Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kirkpatrick v. California

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

cies. 226) 2 =o @) 8 £2 ee Ss ee PO a ES

Supreme Court, uid

FILED

D941 11 4 NOV 9 1994

ss OFFICE. OF JHE GLERK

¢

N

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

¢

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK, JR.,

Petitioner,

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

+

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of California

¢

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

Epwarp J. Horowitz

Epwarp J. Horowitz,

A Professional Corporation

11661 San Vicente Blvd.

Los Angeles, CA 90049

(310) 826-6619

Attorney for Petitioner

William Kirkpatrick, Jr.

oO llllllEEE=E=SaoEoaE=Ee=Ss=eel_l_l=aEa—e—e————————

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Ina death penalty trial where the guilt and pen-

alty phases are bifurcated, may the defendant exercise his

absolute right of self-representation at the penalty phase

only?

2. If so, must the defendant assert his right to self-

representation before the guilt phase begins or may he

await the verdict at that phase and assert his right before

the penalty phase begins, so long as no undue delay in

the penalty phase would ensue?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .......ccccccuccccccccens i

TABLE OF AUTHIORITIOS .. «0. cccscccsncsacvecsens iv

OPINIONS GELOW .....ccsscccsccnteesnanswwnsseeds 2

ai ay 8) rere 2

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL AUTHORITIES

INVOLVED) 2. iscescivaccssacgsceosnns ene 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE... ..cccvnccscssaccenus 4

A. Pretrial ProceeGings ....icescacccasnunsvaduaeus 4

B. The Guilt Phase of Gee Teil «osc suse assecvcccs 4

C. Petitioner’s Requests for Self-

Representation at the Penalty Phase ........... 5

D. The California Supreme Court’s Ruling on

the Self-Representation Issues...............++. 8

E. The Penalty Phase of the Trial...............-. 10

PRESERVATION OF ISSUES ............--+-e00-- 11

REASONS FOR CERTIORARI............---eeeeee> 11

I. THIS COURT HAS NEVER ADDRESSED THE

QUESTION WHETHER A DEFENDANT IN A

BIFURCATED DEATH PENALTY TRIAL MAY

EXERCISE HIS ABSOLUTE RIGHT OF SELF-

REPRESENTATION AT THE PENALTY

PHASE ONLY. THE PRESENT CASE IS

APPROPRIATE FOR DETERMINATION OF

THES QUESTION |. asc cacvnesanGctaiacncess

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Il. A DEFENDANT WHO DESIRES TO REPRE-

SENT HIMSELF ONLY AT THE PENALTY

PHASE OF A BIFURCATED CAPITAL TRIAL

SHOULD BE ALLOWED TO EXERCISE THAT

RIGHT AFTER THE GUILT PHASE CON-

CLUDES, SO LONG AS NO UNDUE DELAY

IN THE PENALTY TRIAL ENSUES..........

ROPE TLL CREE ECET ETE TTCTEE EET

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

CASES

Faretta v. California, 422 U.S. 806, 95 S.Ct. 2525, 45

C28; 2 Be Gres kos hc cb neescaneeeeaeas passim

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 49

L.Ed.2d 859 (1976), rehrg. den., 429 U.S. 875, 97

DOD. B50; TR Re BS bos hoes hae eve atatsntice = 12

Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337, 90 S.Ct. 1057, 25

eS EG Es Meee reer re ee rer 12

McKaskle v. Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168, 104 S.Ct. 944, 79

L.Ed.2d 122 (1984)........... cece eee e cece cence nes 14

People v. Bloom, 48 Cal.3d 1194, 259 Cal.Rptr. 669,

FPO Pe le SIs 64.0 5 00d sake ee ean eeseaeeks x 9

People v. Hamilton 45 Cal.3d 351, 247 Cal.Rptr. 31,

oe Be eee eye yey er re 9

People v. Hardy 2 Cal.4th 86, 5 Cal.Rptr.2d 796, 825

oe Ee. | Peer re rrrry Ser Peer ee rrr re 9

People v. Windham, 19 Cal.3d 121, 137 Cal.Rptr. 8,

560 P.2d 1187 (1977), cert. den., 434 U.S. 848 ..... 6, 9

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amendment VI........... 3

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV ......... K

STATUTES

yA a | er ee ere ree rer 2

California Penal Code section 187...............2.00: 4

California Penal Code section 190.2(a)(3)............. 4

PSS pee a ot a Mate ate Tao a Sled

Pag POE Lae ee eT ee ete ot OE Sg ey ety eee OS 2

PEE LAE ORS Ae See CNET NY, CEE £

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page(s)

California Penal Code section 190.2(a)(17)(i).......... 4

California Penal Code section 190.2(a)(17)(vii)........ 4

California Penal Code section 211.................... 4

California Penal Code section 459...............000.. 4

RULES

Supreme Court Rule 13.1 .........-..sceesccsseeneces 2

Supreme Court Rule 30.1 ........6 ccc ceseeecssceeeses 2

SON ek Ee Se SERS Se RTE Ne CREM IPE ME OAR SEY SND ee

+

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

+

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK, JR.,

Petitioner,

STATE OF CALIFORNIA,

Respondent.

+

Petition For Writ Of Certiorari

To The Supreme Court Of California

*

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

William Kirkpatrick, Jr., respectfully petitions for

issuance of a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

and opinion of the Supreme Court of California which

affirmed petitioner’s death sentence. At issue here are

two important questions left unresolved by this Honor-

able Court’s decision in Faretta v. California 422 U.S. 806,

95 S.Ct. 2525, 45 L.Ed.2d 562 (1975), i.e., (1) may a defen-

dant in a bifurcated capital trial exercise his or her consti-

tutional right of self-representation at the penalty phase

only, and (2) if so, when must the defendant assert the

right? These questions were foreseen in the dissenting

opinion of Justice Blackmun (in which Chief Justice Bur-

ger and Justice Rehnquist joined): “How soon in the

criminal proceeding must a defendant decide between

1

proceeding by counsel or pro se? Must he be allowed to

switch in midtrial? . . . I assume that many of these

questions will be answered in due course.” (422 U.S. at

852.)

OPINIONS BELOW

The majority and concurring opinions of the Supreme

Court of California are officially reported at 7 Cal.4th 988,

and unofficially reported at 30 Cal.Rptr.2d 818 and 874

P.2d 248. The official report of the opinion is reproduced

as Appendix A to this petition. (App. 1-47.) The order

denying petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing is unreported

and is attached as Appendix B. (App. 48-49.)

¢

JURISDICTION

This Court has jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. section

1257(a).

The decision of the Supreme Court of California was

filed on June 13, 1994, affirming petitioner’s 1984 convic-

tions and death sentence for murder, robbery and burgl-

ary. The Supreme Court of California denied a timely

petition for rehearing on August 11, 1994, after modifying

its opinion on a point not relevant to this Petition. (See

Appendix B.) This Petition is timely filed pursuant to

Supreme Court Rules 13.1 and 30.1.

*

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

AUTHORITIES INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment VI, provides:

“In all criminal prosecutions, the accused

shall enjoy the right to a speedy and public trial,

by an impartial jury of the State and district

wherein the crime shall have been committed,

which district shall have been previously ascer-

tained by law, and to be informed of the nature

and cause of the accusation; to be confronted

with the witnesses against him, to have com-

pulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his

favor, and to have the Assistance of Counsel for

his defence.”

United States Constitution, Amendment XIV, section

1, provides:

“All persons born or naturalized in the

United States, and subject to the jurisdiction

thereof, are citizens of the United States and of

the State wherein they reside. No State shall

make or enforce any law which shall abridge the

privileges or immunities of citizens of the

United States; nor shall any State deprive any

person of life, liberty, or property, without due

process of law; nor deny to any person within

its jurisdiction the equal protection of the laws.”

*

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Pretrial Proceedings.

Petitioner was charged in an information filed Sep-

tember 29, 1983, with two counts of murder in violation

of California Penal Code section 187, two counts of rob-

bery in violation of California Penal Code section 211 and

two counts of burglary in violation of California Penal

Code section 459. Inter alia, the information further

alleged special circumstances, permitting the death pen-

alty, under California Penal Code sections 190.2(a)(17)(i)

(robbery), 190.2(a)(17)(vii) (burglary), and 190.2(a)(3)

(double murder). (CT 392-399.)!

On December 30, 1983, the Public Defender’s Office

declared a conflict of interest; private counsel were

appointed to represent petitioner. (CT 422; RT A-1.) On

March 19, 1984, the trial court denied petitioner’s motion

that he be made co-counsel. (RT A-27.)

B. The Guilt Phase of the Trial.

Jury selection began on April 10, 1984 and continued

through May 2, 1984, when a jury panel and four alter-

nates were sworn. (CT 443, 477-478, 486-495; RT

171-2309.)

The guilt phase of the trial began on May 7, 1984 and

concluded on May 24. (CT 497-509; RT 2405-3600.) The

jury deliberated on May 29, 30, and 31, and June 1, 4, and

5. (CT 511, 514, 515, 526, 601; RT 3787-3806.) It returned

1 “CT” refers to the Clerk’s Transcript on Appeal. “RT”

refers to the Reporter’s Transcript on Appeal.

verdicts on June 5 which found petitioner guilty as

charged and further found that all of the special allega-

tions were true. (CT 587-602; RT 3806-3820.)

C. Petitioner’s Requests for Self-Representation at

the Penalty Phase.

Near the end of the guilt phase of the trial, petitioner

wrote several letters to the court expressing dissatisfac-

tion with his appointed counsel and requesting their dis-

missal. (RT 3803.) On June 6, 1984, the day after the jury

returned its guilt phase verdicts, a hearing was held in

chambers at which time petitioner requested that his

counsel be relieved and that he be permitted to proceed

pro se at the penalty phase. (RT 3805-3806, 3924-3925.) The

following colloquy transpired:

“THE DEFENDANT: I have discussed the

disagreements we had between us with [appoin-

ted counsel] Mr. Fountain and Mr. Del Gobbo,

and I’ve reached a point with them that I will

accept them as standby counsel. And, um,

they’ll advise me in certain matters.

“THE COURT: Is it your request at this

time to go forward in the penalty phase of this

trial representing yourself in propria persona?

“THE DEFENDANT: Yes, it is.” (RT 3925.)

The court questioned petitioner about his ability to con-

duct his own defense and warned him of some of the

dangers of self-representation. (RT 3925-3929.) In the

course of doing so, the court noted that petitioner

appeared “to have an excellent command of the English

language. You do appear to be extremely articulate.” (RT

3926.)

The court next asked if petitioner would be prepared

to go forward with the penalty phase in one week, i.e., on

Wednesday, June 13, 1984. Petitioner asked for three more

court days, i.e., until Monday, June 18, 1984. The court

responded: “All right. I am not going to quibble for a few

more days.” (RT 3929.) Then, one of petitioner’s appoin-

ted attorneys, Mr. Fountain, interrupted and argued that

petitioner had no constitutional right to represent himself

at the penalty phase. Mr. Fountain requested that he and

co-counsel Mr. Del Gobbo be permitted to continue to

represent petitioner at the penalty phase. (RT 3921-3929.)

After hearing the prosecutor’s comments, the court took

the matter under submission until Friday, June 8, 1984.

(RT 3933.)

On June 8, 1984, petitioner reiterated his request to

represent himself at the penalty phase. The court asked

him more questions regarding self-representation. (RT

3934-3935.) The court then declared that under People v.

Windham 19 Cal.3d 121, 137 Cal.Rptr. 8, 560 P.2d 1187

(1977), cert. den., 434 U.S. 848, it had the discretion to deny

petitioner’s motion once the trial had begun, and noted

that petitioner wanted a continuance, “albeit he’s indi-

cated it is not a long one, at least one that would cause

some disruption.” (RT 3936-3938.) The court noted that

“other than an expression of general dissatisfaction that

has been presented to this Court by the defendant in

letters after the trial had begun, there is nothing in the

record to show that the defendant at any time prior to

this trial had ever asked for pro per status.” (RT 3937.)

The court then indicated that petitioner’s appointed

counsel had performed “quite admirably” and that there

was nothing to support any incompetency on the part of

counsel. (RT 3939.) Petitioner replied that his instructions

to his attorneys regarding the subpoenaing and examina-

tion of witnesses had been ignored and that he had a

“serious lack of faith in counsel.” He stated:

“...I1 really do not feel that, um, I can trust

them at this particular point to, um, save my

life, as it were. I’d rather do it myself, which I’m

confident that I can.” (RT 3940.)

The court asked more questions about his ability to

examine witnesses, and petitioner responded:

“I know the witnesses. I know exactly what

I am going to ask them. I won’t have to con-

stantly interrupt the proceeding of the court to

relay this to the attorneys.” (RT 3942.)

Defense counsel Fountain then interrupted to tell the

court that he felt any previous conflict as to how to

conduct the penalty hearing had “been diminished some-

what” and that if petitioner would cooperate, counsel

would do their best to obtain a life sentence for him. (RT

3942-3943.)

The court then denied petitioner’s Faretta motion as

untimely and stated that the factors given by petitioner

for self-representation presented: “no overwhelming rea-

son for the court at this time to grant pro per status.” (RT

3945.)

Petitioner complained that if he were not allowed to

proceed pro se, he would not remain in the courtroom

during the penalty phase. He stated that his testimony

would be “vital.” (RT 3946-3947.) The court then called a

recess and talked to petitioner’s counsel in chambers.

After the recess, the court asked petitioner:

“It is my understanding that in lieu of being

granted pro per status, which I have indicated I

will not grant you total pro per status, it is your

desire to be granted co-counsel status in this

case for the purpose of the penalty phase of the

trial?” (RT 3945-3949.)

Petitioner accepted co-counsel status. (RT 3949.)

Petitioner’s counsel immediately asked for and the

court granted a continuance of the beginning of the pen-

alty phase to Monday, June 18, 1984, the same date that

petitioner had earlier sought as part of his request for

self-representation. (RT 3950.)

D. The California Supreme Court’s Ruling on the

Self-Representation Issues.

The majority opinion of the Supreme Court of Cali-

fornia discussed the self-representation issues and

rejected petitioner’s contentions as follows:

“Defendant argues that a criminal defen-

dant’s right to self-representation under the

Sixth and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution, as defined and

explained by the United States Supreme Court

in Faretta v. California (1975) 422 U.S. 806 [45

L.Ed.2d 562, 95 S.Ct. 2525], extends to the pen-

alty phase of a capital trial. Recognizing that the

right of self-representation is absolute only if

asserted a reasonable time before trial begins

(People v. Windham (1977) 19 Cal.3d 121, 127-129

[137 Cal.Rptr. 8, 560 P.2d 1187]), defendant fur-

ther argues that the guilt and penalty phases of

a capital prosecution should be deemed separate

trials, so that a motion for self-representation at

the penalty phase is timely if made a reasonable

time before the penalty phase begins.

“For the purpose of assessing the timeliness

of a motion for self-representation, the guilt and

penalty phases in a capital prosecution are not

separate trials but parts of a single trial. (People

v. Hardy (1992) 2 Cal.4th 86, 194-195 [5

Cal.Rptr.2d 796, 825 P.2d 781]; People v. Hamilton

(1988) 45 Cal.3d 351, 369 [247 Cal.Rptr. 31, 753

P.2d 1109].) Accordingly, when a defendant seeks

self-representation for the penalty phase, the trial

court has discretion to grant or deny the motion if

not made a reasonable time before the guilt phase has

begun. (People v. Hardy, supra, at pp. 194-195;

People v. Bloom, supra, 48 Cal.3d 1194, 1220, [259

Cal.Rptr. 669, 774 P.2d 698 (1989)]; People v. Ham-

ilton, supra, 45 Cal.3d at p. 369.) Defendant’s

motion, made after the guilt verdicts were

returned, was addressed to the trial court’s

sound discretion.

“We reject defendant’s contention that the

trial court abused its discretion when it denied

his motion for self-representation. In ruling on a

midtrial motion for self-representation, the trial

court is to consider ‘the quality of counsel’s

representation of the defendant, the defendant's

prior proclivity to substitute counsel, the rea-

sons for the request, the length and stage of the

proceedings, and the disruption or delay which

might reasonably be expected to follow the

granting of such a motion.’ (People v. Windham,

supra, 19 Cal.3d 121, 128.) Here, the trial court’s

10

comments reveal that it carefully considered

each of these factors. It found that defense coun-

sel had performed ‘quite admirably’ in repre-

senting defendant, that the reasons defendant

gave for seeking self-representation were not

compelling, that defendant would need a con-

tinuance if granted self-representation, and that

some disruption would inevitably result. These

findings are supported by the record. Accord-

ingly, the trial court did not abuse its discretion

in denying the motion for self-representation.”

(Appendix A, pp. 15-16; 7 Cal.4th at 1006-1007.)

E. The Penalty Phase of the Trial.

The penalty phase commenced on June 18, 1984. (CT

614; RT 3954.) Six witnesses testified for the prosecution;

petitioner testified on his own behalf. (CT 614; RT

3954-4060.) Arguments were presented, first by peti-

tioner, then by the prosecutor and finally by each of

petitioner’s appointed counsel. (CT 618; RT 4062-4196.)

The jury began deliberations on June 20. (CT 619; RT

4197.) On June 21, after ten hours of deliberations, the

jurors returned a verdict of death as the appropriate

punishment. (CT 644; RT 4200-4204.)

On August 14, 1984, the trial court denied peti-

tioner’s pro per motion for an acquittal, denied defense

counsels’ motion for a new trial on the guilt and penalty

phases of the trial, and then formally sentenced petitioner

to death on the two murder counts. (CT 645-655, 677-680;

RT 4208-4236.)

11

PRESERVATION OF ISSUES

As shown in the previous discussion, the issues con-

cerning petitioner’s right of self-representation at the

penalty phase of his trial were raised and ruled upon

prior to the beginning of the penalty phase. The issues

were raised in the appellate briefing and determined on

their merits by the Supreme Court of California. (See

Appendix A, pp. 15-16; 7 Cal.4th 1006-1007.)

4

REASONS FOR CERTIORARI

I. THIS COURT HAS NEVER ADDRESSED THE

QUESTION WHETHER A DEFENDANT IN A

BIFURCATED DEATH PENALTY TRIAL MAY

EXERCISE HIS ABSOLUTE RIGHT OF SELF-REP-

RESENTATION AT THE PENALTY PHASE ONLY.

THE PRESENT CASE IS APPROPRIATE FOR

DETERMINATION OF THIS QUESTION.

In Faretta v. California, supra, 422 U.S. 806, this Court

ruled that the Sixth Amendment, made applicable to the

states by the Fourteenth Amendment, guarantees a defen-

dant in a state criminal trial the constitutional right of

self-representation and that a defendant may proceed to

defend himself or herself without counsel when he or she

voluntarily and intelligently elects to do so. (422 U.S. at

819-820.) The Court explained:

“.... Although not stated in the Amend-

ment in so many words, the right to self-repre-

sentation - to make one’s own defense

personally — is thus necessarily implied by the

structure of the Amendment. The right to defend

is given directly to the accused; for it is he who

12

suffers the consequences if the defense fails.” (422

U.S. at 819-820; emphasis added.)

“.... The right to defend is personal. The

defendant, and not his lawyer or the State, will

bear the personal consequences of a conviction.

It is the defendant, therefore, who must be free

personally to decide whether in his particular

case counsel is to his advantage. And although

he may conduct his own defense ultimately to

his own detriment, his choice must be honored out

of ‘that respect for the individual which is the life-

blood of the law.’ Illinois v. Allen, 397 U.S. 337,

350-351, 90 S.Ct. 1057, 25 L.Ed.2d 353 [1970]

(Brennan, J., concurring).” (422 U.S. at 834;

emphasis added; footnote omitted.)

Although this Court has never discussed the issue of

the absolute right of self-representation at only the pen-

alty phase of a bifurcated capital trial, reason and fairness

militate in favor of the right’s existence.2 For example,

“the personal consequences” of the penalty phase of a

capital trial are greater than those of any other penalty

that may be imposed by the law. Thus, as noted by this

Court, since the defendant “and not his lawyer or the

State” will bear those consequences, his or her choice to

exercise the right of self-representation is most critical at

the penalty phase. Our history’s and the law’s tradition of

“respect for the individual” should therefore be honored

most dutifully when the individual is choosing how to

defend his or her life in a court of law.

2 For a discussion of the nature of bifurcated capital trials,

see Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 162-168, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 49

L.Ed.2d 859 (1976), rehrg. den., 429 U.S. 875, 97 S.Ct. 197, 50

L.Ed.2d 158.

13

Practical considerations also support this interpreta-

tion of the right of self-representation established by

Faretta. For example, logic and the teachings of experi-

ence show that although pro se defendants are not usually

as knowledgeable as attorneys about elements of

offenses, rules of evidence and examination of witnesses,

those factors are not as significant at the penalty phase -

compared to the guilt phase - of a bifurcated capital trial.

Similarly, we know that trials generally take longer where

the defendant is pro se. However, since the penalty phase

of capital trials is invariably much shorter than the guilt

phase, this consideration also militates in favor of a right

of self-representation limited to the penalty phase. In

summary, a pro se defendant’s legal skills are not as

important at a penalty trial because the issues are human,

not legal. Indeed, where a jury of lay persons is asked to

decide between death and life imprisonment, a lawyer’s

“help” to the defendant is not as telling as the help which

the defendant may wish to provide to himself.

Put another way, when a defendant's life is directly

involved, that is when we should have the greatest

respect and understanding for his decision to defend his

life with his own decisions and with his own words.

In addition, to the extent the law should not encour-

age defendants to exercise their right of self-representa-

tion,? a rule permitting defendants to limit exercise of

that right to the penalty phase of bifurcated capital trials

3 “It is undeniable that in most criminal prosecutions

defendants could better defend with counsel’s guidance than by

their own unskilled efforts.” (Faretta v. California, supra, 422 U.S.

at 835.)

14

would be wise. As shown by the opinion below, Califor-

nia’s rule does the opposite by requiring the defendant to

move for self-representation before the guilt phase

begins. Thus, where a California defendant’s true desire

is to take personal responsibility for his or her own

destiny only if he or she is found guilty in the initial

phase of the trial, the defendant is compelled to appear pro

se at the guilt phase, too. A rule, however, permitting

defendants to accept representation by counsel at the

guilt phase and then represent themselves if a penalty

phase ensues would necessarily limit the number of pro se

defendants at entire capital trials.

Nothing in the Faretta decision precludes adoption of -

this rule; instead, the question was left open by that

decision. And, if rule urged by petitioner is adopted, this

Court would be holding to the high value it has previ-

ously placed on the right of a defendant to represent

himself or herself and would again be honoring what

Faretta so eloquently described as “that respect for the

individual which is the lifeblood of the law.”

Finally, the merits of this petition are not affected by

the fact that, after his right of self-representation was

denied, petitioner was permitted to be “co-counsel” at the

penalty phase with his two appointed counsel. That order

resulted in a jumbled defense that met neither peti-

tioner’s wishes nor counsels’ legal desires. For example,

petitioner had to accept argument from not one, but both,

of his attorneys — argument that was in complete stylistic

contrast to the argument he was permitted to present.

Surely, this exemplifies the “cacophony” this Court

warned of in McKaskle v. Wiggins, 465 U.S. 168, 104 S.Ct.

15

944, 79 L.Ed.2d 122 (1984), rehrg. den., 465 U.S. 1112, 104

S.Ct. 1620, 80 L.Ed.2d 148, when it stated:

“We recognize, nonetheless, that the right to

speak for oneself entails more than the oppor-

tunity to add one’s voice to a cacophony of

others.” (465 U.S. at 177.)

In summary, this Court should grant this petition and

declare a defendant's constitutional right of self-represen-

tation at the penalty phase of a bifurcated capital trial.

II. A DEFENDANT WHO DESIRES TO REPRESENT

HIMSELF ONLY AT THE PENALTY PHASE OF A

BIFURCATED CAPITAL TRIAL SHOULD BE

ALLOWED TO EXERCISE THAT RIGHT AFTER

THE GUILT PHASE CONCLUDES, SO LONG AS

NO UNDUE DELAY IN THE PENALTY TRIAL

ENSUES.

The Supreme Court of California upheld the denial of

petitioner’s request to represent himself at his penalty

trial, stating as follows:

44

.... When a defendant seeks self-represen-

tation for the penalty phase, the trial court has

discretion to grant or deny the motion if not

made a reasonable time before the guilt phase

has begun. [citations.] Defendant's motion, made

after the guilt verdicts were returned, was addressed

to the trial court’s sound discretion.” (Appendix A,

p. 16; 7 Cal.4th at 1006-1007; emphasis added.)

The effect of the California Supreme Court’s ruling is

to limit the absolute right of self-representation - even

where sought only as to the penalty phase of a capital

trial - to requests made before the guilt phase begins.

16

Nothing in Faretta requires this harsh and unwise rule.

And the record in the present case demonstrates the error

in the rule because there would not have been any delay

in the penalty trial if petitioner’s motion had been

granted. As noted above at page 8, although the trial

court noted the possibility of delay in beginning the

penalty trial as a reason for denying petitioner’s motion,

the court — at the very same hearing - granted the identi-

cal brief delay at the request of petitioner’s appointed

counsel in order that those counsel could further prepare

for the penalty phase!

In addition, a rule permitting a capital defendant to

await the outcome of the guilt phase before seeking to

appear pro se at the penalty phase would allow the defen-

dant to take into account defense counsel’s performance

at the guilt phase before being required to exercise the

right of self-representation. Some defendants, satisfied

with the nature and quality of their counsels’ efforts,

would opt to continue with counsels’ representation at

the penalty phase. Other defendants, dissatisfied with

counsels’ efforts or truly desirous of defending their own

lives, would have the option of defending themselves at

the “life or death” phase. In either event, we would be

honoring “that respect for the individual which is the

lifeblood of the law.”

17

CONCLUSION

The Supreme Court of California’s opinion places an

unwise and unconstitutional restriction on a capital

defendant’s right of self-representation. Such a defendant

should be permitted to exercise this right at the penalty

phase of his or her trial so long as no undue delay is

caused and so long -as the defendant meets the other

requirements set forth in Faretta.

For all the foregoing reasons, petitioner respectfully

prays for issuance of a writ of certiorari to review these

important questions.

Respectfully submitted,

Epwarp J. Horowitz

A Professional Corporation

Epwarp J. Horowitz

Attorney for Petitioner

App. 1

APPENDIX A

IN THE SUPREME COURT

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

[No. S004642. June 13, 1994.]

THE PEOPLE, Plaintiff and Respondent, v.

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK, Defendant and Appellant.

COUNSEL

Harvey R. Zall, Fern M. Laethem, State Public Defenders,

and Edward J. Horowitz, under appointments by the

Supreme Court, Christine Zilius Mason, Musawwir

Spiegel, George L. Mertens and Albert W. Brodie, Deputy

State Public Defenders, for Defendant and Appellant.

John K. Van de Kamp, Daniel E. Lungren, Attorneys

General, Steve White, Richard B. Iglehart and George

Williamson, Chief Assistant Attorneys General, Edward

T. Fogel, Jr., and Carol Wendelin Pollack, Assistant Attor-

neys General, Marc Alan Hart, Gary R. Hahn, Donald E.

de Nicola, William R. Weisman, William T. Harter, Marc

E. Turchin, Susan Lee Frierson and Robert C. Schneider,

Deputy Attorneys General, for Plaintiff and Respondent.

OPINION

KENNARD, J. — Defendant William Kirkpatrick appeals

from a judgment of death under the 1978 death penalty

law (Pen. Code, § 190.1 et seq.; all further statutory

references are to this code unless otherwise indicated). A

jury convicted defendant of two counts of first degree

murder (§ 187), two counts of robbery (§ 211), and two

counts of burglary (§ 459). The jury found as special

circumstances that defendant had been convicted of more

App. 2

than one offense of murder in this proceeding (§ 190.2,

subd. (a)(3)) and that the murders were committed in the

perpetration of robbery and burglary (§ 190.2, subd.

(a)(17)), and it found that defendant used a firearm to

commit the offenses (§§ 1203.06, subd. (a)(1), 12022.5).

After the jury returned a penalty verdict of death, the

trial court denied the automatic motion to modify penalty

(§ 190.4, subd. (e)), sentenced defendant to death on the

two murder counts, and stayed execution of sentence on

the remaining counts and enhancement allegations. This

appeal from the judgment of death is automatic. (§ 1239,

subd. (b).)

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

At about midnight on September 17, 1983, Jim Fal-

conio and Wayne Hunter were found in a closet at a Taco

Bell franchise restaurant in Burbank. Both had been shot

in the head. Hunter was dead when found and Falconio

died of his gunshot injuries 11 days later. The two victims

were Taco Bell employees and had apparently been killed

in the course of a robbery. The case against defendant,

who had formerly worked at the same Taco Bell restau-

rant, included evidence that four days earlier defendant

had obtained a gun that could have been the murder

weapon by burglarizing another former place of employ-

ment, a gas station.

The Prosecution’s Case

In late April or early May of 1983, defendant

arranged a job interview for Donald Harper at the Bur-

bank Taco Bell where defendant was then working. While

App. 3

Harper was at the Taco Bell for his interview, defendant

told Harper he was upset about being transferred to a

different Taco Bell location. Defendant said he wanted to

“get back” at Wayne Hunter (an assistant manager) and

at Fahimur Rehman (the district manager). Defendant

said he wanted to kill Rehman, to stick a gun into

Hunter’s mouth and blow his head off, and to take the

money from the register. Defendant asked Harper to

obtain the combination of the safe, but Harper merely

replied that defendant was crazy.

During the night of September 13-14, 1983, a gas

station in North Hollywood was burglarized. Defendant

had been fired from his employment at the station a few

weeks earlier. Although the station had been locked as

usual before closing on the 13th, and the burglar alarm

activated, the station was found unlocked the next morn-

ing, and the alarm disconnected, with no signs of forced

entry. A cash box and a desk drawer had been broken

open. Items taken in the burglary included currency and

coins, a .22-caliber pistol, a battery charger, and a cus-

tomer’s car stereo and equalizer. Two station employees

had seen defendant near the station shortly before it

closed on the 13th.

During the early morning of September 14, defendant

showed Manuel Rand a battery charger, a bag of coins, a

car stereo, and a .22-caliber pistol. These items were in

the back of defendant’s automobile. Defendant said that

he had burglarized a garage where he had previously

worked, and that it would “teach them a lesson” for

having fired him. On September 16, defendant asked

Rand to help him commit a robbery but Rand refused. On

the evening of September 17, defendant told Rand he was

App. 4

planning to rob the Burbank Taco Bell and asked Rand to

help. Again Rand refused. Defendant then drove to an

apartment complex where he met Eddie Salazar, known

as Solo. Salazar borrowed lipstick and rubbed it over the

tattoos on his neck. Defendant and Salazar left the apart-

ment complex, after push-starting defendant’s car, at

approximately 11 p.m.

Around 11:50 p.m., two prospective customers found

the Burbank Taco Bell open but apparently deserted.

They telephoned the police. Shortly before the police

arrived, persons gathering at the scene found the two

victims in a closet in the employee area at the back of the

restaurant. There was no money in te safe; one of the

registers was open and contained only loose coins. The

money taken was estimated to be $625. There were no

signs of a struggle. Police investigators found an

expended .22-caliber bullet in the closet.

Hunter died from a single shot to the back of the

head with a small-caliber bullet, apparently fired from a

distance of at least 18 inches. On Hunter’s left upper

cheek were a bruise and an abrasion that could have been

caused by a blow. Falconio, who was 16 years old on

September 17, was killed by a single bullet which entered

behind the right ear and exited behind the left ear.

Defendant and Salazar returned to the apartment

complex shortly after midnight. Salazar showed some

money to Gina Esqueda. Victor Saldana saw defendant

lift his shirt to reveal a gun in his waistband. Defendant

drove to Rand’s house and asked Rand’s mother to

awaken Rand. Defendant said the cops were looking for

him and that he had just killed two guys, possibly a third.

2 te ceH o

aren

“ ee es

App. 5

Rand’s mother refused to awaken Rand but she did help

defendant push-start his car. That afternoon, Rand’s

mother saw defendant holding a box containing rolls of

coins. Defendant said the rolls were money taken in a

robbery.

During that day, September 18, defendant telephoned

Fidel Saballos, who had formerly worked with defendant

at the Burbank Taco Bell. Defendant said he had a “bunch

of money” and invited Saballos to the movies. Saballos

accepted. In defendant’s car, defendant showed Saballos

a bag of coins. Defendant said he had “ripped off” the

Taco Bell the previous night and had taken $850. Defen-

dant said he had used “a .22” to kill two people, and that

he done so because he did not want any witnesses.!

Defendant was arrested on September 22. In defen-

dant’s automobile, police investigators found three .22-

caliber cartridges and the equalizer taken in the gas sta-

tion burglary. The cartridges were consistent with the

expended bullet found in the closet of the Taco Bell

restaurant.

The Defense Case

Defendant testified in his own behalf. He was from

New York City. His mother was Mexican and his father

1 To prove the facts stated in this paragraph, the prosecu-

tion relied on various out-of-court statements by Saballos,

including a tape-recorded interview with Burbank police inves-

tigators. The evidence was admitted under the hearsay excep-

tion for prior inconsistent statements after Saballos testified and

denied that defendant had made any incriminating statements

to him.

App. 6

Black. For the six months to one year before his arrest,

defendant had worded in restaurants and gas stations.

On the evening of September 13, 1983, defendant went to

a gas station where he had formerly been employed. He

talked to the employees, asking if they had anything they

wanted to sell. Defendant was then self-employed in a

kind of salvage business. Defendant said he did not enter

the station after it was closed and did not take anything

from the station. He denied any knowledge of the gas

station burglary and denied telling Rand or anyone else

he had burglarized a gas station. He testified that the

equalizer found in his car was one he had purchased in

June or July of 1983.

On the evening of September 17, 1983, defendant

went to an apartment complex where he met members of

a gang known as “Sol Trese.” He allowed several of these

individuals to use his car to “shoot” heroin. One of them

had a bag with loose .22-caliber shells. Defendant did not

own or possess a .22-caliber weapon. Defendant left

about 11:15 or 11:20 p.m. to visit a friend in Whittier. He

had car problems and spent some time searching for an

open gas station. Eventually, about 12:20 or 12:30 a.m.,

defendant purchased a new battery and battery cable.

After spending some time in a bar, defendant spent the

rest of the night in a motel room. Defendant denied

entering the Burbank Taco Bell on the night of September

17-18 and he denied having a conversation with Rand’s

mother during the early morning of September 18. Defen-

dant said he went to the movies with Saballos on Septem-

ber 18, but defendant denied having any conversation

with Saballos about a robbery or killing people.

App. 7

A service station attendant testified that he had no

independent recollection of selling a battery and cable to

defendant but that the station records indicated he had

made such a sale on September 18, 1983. The records did

not indicate the time of the sale, but they did indicate it

had occurred after a sale to a Robert Salisbury. At that

time, the attendant was working the night shift from 9

p-m. to 9 a.m.

Rebuttal

Robert Salisbury testified that during the early morn-

ing hours of September 18, 1983, he purchased a battery

at a service station. The attendants were busy doing other

things and it took about two hours to have the battery

installed. Salisbury left about 2 a.m. During the two

hours he was at the station, no other car was there having

a battery put in.

Penalty Phase

On March 8, 1983, 17-year-old Jacob D. was working

at a franchise restaurant. After finishing work that eve-

ning, he met defendant, who invited him to drink some

beer. Jacob accepted. Defendant bought some beer and

led Jacob to a red van parked near a gas station. Defen-

dant and Jacob drank beer and talked inside the van for

some time. Defendant asked Jacob to help him change a

flat tire, but as Jacob was leaning over to pick up the

spare time, defendant grabbed him around the neck,

began to choke him, and told him to take his clothes off.

At first Jacob refused, but when defendant tightened his

grip Jacob removed his clothes. Defendant removed his

¥: x

App. 8

clothes also and forced Jacob to orally copulate him and

to kiss various parts of defendant’s body. Defendant _

threatened to kill Jacob if Jacob did not comply. After

some time, both Jacob and defendant fell asleep in the

van, with defendant still holding Jacob. The following

day, Jacob told his parents what had happened.

On March 27, 1983, defendant invited 16-year-old

Stephen T. to go to a park and drink beer. Stephen

accepted. While they were drinking beer in the park,

defendant asked Stephen to assist him in robbing a man

who lived in a residence nearby. When Stephen refused,

defendant grabbed him around the neck and started to

choke him. Defendant pulled Stephen to the park rest-

room and tried to push Stephen’s head into the toilet.

Stephen managed to loosen defendant’s grip and escape

by picking defendant up and ramming him against a

sink. Stephen told his mother about the incident, and she

reported it to the police.

In May 1983, defendant left a bicycle, a calculator,

and a projector at Shirley Johnson’s house. The next

morning, defendant retrieved the bicycle and projector,

but Johnson could not find the calculator. Defendant

threatened injury to Johnson and her children as well as

damage to Johnson’s house if the calculator was not

returned to him. About two weeks later, during a tele-

phone conversation with Johnson, defendant threatened

to harm Johnson’s daughter and her two dogs if the

calculator was not returned. Johnson replied that she

would have to contact her son, who was in juvenile hall,

and she could not do so until June 19.

A, TA ENENIRTR cnr

we

App. 9

Johnson returned from work one day in the latter

part of June to find both her dogs completely paralyzed.

The dogs recovered after several weeks. Defendant tele-

phoned Johnson and said he had “taken care” of the

dogs. Defendant said Johnson had better watch out for

her daughter because defendant had not had any “white

meat” for a long time. Defendant added that he wanted

the calculator. Johnson located the calculator and

returned it to defendant.

Defendant testified that he was 23 years old in Sep-

tember 1983 and had never been convicted of a felony.

Defendant was born in Brooklyn, New York, and had

been raised by his mother. He never met his natural

father. Defendant’s stepfather, a detective-sergeant for

the New York City Police Department, had died two

years earlier. Defendant left New York in September 1980.

At defendant’s request, his attorneys did not attempt to

have his mother, who still lived in New York, testify at

the trial. Defendant did not want her or any member of

his family involved in the case.

Defendant had attended public schools through the

11th grade before dropping out. Since that time, defen-

dant had held jobs involving delivery, driving, cooking,

and management. Defendant was interested in writing,

painting, and drawing, and had ambitions of becoming a

published writer. Defendant denied being homosexual.

Defendant believed that while in prison he could make a

contribution to other inmates and to society by taking

classes and continuing with his writing. Defendant again

asserted his innocence of the capital crimes and asked the

jury to give him an opportunity, by sparing his life, to

prove he could be a constructive human being.

App. 10

C.Laims, ANALYSIS, AND RULINGS

I. Pretrial Motion for Cocounsel Status

Defendant was represented in superior court pro-

ceedings by Attorneys Albert Del Gobbo and Ray Foun-

tain. During a hearing three weeks before trial, Del

Gobbo stated that defendant had asked him to make a

motion to have defendant appointed as cocounsel and

that Del Gobbo had agreed to do so. The trial court

denied the motion, remarking that there were four attor-

neys in the case already (two for the defense and two for

the prosecution) and that “one more would not benefit it

in any way.” The court also observed that other defen-

dants who were “actually trying their own cases” needed

access to the jail’s “pro per” facilities more than defen-

dant did. Defendant maintains that the trial court abused

its discretion in denying his motion, and that the ruling

must be presumed to have prejudiced his defense.

A defendant in a criminal proceeding has a constitu-

tional right to be represented by professional counsel and

also a constitutional right of self-representation, but these

rights are mutually exclusive. (People v. Hamilton (1989) 48

Cal.3d 1142, 1162 [259 Cal.Rptr. 701, 774 P.2d 730].)

“Stated otherwise, at all times the record should be clear

that the accused is either self-represented or represented

by counsel; the accused cannot be both at once.” (People v.

Bloom (1989) 48 Cal.3d 1194, 1219 [259 Cal.Rptr. 669, 774

P.2d 698].) Here, defendant’s motion did not seek either

of the constitutionally guaranteed forms of representa-

tion. Defendant was already represented by professional

App. 11

counsel and the motion was not, either in form or sub-

stance, one for self-representation. In particular, defen-

dant did not indicate that he was dissatisfied with the

representation he was receiving or that he intended to

assume control of the case rather than merely assisting

his attorneys in its presentation. (See ibid.)

Whether a professionally represented defendant may

participate in the presentation of the case is a matter

within the sound discretion of the trial judge. (People v.

Miranda (1987) 44 Cal.3d 57, 75-76 [241 Cal.Rptr. 594, 744

P.2d 1127].) Such an arrangement should not be permitted

except upon a substantial showing that it will “promote

justice and judicial efficiency in the particular case.” (Peo-

ple v. Hamilton, supra, 48 Cal.3d 1142, 1162.) No such

showing was even attempted in this case. Defendant

maintains that the trial court gave him no opportunity to

make the required showing, but the record does not

support this assertion. We have not imposed on trial

courts a duty to expressly invite a showing in support of,

or to inquire into the reasons for, a motion for cocounsel

status (see ibid.; People v. Miranda, supra, at pp. 75-76), and

we decline to do so now. We find nothing in the record to

indicate that either defendant or his counsel desired to

add anything to counsel’s statement of the motion, much

less that they were prevented from doing so. (Cf. People v.

Marsden (1970) 2 Cal.3d 118 [84 Cal.Rptr. 156, 465 P.2d

44].) Certainly the record does not show that the court cut

off either defendant or his counsel. On this record, we

conclude that denial of the motion was nut an abuse of

discretion. (People v. Hamilton, supra, at p. 1162; People v.

Miranda, supra, at pp. 75-76.)

App. 12

II. Voir Dire

During the death-qualification of prospective jurors,

a dispute developed between the defense and the pros-

ecution concerning the permissible scope of voir dire. The

trial court resolved the split during and immediately after

the death-qualification voir dire of prospective juror

Fasana. The court rejected the prosecutor’s position that

voir dire should be restricted to inquiry concerning the

prospective jurors’ views on the death penalty in general

or as a punishment for the offenses and special circum-

stances charged in the information. The court agreed with

defense counsel that the parties should be permitted to

ask prospective jurors whether they would always or

never vote for the death penalty in cases involving any

generalized facts, whether pleaded or not, that were

likely to be shown by the evidence at trial. The court also

ruled, however, that voir dire on unpleaded facts could

be used only to assist the parties in exercising peremp-

tory challenges and not to establish grounds for disqual-

ification.

The latter aspect of the court’s ruling was incorrect.

Although the death penalty voir dire “seeks to determine

only the views of the prospective jurors about capital

punishment in the abstract...” (People v. Clark (1990) 50

Cal.3d 583, 597 [268 Cal.Rptr. 399, 789 P.2d 127]), a chal-

lenge for cause should be sustained as to any prospective

juror whose views on capital punishment would prevent

or substantially impair the performance of the juror’s

duties as a juror in accordance with the court’s instruc-

tions and the juror’s oath (Wainwright v. Witt (1985) 469

U.S. 412, 424 [83 L.Ed.2d 841, 851-852, 105 S.Ct. 844]). A

prospective juror who would invariably vote either for or

App. 13

against the death penalty because of one or more circum-

stances likely to be present in the case being tried, with-

out regard to the strength of aggravating and mitigating

circumstances, is therefore subject to challenge for cause,

whether or not the circumstance that would be deter-

minative for that juror has been alleged in the charging

document. (See, e.g., People v. Livaditis (1992) 2 Cal.4th

759, 772-773 [9 Cal.Rptr.2d 72, 831 P.2d 297]; People v.

Pinholster (1992) 1 Cal.4th 865, 917-918 [4 Cal.Rptr.2d 765,

824 P.2d 571].)

Although the trial court’s ruling was incorrect in this

one respect, the ruling did not restrict voir dire. During

the death-qualification process, defense counsel was per-

mitted to fully explore the prospective jurorsdeath [sic]

penalty views as applied to the general facts of the case,

whether or not those facts had been expressly charged.

Even assuming that the trial court’s erroneous view of the

grounds for disqualification in some way inhibited ques-

tioning during the death-qualification phase of jury selec-

tion, counsel was free to use the general voir dire to

explore the prospective jurorsreactions [sic] to the facts

and circumstances of the case. Thus, defendant was not

prejudiced. (See People v. DeSantis (1992) 2 Cal.4th 1198,

1217-1218 [9 Cal.Rptr.2d 628, 831 P.2d 1210].)

We also reject defendant’s contention that the trial

court erred in denying a defense challenge for cause to

prospective juror Fasana. To preserve a claim of error in

the denial of a challenge for cause, the defense must

either exhaust its peremptory challenges and object to the

jury as finally constituted or justify the failure to do so.

(People v. Garceau (1993) 6 Cal.4th 140, 174 [24 Cal.Rptr.2d

664, 862 P.2d 664]; People v. Raley (1992) 2 Cal.4th 870,

& -

App. 14

904-905 [8 Cal.Rptr.2d 678, 830 P.2d 712].) Here, the

defense did not exhaust its peremptory challenges, and

the sole justification offered for failing to do so that the

trial court improperly restricted voir dire is unsupported

by the record. Accordingly, we do not review the denial

of the defense challenge for cause to prospective juror

Fasana.

III. Penalty Phase Counsel Issues

Near the end of the guilt phase, defendant wrote the

trial court to express dissatisfaction with his attorneys

and to request their dismissal. On Wednesday, June 6,

1984, after the jury had returned its guilt verdicts, the

court held a hearing at which defendant moved to repre-

sent himself in further proceedings, with the attorneys

who had been representing him acting as advisory coun-

sel. The court questioned defendant about his ability to

conduct his own defense and warned him of the dangers

of self-representation. The court inquired whether defen-

dant would be ready to proceed on the following

Wednesday, June 13, the day set for starting the penalty

phase. Defendant said he would need additional time but

only to June 18, the Monday after the date previously set.

Defense counsel urged the court to deny the motion for

self-representation because in their view self-representa-

tion would not be in defendant’s best interests. The court

then took the matter under submission.

At the hearing, the trial court denied the motion for

self-representation. After a recess, defendant indicated he

would accept cocounsel status in lieu of self-representa-

tion. The trial court granted the request for cocounsel

App. 15

status. Defendant acted as cocounsel throughout the pen-

alty phase.

Defendant contends that the trial court erred in deny-

ing his motion for self-representation, that his trial coun-

sel provided ineffective assistance by opposing his

motion for self-representation, that the trial court abused

its discretion in granting him cocounsel status, and that

the trial court did not adequately advise him of the risks

of acting as cocounsel.

A. Denial of Self-representation Motion

Defendant argues that a criminal defendant’s right to

self-representation under the Sixth and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States Constitution, as

defined and explained by the United States Supreme

Court in Faretta v. California (1975) 422 U.S. 806 [45

L.Ed.2d 562, 95 S.Ct. 2525], extends to the penalty phase

of a capital trial. Recognizing that the right of self-repre-

sentation is absolute only if asserted a reasonable time

before trial begins (People v. Windham (1977) 19 Cal.3d

121, 127-129 [137 Cal.Rptr. 8, 560 P.2d 1187]), defendant

further argues that the guilt and penalty phases of a

capital prosecution should be deemed separate trials, so

that a motion for self-representation at the penalty phase

is timely if made a reasonable time before the penalty

phase begins.

For the purpose of assessing the timeliness of a

motion for self-representation, the guilt and penalty

phases in a capital prosecution are not separate trials but

parts of a single trial. (People v. Hardy (1992) 2 Cal.4th 86,

App. 16

194-195 [5 Cal.Rptr.2d 796, 825 P.2d 781]; People v. Ham-

ilton (1988) 45 Cal.3d 351, 369 [247 Cal.Rptr. 31, 753 P.2d

1109].) Accordingly, when a defendant seeks self-repre-

sentation for the penalty phase, the trial court has discre-

tion to grant or deny the motion if not made a reasonable

time before the guilt phase has begun. (People v. Hardy,

supra, at pp. 194-195; People v. Bloom, supra, 48 Cal.3d

1194, 1220; People v. Hamilton, supra, 45 Cal.3d at p. 369.)

Defendant’s motion, made after the guilt verdicts were

returned, was addressed to the trial court’s sound discre-

tion.

We reject defendant’s contention that the trial court

abused its discretion when it denied his motion for self-

representation. In ruling on a midtrial motion for self-

representation, the trial court is to consider “the quality

of counsel’s representation of the defendant, the defen-

dant’s prior proclivity to substitute counsel, the reasons

for the request, the length and stage of the proceedings,

and the disruption or delay which might reasonably be

expected to follow the granting of such a motion.” (People

v. Windham, supra, 19 Cal.3d 121, 128.) Here, the trial

court’s comments reveal that it carefully considered each

of these factors. It found that defense counsel had per-

formed “quite admirably” in representing defendant, that

the reasons defendant gave for seeking self-representa-

tion were not compelling, that defendant would need a

continuance if granted self-representation, and that some

disruption would inevitably result. These findings are

supported by the record. Accordingly, the trial court did

not abuse its discretion in denying the motion for self-

representation.

— —-_— —

App. 17

B. Effective Assistance of Counsel

When defendant made his motion for self-representa-

tion, his counsel made a brief statement in opposition.?

2 “Your Honor, . . . it is not in the best interests of our client

to have him represent himself at the penalty phase. [{] I’ve

given some thought as to whether or not a defendant really has

a constitutional right to defend himself at the penalty phase. [{]

We all know that if he had chosen this course of action from the

inception, he could represent himself in a capital case during the

guilt phase of the trial. [{] I would ask the court to give some

strong consideration as to whether or not the defendant at this

juncture, having been convicted of the offenses, having been

convicted of the offense he has been convicted of, really has a

constitutional right under the cases that allow pro per represen-

tation, him [sic] to represent himself at the penalty phase.

“The consequences of doing that are so potentially severe,

that I think the court, counsel, all parties involved, should lean

over backwards and do whatever they can to protect the defen-

dant’s best interests, even though the defendant may think that

his course of action was the wiser course.

“So with those comments, I would ask the court to consider

denying Mr. Kirkpatrick’s request to represent himself at the

penalty phase and allow [cocounsel] and I [sic] to go ahead and

conduct the penalty phase as we think we should for the best

interests of our client.

“We will try to get whatever cooperation we can from Mr.

Kirkpatrick. There are certain things we will not be able to do

without his cooperation; but Im [sic] afraid that if this defendant

is allowed to proceed with his own defense and [cocounsel] and

I are privy to certain things that the court and [the prosecutor]

would not be privy to, that it may very well result in this jury

sentencing him to death in the gas chamber, where I think that if

[cocounsel] and I continue to represent the defendant, we feel

that we have a very good chance of getting this jury to come

back with life in prison without the possibility of parole.

“For those reasons, I would ask the court to deny Mr.

Kirkpatrick’s request.”

App. 18

Counsel argued that it was not clear that a defendant’s

right of self-representation extended to the penalty phase

of a capital trial, that in a death-penalty case everyone

concerned should “lean over backwards” to assure that

the defendant’s interests were protected, and that private

discussions with defendant had persuaded counsel that

self-representation would likely result in a death verdict

whereas there was a “very good chance” that the jury

would opt for the alternative penalty of life in prison

without possibility of parole if counsel continued to rep-

resent defendant at the penalty phase.

Defendant argues that his trial counsel provided inef-

fective representation when they took a position in oppo-

sition to their client’s stated wish to represent himself. He

argues that just as counsel may not prevent a defendant

from testifying (People v. Robles (1970) 2 Cal.3d 205, 215

[85 Cal.Rptr. 166, 466 P.2d 710]), counsel lack authority to

oppose a client’s decision on the matter of self-represen-

tation. Defendant further argues that on questions of

representation counsel’s personal interest in continuing

representation conflicts with counsels duty of loyalty to

the client, and that this conflict of interest imposes upon

counsel a duty to refrain from arguing against the client’s

motion for self-representation.

We are not persuaded. To establish a violation of the

constitutional right to effective assistance of counsel, a

defendant must show that his counsels performance was

deficient when measured against the standard of a rea-

sonably competent attorney, and that counsel’s perfor-

mance was prejudicial in the sense that it “so undermined

the proper functioning of the adversarial process that the

trial cannot be relied on as having produced a just

App. 19

result.” (Strickland v. Washington (1984) 466 U.S. 668, 686

[80 L.Ed.2d 674, 692-693, 104 S.Ct. 2052]; id. at pp. 686-694

[80 L.Ed.2d at pp. 692-698]; see also People v. Wader (1993)

5 Cal.4th 610, 636 [20 Cal.Rptr.2d 788, 854 P.2d 80].) If a

defendant has failed to show that the challenged actions

of counsel were prejudicial, a reviewing court may reject

the claim on that ground without determining whether

counsel’s performance was deficient. (Strickland v. Wash-

ington, supra, at p. 697 [80 L.Ed.2d at pp. 699-700].)

Here, defendant has failed to show that the chal-

lenged action of counsel - opposing defendants motion

for self-representation — was prejudicial. He has not

shown a reasonable probability that the penalty verdict

would have been more favorable had counsel not

opposed his motion for self-representation. Assuming for

argument’s sake that the trial court would have granted

the motion for self-representation had counsel not

opposed it, defendant gives us no reason to believe that

denial of the motion adversely affected the presentation

of the penalty defense. As the United States Supreme

Court has observed, “the right of self-representation is a

right that when exercised usually increases the likelihood

of a trial outcome unfavorable to the defendant.”

(McKaskle v. Wiggins (1984) 465 U.S. 168, 177, fn. 8 [79

L.Ed.2d 122, 133, 104 S.Ct. 944].) Moreover, the trial court

subsequently granted defendant cocounsel status, and as

cocounsel defendant was able to cross-examine each of

the prosecution’s witnesses and to make his own argu-

ment to the jury. Counsel also deferred to defendant's

wishes in the selection of mitigating evidence. Thus,

defendant effectively had the advantages of self-repre-

sentation. We are not persuaded that the presentation of

App. 20

the defense case would have been significantly different,

much less more effective, had the trial court granted

defendants motion for self-representation.

Defendant’s claim is no more persuasive if consid-

ered under the rubric of conflict of interest. A criminal

defendant’s right to effective assistance of counsel, guar-

anteed by both the state and federal Constitutions,

includes the right to representation free from conflicts of

interest. (Wood v. Georgia (1981) 450 U.S. 261, 271 [67

L.Ed.2d 220, 230, 101 S.Ct. 1097]; People v. Jones (1991) 53

Cal.3d 1115, 1134 [282 Cal.Rptr. 465, 811 P.2d 757].) To

establish a violation of the right to unconflicted counsel

under the federal Constitution, “a defendant who raised

no objection at trial must demonstrate that an actual

conflict of interest adversely affected his lawyer’s perfor-

mance.” (Cuyler v. Sullivan (1980) 446 U.S. 335, 348 [64

L.Ed.2d 333, 346-347, 100 S.Ct. 1708], fn. omitted.) To

establish a violation of the same right under our state

Constitution, a defendant need only show that the record

supports an “informed speculation” that counsel’s repre-

sentation of the defendant was adversely affected by the

claimed conflict of interest. (People v. Cox (1991) 53 Cal.3d

618, 654 [280 Cal.Rptr. 692, 809 P.2d 351]; Maxwell v.

Superior Court (1982) 30 Cal.3d 606, 612-613 [180 Cal.Rptr.

177, 639 P.2d 248, 18 A.L.R.4th 333].)

Here, defendant maintains that the record supports

at least an informed speculation that counsels opposition

to his motion for self-representation was motivated, at

least in part, by counsel’s financial stake in preserving

their court appointment as defendant’s legal representa-

tives. We disagree. Nothing in the record suggests that

this particular appointment was financially important for

App. 21

counsel or that counsel could not have promptly obtained

appointments representing other defendants. Moreover,

defendant stated that if the court granted him self-repre-

sentation he wanted to keep counsel in an advisory

capacity. Thus, the record does not support an informed

speculation that the defense attorneys perceived any

threat to their livelihoods, nor is there the slightest hint

that thoughts of compensation, rather than sincere con-

cern about protecting defendant’s interest in avoiding a

death judgment, in any way influenced their opposition

to defendants motion for self-representation. We are satis-

fied there was no conflict of interest.

We agree in principle, however, that defense counsel

in criminal prosecutions should refrain from formally

opposing their clients’ motions for self-representation.*

First, there is a serious question as to counsel’s standing

in this situation. Defense counsel’s primary role is to

represent the accused. When counsel oppose the client’s

own motion, either we have the anomaly of a motion

made and opposed by the same party, or we have counsel

stepping out of the assigned role as party representative.

Second, permitting counsel to oppose a client’s motion is

likely to undermine the trust that is essential to an effec-

tive attorney-client relationship, and for this reason it will

make subsequent representation more difficult in the

event the motion for self-representation is denied. Third,

3 By comparison, counsel may properly oppose a repre-

sented defendant's efforts to participate in the presentation of

the defense case. As we have explained, “the decision whether

to proceed in that fashion is a matter of tactics for professional

counsel to decide.” (People v. Hamilton, supra, 48 Cal.3d 1142,

1163.)

App. 22

“the defendant — not criminal defense counsel — has the

right to personally decide whether he or she desires to

waive a jury trial, to appeal, or to proceed pro se.”

(Burkoff, Criminal Defense Ethics (1993 rev. ed.)

§ 6.3(a)(2), p. 6-20, fns. omitted.)

This is not to say that defense counsel must suppress

misgivings and actively support the motion for seJf-rep-

resentation, or even that counsel must remain silent.

Without formally opposing self-representation, counsel

can assist the court and serve the clients best interests by

advising the client of the risks and disadvantages of self-

representation; by providing the trial court, upon request,

with relevant nonprivileged information and pertinent

legal authority; and by correcting any misstatement of

fact by the client. (See People v. Burton (1989) 48 Cal.3d

843, 855-856 [258 Cal.Rptr. 184, 771 P.2d 1270] [counsel’s

response to defendant’s motion to substitute counsel].) If

defense counsel believes the client may lack competence

to waive the assistance of counsel (see, e.g., People v. Clark

(1992) 3 Cal.4th 41, 106 [10 Cal.Rptr.2d 554, 833 P.2d 561];

but see also Godinez v. Moran (1993) _\ U.S. ___, ___ [125

L.Ed.2d 321, 331-333, 113 S.Ct. 2680, 2686-2687] [compe-

tency standard for waiving the right to counsel is the

same as for standing trial]), counsel has a legal and

ethical obligation to bring this matter to the trial courts

attention. (See People v. Harris (1993) 14 Cal.App.4th 984,

995 [18 Cal.Rptr.2d 92].)

We reject defendant’s claim that his counsel’s inter-

ference with his attempted exercise of the right of self-

representation should result in reversal of the judgment

regardless of specific prejudice. Although denial of the

constitutional right of self-representation requires this

App. 23

remedy (see McKaskle v. Wiggins, supra, 465 U.S. 168, 177,

fn. 8 [79 L.Ed.2d 122, 133]; People v. Joseph (1983) 34 Cal.3d

936, 946 [196 Cal.Rptr. 339, 671 P.2d 843]), defendant

waived his constitutional right of self-representation by

failing to assert it within a reasonable time before trial.

(Jackson v. YIst (9th Cir. 1990) 921 F.2d 882, 888; People v.

Hardy, supra, 2 Cal.4th 86, 193-194; People v. Bloom, supra,

48 Cal.3d 1194, 1220.) As we have explained, defendant

cannot show specific prejudice because there is no reason

to believe that the penalty defense would have been more

effective, or even significantly different, had the court

granted defendant’s motion for self-representation.

C. Granting Motion for Cocounsel Status

Advancing alternative theories, defendant challenges

the trial court’s order granting him cocounsel status. The

first theory assumes there is no constitutional right to

self-representation at the penalty phase of a capital case

and asserts that this principle also precludes granting the

defendant cocounsel status. The second theory assumes

the trial court has discretion to grant cocounsel status in a

proper case but declares that the trial court abused its

discretion in this case.

The first theory requires little discussion. Opinions of

this court issued after the filing of defendant’s opening

brief on this appeal establish that the accused may act as

cocounsel or waive counsel entirely at the penalty phase

of a capital case. (People v. Clark, supra, 3 Cal.4th 41, 109;

People v. Clark, supra, 50 Cal.3d 583, 617; People v. Bloom,

supra, 48 Cal.3d 1194, 1218-1224.)

App. 24

Defendant’s alternative argument, that the ruling

was an abuse of discretion, fares no better. This claim is

barred by the doctrine of invited error, which estops a

defendant from challenging a trial court ruling granting

the defendant’s own motion. (See People v. Jones, supra, 53

Cal.3d 1115, 1136; People v. Lang (1989) 49 Cal.3d 991,

1031-1032 [264 Cal.Rptr. 386, 782 P.2d 627].)

D. Advisements

Defendant contends the trial court erred in not ade-

quately advising him, before granting his motion for

cocounsel status, of the dangers of proceeding as

cocounsel.

We will assume, without deciding, that granting

defendant’s motion for cocounsel status involved a

waiver of the right to counsel,* so that it was important

4 Although the trial court formally denied defendant’s

motion for self-representation, an argument can be made that

defendant actually represented himself at the penalty phase. He

conducted all cross-examination of prosecution witnesses,

argued his case to the jury, and appears to have substantially

controlled the selection of mitigating evidence. But counsel also

argued to the jury on defendant’s behalf and may have retained

some tactical control over presentation of the defense case.

Given that a defendant cannot be both self-represented and

represented by counsel at any given time (People v. Hamilton,

supra, 48 Cal.3d 1142, 1162), a defendant who assumes self-

representation has necessarily surrendered the right to repre-

sentation by counsel, even though counsel remains available to

assist the defendant in a subordinate role. Here, we find it

unnecessary to resolve the ambiguity in the record as to

whether such a surrender of the right to counsel took place

during the penalty phase of this case.

App. 25

that defendant understand the risks of his chosen course

of action. (See People v. Jones, supra, 53 Cal.3d 1115,

1141-1142.) As we have explained, even when a defen-

dant seeks to dispense with counsels assistance entirely,

“It]he test of a valid waiver of counsel is not whether

specific warnings or advisements were given but whether

the record as a whole demonstrates that the defendant

understood the disadvantages of self-representation,

including the risks and complexities of the particular

case.” (People v. Bloom, supra, 48 Cal.3d 1194, 1225; accord,

People v. Pinholster, supra, 1 Cal.4th 865, 928-929.)

Here, the trial court had advised defendant, in con-

nection with his motion for self-representation, that the

prosecutor was a skilled and experienced opponent, that

defendant’s lack of formal legal training would put him

at a disadvantage, and that self-representation was

almost always unwise. The record also shows that defen-

dant was well aware of the nature and seriousness of the

charges against him. Accordingly, we are satisfied that

defendant was sufficiently aware of the dangers of acting

as cocounsel. No more was required.

IV. Failure to Present Mitigating Evidence

After defendant was granted cocounsel status, he

stated for the record, at his attorneys’ request, that he

would not submit to a psychiatric examination and that

he would not have his mother or any members of his

family testify or be in any way involved in the trial.

Defense counsel indicated they would respect defen-

dant’s wishes in these matters. As a result, the defense

case in mitigation did not include expert testimony about

App. 26

defendant’s mental condition, nor did it include testi-

mony from any member of defendant's family. Defendant

now contends that his trial counsel, by following defen-

dant’s directions in these matters, denied defendant his

right to a fair trial and deprived him of effective assis-

tance of counsel.

As we have repeatedly explained, an attorney repre-

senting a defendant at the penalty phase of a capital case

is not required to present potentially mitigating evidence

over the defendant’s objections. (People v. Howard (1992) 1

Cal.4th 1132, 1185 [5 Cal.Rptr.2d 268, 824 P.2d 1315];

People v. Deere (1991) 53 Cal.3d 705, 714-717 [280 Cal.Rptr.

424, 808 P.2d 1181]; People v. Lang, supra, 49 Cal.3d 991,

1031.) A defendant may choose to spare his or her rela-

tives the ordeal of testifying in a capital trial. (People v.

Lang, supra, at p. 1031.) Similarly, counsel need not

attempt to obtain and present expert psychiatric testi-

mony in the face of the defendant’s refusal to cooperate.

Finally, “a defendant who insists that mitigating evidence

~ not be presented at the penalty phase is estopped from

later claiming ineffective assistance based on counsels

acquiescence in his [or her] wishes.” (People v. Deere,

supra, at p. 717.)

V. Dog Poisoning and Threatening Telephone Calls

Defendant raises various contentions regarding the

prosecution’s penalty phase evidence, introduced over

defense objection, that defendant had threatened to harm

Shirley Johnson, her house, and her children; that he had

administered poison to Johnson’s two dogs, inducing

temporary paralysis; and that he had made telephone

App. 27

calls to Johnson during which he threatened harm to her

daughter. He maintains that administering poison to ani-

mals and threatening damage to the house are not within

any statutory aggravating factor, that evidence of the

annoying telephone calls should have been excluded

under Evidence Code section 352 as being more prejudi-

cial than probative, that admitting evidence of threats

made by telephone but not threats made in person consti-

tutes a denial of equal protection of law, that the trial

court’s instructions to the jury improperly permitted

reliance on threats or injury to property as a circumstance

in aggravation, and that the combined effect of these

claimed errors requires reversal of the judgment of death.

A. Admissibility Under Statutory Aggravating Factor

One of the statutory factors that the jury must con-

sider in determining penalty in a capital case is “[t]he

presence or absence of criminal activity by the defendant

which involved the use or attempted use of force of

violence or the express or implied threat to use force or

violence.” (§ 190.3, factor (b).) To be admissible under this

factor, a threat to do violent injury must violate a penal

statute and must be directed against a person or persons,

not against property. (People v. Phillips (1985) 41 Cal.3d 29,

72 [222 Cal.Rptr. 127, 711 P.2d 423]; People v. Boyd (1985)

38 Cal.3d 762, 776 [215 Cal.Rptr. 1, 700 P.2d 782}.) But

when the prosecution has evidence of conduct by the

defendant that satisfies these statutory requirements, evi-

dence of the surrounding circumstances is admissible to

give context to the episode, even though the surrounding

circumstances include other criminal activity that would

App. 28

not be admissible by itself. (People v. Livaditis, supra, 2

Cal.4th 759, 776-777.)

Here, the prosecution’s evidence included threats by

defendant to harm Johnson’s daughter, and, as defendant

concedes, these threats violated section 653m.° To give

context to the treats, the prosecution properly introduced

evidence of the entire “course of criminal activity” that

included these threats, including the poisoning of the

dogs and the threats of injury to property. (People v.

Cooper (1991) 53 Cal.3d 771, 841 [281 Cal.Rptr. 90, 809 P.2d

865]; see also, People v. Sully (1991) 53 Cal.3d 1195, 1243

[283 Cal.Rptr. 144, 812 P.2d 163] [injury to animals]; People

v. Pensinger (1991) 52 Cal.3d 1210, 1258-1261 [278

Cal.Rptr. 640, 805 P.2d 899] [injury to property].)

B. Evidence Code Section 352

Evidence Code section 352 gives trial courts discre-

tion to exclude evidence the probative value of which is

“substantially outweighed” by the probability that admit-

ting it will unduly prolong the proceeding, prejudice the

opposing party, confuse the issues, or mislead the jury. To

preserve a claim that a trial court abused its discretion in

not excluding evidence under this section, a party must

make a timely and specific objection when the evidence is

offered. (Evid. Code, § 353, subd. (a); People v. Morris

(1991) 53 Cal.3d 152, 205 [279 Cal.Rptr. 720, 807 P.2d 949].)

> Section 653m, as here relevant, provides: “Every person

who, with intent to annoy, telephones another and . . . addresses

to the other person any threat to inflict injury to the person...

addressed or any member of his or her family, is guilty of a

misdemeanor.” (Id., subd. (a).)

App. 29

Contrary to defendant’s assertion on appeal, the

defense did not specifically object at trial that Shirley

Johnson’s testimony about the poisoning of her dogs

probably would prolong the proceedings unduly, unfairly

prejudice defendant, confuse the issues, or mislead the

jury, or that any one or more of these negative conse-

quences substantially outweighed the testimony’s proba-

tive value. Instead, the record shows that after requesting

and receiving an offer of proof, defense counsel objected

“that this does not show any crime of violence” and that

“it’s just a lot of hearsay testimony that is not really

probative.” Although counsel’s lack of express reference

to Evidence Code section 352 is not itself fatal to defen-

dant’s claim, the stated basis of the objection was insuffi-

cient to alert the trial court that this provision was being

invoked. Rather, counsel’s claim that the evidence did not

show any crime of violence and was “not really proba-

tive” appears to be an objection for lack of relevance.

Because there was no specific objection on the grounds

set forth in Evidence Code section 352, the issue is not

preserved for review.

C. Equal Protection Claim

Invoking the principle that a capital punishment

scheme must provide a “ ‘meaningful basis for distin-

guishing the few cases in which [the death penalty] is

imposed from the many cases in which it is not’ ” (Gregg

v. Georgia (1976) 428 U.S. 153, 188 [49 L.Ed.2d 859, 883, 96

S.Ct. 2909]), defendant argues that because California’s

capital punishment scheme permits the use of annoying

telephone calls as an aggravating factor when the same

threats administered in person could not be so

App. 30

employed,® it does not provide a meaningful basis for

selecting the few cases in which the death penalty should

be imposed, and therefore our death penalty scheme vio-

lates both the Eighth Amendment ban on cruel and

unusual punishments and the Fourteenth Amendment

guarantee of equal protection of the laws.

Defendant’s argument is founded upon a mistaken

understanding of the purpose of aggravating and mitigat-

ing circumstances in our death penalty scheme. As we

have recently explained, our law uses the special circum-

stances enumerated in section 190.2 to circumscribe the

class of persons eligible for the death penalty. (People v.

Bacigalupo (1993) 6 Cal.4th 457, 467-470 [24 Cal.Rptr.2d

808, 862 P.2d 808].) The aggravating and mitigating cir-

cumstances specified in section 190.3 perform a different

function. “A factor in aggravation . . . is simply a circum-

stance which may or may not affect one or more juror’s

moral, normative judgment regarding the appropriate

penalty for a defendant who has been convicted of a

death-eligible crime.” (People v. Pensinger, supra, 52 Cal.3d

1210, 1261.) For this purpose, factor (b) of section 190.3

appropriately permits the trier of penalty to consider

6 It is no longer the case, if it ever was, that threats of death

or great bodily injury can be criminal acts only if made by

telephone. Section 422, enacted in 1988, imposes criminal sanc-

tions for this conduct without regard to how the threat is com-

municated. A previous version of section 422 was enacted in

1977 (see Stats. 1977, ch. 1146, § 1, pp. 3684-3685), but this court

had declared it unconstitutionally vague before the events at

issue is this case. (People v. Mirmirani (1981) 30 Cal.3d 375, 388

{178 Cal.Rptr. 792, 636 P.2d 1130].)

App. 31

evidence of threats of violence only when those threats

violate a penal statute.

D. Jury Instructions

The trial court instructed the jury that before it could

consider as an aggravating circumstance the evidence

that defendant had made “threatening telephone calls” to

Shirley Johnson and had “[a]dminister[ed] poison to ani-

mals,” it was necessary that the jurors be satisfied beyond

a reasonable doubt that defendant had committed “such

criminal acts.” To assist the jurors in making this deter-

mination, the court defined the crime of “threatening

telephone calls” in these terms: “Every person who, with

intent to annoy telephones another and addresses to such

other person any threat to inflict injury to the person or

property of the person addressed or any member of his

family, is guilty of a crime.” Defendant maintains that

these instructions improperly permitted the jury to con-

sider threats to injure animals and other property as an

aggravating circumstance.

We agree that the court should have modified the

instructions to delete references to poisoning animals and

threatening injury to property. As we have already noted,

factor (b) of section 190.3 encompasses only those threats

of violent injury that are directed against a person or

persons. (People v. Boyd, supra, 38 Cal.3d 762, 776.) But we

are satisfied that there is no reasonable possibility these

instructional errors affected the penalty verdict. (People v.

Brown, (1988) 46 Cal.3d 432, 448 [250 Cal.Rptr. 604, 758

P.2d 1135].) The testimony regarding defendant's threats

to damage Johnson’s house and the nonfatal poisoning of

App. 32

the dogs was brief and unemotional, and it was properly

admitted and properly considered to provide context to

the threat to Shirley Johnson’s daughter. The testimony

was insubstantial in comparison to the testimony regard-

ing the threats to Shirley Johnson’s daughter, the evi-

dence concerning the Jacob D. and Stephen T. incidents,

and the evidence of the two capital murders. (See People

v. Pinholster, supra, 1 Cal.4th 865, 962-963 [explaining why

erroneous admission of nonviolent or noncriminal con-

duct is generally not prejudicial].) There is no reasonable

possibility that the instructions permitting the jury to

consider the dog poisoning and threats to property as

separate circumstances in aggravation, rather than as pro-

viding context to the threat to the daughter, induced any

juror to vote for death rather than life without possibility

of parole.

VI. Victim Impact Argument

During penalty phase argument to the jury, the pros-

ecutor referred to the likely suffering of the friends and

family members of the two persons defendant had

killed.? Relying on the United States Supreme Court’s

7 To the extent that sympathy or pity is part of a defense

argument, I would like to indicate that sympathy and pity in

this case cuts both ways.

“There is sympathy and pity for the people involved in this

case.

“There were two young men who were murdered. Those

two young men were absolutely innocent individuals. They had

hopes. They had dreams.

“One of them at the age of 16 really never had a chance to

live, never had a chance to love, never really had a chance to

App. 33

decision in Booth v. Maryland (1987) 482 U.S. 496 [96

L.Ed.2d 440, 107 S.Ct. 2529], defendant argues that the

prosecutors statements violated his rights under the

Eighth Amendment to the federal Constitution.

After defendant’s opening brief was filed, the United

States Supreme Court largely overruled Booth v. Maryland,

supra, 482 U.S. 496 (Payne v. Tennessee (1991) 501 U.S. 808

[115 L.Ed.2d 720, 111 S.Ct. 2597]), and this court has

subsequently held that under state law the immediate

effects of a capital crime on the victims family constitute

a “circumstance[ ] of the crime” (§ 190.3, factor (a)) that

the prosecutor may elicit and argue at the penalty phase

of a capital trial (People v. Edwards (1991) 54 Cal.3d 787,

fulfill what he wanted out of life. To the extent that you are

asked to consider sympathy and pity, I would say, fine; but look

at it both ways, at both sides. To the extent you are asked to

consider sympathy or pity, look at who else was killed at the

Taco Bell.

“It wasn’t just Jim Falconio, it wasn’t just Wayne Hunter

who was killed there. It was their families.

“It is a very painful thing for me to do to have to call

somebody’s best friend, in the case of John Hess, and to talk

abut his best friend being killed.

“It was even more painful to call the mother of the child

who was murdered. It is not something I like to do. I dont [sic]

enjoy watching somebody suffer on the witness stand; some-

body totally innocent up there on the witness stand; but to the

extent that pity, to the extent that sympathy is going to enter

into this case, I ask you to that extent consider both sides.

“I am sure Mrs. Falconio, I am a parent, most of you are too —

“[Defense objects; objection overruled.]

“As a parent dreams for her child, dreams of becoming a

grandparent, these dreams were also killed at the Taco Bell as

well as something she will have to live with for the rest of her

life. That is something that will never go away.”

App. 34

833-836 [1 Cal.Rptr.3d 696, 819 P.2d 436]). The argument

need not be based upon specific testimony of the victim’s

family members describing their emotions; the prosecutor

can urge the jury to draw reasonable inferences concern-

ing the probable impact of the crime on the victim and

the victim’s family. (See, e.g., People v. Montiel (1993) 5

Cal.4th 877, 934-935 [21 Cal.Rptr.2d 705, 855 P.2d 1277];

People v. Sandoval (1992) 4 Cal.4th 155, 190-191 [14

Cal.Rptr.2d 342, 841 P.2d 862]; People v. Wrest (1992) 3

Cal.4th 1088, 1107-1108 [13 Cal.Rptr.2d 511, 839 P.2d

1020]; People v. Raley, supra, 2 Cal.4th 870, 917.) Here, the

prosecutor’s argument was well within the boundaries of

permissible victim impact argument set by this court. (See

People v. Howard, supra, 1 Cal.4th 1132, 1190-1191.)

VII. Failure to Define “Aggravating” and “Mitigating”

During the first day of penalty phase deliberation,

the jury sent the court a note requesting “the legal defini-

tions for aggravating and mitigating circumstances as

they apply to the instructions in making the determina-

tion of this sentence.” After discussing the note with

counsel and defendant, the trial court summoned the jury

and responded to the note with these words: “You have

been given all the legal definitions you need. All other

words have their common definitions.” Defendant con-

tends the court committed prejudicial error in so

responding.

This court has previously determined that “aggrava-

ting” and “mitigating” are commonly understood terms

that the trial court need not define for the jury. (People v.

Johnson (1993) 6 Cal.4th 1, 50 (23 Cal.Rptr.2d 593, 859 P.2d

App. 35

673]; People v. Wader, supra, 5 Cal.4th 610, 659; People v.

Lang, supra, 49 Cal.3d 991, 1036; People v. Malone (1988) 47

Cal.3d 1, 55 (252 Cal.Rptr.525, 762 P.2d 1249].) Adhering

to our previous determination, we reject defendant’s con-

tention.

VIII. Penalty Determination Instruction

The trial court instructed the jury on the penalty

determination process in these words:

“After having heard and received all of the evidence,

and after having heard and considered the arguments of

counsel, you shall consider, take into account and be

guided by the aggravating and mitigating circumstances

upon which you have been instructed. [{] If you conclude

that the aggravating circumstances outweigh the mitigat-

ing circumstances you shall impose a sentence of death.

However, if you determine that the mitigating circum-

stances outweigh the aggravating circumstances, you

shall impose a sentence of confinement in the state prison

for life without the possibility of parole.”

Defendant contends this instruction was erroneous

because it implied that penalty determination was a

mechanical process of deciding whether there were more

bad than good things about defendant rather than deter-

mining which of the alternative punishments was more

appropriate under all the relevant circumstances.

The challenged instruction is a pattern instruction

(CALJIC former No. 8.84.2 (4th ed. 1979 rev.)) that closely

tracks language found in section 190.3. In People v. Brown

(1985) 40 Cal.3d 512, 541-544 [220 Cal.Rptr. 637, 709 P.2d

App. 36

440], we held that the statutory language and instructions

based upon that language did not unconstitutionally

withdraw from the jury its discretion to select the appro-

priate penalty. We cautioned, however, that the instruc-

tion is potentially misleading in two respects. “First, the

jury might erroneously infer that it could perform the

balancing or weighing process in a mechanical fashion by

comparing the number of factors in aggravation with

those in mitigation, or by an arbitrary assignment of

weights to the factors. Second, the jury might fail to

understand that a juror is not required to vote for the

death penalty unless, as a result of the weighing process,

the juror personally determines that death is the appro-

priate penalty under all the circumstances.” (People v.

Hayes (1990) 52 Cal.3d 577, 642 [276 Cal.Rptr. 874, 802

P.2d 376].) In pre-Brown cases like this one, in which the

jury was instructed in the language of section 190.3, we

examine the entire record of the penalty proceeding to

assure that the jury was not misled to defendant's preju-

dice in either of these ways. (52 Cal.3d 642.)8

The jury was not misled into believing that the bal-

ancing or weighing process was to be performed in a

mechanical fashion. In their arguments to the jury, neither

the prosecution nor the defense suggested that the jurors

could discharge their duties by merely counting the

aggravating and mitigating factors to determine which

8 We decline to decide whether this record review is still

necessary after the United States Supreme Court’s decisions in

Blystone v. Pennsylvania (1990) 494 U.S. 299 [108 L.Ed.2d 255, 110

S.Ct. 1078] and Boyde v. California (1990) 494 U.S. 370 [108

L.Ed.2d 316, 110 S.Ct. 1190]. (See People v. Gonzalez (1990) 51

Cal.3d 1179, 1231, fn. 30 [275 Cal.Rptr. 729, 800 P.2d 1159].)

App. 37

predominated numerically, or by assigning weight to the

factors in an arbitrary manner.’ Rather, the arguments to

the jury stressed that the jurors had discretion to decide

what weight to assign to each of the factors shown by the

evidence.

For example, the prosecutor argued that the special

circumstance of robbery murder should be considered as

aggravating, but “depending upon you as individuals

and how you assess it, you will assess it as more or less

aggravating as compared to other types of robbery-mur-

der.” The argument of defense counsel made the same

point explicitly: “It is very important that you understand

that in weighing these factors you and you alone decide

what weight to give each factor, that is, it is emphatically

not a question of mere numbers of how many aggrava-

ting and how many mitigating factors there are. Rather,

you have to decide not only which factors are present,

but how important each factor is.”

Nor was the jury misled into believing that the

weighing process could be divorced from a decision as to

the appropriateness of the death penalty. The prosecutor

repeatedly reminded the jury that the aim of the entire

process was to determine “the appropriate and just pen-

alty in this case.” Defense counsel also referred fre-

quently to the importance of focusing on whether death

was an appropriate penalty in this case.

9 At one point the prosecutor spoke of “adding” the aggra-

vating circumstances, but immediately retracted the statement.

(“It’s simply a weighing process where you add up — not add

up, but you consider the factors in aggravation against the

factors in mitigation.”)

App. 38

We find nothing in the arguments of counsel, in the

other instructions to the jury, or in any other part of the

record that could have caused a reasonable juror to mis-

apprehend the penalty determination process or the

scope of the jury’s discretion to determine penalty. There

was no error under People v. Brown, supra, 40 Cal.3d 512.

IX. Failure to Reinstruct the Jury

Defendant contends that the trial court erred in fail-

ing to repeat at the penalty phase the instructions it gave

at the guilt phase regarding the presumption of inno-

cence, the meaning of reasonable doubt, and the require-

ment that the verdicts reflect the individual opinions of

each juror.

As we have explained, a reasonable juror would

assume that “generic” instructions given at the guilt

phase continue to apply at the penalty phase, and there-

fore it is not prejudicial error for the trial court to fail to

reiterate those instructions. (People v. Hawthorne (1992) 4

Cal.4th 43, 73-74 [14 Cal.Rptr.2d 133, 841 P.2d 118]; People

v. Wharton (1991) 53 Cal.3d 522, 600 [280 Cal.Rptr. 631,

809 P.2d 290]; People v. Brown, supra, 46 Cal.3d 432, 460.)

And we have expressly rejected the contention that the

trial court on its own initiative must reinstruct the jurors

at the penalty phase on the presumption of innocence as

applied to unadjudicated crimes offered as circumstances

in aggravation. (People v. Benson (1990) 52 Cal.3d 754,

809-810 [276 Cal.Rptr. 827, 802 P.2d 330].)

App. 39

X. Failure to Instruct on Jury Unanimity as to Unadjudi-

cated Crimes

Defendant contends the trial court erred in not

instructing, on its own initiative, that the jury could

consider evidence of unadjudicated crimes as an aggrava-

ting circumstance under factor (b) of section 190.3 only if

the jurors unanimously agreed that defendant was guilty

of those crimes.

As defendant acknowledges, we have rejected this

contention many times. (See, e.g., People v. Alcala (1992) 4

Cal.4th 742, 809 [15 Cal.Rptr.2d 432, 842 P.2d 1192]; People

v. Johnson (1992) 3 Cal.4th 1183, 1245 [14 Cal.Rptr.2d 702,

842 P.2d 1].) Defendant provides no persuasive reason to

reconsider our determination of this issue.

XI. Evidence of Unadjudicated Crimes

Recognizing that we have often held to the contrary,

defendant contends that admitting evidence of unadjudi-

cated crimes as circumstances in aggravation deprives a

capital defendant of due process of law and imposes cruel

and unusual punishment in violation of the Eighth and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States Constitu-

tion. We adhere to our prior decisions on this point. (See,

e.g., People v. DeSantis, supra, 2 Cal.4th 1198, 1251-1252;

People v. Balderas (1985) 41 Cal.3d 144, 204-205 [222

Cal.Rptr. 184, 711 P.2d 480].)

XII. Instruction Including Inapplicable Mitigating Factors

Defendant urges us to reconsider previous holdings

that it is not error for the trial court to list all statutory

App. 40

mitigating factors, including factors not applicable to the

case being tried, when instructing the jury at the penalty

phase. (See, e.g., People v. Danielson (1992) 3 Cal.4th 691,

718 [13 Cal.Rptr.2d 1, 838 P.2d 729]; People v. Hardy, supra,

2 Cal.4th 86, 203.) We decline to reconsider these deci-

sions.

XIII. Denial of Motion to Modify Penalty

Denying the automatic motion to modify penalty

(§ 190.4, subd. (e)), the trial court gave this statement of

reasons:

“After weighing all the evidence and after consider-

ation of all the factors set forth in Penal Code Section

190.3, this court concludes and adjudges beyond a rea-

sonable doubt, that the defendants aggravating circum-

stances far outweigh any mitigating circumstances.

“IT have considered the circumstances of the crimes

for which the defendant stands convicted and the exis-

tence of any special circumstances found to be true.

“The crimes of robbery and murder which took place

on September 17, 1983 were particularly aggravating [sic].

“The evidence showed that the defendant, William

Kirkpatrick, planned to rob the Taco Bell restaurant in

Burbank and intended to leave no witnesses.

“Although Lyndel Wayne Hunter and James Falconio

offered no resistance to the robbery, they were summarily

removed to the closet of the restaurant and needlessly

and senselessly murdered, one by one, execution style,

shot in the head by a calculating, cold-blooded murderer.

App. 41

“Mr. Falconio was only sixteen years old.

“The true amoral and cold-hearted character of Wil-

liam Kirkpatrick was obvious throughout the trial and

perhaps most dramatically shown by his statement to

Cora Rand in reference to the condition of James Fal-

conio, in which Kirkpatrick stated, ‘I hope the damn kid

dies.’

“The evidence presented by the People in the penalty

phase showing the presence of criminal activity by the

defendant which involved the use or attempted use of

force or violence was aggravating beyond a reasonable

doubt.

“The assault upon Stephen T[.], the threats to Mrs.

Johnson’s daughter, the poisoning of her dogs, and the

sexual assault upon Jacob D[.], all proven beyond a rea-

sonable doubt, are all aggravating circumstances.

“There was no evidence that the defendant was

under the influence of extreme mental or emotional dis-

turbance.

“The victims of those murders did not consent to nor

were they participants in the defendant’s homicidal con-

duct other than to be victims.

“There was not any moral justification nor any exten-

uation for the defendant’s conduct, nor could he reason-

ably believe there was.

“The defendant did not act under extreme duress or

under the substantial domination of another.

“There was no evidence that the defendant at the

time of the offense had his capacity to appreciate the

App. 42

criminality of the conduct impaired as a result of mental

disease or defect or the effects of intoxication.

“The evidence showed that the defendant was not a

mere minor participant but was in fact the shooter.

“The only possible factors in mitigation are the lack

of any prior felony convictions and the defendant's age of

y

“There were no other circumstances which extenuate

the gravity of the crime even though not a legal excuse.

“As I have stated earlier, the circumstances in aggra-

vation far outweigh those in mitigation.

“The motion for modification of the verdict imposing

the death penalty is denied.”

After the denial of the modification motion, but

before the court pronounced sentence, the court heard

testimony from John Hess (a close friend of victim

Hunter) and Rose Falconio (the mother of victim Fal-

conio). These witnesses expressed their opinions that

defendant should be executed for his crimes.

Defendant contends that the trial court prejudicially

erred in (1) relying upon evidence that defendant had

poisoned Shirley Johnson’s dogs, (2) ignoring evidence

that defendant was intoxicated at the time of the crimes,

and (3) receiving victim impact evidence.

As we have explained, evidence that defendant poi-

soned Shirley Johnson’s dogs was properly admitted to

provide context to defendant’s threats against Johnson’s

daughter. Thus, the trial court properly considered it, and

App. 43

the trial court’s brief reference to the incident does not

indicate that the court gave it undue weight.

Under factor (h) of section 190.3, the penalty jury is

to consider “[w]hether or not at the time of the offense

the capacity of the defendant to appreciate the criminality

of his conduct or to conform his conduct to the require-

ments of law was impaired as a result of . . . the affects

[sic] of intoxication.” Here, the trial court expressly found

that defendant's “capacity to appreciate the criminalty of

the conduct” was not impaired by intoxication, but defen-

dant complains that there was no similar finding that his

capacity to “conform his conduct to the requirements of

law” was unimpaired. The omission appears to be an

oversight in an otherwise thorough review of the statu-

tory factors, but the omission does not constitute error.

The trial court’s statement of reasons is sufficient to per-

mit thoughtful and effective appellate review. No more is

required. (People v. Clark, supra, 3 Cal.4th 41, 172.)

To the extent that defendant may be contending that

the trial court was required to find that intoxication was a

mitigating circumstance, we reject the contention. Evi-

dence that defendant was intoxicated at the time of the

murders was slight and unpersuasive. The trial court

could properly find that defendant was not intoxicated

(See People v. Thomas (1992) 2 Cal.4th 489, 543-544 [7

Cal.Rptr.2d 199, 828 P.2d 101].)

Finally, there was no error or prejudice in the trial

court’s decision to permit testimony by a friend and a

relative of the victims after the court had denied the

motion to modify penalty. (People v. Duncan (1991) 53

Cal.3d 955, 981 [281 Cal.Rptr. 273, 810 P.2d 131]; People v.

App. 44

Babbitt (1988) 45 Cal.3d 660, 724-725 [248 Cal.Rptr. 69, 755

P.2d 253].)

XIV. Constitutional Challenge to Death Penalty Law

Defendant contends that the death penalty law

unconstitutionally delegates to each district attorney the

power to decide which defendants shall be sentenced to

death by means of the prosecutors’ decisions to charge or

not to charge special circumstances and to seek or not to

seek the death penalty in those cases in which special

circumstances are charged and found. We disagree. As we

have explained, “prosecutorial discretion to select those

eligible cases in which the death penalty will actually be

sought does not in and of itself evidence an arbitrary and

capricious capital punishment system or offend princi-

ples of equal protection, due process, or cruel and/or

unusual punishment.” (People v. Keenan (1988) 46 Cal.3d

478, 505 [250 Cal.Rptr. 550, 758 P.2d 1081]; accord, People

v. Ashmus (1991) 54 Cal.3d 932, 980 [2 Cal.Rptr.2d 112, 820

P.2d 214].) Similarly, we conclude that the death penalty

law does not violate the constitutional principle of sep-

aration of powers by delegating sentencing authority to

the prosecutor. Ultimate sentencing power remains at all

times with the judicial branch.

App. 45

DISPOSITION

The judgment is affirmed.

Lucas, C.J., Arabian, J., Baxter, J., George, J., and

Klein, J.,* concurred.

MOSK, J. — I concur in the judgment. After review, I have

found no reversible error or other defect.

I write separately, however, because I cannot concur

in the majority opinion’s discussion, or lack of discussion,

of three troubling issues.

The first is defendant’s claim of ineffective assistance

under the Sixth Amendment to the United States Consti-

tution and article I, section 15 of the California Constitu-

tion based on trial counsels opposition to his penalty

phase motion to exercise his Sixth Amendment right of

self-representation under Faretta v. California (1975) 422

U.S. 806 [45 L.Ed.2d 562, 95 S.Ct. 2525]. The majority’s

analysis leads ineluctably to a determination of no preju-

dice, based on the assertion that “ ‘the right of self-

representation is a right that when exercised usually

increases the likelitood of a trial outcome unfavorable to

the defendant.’” (Maj. opn., ante, at p. 1009, quoting

McKaskle v. Wiggins (1984) 465 U.S. 168, 177, fn. 8 [79

L.Ed.2d 122, 133, 104 S.Ct. 944].) But it is settled that a

violation of this right by the trial court “is not amenable

to ‘harmless error’ analysis” and for that reason “cannot

be harmless... . ” (McKaskle v. Wiggins, supra, 465 U.S. at

* Presiding Justice, Court of Appeal, Second Appellate Dis-

trict, Division Three, assigned by the Acting Chairperson of the

Yudicial Council.

App. 46

p. 177, fn. 8 [79 L.Ed.2d at p. 133].) Is it true, as the

majority imply, that a violation of this same right by the

defendant's own attorney is virtually harmless per se? It

may be that “defendant waived his [absolute] constitu-

tional right of self-representation by failing to assert it

within a reasonable time before trial.” (Maj. opn., ante, at

p. 1011.) But he still retained at least a qualified constitu-

tional right of self-representation. The record reveals that

he would most likely have been allowed to proceed pro

se had not his attorneys expressed opposition.

The second troubling issue is defendant’s claim that

the trial court erred by refusing the jury’s request during

penalty deliberations for a definition of the crucial

instructional terms “aggravating” and “mitigating.” The

majority’s response is insufficient. It is true that “[t]his

court has previously determined that ‘aggravating’ and

‘mitigating’ are commonly understood terms that the trial

court need not define for the jury.” (Maj. opn., ante, at p.

1018.) That determination is perhaps sound when the jury

does not express any lack of such “common understand-

ing.” The matter is otherwise when - as here - it does.

The cases cited by the majority cover the situation in

which the jury does not make an expression of this sort.

They do not extend further.

The third troubling issue is defendant’s claim that

Penal Code section 190.3, which governs the penalty

phase of a capital trial, violates the guaranty of equal

protection of the laws contained in the Fourteenth

Amendment to the United States Constitution and article

I, section 7 of the California Constitution by “allow[ing]

proof of threats of violence as an aggravating circum-

stance where such threats are made over the telephone

App. 47

but not where they are otherwise communicated. In effect

this creates two classifications of persons: one subject to

aggravation at the death penalty trial because threats of

violence were made over the telephone, and one not

subject to aggravation based on violent threats made by

some other means.” “[W]hen reviewing legislative classi-

fications under the equal protection clauses of the Cali-

fornia and United States Constitutions, the legislation

under examination is generally clothed in a presumption

of constitutionality. However, once it is determined that

the classification scheme affects a fundamental interest or

right [or involves a suspect classification] the burden

shifts; thereafter the state must first establish that it has a

compelling interest which justifies the law and then dem-

onstrate that the distinctions drawn by the law are neces-

sary to further that purpose.” (People v. Olivas (1976) 17

Cal.3d 236, 251 [131 Cal.Rptr. 55, 551 P.2d 375], italics in

original.) Obviously, the classification between “tele-

phonic” and “nontelephonic” threats and threateners

affects life itself. And life, of course, is the most funda-

mental of fundamental interests. (See ibid.) “[C]an the

challenged sentencing scheme withstand application of

the strict scrutiny standard?” (ibid.) The majority do not

even address the question.

But, with all that said, neither in these matters nor in

any other can I find grounds for reversal. Hence,

although I do not concur in the majority opinion, I do

concur in the judgment.

*

App. 48

APPENDIX B

CR23921

S004642

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

STATE OF CALIFORNIA

IN BANK

(Filed Aug. 11, 1994)

THE PEOPLE, Respondent

V.

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK JR., Appellant

Petition for rehearing DENIED.

Opinion modified.

/s/ Lucas

Chief Justice

App. 49

COPY

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF CALIFORNIA

PEOPLE,

Plaintiff and Respondent. 5004642

v Super. Ct. No.

| A 590144

WILLIAM KIRKPATRICK, JR.,

Los Angeles County

MODIFICATION

OF OPINION

(Filed Aug. 11, 1994)

Defendant and Appellant.

ee

THE COURT:

The opinion herein, appearing at 7 Cal.4th 988, is

modified as follows:

The last sentence of the first full paragraph on page

1010 [App. 21-22] is revised to read:

Third, “the defendant — not criminal defense counsel

— has the right to personally decide whether he or she

desires . . . to appeal, or to proceed pro se.” (Burkoff,

Criminal Defense Ethics (1993 rev. ed.) § 6.3(a)(2), p. 6-20,

fns. omitted.)

This modification does not affect the judgment.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.