Amicus Curiae Brief — United States v. Hays
Supreme Court brief1995
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
Nos. 94-558 and 94-627 | JAN 23 1995
,
| pewwas ot nt olen
In THE es
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1994
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
RAY Hays, et al.,
Respondents.
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Louisiana
BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL BAR ASSOCIATION,
THE NATIONAL BLACK CAUCUS
OF STATE LEGISLATORS, AND THE LEAGUE
OF UNITED LATIN AMERICAN CITIZENS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
KOTELES ALEXANDER
Counsel of Record
BRIAN J. MURPHY
MILDRED E.. STEWARD
ALEXANDER, APONTE
& MARKS, LLP
Lee Plaza—Suite 805
8601 Georgia Avenue
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
(301) 589-2222
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
WILSON - Eras PrinTine Co.. Inc. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON. D.C. 20001
BEST AVAILABLE COPY
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
TABLE OF CONTENTS
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
ARGUMENT ; bash detcinttissibsamaies
I.
IT.
ITT.
FIFTEENTH AMENDMENT JURISPRU-
DENCE IS SUFFICIENT TO DETERMINE
THE CONSTITUTIONALITY OF A REDIS-
TRICTING PLAN ADOPTED PURSUANT TO
THE VOTING RIGHTS ACT
A. The Fifteenth Amendment, by its Very Lan-
guage, Applies to Redistricting Plans Com-
pelled by the Voting Rights Act ..........
NOTWITHSTANDING THE FIFTEENTH
AMENDMENT’S APPLICATION, FOUR-
TEENTH AMENDMENT EQUAL PROTEC-
TION JURISPRUDENCE WOULD COMPEL
INTERMEDIATE SCRUTINY BE APPLIED
pt) | iy ge.) Ay a aaa ee
A. The Three-Judge Panel Misinterpreted
Shaw’s Discussion of Irregular Shape
B. District No. 4 is not an Antecedent to Stereo-
typing, Stigmas, and Racial Polarization.
C. District No. 4 is Beneficial Because it In-
cludes Traditionally Excluded Minorities
into the Political Process .........000000
EVEN IF STRICT SCRUTINY IS APPLIED
TO THE REDISTRICTING PLAN, COMPLI-
ANCE WITH. THE FEDERALLY MAN-
DATED VOTING RIGHTS ACT, WHICH
WAS ENACTED PURSUANT TO § 2 OF THE
FIFTEENTH AMENDMENT, CONSTITUTES
A SUFFICIENT COMPELLING STATE IN-
RE eases Nits taldathreoy And tadbab tecxieneclOh send dbdedees as
ge aa ny pa TN a RT ee
Page
10
10
16
17
19
28
il
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CASES Page
Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964) 4
Beer v. United States, 425 U.S. 180 (1976) passim
Brown v. Board of Educ., 347 U.S. 483 (1954) 18,19
City of Mobile v. Bolden, 446 U.S. 55 (1980) .. 8,9
City of Richmond v. J. A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469
OE ccrctckoctesscssoieleerstetiienae Aiduehabiice ..14, 16, 22, 25
City of Richmond v. United States, 422 U.S. 353
EUPIED secncdanosencsanionms aos aied ek passim
City of Rome v. United States, 446 U.S. 156
(1980) .. ordcsdaaaadsaadae = 9
Dred Scott v. Sanford, 60 U.S. (19 Howard.) 393
(1857) Tas Brash unos 1 ee 19
Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960) passim
Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.) 1 (1824) 5
Growe v. Emison, 507 U.S. ——, 113 S. Ct. 1075
() }) _—_——— a <aienedtiieumodiaedideees ; - Beat
Guinn v. United States, 238 U.S.347 (1915) 5,18
Hays v. State of Louisiana, 862 F. Supp. 119 (W.D.
fh . — ; eae PR Peg Nam seuatie passim
Hirabayashi v. United States, 320 U.S. 81 (1943).. 16, 23
Kirkpatrick v. Preisler, 394 U.S. 526 (1969) 27
Louisiana v. United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) {
Metro Broadcasting v. FCC, 497 U.S. 547 (1990) 14
Personnel Administrator of Massachusetts v.
Feeney, 442 U.S. 256 (1979) 8
Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 573 (1896) 19
Regents of the Univ. of California v. Bakke, 438
ik Fs. | ee 16, 17, 24
Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533 (1964) ue. --.- passim
Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613 (1982)..... 27
Shaw v. Reno, 509 U.S. ——, 113 S. Ct. 2816
EY Skcatescscrenes _sccisohensadlé sien eibRelisuasdecaadiee tata iletaeaesaaiene ma
South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301
|) ae. 2 ee se Re passim
Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 (1986) passim
United Jewish Organizations v. Carey, 430 U.S.
144 (1977) .... passim
United States v. State of Louisiana, 225 F. Supp.
353 (E.D. La. 1963) aff’d 380 U.S. 145 (1965) -... 4
ill
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Voinovich v. Quilter, 507 U.S. ——, 113 S. Ct.
1149 (1998) .................. 22
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124 (1971) 8
Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U.S. 52, reh. den., 376
U.S. 959 (1964) % es TO EANSY
Wyagant v. Jackson Bd. of Educ., 476 U.S. 267
> ae a ae es 16, 22, 25
passim
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS
U.S. Const. amend. XV, XIX, XXIV, and XXVI..passim
MISCELLANEOUS
Cardell K. Jacobson, The Bakke Decision, 27(4)
J. Confl. Resol. at 687 (Dec. 1983) 19
Cedric Herring, James S. House, and Richard P.
Mero, Racially Based Changes in_ Political
Alienation in America, 72 (1) Soc. Sci. Q. 123
(March 1991) 18
Dudley McGovney, The American Suffrage Medley
SN rad cusinsccnnaanees Se tcahientna te aes Bie es 4
H.R. Rep. No. 439 59th Cone. Ist Sess. (1965) 4
Jon Hurwitz and Mark Peffley, Traditional Verse
Social Values As Antecedents of Racial Stereo-
typing and Policy Conservation, 14 (4) Polit.
a Ls EE Se ce
Kirk Harold Porter, A History of Suffrage in the
United States (1918) . ae . 4
Miriam J. Rodin, Judy M. Price, ‘Jeff B. Bryson,
and Francisco J. Sanchez, Asymmetry in Prej-
udice Attribution, 26 J. Exper. Soc. Psy. 481
I ee cihmaubvubsduabbunddadavintamsenne 1
Randell Kennedy, Persuasion and Distrust: A
Comment on the Affirmative Action Debate, 99
RS a Gs. , 5 A 19
Richard H. Pildes and Richard G. Niemi, Ex-
pressive Harms, ‘Bizarre Districts’ and Voting
Rights: Evaluating Election-District Appear-
ances After Shaw v. Reno, 92 Mich. L. Rev.
needle all ack ced nc. cs seuishacedianaibalen eubswiigoe suihbvonanaaigin 13
19
“I
iv
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued
Page
Ronald Smothers, The South; Blacks Feel Like
Wallflowers, As No Candidates Woo Them, The
New York Times Al (Feb. 29, 1992) .........00000..... 18
S. Rep. No. 162, 89th Cong., lst Sess. (1965) ........ 4
T. Alexander Aleinikoff, A Case for Race-
Consciousness, 91 Colum. L. Rev. 1060, 1091-
Es RETR CREW NY 19
The Federalist No. 51 (James Madison) (Clinton
NN UI Bk es dacereeniien aes 3
STATUTES AND ORDINANCES
420.5.C. § 1978............. Sire setae agatsaatccmmeceuseie dates cae
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OCTOBER TERM, 1994
Nos. 94-558 and 94-627
UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,
Petitioner,
V.
Ray Hays, et al.,
Respondents.
On Appeal from the United States District Court
for the Western District of Louisiana
BRIEF OF THE NATIONAL BAR ASSOCIATION,
THE NATIONAL BLACK CAUCUS
OF STATE LEGISLATORS, AND THE LEAGUE
OF UNITED LATIN AMERICAN CITIZENS
AS AMICI CURIAE IN SUPPORT OF PETITIONER
INTEREST OF AMICI CURIAE
Each of the amici is a national organization actively
participating on behalf of its constituents.
The National Bar Association (“Association”), founded
in 1925, is a professional membership organization which
represents more than 21,000 African American attorneys,
judges and law students in the United States. Its purposes
include achieving equal opportunities for minorities in the
legal profession and protecting the civil and political rights
of all citizens. The Association has a particular interest
in this case because of its belief in the protection of minor-
ity voting rights as a means of solving America’s racial
problems.
The League of United Latin American Citizens
(“LULAC”), the nation’s largest Hispanic organization,
2
is concerned with advancing the civil rights and promoting
the educational, economic and social well being of His-
panic Americans in the United States. Founded in 1929,
LULAC has approximately 33,000 dues-paying members.
LULAC has often appeared as plaintiff or amicus in liti-
gation before this Court and in many other federal and
state courts to vindicate the rights of minorities, particu-
larly Hispanics, who are denied the full enjoyment of
their constitutional rights.
In 1977, ninety African American state legislators
founded the National Black Caucus of State Legislators
(“NBCSL”). Today NBCSL represents some 540 mem-
bers in forty-three states, the U.S. Virgin Islands and the
District of Columbia. The primary mission of the NBCSL
is to develop, conduct and promote educational, research
and training programs to enhance the effectiveness of its
members as they consider legislation and public policy
issues which impact. either directly or indirectly, upon
the “general welfare” of African American constituents
within their respective jurisdictions.
SUMMARY OF ARGUMENT
This case involves two highly significant and controver-
sial issues—race and the fundamental constitutional right
to have meaningful participation in the political process
by virtue of the vote.
The District Court Panel erred because this case impli-
cates the Fifteenth Amendment’s voting rights clause, not
the Fourteenth Amendment’s equal protection clause. To
the extent the Fourteenth Amendment is applicable, Dis-
trict No. 4 is subject to intermediate scrutiny, not strict
scrutiny. In this regard, District No. 4 presents none of
the concerns associated with a racial classification or
quota; thus heightened scrutiny is not triggered. More-
over, following the case of United Jewish Organizations
v. Carey, 430 U.S. 144 (1977) intermediate scrutiny is
the proper test to judge majority-minority voting districts
Even if strict scrutiny is applied, pursuant to Shaw vy.
, 113 S. Ct. 2816 (1993), compli-
Reno, 509 US.
3
ance with the permissive provisions of the Voting Rights
Act to create a second majority-minority district consti-
tutes a compelling state interest. To hold otherwise would
open the door to equal protection challenges in districts
where there is a majority of any one race. Moreover, ad-
herence to a traditionally shaped district clearly reflects
respect for political subdivisions and satisfies the require-
ment for compactness as established in Thornburg vy.
Gingles, 478 U.S. 30 (1986), and respect for traditional
and historical boundaries as settled in Reynolds v. Sims,
377 U.S. 533 (1964).
ARGUMENT
I. FIFTEENTH AMENDMENT JURISPRUDENCE IS
SUFFICIENT TO DETERMINE THE CONSTITU-
TIONALITY OF A _ REDISTRICTING PLAN
ADOPTED PURSUANT TO THE VOTING RIGHTS
ACT
Introduction
Justice is the end of government. It is the end of civil
society. It ever has been and ever will be pursued
until it be obtained, or until liberty be lost in the
pursuit.'
This country has consistently struggled with the con-
cept of justice as it relates to the governance and treatment
of its people. While born to be the model democracy,
the soul of America has toiled for over two hundred
years to ensure its citizenry the fundamental constitutional
right to vote. Reynolds v. Sims, 377 U.S. 533, 555
(1964). It is telling that the constitution has been
amended on four separate occasions in an attempt to
secure the right to vote. See U.S. Const. amend. XV,
XIX, XXIV, and XXVI. In the struggle for the franchise,
there can be no dispute that no other race or minority
1 The Federalist No. 51 at 324 (James Madison) (Clinton Rossi-
ter 1961).
4
has been subjected to more obstructions—from grandfather
clauses to the medievalist intimidation of life and limb—
than African Americans. See e.g., Dudley O. McGovney,
The American Suffrage Medley (1949); Kirk Harold
Porter, A History of Suffrage in the United States (1918).
Specifically, with respect to Louisiana, this struggle has
made its way to the chamber of this Court on numer-
ous occasions. See Beer v. United States, 425 US.
130 (1976) (New Orleans city council member districts’
reapportionment plan reflected African American voting
strength); South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S. 301,
308 n.2 (1966) (literacy test held unconstitutional, Louis-
liana on record as supporting such tests); Louisiana v.
United States, 380 U.S. 145 (1965) (interpretation test
held unconstitutional; citizenship test ordered postponed;
monthly reports ordered on voting registration of African
Americans); Anderson v. Martin, 375 U.S. 399 (1964)
(placing “Negro” on ballot next to candidate’s name held
unconstitutional).
In fact, Louisiana’s history of disenfranchisement of
African Americans comprises the worst record this country
has seen. See United States v. State of Louisiana,
225 F. Supp. 353, 363-97 (E.D. La. 1965); H.R. Rep.
No. 439, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. at 12-17 (1965); S. Rep.
No. 162, 89th Cong., Ist Sess. at 9-10 (1965). Given
Louisiana’s long history of disenfranchisement of African
Americans, the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended
(“Voting Rights Act”) identified Louisiana. with a small
number of other states, as appropriate for remedial ac-
tion. Thus, the case at hand should be considered in
light of the historic struggle for the fundamental right
to vote.
A. The Fifteenth Amendment, by its Very Language,
Applies to Redistricting Plans Compelled by the
Voting Rights Act
The Fifteenth Amendment reads:
SECTION 1. The right of citizens of the United
States to vote shall not be denied or abridged by the
fad
p
United States or any State on account of race, color,
or previous conditions of servitude.
SECTION 2. The Congress shall have power to
enforce this article by appropriate legislation.
The Fifteenth Amendment, as recognized by this Court,
has always been self-executing. South Carolina, 383 U.S.
at 325; see Guinn v. United States, 238 U.S. 347 (1915).
Indeed, this Court has firmly established that when Con-
gress enacts a law to enforce the Fifteenth Amendment
it “may use any rational means to effectuate the constitu-
tional prohibition of racial discrimination in voting.”
South Carolina, 383 U.S. at 324. This Court has also
recognized that Congress’ authority to carry out the man-
dates of the Fifteenth Amendment is not limited to for-
bidding violations of the Fifteenth Amendment, but is
“complete in itself, may be exercised to its utmost extent,
and acknowledges no limitations, other than are pre-
scribed in the constitution.” South Carolina, 383 US.
at 327 (quoting Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. (9 Wheat.)
1 (1824) (Marshall, J.)). In this regard, the Voting
Rights Act was enacted in 1965 to effectuate the purpose
of the Fifteenth Amendment. S. Rep. No. 162, 89th
Cong., Ist Sess. at 2 (1965).
The case before this Court arises from federal and state
action taken in compliance with the Voting Rights Act,
which was enacted by Congress as an expression of its
remedial powers under the Fifteenth Amendment. Spe-
cifically, the U.S. Attorney General and the State of
Louisiana worked together to intentionally create a sec-
ond majority-minority Congressional district (“District
No. 4”) that would further allow African Americans
residing in Louisiana to have a more meaningful vote at
the Congressional level. See Revnolds, 377 U.S. at 554-
55. The Respondents’ claim that District No. 4’s bizarre
shape intentionally and disproportionately segregates vot-
ers by race. Mot. to Affirm at 1. This issue perforce in-
vokes the Fifteenth Amendment, since it is the only con-
stitutional provision specifically enacted to control those
6
instances where race and franchise are both at issue.
Louisiana, 380 U.S. at 156.
Consequently, the constitutional question is whether
District No. 4 abridges or denies any citizen’s right to
vote based upon race, color, or previous conditions of
servitude. Existing case precedent compels a finding that
District No. 4 is permissible under the Fifteenth Amend-
ment.
In cases where voters raised a racial segregation claim,
this Court has indeed applied the Fifteenth Amendment.
For instance, in Gomillion v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339
(1960), this Court ruled that a twenty-eight sided elec-
toral district, which eliminated all but four of four hun-
dred African American voters was unconstitutional under
the Fifteenth Amendment.” In the present case, Respond-
ents argue that District No. 4 1s bizarrely shaped. Mot.
to Affirm at |. Unlike the electoral district in Gomillion,
however, District No. 4 was not designed to exclude a race
of voters thereby providing no other expression of their
franchise. The redistricting plan in Gomillion resulted in
the total exclusion of African Americans from the demo-
cratic process. In the case at hand, the composition of
District No. 4 is 45% white and 55“- African Amert-
can. Thus, contrary to the facts in Gomillion, no par
ticular race in District No. 4 has had its right to vote
abridged or eliminated.
In City of Richmond v. United States, 422 U.S. 353,
371 (1975), this Court again applied the Fifteenth
Amendment. Specifically, Fifteenth Amendment jurispru-
dence was applied to the city of Richmond's annexation
plan, which reduced the percentage of African Americans
eligible to vote in city elections. This Court reversed the
2In Wright v. Rockefeller, 376 U.S. 52 (1964), this Court again
examined an allegation that voting rights were abridged based upon
the segregation of the races. In that proceeding, bizarrely shaped
Congressional districts separated races, vet the Court held that on
the issue of race, the Petitioners had failed to meet their burden
of proof. Thus, this Court in Wright did not decide whether the
Fourteenth or Fifteenth Amendment controlled.
7
lower court and found that African Americans’ right to
vote was neither denied nor abridged under §5 of the
/oling Rights Act,” inasmuch as African Americans’ po-
litical st-ength was not undervalued or underrepresented.
3y stark contrast, District No. 4 is comprised of approxi-
mately 45% white voters and 55% African American
voters. Indeed, District No. 4’s configuration is similar
in effect to the City of Richmond annexation, inasmuch
as it reduced the African American population from
52% to 42%. The issue in City of Richmond, as it
should be in this case, was whether any person’s right to
vote had been abridged or denied. In the case at bar the
answer, based upon the holding in the City of Richmond,
is no. Clearly the political strength of the affected group,
white voters in District No. 4, is not undervalued or un-
derrepresented, particularly when five out of seven of
Louisiana’s Congressional districts enjoy a white majority
population.
The conclusion that white Louisianans are neither un-
dervalued nor underrepresented is further supported by
this Court’s ruling in United Jewish Organizations v.
Carey, 430 U.S. 144, 166 n.24 (1977) (“UJO”). In
UJO this Court held that the rights of white voters re-
siding in the majority-minority districts were not abridged
because:
| T |he.white voter who as a result of the 1974 plan
is in a district more likely to return a nonwhite
representative will be represented, to the extent that
voting continues to follow racial lines, by legislators
elected from majority white districts. The effect of
the reapportionment on whites in districts where non-
white majorities have been increased is thus miti-
gated by the preservation of white majority dis-
tricts in the rest of the county. Of course, if voting
does not follow racial lines, the white voter has little
reason to complain that the percentage of nonwhites
in his district has been increased. (citation omitted)
‘Voting Riwhts Act °5 trock he Fifteenth Amendment. Beer,
425 U.S. at 147, n. 4
Oo
©
In sum, this Court recognized in UJO, that unlike the
racial explosion of the franchise in Gomillion, the New
York redistricting plan did not totally exclude the other
racial group from participation in the political process
It is clear that the Three-Member Panel in the Western
District of Louisiana, from which this appeal originates,
has misinterpreted Shaw; to that end, total consideration
of the Fourteenth Amendment was employed to the ex-
clusion of the Fifteenth Amendment. See Hays v. State
of Louisiana, 862 F. Supp. 119 (W. D. La. 1994). The
District Court Panel misinterpreted Justice O’Connor’s
Suggestion that Gomillion and Wright may be more ap-
propriately considered in the context of the Fourteenth
Amendment’s equal protection clause. Shaw v. Reno, 509
U.S. ——, 113 S. Ct. 2816, 2829-26 (1993). It would
have been more instructive for the court below to have
closely scrutinized the lineage of cases Justice O’Connor
employs in her dictum to interpret Gomillion and Wright.‘
The failure of the court below to carefully scrutinize Shaw
has resulted in the Three-Member Panel totally ignoring
Fifteenth Amendment jurisprudence, which, if allowed to
stand, would render the Fourteenth Amendment supreme
over the Fifteenth Amendment. This result is inapposite
to fundamental constitutional jurisprudence and interpre-
tation.
Interestingly, Justice Harlan spoke to the fallacy of
inflating the Fourteenth Amendment when he said:
Had the Court paused to probe more deeply into the
matter, it would have found that the Equal Protection
4 Neither City of Mobile v. Bolden, 446 U.S. 55 (1980), Personnel
Administrators of Mass. et al. v. Feeney, 442 U.S. 256 (1979), nor
Whitcomb v. Chavis, 403 U.S. 124 (1971) involved claims of race
segregation, rather Mobile and Whitcomb involved dilution of voting
rights, which O’Connor suggested Shaw was not such a case. Shaw,
1135 S/ Ct. at 2829-30. Even more inapposite, Feeney involved a
claim of gender discrimination.
9
Clause was never intended to inhibit the States in
choosing any democratic method they pleased for the
apportionment of their legislatures.
Reynolds, 377 U.S. at 590-91. (Harlan, J., dissenting)
Justice Harlan recognized that the Fourteenth and Fif-
teenth Amendments to the Constitution were added for
specific purposes. This Court in Gomillion and City of
Richmond also respected the distinct missions of these
amendnients. Thus, consideration of majority-minority
districts within the context of the equal protection clause
works to nullify not only the remedial nature of the
Voting Rights Act but also the import of the Fifteenth
Amendment. See South Carolina v. Katzenbach, 383 U.S.
301 (1966).
Fifteenth Amendment jurisprudence is not only suf-
ficiently developed to ferret_out actual racial segregation,
such as in Gomillion, but also to comprehend whether:
(i) an affected group’s right to vote has been denied or
abridged: or (ii) the affected group’s political strength has
been undervalued or underrepresented. City of Richmond
v. United States, 422 U.S. 353 (1975); see also City of
Mobile v. Bolden, 466 U.S. 55 (1980); City of Rome v.
United States, 446 U.S. 156 (1980). Thus, there is no
need to intertwine the Fourteenth Amendment with voting
rights cases involving race, because Fifteenth Amendment
jurisprudence has developed sufficient constitutional prin-
ciples to handle issues involving race and voting.
Simply put, the test to establish a Fifteenth Amendment
violation is whether a racial group has been totally ex-
cluded from the political process. In UJO, this Court
concluded that the white voters in a majority-minority dis-
trict had not been excluded from the political process
because they had effective representation in other districts.
In Gomillion, this Court understood that the elimination
of all but four African American voters from an electoral
district constituted total exclusion from the political proc-
ess. Conversely, in City of Richmond, this Court realized
that an annexation plan which reduced the population of
African Americans from 52% to 42% did not result in
10
their exclusion from the political process. In the case at
bar, whites have 45% of the voting population in Dis-
trict No. 4. Accordingly, in light of the above case law,
there can be no argument advanced that whites in District
No. 4 have been excluded from meaningful participation
in the political process.
The District Court Panel has committed judicial error
by failing to consider the Fifteenth Amendment. No case,
including Shaw, holds that the Fifteenth Amendment is
no longer applicable in voting rights cases. To overlook
this fatal flaw in the Hays District Court’s decision will
essentially vitiate the Fifteenth Amendment as well as the
remedial aspects of the Voting Rights Act.
II. NOTWITHSTANDING THE FIFTEENTH AMEND-
MENT’S APPLICATION, FOURTEENTH AMEND-
MENT EQUAL PROTECTION JURISPRUDENCE
WOULD COMPEL INTERMEDIATE SCRUTINY BE
APPLIED TO DISTRICT NO. 4
A. The Three-Judge Panel Misinterpreted Shaw’s Dis-
cussion of Irregular Shape
The Three-Judge Panel erroneously concluded that
“[r]ace-conscious redistricting, while not always unconsti-
tutional, is always subject to strict scrutiny.” Hays, 862
F. Supp. at 124. Employing strict scrutiny, the Three-
Judge Panel found District No. 4 constituted a racial
classification and therefore declared its formation viola-
tive of the Fourteenth Amendment’s equal protection
clause. 7d. at 125. This ruling misapplies Shaw and is
at odds with settled equal protection jurisprudence.
The Three-Judge Panel misinterprets Shaw as holding
that strict scrutiny is to be applied to any irregularly
shaped electoral district. To the contrary, Fourteenth
Amendment jurisprudence requires the application of in-
termediate scrutiny to District No. 4.
Specifically, the Three-Judge Panel failed to compre-
hend that a Shaw claim is narrowly limited to specific
circumstances, particularly when Shaw is considered in the
context of Wright. In Wright, maps and oral evidence
1]
were introduced to prove that the newly created district
constituted racial gerrymandering.” This Court, how-
ever, ruled that this evidence was insufficient to establish
a racial gerrymandering cause of action. Id. at 55. Thus,
strict scrutiny was not applied. This is consistent with
Justice O’Connor’s interpretation of Wright which sug-
gests that when a race of people lives in one community,
a reapportionment plan which concentrates this race in
one district may be legitimate. Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2826.
Moreover, Justice O’Connor further concluded that
Wrights’s irregularly shaped district, which separated races
to a significant extent, did not necessarily violate the
equal protection clause based upon the compactness of
the districts and maintenance of the integrity of political
subdivision. /d.
Petitioners argue that District No. 4 follows the lines
of the “old eighth” district thereby satisfying the history and
traditional elements established in Reynolds. Reynolds,
377 U.S. at 578 (maintenance of political subdivisions
recognized as legitimate state action). In addition, Peti-
tioner asserts that the District No. 4 comports with the
state’s districting practices. Sol. Gen. J.S. at 19 (Sept.
26, 1994). Respondents contend that District No. 4 fails
the compactness requirement because it is 250 miles long.
Mot. to Affirm at 17. But other districts in the current
state plan are also long. Opp’n to Mot. to Affirm at 6-7
(Nov. 18, 1994). Moreover, “[iJt is similar to pre-
vious districts drawn by the state in the geographic area.”
Id. It is also comparable in its length to other districts
drawn by the state in this very plan. Jd. The Hays Court
failed to consider these factors in the context of their
finding that District No. 4 is bizarre. Thus, the Three-
Judge Panel committed judicial error by failing to con-
sider applicable law.
5 This ruling was also made in spite of “statistics [showing] that
the Eighteenth District contained 86.3% Negroes and Puerto
Ricans: the Nineteenth, 28.5%; the Twentieth, 27.5%: and the
Seventeenth, 5.1%.” Id. at 54.
12
The Three-Judge Panel also failed to carefully consider
Shaw in light of the import of UJO. UJO held that the
purposeful use of race in the creation of a majority-
minority electoral district did not violate the equal pro-
tection clause. Justice White, writing for this Court in
UJO, 430 U.S. at 161 concluded:
Implicit in Beer and City of Richmond, then, is the
proposition that the Constitution does not prevent a
State subject to the Voting Rights Act from deliber-
ately creating or preserving black majorities in par-
ticular districts in order to ensure that its reappor-
tionment plan complies with § 5. That proposition
must be rejected and § 5 held unconstitutional to the
extent if we are to accept petitioners’ view that racial
criteria may never be used in redistricting or that
they may be used, if at all, only as a specific remedy
for past unconstitutional apportionments. We are
unwilling to overturn our prior cases, however. Sec-
tion 5, and its authorization for racial redistricting
where appropriate to avoid abridging the right to
vote on account of race or color, are constitutional.
Contrary to petitioners’ first argument, neither the
Fourteenth nor the Fifteenth Amendment mandates
any per se rule against using racial factors in district-
ing and apportionment. Nor is petitioners’ second
argument valid. The permissible use of racial criteria
is not confined to eliminating the effects of past dis-
criminatory districting of apportionment. (footnote
omitted) (emphasis added).
Indeed, Justice O’Connor acknowledged that race con-
sciousness is not always race discrimination. Shaw, 113
S. Ct. at 2826. She distinguishes UJO’s sanctioning of a
majority-minority race conscious district, however, as a
case involving vote dilution. Jd. at 532. Thus, Justice
O’Connor concludes that UJO did not overrule the racial
classification cases of Wright and Gomillion. in Wright
and Gomillion the shape of the districts were highly
bizarre. In Wright, Justice Harlan described the reappor-
tionment plan as having zigzagging and tortuous bound-
aries. Wright, 376 U.S. at 58. Whereas in Gomillion the
— 7 _- —
13
district was twenty-eight sided. Gomillion, 364 U.S. at
341.
Justice O’Connor properly identifies Gomillion as a
case in which redistricting was accomplished for the pur-
pose of segregating African Americans from an electoral
district. In Gomillion, a redistricting plan resulted in a
twenty-eight sided electoral district which excluded all but
four of four hundred African Americans.” By identifying
the purposeful use of race in irregularly shaped districts
to segregate voters by race, Justice O’Connor elevated the
new equal protection claim to that of a Bakke-type quota.
Richard H. Pildes and Richard G. Niemi, Expressive
Harm, ‘Bizarre Districts and Voting Rights: Evaluating
Election-District Appearances After Shaw v. Reno, 92
Mich. L. Rev. 483, 504-16 (1993).
The significance of the ruling in Gomillion, and its in-
herent limitations, was completely misunderstood by the
Three-Judge Panel below. A failure to have a truly com-
pact district which can be identified and isolated to one
small area is not a signal that the redistricting plan, in and
of itself, should fail. Both of these concepts are relative
in their terminology and usage.’ As the record shows, the
Justice Department argues that Congressional District No.
6 “Segregation” and “apartheid” should never be used lightly nor
outside their specific context. To use these words out of context is
to belittle the struggle for human rights, including voting rights
in Louisiana, which gave rise to the terminology. As Nobel Leaure-
ate, Elie Wiesel, persuasively attests, the term holocaust (in which
six million Jews were systematically murdered) cannot be directly
compared to any other human experience.
*7As Richard H. Pildes and Richard G. Niemi in Expressive
Harms, ‘Bizarre Districts’ and Voting Rights: Evaluating Election-
District Appearances After Shaw v. Reno, 92 Mich. L. Rev. at 541
(1993) state:
. the language of ‘appearance’ obscures the fact that dis-
tricts might be oddly shaped along several different dimensions.
In the absence of a clear conceptual understanding of what
dimensions of district appearance are relevant, the basis for
judging districts will be unclear. Different observers will find
different aspects of the districts to be troubling.
14
4’s shape is not dispositive of either racial intent or
compactness. Instead of analyzing District No. 4 in light
of cases such as Gomillion and Wright, the majority in
Hays filled its decision with loosely worded rhetoric. Thus,
the Three-Judge Panel was in error. Accordingly, the
Hay’s Panel inappropriately applied strict scrutiny to
District No. 4, which is inconsistent with UJO.°
Instructive to the case at bar is Justice Stevens’ dissent
in Shaw, which stated that the equal protection clause
does not impose any requirement that a Congressional
district must be compact. Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2843-44.
Nor does the equal protection clause, suggests Justice
Stevens, prevent a state from purposely drawing a Con-
gressional district to benefit a group belonging to a mi-
nority race.” Jd. Significantly, he explains that:
8 More recently, in Metro Broadcasting, this Court also applied in-
termediate scrutiny to Congressionally mandated remedial acts which
employed race-based classifications. Specifically, this Court in Metro
Broadcasting used intermediate scrutiny to uphold a Congressionally
mandated affirmative action law which promoted racial diversity in
the communications field. Metro Broadcasting v. FCC, 497 U.S. £47,
564-65 (1990).
%If the equal protection doctrine is applied in this case, the
doctrine should be found to require upholding District No. 4 as the
second majority-minority Congressional district in Louisiana. In
1976, the Court upheld a reapportionment plan for New Orleans
which made African Americans the voting majority in one district
and the population majority in another. Beer, 425 U.S. at 142.
The Court concluded that given the evidence of racial voting blocs,
it was probable that one or two African Americans would be elected
to the city council. Jd. Thus, in a city where the populace elected
five councilmembers by district and two in at large elections, and
the African American population was 35%, the possibility that two
African Americans could be elected to the city council showed that
the reapportionment plan met the mandates of the Voting Rights
Act. Id. In 1995, justice similarly requires that Louisiana’s second
majority-minority Congressional district, District No. 4, be found
constitutional. Where there are seven Congressional districts in
Louisiana, (a state which has denied African Americans the right
to vote for most of the state’s history), African Americans (who
constitute 28% of the voting age population) should be provided
with a meaningful opportunity to select the candidate of their choice
15 -
The duty to govern impartially . . . is not violated
when the majority acts to facilitate the election of a
member or a group that lacks such power because it
remains underrepresented in the state legislature—
whether that group is defined by political affiliation,
by common economic interests, or by religious, ethnic,
or racial characteristics.
Id. at 2844.
Critical to Justice Stevens’ analysis of invidious
intent is the idea that the majority acts to its own detri-
ment to benefit the minority. The gravamen of Stevens’
argument recognizes the strength of the majority in com-
parison to the minority and that the minority relies upon
the majority for fair treatment. This imbalance of power
clearly controls whether an equal protection violation can
be brought to bear in those instances. The beneficent ac-
tion of the majority is dispositive of a benign purpose—
which is inapposite to the purpose underlying the invidious
discrimination demonstrated in Hirabayashi v. United
States, 320 U.S. 81 (1943). Under Justice Stevens’ ap-
proach, District No. 4 would be upheld since it is the State
of Louisiana acting for the benefit of its African American
constituents. |
In light of UJO and Gomillion, District No. 4 does not
constitute a racial classification sufficient to require strict
scrutiny. There are none of the characteristics of exacting
political expulsion, as was present in Gomillion. Con-
versely, similar to the districts in UJO, District No. 4
was created to provide minority voters with a meaningful
opportunity for participation in the political process. The
Hays Panel failed to properly consider this case law
when rushing to the conclusion that District No. 4 con-
in two of the seven districts. “Legislators represent people, not
trees or acres .... [T]he right to elect legislators in a free and
unimpaired fashion is a bedrock of our political system.” Reynolds,
377 U.S. at 562. African Americans in Louisiana need District No. 4
to secure their voting rights. More importantly, this Congressional
district will lessen racial polarization and racial stigmas, creating
a strong, equitable democracy.
16
stituted a racial classification. Thus, the lower court in-
appropriately applied strict scrutiny.
B. District No. 4 is not an Antecedent to Stereotyping,
Stigmas, and Racial Polarization
In contrast to Justice Stevens, Justice O’Connor is con-
cerned that overt state action, whether or not it benefits
minorities, leads to stereotyping, stigmas and racial polar-
ization. Justice O'Connor in Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2824-
25, states that racial classifications “threaten to stigmatize
individuals by reason of their membership in a racial
group and to incite hostility.” Jd. at 2825. Justice O’Con-
nor also extends these premises to maintain that a reap-
portionment plan can be “so irrational on its face that it
immediately offends principles of racial equality.” /d. at
2829. Justice O’Connor cites Richmond _v. J.A. Croson
Co., 488 U.S. 469 (1989), Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of
Educ., 476 U.S. 267 (1986), and Regents of the Univ.
of California v. Bakke, 438 U.S. 265 (1978), for the
proposition that the use of race in remedial measures
produces negative consequences.
Neither Bakke, Wygant, nor Croson are instructive
with respect to the impact a majority-minority Congres-
sional district will have upon race relations or upon the
favored race’s self-esteem. More importantly, none of these
cases involve voting rights. Justice Souter, dissenting in
Shaw, recognized that in contrast to the context of Croson
(competitive bidding contracts) and Wygant (teacher lay-
offs), a state’s drawing of electoral districts almost always
“require[s] some consideration of race for legitimate rea-
sons where there is a racially mixed population.” Shaw,
113 S. Ct. at 1845.
Indeed, in the context of voting rights, this Court
in UJO spoke directly to the issue of stereotypes, stigmas,
and race relations. Justice White announced the deci-
sion of the Court. Importantly, Justices Stevens and
Rehnqust, joined with Justice White’s ruling that:
There is no doubt that in preparing the 1974 legisla-
tion, the State deliberately used race in a purposeful
17
manner. But its plan represented no racial slur or
stigma with respect to whites or any other race, and
we discern no discrimination violative of the Four-
teenth Amendment nor any abridgment of the right
to vote on account of race within the meaning of the
Fifteenth Amendment.
UJO, 430 U.S. at 165. Empirical studies support UJO,
and further palliate the validity of using Bakke, Wygant,
and Croson in the context of voting rights.
Importantly, consider a general maxim concerning prej-
udice as set forth by a group of psychologists from San
Diego University:
[D]iscriminatory behaviors are more likely to be seen
as evidence of prejudice when directed toward mem-
bers of less powerful groups than when directed
toward members of more powerful groups.
Miriam J. Rodin, Judy M. Price, Jeff B. Bryson, and
Francisco J. Sanchez. Asymmetry in Prejudice Attribu-
tion, 26 J. Exper. Soc. Psy. 481, 482 (Mar. 3, 1989).
The authors of Asymmetry in Prejudice Attribution go on
to conclude that “the asymmetry effect in prejudice at-
tribution occurs because discriminatory behaviors pro-
duce an inference of greater ill-will when enacted by
members of more empowered groups, and a perception
that these behaviors cause greater harm to members of the
less empowered groups.” Jd. at 503. District No. 4’s
creation is not the result of racial majority taking advan-
tage of a political or racial minority. Consequently, the
circumstances by which stigmas and stereotypes are ad-
vanced are not present.
C. District No. 4 is Beneficial Because it Includes
Traditionally Excluded Minorities into the Political
Process
Louisiana Congressional District No. 4 is beneficial
inasmuch as it includes minorities more directly in
the democratic/political system while not excluding from
18
or diluting the strength of any race.” Inclusion of
racial diversity and balance in Louisiana Congressional
District No. 4 is in stark contrast to the cases in
which whites excluded minorities from the political proc-
ess. See e.g., Guinn v. United States, 238 U.S. 347
(1915) (invalidation of grandfather clauses); Gomillion
v. Lightfoot, 364 U.S. 339 (1960) (boundaries drawn
to exclude all but four of four hundred African American
voters). Clearly, there is a significant difference between
cases in which whites exclude minorities, and this case
in which the majority (the U.S. Congress, U.S. Attorney
General and State of Louisiana) is including African
Americans more directly and meaningfully in the demo-
cratic process.
Inclusion of minorities into the American fabric is at
the heart cf Brown v. Board of Education, and the line
of anti-segregation cases that followed. Inclusion of Afri-
can Americans in the democratic process will lessen stere-
otypes and racial polarization; it will grant an opportunity
for an important and unique voice to be heard and under-
stood, as well as important issues to be addressed and
understood.** District No. 4 presents none of the racial
10 There is no racial qucta involved here inasmuch as there is no
guarantee that District No. 4 will necessarily correlate to the elec-
tion of a minority to Congress. Given the nationwide malaise to-
ward voting, there is no guarantee that on election day minorities
will turn out in sufficient numbers to vote as a majority. Ronald
Smothers, The South; Blacks Feel Like Wallflowers As No Candi-
dates Woo Them, The New York Times, Al (Feb. 29, 1992
Furthermore, because of the significant difference in the cycles
of political alienation between whites and African Americans,
there is a very good chance in District No. 4, (which is 55%
African Americans and 45% white), that whites may constitute
the majority of voters. Cedric Herring, James S. House, and
Richard P. Mero, Racially Based Changes in Political Alienation
in America, 72(1) Soe. Sci. Q. 128 (March 1991).
'’ Although it is clear that whites have difficulties accepting
changes which benefit minorities, it is equally as clear that this
initial discomfort should be replaced with a better understanding
of minority issues and concerns, as well as understanding why
measures such as majority-minority districts are necessary. Cardell
19
stereotyping, stigmas or polarization concerns which would
require heightened scrutiny. Accordingly, legal precedent
demonstrates and empirical studies suggest that in the
context of voting rights, Bakke, Wygant, and Croson pro-
vide no support for rejection of District No. 4.
Nothing surrounding the creation of District No. 4
would compel an equal protection strict scrutiny analysis.
The use of race was not motivated by the racial stereo-
types or stigmas that were condemned in Gomillion and
Brown v. Board of Educ. (Brown I), 347 US. 483
(1954), or led this Court to reach the decision it had
centuries ago in the Dred Scott or Plessy v. Ferguson de-
cisions. Dred Scott v. Sanford, 60 U.S. (19 How.) 393
(1857); Plessy v. Ferguson, 163 U.S. 537 (1896). Con-
sequently, when the facts surrounding the creation of Dis-
trict No. 4 are considered within the context of UJO,
Wright and the City of Richmond, only an intermediate
level of scrutiny is required.
III. EVEN IF STRICT SCRUTINY IS APPLIED TO
THE REDISTRICTING PLAN, COMPLIANCE
WITH THE FEDERALLY MANDATED VOTING
RIGHTS ACT, WHICH WAS ENACTED PURSUANT
TO §2 OF THE FIFTEENTH AMENDMENT, CON-
STITUTES A SUFFICIENT COMPELLING STATE
INTEREST
Assuming arguendo that strict scrutiny applies to this
case, a compelling interest must be established in order
to uphold District No. 4. Respondents argue that no com-
pelling interest exists for the creation of District No. 4,
yet, Respondents concede that compliance with a manda-
tory provision of the Act constitutes a compelling in-
K. Jacobson, The Bakke Decision, 27(4) J. Confi. Resol. 687, 690-91
(Dec. 1983): T. Alexander Aleinikoff, A Cuse for Race-Concious-
ness, 91 Colum. L. Rev. 1060, 1091-1093 (1991) (quoting Randell
Kennedy, Persuasion and Distrust: A Comment on the Affirmative
Action Debate, 99 Harv. L. Rev. 1327, 1331 (1986)); Jon Hurwitz
and Mark Peffley, Traditional Verse Sor ial Values As Antecedents
of Racial Stereotyping and Policy Conservatism, 14(4) Polit. Beh.
395 (1992).
a
20
terest. Mot. to Affirm 22. More specifically, Respondents
remain resolute in their assertion that compliance with
various provisions of the Voting Rights Act, where not
required, fails to constitute a sufficient compelling inter-
est. Id.
Implicit in Respondents’ argument, however, is the no-
tion that there is no compelling state interest in the state’s
proactive compliance with a permissive provision of the
Voting Rights Act. That is, if no further violation exists,
then proactive compliance with the Voting Rights Act
by the state no longer constitutes a compelling interest.
While some support for this inference may exist in Shaw *
the case cannot be read to stand for the proposition that
compliance with a federally mandated statute, enacted
pursuant to § 2 of the Voting Rights Act cannot constitute
a compelling state interest.* Such a restrictive reading
constitutes a misreading of Shaw and effectuates a signifi-
cant change to the Voting Rights Act. Indeed, such a
reading of Shaw would place this Court in the role of both
the federal and state legislatures.”
As stated ante, the Shaw majority introduced the strict
scrutiny test for redistricting plans that are “so bizzare on
[their] face that [they are] ‘unexplainable on grounds
other than race.’” Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2825. This Court
12 Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2830. (“But in the context of a Four-
teenth Amendment challenge, courts must bear in mind the dif-
ference between what the law permits, and what is required.’’)
13 The Court has clearly recognized that “[t]he right to vote
freely for the candidate of one’s choice is of the essence of a
democratic society, and any restrictions on that right strike at the
heart of representative government.” Reynolds, 377 U.S. at 555.
14This Court has recognized that “State legislatures are, his-
torically, the fountainhead of representative government in this
country.” Reynolds, 377 U.S. at 564. Moreover, in Voinovich v.
Quilter, 507 U.S. , 113 S. Ct. 1149, 1156 (1993), Justice O’Con-
nor recognized that “it is the domain of the States, not the federal
courts, to conduct apportionment in the first place.” See also South
Carolina, 383 U.S. at 327 (under the Fifteenth Amendment Congress
may act to the extent of its powers).
2}
recognized in Shaw that compliance with the pre-
scriptions of the various provisions under the Voting
Rights Act would constitute a sufficient compelling inter-
est.° Citing Beer v. United States, 425 U.S. 130 (1976)
as support, Justice O'Connor acknowledged that compliance
with the “nonretrogression principle” contained within § 5
exemplified a possible compelling interest. Stated in the
positive, in UJO Justice White noted that “where reappor-
tionment increased the percentage of districts where mem-
bers of racial minorities protected by the Act were in the
majority” the nonretrogression test was satisfied. UJO,430
U.S. at 159. And, citing this Court’s decisions in Wright
and Reynolds, Justice O'Connor further recognized that
maintaining “the integrity of various political subdivisions”
and providing for “compact districts” are sufficient com-
pelling interests. Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2830. Nothing in
Shaw, Reynolds or Wright suggests that this is the only
violation possible under §5 of the Voting Rights Act.
Relying upon recent decisions in the area of equal
protection jurisprudence, Justice O'Connor further recog-
nizes that “eradicating the effects of past racial discrimina-
tion” may constitute another compelling interest. Shaw,
113 S. Ct. at 2831. Indeed, Justice White explicitly ac-
knowledged the remedial nature of the Voting Rights
Act in UJO.*
Shaw clearly states that compliance with a federal stat-
ute constitutes a compelling interest. There is nothing in
Shaw that indicates a proactive compliance stance or retro-
active compliance stance (upon finding a violation) con-
15 “The States certainly have a very strong interest in complying
with federal antidiscrimination laws that are constitutionally valid
as interpreted and as applied.” Shaw, 113 S. Ct. at 2830.
16 Citing South Carolina, 383 U.S. 301 (1966), this Court stated:
It is apparent from the face of the Act, from its legislative
history, and from our cases that the Act itself was broadly
remedial in the sense that it was ‘designed by Congress to
banish the blight of racial discrimination in voting... .
UJO, 4380 U.S. at 156.
,
a ee, 8 > 1% a i
22
trols the characterization of the compelling interest. Con-
sequently, creation of a second majority-minority district
indeed can constitute a compelling interest. While Justice
O’Connor cites to Croson and Wygant as instructive of
the evidentiary requirements to support a compelling state
interest, her reference to the cases can in no way be read
so as to extinguish the concept that the permissive pro-
visions in the Voting Rights Act, which permit states to
proactively seek pre-clearance from the Attorney General
or a Three-Judge Panel, are insufficient in and of them-
selves, to establish a compelling state interest.’ Such a
reading of Shaw would constitute an abrogation of vari-
ous provisions in the Voting Rights Act.
In addition, in Voinovich v. Quilter, this Court recog-
nized that states need not wait for a violation before
complying with the Voting Rights Act. Voinovich, 113
S. Ct. at 1156-57. Any reading of the Voting Rights Act
which denies states the ability to prospectively comply
with the Voting Rights Act constitutes an abrogation of
the permissive provisions contained within the Act absent
the clear guidance of the Congress. If this Court holds
that such action fails the compelling interest prong, this
Court will in effect undermine further efforts on the part
of states to come into compliance with the Voting Rights
Act on a prospective basis.
17 Section 5 of the Voting Rights Act establishes a state may
may seek pre-clearance in order to determine that a “qualification,
prerequisite, standard practice, or procedure will not have the effect
of denying or abridging the right to vote on account of race or
color....” 42 U.S.C. § 1973c.
18 Established jurisprudence clearly sets forth the power and
authority of Congress in this particular realm. In South Carolina
v. Katzenbach, this Court recognized the extent and reach of
Congressional authority to fashion remedial legislation pursuant
to the Fifteenth Amendment. Specifically, this Court rejected the
petitioner’s argument that Congress was limited to crafting gen-
eral legislation prohibiting violations of the Fifteenth Amendment
and that courts were empowered and obliged to create specific
remedies to such violations. South Carolina, 383 U.S. at 327.
FT RE TO
23
Justice Douglas, in Hirabayashi, recognized that a pro-
active stance towards creating a remedy is a compelling
interest, particularly “where the peril is great.” Viewed
in its proper perspective, and in light of the long history
attendant to this state in obstructing sufferage rights for
various segments of its citizenry, such an approach on the
part of the state legislature makes good sense. Such an
action, effectuating an effective and viable redistricting
plan, should constitute a compelling interest—whether
done for the first time or for the second time.” In Beer,
this Court recognized that states are not required to wait
for a violation to occur before taking action to address
the issue of redistricting.”
19In his concurring opinion in Hirabayashi, Justice Douglas
recognized that a governmental entity need not wait for the harm
to occur. Hirabayashi, 320 U.S. at 107 (“. . . nor should the mili-
tary be required to wait until espionage or sabotage becomes effec-
tive before it moves. ... Certainly we cannot say ... [the mili-
tary] should have procrastinated.”) It is interesting to note, that
Hirabayashi is one of the few equal protection cases in which this
Court found that the government acted pursuant to a compelling
interest even though the compelling interest involved internment
of Japanese-Americans during World War II solely upon the basis
of their ancestry. This action was taken after the bombing of
Pearl Harbor by the Japanese.
20 Indeed, Louisiana has a historical context which predisposes it
to complying with the Voting Rights Act in a proactive manner.
“To be specific, the new remedies of the Act are imposed on
three States—Alabama, Louisiana, and Mississippi—in which
federal courts have repeatedly found substantial voting dis-
crimination.”
South Carolina, 383 U.S. at 327.
21 By “prohibiting the enforcement of a voting procedure change
until it has been demonstrated to the United States Department
of Justice or to a three-judge federal court that the change does
not have a discriminatory effect, Congress desired to prevent
States from ‘undofing] or defeat[ing] the rights recently won’
by Negroes.” Beer, 425 U.S. at 140 (citing H.R. Rep. No. 91-397,
p. 8). Moreover, the Court went on to state that “Section 5 was
intended to insure that [the gains thus far achieved in minor-
tory political participation] shall not be destroyed through new
24
Ultimately, Respondents’ argument relies heavily upon
the racial composition of District No. 4. and the equal
protection clause to provide a basis for challenging such
a district. This approach suffers from three severe flaws.
The first problem with this approach is the implicit sub-
sumption of the Fifteenth Amendment into the Fourteenth
Amendment, such that the race component of the Fif-
teenth Amendment no longer has any meaning as com-
pared to the equal treatment component of the Fourteenth
Amendment.
The second problem with such an approach is that it
sets precedent for an equal protection challenge based
upon the racial composition and complexion of a district.
Accordingly, any district which involves such a racial com-
position is open to equal protection challenges by white
and black inhabitants of the district. Thus, the minority
constituents of a newly created majority white district
could bring an equal protection challenge, arguing that
the racial composition of the district violates their right
to participate in a “color-blind electoral process.” Shaw,
113 S. Ct. at 2827. This would in turn create a judicial
and political quagmire with no clear solution in sight. It
is only when Respondents’ line of argument is carried to
its logical conclusion that the flaws within the argument
become manifest.
Third, Respondents’ argument sounds like an attempt
to cap the state’s right to effectuate a remedy of this na-
ture. Respondents’ argument attempts to provide a suffi-
cient basis for establishing a quota as to the number of
majority-minority districts a state may create. This Court
has stated repeatedly that it will not entertain implementa-
tion of racial quotas.” To that end, use of the equal pro-
[discriminatory] procedures and techniques.” Jd. (citing S. Rep.
No. 94-295, p. 9).
22 See e.g., Bakke, 438 U.S. at 289. (“The special admissions
program is undeniably a classification based on race and ethnic
background. ... Whether this limitation is described as a quota
or a goal, it is a line drawn on the basis of race and ethnic status.’ )
25
tection doctrine to challenge compliance with the Voting
Rights Act necessarily pits one constitutional amendment
against the other in terms of the primary of the amend-
ments. Such an action can only bring about the complete
conflagration of jurisprudence in either sphere. Thus, the
Court should reject Respondents’ argument that permissive
compliance with the Voting Rights Act fails to continue a
compelling interest.
To further buttress Respondents’ argument that no com-
pelling interest exists in creation of a second district, Re-
spondents inquire into whether a vote dilution violation
exists under § 2 of the Voting Rights Act. Such a viola-
tion would provide a justification for creation of District
No. 4. Mot. to Affirm 27. Advancing the first prong
required under Gingles v. Thornburg to establish a dilu-
tion claim, Respondents argue that Petitioner failed to
demonstrate that the minority group is sufficiency “geo-
graphically compact to constitute a majority in a single-
member district.22 Thornburg v. Gingles, 478 U.S. 30,
49 (1986). Respondents advanced this argument based
upon the district’s contours which follow the length of
the Red River. While Petitioner presented evidence that
the district followed the shape of the previous district
and other districts in the plan, the Three-Judge Panel
was not persuaded by the evidence presented. The Panel
found that the state failed to provide sufficient evidence
as to the issue of compactness. Opp’n to Mot. to Affirm
at 5-6.
While the shape and contours of the district have taken
on primary significance vis-a-vis Thornburg v. Gingles, 478
U.S. at 49, the Hays Panel failed to take into considera-
tion the underlying rationale driving the Gingles test. The
(citations omitted). See also, Wygant v. Jackson Bd. of Educ., 476
U.S. 267 (1986) ; City of Richmond v. J.A. Croson Co., 488 U.S. 469
(1989).
22 Petitioners failed to raise the issue of whether District No. 4
satisfies the second and third prong of the Gingles test thus, this
issue will not be addressed here. Opp’n to Affirm 6.
26
underlying rationale, determining the extent of integra-
tion of the community and its political strength, implies
a reasonable standard which should be taken into con-
sideration when making a determination of compactness.
Moreover, Gingles, when considered in the context of
earlier case law, does not impose an absolute standard
of compactness.
The Gingles test was born out of this Court’s attempt
to give life to the Congressional intent of the subject pro-
vision of the Voting Rights Act. Gingles, 478 USS.
at 47 n.15. The gravamen of the compactness re-
quirement was to keep integrated districts from being
sifted and winnowed to form a new district to the
detriment of the minority group within the popula-
tion. Id. at 50. Thus, the compactness requirement had
a dual role—to demonstrate vote dilution, and to indicate
the degree of integration and political strength of the
affected group present in the particular community. See
Growe, 113 S. Ct. 1149 (1993) (applying Gingles test to
single-member district claims of vote dilution).
Respondents assert that District No. 4 fails the com-
pactness requirement simply because it is 250 miles long.
Mot. to Affirm at 17. This argument goes solely to the
geometric shape of the district and fails to consider the un-
derlying rationale driving the decision in Gingles as stated
above. If the size of the district were dispositive of com-
pactness, reapportionment plans in agrarian and rural
areas would fail simply based upon the square miles in-
volved. Such a mechanical reading of the compactness
requirement would sound a death knell for large districts.
Nothing in Gingles can be read to impose a strict or abso-
lute standard of compactness. In fact, in light of other
dilution cases, Reynolds, and its progeny, Lodge, and
Wright; the opposite reading bears more truth. Geo-
graphic compactness is a relative concept. That is, it is
relative to the setting to which it is applied. Geographic
compactness, as a concept, must have some elasticity. In
light of the variety of settings to which this concept will
be applied, this maxim holds particular weight. In an
27
urban setting, strict geographical compactness sounds rea-
sonable given the stricter confines of most municipalities.
In a rural setting, the boundaries are far more relaxed than
the urban setting, thereby requiring a somewhat relaxed
standard of compactness. This is the lesson that can be
gleaned from the dilution cases, and in particular Rey-
nolds, and its progeny, Lodge, Wright, and Growe. These
cases set forth the standards articulated in Gingles. As
such, the requirement for compactness should be tempered
against a reasonable standard that considers factors such
as the nature of the area to be restricted and the historical
context of settlement patterns in that state.~
This reading of Gingles is not without some support.
In an earlier case, Rogers v. Lodge, 458 U.S. 613,
614 (1982) this Court upheld a lower court decision to
split a “large predominantly rural county” where the plain-
tiffs established a vote dilution claim. The judicially cre-
ated districts were established in order to remedy vote
dilution which was exacerbated by the at-large election
system. This case is instructive in that it dealt with an
area “approximately two-thirds the size of the State of
Rhode Island.” Zd.
In light of the Three-Judge Panel's misreading of Shaw
and Gingles regarding the establishment of a compelling
interest. this case should be remanded to the Panel for
further evidentiary findings.
24 Voting rights jurisprudence following enactment of the Voting
Rights Act clearly took into consideration the fact that “. . . legis-
latures prefer to follow traditional county and regional lines so that
the demands of blatant partisanship will be tempered by the con-
straints of history and tradition.” Kirkpatrick v. Preisler, 394 U.S.
526, 552 (1969) (Harlan, J., dissenting). However, this require-
ment as initiated in Reynolds, followed in Kirkpatrick, and its
progeny, should not and cannot be blindly considered absent some
temperance or constraints of reasonableness upon the principle.
28
CONCLUSION
\ For the reasons stated, this court should reverse the
Western District of Louisiana’s decision and uphold the
creation of District No. 4.
Respectfully submitted,
KOTELES ALEXANDER
Counsel of Record
BRIAN J. MURPHY
MILDRED E. STEWARD
ALEXANDER, APONTE
& MARKS, LLP
Lee Plaza—Suite 805
8601 Georgia Avenue
Silver Spring, Maryland 20910
(301) 589-2222
Attorneys for Amici Curiae
sia
Be NS ri a
a
See etee
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.