Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Zenith Laboratories, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

‘Supreme Court, y

FILED -S.

No. 94 494 SEP 1 4 1994

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB COMPANY,

‘ Petitioner,

ZENITH LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

H. BARTOW FARR, III

(Counsel of Record)

RICHARD G. TARANTO

FARR & TARANTO

2445 M Street, NW

Washington, DC 20037

(202) 775-0184

S. LESLIE MISROCK

BRIAN D. CocGcio

STEVEN I. WALLACH

KENT H. CHENG

PENNIE & EDMONDS

1155 Avenue of the Americas

New York, NY 10036

hearse MRR

WILSON - EPes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether proof of literal infringement of a patent for

a new composition of matter (e.g., a chemical compound )

requires examination of each item of information in the

patent claim, even when that information consists of

scientifically redundant, overinclusive “fingerprint” data

included for evidentiary identification of the patented

composition, rather than restrictive conditions that pre-

cisely define and limit the patented aspects of the com-

position.

2. Whether a valid patent lacks protection against

infringement under the doctrine of equivalents except to

the extent the invention performs a function not previ-

ously performed by any prior art.

(i)

ii

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

Petitioner Bristol-Myers Squibb Company has no parent

company. Its non-wholly owned subsidiaries are the fol-

lowing: Laboratoires UPSA; Nyagen; RCS Realty Cor-

poration; Sino American Shanghai Squibb Pharma Ltd.;

Squibb Nigeria Limited; UPSA Investissements; 2309

Realty Corporation; Bristol-Myers Lion Ltd.; Bristol-

Myers Squibb G.M.B.H.; P.T. Squibb Indonesia; Squibb

of Bangladesh Limited; Synbiotics Limited; Mead John-

son.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ..........--:.<00se-<s2c0ss--<s0s:-0--sse000- i

DE I I ois ne cceetcnicinnersenpnbesnsnacanncnsseeers ii

po i eg a |: iv

i 0 cncahonovminanansentanqueoesmmevenen 1

ic enadciantininnkeomnbonnninoenannee 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED .................... 2

ae NE RE an oe 3

a ceniensemuiancinees Seeds 3

B. District Court Proceedings .....................-------0e0-s--- 7

C. The Court of Appeals Decision ............................-- 9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION ............ 12

I. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT ERRONEOUSLY

LIMITED THE SCOPE OF PROTECTION

AGAINST LITERAL INFRINGEMENT FOR

VALID PATENTS FOR NEW COMPOSI-

TIONS OF MATTER SUCH AS CHEMICAL

RINE Sati bendabacncicckcnsdnsyadsctesscecreunsntthlenerets epee 13

Il. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT ERRONEOUSLY

LIMITED PROTECTION AGAINST _IN-

FRINGEMENT UNDER THE DOCTRINE OF

EQUIVALENTS TO PATENTS FOR INVEN-

TIONS THAT PERFORM NEW FUNCTIONS.. 20

I ohiticiicnnsccterintirieienenccencstilinsiaenovennsitenayentareseeerene 26

(iii)

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Bristol-Myers Co. v. U.S. Int'l Trade Comm’n, 15

USPQ24 1266. (Fed. Cir. 1969} .............................. 4, 6,14

Carman Indus., Inc. v. Wahl, 724 F.2d 932 (Fed.

SE) BRE SES Deena mre cicpens oat AE SSS Ne NOOEL 21, 22

Connell v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 722 F.2d 1542

i Sp a RRR ene oar tyra: CIR Ae re 21

Demaco Corp. v. F. Von Langsdorff Licensing Ltd.,

851 F.2d 1387 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S.

| SURE rename MTN ern aS Co ST ee 23, 24

Fromberg, Inc. v. Thornhill, 315 F.2d 407 (5th

Ee + | Cay SOS Ger CO EL WS. Fc re RE 15

Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. United States Plywood

Corp., 258 F.2d 124 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 358

iis, a a i 19

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co.,

Son UF. Gb. Cees adi i ee 7, 20, 21, 25

Gray v. James, 10 F. Cas. 1015 (C.C.D. Pa. 1817).. 21

Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb, Inc., 909

Fie Sk Cr a Be teen 23

In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576 (Ct. Cust. Pat. App.

ys ARERR ERE RET DE Nee eR tres A SET ed ON CM ee OO Ae AT OR 23

In re Certain Crystalline Cefadroxil Monohydrate,

15 USPOSd 1960) (ies Bee voces... 6, 15

In re Cofer, 354 F.2d 664 (Ct. Cust. Pat. App.

}) | Een eC LS iS Le ie, Slorseee nee nemenee 23

In re Grose, 592 F.2d 1161 (Ct. Cust. Pat. App.

DOT caciasec seis ee ce annette 16, 17,18

In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381 (Ct. Cust. Pat. App.

QI icici ac ace ttrrrentersnctee ton 16

In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705 (Fed. Cir. 1990) -........... 9, 24

Intervet America, Inc. v. Kee-Vet Labs., Inc., 887

P20 oOo (red. Cat Be oe... 15, 21

Leeds & Northrup Co. v. Doble Eng’g Co., 159 F.2d

66d Cink Ce Fer aes. 21

Lerner v. Child Guidance Prods., Inc., 547 F.2d 29

Ca Ca FI ka octets cersesecenyas 21

Morley Sewing-Machine Co. v. Lancaster, 129 U.S.

DUE CED vaccine cicn 23

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

National Hollow Brake-Beam Co. v. Interchange-

able Brake-Beam Co., 106 F. 693 (8th Cir.

bs Qentererad Mm Seer reek dant oR TO RES eo ee Te 25

Odiorne v. Winkley, 18 F. Cas. 581 (C.C.D. Mass.

cg Senn ania hit sees tem denies et ea 21

Potts v. Creager, 155 U.S. 597 ( RN hi 24

Radio Corp. of America v. Radio E'ng’g Lab., Inc.,

ee Sree CE ee ek 24

Read Corp. v. Portec, Ltd., 970 F.2d 816 (Fed. Cir.

OD Carico deere et 22

Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150 (1875) ............... 24

Sanitary Refrigerator Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30

5 USAGI AIRS Pade tne ne ME, SI nanan 21

Schriber-Schroth Co. v. Cleveland Trust Co., 305

ee Oe I 14

Smith v. Snow, 294 U.S. 1 (1935) ............... 16

Spectra Corp. v. Lutz, 839 F.2d 1579 (Fed. Cir.

bg RE SEP TEMG Tac diet NUR NE) Ee a 20, 21

SKI Intl v. Matsushita Elec. Corp., 715 F.2d 1107

o£ Ee, LEE meee 16, 25

Topliff v. Topliff, 145 U.S. 156 (1892) 19

Union Paper-Bag Machine Co. v. Murphy, 97 U.S.

pS ee te ae mage Fd ice ee 15, 21

Westinghouse v. Boyden Power Brake Co., 170

ai ak Sw} 23, 25

Wilson Sporting Goods Co. v. David Geoffrey &

Assoc., 904 F.2d 677 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied,

A ris SO ee eS 22

Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 330

ig ERRORPEE Cine sR LGe Tate RR ene See SOS el ee 21

Ziegler v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 483 F.2d 858

(Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414 U.S. 1079 (1973) .... 22, 25

Statutes

EE RES TST CRE Sel ee 2

REET REIS I SRG nT a 7

tgp Ae ec 16

week 2, 22

oo

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

SES Rae Tere Ae ee ee Oot ae 22

§ 108 ........ 22

| ROE te ass 2,19

| Tes ee ce Sel Re ss EE 2, 22

(_ EEERIDE EN RPRROCREE CRE Ane eS see 8, 9, 10, 22

Rules and Regulations

Pas Bic MOI TD dachicctiictsicasatchinccsndetehiaasec Dhlaiteeaaninn talents ; 16

FER TREE Ae eT CO a 16

ARSE EEA RCE MENDEL. Fe 16

er a ba ee i ec eins 19

Other Authorities

L. Azaroff & M. Buerger, The Powder Method in

X-Ray Crystallography (1958) ................-.-..-------- 6

R. Faber, Landis on Mechanics of Patent Claim

Pi By. Re 18

P. Giannelli & E. Imwinkelried, Scientific Evidence

CORO ack caades DORE RT ae OTRO oes) a 14

E. Lipscomb, Walker on Patents (8d ed. 1987)...... 25

A. Miller & M. Davis, Intellectual Property: Pat-

ents, Trademarks, and Copyright in a Nutshell

eR RR aa Se ee 25

P. Rosenberg, Patent Law Fundamentals (2d ed.

EE ERR. cet SAE TSS 1 A Pe 23

E. Thomas, Chemical Inventions and Chemical Pat-

ents (Ausiander 66. 1966) —................................. 19

United States Pharmacopeia 23 (1994) .................. 6, 8,15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1994

No. 94-

BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB COMPANY,

Petitioner,

Vv.

ZENITH LABORATORIES, INC.,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Federal Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company hereby petitions for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the United

States Court of Appeals for the Federal Circuit in this

case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (Pet. App. 1a-17a)

is reported at 19 F.3d 1418. The opinions of the district

court (Pet. App. 18a-74a, 75a-78a) are reported at 24

USPQ2d 1652 (D.N.J. 1992).

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered judgment on March 24,

1994. Pet. App. la. A timely petition for rehearing was

denied on May 26, 1994. Pet. App. 79a-80a. On July

2

28, 1994, Chief Justice Rehnquist extended the time for

filing a petition to and including September 14, 1994.

Pet. App. 81a. This Court has jurisdiction under 28

U.S.C. § 1254.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Statutory provisions involved in the case include the

following:

35 U.S.C. § 101. Inventions patentable

Whoever invents or discovers any new and useful

process, machine, manufacture, or composition of

matter, or any new and useful improvement thereof,

may obtain a patent therefor, subject to the condi-

tions and requirements of this title.

35 U.S.C. § 112. Specification

The specification shall contain a written description

of the invention, and of the manner and process of

making and using it, in such full, clear, concise, and

exact terms as to enable any person skilled in the art

to which it pertains, or with which it is most nearly

connected, to make and use the same, and shall set

forth the best mode contemplated by the inventor of

carrying out his invention.

The specification shall conclude with one or more

claims particularly pointing out and distinctly claim-

ing the subject matter which the applicant regards as

his invention.

* * * *

35 U.S.C. § 154. Contents and term of patent

Every patent shall contain . . . 2 grant to the

patentee, . .. for the term of seventeen years, .. . of

3

the right to exclude others from making, using, or

selling the invention throughout the United States,

and, if the invention is a process, of the right to ex-

clude others from using or selling throughout the

United States, or importing into the United States,

products made by that process, referring to the spec-

ification for the particulars thereof... .

35 U.S.C. § 271. Infringement of patent

(a) Except as otherwise provided in this title.

whoever without authority makes, uses or sells any

patented invention, within the United States during

the term of the patent therefor, infringes the patent.

(b) Whoever actively induces infringement of a

patent shall be liable as an infringer.

* * * *

STATEMENT

The Federal Circuit in this case adopted restrictive new

positions on two important and recurring aspects of patent

law: the treatment of overinclusive scientific information

set forth in patent claims to identify a patented new

chemical compound or other composition of matter; and

the meaning of the established doctrine of equivalents as

a means of ensuring realistic protection against infringe-

ment commensurate with the full extent of a patent’s

validity. The Federal Circuit’s rulings establish limita-

tions on the scope of patent protection that are sharply

out of keeping with well-settled principles of patent law.

Petitioner asks this Court to grant the petition to review

and to correct these rulings.

A. Background

In 1970, the Patent and Trademark Office issued a

patent for a new antibiotic chemical compound called

4

“cefadroxil,” which is effective against bacteria that are

resistant to penicillin.’ Bristol-Myers (the owner of the

patent) recognized that cefadroxil in its original form

could not easily be used for actual delivery of medicine to

patients (or even for preliminary clinical studies) because

there was no sufficiently pure or stable form of the drug.

See Bristol-Myers Co. v. U.S. Int'l Trade Comm’n, 15

USPQ2d 1258, 1259, 1260 (Fed. Cir. 1989). Bristol-

Myers scientists therefore set to work trying to produce

a usable form of cefadroxil. These efforts ultimately were

rewarded with the creation of a new crystal form of

cefadroxil, the “Bouzard monohydrate,” consisting of one

water molecule for each cefadroxil molecule and named

after one of the inventors, Bristol-Myers chemist Daniel

Bouzard. See id. at 1259-60; Pet. App. 19a n.2. Bristol-

Myers marketed this new drug as DURICEF.

In 1985, the Patent and Trademark Office issued a

patent for this new compound—No. 4,504,657, the ’657

patent. Pet. App. 2a-3a. Pursuant to 35 U.S.C. § 112,

the patent contains a lengthy “specification” that describes

the new crystal and how it is made and then concludes

with a single “claim” that identifies the new crystal with

x-ray diffraction data—‘“a technique,” as the district court

observed (Pet. App. 49a), “that in essence takes the

‘fingerprint’ of a crystalline compound.” The claim states:

We claim:

1. Crystalline 7-[D-a-amino-g-(p-hydroxyphenyl-

) acetamido] -3-methy]-3-cephem-4-carboxylic acid

monohydrate exhibiting essentially the following x-ray

diffraction properties:

1This was patent No. 3,489,752, referred to by the last three

digits—the ’752 patent. That patent expired in 1987. See Pet.

App. 2a.

Relative

Line Spacing d(A) Intensity

1 8.84 100

2 7.88 40

3 7.27 42

4 6.89 15

5 6.08 70

6 5.56 5

7 5.35 63

8 4.98 38

9 4.73 26

10 4.43 18

11 4.10 61

12 3.95 5

13 3.79 70

14 3.66 5

15 3.55 12

16 3.45 74

17 3.30 11

18 3.18 14

19 3.09 16

20 3.03 29

21 2.93 8

22 2.85 26

23 2.76 19

24 2.67 9

25 2.59 28

26 2.51 12

27 2.46 13

28 2.41 2

29 2.35 12

30 2.30 2

31 2.20 15

32 2.17 11

33 2.12 7

34 2.05 4

35 1.99 4

36 1.95 14

37 1.90 10

6

U.S. Patent No. 4,504,657, cols. 18-20 (Def. Ex. 1, Ct.

App. JA 507-08). The table gives the results of directing

x-rays at the crystalline powder, detecting the reflections

of the x-rays from various angles (like photographing it

from various angles), and recording the location and

intensity of those reflections.”

The validity of this patent was soon tested and con-

firmed. When several companies sought to import the

identical patented crystal into the United States, Bristol-

Myers sued for injunctive relief from the International

Trade Commission (1 ‘C). The ITC denied preliminary

relief, doubting the validity of the ‘657 patent, but the

Federal Circuit reversed, rejecting the ITC’s basis for

questioning the validity of the patent. Bristol-Myers Co.

v. U.S. Int'l Trade Comm'n, 15 USPQ2d 1258 (Fed. Cir.

1989). In so holding, the Federal Circuit made clear that

the invention claimed was the crystal itself, with the

diffraction pattern supplying information to identify this

unique crystal: “The product is claimed in the '657

patent as a specific crystalline cefadroxil monohydrate,

identified by its X-ray powder diffraction pattern, an ac-

cepted ‘fingerprint’ for crystal structure.” Jd. at 1260.

See id. at 1260 (“new chemical structure”); id. at 1262

(“patentability of a new chemical structure”) .*

2 The “spacing d(A)” in the table stands for the location of the

x-ray reflections from the crystal powder, which depend on the

shape and size of the crystal lattice (unit cell); the “relative in-

tensity” of the reflections depends on the arrangement of the atoms

within the lattice. “The combination of the unit cell and the

arrangement of atoms in it comprises the crystal structure itself.

Therefore, the locations and relative intensities of the reflections

of a crystal are characteristics of the crystal structure.” L. Azaroff

_& M. Buerger, The Powder Method in X-Ray Crystallography 11

(1958) ; see also United States Pharmacopeia 23 at 1843-44 (1994)

(describing x-ray powder diffraction method and showing diffraction

patterns).

3The ITC subsequently held the patent valid. In re Certain

Crystalline Cefadroxil Monohydrate, 15 USPQ2d 1263 (ITC 1990).

7

B. District Court Proceedings

In 1988, respondent Zenith acquired from a Spanish

company the right to distribute a compound it called

“cefadroxil DC.” Although Zenith’s compound differs

structurally from Bristol-Myers’ Bouzard monohydrate in

that it contains one-half of a molecule of water (a hemi-

hydrate) for each molecule of cefadroxil, Zenith sought

and obtained approval from the Food and Drug Admin-

istration to sell its drug as a generic equivalent of Bristol-

Myers’ already-approved Bouzard monohydrate. See Pet.

App. 3a, 19a n.2. Zenith subsequently brought this suit

against Bristol-Myers in the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey, seeking, under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1338, a declaratory judgment that cefadroxil DC did

not infringe Bristol-Myers’ '657 patent. See Pet. App. 4a,

19a.*

Bristol-Myers responded that Zenith’s compound in-

fringed its patent because cefadroxil DC does its medicinal

work by actually converting into the patented Bouzard

monohydrate in vivo—that is, in the patient’s stomach.

Zenith’s compound, therefore, induces literal infringement

in violation of 35 U.S.C. §271(b) and also infringes

Bristol-Myers’ patent under the established “doctrine of

equivalents,” which asks whether an accused product per-

forms substantially the same function in substantially the

same way to produce substantially the same result as the

patented product. See Pet. App. 5a, 15a, 19a; Graver

Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Prods. Co., 339 U.S. 605,

609 (1950). Bristol-Myers relied on a host of prior

precedents, not questioned by the Federal Circuit here,

concluding that infringement may be found where an

accused product converts ia vivo or in situ into a pat-

ented product. Pet. App. 15a-16a, 61a-62a.

4 Earlier, Bristol-Myers had commenced an infringement action

against Zenith’s Spanish supplier, but that action was withdrawn

when the Spanish company ceased manufacturing cefadroxil DC.

Pet. App. 4a.

8

The district court held a six-day bench trial in which

“(t]he primary factual issue . . . was whether cefadroxil

DC converted in vivo to the Bouzard monohydrate.” Pet.

App. 20a.° Scientific witnesses on both sides testified

about their experiments addressed to that factual ques-

tion. Jd. at 20a-44a. Most critical for present purposes

was the testimony of Dr. Harry Brittain, particularly

about his x-ray diffraction analysis. Jd. at 48a-5la.° That

testimony, and the district court’s findings on the point

(id. at 50a-5la), proceeded in two steps. First, Dr.

Brittain showed that a sample of Bristol-Myers’ product

(DURICEF) was in fact the compound described in the

patent: he took x-ray diffraction readings of DURICEF

and matched them (21 of 22 lines, or angles) with the

diffraction figures set out in the patent. 7d. at 50a. Sec-

ond, he then used the graph form of the diffraction read-

ings for DURICEF (a diffraction pattern) as a “refer-

ence pattern” to compare with the diffraction pattern pro-

duced by certain wetted versions of Zenith’s compound

designed to simulate in vivo conditions, and he found that

those patterns matched as well. Jd. at 50a-5la. Zenith

concentrated on attacking the second step by questioning

whether the discovered conversion occurred in conditions

that truly corresponded with stomach conditions. Jd. at

51a-58a. Zenith did not dispute the scientific adequacy of

Dr. Brittain’s first step.’

5 The district court had initially “granted summary judgment in

Zenith’s favor on the issue of in vivo conversion” but immediately

vacated its order and proceeded to trial. Pet. App. 19a.

6 Dr. Brittain conducted ‘a host of other experiments as well to

determine whether cefadroxil DC converts into the Bouzard mono-

hydrate. See Pet. App. 30a-41a.

7 Dr. Brittain’s generation of a “reference pattern” on his equip-

ment was in accord with the recommended practice of the source

establishing official FDA standards: “If a reference material (e.g.,

USP Reference Standard) is available, it is preferable to generate

a primary reference pattern on the same equipment used for run-

ning the unknown sample, and under the same conditions.” United

States Pharmacopeia 28 at 1844.

9

The district court found Bristol-Myers’ “powerful

proofs” to “greatly outweigh” Zenith’s evidence and thus

found that cefadroxil DC does in fact convert into the

patented compound in vivo. Id. at 58a; see id. at 47a

(“The Court finds that Bristol presented by far the more

compelling case on the issue of conversion.”); id. at 57a

(Bristol-Myers’ evidence is “simply better supported and

vastly more credible”). Based on that finding, the court

held that Zenith’s “proposed sales of cefadroxil DC would

constitute inducement of infringement under 35 U.S.C.

§ 271(b).” Pet. App. 66a (footnote omitted); id. at 66a-

73a.° The district court entered judgment declaring

Zenith’s sale of cefadroxil DC an act of infringement and

directing that Zenith could not sell cefadroxil DC until

the date on which Bristol-Myers’ patent will expire (in

2002). Id. at 73a-78a.

C. The Court of Appeals Decision.

The Federal Circuit reversed. Pet. App. la-18a. At the

outset, the court rejected Zenith’s argument that the “657

patent was itself limited to pre-ingested Bouzard mono-

hydrate and thus, in Zenith’s view, excluded Bouzard

crystals that form in a patient’s stomach after ingestion of

cefadroxil DC. Id. at 6a-8a. Although Zenith contended

that the scope of the patent was restricted by the Bouzard

monohydrate’s function of facilitating the manufacture of

cefadroxil in usable form, the court made clear that this

function was not an aspect of the patent: “The '657

claim is a claim for a compound. Its patentability thus

derives from the structure of the claimed compound in

relation to prior compounds. See In re Spada, 911 F.2d

8 Although unnecessary to its ultimate holding, the district court

rejected Bristol-Myers’ alternative argument that Zenith was liable

for infringement under the doctrine of equivalents. The court

found “prosecution history estoppel” based on its view that Bristol-

Myers had predicated its patent solely on the enhanced manufac-

turing properties of its invention, properties that Zenith would not

use in producing the cefadroxil monohydrate in vivo. Id. at 64a-66a.

10

705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir. 1990).

The relevance to patentability of the properties or char-

acteristics exhibited by the compound is limited to assess-

ing the significance of the structural distinctions of the

claimed compound over the prior art.” Pet. App. 7a-8a.

Having construed the 657 patent to cover any Bouzard

monohydrate crystals that form in vivo, the court of ap-

peals nevertheless overturned the district court’s finding

that there was literal infringement in vivo, explaining that

there was an “absence of evidence comparing the ’657

claim with the cefadroxil DC after ingestion.” Pet. App.

12a.° This holding in no way questioned the district

court’s finding that ingested cefadroxil DC converts to

DURICEF (based on a comparison of their diffraction

patterns); nor did it question the scientific adequacy of

the finding that DURICEF was the same as the compound

described in the patent (based on matching of 21 of 22

diffraction lines set forth in the ‘657 patent and shown by

the “reference pattern” produced by DURICEF). Rather,

the court’s holding was that proof of infringement re-

quires, as a matter of law, a matching of the accused

product and its diffraction pattern with the full set of

diffraction data included in the patent claim. Id. at 11a-

12a.” Explaining that “the claim is drafted in terms of

x-ray diffraction lines,” which therefore “set{] the metes

and bounds of the invention,” the court found a “failure

® The court of appeals thus held simply that there was no proof

that literal infringement occurred after ingestion. The court left

unimpaired the district court’s holding that, if literal infringement

occurs in vivo, Zenith is liable for inducement under 35 U.S.C.

§ 271(b). The court of appeals’ holding on this point, accordingly,

is a holding entirely about the requirements for proving literal

infringement.

10 The court observed that something less than complete identity

might be satisfactory, given the patent claim’s use of the term

“essentially exhibiting,” but that the law “does not permit ignoring

a substantial number of lines altogether,” as the scientific evidence

did in focusing on 22 of the 37 diffraction lines. Jd. at 11la-12a.

11

of proof” because of the “improper comparison.” Id. at

lla, 12a.

Turning from the issue of literal infringement, the Fed-

eral Circuit next held that a judgment of infringement

could not rest on the doctrine of equivalents. Pet. App.

13a-17a. The court began by rejecting the district court’s

reasoning on this point—which relied on “prosecution

history estoppel” based on Bristol-Myers’ assertion of its

invention’s manufacturing benefits (see note 8, supra)—

because “[t]here is nothing in the record indicating that

the statements about manufacturing benefits played any

role in the procurement of the ‘657 patent.” Jd. at 13a;

see id. at 13a-15a. But the court of appeals immediately

returned to the manufacturing benefits of the Bouzard

monohydrate in giving its own reason for holding that

“the doctrine of equivalents is inapplicable ... as a mat-

ter of law.” Id. at 15a.

The court ruled that, for purposes of determining

whether the accused product performs substantially the

same “function” as the patented invention, the only func-

tion that counts is a new function—one that the patented

invention was the first to perform. Jd. (“the primary, if

not the only, function of the Bouzard crystal form of the

drug as compared to other forms is to facilitate pre-

ingestion manufacturing”) (emphasis added); id. at n.9

(“the function cannot be described more broadly, i.e. as

the delivery of therapeutic value to the patient, for that

is the function attributable to cefadroxil per se, which is

prior art in relation to Bouzard monohydrate”). Based

on that proposition of law, the Federal Circuit ruled that

“there can be no infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents” in this case. Jd. at 15a. With the focus re-

stricted to new functions, it was irrelevant that Zenith’s

compound necessarily performs the same function of de-

livering medicine to patients as does Bristol-Myers’ com-

pound: the only relevant function was “facilitating en-

capsulation” for manufacturing (a function that the Fed-

eral Circuit had just concluded played no role in the

12

issuance of the patent), and that function was one Zenith’s

compound could not perform after ingestion. 7d. at 15a,

17a.

The full Federal Circuit subsequently denied a sugges-

tion for rehearing en banc. Judge Newman voted to re-

hear the case en banc. Pet. App. 79a-80a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Federal Circuit rested its ruling in this case on

two conclusions that, conflicting with a number of funda-

mental and previously clear principles of patent law, cre-

ate substantial confusion about and improperly curtail

the scope of patent protection. The court restricted the

scope of literal infringement by equating mere identifying

data (like diffraction patterns or fingerprints) with the

articles that such data identify, thereby deliberately

turning a blind eye to indisputable scientific evidence

about how to determine when a unique chemical com-

pound or other composition of matter is present. The

court then restricted the scope of infringement under the

doctrine of equivalents by limiting protection to patented

inventions that perform a new function, thereby discon-

necting the scope of infringement protection from the

scope of patent validity and effectively stripping a whole

range of valid patents of the essential protection to which

they have long been entitled.

Each of the court’s rulings is on its face broadly ap-

plicable and incompatible with otherwise-established prin-

ciples of patent law. Where no intercircuit conflict is pos-

sible because of the exclusive jurisdiction of the Federal

Circuit over matters of patent law, the resulting uncer-

tainty about legal issues as fundamental as those pre-

sented here is more than enough to call for this Court’s

review. The Court should grant the petition to address

these issues and restore the proper understanding of iden-

tifying data in patent claims and the proper concordance

between infringement protection and patent validity.

a

13

I. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT ERRONEOUSLY LIM-

ITED THE SCOPE OF PROTECTION AGAINST

LITERAL INFRINGEMENT FOR VALID PATENTS

FOR NEW COMPOSITIONS OF MATTER SUCH AS

CHEMICAL COMPOUNDS.

The court of appeals in this case held that it was error

for a court, addressing a charge of infringement, “to

compare . . . the accused product with the patentee’s

commercial embodiment or other version of the product

or process,” even if, as a scientific matter, the commercial

product is exactly the same as the patented article. Pet.

App. lla. Thus, despite the fact that Bristol-Myers es-

tablished to a scientific certainty that its product was the

same as the compound identified in the patent, and fur-

ther established that Zenith’s compound (cefadroxil DC

in vivo) was the same as that product, the court of ap-

peals nonetheless reversed the district court’s finding of

infringement, holding that as a matter of law the accused

product has to be directly compared to the full set of

identifying data in the patent. Jd. at 1la-12a. If this rule

of law were to stand, it would mean that a patent holder,

to prove infringement, would have to compare the infring-

ing product to each and every piece of identifying data

in the patent claim even when a far less burdensome

comparison would irrefutably establish that the two com-

pounds were identical. There is simply no sound basis

for engrafting this requirement onto the structure of ex-

isting patent law.

The Federal Circuit’s ruling fundamentally confuses

two different types of patent claims and imposes a new

limitation on a type of patent claim where it does not

belong. Where the full set of limitations set forth in a

patent claim restrictively defines what is new about the

invention—as when a new machine is built and the claim

precisely specifies the novel aspects of it—then it is un-

doubtedly correct that each of those limitations must be

“read on” an accused product to establish literal infringe-

ment. But where the data in the claim serve merely to

14

identify or describe what is concededly a new invention,

and such data are in scientific terms more than necessary

(overinclusive, excessive) for that purpose, then the Fed-

eral Circuit’s rule is erroneous. In that circumstance,

which is a common one—e.g., when a never-before-created

chemical compound or other composition of matter is the

patented invention and the patent claim simply gives

scientists the tell-tale signs to determine if what they have

produced is the new compound or composition—the

court’s rule mistakenly equates the object patented with

information that is only of evidentiary significance in de-

termining when that object has been found.

This error is the equivalent of requiring, as a matter of

law, a matching of every ridge, whorl, loop, and other

characteristic of a detailed fingerprint to prove that an

“accused” finger is the same as a known finger—even

though the science of fingerprint identification establishes

the indisputable sufficiency of far less information. See

P. Giannelli & E. Imwinkelried, Scientific Evidence § 16-7

(1986). When there is no question about what the ob-

ject of identification is (e.g., a finger of a particular per-

son), it is a scientific question how much of a particular

form of evidence (e.g., fingerprint information) is suffi-

cient to establish the identification. And when there is

more such evidence than is scientifically necessary to es-

tablish the identification, it is senseless to ignore the

redundant character of the data and require jot-by-jot

scrutiny of every item.

The x-ray diffraction data in a patent like ’657 are, as

the district court and Federal Circuit both recognized, just

like “fingerprint” evidence. Pet. App. 49a; Bristol-Myers

Co. v. ITC, 15 USPQ2d at 1260. It does not restrict and

define the patented aspects of a physical object, but

merely supplies data for identifying the object that is

patented—namely, the chemical compound itself. Indeed,

the Federal Circuit, both in its opinion on the validity of

the ’657 patent and elsewhere in its opinion under review

here, expressly recognized that the thing patented was the

os

15

crystal structure itself (the Bouzard monohydrate). Pet.

App. 7a (“The ’657 claim is a claim for a compound.”);

page 6, supra (quoting validity opinion). It is there-

fore fundamentally a factual scientific question how much

diffraction data (or, in a different case, other types of

data) are needed to answer the central question of in-

fringement analysis—whether the accused product and

the patented product are “the same.” Union Paper-Bag

Machine Co. v. Murphy, 97 U.S. 120, 125 (1878). See

Fromberg, Inc. v. Thornhill, 315 F.2d 407, 411 (Sth

Cir. 1963); Intervet America, Inc. v. Kee-Vet Labs., Inc.,

887 F.2d 1050, 1053 (Fed. Cir. 1989) (“infringement is

a question of fact”).

Yet the Federal Circuit did not question—what is in-

deed beyond dispute—that as a scientific matter 37 dif-

fraction lines are grossly overinclusive, or redundant, for

identification purposes." The court nevertheless treated

11 For example, the United States Pharmacopeia 23, which sets

forth official FDA standards, states that “[i]dentification of crystal-

line materials can be accomplished by comparison of X-ray powder

diffraction patterns obtained for known materials with those of the

unknown” and “[i]t is generally sufficient [to establish identity] to

scan past the ten strongest reflections” in a diffracticn pattern.

Id. at 1844 (footnote omitted). Zenith’s own experts testified to the

scientific sufficiency, for identification purposes, of looking at

“maybe 15 or 20” lines (Ct. App. JA 2075 (Dr. Pfeiffer) ) or even

three lines if they are strong enough (Ct. App. JA 2918 (Dr.

Greenblatt) ). The 21 lines relied on in this case by Bristol-Myers’

expert and the district court included the strongest, most significant

lines.

Beyond that, there was no serious dispute as a scientific factual

matter that DURICEF was the same as the invention described in

the ‘657 patent. Zenith’s expert Dr. Greenblatt so testified in her

deposition. Ct. App. JA 1567, 1570-71. An FDA report submitted

by Zenith stated that the diffraction pattern for Bristol-Myers’

product “agrees with the data presented by the Bouzard patent.”

Ct. App. JA 237. The ITC stated in its opinion upholding the valid-

ity of the ‘657 patent that Bristol-Myers’ “commercially successful

product .. . is the invention claimed in the ‘657 patent.” In re

16

the diffraction data as if each element of it imposed an

additional limitation on the protected invention. That

treatment, which is scientifically incorrect, necessarily es-

tablishes what Zenith described as “a ruling of law...

as a matter of claim interpretation” (Response to Reh’g

Pet’n at 5) that the patented invention in this common

situation is not the chemical itself, but each and every

piece of identifying data. The Federal Circuit’s ruling is

thus contrary to the court’s own prior recognition in this

very case. More basically, it violates the cardinal prin-

ciple that patent claims should be construed “in the light

. . . of scientific fact.” Smith v. Snow, 294 U.S. 1, 14

(1935).”

The Federal Circuit’s new treatment of chemical pat-

ents and diffraction data is, in fact, flatly inconsistent

with the (otherwise-binding) precedent of its predecessor

court. In In re Papesch, 315 F.2d 381, 391 (Ct. Cust.

Pat. App. 1963), the court stressed the very distinction

the Federal Circuit here ignored: “a formula is not a

compound and while it may serve in a claim to identify

what is being patented, as the metes and bounds of a

deed identify a plot of land, the thing that is patented is

not the formula but the compound identified by it.” More

specifically, in In re Grose, 592 F.2d 1161 (Ct. Cust.

Pat. App. 1979), the court discussed “[t]he significance

of differences in X-ray diffraction data” where a patent

claim for a chemical compound (a “zeolite”), using lan-

guage materially indistinguishable from the claim here,

Certain Crystalline Cefadroxil Monohydrate, 15 USPQ2d at 1270.

And Zenith’s amended complaint (at {| 30) described Bristol-Myers’

product as “covered by the ’657 patent.” Ct. App. JA 202.

12To the extent that the Federal Circuit was establishing a

special evidentiary rule—one that disregards scientific standards

of evidentiary sufficiency—it plainly has no authority to depart

from the Federal Rules of Evidence that govern all cases in district

courts. See Fed. R. Evid. 101, 1101, 1102; 28 U.S.C. § 2072; SRI

Int’l v. Matsushita Elec. Corp., 775 F.2d 1107, 1116 (Fed. Cir.

1985).

17

“followed the apparently universal practice in this art of ©

‘fingerprinting’ the crystal structure of their zeolite through

a characteristic X-ray powder diffraction pattern.” /d. at

1165.* In comparing the claimed crystal with another,

the court stated:

X-ray powder diffraction data are merely an ana-

lytical tool for identifying polycrystalline materials

according to differences in crystal structure. The

ultimate question, in ascertaining whether a particu-

lar zeolite is a different species from those of like

chemical composition, is whether it has the same

crystal structure. Appellants are claiming a crystal

structure. Thus, we are concerned not with whether

there are differences in d-spacing values and relative

intensities, but with whether such differences support

a conclusion that [the two compounds] have different

crystal structures.

Id. at 1165-66 (footnote omitted). That approach to

construing a claim for a compound that recites diffraction

data, and to comparing the compound with another

chemical compound, respects sound science. The Federal

Circuit ruling in this case is fundamentally inconsistent

with that approach.

The ruling below not only is incorrect but also will

have harmful consequences. Owners (or future seekers)

of patents for chemical compounds or other compositions

of matter will now be limited, or at a minimum have to

guess which authority will govern, in their efforts to se-

cure protection against infringement for their inventions.

This impairment—with the inevitable waste and difficul-

ties in having to prove infringement through efforts to

match every bit of scientifically redundant data in a pa-

13 The patent claim stated that a particular compound had “an

X-ray powder diffraction pattern containing at least those d-spacings

set forth” in a table included in the claim. 592 F.2d at 1162 (em-

phasis added).

18

tent claim “—will immediately affect a large number of

chemical patents. With respect to the use of diffraction

data alone, which is a standard procedure (see In re

Grose, 592 F.2d at 1165), the decision affects the ap-

proximately 400 unexpired patents for chemical com-

pounds that recite diffraction data.** And the principle

adopted by the Federal Circuit applies not just to diffrac-

tion data but equally to any other form of scientific

“fingerprint” data.”®

The Federal Circuit’s ruling also produces immediate

uncertainty for claimants seeking new patents. If patent

owners are to be penalized for overinclusive identifying

data in their patent claims, they will spend needless re-

sources attempting to predict not only what language the

Patent and Trademark Office will accept but also what

data will simultaneously serve the two essential purposes

of the patent claim: to be inclusive enough to identify

the invention and thus afford protection against infringe-

ment, while not being so overinclusive as to make en-

forcing the patent over its 17-year life wastefully expen-

sive (through, e.g., compelled redundancy of scientific

proof) or perhaps impossible. The drafting of claims is

14 Here, for example, present-day accepted methodology for x-ray

diffraction analysis would not produce the full set of 37 diffraction

readings included in the ‘657 claim. Given the undisputed scientific

adequacy of the diffraction-pattern matching produced by current

equipment, it would be purely wasteful of the time and resources

of scientists, inventors, and courts (and in other cases perhaps

impossible) to insist on examination of even concededly redundant

data in the patent.

15 A computer search on Dialog discloses roughly that number

of patents using diffraction data issued during the past 17 years

(the term of patents).

16 For chemical compounds alone, such data include infrared

spectra, nuclear magnetic resonance spectra, data about solubility

and melting points, and “elemental analysis” information. See, e.g.,

R. Faber, Landis on Mechanics of Patent Claim Drafting § 52 (3d

ed. 1990).

19

already difficult and costly ; a judicial refusal to accept

scientific reality in reading and applying claim language

for infringement purposes senselessly adds new difficulties

and costs, and thus unjustifiably weakens the meaningful

economic protection that patent law is designed to afford

inventors.

The Federal Circuit’s ruling harms persons other than

the patent owner as well. If patent claimants are penal-

ized for overinclusion of information in their claims, they

must seek to reduce the information supplied to the bare

minimum that will suffice for protection—e.g., to give

the minimal amount of diffraction data needed for iden-

tification. The inevitable result of holding back informa-

tion is to make it more difficult for the public to identify

the patented invention. But that result is squarely con-

trary to the basic purpose of the requirement of written

descriptions in patents: to provide as much information

as possible for the public to be able to identify the in-

vention, both to avoid infringement during the term of

the patent and to reproduce the invention once the patent

has expired. See 35 U.S.C. § 112; 37 C.F.R. $1.71;

Schriber-Schroth Co. v. Cleveland Trust Co., 305 U.S. 47,

57 (1938). The Federal Circuit’s rule—as applied to the

range of cases where the patented invention is a new

chemical compound or other composition of matter and

the information set forth in the claim serves redundantly

17 See Topliff v. Topliff, 145 U.S. 156, 171 (1892) (“The specifica-

tion and claims of a patent, particularly if the invention be at all

complicated, constitute one of the most difficult legal instruments to

draw with accuracy.”); Georgia-Pacific Corp. v. United States

Plywood Corp., 258 F.2d 124, 136 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 358 U.S.

884 (1958) (“the policy of the patent statute contemplates granting

protection to valid inventions, and this policy would be defeated if

protection were to be accorded only to those patents which were

capable of precise definition”; inventions “cannot always be de-

scribed in terms of exact measurements, symbols and formulae’) ;

E. Thomas, Chemical Inventions and Chemical Patents §9 (Aus-

lander ed. 1964) (a chemical invention presents a special “difficulty

of interpreting and describing something invisible”).

20

to identify, but not to restrict, the invention—would thus

perversely penalize patent claimants for oversupplying in-

formation: it “would foster concealment rather than dis-

closure of inventions, which is one of the primary pur-

poses of the patent system.” Graver Tank, 339 USS. at

607. This topsy-turvy result should not stand.

II. THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT ERRONEOUSLY LIM-

ITED PROTECTION AGAINST INFRINGEMENT

UNDER THE DOCTRINE OF EQUIVALENTS TO

PATENTS FOR INVENTIONS THAT PERFORM

NEW FUNCTIONS.

In holding the doctrine of equivalents inapplicable here,

the Federal Circuit ruled simply that the doctrine’s thres-

hold requirement (that the patented product and the ac-

cused product perform substantially the same “function” )

is limited to new functions of the invention—those it

performs “as compared to” those performed by “prior

art.” Pet. App. 15a & n.9. Under that ruling, a per-

fectly valid patent for an invention that does not perform

any new function has no protection against infringement

under the doctrine of equivalents. This startling result is

contrary to established precedents and principles of patent

law.

Most specifically, this Court and the Federal Circuit

itself, in applying the doctrine of equivalents, have iden-

tified the “function” of a patented invention in terms

making clear that it need not be one never before per-

formed by prior art. For example, in Graver Tank, this

Court identified “welding” as the function for purposes of

the longstanding function/way/result test. 339 U.S. at

611.'* In Spectra Corp. v. Lutz, 839 F.2d 1579 (Fed.

~18"The trial judge found on the evidence before him that the

Lincolnweld flux [the accused product] and the composition of the

patent in suit are substantially identical in operation [way] and in

result. He found also that Lincolnweld is in all respects equivalent

to Unionmelt [the patented product] for welding purposes [fwne-

Ort. He

21

Cir. 1988), the court identified the function as “dyeing.”

Id. at 1582 (“The function (dyeing) and the result

(dyed material) are broadly the same.”). Plainly,

neither function was original to the patented inventions

at issue. Similarly, in Carman Indus., Inc. v. Wahl, 724

F.2d 932 (Fed. Cir. 1983), the court made explicit that

the invention’s function (“to promote the flow from the

[storage] bin or hopper of solids that have poor flow

characteristics”) was far from new: the court described

the “[p]rior art approaches to” performing the same func-

tion. Id. at 934 (“Prior art approaches to the problem

of promoting the flow of difficult-to-handle solids involve

the use of sweep arms, screw conveyors, or like ele-

ments.”). The Federal Circuit’s ruiing in the present case

is flatly inconsistent with those standard applications of

the doctrine of equivalents.

More broadly, the Federal Circuit’s ruling, by stripping

a large class of valid patents of an important protection

against infringement, violates the bedrock principle that

protection against infringement should be commensurate

with the validity of the patent. For example, the Federal

Circuit has recognized that “claims must be given the

same construction when considering infringement as when

considering validity.” Intervet America, 887 F.2d at

1053; see Connell v. Sears, Roebuck & Co., 722 F.2d

1542, 1554 (Fed. Cir. 1983); Lerner v. Child Guidance

Prods., Inc., 547 F.2d 29, 31 (2d Cir. 1976); Leeds &

Northrup Co. v. Doble Eng’g Co., 159 F.2d 644 (1st Cir.

tion].” 339 U.S. at 611; see also Union Paper-Bag Machine Co. v.

Murphy, 97 U.S. at 126 (“cutting” function).

The doctrine of equivalents, with its function/way/result test,

traces its lineage well back into the nineteenth century. See

Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 608-09, citing, e.g., Sanitary Refrigerator

Co. v. Winters, 280 U.S. 30 (1929), Westinghouse v. Boyden Power

Brake Co., 170 U.S. 537 (1898), Union Paper-Bag Machine Co. v.

Murphy, supra, Winans v. Denmead, 56 U.S. (15 How.) 330 (1854) ;

Gray v. James, 10 F. Cas. 1015, 1016 (C.C.D. Pa. 1817) (No. 5718)

(Washington, J.) ; Odiorne v. Winkley, 18 F. Cas. 581, 582 (C.C.D.

Mass. 1814) (No. 10,432) (Story, J.).

22

1947). It is equally well recognized that the doctrine of

equivalents is to be applied in light of prior art precisely

to ensure that the realistic protection afforded by the doc-

trine reaches no farther than, but as far as, what is

claimed as new—=i.eg., patentable—in the patented inven-

tion. See Wilson Sporting Goods Co. v. David Geoffrey

& Assoc., 904 F.2d 677, 684 (Fed. Cir.), cert. denied,

498 U.S. 992 (1990); Read Corp. v. Portec, Inc., 970

F.2d 816, 822 n.2 (Fed. Cir. 1992) (“Equivalency to

limitations of the claim must be the focus of the [doc-

trine of equivalents] inquiry.”); Carman Indus., 724 F.2d

at 937 n.5. See also Ziegler v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

483 F.2d 858, 869 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 414 US.

1079 (1973) (“The nature of the invention determines

the breadth of its protection under the doctrine of equiva-

lents. Because the doctrine rests on equitable considera-

tions, the principle has developed that an inventor, with

respect to his patent, is entitled to a range of equivalents

commensurate with the scope of his invention.” (citing

cases) ). The law could hardly be otherwise: the value

of a valid patent is the right it gives the owner to pre-

clude others from infringement. 35 U.S.C. § 154 (patent

gives owner “the right to exclude others from making,

using, or selling the invention”), § 271(a) (infringement

occurs when anyone “without authority makes, uses or

sells any patented invention”).

Yet it is beyond dispute that an invention need not

perform a new function to be validly patentable. The

requirements of utility, novelty, and nonobviousness (35

U.S.C. $$ 101, 102, 103) do not, as a matter of plain

English or common sense, incorporate a demand that the

use of the invention be a new one: a different apparatus

or compound that performs the same function as an

existing one (like a new medicine for an ailment currently

treated by an existing drug) can be useful, novel, and

nonobvious. That, indeed, is why “pioneer patents”—for

inventions that perform “a function never before per-

formed”—are recognized as only one special subtype, not

23

the universe, of valid patents. Westinghouse v. Boyden

Power Brake Co., 170 U.S. 537, 561-62 (1898); see

Morley Sewing-Machine Co. v. Lancaster, 129 U.S. 263,

273 (1889).

Not surprisingly, the Federal Circuit and its predecessor

court have repeatedly recognized that it is a mistake to re-

quire a new invention to perform a new function (or

operation). The Court of Customs and Patent Appeals

specifically held that “whether a given chemical compound

or composition has the same usefulness” as a prior prod-

uct (though potentially relevant as an evidentiary matter

to the issue of obviousness) is mot a requirement for

patent validity. In re Cofer, 354 F.2d 664, 667 (1966).

More recently, the Federal Circuit stressed that “there is

no requirement . . . that [the patent owner] show ‘opera-

tional differences’ of the claimed device over the prior art.

. . [A]pparatus claims cover what a device is, not

what a device does. An invention need not operate dif-

ferently than the prior art to be patentable, but need only

be different.” Hewlett-Packard Co. v. Bausch & Lomb,

Inc., 909 F.2d 1464, 1468 (1990) (footnote omitted ).”

The Federal Circuit has even recognized that a patent, to

be valid, need not perform an old function in an improved

manner. Demaco Corp. v. F. Von Langsdorff Licensing

Ltd., 851 F.2d 1387, 1390, cert. denied, 488 U.S. 956

(1988): see In re Casey, 370 F.2d 576, 580 (Ct. Cust.

19 Patents fall into two groups: those where what is patented is

an apparatus, machine, device, composition of matter, or other

physical object; those where what is patented is a process or other

physical operation. See P. Rosenberg, Patent Law Fundamentals

§ 6.01[2], at 6-25 (2d ed. 1994). The Federal Circuit’s reference

to “apparatus claims” in Hewlett-Packard distinguishes “process

claims,” where it is the function performed that is the subject of

the patent. The patent at issue here, as the Federal Circuit itself

observed in rejecting Zenith’s effort to restrict it to manufacturing

properties, is for a physical object, like the apparatus claim in

Hewlett-Packard, not for a process.

20 “The patent statute does not require that a patentable inven-

tion be superior to all prior devices. Custom Accessories, Inc. v.

24

Pat. App. 1967). In this very case, moreover, the Fed-

eral Circuit recognized in another portion of its opinion

that a new compound need not perform a new operation

or function to be patentable: “Its patentability thus de-

rives from the structure of the claimed compound in rela-

tion to prior compounds,” not from its “properties.” Pet.

App. 7a-8a (citing In re Spada, 911 F.2d 705, 708 (Fed.

Cir. 1990)).

The Federal Circuit’s new view of the doctrine of

equivalents necessarily casts aside this well-established

law. Unless the Federal Circuit meant sub silentio to

introduce a new condition on issuance of a valid patent

(namely, that the invention perform a new function)—

which it could not properly do—the ruling below neces-

sarily severs the scope of protection against infringement

from the scope of patent validity, depriving a class of in-

disputably valid patents of full protection against infringe-

ment. The decision thus dramatically curtails the realistic

protection to which all valid patents have long been en-

titled and throws into confusion the continuing validity of

long-settled principles of patent law.”

Jeffrey-Allan Industries, Inc., 807 F.2d 955, 960 n.12, 1 USPQ2d

1196, 1199 n.12 (Fed. Cir. 1986) (‘Finding that an invention is an

“improvement” is not a prerequisite to patentability’); G. Rich,

Principles of Patentability, 28 Geo.Wash.L.Rev. 393, reprinted in

42 J.Pat.Off.Soc’y 75 (1960) (discussing ‘the unsound notion that

to be patentable an invention must be better than the prior art’).”

851 F.2d at 1390.

21 The Federal Circuit’s holding disregards another, closely re-

lated, well-established principle of patent law: that the owner of a

non-process patent (like the “composition of matter” patent here)

is entitled to a monopoly on every use of the invention during the

term of the patent. See Potts v. Creager, 155 U.S. 597, 606 (1895)

(“Doubtless a patentee is entitled to every use of which his in-

vention is susceptible, whether such use be known or unknown to

him.”) ; Radio Corp. of America v. Radio Eng’g Lab., Inc., 293 U.S.

1, 14 (1934); Roberts v. Ryer, 91 U.S. 150, 157 (1875) (“The

inventor of a machine is entitled to all the uses to which it can be

put, no matter whether he had conceived the idea of the use or

>i el sat ata bts dts Syne Ale called tee

25

The protection stripped from a large range of inven-

tions is of dramatic significance. Many and perhaps most

patents involve inventions that perform old functions:

again, that is what makes pioneer patents distinctive.”

And the doctrine of equivalents, far from being a minor ap-

pendage to the guarantee against literal infringement, is

so fundamental to patent law that it has been described as

stating “[t]he critical test in any infringement suit.” A.

Miller & M. Davis, Intellectual Property: Patents, Trade-

marks, and Copyright in a Nutshell 124 (2d ed. 1990);

see id. at 126. Indeed, this Court has said that, without

the “wholesome realism” of the protection furnished by

the doctrine of equivalents, a patent would be a “hollow

and useless thing.” Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 608, 607.

Because “minor deviations in the structure of almost any

invention could be devised to elude the reach of the

patent’s protection, . . . a patent would be virtually worth-

less if it did not protect against devices which incorporate

unimportant variations of the patented device.” Ziegler,

483 }.2d at 868; see Graver Tank, 339 U.S. at 607

(“Outright and forthright duplication is a dull and very

rare type of infringement. To prohibit no other would

place the inventor at the mercy of verbalism and would

be subordinating substance to form.”).

The Federal Circuit’s ruling is anything but the sort of

finetuning of patent-law principles, or settling of rules

where clarity is as important as content, that this Court

should leave to that court for final determination. Rather,

the ruling destroys a fundamentally important protection

not.”); SRI Int’l, 775 F.2d at 1123. In this case, the Federal

Circuit, while recognizing the validity of the ‘657 patent, denied

Bristol-Myers the right to control one use of that very invention—

as medicine in vivo.

22 Most patents are not pioneer patents and hence do not perform

“a function never before performed” (Westinghouse, 170 U.S. at

561-62). See National Hollow Brake-Beam Co. v. Interchangeable

Brake-Beam Co., 106 F. 693, 710-11 (8th Cir. 1901); 6. E.

Lipscomb, Walker on Patents § 22:41, at 557-58 (3d ed. 1987).

26

for a significant class of valid patents. This Court should

grant the petition to review and reverse the Federal Cir-

cuit’s ruling.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

H. BARTOW FArR, III

(Counsel of Record)

RICHARD G. TARANTO

FARR & TARANTO

2445 M Street, NW

Washington, DC 20037

(202) 775-0184

S. LESLIE MISROCK

BRIAN D. CoGGIo

STEVEN I. WALLACH

KENT H. CHENG

PENNIE & EDMONDS

1155 Avenue of the Americas

Dated: September 14, 1994 New York, NY 10036

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FEDERAL CIRCUIT

92-1527

ZENITH LABORATORIES, INC.,

Plaintiff-A ppellant,

Vv.

BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB COMPANY,

Defendant-A ppellee.

Appealed from U.S. District Court

for the District of New Jersey

Judge Wolin

Decided: March 24, 1994 [corrected March 31, 1994]

Before PLAGER, CLEVENGER, and SCHALL, Circuit

Judges.

PLAGER, Circuit Judge.

The question in this declaratory judgment action is

whether a drug compound, which in its manufactured

state does not infringe the patent in suit, becomes in-

fringing as a result of transitory chemical changes that

occur in vivo, that is, as a result of ingestion by the

patient. There are fact issues—what changes actually

occur when the drug is ingested, and how do we know;

2a

there are legal issues—does a compound that changes in

the human body into the patented product on its way to

becoming the active ingredient in the drug (the original

patent on the active ingredient having earlier expired)

literally infringe, infringe under the doctrine of equiva-

lents, or infringe by inducement.

The District Court for the District of New Jersey,

Civil Action No. 91-3423, entered judgment, following a

bench trial, that plaintiff/appellant Zenith Laboratories,

Inc.’s (Zenith) commercial sale of cefadroxil DC induces

infringement of U.S. Patent 4,504,657 (the ’657- patent),*

the patent at issue. Zenith Lab. Inc. v. Bristol-Myers

Squibb Co., 24 USPQ2d 1652 (D.N.J. 1992) (Zenith

II). The ’657 patent is owned by Bristol-Myers Squibb

Co. (Bristol). For the reasons set forth, we reverse.

BACKGROUND

The chemical compound cefadroxil, an antibiotic of

the cephalosporin family effective against bacteria that

are resistant to penicillin, was described and claimed in

United States Patent No. 3,489,752 (the ’752 patent),

which issued in 1970; the owner was Bristol. The claims

of the ’752 patent covered any and all forms of cefa-

droxil—they described the chemical compound per se.

The ’752 patent expired in 1987.

In the meantime, Bristol set to work to find a com-

mercially useful crystalline form of the compound that

would overcome problems related to manufacture of the

product so that it would be usable by humans. The task

of developing a commercial production process was as-

signed to certain of Bristol’s chemists. They developed

what became known as the Bouzard monohydrate, named

after one of the discoverers—a new crystalline form of

cefadroxil. Unlike prior forms of cefadroxil, Bouzard

1That patent issued March 12, 1985, and thus will expire on

March 12, 2002.

3a

monohydrate possesses certain characteristics in its pre-

ingested, powdered form, related to bulk density, solu-

bility, and stability (manufacturing-related characteris-

tics), which make it particularly suitable for packaging

into capsules.

The Bouzard monohydrate was the subject of the single

claim in the ‘657 patent:

1. Crystalline 7 - [D-a-amino-«-(p-hydroxyphenyl-)

acetamido]-3-methyl-3-cephem-4-carboxylic acid mon-

ohydrate exhibiting essentially the following x-ray

diffraction properties: [a 37-line table of relative

intensities exhibited by Bouzard monohydrate at

various scan angles].

In July 1988, Zenith, the plaintiff in this declaratory

judgment action, contracted with a Spanish company,

Gema, S.A. of Barcelona (Gema), to become the exclu-

sive United States distributor of the form of cefadroxil

manufactured by Gema and known as cefadroxil DC.

Cefadroxil DC is a hemihydrate form of cefadroxil

and thus differs structurally from Bouzard monohydrate.”

Zenith and Gema then undertook to obtain approval from

the Food and Drug Administration (FDA) for commer-

cial marketing in the United States of cefadroxil DC.

Pursuant to FDA regulations, Zenith and Gema sought

abbreviated approval on the grounds that cefadroxil DC

was bioequivalent to a form of cefadroxil monohydrate

(other than Bouzard monohydrate) which had already

been approved by the FDA for commercial sale. In Octo-

ber 1990, the FDA granted approval.*

2The difference is the number of water molecules which are

paired with each cefadroxil molecule.

8The record suggests that the FDA subsequently reconsidered

and rescinded this approval after Bristol filed with the FDA a

citizens petition seeking to block approval on the grounds cefa-

droxil DC was a hemihydrate and thus not bioequivalent to cefa-

droxil monohydrate. The record does not indicate whether the

FDA thereafter approved Zenith’s application.

———

4a

In June 1991, after learning of Zenith’s and Gema’s

efforts to obtain FDA approval, Bristol filed suit against

Gema (and Gema’s affiliates) in the District Court for

the District of Maryland, Civil Action No. HAR 91-1765

(the Maryland action), alleging infringement of the ’657

patent. Subsequently, when Gema announced it was

abandoning its plans to manufacture cefadroxil DC, that

Suit was dismissed upon stipulation of the parties.

Zenith then, in August 1991, filed the present declara-

tory judgment action against Bristol in the District Court

for the District of New Jersey. Zenith’s complaint con-

tained four counts. In count one, Zenith sought a decla-

ration that cefadroxil DC does not infringe the ’657

patent, and in count two, a declaration that Bristol is

equitably estopped from asserting that cefadroxil DC in-

fringes the ‘657 patent. In count three, Zenith alleged

that Bristol, by initiating the Maryland action, violated

a consent decree previously entered in settlement of prior

litigation between the parties; and in count four, that

Bristol had engaged in unfair competition. (Zenith subse-

quently added a fifth and still pending count alleging that

Bristol had committed antitrust violations. )

Bristol then moved to dismiss counts one and two, and

for summary judgment on counts three and four. Zenith

filed cross-motions for summary judgment on these counts.

On December 12, 1991, the trial court granted Bristol’s

motion to dismiss count three (concerning the prior con-

sent decree) on the ground that the count was moot in

view of the previous dismissal of the Maryland action.

Zenith Lab. Inc. v. Bristol-Myers Squibb Co., 24 USPQ

2d 1641, 1651 (D.N.J. 1991) (Zenith 1). As to Zenith’s

motion for summary judgment on count one (the infringe-

ment count), the court stayed that motion pending an

oral hearing. 7d. at 1648. The court denied all other

motions. Jd. at 1648, 1650-51.

At the hearing on the infringement count, Bristol con-

ceded that cefadroxil DC, being a hemihydrate, did not

5a

literally infringe the ’657 patent in its pre-ingested form.

Bristol nevertheless argued that Zenith was liable under

the patent on two grounds; Zenith’s product infringed

under the doctrine of equivalents; and Zenith’s product

converted into the patented compound in the patient's

stomach, and thus the sale of cefadroxil DC would induce

infringement of the ‘657 patent under 35 U.S.C. § 271(b)

(1988). The trial court concluded that summary judg-

ment was appropriate since Bristol had not raised a

genuine factual dispute on these issues; and on March 4,

1992, the court granted Zenith’s motion for summary

judgment on count one.

However, subsequently, on April 16, 1992, upon Bris-

tol’s motion for reconsideration, the court vacated its

March 4, 1992 decision. The court denied Zenith’s mo-

tion for summary judgment on count one on the basis

that Bristol, through two declarations submitted with its

motion for reconsideration, had demonstrated a genuine

dispute on the in vivo conversion issue. Consequently, it

ordered that that count be severed from the remaining

counts and tried separately.

From May 26, 1992 through June 5, 1992, the court

conducted a bench trial on count one. Following the

trial, the court rejected Bristol’s theory of infringement

under the doctrine of equivalents. It found that Bristol,

through prosecution history estoppel, had relinquished

coverage of cefadroxil DC. However, the court found

that cefadroxil DC converts to Bouzard monohydrate in

the patient’s stomach. Since an act of literal infringement

thus occurs in the patient’s stomach as a result of ingestion

of cefadroxil DC, the court concluded that Zenith’s sale

of cefadroxil DC would induce infringement of the ‘657

patent.

On August 6, 1992, the court, in accordance with its

findings and conclusions, entered judgment for Bristol.

Zenith II, 24 USPQ2d 1652. The court, pursuant to 35

U.S.C. § 271(e)(4) (A) (1988), ordered that the effec-

———E—EE——

6a

tive date of any approval by the FDA of cefadroxil DC

for commercial distribution and sale by Zenith could be

no earlier than March 12, 2002, the expiration date of

the ‘657 patent. Jd. at 1676. It subsequently certified the

finality of that judgment pursuant to Rule 54(b) of the

Federal Rules of Civil Procedure. Zenith then filed this

appeal.

DISCUSSION

Zenith presents five separate grounds on which the

judgment of the trial court should be reversed. First, the

claim of the ‘657 patent, properly construed, does not

cover Bouzard crystals which might form momentarily in

a patient’s stomach. Second, even assuming conversion

in vivo is within the scope of the claim, there was a

failure of proof as to whether any crystals, formed in the

stomach from ingested cefadroxil DC, literally infringe the

‘657 patent. Third, even if such crystals formed, there

would be no infringing “use” within the meaning of 35

U.S.C. § 271(a) (1988). Fourth, the doctrine of equiva-

lents, applied in reverse, precludes a judgment of literal

infringement. And fifth, the court erroneously declined to

grant summary judgment that Bristol was equitably es-

topped from asserting that cefadroxil DC infringed the

Bouzard patent.

1.

We begin with claim construction: whether the claim

of the ’657 patent, properly construed, covers Bouzard

crystals which might form momentarily in a patient’s

stomach. Zenith argues that, due to statements made by

Bristol during the ’657 prosecution, the ‘657 claim is

limited to the pre-ingested, powdered form of Bouzard

monohydrate. In those statements Bristol particularly

emphasized the superior manufacturing-related benefits of

the pre-ingested form of Bouzard monohydrate in relation

to prior forms of cefadroxil. Bristol, it is argued, thus

relinquished coverage of any forms of cefadroxil DC that

do not exhibit these manufacturing-related characteristics

=<

ee ee ee

Ja

—that would obviously include any Bouzard monohydrate

formed in a patient’s stomach.

Zenith has a point. Prosecution history serves as a

limit on the scope of claims by excluding any interpreta-

tion of the claim language that would permit the patentee

to assert a meaning for the claim that was disclaimed or

disavowed during prosecution in order to obtain claim

allowance. Standard Oil Co. v. American Cyanamid Co.,

114 F.2d 448, 452, 227 USPQ 293, 296 (Fed. Cir.

1985). The prosecution history in this case is replete

with arguments by Bristol that the importance of this

invention was the discovery of a way to manufacture the

known compound so as to make it commercially available

for medical treatment.

The difficulty with Zenith’s argument, however, is in

the nature of the’sole claim in the patent. The claim as

written and allowed simply describes a compound having

specified chemical properties. The question before us

is not one of validity: whether the claim would be pat-

entable over the prior art if the suggested restriction were

not applicable. The question here is one of infringement:

whether there is anything in the claim as issued that limits

it to the pre-ingested form, keeping in mind the principle

that it is improper to read a limitation into a claim

“wholly apart from any need to interpret what the pat-

entee meant by particular words or phrases in the claim.”

E.I. Du Pont de Nemours & Co. v. Phillips Petroleum

Co., 849 F.2d 1430, 1433, 7 USPQ2d 1129, 1131 (Fed.

Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 986 (1988).

Zenith nonetheless argues that the term “properties” in

the claim is the vehicle for incorporating its proposed

restriction into the claim. But that term plainly refers to

x-ray diffraction properties. X-ray diffraction properties

have nothing to do with the manufacturing benefits which

Bristol highlighted.

Zenith’s argument suffers from additional infirmities.

The ’657 claim is a claim for a compound. Its patentabil-

8a

ity thus derives from the structure of the claimed com-

pound in relation to prior compounds. See In re Spada,

911 F.2d 705, 708, 15 USPQ2d 1655, 1657 (Fed. Cir.

1990). The relevance to patentability of the properties or

characteristics exhibited by the compound is limited to

assessing the significance of the structural distinctions of

the claimed compound over the prior art. Second, as we

later note in more detail, it is not at all clear that the

statements concerning these characteristics played a de-

terminative or even significant role in the Patent and

Trademark Office’s (PTO’s) decision to grant the patent.

We conclude, therefore, that while the claim as issued is

limited to the crystalline form of cefadroxil exhibiting the

specified x-ray diffraction pattern, it is not limited to the

compound in its pre-ingested form with the manufacturing

characteristics which Bristol emphasized during prosecu-

tion.*

y

We turn next to the question of whether Bouzard mono-

hydrate is actually found in the stomach of patients who

ingest cefadroxil DC. One answer is that no one knows—

the scientific fact appears to be that there is no known

way to actually sample the contents of patients’ stomachs

at the precise moment and conduct the x-ray diffraction

analyses required to ascertain if all 37 lines described in

the patent are present. ;

For its proof Bristol offered instead the testimony of its

principal scientific witness, Dr. Harry Brittain, who de-

scribed various studies and experiments simulating the

environment of the human stomach which were conducted

under his auspices; Zenith countered with the testimony

of its principal scientific witness, Dr. Martha Greenblatt.

The trial judge, after hearing all the evidence, concluded

4The trial court apparently reached the same conclusion: “use

of converted Bouzard monohydrate by a patient who ingests cefa-

droxil DC is an infringing use.” (But see note 6 regarding the

significance of the term ‘use.’)

9a

that the Bouzard monohydrate in fact does inevitably

form in the patient’s stomach after ingestion of cefadroxil

DC. In deciding this issue, the court specifically resolved

the conflicting testimony presented by Dr. Brittain and

Dr. Greenblatt:

[T]he Court finds that Brittain has established by a

preponderance of evidence, well within his range of

expertise, that cefadroxil DC in fact converts in vivo

to Bouzard monohydrate.

The strength of Brittain’s experiments and results

is their totality. Piece by piece, Brittain built an im-

pressive collection of data. The results of each series

of experiments strengthen the results of each other

set of experimental results. The total effect of the

experiments is to prove with sufficient certainty the

fact of conversion in vivo.

* * * *

[A]lthough she may have significant expertise in

fields of inquiry unrelated to the issues in this case,

Greenblatt demonstrated little understanding of the

problem at issue in this case or the reason for her

procedures and thus played no role in the design of

her experiments, . . ., was lax in her methodology,

particularly in the recording of her procedures and

observations, and in fact did not even participate in

the second series of experiments. The Court finds

that Brittain’s . . . results are simply better supported

and vastly more credible. According, those findings

are adopted by the Court.

Zenith I], 24 USPQ2d at 1664, 1668.

Courts of law are not the optimal fora for trying ques-

tions of scientific truth; even less are appellate courts

equipped to choose among conflicting scientific theories.

Judges are dependent on the quality and strength of the

scientific evidence brought before them. The trial judge

who hears the witnesses and does the initial assessment of

ee

10a

the evidence deserves considerable latitude in eventually

choosing sides based on what is ultimately an educated

guess—that is what judging is about.

However, in determining whether a claim in a patent

has been infringed, the scientific theories utilized must

establish the presence of the limitations recited in the

claim. In this case, Dr. Brittain based his scientific con-

clusions on three kinds of tests—visual observation (ob-

tained through optical microscopy), birefringence com-

parison, and x-ray diffraction pattern comparison. The

trial judge explained:

Brittain first established indisputably through photo-

micrography that cefadroxil DC crystals are much

smaller than Bouzard monohydrate crystals, and are

much different in shape. He also established that

cefadroxil DC crystals exhibit a much weaker bi-

refringence than do crystals of Bouzard monohydrate,

which are highly birefringent. Thus, through micro-

scopy, Brittain could determine with a high degree

of certainty whether a sample of wetted cefadroxil

DC had changed its crystalline form, and could con-

clude to a lesser extent that the form to which it

had changed was Bouzard monohydrate. Although

changes in the physical properties of shape, size and

birefringence of the cefadroxil DC crystals could be

conclusively determined through microscopy, Brittain

could not determine by observation clone that the

larger, more birefringent crystals were necessarily

Bouzard. To determine conversion to Bouzard with

great certainty, Brittain ran x-ray powder diffraction

patterns, a technique that in essence takes the “finger-

print” of a crystalline compound. Through x-ray dif-

fraction analysis, Brittain determined with much

greater confidence that all of the conversions sus-

pected after optical examination had in fact been

to Bouzard monohydrate. (Emphasis added).

Id. at 1665.

lla

The key piece of evidence, then, was the x-ray diffraction

pattern analysis. This is also what the claim in the patent

requires. The first two kinds of tests are only inferen-

tially relevant given that the claim is drafted in terms of

x-ray diffraction lines. Thus they cannot substitute for

a proper comparison of those lines.

And here a major problem arises. In order to establish

its case, Bristol had to show that the accused compound

infringed the claim contained in the patent.© This re-

quired Bristol to show that the diffraction pattern of

cefadroxil DC following its conversion in vivo displayed

the same diffraction pattern as that of the claimed com-

pound. The district court, instead of requiring the com-

parison of the accused compound following conversion to

be made with the lines specified in the claim, allowed

Bristol to make the comparison with the diffraction pat-

tern exhibited by a sample (the reference pattern) of a

material considered by Bristol to be the patented com-

pound.

As we have repeatedly said, it is error for a court to

compare in its infringement analysis the accused product

or process with the patentee’s commercial embodiment or

other version of the product or process; the only proper

comparison is with the claims of the patent. E.g., Martin

v. Barber, 755 F.2d 1564, 1567, 225 USPQ2d 233, 235

(Fed. Cir. 1985).

The difficulty was compounded. The x-ray diffraction

pattern exhibited by Bristol’s sample (the reference pat-

tern) consisted of a table of only 30 lines of relative

intensities. Of this total, the court only compared 22

lines to corresponding lines recited in the claim. Zenith

II, 24 USPQ2d at 1665. Based on its comparison, the

court concluded the two were sufficiently similar to per-

5 A finding that a claim is infringed is a necessary prerequisite

to a finding that there has been an act constituting inducement to

infringe under § 271(b). See Met-Coil Sys. Corp. v. Korners Un-

limited, Inc., 803 F.2d 684, 687, 231 USPQ 474, 477 (Fed. Cir.

1986).

12a

mit Bristol to use the reference pattern in its infringe-

ment analysis. In fact, the number of lines recited in the

claim is 37. Thus, 15 of the lines recited in the claim

(representing about 40% of the total) were not consid-

ered by the court in its comparison. Although the term

“essentially” recited in the claim permits some leeway in

the exactness of the comparison with the specified 37°

lines of the claim, it does not permit ignoring a substan-

tial number of lines altogether. It is the claim that sets

the metes and bounds of the invention entitled to the

protection of the patent system.

On the basis of this evidence the trial court concluded

that when cefadroxil DC is ingested Bouzard monohy-

drate is created in a patient’s stomach, that that con-

stitutes an infringing use, and that therefore the sale of

cefadroxil DC by Zenith would constitute inducement of

infringement under 35 U.S.C. § 271(b). Since the find-

ing of infringement was based on testimony which incor-

porated an improper comparison, and since that com-

parison was an essential element in the conclusion that

infringement occurred, the conclusion that Zenith by sell-

ing cefadroxil DC would engage in inducement of in-

fringement is insupportable. Zenith is correct that there

was a failure of proof as to whether any crystals, assumed

to form in the stomach from ingested cefadroxil DC, lit-

erally infringe the ’657 claim. In the absence of evidence

comparing the “657 claim with the cefadroxil DC after

ingestion Bristol has failed to establish any infringing

use and therefore we must reverse the district court’s con-

clusion that Zenith’s sale of cefadroxil DC induces in-

fringement of the ’657 patent.®

6 As noted previously, Zenith offered three other grounds on

which the judgment of the trial court could be reversed: an inci-

dental conversion to Bouzard crystals does not “use” the claimed

compound; the reverse doctrine of equivalents forecloses literal

infringement by conversion; and equitable estoppel. In view of our

disposition of the appeal we need not address these other grounds

for reversal.

13a

3.

On the question of infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents, the trial court decided for Zenith, finding

that Bristol, through statements it made during the “657

prosecution, was estopped via prosecution history estoppel

from asserting that cefadroxil DC infringed under the

doctrine of equivalents. According to Bristol, this was

error, because the statements relied on by the district

court do not support a finding that there was an estoppel;

thus the doctrine of equivalents, properly applied, pro-

vides an alternative ground on which the judgment for

Bristol could be affirmed.

Bristol’s point has merit. The essence of prosecution

history estoppel is that a patentee should not be able to

obtain, through litigation, coverage of subject matter re-

linquished during prosecution. See Loctite Corp. v. Ultra-

seal Ltd., 781 F.2d 861, 870, 228 USPQ 90, 96 (Fed.

Cir. 1985). The legal standard for determining what sub-

ject matter was relinquished is an objective one, meas-

ured from the vantage point of what a competitor was

reasonably entitled to conclude, from the prosecution his-

tory, that the applicant gave up to procure issuance of

the patent. See Prodyne Enters., Inc. v. Julie Pomerantz,

Inc., 743 F.2d 1581, 1583, 223 USPQ 477, 478 (Fed.

Cir. 1984); Kinzenbaw v. Deere & Co., 741 F.2d 383,

389, 222 USPQ 929, 933 (Fed. Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

470 U.S. 1004 (1985). Here, we do not believe a com-

petitor would have been reasonably justified in concluding

that Bristol, through the statements in question, gave up

coverage of those forms of Bouzard monohydrate other

than the pre-ingested form.

There is nothing in the record indicating that the state-

ments about manufacturing benefits played any role in the

procurement of the ‘657 patent. As noted earlier, in these

statements Bristol argued the superior manufacturing-

related characteristics exhibited by Bouzard monohydrate

in relation to prior forms of cefadroxil. Yet, these prior

14a

forms of cefadroxil were never asserted as prior art by

the examiner, and the examiner expressly indicated that

Bristol’s assertions were not a factor in determining pat-

entability. Moreover, according to the examiner’s state-

ment of reasons for allowance, the sole basis upon which

allowance was challenged, and upon which the ’657 pat-

ent was eventually issued, was related to a single prior

art reference, Garbrecht, U.S. Patent No. 3,781,282," and

Bristol’s successful showing that the claimed compound

was not inherent in that reference. There is no indication

the examiner ever relied on the statements regarding

manufacturing-related characteristics in allowing the pat-

ent to issue.*

Zenith asserts that the statements in question fore-

stalled an obviousness rejection of the claim on the basis

of the prior forms of cefadroxil. That, however, is at

best highly speculative; it is unpersuasive in view of the

examiner’s statement of reasons for allowance. Thus, the

7 According to MPEP § 1302.14:

One of the primary purposes of [a statement of reasons for

allowance] is to improve the quality and reliability of issued

patents by providing a complete file history which should

clearly reflect, as much as is reasonably possible, the reasons

why the application was allowed. Such information facilitates

evaluation of the scope and strength of a patent by the patentee

and the public and may help avoid or simplify litigation of a

patent.

The absence of any reference to the manufacturing related char-

acteristics in the statement of reasons for allowance supports our

conclusion that the examiner did not rely on such characteristics in

issuing the patent.

8 Although actual reliance by the examiner need not be shown,

if an estoppel is to rest upon argument made during the examina-

tion process, the circumstances must be such as to permit the infer-

ence that such reliance in fact occurred. A showing that the con-

duct in question played a material role in the issuance of the patent

usually suffices. See Mannesmann Demag Corp. v. Engineered Metal

Prod., 793 F.2d 1279, 1285, 280 USPQ2d 45, 48 (Fed. Cir. 1986).

I srs actin AN ar Te

15a

court’s conclusion, that the statements in question gave

rise to prosecution history estoppel, is insupportable.

However, any error in the court's application of pros-

ecution history estoppel was harmless; the court’s conclu-

sion that the doctrine of equivalents is inapplicable to this

case is correct as a matter of law. To prove infringe-

ment under the doctrine of equivalents, Bristol bore the

burden of showing that cefadroxil DC was the equivalent

of Bouzard monohydrate. See Corning Glass Works v.

Sumitomo Elec., U.S.A., Inc., 868 F.2d 1251, 1259, 9

USPQ2d 1962, 1967 (Fed. Cir. 1989). A necessary

part of the function/way ‘result equivalency analysis is the

function of the substituted element as seen in the context

of the patent, the prosecution history, and the prior art.

Graver Tank & Mfg. Co. v. Linde Air Products Co., 339

U.S. 605, 609 (1950), reh’g denied, 340 U.S. 845

(1950).

In view of Bristol’s numerous statements in the prosecu-

tion history regarding the superior manufacturing-related

benefits of the Bouzard crystal in relation to the prior

forms of cefadroxil, it is clear that the primary, if not the

only, function of the Bouzard crystal form of the drug

as compared to other forms is to facilitate pre-ingestion

manufacturing. No other intended function is described

or suggested. Since any unanticipated production of the

Bouzard crystal in the patient's stomach as a result of

ingesting cefadroxil DC does not even remotely perform

that function, the “function” part of the function/way/

result test of equivalency is not met. As a matter of law,

there can be no infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents.

Bristol cites a number of cases to demonstrate that the

doctrine of equivalents has been applied to find infringe-

It is self-evident that the function cannot be described more

broadly, i.e. as the delivery of therapeutic value to the patient, for

that is the function attributable to cefadroxil per se, which is prior

art in relation to Bouzard monohydrate.

16a

ment in situations involving in situ or in vivo conversions.

However, these cases do not support Bristol’s argument.

In two, Broadview Chemical Corp. v. Loctite Corp., 159

USPQ 80 (D. Conn. 1968), aff'd in relevant part, 406

F.2d 538, 160 USPQ 449 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 394

U.S. 976 (1969) and Studiengesellschaft Kohle, M.b.H.

v. Dart Industries, Inc., 549 F. Supp. 716, 216 USPQ

381 (D.Del. 1982), aff'd, 726 F.2d 724, 220 USPQ 841

(Fed. Cir. 1984), the doctrine of equivalents was not

the issue in the case.”® In the others, Atlas Powder Co.

v. E.I. DuPont de Nemours & Co., 588 F. Supp. 1455,

221 USPQ 426 (N.D. Tex. 1983, aff'd, 750 F.2d 1569,

224 USPQ 409 (Fed. Cir. 1984); Chemical Cleaning

Corp. v. Dow Chemical Co., 379 F.2d 294, 155 USPQ

49 (Sth Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S. 1040 (1968);

Ortho Pharmaceutical Corp. v. Smith, 18 USPQ2d 1977

(E.D. Pa. 1990), aff'd, 959 F.2d 936, 22 USPQ2d 1119

(Fed. Cir. 1992); and Beecham Group Ltd. v. Bristol

Lab. Ltd., [1978] R.P.C. 153 (House of Lords 1977),

the substituted compound or ingredient converted in vivo

or in situ to the compound or ingredient called for by

the claim, and performed the same function as that of the

claim. The infringer was thus using the equivalent ele-

10 In Broadview, the claimed ingredient was found to be present

in the accused product independently of the purportedly substituted

ingredient. 406 F.2d at 541-42, 160 USPQ at 451. Thus, that

product literally infringed. Equivalence between the two ingredi-

ents was not an issue in the case. In Studiengesellschaft, although

it was unclear whether the trial judge had made findings on the

doctrine of equivalents issue, we concluded on appeal that any

such findings were inappropriate and unnecessary insofar as the

court’s judgement was sustainable on the basis of literal infringe-

ment. 726 F.2d at 728, 220 USPQ at 843.

11J[n Atlas Powder, it was found that the substituted compound—

an oil-in-water emulsifier—converted in situ to the claimed com-

pound—a water-in-oil emulsifier—which in turn performed its

intended function—forming an emulsion between oil and water.

588 F. Supp. at 1472, 221 USPQ at 440, aff’d, 750 F.2d at 1581, 224

USPQ at 417. In Chemical Cleaning, it was determined that the

substituted compound—monomethylolthiourea—disassociated in up-

| |

17a

ment to perform the same function as the claimed com-

pound, a typical case for doctrine of equivalents appli-

cation.

Even assuming that cefadroxil DC converts in vivo

to Bouzard monohydrate in measurable amounts, that par-

ticular crystalline form does not perform the function of

facilitating encapsulation. On the record before us, the

trial court was correct in his judgment that Bristol had

failed to establish infringement under the doctrine of

equivalents.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given, the judgment of the trial court

in favor of Bristol on count one is reversed.

REVERSED

eration to form the claimed compound—thiourea—which in turn

performed its intended function—acting as a sequestering agent

for copper. 379 F.2d at 296, 155 USPQ at 49. In Ortho, it was

found that the substituted compound—norgestimate—converted in

vivo to the claimed compounds—norgestral and norgestral ace-

tate—which in turn performed their intended function—contra-

ception. 18 USPQ2d at 1985-86, aff'd, 959 F.2d at 939, 22 USPQ2d

at 1122. Finally, in Beecham, it was determined that the substi-

tuted compound—hetacillin—converted in vivo to the claimed com-

pound—ampicillin—-which in turn performed its intended function

—acting as an antibiotic. [1978] R.P.C. at 167, 182-83, 202.

18a

APPENDIX B

DISTRICT COURT

D. NEW JERSEY

No. 91-3423

ZENITH LABORATORIES INC.

V.

BRISTOL-MYERS SQUIBB Co.

Decided July 21, 1992

Wolin, J.

Bristol-Myers Squibb Company (“Bristol”), a Dela-

ware corporation, is the owner of United States Patent

No. 4,504,657 (“the ‘657 patent”), issued on March 12,

1985. The ’657 patent includes a single claim for a spe-

cific crystalline form of cefadroxil monohydrate (herein-

after “Bouzard monohydrate”). Cefadroxil is a ceph-

alosporin antibiotic compound that has a number of

medical uses. Bristol previously owned the now-expired

1The patent claim reads:

We claim:

1. Crystalline 7-[D-c-amino-a- (p- hydroxypheny) I- aceta-

mido] -3-methyl-3 -cephem-4- carboxylic acid monohydrate ex-

hibiting essentially the following x-ray diffraction properties:

[followed by a table of numbers corresponding to the x-ray

diffraction characteristics of the Bouzard monohydrate]

(United States Patent No. 4,504,657 at page 18, lines 65-69).

cli angina Mt ae Nt

19a

United States Patent No. 3,489,752, which issued on

January 13, 1970 and claimed all forms of cefadroxil.

This action was filed by Zenith Laboratories, Inc.

(“Zenith”), a New Jersey corporation, against Bristol on

August 5, 1991. Among other claims for relief, Zenith

seeks a declaration that “cefadroxil DC”, a hemihydrate

form of cefadroxil for which Zenith has obtained Food

and Drug Administration (“FDA”) approval to market in

finished dosage form as a generic equivalent of cefadroxil

monohydrate, does not infringe the ’657 patent.? Although

Bristol does not contend that cefadroxil DC infringes the

‘657 patent in its manufactured, pre-ingested state, it

does contend that after ingestion, the drug “converts” to

the Bouzard monohydrate inside the body, or “in vivo,”

and that such conversion renders cefadroxil DC an in-

fringing compound under the docirine of equivalents, or

alternatively, that sales of cefadroxil DC by Zenith would

constitute inducement of infringement of the ’657 patent.

In an Opinion dated February 21, 1992, the Court

granted summary judgment in Zenith’s favor on the issue

of in vivo conversion, and found that Zenith was entitled

to a declaration that cefadroxil DC does not infringe the

‘657 patent. An Order reflecting this ruling was filed on

March 4, 1992. On motion for reconsideration, in an

Opinion and Order dated April 13, 1992, the Court

vacated its March 4, 1992 Order, motivated in substantial

part by the uncommon manner and speed by which the

record was created for the motion, and by how early in

the proceedings the motion was brought. Recognizing the

immediacy of the rights at stake, the Court set down the

issue of infringement for trial on an accelerated basis

following expedited discovery.

2A hemihydrate is a crystal form containing two molecules of

water for each molecule of a chemical compound. A monohydrate

contains one water molecule for each molecule of the chemical com-

pound.

_—— SE ~~--~--~r—Seststt

20a

The issue of infringement was tried to the Court be-

tween May 26, 1992 and June 5, 1992, during which six

days of evidence was received. The primary factual issue

at trial was whether cefadroxil DC converted in vivo to

the Bouzard monohydrate. Set forth below is a summary

of the testimony at trial, and the Court’s findings of fact

and conclusions of law as required by Federal Rule of

Civil Procedure 52(a). Based on these findings and con-

clusions, a judgment will be entered in Bristol’s favor.

I. THE EVIDENCE AT TRIAL

The evidence at trial consisted for the most part of

expert testimony presented by both parties. Both parties’

experts conducted a number of experiments to investigate

whether cefadroxil DC converts in vivo to the Bouzard

monohydrate. These experts were presented as witnesses

to explain their theories of conversion, experimental meth-

odologies, test results, and conclusions based on those

results. Additional experts were presented to provide

foundations for assumptions made by some of the experts

who conducted experimental studies, or to rebut the as-

sumptions, methodologies, theories, or conclusions of other

expert witnesses. The Court will summarize each party’s

case in the order presented at trial.

A. Zenith’s Direct Case

C. David Smith

Zenith’s first witness was C. David Smith, its vice-

president of quality assurance. Mr. Smith testified as to

the status of Zenith’s FDA application, and as to the

formulation for Zenith’s cefadroxil DC capsules. He testi-

fied that the capsules contain, in addition to the cefadroxil

material, lactose, sodium starch glycolate and magnesium

stearate. (Tr. 17)*° These nonactive ingredients, known

as “excipients”, are included in the capsules for different

purposes. Lactose is used as a filler. Sodium starch

3 “Tr, ____” refers to the trial transcript at the page indicated.

2la

glycolate swells greatly when exposed to water, and is

included as a disintegrant to break apart the capsule. (Tr.

18) Magnesium stearate is a lubricant useful in machin-

ing the capsules. (/d.)

Edwin C. Rothstein

Zenith next presented the testimony of Edwin C. Roth-

stein, president of Leberco Testing, Inc. (“Leberco”), an

independent testing laboratory located in New Jersey.

Leberco was retained by Zenith to perform dissolution

and solubility tests on cefadroxil DC and the Bouzard

monohydrate, both in their formulated and bulk forms.

1. Dissolution Tests

Rothstein testified that Leberco technicians conducted

dissolution tests in which they recorded the rates at which

500 milligram capsules of cefadroxil DC and Bouzard

monohydrate dissolved into simulated gastric juice. (Tr.

39) The tests were performed by placing 500 milligram

capsules in a dissolution basket rotated at 100 revolutions

per minute (“rpm”) in 900 milligrams of simulated gastric

juice without enzymes. (PX 21)* The percentage of ma-

terial dissolved into the dissolution media was measured

and recorded at intervals of 3, 5, 7.5, 10 and 20 minutes.

(Id.) Six runs were performed and averaged on each sub-

stance. From the results of this experiment, Rothstein

concluded that between three and five minutes, cefadroxil

DC had a higher dissolution rate than the Bouzard mono-

hydrate. (Tr. 40) He also concluded that cefadroxil DC

had a higher total solubility than Bouzard monohydrate.

(Id.) The same tests were run using 1000 milligram

tablets. (Id.) Rothstein concluded that the results of this

experiment were essentially the same as with the first test.

(Tr. 40-41; PX 22)

4“PxX ” refers to plaintiff's exhibit numbered as indi-

cated. Likewise, “DX ” refers to the indicated defendant’s

exhibit.

22a.

Rothstein testified that Leberco performed an addi-

tional experiment designed to determine whether the dis-

solution rates observed were affected in any way by any

difference between the Zenith gelatin capsule and the

Bristol gelatin capsule. The experiment consisted of com-

paring the dissolution rate of 350 milligrams of cefadroxil

DC in a Zenith capsule with the dissolution rate of 350

milligrams of cefadroxil DC in a Bristol capsule. (PX

23) From the measured results of this test, Rothstein con-

cluded that the gelatin capsule shell had no effect on

the dissolution rates of the two cefadroxil materials. (Tr.

41)

One further dissolution experiment was conducted by

Leberco. A comparison was made of the dissolution of

capsules of cefadroxil DC and Bouzard monohydrate in

30 milliliters of simulated gastric juice at 37° C in a dis-

solution basket rotated at three rpm. (PX 24) Rothstein

testified that the dissolution test could not be performed

due to the small quantity of fluid used. (Tr. 42) There-

fore, only visual observations could be made. (Jd.) Roth-

stein testified that after three minutes, the Zenith capsule

had released most of its contents, but that the Bristol

capsule still contained most of its contents. (/d.)

2. Solubility and Bulk Density Tesis

Rothstein testified that Leberco technicians performed

solubility tests on cefadroxil DC and Bouzard mono-

hydrate. Solubility is a measure of the quantity of a given

material that can be dissolved in a given solvent at a given

temperature and pressure in a given volume. (Tr. 46)

Rothstein testified that five grams of a material was placed

in 100 milliliters of deionized water that was maintained

at a specific temperature and intermittently agitated for

ten hours. Undissolved materials were then filtered, and

the clear filtrate was then spectrophotometrically analyzed:

to determine its cefadroxil content. (Jd.) This was done

for each cefadroxil material at three temperatures: 4°C,

23a

room temperature (between 23°C and 25°C) and 50°C.

(Id.) From the test results obtained (see PX 25, 26),

Rothstein concluded cefadroxil DC is “clearly more solu-

ble” than the Bouzard monohydrate under the conditions

utilized. (Tr. 43)

Leberco also measured the bulk densities of cefadroxil

DC and Bouzard monohydrate. (PX 25) From the tests,

Rothstein concluded that cefadroxil DC has a bulk density

considerably lower than that of Bouzard monohydrate.

Dr. Martha Greenblatt

The testimony of Dr. Martha Greenblatt was offered

into evidence on Zenith’s direct case through deposition

transcript. Greenblatt was deposed by Zenith de bene

esse on May 21, 1992. The transcript was accepted into

evidence without objection. On Zenith’s rebuttal case,

Greenblatt testified in court.

Greenblatt is a professor at Rutgers University in New

Jersey who teaches solid state chemistry, and is an expert

in x-ray crystallography. (Deposition Tr. 5) She was

asked to perform an experiment that was intended to

determine whether, at the time a capsule of cefadroxil

DC bursts in simulated gastric acid, cefadroxil DC has

already converted to Bouzard monohydrate. This was ac-

complished by Greenblatt placing a Zenith capsule in

simulated gastric acid until the capsule breached, and at

the moment that cefadroxil began to pour out of the cap-

sule, she froze the material in liquid nitrogen. (Dep. 11)

This experiment was repeated. She then freeze-dried the

frozen samples, and recorded the x-ray powder diffraction

patterns of two samples. (Dep. 15-16; PX 31)

In the first experiment, Greenblatt placed a Zenith

capsule in a dissolution basket that was then immersed

in 100 milliliters of simulated gastric acid maintained at

37°C and rotated at six rpm. At one minute, 54 seconds,

Greenblatt observed that the capsule had burst, and re-

24a

moved the basket from the beaker and placed it into the

liquid nitrogen within five seconds. A second experiment

was performed in which Greenblatt observed a burst in

the capsule at approximately two minutes. Both frozen-

samples were placed in a freeze-drier overnight.

The next day, 20 hours after the samples were frozen

(Tr. 894), x-ray diffraction patterns of the samples were

recorded and designated Z1 and Z2. (PX 31) These pat-

terns were compared to “standard” patterns made from

samples of cefadroxil DC and Bristol’s Bouzard monohy-

drate.’ According to Greenblatt, the patterns for Z1 and

Z2 were “identical” to the standard cefadroxil DC pat-

tern. (Dep. 17) From the comparison, Greenblatt con-

cluded that the cefadroxil DC samples she placed in acid

and freeze-dried had not undergone any structural change

in their crystal form. (Dep. 22)

Dr. Ralph R. Pfeiffer

Dr. Pfeiffer is a consultant at Purdue School of Phar-

macy in the solid state drug chemistry group. (Tr. 65)

He also does consulting and teaches seminars on poly-

morph formation and solvate formation, most recently

for the F.D.A. (Tr. 66) He has extensive experience, in-

cluding 30 years at Eli Lilly Company, in x-ray powder

diffraction analysis, in the identification of polymorphs

and solvates of drugs, and in other areas related to crystal

formation and behavior. (Tr. 66) Pfeiffer was offered as

an expert in x-ray powder diffraction analysis, crystal

theory and the behavior of oral drug dosages in the hu-

man body.

Pfeiffer testified as to his comparison of x-ray diffrac-

tion patterns of cefadroxil DC and a prior art form of

cefadroxil known as “Gottstein” cefadroxil. (Tr. 71-2)

For the Gottstein pattern, Pfeiffer relied on the pattern

attached to the declaration of Timothy Marr, which was

5 Greenblatt verified that the patterns obtained from bulk cefa-

droxil DC and formulated DC with excipients were identical.

25a

filed with the United States Patent and Trademark Of-

fice in 1982. (Tr. 71; PX 33) Zenith also offered the

declaration of David Whitehead, which was also filed with

the United States Patent and Trademark Office, in which

Whitehead declared that the Gottstein material utilized by

Mar had not changed in the eleven years since it was first

prepared. (PX 37) Pfeiffer used one of Dr. Greenblatt’s

patterns as representative of cefadroxil DC. (Tr. 71) He

concluded, after comparing the patterns, that cefadroxil

DC and Gottstein cefadroxil “are of the same crystal

structure.” (Tr. 72) Based on this conclusion, Pfeiffer

also concluded that the structure-dependent properties of

both materials—including equilibrium solubility, melting

point and density—would be the same. (Tr. 82-83)

Pfeiffer further opined that if one material converted to

the Bouzard monohydrate when exposed to an aqueous

environment, so would the other. (Tr. 83)

Dr. Pfeiffer testified that in his opinion, it was unlikely

that cefadroxil DC could convert in vivo to the Bouzard

monohydrate. (Tr. 83-84) He believed that a number of

conditions existed in tre stomach that would preclude

the dissolution and recrystallizatton processes that would

be required for conversion. (Tr. 84) Specifically, he be-

lieved that cefadroxil DC would dissolve very quickly in

the stomach and prevent the creation of a super-saturated

environment needed for recrystallization. (Tr. 88-89) In

addition, Pfeiffer believed that the mixing action of the

stomach would tend to disperse any super-saturated region

that might otherwise form. (Tr. 89)

Dr. Pfeiffer testified further as to the conditions that

he believed were necessary for conversion to occur. In

addition to the super-saturated solution, he testified that

nucleation must occur. (Tr. 89) Conditions that could

produce nucleation include evaporation, cooling of the

solution, and inducement of mechanical stress. (Tr. 90)

Recrystallization could also occur if nuclei were already

present. (Tr. 90) Pfeiffer opined that none of these con-

ditions are present in the stomach. (Tr. 91)

SER ee eT

as

|

26a

Pfeiffer testified as to the conclusions that he drew

from the tests performed by Leberco, introduced through

Dr. Rothstein. He concluded from the results of the

equilibrium solubility tests performed by Leberco that

cefadroxil DC did not convert to Bouzard monohydrate

because at the end of ten hours in simulated gastric acid,

different amounts of the two material dissolved into iden-

tical volumes of the fluid. To Pfeiffer, this indicated that

no conversion occurred because if it had, equal amounts

of material would have dissolved. (Tr. 92) This is true

even though, in their dissolved states, cefadroxil DC and

Bouzard monohydrate are identical—they are simply the

compound cefadroxil. (Tr. 92)

On one-last topic, Pfeiffer opined that Dr. Greenblatt’s

experiments minimized the chance that changes would

occur in cefadroxil DC after it had been removed from

the dissolution medium. (Tr. 93) He further agreed with

her conclusion that no conversion had occurred. (Tr. 93)

B. Bristol’s Case

Dr. Howard Goldin

Bristol’s first witness, Dr. Goldin, is a Board-certified

doctor of internal medicine and gastroenterology. (Tr.

246) He was offered as an expert on the conditions that

exist inside the human stomach. Goldin was asked to

provide a protocol for simulating stomach conditions,

which could be used in in vitro experiments intended to

determine whether cefadroxil DC converted in vivo to the

Bouzard monohydrate. (Tr. 253) According to Goldin,

ethical constraints precluded actual in vivo experiments

from being conducted for this purpose. (Tr. 253)

The protocol provided by Goldin consisted of the use

of 30 milliliters of actual gastric juice maintained at body

temperature (37°C) and gently agitated at three rpm.

(Tr. 254, 264) Goldin also recommended that simulated

gastric juice (a 0.1 solution of hydrochloric acid) could be

EAI MARE IRN Rp eo

27a

used. (Tr. 255) The stirring rate was chosen as an

approximation of the agitation that occurs in the stomach.

Goldin testified that for the most part, the stomach is in

a flaccid state, with only intermittent gentle waves that

“barely agitate the contents of the stomach.” (Tr. 265)

For only approximately five out of every 90 to 120 min-

utes are there- vigorous contractions in the stomach. (Tr.

265) An in vitro stirring rate of 100 rpm, in Dr. Goldin’s

opinion “far exceed[s] the physiologic spectrum of the

human stomach.” (Tr. 270)

Samples of actual gastric juice provided to Bristol for

experimentation uses by Dr. Goldin were obtained from

Goldin’s patients during a routine suction of the contents

in preparation for an endoscopic examination. (Tr. 265-

66) The patients had all fasted prior to the examination.

(Tr. 265) Most of the gastric acid obtained had a pH

of between one and two. (Tr. 266) The average volume

of acid suctioned from the patients was 30 milliliters. (Tr.

267) Essentially all of a stomach’s contents are removed

by the suctioning. (Tr. 267) The pH of gastric acid in

a non-fasting patient is generally higher (less acidic) due

to neutralization by the ingested solids or liquids. (Tr.

266)

Goldin opined that experiments utilizing his specified

conditions would simulate in vivo conditions. (Tr. 270)

He further opined that he did not believe that much of a

difference would be observed if gastric acid from non-

fasting patients were used, even if it consisted of a greater

volume of fluid. (Tr. 274-75) Goldin opined that a vol-

ume of gastric acid between 30 and 240 milliliters was

within the physiologic range of the human stomach. (Tr.

278) He also opined that a stirring rate between three

and ten rpm would also be within that range, but that 25

rpm would fall outside of the range. (Tr. 281-82)

Goldin ultimately concluded that he would expect con-

version to occur in vivo if it occurred in vitro under the

conditions that he specified. (Tr. 284-85)

28a

Dr. Robert J. Levine

The testimony of Dr. Levine was offered into evidence

by Bristol through deposition transcript. Levine was

deposed by Bristol de bene esse on May 11, 1992. The

transcript was accepted into evidence without objection as

defendant’s exhibit 20. (Tr. 317-18)

Levine is a professor of medicine at Yale University

School of Medicine in Connecticut, specializing in medical

ethics. (Dep. 5) His previous experience included serving

as chief of the clinical pharmacology section at Yale Uni-

versity School of Medicine. (Dep. 11) He has reviewed

more than 5,600 proposals to do medical research on

human subjects. (Dep. 13) In Levine’s opinion, no insti-

tutional review board would approve research on human

subjects solely to defend a patent. (Dep. 14-15) He

further opined that he did not believe that an in vivo

experiment could be designed to test whether cefadroxil

DC converts to Bouzard monohydrate that would not be

subject to the same criticisms to which the in vitro experi-

ments have been subjected. (Dep. 15)

Dr. Gerond V. Lake-Bakaar

Dr. Lake-Bakaar is a } sician who, like Dr. Goldin,

specializes in internal medicine and gastroenterology. (Tr.

318-19) He teaches medicine at the State University of

New York at Stony Brook. (Tr. 319) Bristol offered

Lake-Bakaar as an expert in gastroenterology. (Tr. 320)

Lake-Bakaar testified that he conducts research in gas-

troenterology and has on a number of occasions designed

in vitro studies that were intended to simulate in vivo con-

ditions, (Tr. 320, 326), and that such tests are frequently

relied on by gastroenterologists to predict in vivo results,

(Tr. 327). In his opinion, the in vitro conditions em-

ployed by Dr. Harry Brittain, a witness for Bristol dis-

cussed infra, of 30 milliliters of 0.1 N HCl maintained at

37°C with gentle agitation, closely simulates conditions

29a

in the human stomach. (Tr. 332-33) In his experience,

Dr. Lake-Bakaar has encountered varying volumes of

gastric acid in patients, ranging between 20 and 80 milli-

liters. (Tr. 333) He also opined that mixing rates between

three rpm and 100 rpm covered a range that exceeded the

range of agitation that he believes occurs in the human

stomach. (Tr. 336) In his opinion, 10 rpm is the

average rate of mixing in the human stomach, to the

extent it can be quantified in those terms. (Tr. 336, 369-

70) Lake-Bakaar further opined that little difference

exists between the gastric juice of fasted and non-fasted

patients. (Tr. 337)

Dr. Lake-Bakaar testified that, in his opinion, Dr. Brit-

tain’s failure to account for emptying and replenishment

of stomach juices does not affect the validity of his simula-

tions, because the emptying rate of the human stomach is

sufficiently slow such that it would be minimal over the

short time interval that elapsed before Brittain observed

conversion in his experiments. (Tr. 334-35). Lake-

Bakaar estimated that in five minutes, the human stomach

replaces approximately five percent of its gastric acid.

(Tr. 334). This rate remains constant without regard to

whether additional fluid has been ingested. (Tr. 358-59)

He further opined that Brittain’s failure to take into

account absorption of materials through the stomach wall

did not affect the validity of his simulation, because, with

the exception of extremely acidic compounds, such absorp-

tion is minimal. (Tr. 335) He also testified that he did

not believe “sink” conditions existed in the human stomach.

(Tr. 337) In his understanding, “sink” conditions exist

when the concentration of a solvent is altered by, for

example, emptying and replacement. (Tr. 337-38)

For his final conclusion, Lake-Bakaar opined that, if

conversion actually occurs under the range of conditions

observed by Dr. Brittain in his in vitro experiments, he

believes that conversion would also occur in vivo. (Tr.

339-40)

30a

Dr. Harry G. Brittain

Dr. Brittain has a doctorate in chemistry, has done

extensive post-doctoral fellowship work, taught chemistry

at several colleges, and has, since 1985, worked for Bristol

or one [of] its predecessor corporations. Brittain was of-

fered as an expert in physical-chemistry, x-ray powder

diffraction analysis and optical microscopy. (Tr. 384)

As part of his job responsibilities at Bristol, Dr. Brittain

examines, compares and analyzes x-ray powder diffraction

patterns on a regular basis. (Tr. 630-31) Relying on the

conditions specified by Drs. Goldin and Lake-Bakaar, Dr.

Brittain conducted numerous experiments that were de-

signed to determine whether cefadroxil DC converts to

Bouzard monohydrate in vivo after ingestion. He designed

all of his own experiments. (Tr. 495) The conditions

and results of these experiments are summarized in tables

received into evidence as defendant’s exhibits 42a-d.

1. Brittain’s Theory of the Conversion Mechanism

Dr. Brittain testified that he believes conversion occurs

because cefadroxil DC, when wetted, partially dissoives

and forms a saturated layer around the undissolved ma-

terial, and then recrystallizes as the Bouzard monohydrate.

(Tr. 510) He opined that when liquid enters a cefadroxil

DC capsule, a micro-environment of saturation is created

that allows partial dissolution of cefadroxil DC crystals

that act as nuclei for the formation of Bouzard mono-

hydrate crystals. (Tr. 629, 806) He does not believe that

the beaker in which he conducted his experiments had

any effect on the conversion because he believes that con-

version occurs inside of the capsule. (Tr. 510)

2. Initial Experiments

The first experiments undertaken by Brittain to investi-

gate conversion are summarized in defendant’s exhibit.

By placing a range of weights of cefadroxil DC in a series

of test tubes with one milliliter of water and observing in

3la

which tubes all of the drug dissolved, Brittain determined

that the equilibrium solubility of cefadroxil DC was ap-

proximately between 10.1 and 16.3 milligrams per milli-

liter. (Tr. 390; DX 17) This was considered consistent

by Brittain with his understanding that cefadroxil DC has

an equilibrium solubility of 12 milligrams per milliliter.

(DX 17)

Brittain also observed that the fine cefadroxil DC povw-

der that he placed in the test tubes turned granular in

appearance after being in contact with the water for one

minute. (Tr. 390; DX 17) Upon examination by optical

microscope at 400 magnification, Brittain observed that

the granular solids in the solution had a significantly dif-

ferent appearance from the unwetted cefadroxil DC. The

initial cefadroxil DC consisted of small needle-shaped

crystals, but the wetted cefadroxil consisted of much larger

rhombic crystals. (Tr. 396-97; DX 17) The larger rhom-

bic crystals are characteristics, in Brittain’s opinion, of

crystals of Bouzard monohydrate. (Tr. 400)

A significant difference was also observed between the

birefringence of both samples. The wetted sample was

significantly birefringent, but the unwetted sample was

only slightly birefringent. (DX 17) The phenomenon of

birefringence is the degree to which the indices of refrac-

tion in a given material scatters light passed through the

material. By passing polarized light through a substance

and then observing the substance through a second polar-

‘zer rotated 90° from the initial polarizer, the relative

degree to which light is scattered as it passes through

different substances can be observed as varying intensities

of brightness. (Tr. 383) Birefringence can be a useful

test for identifying crystals, or comparing whether two

substances are the same crystal. (Tr. 383) If the same

crystals are present, they will have the same birefringent

characteristics. According to Brittain, the birefringence of

cefadroxil DC is “extremely weak”. (Tr. 401)

32a

3. Second Series of Experiments

The next series of experiments performed by Dr. Brit-

tain is summarized in defendant’s exhibits 14 and 18, but

is described in greater detail in Brittain’s laboratory note-

book, offered into evidence as defendant’s exhibit 16.

In that experiment, he initially photomicrographed dry

cefadroxil DC to reconfirm its particle size and shape as

small needles, and verified that it exhibited weak bire-

fringence. (Tr. 405) He also ran an x-ray powder

diffraction analysis of a sample of dry cefadroxil DC

that he possessed, to obtain a diffraction pattern for use

as a reference in his future experimentation. (Tr. 406-

07) He also obtained an x-ray diffraction pattern for

Bouzard monohydrate. (Tr. 410)

For this experiment, Brittain placed a dry 10 milligram

sample of cefadroxil DC on a microscope slide, wetted

it with water, and observed it under a microscope. (Tr.

411-12; DX 14) He observed that the cefadroxil material

transformed from very small crystals to large block-like

crystals. (Tr. 412) In a second experiment, Brittain

placed 100 milligrams of cefadroxil DC on a slide, and

wetted it with 0.1 N HC1 solution. (Tr. 413) He ob-

served the same phenomena as in the prior experiment,

except that the crystal faces appeared better formed, and

the birefringence was more distinctive. (Tr. 413) The

transformation of the crystals occurred within 30 seconds

of being wetted. (DX 14) The sample remained in the

solution for five minutes before it was removed and sub-

jected to x-ray diffraction analysis. When the x-ray

powder diffraction pattern obtained from the wetted

cefadroxil DC was compared to the reference patterns,

Brittain observed that the pattern for the wetted cefadroxil

was equivalent to the reference pattern for Bouzard

monohydrate. (Tr. 415)

A third experiment in this series was performed to de-

termine whether cefadroxil DC converted to Bouzard

monohydrate within a capsule immersed in fluid. In two

separate runs, handfilled capsules of cefadroxil DC were

33a

placed respectively in 250 milliliters of water and in 250

milliliters of 0.1 N HC1 solution and allowed to sit for

respectively four and ten minutes, and were then removed,

sliced open, and examined under the microscope for crys-

tal shape and size, and for birefringence. (Tr. 416-18,

423: DX 16) These visual tests confirmed that the ma-

terial had converted to Bouzard monohydrate. (/d.) X-ray

diffraction analysis further confirmed that conversion had

occurred. (Tr. 418, 424, 425)

4. Dissolution Experiments

In a series of dissolution experiments, Dr. Brittain

utilized the in vivo conditions specified by Dr. Goldin,

in an attempt to determine with more certainty whethe=

conversion would occur in the human stomach. Those

conditions consisted of 30 milliliters of simulated gastric

juice maintained at 37°C and stirred at three rpm.

In the first experiment, approximately 300 milligrams

of cefadroxil DC was placed in a clear capsule and low-

ered into a dissolution kettle that contained 30 milliliters

of simulated gastric juice stirred at three rpm for a period

of eight minutes. (Tr. 438) Optical microscopy was per-

formed on the capsule, which revealed to Brittain, con-

sistent with previous experiments, that the crystals had

changed from small needles to large monohydrate crystals,

and that the birefringence had also increased significantly.

(Tr. 439) The same conditions were repeated and the

same results were obtained. (Tr. 441-42) X-ray powder

diffraction patterns were not run because the x-ray unit

was not operating on that day. (Tr. 442)

Brittain later ran many other dissolution experiments,

using varied condition of temperature, volume dissolu-

tion medium, and stirring rate. Tests were performed on

handfilled capsules containing between 300 and 500

milligrams of cefadroxil DC, as well as on actual formu-

lated Zenith cefadroxil DC 500 milligram capsules in-

cluding excipients. Capsules were immersed in media

34a

maintained at 37°C and at 25°C. Dissolution media vol-

umes were varied between 30 and 900 milliliters. Both

simulated gastric juice and actual gastric acid provided

by Dr. Goldin were used as dissolution media, with pHs

ranging between 1 and 6.5. Stirring rates were varied

between zero and 100 rpm. Brittain testified at length

during trial as to the conditions of these experiments.

His laboratory notebook provides a contemporaneous rec-

ord of the details of these experiments. (DX 16) The re-

sults of these experiments are summarized in table form

in defendant’s exhibits 42a-42c. For all of these experi-

ments, similar tests were performed to reach uniform re-

sults. Optical microscopy observation of crystal size and

birefringence, together with x-ray powder diffraction

analyses, uniformly indicated to Dr. Brittain that conver-

sion of cefadroxil DC to Bouzard monohydrate occurred

under all of the varied experiment conditions. Brittain

concluded that the pH of the dissolution medium had little

or no effect on whether conversion would occur. (Tr.

533) He also concluded that the volume of the dissolu-

tion medium and stirring rate had little or no effect on

whether conversion would occur. (Tr. 540-41)

5. Protonation Experiment

One of the claims raised by Zenith on motion for sum-

mary judgment was that cefadroxil DC wetted with acid

could not recrystallize once dissolved, because the cefa-

droxil would become protonated as it reacted with the

acid. Protonation occurs when a compound binds with

free hydrogen ions as the acid reacts with the compound.

(Tr. 468) To test this assertion, Brittain ran fourier trans-

form infrared reflectance (“FTIR”) analyses of the ma-

terial he believed was converted cefadroxil and of un-

wetted Bouzard material, to obtain FTIR spectra. (Tr.

466-67) FTIR analysis is commonly used to determine

whether a material has protonated. (Tr. 467) Brittain

concluded from a comparison of the two spectra that the

cefadroxil DC material had converted to the Bouzard

monohydrate, and that it was not protonated. (Tr. 467)

ew tes ‘ets

35a

6. Light Scattering Experiments

Although he did not believe that removing cefadroxil

from the dissolution medium had any effect on the con-

version process, Dr. Brittain designed a light-scattering

experiment with which he could investigate whether con-

version could be observed without removing a sample

from the dissolution medium. (Tr. 548)

The apparatus used to conduct the light-scattering ex-

periments consisted of a laser light source that was passed

through a square cuvette containing three milliliters of

liquid. (Tr. 550-52) On an adjacent side of the cuvette

was a photomultiplier tube that received the light passing

through the cuvette at a right angle to the laser source,

and converted it to an electrical current that varied in

proportion to the intensity of the scattered light. (Tr.

552) The electrical current was then converted to a

voltage output that also varied in proportion to the scat-

tered light intensity, which was amplified and displayed on

an output device. (Tr. 552)

To isolate the laser light passing through the cuvette,

and to minimize the effect of changes in ambient light

levels, the laser light source was pulsed at a chosen fre-

quency. Through use of a lock-in implifier, which ampli-

fied only the converted voltage signal with the same fre-

quency as the pulsed laser source, the final displayed out-

put, as recorded on a strip chart recorder, measured es-

sentially just light that had originated from the laser light

source. (Tr. 553) This apparatus was designed and built

by Dr. Brittain.

To validate the system, Brittain mixed twenty milli-

grams of microcrystalline cellulose, a water insoluble sub-

stance, with water in a cuvette. (Tr. 554) The mixture

was alternatively stirred with a magnetic stirrer, then

allowed to settle, while the laser source passed through

the cuvette. (Tr. 554-55) The output recorded on the

36a

strip chart recorder showed changes in negative voltage

that varied from a lesser negative voltage when the ma-

terial was completely settled, to a maximum negative

voltage when the stirring occurred. (Tr. 555) This

indicated that the apparatus measured changes in the in-

tensity of light scattered from the original laser source.

(Tr. 555) When more particles are suspended in solu-

tion, more light is scattered.

Brittain then used the apparatus to determine whether

changes in light could be detected as the cefadroxil DC

was mixed in simulated gastric juice. To separate the

possible effect on the test that dissolution, as opposed to

conversion, would have on the light-scattering measure-

ment, Brittain started with a filtered saturated solution of

cefadroxil DC, because no further dissolution could occur

if the saturated solution was held at a constant tempera-

ture. (Tr. 557) In the first series of runs, he added 25

milligrams of Bouzard monohydrate to the saturated solu-

tion, which was mixed vigorously while the scattered light

intensity was measured by the light-scattering apparatus.

(Tr. 558-59) Three strip chart traces were obtained in

three separate runs, which revealed a fairly constant nega-

tive output. (Tr. 539) The materials in the cuvettes were

examined by microscopy to verify that the Bouzard ma-

terial was still present. (Tr. 561).

In the next series of runs of the experiment, Brittain

replicated the conditions used in the first series, except

that he used cefadroxil DC instead of Bouzard monohy-

drate. (Tr. 562) This experiment was also run and re-

corded three different times. (Tr. 563) The curves plotted

in all three runs were essentially the same. (Tr. 568)

They show a sharp arc-shaped decrease in negative volt-

age output through most of the first minute of the experi-

ment, and then a gradual steady increase in negative volt-

age intensity through the remainder of the experiment.

(DX 16, pages 148-49) Dr. Brittain believed that the

initial decrease in intensity was due to dissolution of the

cefadroxil DC crystals, which resulted in less scattering

— vee ee ee eee

37a

of the laser signal because fewer solid particles were pres-

ent to scatter the light. (Tr. 565) He also believed that

the later increase in the scattered light intensity was con-

sistent with conversion, because it indicated that some

physical change had occurred in the tube at the approxi-

mate time that he had observed conversion in his other

experiments. (Tr. 566-67, 569)

Another experiment was conducted in which Brittain

used the same conditions of solution and stirring as used

in the light-scattering experiment, but instead of measur-

ing light intensity with the light scattering apparatus, he

took a series of nine photomicrographs -of material ex-

tracted out of the cuvette at different time intervals dur-

ing a four minute period. (DX 16, pages 150-53) Bire-

fringence was also examined. (Tr. 573) Brittain observed

very small Bouzard crystals in the first photograph taken

at 14 seconds. (Tr. 573) In each successive photograph,

he observed larger and more crystals up until approxi-

mately two minutes, after which the appearance did not

change significantly. (Tr. 575) From this, he concluded

that evaporation did not play any role in conversion, be-

cause if the material converted only due to evaporation

on the slide, each photograph would look the same. (Tr.

575) Brittain related these results to the light-scattering

measurements by observing that the Bouzard crystals only

began to aggregate at approximately one minute, the

time at which the light scattering intensity began to in-

crease. (Tr. 576) He opined that the aggregation of

crystals at one minute was consistent with the change in

light-scattering intensity that was observed beginning at

that time interval. (Tr. 576)

Brittain conducted another series of light-scattering ex-

periments in which he re-ran the first two series of experi-

ments except that instead of using a saturated cefadroxil

solution as the dissolution medium, he used only simulated

gastric juice, in which he placed a greater quantity of

cefadroxil material. (Tr. 577) This was done so that he

could determine whether conversion occurred in an un-

saturated solution. (Tr. 579-80)

38a

When Brittain recorded the light scattering intensities

of the Bouzard material, he plotted a different tracing

from that obtained in the first series of experiments. In-

stead of a constant light-scattering intensity, he recorded

a pattern that began as a maximum negative voltage and

gradually decreased to a constant intensity value. (Tr.

580) Brittain opined that the initial maximum scattered

light intensity was consistent with the fact that none of the

cefadroxil had yet dissolved, and that the gradual decrease

in intensity represented the dissolution of the Bouzard

monohydrate until it reached an equilibrium, at which

point the light scattering intensity remained constant. (Tr.

580; DX 16, pages 155-56)

In the next experiment, Brittain plotted scattered light

intensities over time for light passed through simulated

gastric juice in which he placed cefadroxil DC. The

scattered light intensity curves he obtained in these experi-

ments were more complex than in the other light scatter-

ing experiments. The initial intensity was not as great as

the initial intensity of the Bouzard material suspended in

the gastric juice. Brittain believed that this was consistent

with the fact that cefradoxil DC crystals are smaller than

Bouzard crystals, and hence would not refract as much

light. (Tr. 581) Over the first minute, the scattered light

intensity decreased, consistent with dissolution of the cefa-

droxil DC crystals into the gastric juice. (Tr. 581) At

approximately one minute and eighteen seconds, however,

the scattered light intensity increased steadily, surpassing

the initial intensity, until the four and one-half minute

mark, at which point the intensity remained relatively

constant, decreasing only slightly. (Tr. 581) Brittain

concluded from the fact that the final intensity was

greater tham the initial intensity that a definite change had

occurred m the physical characteristics of the cefadroxil

DC. (Tr. 581-82) This was consistent with his observa-

tions in other experiments that conversion to Bouzard had

occurred. (Tr. 582) Brittain conducted microscopy ex-

periments similar to those run in connection with the

39a

first set of light-scattering experiments, in which he repro-

duced the conditions of the light scattering experiment

this time cefadroxil DC in simulated gastric juice—and

took a series of microphotographs to record visual and

birefringence changes in the crystals over time. (Tr. 587-

88) Brittain observed that as early as 12 seconds into the

experiment, Bouzard crystals were evident. (Tr. 588)

From the strength of the birefringence of the crystals, and

from the depth of the crystals, Brittain opined that evap-

oration could not have been the cause of the formation

of the crystals. (Tr. 589)

7. Sealed System Experiments

A further set of experiments was performed in an at-

tempt to minimize the effects that evaporation could have

on cefadroxil solution observed microscopically. Brittain

observed cefadroxil DC in simulated gastric juice placed

in the well of a thick miscroscope slide over which he

had placed a slide cover that was sealed with nail polish.

(Tr. 593) This experiment was a standard laboratory

technique for creating a sealed system that can be ob-

served by microscope. (Tr. 593) Photomicrographs were

taken at approximately two, four, six and eight minutes.

(Tr. 594; DX 37) In each successive photograph, dis-

tinctive large triangular crystals believed by Brittain to

be Bouzard crystals can be seen in greater quantity. (DX

37; Tr. 595)

Brittain conducted a second type of sealed system ex-

periment, in which he filled test tubes that could be

sealed by screwing on a threaded cap with cefadroxil DC

in approximately 23 milliliters of water or simulated gas-

tric juice. (Tr. 600-02) The goal of this experiment was

to determine whether cefadroxil DC converted in a larger

quantity of fluid in a sealed environment. (Tr. 601)

Samples were maintained in a bath at 37°C and allowed

to equilibrate for one half hour. (Tr. 601-02) Samples

were then examined by microscopy and x-ray powder

40a

diffration. Again, Brittain concluded that Bouzard crys-

tals had formed. (Tr. 603, 605) These results were

believed consistent with the sealed slide tests, and caused

Brittain to conclude that evaporation played no role in

the conversion of cefadroxil DC to Bouzard monohy-

drate. (Tr. 605)

8. Freeze-Drying Experiments

Brittain simulated the freeze-drying experiments of Dr.

Greenblatt, with minor variations. He placed a Zenith

cefadroxil DC capsule in 30 milliliters of simulated gas-

tric juice maintained at 37°C and stirred at 10 rpm. (Tr.

606-07) At approximately two and three quarters min-

utes, instead of Dr. Greenblatt’s one and three quarters

minutes. Brittain removed the capsule from the dissolu-

tion apparatus and, within five to ten seconds, as op-

posed to Dr. Greenblatt’s approximately five seconds,

plunged the sample into liquid nitrogen. (Tr. 607) Dr.

Brittain opined that the five second difference had no

scientific significance. (Tr. 618)

After five minutes in the nitrogen, Brittain removed

the sample and place it in a freeze-drying (“lyophiliza-

tion”) apparatus that he had constructed himself. (Tr.

608) The following day, he removed the contents and

conducted microscopy and x-ray powder diffraction anal-

yses of the sample. (Tr. 613) From these tests, Brittain

concluded that the samples he observed contained Bou-

zard monohydrate. (Tr. 613)

Brittain conducted another experiment in which he

replicated the dissolution and sample removal aspects of

Dr. Greenblatt’s experiment, removing the sample at one

and three quarters minutes. (Tr. 619) He then sliced

the capsule and performed microscopy and x-ray powder

diffraction analyses of the contents. Brittain first ob-

served that the contents of the capsule did not appear

sufficiently wetted, in his opinion, for conversion to occur.

(Tr. 620) The results of his microscopy examination

“a

ied

3

:

3

tsi

mat

4la

was that although some Bouzard crystals were present,

the bulk of the sample was cefadroxil DC with weak bire-

fringence. (Tr. 612) Likewise, the x-ray powder diffrac-

tion analysis yielded a pattern that signified to Brittain

a mix of cefadroxil DC and Bouzard crystals. (Tr. 621-

22) Brittain concluded that if a sample of cefadroxil DC

is not sufficiently wetted, no conversion will occur. (Tr.

622-23)

9. Gottstein Comparison

To rebut Dr. Pfeiffer’s testimony, Dr. Brittain made

an independent comparison of the Gottstein and Zenith

cefadroxil DC x-ray powder diffraction patterns. (Tr.

642) He concluded that the two patterns were on the

border between being considered by him “similar” or

“equivalent”. (Tr. 642) From this, he did not believe

that he could conclude that Gottstein would convert to

Bouzard monohydrate. (Tr. 644-45)

Brittain recorded an x-ray diffraction pattern of a com-

pound represented to him by Bristol to be Gottstein cefa-

droxil. When he compared the pattern obtained from

the Bristol sample to the Marr pattern relied on by Dr.

Pfeiffer, Brittain found that 21 of 24 peaks matched,

and concluded that the patterns were equivalent. (Tr.

819-20) He then wetted 200 milligrams of the substance

he believed was Gottstein cefadroxil and, after eight

minutes, recorded another x-ray powder diffraction pat-

tern. (Tr. 821) Brittain concluded from the second x-ray

pattern that the Gottstein material had not changed, and

that no Bouzard monohydrate could be detected. (Tr.

822) After another fifteen minutes had elapsed, which

would have allowed evaporation to have occurred, he ran

another powder pattern, which again remained un-

changed. (Tr. 822-23) Yet another x-ray powder pattern

was made after one hour had elapsed, with similar re-

sults. (Tr. 823) From this Britain concluded that Gott-

stein cefadroxil does not convert to Bouzard monohy-

drate when wetted. (Tr. 824)

42a

C. Zenith’s Rebuttal Case

Dr. Martha Greenblatt

Greenblatt was presented as a live witness on Zenith’s

rebuttal case. She testified that at the time of her initial

experiments and deposition, she had not considered

whether leaving the capsules in the simulated gastric acid

for a longer period of time would have had any impact

on the results of her tests. (Tr. 846) Since it was brought

to her attention, Greenblatt had formed the opinion that

leaving the capsules immersed for a longer period of time

would not have changed her results, because the capsules

had already opened and she ‘believed that the capsules’

contents had already been wetted. (Tr. 847) To verify

this opinion, Greenblatt instructed a graduate student

to conduct a further experiment in which he replicated

her earlier experiments except that he increased the length

of time in which the capsule remained in the gastric fluid

before they were removed, from approximately two min-

utes to almost three minutes. (Tr. 864-65; PX 46) Green-

blatt concluded that the results of this experiment were

no different than the results of her earlier experiments—

no conversion could be detected from the x-ray powder

patterns. (Tr. 865)

Dr. Anthony P. Simonelli

Dr. Simonelli, the last witness to testify at trial, is a

professor emeritus at the University of Connecticut. (Tr.

929) Dr. Simonelli performed no experiments of his own

that were introduced at trial, but only gave his expert

opinions based on the experiments of others. He was

offered as an expert in biopharmaceutics, which is the

study of how formulations of drugs interact with a bio-

logical environment/system (otherwise known as a body,

be it human or other animal), and how changes in drug

formulations affect their absorption by the biological sys-

tem. (Tr. 929-30) Simonelli was also offered as an ex-

43a

pert in the identification and analysis of polymorphic and

solvate transformation in solid state and heterogeneous

systems, and in the fields of nucleation and crystal growth,

and x-ray diffraction analysis and optical microscopy

(Tr. 931-33, 935)

Simonelli testified at length about the nucleation process

that must precede any recrystallization of dissolved cefa-

droxil DC. He differed substantially with the theories of

Dr. Brittain. Simonelli opined that Dr. Brittain’s ex-

periments did not prove that conversion occurred in the

dissolution beaker. (Tr. 958) He instead believed that

the recrystallization occurred on the microscope slide

after a sample was removed from the beaker, because

the conditions for nucleation and crystal growth are “fan-

tastically higher on the slide than they are in the beaker,”

due to the greater saturation on the slide, (Tr. 959),

and the cooling effect of evaporation, which aids precip-

itation of solids from a solution, (Tr. 980-81). Simonelli

testified that Brittain’s slide observations would not be

representative of in vivo conditions, because evaporation

and cooling, factors present on the slide that he believed

greatly enhance crystal growth, are not present in the

human stomach. (Tr. 981) He also believed that the

stirring motion present in the stomach would diminish

the possibility of nucleation and crystal growth. (Tr.

981) Simonelli further opined that other factors present

in the stomach but not on a slide that might inhibit

nucleation and crystal growth include the dissolved gela-

tin capsule, (Tr. 982-83), excipients, (Tr. 984), and

the presence of macromolecules such as proteins and en-

zymes, (Tr. 1008, 1018).

Simonelli believed that Brittain’s sealed system experi-

ments are not conclusive because they at most eliminate

only one factor as a possible explanation for the conver-

sion: evaporation. (Tr. 986) He was at a loss to explain

the difference in results between Dr. Brittain’s and Dr.

Greenblatt’s second freeze-drying test results. He postu-

44a

lated that the difference in time it took Brittain to re-

move the sample from the dissolution beaker and plunge

it in the liquid nitrogen—at most five seconds—may ac-

count for the difference. (Tr. 987-88)

Simonelli opined that Brittain’s light-scattering experi-

ments also did not establish that conversion occurred

in solution as opposed to on the slide, but were merely

inconclusive. (Tr. 993, 995) He further opined that

“sink” conditions present in the stomach would also in-

hibit nucleation and crystal growth. (Tr. 1012) Accord-

ing to Simonelli, sink conditions exist when the concen-

tration of a compound is negligible in the bulk of a dis-

solution medium and is high near the surface of the

compound being dissolved. (Tr. 1013-15) He believed

that Dr. Lake-Bakaar was wrong in concluding that the

rapidity of the conversion would counteract the sink

effect, because he believes that the speed of the conver-

sion does not affect the action of the sink conditions in

preventing a localized supersaturation zone. (Tr. 1015-

17) Simonelli conceded that the speed of the reaction is

not unimportant, but, all else being equal, the presence

of sink versus non-sink conditions would impact on the

likelihood of nucleation and crystal growth. (Tr. 1017)

In general, Simonelli concluded that Brittain’s experi-

ments did not sufficiently simulate in vivo conditions to

be indicative of nucleation and crystal growth in the

human stomach. (Tr. 1008-09) He did not disagree with

the conditions in the human stomach specified by Drs.

Goldin and Lake-Bakaar, but disagreed that the beaker

experiments of Dr. Brittain adequately accounted for

other factors present in the stomach that would adversely

affect the likelihood of conversion. (Tr. 1018-19)

Il. FINDINGS OF FACT

The central fact issue that the Court must determine

is whether the cefadroxil DC in Zenith’s formulated cap-

sules converts to Bouzard mpnohydrate in vivo. This

45a

one issue was the focus of much scientific theorizing and

experimentation, and has resulted in a trial record that

contains a number of theories and abundance of data.

A subsidiary issue that Zenith asserts circumscribes the

breadth of the claim in the ’657 patent is whether “Gott-

stein” cefadroxil is in fact cefadroxil DC, and whether

Gottstein cefadroxil converts in vivo to the Bouzard mon-

ohydrate. This issue accounted for a minor portion of

the evidence presented at trial.

A. In Vivo Conversion

Zenith’s position on the conversion of cefadroxil DC

into Bouzard monohydrate rests on the results it obtained

from several experiments, and on expert opinion testi-

mony that attempted to refute the results obtained by

Bristol from its experiments. Zenith had three sets of

experiments conducted to support its position that con-

version does not occur.

First, Dr. Rothstein supervised an experiment to mea-

sure and compare the dissolution rates of cefadroxil DC

and Bouzard monohydrate. Second, Dr. Rothstein super-

vised an experiment to measure and compare the equilib-

rium solubility and bulk density of those two compounds.

Both the dissolution rates and equilibrium solubilities,

as well as initial bulk densities, were found by Rothstein

to be different for both compounds. In reliance on this

data, Zenith expert Dr. Pfeiffer opined that conversion

did not occur. His theory was that if cefadroxil DC first

converted to Bouzard monohydrate before dissolving, the

equilibrium solubility for the two materials would be

identical, because in essence the same material would be

dissolving into the dissolution medium.

POSTE

The third set of experiments offered into evidence by

Zenith were the freeze-drying experiments of Dr. Green-

blatt. Greenblatt conducted two sets of experiments, dif-

fering only in the time at which the dissolving capsule

was removed from the dissolution vat and frozen in liquid

ii aie

46a

nitrogen. The first set of experiments, with the shorter

dissolution period, was offered into evidence on Zenith’s

direct case through deposition transcript with exhibits.

The second set of experiments was offered into evidence

on Zenith’s rebuttal case through Greenblatt’s live testi-

mony and exhibits. The results obtained by Greenblatt

were the [ ] same for both experiments: no conversion

occurred.

Bristol’s position with respect to Zenith’s experiments

is that they were scientifically inaccurate and otherwise

flawed. Bristol’s position on the conversion of cefadroxil

DC into Bouzard monohydrate rests on the results it ob-

tained from a number of experiments conducted by Dr.

Brittain, and on expert opinion testimony that laid a

foundation for some of the assumptions made by Brit-

tain in attempting to simulate in vivo conditions. Drs.

Levine and Goldin were offered as experts to support

Bristol’s position that actual in vivo experiments could

not be conducted due to medical ethics constraints, and

that no satisfactory in vivo experiment could be designed

to test the conversion hypothesis that would be any more

probative of the issue than are in in vitro experiments

of Dr. Brittain. Drs. Goldin and Lake-Bakaar were

offered as experts in gastroenterology to lay the founda-

tion for the conditions utilized by Dr. Brittain to simulate

conditions inside the human stomach.

The bulk of Bistol’s evidence consists of the numerous

experiments conducted by Dr. Brittain to verify that

cefadroxil DC converts to Bouzard monohydrate. Brit-

tain designed and conducted a variety of experiments to

test different aspects of the conversion issue, all of which

confirmed in his opinion that conversion would in fact

occur in vivo. Zenith’s position with respect to Bristol’s

experiments is that they at best prove that conversion

occurs on a microscope slide under conditions different

from those present in the human stomach. Zenith’s ex-

perts opined that Bristol did not even prove that conver-

sion occurs in a dissolution beaker, much less in vivo.

‘47a

The Court finds that Bristol presented by far the more

compelling case on the issue of conversion.

1. Use of In Vitro Experiments

The opinions of Drs. Levine and Goldin that, given

the nature of the experiments which would be required,

in vivo experimentation could not be justified under med-

ical ethics constraints merely to prove patent infringe-

ment, stands unrefuted by Zenith. Both doctors were

adequately qualified to give this opinion and were credible

witnesses. Therefore, the Court finds that Bristol’s use of

in vitro experiments to establish in vivo events is in prin-

ciple a valid methodology. Cross v. lizuka, 753 F.2d

1040, 1050 [224 USPQ 739] (Fed. Cir. 1985); Nelson

v. Bowler, 626 F.2d 853, 856 [206 USPQ 881]

(C.C.P.A. 1980).

2. Validity of Brittain’s Simulated In Vivo Condi-

tions

The conditions prescribed by Drs. Goldin and Lake-

Bakaar to simulate conditions in the human stomach, i.e.,

30 milliliters of simulated or actual gastric juice main-

tained at 37°C and stirred at three to ten rpm, were also

unrefuted by Zenith. Further substantialy unrefuted was

Dr. Lake-Bakaar’s opinion that the emptying rate of the

stomach and the secretion rate of additional gastric juice

are sufficiently slow in comparison to the rate at which

Brittain believed conversion occurred such that failure to

account for those factors would not constitute a flaw in

Brittain’s experiments. Both doctors were adequately

qualified to give these opinions and were credible wit-

nesses. Therefore, to the extent Bristol established the oc-

currence of conversion under these conditions that was

not attributable to some other condition present in the in

vitro experiment that is not present in vivo, it has proved

that in vivo conversion also would occur.

48a

3. Brittain’s Experiments

Dr. Brittain spent far more time on the witness stand

during this trial than did any other witness. Over the

course of nearly three full days of testimony, the Court

had the opportunity to observe and listen to Brittain at

great length. The Court’s impression of Dr. Brittain is

that he is a talented research chemist, who possesses a

significant ability to thoroughly understand a problem and,

through his broad knowledge of laboratory instrumenta-

tion, design multiple experiments to test many aspects of

that problem. He was also, for the most part, a very

credible witness.

Dr. Brittain’s explanation of the reason that conversion

occurs, and the process by which it @oours, however,

seemed to be somewhat beyond the scope of his expertise.

On this point, Zenith’s Dr. Simonelli seemed more knowl-

edgeable. In fact, though, the Court does not believe

~ that any witness presented in this case has anything more

than a superficial understanding of the “mechanism” or

“pathway” by which conversion occurs. At issue in this

case, however, is not “why” conversion occurs, but only

“whether” it occurs. Thus, although Dr. Brittain’s ex-

planation of the conversion process seemed beyond the

ken of his expertise and was somewhat lacking in credi-

bility, the Court finds that Brittain has established by a

preponderance of evidence, well within his range of ex-

pertise, that cefadroxil DC in fact converts in vivo to

Bouzard monohydrate.

The strength of Brittain’s experiments and results is

their totality. Piece by piece, Brittain built an impressive

collection of data. The results of each series of experi-

ments strengthen the results of each other set of experi-

mental results. The total effect of the experiments is to

prove with sufficient certainty the fact of conversion in

vivo.

In support of its motion for summary judgment, Zenith

submitted expert affidavits that concluded that the pro-

49a

tonation of cefadroxil DC molecules dissolved in gastric

acid would prevent recrystallization of dissolved cefadroxil

DC. At trial, Bristol introduced testimony and test re-

sults by Brittain to refute this claim. Those experiments

tested for protonation, and the results indicated that pro-

tonation did not occur. Zenith offered no evidence at

trial to refute this evidence. Accordingly, the Court finds

that protonation plays no role in inhibiting conversion.

The largest number of experiments conducted by Brit-

tain were the dissolution experiments in which he placed

both bulk powder or formulated capsules in varied

amounts of water or simulated or actual gastric juice and

later tested the samples for conversion. The dissolution

medium volume and stirring rate conditions employed en-

compassed and exceeded the wide range of possible condi-

tions in vivo. Through the use of three tests—visual ob-

servation, birefringence comparison and x-ray diffraction

pattern comparison—Brittain concluded uniformly that

under any of the conditions used, he detected conversion.

Brittain first established indisputably through photo-

micrography that cefadroxil DC crystals are much smaller

than Bouzard monohydrate crystals, and are much dif-

ferent in shape. He also established that cefadroxil DC

crystals exhibit a much weaker birefringence than do

crystals of Bouzard monohydrate, which are highly bire-

fringent. Thus, through microscopy, Brittain could de-

termine with a high degree of certainty whether a sample

of wetted cefadroxil DC had changed its crystalling form,

and could conclude to a lesser extent that the form to

which it had changed was Bouzard monohydrate. Al-

though changes in the physical properties of shape, size

and birefringence of the cefadroxil DC erystals could be

conclusively determined through microscopy, Britain could

not determine by observation alone that the larger, more

birefringent crystals were necessarily Bouzard. To deter-

mine conversion to Bouzard with great certainty, Brittain

ran x-ray powder diffraction patterns, a technique that in

essence takes the “fingerprint” of a crystalline compound.

50a

Through x-ray diffraction analysis, Brittain determined

with much greater confidence that all of the conversions

suspected after optical examination had in fact been to

Bouzard monohydrate.

Zenith contends that Brittain failed to establish that

any of the x-ray diffraction patterns, including his Bouzard

monohydrate reference pattern, conform to the x-ray dif-

fraction pattern that forms the claim of the ’657 patent.

The Court disagrees, with respect to the reference pattern,

Bristol has put into evidence numerical tables represent-

ing both the patent pattern and Brittain’s reference pat-

tern. (DX 1; DX 16 at 19) According to Zenith’s own

expert, Dr. Pfeiffer, differences of 0.2 or less are insig-

nificant in comparing x-ray diffraction patterns. (Tr. 233)

According to Dr. Brittain, whose expertise on X-ray

powder diffraction pattern analysis the Court accepts,

patterns with at least a 95% match of peaks are “iden-

tical” compounds. (Tr. 633). Using Dr. Pfeiffer’s mar-

gin of error, a simple comparison of the tables reveals

that 21 out of 22 peaks in the patent pattern are matched

by peaks in Brittain’s reference pattern. Although Pfeiffer

would find a “match” even with a variation of up to 0.2,

most of the matches have differences of less than 0.05.

In fact, only one match even approaches, but does not

exceed 0.1. Thus, there are 21 clear matches out of 22

peaks in the patent pattern. The ratio of 21/22 exceeds

the 95% peak matches Brit[t]ain would require to con-

clude that two compounds are identical. The Court thus

concludes that Zenith’s claim that Brittain’s reference pat-

tern is not of the same compound claimed in the ’657

patent is without any merit.

The Court further finds credible Brittain’s conclusions

that the patterns obtained from wetted cefadroxil samples

recovered from his experiments are equivalent to the refer-

ence pattern for Bouzard monohydrate. Dr. Brittain’s ex-

pertise with the analysis and comparison of x-ray diffrac-

tion patterns was amply demonstrated, and the Court ac-

cordingly adopts Brittain’s conclusions. Zenith’s assertion

S5la

that the comparison are inconclusive because Brittain con-

cluded only that the patterns were “equivalent” and not

“identical” is rejected by the Court. Although under

Brittain’s rating system “identical” is the higher rating,

the Court accepts Brittain’s opinion that a finding of

“equivalance” is sufficient to support his conclusion that

conversion had occurred. The standard of proof in this

case is not the “beyond a reasonable doubt” standard.

The Court finds that Brittain’s laboratory procedures

for the dissolution experiments were consistent, well-

documented and highly credible. Zenith has not with any

force directly refuted the results of Brittain’s microscopy

and x-ray diffraction tests. Zenith’s criticisms of Brittain’s

results are based on contentions that the conversion oc-

curred not in the dissolution beaker, but on the micro-

scope slide, under conditions greatly different from ac-

tual in vivo conditions. Alternatively, Zenth contends that

even if conversion does occur in the beaker, the beaker

conditions are significantly different from in vivo condi-

tions. The Court finds these contentions also without

merit.

A major basis for Zenith’s contention that conversion

occurs on a slide and not in a beaker or the stomach is

that on the slide, a much more saturated solution ex-

ists, which Dr. Simonelli opined was much more conducive

to nucleation and crystal growth. The Court finds that

Bristol demonstrated with a high degree of certainty that

conversion occurs inside of an ingested capsule, and that

the environment inside of a capsule penetrated by gastric

liquid would be of a similar or greater saturation level

to that existing on a slide. Thus, the Court finds that

Zenith’s distinction between beaker and slide conversion

is meaningless to the extent it is based on differences in

saturation levels. To the extent that the beaker/slide ar-

gument is premised on conditions present on a slide that

are not also present inside of a capsule ingested in vivo,

it has adequately been overcome by Bristol’s affirmative

proofs.

52a

Zenith, through Drs. Simonelli and Pfeiffer, posited

that several material differences exist between the condi-

tions present on a slide and those present in vivo, which

impact greatly on the question of in vivo conversion.

First, both Pfeiffer and Simonelli identified evaporation

and cooling as two factors present on a slide but not in

the stomach. They opined that evaporation is conducive

of cooling, which is conducive of precipitation of crystals

out of solution. As will be discussed below, Brittain con-

ducted experiments that refuted the significance of either

of these factors.

Simonelli and Pfeiffer further opined that the stirring

action and replenishment of fluids in the stomach would

adversely affect the occurrence of nucleation and crystal

growth. Dr. Simonelli assumed that conversion occurs

after the cefadroxil DC leaves the capsule, because the

“dynamic situation” he discussed was based on the move-

ment of the capsule contents as they poured out of the

capsule. (Tr. 981) Dr. Pfeiffer’s opinion was similarly

flawed. Because the Court finds that conversion occurs

inside of an ingested capsule, it finds that stomach agita-

tion as an inhibitor of conversion is of minimal signifi-

cance, and opinions relying on it are not entitled to much,

if any, weight. Further, the Court finds that Simonelli’s

suggestion that the replenishment of fluids in the stomach

is similarly without credibility. Dr. Lake-Bakaar’s testi-

mony as to the extremely slow rate of stomach emptying

and replenishment was highly credible and stands unre-

futed. The Court therefore finds Simonelli’s opinion as

to this factor to be lacking in credibility.

Other factors identified by Simonelli as existing in the

stomach but not on a slide include the presence of gelatin,

excipients and macromolecules such as food particles, pro-

teins and enzymes. The Court finds this testimony to be

worthy of no weight.

First, on cross-examination, Simonelli conceded that

macromolecules such as food particles or proteins could

it

53a

enhance nucleation and crystal growth, as well as in-

hibit them. (Tr. 1026-27) Second, excipients were pres-

ent on the slide as well as in vivo in those dissolution ex-

periments conducted by Brittain that used Zenith capsules.

Dr. Simonelli’s attempted explanation of why excipients

would have a lesser impact on a slide than they would in

a capsule, (Tr. 984), seemed contrived and lacked credi-

bility. Third, macromolecules of the variety identified by

Simonelli were present on the slide in those dissolution

experiments conducted by Brittain that used actual gastric

juice. Last, Simonelli’s testimony that dissolved gelatin

may inhibit nucleation and crystal growth, though prob-

ably true in the abstract, does little to refute the results

of Brittain’s experiments. According to Simonelli, Brit-

tain’s experiments failed to account for the presence of

gelatin because his samples were taken from the inside

of the capsule. (Tr. 983) Because the Court finds that

conversion occurs inside the capsule, it finds Simonelli’s

criticism to lack merit.

Yet another factor Simonelli identified as present in

the stomach but n

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bristol-Myers Squibb Co. v. Zenith Laboratories, Inc. · 513 U.S. 995 | Frix