Appendix — Exportadora de Sal, S. A. de C. V. v. Sugimoto

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

; Fliiap

o 4 65

No. 1 OCT 11 1994

U.S,

( ,

ri

iit { + ¥

fen

In the

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

EXPORTADORA DE SAL, S.A. DE C.V., Petitioner,

v.

HIROKO SUGIMOTO, et al., Respondents

On Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Ninth Circuit

APPENDIX TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Clyde C. Greco, Jr.

Counsel of Record

Scott A. Johnson

Greco & Traficante

750 "B" Street, Suite 2740

San Diego, California 92101

(619) 234-3660

Counsel for Petitioner

Page

APPENDIX A - Order Denying

Petition For Rehearing ...................... l

APPENDIX B - Opinion, Court Of Appeals

SE A NE hs ok ek sks ek ke 2

APPENDIX C - Transcript Of Findings

And Conclusions, District Court................ 12

APPENDIX D - Opinion, Court Of Appeals

te ora be ee ee en es a 88

APPENDIX E - Statutory Provision Involved -

Relevant Excerpts From The Foreign Sovereign

I 0 oo ve ok oe hs os ee 104

APPENDIX A

Order Denying Petition For Rehearing

Court of Appeals

August 2, 1994

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

HIROKO SUGIMOTO; ) No. 93-55716

KIMIKO KODANI; MAYUMI )

NUKIWA; ERI OMACHI; ) DC No. CV-88-01532-JMF

KUNIKO OMACHI,

ORDER

Plaintiff-Appellees,

Filed: August 2, 1994

EXPORTADORA DE SAL,

)

)

)

)

vs. )

)

)

S.A. DE C.V., )

)

)

Defendant-Appellant.

Before: TANG, PREGERSON and NOONAN, Circuit Judges

The panel as constituted in the above case has voted to

deny the petition for rehearing and to reject the suggestion for

rehearing en banc.

The full court has been advised of the suggestion for en

banc rehearing, and no judge of the court has requested a vote

on the suggestion for rehearing en banc. Fed. R. App. P.

35(b).

The petition for rehearing is denied, and the suggestion

for a rehearing en banc is rejected.

HUONOL

APPENDIX B

Opinion

Court Of Appeals

March 25, 1994

FOR PUBLICATION

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Hioxo Sucmoto; Kimiko Kopant;

Mayumi Nuxiwa; Eri Omaci:

Kuniko OmacH, No. 93-55716

Plaintiffs-Appellees, D.C. No.

. CV-88-01532-IMF

Exportapora De Sat, S.A. DE OPINION

st

Defendant-Appellant.

On Appeal! from the United States District Court

for the Southern District of California

James M. Fitzgerald, District Judge, Presiding

Argued and Submitted

February 1, 1994—Pasadena, California

Filed March 25, 1994

Before: Thomas Tang, Harry Pregerson and

John T. Noonan, Jr., Circuit Judges.

Opinion by Judge Noonan

SUMMARY

Torts/Negligence/Aviation

The court of appeals affirmed a district court judgment. The

court held that under California law, a defendant was liable

for the negligence of an independent contractor whom it hired

to fly three visitors from its company town.

2887 vVCOC2

2888 SucpwoTo v. ExporTapora De SAL

Appellant Exportadora De Sal, S.A. De C.V. manufactures

salt in a company town in Guerrero Negro, Mexico. An

employee of Mitsubishi Corporation of Japan, which owns 49

percent of Exportadora, asked Exportadora to provide trans-

portation for Hideo Omachi to Guerrero Negro by car and

company plane. Mitsubishi pointed out to Exportadora that

Omachi was a manager for one of Exportadora’s most impor-

tant Japanese customers. Exportadora’s van transported

Omachi from San Diego to Tijuana. Omachi was transported

by company plane to Guerrero Negro.

Mitsubishi also asked Exportadora to arrange for transpor-

tation to Guerrero Negro for Katsuo Sugimoto and Yoshihito

Kodani, professors who were interested in an agricultural

project at Guerrero Negro. A representative of Exportadora

met Sugimoto and Kodani in San Diego, and had them tans-

ported to the Tijuana airport, from which they flew in a com-

pany plane to Guerrero Negro.

In Guerrero Negro, Omachi, Sugimoto and Kodani were

fed in Exportadora’s company dining room, and housed at

Exportadora’s guest quarters. Because the company plane was

not available on the scheduled date to return Omachi, Sugi-

moto and Kodani to Tijuana, an Exportadora employee char-

tered an air taxi company to carry the passengers from

Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

The pilot of the air taxi crashed into a hill, and the plane

fell on American soil. The pilot, Omachi, Sugimoto and

Kodani were killed.

Appellees, Sugimoto’s, Kodani’s and Omachi’s survivors,

brought a wrongful death action against Exportadora.

Exportadora challenged the district court’s jurisdiction on the

ground of sovereign immunity. The court held that it had

parisdiction. Exportadora appealed.

The court of appeals held that in transporting the passen-

gers, Exportadora engaged in commercial activity in the

v000C8

oul

SuGmoTo v. ExporTADORA De SAL 2889

United States, and so fell within one of the exceptions of the

Foreign Sovereign Immunities Act. On remand, the district

court found that the crash was due to the pilot's negligence,

and found Exportadora liable.

Exportadora appealed, challenging the district court’s juris-

diction. Exportadora also contended that it should not have

been held liable for the pilot’s negligence when the pilot was

the employee of the air taxi, an independent contractor.

[1] Jurisdiction existed. [2] Exportadora was engaged in

commercial activity within the United States when the air taxi

flew in the United States air space. An element of the plain-

uffs’ claim consisted of the tortious flying of the plane in

United States air space.

[3] In addition, as a matter of California law, Exportadora

was liable for the tortious performance of the pilot. Exporta-

dora controlled the transportation offered to business visitors

to its plant and company town; Exportadora decided whether

visitors from abroad were welcome, approved them, arranged

for their transportation, paid all the expenses, fed them, and

determined where they would stay and how they would come

and how they would go.

COUNSEL

Clyde Greco, Jr., Greco & Traficante, San Diego, California,

for the defendant-appellant.

Robin Foor, Belmont, California, for the plaintiffs-appellees.

OPINION

NOONAN, Circuit Judge:

Exportadora De Sal, S.A. De C.V. (Exportadora) appeals

from the judgment entered after a bench trial in a wrongful

wOC OO d

2890 SucmoTo v. Exportapora De Sai

death action brought by the survivors of Katsuo Sugimoto,

Yoshihito Kodani and Hideo Omachi (the plaintiffs). We have

pnsdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1330, and affirm.

FACTS

Exportadora is a manufacturer of salt owned 51 percent by

the government of Mexico and 49 percent by Mitsubishi Cor-

poration of Japan. Exportadora is a major producer of salt,

which it markets internationally. It has a manufactory of salt

at Guerrero Negro, Mexico. The plant is located in a company

town. The most convenient city in proximity to Guerrero

Negro is San Diego, California. Exportadora maintained an

office in San Diego.

It is possible to get to Guerrero Negro from San Diego by

bus, but the only convenient way of getting there is by

Exportadora arranging a flight from Tijuana, Mexico to Guer-

rero Negro. For visitors to Guerrero Negro accepted by

Exportadora, the practice was for the company to send a van

to its San Diego office to transport them to the Tijuana air-

port. There was no telephone at the plant and it communicated

with outside parties by telex to the San Diego office.

On September 4, 1987 an employee of Mitsubishi asked

Exportadora to provide transportation for Omachi to Guerrero

Negro by car and company plane. Mitsubishi's telex noted

that Omachi was a manager for Asashi, one of Exportadora’s

most important Japanese customers. A second telex from Mit-

subishi to Exportadora stated, “We hope that your beautiful

explanation and arrangements wil] charm him very much.” A

third telex thanked Exportadora for accepting “Omachi’s visit

to G.N.”

On September 18, 1987 Mitsubishi asked Exportadora to

arrange for transportation to Guerrero Negro for Sugimoto

and Kodani by pick-up tuck and company plane. Sugimoto

and Kodani were professors of Tottori University in Japan

00005

SuomoTo v. Exportapors De Sar 2891

and were interested in an agricultural project at Guerrero

Negro. On September 22 Sugimoto and Kodani arrived by air

in San Diego and were met by a representative of Exporta-

dora, who arranged for their overnight stay in San Diego. The

following day Exportadora had them transported to the

Tijuana airport from which they flew in the company plane to

Guerrero Negro. The company prepared a schedule showing

that they would return to Tijuana on September 30.

On September 27 Omachi arrived at San Diego and on the

following day was transported by Exportadora’s van to

Tijuana and by company plane to Guerrero Negro. His return

was also scheduled for September 30. In Guerrero Negro

Omachi, Sugimoto and Kodani were fed in the Exportadora

company dining room and were housed without charge at

Exportadora’s guest quarters.

The company plane was not available on September 30

because of a directors’ meeting. An Exportadora employee

chartered an air taxi company to carry the scheduled passen-

gers from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

Flying in heavy fog on the morning of September 30 in air

space of the United States, the pilot of the air taxi crashed into

a hill outside of Tijuana and fell on American soil. The dis-

trict court found the crash due to the pilot’s negligence in

descending below the proper glide path and in not executing

a missed approach when required to do so.

The crash killed the pilot and the passengers.

PROCEEDINGS

The plaintiffs brought suit against Exportadora. Exporta-

dora challenged the jurisdiction of the district court on the

ground of its sovereign immunity under 28 U.S.C. §§ 1603(a),

(b)(2) and when the district court held it had jurisdiction,

Exportadora appealed to this court. We held that in transport-

wil NG

2892 SucmoTo v. ExporTapora Dt Sar

ing Omachi, Sugimoto and Kodani Exportadora had been

engaged in commercial activity in the United States and so

fell within one of the exceptions of the Foreign Sovereign

Immunities Act, viz. “the action is based upon a commercial

activity carried on in the United States by a foreign state.” 28

U.S.C. § 1605(a)(2). Schoenberg v. Exportadora, 930 F.2d

777 (9th Cir. 1991). We found the commercial activity to lie

in Exportadora’s “arranging transportation for its prospective

business partners” in the case of Omachi and appeasing the

Mexican government in the case of the transportation pro-

vided to Sugimoto and Kodani. /d. at 780.

On remand, a bench trial was held in which the district

court found Exportadora liable on the basis of several theories

of liability. Exportadora appeals.

ANALYSIS

Jurisdiction

[1] Exportadora raises again the question as to jurisdiction.

contending that despite Schoenberg, the issue remains open in

the light of Saudi Arabia v. Nelson, 113 S.Ct. 1471 (1993).

The plaintiffs argue that Exportadora waived jurisdiction after

the decision in this court in Schoenberg. We need not address

that argument, because we hold that under the precise test set

by Saudi Arabia jurisdiction exists.

[2] According to Saudi Arabia, an action is based on com-

mercial activity in the United States if an element of the plain-

uff’s claim consists in conduct that occurred in commercial

activity carried on in the United States. Jd. at 1477. In the

instant case Exportadora was engaged in commercial activity

within the United States when the air taxi flew in United

States air space, and an element of the plaintiffs’ claim con-

sists in the tortious flying of the plane in United States air

space. The jurisdictional requirement of the first clause of

§ 1605(a)(2) was met.

00007

SuGmoOTO v. ExporTapora Dt SAL 2893

Tortious Conduct

On appeal Exportadora argues that the district coun found

pilot negligence by indulging the presumpuon that if the plane

hit a hill in the fog, the failure must have been the pilot's. On

the contrary, the district court eliminated a variety of other

possible causes of the crash and relied on the opinion of an

aviation accident investigator whom it found credible and reli-

able. There was no clear error in the district court's conclu-

sion that it was a negligent mistake by the pilot that was the

cause of the accident.

Basis for Liability

Exportadora presses that it should not be held liable for the

pulot’s negligence when the pilot was the employee of the air

taxi, which the distnct court characterized as “an independent

contractor.” The general rule is clear that one is not liable for

the tortious acts of an independent contractor. The rule is rid-

died with exceptions so that there is “only a smal] area in

which the so-called general rule operates.” 6 Witkin,

Summary of California Law § 1009 (1987). California law in

this respect is in harmony with the Restatement (Second) of

Torts § 409, comment b, which states that the rule “can now

be said to be general only in the sense that it is applied when

no good reason is found for departing from it.”

[3] Here there is good reason for departing from the

already-eroded rule. Exportadora controlled the transportation

Offered to business visitors to its plant and company town.

Exportadora decided whether visitors from abroad were wel-

come, approved them, arranged for their transportation, paid

all the expenses, fed them, determined where they would stay

and how they would come and how they would go. It would

be unconscionable to permit Exportadora to insulate itself

from liability for negligence by providing the transportation

for which it was responsible through an air taxi which carried

piteously smal] amounts of insurance per passenger. As a mat-

00008

2894 SucmoTo v. Exportapors De Sai

ter of California law Exportadora was liable for the tortious

performance of the pilot.

AFFIRMED.

PRINTED FOR

ADMINISTRATIVE OFFICE—US. COURTS

BY BARCLAYS / ELECTROGRAPHIC—SAN FRANCISCO—«4/5) 588-1155

The summary, which dors mot consutute s part of the opimos of the court, » copynghted

© 1994 by Barclays Lew Publishers.

eVOOOY

x ee

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

HIROKO SUGIMOTO;

KIMIKO KODANI; MAYUMI

NUKIWA; ERI OMACHI;

KUNIKO OMACHI,

No. 93-55716

DC No. CV-88-01532-J MF

ORDER AMENDING

Plaintiff-Appellees, OPINION

VS.

EXPORTADORA DE SAL,

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

S.A. DE C.V., )

)

)

Defendant-Appellant.

Filed: July 1, 1994

Before: TANG, PREGERSON and NOONAN, Circuit Judges

The opinion filed on March 25, 1994 is amended as

follows: At slip op. page 2893, 5 lines from the bottom, strike

the sentence beginning "It would be . . ." and replace it with the

following:

Exportadora remains liable for the enterprise,

although the air taxi was an independent taxi:

“the enterprise, notwithstanding the employment

of the independent contractor, remains, the

vo00o1LO

employer’s" when it "is the party primarily to be

benefited . . . selects the contractor . . . is free

to insist upon one who is financially responsible,

and to demand indemnity from him, [and] the

insurance necessary to distribute the risk is

properly a cost of the employer’s business."

Van Ar v. Hollinger, 68 Cal.2d 245, 253;

437 P.2d 508, 513 (1968).

v0O011

APPENDIX C

Transcript Of Findings And Conclusions

Before The Honorable James M. Fitzgerald

United States District Judge

March 9, 1993

SAN DIEGO, CALIFORNIA TUESDAY. MARCH 9, 1993

--000--

(Call to order of the Court.)

THE COURT: We’re here this morning in the

case of Sugimoto and others vs. Exportadora de Sal, 88-1532.

I’m going to begin this morning to place on the record my

findings of fact and conclusions of law. The findings and

conclusions will be largely taken from the notes which I have

made up during the trial of the case and from our investigation

of the legal issues which have been raised in the course of the

trial.

The findings and conclusions which I now place

of record will be my decision in the case. I do not intend to

enter a formal decision.

The court recorder will prepare a transcript, and

the transcript will be made part of the official record in the case

and will reflect my decision.

Upon the completion of the transcript, the court

recorder will notify the parties who I have requested to make

arrangements with the court recorder so that they may order out

the transcripts.

An additional copy of the transcript will be

provided to Judge John Rhoades who has had the responsibility

for the management of the case, and I would like a copy sent to

my chambers in the U.S. District Court for the District of

Alaska so that I may address any post-trial applications or

motions made by the parties.

I shall now begin with the findings, and I will

request that the findings and conclusions be entered in the

transcript by identifying each of the findings and conclusions by

number and that each of the findings and conclusions begin after

a double space.

FINDINGS

(1) The claimants in this litigation are the survivors of

«fn

v00012

é

Doctor Katsuo Sugimoto, Doctor Yoshihito Kodani and Mr.

Hideo Omachi who, until the time of their deaths on September

30, 1987, were citizens and residents of Japan. Doctor

Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani were at the time of their deaths

professors of agriculture at Tottori University in Hamasaka,

Japan.

For about five years prior to September 30, 1987,

Tottori University had been involved in an agricultural project

located in Guerrero Negro, Baja California, Mexico. Mr.

Omachi was at the time of his death the manager of the raw

materials section of the purchasing department of Asahi

Chemical Industrial Company. _

(2) The Defendant in the present litigation is

Exportadora de Sal, a corporation formed under the laws of

Mexico which is 51 percent owned by the United Mexican

States and 49 percent owned by Mitsubishi Corporation of

Japan. Exportadora manufactures salt from seawater at

Guerrero Negro and sells the product in domestic and

international markets. Exportadora is one of the world’s largest

producers of industrial salt producing about six million metric

tons each year.

Asahi Chemical is said to be one of Exportadora’s most

important customers for salt. Mr. Omachi had arranged to visit

and inspect Exportadora’s facilities.

(3) From 1974 until 1991, Exportadora maintained an

office at San Diego, California which was connected by telex

with Exportadora’s offices at Guerrero Negro and Mexico City.

The San Diego office was heavily involved in purchasing,

shipping and transporting materials for Exportadora’s business

and, to some extent, operated as a communication center with

Mitsubishi in Japan.

(4) In Schoenberg vs. Exportadora de Sal, 930 F.2d

777 (9th Cir. 1991), the Court of Appeals resolved jurisdictional

and choice-of-law issues raised by Exportadora on an appeal

taken from the rulings of the District Court. In its opinion, the

Court of Appeals set out the underlying facts leading up to the

present litigation with clarity and precision, and I quote:

= v00018

"Exportadora is a corporation which produces

salt in Mexico. The Mexican government owns

51 percent of the corporation, and the Mitsubishi

Corporation of Japan owns the remainder.

Exportadora maintained an office in San Diego

which communicated with outside parties on

behalf of the Exportadora plant in Guerrero

Negro, Mexico because the plant had no

telephone services. In September 1987, five

relatives of the Plaintiffs traveled from San

Diego to Exportadora’s Guerrero Negro facility.

Exportadora drove them form San Diego to the

Tijuana airport and then flew them from there to

Guerrero Negro on its own airplane. For the

return trip, Exportadora’s plane was unavailable.

It chartered another plane from Aviones de

Sonora, S.A., a Mexican corporation, to fly the

travelers back from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

On that flight back, fog at Tijuana necessitated

an instrument landing approach to the Tijuana

airport. Such an approach requires the airplane

to fly into United States air space in order to

land from the west. The plane failed to maintain

a sufficient altitude and crashed short of the

Tijuana airport in United States territory near the

Mexican border, killing all aboard. The

Plaintiffs in this action are the survivors.

The five travelers made the trip to Guerrero

Negro for different purposes. Ramon

Schoenberg and Manuel Hernandez, both

California residents, worked for a pump

manufacturer and traveled to Guerrero Negro to

solicit business. Hideo Omachi, a resident of

Japan, was a purchasing agent for a Japanese

company. Katsuo Sugimoto and Yoshihito

-3- v00014

Kodani, also residents of Japan, were

representatives of Tottori University in Japan

and were visiting an agricultural experiment in

Guerrero Negro adjacent to Exportadora’s salt

production facility.”

(5) Former U.S. District Judge J. Lawrence Irving

entered findings that Exportadora arranged transportation of the

decedents between Guerrero Negro and San Diego and

transported them. On review, the Ninth Circuit held the District

Court did not clearly err in making this finding. Continuing the

opinion, the court held that, quote:

"Exportadora engaged in commercial activity in

arranging transportation for its prospective

business partners, Schoenberg, Hernandez and

Omachi, bringing them to Guerrero Negro

facilitated potential commercial dealings. As for

the university representatives Sugimoto and

Kodani, Exportadora arranged transportation for

them at the behest of its majority stockholder,

the Mexican government. Appeasing one’s

majority stockholder is an activity that a private

entity can perform and benefits future

commercial dealings in other contexts by

maintaining good will.”

(6) The District Court also found that Exportadora

maintained a regular air and auto link between its San Diego and

Guerrero Negro offices as part of its commercial operations,

that it arranged through its San Diego office round-trip

transportation for the decedents from San Diego to Guerrero

Negro and that all five decedents began their trips to Guerrero

Negro in San Diego.

On review, the Court of Appeals upheld findings

of the District Court. Moreover, the court upheld the

conclusion of the District Court, and I quote:

- LVOOLY

"Given these findings, the District Court

correctly concluded that the relevant activity was

the round trip. The decedents did not make

arrangements for legs of the trips separately.

They made round-trip arrangements through the

San Diego office at the outset, so we consider

the arranged travel as a whole."

(7) At the beginning of the present trial, I addressed the

findings of the District Court that had been reviewed by the

Court of Appeals. Exportadora had at the outset of trial

suggested those findings need not and should not be accepted as

the law of the case. In my ruling, which I placed of record on

January 13, 1993, I noted that, in order to determine the

underlying jurisdictional issues, it had been necessary for the

Court of Appeals to review the findings; that is, unless those

findings were to be accepted, the jurisdictional issues could not

be resolved by the Court of Appeals.

The transcript of my ruling contains an error and should

be corrected to state that the decisions of the Court of Appeals

on Exportadora’s immunity claim are not subject to review in

this court. I ruled that the factual findings accepted by the

Court of Appeals must be followed in this court. I then went on

to decide to what extent the findings upon which the Court of

Appeals had relied were binding on trial in this court.

I held that it was clear that the Court of Appeals

had accepted the earlier findings in the District Court but

expressed no opinion as to the tort consequences of those

findings. While the legal consequences of findings

had been resolved by the Court of Appeals on the jurisdictional

issue, the extent to which those findings have tort consequences

remain an issue to be resolved at the trial. Nevertheless, as it

developed, a great deal of evidence has been presented relating

to the earlier findings of the District Court.

(8) Tottori University in Hamasaka, Japan had for some

years prior to September 30, 1987 been involved in an

agricultural project located at Guerrero Negro, Baja California,

5- LUO0016

Mexico. Exportadora’s production facilities and plant are

located in Guerrero Negro. The company maintained an office

in Mexico City and, from 1974 to 1991, had an office in San

Diego. On September 30, 1987, the manager of Exportadora’s

San Diego office was Manuel Guzman.

(9) In 1987, no regularly scheduled commercial airline

operated between San Diego and Guerrero Negro, Baja

California. The direct distance between the two cities is

approximately 312 nautical miles. Transportation between San

Diego and Guerrero Negro was by motor vehicle or by aircraft.

Travel by motor vehicle from Tijuana to Guerrero Negro

required nine hours. Exportadora operated a corporate jet

aircraft which often undertook round trips from Guerrero

Negro, where Exportadora maintained an aircraft hangar, to

Tijuana on Mondays, Wednesdays and Fridays. Exportadora

employed a pilot and copilot to fly its corporate aircraft, the

Westwind.

(10) Transportation aboard the Westwind had to be

approved by management or the directors of Exportadora. The

Westwind was not offered for public use. Travel aboard the

aircraft was limited to company directors, officers or employees

and their dependents or other passengers for whom permission

had been granted by Exportadora. Included among these

passengers were business visitors, vendors and other invitees.

When the Westwind was not available for a scheduled

flight, Exportadora entered into charter agreements with one of

several licensed air taxi operators who provided an airplane and

pilots for the charter.

(11) During the relevant time period in 1987, Mr.

Matsushita of Mitsubishi’s Tokyo office submitted requests or

offers on behalf of Japanese visitors who desired to visit

Guerrero Negro. In making arrangements for Japanese visitors

to Guerrero Negro, Matsushita often communicated with Juan

Luna who served in the administrative department of

Exportadora in Mexico City.

On other occasions, Matsushita went directly to the top

management of Exportadora to arrange a visit for the

/

v00017

_—

representative of a company whose business might be important

to Exportadora.

(12) An exchange of telex communications between

Luna and Matsushita in June of 1987 defined the program for

the Tottori agricultural project in the latter part of 1987. On

June 23rd, Luna sent a telex to Matsushita confirming travel on

the company aircraft and reservations at San Diego and

Guerrero Negro for Doctor Takeuchi and Doctor Toyama.

Luna requested more information on the agenda and

work program involving the agricultural project and any

documents that would support the visit of the two professors.

The following day, June 24, Matsushita responded to

Luna’s request for additional information. At the time

Matsushita notified Doctor Takeuchi that travel and reservations

had been arranged, Matsushita obtained from Doctor Takeuchi a

brief outline of the planned program for the agricultural project.

According to Matsushita, Dr. Takeuchi planned to remain at

Guerrero Negro from the end of August until early December

1987.

Two other professors planned to stay at Guerrero Negro

about three months, and several other professors would visit

from time to time for about a week. The theme of the

experiment planned for August to December 1987 included:

(1) Vegetable cultivation using water-holding

substances.

(2) Study about salt accumulations on the

surface of the ground.

In addition, Doctor Takeuchi planned to discuss with

Exportadora the future of the agricultural field at Guerrero

Negro inciuding the possibility of another project.

(13) Matsushita continued to inform Exportadora of the

names and travel itineraries of professors who were to visit the

agricultural project at Guerrero Negro. He sent a telex to Luna

on September 18 indicating that two professors of Tottori

University, Doctor Katsuo Sugimoto and Doctor Yoshihito

cVO01LS

Kodani, were expected to visit the project.

Matsushita requested that Luna arrange transportation

between San Diego and Guerrero Negro for the two professors

by pickup truck or company plane leaving on Wednesday,

September 23rd and returning on Thursday, October Ist, with

hotel reservations in San Diego and accommodations at Guerrero

Negro. Matsushita also informed Luna of the scheduled arrival

time of Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani at San Diego.

(14) The two professors, Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor

Kodani, were met at Lindbergh Field in San Diego on

September 22nd by Mikiko Izumi. She had previously met

Doctor Sugimoto in 1986 when he visited the agricultural

project at Guerrero Negro. On that occasion, she took Doctor

Sugimoto to a bus terminal in Tijuana to catch a bus traveling

overnight to Guerrero Negro.

When she met Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani on

September 22, she arranged to put them up at the Executive

Hotel and that evening had dinner with them. The expenses

were borne by Exportadora.

On the following morning, Wednesday, September 23rd,

they were taken to Tijuana airport by the company van and

boarded the Westwind for the flight to Guerrero Negro.

(15) Matsushita sent a telex on September 4, 1987 to

the attention of the manager of Exportadora, Manuel Millan,

concerning a request by Omachi to visit Exportadora’s salt field

at Guerrero Negro. Matsushita informed Millan that Omachi

was the new manager of the raw material section of Asahi

Chemical and that one of Omachi’s areas of responsibility was

the purchase of raw salt. He went on to say that Asahi

Chemical is one of the most important customers for

Mitsubishi’s Mexican salt business.

_ Matsushita provided Omachi’s proposed itinerary which

provided that Omachi depart San Diego from Guerrero Negro

on September 28, return from Guerrero Negro to San Diego on

September 30 and on to Los Angeles with departure from Los

Angeles en route to Japan at 12:50 p.m. on September 30th.

v00019

Matsushita sent a second telex to Millan on September 7

stating that Asahi Chemical and Omachi were awaiting Millan’s

confirmation for the visit to Guerrero Negro. Matsushita also

noted that Omachi was very anxious because he was being

pushed by his boss to finalize his business trip as soon as

possible.

The next day, September 8th, Matsushita sent a telex to

Millan thanking him for confirming Omachi’s visit to

Exportadora’s plant. Once again, Matsushita stressed that

Omachi had authority over salt purchases and that Asahi

Chemical was a major customer.

Matsushita requested that Millan instruct his staff to

make certain Omachi was given a good impression of

Exportadora’s salt. Finally, Matsushita sent yet another telex

concerning Omachi’s visit to Juan Bremer, Exportadora’s

subdirector of produ ion at Guerrero Negro, Mr: Shinohara, a

Mitsubishi representative and assistant to Exportadora’s co-

manager, and Isamu Hina at Guerrero Negro. Matsushita

summed up his telex by saying, "We hope that your beautiful

explanation and arrangements will charm him very much."

(16) Mr. Omachi was met-at Lindbergh Field in San

Diego on September 27, 1987 by an employee of Baja Bulk

Carrier, S.A., a company associated with Exportadora.

Arrangements had been made to put Omachi up for the night at

the Westgate Hotel in San Diego. On the morning of September

28, Mr. Omachi was taken in Exportadora’s van from San

Diego to Tijuana airport where he boarded the Westwind for the

flight to Guerrero Negro.

(17) Matsushita was employed by Mitsubishi in its

Tokyo office at all times relevant to this litigation.

Documentary evidence, including telex communications as well

as the testimony of witnesses, establish that Matsushita was

authorized on behalf of Exportadora at all times between June

and September 1986 to conduct negotiations with Japanese

representatives such as Mr. Omachi of Asahi Chemical and

Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani of Tottori University for

visits to the Exportadora facilities at Guerrero Negro.

9- 00020

(18) Matsushita received offers or requests by business

representatives such as Omachi or the Tottori University

professor to travel from Japan by way of San Diego to Guerrero

Negro, Baja California to visit Exportadora’s facilities. He was

authorized by Exportadora to offer accommodations to approved

visitors at San Diego and Guerrero Negro as well as

transportation, all at Exportadora’s expense, from San Diego to

Guerrero Negro and return.

(19) On the record there is little evidence of the actual

communications between Matsushita acting for Exportadora or

on Exportadora’s behalf and Mr. Omachi or the Tottori

professors, Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani.

The three visitors were killed in the aircraft accident of

September 30, 1987. Matsushita’s testimony, either by way of

deposition or otherwise, was not offered at trial. In addition,

the records are not complete. It cannot now be determined

whether the Japanese visitors submitted requests or made

definite offers including all of the terms and conditions of the

visits to Guerrero Negro. There is, however, ample evidence

provided by the documents and in the testimony of witnesses to

establish the basic terms and conditions of the agreement arrived

at between Exportadora and Mr. Omachi and between

Exportadora and Professors Sugimoto and Kodani.

(20) Mr. Omachi was to arrive at San Diego on

September 27th. He was met by a representative of Baja Bulk,

S.A. and put up overnight at the Westgate Hotel in San Diego.

Exportadora arranged transportation for him by company van

and airplane from San Diego to Guerrero Negro on September

28th and for his return from Guerrero Negro to San Diego on

September 30th.

(21) Professors Sugimoto and Kodani were met on

September 22nd at Lindbergh Field by Exportadora’s

representative, Mikiko Izumi. She arranged their

accommodations at the Executive Hotel, San Diego and on the

following day, September 23rd, transportation was provided by

Exportadora’s van to Tijuana airport where the two professors

boarded the Westwind for Guerrero Negro. They were

-10- vvood21

———————————————————————

scheduled to return to Tijuana by air on September 30th.

(22) All accommodations at San Diego and at Guerrero

Negro for the three Japanese visitors were arranged by

Exportadora. The transportation from San Diego to Guerrero

Negro and the return to San Diego was entirely arranged by

Exportadora. The three Japanese visitors took no part in

making arrangements for accommodations in San Diego or

Guerrero Negro, nor did they take any part in making the

arrangements for travel between San Diego to Guerrero Negro

and return to San Diego.

(23) In making the arrangements, Exportadora

undertook to accommodate the travel arrangements of the three

Japanese visitors, from the time of their arrival in San Diego

until the return of the visitors to San Diego. The early-morning

departure of the charter aircraft from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana

on September 30 was arranged by Exportadora to meet the

travel requirements of Mr. Omachi in order to return him to

San Diego in time for him to proceed on to Los Angeles to

make his scheduled departure from Los Angeles at 12:50 p.m.

(24) As the Ninth Circuit held in Schoenberg vs,

Exportadora, the transportation of Mr. Omachi and Professors

Sugimoto and Kodani from San Diego to Guerrero Negro and

return was in the nature of commercial transactions. In

exchange for its agreement to provide Omachi’s

accommodations and transportation, Exportadora received

consideration in the form of potential commercial dealings.

In return for providing accommodations and

transportation to Professors Sugimoto and Kodani, Exportadora

received consideration by way of future commercial dealings in

other contexts.

(25) In July of 1987, Carmen Chavez Frazier, at the

direction of Manuel Guzman, manager of Exportadora’s San

Diego office, sent a telex to Juan Bremer, advising him that two

technicians from Berkeley Pump Company desired to visit

Guerrero Negro for the purpose of providing information to

Exportadora employees on the use of Berkeley Pump products.

Exportadora was at that time a major customer of Berkeley

Ai- v0O0022

Pump. -On September 10th, Chavez sent another telex to

Bremer’s attention stating that two technicians from Berkeley

Pump were interested in visiting Guerrero Negro to offer

technical recommendations on use of Berkeley pumps at

Exportadora’s plant.

Finally, on September 18th, Bremer responded by telex

granting permission for the two technicians to arrive on

Monday, September 28 and to return to San Diego on

Wednesday, September 30. Chavez sent a telex to Bremer on

September 22nd confirming the arrangements. The two

technicians, Schoenberg and Hernandez, left San Diego aboard

the Westwind on September 28th.

(26) Ms. Peregrino, an attorney in the administrative

office of Exportadora, was authorized to schedule the company

aircraft, Westwind, and to obtain charters of air taxi companies

if the Westwind should not be available because of maintenance

or for other reasons.

Peregrino caused schedules to be prepared including lists

of passengers to be carried on the Westwind or on chartered

flights by air taxi companies. The passenger schedules were

published each week for the upcoming two-week period.

(27) Enrique Achoy was in charge of the guest house

and dining facilities of Exportadora and, when authorized or

instructed by Peregrino, arranged with air taxi companies to

obtain an aircraft of sufficient size to carry scheduled

passengers.

(28) The names of Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani

appear on the schedule published for the weeks of September

20th and September 27th. They were scheduled to arrive at

Guerrero Negro from Tijuana on Wednesday, September 23rd.

On the same schedule, arriving on Monday, September 28th

from Tijuana to Guerrero Negro, were the two Berkeley Pump

technicians, Mr. Schoenberg and Mr. Hernandez.

(29) Mr. Omachi’s name did not appear on the schedules

for September 20th but did appear on the schedules published

for the weeks of September 27th and October 4th. According to

those schedules, he was to arrive from Tijuana on September

-12- 00028

28th.

(30) The five passengers listed for departure from

Guerrero Negro on September 30th were Doctor Sugimoto,

Doctor Kodani, Mr. Omachi, Mr. Hernandez and Mr.

Schoenberg.

(31) The Westwind was not available for the flight

scheduled from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana and return on

September 30th. A directors’ meeting had been arranged in

Mexico City, and the Westwind was committed to provide air

transportation for Exportadora’s executives.

Peregrino authorized Achoy to obtain a charter of an air

taxi company to carry the scheduled passengers from Guerrero

Negro to Tijuana airport.

(32) For several years prior to September 30, 1987,

Exportadora arranged charters with several air taxi companies

on those occasions when the Westwind was not available. One

of the air taxi companies frequently chartered by Exportadora

was Aviones de Sonora. The records of Exportadora disclose

that Aviones charters often carried corporate directors and

officers and their wives and children.

Exportadora assumed the expenses for the charter and

made no charge to the passengers. In short, the transportation

of Exportadora’s personnel and their dependents or of business

visitors on charter flights was on the same basis as flights made

aboard the corporate aircraft, Westwind.

Until the accident of September 30, 1987, Aviones had

provided Exportadora with safe and reliable air service on

charter flights between Guerrero Negro and Tijuana and return.

(33) Achoy, upon being notified by Peregrino that the

Westwind would not be available to carry the scheduled

passengers from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana and return to

Guerrero Negro on September 30th, undertook to charter an

aircraft capable of carrying the number of passengers listed on

the schedule. Five passengers had been scheduled to depart

Guerrero Negro for Tijuana on that date and, on the return

flight to Guerrero Negro, two passengers had been scheduled.

(34) Achoy made his selection of an air taxi company

-13- uVO024

on the number of passengers to be carried and upon the

availability of the company to furnish an aircraft capable of

carrying the number of scheduled passengers.

Early in the afternoon of September 29th, Achoy

obtained a charter from Aviones. Exportadora, by selecting

Aviones, provided a licensed, qualified and fully competent air

taxi operator. Exportadora was entirely responsible for the

selection of Aviones, the passengers including the Japanese

visitors and had nothing to do with arranging the charter.

Achoy was aware that Mr. Omachi needed an early departure

from Guerrero Negro in order to make his scheduled flight out

of San Diego for Japan.

Achoy requested that the Aviones aircraft be flown from

Hermosillo to Guerrero Negro on September 29 to be available

for early-morning departure on September 30th.

(35) Pilot Raul Gutierrez Tellez was selected by

Aviones to undertake the flight. Neither Achoy nor anyone else

from Exportadora participated in selection of the pilot. Rather,

the selection of the aircraft and the pilot rested in the hands of

Aviones, a licensed and certified air taxi company.

(36) There is sharp conflict among the experts who

were qualified at trial concerning Pilot Gutierrez’ qualifications

to undertake the flight of AKOA on the morning of September

30, 1987. Jack Jaax, a very experienced and expert pilot,

testified for the Plaintiffs. In Jaax’ opinion, Pilot Gutierrez

lacked sufficient instrument or simulator time during the six-

month period immediately prior to the accident to remain

current for an instrument rating or to fly an ILS approach. Jaax

rested his opinion on an examination of the pilot’s log book, the

performance of the pilot in making the flight and the actual

approach of flight XAKOA to runway 09 at Tijuana as well as

the circumstances of the accident.

(37) Experts offered by the Plaintiffs and the

Defendants have relied in part on the pilot’s log book in

reaching their opinions. At trial, Plaintiffs sought to undermine °

the validity of the log book by offering evidence that a page in

the log book containing the validation of the pilot's license and

-14- LVO02Z0

instrument rating dated June 29, 1987 and several of the

following pages were not in the handwriting of the pilot.

Plaintiffs suggest by inference that falsification took

place in order to establish the qualifications of the pilot to fly

XAKOA from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana and return on the

morning of September 30, 1987.

The Defendant, Exportadora concedes that the

handwriting may not be in the writing of the pilot and indeed

Defendant’s expert, Robert Griscom in his testimony observed

that the handwriting in the pilot’s log book may be that of

different persons. He suggested, however, that this fact would

make little difference for, based upon his own experience as a

pilot and as a Federal Aviation Administrator, where he

examined hundreds of pilot logs, he found that entries in pilot

logs were often made by airline companies, secretaries, spouses

and others as well as by the pilot.

(38) At the close of the evidence, Plaintiffs sought to

offer a questioned-document examiner to testify that the

questioned handwriting in Gutierrez’ log book was not the

pilot’s handwriting. I did not accept the evidence offered by the

expert and have placed my reasons on the record.

Although I find that the questioned entries in Gutierrez’

log book were probably not in his handwriting, this in itself

does not prove the entries false, and other evidence supports my

finding that Gutierrez was qualified.

(39) Plaintiffs also offered Richard Taylor who

qualified as an expert pilot to testify to the competency of

Gutierrez as well as to other matters. While Taylor was unable

to say, based upon the regulations for air traffic (Mexico),

whether the pilot qualified for instrument flight, he did concede

that the pilot might have been qualified under the appropriate

regulations.

However, based upon his examination of pilot’s log

book and the performance of the pilot, Taylor expressed his

opinion that the pilot was neither competent nor qualified to

undertake an instrument flight at the time he made the flight

-15- KVOO2b

——

_—

from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

(40) Robert Griscom who qualified as an expert pilot

and as an expert accident investigator expressed a contrary view.

In his opinion, Gutierrez was in fact well qualified to operate as

pilot in command of a Cessna 340A. Griscom based his opinion

on a thorough investigation of the pilot’s qualifications.

In the course of his investigation, Griscom learned that

Gutierrez had graduated from the Flying School of Mexico and

had met all requirements for qualifying as a commercial pilot.

In order to qualify for an instrument rating, a pilot is

required to have 40 hours of instrument time. Gutierrez had

accumulated more than 123 hours of instrument time up to the

date of the accident, September 30th.

In order to maintain a current instrument rating, a pilot

must either fly two hours under the hood with a qualified

instructor or have six hours of simulator time within the past six

months.

Although records of pilot revalidation for Aviones were

kept in the office of the Commandante at Hermosillo airport, the

records are maintain! for only one year and are then destroyed.

However, Griscom in the course of his investigation found that

the records of revalidation of the pilot’s commercial licenses and

instrument ratings are also maintained by air taxi companies and

that Gutierrez had obtained a revalidation of his commercial

license and instrument rating on June 29, 1987 validating his

license and ratings until January 31, 1988.

Griscom further determined that Gutierrez did not log

simulator time in his log book and that the handwriting in the

log bouk may be of more than one person.

Finally, Griscom interviewed Commandante Juarez at

Hermosillo airfield concerning Gutierrez’ qualifications as a

pilot.

(41) Griscom’s investigation into pilot Raul Gutierrez

Tellez’ qualifications to operate as pilot in command of a Cessna

340A at the time of flight XAKOA from Guerrero Negro to

Tijuana, September 30th, were detailed, thorough and provided

reliable information upon which to rest his opinions.

-16- JU002?

(42) German Gaytan was qualified as an expert in the

examination and qualification requirements of pilots, air

controllers and aviation technical personnel in Mexico. He has

served as chief examiner of the licensing department in the

General Office of Civil Aviation and in the office of the

Attorney General of Mexico.

To qualify as an air taxi pilot in Mexico, the pilot must

have a commercial pilot license. In order to obtain a

commercial pilot license in Mexico, the pilot must have attended

a flight training school and accumulate 180 hours of flight time.

The pilot of XAKOA on September 30, 1987, Raul Gutierrez

Tellez, had flown 2,623 hours.

A pilot seeking an instrument rating must fly 40 hours

instrument time, and Pilot Gutierrez had flown 123.5 hours of

instrument time.

To be qualified for a multi-engine rating, the pilot must

fly 10 hours and Pilot Gutierrez had flown 2,079 hours.

Gaytan, who as chief examiner first issued a pilot’s license to

Gutierrez, reviewed the records maintained by the General

Office of Civil Aviation and Gutierrez’ log book.

On the basis of his investigation, Gaytan found that

Gutierrez’ commercial pilot license and instrument rating had

been revalidated on June 29, 1987 and were valid until January

31, 1988. Review by Gaytan of the General Office records

revealed that Pilot Gutierrez had no accidents and no recorded

reprimands or other disciplinary action taken against him prior

to the fatal accident on September 30, 1987.

(43) Gaytan made a careful and thorough inquiry into

the records available to him at the Department of Civil

Aeronautics and his testimony was credible and reliable. Pilot

Gutierrez at the time of the flight of XAKOA from Guerrero

Negro to Tijuana on September 30, 1987 was a qualified pilot

for the flight, and his commercial pilot license had been

revalidated June 29, 1987 and was current. His instrument

rating had been revalidated prior to the flight and would have

been valid until January 31, 1988.

(44) Richard Taylor examined the appropriate

17 LV0028

regulations for air traffic (Mexico) to determine the

requirements for a copilot on charter flights by an air taxi

company. The regulations do not require copilots on aircraft of

less than 12,500 pounds if the aircraft carries certain instruments

Or equipment including an autopilot. He was aware that

XAKOA was equipped with an autopilot. However, without

additional information, he could not say if the flight of XAKOA

on September 30th was in violation of the regulations requiring

a copilot.

(45) In Robert Griscom’s opinion, no copilot was

required for the flight of XAKOA from Guerrero Negro to

Tijuana on September 30th. Based on his examination of

Article 132(b) of the regulations for air traffic (Mexico), he

expressed his opinion that XAKOA carried the necessary

navigational equipment including an autopilot.

He also stated it was the practice or custom to qualify

pilots for operation of the autopilot at the time a pilot prepared

for revalidation of their licenses and instrument ratings.

German Gaytan who had reviewed the official records and pilot

log of Raul Gutierrez Tellez found that, at the time of departure

of XAKOA from Guerrero Negro on the morning of September

30th, the instruments and other navigational equipment installed

in the aircraft and the qualifications of Pilot Raul Gutierrez

Tellez allowed the flight from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana to be

conducted under the controlling regulations, Article 134(b)(II),

Mexican Air Regulations, without a copilot.

(46) I find that the instruments and other navigational

equipment installed on the aircraft and the qualifications of the

pilot, Raul Gutierrez Tellez permitted the flight of XAKOA to

be conducted without a copilot in full compliance with the

controlling Mexican air traffic regulations.

Immediately prior to the time of departure, XAKOA

shortly after 6:00 a.m. on the morning of September 30, 1987,

Pilot Gutierrez would fiave had available to him terminal

weather and airway reports for a flight to Tijuana. Access to

Tijuana airport weather could be obtained at that time by pilots

24 hours a day by telephone call to government-maintained

00029

-18-

facilities at Mazatlan.

(47) Following Gutierrez’ arrival at Guerrero Negro,

Enrique Achoy took the pilot to Exportadora’s guest quarters to

provide overnight accommodations for him. As they entered the

dining room, Achoy observed a group of Japanese at dinner.

The group included Doctor Sugimoto, Doctor Kodani, Mr.

Omachi, Mr. Hina and probably Doctor Takeuchi.

Achoy did not speak Japanese but spoke in either

Spanish or English to Mr. Hina or Doctor Takeuchi. Achoy

introduced Gutierrez saying that he would be their pilot for the

flight on the next day.

The departure of the flight from Guerrero Negro to

Tijuana had been originally scheduled at 7:00 a.m. The

Westwind would have been able to make the flight in

approximately one hour and, upon departure at 7:00 a.m.,

would arrive at Tijuana by 8:00 a.m., but the Cessna 340A

furnished by Aviones was a turbo-driven propeller aircraft and

required two hours to make the flight.

Gutierrez, when he learned that Omachi needed to arrive

at Tijuana at 8:00 a.m., informed Achoy that the departure of

XAKOA should be at 6:00 a.m.

Hina then informed Mr. Omachi, Doctor Sugimoto and

Doctor Kodani that departure of the flight was scheduled for

6:00 a.m.

Achoy also told Gutierrez that, if conditions were not

right in Tijuana airport, the pilot could proceed to Mexicali.

(48) Jose Blanco, the supervisor of salt production for

Exportadora at Guerrero Negro, informed Schoenberg and

Hernandez on the evening of September 29 that the aircraft was

leaving very early the next morning because a Japanese

passenger had to arrive at Tijuana in order to make a flight

connection.

(49) Exportadora scheduled the flight to depart so that

Omachi could meet his travel arrangements beyond San Diego.

But the decision to make the flight and fuil control of the

aircraft during the flight rested with Pilot Raul Gutierrez Tellez.

-19- vUOO80

Insofar as Exportadora was concerned, Aviones was an

independent contractor responsible for the selection of a

competent, qualified pilot and a suitably, properly maintained

aircraft. But the transportation of the passengers by Aviones

from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana was on behalf of Exportadora

in discharge of Exportadora’s obligation to the scheduled

passengers. The Aviones pilot and aircraft was nothing more

than a substitution for Exportadora’s pilot and the Westwind,

and the obligation to return the passengers from Guerrero Negro

to San Diego remained with Exportadora.

(50) Shortly after 6:00 a.m. on September 30, 1987,

the five passengers boarded XAKOA for the flight to Tijuana.

Prior to boarding, the pilot weighed the baggage of each

passenger. Victor Garcia, employed in the San Diego office of

Exportadora, estimated mail bags from Guerrero Negro weighed

five to seven pounds, although heavier loads might be taken in

mail bags from Tijuana to Guerrero Negro.

It has been suggested by Plaintiffs that XAKOA may

have been overloaded at the time of departure. Evidence related

to the takeoff weight of the aircraft fails to prove that XAKOA

was overloaded. No expert who testified as to the cause of the

accident has formed an opinion that improper overloading of

XAKOA was the cause of the accident.

I find that the Plaintiffs have failed to prove that

XAKOA was eitlier improperly loaded or overloaded for the

flight from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana airport on September 30,

1987.

(51) Plaintiffs offered evidence suggesting that

Exportadora caused the departure of XAKOA from Guerrero

Negro to Tijuana when Tijuana airfield was below IFR

conditions thereby causing the aircraft to make an approach to

Tijuana airport when the airfield was below IFR minimums or

had zero visibility.

Exportadora scheduled the flight of XAKOA to

accommodate Omachi’s travel schedule. The evidence is

conflicting on whether Gutierrez filed an IFR flight plan.

(52) Robert Griscom, the expert pilot and accident

-20- sVOO3L

ZZ

investigator, expressed an opinion that Gutierrez filed an IFR

flight plan designating Mexicali as an alternate airport. He

rested this opinion upon his investigation in which he learned of

the altitude flown by the pilot en route to Tijuana. The altitude

flown by the pilot, Gutierrez from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana

would have been inappropriate for VFR flight.

(53) Richard Taylor, a pilot expert for Plaintiffs, noted

that the preliminary report of the NTSB reported that an IFR

flight plan had been filed for the flight of XAKOA to Tijuana

the morning of September 30th. However, in the final NTSB

report, Taylor noted that the appropriate entry for an IFR flight

had not been entered in the report and believed that the NTSB

investigator, Wahl, found a lack of sufficient information.

I find the evidence given by Robert Griscom to be

credible and reliable on this point. It is more probable than not

that Pilot Gutierrez filed an IFR flight plan prior to departing

Guerrero Negro for Tijuana and that Gutierrez did so based on

whatever information may have been available to him prior to

departure of XAKOA from Guerrero Negro.

(54) After XAKOA departed for Tijuana airport, Achoy

sent a telex advising Guzman at San Diego of the departure

time. He backdated the telex to September 29.

(55) The two expert pilots who testified on behalf of the

Plaintiffs as to the cause of the accident on September 30, 1987,

Jaax and Taylor, were of the opinion that adequate fuel was on

board XAKOA at the time Pilot Gutierrez made the approach to

runway 09 at Tijuana.

(56) William Ross, who was qualified by the Plaintiffs

as an expert aircraft accident investigator, expressed his opinion

that at the time of impact the aircraft was neither at stall speed

nor low power setting.

(S7) But Plaintiffs also called a number of witnesses

who testified they were unable to detect the odor of fuel at the

time those witnesses were at the site of the wreckage September

30, 1987.

Among the witnesses who did not detect the odor of fuel

Or any signs of fuel spillage were James Evans, Jesus Cesena,

21- FVOO38Z

CL

Terrance Baird, William Johnson and Carl Eklund.

(58) Several witnesses testified that shortly before the

accident they heard an aircraft which they believed to have been

the aircraft that was involved in the accident and that the engines

of the aircraft sounded similar to engines running out of fuel or

not normally operating.

These witnesses also presented by Plaintiffs included

Juanita Reyes, Francisco Figueroa and Salvador Cervantes.

Finally, in an affidavit filed by Plaintiffs’ attorney,

Robin Foor, May 1, 1989, he stated, based on his personal

knowledge, that a defective condition in the Cessna 340A caused

a fuel leak which may have caused or contributed to the crash.

(59) Enrique Achoy, after the arrival of XAKOA on

September 29, 1987 at Guerrero Negro from Hermosillo, asked

Gutierrez whether the pilot had fuel for the flight. Gutierrez

responded that he had.

William Ross, who arrived at the site of the wreckage

on October Ist, examined the remaining wreckage of XAKOA.

Much of the wreckage of the aircraft had by then been carried

away since the NTSB investigator had failed to arrange for

guards or other law enforcement protection overnight at the site

of the crash.

Ross, however, was able to examine the remains of the

fuselage of XAKOA and detected the odor of fuel in the

upholstery. Ross was also able to examine photographs of the

wreckage taken on September 30th including a wing-tip fuel

tank. He found that a wing-tip tank had bulged forward from

fuel pressure at the time of impact. In his opinion, the fuel then

vaporized into the atmosphere. The fuel lines were torn and

retained no fuel.

(60) The witnesses who believed that they heard the

engines of the aircraft running out of fuel were not operating

normally were, I find, not reliable witnesses concerning the

condition of the engines or the fuel state of XAKOA shortly

before impact.

(61) Neither the tape, Exhibit YYY, or transcript,

Exhibit WW, indicate any communication between the pilot and

4. GUVO0388

the air controller having to do with low fuel state or engine

malfunction. The pilot on several occasions in his

communications with the air controller indicated that he was

considering an alternate field. It is highly improbable that the

pilot would consider an alternate field in the event of engine

malfunction or exhausted or low fuel state.

(62) The testimony of the pilot experts called by the

Plaintiffs and of the expert aircraft accident investigator, Ross

are credible, and their opinions having to do with fuel

exhaustion and power settings at the time of impact are reliable.

The impact of XAKOA on the hillside on the approach

of the aircraft to runway 09, Tijuana airport, was not caused by

fuel exhaustion or from lack of fuel aboard the aircraft on the

morning of September 30, !987.

(63) The opinions offered by the experts are in sharp

conflict on the cause of the accident. Plaintiffs’ pilot experts are

of the opinion that Raul Gutierrez Tellez was neither competent

nor qualified to make the flight from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana

on the morning of September 30, 1987 and in their opinion the

cause of the accident was due to errors on the part of the pilot.

On the other hand, Defense expert Griscom is of the

Opinion that the cause of the accident can never be known

because of the removal of the wreckage of the aircraft from the

site of the accident during the evening of September 30th and

the morning of October Ist.

Defendants’ expert is also of the opinion that the air

controller at Tijuana airport had taken full control of the

approach made by the pilot to runway 09 and, under the

circumstances then existing, contributed to cause the accident.

(64) Richard Taylor, a pilot expert qualified by the

Plaintiffs, was of the opinion that Pilot Raul Gutierrez Tellez

was neither qualified nor competent to make the flight from

Guerrero Negro to Tijuana on September 30th. He based his

opinion regarding the pilot’s qualification on the pilot’s log

book. I have earlier made findings that the pilot was fully

qualified to fly an IFR approach to runway 09 on September

-23- wUOR84

30th.

(65) In Taylor’s opinion, Pilot Raul Gutierrez Tellez

demonstrated his lack of competence by not ascertaining the

weather for the flight he was about to undertake, by attempting

an approach under conditions of zero visibility and by failing to

follow the proner glide slope to the runway.

In eat: «¢ findings, I found that Pilot Gutierrez probably

filed an IFR flight plan based on information available to him at

Guerrero Negro.

Taylor’s opinion that the pilot attempted an approach to

runway 09 under zero visibility rested upon his belief that the

pilot received information thai zero visibility existed at Tijuana

airport at the time the pilot made his first contact with the

Tijuana air controller, some 50 miles away from the airport.

According to Taylor, he was able to make out on the

tape, YYY, the Spanish words for zero visibility. The tape

itself was obtained from Plaintiffs’ attorney, Robin Foor after

Robert Griscom requested a copy.

According to Griscom, he was told by Foor, and I

quote, "It’s the best we have."

Tape, Exhibit YYY, was transcribed and, upon

examination of the transcript, Exhibit WW by qualified

interpreters and following an evidentiary hearing was received

into evidence as having been sufficiently authenticated and

reliable.

(66) Taylor statement that the words “zero visibility"

appear on the tape is not supported by the evidence. I find that

the section of the tape where Taylor is said to have the words

"zero visibility” is too garbled to understand on both the

enhanced and unenhanced versions.

Several expert translators retained by the parties have

been unable to discern the Spanish phrase for "zero visibility"

on either tape. Those words are not on the tapes.

(67) At trial, Plaintiffs offered another version of a

transcript, sometimes referred to as the "SENEAM" transcript.

That transcript does contain a communication from the air

controller to the pilot of XAKOA that Tijuana has zero

-24- LUVO080

visibility. Gaytan was able to examine some of the records

during his investigation into the pilot's qualifications and the

maintenance and inspection of Aviones air taxi operations. But

when Gaytan requested the file relating to the official

investigation of the crash of XAKOA by the Mexican

government, the records were withheld from him by the agency

having custody of the documents.

But Gaytan had reviewed the transcript designated as

identification 13, referred to as the "SENEAM*" transcript after

it had been provided to Defense Counsel by Plaintiffs several

days before Gaytan’s deposition of January 31, 1992.

Gaytan was unable to authenticate the transcript as a part

of the official record of the investigation by Mexican authorities

into the accident, nor was he able to obtain access to the original

tape of the communications between the air controller at Tijuana

airport and the pilot of XAKOA shortly before the accident.

While he said at his deposition that the air controller at

Tijuana airport had provided the pilot with weather information

and received information that the field was closed, Gaytan

explained at trial that those statements were entirely based upon

his review of the "SENEAM" transcript.

(68) After Gaytan examined the transcript, Exhibit

WW, prepared from the tape, Exhibit YYY, furnished by

Plaintiffs’ counsel, Gaytan changed the opinion expressed by

him at the deposition and believed at the time he testified during

the trial that the air controller did not inform Pilot Gutierrez of

weather conditions at Tijuana or that the airport was closed.

Although Gaytan has attempted to obtain additional

information relating to the recorded conversations from the

government agencies in Mexico, he has been unable to do so.

Following an evidentiary hearing, I found that the

"SENEAM*" transcript had not been sufficiently authenticated to

be received into evidence, and it has not been made an exhibit.

(69) There are other reasons which render it improbable

that Pilot Gutierrez attempted an approach to runway 09

believing that visibility was zero. According to transcript WW,

the controller mentions minimum conditions at the airport,

-25- cU003b

wees :

saying, quote:

"Okay, then...uh...the attempt... uh...where it

would adapt better to the minimums is to the

ILS to the runway 09 with calm wind. Uh...

considering this continue on radial 144 to

execute the arrival codified as Avena two and

the ILS to the runway zero nine."

(70) Earlier, after having been told by the controller

that the airfield was restricted to all operations, Pilot Gutierrez

inquired if the field is closed due to fog with winds. The

controller responds, quote:

"Uh...no, not closed, gentlemen. The airport is

restricted to all type of operations because it’s

[garbled]."

(71) The pilot, Raul Gutierrez Tellez, then indicated his

willingness to proceed to Tecate and at that point the controller

offered Pilot Gutierrez the opportunity to make an attempt with

the controller’s assistance.

(72) At the time that Gutierrez in XAKOA began an

approach to runway 09 at Tijuana airport, the pilot had not been

informed that the visibility on the runways was zero nor that the

field was closed to all operations, but rather the controller,

based on existing weather conditions, informed the pilot that an

ILS approach to runway 09 could be attempted.

(73) Upon reviewing transcript, Exhibit WW, Gaytan

reached the opinion that the approach of XAKOA was a radar

approach under regulations, Sections 3.1 through 3.1.6.1 of Part

III of the regulations for air traffic (Mexico).

According to the regulations, a radar approach may be

provided to any pilot who makes such a request regardless of

weather conditions or to any aircraft in an emergency or in

danger or to expedite traffic. Section 3.1.2.

However, a radar approach does not exempt the pilot

-26- 00037

ieee neaamanneaeaaeimeiliill

from cumpliance with weather minimums prescribed for the

airport. Section 3.1.2.1.

In the event of a radar approach, the controller is

required to provide an altimeter check, ceiling and visibility

information when the reported ceiling is under 1,500 feet and

visibility is less than five miles.

Although Gaytan describes the approach of XAKOA as

a radar approach to runway 09, when closely questioned,

Gaytan explained that the pilot of XAKOA began on a radar

approach to the localizer. But when the pilot captured the

localizer, he then began an ILS approach to the runway.

According to Section 3.2.5, Part III of the regulations

for air traffic (Mexico), during final descent to the airport under

a radar approach, the pilot shall be informed of the distance of

the aircraft from the head of the runway and the recommended

altitude at each nautical mile of final approach. Section

3.2.5().

The pilot is required to notify the controller when he

sees the runway or the approach lights. Section 3.2.5S(c).

But if the approach is conducted under IFR conditions

and the pilot has not given notice that he has the runway or

lights in sight when he has reached one nautical mile from the

head of the runway, the controller shall instruct the pilot

implement a failed approach. Section 3.2.5(b).

(74) Under the regulations for air traffic (Mexico), if a

pilot undertakes an approach, the controller may not prohibit the

approach, but it always remains the pilot’s duty to control the

aircraft in a safe manner.

If the pilot undertakes an ILS approach to a runway, it

is the pilot’s responsibility to execute the approach in a safe

manner and in full accordance with the regulations or to execute

a failed approach.

(75) Griscom testified that he was unable to form an

Opinion on whether pilot negligence was a contributing cause of

the accident. That is so, he stated, because the failure of the

NTSB to document and secure the wreckage of the aircraft

brought about the loss of critical information necessary to a

-27- AO LeLerexe

determination of whether the accident was caused by structural,

mechanical or instrument failure of the aircraft.

According to Griscom, the best evidence would be the

wreckage and, without that, there could be no actual

determination what caused XAKOA to descend below the glide

path and into contact with the terrain. Among the possibilities

that might have been considered, according to Griscom’s

opinion, is induction system icing resulting in impaired engine

performance while the pilot was making an attempt to execute a

failed approach.

(76) Griscom also expressed an opinion that the actions

and corduct of the air controller was a substantial factor in

bringing about the accident. Griscom suggested that, had the air

controller cleared Pilot Gutierrez to an alternate field at

Mexicali, no accident would have happened. However,

according to Griscom, not only did the air controller refuse to

grant the pilot clearance to alternate airports when requested by

the pilot, but the air controller failed to provide the required

visibility or ceiling information, did not declare a failed

approach when required to do so and actually took command of

the approach and required the pilot to make the approach,

misleading the pilot into believing that he was on a radar

surveillance to runway 09.

I find Griscom’s opinion concerning the pilot’s approach

to runway 09 and his evaluation of the air controller’s actions to

be contrary to the underlying evidence.

(77) Transcript, Exhibit WW, does include

conversations between the pilot and the controller relating to

alternate airports. After the controller informed Pilot Gutierrez

that airport operations were restricted to all types of operation at

Tijuana airport, the pilot suggested proceeding to Mexicali.

The controller then suggested Tecate, and at that point

the pilot responded that he was going to see if he could make it

to Tecate.

A moment later, the controller instructed the pilot to

activate 1205 {a frequency) for identification on the radar.

After obtaining XAKOA on radar, the controller

~28- LV0039

provided the pilot with a fix of XAKOA’s position and offered

to provide assistance if the pilot should desire to make an

attempt to Tijuana airport.

Minimum visibility to runway 09 was three quarters of a

mile. The pilot took a reading on the aircraft's DME and

decided to attempt an approach, telling the controller, quote,

"We'll see if we can make one attempt.”

(78) I find that the controller in this instance did not

refuse Pilot Gutierrez clearance to an alternate airport, but

instead offered to assist the pilot in the event that the pilot

wished to make an attempt at Tijuana airport. The pilot at that

point decided to make an attempt.

The controller then provided information to the pilot

with the best approach to the airport in view of the restricted

condition. He advised the pilot under the conditions an ILS

approach to runway 09 was best and provided the pilot with a

designated approach or a pattern to bring the aircraft to point

Alba at the proper altitude of 2,500 feet. See Exhibit XXX.

The pilot confirmed the indicated approach and, at the

request of the controller, announced the aircraft's altitude at the

time.

Shortly thereafter, the pilot reported a failure of the

DME and requested clearance for Tecate. The controller

responded, and I quote,

"I have you now on radar contact. If you wish,

I can give you vectors to the localizer so you

can make the attempt."

The pilot then declared his intention that he would

continue the approach informing the controller, quote, “Okay, if

it’s possible.” I find that the pilot, having informed the

controller of the failure of the DME, was then told by the

controller that he would provide assistance to bring the aircraft

to the localizer if the pilot wished.

The pilot chose this option and decided to proceed with

the attempt. The air controller provided the pilot with a vector

“> uVO040

to the localizer and provided the pilot with information to the

correct altitude. But the air controller also provided the pilot

with instructions in the event of missed approach and in that

event a clearance for Tecate.

(79) The evidence in transcript, Exhibit WW, indicates

that the controller did not take command of the approach;

rather, he provided assistance to the pilot and it was the pilot

who made the decisions to undertake and to continue the

approach. Moreover, the controller provided the pilot with

instructions should the pilot decide to execute a failed approach

and to continue on to Tecate.

(80) The controller continued to assist the pilot to point

Alba and approve descent of XAKOA below 2,500 feet upon

crossing Alba. The controller informed the pilot when the

aircraft was three and a half miles from the head of the runway.

The pilot promptly responded indicating that the altitude

of the aircraft was 1,200 feet.

At that point, the controller informed the pilot that the

runway and approach lights were on. Finally, the controller

informed the pilot that the aircraft was two miles out and the

pilot promptly acknowledged receiving that information.

(81) At 7:56 a.m., XAKOA impacted on the hillside in

line with the approach to runway 09 and all aboard the flight

were instantly killed. Transcript, Exhibit WW, does not

indicate a radar-controlled approach, but rather, because of the

aircraft’s DME failure, that the controller provided the pilot

with information relating to distance from the runway not

otherwise available to the pilot.

(82) Jack Jaax, pilot expert and air charter operator has

experience in both the United States and in Mexico for over 25

years and has accumulated 25,000 hours of flight time. He is

fluent in Spanish and has landed at Tijuana airport many times.

In his opinion, Pilot Gutierrez was making an ILS

approach to runway 09 with surveillance radar assistance. The

proper glide slope on an ILS approach enables a safe path to

landing.

Upon intersecting the localizer, an ILS approach

30- wBO041

Se

provides the pilot with a radio signal as the aircraft follows the

localizer along the flight path.

If the pilot deviates from the center line of the runway,

the instrument indicates the deviation, permitting the pilot to

correct his approach. If the pilot descends below the glide path,

the deviation is indicated on the instrument so that the pilot may

correct to a proper altitude.

A pilot executing an ILS approach must make a decision

at the prescribed altitude for that airport either to continue the

approach if the runway becomes visible or to execute a missed

approach if the pilot at the prescribed altitude is unable to see

the runway.

At Tijuana airport, the prescribed altitude to execute a

missed approach is 786 feet above sea leve! which is 300 feet

above runway 09.

(83) Although the air controller controls aircraft traffic

within restricted zones and in the vicinity of airports, the pilot in

command of an aircraft retains control over the aircraft in flight.

If a pilot is given clearance to execute an approach to an airport,

he is not required to make the approach.

I have earlier noted that the controller at Tijuana airport

informed Pilot Gutierrez that in the case of a missed approach

he was to ascend via radial two four zero, over the cap and

continue on to Tecate.

(84) In Taylor’s opinion, Pilot Gutierrez was not

executing a radar surveillance approach to runway 09 because

the controller did not provide the pilot with instructions to

correct course or of altitude deviations as would necessarily be

done on a radar surveillance approach.

Taylor expressed an opinion that, consistent with an ILS

approach, the controller provided the pilot with vectors to

intersect the localizer and inform the pilot of distances out from

the runway because of the failure of the aircraft DME.

(85) Both Jack Jaax and Richard Taylor agreed in their

opinions that Pilot Gutierrez descended below the proper glide

path during their approach to runway 09 and failed to execute a

missed approach when required to do so.

Bt. vUO042

Jaax and Taylor also agree in their opinions that Pilot

Gutierrez’ failure to properly follow the glide path and to

execute a missed approach.at the prescribed altitude contributed

to cause the accident.

(86) I find that Pilot Gutierrez was making an ILS

approach to runway 09 on the morning of September 30, 1987.

He was not misled by the controller into believing that the

approach was a radar surveillance approach.

During the approach, Pilot Gutierrez descended below

the proper glide path and did not execute a missed approach

when required to do so at the designated altitude of 786 feet

above mean sea level at Tijuana airport.

(87) Robert Griscom has expressed an opinion that the

failure of the NTSB to document and secure the wreckage of

XAKOA precludes any determination of whether the cause of

the accident was due to structural, mechanical or instrument

failure.

(88) William Ross qualified as an expert aircraft

accident investigator. He arrived at the site of the accident

between 8:30 a-m. and 9:00 a.m. on October Ist.

After examining the scene, Ross determined that the

aircraft impacted on a ridge running uphill. The left wing-tip

tank impacted the terrain first. The aircraft continued for a

short distance rotating toward the left. The propeliers and

engines impacted next leaving bits of wreckage strewn on the

hillside.

The main part of the fuselage and wings impacted and

then tumbled down the ridge and partially up a slope. The

fuselage came to rest on the wings which had become detached

following impact, out the right wing was to the left side of the

fuselage and the left wing to the right side.

Ross expressed an opinion that, at the point of impact,

the aircraft was traveling at a speed of 120 to 160 knots. Ross

examined numerous photographs which had been taken on

September 30th before removal of the wreckage from the site.

At the time of impact, landing gear on the aircraft was

up.

0. c00043

Inspection of the photographs revealed that the exhausts were

hot at time of impact; the impeller blades on the turbochargers

indicated both engines were operating.

Propeller blades and propeller hubs shown in the

photographs indicate that both engines were operating at power

settings when impact occurred.

Ross found no evidence of engine failure or other defect

in the aircraft.

(89) Michael Grimes, an accident reconstructionist

employed by Teledyne, testified that his inability to examine the

engines precluded him from determining whether the engines

were operable at the time, and removal of the wreckage impeded

his ability to determine the cause of the accident. I have

considerable doubt whether he made an effort to determine the

condition of the engines at the time of the accident or to

undertake any investigation into its causes.

Ross readily conceded that the removal of wreckage

during the night of September 30th and before 8:30 a.m.

October Ist hampered his investigation and determination of the

cause of the accident.

(90) However, Ross found enough evidence in his

examination of the site that he was satisfied with his opinions,

and most of the questions which he had entertained were

resolved.

In his opinion, the engines revealed signs of power and

high rotation. William Ross was a reliable and credible witness,

and I find that the accident of September 30th was not caused by

engine defect or failure.

(91) Nor do I find any probability of structural defect

since winds were calm at Tijuana airport and the vicinity was

shrouded with fog.

The pilot reported the aircraft DME not functioning, but

there’s nothing in the evidence otherwise indicating instrument

malfunction.

(92) Nor is there anything in the pilot’s communication

with the air controller to indicate engine malfunction. To the

contrary, the pilot indicated his readiness to proceed to an

-33- vU0044

alternate airport while he was well into the approach of runway

09 at Tijuana airport. The inference is that the aircraft was not

malfunctioning or was operating on a low fuel state.

(93) I find, based upon all the evidence, the probable

cause of the accident to be negligence on the part of Raul

Gutierrez Tellez who, as pilot of XAKOA, descended below the

proper glide path while making an ILS approach to runway 09,

Tijuana airport, on the morning of September 30, 1987.

I find that the pilot failed to execute a missed approach

as required when the aircraft reached the designated altitude of

786 feet above mean sea level at Tijuana airport.

Both of these errors on the part of the pilot amounted to

negligence and both caused and together contributed to cause the

accident and to the death of the passengers and the pilot on

September 30th, 1987.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW ON LIABILITY

(94) California tort and contract law determines

Exportadora’s liability in this case. Schoenberg vs.

Exportadora, 930 F.2d 777, 783-84 (9th Cir. 1991).

Plaintiffs have made a claim that the agreement between

Exportadora and the decedents involved an implied contract for

non-negligent transportation. Defendants argue that this claim is

not properly at issue in this case.

By order dated November 9th, 1992, United States

District Judge John S. Rhoades ruled that Plaintiffs’ motion to

amend the complaint for the sixth time was unnecessary because

the amendment did not state new causes of action but merely

different theories under the same causes of actions. Judge

Rhoades ruled, and I quote,

"Of the theories listed in the proposed sixth

amended complaint, the only ground that is

arguably new is that of implied contract. This

approach, however, is merely one more theory

for holding Defendants directly liable.

-34- cUlV045

Additional discovery and amendment of the

complaint is thus unnecessary, and the implied

contract theory of liability may be addressed at

trial at the discretion of the trial judge."

(95) At trial, I have allowed evidence having to do with

negotiations and conduct of the parties relating to Plaintiffs’

contract claims. The parties have fully briefed legal issues of

implied contract in pretrial and post-trial briefs.

I conclude that the contract claims have properly been

brought before the Court in this case and, if necessary, I would

allow a motion to amend the complaint to conform to the proof.

(96) Plaintiffs may have suggested at some earlier time

that Exportadora operated as a common carrier in transporting

the decedents. But I conclude that Exportadora acted as a

contract or corporate carrier held to a standard of ordinary care.

A common carrier under California law is, quote,

"...one who offers to the general public to carry

goods or person and is bound to accept anyone

who tenders the price of carriage." Webster vs.

Ebright, 3 Cal.App.4th 784 (1992).

A common carrier must exercise the utmost care

towards passengers while a private or corporate carrier is held

to an ordinary standard of care, Webster at 788; Cal.Civ.Code §

2100.

The universal offer of carriage and the limited power to

reject qualified passengers distinguishes a common carrier from

a contract or corporate carrier. While commercial airlines are

generally common carriers, a flight school, which was not

shown to undertake to carry all student aviators indifferently,

was held not to be a common carrier, Dziura vs. California

Aviation Service, Inc., 4 Cal.App.3d 191 (1970).

(97) Exportadora did not undertake to carry all persons

indifferently to Guerrero Negro and back. Travel aboard the

al cUG04b

company airplane, the Westwind, was limited to company

directors, officers or employees and their dependents and other

passengers for whom permission had been granted by

Exportadora. Included among these passengers were business

visitors, vendors and other invitees.

I conclude that Exportadora did not operate as a

common carrier in transporting the decedents.

An entity that operates a transportation system to

support its primary business purpose has been held to an

ordinary standard of care in the operation of that system, Brown

vs. Feather River Lumber Company, 203 Cal. 493 (1928).

In Brown, the defendant, quote,

".,.was not a common carrier of passengers but

had built and was operating from its logging

camp to the main line a short railroad designed

for use in its logging and lumber business."

Brown at 497.

For clarity, I will refer to this type of carrier as a

contract or corporate carrier. I conclude that Exportadora

transported Doctor Sugimoto, Doctor Kodani and Mr. Omachi

as a corporate carrier.

As the Ninth Circuit held in Schoenberg, quote:

"Exportadora maintained a regular air-and-auto

link between its San Diego and Guerrero Negro

offices as part of its commercial operations."

Schoenberg vs. Exportadora de Sal, 930 F.2d

777 (9th Cir. 1991).

(98) Normally, the air portion of the transportation link

between Tijuana and Guerrero Negro utilized the Westwind.

When the Westwind was not available for a scheduled flight,

Exportadora entered into charter agreements with one of several

licensed air taxi operators who provided an airplane and pilots

for the charter.

-36- cU00 47

nt

Exportadora employed Aviones de Sonora as an

independent contractor to assist Exportadora in performing its

duties as a corporate carrier in the present case. As corporate

carrier, Exportadora had a duty to transport the passengers using

ordinary care.

The admitted fact that Aviones normally operated as a

Mexican common carrier is irrelevant to the determination of

Exportadora’s liability on its agreement with the Japanese

decedents.

(99) Plaintiffs contend that California Civil Code §

2090 imposes a common carrier level of care on all categories

of carriers until, quote,

"...the passenger is restored to as favorable a

position as before he commenced the carriage."

This interpretation of the statute would seem to suggest

that the distinction between common and other carriers has no

legal significance.

In any event, Webster vs. Ebright, 3 Cal.App.4th 784,

787 n.2 (1992) makes clear that § 2090 deals with the

distinction between common carriers with reward and common

carriers without reward. Section 2090 does not impose the

standard of care required of common carriers upon Exportadora

in the present case.

(100) Plaintiffs contend that Exportadora should be

liable for the breach of an agreement for the non-negligent

transportation of the decedents. I have made findings that an

agreement exists between Exportadora and the decedents for

round-trip transportation between San Diego and Guerrero

Negro.

I now conclude a covenant of non-negligent

transportation should be implied in the agreement, that this

contractual agreement was non-delegable and that Exportadora

has failed to properly discharge this obligation.

Under the majority rule, a passenger may sue a common

carrier for injuries under the contractual theory for breach of an

a. vU0048

i

implied covenant of non-negligent transportation.

While I have found no California authorities directly on

point, most jurisdictions do allow passengers to elect to sue a

common carrier either for negligence in tort or for breach of a

contractual obligation for non-negligent transportation, citing the

well vs. Nichol ir Servi Inc.,-748 F.2d 1499

(11th Cir. 1984) (applying Georgia law); Calhoun vs,

Greyhound Lines, Inc., 265 So.2d 18 (Fla. 1972); St. Michelle

vs. Catania, 250 A.2d 874 (Md. 1969); Griffith vs. United

Airlines, Inc., 203 A.2d 796 (Pa. 1964); Williams vs. Illingis

Central Railroad, 229 S.W.2d 1 (Mo. 1950); Doughty vs,

Maine Central Transportation Company, 39 A.2d 758 (Me.

1944).

England seems to follow the same rule, Protheroe vs,

The Railway Executive, 1 K.B. 376 (England 1951).

New York allows such an election in the case of

personal injury but not wrongfui death, Kilberg vs. Northeast

Airlines, Inc., 211 N.Y.S.2d 133 (N.Y. 1961).

Puerto Rican law does not allow a cause of action for

breach of contract for non-negligent transportation, Ocasio-

Juarbe vs. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 902 F.2d 117 (1st Cir. 1990)

(question answered by certification to Supreme Court of Puerto

Rico).

One court described it as, and I quote,

"...elemental that a contract of a common carrier

to transport a passenger to a given destination

imposes on the carrier an obligation to transport

the passenger to his destination in a reasonably

safe manner.” Heredia vs. Safeway Trails, Inc.,

369 So.2d 418, 420 (Fla. App. 1979).

Corpus Juris Secondum takes an inconclusive view, and

I quote,

"A common carrier may be liable for injuries to

its passengers not only on a tort theory but also

-38- cUQ049

on a breach of contract theory. However, it has

also been held that the carrier is liable only a

tort theory and not on a breach of contract or

breach of warranty theory." 13 C.J.S. Carriers,

§ 518 (1990).

(101) The only California case offered by the parties

that discusses an implied contract for non-negligent

transportation is Marshall vs. United Airlines, 35 Cal.App.3d 84

(1973).

Exportadora contends that Aviones acted as an

independent contractor on behalf of Exportadora in providing

transportation to the Japanese decedents. Exportadora argues

that, under California law, there is rarely any basis upon which

the principal may be held liable in tort, citing 2 Witkin,

Summary of California Law, Agency and Employment, § 125.

Exportadora relies upon Marshall vs. United Airlines,

35 Cal.App. 3d 84 (1973) as establishing the rule that even a

common carrier may not be held liable for the acts of its

independent contractor.

(102) Plaintiffs suggest that Marshall may be

distinguished under the facts of the present case. In Marshall,

the claimant sought to hold United Airlines liable in damages for

personal injuries suffered when she fell on an escalator in the

public airport at San Francisco. Claimant had bought a round-

trip ticket and was on her return from New York to Berkeley.

She purchased her ticket from United. The ticket provided

airline transportation for the return from New York to Berkeley.

She was to change from United’s flight in San Francisco to an

SFO Airlines helicopter flight to Berkeley. While passing from

the United area in a public airport on her way to the SFO

helicopter facility, she took an escalator and was injured when

she fell.

The California appellate court held that United’s duty to

the claimant after she disembarked from the aircraft was one of

ordinary or reasonabie care. However, United held no

Ownership or right or control or management of the property

= cU0050

where claimant was injured.

The court then undertook to consider whether United

had, by selling the ticket, including helicopter service between

San Francisco and Berkeley, either expressly or impliedly

contracted with the claimant to furnish non-negligent passage

from New York until claimant’s departure from the SFO

helicopter facility at Berkeley.

The court was unable to find California authority on

whether, under similar facts, an implied contract for non-

negligent passage to the passenger’s ultimate destination arises.

But the court noted that elsewhere throughout the nation the rule

seems to be well established.

Upon reviewing the authorities, the appellate court

concluded that generally, in the absence of a special contract to

the contrary, a carrier’s responsibility is discharged by safe

carriage over its own lines.

The mere sale of a through ticket over two or more

connecting lines is not evidence of a joint contract between the

two carriers sufficient to make one liable for the fault of the

other.

However, the court went on to distinguish an earlier

California case of Wheeler vs. S.F. & A. Railroad Company,

31 Cal. 46 (1866). That case held that, where several carriers

combine their operations by mutual arrangements over all their

lines upon one contract for a single price, each may be held

liable over the entire distance.

The court in Marshall undertook to distinguish Wheeler

concluding that United’s agreement with the injured passenger

provided only transportation to San Francisco and not beyond

San Francisco to Berkeley.

(103) The present case is more like Wheeler.

Exportadora agreed to transport the decedents round trip

between San Diego and Guerrero Negro. The agreement did

not separate the obligation into segments.

The Ninth Circuit in Schoenberg upheld Judge Irving’s

findings and stated, and I quote,

wU0051

",..decedents did not make arrangements for legs

of the trips separately." Schoenberg, 930 F.2d

781.

The evidence at trial has been consistent with Judge

Irving’s findings and the ruling of the Ninth Circuit.

(104) I conclude that Marshall must be distinguished on

its facts. Exportadora agreed to transport the decedents round

trip from San Diego to Guerrero Negro with return to San

Diego. Exportadora substituted Aviones to undertake the return

flight from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana only after Exportadora’s

aircraft, the Westwind, became unavailable.

The decedents were scheduled by Exportadora to make

the flight aboard the Westwind, and the charter with Aviones

amounted to nothing more than to provide Aviones as a

substitute for the purpose of carrying out Exportadora’s

obligation to the decedents.

(105) I conclude California courts would follow the

overwhelming rule and imply a covenant of non-negligent

transportation in contracts of carriage between a common carrier

and a passenger.

I recognize that a common carrier owes a duty of the

highest degree of care. I have held that Exportadora had a duty

to exercise ordinary or reasonable care toward the decedents in

providing transportation on its corporate aircraft or on the

Aviones aircraft which was substituted for the Westwind.

The implied covenant of non-negligent transportation

should apply not only to contracts between common carriers and

their passengers, but also to contracts between contract or

corporate carriers and their passengers.

By its terms, the covenant only requires non-negligent

transportation. The factual findings that I have made establish

the cause of the accident to have been the pilot’s negligence.

The implied covenant of non-negligent transportation does

nothing more than require a corporate carrier such as

Exportadora to exercise ordinary and reasonable care for the

safety of those who are accepted by Exportadora as passengers.

-41- cU0O052

(106) An implied contractual duty of non-negligent

transportation is not the same as an implied warranty of safe

transportation. Courts uniformly hold that a carrier is not the

insurer of the passenger’s safety, Tolan vs. Era Helicopters,

Inc., 699 P.2d 1265 (Alaska ‘985); Hunt vs. Sun Valley

Company, Inc., 561 F.2d 744 (9th Cir. 1977) (applying Idaho

law).

There is no implied warranty of safe passage which

would be breached even in the absence of negligence. 132

C.J.S. Carriers § 518 (1990).

Negligence remains the essence of both tort and contract

theories of recovery.

(107) Under California law, one who voluntarily

assumes a contractual duty agrees to carry out the duty in a

reasonable manner. California Civil Code Section 1655 implies

in a contract any term, quote,

".,.Mecessary to make a contract reasonable or

conformable to usage."

In interpreting this section, California precedent has split

between a strict test limiting the judicial creation of implied

contract terms and a liberal test generally allowing such terms.

The modern trend seems to be toward the liberal test.

See 1 Witkin, Summary of California Law, § 739-41 (9th ed.

1987).

However, even under the strict test established in

ins Investmen m vs. Hastin lothin mpany,

45 Cal.App.2d 141 (1941), I conclude that a covenant of non-

negligent transportation should be implied in the agreement of

round-trip transportation made between Exportadora and the

decedents in this case.

Using the five-part strict test established in Cousins, I

conclude that such a covenant: (1) is indispensable to effectuate

the intention of the parties; (2) was clearly within the

contemplation of the parties; (3) can be justified on the grounds

of legal necessity; (4) would have been made by the parties if

42. 600053

attention had been called to it; and (5) is not completely covered

by the contract.

(108) While contract or corporate carriers are not the

insurers of their passengers’ safety, I conclude that the

agreement includes a covenant to transport the passengers in a

reasonable and non-negligent manner.

This implied covenant is necessary to make the

agreement reasonable and conforms to the usage and

expectations of the parties.

(109) Under California law, a party to a contract cannot

escape liability by delegating performance of contractual duties

to an independent contractor, | Witkin, Summary of California

Law, § 943 (1987). I quote:

"[A] person who has assumed the contractual

duty to perform a service for another cannot

escape his contractual obligation to perform the

service in a competent manner by delegating

performance to another." Harold A. Newman

Company vs. Nero, 31 Cal.App.3d 490 at 496

(1973).

This general rule on the non-delegability of contractual

duties applies to the negligent performance by an independent

contractor, quote:

"One who contracts to perform an undertaking is

liable to his promisee for the negligence of an

independent contractor whom he delegates actual

performance." Citing Capital Chevrolet

Company vs. Lawrence Warehouse Company,

227 F.2d 169 (9th Cir. 1955).

If the promisee wants to be relieved of her obligation,

she must gain the promisor’s agreement to a modification.

Unilateral action by the promisee is not generally sufficient to

relieve her of contractual duties.

-43- cU00S4

(110) I conclude that the evidence fails to reveal any

modification of the agreement for accommodations in

transportation between Exportadora and the decedents. At no

time were the passengers told that Exportadora would not have

responsibility for their transportation back to San Diego.

At no time did any of the passengers agree to a

modification of the agreement. Although they were introduced

to a new pilot and observed the Aviones airplane, the passengers

had no reason to believe that Exportadora had been relieved of

responsibility for their transportation.

Exportadora employees or agents had met them in San

Diego, arranged for accommodations in San Diego, carried them

by van to Tijuana, flew them on the Westwind to Guerrero

Negro, provided their accommodations at Guerrero Negro,

introduced them to their new pilot, brought them to the Aviones

airplane and arranged for an Exportadora van to be waiting in

Tijuana to carry them to San Diego.

Nothing indicates that the passengers had anything to do

with any arrangements for their travel and accommodations.

The agreement between Exportadora and the Japanese

decedents was not modified, and the passengers continued to

rely upon Exportadora to carry them safely to San Diego on

their return from Guerrero Negro.

Exportadora-was free to choose the vehicles, drivers or

independent contractors it considered most appropriate to carry

Out its obligations under the agreement.

I conclude that Exportadora’s choice of carriers did

nothing to change its obligation of non-negligent transportation

to the decedents.

(111) I conclude that Exportadora had a non-delegable

obligation to transport Doctor Sugimoto, Doctor Kodani and

Mr. Omachi in a reasonable and non-negligent manner. On the

trip from San Diego to Guerrero Negro, Exportadora provided

its company van and the company airplane, the Westwind.

On the return irip, Exportadora used a Cessna 340A

chartered from Aviones de Sonora, an independent contractor,

and planned to use the company van. Exportadora had the same

-44-

wUOOSu

obligation in transporting the decedents from Guerrero Negro to

San Diego as it had in transporting them from San Diego to

Guerrero Negro: to see that the passengers were transported

with reasonable care.

(112) Plaintiffs contend that Exportadora had a non-

delegable tort duty toward the decedents. I reject Plaintiffs’

arguments based on the peculiar risk doctrine but conclude that

Exportadora had a non-delegable tort duty based on public

policy grounds.

In California, the general rule of non-delegability for the

negligence of an independent contractor is, quote,

"...Subject to exceptions of such wide scope that

they leave only a small area in which the so-

called general rule operates. Accordingly, it

seems proper to say that non-liability is now the

exception [and] the so-called general rule is

followed only where no good reason is found for

departing from it... Considerations of policy

frequently call for such departure." 6 Witkin,

Summary of California Law, § 1009 (1987).

(113) The Plaintiff contends that Exportadora had a

non-delegable tort duty toward the passengers of XAKOA and is

therefore liable for any negligence by Aviones de Sonora.

California courts find non-delegable tori duties in three

specific categories: public franchise, statutory duty and peculiar

risk. In addition, California courts may find a non-delegable

tort duty in other areas based on public policy criteria.

The present case does not fall neatly into either of the

three specific considerations. See Rozmajzl vs. Northland

Greyhound Lines, 49 N.W.2d 501 (Iowa 1951) (public

franchise); Maloney vs. Rath, 69 Cal.2d 442 (1968) (statutory

duty).

The fact that a particular category of non-delegable duty

does not apply does not preclude the Court from resting its

conclusion on public policy grounds. Alaska Airlines, Inc. vs.

-45-

00056

Sweat, 568 P.2d 916 (Alaska 1977) (court rejects liability under

Restatement (Second) of Torts § 428, but finds non-delegable

tort duty based on policy considerations).

(114) The “peculiar risk" exception to the general rule

that the defendant is not liable for the acts of an independent

contractor is codified in Sections 413 and 416 of the

Restatement (Second) of Torts. These provisions impose a duty

to take "special precautions" when a defendant should know that

an activity holds a "peculiar risk" of physical harm to others.

Section 413 imposes a direct duty on the defendant,

which the defendant can delegate to the independent contractor.

Section 416 imposes a vicarious, non-delegable duty on the

defendant to take special precautions.

Together, these provisions hold a defendant liable for

failure to take special precautions against peculiar risks, and the

contractual delegation of the peculiar risk to the independent

contractor serves only as a legal basis to obtain an indemnity

from the independent contractor. See § 416, comment c.

The definitions of both "peculiar risk" and “special

precaution” are identical for the two sections. See § 416,

comment b.

California has adopted the Restatement in this area,

Castro vs. State of California, 114 Cal.App.3d 503 at 510

(1981). Quote:

"Whether the particular work which the

independent contractor has been hired to perform

is likely to create a peculiar risk of harm to

others unless special precautions are taken is

ordinarily a question of fact."

(115) Liability under the peculiar risk theory requires:

(1) that the activity create a peculiar risk of harm unless special

precautions are taken; and (2) that the defendant knew or should

have known of the peculiar risk, Hughes vs. Atlantic Pacific

Construction Company, 194 Cal.App.3d 987 at 998 (1987).

The general risk that an independent contractor might be

-46- vU00S%

aie Sa A ip ait a ate at a

negligent in performing activity is not a peculiar one. To

impose liability, the risk must be, quote:

"...peculiar to the work to be done and arising

out of its character or out of the place where it

is to be done." See § 413 Restatement,

comment b.

To be peculiar, the risk does not have to “necessarily

and inevitably" arise but can be one likely to arise from the

activity. See § 416, comment e.

"*Peculiar’ does not mean that the risk must be

one which is abnormal to the type of work to be

done or that it must be an abnormally great risk.

It has reference only to a special recognizable

danger arising out of the work itself."

Restatement (Second) of Torts, § 413, comment

b.

(116) The California Supreme Court has suggested that

"special risk" is a more appropriate term, Aceves vs. Regal Pale

Brewing Company, 24 Cal.3d 502 at 509, n. 2 (1979).

"Where it is the manner in which a

subcontractor performs the work as opposed to

the work itself that introduces the danger to an

otherwise safe activity and work place, the

contractor is not vicariously liable." Ek vs.

Herrington, 738 F.Supp. 357 (D.C. Idaho

1990).

Negligence by the independent contractor in performing

the activity is sometimes referred to as "collateral" or "casual"

negligence which does not trigger liability under the peculiar

risk theory.

(117) One state appellate court has applied §§ 413 and

416 to aircraft case, Fagundes vs. State, 774 P.2d 343 (Idaho

= wU0058

App. 1989). In that case, the State of Idaho contracted with a

helicopter firm to fly state employees over park areas to count

game. The helicopter crashed and the pilot, an employee of the

contractor, was killed. The court rejected peculiar risk liability

on two independent grounds.

The court found that, under Idaho law, a defendant did

not owe a duty to the employee of an independent contractor.

The court based its ruling on the perceived unfairness of

worker’s compensation law limiting the liability of the

independent contractor but not that of the defendant general

contractor.

California takes the opposite view. In California, the

law is clear, quote,

",..that an employee of an independent

contractor... may sue the contractor’s employer

under the peculiar risk doctrine." Castro vs.

State of California, 114 Cal.App.3d 503 at 514

(1981).

To the extent that the Fagundes decision was based on

the fact that the plaintiff was the employee of the independent

contractor, the decision does not apply to the present case.

However, the court rested its decision on the alternate grounds

that the danger of a helicopter crash in the wilderness was not a

special risk in a contract for transportation by helicopter over

wilderness areas.

(118) In the present case, Plaintiffs have the burden of

proving a special risk in the flight from Guerrero Negro to

Tijuana beyond the generally recognized dangers of air travel

itself.

I conclude that the risk that a plane might crash through

pilot error is a type of “collateral” risk outside the scope of the

special risk doctrine.

The fact that fog at Tijuana might have been foreseeable

to Exportadora or to Pilot Raul Gutierrez Tellez does not change

this result. As the transcript of the conversation between the

-48- vUOO0E

pilot and the air controller indicates, the pilot knew that he had

the option to execute a missed approach at any time. It was not

a special risk that the pilot would deviate from the glide path or

an ILS approach to the airport or fail to execute the required

missed approach that caused this accident.

(119) As I have earlier suggested, Alaska Airlines, Inc,

vs. Sweat, 568 P.2d 916 (Alaska 1977) holds that, in addition to

the specific categories of non-delegable tort duties, a non-

delegable duty may be found on general policy grounds.

Plaintiffs argue that Exportadora controlled the flight

and is responsible for its departure under adverse weather

conditions.

I have found that Exportadora scheduled the flight but

that the conduct of the flight was under the control of the

Aviones pilot, Raul Gutierrez Tellez. The decision to undertake

the flight, how the flight would be conducted and whether under

the restricted conditions a landing at Tijuana airport should be

attempted rested with the pilot, not with Exportadora.

I have found that Aviones was an independent contractor

under its charter with Exportadora. However, as Alaska

Airlines vs. Sweat holds, a party may be liable for the

negligence of an independent contractor if public policy requires

that a non-delegable tort duty exists. California authorities

suggest a number of factors to consider in determining if a non-

delegable tort duty exists on the facts of a specific case, and I

quote:

"Some of the principal ones are that the

enterprise, notwithstanding the employment of

the independent contractor, remains the

employer’s because he is the party primarily to

be benefited by it, that he selects the contractor,

is free to insist upon one who is financially

responsible and to demand indemnity from him,

that the insurance necessary to distribute the risk

is properly a cost of the employer’s business and

that the performance of the duty of care is of

J : -49-

4

“i VO060

great importance to the public." Van Arsdale

vs. Hollinger, 68 Cal.2d 245 at 253 (1968).

(120) In the present case, Exportadora enjoyed the

primary benefit of the transportation of the decedents. Mr.

Omachi was the representative of a major purchaser of

Exportadora’s salt and the transportation of professors, Doctor

Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani was arranged at the request of

Mitsubishi, a major stockholder.

Exportadora could use any vehicles which suited its

purpose, including the company van, the company plane or air

taxi companies.

On those occasions when Exportadora elected to use an

air taxi company, Exportadora was free to use only financially

responsible companies or require indemnity. Exportadora was

better situated to analyze the amount and risks of the

transportation it was providing to determine the appropriate level

of insurance coverage.

Exportadora was in a better position to balance the risks

involved against the benefits it gained in continuing to provide

transportation to potential customers and other guests.

Finally, imposing a non-delegable duty of care on a

corporation that operates a regular transportation link assures,

quote,

".,.that, when a negligently caused harm occurs,

the injured party will be compensated by the

person whose activity caused the harm and who

may therefore properly be held liable for the

negligence of his agent, whether his agent was

an employee or an independent contractor."

Maloney vs. Rath, 69 Cal.2d 442 at 446 (1968).

Based on the foregoing public policy factors, I conclude

that Exportadora had a non-delegable duty of ordinary care in

the transportation of the decedents under California law.

(121) Plaintiffs suggest that, in the transportation

re vU00G]

industry, a carrier may not delegate its duty to transport

passengers safely. In support of that contention, Plaintiffs cite

Alaska Airlines vs. Sweat, 568 F.2d 916 (Alaska 1977). In the

Sweat case, the plaintiff purchased a ticket from Alaska Airlines

to fly from Cordova to Cape Yakataga, Alaska. Alaska

Airlines, a common air carrier, had previously hired Chitina

Air, an air taxi company, to service a number of the airline’s

smaller routes, including the flight from Cordova to Cape

Yakataga. Quote:

"There is not indication that Alaska Airlines

controls the maintenance of the planes, the

hiring of pilots or the day-to-day affairs of

Chitina. However, Alaska Airlines provides the

schedule, the tickets and rates, and Chitina then

charges Alaska Airlines an hourly rate." Swea

at 922.

(122) Plaintiff in Alaska Airlines vs. Sweat was

seriously injured when the aircraft encountered zero visibility

conditions and crashed into the Bering Glacier. Although Sweat

discusses the important responsibility a certificated common

carrier has for the safety of its passengers, I conclude that much

of the rationale of Sweat should apply to the facts of the present

case.

In both instances, the air taxi company operated as an

independent contractor with the ultimate responsibility for pilot

qualifications and aircraft maintenance.

In both instances, however, the passenger made an

agreement with the defendants that the defendant would

transport them.

I conclude that Sweat provides additional support for the

conclusion that Exportadora as a corporate carrier had a non-

delegable tort duty toward its scheduled passengers.

(123) Plaintiffs argue that Exportadora should be liable

for the negligence of Pilot Gutierrez on a theory of apparent or

ostensible agency. An ostensible agency is established, quote,

-51- vUu00QG6Z

"...when the principal intentionally, or by want

of ordinary care, causes a third person to believe

another to be his agent." Cal. Civ. Code §

2300.

The principal is liable to persons who reasonably rely on

the ostensible agency to their detriment. Cal. Civ. Code §

2334.

Ostensible agency and agency by estoppel are identical

legal concepts, 2 Witkin, Summary of California Law, § 40 (9th |

ed. 1987).

Despite these statutes, Exportadora, quote:

"...respectfully submits that... the ‘estoppel to

deny agency theory’ [has] absolutely no binding

effect under the law of the State of California."

Exportadora cites Professor Witkin’s treatise ror the

proposition that a principal is rarely liable for the torts of an

ostensible agent. However, the very next sentence in Professor

Witkin’s treatise clarifies that this is because, quote,

"...the essential element of reliance upon the

representations of conduct of the principal is

usually lacking.” 2 Witkin, Summary of

California Law, § 125 (9th ed, 1987).

Where such a reliance is shown, the principal is liable to

the injured party under clearly established California law.

(124) In Croce vs. Bromley Corporation, 623 F.2d

1084 (Sth Cir. 1980), Mustang Aviation, a common carrier,

agreed to transport the Jim Croce Group to various concert

locations. When Mustang’s plane was unavailable, Mustang

arranged for Roberts Airways to provide a replacement plane

and pilot. When the plane crashed due to pilot negligence,

Mustang was held liable on a theory of agency by estoppel. The

Court of Appeals upheld the District Court findings, quote:

“S2- vUO06S

"...there is no credible evidence that [Mustang]

informed the Croce Group that Roberts was the

owner and operator of the substitute or that

Roberts was solely responsible for the flight, nor

did anyone secure the Croce Group’s agreement

to the change from the original contract. While

the evidence on this point is sparse, the

reasonable inferences from the evidence left the

court with the firm belief that no such

communication occurred.

No one in the Croce Group knew or should have

known Mustang was not responsible for the

flight or that Roberts was flying it in Mustang’s

place." See Croce at 1088.

(125) In Roberts vs. Gonzalez, 495 F.Supp. 1310

(D.C.V.I. 1980), Caribbean Executive Airlines, a common

carrier, agreed to transport the plaintiffs round trip between San

Juan and St. Thomas. Ground transportation between the

airport and midtown was provided in both locations.

When Caribbean’s plane was unavailable, Caribbean

arranged for Conquest Airways to transport the plaintiffs by air.

Caribbean retained the responsibility for ground transportation.

The plane crashed due to engine malfunction and pilot

error in responding to the malfunction. Caribbean was held

liable on a theory of agency by estoppel. The court found

numerous manifestations by Caribbean, the principal, to the

passengers that Conquest was its agent.

_ “Among those manifestations is the total absence

of dealings with Conquest by the passengers.

Instead, their transfer was conducted entirely by

Caribbean officials and therefore left the

impression that they were still Caribbean’s

passengers. A similar conclusion is inferable

from the fact that the Conquest flight was an

cU00G64

-53-

unscheduled flight for the Caribbean passengers

alone. This perspective was also reinforced by

Caribbean’s retention of the responsibility for

the passengers’ ground transportation in San

Juan and St. Thomas. A final manifestation of

apparent authority was the fact that the

passengers were permitted to retain their

Caribbean tickets and to utilize them on the

Conquest flight.” See Roberts, 1314-15.

(126) In the present case, Exportadora agreed to

transport the decedents round trip between San Diego and

Guerrero Negro. Exportadora provided all of the decedents’

accommodations in San Diego and Guerrero Negro.

Exportadora provided ground transportation between San Diego

and Tijuana.-

On the flight from Tijuana to Guerrero Negro,

Exportadora flew the decedents on separate flights of the

Westwind. When the Westwind was unavailable for the return

flight, Exportadora arranged for Aviones de Sonora to transport

the five scheduled passengers.

Exportadora told the passengers the company van would

be waiting for them in Tijuana to take them to San Diego.

While at least some of the passengers were introduced to

the new Aviones pilot the night before the flight, all the

scheduled passengers knew at some time before they boarded the

flight that they would not be flying on the Westwind to Tijuana.

I conclude that the passengers were not informed that

Aviones would be assuming Exportadora’s obligations o: or

responsibility for the flight.

All transportation and accommodations between San

Diego and Guerrero Negro up to the flight of XAKOA from

Guerrero Negro had been arranged by Exportadora.

Exportadora continued to arrange transportation after the

expected arrival of XAKOA in Tijuana.

I conclude that the conduct of Exportadora induced a

reasonable belief in the passengers that Exportadora was

vUOQGa

7%

responsible of XAKOA from Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

I conclude that the passengers relied on the continuing

responsibility of Exportadora for their transportation by

boarding the flight. These conclusions establish the required

elements of ostensible agency under California law.

(127) Exportadora relies upon Marshall vs. United

Airlines, 35 Cal.App.3d 84 (1973) to argue that a carrier’s duty

ends once the passenger has safely departed from the carrier’s

aircraft.

As I have noted, in Marshall the plaintiff attempted to

hold United Airlines liable for the alleged negligent maintenance

of an escalator in the San Francisco-Oakland airport. After

disembarking from a United flight and walking down the airport

corridors, the plaintiff fell and injured herself on the escalator.

The court held that United had no duty to maintain the

escalator and had safely discharged its common carrier

obligations toward the plaintiff.

Exportadora argues that its obligation toward the

decedents ended when the decedents boarded the Aviones plane.

I find Marshall distinguishable on the issue of ostensible agency.

There was no allegation in Marshall that United’s conduct or

statements had led the plaintiff to believe that United was

responsible for travel beyond its facility at San Francisco.

(128) Exportadora argues that, in order for the doctrine

of ostensible agency to apply, passengers must pay money for

their tickets and the defendant must be a common carrier.

Although both Croce and Roberts involved common carriers,

Exportadora has not offered any authority for the proposition

that the doctrine of ostensible agency is so limited.

I have previously held that Exportadora gained valuable

consideration for its transportation of the decedents including the

possibility of increased sales of salt to Asahi Chemical and

stockholder good will.

I conclude that Exportadora is liable for the negligence

of the Aviones pilot, Raul Gutierrez Tellez, based on the theory

of ostensible agency.

cU00G6b

£.

(129) Plaintiffs argue that the pilot negligence should be

inferred under the doctrine of res ipsa loquitur. In California,

the doctrine of res ipsa loquitur applies if the accident was: (1)

the kind that ordinarily does not occur in the absence of

negligence; (2) caused by an instrument in the exclusive control

of the plaintiff; and (3) not caused by actions of the plaintiffs.

Cal. Evid. Code § 646, Law Revision Comments (1970).

If a plaintiff establishes these three prerequisites and the

defendant does not produce “evidence which would support a

finding that [the defendant] was not negligent or that any

negligence on [the defendant’s] part was not a proximate cause

of the occurrence," the trier of fact must find negligence. Cal.

Evid. Code § 646(c).

If the defendant does not come forward with such

rebuttal evidence, the trier of fact cannot find liability unless the

trier finds, quote,

"...that it is more probable than not that the

occurrence was caused by some negligent

conduct on the part of the defendant." Cal.

Evid. Code § 646(c)(2).

A defendant cannot rebut a prima facie showing of res

ipsa loquitur with mere speculation about possible alternate

causes of the crash, Newing vs. Cheatham, 15 Cal.3d 351 at

365 (1975); Mittelman vs. Seifert, 17 Cal.App.3d 51 at 80

(1971). In more simple terminology, the doctrine allows an

inference against the defendant based on unrebutted

circumstantial evidence. Once this inference is rebutted, the

trier of fact is required to weigh all of the evidence,

circumstantial and direct, to reach a result.

(130) Plaintiffs cite numerous authorities holding an

aviation common carrier to a higher evidentiary standard to

rebut a passenger’s prima facie showing of res ipsa loquitur,

Irwin vs. Pacific Southwest Airlines, 133 Cal.App.3d 709

(1982); Roberts vs. Trans World Airlines, 225 Cal.App.2d 344

(1964); Colditz vs. Eastern Airlines, Inc., 329 F.2d 180 (Sth

-56- cVO067

Se ee eh ee oe

Cir. 1969).

I have previously held that Exportadora did not act as a

common carrier in transporting the decedents, but rather as a

corporate carrier under an analogy to the facts of Brown vs,

Feather River Lumber. Such carriers are required to exercise

ordinary care in the transportation of passengers.

Cases modifying the traditional res ipsa rules to reflect a

common carrier’s duty to exercise utmost care are inapplicable.

In particular, I reject Plaintiffs’ argument that an inference of

negligence arises in this case from an injury to passengers. The

decision in Foss vs. United States, 623 F.2d 104 (9th Cir. 1980)

clearly holds that there is no presumption of pilot negligence

from a crash under California law.

Like the trial court in Foss, I have based my rulings on

the evidence produced at trial rather than an inference of

presumption of negligence.

(131) In Newing vs. Cheatham, 15 Cal.3d 351 (1975),

the California Supreme Court held that the doctrine of res ipsa

loquitur applied as a matter of law to the crash of a private

airplane near Tijuana, Mexico. The first condition was met

because the plane took off in clear weather and there was,

quote,

"...no evidence that weather conditions

contributed in any way to the crash of the

plane." See Newing at 361.

The court distinguished cases in which natural conditions

could have affected the operation of the aircraft. See Newing at

361, note 4.

The second factor was established as a matter of law

because the pilot was in the exclusive control of the aircraft.

There was no reason to suppose that any other person was

operating or controlling the plane at the time of the accident,

Newing at 362.

Plaintiffs argue that the decision in Newing establishes

Exportadora’s liability in the present case.

-57- cvO068

(132) I conclude that the present case is distinguishable

from Newing. Unlike Newing, the evidence is certain that

Tijuana airport was restricted due to low visibility when

XAKOA approached runway 09. This is not a case of an

accident that ordinarily does not occur in the absence of

negligence.

At trial, there was conflicting evidence from qualified

expert witnesses about the issue of pilot negligence and

causation. The NTSB report was unable to conclude that pilot

error caused the accident. These evidentiary disputes and the

possible effect of low visibility effectively rebut the first

prerequisites to the application of res ipsa loquitur to this case.

In addition, Exportadora has presented expert testimony

that XAKOA was flying a radar surveillance approach and that

such an approach places the air traffic controller in effective

control of the aircraft.

While I have considered and ultimately rejected this

opinion in light of all the evidence, it nevertheless served to

effectively rebut Plaintiffs’ showing on the second prerequisite

to the application of res ipsa loquitur to this case.

Therefore, I am required by Section 646(c)(2) to reach a

decision based on all of the evidence.

(133) Because Exportadora’s expert witnesses

effectively rebutted the first and second prerequisites to a prima

facie showing of res ipsa loquitur, I do not express any opinion

about the legal effect of Plaintiffs’ previous allegations that a

fuel leak in the engine of the Cessna 340A caused the accident

or Exportadora’s suggestion that air induction icing caused the

accident. See Newing, 15 Cal.3d at 363. Dean Prosser has

stated that, quote,

"A res ipsa case is a circumstantial evidence

case which permits the [trier of fact] to infer

negligence from the mere occurrence of the

accident itself. Its first requirement is a basis of

past experience which will permit the triers of

fact to conclude that such events do not

cUUd6Y

-58-

a SEA Neri Blacated halal barat tai. ns

ordinarily happen unless someone has been

negligent." Prosser, Res Ipsa Loquitur in

California, 37 Cal.L.Rev. 183 at 191 (1949).

(134) I conclude that the present case involves complex

and specialized aviation issues beyond the ordinary experience

of triers of fact. Resolution of liability required the type of

expert opinion and detailed evidence presented at trial.

Accordingly, I reject Plaintiffs’ claim of res ipsa loquitur.

(135) Plaintiffs have urged this Court to find that Pilot

Raul Gutierrez Tellez was negligent per se for alleged violations

of the aviation laws of Mexico and the United States.

The Secretary of Transportation of the United States is

authorized by law to regulate the navigable air space of the

United States to ensure the safety of aircraft, 49 U.S.C. §

1348(a).

Mexican air safety laws and regulations apply to the

operation of Mexican aircraft in Mexican air space under

generally applicable ideas of national sovereignty. On the

border, Tijuana and San Diego air traffic control operations

have executed an agreement titled, "San Diego Tracon and

Tijuana Approach Control Letter of Agreement" effective June

15, 1981. This agreement requires Tijuana air traffic control to

notify San Diego air traffic control that an arriving airplane is

using the instrument approach to Tijuana and may require San

Diego to monitor the altitude of the airplane. However,

Tijuana, not San Diego, directs all approaches to Tijuana

airport.

I conclude that the letter agreement does not constitute

an assertion of control over the aircraft making an instrument

approach to Tijuana.

I conclude that the United States of America did not

assert regulatory control over the flight of XAKOA from

Guerrero Negro to Tijuana.

I conclude that the Via Generales safety regulations

establish the appropriate applicable air safety law in the present

case. The legal effect of a violation of the Via Generales is

-59- vU0070

determined by California tort law. Under California law,

violation of a safety regulation establishes negligence per se,

Haft vs. Lone Palm Hotel, 3 Cal.3d 756 (1970). California

Evidence Code Section 669(a) provides that, quote:

"The failure of a person to exercise due care is

presumed if: (1) He violated a statute,

ordinance or regulation of a public entity; (2)

The violation proximately caused death or injury

to person or property; (3) The death or injury

resulted from an occurrence of the nature which

the statute, ordinance or regulation was designed

to prevent; and (4) The person suffering the

death or the injury to his person or property was

one of the class of persons for whose protection

the statute, ordinance or regulation was

adopted."

Although the statute establishes only a presumption of

negligence from a violation, the presumption can only be

rebutted by evidence that the defendant was a child acting in a

reasonable manner for his or her age and experience or that the

violation of the statutory regulation was more reasonable than

compliance with the statute. Cal. Evid. Code § 669.

(136) The Plaintiffs argue that a number of alleged

Statutory violations are negligence per se in this case. Even if

proved, the alleged lack of a copilot, departure before sunrise

and failure to gather all available information were not causes of

this accident.

I have previously found that the pilot was qualified

under Mexican aviation law to make the flight from Guerrero

Negro to Tijuana, that the plane had all the required equipment

to do so and that no copilot was required.

Plaintiffs have failed to carry their burden of proof on

the question of whether XAKOA departed with sufficient fuel

reserves and whether XAKOA departed Guerrero Negro with

inadequate information on forecasts for less than minimum

60- GUOO71L

conditions in Tijuana.

Plaintiffs contend that the failure to follow the glide

slope and failure to execute a missed approach were negligence

per se. Plaintiffs cite federal air regulations rather than the Via

Generales for these propositions.

I find that the pilot’s failure to follow the glide slope

and execute a failed approach constitute negligence under the

evidence and the credible expert testimony presented at trial.

The Plaintiff has failed to carry its burden of proof that

these acts constituted negligence per se under the rule of the Via

Generales.

FINDINGS OF FACT ON DAMAGES

(137) Doctor Katsuo Sugimoto and Doctor Yoshihito

Kodani were professor on the faculty of Tottori University of

Hamasaka, Japan at the time of their visit to Guerrero Negro in

late September 1987. Mr. Omachi was the manager of raw

materials for Asahi Chemical Industry Company. All of the

decedents were married with families.

(138) Hiroko Sugimoto, who was born in Japan on

April 27, 1931, became acquainted with her future husband,

Doctor Sugimoto, while was a child of 3 or 4 years. He

proposed to her when she was 17, and she married Doctor

Sugimoto when she was 20. Mrs. Sugimoto testified that, while

many marriages in Japan were arranged, she and her husband

married for love. The couple had two children: the oldest son,

Mitsukini, and the youngest, Yasunobo, with whom the widow

Hiroko now lives.

(139) Doctor Sugimoto became employed at the

ministry of agriculture in Japan when he was 22 years old.

Through self-study he was able to obtain his Ph.D by 1973.

During his work with the ministry of agriculture he was

assigned to Malaysia for a two-year period from 1962 to 1964

and 1967 to 1969 and for a two-and-a-half-year period from

1980 to 1982. On these assignments he provided technical aid

for the development of rice crops. Doctor Sugimoto was also

“1- GU0072

away from home on assignment in Thailand for six months in

1973.

(140) After 35 years at the ministry of agriculture,

Doctor Sugimoto in 1982 became a member of the faculty in the

Department of Agriculture at Tottori University. For a number

of years since 1982, Doctor Sugimoto has been connected with

the agricultural project at Guerrero Negro.

(141) Doctor Sugimoto did not use tobacco. When

asked whether he used alcohol, Mrs. Sugimoto responded that

he did not, but later qualified her testimony stating that he drank

on social occasions or holidays. He was careful with his diet

since he had high blood pressure. He received surgical

operations on two occasions. On one occasion his condition was

described by Mrs. Sugimoto as benign. On the other occasion

he received an operation for cataracts on his eyes.

(142) Hiroko Sugimoto suffers from high blood

pressure for which she takes medicine. She received a surgical

operation for a thyroid condition and she has a light case of

diabetes. She does not use either tobacco or alcohol.

Mrs. Sugimoto was examined on January 8, 1993 by

Doctor Bressler, a qualified internist who treats geriatric

patients. Doctor Bressler reviewed Mrs. Sugimoto’s medical

records, examined her and had a number of laboratory tests

performed on her. He reviewed medical literature bearing upon

her condition. He found she is now 61 years of age and has

chronic diseases that will affect her life expectancy including

diabetes, hypertension and elevated cholesterol. In his expert

opinion, she has a ten-year life expectancy. I find his testimony

credible and reliable.

I find that Mrs. Sugimoto is in poor health, suffers from

chronic diseases that will shorten her life expectancy and that, at

the time of trial, she had a ten-year life expectancy.

(143) Hiroko Sugimoto testified that on three or four

occasions her husband slapped her. Later, she qualified her

testimony to say that on several occasions he “physically

admonished” her. This, she testified, had to do with the manner

in which she disciplined her sons. Doctor Sugimoto thought she

- v00078

NO on Hele eet oy ue =

was not strict enough.

For approximately 12 years, Doctor Sugimoto’s parents

resided with their son and daughter-in-law. They were in bad

health and required a good deal of care from Mrs. Sugimoto.

Much of her enjoyment in life came from raising the children

and in their accomplishments.

Her husband drove a motor vehicle, took her shopping

several times a week. Before his death, they went on walking

or day trips approximately once a month. Both enjoyed working

in the garden at their home in Ibaraki.

Doctor Sugimoto planned to remain a professor at

Tottori University until he would be compelled to retire at the

age of 65. He expressed interest upon retirement to return to

Malaysia and work for perhaps five years but had no definite

plans.

His hobby was to create tanka, a form of Japanese

poetry. Indeed, Doctor Sugimoto published a book of poetry.

At the time of his death in September 1987, Doctor Sugimoto

was 61 years of age.

(144) Kimiko Kodani was born in Japan on May 4,

1935. She first met her future husband, Doctor Kodani, in 1947

and a marriage was arranged for the two of them. She found

her husband to be very kind, jolly and well liked. She testified

that he was a good person, generous to his wife and others.

Doctor Kodani and his wife had two daughters: Mayu,

the oldest, and the second daughter, Kyoke. After the marriage,

Doctor Kodani’s parents moved in with their son and daughter-

in-law. Doctor Kodani’s father died nine years ago, but Mrs.

Kodani continues to care for Doctor Kodani’s mother who is

now 81 years of age.

(145) Doctor Kodani was the oldest son in his family

and during his life his home became a center for family

gatherings which were happy events. Doctor Kodani’s hobbies

included golf and bicycling. He loved sports and he loved to

sing.

(146) Doctor Kodani obtained a Ph.D in agriculture in

1977. He specialized in hydrology and irrigation research. He ~

al G00074

graduated from Tottori University in 1954 and became a

member of the faculty as an assistant professor in 1977. He

became well known for research in his field and made

presentations at professional meetings. In 1980, he went to the

United Arab Republic for one month to provide assistance.

Doctor Kodani would have retired at 65 from his position as

professor at Tottori University. He had nine years until

retirement and had no specific plans of employment at that time.

Her husband at the time of his death was 56 years of age. He

had been in good health.

(147) Kimiko Kodani relied upon her husband for

family support. However, she held several part-time jobs as a

dressmaker and a nurse’s aid. Her husband helped her at times

with the household duties and set aside 10,000 yen per month

from his salary into savings.

(148) Kimiko Kodani suffered depression and an attack

of osteomyelitis following the death of her husband. She

attributes her condition to the loss of her husband. Her sexual

relations with her husband were enjoyable, and she continues to

miss her husband’s company and support.

(149) Kuniko Omachi married Hideo Omachi in 1985

and the couple had one child. Mrs. Omachi was employed by

Tokyo Marine Fire Insurance, but after her marriage she relied

on her husband for support.

Hideo Omachi was employed as section manager in the

purchasing department of Asahi Chemical Industry, Limited,

Japan’s largest chemical company. In his position, Mr. Omachi

was required to travel frequently to the Soviet Union, China,

Europe and the United States and on the occasion of his death,

September 30, 1987, to Mexico.

(150) Mr. Omachi was sociable, sincere and

considerate. He liked to sing and at the university belonged to a

mountaineering club. He became a golfer and on one occasion

won a company tournament. But his dream was to become

director of the company which employed him.

When not traveling, he spent long hours at work,

leaving at 7:30 a.m. in the morning and returning home at 8:30

bd v000795

p.m. and often later. When he worked overtime, about twice a

week, he would arrive home at 11:00 p.m. or midnight. When

he was home and particularly during the pregnancy of his wife,

Mr. Omachi was helpful in performing household chores,

cooking and entertaining.

(151) Shortiy before undertaking his business trip to the

United States and Mexico, Mr. Omachi had been reassigned by

Asahi to a section that dealt with salt. He began to study salt

and planned to visit Exportadora’s salt plant in Mexico. In

September 1987, Mr. Omachi traveled to the United States with

Mr. Takeya, a member of the Asahi board of directors. Mr.

Omachi expected to introduce Takeya to American business

contacts for Asahi Chemical.

The arrangements for Mr. Omachi’s travel from San

Diego to Guerrero Negro to visit Exportadora’s salt plant were

made through Mr. Matsushita of Mitsubishi. As I have noted,

Mitsubishi is 49 percent owner of Exportadora.

(152) At trial, the Plaintiffs and Defendant Exportadora

offered the testimony of economic experts on the damage

claims. The methodology employed by the two experts in

arriving at their opinions on economic losses differed widely.

(153) Doctor Lowell Bassett qualified as Plaintiffs’

expert economist. Upon comparison of interest rates on

Japanese government bonds for the period of 1966 to 1990,

Doctor Bassett found the interest rate over the period of time to

average 7.08 percent. Wage increases over the same period,

1966 to 1990, he found to average 8.48 percent.

In Doctor Bassett’s opinion, wages have increased in

Japan slightly more than interest rates. Accordingly, in his

opinion, comparison of interest rates with inflationary factors

required that future economic loss should not be reduced to

determine present cash value.

(154) Based on Doctor Bassett’s research, including

review of depositions and interviews with decedents’ survivors,

Doctor Bassett arrived at the opinion that each of the deceased

would have contributed to their beneficiaries three and a half

hours per week in non-market services, such as driving a car,

-65- V007b

making house repairs and performing maintenance.

(155) Doctor Bassett concluded, based on the

information received from the survivors of Doctor Kodani and

Doctor Sugimoto, that the information was not reliable enough

to determine the consumption expenses of the deceased. He

reconstructed consumption expense for each of the deceased

based on information or data obtained through published

materials not he average personal expenses in Japan. He then

applied a formula on the increase in family personal expenses in

the United States and taking into account increasing family size.

(156) Information furnished to Doctor Bassett by Mrs.

Omachi appeared to be a sufficiently reliable basis to determine

Mrs. Omachi’s personal expenses. But when Doctor Bassett

compared the information supplied by Mrs. Omachi with

information obtained from Japanese published data, he found

that the information provided by Mrs. Omachi averaged slightly

less than the data based on the averages in Japan, and he opted

to use the general average in making his calculations of Mr.

Omachi’s personal consumption.

(157) Doctor Bassett determined the earning capacity of

each of the decedents based on historical data obtained from

records of wages earned annually by decedents in the positions

held by each up to the time of their deaths on September 30,

1987. To carry loss of income forward from September 30,

1987 until time of trial, Doctor Bassett calculated an average

based upon the historical record of earnings and applied that

average to determine economic loss to the time of trial.

(158) Since professors at Tottori University are

required to retire at age 65, Doctor Bassett computed lost

income caused by the death of Doctor Sugimoto and the loss of

future income caused by the death of Doctor Kodani to age 65.

Based on his research and knowledge, Doctor Bassett

formed the opinion that both professors would retire upon

reaching the age of 65, but would undertake other work for an

additional five years until reaching the age of 70. In his

opinion, the earnings between first retirement and second

— GU0077

;

retirement would be less and he fixed the amount of income to

be earned in this period until second retirement at two thirds of

earnings at the time of first retirement.

Although the widows of Doctor Kodani and Doctor

Sugimoto knew little concerning their husbands’ future plans

beyond retirement from Tottori University, they reported to

Doctor Bassett that their husbands planned to undertake some

employment and he took this information into account in

determining future economic loss.

(159) Doctor Bassett assumed Mr. Omachi would retire

upon reaching the age of 62, although most Japanese employed

by Japanese companies, according to published statistical data in

Japan, retire between ages 55 to 60. In 1985, according to

Statistical data, approximately 95 percent of all Japanese

industries had in place a mandatory retirement age between 55

years and 60 years. Doctor Bassett assumed that Japan’s aging

population, resulting in fewer young people in proportion to

numbers of older persons, would cause the age of retirement

from Japanese companies to rise to 62 in the future.

(160) Doctor Bassett obtained tables of life expectancy

from publications in Japan and calculated a life expectancy:

...for Mr. Omachi of 35.74 years until age 77.47.

...for Doctor Kodani of 23.13 years until age 79.16.

...for Doctor Sugimoto of 18.73 years until age 80.3.

Relying on life expectancy tables, Doctor Bassett

assumed that each of the wives would have outlived their

husbands.

In determining family size, he included Mrs. Omachi’s

daughter who was born in 1988. He was also aware that Mrs.

Sugimoto was now living with her son, but expressed doubt that

Doctor Sugimoto was supporting the son.

Accordingly, Doctor Bassett computer an alternate

determination excluding the son from the Sugimoto claims.

sl GU0078

(161) Doctor Bassett disclosed that his computation of

five hours per week for care and guidance of Mr. Omachi’s

child born in 1988 was received from Plaintiffs’ attorney, Mr.

Foor, and based upon the attorney’s instruction. He calculated

the sum of $130,828 for lost care and guidance. He conceded

that benefits based upon lost care and guidance are rarely

applied.

(162) Doctor Bassett conceded that his calculations have

been revised several times. He had also hoped to obtain

information from the employers of the decedents, but that

information was not forthcoming, so he was forced to compute

averages based on historical data.

Doctor Bassett recognized that Japan is now in a

recession and some economists believe that economic cycles,

when taken into consideration with other economic factors, lead

to more accurate results on economic losses. Doctor Bassett

however believes that, in the long run, the long period is more

reliable.

(163) Doctor Brodshatzer qualified as an expert

economist and testified for Exportadora. In order to compute

economic loss to the survivors of Doctor Sugimoto, Doctor

Kodani and Mr. Omachi, Doctor Brodshatzer extensively

reviewed publications containing statistical data having to do

with Japanese economic and business conditions.

In Brodshatzer’s opinion, Doctor Lowell Bassett has not

evaluated the impact of retirement upon economic losses to the

Plaintiffs from the deaths of Doctor Sugimoto, Doctor Kodani

and Mr. Omachi.

Doctor Brodshatzer also expressed his opinions that

Doctor Bassett had applied recognized economic methodology in

an inconsistent manner and has failed to consider cyctical trends

which necessarily bear on economic losses.

(164) Doctor Bassett stated his opinion that no discount

factor should be applied to reduce future economic losses to

present value. In the period from 1966 to 1990, comparison of

interest rates in Japan averaged 7.08 percent for that period, and

wage increases averaged out for the period at 8.48 percent. On

68- v0079

the basis of this Japanese statistical data, Doctor Bassett reached

an opinion that the discount factor amounted to zero.

(165) According to Doctor Brodshatzer, in the 15 years

from 1966 to 1981, wage increases in Japan have exceeded

interest rates, but in 1981 that trend was reversed and, since that

date, interest rates have exceeded wage increase in Japan.

Doctor Brodshatzer analyzed Japanese statistical data relating to

interest rates and wage increases in the period 1966 to 1990.

His approach, however, was to compare interest rates with wage

increase in five-year increments. His calculations disclose:

In the period 1966 to 1970, interest rates rose at 7.02

percent, wage increases 9.82 percent and the difference was that

wage increases rose 2.8 percent higher than interest rates.

In the period 1970 to 1975, interest rates rose at 7.81

percent, wage increases rose at 18.42 percent and the difference

was that the wage increase in that five-year period rose 10.61

percent over interest rates.

In the period 1975 to 1980, interest rates rose at 8.04

percent, wage increase rose at 8.05 percent and the two rates of

increase, wage and interest, were even.

In 1980 to 1985, interest rates rose at 7.75 percent,

wage increase at 3.97 percent, and the interest rates exceeded

wage increase by 3.78 percent.

In the period 1985 to 1990, interest rates rose 5.36

percent, wage increase rose 3.07 percent, and that period

interest rates exceeded wage increases by 2.29 percent.

(166) In Doctor Brodshatzer’s opinion, since the

number of years to date of retirement would vary with each of

the deceased, the remaining years of work life expectancy for

each decedent would also vary.

Assuming that each decedent would be available for

employment until the age of 70, the rate of discount to present

cash value would vary as to each of the decedents.

(167) Doctor Brodshatzer based his determinations of

lost income from the date of the fatal accident September 30,

1987 until the time of trial based on statistical data of

professors’ earnings in Japan and from the wage increases of

-69-

cU0080

companies employing more than 5,000 persons.

(168) Doctor Bassett and Doctor Brodshatzer differed as

well in the method followed by each in determining consumption

expense. Doctor Bassett’s approach was to obtain statistical data

from Japanese sources of personal expense and apply a formula

based upon the number of family members to project personal

consumption of each decedent.

After interviewing Mrs. Sugimoto and Mrs. Kodani,

Doctor Bassett sought to obtain additional information in order

to determine the personal consuinption for Doctor Sugimoto and

Doctor Kodani. When he was unable to obtain further

information, he concluded the information available was

unreliable and selected another method of computation. He was

satisfied, however, that the records of household expenses

maintained by Mrs. Omachi was sufficiently reliable to

determine Mr. Omachi’s consumption expense, but upon

comparing results from the alternate method, he opted to apply

the same method to determine Mr. Omachi’s personal

consumption as he employed in determining the personal

consumption of Doctor Kodani and Doctor Sugimoto.

(169) Doctor Brodshatzer relied upon the information

provided by Mrs. Sugimoto, Mrs. Kodani and Mrs. Omachi.

He found the information was sufficiently reliable to determine

personal consumption following this method. In support of his

methodology in estimating personal consumption, he expressed a

preference for using information exposed to examination by

counsel. The information which he relied upon for the most

part was found in the depositions of Mrs. Sugimoto, Mrs.

Kodani and Mrs. Omachi, together with corrections made to

their deposition testimony.

(170) Doctor Brodshatzer included pension payments as

an Offset to economic losses. Plaintiffs object on legal grounds

under the collateral source doctrine and Doctor Bassett did not

account for pension benefits in determining economic loss.

(171) I find that Doctor Brodshatzer’s computations are

more reliable than Doctor Bassett’s. It is true that the period

beginning in 1966 and ending in 1975 wages exceeded interest

-70- ivO081

rates. But beginning in 1981 and continuing until 1990, interest

rates have increased more than wage rates have increased. The

cyclical trend beginning in 1980 should be taken into account in

order to make computations of economic loss more accurate,

and reliable and future economic losses must be discounted to

present cash value.

(172) I find that Doctor Bassett has not considered

statistical data indicating that wages of older persons in Japan

increase less rapidly than younger persons. Doctor

Brodshatzer’s computation of lost income from September 30,

1987 based on statistical data of the earnings of university

professors in Japan, in computing economic losses for the

decedents, Doctor Sugimoto and Doctor Kodani, and

Brodshatzer’s use of the wage increases of employees in

companies employing more than 5,000 people and computing

economic loss for the decedent, Omachi are more reliable.

I also find that the methodology applied by Doctor

Bassett to determine the estimated personal consumption of

decedents to be unreliable. Doctor Brodshatzer’s estimates

based on evidence provided by the family members of the

decedents, I find to be more reliable.

(173) I find that Doctor Sugimoto on several occasion,

because of his work, lived apart from his wife for as long as

two years. He left her to care for his aging parents, a difficult

duty since the parents required much attention.

I find as well that Doctor Sugimoto was sometimes as

not as caring or pleasant to his wife and provided her with little

company and companionship. I find Mrs. Sugimoto entitled to

the sum of $20,000 per year for noneconomic losses reduced to

present cash value.

(174) Doctor Kodani and Mr. Omachi were more

caring and generous to their wives; however, both Doctor

Kodani and Mr. Omachi were ambitious and driven by their

efforts to obtain recognition and advancement in their work.

Omachi in particular worked long hours, sometimes returning

home at 11:00 p.m. or midnight.

I find Mrs. Kodani and Mrs. Omachi entitled to the sum

oF. cUO0082

of $25,000 per year for noneconomic damages reduced to

present cash value.

CONCLUSIONS ON DAMAGES

(175) While I accept Doctor Brodshatzer’s computations

for past economic losses brought about by the deaths of Doctor

Sugimoto, Doctor Kodani and Mr. Omachi, I conclude that

reduction of economic loss by the amount of pension benefits

which have been received by the survivors is a reduction of

income received from a collateral source. Under California law,

pension plan benefits are considered to come from a collateral

source and should not be used to offset tort damages, Hume vs,

Lacey, 112 Cal.App.2d 147 (1952).

(176) I conclude that Doctor Bassett’s projection of

retirement ages of decedents is largely unsupported by the

evidence and is contrary to statistical data or information.

Doctor Brodshatzer projected the initial retirement of Professor

Sugimoto and Professor Kodani at 65, the mandatory retirement

age of professors at Tottori University. He determined that Mr.

Omachi would retire from Asahi Chemical at the age of 60.

I conclude that the evidence of future employment and

compensation of the decedents beyond retirement to be so

uncertain and indefinite that future economic loss cannot be

estimated within any reasonable probability or amount.

(177) A claim is made on behalf of Eri Omachi, the

daughter of decedent Omachi. Eri was born some months after

the death of her father. The claim is supported on nothing more

than instructions given by Plaintiffs’ counsel, Mr. Foor to

Doctor Bassett to include five hours per week of special services

lost to Eri Omachi in computing damage estimates. I reject this

claim as unsupported on the information presented at trial.

(178) In a recent air crash case, the Ninth Circuit Court

of Appeals clarified the California law of damages in a wrongful

death case, and I quote,

"In California, the wrongful death plaintiff may

72- c0008s

recover ‘lost present and future economic

support as well as the pecuniary (as opposed to

sentimental) value of such factors as lost

comfort, society, companionship, care and

protection.’ Notwithstanding the fact that it is

the pecuniary value of lost society, comfort and

care that is recovered in a wrongful death action,

the California Supreme Court labeled these

damages as non-pecuniary because they do not

have an ascertainable economic value. To

recover for the loss of society, comfort and care,

however, the plaintiff must establish the

pecuniary value of such loss and the amount is

monetarily quantified. Under California law,

the damages for wrongful death must be reduced

to present value " In Re Air Crash Disaster

Near Cerritos, California, 982 F.2d 1271 at

1278 (9th Cir. 1992).

(179) Neither party has presented evidence on the

appropriate discount rate for noneconomic damages, and

Plaintiffs seem to argue that the Court should not discount

noneconomic damages at all.

As the Ninth Circuit ruled in Cerritos, noneconomic

damages must be discounted to present value in California. The

discount rate should reflect the rate of return over inflation an

ordinary investor seeking reasonable security could realize, Fox

vs, Pacific Southwest Airlines, 133 Cal.App.3d 565, 568, n. 2

and 570, n. 5 (1982).

(i180) In calculating economic damages, Doctor

Brodshatzer applied a three percent discount rate to future

nonmarket services. I find that, for the purpose of selecting a

proper discount rate, nonmarket services are analogous to

noneconomic damages. I have discounted the noneconomic

damages to present value using three percent as the proper

discount rate.

(181) Mrs. Mayumi Nukiwa is Doctor Kodani’s eldest

v00084

ae

a

daughter. I assume that Mrs. Nukiwa is an heir entitled to

recover for the death of Doctor Kodani under California Code

of Civil Procedure § 377. Ms. Nukiwa’s claims of economic

damages are by reason of increased telephone and travel

expenses to console her mother and her grandmother and the

loss of expected gifts from Doctor Kodani to Mrs. Nukiwa and

her children. I find that these claims of economic loss are too

speculative and tenuous.

(182) Mrs. Nukiwa claims noneconomic damages as

well. Since her marriage in 1982, Doctor Kodani and Mrs.

Nukiwa visited together only about twice a year. While I am

sure she suffered considerable grief and sorrow at the loss of her

father, their independent lives do not support a finding that she

suffered a significant loss of care and companionship. See

Krouse vs. Graham, 19 Cal.3d 59 (1977).

(183) Exportadora argues that this Court should

apportion the award of noneconomic damages between

Exportadora, Aviones, the government of Mexico, Cessna and

Teledyne based upon the relative culpability of the parties.

California law requires the apportionment of noneconomic

damages in, quote,

".,.an action for... wronyful death, based upon

principles of comparative fault." Cal. Civ.

Code § 1431.2.

In Miller vs. Stouffer, 11 Cal.Rptr. 2d 454 (Cal.App.

1992), the California Court of Appeals ruled that Section 1431.2

did not apply to judgments based on vicarious liability.

Exportadora is liable not only for its own negligence but

vicariously for the negligence of the pilot, Raul Gutierrez

Tellez, based upon implied contract, n

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.