Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Woodard v. Alabama

Supreme Court brief1994

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

|

FILED

OFFICE 06 THE CAE

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the Anited States

October Term, 1994

SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Alabama

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MAURICE S. BELL

547 South Lawrence Street

Montgomery, Alabama 36104

Phone: (205) 262-2719

Counsel of Record

for Petitioner

ORAL ARGUMENT REQUESTED

ALABAMA PRINTERS + 748 8. Decatur Street + Montgomery, Al 36104 » 263-7438

me on

ON EL TS A EE SG NR a

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

The decision of the Supreme Court of Alabama, hold-

ing that a death penalty statute which predicates “death

eligibility” solely on the age of the victim, with no other

contributing, or attendant factors requisite to its applica-

bility, is constitutionally valid; is erroneous and contra-

venes established judicial precedent by this Court,

regarding a defendant’s constitutional rights under the

Fifth, Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments of the

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

ae a ee

. res

ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ............ i

Ta Ge SA viii tech epuizinssliilivcnlattiesassens ii

TE Be EI ai cceicocevesssnecnintnenapenenenconsn iii

CPT RRIEe FAA I sida iatecnsccciscdecaticbiniésibsicknbnnts iv

REFERENCE TO LOWER COURT DECISIONS... Vv

TRAE TENET ssssiss id aucinesaissiniiabatintiaaadietaiiidcimsnnntiibcbualion 1

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISION .................. 1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..............cccccsssseeeseeeeees 2

STATEMENT OF THE FACTG..............c:cccsssceesreeeeees 5

I iicbiecicndissptattnsasspeieanstviiciatabiahinidicsatinyoeoieie 12

Ce I saihhisiaiccasin side sintinighiitivicensieniiesdinbiininavmcandbons 18

REQUEST FOR ORAL ARGUMENT ...................008. 19

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE................cscccssssecseeeeeees 20

APPENDIX

A: August 3, 1993, Order from Circuit Court of

Montgomery County, Alabama .................... App. 1

B: August 12, 1993, Order from Circuit Court

of Montgomery County, Alabama ................ App. 11

C: September 14, 1993, Order of Alabama

Court of Criminal Appeals ....................0000008 App. 15

D: September 30, 1993, Order of Alabama

Court of Criminal Appeals ....................0000008 App. 33

E: February 4, 1994, Order of Alabama

ROM CI i ia ae cites scencca eas App. 34

ili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases: n

Ballew v. Georgia, 435 U.S.223 (1978) ...........cccccccesssseeeeeee 16

Beck v. State, 396 So.2d 645 (Ala. 1980) ................ 13, 14, 17

Furman v. Georgia, 408 U.S. 238, 313, 92 S.Ct. 2726,

2763, 33 L.Ed.2d 346 (1972) ..............cccccsccsssseeees 10, 13, 15

Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 427-428, 100 S.Ct.

1759, 1764, 64 L.Ed.2d 398, 406 (1980)...........0000.... 10, 12

Goodson v. State, 588 So.2d 509, 514

SU ss cs nseevedbansounene 11

Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 188, 96 S.Ct. 2909,

2932, 49 L.Ed.2d 858 (1976)............................... 10, 13, 15

Harris v. Rivera, 454 U.S.339 (1981) 0.0.0... cccccceeeccsseesseees 16

Ex parte Jackson, 614 So.2d 405 (Ala. 1993)........00000000.0. 14

Ex parte Johnson, 620 So.2d 709 (Ala. 1993). .......0000000.0. 14

Jordan v. DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223, 71 S.Ct. 703,

I es canaunoncenas 10

Ex parte Kyser, 399 So.2d 330 (Ala. 1981)..............0.... 14, 17

Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S. 162 (1986) .............0.cccceeeeee 16

Morris v. Mathews, 475 U.S. 237 (1986) ...........0cccceeeeeeeeee 16

Ross Neely Express, Inc. v. Alabama Department of

Environmental Management, 437 So.2d 82

a sss ncaconntenceconts 9

Tapp v. Lucas, 658 F.2d 383 (5th Cir. 1981)........0.00....c... 16

Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 810 (1985)... eee 16

Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S. 280 (1976) .............. 13

Zant v. Stephens, 462 U.S. 862, 103 S.Ct. 2733 (1983)....... 7

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Continued)

Page

Other Authorities:

§13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama,

CE cdc iiha nisin A deuileiisncdetadnssasdencteccosnsnniis passim

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

i cncnchbsninsdechinvcoreutcicsoniouss 12, 13, 15

ETL ETAT TNT REET 13, 15

Be MI cc is ensescdctvececctstsccbcdsecasiccscckelsseteds 13, 15

Fourteenth Amendment .................ccseeeeeeeeeeeeeeees 12, 13, 15

STATE OF ALABAMA CONSTITUTION ........... 9,13, 15

The First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine,

83 Harv. L. Rev. 844, 853 (1970).............ccccccccrcsccccccccsccesees 9

Vv

REFERENCE TO LOWER COURT OPINIONS

EXHIBITS

EXHIBIT “A”

Exhibit “A” attached to PETITIONER'S Petition For

Writ of Certiorari is the Order of the Circuit Court dated

August 3, 1993, denying PETITIONER’S Motion To

Dismiss The Indictment and Memorandum Opinion of the

court in support thereof. References to this document shall

be designated as “A”.

EXHIBIT “B”

Exhibit “B” attached to PETITIONER'S Petition For

Writ of Certiorari is the Order of the Circuit Court dated

August 12, 1993, granting PETITIONER’S Motion To

Postpone Trial in order to seek appellate review of the trial

court’s denial of PETITIONER’S Motion To Dismiss The

Indictment. References to this document shall be desig-

nated as “B”.

EXHIBIT “C”

Exhibit “C” attached to PETITIONER’S Petition For

Writ of Certiorari is the decision of the Alabama Court of

Criminal Appeals issued September 14, 1993, denying

PETITIONERS Petition For Writ Of Mandamus. References

to this document shall be designated as “C”.

EXHIBIT “D”

Exhibit “D” attached to PETITIONER'S Petition For

Writ of Certiorari is the Order issued by the Alabama

Court of Criminal Appeals dated September 30, 1993,

denying PETITIONER’S Application For Rehearing.

References to this document shall be designated as “D”.

EXHIBIT “E”

Exhibit”E” attached to Petition For Writ of Certiorari

is the Order issued by the Supreme Court of Alabama

dated February 4, 1994, denying PETITIONER'S Petition

For Writ of Certiorari to the Alabama Supreme Court.

References to this document shall be designated as “E”.

No.

In The

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

October Term, 1994

SUS AMELIA WOODARD,

Petitioner,

vs.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

Supreme Court of Alabama

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JURISDICTION

The Decision of the Supreme Court of Alabama, deny-

ing Petitioner’s Petition For Writ of Certiorari to that court

was rendered on February 4, 1994. Jurisdiction to review

the judgment in the lower court by Writ of Certiorari is

vested in this Court; pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C. Sec.

1254(1).

RELEVANT STATUTORY PROVISION

This case involves the constitutionality of Section

13A-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975 as rev.), which

reads as follows:

2

“(a) The following are capital offenses:

(15) Murder when the victim is less than

14 years of age.”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

On January 7, 1993, your PETITIONER, SUSAN

AMELIA WOODARD, was arrested and charged with the

offense of Assault in the First Degree. Pursuant to this

charge, it was alleged that PETITIONER did cause serious

injury to Elizabeth B. (Dowe) Franklin, a minor child; by

shaking her.

On January 9, 1993, at approximately 0800 hours,

Elizabeth Franklin expired at Jackson Hospital. Thereafter,

the foregoing charge was amended, whereupon PETI-

TIONER was re-arrested and charged with capital murder,

in violation of §13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975,

as rev.).

On April 9, 1993, this matter was submitted to the

MONTGOMERY COUNTY GRAND JURY for considera-

tion. After receiving testimony and the presentation of

related evidence, the GRAND JURY returned a True Bill;

indicting PETITIONER for the offense of capital murder,

as set forth below:

“The Grand Jury of said County charge that

before the finding of this indictment,

SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD, alias

SUSAN WOODARD ANDERSON,

whose name is otherwise unknown to the Grand

Jury, with intent to cause the death of another

person, cid cause the death of Elizabeth Dowe

Franklin, who was less that fourteen years of

age, by shaking and/or hitting her with her hand

or hands, in violation of Section 13A-5-40 of the

Code of Alabama,

against the peace and dignity of the State of

Alabama.”

3

Although not set forth in the foregoing indictment,

charges against PETITIONER were brought under the

auspices of Act 92-601, which amended Section 13A-5-40,

Code of Alabama, (1975) to read, inter alia, as follows:

(a) The following are capital offenses:

“(15) Murder when the victim is less than 14

years of age.”

On April 28, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Motion to Dismiss the Indictment with the

trial court. As grounds therefore, it was asserted, inter

alia:

“1. That the capital murder statute, Section 13A-

5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama, (1975) is uncon-

stitutional.

2. Yhat the capital murder statute, Section 13A-

5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama, (1975) is uncon-

stitutional as applied to the Defendant’s case.

3. That the capital murder statute, Section 13A-

5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama, (1975) is uncon-

stitutional as it is based on age, which, in itself,

is discriminatory.

4. That the victim is less than 14 years of age.

The age of the victim in itself, should not cause

Defendant to be charged with capital murder.

5. That the Defendant was attempting to resus-

citate and render aid and assistance to the victim

as the victim was unresponsive and comatose.

6. That there was no intent by the Defendant to

injure the victim in any manner. Therefore, as

“intent” is a requisite element of the underlying

offense of murder contained in the charge of capi-

tal murder, the present charge assessed against

Defendant cannot be sustained.

7. That the capital murder indictment was filed

in violation of the Defendant’s constitutional

rights as set out in the Fifth, Eighth and Four-

teenth Amendments to the Constitution of the

United States and also in violation of the Consti-

tution of the State of Alabama.”

On July 2, 1993, a hearing was held before the

Honorable WILLIAM A. GORDON, on the merits of PETI-

TIONER’S Motion To Dismiss. At the conclusion of this

hearing, JUDGE GORDON issued an Order on August 3,

1993; denying PETITIONER’S Motion to Dismiss

Indictment (“A”.11).

On August 6, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Motion For Postponement of Trial with the

trial court. In this Motion, PETITIONER requested that

the trial be postponed until such time as the trial court’s

decision denying PETITIONER'S Motion To Dismiss The

Indictment had been submitted to the Court of Criminal

Appeals for review. In addition thereto, counsel for PETI-

TIONER averred to the trial court that said Motion was

made in an effort to negate the possibility of multiple trials

in the event of a ruling in favor of PETITIONER on her

motion. On August 9, 1993, in response thereto, the State

filed an objection to PETITIONER’S Motion For

Postponement of Trial.

On August 12, 1993, a hearing was held before the

Honorable WILLIAM A. GORDON, on the merits of PETI-

TIONER’S Motion For Postponement of Trial. At this hear-

ing, counsel for PETITIONER, expressed his intent to file

a Petition For Writ of Mandamus with the Court of

Appeals. At the conclusion of this hearing, Judge Gordon

issued an Order in which he granted PETITIONER’S

Motion For Postponement of Trial; contingent upon the fil-

ing, by counsel for PETITIONER, of a Writ of Mandamus

before the close of business August 13, 1993 (“B”.4).

On August 13, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Petition For Writ of Mandamus with the

od — ne A ES A EO A TEE EE LEE IT LL LS a

a ce a. ae Se mE eS a ee

5

Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals, as directed by the

trial court. In this Petition, inter alia, PETITIONER

sought appellate review of the trial court’s denial of her

Motion to Dismiss the Indictment. On September 14, 1993,

in response thereto, that Court entered an Order denying

said Petition; holding that Section 13A-5-40(a)(15), Code

of Alabama (1975, as rev.) is not unconstitutional (“C”.20).

On September 28, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed an Application For Rehearing of the forego-

ing ruling with the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals.

On September 30, 1993, that Court issued an Order deny-

ing PETITIONER'S Application For Rehearing. (“D”.1).

On October 14, 1993, Petitioner by and through

Counsel, filed a Petition For Writ of Certiorari with the

Supreme Court of Alabama. On February 4, 1994, in

response thereto, the Alabama Supreme Court entered an

Order denying the petition.

Petitioner, Susan Amelia Woodard, by and through

counsel, prays that a Writ of Certiorari be issued to review

the Judgement of the Alabama Supreme Court.

STATEMENT OF THE FACTS

Your PETITIONER, SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD, is

a 37 year old female and single mother of a 3 year old

daughter. At the time of the incidents in question, PETI-

TIONER was duly licensed to operate a day care facility by

the Alabama Department of Human Resources. In accor-

dance therewith, the decedent, ELIZABETH DOWE

FRANKLIN, [hereinafter referred to as “DOWE”] was

placed in PETITIONER'S care and custody several days

each week, over the months preceding the incidents in

question.

The incidents in question, which form the underlying

basis for the charges assessed against PETITIONER

occurred on December 29, 1992 and January 6, 1993.

On the morning of December 29, 1992, DOWE was

placed in the custody of PETITIONER at PETITIONER'S

home, as usual. While playing, she and another toddler,

SHEA, apparently bumped into each other; knocking each

other to the floor. SHEA was getting up from the floor and

DOWE was laying on the floor; when PETITIONER ran to

the children and picked up SHEA. She then turned to

retrieve DOWE. As she attempted to raise her, DOWE

slipped from her grasp and fell back on the cushioned tile

floor. She exhibited no ill effects from this fall.

On the morning of January 6, 1993, some eight (8)

days later, Dowe was delivered to PETITIONER’S home by

her mother, DALE FRANKLIN. MRS. FRANKLIN stated

that the chi’’ had slept little the night before and had

refused all nourishment. Due to the child’s listless manner,

PETITIONER placed the child in the play pen to rest.

Dowe continued to be lethargic and repeatedly refused all

nourishment. While checking on her, PETITIONER

observed that the child had regurgitated. As she lifted her

to clean her, PETITIONER observed the child’s eyes

“appear to roll back in her head”. Alarmed, PETITIONER

immediately reacted by removing her from the play pen

and attempted to get a response from the child by briefly

shaking her. As PETITIONER reached for a paper towel

from the box on the floor, the child’s body went completely

limp. PETITIONER continued to administer to the child.

However, receiving no significant response, she immedi-

ately contacted the paramedics for assistance.

Subsequently, the child was hospitalized.

On January 7, 1993, PETITIONER was arrested and

charged with Assault in the First Degree. Pursuant to this

charge, it was alleged that PETITIONER did cause serious

injury to Elizabeth B. (DOWE) Franklin, a minor child; by

shaking her.

On January 9, 1993, at approximately 0800 hours,

Elizabeth Franklin expired at Jackson Hospital. Thereafter,

the foregoing charge was amended, whereupon PETI-

7

TIONER was re-arrested and charged with capital murder,

in violation of §13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975,

as rev.); due solely to the age of the decedent. This subsec-

tion, enacted in 1992, amended the Alabama Death Act to

include the following as a chargeable capital offense:

“(a) The following are capital offenses:

(15) Murder when the victim is less

than fourteen years of age.”

On April 28, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Motion to Dismiss the Indictment with the

trial court; alleging, inter alia, that this newly enacted pro-

vision of the Alabama Death Act was unconstitutional.

On July 2, 1993, a hearing was held before the

Honorable WILLIAM A. GORDON, on the merits of PETI-

TIONER’S Motion To Dismiss. On August 3, 1993, JUDGE

GORDON issued an Order on August 3, 1993; denying

PETITIONER'S Motion to Dismiss Indictment (“A”.11).

However, at the inception of this Order, the trial court

specifically noted that the statute in question, failed to set

forth any rationale, or substantive basis for the specific

provision under which PETITIONER was charged. In

making this observation, Judge Gordon noted:

“There is no legislative history or findings which

assists the Court in determining the legislative

purpose in enacting this new capital offense or

why 14 was chosen as the age component.”

Moreover, the Court noted that:

“When a state enacts death penalty legislation, it

is constitutionally required to enact a statu-

tory scheme that provides an adequate basis for

distinguishing a murder case in which the death

penalty may be imposed from those cases in

which such a penalty may not be imposed”; quot-

ing Zant v. Stephens, 462 U.S. 862, 886, 103

S.Ct. 2733, 2747 (1983). [Emphasis added].

In conclusion, JUDGE GORDON held that §13A-5-

40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975 as rev.), which pref-

aces the charge of capital murder solely on the age of the

victim and specifies no attendant, requisite factors, sur-

mounted PETITIONER'S constitutional challenge; ruling

that it “sufficiently narrows the class of persons who are

ultimately death eligible” (“A”.6). However, JUDGE GOR-

DON contemporaneously acknowledged that the Alabama

Death Act is not uniform in its substantive definitions of

capital offenses (“A”.4).

On August 6, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Motion For Postponement of Trial with the

trial court. In this Motion, PETITIONER requested that

the trial be postponed until such time as the trial court’s

decision denying PETITIONER'S Motion To Dismiss The

Indictment had been submitted to the Court of Criminal

Appeals for review.

On August 12, 1993, a hearing was held on the merits

of PETITIONER'S Motion For Postponement of Trial. At

this hearing, counsel for PETITIONER, expressed his

intent to file a Petition For Writ of Mandamus with the

Court of Appeals. In accordance therewith, counsel repre-

sented to JUDGE GORDON that primary argument would

be predicated on the issue that the newly enacted statute

under which PETITIONER was charged, predicating the

capital offense solely on the death of a child under 14 years

of age is an arbitrary and capricious legislative act which

violates both the United States Constitution and the

Constitution of Alabama. At the conclusion of this hear-

ing, JUDGE GORDON, noting that PETITIONERS claims

presented a question of first impression in Alabama,

issued an Order in which he stated:

“The Court recognizes the grounds for the State’s

objection to Woodard’s [PETITIONER] motion. In

addition, the Court, as does the State, recognizes

that no party wishes to try this case twice in the

event Section 13A-5-40(15) is ultimately found to

violate the state or federal constitutions.”

9

Continuing, the trial court stated:

“Under the circumstances this Court also believes

that Woodard should have the opportunity to

seek appellate review before the case is tried.”

In conclusion, that court stated:

“For the foregoing reasons, it is ORDERED that

the trial of this case is postponed if Woodard’s

counsel files a petition for writ of mandamus

before the close of business on August 13, 1993.”

(“B”.4).

On August 13, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Petition For Writ of Mandamus with the

Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals. In this Petition, inter

alia, PETITIONER sought appellate review of the trial

court’s denial of her Motion to Dismiss the Indictment

and moved that court to grant her Petition For Writ of

Mandamus.

On September 14, 1993, the Alabama Court of Criminal

Appeals entered an Order denying the foregoing Petition.

In this decision, the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals

addressed, inter alia, three (3) points of inquiry, as set

forth in the Petition. First, the Court stated that §13A-5-

40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975 as rev.) is not constitu-

tionally overbroad. Quoting The First Amendment

Overbreadth Doctrine, 83 Harv. L. Rev. 844, 852 (1970),

the court noted that “Historically, the overbreadth doctrine

has been used by the federal courts to prevent a chilling

effect on First Amendment freedoms...”. However, the

Court acknowledged that the overbreadth doctrine under

the Alabama Constitution has been applied in due

process cases not involving first amendment freedoms;

Ross Neely Express, Inc. v. Alabama Department of

Environmental Management, 437 So.2d 82 (Ala. 1983).

Continuing, the Court noted that in Ross Neely Express,

supra, JUSTICE ADAMS wrote;

10

“The right to due process is guaranteed to the citi-

zens of Alabama under the Alabama Constitution

of 1901, Article 1, Sections 6 and 13....The courts

have found that this right is violated when a

statute or regulation is unduly vague, unrea-

sonable or overbroad...”(“C”.4-5). [Emphasis

added].

Secondly, the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals

held that §13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975 as

rev.) is not constitutionally vague. Quoting Jordan v.

DeGeorge, 341 U.S. 223, 71 S.Ct. 703, 95 L.Ed. 886

(1951), the Court stated that the essential purpose of the

“void for vagueness” doctrine is to warn individuals of the

criminal consequences of their conduct. The Court con-

cluded that §13A-5-40(aX15) provided sufficient warning of

the criminal conduct outlined therein.

Thirdly, the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals held

that §13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975 as rev.) “is

not unconstitutional because it is arbitrary, or because it

fails to sufficiently narrow the class of people that may

become “death eligible”. Quoting from Gregg v. Georgia,

428 U.S. 153,188, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 2932, 49 L.Ed.2d 858

(1976), which quoted the decision in Furman v. Georgia,

408 U.S. 238, 313, 92 S.Ct. 2726, 2763, 33 L.Ed.2d 346

(1972); the Court stated:

“A capital sentencing scheme must, in short, pro-

vide a ‘meaningful basis for distinguishing the

few cases in which [the death penalty] is imposed

from the many cases in which it is not’”.

“This means that if a State wishes to authorize

capital punishment, it has a constitutional

responsibility to tailor and apply its law in a

manner that avoids the arbitrary and capricious

infliction of the death penalty.”

See also, Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420, 427-428, 100

S.Ct. 1759, 1764, 64 L.Ed.2d 398, 406 (1980).

te eee ee ne ne ee ee

ce em re rr ee re re a ee re ee i ee ee ee ee eee -_——-

11

Fourth, the Court of Criminal Appeals held that

Alabama’s capital offense statutes, including §13A-5-

40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975, as rev.) are neither

arbitrary or capricious and therefore, the subsection in

question is not unconstitutional (“C”.20). However, it

should be noted that the judicial authority cited by that

Court in support of this position pre-dated the adoption of

and inclusion of this provision in the Alabama Death Act

(“C”.10).

In conclusion, the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals

held that §13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975, as

rev.) is not violative of any equal protection right afforded

under the UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION and The

Alabama Constitution. In support of this position, the

Court reiterated its decision in Goodson v. State, 588

So.2d 509, 514 (Ala.Cr.App. 1991) in which it held:

“The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment goes no further than to prohibit

invidious discrimination...If there is some reason-

able basis for the recognition of separate classes

and if the disparate treatment of the classes has

a rational relation to the object sought to be

achieved by the lawmakers, the Constitution is

not offended. The transgression arises only when

the classification rests upon grounds wholly irrel-

evant to achievement of the State’s objective; the

separate treatment must admit of but one conclu-

sion beyond a rational doubt, i.e., that the basis

therefore is arbitrary and unreasonable and

without relevance to the legislative goal.”

Thereafter, the Alabama Court of Appeals stated that the

Petition For Writ of Mandamus was denied (“C”.20).

On September 28, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed an Application For Rehearing of the foregoing

ruling with the Court of Criminal Appeals. On September

30, 1993, in response thereto, that court issued an Order

denying PETITIONER'S Application For Rehearing (“D”.1).

a en eet

12

On October 14, 1993, PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, filed a Petition For Writ of Certiorari with the

Supreme Court of Alabama.

On February 11, 1994, the Supreme Court of Alabama

issued an Order denying this Petition (“E”.1).

ARGUMENT

THE DECISION OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

ALABAMA HOLDING A DEATH PENALTY STATUTE

WHICH PREDICATES “DEATH ELIGIBILITY”

SOLELY ON THE AGE OF THE VICTIM, WITH NO

OTHER CONTRIBUTING OR ATTENDANT FAC-

TORS REQUISITE TO ITS APPLICABILITY TO BE

CONSTITUTIONALLY VALID, IS ERRONEOUS AND

CONTRAVENES ESTABLISHED JUDICIAL PRECE-

DENT BY THIS COURT, REGARDING A DEFEN-

DANT’S CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHTS UNDER THE

FIFTH, EIGHTH AND FOURTEENTH AMEND-

MENTS OF THE UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION.

Section 13A-5-40 (a) (15) of the capital murder statute,

making age “the sole, aggravating factor for estab-

lishing a capital offense does not adequately narrow

the class of murders that may result in imposition of

the death penalty. Accordingly it is violative of the

Due Process protection afforded under the Fifth and

Fourteenth Amendments of the UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION.

Therefore, the dispositive issue argued herein to this

Court by PETITIONER is whether the statutory provision,

under which Petitioner is charged, that automatically

turns the murder of a person less than fourteen years of

age, — without further, attendant circumstances —

into a capital crime is sufficiently tailored to avoid arbi-

trary and capricious outcomes. Godfrey v. Georgia, 446

U.S. 420 (1980). The State contends that it is. Petitioner,

however, maintains that Section 13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of

13

Alabama (1975 as rev.) is unconstitutional because the

unavoidable result of its application is an application of

law in violation of the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth, and Fourteenth

Amendments of the UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

and Article I, Section 1, 6, and 15 of the Alabama

Constitution.

In support of this position, Petitioner, by and through

counsel predicates her argument with the advancement of

two vital and important points. First, Petitioner does not

ask this Court to decide whether it is within the Legisla-

ture’s purview to accord special protection to children of

tender years. The fact that the Legislature has that right

and that obligation is not in dispute. Secondly, Petitioner

does not ask this Court to decide whether the Legislature

could have adopted a different approach to the classifica-

tion of capital offenses in Alabama, which might have ren-

dered Section 13A-5-40(a)(15) constitutional. The fact that

some states have chosen to enact statutes that narrow the

cases eligible for the death penalty at the sentencing phase

alone does not alter the fact that this state chose, as a mat-

ter of policy, to adopt a two-tier classification scheme to

satisfy the due process requirements of Furman v.

Georgia, 408 U.S. 238 (1972), Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.

153 (1976), and Woodson v. North Carolina, 428 U.S.

280 (1976).

Under the provision of the original enactment of the

Alabama Death Act, Section 13A-5-40, Code of Alabama

(1975), the Alabama Legislature determined that,

although all murders are felonies, only certain murders

would be classified as capital offenses. Each of those mur-

ders had to be characterized by some aggravating factor

that distinguished it from other murders. As set forth by

this Court in Beck v. State, 396 So.2d 645 (Ala. 1980),

“each of the crimes specified requires an intentional killing

with aggravation.” For example, an intentional killing

committed during a kidnapping, rape, robbery, or night-

time burglary of an occupied dwelling, is designated as an

“offense committed under aggravated circumstances.” See,

A ty Se AR ARR

14

e.g., Ex parte Johnson, 620 So.2d 709 (Ala. 1993) (murder

occurring during robbery). However, a murder perpetrated

without one of the qualifying factors is not even indictable

as a capital felony; no matter how brazen, cruel or

depraved the crime might be. £ee, e.g., Ex parte Jackson,

614 So.2d 405 (Ala. 1993) (murder of a bystander killed

when a bullet intended for the occupant of a car missed its

target could not qualify as a capital offense because the

statute is limited to victims shot while inside a motor vehi-

cle}; and Ex parte Kyzer, 399 So.2d 330, 337 (Ala. 1981).

A second, and equally, vital component of the Alabama

mandated “narrowing scheme”, is a separate sentencing

hearing at which the jury would weigh all mitigating evi-

dence introduced by the defendant against specific aggra-

vating circumstances set forth in Section 13A-5-49, Code

of Alabama (1975 as rev.), (formerly Section 13-11-6,

Code of Alabama [1975 as rev.]). See, Beck, supra. The

aggravating circumstances to be considered at sentencing

were held to be distinct from those that defined the mur-

der as a capital offense, even though many of them were

identical. Jd. at 663.

In the case at bar, the Supreme Court of Alabama, in

denying the Petition For Writ of Certiorari, upheld the rul-

ings of the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals and the

trial court; both of which held that the provision of the

Alabama Death Act predicating a capital offense solely on

the age of the victim, is constitutional because (1) it con-

tains an aggravating element that narrows the class of

crimes that can be considered capital — the age of the vic-

tim - and (2) the State must still prove that at least one of

the statutory aggravating factors in Section 13A-5-49

exists which outweighs any mitigating evidence intro-

duced. However, Petitioner avers to this Honorable Court

that these holdings beg the issue presented herein.

Although the age of the victim certainly restricts the

number of child murders that are deemed to be capital

offenses, it does not sufficiently narrow the category in

15

order to satisfy the commands of the Fifth, Sixth, Eighth,

and Fourteenth Amendments of the UNITED STATES

CONSTITUTION, nor the comparable provisions of the

Alabama Constitution. This provision of the Capital

Murder Statute, as presently written, does not distinguish

between the quick or reckless killing of a child under the

age of 14 years and the killing of such person under cir-

cumstances that reveal wanton cruelty, brutal behavior, or

fiendish purposes. As this portion of the statute is

presently enacted, every child who is the victim of exces-

sive corporal punishment, every child who dies as the

result of ignorant or inappropriate physical handling by

an adult, every child who is killed by someone who actu-

ally intended to kill another, spawns a capital murder

defendant — as long as the child is under 14 years of age.

Yet a child who is brutalized or tortured before being

killed but is 14 years of age, or older, or a child who is

viciously, wantonly, or intentionally killed by another

child of tender years, produces someone charged only

with murder. The tremendous disparity between the

potential punishments applicable to a conviction for each

of these offenses produces the freakish outcome, the lack of

substantive and procedural due process; indeed, precisely

the type of constitutional infirmity that this Honorable

Court found intolerable in Furman, supra and Gregg,

supra.

The dilemma inherent in Section 13A-5-40(a)(15) is

that by making the age of the victim the sole, aggravating

element which elevates a particular murder into a capital

offense, the State of Alabama has created a law that sub-

jects certain hapless people to a capital murder indict-

ment; although their actions are less culpable than the

actions of others charged only with murder and, therefore,

subject to no more than a life sentence. Accordingly, in this

manner, Section 13A-5-40(a)(15), Code of Alabama (1975

as rev.) is clearly both overbroad and underinclusive.

Although the State of Alabama would argue that the

weighing of aggravating and mitigating circumstances,

16

which occurs at the sentencing phase of a trial suffices to

meet the requirements of due process; this argument is

disingenuous and non-persuasive. The mere indictment of

a person for capital murder radically alters the compro-

mise value of the case. As this Court has repeatedly noted,

the nature of a criminal charge often has profound conse-

quences on the willingness of a jury to convict, or the

incentive of a defendant to plead to a lesser included

offense; Morris v. Mathews, 475 U.S. 237 (1986); Harris

v. Rivera, 454 U.S. 339 (1981); Ballew v. Georgia, 435

U.S. 223 (1978), and Tapp v. Lucas, 658 F.2d 383 (5th Cir

1981), citing Price v. Georgia, 398 U.S. 323, 331 (1970).

It is patently unfair to permit the initial indictment of

someone under the auspices of a capital murder statute,

when the only possible sentences upon conviction are life

without parole, or death. In this vein, PETITIONER avers

that the theory that the jury’s consideration of aggravating

and mitigating circumstances during the sentencing phase

is adequate protection against arbitrary and capricious

punishments is without constitutional persuasion.

PETITIONER proffers the following rationale in sup-

port of her position. First, a jury hearing a capital murder

case is “death-qualified”; Lockhart v. McCree, 476 U.S.

162 (1986) (removal for cause, from jury that decides guilt

phase of capital case, of persons whose attitudes toward

capital punishment would prevent, or substantially impair

performance of their duties at punishment phase does

not violate Sixth Amendment right to impartial jury);

Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 810 (1985) (state court’s

determination regarding exclusion of juror for cause

because of views on capital punishment is finding of fact

entitled to presumption of correctness). Furthermore,

empirical studies have established that death-qualified

juries are more predisposed to impose or recommend a sen-

tence of death than those jurors who have not been so

qualified. Therefore, any defendant charged with capital

murder is placed at an increased risk of a sentence based

on caprice or emotion.

17

Secondly, the only aggravating circumstance under

Section 13A-5-49, Code of Alabama (1975) possibly

applicable to apply to cases such as PETITIONER'S is that

the “offense was especially heinous, atrocious or cruel com-

pared to other capital offenses.” Where the murder of a

child results from bad parenting skills, ignorance, or inad-

equate impulse control, as so many murders of young chil-

dren do, the defendant is placed in the untenable position

of having to argue that this crime was not heinous, atro-

cious or cruel. Even with the State’s restriction of the

“heinous, atrocious or cruel” factor to “those conscienceless

or pitiless homicides which are unnecessarily torturous to

the victim,” Ex parte Kyzer, 399 So.2d 330, 334 (Ala.

1981), the innocence and helplessness of a child victim will

always be compelling evidence in the hands of a skillful

prosecutor with an unabiding penchant for securing a sen-

tence of death. Given the intrinsically inherent sympathy

that most adults have for children and society's natural

inclination to find the murder of a child by an adult partic-

ularly disturbing, there is a definite and substantial risk

that a judge or jury would find the offense charged to be

especially “heinous, atrocious or cruel”. As this Honorable

Court stated in Beck v. Alabama, 447 U.S. 625, 637

(1980),

“[s]uch a risk cannot be tolerated in a case in

which the defendant’s life is at stake. As we have

often stated, there is a significant constitu-

tional difference between the death penalty

and lesser punishments.” [Emphasis Added].

18

CONCLUSION

COMES NOW, Your PETITIONER, SUSAN AMELIA

WOODARD, and by and through counsel, respecfully

moves this Honorable Court, to grant this Writ of

Certiorari and to proceed under its rules to review the

matters complained of. Furthermore, PETITIONER moves

this Honorable Court to reverse the judgment of the

Alabama Supreme Court and direct that court to instruct

the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals to grant PETI-

TIONER’S Petition For Writ of Mandamus and remand

this cause to the trial court with instructions to grant

PETITIONER’S Motion To Dismiss The Indictment, as

well as granting such other relief to which as PETI-

TIONER may be entitled.

URICE S. BELL

Attorney For PETITIONER

547 South Lawrence Street

Montgomery, Al 36104

(205) 262-2719

19

REQUEST FOR ORAL ARGUMENT

COMES NOW YOUR PETITIONER, by and through

counsel, and respectfully moves this Honorable Court to

grant Oral Argument with respect to the issues contained

herein. In support of this request, PETITIONER avers

that determination of these issues will be of considerable

importance to the interests of the citizens of the State of

Alabama the citizenry of the United States and the general

public as a whole. Furthermore, the complexity of said

issues raises certain judicial inquiry. A proper resolution of

these issues requires oral argument to sufficiently explain

certain facets of the case.

Respectfully submitted this the 5th day of May, 1994.

47 South Lawrence Street

Montgomery, Al 36104

(205) 262-2719

20

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I hereby certify that I have served a copy of the fore-

going upon the Honorable William C. Gordon, Montgomery

County Circuit Judge, 101 South Lawrence Street,

Montgomery, Alabama, 36104; the Honorable Jimmy

Evans, Attorney General of Alabama, State House, 11

South Union Street, Montgomery, Alabama, 36130 and the

Honorable Ellen Brooks, District Attorney, 101 South

Lawrence Street, Montgomery, Alabama, 36104, Hon. Lane

Mann, Clerk, Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals, 300

Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama, 36130 and the

Honorable Robert Esdale, Clerk, Supreme Court of

Alabama, 300 Dexter Avenue, Montgomery, Alabama,

36130, by placing a copy of same in the United States

Mail, postage prepaid, addressed as above, the last known

address of each, on this the 5th day of May, 1994.

petite? GLA

URICE S. BELL

Attorney For PETITIONER

547 South Lawrence Street

Montgomery, Al 36104

(205) 262-2719

EXHIBITS

The following exhibits contain both motions filed by your

petitioner and orders of the courts in response thereto. In

order to comply with the pagination/printing requirements

of rule 33.1(c) Federal Rules of Procedure, all motions

and orders issued by the Circuit Court of Montgomery

County, Alabama; the Alabama Court of Criminal Appeals

and the Supreme Court of Alabama have been re-paginated.

neenren

App. 1

CIRCUIT COURT

FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Plaintiff,

v. CASE NO. CC-93-143-G

JAMES JOHNSON, JR..,

et cetera,

Defendant,

ORDER

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Plaintiff,

v. CASE NO. CC-93-604-G

SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD,

Defendant.

/

In accordance with the memorandum opinion

entered this date, it is ORDERED that the Defendants’

motions to dismiss are denied.

DONE and ORDERED this 3rd day of August, 1993.

/s/ William Gordon

WILLIAM GORDON

CIRCUIT JUDGE

cc: Robert Lusk, Esq.

Randy McNeill, Esq.

Maurice Bell, Esq.

Richard Keith, Esq.

Richard Cohen, Esq.

Dean Mooty, Esq.

EXHIBIT “A”

Te RL A ROLE te a5 oP IS? ARC IEE 728 ——--—--

App. 2

CIRCUIT COURT

FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Plaintiff,

v. CASE NO. CC-93-143-G

JAMES JOHNSON, JR.,

et cetera,

Defendant,

MEMORANDUM OPINION

STATE OF ALABAMA,

Plaintiff,

v. CASE NO. CC-93-604-G

SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD,

Defendant.

James Johnson, Jr., a/k/a Jamie Luster (Johnson) is

indicted for the capital offense in the murder of Jalesa

Marshay McQueen, and Susan Amelia Woodard (Woodard)

is indicted for the capital offense in the murder of

Elizabeth Doyle Franklin. Ala. Code Section 13A-5-

40(aX15) (1975). Johnson and Woodard have filed motions

to dismiss the indictments on substantially the same

grounds; and the cases are consolidated for the singular

purpose of ruling on these motions.’

1. Woodard adopted the brief and arguments of counsel for Johnson.

Neither she nor her counsel were present at the argument; however,

they indicated no inclination to be present or offer further argument;

and they have not objected to this procedure.

App. 3

1. FACTS

Johnson, an adult, is alleged to have murdered Jalesa

McQueen, a child one year and 145 days old, “by hitting,

shaking and/or kneeing her.” Woodard, an adult, is alleged

to have murdered Elizabeth Franklin, a child one year and

93 days old, “by shaking and/or hitting her with her hand

or hands.”

2. THE ALABAMA DEATH ACT

1992 Ala. Acts 601 further amended the Alabama

Death act, 1981 Ala. Acts 178 (the Act) (codified at Ala.

Code Section 13A-5-39 to -57 (1975)) by, among other

things, adding three new capital offenses. The offense at

issue is defined in 1992 Ala. Acts 601 Section 1(aX15)

which provides, as follows:

(a) The following are capital offenses:

(15) Murder when the victim is less than fourteen

years of age.

There is no legislative history or findings which assist

the Court in determining the legislative purpose in enact-

ing this new capital offense or why 14 was chosen as the

age component.

3. CONTENTIONS

Johnson and Woodard contend that Section 1(aX 15) is

arbitrary, over broad and discriminatory as enacted and as

applied because it predicates the capital offense solely on

the age of the victim, and, therefore, does not provide a

“meaningful basis for distinguishing cases in which death

is imposed from the many cases in which it is not.”

Johnson’s motion at paragraph 4, quoting Gregg vy,

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 188 (1976). They further argue

that the statutory sentencing scheme does not sufficiently

narrow the class; therefore, the Act violates the Eighth

and the Fourteenth Amendments to the United States

Constitution, and Article I, Section 1, 6 and 15 of the

Alabama Constitution.

TE ee UE TAS, Se ae et ae ee SRA —

App. 4

The State contends that (1) because the Alabama

Criminal Code predicates many felony offenses solely on

the age of the victim or the age of the victim and actor,”

there is no constitutional impediment to defining a capital

offense by the age of the victim; (2) the overbreadth doc-

trine does not apply because there is no first amendment

right at issue, and if it does apply, the offense at issue is

not over broad because it is specific in defining the offense

which is death eligible; (3) Section 1(a)(15) does not violate

the due process clause because there is a legitimate rela-

tionship to the public purpose in passing the legislation;

and (4) it does not violate due process because it operates

on all persons alike and does not subject individuals to the

arbitrary exercise of the powers of the government.

4. THE MERITS

“Capital punishment . . . is a legislative choice, not a

judicial one.” Beck v, State, 396 So.2d 645, 655 (Ala. 1980).

However, when a state enacts death penalty legislation, it

is constitutionally required to enact a statutory scheme

that “Provides an adequate basis for distinguishing a mur-

der case in which the death penalty may be imposed from

those cases in which such a penalty may not be imposed.”

Zant v. Stephens, 462 U.S. 862, 886 103 S.Ct. 2733, 2744

(1983). “(T]he narrowing function required for a regime of

2. See, e.g., Alabama Code § 13A-6-45 (interference with custody);

§ 13A-6-61(a)(3) (rape first degree); § 13A-6-62(a)(1) (rape second

degree); § 13A-6-63(a)(3) (sodomy first dogree); § 13-A-6-64(a)(1)

(sodomy second degree); § 13A-6-65(aX3) (sexual misconduct); § 13A-6-

66(aX3) (sexual abuse first degree); § 13A-6-67(aX2) (sexual abuse sec-

ond degree); § 13A-6-69 (enticing a child); § 13A-12-191 (dissemination

or public display of obscene matter); § 13A-12-196 (parent or guardian

permitting child, ward or dependent under 17 to participate in produc-

tion of obscene matter); § 13A-12-197 (production of obscene matter

depicting person under 17 years of age involved in obscene acts); § 13A-

12-200.5 (sale or distribution of obscene material to minors); § 13A-12-

215 (sale, et cetera, of a controlled substance by person over 18 to a

person under 18); § 13A-13-5 (abandonment of child less than 18); and

§ 13A-13-6(1) & (2) (endangering the welfare of a child.)

App. 5

capital punishment may be provided by either of two ways:

The legislature may itself narrow the definition of capital

offenses, . . . , so that the jury finding of guilt response to

this concern, or the legislature may more broadly define

capital offenses and provide for narrowing by jury findings

of aggravating circumstances at the penalty phase.” Lowen-

field v. Phelps, 484 U.S. 231, 246, 108 S.Ct. 546, 555 (1988).

The Act is not uniform in its substantive definitions of

the capital offenses. Under the Alabama Act, it can be said

that the capital offenses can be grouped into four cate-

gories: (1) nature of the criminal act, Section 13A-5-

4MaX1), (2), (3), (4), (8), (9) & (10); (2) special status of the

victim, Section 13A-5-40(a)(5), (11), (14) & (15); (3) a

combination of the nature of the criminal act and special sta-

tus of the victim, Section 13A-5-4aX16) & (17); and (40 spe-

cial status of the accused, Section 13A-5-40(6) & (13). Joseph

A. Colquitt, Pitfalls in Capital Cases, at 5 - 6 (July 14, 1993).

The Act narrows the class of people convicted of mur-

der who are death eligible in three ways. First it narrows

the class through definition of the capital offenses. Second,

it further narrows the class at the penalty phase by requir-

ing that the state must prove at least one aggravating cir-

cumstance beyond a reasonable doubt (Section 13A-5-49).*

Third, it still further narrows the class by providing auto-

matic appellate review when the death penalty is imposed,

which includes proportionality review (Section 13A-5-53).

Johnson and Woodard have cited, by way of example,

several capital punishment statutes‘ where the capital

offense based on age “Characteristically require[s] some

3. See Zant v. Stephens, 462, 103 S.Ct. 2747 (1983) (holding that

under Georgia’s sentencing scheme, the requirement that the jury find

at least one aggravating circumstance narrowed the class of persons eli-

gible for the death penalty if the aggravating circumstance is objec-

tively defined).

4. Ill. Code § 9-1(bX7); Md. Ann. Code Art. 27, § 413(5); Miss. Code

Ann. § 97-3-19; Mont. Code Ann. § 46-18-303; and Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-

31.8.

TE Pa ae Be

App. 6

other aggravating factor also be present before the defen-

dant is eligible for the death penalty.” Johnson's motion,

para. 3 at 7. They argue that Alabama, contrary to these

statutory schemes, “allows a conviction for capital murder

simply because of the age of the murder victim with any

other additional factor.” Id.

All of the capital offenses defined in the Act require

murder plus one or two additional components, e.g., mur-

der during the commission of another specified criminal

offense (one additional component), murder of any police

officer while such officer is on duty (two additional compo-

nents). Section 1(aX15) requires an additional component,

i.e., that the victim is less than 14 years of age. In addi-

tion, before the defendant is death eligible, the state must

prove beyond a reasonable doubt at least one of the aggra-

vating circumstances specified in Section A-5-49. In this

regard, the Court notes that no aggravating circumstance

in Section 13A-5-49 mirrors the capital offenses at issue.*

Therefore, it is incorrect to suggest that the offense is

death eligible based solely on the age of the victim.

The Court holds that Section 1(aX15), when consid-

ered in context with the other provisions of the Act, suffi-

ciently narrows the class of perscns who are ultimately

death eligible. the Illinois death statute is sufficiently

5. In the Alabama Death Act many aggravating circumstances mir-

ror the capital offenses. Thus, in some cases when the state proves the

capital offense beyond a reasonable doubt, it simultaneously proves the

aggravating circumstance. Put another way, the defendant automati-

cally becomes death eligible in the guilt phase of the trial. When no

aggravating circumstance mirrors the capital offense, the defendant

does not become death eligible until the state proves an aggravating cir-

cumstance in the punishment phase. See Border v. Armonstrout, 713

F.Supp. 1573, 1558 (D. Mo. 1989).

Granted, at least some of the evidence which may tend to prove an

aggravating circumstance may be admissible in the guilt phase; how-

ever, such evidence is not required to be introduced, and under some

circumstances, will not be admissible. An attempt to introduce such evi-

dence could rise to the level of constitutional prejudice to the defendant.

App. 7

similar to the Alabama Act so that a comparison of the two

statutory regimes is possible and is supportive of the

Courts’ holding.

The Illinois death statute, 720 ILCS 5/9-1 (1992 State

Bar Edition), requires that for a defendant to be death eli-

gible he must (1) be found guilty of murder in the first

degree; (2) the defendant must be 18 years of age or older;®

and (3) the murder must have been accompanied by at

least one statutory aggravating factor.’ One of the aggra-

vating factors, Section 5/9-1(bX7), provides as follows:

(7) the murdered individual

of age and the death resulted from exceptionally

brutal or heinous behavior indicative of wanton

cruelty.

If the prosecution requests a sentencing hearing (for the

purpose of seeking the death penalty), the fact finder, if it is

a jury, must unanimously find beyond a reasonable doubt

that one or more Section 5/9-1(b) factors exist,° and then

“shall consider aggravating and mitigating factors as

instructed by the court and shall determine whether the

sentence of death should be imposed. If the jury determines

unanimously that there are no mitigating factors sufficient

to preclude the imposition of the death sentence, the court

shall sentence the defendant to death.” Section 5/9-1(g).

The procedure is the same when the fact finder in the sen-

tencing hearing is the judge. Section 5/9-1(h). A sentence of

death is automatically reviewable. Section 5/9-1(i).

6. Under the Illinois statute, a defendant less than 18 years of age

cannot be punished by death.

7. The Illinois death statute also allows consideration of non-enu-

merated aggravating factors. § 5/9-1(b).

8. Under the Illinois statute it is conceivable that the trial will have

three stages: a guilt phase to determine if the defendant is guilty of first

degree murder, a second phase to determine if any § 5/9-1(b) aggravat-

ing factor is present and, if the state proves an aggravating factor

beyond a reasonable doubt, a third phase, to determine if the proper

punishment is death.

App. 8

In Illinois, a defendant is death eligible if he is found

guilty of first degree murder; he is 18 or older; the victim

was under 12 years of age; and the victim’s desta resulted

from exceptionally brutal or heinous behavior indicative of

wanton cruelty. In Alabama, a defendant is death eligible

if he is found guilty of murder, the victim was under 14

years of age and, for instance, the capital offense was espe-

cially heinous, atrocious or cruel compared to other capital

offenses’ (Section 13A-5-49(8)). Notwithstanding the proce-

dural difference in the statutes, a defendant can be sen-

tenced to death in either state only if there is a murder

plus aggravation. In framing its statute, Illinois chose to

place two components in the Section 5/-1(bX7) aggravating

factor; Alabama chose to place an additional component in

the definition of the capital offense. Under either proce-

dure, the narrowing process is the same. Additionally, and

importantly, the Section 5/9-1(bX7) aggravating factor is not

facially invalid and “adequately narrows the group of per-

sons eligible for death from others guilty of murder.” People

y. Odle, 538 NE 2d 428, 440-41 (Ill. 1988), cert. denied, 110

S.Ct. 3289 (1990), reh’g denied, 111 S.Ct. 16 (1990).

Neither Johnson nor Woodard have cited the Court to

any authority which held a death punishment statute

unconstitutional because the statute defines the capital

offense based on the age of the victim or because the

statute considered the age of the victim as an aggravating

factor. The authority appears to be to the contrary. People

vy. Odle. There are decisions of the United States Supreme

Court which utilized a proportionality analysis to find that

9. This aggravating circumstance, as construed and applied by the

Alabama Courts, serves the narrowing function required by the Eighth

Amendment to the United States Constitution. Lindsey v. Thigpen, 875

F.2d 1509 (11th Cir. 1989). See Lewis v, Jeffers, .§ US. 110

S.Ct. 3092 (1990) (Arizona statutory aggravating circumstance that

crime was committed “in especially heinous, cruel or depraved manner”

was not unconstituticnally vague and over broad when Arizona Supreme

Court narrowed its application by construction and consistently applied

the narrowed interpretation).

App. 9

a particular offense does not justify the death penalty, e.g.,

ida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) (the death penalty

is unconstitutional where the defendant is convicted of a

felony murder), Coker v, Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) (the

death penalty is constitutionally excessive punishment for

rape). However, when, in the opinion of the legislature,” a

class of victims require special protection and the statu-

tory scheme provides a meaningful method of narrowing

the class of defendants who are death eligible, the statute

is not constitutionally infirm.

The age criteria in the Act has a historical basis in

Alabama law. At common law a child over 7 but less than

14 was presumed to be incapable of committing a felonious

criminal offense. Hampton vy, State, 55 So. 1018 (Ala. Ct.

App. 1911). This presumption was rebuttable. Section 13A-

3-3 changed the common law, and it provides that no per-

son under 14 can be prosecuted for a criminal offense.

Historically, the rationale given for this rule was that the

child lacked sufficient discretion to appreciate the crimi-

nality of his conduct, Hampton; or that the child did not

possess sufficient mental capacity or lacked the requisite

guilty knowledge of the wrongfulness or wickedness of the

act charged, Key v, State, 58 So. 936 (Ala. Ct. App. 1912);

or the child could not comprehend the wrongfulness of his

guilty act, Ragsdale v, State, 67 So. 783 (Ala. Ct. App. 1914).

The recognition of 14 as a level of maturity sufficient

to shift responsibility to a child for his acts is reflected in

other areas of Alabama law. Section 15-16-2 provides that

every person over 14 is presumed, in terms of iheir mental

state, to be responsible for their acts. Section 26-2A-76 pro-

vides that a minor 14 or older may nominate a guardian,

and Section 26-2A-72 provides that a minor 14 or older

may prevent the appointment of a particular guardian.

Section 12-15-34 provides that the juvenile court can

10. The specification of punishments is a question of legislative pol-

icy. California v. Ramos, 463 U.S. 992 (1983),

App. 10

transfer a case to the circuit court for prosecution only

when the child is over 14 years of age."

The Court concludes that inasmuch as the legislature

has concluded as a matter of public policy that children

over 14 are mature enough to be responsible for their acts,

the converse is likewise true, i.e., that children under 14

require special protection. Therefore, the legislatures’ pol-

icy decision to select 14 as a component of the capital

offense is neither arbitrary nor capricious.

Based on the foregoing the Court holds that the Act,

when considered as a whole and in historical context, nar-

rows the class of defendants in a rational and principled

manner, and it is not unconstitutional under the United

States Constitution or the Alabama Constitution. The

motions to dismiss are due to be denied.

An appropriate order will enter.

DONE and ORDERED this 3rd day of August, 1993.

/s/ William Gordon

WILLIAM GORDON

CIRCUIT JUDGE

cc: Robert Lusk, Esq.

Randy McNeill, Esq.

Maurice Bell, Esq.

Richard Keith, Esq.

Richard Cohen, Esq.

Dean Mooty, Esq.

11. Other examples can be found in Ala. Code § 25-8-1; § 35-6-82,

§ 5-11A-32; §26-2A-75; and § 35-5A-19.

ah a a: ps lai cette

App. 11

CIRCUIT COURT

FIFTEENTH JUDICIAL CIRCUIT

CASE NO. CC-93-604-G

STATE OF ALABAMA,

\

Plaintiff,

v. ORDER

SUSAN AMELIA WOODARD,

Defendant.

/

Susan Woodard (Woodard) has filed a motion to post-

pone the trial so that she can seek appellate review of this

Court’s order which denied her motion to dismiss the

indictment. The State objects to a postponement for

numerous reasons, among them that a petition for writ of

mandamus has not been filed. The Court finds that the

trial should be postponed for the reasons stated below.

In the court’s prior order, it recited the bare facts set

out in the indictment against Woodard. The Court takes

this opportunity to enlarge its statement of the facts, and

notes that this summation is taken from Woodard’s state-

ment and the report of the medical examiner, James R.

Lauridson, M. D.'

1. Woodard strongly contests the accuracy of her statement because

she says she misunderstood the questions and her answers conflict in

many respects. The Court has summarized the facts in a manner most

favorable to the State.

EXHIBIT “B”

App. 12

Woodard was a licensed day care mother and she had

been caring for Elizabeth Dowe Franklin (Dowe) since July

or August of 1992. The events which form the basis of the

State’s case against her occurred during the period from

December 29, 1992 through January 6, 1993, the date

Dowe died.

On December 29, 1992 Dowe was being cared for in

Woodard’s home. Dowe and Woodard’s child were in the

iaundry room and Dowe apparently fell. In an aggravated

state, Woodard jerked Dowe up from the laundry room

floor and Dowe’s head popped back and bounced off the

wooden floor. Woodard then sort of pushed Dowe down and

her head hit the Floor again. Woodard then snatched Dowe

up by both arms and she thinks that the child’s head hit

the floor a third time. Woodard realized that she had hurt

Dowe, but the child was not unconscious and “didn’t never

really cry.” Dowe was “like maybe she had her senses

knocked crazy for a minute.” Woodard then “threw her in a

playpen so her head went back again. After this the child

was groggy but ate spaghetti and took a nap.

That evening Dowe’s mother, Dale Franklin, called

Woodard and asked if Dowe had fallen that day because

she was throwing up and had a knot on her head.

Woodard did not tell Mrs. Franklin about the incident at

her house.

On January 6, 1993 Dowe was brought to Woodard’s

house and she was groggy and sleepy. Dowe was placed in

the playpen and at some point Woodard noticed that Dowe

had thrown up and appeared to be unconscious. Woodard

shook Dowe causing her head to bob three or four good

times. At some point Woodard thought that, perhaps, the

shaking broke Dowe’s neck. The paramedics were eventu-

ally called and Dowe was taken to the hospital were she

later died.

The forensic examiner’s report shows, among other

things, that the child had bruises on her right and left

upper arms, and Dr. Lauridson is of the opinion that death

App. 13

was “as a result of complications of a closed head injury

resulting in subdural hematoma and cerebral edema”.

The above-recited facts are intended to be included in

the statement of facts, in this Court prior order.

Woodard’s counsel] represent that they will file a peti-

tion for writ of mandamus no later than the close of busi-

ness on August 13, 1993. At the hearing counsel

represented that the main thrust of its argument will be

that predicating the capital offense of the death of a child

under fourteen was an arbitrary and capricious legislative

act and violative of the federal and state constitutions. In

Woodard’s motion to dismiss the indictment, Woodard also

suggested, but did not argue, that the statute was uncon-

stitutional as applied in the facts of this case.

As noted in the Court’s prior order, 1992 Ala. Acts 601

added three new capital offenses to the Alabama Death

Act. There is a suggestion, but no proof, that these new

capital offenses were enacted to address the problem of

“drive-by shootings”. The attack on the section at issue,

Ala. Code Section 13A-5-40(aX150, presents a question of

first impression in this state. The Court recognizes the

grounds for the State’s objection to Woodard’s motion. In

addition, the Court, as does the State, also recognizes that

no party wishes to try this case twice in the event Section

13A-5-40(aX15) is ultimately found to violate the state of

federal constitutions.

The Court is confident in the correctness of its order

denying Woodard’s motion to dismiss the indictment in

this case; however, under the circumstances this Court

also believes that Woodard should have the opportunity to

seek appellate review before the case is tried. The Court

recognizes that the appellate court may decline to review

this matter.

For the foregoing reasons, it is ORDERED that the

trial of this case is postponed if woodard’s counsel files a

petition for writ of mandamus before the close of business

on August 13, 1993.

App. 14

DONE and ORDERED on the 12th day of August,

1993.

/s/ William Gordon

WILLIAM GORDON

CIRCUIT JUDGE

cc: Robert Lusk, Esq.

Randy McNeill, Esq.

Maurice Bell, Esq.

Richard Keith, Esq.

Richard Cohen, Esq.

Dean Mooty, Esq.

App. 15

THE STATE OF ALABAMA - - - JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

THE ALABAMA COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

OCTOBER TERM, 1992-93

CR 92-1868

Ex parte: Susan Amelia Woodard

(In re: State of Alabama vs. Susan Amelia Woodard)

Montgomery Circuit Court No. CC-93-604

PETITION FOR WRIT OF MANDAMUS

BOWEN, PRESIDING JUDGE

This a petition for writ of mandamus challenging the

constitutionality of the capital offense defined in Ala. Code

1975, Section 13A-5-40(aX 15), which we term “child-murder.”

The petitioner, 37-year-old Susan Amelia Woodard

was indicted for the capital murder of a 15-month-old

Elizabeth B. Dowe Franklin. The events that form the

basis of the State’s case occurred on December 29, 1992,

and January 6, 1993. On these two dates, the infant was

under the care of petitioner, a licensed day care person,

who allegedly shook the infant and allegedly caused the

infant to hit her head on the floor. The infant died on

January 6, 1993, “‘as a result of complications of a closed

head injury resulting in subdural hematoma and cerebral

edema.’” Order of the circuit court, August 12, 1993, p. 3.

EXHIBIT “C”

App. 16

On April 28, 1993, the petitioner, moved to dismiss

the indictment arguing that the statute on which the

indictment was based, Ala. Code 1975, Section 13A-5-

40(aX15), was unconstitutional. On July 2, 1993, the trial

court held a hearing on the matter. On August 3, 3993, the

trial court issued a written order denying the motion to

dismiss and upholding the constitutionality of the statute.

That order was supplemented by a second order dated

August 12, 19932, in which the trial judge set out the

State’s factual allegations and postponed the trial of the

case to allow the petitioner the opportunity to seek appel-

late review of the denial of the motion to dismiss the

indictment.

This Court is well aware that “[pletitions for writ of

mandamus cannot be substituted for appeals to review

adverse legal rulings of lower courts.” Because the peti-

tioner could ultimately challenge on direct appeal from any

conviction the trial court’s denial of her motion to dismiss,

that matter is not properly reviewable by petition for writ

of mandamus. See Ex parte Fowler, 574 So.2d 745, 747

(Ala. 1990). “‘This for the reason, that appellate courts will

not hear causes in piecemeal.’” Jd. (quoting Koonce v,

Arnold, 244 Ala. 513, 514, 14 So.2d 512, 515 (1943)).

Nevertheless, in the interests of judicial economy and

under the authority granted this Court by Section 12-3-11,

we deem it appropriate to address the merits of this peti-

tion. See Ex parte Jackson, 614 So.2d 408 (Ala. 1993)

(reviewing on petition for writ of mandamus trial court’s

denial of defendant’s motion to dismiss).

Act No. 92-601, 1992 Ala. Acts 1247, amended

Alabama’s criminal code Section 13A-5-40 to include as a

capital offense “[m]urder when the victim is less than four-

teen years of age.” Ala. Code 1975, Section 13A-5-40(aX15).

As this Court understands the petitioner’s arguments, the

petitioner contends that this child-murder provision is

unconstitutional because 1) it is arbitrary, overbroad, and

discriminatory in that it predicates the capital offense

solely on the age of the victim; 2) the subsection is vague

App. 17

and fails to sufficiently narrow the class of people which

may become “death eligible”; and 3) the subsection “is con-

tradictory and in diametric opposition to the legislative

intent which underlies the purpose of the statute as a

whole” because the subsection does not include as an ele-

ment of the offense at least one of the aggravating factor

listed in Section 13A-5-49. (Petition for writ of mandamus

at 8). We reject each of these arguments.

I

Section 13 A-5-40(aX15), the child-murder provision of

Alabama’s capital offense statutes is not unconstitutionally

overbroad.

““The overbreadth doctrine derives from the

First Amendment, See Young v. American Mini

Theaters, 427 U.S. 50, 96 S.Ct. 2440, 49 L.Ed. 2d

310 (1976); Parker v, Levy, 417 U.S. 733, 94 S.Ct.

2547, 41 L.Ed.2d 439 (1974), and serves to invali-

date legislation so sweeping that, along with its

allowable proscriptions, it also restricts constitu-

tionally-protected rights of free speech, press, or

assembly, see e.g., Coates v, Cincinnati, 402 U.S.

611, 91 S.Ct. 1686, 29 L.Ed.2d 214 (1971). Since

there are no First Amendment rights at stake

here, the overbreadth doctrine does not apply.

See Vj —

, 455 U.S. 489, 497 n. 9,

102 S.Ct. 1186, 1192 n. 9, 71 L.Ed.2d 362 ( 1982).

McCall v, State, 565 So.2d 1163, 1165 (Ala.Cr.App. 1990).

“The doctrine of overbreadth recognizes that a

state legislature may have a legitimate and sub-

stantial interest in regulating particular behav-

ior, but ‘that purpose cannot be pursued by

means that broadly stifle fundamental personal

liberties when the end can be more narrowly

achieved.’ Shelton v. Tucker, 364 U.S. 479,488...

App. 18

(1960). Historically, the overbreadth doctrine has

been used by the federal courts to prevent a chill-

ing effect on First Amendment freedoms. Note,

The First Amendment Overbreadth Doctrine, 83

Harv. L. Rev. 844, 852 (1970). . . . However, the

overbreadth doctrine under ‘the Alabama

Constitution has been applied in due process cases

not bette a a ae shortens See

of Ensitiaartal Micaneatans 437 So. 2d 82

(Ala. 1983).

“Justice Adams, for the full Court in RossNeely

Express, wrote:

“‘The right to due process is guaranteed to

the citizens of Alabama under the Alabama

Constitution of 1901, Article 1, Sections 6

and 13. This constitutional right to due

process applies in civil actions as well as

criminal proceedings. Pike v. Southern Bell

Telephone and Telegraph Co., 263 Ala. 59, 81

So.2d 254 (1955). The Courts have found

that this right is violated when a statute or

regulation is unduly vague, unreasonable or

overbroad ....’

“In reviewing a regulation of a county

Board or Health, this court held that the

central issue was reasonableness. Baldwin

County Board of Health v. Baldwin County

Electric Membership Corporation, 355 So.2d

708 (Ala. 1978. In City of Russellville v.

Vulcan Materials Co., 382 So.2d 525 (Ala.

1980), this court said:

“*“The validity of a police power regu-

lation . . . under that the existing circum-

stances, the regulation is reasonable,

and whether it is really designed to

App. 19

accomplish a purpose properly falling

within the scope of the police power.

i irmi , 292

Ala. 684, 299 So.2d 282 (1974).

Otherwise expressed, the police power

may not be employed to prevent evils of

a remote or highly problematical char-

acter. Nor may its exercise be justified

when the restraint imposed upon the

exercise of a private right is dispropor-

tionate to the amount of evil that will

be corrected. Bolin v, State, 266 Ala.

256, 96 So.2d 582, conformed to in 39

Ala.App. 161, 96 So.2d 592 (1957).”’

“Statutes and regulations are void for

overbreadth if their object is achieved by

means which sweep unnecessarily broadly

and thereby invade the area of protected

freedoms. See Zwickler v, Koota, 389 U.S.

241, 88 S.Ct. 391, 19 L.Ed. 2d 444 (1967);

ishi , 385 U.S.

389, 87 S.Ct. 675, 17 L.Ed. 2d 629 (1967).’

“437 So.2d at 84-85.”

Friday v. Ethanol Corp,, 539 So.2d 208, 315-216 (Ala.

1988).

We find that Ala. Code 1975, Section 13A-5-40(aX 15),

is reasonable and invades no area of protected freedoms.

The only act forbidden by that subsection is an intentional

killing — a murder. The appellant has no right to murder

a 15-month-old child. Murder is not a constitutionally pro-

tected activity.

“[A] physical assault is not by any stretch of the

imagination expressive conduct protected by the

First Amendment. See

Jaycees, 468 U.S. 609, 628, 104 S.Ct. 3244, 3255,

App. 20

82 L.Ed.2d 462 (1984) {V]iolence or other types of

potentially expressive activities that produce spe-

cial harms distinct from their communicative

impact .. . are entitled to no constitutional pro-

tection’); NAACP vy, Claiborne Hardware Co,, 458

U.S. 886, 916, 102 S.Ct. 3409, 3427, 73 L.Ed.2d

1215 (1982) (‘The First Amendment does not pro-

tect violence’).”

Wisconsin vy. Mitchell, 508 U.S. __, 113 S.Ct. 2194, 2199,

124 L.Ed.2d 436, 444-45 (1993).

II

Section 13A-5-40(a)(15) is not unconstitutionally

vague.

“‘The doctrine of vagueness, ... originates

in the due process clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment, see Lanzetta v. New Jersey,

306 U. S. 451, 59 S.Ct. 618, 83 L.Ed. 888

(1939), and is the basis for striking down

legislation which contains insufficient warn-

ing of what conduct is unlawful, see United

Stat National Dairy Prod 0 :

tion, 372 U.S. 29, 83 S.Ct. 594, 9 L.Ed.2d

561 (1963).

“Void for vagueness simply means that

criminal responsibility should not attach

where one could not reasonably understand

that his contemplated conduct is proscribed.

United States v. Harriss, 347 U.S. 612, 617,

74 S.Ct. 808, 811, 98 L.Ed. 989, 996 (1954).

A vague statute does not give adequate

“notice of the required conduct to one who

would avoid its penalties,” Boyce Motor

Lines v. United States, 342 U.S. 337, 340, 72

S.Ct. 329, 330, 96 L.Ed. 367, 371 (1951), is

not “sufficiently focused to forewarn of both

App. 21

its reach and coverage,” United States y.

ion, 372

U.S. at 33, 83 S.Ct. at 598, 9 L.Ed.2d at 566,

and “may trap the innocent by not providing

fair warning,” ,

408 U.S. 104, 108, 92 S.Ct. 2294, 2298, 33

L.Ed.2d 222, 227-28 (1972).

“‘As the United States Supreme Court

observed in Wj , 333 U.S.

507, 68 S.Ct. 665, 92 L.Ed. 849 (1948):

“*“There must be ascertainable stan-

dards of guilt. Men of common intelli-

gence cannot be required to guess at the

meaning of the enactment. The vague-

ness may be from uncertainty in regard

to persons within the scope of the act, or

in regard to the applicable tests to

ascertain guilt.”’

“*333 U.S. at 515-16, 68 S.Ct. at 670, 92

L.Ed.2d [at] 849-50 (citations omitted].’

“McCrary vy, State, 429 So.2d 1121, 1123-24

(Ala.Cr.App. 1982), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 913,

104 S.Ct. 273, 78 L.Ed.2d 254 (1983).”

McCall v. State, 565 So.2d 1163, 1165 (Ala.Cr.App. 1990).

“It is well settled that, in order to pass consti-

tutional muster, a penal statute must ‘define the

criminal offense with sufficient definiteness that

ordinary people can understand what conduct is

prohibited and in a manner that does not encour-

age arbitrary and discriminatory enforcement.’

» 461 U.S. 352, 357, 103 U.S.

1855, 1858, 75 L.Ed.2d 903 (1983) (citations

omitted).

App. 22

““Due process requires that all “be informed

as to what the State commands or forbids.”

Lanzetta v. New Jersey, 306 U.S. 451, 453,

59 S.Ct. 618, 619, 83 L.Ed. 888 (1939), and

that “men of common intelligence” not be

forced to guess at the meaning of the crimi-

nal law. Connally v. General Construction,

269 U.S. 385, 391, 46 S.Ct. 126, 127, 70

L.Ed. 322 (1926).

‘Smith v. Goguen, 415 U.S. 566, 574, 94, S.Ct.

1242, 1248, 39 L.Ed.2d 605 (1974).”

Senf yv. State, [Ms. CR 91-1207, February 12, 1993] __

So.2d (Ala.Cr.App. 1993). Here, Section 13A-5-

4Q(aX15) provides fair warning of what is forbidden. See

Rose v, Locke, 423 U.S. 48, 96 S.Ct. 243, 46 L.Ed.2d 185

(1975). Clearly, this section informs ordinary people of the

prohibited conduct. See Wright v. State, 599 So.2d 637, 638

(Ala.Cr.App.), cert. denied, 609 So.2d 452 (Ala. 1992).

Furthermore, the petitioner has no legitimate ground

to complain that Section 13A-5-40(aX15) is unclear as to

her conduct. “Vagueness challenges to statutes which do

not involve First Amendment freedoms must be examined

in light of the facts of the case at hand.” Jordan v. State,

411 So.2d 816, 818 (Ala.Cr.App. 1981).

[Blecause ‘[t]he essential purpose of the “void for

vagueness” doctrine is to warn individuals or the

criminal consequences of their conduct,’ Jordan v.

De George, 341 U.S. 223, 230, 71 S.Ct. 703, 707,

95 L.Ed. 886 (1951), ‘loJne to whose conduct a

statute clearly applies may not successfully chal-

lenge it for vagueness,’ Parker v. Levy, 417 U.S.

733, 756, 94 S.Ct. 2547, 2562, 41 L.Ed.2d 439

(1974), ‘even though the statute may well be

vague as applied to others,’ Aiello v. City of

Wilmington, 623 F.2d 845, 850 (3d Cir. 1980).

Therefore, a defendant who challenges a statute

App. 23

on the grounds of vagueness ‘must demonstrate

that the statute under attack is vague as applied

to his own conduct, regardless of the potentially

vague applications to others.’ Aiello, 623 F.2d at

850 (emphasis added). Accord Rode vy,

Dellarciprete, 845 F.2d 1195, 1199-1200 (3d Cir.

1988).”

Senf, ___ So.2d at __ (footnote omitted). The petitioner

has failed to meet that burden.

Ill

The petitioner claims that the Section 13A-5-40)aX 15)

is unconstitutional because it is arbitrary and because the

subsection fails to sufficiently narrow the class of people

that may become “death eligible.” We reject these con-

tentions.

“A capital sentencing scheme must, in short, pro-

vide a ‘“meaningful basis for distinguishing the

few cases in which [the death penalty] is imposed

from the many cases in which it is not.”’ [Gregg v.

Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 188, 96 S.Ct. 2909, 2932,

49 L.Ed.2d 859 (1976)], quoting Furman v.

Georgia, [408 U.S. 238, 313, 92 S.Ct. 2726, 2763,

33 L.Ed.2d 346 (1972)] (White, J., concurring).

“This means that if a State wishes to authorize

capital punishment it has a constitutional

responsibility to tailor and apply its law in a

manner that avoids the arbitrary and capricious

infliction of the death penalty.”

, 446 U.S. 420, 426-428, 100 S.Ct. 1759,

1764, 64 L.Ed.2d 398, 406 (1980).

Alabama’s capital offense statutes include a sentenc-

ing scheme that is neither arbitrary nor capricious. Ex

parte Hays, 518 So.2d 768, 774 (Ala. 1986); Daniels v.

State, 534 So.2d 638, 642-45 (Ala.Cr.App. 1985), aff’d 534

App. 24

So.2d 656 (Ala. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1040, 197

S.Ct. 898, 93 L.Ed.2d 850 (1987).

“The Supreme Court has required heightened

reliability in the imposition of the death penalty,

but the Court has not mandated any particular

state statutory approach to capital punishment.

To minimize the risk of arbitrary action and pro-

vide individualized sentencing, however, the

Court has imposed two general requirements of

the capital sentencing process. First, a state must

channel the sentencer’s discretion in order to

‘genuinely narrow the class of persons eligible for

the death penalty and .. . [thus] reasonably jus-

tify the imposition of a more severe sentence on

the defendant compared to others found guilty of

murder.’ Second, the State may not limit the sen-

tencer’s consideration of any relevant evidence

that might lead the sentencer to decline to evi-

dence that might lead the sentencer to decline to

impose the death penalty.

“The required narrowing of the class of death-

eligible defendants may occur at either the guilt

or the sentencing phase of a capital trial. When

narrowing is accomplished during the sentencing

phase, the sentencer determines whether certain

characteristics of the crime, known as aggravat-

ing circumstances, distinguish the gravity of the

offense so as to justify the imposition of the death

penalty.”

Daniel F. McInnis et al., Project, Twenty-Second Annual

Revi Criminal P Seek: Sinitedl Sthine fi :

Court and Courts of Appeals 1991-1992, 81 Geo.L.J. 853,

1471-73 (1993) (footnotes omitted).

The required narrowing of the class of death-eligible

defendants accused of violating Section 13A-5-40(a)(15)

occurs at the sentencing phase of the capital trial when the

App. 25

sentencer must determine the existence of at least one of

the aggravating circumstances listed in Section 13A-5-49.

See Sections 13A-5-46(e); 13A-5-47(d) and (e).

Furthermore, ‘(t]he statutory aggravating circumstances

may not be added to or expanded.” Nelson v, State, 405

So.2d 392, 400 (Ala.Cr.App. 1980) reversed on other

grounds, 405 So.2d 401 (Ala. 1981).

In order for a defendant to be sentenced to death upon

a conviction under Section 13A-5-40(aX15), the defendant

must be guilty of the intentional murder of a child under

the age of 14 years and the sentencer must find the exis-

tence of at least one of the aggravating circumstances enu-

merated in Section 13A-5-49, thereby narrowing the class

of “death eligible” defendants.

IV

The petitioner asserts that Section 13A-5-40(aX 15) is

unconstitutional because it “is contradictory and in dia-

metric opposition to the legislative intent which underlies

the purpose of the statute as a whole.” The gist of her

argument is that a capital offense defined in Section 13A-

5-40 must include as an element at least one of the aggra-

vating circumstances set forth in Section 13A-5-49. This

argument is without merit.

Under our current statutory scheme, a “capital

offense” is “[aJn offense for which a defendant shall be pun-

ished by a sentence of death ife j j

parole according to the provisions of . . . [Alrticle [2 of

Chapter 5 of Title 13A].” Section 13A-5-39(10) (emphasis

added). The specific forms of conduct that the legislature

has declared to be “capital offenses” are set forth in Section

13A-5-40 (Supp. 1993). Each of these offenses consists of

an intentional murder coupled with some other element,

e.g., that the murder was committed during the commis-

sion of certain other felonies (kidnapping, robbery, rape,

sodomy, burglary, sexual abuse, and arson), Section 13A-5-

App. 26

40(aX1), (2), (3), (4), (8), and (9); that the murder was com-

mitted for pecuniary gain, Section 13A-5-40(7); and that

the victim was a law enforcement officer, Section 13A-5-

40(5). Although this other element” is sometimes referred

to as an “aggravating circumstance,” Kuenzel v. State, 577

So.2d 474, 490 (Ala. Cr.app. 1990), affirmed, 577 So.2d 531

(Ala.), cert. denies ____—s—*U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 242 (1991),

Crow vy. State, 485 So.2d 351, 367 (Ala.Cr.App. 1984),

reversed on other grounds, 485 So.2d 373 (Ala. 1985), cert.

denied, 477 U.S. 909 (1986), the Section 13A-5-40 “other

element” should not be confused with the statutory aggra-

vating circumstances set out in Section 13A-5-49.

A number, but not all, of the Section 13A-5-40 capital

offenses include as “other elements” conduct that clearly

corresponds to one or more of the aggravating circum-

stances specified in Section 13A-5-49. For example, the

capital offense of intentional murder during a rape,

Section 13A-5-40(1)(3), intentional murder during a rob-

bery, Section 13A-5-40(aX2), intentional murder during a

burglary, Section 13A-5-40(a)(4), and intentional murder

during a kidnapping, Section 13A-5-40(a)(1), parallel the

aggravating circumstance that “[t}he capital offense was

committed while the defendant was engaged... [in a]

rape, robbery, burglary or kidnapping,” Section 13A-5-

49(4). However, other capital offenses, such as intentional

murder during a sodomy, Section 13A-5-40(a)(3), inten-

tional murder during sexual abuse, Section 13A-5-4(aX8),

the intentional murder of two or more persons by one act

or course of conduct, Section 13A-5-40(a) (10), and the

offense of which the petitioner is accused, the intentional

murder of a child, Section 13A-5-40(aX 15), do not parallel

any aggravating circumstance enumerated in Section 13A-

5-49. See Ex parte Kyzer, 399 So.2d 330, 334 (Ala. 1981)

(recognizing as “an anomaly” in the former capital offense

statutes that “there [wa]s a corresponding aggravating cir-

cumstance for most, but not all, of the aggravated

offenses”).

a ee«©,

App. 27

The fact that Section 13A-5-40(aX15) does not parallel

a statutory aggravating circumstance does not render that

Section “contradictory and in diametric opposition to the

legislative intent which underlies the purpose of the

statute as a whole.” To the contrary, the legislature has

clearly classified certain crimes as “capital offenses,”

Section 13A-5-40, and it has set the minimum punishment

for such crimes as imprisonment of life without parole, see

Sections 13A-5-45(f); 13A-5-46(3\1). This is no different

from the legislature’s classifying other offenses for pur-

poses of punishment and establishing minimum and maxi-

mum punishments for each classification. See Sections

13A-5-3; 13A-5-6; 13A-5-7. A greater punishment — death

— may be imposed on a defendant convicted of a capital

offense, but only if one or more of the aggravating circum-

stances enumerated in Section 13A-5-49 is found to exist

and that aggravating circumstance(s) outweighs any miti-

gating circumstance(s) that may exist. See Sections 13A-5-

45(f); 13A-5-46(e); 13A-5-47(3). Cf. Ex parte Kyzer, 399

So.2d at 334 (under former capital offense statutes, death

sentence could not be upheld where defendant was con-

victed of the intentional murder of three persons in one

course of conduct, but no statutory aggravating circum-

stances existed); Holladay v. State, 549 So.2d 122, 133

(Ala.Cr.App. 1988) (death sentence upheld where defen-

dant was convicted of the intentional murder of three per-

sons in one course of conduct and two Section 13A-5-49

aggravating circumstances existed), affirmed, 549 So.2d

135 (Ala.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1012 (1989).

From the foregoing, it is clear that the petitioner is

incorrect in her assertion that a defendant convicted of the

capital offense of child murder is “death eligible” based

solely on the age of the victim. As the trial court stated:

“When no aggravating circumstance mirrors the capital

offense, the defendant does not become death eligible until

the State proves an aggravating circumstance in the pun-

ishment phase.” Order of the circuit court, August 3, 1993,

at 6 n.6.

App. 28

V

Finally, we reject the petitioner’s argument that

Section 13A-5-40(a\(15) is arbitrary. In this regard, in its

order of August 3, 1993, the trial court found:

“Neither Johnson' nor Woodard have cited the

Court to any authority which held a death pun-

ishment statute unconstitutional because the

statute defines the capital offense based on the

age of the victim or because the statute consid-

ered the age of the victim as an aggravating fac-

tor. The authority appears to be to the contrary.

People v. Odle [538 N.E.2d 428, 440-41 (Ill. 1988),

cert. denied, __ U.S. __, 110 S.Ct. 3289 (1990)

[court upheld sentence of death where the “death

eligible” factor was that the murdered individual

was under 12 years of age and the death resulted

from exceptionally brutal or heinous behavior

indicative of wanton cruelty]. There are decisions

of the United States Supreme Court which uti-

lized a proportionality analysis to find that a par-

ticular offense does not justify the death penalty,

e. g. Enmund vy, Florida, 458 U.S. 782 (1982) (the

death penalty is unconstitutional where the

defendant is convicted of a felony murder), Coker

vy. Georgia, 433 U.S. 584 (1977) (the death

penalty is constitutionally excessive punishment

for rape). However, when, in the opinion of the

legislature, a class of victims require special pro-

tection and the statutory scheme provides a

meaningful method of narrowing the class of

1. James Johnson, Jr., and Susan Amelia Woodard (the petitioner),

were separately indicted for capital offenses under Ala. Code 1975, sec-

tion 13A-5-40(a) (15). Each offense is separate and involves a different

victim. Each defendant filed a motion to dismiss the indictment, chal-

lenging the constitutionity of Section 13A-5-40(aX 15). The circuit court

consolidated the cases “for the singular purpose of ruling on these

motions.” Order of the circuit court, August 3, 1993, at 1.

App. 29

defendants who are death eligible, the statute is

not constitutionally infirm.

“The age criteria in the Act has a historical

basis in Alabama law. At common law a child

over 7 but less than 14 was presumed to-be inca-

pable of committing a felonious criminal offense.

» 95 So. 1018 (Ala.Cr.App. 1911).

This presumption was rebuttable. Section 13A-3-

3 changed the common law, and it provides that

no person under 14 can be prosecuted for a crimi-

nal offense. Historically, the rationale given for

this rule was that the child lacked sufficient dis-

cretion to appreciate the criminality of his con-

duct, Hampton; or that the child did not possess

sufficient mental capacity or lacked the requisite

guilty knowledge of the wrongfulness or wicked-

ness of the act charged, Key v, State, 58 So. 946

(Ala.Ct.App. 1912); or the child could not be com-

prehend the wrongfulness of his guilty act,

, 67 So. 783 (Ala.Ct.App. 1914).

“The recognition of 14 as a level of maturity

sufficient to shift responsibility to a child for his

acts is reflected in other areas of Alabama law.

Section 15-16-2 provides that every person over

14 is presumed, in terms of their mental state, to

be responsible for their acts. Section 26-2A-76

provides that a minor 14 or older may nominate a

guardian, and Section 16-2A-72 provides that a

minor 14 or older may prevent the appointment

of a particular guardian. Section 12-15-34 pro-

vides that the juvenile court can transfer a case

to the circuit court for prosecution only when the

child is over 14 years of age.

“The Court concludes that inasmuch as the leg-

islature has concluded as a matter of public pol-

icy that children over 14 are mature enough to be

responsible for their acts, the converse is likewise

sensei

App. 30

true, i.e., that children under 14 require special

protection. Therefore, the legislatures’ policy

decision to select 14 as a component of the capital

offense is neither arbitrary nor capricious.”

Order of circuit court, August 3, 1993 at 9-11 (footnotes

omitted).

As noted by the Attorney General in its answers to

the petition, the Alabama Legislature in other subsections

of Section 13a-5-40, has seen fit to provide the death

penalty for the intentional killing of a member of certain

classes of persons, including a police officer or other speci-

fied law enforcement officers (subsection (a)95)), a public

official (subsection (a)(11)), and a witness (subsection

(aX14)). The “cop killing” capital murder provision was

upheld in Ex parte Harrell 470 So.2d 1309 (Ala.), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 935, 106 S.Ct. 269, 88 L.Ed.2d 276 (1985).

In the Alabama Criminal Code alone, the Alabama

Legislature has repeatedly recognized that children are

entitled to certain protections not afforded adults. See

Section 13A-3-3 (“The prosecution of any person as an

adult shall be barred if the offense was committed when

the actor was less than 14 years old.”); Section 13A-6-45

(interference with custody); Section 13A-6-61(aX3) (rape in

the first degree); Section 13A-6-62(aX1) (rape in the second

degree); Section 13A-6-63(a)(3) (sodomy in the first

degree); Section 13A-6-66 (aX3) (sexual abuse in the first

degree); Section 13A-6-67(a)\(2) (sexual abuse in the second

degree); Section 13A-6-69 (enticing child to enter vehicle,

house, etc., for immoral purposes); Section 13A-6-70(c)(1)

(providing that a person is deemed incapable of consent to

certain sexual offenses if that person is less than 16 years

old); Section 13a-11-76 (prohibiting the delivery of a pistol

to a minor); Section 13A-12-111(aX2) (promoting prostitu-

tion in the first degree); Section 13A-12-191 (Prohibiting

the dissemination of public display of obscene matter con-

taining visual reproduction of persons under 17 years of

age involved in obscene acts); Section 13A-12-192 (pro-

App. 31

; (prohibiting parents or guardians from per-

mitting children to engage in production of obscene mat-

ters); Section 13A-12-197 (Prohibiting the production of

obscene matter depicting persons under 17 years of age

involved in obscene acts); Section 13A-13-3 (Incest);

Section 13A-13-4 (nonsupport); Section 13A-13-5 (abandon-

ment of a child); Section 13A-13-6 (endangering the wel-

fare of a child); Section 13A-12-200.1(16) (defining the

term “harmful to minors” in connection with Alabama’s

Anti-Obscenity Enforcement Act); Section 13A-12-200.5

(Prohibiting the distribution of material harmful to

minors); Section 13a-12-215 (Prohibiting the sale, furnish-

ing, etc., of controlled substances by persons over age 18 to

persons under age 18); and Section 13a-12-250 (providing

for an additional penalty for the unlawful sale of a con-

trolled substance on or near school campus).

The child-murder provision is not arbitrary and does

not violate any equal protection right.

“The Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment goes no further than to prohibit

invidious discrimination. . . . If there is some rea-

sonable basis for the recognition of separate

classes, and if the disparate treatment of the

classes has a rational relation to the object sought

to be achieved by the lawmakers, the

Constitution is not offended. The transgression

arises only when the classification rests upon

grounds wholly irrelevant to achievement of the

State’s objective; the separate treatment must

admit of but one conclusion beyond a rational

doubt, i.e., that the basis therefore is arbitrary

and unreasonable and without relevance to the

legislative goal.’”

Goodson v, State, 588 So.2d 509, 514 (Ala.Cr.App. 1991)

(quoting State v, Thompson, 133 N.J.Super 189, 336 A.2d

App. 32

11, 14 (1975)). “‘Because the statute does not proscribe

activities that are legally protected and does not involve

any legally cognizable “suspect” class, “the classification

must be upheld if ‘any state of facts rationally justifying it

is demonstrated to or perceived by the court.’” United

States v. Holland, 810 F.2d 1215, 1219 (D.C.Cir.), cert.

denied, 481 U.S. 1057, 107 S.Ct. 2199, 95 L.Ed.2d 854

(1987).’” Hardy v. State, 576 So.2d 685, 686 (Ala.Cr.App.

1991) (“‘The legislature of alabama “wanted to lessen the

risk that drugs would be readily available to school chil-

dren. It is surely rational to achieve that goal by increas-

ing penalties for those who sell drugs near schools,”’”).

Here, the classification adopted by the Legislature of child-

murder as a capital offense is not arbitrary and capricious,

but reasonable and appropriate.

Based upon all of these considerations, we hold that

Section 13A-5-40(aX15) is not arbitrary. See generally Plitt

y. Griggs, 585 So.2d 1317, 1324 (Ala. 1991).

It is the holding of this Court that Ala. Code 1975,

Section 13A-5-40(aX15) is not unconstitutional. The peti-

tion for writ of mandamus is denied.

PETITION DENIED.

All Judges concur.

i a rn ee

App. 33

THE STATE OF ALABAMA - - - JUDICIAL DEPARTMENT

THE ALABAMA COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

92-1868

Ex parte: Susan Amelia Woodard

(In re: State of Alabama vs. Susan Amelia Woodard)

Petition for Writ of Mandamus

Montgomery Circuit Court No. CC93-604-G

ORDER

It is ORDERED that the application for rehearing

filed in the above cause be and the same is hereby over-

ruled.

It is further ORDERED that the request for addi-

tional facts pursuant to Rule 39(k) of the Alabama Rules of

Appellate Procedure be and the same is hereby denied.

WITNESS, this the 30th day of September, 1993.

/s/ Lane W. Mann

LANE W. MANN, CLERK

COURT OF CRIMINAL APPEALS

cc: Judge William Gordon

Ms. Debra Hackett, Circuit Clerk

Maurice Bell, Esq.

Richard Keith, Esq.

Ellen Brooks, Esq., District Attorney

Joseph G. L. Marston, III, Assistant Attorney General

cca\wki

EXHIBIT “D”

App. 34

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF ALABAMA

February 4, 1994

1930078

Ex parte Susan Amelia Woodard. PETITION FOR WRIT

OF CERTIORARI TO THE COURT OF CRIMINAL

APPEALS (In re: Susan Amelia Woodard v. State) (92-

1868) (Montgomery: CC-93-604)

CERTIFICATE OF JUDGMENT

Writ Denied

The above cause having been duly submitted, IT IS

CONSIDERED AND ORDERED that the petition for writ

of certiorari is denied.

COSTS TAXED TO PETITIONER.

ALMON, J.- Hornsby, CJ., Shores, Houston,

Steagall, Kennedy, Ingram and Cook,

JJ., concur.

I, Robert G. Esdale, as Clerk of the

Suprem* Court of Alabama, do hereby

certify ..at the foregoing is a full, true

and correct copy of the instrument(s)

herewith set out as same appears(s) of

record in said Court.

Witness my hand this 4th day of Feb..,

1994.

/s/ ROBERT G. ESDALE

Clerk, Supreme Court of Alabama

EXHIBIT “E”

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.