Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Smith v. United States

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

rt2u. ns VP

94 285 AUC - 8 199%

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1993

BRENDA L. SMITH,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

To the United States Court of Appeals

for the Tenth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

James R. Wyrsch

(Counsel of Record)

Cheryl A. Pilate

WYRSCH ATWELL MIRAKIAN

LEE & HOBBS, P.C.

1101 Walnut, Suite 1300

Kansas City, MO 64106

Tel: (816) 221-0080

Fax: (816) 221-3280

Attorneys for Petitioner

Service Printing and Graphics, Inc.

(816) 842-9068 + FAX (816) 842-4763

I.

QUESTION PRESENTED

WHETHER A DEFENDANT IN A COMPLEX FRAUD

CASE CAN PROPERLY BE DENIED A GOOD FAITH

DEFENSE INSTRUCTION ON THE BASIS THAT HER

STATED GOOD FAITH BELIEFS DO NOT PERTAIN

TO ALL ACTS ALLEGED BY THE GOVERNMENT,

EVEN THOUGH THE DEFENDANT DENIED PAR-

TICIPATING IN SOME ACTS, AND STATED THAT

SHE OPERATED ON A GOOD FAITH BASIS WITH

REGARD TO OTHER ACTS; AND WHETHER SUCH

DENIAL VIOLATES THE FIFTH AND SIXTH AMEND-

MENTS TO THE U.S. CONSTITUTION.

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Ce ee WD ies cescicipnscaraiohennaynehsitenelintinntii i

TR Rai thnitenicrecetinrnnievinncttaiteninintaies ii

prt Fie Ftp) & 5.) EG een ee ene iii

CITIATIONS TO OFFICIAL REPORTS

CP Pe hncich dich iB cnccircsccstcresiesitividss Vv

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION . 00.00.0000... cccceeeeeeeeeeeee 1

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS ...............cccccceeeeseeee 3

SE ree ae ee wileindiecaicirtenitnestnsecicnesccsecsnennscnsien 3

A. Procedural Statement of the Case..................... 3

B. Factual Statement of the Case...................:se000++ 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT................+- 10

I. WHETHER A DEFENDANT IN A COMPLEX FRAUD

CASE CAN PROPERLY BE DENIED A GOOD FAITH

DEFENSE INSTRUCTION ON THE BASIS THAT HER

STATED GOOD FAITH BELIEFS DO NOT PERTAIN TO

ALL ACTS ALLEGED BY THE GOVERNMENT, EVEN

THOUGH THE DEFENDANT DENIED PARTICIPATING

IN SOME ACTS, AND STATED THAT SHE OPERATED

ON A GOOD FAITH BASIS WITH REGARD TO OTHER

ACTS; AND WHETHER SUCH DENIAL VIOLATES THE

FIFTH AND SIXTH AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTI-

TUTION

SE IED nccnniceresnccnncasennnenncnitiijadianienhaaadaiaaal 19

iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES: Page(s)

Cheek v. United States, 111 S.Ct. 604 (1991)... 18

Matthews v. United States,

485 U.S. 58 (1988) .............c.0000. 10, 11, 14, 15, 16, 18, 19

Arcoren v, United States, 929 F.2d 1235 (8th Cir. 1991),

cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 312 (1991) ...........cceccccssseiseseoses 11

United States v. Allen, 798 F.2d 985 (7th Cir. 1986) ...... 17

United States v. Casperson,

FFE TIME BID sccc cxricosacovocecsscessioctedacssee 18

United States v. Cordova-Larios,

PEF Bem Rd RPA RE BN sc cass scsiccincinccinsevencccccecss 17

United States v. Cruz, 783 F.2d 1470 (9th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 476 U.S. 1174 (1986) .........c.cccsccccesesceseees 15

United States v. Demma, 523 F.2d 981 (9th Cir. 1975)... 14

United States v. Evans, 910 F.2d 790 (11th Cir. 1990)

cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1881 (1992) .......ccccscscsscscsseeeees 15

United States v. Haddock,

956 F.2d 1534 (10th Cir. 1992),

on rehearing in part, 961 F.2d 933 (10th Cir. 1992),

Cert, Gensed, T13 S.Ct. GB (1992) on... ..cccscsceccocececeosooess 15

United States v. Hopkins, 744 F.2d 716 (10th Cir. 1984) 18

United States v. Opdahl, 930 F.2d 1530

UA RD a chicteccicahkl tices soterersiccisekeecvesonoseimeies 17, 18

United States v. Pinalto, 771 F.2d 457 (10th Cir. 1985) .. 14

United States v. Scafe, 822 F.2d 928 (10th Cir. 1987) ......11

United States v. Smith,

Case No. 93-3159 .............00. 1,5, 10, 11, 12, 14, 17, 19

iv

United States v. Sullivan, 919 F.2d 1403

CRORE FP eth bs chcnis insitchseetoicnichipnaierniinsdtesactansobiawpinn 11

Whipple v. Duckworth, 957 F.2d 418 (7th Cir. 1992),

cert. denied, 113 S.Ct. 218 (1992)............... ronnmnnkl 12, 16

Womack v. United States,

SOG Fe Fa Rs, SA TOG aiisscisccecisccscesesonccsnersoveisone 16

United States ex rel. Everette v. Roth,

808 F. Supp. 1332 (N.D. Ill. 1992)... ceeeeseees 16, 18

United States ex. rel. Eaglin v. Welborn,

815 F Supp. 1181 (C.D. IID. 1993)... ceeeeeeeeseseeeees 16

OTHER AUTHORITIES

US. Cee: RY his accvcknideetdeiccsencablacons 3, 12, 16, 19

U0 ohs MI) PRM WR ecdcdeosccacsiccstded ctencastcnns 3, 12, 16, 19

BU ii inn eisai actin cktesaiciccotdonseesnbicdlasens nae 4

Be Rie I ci ssticnctnvacecssenitickacnerseepitiinitabinaiindantin 4

SE ie a alieditbttndaies ssciisihisnshcirmsnichinnacaadbasiobauiiond 4

ee seis ste dcsbesentdctcaclakicstoniabendcatancbbabaieoess 4

i cciinccissnsencieiisnnistesananinc ane 4,15

BD he PE ieicktitsidictniesocpentibdabinpdauaaabinia 4

A CE A ED eiiciissicicdtnssdnseantscahapiasndbiamenadbiadialaetias 4

IG ii ccicccaiss snithaestasstintiiee us 4

Vv

CITATIONS TO OFFICIAL REPORTS

OF OPINIONS IN CASE

The primary opinion of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Tenth Circuit whose review is sought by Peti-

tioner was decided and filed on January 6, 1994. The opinion

is reported as United States v. Smith, 13 F.3d 1421 (10th Cir.

1994), and is set forth in the Appendix at pages App. ii - App.

xix. Petitioner also seeks review of a related judgment issued

by the Tenth Circuit in which the Court held that because it

affirmed the Defendant's conviction in the opinion filed on

January 6, 1994, it also affirmed the District Court’s Final Or-

der of Forfeiture. That opinion is reported as United States v.

Smith, 19 F.3d 485 (10th Cir. 1994), and is set forth in the Ap-

pendix at pages App. xxiii. Smith’s case originated in the

federal District Court in the District of Kansas. United States

v. Smith, Case No. 92-20011-01 (D. Kan., final judgment en-

tered May 24, 1993). The opinion of the United States District

Court for the District of Kansas denying Petitioner’s Motion

for Judgment of Acquittal or, in the Alternative, for New Trial,

was decided and filed on April 28, 1993. That opinion, United

States v. Smith, Case No. 92-20011-01 (D. Kan. April 28, 1993),

is set forth in the Appendix at pages App. xxviii- xlvii. The

Final Order of Forfeiture entered by the District Court was

filed on September 16, 1993. That opinion is set forth in the

Appendix at pages App. xIviii - xlix.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The appeal of United States v. Smith, whose review Peti-

tioner seeks, was decided by a panel of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit on January 6, 1994. United

States v. Smith, Case No. 93-3159 (10th Cir. Jan. 6, 1994). See

App. at ii-xix. Petitioner requested, and was granted, an ex-

tension of time in which to file her Petition for Rehearing. See

App. at xxv.! Said Petition, which requested rehearing by the

panel and rehearing en banc, was denied on May 13, 1994.

See App. at xxv. The U.S. Supreme Court has jurisdiction to

review this Petition for Writ of Certiorari, see 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1)

(1988).

Petitioner also seeks review of the opinion of the Tenth

Circuit filed on February 22, 1994, in which that Court affirmed

the criminal forfeiture in Petitioner’s case on the basis that it

had previously affirmed her conviction. United States v. Smith,

Case No. 93-3307 (10th Cir. Feb. 22, 1994) (hereinafter referred

‘o as “case number 93-3307”). See App. at xxiii. See Sup. Ct.

R. 12.2. The parties had, with the Court's approval, filed no

separate briefs in case number 93-3307, which the Tenth Cir-

cuit had earlier consolidated, for procedural purposes, with

Petitioner’s main appeal. See App. at xxvii.

This second appeal, case number 93-3307, was dock-

eted after Petitioner had filed a second notice of appeal, ap-

pealing the District Court's Final Order of Forfeiture. See App.

at xlvii. The forfeiture was final as to Petitioner when final

judgment was entered on May 24, 1994. However, the Court

entered the Final Order of Forfeiture after adjudication of third-

party interests. Petitioner filed her second Notice of Appeal

in the interest of caution and to preserve her position, stated

in her brief appealing her criminal conviction, that should the

’ All references to the Appendix contained with this Petition shall be to

“App. at :

2

appellate court reverse her conviction on the underlying

counts, it must necessarily reverse the criminal forfeiture as

well. Petitioner raised no separate issue as to the forfeiture.

After the Tenth Circuit issued its opinion on February

22, 1994, affirming the forfeiture on the basis that it had ear-

lier affirmed Petitioner’s criminal conviction, Petitioner did

not file a petition for rehearing as there was no issue to rehear.

As stated above, Petitioner h ed, however, a Peti-

tion for Rehearing with regard to the Opinion issued January

6, 1994. The Tenth Circuit denied that Petition on May 13,

1994. See App. at xxv.

Petitioner files this writ timely (within 90 days from

the denial of the rehearing petition, as permitted by Supreme

Court Rule 13) with regard to the January 6, 1994, opinion of

the Tenth Circuit. However, she is not within the 90-day time

period with regard to the opinion in case number 93-3307,

filed February 22, 1994. Petitioner nonetheless seeks review

of the February 22, 1994, opinion on the basis that it is closely

intertwined with the January 6, 1994, opinion, and Petitioner’s

petition is timely with regard to the latter opinion. Petitioner

also submits that the 90-day time period is not jurisdictional

in a criminal case, see, e.g., 28 U.S.C. § 2101(d). The forfeiture

at issue is a criminal forfeiture and was charged in the indict-

ment. Further, Petitioner represents that her counsel has spo-

ken with the attorney for the Government, Mr. Robin Fowler,

and he does not oppose her effort to seek review of both opin-

ions of the Tenth Circuit. If this Court were to grant this Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari and reverse Petitioner's conviction,

Petitioner asserts that the criminal forfeiture based on that

conviction similarly should be reversed as a matter of law. See

also, 18 U.S.C. § 982 (forfeiture dependent on other convic-

tion, which in this case is money laundering, which depends

on the mail fraud.)

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

United States Constitution, Amendment V states:

No person shal) be held to answer for a capital, or oth-

erwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or indict-

ment of a grand jury, except in cases arising in the land or

naval forces, or in the militia, when in actual service in time of

war or public danger; nor shall any person be subject for the

same offence to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor

shall be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness against

himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law; nor shall private property be taken for

public use, without just compensation.

United States Constitution, Amendment VI states:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of

the state and district wherein the crime shall have been com-

mitted, which district shall have been previously ascertained

by law, and to be informed of the nature and cause of the

accusations; to be confronted with the witnesses against him;

to have compulsory process for obtaining witnesses in his fa-

vor, ait »») have the assistance of counsel for his defense.

STATEMENT OF CASE

A. Procedural Statement of the Case

This prosecution concerned an alleged scheme to use

a travel agency to issue supposedly fraudulent tickets, refunds,

and exchange notices for the purpose of depriving the air-

lines of money that they claimed belonged to them. On April

22, 1992, the Government filed a Superseding Indictment

charging Defendant Brenda Lu Smith, along with four oth-

ers, with conspiring to fraudulently use the access or account

codes of Globemaster Travel to obtain more than $500,000.00

4

in airline tickets and refund checks, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§§ 371 and 1029(b)(2). The Superseding Indictment also

charged Smith with two counts of mail fraud in violation of

18 U.S.C. § 1341, three counts of money laundering in viola-

tion of 18 U.S.C. §§ 1957 and 2, one count of criminal forfei-

ture pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 982(b)(1), and one count of fail-

ure to file a corporate income tax return in violation of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7203.

Prior to trial, the District Court dismissed Count I on

the basis that it failed to state an offense because there was no

allegation that the defendants obtained the access devices or

account codes with fraudulent intent. After a four-week trial,

a jury convicted Smith of the remaining counts. The District

Court subsequently granted Smith an acquittal on the tax

count on the basis that the evidence was insufficient for a con-

viction. United States v. Smith, Case No. 92-20011-01 (D. Kan.

Apr. 28, 1993); App. at xxviii.

On May 20, 1993, the District Court sentenced Smith

to 48 months in prison, three years supervised release, and

imposed a special assessment of $250.00 and a fine of

$75,000.00. The Court entered final judgment on May 24, 1993,

and the Defendant filed a timely Notice of Appeal on that

same day.

After the Defendant filed her opening brief in the Tenth

Circuit, but before the appellate court issued any ruling, the

District Court entered a Final Order of Forfeiture on Septem-

ber 16, 1993. See App. at xlviii. The Final Order of Forfeiture

was entered pursuant to the provisions of 21 U.S.C. § 853(n)

and was issued after notice to third parties with a potential

interest in the $128,177.00 forfeited by the Defendant. (These

funds were forfeited via a criminal forfeiture count brought

as Count VII of the Superseding Indictment.) Because the

forfeiture was final as to the Petitioner at the time the District

Court entered its final judgment on May 24, 1994, Petitioner

believed that it was not necessary for her to file a second no-

tice of appeal stating her intent to appeal from the forfeiture

order. However, in the exercise of caution, she elected to filea

second notice of appeal. Petitioner thus had two appeals dock-

eted in the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals. The Tenth Circuit

consolidated these appeals for procedural purposes. See App.

at xxvii.

On January 6, 1994, the Tenth Circuit entered its opin-

ion affirming the jury’s verdict. United States v. Smith, 13 F.2d

1421 (10th Cir. 1994); see App. at ii - xix. Petitioner timely

requested a two-week extension of time in which to file her

Petition for Rehearing. On February 2, 1994, she filed her

Petition for Rehearing by the panel and her suggestion for

rehearing en banc.

On February 22, 1994, the Tenth Circuit filed a second,

one-paragraph opinion, which affirmed the District Court's

Final Order of Forfeiture on the basis that the Tenth Circuit

had earlier affirmed the Petitioner’s conviction. See App. at

xxiii. The Petitioner did not file a Petition for Rehearing with

regard to the February 22, 1994, Order, as there was no issue

to rehear with regard to this opinion.

On May 13, 1994, the Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals

granted Petitioner’s Motion for Extension of Time in which to

File Her Petition for Rehearing with regard to the January 6,

1994, opinion. See App. at xxv. In this same order, the Tenth

Circuit denied Petitioner’s Petition for Rehearing by the panel

and her suggestion for rehearing en banc. See App. at xxv.

This order applied only to the opinion filed on January 6, 1994.

Petitioner submits this Petition for Writ of Certiorari

seeking review of both the January 6, 1994, and the February

22, 1994, opinions of the Tenth Circuit. Although she is within

the 90-day period allotted by Rule 13 with regard to the Janu-

ary 1994 opinion (as measured from the May 13, 1994, denial

of her Petition for Rehearing), she is not timely with regard to

the February 22, 1994, opinion. However, Petitioner seeks

review of both opinions because they are closely intertwined

and the decision in the February 22, 1994, opinion is, in fact,

dependent upon the decision rendered in the January 6, 1994,

opinion. For a fuller discussion of Petitioner’s reasons for

seeking a review of both opinions, she refers this Honorable

Court to the discussion that appears under the heading “State-

ment of Jurisdiction,” supra.

B. Factual Statement of the Case

The charges in this case arose from the Petitioner’s

operation of the Globemaster Travel Agency in Overland Park,

Kansas, and her alleged efforts to devise and direct a scheme

to defraud foreign and domestic airlines by purchasing nu-

merous airline tickets on a credit card or for cash, then claim-

ing multiple refunds for individual tickets. The evidence pre-

sented at trial showed that Petitioner purchased Globemaster

Travel in 1978 and sold the agency to local investors seven

years later. After the sale, she continued to manage the

agency’s affairs. Globemaster Travel was a member of the

Airline Reporting Corporation (ARC), an intermediary that

assists in the transmission of paperwork and funds between

the airlines and travel agencies. ARC provided Globemaster

with the items that it needed to sell tickets, including blank

ticket stock, access to reservations terminals, and an account

number with which to validate tickets. Each week,

Globemaster was required to mail to ARC a report of its cash

and credit sales, its refunds, ticket exchanges and earned com-

missions. From the documentation provided, ARC would de-

termine the net amount of money Globemaster owed to the

airlines. ARC was responsible for collecting and transmitting

the proceeds of cash transactions, but did not collect funds

7

for credit card sales, as credit transactions were handled by

the agency, the credit card company, and the airline. From

the weekly reports, ARC determined how much the agency

owed each airline, deducting from the total cash sales the

amount of total cash refunds and commissions. ARC would

then withdraw funds from the travel agency's bank account,

based on a weekly draft authorization provided with the re-

port to ARC. The net proceeds would then be distributed to

the various airlines whose tickets were sold by the agency.

At trial, the Government offered evidence seeking to

prove that Smith and Globemaster Travel employees acting

at her direction wrote fraudulent foreign airline tickets that

they subsequently claimed had been refunded. The Govern-

ment offered evidence showing that the amount of foreign

ticket refunds exceeded the amount of foreign ticket sales

claimed. The Government alleged that this was accomplished

by Globemaster employees who claimed multiple refunds for

each ticket. This created a so-called “pool of credits” in the

form of monies that should have been withdrawn by ARC

but were not. This “pool” was then supposedly tapped by

the writing and cashing in of fraudulent domestic airline tick-

ets.

In early May 1989, Smith purchased six foreign airline

tickets using her personal American Express card. These tick-

ets were issued in names other than Brenda Smith’s name.

The total gross purchase price of these tickets was $50,802.82.

Because these tickets were reported to ARC as credit card sales,

ARC did not withdraw money from the Globemaster account

and the airlines were paid directly by American Express.

Over the next four weeks, Globemaster Travel issued

12 foreign airline tickets, again in the name of fictitious pas-

sengers. These 12 tickets were reported to the ARC as cash

sales and, thus, were paid for when the ARC withdrew the

8

appropriate amount of funds from Globemaster’s bank ac-

count. The gross purchase price of the 12 tickets was

$105,694.62.

On the ARC weekly reports, these 18 tickets were sub-

sequently reported as cash refunds. In any particular week,

the amount of cash ticket sales reported to ARC would be

offset by the amount of reported refunds, and ARC would

thus withdraw less money to reflect the refunds. According

to evidence presented by the government, these original 18

conjunctive tickets were used to support the issuance of an

additional 78 foreign airline tickets. This was accomplished

by the alleged splitting of the original 18 tickets. For instance,

one multiple-coupon, multiple-leg ticket would be treated as

if it were several tickets and would be refunded multiple times,

each time for the total ticket price.

The government presented evidence showing that the

alleged splitting of tickets resulted in the creation of a “pool

of credits” in Globemaster Travel’ s account. This pool of credits

was then accessed by the issuance of domestic airline tickets

that were cashed in by persons who testified that they acted

at the direction of Petitioner. Tickets were issued by the travel

agency and were reported as cash sales; thus, ARC withdrew

money out of Globemaster Travel’s bank account and paid

the domestic airlines. These domestic airline tickets were

cashed at various domestic airline counters.

Up until the last two weeks of June 1989, the domestic

airlines were paid for all tickets issued by Globemaster. How-

ever, during the last part of June 1989, the ARC “reversed”

two weekly reports of Globemaster Travel, meaning that ARC

distributed no money to the airlines for any of the tickets re-

portedly sold by Globemaster during those two weeks and

collected no money from the airlines for any cash refunds re-

ported by Globemaster during those same two weeks.

The government alleged that the so-called scheme ex-

ecuted by Smith and others supposedly acting at her direc-

tion resulted in net losses of approximately $389,230.00 to the

foreign airlines and approximately $184,533.00 to the domes-

tic airlines.

Smith testified extensively in her own defense. She

stated that she was unaware of and had no involvement in

any plan to create a “pool” of credits in the Globemaster bank

account by claiming multiple refunds for foreign airline tick-

ets. She testified that she had authorized, however, the pur-

chase of several foreign airline tickets worth approximately

$100,000.00 on her American Express card, and the subsequent

claiming of cash refunds for those same tickets so that

Globemaster could obtain the benefit of a 60-day payment

period available for the use of the credit card. She stated that

when Globemaster began to experience cash flow problems

and owed money to two banks, she developed a plan to use

her American Express card to purchase tickets that would not

be used for travel and would be reported to ARC as cash re-

funds, with the refund amount being used to reduce the

weekly liability to ARC. The Petitioner testified that she did

not intend to steal any money, and simply intended to access

her American Express card to obtain a legitimate 60-day credit

float. Petitioner further testified that she kept proper records

for these tickets, that she considered herself a legitimate cus-

tomer of the airlines, and that she had intended to keep using

credit available through American Express until the agency’s

cash flow improved and she was able to pay the outstanding

balance on the credit card.

Petitioner offered a proper good faith defense instruc-

tion, which was denied by the district court on the basis that

her defense was more properly characterized as denial, rather

than good faith. See App. at xxviii, xii - xliii, | - li.

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. WHETHER A DEFENDANT IN A COMPLEX FRAUD

CASE CAN PROPERLY BE DENIED A GOOD FAITH DE-

FENSE INSTRUCTION ON THE BASIS THAT HER

STATED GOOD FAITH BELIEFS DO NOT PERTAIN TO

ALL ACTS ALLEGED BY THE GOVERNMENT, EVEN

THOUGH THE DEFENDANT DENIED PARTICIPATING

IN SOME ACTS, AND STATED THAT SHE OPERATED

ON A GOOD FAITH BASIS WITH REGARD TO OTHER

ACTS; AND WHETHER SUCH DENIAL VIOLATES THE

FIFTH AND SIXTH AMENDMENTS TO THE CONSTI-

TUTION.

Granting of a Petition for Writ of Certiorari is proper,

inter alia, when a United States Court of Appeals has rendered

a decision that is in conflict with a decision of this Court or

has decided an important question of federal law which has

not been, but should be, settled by this Court. In this case,

Petitioner asserts that the Tenth Circuit, without authority or

precedent, has announced an extraordinary new rule that dra-

matically restricts the availability of the good faith defense in

complex fraud cases. See, United States v. Smith, 13 F.3d 1421

(10th Cir. 1994); App. at ii - xix. In essence, a panel of the

Tenth Circuit held that a defendant is not entitled to a good

faith defense instruction in a mail fraud case unless the

defendant's stated good faith beliefs pertain to all, or nearly

all, of the acts alleged by the Government. This rule necessar-

ily precludes a defendant from denying participation in some

of the alleged acts if he or she also wishes to rely on a good

faith defense.

Petitioner asserts that the Tenth Circuit’s decision is

inconsistent with this Court’s decision in Matthews v. United

States, 485 U.S. 58 (1988), which held that defendant raising

an entrapment defense is entitled to an instruction as to that

11

defense even if it is logically inconsistent with another de-

fense raised by the defendant. Id. at 63-66. If a defendant is

entitled to an instruction on a defense that is logically incon-

sistent with another defense he has raised, then he also must

be entitled to instructions on two separate defenses that go to

separate aspects of the Government's evidence. Petitioner

further submits that the Tenth Circuit's rule, as announced in

Smith, also transgresses a defendant's constitutional rights to

due process and a fair trial, in that it interferes with a

defendant's ability to mount a defense of his or her choosing.

It is unquestioned that the defendant has the right to

select a theory of defense and to present relevant evidence in

support of that theory. The defendant may even present in-

consistent defenses. See, e.g., Matthews, 485 U.S. at 64; Arcoren

v. United States, 929 F.2d 1235, 1245 (8th Cir. 1991), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 312 (1991). It also is unquestioned that the defen-

dant has the right to have the jury instructed on his theory of

defense, provided that he proffered a proper instruction and

the instruction finds some support in the evidence. Matthews,

485 U.S. at 63. See also United States v. Scafe, 822 F.2d 928, 932

(10th Cir. 1987). The defendant's entitlement to a proper in-

struction is so complete that this Court held in Matthews that

the defendant may obtain a proper instruction on a particular

theory of defense (entrapment) even when that theory is flatly

inconsistent with another defense (denial) raised by the de-

fendant. Matthews, 485 U.S. at 63-66. See also United States v.

Sullivan, 919 F.2d 1403, 1417-18 (10th Cir. 1990) (following

Matthews).

In direct conflict with basic, well-established principles,

the Tenth Circuit has declared, in essence, that a defendant

cannot obtain a good faith defense instruction unless the

defendant's stated good faith beliefs hew to the parameters

of the alleged fraudulent scheme — regardless of whether the

defendant admits participating in all aspects of the alleged

12

scheme. Specifically, the Tenth Circuit stated:

Implicit in our formulation of the good faith

defense to charges of mail fraud is the require-

ment that for there to be “‘sufficient’ evidence

to support the theory,” Hopkins, 744 F.2d at 717,

the quantum of evidence must embrace the

general contours of the fraudulent scheme al-

leged by the government.

United States v. Smith, 13 F.3d 1421 (10th Cir. 1994); App. at ix.

(citation omitted). The Tenth Circuit further stated:

To be entitled to a good faith defense instruc-

tion in a mail fraud prosecution, therefore, the

defendant’s evidence, if believed, must have

the capacity to rebut all evidence of false and

misleading conduct, all failures to disclose that

which should have been disclosed and all mat-

ters that deceive and were intended to deceive

another. A benign explanation of only some of

the acts is insufficient... ..

App. at xii.

These statements directly and necessarily collide with

bedrock principles of constitutional jurisprudence. Implicit

in the Fifth and Sixth Amendment's guarantees of due pro-

cess and a fair trial is the defendant's right to present his de-

fense theory to the jury and to obtain an instruction on any

recognized defense if that defense has some support in the

evidence, even though that support may be insubstantial. See,

e.g., Whipple v. Duckworth, 957 F.2d 418, 423 (7th cir. 1992), cert.

denied, 113 S. Ct. 218 (1992). A defendant cannot be deprived

of the right to have the jury instructed on a particular defense

on the basis that this defense extends only to some of the acts

alleged by the government. Particularly in a complex case,

13

such as one involving mail fraud, the defendant may deny

involvement with certain acts, while admitting to his good

faith participation in other acts. Certainly, it is not inconceiv-

able in such a case that a defendant could truthfully deny

participation in certain aspects of an alleged scheme. There is

simply no basis for an appellate court to single out the de-

fense of good faith and subject it to a requirement that does

not apply to any other defense.

The constitutional infirmity of the Tenth Circuit's hold-

ing is most graphically illustrated in a case such as Smith’s, in

which the jury could have convicted the defendant purely on

the basis of the acts in which she admitted participation, if it

concluded that her participation was with fraudulent intent.

In sum, Smith’s defense was two-pronged: (1) that

the multiple refunding of tickets, if it occurred, was the work

of others at the agency; and (2) that she did nothing more

than use her American Express card in good faith to obtain a

legitimate credit “float” to improve cash flow and never in-

tended to do anything illegal. Under the instructions given

— which correctly informed the jury that the government, to

prove mail fraud, need not prove that the scheme caused ac-

tual loss — the jury could have set aside the extensive and

complex evidence on the airlines’ losses and convicted Smith

simply on the basis of the acts in which she admitted partici-

pation, if it concluded that her participation was with fraudu-

lent intent.

Although Smith's intent was squarely at issue, the

Tenth Circuit held that because her good faith beliefs did not

pertain to all acts alleged, she was not entitled to a good faith

defense instruction. The appeals court further explained its

reasoning:

—_————_- -se- war -C s ———

14

If the only evidence presented by the govern-

ment was the use by Smith of her American

Express card in the purchase of six foreign con-

junctive tickets, she probably would have been

entitled to the good faith defense instruction

to the mail fraud charges. But the government

presented more evidence, much more. The

government's evidence showed that Smith’s

plan, if believed by a jury, included purchase

of 12 of the 18 foreign conjunctive tickets with

cash from Globemaster’s bank account. This

use of cash to buy 12 tickets was in no way

explained, excused, or mitigated by the use of

a credit card to purchase six tickets. Thus, even

if the jury would have accepted the Appellant's

reasons for the use of the credit card, her evi-

dence would not have negated the accusations

of misrepresentation in the obtaining of 12 of

the 18 tickets.

App. at xi. In this paragraph, the Tenth Circuit includes a

critical phrase — “if believed by the jury” — but neglects its

import. The jury, of course, was free to believe the testimony

of Government witnesses or to believe Smith’s testimony that

she was not involved in the cash purchase of 12 of the 18 for-

eign conjunctive tickets. It is the essence of a jury trial that

matters of credibility are left for the jury, and not the court, to

decide. United States v. Pinalto, 771 F.2d 457, 459 (10th Cir.

1985). Significantly, in Matthews, this Court cited an appellate

case stating that even when inconsistent testimony by a de-

fendant claiming entrapment seriously impairs or destroys

his credibility, the jury should still be instructed as to the in-

consistent defense of entrapment if enough evidence supports

it. 485 U.S. at 65-66 (citing United States v. Demma, 523 F.2d

981, 985 (9th Cir. 1975) (en banc)).

The Tenth Circuit’s new rule restricting the availabil-

ity of the good faith defense not only raises serious constitu-

15

tional concerns, but also cannot be reconciled with extensive

case law. It is widely recognized that a defendant's good faith

beliefs may pertain to one count but not another, see, e.g., United

States v. Haddock, 956 F.2d 1534, 1546 (10th Cir. 1992), on re-

hearing in part, 961 F.2d 933 (10th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113

S. Ct. 88 (1992), or that the defendant's claims of entrapment

may run to one count but not others, see, e.g., United States v.

Cruz, 783 F.2d 1470, 1473 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 476 U.S.

1174 (1986). Courts have explicitly approved instructions that

permitted the jury to find that the defendant was entrapped

as to certain transactions but not as to others. See Cruz, 783

F.2d at 1473; see also United States v. Evans, 910 F.2d 790, 801

(11th Cir. 1990) (district court justified in refusing to give an

entrapment instruction with regard to a tax fraud count al-

though it had given one with regard to an extortion count),

aff'd, 112 S. Ct. 1881 (1992).

The observation that a particular defense may apply

to certain alleged acts but not to others logically should ex-

tend to cases in which multiple acts are alleged under the ru-

bric of “fraudulent scheme” and are charged in a single count.

In a mail fraud case, individual counts are charged not on the

basis of separable fraudulent acts but on the basis of indi-

vidual mailings made in furtherance of the alleged scheme.

See 18 U.S.C. § 1341. Just as a defendant may rely on entrap-

ment as to one count but not another, a defendant in a mail

fraud case may deny involvement in certain acts that are part

of the alleged scheme while also admitting his good faith par-

ticipation in other acts. Certainly, there is no inconsistency

here, logical or otherwise.

As stated above, courts have permitted the defendant

to obtain instructions on the inconsistent defense. In Matthews,

this Court held that a defendant was entitled to an entrap-

ment instruction even though a jury could not logically con-

16

clude that the defendant had both failed to commit the ele-

ments of the offense and been entrapped. 485 U.S. 63-66. This

Court observed that federal appellate cases have permitted

the raising of inconsistent defenses. Id. at 64 (citing Johnson v.

United States, 426 F.2d 651, 656 (D.C. Cir. 1970); Womack v.

United States, 336 F.2d 959 (D.C. Cir. 1964)). Although the

raising of inconsistent defenses may be a grave strategic error

and may seriously impair the defendant's credibility, the va-

lidity of the defendant's testimony is a matter for the jury,

and not the court, to decide. See Matthews, 485 U.S. at 65.

“We are simply not persuaded by the government's arguments

that we should make the availability of an instruction on en-

trapment where the evidence justifies it subject to a require-

ment of consistency to which no other such defense is sub-

ject.” Id. at 66. See also United States ex. rel. Eaglin v. Welborn,

815 F. Supp. 1181, 1183-84 (C.D. Ill. 1993).

If a defendant is entitled to an instruction on his en-

trapment defense even when that defense is inconsistent with

his denial of one or more elements of the crime, then certainly

Smith, whose version of the facts contained no logical incon-

sistency, was entitled to an instruction on good faith.

When a trial court refuses to give an instruction ona

defense that is supported in the evidence the result is “‘trial

by the judge, rather than trial by ajury.’” United States ex. rel.

Everette v. Roth, 808 F. Supp. 1332, 1337 (N.D. Ill. 1992). The

refusal dilutes the defendant's jury trial by removing the is-

sue from the jury's consideration, Whipple, 957 F.2d at 423,

and thus may violate the Fifth and Sixth Amendments. Id.;

Roth, 808 F. Supp. at 1337.

The Tenth Circuit attempts to reinforce its holding by

referring to other acts that Smith committed which it labels as

fraudulent. See App. at xi - xii. These activities included issu-

ing domestic airline tickets under false names and authoriz-

17

ing weekly reports to the Airline Reporting Corporation that

contained false information regarding customer purchases and

refunds. Id. In fact, Smith testified extensively that she per-

formed these acts in good faith as she viewed herself as a

legitimate customer of the airlines entitled to purchase the

tickets that she bought. Again, Smith’s testimony concerns

her good faith and lack of fraudulent intent.

When the Tenth Circuit cited these acts in support of

its conclusion that Smith was not entitled to a good faith de-

fense instruction, it simply begged the ultimate question. It

is the jury’s role, not the court’s, to decide whether the defen-

dant formulated and executed a fraudulent plan. To contend

that the defendant does not deserve a good faith instruction

because she committed fraud assumes the very fact the jury

is there to decide. See United States v. Opdahl, 930 F.2d 1530,

1535 (11th Cir. 1991).

The Tenth Circuit also erred in applying the wrong

standard by which to view the evidence. In essence, the ap-

pellate court appears to have viewed the evidence in the light

most favorable to the verdict. However, the law is clear that

in determining the defendant's entitlement to a theory-of-de-

fense instruction, the court is to view the evidence in the light

most favorable to the defendant. See, e.g., United States v. Allen,

798 F.2d 985, 1005 (7th Cir. 1986) (to merit instruction on de-

fense of coercion, defendant “need only meet a minimal show-

ing and [his/her] evidence should be taken as true”). Numer-

ous cases establish that a defendant seeking a theory-of-de-

fense instruction does not face a formidable task. As long as

there is “some” or “any” foundation to support a proffered

defense instruction that correctly states the law, the District

Court must give the instruction. Opdahl, 930 F.2d at 1535;

United States v. Cordova-Larios, 907 F.2d 40, 42 (5th Cir. 1990)

(defendant entitled to theory of defense instruction if there is

18

“any foundation” in the evidence); United States v. Casperson,

773 F.2d 216, 223 n.12 (8th Cir. 1985) (defendant entitled to

theory-of-defense instruction even if supporting evidence is

“weak, inconsistent, or of doubtful credibility”); Roth, 808 F.

Supp. at 1338. See also United States v. Hopkins, 744 F.2d 716,

717-18 (10th Cir. 1984).

The focus of a good faith defense is on the defendant's

actual good faith beliefs, not what reasonable persons might

have believed, or what such persons might believe with the

benefit of hindsight as to the practicality of the scheme or plan.

See Hopkins, 744 F.2d at 718; see also Cheek v. United States, 111

S. Ct. 604, 611 (1991). A review of the record establishes that

Smith adduced adequate evidence of her good faith beliefs to

support a good faith instruction.

Smith submits that her entitlement to the good faith

instruction was clear. She further submits that the Tenth

Circuit's conclusion that she did not deserve a good faith de-

fense instruction because her good faith beliefs did not en-

compass all acts alleged by the government transgresses her

constitutional rights and cannot be squared with extensive

case law, including this Court's opinion in Matthews. A de-

fendant in a fraud case should not be forced to admit to all

acts alleged in order to obtain the benefit of a good faith de-

fense instruction.

In sum, Smith submits that this Court should grant

her Petition for Writ of Certiorari because wf: (1) the excep-

tional importance of this issue in federal fraud prosecutions;

and (2) the fact that the Tenth Circuit's opinion runs afoul of

constitutional guarantees and cannot be squared with

Matthews and other case law.

19

CONCLUSION

In this Petition for Writ of Certiorari, Petitioner respect-

fully requests that this Court determine whether a defendant

in a complex fraud case can properly be denied a good faith

defense instruction on the basis that her stated good faith be-

liefs do not pertain to all acts alleged by the government, even

though the defendant denied participation in some acts and

stated that she operated on a good faith basis with regard to

other acts. By submitting this Petition for Writ of Certiorari,

Petitioner respectfully requests that this Court resolve the in-

herent conflict that exists between the Tenth Circuit’s opinion

in United States v. Smith and this Court's opinion in Matthews

v. United States. Petitioner also asserts that this issue is an

important question of federal law that implicates the Fifth and

Sixth Amendments of the Constitution.

WHEREFORE, for the foregoing reasons, Petitioner

respectfully requests this Court grant her Petition for Writ of

Certiorari as to both decisions of the Tenth Circuit Court of

Appeals, case numbers 93-3159 and 93-3307, as described in

her Statement of Jurisdiction.

Respectfully submitted,

WYRSCH ATWELL MIRAKIAN LEE

& HOBBS, P.C.

JAMES R. WYRSCH (MO # 20730)

(Counsel of Record)

CHERYL A. PILATE ( MO # 42266)

1101 WALNUT, SUITE 1300

KANSAS CITY, MISSOURI 64106

(816) 221-0080 TEL

(816) 221-3280 FAX

App. i

INDEX TO APPENDIX

Page

United States v. Smith, Case No. 93-3159

(10th Cir. Jan. 6, 1994), Opinion ...............ccscceeeeeees ii

United States v. Smith, Case No. 93-3159

(10th Cir. Jan. 6, 1994), Judgment .............ccccscseseeeee xx

United States v. Smith, Case No. 93-3307

(10th Cir. Feb. 22, 1994) Order and Judgment .... xxiii

United States v. Smith, Case No. 93-3159

(10th Cir. May 13, 1994)

Onder Demyinig RenGartng: .......0.0.cceceseccaseceseseseceseses XXV

United States v. Smith, Case Nos. 93-3159, 93-3307

(10th Cir. Sept. 29, 1993)

Order Consolidating Cases ...........:.ccccccssescssseseeees XxVii

United States v. Smith, Case No. 92-20011-01

(D. Kan. April 28, 1993)

Memorandum and Order ..........:ccccccccssssesseesceneee XXxViii

United States v. Smith, Case No. 92-20011-01

(D. Kan. Sept. 16, 1993)

PPE CONTI OF POUGINAIIO ona cicccccecacoeccsncensnsonsisess xI viii

App.ii

PUBLISH

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

[FILED: 1/6/94]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, )

Plaintiff-Appellee, )

)

v. )

BRENDA LU SMITH, )

)

Defendant-Appellant. )

Appeal from the United States District Court

For the District of Kansas

(D.C. No. 92-20011-01)

Julie A. Robinson, Assistant United States Attorney (Randall

K. Rathbun, United States Attorney, with her on the brief),

Kansas City, Kansas for Appellee.

James R. Wyrsch (Ronald D. Lee, Cheryl A. Pilate, with him

on the brief), of Wyrsch, Atwell, Mirakian, Lee & Hobbs, P.C.,

Kansas City, Missouri, for Appellant.

eae nee tia

= nah aetna nisn/ mea

App.iii

Before: BALDOCK, ALDISERT“, and BRORBY, Circuit Judges.

ALDISERT, Circuit Judge.

In this appeal by Brenda Lu Smith from her convic-

tion for mail fraud and money laundering, the major ques-

tion for decision is whether she was entitled to a “good faith”

jury instruction as a defense to charges of using the mails to

defraud. We hold that she was not.

We must decide also whether the district court erred

in including the word “attempt” in the mail fraud jury in-

struction, in failing to dismiss several counts of the indict-

ment for lack of specificity and in failing to properly apply

the Sentencing Guidelines’ grouping requirements and pro-

hibition against double counting. We will affirm the judg-

ment of the district court in all respects.

Jurisdiction was proper in the trial court based on 18

U.S.C. § 3231. This court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 1291. The appeal was timely filed under Rule 4(b) of the

Federal Rules of Appellate Procedure.

* Ruggero J. Aldisert, United States Circuit Judge for the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit, sitting by designation.

App.iv

Appellant Smith was indicted for her participation in

a scheme to defraud foreign and domestic airlines of thou-

sands of dollars. She was charged with two counts of mail

fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1341, three counts of money

laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1957 and one count of

forfeiture pursuant to 26 U.S.C. § 7203. Several other counts

were dismissed prior to trial.

The Appellant's arrest and conviction stemmed from

her operation of Globemaster Travel, a travel agency in Lenexa,

Kansas. Globemaster Travel was originally owned by Smith

and later sold to local investors, although she stayed on as

manager. Globemaster was a member of the Airline Report-

ing Corporation, an intermediary organization that assists in

the transmission of paperwork and funds between the air-

lines and travel agencies.

Globemaster was required to mail to Airline Report-

ing each week a report of its cash and credit sales, credit card

refunds, cash refunds, ticket exchanges and earned commis-

sions. From the documentation provided, Airline Reporting

would determine the net amounts due Globemaster or owed

by it to the various airlines. Thus, the reporting of ticket re-

funds by a travel agency to Airline Reporting created a credit

in favor of the agency tantamount to a bank deposit. Simi-

larly, the reporting of a ticket sale was equivalent to a debit or

withdrawal.

Evidence was presented at trial showing that between

May 8, 1989 and June 7, 1989, Smith purchased eighteen air-

line tickets in names other than her own for multiple-leg travel

in foreign countries. These tickets consisted of several ticket

coupons printed in two or more ticket booklets. These multi-

leg tickets are known in the trade as “conjunctive tickets.”

App.v

Smith and several employees under her direction re-

ported as refunded each coupon of these conjunctive tickets.

Globemaster was credited with the entire purchase price each

time a coupon from the conjunctive ticket was reported as

refunded. Asa result, each foreign ticket was refunded mul-

tiple times, creating a pool of credits in Globemaster’s bank

account far exceeding the actual value of the conjunctive tick-

ets originally issued and far exceeding the credit to which

Globemaster was entitled. For example, if a conjunctive ticket,

issued for a total cost of $3,000, contained five separate ticket

coupons, by redeeming each coupon for the total amount of

$3,000, Globemaster stood to receive $15,000 as credit refunds

for a conjunctive ticket for which it was entitled to only $3,000.

This was a classic case of “cooking the books.”

In addition, some of the original eighteen conjunctive

tickets were exchanged for additional conjunctive tickets,

which were then split and either reported as refunded or ex-

changed for still more multi-leg tickets.

In the second stage of the scheme, the Appellant or

her employees drew upon the pool of credits created by the

multiple refunding of conjunctive tickets by issuing tickets

for travel in the United States on domestic airlines. These

domestic tickets were reported as cash sales, and Airline Re-

porting debited the pool of credits in Globemaster’s account

to show payment for the domestic tickets. Subsequently, the

Appellant, together with some friends and various employ-

ees operating under her direction, redeemed these domestic

tickets at airline ticket counters located in various airports

throughout the United States, receiving cash or refund checks.

The government presented evidence at trial that the

Appellant’s scheme resulted in a loss of approximately

$389,230.22 to the foreign airlines and approximately

$184,533.50 to the domestic airlines. Evidence was also pre-

a sn ip a one nr ra tg Spe ete

;

¥

}

i

App.vi

sented that the Appeilant used the mails to effectuate her

scheme. Each week, she had her employees mail to Airline

Reporting’s processing center in El Paso, Texas, Globemaster

Travel’s report which contained the fraudulent tickets, refund

notices and exchange notices.

On June 28, 1989, after discovering the fraudulent ac-

tivity at Globemaster Travel, Airline Reporting dispatched

representatives to the travel agency to seize their ticket stock

and access plates. On that same day, the Appellant instructed

one of her employees, Joann Gustin, to move money out of

two of Globemaster’s bank accounts. Ms. Gustin withdrew

$12,683 from one and $115,494 from the other and deposited

funds totalling $128,177 into her own account. On July 3, 1989,

Gustin and the Appellant opened a bank account at First Na-

tional Bank of Overland Park under a new name, LeShoppe

Ltd., and deposited the entire $128,177. Within a four month

period, the Appellant allegedly used the funds to pay per-

sonal debts.

At trial, Smith testified in her own defense. She said

that she was unaware of any plan to create an inflated pool of

credits in the Globemaster bank account by claiming multiple

refunds of foreign airline tickets. She testified that she autho-

rized the purchase of only six foreign airline tickets worth

approximately $100,000 on her American Express card and

the subsequent refund of those same tickets so that

Globemaster could obtain the benefit of a 60-day float through

the use of her credit card. She contended that Globemaster

was suffering from cash flow problems and that she had de-

veloped the American Express card plan in order to reduce

Globemaster’s weekly liability to Airline Reporting. She tes-

tified that she did not intend to steal money, but to use her

American Express card to obtain a legitimate credit float

App.vii

Significantly, the government noted that, at best,

Smith’s testimony explained only six of the 18 conjunctive

tickets which formed the basis of the prosecution. The re-

maining 12 tickets were purchased with cash from

Globemaster’s account.

The Appellant was tried before a jury which returned

a verdict of guilty on December 3, 1992 on all six counts and a

special verdict ordering forfeiture on the remaining count. The

court sentenced Smith to 48 months in prison, 3 years super-

vised release, imposed a special assessment of $250 and im-

posed a fine of $75,000.

After her trial, Smith unsuccessfully moved for a judg-

ment of acquittal or, in the alternative, for a new trial on sev-

eral grounds, some of which she has raised again on appeal.

Il.

On appeal, Smith contends that the district court com-

mitted reversibie error by failing to give her requested good

faith instruction concerning the mail fraud counts; that it com-

mitted plain error by including the word “attempt” in certain

ins*ructions dealing with mail fraud and by failing to give a

specific unanimity instruction; that it erred by failing to dis-

miss Counts Two and Three of the indictment for failure to

state an offense or, in the alternative, for failure to grantanew

trial; and that it erred when it applied the sentencing guide-

lines by failing to group the mail fraud and money launder-

ing offenses pursuant to U.S.S.G. § 3D1.2and by double count-

ing.

The appropriate standard of review for challenges to

jury instructions is whether the jury, considering the instruc-

tions as a whole, was misled. United States v. Mullins, 4 F.3d

898, 900 (10th Cir. 1993). Only where the reviewing court has

“substantial doubt that the jury was fairly guided” will the

App.viii

judgment be disturbed. Id. We apply a de novo standard of

review to determine the propriety of an individual jury in-

struction to which objection was made at trial. United States v.

Sasser, 974 F.2d 1544, 1551 (10th Cir. 1992), cert. denied, 113 S.

Ct. 1063 (1993).

Where no objection was made to the giving of a jury

instruction or its contents, we review only under the plain

error standard. United States v. Uresti-Hernandez, 968 F.2d 1042,

1046 (10th Cir. 1992). Plain error, in this context, is error that

affects the defendant's right to a fair and impartial trial. Id.

Similarly, we review a court's failure to instruct a jury for plain

error if the defendant fails to raise the contention at trial. Linited

States v. Brown, 996 F.2d 1049, 1052 (10th Cir. 1993). In order

to constitute plain error, the district court’s error must have

been both “obvious and substantial.” Id. at 1053.

We review a district court’s order granting or denying

a motion to dismiss an indictment for abuse of discretion.

United States v. Strayer, 846 F.2d 1262, 1265 (10th Cir. 1988).

Under the Federal Sentencing Guidelines, we review

the district court's findings of fact under the clearly errone-

ous standard and disputed legal issues under the de novo

standard. United States v. Levy, 992 F.2d 1081, 1083 (10th Cir.

1993).

III.

We have concluded that the district court did not err

by refusing to give a “good faith” instruction to the jury, be-

cause the Appellant did not present sufficient evidence to

warrant the instruction. According to the district court:

[Defendant's proffered defense is not analo-

gous to a good faith defense. Defendant basi-

cally argues that she was merely trying to float

a loan though the use of her American Express

SDT ABN CN NC OR ta

App.ix

card, and was not involved with the scheme as

alleged by the governmentat all (or that in fact

the scheme alleged by the government never

existed).

App. of Appellant at 79.

In United States v. Hopkins, 744 F.2d 716, 717 (10th Cir.

1984) (en banc), we explained that “good faith” is a defense to

charges of using the mails to defraud and that “if the defense

of good faith has been interposed the defendant is entitled to

an instruction directly on the issue provided there is suffi-

cient evidence to support the theory and such an instruction

is requested.” Id.

Smith contends that her extensive testimony as to her

good faith belief that she was not doing anything illegal and

that she was simply trying to access credit legitimately avail-

able on her American Express card is sufficient evidence to

warrant a good faith instruction. We disagree. Implicitin our

formulation of the good faith defense to charges of mail fraud

is the requirement that for there to be “‘sufficient’ evidence to

support the theory,” Hopkins, 744 F. 2d at 717, the quantum of

evidence must embrace the general contours of the fraudu-

lent scheme alleged by the government. See Sparrow v. United

States, 402 F.2d 826, 828 (10th Cir. 1968).

A.

Our analysis must begin with a reference to the vari-

ous components of the offense of fraud. Although fraud cov-

ers a proverbial multitude of sins, it is generically defined as:

[a]n intentional perversion of truth for the pur-

pose of inducing another in reliance upon it to

part with some valuable thing belonging to [the

other] or to surrender a legal right. A false rep-

resentation of a matter of fact, whether by

A ne ee nee iene Parmar gem -

App.x

words or by conduct, by false or misleading

allegations, or by concealment of that which

should have been disclosed, which deceives

and is intended to deceive another so that he

[or she] shall act upon it to his [or her] legal

injury.... “Bad faith” and “fraud” are syn-

onymous....

Black's Law Dictionary (5th ed. 1979).

Intent is a necessary ingredient in proving the charge

of fraud. Whether as generally construed or as specifically

applied in the case before us, the “perversion of the truth”

component has been equated with intentional misrepresenta-

tion, at least since 1889 when the House of Lords in the lead-

ing case of Derry v. Peek, 14 A.C. 337 (1889), redefined the tort

of deceit and required this specific intent:

The intent which underlies an intentional mis-

representation is a more complex matter than

the relatively simple intention in the case of

assault and battery. It involves the intent that

a representation shall be made, that it shall be

directed to a particular person or class of per-

sons, that it shall convey a certain meaning,

that it shall be believed, {] that it should be acted

upon in a certain way . . . [and that it] accom-

plish an ultimate purpose, as to benefit the [ac-

ae

W. Page Keeton, Dan B. Dobbs, Robert E. Keeton & David G.

Owen, Prosser and Keeton on the Law of Torts, § 107 (5th ed.

1984).

The good faith defense seeks to demonstrate that there

was no such intent: no misrepresentation, no intentional per-

version of the truth. Accordingly, the essence of the defense

is that the evidence presented by the defendant, if believed

by the fact finder, would completely rebut evidence that he or

she intended to defraud.

App.xi

The cumulative experience of the judiciary discloses

that the defendant charged with mail fraud is entitled to the

defense and the concomitant jury instruction only when her

evidence, if believed, demonstrates that she in good faith ac-

tually believed (1) that the plan, howsoever visionary and im-

practical, would succeed, (2) that promises made would be

kept and (3) that representations made would be fulfilled.

Hopkins, 744 F.2d at 718; United States v. Roylance, 690 F.2d 164,

168 (10th Cir. 1982); Steiger v. United States, 373 F.2d 133, 135

(10th Cir. 1967). The good faith defense was intended as a

complete defense to a charge of using the mails to defraud.

Sparrow, 402 F.2d at 828.

If the only evidence presented by the government was

the use by Smith of her American Express card in the pur-

chase of six foreign conjunctive tickets, she probably would

have been entitled to the good faith defense instruction to the

mail fraud charges. But, the government presented more evi-

dence, much more. The government's evidence showed that

Smith’s plan, if believed by the jury, included purchase of 12

of the 18 foreign conjunctive tickets with cash from

Globemaster’s bank account. This use of cash to buy 12 tick-

ets was in no way explained, excused or mitigated by the use

of a credit card to purchase six tickets. Thus, even if the jury

would have accepted the Appellant’s reasons for the use of

the credit card, her evidence would not have negated the ac-

cusations of misrepresentation in obtaining 12 of the 18 tick-

ets.

Moreover, the uncontroverted evidence disclosed that

the Appellant not only used false names for the foreign tick-

ets purchased with her American Express card, but after Air-

line Reporting credited her with the refunds of these tickets,

she also issued domestic tickets under false names and had

those tickets refunded. Subsequently, she authorized weekly

reports containing false information regarding customer pur-

App.xii

chases and refunds. These activities in themselves were

fraudulent. See, United States v. White, 673 F.2d 299, 304-05

(10th Cir. 1982) (“even if a defendant charged with fraud be-

lieved the business plan would ultimately succeed, that belief

would not justify false or baseless representations”).

To be entitled to the good faith defense instruction in

a mail fraud prosecution, therefore, the defendant's evidence,

if believed, must have the capacity to rebut all evidence of

false and misleading conduct, all failures to disclose that which

should have been disclosed and all matters that deceive and

were intended to deceive another. A benign explanation of

only some of the acts is insufficient and that is all that Brenda

Lu Smith presented. Accordingly, we conclude that the dis-

trict court did not err in refusing the instruction.

iV.

The Appellant next contends that the district court

committed plain error by including the word “attempt” in

the three instructions pertaining to mail fraud, because no

scheme involving attempt was charged in the indictment. No

objection to the instructions were made at trial. The Appel-

lant presented this contention before the district court for the

first time in her motion for a new trial. In rejecting the argu-

ment, the court noted:

The language in Instructions 8 and 9 does not

allow a jury to convict on the grounds that the

defendant “attempted” to commit mail fraud.

Rather, the instructions state that the govern-

ment must prove that the defendant knowingly

devised a scheme to obtain “or attempt to ob-

tain” money or property. This language is in

keeping with the well settled law that actual

loss is not an element of mail fraud. See United

States v. Aigbevbolle, 827 F.2d 664, 666 (10th Cir.

1987).

App.xiii

App. of Appellant at 76.

We agree. The federal mail fraud statute reads in per-

tinent part:

Whoever, having devised or intending to de-

vise any scheme or artifice to defraud, or for

obtaining money or property by means of false

or fraudulent pretenses, representations, or

promises, . .., for the purpose of executing

such scheme or artifice or attempting so to do,

places in any post office or authorized deposi-

tory for mail matter, any matter or thing what-

ever to be sent or delivered by the Postal Ser-

vice...

18 U.S.C. § 1341 (emphasis added).

The instructions are not at variance with the indict-

ment. The indictment does not state that Smith obtained or

attempted to obtain money, but that her purpose was to ob-

tain money. Having sucha purpose is consistent with devis-

ing a scheme to obtain or to attempt to obtain money. The

district court's instructions tracked the language of the stat-

ute. Accordingly, we determine that the court committed no

error.

In a related argument, the Appellant contends that the

general jury instructions requiring that the jury return a unani-

mous verdict were insufficient in this case. She admits that

general unanimity instructions “such as those given by the

district court” often suffice, but she suggests that in a case

involving mail fraud, the jurors should be instructed that they

must all agree on the existence of, and defendant's participa-

tion in, the same scheme to defraud. Brief of Appellant at 33.

Not only has the Appellant not made a specific showing of

prejudice, she cites no authority for her position, except an

article in a professional publication written by her appellate

App. xiv

counsel.! There was no request for such an instruction at trial.

Considering that the district court did provide a general una-

nimity instruction, we are persuaded that the court’s failure

to have read sua sponte Appellant counsel's interesting article

and not to have accepted its observations was not an obvious

and substantial omission and thus did not constitute plain

error.

\

\

V.

The Appellant contends also that Counts Two and

Three of the indictment lacked the specificity necessary to al-

lege a “scheme or artifice to defraud” and “obtain money or

property by false pretenses.” Her argument is anchored in

the proposition that the factual averments of these counts had

been contained in Count One, a count that was later dismissed.

The mail fraud counts incorporated by reference the factual

averments found in Count One. From this the Appellant ar-

gues that the counts on which she was convicted were infirm

because they lacked the necessary factual specificity.

The Supreme Court put this argument to rest almost a

century ago. In Crain v. United States, 162 U.S. 625, 633 (1896),

overruled on other grounds by Garland v. Washington, 232 U.S.

642 (1914), the Court held:

One count may refer to matter in a previous

count so as to avoid unnecessary repetition;

and, if the previous count be defective or is re-

jected, that circumstance will not vitiate the

remaining counts, if the reference be sufficiently

full to incorporate the matter going before with

that in the count in which the reference is made.

‘ James R. Wyrsch & Jacqueline Cook, Jury Unanimity: A Requirement of

Due Process, The Champion 18 (June 1992) (Suggesting the use of special

interrogatories to find elements of the charged offense and noting that spe-

cific “issues regarding jury unanimity may be addressed through jury in-

structions”).

App.xv

The Appellant attempts to distinguish Crain on the ground

that the trial court in that case did not dismiss certain counts

in the indictment until after the trial, whereas here Count One

was dismissed prior to trial. At least one Court of Appeals

has found this to be a distinction without a difference. United

States v. Weiner, 578 F.2d 757, 776 (9th Cir.) (dismissal of one

count of an indictment prior to trial which is referred to in the

remaining counts does not vitiate the remaining counts where

the reference is sufficient), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 981 (1978). We

agree.

We are satisfied that the government has met the two-

part test to review the sufficiency of an indictment:

“First, the indictment must contain the ele-

ments of the offense and sufficiently apprise

the defendant of what he must be prepared to

meet; second, it must be such as to show to

what extent he may plead a former acquittal

or conviction as a bar to further prosecution

for the same cause.”

United States v. Darrell, 828 F.2d 644, 647 (10th Cir. 1987) (quot-

ing United States v. Radetsky, 535 F.2d 556, 562 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 820 (1976)). This test is based upon the provi-

sions of Rule 7(c)(1) of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure,

which provides that an indictment “shall be a plain, concise

and definite written statement of the essential facts constitut-

ing the offense charged.” Rule 7(c)(1) also states that

“[a]llegations made in one count may be incorporated by ref-

erence in another count.”

VI.

Finally, the Appellant contends that the district court

committed two errors in computing her sentence: in failing to

group the mail fraud and money laundering offenses pursu-

ant to U.S.S.G. Section 3D1.2 and in improperly enhancing,

App. xvi

by impermissible double counting, Smith’s offense level un-

der both Section 2F1.1(b)(2) and Section 3B1.1(a).?_ We are not

persuaded by either argument.

A.

Section 3D1.2 provides in pertinent part:

All counts involving substantially the same

harm shall be grouped together into a single

Group. .. . Counts involve substantially the

same harm within the meaning of this rule:

(c) When one of the counts embodies conduct

that is treated as a specific offense characteris-

tic in, or other adjustment to, the guideline

applicable to another of the counts.

The Appellant argues that the mail fraud and money

laundering offenses should be grouped together under sub-

section (c) because the mail fraud count was used as a “spe-

cific offense characteristic” in the application of the guideline

section applicable to money laundering, Section 251.2(b)(1)(B).

The application notes to subsection (c) provide that “when

conduct that represents a separate count, e.g., bodily injury or

obstruction of justice, is also a specific offense characteristic

in or other adjustment to another count, the count represented

by that conduct is to be grouped with the count to which it

constitutes an aggravating factor.” Section 2S1.2 entitled “En-

gaging in Monetary Transactions in Property Derived from

Specified Unlawful Activity” provides for a two level enhance-

ment if the “defendant knew that the funds were the pro-

ceeds of: (B) any other specified unlawful activity.”

? The district court applied the 1988 Sentencing Guidelines in their entirety

to the instant sentencing. App. of Appellant at 208.

App.xvii

The Appellant contends that because the money laun-

dering offense level was adjusted based on her mail fraud,

the two offenses must be grouped together, and she analo-

gizes to United States v. Riviere, 924 F.2d 1289, 1306 (3d Cir.

1991). In Riviere, the court held that the district court should

have grouped the three firearm offenses of which the defen-

dant was convicted under Section 3D1.2. Riviere was con-

victed of possession of firearms by a felon, delivery of fire-

arms to a common carrier and possession of altered firearms.

The court reasoned that the guidelines had already provided

for an enhanced penalty for possession of a firearm by a felon

if that firearm was altered and to enhance further for posses-

sion of an altered firearm would violate Section 3D1.2.

We believe that Riviere is not applicable to the present

case and that the district court properly followed the teach-

ings of United States v. Johnson, 971 F.2d 562 (10th Cir. 1992),

where we concluded that money laundering counts should

not be grouped with wire fraud counts because there are dif-

ferent victims and separate and distinct losses. The Appel-

lant attempts to distinguish Johnson on the grounds that the

court did not address subsection (c) or the provisions of Sec-

tion 2S1.2.

We are not impressed by this argument but for the

sake of completeness we now observe that Section 251.2 re-

fers to the knowledge of the perpetrator; it does not relate to

the commission of a crime. It would seem that application of

the enhancement would be possible even if the Appellant

herself had not actually committed the mail fraud, but instead

had mere knowledge of the money's origins. The critical char-

acteristic of the money laundering offense was not the com-

mission of mail fraud, but Smith’s knowledge of it.

The district court did not err in declining to group the

money laundering and mail fraud offenses under the Sen-

tencing Guidelines.

App.xviii

B.

Finally, the Appellant contends that the district court

erred by enhancing her offense level under both Section

2F1.1(b)(2) and Section 3B1.1(a) of the Sentencing Guidelines.

She says that relying on the same acts to support two sepa-

rate guideline enhancements constitutes double counting.

Section 2F1.1(b)(2), the sentencing guideline for crimes

involving fraud or deceit, provides for a two level enhance-

ment if the offense involves “more than minimal planning.”

Section 3B1.1(a) provides a four level enhancement “|i}f the

defendant was an organizer or leader of a criminal activity

that involved five or more participants or was otherwise ex-

tensive.” The district court concluded that application of both

of these guideline enhancements was not double counting

because the “’more than minimal planning’ guideline focuses

on the nature of the offense, while the role in the offense guide-

line focuses on the size of the organization and the defendant's

relative culpability compared to others involved.” App. of

Appellant at 209.

We do not write on a clean slate here. In United States

v. Chichy, 1 F.3d 1501, 1506 (6th Cir. 1993), the court held that

a two-level enhancement for doing more than minimal plan-

ning and being organizer, leader, manager or supervisor con-

stituted impermissible double counting. The court reasoned

that once certain conduct is used to enhance a defendant's

sentence under one enhancement provision, the defendant

should not be penalized for the same conduct under a sepa-

rate provision. Id. Although Chichy supports the Appellant's

position, this holding is the minority, if not isolated, view of

the many Courts of Appeals that have also addressed this

issue. We are not persuaded to follow it.

Contrary to the holding of the Sixth Circuit Court of

Appeals, in United States v. Wong, 3 F.3d 667, 671 (3d Cir. 1993),

App. xix

the court decided that the sentencing guideline enhancements

for more than minimal planning and for acting as organizer,

leader, manager or supervisor could be applied in tandem

without constituting impermissible double counting. The

court reasoned that by doing so they were effectuating the

intent of the Sentencing commission in enacting these two

guideline provisions, Id. On the one hand, the adjustment

for more than minimal planning is “a specific offense charac-

teristic which was intended to distinguish between relatively

simple crimes and more sophisticated ones.” Id. On the other

hand, the adjustment for role in the offense “addresses con-

cerns about the relative responsibilities of those involved in

the commission of the offense, punishing those more harshly

who assume a leadership role.” Id. at 672. We believe that the

reasoning of the Third Circuit Court of Appeals is sound and

so do the other courts of Appeals who have addressed this

issue. See United States v. Balogun, 989 F.2d 20, 24 (1st Cir.

1993); United States v. Willis, 997 F.2d 407, 418 (8th Cir. 1993);

United States v. Kelly, 993 F.2d 702, 705 (9th Cir. 1993); United

States v. Boula, 932 F.2d 651, 655 (7th Cir. 1991). Accordingly,

in the view we accept, the district court did not engage in

impermissible double counting.

VII.

We have considered all contentions presented by the

Appellant. To the extent not discussed herein, any other ar-

guments must be deemed considered and rejected.

We AFFIRM the judgment of the district court.

App.xx

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, _)

)

Plaintiff - Appellee, )

) No. 93-3159

v. (D. C. No. 92-20011-01)

BRENDA LU SMITH, )

)

Defendant - Appellant. )

JUDGMENT

Entered January 6, 1994

Before BALDOCK, ALDISERT*, and BRORBY, Circuit Judges.

"The Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert, United States Circuit

Judge for the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit, sitting by designation.

This cause came on to be heard on the record on ap-

peal from the United States District Court for the District of

Kansas, and was argued by counsel.

Upon consideration whereof, it is ordered that the judg-

ment of that court is affirmed.

Entered for the Court

ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

By: /s/ PATRICK FISHER

Patrick Fisher

Chief Deputy Clerk

App.xxi

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

C404 UNITED STATES COURTHOUSE

DENVER, COLORADO 80294

(303) 844-3157

ROBERT L. HOECKER PATRICK FISHER

CLERK CHIEF DEPUTY

June 7, 1994

Mr. Ralph L. DeLoach

United States District Court for the District of Kansas

122 U.S. Courthouse

812 N. Seventh Street

Kansas City, KS 66101

Re: 93-3159, USA v. Smith

Lower docket: 92-20011-01

Dear Clerk:

In accordance with Fed. R. App. P. 41, I enclose a certi-

fied copy of the judgment and a copy of the court's opinion,

which constitute the mandate in the subject case. By direc-

tion of the court, the mandate shall be filed immediately in

the records of the trial court or agency.

The clerk will please acknowledge receipt of this man-

date by file stamping and returning the enclosed copy of this

letter. Any original record will be forwarded to you at a later

date.

App.xxii

Please call this office if you have questions.

Sincerely,

ROBERT L. HOECKER

Clerk

By: /s/

Deputy Clerk

RLH:kce

cc: Cheryl A. Pilate

Ronald D. Lee

James R. Wyrsch

Julie A. Robinson

App.xxiii

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

(FILED: 2/22/94]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, _)

Plaintiff-Appellee, ) No. 93-3307

) (D.C. No. 92-20011-01)

) (D. Kansas)

V.

)

BRENDA LU SMITH, )

Defendant-Appellant. )

ORDER AND JUDGMENT

Before BALDOCK, ALDISERT*, and BRORBY, Circuit Judges.

Brenda Lu Smith appeals the district court’s special

verdict ordering forfeiture following her conviction for two

counts of mail fraud in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1341 and three

counts of money laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1957.

The Appellant raised this issue on appeal in.order to preserve

her position that, should we reverse the underlying criminal

conviction, we must necessarily reverse the forfeiture order.

Accordingly, because we affirmed her conviction in United

States v. Smith, No. 93-3159 (10th Cir. filed January 6, 1994),

we will also affirm the order of forfeiture.

*Ruggero J. Aldisert, United States Circuit Judge for the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit, sitting by designation.

App.xxiv

Entered for the Court

/s/ RUGGERO J. ALDISERT

Ruggero J. Aldisert

Senior Circuit Judge

App.xxv

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, _)

Plaintiff - Appellee, )

¥ No. 93-3159

BRENDA LU SMITH, )

Defendant - Appellant. )

ORDER

Entered May 13, 1994

Before BALDOCK, ALDISERT*, and BRORBY, Circuit Judges.

“The Honorable Ruggero J. Aldisert, United States Circuit

Judge for the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit, sitting by designation.

This matter comes on for consideration of appellant's

motion for extension of time to file a petition for rehearing

and appellant's petition for rehearing and suggestion for re-

hearing in banc.

Upon consideration whereof, the motion for extension

of time is granted and the petition for rehearing is denied by

the panel that rendered the decision.

In accordance with Rule 35(b), Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing in banc was

transmitted to all of the judges of the court who are in regular

active service. No member of the panel and no judge in regu-

lar active service on the court having requested that the court

App.xxvi

be polled on rehearing in banc, Rule 35, Federal Rules of Ap-

pellate Procedure, the suggestion for rehearing in banc is de-

nied.

Entered for the Court

ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

By: /s/

Deputy Clerk

App.xxvii

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE TENTH CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff-Appellee,

V. 93-3307

BRENDA LU SMITH,

)

)

) Nos. 93-3159

)

)

Defendant-Appellant. )

ORDER

Filed: September 29, 1993

This matter comes on for consideration on the court's

own motion.

Upon consideration thereof it is ordered that the cap-

tioned appeals are consolidated for procedural purposes only.

It is further ordered that the appellant's opening brief

in 93-3307 shall be served and filed within 20 days of the date

of this order. The appellee shall file its answer brief within 20

days of the date of service of the appellant's opening brief.

The appellant may serve and file a reply brief by November 8,

1993. If the appellant files a reply brief, the brief must re-

ceived by the clerk’s office of this court by November 8 and

received by the appellee by November 9.

Appeal No. 93-3307 shall be submitted on the briefs to

the same panel scheduled to hear oral argument on Novem-

ber 12, 1993 of appeal No. 93-3159.

Entered for the Court

/s/ ROBERT L. HOECKER

ROBERT L. HOECKER, Clerk

App.xxviili

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF KANSAS

[FILED: 4/28/93]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Plaintiff,

Case No. 92-20011-01

BRENDA LU SMITH,

Defendant.

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

This matter is before the court on the post-trial mo-

tions of defendant Brenda Lu Smith for judgment of acquittal

or, in the alternative, for a new trial (Doc. #218)'; for reconsid-

eration of order of forfeiture (Doc. #222)"; and alternative

motion for extension of time to file notice of appeal (Doc.

#223). For the reasons set forth below, defendant’s motion

for acquittal is granted as to Count 8 due to insufficiency of

the evidence and it and her new trial motions are denied on

all other grounds.

’ Defendant was represented by counsel Cenobio Lozano from the incep-

tion of this case through the trial and filing of the motion for judgment of

acquittal. Mr Lozano has subsequently withdrawn as defendant’s coun-

sel and James Wyrsch has been retained by defendant. Mr. Wyrsch has

filed a supplemental memorandum in support of motion for acquittal (Doc.

# 247) and a second supplemental memorandum in support of motion for

judgment of acquittal (Doc. # 260). The court has considered the argu-

ments’ contained in the supplemental memorandums in this order.

? The court has reviewed the arguments contained in defendant’s motion

for reconsideration of order of forfeiture and found them to be without

merit. Accordingly, this motion shall be denied.

3 The court has determined this motion to be moot.

App.xxix

On April 22, 1992, the defendant was indicted by the

grand jury. Count 1 of the indictment charged the defendant,

along with four other co-defendants, with a conspiracy to use

unauthorized access devices obtained with intent to defraud

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1029(a)(2). Counts 2 and 3 of the

indictment charged the defendant with mail fraud in viola-

tion of 18 U.S.C. § 1341. Counts 4, 5 and 6 charged the defen-

dant with money laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§ 1957

and 2. Count 7 was a forfeiture count brought against the

defendant pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 982(b)(1). Count 8 charged

the defendant with willful failure to file a corporate income

tax return in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7203. Count 9 charged

three other defendants with a criminal conspiracy to obstruct

the collection of income tax.

Prior to trial the defendant, along with the other de-

fendants charged in the conspiracy set forth in Count 1 of the

indictment, moved for dismissal of that count. The court found

that the facts as presented in Count 1 of the indictment did

not affect a credit transaction as contemplated by 18 U.S.C. §

1029, and therefore the court dismissed Count 1 as to the vari-

ous defendants. Subsequently, the government voluntarily

dismissed the conspiracy charge contained in Count 9 of the

indictment.

The case was tried on the remaining counts to a jury,

which on December 3, 1992 returned a verdict of guilty on

Counts 2 through 6 and 8 and a special verdict ordering for-

feiture under Count 7. Defendant has moved for a judgment

of acquittal pursuant to Federal Rule of Criminal Procedure

29(c) or, in the alternative, for a new trial pursuant to Rule 33.

Defendant has also brought motions to reconsider the order

of forfeiture and to extend the time to file notice of appeal.

The government has responded to the defendant’s motions.

The parties orally argued the motions to the court at a hear-

ing on April 19, 1993, and the court is now prepared to rule.

App.xxx

I. Motion for Judgment of Acquittal or,

in the Alternative, for a New Trial

A. Sufficiency of the evidence

The defendant seeks a judgment of acquittal or, in the

alternative, a new trial because of insufficient evidence. “A

verdict in a criminal case is sustained only when there is ‘rel-

evant evidence from which the jury could properly find or

infer, beyond a reasonable doubt,’ that the accused is guilty.”

American Tobacco Co. v. United States, 328 U.S. 781, 787 n.4

(1946)(citing Mortensen v. United States, 322 U.S. 369, 374 (1944)).

“(T]he issue is whether, taken in the light most favorable to

the government, there is substantial evidence from which a

reasonable jury might properly find the defendant guilty be-

yond a reasonable doubt.” United States v. Johnson, 911 F.2d

1394, 1399 (10th Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 761 (1991).

The government is entitled to the benefit of all reasonable in-

ferences consistent with the evidence at trial. United States v.

Dickey, 736 F.2d 571, 583 (10th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

1188 (1985). “The court should enter a judgment of acquittal

only if the evidence that the defendant committed the crime

is nonexistent or so meager that no reasonable jury could find

guilt beyond a reasonable doubt.” United States v. White, 673

F.2d 299, 301 (10th Cir. 1982).

1. Counts 2 and 3

Counts 2 and 3 charged the defendant with mail fraud

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1341. The essential elements of a

mail fraud violation are: (1) the act of having devised or de-

vising a scheme or artifice to defraud or attempt to defraud,

and (2) use of the mails willfully to carry out an essential step

of the scheme to defraud. United States v. Aigbevbolle, 827 F.2d

664, 666 (10th Cir. 1987), citing United States v. Curtis, 537 F.2d

1091, 1095 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 962 (1976).

App.xxxi

The government presented voluminous evidence at

trial regarding defendant's scheme to defraud the airlines.

Evidence was presented that between May 8, 1989 and June

7, 1989, defendant purchased eighteen foreign airline tickets.

These were conjunctive tickets, which resulted in the tickets

being printed on several different coupons. Further evidence

showed that defendant and employees under defendant's

direction reported refunds to the Airline Reporting Commis-

sion (“ARC”) for each coupon of these conjunctive tickets.

This resulted in each foreign ticket being refunded multiple

times, each time refunded for the total ticket price, creating a

pool of credits in the Globemaster Travel bank account. Fur-

ther evidence was presented that some of the original eigh-

teen tickets were exchanged for still more conjunctive tickets,

which were then split and either reported as refunded or ex-

changed for still more conjunctive tickets.

The government then presented evidence that in the

second stage of her scheme defendant or employees under

her direction accessed the pool of credits created by the mul-

tiple refunding of conjunctive tickets by issuing tickets for

travel in the United States on domestic airlines. These do-

mestic tickets were reported to the ARC as cash sales, which

meant the ARC would debit the pool of credits created dur-

ing the foreign ticket phase to pay for the domestic tickets.

The government then presented evidence that defendant,

various employees under defendant's direction and friends

of defendant cashed these domestic tickets at airline ticket

counters located in various airports throughout the United

States, receiving cash or refund checks. Further evidence was

presented by the government that when the ARC discovered

the defendant's fraudulent activity, they reversed the reports

of Globemaster Travel for the weeks of June 18, 1989 and June

25, 1989. The evidence presented by the government showed

that defendant's scheme resulted in a loss of approximately

App.xxxii

$389,230.22 to the foreign airlines and approximately

$184,533.50 to the domestic airlines.

The government presented further evidence at trial that

defendant utilized the United States mails in effectuating her

scheme. Evidence was presented that each week defendant

caused her employees to mail to the ARC processing center

in El Paso, Texas, the weekly report of Globemaster Travel

which contained the fraudulent tickets, refund notices and

exchange notices. Defendant was convicted of two counts of

mail fraud for the May 14 weekly report, mailed on May 16,

and the June 11 report, mailed on June 13.

The court finds that the government presented sub-

stantial relevant evidence from which the jury could find or

infer, beyond a reasonable doubt, that defendant was guilty

of the mail fraud charges contained in Counts 2 and 3 of the

indictment.

2. Counts 4,5 and 6

Counts 4, 5 and 6 charged the defendant with aiding

and abetting money laundering in violation of 18 U.S.C. §§

1957 and 2. The elements of a § 1957 violation are that: (1) the

defendant engage or attempt to engage; (2) in a monetary

transaction; (3) in criminally derived property that is of a value

greater than $10,000; (4) knowing that the property is derived

from unlawful activity; and (5) the property is, in fact, de-

rived from “specified unlawful activity.” United States v.

Johnson, 971 F.2d 562, 567 n. 3 (10th Cir. 1992).

The government presented evidence at trial that the

ARC sent representatives to Globemaster Travel on June 28 to

seize Globemaster’s ticket stock and access plates. Evidence

was presented that on that same day Joann Gustin was in-

structed by defendant to move money out of two Globemaster

bank accounts, one at Mercantile Bank and one at Valley View

App.xxxiii

State Bank. Ms. Gustin, at the direction of defendant, with-

drew $12,683 from the Mercantile account and $115,494 from

the Valley View account.* Evidence was presented that Ms.

Gustin took the funds from these accounts in the total amount

of $128,177 and put them in her own account, at First Na-

tional Bank of Shawnee Mission, for several days. Further

evidence was presented that on July 3, 1989 Gustin and de-

fendant opened a bank account at First National Bank of Over-

land Park under a new name, LeShoppe Ltd., and deposited

the $128,177. Thereafter, within a four month period, defen-

dant spent the funds.

The court finds that the government presented sub-

stantial relevant evidence from which the jury could find or

infer, beyond a reasonable doubt, that defendant was guilty

of the money laundering charges contained in Counts 4, 5

and 6 of the indictment.

3. Count 7

The jury returned a special verdict forfeiting the

$128,177 in the money laundering counts. The defendant

objects that there was insufficient evidence that she had re-

tained the proceeds. The court finds that there was substan-

tial evidence, in the form of bank records, American Express

records and the testimony of witnesses, from which the jury

could find that defendant used the $128,177 to pay personal

debts.

4. Count 8

Count 8 charged the defendant with wilful failure to

file a corporate income tax return in violation of 26 U.S.C. §

7203. The essential elements of a § 7203 violation are: (1) that

* The government presented evidence that during the course of the mail

fraud scheme, defendant had deposited substantial funds into these two

bank accounts by way of ticket refund checks.

App.xxxiv

the defendant was a person required by law or regulation to

file a corporate return; (2) that the defendant failed to file such

return at the time required by law; and (3) that the defendant's

failure to file such return was wilful. See United States v. Dawes,

874 F.2d 746, 749 (10th Cir. 1989).

Defendant argues that there was insufficient evidence

at trial to show that defendant was a “person” required by

law or regulation to file Globemaster’s corporate income tax

return. The term “person” is defined in the Internal Revenue

Code as including “an officer or employee of a corporation . .

. who as such officer or employee . . . is under a duty to per-

form the act in respect of which the violation occurs.” 26 U.S.C.

§ 7343.

The government contends that three separate areas of

evidence were sufficient to establish that defendant had a duty

to file the corporate tax return for Globemaster. These are: (1)

that defendant, by filing an application for extension of time

to file a corporate income tax return for GMT Tours, Inc., ac-

knowledged her duty to file a corporate income tax return on

its behalf; (2) that several Globemaster employees testified at

trial that defendant was a signatory on the corporate bank

accounts and had full control of the financial affairs of the

business; and (3) that Abe Gustin, the owner of Globemaster,

testified that he was not involved in the day to day opera-

tions of Globemaster.

The court finds that the evidence was insufficient to

support the jury’s verdict on Count 8. The government pre-

sented no historical evidence that defendant had prepared the

corporate tax returns in the past or that she had been respon-

sible for their preparation. See United States v. Ettorre, 387

F.Supp. 582 (E.D. Pa. 1975); United States v. Jasper, 352 F. Supp.

254 (D.Del. 1972). There was no job description evidence pre-

sented, nor did defendant ever admit that she was the one

App.xxxv

responsible for filing the tax returns. Id. The court does not

find the testimony of the former employees that defendant

was in charge of the financial affairs to be helpful to the gov-

ernment on this issue. That general responsibility, if she pos-

sessed it, is not enough to give rise to an inference of the very

particular duty at issue here. Morever, several of these same

employees testified that they believed defendant was the

owner of Globemaster, which was not the case. Their lack of

knowledge regarding whether defendant was the owner of

Globemaster further diminishes the reasonableness of any

inference of duty to file tax returns on her part. The

government's strongest evidence regarding whether defen-

dant had a duty to file the corporate tax return is the fact that

defendant filed the application for extension for the return.

However, the government presented no factual background

as to the preparation of that application. The court finds that

the mere fact defendant's signature appears on the applica-

tion for extension is not sufficient to establish that defendant

had a duty to file the return absent some sort of historical

evidence she was responsible for the return or a more fully

developed evidentiary record that defendant had indeed taken

it upon herself to manage all the business and financial affairs

of Globemaster.

The court finds that even looking at the evidence in

the light most favorable to the government, the evidence was

insufficient to support the jury's verdict as to Count 8. Thus,

the defendant's motion for acquittal is granted as to Count 8.°

* Defendant has made several other arguments throughout her motion for

judgment of acquittal attacking various aspects of Count 8. Because we

find that the defendant is entitled to a judgment of acquittal based on the

insufficiency of evidence, we need not reach these other issues.

App.xxxvi

B. Effect of Dismissal of Count 1

Count 1 of the indictment alleged a conspiracy by de-

fendant, along with four other co-defendants, to use unau-

thorized access devices obtained with intent to defraud in vio-

lation of 18 U.S.C. § 1029(a)(2). Prior to trial the defendant,

along with the other defendants charged in the conspiracy

charged in Count 1 of the indictment, moved for dismissal of .

that count. The court found that the facts as presented in

Count 1 of the indictment did not affect a credit transaction as

contemplated by 18 U.S.C. § 1029, and therefore the court dis-

missed Count 1, without prejudice, as to the various defen-

dants.

The first paragraph of Count 1 charged the defendant

with a violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1029(a)(2). That paragraph was

followed by sections, labeled A, B, C and D, which set forth

the factual averments of the government regarding the con-

spiracy. Counts 2 and 3 of the indictment, the mail fraud

counts, incorporated the factual averments of sections A, B, C

and D of Count 1 by reference for the purpose of setting forth

the alleged scheme and artifice to defraud and the obtaining

of money or property by false pretenses of the mail fraud

counts. Defendant argues that due to the dismissal of Count

1 of the indictment, the factual averments contained in Count

1 in effect disappeared, rendering Counts 2 and 3 invalid for

failure to state an offense.

An indictment must state the elements of the offense

charged with enough particularity that the defendant receives

fair notice of the charge and would be able to assert an acquit-

tal or conviction in order to prevent being placed in jeopardy

twice for the same offense. United States v. Staggs, 881 F.2d

1527, 1530 (10th Cir. 1989). it is well settled that material from

one count can be used in determining the sufficiency of an-

other count if the material in the first count is expressly in-

3

9

tc

App.xxxvii

corporated into the other count. See United States v. Hooker,

841 F.2d 1225, 1231 (4th Cir. 1988). The Tenth Circuit takes an

even broader approach to determining the sufficiency of indi-

vidual counts. It permits “the entire document [to be] consid-

ered” in determining the sufficiency of a particular count in

the indictment. United States v. Staggs, 881 F.2d at 1531-32.

There is no question that Counts 2 and 3, with the factual

averments properly incorporated from Count 1, gave defen-

dant fair notice of the mail fraud charges against her.®

Defendant's sole argument is that the court's dismissal

of Count 1 somehow had a “magic scissors” effect, causing

the factual averments in Count 1 to disappear. Defendant

cites no authority for this proposition. The court does not be-

lieve that the dismissal of Count 1 without prejudice some-

how made the factual averments in Count 1 no longer avail-

able for incorporation by reference into Counts 2 and 3.

In its order dismissing Count 1 without prejudice, the

court did not find that any of the facts as stated in Count 1 of

the indictment were improperly included in the indictment,

or that any of the factual averments should be stricken from

the indictment. The court merely held that the facts as pre-

sented in Count 1 did not affect a credit transaction as con-

templated by 18 U.S.C. § 1029, and thus the conspiracy charge

of using unauthorized access devices with the intent to de-

fraud ina credit transaction was dismissed without prejudice

as to the various defendants. It simply does not logically fol-

* In fact, defendant conceded at oral argument that Counts 2 and 3, with

the incorporated language from Count 1, were sufficient to give her notice

of the crimes charged, did not prejudice her in any way, and that she did

not have any type of double jeopardy argument with the indictment as

written with the incorporated language.

App.xxxviii

low,’ nor does defendant point to any authority in support,’

that the result of such a dismissal should be that the factual

averments in Count 1 are no longer available for incorpora-

tion by reference in Counts 2 and 3.

The court finds that the factual averments in Count 1

were properly incorporated into Counts 2 and 3 notwithstand-

ing the fact that the court dismissed the conspiracy charge

contained in Count 1 without prejudice. Defendant was put

on fair notice of the mail fraud charges contained in Counts 2

and 3 of the indictment, has no double jeopardy argument,

and was not prejudiced in any manner.

C. Jury Instructions

Defendant argues that numerous jury instructions

were given in error. Jury instructions are to be reviewed in

their entirety to determine whether, when examined in the

light of the whole record, they fairly, adequately, and correctly

state the governing law to provide the jury with “an ample

” When questioned at oral argument, counsel for defendant stated his be-

lief that the government could have corrected his perceived flaw in the

indictment simply by retyping the factual averments originally contained

in Count 1 of the indictment into Count 2. Given the fact that the factual

averments were originally properly incorporated in Counts 2 and 3, de-

fendant had fair notice of the mail fraud charges against her, and defen-

dant was not prejudiced in any manner, the court sees no logical reason

why Counts 2 and 3 of the indictment should be dismissed on these

grounds.

* The only authority the court has found on point is directly contrary to

defendant's position. In Crain v. United States, 162 U.S. 625 (1986), the

Supreme Court held that one count may, to avoid repetition, refer to mat-

ter in a previous count and, if the reference is sufficient to incorporate such

matter into the count, the count will not be vitiated, even where the previ-

ous count is held defective or is rejected. Defendant argues that the Crain

case is distinguishable because in Crain the dismissal of the count took

place after trial, whereas the count was dismissed prior to trial in this case.

While defendant is correct that this is a factual distinction between Crain

and this case, distinguishing Crain in such a manner does nothing to sup-

port defendant’s argument.

eT ee,

App.xxxix

understanding of the applicable principles of law and factual

issues confronting them.” United States v. Denny, 939 F.2d 1449,

14545 (10th Cir. 1991). An error in jury instructions will cause

a new trial only when the error is “prejudicial in light of the

entire record.” Id.

Defendant contends that Instruction No. 2, which con-

tained a recitation of nearly the entirety of the indictment,

was prejudicial. Defendant contends this instruction consti-

tuted “free advertising” for the government and that this “ex-

tra reinforcement” of the government's position prejudiced

the defendant. The court disagrees. The court believes that

far from being prejudicial to the defendant, the reading of the

indictment in fact protects the defendant by allowing the jury

to know precisely what the defendant is on trial for allegedly

doing.’ Additionally, the court gave a cautionary instruction

that the indictment is merely the government's formal accu-

sation, is not evidence of any kind against a defendant, and

does not create any presumption or permit any inference of

guilt.

Defendant contends that Instruction No. 6, dealing

with the presumption of innocence, was not sufficient and

the court should have given her proposed instruction. A de-

fendant is not entitled to a new trial simply because the par-

ticular wording preferred by him or her was not employed.

See United States v. DeSoto, 950 F.2d 626, 631 (10th Cir. 1991);

United States v. Irwin, 654 F.2d 671, 677 (10th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied 455 U.S. 1016 (1982). Instruction No. 6, especially when

read in conjunction with Instruction No. 4, which advises the

jury that the defendant's plea of not guilty creates a burden

on the government to prove every material ingredient of the

crime beyond a reasonable doubt, was sufficient to apprise

the jury of the presumption of innocence standard.

* The court did strike argumentative language from the indictment (in-

cluding the words “bogus” and “cover their tracks”).

App.xl

Defendant next argues that the inclusion of the lan-

guage “attempt to obtain” in the elements of mail fraud in

Instructions No. 8 and 9 was in error.’° Defendant argues that

the language impermissibly broadened the indictment by al-

lowing the jury to convict defendant for “attempting” to de-

vise a scheme or artifice to defraud and created a jury una-

nimity problem.

The language in Instructions 8 and 9 does not allow a

jury to convict on the grounds that the defendant “attempted”

to commit mail fraud. Rather, the instructions state that the

government must prove that the defendant knowingly de-

vised a scheme to obtain “or attempt to obtain” money or

property. This language is in keeping with the well settled

law that actual loss is not an element of mail fraud. See United

States v. Aigbevbolle, 827 F.2d 664, 666 (10th Cir. 1987). The

defendant need not have actually obtained money or prop-

erty in order to be convicted. The instruction correctly states

this element of 18 U.S.C. § 1341 and in no way expands,

amends or varies from the language of the indictment, which

charges the defendant with devising a scheme for the pur-

” The pertinent language in Instruction No. 8 is as follows:

One: The defendant, Brenda Lu Smith, knowingly devised a scheme or

artifice to obtain or attempt to obtain money or property by means of false

or fraudulent pretenses or representations substantially as detailed in In-

struction No. 2;

Two: The defendant, Brenda Lu Smith, did so with intent to defraud; and

Three: In advancing or furthering, or carrying out this-scheme to obtain or

attempt to obtain money or property by means of false or fraudulent pre-

tenses or representations, the defendant, Brenda Lu Smith, used the mails

or caused the mails to be used.

App. xli

pose of obtaining money." The language in the indictment

and in Instructions 8 and 9 is internally consistent and in ac-

cordance with the statutory elements of 18 U.S.C. § 1341.

Defendant next contends that Instruction No. 10, which

gives the definition of “false or fraudulent pretenses or repre-

sentations,” is erroneous due to the inclusion of the terms

“reckless indifference” and “half-truths.” The instruction as

given is taken directly from Devitt, Blackmar & O’Malley, Fed-

eral Jury Practice and Instructions, Vol. 2, § 40.13 (1990). The

Tenth Circuit has expressly approved the inclusion of reck-

less indifference in the definition of fraud and false statements.

United States v. Mackay, 491 F.2d 616 (10th Cir. 1973). Defen-

dant has cited no authority that indicates this circuit would

not approve of the language as given in Instruction No. 10 as

a proper definition of “false or fraudulent pretenses” in the

mail fraud context.

With respect to the money laundering counts, defen-

dant contends that Instructions 14 and 15 were erroneous due

to the inclusion of the jurisdictional element contained in the

statutory language. The court finds that inclusion of the statu-

tory jurisdictional element in the instructions was proper, and

that the money laundering instructions as a whole made clear

the required elements the jury must find to sustain a convic-

tion.

” Defendant argues that because the government charged in the indict-

ment that defendant devised a scheme “to obtain” money, it is foreclosed

from a jury verdict based on a finding defendant had devised a scheme “to

attempt to obtain” money. Such an argument ignores the established law

that the success of a fraudulent scheme is not an element of § 1341. See

Linited States v. Aigbevbolle, 827 F.2d 664, 666 (10th Cir 1987). The court can

find no authority for the proposition that the government, by using the

words “to obtain” money in the indictment, is thereafter forced to prove

that a defendant did actually succeed in obtaining money. In Aigbevboile,

the indictment charged that appellant “did devise and did intend to devise

a scheme and artifice to defraud, and to obtain money .. .” Id. at 665.

Defendant's conviction for mail fraud was upheld even though he did not

actually obtain any money, and in fact it would have been factually impos-

sible for him to obtain money through his alleged scheme.

- App.xlii

Defendant objects to instruction No. 28 because it ad-

vises the jury to first decide whether the 404(b) evidence is

accurate before considering the evidence for the specified lim-

ited purposes. Defendant claims the limiting instruction

“forced the jury to focus specifically on the 404(b) evidence in

derogation of its general ability to pick and choose the evi-

dence it will rely upon, thus, elevating the 404(b) evidence to

a special status when compared with other evidence presented

in the case.” The court disagrees. The instruction given by

the court is a common sense approach. It tells the jury to

ignore the evidence if they do not find it accurate, and if they

do find it accurate it instructs them to consider it only for the

listed limited purposes. The instruction further cautions the

jury that they cannot convict a defendant simply because they

believe she committed uncharged bad acts. Instruction No.

28 read in its entire context and considered as part of the en-

tire charge was appropriate.’

Defendant alleges that it was error for the court not to

give defendant's proposed good faith instruction. United States

v. Hopkins, 744 F.2d 716 (10th Cir. 1984) provides that if the

defense of good faith has been interposed, the defendant is

entitled to an instruction directly on the issue provided there

is sufficient evidence to support the theory and such an in-

struction is requested. The court stated that “in mail fraud

cases there is sufficient evidence when the jury could reason-

ably find from such evidence that the defendant in good faith

believed that the plan would succeed, that the promises would

be kept and the representations carried out.” Id. at 718.

The suggested instruction given by defendant in her supplemental memo-

randum instructs the jury that “where proof of an alleged earlier act of a

like nature is established by evidence” the jury may draw inference from

it. This does not differ materially from the instruction given by the court.

ee eee batag tie

App.xliii

The evidence presented at trial did not warrant a good

faith instruction. In fact, the court finds that defendant's prof-

fered defense is not analogous to a good faith defens». De-

fendant basically argues that she was merely trying tc float a

loan through the use of her American Express card, and was

not involved with the scheme as alleged by he government at

all (or that in fact the scheme alleged by the government never

existed). The good faith defense cases involve situations where

the defendant embarks on a plan, without fraud at the incep-

tion, and in good faith believes that the representations made

would be kept and carried out. See United States v. Hopkins,

744 F.2d at 718. The defense propounded by defendant is

simply not analogous to that situation.

Defendant also contends the court erred in its failure

to give the jury a specific instruction regarding the credibility

of a drug and alcohol abuser as to the testimony of witness

Paul Helms. The court found that there was not sufficient

evidence to classify Mr. Helms as an addict, nor was there

any evidence that he was addicted to or using drugs during

the time of the events he testified about. It is the court's belief

that a specific instruction should not be given every time an

allegation of drug or alcohol abuse is made, but only upon an

evidentiary showing as to the seriousness of the addiction

and its propensity to affect credibility. No such evidentiary

showing was made by defendant. Additionally, given the

cross-examination of Mr. Helms regarding his drug use, the

court finds that the witness credibility instructions given were

sufficient to prevent prejudice to the defendant.

D. Governmental Misconduct

Defendant for the first time raises a governmental

misconduct argument, relating to a case agent's interview of

JoAnn Gustin during the investigative phase of the case. The

court finds the articulated basis for this motion to be so specu-

App.xliv

lative, vague and ambiguous that it does not meet the stan-

dard that the misconduct be “grossly shocking and so outra-

geous as to violate the universal sense of justice.” Linited States

v. Restrepo, 930 F.2d 705, 712 (9th Cir. 1991). Accordingly,

defendant's motion for a new trial on the grounds of govern-

mental misconduct is denied.

E. Spoliation of Evidence

In her post-trial motion defendant for the first time

makes an argument that she was prejudiced in her ability to

develop her theory of the defense by the fact that

Globemaster’s computer-generated weekly sales reports were

destroyed by the ARC. Defendant contends that her inability

to analyze and present those reports, which contained excul-

patory material, prejudiced her ability to construct a defense

and, thus, denied her a fair trial.

The court believes that such an argument is misplaced

based on the evidence presented in the case. The evidence

was that the “weekly report” submitted to ARC consisted of:

the agent's ticket coupon for sold tickets; the complete ticket

coupons for tickets refunded or exchanged; cash refund and

exchange notices; and a calculator tape of total sales, refunds

and remittances. The evidence was that ARC acted as a clear-

inghouse and sent the tickets and associated documents on

to the respective airlines. These original documents were

maintained by the airlines and admitted into evidence. With

respect to any computer generated reports that were prepared

by Globemaster, the evidence was that ARC would consider

this to be surplusage because ARC was required by contract

to create its own computer generated report based upon the

original documentation provided by the travel agent. Thus,

any work product materials prepared by the travel agency on

its own computer were of no use to the ARC or the airlines.

ARC did not deviate from its normal practice by not retaining

App.xlv

any such work product material, ifin fact it ever received such

material in the first place.

F. Ineffective Assistance of Counsel

Defendant has also raised an ineffective assistance of

counsel argument in her post-trial motions. Defendant ar-

gues that her trial counsel made certain prejudicial errors in-

cluding his failure to object to the indictment, failure to attack

the credibility of certain witnesses, and the failure to raise and

object to certain jury instructions. Defendant contends that

as a result of trial counsel's ineffective assistance the defen-

dant was deprived of her rights to counsel and a fair trial.

Counsel for defendant has requested guidance from

the court as to the proper procedural method to pursue

defendant's ineffective assistance of counsel claim. This case

is somewhat unique factually in that defendant has made a

change of attorneys immediately following trial and prior to

the court's ruling on post-trial motions and sentencing of the

defendant. Thus, defendant is making an ineffective counsel

argument at the post-trial motion stage of the proceedings.

In a normal situation, a defendant will not realize that he or

she has a potentially meritorious ineffectiveness claim until a

later point, such as when he or she has retained new counsel

on appeal.

The Tenth Circuit has quoted with approval the gen-

eral rule that “a claim of ineffective assistance of counsel can-

not be resolved on direct appeal when the claim has not been

raised before the district court.” Beaulieu v. United States, 930

F.2d 805, 807 (10th Cir. 1991), quoting United States v. Higdon,

832 F.2d 312, 313-14 (5th Cir. 1987), cert. denied 484 U.S. 1075

(1988). The circuit court has noted that this “encourages de-

velopment of a record on the tactical reasons for trial counsel’s

decisions, the extent of trial counsel's alleged deficiencies, and

the asserted prejudicial impact on the outcome of the trial.”

App.xlvi

Beaulieu, 930 F.2d at 807.

The Tenth Circuit has also stated that the preferred

avenue for challenging the effectiveness of defense counsel in

a federal criminal trial is by collateral attack under 28 U.S.C. §

2255. Id. at 806. However, if post-trial proceedings develop a

factual record of sufficient depth and detail for review of “the

tactical reasons for trial counsel’s decisions, the extent of trial

counsel's alleged deficiencies, and the asserted prejudicial

impact on the outcome of the trial,” the court may resolve the

matter on direct appeal. U.S. v. Maxwell, 966 F.2d 545, 547

(10th Cir. 1992).

The court finds that due to the present factual posture

of the case, defendant's ineffective assistance of counsel argu-

ment should be pursued by collateral attack under 28 U.S.C.

§ 2255. Although defendant's new counsel has raised the in-

effective assistance of counsel argument, defendant’s new

counsel notes in the post-trial motions that he has “not had

the opportunity to review the record in sufficient detail to ad-

equately identify the nature and scope of this issue.”

Defendant's new counsel has also stated that resolution of

this issue will require the court to conduct an evidentiary hear-

ing. The court finds that it is not possible to develop a factual

record of sufficient depth and detail through these post-trial

proceedings to allow this court to make a proper ruling on

the issue and have such decision be ripe for possible review

by the circuit court. Therefore, the court finds that defendant

should pursue her ineffective assistance of counsel argument

by means of collateral attack under 28 U.S.C. § 2255.

IT IS, THEREFORE, ORDERED BY THE COURT

THAT defendant's motion for judgment of acquittal or, in the

alternative, for new trial (Doc. # 218) is granted in part and

denied in part. Defendant's motion is granted as to Count 8

of the indictment, which charged defendant with wilful fail-

App.xlvii

ure to file a corporate income tax return. Count 8 is dismissed

due to insufficiency of the evidence. Defendant’s motion is

denied on all other grounds. The court declines to consider

defendant's ineffective assistance of counsel argument at this

time. Such argument may properly be made pursuant to 28

U.S.C. § 2255.

IT IS FURTHER ORDERED that defendant's motion

for reconsideration of order of forfeiture (Doc. # 22) is denied

and defendant's alternative motion for extension of time to

file notice of appeal (Doc. # 223) is moot.

IT IS SO ORDERED.

Dated this 27th day of April, at Kansas City, Kansas.

/s/ JOHN W. LUNGSTRUM

John W. Lungstrum

United States District Judge

App xlviii

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF KANSAS

[FILED: 9/16/93]

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, _ )

Plaintiff, )

)

v. ) No. 92-20011-01

)

BRENDA LU SMITH, )

Defendant. )

FINAL ORDER OF FORFEITURE

WHEREAS, on December 17, 1992, this Court entered

an Order of Forfeiture pursuant to the provisions of 18 U.S.C.

§§ 1957 and 982 and 21 U.S.C. § 853(n) based upon the trial

jury's Guilty Verdict against the above defendant on Counts

4, 5 and 6, and the trial jury’ s Special Verdict forfeiting all of

the property alleged to be subject to forfeiture in Count 7 of

the Superseding Indictment;

AND WHEREAS, on June 23, June 30 and July 7, 1993,

the United States published in a newspaper of general circu-

lation notice of this forfeiture and of the intent of the United

States to dispose of the property in accordance with the law

and further notifying all third parties of their right to petition

the Court within thirty (30) days for a hearing to adjudicate

the validity of their alleged legal interest in the property;

AND WHEREAS, the Court has been advised that the

Airlines Reporting Corporation filed a timely petition assert-

ing a legal interest in $128,177.00 and that the United States

will recognize the interest of the Airlines Reporting Corpora-

tion as the victim of the mail fraud in Counts 2 and 3 and

whose funds were laundered in Counts 4, 5 and 6, the basis

for Count 7 of the Superseding Indictment.

ST

App.xlix

Accordingly, it is hereby ORDERED, ADJUDGED and

DECREED that the United States Marshal forthwith release

$128,177.00 to the Airlines Reporting Corporation.

It is further ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED:

a That the right, title and interest to the

$128,177.00 that the Court ordered forfeited on December 17,

1992, is hereby condemned, forfeited and vested in the United

States of America, and pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 982(b)(1)(A)

and 21 U.S.C. § 853(i)(1) is restored and remitted to the Air-

lines Reporting Corporation.

The Clerk is hereby directed to send copies of this

Order to all counsel of record and the United States Marshal.

SO ORDERED this 16th day of September, 1993.

JOHN W. LUNGSTRUM

U.S. DISTRICT JUDGE

App.|

INSTRUCTION NO.

The good faith of the defendant, Brenda Lu Smith, isa

complete defense to the charge of mail fraud contained in

Counts 2 and 3 of the indictment because good faith on the

part of the defendant is, simply, inconsistent with the intent

to obtain money or property by means of false or fraudulent

pretenses or representations alleged in that charge.

A person who acts, or causes another person to act,

on a belief or an opinion honestly held is not punishable un-

der this statute merely because the belief or opinion turns out

to be inaccurate, incorrect, or wrong. An honest mistake in

judgment or an error in management does not rise to the level

of intent to defraud.

A defendant does not act in “good faith” if, even

though she honestly holds a certain opinion or belief, that

defendant also knowingly makes false or fraudulent pretenses

or representations to others.

The mail fraud statute is written to subject to criminal

punishment only those people who knowingly obtain money

or property by means of false or fraudulent pretenses or rep-

resentations.

While the term “good faith” has not precise defini-

tion, it means, among other things, a belief or opinion hon-

estly held, an absence of malice or ill will, and an intention to

avoid taking unfair advantage of another.

In determining whether or not the government has

proven that the defendant acted with an intent to defraud

and to obtain money or property by means of false pretenses

or representations or whether the defendant acted in good

faith, the jury must consider all of the evidence in the case

bearing on the defendant's state of mind.

App.li

The burden of proving good faith does not rest with

the defendant because the defendant does not have any obli-

gation to prove anything in this case. It is the government's

burden to prove to you, beyond a reasonable doubt, that the

defendant, Brenda Lu Smith, acted with the intent to defraud

and to obtain money or property by means of false pretenses

or representations.

If the evidence in the case leaves the jury with a rea-

sonable doubt as to whether the defendant acted with an in-

tent to defraud and obtain money or property by means of

false pretenses or representations or in good faith, the jury

must acquit the defendant.

Devitt, Blackmar, and O’Malley, Federal Jury Practice and Instructions,

Sec. 40.16, pp. 531-532 (1990).

United States V. Hopkins, 744 F.2d 713 (10th Cir 1984) (evidentiary sup-

port requires submission)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.