Petition for Writ of Certiorari — LeDonne v. United States

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.8.

FILED

94 760 OCT 24 199%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1994

JAMES P. LeDONNE,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SHELLY B. KULWIN

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL C. BENNETT

KULWIN & ASSOCIATES

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2860

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 641-0300

Attorneys for Petitioner

Midwest Law Printing Co., Chicago 60611, (312) 321-0220

i

QUESTION PRESENTED

1. Whether the Seventh Circuit substantially departed

from the long established “totality of the circumstances”

standard it developed pursuant to McCarthy v. United

States in holding that James P. LeDonne knowingly and

voluntarily pled guilty to complex bank and wire fraud

charges on the grounds that he had a college education,

read the charges, spoke with his attorney outside of court

about the charges and answered “‘yes” when asked if he

was guilty of the charged crimes, while acknowledging

that the district court, the government and his attorney

inaccurately explained those charges to LeDonne and that

LeDonne never expressed any understanding during the

plea proceedings of those charged crimes?

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTION PRESENTED .................6. i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................. iv

Ce EE hok bad ama dcsinecatacaieatas 1

FUR OCG IG. NER ARIS 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ................... 2

ST ATs hk oie Raa ewes URNS ree Hee

1. FRPRPUETROT c3 pbs ce cenncescceunceat

2. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACK-

CERIO 040 Ch nd dues devennke see enauks 5

(a) District Court Proceedings .......... 5

(b) Motion to Withdraw ................ 8

(c) The Decision Below ................ 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING

THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI ............... 10

A.

THIS CASE RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS

ABOUT WHETHER A TRIAL COURT CAN

FIND THAT A DEFENDANT TRULY ENTERED

A KNOWING AND VOLUNTARY PLEA OF

GUILTY WHERE HE ADMITTEDLY WAS MIS-

INFORMED ABOUT THE NATURE OF THE

CHARGES AGAINST HIM AND NEVER EX-

PRESSED ANY UNDERSTANDING OF THOSE

CHARGES AT THE PLEA PROCEEDING .... 11

B.

THIS CASE RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS

ABOUT THE EXTENT TO WHICH A DISTRICT

COURT CAN RELY UPON OTHER INDICIA TO

ESTABLISH A DEFENDANT’S UNDERSTAND-

ING OF CHARGES TO WHICH HE IS PLEAD-

ING GUILTY WHERE HE WAS MISINFORMED

ABOUT THE NATURE OF THOSE CHARGES

AND NEVER TESTIFIED TO HIS UNDERSTAND-

ING OF THOSE CHARGES .................

1. Reliance Upon A Government Proffer ...

2. Mere Reading Of The Charging Information .

3. Out-Of Court Proceedings ...............

I oe Lin waste sdscuesces

a 5

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES PAGE

Key v. United States, 806 F.2d 133 (7th Cir. 1986). 14, 15

McCarthy v. United States, 394 U.S. 459, 89 S.Ct.

1166, 22 L.Ed.2d 418 (1969) ............... passim

United States v. Boatright, 588 F.2d 471 (5th Cir.

NOTE iia sooo 050 ce EER I 12, 13

United States v. Darling, 766 F.2d 1095 (7th Cir.

QOD kiki s 0b sos 8 NR een xiees Gee 19, 20

United States v. Fountain, 777 F.2d 351 (7th Cir.

FOIE envi ss ie vaensseieeneeee 4, 14, 15, 19, 20

United States v. Ivory, 11 F.3d 1411 (7th Cir.

MOE os ci ss cok oceadneveaeiea eee 16, 17

United States v. Leung, 783 F.Supp. 357 (N.D.II1.

WIND bois ei ccondebsbueene ere ees 14, 15

United States v. Musa, 946 F.2d 1297 (7th Cir.

BOOED kn ks cence ees bai ees 4, 16, 17

United States v. Ray, 828 F.2d 399 (7th Cir. 1987) .

9:6 wceesbnid aes Fk I AURA 6 cc 4, 16, 17, 18, 19

United States v. Seybold, 979 F.2d 582 (7th Cir.

WOO ig evie cc eh acee koe s enna aan 4

United States v. Syal, 963 F.2d 900 (6th Cir. 1992) . 12, 13

United States v. Wetterlin, 583 F.2d 350 (7th Cir.

ITS)... ok kn cdc cads OE BK eee

STATUTES

18 USS 8. or Ss ew 2, 3,5

18 USS BI 6 ici ikea 3, 5, 12

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 11(cX1) ...... 2

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 32(d) ........ 2

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1994

JAMES P. LeDONNE,

Petitioner,

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the United

States Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Petitioner, James P. LeDonne, respectfully requests

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Seventh Circuit.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Seventh Circuit (App. A, infra, at A-1 to 22), United

States v. LeDonne, is reported at 21 F.3d 1418 (7th Cir.

1994).

sels

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit was entered on April 22, 1994.

A timely petition for rehearing was denied on July 25,

1994. (App. B, infra at B-1). This Court has jurisdiction

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 11(c)(1)

(cX1) Before accepting a plea of guilty or nolo con-

tendere, the court must address the defendant per-

sonally in open court and inform him of, and deter-

mine that he understands the following:

(1) the nature of the charges to which the plea

is offered, the mandatory minimum penalty pro-

vided by law, if any, and the maximum possible

penalty provided by law, including the effect of

any special parole term and, when applicable,

that the court may also order the defendant to

make restitution to any victim of the offense. . .

Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure 32(d)

(d) If a motion for withdrawal of a plea of guilty or

nolo contendere is made before sentence is imposed,

imposition of sentence is suspended, or disposition is

had under 18 U.S.C. § 420&(c), the court may permit

withdrawal of the plea upon a showing by the defen-

dant of any fair and just reason. At any later time,

a plea may be set aside only on a direct appeal or

by motion under 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

18 U.S.C. § 1343

Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any

scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money

olin

or property by means of false or fraudulent pre-

tenses, representations, or promises, transmits or

causes to be transmitted by means of wire, radio, or

television communication in interstate or foreign com-

merce, any writings, signs, signals, pictures, or

sounds for the purpose of executing such scheme or

artifice, shall be fined. . .

18 U.S.C. § 1344

Whoever knowingly executes, or attempts to execute,

a scheme or artifice:

(1) to defraud a financial institution; or,

(2) to obtain any of the moneys, funds, credits,

assets, securities, or other property owned by,

or under the custody or control of, a financial

institution, by means of false or fraudulent pre-

tenses, representations, or promises; ... .

STATEMENT

1. INTRODUCTION

This Court has long held that a district court must not

accept a defendant’s guilty plea without first establishing

that he is knowingly and voluntarily entering that plea.

McCarthy v. United States, 394 U.S. 459, 89 S.Ct. 1166,

22 L.Ed.2d 418 (1969). A defendant lacking an understand-

ing of the charges to which he is acknowledging guilt can-

not make such a knowing and voluntary plea. Jd. District

courts therefore must follow specific procedures to ensure

the defendants’ understanding of the crimes to which they

are pleading guilty. Jd.; Fep. R. Crim. P. 11, 18 U.S.C.

This case requires this Court to ensure that the Seventh

Circuit is not allowed to eradicate the McCarthy and Rule

11 safeguards with a new, heretofore unknown, expansion

of the “totality of circumstances” standard it employs. Up

sulin

to now, the Seventh Circuit, following McCarthy’s lead,

held that a district court should thoroughly question a

defendant to expose the extent of his understanding of

the charged crimes before accepting his guilty plea. United

States v. Fountain, 777 F.2d 351 (7th Cir. 1985); also see

United States v. Seybold, 979 F.2d 582 (7th Cir. 1992).

The court also held that the adequacy of this question-

ing, however, could be judged within the context of the

“totality of the circumstances” surrounding the plea pro-

ceedings: the complexity of the charges, the defendant’s

ability to understand the charges, whether the defendant

is represented by counsel, the court’s colloquy with the

defendant and the evidence proffered by the government.

United States v. Ray, 828 F.2d 399, 405 (7th Cir. 1987);

accord, United States v. Musa, 946 F.2d 1297 (7th Cir.

1991). But, even under this broader standard, the plea

proceedings must establish both that the legal charges to

which the defendant was pleading guilty were accurately

explained and that the defendant, in his own words, ex-

pressed understanding of those charges. Id.

Here, the Seventh Circuit broke new ground, substan-

tially departing from even its own broad “totality” test,

in holding that James P. LeDonne (“LeDonne’”’) entered

a knowing and voluntary guilty plea. For in this case, the

Seventh Circuit not only acknowledged in its opinion

below that the charges against LeDonne were complex,

but spent the majority of its opinion simply attempting

to accurately define those charges under the facts of this

case. Within that context, the Seventh Circuit also ac-

knowledged that the government’s proffer inaccurately

“blurred” the definitions of those charges. Further, the

court conceded that LeDonne’s counsel mis-stated the

charges to LeDonne when, acting at the district court’s

request and on its behalf, he questioned LeDonne about

—i-

his understanding of the charged crimes. And, as the ap-

pellate court also conceded, LeDonne himself never ex-

pressed in his own words any understanding of these

charges during the plea proceedings.

Extending its “totality” standard to previously un-

charted waters, however, the court held that LeDonne’s

college education, his admission that he had “read” the

charges and his out-of-court consultation with his attorney

about the charged crimes, showed LeDonne’s understand-

ing of the crimes to which he pled guilty, even in the face

of direct evidence that LeDonne was both misinformed

about the nature of those charges and the complete absence

of any testimony from LeDonne that he understood those

charges. In so doing, the Seventh Circuit did more than

give a reasonable gloss to this Court’s seminal McCarthy

holding, it essentially stripped it of its very meaning.

Absent review by this Court, therefore, plea proceedings

within the Seventh Circuit will lose the essential protec-

tion provided by McCarthy and Rule 11 of the Federal

Rules of Criminal Procedure. Moreover, this case will set

a dangerous precedent for other circuits.

2. FACTUAL AND PROCEDURAL BACKGROUND

(a) District Court Proceedings

James P. LeDonne was charged with the federal crimes

of wire and bank fraud. 18 U.S.C. §§ 1348, 1344 (1992).

LeDonne decided to plead guilty to both charges. On July

10, 1992, LeDonne’s plea hearing was held in the North-

ern District of Indiana, South Bend Division, the Honor-

able Judge Allen Sharp presiding. After advising the gov-

ernment that the two counts contained in the charging

information were “fairly complicated,” the court directed

the government to make its evidentiary proffer as to the

anil

factual and legal basis for LeDonne’s guilty plea. (Pl. Tr.

3-4).1 The government first proceeded with respect to

Count I. The government described a scheme in which

James P. LeDonne made fraudulent misrepresentations to

obtain and purchase vehicles from the related business en-

tities Walden Distributing and Walden Leasing (“Walden”’).

(Pl. Tr. p. 4). The government charged that LeDonne

would telephone Walden and tell them he had the funds

to pay for the vehicles he wanted to order from them.

(Pl. Tr. p. 6). LeDonne would then send Walden purchase

orders via facsimile transmission. (Pl. Tr. p. 7). The

government finally told the judge to read the informa-

tion to obtain further details of the scheme.? (Pl. Tr. p.

8). At no time did the government detail the elements

of the wire fraud charge contained in Count I.

The government then proffered the following evidence

relating to the bank fraud charge contained in Count II

of the information. LeDonne owed an Oklahoma automo-

bile dealership $148,000. (Pl. Tr. p. 8). On May 10, 1991,

LeDonne opened up a checking account at the Summit Bank

in Indianapolis, Indiana in the name of J.P. Distributing,

Inc. (Pl. Tr. p. 8). On May 15, 1991, LeDonne’s business

partner, Paul McClure, opened a checking account at Bank

One in Elkhart, Indiana, also in the name of J.P. Dis-

tributing, Inc. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). LeDonne wrote a $150,000

check on the Summit account, which McClure deposited

in another Bank One checking account held in the name

of McClure Enterprises. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). At that time, the

Summit: bank account did not have sufficient funds to

1 All citations to the Plea hearing transcript will be referred to

os “HL Tew ois.7'-

2 The government also described other alleged conduct by LeDonne

that the Court did not consider pertinent to Count I. Tr. p. 8).

pa

cover this check. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). Immediately thereafter,

a $150,000 check was issued from the McClure Distribu-

tors’ Bank One account for deposit to the J.P. Distributing

Bank One account. (Pl. Tr. p. 9).

LeDonne began issuing checks from the J.P. Distributing

Bank One account. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). Subsequently, Summit

Bank informed Bank One that LeDonne’s initial $150,000

check was backed by insufficient funds. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). Bank

One ultimately lost $98,000 as a result of the transactions.

(Pl. Tr. p. 9).

During its proffer, the government first stated that

LeDonne schemed to defraud Bank One, in violation of

18 U.S.C. § 1344(1). (Pl. Tr. p. 8). Later, the government

switched fields and stated that LeDonne schemed to ob-

tain money and funds by means of false pretenses, repre-

sentations and promises in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1344(2).

(Pl. Tr. p. 9). The government never clarified which pro-

vision of the bank fraud statute it asserted LeDonne vio-

lated under Count II.

At the conclusion of the government’s proffer, the dis-

trict court briefly addressed LeDonne. (Pl. Tr. pp. 12-15).

The court never directly asked LeDonne if he understood

the nature of the charges against him or the factual bases

of the charges. Instead, the court had LeDonne’s counsel

question LeDonne about the factual bases of these charges

on its behalf. (Pl. Tr. pp. 15-16).

LeDonne responded to more than two-thirds of his attor-

ney’s questions with mere “yes” or “no” answers. (PI.

Tr. pp. 16-24, 26-35). Some of LeDonne’s counsel’s ques-

tions tracked matters described in the government’s proffer.

(Pl. Tr. pp. 16-24). However, many matters discussed in

the proffer were not covered in the colloquy between

LeDonne and his counsel. Critically, during this colloquy,

~-

LeDonne’s counsel misinformed LeDonne of one of the

elements of bank fraud charge against him contained in

Count II. (Pl. Tr. p. 21). Moreover, LeDonne’s counsel

never advised LeDonne of the elements of wire fraud nor

asked him if he intended to defraud Walden, as charged

in Count I.

After defense counsel finished, the court again addressed

LeDonne. (Pl. Tr. p. 24). The trial judge asked LeDonne

about his plea, without referencing any elements or facts

related to the charges against him. Again, LeDonne an-

swered these questions with mere affirmative or negative

responses. (Pl. Tr. p. 24). Following this brief inquiry, the

government supplemented its proffer with additional facts.

(Pl. Tr. p. 25). The court did not question LeDonne as

to these additional facts.

LeDonne did advise the court that he had read the in-

formation. (Pl. Tr. p. 12). LeDonne’s counsel advised the

district court that he discussed the charges with LeDonne

outside of court and that, in his opinion, LeDonne under-

stood them. (Pl. Tr. pp. 35-36). Based upon those two

facts, and the above-described plea proceedings, the dis-

trict court found that LeDonne had knowingly and volun-

tarily pled guilty to the bank and wire fraud charges con-

tained in the information. (Pl. Tr. pp. 35-36). The district

court later sentenced LeDonne to sixty-three months in

a federal correctional facility.

(b) Motion to Withdraw

On February 13, 1998, LeDonne moved to withdraw his

guilty plea on the grounds that he never understood the

nature of the charges against him. (App. A, pp. A-4, 5,

n. 1). The district court denied the motion, ruling that

<Q

LeDonne’s plea was both knowing and voluntary. (App.

D., pp. D-2, D-3).3

(c) The Decision Below

The Seventh Circuit affirmed, finding that the district

court did not abuse its discretion in denying LeDonne’s

motion to withdraw his guilty plea. In its opinion, the

Seventh Circuit detailed the preferred procedure for con-

ducting a Rule 11 plea hearing. (App. A, p. A-9). The pros-

ecutor in its proffer should identify the elements of the

charge. (App. A, p. A-9). Subsequently, the district court

should question the defendant to determine that he under-

stands the nature of the charge to which he pled guilty.

(App. A, p. A-9). The court noted that the district court’s

procedure here had potential “pitfalls.” (App. A., p. A-9).

The court also noted two instances in which LeDonne

could have been potentially confused as to the nature of

the charges against him. The first instance involved the

government’s failure to indicate the provision of the bank

fraud statute to which LeDonne was pleading guilty,

which, in turn, could have potentially blurred the nature

of those charges in LeDonne’s mind. (App. A, p. A-14).

The second instance occurred when LeDonne’s counsel in-

accurately implied that LeDonne’s purpose in issuing the

* The court noted that LeDonne’s testimony indicated he under-

stood the nature of the charges against him, quoting this passage:

Court: The long and short of it is, with all of this said

done, Mr. LeDonne, you’re still pleading guilty of Count

THE Court: Because you're, in fact, guilty?

DEFENDANT: That’s correct, Your Honor.

(Pl. Tr. p. 35).

=

insufficient funds checks constituted an element of the

crime of bank fraud. (App. A, pp. A-14-15).

The court, however, found that, despite these inac-

curacies and omissions, the totality of the circumstances

in the plea hearing record indicated that LeDonne under-

stood the nature of the charges against him. Specifically,

the court found that LeDonne’s monosyllabic testimony in

response to his attorney’s questioning, his reading of the

information, his counsel’s representations that LeDonne un-

derstood the charges, along with the government’s proffer,

established that LeDonne’s plea was voluntary and intel-

ligent. (App. A, pp. A-15, A-21-22).

REASONS FOR GRANTING

THE WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The McCarthy rule, set down by this Court over twenty

years ago, makes clear that a defendant cannot enter a

knowing and voluntary guilty plea without an adequate

understanding of the legal charges against him. And, while

district courts have long been allowed to look at the

“totality of the circumstances” surrounding a defendant’s

plea to establish the defendant’s understanding of the

charged crimes, the presence of such circumstances have

never been allowed to outweigh clear evidence that no

true understanding existed.

This case raises the important question of whether a

trial court can rely solely upon accepted indicia of a defen-

dant’s understanding of charged crimes to which he is

pleading guilty in the absence of plea proceeding testi-

mony from him that he had such an understanding and

in the presence of clear testimony that the charged crimes

were never accurately explained to him. Here, the Seventh

Circuit, in a substantial departure from McCarthy, its own

a

precedent and that of other circuits, has held that the ac-

cepted indicia of a defendant’s comprehension of the charged

crimes, alone, is enough to establish the defendant’s

requisite understanding to make his plea knowing and vol-

untary. And, the Seventh Circuit has further held that

the existence of such indicia outweighs the accepted fact

that the charged crimes were inaccurately explained to

the defendant and that the defendant himself never testi-

fied to any real understanding of those charges.

A.

THIS CASE RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS ABOUT

WHETHER A TRIAL COURT CAN FIND THAT A DEFEN-

DANT TRULY ENTERED A KNOWING AND VOLUN-

TARY PLEA OF GUILTY WHERE HE ADMITTEDLY

WAS MISINFORMED ABOUT THE NATURE OF THE

CHARGES AGAINST HIM AND NEVER EXPRESSED

ANY UNDERSTANDING OF THOSE CHARGES AT THE

PLEA PROCEEDING.

A defendant’s plea is not voluntary if he does not under-

stand the law in relation to the facts. McCarthy, supra

at p. 466. Thus, pursuant to Rule 11, this Court has re-

quired that the district court fully advise the defendant

of all of the elements of the charges against him. Id. at

470-71.

In McCarthy, this Court found that the failure to inform

the defendant of the intent element of the crime to which

he pled guilty established that his plea was neither know-

ing nor voluntary. Jd. Since the defendant did not under-

stand the nature of the charges against him, the Court

held that Rule 11 was violated. Jd. at 463-71. Thus, the

defendant was allowed to withdraw his guilty plea. Jd.

Moreover, as specifically recognized by the Fifth Circuit,

there is essentially no difference between failing to advise

—12—

the defendant of one element of the charges and incorrect-

ly advising the defendant of the nature of the charges.

United States v. Boatright, 588 F.2d 471 (5th Cir. 1979).

In Boatright, although the defendant was pleading guilty

to a conspiracy charge, the court improperly advised him

that his crime was “intentionally engaging in the gun busi-

ness.” Id. at 474-75. At no point during the remainder

of the proceedings did the court correct this error. Jd.

The Fifth Circuit held that the trial court’s failure to

properly explain the charges precluded the defendant from

ever understanding the nature of the charges against him.

Id. Thus, the Fifth Circuit held that the defendant’s plea

was neither knowing nor voluntary and could be with-

drawn. Id.; accord United States v. Syal, 963 F.2d 900

(6th Cir. 1992).

Here, the record indicates that, as in McCarthy and

Boatright, the elements of the charges were not properly

explained to LeDonne. In fact, the Seventh Circuit noted

that two times during the plea hearing the elements of

bank fraud were improperly explained to LeDonne. (App.

A at pp. A-14-15). The first time occurred during the

government’s proffer.4 The bank fraud statute contains

two different provisions under which a person may be con-

victed, each provision requiring different proofs. 18 U.S.C.

§ 1344. The government first stated that LeDonne’s con-

duct violated the first provision. (Pl. Tr. p. 8). However,

the government stated later that LeDonne’s conduct vio-

lated the second provision. (Pl. Tr. p. 9). The record is

devoid of any attempts by the government or the court

7"

to clarify this “blurred” description of the nature of the

charges against LeDonne.

This mistake was compounded during the colloquy be-

tween LeDonne and his counsel. There, counsel’s ques-

tions gave LeDonne the impression that one element of

bank fraud involved the purpose for which he cashed the

insufficient funds checks. (Pl. Tr. p. 21). In its opinion

below, even the Seventh Circuit conceded this error created

a “potential [for] confusion” which might have prevented

LeDonne from understanding the nature of the bank fraud

charge to which he was pleading guilty. (App. A, pp.

A-14-15).

The Seventh Circuit’s finding that LeDonne had an ade-

quate understanding of the crime to which he was plead-

ing guilty, in the face of this evidence, is a significant

departure from this Court’s McCarthy decision, as well

as those of other circuits. McCarthy, supra; United States

v. Syal, supra; United States v. Boatright, supra.

Realizing the break it was making with McCarthy and

other established precedents, the Seventh Circuit attempted

to validate LeDonne’s invalid plea on the basis of his plea

proceeding testimony. Here again, however, LeDonne’s

testimony only serves to establish his requisite under-

standing of the charged crimes if the Seventh Circuit is

allowed to engage in yet another significant departure

from McCarthy and its progeny regarding the extent to

which a defendant’s testimony is required to establish his

comprehension of the charged crimes against him.

The Seventh Circuit, consistent with this Court’s rul-

ing in McCarthy, has long held that Rule 11 requires a

colloquy between the court and the defendant to expose

“the defendant’s state of mind on the record” i.e. a defen-

dant’s plea hearing testimony must estabiish that he un-

a

derstands the relevant legal and factual issues surround-

ing his guilty plea. McCarthy, supra; United States v.

Fountain, supra at 356. The Seventh Circuit has further

ruled that the defendant’s understanding must be estab-

lished from the defendant’s narrative responses to ques-

tions. Id.

In Fountain, the Seventh Circuit held that affirmative

or negative responses to the court’s questions do not es-

tablish on the record what the defendant understands. Jd.

Instead, the court found that affirmative or negative an-

swers merely denote the defendant’s ability to mimic the

information or indictment and cannot reveal if he compre-

hends the nature of the charges against him. Jd.

The Seventh Circuit reiterated this ruling in Key v.

United States, 806 F.2d 133 (7th Cir. 1986). There, the

court held that, ‘“‘simple affirmative or negative answers

to [the court’s] questioning are insufficient to fully eluci-

date the defendant’s state of mind.” Jd. at 138.

These holdings were most recently applied in United

States v. Leung, 783 F.Supp. 357 (N.D.IIl. 1992). In Leung,

the defendant’s plea hearing testimony was almost ex-

clusively comprised of yes or no answers. Jd. at 359. The

district court allowed the defendant to withdraw his plea,

since the plea hearing record failed to show that he under-

stood the nature of the charges against him. I/d.

Here, the Seventh Circuit relied upon LeDonne’s testi-

mony to establish his understanding of the nature of the

charges against him. (App. A at p. A-15). However, the

plea hearing record shows that LeDonne only gave six

answers that could be characterized as narrative re-

sponses. (Pl. Tr. p. 16-35). And, none of those responses

contained any indication that LeDonne had an understand-

ing of the charged crimes to which he was pleading guilty.

=~ =

Id. Mostly, these responses constituted nothing more than

LeDonne’s statement of some of the factual events that

occurred as he recalled them. Jd. Meanwhile, the re-

mainder of LeDonne’s testimony, over 45 answers in all,

consisted of affirmative or negative answers. (Pl. Tr. p.

16-35) The vast majority of LeDonne’s responses were

precisely the type of answers the Seventh Circuit held

were legally insufficient to determine if a defendant un-

derstands the nature of the charges against him. Key,

supra; Fountain, supra; Leung, supra. In sum, nothing

existed in LeDonne’s testimony which, up to now, was

viewed as legally sufficient to demonstrate his requisite

understanding of the crimes to which he was pleading

guilty. Id.

This Court’s review thus is necessary to prevent the

Seventh Circuit, in a manner which clearly departs from

the purpose of Rule 11, this Court’s McCarthy holding

and its own long established precedent, from allowing

defendants’ to plead guilty to serious offenses without

ever stating on the record their understanding of those

crimes.

B.

THIS CASE RAISES IMPORTANT QUESTIONS ABOUT

THE EXTENT TO WHICH A DISTRICT COURT CAN

RELY UPON OTHER INDICIA TO ESTABLISH A DE-

FENDANT’S UNDERSTANDING OF CHARGES TO

WHICH HE IS PLEADING GUILTY WHERE HE WAS

MISINFORMED ABOUT THE NATURE OF THOSE

CHARGES AND NEVER TESTIFIED TO HIS UNDER-

STANDING OF THOSE CHARGES.

Faced with the inaccurate explanation of the complex

crimes charged here and a record devoid of LeDonne’s

narrative explanation of his understanding of those charges,

=" ss

the Seventh Circuit sought to salvage the guilty plea by

looking at other indicia of LeDonne’s understanding of the

crimes to which he was pleading guilty. In so doing, the

Seventh Circuit departed significantly from its accepted

precedent as to the extent to which a trial court can rely

yn such indicia to save an otherwise clearly defective plea.

This Court must now accept this case to set an accepta-

ble limit on the use of such indicia in order to preclude

a complete emasculation of its McCarthy holding.

1. Reliance Upon A Government Proffer.

A government’s proffer may be considered by the dis-

trict court as one factor in reaching a decision that the

defendant’s guilty plea was entered into voluntarily and

intelligently. United States v. Musa, 946 F.2d 1297, 1302

(7th Cir. 1991); United States v. Ray, 828 F.2d 399, 422

(7th Cir. 1987). The Seventh Circuit, however, has long

held, and reaffirmed in this case, that the proffer is

valueless as an indicia of the defendant’s understanding

of the nature of the charges against him unless proper

procedures are followed in making that proffer at the plea

hearing. (App. A, p. A-9 and cases cited therein). First,

the government’s proffer should begin with a recitation

of the elements of the charges. (App. A, p. A-9). Then,

the district court should question the defendant to deter-

mine if the understood the charges as explained by the

government. Jd. This procedure insures that it is estab-

lished on the record that the defendant understood the

nature of the charges against him. Id.

Moreover, as past Seventh Circuit decisions have estab-

lished, the defendant must agree with the proffer before

it can be considered evidence that he understood the

nature of the charges against him. United States v. Ivory,

11 F.3d 1411 (7th Cir. 1993); United States v. Musa,

= 3m

supra; Ray, supra. For example, in Ray, the defendant

explicitly admitted that the contents of the government’s

proffer were true. United States v. Ray, supra at 406.

The court found that this admission indicated that the de-

fendant understood the nature of the charges as described

in the proffer. Zd.

Likewise, in Musa, the defendant stated on the record

that he understood the contents of the government’s proffer.

United States v. Musa, supra at 1304. Therefore, the

district court properly relied on the proffer to establish

that the defendant understood the nature of the charges

against him. Jd.

Finally, in Ivory, the government proffered the elements

of the charges against the defendant. United States v.

Ivory, supra at 1416-1417. The district court then spe-

cifically questioned the defendant about his understanding

about each of the charges against him, with each of the

district court’s questions beginning with the phrase “Do

you understand?” Jd. at 1417-1418. The defendant re-

sponded affirmatively to all of those questions and the

court thus held that the proffer was evidence that the

defendant’s guilty plea was voluntary and intelligent. Jd.

Here, the government failed to set forth each element

of the crimes charged in its proffer. Further, the govern-

ment mis-stated those elements in its proffer. It also added

facts to the proffer after LeDonne had already been fully

questioned about his understanding of the crimes to which

he was pleading guilty.

Moreover, the district court never directly questioned

LeDonne about his understanding of the proffer. The plea

proceedings are also wholly devoid of any indication that

LeDonne expressed any agreement to, or admitted the

truth of, any facts contained in that proffer. Nor was

—18—

LeDonne ever asked to even address the facts which the

government added to its proffer immediately before he

pled guilty. The proffer here thus represented a mere

reading of the government’s factual position in the case

and nothing more.

In holding to the contrary, the Seventh Circuit has sub-

stantially departed from its own precedent and has jeop-

ardized the safeguards McCarthy set in place concerning

acceptance of guilty pleas. This Court must now resolve

the issue as to when a district court may properly con-

sider a mere reading of a government proffer sufficient

evidence to outweigh a mis-statement of the charges to

a defendant who expressed no other understanding of the

nature of the charges against him during the plea pro-

ceedings.

2. Mere Reading Of The Charging Information.

The Seventh Circuit has long held that the defendant’s

representation that he read the information is not evi-

dence that the defendant understood the nature of the

charges against him. Ray, supra at 410; United States v.

Wetterlin, 583 F.2d 350, n.6 (7th Cir. 1978). “[RJeading

the indictment clearly does nothing to establish on the

record that the court personally determined that the

defendant understood the nature of the charges.” Id. A

mere reading of the information fails to set forth on the

record “what was [the defendant’s] understanding of the

charges.” Jd. at 350, n.7. Only in the “simplest of cases”’

will the Seventh Circuit allow a district court to ac-

cept the reading of the indictment or information as evi-

dence that the defendant understands the nature of the

Ali

charges. United States v. Ray, supra at 406.5 Moreover,

the Seventh Circuit has acknowledged that fraud crimes,

precisely such as those present here, must be explained

to the defendant. Jd. Here, the government charged

LeDonne with admittedly legally and factually complex

fraud crimes. In this context, the Seventh Circuit improp-

erly relied upon LeDonne’s mere reading of the informa-

tion to evidence his understanding of the charges against

him. United States v. Wetterlin, supra. Moreover, there

is nothing in the plea proceedings which establishes that

LeDonne gained any understanding of the nature of the

charges against him from reading the information. The

Seventh Circuit thus placed improper reliance on this

factor in finding that LeDonne understood the charges

against him. McCarthy, supra; United States v. Fountain,

supra. Here again, this Court must accept review to pre-

clude district court’s from allowing a mere reading of the

charge to outweigh clear evidence that the defendant

never had the charges correctly explained to him and

never expressed any understanding of those charges on

the record.

3. Out-Of Court Proceedings.

Finally, the Seventh Circuit also has held that the defen-

dant’s representations that he discussed the charges with

counsel provides no basis for establishing that the defen-

dant’s plea was knowing and voluntary. United States v.

Darling, 766 F.2d 1095, 1099 (7th Cir. 1985). “Rule 11(cX1)

is not satisfied by affirmative answers to the court’s in-

quiries whether the defendant has discussed the charges

5 Here, the district seta clearly did not consider either bank

fraud or wire fraud to eee ar ee nee ate

that “this looks fairly complicated.” (Pi. Tr. p. 3).

—20—

with his attorney and whether the defendant understands

the charges.” United States v. Wetterlin, supra at 350.

The Seventh Circuit’s rulings in Wetterlin and Darling

both comport with this Court’s ruling that the defendant’s

understanding of the nature of the charges against him

must be based upon the plea hearing record. McCarthy,

supra. Assuredly, any prior out of court discussions be-

tween the defendant and his counsel are not part of the

record and are not particularly helpful in determining if

a defendant’s guilty plea was knowing and voluntary. Id.

Here, the Seventh Circuit improperly relied upon

LeDonne’s counsel’s representation that he discussed the

charges with LeDonne and that he understood the nature

of the charges against him to establish LeDonne’s re-

quisite understanding under Rule 11. (Pl. Tr. 35-36). Such

reliance runs directly against the Seventh Circuit’s own

policy to expose the defendant’s state of mind, on the plea

proceeding record. United States v. Fountain, supra.®

Moreover, under no circumstances should such unreliable

out of court, off the record consultations be allowed to

establish a defendant’s understanding of the charged

crimes where, as here, he was misinformed as to the

nature of these charges in court and on the record. This

is especially so where, again as here, the defendant ex-

pressed nothing on the record to indicate that he under-

stood the charges to which he was pleading guilty.

By holding to the contrary below, the Seventh Circuit

expanded its ever growing “totality of circumstances”

standard well beyond this Court’s McCarthy ruling, its

® Particularly in this case, where the Seventh Circuit noted that

LeDonne’s counsel improperly advised LeDonne of the nature of

the charges against him.

=

own precedent and those of other federal circuits. And,

left unreviewed, the opinion below sets a dangerous prece-

dent that essentially strips the McCarthy and Rule 11

safeguards previously applied to ensure that no defendant

pleads guilty to serious offenses, and subjects himself to

serious punishment, without a full understanding of the

crimes to which he is pleading guilty. For these reasons,

as well, this Court should accept review of this case to

correct this significant departure from McCarthy and its

progeny.

CONCLUSION

For the above reasons, this petition for a writ of certiorari

must be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

SHELLY B. KULWIN

Counsel of Record

MICHAEL C. BENNETT

KULWIN & ASSOCIATES

333 West Wacker Drive

Suite 2860

Chicago, Illinois 60606

(312) 641-0300

Attorneys for Petitioner

October 1994

APPENDICES

A-1l

APPENDIX A

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 93-1548

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Piaintiff-Appellee,

Vv.

JAMES P. LEDONNE,

Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Indiana, South Bend Division.

No. 92 CR 52—Allen Sharp, Chief Judge.

ARGUED OcToBER 5, 19983—DeEcIDED APRIL 22, 1994

Before CorrEY, FLAUM, and KANNE, Circuit Judges.

KANNE, Circuit Judge. James P. LeDonne appeals from

the denial of his motion to withdraw his plea of guilty

to wire fraud and bank fraud. LeDonne contends that the

district court failed to inform him of the elements of either

offense to which he pleaded guilty and that the record

demonstrates an inadequate factual basis which cannot

support his convictions. In essence, he argues that he

pleaded guilty under the misconception that knowingly

drafting on insufficient funds was enough to estab-

lish a scheme to obtain money or property by means of

Siar Bowens Rte tae be pine

under 18 U.S.C. § 1343 and § 1344 and therefore his plea

was not knowingly and voluntarily made.

A-2

I. BACKGROUND

A. The Charges

Count I of the two-count information charged that LeDonne

had “knowingly devised and intended to devise a scheme

and artifice to defraud Walden Leasing and Walden Fleet

Group and other dealerships, leasing companies and indi-

vidual purchasers, of money and property by means of

false and fraudulent pretenses, representations, and prom-

ises, while knowing that the pretenses, representations

and promises were false when made” and executed

the scheme by use of telephone and telefax in violation

of 18 U.S.C. § 1343. Count II charged LeDonne with hav-

ing “knowingly devised a scheme and artifice to defraud

Bank One, a financial institution, and to obtain monies

and funds owned by and under the custody and control

of Bank One by means of false and fraudulent pretenses,

oe and promises” in violation of 18 U.S.C.

1344.

B. The Facts

The facts as summarized by the government at the plea

hearing encompass two separate but related fraudulent

schemes. Together these transactions formed the basis of

the two-count information. LeDonne, a thirty-nine year

old businessman, was the incorporator and manager of a

number of distributing and leasing companies engaged in

the business of buying and selling wholesale and retail

vehicles to various leasing companies, dealers, and rental

car companies. His position with the various companies

authorized him to make deposits in and write checks on

several bank accounts in order to manage the financial

transactions involved in p ing and distribu vehi-

rocuring

cles. Between the months of February and July of 1991,

LeDonne contacted various companies from his Elkhart,

Indiana office, via telephone or telefax to place purchase

orders for vehicles. Knowing that thére were insufficient

funds to pay for the vehicles, he would assure the sellers

that he would provide cash payment in compliance with

A-3

the purchase agreement. He would then submit payment

in the form of an overdraft check and arrange to have

the vehicles picked up on a Friday afternoon in order to

prevent the seller from confirming whether sufficient funds

were available before completing the transaction. When

the sellers contacted LeDonne after discovering they had

received insufficient funds checks, LeDonne provided ready

excuses for the overdraft. He would then sell the vehicles

to generate cash knowing, however, that he could not de-

liver title as the vehicles were not paid for because they

had been purchased with overdraft checks. This scheme

formed the basis of the charge of wire fraud.

As it became increasingly difficult to support this method

of doing business, LeDonne devised a check kiting scheme

utilizing various bank accounts throughout Indiana and

Michigan. On one occasion, LeDonne owed an automobile

dealership approximately $148,000. In an effort to cover

the deficit, LeDonne opened an account with the Summit

Bank in Indianapolis on May 10, 1991, and had an asso-

ciate open an account with Bank One in Elkhart, Indiana

on May 15, 1991. LeDonne then wrote a $150,000 check

on the Summit account to his associate for deposit in a

separate pre-existing account at Bank One. His associate

then transferred the funds to the new Bank One account

and immediately began issuing checks from that account.

By the time the check came back from Bank One there

were insufficient funds in the Summit account to cover

it. As a result of this scheme Bank One suffered a $98,000

loss and LeDonne was charged with bank fraud.

C. The Entry of the Plea ae

Pursuant to a written plea agreement, LeDonne entered

a plea of guilty to the charges of bank fraud and wire

fraud. At the plea hearing, the government proffered the

evidence it would have produced on the statutory require-

ment for each count had the case proceeded to trial. The

judge questioned the assistant U.S. Attorney during the

presentation, focusing on elements of the offenses. The

A-4

judge then asked defense counsel to question LeDonne,

under oath, regarding the factual basis of the charges. Af-

ter counsel finished his examination, the judge directly

inquired of LeDonne whether he wished to plead guilty to

both counts because of his admission that he committed

the acts outlined in the information and orally recounted

by the government. LeDonne assured the court that this

was correct. The government then briefly summarized some

additional facts relating to each count. Reading from the

written plea agreement which LeDonne acknowledged hav-

ing understood and signed, the court advised LeDonne

again of the rights he was waiving by his plea, including

the right to trial, the right to confront witnesses against

him, and the right against self-incrimination. LeDonne re-

sponded affirmatively when asked whether he understood

that he was waiving these rights by pleading guilty. He

acknowledged having been informed of the maximum pos-

sible penalties for the specific charges to which he entered

his plea and about the process of sentencing under the

Guidelines. After determining that no threats or promises

were made to induce his plea, the court again asked LeDonne

whether he wished to persist in his plea because he was

in fact guilty of the conduct alleged. LeDonne responded

affirmatively, and the court accepted the guilty plea and

set the date for sentencing.

D. The Motion to Withdraw the Plea

Prior to the sentencing hearing, LeDonne acquired new

counsel and moved to withdraw his plea as not knowing-

ly and voluntarily made. Among other issues raised in his

motion, LeDonne claimed that there was not a sufficient

factual basis to establish that he intended to defraud either

Walden Leasing Company or the bank and that the court

failed to adequately advise him of the essential elements

of both offenses.? Despite acknowledging that his plea of

1 The government argues that these grounds were raised only

in a conclusory manner before the district court and therefore are

(Footnote continued on following page)

A-5

guilty was a tactical decision made in order to avoid more

severe consequences, LeDonne argued that he did not har-

bor the intent to defraud as charged. The district court

rejected this argument relying on the defendant’s affirma-

tive responses at the plea hearing that he was pleading

guilty because he was in fact guilty, and denied the motion

to withdraw. Memorandum and Order of Feb. 25, 1993,

at 2-3. The court then proceeded to sentence LeDonne

to sixty-three months’ imprisonment to run consecutively

to any state sentence. LeDonne appeals only the district

court’s denial of his motion to withdraw the plea.

II. DISCUSSION

We review the denial of a motion to withdraw a guilty

plea within the framework of Federal Rules of Criminal

Procedure 11 and 32. Rule 32(d) provides that “if a mo-

tion for withdrawal of a plea of guilty . . . is made before

sentence is imposed, the court may permit withdrawal of

the plea upon a showing by the defendant of any fair and

just reason.” A defendant, however, does not have an ab-

solute right to withdraw his plea of guilty prior to sen-

tencing. United States v. Groll, 992 F.2d 755, 758 (7th Cir.

1993). Rather, the decision whether to allow withdrawal

of a guilty plea is a matter within the sound discretion

1 continued

waived absent plain error. Fed. R. Crim. P. 52(b); see, e.g., United

States v. Quintanilla, 2 F.3d 1469, 1476 (7th Cir. 1993). The core

of LeDonne’s motion was that his plea was not knowing and volun-

tary. One reason clearly presented in his motion was that he did

not intentionally defraud Walden Leasing or Bank One. Defense

counsel also argued, during the hearing on the motion to withdraw,

that there was an insufficient factual basis to support the crimes

charged because there was no discussion of intent, an element of

both wire fraud and bank fraud. Moreover, the district court’s

Memorandum and Order of February 25, 1993, identifies the defen-

dant’s challenge to the factual basis as one of the issues raised

in of withdrawal. There is therefore ample support in the

record to conclude that both Rule 11 challenges were sufficiently

preserved for appeal.

A-6

of the district court and we will reverse that decision only

for an abuse of discretion. Jd.; United States v. Saenz,

969 F.2d 294, 296 (7th Cir. 1992). In reviewing the district

court’s decision, findings regarding whether the defendant

has demonstrated a “fair and just reason” will be upheld

unless they are clearly erroneous. Saenz, 969 F.2d at 296;

United States v. Ray, 828 F.2d 399, 422 (7th Cir. 1987),

cert. denied, 485 U.S. 964 (1988).

Rule 11 is designed to address the issues the district

court must review in determining whether “a defendant’s

guilty plea is a voluntary and intelligent choice among the

alternative courses of action open to him.” Saenz, 969 F.2d

at 296. A guilty plea taken without attention being given

to the matters set forth in Rule 11 could constitute a “fair

and just” reason justifying the request for withdrawal of

a plea, and the denial of a motion to withdraw under such

a circumstance would be an abuse of discretion. Jd. Fol-

lowing the format of Rule 11 tends to ensure the accuracy

of the plea and to enable a meaningful and expeditious

review. See, e.g., United States v. Price, 988 F.2d 712, 719

(7th Cir. 1993); Ray, 828 F.2d at 404. Yet the failure to

comply with the strictures of the Rule is not necessarily

fatal. United States v. DeCicco, 899 F.2d 1531, 1534 (7th

Cir. 1990) (citing United States v. Frazier, 705 F.2d 903,

906 (7th Cir. 1983) (per curiam)). Rule 11(h) specifically

provides: “Any variance from the procedures required by

this rule which does not affect substantial rights shall be

disregarded.” Thus, “in reviewing Rule 11 proceedings,

rast of reality, and not mere ritual should control,”

Saenz, 969 F.2d at 296, and “we should not give Rule

11 such a crabbed interpretation that ceremony is exalted

over substance.” Ray, F.2d at 404 (citations omitted).

We need only satisfy ourselves, by considering the total

circumstances surrounding the plea, that the defendant was

informed of his rights and understood the co

pre) cemtcetiatibon Secaeh Pag long gy 89 F 2d

at 1534.

A-7

A. Nature of the Offense and Factual Basis for the Plea

Unless the defendant understands the elements of the

crime he is admitting, his plea cannot be said to have been

knowingly and voluntarily entered. United States v. Musa,

946 F.2d 1297, 1303 (7th Cir. 1991). To ensure that the

defendant’s guilty plea is knowing, Rule 11(c) requires that

a federal court “inform the defendant of, and determine

that the defendant understands, . . . the nature of the

charge to which the plea is offered.” See United States

v. Seybold, 979 F.2d 582, 586 (7th Cir. 1992), cert. denied,

113 S. Ct. 2980 (1993). As we have stated in earlier cases

the preferred—but not the required—method of satisfying

Rule 11(cX1) is for “the judge to explain the nature of

the charge to the defendant either generally or with re-

gard to the specific facts of the case.” Ray, 828 F.2d at

405. There are, however, a number of techniques utilized

by federal district judges to establish that the defendant

understands the nature of the charge against him. Thus,

rather than require literal compliance with Rule 11(c\1)

this court has adopted a totality of the circumstances ap-

proach to determine whether the defendant understood

the charges to which he pled. Jd. Under this approach,

we consider the complexity of the charge, the defendant’s

level of intelligence, age and education, whether the defen-

dant was represented by counsel, the judge’s inquiry dur-

ing the plea hearing and the defendant’s statements, as

well as the evidence proffered by the government. /d.;

Musa, 946 F.2d at 1304.

We have also adopted a similar approach in reviewing

the sufficiency of the factual basis for a guilty plea. See

Musa, 946 F.2d at 1302. To ensure that the guilty plea

has a basis in fact sufficient to constitute the alleged crime,

Rule 11(f) provides: “Notwithstanding the acceptance of

a plea of guilty, the court should not enter a judgment

upon such plea without making such inquiry as shall sat-

isfy it that there is a factual basis for the plea.” Although

the factual basis is y supplied by the defendant’s

admissions, United v. Frye, 738 F.2d 196, 199 (7th

Cir. 1984), “Rule 11(f) does not require the district judge

A-8

to engage in a colloquy with the defendant to establish

a factual basis for a guilty plea. A judge may find the

factual basis from anything that appears on the record,

which includes the government’s proffer.” Musa, 946 F. 2d

at 1302 (citation omitted); see also United States v. Ivory,

11 F.3d 1411, 1415 (7th Cir. 1998) (“Rule 11 does not dis-

tinguish between factual material supplied by the defen-

dant and that supplied by the prosecutor’’). “Thus a suf-

ficient factual basis can be found even when the court

engages in the most rudimentary questioning of the defen-

dant if the indictment and statement of the prosecution’s

evidence are sufficiently specific to make clear to the de-

fendant exactly what is being admitted.” Ray, 828 F.2d

at 406 (citations omitted).

The district court did engage LeDonne in a limited col-

loquy regarding his admission of relevant facts. The court

also inquired and received LeDonne’s acknowledgment that

he had read the information and discussed it with his at-

torney. When asked by the court whether he had any dif-

ficulty understanding the charges, LeDonne responded that

he did not. Generally a defendant’s independent prior read-

ing of the charges is considered inadequate to ascertain

whether he understood the nature of the charges except

in the simplest cases, Ray, 828 F.2d at 410, but)the ef-

fort to determine whether LeDonne’s plea was knowing

was not so limited in this case. The district court directed

the assistant U.S. Attorney to explain the government’s

theory as to each count and to state the evidence it would

offer to support those charges. Instead of directly ques-

tioning LeDonne to determine if he agreed with the facts

as proffered by the government, the court requested that

defense counsel examine LeDonne about the facts which

formed the basis of his criminal conduct.

District judges throughout this circuit—and indeed through-

out the federal system—have used their experience and the

guidance of Rule 11 in developing methods to insure that

guilty pleas tendered to them are voluntarily and know-

ingly and intelligently made. With regard to the matters

under discussion here, two procedures have proved par-_

A-9

ticularly successful in achieving the requisite degree of

certainty required. Utilizing the prosecutor at a plea hear-

ing to identify for the defendant the elements of the of-

fense charged, followed by inquiry of the defendant by

the judge confirming the defendant’s understanding of the

elements is an effective method for determining that the

defendant understands “the nature of the charge to which

the plea is offered.” Further requiring the government’s

prosecutor at a plea hearing to orally recount in relevant

detail the facts which satisfy the elements of the offense

charged, followed by questions from the judge posed to

the defendant to confirm the defendant’s admission of those

facts also is a highly useful method to establish that the

defendant has committed a charge to which defendant has

pled guilty.

The procedure used in this case to inform the defendant

of the elements of the offenses charged and the presen-

tation of the relevant facts supporting those charged of-

fenses was somewhat similar to the procedure outlined

above. Here, however, the government did not separate-

ly describe the statutory elements and then proceed with

a proffer of the facts. Rather, the facts which constituted

the elements of the offense were presented by the govern-

ment with an occasional clarification and highlighting by

the judge. With regard to the procedure used for obtain-

ing the defendant’s admission of the relevant facts, that

task was delegated to defense counsel. The defendant was

placed under oath and examined by his counsel regarding

the facts relevant to the charged offenses. Both proce-

dures utilized in this case have potential pitfalls, but as

the following discussion indicates, we believe that the dis-

trict court judge’s efforts, when coupled with LeDonne’s

ability to understand the nature of the charges, renders

the district court’s practice sufficient under Rule 11(c).

B. Bank Fraud

LeDonne — that the court erred in accepting his

plea because

factual basis presented at the plea hear-

A-10

ing which suggested that he had obtained money or prop-

erty by means of false or fraudulent pretenses by engag-

ing in check kiting? is legally insufficient. The bank fraud

statute under which LeDonne was convicted prohibits two

distinct but related types of conduct:

Whoever knowingly executes, or attempts to execute,

a scheme or artifice—

(1) to defraud a financial institution; or

(2) to obtain any of the moneys, funds, credits, as-

sets, securities, or other property owned by, or

under the custody or control of, a financial insti-

tution, by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,

representation, or promises;

shall be fined not more than $1,000,000 or imprisoned

not more than 30 years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1344 (Supp. 1993). Although largely overlap-

ping, a scheme to defraud and a scheme to obtain money

by false or fraudulent pretenses are defined in the dis-

junctive, and thus are separate offenses. See, e.g., United

States v. Doherty, 969 F.2d 425, 427 (7th Cir.), cert. de-

nied, 113 S. Ct. 607 (1992). In applying the disjunctive

analysis to bank fraud, courts have required proof of a

misrepresentation only to convict for a violation of § 1344(2).

E.g., United States v. Ragosta, 970 F.2d 1085, 1089 (2d

Cir.) (collecting cases), cert. denied, 113 S. Ct. 608 (1992).

2 Check kiting involves the knowing drafting and eens of

a series of overdraft checks between two or more fede insured

banks with the purpose of artificially inflating bank balances so

that checks can be drawn on accounts that actually have negative

funds. United States v. Doherty, 969 F.2d 425, 428 (7th Cir.), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 607 (1992). If timed correctly, the bank will be

prevented from discovering that the accounts are overdrawn and

will be tricked into honoring checks drawn on accounts with in-

sufficient funds. Id.; see also United States v. Frydenlund, 990

F.2d 822, 824 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 114 S. Ct. 337 (1993). By

repeating this scheme over a period of time a person in essence

may obtain an interest-free loan.

A-11

A conviction under subsection (1), on the other hand, re-

quires proof only of a recognizable scheme formed with

the intent to defraud a financial institution. Jd.; United

States v. Frankel, 721 F.2d 917, 920 (3d Cir. 1983).

The information charged LeDonne with violations of both

§ 1344(1) and (2), but described a fraudulent scheme con-

sisting of a bare check kiting operation unembellished by

other acts or communications, which offended only subsec-

tion (1). In its proffer, however, the government stated

that ““LeDonne executed the scheme and artifice in order

to defraud and to obtain muney and funds by means of

false pretenses, representations and promises, when he

was the maker of check number 2002 . . . a check that he

knew was drawn on insufficient funds.” (Emphasis added).

By stating a factual premise that he had obtained money

by means of false pretenses, LeDonne claims he was er-

roneously led to believe that merely drafting insufficient

fund checks constitutes a fraudulent representation. We

agree that such a belief is clearly wrong. See Doherty,

969 F.2d 427-29. According to LeDonne there is no indica-

tion in the record that he understood the charge to be

otherwise, nor any admission of intent to defraud. Although

LeDonne does not appear to dispute that he engaged in

check kiting, he argues that merely presenting worthless

checks does not constitute a false representation and thus

cannot form the basis of bank fraud as charged.

We know from Williams v. United States, 458 U.S. 279,

284-85, 102 S. Ct. 3088, 3091-92 (1982), and its progeny that

the drafting and deposit of an overdraft check does not

constitute a “false statement” because technically speak-

ing a check does not “make any representation as to the

state of an account holder’s bank balance.” Doherty, 969

F.2d at 427. Rather, it is merely “an order to the drawee

bank to pay a sum certain to the holder.” Jd. It follows

therefore that absent other acts or communications of mis-

representation, knowingly drafting and depositing overdraft

checks is not an offense under § 1344(2), which prohibits

schemes accomplished “by means of false or fraudulent

pretenses, representation, or promises.” Id. at 428. If no

A-12

misrepresentation is made under § 1344(2) merely by pass-

ing worthless checks then, LeDonne argues, there is noth-

ing left in a bare check kiting operation to establish the

fraudulent intent necessary for a scheme to defraud in vio-

lation of § 1344(1). Implicit in this argument is that proof

of a misrepresentation or false pretense is an element in-

herent to establishing a “scheme to defraud.” However,

this argument is clearly foreclosed by Doherty. Doherty

had engaged in a check kiting scheme to raise capital to

invest in the stock market. The investment proved risky

and resulted in a loss of over $96,000 to the bank and crim-

inal charges under 18 U.S.C. § 1344 for Doherty. Premised

on Williams, Doherty argued that one cannot execute a

scheme to defraud without making a false statement or

misrepresentation of fact because “‘a false representation

or bmp y is the sine qua non of a ‘scheme to defraud’

under § 1344(1); [and thus], under Williams, check kiting is

no more a crime under § 1344(1) than it is under § 1344(2).”

Doherty, 969 F.2d at 429.

The term scheme to defraud, however, was broadly con-

ceived to include conduct designed to deceive in order to

obtain something of value, which contrary to the defen-

dant’s position, may or may not include conduct involv-

ing false statements or misrepresentations of fact. Id.;

United States v. Hammen, 977 F.2d 379, 383 (7th Cir.

1992); Ray, 828 F.2d at 408 n.8. The aim of the stat-

ute is “to punish the scheme to defraud rather than

the end result.” United States v. Sanders, 893 F.2d 133,

138 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 496 U.S. 907 (1990). Put an-

other way, the focus of the offense of a “scheme to de-

fraud” is on the “intended end result, not on whether a

false representation was necessary to effect the result.”

United States v. Cronic, 900 F.2d 1511, 1513 (10th Cir.

1990). Thus it matters not whether the fraudulent scheme

was accomplished by an affirmative misrepresentation nor

whether the fraud succeeded and the victim deceived. See

Sanders, 893 F.2d at 138; accord United States v. Gold-

blatt, 813 F.2d 619, 624 (3d Cir. 1987); United States v.

Solomonson, 908 F.2d 358, 364 (8th Cir. 1990). As long

A-13

Co., 806 F.2d 1393, 1400 (9th Cir. 1986) (citing United

States v. Green, 745 F.2d 1205, 1207 (9th Cir. 1984), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 925 (1985)); United States v. Clausen, 792

F.2d 102, 105 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 858 (1986).

As such, the execution of the scheme may be relevant

to establishing the defendant’s specific intent to defraud.

Focusing on whether the execution of a scheme to de-

fraud exhibited an intent to defraud rather than on false

statements or misrepresentations of fact, we held in Do-

herty that § 1344(1) “unambiguously encompasses bare

check kiting schemes.” 969 F.2d at 429. In so holding we

joined a number of circuits that have interpreted § 1344(1)

to incorporate bare check kiting as a form of bank fraud.

Id.; United States v. Stone, 954 F.2d 1187, 1189-91 (6th

(Ist Cir. 1991); United States v. Celesia, 945 F.2d 756,

758-59 (4th Cir. 1991); United States v. Schwartz, 899 F.2d

Here the information which charged LeDonne tracked

the language of both provisions of the bank fraud statute,

as did the government’s identification of the offense dur.

ing its er. Because proof of an affirmative misrepre-

sentation is an element necessary only to convict under

§ 1344(2) use of the false pretenses language by the gov-

A-14

ernment might have blurred the elements of the offense,

and possibly confused LeDonne’s understanding of the

charge. However, where a statute defines two or more

ways in which an offense may be committed, all may be

alleged in the conjunctive in one count in order to ade-

quately apprise the defendant of the government’s inten-

tion to charge him under either prong of the statute. E..,

Fontana, 948 F.2d at 801. And proof of any one of those

acts conjunctively charged may support a conviction. Stone,

954 F.2d at 1192; Celesia, 945 F.2d at 758-59; United States

v. Bonanno, 852 F.2d 434, 441 (9th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 1016 (1989); Clausen, 792 F.2d at 104-05. The

government’s case rested entirely on the passing of worth-

less checks rather than on separate acts of misrepresen-

tation. Thus, even though both subsections of the statute

were identified, the government was not required to prove

the elements of both sections to support a conviction for

bank fraud.? Any reference to false or fraudulent pre-

tenses, representations, or promises was therefore unnec-

essary since the evidence supported a bare check kiting

scheme prohibited under § 1344(1).

Another point of potential confusion arose during de-

fense counsel’s questioning regarding bank fraud when he

asked LeDonne whether the overdraft checks issued from

the Bank One account “allowed [him] to obtain either titles

or pay for cars that [he] had in [his] possession or had

in [his] possession previously.” However, what the checks

were being used for is irrelevant. Rather, for purposes

of bank fraud under subsection (i), only proof that they

were knowingly drafted on insufficient funds is required to

establish fraudulent intent. Notwithstanding this, LeDonne

admitted full knowledge of the check kiting scheme. When

3 The government insists that it was clear to all at the time of the

plea hearing that LeDonne did not violate § 1344(2). Any reference

to misrepresentations, the government es, was proffered only

to provide a b und in order to “sufficiently explain’ the cir-

a behind LeDonne’s scheme to defraud the bank under

1344(1).

A-15

viewed in the totality of the circumstances these discrep-

ancies in defining the elements of the bank fraud charge

had relatively minor impact.

As a college graduate, who held a responsible position

requiring considerable sophistication, LeDonne’s ability to

comprehend the nature of the charges does not appear

to be in doubt. By signing the written plea agreement,

LeDonne acknowledged that he had read a copy of the

information, discussed it with his lawyer, and “‘under-

stood every accusation made against [him] in the case.”

LeDonne’s admissions coupled with the government’s prof-

fer and his apparent ability to understand the charges he

faced is persuasive support for finding that LeDonne was

adequately advised of the nature of the offense.

LeDonne next contends that the factual basis is inade-

quate because there was no evidence that he admitted

an intent to defraud. According to LeDonne, even if check

kiting can form the basis of bank fraud, the use of an

overdraft check still does not constitute a false represen-

tation, and thus mere reliance on the passing of a worth-

less check is not alone sufficient to establish an intent to

defraud. Had the evidence showed only the simple presen-

tation of an insufficient funds check, this might be true.

But a scheme to defraud based on a check kiting opera-

tion is distinguishable from inadvertently passing a check

drawn on insufficient funds. LeDonne has not disputed

that he engaged in the practice of floating checks, and

so appears to have conceded the sufficiency of the fac-

tual basis to support a conviction under § 1344(1). Even

absent a concession, there is clear support in the record

that a sufficient factual basis was established in compli-

ance with Rule 11(f).

To sustain a conviction for bank fraud under § 1344(1)

based on a check kiting scheme, the government is re-

uired to prove beyond a reasonable doubt that the defen-

t engaged in or attempted to engage in a pattern or

course of conduct designed to deceive a financial institu-

tion with intent to cause actual or potential loss. Ragosta,

A-16

970 F.2d at 1089. The facts established at the plea hear-

ing meet this requirement. LeDonne engaged in a scheme

in which he deposited a check drawn on insufficient funds

into a separate account, thereby artificially inflating the

balance, and then wrote checks on that account when he

knew there were insufficient funds to cover them. Spe-

cifically, the government’s proffer detailed that LeDonne

opened an account with Summit Bank in Indianapolis on

May 10, 1991, and drafted a $150,000 check (LeDonne re-

called a check of between $148,000-$150,000) to be deposited

into a pre-existing account at Bank One in Elkhart. On

May 15, 1991, LeDonne had an associate, Paul McClure,

open a new account at Bank One in the name of J.P. Dis-

tributing and transfer the $150,000 to the new Bank One

account. LeDonne began issuing checks on the new ac-

count almost immediately, knowing that the account had

been artificially inflated because there were insufficient

funds in the Summit Bank account to cover the $150,000

check. By the time the $150,000 check was presented for

payment at Summit Bank there were, in fact, insufficient

funds and Bank One lost approximately $98,000.

When asked directly by counsel, LeDonne responded

that he knowingly deposited an insufficient funds check

with the intent of artificially inflating the balance in the

Bank One account and immediately wrote overdraft checks

from that account before the original deposit cleared the

Summit Bank.4 When entering a guilty plea, a defendant’s

“ Counsel: At the time you wrote that check, Mr. LeDonne, you

were aware there were insufficient funds in that account; am I

correct?

LeDonne: That’s correct.

Counsel: And you gave this check to Mr. McClure knowing there

was insufficient funds and Mr. McClure then addressed other obli-

gations of the entity from a Bank One account; is that correct?

LeDonne: That’s correct.

a aA (Footnote continued on following page)

OS DET a eet

A-17

voluntary responses made under oath in open court carry

a strong presumption of veracity. Seybold, 979 F.2d at

587-89 (citing United States v. McFarland, 839 F.2d 1239,

1242 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1014 (1988), and

United States v. Darling, 766 F.2d 1095, 1101 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1024 (1985)). In fact, “[tJhe only ra-

tional manner in which a judge may determine whether

a plea is knowingly and voluntarily made, is to observe

the defendant’s demeanor and responses to the court’s

questions and to rely on the defendant’s sworn answers.”

Id. at 587 (quoting United States v. Ellison, 835 F.2d 687,

693 (7th Cir. 1987)). We may infer from LeDonne’s re-

sponses to counsel’s questions, combined with the govern-

ment’s statement of the evidence, that LeDonne knew the

checks were not backed with sufficient funds. Coupled

with the manner in which the banking transactions were

carried out—utilizing three different accounts with checks

issued immediately upon deposit—there is enough to es-

tablish an intent to trick the bank into honoring checks

drawn on an artificially inflated account. The execution

of the scheme therefore provides sufficient evidence to

establish an adequate factual basis of LeDonne’s intent

to defraud.

C. Wire Fraud

With respect to the charge of wire fraud, LeDonne ar-

gues that he was operating under “the misconception that

* continued

Counsel: Again you and Mr. McClure, or at least speaking from

your point of view, knew that the checks were not going to clear

the Summit Bank and, as a consequence, the Bank One account?

LeDonne: I would like to confer with my counsel.

The Court: All right.

Counsel: Mr. LeDonne, at the time you issued the check to Mr.

McClure, you knew that that check was not going to clear Summit

Bank, is that correct, there was insufficient funds in that account?

LeDonne: At that particular time, that’s correct.

A-18

the nature of the offense of wire fraud necessarily in-

cluded an element that at the time he used the telefax

there was insufficient funds in his checking account.” He

argues that there is no other indication in the record that

he admitted to use of a wire transmission to obtain money

or property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,

as is required to prove wire fraud.

The wire fraud statute under which LeDonne was charged

states:

Whoever, having devised or intending to devise any

scheme or artifice to defraud, or for obtaining money

or property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses,

representations, or promises, transmits or causes to

be transmitted by means of wire, radio, or television

communication in interstate or foreign commerce, any

writing, signs, signals, pictures, or sounds for the pur-

pose of executing such scheme or artifice, shall be

fined not more than $1,000 or imprisoned not more

than five years, or both.

18 U.S.C. § 1348. Like bank fraud, it requires proof of

an intent to defraud, which likewise, may be established

by circumstantial evidence and by inferences drawn from

the facts and circumstances surrounding the scheme. See,

e.g., Clausen, 792 F.2d at 105; cf. Ragosta, 970 F.2d at

1090 (bank fraud). See generally United States v. Draiman,

784 F.2d 248, 254 (7th Cir. 1986) (wire fraud is a specific

intent crime).

The government’s proffer began with: “Mr. LeDonne

knowingly devised and intended to devise a scheme and

artifice to defraud not only Walden Leasing and Walden

Fleet Group but also other dealerships, leasing companies

and individual purchasers of money and property by means

of false and fraudulent pretenses, representations and prom-

ises, knowing that those pretenses, representations and

promises were false when made.” The fraudulent repre-

sentation shown was the ordering of vehicles knowing that

the representation made regarding payment was false.

Specifically, the government stated that in furtherance of

SI ent I EARP ten AO OSE ts SE aw OA Beer,

A-19

the scheme, LeDonne would assure the sellers that there

were sufficient funds to pay for the vehicles by agreeing

to send cash or a certified check in compliance with the

purchase agreement.5 However, instead he would dispatch

drivers to pick up the vehicles on a Friday, sending along

as payment a check knowingly drawn on insufficient funds.

The late Friday pick-up was critical to the scheme because

it prevented the seller from verifying the sufficiency of

the funds with the bank before completing the transac-

tion. Use of the “knowing” and “in furtherance” language

by the prosecution refers to LeDonne’s attempt to gain

the sellers’ confidence in order to induce the release of

vehicles. Language of this type is considered sufficient to

explain the intent element of the offense to the defendant.

See Ray, 828 F.2d at 409.

Evidence that LeDonne understood the element of in-

tent is clear from his response during his examination by

counsel. LeDonne admitted under oath that he faxed the

purchase orders with the intent to induce Walden Leas-

ing to provide vehicles, knowing at the time that he did

not have sufficient funds to satisfy payment.® In fact be-

5 The government proffered: “{I}Jn furtherance of the scheme,

Your Honor, on or about March 21st, Mr. LeDonne, operating

under the name J.P. Distributing, and for the purpose of executing

this scheme, caused to be transmitted in interstate commerce by

means of a wire and telephone communication, in other words, the

facsimile, between Elkhart, Indiana, and the facsimile machine of

Walden Leasing in Florida.” Plea Tr. at 7. “Mr. LeDonne, dur-

ing this scheme, would indicate that he had funds to pay for these

vehicles; he was generally indicating he had cash funds and would

be paying for them by certified check.” Id. at 6.

6 Counsel: What sort of documents would you use the facsimile

. machine for specifically with Walden Leasing in Florida?

LeDonne: Walden ing would fax me on one side of a docu-

ment a list of vehicles with VIN numbers, colors, mileage and con-

dition and price, and that list of vehicles would be shipped as soon

as the v as soon as that purchase order was signed and

faxed back to Walden Leasing.

(Footnote continued on following page)

A-20

cause he knew he could not comply with the terms of the

purchase agreement, he arranged to have the vehicles

picked up on Friday afternoons in order to conceal the

fact that an overdraft check had been submitted as pay-

ment. Misrepresenting his financial ability to pay for the

vehicles at the time of receipt was fraud. Proof that there

were insufficient funds at the time of transmitting the pur-

chase orders and prearranging to take possession of the

vehicles when the seller would be unable to verify pay-

ment is key to establishing knowledge of his financial

wherewithal, which in turn is essential to establishing de-

liberate misrepresentation. See, e.g., Bontkowski v. United

States, 850 F.2d 306, 314 (7th Cir. 1988) (discussing United

States v. Bruun, 809 F.2d 397 (7th Cir. 1987) for the prop-

osition that proof of knowledge is a necessary element

of the offense of bank fraud). But it is not the fact of

insufficient funds nor the giving of an overdraft check

which constitutes a fraudulent misrepresentation. Rather

the fraud lies in intentionally misrepresenting his finan-

6 continued

Counsel: And you knew at that time on some occasions, in some

instances, that you did not have the funds to pay for those vehicles

that were being released; is that correct?

LeDonne: That’s correct.

Counsel: And you utilized the facsimile machine not only to No

thorize purchase agreements or transmit purchase agreements, but

you also utilized the facsimile machine is a kno and inten-

tional manner to induce Walden Leasing to release vehicles to you

and your corporations?

LeDonne: That’s correct.

Counsel: And at that time you, again, were aware that there

were insufficient monies to pay for those vehicles at the time of

your signing the purchase agreements; is that correct?

LeDonne: Let me confer.

The Court: Certainly.

LeDonne: My answer to his question is yes, that’s correct.

a ae eee

ee eee

A-21

cial ability, and was furthered by elaborate efforts to con-

ceal awareness of the insufficiency.

After unsuccessfully negotiating the checks, the sellers

contacted LeDonne, who he to their concerns with

ready excuses for the over . Communications which

occur after the defendant has obtained the victims’ money

or property are in furtherance of the fraudulent scheme

if they facilitate concealment or postpone investigation of

the scheme. Sanders, 893 F.2d at 138; United States v.

O’Connor, 874 F.2d 483, 486 (7th Cir. 1989). Avoidance of

detection is often a material part of a fraudulent scheme;

for an illegal scheme would hardly be undertaken were

there to be no profit to the plotters. O’Connor, 874 F.2d

at 486 (citing United States v. Riedel, 126 F.2d 81, 83 (7th

Cir. 1942)). Attempting to lull the sellers by offering vari-

ous false explanations for the overdraft is evidence of

LeDonne’s effort to prevent detection of his scheme and

provides further support of his fraudulent intent. In sum,

LeDonne’s plan, the success of which required carefully

orchestrated execution, provides persuasive evidence of

his knowledge of wrongdoing, and permits finding a suf-

ficient factual basis for intent to commit wire fraud.

Finally, the court inquired of LeDonne whether he still

wished to plead guilty following the government’s prof-

fer and after direct questioning by defense counsel. The

judge inquired: “You are pleading guilty here after con-

ferring thoroughly and carefully with your lawyer; is that

correct?” LeDonne responded: “That’s correct, your Hon-

or.” The judge further queried: “Your pleading guilty to

both counts use you’re, in fact, guilty of doing... .

the essential facts that are alleged in that case?” Again

LeDonne responded: “That is very correct, your Honor.”

Later the court again asked: “{TJhe long and short of it

is, with all of this said and done, Mr. LeDonne, you’re

still pleading guilty of Count I and II of this information?

. . . Because you're, in fact, guilty?” To this the defen-

dant responded: “That’s correct, Your Honor.” Turning

to defense counsel, the judge inquired if counsel could

A-22

state to the court that the defendant understood the na-

ture of the charges and the penalties, and was freely, vol-

untarily, and intelligently entering his plea of guilty to

the charges. Assuring the court that he had conferred at

some length with LeDonne, counsel represented that the

plea was knowing and voluntary. Although a limited ex-

change with the court, when taken with the government’s

proffer and LeDonne’s responses to counsel’s questioning,

we think the record provides a sufficient basis to conclude

that the requirements of Rule 11(c) were met and that

LeDonne was adequately advised of the nature of the of-

fenses of bank fraud and wire fraud and that the factual

basis established adequately demonstrates his intent to

defraud as to both counts.

III. CONCLUSION

Because we find no abuse of discretion in denying

LeDonne’s motion to withdraw his plea, the judgment

of the district court is

AFFIRMED.

A true Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Seventh Circuit

B-1

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

For the Seventh Circuit

Chicago, Illinois 60604

July 25, 1994

Before

Hon. JouHN L. Correy, Circuit Judge

Hon. JOEL M. FLAuM, Circuit Judge

Hon. MICHAEL S. KANNE, Circuit Judge

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

No. 93-1548 VS.

JAMES P. LeDONNE, Defendant-Appellant.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Northern District of Indiana, South Bend Division.

No. 92 CR 52—Allen Sharp, Chief Judge.

ORDER

On consideration of the petition for rehearing filed in

the above-captioned case, all of the judges on the original

panel have voted to deny a rehearing.

IT IS ORDERED that the petition for rehearing is

hereby DENIED.

C-1

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

JUDGMENT IN A CRIMINAL CASE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

v. Cause No. SCR. 92-00052(01)

JAMES P. LEDONNE Gregory K. Blanford

(Name of Defendant) Defendant’s Attorney

THE DEFENDANT:

x pleaded guilty to count(s) 1 and 2.

Accordingly, the defendant is adjudged guilty of such

count(s), which involve the following offenses:

Title Nature Date Offense Count

& Section of Offense Concluded No(s).

18:1343 Wire Fraud 7/1/92 1

18:1344 Bank Fraud 5/31/91 2

Defendant is sentenced as provided in pages 2 through

4 of this Judgment. The sentence is imposed pursuant to

the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984.

x It is ordered that defendant shall pay to the United

States a special assessment of $100.00, for Count(s) 1 and

2 which shall be due with 30 days of this ju nt as

follows: le to Clerk, U.S. District Court, 102 Federal

Bldg., S. Main St., South Bend, Indiana 46601.

It is further ordered that the defendant shall notify

eet i He daa of coe change of tems, reskience

ct name, residence

or address until all 1 fines, restitution, costs, and

Le

C-2

February 24, 1993

Date of Imposition of Sentence

/s/_ Allen Sharp

Chief Judge

United States District Court

February 25, 1993

Date

Defendant’s Soc. Sec. Number:

309-64-0427

Defendant’s Date of Birth:

September 20, 1954

Defendant’s Mailing Address:

Elkhart County Jail

_ Elkhart, Indiana

Defendant’s Residence Address:

50845 Fox Trail Drive

Granger, Indiana 46530

Judgment — Page 2 of 4

IMPRISONMENT

The defendant is hereby committed to the custody of

the United States Bureau of Prisons to be imprisoned for

a term of Sixty Three (63) Months Imprisonment — To

run consecutive to any state sentence. This defendant is

to receive credit for time served from December 14, 1992

‘up to the day this defendant is released to state custody.

x The defendant is remanded to the custody of the

U.S. Marshal.

RETURN —

[Omitted in Printing.]

C-3

Judgment — Page 3 of 4

SUPERVISED RELEASE

Upon release from imprisonment, the defendant shall

be on supervised release for a term of Three (3) Years.

While on supervised release, the defendant shall not

commit another federal, state, or local crime and shall not

illegally possess a controlled substance. The defendant

shall comply with the standard conditions that have been

adopted by this court. If this judgment imposes a restitu-

tion obligation, it shall be a condition of supervised release

that the defendant pay any such restitution that remains

unpaid at the commencement of the term of supervised

release. The defendant shall comply with the following ad-

ditional conditions:

x The defendant shall report in person to the proba-

tion office in the district to which the defendant is re-

leased within 72 hours of release from the custody of the

Bureau of Prisons.

Judgment — Page 4 of 4

STANDARD CONDITIONS OF SUPERVISION

[Omitted in Printing.]

D-1

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

NORTHERN DISTRICT OF INDIANA

SOUTH BEND DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA )

)

Vv. ) SCR-92-52-1

)

JAMES P. LeDONNE )

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

I.

On July 10, 1992, the defendant, James P. LeDonne,

entered a plea of guilty to a two-count Information. Mr.

LeDonne filed a motion to withdraw this plea of guilty

on February 12, 1993. This motion was heard at the time

previously scheduled for his sentencing hearing on Feb-

ruary 24, 1993.

Mr. LeDonne and his retained counsel, Gregory K. Blan-

ford, raised as issues 1) invalidity of guilty pleas which

the defendant entered in Elkhart County, Indiana, on

charges which he argues are inextricably tied to the

charges against him here; 2) disparity in the government’s

original sentence calculation with the final sentence recom-

mended in the presentence report; and 3) the “tactical”

nature of his guilty plea prevented a full factual basis for

the plea.

This court sees Mr. LeDonne’s disputes with Elkhart

County as matters properly before the Elkhart Superior

D-2

Court and not properly addressed here. Therefore, the

court will not allow the defendant to withdraw his guilty

plea on the basis of this argument. It will, however, omit

the Elkhart County convictions from the defendant’s crim-

inal history category when determining his sentence.

A defendant has no right to be promised a certain sen-

tence before he pleads guilty. In fact, most written plea

agreements, including the one in this case, include lan-

guage explicitly stating that sentencing determinations are

made by the court after the probation office completes

its investigation. Mr. LeDonne was properly informed of

the maximum sentence he could face on these two counts.

He has no basis for withdrawing his guilty plea on this

argument, either.

Rule 11 of the Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure re-

quires a judge to make specific inquiries of a defendant

in open court to determine whether he knowingly and vol-

untarily pleads guilty. A very thorough and instructive

discussion of the mandates of Rule 11 is found in United

States v. Seybold, 979 F.2d 582 (7th Cir. 1992). Mindful

of Boykin v. Alabama, 395 U.S. 238 (1969), this court con-

ducted a very careful examination of James P. LeDonne

at his plea hearing on July 10, 1992. See also Parke v.

Raley, __. U.S. ___., 118 S.Ct. 517 (1992). His answers,

given under oath, several times expressed his voluntary

intention to enter a plea of guilty. The court particularly

looks to page 35 of the transcript of the July 10, 1992,

hearing:

THE COURT: The long and short of it is, with all

of this said and done, Mr. LeDonne, you're still plead-

ing guilty of Count I and II of the information?

THE DEFENDANT: That’s correct, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Because you’re, in fact, guilty?

THE DEFENDANT: That’s correct, Your Honor.

D-3

Judge Ripple’s opinion in Seybold, supra at 587, cites

United States v. Ellison, 835 F.2d 687, 693 (7th Cir. 1987):

“The only rational manner in which a judge may deter-

mine whether a plea is knowingly and voluntarily made,

is to observe the defendant’s demeanor and responses to

the court’s questions and to rely on the defendant’s sworn

answers.”

This defendant spoke directly to the court at the time

of sentencing although he chose not to testify under oath

in the hearing on the motion to withdraw his plea. Thus

the only evidence from this defendant under oath is in

the plea proceedings on July 10, 1992. To the extent that

his oral unverified statement of fact in court on February

24, 1993 is at odds with his sworn testimony this court

will credit the former and not the latter. On the basis

of direct observation of the defendant on February 24,

1993, this court has serious reservations as to his credi-

bility and has great difficulty in crediting his most recent

statements to this court.

For each and all of the above reasons, the defendant’s

motion to withdraw his plea of guilty in this court is

DENIED.

II.

Count I of the Information against him charged the de-

fendant with wire fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1343.

Count II charged him with bank fraud in violation of 18

U.S.C. § 1344. Since the offenses occurred after November

1, 1987, the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984 and the

United States Sentencing Commission Guidelines (“Guide-

lines”), as amended November 1, 1992, apply to this sen-

tencing.

D-4

The defendant, defense counsel, and the government

have reviewed the presentence report and the addendum

and supplemental addendum thereto, as has the court. The ~

government has no objection. The defendant’s numerous

objections will be addressed individually.

The government and the defendant have entered into

an agreement which provides that the defendant shall be

given the minimum sentence available under the Guide-

lines.

The two counts of conviction are grouped for the pur-

poses of sentencing pursuant to U.S.S.G. § 3D1.2(d). The

defendant’s base offense level of 6 is found in Guidelines

§ 2F1.1. This level must be increased by 11 because the

losses incurred exceed $800,000.00 (specifically, they total

$902,914.75). U.S.S.G. § 2F1.1(bX1XJ). The defendant objects

to the computations which yielded this sum; however, the

court has examined the probation officer’s calculations and

finds them to be reasonable. Two more levels are added

under § 2F1.1(2XB) because the defendant schemed to de-

fraud more than one victim.

The presentence report includes a 4level adjustment un-

der § 3B1.1(a) for the defendant’s organizing a criminal

activity involving five or more participants or that was

otherwise extensive. The defendant objects to this adjust-

ment. “Otherwise extensive” as defined in Application

Note 2 to this secticn can mean that the defendant “used

the unknowing services of many outsiders.” In United

States v. Miller, 962 F.2d 739 (7th Cir. 1992), the court

elaborated:

But there is no prescribed minimum number of per-

sons needed to permit an enhancement under § 3B1.1.

All that is required to find that a scheme if “other-

wise extensive” is that the defendant directed at least

‘one criminal participant. United States v. DeCicco,

D-5

899 F.2d 1531 (7th Cir. 1990). The involvement of sev-

eral other knowing and unknowing individuals was

a sufficient ground for the district court to find that

the scheme was extensive.

962 F.2d at 745. This court finds that Mr. LeDonne did

direct another criminal participant, Paul McClure, who

was sentenced in this court on October 16, 1992. In addi-

tion, he somehow persuaded at least three other people

to aid his schemes by opening bank accounts, applying

for loans, or making excuses for him to his creditors. The

court finds that the defendant used other people sufficient-

ly to qualify his scheme as “otherwise extensive” for sen-

tencing purposes. The four-level increase for role in the

offense is imposed.

The presentence report also provides for an increase for

obstruction of justice, to which the defendant objects. Ac-

cording to the probation officer, Mr. LeDonne provided

materially false information during her presentence in-

vestigation of him. See U.S.S.G. § 3C1.1, Application Note

3(h). He gave her a financial statement, supported by

copies of payroll ledgers, which falsely showed him to

have earned $5,000.00 with his father’s business. He later

admitted that his father had simply given him this money.

He asserted in open court that he was told by someone

in his father’s company that the only way to document

this loan (the term used by the defendant in court) was

with the type of document he presented to the probation

officer.

Care must always be taken to avoid confusing obstruc-

tion of justice with a defendant’s simple exercise of his

rights to not incriminate himself. Obstruction of justice

is also more than a defendant’s putting up hurdles which

merely slow or inconvenience government personnel.

Here, however, the defendant took affirmative steps to

D-6

mislead the probation officer about the source of his in-

come, forcing her to investigate further in order not only

to find the real source but to discredit his information.

This court does indeed need accurate financial informa-

tion in order to sentence the defendant appropriately, and

“embarrassment” over taking money from a parent is no

excuse for hiding the truth from the probation officer or

the court. The court is aware of an opinion which argu-

ably favors this defendant, United States v. DeFelippis,

930 F.2d 444 (7th Cir. 1991). There, the defendant claimed

to have been employed by a brokerage firm for several

months prior to his arrest. In fact, he had been in a train-

ing program with the firm and apparently had not been

compensated. The Court of Appeals considered the defen-

dant’s assertions to be false but not material, as they

would not have affected his sentence even if true. This

court sees Mr. LeDonne’s actions as far more serious than

Mr. DeFilippis’s. See United States v. Ojo, 916 F.2d 388

(7th Cir. 1990). The court finds that Mr. LeDonne has ob-

structed justice and deserves a 2-point enhancement.

The defendant also objects to the presentence report’s

failure to award him a reduction for acceptance of respon-

sibility. In fact, he asserts that he should receive the new

3-point reduction available under the 1992 amendments

to the Guidelines. Besides his guilty plea, this court has

not read anything in the presentence report nor seen any-

thing in the defendant’s courtroom demeanor which indi-

cates that he acknowledges the extent of his criminal con-

duct. In fact, the court observed that the defendant con-

tinued to both argue with the charges against him and

place blame everywhere but on himself. This court has

sentenced many, many defendants and generally grants

the 2-level reduction for acceptance of responsibility when

there has been a guilty plea. That is not to say that the

D-7

court has always been impressed by the sincerity in those

defendants’ expressions of remorse. “Sorry” is apparently

not even in Mr. LeDonne’s extensive vocabulary. His of-

fense level will not be reduced for acceptance of respon-

sibility. In so deciding, this court_does not take into ac-

count the defendant’s motion and arguments to withdraw

his guilty plea.

The defendant has stated other objections which do not

directly affect his offense level calculations. First, he pro-

tests the paragraphs of the presentence report which tell

of his financial dealings with Peggy Miller. Further, he

opposes the mention of a current FBI investigation of

him. He also objects to his ex-wife’s characterization of

him. Neither is the defendant happy with the presentence

report’s explanation of why no home visits have been

made by the probation officer. Finally, he objects to the

inclusion of victim impact statements as prejudicial.

All of the information objected to by the defendant is

either required to be included in the presentence report

or is routinely made a part of it. A sentencing court is

not restricted to evidence which would be admissible at

trial. It may consider any information which has “suffi-

cient indicia of reliability to support its probable accuracy.”

See United States v. Marshall, 719 F.2d 887 (7th Cir.

1983); 18 U.S.C. § 3661, and the Commentary to U.S.S.G.

§6A1.3. Because the rules on admissible evidence are

relaxed, and because there is no jury here, the court over-

rules Mr. LeDonne’s objections and considers this infor-

mation along with all the rest, giving it whatever weight

it deserves.

All paragraphs of the presentence report not specifically

addressed above are adopted by the court as findings of

fact and statements of reasons for imposition of sentence

in this case.

D-8

The defendant’s adjusted offense level is a 25, with a

criminal history category of II and an applicable sentence

range of 63 to 78 months. This court adopts the agree-

ment of the parties and sentences the defendant to the

minimum applicable sentence, a term of 67 months of im-

prisonment. This term is to be served consecutively to

the defendant’s state sentences. He is now remanded to

the custody of the United States Marshal, who will return

him to the custody of the Elkhart County Sheriff. The

defendant shall receive credit to his federal sentence for

the time he has served in Elkhart County (under a federal

detainer). In addition, the defendant shall be on super-

vised release for a term of 3 years from the date of his

release from prison. The court finds that this sentence

sufficiently punishes this defendant for his criminal con-

duct and therefore satisfies the purposes of sentencing as

set forth in 18 U.S.C. §3553(a).

The conditions of supervised release shall include the

thirteen standard conditions as listed under §5B1.4(a) of

the Guidelines.

The applicable fine range is from $10,000.00 to

$1,250,000.00. Based on the defendant’s financial informa-

tion, the court imposes no fine. The court must impose

a special assessment fee of $50.00 for each count, here

totalling $100.00. The court makes no order for restitution.

The clerk shall prepare judgment. The clerk shall also

provide a copy of this Sentencing Memorandum to the

United States Probation Department for forwarding to the

United States Sentencing Commission and to the Federal

Bureau of Prisons. The defendant was advised in open

court of his right to appeal. IT IS SO ORDERED.

-DATED: February 25, 1993

COPY TO:

USA

USM

USP

Blanford

Order Book

D-9

/s/ Allen Sharp

Chief Judge

Northern District of Indiana

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.