in Middleton:

In considering what expectations of privacy a service-

member may reasonably entertain concerning military

inspections, we must recognize that such inspections are

time-honored and go back to the earliest days of the

organized militia.

10 M.J. at 127.

In McCarthy we stated:

We need not determine the outer limits of appellant’s

"reasonable" expectation of privacy. Suffice it to say that

he could not reasonably expect to avoid apprehension in

this case by retreating to his room.

38 M.J. at 403.

We also indicated in Lopez that "the Supreme Court has never

expressly applied the Bill of Rights to the military, but has

assumed they applied." Jd. at 41.’

7As the Court stated in Davis v. United States, 114 S.Ct. 2350, 2354 n.*

(1994):

We have never had occasion to consider whether the Fifth Amendment

privilege against self incrimination, or the attendant right to counsel

during custodial interrogation, applies of its own force to the military, and

we need not do so here. The President, exercising his authority to

prescribe procedures for military criminal proceedings, see Art. 36(a),

UCMJ, 10 U.S.C. § 836(a), has decreed that statements obtained in

violation of the Self-Incrimination Clause are generally not admissible at

trials by court-martial. Mil.R.Evid 304(a) and (c)(3). Because the Court

of Military Appeals has held that our cases construing the Fifth

Amendment right to counsel apply to military interrogations and control

the admissibility of evidence at trials by court-martial, see, e.g.,

United States. v. McLaren, 38 M.J. 112, 115 (1993); United States

‘

7a

This is not only of academic importance, but also it is important

to the President in deciding what rules should be applied to the

military.’ Because of the "special needs" in the military, Skinner

v. Railway Labor Executives Ass'n, 489 U.S. 602, 628 (1989) (case

for testing without individualized suspicion is "compelling"); cf

New Jersey v. T.L.O., 469 U.S. 325 (1985) (inspection based upon

a reasonable suspicion is appropriate), the Fourth Amendment may

not apply in total. See United States v. McCarthy, supra. Judge

Cox’s view concerning the reasonable commander and the

reasonableness clause of the Fourth Amendment may apply. That

view is as follows:

The Fourth Amendment only protects military members

against unreasonable searches within the context of the

military society. Something as drastic as a "shakedown

inspection" can only be justified in the military because of

the overriding need to maintain an effective force.

Likewise, preemptive strikes on drugs and other dangers

can only be reasonable because of their impact on the

v. Applewhite, 23 M.J. 196, 198 (1987), and the parties do not contest

this point, we proceed on the assumption that our precedents apply to

courts-martial just as they apply to state and federal criminal

prosecutions.

>The discussion concerning application of the Fourth Amendment is more than

an academic discussion. It relates directly to the bright-line rules set forth in

Section III of the Military Rules of Evidence, Manual for Courts-Martial, United

States, 1984. While these rules are helpful for commanders, promulgating the rules

can be a very tedious process, taking sometimes up to 4 years to promulgate a rule.

Draft Mil.R.Evid. 305(e), which seeks to conform military practice to Minnick v.

Mississippi, 498 U.S. 146 (1990) and McNeil v. Wisconsin, 111 S.Ct. 2204

(1991), has not been approved as of yet. Judge Cox has emphasized his concern

about the rules in United States v. Lopez, 35 M.J. 35, 42 (CMA 1992) (Cox, J.,

concurring with modest reservations), and United States v. Alexander, 34 M.J.

121, 127 (CMA 1992) (Cox, J., concurring in the result). Finally, this Court in

United States v. Middleton, 10 M.J. 123 (CMA 1981), while recognizing

Mil.R.Evid. 313(b) did not set forth why the rule was promulgated and the impact

of Middleton on the prior cases--United States v. Roberts, 2 M.J. 31 (CMA

1976), and United States v. Thomas, 1 M.J. 397 (CMA 1976). See also

Lederer and Borch, Does the Fourth Amendment Apply to the Armed Forces?,

3 William and Mary Bill of Rights J. 219 (Summer 1994).

8a

mission. The United States Court of Military Appeals has

the obligation to ensure that inspections, searches, and

seizures in the military society are reasonable in their

inception and in their conduct. This means that

commanders must have rules which are honest, simple,

forthright, and easy for both the commander and the

command to understand.

United States v. Lopez, 35 M.J. at 45 (citations omitted) (Cox, J.,

concurring with modest reservations).

Unless there are changes to the Rules, we are bound by

Mil.R.Evid. 313(b), which provides in part:

An "inspection" is an examination of the whole or part of

a unit ... to determine and to ensure the security, military

fitness, or good order and discipline of the unit .... An

order to produce body fluids, such as urine, is permissible

in accordance with this rule. An examination made for the

primary purpose of obtaining evidence for use in a trial by

court-martial or in other disciplinary proceedings is not an

inspection within the meaning of this rule. If a purpose of

an examination is to locate weapons or contraband, and if:

(1) the examination was directed immediately following a

report of a specific offense in the unit, ... and was not

previously scheduled; (2) specific individuals are selected

for examination; or (3) persons examined are subjected to

substantially different intrusions during the same

examination, the prosecution must prove by clear and

convincing evidence that the examination was an

inspection within the meaning of this rule.

In United States v. Bickel, 30 M.J. 277 (CMA 1990), we upheld

the constitutionality of this provision.

But Mil.R.Evid 313(b), which makes a distinction between

administrative inspections for prosecutorial purposes, is probably

more restrictive than it need be. See e.g., Michigan Department of

State Police v. Sitz, 496 U.S. 444 (1990); National Treasury

9a

Employees Union v. Von Raab, 489 U.S. 656 (1989); Skinner v.

Railway Labor Executives Ass'n, supra. Cf Griffin v. Wisconsin,

483 U.S. 868 (1987); New Jersey v. T.L.O., supra.

The threshold question in this case is whether Capt. Lindsay’s

decision to order a urinalysis examination was a subterfuge search

for contraband rather than a lawful inspection. Our principal focus

is on the role of Capt. Lindsay. He decided to order a random

urinalysis of his unit because he knew that the unit’s experienced

SACO was scheduled to separate from the service; he wanted to

deter drug use during the Christmas holidays; and he wanted to

comply with Marine Corps policy and directives requiring

urinalysis testing. When Capt. Lindsay made his decision to

conduct the urinalysis examination, there had not been a "report of

a specific offense in the unit." There were no "specific individuals

... selected for examination" or "substantially different intrusions”

made a part of this urinalysis testing. Further, an inspection may

include examination of a "whole or part of a unit." Thus, we

conclude that Capt. Lindsay’s decision to order a urinalysis

examination was a legitimate action to conduct a lawful inspection

in compliance with Mil.R.Evid. 313(b).

We are mindful that Sgt. Ramon and Capt. Jackson had received

information linking appellant to drug use. However, there is no

evidence that either of them conveyed this information to Capt.

Lindsay. At the time of Jackson’s phone call to Lindsay during

which he volunteered the S-1 section for testing, Jackson was in

receipt of two pieces of information. First, he was aware that Sgt.

Ramon had received an anonymous tip that someone in the S-1

section had used drugs. And second, he was also aware that Sgt.

Ramon had thereafter received an allegation that appellant was a

drug user. We need not answer the question whether these two

pieces of information constitute "a report of a specific offense in

the unit.” There is no indication that either of these allegations

were known to Capt. Lindsay. Further, Capt. Lindsay’s decision

to accept Capt. Jackson’s suggestion to test the S-1 section

followed Lindsay’s legitimate decision to conduct a urinalysis

inspection. While Capt. Lindsay testified he pinpointed the S-1

section after he talked to Capt. Jackson, the primary purpose of

10a

ordering the inspection was to "deter and to disencourage personnel

from using ... drugs." There is no indication of a so-called "wink

and a nod" (see __- M.J. at (1) (Wiss, J., dissenting) between

Capt. Lindsay, Capt. Jackson, and Sgt. Ramon to create a pretext

for an inspection. And finally, we will not impute the knowledge

of either Capt. Jackson or Sgt. Ramon to Capt. Lindsay. In

conclusion, we hold that, under the facts of this case, there was a

proper inspection of part of a unit by a commander and, therefore,

the evidence obtained through that inspection is admissible.

The decision of the United States Navy-Marine Corps Court of

Military Review is affirmed.

Judges COX and GIERKE concur.

SULLIVAN, Chief Judge (dissenting):

A

The granted issue in this case 1s:

WHETHER APPELLANT’S COMMAND

CONDUCTED A SUBTERFUGE SEARCH

WHEN SEIZING APPELLANT’S URINE

WHICH WAS PURPORTEDLY SEIZED

PURSUANT TO AN INSPECTION.

An initial question arises from the majority opinion concerning its

legal basis (or lack thereof) for deciding this issue. Appellant

argues that subterfuge searches are prohibited by Mil.R.Evid. 313,

Manual for Courts-Martial, United States, 1984, and our case law,

and their fruits are inadmissible at courts-martial. See Mil.R.Evid.

311 and 315; United States v. Johnston, 24 M.J. 271 (CMA 1987).

In addition, I note that administrative inspections which are mere

pretexts to search for criminal evidence are unreasonable searches

for purposes of the Fourth Amendment. New York v. Burger, 482

U.S. 691, 716 n.27 (1987). Accordingly, I must disassociate

myself from the majority opinion’s resolution of the granted issue

without reference to military or civilian case law. ___ M.J. at

lla

(10-11) .

My next concern is the factual basis of the majority opinion-

concerning the legitimacy of the challenged inspection. The court

below commented on Captain Jackson’s role both before and after

the decision to inspect had been made by Captain Lindsay, as

follows:

Obviously, Captain Lindsay’s decision to select the S-1

section for urinalysis testing was influenced to some extent

by Captain Jackson’s telephone call to him. However, that

fact is not dispositive of the issue. At the time of the

conversation, Captain Lindsay had already decided to

conduct random testing. Al// the call did was to subtlety

suggest to him that he should select the S-1 for testing; it

in no way singled out the appellant for testing.

* * *

In this case, the commander simply decided that an

entire section would be tested. He did so without

knowledge that two members of the section, Captain

Jackson and Sergeant Ramon, suspected that another

member of the section had illegally used drugs. We deem

it of no significance that the appellant was ordered to

report to his work section from his quarters after receiving

a "no duty" chit from a dental officer. In our opinion,

Captain Jackson had authority to order the appellant, his

subordinate, to report to work for urinalysis testing despite

the appellant's receipt of a "no duty" chit from his dentist.

Additionally, we observe that Captain Jackson had

investigated the appellant’s situation on 12 Dec 1989 and

been advised by someone at the dental clinic that appellant

had not been to the dental clinic. Although not pivotal to

our decision, this fact manifests to us that Captain Jackson

was diligently pursuing his duties as an officer of Marines

in an appropriate manner, albeit he received "bad scoop"

from someone at the dental clinic.

12a

At the bottom line, this is not a case where a

servicemember has been unreasonably singled out for

urinalysis testing by a commander who merely suspects

drug use. This appellant was required to do only what was

required of all Marines in his work section...

Unpub. op, at 4-5 (emphasis added.) I disagree with the decision

of the majority to disregard these facts as irrelevant to the granted

issue.

The key question to me in this case is whether the knowledge

and conduct of Captain Jackson can be considered on the issue of

whether a "subterfuge" search occurred. The majority’s opinion

holds that these facts are not relevant since they were not

communicated to Captain Lindsay (__ MJ. at 11) and he is "our

principal focus" (_ | M.J. at 10) under Mil.R.Evid. 313(b).

Principal, however, does not mean exclusive; accordingly, I cannot

join the majority’s ultimate conclusion of irrelevance. Moreover,

our case law and civilian case law make clear that it is necessary

to consider the conduct of those executing the inspection in

determining whether it was a legitimate administrative inspection

or a subterfuge for a search for criminal evidence. See United

States v. Barnett, 18 M.J. 166 (CMA 1984) (mere presence of law

enforcement agents who suspect appellant of crime not sufficient

to turn regular inventory into subterfuge search); United States v.

Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20, 25-26 (CMA 1989) (conduct of persons

conducting inspection after searching accused’s spaces relevant on

question of whether subterfuge search occurred); Winters v. Board

of County Commissioners, 4 F.3d 848, 854-55 (10th cir. 1993),

cert. denied, 114 S.Ct. 1539 (1994); United States v. Johnson, 994

F.2d 740, 743 (10th Cir. 1993). Therefore, I join Judge Wiss in

concluding that the majority opinion is fatally flawed.

B.

I also join Judge Wiss in his recognition and rejection of the

majority’s general musings on the rights of servicemembers under

the Constitution, the Code, and the Manual for Courts-Martial.

The general thrust of this dicta is to raise doubt concerning the

l3a

protections afforded by the Constitution to members of our armed

forces and to disparage the efforts of the President in providing for

the re-enforcement of these rights at courts-martial. Contra United

States v. Johnston, No. 93-0465, = MJ. , ___ (CMA Sep.

23, 1994) (Sullivan, C.J., dissenting). Judicial restraint dictates

that this Court refrain from such disruptive conjecture and from

legal opinions suggesting that a servicemember is too generously

protected under military law.

Judge Crawford has at times signaled her intent to drive a wedge

between the American servicemember and his Constitutional rights.

See, e.g., United States v. Weiss, 36 M.J. 224, 234 (CMA 1992)

(Crawford, J., concurring in the result) (tie Appointments Clause

in Article II of the Constitution does not apply to the selection of

a military judiciary) United States v. Lopez, 35 M.J. 35, 41 (CMA

1992) (There "is an implicit recognition that the Supreme Court

has never expressly applied the Bill of Rights to the military, but

has assumed they applied."). Contra Nunn, The Fundamental

Principles of The Supreme Court's Jurisprudence in Military Cases

(hereafter Nunn), 29 Wake Forest L. Rev. 557, 564 (1994), where

it was stated: "Although the constitutional guarantees of the Bill

of Rights are generally available to servicemembers, the application

of these guarantees in the military setting differs considerably from

the manner in which they apply in civilian society." Today, she,

joined by a majority of this Court, signals her further

dissatisfaction with Presidential rulemaking designed to protect the

privacy of servicemembers.

In Weiss v. United States, US. ,__, 114. S.Ct. 752, 757

(1994), however, the Supreme Court squarely rejected Judge

Crawford’s position that military trial and appellate judges need

not be appointed pursuant to the Appointments Clause of the

Constitution. Moreover, in Middendorf v. Henry, 425 U.S. 25, 96

S.Ct. 1281 (1976), the Supreme Court expressly held that military

accused "are entitled to the due process of law guaranteed by the

Fifth Amendment." Then-Justice Rehnquist further commented

that the extent to which a particular constitutional right is available

to an accused is based on an "analysis of the interests of the

individual and those of the regime to which he is subject.” 425

14a

U.S. at 43, 96 S.Ct. at 1291. I see nothing in Davis v. United

States, _-: U.S. __, 114 S.Ct. 235 (1994), to the contrary,

particularly with respect to the Fourth Amendment ("Because the

Court of Military Appeals has held that our cases construing the

Fifth Amendment right to counsel apply to military interrogations

and control the admissibility of evidence that our precedents apply

to courts-martial[.]" (Citations omitted.)). Jd. at 2354 n.*/.

The Supreme Court "gives particular deference to the

determination of Congress" when analyzing the availability of

specific Constitutional safeguards in military prosecutions and

investigations. Moreover, it also provides some deference to the

President in these matters. See United States v. Mitchell, 39 M.J.

131, 136 (CMA 1994), citing Weiss v. United States, 114 S.Ct.

760-61; Goldman v. Weinberger, 475 U.S. 503, 507-08 (1986)

cert. filed in Mitchell, No. 94-174, 63 U.S.L.W. 3093 (July 18,

1994). Of course, this deference is not absolute. See Schlesinger

v. Councilman, 420 U.S. 738, 758-61 (1975). But see Rostker v.

Goldberg, 453 U.S. 57, 68 (1981) ("In deciding the question before

us we must be particularly careful not to substitute our judgment

of what is desirable for that of Congress, or our own evaluation of

evidence for a reasonable evaluation by the Legislative Branch.").

I for one do not join the majority’s woeful lament concerning the

President’s authorized rule-making in this area of the law. United

States v. McCarthy, 38 M.J. 398, 404 (CMA 1992) (Sullivan, C.J.,

concurring in result). See United States v. Lopez, 35 M.J. 35, 46,

48-49 (CMA 1992). (Sullivan, C.J., Concurring in the result). See

generally Nunn, supra, 29 Wake Forest L. Rev. at 564 and n.27.

I only add this final thought. In America’s eyes, the urinalysis

program of the United States Armed Forces and its success rests

on application of basic fairness for all servicemembers. Viewing

this case with the heart of a soldier, I see basic fairness lacking.

Captain Lindsay had decided to conduct random testing. Through

the manipulations of Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon

(members of this unit’s command structure), appellant was

purposefully selected to be tested. This situation is no different

from one where Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon preordained

appellant as the one to be tested by preparing a helmet full of

lSa

names for Captain Lindsay to pick from--and the helmet was full

of slips of paper all bearing appellant’s name.

This was not a random or a fair inspection. Such deception and

underhandedness should not be allowed in the American Armed

Forces. We expect fairness for ourselves and should require no

less for the American servicemember. Since Sun Tsu Wu in the

fourth century B.C., leaders of successful armed forces have

recognized that the right to be treated fairly has been the hallmark

of a superior fighting force. Let’s not give up that tradition and

undermine unit cohesiveness by condoning manipulation of our

system, especially when a Marine’s liberty is at stake. Perhaps this

Marine is guilty, but we cannot sacrifice fairness to convict him.

If we do, then all innocent servicemembers are at risk in the future

as a result of similar machinations of the system by those aiding

a commander in conducting an inspection.

WISS, Judge (dissenting):

Applying Mil.R.Evid 313(b), Manual for Courts-Martial, United

States, 1984, and the precedent of this Court to the inspection here

in issue, I disagree with the majority’s reasoning and its conclusion

that Captain Lindsay’s order to inspect the S-1 section was

permissible. The very essence of this rule is to serve legitimate

military exigencies while, at the same time, preserving to the

extent militarily possible the worth of individual privacy.

Lindsay’s search is outside of Mil.R.Evid 313’s protection for two

reasons.

First, the Government did not carry its burden of persuasion that

Lindsay’s own motivations were untainted. The record is clear:

Lindsay had decided upon a random urinalysis but had not decided

which unit elements to inspect. Out of nowhere, Captain Jackson

mysteriously asks a series of beat-around-the-bush questions about

Lindsay’s intentions and then offers up S-1 section for inspection.

Lindsay’s suspicions obviously and justifiably aroused by this

unheard-of volunteering for inspection, he asked Sergeant Ramon,

l6a

"Is there anything special going on in the S-1 shop that I should

know about?," to which Ramon replied, "I don’t think I’m at

liberty of discussing this with you at this particular time, sir." The

majority claims not to see a "’wink and a nod’" in this scenario.

___ M.J. at (12). To the contrary, I think it is preposterous that a

commander would have his suspicions satisfied by this exchange.

If anything, the response likely heightened, rather than allayed, his

suspicions.

Second, I do not agree with the Chinese Wall that the majority

builds up around the commander who made the inspection decision

here, isolating him and insulating him as a matter of law from

information held by his subordinates. I would not impute to such

a commander, without more, the knowledge held only by a

subordinate; but where that subordinate, because of that

knowledge, affirmatively influences the commander’s decision

whether to inspect or whom in inspect, the whole rationale

underlying Mil.R.Evid. 313 is undermined. A subordinate cannot

knowingly withhold information from the commander or mislead

the commander in some material respect and then proceed to

influence the commander’s inspection decision. Cf Franks v.

Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978) (essential statement in police

affidavit for search warrant that is a deliberate falsehood or made

in deliberate disregard of the truth voids warrant).

II

Not content to limit itself to answering the granted issue, the

majority spends substantial time--via dicta of the highest order--

signaling an apparent readiness to roll back decades of struggle by

this Court to reconcile the legitimate needs of military authorities

emanating from the unique demands of military readiness, on the

one hand, with the often-subconscious but nonetheless firmly

implanted expectations of human and civil rights held by citizens

of this country, on the other. That is not always an easy fit, but

it is one that must be sought.

In very general terms, that fit has been found by inquiring in

each instance whether a claimed "military exception" to an

17a

otherwise protected area of individual rights truly was necessary:

If so, the individual rights of those then in military service give

way for the good of the larger society which they serve; if not,

those rights shield the uniformed citizen as much as his or her

civilian brothers and sisters against the might of government. See

generally Weiss v. United States, 114 S.Ct. 752, 769 (Jan. 19,

1994) (Ginsburg, J., concurring) ("The care the Court has taken to

analyze petitioners’ claims demonstrates once again that men and

women in the Armed Forces do not leave constitutional safeguards

and judicial protection behind when they enter military service.").

In my view, the majority’s gratuitous comments on the military

search totally disregard the historical development in this area of

our jurisprudence and are of academic interest at best.

idan 5

18a

APPENDIX B

DEPARTMENT OF THE NAVY

OFFICE OF THE JUDGE ADVOCATE GENERAL

200 STOVALL STREET

ALEXANDRIA VA 22332-2400

IN THE U.S. NAVY-MARINE CORPS

COURT OF MILITARY REVIEW

BEFORE

JAA. FREYER EDWIN W. WELCH’ R.M. MOLLISON

UNITED STATES

v.

KEITH T. TAYLOR, 276 48 9753

STAFF SERGEANT (E-6), U.S. MARINE CORPS

NMCM 91 0669 Decided 24 February 1993

Sentence adjudged 3 May 1990. Military Judge: A. M. Crebbin.

Review pursuant to Article 66(c), UCMJ, of Special Court-Martial

convened by Commanding Officer, Sth Marine Regiment, Ist

Marine Division (Rein), FMF, Camp Pendleton, CA 92055-5507.

LT DAVID P. SHELDON, JAGC, USNR, Appellate Defense

Counsel

Capt BRETT D. BARKEY, USMCR, Appellate Government

Counsel

AS AN UNPUBLISHED DECISION, THIS OPINION DOES

NOT SERVE AS PRECEDENT.

WELCH, Judge:

19a

The appellant was convicted of wrongful use of marijuana

within 12 days prior to 12 Dec 1989! despite his pleas of not

guilty and testimony proclaiming his innocence. We affirm the

decision of the trial court.

I. The Factual Setting

Before discussing the issues raised by the assignments of error’,

we state the sequence of events presented in the record.

Thursday, 7 Dec 1989

The appellant had three wisdom teeth removed. His dentist gave

him a 48 hour "no duty" chit (to be followed by 24 hours of bed

rest). He was then a sergeant working as an administrator in the

S-1 section of the Sth Marine Regiment, Ist Marine Division, at

Camp Pendleton, California.

Captain Jackson was the adjutant and head of the S-1 section;

Gunnery Sergeant Bench was the senior noncommissioned officer.

Approximately 18 Marines were assigned to the S-1 Section,

including Sergeant Ramon, the regimental Substance Abuse

Control Officer (SACO), and other Marines who worked in the

SACO’s section (Corporal Siteman, Corporal Montion, and

Sergeant Stoll). Marines of the S-1 were under the command of

'In violation of Article 112a, Uniform Code of Military Justice (UCMJ), 10

U.S.C. § 912a. He was tried by a special court-martial that included officers and

enlisted members. The sentence: confinement for 45 days, reduction to pay grade

E-1, and a bad-conduct discharge, which was approved by the convening authority.

21, THE MILITARY JUDGE SHOULD HAVE SUPPRESSED

THE RESULTS OF THE URINALYSIS IN THIS CASE.

Il. THE MILITARY JUDGE ERRED IN NOT PERMITTING

THE DEFENSE TO PUT ON EXCULPATORY EVIDENCE

OF APPELLANT’S NON-USE OF MARIJUANA.

Ill. THE GOVERNMENT FAILED TO PROVE APPELLANT'S

GUILTY BEYOND A REASONABLE DOUBT.

sins al

3

20a

Captain Lindsay, the Commanding Officer, Headquarters

Company, Sth Marine Regiment.

According to Sergeant Ramon, he received an anonymous

telephone call that was recorded on his answering machine during

the night of 7 Dec 1989. The caller advised that someone in the

S-1 had been using drugs.

Friday, 8 Dec 1989

Sometime during the day, Captain Lindsay made the decision to

order random urinalysis testing during the following week. He

told his executive officer to begin the process and to tell his SACO

that he wanted the testing done. He had several reasons for the

decision. First, he anticipated that Sergeant Ramon would be

separated from the Marine Corps sometime in the immediate

future, and he did not want to conduct a urinalysis testing at the

last minute during Sergeant Ramon’s turn-over with his relief.

Second, he wanted to deter the use of illegal drugs by Marines

during the approaching holiday season. Third, he wanted to

comply with Marine Corps directives requiring urinalysis testing.

When Captain Lindsay made the decision to conduct random

urinalysis testing, he had not decided exactly how the testing

would be conducted (e.g., whether to "pull a section out of a hat

or to say everyone with this particular number ending SSN, or a

percentage wide across the board.") (R. 70). That day, Captain

Lindsay discussed the options with Sergeant Ramon.

Sometime during the day, Sergeant Ramon told Captain Jackson

about the anonymous report on his answering machine reporting

drug use by someone in the S-1. Captain Jackson told Sergeant

Ramon that he would "get back with him." (R. 33).

Monday, 11 Dec 1989

Sometime during the morning, Sergeant Ramon told Captain

Jackson that a former member of the S-1 section had reported to

him that the appellant was a drug user. Initially, Sergeant Ramon

2la

did not tell Captain Jackson the identity of the Marine who made

the report. About an hour later, he told Captain Jackson the

identity of the informer.

Captain Jackson called Captain Lindsay and asked when Captain

Lindsay planned on doing urinalysis testing. Captain Lindsay

replied, "Well, this week." Captain Jackson responded, "How do

you plan to do it?" After Captain Lindsay replied, "It’s going to

be random," Captain Jackson stated, "Well, what about the S-|

section?" Captain Lindsay then said, "Fine, that fits right along,

and why not just go ahead and get it out of the way." (R. 46).

During the conversation, Captain Jackson did nos tell Captain

Lindsay about information he had received trom Sergeant Ramon.

Later, Captain Lindsay signed a letter directing that random

urinalysis testing of members of the S-1 section begin at 9730,

Tuesday 12 Dec 1989.

Corporal Siteman testified that he saw the appellant, during the

morning, typing the letter directing the urinalysis testing. (R. at

246). The appellant denies that he typed the letter.

While the letter was being processed, just prior to lunch,

Corporal Siteman heard the appellant making a telephone call. He

heard the appellant say: "Hey, staff sergeant, this is Taylor. Can

you hook me up with some Golden Seal," and that "he would be

over that night to pick it up." (R. at 249). Apparently, "Golden

Seal" is the diuretic believed by some to flush illegal drugs from

their body.

At about 1300, Gunnery Sergeant Bench told the appellant to

leave work and go home because the appellant’s face was swollen

and the appellant was not feeling well. The appellant did as

directed.

At about 2000, the appellant went to the dental clinic and

complained of pain. He was given "percocets,” a pain killer, and

a "no duty" chit that would expire at 0800, Wednesday, 13 Dec

1989.

Tuesday, 12 Dec 1989

22a

At about 0720, the appellant called Gunnery Sergeant Bench

from home and told the gunnery sergeant about going to the dental

clinic the prior night and obtaining a "no duty” chit. Gunnery

Sergeant Bench told the appellant not to come to work.

Sometime between 0800 and 1000, Captain Jackson called the

appellant at home. After their discussion, Captain Jackson called

the dental clinic and was incorrectly advised that the appellant had

not come to the dental clinic the prior night.

At about 1500, Captain Jackson told Gunnery Sergeant Bench

to tell the appellant to get into work and to bring his "no duty"

chit. At about 1630, the appellant arrived at the office and

presented his chit. He was then told to provide a urine specimen.’

Il. The Order to Provide Urine

We disagree with the appellant’s contention that Captain

Lindsay’s order to conduct urinalysis was a subterfuge search for

contraband rather than a lawful- inspection. We find that the

primary purpose of the order was to comply with Marine Corps

policy concerning urinalysis testing (i.e., to deter use of illegal

drugs). More importantly, we find that Captain Lindsay’s actions

were not motivated by a desire to provide a subterfuge for

avoiding limitations that apply to a seatch and seizure in a criminal

investigation. See United States v. Thatcher, 28 M.J. 20 (C.M.A.

1989) and United States v. Rogers, 30 M.J. 824 (C.G.C.M.R.),

petition denied, 32 M.J. 45 (C.M.A. 1990).

True, Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon had acquired

knowledge concerning the accused’s illegal use of drugs.

However, they never conveyed this information to Captain

Lindsay, their commanding officer. This lack of knowledge by

Captain Lindsay, coupled with the undisputed evidence of his

desire to complete urinalysis testing before his experienced SACO

left the command, convinces us that we should not impute to

*The trial judge made extensive findings concerning the sequence of events.

(R. 386-389).

23a

Captain Lindsay the knowledge acquired by his subordinates,

which is, essentially, the position advocated by the appellant.’

We do not agree with the appellant’s contention that Mil.R.Evid.

313(b)’ required the Government to prove the existence of an

inspection by clear and convincing evidence. Our conclusion is

based on the fact that Captain Lindsay did not know there had

been a recent report of a specific offense in his unit when he

ordered urinalysis testing of members of his S-1 section. The

"conscious command decision" necessary to trigger the clear and

convincing burden of proof required by Mil.R.Evid. 313(b) is

lacking in this case. See United States v. Pappas, 30 M.J. 513,

517 (A.F.C.M.R.), petition denied, 31 M.J. 490 (C.M.A. 1990).

Obviously, Captain Lindsay’s decision to select the S-1 scction

for urinalysis testing was influenced to some extent by Captain

Jackson’s telephone call to him. However, that fact is not

dispositive of the issue. At the time of the conversation, Captain

Lindsay had already decided to conduct random testing. All the

call did was to subtlety suggest to him that he should select the S-|

for testing; it in no way singled out the appellant for testing.

We agree with the Government’s argument that case law does

not require that a commanding officer’s selection of a unit or

section to be tested must be based on an absolutely random basis.

In our opinion, a commanding officer has some discretion in such

‘If we did impute the knowledge acquired by Captain Jackson and Sergeant

Ramon to their commanding officer, then we would resolve this case adversely to

the appellant on the alternative theory advanced by the Government in footnote 2

of its brief (i.e., that the commanding officer had probable cause to order appellant

to submit to urinalysis testing, per guidance in United States v. Middleton, 10

M.J. 123, 134 (C.M.A. 1987)).

‘Which states in part that the Government must prove the existence of an

inspection by “clear and convincing" evidence if the purpose of a challenged

examination is to locate contraband, and the examination was "immediately

following a report of a specific offense in the unit." We add that if the burden to

prove the existence of an inspection in this case was by "clear and convincing”

evidence, we would find that the Government had carried that burden.

24a

matters, so long as his actions do not arbitrarily focus on one or

more individuals whom he suspects used drugs illegally. Stated

otherwise, we do not think that a commander has to "roll the dice"

or "pick a number" when he selects a unit for inspection by

urinalysis testing, albeit, such a method moots many appellate

issues. See United States v. Flowers, 26 M.J. 463 (C.M.A. 1988).

In this regard, the applicable Marine Corps Order®, states in part

that random urinalysis

must be conducted on all Marines . . . on a routine

basis... . A system should be used to ensure that

all Marines are tested annually in a random

fashion. Random testing may take several forms,

to include unit sweeps (simultaneous testing of all

members of a command), partial testing by... .

work section.

Thus, Captain Lindsay’s decision to test all members of his S-1

section clearly comported with directives of the Commandant of

the Marine Corps. Guidance in the U.S. Navy is similar. See

United States v. Daskam, 31 M.J. 77 (C.M.A. 1990).

In this case, the commander simply decided that an entire

section would be tested. He did so without knowledge that the two

members of the section, Captain Jackson and Sergeant Ramon,

suspected that another member of the section had illegally used

drugs. We deem it of no significance that the appellant was

ordered to report to his work section from his quarters after

receiving "no duty" chit from a dental officer. In our opinion,

Captain Jackson had authority to order the appellant, his

subordinate, to report to work for urinalysis testing despite the

appellant’s receipt of a "no duty" chit from his dentist.

Additionally, we observe that Captain Jackson had investigated the

appellant’s situation on 12 Dec 1989 and been advised by someone

at the dental clinic that appellant had not been to the dental clinic.

Although not pivotal to our decision, this fact manifests to us that

® MCO P5300.12, 4 3003.3.

25a

Captain Jackson was diligently pursuing his duties as an officer of

Marines in an appropriate manner, albeit he received a "bad scoop"

from someone at the dental clinic.

At the bottom line, this is not a case where a servicemember has

been unreasonably singled out for urinalysis testing by a

commander who merely suspects drug use. This appellant was

required to do only what was required of all Marines in his work

section. In our opinion, issuance of the order that led to

appellant’s conviction was in accordance with principles

established by a growing line of cases concerning urinalysis

testing. See United States v. Williams, 35 M.J. 323 (C.M.A. 1992),

and United States v. Daskam, supra, and cases cited therein.

III. Procedural Irregularities in the Urine Collection Process

We disagree with the appellant’s position that irregularities in

the collection process made the results of urinaiysis iesting

unreliable as a matter of law.

The trial judge made extensive findings concerning the steps

taken by Marines involved in the collection process (see R. 524-

527 or pages 13-15 of Government counsel’s brief), and appellate

counsel have thoroughly briefed and argued the issues relating to

the trial judge’s findings. In a nutshell, appellant complains that

the following five alleged errors occurred:

a. The SACO, Sergeant Ramon, was not a_ staff

noncommissioned officer, contrary to wording in the Urinalysis

Coordinator’s Handbook (handbook), which cites a need to assign

either an officer or staff noncommissioned officer to this important

position to "maintain the credibility and integrity of the program"

etc.

b. One individual, Sergeant Ramon, served as both the observer

and coordinator for the collection of appellant’s specimen, contrary

to cited wording in the handbook and applicable local order,

Marine Corps Base Order P5300.13A.

26a

c. The observer, Sergeant Ramon, also supplied a specimen for

testing, contrary to cited wording in the handbook and applicable

local order.

d. After the appellant’s urine specimen tested negative during

the screening test at Camp Pendleton’s Consolidated Substance

Abuse Center (CSACC), the specimen was not destroyed as

required by the applicable base order; rather, it was sent to the

Navy Drug Screening Laboratory in San Diego, where it tested

positive.

e. The appellant’s sample sat for seven days at Camp Pendleton

before it was sent to the laboratory in San Diego, contrary to cited

wording in the handbook which recommends against storage of

such specimens for any length of time.

Our reading of United States v. Pollard, 27 M.J. 376 (C.M.A.

1989), United States v. Konieczka, 31 M.J.289 (C.M.A. 1990), and

United States v. Whipple, 28 M.J. 314 (C.M.A. 1989) leads us to

adopt the position advocated by the Government with regard to

each of the alleged discrepancies. More specifically, proceeding

seriatim, we conclude:

a. The assignment of a sergeant SACO, vice an officer of staff

noncommissioned officer, was not so significant in terms of

ensuring the fundamental reliability of the specimen collection

process that the military judge abused his discretion in admitting

the urinalysis result and allowing the matter to be considered by

the members. Whipple; Pollard.

b. An observer was not required as a condition precedent to

admissibility of appellant’s specimen.

c. Sergeant Ramon and the appellant did not provide specimens

in the same batch of specimens. Sergeant Ramon’s was in batch

number 124, the first batch; the appellant’s was in batch number

126. Sergeant Ramon never touched batch number 124; Sergeant

Stoll handled that batch. Sergeant Ramon assisted Sergeant Stoll

by filling out the top part of the urine sample custody document

27a

that accompanied the appellant’s specimen (R. 726); however, he

did not handle the specimens in batch number 126 (ergo, he was

not in a position to switch appellant’s sample with his).

d. Appellant’s urine specimen tested negative as the CSACC at

Camp Pendleton, based on EMIT testing. (R. 863). Thereafter,

the Officer-in-Charge of the CSACC directed that 1000 samples

screened as negative be sent to the Navy Drug Screening

Laboratory in San Diego. The appellant’s specimen was one of

the 1000; it tested positive when exposed to more sophisticated

testing, and the results led to his conviction. Though the base

order provided for the disposal of negative urine specimens by

CSACC, the import of the order was more in the nature of a grant

of authority for the disposal of unneeded urine, than it was the

grant of amnesty or the creation of some technical persona! right

against detection. Additionally, the motive for forwarding the

block of samples--quality control--was legitimate. The size and

status of the block of specimens forwarded belie any notion that

the appellant was discriminated against or in some way targeted as

in Konieczka. Like the initial screening, the subsequent analysis

by the laboratory was an administrative inspection, and nothing

occurred that transmogrified it into something else.

e. We consider that the handbook’s comments regarding storage

of specimens are merely hortatory; they grant no rights to the

accused which form the basis of any relief before this Court.

Additionally, the comments are contrary to guidance mandating

storage of specimens at the Navy Drug Screening Laboratory in

San Diego.

IV. Exclusion of Testimony

The Government agrees that the trial judge erred by (a) not

letting the appellant’s girl friend, Ms. Goins, testify that neither she

nor the appellant used marijuana, and (b) not allowing the

appellant to testify that his girl friend did not use marijuana.

We agree with the Government that an application of the

principles in United States v. Weeks, 20 M.J. 22 (C.M.A. 1985) to

28a

the case at bar leads to the conclusion that the error does not

require reversal of the conviction. Weeks requires that we analyze

four factors when a judge erroneously denies an accused the

presence of a requested witness: (a) the strength of the

Government’s case, (b) the plausibility of the defense theory, (c)

the materiality of the proffered testimony, and (d) the quality of

the defense evidence and whether there is any substitute for the

excluded evidence in the record.

Focusing on the first Weeks factor, we conclude that there are at

least eight items of evidence indicative of an exceptionally strong

* case against the appellant. These eight items are listed below in

Part V of our opinion, our evaluation of the evidence. Turning to

the second factor, we observe that the defense theory on the merits

was that the urinalysis testing was flawed from start to finish (i.e.,

that the Government could not prove beyond reasonable doubt that

the appellant’s urine tested positive) and that the appellant had a

good character (i.e., he was not the type person who would commit

the offense charged). Frankly, in the face of the evidence

marshalled by the government, we have little confidence in the

theory of innocence, and, as our following discussion will indicate,

we do not believe that either the proffered testimony of Ms. Goins

or the appellant would significantly advance this theory. In this

case, factors three and four of the Weeks factors run together. In

our opinion, the materiality of both Ms. Goins’ testimony and the

appellant’s testimony about her is quite low. In reaching this

conclusion, we have reviewed the proffered testimony of Ms.

Goins that appears in Appellate Exhibit XXI ("She is expected to

testify that she has never done drugs of any kind nor encouraged

Staff Sergeant Taylor to misuse them. Ms. Goins is expected to

testify that Staff Sergeant Taylor has never used marijuana in her

presence nor has he ever given her any indication that he was

under the influence of marijuana."). If the above-cited testimony

had been offered, along with the appellant’s testimony that Ms.

Goins had never smoked marijuana, we are confident that it would

have received little weight. This evaluation is based upon

considerations discussed by the trial judge when he excluded this

evidence (e.g., that the testimony does not exclude the possibility

that the appellant smoked marijuana at a time when Ms. Goins was

29a

not present) and our belief that testimony of this nature is

frequently viewed with skepticism by court members.

Additionally, the appellant presented four witnesses who testified

to his good military character, plus copies of numerous documents

in his service record indicative of his good military character.

Based upon these factors, we find that the appellant was not

prejudiced by the actions of the judge that are the subject of the

second assignment of error.

V. Evaluation of Evidence

We find that the evidence proves the appellant’s guilt beyond

reasonable doubt.

As evidenced by the weight of the record of trial and

accompanying papers we have evaluated, this case was thoroughly

litigated at both the trial and appellate level. The evidence against

the appellant includes the following damning proof of guilt:

a: The positive urinalysis test result based on sophisticated

testing at the Navy Screening Laboratory in San Diego. (R. 755-

794).

b. Expert testimony indicating that the re-test of appellant's

specimen might not have disclosed the presence of percocet even

if the appellant had taken the drug. (R. 986).

c. Corporal Siteman’s testimony that he heard the appellant on

the telephone on 11 Dec 1989 asking a staff sergeant to assist him

in getting "Golden Seal," a substance believed by some to flush

drugs from the system.

d. Corporal Siteman’s testimony that the appellant had told him

during the first week in Dec 1989 about smoking marijuana with

a girl friend.

e. Sergeant Ramon’s testimony that the appellant had told him

"off the record" during the urine collection process that he, the

appellant, had used marijuana, that he indicated that he would

30a

"pop-positive," and that he stated while urinating "[t]here goes my

career."

f. The appellant’s admission that he had said that he was going

to "pop" "just to find out what was going on as far as being

recalled to work." (R. 1033).

g. The evidence that appellant was in pain because of dental

surgery and that he received pain killers and a "no duty" chit,

factors indicating a reason and opportunity to use marijuana with

a diminished expectation of being caught.

h. Testimony indicating that the appellant acquired knowledge

that his section would undergo urinalysis testing and soon

thereafter managed to be sent home.

In summary, we are convinced beyond a reasonable doubt that

the requested witness would not have tipped the balance in the

appellant’s favor and that the evidence of guilt was so strong as to

show no reasonable possibility of prejudice concerning his

conviction for marijuana use. United States v. Fisher, 24 M.J. 358

(C.M.A. 1987). We view as particularly fanciful the appellant’s

theory that he was framed.

For the reasons stated, we conclude that the findings and

sentence are correct in law and fact and that no error materially

prejudicial to the substantial right of the appellant was committed.

Accordingly, the findings and sentence as approved on review

below are affirmed.

EDWIN W. WELCH

(SEE CONCURRING/DISSENTING OPINION)

J. A. FREYER

Judge MOLLISON concurs.

3la~

R. M. MOLLISON

FREYER, Senior Judge (concurring in part and dissenting in part):

I concur in the excellent analysis of the evidence contained in

the principal opinion and agree that, if the results of the urinalysis

were properly admitted, the conviction should stand.

I cannot, however, accept the conclusion that the urinalysis

satisfied the criteria for a random inspection. The principal

opinion acknowledges the unquestionable reality that Captain

Jackson’s volunteering of his section influenced Captain Lindsay's

selection of that section for testing. The evidence also shows that

Captain Jackson volunteered his section immediately after receiving

a report that the appellant was a drug user, and that legally

significant circumstance, elucidated further by the persistent efforts

made to ensure that the appellant was tested, while the executive

officer was permanently excused when he was temporarily unable

to provide a sample, ' establishes that the report received by

Captain Jackson concerning the appellant strongly influenced his

decision to volunteer his section in order to "catch" the appellant.

If the report that the appellant was a drug user motivated Captain

Jackson to volunteer his section, and Captain Jackson's

volunteering of his section influenced Captain Lindsay to single

out that particular section for urinalysis, | cannot understand how

the report that the appellant was a drug user did not play a

proximately causative role in the resulting urinalysis of Captain

Jackson’s section so as to destroy its randomness.

In some respects, this situation strikes me as analogous to the

situation in which material facts are omitted from the affidavit

supporting an application for a search warrant. Had Captain

Jackson candidly informed Captain Lindsay that he was

volunteering his section because he wanted to catch the appellant

after having received what was at the time an unsubstantiated

report that the appellant was a drug user, Captain Lindsay would

\ Soe United States v. Parker, 27 M.J. $22, 527 (A.F.C.M.R. 1988).

32a

have been precluded from ordering an "inspection" urinalysis of

that particular section, unless it happened, nevertheless, to be

picked for inspection by some process ensuring random selection,

which the Government would have the burden of proving by clear

and convincing evidence. Not surprisingly, therefore, Captain

Jackson intentionally omitted that material information from his

communication to Captain Lindsay. In my view, the principles of

Franks v. Delaware, 438 U.S. 154 (1978), which have been held

to apply equally to omissions as to express falsehoods, United

States v. Williams, 737 F.2d 594, 604 (7th Cir. 1984), also vitiate

the randomness of the urinalysis ordered by Captain Lindsay in

this case.

Other information acquired by Captain Jackson may have

attained the level of probably cause to seize the appellant’s urine,

but it was acquired after the "inspection" of Captain Jackson’s

section had already been ordered by Captain Lindsay. There is no

evidence that it was ever communicated to Captain Lindsay. In

United States v. Middleton, 10 M.J. 123 (C.M.A. 1987), the

commander with power to order a search was on the scene and was

personally aware of the information constituting probable cause

when the search was conducted; hence, his authorization, albeit

unarticulated, could be implied from the circumstarices. Probable

cause does not exist in the air; it must at least reside in the mind

of the official empowered to authorize a search before an

authorization can be implied so as to convert a "bad" inspection

into a "good" search. If the mere existence of probable cause were

sufficient to validate any unauthorized (in the sense of warrantless)

search, the authorization requirement would, in effect, be banished

from military law, and every unauthorized search would be

examined retrospectively, like an apprehension, for probable cause.

That is not a search-and-seizure doctrine which either the

Constitution would tolerate or the President had prescribed. In any

event, I am aware of no basis for imputing to Captain Lindsay any

knowledge acquired by Captain Jackson after Captain Lindsay had

already ordered the "inspection" of Captain Jackson’s section.

Absent any other basis for admitting the urinalysis results, I am

of the opinion that the motion to suppress them should have been

33a

granted.

J. A. FREYER

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.