Petition for Writ of Certiorari — BW Parkway Associates Partnership v. United States, 115 S. Ct. 1356 (1995) (No. 94-1104)

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Omemtaisas Vv = &

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 19 __

BW PARKWAY ASSOCIATES PARTNERSHIP,

PETITIONER,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES,

RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

C. ELYSE VINITSKY

4801 Hampden Lane

Suite 105

Bethesda, Maryland 20814

(301) 657-2400

Attorney for Petitioner

BW PARKWAY

ASSOCIATES

WHERE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

SECRETLY DETERMINED IN 1968 THAT ALL

PRIVATE STRUCTURES ON LANDOWNER’S

PROPERTY POSED A THREAT TO NATIONAL

SECURITY AND THEN’ THE FEDERAL

GOVERNMENT ENGAGED IN A COURSE OF

CONDUCT FOR OVER NINETEEN YEARS

DELIBERATELY DESIGNED TO ENSURE THAT

NO BUILDINGS WERE BUILT, WERE THE

GOVERNMENT’S ACTIONS TANTAMOUNT TO

REGULATING NO DEVELOPMENT ON BWPA’S

PROPERTY UNDER LUCAS V. S.C. COASTAL

COUNCIL?

WHERE THE GOVERNMENT DETERMINED THAT

CONSTRUCTION OF ANY BUILDINGS ON

PETITIONER’S PROPERTY POSED A RISK TO

NATIONAL SECURITY BECAUSE SPIES COULD

LIVE AND WORK IN_- STRUCTURES IF

CONSTRUCTED, WAS THERE A TAKING UNDER

THE SUPREME COURT’S RULING IN NOLLAN V.

CAL, COASTAL COMM’N AND DOLAN V,_CITY

QF TIGARD BECAUSE THERE WAS NO

LOGICAL NEXUS BETWEEN RESTRICTING THE

HEIGHT OF PROPOSED STRUCTURES AND

WHETHER SPIES COULD LIVE AND WORK IN

SUCH BUILDINGS?

Ii.

WHERE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

ENGAGED IN A COURSE OF CONDUCT OVER

19 YEARS DELIBERATELY DESIGNED TO

ENSURE THAT LANDOWNER’S REAL PROPERTY

REMAINED VACANT AND UNDEVELOPED

BECAUSE ANY BUILDINGS ON LANDOWNER

BWPA’S PROPERTY POSED A THREAT TO

NATIONAL SECURITY, DOES THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT TO THE UNITED ' STATES

CONSTITUTION MANDATE PAYMENT OF JUST

COMPENSATION?

SHOULD THE SUPREME COURT ESTABLISH

TWO TESTS FOR TAKINGS - ONE INVOLVING

VACANT OR UNDEVELOPED PROPERTY AND

ANOTHER FOR’ PROPERTY WHICH IS

DEVELOPED?

WHERE THE FEDERAL GOVERNMENT

PERMANENTLY TAKES THE FEE OF

UNDEVELOPED REAL PROPERTY, AFTER

THWARTING ALL DEVELOPMENT ON THE

PROPERTY FOR 19 YEARS, TO ADVANCE

NATIONAL SECURITY INTERESTS, DO FIRST

ENGLISH EVANGELICAL LUTHERAN CHURCH

OF GLENDALE V, CTY. OF LOS ANGELES AND

THE CONSTITUTION MANDATE THAT THE

GOVERNMENT PAY COMPENSATION FOR THE

TEMPORARY TAKING?

i ie ed eee

‘

Ne tebe ne +

DID THE COURT OF APPEALS IN AFFIRMING

THE COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS ERR AS A

MATTER OF LAW BY FAILING TO RECOGNIZE

THAT BOTH LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT

ACTIONS AND GOVERNMENT ACTIONS NOT

LEGITIMATE CAN AFFECT A TAKING IF THE

ACTIONS DEPRIVE THE LANDOWNER OF

SUBSTANTIALLY ALL ECONOMIC USE OF

PROPERTY?

DID THE COURT OF APPEALS IN AFFIRMING

THE COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS ERR AS A

MATTER OF LAW BY EXAMINING EACH

GOVERNMENT ACTION IN ISOLATION TO

DETERMINE WHETHER A SPECIFIC

GOVERNMENT ACTION IN AND OF ITSELF

PREVENTED BWPA FROM DEVELOPING ITS

PROPERTY INSTEAD OF CONSIDERING THE

IMPACT OF THE TOTALITY OF THE

GOVERNMENT ACTIONS UPON LANDOWNER’S

REASONABLE INVESTMENT-BACKED

EXPECTATIONS?

a

CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST

Counsel for the Petitioner, BW Parkway Associates,

certifies the following:

1. The full name of the party represented by me is:

BW Parkway Associates, which is a general partnership, successor

in interest to BW Parkway Associates Limited Partnership.

2. The partners of BW Parkway Associates are the

Melvin J. Berman Revocable Trust, the primary beneficiary who

is Melvin J. Berman, BW-32 Partnership, a partnership comprised

of the Melvin J. Berman Revocable Trust, Dennis Berman and

Gary Berman.

3. There are no parent companies of the party, no

subsidiaries (except wholly-owned subsidiaries), nor affiliates that

have issued shares to the public represented by me.

4. That all law firms and the partners or associates

that appeared for the party or amicus now represented by me in the

trial court or agency or are expected to appear in this court are:

Elyse Vinitsky is expected to appear in this court. Elyse Vinitsky

and Christine M. Sorge of Bethesda, Maryland and Daniel Grove

iv

ee oe

8c rire whine shoe

vite

Ce eee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........... i

LIST OF PARTIES - CERTIFICATE OF INTEREST .... iv

Bees UR CUBTEEINES 2 nc ccc cc ccc cc ccene vi

py Be ey sy Vii

MEY bec h ee ee sssctccecesscvevecs 2

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION ................. 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

ey ce esa Sah ak Sb 4 OSS Dh eo 2

eimameees GP THE CASE 2... ccc ccc cces 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........... 14

RR RR ee 56

INDEX TO APPENDICES

Appendix A

Opinion of the United States Court of Federal

Claims reported as

B.W., Parkway Associates

Limited Partnership v. United States, 29 Fed. Cl.

669 (1993)

Per Curiam Opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit

Appendix C

Amendments IV and V to the United States

Constitution

Appendix D

10 U.S.C. § 2803; 10 U.S.C. § 2672a and 42

U.S.C. § 4651 et. seq.

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES CITED

CASES

Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980) ..... 19, 20, 42, 49

Althaus v. U.S., 7 Cl. Ct. 688 (1985) ........... 45, 48

Armstrong v. U.S., 364 U.S. 40 (1960) .......... 17, 34

Benenson v. U.S., 548 F.2d 939 (Ct. Cl. 1977) ... 20, 48, 54

29 Fed.

passim

oe oS 2.8.8 Ce. Ce € @e @€.€ ee eae @eo@ceCéct@ee+oeewe@oe oe &€ 6 8 6.6 @

ERRORS ORASHOCES EEE COS Cee Soa He de eESs passim

vii

Drakes Bay Land Co, v, U.S., 424 F.2d 574 (Ct. Cl. 1970)

ne Bitumi , as

a 6 Rage ener ae ere 19, 20

Loveladies Harbor, Inc, v, ULS., 21 Cl. Ct. 153 (1990) .....

FG ee COA ee Ok EM 6 eR Re 4h

Lucas v a 112 S. Ct. 2886

nS own e eae os ha 0 econ Oe eee Ke eS passim

Nollan v. Cal, Coastal Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825, 107 S. Ct. 3141

Ry eo aren aa aa aaa eer eee passim

Pennsylvania Coal v, Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922) ........

Ee ee ee ee re ee ee ee 28, 30, 38, 49, 51

U.S. v. General Motors, 323 U.S. 373 (1945) ...... 43, 44

U.S, v. 255.21 Acres of Land, No. WN- 87 - 2810 (D.MD. July

CS BRAN EE rrr see ree ee ee ee ee 3

Village of Belle Terre et al. v. Boraas, et al., 416 U.S. 1

GS ae Se Saar see a ea ee ae ae ee 42

Village of Euclid et al, v. Ambler Realty Co,, 272 U.S. —

Sere rere eT Tee ee ee ee ee ee ee

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENTS AND STATUTES

CS re 2, 42

U.S. CONST. amend. aes de Ne ee ek es passim

CE fbb wae eae e eed ee eee sees 2, 10, 21

ET eT eee ee eee ee 2, 10, 21

EE Gin Svcd bees eeecesescceceses 2

Doo oe cc cae cc cess reese 4

I eee 3

42 U.S.C. § 4651 through 4655 .............. 2, 11, 43

No.

IN THE SUPREME COURT

OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

OCTOBER TERM, 19 __

BW PARKWAY ASSOCIATES PARTNERSHIP,

PETITIONER,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES,

RESPONDENT.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Petitioner, BW Parkway Associates Partnership ("BWPA"),

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the per

curiam affirmance by the United States Court of Appeals for the

Federal Circuit of the United States Court of Federal Claims

judgment finding that BWPA had not met its burden of proof that

the Government’s conduct caused BWPA to suffer economic loss.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Federal Claims

is reported as B

United States, 29 Fed. Cl. 669 (1993), and appears in Appendix

A to this Petition. The per curiam affirmance by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit appears in Appendix B to

this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The United States Court of Federal Claims Opinion in this

matter was filed on October 15, 1993. A timely appeal was filed

in the United States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit. The

Court of Appeals’ Opinion was filed on September 15, 1994. This

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Amendment IV and Amendment V to the United States

Constitution are set forth in Appendix C. 10 U.S.C. § 2803; 10

U.S.C. § 2672a; and 42 U.S.C. § 4651 et. seq. are set forth in

Appendix D.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The main issue is whether the Government’s actions in

thwarting all development on BWPA’s property to maintain a

security buffer for NSA from 1968 through October 1987

constituted a temporary taking of private property for which just

compensation is mandated under the Fifth Amendment.

The United States Court of Federal Claims ("CFC") had

jurisdiction of this case pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1491.' The CFC

1The Government filed a Declaration of Taking in the District Court

for 255.21 acres of BWPA’s property on October 19, 1987. BWPA filed

a counterclaim alleging a temporary taking of BWPA’s property. On

September 21, 1989, the District Court ordered that BWPA’s

counterclaim be transferred to the Claims Court. The judgment entered

in the District Court on July 22, 1991 was for the fair market value of the

property taken on October 19, 1987. BWPA did not receive any

compensation for the loss caused by the Government’s actions prior to

October 19, 1987. In fact the Order granting Judgment states:

Plaintiff and defendant agree that this settlement is in no way res

judicata of the case pending in the United States Claims

Court...and by entering into the stipulation and accepting

judgment, B-W Parkway Associates is neither estopped nor

collaterally estopped from making its claims against the United

States...Plaintiff [the Government] offered additional monies to

Defendant [BWPA] to settle the Claims Court matter, but

Plaintiff and Defendant were unable to reach agreement on

matters pending in the Claims Court.

United States v. 255.21 Acres of Land, No. WN-87-2810 (D.MD. July

2, 1991).

— —_r . Ss

allocated only four days for the entire trial on the issue of liability

with just 2 days for BWPA to submit its extensive evidence of 20

years of Government interference. The CFC held that BWPA had

not met its burden of proof that the Government’s conduct caused

BWPA to suffer economic loss. Id, BWPA timely filed its Notice

of Appeal on December 17, 1993 with the United States Court of

Appeals for the Federal Circuit which has jurisdiction to review

the CFC’s judgments for error on questions of law and clear error

on findings of fact. 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(3). The Court of

Appeals affirmed the judgment of the CFC without an opinion on

September 15, 1994.

Petitioner, Landowner, is BW Parkway Associates

Partnership ("BWPA"). Respondent is the United States

Government ("Government"). The agency of the Government

most involved was the National Security Agency ("NSA"). The

property ("property") was approximately 255 acres of unimproved

land in Anne Arundel County, Maryland.? The property was

*The total acreage was 258.783 acres. BWPA’s claim is based on

the Government precluding development on approximately 255+ acres of

unimproved land. The CFC Opinion erred in stating: "Throughout the

4

located at Maryland Route 32 and the Baltimore-Washington

Parkway ("BW Parkway”) and bordered on the east by NSA and

by Fort George G. Meade. In historical documents, the property

was referred to as the “Colony Fairfield Tract" or the "Berman

Tract.” The property was located equidistant from three large

population centers, Baltimore, Washington, D.C. and Annapolis.

The vacant land was expressly assembled because it was

adjacent to NSA, a very large employer. The principals of BWPA

were knowledgeable, experienced, and successful developers.

Melvin Berman, a principal of BWPA, was the initiating force

behind the development of the planned city of Columbia,

Maryland.

Throughout 1968-1987, the property’s zoning was: 133

acres of high-rise residential, 53 acres high-density commercial,

and 70 acres residential. When BWPA assembled the property

period at issue, though, the only tenants of the property were a motel, gas

station and doughnut shop, and the ssmainder of the property was

vacant.” 29 Fed. Cl. at 671. The motel was developed in the early

1960’s and was not owned by BWPA. Both the doughnut shop and gas

station were constructed before the period at issue and covered

approximately 1.3 acres of ground.

5

pi ay ghee a 3, ebay tons

there was no published law, regulation or statute that would have

prohibited development of the property because of its proximity to

NSA or for any other reason. In 1967, when BWPA received

confirmation from the General Counsel of NSA that no NSA

official had been authorized to tell BWPA that the owners would

not be allowed to develop, BWPA fully believed that it was free to

develop its property to its full density.

Experts at trial testified that throughout the period 1968-

1987, BWPA actively and continuously pursued development in a

logical fashion and the development proposed was feasible.

Sufficient water and sewer were available for development of

BWPA’s property. The evidence established that from 1968

through 1987, BWPA spent large sums of money on the following:

taxes, insurance, architects, lawyers, engineers and contractors to

obtain water and sewer approvals, develop plans, conduct water

and sewer studies, soil tests, elevation studies, subdivision

submissions, and design building plans for residential areas, office

buildings and a shopping center. There was adequate access and

road capacity to support BWPA’s development. “The record

CB OO

reflects that real estate development between Baltimore and

Washington was “booming” during the period at issue.” 29 Fed.

Cl. at 671. BWPA had reasonable investment-backed expectations

of developing a town center with high-rise office buildings, high-

rise apartments and a shopping center.

Throughout the period from 1968-1987, NSA was

continually expanding. By the time this lawsuit came to trial, NSA

occupied 5-6 million square feet of buildings adjacent to the

property. In the late 1960’s unbeknownst to BWPA, the

Government secretly determined that a security buffer was required

around NSA because if buildings were built on BWPA’s property,

the interests of national security would be threatened. Beginning

in 1967 and throughout subsequent years, NSA conducted many

Technical Vulnerability Studies. The ultimate conclusion of all of

the Technical Vulnerability Studies was the same: any

development of BWPA’s property posed a threat to national

security and BWPA’s property should be acquired in the interest

of national security. “NSA officials regarded a large-scale

development on the property as a threat to NSA’s mission. NSA

collects foreign intelligence for the United States. Its operations

are secret, and a foreign government ‘would absolutely gain from

knowledge of what was going on inside the facility.’" Id, at 671.

NSA’s internal documents in evidence reveal an internal DoD

document which states:

The justification for the requested acquisition was

to ensure against the violation of security of the

Headquarters in the years to come, particularly as

it is known that the owner of this land is planning

intensive apartment and office building

construction. The concern of NSA apparently is

that having this intense development, probably

high-rise, adjacent to the headquarters could permit

snooping and other security interference...

(balance of sentence redacted)

Letter from Edward J. Sheridan, Deputy Asst. Sec. of Defense to

Finn Larsen, Deputy Director DoD (November 12, 1968).

On November 19, 1968, a letter from Marshall Carter, the

Director of NSA to the Deputy Director of Defense, first

declassified in 1989 and admitted into evidence, said in part:

F NSA has been concerned that the development of

' this land...would seriously encumber the required

security of Agency activities. Recent events have

3 confirmed our concern. The owner of the property

has provided us with the master plan for the

development of the property, which indicates

extensive development including a shopping center

and a complex of high-rise apartments. With the

implementation of such a plan, the security of

Agency operations would be seriously exposed to

the many types of espionage activities and the

modern devices available to glean information

concerning Agency activities. The acquisition of

this property would provide a security buffer zone

and eliminate the ever present threat from our

neighbors and their activities.

Another internal NSA document dated May 27, 1969

admitted into evidence discusses what zoning restrictions NSA

wanted for the remote portions of BWPA’s property:

within sight of the NSA Headquarters complex, the

threat of hostile collection activity is not diminished

greatly by distance. Nor does structure height and

orientation greatly effect the threat. Instead, it is

th2 covert or noncovert potential of the structure

which determines the degree of hazard.

On June 27, 1969 the Deputy Assistant Security of Defense

received a classified memorandum from the Chief Operation

Support Group discussing the acquisition of BWPA’s property:

If only the southern portion of Parcel 188 is

acquired, zoning restrictions will be necessary for

the remaining areas to limit the erection of

structures to those open to the general public,

e.g.,... wherein char and utility personnel have

; daily access to all internal areas.

On September 11, 1970, the Deputy Assistant Secretary of

Defense wrote the Senate Armed Services Committee:

He

The owners of this private property have just

announced that they intend to construct a high-rise

apartment and office building...If this were to

develop, modern day electronic and optical devices

would permit undesirable parties to snoop into the

highly classified activities at the National Security

(eenphasis added)

The Government’s internal documents and witnesses

establish that security concerns about constructiun of any building

on BWPA’s property were constant from 1968 through 1987. In

April 1968, NSA requested DoD to take steps to acquire the

property. NSA had DoD approval to acquire BWPA’s property in

1968. Repeated authorizations were obtained throughout the years.

From and after 1975, the Government also had legislative authority

to acquire the property on an emergency basis simply by

determining that it was required for national security. 10

U.S.C.A. § 2672(a) and 10 U.S.C.A. § 2803. Throughout the

period at issue, the Government had statutory and congressional

authority to acquire the property at any time because of NSA’s

determination in 1968 that the property should be acquired in the

10

S

4

3

4

A

4

a

a

x

4

#

Ph ens Dhiba

interest of national security.

Under the Uniform Real Property Acquisition Act, once

the Government determines it needs to acquire property it is

required to proceed expeditiously and not defer negotiations or take

any other action coercive in nature. 42 U.S.C.A. § 4651. Rather

than acquire the property expeditiously, for 19 years the

Government engaged in a course of conduct to ensure that no

buildings were built on BWPA’s property. The Government

influenced the State and County to alter their conduct toward

BWPA; and the Government used traffic, road and access issues

to thwart BWPA’s development. Each time BWPA was successful

in obtaining development approvals, the Government would target

for acquisition precisely the portion of the property BWPA had

planned to develop. The Government had many appraisals of the

property done over the years. Repeatedly the Government stalled,

delayed, negotiated in bad faith and offered BWPA less than the

appraised value set forth in the Government’s own appraisals.

From 1968 through 1987, the Government used its power and

resources to prevent development from occurring on BWPA’s

property.

On May 2, 1975, the Secretary of Defense at the behest of

the Director of NSA, directed the Secretary of the Army to oppose

construction of BWPA’s property; the memorandum said in part:

' private developers have submitted a proposal... for

extensive development of 252 acres adjacent to the

National Security Agency...The Director of the

Agency is concerned that this proposed

development which includes high-rise buildings,

commercial facilities and high-rise apartments may

interfere to an unacceptable degree with essential

operations of his Agency and represents a major

we eink we

The most effective approach, without resorting to

a comdemnation [sic] action, would be active

participation by the Fort Meade Command with

Anne Arundel County planning authorities. ..This

procedure would also be in concert with DoD

policy for installation commanders to exercise all

available local authority in reaching agreement to

forestall unacceptable development. Without such

active Post participation, the developers’ proposal

could significantly infringe upon the operational

capability of both the Post and the NSA/CSS.

a ee ee re ee

Despite the overwhelming documentary evidence that

established that the Government considered the construction of any

buildings on BWPA’s 255 acres a threat to national security, the

CFC found “NSA officials opposed development on the property

12

é

is

is

x

4

4

4%

$

4

t

5

=

k

A |

,

REG te A RR OR AN 9

Nie Bee Ne ee

because they believed such development would facilitate

surveillance of NSA operations." 29 Fed. Cl. at 673. The CFC

admitted that NSA preferred the property to remain vacant, but

despite the overwhelming evidence that the government wanted no

buildings on the property, the CFC concluded that "[NSA] found

that it could maintain security by other methods, such as restricting

building heights and location or limiting construction to buildings

with public access.” Id,

From 1968 to 1987, the Government engaged in a course

of conduct designed to maintain its security buffer. The

combination of the Government actions interfered with BWPA’s

reasonable investment-backed expectations, which were to develop

its property as a large, mixed-use town center in accordance with

its zoning. The proximate result of the Government’s actions was

that BWPA could not build buildings and was deprived of

substantially all economic benefit from its property from 1968 to

1987. The Government’s actions forced BWPA to sacrifice all

economically beneficial uses of is property for the common good -

~ national security interests.

13

s

SS

q

%

2

$

%

4

S

=

%

1

iat DUE REAR EA ROS BN 8. Sb tis ra

palit rst APA Das.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

COURT. OF APPEALS DECISION

AFFIRMING THE CFC IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

AND THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IN DOLAN v. CITY OF TIGARD

Recently, this Court in Dolan v, City of Tigard, No. 93-

518 (U.S. June 24, 1994), held that a taking had occurred where

the city wanted to impose a permanent recreation easement on

Dolan’s property. Although Dolan is clearly not on all fours with

BWPA’s case; the fact that this Court found a taking in Dolan

mandates the finding of a taking in the case of BWPA. In Dolan,

the landowner wanted to double the size of her hardware store to

17,600 square feet from 9,700 square feet and to pave a parking

lot. The city required that Dolan dedicate a 15 foot wide strip of

land adjacent to the flood plain as a pedestrian/bicycle pathway.

Id., slip op. at 4. The dedication encompassed approximately 10%

of the landowner’s property. The Court found, "Petitioner would

lose all rights to regulate the time in which the public entered onto

the Greenway, regardless of any interference it might pose with

her retail store. Her right to exclude would not be regulated, it

14

POD Re Oe Eas cat Steel SEL A eS

would be eviscerated.” Id., slip op. at 19.

Effectively, Dolan holds that if Government action interferes with

a landowner’s right to exclude others, a taking has occurred for

which compensation is warranted.

In the case of BWPA, for over 19 years, from 1968-1987,

the Government’s internal documents admitted into evidence, trial

transcript, and Government admissions establish that the secret

agenda was to ensure that BWPA’s 255 acres remained in its

undeveloped state. The Government’s own documents

acknowledge that an office park of up to 5 million square feet was

feasible. The 130 acres zoned for high rise apartments would have

permitted over 2,900 residences.

Each time BWPA got close to being able to develop a

portion of the property, the Government would threaten to take

that portion of the property. Not until 1990, after three years of

discovery battles, did BWPA learn that during all of these 19 years

that BWPA was trying to develop its property, secret NSA

documents revealed that the Government had no intention of letting

BWPA develop any of it. The NSA documents state such things

15

:

{

doititelyli ain

BD ed id

as “we must ensure that no development occurs." Unlike Dolan,

the Federal Government did not try to acquire merely 10% of

BWPA’s property as a security buffer zone, it engaged in a

deliberate course of action for over 19 years to ensure that no

buildings were built anywhere on 255+ acres of BWPA’s

property. The CFC acknowledged that the Government preferred

that BWPA’s entire 255 acres remain vacant. The CFC also found

“It is clear that NSA desired to maintain a buffer zone around its

perimeter and preferred to control the development.” 29 Fed. Cl.

at 677. The CFC recognized only a fraction of the Government’s

intent when it stated:

NSA officials regarded a large-scale development

on the property as a threat to NSA’s mission.

NSA collects foreign intelligence for the United

States. Its operations are secret, and a foreign

government ‘would absolutely gain from

knowledge of what was going on inside the

facility.’ Officials feared that the development of

certain types of buildings so close to NSA would

compromise national security by facilitating

surveillance of NSA’s operations.

29 Fed. Cl. at 671.

The CFC ignored the Government’s secret and internal

documents admitted into evidence which establish that NSA

16

3

hy gt NO 9 nl ont A RY IER aie 8

RPT on

perceived that the real threat to national security was that spies

could live and work in any privately controlled structures and

could glean information from NSA’s top secret activities.

Essentially, the Government’s covert agenda that no private

structures be built on BWPA’s property eviscerated BWPA’s right

to build private buildings.*

The result was that BWPA could derive no economic

benefit from its undeveloped, vacant property while, at the same

time, the nation’s national security benefitted from the security

buffer created around NSA. BWPA was forced to bear a burden

that the public as a whole should have borne. First English

Evangelical Lutheran Church v. Los Angeles County, 482 U.S.

304, 319 (1987) (quoting _Armstrong v, U.S., 364 U.S. 40, 49

(1960)). The Government’s actions in thwarting all development

on BWPA’s property so the Government could maintain its

security buffer were tantamount to a regulation that eviscerated

*Secret NSA letter to Chief dated March 2, 1971 “threat is more

serious when there is an uncontrolled structure nearby which could be

apartment, would provide other opportunities for an intelligence agent..."

17

BWPA's right to build private structures on its property and

effected a temporary taking of landowner’s property for 19 years,

which is in direct conflict with the Supreme Court’s decision in

Dolan.

Il. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

AFFIRMING THE CFC IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

AND THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IN LUCAS v, SOUTH CAROLINA COASTAL

COUNCIL

In Lucas, the Beachfront Management Act resulted in

requiring Lucas’ property to be left in its undeveloped state. Even

though there were subsequent amendments under which Lucas

could have applied for a permit for future construction, this Court

focused on Lucas’ claim for past deprivation. Lucas v. S.C.

Coastal Council, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 2889 (1992). This Court stated

that Government regulations that deny a property owner all

economically viable use of a landowner’s property require

compensation without the usual case specific inquiry into the public

interest advanced in support of the restraint. Id, at 2893. The

reasoning is, because the practical and economic consequence of

18

depriving a landowner of economically viable use of his land is the

same as if the land had been physically appropriated. The same

rule should apply to Government actions. If legitimate

Government actions deprive a landowner of all economically viable

use of his property, it is the same as if the land has been physically

appropriated.

In BWPA’s case, the combination of the Government

actions to block development were tantamount to regulating that

BWPA’s property remain in its undeveloped state. BWPA was

denied all economically viable use of its land. Effectively, the

Government actions in opposing, thwarting and blocking

development on BWPA’s undeveloped land was analogous to a

regulation which denied petitioner all economically beneficial and

productive use of petitioner’s land. See Id., Agins v. Tiburon,

447 U.S. 255,260 (1980); see also Nollan v. California Coastal

Comm’n, 483 U.S. 825, 834 (1987), Keystone Bituminous Coal

Assn, v, DeBenedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 495 (1987). And where the

Government’s actions are like a statute which regulates the uses

that can be made of property, said actions or statute "effects a

19

land...’" Keystone, 480 U.S. at 495 (quoting Agins v. Tiburon,

447 U.S. at 260) (emphasis added). BWPA’s economic loss was

as a direct consequence of NSA’s determination to ensure that no

buildings were built in the interest of national security. Each time

BWPA tried to develop some portion of the property, the

Government tried to acquire the very interest BWPA was trying to

develop. It is neither logical nor prudent for a developer to

continue to spend huge sums of money on developmental costs and

infrastructure when the government has advised the landowner that

it will take some interest in the property. See Benenson v. U.S.,

548 F.2d 939 (Ct. Cl. 1977). Essentially, BWPA was required to

keep his property in its undeveloped state for the public good — for

national security. As the Government’s own witness said — all

development posed a risk.‘ Once the Director of NSA had

*Q. Was NSA concemed about buildings being built on the subject

property? A. Absolutely. Q. Was there ever a time when NSA was

not concerned about buildings being built on the subject property? A.

I don’t recall at any point that somebody would not be concerned. Q.

Did NSA’s concern about buildings on the subject property extend to

high-rise office buildings? A. Absolutely. Q. What was the concem

about high-rise office buildings? A. Well, the utility of the building is

immaterial, whether it was an apartment building or office building. The

20

determined that the acquisition of BWPA’s property was in the

interest of national security, the Government’s threats to take the

property were always backed by the Government’s ability to take

the property based upon both statutory and emergency authority.

10 U.S.C. § 2672a, 10 U.S.C. § 2803.

Where a landowner is thwarted from building any buildings

on its property because such development would threaten national

security, the landowner has not simply suffered a diminution in

value but rather a total elimination of all value and a taking has

fact that there was a fixed location immediately adjacent to our property

was a threat. Q. Did it matter how tall the building was? A. The line

of sight is what matters. Q. So if the building could have line of sight

of any of NSA’ buildings, that’s what the concern was? A. Absolutely.

Q. Did the same apply to a shopping center? A. I think the operative

term is a fixed location. So if it’s a structure, a shopping center, a

building, you know, in my own mind it would be less of — certainly of

a technical security vulnerability threat because it would be a public

facility, but it was an uncontrolled facility. Q. So any building that had

line of sight of NSA was the type of development that NSA opposed? A.

It represented a potential for technical security vulnerability, yes. Q.

And the government did, in fact, want the property as a security buffer?

A. That’s correct. Q. Is it also true that the government didn’t want

buildings on the subject property? A. That’s correct. Q. And the

government wanted to take the property so buildings weren’t built on the

Property? A. That’s correct.

Czaplicki Deposition, January 25, 1992 at 31, 83, 84, 121, 122 (admitted

into evidence).

21

occurred. This Court in Lucas states: "We think, in short, that

there are good reasons for our frequently expressed belief that

when the owner of real property has been called upon to sacrifice

all economically beneficial uses in the name of the common good,

that is, to leave his property economically idle, he has suffered a

taking.” Lucas 112 S.Ct. at 2895. In this case, BWPA’s property

was kept economically idle for 19 years in the name of national

security. The lower courts decisions are in direct conflict with this

Court’s holding in Lucas and the Fifth Amendment; a writ should

issue.

fil. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

AFFIRMING THE CFC IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

AND THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IN NOLLAN_v, CALIFORNIA COASTAL

COMMISSION

In Nollan, the California Coastal Commission in approving

a rebuilding permit imposed a requirement that the owners provide

lateral access across their property to the public. Nollan vy.

California Coastal Commission, 483 U.S. 825 (1987). This Court

22

held that without paying compensation, the government cannot

simply obtain an easement to serve some valid government

purpose.

The CFC, in ignoring the voluminous record of secret

Government documents, erroneously suggests that the Government

was not in fact trying to prevent all development, that it simply

wanted to limit development or restrict the height of development.

To buttress its conclusion, the CFC cites the fact that in the early

1970’s the Government was attempting to purchase a height

easement restricting development 190 feet above sea level. In

actual fact, the Government’s own documents establish that the

bulk of BWPA’s property was at an elevation in excess of 190 feet

above sea level and to impose such a height restriction was akin to

restricting virtually all development when BWPA’s zoning would

have allowed it to construct buildings in excess of 10 stories. The

CFC’s finding that "[wJhile NSA preferred the property to remain

vacant, it found that it could maintain security by other methods,

such as restricting building heights and location or limiting

construction to buildings with public access” is a legal basis for

23

reversing the CFC’s decision. 29 Fed Cl. at 673.

In BWPA’s case, the Government may have had a valid

governmental purpose for wanting to maintain a security buffer

around NSA. The Government also may have legitimately felt that

construction of buildings on BWPA’s property posed a risk to

national security. However, the Government does not have a legal

right to use its power and influence to block and oppose

development, to ensure that the property remain vacant, to restrict

and control development, without paying for that right. As this

Court stated in Footnote 2 in Nollan, "...the right to build on one’s

Own property - even though its exercise can be subjected to

legitimate permitting requirements - cannot remotely be described

as a ‘governmental benefit.’" Nollan, 107 S.Ct. at 3146 n.2.

BWPA’s right to build on its property should not have

been subject to height restrictions because of national security nor

should BWPA’s right to develop its property have been restricted

to constructing buildings only open to the public. The Government

was not conveying special benefits on BWPA’s property. BWPA

should have had an absolute right to build in accordance with its

a4

zoning established by local authorities.°

Even were it valid for the Government to limit the amount

of construction or restrict the height of construction to further the

Government’s national security interests, this Court requires a

logical nexus between the restriction and the security interest being

served or the restriction would be invalid under this Court’s

rulings in Nollan and Dolan. Since the Government’s own

documents throughout the years establish that the real threat was

that potential spies could live or work in private buildings on

BWPA’s property, restricting the height or location of buildings

had no logical nexus to the national security threat. A spy could

live in a one story house and still snoop into the highly classified

activities at NSA. Czaplicki, supra note 4, at 20-21. Moreover,

the Government cannot restrict size, location, height or type of

building on one individual’s property for the public good without

payment of just compensation.

“Had there been a published law in existence when BWPA acquired

its property that BWPA’s right to develop was restricted because of the

Property’s proximity to NSA, BWPA concedes there would have been no

taking. However, the Government has admitted that there never has been

such a law or regulation.

25

aaa

In this case, the character of the Government’s action and

the nature and extent of the Government’s interference with the

rights of BWPA were far more intrusive than that found in either

Nollan or Dolan.

IV. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

AFFIRMING THE CFC IS IN DIRECT

CONFLICT WITH THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

AND THE SUPREME COURT’S DECISION

IN FIRST ENGLISH EVANGELICAL

LUTHERAN CHURCH vy. COUNTY OF LOS

ANGELES

The Court of Appeals decision in affirming the CFC

opinion is in direct conflict with this Court’s decision in First

English. In First English this Court held: "We merely hold that

where the government's activities have already worked a taking of

all use of property, no subsequent action by the government can

relieve it of the duty to provide compensation for the period during

which the taking was effective.” First English, 482 U.S. at 321.

In this case, for over 19 years the Government deliberately

engaged in a course of conduct to thwart the development of any

26

buildings on BWPA’s property because the Government had

secretly determined that the presence of any private buildings on

BWPA’s property posed a risk to national security. In 1987 when

BWPA was again about to start construction on an office building

and public utilities system, the Government finally took the fee and

filed a Declaration of Taking in the U.S. District Court. BWPA

filed a counterclaim for inverse condemnation for a temporary

taking from 1968 through 1987 that was transferred to the Court

of Federal Claims. The resulting judgment in the District Court

decision only compensated BWPA for the fair market value of the

unimproved land in 1987. This permanent taking of the fee did

not erase the temporary taking that occurred as a result of the

Government’s deliberate actions to maintain a security buffer for

19 years.

The CFC’s decision was clouded by the fact that BWPA

received money for the 1987 value of the undeveloped land.

Economic benefits of property directly relate to the period of

ownership. Income or economic productivity generated during the

period of ownership is based on the uses to which the property can

27

be put. When someone buys a property, the purchaser is paying

the seller for the right of purchaser to obtain the economic benefits

of the property in the future. When Government condemned the

fee, BWPA received the fair market value for its property in an

undeveloped state. The price being paid was based on what an

arms length buyer would pay an arms length seller for undeveloped

land based upon the future uses to which the property could be

put. The sum received by BWPA did not compensate BWPA for

the 19 years the land was held in an unproductive state because

NSA was engaged in a course of conduct designed to keep

BWPA’s property undeveloped. In Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon,

260 U.S. 393 (1922), the regulation took the right to mine coal

under the surface of the land. NSA’s secret determination in 1968

that all structures on BWPA’s property posed a risk to national

security and its actions in furtherance of that objective effectively _

took BWPA’s right to build above the surface of the land. As

Stated in Pennsylvania Coal, “the right to coal consists in the right

to mine it...What makes the right to mine coal valuable is that it

can be exercised with profit." 260 U.S. at 414.

28

cere ae

oor

o~

What made BWPA’s property valuable was the right to

develop it to full density and to be able to build on it and to lease

it, to have private office buildings and residences. The fact that

the Government ultimately took the fee in 1987 does not extinguish

the prior taking from 1968 through 1987 during which time BWPA

could derive no economic benefit from its 255+ acres of land.

In this case, BWPA was doubly penalized. The property

was undeveloped due to the Government’s repeated efforts to make

sure that it remain that way. The Government systematically

thwarted Suvianeine of the property each and every time BWPA

had development plans. Not only did BWPA lose the economic

benefits that it would have derived from commercial development,

but additionally the Government was able to buy the unimproved

ground instead of the fully developed town center for which the

property was zoned. As early as 1968, when the Government was

negotiating for additional office space for NSA and BWPA was

about to construct office buildings, the Government acknowledged

in its secret documents that:

The security requirements of the Agency are such

that we must ensure against any commercial

29

development on this tract. Any effort at this time

to consider negotiating with the owners of this tract

for the construction of a leased facility would tend

to further encumber our negotiations to acquire the

property, as it would have a tendency to increase

the appraised fair market value of the now

generally vacant land.

Oct 14, 1968 letter from NSA to GSA.

The fact that the Government subsequently took this

property permanently does not relieve the Government from its

obligation to pay BWPA for the use of the property as a security

buffer for 19 years. As this Court has said, "a strong public desire

to improve the public condition is not enough to warrant achieving

the desire by a shorter cut than the constitutional way of paying for

the change.” First English, 482 U.S. at 2389 (quoting

Pennsylvania Coal, 260 U.S. at 416). BWPA agrees that the

Government had every right to prevent buildings on BWPA’s

property to maintain a security buffer around NSA. However,

once the Government determined in 1968 that construction of any

buildings on BWPA’s property posed a threat, the Government

should have told BWPA that it would never be able to build any

buildings on its property and the Government should have acted

30

expeditiously to take the property. Instead the Government

engaged in a course of conduct, much of it covert, intentionally

designed to ensure its goal of preventing all buildings and

achieving its goal of a security buffer at a private landowner’s

expense.

Even Justice Stevens’ dissent in First English recognized:

Regulations are three dimensional; they have depth,

width, and length. As for depth, regulations define

the extent to which the owner may not use the

property in question. With respect to width,

regulations define the amount of property

encompassed by the restrictions. Finally, and for

purposes of this case, essentially, regulations set

forth the duration of the restrictions. It is obvious

that no one of these elements can be analyzed alone

to evaluate the impact of a regulation, and hence

to determine whether a taking has occurred.

First English, 482 U.S. at 330.

The effect of the depth of the Government’s actions in this

case was that 255+ acres of BWPA’s property remained

undeveloped because the Government’s actions were calculated to

ensure that no development would occur on BWPA’s property.

As to width, the effect of the Government’s actions was to

limit, restrict and, in fact, preclude development anywhere on the

31

RR ae a orto ie. Su oe ae Re ee Re ee eae La eS ea

255+ acres of property. In the early years, BWPA had tried to

build a shopping center which met with Government opposition.

Later, BWPA submitted a site plan for apartment buildings. Only

after BWPA had obtained most of its county approvals did the

Government advise the county that the Government had a

congressionally approved project to acquire 75 acres of BWPA’s

property which just happened to encompass BWPA’s first phase of

development. The Government’s action required BWPA to revise

its entire site plan. Once the site plan was revised, the

Government tried to impose a height easement. At another time,

BWPA proposed to build an office building on another portion of

the property and again the Government threatened to take the

property. As the Government's internal documents and testimony

of its witnesses reveal, there was no place on BWPA’s property

where buildings could have been constructed without posing a

threat to national security. Czaplicki, supra note 4, 20-21.

As far as length, the Government’s actions in this case

continued for a period of over 19 years. Petitioner concedes that

the Government may have had legitimate Government concerns

32

about national security and may have needed a security buffer.

The Government may also have had a right to use BWPA’s

property as a security buffer for a period of years provided that the

Government paid for that right as mandated by the Fifth

Amendment. What the Government does not have the right to

do, is to use its Federal Powers and influence to use private

property as a security buffer in the interest of national security

in lieu of exercising its powers of eminent domain to avoid

paying the landowner just compensation.

The law established by the Constitution is that private

property shall not be taken without just compensation. Once

property is taken, even temporarily, no subsequent government

action can erase that taking. In First English, the fact that the law

was declared unconstitutional and landowner had property it could

develop did not eradicate the two year temporary taking when the

unconstitutional law was in effect. The facts in this case are even

more compelling. Even when the Government ultimately exercised

its power of eminent domain and took BWPA’s property

permanently, payment for the value of the property only

33

compensated BWPA for the loss of the use of the property from

the date of the taking forward. It did not compensate BWPA for

the temporary taking during the 19 years when BWPA could not

derive any economic benefit from the property because the

Government was engaged in a deliberate course of conduct

designed to ensure that no buildings were built on the undeveloped

property.

This Court in First English states “It is axiomatic that the

Fifth Amendment’s just compensation provision is ‘designed to bar

government from forcing some people alone to bear public burdens

which, in all fairness and justice, should be borne by the public as

a whole.’” First English, 482 U.S. at 318-319 (quoting Armstrong

v. ULS., 364 U.S. 40, 49 (1960)). This Court in First English

also found that "It is the owner’s loss, not the taker’s gain, which

is the measure of the property taken." Id, at 319 (quoting U.S. v.

Causby, 328 U.S. at 261). “Invalidation of the ordinance or its

successor ordinance after this period of time, though converting the

taking into a ‘temporary’ one, is not a sufficient remedy to meet

the demands of the Just Compensation Clause." Id, at 319. In

34

BWPA’s case, before NSA made its secret determination that

construction of any buildings on BWPA’s property posed a risk to

national security, BWPA had a legal right to build high-rise office

buildings and high-rise apartment buildings on its property. For

over 19 years, the Government took actions deliberately designed

to thwart all development on the 255+ acres. Those actions in

maintaining a security buffer effected a 19 year temporary taking

under this Court’s ruling in First English and under the Fifth

Amendment; and a writ should issue.

V. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THIS CASE

IS UNIQUE IN THAT PRIVATE PROPERTY WAS

TAKEN IN VIOLATION OF THE FIFTH

AMENDMENT IN FURTHERANCE OF NATIONAL

SECURITY INTERESTS WITHOUT PHYSICALLY

INVADING THE PROPERTY AND WITHOUT

DIRECTLY REGULATING THE PROPERTY

The Fifth Amendment to the Constitution does not define

the means by which property must be taken for the Fifth

Amendment to apply.

Although the Fifth Amendment does not define the means

used by the government to effect a taking, historically this Court

35

th siey

has focused on two areas — direct physical invasion or

appropriation and regulation. This case is unique in that the

Government effected a taking of private property for over 19 years

not by physical invasion and not by direct regulation. The Fifth

Amendment does not say that the only means of taking property is

by appropriation or regulation. In this case, the Government took

BWPA’s right to develop its vacant land by a combination of

actions designed expressly to ensure that no buildings were built on

BWPA’s property. The Government effectively regulated no

development of BWPA’s land by making a secret determination

that any development on BWPA’s property posed a security threat

because of the proximity of BWPA’s property to NSA.

On May 15, 1970, Melvin Laird, Secretary of Defense

advised the Directors of Defense Agencies that external influences

such as adjacent residential, commercial or industrial development

might interfere to an unacceptable degree with essential military

Operations. That memo authorized NSA to use its considerable

influence with local authorities to forestall unacceptable

development. The unacceptable development DoD was trying to

36

prevent was residential, commercial or industrial development on

privately owned property which might hinder military operations.

Essentially DoD was seeking a “military easement" on all private

property adjacent to military bases without having to resort to

condemnation. On May 2, 1975, the Secretary of the Army was

directed by the Assistant Secretary of Defense to block

development on BWPA’s property:

The Director of the Agency is concerned that this

proposed development which includes high-rise

buildings, commercial facilities and high-rise

apartments may interfere to an unacceptable degree

with essential operations of his Agency and

represents a major security threat...The most

effective approach, without resorting to a

comdemnation[sic] action, would be active

participation by the Fort Meade Command with

procedure would also be in concert with DoD

policy for installation commanders to exercise all

available local authority in reaching agreement to

forestall unacceptable development.

Letter from Albert Hall, Assistant Secretary of Defense, to

Secretary of the Army, May 2, 1975.

These documents establish that NSA in concert with other

Federal Agencies engaged in a course of conduct that was

calculated to prevent all development on BWPA’s property without

37

having to resort to exercising its power of eminent domain. As

stated in First English:

It has also been established doctrine at least since

Justice Holmes’ opinion for the Court in

Pennsylvania Coal Co, v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393,

43 S.Ct. 158, 67 L.Ed. 322 (1922), that ‘[tJhe

general rule at least is, that while property may be

regulated to a certain extent, if regulation goes too

far it will be recognized as a taking.’ Id., at 415,

43 S.Ct., at 160. While the typical taking occurs

when the government acts to condemn property in

the exercise of its power of eminent domain, the

entire doctrine of inverse condennation is

predicated on the proposition that a taking may

occur without such formal proceedings... ‘It would

be a very curious and unsatisfactory result, if ...

it shall be held that if the government refrains from

the absolute conversion of real property to the uses

of the public it can destroy its value entirely, can

inflict irreparable and permanent injury to any

extent, can, in effect, subject it to total destruction

without making any compensation, because, in the

narrowest sense of that word, it is not taken for the

public use.”

First English, 482 U.S. at 315-317.

In this case, the Government’s absolute need for a security

buffer around its top secret NSA building required that the

Government take legitimate government action to ensure that

BWPA’s cate remain undeveloped. The Government had the

apparent and actual authority to take the property because of the

38

LVEF SIFT eer SPS PV ere a ware”

threat the development posed to national security.

The Government and the CFC suggest that the Government

was simply opposing development as a neighboring landowner.

The Government was not simply opposing one particular type of

development nor was it objecting to a noxious or nuisance use. A

neighboring landowner does not have the clout to oppose all forms

of development. A neighboring landowner cannot tell an adjacent

landowner that if he refuses a below market offer to purchase, that

the land will be condemned. A neighboring landowner does not

have the power of eminent domain. A neighboring landowner can

not secure agreement from the County Planning Authorities to

“drag their feet" with respect to approvals; nor can a neighboring

landowner require that a site plan be redrawn to accommodate the

75 acres it is going to condemn (but never does). A neighboring

landowner cannot summon the enormous power and influence of

DoD to prevent development. A neighboring landowner cannot

use its proposed expansion as justification to prevent all

development on his neighbor’s adjoining tract. A neighboring

landowner cannot dictate to the State, the future design of the road

39

lhe ~ BSP eA ATT. BNET AR PS PIS LETT TIS AP ON ITED al TS LWT

| SE w . OY ewe ww eee Ce aT

OR ae Se aes a PO HE ews Eee

network that would eliminate its neighbor’s access to the main

road. The evidence in this case established that the Government

employed all of these tactics to ensure that no buildings were built

on BWPA’s 255+ acres. NSA’s objective was to stop all forms

of development for as long as possible so that the Government

could delay exercising its power of eminent domain.

The combination of the Government’s actions carefully

orchestrated at the highest levels of NSA and DoD were

intentionally designed to ensure that no development occurred on

BWPA’s vacant property expressly because NSA wanted a security

buffer around NSA and NSA had determined that any buildings on

BWPA’s property posed a threat to national security. For over 19

years the Government’s actions in ensuring that no buildings were

built forced BWPA to hold its property in its undeveloped and

economically idle state at an enormous economic cost to BWPA.

The lower courts failed to acknowledge that a taking under the

Constitution can occur without physical invasion and without

regulation if the Government through its legitimate actions

thwarted development on private property in the interest of national

40

a ee eee “—.o s a we wf se wwe Re Se a eas RE TRE, RE Bi

rT ie F a Se es

“See os tw &

we *

2 ¥ =

security. A writ should issue because the Government effected a

taking of private property in the interests of national security

without directly regulating the property.

VI. A WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

FEDERAL GOVERNMENT INTENTIONALLY

THWARTED DEVELOPMENT ON VACANT LAND

SO THAT THE GOVERNMENT COULD DELAY

EXERCISING ITS POWER OF EMINENT DOMAIN

AND LATER ACQUIRE THE PROPERTY BASED

ON sS‘TTS REDUCED VALUE £i'IN SITS

UNDEVELOPED STATE IN DEROGATION OF

THE FIFTH AMENDMENT

The CFC found that "[wJhile NSA preferred the property

to remain vacant, it found that it could maintain security by other

methods, such as restricting building heights and location or

limiting construction to buildings with public access." 29 Fed. Cl.

at 673. This finding on its face is a legal basis for reversing the

court’s decision and establishes a taking. This finding recognizes

that the Government, in furtherance of its security objective,

interfered with BWPA’s reasonable investment-backed

expectations. It is uncontroverted that when BWPA acquired

the property there was no published law, regulation or statute

at

OY PF ESE BRET, GPE EY ie 2 SEN ESA WY

2 eR Ca ow On ee a ee eee eee oe

—— * = . aes od =. € _? ww t ~ ? iS ee 2 SR: od

~ or ~ , Ser wes & t sg a ak & ° = em Ras F

- 4 <n , ae hae =

ee eae eee) 8 eee) ee ae

that would have prohibited development of the property

because of its proximity to NSA, nor has such a law been

enacted. NSA has no authority to restrict design or location of

buildings on privately-owned property, nor does NSA have

authority to limit construction on privately owned properties to

buildings with public access. The Government has no authority to

rezone property or to regulate the use of private property absent

exercising its authority to condemn. Restrictions on building

heights and restricting location and use of buildings are solely the

province of the local zoning authorities. Village of Euclid et al.

vy. Ambler Realty Co., 272 U.S. 365 (1926), Village of Belle

Terre et al. v. Boraas, et al., 416 U.S. 1 (1974), Agins v.

Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255 (1980). Even zoning authorities do not

have the right to require an owner of private property to construct

only buildings in which NSA can constantly monitor the

inhabitants.°

® No legitimate authority authorizes the Government to monitor the

activities of its citizens within the confines of privately owned homes

without a search warrant. U.S. Const. amend. IV. “Among a citizen’s -

including a property owner’s - most cherished rights is the right to be let

alone.” Hendler v. U.S., 952 F. 2d 1364, 1374 (Fed. Cir. 1991).

42

Yet the Government admitted that if it could not acquire

the entire property, it wanted zoning restrictions imposed to limit

construction of buildings to those open to the general public. NSA

had authority in the interest of national security to condemn air

rights or condemn all or a portion of the property provided the

Government paid for the interest it was taking. U.S. v. General

Motors, 323 U.S. 373 (1945). Instead of directly condemning

those portions of the property it needed for its security buffer, the

Government successfully impeded all development on the property

through a combination of actions, some overt, some covert, some

legitimate and some improper, without paying for the restrictions

that it needed in the interest of national security.’ BWPA was

unaware of the Government’s objectives throughout the years in

issue because NSA never told BWPA it did not want any buildings

on BWPA’s property. The Government documents that establish

7Under Uniform Real Property Acquisition Act, once the Government

determined that it needed to acquire the property, the Government was

required to do so expeditiously. The statute does not give a landowner

a right to sue under the statute; so BWPA could not file suit when the

Government repeatedly threatened condemnation over the years. 42

U.S.C. § 4651 et.seq.

43

the Government’s agenda were secret and only later came to light

during discovery. BWPA knew that it owned high-density,

residentially-zoned land in a location where there was an incredible

market for residential housing. The Government never said to

BWPA, "You are wasting your time and money, we will never let

you build any residential structures. Build something else.” The

Government never did that because NSA did not want BWPA to

build anything; NSA wanted the property vacant. The longer NSA

could keep BWPA’s property vacant without paying for its security

buffer, the less costly it was for NSA because they would not have

to pay for any improvements on BWPA's property.

The focus of many Government actions from 1968 to 1987

was to ensure that no privately controlled buildings were built and

to ensure that NSA would have complete access to monitor all

activities within any buildings. One strand of the bundle of

property rights inherent in ownership of residential property is that

the owner has the right to exclude others. U.S, v. General

Motors, 323 U.S. 373 (1945). The general public does not have

a right of access to private residences. Government actions to

a4

limit construction of buildings to those with public access

effectively regulated no development on 203 acres of BWPA’s

property zoned for residential use. By interfering with BWPA’s

right to develop its residential property, the Government denied

BWPA its ability to realize any economic benefit from its

undeveloped residentially zoned property from 1968-1987.

Serving the public interest by keeping land in a wilderness state

should not have been done at BWPA’s expense. Althaus v. U.S.,

7 Cl. Ct. 688 (1985).

All of BWPA’s commercially zoned property was

immediately adjacent to NSA’s approximately 5 million square foot

main complex. Due to the proximity of the commercially zoned

property to NSA’s main buildings, NSA determined that any

buildings with a line of site to NSA’s buildings would be a threat

to national security, and “any fixed location immediately adjacent

to our property was a threat." Czaplicki, supra note 4, at 20-21.

All construction allowed by BWPA’s zoning posed a threat

to NSA’s operations because all privately owned structures,

whether they were residential or commercial, could be closed to

45

the general public. If BWPA could not build any buildings, it

could have no economically viable use for its property. Loveladies

Harbor, Inc. v. U.S., 21 Cl. Ct. 153 (1990). NSA achieved its

covert objective to ensure that no “fixed locations” were built

anywhere on the commercially zoned land and that no structures

that could be closed to the general public were built anywhere on

BWPA’s property. The Government’s right to restrict or limit

BWPA’s use of its property in the interest of national security was

conditioned upon payment of just compensation for the period

during which the Government deprived BWPA of its right to

derive economic benefit from its property. U.S. Const. amend.

V.; First English Evangelical Lutheran Church of Glendale v, Cty,

of Los Angeles, Cal, 482. U.S. 304 (1987), Lucas v. S.C, Coastal

Council, U.S.__, 112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992).

The Fifth Amendment of the Constitution provides that

private property shall not be taken without payment of just

compensation. “This basic understanding of the Amendment

makes clear that it is designed not to limit the governmental

interference with property rights per se, but rather to secure

46

compensation in the event of otherwise proper interference

amounting to a taking. Thus, governmental action that works a

taking of property rights necessarily implicates the ‘constitutional

obligation to pay just compensation.”” First English, 482 U.S. at

315.

As long as the Government was successful in opposing all

development on BWPA’s property so that no buildings interfered

with NSA’s “security buffer", NSA had no need to use its funds

to acquire BWPA’s property by eminent domain. See Letters

dated May 15, 1970 and May 21, 1975, supra at 19. Were this

Court to rule that no taking occurred, it would sanction action

by the Government to take all forms of actions to stop

development short of actually acquiring property so that the

Government never has to pay landowners for property being

used for the public good, in violation of the Fifth Amendment.

7

VII. THE COURT OF APPEALS IN AFFIRMING THE

CFC DECISION ERRED AS A MATTER OF LAW

BY FAILING TO RECOGNIZE THAT BOTH

LEGITIMATE GOVERNMENT ACTIONS AND

GOVERNMENT ACTIONS NOT LEGITIMATE CAN

AFFECT A TAKING IF THE ACTIONS DEPRIVE

THE LANDOWNER OF SUBSTANTIALLY ALL

ECONOMIC USE OF PROPERTY

The CFC was required to make a factual determination of whether

there was a taking based on three factors:

1) the character of the Government’s actions,

2) the degree to which the Government actions

interfered with reasonable investment-backed

expectations, and

3) the economic impact of the Government actions on

BWPA.

Connolly v. Pension Benefits Guar, Corp., 475 U.S. 211 (1986).

In cases where that test has been applied, courts have

examined all of the Government’s actions; actions that were valid

as well as those that may have been legally questionable. See

generally, Drakes Bay Land Co. v. U.S,, 424 F.2d 574 (Ct. Cl.

1970), Benenson v, U.S., 548 F.2d 939 (Ct. Cl. 1977), Althaus v.

ULS., 7 Cl. Ct. 688 (1985). Even a regulation that does

+8

substantially advance legitimate state interests can effect a taking.

Pennsylvania Coal v, Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922), Lucas v, S.C.

Coastal Council, _ U.S. __, 112 S. Ct. 2886 (1992).

Instead of correctly applying the three prong test to

determine whether a taking had occurred, the CFC got confused by

Agins v. Tiburon, which requires a court to examine whether a

proposed regulation advances a legitimate state interest. Agins v.

Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260-261 (1980). In applying the first part

of the Agins test to this case, the CFC erroneously examined each

of the Government’s actions to determine whether or not the action

was legitimate. See 29 Fed. Cl. at 677. That analysis was

irrelevant because even legitimate actions effect a taking if they

deny the landowner economically viable use of its land. The CF .

considered only those actions that it deemed not to be legitimate in

its determination of whether a taking had occurred:

Some of the government’s actions may not fall under the

rubric of legitimate actions. Government officials wielded

substantial influence over the state highway planning

decisions and intended at one point to use highway issues

to persuade county officials to reject the development.

Government officials also cultivated a relationship with one

county zoning official in order to enlist her support against

the development. Assuming, arguendo, these actions

49

impaired BWPA’s ability to develop its property, they

could support a taking claim. The court will next examine

the extent to which these Government actions interfered

with BWPA’s reasonable investment-backed expectations.

29 Fed. Cl. at 680.

It is clear that the CFC considered only those Government

actions involving highway issues and the influencing of county

officials to determine whether those two activities impaired

BWPA’s ability to develop its property. The law requires the

court to examine all of the Government actions to determine if

together they impaired BWPA’s ability to use its property.

The CFC acknowledged that NSA wanted a security buffer

around NSA. 29 Fed. Cl. at 673. The CFC considered some of

the actions taken by the Government, such as the repeated threats

to take the property, the almost continuous “negotiations” to

acquire the property, opposing development and the like and

labeled them "legitimate." The CFC ignored the impact of these

actions on BWPA’s ability to develop its property, because they

were legitimate government action. The CFC disregarded the fact

that legitimate Government actions can effect a taking if the

Government action impacts upon the reasonable investment-backed

50

expectations of the landowner by denying the landowner all

economically beneficial or productive use of land. Lucas v. S.C.

Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct. at 2894.

Legitimate Government actions that deny an owner

economically viable use of his land constitute a taking for which

compensation is warranted. First English Evangelical Lutheran

Church of Glendale v, Cty, of Los Angeles, 482 U.S. 304 (1987),

Pennsylvania Coal v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922). Even if all of

the Government actions are legitimate, a taking occurs if the

Government’s actions deprive the owner of all economically viable

use of its property. Lucas v. S.C. Coastal Council, 112 S. Ct.

2886 (1992). In the present case, the Government’s actions

deprived BWPA of all economically viable use of its property.

Had the CFC examined the evidence in light of whether all of the

Government actions, both legitimate and not legitimate, had

deprived BWPA of economically beneficial use of its property, a

taking would have been found.

51

Vil. THE WRIT SHOULD ISSUE BECAUSE THE

LOWER COURTS EXAMINED EACH

GOVERNMENT ACTION IN ISOLATION TO

DETERMINE WHETHER A SPECIFIC

GOVERNMENT ACTION IN AND OF ITSELF

PREVENTED BWPA FROM DEVELOPING ITS

PROPERTY INSTEAD OF CONSIDERING THE

IMPACT OF THE TOTALITY OF THE

GOVERNMENT ACTIONS UPON LANDOWNER’S

REASONABLE INVESTMENT-BACKED

EXPECTATIONS

The CFC was required to examine the impact of all of the

Government actions as a whole. Instead, the court examined each

of the Government’s actions separately and concluded that each

specific action alone did not prevent BWPA from developing its

property. The CFC’s faulty analysis is analogous to a murder

mystery starring a bungling detective. The detective finds a dead

man with a bullet hole in his abdomen, an arrow in his chest and

a gash in his head. The detective also finds a letter threatening to

kill the man. The detective determines that all of the wounds were

inflicted by one person. The medical examiner concludes that

none of the wounds in and of themselves could have killed the

man. Should the medical examiner conclude the man was not

murdered?

52

In this case, secret documents establish that the

Government wanted to ensure that no buildings were built on

BWPA’s property. The Government wanted to kill all

development. The Government influenced county officials,

threatened to condemn the property and used traffic issues to

impede development. The Government used Army influence to

forestall development. The CFC concluded that since none of the

individual actions per se prevented BWPA’s development, there

was no taking. As a matter of law that is wrong. Each action by

the Government was calculated to impede development; the

combination of the actions killed BWPA’s development.

The overwhelming evidence establishes that the totality of

the Government’s actions in furtherance of its secret objective of

maintaining a security buffer interfered with BWPA’s reasonable

investment-backed expectations of developing its property in

accordance with its zoning. Some of the Government’s conduct

was overt, some of it was covert. NSA with the backing of DoD

had an enormous arsenal to carry out its objective to ensure that no

buildings were built on BWPA’s property. The combination of all

53

of the Government actions for over 19 years, repeatedly

threatening to take property, influencing county officials, impeding

development, using traffic issues, as well as other actions - all in

furtherance of the Government’s goal to keep a one and a half mile

radius around NSA free from development - interfered with

BWPA’s reasonable investment-backed expectations.

In the narrowest sense, the CFC found that no single

Government action in and of itself actually prevented all

development. That may be the case, but it begs the question.

There is nothing in the Constitution or in any of the case law that

says that one single act must effect a taking. The CFC suggests

that the Government did not delay in taking, despite the fact that

nineteen years had passed since the Government first decided to

acquire the property. The CFC suggests that if BWPA had been

more aggressive in developing, the taking would have occurred

sooner. In none of the cases where this Court has found takings

has the landowner had to force the taking to establish the fact of

taking. See generally, Benenson V. U.S,, 548 F.2d 939 (Ct. Cl.

1977).

At another point the CFC suggests that NSA never really

believed that the property could be developed so the Government

really had no need to take the property. It defies logic that high

level NSA and DoD officials spent their time carefully

documenting the threat to national security posed by buildings on

BWPA’s property if development on BWPA’s property was

deemed not to be feasible. It is also surprising that at trial many

experts testified that but for NSA interference, BWPA’s property

would have been developed.

A writ should issue in this case because the Government

intentionally interfered with Petitioner’s private property rights for

19 years so that the general public could benefit from enhanced

national security. In so doing, the Government deprived BWPA

of any economically viable use for his property. The Government

is required under the Fifth Amendment to compensate BWPA for

the loss of the use of the property for the period of interference

whether that interference was by regulation, a single action or a

combination of actions.

55

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, a writ of certiorari should

issue to review the judgment and opinion of the Court of Federal

Claims and the Court of Appeals in this matter.

DATED: December? 4 1994 Respectfully submitted,

@ 2 Co me Bi

C. Elyse Vinitsky

Attorney for Petitioner

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM 19 _

No.

BW PARKWAY ASSOCIATES PARTNERSHIP,

| PETITIONER,

vs.

THE UNITED STATES,

| RESPONDENT.

PROOF OF SERVICE

: I, C. ELYSE VINITSKY, do swear or declare that on this

; date, Decent v2 2, 1994, pursuant to Supreme Court

Rules 29.3 and 29.4, I have served three (3) copies of the attached

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI on each party to the

above proceeding, or that party’s counsel, and on every other

b person required to be served by depositing an envelope containing

é the above documents in the United States mail properly addressed

; to each of them and with first-class postage prepaid:

' The names and addresses of those served are as follows:

Solicitor General, Department of Justice, Washington,

D.C. 20530

OP wd Ne

C. Elyse Vinitsky

APPENDIX A

a serene t PEE AEE OOM ONE

B.W. PARKWAY ASSOCIATES LIMITED

PARTNERSHIP, Plaintiff,

Vv.

The UNITED STATES, Defendant.

No. 539-89L.

United States Court of Federal Claims.

October 15, 1993.

C. Elyse Vinitsky, Bethesda, MD, and Daniel G. Grove,

Washington, DC, for plaintiff. Christine M. Sorge, of counsel.

Alan Brenner, U.S. Dept. of Justice, Land and Natural Resources

Div., and Greg Mack, Nat. Sec. Agency, for defendant.

p. 670 of the opinion

OPINION

MARGOLIS, Judge.

: This takings case is before the court for final judgment

after a four-day trial. The plaintiff, B.W. Parkway Associates

4

("BWPA"), is a partnership that owned property adjoining the.

National Security Agency ("NSA"), a United States Depart-

A-l

571 of # ‘r

ment of Defense installation. The plaintiff alleges that the

defendant, the United States, acting through NSA effected a Fifth

Amendment taking by preventing BWPA from developing its

property. The defendant argues that the plaintiff failed to develop

the property either because of its own failures or because of

obstacles to development. After reviewing the entire record, this

court holds that the plaintiff has not met its burden of proof.

Accordingly, the court directs entry of judgment for the defendant.

FACTS

ys Background

During the early 1960s, Melvin J. Berman ("Berman"), a

real estate developer, purchased several tracts of contiguous land

located at the intersection of two highways, Maryland Route 32

(also known as Savage Road) and the Baltimore-Washington

Parkway ("BW Parkway"). These tracts, which totalled almost

260 acres, came to be known collectively as “the Berman tract" or

A-2

"Colony Fairfield.” ' The Berman tract was bordered on the west

by the BW Parkway, on the south by Route 32, on the east by Fort

George G. Meade, a Department of Defense facility, and on the

north by privately owned vacant land. The attached map from

plaintiff's trial exhibit (P’s ex.) 89 shows the property’s location

and road network. Together with his partner, Jack Pollin, Berman

formed BW Parkway Associates, a limited partnership, to develop

the property. BWPA planned a mixed-use development, including

commercial office buildings, retail establishments, high-rise

apartments and single family homes.* Throughout the period at

issue, though, the only tenants of the property were a motel, gas

station and doughnut shop, and the remainder of the property was

vacant.

The land is located in Anne Arundel County, Maryland.

The Anne Arundel County government zoned it for a combination

‘The court will generally refer to the subject property as “the

property.” R

"During the period at issue, Berman bought out his partners in the

Pollin family; thus, the court will refer principally to the activities of

Berman and his son, Dennis Berman.

A-3

re er ee 6) ENB SoA 0: , . ast

Lite acwck elses Dem Baie tele Ras

of commercial and residential uses. Approximately 203 acres were

zoned for residential uses. Up to 53 acres were zoned for high-

density commercial uses. BWPA’s development plans called for

approximately 3000 residential units, 750,000-1,000,000 square

feet of office space, 150,000-200,000 square feet of other

commercial uses and a 250-500 room hotel.

Dennis Berman testified that BWPA regarded the location

of the property as extremely important. The property lay between

three population centers: Baltimore, Maryland; Washington, D.C.;

and Annapolis, Maryland, roughly equidistant from Baltimore and

Washington. Moreover, two major highways, Route 32 and the

Baltimore Washington Parkway, intersected at the property, and

two other major highways U.S. Route 29 and Interstate 95, ran

nearby. The record reflects that real estate development between

Baltimore and Washington was “booming” during the period at

issue.

| Berman was particularly interested in the property because

of its proximity to a large federal agency. The National Security

Agency, a U.S. Department of Defense facility and tenant of Fort

AA

nent

Hiker” jenn

George G. Meade, adjoined the property to the east. NSA

employed tens of thousands of persons from 1967-1987.

According to Dennis Berman, having NSA next door was like

“having a city next door. And this city needs services. All those

people need a place to live, ... a place to shop." Trial Transcript

(Tr.) at 43. BWPA considered the tract "the number one property

in the [Baltimore-Washington] corridor.” Id.

NSA officials regarded a large-scale development on the

property as a threat to NSA’s mission. NSA collects foreign

intelligence for the United States. Its operations are secret, and a

foreign government “would absolutely gain from knowledge of

what was going on inside the facility." Tr. at 699. Officials

feared that the development of certain types of buildings so close

572 of t ~

to the NSA would compromise national security by facilitating

surveillance of NSA’s operations.

BWPA never developed the property. In 1987, NSA

condemned the property and paid BWPA more than $21 million.

That award did not compensate BWPA for the value that

A-5

ie tati ERR es

development could have brought prior to the taking. BWPA

alleges that, from 1968 to 1987, the NSA actively prevented it

from developing the property in order to maintain a security buffer

zone. According to BWPA, NSA benefitted from keeping the

property underdeveloped without compensating BWPA. NSA does

not dispute that it opposed the development, but contends that it

did nothing improper. NSA argues that typical obstacles to

development, such as imadequate highway access and

infrastructure, impeded BWPA’s plans for the property.

The issue before this court is whether the government’s

conduct during the period 1968-1987 constituted a taking of

property without compensation. The parties dispute several factual

issues: the extent to which BWPA tried to develop the property;

the feasibility of installing water and sewer systems on the

property; and the nature of the government’s opposition to

development of the property. The court finds the following facts.

II. BWPA’s Efforts to Develop the Property

BWPA attempted to develop the property from 1967 to

1987. Developing unimproved land is a long, complex process.

A-6

Several county agencies must approve aspects of a project,

including water and sewer access, storm drains, roads, wetlands,

flood plains, and zoning, before construction can begin. All such

approvals must be current simultaneously for a developer to start

work legally. It can take a developer several years to obtain

approvals for a large-scale project.

BWPA planned the development and attempted to ascertain

the feasibility of water and sewer systems over a period of years.

Starting in 1967, BWPA hired engineering consulting firms to

consider methods of providing water and sewer service, improving

highway access to the property, and preparing subdivision plats.

These efforts continued in the 1970s. BWPA also began acquiring

approvals from various local government offices.» BWPA won

*Until 1985, Anne Arundel County had a three-stage process for

reviewing planned developments. The first stage, called the sketch plan,

required the developer to propose a "fairly detailed concept plan,”

showing a plan for using the land, including the location of buildings and

infrastructure. Tr. at 627. At the sketch plan stage, several county

offices reviewed the plan to determine if it “had a possibility of being

approved; what county or state activities had the possibility of impacting

on the development of the site, and what the developer was going to have

to address in the additional planning review processes." Tr. at 627-28.

a traffic impact study, and other studies. The developer had to prepare a

final plan within one year after approval of the preliminary plan.

A-7

sketch plan approval in December 1971, but did not prepare a

preliminary plan. Thus, the sketch plan approval lapsed. From

1972 through 1974, BWPA worked with county officials to gain

approval to install an interim sewage treatment plant on the

property. The county granted approval in October 1974.

Thereafter, BWPA sought estimates for site development to build

an apartment building, an office building, and a water supply and

waste disposal system. In 1975, BWPA hired an architect to

design the buildings. From 1968 to 1975, BWPA officials

negotiated with government officials to sell various interests in the

property or exchange it for government-owned land.

In 1979, BWPA negotiated with at least one developer to

form a joint venture to begin construction. By early 1979, BWPA

again submitted a sketch plan proposal, and in August 1980,

BWPA again gained sketch plan approval. BWPA officials

actively monitored the state highway planning process and

provided input.

BWPA came closest to beginning construction when it

applied for and, in May of 1986, received a building permit from

A-8

Anne Arundel County. In 1986, BWPA planned

673 of tt i

to join the Russett Joint Venture to build water and sewage

facilities, and its participation in the joint venture remained a

possibility until the government took the property in 1987. Thus,

the record shows that BWPA made repeated efforts to overcome

obstacles to developing its property, particularly during 1967-1975

and 1979-1987.

IT, Feasibility of Water and Sewer Access

The court finds that water and sewer access to the property

were feasible during the period at issue. In 1967, a consulting

firm concluded that BWPA could build permanent or temporary

water and sewer systems on the property. BWPA won county

approval to build water and sewage treatment facilities in 1974.

By 1986, BWPA had concluded an agreement with other

developers to form the Russett Venture to build common water and

sewer systems. Nevertheless, consultants’ reports and expert

testimony establish that it would have taken BWPA several years

to complete lines to serve the entire development.

A-9

A ee OE

eS) +“ a

Government officials genuinely doubted that BWPA could

solve its water and sewer access problems. As early as February

1971, NSA officials stated that “the owner of the property will

obviously have difficulty in the development of his land since

water and sewage are a problem (he cannot get across Government

property without permission) and the fact that he has only one

access/egress to public roads.” P’s ex. 82. Government officials

continued to believe that these obstacles prevented development as

late as April 1986.

IV. The Government’s Actions

A, Early NSA Efforts to Purchase Interests in the Property

NSA officials opposed development on the property

because they believed such development would facilitate

surveillance of NSA operations. NSA performed several technical

vulnerability studies of the property to assess the threat posed by

development of the property. NSA officials concluded that the

best way to protect NSA security would be to maintain a security

buffer zone around the perimeter of NSA property. While NSA

preferred the property to remain vacant, it found that it could

A-10

;

maintain security by other methods, such as restricting building

heights and location or limiting construction to buildings with

public access.

Starting in April 1968, NSA attempted to acquire the

property by exchanging government-owned real estate with BWPA.

The General Services Administration ("GSA") represented NSA in

negotiations with BWPA. GSA appraised the value of the property

at $5,000,000. BWPA disagreed with the government’s appraisal.

By October 1969, GSA concluded that BWPA’s estimate of the

value of its property was “inflated,” therefore "further efforts to

effect an exchange [were] hopeless." P’s ex. 49. Government

representatives again approached BWPA about an exchange of

property in June 1971, but Jack Pollin declined on behalf of

BWPA.

NSA tried to acquire limited interests in the property. In

1970 NSA tried to purchase 75 acres of the property and an aerial

easement on the rest. These efforts continued into 1971, but NSA

was unable to obtain full funding for the purchase.

At the same time, NSA officials voiced opposition to the

A-11

development to county officials. In August 1970, Marion McCoy,

the County Planning and Zoning Officer, gave NSA information

about BWPA’s progress in obtaining county approvals for

development. She explained that county “[zjoning people have

been “dragging their feet’ because they hope that NSA will buy the

land in question.” She promised to "‘drag her feet ’ if [NSA were]

interested in the land." P’s ex. 62. During this period, NSA

attended county planning meetings and kept abreast of development

efforts. NSA’s Chief of Installations and Logistics mentioned that

"I don’t think we should let an opportunity slip by to officially

advise Anne Arundel of our concern for the construction of Colony

Fairfield Apartment Complex adjacent to NSA." P’s ex. 118.

There is some evidence that McCoy opposed the development.

574 of the opini

NSA sought an aerial easement in April 1972 to cover 136

acres of the property. In November 1972, the Army Corps of

Engineers ("COE"), representing NSA, opened negotiations with

BWPA. NSA and COE believed that unresolved conditions

rendered the prospects for developing the property uncertain,

A-12

including changes in zoning, proposed highway improvements, and

continuing problems with access to the property. Negotiations

continued into January 1974. Each side appraised the value of the

property very differently, and valuation was complicated by

proposed zoning changes. NSA and COE officials ultimately

concluded that it would be too costly to acquire the property either

by negotiation or by purchase.

After the failure of negotiations, NSA shifted its strategy.

The government continued to — that it would be difficult for

BWPA to develop its property. NSA officials agreed to terminate

negotiations with BWPA, but to “be alerted to any proposed

development by the owners and ...take necessary action to impede

any development not harmonious to the area." P’s ex. 200.

Officials instructed that "[a]ny structure that may create a nuisance

or hazardous situation should be opposed by the Government in its

Capacity as a property owner.” Jd. Additionally, NSA officials

planned to contact McCoy concerning “the Government’s position

and possible courses of action, if development of property creates

adverse conditions.” Id.

A-13

There is evidence that NSA planned to impede the

development on the property by cultivating a relationship with at

least one Anne Arundel County official and by using traffic

concerns as a basis for its opposition. At a subsequent meeting,

government officials recommended that “Fort Meade pursue a

position that additional vehicular traffic resulting from occupants

of developed enterprises on the [property] would add to a problem

which now exists on the Fort Meade/NSA/CSS’s traffic

capability.” P’s ex. 202. NSA planned to discuss NSA’s concerns

with McCoy for future development primarily because of an influx

of traffic, to invite McCoy to NSA "as a prestige factor to express

the appreciation of the Agency for her assistance," and to request

the Secretary of Defense to instruct the Secretary of the Army to

oppose construction of the property adjacent to NSA/Fort Meade.

Id.

At least initially, NSA followed these plans. COE official

Barry Frankel met with McCoy on April 2, 1975, and discussed

the Agency’s position concerning development on the property.

NSA officials planned to actively oppose BWPA’s development at

A-14

county public zoning hearings.

B. NSA’s Involvement in Traffic Issues

The court finds that NSA became deeply involved with

state officials in traffic planning issues. Starting in 1979, NSA

Officials attended public meetings and advised state highway

planners on the Patuxent Freeway project.‘ NSA officials actively

monitored the Maryland State Highway Administrations’s ("SHA")

progress in developing alternative routes for the Patuxent Freeway,

and in 1981 pressed for meetings with Maryland officials in order

to affect the decisions. Commencing in the fall of 1981, NSA and

Fort Meade officials worked very closely with SHA, holding

frequent meetings to work out route alternatives. State officials

attempted to satisfy NSA and Fort Meade desires with respect to

the highway. In October 1982, an MDOT official stated that

“coordination will continue after the [public] hearing to assure that

“The Maryland Department of Transportation ("MDOT") planned the

Patuxent Freeway to traverse the county east to west and approach the

NSA complex. In June 1979, MDOT began to study proposals for

locating the freeway and sponsored public meetings to gather information.

The exact location of the highway was the subject of much debate and

controversy.

A-15

Fort Meade’s concerns are adequately resolved in order that we

may develop a formal agreement between the State Highway

Administration and the Department of the Army." P’s ex. 308.

One reason for the close cooperation between federal and

state planners was that the state needed an easement through

federally-owned land in order to build the new

675 of the opini

freeway. There were other reasons for NSA’s interest in the

Patuxent Freeway. First, NSA was concerned about traffic

congestion along Route 32. Contributing to the congestion were

the large number of NSA employees entering and exiting the

complex and the location of a major interchange between Route 32

and the BW Parkway. NSA officials worried that development of

BWPA’s property would worsen congestion by generating tens of

thousands of vehicles per day. Second, NSA expressed concern

that a major highway passing close to its complex could pose

security risks.

In addition to the Patuxent Freeway project, highway

planners perceived a need to improve the interchange between

A-16

Route 32 and the BW Parkway. NSA was deeply involved in

planning the interchange improvements. NSA and Fort Meade

officials pressed state highway planners for traffic solutions that

suited NSA, but which BWPA opposed. Specifically, NSA

favored closing the intersection between the service road and Route

32. NSA favored building a road through the north end of

BWPA’s property to connect with Maryland Route 175 to provide

access to BWPA’s property. BWPA officials opposed this idea

and wrote to congressmen to express concern that its access to

Route 32 would be cut off. In an effort to relieve traffic

congestion on Route 32, NSA suggested building an interchange

from the BW Parkway directly into the NSA complex. This ramp,

called the “connector road,” bisected BWPA’s property. NSA

assumed overall responsibility for the connector road construction.

Clearly, the connector road would have required BWPA to alter its

development plans. BWPA argued that the exit ramp could serve

both it and NSA, but NSA opposed this solution.

NSA exercised significant influence over highway planning

decisions. The importance of NSA input is captured by a 1983

A-17

letter from the Governor of Maryland to BWPA explaining that he

considered NSA’s access to Route 32 a priority.°

C. The Taking

In November 1985, BWPA notified NSA that it planned to

begin construction on the property. NSA immediately applied for

funding approvals to purchase the property. In a letter dated

December 16, 1985, an NSA official informed BWPA that "the

Government clearly will acquire that tract” and that "approval is

expected to be forthcoming in the next 12 months." P’s ex. 486.

On December 2, 1985, NSA requested emergency funding for the

acquisition.

NSA and COE had to secure several approvals to acquire

the property. They had to obtain approval from the Assistant

Secretary of Defense and congressional authorization to reprogram

funds for the purchase, prepare a planning report and have it

5As Governor Hughes explained, “it is simply not possible to provide

even minimally acceptable access to Maryland Route 32 from both the

massive National Security Agency complex and your development in the

space of just a few hundred feet, with both access points being

immediately adjacent to the Baltimore-Washington Parkway interchange."

P’s ex. 330.

A-18

approved, and order an independent appraisal and have it

approved. COE was not permitted to negotiate until funds were

authorized to acquire the property. For the next year, NSA and

COE continuously worked through channels to acquire funding.

An independent appraisal valued the property between $9.4 million

and $9.7 million. The Assistant Secretary of Defense notified

NSA on July 10, 1986 that the funding request met the criteria for

emergency funding, and later the Secretary of Defense approved

$9.7 million for the emergency acquisition. After following

additional procedures necessary to receive funding approval, on

September 30, 1986, the Deputy Secretary of Defense notified

congressional committees of the proposed acquisition. The

documents reflect that government officials acted as quickly as they

could to gain funding approvals, but that the approval process was

cumbersome.

On May 20, 1986, BWPA received its building permit and

pursued plans to join the Russett Joint Venture to build water and

sewer facilities. An NSA official asked BWPA to delay

construction until

A-19

676 of t ie

June 15, 1986 to allow NSA time to acquire authorization for

funding. On June 19, 1986, NSA reaffirmed its commitment to

take the property. In October 1986, NSA sent a letter to BWPA’s

lawyer explaining the process and reaffirming interest in the

purchase. Finally, in November 1986, congressional committees

notified NSA that they did not object to the funding, and $9.7

million was approved for the acquisition.

NSA officials opened negotiations with BWPA sometime

in late November/early December 1986. Negotiations halted when

government officials, who thought the appraisal might be too high,

ordered an additional appraisal. Berman became frustrated and

wrote to the NSA Director asking for a commitment to purchase

the property. Berman also wrote to various congressmen

expressing his concern at the lack of progress. The government’s

reply assured him that the government was taking the property.

Negotiations restarted in July 1987. Negotiations reached

and impasse by July 28, 1987, and in October 1987 the

government instituted eminent domain proceedings.

A-20

DISCUSSION

I. Statute of Limitations

Defendant raises a statute of limitations defense. The

Statute of limitations is six years. 28 U.S.C. § 2501. The

limitations period first accrues or begins to run when a potential

plaintiff knows or reasonably should know of all the events which

fix the government’s alleged liability. Hopland Band of Pomo

Indians v. United States, 855 F.2d 1573, 1577 (Fed.Cir. 1988).

If an injury is clear but its source unknown, the six-year period

starts wher. the plaintiff has reason to know the cause of the injury.

L.E. Cooke Corp. v United States, 27 Fed.Cl. 753, 754 (1993);

M.R.K. Corp. v. United States, 15 Cl.Ct. 538, 544-45 (1988).

This lawsuit is well within the statute of limitations.

BWPA claims that the totality of the government’s conduct

amounted to a taking of the property. The only evidence of a

taking about which BWPA could have known before December 16,

1985 were the government’s alleged threats to condemn the

property. The evidence supporting BWPA’s theory in this case

consisted of internal government documents to which BWPA had

A-21

no access until it conducted discovery. A mere threat to condemn

cannot form the basis of a Fifth Amendment taking. Mesa Ranch

Partnership v. United States, 2 Cl.Ct. 700, 707 (1983).

Therefore, a mere threat to condemn cannot constitute all the

events which fix the government’s liability.

The court finds that the earliest time at which BWPA might

have been aware of its claim was December 16, 1985, the date of

the letter from NSA to BWPA stating unequivocally that “the

Government clearly will acquire that tract.” P’s ex. 486. That

letter, coupled with BWPA’s nearly twenty-year history of

frustrated efforts to develop the property, could have raised

awareness that the government might have taken action to prevent

the development. Thus, the time at which the limitations period

ended was in December 1991, two years after BWPA filed its

complaint with this court.

II. Nature of Plaintiff's Cause of Action

A, Tort

The defendant argues that BWPA’s claims allege tortious

conduct, not a taking. Courts consider three factors to determine

A-22

whether alleged government conduct constitutes a taking or a tort.

First, the government’s conduct is more likely to sound in tort if

it is unauthorized or unlawful. Lawful or authorized government

conduct may be a taking. See B & F Trawlers, Inc. v. United

States, 27 Fed.Cl. 299, 303-04 (1992); Clark v. United States, 8

Cl.Ct. 649, 651 (1985). Second, the government’s conduct is

more likely to constitute a taking if its consequences are natural,

probable or foreseeable. Clark, 8 Cl.Ct. at 651; Berenholz v.

United States, 1 Cl.Ct. 620, 627-28 (1982), aff'd, 723 F.2d 68

(Fed.Cir. 1983). Finally, courts consider the nature of the

plaintiff's injuries. If a plaintiff claims incidental injuries, the

cause of ac-

577 of the opini

tion is more likely to sound in tort. In contrast, if a plaintiff

alleges permanent or continuing injuries, the cause of action is

more likely to be a taking claim. Clark, 8 Cl.Ct. at 651;

Berenhoiz, 1 Cl.Ct. at 627.

The court finds BWPA’s allegations support a taking claim

for several reasons. First, BWPA does not suggest that the

A-23

government acted illegally. Rather, BWPA contends that the

government acted pursuant to lawful military policy. Though

BWPA implies that the government violated statutes requiring

expeditious acquisition of property, that is only tangential to this

case. Second, BWPA alleges that the government acted

intentionally and, in fact, the natural and foreseeable consequence

of the government’s conduct was to obstruct development of the

property. Finally, BWPA alleges an injury of a continuing nature:

it claims that the government prevented it from developing the

property for almost twenty years.

B. Taking

The Fifth Amendment guarantees that private property

shall not “be taken for public use without just compensation.” U.S.

Const. amend. V. The guiding principle underlying takings

jurisprudence is that, “while property may be regulated to a certain

extent, if regulation goes too far it will be recognized as a taking."

Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Mahon, 260 U.S. 393, 415, 43 S.Ct.

158, 160, 67 L.Ed. 322 (1922). A takings inquiry requires the

court to balance the private and public interests. A government

A-24

action effects a taking if it “does not substantially advance

legitimate state interests ... or denies an owner economically viable

use of his land." Agins v. Tiburon, 447 U.S. 255, 260-61, 100

S.Ct. 2138, 2141-42, 65 L.Ed.2d 106 (1980).° Under a takings

analysis, the court must consider three factors: (1) the character

of the governmental action; (2) the extent to which the regulation

interferes with distinct investment-backed expectations; and (3) the

economic impact of the regulation on the claimant. Connolly v.

Pension Benefit Guar. Corp., 475 U.S. 211, 225, 106 $.Ct. 1018,

1026, 89 L.Ed.2d 166 (1986) (citations omitted). Each factor is

examined seriatim.

*The facts of this case do not raise a per se takings analysis because

BWPA does not allege either a permanent physical occupation, Loretto v.

Teleprompter Manhattan CATV Corp. , 458 U.S. 419, 102 S.Ct. 3164, 73

L.Ed.2d 868 (1982), or a confiscatory regulatory action, Lucas v. South

Carolina Coastal Council, _U.S._, _, 112 S.Ct. 2886, 2893, 120

L.Ed.2d 798 (1922). Under the Lucas framework, a “landowner whose

deprivation is one step short of complete ... might not be able to claim

the benefit of [a per se taking category], but ... ‘[tJhe economic impact

of the regulation on the claimant and ...the extent to which the regulation

has interfered with distinct investment-backed expectations’” are still

relevant to determining whether there has been a taking. Lucas U.S.

at_n. 8, 112 S.Ct. at 2895 n. 8 (citation omitted). BWPA has not

established that it lost all economically beneficial use of the property.

A-25

The Character of the Government’s Conduct

The court draws inferences as to the character of the

government’s actions from the basic facts of the case. It is clear

that NSA desired to maintain a buffer zone around its perimeter

and preferred to control the development. The evidence that the

government's actions actually prevented development, however, is

conflicting. The court evaluates each of BWPA’s allegations.

BWPA alleges that the government negotiated in bad faith.

BWPA bases this charge on three claims. First, BWPA asserts

that the government tried to acquire only those portions of the

property that BWPA focused on for development and stopped its

efforts to acquire the property as soon as BWPA stopped trying to

develop it. Second, BWPA maintains that the government offered

less than it knew the property was worth. Finally, BWPA argues

that the government failed to act expeditiously to acquire the

property.

The evidence does not support these claims, and the court

concludes that the government did not negotiate in bad faith.

There is insufficient evidence that the government targeted for

A-26

purchase those por-

678 of the opini

tions of the property that BWPA readied for development. Rather,

the government targeted for purchase those interests that impacted

heavily on its security concerns. For example, the government

considered purchasing aerial easements over the property, and

limitations to restrict construction to public buildings.

There is insufficient evidence that the government dropped

its acquisition efforts solely because BWPA stopped its efforts to

develop. In contrast, the evidence supports the inference that the

government dropped its efforts to acquire the property because it

could not reach agreement with BWPA. GSA officials commented

that BWPA’s appraisal of the property was “inflated.” P’s ex. 49.

Plaintiff's exhibit 200 shows that the government fully analyzed the

negotiations, believed BWPA would demand more money than the

government could afford, and dropped its efforts 10 acquire the

property because it believed that it would be difficult for BWPA

to overcome its water and sewer obstacles.

There is no evidence that the government offered BWPA

A-27

less than it knew the property was worth. The evidence shows,

however, that government officials gemuinely believed that the

property was worth less than BWPA officials believed it was

worth. As one official stated in 1969, “the owners...have advised

that their property is worth about $20,000,000 to them. This

figure is obviously far from the actual value of the property." P’s

ex. 49. The government’s 1972 appraisal of the value of an aerial

easement estimated the value at $350,000, and that is the amount

that the government offered to purchase it. Similarly, during the

1987 negotiations for purchase, the government had authority to

pay up to $9.7 million for the property, and it offered $9.2 million

to BWPA.

Moreover, the government did not fail to act expeditiously

to purchase the property. During the negotiations between 1968

and 1975, the government did not purchase the property because

it could not reach agreement with BWPA. During 1985 through

1987, the government acted as quickly as it could given the

cumbersome process of gaining funding authorization. There is

little support for BWPA’s repeated assertion that the government

A-28

cals

ie ene

- ’

my

ae

ae.

had approval to purchase the property throughout the period in

question.

BWPA also alleges that the government exercised

enormous influence over the county approval process, influencing

State and county officials to oppose the development. BWPA

claims that the government notified the county that NSA planned

to acquire part of the property, persuaded county employees to

“drag their feet" in granting approvals, and practically dictated the

highway designs so as to use traffic problems to prevent the

development.

The court finds that the government did, in fact, notify the

county that NSA intended to purchase 75 acres of the property.

_ Further, the court finds that the government attempted to influence

the decisions of county officials. NSA and Fort Meade officials

attended county meetings concerning the development. They

cultivated a relationship with Marion McCoy, a county zoning

official. BWPA officials perceived that McCoy opposed the

development, and they felt they had to guard against her in‘luence.

However, there is conflicting evidence of the overall effect of

A-29

NSA’s influence on county officials. One document states that the

county would "continue to process [the] subdivision until a definite

commitment by Fort Meade has been made on [the] property." P’s

ex. 105 (emphasis in original). Another document suggests that

county officials were “dragging their feet" about granting

approvals in the hope that the government would acquire the tract.

P’s ex. 62. There was testimony that the approval process took an

unusually long time for BWPA; while most sketch plans are

approved within several months if there are no problems, approval

for one of BWPA’s sketch plans took over two years. Yet BWPA

never failed to gain the approvals that it sought. Twice it received

sketch plan approval. Once it received approval for an interim

_ sewage treatment facility. Once it received a building permit. In

light of the evidence, the court concludes that NSA attempted to

influence the

579 of the opini

county approvals process through both public opposition and

private persuasion. While the government’s influence could have

delayed some approvals, it never prevented them.

A-30

The court finds that the government’s influence over the

highway designs did not impede the development. The

government intended to use traffic concerns as a reason for

opposing the development. Plaintiff's exhibit 202 reflects that

NSA officials recommended that “Fort Meade pursue a position

that additional vehicular traffic resulting from occupants of

developed enterprises on the Baltimore Washington Parkway

property would add a problem which now exists on the Fort

Meade/NSA/CSS’s traffic capability." However, there is

insufficient evidence that NSA influence over the traffic issues

actually poisoned BWPA’s development efforts. MDOT officials

recognized that problems would ensue from the combination of

traffic from NSA and Colony Fairfield. Maryland officials

actively considered access to the property when they generated

proposals for the Patuxent Freeway. Even if BWPA’s access to

Route 32 were closed, an alternative access route was available:

extending Old Clark Road to Route 175. While BWPA opposed

this alternative access, there is no evidence that the alternative

A-31

Me i i a, ih ie, ie ee eS TTrrlUMaEeCrlUCUThCOhUCTCTmhUC TOO. 7 ov a a oe

access would have prevented the development.’

Finally, BWPA claims that the government threatened to

condemn the property. In December of 1985 NSA stated its

intention to condemn the property and in June of 1986 it asked

BWPA to delay its construction plans. The government followed

both of these actions with the eminent domain proceedings filed in

October 1987.

Legitimate government action which impairs the market

value of real property ordinarily does not amount to a taking.

Kirby Forest Indus., Inc. v. United States, 467 U.S. 1, 15, 104

S.Ct. 2187, 2196, 81 L.Ed.2d 1 (1984). In Kirby, the Court did

not find a taking when the government filed a notice of lis

pendens, notifying the public that it had instituted condemnation

proceedings, even though the notice reduced the market value of

the property. Id. at 7, 104 S.Ct. at 2192. Observing that filing

a notice of lis pendens was a legitimate governmental action that

"Plaintiff's traffic expert, William Baumigaertner, relied on these and

other documents to conclude that the government’s activity on the traffic

Baumgaertner relied on and reaches different conclusions for the reasons

stated.

A-32

did not "interfere{ ] with an owner’s legal right to dispose of his

land," the Court reasoned that “[uJntil title passed to the United

States, [the landowner] was free to make whatever use it pleased

of its property.* Id, at 15, 104 S.Ct. at 2196. In accordance with

this principle, courts have held that a threat of condemnation by

the United States was not a taking even if it tended to thwart a

proposed development. Mesa Ranch Partnership, 2 C1.Ct. at 707.

Nor was it a taking if the United States cut off the best highway

access from a property, so long as other access routes were

available. Id. at 709. In De-Tom Enters., Inc. v. United States,

213 Ct.Cl. 362, 552 F.2d 337 (1977), the fact that government

Officials spoke at a public hearing against a proposed zoning

change on a piece of private property did not support a taking

claim. The court analogized the government to a powerful

adjoining landowner, such as “a large private manufacturer or

comparable enterprise, or an organized group of citizens." 213

Ct.Cl. at 365, 552 F.2d 337.

At the other extreme, government conduct which goes

beyond legitimate government action and interferes with the legal

A-33

rights of landowners may constitute a taking. Althaus v. United

States, 7 C1.Ct. 688, 694 (1985). In Althaus, the court found a

taking because the government substantially eliminated all markets

and uses for a parcel of land, and then purposefully offered to

purchase the land for a fraction of its value. Similarly,

government conduct amounted to a taking when the government

completely and purposefully deprived a landowner of all highway

access to his property, thereby preventing

580 of 1 -

any chance for it to develop the property. Drakes Bay Land Co. v.

United States, 191 Ct.Cl. 389, 401, 411, 424 F.2d 574 (1970).

Many of the government’s actions in this case fall under

the category of legitimate government actions that normally do not

constitute a taking. First, the government negotiated in good faith,

but unsuccessfully, to purchase the property. Good faith

negotiations to purchase the property do not constitute a taking.

Mesa Ranch Partnership, 2 C1.Ct. at 708. Second the government

opposed development during county meetings. Speaking against

the development at public meetings and contacting public officials

A-34

are typical actions of concerned neighbors who oppose

development and do not constitute a taking. De-Tom Enters., 213

Cl.Ct. at 365, 552 F.2d 337. Third, the government informed

county officials of NSA’s intent to purchase the property. The

government may state its intention to condemn property without

effecting a taking. Mesa Ranch, 2 C1.Ct. at 707. Fourth, the

government took almost two years to secure funding approvals to

purchase the property. Here, as in Kirby, the government’s stated

intention to acquire the land may have had the effect of reducing

the market value for the property. Nevertheless, BWPA remained

free to make whatever use of the property it pleased until title

passed to the United States. Finally, the government did not take

the property until its development was imminent. The

government, however, had no obligation to purchase the property

until it agreed to do so. Moreover, government officials genuinely

doubted the plaintiff's ability to develop the property and thus had

no reason to acquire it until development became imminent.

Some of the government’s actions may not fall under the

rubric of legitimate actions. Government officials wielded

A-35

substantial influence over the state highway planning decisions and

intended at one point to use highway issues to persuade county

officials to reject development. Government officials also

cultivated a relationship with one county zoning official in order

to enlist her support against the development. Assuming,

arguendo, these actions impaired BWPA’s ability to develop its

property, they could support a taking claim. The court will next

examine the extent to which these governmental actions interfered

with BWPA’s reasonable investment-backed expectations.

Interference With Reasonable Investment-Backed Expectations

First, the court must determine whether the plaintiff’s

| expectations for development were reasonable. The court finds

that though BWPA’s hopes for developing the property were

reasonable to some extent, there were no guarantees that it would

have been able to achieve full development within a reasonable

time period. BWPA’s hired consultants concluded that building

water and sewer service were feasible but would have taken several

years. Further testimony showed that developers of the KMS

building, which was completed in 1990 on property close to the

A-36

BWPA tract, had difficulty finding tenants. That example suggests

that there was no guarantee of successful development. Thus, the

court concludes that BWPA’s investment-backed expectations were

reasonably possible but not certain to be fulfilled.

Next, the court must determine whether the government’s

actions actually prevented BWPA from developing the property.

Most of the government’s actions did not impede development;

rather, BWPA officials chose not to pursue development

aggressively. First , there is no support for BWPA’s contention

that the government negotiated in bad faith merely to induce

BWPA to stop its development. The court has found previously

that the government did not negotiate in bad faith. Second, if

BWPA ceased its development efforts because it hoped the

government would acquire the property, that was BWPA’s choice.

Third, there is insufficient evidence that alleged threats to condemn

the property actually prevented the development. Though Dennis

Berman testified that it is difficult to obtain financing or sell the

property under a threat to condemn, the record contains no

evidence that BWPA

A-37

681 of # mais

was rejected for a loan due to government threats nor that potential

buyers declined to buy it because of government threats.

Moreover, Berman admitted that BWPA could have built pieces of

the development without outside financing. Fourth, BWPA lacks

evidence that the government’s influence over any of the traffic-

related issues actually impeded the development. Though NSA

wanted to close one access route to the property, another access

route was available. There is no taking so long as some access

route was available. Mesa Ranch Partnership, 2 C1.Ct. at 709. In

addition, the county authorities approved BWPA’s sketch plans,

and BWPA obtained a building permit. The court finds little

evidence that the government’s plans to build the connector road

impaired BWPA’s development efforts.

Finally, there is insufficient evidence that the government’s

Opposition to the development during the county approvals process

actually impeded the development. NSA may have used its

relationship with Marion McCoy to slow down the county zoning

approvals. However, the evidence is inconclusive as to whether

A-38

the government’s influence caused a delay. While testimony

indicated that one of BWPA’s sketch plan approvals took longer

than usual, BWPA twice won sketch plan approval, once gained

approval for an interim sewage treatment plant and obtained a

building permit. Thus, BWPA has not established by a

preponderance of the evidence that the government substantially

interfered with the approvals process for the development.

BWPA argues that the totality of the government’s actions

made it risky for BWPA to prepare its property for development

because BWPA knew it could not recover preparation costs from

the government through an eminent domain proceeding. Thus,

according to BWPA, it risked losing money if it started to develop

and the property was taken; yet if BWPA did not develop the

property, the government would not have taken it.

This argument assumes, without support, that the

government’s taking was inevitable. The court is not persuaded

that the taking was a foregone conclusion. At least once

previously, the government failed to gain funding approval to

purchase a limited interest in the property. Also previously, the

A-39

government had attempted to purchase limited interests in the

property, leaving some portions available for development. NSA

Officials also desired to acquire the entire property. However, the

record fails to support the inference that at all times NSA officials

could gain approval for the purchase. Moreover, this fact tends to

undermine BWPA’s position, because it suggests that BWPA

controlled whether the property would have been taken or

developed. In Kirby Forest, the Court observed that

any effort by petitioner to develop the land

probably would have prom»ted the Government to

...to file a declaration of taking ...But the

likelihood that the United States would have

responded in that fashion ...weakens rather than

Strengthens petitioner’s position, because it

suggests that petitioner had the option, at any time,

to precipitate an immediate taking of the land.

467 U.S. at 15-16, 104 S.Ct. at 2196-97. The same analysis

applies here. If BWPA had begun construction, the government

would have attempted to secure funding to acquire the land. If the

A-40

government failed to acquire the land, then BWPA would have

completed its development. In fact, it was BWPA’s letter to NSA

indicating that development was imminent that precipitated the

government’s efforts in 1985 to obtain funding to take the

property.

The Economic Impact of the Government’s Action

Because the court finds that the government’s actions did

not actually interfere with the development, it also concludes that

the government’s actions had little economic impact on BWPA.

Several factors buttress this conclusion. The government offered

the plaintiff several opportunities to avoid a taking by selling its

land or interests in the land. This distinguishes this case from

Drakes Bay. In Drakes

682 of t fi

Bay, the court held that the government completely precluded

development when it acquired the only piece of land that could

connect the subject property to highways. Once it acquired this

land, the government refused to permit road construction and

refused to purchase the subject property. 191 Ct.Cl. at 411, 424

A-41

F.2d 574. Here, by contrast, the government never could have

stopped the development completely. By its own admission, BWPA

made business decisions to stop its development efforts when it

believed the government would acquire the land. BWPA could at

all times have precipitated a taking, or achieved development if it

had continued its efforts to do so.

The case also differs from Althaus. In Althaus, the

government deliberately offered less than it knew the land was

worth, and created an environment wherein landowners could

neither sell nor use their property. 7 Cl.Ct. at 694-95. Here,

however, evidence shows that the government offered close to the

value of appraisals performed by independent consultants.

Moreover, BWPA remained free to attempt to develop its land if

it wished. Thus, BWPA was not deprived of a market for its

property. Courts have stressed that there is no taking if the

plaintiff remained free to sell the property or to develop the

property to some extent. Mesa Ranch, 2 Cl.Ct. at 709; De-Tom

Enters., 213 Ct.Cl. at 370, 552 F.2d 337.

Thus, BWPA has not established by a preponderance of the

A-42

evidence that the government’s conduct caused BWPA to fail to

develop its property and suffer economic loss as a result.

CONCLUSION

After a thorough review of the evidence presented at trial

and the entire record, the court concludes that plaintiff has not

established a taking by a preponderance of the evidence.

Accordingly, the court finds for the defendant. The Clerk is

directed to enter judgment for the defendant and dismiss plaintiff's

complaint. No costs.

A-43

B.W. PARKWAY ASSOCIATES LTD. PARTNERSHIP v. U.S. 683

Clee as 29 Fed.C. 609 (1993)

APPENDIX

PLAINTIFF'S EXHIBIT 89

P -

eewase

ect er eee

fsa.

can GEORGE CS MMEAGE

NOTE: Pursuant to Fed. Cir. R. 47.6, this disposition is not

citable as precedent. It is a public record. The disposition will

appear in tables published periodically.

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

94-5038

BW PARKWAY ASSOCIATES

LIMITED PARTNERSHIP

Plaintiff-Appellant,

A

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

JUDGMENT

ON APPEAL from the UNITED STATES COURT OF

FEDERAL CLAIMS

in CASE NO(S). 539-89L

B-1

This CAUSE having been heard and considered it is

ORDERED and ADJUDGED: AFFIRMED.

Per Curiam (PLAGER, LOURIE, and RADER, Circuit

Judges). See Fed. Cir. R. 36.

ENTERED BY ORDER OF THE COURT

DATED SEP 15 1994 Ls/

Francis X. Gindhart, Clerk

Costs: AGAINST APPELLANT

PRINTING $77.25

TOTAL $77.25

ISSUED AS A MANDATE: OCT 6 1994

FILED

U.S. COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

SEP 15 1994

FRANCIS X. GINDHART

CLERK

B-2

APPENDIX C

U.S. CONST. amend. IV:

“The right of people to be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects, against unreasonable

searches and seizures, shall not be violated, and no

Warrants shall issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by Oath or affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be searched, and the persons

or things to be seized.

U.S. CONST. amend. V:

“No person shall beheld to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising in

the land or naval forces, or in the Militia, when in

actual service in time of War or public danger; nor

shall any person be subject for the same offense to be

twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall be

C-1

compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law; nor shall private property

be taken for public use, without just compensation."

APPENDIX D

OTS ar Rg eT ORR NE EN oT E> Pete Ee MOE aT een hye ts

10 U.S.C. § 2803 Emergency Construction

(a) Subject to subsections (b) and (c), the Secretary concerned

may carry Out a military construction project not other authorized

by law if the Secretary determines (1) that the project is vital to the

national security, and (2) that the requirement for the project is so

urgent that deferral of the project for inclusion in the next Military

Construction Authorization Act would be inconsistent with national

security.

10 U.S.C. § 2672(a) Emergency Construction

The Secretary of a military department may acquire any interest in

land that -

(1) he or his designee determines is needed in the interest

of national defense;

(2) is required to maintain the operation integrity of a

(3) considerations of urgency do not permit the delay

necessary to include the required acquisition in an annual Military

Construction Authorization Act.

Appropriations available for military construction may be used for

the purposes of this section. The authority to acquire an interest

in land under this section includes authority to make surveys and

acquire interests in land (including temporary use), by gift,

purchase, exchange of land owned by the United States, or

otherwise. The Secretary of a military department contemplating

action under this provision will provide notice, in writing, to the

Armed Services Committees of the Senate and House of

Representatives at least 30 days in advance of any action being

taken.

42 U.S.C. § 4651 Uniform policy on real property acquisition

practices

In cotes to encourage and expedite the acquisition of real property

by agreements with owners, to avoid litigation and relieve

congestion in the courts, to assure consistent treatment for owners

in the many Federal programs, and to promote public confidence

in Federal land acquisition practices, heads of Federal agencies

shall, to the greatest extent practicable, be guided by the following

D-2

A) eee

id al eli La hs

Ne EC Re, La ST Es cee Pa ee

Ba Sass a

policies:

(1) the head of a Federal agency shall make every

reasonable effort to acquire expeditiously real property by

negotiation.

(7) in no event shall the head of a Federal agency either

advance the time of condemnation, or defer negotiations or

condemnation and the deposit of funds in court for the use of the

owner, or take any other action coercive in nature, in order to

compel an agreement on the price to be paid for the property.

(8) if any interest in real property is to be acquired by

exercise of the power of eminent domain, the head of the Federal

agency concerned shall institute formal condemnation proceedings.

No Federal agency head shall intentionally make it necessary for

an owner to institute legal proceedings to prove the fact of the

taking of his real property.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — BW Parkway Associates Partnership v. United States, 115 S. Ct. 1356 (1995) (No. 94-1104) | Frix