Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Houdek v. Mobil Oil Corp.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, vu.

FILED ws

(") 941 049 Ec 1 5 1994

No. 94- orrice

In THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

HAROLD A. HOUDEK, et al.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

MoBIL O1L CORPORATION,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Colorado Court of Appeals

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RODNEY R. PATULA

(Counsel of Record)

THOMAS L. ROBERTS

RICARDO M. BARRERA

PRYOR, CARNEY & JOHNSON, P.C.

6200 S. Syracuse Way, Suite 400

Englewood, Colorado 80111

(303) 771-6200

Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON - Eras Printine Co., Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did the Colorado Court of Appeals correctly hold

that petitioners’ common law claims for alleged fraud are

preempted by the Employee Retirement Income Security

Act (ERISA) when the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

previously determined that they lack standing to bring

ERISA claims to redress the same alleged fraud?

2. Did the Colorado Court of Appeals correctly hold

that petitioners’ common law claims for fraudulent dis-

charge “relate to” their ERISA covered pension plan, and

are thus preempted, when the sole “connection” between

the state claims and the pension plan is that respondent

employer allegedly misrepresented proposed amendments

to the plan as the “means” to procure petitioners’ dis-

charges?

3. Did Congress intend to grant employers a safe

harbor for misconduct in the employment relationship—

between the whirlpool of ERISA preemption and the rock

of ERISA standing?

(i)

ii

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners, plaintiffs-appellants, below:

Harold A. Houdek, Frederic J. Raymond, J.A.

Morrison, George H. Liveris, Robert A. Irwin, Cecil

J. Allmon, Jose Augusto, Jr., R.S. Banner, Jr., A.D.

Bond, Clemont H. Bruce, Harvey A. Carson, Jr., Billy

Jack Dunn, Virginia Howard, Sylvester J. Jaye, T.L.

Martin, Ira S. Reavis, E. Shepard, Herman B.

Thomason, Marion Leon Thompson, Billy Rhea

Sargent, and Clarence E. White, for themselves and

on behalf of others similarly situated.

Respondent, defendant-appellees below:

Mobil Oil Corporation.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...020222.2.2.2.....scssesssesseseseseeee i

sikh ican snes-cassncesereccdecrsvescevevecessscteosees ii

gs cg | T Vv

adnate scnckiennisencivescemmeveseenstionsnhennie 1

I i eciacaneanistnaesipaesrsecesiiinnatnneniainnansnenosts 1

i caesciscsuisinr-nattsseomarnnaeetecunveseneens 2

i a Ap: | Fae 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .0020.00.0...0.....cccceeceeeeeeeee 3

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND ..... 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 8

I. THE COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS

ERRED IN HOLDING THAT COMMON LAW

CLAIMS FOR ALLEGED TORTIOUS DIS-

CHARGE ARE PREEMPTED BY ERISA

EVEN WHEN PLAINTIFFS LACK STAND-

ING TO BRING ERISA CLAIMS FOR THE

SAME ALLEGED MISCONDUCT .................... 11

Il. THE COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS

ERRED IN HOLDING THAT STATE LAW

CLAIMS FOR ALLEGED FRAUDULENT IN-

DUCEMENT TO RETIRE EARLY “RELATE

TO” THE ERISA PLAN, AND ARE THUS

PREEMPTED, WHEN THE SOLE “CONNEC-

TION” BETWEEN THE STATE CLAIMS

AND THE PLAN IS THAT INFORMATION

ABOUT PROPOSED PLAN AMENDMENTS

WAS USED AS THE “MEANS” TO INDUCE

THE INVOLUNTARY RETIREMENTS ...........

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

III. CONGRESS DID NOT INTEND TO CREATE

A SAFE HARBOR FOR UNLAWFUL EM-

PLOYER CONDUCT THROUGH A CONJUNC-

TION OF BROAD ERISA PREEMPTION AND

NARROW ERISA STANDING .....................---..-

SRR RN eck an Pee LANE ACA TE DOR TN Te

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the Colorado Court of Appeals (Hou-

I I Te ND ia ocinctnccincienscendonmasaquarmaaiond

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Tenth Circuit (Raymond) (January 20, 1993) ..

APPENDIX C

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fifth Circuit (Christopher) (January 24,

CET RINE SoC Re MIO Ae Lae ic TN NATE OD

APPENDIX D

Order of the Court of Appeals, State of Colorado

Denying Petition For Rehearing (Houdek) (Feb-

SUR Tis THN eciccasckteceenteches eae aietche leet.

APPENDIX E

Order of the Colorado Supreme Court Denying

Certiorari (Houdek) (August 29, 1994) _............

APPENDIX F

Order of the Colorado Supreme Court Denying

Petition For Rehearing (Houdek) (September 16,

NOE): gcse ak seabed ae

Page

17

18

la

17a

40a

65a

66a

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page

Berger v. Security Pacific Information Systems,

Inc., 795 P.2d 13880 (Colo. App. 1990) ................. 9

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 107 S.Ct.

, RT Bs! BO 5 nena 12, 17

Christopher v. Mobil Ow Corp., 950 F.2d 1209 (5th

Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. ——, 118 S.Ct. 68,

RE I FD cinssitsicsctniensoteennecticesnntitnmnsi 2, 3, 5, 6, 7

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 149 F.R.D. 539

ee CE I « dlicnisitisctincovainuanincinssbtinaniirniesivianiians 6

Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321

I ii ses hialeicccliaastoaee sendawaress 12

Cutler v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 881 P.2d 216

i i lal a edt 10

District of Columbia v. Greater Washington Bd. of

Trade, US. ,112S.Ct. 580, 121 L.Ed.2d

een 3, 5, 15

Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

101, 117 S.Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed.2d 80 (1989) _......... 3

Harris v. Provident Life and Acc. Ins. Co., 26 F.3d

, EF FR | | Rane eas ane eeene 13

Hawaiian Airlines, Inc. v. Finazzo, U.S. —,

114 S.Ct. 2239, 129 L.Ed.2d 203 (1994) ............. 8

HeathAmerica v. Menton, 551 So.2d 235 (Ala.

1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1093, 110 S.Ct. 1166,

Sb 8 Bk. _, ea eee ene ene 10

Houdek v. Mobil Oil Corp., 879 P.2d 417 (Colo.

I i 4,6, 10, 11, 12, 15

Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 113, 111

S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 356 (1990) ............ 3, 4, 15, 16, 17

Ingram v. American Chambers Ins. Co., 643 So.2d

BS ONG. |. Saree ee 10

Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941 (7th Cir. 1989) -........ 12

Madonia v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Virginia,

11 F.3d 444 (4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied,

U.S. ——, 114 S.Ct. 1401, 128 L.Ed.2d 74

NRO SARASOTA Re 13

Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 468 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 898, 111 S.Ct. 252,

oe ae Bee 42080) .................................. 2

Mullins v. Pfizer, Inc., 23 F.8d 663 (2nd Cir.

1994) 8

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Pace v. Signal Technology Corp., 628 N.E.2d 20

i | PE Leth 2.0 ok Ee a a ee 10

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 107

S.Ct. 1549, 95 L.Ed.2d 89 (1987) ......................... 12

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., 983 F.2d 1528 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——, 114 S.Ct.

i, PS FG Be ere passim

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., 7 F.3d 184 (10th Cir.

1993), cert. denied, sub nom. Morrison v. Mo-

bil Oil Corporation, —— U.S. ——, 114 S.Ct.

ROTO, TT Rice Ge COED <cecectenpercrceneesceteeees 5

Sanson v. General Motors Corp., 966 F.2d 618

(11th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——,

113 S.Ct. 1578, 1238 L.Ed.2d 146 (1998) ............. 9,10

Shaw v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct.

y Bem t F Fs: eee 4

Travelers Ins. Co. v. Cuomo, 14 F.3d 708 (2nd Cir.

1993), cert. granted, United States Supreme

Court, Nos. 93-1408, 93-1414 and 93-1415 (Oc-

BD RRR et ie 4,15

Vartanian v. Monsanto Co., 14 F.8d 697 (ist Cir.

MOTE <cessnsesiricitieamuniaincasesnciskaconbideamiacaneaten inne inet aes 8

CONSTITUTION, STATUTES AND OTHER

AUTHORITIES:

i TIS Ee ce career ee

SE IEIED sccmnvvsinicndinnvnauanedionnaipaininaieivat

CTI TIIIIITsissnscscovnscccnsidnsteciaghasibenitenepeuaibaandagaalaidiaialiton

os ) ans ee

8 A ar AR ST eS

| ek Sh Ares manne ‘“

ee ECE coe ressorspssnsnasoenssieaiienapempionioteetanneiian

PIII TD senteinsinsnsisisinbasicnineinctiinesdgancaitccanaaea laleinean

ERISA § 502 ...............

ERISA § 510.

ERISA § 514 (a)

A

_

A

_

NONNNONN OTD

Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary

8 REPRINT ,

_

oo

In THE

Supreme Curt of the Wuited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94———

HAROLD A. HOUDEK, et al.,

¥ Petitioners,

MosBIL OIL CORPORATION,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Colorado Court of Appeals

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, plaintiffs below, petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari to review the judgment of the Colorado Court of

Appeals.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Colorado Court of Appeals is re-

ported at 879 P.2d 417, cert. denied (1994) and is

reprinted in the Appendix hereto at 1la-16a.

RELATED CASES

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., 983 F.2d 1528 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. ——, 114 S.Ct. 81, 126

L.Ed.2d 49 (1993) (reprinted in the Appendix hereto

at 17a-39a).

2

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209 (Sth

Cir.), cert. denied, Us , 113 S.Ct. 68, 121

L.Ed.2d 35 (1992) (reprinted in the Appendix hereto

at 40a-64a).

Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463 (10th Cir.),

cert. denied, 498 U.S. 898, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d

210 (1990).

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Colorado Court of Appeals in this

case was entered on January 13, 1994. A petition for

rehearing in the Colorado Court of Appeals was denied

on February 10, 1994. (See Appendix D at 65a.) A

timely petition for a writ of certiorari to the Colorado

Supreme Court to review the opinion of the Colorado

Court of Appeals was denied on August 29, 1994, over

a dissent. (See Appendix E at 66a.) Pursuant to Colo-

rado Appellate Rules 40 and 54(b) governing discretion-

ary rehearing, petitioners timely filed a petition for rehear-

ing with the Colorado Supreme Court, urging reconsidera-

tion of its denial of a writ of certiorari. The Colorado

Supreme Court allowed the petition, and “[u]pon consid-

eration” and “being sufficiently advised in the premises”

thereof, denied the petition for rehearing on September 16,

1994. See Order of Court, Colorado Supreme Court

(Appendix F at 68a). This petition is filed within 90

days of the Colorado Supreme Court’s order of denial of

rehearing. This Court has jurisdiction by virtue of 28

U.S.C. § 1257.

STATUTES INVOLVED

This petition involves the preemptive scope of Section

514(a) of the Employee Retirement Income Security Act

(ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §1144(a). Section 514(a) of

ERISA supersedes “any and all State laws insofar as they

may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit plan.

. .” (emphasis added). Other relevant sections of

ERISA includes Sections 3(7), 502, and 510, 29 U.S.C.

§§ 1002(7), 1132 and 1140, respectively.

Cag NOE i AC 9 x 8

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case presents the question of whether ERISA pre-

empts petitioners’ common law claims against respondent

Mobil Oil Corporation (Mobil) for alleged fraudulent in-

ducement to take “early retirement,” when the Tenth Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals previously held on the same facts

that petitioners, members of the plaintiff class certified in

the federal action, lack standing to bring any ERISA

claims because:

(a) they are no longer “participants” in the pension

plan within the meaning of ERISA, having taken

the “full extent” of their vested pension benefits in

a lump sum upon their early retirements; and thus

(b) their claims “do not seek ‘vested benefits improp-

erly withheld.’ ”

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., 983 F.2d 1528, 1532-37,

cert. denied, US. , 114 S.Ct. 81, 126 L.Ed.2d

49 (1993) (Appendix at 24a-33a). According to the

Tenth Circuit, when (a) and (b) above are found, the

“existence of fraud is irrelevant” to the issue of standing

under ERISA. Raymond, 983 F.2d at 1536 (Appendix

at 32a).

While acknowledging that ERISA preemption was not

an issue in the petitioners’ federal action, the Tenth Cir-

cuit in Raymond construed this Court’s ERISA preemp-

tion holdings in District of Columbia v. Greater Washing-

ton Bd. of Trade, US. , 113 S.Ct. 580, 121

L.Ed.2d 513 (1992), and Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon,

498 U.S. 113, 111 S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 356 (1990):

Thus, this is not a case where the state law “spe-

cifically refers’ to an ERISA plan, as in Greater

1The Tenth Circuit’s ruling was based on a construction of this

Court’s analysis of “participant” status under ERISA in Firestone

Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 117 S.Ct. 948, 958, 103

L.Ed.2d 80 (1989). But see and compare, Christopher v. Mobil Oil

Corp., 950 F.2d 1209, 1220 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——,

113 S.Ct. 68, 121 L.Ed.2d 85 (1992) (Appendix at 40a, 58a).

Washington Bd. of Trade, USS. at , Tas

S.Ct. at 585, nor even where the preempted claim

is “premised on” the existence of an ERISA plan, as

in Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 140, 111 S.Ct. at

483. The state law claim in Jngersoll-Rand was a

common law claim for wrongful discharge based

upon the employer’s desire to prevent the employee

from vesting in his benefit plan. There is no such

claim here. Rather, plaintiffs here simply allege a

wrongful discharge, achieved through fraud. The

fact that an ERISA plan was merely part of the

means by which Mobil allegedly fraudulently pro-

cured plaintiffs’ dismissal does not necessarily compel

the conclusion under Ingersoll-Rand that the state

law claim is “premised on” the existence of an

ERISA-covered plan.

Raymond, 983 F.2d at 1539 n.14 (Appendix at 38a,

n.14). The Tenth Circuit’s “footnote 14” was to cited

cases which represent the notorious “gap in remedies”

supposedly created by ERISA preemption. 7d. at 1538

(Appendix at 35a-36a). Although dicta, footnote 14 was

offered to the state courts in this case as a principled

theory to avoid the “gap in remedies” in wrongful dis-

charge cases and to draw some limits of ERISA preemp-

tion in cases which assert neither claims for ERISA bene-

fits nor claims for retaliation for exercising a plan right.

Rather than applying the Tenth Circuit’s more acute

analysis of ERISA preemption, however, the Colorado

appellate court opted to embrace the more diffuse and “less

Stringent test [which] requires only that the state law

claim have a connection with an ERISA plan.” Houdek,

879 P.2d at 422 (Appendix at 8a) (emphasis added)

(citing Travelers Ins. Co. v. Cuomo, 14 F.3d 708, 718

(2nd Cir. 1993), cert. granted, United States Supreme

Court, Nos. 93-1408, 93-1414 and 93-1415 (Order, Octo-

ber 11, 1994).?

2The “connection with” test for ERISA preemption developed

from Shaw v. Delta Airlines, Inc., 468 U.S. 85, 97, 103 S.Ct. 2890,

FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

Petitioners, named plaintiffs below, are members of the

plaintiff class certified in Raymond, who originally asserted

in Raymond both state law and ERISA claims seeking

redress for the same alleged fraudulent transaction. The

particulars as to how Mobil used information about pro-

posed amendments to petitioners’ ERISA pension plan as

the “means” to effect their involuntary retirements are

succinctly presented by the Raymond court, 983 F.2d at

1529-32 (Appendix at 18a-24a).

After their state-law claims in Raymond were dismissed

without prejudice for lack of pendent jurisdiction (before

28 U.S.C. § 1367 became effective), plaintiffs reasserted

six common law tort claims against Mobil in the District

Court for the City and County of Denver. The crux of

the claims is that Mobil fraudulently induced petitioners

to take early retirement—to quit their jobs—on average,

seven years before normal retirement age. Petitioners

allege that Mobil misrepresented and concealed informa-

tion about proposed amendments to their pension plan

which confronted petitioners with a Hobson’s choice:

either retire now and take all of your vested pension

benefits in one lump sum, or, remain employed but risk

failing to meet new and more stringent eligibility require-

ments to qualify for the lump sum option.*

Because Mobil allegedly used information about plan

amendments as the “means” to induce petitioners to quit

77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983), and was reiterated in both Ingersoll-Rand,

498 U.S. at 139, and Greater Wash. Bd. of Trade, —— USS. ’

113 S.Ct. at 583, 121 L.Ed.2d at 520. See and compare, Raymond,

983 F.2d at 1538 n.14 (Appendix at 36a) (citing and construing

the “connection with” test); with Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1220

(Appendix at 58a) (applying a “connection to” standard).

3 The federal complaint also asserted (unsuccessfully) violations

of the Age Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA). See

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corporation, 7 F.3d 184 (10th Cir. 1993),

cert. denied, sub nom. Morrison v. Mobil Oil Corporation, ——

U.S. ——, 114 S.Ct. 1070, 127 L.Ed.2d 388 (1994).

6

their jobs, the state law complaint is “replete” with refer-

ences to the plan and ERISA. See Houdek, 879 P.2d

at 419 (Appendix at 2a). Those references also related

to a claim for civil conspiracy between Mobil and the

Mobil Retirement Plan, which petitioners conceded below

might well be preempted. However, any judgment upon the

other claims would be against Mobil, not the Retirement

Plan, and would not implicate any conduct of the Plan.

Because Mobil’s alleged motive was to reduce its work-

force, by wrongful means, and since petitioners took the

full extent of their vested pension benefits upon their early

departures, there is no allegation in the complaint that

Mobil had a pension-defeating or retaliatory motive for its

conduct.

This case was stayed by the Colorado state court while

litigation proceeded in Raymond and in a Texas case

brought by “opt-outs” from the Raymond class. The

Texas case was Christopher. In Christopher, both the

state law claims and the ERISA claims on the same

alleged fraudulent transaction were considered by the

federal courts. While the Fifth Circuit held the state law

claims preempted because the “underlying conduct at

issue here cannot be divorced from its connection to the

employee benefit plan,” 950 F.2d at 1220 (Appendix

at 58a), the Fifth Circuit also determined that the

plaintiffs could establish standing under ERISA if they

proved Mobil’s misconduct, because an employer “should

not be able through its own malfeasance to defeat the

employee’s standing.” 950 F.2d at 1221 (Appendix at

60a).*

Before Christopher, the jurisprudence of ERISA stand-

ing and ERISA preemption was uncertain. Petitioners

recognized that the federal court in Raymond might follow

4 After remand and rulings on several issues (see Christopher,

149 F.R.D. 539 and 149 F.R.D. 549 (E.D. Tex. 1993), Mobil settled

with the plaintiffs in the Fifth Circuit litigation.

~ on eel

Preeti O 0 y a

7

the Fifth Circuit’s decision on ERISA standing in Christo-

pher, thus giving petitioners an ERISA cause of action.

That would necessarily mean their state law claims would

be preempted by implied or direct conflict preemption

under ERISA.

Mobil, however, argued to the federal district court in

Raymond that it should not follow the Fifth Circuit’s

reasoning on ERISA standing in Christopher. At the same

time, Mobil argued to the state district court in this case

that it should follow Christopher on ERISA preemption.

The district court in Raymond followed Christopher on

ERISA standing but certified the ruling for interlocutory

review by the Tenth Circuit under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b).

Before the appeal was briefed in the Tenth Circuit, how-

ever, the state district court in this case, citing Christopher,

granted Mobil’s motion to dismiss the state law claims on

grounds of ERISA preemption. The Tenth Circuit sub-

sequently declined to follow Christopher on ERISA stand-

ing and reversed the federal district court.

As noted, however, the Tenth Circuit also offered its

studied analysis in footnote 14 of ERISA preemption.

The Colorado Court of Appeals rejected both the Tenth

Circuit’s conclusion that the petitioners’ state law claims

“simply allege a wrongful discharge, achieved through

fraud,” and its observation that when an ERISA plan

is “merely part of the means” by which an employer

fraudulently procures an employee’s discharge, the con-

sequent state law claims do not have a “connection with”

the ERISA plan nor are they “premised on” the plan.

The Colorado Supreme Court denied a petition for a

writ of certiorari, with a dissent.°

5 See Order Of Court, Supreme Court, State of Colorado, Houdek

v. Mobil Oil Corp., No. 94SC149 (August 29, 1994) (Muilarkey,

J., dissenting, would grant on the following issue: ‘Whether the

court of appeals erred in holding that plaintiffs state law claim

alleging fraudulent inducement to quit employment is preempted

8

Petitioners realize that review in this case might result

in the Court’s determination that Raymond, and not this

case, was wrongly decided. The Court might conclude

that petitioners do have standing under ERISA and there-

fore the state-law claims in this case are directly pre-

empted.®° Thus, as members of the plaintiff class in Ray-

mond, petitioners respectfully inform the Court that they

are prepared to file a motion for leave to request rehear-

ing of this Court’s order denying the writ of certiorari to

review Raymond.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Petitioners have been denied their day in court, in any

court—state or federal. All legal avenues to redress their

alleged wrongful discharges have been closed without

consideration of the merits. Assuming Congress intended

to enumerate carefully the remedies available under

ERISA, Congress by so doing did not intend to eliminate

state law actions for fraud by aggrieved employees seek-

ing damages from their former employer for wrongful

termination. For such plaintiffs, ERISA does not “create

a federal cause of action for wrongful discharge.” Ray-

mond, 983 F.2d at 1539 (Appendix at 38a). Neither

should ERISA be construed to abolish their state cause

of action for wrongful discharge. See and compare, Ha-

waiian Airlines, Inc. v. Finazzo, US. , 114

S.Ct. 2239, 2246, 129 L.Ed.2d 203 (1994) (federal

Railway Labor Act does not preempt employee’s claim

for wrongful discharge when “the ‘only source’ of the

right [plaintiff] asserts in this action is state tort law’).

by ERISA when the same plaintiffs lack standing to sue under

ERISA and when their state law claim does not relate to an ERISA

benefit plan.”) (Appendix at 66a).

6 See Vartanian v. Monsanto Co., 14 F.3d 697, 702-03 and n.4

(Ist Cir. 1994) (expressly rejecting Raymond); Mullins v. Pfizer,

Inc., 23 F.3d 663, 667-68 (2nd Cir. 1994) (expressly rejecting

Raymond).

11 A nk a TA Dm aol a

9

Between implied or direct conflict preemption of state

law claims—because a plaintiff is entitled to bring an

action under ERISA on the same facts—and express pre-

emption of state law claims—because they “relate to”

benefit plans—Congress did not intend to grant employers

immunity from state law actions for wrongful discharge

in which there are no allegations of pension-defeating or

retaliatory motives. Congress did not intend to ensure

the formation of benefit plans and the uniformity of bene-

fit law at the expense of the states’ common law at-will

employment doctrines and the various exceptions thereto.

See e.g., Berger v. Security Pacific Information Systems,

Inc., 795 P.2d 1380, 1383-84 (Colo. App. 1990) (“em-

ployer’s right to terminate an at-will employee without

cause does not protect the employer from liability for

fraud” in an inducement impacting the employment rela-

tionship). The balance of interests struck by ERISA did

not include the legitimation of tortious deception by

employers.

Here, however, the Colorado Court of Appeals in effect

has ruled that employers can dupe their employees out

ot their jobs simply by using an employee’s ERISA plan

as the efficient means to procure the “retirement.” The

employer can claim preemption to defeat the ensuing

common law wrongful discharge claims and, under Ray-

mond, avoid all possible claims under ERISA.

This is not an isolated scenario. In addition to states

within the Tenth Circuit, all states within the Eleventh

Circuit are now potential safe harbors for employer fraud.

See Sanson v. General Motors Corp., 966 F.2d 618, 623

(11th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, US. ——, 113

S.Ct. 1578, 123 L.Ed.2d 146 (1993) (ERISA pre-

emption of fraud claims and no ERISA standing) (Birch,

J., dissenting) (“An employer in this circuit can now

hoodwink a long time employee and leave him stranded

without any recourse whatsoever.”). Sanson was cited

by the court below for the proposition that “the unavail-

10

ability of an ERISA cause of action does not necessitate

the creation of a federal common law fraud claim in order

to provide the plaintiff with a remedy.” Houdek, 879

P.2d at 420 (Appendix at 4a-5a).”

This is the so-called “gap in remedies,” which courts

have created by narrowly construing ERISA’s civil en-

forcement provisions while expansively construing ERISA’s

“relate[s] to” preemption. And the phenomenon is

spreading. See, e.g., Cutler v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

881 P.2d 216, 225 (Wash. 1994); but see Menton, 551

So.2d at 238; see also, n.7, supra; see Pace v. Signal

Technology Corp., 628 N.E.2d 20, (Mass. 1994)

(“That a statute [ERISA] whose clear purpose was to

benefit employees has become widely used as a shield to

protect employers [from redress] for any deceptive and

wrongful acts they may have committed against their

employees is an irony we find unacceptable as a governing

principle of law.”) (no ERISA preemption of state law

fraud claims against former employer who misrepresented

plan benefits). Pace cannot be squared with the Colo-

rado court’s opinion here.

The opinion below also demonstrates how ERISA pre-

emption is inexorably federalizing all employment law.

Some state courts, in the absence of this Court’s guidance,

will foreseeably restrict the traditional avenues of redress

for torts in the employment context, by increasing appli-

7™To its credit, Alabama, a constituent state of the Fourth Cir-

cuit, is resisting the Sanson court’s construction of ERISA. See

HeathAmerica v. Menton, 551 So.2d 235, 238 (Ala. 1989), cert.

denied, 493 U.S. 1093, 110 S.Ct. 1166, 107 L.Ed.2d 1069 (1990)

(“We hold that a claim for fraud in the inducement [to drop one

and enroll in another ERISA benefit plan] does not ‘relate to’ an

employee benefit plan and is therefore not preempted by ERISA.”) ;

confirmed, Ingram v. American Chambers Ins. Co., 643 So.2d 575,

577-78 (Ala. 1994) (noting that “the Third, Fourth, Fifth, Sixth,

Ninth, Tenth, and Eleventh Circuits . .. do not agree about

whether ERISA preempts a state law claim of fraud in the induce-

ment”) (collecting cases).

De AAA RENT a cre ANS 8 BA te et eB Sh thal Pm we

11

cation of federal preemption doctrine that lacks principled

limitation. Review here would be the Court’s opportunity

to reverse this unintended displacement of state common

law.

I. THE COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS ERRED

IN HOLDING THAT COMMON LAW CLAIMS FOR

ALLEGED TORTIOUS DISCHARGE ARE PRE-

EMPTED BY ERISA EVEN WHEN PLAINTIFFS

LACK STANDING TO BRING ERISA CLAIMS FOR

THE SAME ALLEGED MISCONDUCT.

The Colorado Court of Appeals missed the significance

of the Tenth Circuit’s standing analysis between invoca-

tions of the “gap in remedies” doctrine:

Plaintiffs first argue that because the federal court

has determined that they do not have a viable claim

for relief under ERISA, their state law claims cannot

be preempted. The United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit found that the definition of a

participant entitled to bring a cause of action under

ERISA excludes former employees, such as plaintiffs

here, who have received the full extent of their bene-

fits in a lump sum payment and who do not have

either a colorable claim to further benefits or a rea-

sonable expectation of returning to employment cov-

ered by the retirement plan. We do not agree that

the existence of a viable ERISA claim is a prerequi-

site to preemption.

Houdek, 879 P.2d at 420 (Appendix at 4a) (citations

omitted). The first sentence attributes to petitioners an

argument they did not make. The third sentence is there-

fore beside the point. The second sentence is the point:

plaintiffs had no standing to bring any claims under

ERISA because the wrong they allege is a discharge that

itself defeats their standing under ERISA (at least in the

Tenth Circuit). Why should the discharge be immunized

by ERISA from any claims under state law when it

was achieved by misconduct with no attendant pension-

defeating or retaliatory motives?

12

This Court’s decision in Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,

481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987),

is the first case invoked by the court below, 879 P.2d at

420 (Appendix at 4a), but Pilot Life does not support

the preemption of petitioners’ state law claims in this

case. In Pilot Life, the plaintiff was a current beneficiary

who brought common law claims “asserting improper

processing of a claim for benefits under an insured em-

ployee benefit plan.” 481 U.S. at 43. The plaintiff sought

not only recovery of benefits, but also damages for emo-

tional distress and punitive damages. This Court, while

holding that claims for such damages were preempted by

ERISA, also noted that ERISA claims were available to

the plaintiff. 7d. at 44. Unlike the petitioners here, who

lack ERISA standing and who are not seeking benefits,

the plaintiff in Pilot Life had standing under ERISA to

recover lost benefits, and the fact that ERISA does not

provide a remedy for infliction of emotional distress or

allow punitive damages for improper processing of bene-

fits, was irrelevant to the preemption of those “extra”

claims.*

8 See Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386, 391 n.4, 107 S.Ct.

2425, 96 L.Ed.2d 318 (1987) (‘ ‘The nature of the relief available

after jurisdiction attaches is, of course, different from whether

there is jurisdiction to adjudicate the controversy.’ ’’).

The court below also relied on Corcoran v. United Healthcare,

Inc., 965 F.2d 1321 (5th Cir. 1992). There, defendants removed

the action from state court. The Fifth Circuit found that because

the alleged misconduct by defendant plan administrator “involv[ed]

benefit determinations,” id. at 1332, state law claims for that mis-

conduct were preempted. Standing was not an issue. The “gap

in remedies” noted by the Fifth Circuit should not occur in cases

where alleged misconduct by a defendant employer is limited to

wrongful discharge and does not require a determination of bene-

fits. Similarly, in Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941 (7th Cir. 1989),

also cited by the court below, the plaintiff originally sued in state

court, seeking state law remedies for an alleged improper calcula-

tion of benefits. Again, standing was not an issue. The state

claims were found to be preempted by ERISA upon defendant’s

13

Here, in contrast, petitioners seek to recover damages

from their former employer for fraudulently inducing

them to quit their jobs. ERISA is not a “federal job pro-

tection scheme.” Raymond, 983 F.2d at 1539 (Appendix

at 38a), and because petitioners have received the full

extent of their plan benefits and do not have a colorable

claim for further benefits, their consequent lack of stand-

ing under ERISA is highly significant to the preemption

question. Where, as here, plaintiffs lack standing to sue

under ERISA because the defendant’s conduct is entirely

outside ERISA (i.e., is not sufficiently “related to” the

plan), thoughtlessly extending the “gap in remedies” by

preempting state law claims serves none of the purposes

of preemption. There is no legitimate and certainly no

congressionally intended purpose served by the “gap”

in this context.

The Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals recognized the

significance of lack of standing to preemption. In Madonia

v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield of Virginia, 11 F.3d 444,

446 (4th Cir. 1993), cert. denied, US. , 114

S.Ct. 1401, 128 L.Ed.2d 74 (1994), the court held

that in order for state law claims to be preempted, a plain-

tiff “must have standing to sue” under ERISA. The court

below cited Madonia, but inexplicably ignored the Fourth

Circuit’s test for preemption in the “no standing” con-

text. See also, Harris v. Provident Life and Acc. Ins. Co.,

26 F.3d 930, 934 (9th Cir. 1994) (“It would be con-

tradictory to rule that state law claims are preempted

where the court has already held that the same plaintiffs

may not assert a claim under ERISA because they are

not ‘participants’ in the ERISA plan.”).

While Raymond acknowledges that a “gap in remedies”

could occur in some circumstances, it took great pains to

explain why no “gap” should occur here. The court

below simply did not appreciate the significance of the

removal to federal court. The reason that plaintiff there was left

without a remedy was that “no federal cause of action explicitly

appear[ed] on the face of his complaint.” Id. at 944.

14

explanation: standing to bring any ERISA claim for a

wrongful discharge and ERISA preemption of all common

law claims for the same discharge are mutually exclusive

determinations. Either the discharge and the plaintiff's

means to remedy it are within ERISA, or they are beyond

ERISA’s preemptive reach. The “gap in remedies” may

be a “necessary evil” in some cases, but that does not

justify a gap in cases where it is not necessary. This

Court should decide whether the relation between ERISA

standing and ERISA preemption deserves a more princi-

pled treatment than it received by the court below.

II. THE COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN

HOLDING THAT STATE LAW CLAIMS FOR AL-

LEGED FRAUDULENT INDUCEMENT TO RE-

TIRE EARLY “RELATE TO” THE ERISA PLAN,

AND ARE THUS PREEMPTED, WHEN THE SOLE

“CONNECTION” BETWEEN THE STATE CLAIMS

AND THE PLAN IS THAT INFORMATION ABOUT

PROPOSED PLAN AMENDMENTS WAS USED AS

THE “MEANS” TO INDUCE THE INVOLUNTARY

RETIREMENTS.

Colorado’s common law of fraud does not purport to

regulate the terms and conditions of ERISA benefit plans.

It does not refer to plans or plan benefits. The common

law of fraud predated ERISA and obviously is not prem-

ised on the existence of ERISA plans. By the state law

fraud claims brought below, petitioners seek relief for

wrongful discharge. Petitioners do not seek pension ben-

efits withheld, nor do they allege that plan benefits were

erroneously calculated, nor that the plan amendments

were improper under ERISA. Contrary to the holdings

below, the only command which would have been im-

posed on Mobil by the operation of the common law here

would be to not use information about pension plans to

deceive employees into quitting their jobs. Such a com-

mand leaves undisturbed the full operation of all the

statutory policies and regulatory purposes of ERISA and

does not, contrary to the lower court’s decision here,

implicate any disclosure requirements under ERISA.

1 Mabe dae satee et ctaet SD Sa iti

15

Petitioners contend that apart from the link between

standing and preemption, when an employer uses com-

munications to its employees about pending plan amend-

ments to induce them to quit their jobs, taking their

vested pension benefits in a lump sum, the state law claim

consequent upon discovery of the alleged misconduct

cannot “relate to” the benefit plan within the meaning of

ERISA. When information about an ERISA plan is used

as the “means” to effectuate an injury to which ERISA is

not addressed, the “connection with” the plan is neither

the kind nor the degree of connection which warrants

preemption. That is, the state law claims have at most “a

‘tenuous, remote, or peripheral’ conection” with the plan.

Raymond, 983 F.2d at 1538 n.14 (Appendix at 37a-38a

n.14) (citing Greater Washington Bd. of Trade,

USS. n.l, 113 S.Ct. at 583 n.1).

The court below, citing Ingersoll-Rand and Travelers

Insurance Co. v. Cuomo, 14 F.3d 708 (2d Cir. 1993),

in the same breath, construed both cases to stand for “a

less stringent test” for state courts exercising “even com-

mon law powers of general application.” Houdek, 879

P.2d at 422 (Appendix at 7a-8a). That test, of course,

is none other than the “connection with” standard, which

alone offers no greater direction to the courts than the

original “relate[s] to” language of the statute. Petitioners

urge that it is the “quality” of the connection which should

be considered. When the sole “connection” is that plan

information was used only as the means to cause a harm

not cognized by ERISA, then the requisite quality of the

connection warranting preemption is missing.

In applying its “less stringent” version of the “connec-

tion with” standard, the court below distorted the analysis

of preemption in Ingersoll-Rand itself. There, in Part

II A, this Court had no difficulty in concluding that “a

claim that the employer wrongfully terminated plaintiff

primarily because of the employer’s desire to avoid con-

tributing to, or paying benefits under, the employee’s pen-

16

sion fund” “relate[s] to” the pension plan and is there-

fore preempted. Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 140. Thus,

the sine qua non of express preemption of the wrongful

discharge claim was the employer’s motive to prevent

pension benefits from vesting and/or to cease contributing

to the pension plan. Plaintiff had to plead that “an ERISA

plan exists and the employer had a _pension-defeating

motive.” Jd. (emphasis added).

The teaching of Ingersoll-Rand is that it is the em-

ployer’s pension-defeating motives which “connect” the

ensuing discharge claim with the plan. It is not the choice

of “means” used by the employer to effect the discharge

nor the remedies sought by the discharged employee which

determines the “connection” to the plan. This is con-

firmed by the analysis of implied or direct conflict pre-

emption in Part II B of Ingersoll-Rand. The Court there

held that the plaintiff's claim was also preempted because

“it conflicts directly with an ERISA cause of action.” 498

U.S. at 142. That is, the plaintiff's claim fell “squarely

within the ambit of ERISA § 510” [29 U.S.C. § 1140],

which among other things prohibits an employer from

discharging an employee/participant “ ‘for the purposes of

interfering with the attainment of any right to which the

participant may become entitled under the plan.’” Jd.

That is not this case at all.

This Court concluded Ingersoll-Rand by holding that

“it is no answer to a pre-emption argument that a

particular plaintiff is not seeking recovery of pension

benefits.” Jd. at 145. It is no answer to a “direct con-

flict” preemption argument. That is, if a state law claim

is bottomed on the fact that the employer interfered with

the attainment of a right under the plan—e.g., preventing

pension benefits from vesting—then it makes no difference

whether the discharged employee elects to recover pension

benefits. The claim is preempted, regardless of the reme-

dies sought, because the employee has a direct cause of

action under ERISA. Thus, on a claim for wrongful dis-

17

charge, the fact that the plaintiff does not seek to recover

benefits is irrelevant to the operation of “direct conflict”

preemption. However, on a claim for wrongful discharge

where the plaintiff does not seek benefits and makes no

allegations of pension-defeating motives on the part of the

employer, there is no basis or reason for “relate[s] to”

preemption.°

Here, petitioners neither seek benefits nor allege that

Mobil had any pension-defeating motives. Those facts

were found by the Tenth Circuit in its determination that

petitioners lack standing under ERISA. Thus, petitioners’

claims for fraudulent discharge do not “relate to” the

pension plan under the principles established by Ingersoll-

Rand in cases of wrongful discharge. The court below,

however, obscured the rationales of /ngersoll-Rand with

an easy “connection with” treatment of petitioners’ case

that left them without any legal recourse whatsoever.

This case is not, then, just another example of the neces-

sary “gap in remedies” under ERISA. Rather, according

to the court below, it is an example of a gap with no

purpose or rationale. It is a gap which this Court should

close.

III. CONGRESS DID NOT INTEND TO CREATE A

SAFE HARBOR FOR UNLAWFUL EMPLOYER

CONDUCT THROUGH A CONJUNCTION OF

BROAD ERISA PREEMPTION AND NARROW

ERISA STANDING.

“The question of whether a certain state action is

preempted by federal law is one of congressional intent.

The purpose of Congress is the ultimate touchstone.”

Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 137-38 (internal quotations

omitted). These precepts have been reiterated by this

® Compare Caterpillar, 482 U.S. at 396 n.10 (1987) (no federal

preemption under the Labor Management Relations Act, for ex-

ample, of “a state battery suit growing out of a violent strike...

simply because the strike may have been a violation of an employer-

union contract”).

18

Court and other courts. Those precepts are conspicuous

by their absence in the court’s opinion below. A touch-

stone is a “test or criterion for determining the quality or

genuineness of a thing.” Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate

Dictionary (1991). If the intent of Congress is the “ulti-

mate touchstone,” then it is the “last test” for determin-

ing the propriety of preemption.

Petitioners contend that the “last test” should not be

given mere lip service at the beginning of a preemption

analysis, but should be applied, as its name suggests, at

the end of the analysis. Upon reaching a tentative result

in a preemption case, here the preemption of petitioners’

state law claims for fraudulent discharge, the court should

measure that result against the intent of Congress. More

importantly, this Court should measure the real conse-

quence of the court’s holding below. Petitioners respect-

fully submit that no reasoning, even that which begins

with the text of the statute, can square this total denial

of legal process with the intent of Congress.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Court should grant this Petition

for a Writ of Certiorari.

Respectfully submitted,

RODNEY R. PATULA

(Counsel of Record)

THOMAS L. ROBERTS

RICARDO M. BARRERA

PRYOR, CARNEY & JOHNSON, P.C.

6200 S. Syracuse Way, Suite 400

Englewood, Colorado 80111

(303) 771-6200

December 13, 1994 Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

COLORADO COURT OF APPEALS

DIV. V

Nos. 92CA1395, 93CA0062

HAROLD A. HOUDEK, FREDERIC J. RAYMOND, J.A. MorRRI-

SON, GEORGE H. LIVERIS, ROBERT A. IRWIN, CECIL J.

ALLMON, JosE AUGUSTO, JR., R.S. BANNER, JR., A.D.

BOND, CLEMONT H. Bruce, HARVEY A. CARSON, JR.,

BILLY JACK DUNN, VIRGINIA HOWARD, SYLVESTER J.

JAYE, T.L. MARTIN, IRA S. REAvis, E. SHEPARD, HER-

MAN B. THOMASON, MARION LEON THOMPSON, BILLY

RHEA SARGENT, and CLARENCE E. WHITE, for them-

selves and on behalf of others similarly situated,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

V.

Mosit O1L CORPORATION, a New York Corporation, the

RETIREMENT PLAN OF MosiL OIL CoRPoRATION, itself

and by the Trustees thereof, and one or more JOHN

and/or JANE Dogs and/or DoE ENTITIES,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Jan. 13, 1994

Rehearing Denied Feb. 10, 1994

Certiorari Denied Aug. 29, 1994

Opinion by Judge DAVIDSON.

In this action to recover damages for common law

fraud, negligent misrepresentation, civil conspiracy, and

2a

interference with contract, plaintiffs, Harold A. Houdek,

Frederic J. Raymond, J.A. Morrison, George H. Liveris,

Robert A. Irwin, Cecil J. Allmon, Jose Augusto, Jr., R.S.

Banner, Jr., A.D. Bond, Clemont H. Bruce, Harvey A.

Carson, Jr., Billy Jack Dunn, Virginia Howard, Sylvester

J. Jaye, T.L. Martin, Ira S. Reavis, E. Shepard, Herman

B. Thomason, Marion Leon Thompson, Billy Rhea Sar-

~ gent, and Clarence E. White, appeal from the judgment

dismissing, pursuant to C.R.C.P. 12(b)(5), their com-

plaint against defendants, Mobil Oil Corporation (Mobil),

the Retirement Plan of Mobil Oil Corporation, and the

trustees thereof. We affirm.

Plaintiffs are former employees of defendant Mobil.

All plaintiffs were participants in a retirement plan gov-

erned by the federal Employee Retirement Income Se-

curity Act, 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001, et seq. (1988) (ERISA).

According to the complaint, which is comprised of

twenty-two pages replete with references to ERISA regu-

lations and allegations regarding the administration of

the retirement plan, beginning in 1977, Mobil made

available a retirement plan option known as the “lump

sum” under which eligible employees could elect to re-

ceive retirement account funds in a single payment rather

than in monthly annuity payments. The complaint al-

leged that, in mid-1984, Mobil announced to its employees

that the eligibility threshold for the lump sum option,

which was based upon an employee’s total net worth or

total accrued pension, would be raised and that in order

to take advantage of the lump sum option at the lower

threshold, they must retire before January 1, 1985. Plain-

tiffs are all employees who chose to retire before Janu-

ary 1, 1985, and who selected the lump sum option.

The complaint further alleges that Mobil knew before

January 1, 1985, but did not inform its employees that,

because of certain federal tax considerations, it would not

be able to implement the higher eligibility threshold with-

out also implementing a waiver provision for that thresh-

3a

old and that, because of then recent amendments to

ERISA (known as ihe Retirement Equity Act), plaintiffs

would have been entitled to the lump sum option under

the lower threshold even if they had retired after January 1,

1985. Plaintiffs aver that they would not have retired be-

fore January 1, 1985, but for Mobil’s representations that

their entitlement to the lump sum option under the lower

threshold would be foreclosed after that date and that

they could not have qualified for the lump sum option

under the higher threshold.

Plaintiffs filed suit in federal district court for the Dis-

trict of Colorado asserting claims under the federal Age

Discrimination in Employment Act (ADEA) and ERISA

as well as various state law claims. The federal court

declined to exercise pendent jurisdiction over the state

law claims and dismissed those claims without prejudice.

Plaintiffs then refiled the state law claims by way of this

action in the trial court.

Defendants moved for dismissal under C.R.C.P. 12(b)

(5) on the grounds that plaintiffs’ state law claims were

preempted by the federal ERISA legislation. The trial court

granted defendants’ motion and subsequently awarded at-

torney fees to defendants pursuant to § 13-17-201, C.R.S.

(1987 Repl. Vol.6A).

The federal district court held that plaintiffs had viable

ERISA claims. That determination was reversed on ap-

peal by the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals on the grounds

that plaintiffs were no longer participants in an ERISA

plan. The Tenth Circuit opinion did not address plaintiffs’

ADEA claims. See Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., 983

F.2d 1528 (10th Cir.1993).

I.

Plaintiffs contend that the trial court erred in determin-

ing that their state law claims were preempted by federal

ERISA legislation. We disagree.

4a

A

Plaintiffs first argue that because the federal appeals

court has determined that they do not have any claim

for relief under ERISA, their state law claims cannot be

preempted. The United States Court of Appeals for the

Tenth Circuit found that the definition of a participant

entitled to bring a cause of action under ERISA excludes

former employees, such as plaintiffs here, who have re-

ceived the full extent of their benefit in a lump sum pay-

ment and who do not have either a colorable claim to

further benefits or a reasonable expectation of returning

to employment covered by the retirement plan. Raymond

v. Mobil Oil Corp., supra; see also Mitchell v. Mobil Oil

Corp., 896 F.2d 463 (10th Cir.1990). We do not agree

that the existence of a viable ERISA claim is a prerequisite

to preempton.

According to federal and United States Supreme Court

cases interpreting the scope of ERISA preemption, state

law tort claims which conflict directly with a viable

ERISA cause of action are preempted by ERISA. See

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 111

S.Ct. 478, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990). The converse, how-

ever, that a viable ERISA claim is necessary in order for

preemption to apply, has been expressly and uniformly

rejected by the federal appellate courts. See Pilot Life

Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549,

95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987) (Congress did not intend for rem-

edies which it had rejected in ERISA to become available

under state law claims); Corcoran v. United Healthcare,

Inc., 965 F.2d 1321, 1333 (Sth Cir.1992) (“While we

are not unmindful of the fact that our interpretation of

the preemption clause leaves a gap in remedies within a

statute intended to protect participants in employee bene-

fit plans, the lack of an ERISA remedy does not affect

a preemption analysis.”); cf. Sanson v. General Motors

Corp., 966 F.2d 618 (11th Cir.1992) (the unavailability

of an ERISA cause of action does not necessitate the

MDa ARAM 0 dat Re te Pit tb BONA

Sa

creation of a federal common law fraud claim in order

to provide the plaintiff with a remedy).

Nonetheless, plaintiffs contend that under Colorado law

their claims cannot be preempted. They base this conten-

tion on the statement by this court in Pierce v. Capitol

Life Insurance Co., 806 P.2d 388, 390 (Colo.App. 1990)

that “[i]n order for a plaintiffs state law [tort] claim to

be preempted, he or she must be entitled to bring an

ERISA claim.” Plaintiffs misapprehend the significance

of this phrase.

Contrary to plaintiffs’ contentions, Pierce does not hold

that the lack of an ERISA claim prevents preemption of

state law claims. The issue before the court in Pierce

was whether the plan covering plaintiffs, the husband

and wife owners of a small business, was an employee

benefit plan covered by ERISA in the first instance pur-

suant to federal regulations, codified at 29 C.F.R.

§ 2510.3-3 (1989), which define “employee” to exclude

such husband and wife owners. The court thus con-

cluded that “the plaintiff must have been a ‘participant’

or ‘beneficiary’ of [an ERISA] plan” before ERISA is

even applicable. Pierce v. Capitol Life Insurance Co.,

supra, at 390; see Madonia v. Shield of Virginia, 11 F.3d

444 (4th Cir.1993) (29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-3 applies only to

the initial determination that an employee plan exists

and does not govern whether a person is a plan partici-

pant once the existence of an ERISA plan has been estab-

lished as it would be anomalous to allow two disparate

sets of legal obligations to pertain to persons covered by

the same ERISA plan).

Thus, the holding in Pierce is limited to situations in

which ERISA is not applicable because the plaintiffs

never participated in an ERISA covered plan. Unlike the

plaintiffs in Pierce, plaintiffs here were at one time par-

ticipants in the ERISA covered Mobil retirement plan.

Plaintiffs urge this court to adopt the reasoning of

Cutler v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 71 Wash.App. 511, 859

6a

P.2d 1251 (1993), in which the court commented in

dicta that if a party has no ERISA claims, state law

claims must be available in order to ensure a forum in

which to air grievances. We do not find that reasoning

persuasive in light of express determination by the fed-

eral appellate courts that, absent a clear directive to the

contrary from the United States Supreme Court, the

existence of an ERISA remedy is not a prerequisite for

ERISA preemption. See Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941

(7th Cir.1989); see also Pilot Life Insurance Co. v.

Dedeaux, supra; cf. Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S.

386, 107 S.Ct. 2425, 96 L.Ed.2d 318 (1987) (rejecting

the notion that a federal remedy is a prerequisite to com-

plete preemption under the federal Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947).

B.

Plaintiffs next argue that ERISA does not preempt

their state law claims because these claims do not relate

to the ERISA plan. Again, we disagree.

ERISA expressly preempts any and all state laws in-

sofar as they relate to any employee benefit plan covered

by ERISA. Fort Halifax Packing Co. v. Coyne, 482 US.

1, 107 S.Ct. 2211, 96 L.Ed.2d 1 (1987); 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a) (1988). This is so even if the state law was

not specifically designed to affect employee benefit plans.

Shaw v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct.

2890, 77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983); see also Belgard v. United

Airlines, 857 P.2d 467 (Colo.App. 1992) (The term

“relate to” as used in several federal statutes, including

ERISA, was intended to be broadly construed).

The preemptive power of ERISA is broad enough to

displace all state laws within its sphere, even those which

are consistent with ERISA’s substantive guidelines, be-

cause cven indirect state action may encroach upon the

area of exclusive federal concern. Metropolitan Life In-

surance Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 105 S.Ct.

2380, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985). Therefore, if a state

pote

Ta

law cause of action makes specific reference to, or is

premised upon, the existence of an ERISA covered plan,

it is preempted. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, supra.

Likewise, if, in order to prevail, the plaintiff has to prove

the existence of an ERISA plan and misrepresentations

by the employer as to the plaintiff’s eligibility for benefits,

state law claims are preempted. See Sanson v. General

Motors Corp., supra.

Although interpreted broadly, this preemption clause

does have recognized limits. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. Mc-

Clendon, supra. Some state actions affect employee bene-

fits plans too tenuously, remotely, or peripherally to war-

rant preemption of those actions. Shaw v. Delta Air

Lines, Inc., supra. If there is no impact, directly or in-

directly upon an ERISA plan, the state law cause of

action does not “relate to” the plan. See Cutler v. Phillips

Petroleum Co., supra.

State law claims which provide an alternative cause

of action for the collection of ERISA benefits, refer spe-

cifically and apply solely to ERISA plans, or interfere

with the calculation of ERISA benefits, have been pre-

empted. See Monarch Cement Co. v. Lone Star Indus-

tries, Inc., 982 F.2d 1448 (10th Cir.1992). Plaintiffs

correctly point out that, conversely, state laws of general

application representing traditional exercises of state

power or regulatory authority previously often have es-

caped preemption if their effect on the structure, admin-

istration, or type of benefits provided by an ERISA plan

was merely incidental. See Aetna Life Insurance Co. v.

Borges, 869 F.2d 142 (2d Cir.1989).

The United States Supreme Court, however, has re-

jected the argument that only state laws affecting plan

terms, conditions, or administration are preempted. The

Court reasoned that state courts, implementing even com-

mon law powers of general application, might develop

dissimilar standards regarding the same conduct which

would require multi-state employers to tailor retirement

8a

plans to the peculiarities of each jurisdiction. Ingersoll-

Rand Co. v. McClendon, supra. This less stringent test

requries only that the state law claim have a connection

with an ERISA plan. See Travelers Insurance Co. v.

Cuomo, 14 F.3d 708 (2d Cir.1993).

As we read Ingersoll-Rand, in order to determine if

plaintiffs’ state law claims are preempted here, we must

focus not only on the effect, or potential effect on plan

terms, conditions, or administration, but also must con-

sider whether allowing the state law claims to proceed

would be likely to result in the creation of variable stand-

ards for employer conduct. See Madonia v. Shield of

Virginia, supra (The statutory purpose of ERISA’s pre-

emption provision is to ensure similar treatment for all

claims relating to employee benefit plans).

Under the proper analysis, we must consider whether

the claim arises under a law representing a traditional

exercise of state authority, whether invoking the state law

would affect relations between the principal ERISA en-

tities involved, and whether the state law claims would

have only an incidental effect on the ERISA plan. But,

these factors are not exhaustive and no one factor is dis-

positive. See Van Camp v. AT & T Information Systems,

963 F.2d 119 (6th Cir. 1992).

Thus, on the one hand, for example, state law claims

for fraud have not been preempted if the fact that the

subject of the alleged deception is pension plan benefits

was not essential to the cause of action. See Greenblatt

v. Budd Co., 666 F.Supp. 735 (E.D.Pa.1987); Cutler

v. Phillips Petroleum Co., supra (The gravamen of the

plaintiffs’ claim was that Phillips Petroleum misrepre-

sented an agreement with successor company to maintain

plaintiffs’ salary and benefits, and therefore, the claim

did not depend upon the existence of the ERISA plan

and its effect upon the plan would be incidental).

Here, on the other hand, the existence and administra-

tion of the retirement plan do not bear merely an inci-

9a

dental relationship to the allegations forming the core of

plaintiffs’ claims for relief. In their lengthy complaint,

plaintiffs charge, inter alia, that Mobil represented that

the change in eligibility requirements for the lump sum

benefit was necessary to make the retirement plan cost

competitive and to update the eligibility threshold to ad-

just for inflation when in actuality the changes would

not make the retirement plan more cost competitive, the

changes were not necessary since the retirement plan was

already overfunded, and Mobil knew that the changes

would probably violate existing Internal Revenue Service

policy.

From these allegations, we conclude that the adjudica-

tion of plaintiffs’ claims that they were fraudulently in-

duced to take early retirement would involve examining,

at a minimum, the operation and funding of the retire-

ment plan prior to the eligibility changes, the language

of the amendments to the retirement plan, and Mobil’s

communication to plaintiffs concerning the terms of the

retirement plan amendments. We are unable to discern

how a court could determine the merits of these claims

without engaging in a close analysis of the details of the

operation of the Mobil retirement plan. See Berger v.

Edgewater Steel Co., 911 F.2d 911 (3d Cir. 1990);

Anglund v. American Telephone & Telegraph Co., 828

F.Supp. 809 (D.Colo. 1993).

In a case filed in federal district court for the Eastern

District of Texas by other Mobil employees alleging the

same facts and the same misrepresentations by Mobil

concerning the same retirement plan, the United States

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit determined that

plaintiffs’ identical state law claims were preempted in

their entirety because “the basis of the claims themselves

is the operation of the pension plan; if [the] claims were

stripped of their link to the pension plans, they would

cease to exist.” Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d

1209, 1220 (Sth Cir.1992). Thus, the court concluded,

10a

under Ingersoll-Rand, the plaintiffs claims were premised

upon an ERISA plan and were preempted. See Christo-

pher v. Mobil Oil Corp., supra.

Specifically, of particular importance to plaintiffs’ state

law claims is the timing of notice to Mobil employees of

the amendments to the retirement plan. As defendants

point out, ERISA prescribes the period in which the plan

administrator must disclose retirement plan amendments

to affected employees. See 29 C.F.R. $§ 2520.104b-1,

2520.104b-3, and 2520.104b-4 (1992). ERISA also

governs the adequacy of disclosures. See 29 C.F.R.

§ 2520.101-1, et seq. (1992); 29 US.C. § 1024(b)

(1988); see also Lee v. E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co.,

894 F.2d 755, 758 (Sth Cir.1990) (“[T]he plaintiffs’

action would impose a state-created duty on the part of

pension fund administrators to disclose plan amendments

before they are put into effect, a duty which at least one

other circuit has said ERISA specifically does not im-

pose.”).

We agree with defendants that this aspect of plain-

tiffs’ claims would have a more than incidental effect

upon the manner in which the ERISA plan is adminis-

tered in terms of disclosure requirements which could po-

tentially interfere with the maintenance of a uniform

body of federal regulation. See Ingersoll-Rand v. Mc-

Clendon, supra; Van Camp v. AT & T Information Sys-

tems, supra.

Plaintiffs argue that the actions complained of were

taken by Mobil as an employer only, and therefore, none

of these ERISA regulations applies. In their complaint,

however, plaintiffs allege, inter alia, that: “Per Article

16, Section 1 of the Plan, the Vice-President of Employee

‘Relations and the Treasurer of Mobil are named fiduci-

aries charged with the operation and administration of the

Plan (emphasis added).” From their allegations we must

infer that Mobil, acting through certain of its officers

and employees, is the “plan administrator” for purposes

nha ben ses pi

lla

of compliance with ERISA’s disclosure requirements. See

29 U.S.C. § 1002(16) (1988).

Even if we assume that Mobil was acting solely in its

capacity as employer when the alleged tortious conduct

occurred, determinations concerning the propriety of the

disclosures made by Mobil could be made only with ref-

erence to ERISA and would affect the relations among

plaintiffs, Mobil, and the Mobil retirement plan as the

principal ERISA entities involved. See Van Camp v. AT

& T Information Systems, supra.

Plaintiffs rely upon Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., supra,

in support of their argument to the contrary. In a foot-

note, the Raymond court opined that, arguably, plain-

tiffs’ state law fraud claims allege simply a wrongful dis-

charge achieved by the employer through fraud and are

not premised upon the existence of an ERISA plan. This

statement, however, was based upon a perfunctory eval-

uation of whether the claims would have an effect on the

structure, administration, or type of benefits provided by

the Mobil retirement plan. As we have noted, this type

of inquiry is, at best, incomplete. See Ingersoll-Rand Co.

v. McClendon, supra.

Additionally, the court there acknowledged that pre-

emption was not an issue in the case; therefore, there

is no basis for us to presume that the preemption ques-

tion was thoroughly argued by the parties or analyzed

by the court. See Petrafeck v. Industrial Commission,

191 Colo. 566, 554 P.2d 1097 (1976); Dunbar v. Board

of Trustees, 170 Colo. 327, 461 P.2d 28 (1969).

In further support of their argument against preemp-

tion, plaintiffs contend that, the above analysis notwith-

standing, the issue here is simply whether, once having

communicated to its employees concerning the proposed

amendments, Mobil had common law obligations as an

employer to provide additional information to avoid mis-

leading its employees. Mobil’s compliance with ERISA

12a

in making plan amendment disclosures, they maintain, is

not in question. It is not difficult to see, however, that

individual states could impose individual common law

disclosure requirements as to the timing and content of

plan related announcements which would quickly erode

the intended comprehensive uniformity of applicable fed-

eral law. See Ingersoll-Rand v. McClendon, supra; Chris-

topher v. Mobil Oil Corp., supra; see also Cefalu v. B.F.

Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290 (Sth Cir.1989) (ERISA

preemption was intended to eliminate the threat of poten-

tially conflicting and inconsistent state and local regula-

tion of pension plans).

In addition, as plaintiffs conceded at oral argument,

under the civil conspiracy claim, the Mobil plan is joined

as a defendant and for this reason alone we must find

that claim is preempted. The interference with contract

claim also depends entirely for its existence upon the

retirement plan as it is the employees’ rights under the

plan which they allege have been tortiously obstructed

by the conduct of Mobil, a principal actor in the admin-

istration of the plan.

Therefore, although the state law claims asserted here

represent typically significant functions of state law not

designed specifically to affect pension plans, see Provience

v. Valley Clerks Trust Fund, 509 F.Supp. 388 (E.D.Cal.

1981), the claims are nonetheless preempted because

they would have more than an incidental effect upon

the ERISA plan or upon relations among the principal

ERISA entities involved. See Van Camp v. AT & T

Information Systems, supra.

II.

Plaintiffs also contend that the trial court erred in

awarding defendants attorney fees under § 13-17-201.

We perceive no error in either the award or in the amount

awarded.

Ae

13a

A.

Plaintiffs assert that § 13-17-201 does not apply to

their state law claims because they do not allege any

death or injury to person or property. We disagree.

Section 13-17-201 provides for an award of reasonable

attorney fees:

In all actions brought as a result of a death or an

injury to person or property occasioned by the tort

of any person, where any such action is dismissed

on motion of the defendant prior to trial under rule

12(b) of the Colorado rules of civil procedure... .

By enacting § 13-17-201, the General Assembly in-

tended to discourage unnecessary litigation of tort claims;

therefore, this statute applies whenever a tort action is

dismissed prior to trial pursuant to a motion under

C.R.C.P. 12(b). First Interstate Bank vy. Berenbaum,

872 P.2d 1297 (Colo.App.1993); Employers Insurance

of Wausau v. RREEF USA Fund-II (Colorado), Inc.,

805 P.2d 1186 (Colo.App.1991).

Contrary to plaintiffs’ contentions, the statute neither

explicitly nor implicitly contemplates the existence of

some manner or degree of physical harm to a person or

to property. We are not persuaded that the statute is

limited in applicability to a “species” of tort claims and

is inapplicable to a tort claim which alleges only economic

injury.

B.

Plaintiffs also argue that § 13-17-201 does not apply

to their claims which they contend were brought in a

good faith attempt to establish new. law in Colorado.

We do not agree that the applicability of § 13-17-201

is so limited.

Plaintiffs assert that § 13-17-201 creates disharmony

with § 13-17-102(7), C.R.S. (1987 Repl.Vol. 6A) which

provides that:

14a

No attorney or party shall be assessed attorney fees

as to any claim or defense which the court deter-

mines was asserted by said attorney or party in a

good faith attempt to establish a new theory of law

in Colorado.

If two statutes conflict, the provisions of the specific

statute will control over the general, and the provisions

of the statute enacted last in time will control over one

enacted earlier. L.D.G. v. E.R., 723 P.2d 746 (Colo.

App.1986). Section 13-17-201 is more specific as it ap-

plies only to tort actions which are dismissed pursuant

to C.R.C.P. 12(b). Section 13-17-201 was enacted in

1987, see Colo. Sess.Laws 1987, ch. 100 at 547, later

in time than § 13-17-102(7) which was enacted in 1977.

See Colo.Sess.Laws 1977, ch. 107 at 460.

The mandatory attorney fees award provision of

§ 13-17-201 contains no express exclusion for claims

brought in a good faith attempt to establish a new rule

of law in Colorado. Thus, to the extent that § 13-17-201

and § 13-17-102(7), are in conflict, we conclude that

§ 13-17-201 controls, and the trial court did not err in

awarding defendants their fees on that basis. Cf. Shaw

v. Baesemann, 773 P.2d 609 (Colo.App.1988).

Cc.

Alternatively, plaintiffs argue that § 13-17-201 should

not have been applied to their claims because they con-

ditionally offered to confess defendants’ motion to dis-

miss. Because the record does not support this conten-

tion, we disagree.

In response to defendants’ motion to dismiss, plaintiffs

filed a pleading with the trial court captioned “Plaintiffs’

Partial Opposition to and Partial Conditional Confession

of Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss and Plaintiffs’ Cross

Motion for Stay of Procedeings until Conditions for Dis-

missal may be Satisfied.” In that pleading they conceded

15a

that, if they had a claim for relief in federal court under

ERISA, their state court claims would be preempted as

directly conflicting with that cause of action. As to ex-

press preemption under the terms of the federal ERISA

legislation, however, plaintiffs maintained throughout this

litigation that preemption on those grounds did not apply.

By implication, § 13-17-201 allows a plaintiff to escape

liability for attorney fees by seeking a voluntary dismissal

or by filing a stipulation of dismissal, or by confessing to

a defendant’s motion to dismiss under C.R.C.P. 12(b).

Employers Insurance of Wausau v. RREEF USA Fund-

II (Colorado), Inc., supra.

Plaintiffs here, in contrast, sought to maintain their

state law claims unless and until the federal court reached

a determination that they had a federal ERISA cause of

action. In an attempt specifically to preserve the state

court litigation, they argued that express statutory pre-

emption did not apply. This is quite distinct from a con-

fession to a C.R.C.P. 12(b) dismissal motion which would

have ended the state court lawsuit entirely. Cf. First In-

terstate Bank v. Berenbaum, supra (Section 13-17-201

operates only when an entire action has been dismissed).

D.

Lastly, plaintiffs contend that the trial court awarded

an excessive amount of attorney fees to defendants be- -

cause much of the briefs filed in the motion to dismiss

were redundant of briefs filed in federal cases concerning

the same set of facts and issues. We perceive no abuse

of discretion.

If an award of attorney fees is supported by the record,

it will not be disturbed on appeal. In re Conservatorship

of Roth, 804 P.2d 265 (Colo.App.1990); see also In re

Marriage of Hahn, 628 P.2d 175 (Colo. App.1981). A

determination that the amount requested for such an

award is reasonable is a question of fact for the trial

16a

court and will be upheld on appeal unless patently erron-

eous. Spensieri v. Farmers Alliance Mutual Insurance

Co., 804 P.2d 268 (Colo.App.1990).

Here, the trial court held a hearing on the attorney

fees request and took testimony to the effect that defend-

ants had requested fees representing half of the total

amount of time spent on the motion to dismiss. Finding

that this was reasonable under the circumstances because

it took into account any duplication of work, the trial

court awarded the amount requested. The trial court

also found that the time expended was equivalent to the

time expended in resisting the motion to dismiss by plain-

tiffs’ attorneys, who also were familiar with the facts and

issues from their participation in the other cases.

These findings are supported by the record, and we

decline to disturb them on appeal. See Williams v.

Farmers Insurance Group, Inc., 781 P.2d 156 (Colo.

App.1989), aff'd, 805 P.2d 419 (Colo.1991).

The judgment is affirmed.

MARQUEZ and BRIGGS, JJ., concur.

So Seine fap We eae

17a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-1298

FREDERIC J. RAYMOND, J.A. MORRISON, ROBERT G.

JACOBSEN, DONALD F. HILL, GeorGe H. LIVERISs,

ROBERT A. IRWIN, A.D. BOND, VIRGINIA HOWARD, IRA

S. REAvis, and BILLY RHEA SARGENT, for themselves

and on behalf of others similarly situated, and others

as opt in or consent plaintiffs pursuant to applicable

federal law, Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

V.

MoBIL Ort CORPORATION,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Jan. 20, 1993

Before LOGAN, ANDERSON, and BALDOCK, Cir-

cuit Judge.

STEPHEN H. ANDERSON, Circuit Judge.

In this class action involving the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act (ERISA), 29 U.S.C. §§ 1001-1461,

defendant/appellant Mobil Oil Corporation appeals under

28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) from an interlocutory order of the

district court denying Mobil’s motion for summary judg-

ment on certain claims of plaintiffs, former employees of

Mobil.’ Plaintiffs’ action arose out of the same pension

128 U.S.C. § 1292(b) permits interlocutory appeals from orders

involving “a controlling question of law as to which there is sub-

stantial ground for difference of opinion. . . .” By order dated

September 30, 1992, a panel of this court granted Mobil’s petition

to bring this interlocutory appeal, and ordered the appeal expedited.

18a

plan amendment involved in a previous decision of this

court, Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 898, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112

L.Ed.2d 210 (1990), as well as a recent decision of the

Fifth Circuit, Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d

1209 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. , 113 S.Ct.

68, 121 L.Ed.2d 35 (1992). Because we conclude that

plaintiffs are not “participants” in an ERISA plan, and

therefore lack standing to sue under ERISA, we reverse.

the district court’s denial of Mobil’s motion for summary

judgment and remand for entry of summary judgment in

favor of Mobil.

BACKGROUND

The essential undisputed facts relevant to this appeal

are set forth in the Mitchell and Christopher opinions.

We quote at some length from each:

Until 1977, Mobil provided retirement benefits

only in the form of an annuity. In 1977, Mobil

added a “lump-sum option” to its retirement plan,

the terms of which, for the purposes of this case,

appear in the Retirement Plan of Mobil Oil Corpora-

tion as of January 1, 1984 (the Plan). Under the

Plan, an employee could elect to receive a lump-sum

payment which had the same equivalent actuarial

value, discounted at 5%, as the annuity. In the case

of early retirement, the Plan reduced the lump-sum

payment by 5% for each year of retirement prior to

the age of sixty. To qualify for the lump-sum op-

tion, an employee had to elect this option prior to

retirement; had to be over fifty-five; and, at the date

of his retirement, had to have a net worth of at least

$250,000 or an accumulated lump sum in excess of

$250,000.

In February 1984, Mobil amended the lump-sum

option. It raised the discount rate prospectively from

5% to 9.5% and increased the eligibility threshold

from $250,000 to $450,000. It also linked the new

19a

threshold to the Consumer Price Index (CPI), pro-

jecting a rise in the threshold to correlate with a rise

in the CPI. These changes, however, would not

take effect until at least six months after Mobil an-

nounced them, pending approval by the IRS. The

delayed effective date gave employees who were elig-

ible for the lump-sum payment under the old criteria,

but who might not meet the new threshold, the op-

portunity to decide whether to retire and take the

lump sum or to continue working and accumulating

more pension benefits with the possibility that they

might not accumulate sufficient additional benefits

to meet the new threshold requirement at the date

of their retirement.

Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 466.

On July 16, 1984, Mobil sought a determination

from the IRS that the plan as amended continued to

meet the Internal Revenue Code’s requirements for

favorable tax treatment, including the requirement

that pension plans not “discriminate in favor of

highly compensated employees.” 26 U.S.C. § 401

(a)(4). In meetings in late September 1984, the

IRS reviewing agent expressed concern that the

amended plan could result in benefits favoring highly

compensated employees, and indicated that he might

need to seek technical advice from Washington. In

response, Mobil adopted another plan amendment al-

lowing Mobil, in its sole discretion, to waive the

eligibility threshold in individual cases for valid cause

shown. After insertion of this provision, the IRS

issued to Mobil a favorable determination letter on

November 23, 1984, noting that continued qualifi-

cation of the plan would depend upon its effect in

operation.

Mobil announced the IRS approval to its employ-

ees on December 21, 1984, but did not notify its

20a

employees of the waiver provision until well after

expiration of the six-month window—October 1985.

Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1213.’

Porter Mitchell, the plaintiff in Mitchell, was a fifty-

six year old Mobil employee who retired during the six-

month window period, and took his retirement benefits

under the lump-sum $250,000 option, for which he quali-

fied. He brought suit, claiming that, by amending its re-

tirement plan, Mobil had willfully violated the Age Dis-

crimination in Employment Act (ADEA), 29 U.S.C.

§§ 621-634, by constructively discharging him because

of his age, had “breached its fiduciary duties under

ERISA and had violated ERISA’s anti-cutback provision,

29 U.S.C. § 1054(g), by retroactively limiting his right

to the lump-sum benefit, an accrued benefit.” Mitchell,

896 F.2d at 466. He also claimed that Mobil violated

§ 510 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, which prohibits dis-

crimination against or discharge of a participant in an

ERISA-covered benefit plan “for the purpose of interfer-

ing with the attainment of any right to which such par-

ticipant may become entitled under the plan.”

After receiving a favorable jury verdict awarding him

substantial damages, this court reversed the award on

appeal. We held that Mitchell had established that he had

been constructively discharged because of his age, but

that he had failed to prove that Mobil’s proffered justifi-

2 The existence of the waiver provision was not discovered by

Mitchell in his case until trial was underway. Our decision in

Mitchell makes no mention of the waiver provision. The plaintiffs

in Christopher argued that the concealment of the waiver option

was fraudulent, and the plaintiffs in this case have, following

Christopher, made the same fraud argument concerning the waiver

option.

8 As we noted in our decision, the availability of the lump-sum

option “was important to Mr. Mitchell because at the time he

was making [his choice], the market interest rate was over 9%.

As a result, his lump sum, discounted at 5%, was worth approxi-

mately 140% more than his annuity.” Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 466.

2la

cation for its plan amendment was a mere pretext for

discrimination.* Accordingly, his ADEA claim failed.

We held that Mitchell lacked standing under ERISA to

challenge the plan amendment, and therefore reversed the

award. We observed that the definition of “participant”

under ERISA “excludes . . . former employees who have

received a lump-sum payment of all their vested benefits

because ‘these erstwhile participants have already received

the full extent of their benefits and are no longer eligible

to receive future payments.’” Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 474

(quoting Joseph v. New Orleans Elec. Pension & Retire-

ment Plan, 754 F.2d 628, 630 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied,

474 U.S. 1006, 106 S.Ct. 526, 88 L.Ed.2d 458 (1985)).

And we held Mitchell lacked standing as a former em-

ployee with a “reasonable expectation of returning to

covered employment,” Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. v.

Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 117, 109 S.Ct. 948, 958, 103

L.Ed.2d 80 (1989), because he had never sought rein-

statement.

The Christopher plaintiffs also elected to retire during

the six-month window period, opting for the lump-sum

benefit under the old $250,000 criteria. They similarly

filed suit, claiming that Mobil’s conduct surrounding the

plan amendment constituted age discrimination in viola-

tion of the ADEA, as well as “common-law fraud, civil

4 We observed that “[t]he relevant question [in a constructive

discharge case] is whether Mobil’s amendment of the Plan forced

Mr. Mitchell, and similarly situated employees, to choose between

two options both of which would leave him worse off than the

status quo.” Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 467. We held that it did, because

Mitchell was forced to choose between (1) retiring during the

six-month window period, as he in fact did, and receiving the

lump-sum option under the old ($250,000) eligibility requirement,

and (2) continuing to work, but having to requalify for the lump-

sum option under the new ($450,000/linked to the CPI) criteria,

and being uncertain if he ever would in fact so qualify. Either

option was less desirable than the status quo—continuing to work,

knowing that he was qualified for a lump-sum retirement when

he decided to retire.

22a

conspiracy, unlawful interference with contract rights,

breach of the employment contract, negligence, and gross

negligence.” Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1213. The plain-

tiffs’ complaint also alleged “in brief and conclusory fash-

ion” that Mobil’s conduct violated ERISA. /d.°

The district court granted Mobil’s motion for summary

judgment on the ADEA claims, holding that they were

time-barred and granted Mobil’s motion for judgment on

the pleadings on the state law claims, holding that they

were preempted by ERISA. It granted Mobil’s Fed.R.

Civ.P. 12(b)(1) and (6) motion to dismiss the contingent

ERISA claim on the ground that plaintiffs were not “par-

ticipants” under ERISA. On appeal, the Fifth Circuit

affirmed the grant of summary judgment on the ADEA

claims because they were time-barred, affirmed the dis-

missal of the state law claims as preempted by ERISA,

but reversed the dismissal of plaintiffs’ ERISA claims and

remanded the matter to permit plaintiffs to plead their

ERISA claims with greater specificity. The court spe-

cifically noted that it had “not determined that appellants

[plaintiffs] will be able to establish a violation of section

510, only that they should be allowed to attempt to do

so.” Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1223.

Plaintiffs in this case are a class of former employees

who retired on or before January 1, 1985, who were not

told of the waiver option, and who assert that they would

not have lost their jobs had they known of their right to

apply for a waiver. They also allege that they were

unaware of the fact that the $250,000 threshold could

be “grandfathered” for each of them, by virtue of the

enactment of the Retirement Equity Act (“REA”), effec-

tive July 31, 1984.° Specifically, they argue that:

5The brevity of plaintiffs’ ERISA allegations was apparently

the result of their desire to preserve the ERISA claims in the

event their state law claims were held preempted by ERISA.

* Section 301 of the REA prohibits the retroactive elimination

of “an optional form of benefit” by means of a plan amendment.

23a

Mobil interfered with their right to the lump sum

benefit under the $250,000 test by fraudulently lead-

ing plaintiffs to believe that that right was condi-

tioned on an additional requirement, namely that

plaintiffs retire early, when in fact that additional

condition did not really exist. Plaintiffs were also

discharged for the exercise of their right to the lump

sum benefit under the $250,000 test and the right

to be free from the cutback of that benefit. And

Mobil fraudulently caused plaintiffs’ discharges so

that they could not attain the right under the Plan

to apply for a waiver of the $450,000 requirement,

and thereby keep both their jubs and the lump sum

benefit.

Brief of Appellees at 24-25.

They filed suit, alleging that Mobil’s conduct consti-

tuted a willful violation of the ADEA, as well as a viola-

tion of section 510 of ERISA.’ Plaintiffs amended their

29 U.S.C. §1054(g). However, the REA specifically states that

section 301’s prohibition applies only to plan amendments made

after July 30, 1984. 29 U.S.C. § 1001, Historical Note (Pub.L.

98-397, Title III, §§ 302, 303, Aug. 23, 1984, 98 Stat. 1451 § 302(d)

(1)). Mobil formally adopted the plan amendment on June 13,

1984, prior to the effective date of the REA. However, because

it did not receive IRS approval at that time for the entire amend-

ment, it did not in fact adopt the plan with the waiver provision

until September, 1984. Thus, plaintiffs argue that the entire plan

amendment was subject to the REA, so that the right to retire

under the $250,000 lump sum was “grandfathered”. While they do

not suggest that Mobil can be charged with concealing the existence

and effect of the REA, they do claim that Mobil concealed the

facts (i.e. the true date of the plan amendment) bearing upon

their rights under the REA.

7ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, provides in pertinent part:

It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge, fine, suspend,

expel, discipline, or discriminate against a participant .. .

for exercising any right to which he is entitled under the pro-

visions of an employee benefit plan .. . or for the purpose of

24a

complaint twice, ultimately deleting all of their ERISA

claims except those based on a fraudulent discharge in

violation of section 510. As a result of the alleged

ERISA violations, plaintiffs seek

all equitable and other relief as may be necessary to

redress plaintiffs’ rights asserted under those claims

and to redress the violations of law alleged in those

claims, including an order compelling reinstatement

or equitable reinstatement of each plaintiffs’ employ-

ment at a status and salary commensurate with his

tenure as though his employment with Mobil were

uninterrupted and with all previously elected retire-

ment benefits, as well as accounts benefits, both past

and future, as well as all other compensatory, con-

sequential, and incidental measures of restitution, to-

gether with interest, attorneys’ fees, costs, expert wit-

ness fees, punitive and exemplary damages.

Third Amended Complaint at 22, Appellant’s Appendix

Vol. I at A000022.

DISCUSSION

Under ERISA § 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132, “participants”

have standing to bring civil actions to enforce their

rights under the terms of an ERISA-covered benefit plan

or to enforce ERISA’s provisions.* The term “partici-

interfering with the attainment of any right to which such

participant may become entitled under the plan. ...

8 Section 502 provides in pertinent part:

(a) Persons empowered to bring a civil action

A civil action may be brought—

(1) by a participant or beneficiary—

(A) for the relief provided for in subsection (c) of this

section, or

(B) to recover benefits due to him under the terms of his

plea, to enforce his rights under the terms of the plan, or to

clarify his rights to future benefits under the terms of the

plan ;

ERISA § 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132.

25a

pant” is statutorily defined as “any employee or former

employee of an employer, . . . who is or may become

eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an employee

benefit plan. . . .” ERISA § 3(7), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7).

In Firestone Tire & Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101,

117, 109 S.Ct. 948, 958, 103 L.Ed.2d 80 (1989) the

Supreme Court further defined the term “participant,”

holding that it “is naturally read to mean either ‘em-

ployees in, or reasonably expected to be in, currently

covered employment,’ or former employees who ‘have

. a reasonable expectation of returning to covered

employment’ or who have ‘a colorable claim’ to vested

benefits.” (quoting Saladino v. 1.L.G.W.U. Nat'l Retire-

ment Fund, 754 F.2d 473, 476 (2d Cir.1985), and

Kuntz v. Reese, 785 F.2d 1410, 1411 (9th Cir.) (per

curiam), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 916, 107 S.Ct. 318, 93

L.Ed.2d 291 (1986)). The Court has defined the statu-

tory term “may become eligible” as requiring proof that

the claimant has “a colorable claim that (1) he or she

will prevail in a suit for benefits, or that (2) eligibility

requirements will be fulfilled in the future.” Firestone,

489 US. at 117-18, 109 S.Ct. at 958; see also Uselton v.

Commercial Lovelace Motor Freight, Inc., 940 F.2d 564,

581 n. 16 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, US. , 392

S.Ct. 589, 116 L.Ed.2d 614 (1991). Thus, to have

standing to bring an ERISA action, plaintiffs must either

be employees in or reasonably expected to be in cur-

rently covered employment, or former employees with a

reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment or a colorable claim to vested benefits. Employees

or former employees seeking to show they “may become

eligible” for a benefit must prove that they have a color-

able claim that they will prevail in a suit for benefits, or

that eligibility requirements will be fulfilled in the future.

Plaintiffs argue that this case is like Christopher and,

more importantly, is distinguishable from Mitchell. They

therefore claim they should be afforded standing as par-

ticipants, as the Christopher plaintiffs provisionally were,

26a

and not be bound by our finding of no standing in

Mitchell. ?

The crucial difference they assert exists between this

case and Mitchell is that the entire case in Mitchell pro-

ceeded on the theory that Porter Mitchell was presented

with a choice between retiring under the $250,000 lump

sum option and continuing to work with the uncertainty

of ever qualifying for the $450,000 lump sum. Thus,

they characterize our Mitchell opinion as holding that

“an employee faced with a difficult choice between pre-

serving a valuable retirement benefit but giving up his job

versus foregoing the benefit and keeping his job generally

cannot choose the former, leave his job with all earned

wages and benefits paid, and then later sue under ERISA

for wages and benefits not earned.” Brief of Appellees at

2. They assert that the choice Mr. Mitchell made was a

“conscious one” even if “coercive” and amounting to a

“constructive discharge.” Because Mr. Mitchell’s choice

was conscious, plaintiffs argue, he could only establish

ERISA standing by meeting one of the tests for “former

employees” under Firestone—either a colorable claim to

vested benefits or a reasonable expectation of returning

to covered employment.

By contrast, they assert that plaintiffs’ choices here

were not conscious, because they were fraudulently pro-

cured and were therefore “no different from outright

firings under ERISA §510.” Jd. at 3. Relying on

Christopher, they argue that Mobil’s deceptive and fraud-

ulent conduct, in violation of ERISA, vitiated the volun-

tariness of their decisions to retire. They therefore assert

that, unlike Porter Mitchell, they need not establish stand-

ing as “former employees.” While plaintiffs are obviously

in fact former employees, they argue they are to be

viewed: legally as current employees, with clear partici-

pant status because they were current employees at the

time of the ERISA violation which effectively involun-

S tlihctorsr NirscdRei ai nine aes 4 a9

27a

tarily discharged them.? Even if they have to establish

standing as former employees, plaintiffs argue they have

demonstrated the existence of a genuine factual issue as

to whether they have a reasonable expectation of return-

ing to covered employment, such that Mobil’s motion for

summary judgment was properly denied.

Mobil responds that this case “is Mitchell redux.” Brief

of Appellant Mobil Oil Corporation at 17. It contends

both that Mr. Mitchell clearly argued and the Mitchell

opinion clearly held that an employee who retires, even

if fraudulently induced to do so, and takes all the vested

benefits to which he is entitled and does not ask his em-

ployer for reinstatement and has no reasonable expecta-

tion, based on custom or practice, that he will be re-

instated, lacks standing to bring an ERISA action. He

is clearly a former employee, who has no colorable claim

to vested benefits (he has received them all already and

cannot show that he will fulfill eligibility requirements

in the future) and has no reasonable expectation of re-

turning to covered employment (he has not sought re-

instatement from his employer, and has no factual basis

for believing that he will be reinstated).’? He is merely

seeking damages, not ERISA-protected benefits.

Thus, Mobil asserts that Mitchell correctly established

a bright-line test that ERISA protects only benefits, and

an employee who leaves his employment, under any cir-

cumstance, and receives all his benefits, cannot sue under

®They alternatively argue that their standing as participants

must be determined as of the time of the ERISA violation, and not

at the time of their lawsuit. Under that theory too they would have

participant status because they were clearly participants at the

time of the alleged ERISA violation, and they would not have to

meet the former employee tests for standing.

10 Mobil argues that plaintiffs have failed to show either that

they have a reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment or a colorable claim to vested benefits by showing that eligi-

bility requirements will be fulfilled in the future.

£3,

28a

ERISA. Moreover, Mitchell established that a request for

judicial reinstatement is per se insufficient to establish a

reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment. “Thus, ERISA does not provide a cause of action

for former employees who have fulfilled all their eligi-

bility requirements, received the full amount of their

vested benefits, and seek only (a) reinstatement to accrue

further benefits or (b) damages based on years they never

worked.” Brief of Appellant Mobil Oil Corporation at

28-29.

We review the denial of a motion for summary judg-

ment de novo, applying the same standard as did the dis-

trict court. Miller v. Coastal Corp., 978 F.2d 622 (10th

Cir.1992). Summary judgment will only be granted if

“viewing the facts in the light most favorable to the

opposing party, there is no genuine issue of material fact

in dispute and the moving party should prevail as a mat-

ter of law.” Méillensifer v. Retirement Plan for Salaried

Employees of Cotter Corp., 968 F.2d 1005, 1007 (10th

Cir.1992) (quoting Woolsey v. Marion Lab., Inc., 934

F.2d 1452, 1456 (10th Cir.1991)); Boren v. Southwest-

ern Bell Tel. Co., Inc., 933 F.2d 891, 892 (10th Cir.

1991).

We begin by rejecting plaintiffs’ rather novel argument

that they really are, legally, current employees. As indi-

cated, ERISA provides a remedy for “participants.” “Par-

ticipants” include “ ‘employees in, or reasonably expected

to be in, currently covered employment.’” Firestone, 489

U.S. at 117, 109 S.Ct. at 957-58 (quoting Saladino, 754

F.2d at 476), or certain “former employees.” Attributing

“ ‘conventional meanings to the statutory language,’ ” id.,

as we must, it defies common sense to conclude that

employees who retired some seven years ago are anything

other than “former employees.” Thus, plaintiffs are, in

fact and in law, “former employees.” See Katzoff v. East-

ern Wire Prod. Co., 808 F.Supp. 96, 98 (D.R.I., 1992)

(rejecting argument that plaintiff was a current employee

29a

and therefore an ERISA participant even though he was

“not currently working.”); Andre v. Salem Technical

Serv., 797 F.Supp. 1416, 1421 (N.D.Ill. 1992) (“Be-

cause [plaintiff] no longer works for [employer], he does

not fall within the statutory provision for suits by current

‘employees.’ ”).

In reaching this conclusion, we similarly reject plain-

tiffs’ related argument that their standing as participants

should be judged as of the time of the ERISA violation

and not as of the time of their lawsuit. Such an interpre-

tation runs counter to the natural meaning of ERISA

itself. Section 502 provides that “[a] civil action may

be brought . . . by a participant . . . to recover benefits

due to him under the terms of his plan, to enforce his

rights under the terms of the plan, or to clarify his rights

to future benefits under the terms of the plan.” ERISA

§ 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132 (emphasis added). The statute

by its terms does not permit 2 civil action by someone

who was a participant at the time of the alleged ERISA

violation. Cf. Teagardener v. Republic-Franklin Inc. Pen-

sion Plan, 909 F.2d 947, 951 n.2 (6th Cir.1990) (“The

Plan provides benefits for a ‘Former Participant,” a term

that is not defined or mentioned in ERISA.”), cert. de-

nied, 498 U.S. 1027, 111 S.Ct. 678, 112 L.Ed.2d 670

(1991). Rather, it is written in the present tense, indi-

cating that current participant status is the relevant test.

See Winchester v. Pension Comm. of Michael Reese

Health Plan, Inc., 942 F.2d 1190, 1194 (7th Cir.1991)

(“[Plaintiff] was not a plan participant at the time the

action was filed and thus has no standing.”); Yancy v.

American Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 707, 708 (Sth Cir.

1985) (“[Q]uestions of standing must be resolved on

the facts existing when the challenge is raised.”); Mc-

Kinnon vy. Cairns, 698 F.Supp. 852, 858 (W.D.Okla.

1988). Furthermore, there would be little need for the

widely-invoked category of “former employees” if partici-

30a

pant status was based upon status at the time of the

alleged ERISA violation.”

Having concluded that plaintiffs must meet the re-

quirements for former employees in order to satisfy

ERISA’s “participant” requirement, we conclude that,

despite plaintiffs’ artful attempts to fit within Christo-

pher, Mitchell compels the conclusion that plaintiffs

lack standing.

As indicated, only former employees who are or “may

become eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an

employee benefit plan” satisfy the participant require-

ment of ERISA. That definition includes “former em-

ployees who ‘have a reasonable expectation of

returning to covered employment’ or who have ‘a color-

able claim’ to vested benefits.” Firestone, 489 U.S. at

117, 109 S.Ct. at 958 (quoting Kuntz v. Reese, 785 F.2d

1410, 1411 (9th Cir.) per curiam), cert. denied, 479

U.S. 916, 107 S.Ct. 318, 93 L.Ed.2d 291 (1986)). A

former employee may further prove that he or she “may

become eligible” to receive a benefit by showing he or

she has “a colorable claim that (1) he or she will prevail

in a suit for benefits, or that (2) eligibility requirements

will be fulfilled in the future.” 7d.

We held in Mitchell that that definition simply “ex-

cludes . . . former employees who have received a lump-

11 We disagree with plaintiffs’ assertion that Drennan v. General

Motors Corp., 977 F.2d 246 (6th Cir.1992), “held that an employee

who has lost his status as a current employee and thus as an ERISA

‘participant’ as a result of his employer’s deceit has standing to sue

under ERISA because he had such standing at the time of the

ERISA violation.” Brief of Appellees at 5. In Drennan, the Sixth

Circuit held that employees who were eligible for a certain benefit

payout were participants for ERISA purposes, even though they

had already received their benefits under another, less favorable,

benefits plan. By contrast, plaintiffs here in fact received all bene-

fits for which they were eligible. They cannot claim participant

status based on eligibility for benefits not received.

Raimond > taaMisdaek Sta a Pe

31a

sum payment of all their vested benefits because ‘these

erstwhile participants have already received the full extent

of their benefits and are no longer eligible to receive

future payments.’” Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 474 (quoting

Joseph, 754 F.2d at 630); see also Sanson v. General

Motors Corp., 966 F.2d 618, 621 (11th Cir.1992) (re-

tiree claiming he was fraudulently induced to retire early

is not an ERISA participant); Boren, 933 F.2d at 893-94;

Teagardener, 909 F.2d at 952 (“Explicit in the Supreme

Court’s definition of ‘participant’ in Bruch is a require-

ment that the plaintiffs prove either that their right to

assets has ‘vested’ or will ‘vest.’”); Nishimoto v. Feder-

man-Bachrach & Assocs., 903 F.2d 709, 714 (9th Cir.

1990) (“former employees whose vested benefits under

a plan have already been distributed in a lump sum at

the time they file suit are not ‘participants’ within the

meaning of section 1002(7)”). They therefore seek “a

damage award, not vested benefits improperly withheld.”

Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 474; Boren, 933 F.2d at 893-94;

Saporito v. Combustion Eng’g, Inc., 843 F.2d 666, 671

(3rd Cir.1988) (“As a general rule, employees who take

early retirement and elect to receive lump sum retirement

benefits do not have standing to seek the increased pay-

ment later made to retirees or to challenge changes in

the retirement plan.”), vacated, 489 U.S. 1049, 109 S.Ct.

1306, 103 L.Ed.2d 576 (1989); Kuntz, 785 F.2d at

1411 (“plaintiffs are not participants because, as former

employees whose vested benefits under the plan have al-

ready been distributed in a lump sum, [they] were not

‘eligible to receive a benefit’ and were not likely to be-

come eligible to receive a benefit, at the time they filed

the suit.”); Yancy v. American Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d

707 (5th Cir.1985) (per curiam); cf. Sommers Drug

Stores Co. Employee Profit Sharing Trust v. Corrigan,

883 F.2d 345, 350 (Sth Cir.1989) (plaintiffs are ERISA

participants because they claimed “that the amount re-

ceived was not the full amount of vested benefits due

under the terms of the profit sharing plan... .”). The

32a

crucial point is the receipt of the “full extent” of their

vested benefits. That is equally true of plaintiffs in this

case. They too seek a damage award based upon their

allegedly fraudulent discharge from their jobs; they do

not seek “vested benefits improperly withheld.”

Plaintiffs invoke the Christopher court’s analysis in an

attempt to avoid the breadth of that holding in Mitchell.

Thus, they argue that the fact that Mobil fraudulently

induced them to retire by hiding from them the existence

of the waiver provision and certain facts which they needed

to be able to properly evaluate the impact of the REA

on their pension rights, somehow renders our Mitchell

holding inapplicable to them. We disagree. The existence

of fraud is irrelevant to the linchpin of our Mitchell hold-

ing—the receipt of all benefits to which the employee is

entitled under the plan.

Furthermore, the Christopher court itself acknowledged,

in its discussion of plaintiffs’ ADEA claims, that the al-

leged fraud made no legal or conceptual difference con-

cerning the voluntariness of plaintiffs’ decision:

[A]ppellants allege a constructive discharge arising

from the choice to which they were put by the plan

amendment. To further argue that the actual elec-

tion made was involuntary because it was based on

incomplete information would be superfiuous;. invol-

untariness is implicit in appellants’ argument that

they were coerced into early retirement by the threat-

ened removal of the lump sum option.

Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1215. Similarly, plaintiffs here

cannot say that the constructive discharge in Mitchell

was actually a conscious choice whereas the equally com-

pelled discharge here was completely involuntary simply

because plaintiffs here acted on incomplete information.

Moreover, the Christopher court’s “but for” standing

analysis—‘“but for the employer’s conduct alleged to be

in violation of ERISA, the employee would be a current

employee with a reasonable expectation of receiving bene-

33a

fits”, Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1221—amounts to the

kind of analysis rejected by the Supreme Court in Fire-.

stone: “[t]o say that a ‘participant’ is any person who

claims to be one begs the question of who is a ‘partici-

pant’ and renders the definition set forth in § 1002(7)

superfluous.” 489 U.S. at 117, 109 S.Ct. at 957. To

say that but for Mobil’s conduct, plaintiffs would have

standing is to admit that they lack standing and to allow

those who merely claim to be participants to be deemed

as such. See Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432,

435 (4th Cir. 1986) (“The effect of reading a ‘but for’

test is to impose participant status on every single em-

ployee who but for some future contingency may become

eligible. Neither caselaw nor other provisions of ERISA

supports such a reading of ‘participant.’”). Plaintiffs

therefore cannot, under Firestone, Mitchell, and Boren,

show that they are former employees with a colorable

claim to vested benefits.”

Plaintiffs also assert that they satisfy the “participant”

requirement as former employees with “a reasonable ex-

pectation of returning to covered employment.” More

specifically, they argue that there is a genuine factual dis-

pute as to that issue, such that summary judgment for

Mobil on their ERISA claims would be improper.

In Mitchell, we agreed with Mobil that Mr. Mitchell

“has never had a reasonable expectation of returning to

covered employment.” In so doing, we observed that Mr.

Mitchell “did not claim that Mobil had improperly with-

held vested benefits. He also did not make such a claim

12 We also note, as have several other courts, that Department of

Labor regulations interpreting ERISA specifically exclude from the

definition of participant “an individual to whom an insurer has

made an irrevocable commitment to pay all the benefits to which

the individual is entitled under the plan.” 29 C.F.R. § 2610.2. See,

e.g., Teagardener, 909 F.2d at 952; Kuntz, 785 F.2d at 1412; Joseph,

754 F.2d at 630; Saladino v. I1.L.G.W.U. Nat’l Retirement Fund,

754 F.2d 473, 476-77 (2d Cir.1985); see also 29 C.F.R. § 2510.3-

3(d) (2) (ii) (B).

34a

in his complaint, nor did he seek reinstatement.” Mitchell,

896 F.2d at 474 (emphasis added).

Mobil argues we established a clear rule that a request

for judicial reinstatement is per se insufficient to establish

a “reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment,” because Mitchell made it clear to this court in his

briefs and his petition for rehearing that he had sought

judicial reinstatement. Thus, Mobil argues that our rejec-

tion of his argument must be viewed in that context and

must be read as implying that a request for judicial rein-

statement alone is insufficient.

We are reluctant to read anything more into a judicial

opinion, even one of our own, than what the plain words

of the opinion state. Viewing the actual language of our

Mitchell opinion alone, without any background informa-

tion to which we may be privy but which others lack, we

must conclude that the opinion does not establish any

per se rule concerning the effect of a request for judicial

reinstatement. The opinion simply observes that Mr.

Mitchell did not “seek reinstatement,” and that was one

reason why he did not have a reasonable expectation of

returning to covered employment. Mitchell is unclear as

to what kind of request for reinstatement was insufficient

to establish a reasonable expectation of returning to cov-

ered employment.

We agree with Mobil, however, that plaintiffs here can-

not satisfy ERISA’s participant requirement by claiming

to be former employees with a reasonable expectation of

returning to covered employment. Few cases have ex-

amined carefully what constitutes such a reasonable ex-

pectation. We agree with the analysis in Shawley v.

Bethlehem Steel Corp., 784 F.Supp. 1200, 1205 (W.D.Pa.

1992):

Plaintiffs had no statutory right to be rehired, nor

any contractual right to be rehired. ... It would be

paradoxical to hold that the pension plan provisions

gave them more. For a reasonable expectation of

7 ata hat nae th

‘atetalam tae tear pese

35a

returning to employment to exist, there must be a

claim of right on the part of the former employee to

return to work.

See also Winchester v. Pension Comm. of Michael Reese

Health Plan, Inc., 942 F.2d 1190, 1193 (7th Cir. 1991)

(refusing to hold that “by filing a discrimination suit,

[after being dismissed for cause], plaintiff may harbor a

‘reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment.’”); Zydel v. Dresser Indus., Inc., 764 F.Supp. 277,

280-81 (W.D.N.Y. 1991) (reasonable expectation of re-

turning to covered employment evaluated with reference

to four specific pieces of evidence); Rhee v. Witco Corp.,

762 F.Supp. 211, 213 (N.D.Ill. 1991) (ERISA plaintiff

had no reasonable expectation of returning to covered em-

ployment because he “does not seek to return to work

. . .; he wants only to obtain the benefits he would have

accrued had he continued to work.”); Deller v. Portland

Gen. Elec. Co., 727 F.Supp. 1369, 1370 (D.Ore. 1989)

(former employees terminated pursuant to a reduction in

force “are clearly not employees . . . who have a reason-

able expectation of returning to covered employment.”).

We hold as a matter of law that a reasonable expectation

of returning to covered employment cannot encompass the

undisputed situation here, where plaintiffs retired, received

all their vested benefits, did not ask their employer for

reinstatement and can point to nothing suggesting that

Mobil will, should or must reinstate them, but instead

filed suit seeking reinstatement to commence accruing

benefits anew.

Finally, plaintiffs suggest that a definition of “partici-

pant” which excludes them will leave them without a

remedy, inasmuch as their state law claims were held

preempted by ERISA.” Preemption is not at issue in this

case, and we do not address it. However, we note that

the fact that a state law claim may be preempted does

18 Counsel for plaintiffs stated at oral argument that they have

appealed the state court decision finding preemption.

36a

not necessarily mandate that there be an ERISA remedy.

See Corcoran v. United Healthcare, Inc., 965 F.2d 1321,

1333 (Sth Cir.) (“While we are not unmindful of the

fact that our interpretation of the preemption clause leaves

a gap in remedies within a statute intended to protect

participants in employee benefits plans, the lack of an

ERISA remedy does not affect a pre-emption analysis.”),

cert. denied, USS. , 113 S.Ct. 812, 121 L.Ed.2d

684 (1992); Cromwell v. Equicor HCE Corp., 944 F.2d

1272, 1276 (6th Cir. 1991) (“Nor is it relevant to an

analysis of the scope of federal preemption that appellants

may be left without a remedy.”), cert. denied, US.

, 113 S.Ct. 2, 120 L.Ed.2d 931 (1992); Hospice of

Metro Denver, Inc. v. Group Health Ins., 944 F.2d 752,

755 (10th Cir. 1991) (“We are aware that preemption

normally is not dependent upon the availability of ERISA

remedies.”) (citing Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481

U.S. 41, 54, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 1556, 95 L.Ed.2d 39

(1987); Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941, 946 (7th Cir.

1989) ).*

14 Furthermore, ERISA preemption extends to “any and all State

laws insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any employee

benefit plan.” ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a). The Supreme

Court has “repeatedly stated that a law ‘relates to’ a covered em-

ployee benefit plan for purposes of § 514(a) ‘if it has a connection

with or reference to such a plan.’” District of Columbia v. Greater

Washington Bd. of Trade, —— USS. . , 113 S.Ct. 580,

583, 121 L.Ed.2d 513 (Dec. 14, 1992) (quoting Shaw v. Delta

Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 97, 103 S.Ct. 2890, 2900, 77 L.Ed.2d

490 (1983)); see also Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S.

133, 111 S.Ct. 478, 482-88, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990); FMC Corp.

v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 58-59, 111 S.Ct. 403, 407-08, 112

L.Ed.2d 356 (1990); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41,

47, 107 S.Ct. 1549, 1552, 95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987); Monarch Cement

Co. v. Lone Star Indus., Inc., 982 F.2d 1448, 1451-52, (10th

Cir.1992).

While ERISA’s preemption clause is “conspicuous for its breadth,”

Ingersoll-Rand, 498 U.S. at 138, 111 S.Ct. at 482 (quoting FMC

ne rely Peet

“Ae os oa Lata led

37a

Furthermore, while pension and other benefits are un-

deniably an important part of an employee’s compensation

package, they are nonetheless an adjunct to the primary

item which the employee has—his or her job. And,

Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. at 58, 111 S.Ct. at 407), we recently

observed in Monarch Cement Co., that the:

purpose of ERISA preemption is twofold. First, preemption

“protect[s] the interests of employees and their beneficiaries in

employee benefit plans.” Second, preemption “ensure[s] that

plans and plan sponsors are subject to a uniform body of benefit

law ... [by] minimizing the administrative and financial

burden of complying with conflicting directives among States

or between States and the Federal Government.”

982 F.2d at 1453-54 (quoting Straub v. Western Union Tel. Co.,

851 F.2d 1262, 1265 (10th Cir. 1988) (quoting Nachwalter v.

Christie, 805 F.2d 956, 960 (11th Cir.1986)) and Ingersoll-Rand,

111 S.Ct. at 484). “ ‘What triggers ERISA preemption is not just

any indirect effect on administrative procedures but rather an

effect on the primary administrative function of benefit plans, such

as determining an employee’s eligibility for a benefit and the

amount of that benefit.’” Monarch Cement Co., 982 F.2d at 1452

(quoting Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Borges, 869 F.2d 142, 146-47 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 811, 110 S.Ct. 57, 107 L.Ed.2d 25

(1989) ); see also National Elevator Indus., Inc. v. Calhoon, 957

F.2d 1555, 1558-59 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, U.S. , 113

S.Ct. 406, 121 L.Ed.2d 331 (1992).

ERISA’s preemptive reach, although broad, is not unlimited.

Monarch Cement Co., 982 F.2d at 1452; Hospice of Metro Denver

v. Group Health Ins., 944 F.2d 752, 755 (10th Cir.1991). In

Monarch Cement Co., we tried to define the parameters of ERISA

preemption, noting that the case law in the area is far from

uniform:

Laws that have been ruled preempted are those that provide an

alternative cause of action to employees to collect benefits pro-

tected by ERISA, refer specifically to ERISA plans and apply solely

to them, or interfere with the calculation of benefits owed to an

employee. Those that have not been preempted are laws of general

application—often traditional exercises of state power or regulatory

authority—whose effect on ERISA plans is incidental.

Id. at 1452, (quoting Aetna Life Ins. Co., 869 F.2d at 146); see

also National Elevator Indus., Inc., 957 F.2d at 1558-59; Hospice

of Metro Denver, 944 F.2d at 755. Thus, ERISA does not preempt

“if the state law has only a ‘tenuous, remote, or peripheral’ con-

38a

ERISA’s goal of protecting those benefits from interfer-

ence does not transform ERISA’s statutory scheme into a

federal job protection scheme where those benefits are

fully paid out, or create a federal cause of action for

wrongful discharge.” To do so would, as Mobil argues,

transform traditional employment law in the fifty states.”

We cannot believe Congress intended such a result when

nection with covered plans, as is the case with many laws of

general applicability.” Greater Washington Bd. of Trade, —— U.S.

at n. 1, 113 S.Ct. at 583 n. 1 (quoting Shaw, 463 U.S. at 100

n. 21, 103 S.Ct. at 2901 n. 21)). An argument could certainly be

made that the fraud claims plaintiffs have made in this case are

such “laws of general applicability.”

Thus, this is not a case where the state law “specifically refers”

to an ERISA plan, as in Greater Washington Bd. of Trade,

U.S. at , 113 S.Ct. at 585, nor even where the preempted claim

is “premised on” the existence of an ERISA plan, as in Ingersoll-

Rand, 498 U.S. at 140, 111 S.Ct. at 483. The state law claim in

Ingersoll-Rand was a common law claim for wrongful discharge

based upon the employer’s desire to prevent the employee from

vesting in his benefit plan. There is no such claim here. Rather,

plaintiffs here simply allege a wrongful discharge, achieved through

fraud. The fact that an ERISA plan was merely part of the means

by which Mobil allegedly fraudulently procured plaintiffs’ dismissal

does not necessarily compel the conclusion under Ingersoll-Rand

that that state law claim is “premised on” the existence of an

ERISA-covered plan. Cf. Tolle v. Carroll Touch, Inc., 977 F.2d

1129 (7th Cir.1992) (state law wrongful discharge claim pre-

empted because claim was that plaintiff was discharged in order

to avoid payment of benefits under ERISA plan); but see Sanson

v. General Motors Corp., 966 F.2d 618, 621 (11th Cir.1992) (plain-

tiffs’ state law fraud claim for fraudulently induced retirement is

preempted) .

15 Indeed, Congress knows perfectly well how to create a federal

cause of action for wrongful discharge when it wants to. See, e.g.,

the ADEA, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621-634; Title VII, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seq.

16 Under plaintiffs’ theory, to the extent that the employer-

employee relationship allows termination at-will under state law,

employers would, in some instances, no longer be able to exercise

that right whenever an ERISA-covered plan is part of an employ-

ee’s compensation package.

39a

it enacted ERISA. Cf. Patterson v. Shumate, USS.

‘ , 112 S.Ct. 2242, 2250, 119 L.Ed.2d 519

(1992) (“ERISA’s goal . . . [is to] protect[] pension

benefits.”) (emphasis added); Massachusetts Mut. Life

Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 U.S. 134, 148, 105 S.Ct. 3085,

3093, 87 L.Ed.2d 96 (1985) (purpose of ERISA is “to

protect contractually defined benefits.”); Hospice of Metro

Denver, 944 F.2d at 755-56; Gavalik v. Continental Can

Co., 812 F.2d 834, 851 (3rd Cir.) (“Proof of incidental

loss of benefits as a result of a termination will not con-

stitute a violation of § 510.”), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 979,

108 S.Ct. 495, 98 L.Ed.2d 492 (1987); Stanton v. Gulf

Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432, 435 (4th Cir. 1986) (“the leg-

islative intent of ERISA was not to assure the sanctity

of early retirement expectations, but to safeguard accrued

retirement benefits.” ) .””

For the foregoing reasons, we REVERSE the district

court’s denial of Mobil’s motion for summary judgment on

plaintiffs’) ERISA claims and REMAND for entry of

summary judgment in favor of Mobil.

17 The appellees’ “Request For Leave to File Limited Sur-Reply

in Opposition to Motion to Strike Appellees’ Supplemental Appendix

and Portions of Appellees’ Brief” is granted. Appellant’s “Motion

to Strike Appellees’ Supplemental Appendix and Portions of Brief

Relying on Supplemental Appendix” is granted insofar as it relates

to materials which were not before the district court in this case.

40a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-4562

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, CHARLES L. PRUNTY,

and BILLY G. TURNER,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

Vv.

MosBiL_ Ort CORPORATION, RETIREMENT PLAN OF MOBIL

O1L CORPORATION and REx ADAMS,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Texas

Jan. 24, 1992

Rehearing Denied Feb. 24, 1992

Before HENLEY *, KING, and GARWOOD, Circuit

Judges.

GARWOOD, Circuit Judge:

Appellants brought claims under the Age Discrimina-

tion in Employment Act (ADEA) and the Employee Re-

* Circuit Judge of the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

4la

tirement Income Security Act (ERISA), as well as

various common-law claims including fraud, civil con-

spiracy, and breach of the employment contract, against

their former employer Mobil Oil Corporation, based on

Mobil’s 1984 amendment of its employee benefit plan

and alleged failure to disclose to appellants all of the

options available under the amended plan. The district

court granted Mobil’s motion for summary judgment on

the ADEA claims on the grounds that the claims were

time-barred and that as a matter of law appellants were

not constructively discharged in violation of ADEA. The

district court also granted Mobil’s request for judg-

ment on the pleadings on appellants’ state law claims on

the ground that they were preempted by ERISA, and

dismissed the ERISA claims on the ground that because

appellants were not participants seeking to recover ben-

efits from a retirement plan, the court lacked jurisdiction

over their ERISA claims. We affirm in part and reverse

and remand in part.

Facts and Proceedings Below

The following facts are drawn from the parties’ sub-

missions of undisputed facts in connection with Mobil’s

motions for summary judgment, judgment on the plead-

ings, and dismissal.

Mobil provides retirement benefits for its employees

through a defined benefit plan, under which employees

receive a pension based on years of service, salary history,

and life expectancy. Until 1977, the standard method of

receiving these pensions was in the form of an annuity.

- In that year, however, Mobil added a lump sum option,

enabling certain employees to receive the actuarial equiv-

alent of their annuity, discounted at five percent, in one

payment following retirement. To be eligible for the

lump sum option, an employee had to have either an

accrued lump sum pension benefit, or a net worth inde-

pendent of the pension, equal to at least $250,000. Also,

42a

the employee was required to be at least fifty-five years

old.

On July 2, 1984, Mobil announced changes to the

lump sum option of the retirement plan, including (1) an

increase in the discount rate from 5% to 9.5%, to oper-

ate prospectively, i.e., to be applied to all earnings after

January 31, 1985; (2) an increase in the eligibility

threshold from $250,000 to $450,000; and (3) a linking

of the new threshold to the Consumer Price Index. These

changes, which were announced as subject to Internal

Revenue Service (IRS) approval, would apply to all

employees retiring after January 31, 1985; thus, em-

ployees otherwise eligible to retire had a six-month win-

dow in which they could retire subject to the lower

threshold and lower discount rate. The choice was a

significant one for employees who met the $250,000

threshold but who were uncertain ever to meet the in-

dexed $450,000 threshold because, with market interest

rates well above 5%, the lump sum pensions were worth

40% more than the annuities. Appellants, Gerald Chris-

topher, Charles Prunty, and Billy Turner, were among

the approximately 1,100 Mobil employees who elected to

take early retirement during the 6-month window. All

three submitted their retirement notices between August

and October 1984, and retired as of January 1, 1985.

_On July 16, 1984, Mobil sought a determination from

the IRS that the plan as amended continued to meet the

Internal Revenue Code’s requirements for favorable tax

treatment, including the requirement that pension plans

not “discriminate in favor of highly compensated employ-

ees.” 26 U.S.C. § 401(a)(4). In meetings in late Sep-

tember 1984, the IRS reviewing agent expressed concern

that the amended plan could result in benefits favoring

highly compensated employees, and indicated that he

might need to seek technical advice from Washington. In

response, Mobil adopted another plan amendment allow-

ing Mobil, in its sole discretion, to waive the eligibility

43a

threshold in individual cases for valid cause shown. After

insertion of this provision, the IRS issued to Mobil a

favorable determination letter on November 23, 1984,

noting that continued qualification of the plan would de-

pend upon its effect in operation.

Mobil announced the IRS approval to its employees on ©

December 21, 1984, but did not notify its employees of

the waiver provision until well after expiration of the six-

month window—October 1985. Because of a 1985 IRS

revenue ruling and subsequent pronouncements, Mobil

eventually entirely deleted the lump sum eligibility thresh-

old in 1986.

Appellants filed age discrimination charges against

Mobil with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commis-

sion (EEOC) on March 1, 1989. They alleged that Mo-

bil’s conduct in amending the plan and concealing the

waiver provision was a concerted scheme to reduce its

work force. By purporting to increase the lump sum

threshold and concealing its awareness that applicable tax

law precluded that action, appellants charged, Mobil in-

duced hundreds of older employees into retirement without

the need to pay them an early retirement bonus. The

EEOC dismissed the charges as untimely filed. Appellants

then commenced this suit on July 7, 1989. They alleged

that Mobil’s conduct constituted age discrimination in vio-

lation of ADEA, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seg., as well as

common-law fraud, civil conspiracy, unlawful interference

with contract rights, breach of the employment contract,

negligence, and gross negligence. In the event that appel-

lants’ state law claims were held to be preempted by

ERISA, the complaint alleged in brief and conclusory

fashion that Mobil’s conduct violated ERISA, apparently

ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, prohibiting interference

with an employee’s attainment of a right under ERISA.

For all claims, appellants sought the wages and employ-

ment benefits they would have received had they continued

working until normal retirement age. On the ADEA

claims, appellants also requested reinstatement.

44a

Mobil moved for summary judgment on the ADEA and

state law claims. The district court granted the motion,

finding that the ADEA and state law claims were time-

barred, that appellants had not been constructively dis-

charged in violation of the ADEA, and that appellants’

claims of discrimination arose from changes in fringe bene-

fits available under a bona fide retirement plan, not from

discrimination in nonfringe aspects of employment, and

thus were not within the purview of the ADEA according

to ADEA § 4(f)(2), 29 U.S.C. § 623(f)(2). Simultane-

ously, Mobil moved for judgment on the pleadings under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(c) on the state law

claims on the ground that they were preempted by ERISA,

and dismissal under Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

12(b)(1) & (6) of the contingent ERISA claim on the

ground that appellants were not “participants” seeking to

recover benefits under ERISA § 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132,

depriving the court of jurisdiction. The district court

granted this motion as well.

Discussion

I. ADEA Claims

We first examine the district court’s grant of summary

judgment on the ADEA claims on the ground that they

were time-barred. In reviewing a grant of summary judg-

ment, all legitimate factual inferences presented by the

record are drawn in favor of the party opposing the mo-

tion. Bozé v. Branstetter, 912 F.2d 801, 804 (Sth Cir.

1990) (per curiam). We can uphold the summary judg-

ment only if our review demonstrates that no genuine issue

of material fact remains and that the moving party is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law. Id.

It is not disputed that the applicable statutes of limita-

tions require an employee to file an age discrimination

charge with the EEOC within 300 days after the alleged

unlawful practice occurred, 29 U.S.C. § 626(d)(2), and

to file a lawsuit within 3 years after the alleged unlawful

practice occurred, 29 U.S.C. §§ 255(a), 626(e). Appel-

45a

lants argue, however, that a genuine issue of material fact

exists as to when their awareness of the facts constituting

the alleged age discrimination was sufficient to commence

the running of the limitations period. See Pruet Produc-

tion Co. v. Ayles, 784 F.2d 1275, 1279 (5th Cir. 1986)

(“{T]he statute does not begin to run until the facts which

would support a cause of action are apparent or should

be apparent to a person with reasonably prudent regard

for his rights.” (quoting Reeb v. Economic Opportunity

Atlanta, Inc., 516 F.2d 924, 930 (Sth Cir. 1975))).

Specifically, they argue that Mobil’s negotiation of a re-

vised plan in October 1984 only came to light in 1988

when counsel for another former employee, Porter Mitchell

(Mitchell), suing Mobil in federal district court in Colo-

rado, discovered the correspondence between Mobil and

the IRS. It was only when this fact became publicly

known at the trial of Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp. in De-

cember 1988,’ appellants argue, that they had any reason

to know of Mobil’s concealment of the waiver option.

Appellants’ EEOC filing in March 1989 and their com-

mencement of this suit in July 1989 would both have been

timely if the statute of iimitations had commenced run-

ning in December 1988.

1The alleged fraud was not part of Mitchell’s claims against

Mobil. He argued, rather, that the plan amendment itself consti-

tuted a constructive discharge and was a willful violation of the

ADEA. He also argued that Mobil had breached its fiduciary

duties under ERISA § 404, 29 U.S.C. §1104, and had violated

ERISA’s anti-cutback provision, ERISA §%204(g), 29 U.S.C.

§ 1054(g), by retroactively limiting his right to the lump sum

option, an accrued benefit. The jury found in favor of Mitchell on

his ADEA claim and awarded him damages for back pay, front pay,

and lost benefits. The district court held in favor of Mitchell on the

ERISA claims as well, awarding him compensatory and liquidated

damages. On appeal, the Tenth Circuit reversed, holding that

Mitchell had failed to prove that Mobil’s proffered justification

for the plan amendment was a mere pretext for discrimination,

and that Mitchell was not a participant with standing to assert

ERISA claims, Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463, 471-74

(10th Cir.), cert. denied, _—- U.S. —~, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d

210 (1990). “4

46a

Evaluating the appellants’ claim that the statute of limi-

tations did not commence until December 1988 requires

an analysis of the nature of their ADEA claim. The

ADEA forbids an employer to “discharge any individual

or otherwise discriminate against any individual with re-

spect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or privileges

of employment, because of such individual’s age.” 29

U.S.C. § 623(a)(1). A “discharge” within the meaning

of this section may be constructive if a reasonable person

in the employee’s position would have felt compelled to

resign under the circumstances. Bodnar v. Synpol, Inc.,

843 F.2d 190, 192 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 908,

109 S.Ct. 260, 102 L.Ed.2d 248 (1988). An attractive

early retirement offer, however, is not a constructive dis-

charge merely because it creates a strong incentive to

retire; an early retirement option can constitute a con-

structive discharge only if the employee shows that it

sufficiently alters the status quo that each choice facing

the employee makes him worse off. Mitchell v. Mobil Oil

Corp., 896 F.2d 463, 467 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

USS. , 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d 210 (1990);

Bodnar, 843 F.2d at 193.

The gist of appellants’ prima facie ADEA claim is as

follows. The adoption of the 1984 plan amendment pre-

sented appellants with a choice between unfavorable op-

tions; they faced the choice of retiring within the six-month

window or staying on at Mobil but possibly forgoing eligi-

bility for the lump sum payout. Either could be regarded

as less favorable than staying on at Mobil until normal

retirement age with the assurance of eligibility for the

lump sum payout, which was the “status quo” when the

amendment was adopted. The asserted discriminatory

character of the amendment to the plan arises from the

fact that only employees over the age of fifty-five were put

to that choice. Employees under fifty-five did not presently

qualify for retirement, so although the plan amendment

may have defeated an expectation for them, they were

not confronted with the possibility of losing a benefit for

Ree cata oedian betakte hoeein ota conch emer

on toren as

47a

which they were then qualified. See Mitchell, 896 F.2d

at 496.

This much of the ADEA theory was evident in July

1984 upon the initial announcement of the plan. The

unfavorable choice to which it put “window” employees

and its particular impact on employees over fifty-five were

both apparent on the face of the plan amendment. Indeed,

the theory outlined above was precisely Mitchell’s claim

against Mobil, accepted by the Tenth Circuit. Mitchell

filed a complaint with the EEOC on April 25, 1985, with

no knowledge of Mobil’s alleged concealment of the

waiver provision. Moreover, another employee, Frederic

J. Raymond (Raymond), filed a similar charge with the

Ohio Civil Rights Commission and the EEOC on May

10, 1985. Therefore, unless appellants can show that

Mobil’s alleged concealment adds a material element to

their ADEA claim, the statute of limitations should have

commenced running in July 1984.

Appellants have offered no theory under which the

alleged nondisclosure is a necessary element. They refer

us to the Fourth Circuit case of Stone v. University of

Maryland Medical System Corp., 855 F.2d 167 (4th Cir.

1988), for their argument that “where, as here, the em-

ployee surrenders his job as a proximate result of fraud

and deceit by the employer, the voluntariness of the re-

tirement or resignation is fundamentally vitiated.” Stone

is one of a series of cases where resignations have been

held to be involuntary based on an employer’s misrepre-

sentations about or nondisclosure of an employee’s rights.

Others include Covington v. Department of Heaith and

Human Services, 750 F.2d 937 (Fed.Cir.1984), and

Scharf v. Department of the Air Force, 710 F.2d 1572

(Fed.Cir.1983).

We do not believe that these cases avail appellants,

however. As appellants’ phrasing of their argument re-

flects, the effect of a showing of fraud in these cases is to

render an otherwise voluntary choice involuntary. Stone

48a

and related cases involve disputes in which public em-

ployees were entitled to certain procedural protections if

they were to be terminated involuntarily; they were re-

quired to show that their retirement was involuntary to

invoke the jurisdiction of the Merit Systems Protection

Board or to establish a “deprivation” under the due proc-

ess clause. Here, by contrast, appellants allege a con-

structive discharge arising from the choice to which they

were put by the plan amendment. To further argue that

the actual election made was involuntary because it was

based on incomplete information would be superfluous;

involuntariness is implicit in appellants’ argument that

they were coerced into early retirement by the threatened

removal of the lump sum option. Assuming, arguendo

only, that appellants’ allegation of non-disclosure would

serve to estop Mobil from raising in defense the claim

that appellants’ retirement was voluntary, nevertheless the

asserted nondisclosure does not form a material part of

appellants’ constructive discharge theory that would pre-

vent the statute of limitations from commencing.

Appellants’ arguments that this Court should apply

equitable tolling or equitable estoppel fail for similar rea-

sons. These doctrines provide for tolling of the statute of

limitations when a plaintiff's unawareness of his ability to

bring a claim—either unawareness of the facts necessary

to support a discrimination charge or unawareness of his

legal rights—is due to defendant’s misconduct. See Rhodes

v. Guiberson Oil Tools Division, 927 F.2d 876, 878-79

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, US. , 112 S.Ct. 198,

116 L.Ed.2d 158 (1991); Kale v. Combined Insurance

Co., 861 F.2d 746, 752 (1st Cir.1988). Here, the knowl-

edge allegedly concealed from the employees was that they

had a third option—to continue their employment and

apply for a waiver from the higher lump sum requirement.

Therefore, the facts as known to the employees in 1984

actually gave them a better ADEA claim than they would

have had with full knowledge. Whatever nondisclosures

Mobil-is guilty of would not have lulled appellants into

49a

postponing assertion of their rights; if anything, it would

have made them more likely to assert that they were con-

structively discharged.

Finally, appellants argue that although they knew in

1984 of the plan amendment and retirement window, they

were misled into believing that they had no cause of action

by Mobil’s plausible justifications for its amendment of

the plan, i.e., that the threshold was changed to adjust for

intervening inflation and that the discount rate was raised

to align Mobil’s practice with that of its competitors and

to more realistically reflect current interest rates. In other

words, appellants contend that although the discriminatory

effect of the amendment was apparent in 1984, it was only

upon learning of the concealment of the waiver option

that they had reason to believe the plan amendment was

actuated by age bias and that the alleged concerted scheme

to reduce the work force began to take shape.

We find this argument unpersuasive as well. First, we

fail to see how the deception alleged by appellants calls

into question Mobil’s proffered justifications for the plan

amendment. The evidence does not create a genuine dis-

pute as to the factual accuracy of Mobil’s proffered jus-

tifications. Even if appellants’ allegations are true re-

specting Mobil’s having deceived its employees about the

validity under applicable tax law of the plan amendment

and about the waiver provision, there is no evidence show-

ing that Mobil’s announced reasons for the plan amend-

ment were deceptive. This is an issue on which appellants

would have had the burden at trial, and they were hence

required to meet Mobil’s summary judgment motion with

summary judgment evidence that would sustain a jury

finding in their favor on the issue. See Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265

(1986); Blumberg v. HCA Management Co., Inc., 848

F.2d 642, 644 (Sth Cir.1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S.

1007, 109 S.Ct. 789, 102 L.Ed.2d 781 (1989).

In any event, a showing of deception as to motive sup-

ports equitable estoppel only if it conceals the very fact

50a

of discrimination; equitable estoppel is not warranted

where an employee is aware of all of the facts constituting

discriminatory treatment but lacks direct knowledge of

the employer’s subjective discriminatory purpose. Thus,

where an employee was told that he was being discharged

because industry economic downturn required reduction

of the work force, and was told that he would be con-

sidered for re-hiring, we applied equitable estoppel to

hold that limitations on his ADEA claim did not com-

mence until he learned that he had been replaced by a

younger employee. Rhodes, 927 F.2d at 880-82; see also

Coke v. General Adjustment Bureau, Inc., 640 F.2d

584, 595 (5th Cir.1981) (en banc) (employer’s mis-

representation that employee would be reinstated induced

foreseeable forbearance in filing ADEA claim); Meyer v.

Riegel Products Corp., 720 F.2d 303, 307 (3d Cir.1983)

(employer’s explanation to employee that he was dis-

missed as part of a reorganization furnished grounds for

equitable tolling in an ADEA suit until discharged em-

ployee learned that a younger replacement had been

hired), cert. dismissed, 465 U.S. 1091, 104 S.Ct. 2144,

79 L.Ed.2d 910 (1984). By contrast, where an employee

knew that he was discharged and replaced by a younger

employee, his allegation that the company concealed from

him the true reason for his discharge and that it was not

until subsequent hirings that the “pattern of age discrim-

ination” became evidence was held insufficient to support

equitable estoppel. Pruet Production Co., 784 F.2d at

1279-80; accord Chapman v. Homco, Inc., 886 F.2d 756,

758 (5th Cir.1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1067, 110

S.Ct. 1784, 108 L.Ed.2d 785 (1990); Blumberg, 848

F.2d at 645.2 The showing required for a prima facie

employment discrimination claim is minimal, see Pruet

2This view is consistent with this Circuit’s rule in Title VII

cases that the limitations period starts running when the plaintiff

knows of the discriminatory act, not when the plaintiff perceives a

discriminatory motive behind the act. See Merrill v. Southern

Methodist University, 806 F.2d 600, 605 (5th Cir.1986).

=

Sla

Production Co., 784 F.2d at 1279, and when “facts that

would support a cause of action are or should be appar-

ent” the statute commences even if the employee is not

aware of all the evidence that he will ultimately rely upon

at trial. Blumberg, 848 F.2d at 645 (emphasis added).

The showing required at the Stage of filing charges with

the EEOC is even more lenient, because the purpose of

the filing is only to initiate an EEOC investigation. Pruet

Production Co., 784 F.2d at 1279.

Applying those principles here, we conclude that

whatever concealment Mobil may have been guilty of did

not deceive appellants as to the facts of the alleged

discrimination. Rather, appellants were able to evaluate

the propriety of their alleged constructive discharge for

ADEA purposes immediately. Just as in individual dis-

charge cases the prima facie showing is only that the

employee has been discharged and replaced by a younger

worker, leaving exploration of an employer’s motives for

the EEOC investigation or pretrial discovery, here the

appellants’ prima facie case for constructive discharge

was that older employees alone were put to the unfavor-

able choice of early retirement or loss of the lump sum

option. This fact, apparent in July 1984, was sufficient

to put appellants on notice of possible age discrimination

(as it did other Mobil employees) and to require them to

assert their rights.

For these reasons, even accepting for purposes of our

review of the summary judgment appellants’ charges of

nondisclosure, we do not believe that a genuine issue of

material fact exists as to when the statute of limitations

on the ADEA claims commenced. Concluding that the

district court’s grant of summary judgment is supported

on that ground, we do not reach the district court’s fur-

ther holding that as a matter of law appellants were not

constructively discharged in violation of the ADEA.

52a

II. ERISA Preemption of State Law Claims

We next address the district court’s grant of judgment

on the pleadings on appellants’ state law claims. Appel-

lants charged that Mobil’s actions in amending the plan

and withholding information about the waiver provision

fraudulently induced them to surrender their jobs, were

taken pursuant to a plan to reduce Mobil’s work force,

and breached the duty of good faith and fair dealing owed

to appellants by Mobil under their employment contracts.

This conduct, appellants alleged, gave rise to claims for

fraud, civil conspiracy, breach of the employment con-

tract, unlawful interference with contract rights, negli-

gence, and gross negligence. The district court held these

claims were preempted because they “relate to Mobil’s

Retirement Plan, which is governed by ERISA, and

directly overlap with provisions of ERISA.”

We turn to the first ground relied upon by the district

court, namely that appellants’ claims “relate to” an

ERISA-governed retirement plan.

ERISA’s provisions “supersede any and all State laws

insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any em-

ployee benefit plan.” ERISA §514(a), 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a). The Supreme Court has consistently empha-

sized the expansiveness of the “relate to” standard and

its purpose of establishing the regulation of pension plans

as an exclusively federal concern. See, e.g., Ingersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, USS. , 111 S.Ct. 478, 482,

112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990); FMC Corp. v. Holliday,

US. , 111 S.Ct. 403, 407, 112 L.Ed.2d 356 (1990);

Pilot Life Insurance Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 107

§.Ct. 1549, 1552-53, 95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987); Shaw v.

Delta Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct. 2890, 2899-

2901, 77 L.Ed.2d 490 (1983). The words “relate to”

are to be given their “broad common-sense meaning,”

Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v. Massachusetts, 471

U.S. 724, 105 S.Ct. 2380, 2389, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985),

and a state law will be pre-empted “if it has a connection

53a

with or reference to such a plan.” Shaw, 103 S.Ct. at

2900. This Circuit has held that the fact that a claim

sought damages measured by pension benefits sufficed as

the requisite “connection” to an employee benefit plan for

preemption purposes. Cefalu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871

F.2d 1290, 1294 (Sth Cir.1989). But see Memorial Hos-

pital System v. Northbrook Life Insurance Co., 904 F.2d

236, 247 (5th Cir.1990); Pizlo v. Bethlehem Steel Corp.,

884 F.2d 116, 120-21 (4th Cir.1989).

The complaints here focus on Mobil’s amendment of

an ERISA-governed employee benefit plan and Mobil’s

disclosure to its employees of the terms of the plan. In

addition to calculating their damages by computing lost

benefits under the plan, a court adjudicating appellants’

claims of a fraudulent scheme to reduce the work force

would have to examine, at a minimum, the operation of

the plan prior to the amendment, the language of the plan

amendments, and Mobil’s communication to its employees

about the terms of the plan amendments. Given the

breadth of the section 514(a) test, we find that these con-

nections are adequate to warrant preemption.

This conclusion is buttressed by decisions of this and

other courts addressing claims of fraudulently induced

retirement and wrongful termination, which are the crux

of appellants’ state law claims here. In the closely anal-

ogous case of Lee v. E.I. DuPont de Nemours and Co.,

894 F.2d 755 (5th Cir.1990), the plaintiffs alleged that

they had retired in reliance on their employer’s repre-

sentations that the company was not preparing to adopt

an early retirement incentive plan, and they sued their

former employer for fraud and negligent misrepresenta-

tion in that respect. We held that the claims were pre-

empted under section 514(a). Id. at 758; see also Cefalu,

871 F.2d at 1295 (breach-of-contract claim for oral mis-

representation that retirement options offered equivalent

benefits was preempted); Degan v. Ford Motor Co., 869

F.2d 889, 895 (5th Cir. 1989) (claim for breach of an

54a

oral agreement to pay early retirement benefits was pre-

empted). In a case almost identical to the present one,

the Third Circuit held that where employees alleged that

an employer’s notification of proposed plan amendments

misrepresented to them that they would lose a retirement

benefit if they did not retire in a window period before

the amendments became applicable, their claims were

preempted. Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co., 911 F.2d

911, 923 (3d Cir.1990), cert. denied, US. ——,

111 S.Ct. 1310, 113 L.Ed.2d 244 (1991).

In addition, the Supreme Court recently spoke de-

cisively to the question whether a tort claim premised

on wrongful discharge to prevent vesting of pension ben-

efits could survive independently of ERISA. In Ingersoll-

Rand Co. v. McClendon, USS. , 111 S.Ct. 478,

483, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990), the Court found that the

claim “related to” an ERISA-covered plan under section

514(a). Appellants here seek to distinguish their “wrong-

ful discharge by fraud” claim from the tort claim at issue

in McClendon. They argue that whereas the existence of

a pension plan is a necessary element of the cause of

action considered in McClendon (discharge to prevent

vesting of pension benefits), here the pension plan was

merely the subject of Mobil’s fraud. The fraud claim

itself, they argue, is conceptually identical to a fraud

claim concerning any other subject matter, and ERISA

cannot generally preempt state laws prohibiting employers

from fraudulently inducing employees to give up their

jobs. Appellants rely on Mackey v. Lanier Collections

Agency and Service, 486 U.S. 825, 108 S.Ct. 2182, 100

L.Ed.2d 836 (1988), in which the Court noted that law-

suits based on “run-of-the-mill state-law claims such as

unpaid rent, failure to pay creditors, or even torts com-

mitted by an ERISA plan” are not preempted merely

because the suits are brought against an ERISA plan. /d.

108 S.Ct. at 2187.

We do not find this argument persuasive. We have

previously noted that preempted state law includes an)

55a

State law cause of action as it relates to an employee

benefit plan, even if it arises under a general law which

in and of itself has no connection to employee benefit

plans. Cefalu, 871 F.2d at 1292 n.5. Although there

would undoubtedly be cases of fraudulently induced re-

tirement that were not preempted, the specific conduct

here, as in Lee, Cefalu, and Degan, relates directly to the

operation of an ERISA plan. Superimposing state law

fraud standards on the elaborate ERISA provisions gov-

erning the content and timing of notice of plan provisions

and amendments, see ERISA §§ 102, 104(b)(1), 29

U.S.C. §§ 1022, 1024(b), would undercut the goal of

uniform national regulation in the manner that section

514(a) seeks to prevent. See Memorial Hospital System,

904 F.2d at 245 (observing that preemption is proper

where the state law claims address areas of exclusive

federal concern, and where they directly affect the rela-

tionship among the traditional ERISA entities). In our

view, this makes the conduct at issue here a far cry from

the “run-of-the-mill” claims alluded to in Mackey.*

For the same reason, appellants’ reliance on Hartle v.

Packard Electric, 877 F.2d 354 (Sth Cir.1989) (per

curiam) is misplaced. In Hartle, a discharged employee

brought suit for wrongful termination and civil con-

spiracy to unlawfully terminate his employment. Because

the general rule in Mississippi was employment at will, he

argued that his participation in an employee benefit plan

had removed his employment from employment-at-will

3 Appellants also cite Greenblatt v. Budd Co., 666 F.Supp. 735

(E.D.Pa.1987), which does provide more direct support for their

argument than the fact that the subject of the alleged fraud is

pension benefits is incidental and does not warrant preemption.

See id. at 742. However, we agree with the Seventh Circuit that

Greenblatt is not consistent with our Circuit’s holding in Cefalu.

See Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941, 945 n. 10 (7th Cir.1989), cert.

denied, —— U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 579, 112 L.Ed.2d 584 (1990).

Therefore, we, like the Seventh Circuit, decline to follow Greenblatt.

See id. at 945.

56a

status and had effectively given him a tenured position.

However, because the employer’s complained-of-conduct

did not pertain to the operation of an ERISA plan, we

observed that Hartle’s claim did “not in any manner im-

plicate the federal regulation of employee benefit plans”

and held that preemption was not proper. Id. at 356.

Here, the employer’s conduct does relate to the pension

plan, and federal regulation of retirement plans is impli-

cated to a much greater degree.

Finally, appellants argue that even if their state law

claims are preempted to the extent that the damages

sought are deemed to be “benefits,” the preemption would

not bar the claims in their entirety, and that the claims for

lost wages, exemplary damages, and the like, would sur-

vive as state law claims. They rely on several cases find-

ing partial preemption only. One is Krause v. Dresser

Industries, Inc., 910 F.2d 674 (10th Cir.1990), in which

a terminated employee filed claims under the ADEA and

for breach of an implied contract for tenured job security.

The district court entered summary judgment for the

defendant on the breach-of-contract claim insofar as it

sought lost pension, health insurance, or life insurance

benefits, on the grounds of ERISA preemption. The.

Tenth Circuit upheld a verdict for the plaintiff on the

claim for lost salary, however, stating, “We are at a loss

to see how a breach of contract claim solely for lost

salary is at all related to an employee benefit plan,” and

holding that there was no preemption of that claim. /d.

at 680 (citing Hartle, supra). Likewise, in Sorasky v.

Burroughs Corp., 826 F.2d 794 (9th Cir.1987), the

Ninth Circuit held that an employee’s claim of breach of

contract and wrongful discharge in part relied on theories

independent of the benefit plan and thus was not entirely

preempted. Jd. at 800. Finally, appellants cite Clark v.

Coats & Clark, Inc., 865 F.2d 1237, 1245 (11th Cir.

1989), for the proposition that the same set of operative

facts can give rise to both preempted and unpreempted

causes of action.

57a

We conclude that this type of partial preemption is

inappropriate in the present case, however. Unlike Krause,

this case is not one where the main nexus to an employee

benefit plan is only the calculation of damages. Once

stripped of its link to the pension plan provided by the

measure of damages, the Krause plaintiff’s claim survived

as a suit for lost salary based upon breach of an implied

contract of continued employment. Here, by contrast, the

basis of the claims themselves is the operation of the pen-

sion plan; if appellants’ claims were stripped of their link

to the pension plans, they would cease to exist. The

Sorosky and Clark courts employed a similar analysis

which would support complete preemption in the present

case. In Sorosky, the court held that Sorosky’s claim that

Burroughs agreed to provide him with monthly retire-

ment benefits and then sought to prevent him from ac-

- quiring those benefits was preempted; it was only breach-

of-contract or wrongful discharge theories “that have no

relationship to the benefit plan” that survived as indepen-

dent state law claims. Sorosky, 826 F.2d at 800. The

Clark court confronted an employee’s claim that his termi-

nation, in addition to being effected for the purpose of

interfering with his attainment of pension benefits in vio-

lation of ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, was carried

out in a malicious manner that inflicted severe emotional

distress upon him. The court held that the tort claim,

though it “allude[d] to conduct which was proximate (or

even concurrent) in time to the alleged ERISA violation,”

was “wholly remote in content”; the employee had “not

alleged any conduct on the part of Coats & Clark which

relates to the processing of any ERISA covered benefit or

claim.” Clark, 865 F.2d at 1243. However, Clark care-

fully distinguished the employee’s claim there from a

claim that a refusal to pay pension benefits was itself so

outrageous as to amount to intentional infliction of emo-

tional distress, which the court had found *> be preempted

in Howard v. Parisian, Inc., 807 F.2d 1560 (11th Cir.

1987).

58a

Because the underlying conduct at issue here cannot be

divorced from its connection to the employee benefit plan,

we uphold the district court’s judgment that the state law

claims are preempted in their entirevy.

Ill. ERISA Standing

ERISA grants standing to a “participant” to bring a

civil action to enforce his rights under the terms of a plan

or to enforce the provisions of ERISA. ERISA § 502,

29 U.S.C. § 1132. The district court granted Mobil’s

motion to dismiss appellants’ ERISA claims on the ground

that appellants were not “participants” within the mean-

ing of that section and therefore were not empowered to

sue. See Nugent v. Jesuit High School of New Orleans,

625 F.2d 1285, 1286 & n. 3 (Sth Cir.1980).

ERISA defines the term “participant” to include “any

employee or former employee . . . who is or may become

eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an employee

benefit plan.” ERISA § 3(7), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7). The

Supreme Court recently addressed the meaning of the

“former employee” component of that definition. In Fire-

stone Tire and Rubber Co. v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 109

S.Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed.2d 80 (1989), the Court observed

that the definition referred to “former employees who ‘have

. a reasonable expectation of returning to covered

employment’ or who have ‘a colorable claim’ to vested

benefits.” Id. 109 S.Ct. at 958 (quoting Kuntz v. Reese,

785 F.2d 1410, 1411 (9th Cir.) (per curiam), cert. de-

nied, 479 U.S. 916, 107 S.Ct. 318, 93 L.Ed.2d 291

(1986)). The Court also construed the “may become

eligible” language of section 3(7) to mean that “a claim-

ant must have a colorable claim that (1) he or she will

prevail in a suit for benefits, or that (2) eligibility require-

ments will be fulfilled in the future.” /d.

Mobil argues that appellants do not have standing be-

cause they have neither a colorable claim for vested bene-

fits nor a reasonable expectation of returning to covered

59a

employment. In Mitchell’s suit against Mobil, the Tenth

Circuit denied ERISA standing to the plaintiffs on the

ground here urged by Mobil. Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp.,

896 F.2d 463, 474 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, ——— USS.

—,, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d 210 (1990).

The first part of this conclusion finds support in the

decisions of this Circuit. We have held that where, as

here, retired employees received in a lump sum benefits

that were concededly all to which they were entitled

under a plan as it existed at their retirement, their claim

is for damages, not vested benefits. Yancy v. American

Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 707, 708-09 (Sth Cir.1985)

(per curiam); Joseph v. New Orleans Electrical Pension

& Retirement Plan, 754 F.2d 628, 630 (Sth Cir.), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 1006, 106 S.Ct. 526, 88 L.Ed.2d 458

(1985); accord Kuntz, 785 F.2d at 1411. In Yancy, the

employer announced its intention to modify the interest

rate factor used to calculate lump sum retirement benefits,

but gave employees approximately three months in which

to retire under the older, more generous discount rate. We

denied standing to an employee who took early retirement

during the three months, received his lump sum payment,

then sued alleging that the amendment of the plan violated

fiduciary duties imposed by ERISA. We held that, lack-

ing a claim for vested benefits, he could not be deemed a

plan “participant.” Yancy, 768 F.2d at 709.

For the second part of its conclusion—that the plaintiff

lacked a reasonable expectation of returning to covered

employment—the Mitchell court relied on the fact that

the plaintiff had not sought reinstatement. Mitchell, 896

F.2d at 474; see also Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co., 911

F.2d 911, 922 (3d Cir.1990), cert. denied, USS.

——, 111 S.Ct. 1310, 113 L.Ed.2d 244 (1991); Kuntz,

785 F.2d at 1411. In the present case, the only request

for reinstatement in appellants’ original complaint is in

the ADEA claim, which we have held to be barred by the

statute of limitations. See section I, supra. However, this

60a

request does indicate that appellants do desire court-

ordered reinstatement.

We are not convinced that Firestone can be read to

reduce the standing question to a straightforward formula

applicable in all cases. This seems particularly so in cases

involving allegations of discharge. ERISA §510, 29

U.S.C. § 1140, makes it unlawful for an employer to

“discharge, fine, suspend, expel, discipline, or discriminate

against a participant” for exercising a right provided by

ERISA or “for the purpose of interfering with the attain-

ment” of a right provided by ERISA. The Supreme

Court’s recent McClendon decision held that this provision

would foreclose the development of any state law cause

of action for wrongful termination to prevent vesting of

pension benefits. Jngersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon,

US. , 111 S.Ct. 478, 485, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990).

The implication of the Court’s holding that the discharged

employee must look solely to ERISA for his remedy is

that he would have standing to do so. Nevertheless, it is

not readily apparent that he would have standing under

the construction of Firestone urged by Mobil; he would be

a former employee lacking both

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.