Opposition Brief — City of Henderson v. Nevada Entertainment Industries, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

4 \

SHAUNA M.HUGHES

No. 94-786

IN THE

Supreme Court of the

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

A NEVADA CORPORATION AND DANIEL BISHOP,

PETITIONERS

v.

CITY OF HENDERSON, A NEVADA MUNICIPAL CORPORATION,

JAMES GOFF, CHIEF OF POLICE OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON,

RESPONDENTS

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

City Attorney JAMES J. CLANCY

LIZA CONROY (Counsel of Record)

Assistant City Attorney CAROL A. CLANCY

9055 La Tuna Canyon Road

City of Henderson Sun Valley, CA 91352

240 Water Street (818) 352-2069

Henderson, NV 89015

(702) 565-2394 Counsel for Respondents

ot

ole

QUESTIONS PRESENTED BY RESPONDENT

CITY OF HENDERSON ET. AL., IN

RELATION TO ELEVENTH AMENDMENT

INFIRMITIES IN LIEU OF PETITIONER

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT’S QUESTIONS 1,

2, AND 3.

I

Whether the filing of the federal

civil rights complaint by Nevada

Entertainment Enterprises, Inc., a Nevada

Corp. and citizen of the State of Nevada,

in the U.S. District Court for the

District of Nevada on April 24, 1990,

while the Nevada State License Revocation

Proceedings were still pending before the

City Council of Henderson sitting as a

Nevada Quasi-Judicial Board of Fact

Finders, in which a quasi-judicial order

of business license revocation by the

Henderson City Council had been

voluntarily stayed for 10 days by the City

Council from its issuance on April 16,

41990 to May 1, 1990, for the purpose of

permitting Nevada Enterprise to appeal

Nevada District Court, under the State of

: - —————=-™

wite

Nevada procedure, and Nevada Enterprises’

procurement and execution of a compulsive

federal temporary restraining order, and

compulsive preliminary injunctions of the

U.S. District Court and the U.S. Court of

Appeals, which extended the City Council's

stay order indefinitely and interfered

with the State of Nevada’s Administration

of the judicial procedures; constituted a

“patent” violation of the Eleventh

Amendment to the Federal Constitution by

Nevada Entertainment which, per force,

ousted the federal courts of subject |

matter jurisdiction and required the U.S..

District Court and Court of Appeal to

abstain and dismiss such Complaint in the

U.S. District Court under this Court's

binding precedents in Huffman v. Pursue

Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975) and Ohio Civil

Rights Commission v. Dayton Christian

Schools Inc., 477 U.S. 619 (1986).

i: aaa sae me

-iii-

II

Whether the City of Henderson was

denied due process of law by the Ninth

Circuit Court of Appeals’ (Browning,

Canby, and Kelleher) Order of April 7,

1994 withdrawing its opinion in 8 F3,

1348, without cause and without

explanation, and refusal of that Court to

apply (as the law of the case) the rulings

of this Court in Huffman v. Pursue Ltd.,

supra, and Ohio Civil Rights Commission v.

Dayton Christian School, Inc., supra,

which the Ninth Circuit on November 2,

1993 had held to be binding precedent in

Nevada Entertainment Industries Inc. v.

City of Henderson, 8 F3, 1348, and which

required the federal court to dismiss the

federal complaint, but which refused to

rule upon the City’s additional claim that

the dismissal was predicated upon an

Eleventh Amendment violation: and for lack

of subiect matter jurisdiction, and where

such refusal, and subsequent withdrawal

has caused Nevada Entertainment

oiy=

Inc., thereafter, in its Response in No.

662 and its Petition in No. 786, to change

its prior arguments, and to file this

petition for writ of certiorari under a

(different) rule of law which had not,

theretofore, been available to it under

the Huffman vy. Pursue, and Dayton

Christrian School rulings which required a

dismissal of the federal civil complaint

for violation of the Eleventh Amendment,

see Petition for Writ of Certiorari in

94-662 at pages 32 and 33, and 34.

-Y~=

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...0ccccccccee

THE NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT STATEMENT

OF FACTS IS EGREGIOUSLY IN ERROR...

STATEMENT OF FACTS i cicccccccccdccsse

THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT FORBIDS THE

FILING OF NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT 'S

FEDERAL COMPLAINT........e+seeeeves

RESPONDENTS’ OBJECTIONS TO

PETITIONERS QUESTIONS 1, 2,

BRD Be cccePbpesisevecccscrevecervede

-vi-

FEDERAL CASES

Anderson v. Haless,

469 0.8. Gar ee ra vs kc ct cack tcans 50

DC. Court of Appeals vy. Feldman,

460 U.8.: 468 See chs eeed ie nes 042 26

23 F.3d 218 (CA 9,

April ©, 199G Decne svnceveseceds eee ves 33, 34

England v. Louisiana State Board

of Medical Examiners

376 G. Hh. : Bee Cok bn dais ba ews 16

Hicks yv. Miranda,

"4224 ©. Be ee iar es Fk ae vei 15, 24

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd...

420 U.S. S98 ChGpeics ocean es aS: a) Pee |

26, 28, 30, 32, 33, 36, 45,

48, 51, 52, 53

Kokkonnen v. Guardian Life Ins, Co.

of America,

54 CCH S.Ct. Bull. B1724

(CA ©, Wie Se ah on os hc ee 37

New York Football Giants. Inc. v.

L.A. Chargers Football Club, Inc.,

291 F. Fe Bee ee rs oe 6 oe rces 14

Ohio B Emp) ts

yv. Hodory,

43% ©.5. SUE Ce a a a ee co so 16

Ohio Civil Rights ¢ POON

Dayton Christian Schools, Inc.

477 U.3. Ga Fee eh aceeiesecst ice 44, 53

-vii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

FEDERAL CASES

11126 Baltimore Blvd. v. Prince George's

MCMC TERIA: |.0. Fives s cugaqeeesdggacesese: 49

11126 Baltimore Blyd v Prince George's

County, Md.,

32 F.3d 109

ee errr err ere ee Pee 49

Watson v. Buck,

313 U.S. 367 (1941)... cece eee eeees 28, 48, 49

RU rere i ecceseccedcesccses 40

23 F.3d 263 (CA 9,

BO h By BOBS Frc ccs ccscccscesecsccccres 33, 34

Inc. vy. City of Tempe,

820 F.2d 1079 (CA 9, 1987).----+eeeeeers a

Younger v. Harris

401 U.S. 37 (1971)... ccccrcvereres 13, 35, 48

City of Las Vegas v. Nevada Industries

ER £2). Serre 18, 44, 45, 46, 52

United Stat : bituti

Amendments

EE pc chee eee eeeeereseserrresees 47

Eleventh......-+--> ‘a. 2, 23. 39, 40,

41, 45, 47, 48, 51

Fourteenth..... secre eerrrrrerees 47

——————————————

~<viii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

PAGE

FEDERAL STATUTES

28 U.S.C.

Section 12920 D). ccc reverence creveese 25

Section 1651 a)... ccs ccesereersvees 21

Section 2101(e). 1... cece cere ne nnves 20

Section 2101(f)....... weeveer ress Y 20

Section 19B3... cc crcccssscesess Si, be

Section 1988... ccc ccvv sree ssevceens 54

FEDERAL RULES

eS Se Pee eee eee ee eee 21

i ty ke ee ee ee a ee ee eee 20

Rule B2siEr 6 Hee Kec ie chee este eters 20

Ss - Ss errerewererwe gas ORR Se ee ee ee 21

Rule Lbs bce Ce Cee COCR STO CEPT Ce ee ee 54

Rule 62(C). vc ccvcstrenessessiveseces 28

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure

PS ere rt ee a 25

Dube GCE) 6 cic se cet et se tcc ciciveves 38

reg TSS Eee erty Cr Re 30

oo a oy Pe ae eee a ee ee 31

“Supreme Court's Construction

of Eleventh Amendment, Restricting

Federal Judicial Power over Suits

against States,”

Mee RIO eee be edtbs Cbbeakin, 41

Stern, Gressman, Shapiro, and Geller,

“Gin & BJT 50

«je

In the Supreme Court

of the

United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

a Nevada corporation and DANIEL BISHOP

Petitioners,

vs.

CITY OF HENDERSON, a Nevada Municipal

corporation, JAMES GOFF, CHIEF OF POLICE

OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari

to the United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

The respondents City of Henderson, a

Nevada Municipal corporation, and JAMES

GOFF, CHIEF OF POLICE OF THE CITY OF

HENDERSON, respectfully request that this

Court summarily deny Nevada

Entertainment's petition for writ of

certiorari, seeking review of the Ninth

Circuit opinion in this case which is

unreported, as a frivolous petition,

-2-

without any merit whatsoever, or

consolidate this Petition with the City of

Henderson's Petition in Case No. 662 and

set both Petitions for argument and

decision on the questions raised in Case

No. 662.

TITHE NEVADA ENTERPRISE STATEMENT

OF FACTS IS EGREGIOUSLY IN ERROR.

The petitioners’ NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT

INDUSTRIES, INC., a Nevada corporation and

DANIEL BISHOP (hereinafter “Nevada

Entertainment) gtatement of the facts,

which appears at pages 4-8 under the

heading “Statement of the Case’, is

egregiously in error, and is fatally

flawed __in relation _._.to Nevada

Entertainment ’s present election, after 4

, Lit bi to “ol r ‘

and now argue for the first time, in the

face of _uncontrovertible facts to the

contrary, that it pleaded an “independent

action in the federal court which has

raised a serious challenge to the

=3<

constitutionality of the ordinances

themselves. See page 5 at lines 6-15

reading:

“Ihe action was filed after the

on the ground that

it fraudulently obtained a business

license from the City by

misrepresenting to the City the

nature of the business it intended to

operate in the City of Henderson.

Instead of seeking judicial review in

the Nevada State Court of the

revocation order Nevada Entertainment

in the federal court challenging the

constitutionality of the ordinances

themselves.” (Our emphasis).

The above statements of fact at page 5 and

others at pages 4-8 are totally false

because such language has been carefully

crafted and purposely omits other

essential ‘facts’ which are necessary for

@ proper understanding of their full and

truthful meaning and significance, and

should be totally disregarded for the

special purpose intended by Nevada

Entertainment in their petition in No.

786. (As a substitute therefore, the City

of Henderson has setforth hereinafter at

a

pages 5-37 the Statement of Facts in the

City’s Petition for Writ of Certiorari in

Case No. 94-662 at pp. 3-36). The

“irregularity”, described above, also

appears in Nevada Entertainments’ Response

to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari to

the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit in City of Henderson. a

the Supreme Court of the United States,

October Term 1994, No. 94-662, Docketed on

October 11, 1994. There, the Petition of

the City of Henderson dealt with said

“irregularity” in a comprehensive manner

in its Reply Brief. The Reply Brief in

No. 94-662 is equally relevant to this

Petition in 94-786. A copy thereof is

attached at Appendix A to “Respondents

Brief in Opposition” herein in No. 94-786.

The Statement of Facts in the City’s

Petition includes the City’s use of the

“clean hands” equity doctrine, res

-5-

judicata, collateral estoppel and other

such facts which are “selected omitted” in

the Nevada Entertainment petition.

STATEMENT OF FACTS

The City of Henderson, Nevada,

adopted a new, comprehensive Municipal

Zongin Code and Municipal License Code in

1989, following lengthy public hearings

and proceedings on such Codes. Under

State law and the Zoning Code, as amended,

a new provision was added for an ‘adult

business” which was authorized only in the

"CH Zone.” Prior to opening for business,

all prospective businesses were required

to submit an application for, and obtain,

a revenue-based business license,

thruthfully disclosing the precise nature

of the intended business operation. [A

business license will not issue unless the

intended business operation is located in

@ proper zone. |] An “adult business was

among several enumerated business uses

-6§-

which required application for a

conditional use permit (as to which Nevada

Entertainment, Inc. has never filed an

application).

Federal plaintiffs Nevada Entertain-

ment Industries, Inc. et al., are

operators of an Adult Business, who wished

to locate in the oity of Henderson,

Nevada. Upon locating a prospective site

available for rent, they entered into a

lease. Several months after federal

plaintiffs had signed their lease, they

applied to the City for a revenue based

business license, indicating that their

intended use of the property would be that

of an “adult business.” In applying for

the business license, Federal Plaintiffs

learned of the new provisions for sexually

oriented adult businesses, including the

need to apply for a zone change or

variance, and a request for a conditional

use permit, to permit them to operate such

a business at their specific location.

Federal plaintiffs were informed by

Ja

the City that, under the applicable zoning

provisions, the site they had rented was

not then zoned for “adult use, and that

if they wanted to operate an “adult use,”

they would have to request a variance or

change in zoning.

Federal plaintiffs asked City

officials if they could immediately open

for business if they decided to operate a

different use, such asa general video

store (which was a separate and distinct

use from an adult business under the new

zoning code). They were told that their

rented site was zoned for use as a general

video store, but since this was a _ change

in the described use in their business

application form, they could qualify for

issuance of a business under that use only

if they resubmitted their business license

application and indicated their intention

to open a general video store.

Federal plaintiffs did not apply for

a zone change or variance or conditional

use permit. Instead, they submitted an

-3-

amended application for A business

license, in which they intentionally and

with knowledge of the substantive

difference between the two categories,

applied for permission to operate a

business fraudulently described as ‘mass

media books and video store, novelty shop,

etc., rather than using the correct

category of “adult business.”

In September of 1989, federal

plaintiffs, on the basis of this

intentional misrepresentation, were issued

a revenue-based business -icense to

operate a general video store on the

Premises located at 1100 Boulder Highway,

Henderson, Nevada, under the name ‘Fantasy

Video Plus.”

The operation opened for business. in

or about February 1990. Although Federal

Plaintiffs had represented to the City

during the business license application

process that the business use for “Fantasy

Video Plus” would be that of a general

video store, they immediately operated the

-9-

same as an ‘Adult’ Business.” Federal

plaintiffs admit in this action and have

stipulated that since opening for business

they have used the Premises for the

continuous operation of a different

business use, i.e. that of an Adult

An Adult Business is a business use

separate and distinct from a general video

store. In the course of mak ing

application for their business license,

federal plaintiffs had been made aware

that there was a substantive difference

between the two uses (general video vs.

Adult Business), and had affirmatively

assured the Community and Planning

Departments’ inspecting official that the

was rather a general video business. See

paragraph 6 of Licensees’ Answer to

Complaint, filed before the Henderson City

Council in In the Matter of the

Disciplinary Action Against the Business

License of Nevada Entertainment

video Plus, a copy of which appears at

Appendix 1-11 of the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in Case NO. 92-943.

When the licensees’ deception came to

the attention of the City inspectors,

state law enforcement action was commenced

through the filing of a complaint and the

initiation of adninistrative license

revocation proceedings against Federal

Plaintiffs, which sought the revocation of

the business license issued to the

operation “Fantasy Video Plus,” on the

grounds that licensees had deliberately

made fraudulent and material

misrepresentations in their business

license application in order to secure

immediate issuance of the license. This

state administrative enforcement action

came before the City Council for hearing

on April 10, 1990.

At the state license revocation

proceedings, it was determined that

| |

#jl-

federal plaintiffs’ misrepresentations

were material, deliberate, and were

intended to mislead the city, and violated

state law.

defense, among others, the game federal

constitutional issues they sought to

relitigate in their federal civil rights

complaint under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983.

(See Federal Plaintiffs’ Answer to the

City of Henderson Summons and Complaint

before the City Council in license

revocation proceedings, appearing as

Appendix 1 in the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in Case No. 92-643.

The (quasi-judicial) administrative

enforcement hearing resulted in a written

order dated April 16, 1990, which (1)

immediately revoked the business license

and (2) stayed action to enforce the

revocation for a period of ten days, in

5 eel |

aiQ—

order to allow the licensees the

opportunity to immediately seek judicial

review of the City action before the City

Council, as provided bine the municipal

licensing ordinance [see City of Henderson

Municipal Code (hereinafter “E.MC.” 3

4.06.160]. See copy of the City Council’s

findings of fact, conclusions of law, and

order attached at Appendix 2 to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in Case

No. 92-643. Federal Plaintiffs

incorrectly asserted at page 14 of their

brief on appeal that the City “stayed its

decision” for ten days. The correct

statement is that the City, by its order

dated April 16, 1989, revoked licensees’

business license, but stayed enforcement

action on the revocation, for a period of

ten days, in order to allow the licensees

an immediate and unfettered opportunity to

have this revocation action reviewed by

the state court, as provided by state law

and municipal ordinance.

Instead of appealing the City

«}3-

Council’s (quasi-judicial) administrative

factfinding and license revocation in

state court, licensees filed this action

in_federal court as a defense to the

City’s enforcement action (which was

pending because of the stay issued and the

existence of a statutory right to appeal

the City’s action within the state

judicial system), thereby invoking the

abstention doctrine formulated in Younger

vy. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971), Huffman v.

Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592 (1975), and

their progeny.

It is important to note at the outset

of these Statement of Facts that the

gravamen of the 42 U.S.C. Section 1983

complaint is its federal interference with

state judicial procedures, (not with mere

City functions). The City, in defending

against the civil rights complaint, is

acting as an agent of the State and is

relying upon the Eleventh Amendment,

because it is claiming interference with

the State's judicial procedures for review

?

ote OE ——™ -

a tga

of quasi-judicial findings-of-fact by

municipal agencies.

On April 27, 1990, the United States

District Court granted a temporary

restraining order pursuant to Rule 65 of

the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. At

the hearing on the TRO, Assistant City

Attorney Liza Conroy cited New York

Football Giants, Inc, v, L.A. Chargers

Football Club, Inc., 291 F.2d 471, at 474

(1961), and unsuccessfully involked the

“clean hands” equity doctrine, and _ the

City Council’s quasi-judicial finding of

eye tee Pe ene NT Te

“fraud” as ground for requiring the United

States District Court to rule that it

lacked subject matter jurisdiction and to

deny the equitable relief sought

(injunction) and to dismiss the civil

rights complaint for ‘lack of subject

matter jurisdiction.” (Note, in this

sy i it Bae

regard, the City of Henderson’s response

dated January 16, 1994, to Attorney

Diamonds Petition for Rehearing at

Appendix Page 4-16 and 4-17 of No. 94-662.

ai S—

that shortly thereafter (3 months later)

the Ninth Circuit withdrew its November 2,

1993 Opinion and substituted its May 4,

1994 Memorandum.

On June 4, 1990, following oral

argument on Plaintiffs’ Motion for a

preliminary injunction and without taking

iditi 1 teat id tne

United States District Court enjoined the

Defendants from further action on the

matter in general, but left the City

Council’s revocation of the business

license undisturbed. A copy of the

Temporary Restraining Order and

Preliminary Injunction is attached at

Appendix 3 and 4 to the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari in Case No. 92-643.

After further study of the United

States Supreme Court’s opinions in Huffman

v. Pursue, Ltd., supra, as impacted by the

United States Supreme Court’s ruling in

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1973), the

City of Henderson declared their refusal

to consent to federal iurisdiction [see

Hodory, 431 U.S. 471 (1977)], and filed:

(1) a declaratory judgment lawsuit in the

Nevada District Court. (City of Henderson

vy. Nevada Entertainment Industries, Inc.,

Clark County District Court No. A 288647,

filed October 1, 1990 (setting forth the

same issues which were present in the

federal civil rights complaint); and (2) g@

7 —e the Civil Rights J x

in the Uninet Sinton Bintsieh Mauss t]

(See, in this regard, Question 4 in Case

94-662 and the clash, in such cases, with

respect to the ‘reservation”™ doctrine

expressed in England v. Louisiana State

Board of Medical Examiners, 375 U.S. 411

ee ae a NET Teer cee Sey ner y

Ns _——_ . Y* ¢ -

(1964).

The City of Henderson further

requested that such motions be set for an

immediate hearing on the grounds that the

Huffman doctrine applied to this case, and

that the District Court had no discretion

in the matter and was required to dismiss

the federal complaint.

On March 22, 1991 (almost six months

after Defendants herein had filed their

motion to dismiss and request for an ip-

mediate hearing), the United States Dis-

trict Court herein filed its opinion and

order which denied the Defendants’ motion

to dismiss, on the basis of the Court’s

interpretations of the same cases and set

the case for a pretrial hearing on the

following week, Friday, March 29, 1991. A

copy of the March 22, 1991 Opinion and

Order is attached at Appendix 16 to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in 94-662.

On March 29, 1991, Defendants

indicated to the United States District

Court at a pre-trial conference that they

-18-

intended to file a Motion in which they

would request the Court to amend its order

of March 22, 1991, so as to authorize an

immediate appeal to the Ninth Circuit .

Court of Appeals and, if necessary, to the

United States Supreme Court, to decide the

jurisdictional claim that the United

States District Court lacks federal

jurisdiction (subject matter juris-

diction) to interfere with Nevada's state

right to adjudicate important State issues

such as licensing (revocation) procedures

and judicial review by the State of Nevada

of the quasi-judicial fact finding of the

City Council in which it revoked the

license of Fantasy Video Plus because of

the use of fraud in obtaining the business

license. See City of Las Vegas v. Nevada

Industries, 772 P.2d 1275, at 1277.

United States District Court Judge Lloyd

George, without ruling on Defendants’

motion on the abstention doctrine,

indicated at said pre-trial conference

that he wished to proceed quickly and hold

-19-

the triai within three to four weeks, and

that such issues should be decided in an

appeal from the merits, rather than an

interlocutory appeal.

On April 1, 199i, Defendants filed

their Motion to Amend re _ Interlocutory

Order and Stay Proceedings. On April 39,

1991, Judge George entered an Order

denying the Defendants’ Motion to Amend

his March 22 Order (to permit an

interlocutory appeal). A copy of the

April 9, 1991 Order is attached at

Appendix 6 to the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in Case No. 92-643.

On April 15, 1991, Defendants filed a

Petition for writ of mandamus and request

for a stay with the Ninth Circuit Court of

Appeals. In its pre-trial Petition for

Mand t) Cit Lied t)

iurisdicti ; hicl Hurt

tri ' but did t

tudioata/eollat ) luriedio-

tional issue. On May 2, 1991, the Ninth

Circuit issued an Order denying the

=~20-

petition and request for a stay. A copy

of the May 2, 1991 Order is attached at

Appendix 7 to the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in Case No. 92-643.

On May 9, 1991, Defendants filed a

petition for writ of certiorari with the

United States Supreme Court, pursuant to

Rule 13 of the Rules of the Supreme Court

of the United States City of Henderson et

al. vy. U.S. District Court, Oct. Term

1990, No. 90-1771, together with an

Application for Stay, addressed to the

Honorable Sandra Day O'Connor, Circuit

Justice for the Ninth Circuit, pursuant to

28 U.S.C. 2101¢€e) and Rule 23 of the

United States Supreme Court Rules,

requesting a stay pending final action on

the Petition for Writ of Certiorari. On

May 20, 1991, Associate Justice O’Connor

denied this Application.

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. section 2101(f)

and Rules 22.5 and 23 of the Supreme Court

Rules, Defendants then resubmitted their

Application for Stay, addressed to

-2l-

Associate Justice Anthony M. Kennedy,

together with a motion for an original

writ of injunction, pursuant to the

All-Writs Act, 28 U.S.C. section 1651(a)

and United States Supreme Court Rule 23.1.

This reapplication relied on Associate

Justice Kennedy’s concurring opinion in

World F Drinki E ; I

City of Tempe, 820 F.2d 1079 at 1084 (9th

Cir. 1987), which seemed to infer

t with the Petit: , bent

that the United States Supreme Court had

Clarified Huffman, so as to require in a

federal case such as this, a dismissal

based upon lack of “subject matter

jurisdiction.” Justice Kennedy referred

said Application to the entire Court for

action, which denied the application on

June 10, 1991.

Ultimately, the federal trial herein

was continued to September 9, 1991.

On July 17, 1991, attorney Roger Jon

Diamond, counsel for the federal

Plaintiffs herein, sent a letter to Liza

-22-

Conroy, Assistant City Attorney for the

City of Henderson, which referred to the

joint case conference report due in the

related state declaratory judgment action

(Cit = N ' Entertain-

b Enanat «| Clark ¢ ) District

Court No. A2Z88647) (hereinafter ‘related

state case’), and stated that state

defendants would sign the report, but with

th ' , Li that t! Clark C

District Ld ' trial

t Cit Cul

neaini ‘ieni Ct) Li

federal case.

On August 9, 1991, the Scheduling

Order in the related state case was filed,

which set the matter for trial on the

court’s earliest available date beginning

March 9, 1992.

On August 12, 1991, a Stipulation for

Order continuing the federal trial herein

and Order thereon was filed, which

continued the federal trial date herein

from September 9, 1991, to January 6,

-23-

1992, with calendar call on January 2,

1992.

On October 7, 1991, the United States

Supreme Court issued an Order denying the

petition for writ of certiorari in Case

No. 90-1771. On December 2, 1991, the

United States Supreme Court denied a

petition for rehearing.

Both Plaintiffs and Defendants filed

trial briefs, and submitted the case for

trial on the briefs. By stipulation, the

evidentiary record from the state

i- judicial ti riled it

the U.S. District Court and designated to

be used as the evidentiary record before

the United States District Court on trial

of the final iniunction. It should be

noted that the stipulation of the record

of the State quasi-judicial proceeding

into evidence clearly established the City

of Henderson’s claims that the federal

court’s exercise of jurisdiction presented

“collat LI Bean sind t) Cit

Council’s order, warranting use of the All

Writs Act.

The City then renewed its motion to

dismiss for lack of sub ject matter

jurisdiction, and also moved to dismiss on

‘the grounds of res judicata and collateral

estoppel. At this point, the trial judge

apparently became aware of the

implications of the City of Henderson's

refusal to waive its Eleventh Amendment

privilege (and its claim of lack of

“subject matter jurisdiction’) and his

refusal to apply the rule of law expressed

in Miranda v. Hicks on the City’s first

Motion to Dismiss which was denied on

March 22, 1991. See Appendix 16 to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in 94-662.

On June 17, 1992, the Honorable Lloyd D.

George, U.S. District Judge for the

District of Nevada, on his own motion,

signed an Order which indicated that he

had reconsidered the Defendants’ request |

for an expedited appeal on the

jurisdictional issue, and would amend his

prior order denying that request. The

——

-25-

June 17th Order is attached at Appendix 8

to the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in

Case No. 92-643. On July 2, 1992, the

Court signed an order amending its prior

Order of March 22, 1992 so as to certify

the same for interlocutory appeal pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. Section 1292(b). A copy of

said Order is annexed to the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari in Case No. 92-643 at

Appendix 9.

On August 3, 1992, the U.S. Court of

Appeals for the Ninth Circuit denied the

City’s Petition for Permission to Appeal

Pursuant to 28 U.S.C. Section 1292(b) and

F.R.A.P. Rule 5. See Appendix 10 to the

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in case

No. 92-643.

On October 13, 1992, the City of

Henderson filed a Petition for Writ of

Certiorari to the United States Court of

Appeals in City of Henderson, a9 Nevada

Oct. Term 1992, No. 92-643.

On November 27, 1992, the United

States District Court filed its Opinion

and entered a judgment in CV-5-90-264-LDG

(LRL), see Appendix 1 to the Petition in

94-662, in which the Federal Court, in the

face of the Huffman abstention doctrine

and the Feldman doctrine, relitigated the

evidence which was before the City Council

sitting as a quasi-judicial hearing board

for the State of Nevada and rendered

judgment in favor of said (quasi-judicial)

administrative state board on the

stipulated record, lifted the previously

issued preliminary injunction, and made

the following Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law at pages 7 and 8 of its

Decision:

“In the present case, plaintiffs

attempted to circumvent the City’s

Code by following a course of

deception. Initially, plaintiffs

applied for a business license for an

adult business. The City then

informed the plaintiffs of certain

conditions that an adult business had

to meet before a license would be

«27-

authorized. In response to this in-

formation, plaintiffs did not seek

judicial protection from the City's

provisions. Nor did they attempt to

meet the conditions for obtaining &

license for an adult business. Nor

did plaintiffs challenge the law by

opening and operating an adult busi-

ness without obtaining any license.

“Rather, plaintiffs inquired

whether a business’ license would be

approved for a general business. The

City responded that such an applica-

tion for a general business would be

approved. Plaintiffs, fully aware

that a license for a general business

would be approved whereas an applica-

tion for an adult business would be

rejected, submitted a second applica-

tion which specifically omitted any

reference to an adult business. This

second application was approved and,

on February 1, .1990; plaintiffs

opened an aduit business. The City

then revoked the plaintiffs’ business

license, finding that plaintiffs had

misrepresented the nature of the

business on the license application

in order to obtain & license. As

permitted by H.M.C. Section 4.04. 150,

the Council revoked plaintiffs’

license for making a false or fraudu-

lent statement in the application for

a license.”

On November 30, 1992, Defendants

ordered Plaintiffs to close their business.

On December 2, 1992, Plaintiffs filed

their Notice of Appeal from the Judgment,

and also moved the United States District

Court for an injunction pending appeal

o2@-

pursuant to Rule 62(c) of the _ Federal

Rules of Civil Procedure.

On December 6, 1992, Defendants filed a

Supplemental Brief with the United States

Supreme Court in No. 92-643, calling the

United States Supreme Court’s attention to

the above described Final Judgment and

Petitioners’ contention that the United

States District Court’s Findings of Fact and

Conclusions of Law in the civil rights

action presented a patent Eleventh Amendment

tlict . rr tablished

Petiti * rignt to uJ liat Lief

1 ail re. Ln int 7

authority of Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420

U.S. 92 (1975), and_Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S.

367 (1941), pursuant to a peremptory writ of

mandamus under the All Writs Act. See

Supplemental Brief in Case No. 92-643, at

pages 12 - 36.

At the conclusion of the Supplemental

Brief, the City argued, at pages 36-37:

~29-

For all of the reasons stated in

the Petitions for Writ of Certiorari

in Case No. 90-1771, and Case No.

92-643, and the Supplemental Brief

herein in Case No. 92-643, Petitioner

is entitled to immediate relief

either by the issuance of an

extraordinary Writ of Mandate under

the All Writs Act, vacating the

Decision of the United State District

Court entered on November 27, 1992,

and mandating a dismissal of the

federal civil rights action, or by

this Court’s grant of the Petition

for Writ of Certiorari in Case No.

92-643 for resolution of Questions I

and IV regarding the jurisdictional

issue and the requirement for

“heightened pleadings’ where a right to

relief under Huffman v. Pursue, Lid.

has been validly raised, and a

resolution of the additional issue as

to whether attorney fees should be

granted to a prevailing defendant in a

United States District Court Civil

Rights Action which has wrongfully been

filed by a business corporation whose

license had been validly revoked by the

City of Henderson because of the fraud

which was perpetrated by the

corporation in its application for a

business license.

On December 7, 1992, the United States

Supreme Court denied the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari in Case No. 92-643.

On December 8, 1992, the United States

District Court filed an Opinion in which it

-30-

denied the Plaintiffs’ motion for

injunction pending appeal.

On Monday, December 14, 1992, Circuit

Judge Noonan filed an order which

temporarily stayed the United States

District Court’s November 25, 1992 Order,

which had lifted the June 5, 1991

preliminary injunction against Defendants

and set 12 o’clock noon on Friday, December

18, 1992 as the deadline date for a Response

to the filing.

On Friday, December 18, 1992, the City

filed: (1) its Response to the Emergency

Motion Under Circuit Rule 27-3 for an

Injunction Pending Appeal; (2) a Motion for

Expedited Appeal; and (3) a Motion for

Judgment of Dismissal on Grounds of Comity

and Lack of Subject Matter Jurisdiction,

pursuant to Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd..

On December 22, 1992 the Court of

Appeals (Noonan and T.J. Nelson) filed an

erder: (1) denying the Motion to Dismiss;

(2) granting Licensees’ Emergency Motion for

iIniunction Pending Appeal; (3) staying the

-3]-

U.S. District Court November 25, 1992 Order;

and (4) expediting the appeal, ordered a

detailed brief schedule, and set the matter

for argument in San Francisco during the week

of April 12 (see Appendix 2 to the Petition

in Case No. 94-662).

On December 22, i992, the City filed

its Notice of Cross-Appeal to the U.S. Court

of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit from _ the

Trial Judgment entered on November 27, 1992.

On May 10, 1993, the Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit heard oral argument

hich the C ) tated to ti City’

L of | that it ) inf ted

Eleventh

City of Tempe. supra.

On November 2, 1993, the Court of

Appeals filed an Opinion and certified the

same for Publication under Circuit Rule

36-2, in which it reversed the Judge of the

&92~

United States District Court and held that

the Court should have abstained under

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., as contended by

the City in its cross-appeal, but omitted

any reference to the Eleventh Amendment

“subject matter jurisdiction” issue. (See

copy at Appendix 3 to the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari in Case No. 94-662. )

The Court of Appeals further held in

relation to attorney’s fees that “The

District Court did not abuse its discretion

in concluding this was not such a case. Nor

do the circumstances justify an award of

fees on appeal.” The Opinion contained the

following conclusion:

_Conclusion

“The decision of the district

court refusing to abstain from

exercising jurisdiction is reversed and

the case is remanded to the district

court with instructions to vacate its

judgment and dismiss the complaint. =

(Our Emphasis. )

On November 30, 1993, Nevada

Entertainment [ndustries, Inc. et al filed a

petition for rehearing and suggestion that

the Court rehear the matter en banc which

subiect matter iurisdiction. [The Petition

for Rehearing introduced new contentions such

as “consent” to federal jurisdiction (see

Appendix 4-10 through 4-17 to Case No.

94-662), and other contentions which are

regularly advanced and considered in

connection with the Wiener. infra,

interpretation of Huffman abstention but

totally inconsistent with the Dubinka, infra,

interpretation of Huffman abstention].

On January 18, 1994, the City of

Henderson et al. filed their "Response to

the Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion

for Hearing en Banc. See copy at Appendix

4 to Case No. 94-662, at Appendix pages 4-10

through 4-17, where the City claimed that the

Court of Appeals’ failure to address the

Fleventh Amendment and the ~ lack of subject

matter jurisdiction issue was responsible

for the confusion which regularly appears

in Huffman abstention decisions. Compare

——e

-34-

Dubinka, infra, with Wiener, infra. The

City’s Response (see Appendix 4 to No.

94-662, at 4-17) ended with the caveat

that, notwithstanding these many new

claims of Nevada Entertainment Inc., the

Ninth Circuit was faced with a bottom

line’ record fact on appeal; that is, that

Assistant City Attorney Liza Conroy at the

gutset had objected to the Court's

jurisdiciton under the Equity maxim of

“clean hands. ~ (See Appendix 4 to No.

94-662, at page 4-17.)

On April 7, 1994, the Court of Appeals

filed an order reading:

“The petition for rehearing is

granted. The opinion reported at 8

F.3d 1348 (CA 9, 1993) is with-

drawn.”

See copy at Appendix 5 to the Petition for

Writ of Certiorari herein.

On May 4, 1994, the Court of Appeals

filed a Memorandum Opinion in which it noted

in a footnote on page 1, that the Memorandum

was pot appropriate for publication and may

not be cited to or by the court of the

-35-

circuit. Thereafter, the court reexamined

the City's auasi-judicial proceedings and

held that the district court’s finding of

deception by Nevada Entertainment

Industries, Inc. et al., applied and was

amply supported by the record and affirmed

the district court’s judgment on that basis,

and dismissed the City’s cross-appeal (i.¢é.

that the civil rights complaint should have

been dismissed for lack of “subject matter

jurisdiction” under Younger v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37 (1971)) as moot. The Court made no

ruling on the City's cross-appeal that’ the

City was entitled to attorney fees. See

copy of Memorandum decision at Appendix 6 to

the Petition for Writ of Certiorari in in

94-662, and compare its earlier ruling on

attorneys fee on November 2, 1993 at Appendix

3 to No. 94-662, at page 3-11.

On May 17, 1994, the Court of Appeals

filed an order granting Nevada Entertainment

Industries, Inc. et al.'s motion for

extension of time until June 21, 1994 to

file a petition for rehearing.

-36-

On May 18, 1994, the City of

Henderson filed a Petition for Rehearing

as to the Court of Appeals Memorandum of

May 4, 1994. See copy at Appendix 7 to

the Petition in Case No. 94-662.

On June 6, 1994, the City of Henderson

filed a Petition for Writ of Mandamus (or

Certiorari Under Rule 11) to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit in the United States Supreme Court,

In re City of Henderson, a Nevada Municipal

Corporation, James Goff, Chief of Police of

the City of Henderson, vy. Nevada Entertain-

ment Industries, Inc,, a Nevada Corporation

and Daniel Bishop, No. 93-1969, in an

attempt to require the Court of Appeals to

explain why it had withdrawn its November 2,

1993 opinion which had upheld the

cross-appeal by the City re Huffman

abstention, and why it had failed, and

neglected, and/or refused to apply the rules

of law established by the United States

Supreme Court, which that opinion held were

controlling, as the law of the case on the

a3Ja

City’s cross-appeal.

On June 14, 1994, the Court of Appeals

denied the City of Henderson’s Petition for

Rehearing. See Appendix 8 to the Petition

for Writ of Certiorari in Case No. 94-662.

On June 17, 1994, the City of Henderson

moved for leave to file a second petition

for rehearing (based upon newly decided

authorities: Kokkonnen v. Guardian Life

lms. Co. of America, 54 CCH S.Ct. Bull.,

B1724, decided May 16, 1994). See copy of

Second Petition for Rehearing at Appendix 9

in Case No. 94-662. On or about June 17,

1994, Nevada Entertainment Industries filed

its Petition for Rehearing in the United

States Court of Appeals for the Ninth

Circuit.

On June 17, 1994, the City of Henderson

filed a Motion for Order Staying Mandate in

the Court of Appeals for the 9th Circuit.

See copy at Appendix 6 to the Supplemental

Brief in Case No. 93-1969.

On July 11, 1994, the Court of Appeals

denied the Petition for Rehearing of Nevada

Entertainment and the City of Henderson's

-38-

motion for leave to file a second petition

for rehearing. See Appendix 10 to the

Petition in Case No. 94-662.

On July 25, 1994, the Court of

Appeals granted Nevada Entertainment's

motion to stay the mandate pursuant to

Rule 41 (b). See Appendix 11 to the

Petition in Case No. 94-662.

On August 12, 1994, the City of

Henderson filed a Motion for Order Extending

Stay of Mandate together with a supporting

declaration and Joint Stipulation of the

Parties and Memorandum of Points and

Authorities with the Court of Appeals for

the Ninth Circuit, and on August 24, 1994,

the Court of Appeals granted the Parties

Joint Motion for Order Extending Stay of

Mandate. See Appendix 12 to the Petition

for Writ of Certiorari in Case No. 94-662.

THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT

.FORBIDS THE FILING OF

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT’S

FEDERAL COMPLAINT.

-39-

Nevada Entertainment’s civil right

complaint is not what

be: an “independent action in the federal

court.” See copy of the civil rights

Complaint at Appendix A (Appendix a te

Reply Brief). In fact and as a matter of

law, it is an action brought by a citizen

of Nevada in the federal court against the

Soverign State of Nevada, which the

Eleventh Amendment forbids, which

collaterally attacks an order of the City

Council of Henderson for actions taken by

it, acting as an agent for the Soverign

State of Nevada, in 4 pending

quasi-judicial license revocation

proceeding within the Nevada State

Judicial System, seeking revocation of

Nevada Entertainment’s business license on

the ground of fraud in connection with its

application for a business license. As

such, the filing of the Federal Civil

Rights Complaint, this trial, and this

appeal in the federal court is in direct

-~40-

conflict with and violates the Eleventh

Amendment to the Federal Constitution and,

precludes the Federal Court from assuming

subject matter jurisdiction under its

Article III powers and hearing such cause.

In Welch vy. State Dept, of Highway and

Public Transportation et, al., 483 U.S.

468, at 472; 97 L.Ed.2 389, at 395 Justice

Powell writing the plurality opinion for 4

justices held:

The Eleventh Amendment provides:

“Ihe Judicial power of the

United States shall not be construed

to extend to any suit in law or

equity, commenced or prosecuted

against one of the United States by

Citizens of another State, or by

Citizens or Subjects of any Foreign

State.:

Constitution. Pennhurst State School

& Hospital v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89,

96,79 b.oé.2 Oo, 1663 Bc. BO

(1984) (Pennhurst II). Accordingly,

as discussed more fully in Part V of

this opinion, the Court long ago held

that the Eleventh Amendment bars a

citizen from bring suit against the

Citizen's own State in federal court,

, 134 U.S. 1, 10, 33. L.Ed.

842, 10 S.Ct. 504 (1890). See

Edelman v. Jordan, 415 U.S. 651,

662-663, 39 L.Ed. 2d 662, 94 S.Ct.

1347 (1974); Employees Vv. Missouri

Dept. of Public Health and Welfare,

411 U.S. 279, 280, 36 L.Ed.2d 251, 93

S.Ct. 1614 (1973). For the same

reason, the Court has held that the

Amendment bars suits in admiralty

against the States, even though such

suits are _ not, strictly speaking,

‘suits in law or equity.’ Ex parte

New York, No. 1, 256 U.S. 490, 497,

65 L.Ed. 1057, 41 S.Ct. 588 (1921)

(Eleventh Amendment bars in personam

actions against 4 State by its

citizens); Ex parte New York, No. 2;

256 U.S. 503, 65 L.Ed. 1063, 41 S.Ct.

592 (1921) (Eleventh Amendment bars

actions in rem against vessel owned

by the State and employed exclusively

for governmental purposes). See

Florida Dept. of State v. Treasure

Salvors, Inc., 458 U.S. 670, 683, n

17, 73 L.Ed.2d 1057, 102 S.Ct. 3304

(1982) (plurality opinion of Stevens,

SPA rae eee, | 706-710, 73 L.Ed.2d

1057, 102 S.Ct. 3304 (White, J.,

concurring in judgment in part and

dissenting in part).~

See also the annotation “Supreme Court's

Construction of Eleventh Amendment,

Restricting Federal Judicial Power over

suits against States’ 106 L.Ed.2 660 at

677:

“the following Supreme Court

decisions have expressly recognized

|

that the Federal Constitution’s

Eleventh Amendment is not limited in

its application to suits against a

state as a named defendant, but

rather that its application should be

let it tl tial '

and effect of the suit in question:

Poindexter v. Greenhow (1884) 114 US

27U, @F tL 84d %65,*°S & Ct Bue; Re

Ayers (1887) 123 US 443, 31 L.Ed.

216, §8 S 164; Pennoyer Vv.

McConnaughy (1891) 140 US 1, 35 L Ed

363, 11 S Ct 699; Hopkins v. Clemson

Agricultural College (1911) 221 US

636, 56 L Ed 890, 318 Ct 654; Ez

parte New York (1921) 256 US 490, 65

L Ed 1057, 41 S Ct 588; Principality

of Monaco v. Mississippi (1934) 292

US 313, 78 L Ed 1282, 84 8 Ct 745;

Worcester County Trust Co. v. Riley

(1937) 302 US 292, 82 L Ed 268, 58 S&S

Ct 185; and Schever v. Rhodes (1974)

416 US 232, 40 L Ed 2d 90, 94 S Ct

1683, 71 Ohio Ops 2d 474.

It was observed by the Supreme

Court in Poindexter v. Greenhow

(1884) 114 US 270, 29 L Ed 185, 5 §S

Ct 903, infra section 15[{c], that the

question whether a suit is within the

prohibition of the Eleventh Amendment

is not always determined by reference

to the nominal parties on the record,

and that the Eleventh Amendment is to

be substantially applied in

furtherance of its intention, and not

evaded by technical and trivial

subtleties.

The court in Re Ayers (1887) 123

US 433, 33 L Bd 236, 88 Ct £64,

infra section 15{[b], also stating

that the question whether a suit is

within the prohibition of the

Eleventh Amendment is not always

determined by reference to the

nominal parties on the record, added

that such amendment’s prohibition

must be determined by a consideration

-43-

of the nature of the case as

presented on the record

In Hopkins Vv. Clemson

Agricultural College (1911) 221 US

636, 55 L Ed 890, 31 S Ct 654, the

Supreme Court recognized that looking

through form to substance, the

Eleventh Amendment applies not only

where the state is actually named as

a party defendant on the record, but

also where the proceeding, though

nominally against an officer, is

really against the state, or is one

to which it is an indispensable

party.

In Scheuer v. Rhodes (1974) 416

US 232, 40 L Ed 2d 90, 94 S$ Ct 1683

71 Ohio Ops 2d 474, infra section 22,

which involved a federal civil rights

action against a state governor and

other state officials, the Supreme

Court stated that it was well

established that the Eleventh

Amendment barred suits against the

state not only when it was the named

party, but also when it was the party

in fact. The court noted that the

j not by

the mere names of the titular

parties, but by the essential nature

appeared from

the entire record.

(our emphasis).

The City of Henderson contends herein

(Case No. 94-786) and in Case No. 94-662

as follows: [See] copy of the City’s

Reply Memorandum in Case No. 94-662 at

page 15 reading:

".,.Nevada Entertainment

deliberately chose to collaterally

~44-

attack the quasi-judicial fact

finding of ‘fraud’ made by the City

Council in the federal court rather

than in the state court (as could

have been done -- see Appendix 1, at

p. 1-6 to this Brief), and gought and

obtained iniunctive relief against

the City which was acting ag an agent

» in

open defiance of the Eleventh

Amendment command and this Court’s

binding ‘abstention’ precedent in

Ohio Civil Rights Commission vy.

Dayton Christian Schools, Inc., 477

U.S. 619 (1986).

Petitioner City of Henderson

respectfully submits that the factual

which Nevada

Entertainment is now attempting to

make to establish ‘standing’ at this

late stage (to justify the filing of

its frivolous Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in No. 94-786), is not

available. (See fn. 1 on p. 13,

supra. )~

RESPONDENTS’ OBJECTIONS TO PETITIONERS

QUESTIONS 1, 2 AND 3

Petitioner Nevada Entertainment is

deliberately attempting to use the federal

courts to obtain a federal decree and rule

of law which is contrary to the express

holding of the Nevada Supreme Court in

Cit ri] v N Industri

Inc., 772 P.2d 1275 (Nev. 1989), see copy

of Reply Brief at Appendix A to this Brief

(Appendix 4 to Reply Brief). The use of

-45-

this frivolous petition for writ of

certiorari for that purpose is a further

patent violation of the Eleventh

Amendment. The Eleventh Amendment was

specifically adopted by the States in 1792

to forbid the use of the federal court

system as Nevada Entertainment has

attempted to do in this Petition for Writ

of Certiorari, and is the foundation for

the Huffman Abstention doctrine which

requires a dismissal of the federal

complaint, for lack of subiect matter

jurisdiction. This “frivolous” petition

is the direct result of the Ninth

Circuit’s determined refusal to apply the

law of the land (Huffman Abstention). The

duty of the Ninth Circuit was to “find”

and “apply” the law; not to “find” and

"defy the law.

In the City of Las Vegas case supra;

the Nevada Supreme Court specifically

held, one year earlier, (April 25, 1989),

that, in the State of Nevada, an adult

bookstore which obtains its business

-46-

license by deception may not collaterally

attack the City Council’s “fraud” finding

and obtain the judicial relief which

Nevada Entertainment seeks in Questions

1-3 of its petition for Writ of Certiorari

in 94-786 in the same quasi-judicial

proceedings which the State has brought to

business application. The District Court

of Nevada had ruled to the contrary (see

Appendix A, Reply Brief at pages 4-7).

The Nevada Supreme Court reversed the

District Court on that issue. Had Nevada

Entertainment filed its civil rights

action in the State Court as a part of an

appeal from the Quasi-Judicial Order of

the City Council revoking their business

license, as it was required to do under

Nevada State law, Questions 1-3, which had

been asked and answered in the City of Las

Vegas ruling in the Nevada Supreme Court

in 1989, would have been decided against

Nevada Entertainment.

Entertainment reads: May 4 city violate

the first and Fourteenth Amendment (free

speech) by shutting down an adult

bookstore pursuant to an unconstitutional

zoning ordinance because the bookstore

obtained its business license by

deception?> Question 2 reads: “Is an

adult bookstore without constitutional

protection vis-a-vis an invalid zoning

ordinance because it obtained its business

license by deception?” _Question 3 reads:

“To prove that a city utilizes an

uncontitutional zoning scheme to ban all

adult bookstores, may an adult bookstore

employ deception in obtaining a business

license?™

Nevada Entertainment's filing of its

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in 94-786

for the purpose of answering the above 3

questions, is frivolous as & matter of law

because the federal courts below lack

“subject matter jurisdiction’, under the

command of the Eleventh Amendment. “The

-~48-

Judicial power of the United States shall

not be construed to extend to any suit...”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The “stake” in this lawsuit is the

sovereign, Eleventh Amendment right of the

City of Henderson, acting as the agent for

the State of Nevada, to enact by ordinance

and apply the ‘conditional use” zoning

principle and the States use of

quasi-judicial proceedings to adult book

stores in Henderson, Nevada, and to have

such ordinances relating to the State's

laws and license revocation procedure and

the use of quasi-judicial proceedings,

tested for the first time in the State of

Nevada Courts under Watson v. Buck, 313

U.S. 387 (1941), pot in the federal

courts. This Court should place a_ focus

on this principle and label it “Watson v.

Buck Abstention. Further, it should also

identify the fact that all such special

abstention defenses ("“Younger” ~“Huffman'’ )

are derived from the Eleventh Amendment

commands. That claim (which initiated

ee eee ee

-~49-

this litigation) was made four years ago

under the City’s contention that A

“conditional use” ordinance could be

constitutionally applied in such a case,

see 11126 Baltimore Blvd. vy. Prince

George’s County. Md., 886 F.2d 1414 at

page 1426-1429. See Case No. 90-1771, at

pages 52-61. See also Case No. 92-643 at

Point III on pages 46-57, copies of which

are attached to this Brief at Appendix B

to this Brief. That the City was

“prudent” in its judgment that a Nevada

state court (and not a federal trial

court) should make that judgment under

Watson v. Buck, see and compare the

bizarre result (contradictory holdings)

reached by two courts in the most recent

United States District Court and United

States Court of Appeals opinions in the

Prince George’s County case in j11126

Balti Blvd Pri ; "sc )

Md., 32 F.3d 109 (1994) (August 12,

1994)!!!

Se ee eee wertate

-50-

Respondent contends that the record

on appeal in this litigation establishes

“pure” “constitutional” error of great

magnitude -- not merely “judicial” error.

It is pot a matter of “correcting”

technical errors in cases of only local

importance where the correction in no way

promotes the development of the law.”

Anderson v. Haless, 459 U.S. 412 (1982)

(Stevens,J., dissenting), and is not

“concerned with the correction of errors

in lower court decision” or other errors

which do not attain the title and rank of

“constitutional” error (see the

text in Stern, Gressman, Shapiro, and

Geller, Supreme Court Practice, at Section

5.12, “Summary Disposition on the Merits,”

at page 251.) This is a real controversy

which is deserving of a grant of writ of

certiorari by this Court. It is

universally recognized that ‘adult

businesses’ pose their own peculiar law

enforcement problems. In that regard, see

City of Henderson news articles at

aSia

Appendix C to this Brief. As the present

time, the duplicate expense to State

government in prosecuting such State

sovereignty, Eleventh Amendment rights to

conclusion in abstention cases in _ two

court systems is substantial, (see

Appendix D to this Brief, for example,

showing the costs to the City of Henderson

to date in asserting this Eleventh

Amendment right). As further injury, the

Ninth Circuit having ruled that “Huffman

Abstention” controls, has withdrawn that

decision rather than rule on the specific

rule of law which has been the “focus” of

the four years of litigation. Under the

present practices, the “chance” of

achieving a hearing on the merits and

prevailing “cost-wise” in abstention

litigation is routinely characterized as

being on a par with “Russian roulette”.

It is for this latter reason that many

abstention rulings, which should have been

appealed, have not been appealed.

Nevada Entertainment's use of the

-52<

federal court to collaterally attack the

quasi-judicial finding of fact of ‘fraud’™

by the City Council was intentional, and

was designed to avoid confrontation in the

State Court with the binding decision of

the Nevada Supreme Court in City of Las

Vegas v. Nevada Enterprises, (supra).

The procedural tactic Nevada

Entertainment followed in the

Quasi-judicial proceeding in this case was

identical to that employed by Pursue, Ltd.

in the judicial proceeding involved in

Huffman _v. Pursue, Ltd. The only

difference is that, in the Huffman case,

Pursue, Ltd. obtained its “stay” from the

federal district court; and in this

Henderson case, Respondent first obtained

the necessary “stay” from the City Council

by mutual agreement to permit an appeal of

the City Council’s ruling; thereafter,

Nevada Entertainment was able to continue

that stay in force by virtue of the United

States District Court’s and Court of

Appeals’ injunctions.

-53-

Further, Nevada Entertainment

subjectively must have known (through its

attorneys who are “experts” in this area

of the law and asa reasonable person)

that its federal action was barred by the

Eleventh Amendment and this Court’s ruling

in the Dayton case.

CONCLUSION

For all of the above reasons and

others, given in Reply to the Response

Brief of Nevada Entertainment in Case No.

94-662, and in this Response Brief to the

Nevada Entertainment Petition in Case No.

94-786 and because the the Henderson trial

facts and record on appeal parallel

Huffman trial facts, as applied to the

rule of law expressed in Dayton (which

makes Huffman binding in gQuasi- judicial

proceedings), Attorney Diamond’s claim in

his Response Brief in Case No. 94-662 of

an “open question” igs without support.

Nevertheless, Petitions for Writs of

Certiorari should be granted and both

cases (Case No. 662 and Case No. 786)

-54-

consolidated and set for oral argument on

the City of Henderson’s claim of a right

to reinstatement of the opinion and

judgment which was reported on November 2,

1993, in Nevada Entertainment Industries,

Inc, v. City of Henderson, 8 F.3d 1348,

and relief for its Eleventh Amendment

injury including its right to attorneys’

fees under common law and statutory law

and Rule 11 as_ the prevailing defendant

under 42 U.S.C. Section 1988 in relation

to the ‘focal” issue re the Eleventh

Amendment in this four year litigation.

See Supplemental Brief in Case No.

94-662, being filed concurrently with this

brief in Case No. 94-786 for additional

reasons why a plenary review of these

issues should be granted at this time.

DATED: December 1, 1994

Respectfully submitted,

mes J lancy

: f Record

For Petitioners

APPENDIX A

REPLY BRIEF OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON IN

ON A PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI IN

NO. 94-662.

(Reference: Respondents’ Brief in

Opposition at Pp. 4, 39, and 44, }

No. 94-662

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

CITY OF HENDERSON, A NEVADA MUNICIPAL CORPORATION,

JAMES GOFF, CHIEF OF POLICE OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON,

PETITIONERS

v.

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

A NEVADA CORPORATION AND DANIEL BISHOP,

RESPONDENTS

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

SHAUNA M.HUGHES

City Attorney JAMES J. CLANCY

LIZA CONROY (Counsel of Record)

Assistant City Attorney CAROL A. CLANCY

9955 La Tuna Canyon Road

City of Henderson Sun Valley, CA 91352

240 Water Street (818) 352-2069

Henderson, NV 89015

(702) 565-2394 Counsel for Petitioners

DOCKETED ON OCTOBER 11, 1994

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES................. ii

5.

) s 2

(A)

(B)

ITl.,

THE RESPONSE BRIEF FILED BY

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES,

INC., ET AL. HAS MISREPRESENTED

THE TRIAL FACTS AND MISSTATED

THE WHICH

ST HAS CHALLENGED. 3.45.5 ..°..¢.. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE........... 4

THE LICENSE REVOCATION ORDER DID

BECAUSE: (1) IT

WAS “STAYED” AT THE REQUEST OF

NEVADA ENTERPRISES FOR 10 DAYS TO

PERMIT IT TO PERFECT A “PROPER”

APPEAL; AND (2) THE 10 DAY STAY

WAS EXTENDED INDEFINITELY BY THE

COERCIVE FORCE OF NEVADA ENTER-

PRISES U.S. DISTRICT COURT

RESTRAINING ORDER AND INJUNCTION

AND THE COURT OF APPEALS INJUNC-

Li Jee nu raw Yere ewe sy te ewer eee 4

THIS COURT'S RESOLUTION OF THE

ABOVE ISSUE SHOULD BE DISPOSITIVE

OF THE REMAINING SUBSIDIARY ISSUES

WHICH NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT HAS NOT

WUE CS cbc cee ores... 16

THE CONSTITUTIONAL

CONCLUSION:

QUESTIONS RE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT

STATE RIGHTS, HUFFMAN ABSTENTION,

AND SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION

ARE RIPE FOR RESOLUTION......... 20

738 F.Supp.

420 U.S. 592 (1975)

504 U.S. » 119 L.Ed.2d 331

Nevada Enterta £5 aint bi ;

8 F.3d 1348 (1993)

Newman-Green, Inc. v. Alejandro

Alfonzo-Larrain et al.

490 U.S. 826 (1989)

772 P.2d 1275

Amendments

Eleventh 10,

15, 18, 19, 20

PAGE

FEDERAL STATUTES

42 U.S.C.

I a 6

a 13

FEDERAL RULES

ee RE AS ree 16

ee 17

TEXTS

Stern, Gressman, Shapiro and Geller,

et ccc cee ecee 18

No. 94-662

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Hnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

CITY OF HENDERSON, A NEVADA MUNICIPAL CORPORATION,

JAMES GOFF, CHIEF OF POLICE OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON,

PETITIONERS

v.

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES, INC.,

A NEVADA CORPORATION AND DANIEL BISHOP,

RESPONDENTS

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of

Appeals For The Ninth Circuit

PETITIONERS’ REPLY MEMORANDUM

rat ce em SS om eta Am ne te ne oer eee eg ee een S nee eM

I. THE RESPONSE BRIEF FILED BY NEVADA

ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES, Beas... BT

AL. HAS MISREPRESENTED THE TRIAL

FACTS AND MISSTATED THE

ISSUE WHICH IT HAS CHALLENGED.

At pp. 2 and 5 of the Response Brief

filed on November 9, 1994, Nevada Enter-

tainment Industries, Inc. et al. (herein-

after “Nevada Entertainment”) has mischar-

acterized both the trial facts and the

Single legal issue which Nevada Entertain-

ment has challenged. See p. 2, reading:

“The separate Petition filed by the

City of Henderson (the instant case)

raises an issue which this Court

having previously and expressly left

open, should now resolve.” (Our

Emphasis. )

See page 5, reading:

In the instant\—case, Respondents

filed thei ivil righ! tj tte

tl) jeciai ty Cit C

became final. Thus, if this Court

grants certiorari in this case it

will have the opportunity to resolve

this open question.” (Our Emphasis. )

In this Reply Brief, the City of

Henderson submits that the excerpts of

record on Nevada Entertainment's appeal

and the City of Henderson's Cross-Appeal

and the appellate records in this Court in

neem

-2-

Case Nos. 90-1771, 92-643, and 93-1969 and

at pages 7-29 of this Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in Case No. 94-662, establish

both as a historical fact and as a matter

of Jaw that the federal civil rights com-

plaint which Respondent Nevada Entertain-

ment, a citizen of the State of -Nevada,

filed in the U.S. District Court for the

District of Nevada on April 24, 1990 di-

ing, and that said filing of a federal

civil complaint of that nature, regarding

a quasi-judicial matter which is properly

before a Nevada tribunal, by a Nevada

State citizen: (1) is forbidden by the

Eleventh Amendment (i.e. the federal court

lacks “subject matter jurisdiction’), and

(2) was prohibited by this Court’s land-

mark “abstention” decision in 1975 in

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., 420 U.S. 592, at

608, and its more recent “binding” holding

in 1986 in Ohio Civil Rights Commission v.

a

Dayton Christian Schools, Inc., 477 U.S.

619, at 629.

Nevada Entertainment’s statement that

the procedural historical facts in the

trial court below are that: ‘Respondents

filed their civil rights action after the

teciai the Cit 1 tinal’

is an “egregious” misstatement of the

trial record on appeal because: (1) an

“abstract” statement of this nature, with-

out reference to the record, is pointless;

(2) it is true, both as a historical fact

and as a matter of law, that the temporary

restraining order and the preliminary in-

junction which were issued in Nevada En-

tertainment'’s federal civil rights action

actually prevented the City Council’s

quasi-judicial order from becoming “fi-

nal;” (3) it is true, both as a historical

fact and as a matter of law that, from a

procedural viewpoint the trial facts in

this Petition cannot be distinguished from

the trial facts in this Court's binding

precedent in 1986, in Ohio Civil Rights

pemceeneee cerns iar

Inc., 477 U.S. 619, at 629 (1986), which

extended the abstention doctrine expressed

as to State judicial] proceedings in Huff-

man v. Pursue, Ltd,, 420 U.S. 592, at 608,

to include quasi-judicial administrative

proceedings; and (4) during the four years

of litigation, three prior petitions on

file in this Court have correctly stated

and given notice that the record herein

tracks the trial facts in Huffman, supra,

which is binding upon the federal courts

and Respondent has, nevertheless, reck-

lessly continued to litigate. See “State-

ment of Facts in No. 90-1971 at p. 22,

92-643 at pp. 5-12 and 19; 93-1969 at pp.

15, and 94-662 herein, at. pp. 4-36

generally, pp. 10-11 specifically.

II. STATEMENT OF THE CASE

(A) THE LICENSE REVOCATION ORDER DID NOT

BECOME FINAL BECAUSE: (1) IT WAS

“STAYED” AT THE REQUEST OF NEVADA

ENTERPRISES FOR 10 DAYS TO PERMIT IT

TO PERFECT A “PROPER” APPEAL; AND (2)

THE 10 DAY STAY WAS EXTENDED INDEFI-

NITELY BY THE COERCIVE FORCE OF NEVA-

DA ENTERPRISES U.S. DISTRICT COURT

RESTRAINING ORDER AND INJUNCTION AND

THE COURT OF APPEALS INJUNCTION.

=5—

At the conclusion of the revocation

hearing on April 10, 1990, the City of

Henderson City Council orally voted to

revoke the business license of Nevada

Enterprises and, at the specific oral

request of its counsel, Roger Jon Diamond,

orally granted a stay of 10 days as was

7 ized by ti ted Bend

Municipal Cod ) it att Di

) Lit it (- juiotead

to the Nevada State District Court (see

the Statement of Facts in Petitioner's

Supplemental Brief in No. 92-643 at pp.

4-12, a copy of which appear at Appendix 1

to this Reply Brief).

The concluding paragraph of the City

Council’s written order, dated April 16,

1990, which was served on Nevada Enter-

tainment, read as follows (see Appellant's

Excerpts Exhibit 1, pp. 2-3):

"Based on the foregoing findings

and conclusions, the CITY COUNCIL

hereby revokes the business’ license

of NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT INDUSTRIES,

INC., d/b/a/ FANTASY VIDEO PLUS,

orders written notice of its

decisions to licensees within five

(5) business days, and stays the

enforcement of the revocation for ten (10)

business days following receipt of the

written notice of revocation.

DATED this 16th day of April,

1990.

CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF

HENDERSON

(Signatures of Council]”

As Nevada Entertainment has pleaded

in its federal complaint, the City Coun-

cil’s order was to become final on May 1,

1990 [see paragraph 51 of Complaint for

Declaratory and Injunctive Relief in Ap-

pellant’s Excerpts of Record at Exhibit 1,

p. 21; and a copy of the federal complaint

at Appendix 2 to this Brief, and paragraph

51 therein at p. 2-32], and therefore, was

still “pending” up to and including April

30, 1990. However, on April 24, 1990, and

bef id Cit C 7 ) “a oe

come final (during the City Council’s 10

day “stay” period) and in the face of the

EJ th 4 inti (wh ict

per force was self-operating and opre-

cluded «a Federal Court from acquiring

“subject matter jurisdiction” on such

~

date), Nevada Entertainment, a Nevada

Corporation, recklessly filed its civil

rights complaint (see copy at Appendix 2

to this Brief) in the U.S. District Court

under 42 U.S.C. Section 1983 and

recklessly asked for both Declaratory and

Iniunctive Relief.

The date ("April 24, 1990°) is of

paramount importance, because ‘the exist-

ence of federal ‘subject matter jurisdic-

tion’ ordinarily depends on the facts as

they exist when the complaint was filed in

the U.S. District Court.” See Lujan v.

Defenders of Wildlife. et al., 504 U.S.

119 L.Ed.2d 331, at fn. 4, emphasiz-

ing the above language and citing Newman-

Green. Inc. v. Aleiandro Alfonzo-Larrain

et al., 490 U.S. 826, 104 L.Ed.2d 893, 109

S.Ct. 2718 (June 12, 1989) at 9300; see

F.Supp. 1140, at 1143:

“As a general rule, the proper point

of reference for determining whether

state proceedings are ‘ongoing’ is

TREN Pk ihm ak * iy

ce RA RR

the date the federal complaint is

filed. In Pennzoil Co, v, Texaco,

ing,, 481 U.S. 1, 107 §8.Ct. 1619, 98

L.Ed.2d 1 (1987), the Court applied

the day-of-filing rule and held that

abstention was appropriate, even

though the state proceedings had _ run

their course by the time the matter

reached the Supreme Court and dis-

missal would leave Texaco without any

state remedy. 481 U.S. at 17-18, 107

S.Ct. at 1529-30....See also Huffman

vy. Pursue, Ltd... 420 U.S. 592, 95

S.Ct. 1200, 43 L.Ed.2d 482 (1975)

(rejecting argument that state

judicial proceedings had ended by

time federal complaint was filed);

Steffel_ v,. Thompson, 415 U.S. 452,

462, 94 3.Ct. 1209, i217, 39. LL. Ed.2d

505 (1974) (holding that Younger

principles did not apply where no

state criminal proceedings is pending

when federal complaint is filed);

Exam, 807 F.2d 453 (5th Cir. 1987)

(abstention not appropriate where

plaintiff voluntarily dismisses state

Claim before filing federal suit).

“The Younger line of authority

is concerned primarily with respect-

ing the sovereignty, integrity, and

competence of state systems, and with

allowing the state systems to operate

without undue interference from the

federal government. See, e.g...

Younger, 401 U.S. at 44, 91 S.Ct. at

750; Huffman, 420 U.S. at 601-04, 95

S.Ct. at 1206-08. This line of au-

thority admonishes federal courts’ to

refrain from intruding into the state

process in a manner that ‘reflect(s]

negatively upon the state court’s

ability to enforce constitutional

principles.’ Cf. Huffman, 420 U.S.

604, 95 S.Ct. at 1208; Steffel, 415

U.S. at 462, 94 S.Ct. at 1217.”

-9-

A legal Conclusion of Law that the

U.S. District Court for the District of

Nevada did not have “subject matter juris-~

diction” on April 24, 1990, must, of

it Coll [ t) - ”

the Eleventh Amendment! The U.S. Dis-

trict Court and the U.S. Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit are required to

acceed to that “command” in all cases in

which a proper Huffman type abstention

defense has been asserted. That the City

of Henderson is asserting a proper Huffman

challenge, see Huffman, supra, at fn. 14,

which cites and relies upon this Court's

decision in Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S. 387

(1941). See also Questions I-IV in the

petition for writ of certiorari in Case

No. 92-643 at pp. i-iii. a copy of which

is attached at Appendix 3 to this Brief.

It follows therefrom that Nevada Enter-

tainment used the power of the _ federal

court in an unlawful (Eleventh Amendment

violation) tortious and unconstitutional

manner, through the issuance and

-10-

enforcement of an unlawful (Eleventh

Amendment violation) tortious, unconsti-

tutional federal court temporary restrain-

ing order (April 27, 1990) and an unlawful

(Eleventh Amendment violation) tortious,

and unconstitutional preliminary injunc-

tion (May 30, 1990) (See copy of Injunc-

tion Orders in Appellants’ Excerpts of the

Record at Exhibits 2 and 3), to: (1) ex-

tend the City Council’s 10 day stay indef-

initely, and (2) unlawfully, tortiously,

and unconstitutionally prevent the City

C UL i- judicial Ord , April

5. 1990 f ; tinal 4

able order, which could be used to execute

the will of the City Council acting as an

Petitioner City of Henderson contends

that the “impasse” which such injunction

order created was subjectively brought to

the attention of U.S. District Court Judge

Lloyd D. George in June of 1992 when he

first attempted to force the City to trial

in the federal Court against its will.

-ll-

Prior thereto, the City had added defen-

sive pleas of “Res Judicata’ and ‘collat-

eral estoppel” to its continuing plea of

“lack of subject matter jurisdiction.” At

that time, Judge Lloyd D. George must have

become aware of the Eleventh Amendment

impasse which arose out of the City’s

Huffman abstention challenge; i.e. that

the City Council’s quasi-judicial order of

revocation had been “stayed oby his

injunction order, and had not become final

and, therefore, such pleas of "res

judicata™ and “collateral estoppel, ~™

though pleaded, would not be available to

the City as a defense in the _ federal

trial; for, at that time, and, on his own

motion, he reversed his initial ruling,

suspended the trial procedure and,

thereafter, certified the matter for an

interlocutory appeal to the Ninth Circuit.

See Statement of Facts in the Petition

herein at pp. 22 and 23.

The “impasse” which was created by

such federal injunction order was also

ao

-12<-

brought to Nevada Entertainment's atten-

tion after U.S. District Court Judge Lloyd

George filed his final judgment on Novem-

ber 27, 1992 (see copy in Appellants’ Ex-

cerpts of Record, at Exhibit 7). At that

7 N 1a Ent tai ) riled hike

7 ‘th at C ¥

whic! = int ted iti

PD bill” line” pet the Ci! Sein

ci] because the federal court’s temporary

restraining order and preliminary injunc-

tion order which it served on the City had

indefinitely extended the stay which it

had obtained from the City Council to

allow it to take a ‘proper appeal. How-

ever, the City Council could not act on

the matter because the trial court’s in-

junction, which U.S. District Court Judge

Lloyd George had lifted, was’ immediately

continued -- this time at the request of

Nevada Entertainment and at the instance

the Ninth Ci a ee oes ae

and has not yet been lifted. The Parties

o13<

by stipulation, have stayed the mandate to

await this Court’s ruling on this matter,

bee in: 7 ‘i ij ‘Lect.

(See Statement of Facts in the Petition

herein at p. 28).

The trial facts clearly establish

that Nevada Entertainment’s Attorney did

b it might | ' ; x til M

2.1990 to file its federal lawsuit, on

which date the City Council’s 10 day stay

order would have lapsed, and the City

Council’s revocation order would then have

“pecome’ final. Such a fact situation

1

(not here present) would have presented a

1

For an example of an attempt to

state such a case (not here present), see

(Footnote Continued)

=

different case and controversy and

different federal questions as to whether,

in such cases, a federal plaintiff could

show, by extinsic evidence that the Huff-

Man abstention doctrine did not apply be-

cause he was bringing a new and indepen-

dent case in the U.S. District Court, and

(Footnote Continued)

the petition for writ of certiorari in

N 1a Ent tai ' Induetri I )

,y ee.

94-786 which was docketed on October /7,

1994, and served on the City of Henderson

by mail on October 29, 1994. Because the

petition herein establishes that the

Eleventh Amendment does not permit Nevada

Entertainment to file a federal lawsuit

under the historical facts’ set forth

herein in Case No. 94-662, the City of

Henderson considers the filing of Case No.

94-786 to be a “frivolous” filing, and has

addressed that issue in the Supplemental

Brief which is being filed concurrently

with the Reply Brief herein (case No.

94-662) and will further address’ that

issue and Nevada Entertainment's untrue

Statement in this Petition at p. v.

reading:

“The Ninth Circuit rejected

Respondents’ position initially

before it withdrew its opinion and

replaced it with its second opinion.”

in a Response Brief and Cross-Petition in

Case No. 94-786. See, also, Statement of

Facts in the petition herein in No. 94-662

at pages 38-39.

-15-

had abandoned the litigation in his state

case, and was willing thereby to accept

and suffer the potential risk of defeat

under a “res judicata” and ‘collateral

estoppel” defense.

N lid N Entertai t limil

request for declaratory relief. A differ-

ent case and controversy and different

federal questions would also have been

presented, had Nevada Entertainment sought

only a declaratory relief and not the _ in-

junction order (also not this case), such

as questions of fact re his mens rea in

relation to the City’s claim of an alleged

reckless Eleventh Amendment violation.

Instead, Nevada Entertainment

deliberately chose to collaterally attack

the quasi-judicial fact finding of “fraud”

made by the City Council in the federal

court rather than in the state court (as

could have been done -- see Appendix 1, at

p. 1-6 to this Brief), and sought and

btained ini 7 Lief inst ti

Sovereign State of Nevada, in open

defiance of the Eleventh Amendment command

and this Court’s binding “abstention™

precedent in Ohio Civil Rights Commission

vy. Dayton Christian Schools, Inc., 477

U.S. 619 (1986).

Petitioner City of Henderson

respectfully submits that’ the factual

differentiation which Nevada Entertainment

is now attempting to make to establish

“standing” at this late stage (to justify

the filing of its frivolous Petition for

Writ of Certiorari in No. 94-786), is not

available. (See fn. 1 on p. 13, supra. )

(B) THIS COURT’S RESOLUTION OF THE ABOVE

ISSUE SHOULD BE DISPOSITIVE OF THE

REMAINING SUBSIDIARY ISSUES WHICH

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT HAS NOT

ADDRESSED.

The duty of a Respondent to respond

in a brief in opposition to a Petition for

Writ of Certiorari is set forth in Rule

15.1 as follows:

tf

wh Fan

“Brief in Opposition.

“,..the brief in opposition should

of fact of law set forth in the

petition which have a bearing on the

question of what issues would proper-

ly be before the Court if certiorari

were granted.... Counsel are admon-

.

ished that they have an obligation to

PT OT PUTT Tae

Lion, and not Jater., Any defect of

Further, Rule 16.1 provides that, after

consideration of the papers, the Court may

make a summary disposition of the merits.

Because the record on appeal herein is

clear that this Court’s decision in Qhio

Civil Rights C are v._Dayi Phin ie

tian Schools, Inc., 477 U.S. 619 (1986) is

a binding precedent and controls the dis-

position of this case [which the Ninth

Circuit so held in its first opinion in

Nevada Entertainment Industries, Inc. v.

City of Henderson, 8 F.3d 1348 (1993)],

see Statement of Facts in the Petition

herein at pp. 38-39, this Court is pres-

ently empowered to grant summary relief to

i

j

:

'

|

-18-

Petitioner without setting the issue for

oral argument. See Stern, Gressman,

Shapiro, and Geller, Supreme Court Prac-

tice, Seventh Edition at pp. 250 et seq.,

“(c) Summary Disposition of the Merits by

Per Curiam Opinion.” Petitioner submits

that such a disposition would not be prop-

er in this case because of the preeminent

importance of the City of Henderson’s

additional claims of: (1) Eleventh Amend-

ment injury and (2) the federal court’s

lack of subject matter jurisdiction, both

of which are of pational interest to all

of the states.

Petitioner contends herein that Ne-

vada Entertainment's deliberate attempt to

use the federal courts to obtain a federal

decree and rule of law which is’ contrary

to the express holding of the Nevada Su-

preme Court in City of Las Vegas v., Nevada

Industries,Inc., 772 P.2d 1275 (Nev. 1989),

see copies at Appendix 4, and is a patent

violation of the Eleventh Amendment, which

amendment was specifically adopted by the

=19<

States in 1792 to preclude the use of the

federal court system as was done in this

case. See Cross-Petition of City of

Henderson in Nevada Entertainment Indus-

tries, Inc, et al. v. City of Henderson,

et al., Case No. 94-786. Further, there

is a continuing problem in the Ninth Cir-

cuit and other Circuits, with the correct

application of the test to be applied in

ruling on Huffman abstention challenges,

and a serious need for a comprehensive

opinion of this Court to settle the pres-

t _abatenti b} ,

the Ninth Circuit; that is, the divergent

views of the 38 individual Ninth Circuit

Court judges, and a refusal of some: (1)

to “recognize” the Eleventh Amendment

foundation of the Huffman abstention chal-

lenge, and (2) to defer in proper cases to

the sovereign right of state courts to

rule on important State interests under

the Eleventh Amendment. This issue is

further addressed in a Supplemental Brief

in Case No. 94-662 and in the City’s

-20-

Cross-Petition to Nevada Entertainment in

Case No. 94-786, concurrently being filed.

III. CONCLUSION: THE CONSTITUTIONAL

QUESTIONS RE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT STATE

RIGHTS, HUFFMAN ABSTENTION, AND

SUBJECT MATTER JURISDICTION ARE RIPE

FOR RESOLUTION.

Petitioner cannot envision a ‘riper’

“test case’ in which to examine the merits

of the City’s claim that the refusal to

apply Huffman abstention doctrine is the

direct cause of the City’s Eleventh Amend-

ment injury. The Statement of Facts clear-

ly documents: (1) a refusal of the _ U.S.

District Court and the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals to apply the ‘binding rule of

law established by this Court in its Huff-

man and Dayton Christian Schools absten-

tion decisions; (2) judgments of both

Courts which contravene the State of Ne-

vada’s rights under the Eleventh Amend-

ment; and (3) Eleventh Amendment constitu-

tional injury to the City of Henderson and

the State of Nevada which is patent on the

face of the record.

Dated: November 26, 199

APPENDIX 1

STATEMENT OF FACTS IN PETITIONER'S SUPPLE-

(Refer: pp. 5 & 15 of Reply Memorandum. |

Text at page 5 reads:

“At the conclusion of the revocation

hearing on April 10, 1990, the City of

Henderson City Council grally voted to re-

voke the business license of Nevada Enter-

prises and, at the specific oral request

(see the

Statement of Facts in Petitioner's

Supplemental Brief in No. 92-643 at pp.

4-12, a copy of which appear at Appendix 1

to this Reply Brief).~

Text at page 15 reads:

its prayer in the federal complaint to a

request for declaratory relief. A differ-

ent case and controversy and different

federal questions would also have been

presented, had Nevada Entertainment sought

only a declaratory relief and not the in-

junction order (also not this case), such

as questions of fact re his mens rea in

relation to the City’s claim of an alleged

reckleas Eleventh Amendment violation.

“Instead, Nevada Entertainment delib-

erately chose to collaterally attack the

quasi-judicial fact finding of “fraud”

made by the City Council in the federal

court rather than in the state court (as

could have been done -- see Appendix 1, at

p. 1-6 to this Brief), and gought and ob-

. ; :

RA a ne gpg 8

ereign State of Nevada, in open defiance

of the Eleventh Amendment command and this

Court’s binding “abstention” precedent in

Ohio ¢

(1986). ~

-, 477 U.S. 619

a

i

%

:

STATEMENT OF FACTS

(A) FACTS TAKEN FROM THE RECORD.

The City of Henderson, Nevada,

adopted a new, comprehensive Municipal

Zoning Code and Municipal License Code

in 1989, following lengthy public

hearings and proceedings on such _ Codes.

Under the Zoning Code, as amended, a new

provision was added for an "adult

business" which was authorized only in

the "CH Zone.” Prior to opening for

business, all prospective businesses

were required to submit an application

for, and obtain, 3 revenue-based

business license, truthfully disclosing

the precise nature of the intended

business operation. [A business license

will not issue unless the intended

business operation is located in a

proper zone.] An "adult business" was

among several enumerated business uses

which required application for a

conditional use permit.

eR aE re Re a ana A AR

1-2

Federal piaintiffs Nevada

Entertainment Industries, Inc. et al.,

are operators of an Adult Business, who

wished to locate in the city of

Henderson, Nevada. Upon locating a

prospective site available for rent,

they entered into a lease. Several

months after federal plaintiffs had

signed their lease, they applied to the

City for a business license.

(B) FINDINGS OF FACT TAKEN FROM UNITED

STATES DISTRICT COURT JUDGE GEORGE'S

DECISION.

At pages 7 and 8 of its Decision,

United States District Court Judge

George made the following findings of

fact (see Appendix A at pages 7 and 8):

"In the present case,

plaintiffs attempted to circumvent

the City's Code by following a

course of deception. Initially,

plaintiffs applied for a business

license for an adult business.

The City then informed the

plaintiffs of certain conditions

that an adult business had to meet

before a license would be

authorized. In response to this

information, plaintiffs did not

seek judicial protection from the

City's provisions. Nor did they

attempt to meet the conditions for

obtaining a license for an adult

business. Nor did plaintiffs

- Challenge the law by opening and

operating an adult business without

obtaining any license.

"Rather, plaintiffs inquired

whether a business license would be

approved for a general business.

The City responded that such an

application for a general business

would be approved. Plaintiffs,

fully aware that a license for a

general business would be approved

whereas an application for an adult

business would be rejected,

une tsa

submitted a second application

which specifically omitted any

reference to an adult business.

This second application was

approved and, on February 1, 1990,

plaintiffs opened an adult

business. The City then revoked

the plaintiffs’ business license,

finding that Plaintiffs had

misrepresented the nature of the

business on the license

application in order to obtain a

license. As permitted by H.M.C.

Section 4.04.150, the Council

revoked plaintiffs' license for

making a § false or fraudulent

statement in the application for a

license."

(C) CONTINUATION OF FACTS TAKEN FROM

THE RECORD.

At the state license revocation

proceedings, the City Council

determined that federal plaintiffs'

misrepresentations were material, delib-

erate, and were intended to mislead the

city, and violated state law.

In this state quasi-judicial adminis-

trative proceeding, federal plaintiffs

PLETAL API ES PEORIA ROG OR IONE, +

il att a !

freely and without reservation, volun-

tarily asserted and litigated as a

defense, among others, the same _ federal

a RE RA RES I Se BD ALE LNG PEED

constitutional issues which were

ee ee

presented in the federal civil rights

action.

The administrative enforcement

hearing resulted in the City Council's

written order dated April 16, 1990,

which (1) immediately revoked the

business license and (2) stayed action

te enforce the revocation for ten days,

in order to allow the licensees’ the

opportunity to immediately seek judicial

review of the City action before the

City Council, as provided by Henderson

Municipal Code, H.M.C. Section 4.06.160.

See also the concluding request of

sou See Sar hoon ihe

1-6

licensees' attorney, Mr. Diamond at the

hearing on the license revocation:

",..-1£ you do vote for revoca-

tion, which I earnestly ask you

not do, we would ask that the

Council stay its order revoking

the license, which this Council is

empowered to do under the _ provi-

sions of the ordinance, to give us

a chance to file a lawsuit against

the City of Henderson and the in-

dividual Councilmembers under the

Federal Civil Rights Act which is

applicable either in the State

court or the Federal court, to

give us a chance to sue the Coun-

cil, its individual members and

the City for monetary damages for

deprivation of my clients federal-

ly protected civil rights. If the

Council has any questions or

comments, I'd be glad to try to

Pag)

¢

£

-

%

.

3

%

1-7

answer them. Thank you very much."

(Our emphasis. )

Instead of appealing the City

Council's administrative factfinding and

license revocation in state court as

authorized by the City Council,

licensees filed this action in federal

court as a defense to the City's

enforcement action during the period in

which the issue was still pending

because of the stay and the ten day

statutory period allowed by the City

Council to appeal the City's action

within the state judicial system,

thereby invoking the abstention doctrine

formulated in Younger _v. Harris, 401

U.S. 37 (1971), Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd.,

420 U.S. 592 (1975), and their progeny.

On April 27, 1990, the United

States District Court granted 4

temporary restraining order pursuant to

Rule 65 of the Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure. On June 4, 1990, following

oral argument on Plaintiffs' Motion for

a preliminary injunction and without

taking additional testimony or evidence,

the United States District Court

preliminarily enjoined the Defendants

from further action on the matter in

general, but left the City Council's

revocation of the business license

undisturbed.

After further study of the United

States Supreme Court's opinion in

Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd., supra, the

City of Henderson declared their

refusal to consent to federal juris-

diction [see Ohio Bureau of Employment

Services v. Hodory, 431 U.S. 471

(1977)], and filed: (1) a declaratory

judgment lawsuit in the Nevada District

Court. (City of Henderson v. Nevada

- Entertainment Industries, Inc., Clark

County District Court No. A _ 288647,

filed October 1, 1990); and (2) a

motion to dismiss the Civil Rights

lawsuit in the United States District

Court on the grounds of lack of federal

jurisdiction (11th amendment) and

failure to state a claim upon which

relief can be based (Huffman v. Pursue,

Ltd.), and requested the United States

District Court to issue an order to show

cause why Plaintiffs should not be re-

quired to present their federal consti-

tutional claims in the State lawsuit;

that such motions be set for an immedi-

ate hearing on the grounds that the

Huffman doctrine applied to this case,

and that the District Court had no dis-

cretion in the matter and was required

to dismiss the federal complaint.

ARGUMENT

THE FINDINGS OF FACT AND ERRONEOUS

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW IN THE FEDERAL

TRIAL COURT'S DECISION OF NOVEMBER

27, 1992 ARE SO EGREGIOUS AS TO

MANDATE IMMEDIATE RELIEF UNDER

HUFFMAN V. PURSUE, LTD. AND WATSON

V. BUCK AS TO THE PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI IN NO. 92-643.

Sn cme

ela eee nn RA Ak

=

-

APPENDIX 2

COPY OF FEDERAL COMPLAINT

(Reference: pages 6 and 7 of Reply

Memorandum. |

Text at pages 6-7 reads:

“As Nevada Entertainment has

int, the

City Council’s order was to become

final on May 1, 1990 [see paragraph

51 of Complaint for Declaratory and

Injunctive Relief in Appellant’s

Excerpts of Record at Exhibit 1, p.

21; and a copy of the federal

complaint at Appendix 2 to this

Brief, and paragraph 51 therein at p.

2-32), and therefore, was still

‘pending’ up to and including April

30, 1990. However, on April 24,

1990, and j j

(during the

City Council’s 10 day ‘stay’ period)

force, was self-operating and pre-

‘subject matter jurisdiction’ on such

date), Nevada Entertainment, a Nevada

Corporation, recklessly filed its

civil rights complaint (see copy at

Appendix 2 to this Brief) in the U.S.

District Court under 42 U.S.C.

Section 1983 and recklessly asked for

both Declaratory and Iniunctive

+ ae a

2-1

ROGER JON DIAMOND

2115 Main Street

Santa Monica, CA 90405

(213) 399-3259

State Bar No. 40146

Attorney for Plaintiffs

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEVADA

NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT ) CV No. CV-S-90-264-

INDUSTRIES, INC., a Nevada ) LDG-LRL

corporation and DANIEL ) COMPLAINT FOR

BISHOP ) DECLARATORY

) AND INJUNCTIVE

Plaintiffs, RELIEF.

)

)

vs. . FILED: APRIL 24, 1990

CITY OF HENDERSON, a )

Nevada Municipal )

corporation, JAMES GOFF, )

CHIEF OF POLICE OF THE CITY )

OF HENDERSON, )

;

)

)

Defendants.

Plaintiffs, Nevada Entertainment

Industries, Inc. and Daniel Bishop allege as

follows:

Be The jurisdiction of this court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 41343(3) and

42 u.s.c. 1983 in that this is an action by

#

;

H

rd

Pe ee ee

a Ths we

TSMR IPRS YORE ITT RSL. PERE ETE

a

|

:

:

:

2-2

Plaintiffs with regard to their attempt to

operate a bookstore and motion picture

arcade protected by the First and Fourteenth

Amendments to the United States

Constitution; they are seeking to enjoin the

Defendants from closing their

constitutionally protected business.

Venue lies in the Southern

Division of the District of Nevada; the City

of Henderson is located in Clark County,

Nevada, which is within the jurisdiction of

the Southern Division.

3. Plaintiff Nevada Entertainment

Industries, Inc., is, and at all times

mentioned herein, was a corporation duly

authorized and created by the laws of the

State of Nevada. Plaintiff Daniel Bishop at

all times mentioned herein, was and is the

President of Nevada Entertainment

Industries, Inc. and would be subject to

criminal sanctions should Defendants not be

enjoined from closing the subject business.

4. Defendant City of Henderson was

and is, at all times mentioned herein, a

2-3

municipal corporation duly created by the

laws of the State of Nevada and was and is

located within Clark County and the Southern

Division of the District of Nevada.

5. Defendant James Goff is sued in

his official capacity as Chief of Police of

the City of Henderson.

6. This action relates to the attempt

by Plaintiffs to operate a bookstore and

motion picture arcade protected by the First

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution. The business is known

is Fantasy Video Plus and is located at 1100

North Boulder Highway, Henderson, Nevada.

7. Defendants contend that the

business in question (Fantasy Video Plus),

is an adult business within the meaning of

Henderson Municipal Code §19.16.006(B). For

the purpose of this lawsuit, Plaintiffs will

concede that the subject business, Fantasy

Video Plus, is an adult business within the

meaning of §19.16.006(B) of the Henderson

Municipal Code.

8. On February 17, 1989, Plaintiffs

|

|

Ail RD

a ear all lS sali Nolte Bly. .* Baer

2-4

desired to commence a business in the City

of Henderson wherein books, magazines and

novelties would be sold and motion picture

films (video tapes) could be sold and/or

rented and exhibited. Plaintiffs desired,

with respect to such business, to sell,

rent, and exhibit materials protected by the

First and Fourteenth Amendments to the

United States Constitution.

9. Plaintiffs located a parcel of

property at 1100 North Boulder Highway,

Henderson, Nevada. On February 17, 1989,

Plaintiffs entered into a five year lease

for the premises at 1100 North Boulder

Highway, Henderson, Nevada 89015. The

premises consisted of a structure with 3,200

square feet of floor area. The lease would

commence on April 1, 1989 and last until

April 1, 1994.

10. At the time the lease was made,

the City of Henderson had already enacted

(May 1983), Chapter 4.102 of the Henderson

Municipal Code regarding “video rental

stores.”

2-5

11. Henderson Municipal Code §4.102.020

required all "video rental stores" (defined

as establishments which derived its gross

profits from the sale or rental of sexually

explicit movies, films or tapes) to certify

that no such films would be sold or leased

to persons under the age of 21.

12. With the exception of Chapter

4.102, Defendant City of Henderson did not

further regulate premises selling or renting

"adult films."

13. It was the intention of Plaintiffs

to exhibit, sell, and/or rent the kinds of

materials described in Chapter 4.102 of the

Henderson Municipal Code (video rental

stores).

14. The general requirements for

obtaining a business license were set forth

in Title 4 of the Henderson Municipal Code

entitled "Business Regulations and License."

15. On March 7, 1989, after Plaintiffs

executed their lease on February 17, 1989,

Defendant City of Henderson adopted

'

:

a

i:

4

}

2-6

Ordinance No. 1112 which repealed in its

entirety former Chapter 4.04 entitled

"Business Regulations and Licenses” and

which replaced it with a new Chapter 4.04

entitled "Business © Regulations and

Licenses."

16. Accordingly, since the adoption of

Ordinance No. 1112 on March 7, 1989,

Defendant City of Henderson has _ been

regulating businesses and has been

determining whether or not to issue business

licenses based upon the provisions of the

new Chapter 4.04 which was adopted by

Ordinance No. 1112.

17. By virtue of Henderson Municipal

Code 14.04.020, all businesses in the City

of Henderson must have a license issued by

the City of Henderson.

18. Henderson Municipal Code 14.04.020

provides as follows:

"(a) It shall be unlawful for any

person to commence, carry on,

engage in or continue in the City

any business without first

2-7

obtaining a license and paying

the appropriate license tax as

provided by terms and provisions

of this Title.

(b) A license shall only be

issued if the applicant has a

fixed place of business’ from

which the business will be

conducted, unless the Title

specifically states otherwise.

Once issued a license, the

licensee shall not engage in

business from any other premises

other than the one for which the

license was issued.

(c) No licensee shall _ allow

another person to display a

license on the licensee's

premises, or to in any way allow

any other person to use the

licensee's premises to conduct

business unless expressly

permitted by the Division.

(d) Upon the filing of a

LS EAE EAE AT RH ea a NM NE inate 0 dah

re entncrs

Pw ages

2-8

complete and accurate business

license application and the

payment of all required license

fees, the applicant may be issued

a temporary business license by

the Division; provided, however,

that the requirements of all

appropriate federal, state, and

county regulatory agencies have

been met; and that the

requirements of all Departments

or Divisions of the City have

been meet and properly approved.

The temporary business license

shall permit the applicant to

engage in the business designated

at the location so stated for a

period of up to, but not to

exceed sixty (60) days, within

which all inspections and

requirements imposed upon the

applicant by the various

Departments or Divisions of the

City are to be conplied with.

2-9

Upon the recommendation by the

various Departments or Divisions

within the City, the Division

shall have the discretion to

extend a temporary business

license for a period of an

additional sixty (60) days. It

shall be the sole responsibility

of the applicant to schedule all

follow-up inspections necessary

to comply with all the

requirements and corrections.

Should the applicant have not met

the requirements as set forth by

the Departments or Divisions of

the City within the maximum

prescribed time limit of one

hundred twenty (120) days, the

temporary license shall be deemed

expired. Continued operation of

the business shall constitute a

violation of this Title, and the

business shall be subject to

legal action as prescribed by

2-10

this Title, the penalties for

which are described in Section

4.04.230.

(e) The above stated provisions

for a temporary business license

shall be in addition to those

provisions applying to privileged

business licenses or any business

which requires formal approval by

the Council, unless the Director

has first given tentative

approval in accordance with

i section 4.04.170.

| 19. Henderson Municipal Code Section

| 4.04.150 sets forth the grounds for denial,

non renewal, suspension, limitation and

revocation of licenses. Specifically,

Section 4.04.150 provides as follows:

"It is expressly declared that

the provisions of this section

are applicable to any license or

permit issued or applied for, or

pursuant to any chapter of this

Code. Thus, the provisions of

2-11

this section are in addition to

any grounds for denial, non-

renewal, suspension, limitation

and revocation set forth for

specific businesses or trades in

other chapters of this title.

(a) Any license or permit

application made pursuant to the

provisions of this title may be

denied for good cause by the

Division or by the Council. Good

cause for denial of a license or

permit shall include, but not be

limited to:

(1) The license

application is

incomplete so as to not

contain all information

required by this Title:

(2) All license and

investigation fees are

not paid;

(3) Palse or

fraudulent statements

Cn eRe SS on PETE EI ait

i

4

}

{

2-12

in the application for

the license;

(4) Failure to obtain

a license or permit as

required by this Title

and compliance with all

other Department or

Division requirements

prior to engaging in

business;

(5) The applicant, or

any of its principals,

do not qualify for, or

have not obtained work

card identification as

may be required by the

Division;

(6) A finding by the

Division or by the

Council that said

business will not

comport with the peace,

health, safety,

convenience, good

SMALE CRT MNT SA oon AEP UA

ised ck anil ae sce

2-13

morals, or the general

welfare of the public;

(7) Lack of fitness of

the applicant to engage

in the particular

occupation of business.

For the purpose of this

section, lack of

fitness shall be

defined as that quality

or character of the

license applicant which

tends to establish that

the applicant will not

perform the services to

be provided under his

license or permit in a

reasonable manner’ to

the public. Particular

factors to be _ taken

into consideration by

the Division or by the

Council in determining

whether the applicant

2-14

is unfit, are whether

the applicant has a bad

moral character, has

intemperate habits or a

bad reputation for

truth, honesty, or

integrity, or has a

prior criminal

conviction and/or 4

prior license denial,

suspension, limitation

or revocation, either

locally or in another

state or community, to

the extent that it is

possible that the acts

which formed the basis

of the conviction,

denial, suspension,

limitation, or

revocation may be

committed by the

applicant under the

license or permit being

| TS ee Se NE Te

2-15

applied for. In the

event the applicant is

a company, partnership,

association,

corporation, or other

business entity, the

Division or the Council

may consider the

fitness of each of the

applicant’s owners,

partners or directors.

(8) For any other

cause by the City

through its Division or

Council to be a just or

equitable reason.

(b) Non-renewal. The Division

may refuse to renew any business

license or permit for any reason

which would have justified a

denial of the original

application for a license or

permit. Refusal to renew shall

include, but not be limited to

2-16

the following:

(1) The conduct of the

business in an

unlawful, improper, or |

irregular manner;

(2) Failure to comply

with all City, county,

state or federal laws;

(3) Upon t he

recommendation of a

Department or Division

within the City of

noncompliance to City

ordinances or business

activities not in the

best interest of the

City;

(4) The existence of

unsanitary conditions

at, near, or in the

premises which causes

or tends to create a

public nuisance or

which injuriously

2-17

affects the public

health, safety or

general welfare;

(5) Failure to

truthfully disclose any

of the information

required by the

Division or the failure

to make full disclosure

of all the facts

required by the

Henderson Municipal

Code.

(6) The commission of,

or permitting or

causing the commission

of any act in the

operation of the

business which act is

made unlawful or is

prohibited by any

ordinance of the City,

county, state or

federal government;

2-18

(7) For any other

cause by the City

through its Division or

its Council to be a

just or equitable

reason.

(c) All business licenses issued

under this Title, shall be

subject to suspension, limitation

or revocation by the Council for

failure of such licensee, his

agents, servants, or employees

while engaged in the conduct of

business, to comply with any of

the provisions of this Code. The

Council may, upon complaint, or

upon its own motion, cause any

licensee to appear before it at

any time to show cause why the

license of any licensee shall not

be suspended, limited or revoked

in accordance with Chapter 4.06

as applicable.”

20. Henderson Municipal Code t, .04.200

a

2-19

authorizes certain Henderson officials to

enforce the ordinance by citations and

arrests. Those with enforcement powers

include police officers as well as the

Director of Licensing and his agents.

21. Henderson Municipal Code 14.04.220

provides that the violation of any provision

of the Code is a misdemeanor.

22. Shortly after Defendant City of

Henderson adopted Ordinance No. 1112,

portions of which are quoted above, the City

of Henderson also adopted Ordinance No.

1120, which enacted Titles 18 and 19 of the

Henderson Municipal Code. Ordinance No.

1120 was a comprehensive revision of the

Zoning Code and zoning law of the City of

Henderson. On April 4, 1989, by Ordinance

No. 1120, Defendant City of Henderson

repealed its prior ordinances regarding

zoning, and, as stated, replaced them with

a new comprehensive “Development Code.”

Said Development Code purported to regulate

zoning in the City of Henderson and still

purports to regulate zoning in the City of

Henderson.

23. Prior to April 4, 1989, it was

lawful for Plaintiffs to operate their

proposed business at the property leased by

them on February 17, 1989. That is, the

property was commercial in nature and

permitted the establishment of the business

intended to be omnia by Plaintiffs.

24. At the time Plaintiffs leased

their property for the business in question,

their property was zoned commercial (CC).

25. However, after the adoption of

Ordinance No. 1120 on April 4, 1989, the

City of Henderson purported to regulate

where "adult businesses” could be located in

the City of Henderson. That is, the effect

of Ordinance No. 1120 adopted April 4, 1989,

was to prevent Plaintiffs from commencing

the business they intended to commence when

they first leased the property on February

17, 2989.

26. Ordinance No. 1120 purported to

allow adult businesses to exist only in one

zone of the City of Henderson, the newly

| 2-21

created "CH" zone.

27. Section 19.16.006(B) of the

Henderson Municipal Code provides as follows

(Ordinance No. 1120):

wit GO Ow Businesses

Establishments based primarily on

materials or performances that

depict, describe, or relate to

"specified sexual activities", as

defined in Chapter 19.12."

Pe AP ites PH OOS

28. Section 19.12.006(DE) of the

Henderson Municipal Code provides as

follows:

4 "Sexual Activities, Specified:

Human genitals in a state of

sexual stimulation or arousal;

acts of human masturbation,

sexual intercourse, oral

copulation, or sodomy; fondling

or other erotic touching of human

genitals (pubic region) buttocks,

or female breasts."

29. Section 19.24.002 of the Henderson

Municipal Code specifies the following with

2-22

respect to the "CH" Highway commercial

district zone”:

"To provide sites for the auto-

oriented commercial uses,

including hotels, motels, service

station, car washes, automobile

sales and services, drive in

restaurants, offices, limited

warehousing and commercial

services."

30. By virtue of Henderson Municipal

Code !119.24.004, adult businesses, including

bookstore and motion picture arcades, were

and are only permitted in the "CH™ zone and,

within such zone, allowed only "with use

permit, subject to location requirements set

forth in Henderson Municipal Code Licensing

Regulations.”

31. After Defendant City of Henderson

adopted its revised zoning law on April 4,

1989, no parcel of property in the City of

Henderson was zoned "CH." Thus, nowhere in

the City of Henderson could one lawfully

operate an adult business, such as an adult

RR RNS ier bat L756

et ao A ie ee Le ae |

SE LINE GES PTT ENS YO

CSCS ES

2-23

bookstore and arcade. Although the City

of Henderson adopted the zoning

provisions quoted above on April 4, 1989,

the City did not establish any zone known

as the CH zone. Thus, after April 4,

1989, the City of Henderson effectively

prohibited adult bookstores and arcades

from operating anywhere within the City

of Henderson, in violation of the First

and Fourteenth Amendments to the United

States Constitution (Schad v. Borough of

Mount Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61 68 L.Ed.2d

671, 101 S.Ct. 2176 (1981).

32. Since the City of Henderson

after April 4, 1989 effectively banned

throughout its tterritory all adult

bookstores and arcades by zoning

ordinance, the zoning ordinance was a

nullity, being unconstitutional on its

face. In effect, the City of Henderson

by violating the principles set forth by

the United States Supreme Court in Schad

v. Borough of Mount Ephraim, supra, had

no zoning law regarding adult bookstores

2-24

and motion picture arcades.

33. Although, as stated above,

Defendant City of Henderson totally

prohibited adult nochetente and arcades from

operating anywhere in the City of Henderson,

in violation of the First and Fourteenth

Amendments to he United States Constitution,

Defendant City of Henderson also required

that any such business obtain both a

business license and a conditional use

permit.

34. One may not obtain and/or retain

a business license from Defendant City of

Henderson if one's business is not zoned

properly or if it does not have a required

conditional use permit.

35. In addition to needing a business

license as set forth above, Plaintiffs also

needed a conditional use permit pursuant to

Section 19.74.012 of the Henderson Municipal

Code.

36. In order to obtain a conditional

use permit, Plaintiffs would have to

establish and the City Council would have to

2-25

find, among other things,

"That the proposed location of

the use and the proposed

conditions under which it would

be operated or maintained will be

consistent with the Comprehensive

Plan; will not be detrimental to

the public health, safety, or

welfare of persons residing or

working in or adjacent to the

neighborhood such use; and will

not be detrimental to properties

Or improvements in the vicinity

or to the general welfare of the

5 ae ee

37. As stated above, after April 4,

1989, the City of Henderson was maintaining

and did maintain an unconstitutional system

with respect to adult bookstores and motion

picture arcades in that, among other things,

there was no property zoned CH and therefore

no property on which such a business could

be operated; in addition, even if there were

such properties zoned CH, such business

2-26

would have to obtain a business’ license

under the standards set forth above and also

obtain a conditional use permit under the

standards set forth above, such standards

being unconstitutionally vague and

unenforceable.

38. On August 31, 1989, Plaintiffs

duly filed their application for business

license. At the time Plaintiffs applied for

their business license, they were informed

by an official of the City of Henderson that

there was no place in the City of Henderson

were one could lawfully operate an adult

bookstore and motion picture arcade.

Therefore, if their application described

the business as an adult business, Defendant

City of Henderson would be compelled to deny

the application.

39. On August 31, 1989, Plaintiffs

submitted a written application on a form

provided by the City of Henderson. Under

the heading "General Information",

Plaintiffs provided the following statement

"Nevada Entertainment Industries dba Fantasy

2-27'

Video Plus.”

40. Under the heading "Occupancy Use

Information™ (type of business), Plaintiffs

provided the following description:

"Mass media books and_ video

store; novelty shop, etc.”

41. On September 21, 1989, Defendant

City of Henderson issued a revenue business

license to Plaintiffs.

42. On or about December 5, 1989,

Defendant City of Henderson re-zoned

Plaintiffs’ property at 1100 Boulder

Highway, Henderson, NV from CC to CH. By

rezoning Plaintiffs’ property from CC to CH,

Defendant City of Henderson determined that

an adult bookstore and arcade could

theoretically be operated at said location,

thereby ostensibly eliminating one ground

for invalidating the regulatory scheme for

adult bookstores and arcades; that is, as of

December 5, 1989, Defendant City of

Henderson no longer purported to totally ban

adult bookstores and arcades from the City

of Henderson (thereby purporting to comply

2-28

with Schad v.Borough of Mount Ephraim, 452

U.8. Gi, G@ 1.86.26. 673. . 302 .6-66... 2376

(1981).

43. However, although Defendant City

of Henderson re-zoned Plaintiffs’ property

from CC to CH, Defendant City of Henderson

still required a business license and a

conditional use permit for the operation of

an adult bookstore and motion picture

arcade.

44. Defendant City of Henderson does

not want any adult bookstores or motion

picture arcades to be located anywhere

within its territorial jurisdiction, but

also does not want any court to invalidate

its regulatory scheme. As ae result,

Defendant City of Henderson wants to create

the impression that it allows such

businesses when in fact it does not and does

not want them.

45. On February 1, 1990, Plaintiffs

opened their business and were immediately

inspected by Defendant City of Henderson.

46. Defendant City of Henderson

ee

2-29

concluded that Plaintiffs opened an adult

bookstore and arcade. Because Defendant

City of Henderson did not want such a

business to operate anywhere within its City

limits, Defendant City of Henderson took two

actions to close Plaintiff's business. It

introduced and, on March 13, 1990, adopted

ordinance No. 1160, purporting to regulate

"sexually oriented business.”

47. Ordinance No. 1160 amended Title

4 of the Henderson Municipal Code by

establishing Chapter 4.110. In essence,

newly adopted Chapter 4.110, requires adult

businesses (including Plaintiffs’ business)

to obtain a license; however, it would

preclude a business such as Plaintiff's

business from operating within 1000 feet of

a place where alcoholic liquor is sold.

Plaintiffs" business is within 1000 feet of

a place where alcoholic liquor is sold but

the ordinance creates a non conforming us

for those businesses operating lawfully on

March 15, 1990 (for a period of six months).

Accordingly, while the adoption of Ordinance

:

;

.

;

¢

f

i

2-30

No. 1160 reveals the obvious intent by the

Defendant City of Henderson to shut down

Plaintiffs’ business, arguably Ordinance

No.1160 has not yet affected Plaintiffs'

business. There are other remedies provided

by Ordinance No. 1160, and therefore the

specific provisions of Ordinance No. 1160

will not be further discussed. Plaintiffs

are not sure how the distance restriction

will be determined and measured.

48. In addition to adopting Ordinance

No. 1160, Defendant City of Henderson on

March 13, 1990 initiated a proceeding to

revoke Plaintiffs’ business license.

49. Although Plaintiffs believe and

still believe and contend that the

ordinances of the City of Henderson

purporting to regulate adult bookstores and

arcades are facially invalid, out of an

abundance of caution Plaintiffs decided to

participate in an administrative proceeding

provided by Defendant City of Henderson with

respect to the revocation issue. The

revocation hearing was conducted by the City

pilin, Sai ~ ia esti

2-31

Council of the City of Henderson on April

10, 1990. After conducting the hearing,

Defendant City of Henderson voted to revoke

Plaintiffs’ business license. At said

hearing, Plaintiffs contended,

unsuccessfully, that the regulatory scheme

and the ordinances quoted above violated

plaintiffs’ rights under the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution. Plaintiffs objected to the

revocation of their business license. The

decision to revoke’ the license was

arbitrary, invalid, and based upon

incompetent and irrelevant evidence, and

based upon an invalid ordinance. Plaintiffs

made no material misrepresentations on their

application. Had the information been

presented which Defendant City of Henderson

purportedly requested, it would not have

been material to any valid criteria for

granting or denying the license.

50. After the hearing conducted on

April 10, 1990, Defendant City of Henderson

purported to revoke Plaintiffs’ business

2-32

license. A copy of the Decision and Order

revoking the business license on April 16,

1990 is attached hereto as Exhibit l.

51. The decision of April 16, 1990

takes effect on or about May 1, 1990.

52. Thus, as of May 1, 1990, unless

this Court restrains the revocation or

restrains enforcement of the ordinance,

Plaintiffs will have to shut down their

business. Plaintiffs contend that the

business license ordinance and the

conditional use permit ordinance are

unconstitutional facially. Accordingly, it

is probably not necessary for Plaintiffs to

retain their business license. Instead,

Plaintiffs have standing to challenge the

facial validity of said ordinances.

53. Although unnecessary, Plaintiffs

did exhaust available administrative

remedies before the Henderson City Council.

54. Defendant James Goff was and is

the Chief of Police of the City of

Henderson. If Plaintiffs do not have a

business license and/or conditional use

tere

2-33

permit, Defendant James Goff, Chief of

Police of the City of Henderson, will

arrest, and/or cite Plaintiffs and their

employees, in violation of their rights

under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to

the United States Constitution. Plaintiffs,

accordingly, will be forced to close their

business protected by the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, unless this Court grants

equitable relief as requested herein.

55. In addition to the Chief of

Police, the Henderson Municipal Code also

authorizes other City of Henderson officials

to arrest and/or cite Plaintiffs. This

would include the Director of Licensing, and

agent and employee of Defendant City of

Henderson.

56. Plaintiffs are without a legal

remedy in the ordinary course of law. The

threat of criminal enforcement of the

Henderson Municipal Code against Plaintiffs

by Defendants, is and will have a chilling

affect on their First and Fourteenth

2-34

Amendment rights. They will be forced to

close their business unless this Court

grants a temporary restraining order,

preliminary injunction, and permanent

injunction.

57. Defendant City of Henderson has

been since April 4, 1989, and still is,

enforcing an unconstitutional regulatory

scheme designed to preclude the operation of

adult bookstores and motion picture arcades.

58. Plaintiffs business is located in

the appropriate zone. If, in fact, it will

become unlawful by virtue of Ordinance No.

1160 in six months, which Plaintiffs do not

concede, then Defendant City of Henderson

will also have unduly’ restricted the

available locations wherein an adult

business can be located, also in violation

of the First and Fourteenth Amendments to

the United States Constitution, but this

particular challenge may be premature. If

not, Plaintiffs are also attacking the

constitutionality of Ordinance No. 1160 in

this proceeding to the extent Defendants,

4.

2-35

and each of them, attempt to enforce it.

59. Plaintiffs have been forced to

retain an attorney to represent them in

thisproceeding. If successful, Plaintiffs

will pray for an award of attorney's fees

pursuant to Title 28, United States Code,

Section 1988.

60. A dispute has arisen among the

parties with regard to the constitutionality

of Ordinance Nos. 1112, 1120, and 1160 of

the City of Henderson and actions taken by

Defendant City of Henderson and threatened

by Defendant City of Henderson and its Chief

of Police. Accordingly, it is appropriate

for this Court to render a declaratory

judgment considering the constitutionality

of various provisions and threatened actions

and revocation proceedings of Defendants.

61. Unless this Court grants immediate

relief, Plaintiffs will suffer irreparable

injury in that they will be forced to close

their business and be precluded from

selling, renting, and exhibiting motion

picture films, video tapes, and books and

2-36

magazines protected by the First and

Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution.

WHEREFORE, PLAINTIFFS PRAY FOR JUDGMENT

AS FOLLOWS:

Be For a temporary restraining order,

pre aminary injunction, and permanent

amjunction restraining Defendants, and each

of them, from attempting to or from

enforcing ordinances against Plaintiffs

which would cause them to close their

business at 1100 Boulder Highway, Henderson,

NV;

ae For a temporary restraining order,

preliminary injunction, permanent

injunction, restraining Defendants and each

of them, from revoking or enforcing the

revocation of Plaintiffs’ business license;

2. For declaratory judgment that

Plaintiffs have the right to continue

operating their business, as currently

constituted, at 1100 Boulder Highway in

Henderson, Nevada;

4. For declaratory judgment that

2-37

Defendant City of Henderson may not enforce

its ordinances against Plaintiff's business

at 1100 Boulder Highway, Henderson, Nevada;

- For attorney's fees according to

proof;

6. For such other and further relief

as the court deems just and proper.

DATED: April _23 , 1990

Respectfully submitted,

ROGER JON DIAMOND

Attorney for Plaintiff

2-38

AFFIDAVIT OF DANIEL BISHOP

State of Nevada

ss

— ss

County of Clark

Daniel Bishop, first being duly sworn,

deposes and says:

1. I am the President of Nevada

Entertainment Industries, Inc. and am also

co-Plaintiff in this action. I have read

the foregoing Complaint and the facts stated

therein are true and correct to the best of

my knowledge. If called upon as a witness,

I could competently testify to such facts

and I will be available for’ cross-

examination by Defendants’ counsel at the

hearing on the request for temporary

restraining order and at the hearing on the

request for preliminary injunction.

DANIEL BISHOP

h "

2-39

BEFORE THE CITY COUNCIL OF THE

CITY OF HENDERSON

COUNTY OF CLARK,

STATE OF NEVADA

x * *

In the Matter of the )

Disciplinary Action )

Against the Business )

License of NEVADA )

ENTERTAINMENT INDUS- ) DECISION AND ORDER

TRIES, INC., DANIEL )

BISHOP and FRANCISCO )

S. VILLALPANDO d/b/a _ )

)

)

FANTASY VIDEO PLUS

The CITY COUNCIL of the CITY OF

HENDERSON, having heard and considered all

the evidence presented at the business

license revocation hearing in the above-

entitled matter on April 10, 1990, makes the

following findings of fact and determination

of issues, and renders its final decision as

follows:

1.) The evidence shows the licensees

originally advised the CITY the videos were

"adult"; |

2.) When licensees were told they

needed a zone change and use permit to

operate as an adult video business, the

2-40

licensees changed their application to

reflect "mass media video/book and novelty"

with the full intention to proceed as an

adult video, book and novelty store;

3.) The licensees changed their

application with the full intention to

misrepresent and mislead the Business

License Department in order to open for

business without obtaining a zone change and

use permit;

4.) The use of the term "mass media”

was done to deliberately mislead and deceive

the City staff in order to cause a business

license to be issued;

5.) The licensee answered in the

negative questions regarding previous

convictions on the business license

application which affects his credibility

and is itself a misrepresentation;

6.) The evidence showed the business

consisted of predominantly, 75-80%, adult

materials;

7.) The omission by licensees of the

nature of the business was done deliberately

Pup akees bey ri

_—

itis Tee A st WG

pearat ere Mitac RB ema ttt

FAY tear ce ei

2-41

to mislead and deceive City staff in order

to have a business license issued without

applying for a zone change and use permit;

8.) The licensees offered no evidence

to refute any of the evidence offered by the

CITY regarding arrests or misrepresentation

of the nature of the store's business;

9.) The licensee tried to divert

attention from the limited issues at hand

which is the misrepresentation of the nature

of the business to the Business License

Department;

310.) Each of the witnesses who

testified were credible and their testimony

truthful;

Based on the foregoing findings and

conclusions, the CITY COUNCIL hereby revokes

the business license of NEVADA ENTERTAINMENT

INDUSTRIES, INC., d/b/a FANTASY VIDEO PLUS,

orders written notice of its decision to

licensees within five (5) business days, and

stays the enforcement of the revocation for

ten (10) business days following receipt of

2-42

the written notice of revocation.

DATED this _l16th day of April, 1990.

CITY COUNCIL OF THE CITY OF HENDERSON

LORNA KESTERSON, Mayor

ANDY HAFEN

CARLTON LAWRENCE

DOROTHY VODENBRINK,

CMC, City Clerk

MICHAEL HARRIS

LORIN WILLIAMS

SOPY-OF QUESTIONS I_& 1V IN PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI IN NO. 92-643, AT pp, i-iij.

(Refer: page 9 of Reply Memorandum. }

Text at page 9 reads:

“A legal Conclusion of Law that the U.S.

District Court for the District of Nevada did

not have ‘subject matter jurisdiction’ on 4-

pril 24, 1990,

- : ! The

U.S. District Court and the U.S. Court of Ap-

peals for the Ninth Circuit are required to

acceed to that ‘command’ in all cases in which

&® proper Huffman type abstention defense has

been asserted. That the City of Henderson is

asserting a proper Huffman challenge, see

Huffman, supra, at fn. 14, which cites and

relies upon this Court’s decision in

Buck, 313 U.S. 387(1941). See also Questions |

& IV in the petition for writ of certiorari in

Case No. 92-643 at Pp. i-iii, a copy of which

is attached at Appendix 3 to this Brief.”

Question I reads: “Whether, under Huff-

» 420 U.S. 592 (1975), the

United States District Court must defer to the

state court judicial system by abstaining and

dismissing the federal civil rights action

which seeks to enjoin enforcement of the

Henderson City Council’s quasi-judicial order

which revoked the federal! Plaintiffs’ business

license based on the City Council’s finding of

a fraudulent business license application,

which order was pending in the state system

and had been issued and served prior to the

filing of the civil rights lawsuit, where the

federal plaintiffs have failed to plead and

prove, and the U.S. Dist. Court has not found

the ‘extraordinary circumstances” which the

11th Amendment and this Court in Huffman, su-

pra, require for federal jurisdiction to lie?”

Question IV reads: ‘Whether this Court

should establish a “heightened Pleading” re-

quirement for those plaintiffs who seek feder-

al relief in civil rights complaints brought

pursuant to 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983, which trigger

abstention issues and the doctrines estab-

lished by this Court in

Huffman v. Pursue,

Litd., supra, and Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S. 387

(1941).

aarliglcaagaye PRENSA iii Sc) Sl alt

3=]

Whether, under Huffman v. Pursue, Ltd.,

420 U.S. 592 (1975), the United States

District Court must defer to the state court

judicial system by abstaining and dismissing

the federal civil rights action which seeks

to enjoin enforcement of the Henderson City

Council's quasi-judicial order which revoked

the federal plaintiffs' business license

based on the City Council's finding of a

fraudulent business license application,

which order was pending in the state system

and had been issued and served prior to the

filing of the civil rights lawsuit, where

the federal plaintiffs have failed to plead

and prove, and the U.S. District Court has

not found the “extraordinary circumstances"

which the Eleventh Amendment and this Court

in Huffman, supra, require for federal

jurisdiction to lie.

Il

Whether under University of Tennessee

v. Elliott, 478 U.S. 788 (1986), the U.S.

OO eee

3-2

District Court must grant the City's motion

to dismiss the civil rights action because

of the res judicata and/or collateral

estoppel effect which the unreviewed City

Council's quasi-judicial finding of fraud in

the submission of the federal plaintiffs'

business license application and the

unreviewed City Council's order revoking

their business license has onthe federal

plaintiffs' constitutional claims, where

federal plaintiffs have had an adequate

opportunity to fully litigate all

constitutional issues within the Nevada

state judicial system.

II!

Whether the Huffman abstention issue

which has been framed is:

(1) jurisdictional; and

(2) requires application of the

collateral estoppel and res judicata

principles expressed in University of

Tennessee v. Elliott, supra, to the

unreviewed City Council quasi-judicial

\

Bee

3-3

finding of fraud in federal plaintiffs'

business license application and to the

unreviewed City Council quasi-judicial

order of license revocation; so as to

mandate a dismissal of the federal civil

rights action, and bar any consideration of

the "reservation" doctrine expressed in

England v. Louisiana State Board of Medical

Examiners, 375 Gee. . 433 (1964). See

Huffman, at 499, fn. 2.

IV

Whether this Court should establish a

"heightened pleading" requirement for those

plaintiffs who seek federal relief in civil

rights complaints brought pursuant to 42

U.S.C. Section 1983, which trigger absten-

tion issues and the doctrines established by

this Court in Huffman v. Pursue, _ Ltd.,

supra, and Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S. 387

(1941).

APPENDIX 4

COPY OF CITY OF LAS VEGAS V. NEVADA

INDUSTRIES, INC,, 772 P.2d 1275 (NEV. 1989).

(Reference: page 18 of Reply Memorandum. |]

Text at page 18 reads:

“Petitioner contends herein that Nevada

Entertainment's deliberate attempt to use the

federal courts to obtain a federal decree and

rule of law which is contrary to the express

holding of the Nevada Supreme Court in City of

<< ore Vea

1275 (Nev.1989), see copy at Appendix 4, and

is a patent violation of the Eleventh Amend-

ment, which amendment was specifically adopted

by the States in 1792 to preclude the use of

the federal court system as was done in this

case. See Cross- Petition of City of Henderson

supra, specifically held one year earlier

(April 25, 1989), that, in the State of

Nevada, an adult bookstore which obtains its

business license by deception may not obtain

the judicial relief Nevada Entertainment seeks

(in Questions 1-3 of its Petition for Writ of

Certiorari in 94-786) in the quasi-judicial

proceedings which are brought by the State to

revoke its license for fraud in its business

application. ]

Question | reads: May a city violate

the first and Fourteenth Amendments (free

speech) by shutting down an adult bookstore

pursuant to an unconstitutional zoning ordi-

nance because the bookstore obtained its busi-

ness license by deception?” Question 2

reads: “Is an adult bookstore without consti-

tutional protection vis-a-vis an invalid zon-

ing ordinance because it obtianed its business

license by deception?~™ Question 3 reads: “To

prove that a city utilizes an unconstitutional

zoning scheme to ban all adult bookstores, may

an adult bookstore employ deception in obtain-

ing a business license?”

Nevada Entertainment's filing of its

Petition for Writ of Certiorari in 94-786 is

frivolous because the federal court below

lacked subject matter jurisdiction under the

1ith Amendment violation.

4-1

SUPREME COURT OF

NEVADA

CITY OF LAS VEGAS, CASE NO. 18491

Nevada,

OPINION.

Appellant,

DATED:

Vv. April 25, 1989

NEVADA INDUSTRIES,

INC., a Nevada

Corporation,

Respondent.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Business challenged city's revocation

of its business licenses. The Eighth

Judicial District Court, Clark County,

Joseph S. Pavlikowski, J., issued permanent

injunction and writ of mandamus prohibiting

enforcement of business license ordinances

against business, and city appealed. The

Supreme Court, Young, C.J., held that: (1)

misrepresentation in license applications

that business was not sexually oriented

justified revocation of licenses, and (2)

ordinance provision serving as basis for

imposition of fine against business was

invalid.

4-2

Affirmed in part and reversed in part.

) Licenses:

Falsely representing on

applications for business’ licenses

that business was not sexually

oriented justified city’s revocation

of business licenses’ pursuant to

municipal code, irrespective of any

First Amendment interests. U.8.C.A.

Const.Amend. 1.

2. Municipal Corporations:

While municipalities generally

enjoy power to enforce their

ordinances using fines, such

Ordinances must fix valid maximum

penalty.

3. Municipal Corporations:

Standardless ordinance invites

discriminatory enforcement.

4. Licenses:

Municipal Code provision

authorizing imposition of penalty upon

business, determined to have

misrepresented its status as sexually

4-3

oriented business in application for

business licenses, was invalid, as it vested

city officials with unlimited discretion to

establish fines and posed great risk of

excessive fines. Const. Art. l, 16.

>. Licenses:

Municipal Corporations:

Portions of penalty provision of

municipal business license ordinances

determined to be invalid for failing

to establish valid maximum fine could

be severed without defeating

objectives of ordinance and,

therefore, validity of remaining

portions of ordinance would be

sustained. Const. Art. l, ig.

George F. Ogilvie, City Atty., Robert

Yeargin and Val Steed, Deputy City Attys.,

Las Vegas, for appellant.

Alan B. Andrews, Las Vegas, For

respondent.

OPINION

YOUNG, Chief Justice.

4-4

This action arose out of the appellant

Las Vegas City Council's (Las Vegas)

decision to revoke respondent Nevada

Industries’ business’ licenses. Nevada

Industries operates a lounge facility with

a jacuzzi and meeting rooms. A detective

observed nudity and the exposure’ and

touching of female breasts during a visit to

the facility.

After an investigation and a hearing,

Las Vegas revoked the business’ licenses

because it found that Nevada Industries is

a sexually oriented business, i.e. a “nude

show." Consequently, it found that

respondent made a misrepresentation on its

application for business licenses by stating

that it would not operate ae sexually

oriented business.' Moreover, Las Vegas

found that Nevada Industries violated a Las

Vegas zoning ordinance prohibiting the

establishment of a sexually oriented

business within one thousand feet of another

sexually oriented business, church, school,

park or playground.’ Las Vegas also found

4-5

that Nevada Industries violated ordinances

concerning the keeping of business records

and failed to properly maintain its State

Industrial Insurance System (SIIS) coverage.

Pursuant to these findings, Las Vegas

revoked Nevada Industries’ business licenses

and fined respondent $50,000.°

On Nevada Industries" motion, the

district court issued a writ of mandamus and

reviewed Las Vegas’ actions. The district

court concluded that Nevada Industries’

activities enjoyed First Amendment

protection because Las Vegas sought to

regulate them as a "nude show." The court

found the applicable ordinances

unconstitutional as applied to this

protected activity, and issued a permanent

injunction and a writ of mandamus

prohibiting their enforcement against Nevada

Industries. Las Vegas appeals from the

district court's judgment.

[1] Las Vegas’ finding that Nevada

Industries’ activities constituted a nude

show provided the basis for its conclusion

Ee

4-6

that Nevada Industries made

misrepresentations on its application for a

business license, and for its finding that

Nevada Industries violated Las Vegas’ zoning

ordinance by operating within one thousand

feet of another sexually oriented business.

LVMC §19.74.020(1) addresses sexually

oriented businesses, and defines "nude show”

as "any establishment which provides or

permits sexual conduct or the display of

specified anatomical areas upon its premises

as entertainment or as an attraction for

business." The provision also defines adult

motion picture theaters, adult bookstores,

and similar establishments as_ sexually

oriented businesses. Las Vegas correctly

points out that the sucking of a woman's

breast by a man, as observed by one of its

) detectives, constitutes "sexual conduct”

under LVMC §19.74.010(A)(1) as do other

actions which the detective observed.

Nevada Industries’ facilities and

advertising support the conclusion that it

intended to operate in its present manner

4-7

(i.e. as a sexually oriented business) at

the time it applied for its business

license. Therefore, the record demonstrates

that Nevada Industries falsely represented

on its license application that it was not

a sexually oriented business.

Consequently, we conclude that we need

not address the issue of whether Nevada

Industries’ activities enjoy First Amendment

protection because respondent's affirmative

misrepresentation formed the basis for the

revocation of its licenses. Accordingly,

without addressing the First Amendment

issues raised by respondent, we hold that

Las Vegas acted within its discretion when

it revoked Nevada Industries" business

licenses pursuant to the Las Vegas Municipal

Code.

Because Las Vegas determined that

Nevada Industries’ operation included a

"nude show,” the district covrt held that

this case must turn upon Pirst Amendment

principles. According to the United States

Supreme Court, under some circumstances,

aE ee

4-8

nude dancing might be entitled to First and

Fourteenth Amendment protection. California

v. LaRue, 409 U.S. 109, 118, 93 S.Ct. 390,

397, 34 L.Ed.2a@ 342 (1972). Thus, the

district court concluded that Las Vegas'

licensing procedures must meed the strict

constitutional standards imposed on all

statutes which impinge upon First Amendment

rights. We disagree. |

Las Vannes characterized the

entertainment provided by Nevada Industries

as "nude show”™ in order to demonstrate that

respondent made misrepresentations on its

business license applications. Las Vegas

revoked Nevada Industries’ business licenses

not because of the forms of expression which

occurred at their operations, but for the

simple reason that respondent perpetrated a

fraud upon Las Vegas. Therefore, Nevada

Industries' First Amendment rights are not

dispositive of this case.

We note that under our decision in this

case, Nevada Industries remains free to

reapply for new business licenses. However,

4-9

should they continue to operate as a

sexually oriented business, Las Vegas

Municipal Code section 19.74.0300 provides a

basis for denying their licenses.

Accordingly, we reverse that portion of

the district court's decision which

permanently enjoined Las Vegas from using

its municipal ordinances to revoke Nevada

Industries’ business licenses. However, we

affirm the district court insofar as it

enjoined the imposition of Las Vegas’

$50,000 fine upon respondent.

[2-5] According to Las Vegas Municipal

Code section 6.88.120, after a hearing on a

dispute, the board of commissioners shal]

render a decision on the merits, including

"the penalty to be imposed, if any." After

concluding that Nevada Industries violated

Las Vegas" business licensing ordinances,

the board of commissioners fined respondents

$50,000.

Generally, municipalities enjoy the

power to enforce their ordinances’ using

fines. Commonwealth v. Cabell, 199

|

4-10

Pa.Super. 513, 185 A.2d 611, 616 (1962).

However, the ordinance must fix a valid

maximum penalty. Verona _v. Shalit, 96

N.J.Super. 20, 232 A.2d 431, 433

(App.Div.1967). Because the penalty

provision of section 6.88.120 fails to

provide any limitation on the fines imposed,

that clause is void. Id.

Municipal ordinances must not be

oppressive. Hunter v. City of Atlanta, 212

Ga. 179, 91 S.E.2d 338, 340 (1956). In its

present form, section 66.88.120 is invalid

because it vests Las Vegas officials with

uniimited discretion to establish fines. A

standardless ordinance invites

discriminatory enforcement. Baer v. City of

Wauwatosa, 716 F.2d 1117, 1124 (7th

Cir.1983). Because of the great risk of

excessive fines resulting from enforcement

of the penalty provision, it cannot stand.!

Nev. Const. art. 1, Je.

When invalid provisions of a municipal

ordinance are severable without defeating

the objectives of the ordinance, we sustain

4-11

and give effect to valid portions of the

ordinance.’ City of Portland v. Dollarhide,

71 Or.App. 289, 692 P.2d 162, 167 (1984).

Accordingly, we sustain the validity of the

remaining portions of section 6.88.120.

Therefore, we affirm the judgment of

the district court insofar as it enjoins the

imposition of Las Vegas’ fine on Nevada

Industries, and reverse that portion of the

district court's decision which permanently

enjoined Las Vegas from using its municipal

ordinances to revoke Nevada Industries’

business license.

STEFFEN, SPRINGER and MOWBRAY, JJ.,

concur.

\

1/ Las Vegas Municipal Code 16 .02.330

provides in part:

6.02.330 Disciplinary action-Good

cause designated. The licensee may be

subject to disciplinary action by the

Board of Commissioners for good cause,

which may include, but is not limited

to:

(A) The application is

incomplete or contains false,

misleading or fraudulent statements

with respect to any information

required in the application;

f

'

I

4-12

(B) The licensee or any of its

principals’ fails to satisfy any

qualification or requirement imposed

by this Code, or other local, State or

Federal Law or regulation pertaining

to the particular license or approval

for suitability sought or held;

(F) The licensee or any of its

principals has committed acts which

would constitute a crime involving

moral turpitude, or involving any

Federal, State or local law or

regulation relating to the same or a

similar business;

(G) When substantial information

exists which tends to show that the

licensee or any of its principals is

dishonest or corrupt;

(I) The actual business activity

constitutes a public or private

nuisance, or will be or is conducted

in an unlawful, illegal or improper

manner;

2/ In Young v. American Mini Theatres, 427

0.8. 50, 96 S.Ct. 2440, 49 L.Bd.2d 310

(1976), the Supreme Court upheld the

constitutionality of a zoning ordinance

similar to that implemented by Las Vegas in

this case. The Court noted that the mere

fact that commercial exploitation of

material arguably protected by the First

Amendment is subject to zoning and other

licensing criteria is an insufficient reason

for invalidating these ordinances. Id. at

62, 96 8.Ct. at 2448. Moreover, we must

give great respect to Las Vegas’ interest in

preserving the quality of urban life and to

4-13

2/ Cont.

its need to experiment with solutions to

difficult problems. Id. at 71, 96 S.Ct. at

2452-53. Thus, we find that the zoning

ordinance implicated in this case is

constitutional.

3/ The City imposed the fine pursuant to

Las Vegas Municipal Code '6.88.120 which

provides that:

6.88.120 Decision by Board.

After the hearing of a contested

matter, the Board of Commissioners

shall render a decision on the merits

which shall include findings of fact

and conclusions of law and the penalty

to be imposed, if any, and_ shall

thereafter make and enter its order in

its minutes in conformity to such

decision. The decision of the Board

shall be served on the parties

personally or shall be sent to them by

registered or certified mail. The

decision shall become and remain

effective upon such service unless the

Board shall otherwise order.

4/ According to NRS 193.170, whenever a

statute prohibits the performance of any act

but fails to impose a penalty for the

violation thereof, commission of the act

shall be a misdemeanor.

5/ We note that the vague penalties

referred to in section 6.88.120 can easily

be clarified by amendment.

6/ The Honorable Robert E. Rose, Justice,

did not participate in the decision of this

appeal.

siveuibadlbdrein nts hadiathadtaadhens entered aneaeeme eee

APPENDIX B

PORTION OF TEXT OF PETITION FOR WRIT OF

CERTIORARI, FILED IN CONNECTION WITH

CASE NO. 92-643, AT POINT III ON’ PAGES

46-57 { THE TEST IN WATSON V. BUCK IS

CONTROLLING AND MUST BE APPLIED.” ]

{Reference: Respondents’ Brief in

Opposition at 46-57. ]

i |

B-1

license revocation proceeding is barred.

III

THE TEST IN WATSON V. BUCK IS

CONTROLLING AND MUST BE APPLIED.

In Watson v. Buck, 313 U.S. 387 (1941),

the U.S. District Court for the Northern

District of Florida had enjoined a Florida

State containing a severability clause which

had never been before the Florida Supreme

Court for interpretation. In reversing that

judgment and the granting of the injunction,

this Court held at pages 401-402 that a |

State statute which contains a severability )

Clause must be "flagrantly and patently vio- |

lative of express constitutional prohibi-

tions in every Clause, sentence, and para-

graph, and in whatever matter and against

whomever an effort mights be made to apply

it ..." before a federal court can inter-

fere with the right of the state court to

interpret such legislation.

In such a case it is reversible error

for a federal court to grant an injunction

and preempt the state court from its func-

ez .

B-2

tion, unless the reacerd shows there were

"exceptional circumstances and a clear show-

ing that an injunction is necessary in order

to afford adequate protection of constitu-

tional rights...." Further, under Watson v.

Buck, that "clear showing" must demonstrate

that the danger of irreparable loss "is both

great and immediate." Otherwise, the de-

fenses must be set up in the state court

even though the validity of the ordinance is

challenged, for there is ample opportunity

for ultimate review by the United States

Supreme Court of federal questions. It is

patent upon the face of the record below

that the Watson v. Buck requirements of "“ir-

reparable loss"..."both great and immediate"

have not been established.

(1) A NUMBER OF IMPORTANT STATE

INTERESTS ARE INVOLVED

This federal case has impaired a

number of important and compelling state

interests and rights of the City of

Henderson:

(1) The exercise of Home Rule

B-3

powers; i.e. to ensure that the license

issuing and zoning process is kept free

from the perpetration of material fraud

by individual license and zoning

applicants;

(2) The administration of state

laws, to obtain compliance with the

Precise standards embodied in those

laws, and to conduct the state enforce-

ment process free from unwarranted

federal interference which disrupts

municipal efforts;

(3) The right not to have newly-

enacted comprehensive municipal zoning

ordinances subjected to federal judi-

cial review to protect the legitimate

interests which underlie state laws,

until after the state court system has

been given an adequate Opportunity to

review and interpret said laws and the

issues are ripe for adjudication;

(4) To practice judicial economy

by requiring that litigation involving

the above judicial functions be conduc-

B-4

ted in the most efficient forum (i.e.

the State Court);

(5) A quick, definitive determi-

nation of matters involving the opera-

tion of a business without a license.

Such an activity constitutes a "per se"

public nuisance and "pez se" irrepara-

ble harm which requires abatement. See

World Famous Drinking Emporium, Inc. v.

City of Tempe, 820 F.2d 1079 at 1083.

(6) Suppression of fraud in the

governmental license application pro-

cess. See City of Las Vegas v. Nevada

Industries, 772 P.2d 1275, infra, at p.

41-42. It is contrary to established

public policy to obstruct state en-

forcement action against applicants who

deliberately make false statements to

the government in a business applica-

tion in order to obtain a license.

(7) Control of the issuance and

revocation of revenue-based business

licenses, as part of a local revenue

collection (taxation) scheme.

B-5

Unless effective, Summary relief is ac-

corded cities against such unlawful "collat-

eral" appeals by this Court exercising its

under the All Writs Act,

corrective power

the City of Henderson will sustain the same

type of irreparable harm as that suffered by

the state of Ohio in the Huffman case, and

by other cities in similar cases, where im- |

portant state laws are prevented from being

presented to the state appeals courts and

this Court for an authoritative construction

-

of state law under the federal Constitution .

-

Because of the federal court interfer-

ence with state a

ppellate proceedings,

in

Huffman, the substantive appellate question

involving application of state law (re

"closure"

of a public nuisance) was never

decided, and could never be presented to

this Court

for definitive review.

Huffman

involved the power of a state court t

© close

a 100% continuing public nuisance (obsceni-

ty) [utilizing a remedial approach accepta-

ble under Red Light Abatement statutes,

where the object is the reformation of

property used to conduct a per se public

nuisance (prostitution) ]. Because a_ final

State determination on this important legal

issue, regarding the scope of available

State remedies, was collaterally blocked by

the federal courts in Huffman, an Ohio

(Footnote Continued)

(Footnote Continued)

appellate determination on "closure" was

unavailable as a precedent for the state of

Ohio and for other state court systems, and

the substantive legal issue could not be

reviewed by this Court, leaving the

"closure" issue, to date, unsettled across

the Nation.

The question of the extent to which the

states may exercise the remedy of "closure"

in connection with the exercise of their

police power has arisen in other state

cases, with varying results. See State of

Idaho ex rel. Kidwell et al. v. U.S.

Marketing, Inc. et al., 102 Idaho 451

(1982), tr: noted 454 U.S.1140 (1982), and

app. dismissed 455 U.S. 1009 (1982), in

which a unanimous State Supreme Court upheld

the constitutionality of one-year closure

provision and award of attorney fees against

a pornographic bookstore. Compare, Juris-

dictional Question #1 posed in the Petition

for writ of certiorari in Cooper v. Mitchell

Brothers Santa Ana Theater et al., No. 81-

271, October Term 1980, decided on other

grounds in 454 U.S. 90 (1981), and Jurisdic-

tional Question #1 posed in Cooper Vv.

Mitchell Bros. Santa Ana Theater et al., No.

82-345, October Term 1982, denied in 459

U.S. 944 (1982). Because the applicability

of "closure" to the public nuisance abate-

ment process involving pornographic outlets

has never been answered by this Court, after

a protracted, time-consuming and expensive

abatement procedure in which it was demon-

strated that the defendant Mitchell Brothers

had engaged in the regular continuous

exhibition of obscene films as a course of

conduct continuing over a period of 10

years, the City of Santa Ana was forced to

"throw in the towel" in 1987, and settled

the controversy by paying defendants their

attorney's fees and allowing their

pornographic outlet to continue operations

in Santa Ana.

B-7

(2) THE STATE COURT WITH A__"DIRECT"

ATTACK ON THE "PENDING" STATE ACTION

PROVIDES A MORE EFFICIENT JUDICIAL

FORUM FOR THE RESOLUTION OF DISPUTES

THAN THE "COLLATERAL" CHALLENGES BEING

ASSERTED IN THE FEDERAL COURT AGAINST

THE STATE STATUTES AND CITY ORDINANCES

IN SUCH "PENDING" CASES.

The exercise of federal jurisdiction

Striking a state statute Or Ordinance is not

proper, except where the challenged law is

"flagrantly and patently violative of

express constitutional prohibitions in every

Clause, sentence, and paragraph and in

whatever manner and against whomever an

effort might be made to apply it." Watson

Vv. Buck, 393 U.S. 387 (1941).

Without doubt, the U.s. District Court

has jurisdiction in the instant case to

decide the question of jurisdiction. U.S.

v. United Mine Workers of America, 330 U.S.

258 (1974). Where, however, a state statute

or a city ordinance involving an "important

State interest" is susceptible of a

construction which will render the statute

constitutional and a State court action is

pending, under Middlesex County Ethics

EO

B-8

Committee, supra, the federal court must

abstain and must allow the matter to be

returned to the state court system for an

authoritative construction by the state

court. One of the principle reasons why

this result is mandated is the fact that a

federal court lacks jurisdiction to authori-

tatively construe state legislation, U.S. v.

Thirty-Seven Photographs, 402 U.S. 363

(1971), a task routinely performed by state

court.

There is a marked difference in the

way in which the state and federal courts

approach the constitutional issue regarding

legislation. Largely because of the doc-

trine of separation of powers, the rule has

evolved that state courts are obliged to

render a construction of state legislation

which will arrive at a constitutional re-

sult. In People ex rel. Busch v. Projection

Room Theater, 17 Cal.3d 55 at 56, the

California Supreme Court noted, at page 336:

"Furthermore, the United States

Supreme Court recently emphasized

within the foregoing context that

B-9

courts have an Obligation to construe

Statutes in such a Way as to avoid

serious constitutional Goupts . . .*

(Our emphasis. )

and, at page 338:

"We are obliged to construe and

interpret legislation in a manner which

will uphold its validity. (Citations).

Thus, the courts have held that

Provision for a prior adversary hearing

may be implied by law in otherwise

Silent statutory provisions."

Because federal courts do not bear the’ same

relationship to state legislatures and do

not function in the same manner as regards

State legislation, see U.S. v. 37

Photographs, Supra, the end result is

certain to differ.

Additionally, the question as to

whether defective federal and state

legislation may be "saved" by statutory

construction or by severance of the

defective portion presents important

Public policy matters for federal and

state governments. See Tilton Vv.

Richardson, 403 uU.s. 672 at 684, where

Chief Justice Burger noted:

"The cardinal principle of statutory

B-10

construction is to save and not

destroy."

In examining the record of this case,

it is apparent that the state system is the

most efficient and proper forum for

interpreting the interplay of the _ state

statutes and municipal ordinances involved.

Were the constitutionality of the

8

"conditional use" zoning laws an issue ,

8

The constitutionality of the condi-

tional use in the CH zone is not yet in

issue, inasmuch as the federal plaintiffs

never applied for a variance ora special

use permit. Shelter Creek Development Corp.

| v. City of Oxnard, 838 F.2d 375 (CA9, 1988);

Ill. Commerce Comm'n v. Thompson, 318 U.S.

| 675, and National Bank v. Bd. of County Com-

missioners, 264 U.S. 450 (1924). When the

conditional use ordinance is properly made

an issue, the construction to be given the

newly enacted legislation is one for the

Nevada Courts, not the U.S. District Court.

See Watson v. Buck, supra, discussed at

pages 46 - 47, herein, and U.S. v. 37

Photographs, 402 U.S. 363 at 369-375 (1971)

and U.S. v. 12-200 Ft. Reels of 8mm_Filn,

| 413 U.S. 123 at 130, fn. 7. Compare, in

+ this regard, the construction given by

# California Courts to People v. Library One,

Inc., 229 Cal.App.3d 873 (1989), and Thomas

v. County of Los Angeles, 232 Cal.App.3d

916 (1991), re the effect of this Court's

ruling in FW/PBS, Inc. v. Dallas, 493 U.S.

215 (1990) on specific time limits during

which decision is required on permit

applications, and note, in this regard, that

the issue here is license revocation, not

license procurement.

B-11

there is ample authority to support the

legal proposition that a conditional use

zoning ordinance similar to that which has

been adopted by the City of Henderson can be

constitutionally applied, and only a state

court has both the right and duty to give

the same _a__constitutional interpretation.

See 11126 Baltimore Blvd. v. Prince George's

County, Md., 886 F.2d 1415 at Pages 1426-

1429 [4th Cir. 1989, Rehearing and Rehearing

en Banc denied October 25, 1989; cert.

granted, remand to U.S. Court of Appeals for

further consideration in light of FW/PBS,

493 U.S. 215 (1990))}.

The question as to whether a state

Statute is severable is more properly a

matter for the state court. In a statement

confirming the importance of the "statutory

construction" factor and the right of state

courts to interpret city Ordinances, this

Court in Metromedia, Inc. v. San Diego, 453

U.S. 490 (1981) (involving a direct appeal

of a city ordinance after a state court

decision by the California Supreme Court

aiken

B-12

upholding the ordinance as being constitu-

tional on its face) remanded the case back

to the California Supreme Court for further

statutory construction by the state court,

notwithstanding the fact that this Court

held the ordinance to be unconstitutional on

7

its face . See in this regard, Associate

Justice White's opinion in Metromedia, Inc.,

announcing the judgment of the Court, at

521, fn. 26, wherein he addresses the issue

of severability and the right of state

courts in that regard.

IV

FEDERAL PLAINTIFFS HAVE FAILED TO STATE

A CAUSE OF ACTION UNDER 42 U.S.C.

SECTION 1983 IN THAT THEY HAVE FAILED

TO PLEAD AND PROVE WHY THE PRINCIPLES

ESPOUSED IN WATSON V. BUCK AND HUFFMAN

V. PURSUE, LTD. DO NOT CONTROL SO AS TO

REQUIRE A DISMISSAL FOR LACK OF FEDERAL

JURISDICTION.

Under the rationale expressed in Allen

9

Unlike the "“Humpty-Dumpty" approach of

the federal court system (which cannot

construe a state law), the superiority of

the state forum is self-evident wher

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — City of Henderson v. Nevada Entertainment Industries, Inc. · 513 U.S. 1078 | Frix