Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Casa Veerkamp, S. A. de C. V. v. Kreimerman

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

\ FILE D

\

“94 569 SEP 13 19%

No OEEICE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

¢

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE C.V.

and WALTHER VEERKAMP,

Petitioners,

V.

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN, HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING COMPANY

D/B/A HERMES MUSIC,

Respondents.

«

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

¢

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

James A. PortTER

Counsel of Record

Grecory M. Kocu

Porter & Kocn, L.L.P.

770 South Post Oak Lane,

Suite 500

Houston, Texas 77056

(713) 961-5095

Counsel for Petitioners

September 1994

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO., (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

iy

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether the Inter-American Convention on Letters

Rogatory is the mandatory and exclusive means for ser-

vice of process from the courts of one signatory country,

such as the United States, on a resident/citizen of one of

the other fourteen signatory countries, absent some other

agreement.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CRIGRTICIN PREGRIVEGU. «00. sccescecveneevenatess i

eo, 8 8 ES rrr rrr ee ery ee er 2

pa: eG | A rene ety peer ay yor) 2

THARE © COE VOIEH loss i's 8 esn ck hse eee ene eae 2

SURGES i see uses ahiesanuwhedsee ieee 2

A. The Inter-American Convention.............. 3

B. Froceedings Deiow. «2... 60c css cecscvsvcssees 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION....... 8

I. The Court of Appeals’ Interpretation of the

Inter-American Convention is Erroneous

Given the Language, Context and Rules of

Constenctiait. «566k siaswcniceesseussena vee 9

II. The Court of Appeals Erred in Its Analysis of

The Inter-American Convention vis a vis The

Hague Service and Evidence Conventions... 17

III. The Available Treaty Documents and General

Principles of Comity Support an Interpreta-

tion of the Inter-American Convention as

MERPGRNOEY onc ccs ccbevsnareswecveuete tees 21

oa ee! 68 | ee eerrErrrrrro ay re ee 23

Fig i tt i ne errr rrr rr rr ny al

pig g rrr rrrET rr otro res a33

Figg |. i) Gl Cen mEmriir rrr or a53

eascinieanamnaitiina iia ena

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 382, 105 S.Ct. 1338

ee eae has kd ab 4 od bg nine @ 20.4006 9

Eastern Airlines, Inc. v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 111

EE ee 7

In re: Extradition of Demjanjuk, 612 F.Supp. 544

EE ES ee 7

Societé Nationale v. U. S. Dist. Court, S.D. Iowa, 482

a San, Or SA. 2942 (1967)...... 18, 19, 20, 21, 22

Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Arigliano, 457 U.S.

SG 9

The Case of S. S. Wimbleton, [1923] P.C.L.J. Ser. A.,

ee Cais em kab acnndadsecnssvces 7

The Case of S.S. Lotus (France v. Turkey), [1927]

i cae kv rence cccccsecscescas 7

Trans World Airlines v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S.

ES | Sr 9

Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486

ee ae | 9

TREATIES, STATUTES AND RULES:

Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and

Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Commercial

Matters, 20 U.S.T. 361, T.I.A.S. 6638.............. passim

Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in

Civil or Commercial Matters, 23 U.S.T. 2555,

Sue a aS Whine ccencsacccncess

passim

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

yp BR ee os ot errr rrr errr torr ee Cee 2

yk oe Be er re rer rrr es rere ert 3

RT ail | eee EET Perr Te ee ry mere e rs 3

Pe. er ee is RE wn Sos has CA ee ae Chea es 5

Inter-American Convention of Letters Rogatory,

with Additional Protocol and annex, ___ U.S.T.

___, S. Treaty Doc. No. 27, 98th Cong., 2d Sess.

fo A Per rerr yee sv rro srr Tr eee ree errr re passim

yen. Coe. Peac. de Rem. Come © 87.081. «sc. vsesn a y

MISCELLANEOUS:

et TTT Te eee ee TERT C TE 22

R. Doak Bishop, International Litigation in Texas, 36

i at ee OR ee re a eee 22

Restatement (Second) of Contracts § 203 (1982)...... 16

Pg Perry ee Pe rey rer iz, 13-28, 22

a

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1994

*

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE C.V.

and WALTHER VEERKAMP,

Petitioners,

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN, HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING COMPANY

D/B/A HERMES MUSIC,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Fifth Circuit

8

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

+

Casa Veerkamp, S.A. de C.V.! (“Casa Veerkamp”) and

Walther Veerkamp (hereinafter collectively “Veerkamp”

or “Petitioners”), respectfully petition for a writ of cer-

tiorari to review the judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in this case.

+

! Casa Veerkamp, S.A. de C.V. has no parent or subsidiary

corporations to disclose under Rule 29.1.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, a1-

a32) is reported at 22 F.3d 634. The opinions of the district

court (App., infra, a33-a52) are unreported.

4

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on June 15,

1994 (App., infra, al). The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

+

TREATY INVOLVED

Inter-American Convention of Letters Rogatory, done

at Panama City, January 30, 1975, with additional Proto-

col and annex, done at Monte Video, May 8, 1979, entered

into force for the United States on July 28, 1988. ____ U.S. T.

__, S. Treaty Doc. No. 27, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. (1984)

(hereinafter referred to as the “Inter-American Conven-

tion” or “Convention”). (App., infra, a53-a80).

+

STATEMENT

Respondents sued Petitioners in the 139th Judicial

District Court of Hidalgo County, Texas. Respondents

requested service of process upon the Petitioners by certi-

fied mail in Mexico City through the Texas Secretary of

State pursuant to the Texas Long-Arm Statute (Tex. Civ.

Prac. & Rem. Code § 17.041). The Petitioners, citizens and

residents of the United States of Mexico, removed the

case to the federal district court under 28 U.S.C. § 1441 on

the basis of diversity of citizenship pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1332. The Petitioners then moved to dismiss, inter alia,

on the basis that the method of service and the docu-

ments served failed to comply with the Inter-American

Convention. The district court quashed service on this

basis. (App. infra, a33-a34). After the Respondents failed

to perfect service under the Convention on Petitioners

within the following year, the district court dismissed the

case. (App. infra, a43-a48). The court of appeals reversed

after interpreting the Inter-American Convention as pro-

viding only a permissible, non-exclusive means for ser-

vice of process on the citizen of a signatory country and

remanded to the district court. (App., infra, al-a32).

A. The Inter-American Convention

This case involves the construction of the Inter-Amer-

ican Convention on Letters Rogatory? and whether such

treaty provides the exclusive means for service of process

by citizens of one signatory country on the resident/

citizens of another, absent any other agreement. The

Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory is a

multi-national treaty done in 1975 and designed to facili-

tate service of judicial documents in foreign countries

which are signatories to the treaty. An Additional Proto-

col was added to the treaty in 1979 at the request of the

United States to strengthen and facilitate international

2 The signatories to the Convention are Argentina, Chile,

Costa Rica, Ecuador, El Salvador, Guatemala, Honduras, Mex-

ico, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Spain, United States, Uruguay and

Venezuela.

cooperation in judicial procedures provided for in the

Inter-American Convention. At the time that President

Reagan transmitted the Inter-American Convention to the

Senate for advice and consent in 1984, only one member

of the Organization of American States, other than the

United States, was a signatory to the analogous Hague

Convention on the Service Abroad of Judicial and Extra-

judicial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters

(“Hague Service Convention”). See, Treaty Doc. 98-27, p.

III. 20 U.S.T. 361, T.1.A.S. 6638. With the advice and con-

sent of the Senate, the United States became a party to the

Inter-American Convention and Additional Protocol on

July 28, 1988. Mexico is also a signatory nation to the

Convention and Additional Protocol.

The Inter-American Convention and the Protocol

contain 37 articles and, like the Hague Service Conven-

tion, sets forth a comprehensive procedure for the service

of process. It requires that each signatory country estab-

lish a central authority to receive requests for the service

of documents from other signatory countries. (App. infra,

a54, art. 4 and a62, art. 2). Once a central authority

receives the request in proper form, it must transmit the

document to the appropriate local authority for service of

the documents in accordance with applicable local law.

(App. infra, a65, art. 4). The local authority must then

attest to its execution and the central authority must

certify the execution of the document in accordance with

a prescribed form. (App. infra, a65, art. 4). As demon-

strated below, the Inter-American Convention on Letters

Rogatory mandates by its language, context and structure

that letters rogatory are the exclusive means for service of

process by residents of one signatory country on the

residents of another.

B. Proceedings Below

On November 4, 1991, Alberto Kreimerman, Hermes

International, Inc., and Hermes Trading Company d/b/a

Hermes Music (hereinafter collectively “Kreimerman” or

“Respondents”) filed an original petition against Peti-

tioners, Electronica Solida Mexicana, S.A. and Jorge R.

Mendez, alleging claims for libel, slander and civil con-

spiracy in the 139th Judicial District Court of Hidalgo

County, Texas and requested service of process by certi-

fied mail upon all the defendants through the Texas Sec-

retary of State pursuant to the Texas Long-Arm Statute.

Tex. Civ. Prac. & Rem. Code § 17.041. The Respondents all

reside and/or are domiciled in Hidalgo County, Texas.

All the defendants reside in and/or are domiciled in the

United States of Mexico. By December 23, 1991, the Texas

Secretary of State had issued certificates confirming that

the petition and citation were mailed to Casa Veerkamp

and Walther Veerkamp, and that mail receipts had been

signed by their agents.

On December 23, 1991, Veerkamp filed a Notice of

Removal to the Southern District of Texas. Electronica

Solida Mexicana, S.A. and Jorge R. Mendez did not

appear. On December 30, 1991, Veerkamp filed a motion

to dismiss pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. Proc. 12(b). Veer-

kamp’s motion urged the court, inter alia, to quash service

on the basis that the Inter-American Convention is the

exclusive means for service in this instance and that

Kreimerman’s service under the Texas Long-Arm Statute

did not comply. On January 21, 1992, Plaintiffs filed a

Motion to Remand and a Response to Defendants’ Motion

to Dismiss. By order entered on February 6, 1992, the

Court denied all parties’ motions, except it granted Veer-

kamp’s motion to quash service and required that service

be made pursuant to the Inter-American Convention.

(App., infra, a33-a34). After one year had passed from the

court’s order quashing service and hearing evidence that

nothing official had been done in Mexico to cause the

letters rogatory to be served, the magistrate of the district

court recommended on March 29, 1993 that the case be

dismissed and the district court did so on April 3, 1993.

(App., infra, a35-a48).

On May 20, 1993, Respondents timely perfected their

appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth

Circuit. On June 15, 1994, the court of appeals issued its

opinion affirming the district court in part, reversing in

part, and remanding the case to the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Texas, on the question

of whether service was proper pursuant to the Texas

Long-Arm Statute and if so, to proceed with the case on

the merits. (App., infra, al-a32). The court of appeals

overruled the district court and held that the Inter-Ameri-

can Convention did not preempt all means for affecting

service other than letters rogatory. (App., infra, a6-a24).

The court of appeals acknowledged that the question

before it relating to the Inter-American Convention is res

nova in the Fifth Circuit and all other United States Court

of Appeals. (App., infra, a6). The court of appeals also

acknowledged some of the rules of construction that this

Court has announced apply to treaty construction and

applied some of these rules while it chose to ignore

a. _ |

others. (App., infra, a7-al10). While these omissions are

discussed below, the most critical errors are its failure to

apply general rules of construction and its failure to

follow this Court’s rule of liberal construction of treaties.

(App., infra, a7-al0). The court of appeals does not

acknowledge a rule of construction that requires a docu-

ment be interpreted so as to give effect to all provisions.

The court of appeals does acknowledge a part of a rule of

this Court that “treaties are more liberally construed than

contracts.” (App., infra, a9-a10), citing Eastern Airlines,

Inc. v. Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 535, 111 S.Ct. 1489, 1493 (1991)

(citations omitted). In spite of the lip service paid to this

Court’s rule of liberal construction of treaties, the court of

appeals actually ignores the rule’s plain meaning and

relies on inferior authority to interpret the rule to hold

that treaty provisions should be construed narrowly

instead of liberally. (App., infra, a9, n. 17 & 18), citing, The

Case of S.S. Lotus (France v. Turkey), [1927] P.C.I.J. Ser. A.,

No. 10 at 18-19; In re: Extradition of Demjanjuk, 612 F.Supp.

544, 555 (N.D. Ohio 1985); The Case of S. S. Wimbleton,

[1923] P.C.I.J. Ser. A., No. 1, at 25. These errors fore-

shadow the court of appeals’ holding with respect to the

Convention.

At the heart of the court’s analysis is its conclusion

that the Inter-American Convention contains no plain

statement of preemptive intent which it says this Court

found critical in finding that the Hague Convention on

the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or Commercial

Matters (“Hague Evidence Convention”) did not preempt

other methods of discovery. (App., infra, all-al4); 23

U.S.T. 2555, T.1.A.S. No. 7444. However, the court of

appeals’ analysis is flawed because it failed to analyze the

i

context of the Hague Evidence Convention in which this

Court found the absence of such a preemptive statement

so crucial. In addition, it also failed to compare and

contrast the context of the Hague Evidence Convention to

the context of the Inter-American Convention. (App.,

infra, at all-a18). As shown below, in the Inter-American

Convention, these factors support preemption.

Based on its erroneous analysis, the court of appeals

concluded by finding that the Inter-American Convention

was merely a safe harbor providing a simple and certain

means but not the exclusive means by which a party may

serve process on a foreign national in a signatory country.

(App., infra, a22).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Although the Inter-American Convention was

entered into by the United States in July of 1988 this is the

first court of appeals’ opinion on this treaty and it is

wrong. Given this country’s rapidly increasing trade with

Mexico since the ratification of the North American Free

Trade Agreement, it is timely for this Court to determine

if the Inter-American Convention must be utilized for

service between the two countries, as well as the thirteen

other signatory countries. This is an important question

of federal law which has not been, but should be settled

by this Court.

I. The Court of Appeals’ Interpretation of the Inter-

American Convention is Erroneous Given the Lan-

guage, Context and Rules of Construction.

This Court’s rules of treaty construction which

require that the Inter-American Convention be found to

be mandatory are as follows. The role of the court in

treaty interpretation is limited to ascertaining and enforc-

ing the intent of the treaty parties. Sumitomo Shoji Amer-

ica, Inc. v. Arigliano, 457 U.S. 176, 102 S.Ct. 2374, 2377

(1982). In interpreting an international treaty, it is in the

nature of a contract between nations. Trans World Airlines

v. Franklin Mint Corp., 466 U.S. 243, 253, 104 S.Ct. 1776,

1783 (1984). The analysis therefore begins with the words

of the treaty and the context in which the written words

are used. Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 382, 397, 105 S.Ct.

1338, 1341 (1985). Treaties are construed more liberally

than private agreements, however, and a court may look

beyond the written word to the treaty’s history, to the

negotiations and the practical construction adopted by

the parties may also be relevant. Id. 470 U.S. at 396, 105

S.Ct. at 1341. Other general rules of construction may be

brought to bear on difficult or ambiguous passages. Volks-

wagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694, 700,

108 S.Ct. 2104, 2108 (1988).

The words and context of the Inter-American Con-

vention and Additional Protocol with the application of

rules of construction establish that it preempts all other

means of service of process absent some other agreement.

This is in spite of the fact that there is not a provision in

the Convention that expressly states that all other means

of service in civil or commercial cases are prohibited or

preempted by the Convention. Rather Article 2 states that

0

10

the Convention is applicable in civil and commercial

cases in the states parties and only provides for one

method of service of process, letters rogatory. (App., infra,

a53). The Convention imposes on the states parties the

obligation to execute service on its subjects. (App., infra,

a54-a56, art. 5 & 10; a65, art. 4). The Convention excepts

from its application methods and procedures for service

other than letters rogatory, only when such procedures

have been agreed to directly between the states parties,

themselves. (App., infra, a57-a58, art. 14 & 15). However,

there is no exception in the Convention that allows one of

the states parties to continue its own means and methods

of service unilaterally. The additional protocol and the

treaty history that is available, further demonstrate the

intent of the states parties to the Convention to prohibit

means of service other than letters rogatory. Each of these

points is discussed in detail below.

Article 2, “SCOPE OF THE CONVENTION”

expressly provides as follows:

Article 2

This Convention shall apply to letters rogatory,

issued in conjunction with proceedings in civil

and commercial matters held before the appro-

priate judicial or other adjudicatory authority of

one of the States Parties to this Convention, that

have as their purpose:

a. The performance of procedural acts of a

merely formal nature, such as service of pro-

cess, summonses or subpoenas abroad;

(App., infra, a53).

Thus by agreeing to the Convention, the signatory states

parties are agreeing that the terms of the Convention

11

shall apply to letters rogatory used for service of process

in civil and commercial matters. Petitioners do not sug-

gest that this language by itself preempts other means of

service of process, but it is important that it does not

recognize, permit or otherwise allow any other method of

service of process.

The Preamble to the Additional Protocol to the Con-

vention which was proposed by the United States, adds

support to the preemptive interpretation of-the Conven-

tion. The Preamble states it was entered into for the

purpose of strengthening and facilitating international

cooperation in judicial procedures as provided in the

Inter-American Convention and to provide for the more

effective service of judicial documents. (App., infra, a62).

In addition, the Scope of the Protocol is set forth in

Article 1 and it clarifies that the Protocol itself applies

only to the performance of procedural acts of a merely

formal nature, such as service of process, summonses or

subpoenas abroad, again demonstrating the intent to

limit the preemptive impact of the Convention. (App.,

infra, a62). The Additional Protocol is not limited to these

acts only when they are accomplished by letters rogatory,

but rather provides that these acts can be accomplished

only by means of letters rogatory. (App., infra, a62-a70).

The Additional Protocol thus supports the intended

exclusivity of such means of service.

The only exceptions for methods of service of process

other than letters rogatory are set forth in Articles 14 and

15 of the Convention. These Articles permit the use of

other means and methods only when the states parties

have agreed to such other means and methods between

themselves. (App., infra, a57-a58). The Convention does

12

not contain an exception that allows one of the states

parties to unilaterally impose methods of service on

others. Articles 14 & 15 provide as follows:

VI. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Article 14

States Parties belonging to economic inte-

gration systems may agree directly between

themselves upon special methods and pro-

cedures more expeditious that those provided

for in this Convention. These agreements may

be extended to include other States in the man-

ner in which the parties may agree.

Article 15

This Convention shall not limit any provi-

sions regarding letters rogatory in bilateral or

multilateral agreements that may have been

signed or may be signed in the future by the

States Parties or preclude the continuation of

more favorable practices in this regard that may

be followed by these States.

(App., infra, a57-a58).

The court of appeals completely ignored Article 14 in its

analysis. (App., infra, all-a18). Article 14 is an exception

that expressly allows more expeditious procedures only

when agreed to by the States Parties that belong to eco-

nomic integration systems.* (App., infra, a57-a58). The

3 The Department of State suggests that Article 14 applies

only to special methods and procedures relating to letters roga-

tory, however, nothing in the language of Article 14 suggests

such a limitation. Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. VIII.

13

provision does not recognize or permit the continuation

of methods and procedures used unilaterally by one of

the states parties. Indeed Article 14’s relative position as

the first article under the heading of general provisions,

dictates that it be read broadly. This Court’s rules govern-

ing treaty construction also dictates that it be read liber-

ally. Simply put, the words of this Article provide one

exception to the general applicability of the Inter-Ameri-

can Convention for more expeditious procedures agreed

to by members of economic integration systems.

Article 15 which follows Article 14 in the General

Provisions excepts from the reach of the Convention less

restrictive service provisions agreed to between states

parties in bilateral or multilateral agreements. (App.,

infra, a58). This Article provides that more favorable ser-

vice practices that may have been agreed to or practiced

by states parties to bilateral or multilateral agreements

are not preempted by the Convention and may continue.

(App., infra, a58). Again the Article does not provide that

unilateral practices may continue. (App., infra, a58).

Moreover, the Department of State’s comment on Article

15 in its report on the Convention to President Reagan

states:

Article 15 permits Contracting States either to

continue in force agreements with less restric-

tive provisions, or to enter into such agreements

in the future. It further authorizes the continu-

ance of practices between states concerning let-

ters rogatory which may be less restrictive than

those prescribed by the Convention. For exam-

ple, service by mail or by a private process-

14

server may continue to be employed if autho-

rized by the law of the State of destination.

Treaty Doc. 98-27, p- VIII.

The court of appeals did not ignore Article 15 in its

analysis as it did Article 14. However, while it recognizes

that it is “difficult” to dispose of this provision, the court

does so by dismissing the Department of State’s comment

as “modest support” and engages in an unreasonably

narrow construction of the second clause of Article 15 to

find that it permits unilateral practices of countries to

continue. (App., infra, a15-a17). This analysis by the court

of appeals is strained and erroneous.

First, the court does not properly divide the clauses.

(App., infra, a15). The second clause of Article 15 reads

“This convention shall not ... preclude the continuation

of more favorable practices by these States.” (App., infra,

a58). Second, the court of appeals ignores the context of

Article 15 that it addresses bilateral and multilateral

agreements, just as Article 14 addressed economic inte-

gration systems. (App., infra, a15-a17, a58). By ignoring

the context of Article 15, the court of appeals interprets

this clause on a stand-alone basis and concludes that this

clause indicates nothing about whether these practices

must be agreed by the parties, when in fact the subject of

the Article is bilateral and multilateral agreements. (App.,

infra, a15-a17, a58). Third, the court of appeals deletes the

words “these States” from the clause and substitutes

“contracting States” to interpret the clause to permit

more favorable unilateral practices of any contracting

state. (App., infra, a15-a16). If the drafters had intended

to refer to all countries to the Convention, as suggested

by the court of appeals, they would have used the term

| ameeneinmeaiin

15

“States Parties” which is used throughout the Conven-

tion, rather than “these States.” (App., infra, a53-a61). The

term “these States” is used in this clause to refer back to

States Parties that have signed or may sign bilateral or

multilateral agreements in the first clause and to permit

more favorable practices that may be followed by these

states in such agreements. (App., infra, a58). Fourth, the

court of appeals erroneously interprets “practices in this

regard” to refer to practices relating to letters rogatory.

(App., infra, al6-a17). This again ignores the context of

Article 15 and would render the second clause redundant

with the first clause as the first clause already permits

provisions relating to letters rogatory in agreements.

(App., infra, a58). Literally and certainly when read liber-

ally, this second clause is meant to broadly permit the

continuation of practices that have been followed by

states parties that are also parties to bilateral and multi-

lateral agreements. Moreover, given that the first clause

permits less restrictive provisions with respect to letters

rogatory, the purpose of the second clause is to permit

service of process by means in addition to letters roga-

tory.

As demonstrated the court of appeals’ disregard of

Article 14 and its unreasonable attempts to dispose of

Article 15, does not adhere to applicable rules of treaty

construction and is erroneous. The purpose of Articles 14

and 15 is to clearly provide exceptions from the Conven-

tion’s required use of letters rogatory.

The court of appeals concluded that the Convention

is merely a “safe harbor” - a dependable mechanism -

but not necessarily the only lawful mechanism - by

which they may effect service on defendants residing in

16

another signatory nation. (App., infra, a22). This inter-

pretation by the court of appeals means that there is no

need for exceptions to the Inter-American Convention

because all other means and methods of service that were

available prior to the Convention would continue to be

available after ratification of the Convention. The court of

appeals’ interpretation means that Articles 14 and 15

have no effect. Under the court of appeals’ interpretation,

members of economic integration systems would con-

tinue to have available all “methods and procedures more

expeditious than those provided for in the Convention”

without Article 14. Under the court of appeals’ interpreta-

tion, parties to bilateral and multilateral agreements

would be able to use all provisions relating to letters

rogatory or other more favorable practices that may be

contained in their agreements without Article 15. This

construction of the Convention by the court of appeals

ignores and in fact violates a general rule of construction.

The general rule of construction that the court of

appeals’ interpretation violates is set forth in the Restate-

ment of Contracts as follows:

§ 203. Standards of Preference in Interpretation.

In the interpretation of a promise or agreement

or a term thereof, the following standards of

preference are generally applicable;

(a) an interpretation which gives a reason-

able lawful, and effective meaning to all the

terms is preferred to an interpretation which

leaves a part unreasonable, unlawful, or of no

effect;

Restatement (Second) of Contracts § 203 (1982).

-: me IO 5

17

The court of appeals’ interpretation renders Articles 14

and 15 as having no effect and, thus, is a violation of this

general rule of construction. The Inter-American Conven-

tion does not expressly state that all other methods of

service are preempted by the Convention. (App., infra,

a53-a70). Rather the Convention sets forth the procedures

for the permissible means of service, i.e., letters rogatory,

and then excepts other means and methods of service that

have been agreed to by the states parties either as a result

of economic integration systems or bilateral or multi-

lateral agreements. (App., infra, a53-a70). This construc-

tion is not a leap of logic as the court of appeals states,

but rather is the proper construction of the Convention

based on a fundamental general rule of construction that

this Court has said is applicable to treaties as contracts

between nations.

II. The Court of Appeals Erred in Its Analysis of The

Inter-American Convention vis a vis The Hague

Service and Evidence Conventions

Application of the same analysis to this Convention

that this Court applied to the Hague Service Convention

and the Hague Evidence Convention to determine if they

were mandatory or permissive, demonstrates that the

Inter-American Convention, like the Hague Service Con-

vention, is mandatory.

Article I of the Hague Service Convention provides:

The present convention shall apply in all cases,

in civil or commercial matters, where there is

18

occasion to transmit a judicial or extrajudicial

document for service.

20 U.S.T. 361, 362, T.1.A.S. No. 6638.

Based on the strength of this language, the Conven-

tion has been interpreted as being mandatory. Societé

Nationale v. U. S.-Dist. Court, S.D. Iowa, 482 U.S. 522, 534,

n.15, 107 S.Ct. 2542, 2550 n.15 (1987).

The Hague Evidence Convention, however, has been

held to be applicable only on a case-by-case basis. Id., 482

U.S. at 540-41, 107 S.Ct. at 2553. This Court reached this

conclusion only after a complete review of the Conven-

tion. The preamble of the Evidence Convention states as

its purpose: “to facilitate the transmission and execution

of letters of request” and to “improve mutual judicial

cooperation in civil or commercial matters.” 23 U.S.T. at

2557, T.LA.S. No. 7444. However, this Court did not stop

its analysis at this language in the preamble. Nor did this

Court find or even suggest that because the Hague Evi-

dence Convention only referred to and applied to “Let-

ters of Request” that other means of taking evidence were

not precluded. 482 U.S. at 534, 107 S.Ct. at 2550; Compare

App., infra, all-a12. Before reaching its conclusion, this

Court also looked at the context of the Evidence Conven-

tion and the language used throughout the Evidence

Convention, finding that the word “may” was used

throughout rather than the mandatory “shall.” 482 U.S. at

535. 107 S.Ct. at 2551. In addition, this Court considered

that Article 23 of the Evidence Convention allows a signa-

tory country to declare that it will not execute a letter of

request in aid of pretrial discovery in a common law

19

country. 482 U.S. at 536-538, 107 S.Ct. at 2551-2552. Per-

haps most persuasive to this Court was the fact that

Article 27 of the Evidence Convention expressly provided

that the Convention shall not prevent a contracting state

from “permitting by internal law or practice, methods of

taking evidence other than those provided for in this

Convention.” 482 U.S. at 538, 107 S.Ct. at 2552-53. Finally,

this Court also stated that the interpretation of the Evi-

dence Convention as exclusive would allow the courts of

another country to regulate pretrial discovery in a case

pending in another country. 482 U.S. at 539-40, 107 S.Ct.

at 2553. It was based on this language and context of the

Hague Evidence Convention that this Court held that

such convention was permissive.

Article 2 of the Inter-American Convention is very

similar to Article I of the Hague Service Convention. Both

use the mandatory word “shall” and apply in commercial

and civil cases for service of process abroad. The differ-

ences between the two are explained by the fact that

letters rogatory is the exclusive means for service under

the Inter-American Convention, while the Hague Service

Convention permits various means of service. (App. infra,

a53). 20 U.S.T. 361, T.I.A.S. No. 6638. The main difference

is that the word “all” is not used in the Inter-American

Convention, but it is used in the Hague Service Conven-

tion. However, “all” would be superfluous in the context

of Article 2 of the Inter-American Convention, as it

assumes that in any case where service abroad is sought,

a letter rogatory will issue.

20

In contrast, unlike the Hague Evidence Convent

mandatory language is used throughout the Inter-Am

can Convention. For example, Article 5 requires that

ters rogatory shall be executed by the receiving coun

(App., infra, a54-a55). The Hague Evidence Conveni

provides that it “may” be done. 482 U.S. at 535, 107 S

at 2551. In addition, the Inter-American Convention,

the Hague Service Convention, provides only a very 1

row exception to the mandatory obligations it imposes

a state of destination to serve a letter rogatory. The Ha

Service Convention which has been interpreted as m

datory does contain an exception that allows a signat

state to refuse to honor a request for service in instar

where compliance would infringe upon the state of de

nation’s “sovereignty or security”. 20 U.S.T. 361, 364,

13, T.L.A.S. No. 6638. The Inter-American Convent

likewise provides a narrow exception that a state of de

nation may refuse to execute a letter rogatory whic!

“manifestly contrary to its public policy.” (App., ir

a58, art. 17). Thus, throughout the Inter-American C

vention it mandates that states parties shall perform

procedures, rather than providing that they may be dx

The court of appeals does purport to look at

context of the Inter-American Convention in dismiss

the Petitioners’ preceding arguments concerning mar

tory language. The court of appeals dismisses the ex.

ination of the language stating that in the Conventior

the mandatory language refers to what must be d

with respect to letters rogatory, but none of it indic

that the Convention’s procedures exclude other mean

service. (App., infra, all-al4). However, this misses

point. In Societé Nationale, supra, this Court reviewed

21

procedures under the Hague Evidence Convention and

found: (i) a judicial authority in one contracting state may

forward a letter of request; and (ii) diplomatic officers,

consular agents, and commissioners may take evidence.

482 U.S. at 535, 107 S.Ct. at 2551. This Court found that

the absence of any command that a signatory state must

use the Hague Evidence Convention procedures conspic-

uous and supported this Court’s conclusion that such

Convention was permissive. Id. By comparison the Inter-

American Convention mandates that states parties follow

the procedures set forth subject to the two exceptions

discussed above. Thus, the court of appeals’ disposal of

this argument fails to properly apply the precedent of this

Court and ignores the mandatory provisions of the Con-

vention.

Ill. The Available Treaty Documents and General

Principles of Comity Support an Interpretation of

the Inter-American Convention as Mandatory.

The fact that the Inter-American Convention applies

exclusively to service of process between signatory states

is also supported by the documents relating to its consent

and ratification by the United States Senate.* President

Reagan, in his letter of transmittal to the Senate, stated

that the Inter-American Convention would create a level

of international cooperation among the Organization of

American States analogous to that among the signatories

to the Hague Service Convention. Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. I.

4 No documents relating to the negotiation of the Conven-

tion or Additional Protocol have been published. -

22

Likewise, both the Department of State in its report su

mitted to the President and the Senate Committee —

Foreign Relations in its report to the Senate, equate t

Inter-American Convention to the Hague Service Co

vention. Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. III; Exec. Rept. 99-2

Nowhere in any of these materials is it noted by t

Executive or Legislative Branch of the government tk

the Inter-American Convention is unlike the Hague Ss

vice Convention because its provisions for service |

Letters Rogatory are permissive and not mandatory. }

comments indicate that internal laws or practices of t

state of transmission, such as service by mail, can co

tinue in the absence of an agreement. There is such la

guage in treaty documents of the Hague Eviden

Convention. See, 482 U.S. at 535 n. 19, 107 S.Ct. at 2551

19. While there is express language that the Convention

mandatory, the Executive and Legislative Branches of t

federal government gave no indication that the Inte

American Convention would not be the exclusive meth«

for service with signatory countries.

In agreeing to enter into the Inter-American Conve

tion, the United States recognized the right of forei;

governments, including the government of Mexico,

agree to this method of service within their borders, at

to reject all others. Mexico, like the United States, is

sovereign state; it would be unfair to ignore her reserv

tions to the Convention as to service of her citize

within Mexico. See, 482 U.S. at 543-44, n.27, 107 S.Ct.

2555-56, n.27. In a civil law nation such as Mexico, it

traditionally required that legal documents be served |

a government official or through some other official cha

nel. R. Doak Bishop, International Litigation in Texas,

' — WD or 4

a

23

Baylor L. Rev. 131 n.12-17 (1984). Therefore private par-

ties, without intervention of the state, are unable to per-

form such acts. Id. In fact, an attempt at service without

the intervention of the Mexican government, may consti-

tute the performance of an illegal act. Id. Given these

restrictions, the principles of sovereignty and comity dic-

tate that the provisions of the Convention be applied in

this situation.

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, including the United States’ obli-

gations under the Inter-American Convention, this peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

James A. Porter,

Counsel of Record

Grecory M. Kocu

Porter & Kocn, L.L.P.

770 South Post Oak Lane,

Suite 500

Houston, Texas 77056

(713) 961-5095 (Tele.)

(713) 961-4747 (Fax)

Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDIX A

al

Alberto KREIMERMAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

Vz.

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. de C.V,,

et al., Defendants-Appellees.

No. 93-2403.

United States Court of Appeals,

Fifth Circuit.

June 15, 1994.

Appeal was taken from order of the United States

District Court for the Southern District of Texas, Kenneth

M. Hoyt, J. quashing service on Mexican defendants

under Texas long-arm statute. The Court of Appeals,

Wiener, Circuit Judge, held that (1) Inter-American Con-

vention on Letter Rogatory did not preempt all other

conceivable means for effecting service on defendant who

resided in Mexico; (2) removal of action to wrong divi-

sion of right district create procedural, rather than juris-

dictional defect and could be remedied by transferring

case to correct division; and (3) district court did not

abuse its discretion in refusing to extend time to effect

service.

Affirmed in part, reversed in part, and remanded

with instructions.

Jan R. Thurman, Annette R. Lloyd, Thurman, Har-

rison & Steck, Arlington, TX, for appellant.

James A. Porter, Williams & Martin, Houston, TX, for

Casa Veerkamp.

a2

Appeal from the United States District Court for th

Southern District of Texas.

Before KING and WIENER, Circuit Judges, an

ROSENTHAL,” District Judge.

WIENER, Circuit Judge.

Plaintiffs-Appellants Alberto Kreimerman, Herme

International, Inc. and Hermes Trading Company d/b/

Hermes Music (collectively “Kreimerman et al.”) suec

Defendants-Appellees Casa Veerkamp, S.A. de C.V. Wal

ter Veerkamp, Electronica Solida Mexicana, S.A., anc

Jorge R. Mendez (collectively “Veerkamp et al.”)! fo:

libel, civil conspiracy, and slander. Kreimerman et al

served process on the defendants, all of whom are resi:

dents of Mexico, by direct mail through the Texas Secre.

tary of State under the Texas Long-Arm Statute,2 but the

district court quashed this service, holding that the Inter.

American Convention on Letters Rogatory (the Conven-

tion),* a multi-national treaty designed to facilitate ser-

vice of letters rogatory among the signatory nations, was

the exclusive means of effecting service on the defen-

dants. After Kreimerman et al. tried long and hard - but

unsuccessfully — to accomplish service on the defendants

“District Judge of the Southern District of Texas, sitting by des-

ignation.

' Electronica Solida Mexicana, S.A. and Jorge R. Mendez

have not appeared and are not parties to this appeal.

* Tex.Civ.Prac. & Rem.Code § 17.041, et seq.

3 Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory (here-

inafter “the Convention”), January 30, 1975, S. TREATY DOC.

No. 27, 98th Cong., 2d Sess. (1984).

felt a Eien a tei ala, Sane

a3

through the use of letters rogatory pursuant to the Con-

vention, they appealed the district court’s decision to

quash their service on the defendants under the Texas

Long-Arm Statute, arguing — inter alia — that the Conven-

tion does not preempt other methods of service. They

also appealed that court’s refusal to grant a third exten-

sion of time within which service could be accomplished

pursuant to the Convention.

I

FACTS AND PROCEEDINGS

Alberto Kreimerman is the sole owner and stock-

holder of Hermes Music and Hermes International, Inc.,

which sell numerous music related products. Both com-

panies have their principal places of business in Hidalgo

County, Texas, where Kreimerman resides. Walter Vee-

rkamp, who resides in Mexico, D.F. (Mexico City), in the

United States of Mexico (Mexico), is the owner of Casa

Veerkamp, S.A. de C.V., which also sells music related

products and which has its principal place of business in

Mexico.

Kreimerman et al. sued Veerkamp et al. in Texas state

court for libel, conspiracy, and slander,4 serving process on

all defendants through the Texas Secretary of State under the

4 Kreimerman claimed that he was defamed when Veer-

kamp sent copies of an article from a Mexican political maga-

zine and explanatory cover letters to some of Kreimerman’s

suppliers. The article (and the accompanying cover letters)

apparently accused Kreimerman of being involved in drug traf-

ficking, gun running, and money laundering.

a4

Texas Long-Arm Statute. Veerkamp et al. removed the ca:

to the United States District Court for the Southern Distri

of Texas, Houston Division. They also moved to dismiss tl

action for lack of jurisdiction and improper servic

Kreimerman et al. responded to Veerkamp et al.’s motic

and requested that the case be remanded to state court

alternatively, that it be transferred to the McAllen Division |

the Southern District of Texas, which was the proper vent

division for the case.5 The court denied all motions excey

the motion to quash service, which it granted on the groun

that the Convention established the exclusive means «

serving process on defendants residing in a signatory Stat

Following the court’s decision to quash service und«

the long-arm statute, Kreimerman et al. moved to exten

the time to serve all defendants and requested the distri

court to issue four letters rogatory for service of proces

under the terms of the Convention. The letters wet

issued and forwarded to Mexico by Kreimerman et al.

American counsel to be served on the defendants. Kre

merman et al. retained Mexican counsel in Ciudad Juare

(on the Mexican side of the Rio Grande River, across fror

El Paso, Texas) to receive the letters and assist with suc

service. This counsel in turn hired another Mexican atto’

ney, whose firm had offices in Mexico City, where th

letters rogatory had to be filed. During the ensuin

months, Kreimerman et al.’s Mexican counsel reporte

that the letters had been received and filed with th

Federal District Court of Mexico, but that they had nc

° We address the issue of removal to the wrong divisio

later.

mth.

ee

coo

2S hin PS 4 AE a at AR AEE

bebe A LR

Si 23 AINE ANA EAC AG RROD HOE Se ot HAL

8 RES eh

She

ce Nip ae ee

Pee A ey BPR es

s

|

/

a5

yet been served, apparently because of the limited per-

sonnel available to serve process in international cases.

As his time to effect service ran out, Kreimerman et al.

requested a second extension of time to serve the defen-

dants, and this request was granted too.

Prior to the expiration of the third deadline, Kreimer-

man et al.’s counsel in Mexico represented that service of

the letters rogatory had been effected, but that there

would be a delay in processing the returns. Kreimerman

et al. wrote to the court, notifying it that service had been

effected, but that additional time was needed to obtain

properly certified copies. Only after Veerkamp et al. sub-

sequently moved for sanctions against Kreimerman et

al.’s counsel for misrepresenting that service had been

effected, did Kreimerman et al. learn that service had not

in fact been effected. Apparently, the lawyer in Mexico

City had continually misrepresented the true situation.

Kreimerman et al. again moved (for the third time) for

additional time to complete service of letters rogatory in

Mexico. The magistrate judge conducted an evidentiary

hearing in which Kreimerman et al.’s motion to extend time

for service and Veerkamp et al.’s motion to dismiss the

action and issue sanctions were reviewed. At the hearing, the

magistrate judge denied Kreimerman et al.’s motion for a

third extension, concluding that they would not be

prejudiced by a dismissal because the applicable statute of

limitations had been tolled while the suit was pending.® The

magistrate judge also found that sanctions were not

6 These statutes of limitations presumably related to Krei-

merman et al.’s actions against Veerkamp et al. under Texas law

for libel, civil conspiracy, and slander.

a6

appropriate, but recommended that Kreimerman et al.’s case

be dismissed without prejudice, thereby permitting them to

refile later.

Kreimerman et al. filed written objections to the mag-

istrate judge’s recommendations, but the district court

adopted them and dismissed the case before the timely-

filed written objections were received by the court. Krei-

merman et al. then moved for reconsideration but their

motion was denied.” This appeal followed.

IT

ANALYSIS

A. Preemption

The central quéstion in this case is whether the Con-

vention preempts all other conceivable means for effect-

ing service on defendants who reside in Mexico. To the

best of our knowledge, this question is res nova in this

and all other United States courts of appeals. Signifi-

cantly, the question whether service under the Texas

Long-Arm Statute was validly accomplished under the

facts of this case is not before us; neither does our inter-

pretation of the Convention turn on the existence vel non

of alternative methods of service that comport with

notions of comity and other requirements of domestic

and international law. Here, we simply need to determine

7 Kreimerman et al. also made a motion to reinstate the

motion for reconsideration, or - if you will - to reconsider the

motion for reconsideration.

me ee Le ee Le ee eee Teter. Y —

a7

whether the language, history, and purpose of the Con-

vention indicate that it was devised to supplant all other

means of effecting service on a defendant residing in a

signatory nation other than the forum nation.

1. Standards For Construing the Convention

In construing a treaty — as in construing a statute —

we begin with the language or text.® The text of a treaty

must be “interpreted in good faith in accordance with the

ordinary meaning to be given to the terms of the treaty in

their context and in light of its object and purpose.”?

Only when the language of a treaty — read in the context

of its structure and purpose!® - is ambiguous may we

8 United States v. Alvarez-Machain, 504 U.S. __, __, 112

S.Ct. 2188, 2193-94, 119 L.Ed.2d 441, 451-52 (1992); Volkswagen-

werk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486, U.S. 694, 699, 108 S.Ct.

2104, 2108, 100 L.Ed.2d 722 (1988); Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S.

392, 397, 105 S.Ct. 1338, 1341, 84 L.Ed.2d 289 (1985); Chan v.

Korean Air Lines, Ltd., 490 U.S. 122, 134-35, 109 S.Ct. 1676,

1683-84, 104 L.Ed.2d 113 (1989).

9 Vienna Convention on the Law of Treaties, May 22, 1969,

art. 31(1), 8 I.L.M. 4 (1969) (hereinafter “Vienna Convention”);

accord Sumitomo Shoji America, Inc. v. Avagliano, 457 U.S. 176,

180, 102 S.Ct. 2374, 2377, 72 L.Ed.2d 765 (1982) (clear import and

obvious meaning of treaty language control). Although the

United States is not a party to the Vienna Convention, it regards

the substantive provisions of the Vienna Convention as codify-

ing the international law of treaties. See RESTATEMENT

(THIRD) OF THE FOREIGN RELATIONS LAW OF THE

UNITED STATES, Part III, introductory note (1986).

10 Although several cases specify that the language of a

treaty must be read “in context,” see, e.g., Eastern Airlines, Inc. v.

Floyd, 499 U.S. 530, 534, 111 S.Ct. 1489, 1493, 113 L.Ed.2d 569

a8

resort to extraneous information like the history of |

treaty, the content of negotiations concerning the treé

and the practical construction adopted by the contract

parties.'' We have no dispensation “to alter, amend,

add to any treaty, by inserting any clause, whether sm

or great, important or trivial... . “!? Indeed, any su

effort on our part “would be . . . an usurpation of pow

and not an exercise of judicial function.”!5 Neither m

we supply a casus omissus, for we have no authority

(1991); Schlunk, 486 U.S. at 699, 108 S.Ct. at 2108, these cases

not define the word “context.” As the language of a treat:

again, read in context - is regularly contrasted with informat

extraneous to the treaty (like the travaux preparatoires), see, e

Eastern Airlines, Inc., 499 U.S. at 535, 111 S.Ct. at 1493; Chan, :

U.S. at 134, 109 S.Ct. at 1683-84, we can infer that the context ¢

treaty consists of insights drawn from the treaty docums

itself. Article 31(2) of the Vienna Convention confirms this inf

ence, for it defines the context of a treaty as the text “includ

its preamble and annexes,” as well as contemporaneous inst

ments and agreements made by the parties to the treaty |

connection with the conclusion of treaty.” Emphasis add:

Obviously, inferences drawn form a treaty’s structural organi

tion (e.g., the titles of its articles and parts) are also part of |

contextual analysis of a treaty. Such contextual analysis can a

should inform our understanding the literal language of a tre:

provision. Thus, when a court speaks of interpreting the |:

guage of a treaty in the context of its structure and purpose

means construing the literal language of the treaty in light of

structural organization and its purpose - as reflected in |

preamble and other parts of the treaty.

11 Eastern Airlines, Inc., 499 U.S. at 535, 111 S.Ct. at 14

Chan, 490 U.S. at 135, 109 S.Ct. at 1684.

'2 Chan, 490 U.S. at 135, 109 S.Ct. at 1684 (quoting ‘

Amiable Isabella, 19 U.S. (6 Wheat.) 32, 5 L.Ed. 191 (1821)).

3 Id.

le

— ss

a he

Poe a oe BE

cia gay as nihil Tania Bas cert vie:

:

:

i

a9

rewrite a treaty.!4 These canons of interpretation, how-

ever, do not indicate which of several competing inter-

pretations we should favor in close cases.

Courts commonly declare the treaties are more “lib-

erally construed” than contracts.'5 This does not mean,

however, that treaty provisions are construed broadly.

Rather, this “liberal” approach to treaty interpretation

merely reflects - as indicated above - the willingness of

courts, when interpreting difficult or ambiguous treaty

provisions, to “look beyond the written words to the

history of the treaty, the negotiations, and the practical

construction adopted by the parties.”!© Indeed, existing

precedents — though sparse — suggest that treaty provi-

sions should be construed narrowly rather than broadly. '”

As treaties establish restrictions or limitations on the

exercise of sovereign rights by signatory States, courts

should interpret treaty provisions narrowly — for fear of

waiving sovereign rights that the government or people

of the State never intended to cede.'® Ambiguous provi-

sions of a treaty should thus be interpreted to derogate

14 Id.

IS See, e.g., Air France v. Saks, 470 U.S. 392, 396, 105 S.Ct.

1338, 1341, 84 L.Ed.2d 289 (1985); Eastern Airlines, Inc., 499 U.S.

at 535, 111 S.Ct. at 1493.

16 Eastern Airlines, Inc., 499 U.S. at 535, 111 S.Ct. at 1493

(citations omitted).

\7 See, e.g., The Case of S.S. Lotus (France v. Turkey), [1927]

P.C.L.J. Ser. A, No. 10 at 18-19; In re Extradition of Demjanjuk, 612

F.Supp. 544, 555 (N.D.Ohio 1985) (citing the S.S. Lotus case for

the proposition that the jurisdiction [to adjudicate] of sovereign

States is unbounded unless explicitly prohibited).

18 As “[t]he rules of law binding upon States . . . emanate

from their own free will as expressed in conventions or by

al0

minimally from the sovereign power of the State, which is

the quintessential and most legitimate entity in interna-

tional law.!9 ;

2. Discussion

The parties advance both textual (and contextual)”

and non-textual (or extraneous) arguments in support o!

their respective interpretations of the Convention.

Although the district court was persuaded that Kreimer-

man et al.’s attempt to serve process under the Texas

Long-Arm Statute contravened the Convention, that

court did not reveal with arguments it found especially

telling. The absence of the trial court’s reasons are incon-

sequential here, though, as the interpretation of treaty

provisions is a question of law, freeing us to review the

usages generally accepted as expressing principles of

law ... [rJestrictions upon the independence of States canno:

therefore be presumed.” The Case of S.S. Lotus (France v. Turkey),

[1927] P.C.I.J. Ser. A, No. 10 at 18-19 (emphasis added); In re

Extradition of Demjanjuk, 612 F.Supp. 544, 555 (N.D.Ohio 1985)

(citing the S.S. Lotus case for the proposition that the jurisdic-

tion [to adjudicate] of sovereign States is unbounded unless

explicitly prohibited); see also The Case of S.S. Wimbleton, [1923

P.C.1.J. Ser. A, No. 1, at 25 (indicating that international treaties

place restrictions on the exercise of the sovereign rights of sig-

natory States).

19 In this case, however, it turns out that the arguments

weigh rather more heavily on one side than the other. Thus, we

need noi reiy on any canon of interpretation to determine the

outcome in this case: It is simply not that close.

20 See supra footnote 10.

all

district court’s conclusion de novo.2! We consider the par-

ties textual and non-textual arguments in turn.

a. Textual Arguments

The only federal court to have reached the issue in a

published opinion concluded that the Convention is not

the exclusive means of serving process on defendants

residing in a signatory State.22 In so concluding, that

court emphasized that the Convention does not expressly

prohibit other means of service: The Convention “states

that it shall apply to letters rogatory . . . [but it] does not

state that letters rogatory are the only means.of serving

process in the signatory countries.”?>

This is a telling dichotomy. The Convention does

indeed merely state that it “shall apply to letters roga-

tory,”*4 rather than to any and all means of serving pro-

cess. In contrast, the Hague Service Convention - by its

own terms - “appl{ies] in all cases, in civil or commercial

matters, where there is occasion to transmit a judicial . . .

document for service abroad.”?5 Similarly, the official title of

21 Sioux Tribe v. United States, 205 Ct.Cl. 148, 500 F.2d 458,

462 (1974); Cayuga Indian Nation of New York v. Cuomo, 758

F.Supp. 107, 111 (N.D.N.Y.1991).

22 Pizzabiocche v. Vinelli, 772 F.Supp. 1245, 1249 (M.D.Fal.1991).

23 Id.

24 The Convention, arr. 2.

25 Convention on Service Abroad of Judicial and Extrajudi-

cial Documents in Civil or Commercial Matters, Nov. 15, 1965,

art. 1, 20 U.S.T. 361, T.1.A.S. No. 6638 (hereinafter “Hague Ser-

vice Convention”) (emphasis added).

al2

the Convention is the Inter-American Convention on Le

ters Rogatory, whereas the official title of the Hague Se

vice Convention is the Convention on the Service Abros

of Judicial and Extrajudicial Documents in Civil or Comme

cial Matters.26 As rogatory letters (or letters of reques

are — by definition - merely one of many procedur

mechanisms by which a court in one country may reque

authorities in another country to assist the initiating cou

in its administration of justice,?” the Convention’s scor

appears to be limited to regulating that one procedur.

mechanism. In contrast, the scope of the Hague Servic

Convention is much broader, applying as it does to a

service abroad upon defendants residing within signato

States.

This facial difference in scope is reinforced by

comparison of the preambles of the two agreements. Th

Convention’s preamble is rather modest: “The Gover

ments of the Member States . . . desirous of concluding

convention on letters rogatory, have agreed as fo

lows. ... “28 The language of the Hague Service Conver

tion is more peremptory: “Desiring to create appropriat

means to ensure that judicial and extrajudicial documen

to be served abroad shall be brought to the notice of th

addressee in sufficient time. .. . ”29

26 Id. (emphasis added).

27 See, e.g., Fed.R.Civ.P. 4(f) & 28(b) (in which letters rog:

tory are listed as but one of several possible means of effectin

service upon or deposing foreign residents).

28-The Convention, preamble.

29 The Hague Service Convention, preamble (emphas

added).

al3

Neither does the Convention contain a clear statement

of preemptive intent. Yet the Supreme Court found the

absence of such a “plain statement of a pre-emptive intent”

significant in deciding that the Hague Evidence Convention

did not preempt other methods of discovery.°°

Thus, nothing in the language of the Convention

expressly reflects an intention to supplant all alternative

methods of service. Rather, the Convention appears

solely to govern the delivery of letters rogatory among

the signatory States.

Veerkamp et al. also point to mandatory language found

in the Convention and insists that similar language led the

Supreme Court in Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk

to conclude that the Hague Service Convention preempted

other methods of service.3! The significance of such manda-

tory language, however, depends on the context in which it

is used. In the Convention, all of the mandatory language

refers to what must be done with respect to letters rogatory;

none of it remotely indicates that the procedures outlined in

the Convention must be followed by the signatory nations

for anything other than the processing of letters rogatory.°?

30 Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. United States

District Court, 482 U.S. 522, 539, 107 S.Ct. 2542, 2553, 96 L.Ed.2d

461 (1987).

31 See Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S.

694, 699, 108 S.Ct. 2104, 2108, 100 L.Ed.2d 722 (1988) (noting the

mandatory language of art. 1).

32 For example, the Convention indicates that it “shall

apply to letters rogatory,” Convention, art. 2, that execution of

such letters by the receiving state “shall not imply ultimate

recognition of the [sending authority’s] jurisdiction,” Id. art 9,

and that “[l]etters rogatory shall be executed in accordance with

al4

In contrast — as noted above — the Hague Service Conventio1

applies “in all cases . . . where there is occasion to transmit.

judicial . .. document abroad.”>5 It was precisely this manda

tory language - not mandatory language in general, bu

mandatory language specifically addressing the scope of thi

Hague Service Convention - that the Supreme Court founc

sO persuasive in Schlunk.34

the laws . . . of the State of destination.” Id. art. 10.

33 Hague Service Convention, art. 1.

34 486 U.S. at 699, 108 S.Ct. at 2108. Interestingly enough th

Convention on the Taking of Evidence Abroad in Civil or Com

mercial Matters (hereinafter “Hague Evidence Convention”)

March 18, 1970, 23 U.S.T. 2555, T.1.A.S. No. 7444, also contain:

mandatory language, yet the Supreme Court concluded that th

Hague Evidence Convention does not preempt other methods o

discovery previously employed by common-law courts. Societ

Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v. United States District Court

482 U.S. 522, 107 S.Ct. 2542, 96 L.Ed.2d 461 (1987). For example

the Hague Evidence Convention indicates that a contracting

State must designate a Central Authority for receipt of letters o

request. Hague Evidence Convention, art. 2. Here we find man.

datory language, yet that language tells us nothing abou

whether the treaty is preemptive or not.

Indeed, it is common for treaty regimes to have mandatory

language that tells signatories what they must do to execute

particular provisions of the treaties. But again, such language

tells us nothing about the scope of the treaties themselves

Analogously, mandatory language to the effect that “no one

may smoke in the doctor’s waiting room,” indicates nothing

about when we must wait in the waiting room. It gives us a rule

for what we must do once there, but it does not tell us when we

must be there. In this case, Veerkamp et al. are essentially argu-

ing that mandatory language indicating what we must or mus‘

not do once in the waiting room (once the Convention is trig-

gered) informs us when we must wait in that room (when the

Convention is triggered). Such a contention is logically insup-

portabie. In summary, the context in which mandatory language

al5

Veerkamp et al. also argues that article 15 of the

Convention demonstrates that the Convention was

intended to preempt other methods of service. Article i5

provides that “[t]his convention shall [1] not limit any

provisions regarding letters rogatory in bilateral or multi-

lateral agreements that may have been signed or may be

signed in the future by the States Parties or [2] preclude

the continuation of more favorable practices in this

regard that may be followed by these States.”°° The first .

clause clearly permits contracting States to maintain

alternative treaty-based procedures for transmitting letters

rogatory. The second clause, however, is more difficult.

Veerkamp et al. interpret this second clause to permit

contracting States to continue other more favorable ser-

vice practices when those practices are agreed upon by all

effected States. In other words, Veerkamp et al. construe

this clause to prohibit continuation of unilateral service

practices by contracting States. There is modest support

for this construction in the State Department’s comments

on article 15 “authorizes the continuance of practices

between states concerning letters rogatory which may be less

restrictive than those prescribed by the Convention.”%

is used determines the relevance of such language to the inquiry

at hand. Simply noting that a treaty contains mandatory lan-

guage is unavailing. Because the mandatory language in the

Hague Evidence Convention has nothing to do with the scope of

the treaty, the Court evidently perceived that the language is not

probative of whether the treaty preempts other methods of

discovery. See generally 482 U.S. 522, 107 S.Ct. 2542.

35 The Convention, art. 15.

36 Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. viii (emphasis added).

al6

There is, however, more to be said against this construc-

tion than in its favor.

The second clause of article 15 can reasonably be

read as affirmative permission for signatory states to con-

tinue “more favorable practices” even if those practices

are exercised unilaterally.°”7 Article 15 simply states that

the Convention does not “preclude continuation of more

favorable practices by [contracting] States.” This article

indicates nothing about whether those practices must be

assented to by other signatory nations. Neither do the

State Department’s comments necessarily support the

position — held by Veerkamp et al. — that pre-existing

State practices may be continued only if assented to by

other States; for the word “between” may simply mean

“among the contracting States,” rather than “agreed upon

by the contracting States” as Veerkamp et al. suggest.

Moreover, even if article 15 does not affirmatively

permit continuance of unilateral state practices, there is

still a palpable leap of logic in asserting that article 15’s

express authorization of certain mutually-accepted prac-

tices implicitly forbids others not so expressly autho-

rized. Ironically, this same leap of logic is mirrored in the

larger question at issue here, as Veerkamp et al. can just

as easily argue — and do so argue - that the very existence

37 Interpreting article 15 to permit continuance of unilateral

service of process practices by individuai contracting States is

not at all far fetched. Indeed, the Hague Evidence Convention

has a provision that does exactly that — permit continuance of

unilaterally-adopted procedures for discovery of evidence. See

‘ The Hague Evidence Convention art. 27; Societe Nationale Indus-

trielle Aerospatiale, 482 U.S. at 537-38, 107 S.Ct. at 2552-53.

al7

of the Convention on Letters Rogatory implies the pro-

scription of other practices not permitted by the Conven-

tion. As discussed later, however, the Supreme Court

does not accept this argument with respect to other con-

ventions, and Veerkamp et al. provide [sic] us with no

good reason to accept the argument here either: Their

leap of logic remains just that - a leap.

Significantly, even if Veerkamp et al.’s assertion that

article 15 does not authorize the continuation of uni-

laterally-exercised State practices were correct, it would

not help them. As the language of article 15 appears to

address only those treaties and State practices that per-

tain to letters rogatory, the article has nothing to say about

other procedures for service of process. The expression

“practices in this regard” found in article 15 can only

mean “practices in regard to letters rogatory.”

The State Department’s comments on article 15 also

support this construction, for they state expressly that

article 15 permits “the continuance of practices between

states concerning letters rogatory.”38 As this case involves

the question whether methods of service other than letters

rogatory are preempted by the Convention, reliance on

article 15 is misplaced: That article simply has nothing to

say about any methods of serving process other than

letters rogatory.

Kreimerman et al., for their part, point to article 17 of

the Convention, which permits a “State of destination [to]

38 Treaty Doc. 98-27, viii (emphasis added).

al8

refuse to execute a letter rogatory that is manifestly con-

trary to its public policy.”°9 Interpreting a somewhat sim-

ilar escape clause in the Hague Evidence Convention,*°

the Supreme Court proclaimed its unwillingness, “[i]n

the absence of explicit textual support, . . . to accept the

hypothesis that the common-law contracting states

abjured recourse to all pre-existing discovery procedures

at the same time that they accepted the possibility that a

contracting party could unilaterally abrogate even the

Convention’s procedures.”4! The same could be said in

this case: In the absence of explicit textual support we

should be similarly chary before accepting that the

United States abjured recourse to all other methods of

service when other contracting States can unilaterally

refuse to execute letters rogatory that are contrary to their

public policies.

Thus, the text of the Convention strongly indicates,

not that the Convention preempts other conceivable

methods of service, but that it merely provides a mecha-

nism for transmitting and delivering letters rogatory

when and if parties elect to use that mechanism.

39 The Convention art. 17.

40 Hague Evidence Convention, art. 23 (which allows a con-

tracting party to withhold its consent to the convention’s pro-

cedures for pretrial discovery).

41 Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale, 482 U.S. at 537,

107 S.Ct. at 2552.

al9

b. Non-Textual or Extraneous Arguments

Veerkamp et al. also advance several non-textual

arguments in support of their assertion that the Conven-

tion preempts other methods of service. First, they point

to President Reagan’s Letter of Transmittal to the Senate,

and the State Department’s Letter of Submittal to the

President, both of which opine that the Convention and

Additional Protocol “establish a treaty-based system of

judicial assistance analogous to that which exists” among

the States that are parties to the Hague Service Conven-

tion.4* But we do not see how this helps the defendants.

“Analogous” means “similar in certain respects,”43 or

“bearing some resemblance or likeness that permits one

to draw an analogy.” Inherent in these definitions is the

connotation that analogous things are also “dissimilar” or

“unlike” in certain respects, for if they were not they

would be identical, or at least essentially identical, and

not merely analogous. Thus, even taken literally, these

statements merely beg the question “similar in what

way.” More likely, President Reagan and the State Depart-

ment were simply referring to the most similar, already-

existing treaty — the Hague Service Convention - without

intending to make any legal judgments about the relative

scopes of the two conventions.

42 Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. i, iii (emphasis added).

43 Oxford American Dictionary 28 (Oxford Univ Press, Avon

Books 1986).

44 Black’s Law Dictionary 84 (6th Ed. 1990).

a20

Veerkamp et al. are also rather selective in drawing

from these extrinsic sources. For example, they are care-

ful not to refer us to the portion of the President’s Letter

of Transmittal in which he indicates, not that United

States courts must resort to Convention procedures [man-

datory], but that the courts “will be able to avail them-

selves of” such procedures (permissive).45 Neither do

they note President Reagan’s opinion that “the purpose

of the Convention is [merely] to facilitate service . . . of

documents.”46 Similarly, Veerkamp et al. fail to call our

attention to the State Department’s assertion that “[t]he

Convention, together with the Additional Protocol, estab-

lishes a mechanism [not the mechanism] for service of

process” among the contracting States.47 In view of the

importance that the Supreme Court places on such per-

missive language,4® Veerkamp et al.’s selective use of

these extrinsic sources is understandable, albeit not alto-

gether forthcoming. Taken as a whole, references to these

extrinsic sources do not strengthen Veerkamp et al.’s

position: Indeed, their net effect is to weaken it.

45 Treaty Doc. 98-27, p. i (emphasis added).

46 Id. The Supreme Court attached considerable importance

to precisely this sort of permissive language in holding that the

Hague Evidence Convention did not preempt other pre-existing

methods of discovery. Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale v.

United States District Court, 482 U.S. 522, 534, 107 S.Ct. 2542,

2550, 96 L.Ed.2d 461 (1987) (noting that the preamble to the

convention stated that its purpose was to facilitate the transmis-

sion and execution of letters of request).

47 Id. at iv (emphasis added).

48 See generally Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale, 482

U.S. 522, 107 S.Ct. 2542.

a21

Veerkamp et al. also suggest that Kreimerman et al.’s

construction of the Convention —- which makes resort to

the Convention procedures optional rather than manda-

tory — renders the Convention inefficacious: Contracting

States could simply choose to disregard Convention pro-

cedures when they proved inconvenient. The Supreme

Court, however, has rejected this argument in a variety of

contexts. In Societe Nationale Industrielle Aerospatiale, for

example, the Court concluded that it is enough that the

Hague Evidence Convention “procedures are available

whenever they will facilitate the gathering of evidence by

the means authorized in the Convention.”49-Similarly, in

United States v. Alvarez-Machain, the Supreme Court con-

cluded that the 1978 Extradition Treaty between the

United States and Mexico was not the exclusive means for

the United States to gain custody over suspects residing

in Mexico.5° In so concluding, the Court rejected the

argument — advanced by the dissent — that the purposes

of the extradition treaty “would be utterly frustrated” if

other means of gaining custody over foreign suspects

were permitted.5! The Supreme Court has thus clearly

rejected the argument that a treaty must be construed to

preempt alternative, nontreaty-based procedures if the

treaty is not to be rendered nugatory.

49 Id. at 541, 107 S.Ct. at 2554.

50 Llnited States v. Alvarez-Machain, 504 U.S. __, 112 S.Ct.

2188, 119 L.Ed.2d 441 (1992).

51 Alvarez-Machain, 504 U.S. at __, 112 S.Ct. at 2198, 119

L.Ed.2d at 458.

a22

In Schlunk, the Supreme Court explained why the

argument is unconvincing,>? pointing out - albeit in a

different context — that “nothing . . . prevents compliance

with the Convention even when the internal law of the

forum does not so require.”53 The Court also observed

that “[t]he Convention provides simple and certain

means by which to serve process on a foreign national.”

These same observations apply perforce to this case.

The Convention provides plaintiffs with a “safe harbor” -

a dependable mechanism — but not necessarily the only

lawful mechanism - by which they may effect service on

defendants residing in another signatory nation. Plaintiffs

who elect not to avail themselves of the Convention

machinery assume the risk that other legal principles, like

the principle of international comity, might hinder their

establishment of jurisdiction over the defendants. Finally,

such plaintiffs may also discover that their failure to

employ the Convention’s safe harbor procedures makes

enforcement of their judgments abroad more difficult or

even impossible.°>

When we thus consider all the arguments advanced

by the parties — both textual and non-textual - we con-

clude that the Convention does not preempt other

methods of service. This conclusion does not, however,

guarantee the availability or efficacy of other methods of

52 Volkswagenwerk Aktiengesellschaft v. Schlunk, 486 U.S. 694,

706, 108 S.Ct. 2104, 2111, 100 L.Ed.2d 722 (1988).

53 Id., 486 U.S. at 706, 108 S.Ct. at 2111.

o4 Id.

55 Id.

ted

oe

Te

ia. eae.

a23

service, and we do not today decide which other methods

of service — if any —- would be supportable or efficacious

under applicable domestic and international law.

3. The Texas Long-Arm Statute

Veerkamp et al. urge that considerations of comity

require that we respect the traditional civil law require-

ment — apparently practiced in Mexico — that legal docu-

ments be served by a government official or through

other official channels. Veerkamp et al. would have us

affirm on other grounds the district court’s decision to

quash service: specifically, by declaring that such service

violates principles of comity. Ignoring for a moment the

failure by Veerkamp et al. to introduce any evidence

concerning the laws of Mexico or any precedents explain-

ing how principles of comity might apply here, this argu-

ment misconstrues the core issue of this case.

Although the parties apparently agree that Kreimer-

man et al. properly employed the machinery of the Texas

Long-Arm Statute, they do not address - in their submis-

sions to us or to the district court - whether service of

process under the Texas Long-Arm Statute on defendants

residing in Mexico contravenes notions of comity, the

procedural requirements of Fed.R.Civ.P. 4, or any other

applicable domestic or international laws.5¢ Neither did

56 The content of Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 4(f), for-

merly largely contained in Fed.R.Civ.P. 4(i), seems especially

relevant to this analysis. But again, the parties did not discuss

whether Kreimerman’s attempt to serve Veerkamp under the

Texas Long-Arm Statute comports with Rule 4(f).

a24

the district court reach such issues: Its inquiry ended

when it held — incorrectly, we conclude - that the Con-

vention preempted all other methods of service on defen-

dants residing in another signatory nation. Whether

Kreimerman et al.’s attempt to serve process under the

Texas Long-Arm Statute contravened any other law

besides the Convention is thus not before us. Such con-

siderations are for the district court on remand.°”

B. Other Issues

Kreimerman et al. also raise several other issues,

none of which warrants extensive treatment at this junc-

ture.

1. Removal to the Wrong Division

A defendant who wants to remove a civil action from

a state court to a federal district court must “file in the

———district court of the United States for the district and

Rule 4(f), rather than the former Rule 4(i), is the provision

that the district court must analyze on remand because the 1993

amendments to the federal Rules of Civil Procedure took effect

on December 1, 1993, and govern “all proceedings in civil cases

thereafter commenced and, insofar as just and practicable, all

proceedings in civil cases then pending.” Order of the Supreme

Court of the United States Adopting and Amending Rules, April

22, 1993; see also Burt v. Ware, 14 F.3d 256, 258 (5th Cir. 1994)

(indicating that amendments to the Federal Rules of Appellate

Procedure should be given retroactive application to the maxi-

mum extent possible).

57 We leave it to the district court’s discretion whether to

hold additional hearings on these questions.

a25

division within which such action is pending a notice of

removal... . “58 In this case, the parties agree that the

action should have been removed, not to the Houston

Division, but to the McAllen Division of the Southern

District of Texas. Relying on-this error, Kreimerman et al.

moved the district court to remand the case to state court,

or, alternatively, to transfer the case to the McAllen Divi-

sion. The court, however, denied the motion. Kreimerman

et al. now insist that the court’s denial constituted revers-

ible error.

Citing King v. Gulf Oil Co.,59 Veerkamp et al. suggest

that we simply dismiss this defect in removal by invoking

harmless error.°° As removal statutes are strictly con-

strued against removal,°! though, we decline to take such

a dismissive approach. Some courts have held that

removal of a case to the wrong division of the right

district nevertheless creates a jurisdictional defect, leav-

ing the district court with no power to adjudicate the case

and no choice but to remand.®? Other courts have held

that removal to the wrong division is procedural, not

jurisdictional.®? We agree with the later perspective.

58 28 U.S.C. § 1446(a).

59 581 F.2d 1184, 1187 (5th Cir. 1978) (reversal for failure to

follow Fed.R.Civ.Pro. is warranted only if prejudice is demon-

strated.

60 Veerkamp et al. refer, of course, to 28 U.S.C. § 2111.

61 Brown v. Demco, Inc., 792 F.2d 478, 482 (5th Cir. 1986);

Butler v. Polk, 592 F.2d 1293, 1296 (5th Cir. 1979).

62 See e.g., Scarmardo v. Mooring, 89 F.Supp. 936, 937

(S.D.Tex. 1950).

63 Cook v. Shell Chemical Co., 730 F.Supp. 1381, 1382 (M.D.La.

1990).

a26

Although Veerkamp et al. removed this case to the

wrong division, there is not doubt that the district court

had subject matter jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1332,

given the parties’ diversity of citizenship.*+ The existence

of such jurisdiction makes this case much more akin to an

improper venue situation than to one in which there is an

actual jurisdictional defect.¢5 The district court thus

should have transferred the case to the McAllen division

under the authority of 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a), which - in the

interest of justice — allows a case to be transferred “to any

district or division in which it could have been

brought.”© As we are remanding the case to the district

court anyway, we need not decide whether the court’s

refusal to transfer the case constituted reversible error:

We simply remand the case to the Houston Division with

directions to transfer the case to the McAllen Division

under 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a).

2. Motion to Extend

Kreimerman et al. also complain that the magistrate

judge erred in rejecting their third motion to extend the

time within which to accomplish service of process. A

district court, however, has broad discretion to dismiss an

64 Id.; accord Mortensen v. Wheel Horse Prods., Inc., 772

F.Supp. 85, 89 (N.D.N.Y. 1991).

6° Mortensen, 772 F.Supp. at 89; Cook, 730 F.Supp. at 1382.

66 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a); Mortensen, 772 F.Supp. at 89; Cook,

730 F.Supp. at 1382.

= eae

Ri PLA he Ts

La ants Ac NE Sakis

Gao

a27

action for ineffective service of process,*” so we review

such a decision only for abuse of discretion.®* Addi-

tionally, when the time to effect service has expired, the

party attempting service has the burden of demonstrating

“good cause” for failure to serve the opposing party.®°

In this case, Kreimerman et al. did not move to

extend service for the third time until more than a month

after the expiration of the twice previously extended

deadline for effecting service. Therefore, they had the

burden of demonstrating that there was good cause for

their failure to effect service. Attempting to satisfy that

burden, Kreimerman et al. insist that their failure was

through no fault of their own. We acknowledge that

available evidence suggests that service of process takes

considerably longer to accomplish in Mexico than it does

in the United States.7° We also realize that the Mexican

attorney who was “helping” Kreimerman et al. serve

process on the defendants apparently misrepresented

even to Kreimerman that service had been accomplished.

67 George v. United States Dep't of Labor, 788 F.2d 1115, 1116

(5th Cir. 1986).

68 System Signs Supplies v. United States Dep't of Justice, 903

F.2d 1011, 1013 (5th Cir. 1990).

69 Winters v. Teledyne Movible Offshore, Inc., 776 F.2d 1304,

1305 (5th Cir. 1985).

70 If it is true that it takes considerably longer to effect

service of process in Mexico than in the United States, then this

is yet another reason to hold that the Convention does not

foreclose other methods of service. If the machinery provided

by the Convention does not work very well, we should be loathe

to condemn United States residents to use such an ineffective

apparatus.

a28

Unfortunately for Kreimerman et al., however, action or

inaction that fall into the categories of inadvertence, mis-

take, or ignorance of counsel do not constitute excusable

neglect.”!

Kreimerman et al. selected and reposed their trust in

the Mexican counsel, who in turn selected and worked

with the other lawyer in Mexico City, who ultimately

proved to be unreliable or dishonest, or both. That is at

least vicariously Kreimerman et al.’s fault. Moreover,

when Kreimerman et al. made their third motion to

extend the time for service, they had already been given

sixteen (16) months in which to serve the defendants, and

the magistrate judge found that there was no reason to

believe that service would have been effected in the near

future. The translation of legal documents into Spanish,

for example, took six months, and Kreimerman et al.'s

Mexican counsel suggested that those translations were

still inadequate. Even if we were to assume that the

misrepresentations by the Mexican counsel constituted

good cause for failing to effect service, we would con-

clude that Kreimerman et al. did not show good cause for

failure to take any action during the eight months preced-

ing those misrepresentations. Neither did Kreimerman et

al. explain why the whole process was not further along

after nearly two years. Under these facts, we cannot say

that the district court abused its discretion.

71 McGinnis v. Shalala, 2 F.3d 548, 551 (5th Cir. 1993).

a

a

4

=

2g

q

7

a29

3. Adoption of Magistrate Judge’s Recommendations

Kreimerman et al. also suggest that the district court

did not make a de novo review of the magistrate judge’s

Memorandum and Recommendations. They complain

that the district court erred in adopting the magistrate

judge’s recommendations before they had filed their writ-

ten objections. Kreimerman et al. assert, in essence, that

because the district court did not wait for them to file

their objections, and because the court did not clarify the

magistrate judge’s ruling with respect to the tolling of the

applicable statute of limitations (and other rulings), we

cannot be certain that the district court made a proper de

novo review.

We grant that a district court must make a de novo

review whenever a party objects to the magistrate judge’s

recommending dismissal.”? In this instance, however,

Kreimerman et al. do little more than speculate that the

district court may not have made a de novo review of the

instant case. They advance neither evidence nor specific

factual allegations in support of their prayer for reversal.

Under these sparse circumstances, we are most reluctant

to find that the district court failed to engage ina proper

review.”

Neither are we troubled by the district court’s adop-

tion of the magistrate judge’s recommendations prior to

the court’s receipt of Kreimerman et al.’s timely-filed

72 Longmire v. Guste, 921 F.2d 620, 623 (5th Cir. 1991); United

States v. Wilson, 864 F.2d 1219, 1221 (5th Cir.); cert. denied, 492

U.S. 918, 109 S.Ct. 3243, 106 L.Ed.2d 590 (1989).

73 Longmire, 921 F.2d at 623.

a30

written objections. Kreimerman et al. cite no cases which

hold that a district court’s failure to wait until objections

are filed before adopting a magistrate judge’s recommen-

dations constitutes reversible error.”* Moreover, even if

the district court had erred in its attempt to follow the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure, we would not be forced

to reverse in the absence of prejudice.7> Additionally,

Kreimerman et al.’s two motions for reconsideration gave

the district court opportunity to consider — yet again -

their objections. We discern no reason to believe that the

district court did not do its job properly.

II]

CONCLUSION

After analyzing all the arguments advanced by each

side, we conclude that the Convention does not preempt

every other conceivable method of serving process on

defendants residing in other signatory states. This conclu-

sion does not necessarily imply the existence and avail-

ability of other methods of service that would be

supportable and effective under domestic and interna-

tional law. We simply hold that the Inter-American Con-

vention on Letters Rogatory does not foreclose other ™

74 Kreimerman does cite Nalty v. Nalty Tree Farm, 654

F.Supp. 1315 (D.Ala. 1987), but that case merely established the

method for computing the time period for filing objections: it

says nothing about whether a district court must wait for those

objections to be filed before adopting a magistrate’s recommen-

dations.

75 See, e.g., King v. Gulf Oi! Co., 581 F.2d 1184, 1187 (5€h Cir.

1978) (court failed to hold hearing on class certification).

a31

methods of service among parties residing in different

signatory nations, if otherwise proper and efficacious. We

therefore remand the case to the district court with

instructions to consider whether the only other method of

service of process attempted by the plaintiffs -— service

under the Texas Long-Arm Statute — comports with prin-

ciples of comity. Fed.R.Civ.P. 4 (especially 4(f)), and any

other applicable legal principles of domestic or interna-

tional law. Because the case was originally remanded to

the wrong division of the United States District Court for

the Southern District of Texas, however, we remand the

case to the Houston Division with directions to transfer it

to the McAllen Division, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a).

The McAllen Division will then determine whether Krei-

merman et al.’s attempt to serve the defendants under the

Texas Long-Arm Statute contravened any applicable laws

or legal principles.

In connection with our instructions to the McAllen

Division of the United States District Court for the South-

ern District of Texas, we emphasize that nothing in this

opinion should be construed as authorizing Kreimerman

et al. to institute any new or additional efforts to serve

the defendants: The district court need only determine

whether Kreimerman et al.’s previous efforts to serve

process under the Texas Long-Arm Statute were consis-

tent with applicable legal principles — international and

domestic.

Therefore, the judgment of the district court is

AFFIRMED in part, REVERSED in part, and REMANDED

to the Houston Division of the United States District

Court for the Southern District of Texas, with instructions

to transfer the case under 28 U.S.C. § 1406(a) to the

a32

McAllen Division for further proceedings consistent with

this opinion.

vane ot Abt Woke Oi db AMP ARO abe Raabe

le ste nian a Meee

Se

w

z

i

.

‘1

4

2

APPENDIX B

a33

(SEAL)

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN,

HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING

COMPANY D/B/A HERMES

MUSIC,

Plaintiffs,

CIVIL ACTION

NO. H-91-3770

VS.

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE

©. V. WALTHER VEERKAMP,

ELECTRONICA SOLIDA

MEXICANA, S.A. AND

JORGE R. MENDEZ,

Defendants.

MMMM MMMM MM WM WM WM WM WM

ORDER

(Filed Feb. 6, 1992)

| The defendant’s motion to dismiss (instrument #4) is

i DENIED without prejudice. However, the service of pro-

cess is insufficient and, it is QUASHED.

The plaintiff’s motion to remand (instrument #7) is

DENIED. The plaintiff’s claims of a defective removal

based on the fact that the case was removed to a Division

of the District outside the Division where the plaintiff

a34

initiated the case is without merit and does not defeat

removal.

The plaintiff's motion to transfer is DENIED without

prejudice. No basis is expressed for the transfer of this

case that sounds in federal jurisprudence.

It is so ORDERED.

Signed this 5th day of February, 1992.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt

KENNETH M. HOYT

UNITED STATES DISTRICT

JUDGE

a35

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN,

HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING

COMPANY d/b/a HERMES

MUSIC

ee CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs NO. H-91-3770

bess (Filed

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE

C.V. WALTHER VEERKAMP,

ELECTRONICA SOLIDA

MEXICANA, S.A. AND

JORGE R. MENDEZ

Defendants

March 29, 1993)

MMMM MMMMmMmMmMmMmMmM Mm

MEMORANDUM AND RECOMMENDATIONS

This is an action brought by Alberto Kreimerman,

Hermes International, Inc. and Hermes Trading Company

d/b/a Hermes Music (“Kreimerman, et al.”) against Casa

Veerkamp, S.A. De C.V., Walther Veerkamp, Electronica

Solida Mexicana, S.A. and Jorge R. Mendez (“Veerkamp,

et al.”) alleging libel, civil conspiracy, and slander.

Procedural Background

This action was originally filed on November 4, 1991,

in the 139th Judicial District Court of Hidalgo County,

Texas, Cause Number C481991C, and removed to this

court as a diversity action on December 23, 1991.

a36

Factual Background

Alberto Kreimerman (“Kreimerman”) is a resident of

Hidalgo County, Texas. Hermes International, Inc.

(“Hermes International”) and Hermes Trading Company,

d/b/a Hermes Music Company (“Hermes Music”) are

Texas corporations whose principal places of business are

in Hidalgo County, Texas. Walther Veerkamp (“Veer-

kamp”) and Jorge R. Mendez (“Mendez”) are residents of

the United Mexican States. Casa Veerkamp, S.A. De C.V.

(“Veerkamp, S.A.”) and Electronica Solida Mexicana

(“ESM”), are Mexican corporations whose principal

places of business are located in the United Mexican

States.

Plaintiffs Kreimerman, et al. and Defendants Veer-

kamp, et al. are competitors in the business of selling

amateur and professional music products, including

instruments, amplifiers, speakers, speaker systems,

microphones, and other sound. system equipment.

A. Libel

Kreimerman, as the sole owner and stockholder of

Hermes Music and Hermes International, alleges that on

or about October 31, 1990, ESM, acting by and through its

general manager, Mendez, sent written correspondence to

two (2) known music products companies, the JBL Com-

pany and the Peavey Company, and to several unknown

music products companies. The correspondence con-

tained photocopies of articles published on or about

October 22 and October 28, 1990, by the Seminario Queh-

aces Politico En Mexico, a political magazine circulated in

a37

the United Mexican States. Kreimerman, et al. allege that

the articles were defamatory in that they falsely accused

Kreimerman and his companies of illegal activities which

included drug trafficking and money laundering. In addi-

tion, Kreimerman, et al. allege that the correspondence

sent by ESM and Mendez contained written statements

which specifically referred to the accusations stated in the

Seminario Quehaces Politico En Mexico articles. It is the

position of Kreimerman, et al. that the correspondence

was intended to interrupt and diminish the business rela-

tionships of Hermes and Hermes International.

Kreimerman, et al. also allege that on or about

November 15, 1990, Veerkamp, S.A., acting by and

through Veerkamp, sent photocopies of the aforemen-

tioned Seminario Quehaces Politico En Mexico articles and a

summary translation of the articles into the English lan-

guage to the JBL and Zildjian music product companies,

and to other unknown music products companies. Addi-

tionally, Veerkamp, et al. allege that there were written

statements which referred to the statements contained in

4 the articles.

H B. Slander

Next, Kreimerman, et al. allege that Veerkamp, acting

alone and on behalf of Veerkamp, S.A. and Mendez,

acting alone and on behalf of ESM, had conversations

with officers, managers, representatives, and salesmen of

several music products manufacturing companies located

within and outside of the United States. The conversa-

tions allegedly referred to Kreimerman and his com--

panies’ involvement in drug smuggling activities, “gun

Ht eae SE piety!

a38

running,” and money laundering; and within the conver-

sations Veerkamp, et al. allegedly stated that Kreimer-

man’s businesses would soon fail as a result of a

forthcoming criminal prosecution.

C. Civil Conspiracy

In their final claim, Kreimerman, et al. allege that the

actions of ESM, Mendez, Veerkamp, S.A., and Veerkamp

were undertaken pursuant to a common plan designed to

injure the reputation and business relationships of Krei-

merman, Hermes Music, and Hermes International.

Plaintiffs’ Failure to Effect Service of Process

Defendants Veerkamp, et al. have filed the instant

motion to dismiss and for sanctions seeking to dismiss

this action due to Plaintiffs Kreimerman, et al.’s failure to

serve process on any of the Defendants more than one (1)

year after this action was originally filed in Hidalgo

County, Texas. In response to the motion to dismiss,

Kreimerman, et al. argue that their failure to effect service

of process is not the result of willful neglect and that in

the absence of such neglect, they are entitled to maintain

this action. The Court disagrees.

Kreimerman, et al.’s efforts to serve process on Veer-

kamp, et al. began in November, 1991, while this action

was pending before the 139th Judicial District Court of

Hidalgo County, Texas, when Kreimerman, et al.

attempted to provide Veerkamp, et al. with notice of this

action by serving the Texas Secretary of State, pursuant to

Tex. Civ. Proc. & Rem. Code Section 17.041, et seq. (“The

sje ae

SP RAR CRE GEA pA Ra A RY FEY

% Cs

xspn)

Fie

in

0

=

™

>

RAY

x

naa

ES

D9

x

3

3

+

EM

a

‘%

a

i

x

o

*

a

Be

¥.

Be

er

x

a

bi

a39

Texas Long-Arm Statute”). However, this attempted ser-

vice violated the Inter-American Convention on Letters

Rogatory, a multi-national treaty designed to facilitate

service of judicial documents in foreign countries which

are signatories to the treaty, and this Court, on February

5, 1992, quashed Veerkamp, et al. attempted service of

process.

To effect service of process on a foreign individual or

corporation, a party may request that the foreign govern-

ment serve the foreign party, pursuant to Rule 4 (i)(1),

Fed. R. Civ. Proc., which reads in part:

[w]hen the federal or state law. . . . authorizes

service upon a party not an inhabitant of or

found within the state in which the district court

is held, and service is to be affected upon the

party in a foreign country, it is also sufficient if

service of the summons and complaint is made:

(B) as directed by the foreign authority in

response to a letter rogatory, when service in

either case is reasonably calculated to give

actual notice.

In accordance with Rule 4, the Court on June 18, 1992

granted Kreimerman, et al.’s motion for entry of Letters

Rogatory for service of process. Despite the Court’s grant

of Veerkamp, et al.’s motion for Letters Rogatory and two

(2) motions to extend time to serve process upon Krei-

merman, et al., to date, Kreimerman et al. have yet to

complete service of process upon Veerkamp, et al.

In support of their first motion to extend time to

serve Veerkamp, et al., Kreimerman, et al. stated that

additional time was necessary to complete the Letters

Rogatory process and that service of process could be

a40

completed by October 31, 1992. In support of their second

motion to extend time to serve Defendants, Kreimerman,

et al. stated additional time was necessary in that they

had retained counsel in the United Mexican States, Sergio

Mauricio Cisneros (“Cisneros”), who had advised Krei-

merman, et al. that because there were only three (3)

bailiffs in Mexico City who were authorized to serve

process for foreign judicial proceedings, and because of

the volume of summonses and processes to be served,

that service of process could not be completed prior to

December 15, 1992. With yet an additional justification,

on March 11, 1993, Kreimerman, et al. requested a third

extension of time to serve Kreimerman, et al. stating that

it has become necessary to retain new counsel in Mexico

City due to misrepresentations made by former counsel

who had been hired to complete the Letters Rogatory

process and effect service of process.

More specifically, Cisneros, an attorney licensed to

practice law in the United Mexican States, was hired, in

April 1992, by counsel for Kreimerman, et al., Jan R.

Thurman (“Thurman”), an attorney licensed to practice

law in Texas, but not in the United Mexican States, for the

sole purpose of effecting service of process on Veerkamp,

et al. in accordance with the laws of the United Mexican

States. Thurman selected Cisneros based upon Cisneros’

reputation as an excellent lawyer and because of the

excellent reputation of the law firm with which Cisneros

was employed, Bryan, Gonzalez Vargas and Gonzalez

Baz, located in Ciudad Juarez in the United Mexican

States, bordering El Paso, Texas. When Cisneros was

hired by Thurman, Cisneros’ principal office was located

in Ciudad Juarez, approximately one thousand miles

LR AEA TA Natt Besta iggs

¥ a -. .

ET ape ot Nrenekreper it

i

jena

Mes

AR RE Bee Soot

Pee oF

a41

(1,000) outside of Mexico City, but his firm had offices

throughout the United Mexican States including Mexico

City where Kreimerman, et al. were located. Because

service of process was to be-completed in Mexico City,

Cisneros chose to hire an associate of his, Ocatavio

Alvarez (Alvarez”), an attorney licensed in the United

Mexican States, who lived in Mexico City.

To initiate the proper service on Veerkamp, et al., this

Court, in June 1992, issued the appropriate Letters Roga-

tory to Thurman who then mailed the Letters Rogatory to

Cisneros. Thereafter, on July 15, 1992, Thurman received

a letter from Cisneros indicating that the Letters Rogatory

had been filed with the Federal District of the Republic of

Mexico.

On October 1 and October 12, 1992, Thurman sent

letters to Cisneros inquiring as to the status of the pro-

cessing of the Letters Rogatory. On October 15, 1992,

Cisneros responded by letter stating that the “legalization

procedure” had taken a long time, and that because only

three (3) bailiffs had been available in Mexico City to

serve foreign processes, additional time should be

requested of this Court to effect service of process.

On October 28, 1992, via telephone, Cisneros advised

Thurman that service of process had been scheduled to

occur during the week of November 23, 1992, and should

be completed no later than December 15, 1992. Approx-

imately one (1) month later, on November 30, 1992, Cis-

neros, again via telephone, contacted Thurman to advise

him that service of process had been effected during the

week of November 23, 1992, but that he, Cisneros, had

a42

not yet received the original Letters Rogatory from the

Federal District of the United Mexican States.

On December 11, 1992, and on January 13, 1993,

Thurman urged Cisneros to return the original Letters

Rogatory. On January 20, 1993, Cisneros again advised

Thurman that service of process had been completed and

that he would soon be visiting Mexico City and during

such visit he would secure the original Letters Rogatory.

On February 4, 1993, Cisneros advised Thurman that an

additional two (2) or three (3) weeks would be necessary

to allow Mexican officials to execute and approve the

Letters Rogatory.

On February 9, 1993, counsel for Veerkamp, et al.,

James A. Porter (“Porter”), sent a letter to Thurman and

to the Court stating that neither Veerkamp nor Veerkamp,

S.A. had been served with process. To determine the

veracity of Porter’s statement that service had not been

effected, Thurman contacted Cisneros on February 16,

1993, and the following day, February 17, 1993, Cisneros

advised Thurman that service of process had not been

effected by Cisneros’ associate in Mexico City, Alvarez.

Applicable Law

It is axiomatic that service upon domestic individuals

or corporations must be completed within 120 days after

filing of the complaint. See Rule 4(j), Fed. R. Civ. Proc.;

Carimi v. Royal Caribbean Cruise Line, Inc., 959 F.2d 1344,

23 Fed. R. Serv. 3d 16 (5th Cir. 1992); Systems Signs Sup-

plies v. U.S. Department of Justice, D.C., 903 F.2d 1011, 16

Fed. R. Serv. 3d 1207 (5th Cir. 1990); McDonald v. U.S., 898

F.2d 466, 16 Fed. R. Serv. 3d 247 (5th Cir. 1990). Rule 4(j),

a43

Fed. R. Civ. Proc. permits the Court to extend the time

limit for service of process beyond 120 days upon a

showing of good cause. However, Rule 4(j), Fed. R. Civ.

Proc., specifically states that subdivision (j) shall not be

_applicable to service of process in a foreign country,

therefore excepting service of process in a foreign country

from the 120 day time limit and removing the require-

ment that good cause be shown to permit an extension of

the time limit for service. Lucas v. Natoli, 936 F.2d 432 (9th

Cir. 1991); Montalbano v. Easco Hand Tools, Inc., 766 F.2d

737 (2nd Cir. 1985). It is the opinion of this Court that

because of the ‘unique circumstances that arise when

effecting service in a foreign country, that Congress in

drafting the Rule 4(j), Fed. R. Civ. Proc., intended that the

Court have wide discretion in enlarging the time limit for

service of process in a foreign country. Guided by fairness

to the parties and the restrictions imposed by Rule 1, Fed.

R. Civ. Proc., that all civil suits be resolved in a speedy

and inexpensive manner, this Court has granted Kreimer-

man, et al. two (2) motions to extend time to permit

service of process which have afforded Kreimerman, et al.

more than sixteen (16) months to effect service of process.

In recommending that this action be dismissed with-

out prejudice, the Court finds it significant that there is

no evidence that Veerkamp has been attempting to evade

service of process. In fact, it is undisputed that Veerkamp,

S.A., a family-owned company, has been located in Mex-

ico City for fifty (50) years or more. Despite this fact

however, and despite the time extensions granted by the

Court, Kreimerman, et al. have been unable to effect

service of process on Veerkamp, et al. Furthermore, the

Court has considered whether service of process would

A

a44

occur in the near future, and has concluded that there is

no proof that should the Court grant yet another thirty

(30) day extension to the Plaintiffs, that service of process

would definitely be effected within the next thirty (30)

days.

RECOMMENDATIONS

Thus, for the foregoing reasons, it is

RECOMMENDED that the Casa Veerkamp, S.A. De

C.V., Walther Veerkamp, Electronica Solida Mexicana,

S.A. and Jorge R. Mendez’s Motion to Dismiss and for

Sanctions (#25) be granted and that this action be dis-

missed without any prejudice to its refiling.

The Clerk will file this instrument and transmit a

copy to each party or counsel. Failure to file written

objections to the proposed findings and recommenda-

tions contained in this report within ten (10) days after

the date of filing shall bar an aggrieved party from

attacking the factual findings on appeal.

ENTERED at Houston, Texas, this the 26th day of

March, 1993.

/s/ Calvin Botley

Calvin Botley

United States Magistrate

Judge

Of GA RTE LP ey Ley AR

Ne a ee SR an el nol RUE eye

a45

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN,

HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING

COMPANY d/b/a HERMES

MUSIC

— CIVIL ACTION

Plaintiffs NO. H-91-3770

Vs. ;

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE

C.V. WALTHER VEERKAMP,

ELECTRONICA SOLIDA

MEXICANA, S.A. AND

JORGE R. MENDEZ

Defendants

MMMM MmMmMmMmMmMmMmMmMmM Mm

ORDER

(Filed March 29, 1993)

Pending before the Court is Alberto Kreimerman,

Hermes International, Inc., and Hermes Trading Com-

pany d/b/a Hermes Music’s Motion to Extend Time to

Service Process (#26). After reviewing the pleadings and

the applicable law, and for the reasons set forth in this

Court’s Memorandum and Recommendations entered

this day, it is

ORDERED that Alberto Kreimerman, Hermes Inter-

national, Inc., and Hermes Trading Company d/b/a

Hermes Music’s Motion to Extend Time to Serve Process

(#26) is denied.

a46

The Clerk shall enter this Order and provide all

parties with a true copy.

ENTERED at Houston, ‘Texas, this the 26th day of

March, 1993.

/s/ Calvin Botley

Calvin Botley

United States Magistrate

Judge

a47

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN, g

ET AL §

lee § CIVIL ACTION

ae § NO. H-91-3770

VS. §

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE §

C V. ET AL :

Defendants §

ORDER

(Filed April 9, 1993)

For the reasons set forth in the United States Magis-

trate Judge’s Memorandum and Recommendations,

signed on March 26, 1993, it is

ORDERED that said Recommendations be and the

same are hereby adopted as the Court’s Memorandum

and Order. It is therefore

ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED that Defen-

dants’ Motions to Dismiss and for Sanctions are

GRANTED, and that this action is dismissed without

prejudice.

The Clerk shall enter this Order and provide all

parties with a true copy.

a48

Done at Houston, Texas, this the 9th day of April,

1993.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt

KENNETH M. HOYT

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

a49

(Seal) |

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN, §

HERMES INTERNATIONAL, §

INC. AND HERMES TRADING §

COMPANY D/B/A HERMES §

MUSIC, §

a §

seer § CIVIL ACTION

VS. § NO. H-91-3770

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DEC. §

V. WALTHER VEERKAMP, S

ELECTRONICA SOLIDA §

MEXICANA, S.A. AND JORGE §

R. MENDEZ, :

Defendants. §

ORDER

(Filed April 26, 1993)

On this day, the motion for reconsideration filed by

the plaintiffs, Alberto Kreimerman, Hermes International,

Inc. and Hermes Trading Company d/b/a Hermes Music

was heard. The Court finds that the motion should be

Denied.

a50

It is therefore ORDERED that the motion for recon-

sideration is DENIED.

Signed this 23rd day of April, 1993.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt

KENNETH M. HOYT

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

a51

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

ALBERTO KREIMERMAN,

HERMES INTERNATIONAL,

INC. AND HERMES TRADING

COMPANY d/b/a HERMES

MUSIC

Plaintiffs

VS.

CASA VEERKAMP, S.A. DE C.

V. WALTHER VEERKAMP,

ELECTRONICA SOLIDA

MEXICANA, S.A. AND JORGE

R. MENDEZ

Defendants

ORDER

MMMM MmMmMmMmMmMmMmMmMm MM

CIVIL ACTION

NO. H-91-3770

(Filed May 26, 1993)

Pending before the Court is Plaintiffs’ Motion to

Reinstate Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration (#39).

In their motion Plaintiffs’ urge the Court to recon-

sider its order denying Plaintiffs’ Motion for Reconsidera-

tion (#36) arguing that the Court should reinstate the

motion for reconsideration to allow additional argument.

After careful review of the motion to reinstate and the

applicable law, it is

ORDERED that Plaintiffs’ Motion to Reinstate Plain-

tiffs’ Motion for Reconsideration (#39) is denied.

a52

The Clerk shall enter this Order and provide a copy

to all parties.

ENTERED at Houston, Texas, this the 25th day of

May, 1993.

/s/ Kenneth M. Hoyt

KENNETH M. HOYT

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

APPENDIX C

a53

INTER-AMERICAN CONVENTION ON

LETTERS ROGATORY

The Governments of the Member States of the Orga-

nization of American States, desirous of concluding a

convention on letters rogatory, have agreed as follows:

I. USE OF TERMS

Article 1

For the purposes of this Convention the terms

“exhortos” and “cartas rogatorias” are synonymous in the

Spanish text. The terms “letters rogatory”, “commissions

rogatoires”, and “cartas rogatérias” used in the English,

French and Portuguese texts, respectively, cover both

“exhortos” and “cartas rogatorias”.

II. SCOPE OF THE CONVENTION

Article 2

This Convention shall apply to letters rogatory,

issued in conjunction with proceedings in civil and com-

mercial matters held before the appropriate judicial of

other adjudicatory authority of one of the States Parties

to this Convention, that have as their purpose:

a. The performance of procedural acts of a

merely formal nature, such as service of pro-

cess, summonses or subpoenas abroad;

b. The taking of evidence and the obtaining of

information abroad, unless a reservation is

made in this respect.

a54

Article 3

This Convention shall not apply to letters rogatory relat-

ing to procedural acts other than those specified in the

preceding article; and in particular it shall not apply to

acts involving measures of compulsion.

Ill. TRANSMISSION OF LETTERS ROGATORY

Article 4

Letters rogatory may be transmitted to the authority

to which they are addressed by the interested parties,

through judicial channels, diplomatic or consular agents,

or the Central Authority of the State of origin or of the

State of destination, as the case may be.

Each State Party shall inform the General Secretariat

of the Organization of American States of the Central

Authority competent to receive and distribute letters

rogatory.

IV. REQUIREMENTS FOR EXECUTION

Article 5

Letters rogatory shall be executed in the States Par-

ties provided they meet the following requirements:

a. The letter rogatory is legalized, except as

provided for in Articles 6 and 7 of this Con-

vention. The letter rogatory shall be pre-

sumed to the duly legalized in the State of

origin when legalized by the competent con-

sular or diplomatic agent;

a55

b. The letter rogatory and the appended docu-

mentation are duly translated into the offi-

cial language of the State of destination.

Article 6

Whenever letters rogatory are transmitted through

consular or diplomatic channels or through the Central

Authority, legalization shall not be required.

Article 7

Courts in border areas of the States Parties may

directly execute the letters rogatory contemplated in this

Convention and such letters shall not require legalization.

Article 8

Letters rogatory shall be accompanied by the follow-

ing documents to be delivered to the person on whom

process, summons or subpoena is being served:

a. An authenticated copy of the complaint with

its supporting documents, and of other

exhibits or rulings that serve as the basis for

the measure requested;

b. Written information identifying the judicial

or other adjudicatory authority issuing the

letter, indicating the time-limits allowed the

person affected to act upon the request, and

warning of the consequences of failure to do

SO;

c. Where appropriate, information on the exis-

tence and address of the court-appointed

a56

defense counsel or of competent legal-aid

societies in the State of origin.

Article 9

Execution of letters rogatory shall not imply ultimate

recognition of the jurisdiction of the judicial or other

adjudicatory authority issuing the letter rogatory or a

commitment to recognize the validity of the judgment it

may render or to execute it.

V. EXECUTION

Article 10

Letters rogatory shall be executed in accordance with

the laws and procedural rules of the State of destination.

At the request of the judicial or other adjudicatory

authority issuing the letter rogatory, the authority of the

State of destination may execute the letter through a

~~ special procedure, or accept the observance of additional

formalities in performing the act requested, provided this

procedure or the observance of those formalities is not

contrary to the law of the State of destination.

Article 11

The authority of the State of destination shall have

jurisdiction to determine any issue arising as a result of

the execution of the measure requested in the letter roga-

tory.

Should such authority find that it lacks jurisdiction to

execute the letter rogatory, it shall ex officio forward the

a57

documents and antecedents of the case to the authority of

the State which has jurisdiction.

Article 12

The costs and other expenses involved in the process-

ing and execution of letters rogatory shall be borne by the

interested parties.

The State of destination may, in its discretion, execute

a letter rogatory that does not indicate the person to be

held responsible for costs and other expenses when

incurred. The identity of the person empowered to repre-

sent the applicant for legal purposes may be indicated in

the letter rogatory or in the documents relating to its

execution.

The effects of a declaration in forma pauperis shall be

regulated by the law of the State of destination.

Article 13

Consular or diplomatic agents of the States Parties *o

this Convention may perform the acts referred to in Arti-

cle 2 in the State in which they are accredited, provided

the performance of such acts is not contrary to the laws of

that State. In so doing, they shall not perform any acts

involving measures of compulsion.

VI. GENERAL PROVISIONS

| Article 14

States Parties belonging to economic integration sys-

tems may agree directly between themselves upon special

a58

methods and procedures more expeditious than those

provided for in this Convention. These agreements may

be extended to include other States in the manner in

which the parties may agree.

Article 15

This Convention shall not limit any provisions

regarding letters rogatory in bilateral or multilateral

agreements that may have been signed or may be signed

in the future by the States Parties or preclude the continu-

ation of more favorable practices in this regard that may

_be followed by these States.

Article 16

The States Parties to this Convention may declare

that its provisions cover the execution of letters rogatory

in criminal, labor, and “contentious-administrative”

cases, as well as in arbitrations and other matters within

the jurisdiction of special courts. Such declarations shall

be transmitted to the General Secretariat of the Organiza-

tion of American States.

Article 17

The State of destination may-refuse to execute a letter

rogatory that is manifestly contrary to its public policy

(“ordre public”).

a59

Article 18

The States Parties shall inform the General Secretariat

of the Organization of American States of the require-

ments stipulated in their laws for the legalization and the

translation of letters rogatory.

Vil. FINAL PROVISIONS

Article 19

This Convention shall be open for signature by the

Memb: r States of the Organization of American States.

Article 20

This Convention is subject to ratification. The instru-

ments of ratification shall be deposited with the General

Secretariat of the Organization of American States.

Article 21

This Convention shall remain open for accession by

any other State. The instrument of accession shall be

deposited with the General Secretariat of the Organiza-

tion of American States.

Article 22

This Convention shall enter into force on the thirtieth

day following the date of deposit of the second instru-

ment of ratification.

a60

For each State ratifying or acceding to the Conven-

tion after the deposit of the second instrument of ratifica-

tion, the Convention shall enter into force on the thirtieth

day after deposit by such State of its instrument of rat-

ification or accession.

Article 23

If a State Party has two or more territorial units in

which different systems of law apply in relation to the

matters dealt with in this Convention, it may, at the time

of signature, ratification or accession, declare that this

Convention shall extend to all its territorial units or only

to one or more of them.

Such declaration may be modified by subsequent

declarations, which shall expressly indicate the territorial

unit or units to which the Convention applies. Such sub-

sequent declarations shall be transmitted to the General

Secretariat of the Organization of American States, and

shall become effective thirty days after the date of their

receipt. .

Article 24

Thus Convention shall remain in force indefinitely,

but any of the States Parties may denounce it. The instru-

ment of denunciation shall be deposited with the General

Secretariat of the Organization of American States. After

one year from the date of deposit of the instrument of

denunciation, the Convention shall no longer be in effect

for the denouncing State, but shall remain in effect for the

other States Parties.

a6l1

Article 25

The original instrument of this Convention, the

English, French, Portuguese and Spanish texts of which

are equally authentic, shall be deposited with the General

Secretariat of the Organization of American States. The

Secretariat shall notify the Member States of the Organi-

zation of American States and the States that have

acceded to the Convention of the signatures, deposits of

instruments of ratification, accession, and denunciation

as well as of reservations, if any. It shall also transmit the

information mentioned in the second paragraph of Arti-

cle 4 and in Article 18 and the declarations referred to in

Articles 16 and 23 of this Convention.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned Plenipo-

tentiaries, being duly authorized thereto by their respec-

tive Governments, have signed this Convention.

DONE AT PANAMA CITY, Republic of Panama, this

thirtieth day of January one thousand nine hundred and

seventy-five.

4

a62

ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL TO THE

INTER-AMERICAN CONVENTION ON

LETTERS ROGATORY

The Governments of the Member States of the Orga-

nization of American States, desirous of strengthening

and facilitating international cooperation in judicial pro-

cedures as provided for in the Inter-American Conven-

tion on Letters Rogatory, done in Panama on January 30,

1975, have agreed as follows:

I. SCOPE OF PROTOCOL

Article 1

This Protocol shall apply only to those procedural

acts set forth in Article 2 (a) of the Inter-American Con-

vention on Letters Rogatory, hereinafter referred to as

“the Convention”. For the purposes of this Protocol, such

acts shall be understood to mean procedural acts (plead-

ings, motions, orders, and subpoenas) that are served and

requests for information that are made by a judicial or

other adjudicatory authority of a State Party to a judicial

or administrative authority of another State Party and are

transmitted by a letter rogatory from the Central Author-

ity of the State of origin to the Central Authority of the

State of destination.

II. CENTRAL AUTHORITY

Article 2

Each State Party shall designate a central authority

that shall perform the functions assigned to it in the

Convention and in this Protocol. At the time of deposit of

a63

their instruments of ratification or accession to this Proto-

col, the States Parties shall communicate the designations

to the General Secretariat of the Organization of Ameri-

can States, which shall distribute to the States Parties to

the Convention a list containing the designations

received. The Central Authority designated by a State

Party in accordance with Article 4 of the Convention may

be changed at any time. The State Party shall inform the

above-mentioned Secretariat of such change as promptly

as possible.

Ill. PREPARATION OF LETTERS ROGATORY

Article 3

Letters rogatory shall be prepared on forms that are

printed in the four official languages of the Organization

of American States or in the languages of the State of

origin and of the State of destination and conform to

Form A contained in the Annex to this Protocol.

Letters rogatory shall be prepared on forms that are

printed in the four official languages of the Organization

of American States or in the languages of the State of

origin and of the State of destination and conform to

Form A contained in the Annex to this Protocol.

Letters rogatory shall be accompanied by the follow-

ing:

a. Copy of the complaint or pleading that initi-

ated the action in which the letter rogatory

was issued, as well as a translation thereof

into the language of the State of destination;

a

a64

b. Untranslated copy of the documents

attached to the complaint or pleading;

c. Untranslated copy of any rulings ordering

issuance of the letter rogatory;

d. Form conforming to Form B annexed to this

Protocol and containing essential informa-

tion for the person to be served or the

authority to receive the documents; and

e. Certificate conforming to Form C annexed to

this Protocol on which the Central Authority

of the State of destination shall attest to

execution or non-execution of the letter

rogatory.

The copies shall be regarded as authenticated for the

purposes of Article 8 (a) of the Convention if they bear

the seal of the judicial or other adjudicatory authority

that issued the letter rogatory.

A copy of the letter rogatory together with Form G

and the copies referred to in items a, b, and c, of this

Article shall be delivered to the person notified or to the

authority to which the request is addressed. One of the

copies of the letter rogatory and the documents attached

to it shall remain in the possession of the State of destina-

tion; the untranslated original, the certificate of execution

and the documents attached to them shall be returned to

the Central Authority of the State of origin through

appropriate channels.

If a State Party has more than one official language, it

shall, at the time of signature, ratification or accession to

this Protocol, declare which language or languages shall

be considered official for the purposes of the Convention

and of this Protocol. If a State Party comprises territorial

a65

units that have different official languages, it shall, at the

time of signature, ratification or accession to this Proto-

col, declare which language or languages in each terri-

torial unit shall be considered official for the purposes of

the Convention and of this Protocol. The General Secre-

tariat of the Organization of American States shall dis-

tribute to the States Parties to this Protocol the

information contained in such declarations.

IV. TRANSMISSION AND PROCESSING OF

LETTERS ROGATORY

Article 4

Upon receipt of a letter rogatory from the Central

Authority in another State Party, the Central Authority in

the State of destination shall transmit the letter rogatory

to the appropriate judicial or administrative authority for

processing in accordance with the applicable local law.

Upon execution of the letter rogatory, the judicial or

administrative authority or authorities that processed it

shall attest to the execution thereof in the manner pre-

scribed in their local law, and shall transmit it with the

relevant documents to the Central Authority. The Central

Authority of the State Party of destination shall certify

execution of the letter rogatory to the Central Authority

of the State Party of origin on a form conforming to Form

C of the Annex, which shall not require legalization. In

addition, the Central Authority of the State of destination

shall return the letter rogatory and attached documents to

the Central Authority of the State of origin for delivery to

the judicial or other adjudicatory authority that issued it.

a66

V. COSTS AND EXPENSES

Article 5

The processing of letters rogatory by the Central

Authority of the State Party of destination and its judicial

or administrative authorities shall be free of charge.

However, this State Party may seek payment by parties

requesting execution of letters rogatory for those services

which, in accordance with its local law, are required to be

paid for directly by those parties.

The party requesting the execution of a letter roga-

tory shall, at its election, either select and indicate in the

letter rogatory the person who is responsible in the State

of destination for the cost of such services or, alter-

natively, shall attach to the letter rogatory a check for the

fixed amount that is specified in Article 6 of this Protocol

for its processing by the State of destination and will

cover the cost of such services or a document proving

that such amount has been transferred by some other

means to the Central Authority of the State of destina-

tion.

The fact that the cost of such services ultimately

exceeds the fixed amount shall not delay or prevent the

processing or execution of the letter rogatory by the

Central Authority or the judicial or administrative

authorities of the State of destination. Should the cost

exceed that amount, the Central Authority of the State of

destination may, when returning the executed letter roga-

tory, seek payment of the outstanding amount due from

the party requesting execution of the letter rogatory.

a67

Article 6

At the time of deposit of its instrument of ratification

or accession to this Protocol with the General Secretariat

of the Organization of American States, each State Party

shall attach a schedule of the services and the costs and

other expenses that, in accordance with its local law, shall

be paid directly by the party requesting execution of the

letter rogatory. In addition, each State Party shall specify

in the above-mentioned schedule the single amount

which it considers will reasonably cover the cost of such

services, regardless of the number or nature thereof. This

amount shall be paid when the person requesting execu-

tion of the letter rogatory has not designated a person

responsible for the payment of such services in the State

of destination but has decided to pay for them directly in

the manner provided for in Article 5 of this Protocol.

The General Secretariat of the Organization of Ameri-

can States shall distribute the information received to the

States Parties to this Protocol. A State Party may at any

time notify the General Secretariat of the Organization of

American States of changes in the above-mentioned

schedules, which shall be communicated by the General

Secretariat to the other States Parties to this Protocol.

Article 7

States Parties may declare in the schedules men-

tioned in the foregoing articles that, provided there is

reciprocity, they will not charge parties requesting execu-

tion of letters rogatory for the services necessary for

executing them or will accept in complete satisfaction of

a68

the cost of such services either the single fixed amount

specified in Article 6 or another specified amount.

Article 8

This Protocol shall be open for signature and subject

to ratification or accession by those Member States of the

Organization of American States that have signed, rat-

ified, or acceded to the Inter-American Convention on

Letters Rogatory signed in Panama on January 30, 1975.

This Protocol shall remain open for accession by any

other State that accedes or has acceded to the inter-

Amer.can Convention on Letters Rogatory, under the

conditions set forth in this Article.

The instruments of ratification and accession shall be

deposited with the General Secretariat of the Organiza-

tion of American States.

Article 9

This Protocol shall enter into force on the thirtieth

day following the date on which two States Parties to the

Convention have deposited their instruments of ratifica-

tion or accession to this Protocol.

For each State ratifying or acceding to the Protocol

after its entry into force, the Protocol shall enter into force

on the thirtieth day following deposit by such State of its

instrument of ratification or accession, provided that such

State is a Party to the Convention.

a69

Article 10

If a State Party has two or more territorial units in

which different systems of law apply in relation to mat-

ters dealt with in this Protocol, it may, at the time of

signature, ratification or accession, declare that this Pro-

tocol shall extend to all its territorial units or only to one

or more of them.

Such declaration may be modified by subsequent

declarations that shall expressly indicate the territorial

unit or units to which this Protocol applies. Such subse-

quent declarations shall be transmitted to the General

Secretariat of the Organization of American States, and

shall become effective thirty days after the date of their

receipt.

Article 11

This Protocol shall remain in force indefinitely, but

any of the States Parties may denounce it. The instrument

of denunciation shall be deposited with the General Sec-

retariat of the Organization of American States. After one

year from the date of deposit of the instrument of denun-

ciation, the Protocol shall no longer be in effect for the

denouncing State, but shall remain in effect for the other

States Parties.

Article 12

The original instrument of this Protocol and its

Annex (Forms A, B and C), the English, French, Por-

tuguese and Spanish texts of which are equally authentic,

shall be deposited with the General Secretariat of the

a70

Organization of American States, which will forward an

authenticated copy of the text to the Secretariat of the

United Nations for registration and publication in accor-

dance with Article 102 of its Charter. The General Secre-

tariat of the Organization of American States shall notify

the Member States of that Organization and the States

that have acceded to the Protocol of the signatures,

deposits of instruments of ratification, accession and

denunciation, as well as of reservations, if any. It shall

also transmit to them the information mentioned in Arti-

cle 2, the last paragraph of Article 3, and Article 6 and the

declarations referred to in Article 10 of this Protocol.

IN WITNESS WHEREOF the undersigned Plenipo-

tentiaries, being duly authorized thereto by their respec-

tive Governments, have signed this Protocol.

DONE AT MONTEVIDEO, Republic of Uruguay, this

eighth day of May, one thousand nine hundred and sev-

enty-nine.

a71

ANNEX TO THE ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL

TO THE INTER-AMERICAN CONVENTION

ON LETTERS ROGATORY

FORM A

LETTER ROGATORY!

1

REQUESTING JUDICIAL OR OTHER ADJUDICATORY

AUTHORITY

Name

Address

2

CASE:

DOCKET No.::

3

CENTRAL AUTHORITY OF THE STATE OF ORIGIN

Name

Address

4

CENTRAL AUTHORITY OF THE STATE OF DESTINA-

TION

Name

Address

5

REQUESTING PARTY

Name

Address

' Complete the original and two copies of this form; if A(1)

is applicable, attach the original and two copies of the transla-

tion of this item in the language of the State of destination.

a72

6

COUNSEL TO THE REQUESTING PARTY

Name

Address

PERSON DESIGNATED TO ACT IN CONNECTION

WITH THE LETTER ROGATORY

Name Is this person responsible for costs

and expenses?

Address YES _.. NO _..

* If not, check in the amount of

____ is attached

*Or proof of payment is attached

The Central Authority signing this letter rogatory has the

honor to transmit to you in triplicate the documents

listed below and, in conformity with the Protocol to the

Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory:

*A. Requests their prompt service on:

The undersigned authority requests that service be

carried out in the following manner:

* Delete if inapplicable.

a73

*(1) In accordance with the special procedure or addi-

tional formalities that are described below, as pro-

vided for in the second paragraph of Article 10 of

the above-mentioned Convention; or

*(2) By service personally on the identified addressee or,

in the case of a legal entity, on its authorized agent;

or

*(3) If the person or the authorized agent of the entity to

be served is not found, service shall be made in

accordance with the law of the State of destination.

*B. Requests the delivery of the documents listed below

to the following judicial or administrative authority:

Authority:

*C. Requests the Central Authority of the State of desti-

nation to return to the Central Authority of the State

of origin one copy of the documents listed below

and attached to this letter rogatory, and an executed

Certificate on the attached form C.

* Delete if inapplicable.

a74

Done at __ this __ date of __, 19__

Signature and stamp of Signature and stamp of

the judicial or other the Central Authority of

adjudicatory authority of the State of origin

the State of origin

Title or other identification of each document to be deliv-

ered:

(Attach additional pages, if necessary.)

ANNEX TO THE ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL

TO THE INTER-AMERICAN CONVENTION

ON LETTERS ROGATORY

FORM B

ESSENTIAL INFORMATION FOR THE ADDRESSEE!

To (Name and address of the person being served)

You are hereby informed that (Brief statement of nature

of service)

A copy of the letter rogatory that gives rise to the

service or delivery of these documents is attached to this

document. This copy also contains essential information

for you. Also attached are copies of the complaint or

1 Complete the original and two copies of this form; if A(1)

is applicable, attach the original and two copies of the transla-

tion of this item in the language of the State of destination.

a75

pleading initiating the action in which the letter rogatory

was issued, of the documents attached to the complaint

or pleading, and of any rulings that ordered the issuance

of the letter rogatory.

ADDITIONAL INFORMATION

[*

FOR SERVICE

A. The document being served on you (original or copy)

concerns the following:

B. The remedies sought or the amount in dispute is as

follows:

C. By this service, you are requested:

D. * Incase of service on you as a defendant you can

answer the complaint before the judicial or other

adjudicatory authority specified in Form A, Bax 1

(State place, date and hour):

*You are being summoned to appear as:

* Delete if inapplicable.

a76

*If some other action is being requested of the person

served, please describe:

E. If you fail to comply, the consequences might be:

F. You are hereby informed that a defense counsel

appointed by the Court or the following legal aid

societies are available to you at the place where the

proceeding is pending.

Name:

Address:

The documents listed in Part III are being furnished to

you so that you may better understand and defend your

interests.

II*

FOR INFORMATION FROM JUDICIAL OR

ADMINISTRATIVE AUTHORITY

To:

* Delete if inapplicable.

a77

(Name and address of the judicial or

administrative authority)

You are respectfully requested to furnish the under-

signed authority with the following information: —-

The documents listed in Part III are being furnished

to you to facilitate your reply.

Ill

LIST OF ATTACHED DOCUMENTS

(Attach additional pages if necessary.)

Done at this day

of , 19

Signature and stamp of Signature and stamp of

the judicial or other the Central Authority of

adjudicatory authority of the State of origin

the State of origin

a78

ANNEX TO THE ADDITIONAL PROTOCOL

TO THE INTER-AMERICAN CONVENTION ON

LETTERS ROGATORY

FORM C

CERTIFICATE OF EXECUTION!

To:

(Name and address of judicial or other adjudicatory

authority that issued the letter rogatory)

In conformity with the Additional Protocol to the

Inter-American Convention on Letters Rogatory, signed

at Montevideo on May 8, 1979, and in accordance with

the attached original letter rogatory, the undersigned

Central Authority has the honor to certify the following:

*A. That one copy of the documents attached to this

Certificate has been served or delivered as fol-

lows:

Date:

At (Address)

By one of the following methods authorized by the

Convention.

*(1) In accordance with the special procedure

or additional formalities that are

described below, as provided for in the

* Delete if inapplicable.

1 Complete the original and one copy to the language of the

State of destination.

a79

second paragraph of Article 10 of the

above-mentioned Convention, or

*(2) By service personally on the identified

addresses or, in the case of a legal entity,

on its authorized agent, or

*(3) If the person or the authorized agent of

the entity to be served was not found, in

accordance with the law of the State of

destination: (Specify method used)

*B. That the document referred to in the letter roga-

tory have been delivered to:

Identity of person

Relationship to the addressee

(family, business or other)

* Delete if inapplicable.

a80

*C. That the documents attached to the Certificate

have not been served or delivered for the fol-

lowing reason(s):

*D. In conformity with the Protocol, the party

requesting execution of the letter rogatory is

requested to pay the outstanding balance of

costs in the amount indicated in the attached

statement.

Done at the ___ day of __ 19 __

Signature and stamp of Central Authority of the

State of destination

Where appropriate, attach originals or copies

of any additional documents proving service

or delivery, and identify them.

* Delete if inapplicable.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.