Opposition Brief — Virginia State Corp. Commission v. National Home Insurance

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, U.9

FILED

| DEC 14 1994

No. 94-883 OFFICE OF THE CLERK

— eee ;

<< J

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA AT THE RELATION

OF THE

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION,

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

Vv.

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY

(A Risk Retention Group),

Defendant-Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of Virginia

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Harvey B. Cohen

Counsel of Record

R. Scott Caulkins

John C. Pasierb

Cohen, Gettings, Dunham &

Harrison, P.C.

2200 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 800

Arlington, Virginia 22201

(703) 525-2260

(703) 525-2489(Fax)

Counsel for Respondent

Balmar Legal Publishing Services, Washington, D.C. (202) 682-9800

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

I. Whether the Petition should be granted where the issues

presented are inconsistent with the positions asserted by the

Petitioner below and where, under state procedural law, the

Petitioner was prohibited in the proceeding below from rais-

ing the inconsistent issues for the first time in the petition for

rehearing.

Il. Whether this Court should decline review of this matter

where there is no Tenth Amendment issue raised by the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court’s ruling and where there is no conflict

among the United States courts of appeals, a United States

court of appeals and a state court of last resort, and the under-

lying facts are so limited and unique that any decision from

this Court would provide little guidance to lower federal

courts.

——— ) oe ere en

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESISUNS PRESEIVIED «00... ..054..

PR EE tt tt ee

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI. ...........

I. The Commission is Estopped from Raising

its New and Contradictory Arguments in the

Petition under the State Procedural Doctrine

of Estoppel by Inconsistent Positions.

Il. This Case does not Present a Tenth

Amendment Issue...............

ce ac a a ae a

13

13

17

19

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

Banker’s Life & Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw,

ee Ss Fe OE ab ed oe hh a

Gregory v. Aschcroft, 501 U.S. 452 (1991) ....

Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255 (1982). .....

Leech v. Beasley, 203 Va. 955 (1962) .......

Leonard v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pacific R.R.,

Soe a Gs ks ek ee 6 ee 8 oh

New York v. U.S., ___ U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct. 2408

CR rari 5 Bk tia hat ee tak eri ee ioe 8

Radio Station WOW v. Johnson, 326

ie Bf

Rohanna v. Vazzana, 196 Va. 549 (1954) .....

U.S. v. Munsingwear, 340 U.S. 36 (1950) .....

United Fuel Gas Company v. Railroad Commission

of Kentucky, 278 U.S. 300 (1929).......

Williams v. Georgia, 349 U.S. 375 (1955) .....

STATUTES AND RULES

Rules of the Supreme Court, Rule 10........

op ae ee

pep es ee ee ee ee

hg Sek | ee

pe pie Sa po 0 le

Rule 5:39, Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia

We, Ce ss he ee deo ee’

Va. Code § 12.1-16 (1950, as amended) ......

Va. Code § 12.1-39 (1950, as amended) ......

Va. Code § 38.2-200 (1950, as amended) .....

17,19

eS ee ee ne ee ee ee

No. 94-883

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA AT THE RELATION

OF THE STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION,

Plaintiff-Petitioner,

Vv.

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY

(A Risk Retention Group),

Defendant-Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to

the Supreme Court of Virginia

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO THE PETITION

FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

In the Petition For a Writ of Certiorari, Petitioner, the State

Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of Virginia

(“Commission”), asserts positions which are totally inconsistent

with positions it took before the Virginia Supreme Court and the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit. The most

notable inconsistency is the Commission’s assertion in the

Petition that the Virginia Supreme Court should not have de-

cided the issue of whether the Commission is a “court of

competent jurisdiction” under the Federal Risk Retention Act,

15 U.S.C. § 3901 et seg. (“Risk Retention Act”) (Pet. App.

72a-88a), and that, in deciding the issue, the Virginia Supreme

Court violated the Tenth Amendment to the United States

2

Constitution. The Risk Retention Act’s general pre-emption of

state law contains an exception permitting a state to seek an

injunction from a court of competent jurisdiction. 15 U.S.C.

3902(a)(1)(H). Until the Virginia Supreme Court found that the

Commission was not a court of competent jurisdiction, the

Commission asserted that the Virginia Supreme Court not only

could, but should decide whether the Commission is a court of

competent jurisdiction. Further, the Commission took the posi-

tion that the Federal District Court decision was not binding on

the Virginia Supreme Court. The Commission is precluded

from taking contradictory positions before this Court in its

Petition.

The reason the Commission has abruptly changed its posi-

tion in the Petition is transparent--it is groping for a constitu-

tional question that it hopes will create a reviewable issue under

Rule 10 of the rules of this Court. There are no special or

important reasons for this Court to grant the Commission’s

Petition. The Commission, contrary to its contention in the

Petition (Pet. 12 -13), was not impermissibly “forced” by the

Virginia Supreme Court to litigate before that Court the question

of whether the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction

under the Risk Retention Act. In fact, the Commission urged

the Fourth Circuit to hold the parallel federal appeal on this

question in abeyance so that the Virginia Supreme Court could

decide it. Simply because the Virginia Supreme Court ruled

against the Commission, the Commission cannot now justifi-

ably claim that it was improperly forced by the Virginia Su-

preme Court to litigate the issue.

The Virginia Supreme Court ruled that an agency of the

Commonwealth -- the Commission -- is not a court of competent

jurisdiction because it is not independent under the unique

structure created by Virginia’s Constitution and laws. There is

no Tenth Amendment question that arises from this finding.

I. Nature of the Case

The Risk Retention Act was enacted by Congress to allow

businesses with similar liability risks to form insurance coop-

eratives called “risk retention groups”(“RRGs’”). The Risk Re-

tention Act was intended to encourage the formation of RRGs

by eliminating the multistate regulation of these entities, leaving

primary regulatory authority with the RRGs’ “domiciliary state”

and prohibiting non—domiciliary states from regulating RRGs

except in limited circumstances. Respondent National Home

Insurance Company (a Risk Retention Group)(“National

Home”)' is an RRG. Its domiciliary state is Colorado. The Risk

Retention Act provides that a state’s insurance regulator, here

the Commission, can only enjoin National Home’s operations

if it petitions an independent court of competent jurisdiction for

an injunction under 15 U.S.C. § 3902(a)(1)(H).

The Commission is vested with regulating insurance in

Virginia under Va. Code § 38.2-200 (1950, as amended). Va.

Code § 12.1-16 (1950, as amended) allows the Commission to

delegate certain duties and responsibilities to the Commissioner

of Insurance. The Commission appoints the Commissioner of

Insurance who in turn runs the Bureau of Insurance. The

Bureau of Insurance reports to the Commissioner of Insurance.

The Commissioner of Insurance reports to the Commission.

The Commission reviews the performance of the Commissioner

of Insurance and the Bureau of Insurance. The Commission sets

the policies followed by the Commissioner of Insurance and the

Bureau of Insurance. If the Commission is unhappy with the

performance of the Commissioner of Insurance or the staff of

the Bureau of Insurance, it simply replaces them. Most impor-

tantly, the Commission is the entity that creates policies by

| National Home is 95% owned by Holden Construction Management,

Inc. which is 100% owned by Home Buyers Warranty Corp. National Home

has no subsidiaries.

4

legislating and regulating Risk Retention Groups. The Com-

missioner of Insurance and the Bureau of Insurance have no

powers other than those delegated to them by the Commission

and all regulatory insurance powers flow through the Commis-

sion to its staff.

Il. The Proceeding before the Commission

On April 9, 1993, the Office of General Counsel for the

Commission, acting in the name of the Commission, petitioned

the Commission for an injunction against National Home. Es-

sentially, the Commission’s staff petitioned the Commission for

an injunction. The initial Motion requested an injunction for

ninety (90) days so the Bureau of Insurance could determine

whether to seek a permanent injunction.

A hearing was held before the Commission on the Motion

for Temporary Injunction on June 29 and 30, 1993. Before the

hearing, National Home filed a motion to dismiss and argued,

among other things, that the Risk Retention Act prohibited the

Commission from issuing an injunction because it was not a

court of competent jurisdiction as required by the Risk Retention

Act. The Commission rejected these arguments and proceeded

with the hearing.

According to its Chairman, the Honorable Theodore V.

Morrison, Jr., the Commission held the hearing in its legislative

Capacity:

CHAIRMAN MORRISON: We’re sitting, I

guess, fundamentally in our legislative function, and

the rules regarding hearsay evidence are somewhat

relaxed as our administrative practice typically al-

lows. We admit some things that are technically

hearsay, but we do rule as to their probative value.

(emphasis added). At the conclusion of the legislative hearing,

the Commission issued the Injunction Order. (Pet. App. 47a-

48a).

_—

>

The Injunction Order enjoined National Home from issu-

ing any new policies or new certificates or other evidence of

coverage in Virginia until National Home restored its surplus to

the minimum amount required by National Home’s state of

domicile, which was determined at the hearing to be $1.2

million. (Pet. App. 47a-48a). Although the Injunction Order

allowed for several limited exceptions, it effectively prohibited

National Home from writing insurance in Virginia after Septem-

ber 1, 1993, unless National Home met Colorado’s minimum

capital and surplus requirements.

Because of the irreparable injury caused by the Injunction

Order, National Home filed a Petition for Suspension of Effec-

tiveness of Order with the Commission on July 8, 1993, pursuant

to Va. Code. §§ 12.1-39 and 8.01-676.1 (H). On July 21, 1993,

the Commission denied the Petition for Suspension. National

Home filed a notice of appeal with the Virginia Supreme Court

and, in its subsequent petition for appeal filed on August 2, 1993,

it requested suspension of the effectiveness of the Injunction

Order.

Il. The District Court Proceeding

When National Home filed its petition for appeal of the

Injunction Order to the Virginia Supreme Court, the Virginia

Supreme Court was just beginning its August recess and the

Justices would not be available to rule on the request to suspend

the Commission’s order until September.

Virginia is National Home’s fifth largest market. If Na-

tional Home was prohibited from doing business in Virginia for

any period because of the Injunction Order, National Home

would suffer irreparable harm. Consequently, time was of the

essence to National Home to be heard on its objections to the

Commission’s actions prior to the effective date of the Injunc-

tion Order of September 1, 1993. In August 1993, the District

Court was the only timely source of relief available to National

6

Home and its affiliate Home Buyers Warranty Corp. (“HBW’”’)

to remedy the irreparable harm to National Home and HBW

caused by the issuance of the Injunction Order contrary to the

mandate of the Risk Retention Act.

National Home and HBW filed a complaint for a declara-

tory judgment and injunctive relief in the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Virginia on August 2, 1993,

requesting a declaration that the Commission was not an inde-

pendent court of competent jurisdiction as required by the Risk

Retention Act and that, therefore, it lacked the authority under

the Risk Retention Act to issue the injunction. The Complaint

originally named the Commission as a Defendant. It was

amended before the filing of responsive pleadings to add the

Commissioners as defendants in their individual and official

capacities and to add a cause of action arising under 15 U.S.C.

§ 1983.

The Commission, and subsequently the Commissioners,

responded with a motion requesting, inter alia, that the District

Court abstain from exercising its jurisdiction or, in the alterna-

tive, stay the proceeding for an indefinite period. The basis of

the Commission’s motion was the ongoing proceeding before

the Virginia Supreme Court. Notably, the Commission stated:

“(a]bstention is appropriate because the exercise of jurisdiction

interferes with ongoing state proceedings of substantial impor-

tance and interferes with the important and complex state regu-

latory framework by which Virginia regulates insurance

companies conducting business within Virginia.”

On August 26, 1993, National Home and HBW filed a

Motion for a Temporary Restraining Order and Preliminary

Injunction in the District Court case. On August 27, 1993, the

District Court heard the first of three oral arguments. The

District Court denied the request for a temporary restraining

order on September 3, 1993, but set a hearing on the merits and

on the motions filed by the Commission and the Commissioners.

7

The parties submitted several supplemental briefs requested by

the District Court on various issues including abstention.

In the Virginia Supreme Court appeal, the petition for

suspension of effectiveness of the Commission’s order was

denied on September 1, 1993. National Home and HBW con-

tinued with the proceeding before the District Court as it ap-

peared unlikely at the time that the Virginia Supreme Court

would hear and decide the appeal before it for at least a year.

On December 3, 1993, the District Court issued the Memo-

randum Opinion. (Pet. App. 17a-45a). In its analysis of the

phrase “court of competent jurisdiction,” the District Court

stated:

Because the Act does not define “court of competent

jurisdiction,” it seems apparent that Congress ex-

pected this determination to be made by reference to

state law, for it is state law that typically defines a

“state court of competent jurisdiction.”

(Pet. App. 34a).

The District Court cited to the legislative history through-

out its opinion (see Pet. App. 25a-26a), but it did not look to the

legislative history of the phrase “court of competent jurisdic-

tion” even though there is legislative history on point which

reflects that the phrase refers to an independent judicial officer.

The District Court ruled that the Commission could be a court

of competent jurisdiction but declined to decide whether the

Commission was acting in that capacity when it issued the

injunction. (Pet. App. 45a) National Home and HBW appealed

the District Court’s decision to the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

On January 11, 1994, the Commission filed its opposition

to National Home’s appeal in the Virginia Supreme Court. (Res.

App. F1) The Commission represented to the Virginia Supreme

Court that it was not bound by the U.S. District Court Decision

8

and it could rule differently based on the arguments presented

by the parties.?

Apparently expecting a ruling in its favor from the Virginia

Supreme Court, the Commission made an all out attempt to stop

the Fourth Circuit litigation so that the Virginia Supreme Court

could decide whether the Commission was a “court of compe-

tent jurisdiction.” The Commission filed a motion asking the

Fourth Circuit to abstain, stay the appeal or place the appeal in

~ abeyance because the issues before the Fourth Circuit were

identical to the issues before the Virginia Supreme Court. (Res.

App. Al-C9). The Commission argued that the Virginia Su-

preme Court should decide all issues.

Excerpts from the Commission’s motion clearly show that

the Commission knew the Virginia Supreme Court would be

deciding the issue of whether the Commission was a court of

competent jurisdiction, and that it wanted the Virginia Supreme

Court to decide the issue. The Commission asked the Fourth

Circuit to stay its proceeding to give the Virginia Supreme Court

a free hand to decide the issue. Specifically, the Commission

represented to the Fourth Circuit that:

9. In the State Appeal, NHIC raises, among

others, the question of whether the Commission erred

in entering the Injunction Order because the Commis-

sion is not a court of competent jurisdiction under the

Federal Risk Retention Act. In essence, NHIC is

2 In its Opposition filed in the Virginia Supreme Court, the Commission

stated:

The major issues in this case have already been decided by the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Virginia. Although that

Court’s decision is not absolutely binding on this one, the Commission

submits that it is extraordinarily persuasive here. NHIC should bear a heavy

burden to explain to this Court why a different result should be reached in this

appeal, which burden it has failed to meet. (Emphasis Added)(Res. App. F2)

9

asking the Virginia Supreme Court to decide whether

the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction

for purposes of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

* * *

21. OnJanuary 10, 1994, NHIC filed its Dock-

eting statement with this Court. In its Docketing

Statement, NHIC raises one of the specific issues

raised in the State Appeal; to wit:

Whether the State Corporation Commission is an

independent court of competent jurisdiction as

required by the Federal Risk Reteation Act, 15

U.S.C. § 3901 et seq.

* * *

22. NHIC has presented three questions to the

Virginia Supreme Court in the State Appeal. One of

these questions is the sole issue raised before this

Court in the Federal Appeal. Thus, even if this Court

were to consider NHIC’s Federal Appeal, a complete

disposition could not be had. Only the Virginia

Supreme Court, before which all three issues have

been joined and briefed, can provide an orderly,

efficient, and complete disposition of NHIC’s con-

current appeals.

. - *

24. This Court should abstain from exercising

its jurisdiction because NHIC has failed to exhaust its

State remedies inasmuch as it is currently pursuing an

appeal from the Injunction to the Supreme Court of

Virginia, which appeal is not yet complete. These

pending, concurrent proceedings in Virginia im-

plicate matters of substantial state interest where

10

NHIC’s claim will and should, be resolved. (em-

phasis added)(Res. App A3-A6 ).

The Commission also made the following representations:

The only conceivable way in which the Virginia Su-

preme Court can resolve the issue presented in the

State Appeal is by determining whether the Commis-

sion is a court of competent jurisdiction as required

by the Federal Risk Retention Act — the sole and

identical issue raised before this Court. Accordingly,

the Virginia Supreme Court’s decision will be dis-

positive of the sole basis of NHIC’s Federal Appeal.

(emphasis added)(Res. App C-7).

Acknowledging that the Virginia Supreme Court would be

deciding whether the Commission was a court of competent

jurisdiction under the Risk Retention Act, the Commission

strenuously argued before the Fourth Circuit that the Virginia

Supreme Court could and should decide all issues. (Res. App.

B6). National Home joined in the Commission’s Motion to

Abstain. (Res. App. D1-D9). The Fourth Circuit placed the

appeal in abeyance to allow the Virginia Supreme Court to

decide all issues and ordered that it be informed of any action

taken by the Virginia Supreme Court. (Res. App. E1-E2).

IV. The Virginia Supreme Court Appeal

The Virginia Supreme Court heard oral argument on Feb-

ruary 23, 1994 on all issues before it, including whether the

Commission was a court of competent jurisdiction.

While the matter was on appeal to the Virginia Supreme

Court, National Home was able to report to the Commission that

it met the minimum surplus and capital requirements of the State

of Colorado. The Commission, however, did not lift the injunc-

tion and refused three requests by National Home for a hearing.

Finally, the Commission lifted its Injunction Order, effective

March 31, 1994, in an order dated April 1, 1994.

11

On June 10, 1994, the Virginia Supreme Court entered an

order that the Commission’s order was erroneous and accord-

ingly reversed and annulled that order, and dismissed the pro-

ceeding with leave for the Commission to bring an action in a

court of competent jurisdiction if it be so advised. In the

accompanying opinion, the Court, after analyzing state law and

the Commission’s procedural rules, found:

The Commission is empowered to regulate insur-

ance in Virginia, Code § 38.2-200, and pursuant to

Code § 12.1-16, the Commission delegates certain

duties and responsibilities to the Commissioner of

Insurance, who is also an employee of the Commis-

sion and serves at its pleasure. Here, the Bureau of

Insurance, a division of the Commission, sought the

injunction. The hearing was conducted by the Com-

mission, and its counsel participated. Moreover, the

Commission is a party in this appeal urging an affir-

mance of its actions and rulings.

In contrast to the constitutional and statutory frame-

work in which proceedings under state law are con-

ducted and decided, we believe that, in drafting the

Act, Congress intended that there be an institutional

separation between the state insurance commissioner

and the decisional body considering the insurance

commissioner’s request for an injunction. Thus, we

hold, that for purposes of the Act only, the Commis-

sion, as a regulatory tribunal, is neither an“inde-

pendent judicial officer” nor a court of competent

jurisdiction as contemplated by Congress. (Pet. App.

10a-1 1a).

If the Commission wanted an injunction against National Home,

the Virginia Supreme Court stated that it could have petitioned

any one of a number of independent state courts with jurisdic-

tion, or federal district courts (Pet. App.11a), which it chose not

12

to do. Such a court would be the state Circuit Court for the City

of Richmond or the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Virginia, several city blocks from the Commission in

Richmond.

Following the Virginia Supreme Court’s ruling that the

Commission was not a court of competent jurisdiction, the

Commission filed a petition for rehearing.” In this petition, the

Commission raised new arguments which contradicted the po-

sitions it had previously taken. These new, inconsistent argu-

ments are the sole issues which the Commission has presented

in its Petition to this Court. In other words, the Commission

realized it had previously failed to raise any novel constitutional

or federal issues which could be appealed to this court, so the

Commission attempted to overcome this defect in its petition for

rehearing. The Virginia Supreme Court denied the petition for

rehearing in a one sentence order without any opinion. (Pet.

App. 49a).

Once the Virginia Supreme Court ruled on all issues as

requested by the Commission, the Fourth Circuit was informed

of the decision and the Fourth Circuit remanded the federal

appeal to the U.S. District Court with directions to dismiss as

moot.

> Under Rule 5:39, Rules of the Supreme Court of Virginia, a petition

for rehearing will not be granted unless one of the justices who decided the

case adversely to the applicant is of opinion that there is good cause for such

rehearing. National Home did not have the right to file a written opposition

to the petition for rehearing; a party only has the right to file an opposition if

the petition for rehearing is granted.

‘ National Home requested that the District Court’s decision be vacated

under the established practice of federal courts in handling civil cases which

have become moot on appeal. The proper procedure “. . . is to reverse or

vacate the judgment below and remand with a direction to dismiss.” U.S. v.

Munsingwear, 340 U.S. 36, 39-40 (1950) and cases cited therein. The Fourth

Circuit did not vacate the District Court’s decision as required by this

established practice.

13

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

I. The Commission is Estopped from Raising its New and

Contradictory Arguments in the Petition under the

State Procedural Doctrine of Estoppel by Inconsisent

Positions.

Prior to the adverse ruling against it, the Commission never

asserted that the Virginia Supreme Court was barred from

hearing the appeal because of the District Court decision. Fur-

ther, the Commission did not assert that the Virginia Supreme

Court was prohibited by the Tenth Amendment from deciding

that the Commission is not a court of competent jurisdiction. In

fact, the Commission asserted just the opposite. The Commis-

sion said the District Court decision was not binding and that

the Virginia Supreme Court could resolve all issues before it.

(Res. App. F2) Under well established precedent of this Court

and state law, the Commission is barred from asserting incon-

sistent positions in its Petition in an effort to create a novel,

reviewable issue.

Whether the Commission waived any right it may have had

to assert the District Court decision as a bar to the Virginia

Supreme Court’s consideration of all issues before it is a ques-

tion of state law. Leonard v. Vicksburg, Shreveport & Pacific

R.R., 198 U.S. 416, 422-423 (1905). A state x es rule

which forbids the raising of federal questions at late stages in

the case is a valid exercise of state power. Williams v. Georgia,

349 U.S. 375, 382-383 (1955). Virginia’s consistent and strict

application of the state procedural bar of estoppel by inconsis-

tent positions prevents this Court from reviewing the issues

raised by the Commission in the Petition. See Radio Station

WOW v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 128-129 (1945)(state’s consis-

tently applied procedural bar prevents review by this Court).°

5 Hathorn v. Lovorn, 457 U.S. 255, 262-63 (1982), a case cited by the

Commission, affirms the general rule that questions first raised before the

14

The Virginia Supreme Court has consistently ruled that a

party is estopped from taking inconsistent positions in litigation:

In Virginia, we have . . . approved the general rule that

a party is forbidden to assume successive positions in

the course of a suit, or series of suits, in reference to

the same fact or state of facts, which are inconsistent

with each other or mutually contradictory. A litigant

is estopped from taking a position which is inconsis-

tent with one previously assumed, either in the course

of litigation for the same cause of action, or in dealings

in pais. This wise and salutary policy has been repeat-

edly followed. Chesapeake & Ohio Railway Com-

pany v. Rison, 99 Va. 18, 37 S.E. 320; Canada v. C.

H. Beasley & Brothers, 132 Va. 166, 111 S.E.2; 251,

252; Arwood v. Hill’s Adm’r, 135 Va. 235, 117 S.E.

603; Alexander v. Commonwealth, 137 Va. 477, 120

S.E. 296; Fitchett v. Parsons, 142 Va. 163, 128 S.E

457; Title, etc., Bank v. Clifton Forge National Bank,

149 Va. 168, 140 S.E. 272; Nagle v. Syer, 150 Va.

508, 143 S.E. 690; Byrd v. Pennsylvania Railroad

Company, 151 Va. 954, 961, 145 S.E. 722.”

Leech v. Beasley, 203 Va. 955, 961-962 (1962). “A party cannot

either in the course of litigation or in dealings in pais, occupy

inconsistent positions. Upon that rule election is founded; ‘a

state’s highest court on a petition for a rehearing are not reviewable by this

Court. The decision recognizes an exception where the state procedural rule

prohibiting review under such circumstances is inconsistently applied.

Hathorm involved a case where the petitioners had raised a federal question

for the first time in the petition for appeal and, looking at Mississippi law, this

Court concluded that the Mississippi Supreme Court does not consistently

preclude consideration of issues raised for the first time in a petition for

rehearing. In the instant case, the Commission is not just raising new issues,

it is taking inconsistent positions by raising those issues. Taking inconsistent

positions in the same litigation is something that the Virginia Supreme Court

has consistently not permitted.

15

man shall not be allowed’ in the language of the Scotch law’ to

approbate and reprobate’ and where a man has an election

between several inconsistent courses of action, he will be con-

fined to that which he first adopts; the election if made with

knowledge of the facts is in itself binding.” Rohanna v. Vaz-

zana, 196 Va. 549, 553 (1954). The only reason the Commis-

sion has changed its position on collateral estoppel is that the

opinion of the Virginia Supreme Court came down against the

Commission.

The Commission’s current position contradicts the position

it took in the Fourth Circuit and the Virginia Supreme Court.

Arguably, the Commission could have gone to either court to

ask for a stay. It chose to urge the Fourth Circuit to abstain, stay

the federal appeal or place the federal appeal in abeyance

because the issues before the Fourth Circuit and the Virginia

Supreme Court were identical. (Res. App. A3-A6, B5-B6, and

C7). The Virginia Supreme Court was informed that the Fourth

Circuit had placed the federal appeal in abeyance at the request

of the Commission pending the Virginia Supreme Court’s deci-

sion. Having persuaded the Fourth Circuit not to review the

District Court’s decision upon the representation that the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court’s decision would be dispositive of the issue

of whether the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction

under the Risk Retention Act, the Commission cannot now

complain about the Virginia Supreme Court’s ruling on that

issue. The Commission’s statement (Pet. 12-13) that it was

forced by the Virginia Supreme Court to litigate the issue twice

is inexplicable. It should not be allowed to rewrite the facts of

this case in an effort to create an issue to present to this Court.

National Home would be prejudiced by allowing the Com-

_ mission to change positions. After the Commission told the

Virginia Supreme Court that the District Court decision was not

binding, National Home joined in the Commission’s motion to

the Fourth Circuit to abstain from deciding the federal appeal.

16

The Fourth Circuit ultimately stayed the appeal because of the

pending appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court. Following the

Virginia Supreme Court ruling, the Fourth Circuit dismissed the

appeal as moot. If the Commission is allowed to change its

position on the binding effect of the federal case, National Home

would be prejudiced because the federal appeal has been dis-

missed and National Home can no longer have the merits of the

appeal heard by the Fourth Circuit.

The relief requested by National Home below was a ruling

that the Commission was not a court of competent jurisdiction.

There is no reason why the Commission could not have raised

a Tenth Amendment argument before the ruling from the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court. The Commission invoked the jurisdic-

tion of the Virginia Supreme Court to decide all issues without

limitation. The Commission never contended, until after the -

ruling, that the Virginia Supreme Court was barred by the Tenth

Amendment from finding that the Commission is not a court of

competent jurisdiction. In an analogous situation where a peti-

tioner had attempted to change positions, this Court stated: “The

sound discretion which controls the exercise of the extraordinary

powers of the Federal Court...should not permit them to be

exerted to relieve suitors...from the very action of state authori-

ties which they have invoked.” United Fuel Gas Company v.

Railroad Commission of Kentucky, 278 U.S. 300, 308

(1929)(petitioner challenged statute it had invoked).®

© The Virginia Supreme Court’s order denying the petition for rehearing

does not indicate whether the merits of the new, inconsistent issues raised in

that petition were passed upon by the Virginia Supreme Court. Under the

Virginia Supreme Court’s rule, National Home could not file an opposition

to that petition fo: rehearing, therefore, the merits of the new, inconsistent

issues were not fully briefed. This Court restricts its review of federal issues

which have not teen “pressed or passed upon below.” Banker's Life &

Casualty Co. v. Crenshaw, 486 U.S. 71, 79 (1987). The Virginia Supreme

Court had an independent basis to deny the petition for rehearing based upon

17

II. This Case does not Present a Tenth Amendment Issue.

The Commission’s new, inconsistent arguments are with-

out merit. The Commission’s Tenth Amendment claim that the

Virginia Supreme Court’s decision imposes“ . . .on the States

federal requirements in establishing regulatory tribunals in each

state” (Pet. 15) is a gross mischaracterization of the decision.

Nowhere in the Virginia Supreme Court decision does the Court

say that the Risk Retention Act imposes federal requirements in

establishing regulatory tribunals in each state. The Virginia

Supreme Court decision describes which state tribunals can

issue injunctions against an RRG.

The two cases relied upon by the Commission, New York

v. U.S., __ U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 2408 (1992) and Gregory v.

Aschcroft, 5 501 U. 5.4 452 (1991) do not support the Commis-

sion’s argument that the Virginia Supreme Court ruling violated

the Tenth Amendment by ruling against the Comission. In New

York v. U.S., the Court addressed the Low-Level Radioactive

Waste Policy Act of 1985. This Act, in part, required states to

either take title to contaminated property or regulate according

to the instructions of Congress. This Court found that the Act

commandeers the legislative processes of the States by directly

proscribing that they enact and enforce a federal regulatory

program. New York v. U.S., ___ U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct. at 2428-

2429. The Virginia Supreme Court did not find that the Com-

mission was compelled to enact or enforce a federal regulatory

program.

In Gregory v. Aschcroft, this Court was presented with a

suit brought by Missouri state court judges challenging a Mis-

souri state constitution provision requiring that they retire at a

certain age. The state court judges claimed that the age provi-

the doctrine of inconsistent positions. There is no reason in this case to discard

this Court’s rule that review should be denied where the issue was “not pressed

or passed upon below.” Id.

18

sion violated the federal Age Discrimination in Employment

Act of 1967 (“ADEA”). This Court found that the ADEA was

ambiguous as to whether it applied to judges and, in light of such

ambiguity and the Tenth Amendment, it ruled that the ADEA

did not proscribe regulations for the ages of state court judges.

In Gregory, this Court recognized the authority of the states

under the Tenth Amendment to establish qualifications of their

government officials. Gregory v. Aschcroft, 501 U.S. at 460.

The Risk Retention Act has nothing to do with the establishment

of qualifications of state officials. Moreover, the Virginia Su-

preme Court’s decision does not reflect an interpretation of the

Risk Retention Act which establishes qualifications for officials

of the Commission. The Virginia Supreme Court ruled that the

Commission was not a court of competent jurisdiction as con-

templated in the Risk Retention Act and the Commission was

preempted from issuing the injunction.

The Risk Retention Act does not attempt to directly regu-

late the states, it merely preempts contrary state regulations.

Congress left the primary responsibility for regulating RRGs

with the RRG’s state of domicile (domiciliary state”) under that

state’s existing laws. See 15 U.S.C. § 3902(a)(1) (“... the

jurisdiction in which [a risk retention group] is chartered may

regulate the formation and operation of such a group.”). The

Act expressly exempts risk retention groups from regulation by

non-domiciliary states except in certain very limited circum-

stances. The pre-emption of non-domiciliary state regulation is

found in Section 3(a)(1) of the Act which provides:

[A] risk retention group is exempt from any State law,

tule, regulation, or order to the extent that such law,

rule, regulation, or order would ... make unlawful, or

regulate, directly or indirectly, the operation of a risk

retention group except that the jurisdiction in which

it is chartered may regulate the formation and opera-

tion of such a group.

19

15 U.S.C. § 3902(a)(1) (emphasis added).

In New York v. U.S.,___ U.S. ___, 112 $.Ct. 2408, 2429,

this Court found that Congress has the authority to preempt state

regulation under the Tenth Amendment:

The Constitution instead gives Congress the authority

to regulate matters directly and to pre-empt contrary

state regulation. Where a federal interest is suffi-

ciently strong to cause Congress to legislate, it must

do so directly; it may not conscript state governments

as its agents.

By pre-empting state regulation by the Commission, Congress

exercised its powers granted under the Constitution and did not

violate the Tenth Amendment. The Risk Retention Act tells the

states which entities can and cannot issue injunctions against

RRG’s. It does not proscribe qualifications for officials of state

tribunals. The Commission is wrong to characterize this pre-

emption as unconstitutional.

CONCLUSION

The Virginia system for regulating insurance is unique. Un-

like the entities of other states charged with regulating insurance,

the Commission is given certain powers of a court under Virginia’s

constitution. In this case, this unique body has attempted to regulate

a RRG domiciled in Colorado. RRGs constitute only a small

percentage of insurance companies. It is unlikely that the issues

decided by the Virginia Supreme Court will ever arise in any other

state because they have different regulatory structures. This case

does not present special and important issues under Rule 10 which

would give the Court an opportunity to provide guidance within the

federal judicial system on issues where there is a split between

United States courts of appeals, a split between a United States court

of appeals and a state court of last resort, or an important issue of

federal law.

20

Unlike other cases, the party seeking review has not been

harmed. The Virginia Supreme Court ruled that the Commission

could seek an injunction from the courts of general jurisdiction in

the Commonwealth or that it could go to a United States District

Court. There is no harm worthy of this Court’s review.

The Commission lifted the injunction in question on April 1,

1994. There is no important or compelling reason for this Court to

review the issuance of an injunction which has been dissolved. The

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted this 14th day of December, 1994.

Harvey B. Cohen

R. Scott Caulkins

John C. Pasierb

Cohen, Getting, Dunham & Harrison, P.C.

2200 Wilson Boulevard

Arlington, VA 22201

(703) 525-2260

(703)525-2489 (FAX)

Attorneys for Respondent National Home

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that on December 14, 1994, I sent three

copies of the foregoing Opposition via first class mail, postage

prepaid, to each of the following offices:

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Cantilo, Maisel & Hubbard, L.L.P.

111 Congress Avenue, Suite 1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 478-6000

Drew S. Days, Ii

Solicitor General of the

United States

Department of Justice

Washington, D.C. 20530

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

I further certify that all parties required to be served have been

served.

ls/

Harvey B. Cohen

.

.

.

>

»

.

| .

i

Py e

\ :

5

,

>

a

| °

©

:

:

\ | |

: \ 3

| .

— : 3 :

.

| i

.

~

’

' |

: S :

. \- ; : 7 .

. :

. - | |

—— |

’ ay : ; :

\ |

- 7 |

. ;

¢ f,

}

: : |

. : |

.

A-1

Docket No. 94-1039

IN THE

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY;

HOME BUYERS WARRANTY CORPORATION I,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

Vv.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA;

THEODORE V. MORRISON, JR.

individually and as Chairman of the State Corporation

Commission of the Commonwealth of Virginia;

PRESTON C. SHANNON, individually

and as a Member of the State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of Virginia;

HULLIHEN W. MOORE, individually and as a

Member of the State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of Virginia,

Defendants - Appellees.

District Court No. 93-1006-A

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division

Pee SAAT Le a a OA

A-2

MOTION TO ABSTAIN OR STAY

The State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth

of Virginia (the “Commission’”), Theodore V. Morrison, Jr.,

Preston C. Shannon, and Hullihen W. Moore (collectively, the

“Commissioners”), individually and as Commissioners of the

State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of Vir-

ginia, by counsel, respectfully submit their Motion to Abstain

or Stay in response to the Appeal filed by National Home

Insurance Company (“NHIC”) and Home Buyers Warranty

Corporation II (““HBWC’”).

BACKGROUND

1.NHIC is a risk retention group domiciled in the state of

Colorado and operating in the Commonwealth of Virginia pur-

suant to 15 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et seq. (the “Federal Risk Retention

Act”) and §§ 38.2-5100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia (the

“Virginia Risk Retention Act”).

2. In proceedings in Colorado, where it is domiciled, and

before the Commission in Richmond, NHIC has been found to

be impaired, insolvent, and/or operating in a hazardous financial

condition.

3. Proceedings against NHIC were commenced before the

Commission on or about April 9, 1993, by Steven T. Foster,

Commissioner of Insurance (the “Commissioner’”), in the name

of the Bureau of Insurance, of which the Commissioner is in

charge. Pursuant to both the Virginia Risk Retention Act and the

Federal Risk Retention Act, the Commissioner caused a Motion

for Temporary Injunction to be filed seeking an order from the

Commission partially enjoining the operation of NHIC in Vir-

ginia.

4. After extensive proceedings, and following notice and a

hearing, on July 2, 1993, the Commission entered its Order

Granting Motion for Temporary Injunction (the “Injunction’”)

partially enjoining the operations of NIZIC within the Common-

A-3

wealth of Virginia subject to certain qualifications therein set

forth. (A true and correct copy of the Order Granting Motion for

Temporary Injunction is attached to the Memorandum in Sup-

port of this Motion as Exhibit “1,” and is incorporated herein by

reference.)

5. On July 6, 1993, NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal of the

Injunction to the Supreme Court of Virginia (the “State Ap-

peal”). (A true and correct copy of NHIC’s Notice of Appeal to

the Virginia Supreme Court is attached to the Memorandum in

Support of this Motion as Exhibit “2,” and is incorporated herein

by reference.)

6. On July 30, 1993, NHIC filed its Supplemental Notice

of Appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court.

7. On August 2, 1993, NHIC filed its Request for Suspen-

sion of Effectiveness of the Commission’s Order (the “Request

for Suspension”) in the State Appeal. In connection with the

Request for Suspension, the parties briefed extensively the issue

of whether the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction

for purposes of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

8. Also on August 2, 1993, NHIC filed its Petition for

Appeal in the State Appeal.

9. In the State Appeal, NHIC raises, among others, the

question of whether the Commission erred in entering the In-

junction because the Commission is not a court of competent

jurisdiction under the Federal Risk Retention Act. In essence,

NHIC is asking the Virginia Supreme Court to decide whether

the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction for purposes

of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

10. On August 3, 1993, while its State Appeal was pending,

NHIC filed a Complaint for Declaratory Judgment (the “Com-

plaint”) in the United States District Court of the Eastern District

of Virginia, Alexandria Division (the “District Court”) seeking

|

A-4

declaratory and injunctive relief against enforcement of the

Injunction against NHIC.

11. On August 20, 1993, before the Commission answered

the Complaint, NHIC filed its Amended Complaint adding

Theodore V. Morrison, Jr., Preston C. Shannon, and Hullihen

W. Moore, individually, and as members of the Commission, as

defendants.

12. On August 26, 1993, NHIC filed its Motion for Tem-

porary Restraining Order and Preliminary Injunction with the

District Court. Following briefing and a hearing before the

District Court, the Motion for Temporary Restraining Order was

denied.

13. On September 1, 1993, after receiving briefs from both

sides, the Virginia Supreme Court denied NHIC’s Request for

Suspension. (A true and correct copy of the Virginia Supreme

Court’s order denying the Request for Suspension is attached to

the Memorandum in Support of this Motion as Exhibit “3,” and

is incorporated herein by reference.)

14. The Virginia Supreme Court granted NHIC’s Petition

for Appeal and entered its order granting the appeal on October

28, 1993.

15. On November 10, 1993, NHIC filed its Assignments

of Error with the Virginia Supreme Court raising, among others,

the precise issue that it has now raised before this Court. (A true

and correct copy of the Assignments of Error is attached hereto

as Exhibit “4,” and is incorporated herein by reference.)

16. After the submission of numerous additional briefs and

several additional hearings before the District Court, Judge Ellis

entered his order dismissing NHIC’s action on the Amended

Complaint on December 3, 1993.

17. On December 12, 1993, NHIC filed its Opening Brief

in the State Appeal.

A-5

18. On January 11, 1994, the Commission filed its Brief in

the State Appeal.

19. The sole issue presented to this Court has been squarely

joined in the State Appeal. NHIC has requested oral argument

which probably will take place before the Virginia Supreme

Court during either its February or March Term.

20. On December 27, 1993, NHIC filed its Notice of

Appeal in the District Court (the “Federal Appeal’).

21. On January 10, 1994, NHIC filed its Docketing State-

ment with this Court. In its Docketing Statement, NHIC raises

one of the specific issues raised in the State Appeal; to wit:

Whether the State Corporation Commission is an

independent court of competent jurisdiction as

required by the Federal Risk Retention Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 3901 et seg.?

(A true and correct copy of NHIC’s Docketing Statement is

attached to the Memorandum in Support of this Motion as

Exhibit “4,” and is incorporated herein by reference.)

22. NHIC has presented three questions to the Virginia

Supreme Court ia the State Appeal. One of these questions is

the sole issue ised before this Court in the Federal Appeal.

Thus, even if this Court were to consider NHIC’s Federal

Appeal, a complete disposition could not be had. Only the

Virginia Supreme Court, before which all three issues have been

joined and briefed, can provide an orderly, efficient, and com-

plete disposition of NHIC’s concurrent appeals.

A-6

MOTION TO ABSTAIN OR STAY

23. The Commission and the Commissioners hereby incor-

porate paragraphs 1 through 22, supra, as if fully set forth herein.

24. This Court should abstain from exercising its jurisdic-

tion because NHIC has failed to exhaust its state remedies

inasmuch as it is currently pursuing an appeal from the Injunc-

tion to the Supreme Court of Virginia, which appeal is not yet

complete. These pending, concurrent proceedings in Virginia

implicate matters of substantial state interest where NHIC’s

claim will, and should, be resolved.

25. This Court should abstain from exercising its jurisdic-

tion as to NHIC’s Appeal under the principles announced in

Colorado River Water Conservation District v. United States,

424 U.S. 800 (1976) and its progeny.

26. This Court should abstain from exercising its jurisdic-

tion as to NHIC’s Appeal under the principles announced in

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) and its progeny.

27. This Court should abstain from exercising its jurisdic-

tion as to NHIC’s Appeal under the principles announced in

Burford v. Sun Oil Company, 319 U.S. 315 (1943) and its

progeny.

28. Alternatively, a stay of the Federal Appeal as a matter

of comity is warranted under the facts and inherent equitable

powers of this Court.

Wherefore, Premises Considered, the Commission and

the Commissioners respectfully pray that this Court stay or

abstain from adjudicating NHIC’s Federal Appeal and for such

other relief, legal or equitable, to which they may be justly

entitled.

A-7

Respectfully submitted,

The State Corporation

Commission of the Common-

wealth of Virginia, and

Theodore V. Morrison, Jr.,

Preston C. Shannon, and

Hullihen W. Moore, individually

and as Commissioners of the

State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of

Virginia

By Counsel

Cantilo, Maisel & Hubbard, L.L.P.

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Steven E. Adkins (Va. Bar No. 32834)

111 Congress Avenue, Suite 1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 478-6000

Attorneys for Appellees

A-8

CERTIFICATE OF CONFERENCE

On January 20, 1994, the undersigned, on behalf of the

Commission and the Commissioners, contacted Mr. Harvey

Cohen, counsel to NHIC and HBWC, and informed him of the

anticipated filing of this Motion to Stay or Abstain. Mr. Cohen

stated that he would not consent to the relief sought, and would

file a response in opposition to this Motion to Stay or Abstain.

Randolph N. Wisener

B- 1

Docket No. 94-1039

IN THE

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY;

HOME BUYERS WARRANTY CORPORATION I,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

v.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA;

THEODORE V. MORRISON, JR.,

individually and as Chairman of the State Corporation

Commission of the Commonwealth of Virginia;

PRESTON C. SHANNON, individually and as a

Member of the State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of Virginia;

HULLIHEN W. MOORE, individually and as a

Member of the State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of Virginia,

Defendants - Appellees.

District Court No. 93-1006-A

On Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division

B-2

MOTION TO PLACE APPEAL IN ABEYANCE

The State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth

of Virginia (the “Commission”), Theodore V. Morrison, Jr.,

Preston C. Shannon, and Hullihen W. Moore (collectively, the

“Commissioners”), individually and as Commissioners of the

State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of Vir-

ginia, by counsel, respectfully submit their Motion to Place in

Abeyance the Appeal filed by National Home Insurance Com-

pany (“NHIC”) and Home Buyers Warranty Corporation II

(““HBWC’”).

BACKGROUND

1. NHIC is a risk retention group domiciled in the state of

Colorado and operating in the Commonwealth of Virginia pur-

suant to 15 U.S.C. §§ 3901 et seq. (the “Federal Risk Retention

Act”) and §§ 38.2-5100 et seq. of the Code of Virginia (the

“Virginia Risk Retention Act”).

2. In proceedings in Colorado, where it is domiciled, and

before the Commission in Richmond, NHIC has been found to

be impaired, insolvent, and/or operating in a hazardous financial

condition.

3. Proceedings against NHIC were commenced before the

Commission on or about April 9, 1993, by Steven T. Foster,

Commissioner of Insurance (the “Commissioner’”), in the name

of the Bureau of Insurance, of which the Commissioner is in

charge. Pursuant to both the Virginia Risk Retention Act and the

Federal Risk Retention Act, the Commissioner caused a Motion

for Temporary Injunction to be filed seeking an order from the

Commission partially enjoining the operation of NHIC in Virginia.

4. After extensive proceedings, and following notice and a

hearing, on July 2, 1993, the Commission entered its Order

Granting Motion for Temporary Injunction (the “Injunction”)

partially enjoining the operations of NHIC within the Common-

wealth of Virginia subject to certain qualifications therein set

B-3

forth. (A true and correct copy of the Order Granting Motion for

Temporary Injunction is attached to the Memorandum in Sup-

port of this Motion as Exhibit “1”, and is incorporated herein by

reference.)

5. On July 6, 1993, NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal of the

Injunction to the Supreme Court of Virginia (the “State Ap-

peal”). (A true and correct copy of NHIC’s Notice of Appeal to

the Virginia Supreme Court is attached to the Memorandum in

Support of this Motion as Exhibit “2”, and is incorporated herein

by reference.)

6. On July 30, 1993, NHIC filed its Supplemental Notice

of Appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court.

7. On August 2, 1993, NHIC filed its Request for Suspen-

sion of Effectiveness of the Commission’s Order (the “Request

for Suspension”) in the State Appeal. In connection with the

Request for Suspension, the parties briefed extensively the issue

of whether the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction

for the purposes of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

8. Also on August 2, 1993, NHIC filed its Petition for

Appeal in the State Appeal.

9. In the State Appeal, NHIC raises, among others, the

question of whether the Commission erred in entering the In-

junction because the Commission is not a court of competent

jurisdiction under the Federal Risk Retention Act. In essence,

NHIC is asking the Virginia Supreme Court to decide whether

the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction for purposes

of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

10. On August 3, 1993, while the State Appeal was pend-

inz, NHIC filed a Complaint for Declaratory Judgment (the

“Complaint”) in the United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Virginia, Alexandria Division (the “District Court”),

seeking declaratory and injunctive relief against enforcement of

the Commission’s Injunction against NHIC.

B-4

11. On August 20, 1993, prior to the Commission’s having

answered the Complaint, NHIC filed its Amended Complaint

adding Theodore V. Morrison, Jr., Preston C. Shannon, and

Hullihen W. Moore, individually, and as members of the Com-

mission, as defendants.

12. On August 26, 1993, NHIC filed its Motion for Tem-

porary Restraining Order and Preliminary Injunction with the

District Court. Following briefing and a hearing before the District

Court, the Motion for Temporary Restraining Order was denied.

13. On September 1, 1993, after receiving briefs in oppo-

sition and in support of NHIC’s Request for Suspension, the

Virginia Supreme Court denied the Request for Suspension. (A

true and correct copy of the Virginia Supreme Court’s order

denying the Request for Suspension is attached to the Memo-

randum in Support of this Motion as Exhibit “4”, and is incor-

porated herein by reference.)

14. The Virginia Supreme Court granted NHIC’s Petition for

Appeal, entering its order granting the appeal on October 28, 1993.

15. On November 10, 1993, NHIC filed its Assignments

of Error with the Virginia Supreme Court raising the precise

issue, among others, that it has now raised before this Court. (A

true and correct copy of the Assignments of Error is attached

hereto as Exhibit “5”, and is incorporated herein by reference.)

16. After the submission of numerous additional briefs and

additional hearings before the District Court, Judge Ellis entered

an order dismissing NHIC’s action without prejudice on Decem-

ber 3, 1993.

17. On December 12, 1993, NHIC filed its Opening Brief

in the State Appeal.

18. On January 11, 1994, the Commission filed its Brief in

the State Appeal.

se eS ee, ee ee ey eee ae

at la NtIR A te dei th

B-5

19. The sole issue presented to this Court has been squarely

joined in the State Appeal. NHIC has requested oral argument

which will probably take place before the Virginia Supreme

Court during either its February or March Term.

20. On December 27, 1993, NHIC filed its Notice of

Appeal in the District Court (the “Federal Appeal’’).

21. On January 10, 1994, NHIC filed its Docketing State-

ment with this Court. In its Docketing Statement, NHIC raises

one of the specific issues raised in the State Appeal; namely:

Whether the State Corporation Commission is an

independent court of competent jurisdiction as re-

quired by the Federal Risk Retention Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 3901 et seq.?

(A true and correct copy of NHIC’s Docketing Statement is

attached to the Memorandum in Support of this Motion as

Exhibit “6”, and is incorporated herein by reference.)

22. NHIC has presented three questions to the Virginia

Supreme Court in the State Appeal. One of these questions is

the sole issue raised before this Court in the Federal Appeal.

Thus, even if this Court were to consider NHIC’s Federal

Appeal, a complete disposition could not be had. Only the

Virginia Supreme Court, before which all three issues have been

joined and briefed, can provide an orderly, efficient, and com-

plete disposition of NHIC’s concurrent appeals.

MOTION FOR ABEYANCE

23. The Commission and the Commissioners hereby incor-

porate paragraphs 1 through 22, supra, as if fully set forth herein.

24. Pursuant to Internal Operating Procedure 12.5, the

Commission and the Commissioners move this Court to place

the Federal Appeal in abeyance while the sole basis of the

Federal Appeal, which has been presented to and briefed before

the Virginia Supreme Court, may be resolved. The disposition

B-6

of this matter by the Virginia Supreme Court will have an effect

on the Federal Appeal because NHIC has asked both this Court

and the Virginia Supreme Court to determine whether the Com-

mission is a court of competent jurisdiction under the Federal

Risk Retention Act.

25. When the Virginia Supreme Court resolves the issue

presented to it in the State Appeal, which is the sole basis of

NHIC’s Federal Appeal, the Commission and the Commission-

ers will promptly advise this Court pursuant to Internal Operat-

ing Procedure 12.5.

WHEREFORE, PREMISES CONSIDERED, the Com-

mission and the Commissioners respectfully pray that this Court

hold this Federal Appeal in abeyance until final disposition of

the State Appeal by the Virginia Supreme Court and for such

other relief, legal or equitable to which they may be justly

entitled.

Respectfully submitted,

The State Corporation Commis-

sion of the Commonwealth of

Virginia, and Theodore V. Morri-

son, Jr., Preston C. Shannon, and

Hullihen W. Moore, individually,

and as Commissioners of the State

Corporation Commission of the

Commonwealth of Virginia

By Counsel

Cantilo, Maisel & Hubbard, L.L.P.

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Steven E. Adkins (Va. Bar No. 32834)

111 Congress Avenue,Suite1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512)478-6000

Attorney for Appellees

j

:

:

B-7

CERTIFICATE OF CONFERENCE

On January 20, 1994, the undersigned, on behalf of the

Commission and the Commissioners, contacted Mr. Harvey

Cohen, counsel to NHIC and HBWC, and informed him of the

anticipated filing of this Motion to Place Appeal in Abeyance.

Mr. Cohen stated that he would not consent to the relief sought,

and would file a response in opposition to this Motion to Place

Appeal in Abeyance.

Randolph N. Wisener

B-8

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

One copy of the foregoing MOTION TO PLACE APPEAL

IN ABEYANCE was served on NHIC and HBWC, through their

counsel, Harvey B. Cohen, by overnight delivery, this 20th day

of January, 1994, addressed as follows:

Cohen Gettings, Dunham &

Harrison, P.C.

2200 Wilson Blvd., Suite 800

Arlington, Virginia 22101

Randolph N. Wisener

C-1

Docket No. 94-1039

IN THE

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY;

HOME BUYERS WARRANTY CORPORATION II,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

Vv.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF THE

COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA; THEODORE V.

MORRISON, JR., individually and as Chairman of the State

Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of Virginia;

PRESTON C. SHANNON, individually and as a Member of

the State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of

Virginia, HULLIHEN W. MOORE, individually and as a

Member of the State Corporation Commission of the

Commonwealth of Virginia,

Defendants - Appellees.

District Court No. 93-1006-A

On Appeal from the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division

Memorandum In Support Of Motion to Place

Appeal In Abeyance

CANTILO, MAISEL & HUBBARD, L.L.P.

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Steven E. Adkins

(Va. Bar No. 32834)

111 Congress Ave., Suite 1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512)478-6000

PREM Ree Mt Nar NLR. esa hls oo

C-2

MEMORANDUM IN SUPPORT OF MOTION TO

PLACE APPEAL IN ABEYANCE

The State Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of

Virginia (the “Commission”), Theodore V. Morrison, Jr., Pre-

ston C. Shannon, and Hullihen W. Moore (the “Commission-

ers”), by counsel, respectfully submit this Memorandum in

Support of their Motion to Place in Abeyance the Appeal of

National Home Insurance Company (“NHIC”) and Home Buy-

ers Warranty Corporation II (““HBWC’’).

I. NATURE OF THE CASE

This case implicates material questions of federalism and

comity because, prior to filing this appeal, NHIC has been

pursuing (and continues to pursue) another appeal before the

Virginia Supreme Court which is considering, among others, the

sole question which is raised before this Court. The appeal

before the Virginia Supreme Court is at a well-advanced stage.

In its blatant forum shopping, NHIC desires to have this Court

provide a stop-gap measure in the event the Virginia Supreme

Court decides the very issue presented here adversely to NHIC.

The Commission, as authorized by both state and federal

law, entered the injunction against NHIC (the “Injunction’’)

because of NHIC’s financially hazardous condition. (A true and

correct copy of the Injunction is attached hereto as Exhibit “1",

and is incorporated herein by reference.) After noticing an

appeal of the Injunction to the Virginia Supreme Court (the

“State Appeal”), as well as petitioning to have the effectiveness

of the Injunction suspended by the Virginia Supreme Court,

NHIC filed an action seeking declaratory and injunctive relief

from the Injunction in the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Virginia, Alexandria Division (the “District

Court”). On December 3, 1993, the District Court dismissed

NHIC’s action without prejudice. From this decision by the

District Court, NHIC now presents its appeal to this Court (the

“Federal Appeal’) raising one of the very issues which it has

C-3

raised in its State Appeal and which is now being considered by

the Virginia Supreme Court. The Commission respectfully re-

quests that this Court place this proceeding in abeyance pending

the disposition of the sole question raised here by the Virginia

Supreme Court.

ll. BACKGROUND

A. The Commission.

The Commission is a department of government of the

Commonwealth of Virginia, created and empowered by consti-

tutional and legislative authority. See Va. Const. art. IX, §§ 1

and 2; Va. Code §§ 12.1-12 and -13. The Commission is vested

with legislative, executive, and judicial powers, and is the means

by which the Commonwealth exercises its police power to

regulate various industries, including insurance. See Va. Code

§ 38.2-200.

B. NHIC and HBWC.

NHIC is a Colorado corporation conducting the business

of insurance in Virginia. HBWC, an affiliate of NHIC, is also a

Colorado corporation authorized to do business in Virginia.

C. Prior Proceedings.

1. The Proceedings Before the Commission.

After determining that NHIC was in a hazardous financial

condition, the Bureau of Insurance (the “Bureau”) instituted an

action in the Commission against NHIC. A hearing on the

Bureau’s request for an injunction was held in Richmond before

the Commission for two days in June of 1993, during which the

Bureau and NHIC offered and cross-examined witnesses, intro-

duced documentary evidence, and presented and argued various

motions.

After considering testimony, evidence, and arguments of

counsel, the Commission found NHIC to be financially im-

paired, and entered the Injunction generally enjoining NHIC

C-4

from conducting the business of insurance in Virginia.! On

July 6, 1993, NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal of the Injunction

to the Virginia Supreme Court. (A true and correct copy of

NHIC’s Notice of Appeal in the state proceedings is attached

hereto as Exhibit “2”, and is incorporated herein by reference.)

2. The Proceedings Before the District Court.

With its State Appeal pending before the Virginia Supreme

Court, NHIC filed an action against the Commission and the

Commissioners in the District Court raising the same issues that

it had raised in its State Appeal and requested declaratory and

injunctive relief which would annul the Injunction. On Decem-

ber 3, 1993, Judge Ellis entered an order dismissing NHIC’s

action without prejudice. See National Home Ins. Co. v. State

Corp. Comm’n, No. 93-1006-A 1993 WL 497011 (E.D. Va.

Dec. 3, 1993). (A true and correct copy of Judge Ellis’s decision

is attached hereto as Exhibit “3”, and is incorporated herein by

reference.) On December 27, 1993 — more than six months after

filing its Notice of Appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court —

NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal of Judge Ellis’s decision to this

Court.

3. The Current Duplicative Proceeding Before the

Virginia Supreme Court.

As noted earlier, NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal to the

Virginia Supreme Court in July of 1993. NHIC filed its Supple-

mental Notice of Appeal to the Virginia Supreme Court on July

30, 1993. On August 2, 1993, NHIC filed its Request for

Suspension of Effectiveness of the Commission’s Order (the

“Request for Suspension”) with the Virginia Supreme Court. In

connection with the Request for Suspension, NHIC and the

' No relief was sought, and no order entered, against HBWC in the

Commission. Indeed, HBWC was not, and is not, a party in the state proceed-

ing. Nonetheless, disposition by the Virginia Supreme Court of the issues

pending before it would dispose of all issues presented by HBWC as well.

C-5

Commission briefed the issue of whether the Commission is a

court of competent jurisdiction for purposes of the Federal Risk

Retention Act. After receiving briefs in opposition and in sup-

port of the Request for Suspension, the Virginia Supreme Court

denied the Request for Suspension on September 1, 1993. (A

true and correct copy of the Virginia Supreme Court’s order

denying the Request for Suspension is attached hereto as Exhibit

“4”, and is incorporated herein by reference.)

The sole issue presented to this Court has been squarely

joined before the Virginia Supreme Court. On August 2, 1993,

NHIC filed its Petition for Appeal in the Virginia Supreme

Court. NHIC’s petition was granted by the Virginia Supreme

Court on October 28, 1993. NHIC filed its Assignments of Error

on November 10, 1993.2 On December 14, 1993, NHIC filed

its Opening Brief to the Virginia Supreme Court. On January

11, 1994, the Commission filed its Brief with the Virginia

Supreme Court. The precise question raised here was assigned

as error by NHIC and briefed by both parties in the State Appeal.

NHIC has requested oral argument, and it is anticipated that

these arguments will take place before the Virginia Supreme

Court during its February or March Term.

Il. ARGUMENT

This Appeal Should be Placed in Abeyance

Pending Resolution by the Virginia Supreme Court of

the Precise Issue now Before this Court.

It is axiomatic that there is a “power inherent in every court

to control the disposition of the causes on its docket with

economy of time and effort for itself, for counsel, and for

litigants.” Landis v. North American Co., 299 U.S. 248, 254

(1936). Moreover, it is a well established principle that:

A true and correct copy of NHIC’s Assignments of Error to the Virginia

Supreme Court is attached hereto as Exhibit “S”, and is incorporated herein

by reference.

C-6

a court may, in its discretion, defer or abate proceed-

ings where another suit, involving the identical issues,

is pending either in federal or state court, and it would

be duplicative, uneconomical and vexatious to

proceed.

Blinder, Robinson & Co.. Inc. v. SEC, 692 F.2d 102, 106 (lOth

Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 1125 (1985), (citing Will v.

Calvert Fire Ins. Co., 437 U.S. 655 (1978), and Brillhart v.

Excess Insurance Co. of America, 316 U.S. 491 (1942)). These

time-honored principles are manifested in this Court’s Internal

Operating Procedure 12.5 which provides that:

In the interest of docket control the Court may,

either on its own motion or upon request, place a case

in abeyance pending disposition of matters before this

Court or other courts which may affect the ultimate

resolution of an appeal.

In its State Appeal, NHIC has raised the following

issue:

The Commission erred in that it had no juris-

diction to enter the Injunction Order against NHIC

under the Federal Risk Retention Act because the

Commission is not a “court of competent jurisdiction”

within the meaning of the Federal Risk Retention Act.

Appellant’s Assignments of Error (Exhibit “5”) at 1-2.

In its Federal Appeal, NHIC presents the following

question:

Whether the State Corporation Commission is

an independent court of competent jurisdiction as

required by the Federal Risk Retention Act, 15 U.S.C.

§ 3901, et seq.

C-7

NHIC’s Docketing Statement at 2.3 The only conceivable way

in which the Virginia Supreme Court can resolve the issue

presented in the State Appeal is by determining whether the

Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction as required by

the Federal Risk Retention Act — the sole and identical issue

raised before this Court. Accordingly, the Virginia Supreme

Court’s decision will be dispositive of the sole basis of NHIC’s

Federal Appeal. Naturally, the Virginia Supreme Court’s deci-

sion will affect the ultimate resolution of the Federal Appeal. A

more appropriate candidate for abeyance is difficult to imagine.

Consequently, NHIC’s Federal Appeal should be placed in

abeyance pursuant to this Court’s Internal Operating Procedure

12.5.

This Court has held appeals in abeyance on facts which

were much less compelling than those presented in the case at

bar. See. e.g., Vincent v. Reynolds Memorial Hospital, 728 F.2d

250 (4th Cir. 1984) (appeal held in abeyance while West Vir-

ginia Supreme Court determined appeal of validity of settlement

agreement); Briley v. Bass, 750 F.2d 1238, 1240 (4th Cir. 1984)

(appeal of district court decision in habeas corpus proceeding

remanded and placed in abeyance pending disposition of habeas

corpus proceeding in Virginia court).

In the case at bar, an appeal has been perfected and almost

completely briefed by the parties in the Virginia Supreme Court.

Indeed, the State Appeal was perfected even before the District

Court action was ever filed. Thus, the case at bar presents a much

more compelling situation for abeyance than did Vincent where

the state appeal was granted only after the federal court action

had been filed. Just as this Court properly refused to waste

judicial resources by placing the Vincent and Briley appeals in

abeyance pending resolution by the state court, so should it now

3 A true and correct copy of the Docketing Statement filed by NHIC on

January 10, 1994, is attached hereto as Exhibit “6””, and is incorporated herein

by reference.

C-8

refuse to waste judicial resources on this duplicative adjudica-

tion.

_ As this Court has noted:

[A] federal court is not precluded, in the exer-

cise of its discretion, from staying proceedings in the

action before it pending a decision by a state court,

with a view to avoiding wasteful duplication of judi-

cial resources and having the benefit of the state

court’s views.

Suggs v. Brannon, 804 F.2d 274 (4th Cir. 1986) (quoting Giulini

v. Blessing, 654 F.2d 189, 193 (2d Cir. 1981)). This reasoning

from Giulini, where the Second Circuit ordered that a claim be

held in abeyance until the state court had resolved certain

constitutional issues, is equally compelling here. In the case at

bar, NHIC has raised precisely the same issue as it has raised,

among others, in its State Appeal. Thus, judicial resources

would be wastefully duplicated by allowing NHIC’s Federal

Appeal to proceed concurrently with the State Appeal. The

opportunity for contradictory results and piecemeal litigation is

great here. Moreover, by placing this matter in abeyance until

the Virginia Supreme Court has ruled on the question of whether

the Commission is a court of competent jurisdiction, this Court

will have the benefit of the state court’s views.* These factors

counsel heavily in favor of placing NHIC’s Federal Appeal in

abeyance until its State Appeal is resolved.

4 Notably, and as pointed out by Judge Ellis, since the Federal Risk

Retention Act does not define “court of competent jurisdiction,’” “it seems

apparent that Congress expected this determination to be made by reference

to state law, for it is state law that typically defines a “ ‘state court of competent

jurisdiction. ’” National Home Ins. Co. v. State Corp. Comm'n, No. 93-1006-

A 1993 WL 497011 at *7 (E.D. Va. Dec. 3, 1993) (citing Hill v. Martin, 296

U.S. 393, 397-98 (1935), and Roudebush v. Hartke, 405 U.S. 15, 21 (1972)).

Under this settled law, surely no tribunal would be better equipped to make

this determination than the Supreme Court of Virginia.

‘

IV. CONCLUSION

NHIC is “hedging its bet” by appealing precisely the same

issue simultaneously to this Court and to the Virginia Supreme

Court. This Federal Appeal is merely NHIC’s safety measure to

be used if the Virginia Supreme Court’s disposition of the very

same issue raised here is unfavorable to NHIC. Such blatant

playing of one court system against the other must not be

countenanced by this Court. For these compelling reasons, the

Federal Appeal should be placed in abeyance pending resolution

of the sole basis of this appeal by the Virginia Supreme Court.

Respectfully submitted,

The State Corporation Commission of the

Commonwealth of Virginia, and Theodore V.

Morrison, Jr., Preston C. Shannon, and Hulli-

hen W. Moore, individually, and as Commis-

sioners of the State Corporation Commission

of the Commonwealth of Virginia

By Counsel

Cantilo, Maisel & Hubbard, L.L.P.

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Steven E. Adkins (Va. Bar No. 32834)

111 Congress Avenue, Suite 1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 478-6000

Attorneys for Appellees

D-1

Docket No. 94-1039

IN THE

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY

(A Risk Retention Group)

and

HOME BUYERS WARRANTY CORPORATION I,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

v.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

OF THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA, et aL,

Defendants-Appellees,

Filed: January 28, 1994

District Court No. 93-1006-A

APPELLANTS’ JOINDER IN MOTION TO ABSTAIN

Harvey B. Cohen, Va. Bar #6440

R. Scott Caulkins, Va. Bar #23583

John C. Pasierb, Va. Bar #27446

COHEN, GETTINGS, DUNHAM

& HARRISON, P.C.

Arlington, Virginia, 22201

(703) 525-2260

(703) 525-2489 (fax)

Counsel for the Appellants, NHIC and HBW

D-2

APPELLANT’S JOINDER IN MOTION TO ABSTAIN

National Home Insurance Company (a Risk Retention

Group) (“NHIC”) and Home Buyers Warranty Corporation II

(“HBW"), hereby join in the motion to abstain filed by the State

Corporation Commission (“the Commission”) and the Commis-

sion’s individual members, Theodore V. Morrison, Jr., Preston

C. Shannon, and Hullihen W. Moore (hereinafter, the individual

members of the Commission will be collectively referred to as

the “Commissioners”), and request that this Court abstain and

therefore, that the decision of the District Court be vacated and

the case remanded with instructions to await the outcome of the

State court proceedings.

SUMMARY OF POSITION

By motion, rather than by cross appeal, the Commission

and the Commissioners have resurrected their motion to abstain

considered and denied by the District Court. The District Court’s

decision on abstention was correct at the time it was made, but

since then, and since the filing of this appeal, circumstances have

changed. Only recently, the Virginia Supreme Court notified

counsel that it will hear oral argument on the state appeal during

the third week of February 1994. Based on the current status of

the Virginia Supreme Court appeal, and the case authority of

this Court, the appropriate disposition of the appeal before this

Court is to vacate the District Court’s opinion and remand the

case to the District Court with instructions to retain jurisdiction

over the case should anything prevent a prompt state court

determination. An explanation of the procedural background

reflects the current status of both appeals and the reasons why

this relief is now appropriate.

PROCEDURAL HISTORY

NHIC, a “risk retention group” under the Risk Retention

Act, 15 U.S.C. § 3901, et seq. (“the Federal Act’), writes

casualty insurance to insure the product liability risks of builders

|

|

j

D-3

in connection with the construction of new residential housing.

NHIC is composed of builder members who have joined to-

gether to self insure themselves under the Federal Act. The

Federal Act was intended to insure uniform regulation of risk

retention groups by preempting the authority of non-domiciliary

States to exercise regulatory authority over risk retention groups

operating in their jurisdictions but domiciled in another state.

Colorado is NHIC’s domiciliary and regulatory state.

From 1986 until 1992, NHIC employed a well-known,

independent actuarial firm to determine and certify the adequacy

of its reserves. Insurance rates were based upon this professional

advice, and as of September 30, 1992, NHIC’s reserves had been

certified by the firm to be adequate. Based upon the firm’s

advice, NHIC had been projecting that by the end of 1992 there

would be capital and surplus of $3.5 million to $4 million.

During the preparation of the 1991 audited financial statements

by an accounting firm engaged by NHIC, the accounting firm’s

staff actuaries performed their own actuarial analysis and re-

ported that NHIC was under-reserved for unearned premiums

under this different analysis. A third actuarial study was con-

ducted by a third independent firm to review those findings.

NHIC reported this deficit in unearned premium reserves to the

Colorado Division of Insurance.

As a result of this change in actuarial models and the

resulting under-reserve, NHIC is operating under the direct

supervision of the Colorado Division of Insurance and pursuant

to an Abatement Plan. NHIC reported the under-reserve to the

Commission.

Even though the Commission can only enjoin NHIC’s

operations if it petitions an independent court of competent

jurisdiction for an injunction under 15 U.S.C. 3902(a)(1)(H), the

Bureau of Insurance at the relation of the Commission brought

an action before the Commission, with the Commissioners as

the triers of fact, against NHIC entitled Commonwealth of

D-4

Virginia at the Relation of the State Corporation Commission

v. National Home Insurance Company (A Risk Retention Group)

seeking to enjoin NHIC’s operations even though NHIC’s domi-

ciliary and primary regulatory state under the Federal Act,

Colorado, was allowing NHIC to continue operations under a

plan of abatement. On July 2, 1993, the Commission entered an

Order granting the Commission’s motion for temporary injunc-

tion (“Injunction Order"), without a petition being filed or a

hearing before an independent court of competent jurisdiction.

NHIC’s objection to the jurisdiction of the Commission to hear

the matter pursuant to the Federal Act was made before the

Commission and denied. The Injunction Order was to take effect

on September 1, 1993.

Following the issuance of the Injunction Order, NHIC

petitioned the Commission to suspend the effectiveness of the

Injunction Order and offered to post a bond in the amount of

$1 million to cover any claims made on warranties in Virginia.

The basis of this motion was the absolute lack of any testimony

that NHIC was unable to pay any of its obligations as they

became due. In fact, the only testimony was that NHIC could

pay claims for the next eight years even if no steps were taken

under the plan of abatement. The bond offered by NHIC was in

an amount sufficient to pay all claims arising in Virginia for

several years even without any further infusion of capital called

for in Colorado’s Abatement Plan. That petition was denied by

the Commission and the Commissioners on July 23, 1993.

Virginia is NHIC’s fifth largest market. If NHIC were

unable to do business in Virginia for any period of time as a

result of the Injunction Order, NHIC would suffer irreparable

harm. Consequently, time was of the essence to NHIC to be

heard on its objections to the Commission’s actions prior to the

effective date of the Injunction Order of September 1, 1993.

NHIC filed its Notice of Appeal of the Injunction Order on July

6, 1993. In its Petition for Appeal, NHIC petitioned for the

D-5

suspension of the effectiveness of the Injunction Order until the

Supreme Court decided the appeal. Due to the delay in the

Court’s consideration of the Petition for Suspension occasioned

by the Court’s August recess, NHIC and HBW filed a complaint

for a declaratory judgment and injunctive relief in the United

States District Court on August 2, 1993, requesting that the

District Court declare that the Commission was not an inde-

pendent court of competent jurisdiction as required by the

Federal Act and that, therefore, it lacked the authority under the

Federal Act to issue the injunction. The Complaint originally

named the Commission as a Defendant. It was amended before

the filing of responsive pleadings to add the Commissioners as

defendants in their individual and official capacities and to add

a cause of action arising under 15 U.S.C. § 1983. The District

Court was the only timely source of relief available to NHIC and

HBW in August 1993 to remedy the irreparable harm to NHIC

and HBW caused by the issuance of the Injunction Order

contrary to the Federal Act.

The Commission, and subsequently the Commissioners,

responded with a motion requesting, inter alia, that the District

Court abstain from exercising its jurisdiction or, in the alterna-

tive, stay the proceeding for an indefinite period of time. The

basis of the Commission’s motion was the ongoing proceeding

before the Virginia Supreme Court.

On August 26, 1993, NHIC and HBW filed a Motion for

Temporary Restraining Order and Preliminary Injunction in the

District Court case. On August 27, 1993, the District Court heard

the first of three oral arguments. The District Court denied the

request for a temporary restraining order on September 3. 1993.

but set a hearing on the merits and on the motions filed by the

Commission and the Commissioners. The parties submitted

several supplemental briefs requested by the District Court on

various issues including abstention.

a

D -6

In the Supreme Court Appeal, the petition for suspension

of effectiveness of order was denied by the Supreme Court of

Virginia on September 7, 1993. The Commission delayed trans-

mitting the record to the Virginia Supreme Court, delaying the

appeal before that Court. NHIC and HBW continued the pro-

ceeding before District Court as it appeared unlikely at that time

that the Virginia Supreme Court would hear and decide the

appeal before it for at least a year.

On December 3, 1993, the District Court issued the Memo-

randum Opinion which is the subject of this appeal. The District

Court decided not to abstain from ruling on whether the Com-

mission was a court of competent jurisdiction under the Federal

Act, but did abstain under Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971)

from reviewing the proceeding before the Commission to deter-

mine if the Commission was sitting in its legislative or judicial

capacity during the proceeding. Because NHIC and HBW be-

lieve the District Court erred in ruling that the Commission

could act as a court of competent jurisdiction under the Federal

Act, NHIC and HBW appealed the District Court’s opinion to

this Court on December 28, 1993. Neither the Commission nor

the Commissioners filed a cross appeal on the District Court’s

rulings.

After the Commission and Commissioners filed the Mo-

tions for Abstention or Abeyance presently before this Court

NHIC and HBW received notice from the Virginia Supreme

Court tentatively setting oral argument on the appeal pending

before it for the week of February 21 through 25, 1994.

D-7

ARGUMENT

APPELLANTS JOIN IN THE MOTION TO ABSTAIN

FROM HEARING THIS APPEAL AND REQUEST

UPON ABSTENTION, THE DISTRICT COURT’S

DECISION BE VACATED AND THE CASE BE

REMANDED TO THE DISTRICT COURT.

NHIC and HBW believe that the District Court made the

correct decision not to abstain below and that issue was not

appealed or cross appealed. We recognize, however, that this

Court has previously stated that even if the District Court’s

decision on abstention is not appealed, it can “ex mero motu"

consider the issue of abstention. Front Royal and Warren

Industrial Park Corp. v. Town of Front Royal, Va., 945 F.2d

760, 763 (4th Cir. 1991); Caleb Stowe Associates, Ltd v. County

of Albemarle, Va., 724 F.2d 1079, 1080 (4th Cir. 1984); AFA

Distributing Co. Inc., v. Pearl Brewing Co., 470 F.2d 1210,

1213 (4th Cir. 1973). Contra, Winston v. Children and Youth

Services of Delaware County, 948 F.2d 1380, 1384 (3rd Cir.

1991). Accordingly, it is appropriate to consider whether absten-

tion is proper at this time.

We agree that the changed circumstances since the District

Court heard this matter now warrant abstention. Five and one

half months have passed since the suit was filed. The Virginia

Supreme Court has advised all parties that it will hear oral

argument during the third week of February 1994 instead of the

one year anticipated when the suit was filed before the District

Court. Under these circumstances, the length of delay and the

resulting irreparable harm to NHIC and HBW appear greatly

reduced. Therefore, as a matter of comity and judicial economy,

NHIC and HBW agree that abstention would be proper provided

that the District Court decision is vacated.

The case law is clear—if this Court abstains, then the

decision of the District Court should be vacated. See Front

D-8

Royal, 945 F.2d at 765; Caleb, 724 F.2d at 1081; and AFA

Distributing, 470 F.2d at 1214. If the lower court decision is not

vacated and this Court abstains, then the District Court decision

would become final and NHIC and HBW would be deprived of

their right of appeal of that decision. On each occasion where

this Court has abstained from determining the merits of an

appeal of a district court’s decision it vacated the judgment

below. Id.

In addition to vacating the judgment below, it is appropriate

for this Court to remand the case to the District Court. In Caleb,

this court did exactly that:

Although neither the plaintiffs nor the defendants

contend that the case cannot be fully disposed of in

Virginia state courts, we think it is appropriate for the

district court to retain jurisdiction over the case

“should anything prevent a prompt state court deter-

mination.” Louisiana Power & Light Co. v. City of

Thibodaux, 360 U.S. 25, 31, 79 S.Ct. 1070, 1074, 3

L.Ed.2d 1058 (1959); Fralin & Waldron, Inc. v. City

of Martinsville, 493 F.2d at 483. In addition, the

plaintiffs may wish to preserve their right to have their

federal claims decided in federal court in the event of

an adverse state determination of the questions of state

and local law. England v. Louisiana State Board of

Medical Examiners, 375 U.S. 411, 419-422, 84 S.Ct.

461, 466-468, 11 L.Ed.2d 440 (1964).

724 F.2d at 1080-1081. Here, although the argument is sched-

uled for the week of February 21-25, 1994, there may be some

unforseen delay and the District Court should retain jurisdiction

in that event. The District Court noted this possibility when,

although entering a final appealable judgment, it stated:

“{s]hould delay occur, however, NHIC has leave to return to this

Court to pursue its claim.” (Memorandum Opinion, p. 33.) If

D-9

this Court abstains, the decision below must be vacated and

remanded to the District Court.

CONCLUSION

If this Court decides to abstain as a result of the joint

motion, it must also vacate the District Court’s decision and

remand the matter to the District Court with instruction to retain

jurisdiction pending the outcome in the state court proceedings.

Respectfully submitted,

COHEN, GEITINGS,

DUNHAM &, HARRISON,P .C.

Harvey B. Cohen, Va. Bar #6440

R. Scott Caulkins, Va. Bar #23583

John C. Pasierb, Va. Bar #27446

2200 Wilson Boulevard, Suite 800

Arlington, Virginia, 22216

(703) 525-2260

(703) 525-2489 (fax)

Counsel for the Plaintiffs,

NHIC and HBW

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that this day of January, 1994, I mailed,

first class mail, postage prepaid, a copy of the foregoing to the

following offices:

Patrick H. Cantilo

Randolph N. Wisener

Cantilo, Maisel & Hubbard, L.L.P.

111 Congress Avenue, Suite 1700

Austin, Texas 78701

(512) 478-6000

E- 1

No. 94-1039

IN THE

United States Court Of Appeals

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

(CA-93-1006-A)

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY;

HOME BUYERS WARRANTY CORPORATION I,

Plaintiffs - Appellants,

VS.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION OF

THE COMMONWEALTH OF VIRGINIA;

THEODORE V. MORRISON, JR., individually and as

Chairman of the State Corporation Commission of the

Commonwealth of Virginia; PRESTON C. SHANNON, indi-

vidually and as a Member of the State Corporation Commis-

sion of the Commonwealth of Virginia; HULLIHEN W.

MOORE, individually and as a Member of the State

Corporation Commission of the Commonwealth of Virginia,

Defendants - Appellees.

Filed: February 22, 1994

ORDER

Appellees filed a motion to place case in abeyance, appel-

lants filed a response to the motion and appellees filed a reply

in support of the motion.

E-2

The Court places this case in abeyance pending decision

by the Virginia Supreme Court in National Home Insurance

Company v. State Corporation Commission, record number

931052. The parties are directed to immediately notify this

Court in that case.

For the Court

/s/ Bert M. Montague

Clerk

F-1

Record No. 931052

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF VIRGINIA

AT RICHMOND

(S.C.C. Case No. INS930072)

NATIONAL HOME INSURANCE COMPANY

(A Risk Retention Group),

Appellant

v.

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION,

Appellee.

BRIEF OF APPELLEE

STATE CORPORATION COMMISSION

Stewart E. Farrar

Solicitor General

Anthony Gambardella

General Counsel

Peter B. Smith

Senior Counsel

Michael D. Thomas

_ Assistant General Counsel

State Corporation Commission

Office of General Counsel

P.O. Box 1197

Richmond, Virginia 23209

F-2

(EXCERPT)

ARGUMENT

The major issues in this case have already been decided by

the United States District Court for the Eastern District of

Virginia. Although that Court’s decision is not absolutely bind-

ing on this one, the Commission submits that it is extraordinarily

persuasive here. NHIC should bear a heavy burden to explain to

this Court why a different result should be reached in this appeal,

which burden it has failed to meet.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Virginia State Corp. Commission v. National Home Insurance · 513 U.S. 1083 | Frix