Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Clark v. United States

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

ED

94 726 OCT 17 19%

( gprine ur ink teaka

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No.

DONALD CLARK

Petitioner,

VS.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

Brief for Petitioner

BENNIE LAZZARA, JR.

LAZZARA and PAUL, P. A.

606 Madison Street,

Suite 2001

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813)229-2224

Counsel for Petitioner

Donald Clark

1

QUESTION PRESENTED

l. In applying the Federal Sentencing Guidelines, may the

District Court attribute the entire one million marijuana plant out-

put, of a 10 year, 28 man conspiracy, to the Defendant by simply

adopting the United States Probation Officer’s Pre-sentence

Investigation Report without making any specific, individualized

findings of fact as to the scope of the Defendant’s agreement to

undertake criminal activity and without making specific, individual-

ized findings as to what actions of others were reasonably foresee-

able to the Defendant in connection with scope of his agreement?

— en

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

oad io 5 bo eG ko va bso eS a be awh we ewe i

a ill

NEE 65 cn vec ccc ee cecctebeccvceseces iv

ad on a ya 4 6 ould se Vee ae eins Oe ewe l

ee ia iy es ss ke cbse bisesbeses’s 2

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

a rn 2

ee 5

PURSPASGsey BUS COMRAAIN DOING? PEt WRIT 1... cc ccc 14

I. The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, as well as other

Circuit Courts of Appeal, have determined that for sentencing pur-

poses, a member of a drug conspiracy is liable for his own acts and

the acts of others in furtherance of the activity that the defendant

agreed to undertake and that are reasonably foreseeable in connec-

tion with that activity. Thus to determine a defendant’s liability for

the acts of others, the district court must first make individualized

findings concerning the scope of criminal activity undertaken by

the particular defendant. Despite the Eleventh Circuit’s holding in

Ismond, requiring district court judges to make specific findings of

fact in drug conspiracy cases, the Court affirmed Mr. Clark’s sen-

tence of life imprisonment without making individualized find-

ings. From the evidence at trial, it was clear that Mr. Clark was

directly involved in only a minute portion of the alleged one mil-

lion marijuana plants produced by the conspiracy. This decision

was contrary to decisions in the Eleventh Circuit as well as deci-

sions in other circuits and therefore this Courts intervention is

required.

ER gk hs ak seo os ko We ace as a oe Aw 21

ili

INDEX TO APPENDIX

APPENDIX A

Transcript of the Sentencing Proceedings before the Honorable Elizabeth

A. Kovachevich, United States District Court for the Middle District of

PR IG FOCI 6. SOE ccssvacsnscactéctcdantatetinatcammemickanitaaeans A-1

APPENDIX B

Pre-Sentencing Report prepared by United States Probation Officer,

PIE FO. FE oo seciccasinssintnccnntinrestitininivisbeiaiianabenichisnhaminetimapliaiaiandias B-1]

APPENDIX C

Order from the United States Court of Appeal for the Eleventh Circuit

affirming the sentence imposed by the District Court, dated

SOG Di. Fa asics vce ciesconbeclakalccasdaitanadaaasatdsaiiblevestabecauiiasaesaasiiiiail C-1

APPENDIX D

Order from the United States Court of Appeal for the Eleventh Circuit

denying the Suggestion of Rehearing En Banc, dated

DE 29, Bet iattnsaiicicelcenthoadnnpienaantionaisaiaaaanadeimanade D-1

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases:

United States v. Adams,

Be Be fas 8 ee eae rr rear 16

United States v. Beasley,

ee Ee CO ee FOE 0 i dou oes hus heees ce ewaedds 17, 19

United States v. Chitty,

Se ee BRE BOED och eas baevcvusseeeeuw es “als a

United States v. Clark,

es ca anebs heueutuewtewes 1,18

United States v. Clavis,

igh oe BF te RE: : Se a ee a ae are 5

United States v. Ismond,

993 F.2d 1498 (11th Cir. 1993) .............. 2, 5, 14, 15, 20, 21

United States v. Young,

No. 93-3551, 1994 U.S. App. LEXIS 24097 (7th Cir. Sept. 2, 1994) ..2

Statutes, Regulations and Rules:

ee a ee re ee Pee ee eee 2

pS er re rere nares err are 2

Federal Sentencing Guidelines

rn ee ere

Rules of the Supreme Court,

an a ak oh wee WA a Wak Ok ee a eae 4

]

IN THE

Supreme Court Of Che United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

NO.

DONALD CLARK

Petitioner,

VS.

THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

The Petitioner, Donald Clark, (hereinafter “Mr. Clark’”’),

respectfully prays that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judg-

ment of the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit

entered in the above referenced matter on January 5, 1994

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals is Reported

at 13 F.3d 409 (11th Cir. 1994). The Eleventh Circuit Per Curium Affirmed

the conviction and sentence of the Defendant and issued a brief unpublished

opinion. Their writing is reproduced in the Appendix hereto. (App. C-1).

The Eleventh Circuit also Denied a Petition for Rehearing and a Suggestion

for Rehearing En Banc without an opinion. (App. D-1).

Se

2

JURISDICTION

Mr. Clark’s Petition seeks review of the Judgment of the Eleventh

Circuit Court of Appeals entered on January 5, 1994. (App. C-1). This

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1). This

Petition presents to this Court a question which the United States District

Court of Appeals for the Eleventh Circuit has answered in a manner which

is in conflict with other decisions of the Eleventh Circuit and in conflict

with decisions of another United States court of appeals on the same mat-

ter. The cases which this decision is in conflict with are U.S v. Ismond, 993

F.2d 1498, (11th Cir. 1993), U.S. v. Young, No. 93-3551, 1994 U.S. App.

LEXIS 24097 (7th Cir. Sept. 2, 1994).

Additionally, the Eleventh Circuit has so far departed from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings, or sanctioned such a

departure by a lower court, as to call for an exercise of this Court’s power

of supervision.

A Petition for Rehearing and A Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc

were denied on July 19, 1994. (App. D-1).

CONSTITUTIONAL, STATUTORY AND

REGULATORY PROVISIONS

l. 21 U.S.C. § 846.

Attempt and conspiracy

Any person who attempts or conspires to commit any offense

defined in this subchapter shall be subject to the same penalties as those

prescribed for the offense, the commission of which was the object of the

attempt or conspiracy.

3 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

Courts of appeals; certiorari; certified questions

Cases in the courts of appeals may be reviewed by the Supreme

Court by the following methods:

(1) By writ of certiorari granted upon the petition of any party to

k

any civil or criminal case, before or after rendition of judgment or

decree;

(2) By certification at any time by a court of appeals of any ques-

tion of law in any civil or criminal case as to which instruction are

desired, and upon such certification the Supreme Court may give

binding instructions or require the entire record to be sent up for

decision of the entire matter in controversy.

Federal Sentencing Guideline § 1B1.3

Relevant Conduct (Factors that Determine the Guideline Range)

(a) Chapters Two (Offense Conduct) and Three (Adjustments).

Unless otherwise specified, (i) the base offense level where the

guideline specifies more than one base offense level, (ii) specific

offense characteristics and (iii) cross references in Chapter Two,

and (iv) adjustments in Chapter Three, shall be determined on the

basis of the following:

(1) (A) all acts and omissions committed, aided, abetted, coun-

seled, commanded, induced, procured, or wilfully

caused by the defendant; and

(B) in the case of a jointly undertaken criminal activity (a

criminal plan, scheme, endeavor, or enterprise under-

taken by the defendant in concert with others, whether

or not charged as a conspiracy), all reasonably foresee-

able acts and omissions of others in furtherance of the

jointly undertaken criminal activity, that occurred dur-

ing the commission of the offense of conviction, in

preparation for that offense, or in the course of attempt-

ing to avoid detection or responsibility for that offense;

(2) solely with respect to offenses of a character for which

§3D1.2(d) would require grouping of multiple counts, all acts and

commissions described in subdivisions (1)(A) and (1)(B) above

that were part of the same course of conduct or common scheme or

4

plan as the offense of conviction;

(~) all harm that resulted from the acts and omissions specified in

subsections (a)(1) and (a)(2) above; and all harm that was object of

such acts and omissions; and

(4) any other information specified in the applicable guideline.

(b) Chapters Four (Criminal History and Criminal

Livelihood) and Five (Determining the Sentence).

Factors in Chapters Four and Five that establish the

guideline range shall be determined on the basis of the

conduct and information specified in the respective

guidelines.

4. Supreme Court Rule 10.1(a): (type provision).

Considerations Governing Review on Writ of Certiorari

.1. Areview on writ of certiorari is not a matter of right, but of judi-

cial discretion. A petition for a writ of certiorari will be granted only when

there are special and important reasons therefor. The following, while nei-

ther controlling nor fully measuring the Court’s discretion, indicate the

character of reasons that will be considered:

(a) When the United States court of appeals has rendered a

decision in conflict with the decision of another United

States court of appeals on the same matter; or has decid-

ed a federal question in a way in conflict with a state

court of last report; or has so far departed from the

accepted and usual course of judicial proceedings, or

sanctioned such a departure by a lower court, as to call

for an exercise of this Court’s power of supervision.

5

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Nature of the Case.

Mr. Clark appealed his criminal conviction in the United States

District Court for the Middle District of Florida, Tampa Division to the

Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals. After the Briefs in Mr. Clark’s appeal

had been filed, but while the appeal was still pending, the Eleventh Circuit

decided some cases which had a direct bearing on an issue which Mr. Clark

was arguing on appeal. This issue dealt with the relevant conduct of Mr.

Clark and how much of the marijuana generated by this 10 year approxi-

mately 100 person (28 indicted and approximately 80 unindicted co-con-

spirators) conspiracy could be attributed to Mr. Clark when the evidence at

trial clearly showed Mr. Clark’s direct involvement was minimal. Counsel

for the Appellant sent the Eleventh Circuit a Notice of Supplemental

Authority for the case of United States v. Clavis, 977 F.2d 538 (11th Cir.

1992). Clavis was a co-defendant of an individual in a separate appeal that

was decided shortly thereafter and was directly on point in Mr. Clark’s case.

The Eleventh Circuit’s decision in U.S. v. Ismond, 993 F.2d 1498 (11th Cir.

1993) was the case which the Appellant believed was directly on point with

the relevant conduct issue which was pending on Mr. Clark’s appeal.

Despite the decision in the Ismond case by the same court, Mr.

Clark’s appeal was Per Curium Affirmed on January 5, 1994 with the Court

writing a brief, unpublished opinion. (Appendix C). The unpublished opin-

ion did not address the relevant conduct issue argued by the Defendant and

subsequently addressed in Ismond. Based on the Order affirming the

District Court’s decision, Mr. Clark filed a Petition for Rehearing and a

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc. The Eleventh Circuit treats a

Suggestion En Banc as a Petition for Rehearing, if en banc consideration is

not given. (11th Circuit Local Rule 35-6). En banc consideration was not

given in Mr. Clark’s case and the original justices considered the Petition

for Rehearing. The Petition for Rehearing was denied on July 19, 1994,

without an opinion. Mr. Clark is now petitioning this Court for a Writ of

Certiorari to review the relevant conduct issue. To determine relevant con-

6

duct, the following issue must be addressed: whether it was proper to hold

Mr. Clark responsible for the entire output of the conspiracy when the

District Court failed to make individualized findings as to both the scope of

his agreement to undertake criminal activity and as to whether it was rea-

sonably foreseeable, based on his agreement, that the entire conspiracy

would involve one million marijuana plants.

B. The Facts of the Case.

Myakka City, located in Manatee County, Florida, has two stores, a

post office, and a couple of churches. R 13-91, According to the govern-

ment, Myakka City was the home of “Myakka Gold, marijuana.” R 15-6.

Myakka City was also the home of the Appellant, Donald Clark. Mr. Clark

had a farm that consisted of a couple of trailers and a barn. R 13-35, 37.

The farm consisted of approximately 640 acres and was five or six miles

from Myakka City. R 13-31.

On May 24, 1985, Manatee County Sheriff’s Deputy John Potts

executed a search warrant on Mr. Clark’s farm. R 13-29. This search yield-

ed evidence which lead to Mr. Clark’s arrest and conviction on State of

Florida charges of possession of cocaine, possession of marijuana with

intent to sell, possession of marijuana, and manufacture of marijuana.

Government Exhibit (GE) 186.2 During his arrest on these charges Mr.

Clark admitted that he had been growing marijuana, though there was no

indication that he mentioned anyone else’s involvement. R 13-84. Notably,

Mr. Clark was not then charged with any type of conspiracy.

In 1987, Deputy Potts again visited the Clark farm. R 13-70. At

that time Mr. Clark was charged with possession of marijuana and posses-

sion of a firearm by a convicted felon. GE 187.3 Again, there was no indi-

cation that Mr. Clark was involved with anyone else, or that he was culti-

vating marijuana at that time.

l

2

References are to the Record on Appeal.

As a result of the charges filed against him as a result of this search, Mr.

Clark was sentenced to 18 months in prison, (imposition of which was

stayed) and two years community control.

7

The years 1986 and 1987 led to events which resulted in the indictment of

Mr. Clark and his twenty-seven co-defendants. In 1986, Manatee County

Sheriff’s Deputy John Potts arrested Gary Huffman for fleeing and eluding

a police officer and resisting arrest without violence. R 12-143. In the fol-

lowing year, 1987, Manatee County Sheriff’s Deputy David Livingston

arrested Mr. Bruce Hendry and Mr. Timothy Young for possession of

approximately 2,000 marijuana plant seedlings. R 7-13. Huffman, Hendry,

and Young became the so-called “insiders” who provided the lion’s share of

the direct testimony against Mr. Clark at trial. Furthermore, the informa-

tion provided by these “insiders” to the case agents made up a large part of

the case agents’ testimony against Mr. Clark.

Against this historical background the trial of Mr. Clark took place.

Despite approximately 15 days of trial, testimony of Mr. Clark’s conspira-

torial activities with other persons was surprisingly sparse. A review of this

testimony follows;

Bruce Hendry testified that in 1980 or 1981, while working on the

Clark farm, Donald Clark provided him marijuana to smoke. R 7-38, 39,

40, 41. In 1983, Hendry grew a marijuana crop in partnership with Philip

Coker. R 7-44. Coker had requested Hendry’s help with the crop in return

for fifty percent of the field. R 7-45. Coker told Hendry that Donald Clark

originally supplied Coker with the materials necessary to grow the field. In

return Mr. Clark was supposed to receive 50% of the crop. However, by his

own choice, Donald Clark never received any of the marijuana crop. R 7-

46, 51. Hendry believed that Donald Clark was no longer involved with the

field because Clark had seen how poorly the field was doing and told Coker

to keep the crop. R 7-60.

Hendry also testified that throughout the 1980’s he and Mr. Clark

had general conversations about various methods of growing marijuana,

At this time Mr. Clark was sentenced to 18 months in prison.

8

though there was no testimony that they ever grew together. R 7-86, 87. In

January of 1985, two years after his involvement in the one field with

Coker, Hendry and Donald Clark agreed to grow marijuana seedlings

together in a light room on the farm. Also in early 1985, Hendry agreed to

sell some marijuana for Donald Clark. R 7-94, 95. This testimony consti-

tuted the extent of Hendry’s involvement with the Appellant Donald Clark,

though Hendry testified, not mentioning Donald Clark, that in 1985 he

helped Gary Clark, the Appellant’s son, grow a field on the farm. R 10-94.

According to Hendry, 7 or 8 growers in the Myakka area would

exchange information among themselves about how to grow marijuana.

There were 10 growers in the area. R 7-146, 151. Hendry did not name the

Appellant Donald Clark as one of those who exchanged information.

According to Hendry, these growers who exchanged information kept the

location of their fields secret even from each other as the growers were

independent of each other and competitors. R 7-147, R 10-59.

Philip Coker confirmed the details of the 1983 partnership with

Hendry. R 10-101. Coker also testified that Donald Clark told him that

Clark had taught Hendry, his two sons (Duane and Gary), and Bosie Gill to

grow marijuana. R 10-107.

Coker testified that over a span of a couple of months he was in

Donald Clark’s grow room three or four times. R 10-110, 111. Coker

observed six people in the grow room other than Clark. Those persons told

him they were doing the same thing in the room that he was, which was to

take some of the plants. R 10-112. Coker did not testify what arrangements,

if any, these people had with Clark, though he did indicate that a person

named Aldridge told him that Aldridge had a deal with Donald Clark much

the same as Coker’s deal with Clark. R 10-121.

The next government witness was Timothy Young. Young’s testi-

mony about Mr. Clark was quite limited. Young testified that in 1985

Hendry told him about the seedling deal that Hendry had with Clark.

Hendry took Young to the grow room, though Young did not see anything

growing. To Young’s knowledge Hendry never got the seedlings.

9

R 10-155. On direct examination the government asked Mr. Young, who

was named as a co-conspirator, what he had plead to in this case. Young

replied that he had plead to “[c]onspiracy to cultivate marijuana.” R 10-166.

Government witness Gary Huffman provided no direct testimony

about Donald Clark. Huffman testified generally that if someone had a

good idea about growing marijuana it would be shared. R 11-30. Huffman

did not testify that Clark was involved in this sharing of information.

Additionally, Huffman testified, in response to a hypothetical question, that

if he or another grower saw law enforcement in someone’s field they would

let that person know they needed to be careful. R 11-45. Again, Huffman

did not relate Donald Clark to this activity.

Huffman testified that each time he joined with a person to grow

marijuana it was a separate business transaction. R 11-90. Huffman testi-

fied that there was no common plan and that your business was just between

“you and your partner”. Over the years through general talk, growers

became aware of what the other growers were doing. R 11-90, 91, 92. It

was common knowledge who had marijuana fields, but they were not in

business together. R 11-111, 112, 113.

Next to testify was Raymond King. King had no testimony con-

cerning Mr. Clark. He testified that in 1987, the year that Donald Clark was

arrested for the violation of his 1985 probation and two new charges, he

went to the grow room with Duane Clark and that Donald Clark was not

present. R 11-129, 130.

Also testifying was Rob Whaley. Mr. Whaley’s only testimony

concerning Mr. Clark was that in 1980 or 1981 he smoked marijuana with

Clark on about 15 occasions. R 11-134, 155. Whaley also saw Duane and

Gary Clark smoke marijuana with their father during that time. R 11-158.

Other persons were present. R 11-160.

Brian Coker, brother to Phil Coker, testified that he had never done

any business with Donald Clark, R 12-31, 32, 33. In the early 1980’s he

Saw marijuana on the farm when he was with Clark’s sons. R 12-66. Brian

10

Coker also testified that at one time he had a conversation with Mr. Clark

in which Donald Clark stated that there was a lot of money to be made in

the marijuana business. R 12-87.

Also admitted into evidence was a map Deputy Livingston

designed which showed marijuana fields he visited during his investigation.

R 5-149, GE 177. The map had on it yellow, green and red/green dots. R

5-149. The single yellow dot indicated the marijuana field discovered on

the Appellant’s farm in 1985. R 5-150. Green dots indicated marijuana

fields that Livingston had eradicated. R 5-150. The red/green dots indi-

cated all the fields shown to him by Bruce Hendry and Gary Huffman. R

5-150. Deputy Livingston indicated that every field he had ever been per-

sonally involved with was represented on GE 177 by a green dot. R 6-136.

On cross-examination Deputy Livingston testified he had discussed

on direct testimony thirty or forty marijuana fields. R 7-5, R 5-152 through

168. Approximately half of the marijuana fields designated on GE 177 and

testified about were not related to Mr. Clark to Livingston’s knowledge.

Several of the fields had nothing to do with the conspiracy alleged in the

indictment. R 7-6. The defense moved for a mistrial based on intentional

prosecutorial misconduct for eliciting testimony about marijuana fields not

related to the Appellant. R 7-7.

The government represented that “most of those fields do relate to

the conspiracy”. R 7-8. The government represented that it would link

these fields to the conspiracy through Deputy Livingston or through other

witnesses. The motion for mistrial was denied subject to being renewed at

the appropriate time. R 7-8.

At sentencing the Defendant specifically objected to the calcula-

tions contained in the PSR relative to Mr. Clark’s relevant conduct. The

Court stated that it, “adopts the factual statements contained in the pre-sen-

tence report, as to which there is no objection and as to the controverted fac-

tual statements, the Court adopts the position of Probation as stated in the

addendum.” (R18-31).

1]

In the argument at sentencing on the relevant conduct point which is the

subject of this Petition, the Government made the following statement to

show why it believed that Mr. Clark should be held responsible for the

entire output of the conspiracy:

Mr. Page: Yes, Your Honor. The Government feels that paragraph

fifty-eight is bottomed in the facts which came out on the trial,

specifically the testimony came from Lieutenant John Potts in his

estimation was that this conspiracy charged in count one, the only

count that went to trial, involved in his estimations and in his expert

opinion approximately one million marijuana plants. Under the

guidelines, it’s 1B1.3, page 1.16 of the guideline manual, the test

for whether we can include that number of plants in determining

the Defendant’s applicable range is in the case of criminal activity

undertaken in concert with others. Whether or not charged as a

conspiracy, the conduct for which the Defendant would be other-

wise accountable also includes conduct of others in furtherance of

execution of jointly undertaken criminal activity that was reason-

ably foreseeable by the Defendant.

And so it’s a two prong test. Number one, were the actions

of Mr. Clark’s co-conspirators in furtherance of the conspiracy, and

number two, did Mr. Clark know what they were doing or would

he, could he be found to have reasonably foreseen about the activ-

ities and marijuana cultivation and growing that his co-conspirators

were undertaking. And so, really in looking at this issue, our posi-

tion is made evident in number fifty- eight, should the Defendant

be responsible for all the drug transactions he was aware of, and

number two, that he should have reasonably foreseen.

I'd like to break that down into two parts, number one, of

what he was specifically aware of. And it was clear from the trial

12

testimony that he was involved in nine hundred marijuana plants,

the number approximate number that were seized in 1985. It was

clear from the trial testimony that Phil Coker and he combined and

confederated and conspired together in growing a marijuana field.

It was clear from the trial testimony that Bruce Hendry sold mari-

juana on behalf of Donald Clark. It was clear from the trial testi-

mony that there were a nurnber of seedlings grown in the grow

room with Mr. Bruce Hendry and others. And it was clear from the

debriefings that were conducted after the trial of several individuals

that Donnie Clark supplied Sammy Boyett, Richard Copeland and

from the trial testimony Mr. Whaley and others, and the

Government’s evidence at trial which consisted of the notebook

detailing his individual sales, and so that category is well estab-

lished that Mr. Clark was well aware of, from his own personal

dealings, a number of activities of his co-conspirators.

The next category under 1B1.3 is if he wasn’t aware of

some of these, then what can be attributed to him because he should

have reasonably foreseen what his other growers, other members of

the conspiracy were engaged in. And in that regard, the Court is

aware because the Court took the pleas of Duane and Gary Clark,

his sons, and the trial testimony revealed that he taught them how

to grow marijuana, coached them. And the Court is aware of the

trial testimony of Bruce Hendry who testified that Donnie Clark

advised him on how to grow, told him about potash and fertilizer

and weed killer and things like that. And he even discussed floaters

with him. And so it’s not unreasonable to attribute the quantities

Bruce Hendry and the others grew after Mr. Clark got them started,

advised them and counseled them.

Phil Coker was another one that the Court heard from. And

Coker testified that he was set up in a field, a field that ultimately

13

didn’t do so well. But there were a number of plants there and what

happened to the very pots that Phil Coker used in his operation;

Bruce Hendry took them over and used them. In 1987, the

Defendant was arrested on a violation of probation offense and

found at the time to be in possession of a small amount of marijua-

na. The grow room was back in operation after having been

destroyed in 1985. And all of these things suggest that he reason-

ably should have foreseen what others who he had originally got

started in with went to do, including Mark Massey.

The debriefing testimony from Mark Massey was to the

effect that Donald Clark showed him how to build a drying room.

And lo and behold, plans were done made and there was a drying

room at Mark Massey’s property one of the co-conspirators in

count one and a prolific grower in the Manatee County area. So the

initial exposure of that the Defendant had was Donald Clark with

Bruce Hendry, Brian Coker, and Duane and Gary Clark and those

people branched off much like in chain conspiracy. Mr. Clark may

not have known specific links in this chain afterwards, but he rea-

sonably should have foreseen what those people who he got start-

ed in this activity were going to do. And that conclusion support-

ed by the nature of the beast here, everybody was close associates,

they knew what was going on in the area, and we just don’t feel it’s

unreasonable attribution to put the Defendant — burden him with

the plants that others grew after he became active in the operation.

(R. 18-6-10).

The Trial Court denied the Defendant’s objection to paragraph fifty-

eight, which involved Mr. Clark’s relevant conduct, and held the Defendant

responsible for one million marijuana plants which was the estimated

output of marijuana for the entire conspiracy spanning ten years.

14

On Appeal, the Defendant’s arguments focused more on the issue of prose-

cutorial misconduct and the admissibility of evidence, due to the fact that

the Ismond decision had not been decided until after the briefs in this case

had been filed. The Defendant did make a relevant conduct argument on

appeal and argued that he should not have been attributed the total conspir-

atorial output of marijuana for sentencing purposes. This issue was not

addressed in the unpublished opinion written by the Eleventh Circuit.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals, as

well as other Circuit Courts of Appeal, have determined

that for sentencing purposes, a member of a drug conspir-

acy is liable for his own acts and the acts of others in fur-

therance of the activity that the defendant agreed to under-

take and that are reasonably foreseeable in connection with

that activity. Thus to determine a defendant’s liability for

the acts of others, the district court must first make indi-

vidualized findings concerning the scope of criminal activ-

ity undertaken by the particular defendant. Despite the

Eleventh Circuit’s holding in Ismond, requiring district

court judges to make specific findings of fact in drug con-

spiracy cases, the Court affirmed Mr. Clark’s sentence of

life imprisonment without making individualized findings.

From the evidence at trial, it was clear that Mr. Clark was

directly involved in only a minute portion of the alleged

one million marijuana plants produced by the conspiracy.

This decision was contrary to decisions in the Eleventh

Circuit as well as decisions in other circuits and therefore

this Courts intervention is required.

Since the sentencing of Donald Clark on November 4, 1991, the

15

11th Circuit has decided several cases which require certain steps to be fol-

lowed in applying the Federal Sentencing Guidelines to cases involving

drug conspiracies. The purpose of the steps is to insure that a conspirator

is not held liable for the conspiracy’s entire output of drugs when in actual-

ity the conspirator should only be held responsible for a quantity less than

all. United States v. Ismond, 993 F.2d 1498, 1499 (11th Cir. 1993) In

Ismond, the United States Court of Appeals for the 11th Circuit outlined the

necessary steps to sentencing a member of a drug conspiracy:

“For sentencing purposes a member of a drug conspiracy is

liable for his own acts and the acts of others in furtherance of

the activity that the defendant agreed to undertake and that

are reasonably foreseeable in connection with that activity.

Thus to determine a defendant’s liability for the acts of oth-

ers, the district court must first make individualized find-

ings concerning the scope of criminal activity undertaken by

a particular defendant. Once the extent of the defendant’s

participation in the conspiracy is established, the court can

determine the drug quantities reasonably foreseeable in con-

nection with that level of participation. If the court does not

make individualized findings, the sentence may nevertheless

be upheld if the record supports the amount of drugs attrib-

uted to a defendant. The government must establish the

quantity of drugs by the preponderance of the evidence. Id.

at 1499.

Following the reasoning of the 11th Circuit in Ismond, the deter-

mination of the scope of the agreement to undertake criminal activity is

very important because it is the first step in the sentencing analysis and is

the key factor used in establishing the quantity of drugs reasonably fore-

seeable by the defendant. A factual finding well grounded in the facts of

eer anne ae

16

the trial record is crucial to providing a foundation upon which to begin the

sentencing analysis. This necessary foundation helps insure that the con-

clusion of the analysis will result in justice; that is a sentence firmly sup-

ported by the evidence and specifically tailored to fit the crime.

The Federal Sentencing Guidelines recognize that because “a count

can be worded broadly and include the conduct of many participants over a

period of time, the scope of the criminal activity undertaken by the crimi-

nal defendant is not necessarily the same as the scope of the entire conspir-

acy.” U.S.S.G., § 1B1.3, Application Note 2(ii). The sentencing court

should define the scope of Donald Clark’s agreement to undertake criminal

activity in both numbers of co-conspirators and numbers of years. More

importantly the factual finding must be well supported by the evidence.

The sentencing court may not speculate as to the extent of Donald Clark’s

involvement in the conspiracy because the government must establish the

scope of his agreement by a preponderance of the evidence. United States

v. Adams, | F.3d 1566, 1581 (11th Cir. 1993)

During Donald Clark’s sentencing hearing, the District Court

adopted the pre-sentencing report (hereinafter “PSR”, App. A) as an accu-

rate statement of the facts in his case and used those facts in determining a

sentence. (App. A-31) The PSR describes Donald Clark as vertically inte-

grated into the conspiracy and as having a role greater than that of a “min-

imal participant.” (App. B, Paragraph 61) The PSR did not define the

scope of his agreement in the conspiracy in numbers of co-conspirators or

exact periods of involvement. It just simply attributed the drug output of

the entire conspiracy to him, as if he had made an agreement with all 27 of

his co-conspirators and had been active for the entire 10 year period of the

conspiracy with all of the separate growers. As well as attributing to

Donald Clark the entire one million plants of marijuana estimated to be

involved in the conspiracy, the PSR also stated the following about his

involvement: “Donald Clark did not organize, manage, or supervise any

criminal activity. (App. B, paragraph 61) The apparent contradiction

between the PSR’s findings and its conclusions highlight the need

17

for the district judge to make specific findings of fact supported by evi-

dence from the trial to the extent that the Trial Court could have made a

finding by a preponderance of the evidence.

The sentencing hearing is one of the rnost important phases of any

criminal proceeding. Even though the Federal Sentencing Guidelines has

limited the discretion of the judiciary in its ability to specifically tailor sen-

tences to fit the circumstances of particular crimes, district court judges still

maintain a wide degree of latitude in sentencing. The 11th Circuit has

recently recognized that it is critical for district court judges to take an

active role in implementing the Guidelines. Sentencing is too important to

be left to the recommendations of probation officers alone. It is the expe-

rience and knowledge of the judges that is needed to determine whether the

Government has met its burden and proved its case by a preponderance of

the evidence. Furthermore, the judges are needed to make sure the punish-

ment fits the crime and to make sure al! sentences are firmly supported by

the trial record. It may be these recent realizations by the 11th Circuit that

are responsible for two cases that were remanded for re-sentencing because

the court adopted the PSR (or PSI) instead of taking an active role in mak-

ing the specific, individual factual findings outlined in Ismond.

In United States v. Beasley, 2 F.3d 1551 (11th Cir. 1993), the 11th

Circuit noted that the district court adopted the PSI without making any

specific findings as to the quantity of drugs attributable to the defendant. In

United States v. Chitty, 15 F.3d 159 (llth Cir. 1994), the district court

accepted the PSI as controlling. The 11th Circuit determined that the PSI

failed to include evidence of how the defendant knew of past operations, or

the identity of all the conspirators, or the origin of all the marijuana, or how

it was imported, or how it was moved, or what future operations were con-

templated, or in what quantities and by whom. Id. at 162. The decision in

Chitty is a good example of the specificity required in setting forth the fac-

tual basis for sentencing.

In Donald Clark’s case, the PSR lacked specificity in much the

18

same ways as the above cases. It failed to make the most basic inquiries

into the conspiratorial agreements of Donald Clark. It did not determine the

individuals with whom Mr. Clark was in agreement. It failed to specifical-

ly state time periods Mr. Clark was active in the conspiracy. It failed to

break down individual responsibility for the numerous marijuana fields.

Lastly, it arrived at a total quantity of marijuana based upon an estimate

given by an officer involved in only a portion of the case. The Court fur-

ther relied upon a blanket statement in the PSR which stated that the quan-

tity was confirmed by debriefings of Co-defendants who plead guilty to the

conspiracy.

At the same time the PSR ignored trial testimony of other officers

who broke down the quantities, by field and grower and whose total figures,

- although not specifically stated, would have been substantially less.

Although mentioning debriefings, and presumably having that information

available, the probation office gave no indication whatsoever, of who or

how the one million plant figure was arrived at from the debriefings and it

certainly made no assessment of what part Donald Clark was responsible

for. The PSR did identify certain large crops by year, location and individ-

uals who were responsible for them. (App. B-7,8, Paragraphs 36-46).

Donald Clark was not related to these crops in any manner and the PSR

does not list him as a responsible individual.

The Probation Office also failed to recognized facts which were

present and compiled in it’s own report relative to Donald Clark’s role.

Specifically, with respect to the fact that there were 28 individuals charged

in a thirty-nine count indictment. Mr. Clark was only charged in Count one

which was the conspiracy count. The other counts were, for the most part,

possession counts which charged the individuals responsible for specific

marijuana fields. Paragraphs 36-46 (App. B-7,8) of the PSR lists the most

Significant marijuana fields in the conspiracy and the time they were

grown and the individuals involved. Donald Clark is not listed as

responsible for any of them. Due to the Trial Courts failure to make

specific, individualized findings concerning the scope of Mr. Clark’s

_ 19

criminal activity, and its erroneous adoption of a PSR, it is necessary for

this Court to exercise its jurisdiction and correct an improper sentence of

life imprisonment. As in Beasley and Chitty, we ask this Court to correct

the sentence of Donald Clark by remanding this case to the Trial Court with

directions to make specific factual findings as to the scope of his agreement

in the conspiracy, and factual findings regarding the quantity of drugs pro-

duced by his co-conspirators which were reasonably foreseeable in connec-

tion with his agreement.

The Ismond case, enhances the United States Sentencing

Guidelines § 1B1.3(a)(1)(B) in that before holding a defendant responsible

for the acts of others Ismond requires that, “the district court make individ-

ualized findings concerning the scope of criminal activity undertaken by a

particular defendant.” Ismond, at 1499. Since Mr. Clark was only charged

with a conspiracy, it is imperative, in accessing the scope of his criminal

activity, to determine the basic factual findings regarding his agreement.

These basic factual findings would include who Mr. Clark made agreements

with, for what criminal activities, and during what time period. Once it is

determined what criminal activity Mr. Clark agreed to undertake, then the

trial court must access what actions of others were reasonably foreseeable

to him.

The bottom of the last paragraph of the governments argument to

the judge regarding the relevant conduct objection at sentencing crystalizes

the flaw in the Government’s, and presumably the Trial Court’s, thinking

regarding holding Mr. Clark responsible for the entire output of the con-

spiracy. The Assistant U.S. Attorney stated:

Mr. Clark may not have known specific links in this chain

afterwards, but he reasonably should have foreseen what

those people who he got started in this activity were going

to do. And that conclusion supported by the nature of the

beast here, everybody was close associates, they knew

what was going on in the area, and we just don’t feel it’s

20

unreasonable attribution to put the Defendant — burden him with the plants

that others grew after he became active in the operation. (App. A-10).

The Government’s argument starts with a look at the entire con-

spiracy and then works backward to Donald Clark. This type of analysis

will automatically result in attributing the entire output of the conspiracy to

the Defendant. This backwards approach results in a sentence that dispro-

portionately represents the Defendant’s conduct and unfairly punishes him

for the acts of others. In order to avoid this type of result, the 11th Circuit

in Ismond set forth a sentencing approach which is directly contrary to the

approach taken by the Government in Donald Clark’s case.

The Ismond analysis begins with the defendant’s agreements with

other conspirators. These agreements form the basis for determining the

extent of the Defendant’s involvement in the conspiracy. The extent of the

Defendant’s involvement forms the basis for determining what production

of others is reasonably foreseeable and can be attributed to him for sen-

tencing purposes. This analysis yields a quantity of drugs which holds the

defendant accountable for his actions and those reasonably foreseeable to

him as a result of his conduct. At the same time it recognizes the problems

inherent in sentencing a member of a large, nebulous conspiracy involving

numerous people over a long period of time. This also affords the trial court

an opportunity to tailor a sentence which accurately reflects the extent of

the individual defendant’s criminal activity.

For the above stated reasons, the Court should have determined that

Mr. Clark was not responsible for the entire output of his co-conspirators.

Individualized findings as to the scope of the criminal activity undertaken

by Mr. Clark would have resulted in a sentence of several years as opposed

to life imprisonment. It is uncontroverted that Mr. Clark was only directly

responsible for a very small amount of the one million marijuana plants

actually attributed to him for sentencing purposes. The Government

and the Court believed that the actions of the others were

reasonably foreseeable to Mr. Clark. However, the Government and the

21

Trial Court did not make the specific factual findings necessary to support

a sentence of life imprisonment.

CONCLUSION

In it’s decision in United States v. Ismond, 993 F.2d 1498, The

United States Court of Appeals has recently corrected or clarified a wrong

which has existed for many years. The obvious intent was to insure fair

sentencing by the Court for individuals charged in drug conspiracies. This

analysis avoids the potential for a defendant to be held responsible for the

acts of others which were not reasonably foreseeable to him, and allows the

trial court to tailor a sentence to accurately reflect an individuals criminal

conduct. The case of U.S. v. Donald Clark, was exactly such a case where

the reasoning of Ismond should have been applied. In sentencing a defen-

dant for a conspiracy which spans ten years, and involves twenty-eight co-

conspirators, justice requires extra precautions to insure that the punish-

ment fits the crime. The Eleventh Circuit set out these extra precautions in

Ismond, and then failed to follow them by affirming Donald Clark’s sen-

tence. This injustice has resulted in a man being sentenced to life impris-

onment for the acts of others which no reasonable man could have foreseen.

Accordingly, the Petitioner respectfully requests this Court to grant

the Petition for Writ of Certiorari and to require briefs on the merits and oral

Respectfully submitted,

Ver Z i

NNIE XE RKIR yf? hy

LAZZARA and PAUL, P.A. fo y, {

/

606 Madison Street, Ste. 2001

Tampa, Florida 33602

(813) 229-2224

argument of this cause.

Councel For Petitioner

Donald Clark

APPENDIX

A-1

Exhibit A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, 90-175-CR-T-17

Plaintiff, Tampa, Florida

versus November 4, 1991

DONALD CLARK, 9:30 a.m.

Defendant.

VOLUME XVI

SENTENCING PROCEEDINGS

BEFORE THE HONORABLE ELIZABETH A. KOVACHEVICH

For the Plaintiff: WALTER FURR ESQUIRE

EDWARD PAGE, ESQUIRE

Assistant U. S. Attorney

500 Zack Street Room 410

Tampa, Florida 33602

813-225-7300

For the Defendant: LANE W. VAUGHN, ESQUIRE

P. O. Box 370 :

Melbourne, Florida 33902

407-723-8675

THOMAS H. OSTRANDER, ESQUIRE

P. O. Box 400

Bradenton, Florida 34206

813-746-1167

A-2

Court Reporter: . CLAUDIA M. FRY, CSR, RPR

Cai <.e.

Official U. S. Court Reporter

611 N. Florida Avenue

Suite 314

Tampa, Florida 33602

813-221-3386

PROCEEDINGS

November 4, 1991

ae Hee ie ee ee KK

*THE COURT: All right, let’s come forward on the Clark

case. All right, Ladies and Gentlemen, this is case number 90-17£

Cr-T-17, United States of America represented by Assistant United

States Attorney Walter Terry Furr and Edward Page. And the

Defendant is present represented by his attorneys Tom Ostrander

and Lane Vaughn and the Defendant is present.

Donald Clark, on June 21, 1991, you were found guilty by a

Jury and were-adjudged guilty of count one of the Indictment

charging you with conspiracy to manufacture, distribute and pos-

sess with intent to manufacture and distribute one thousand or

more marijuana plants in violation of 21, United States Code,

Section 846. It’s the duty of the Court to address several questions.

First of all, Mr. Clark, have you had an opportunity to read and dis-

cuss the pre-sentence report with your attorneys

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, ma’am.

THE COURT: All right. Mr. Vaughn, Mr. Ostrander, did you

go over it with your client?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: All right. Mr. Furr and Mr. Page, have you

read it?

* Format was altered to conform with United States Supreme Court Rules.

A-3

MR. FURR: Yes, ma’am.

MR. PAGE: Yes.

THE COURT: All right. The Court notes in the addendum to

the pre-sentence report that there are certain objections, this is with

the exception of the objections noted in the addendum to the pre-

sentence report. At the present time, are there any other objections

as to the factual accuracy of the report or as to the application of

the guidelines by the probation officer, Mr. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Your Honor. One last objection I'd

like to note for the record is I want to object to the application of

the 2D.1.1A of the sentencing guidelines which calls for a measure-

ment for quantities when the number of marijuana plants exceeds

fifty-one. We believe that the calculation since it was a large cal-

culation resulted in the increase of from one hundred grams per

plant to I believe it’s two kilos per plant and where we’ re objecting

is strictly a legal argument.

I don’t think there’s anything much we can accomplish at this

point in time. I’m objecting to that application, it’s clearly part of

the calculation under this guideline.

THE COURT: What paragraph in particular?

MR. OSTRANDER: Paragraph fifty-six.

THE COURT:-Paragraph fifty-six, I have to circle that, sir. All

right. Now, that is the only other objection, is that correct?

MR. OSTRANDER: That’s correct, Your Honor.

THE COURT: At the present time, does the Government have

any other objections at the present time?

MR. FURR: No, ma’am.

THE COURT: All right. Now, I’m going to note the fifty-six

is to be added here. And you’ve really just made your argument

with regard to fifty-six, correct?

MR. OSTRANDER: That’s correct.

A-4

THE COURT: What’s the Government’s response to para-

graph fifty-six and the argument they’ ve just made.

MR. FURR: I’1l do it. It’s the law. The law says that if you’re

dealing with more than fifty marijuana plants, treat each plant as

equivalent to one kilogram of marijuana. I think that’s clearly stat-

ed in the guidelines in a note at the end of the quantity scales under

2D1.1 and my guidelines, it’s at page 2.47. And I can quote in the

case of an offense involving marijuana plants, if the offense

involved paren close paren fifty or more marijuana plants, treat

each plant as equivalent to one kilogram of marijuana. That’s what

we have here, that’s the law, whether he likes it or not.

THE COURT: What’s your rebuttal?

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, we’re just simply arguing that’s

an unconstitutional application of the guidelines and it’s a violation

of protection. -It’s clearly in the sentencing guideline.

THE COURT: It certainly is, equal protection.

MR. OSTRANDER: I don’t have any cases that are on point.

MR. FURR: Judge, the Eleventh Circuit dealt with it on a

case, Bradley, 905 Fed. 2nd 359. I believe it was a case involving

a sentencing before Judge Krentzman. The objection there essen-

tially was that — the quantities weren’t as great as they were here.

The argument was essentially the same, that is, the assigning of a

particular weight to the plants based on number. And in the case of

Bradley, rather than the actual weight of the plants themselves, the

Court found it was —that was the law.

THE COURT: Okay. What is your rebuttal, if any?

MR. OSTRANDER: None, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, it is the law. The Defendant’s objection

with regard to that is overruled. Now, let’s get into the body, in the

addendum, paragraph fifty-eight. What argument do you want to

make on that?

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, I believe the initial argument that

. |

¥

*

A-5

I made was as to the calculation of the plants strictly on the basis

of the evidence that was adduced at trial and through whatever

other information it provided to the Office of Parole and Probation.

It was my position that the Government cannot, had not proved

there were male plants involved in the conspiracy, nor did they

prove there were three hundred thousand plants involved in the

conspiracy. Of course, we have no access to any debriefings or

information that was later provided to the Office of Parole and

Probation by the United States Attorneys Office, so I can’t speak to

that, but I’m advised that some of that information had come

through subsequent debriefings. That information has to satisfy the

indicia of reliability such as it becomes part of a sentencing to allow

you to make that actual alteration, that’s why I objected to it. That’s

part of my argument. I'll go on after we handle that part.

THE COURT: Okay. Mr. Page, are you doing this?

MR. PAGE: Yes, Your Honor. The Government feels that para-

graph fifty-eight is bottomed in the facts which came out on the

trial, specifically the testimony came from Lieutenant John Potts in

his estimation was that this conspiracy charged in count one, the

only count that went to trial, involved in his estimations and in his

expert opinion approximately one million marijuana plants. Under

the guidelines, it’s 1B1.3, page 1.16 of the guideline manual, the test

for whether we can include that number of plants in determining

the Defendant’s applicable range is in the case of criminal activity

undertaken in concert with others. Whether or not charged as a

conspiracy, the conduct for which the Defendant would be other-

wise accountable also includes conduct of others in furtherance of

execution of jointly undertaken criminal activity that was reason-

ably foreseeable by the Defendant.

And so it’s a two prong test. Number one, were the actions of

Mr. Clark’s co-conspirators in furtherance of the conspiracy, and

A-6

number two, did Mr. Clark know what they were doing or would

he, could he be found tc have reasonably foreseen about the activ-

ities and marijuana cultivation and growing that his co-conspirators

were undertaking. And so, really in looking at this issue, our posi-

tion is made evident in number fifty-eight, should the Defendant be

responsible for all the drug transactions he was aware of, and num-

ber two, that he should have been reasonably foreseen.

I'd like to break that down into two parts, number one, of what

he was specifically aware of. And it was clear from the trial testi-

mony that he was involved in nine hundred marijuana plants, the

number, approximate number that were seized in 1985. It was clear

from the trial testimony that Phil Coker and he combined and con-

federated and conspired together in growing a marijuana field. It

was Clear from the trial testimony that Bruce Hendry sold marijua-

na on behalf of Donald Clark. It was clear from the trial testimony

that there were a number of seedlings grown in the grow room with

Mr. Bruce Hendry and others. And it was clear from the debriefin-

gs that were conducted after the trial of several individuals that

Donnie Clark supplied Sammy Boyett, Richard Copeland and from

the trial testimony Mr. Whaley and others, and the Government’s

evidence at trial which consisted of the notebook detailing his indi-

vidual sales, and so that category is well established that Mr. Clark

was well aware of, from his own personal dealings, a number of

activities of his co-conspirators.

The next category under 1B1.3 is if he wasn’t aware of some of

these, then what can be attributed to him because he should have

reasonably foreseen what his other growers, other members of the

conspiracy were engaged in. And in that regard, the Court is aware

because the Court took the pleas of Duane and Gary Clark, his

sons, and the trial testimony revealed that he taught them how to

grow marijuana, coached them. And the Court is aware of the trial

A-7

testimony of Bruce Hendry who testified that Donnie Clark advised

him on how to grow, told him about potash and fertilizer and weed

killer and things hike that. And he even discussed floaters with him.

And so it’s not unreasonable to attribute the quantities Bruce

Hendry and the others grew after Mr. Clark got them started,

advised and counseled them.

Phil Coker was another one that the court heard from. And

Coker testified that he was set up in a field, a field that ultimately

didn’t do so well. But there were a number of plants there and what

happened to the very pots that Phil Coker used in his operation;

Bruce Hendry took them over and used them. In 1987, the

Defendant was arrested on a violation of probation offense and

found at the time to be in possession of a small amount of marijua-

na. The grow room was back in operation after having been

destroyed in 1985. And all of these things suggest that he reason-

ably should have foreseen what others who he had originally got

started in with went on to do, including Mark Massey.

The debriefing testimony from Mark Massey was to the effect

that Donald Clark showed him how to build a drying room. And lo

and behold, plans were done made and there was a drying room at

Mark Massey’s property one of the co-conspirators in count one

and a prolific grower in the Manatee County area. So the initial

exposure that the Defendant had was Donald Clark with Bruce

Hendry, Brian Coker, and Duane and Gary Clark and those people

branched off much like in a chain conspiracy. Mr. Clark may not

have known specific links in this chain afterwards, but he reason-

ably should have foreseen what those people who he got started in

this activity were going to do. And that conclusion supported by the

nature of the beast here, everybody was close associates, they knew

what was going on in the area, and we just don’t feel it’s an unrea-

sonable attribution to put the Defendant — burden him with the

Re he

A-8

plants that others grew after he became active in the operation.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything you want to say in rebuttal?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Judge. 1B1.3, is the Parole and

Probation which I first submitted my objections. I objected specif-

ically to the discussion of reasonableness and I notice that it really

wasn’t spoken to in this addendum, but I’d like to pursue that.

In this particular case, Donald Clark pled guilty in 1985 to the

possession of nine hundred plants and that’s what we think should

be attributed to him is the nine hundred plants. Mr. Page just talked

about Phillip Coker growing some plants and Hendry growing

some plants, but the numbers to substantiate the million or the three

hundred thousand are not there. Everybody talks about some plants

and the only evidence that the Government is willing to rely upon

today is the fact that Lieutenant Potts took the stand and said that

he believed the scope of the operation was between nine hundred

and a million, whatever, just not to misquote Mr. Page, but the

statement he just made, but there was no solid evidence or no evi-

dence with the indicia of liability to allow the Court to determine

there was a million plants or three hundred million, but anyway,

nevertheless, it’s important to point out that the defense’s position

is that there was no proof to establish that that many plants had ever

been grown. Getting back to the actual application of 1BI.3 which

allows us to determine whether it was foreseeable for Donald Clark

to — whether he could reasonably have foreseen that the conduct

of his co-conspirators would encompass all these plants, every wit-

ness that took the stand from Phillip Coker to Bruce Hendry to

Huffman, all testified that everything was a secret, they kept their

plots secret, they kept their conspiracy secret. Nobody knew what

anybody else was doing when Donald Clark pled guilty and accept-

ed responsibility for his actions in 1985. There was no proof what-

soever subsequent to that that he was involved with any of these

id

A-9

people in any way. Mr. Page said that when the police went back

there in 1985, a subterfuge, they doesn’t get a search warrant, they

got in and found a grow room, but they didn’t find any growing

seeds, plants, planters, buckets. All the things that they purged dur-

ing the first visit, none of that stuff was present at the present time

despite the fact they want to take the position that this is part of the

ongoing conspiracy.

There were no more plants. There was a small amount of per-

sonal use marijuana present on the property at that point in time.

The only pot or marijuana that should be attributed to Donald Clark

is that nine hundred plants that he was caught with, pled guilty to

in 1985. That was the total extent of his effort in the conspiracy.

Some information has just been given to this Court, though, that

they received from debriefings that I’ ve never heard before and this

is exactly the testimony that I’m saying should not be given the

indicia of reliability, such as, you should rely upon it to establish

this information is factual that these are findings of fact that you

must make at this time. If you attribute to Donald Clark his failed

effort with Phillip Coker, we would concede the point, but beyond

that, there is not the testimony to establish that Donald Clark would

have seen that there would be this many conspiracies, not one con-

spiracy, but many conspiracies. Every one of these individuals was

involved in to their own benefit, not to the benefit of Donald Clark.

The cases say there had to be a conspiracy, that he agreed to that

part of his agreement, that he willfully joined. There is no testimo-

ny he willfully entered into anything. The testimony was he was

indicted in 1985 with nine hundred plants, involved with Phillip

Coker, that was it. The argument that Mr. Page is making that Bruce

Hendry then took the offending buckets and went on further and

grew more pot, it’s a stretch of the imagination to argue that would

be foreseeable to Donald Clark and as such he should be attributed

A-10

with the full fruits of this conspiracy.

THE COURT: Okay.

MR. VAUGHN: Can I add one thing?

THE COURT: Well, really only one attorney is supposed to

make the argument, Mr. Vaughn, but go ahead.

MR. VAUGHN: Your Honor the Government’s own witness

testified that after 1985 that Donald Clark verbally informed them

that he had nothing more to do with the marijuana business and I

believe the testimony was he would not even allow them back on

the ranch. There was no further testimony by any Government wit-

ness that Donald Clark participated in anything after 1985. The

only testimony the Government provided was that Mr. Clark ver-

bally withdrew from the conspiracy after his conviction in 1985.

There was no further testimony since 1985 implicating Mr. Clark.

Like I said, only to the contrary, I believe there was at least

two or three witnesses by the Government who testified that

Donald Clark stated to them at that time unequivocally he was no

longer going to have anything to do with the marijuana business.

No testimony after that to show his involvement in anything.

THE COURT: Okay. Court’s going to defer on that temporar-

ily. Go on to paragraph fifty-nine. It is the firearms.

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, I filed an objection under the

application of the firearms for Donald Clark such as to raise the

base offense level by two degrees. The initial objection that I made

was based on the fact that Parole and Probation had determined that

the violation of probation in 1985 was part of this conspiracy. And

my main objection there was a factual one, there was no testimony

at any time that this was part of any conspiracy, that in fact, Donald

Clark was arrested in his home with a small quantity of marijuana

to which he also pled guilty and did a State sentence. At the time,

they discovered sixteen weapons on the premises.and I believe the

A-11

argument was made that because the weapons were present, that

this was part of the conspiracy. My objection is to any determina-

tion that this violation of probation and the actions that were a part

of that violation were any sort of this conspiracy, whatsoever, such

that the weapons should not be attributed to Donald Clark through

the conspiracy.

The Government has objected and has taken the notion that

any use of any weapon by any co-conspirators would raise his base

offense level by two degrees or two leveis, I’m sorry, and my objec-

tion is based on the fact that subsequent to the 1985 activity,

Donald Clark was no longer a part of that conspiracy.

THE COURT: What is your response?

MR. FURR: Judge, first of all, I believe the Defendant utilized

a withdrawal defense, defense or argument, which the Court was

persuaded to at least let the Jury take a look at that. I believe there

was an instruction to that effect. The Jury didn’t go with that.

Secondly, as to the firearms, purely and simply, I think there’s two

arguments that apply here. First is the Defendant’s possession of a

firearm during the commission of the conspiracy here which went

on for a number of years. The 1987 violation of probation arrest at

his home was accompanied by, one, the finding of some marijuana

in the house, and t:vo, the finding of several firearms in the house

and I believe a Tech nine which was loaded in his barn in the vicin-

ity of where the grow room was. And you will also recall that was

in °87. We had a witness named, I believe, Raymond King, who

was at the ranch in ’87, he was a tall, thin, dark haired guy. Judge,

I know it’s tough to remember him, but Mr. King testified he was

at the ranch in ’87 and the grow room was being utilized at the

time, and keep in mind, the grow room was about one hundred feet

from his door, now, secondly, so I think he gets attributed to the

firearms for the fact that he possessed them during the commission

A-12

of the offense. And by and in itself, that is enough for the enhance-

ment to be appropriate.

Our second argument would come under the language of the

Otero case which is at 890 Fed. 2nd 366, which was an affirmance

by the Eleventh Circuit of a sentence from this particular Court,

where a sentence enhancement is proper for a co-conspirator’s pos-

session of a firearm, that one, the possessor was charged as a co-

conspirator. Let’s look at the possessor here as being Hendry and

Huffman, make it nice and simple. They were charged with — they

were found with a gun in Glades County, when they were arrested,

they were charged. Two. co-conspirators found to possess firearms

in the furtherance of the conspiracy. They certainly did and they

testified to that effect. Three, the Defendant was a member of the

conspiracy at the time of the firearms possession. He never with-

drew really. This is the Defendant, never withdrew legally, number

one. Number two, the Jury didn’t buy any withdrawal defense

either. He gets the firearms. If there was anything these witnesses

were unanimous about, it was that everybody that participated in

this conspiracy utilized firearms. They utilized firearms because

they spent a lot of time outside. They spent a lot of time in the

woods. And when they were out there, they doubled between

poaching and looking for other places to grow or as in the case of

when Hendry and Huffman were arrested, they are out poaching

and going by and checking on their crop that was in the field at the

same time. So they all used firearms. These were attributed to this

Defendant as well. So either possessed them or his co-conspirators

possessed them, one or the other.

THE COURT: All right. Anything in rebuttal?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Your Honor. Otero also calls for

the foreseeability standard that it was reasonably foreseeable to

the Defendant that the weapons would be used in the furtherance

A-13

of the conspiracy. Though I agree there was substantial testimony

about the fact that these were all back-woodsmen, all country

guys, all hunted and poached and did all that other sort of stuff,

the testimony is just equally substantial they were using the

weapons for poaching which I wouldn’t suggest is in furtherance

of this conspiracy, any conspiracy, unless they’re conspiring to

poach. But my strongest argument, Judge, under Otero, it is not

reasonably foreseeable that Donald Clark who after 1985 had

nothing do with this conspiracy, that any weapons would be used

in furtherance of any conspiracy.

Again, I can only go back to the testimony of every witness,

that every one of these conspiracies was secret, was clandestine.

They kept everything from each other. Sometimes they interwove

their conspiracy, but still kept their sites secret, their plants secret,

everything else secret.

Judge, I would also point out that that Raymond King that Mr.

Furr alluded to testified as did Tim Young that under their visits to

Donald Clark’s farm subsequent to 1985 that they visited a grow

room, not with Donald clock, not under the control of Donald

Clark, but with Duane Clark and others. There was no evidence that

Donald Clark was living at the farm, there was testimony that

Donald Clark was working on other various ranches during various

periods of time which have been considered to be part of that con-

spiracy.

THE COURT: Okay. I'll reserve on that next paragraph. I

think we’re up to —

MR. OSTRANDER: Sixty-one.

THE COURT: Sixty-one, yeah.

MR. OSTRANDER: All right. Judge, ! objected to the Parole

and Probation’s evaluation of the role played by Mr. Clark in this

conspiracy, though they did not consider him a highly culpable

A-14

Defendant, they did not consider him a minimal participant. Under

the circumstances of this case, especially the light of scope as

drawn by the United States Attorneys Office, the Government, of a

million plants. Mr. Clark’s involvement was minimal such that I

believe he should be entitled to a reduction under the sentencing

guidelines. Mr. Clark’s evidence was that he was involved to the

extent of his nine hundred plants, that there was some testimony of

Phillip Coker that he helped him, set up his plants which ultimate-

ly failed. That’s the extent of the testimony involving Donald

Clark. As a result of that, I’m taking the position he is a minimal

participant, especially in light of other Defendants in this case, and

as such, should be given a three level reduction for the fact that he

was a minimal participant.

THE COURT: Okay, response.

MR. FURR: Judge, they’re going for four points off to the

minimal?

THE COURT: Yes, sir, four points.

MR. FURR: According to my reading of the guidelines, that

generally goes to a person's lack of knowledge, not only the scope,

but also the activities of others. \If you review the guidelines, they

say that, one, that should be used infrequently and when you look,

[ believe it’s 3B1.2, it indicates that basically that would be used if

you had a single incident participant with a menial-type role. |

believe they use the indication of a person who might be a courier

on one occasion or might participate and offload a boat on one

occasion or something like that.

Let’s look at what Mr. Clark was. One, he was a big time

grower in his own nght. He taught others to grow. The evidence of

that was from Mr. Phil Coker and Bruce Hendry. He was there over

the years for Bruce Hendry, taught him how to use root tone. | was

going througn my notes this morning; root tone, seal-a-meai bags,

A-15

how to pollinate plants. Additionally, was there when a growing

site to grow the seedlings was needed by Hendry and Timmy Clark.

And he lent his grow room for that to them. All this with a mind

towards distributing these plants later. Additionally, he sold the

product of these plants to Bruce Hendry for Bruce Hendry’s resale.

He’s fortunate that we’re not asking for points. There’s no reason to

ask for points under the circumstances. I’m just leveling it at noth-

ing, but it certainly is not a minimal participant and certainly not a

minor participant.

THE COURT: Anything you want to say in rebuttal?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Judge. In 1985, they found nine

hundred plants on his premises. That was it. Nine hundred plants.

After that, there is no record of them picking up anything but a min-

imum personal use quantity in 1987, yet they paraded their wit-

nesses in here to talk about the hundreds of thousands of dollars

that they had hidden in tubes and on their property and the proper-

ty. The case law said that you’re allowed to look at the role of the

Defendant within the entire scope of the transaction. One of the

things Mr. Furr just said, based on his knowledge of the — and

scope of the conspiracy, there was no evidence or testimony what-

soever that Donald Clark knew or understood the scope of this

entire transaction. | don’t agree there was three hundred thousand

or a million plants, but clearly the nine hundred plants that Mr.

Clark was involved in in 1985 and I would assume is the determi-

nation point for the conspiracy, at least in the mind of the

Government, a minimal participant, especially if nothing further

occurred from that date forward.

THE COURT: Okay. Reserve on that. Rather defer on that.

Next one is sixty-eight. That’s on the estimated amount of marijua-

na on weight.

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, my recollection from seeing the

— me le

A-16

original police report and I believe this came in in testimony was

that they talked about between a quarter and a half ounce. Now the |

PSR has shown it —

THE COURT: You mean pound.

MR. OSTRANDER: Quarter and half a pound and I’m just

taking that, with that I made that objection, the grander scheme of

things. I don’t think it’s going to change anything as far as the sen-

tence goes, but I wanted to put everything possible on the record as

to any objection or inaccuracy.

THE COURT: Where’s Probation?

THE PROBATION OFFICER: Here, Your Honor.

THE COURT: You heard the objection that actually the infor-

mation should be ounces rather than pounds. What's the position of

Probation on that point?

THE PROBATION OFFICER: Your Honor, that information

was obtained from a Manatee County offense report, that’s the only

information that we have to go on and | reviewed that report again

to make sure it wasn’t any other and it reflects it being pounds,

Your Honor.

THE COURT: What says the Government on that point?

MR. FURR: I believe this is what the testimony was at trial,

but I don’t want to swear to it because it was not the highlight of

the trial, | don’t know.

THE COURT: Well, Probation has taken it from the report.

What if any persuasive evidence do you have to the contrary?

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, only from seeing the Sheriff’s

report and I looked for it in my own file, | don’t have a copy of it

available. Again, I was just pointing it out to try to clarify it.

THE COURT: I understand. I can't clarify it if you don’t have

something to show me that would point out that there is in fact a

discrepancy.

A-17

MR. OSTRANDER: I understand, I can’t dispute that.

THE COURT: Well, Probation has provided a copy of the

report, is that correct?

THE PROBATION OFFICER: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: The report shows pounds, correct?

THE PROBATION OFFICER: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Well, unless you have something else, Mr.

Ostrander, I really —

MR. OSTRANDER: I withdraw my objection.

THE COURT: Okay, noted. All right. Next one is one hun-

dred, paragraph one hundred.

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, I objected to that again from the

testimony you have heard at trial. There was no evidence that

Donald Clark actually generated income or revenue that he accept-

ed from the growing of marijuana. I know from the pre-sentence

investigation meeting with Ms. Lassiter that Mr. Clark clearly

established that his sole source of income was farming revenue and

that he was a substantial, successful farmer through the *70’s and

*80’s to present and so we simply objected to the characterization

that he received part of his income from cultivation of marijuana.

THE COURT: Response from the Government.

MR. FURR: Judge, in 1985, I believe when he was arrested,

he spoke with Lieutenant Potts. First of all at that time, there were

some books found in his house which he indicated were his and we

utilized them at trial. It showed, one, how to grow marijuana on

various days within this diary-type book. Different substances

being placed on marijuana crops and different location and it talks

about that within the book which showed it was a substantial oper-

ation, and two, there were in another book, there was a ledger for

both Afghan and Sativa-type marijuana with quantities sold to indi-

viduals which generated particular amounts of money and it was a

A-18

lot of money. I don’t know how much it was, but it was in the thou-

sands of dollars that were discussed and that certainly is a signifi-

cant amount of money.

Additionally, the agent testified at trial, Mr. Potts, that when he

arrested Mr. Clark in ’85, they talked after the arrest and Mr. Clark

indicated to him that he had been surprised or been lucky that he

hadn’t been caught. He had been growing marijuana for a long

time, discussed how he grew it in terms of cutting things down in

the swamps, everything else would grow at the same time to make

it tougher to spot and that he had made a lot of money doing it and

that he made enough to pay for the ranch on a yearly basis by doing

that. Whether he utilized the money for that or not, I don’t know.

But the evidence at trial certainly was he made a lot of money in

the marijuana business.

THE COURT: Any rebuttal?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Judge, there was no proof that those

books belonged to Donald Clark at the time of the arrest in 1985 in

the search. The blanket question was asked of Donald Clark

whether the things in the house belonged to him as a blanket state-

ment and he simply referred to the house as yes. Now the

Government is coming in and specifically trying to use that state-

ment to show that Donald Clark admitted to owning those books.

There is no evidence, no testimony and in fact, to that, Detective

Livingston was drilled extensively, extensively to his knowledge of

who actually owned the books or if anybody knew whose hand-

writing it was and no testimony was given, in fact, he said he could

not say conclusively it was his books, so the evidence is not con-

clusive as to that amount.

THE COURT: Anything else?

MR. OSTRANDER: May I have a second, Your Honor?

THE COURT: Yes, you may.

A-19

MR. OSTRANDER: Well, I can respond to you, go ahead.

MR. FURR: If I could respond for a moment, Judge, if you

recall, the books have virtually everybody else that was associated

with this thing in it listed by name. Mr. Clark was not listed in there

as one of purchasers ever for any of that marijuana. Secondly, the

fact that he had the books, that he had the book on how to grow is

just evidence which supports the testimony of other witnesses such

as Mr. Hendry who after the arrest in 1985, sold twenty-five or thir-

ty additional pounds cf marijuana for Mr. Clark.

MR. VAUGHN: If I may.

THE COURT: Yes, rebuttal.

MR. VAUGHN: Your Honor, even their own witness testified

that the books were in two different people’s handwriting, so |

don’t know how they can attribute these books to Donald Clark.

Their own witness testified it was two different people who wrote

in the two different books. I don’t know how they can contend now

both those books were Donnie Clark’s when their own witness tes-

tified there were two different handwritings.

THE COURT: Okay. Is that it on the argument on the objec-

tions, Mr. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, the only other thing I would ask is

that Sergeant Potts or Lieutenant Potts took a statement or at least

wrote a statement on a police report during the arrest in 1985 that

said that Donald Clark says lease payments with money from drugs.

I don’t recall that coming in as testimony and I’m —you know,

that him giving that testimony during the scope of the trial. Again,

I can only point out that you know the testimony is not and the evi-

dence is not sufficient to allow you to determine that fact, especial-

ly based on if the only evidence they have is the books. In fact, they

had plenty of witnesses who could have testified if they wanted to

as to who those people in the books are, they never did, they just

A-20

left it hanging there, it’s an unconclusive conclusion that they want

the Court to turn into a fact.

THE COURT: Anything else, Mr. Ostrander?

MR. VAUGHN: Can I add one final comment?

THE COURT: Yes.

MR. VAUGHN: As to quantity of plants, I recall the testimo-

ny, as you recall, we well objected at the time when the

Government put a witness on, they put the charts on and their own

witness testified that on cross examination that more than half of

the marijuana fields that he testified about and were indicated on

those charts not only had, number one, he testified as far as he knew

none of the marijuana fields had anything to do with Donald Clark.

He also testified that at least half of those marijuana fields had

nothing to do with anybody involved in this conspiracy. So when

the Government’s calculating their amounts, I would like the Judge

to recall that testimony.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything else now from the Defendant

as to these objections?

MR. VAUGHN: No, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Okay. Anything further from the Government?

MR. FURR: No.

THE COURT: All right. The Court has considered your argu-

ments and the Court has examined these objections and listened to

what you have had to say this morning. This Court presided at the

trial. The Defendant took the position that he was not guilty at the

trial. Various of these items that you have listed, in fact, all of them

except the one that you have withdrawn with regard to paragraph

Sixty-eight which you concede clearly raised, if not direct evi-

dence, an inference at the time of the trial to substantiate the posi-

tion that’s been taken by the United States Probation Department.

This has not been an easy pre-sentence report to prepare. The Court

ee

A-21

wants to commend the Probation Department, this has been a very

thorough, meticulous accumulation of the facts. The preparation of

the inferences that arose based upon the evidence at the trial, infer-

ences upon which the Jury had the right to rely and based upon the

Jury’s verdict of guilt, the Jury probably did rely and the applica-

bility of the guidelines is just night on in this case. I overrule the

objections on paragraph fifty-six, already I think I’ve said that.

Paragraph fifty-eight, Defendant’s objection is overruled.

Paragraph fifty-nine relative to respectively the plants, the firearms,

there’s more than enough evidence. Paragraph sixty-one is over-

ruled. It’s just absolutely ludicrous to consider the man minimal.

The Defendant withdraws paragraph sixty-eight with regard to the

issue of pounds based upon the information that’s in the Probation

Department’s file and the Defendant’s inability to offer anv oppos-

ing evidence. Paragraph one hundred. It is certainly clear based

upon the evidence with regard to the cultivation of marijuana and

income derived therefrom and the book that has been talked about

in such great detail, the record-keeping, rather, the fact that it’s in

more than one handwriting and not established it is Mr. Clark’s is

immaterial. The evidence was found on his premises, those premis-

es are under his control and responsibility, it’s not even a close call

with regard to that.

This Court therefore overrules all of the objections of the

Defendant and the one that has been withdrawn, the Defendant has

withdrawn, therefore the Court adopts the factual statements con-

tained in the pre-sentence report, and as to which there is no objec-

tion and as to the controverted factual statement, the Court adopts

the position of Probation as stated in the addedum. Therefore, the

Court determines that the applicable guidelines are total offense

level forty-three, criminal history category Roman Numeral |, life

imprisonment, five years supervised release, zero restitution, twen-

A-22

ty-five thousand to four million dollars fine, plus cost of imprison-

ment/supervision, fifty dollars special assessment. Do you know of

any reason why the Court should not now proceed with imposition

of sentence, Mr. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: No.

THE COURT: Mr. Furr?

MR. FURR: No, ma’am.

THE COURT: Do you wish to make a statement or present any

information in mitigation of sentence, Mr. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: Yes, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Go ahead.

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, in closing arguments, Mr. Vaughn

told the Jury that Donald Clark came and took this trial risk because

he believed in this system and he felt like he was innocent. And

that’s why we went to trial, that’s why we spent a month of the

Court’s time in trying to show the Court that Mr. Clark was not

guilty of any conspiracy. Mr. Clark was involved in growing mari-

juana in 1985, he pled guilty to those charges when he had a chance

to go to trial. In 1987, he pled guilty again to a violation of proba-

tion when he could have challenged that certainly as a subterfuge

because he felt he had paid his penalties to society. Clearly, we’ ve

got double jeopardy because we want to establish some certwaty. I

understand that this is not double jeopardy as we commonly know

it, but clearly this is double jeopardy in the fact by pleading guilty

he certainly put the gun in the hand of the United States

Government so they could put a bullet in his head today. Mr. Clark

admitted and lived up to everything that he did back then, he

accepted his responsibility, he came to trial to prove that he was not

a conspirator, not that he didn’t cultivate marijuana, he admitted

that he did that and he took his punishment for that. He’s here today

because he took that risk and I would suggest even though we’re

—

A-23

talking about how much the Jury knew, it’s clear in the articles in

the paper the Jury had no idea of what a conspiracy was when they

walked out of here. Mr. Clark is looking at a life sentence without

Parole based on something that he did in 1985 prior to the enact-

ment of any Sentencing Guideline in 1984, Sentencing Reform Act

that passed, but there were no guidelines. 1987, November, they

kicked in and applied and evolved to the stage we are now. There’s

no way Donald Clark could have ever known back in 1985 when

he was putting his hands in the State of Florida he was going to be

looking at the possibility of going to prison for the rest of his life

by pleading guilty for an act he committed back in 1985. Certainly

I ask the Court for leniency and mercy. Donald Clark is a good

man. I have gotten to know him over these last two years. I may

have questioned his judgment as to how he’s handled some things,

but I really believe that he believed and he kept asking me how can

this be happening, and having studied law, I try to explain how it

happened, but it doesn’t make sense to me even as we stand here

today.

Judge, a lot of people have written letters about Donnie Clark.

He’s really a hard-working person, he’s always been honest. His

visit with the underworld of growing marijuana is his only straying

from the straight and narrow. I heard this just early this morning,

you showing mercy to people that have had severe sentences

involving personal injury or violence to an earlier fella here and

you gave the guy a break. These bank robbers are looking at five

years in prison. Donald Clark is looking at a minimum mandatory

of life imprisonment because in 1985 he grew nine hundred pot

plants when he did his punishment with the State of Florida. I only

want it on the record, I can only state that Mr. Clark does not

deserve this, that there’s a better way, the Government is all here

with their agents, they want the big deal sought so they can go back

A-24

to the other twenty-six people who pled and say now, look, this is

what’s going to happen to you. Donnie Clark’s going to prison for

the rest of his life, you better talk, tell the truth, better show us the

money, you better show us the pot. Donald Clark became convict-

ed and you can give him a sentence other than life in prison. That’s

what we ask you to do.

THE COURT: Mr. Vaughn, do you wish to say anything

before I hear from Mr. Clark.

MR. VAUGHN: No, Your Honor.

THE COURT: All right. Mr. Clark, sir.

THE DEFENDANT: No, ma’am.

THE COURT: Anything the Government wishes to say in

aggravation or mitigation?

MR. FURR: Just briefly. It’s obvious what Mr. Clark is going

to receive in terms of a sentence. However, in response to the argu-

ment by counsel just a couple minutes ago, you know, older people

when they’re around kids owe them something in terms of their

conduct. Look what’s happened to this man. The little community

out in the middle of nowhere, Manatee County, seems like half the

people there, half the young men there are in jail and why are they

in jail? They're in jail because they got into the marijuana business,

that was the thing to do. And the man over here is one of people that

made it the thing to do. His two sons are looking at having their

lives destroyed because of this. He’s got a daughter-in-law going to

jail for this. Probably every friend of his kids are tied up in this.

When these kids, little more than kids, came to him and asked him

things, it wasn’t get out of the marijuana business, it was how you

can do it better. This stuff was known as Clark bud when they were

in high school. He owes them an apology for how he lived his life.

The Government doesn’t owe him anything. I feel sorry he’s going

jail for as long as he is, I really do. At the same time, I feel sorry

<—e ——T

A-25

for each one of the people in jail, the ones that are going to jail and

that’s not very pleasant. They all have family, they all had some-

thing they wanted to do in life. But instead, a littke community out

there has been basically destroyed because of this. This is one of

the reasons right over here. That’s all I have to say.

MR. VAUGHN: I have one brief rebuttal, Your Honor. The

reason Donald Clark is going to jail is because of his sons, it’s not

because his sons are going to jail because of Donald Clark. All the

evidence that the Government put on had Duane Clark and his

other son in the marijuana business prior to any testimony that

Donald Clark was in the marijuana business. All the other people

that these so-called innocent children that Mr. Clark helped suc-

cumb to the evils of growing marijuana, that was testimony

throughout the trial, they were in the marijuana business before

Donald Clark was in the marijuana business and they were in the

marijuana business many years after Donald Clark. If these people

weren't in the marijuana business, the Government wouldn’t be

here today.

Mr. Clark served his sentence back in 1985 because all the

testimony says Donald Clark had nothing to do with marijuana

after, then he told them that he didn’t even want them on the ranch

anymore. That’s straight out testimony of their witnesses, Your

Honor. Donald Clark is being punished because he went to trial.

These other people are cutting deals, anything from probation, I

think the maximum sentence is twelve years that I’ ve heard about.

Donald Clark, it’s an insult to me as an attorney and really makes

me question the profession. We’re here to try cases, Your Honor,

not to punish somebody for exercising their right to go in to tnal.

That goes against every reason why you're here. why we’re here

and why the Defendant is here. We're here to go to tnal, Judge,

that’s our Constitutional Right, and it’s become a system now

Smear}

A-26

where you are punished if you go to trial. You're going to get life

in prison instead of probation or five years if you exercise your

right to go to trial. It doesn’t matter whether you believe you’re

innocent, that doesn’t matter. The bottom line is you go to trial,

you're going to be punished, not for the crime, but for going to

trial. Real people in this case, the real people who were the major

players, the Mark Masseys, the Duane Clarks or whoever was

involved, the real people in this case, Your Honor, are going to get

a slap on the wrists according to what Donald Clark’s going to get.

It wasn’t Donald Clark that put his sons in jail, that’s the other way

around and that’s because he’s exercising his Constitutional Right

to go to trial because in his heart to this day, I can tell the Court

that he believes he’s innocent of this conspiracy.

THE COURT: Okay. Now, Ladies and Gentlemen, I have been

confronted as have other Judges been confronted with a number of

people involved in drug activities in the last past several years in

particular. This Court has had the responsibility and the privilege of

being a judicial officer for over eighteen years. It is never any great

pleasure for this Court to sentence anyone and it isn’t. And this

Court does have a responsibility to fulfill its duty and to make some

observation or some comments.

Mr. Clark, this is not going to be long because you’re getting

a heavy sentence. During the course of the trial, | want you to know

that I told your attorneys more than one occasion that it needed to

be explained to you, and I think I even took it upon myself to

explain to you the dual jurisdiction concept, that the State of

Florida was separate and apart from the United States of America,

and that the commission of a crime could be a crime against the

State of Florida and a separate and distinct prosecutable crime

against the United States of America. Whether you agree with it or

not, whether you think it’s mght or wrong, that’s the law.

A-27

Now, Mr. Ostrander has alluded to double jeopardy. I don’t

want you to misunderstand double jeopardy. It doesn’t apply when

we're talking about two separate jurisdictions. Further, Mr. Vaughn

has talked about the exercise of Constitutional Rights and being

punished for going to trial. You have an absolute right as does

everybody who is charged with a crime to go to trial. When people

go to trial, the Court hears things that it wouldn’t hear normally at

the time of a change of piea. One of the considerations that people

have when they change a plea is to make sure that the Judge does-

n't hear some of the things that the Judge will hear if a case goes to

trial. The Judge hears the same things that the Jury hears. You had

a Jury trial, you had twelve people from the community who found

you guilty of this conspiracy, based upon the evidence that they

heard, reasonable inferences that they drew and the law as instruct-

ed to them by this Court. So, your right to trial established your

guilt. You took the position that you were not guilty. The accep-

tance of responsibility is something which ycu have not yet done.

There are a lot of people confronted with a lot of crimes that think

in their heart they shouldn’t be convicted of because they think that

that which they were being charged with should not be a crime, but

it is a crime. And they get charged with it and they either have to

admit their guilt, whether they like it or not. I’ve had some of that

within the last week in front of me in this very Courtroom, or they

go to trial and say, you know, I’m not guilty, in my heart I feel I’m

not guilty. When a Court has to instruct the Jury and they apply the

facts, apply the law to the facts, conviction may occur. That’s what

happened in your case.

Mr. Furr has talked about the example that you set in the com-

munity. Well, only you in your own heart know what kind of an

example you set in this community and these other peopie that are

going to be sentenced by this Court, whatever sentences they get

A-28

for whatever they did in return for substantial assistance, the bene-

fits they will be deriving will be because, one, they accepted

responsibility, and two, they substantially assisted the Government.

Now that’s the choice they made. You made a choice, they made a

choice. The choices were made to get involved in the rug activity

by you and by them. These guidelines are harsh. But let me tell you,

there are even more harsh guidelines coming. You will see before

this year’s out in various places the death penalty being sought for

people involved in activities similar to yours. This country is per-

haps going overboard, but out of frustration with this drug problem.

And you’re just a — you're feeling the brunt of the frustration of

the people in this country and they’re telling the Courts, do it, put

them away. Don’t have any misunderstanding about that. These

guidelines were passed to take discretion away from the Court and

they're praised in a number of areas.

Mr. Ostrander points out the bank robberies this morning, peo-

ple who pled to the bank robberies and I don’t have any great com-

fort about what the guidelines are doing on the bank robberies,

they’re too light. Those sentences are appalling to me, but Judges

don’t make laws, Congress makes laws. Congress says this fits the

crime. I can’t question the wisdom of Congress.

The Court having asked the Defendant why judgment should

not now be pronounced and no cause to the contrary appearing to

the Court and the Defendant and his attorney having made a state-

ment on his behalf and the Court having reviewed the pre-sentence

report and pursuant to the Sentencing Reform Act of 1984, it is the

judgment of the Court that the Defendant Donald Clark is hereby

committed to the custody of the Bureau of Prisons to be imprisoned

for a term of life. If released from imprisonment, the Defendant’s

placed on supervised release for a term of five years. While on

supervised release, the Defendant shall comply with the standard

A-29

conditions adopted by the Court in the Middle District of Florida.

The Court finds the Defendant does not have the ability, the finan-

cial ability to pay a fine or other costs. It is further ordered that the

Defendant shall pay the United States a special assessment of fifty

dollars which shall be due immediately. The Court finds no reason

to depart from the sentence called for by application of the guide-

lines inasmuch as the facts as found are of the kind contemplated

by the Sentencing Commission and the guidelines require a manda-

tory sentence of life.

The Court having pronounced sentence, does counsel for the

Defendant or for the Government have any objections to the sen-

tence and the manner in which this Court pronounced sentence

other than those previously stated for the record, :4r. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: No, Your Honor.

THE COURT: Mr. Furr?

MR. FURR: No, ma’am.

THE COURT: The Defendant is herby remanded for service of

sentence. You are now advised of your right to appeal from this

sentence within ten days from this date. Failure to appeal within the

ten day period shall be a waiver of your right to appeal. The

Government may file an appeal from this sentence. You’re also

advised that you’re entitled to assistance of Counsel in taking an

appeal. If unable to afford a lawyer, one will be provided for you.

There’s a further acknowledgement of right to appealment because

of trial.

Donald Clark, you have been advised by the Court of your

right to appeal and you understand you will waive the right to

appeal! in this case unless you file the notice of appeal within ten

days from this date, the date of the entry of the judgment, today,

November 4, 1991, ten days from today. You further understand

A-30

that you can appeal through your attorney or by notifying person

ally the Clerk of the Court of your desire to appeal in sufficient time

to allow the Clerk to file the notice before the expiration of the

aforementioned ten day period. You have been advised of your

right to be represented by counsel for appeal and understand that

you may have counsel appointed to represent you on appeal at no

cost to you if you're unable to afford counsel. You further acknow!

edge that you read this and you understand it and that [ have read it

to you. Madarn Clerk, Mr. Ostrander, Mr. Clark has to sign it.

Mr. Ostrander, what are you recommending, requesting for

recommendation with regard to site of incarceration. I don’t think

there's a choice, I think they have to send him to Marianna, further

from that, to Colorado. I’m not sure. What do you know, Mr. Furr?

MR. FURR: I don’t know.

THE COURT: What does Probation know about that?

THE PROBATION OFFICER: I’m sorry, Your Honor, I have

no knowledge of that.

THE COURT: You have no knowledge. What are you requesting?

MR. OSTRANDER: I[ don’t have a

THE COURT: I will—

MR. OSTRANDER: Marianna.

THE COURT: I will request Marianna, ! don’t think he’s going

to get it.

MR. OSTRANDER: Judge, at this time, I need to move the

Court for permission for Mr. Clark to have a visit with his grand-

children, if that’s possible. They, [ guess, contact Sarasota, so we

need an order from this Court, although I think he’s here now, so if

that’s —

THE COURT: I don’t think, I don’t know whether they can

accommodate the children downstairs in the holding cell. How

many grandchildren we talking about, off the top of my head’

A-31

MR. OSTRANDER: Six of them. We can do it any way to

accommodate.

THE COURT: Marshal Service, please let me know what they

can do with regard fo it. I don’t know what their demands are down

there for accommodation.

THE MARSHAL: We have all the cells full this morning,

Your Honor.

THE COURT: Sounds bad. They may, we may have to see

about getting an order to direct Sarasota to assist us with regard to

this. If you want to prepare an order, Tom, go down and see Glen

Davis who is in charge of this, tell me what I need to sign. I'll be

happy to sign it.

MR. OSTRANDER: Okay.

THE COURT: All right. All right. And with regard to anything

else with regard to Mr. Clark, I assume that you want to be able to

pursue whatever you wish to pursue in prison academically, voca-

tionally, you should be evaluated, I assume, you want that?

THE DEFENDANT: Yes, ma’am. >

THE COURT: Anything else in the way of special requests,

Mr. Ostrander?

MR. OSTRANDER: No.

THE COURT: Mr. Clark?

THE DEFENDANT: No.

THE COURT: Mr. Furr, Mr. Page”?

MR. FURR: No.

THE COURT: Mr. Clark, this doesn’t give me any great plea-

sure. I know that is no consolation to you. I want you to know |

don’t enjoy it. You’re excused.

(Thereupon, the proceedings were concluded.

STATE OF FLORIDA

A-32

COUNTY OF HILLSBOROUGH

I, CLAUDIA M. FRY, Official Court Reporter for the United States

District Court, Middle District, Tampa,

DO HEREBY CERTIFY, that I was authorized to and did, through

use of Computer Aided Transcription, report in shorthand the pro-

ceedings and evidence in the above-styled cause, as stated in the

caption hereto, and that the foregoing pages numbered | to 47,

inclusive, constitute a true and correct transcription of my short-

hand report of said proceedings and evidence.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF I have hereunto set my hand in the City

of Tampa, County of Hillsborough, State of Florida, this 4th day of

February, 1992.

CLAUDIA M. FRY, Official Court Reporter

By

CLAUDIA M. FRY OFFICIAL U. S. COURT REPORTER

vt

B-1

Exhibit B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

TAMPA DIVISION

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA )

)

)

V. ) Docket No. 90-175-CR-T-17(C)

DONALD CLARK )

Prepared For: The Honorable Elizabeth A.

Kovachevich United States

District Judge

Prepared By: Pamela D. Lassiter, United States

Probation Officer

813/228-2901 (Tampa)

Assistant United States Attorney, Defense Counsel:

Walter Furr Thomas Ostrander (Retained)

Room 410, 500 Zack Street 1206 Manatee Avenue West

Tampa, FL 33602 (813) 225-7300 Bradenton, FL 34205 (813) 746-1167

Sentencing Date: November 4, 1991, at 9:30 a.m.

Offense of Conviction: 21 U.S.C. § 846, Count One:

Conspiracy to Manufacture,

Distribute and Possess with Intent to

Manufacture and Distribute 1,000 or

More Marijuana Plants, a class A

felony.

Mandatory Minimum Applies:

Plea or Verdict:

Date of Arrest

Release Status:

Identifying Data:

Social Security No.: 262-68-0916

U.S. Marshal No.: 11 808-018

FBI No.: 47 230 TI

Address: P.O. Box 206

Myakka City, FL

Detainers:

RE: DONALD CLARK

Codefendants:

MARK DAVID MASSEY

DUANE CLARK

B-2

(X) Yes or ( ) No

Found guilty of Count One on June

21, 1991; adjudicated guilty.

July 24, 1990.

Detained in custody since July 24, 1990

Date of Birth: i 1/08/40 (Age 50)

Race: White Sex: Male

Citizenship: United States

Dependents: None

Education: High School

None unknown

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

B-3

DANIEL GODWIN Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR. Pled guilty to counts one and thirty-

nine of the Indictment on May 16,

1991. Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

BRYAN COKER Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment March 1, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for October

18, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

DAVID BRYAN ALDAY Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991, at 9:30 a.m.

GLEN GAVEL Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 28, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

EARL C. NESS Pled guilty to count one of the a/k/a

TREY NESS Indictment on May 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991, at 9:30 a.m.

LUKE BRINDLE

KENNETH HARWICK

BUCKLIN GODWIN

RE: DONALD CLARK

Codefendants: (Continued)

GARY CLARK

BOBBY ROYCE MADDOX

RODNEY TEUTON

B-4

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 20, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for January

17, 1992 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 28, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment May 16, 1991. Sentencing

is scheduled for November 15, 1991

at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment May 20, 1991. Sentencing

is scheduled for November 15, 1991

at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

ARTHUR NESS

PHILLIP HARRIS

MARVIN BENTLY

STEVEN ARBUCKLE

JUDY CLARK

ROBERT ARBUCKLE

B-5

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 28, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 28, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m

Pled guilty to count thirty of the

Indictment on May |, 1991

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 22, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count thirty of the

Indictment on May |, 1991

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

TRACEY SHIRLING

RE: DONALD CLARK

Codefendants: (Continued)

KAYUS HARWICK

MATT GODWIN

WILLIAM OWEN BARTRUFF

ANTHONY CHARLES LEE

JACK BENTLEY, JR.

B-6

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 22, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

indictment on May 23, 1991

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 16, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on May 1, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

than Neabivalial

B-7

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

ED LAST NAME UNKNOWN Pending arrest.

Related Cases: See criminai history section.

Co-Offenders:

91-67-CR-T-1 7(B)

GRADON WILGUS Pled guilty to count one of the

Indictment on April 23, 1991.

Sentencing is scheduled for

November 15, 1991 at 9:30 a.m.

RE: CLARK, DONALD

PART A. THE OFFENSE

Charges and Convictions

1. A 39-count Indictment was filed in the Middle District of Florida on

July 20, 1990. MARK DAVID MASSEY, DUANE CLARK, DANIEL

GODWIN, TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN COKER, DAVID

BRYAN ALDAY, GLEN GAVEL, EARL C. NESS a/k/a TREY NESS,

LUKE BRINDLE, KENNETH HARWICK, BUCKLIN GODWIN,

GARY CLARK, BOBBY ROYCE MADDOX, RODNEY TEUTON,

ARTHUR NESS, PHILLIP HARRIS, MARVIN BENTLY, STEVEN

ARBUCKLE, JUDY CLARK, ROBERT ARBUCKLE, TRACEY

SHIRLING, KAYUS HARWICK, MATT GODWIN, WILLIAM

OWEN BARTRUFF, ANTHONY CHARLES LEE, JACK BENTLEY

RICHEY, JR., and ED LAST NAME UNKNOWN (LNDU), are charged

in count one of the Indictment with conspiracy to manufacture, distribute,

B-%

and possess with intent to manufacture distribute | ,000 or more marijuana

plants from about 1981 through the date of the Indictment, July 20, 1990,

in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 846

2. Counts two and three charged TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR.,

GLEN GAVEL, and ANTHONY CHARLES LEE from the fall of 1986

through the spring of 1987, with aiding and abetting in the possession with

intent to manufacture and distribute 100 or more marijuana plants, and

maintaining property located in the vicinity of State Road 64 and Duette

Road for the purpose of manufacturing marijuana, in violation of 2] U.S.C

8§ 841, 856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2

3. Count four charged TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN

COKER, and GLEN GAVEL, from the spring of 1987 through the fall of

1987, with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to manufacture

and distribute 100 or more marijuana plants (approximately | 657), in vio-

lation of 21 U.S.C. § 841, and 18 U.S.C. 32

4. Count five charged TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN

COKER, GLEN GAVEL AND EARL C. NESS, a/k/a TREY NESS,

with maintaining property located in the vicinity of School House Bay in

Manatee County for the purpose of manufacturing marijuana around April

1987, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

5. Counts six and seven charged DANIEL GODWIN, TIMOTHY

KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN COKER, DAVID BRYAN ALDAY, LUKE

BRINDLE, and JACK BENTLEY RICHEY, JR., from about 1987

through 1988, with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to man-

ufacture and distribute 100 or more manjuana plants (approximately

5,000), and maintaining property located in the vicinity of Ft. Green Road

in Hardee County, Flomda for the purpose of manufactumng marjuana, in

B-9

violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841 and 856, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

6. Counts eight and nine charged DANIEL GODWIN and RODNEY

TEUTON, in 1987, with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent

to manufacture and distribute 150 or more marijuana plants (approximate-

ly 150), and maintaining property located in the vicinity of Myakka State

Park for the purpose of manufacturing marijuana, in violation of 21

U.S.C.§§ 841 and 856, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

7. Counts ten and eleven charged MARK DAVID MASSEY and

DUANE CLARK, from an unknown date to about August 18, 1988, with

aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to manufacture and dis-

tribute 100 or more marijuana plants (approximateiy 976), and maintaining

property located in the vicinity west of Interstate 75 and Buckeye Road for

the purpose of manufacturing marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C.§§ 841,

856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

8. Counts twelve and thirteen charged MARK DAVID MASSEY,

DUANE CLARK, and GARY CLARK, from an unknown date continu-

ing until around November 16, 1988, with aiding and abetting in the pos-

session with intent to manufacture and distribute 100 or more marijuana

plants (approximately 820 pounds of marijuana plants), and maintaining

property located in the vicinity of Bullfrog Creek and Highway 301, for the

purpose of manufacturing marijuana, in violation of 21 U.S.C.§§ &41, 856,

and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

9. Counts fourteen and fifteen charged MARK DAVID MASSEY and

DUANE CLARK with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to

manufacture and distribute 100 or more marijuana plants (approximately

650 plants), and maintaining property located in the vicinity of Carter Road

and Buckeye Road for the purpose of manufacturing marijuana from an

B-10

unknown date to about November 1, 1988, in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841,

856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

10. Counts sixteen and seventeen charged TIMOTHY KAY YO! NG,

JR. and BRYAN COKER with aiding and abetting in the possession with

intent to manufacture and distribute 1 00 or more marijuana plants, and

maintaining preperty located in the vicinity of Hogtown Slough for the pur-

pose of manufacturing marijuana from the spring of 1988 through the fall

of 1988, in violation of 21 U.S.C. §§ 841, 856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

11. Count eighteen charged BUCKLIN GODWIN, BOBBY ROYCE

MADDOX, MATT GODWIN, and ED LNU with aiding and abetting in

the possession with intent to manufacture and distribute 100 or more mari-

juana plants in the fall of 1989 in DeSoto County, Florida, in violation of

21 U.S.C. § 841, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

12. Count nineteen charged DANIEL GODWIN, TIMOTHY KAY

YOUNG, JR., DAVID BRYAN ALDAY, and LUKE BRINDLE with aid-

ing and abetting in the possession with intent to manufacture 100 or more

marijuana plants around 1988 in Manatee County, Florida, in Violation of 21

U.S.C. § 841 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

13. Count twenty charged DANIEL GODWIN, TIMOTHY KAY

YOUNG, JR., and DAVID BRYAN ALDAY with maintaining a house

located in the vicinity of 37180 Singletary Road, Myakka City, Florida, for

the purpose of manufacturing marijuana in 1988 in Manatee County,

Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 856, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

14. Count twenty-one charged MARK DAVID MASSEY, DUANE

CLARK, KENNETH HARWICK, JUDY CLARK, and KAYUS HAR-

WICK with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to manufac-

ture and distribute 100 or more marijuana plants in 1988 in Manatee

—

B-11

County, Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

15. Count twenty-two charged MARK DAVID MASSEY and

DUANE CLARK with maintaining a house located on Gill Road in the

vicinity of Verna Bethany Road for the purpose of manufacturing marijua-

na in 1988 in Manatee County, Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 856 and

18 U.S.C. § 2.

16. Count twenty-three charged MARK DAVID MASSEY, DUANE

CLARK, KENNETH HARWICK, and TRACEY C. SHIRUNG with

aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to manufacture and dis-

tribute 100 or more marijuana plants in December 1987 in Manatee,

Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

17. Counts twenty-four and twenty-five charged MARK DAVID

MASSEY and DUANE CLARK with maintaining a room and barn locat-

ed at 6490 Erie Road, Parrish, Florida, for the purpose of manufacturing

marijuana in December 1987 in Manatee, Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C.

§ 856, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

18.Counts twenty-six and twenty-seven charged DANIEL GODWIN

and GARY CLARK with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent

to manufacture and distribute a quantity of marijuana plants and maintain-

ing property located in the vicinity of Hurricane Bay near McCloud Road

and Duette Road in Manatee County, Florida, about 1988, in violation of 21

U.S.C. § 841, 856 and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

19. Count twenty-eight charged DANIEL GODWIN and GARY

CLARK with aiding and abetting in the possession with intent to manu-

facture and distribute a quantity of marijuana plants from 1988 through

early 1990 in Manatee County, Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 841, and

18 U.S.C. § 2.

20. Counts thirty and thirty-one charged MARK DAVID MASSEY,

STEVEN ARBUCKLE, and ROBERT ARBUCKLE with conspiracy to

import one kilogram or more of cocaine into the United States and impor

tation of one kilogram or more of cocaine from the fall of 1985 through the

spring of 1986 in Manatee County, Florida, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 963,

952, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

21. Counts thirty-two and thirty-three charged MARK DAVID

MASSEY, STEVEN ARBUCKLE, and ROBERT ARBUCKLE with

conspiracy to possess with intent to distribute one kilogram or more of

cocaine, and possession with intent to distribute one kilogram or more of

cocaine from the fall of 1985 to the spring of 1986, in violation of 2] U.S.C.

§§ 841, 846, and 18 U.S.C. § 2.

22. Counts twenty-nine and thirty-four through thirty-eight charged

MARK DAVID MASSEY, DUANE CLARK, DANIEL GODWIN,

TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN COKER, and DAVID BRYAN

ALDAY, with conducting a continuing criminal enterprise from an

unknown date in 1981 and continuing to the date of the Indictment, July 20,

1990, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 848.

23. Count thirty-nine charged TIMOTHY KAY YOUNG, JR. with

money laundering around May 12, 1987, in Manatee County, Florida, in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1956.

24. GRADON WILGUS is charged in docket 91-67-CR-T-15(B) ina

one count Information with conspiracy to possess with intent to manufac-

ture and distribute | ,000 or more marijuana plants from about 1985 through

the summer of 1990, in violation of 21 U.S.C. § 952 and 841.

B-13

25. Since the offense took place on or after November 1, 1987, the

Sentencing Reform Act of 1984 is applicable. This offense occurred from

about 1981 to July 20, 1990. The November |, 1989 guidelines were in

effect at the time the offense was committed. However, the guidelines

effective November 1, 1990, were applied to the facts of this case since

there are no ex post facto issues.

Offense Conduct

26.Information obtained from the United States Attorney’s Office and

special agents of the Manatee County Sheriff's Office reflected the follow-

ing: This offense involves 29 defendants that conspired from about 1981 to

July 20, 1990, to manufacture, distribute, and possess with intent to manu-

facture and distribute 1,000 or more marijuana plants in Manatee County,

Florida. The majority of these defendants resided in a community known

as Myakka City, Florida, which is located in rural Manatee County. Many

of the defendants are related and/or have known each other since childhood.

Since this offense involved immediate and distant family members, child-

hood friends, and a closely knit community, all defendants had common

knowledge of the other defendants’ participation in this offense.

27. All defendants participated in the cultivation of marijuana during

this ten-year span. The defendants generally fit into three groups. Several

of the defendants were “growers.” Growers were the owners of the fields

and usually ran a field in partnership with one or more other growers. Some

of these partnerships were long-term, such as the partnership between

MARK DAVID MASSEY and DUANE CLARK. The growers usually

banded together into partnerships for a growing season or for a particular

marijuana field. The defendants determined to be growers were MARK

DAVID MASSEY, DUANE CLARK, DANIEL GODWIN, TIMOTHY

KAY YOUNG, JR., BRYAN COKER, DAVID BRYAN ALDAY, DON-

B-14

ALD CLARK, GARY CLARK, and occasionally, ARTHUR NESS,

PHILLIP HARRIS, and ANTHONY CHARLES LEE.

28. The next category of defendants were “helpers” who assisted the

growers in a variety of ways. They helped clean areas in swamps, build

damns, drive vehicles, and perform various physical labor essential to the

cultivation of marijuana plants. Defendants who were involved in this man-

ner were: GLEN GAVEL, EARL NESS, LUKE BRINDLE, KENNETH

HARWICK, BUCKLIN GODWIN, BOBBY MADDOX, RODNEY

TEUTON, KAYUS HARWICK, WILLIAM OWEN BARTRUFF, and

JACK RICHEY. Generally, a “helper” would assist only one grower or a

partnership of growers at a time.

29.The final category of defendants were “cleaners” who dealt with

the marijuana after it was cut and processed it for distribution. Defendants

who engaged in this activity included all of the previously listed defendants

and JUDY CLARK, TRACEY SHIRLING, and MATT GODWIN.

30. Two defendants, MARVIN BENTLEY and ANTHONY

CHARLES LEE, do not fit into either of these categories. MARVIN

BENTLEY was a distributor of marijuana. He obtained and distributed

large quantities of marijuana from several of the growers. ANTHONY

CHARLES LEE rented and/or leased property he owned to growers on

two occasions for fields of marijuana to be grown. The first field was suc-

cessful, and the second field was partially cut before being found and erad-

icated.

31. The cultivation of marijuana was typically the same throughout

this case. First, one or more of a group of marijuana cultivators would find

a swampy area, generally an inaccessible and undesirable, which would

provide several factors they needed for a successful marijuana cultivation.

B-15

These factors included: regular water, inaccessibility, and light. Some of

the spots were located in extremely inaccessible areas, such as, huge

swamps, well off any road, while others were in wet areas near 1-75 or

other large highways in the Manatee County area. After finding a spot, the

marijuana grower decided whether to use either a system of mounds or

“floaters” upon which to grow the marijuana. They created mounds by

going into the swamp and digging up a pile of mud surrounded by wire.

Soil would then be added to the top of the “muckpile,” fertilized and chem-

ically treated with lime, or whatever was necessary, and then marijuana

seedlings would be placed upon the mound The mounds could then be used

over and over again, with little upkeep. In the later stages of this conspira-

cy, “floater” systems were created by using a large flower pot which fitted

into a sheet of styrofoam allowing the flower pot to float on the water in a

swamp. The flower pot would be filled with dirt, one or two marijuana

seedlings would be planted in it and, again, the plant would be self-suffi-

cient.

32. The defendants grew marijuana of exceptional quality. [t is com-

monly known as “Myakka Gold.” it has the highest THC level of any mar-

ijuana grown in the United States. They were able to achieve this quality of

marijuana by their unique cultivation process. Marijuana plants are either

male or female. The male plants do not have the buds, but the female plants

do. Male and female marijuana plants grow at different rates. The growers

were well aware of that and would plant large numbers of marijuana

seedlings, either in “floaters” or on the mounds. They would return sever-

al weeks later and pull all of the larger plants. The male marijuana plants,

at this stage in the growth, were discernable from the female plants. The

growers would pull all male plants to allow the female plants to continue to

grow. The female plants would begin to bud when they reached maturity

and, when there were no more male plants to fertilize them, would send out

many buds. After the plants were covered with buds, the growers would

B-16

return, cut them down, and dry them for several days. Drying consisted of

moving freshly cut plants to another location, such as a barn, where they

dried for several days. Several individuals packaged the buds. The mari-

juana would be placed either in zip lock bags or in vacuum packed bags.

No other part of the marijuana plant would be saved. The marijuana dis-

tributed from the Myakka City area was obtained from the bud of the mar-

ijuana plant only. After being packaged, the marijuana would be ready for

sale. The growers generally sold the marijuana for amounts approaching

$3,000 per pound.

33. This conspiracy is quite unlike other importation and distribution

cases. There was some competition between growers, and occasionally one

would steal from another if given the opportunity, but generally the compe-

tition appeared to be friendly. The growers and their co-conspirators often

cooperated with one another. Many growers changed their associates

between growing seasons and/or changed their association from one grow-

ing location to another. It was not unusual to see a large grower doing

menial tasks to help out another grower on occasion.

34. The conspiracy, which extended over a ten year period, involved

approximately a million marijuana plants. This amount was proven during

testimony at the trial of Donald Clark and through debriefings of the defen-

dants in this case. During this ten year period, crops were grown not only

in Manatee County, but also throughout the Middle District of Florida.

Defendants had “grow rooms” where they stored seeds. In the “grow

rooms” they grow thousands of small plants. They waited until the plants

were a few inches tali and then took them to different areas. The plants were

then placed in buckets or mounds. Some of the plants would die due to the

surroundings or environment. Defendants would “sex” plants, by pulling all

the male plants to prevent pollination. Therefore, it was normal procedure

for the defendants to lose approximately half of their crop by “sexing”

B-17

them. The debriefings of the defendants consistently confirmed these facts.

35. Throughout this conspiracy, the defendants grow and cultivated

numerous marijuana crops. All defendants have cooperated with the gov

ernment, except for Donald Clark. Testimony and evidence obtained by the

Manatee Sheriff's Office, reflected several major crops which substantiat

ed the extent of this case. They are as follows:

36. In the fall of 1986, a large quantity of marijuana crops was grown

on the property of CHARLES ANTHONY LEE located in Manatee

County, Florida. ANTHONY LEE was paid $15,000 for each crop which

was grown on his property. In addition, MR. LEE was paid to allow indi

viduals working the crop to sleep in a trailer on the property. Seedlings for

the Lee crop were grown in a shed belonging to GARY CLARK. BRYAN

COKER provided the lights, which were used to produce the seedlings.

TIMOTHY YOUNG and others planted approximately 20,000 seedlings

in the Lee field. They harvested about half of this crop before it was found

by the Manatee County Sheriff’s Office.

37. School House Bay is a large swamp area in Manatee County,

Florida. In April 1987, marijuana plants were seized by the Manatee

County Sheriff’s Office from this area. On cr about August 18, 1987, 401

plants were seized by the Sheriff’s Office. BRYAN COKER, TIMOTHY

YOUNG, and an unindicted co-conspirator, prepared and planted the field.

GLEN GAVEL dropped them off at the field. EARL NESS a/k/a TREY

NESS flew over the property and used an ultralight airplane to do surveil-

lance. Police officers in the marijuana field observed EARL NESS as they

attempted to apprehend the growers in the field. This field later was replant-

ed and additional marijuana was seized in the fall of 1987

38. In 1987, BUCKLIN GODWIN and RODNEY TELUTON grew a

B-18

marijuana field located in the northeast corner of Myakka State Park. The

field consisted of approximately 200 plants grown in plastic buckets.

39. A field of marijuana was grown off-Fort Green Road near Ona,

Florida. The field was in operation during 1987 and 1988, and was owned

by TIMOTHY YOUNG and BRYAN COKER. They grew approximate-

ly 5,000 seedlings for this field. They estimated that they received approx-

imately 30 pounds of marijuana worth approximately $2,400 a pound from

this crop.

40. In 1987 and 1988, ARTHUR NESS had a field with an unindict-

ed co-conspirator. They prepared eleven mounds and planted approximate-

ly 4,500 starter plants in a patch.

41. A field was located in 1987 and 1988 near Lorraine Road in

Manatee County, Florida. Eighteen mounds were harvested from this field.

The same site was used again in 1988. However, the crop was seized by the

Sheriff’s Department. The Manatee County Sheriff’s Office seized and

destroyed 2,423 plants. DUANE CLARK had provided the seedlings for

the 1988 crop.

42. In 1988, near Horsecreek on State Road 62, TIMOTHY

YOUNG, BRYAN ALDAY, and DANIEL GODWIN cultivated three

fields of marijuana on this property. The planting area consisted of three

spots. The first spot contained fifteen mounds. The second contained thir-

ty mounds, while the third spot consisted of 200 buckets. They harvested

marijuana and took it to Myakka City, Florida. The marijuana was hung in

a barn near DANIEL GODWIN’s home and trimmed in TIMOTHY

YOUNG’s house. DANIEL GODWIN, BRYAN ALDAY, TIMOTHY

YOUNG, BUCKLIN GODWIN, and others spent about three days mani-

curing the marijuana. The cleaners were paid $14 an hour. Defendants

B-19

obtained approximately 90 pounds of marijuana from these sites. The mar-

ijuana was split between YOUNG, ALDAY and GODWIN. LUKE

BRINDLE assisted in recovering the marijuana.

43. On August 19, 1988, officers seized marijuana plants near the

Manatee County Sheriff's Office sub-station in Manatee County, Florida.

The field had been planted by MARK MASSEY, DUANE CLARK,

GRADON WILGUS and others.

44. On November 16, 1988, the Manatee Sheriff’s Office seized

approximately 802 pounds of marijuana plants at Bullfrog Creek. The field

belonged to MARK MASSEY and DUANE CLARK. It consisted of

approximately 140 “floaters.” GARY CLARK helped place the marijuana

in this field and sold a large portion of it.

45. A cooperating unindicted co-conspirator had a house located in

Verna Bethany in Manatee County, Florida, in 1988, which was used as a

drying or cleaning house for marijuana. DUANE CLARK paid the unin-

dicted conspirators $1 0,000. The house was setup by DUANE CLARK

and the unindicted co-conspirator. The unindicted co-conspirator was paid

$10,000 by DUANE CLARK. MARK MASSEY also gave him four or

five pounds of marijuana. Participants who worked in the cleaning houses

parked down the street to avoid notice of activity around the home. Other

individuals picked them up and brought them to the home. KENNETH

HARWICK, GRADON WILGUS, and others were present and partici-

pated in the cleaning process. The cleaners were paid $12 an hour to clean

the marijuana.

46. In the fall of 1989, unindicted co-conspirators were growing a field

of marijuana in Glades County, Florida. They observed helicopters flying

around the field as they were returning home one day. They returned to

Myakka City and called DANIEL GODWIN and GARY CLARK who

B-20

assisted in removing the plants. They were able to harvest approximately 25

to 30 pounds of marijuana. GARY CLARK carried two large metal plates

with nails attached to them which he placed as booby traps in the field, hop-

ing that law enforcement individuals would step on them. The following

day, BUCKLIN GODWIN, MATT GODWIN, and others assisted in

cleaning and packaging the marijuana.

47. Various defendants possessed firearms throughout the conspiracy.

The majority of the defendants hunted with firearms for two purposes: To

check on the crops and to look for places to grow marijuana. They were

constantly searching for additional places to grow marijuana. Guns were

present in many of the homes where parts of this conspiracy took place.

Guns were also found in some of the fields where the growers camped to

watch or oversee their crops. According to case agents, guns were present

in the cleaning and grow rooms. Individuals bringing the marijuana to the

cleaning rooms after it was harvested often possessed firearms.

Role

48. DONALD CLARK is the father of GARY and DUANE CLARK.

He grew marijuana for years. This is substantiated by his prior convictions.

DONALD CLARK started other defendants in the growing business. He

grew seedlings with dirt in a pot. The pots could be placed anywhere. He

then sold the pots to the growers, and split the crops with them. He taught

them how to cultivate the marijuana. MR. CLARK was very active

throughout 1985 when arrested. After his conviction, he continued selling

marijuana plants. He was arrested again in 1987. During a search of his res-

idence in 1987, he was found to be in possession of 18 firearms. More mar-

ijuana plants were also found.

Custody Status

B-21

49. Duane Clark voluntarily surrendered to authorities on July 24,

1990. He was transported to the United States Marshal’s Office in Tampa,

Florida. Mr. Clark appeared before Magistrate Judge Elizabeth A. Jenkins

on that date, and a detention hearing was scheduled for July 25, 1990. Mr.

Clark appeared before Magistrate Judge Jenkins on that date with counsel.

The Court ordered him to be detained without bail.

Victim Impact Statement

50. There is no specifically identifiable victim in the offense of con-

viction.

Adjustment for Obstruction of Justice

51. The probation officer has no information suggesting that the defen-

dant impeded or obstructed justice.

Adjustment for Acceptance of Responsibility

52. Section 3E].1 states that if the defendant clearly demonstrates a

recognition and affirmative acceptance of personal responsibility for his

criminal conduct, a two level reduction is warranted. In determining

whether or not the defendant qualifies for this provision, appropriate con-

siderations include: voluntary termination or withdrawal from the criminal

conduct or associates; voluntary and truthful admission to authorities of

involvement in the offense and related conduct; voluntary assistance to

authorities in the recovery of the fruits and instrumentalities of the offense;

and the timeliness of the defendant’s conduct in manifesting the acceptance

of responsibility. This adjustment is not intended to apply to a defendant

who puts the government to its burden of proof by trial by denying the

B-22

essential factual elements of guilt, is convicted, and only then admits guilt

or expresses remorse.

53. Mr. Clark pled not guilty to this offense and went to trial. Upon

advise of counsel, he declined to make a statement to the Probation Office

regarding this offense. The Probation Office has no information which

would warrant a two level reduction.

Offense Level Computation

54. The guideline for 21 U.S.C. § 846 is found in 2D1.4 of the guide-

lines. That section states that if a defendant is convicted of a conspiracy or

an attempt to commit any offense involving a controlled substance, the

offense level shall be the same as if the object of the conspiracy or attempt

had been completed. One is then directed to 2D].1 where the base offense

level is determined by the drug quantity taken from the drug table.

55. Section 1 Bl.3 (Relevant Conduct) states that in determining the

base offense level, one should include all acts and omissions, aided or abet-

ted by the defendant for which the defendant would be otherwise account-

able, that occurred during the commission of the offense, in preparation for

that offense, or in the course of attempting to avoid detection or responsi-

bility for that offense, or that were otherwise in furtherance of that offense.

Section 1 B1.3(a)(2) states that with respect to offenses of a character for

which 3D1.2(d) would require grouping of multiple counts, relevant con-

duct includes acts and omissions that were part of the same course of con-

duct or common scheme as the offense of conviction. Application note one

of that section states that conduct for which the defendant would otherwise

be accountable includes conduct that the defendant, counseled, command-

ed, induced, procured, or willfully caused. In the case of criminal activity

undertaken in concert with others, whether or not charged in the conspira-

B-23

cy, the conduct for which the defendant otherwise would be accountable

includes conduct of others in furtherance of the execution of a jointly

undertaken criminal activity that was reasonably foreseeable by the defen-

dant.

56. Section 2D 1.1 (a)(3) states that in a case of an offense involving

marijuana plants, if the offense involved 5O or more marijuana plants, then

each plant is the equivalent of one kilogram of marijuana. Section 2D1.4

comment (n.2) states that were there is no drug seizure or the actual amount

seized does not reflect the scale of the offense, the sentencing judge shall

approximate the quantity of the controlled substance. In making this deter-

mination, the judge may consider, for example, the price generally obtained

from the controlled substance, financial or other records, similar transac-

tions in a controlled substance by the defendant, and the size or capability

of any laboratory involved.

57. The total weight of the marijuana used in determining the base

offense level includes the amount of drugs seized during the defendant’s

arrests as outlined in the criminal conviction section. Since these convic-

tions are part of the instant offense, they are considered under relevant con-

duct. However, these amounts do not affect the total offense level, since the

total weight of the drugs in the offense of conviction exceeds the amount

needed or required to set the highest offense level.

58. Base Offense Level: During the trial of the defendant, the govern-

ment proved by testimony and evidence, that the offense involved approx-

imately one million marijuana plants. Debriefings of all defendants in this

case, with the exception of the defendant, corroborated this information.

The drug quantity table sets 300,000 kilograms or more of marijuana at a

base offense level of 42.

4 2

B-24

59. Specific Offense Characteristics: If a weapon (including a firearm)

was possessed during commission of the offense, then the base offense

level is to be increased by two levels. Throughout this conspiracy firearms

were possessed. Mr. Clark was convicted in 1987, for possession of mari-

juana, and being a convicted felon in possession of firearms. At the time of

his arrest, eighteen firearms were located his possession. One of the

firearms was a 9 millimeter submachine gun. All weapons were loaded and

were ready for firing. Therefore, a two level increase is warranted. 2

60. Victim Related Adjustment: None 0

61. Adjustment for Role in the Offense: The Probation Officer

reviewed Section 3BI.1 of the guidelines. No aggravating or mitigating role

adjustment appeared to be appropriate in this case. Mr. Clark was a highly

culpable defendant in this case However, he did not organize, manage, or

supervise any of the criminal activity. Mr. Clark participated in this offense

by teaching others how to grow marijuana. He did not exercise any deci-

sion making authority in this offense. Mr. Clark was more of an expert in

the cultivation of marijuana and shared this information with other co-

defendents. The other codefendants then organized, managed and super-

vised their own cultivation of marijuana which was quite extensive. The

nature of his participation does not warrant any role adjustment.3Bl1.4 0

62.Adjustment for Obstruction of Justice: 0

63. Adjusted Offense Level (Subtotal) Ad

64. Adjustment for Acceptance of Responsibility: The defendant has

not clearly demonstrated a recognition and affirmative acceptance of per-

sonal responsibility for his criminal conduct. A two level reduction is not

B-25

warranted. 3E1.1

65.Total Offense Level: An offense level of more than 43 (the maxi-

mum level on the sentencing table) is to be treated as a level 43. Chapter

5, Part A, comment (n.2).

66.Chapter Four Enhancements:

43

None

PART B. THE DEFENDANT’S CRIMINAL HISTORY

(NOTE. It is the policy of the Probation Office to assume that all

defendants were represented by effective counsel or knowingly waived

counsel, in convictions which occurred any time after 1972)

Criminal Convictions

Date of

Arrest Charge/Court

67. 5/24/85

5/25/85

(Age 44)

Docket 85-821

Count |: Possession of

Cocaine, Count 2:

Possession of

Paraphernalia,

Count 3: Possession of

Marijuana;

Docket 85-843

Count |: Possession of

Cocaine, Count 2:

Felony—Possession of

Marijuana, Count 3:

Felony—-Possession of

Marijuana, Count 4:

Manufacture of Marijuana;

Count 5: Possession of

Date Sentence

Imposed/ Guideline/

Disposition Score

Docket 85-821:

12/10/85, pled

nolo contendere,

4Al.2(a)(2) 0

adjudicated

guilty, 2 years

community control,

$224.50 Court

costs;

Docket 85-843:

12/10/85, pled

guilty to all

counts,

adjudicated

guilty of counts

Laanee ©,

sentenced to 2

B-26

Paraphernalia, and Count years community

6: Possession of

control, each

Paraphernalia count to run

Manatee County Circuit concurrently with

Court, Bradenton, Florida. Docket 85-821;

Count 4: adiudica-

tion withheld, sen

tenced to 2 years

community control

to run concurrently

with Count 1.

Court costs of

$224.50;

Violation of

probation,

both cases,

7/27/87, pled

guilty, adjudicated

guilty, 18 months

State prison.

Received time

served on

: misdemeanor

counts.

The defendant was represented by counsel. In reference to Docket 85-

821, a Manatee County Sheriff’s Deputy was dispatched to a residence in

Bradenton, Florida, regarding a possible drug overdose on February 19,

1981. Donald Clark was present at the residence. A white female over-

dosed and was unconscious.

She was transported to Manatee Memonial

Hospital in critical condition as a result of a cocaine overdose. Officers

located various types of narcotics, paraphernalia, and marijuana in random

4

Fi

B-27

areas of the room. No arrests were made at this time, but all narcotics and

paraphernalia were taken into custody by the Sheriff’s Office.

As a result of the above information, the Manatee County Sheriff’s

Office began targeting Donald Clark as a suspect in narcotics’ manufactur-

ing and supply. After a lengthy investigation, the Manatee County Sheriff’s

Office obtained a search warrant for the defendant’s residence in Manatee

County, Florida. The search warrant was executed on May 24, 1985, and

numerous small quantities of marijuana, cocaine, and drug related para-

phernalia were found scattered throughout the residence. During daylight

hours on May 25, 1985, the search of the property was completed. Officers

found approximately 900 marijuana plants growing in an environmentally

controlled green house type facility located in the back corner of the prop-

erty. Other marijuana plants were growing in pots in a marshy area, near

the ranch property. Taken from the residence was a book indicating detailed

drug transactions with known drug traffickers throughout the Tampa Bay

Area. Mr. Clark admitted to detectives that he had been growing marijua-

na for a long time, and that he had made a lot of money from it. The defen-

dant was charged as a result of the search warrant in Docket 85-843.

On February 17, 1987, the defendant was arrested and charged with

possession of marijuana and being a convicted felon in possession of

firearms. His probation was violated and on July 27, 1987, he was sen-

tenced to 18 months state prison. Mr. Clark reported that he was released

from imprisonment on work release in September 1987. He completed his

sentence in December 1987.

This is considered part of the conspiracy as charged in the instant

offense.

B-28

68. 4/22/87 Count 1: Possession of 7/27/87: Pled 4A]1.2(a)(2)0

(Age 46) Marijuana, Count 2: nolo contendere,

Possession of a Firearm _—_ adjudicated

by a Convicted Felon guilty, 18 months

Docket 87-893 state prison to

Manatee County Circuit run concurrently

Court with Docket

Bradenton, Florida. 85-821;

sentence expired

December 1987.

The defendant was represented by counsel. On February 17, 1987, the

Manatee County Sheriff’s Office received information that Donald Clark

was in possession of 100 pounds of marijuana. The marijuana was report-

edly in his living room and in freezers located at the residence. On that

date, Manatee County Sheriff’s Office Deputies went to the residence of the

defendant. Mr. Clark answered the door, and the Manatee County Sheriffs’

Office advised that they had received information that he had marijuana

inside the home. Mr. Clark invited the deputes into the residence and

admitted that there was marijuana there. Mr. Clark then went into his own

room and took from the closet a bag of marijuana which appeared to be one

fourth and/or one-half pound in weight. An officer confronted the defen-

dant and advised him that they had information to believe that there was a

larger quantity of marijuana at the residence. Mr. Clark stated, “Go ahead

and look around.” In plain view of the family room alongside a pool table,

an officer noticed a .243 Winchester rifle. They also located a .22 Ruger

rifle on the dining room table. Both weapons were in plain view at the time

of the search. They questioned Mr. Clark about other firearms which might

be at the residence. He indicated that the barn had several firearms in it. An

additional sixteen firearms were located in the barn, including a 9mm sub-

machine gun. All weapons were loaded and were ready for firing.

B-29

This case is considered part of the instant offense.

Criminal History Computation

69. The total of the criminal history points is 0. According to the

Sentencing Table (Chapter 5, Part A), 0 to | criminal history points estab-

lish a criminal history category of l

Other Criminal Conduct

70.12/5/77 ——- Trespassing 2/13/78: Charge

(Age 35) Docket 77-1631-7 dismissed.

Manatee County Court

Bradenton, FL

No additional information is available.

71. Mr. Clark received in November 1985, a citation for not carrying

his driver’s license. He appeared in Court in Manatee County, Florida, and

entered a plea of not guilty to this charge. He was represented by Gregory

Hartman. The defendant provided proof of driver’s license, and the case

was dismissed in Docket 85-3762-T.

Pending Charges

72. None known.

PART C. SENTENCING OPTIONS

imprisonment

73. Statutory Provisions: The statute requires a mandatory minimum

of ten years to life. 21 U.S.C. § 841(b)(1)(A).

B-30

74. Guideline Provisions: An offense level of more than 43 is to be

treated as a level 43. Chapter 5, Part A, comment. (n.2). Based on a total

offense level of 43 and a criminal history category of 1, the guideline

Imprisonment range Is Ide.

Probation

75. Statutory Provisions: The defendant is ineligible for probation

since the offense is a class A felony. 18 U.S.C. § 3561 (a).

76. Guideline Provisions: The defendant is ineligible for probation

under the guidelines since the offense is a class A felony. 5B1.1

Supervised Release

77. Statutory Provisions: The statute requires a term of supervised

release of at least 5 years. 21 U.S.C. § 841 (b)(1)(A)

78.Guideline Provisions: Section 5DI.2 states that if a defendant is

convicted under a statute that requires a term of supervised release, that

term shall be at least three years, but not more than 5 years, or the minimum

period required by statute whichever is greater. The statute requires a term

of at least 5 years supervised release for this offense. Therefore, the guide-

line range becomes 5 years. 5D1.2(a)

Fines

79. Statutory Provisions: The maximum fine is $4,000,000. 21

U.S.C. 841 (b) (1) (A)

80. Since the offense was committed after December 11, 1987, the

B-31

Criminal Fine Improvement Act is applicable. That Act provides for no

interest on fines of $2,500 or less. Interest on fines over $2,500 accrues

beginning 15 days after the date of judgment and is based on the average

Treasury Bill interest rate. The interest rate is determined on a quarterly

basis and is not compounded. Interest can be waived or limited to a specif-

ic amount or for a specific time by the Court. A penalty of 10 percent on

delinquent fines and 15 percent on fines in default may be imposed, as well

as waived, for good cause. A notice of default must be sent out within 30

days of default.

81.A special assessment of $50.00 is mandatory. 18 U.S.C. 3013

82. Guideline Provisions: The fine range for this offense is from

$25,000 [SEI].2(c)(3) the Fine Table] to $4,000,000. [SEI.2(c)(4))

83.Section SEI.2(i) requires the Court to impose an additional fine

amount that is at least sufficient to pay the costs to the government of any

imprisonment, probation, or supervised release ordered, subject to the

defendant’s ability to pay. These costs may include drug and alcohol and/or

contract confinement costs. The most recent advisory from the

Administrative Office of the United States Courts, dated August 7, 1991,

provides the following monthly cost data:

Imprisonment (Federal prison facility) $1,492.00

Supervision $115.30

Drug/Alcohol Aftercare $172.33

Contract confinement $991.00

Restitution

84 There is no restitution owed on the instant offense.

Impact of the Plea Agreement

:

a

B-32

85. There is no plea agreement.

Denial of Benefits

86. Statutory Provisions: At the discretion of the Court, the defendant,

having been convicted of his third possession of drugs offense, shall be

ineligible for all federal benefits for up to 5 years after such conviction. 21

U.S.C. § 862(b)(1)(B)

87. This Section does not apply to any retirement, welfare, social secu-

rity, health, disability, veterans benefits, public housing, or any other simi-

lar offenses or other benefits for which payments or services are required

for eligibility. 21 U.S.C. § 862.(d)(1)(B)

88.Guideline Provisions: The Court, pursuant to 21 U.S.C. § 862, may

deny the eligibility for certain federal benefits of any individual convicted

of a distribution or possession of a controlled substance. S5FI.6

PART D. OFFENDER CHARACTERISTICS

Personal and Family Data

89. Donald Ralph Clark was born November 81940, in Bradenton,

Florida. He is one of two children born to Ralph and Edna Clark. The

defendant was raised in Manatee County, Florida. He has resided there all

of his life.

90.The defendant's father, Ralph Clark, Jr., died of cancer in Manatee

County, Florida. His father owned and operated a cattle and seed business

in Manatee County. He was also a Manatee County commissioner for six-

teen years.

B-33

91. Mr. Clark’s mother, Edna Clark, age 70, resides in Samoset,

Florida. She receives social security.

92. The defendant has one sibling, Sandra Rawls, who resides at Route

1, Box 216-A, Parrish, Florida. Mrs. Rawls is very supportive of the defen-

dant.

93. Mr. Clark reported that he left home in 1959 to get married. He

married Betty Lou DeSear in Georgia. Mr. Clark indicated that the mar-

riage did not work out and that his wife filed for divorce. A final divorce

decree was entered in 1961 or 1962. One child was wife filed for divorce.

A final divorce decree was entered in 1961 or 1962. One child was born to

this union, Sherry Victors, age 32, resides in Myakka, Florida. Mr. Clark

reported that after the divorce, his ex-wife was granted custody of the child.

He stated that he was not Court-ordered to pay child support.

94. Candice Wilgus confirmed that she married the defendant on April

24,1962, in Sylvester, Georgia Three children were born during their mar-

riage. Tammy Clark, age 29, resides in Myakka City, Florida. Donald Gary

Clark and Duane Clark are codefendants in this case and are presently

incarcerated in Sarasota County Jail in Sarasota, Florida. Candice Clark

advised that they eventually drifted apart and had different goals. Mrs.

Clark was very supportive of the defendant and stated that she maintains

frequent contact with him. The defendant and Candice Clark separated in

September 1980. A final divorce decree was entered on September 7, 1982,

in Manatee County, Florida.

Physical Condition

95. Mr. Clark ts six feet tal, and weighs 195 pounds. He said his over-

all health is good. He is not under any doctor’s care and has no history of

any serious medical problems.

Mental and Emotional Health

96. The defendant reported no history of any mental or emotional dis-

orders.

Su n

97. The defendant reported that he has used marijuana from about

1980 to the time of his arrest. He stated that he smoked marijuana once a

day. Mr. Clark said that he used cocaine for approximately two years, from

1984 to 1985, two or three times a week. The defendant stated that he

stopped because he did not like it. Mr. Clark reported that he socially con-

sumes alcohol and that is very rare.

Vocati kil

98. Manatee County School Records confirmed the defendant gradu-

ated on June 4, 1959. He was ranked 272 out of a class of 297.

Employment

99. Mr. Clark reported that he has been self-employed since 1963.

From 1965 to 1980, he leased 2700 acres in Manatee County, Florida. He

stated that he operated a seed, cattle, and sod farm. He reported that at one

time, he was the largest mover of sod on the West Coast. In 1976, he moved

out to Clark’s Farm in Manatee County where he leased 638 acres of prop-

erty. He stated that he planted sod and ran a wholesale sod business till his

arrest. He also farmed hay, watermelons, tomatoes, potatoes, and leased the

property out. He stated that his income varied depending upon the crop.

B-35

Mr. Clark reported that in 1990, he earned $30,000. He stated that from

1988 to 1989, he made $150,000. Mr. Clark reported that he averaged

between $50,000 to $75,000 a year.

100. The defendant received part of his income from the cultivation of

marijuana.

Financial Condition: Ability to Pa

101. Mr. Clark’s interest in Clark Farms in Manatee County, Florida,

was forfeited by jury verdict on June 21, 1991. It is estimated that the equi-

ty in this property is approximately $1,000,000 to $2,000,000. Mr. Clark

reported that his only remaining assets are a checking account at C&S Bank

with approximately $1,500 available, a truck valued at $2,000, and various

farm equipment valued at approximately $65,000. The defendant stated that

the farm equipment is held jointly with his son, Duane Clark. Clark Farms

was operated by the defendant and his son, Duane Clark. After the defen-

dant and his son were arrested, the business account was depleted for nec-

essary household expenses

2. Based on the ab nformation, the defendant does not have

PART E. FACTORS THAT MAY WARRANT DEPARTURE

\ tly exceeds the top of the

- warrant a departure, but

tence available

B-36

Supervisor’s Review:

This Pre-sentence Report has been reviewed for accuracy and complete-

ness.

James B. Bishop, Supervising

United States Probation Officer

Donald Clark

DOCKET NO. 90-1 75-CR-T-i7(C)

ADDENDUM TO THE PRE-SENTENCE REPORT

The probation officer certifies that the pre-sentence report, including

any revision thereof, has been disclosed to the defendant, his attorney, and

counsel for the government, and that the content of the addendum has been

communicated to counsel. The addendum fairly states any objections made

by counsel.

A position of parties meeting was held on October 30, 1991.

B TIONS

By the Government

The government has submitted no written objections to the pre-sen-

tence report.

By the Defendant

|.Paragraph 58, Base Offense Level [2DI.1 (a)(3), 1 B1.3] - Counsel

B-37

objected to a base offense level of 42. He argued that the offense did not

involve at minimum 300,000 marijuana plants or as many as 1,000,000

marijuana plants. He stated there was no evidence to substantiate the

300,000 plants and the estimate of 1,000,000 plants was nothing more than

conjecture. Counsel stated that much testimony was given during the trial

of the defendant concerning the number of plants estimated to have been

grown by various growers. He stated that at no time did the number of the

plants reach a level of 300,000. Counsel argued that the defendant should

only be held accountable for 900 or possibly 1,000

marijuana plants.

It is the position of the probation office and the government that this

offense Testimony and evidence was given during the trial of the defendant

which substantiated this amount.

2. Paragraph 59, Firearm [2D1.1(b)(1)] - Counsel objected to a 2

level increase for a weapon being possessed during commission of the

offense. He objected to the reference to Paragraph 68 of the report, stating

that the conviction was not part of the instant offense. Counsel argued that

there was no testimony at trial concerning the relationship of the firearms

and his defendant’s continued participation in the conspiracy.

It is the position of the government that the firearm adjustment is

appropriate in this case. Firearms were used in furtherance of this conspir-

acy to check on the crops and to look for places to grow marijuana.

Testimony was given at the trial that when Donald Clark was active in the

conspiracy guns were carried out into In addition to guns being present in

the defendant’s grow room and the fields home. The government considers

the defendants prior conviction in 1987, to be the instant offense. The

guidelines are applied based upon a preponderance of evidence from the

facts; the government is not required to prove all facts at trial.

B-38

3. Paragraph 61, Role [3B1.4, 3B1.2(a)] - Counsel objected to the

defendant not receiving a 4 level role reduction as a minimal participant in

the offense of conviction. He argued that the defendant is entitled to a min-

imal participant adjustment in this offense since he played a minimal role

in the “concerted activity.” He stated that this adjustment is intended to

cover defendants who are plainly among the least culpable of those in the

conduct of a group. He stated that the defendant’s lack of knowledge and

understanding of the scope and structure of the enterprise and of the activ-

ities of others it is indicative of a role as a minimal participant. He stated

that Mr. Clark’s involvement in this offense was limited to his own grow-

ing of marijuana and to his involvement with Philip Coker. Counsel also

makes reference to the fact that the probation office did not give the defen-

dant any role adjustment under 3B1.4. He argues that it is difficult to under-

stand how the defendant could be held accountable for 300,000 marijuana

plants to reach a base offense level of 42, and not be given a increase for

role in the offense.

It is the position of the probation officer that although Mr. Clark was a

highly culpable defendant in this case, he did not organize, manage, super-

vise any criminal activity. Therefore, no role adjustment was warranted. It

is the position of the government that the defendant was vertically integrat-

ed into this conspiracy and was hands-on in all the different phases of the

operations. Mr. Clark could not be described as a “minimal participant.” A

minimal adjustment according to the guidelines is to be used infrequently

such as a courier for a smuggling transaction involving a small amount of

drugs.

5. Paragraph 68 [4AI1.2(a)(2)] - Counsel objected to the estimated

amount of marijuana in weight. He stated that there was no evidence what-

soever put into the record or take from any any witness which would sub-

B-39

stantiate that amount of marijuana. He stated that at the time the amount

was less than the amount required to make one marijuana cigarette. He also

objects to this conviction being considered part of the instant offense.

It is the position of the probation officer that this conviction is part of

the instant offense. The weight of the marijuana, as outlined in the circum-

stances of this conviction, was taken from a Manatee County Sheriff’s

Office report. Should this conviction not be considered part of the instant

offense, then it would have to be scored under 4A\l.] (a) and assessed 3

points.

6. Paragraph 100 [No guideline calculation] - Counsel

objected to the statement that the defendant received part of his income

from the cultivation of marijuana. He argued that there was no evidence to

substantiate that he received any p

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.