Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Rupert v. United States

Supreme Court brief1995

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

oe a ee

$94-53 Ju -7 19%

No, OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO. 669, affiliated with the United

Association of Journeymen & Apprentices

of the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry of

the United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

Petitioner,

Vv.

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

_ ‘THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

WILLIAM W. CSBORNE, Jr.

Counsel of Record

Jonathan G. Axelrod

Helene D. Lerner

BEINS, AXELROD, OSBORNE, MOONEY

& GREEN, P.C.

1341 G Street, N.W., Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20005-3105

(202) 783-0010

Counsel for Petitioner

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Under what circumstances may a successor

employer be required to arbitrate under its

predecessor’s agreement with the union?

Is Section 301(a) of the Labor Management

Relations Act of 1947 applicable only where

the parties to the "contract" enjoy a collective

bargaining relationship?

Is workforce continuity, the key element of

successorship status, determined by the same

Standard in NLRB and Section 301 cases or

by different standards?

PARTIES BELOW

The Plaintiff and Appellee in the proceedings below

was:

Road Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669,

affiliated with the United Association of

Journeymen & Apprentices of the Plumbing

& Pipefitting Industry of the United States

and Canada, AFL-CIO.

The Defendant and Appellant in the proceedings

below was:

Independent Sprinkler Corp.

The following companies were Defendants in the

proceedings before the District Court and appealed from the

District Court Order, but withdrew their appeals and did not

participate in the proceedings in the Court of Appeals:

Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co.

Independent Sprinkler and Fire Protection Co.

li

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ........%....... i

1. Under what circumstances may a

successor employer be required to

arbitrate under its predecessor’s

agreement with the union? ......... i

3 Is Section 301(a) of the Labor

Management Relations Act of 1947

applicable only where the parties to

the "contract" enjoy a collective

bargaining relationship? .......... i

3. Is workforce continuity, the key

element of successorship _ status,

determined by the same standard in

NLRB and Section 301 cases or by

Be i

8 ER Ee eee es ee ii

pe es a a or iii

pe Pe Ps |: v

I ht a as i ag oe 2

i 2

OUD te ek. 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .............. 3

A. ss a. San «ow 6 wg 3

a 6

ili

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT....... 8

I. A Conflict in the Circuit Courts Exists

Regarding a Successor’s Duty to Arbitrate .. 8

II. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision on the Scope

of Section 301 is Contrary to a Majority of

the Circuit Courts and Degrades Section 301

as a Forum For Resolving Labor Disputes... 14

Ill. The Decision Below is Contrary to the

Precedent of the Court and Recreates a

Conflict in the Circuit Courts Regarding the

Method for Determining Workforce

Continuity in Successorship Cases ....... 18

CO sw hv UE AK a we Se 21

APPR Pe PERE CS ISS 22

Dstrect Comet Teetee «we la

Court of Appeals Decision ............ 21a

Se ES fe 8 Rw 32a

ers A kb ba ees Wace A 33a

PE Or DU ERS ee 6A 35a

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Adamszewski v. Machinists Local 1487, 496 F.2d 777 (7th

Cir.) cert. denied, 419 U.S. 997 (1974) ......... 14

Audit Services, Inc. v. Rolfson, 641 F.2d 757 (9th Cir.

Ree 86 SS PG er Chee Pe ee 20

Bakers Union Factory No. 326 v. ITT Continental Baking

Co., 749 F.246 350 Gth Cir. 1964) 2c en. 15

Bartenders Local 340 v. Howard Johnson Co., 535 F.2d

Sae rerea es 4 ea Se wk 10

Boeing Co. v. Machinists, 504 F.2d 307 (5th Cir.

1974), cert denied, 421 U.S. 913 (1975) ......... 20

Computer Sciences Corp v. NLRB, 677 F.2d 804 (ilth

CS a ses SS SEE Soe Cae ee 19

District 2, Marine Engineers Beneficial Association v. Grand

Bassa Tankers, Inc., 663 F.2d 392 (2d Cir. 1981) 16, 17

Evans Services, Inc. v. NLRB, 810 F.2d 1089 (1ith Cir.

SN Oe Fa ee ER Co ok ee eae ee 19

ROR SS CARON SES ERG HEA oe 8, 18-20

GOONER Ss £00 OU ae aS Se ae eee we 15

Gigliotti Corp. v. Building & Censtruction Trades

Council, 583 F. Supp. 396 (E.D. Pa. 1984) ....... 20

Golden State Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168

CFE be EE oe es COWS Fee eS oe EN 12

Graduate Plastics Co., Inc. v. Auto Workers, District

65, 991 F.2d 997 (2d Cir. 1993) ......... 9, 11, 20

Hotel Employees Local 2 v. Marriott Corp., 961 F.2d

ng re ee oe ra aA 14

Hotel Employees Local 217 v. J.P. Morgan Hotel, 996

Pat ee Gee Se Bee i ta ie 14, 17

Howard Johnson Co., Inc. v. Hotel and Restaurant

Employees, 417 U.S. 249 (1974) ........ 8, 9, 18, 19

Inter. Broth. of Eiectrical Workers v. C & M Electric, 734

F.Supp. 285 (N.D.Ohio 1990), aff’d. 922 F.2d 841 (6th Cir.

a es Ce ame hiner Se heir a SEA ss oll 16

Jim McNeff v. Todd, 461 U.S. 260 (1993) ........ 17

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, Inc., 376 U.S. 543

Pp ie I Oe ore owes ete nS 9, 11, 12, 19

Jones v. General Motors Corp., 939 F.2d 380 (6th Cir.

FOPEP ie h we ONS oe Se LI Sa ree 9

Machinists Lodge 1266 v. Panoramic Corp. , 668 F.2d

Oe CPE CR ROSES 0 0k ERR He Ve 11

vi

Mail Handlers Local 305 v. United States Postal Service,

SoS Fae Few ere et TOTO) ©. oh Se AS. i5

Mine Workers (Lone Star Steel Co.), 231 NLRB 573

(1977), enforced in relevant part and remanded 639

F.2d 545 (10th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S.

Tae Cen ss eee.” De PR eS aes 8

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc.,

Gee ts: Ee BERS CS RRA SK 12, 18-20

Operating Engineers Local 150 v. Centor Contractors,

Inc. , 831 F.2d 1309 (7th Cir. 1987) .......... 9, 11

Paperworkers v. Misco, 484 U.S. 29 (1987) ....... 12

Retail Clerks Int’l Ass'n v. Lion Dry Goods, Inc. , 369

Ss eG or rigid abt ww we SO A ene ole 14

Retail Clerks Int’l Ass’n v. Lion Dry Goods, Inc. , 341 F.2d

715 (6th Cir.), cert. denied 382 U.S. 839 (1965) .... 15

Smegal v. Gateway Foods of Minneapolis, Inc. , 819

F.2d 191 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 928

Cee at tees FOk He, SS, a, ai vie 20

Smith v. Kerrville Bus Co.,

OB, | a 14, 15

Steelworkers v. Connors Steel Co. , 855 F.2d 1499 (11th Cir.

1988), cert. denied 489 U.S. 1096 (1989) ........ 10

Steelworkers v. Reliance Universal, Inc. , 335 F.2d

Sea ke oe en dh talks Own 12

Steelworkers v. United States Gypsum Co., 492 F.2d

713 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 419 U.S. 998 (1974) ... 9

Steelworkers v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co.,

S60 TE Seta Pils SS 6 SSMS Mewes 8 11

Teamsters Local 249 v. Bill’s Trucking, Inc., 493 F.2d

See es SE is es PAs 6 oe a oe ORS 10

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448

CE ie kis PRG a a aa De a eee 18

Textile Workers v. Cal Optics Corp. , 464 F.2d 577 (3d Cir.

SOUR es 4s is beds ss eae ee eee 12

Ae ee Oe eee ge 14

United Aircraft Corp., 192 NLRB 382 (1971), modified sub

nom Machinists v. United Aircraft Corp. , 534 F.2d 422 (2d

Cir. 1975), on remand 247 NLRB 1042 enf’d. 661 F.2d 910

Cs WED kb 6 ek ee ee ee ae ee 15

United Food & Commercial Workers Local 1529 v.

Chambers Big Star No. 52, Inc., 124 LRRM 2120 (W.D.

We See Naewe ch baeben Ceatcwee 10

Virginia Sprinkler Co., Inc. v. Plumbers Local 669, 868

Pe ee ee ee I ok tt en wade ere eee 16

STATUTES

Be Uw REED 0 i no we eb lets UR 2

ee a | ee. <r i See 2

A EE oss Fee ree 8s ESS 19

MP a OE re ka 2, 4, 7, 11, 14-17, 19-21

MISCELLANEOUS

Bureau of National Affairs, Basic Patterns in Union

I 8

Crystal and Brodecki, Are Successors and Assigns

Clauses Really Binding?, 38 Lab. L.J. 547 (1987) . . . 10

Note & Comment, The Efficacy of Successorship

Clauses in Collective Bargaining Agreements, 79 Geo.

Ree SO Ss Fee WOU OE rk kee enae 10

ix

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1993

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO. 669, affiliated with the United

Association of Journeymen & Apprentices of

the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry of the

United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

Petitioner,

v.

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR

THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Road Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669 ("Local

669") respectfully petitions for a Writ of Certiorari to review

the Judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eleventh Circuit reversing the District Court’s Order

directing Independent Sprinkler Corp. to arbitrate a dispute

with Local 669.

OPINIONS BELOW

The decision of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Eleventh Circuit is reported at 10 F.3d 1563 and is

reproduced at App. 21a. The decision denying the Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc is not

reported and is reproduced at App. 32a. The Mandate is

reproduced at App. 33a.

The decision of the United States District Court for

the Middle District of Florida is reported at 136 LRRM 2693

and is reproduced at App. la.

JURISDICTION

The Court of Ap, 2als issued its decision on January

7, 1994. The court denied the Petition for Rehearing and

Suggestion for Rehearing En Banc on April 8, 1994. The

Court of Appeals’ Mandate became effective on May 2,

1994. This Petition is timely filed with this Court under

28 U.S.C. §2101(c). The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1).

STATUTE INVOLVED

29 U.S.C. §185(a):

(a) Venue, amount, and citizenship. Suits for violation

of contracts between an employer and a labor organization

representing employees in an industry affecting commerce as

defined in this Act, or between any such labor organizations,

may be brought in any district court of the United States

having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect to the

2

amount in controversy or without regard to the citizenship of

the parties.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. The Facts’

Local 669 is a national labor organization

representing employees who install and maintain automatic

fire protection systems. [App. 35a]. Moore Pipe &

Sprinkler Co. ("Moore Pipe") has been a sprinkler contractor

with a long standing collective bargaining relationship with

Local 669. [App. 36a]. At all material times, Moore Pipe

has been owned by Williamson Feed Mills ("Williamson"),

a parent corporation which was in turn owned by the Evans

family including brothers Mack, Jerry and Randy. [App.

38a].

Williamson formed Independent Sprinkler & Fire

Protection Co. ("Independent I") in 1982 to perform

sprinkler installation work on a strictly nonunion basis.

Moore Pipe and Independent I were commonly owned by

Williamson and the Bvans brothers until 1987. [App. 36a].

In 1985, Local 669 filed a grievance under Article 3

of its collective bargaining agreement claiming that Moore

Pipe and Independent I were being operated as "single or

joint" employers and that the economic terms of the Moore

Pipe agreement were contractually applicable to all sprinkler

'The District Court based its findings of fact upon stipulations which

are reprinted here at App. 37a.

installation work performed by Independent I in Local 669’s

territorial jurisdiction. [App. 36a]. When Moore Pipe

refused to submit the grievance to arbitration, Local 669

sued to compel arbitration of its grievance under Section

301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§185(a). [App. 37a].

The 1985 suit was resolved on April 16, 1987,

together with the underlying grievance, by a written

settlement agreement executed by Jerry Evans on behalf of

Moore Pipe and by Randy Evans as President of Independent

I. Moore Pipe and Independent I agreed, inter alia, that

from April, 1987 until March, 1991, any sprinkler

installation work within Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction

would be performed by Moore Pipe’s bargaining unit

employees represented by Local 669. The Settlement

Agreement expressly bound Moore Pipe and Independent I

and "... the successors, assigns, heirs, trustees and

administrators of any party hereto" and, by its terms, was

enforceable by arbitration. [App. 37a (emphasis supplied)].”

In the summer of 1987, several months after

executing the settlement agreement, Williamson decided,

allegedly for economic reasons, to close Independent I. On

October 30, 1987, Independent I ceased operations. [App.

39a].

In August, 1987, simultaneous with the decision to

close Independent I, Randy Evans sold his stock in

The settlement agreement contained a footnote at the reference to

"successors" providing, essentially, that Independent I could be sold to

a bona fide purchaser without regard to the settlement. No one has

claimed that Independent II was a bona fide purchaser of Independent I.

4

Williamson back to the corporation and used the proceeds to

capitalize his new company, Independent Sprinkler Corp.

("Independent II"). [App. 37a-38a]. Independent II was

engaged in the same business as Independent I. During

Independent I’s phase out period, Independent I and

Independent II shared officers, directors,’ and management’

and occupied the same offices. [App. 39a-42a]. In addition,

Independent II purchased a number of items of office

equipment and supplies from Independent I and assumed the

leases of some but not all of Independent I’s vehicles. [App.

42a, 44a].

On Friday, October 30, 1987, the last day of its

active operations, Independent I laid off all of its employees.

On the next business day, Monday, November 2,

Independent II began operations. Of Independent II’s initial

workforce of thirty-five employees, thirty-two were "alumni"

of Independent I. [App. 39a]. Six months later,

Independent II still employed thirty-five employees, twenty-

five of whom were former Independent I employees. [App.

39a].

3Randy Evans and Robert Matthews were the largest shareholders in

Independent II. Evans was a director of both Independent I and

Independent II and served as President for both companies

simultaneously. Matthews was director of both Independent I and

Independent II and served as Vice President for both companies

simultaneously. [App. 39a-41a].

‘Matthews had the authority to hire, fire, promote, and layoff

employees at Independent I, and retained the same authority at

Independent II. William Taylor was the administrator for Independent

I and the comptroller for Independent II. Grace Cobb was the secretary

for both companies, and Danny Wilkerson, James Roberts and Dan

Thomas held supervisory positions at both companies. [App. 39a-41a].

5

On November 2, 1987, the first day of its active

operations, Independent [I signed a contract with

Independent I by which it obtained the right to complete

thirty-seven unfinished Independent I construction jobs in

return for the money still owed on the contracts, in excess of

$500,000. [App. 15a].

Independent II’s employees continued to work on

construction jobs in the field, in the same geographic

locations as did the employees of Independent I. These jobs

included many of the same projects formerly under contract

to Independent I. [App. 43a].

From November 2, 1987 until the expiration of the

Settlement Agreement in March of 1991, Independent II

performed substantial sprinkler work in Local 669’s

jurisdiction on substandard terms and conditions of

employment, and in direct contravention to the terms of the

settlement agreement.

B. The Litigation

On July 25, 1989, Local 669 alleged that the

settlement agreement had been violated through the post-

settlement formation of Independent II to perform work in

Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction in violation of the

settlement. After unsuccessfully attempting to resolve the

dispute informally, Local 669 demanded that Moore Pipe,

Independent I and Independent II submit its claim to binding

arbitration under the settlement agreement, which expressly

stated that

[t]he unresolved issues shall be promptly

referred to the Special Arbitrator pursuant to

Article 3 of the Local 669 NFSA agreement

for final and binding arbitration under Article

25 of the Agreement.

Moore Pipe, Independent I and Independent II all refused to

submit this dispute to arbitration and a second Section 301

suit to compel arbitration was filed on November 8, 1989.

On February 27, 1991, on the basis of stipulated

facts, the District Court granted Local 669’s motion for

summary judgment and issued an order compelling Moore

Pipe, Independent I and Independent II to submit the dispute

to arbitration.® The District Court concluded _ that

Independent II was the successor to Independent I under

federal labor law [App. 16a] and was obligated to arbitrate

the contractual dispute of alleged breach of settlement [App.

17a].

On January 7, 1994, the Eleventh Circuit reversed the

District Court and concluded that Independent II was not

obligated to arbitrate the dispute over compliance with the

settlement agreement. The Court of Appeals did not dispute

the factual basis for the District Court’s conclusion that

Independent II was the successor of Independent I. Rather,

the Eleventh Circuit held that, as a matter of law, the

successorship doctrine had "no application" to the case,

‘Motions for a stay of arbitration pending appeal were denied by the

district court on May 20, 1991 and by the Eleventh Circuit on July 3,

1991. On February 13, 1992 the Special Arbitrator rendered a decision

on the issue of liability in favor of Local 669 and against Moore Pipe,

Independent I and Independent II.

because Local 669 and Independent I had no collective

bargaining relationship and because Independent II did not

employ "all" of Independent I’s employees. [App. 28a].

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. A Conflict in the Circuit

Courts Exists Regarding a

Successor’s Duty to Arbitrate

This Petition presents a recurring issue of

successorship law this Court considered but left unresolved

in Howard Johnson Co., Inc. v. Hotel and Restaurant

Employees, 417 U.S. 249 (1974), and which has since

generated a conflict in the circuits: under what

circumstances may a successor be bound to arbitrate a

grievance arising under its predecessor’s agreement with the

union. Given the significance of this issue and "the

importance of the successorship issue in labor law" Fall

River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482 U.S. 27, 36

(1987)°, the time has come to resolve this conflict.

In Howard Johnson, the Court recognized that a

successor could be compelled to arbitrate under its

predecessor’s labor agreement where there is "‘substantial

°Successorship clauses are commonly found in collective bargaining

agreements, Bureau of National Affairs, Basic Patterns in Union

Contracts 8 (8th ed. 1975) (at least 22% of agreements sampled in

1975), and are a mandatory subject of bargaining under the National

Labor Relations Act. Mine Workers (Lone Star Steel Co.), 231 NLRB

573 (1977), enforced in relevant part and remanded 639 F.2d 545 (10th

Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 450 U.S. 911 (1981).

8

continuity of identity in the business enterprise’ before and

after a change in ownership." /d. at 258 n.3 and 263-64

quoting John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, Inc., 376

U.S. 543, 551 (1964).

In this case, the Eleventh Circuit read Howard

Johnson to limit Wiley to a situation in which the

predecessor was party to a collective bargaining agreement

or relationship with the Union and the successor has hired all

of the predecessor’s employees. [App. 28a]. The Eleventh

Circuit’s narrow reading of Wiley directly contradicts

previous decisions by the Second, Third, Fifth and Seventh

Circuits.’ Graduate Plastics Co., Inc. v. Auto Workers,

District 65, 991 F.2d 997 (2d Cir. 1993); Operating

Engineers Lecal 150 v. Centor Contractors, Inc. , 831 F.2d

1309 (7th Cir. 1987); Steelworkers v. United States Gypsum

Co., 492 F.2d 713, 725-27 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 419

"The Eleventh Circuit’s refusal to require arbitration pursuant to

Section 301 based upon the lack of a direct bargaining relationship

between Independent I and the Union "ignores the fact that the settlement

agreement itself is a creature wholly begotten by the CBA ... The

settlement agreement was the settlement of a grievance filed ... by the

Union pursuant to the dispute resolution procedures of the CBA." Jones

v. General Motors Corp., 939 F.2d 380, 383 (6th Cir. 1991).

Independent I was included in the settlement agreement, not because of

a direct bargaining relationship with the Union, but because its operations

directly undermined the relationship between the Union and Moore Pipe,

a commonly owned related company, allegedly in violation of the

collective bargaining agreement. [App. 2a-3a, 36a-37a].

9

U.S. 998 (1974); Teamsters Local 249 v. Bill’s Trucking,

Inc., 493 F.2d 956 (3d Cir. 1974).

On facts strikingly similar to those in this case, the

Seventh Circuit held that a partnership was the successor to

a corporation and was bound by an arbitration award

between the corporation and its union.” The Seventh Circuit

explained that the successorship and alter go

doctrines are usually applied to determine

whether one employer is required to bargain

with a union that represented a former

employer’s employees. However, we see no

reason the same principles should not be

applicable to enforcement of arbitration

*The Ninth Circuit has also suggested that a successor could be

compelled to arbitrate and that an arbitrator, but not the court, could

determine whether to impose the substantive terms of the agreement on

the successor. Bartenders Local 340 v. Howard Johnson Co. , 535 F.2d

1160, 1163 (9th Cir. 1976). See also United Food & Commercial

Workers Local 1529 v. Chambers Big Star No. 52, Inc., 124 LRRM

2120, 2125 (W.D. Tenn. 1986) (arbitration compelled). See generally

Note & Comment, The Efficacy of Successorship Clauses in Collective

Bargaining Agreements, 79 Geo. L.J. 1549, 1555-1556, 1558-1562

(1991); Crystal and Brodecki, Are Successors and Assigns Clauses Really

Binding ?, 38 Lab. L.J. 547, 548-550 (1987).

°*The court held that the partnership was alternatively liable as a

successor and as an alter ego of the corporation. See also Steelworkers

v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1499, 1505-1508 (11th Cir. 1988), cert.

denied 489 U.S. 1096 (1989). Thus, the Eleventh Circuit’s implication

that the Union litigated on the wrong theory and should have pursued

Independent II as an alter ego rather than as a successor [App. 28a-30a]

was error.

10

awards that are "part and parcel of the

collective bargaining process itself."

Center Contractors, 831 F.2d at 1313, quoting Steelworkers

v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574, 578

(1960). See also Machinists Lodge 1266 v. Panoramic

Corp., 668 F.2d 276, 287 (7th Cir. 1981).

Similarly, in Graduate Plastics, the Second Circuit

found that "there was a sufficient basis to find that GPC was

Stotter’s successor and was obliged to arbitrate the Union’s

claims under the Contract, and accordingly, that the

arbitrator had jurisdiction to resolve the dispute." 991 F.2d

at 1002.

Also relying on Wiley, the Third Circuit, in Bill’s

Trucking, supra, explained the possible consequences of a

contrary view:

an employer dissatisfied with the terms of a

validly negotiated labor agreement might seek

to avoid them by a sale of his business to a

third party, in effect working a unilateral

termination of the employees’ contract rights.

This Court and other courts, aware of such

possibility, have consistently held, in breach

of contract cases under section 301, that a

finding of "substantial continuity" may

warrant the conclusion that a successor is

bound by the terms of a prior employer’s

labor contract.

11

493 F.2d at 960-52. See also Steelworkers v. Reliance

Universal, Inc., 335 ©.2d 891, 892-93, 895 (3d Cir.

1964).'°

The view of the Second, Third, Fifth and Seventh

Circuits, that a successor employer may be obligated to

arbitrate under its predecessor’s collective bargaining

agreement even if not otherwise obligated by that agreement,

is predicated upon the Court’s decision NLRB v. Burns

International Security Services, Inc., 406 U.S. 272 (1972).

In Burns, the Court said that Wiley

held only that the agreement to arbitrate ...

survived the merger and left to the arbitrator,

subject to judicial review, the ultimate

question of the extent to which, if any, the

surviving company was bound by the other

provisions of the contract.

By contrast, the Eleventh Circuit disallowed an arbitral

determination of the merits of the Union’s claim against

Independent II under the settlement contrary to the consistent

policy of the Court favoring arbitration. E.g., Paperworkers

v. Misco, 484 U.S. 29, 35 (1987).

'°A corollary principle, that an "innocent" successor which has not

itself committed any unfair labor practices may be required to remedy the

statutory violations of its predecessor, was reaffirmed in Golden State

Bottling Co. v. NLRB, 414 U.S. 168, 176 (1973). The Golden State

principle has also been applied to impose an arbitration remedy upon a

successor. Textile Workers v. Cal Optics Corp., 464 F.2d 577, 578 (3d

Cir. 1972).

12

In this context, the District Court’s detailed findings

and conclusions regarding the interrelationship between

Independent I and Independent II [App. 15a-16a], which

were not disturbed by the Eleventh Circuit, are worthy of

reiteration:

the Court finds that there was substantial

continuity between the two enterprises. There

is no disagreement that the business of the

two enterprises is _ identical. While

Independent II did not hire the majority of

Independent I’s workforce, the overwhelming

majority of Independent II’s workforce was

previously employed by Independent I.

Independent II began active operations the

next business day after Independent I ceased

active operations. Independent II, as

subcontractor, was authorized to complete

thirty-seven of Independent I’s construction

contracts. Former Independent I employees

working on those thirty-seven projects, as

well as other projects obtained by Independent

il, could understandably view their job

situation as essentially unaltered. Based on

the totality of the circumstances, the Court

finds that Independent II is a successor

corporation to Independent I.

Applying the Second, Third, Fifth and Seventh

Circuit standards to these undisputed facts, Independent II

would be required to arbitrate. The Court should grant

review to resolve the conflicting circuit decisions on the

issue of when a successor may be bound to arbitrate under

the predecessor’s contract.

13

Il. The Eleventh Circuit’s Decision on

the Scope of Section 301 is Contrary

to a Majority of the Circuit Courts

and Degrades Section 301 as a

Forum For’ Resolving Labor

Disputes

Federal labor policy, as expressed in Section 301(a)

of the Labor Management Relations Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C.

§185(a), strongly favors judicial enforcement of agreements

between unions and employers that resolve labor disputes

and which are therefore "significant to the maintenance of

labor peace." Retail Clerks Int’l Ass’n v. Lion Dry Good,

Inc., 369 U.S. 17, 27 (1962). The decision below is in

conflict with a majority of the appellate courts which have

interpreted Lion Dry Goods to mandate a liberal construction

of the term "contracts" in Section 301 to include agreements

other than traditional collective bargaining agreements.

Hotel Emp!oyees Local 217 v. J.P. Morgan Hotel, 996 F.2d

561, 566 (2d. Cir. 1993); Hotel Employees Local 2 v.

Marriott Corp., 961 F.2d 1464, 1466 n. 3 (9th Cir. 1992);

Textile Workers v. Facetglas, Inc. , 845 F.2d 1250, 1253 (4th

Cir. 1988); Smith v. Kerrville Bus Co., 709 F.2d 914, 920

(Sth Cir. 1983); Adamszewski v. Machinists Local 1487, 496

F.2d 777, 786 (7th Cir.) cert. denied, 419 U.S. 997 (1974)

14

The majority view is that

Section 301 must be broadly construed to

encompass any agreement, written or

unwritten, formal or informal, which

functions to preserve harmonious

relations between labor and management.

Smith v. Kerrville Bus Co., supra, 709 F.2d at 920.

Under this rule, grievance and strike settlements have

long been recognized as enforceable "contracts" under

Section 301. E.g., Bakers Union Factory No. 326 v. ITT

Continental Baking Co., 749 F.2d 350, 354-355 (6th

Cir. 1984) (grievance settlement); Mail Handlers Local 305

v. United States Postal Service, 594 F.2d 988, 992 (4th Cir.

1979) (same); Frech v. Pensacola Steamship Ass’n., 903

F.2d 1471, 1474-75 (11th Cir. 1990) (strike settlement);

Retail Clerks Int’l Ass’n v. Lion Dry Goods, Inc. , 341 F.2d

715, 718 (6th Cir.), cert. denied 382 U.S. 839 (1965)

(same). See also, United Aircraft Corp., 192 NLRB 382,

387 (1971), modified sub nom Machinists v. United Aircraft

Corp. , 534 F.2d 422 (2d Cir.1975), on remand 247 NLRB

1042 enf'd. 661 F.2d 910 (2d Cir. 1981).

Local 669’s attempt to enforce its grievance

settlement agreement against the three employers below,

pursuant to the arbitration and "successors" clauses in the

agreement, was rebuffed by the Eleventh Circuit, solely with

respect to the claim against Independent II, on the theory

that:

[t]here has been no collective bargaining

relationship between the union and

15

Independent I to be "passed on" to

Independent II as successor to Independent

I.... The successorship doctrine may not be

utilized to force an alleged successor

employer ... into a collective bargaining

relationship in which its alleged predecessor

was not a participant.

[App. 26a-27a (emphasis is the original)]."'

By interjecting the precondition of a "collective

bargaining relationship" between the parties upon

enforcement of a grievance settlement agreement under

Section 301, the Eleventh Circuit mirrored a decision of the

Sixth Circuit. Electrical Workers v. C & M Electric, 734

F.Supp. 285 (N.D.Ohio 1990), aff'd. 922 F.2d 841 (6th Cir.

1991)."* In C & M Electric, the agreement, between a

picketing union and a construction contractor, was deemed

unenforceable under Section 301 because it had not been

"Contrary to the Eleventi: Circuit opinion, however, Local 669’s

grievance did not seek to impose union representation or membership or

the substantive terms of its collective bargaining agreement upon

Independent I, much less Independent II. See Virginia Sprinkler Co.,

Inc. v. Plumbers Local 669, 868 F.2d 116, 119-20 (4th Cir. 1989).

"An earlier decision of the Second Circuit would impose a similar

implied restriction upon the enforcement of a Section 301 "contract," that

it control the terms and conditions of the employer’s relationship with its

employees. District 2, Marine Engineers Beneficial Association v. Grand

Bassa Tankers, Inc., 663 F.2d 392, 397 (2d Cir. 1981).

16

entered into between a union and a company employing

members of the union. 734 F.Supp. at 289.”

The Eleventh and Sixth Circuits’ emphasis upon the

underlying bargaining relationship between the union and the

employer misapprehends the

critical distinction between an employer’s

obligation under the [National Labor Relations

Act] to bargain with the representative of a

majority of its employees and its duty to

satisfy lawful, contractual obligations. ...

Jim McNeff v. Todd, 461, U.S. 260, 267 and n.7

(1993)(holding Section 301 contracts enforceable in suit by

minority union).

The minority view among the federal courts of

appeals, exemplified by the decision below, is thus in

conflict with the Court’s rulings, and substantially diminishes

the applicability and utility of Section 301.

"In this regard, the Eleventh and Sixth Circuits have read a

requirement of privity into Section 301(a) which, in their view, should

be read as follows:

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing [the employer’s]

employees in an industry affecting commerce....

See also Grand Bassa Steamship, supra. This construction adds a

substantive element to the "plain language” of the statute, and is contrary

to existing appellate caselaw. Hotel Employees Local 217 v. J.P.

Morgan Hotel, supra, 996 F.2d at 564-65.

17

{[Fjederal courts should enforce these

agreements on behalf of or against labor

organizations... Industrial peace can be best

obtained only in that way.

Textile Workers Union v. Lincoln Mills, 353 U.S. 448, 455

(1957). The Court should grant review to establish

uniformity of decisions on this important labor law issue.

Ill. The Decision Below is

Contrary to the Precedent of

the Court and Recreates a

Conflict in the Circuit Courts

Regarding the Method for

Determining Workforce

Continuity In Successorship

Cases

Workforce continuity is the "triggering" fact in

successorship cases. Fall River, supra, 482 U.S. at 46.

Confusion over the appropriate standard for measuring

workforce continuity for successorship purposes was caused

by inconsistent language in Burns and Howard Johnson. 482

U.S. at 46, n.12. The quandary was ultimately resolved by

consensus among the NLRB and the circuit courts in favor

of the Burns formulation: whether "a majority of the

employees hired by the new employer" were former

employees of the predecessor.

In concluding that Independent II was a "successor"

and bound to arbitration under the settlement, the District

Court expressly found that [App. 16a]:

18

[w]hile Independent II did not hire the

majority of Independent I’s workforce, the

overwhelming majority of Independent II’s

workforce was previously employed by

Independent I.

The Eleventh Circuit did not contest these findings,

but held that a successor’s duty to arbitrate under Wiley

arises only where "the original employer has disappeared and

the new employer has hired all of the old employer’s

workers ....". [App. 28a (emphasis supplied)]. The

Eleventh Circuit declined to order Independent II to

arbitrate, reasoning that "Independent II has hired some but

not all of Independent I’s employees" [App. 28a].

The Eleventh Circuit thus requires a separate and

substantially higher standard of workforce continuity in cases

seeking a successor’s arbitration under Section 301 than it

requires in other successorship contexts under the National

Labor Relations Act. Computer Sciences Corp v. NLRB,

677 F.2d 804, 806 (11th Cir. 1982); Evans Services, Inc. v.

NLRB, 810 F.2d 1089, 1092 (11th Cir. 1987) (Burns method

of determining workforce continuity applicable in NLRB

successorship cases).

No precedent of the Court supports the application of

a different method for determining workforce continuity

dependent upon the forum or legal context in which the

successorship issue arises. Fall River strongly militates

against any such distinction. The issue was framed by the

Court to be a single question, whether workforce continuity

for successorship purposes should be resolved under Howard

Johnson, a Section 301 arbitration case, or under Burns, a

Section 8(a)(5) case. In describing the issue as having been

19

resolved, once and for all, in favor of the Burns standard,

the Court never suggested that Section 301 and NLRA

successorship issues might involve different standards of

workforce continuity. 482 U.S. at 46, n. 12.

The Eleventh Circuit’s distinction has not been

acknowledged by other courts in Section 301 cases." In

Smegal v. Gateway Foods of Minneapolis, Inc., 819 F.2d

191, 193-95 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 928 (1987),

the Eighth Circuit rejected the notion of a different standard

for Section 301 cases and applied the Burns/Fall River

standard. The Second, Seventh and Ninth Circuits in

Graduate Plastics, Centor Contractors and Audit Services,

Inc. v. Rolfson, 641 F.2d 757, 762-63 (9th Cir. 1981),

respectively, held a successor bound to arbitrate, or bound

to the substantive terms of the predecessor’s contract,

without identifying the specific standard of workforce

continuity applied.

“The Eleventh Circuit decision finds some support in pre-Fall River

Fifth Circuit dicta:

As a matter of principle, since the duty to arbitrate

arises from an application of the contract between the

predecessor employer and his organized employees, the

entity whose identity is to be the reference point for

judging continuity ought to be the predecessor

enterprise.

The court refused to compel arbitration where only 35 percent of the

predecessor’s employees were hired by the successor and no tangible

assets were transferred. Boeing Co. v. Machinists, 504 F.2d 307, 319

(Sth Cir. 1974), cert denied, 421 U.S. 913 (1975). However, Boeing did

not even satisfy the Fail River standard of successorship.

20

The decision below recreates "confusion" in the

circuit courts regarding the critical and recurring issue of the

method by which workforce continuity is measured for

successorship purposes under Section 301. Review is

independently warranted on this basis.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM W. OSBORNE, Jr.

Counsel of Record

Jonathan G. Axelrod

Helene D. Lerner

BEINS, AXELROD, OSBORNE, MOONEY

& GREEN, P.C.

1341 G Street, N.W., Suite 700

Washington, D.C. 20005-3105

(202) 783-0010

Counsel for Petitioner

Date: July 7, 1994

21

APPENDIX

District Court Decision

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE MIDDLE DISTRICT OF FLORIDA

JACKSONVILLE DIVISION

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO, 669, affiliated with the

UNITED ASSOCIATION OF

JOURNEYMEN AND APPRENTICES OF

THE PLUMBING AND PIPEFITTING

INDUSTRY OF THE UNITED STATES

AND CANADA, AFL-CIO, Plaintiff, v.

MOORE PIPE & SPRINKLER CO.,

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER & FIRE

PROTECTION CO. a/k/a INDEPENDENT

PIPE & SPRINKLER CO., and

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Defendants

Case No. 89-906-Civ-J-14

February 27, 1991, Decided

February 28, 1991, Filed

JUDGES: Susan H. Black, United States District Judge.

This case is before the Court on Defendant

Independent Sprinkler Corporation’s Motion for Partial

Summary Judgment, filed on July 6, 1990; Motion for

Summary Judgment of Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler

Co.[,] and Independent Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co.,

filed on September 20, 1990; and Plaintiff’s Motion for

Summary Judgment Against Defendants Moore Pipe &

Sprinkler Co., Independent Sprinkler & Fire Protection

Co.[,] and Independent Sprinkler Corp., filed on September

la

20, 1990. The parties filed responses in opposition to each

of the motions.

On December 6, 1990, the Court heard oral argument

on the motions. At that time, the Court ordered the parties

to jointly submit a stipulated statement of facts, and to

separately file their conclusions of law based upon the

stipulated statement of facts. The parties have complied with

that order.

The undisputed facts of the case are as follows. Road

Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669 [hereinafter "Local

669"] is a national labor organization representing emnployees

engaged in the installation and maintenance of automatic fire

protection systems in forty-eight states. Moore Pipe &

Sprinkler Co. [hereinafter "Moore Pipe"] is engaged in the

business of installing and maintaining fire protection systems

in various states. Moore Pipe was incorporated in 1926, and

has been a union contractor for many years. Independent

Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co. [hereinafter "Independent

I"], prior to October 30, 1987, was engaged in the business

of installing and maintaining fire protection systems.

Independent I was incorporated in 1982, and operated during

its existence on a non-union basis.' Independent Sprinkler

'Up until October 30, 1987, Moore Pipe and Independent I were

operated as wholly owned subsidiaries of their parent company,

Williamson Feed Mills, Inc. [hereinafter "Williamson"]. Prior to

October 30, 1987, the stock in Williamson was owned by the Evans

family. Brothers Mack, Jerry and Randy Evans owned twenty-five

percent each, and the Evans family trust owned the remaining twenty-five

percent. On October 30, 1987, Randy Evans sold all of his stock in

Williamson back to the company for $258,814.97. Since that time the

Williamson stock has been owned equally by Mack Evans, Jerry Evans

and the Evans family trust. Randy Evans has not reacquired any interest

in Williamson.

2a

Corp. [hereinafter "Independent II"] was incorporated on

August 28, 1987, and has operated on a non-union basis.

In August, 1985, Local 669 filed a grievance under

Article 3 of its collective bargaining agreement with Moore

Pipe, alleging that Moore Pipe and Independent I were single

or joint employers within the meaning of Article 3, and that

the economic terms of the agreement were applicable to the

work performed by Independent I within Local 669’s

territorial jurisdiction. Local 669 ultimately brought an

action in federal court to compel arbitration of its grievance.

On April 16, 1987, a settlement encompassing both the

pending suit and the underlying grievance was reached. The

settlement agreement was signed by Moore Pipe and

Independent I, and bound Moore Pipe to the national

collective bargaining agreement in effect between the

National Fire Sprinklers Association Inc., and Local 669, for

the period April 1, 1988 through March 31, 1991.

During the summer of 1987, Mack Evans Jr., in his

capacity as Chairman of the Board of Williamson, made the

decision to close down the operation of Independent I,

allegedly for economic reasons. Independent I ceased

business operations on October 30, 1987, and has not

actively engaged in business since then. All of its employees

were laid off on October 30, 1987.

Independent II began operations on the following

business day, November 2, 1987. On that date, it hired

thirty-five employees, thirty-two of whom had previously

been employed by Independent I. As of May, 1/988, six

months later, Independent II still employed thirty-five

persons, twenty-five of whom had been employed by

Independent I. Independent II is engaged in the same type

of business as Independent I had been engaged in.

3a

Based on this, as well as other factors, Local 669

alleges that Independent II is the successor corporation of

Independent I. Local 669 further alleges that the 1987

Settlement Agreement has been breached by Moore Pipe,

Independent I and Independent II. Local 669 has demanded

that the parties proceed to arbitration over the dispute.

Independent II has refused to arbitrate, arguing that it is

neither a signatory to the 1987 Settlement Agreement, nor a

successor corporation of Independent I. Independent I and

Moore Pipe assert that the dispute is not arbitrable as to

them, and that they should not be parties to any arbitration.

I. STANDARD OF REVIEW FOR MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

A district court’s review of a case on a motion for

summary judgment is governed by Fed. R. Civ. P. 56. A

moving party discharges its burden on a motion for summary

judgment by "showing" or "pointing out" to the district court

that there is an absence of evidence to support the

nonmoving party’s case. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 325 (1986). Rule 56 permits the moving party to

discharge its burden with or without supporting affidavits

and to move for summary judgment on the case as a whole

or on any claim. /d. When a moving party has so

discharged its burden, the nonmoving party must then "go

beyond the pleadings and by her own affidavits, or by the

‘depositions, answers to interrogatories, and admissions of

file,’ designate ‘specific facts showing that there is a genuine

issue for trial.’" Jd. at 324.

The district court must enter summary judgment

"after adequate time for discovery and upon motion, against

a party who fails to make a showing sufficient to establish

the existence of an element essential to that party’s case, and

on which that party will bear the burden of proof at trial."

4a

Id. at 322; Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). See also Reflectone, Inc.

v. Farrand Optical Co., Inc., 862 F.2d 841, 843-44 (11th

Cir. 1989). Whether or not the moving party has met its

burden of establishing that there is no genuine issue as to

any material fact and that he is entitled 1o judgment as a

matter of law, requires the court to draw inferences from the

evidence as viewed in the light most favorable to the

nonmoving party, and to resolve all reasonable doubts in that

party’s favor. See Spence v. Zimmerman, 873 F.2d 256

(11th Cir. 1989). The Eleventh Circuit Court of Appeals

explained the reasonableness standard in WSB-TV v. Lee:

In deciding whether an inference is

reasonable, the court must "cull the universe

of possible inferences from the facts

established by weighing each against the

abstract standard of reasonableness."

Southway Theatres, Inc. v. Georgia Theatre

Co., 672 F.2d 485, 493 (Sth Cir. Unit B

1982).

The opposing party’s inferences need

not be more probable than those inferences in

favor of the movant to create a factual

dispute, so long as they reasonably may be

drawn from the facts. When more than one

inference) reasonably can be drawn, it is for

the trier of fact to determine the proper one.

WSB-TV v. Lee, 842 F.2d 1266, 1270 (11th Cir. 1988).

Rule 56(c) requires the district court to deny a motion

for summary judgment if the court finds that there exists a

genuine issue for trial. What constitutes a "genuine issue for

trial" was addressed by the Supreme Court in Anderson v.

Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242 (1986). In Anderson, the

Court stated that "summary judgment will not lie if the

Sa

dispute about a material fact is ‘genuine,’ that is, if the

evidence is such that a reasonable jury could return a verdict

for the nonmoving party." Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc. ,

477 U.S. 242, 248 (1986). The court further stated that the

inquiry is "whether the evidence presents a sufficient

disagreement to require submission to a jury or whether it is

so one-sided that one party must prevail as a matter of law."

Id. at 251-52.

II. THE INSTANT MOTIONS FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT

A. The Parties’ Contentions

In the Plaintiff's Conclusions of Law, filed on

January 11, 1991, it alleges that there is a pending labor

dispute between the parties, and that despite the terms of the

1987 Settlement Agreement, Moore Pipe and Independent I

have refused to arbitrate the dispute. Local 669 also alleges

that Independent II is a successor corporation to Independent

I, and that Moore Pipe and Independent I surreptitiously

aided and abetted its formation as such. According to

Local 669, Independent II has been performing work within

Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction in violation of the

settlement agreement and the collective bargaining agreement

between Local 669 and Moore Pipe. Local 669 seeks to

have the Court order Moore Pipe and Independent I to

arbitrate the labor dispute as provided for in the 1987

Settlement Agreement, and also order Independent II to

Although the Complaint alleges that Independent II is either the alter

ego of and/or the successor to Independent I, the issue of alter ego status

is not raised by the plaintiff in either its motion for summary judgment, |

or its subsequent conclusions of law. Therefore, although the defendants

briefed the issue of alter ego status, the Court will not address it in this |

Order.

6a

| i

arbitrate the dispute based on its status as a successor

corporation of Independent I, as defined by federal labor

common law.’

Moore Pipe and Independent I, in their conclusions

of law, filed on January 11, 1991, argue that Independent II

is not a successor to Independent I, and therefore should not

be compelled to arbitrate with Local 669. Based on that

premise, they argue that there is no basis to order either of

them to arbitrate with Local 669.

If the Court finds that Independent II is a successor

corporation of Independent I, Moore Pipe and Independent

I contend that Independent I should not be compelled to

arbitrate because it is the predecessor of, rather than the

successor to, Independent II. Federal labor policy, they

argue, does not support compelling the predecessor, as well

as the successor, to arbitrate. Furthermore, they argue,

Independent I has not been in business since October, 1987,

has no assets and no employees whom Local 669 purports to

represent who might benefit from arbitration.

As for Moore Pipe’s obligation to arbitrate, they

point out there is no allegation that it is a successor to

Independent I. Likewise, Local 669 does not seek to assert

any rights of Moore Pipe employees. Moore Pipe contends

that in order for it to be subject to arbitration, there must be

a finding by the Court that the particular dispute in question

*Local 669 also seeks to have Independent II’s Counterclaim for

abuse of process dismissed either because it fails to state a claim for

which relief can be granted, or lacks any factual support in the record,

entitling the plaintiff to summary judgment on this issue. The Court will

address Independent II’s Counterclaim for abuse of process in Subsection

E.

7a

is arbitrable as to Moore Pipe. Moore Pipe argues it is, at

best, a peripheral defendant in the action.‘

Independent II, in its conclusions of law, filed on

January 14, 1991, argues that it is not a successor to either

Independent I or Moore Pipe.

The Court must decide if the Settlement Agreement

obligates Moore Pipe and Independent I to arbitrate the

instant dispute, as the Local 669 contends. The Court must

then decide if Independent II is the successor to Independent

I, and as such, is also obligated to arbitrate the dispute.

B. Moore Pipe and Independent I’s Duty to Arbitrate

The Labor Management Relations Act of 1947,

provides that "[f]inal adjustment by a method agreed upon by

the parties is declared to be the desirable method for

settlement of grievance disputes arising over the application

or interpretation of an existing collective-bargaining

agreement." 29 U.S.C. §173(d) (1988). "[W]here the

contract provides grievance and arbitration procedures, those

‘The Court is surprised by Moore Pipe’s desire not to participate in

any Court ordered arbitration. The Settlement Agreement provides that:

the remedy for a violation by any employer party

hereto shall include, but not be limited to, double the

full amount of settlement referred to in para. 3 above

becoming immediately due and owing to Local 669,

interest, any actual damages which can be proven by

Local 669 as arising from either the August 7, 1985

grievance or the breach of this settlement, or both.

Stipulation of Facts, Exhibit A at 3, para. 7, filed on December 18,

1990. Unless Moore Pipe participates in any Court ordered arbitration,

it would not be in a position to advocate its position or defend itself.

8a

procedures must first be exhausted and courts must order

resort to the private settlement mechanisms without dealing

with the merits of the dispute." United Paperworkers Int’l

Union, AFL-CIO v. Misco, Inc., 484 U.S. 29, 37 (1987).

"The Congress ... has by §301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act, assigned the courts the duty of

determining whether the reluctant party has breached his

promise to arbitrate."°, © United Steelworkers of America

v. Warrior & Gulf Navigation Co., 363 U.S. 574, 582

(1960). "(T]he judicial inquiry under §301 must be strictly

confined to the question whether the reluctant party did agree

to arbitrate the grievance." Jd. “An order to arbitrate the

particular grievance should not be denied unless it may be

said with assurance that the arbitration clause is not

susceptible of an interpretation that covers the asserted

dispute. Doubts should be resolved in favor of coverage."

Id. at 582-83. "In the absence of any express provision

excluding a particular grievance from arbitration ... only the

‘Section 301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act, 1947, 61

Stat. 156, 29 U.S.C. §185(a) states:

Suits for violation of contracts between an employer

and a labor organization representing employees in an

industry affecting commerce as defined in this chapter

... May be brought in any district court of the United

States having jurisdiction of the parties, without respect

to the amount in controversy or without regard to the

citizenship of the parties.

29 U.S.C. §185(a) (1988).

‘Settlement agreements are considered contracts within the meaning

of §301. Retail Clerks Int’l Ass’n v. Lion Dry Goods, 369 U.S. 17, 27

(1962).

9a

ut alae

most forceful evidence of a purpose to exclude the claim

from arbitration can prevail." Id. at 584-85.

In the instant case, Local 669 brought suit pursuant

to Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations Act of

1947, as amended, 29 U.S.C. §185. Complaint at 2, 41,

filed November 8, 1989. Local 669 alleges that jobs are

being performed in its territory in contradiction to the terms

and conditions of the Local 669 collective bargaining

agreement and/or the 1987 Settlement Agreement.’ It

alleges in Count II that Moore Pipe, Independent I and

Independent II violated and continue to violate paragraph

seven of the Settlement Agreement and articles three and

twenty-five of the collective bargaining agreement "which

are mandatory and which require Local 669 and defendants

to refer all issues in dispute for final and binding

arbitration." Jd. at 8-9, 422.

Paragraph seven of the Settlement Agreement

provides for informal and amicable attempts to resolve

disputes. If that approach proves unsuccessful, the Settlement

Agreement goes on to provide "[t]he unresolved issues shall

be promptly referred to the Special Arbitrator pursuant to

Article 3 of the Local 669/N.F.S.A. Agreement, for final

and binding arbitration under Article 25 of the Agreement.”

Id. Exhibit A at 3, 47.

There was correspondence between the parties as

early as March, 1989, concerning the instant dispute. Local

In Count I, Local 669 seeks an award of monetary damages for the

alleged violation of the Settlement Agreement. The parties stipulated that

the issue of monetary damages, if any, is an issue to be resolved by the

arbitrator rather than the Court should the Court find that arbitration is

appropriate in this case. Therefore, the Court will not address Count I

of the Complaint.

10a

669, in a letter to Jerry Evans of Moore Pipe, sought

information regarding alleged jobs being performed in its

territory not in accordance with the terms and conditions of

the Local 669 collective bargaining agreement and/or the

1987 Settlement Agreement. A similar, though more explicit

request for information was made by Local 669 in April,

1989, in a letter addressed to both Jerry Evans, as President

of Moore Pipe, and Randy Evans, as representative of

Independent I and Independent II. At Local 669’s request,

the parties met in October, 1989, and attempted to resolve

this dispute by informal discussions. That effort proved

unsuccessful.

Arbitration was the vehicle identified by the parties

as the preferred method of dispute resolution, should

informal discussions prove unsuccessful. Therefore, the

Court is obligated to determine whether the instant dispute

is arbitrable under the parties’ agreement.

Local 669 contends that Independent II has been

performing work within Local 669’s territorial and trade

jurisdiction in violation of the Settlement Agreement and the

collective bargaining agreement between Local 669 and

Moore Pipe. It further alleges that Moore Pipe and

Independent I violated the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement and the Settlement Agreement, by surreptitiously

aiding and abetting the formation of Independent II. These

allegations go to the heart of the Settlement Agreement.®

The Court finds that the instant dispute is appropriate for

*The Settlement Agreement was executed to resolve earlier

allegations by Local 669, that Moore Pipe and Independent I were single

or joint employers within the meaning of Article Three of the collective

bargaining agreement with Moore Pipe, and as such, the economic terms

of the agreement were applicable to work performed by Independent I

within Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction.

lla

BI oh abe ars arrireneret oe, Be ie cae sent

d

be

;

:

:

:

r

7

a

3

:

k

ig

4

4

arbitration, based on the provisions of the Settlement

Agreement. The Court further finds that there is no genuine

issue of material fact, and that Local 669 is entitled to

judgment, on the issue of Moore Pipe and Independent I’s

obligation to arbitrate, as a matter of law.

The extent of Independent II’s violation of the

Settlement Agreement, if any, and the extent, if any, of

Moore Pipe and Independent I’s assistance in the formation

of Independent II, goes to the merits of Local 669’s claim.

The Court will not reach the merits of Local 669’s claim.

That decision is reserved for the arbitrator. The Court will

Order Independent I and Moore Pipe, as parties to the

Settlement Agreement, to arbitrate the instant dispute.

C. Is Independent II a successor to Independent I?

The determination whether a new company is a

successor to the old company is "primarily factual in nature

and is based upon the totality of the circumstances of a given

situation." Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Co. v. National

Labor Relations Bd., 482 U.S. 27, 43 (1987). The focus is

"on whether the new company has ‘acquired substantial

assets of its predecessor and continued, without interruption

or substantial change, the predecessor’s business

operations.’" Jd., (quoting Golden State Bottling Co. v.

National Labor Relations Board, 414 U.S. 168, 184 (1973).

"The focus is on whether there is ‘substantial

continuity’ between the two enterprises." Jd. The factors to

be considered include: (1) whether the business of both

employers is essentially the same; (2) whether the employees

of the new company are doing the same jobs in the same

working conditions under the same supervisors; and (3)

whether the new entity has the same production process,

produces the same products, and basically has the same body

12a

of customers. Jd. In conducting this analysis, it is

important to consider "whether ‘those employees who have

been retained will understandably view their job situation as

essentially unaltered.’" Jd. (quoting Golden State Bottling

Co., 414 U.S. at 184.)

In the instant case, it has been stipulated that

Independent II is engaged in the same type of business as

Independent I. The names of the two enterprises are

practically identical -- Independent Sprinkler & Fire

Protection Co., and Independent Sprinkler Corporation.

They existed at the same business address during

Independent I’s phase-out period.’ When incorporated in

August, 1987, Independent II’s address was 5262 Longleaf

Street, Jacksonville, Florida. That is the same address as

Independent I.'° When Independent II began active

operations in November, 1987, it was located at 5863 West

Beaver Street, Jacksonville, Florida.

From at least April 16, 1987, until October 29, 1987,

Randy Evans was a Director, as well as the President and

Treasurer of Independent I. During the same time period,

Robert Matthews was a Director and the Vice President of

Independent I. They resigned their respective positions on

*In mid-summer 1987, Mack Evans, Jr., in his capacity as Chairman

of the Board of Williamson, decided to close down the operations of

Independent I. This decision was made several months after Independent

I and Moore Pipe entered into the Settlement Agreement with Local 669.

The decision to close down Independent I was allegedly based on

economic reasons. Independent I ceased active business operations on

October 30, 1987.

"From April, 1987, until October, 1988, Moore Pipe conducted its

business from offices located ai 5262 Longleaf Street, Jacksonville,

Florida. In October, 1988, Moore Pipe moved to its present location at

4517-2 Appleton Avenue, Jacksonville, Florida.

13a

October 30, 1987, at 12:01 a.m. Since its incorporation in

August, 1987, Randy Evans has served as a Director and

President of Independent II. Likewise, Robert Matthews has

served as a Director and the Vice President of Independent

II. For several months, both men served Independent I and

Independent II in the same capacity. The other six directors

of Independent II were not formerly directors of Independent

I.

On Friday, October 30, 1987, Independent I ceased

its active business operations. All of Independent I’s

employees were laid off at the 7nd of that day. Independent

II began its active business operations on Monday,

November 2, 1987, the next business day. Of the thirty-five

individuals initially employed by Independent II, thirty-two

had previously been employed by Independent I. As of

May, 1988, six months after active operations began,

Independent II still employed thirty-five individuals,

twenty-five of whom were previously employed by

Independent I.'’ In 1987, Independent I employed a total

of 142 persons.

Subsequent to the formation of Independent II, Robert

Matthews negotiated with Independent I for the purchase of

various items of office equipment and supplies. The sale of

those item was consummated. On or about October 5, 1987,

Independent II assumed the commercial leases on some, but

not all, of the vehicles which had previously been leased by

Independent I. Additionally, during the phase-out period of

Independent I, Independent II negotiated with Independent I

for the right to complete certain construction jobs originally

contracted to Independent I. On November 2, 1987,

Independent I entered into an agreement with Independent II,

''Twenty-five of the thirty-five individuals employed by Independent

II are field employees.

l4a

hearer

under which it subcontracted to Independent II the right to

complete thirty-seven jobs. Independent II agreed to

complete the jobs for the remaining amount of earnings on

each job, the total of which equalled $553,896.53.”

While it is true that Independent II did not acquire the

plant or real property of Independent I, as had been the case

in Fall River Dyeing, the instant companies are not

manufacturers of goods, but rather perform a service for

their customers. This service is performed, at least in part,

at the customer’s site. Of the thirty-five individuals

employed by Independent II, more than two-thirds of them

are field employees, indicating that a good portion of the

activities of the enterprise do not occur at a fixed plant.

Independent II has not at any time owned jointly or

in common any bank accounts, notes, bonds and/or other

types of securities with Independent I. Additionally, the two

enterprises have had different ownership. Independent I was

the wholly owned subsidiary of Williamson. Williamson,

prior to October 30, 1987, was owned in equal shares by

Mack, Randy and Jerry Evans, and the Evans family trust.

On October 30, 1987, Randy Evans sold all his interest in

Williamson back to the company. The stock of Independent

II, since its formation until the present, has been owned by

fifteen different individuals, one of whom is Randy Evans.

He owns the largest block of stock, approximately nineteen

percent. Robert Matthews owns approximately eighteen

percent.

After considering the factual circumstances of the

instant case, the Court finds that there was substantial

"Moore Pipe entered into a similar agreement with Independent I,

whereby it subcontracted to complete forty construction jobs, for the total

remaining unpaid contract price of $ 1,025,044.75.

15a

continuity between the two enterprises. There is no

disagreement that the business of the two enterprises is

identical. While Independent II did not hire the majority of

Independent I’s workforce, the overwhelming majority of

Independent [i’s workforce was previously employed by

Independent I. Independent II began active operations the

next business day after Independent I ceased active

operations. Independent II, as subcontractor, was authorized

to complete thirty-seven of Independent I’s construction

contracts. Former Independent I employees working on

those thirty-seven projects, as well as other projects obtained

by Independent II, could understandably view their job

situation as essentially unaltered. Based on the totality of the

circumstances, the Court finds that Independent II is a

successor corporation to Independent I.

D. Duty of Independent II to Arbitrate

In determining national labor policy, the interests of

employers must be weighed against the interests of their

employees. "The objectives of national labor policy,

reflected in established principles of federal law, require that

the rightful prerogative of owners independently to rearrange

their businesses and even eliminate themselves as employers

be balanced by some protection to the employees from a

sudden change in the employment relationship." Wiley &

Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543, 549 (1964).

In Wiley, the United States Supreme Court used the

successorship doctrine to impose upon an employer an

obligation to arbitrate disputes under an arbitration clause in

an agreement entered into between a predecessor employer

and the bargaining representative of the latter’s employees.

"While the principles of law governing ordinary contracts

would not bind to a contract an uncontesting successor to a

16a

contracting party, a collective bargaining agreement is not an

ordinary contract." Jd. at 550.

Although the duty to arbitrate must be founded on a

contract, the policy considerations favoring arbitration are

not wholly overborne by the fact that the successor

corporation did not sign the contract being construed. Id.

"The transition from one corporate organization to another

will in most cases be eased and industrial strife avoided if

employees’ claims continue to be resolved by arbitration

rather than by ‘the relative strength ... of the contending

forces.”" Id. at 549 (quoting Warrior & Gulf, 363 U.S. at

580). However, "[t]here may be cases in which the lack of

any substantial continuity of identity in the business

enterprise before and after a change would make a duty to

arbitrate something imposed from without, not reasonably to

be founded in the particular bargaining agreement and the

acts of the parties involved." Jd. at 551.

In the instant case, Independent II is not a signatory

to the 1987 Settlement Agreement. Moore Pipe and

Independent I are signatories. The terms of the Settlement

Agreement bind the signatories "and the successors, assigns,

heirs, trustees and administrators of any party hereto."

Stipulation of Facts, Exhibit A at 1, 41, filed on December

18, 1990.

The Court finds that Independent II, as the successor

to Independent I, is obligated to arbitrate the instant dispute,

based on the express provisions of the Settlement

Agreement. It is for the arbitrator to determine whether

Independent II is liable as a successor corporation pursuant

to the Settlement Agreement, as well as to determine the

merits of Local 669’s contentions. The Court finds that

there are no genuine issues of material fact, and that Local

17a

669 is entitled to judgment on the issue of Independent II’s

obligation to arbitrate, as a matter of law.

E. Abuse of Process

In Count I of its Counterclaim, Independent II seeks

a declaratory judgment regarding its rights, liabilities and

duties as they pertain to the settlement agreement.”

Answer at 5, filed on November 20, 1989. In Count II,

Independent II alleges that Local 669 "maliciously caused

process to be issued against [Independent II] for a purpose

and to obtain a result not lawfully warranted or properly

obtainable under the circumstances." Jd. at 8. In support of

its contention, Independent II quotes a letter it sent to Local

669 advising that it was not a successor corporation and its

reasons for that conclusion. Jd. at 7-8.

In its conclusions of law, the plaintiff alleges that the

Counterclaim for abuse of process is baseless and must be

dismissed. The plaintiff argues the "Defendant has adduced

no articulable basis for its claim, there are no stipulated facts

in support of its claim, and Defendant has failed to

sufficiently state its cause of action." Plaintiff’s Conclusions

of Law at 16, filed on January 11, 1991. Local 669 argues

that it is entitled to summary judgment on the counterclaim.

In its response to plaintiff's motion for summary

judgment, Independent II contends that Local 669 failed to

investigate the truthfulness of its assertion that Independent

II was a successor to Independent I. In support of that

position, Independent II refers to the deposition testimony of

a Local 669 representative, in which he admits that Local

This Order addresses the obligations of Independent II regarding the

Settlement Agreement. Therefore, the Court will not enter a separate

declaratory judgment. Count I of the Counterclaim will be dismissed.

18a

669 did not investigate the corporate relationship between

Independent I and Independent II prior to filing the instant

suit. Independent II also challenges the independent

knowledge, regarding the successorship issue, of two of

Local 669’s potential witnesses.

"’In order to sustain an action for abuse of process

two elements are essential, (1) the existence of an ulterior

motive; and (2) an act in the use of process other than such

as would be proper in the regular prosecution of the

charge.’" Dykes v. A.J. Hosemann, 776 F.2d 942, 950

(11th Cir. 1985) (Tjoflat, J. concurring in part and

dissenting in part) (quoting McMurray v. U-Haul Co. , 425

So. 2d 1209, 1209 n.1 (Fla. 4th DCA 1983) (quoting

Farmers Gin Co. v. Ward, 389 P.2d 9, 11 (1964))). "There

is no abuse of process where it is confined to its regular and

legitimate function in relation to the cause of action stated in

the complaint." Jd.

The Court finds that Independent II failed to sustain

its burden. There has been no showing of an ulterior motive

nor any evidence of acts that would be considered improper

in the regular prosecution of the charge. It is true that Local

669 has pursued its Complaint with vigor, but that is the

nature of litigation and the judicial process at its best. The

Court finds that there is no genuine issue of material fact,

and that Local 669 is entitled to judgment on the

counterclaim, as a matter of law.

IV. CONCLUSION

Having found that all three defendants are obligated

to arbitrate the claims of Local 669, as outlined in its

Complaint, and having found that Independent II failed to

meet its burden on the Counterclaim for abuse of process,

the Court will grant Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

19a

a

OT ge A ee CE Se, ae ape kee ee ee a pees

Pi a ya ont

Judgment Against Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co..,

Independent Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co. and

Independent Sprinkler Corp., filed on September 20, 1990.

The Court will deny Defendant Independent Sprinkler

Corporation’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment, filed

on July 6, 1990, and the Motion for Summary Judgment of

Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co.[,] and Independent

Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co., both filed on September 20,

1990.

Accordingly, it is

ORDERED:

l That the Plaintiff's Motion for Summary

Judgment Against Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co.,

Independent Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co.[,] and

Independent Sprinkler Corp., filed on September 20, 1990,

is granted; the parties shall proceed to final and binding

arbitration.

be That Defendant Independent Sprinkler

Corporation’s Motion for Partial Summary Judgment, filed

on July 6, 1990, is denied.

3. That the Motion for Summary Judgment of

Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co.[,] and Independent

Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co., filed on September 20,

1990, is denied.

4. That the Clerk of the Court is directed, in

accordance with this opinion, to dismiss the Complaint for

Breach of Contract and for Final and Binding Arbitration,

filed on November 8, 1989; and to dismiss Independent II’s

Counterclaim, filed on November 20, 1989, and the parties

shall proceed to final and binding arbitration.

20a

Court of Appeals Decision

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO. 669 affiliated with the United

Association of Journeymen & Apprentices of

the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry of the

United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiff-Counter-Claim Defendant-Appellee,

v.

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Defendant-Counterclaim Plaintiff-Appellant.

No. 91-3271

January 7, 1994, Decided

Before KRAVITCH, Circuit Judge, GODBOLD and

OAKES, Senior Circuit Judges. (Honorable James L. Oakes,

Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit, sitting by

designation. )

GODBOLD, Senior Circuit Judge:

This case concerns the successorship doctrine of labor

law. Pursuant to that doctrine an employer found to be a

"successor" to a predecessor employer may be bound to

collectively bargain with the union that previously had a

collective bargaining relationship with the predecessor, and

in some circumstances the successor may even be bound by

specific provisions of a collective bargaining agreement

preexisting between the predecessor and the union.

21a

On stipulated facts the district court granted the union’s

motion for summary judgment against an employer,

Independent II, and denied Independent II’s motion for

summary judgment.’ It applied the successorship doctrine,

found Independent II to be a successor to employer

Independent I, and ordered Independent II to arbitrate a

dispute with the union. Because the successorship doctrine

does not apply under the facts and circumstances of this case

we reverse and direct that the district court enter judgment

in favor of Independent II.

The union, Road Sprinkler Fitters Local No. 669,

represented the employees of Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co..,

a union contractor with which the union had a collective

bargaining agreement. A grievance arose over whether

Moore Pipe was improperly diverting work to Independent

Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co. (Independent I), a non-union

contractor. The union filed a §301 suit? against Moore Pipe

to compel it to arbitrate the grievance as provided in the

collective bargaining agreement. A settlement was reached,

signed by representatives of the union, Moore Pipe, and

'Independent’s II’s motion sought judgment in its favor with respect

to all claims against it. Other defendants filed a separate motion for

summary judgment. All motions of defendants were denied at the same

time.

Section 301(a) of the Labor Management Relations Act, 29 U.S.C.

§185(a). There is §301 jurisdiction because the case concerns a

contract--a settlement agreement between an employer and a union.

United Paperworkers Int’l Union v. Int’l Paper Co., 920 F.2d 852, 859

(11th Cir.1991); Retail Clerks Int’l Assn. v. Lion Dry Goods, 369 U.S.

17, 27, 82 S. Ct. 541, 547, 7 L. Ed. 2d 503 (1962). This court has

jurisdiction of the appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1291, because the

summary judgment ordering the parties to arbitrate is an appealable final

order. Thomson McKinnon Securities, Inc. v. Salter, 873 F.2d 1397,

1399 (11th Cir. 1989).

22a

Independent I (though it was not a party to the suit). Its

Stated purpose was "to protect and preserve for the

employees covered by this Agreement all work historically

and traditionally performed by them." It provided that all

work in the union’s territory would be performed by Moore

Pipe employees represented by the union. The agreement

stated that it was binding on Moore Pipe, Independent I, and

"the successors, assigns, trustees and administrators of any

party hereto." It provided that any unresolved issue arising

out of the settlement agreement would be referred to

arbitration.

Independent Sprinkler Corporation (Independent II)

was subsequently organized and operated as a non-union

shop, performing the same type of work as Independent I.

Allegedly it was awarded contracts for work within the

union’s territory. The union objected and demanded that

Moore Pipe, Independent I, and Independent II submit to

arbitration pursuant to the arbitration provision of the

settlement agreement. All three companies declined, and the

union filed this suit to require arbitration, alleging that

Independent II was "an alter ego and/or a successor" of

Independent I. It also claimed breach of contract damages

for alleged breach of the settlement agreement and asked

specific performance of the agreement as well. The district

court dismissed the contract claims and granted summary

judgment in favor of the union requiring all three companies

to arbitrate. Whether the settlement agreement had been

breached was described by the court as an issue left to the

arbitrator. All three defendants appealed. Moore Pipe and

Independent I have since participated in arbitration, which

has been completed, and they have withdrawn their appeals.

Left in question is whether the district court correctly held

that the successorship doctrine requires Independent II to

arbitrate pursuant to the provisions of the settlement

agreement. We hold that the successorship doctrine has no

23a

application to this case and reverse the grant of summary

judgment in favor of the union and against Independent II.

The district court’s decision was not based on a

theory that Independent II is a "successor" to Independent I

under contract law principles and is therefore bound by the

provision of the settkement agreement which said that the

agreement is binding on Moore Pipe and Independent I and

"the successors, assigns, trustees and administrators" of any

party. Rather the court based its decision on the

successorship doctrine of labor law which, as a matter of law

and without regard to contract law principles, imposes the

status of successor on an employer and places certain

obligations upon it as such successor.’

*This case has been obfuscated by imprecise use of the term

"successor." Pleadings, motions and briefs of the parties in the district

court shifted at will from discussion, without clear identification, of

successorship created by contract and successorship created by operation

of labor law principles without regard to contract (and sometimes as

though both types of status were the same). The district court dismissed

the union’s breach of contract claim (i.e., breach of the settlement

agreement) and left that issue for the arbitrator. The union has not raised

as an issue on appeal the dismissal of its contract claim. The district

court only relied upon successorship as created by labor law principles.

The union acknowledges that the issue before us concerns successorship

under established federal labor law principles and that the district court’s

decision was based on those principles (Brief pp. 8 and 9).

24a

I. THE UNDERPINNINGS OF THE

SUCCESSORSHIP DOCTRINE.

A successor relationship created by labor law

principles arises by operation of law and is not dependent

upon agreement by the successor that it should have

successor status. This labor-law based relationship protects

the collective bargaining interests of employees of a

predecessor employer who have been employed by a

successor employer that has substantial and sufficient

continuity with the predecessor. The doctrine is an

extension of the presumption in labor law that during the

term of a collective bargaining agreement and one year

thereafter the certified union is the proper bargaining agent.

NLRB v. Burns International Security Services, Inc., 406

U.S. 272, 278-79, 92 S. Ct. 1571, 1577, 32 L. Ed. 2d 61

(1972); Fall River Dyeing & Finishing Corp. v. NLRB, 482

U.S. 27, 36-39, 107 S. Ct. 2225, 2232-2234, 96 L. Ed. 2d

22 (1987). The successor is, therefore, required to engage

in collective bargaining with the union. This continuation of

the obligation to bargain tends to stabilize industrial relations

by protecting the employees of the predecessor who have

joined the work force of the successor at a peculiarly

vulnerable time during which labor relations might be

disturbed by actions or policies of the successor employer or

of the employees themselves. Fall River, 482 U.S. at 38-39,

107 S. Ct. at 2233.

Ordinarily the successor is not bound by substantive

provisions of a preexisting collective bargaining agreement

between the union and the predecessor. /d. at 40, 107 S.

Ct. at 2234. For example, it is not obligated to hire the

employees of the predecessor (subject to the requirement that

it may not discriminate against union-member employees in

hiring); it is free to set initial terms on which it will hire

employees of the predecessor; and it is not bound to pay the

25a

same wages. Jd. The "rightful prerogative of owners

independently to rearrange their businesses" is preserved.

Id.

The Seventh Circuit has outlined some of the criteria

useful in determining whether one employer is the successor

of another:

[a] there has been a substantial continuity of

the same business operations; [b] the new

employer uses the same plant; [c] the same or

substantially the same work force is

employed; [d] the same jobs exist under the

same working conditions; [e] the same

supervisors are employed; [f] the same

machinery, equipment, and methods of

production are used; and [g] the same product

is manufactured or the same service [is]

offered.

Int’l Union of Operating Engineers v. Centor Contractors,

831 F.2d 1309, 1312 (7th Cir. 1987) (footnote omitted).

We do not need to analyze in detail the relations

between Independent I and Independent II that might be

relevant to the /nt’l Union criteria. Even if some of those

criteria are present between these two entities, the

successorship doctrine has no application to this case. There

has been no collective bargaining relationship between the

union and Independent I to be "passed on" to Independent II

as successor to Independent I. Independent I does not have,

and never had, a collective bargaining relationship with the

union. The only preexisting collective bargaining

relationship was between Moore Pipe and the union, and the

union does not contend that Moore Pipe is the predecessor

of Independent II. The successorship doctrine may not be

26a

utilized to force an alleged successor employer, Independent

II, into a collective bargaining relationship in which its

alleged predecessor, Independent I, was not a participant.

The union asserts that it is "protecting

union-represented Moore Pipe employees from diversion of

bargaining unit work to Independent I or its ‘successor’

[Independent II] during the life of the settlement agreement."

The successorship doctrine protects the interests of members

of the work force who have transferred from the predecessor

employer to the successor employer. Here, in a dispute over

allocation of work between employees of a union shop

(Moore Pipe) and employees of a non-union shop

(Independent II), the doctrine is asserted against the interests

of transferred employees (who transferred to Independent II

from Independent I, which had no bargaining relationship

with the union) and for the benefit of the work force of

Moore Pipe (whose employees have not transferred at all).

This stands successorship on its head.

Moreover, the duty that the district court imposed on

Independent II as a matter of law is a duty to arbitrate, a

duty that arises out of contract. A duty to arbitrate does not

arise because a court thinks it is a good thing to require in

the circumstances or because national labor policy favors it.

A party cannot be required to submit to arbitration a dispute

that it has not agreed to arbitrate. Steelworkers v. Warrior

& Gulf Co., 363 U.S. 574, 582, 80 S. Ct. 1347, 1352, 4 L.

Ed. 2d 1409 (1960).

As we have pointed out, in most respects a successor

is only bound to collectively bargain and is not bound to any

extent by an existing contract between the union and the

predecessor. In some narrow circumstances, however, there

may be an exception to the rule that the successor inherits

only a duty to bargain and does not inherit a preexisting

27a

Eas ar gt ee eee

Tat aL a

collective bargaining contract. If the status of successor

arises out of a merger in which the original employer has

disappeared and the new employer has hired all of the old

employer’s werkers, the successor may be required to honor

an arbitration provision of the preexisting collective

bargaining agreement. John Wiley & Sons, Inc., v.

Livingston, 376 U.S. 543, 548, 84 S. Ct. 909, 913, 11 L.

Ed. 2d 898 (1964); see also Esmark, Inc. v. NLRB, 887

F.2d 739, 750-51 (7th Cir.1989). In contrast, if there is a

mere sale of assets and the predecessor employer remains in

business as a viable entity, the successor may not be required

to honor the preexisting agreement to arbitrate. Howard

Johnson Co. v. Detroit Local Joint Executive Board, 417

U.S. 249, 257, 94 S. Ct. 2236, 2240, 41 L. Ed. 2d 46

(1974). This is not a Wiley case. There has been no

merger. Independent II has hired some but not all of

Independent I’s employees. Independent I had no collective

bargaining agreement or relationship with the union. It has

hired none of Moore Pipe’s employees. The union is not

incapable of obtaining arbitration on the issue of alleged

diversion of work from Moore Pipe. Its collective

bargaining agreement with Moore Pipe contained an

arbitration Clause, and the federal court ordered Moore Pipe

(and Independent I) to arbitrate, and they have done so.

The district court erred in granting summary

judgment in favor of the vrion and against independent II

based upon the success..ship issue and in denying

Independent II’s motion for summary judgment based upon

that issue.

Il. ALTER EGO.

The union alleged in its complaint that Independent

II was required to arbitrate because it was formed as "an

alter ego of and/or a successor corporation" to Independent

28a

I ... and is bound by the terms and conditions of the

[settlement] agreements ... entered into by Independent I.‘

Independent II, by counterclaim and later in its motion for

summary judgment, alleged that it was neither alter ego of

nor successor to Independent I. Despite having alleged alter

ego status, the union did not raise that issue in its motion for

summary judgment or in its proposed conclusions of law

submitted in support of its motion. It did not assert alter ego

in opposition to Independent II’s motion for summary

judgment, which alleged that Independent II was not the alter

“The Seventh Circuit has described the distinct differences between

alter ego and successorship.

We begin by noting that the alter ego and

successorship inquiries are distinct. Whether one

employer is a successor of another depends on a

number of factors, some of which were recently

enunciated by this court, including whether:

{reciting the factors set out above in text at

slip opinion p. 867.]

*_* ee * *

By contrast, the alter ego doctrine focuses on

“the existence of a disguised continuance of a former

business entity or an attempt to avoid the obligations of

a collective bargaining agreement, such as through a

sham transfer of assets." Penntech Papers, Inc. v.

NLRB, 706 F.2d 18, 24 (ist Cir.1983). In sum "

“unlawful motive or intent are critical inquiries in an

alter ego analysis....’" Jowa Express Distribution, Inc.

v. NLRB, 739 F.2d 1305, 1311 (8th Cir. 1984) (quoting

Penntech Papers, 706 F.2d at 24) (comparing alter ego

and single employer doctrines).

Int’l Union of Operating Engineers v. Centor Contractors, supra.

29a

ego of Independent I. The district court therefore declined

to address the alter ego status as an issue.

Although the Complaint alleges that

Independent II is either the alter ego of and/or

the successor to Independent I, the issue of

alter ego status is not raised by the plaintiff in

either its motion for summary judgment, or

its subsequent [proposed] conclusions of law.

Therefore, although the defendants briefed the

issue of alter ego status, the Court will not

address it in this Order.

Opinion and Order, p. 6, n. 2, 1991 WL 64044. The court

was correct in its ruling. It could properly treat as

abandoned a claim alleged in the complaint but not even

raised as a ground for summary judgment. Cj., Lazzara v.

Howard A. Esser, Inc. , 802 F.2d 260, 269 (7th Cir. 1986) (a

ground not pressed in the district court in opposition to a

motion for summary judgment is to be treated by the district

court as abandoned). Moreover, on appeal the union has not

raised as an issue the refusal of the district court to consider

the alter ego claim. The district court’s refusal could not,

therefore, be considered as an issue on appeal. FSLIC v.

Haralson, 813 F.2d 370, 373 (11th Cir. 1987); Self-directed

Placement Corp. v. Control Data Corp. , 908 F.2d 462, 466

(9th Cir.1990); Cavic v. Pioneer Astro Indus., 825 F.2d

1421, 1425 (10th Cir.1987). Alter ego is simply no longer

an issue in this case.

For reasons we have set out, Independent II was

entitled to summary judgment in its favor on the

successorship issue, the only issue remaining in the case.

Ill. CONCLUSION.

30a

The decision of the district court is REVERSED.

The case is REMANDED to the district court with directions

to enter a final judgment in favor of Independent Sprinkler

Corporation (Independent II).

3la

Denial of Rehearing

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO. 669 affiliated with the United

Association of Journeymen & Apprentices of

the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry of the

United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiff-Counter-Claim Defendant-Appellee,

v.

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Defendant-Counterclaim Plaintiff-Appellant.

No. 91-3271

April 8, 1994

Before KRAVITCH, Circuit Judge, GODBOLD and

OAKES, Senior Circuit Judges. (Honorable James L. Oakes,

Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit, sitting by

designation. )

PER CURIAM:

The Petition(s) for Rehearing are DENIED and no

member of this panel nor other Judge in regular active

service on the Court having requested that the Court be

polled on rehearing en banc (Rule 35, Federal Rules of

Appellate Procedure; Eleventh Circuit Rule 35-5), the

Suggestion(s) of Rehearing En Banc are DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT

324

Mandate

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE ELEVENTH CIRCUIT

ROAD SPRINKLER FITTERS LOCAL

UNION NO. 669 affiliated with the United

Asscciation of Journeymen & Apprentices of

the Plumbing & Pipefitting Industry of the

United States and Canada, AFL-CIO,

Plaintiff-Counter-Claim Defendant-Appellee,

v.

INDEPENDENT SPRINKLER CORP.,

Defendant-Counterclaim Plaintiff-Appellant.

No. 91-3271

Before KRAVITCH, Circuit Judge, GODBOLD and

OAKES, Senior Circuit Judges. (Honorable James L. Oakes,

Senior U.S. Circuit Judge for the Second Circuit, sitting by

designation. )

JUDGMENT

This cause came to be heard on the transcript of the

record from the United States District Court for the Middle

District of Florida, and was argued by counsel;

UPON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, it is now

hereby ordered and adjudged by this Court that the order of

the said District Court appealed from in this cause be and the

same is hereby REVERSED; and that this cause be and the

same is hereby REMANDED to said District Court for

further proceedings in accordance with the opinion of this

Court;

It is further ordered that plaintiff-appellee pay

defendant appellant the costs on appeal to be taxed by the

Clerk of this Court.

Entered: January 7, 1994

Issued as Mandate: May 2, 1994

Stipulation of Facts

STIPULATION OF FACTS

Plaintiff Road Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669

and Defendants, Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co., Independent

Sprinkler & Fire Protection Co., and Independent Sprinkler

Corp., by and through their undersigned attorneys, for

purposes of the above-captioned action only, hereby stipulate

to the following facts:

1. This action is brought by the Plaintiff Road

Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669 (hereinafter "Local

669") against Defendants Moore Pipe & Sprinkler Co.

(hereinafter "Moore Pipe"), Independent Sprinkler & Fire

Protection Co. (hereinafter "Independent I"), and

Independent Sprinkler Corp., (hereinafter "Independent II")

pursuant to Section 301 of the Labor Management Relations

Act of 1947, 29 U.S.C. Section 185, seeking to compel the

Defendants to submit to final and binding arbitration the

alleged violation of a Settlement Agreement previously

entered by Moore Pipe and Independent I in resolution of

prior litigation.

2. Local 669 is a national labor organization

representing employees engaged in the installation and

maintenance of automatic fire protection systems. Its

territorial jurisdiction encompasses 48 states, the District of

Columbia and Puerto Rico, and includes the states of

Georgia and South Carolina but does not include Florida.

‘In an alternative count, Local 669 seeks an award of monetary

damages for the alleged violation of the Settlement Agreement.

However, the parties stipulate and agree that the issue of monetary

damages, if any, is an issue to be resolved by the arbitrator rather than

the Court should the Court find in the first instance that arbitration is

appropriate in this case.

35a

3. Moore Pipe, a Florida corporation, at all times

material herein, has been engaged in the business of

installing and maintaining fire protection systems in various

states including Florida, Georgia, and South Carolina.

Moore Pipe was incorporated on June 26, 1926, and has

been a union contractor for many years.

4. Independent I, also a Florida corporation,

prior to October 30, 1987, was engaged in the business of

installing and maintaining fire protection systems in Florida,

Georgia and South Carolina. Independent I was incorporated

on April 30, 1982, and operated during its existence on a

non-union basis.

a At all times material herein, and at least since

approximately 1980, the stock of both Moore Pipe and

Independent I has been owned by a parent company,

Williamson Feed Mills, Inc. (hereinafter "Williamson"), and

Moore Pipe and Independent I both operated as subsidiaries

of Williamson. Prior to October 30, 1987, the stock in

Williamson was owned by the following members of the

Evans family of Jacksonville, Florida in the percentages

indicated: H. M. (Mack) Evans, Jr. (25%), Jerry B. Evans

(25%), Randolph T. (Randy) Evans (25%), and the Evans

family trust (25%).

6. On or about August 25, 1985, Local 669 filed

a grievance under Article 3 of its collective bargaining

agreement with Moore Pipe alleging that Moore Pipe and

Independent I were single or joint employers within the

meaning of Article 3 of the Agreement, and that the

economic terms of the Agreement were applicable to work

performed by Independent I within Local 669’s territorial

jurisdiction.

36a

7. Local 669 ultimately brought an action to

compel arbitration of its grievance, in an action styled Road

Sprinkler Fitters Local Union No. 669 v. Moore Pipe &

Sprinkler Co., Civil Action No. 85-936-CIV-J-12 (U.S.D.C.

M.D. Fla.).

8. On April 16, 1987, a settlement encompassing

both the above pending suit to compel arbitration and the

underlying grievance was reached. Jerry Evans signed the

Settlement Agreement on behalf of Moore Pipe and Randy

Evans signed the Settlement Agreement on behalf of

Independent I. Williamson was not a party to the suit or to

the agreement. A copy of the Settlement Agreement is

attached hereto as Exhibit A and incorporated herein.

9. One aspect of the Settlement Agreement, as

provided in paragraph 4 thereof, was that Moore Pipe agreed

to be bound by the national collective bargaining agreement

in effect between the National Fire Sprinkler Association,

Inc. and Local 669, for the period April 1, 1988 through

March 31, 1991, a copy of which is attached as Exhibit B to

Plaintiff's Complaint and incorporated herein.

10. In mid-summer of 1987, the decision was

made to close down the operations of Independent I. This

decision was made by H. M. (Mack) Evans, Jr., in his

capacity as Chairman of the Board of Williamson, for

assertedly economic reasons.

11. Shortly after this decision was made, Randy

Evans decided to sell his interest in Williamson. These

negotiations continued over a period of several months, and

culminated in an agreement signed on October 30, 1987, in

which Randy Evans sold all of his stock in Williamson back

to the Company for $258,814.97. A copy of this Agreement

is attached hereto as Exhibit B and incorporated herein.

37a

12. Since October 30, 1987, the stock of

Williamson has been owned equally by H. M. Evans, Jr.,

Jerry B. Evans, and the Evans family trust. Since October

30, 1987, Randy Evans has had no ownership interest in

Williamson, Moore Pipe, or Independent I.

13. On August 27, 1987, Randy Evans formed a

new Florida corporation named Independent Sprinkler

Corporation (hereinafter "Independent II"). A copy of the

initial Articles of Incorporation of Independent Sprinkler

Corporation, filed with the Secretary of State on August 28,

1987, is attached hereto as Exhibit C and incorporated

herein. The Articles of Incorporation listed Independent II’s

Board of Directors’ address as:

5262 Longleaf Street

Jacksonville, Florida

14. After a "phase out" period of several months,

Independent I ceased its active business operations on

Friday, October 30, 1987, and has not engaged in active

business operations since that date. All of Independent I’s

employees were laid off at the end of the work day on

October 30, 1987. A listing of the employees employed by

Independent I during 1987 is attached hereto as Exhibit D

and incorporated herein.

15. Independent II began its active business

operations on Monday, November 2, 1987 from the

following business address and telephone number:

5863 West Beaver Street

Jacksonville, Florida 32205

(904) 781-8227

38a

When Independent II began operations, it employed 35

employees. Thirty-two of these employees previously had

been employed by Independent I. A listing of Independent

II’s employees as of November 6, 1987 is attached hereto as

Exhibit E and incorporated herein. As of May 6, 1988,

Independent II still employed 35 employees, 25 of whom

previously had been employed by Independent I. A listing

of Independent II’s employees as of May 6, 1988 is attached

hereto as Exhibit F and incorporated herein.

Independent I employed 142 personnel during the

year 1987. During its existence, Independent II has hired 32

of the personnel who were in the employ of Independent I

during the year 1987.

16. On April 16, 1987, the Officers and Directors

of Independent I were as follows:

Directors Officers

Randolph T. (Randy) Evans Randolph T. (Randy) Evans

President and Treasurer

H. M. Evans, Ill Robert Matthews

Vice-President

Robert Matthews H. M. Evans, III

_ Secretary

On or about October 23, 1987, Randy Evans and Robert

Matthews submitted written letters of resignation from their

positions with Independent I, to be effective as of October

30, 1987 at 12:01 a.m.

17. Since October 30, 1987, although Independent

I has not engaged in any active business operations, it has

39a

remained as a dormant Florida corporation. Since October

30, 1987, the Officers and Directors of Independent I have

been as follows:

Directors Officers

Bradford B. Evans Bradford B. Evans President

H. M. Evans, Ill H. M. Evans, Iii Secretary &

Treasurer

James W. Carr

18. From its formation until the present, the

Officers and Directors of Independent II have been as

follows:

Directors Officers

Randolph T. (Randy) Evans Randolph T. (Randy) Evans

President

Robert Matthews Robert Matthews

Vice-President

R. Tucker Evans, Jr. R. Tucker Evans, Jr.

Vice-President

Danny Wilkinson

David Overman

Jimmy Grey

Bill Taylor

Norman LaRochelle

19. From April 16, 1987 until the present, the

Officers and Directors of Moore Pipe have been as follows:

Directors Officers '

Jerry M. Evans Jerry B. Evans President

Jerry B. Evans H. M. Evans, Jr. Vice-President,

Secretary,

Treasurer

H. M. Evans, Jr. William H. Steedley Vice-President

20. From its formation until the present, the stock

of Independent II has been owned by the following

individuals: Randy Evans (approximately 19%), Robert

Matthews (approximately 18%), R. Tucker Evans, Jr.

(approximately 8% to 9%), and the following employees or

former employees of Independent II (each of whom owns or

owned stock ranging from approximately 5% to 10%):

Dannie Wilkinson, Jimmy Roberts, Robert Bollo, Don

Thomas, Norman LaRochelle, David Overman, John

Swanson, Jimmy Grey, Bill Taylor, Albert Turner, Louis

Sweat and James D. Sweat.

21. From April 16, 1987 until approximately

October of 1988, Moore Pipe conducted its business from its

offices located at the following address:

5262 Longleaf Street

Post Office Box 40589

Jacksonville, Florida 32203

(904) 768-2556

4la

In approximately October of 1988, Moore Pipe

moved to its present business location at the following

address:

4517-2 Appleton Avenue

Post Office Box 7419

Jacksonville, Florida 32238-0419

(904) 384-6500

22. | From April 16, 1987 until it ceased operations

on October 30, 1987, Independent I conducted its business

from its offices located at the following address:

5262 Longleaf Street

Post Office Box 2781

Jacksonville, Florida 32203

(904) 765-3572

23. Subsequent to the formation of Independent II,

Robert Matthews, Vice-President of Independent II,

negotiated with Independent I for the purchase of some, but

not all, of Independent I’s office equipment and supplies.

Pursuant to such negotiations, an agreement was entered into

whereby Independent II agreed to purchase from Independent

I various items of office equipment and supplies for prices

agreed upon by the parties. A copy of the items purchased

and the prices agreed upon is attached hereto as Exhibit G

and made a part hereof.

24. Subsequent to the formation of Independent II,

and as Independent I was phasing out its operation,

representatives of Independent II negotiated for the

completion of 37 construction jobs originally contracted to

Independent I. Following such negotiations, Independent I

entered into an agreement dated November 2, 1987, under

which it subcontracted various contracts to Independent II.

42a

A copy of such agreement is attached hereto as Exhibit H

and made a part hereof. The terms of such agreement were

similar to other subcontract agreements which Independent

I had drafted with other subcontractors. Independent II

completed each of the contracts listed on Exhibit H for the

amounts as set forth for each job on the percentage of

completion schedule attached to Exhibit H. There were no

jobs included in Exhibit H located in Georgia or South

Carolina that were not also listed in the jobs included in

Attachment A to the Settlement Agreement herein (Exhibit

A).

25. A similar agreement as that attached as

Exhibit H was entered into between Independent I and

Moore Pipe, with respect to the remainder of Independent I’s

pending jobs. A listing of these jobs, which were

subcontracted for completion to Moore Pipe and which were

completed by Moore Pipe (and which were all located in

South Florida) is attached hereto as Exhibit I and made a

part hereof.

26. Subsequent to November 2, 1987, Independent

II submitted various orders for the fabrication of materials to

the Moore Pipe shop. Pursuant to such orders, Moore Pipe

fabricated such materials and Independent II paid the normal

retail price for such fabricated materials. Moore Pipe

fabricated and sold such materials to Independent II on a

"collect on delivery" basis.

27. In early 1988, Robert Matthews, Vice-

President of Independent II, entered into further discussions

with Moore Pipe concerning the purchase of various items

of fabrication equipment. Following such discussions,

Moore Pipe sold various items of fabrication equipment to

Independent II for prices negotiated between Moore Pipe and

Independent II and requiring the payment of cash.

43a

Independent II declined to purchase other items of fabrication

equipment being offered for sale by Moore Pipe.

28. Subsequent to the formation of Independent II,

and on or about October 5, 1987, Independent II assumed

the commercial leases on some, but not all, of the vehicles

which previously had been leased by independent I. Copies

of these leases are attached hereto as Exhibit J and

incorporated herein.

29. Subsequent to November 2, 1987, Moore Pipe

and Independent II have bid upon various construction

projects, inside and outside of Florida, on a competitive

basis. In various instances, Moore Pipe was not awarded a

contract of construction on certain projects in which

Independent II was the successful bidder, and in other

instances, the reverse has been true. Moore Pipe has not at

any time submitted a joint bid for the performance of a

contract of construction with Independent II.

30. Since November 2, 1987, Independent II has

bid upon and been awarded various construction contracts in

Florida, Georgia and South Carolina. Such contracts have

been performed on a non-union basis, at wages and benefits

set by Independent II.

31. Independent II is engaged in the same type of

business as Independent I was.

32. Independent II has not at any time owned

jointly or in common any bank accounts, notes, bonds and/or

other types of securities with Moore Pipe or Independent I.

33. | The dispute giving rise to the current litigation

was begun by a letter dated March 21, 1989, from H. V.

Simpson, Business Manager for Local 669, to Jerry Evans

44a

of Moore Pipe, requesting certain information as to alleged

jobs being performed within Local 669’s territory not in

accordance with the terms and conditions of the Local 669

collective bargaining agreement. A copy of said letter is

attached hereto as Exhibit K and incorporated herein. In

response, Jerry Evans submitted a letter dated March 28,

1989 to H. V. Simpson, a copy of which is attached hereto

as Exhibit L and incorporated herein. H. V. Simpson then

submitted an additional letter to both Jerry Evans and Randy

Evans, dated April 7, 1989, a copy of which is attached

hereto as Exhibit M and incorporated herein.

34. Local 669 next responded through its

attorneys, by letter dated July 25, 1989 trom William W.

Osborne, Jr., Esquire to Jerry Evans and to Randy Evans,

a copy of which is attached hereto as Exhibit N and

incorporated herein, and alleged that the Settlement

Agreement had been breached by Moore Pipe, Independent

I and Independent II. In response, Jerry Evans submitted a

letter to William W. Osborne, Jr., Esquire, dated August 4,

1989, a copy of which attached hereto as Exhibit O and

incorporated herein. The parties met in an effort to resolve

Local 669’s allegations in Jacksonville, Florida in October,

1989, but were unable to do so. Moore Pipe, Independent

I and Independent II disputed Local 669s allegations,

asserting that there was no corporate relationship between

Independent I and Independent II.

35. | From August 16, 1987 until the time that

Independent I ceased operations on October 30, 1987,

Independent I did not bid upon any jobs within Local 669’s

territorial jurisdiction, and did not perform work on any jobs

within Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction with the exception

of those jobs listed as Attachment A to the Settlement

Agreement herein (Exhibit A).

45a

36. From October 16, 1987 until the present, and

for the purposes of this litigation, all jobs performed by

Moore Pipe within Local 669’s territorial jurisdiction have

been performed with bargaining unit employees represented

by Local 669 and in accordance with the wages, terms and

conditions of the National Local 669/N.F.S.A. Agreement

(attached as Exhibit B to the Complaint).

37. Local 669 has demanded that the parties

proceed to arbitration over the dispute herein. Independent

II has refused to proceed to arbitration on the asserted basis

that it is not the successor to nor alter ego of Independent I

and is therefore not bound to the terms of the Settlement

Agreement. Independent I and Moore Pipe have asserted

that, assuming arguendo arbitration is appropriate in this

proceeding at all, the dispute herein is not arbitrable as to

them and that they should not be parties to any arbitration.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.