Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Tri-State Machine, Inc. v. Nationwide Life Insurance

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Cour, U.S.

\ FiLED

Y4 972 NOV 28 19%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

October Term, 1994

TRI-STATE MACHINE, INC.,

Petitioner,

vs.

NATIONWIDE LIFE INSURANCE COMPANY,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

DAVID B. FAWCETT, III

(Counsel of Record)

JAMES W. FORSYTH

BUCHANAN INGERSOLL

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

600 Grant Street, 58th Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

(412) 562-393 1/3935

Attorneys for Petitioner,

Tri-State Machine, Inc.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Where an insurance company fraudulently computes the pre-

miums an employer must pay for employer-sponsored health

care coverage, do the employer’s state law claims for viola-

tion of common and statutory law ‘‘relate to’’ a benefit plan

such that they are preempted by ERISA?

Are state insurance laws as applied to the claim of an

employer against an insurance company arising out of the

fraudulent computation of insurance premiums saved from

preemption by ERISA’s saving clause?

Where an employer purchases health insurance for its work-

ers from an insurance company, the effect of which is to

transfer risk from the employer to the insurance company,

does the insurance create a ‘‘self-funded plan’’ such that the

employer’s claims against the insurance company cannot be

saved from preemption?

Does ERISA or federal common law provide a remedy for

an employer who has been defrauded in the purchase of

health care insurance for its employees?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .............. i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES............... ec eme eek 4 iv

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF OPINIONS

EEA VEEL SEW WE GME 6 occ ccccceccccceceecess l

SUREREII Beas GHEE cc cvcccccccccwcecescees l

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THE CASE ................ l

STATES Gi WEE GND oo ows sees cavensseuesess 5

I I a oe 5.0 bt ee ene eaaeeeaneudeaass es b

TTT rn ee eee 7

Pe eer ee eo er er ert Peer e 10

I. IMPORTANCE OF DECISION ............... 10

A. Importance of Encouraging the Develop-

ment and Continuation of Employer-

Sponsored Benefit Plans and Preventing

Insurance Company Fraud................ 10

B. Strong Concerns of Federalism are at Stake . . 12

Il. THE CIRCUITS ARE SPLIT AS TO THE

TEST TO BE USED IN DETERMINING THE

SCOPE OF THE ‘*RELATE TO’’ CLAUSE,

THE ‘*‘SAVING CLAUSE’”’ AND THE

**DEEMER CLAUSE”’ OF SECTION 514 OF

A. Judicial Construction of the ‘‘Relate To’’

B. Judicial Construction of the ‘‘Saving

gh AD Ag errr aa aas 22

C. Judicial Construction of the ‘*Deemer

REE GAUOO he 6 400 65 64-00 000 00040508 0 24

1. Erroneous application to insurance

Ce hkG bodes eee s v0 88 toes 26

2. What is a self-funded plan?........... 27

er ee ere 29

EE ee eee eee la

Opinion and Order of District Court dated

September 23, 1991 denying plaintiff's motion for

partial summary judgment................20e0000: la

Order of District Court dated February 27, 1992

certifying question for appeal .................---. Sa

Order dated March 26, 1992 denying petition for

permission to appeal...... LG Oe SS Pe eee ee ee Ta

Opinion and Order of District Court dated

July 2, 1993 granting judgment sua sponte in

CO a ee ee 8a

Opinion and Order of Fourth Circuit affirming

Ts Sd bpawWe sees csvessceses 1Sa

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

Aetna Life Ins. Co. v. Borges, 869 F.2d 142 (2d Cir.),

care. Gaiam, GS AER. GED ATBGOD vc icc ecccccccccss 18

Airparts Co., Inc. v. Custom Benefit Services of Austin,

Inc., 28 F.3d 1062 (10th Cir. 1994)............. 17, 18

Consolidated Beef Indus. v. New York Life Ins. Co.,

949 F.2d 960 (8th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

py Ne eR eee 17

DiPietro-Kay Corp. v. Interactive Benefits Corp.,

S25 F. Sap. 40 GA Cope, 1908). oc cc cece ccccess 19

Farlow v. Union Cent. Life Ins. Co., 875 F.2d 791

fe Tre er rer eT Ter eee eee 17

First Nat'l Life Ins. Co. v. Sunshine-Jr. Food Stores, Inc.,

960 F.2d 1546 (11th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, __

iS ee ee eee 16

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52 (1990)....... 24, 25, 27

Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vacation

Fo RE RS ee re 20

Hampton Indus., Inc. v. Sparrow, 981 F.2d 726

CO Ge, I dk Sar A ee Ok idee 5 28

Hermann Hospital v. MEBA Medical & Benefits Plan,

S45 POG TAG GG ii ih ekki tencies... 20

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133 (1990)... .13

Int’l Resources, Inc. v. New York Life Ins. Co., 950 F.2d

294 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, U.S , 112 S. Ce.

SA COs 6:6 00 akan een tired Ges 6 ned Ke dds os 24

Lincoln Mut. Casualty Co. v. Lectron Products, Inc.

Employee Health Plan, 970 F.2d 206 (6th Cir. 1992) . .28

Page

Martori Bros. Distributors v. James-Massengale,

781 F.2d 1349, (9th Cir.), amended, 791 F.2d 799,

cert. denied, 479 U.S. 949 (1986) ..........5---05- 19

Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts,

Po gt Me errr rere eee eee eee 13, 23

Monarch Cement Co. v. Lone Star Indus.,

982 F.2d 1448 (10th Cir. 1992) .......... eee eee 18

Northern Group Services, Inc. v. Auto Owners Ins. Co.,

833 F.2d 85 (6th Cir. 1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S.

hi. rr re es ee er ee 28

Perkins v. Time Ins. Co., 898 F.2d 470 (Sth Cir. 1990). .... 18

Perry v. P*I*E Nationwide, Inc., 872 F.2d 157 (6th Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990).........-. 18

Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux,

r igit & Et, ore rr ere ree ee 13, 20, 22, 2

Pressroom Unions-Printers League Income Sec. Fund v.

Continental Assurance Co., 700 F.2d 889 (2d Cir.),

cert. dismissed, 464 U.S. 845 (1983) .........---55- 20

Rebaldo v. Cuomo, 749 F.2d 133 (2d Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1008 (1985). ..........---55- 19

Tri-State Machine, Inc. v. Nationwide Life Ins. Co.,

33 F.3d 309 (4th Cir. 1994) ........-- eee ee eeee 26, 28

Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119 (1982) . .23

Washington Nat'l Ins. Co. v. Hendricks, 855 F. Supp.

1542 (W.D. Wis. 1994) ........ cece cece cree eens 17

Whitworth Bros. Storage Co. v. Cent. States Pension

Fund, 794 F.2d 221 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, 479

U.S. 1007 (1986)

28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1988) ...... Sie al on io 1

BO Dis Re I ii hn hh nas 66g eke baebac tenes 8

Se Gen eR 6 8 K.n-0d 085 0b NS A Sls sees 7

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

y Bie io Be a er rere Te a, & 1S 1, 2

McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011 ef seg. ....... 23

We VE; QR ee SNR AE ME ie Peek ee bases sssness 3,4

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Douglas G. Houser, Unfair Claims Settlement Practices

Act - How the Courts Have Interpreted the Act, 15 The

FUGUE Tw CEPTS. «x00 00 cwwee eh dees cate Veeci es 10

1992 Annual Report of the West Virginia Insurance

COME 6a 6 5s RAN ee ease 13

l

OFFICIAL AND UNOFFICIAL REPORTS OF

OPINIONS DELIVERED IN THIS CASE

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit is reported at 33 F.3d 309 (4th Cir. 1994). The

decision of the United States District Court for the Northern Dis-

trict of West Virginia is not reported but can be found at 1993

WL 735796 {N.D. W. Va. July 2, 1993).

JURISDICTIONAL GROUNDS

The opinion and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit sought to be reviewed herein was

entered on August 31, 1994. Jurisdiction to review that opinion

and judgment by writ of certiorari is conferred on this Court by

*28 U.S.C. § 1254 (1988). Petitioner did not seek a rehearing by

the Fourth Circuit.

STATUTES INVOLVED IN THE CASE

Section 514 of ERISA reads, in pertinent part, as follows:

(a) Supersedure; effective date. Except as provided in

subsection (b) of this section, the provisions of this

titie and title IV shall supersede any and all State laws

insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any

employee benefit plan described in section 4({a) and not

exempt under section 4(b). This section shall take

effect on January 1, 1975.

(b) Construction and application. (1) This section shall

not apply with respect to any cause of action which

arose, or any act or omission which occurred, before

January 1, 1975.

(2)(A) Except as provided in subparagraph (B), noth-

ing in this title shall be construed to exempt or relieve

any person from any law of any State which regulates

insurance, banking or securities.

2

(B) Neither an employee benefit plan described in sec-

tion 4(a), which is not exempt under section 4(b) (other

than a plan established primarily for the purpose of

providing death benefits), nor any trust established

under such a plan, shall be deemed to be an insurance

company or other insurer, bank, trust company, or

investment company or to be engaged in the business

of insurance or banking for purposes of any law of any

State purporting to regulate insurance companies,

insurance contracts, banks, trust companies, or invest-

ment companies.

* * *

29 U.S.C. § 1144 (1988).

Section 502(a) of ERISA reads as follows:

(a) Persons empowered to bring a civil action. A civil

action may be brought—

(1)

by a participant or beneficiary—

(A) for the relief provided for in subsection (c) of

this section, or

(B) to recover benefits due to him under the terms

of his plan, to enforce his rights under the terms

of the plan, or to clarify his rights to future bene-

fits under the terms of the plan;

by the Secretary, or by a participant, beneficiary

or fiduciary for appropriate relief under section

409;

by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary

(A) to enjoin any act or practice which violates

any provision of this title or the terms of the plan,

or (B) to obtain other appropriate equitable relief

(i) to redress such violations or (ii) to enforce any

provisions of this title or the terms of the plan;

3

(4) by the Secretary, or by a participant, or benefici-

ary for appropriate relief in the case of a violation

of 105(c);

(S) except as otherwise provided in subsection (b), by

the Secretary (A) to enjoin any act or practice

which violates any provision of this title, or (B) to

obtain other appropriate equitable relief (i) to

redress such violation or (ii) to enforce any provi-

sion of this title; or

(6) by the Secretary to collect any civil penalty under

subsection (c)(2) or (i) or (1).

29 U.S.C. § 1132(a).

Article 11 of Chapter 33 of the West Virginia Code (entitled

‘‘Unfair Trade Practices’’) states, in pertinent part, as follows:

§ 33-11-1. Declaration of purpose.

The purpose of this article is to regulate trade practices

in the business of insurance in accordance with the intent of

Congress as expressed in the act of Congress of March

ninth, one thousand nine hundred forty-five (Public Law fif-

teen, seventy-ninth Congress) [the McCarran-Ferguson

Act], by defining, or providing for the determination of, all

such practices in this State which constitute unfair methods

of competition or unfair or deceptive acts or practices and

by prohibiting the trade practices so defined or determined.

(1957, c. 97; 1974, c. 51.)

W. Va. Code § 33-11-1 (1974)

* * *

§ 33-11-3. Unfair methods of competition and unfair or

deceptive acts or practices prohibited.

No person shall engage in this State in any trade prac-

tice which is defined in this article as, or determined pursu-

ant to section seven [§ 33-11-7] of this article to be, an

4

unfair method of competition or an unfair or deceptive act

or practice in the business of insurance. (1957, c. 97; 1974,

G. Fig

W. Va. Code § 33-11-3 (1974)

§ 33-11-4. Unfair methods of competition and unfair or

deceptive acts or practices defined.

The following are hereby defined as unfair methods of

competition and unfair or deceptive acts or practices in the

business of insurance:

+ OK *

(5) False statements and entries. —(a) No person shall

knowingly file with any supervisory or other public official,

or knowingly make, publish, disseminate, circulate or

deliver to any person, or placed before the public, any false

material statement of fact as to the financial condition of a

person.

(b) No person shall knowingly make any false entry of

a material fact in any book, report or statement of any per-

son or knowingly omit to make a true entry of any material

fact pertaining to the business of such person in any book,

report or statement of such person.

* * *

W. Va. Code § 33-11-4 (1974)

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Background Facts

Tri-State Machine, Inc. (‘‘Tri-State’’)' contracted with

Nationwide Life Insurance Company (‘‘Nationwide’’) to have

Nationwide provide insurance for Tri-State’s employees. Tri-

State purchased a combination of health, life, prescription drug,

dental and total disability insurance (the ‘‘Policy’’) which was

used to fund the employee benefit plan sponsored by Tri-State

(the ‘‘Tri-State benefit plan’’). Tri-State’s premium payments

were to be calculated according to a Cash Priority Plan Funding

Agreement (the ‘‘Funding Agreement’’).

Nationwide and its agents administered the Tri-State benefit

plan and paid claims submitted by Tri-State’s employees as con-

tractually bound to do under the Policy. The Policy required

Nationwide to provide insurance to each of Tri-State’s employ-

ees and their families, and to administer the claims. For example,

Nationwide and its agents would determine whether an

employee’s medical claim was covered and, if so, the claim was

paid by Nationwide. Tri-State did not pay claims or have any

role in the claims adjudication process. Tri-State had no role in

the administration of the Tri-State benefit plan. In short, Tri-

State had no discretion relative to the plan and, as such, was not

a plan fiduciary within the meaning of ERISA.

Like any employer that purchases insurance for its employ-

ees, Tri-State’s insurance premiums were based upon a number

of factors: volume of claims, nature of claims, volume of life

insurance, number of lives insured and, of course, the amount of

those claims. Under the Funding Agreement, Nationwide

reported claims information to Tri-State and collected premiums

'Tri-State has no parent or subsidiary corporations.

6

based on that information. The premiums were the sum of vari-

ous factors: an amount to cover Nationwide’s cost of administer-

ing the plan; another amount equal to the aggregate of all claims

under $25,000 per year/per employee; plus an additional amount

to cover the risk assumed by Nationwide to absorb any claims

per individual that exceeded $25,000 in any given policy year

and the risk assumed by Nationwide of paying any and all claims

that exceeded the annual cap.? Thus, Nationwide’s exposure

depended upon the amount and timing of the payment of claims

to Tri-State’s employees.

As far as Tri-State could determine, Nationwide properly

determined coverage issues over the course of the years that the

insurance was in place. Likewise, where Nationwide determined

that the Policy provided coverage, it timely paid claims on behalf

of Tri-State’s employees to their health care providers.

However, when it came time for Nationwide to report

claims information to Tri-State and to calculate Tri-State’s insur-

ance premium, Nationwide acted dishonestly in an attempt, suc-

cessful to date, to save itself money. For purposes of calculating

Tri-State’s obligation to pay premiums, Nationwide manipulated

the posting of dates on which Nationwide paid claims so as to

increase Tri-State’s insurance premium. Nationwide fraudulently

reported to Tri-State that claims were paid later than when actu-

ally paid, so as to ‘‘spread out’’ the claims of employees.

Spreading out the time periods in which claims were paid by

Nationwide created the appearance, falsely, that certain Tri-State

employees had claims less than or equal to $25,000 per year,

when in fact their claims exceeded $25,000. In addition, in direct

violation of the terms of the Funding Agreement, Nationwide

?The Funding Agreement contained a cap on the premiums that Tri-State

was required pay in any given year. For example, the maximum amount pay-

able during the first year of the Funding Agreement was approximately

$130,000.

7

grouped medical, dental, prescription and major medical claims

into one monthly amount which was applied towards the

*“*monthly policyholder liability limit amount,’’ so as to increase

Tri-State’s insurance premium.

Nationwide also reported claims as having been paid in the

year subsequent to when actually paid to avoid the annual cap on

Tri-State’s maximum premium liability. In other words, Nation-

wide ceased posting claims to Tri-State’s account before the end

of any given plan year. When a new year began under the Fund-

ing Agreement, wherein Tri-State would be fully responsible for

the maximum premium liability, Nationwide resumed posting

claims to Tri-State’s account. Claims which had been paid

months before were suddenly posted to Tri-State’s account and

were applied against Tri-State’s new premium limit. This pur-

poseful manipulation of information caused Tri-State’s premi-

ums to be much higher than they otherwise would have been.

The manipulation of data fraudulently allowed Nationwide to

recoup, on a dollar-for-dollar basis, more than it was entitled to

under the terms of the Funding Agreement.

Proceedings Below

After discovering Nationwide’s fraud, Tri-State sued

Nationwide in West Virginia state court. The complaint alleged

various theories of recovery such as breach of contract, breach of

implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing, statutory ‘‘bad

faith,’’ and violation of West Virginia insurance laws. Nation-

wide removed the case to the United States District Court for the

Northern District of West Virginia alleging that Tri-State’s

claims were governed and preempted by ERISA. The District

Court ruled that diversity jurisdiction existed pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1332(a) (1988).

Initially, Tri-State moved for partial summary judgment

seeking a determination from the District Court that ERISA did

8

not preempt Tri-State’s state law causes of action because the

fraudulent conduct involved the sale of insurance and did not

‘‘relate to’’ the administration of an ERISA plan. Although it did

not formally dismiss Tri-State, the District Court denied the

motion, ruling that all of Tri-State’s claims based on West Vir-

ginia law were preempted by ERISA.’ The District Court certi-

fied the preemption issue to the Fourth Circuit; however, the

appellate court declined to hear the issue at that time.‘

Tri-State later sought entry of a final order under Rule 54(b)

in an attempt to have the District Court acknowledge that it had

effectively dismissed Tri-State’s state law claims from the case.

The entry of a final judgment under Rule 54(b) would have

allowed Tri-State to appeal the ERISA preemption issue.

On July 2, 1993, the District Court issued an order in which

it refused Tri-State’s request for a Rule 54(b) final judgment and

refused to alter its finding that Tri-State’s state law causes of

action were preempted by ERISA.’ The District Court further

refused to find that the facts, as alleged, formed the basis for fed-

eral common law or ERISA claims and, instead, issued summary

judgment sua sponte for Nationwide. This final order was

appealed to and heard by the Fourth Circuit pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 1291 (1982).

The Fourth Circuit affirmed by a 2-1 majority.6 The Fourth

Circuit’s analysis was similar to that of the District Court:

Tri-State’s claims ‘‘related to’’ an ERISA plan; the insurance

>The District Court’s opinion and order denying Tri-State’s motion for

summary judgment is found at pages la - 4a of the appendix to the petition.

‘The Fourth Circuit's order denying permission to appeal is found at page

7a of the appendix.

‘The District Court’s opinion and order granting summary judgment

against Tri-State is found at pages 8a - 14a of the appendix.

°The Fourth Circuit’s opinion and order is found at pages 15a - 34a of the

appendix.

9

laws asserted to be applicable were not ‘‘saved’’ from preemp-

tion; therefore, all of Tri-State’s claims arising under West Vir-

ginia common or statutory law were preempted. As to Tri-State’s

argument that claims arising under West Virginia's Insurance

Code were ‘‘saved’’ from preemption by ERISA’s saving clause,

both courts rotely cited precedent standing for the proposition

that self-funded plans are exempt from state insurance laws by

virtue of the ‘‘deemer’’ clause. ERISA Section 514(b)(2)(B).

These analyses failed to recognize that Nationwide is not an

employee benefit plan but, rather, an insurance company. The

lower courts mistakenly reasoned that since the Policy had some

stop-loss insurance features, the Policy was actually a self-

funded plan which could not be deemed to be an insurance com-

pany or an insurer. The Fourth Circuit additionally held that the

insurance provision of the West Virginia Code which Tri-State

sued under was not a ‘‘law regulating insurance’’ within the

meaning of ERISA’s saving clause.

Tri-State was defrauded in the purchase of insurance for its

employee benefit plan. Various state law causes of action were

brought against Nationwide to remedy the wrong, but each cause

of action was held to be preempted, even though the face of the

Policy clearly states ‘‘SUBJECT TO THE LAWS OF THE

STATE IN WHICH IT IS DELIVERED.”’ Thus far Tri-State has

been left without either state or federal remedies against Nation-

wide to redress an obvious insurance fraud.

10

ARGUMENT

I. IMPORTANCE OF DECISION

A. Importance of Encouraging the Development and Con-

tinuation of Employer-Sponsored Benefit Plans and

Preventing Insurance Company Fraud.

It is very important for the Court to hear this appeal because

the matters at issue affect the societal and legislatively-expressed

interest in encouraging employers to sponsor health care benefits

for their employees.

This case is also immensely important because it affects the

enforceability of every state’s Unfair Trade Practices Act against

insurance companies in the sale of insurance products. Over 27

states have enacted an unfair trade practices act based on the

model act proposed by the National Association of Insurance

Commissioners.’ If this case is not heard, Nationwide and other

insurers can be expected to continue to engage in their fraudulent

business practices under the protection of the ERISA preemption

shield.

There is every reason to believe that the manipulation of

claims to generate increased premiums is a widespread practice

within the multi-billion dollar business* of providing insurance

products to fund ERISA welfare benefit plans (i.e., employer-

sponsored health care). Yet, to date, this Court has not had occa-

sion to address the effect of ERISA on regulating the sale of

insurance products by insurance companies to employers within

the context of employer-sponsored benefit plans.

7Douglas G. Houser, Unfair Claims Settlement Practices Act - How the

Courts Have Interpreted the Act, 15 The Forum 336 (1979).

*According to the Statistical Abstract of the United States 1994, Table No.

155, businesses paid $152.7 billion in private health insurance premiums in

1991.

1k

The end result of decisions like the one being appealed from

- decisions which broadly interpret the scope of ERISA preemp-

tion, yet narrowly construe the saving clause - is the opposite of

what Congress intended.

If an individual or a corporation bought insurance in West

Virginia and was victimized by the type of fraud Tri-State

alleges against Nationwide, those persons would have claims

under West Virginia’s Unfair Trade Practices Act for compensa-

tory and punitive damages. However, under the decisions issued

by the District Court and the Fourth Circuit in this case, an

employer who funds a benefit plan by purchasing an insurance

package from an insurance company is deprived of remedies

against an insurance company - remedies that any other pur-

chaser of insurance would possess. That result is wrong and will

have strong negative repercussions throughout the United States

because it allows insurance companies to raise the shield of

ERISA preemption and protect themselves not only against the

employee beneficiaries of a welfare plan, but against employers

who sponsor plans. Tri-State’s counterparts within the small! bus-

iness community will surely be apprised of Tri-State’s inability

to obtain redress against Nationwide’s fraud and will be unques-

tionably opposed to running the same risk.

The model unfair practices act is designed to force insur-

ance companies to conform to certain standards of conduct.

Likewise, states throughout the nation have developed other stat-

utory and common law remedies which vigorously protect pur-

chasers of insurance against insurance fraud. Under the rationale

of cases extending ERISA preemption to insurance fraud, these

state law protections are nonexistent whenever an insurance

product is purchased to fund an employee benefit plan. Yet, the

sale of and payment for insurance is surely not an area Congress

sought to preempt when ERISA was enacted. Indeed, Congress

12

specifically carved out of preemption, through the saving clause,

laws regulating the business of insurance.

Employers should be given every benefit and should be

extended the protection of state insurance laws where they

purchase insurance related to an ERISA employee benefit plan.

The purposes of ERISA are furthered if ERISA is interpreted to

limit the remedies of a participant against his employer, thereby

creating an incentive for the employer to provide health benefits

to its employees. However, if state-provided remedies are

stripped from an employer purchasing insurance for a plan, then

the Court has placed a serious burden on an employer providing

health benefits for its employees.

It is Tri-State’s contention that Congress intended to restrict

the displacement of state law to those areas with which ERISA is

directly concerned—i.e., primarily the operation and administra-

tion of plans, and to leave state law in place to the extent it does

not affect those core concerns.

The effect of the lower courts’ decisions in this case is that

insurance companies have no strong disincentive to manipulate

premium calculations to defraud employers in connection with

employer-sponsored health care. Nationwide and other compa-

nies in the insurance business are currently enjoying this wind-

fall and, as such, have no incentive to ferret out and alter the

fraudulent practices of their employees. This is especially signif-

icant when one considers that insurance companies process bil-

lions of dollars of claims per month from which employer-spon-

sored health care premiums are calculated.

B. Strong Concerns of Federalism are at Stake.

The effect of the Fourth Circuit’s decision and other deci-

sions like it is to take power from the States and give it to the

federal government.

13

It is well established that Congress can supplant state stat-

utes and common law with federal law, especially where an issue

of such importance as employee benefits is at stake. ERISA’s

preemption provisions are deliberately expansive, and designed

to establish pension plan regulation as exclusively a federal con-

cern. Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 498 U.S. 133, 138

(1990); Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 45-46

(1987).

However, it is equally clear that with the passage of ERISA,

Congress intended to retain in the States the ability to regulate

insurance companies and insurance practices. ‘‘We also must

presume that Congress did not intend to pre-empt areas of tradi-

tional regulation.’’ Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts,

471 U.S. 724, 740 (1985).

States have a keen interest in controlling and policing the

actions of insurance companies, and each state goes about it dif-

ferently. States like West Virginia have established an Insurance

Commission and have enacted detailed laws and regulations

regarding all aspects of insurance. West Virginia and other states

also devote substantial time, money and effort to protect their

citizens in their dealings with insurance companies. Indeed, in

virtually every state, employers comprise a huge segment of

those purchasing insurance.’

For courts such as the Fourth Circuit to interpret ERISA so

as to displace the bulk of state insurance laws as they might be

invoked by sponsors of employee benefit plans, is to .ob the

%Employers in West Virginia, for example, pay over $20 million per year

in accident and health insurance premiums. /992 Annual Report of the West

Virginia Insurance Commissioner. Insurance companies pay an insurance pre-

mium tax to the State of West Virginia when insurance is purchased by West

Virginia resident companies. The purpose of the premium tax is to help defray

the cost of the insurance commissioner, staff and regulating agencies to ‘‘regu-

late insurance.”’

os

States of a very large and important area of traditional state con-

cern. Such a broad reading of ERISA also unnecessarily and

improperly empowers insurance companies.

This case is not about paying claims to any care provider;

nor is this case about providing benefits to or for any participant

or beneficiary. This case is about one company (Nationwide)

breaching its contract with another company (Tri-State). It is

about the lower courts ignoring a contract which, as presented

and sold, clearly stated “‘Subject to the Laws of the State in

Which it is Delivered.’’ By stripping state law remedies from an

insurance purchaser, the lower courts have also taken from the

States their rights to protect employers or other purchasers of

insurance. This case is merely a billing dispute over the billing

procedures of one company to another company.

Insurance companies are not placed under an extra burden

by being required to comply with state laws relating to the sale

of insurance products for employee benefit plans. To the con-

trary, if the same type of policies as in question here are sold

outside the arena of employee benefits, insurance companies

must comply with state law (like West Virginia’s Unfair Trade

Practices Act). Similarly, insurance companies are required to

comply with the same state insurance laws in the sale of every

other type of insurance product. There is no good reason for

relieving insurance companies of such burden for the sale of

employee benefit plan policies.

Because federal courts throughout the country are tending

to expansively construe the scope of ERISA preemption and nar-

rowly construe the saving clause, the balance of power between

the States and the federal government is at stake. This is a con-

cern that has a very real effect on all States, and on all employers

and employees who choose to do business in any particular state.

It is an issue that strikes at the core of our federalism. As such,

this case presents questions of important public concern.

15

II. THE CIRCUITS ARE SPLIT AS TO THE TEST TO

BE USED IN DETERMINING THE SCOPE OF THE

‘“*RELATE TO”’ CLAUSE, THE “SAVING CLAUSE”’

AND THE “‘DEEMER CLAUSE”’ OF SECTION 514

OF ERISA

One of the primary goals of Congress in enacting ERISA

was to encourage the creation and continuation of employer-

sponsored employee benefit plans by defining, yet limiting, the

universe of claims and remedies that may be sought by plan ben-

eficiaries. Section 514 of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144, the broad

preemption provision, minimizes the burden upon plans and their

sponsors of complying with complex and conflicting state regu-

lations. State laws that ‘‘relate to any employee benefit plan’’ are

preempted. 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a).

At the same time Congress sought to preempt this area of

federal concern, Congress also expressly permitted the States to

continue to regulate insurance companies via Section

514(b)(2)(A) of ERISA (the ‘‘savirg clause’’), 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A) (** . . . nothing in this title shall be construed to

exempt or relieve any person from any law of any State which

regulates insurance ...°’). The ‘“deemer clause’’ of ERISA then

states that no employee benefit plan ‘‘shall be deemed to be an

insurance company or other insurer.’’ 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B)

(1988). Congress feared that if this provision were not added, an

employee benefit plan might, itself, be forced to follow a variety

of burdensome state insurance laws and regulations.

The foregoing three clauses in Section 514 of ERISA affect

the scope of ERISA preemption. A separate test has been devel-

oped for each clause, and the circuits are split in how they apply

the tests for each clause.

A. Judicial Construction of the ‘‘Relate To’’ Clause.

The circuits are split as to the proper construction of the

‘‘relate to’’ clause. The central question giving rise to the split is

16

whether ERISA preempts claims that relate in some manner to

ERISA plans, but for which ERISA provides no express remedy.

Some circuits have held that the ‘‘relate to’’ clause of

ERISA Section 514(a) is to be given a broad construction and,

consequently, that courts must create federal common law rights

and remedies to deal with such preempted claims. Other circuits

have come to a contrary conclusion, reasoning that although

ERISA broadly preempts all areas with which it is concerned,

the ‘‘relate to’’ clause should be narrowly construed when areas

of traditional state concern are at stake for which ERISA pro-

vides no remedies.

In the case in question, the Fourth Circuit held Tri-State’s

state law claims to be preempted, even though ERISA provides

no remedy for the claims alleged, and even though Tri-State, as a

non-fiduciary plan sponsor, apparently is not authorized to sue

under ERISA’s civil enforcement provisions.

In addition to the Fourth Circuit’s decision below, a case

decided by the Eleventh Circuit provides a good example of the

view that ERISA preempts all claims, even those not implicating

the rights of plan participants and beneficiaries. In First Nat'l

Life Ins. Co. v. Sunshine-Jr. Food Stores, Inc., 960 F.2d 1546

(11th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, US. , 113 S.Ct. 1045

(1993), an insurance company brought claims against an

employer for the employer’s failure to adhere to certain condi-

tions under which a group insurance policy was issued, such as

an alleged failure to maintain 75% employee participation in the

plan. The insurance served as an employer-sponsored benefit

plan. Although ERISA obviously has no express provisions or

remedies addressing such a dispute, the Eleventh Circuit found

that, because the claims ‘“‘related to’’ a plan, all state laws con-

cerning such a dispute were preempted. Consequently, any rem-

edy must be under ERISA or federal common law to fill the

**gaps’’ of ERISA.

17

The Fourth and Eleventh Circuits are not alone in being

unable to risk the temptation of expanding the scope of federal

law to areas of traditional state law concer. See, e.g., Consoli-

dated Beef Indus. v. New York Life Ins. Co., 949 F.2d 960, 964

(8th Cir. 1991), cert. denied, __ U.S. —_, 112 S.Ct. 1670

(1992) (employer has no remedy because its claim of misrepre-

sentation in the sale of an insurance program related to the plan

and was, therefore, preempted); Farlow v. Union Cent. Life Ins.

Co., 874 F.2d 791, 794 (11th Cir. 1989), (claims arising out of

misconduct in the sale of a plan are preempted, since ‘‘a state

law claim relates to a plan for preemption purposes as long as it

is not ‘wholly remote in content’’’); Washington Nat'l Ins. Co.

v. Hendricks, 855 F. Supp. 1542 (W.D. Wis. 1994) (where an

insurer sued an employer for unpaid premiums and the employer

counterclaimed for what it alleged to be the improper termina-

tion of an insurance policy, held that these actions related to an

ERISA plan and that courts were empowered to create causes of

action for breach of contract and similar state law theories under

ERISA).

Other circuits, in contradiction to the Fourth, Eighth and

Eleventh Circuits, have limited the preemptive effect of the

**relate to’’ provision to benefits administration and processing

issues. These courts hold that ERISA concerns itself only with

the rights of fiduciaries and beneficiaries in the administration of

a plan, recognizing that Congress did not intend to preempt the

application of state laws to what are essentially commercial

disputes.

For example, in Airparts Co., Inc. v. Custom Benefit Ser-

vices of Austin, Inc., 28 F.3d 1062 (10th Cir. 1994), an employer

who sponsored a plan brought claims of negligence and common

law fraud against a consultant to the employee benefit plan

administrators. The employer alleged that the consultant failed to

2a

diversity of citizenship and federal question, arguing that Tri-

State’s complaint is completely preempted by 29 U.S.C. § 1001

et seq., the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(‘‘ERISA’’). The Court subsequently denied Tri-State’s motion

for remand finding that diversity jurisdiction existed, but

declined to rule on the ERISA preemption issue.

Tri-State now moves for partial summary judgment on the

ERISA preemption issue. Nationwide claims that the preemption

issue cannot be determined by summary judgment, and moves to

have the motion stricken. In its answer, Nationwide asserts as its

first affirmative defense that Tri-State’s complaint is preempted

by ERISA. Tri-State now seeks a ruling by the Court that, as a

matter of law, its claims are not preempted by ERISA. Summary

judgment is an appropriate vehicle for such a ruling. Therefore,

Nationwide’s motion to strike is DENIED.

Proceeding to the merits of Tri-State’s motion, the com-

plaint clearly relates to an employee welfare benefit plan as

defined in ERISA § 1002(1)(A). Tri-State argues that Nation-

wide lacks standing to assert its preemption defense. Said argu-

ment is without merit. There is no requirement that a defendant

have standing to be sued.

Apparently, Tri-State seeks to circumvent preemption by

arguing that ERISA is designed to protect employees and benefi-

Ciaries; that it is not applicable to contracts between employers

and insurance companies. However, ERISA provides broad cov-

erage, including actions such as the one before the Court. Both

parties are definitely plan fiduciaries. As such, § 1132(a)(2) per-

mits Tri-State to maintain a § 1109 action against Nationwide.’

'Even if Tri-State was not a fiduciary, it would probably be able to main-

tain a suit against Nationwide under ERISA federal common law. See Plumbers

& Steamfitters Local Union No. 152 etc. v. Bland, 745 F. Supp. 1172

(N.D.W.Va. 1990).

3a

Therefore, under § 1144(a), ERISA preempts all of Tri-

State’s claims based upon West Virginia laws relating to the

health insurance plan upon which its complaint is based. See

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 111 S. Ct. 403 (1990); Metropolitan Life

Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1985); Thompson v.

Talquin Bldg. Products Co., 928 F.2d 649 (4th Cir. 1991); Pow-

ell v. Chesapeake & Potomac Tel. Co., 780 F.2d 419 (4th Cir.

1985).

Having so found general preemption, Tri-State argues that

its claims based upon the West Virginia Trade Practices act are

saved from preemption under § 1144(b)(2). This savings clause,

however, is limited by § 1144({b)(2)(B), also known as the

‘*deemer’’ clause. The deemer clause excludes self-funded bene-

fit plans from the savings clause. FMC Corp. v. Holliday, supra.

The plan involved herein is a self-funded plan. Therefore,

under the deemer clause, the plan cannot be regulated by the

West Virginia Trade Practices Act. The fact that Nationwide pro-

vides stop-loss coverage does not change this outcome. Thomp-

son v. Talquin Bldg. Products Co., supra. Also, the outcome is

not changed by the fact that Nationwide provides administrative

claims processing functions for Tri-State. Powell v. Chesapeake

& Potomac Tel. Co., supra.

Accordingly, the Court is of the opinion that plaintiff's

motion for partial summary judgment should be DENIED.

It is so ORDERED.

4a

The Clerk is directed to transmit certified copies of tnis

Memorandum Opinion and Order to counsel of record herein.

ENTER:

/s/ WILLIAM M. KIDD

WILLIAM M. KIDD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Filed September 23, 1991

Sa

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

ORDER FILED

February 27, 1992

TRI-STATE MACHINE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

Vs. CIVIL ACTION NO. 90-0027-W(K)

NATIONWIDE LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant.

ORDER

Currently pending is the plaintiff's motion for reconsidera-

tion or, in the alternative, for certification to the Fourth Circuit

Court of Appeals, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). Defendant

has filed its opposition to both motions.

In regard to the plaintiff's motion for reconsideration of the

Court’s Memorandum Opinion and Order, entered September

23, 1991, the Court finds that the plaintiff has cited no grounds

warranting reconsideration. The plaintiff’s action is completely

preempted by 29 U.S.C. § 1001 et seq., the Employee Retire-

ment Income Security Act of 1974 (‘‘ERISA’’). Therefore,

plaintiff's motion for reconsideration is DENIED.

In regard to plaintiff's motion for the Court to certify an

appeal of its Memorandum Opinion and Order to the Fourth Cir-

cuit pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), the Court is of the opinion

that its ruling does involve a controlling question of law as to

which there is substantial ground for difference of opinion and

that an immediate appeal may materially advance the ultimate

termination of this action. The Court agrees with the defendant

that certifications are the exception, not the rule. However, there

6a

is no doubt that the Court’s ruling on the question of law, in

effect, eliminates the plaintiff's case. Furthermore, as aptly cited

by the plaintiff, the ERISA preemption question ‘‘was caught up

in the ‘ERISA quicksand.’ ’’ The Court believes that the law is

not as clear as the defendant asserts and that there is substantial

ground for difference of opinion.

Accordingly, the Court is of the opinion that the plaintiff's

motion to certify an appeal of the Court’s Memorandum Opinion

and Order to the Fourth Circuit is hereby GRANTED. This find-

ing is made pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b) which grants appel-

late jurisdiction upon the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals which

may, in its discretion, permit an immediate appeal to be taken if,

within ten (10) days of entry of this Order, an application is

made. Furthermore, the Court hereby STAYS all further pro-

ceedings before the Court.

It is so ORDERED.

The Clerk is directed to transmit certified copies of this

Order to counsel of record herein.

ENTER:

/s/ WILLIAM M. KIDD

WILLIAM M. KIDD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

Ta

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

FILED

March 26, 1992

TRI-STATE MACHINE, INCORPORATED,

Petitioner

Vv. No. 92-8022

NATIONWIDE LIFE INSURANCE CA-90-00-27-W(K)

COMPANY, an Ohio Corporation

Respondent

ORDER

Petitioner has filed a petition for permission to appeal an

interlocutory order pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1292(b).

The Court denies the petition for permission to appeal.

Entered at the direction of Judge Niemeyer, with the con-

currence of Judge Hall and Judge Phillips.

For the Court,

/s/ JOHN M. GREACEN

Clerk

8a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

ORDER FILED

JULY 2, 1993

TRI-STATE MACHINE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

Vs. CIVIL ACTION NO. 90-0027-W(K)

NATIONWIDE LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Once again, the plaintiff Tri-State Machine, Inc. (‘‘Tri-

State’’) petitions the Court to reverse itself and provide a

favorable ruling that Tri-State’s complaint, which asserts only

state causes of actions against defendant Nationwide Life Insur-

ance Company (‘‘Nationwide’’), is not preempted by § 514 of

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(‘‘ERISA’’) as set forth at 29 U.S.C. § 1144. In pursuit of its

goal, Tri-State has filed a ‘*‘Conditional Motion for Entry of

Final Judgment under Rule 54(b) or, Alternatively, Motion for

Summary Judgment and Request for Entry of Final Judgment.’’!

Nationwide filed its opposition motion to which Tri-State

replied. In addition, Nationwide filed a motion for Rule 11 sanc-

tions which is opposed by Tri-State.

To put this matter in perspective, a brief review of the pro-

cedural history is in order. This action was originally filed in the

Circuit Court of Ohio County, West Virginia, on February 28,

'On the same date, Tri-State also filed a motion for leave to file an

amended complaint, a motion to compel, and a motion for oral argument. Said

motions have also been fully briefed.

9a

1990. On March 29, 1990, Nationwide removed it, basing juris-

diction on ERISA preemption as well as diversity of citizenship.

On April 24, 1990, Tri-State filed its motion for remand, which

included a twenty page brief arguing that there was no ERISA

preemption, and that diversity was lacking due to the direct

action exception found at 28 U.S.C. § 1332(C)(1). Finding the

direct action exception inapplicable and that diversity jurisdic-

tion existed, the Court denied the remand motion. The Court did

not rule on the preemption issue.

On April 24, 1991, Tri-State filed its motion for partial

summary judgment, with attached memorandum, seeking a rul-

ing that its complaint is not preempted by ERISA. On May 17,

1991, Nationwide filed its opposition brief, asserting that Tri-

State’s entire complaint is preempted by ERISA. Tri-State filed

no reply brief.2 By Memorandum Opinion and Order entered on

September 23, 1991, the Court denied Tri-State’s motion, hold-

ing that all of its state law claims were preempted by ERISA.’

On November 29, 1991, Tri-State filed its motion for recon-

sideration of the Court’s denial of its partial summary judgment

motion. Alternatively, Tri-State moved for certification pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b), should the Court not reconsider its prior

ruling. On December 16, 1991, Nationwide filed its opposition to

both motions. Again, Tri-State filed no reply brief. By Order

entered February 21, 1992, the Court denied Tri-State’s motion

for reconsideration, but granted its motion for certification. On

?Tri-State complains about Nationwide’s alleged misrepresentations of

facts and misleading of the Court in its opposition brief regarding the funding

of the insurance policy. If this in fact was the case, a reply brief was the proper

means to bring it to the Court’s attentions.

5Tri-State takes issue with the Court’s ruling in regard to the ‘‘savings’’

clause and ‘‘deemer’’ clause, found at 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2), claiming that

‘‘neither Plaintiff nor Defendant briefed that issue.’’ In its motion for partial

summary judgment, Tri-State specifically alleged as its second ground that ‘‘29

U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2) exempts the plaintiff's claim from ERISA.”’

10a

March 26, 1992, the Fourth Circuit Court of Appeals denied Tri-

State’s petition for permission to appeal.

On April 7, 1992, Tri-State filed its motion to vacate and

reenter order of certification, asserting that the Fourth Circuit

denied the petition because it was not timely filed. On April 23,

1992, Nationwide filed its opposition brief. Tri-State’s reply

brief was filed on May 7, 1992. By Order entered June 16, 1992,

the Court denied Tri-State’s motion, finding that the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s denial was most likely upon the merits since untimeliness

could easily have been remedied if the Fourth Circuit had so

desired. The Court also ordered Tri-State to indicate whether it

intended to pursue an ERISA claim. By notice filed July 9, 1992,

Tri-State informed the Court that it intended to pursue this action

under ERISA. However, to date, there has been no effort by Tri-

State to amend its complaint to state a cause of action under

ERISA.

Instead, Tri-State has filed the motion currently before the

Court, as well as a motion for leave to amend two paragraphs of

its complaint, with the specific design to avoid ERISA preemp-

tion and proceed on the state law claims asserted in its com-

plaint.* Specifically, Tri-State asserts that the Court erred by

finding the ‘‘deemer’’ clause* applicable and that Tri-State was a

fiduciary under ERISA. However, neither of these contentions is

material to a finding of complete preemption under ERISA.

The Rule 54(b) motion merits little discussion. The Court

has not dismissed any claims asserted by Tri-State. The Court

‘Specifically, Tri-State seeks to amend its complaint to allege that the

group insurance policy was not self-funded, in furtherance of its attempt to

avoid preemption. Tri-State makes no effort to also add an ERISA claim to its

complaint.

SThe ‘‘deemer’’ clause is found at § 406(b)(2)(B) [sic] of ERISA, 29

U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B). The ‘‘savings’’ clause is found at § 406(b)(2)(A) [sic]

of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A).

lla

denied Tri-State’s partial summary judgment motion. Therefore,

there is nothing to enter partial judgment upon. The proper

mechanism for review of this decision was certification, which

the Fourth Circuit dtutied. Accordingly, Tri-State’s Rule 54(b)

motion is DENIED.

Preemption under ERISA is ‘‘conspicuous for its breadth.’’

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 111 S. Ct. 403, 407 (1990).

If the state cause of action ‘‘relates to’’ an employee welfare

benefit plan, it is preempted. See Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClen-

don, 498 U.S. 133, 111 S. Ct. 478 (1990). Tri-State concedes:

“It is clear that the employee benefit plan sponsored by Plaintiff

is an ‘employee welfare benefit plan’ for purposes of ERISA.”’

Furthermore, as stated in its memorandum of law in support of

motion to remand, filed on April 24, 1990, Tri-State character-

ized its complaint as follows:

... Specifically, it is alleged that defendant breached its

duties to administer the benefits program and failed to

determine what claims should be paid or what claims

Should not be paid. It is alleged that defendant failed to

timely process claims with the intent of imposing liability

on plaintiff under the stop-loss provisions of the plan, and

' that defendant deliberately mismanaged the contract. It is

alleged that defendant breached its fiduciary duty to plain-

tiff and that defendant breached the implied covenants of

good faith and fair dealing. It is also alleged that defendant

misrepresented pertinent facts of the insurance policy and

committed the common law and statutory offense of ‘‘insur-

ance bad faith.’’ Further, it is alleged that defendant’s

actions violated the applicable law of the State of West Vir-

ginia, including the rules and regulations of the Insurance

Commissioner of the State of West Virginia and, more spe-

cifically, Series XV-V-1981, Unfair Trade Practices, relat-

ing to deceptive and unfair trade practices.

12a

However, it is plaintiff's contention that its claim is

based entirely and solely upon state law and does not

invoke ERISA original jurisdiction.

More than three years later, Tri-State’s position has not changed.

In its reply brief, filed on May 20, 1993, Tri-State states: ‘‘In our

case, Plaintiff, as an insurance purchaser, is seeking damages for

fraudulent conduct under an insurance contract.’”’ It is inconceiv-

able to the Court how Tri-State can continue to argue that its

complaint for improper plan administration does not relate to the

employee welfare benefit plan alleged to have been improperly

administered by Nationwide. See Diduck v. Kaszycki & Sons

Contractors, Inc., 974 F.2d 270, 288 (2nd Cir. 1992) (‘‘The

fraud alleged ‘relates to’ an ERISA-regulated employee benefit

plan because it concerns the conduct of a fiduciary and third par-

ties in relation to the plan.’’); Consolidated Beef Industries, Inc.

v. New York Life Ins. Co., 949 F.2d 960, 963 (8th Cir. 1991)

(‘‘Given ERISA’s broad pre-emption provision, state law claims

for improper plan administration are pre-empted.’’); Howard v.

Parisian, Inc., 807 F.2d 1560, 1564 (11th Cir. 1897) [sic]

(‘‘However, if a state law claim arises out of the administration

of benefits under a plan, the claim is preempted’’).

The fact that Tri-State claims that it is not a fiduciary is

immaterial to preemption. Although the Court has no doubt that

Tri-State is a fiduciary, and has so found, if it were not, it would

still be able to pursue a federal common law ERISA remedy

under Provident Life & Acci. Ins. Co. v. Waller, 906 F.2d 985

(4th Cir. 1990). See Whitworth Bros. Storage Co. v. Central

States, Southeast & Southwest Areas Pension Fund, 794 F.2d

221 (6th Cir. 1986). Accordingly, as a matter of law, the Court

holds that all of the claims asserted in Tri-State’s complaint

relate to the employees welfare benefit plan.

Tri-State’s final argument is that the ‘‘deemer’’ clause is

inapplicable and that the ‘‘savings’’ clause would not exempt its

13a

claims from ERISA preemption. Even if the Court were to

reverse its finding that Tri-State was self-funding, and hold that

the ‘‘deemer’’ clause was inapplicable, all of Tri-State’s claims

would still be preempted. The ‘‘savings’’ clause only applies to

state laws that ‘‘regulate insurance.’’ Whether a state law regu-

lates insurance is a question of federal law. Federal courts have

consistently held that ‘‘bad faith’’ claims as well as *‘deceptive

and unfair trade practices’’ claims, whether based upon statute or

common law, are not laws that regulate insurance.

In order for a state law to regulate insurance it must have

the effect of ‘‘spreading and underwriting of a policyholders’

[sic] risk.’” Powell v. Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co.,

780 F.2d 419, 423 (1985). The state laws asserted by Tri-State

against Nationwide do not do so. The state laws asserted do not

regulate the type of insurance contract which could be issued,

nor mandate any benefits which must be included in the insur-

ance contract. Simply put, the state laws do not regulate insur-

ance within the meaning of the ‘‘savings’’ clause. See Metropoli-

tan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1985); Stuart

Circle Hospital Corp. v. Aetna Health Management, —_— F.2d

___. (4th Cir. June 2, 1993); Hogan v. Kraft Foods, 969 F.2d

142, 145 (Sth Cir. 1992); International Resources, Inc. v. New

York Life Ins. Co., 950 F.2d 294 (6th Cir. 1991). Accordingly,

the ‘‘savings’’ clause is inapplicable.

Therefore, it is still the opinion of the Court that § 406 [sic]

of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), preempts all of Tri-State’s

claims asserted in its complaint. In that this issue has been

repeatedly and exhaustively briefed, in that Tri-State has fully

defended and has presented all material pertinent to its claim,

and since Tri-State has failed to seek leave to amend its com-

plaint to assert an ERISA claim, the Court hereby GRANTS

14a

summary judgment sua sponte for Nationwide, and hereby DIS-

MISSES this action. See Pension Ben. Guaranty Corporation v.

Mize Co., 987 F.2d 1059, 1061 (4th Cir. 1993); Portsmouth

Square, Inc. v. Shareholders Protective Committee, 770 F.2d

866, 869 (9th Cir. 1985) (‘‘For example, sua sponte summary

judgment is appropriate where one party moves for summary

judgment and, after hearing, it appears from all the evidence

presented that there is no genuine issue of material fact and the

non-moving party is entitled to judgment as a matter of law.’’).

In light of the Court’s ruling herein, all remaining motions are

DENIED.

It is so ORDERED.

Judgment shall be entered accordingly, and this action shall

be dismissed and removed from the docket of the Court.

The Clerk is directed to transmit certified copies of this

Memorandum Opinion and Order to counsel of record herein.

ENTER: July 2, 1993

/s/ WILLIAM M. KIDD

WILLIAM M. KIDD

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

‘In essence, by granting summary judgment against Tri-State, the Court

has made possible the appeal Tri-State sought in its Rule 54(b) motion.

15a

PUBLISHED

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

Tri-State Machine, Incorporated,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v. No. 93-1971

Nationwide Life Insurance Company,

Defendant-Appellee.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of West Virginia, at Elkins.

William M. Kidd, Senior District Judge.

(CA-90-27-W-K)

Argued: March 9, 1994

Decided: August 31, 1994

Before NIEMEYER and LUTTIG, Circuit Judges,

and PHILLIPS, Senior Circuit Judge.

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Niemeyer wrote the opin-

ion, in which Senior Judge Phillips joined. Judge Luttig wrote a

separate dissenting opinion.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: David B. Fawcett, II], BUCHANAN INGERSOLL

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania,

for Appellant. Gregory Darwin Port, CHORPENNING, GOOD

& MANCUSO CO., L.P.A., Columbus, Ohio, for Appellee. ON

BRIEF: James W. Forsyth, BUCHANAN INGERSOLL PRO-

FESSIONAL CORPORATION, Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania; Ray

A. Byrd, SCHRADER, RECHT, BYRD, BYRUM & COMPAN-

ION, Wheeling, West Virginia, for Appellant. Philip F. Brown,

CHORPENNING, GOOD & MANCUSO CO., L.P.A., Colum-

bus, Ohio, for Appellee.

18

give timely advice, improperly calculated pension benefits, pro-

posed and drafted a useless plan amendment, and deliberately

concealed the cost of the amendment and its eventual useless-

ness. The Tenth Circuit recognized that claims obviously having

some relationship to an ERISA plan did not ‘‘relate to an ERISA

plan’’ within the meaning of ERISA’s preemption provision:

[It] is clear that the state law claims here do not relate to an

ERISA plan. The state laws involved do not regulate the

type of benefits or terms of the plan; they do not create

reporting, disclosure, funding, or vesting requirements for

the plan; they do not affect the calculation of benefits; and

they are not common law rules designed to rectify faulty

plan administration. (Citation omitted.) Similarly, plaintiffs

are not employees resorting to state law to avail themselves

of an alternative cause of action to collect benefits...

Id. at 1065.

Other circuits addressing the scope of the ‘‘relate to’’ clause

align themselves with the Tenth Circuit in Airparts. See, e.g.,

Perkins v. Time Ins. Co., 898 F.2d 470, 473 (Sth Cir. 1990)

(ERISA did not preempt an employee’s claim against insurance

agents for fraudulently misrepresenting a plan’s coverage); Perry

v. P*I*E Nationwide, Inc., 872 F.2d 157 (6th Cir. 1989) (misrep-

resentation of the terms of a plan to induce participation was not

preempted when Congress has not provided a remedy for the

wrong and the employees’ claims do not relate to any plan bene-

fit), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1093 (1990); Aetna Life Ins. Co. v.

Borges, 869 F.2d 142, 146-47 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S.

811 (1989) (‘‘What triggers ERISA preemption is not just any

indirect effect on administrative procedures but rather an effect

on the primary administrative functions of benefit plans, such as

determining an employee’s eligibility for a benefit and the

amount of that benefit.’’); Monarch Cement Co. v. Lone Star

Indus., 982 F.2d 1448, 1452 (10th Cir. 1992), citing Aetna Life,

19

supra, (*‘[L]aws that have been ruled preempted are those that

provide an alternative cause of action to employees to collect

benefits protected by ERISA, refer specifically to ERISA plans

and apply solely to them, or interfere with the calculation of ben-

efits owed to an employee. Those that have not been preempted

are laws of general application—often traditional exercises of

State power or regulatory authority—whose effect on ERISA

plans is incidental.’’); Martori Bros. Distributors v. James-

Massengale, 781 F.2d 1349, 1356-57, (9th Cir.) (state law claims

are not preempted unless they fall into one of four categories -

‘*First, laws that regulate the type of benefits or terms of ERISA

plans. Second, laws that create reporting, disclosure, funding, or

vesting requirements for ERISA plans. Third, laws that provide

rules for the calculation of the amount of benefits to be paid

under ERISA plans. Fourth, laws and common-law rules that

provide remedies for misconduct growing out of the administra-

tion of the ERISA plan.’’ (citations omitted.)), amended, 791

F.2d 799, cert. denied, 479 U.S. 949 (1986); Rebaldo v. Cuomo,

749 F.2d 133, 139 (2d Cir. 1984) (where a state law does not

affect the structure, the administration, or the type of benefits

provided by an ERISA plan, the mere fact that the [law] has

some economic impact on the plan does not require that the

[law] be invalidated.’’), cert. denied, 472 U.S. 1008 (1985); See

also DiPietro-Kay Corp. v. Interactive Benefits Corp., 825 F.

Supp. 459 (D. Conn. 1993) (employer’s claims against insurer

for negligence, misrepresentation and violation of Connecticut

Unfair Trade Practices Act were not preempted by ERISA).

The denial of certiorari for circuit court cases on both sides

of the diverging authority has only increased the uncertainty of

the analysis being applied by the lower courts. The Supreme

Court now has the opportunity to clear up this confusion after

many circuits have considered the issue, with differing results.

——

20

ERISA Section 502(a) has been construed by courts to limit

the remedies available to those expressly enumerated.'° ERISA

itself also provides no express remedies at all for a plan sponsor

such as Tri-State - a further indication that Congress did not

intend for preemption to apply to the sale of insurance.'' Thus,

section 502(a) provides civil remedies to a limited group of per-

sons—namely, plan participants, beneficiaries and fiduciaries—

and defines a limited number of categories of claims that may be

asserted.

Importantly, the circuits are generally following this Court’s

holding'* that remedies under ERISA are in fact limited to plan

beneficiaries, participants or fiduciaries. See, e.g., Hermann Hos-

pital v. MEBA Medical & Benefits Plan, 845 F.2d 1286, 1288-89

(Sth Cir. 1988) (‘‘Where Congress has defined the parties who

may bring a civil action founded on ERISA, we are loathe to

ignore the legislature’s specificity.’’); Pressroom Unions-Print-

ers League Income Sec. Fund v. Continental Assurance Co., 700

F.2d 889, 892 (2d Cir.) (‘‘legislature [did not]intend . . . to grant

subject matter jurisdiction over suits by employers, funds, or

other parties not listed in § 1132(a)...’’), cert. dismissed, 464

'°Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41, 54 (1987) (‘‘The deliberate

care with which ERISA’s civil enforcement remedies were drafted and the bal-

ancing of policies embodied in its choice of remedies argue strongly for the

conclusion that ERISA’s civil enforcement remedies were intended to be

exclusive.’’).

‘'In general, ERISA’s civil enforcement provision grants plan participants

and beneficiaries the right to bring a private action to recover benefits under a

plan; to enforce ERISA’s plan disclosure, funding, and administrative require-

ments; and to obtain ‘‘appropriate relief’’ for breach of fiduciary duty by an

ERISA plan administrator or other person who exercises discretionary control

or authority over the plan or its assets. See 29 U.S.C. § 1132(a).

'2In Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construction Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S.

1 (1983), this Court stated that ‘‘[t]he express grant of federal jurisdiction in

ERISA is limited to suits brought by certain parties... as to whom Congress

presumably determined that a right to enter a federal court was necessary to

further the statute’s purposes.’’ /d. at 21.

21

U.S. 845 (1983); Whitworth Bros. Storage Co. v. Cent. States

Pension Fund, 794 F.2d 221, 228 (6th Cir.) (employer could not

maintain suit under ERISA because ‘‘Congress intended to limit

the parties who could maintain actions pursuant to [ERISA] sec-

tion 502, [and] that section 502 is an exclusive grant of jurisdic-

tion.’’), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1007 (1986).

Thus, the Fourth Circuit has found that ERISA preempts

Tri-State’s state law claims notwithstanding the fact that Tri-

State is not authorized by ERISA to institute an action and

despite the fact that ERISA contains no remedial provisions

addressing the fraud or bad faith of an insurance company vis-a-

vis an employer/plan sponsor.

Again, there is no question that the scope of ERISA pre-

emption is broad. Also, there is a sound basis for courts to hold

that the saving clause of ERISA does not permit plan partici-

pants and beneficiaries from grafting state insurance law rights

and remedies onto ERISA, since ERISA strikes a delicate bal-

ance between the interest of participants versus the societal inter-

est in encouraging employers to create plans. But while ERISA

has detailed provisions regarding the rights and remedies of plan

beneficiaries and participants, ERISA does not have express pro-

visions providing remedies for employers who are non-fiduciary

plan sponsors.

The Court is now presented with the opportunity to stop the

unnecessary expansion of federal common law by courts like the

Fourth, Eighth and Eleventh Circuits. The ‘‘relate to’’ clause is

properly viewed expansively when Section 502(a) enumerated

parties institute suit, because ERISA provides a remedy to such

parties. However, as illustrated by the Second, Fifth, Sixth, Ninth

and Tenth Circuit cases discussed above, the ‘‘relate to’’ clause

should not be viewed expansively when non-enumerated parties

such as Tri-State, a non-fiduciary plan sponsor, institute suit.

22

Because ERISA does not provide a remedy for misrepresen-

tation or other fraudulent acts committed in connection with the

sale of insurance and the computation of insurance premiums,

this case gives rise to the issues of whether the dispute ‘‘relates

to’’ an ERISA plan in the first instance and whether it is appro-

priate for courts to create federal common law to replace state

law governing disputes not addressed by ERISA. Similarly, this

case gives rise to the analogous issue of whether actions can be

brought by parties not identified in ERISA Section 502(4) (i.e.,

plan sponsors who are not participants, beneficiaries or fiducia-

ries) and, if so, whether such actions must be pursued under

ERISA, federal common law or under state law.

These are important issues that have important ramifica-

tions for all employers who provide welfare benefits to their

employees through the purchase of insurance, who are consider-

ing doing so, or who may be forced to do so if employer-benefits

are mandated.

B. Judicial Construction of the ‘‘Saving Clause’’.

The conflicting interests in allowing states to regulate areas

of traditional state law concern versus the need for exclusive fed-

eral regulation of employee benefits comes to a head in constru-

ing the saving clause of ERISA’s preemption provision. Follow-

ing this Court’s lead in Pilot Life, it appears to be well accepted

in all of the circuits that claims asserted by participants or bene-

ficiaries under state law, even state insurance law, are preempted

because inevitably they strike at the core concern of ERISA - to

provide a uniform and limited remedial scheme. On the other

hand, where claims are asserted by persons other than partici-

pants or beneficiaries, such as in the case at bar, the courts are

split.

23

In cases involving beneficiaries seeking to invoke state

insurance laws to enhance their remedies, this Court has sug-

gested looking, first, to the common sense understanding of the

term ‘‘regulates insurance’’ and, second, to the McCarran-

Ferguson Act test to determine whether the law regulates the

business of insurance. See, e.g., Metropolitan Life, supra, and

Pilot Life, supra.'* In Pilot Life, this Court found that bad faith

insurance claims asserted by a plan participant are not insurance

regulations of the type that Congress intended to save. Although

this Court obviously intended the McCarran-Ferguson Act test to

assist courts in distinguishing core insurance concerns from rem-

edies that conflict with the interests embodied by ERISA, the test

is not well-suited for addressing the application of preemption to

parties not enumerated in ERISA Section 502(a) and has been

used to severely limit the scope of the saving clause. Conse-

quently, preemption has been extended into areas not addressed

by ERISA.

For example, in the case at bar, the Fourth Circuit perfunc-

torily applied the McCarran-Ferguson test (without first consid-

ering the common sense test) and reached the conclusion that

Congress intended to displace state law that would otherwise

provide an employer with remedies against an insurance com-

pany from whom the employer purchased insurance.

On the other hand, where an employer brought suit against

an insurance company for failing to ensure that a policy con-

formed to the requirements of state law, the Sixth Circuit ruled

In Metropolitan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724 (1985),

this Court referenced a test developed under the McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15

U.S.C. § 1011 et seq., to guide courts in determining whether state laws regu-

late insurance: ‘‘first, whether the practice has the effect of transferring or

spreading a policyholder’s risk; second, whether the practice is an integral part

of the policy relationship between the insurer and the insured; and third,

whether the practice is limited to entities within the insurance industry.’’ /d. at

743 (quoting Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119, 129 (1982)).

24

that pertinent state insurance law was saved from preemption

because state insurance law applied to insurance policies pur-

chased by ERISA plans. Int’l Resources, Inc. v. New York Life

Ins. Co., 950 F.2d 294, 300 (6th Cir.), cert. denied, _. U.S.

—, 112 S.Ct. 2941 (1992).

The Fourth Circuit’s ruling in the case at bar is in direct

conflict with the Sixth Circuit and is typical of the collective fail-

ure of the lower courts to scrutinize this Court’s guidance. See

FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 64 (1990) (‘‘the saving

clause retains the independent effect of protecting state insurance

regulation of insurance contracts purchased by employee benefit

plans.’’)

C. Judicial Construction of the ‘‘Deemer Clause.’’

The saving clause states that ‘‘any law of any State which

regulates insurance, banking, or securities’’ is saved from

ERISA preemption. ERISA Section 514(b)(2)(A). The deemer

clause limits the effect of the saving clause and states that no

employee benefit plan ‘‘shall be deemed to be an insurance com-

pany or other insurer... or... engaged in the business of insur-

ance ... for purposes of any law of any state purporting to regu-

late insurance companies [or] insurance contracts.’’ ERISA

Section 514(b)(2)(B).

The deemer clause has been interpreted by the Supreme

Court to exempt ‘‘ERISA plans from state laws that ‘regulat[e]

insurance’ within the meaning of the saving clause.’’ FMC Corp.

v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 61 (1990).

State laws that directly regulate insurance are ‘‘saved’’ but

do not reach self-funded employee benefit plans because the

plans may not be deemed to be insurance companies, other

25

insurers, or engaged in the business of insurance for pur-

poses of such state laws. On the other hand, employee bene-

fit plans that are insured are subject to indirect state insur-

ance regulation. An insurance company that insures a plan

remains an insurer for purposes of state laws ‘‘purporting to

regulate insurance’ after application of the deemer clause.

The insurance company is therefore not relieved from state

insurance regulation. The ERISA plan is consequently

bound by state insurance regulations insofar as they apply

to the plan’s insurer.

Id. (emphasis added). If the foregoing statements were not suffi-

ciently clear, this Court concluded its analysis in FMC Corp. by

stating that ‘‘[oJur interpretation of the deemer clause makes

clear that if a plan is insured, a State may regulate it indirectly

through regulation of its insurer and its insurer's insurance con-

tracts; if the plan is uninsured, the State may not regulate it.’’ /d.

at 64 (emphasis added).

This guidance from the Court provides two important dic-

tates that are not being followed by the lower courts throughout

the United States. First, lower courts should not extend deemer

clause protection to insurance companies. Clearly, the deemer

clause prohibits plans from being deemed insurers or engaged in

the business of insurance. Obviously, insurance companies are

insurers and ought to be governed by state insurance law.

Second, the lower courts are ignoring the Court's mandate

that only self-funded plans escape state insurance regulation. The

common sense concept of a self-funded plan is a plan that con-

tains no insurance. Lower courts and the Fourth Circuit, in par-

ticular, however, are extending application of the deemer clause

to plans having insurance.

26

1. Erroneous application to insurance companies.

Although the deemer clause is obviously intended to relieve

employee benefit plans from state insurance laws, the clause has

been used by insurance companies to avoid the application of

state insurance laws to the sale of their insurance policies.

Nationwide sold an insurance policy to Tri-State. As noted by

Judge Luttig in his dissenting opinion in this case, the sale of the

insurance policy and the computation of premiums due were

clearly not made by the Tri-State benefit plan. It is plain that Tri-

State is seeking to hold Nationwide, not the benefit plan,

accountable for Nationwide’s fraudulent conduct in violation of

West Virginia’s insurance laws. Tri-State is not seeking to deem

the Tri-State benefit plan to be an insurance company.

Nevertheless, the Fourth Circuit majority found, from a

review of the plan documents, that Tri-State’s benefit plan was

‘*a self-funded one for the most part... Accordingly, the district

court correctly held that the plan was self-funded and that the

Deemer Clause of ERISA would also apply to preempt Tri-

State’s claims.’’ Tri-State Machine, Inc. v. Nationwide Life Ins.

Co., 33 F.3d 309, 315 (4th Cir. 1994). Having incorrectly con-

cluded that the plan was self-funded, the Fourth Circuit ruled

that the deemer clause applied without considering the identity

of the defendant—an insurer. This case presents the Court with

the opportunity to clarify application of the deemer clause by

holding that plan sponsors asserting premium-related causes of

action are not seeking to hold the employee benefit plan account-

able for a breach of state insurance law (consequently, the

deemer clause is completely inapplicable).

Consistent with FMC Corp., Tri-State is seeking to enforce

state insurance regulation of Nationwide, not the Tri-State bene-

fit plan. FMC Corp. permits state regulation of companies that

insure ERISA plans. The deemer clause relieves ERISA benefit

27

plans—both insured and uninsured plans—from direct state reg-

ulation. The deemer clause does not relieve the plan’s insurer

from regulation by state law.

2. What is a self-funded plan?

Notwithstanding this Court’s decision in FMC Corp., the

circuits are split as to when a plan is ‘‘self-funded’’ so as to trig-

ger application of the deemer clause. Some courts have recog-

nized that the deemer clause should be narrowly construed so

that employers who transfer risk to insurance companies for the

purpose of limiting their own exposure may be protected by state

insurance laws. These cases recognize that a self-funded plan, by

definition, is not insured.

Another line of cases, however, has broadly construed the

deemer clause to mean that an employer who retains some risk

through a partially funded plan is precluded from invoking state

insurance laws. In particular, the Fourth Circuit, as discussed

below, views a self-funded plan as a plan that receives some

claims reimbursement from the employer (through increased pre-

mium obligations).

The issue which must be decided then, and which is of huge

importance to all insurance companies and all employers who

sponsor health care plans, is whether insurance companies are

exempt from state insurance laws where an employer funds some

portion of the health care plan. It is Tri-State’s contention that

this area of law desperately needs a bright line rule stating that

insurance companies are subject to state insurance laws in all sit-

uations where they are insuring employers against any risk in

connection with the sponsorship of an ERISA plan.

The Fourth Circuit has twice applied the deemer clause to

plans that were insured. In the instant case, the court reviewed

the plan documents and found that Tri-State’s benefit plan was _

‘ta self-funded one for the most part’’ and applied the deemer

28

clause to prevent the ‘‘saving’’ of any state law causes of action.

Tri-State Machine, 33 F.3d at 315 (emphasis added). As

explained in the Statement of the Case herein, Nationwide pro-

vided insurance to Tri-State and was liable for all claims over

specified dollar amounts.

Also, in Hampton Industries, Inc. v. Sparrow, 981 F.2d 726

(4th Cir. 1992), the Fourth Circuit applied the deemer clause to a

plan that was merely responsible for claims up to $60,000 per

year/per employee. The employer purchased insurance from

Blue Cross/Blue Shield which required Blue Cross/Blue Shield

to pay for any claims over the self-funded amount. /d. at 727,

n.1. In the insurance industry, this arrangement is known as

‘*stop loss’’ insurance.

Other circuits, in contradiction to the Fourth Circuit, recog-

nize that the presence of insurance ipso facto negates the possi-

bility that a plan is self-funded. In Northern Group Services, Inc.

v. Auto Owners Ins. Co., 833 F.2d 85 (6th Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 486 U.S. 1017 (1988), the Sixth Circuit was faced with

determining whether certain employee benefit plans were self-

insured. Without deciding whether the insured party was the

employee benefit plan or the employer, the court noted that

insurance proceeds would be payable only when claims

exceeded specified ceilings. Consequently, the particular

employee benefit plan at issue was not self-insured. Jd. at 91.'*

‘Northern Group was later limited in its holding. In Lincoln Mut. Casu-

alty Co. v. Lectron Products, Inc. Employee Health Plan, 970 F.2d 206 (6th

Cir. 1992), the Sixth Circuit ruled that a self-funded benefit plan which pur-

chased stop loss insurance to cover its own catastrophic losses remained a self-

funded plan. Lincoln Mutual did not involve an employer’s purchase of insur-

ance as does the case at bar.

29

This area of law begs for guidance recognizing that employ-

ers who purchase an insurance contract to fund an employee ben-

efit plan may require the insurance company to comply with the

dictates of state insurance law.

CONCLUSION

The implications of the matters at issue in this-appeal are

expansive, especially in this age of calls for health care reform

and demands for employer-sponsored health care. Tri-State bar-

gained for insurance to shift its risk and burden of providing

health care benefits. What it received in return was insurance

fraud.

The plain language of ERISA indicates that it was not

designed to protect insurance companies from complying with

insurance regulations, and most certainly not from breach of con-

tract and tort claims arising out of fraudulent billing practices

unrelated to benefits administration.

There are several reasons why the issues in this lawsuit

merit the attention of the Supreme Court, especially at this point

in time. First, a trend has swept the country’s courts, developed

from the early preemption cases decided by this Court, to inter-

pret the force of ERISA preemption more and more broadly so

as to cover transactions and parties that Congress never intended.

Second, the analysis performed to determine the breadth of

ERISA’s preemptive effect needs to be retooled. Presently the

‘relates to’’ analysis is not a test at all, because it knows no

bounds. Third, the saving and deemer clause analysis has been

modeled after an old insurance law standard that has simply not

been workable or meaningful outside of the beneficiary or par-

ticipant context of preemption analysis. The net effect of this is

to gut state insurance laws as they may apply to employer-

sponsored health coverage.

30

Finally, and most importantly, the strong interest in having

employers create and continue ERISA welfare plans has been

undermined by the misapplication of preemption analysis. When |

employers should be encouraged to create plans by, for example,

buying health insurance for their workers, they are actually dis-

couraged from doing so by the present interpretation of ERISA

which permits insurance companies to sell insurance policies to

employers without accountability under state insurance laws.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ DAVID B. FAWCETT, III

DAVID B. FAWCETT, III

JAMES W. FORSYTH

BUCHANAN INGERSOLL

PROFESSIONAL CORPORATION

56th Floor, 600 Grant Street

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

(412) 562-393 1/3935

Attorneys for Petitioner,

Tri-State Machine, Inc.

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF WEST VIRGINIA

ORDER FILED

SEPTEMBER 23, 1991

TRI-STATE MACHINE, INC.,

Plaintiff,

Vs. CIVIL ACTION NO 90-0027-W(K)

NATIONWIDE LIFE INSURANCE

COMPANY,

Defendant.

MEMORANDUM OPINION AND ORDER

Currently pending is the plaintiff's motion for partial sum-

mary judgment. Defendant has filed its opposition, as well as a

motion to strike plaintiff's motion. No reply has been filed by the

plaintiff. Said matters are now ripe for disposition.

The material facts underlying this matter are not in dispute.

From November of 1983 through July of 1987, Tri-State

Machine, Inc. (‘‘Tri-State’’) contracted with Nationwide Life

Insurance Company (‘‘Nationwide’’) for group health insurance

for Tri-State’s employees. After July of 1987, Tri-State became

self-insured for health benefits to its employees, with Nation-

wide providing stop-loss insurance as well as providing adminis-

trative claims processing functions. During July of 1989, the

relationship between the parties terminated.

Tri-State then commenced this civil action in state court

against Nationwide asserting common law breach of contract

claims and statutory claims under West Virginia law. Nation-

wide removed the action to this Court, basing jurisdiction upon

l6a

OPINION

NIEMEYER, Circuit Judge:

We are presented with the issue of whether the Employee

Retirement Income Security Act of 1974 (‘‘ERISA’’), 29 U.S.C.

§ 1001, et seg., preempts state law claims of Tri-State Machine,

Inc., for improper claims processing and mismanagement against

Nationwide Life Insurance Company. Nationwide Life issued

and administered a group insurance policy to provide health care

benefits for Tri-State’s employees under an employee benefit

plan. The district court ruled that Tri-State’s state law claims

were preempted by ERISA and, upon Tri-State’s failure to

amend its complaint to state a claim under ERISA, dismissed the

action. Tri-State contends on appeal that it is a ‘‘mere pur-

chaser’ of insurance and that its claims against Nationwide Life

are not preempted by ERISA because they do not ‘‘relate to’’ an

employee benefit plan. Tri-State also contends that its claims are

based on state laws regulating insurance, which are saved from

preemption under § 514(b)(2)(A) of ERISA. For the reasons that

follow, we conclude that the district court properly held that all

of Tri-State’s state law claims are preempted by ERISA and

affirm.

I

The employee benefit plan of Tri-State Machine, Inc., pro-

vides medical, disability, dental, and death benefits to Tri-State

employees and their beneficiaries. The terms of the plan give

participants notice that the plan is governed by ERISA and that

they are entitled to certain rights and protections under ERISA.

Until 1989, the plan was insured and administered by Nation-

wide Life Insurance Company under a group policy and under a

Cash Priority Plan Funding Agreement between Nationwide Life

and Tri-State. Under the agreement, claims for benefits were

self-funded by Tri-State up to a $25,000 limit for each employee

17a

for each year, beyond which Nationwide Life agreed to pay

claims under stop-loss insurance. All claims by employees were

to be submitted to Nationwide Life, who reserved the right to

determine whether the claims were payable. Nationwide Life

provided monthly reports to Tri-State detailing Tri-State’s liabil-

ity under the agreement. Nationwide Life entered into a subcon-

tract with First Benefits Agency, Inc., to administer the plan.

Effective July 1, 1989, Nationwide Life terminated its

arrangements with Tri-State. Alleging that Nationwide Life mis-

managed and improperly carried out its claims processing

responsibilities under the policy and agreement, Tri-State filed

suit in the West Virginia Circuit Court of Ohio County in Febru-

ary 1990, alleging breach of contract, breach of implied cove-

nants of good faith and fair dealing, bad faith tort, insurance bad

faith, and violation of the West Virginia Unfair Trade Practices

Act, W. Va. Code §§ 33-11-1 through 33-11-10. Tri-State

asserted that Nationwide Life failed to administer the plan

according to the terms of the agreement and mismanaged the

claims processing procedures by paying claims to wrong medical

providers, by issuing coverage cards in the names of employees

never associated with Tri-State, by charging claims to accounts

of individuals who had not submitted claims, by paying claims

not covered, by denying claims that were covered, and by

requesting reimbursement from Tri-State for claims improperly

paid. Tri-State also charged that Nationwide Life delayed pro-

cessing of claims in a year during which Tri-State had met its

stop-loss liability, deflecting claims into a new policy year so

that claims would become the obligations of Tri-State by reason

of the annual self-funding limit of $25,000 for each employee.

Nationwide Life removed the case to the federal district

court on diversity grounds and also on grounds that the claims

were preempted by ERISA. On Tri-State’s motion for partial

summaty judgment to declare that ERISA did not preempt its

18a

state law claims, the district court denied the motion and held

that ‘‘ERISA preempts all of Tri-State’s claims based upon West

Virginia laws relating to the health insurance plan upon which its

complaint is based.’’ The court held specifically that 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a) preempts all of Tri-State’s claims and that the excep-

tion to preemption contained in 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A),

known as the Savings Clause, did not apply because the

**Deemer Clause,’’ contained in § 1144(b)(2)(B), excludes from

the Savings Clause self-funded benefit plans. The court found

that the plan in this case was a self-funded plan and that the stop-

loss insurance for coverage above the self-funded amounts did

not ‘‘change this outcome.’’ Thereafter the court ordered Tri-

State to notify the court whether it intended to pursue the case

under ERISA. Although Tri-State indicated its intention to do so,

it never amended its complaint to state a claim under ERISA,

and the district court dismissed the complaint. This appeal

followed. ’ y

II

We are presented with the legal issue of whether Tri-State’s

state law claims, arising out of allegedly wrongful claims pro-

cessing by Nationwide Life, are preempted by ERISA. Since the

question is one of law, we will review the district court’s orders

de novo.

ERISA’s preemption clause provides:

Except as provided in subsection (b) of this section, the

provisions of this subchapter and subchapter III of this

chapter shall supersede any and alli State laws insofar as

they may now or hereafter relate to any employee benefit

plan....

29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) (emphasis added). This clause has been

broadly interpreted by the courts to carry out Congress’ intent to

displace any state law efforts to regulate ERISA matters. See,

19a

e.g., FMC Corp. v. Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 58 (1990) (‘‘the pre-

emption clause is conspicuous for its breadth’’); Shaw v. Delta

Air Lines, Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 98 (1983) (‘‘the section’s pre-

emptive scope [is] as broad as its language’’); Custer v. Pan

American Life Ins. Co., 12 F.3d 410, 418 (4th Cir. 1993) (‘‘it is

frequently observed that the force of ERISA’s preemption is

strong and its scope wide’’). Thus, any law ‘‘that relates to’’ a

plan is preempted by 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a), and the phrase

“‘relates to’’ is given its common sense meaning as having ‘‘con-

nection with or reference to such a plan.’’ Shaw, 463 U.S. at 96-

97.

Although ERISA’s preemptive sweep is broad, the ‘‘Sav-

ings Clause’’ contained in 20 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A), which

saves from preemption state laws that regulate insurance, is

stated almost as broadly. This clause preserves for state regula-

tion any law ‘‘which regulates insurance banking, or securi-

ties.”’ 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A) (emphasis added). In Metropol-

itan Life Ins. Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 739-40 (1985),

the Supreme Court construed the Savings Clause to apply only to

state laws regulating core insurance issues. Considering a com-

plex state statutory scheme which regulated, among other things,

the substantive content of health insurance policies, the Supreme

Court held that state insurance regulations that mandate particu-

lar policy benefits are saved from preemption by the Savings

Clause. It concluded that Congress intended to save from pre-

emption only those state laws that regulate the traditional busi-

ness of insurance to the extent that it involves contractual

arrangements for protection against financial loss through the

spreading of risk. To guide this inquiry, the Court put forth the

following three-part test deweloped under the McCarran-

Ferguson Act:

20a

[F]irst, whether the practice has the effect of transferring or

spreading a policyholder’s risk; second, whether the prac-

tice is an integral part of the policy relationship between the

insurer and the insured; and third, whether the practice is

limited to entities within the insurance industry.

471 U.S. at 743 (quoting Union Labor Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno,

458 U.S. 119, 129 (1982)). Thus, a claim based on state law or

regulation that regulates the business of insurance as defined by

Metropolitan Life’s three-part test is ‘‘saved’’ from preemption

by virtue of the Savings Clause, § 1144(b)(2)(A), even if the

claim ‘‘relates to’’ an employee benefit plan within the meaning

of § 1144(a).

ERISA takes the further step of limiting the Savings Clause

by stating that an employee welfare benefit plan itself is not,

under state law, to be ‘‘deemed’’ an insurance company for pur-

poses of the Savings Clause. This so-called ‘‘Deemer Clause’’

provides:

Neither an employee benefit plan...nor any trust estab-

lished under such a plan, shall be deemed to be an insur-

- ance company, or other insurer . . . or to be engaged in the

business of insurance or banking for purposes of any law or

[sic] any State purporting to regulate insurance companies,

insurance contracts....

29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B) (emphasis added). The Deemer

Clause has been interpreted by the Supreme Court ‘‘to exempt

self-funded ERISA plans from state laws that ‘regulat[e] insur-

ance’ within the meaning of the saving clause.’’ FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 498 U.S. at 61. The Court reasoned that ‘‘[b]y forbid-

ding States to deem employee benefit plans ‘to be an insurance

company or other insurer . . . or to be engaged in the business of

insurance,’ the deemer clause relieves plans from state laws pur-

porting to regulate insurance.’’’ Jd. Thus, ‘‘[s]tate laws that

directly regulate insurance are ‘saved’ but do not reach self-

1 Mele venlscg !

eb a. 206

2la

funded employee benefit plans because the plans may not be

deemed to be insurance companies, other insurers, or engaged in

the business of insurance for purposes of such state laws.’’ Jd.

While Metropolitan Life placed state insurance regulations

mandating particular insurance policy benefits within the area

preserved for state regulation, the Supreme Court in Pilot Life

Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481 U.S. 41 (1987), held that state insur-

ance law regulating claims processing did not regulate the *‘bus-

iness of insurance’’ and therefore, was not saved from preemp-

tion. In Pilot Life, an injured employee sued the insurance

company that issued and administered his employer’s disability

plan, asserting improper acts in connection with the processing

of a claim for benefits. The suit was based on state common law

tort and contract principles. The Supreme Court concluded as a

first step that ‘‘common law causes of action raised in Dedeaux’s

complaint, each based on alleged improper processing of a claim

for benefits under an employee benefit plan, undoubtedly meet

the criteria for pre-emption under § 514(a) [29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a)].’’ Id. at 48. The Court then proceeded to determine

whether such claims against an insurance company for improper

claims processing fell within the Savings Clause. Applying the

test of Metropolitan Life, the Court concluded that such claims

were not made under state laws regulating the core insurance

business and therefore were not saved by the Savings Clause.

Consequently, the state law claims were held to be preempted.

481 U.S. at 57.

In Custer v. Pan American Life, supra, we applied the Pilot

Life holding to conclude that the West Virginia Unfair Trade

Practices Act, which regulates insurance companies by prohibit-

ing certain unfair trade and settlement practices, was not saved

from preemption. Accordingly, we held that claims made under

the West Virginia law relating to an insurance company’s

improper claims processing or administration of an employee

22a

benefit plan were preempted. The West Virginia Supreme Court,

also relying on Pilot Life, had earlier reached the same conclu-

sion. See Ball v. Life Planning Services, Inc., 421 S.E.2d 223,

227 (W. Va. 1992) (holding that an action under subsection 9 of

West Virginia Code 33-11-4 is preempted under ERISA). See

also Powell v. Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co., 780 F.2d

419, 423-24 (4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986)

(concluding, in a case decided before Pilot Life but consistent

with it, that an action alleging improper claims processing is not

saved from preemption because it does not regulate the business

of insurance under ERISA).

With these principles in mind, we turn to the issues before

us.

iil

Tri-State contends that the state law claims alleged in its

complaint are not preempted by ERISA, relying on two different

theories. First, it argues that it is a ‘‘mere purchaser’’ of insur-

ance and that therefore the claims arising from its status as a

mere insurance purchaser are not ‘‘related to’’ an employee ben-

efit plan within the preemption clause of ERISA, 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(a). Tri-State also argues that since its claims arise under

the West Virginia Unfair Trade Practices Act, which regulates

insurance companies, they are preserved to state regulation under

the Savings Clause of ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A). To

support its second argument, Tri-State points to W. Va. Code

§ 33-11-1, which states that the purpose ‘‘of this article . . . [is]

to regulate trade practices in the business of insurance’’ (empha-

sis added).

Tri-State’s first argument will not detain us long, since the

broad sweep of 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) provides for preemption of

claims under any state law that ‘‘relate to any employee benefit

plan.’’ No serious argument is made that the package of health

23a

care benefits provided by Tri-State to its employees through the

policy purchased from Nationwide Life is not a plan. In addition

to the fact that the plan’s language announces participants’ rights

under ERISA, the nature of the arrangement, which provides

benefits paid for by the employer to employees and their benefi-

Ciaries in connection with their employment, meets the criteria

defining a plan under ERISA. See 29 U.S.C. § 1002(1); Custer,

12 F.3d at 417.

Moreover, there can be little doubt that the claims relate to

the plan. Tri-State’s complaint particularizes a list of wrongs

committed by Nationwide Life, including its paying claims to

wrong medical providers, issuing coverage cards in the names of

employees never associated with Tri-State, charging claims to

accounts of individuals who had not submitted claims, paying

claims not covered, denying claims that were covered, and

delaying processing of claims in a year when the stop-loss limit

had been reached in order to deflect them into a new policy year

to be charged against Tri-State under its self-funding obligations.

All of these allegations are essentially complaints about the pro-

cessing of claims under an employee benefit plan and, therefore,

relate to the plan in the common sense meaning of that phrase.

Indeed the Supreme Court in Pilot Life specifically stated: ‘“The

common law causes of action raised in Dedeaux’s complaint,

each based on alleged improper processing of a claim for bene-

fits under an employee benefit plan, undoubtedly meet the crite-

ria for preemption under § 514(a).’’ 481 U.S. at 48 (emphasis

added). See also Custer, 12 F.3d at 420.

Concluding that Tri-State’s claims relate to an employee

benefit plan and thus fall under ERISA’s broad preemption pro-

vision of 29 U.S.C. § 1144(a) does not, hcwever, end the

inquiry. Tri-State’s second argument is that because its claims

fall under the West Virginia Unfair Trade Practices Act, W. Va.

Code §§ 33-11-1 through 33-11-10, establishing unfair trade

24a

practices in the business of insurance, its state law claims are

preserved from federal preemption under the Savings Clause.

The question thus presented is whether the trade practices identi-

fied in the West Virginia Act regulate the business of insurance

as that phrase is used in ERISA, 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A), and

interpreted in Metropolitan Life, 471 U.S. at 743 (establishing

the three-prong test for determining whether a state law regulates

the business of insurance).

The Unfair Trade Practices Act, Article 11 of the Insurance

chapter of the West Virginia Code, specifically attempts to place

itself within the meaning of ‘‘business of insurance’’ as defined

by the McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011, et seg. The

first section of the article statés:

The purpose of this article is to regulate trade practices

in the business of insurance in accordance with the intent of

Congress as expressed in the act of Congress of March

ninth, one thousand nine hundred forty five (Public Law fif-

teen, seventy-ninthb Congress) [the McCarran-Ferguson

Act], by defining, or providing for the determination of, all

such practices in this State which constitute unfair methods

of competition or unfair or deceptive acts or practices and

by prohibiting the trade practices so defined or determined.

W. Va. Code § 33-11-1. Since the term ‘‘business of insurance’’

in the McCarran-Ferguson Act has been adopted as the basis for

defining the scope of the Savings Clause of ERISA, Metropoli-

tan Life, 471 U.S. at 743, Tri-State argues that the West Virginia

regulation of insurance fits into the exception to ERISA’s broad

preemption, even though the West Virginia Act, having been

enacted before the federal statute, is not adopted in response to

ERISA. Although the argument has some logical appeal, further

analysis reveals a superficiality that fails to take into account the

substance of the Unfair Trade Practices Act.

25a

The Act provides a long list of prohibited acts in the mar-

keting, selling, and administering of insurance in West Virginia.

It prohibits false or misleading statements or advertising as to the

contents of a policy and also prohibits engaging in unfair settlé-

ment practices, in an apparent effort to provide truth in insurance

advertising and fairness in insurance administration. See, e.g., W.

Va. Code §§ 33-11-3 & 33-11-4. The Act prohibits many of the

practices alleged by Tri-State in its complaint to constitute

improper claims processing. But this type of regulation is not

unique to the business of insurance, and it does not target, at

least in these provisions, the core business of insurance which

involves contracts of protection under which risk is spread

among policy holders.

We recently interpreted this precise statute and concluded

that since the West Virginia Unfair Trade Practices Act does not

simply regulate the business of insurance as defined in Metropol-

itan Life, it is not saved from preemption in connection with

claims relating to an employee benefit plan. See Custer, 12 F.3d

at 419-421. In Custer, an insurance company issued a policy to

an employer and administered it as part of an employee benefit

plan. When the plaintiff sued the insurance company for denying

benefits and canceling the policy, allegedly in violation of West

Virginia law, we concluded that the claims were preempted,

holding ‘‘that Custer’s claims under West Virginia law relating

to improper claims processing or administration are not saved

from preemption by the savings clause.’’ 12 F.3d at 420. We

concluded that our decision was directly controlled by the

Supreme Court’s holding in Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 50 (holding

that state law improper claims processing actions are not directed

at the insurance industry alone and do not relate to the spreading

of risk), and this court’s holding in Powell, 780 F.2d at 423-24

(concluding that an action alleging improper claims processing is

26a

not saved from preemption because it does not regulate the busi-

ness of insurance under ERISA).

The holding in Custer applies here to require a determina-

tion that Tri-State’s claims are also not saved from preemption

under § 1144(b)(2)(A). See also Ball v. Life Planning Services,

Inc., 421 S.E.2d 223, 227 (W. Va. 1992) (holding that West Vir-

ginia Code § 33-11-4(9) relates to unfair claims settlement prac-

- tices and therefore is the same type of claim that the Supreme

Court found to be preempted by ERISA in Pilot Life).

The district court also found an alternative basis to hold that

Tri-State’s state law claims were preempted. It concluded that

even if Tri-State’s claims fell within the Savings Clause, the

employee benefit plan involved here would be regulated by

ERISA, and not state law, under the Deemer Clause. The district

court concluded that the group health insurance plan issued by

Nationwide Life and sponsored by Tri-State was a self-funded

plan, and thus under the Deemer Clause of ERISA, it was not

subject to regulation under state law purporting to regulate the

business of insurance. See FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 61. It appears

from our review of the plan documents that the plan was indeed

a self-funded one for the most part, with stop-loss insurance to

cover an individual’s claims in excess of $25,000. Tri-State’s

complaint alleges as much: ‘‘Under the policy, Tri-State was

self-insured for certain portions of benefits payable under the

group health insurance plan.’’ Complaint $8. We have held pre-

viously that the purchase of stop-loss insurance does not convert

a self-funded plan to an insured plan for preemption purposes.

See Thompson v. Talquin Building Products Co., 928 F.2d 649,

653 (4th Cir. 1991). Accordingly, the district court correctly held

that the plan was self-funded and that the Deemer Clause of

ERISA would also apply to preempt Tri-State’s claims.

Nee a ee aan

27a

IV

Finally, Tri-State contends that the district court ‘‘improp-

erly dismissed Tri-State’s suit in its entirety because Tri-State’s

complaint must necessarily state a cause of action under ERISA

or federal common law.’’ The difficulty with the contention is

the underlying assumption that somehow Nationwide Life or the

district court was required to identify and define Tri-State’s

claim when Tri-State itself refused to do so over a two-year

period. The district court carefully reviewed the procedural steps

taken by Tri-State and concluded, in essence, that Tri-State sim-

ply failed to prosecute its case under ERISA. On a review of the

record, we cannot say that the district court abused its discretion

in bringing this tortured pleading battle to an end.

After the case was removed from state court on the basis of

diversity jurisdiction and ERISA preemption, Tri-State sought to

remand the action. When the district court denied its motion, Tri-

State filed a motion for partial summary judgment declaring that

ERISA did not preempt Tri-State’s state law claims. By a Mem-

orandum Opinion and Order dated September 23, 1991, the dis-

trict court concluded that the state law claims were preempted

and denied Tri-State’s motion to declare otherwise. Shortly

thereafter, Tri-State filed a motion for reconsideration and

requested, alternatively, that the court make the necessary find-

ing to permit it to seek appellate review under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b). The district court denied the motion for reconsidera-

tion, observing that nothing new had been presented by Tri-

State, but it did give Tri-State the opportunity to seek leave to

appeal under 28 U.S.C. § 1292(b). In its petition for permission

to appeal, Tri-State claimed that its case was ‘‘simply a breach of

contract and an independent tort case’’ and ‘‘Never did the plain-

tiff [Tri-State] intend to involve, nor does the complaint affect,

ERISA issues.’’ When this court summarily denied permission

to appeal, Tri-State petitioned the district court to vacate and re-

28a

enter its order denying reconsideration of its ERISA preemption

ruling, believing that Tri-State’s late filing of a petition to appeal

was the basis for denial of permission. The district court refused

Tri-State’s request and ordered that Tri-State inform the court

whether it intended to pursue an action under ERISA. On June 8,

1992, plaintiff filed a notice in which it informed the court that

Tri-State ‘‘intends to pursue this action under ERISA.”’ Tri-

State, however, did not file an amended complaint to state any

claim under ERISA. Rather, over five months later, it filed

another motion to obtain from the court a certification under

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 54(b) that the district court’s

preemption ruling was final. At that time, Tri-State again argued

the preemption issue and sought to amend three paragraphs of its

complaint to enhance its effort to circumvent ERISA preemp-

tion. The amendments sought were not substantive and would

only have altered Tri-State’s characterization of the parties’

roles. Because Tri-State failed to prosecute the case through the

filing of an ERISA claim, and only pursued alternative avenues

to challenge the district court’s ruling, the district court con-

cluded, again reviewing the merits of the preemption issue:

In that this issue [ERISA preemption] has been repeatedly

and exhaustively briefed, in that Tri-State has fully

defended and has presented all material pertinent to its

claim, and since Tri-State has failed to seek leave to amend

its complaint to assert an ERISA claim, the Court hereby

GRANTS summary judgment sua sponte for Nationwide,

and hereby DISMISSES this action.

Against this procedural history, the district court had a well-

founded basis to conclude that Tri-State was only interested in

obtaining appellate review of the preemption issue and that, by

not pursuing an ERISA claim, Tri-State was staking the success

of its action solely on the question of whether its state law claims

survived. The district court’s decision to dismiss the complaint in

rs Rae a ea

29a

these circumstances was not an abuse of discretion. Accordingly,

we affirm.

AFFIRMED

LUTTIG, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

The majority holds that the unfair trade practices article of

the West Virginia insurance code, which was enacted ‘‘to regu-

late trade practices in the business of insurance,’’ W. Va. Code

§ 33-11-1, is not a state ‘law... which regulates insurance,”’

29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(A). Thus, it concludes, Tri-State’s

improper claims processing action under that statute is not saved

from preemption. According to the majority, this result is dic-

tated by our recent decision in Custer v. Pan American Life Ins.

Co., 12 F.3d 410 (4th Cir. 1993), in which we interpreted the

Supreme Court’s decision in Pilot Life Ins. Co. v. Dedeaux, 481

U.S. 41 (1987), as holding that all state improper claims process-

ing actions filed against an insurance company are not saved

from preemption. In my view, Pilot Life did not sweep quite so

broadly, and applying here the saving clause analysis undertaken

by the Supreme Court in Pilot Life requires us to hold that Tri-

State’s state action is saved from preemption. Accordingly, I

dissent.

In Pilot Life, the Supreme Court addressed whether ERISA

preempts a beneficiary’s or participant’s cause of action for

improper claims processing brought under Mississippi’s com-

mon law of bad faith, holding that the action was not saved from

preemption under ERISA’s ‘‘saving clause,’’ 29 U.S.C.

§ 1144(b)(2)(A). In reaching this conclusion, the Court first

determined that a ‘‘common-sense understanding’’ of the lan-

guage of the saving clause confirms that a state law only ‘‘regu-

lates insurance’’ when it is ‘‘specifically directed toward th{e

insurance] industry.’’ 481 U.S. at 50. Applying this common-

sense understanding of the clause’s text, it concluded that the

30a

Mississippi common law of bad faith does not regulate insur-

ance, because it is rooted in general principles of Mississippi tort

and contract law. Jd. It next reviewed Mississippi’s bad faith

doctrine under the three criteria the Court employs to interpret

the McCarran-Ferguson Act, 15 U.S.C. § 1011 et seq., and found

that these factors also did not support a conclusion that the Mis-

sissippi law ‘‘regulates insurance.’’ 481 U.S. at 50-51. And

finally, the Court looked to the ‘‘role of the saving clause in

ERISA as a whole,”’ id. at 51, concluding that Congress intended

as exclusive the civil remedies that ERISA provides to benefi-

ciaries and participants alleging improper claims processing. Jd.

at 52-57.

Only last term, in Custer, we considered whether ERISA

preempted a beneficiary’s improper claims processing action

brought under West Virginia’s insurance code, see W. Va. Code

§ 33-11. In that case, we assumed, mistakenly I believe, that

Pilot Life broadly held that all ‘‘state cause[s] of action for

improper claims processing filed against an insurer [are] not

saved from preemption under § 1144(a).’’ 12 F.3d at 420. Pro-

ceeding on this assumption as to the scope of Pilot Life, we rea-

soned that Pilot Life directly controlled Custer’s West Virginia

action, which was filed against an insurance company for

improper claims processing, and, without even engaging in the

actual Pilot Life analysis, held that Custer’s state action was not

saved from preemption.*

* We aiso concluded in Custer that the case was controlled by our deci-

sion in Powell v. Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. of Virginia, 780 F.2d

419, 423 (4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986). In Powell, we

addressed a beneficiary’s state law claims against her former employer and the

insurance company that administered the employer’s uninsured ERISA plan for

maladministration of her benefits claims. We held that each of Powell’s state

law claims related to the employer’s ERISA plan, and were therefore pre-

empted. In a passage relied on by the majority for the proposition that improper

claims processing actions are pre-empted, ante at 9-10, we rejected Powelli’s

(Continued on next page)

3la

Now, relying on Custer’s assumption that the Pilot Life

holding extended to all state law improper claims processing

actions, and again largely ignoring the three-step saving clause

analysis employed by the Court in Pilot Life, the majority sum-

marily concludes in this case that Custer requires a holding that

Tri-State’s improper claims processing action is not saved from

preemption.

In my view, the Supreme Court did not hold in Pilot Life

that all state actions for improper claims processing fall outside

the saving clause. The only question before the Court in Pilot

Life was whether a claim by a beneficiary or a participant under

a state common-law doctrine of bad faith (indeed, only Missis-

sippi’s law) was saved from preemption. In deciding that it was

not, the Supreme Court neither addressed state improper claims

processing actions by parties other than beneficiaries and partici-

pants or different actions brought under other state laws.

In Custer, our mistake was immaterial because the benefici-

ary’s cause of action there in question was one specifically iden-

tified by the Court in Pilot Life as governed exclusively by

(Continued)

argument that her claim against Connecticut General, the plan’s administrator,

was saved from pre-emption because it was brought under a state law that regu-

lated insurance. Id. at 423-24. Although Connecticut General is, in fact, an

insurance company, we held that, in its capacity as administrator, it was not all

engaged in the ‘‘business of insurance’’ but rather served purely administrative

functions, and therefore that the state law, as applied to Connecticut General,

did not constitute a state regulation of insurance that was saved from pre-emp-

tion. Id.

Oui holding in Powell turned, therefore, on the fact that Connecticut Gen-

eral was not engaged in the business of insurance, rather than on the fact that

Powell’s action was for improper claims processing. That an insurance com-

pany that administers but does not insure an ERISA plan is not engaged in the

business of insurance for purposes of the saving clause hardly bears on this

case, since Nationwide, which provided Tri-State with stop-loss insurance,

obviously was engaged in the business of insurance.

32a

ERISA. 481 U.S. at 56. Thus, our holding that Custer’s cause of

action was preempted was correct notwithstanding our misappre-

hension of the contours of the Pilot Life holding and our attend-

ant failure to engage in the full inquiry undertaken by the Court

in Pilot Life. Here, however, the majority is not saved by

happenstance.

Unlike in Pilot Life, a ‘‘common-sense understanding’’ of

the statutory text, 481 U.S. at 50, does support the argument that

the West Virginia law before us ‘‘regulates insurance.’’ If any

law can be said to be ‘‘specifically directed toward th[e insur-

ance] industry,’’ id., it is this statute, which, by terms, was

enacted to, and does, ‘‘regulate trade practices in the business of

insurance... .’’ W. Va. Code § 33-11-1.

Also here, unlike in Pilot Life, the West Virginia statute as

applied to Tri-State’s action (and, in my view, to the action in

Custer) regulates ‘‘the business of insurance’’ under the

McCarran-Ferguson Act. 15 U.S.C. § 1012. Tri-State alleges that

Nationwide violated the West Virginia insurance code by delib-

erately and fraudulently delaying its charging of benefit claims

against Tri-Sate’s account in order to avoid coverage .or those

claims under its stop-loss policy with Tri-State. See Appellant’s

Br. at 5. Applying the West Virginia statute to regulate the deter-

mination of which claims are covered under Tri-State’s stop-loss

insurance policy with Nationwide certainly affects an ‘‘integral

part of the policy relationship between the insurer and the

insured,’’ Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 48-49 (quoting Union Labor

Life Ins. Co. v. Pireno, 458 U.S. 119, 129 (1982)), since it cer-

tainly would ‘‘define the terms of the relationship between the

insurer and the insured,’’ Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 51. It also

would, by regulating when and how liability on benefit claims

would be transferred from Tri-State to Nationwide, directly

involve, if not actually ‘‘effect[,] a spreading of [Tri-State’s]

risk.’’ Jd. at 50. And, as noted above, the statute by terms is

33a

“specifically directed toward [the insurance] industry.” Id. Tri-

State’s action plainly does, therefore, regulate ‘‘the business of

insurance’ in accordance with the McCarran-Ferguson Act. See

United States Dept. of Treasury v. Fabe, 113 S. Ct. 2202, 2209

(1993) (‘*There can be no doubt that the actual performance of

an insurance contract falls within ‘the business of insurance’ (for

purposes of McCarran-Ferguson Act]....’’); SEC v. National

Securities, Inc., 393 U.S. 453, 460 (1969) (‘‘The relationship

between the insurance company and the insured, the type of pol-

icy which could be issued, its reliability, interpretation and

enforcement—these were the core of the ‘business of insurance’

[that Congress addressed in the McCarran-Ferguson Act].’’

(Emphasis added)).

Finally, and most importantly, Tri-State’s state action does

not, as the state actions in both Custer and Pilot Life did, run

afoul of ‘‘the legislative intent concerning the [exclusivity of

the] civil enforcement provisions provided by ERISA § 502(a),

29 U.S.C. § 1132(a).’’ Pilot Life, 481 U.S. at 52. While it is plain

that the remedies provided in section 502(a) to beneficiaries and

participants were intended to be exclusive, and therefore pre-

empt state actions such as those in Pilot Life and Custer, it is

equally plain that that section does not expressly provide any

remedy to employers such as Tri-State, let alone one that Con-

gress clearly intended to be exclusive.

In sum, I believe that we misassessed the reach of the Pilot

Life holding in Custer and therefore failed to engage in the full

Pilot Life analysis. We ultimately reached the correct conclusion

in Custer, but for reasons that we never considered. However,

for the same reasons that we did not consider in Custer, we, as a

court, are incorrect here.

34a

Because, in my view, Tri-State’s state cause of action alleg-

ing that Nationwide fraudulently processed claims to avoid cov-

erage on those claims is, under Pilot Life, saved from preemp-

tion, I cannot join the majority’s opinion holding otherwise.

I also disagree with the majority’s alternative holding that,

because the ERISA plan here was essentially self-funded, the

deemer clause applies to preempt Tri-State’s claims. Ante at

10-11. The deemer clause, by its terms, only applies to

‘employee benefit plan[s]’’ and ‘‘trust[s] established under such

[]plan{s],’’ 29 U.S.C. § 1144(b)(2)(B). It does not speak at all to .

insurance companies such as Nationwide or claims against them.

‘*By forbidding States to deem employee benefit plans ‘to be an

insurance company or other insurer... or to be engaged in the

business of insurance,’ the deemer clause relieves plans from

state laws ‘purporting to regulate insurance.’’’ FMC Corp. v.

Holliday, 498 U.S. 52, 61 (1990) (emphasis added). Nationwide

obviously is not an ‘‘employee benefit plan,’’ and the deemer

clause has no application to Tri-State’s claims against it. Powell

v. Chesapeake & Potomac Telephone Co. of Virginia, 780 F.2d

419, 423 (4th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1170 (1986)

(‘‘Since Connecticut General [Life Insurance Company] is not

an ‘employee benefit plan,’ the deemer clause is inapplicable to

it.’’); see FMC Corp., 498 U.S. at 61 (“‘An insurance company

that insures a plan remains an insurer for purposes of state laws

‘purporting to regulate insurance’ after application of the deemer

clause.’’). Thus, the district court’s holding that the deemer

clause preempts Tri-State’s claims is, I believe, incorrect.

Accordingly, I dissent from the majority’s affirmance of that

holding as well.

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that, in accordance with Rule 29 of the

Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States, three true and

correct copies of the within Petition were sent on November 28,

1994 by first class mail, postage pre-paid, to all of the parties

required to be served as follows:

i |

Attorney for Respondent:

Gregory D. Port

Chorpenning, Good & Mancuso

Co., L.P.A.

77 E. Nationwide Boulevard

Columbus, Ohio 43215

Telephone (614) 469-1301

/s/ DAVID B. FAWCETT, [Ii

David B. Fawcett, III

Attorney for Petitioner

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.