Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Cook v. Chrysler Corp.

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Gnited abies seceded

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

JESSE L. Cook,

Petitioner,

Vv.

CHRYSLER CORPORATION and

UNITED AUTOMOBILE AEROSPACE, AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS LOCAL 136,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

LEE BOOTHBY

Counsel of Record

BooTHBY & YINGST

Suite 201, “ 42nd St., NW

Washington, DC 20016

(202) 3638- “oe

ROBERT W. NIXON

MITCHELL A. TYNER

12501 Old Columbia Pike

Silver Spring, MD 20904

(301) 680-6320

MICHAEL J. HOARE

One Metropolitan Square

24th Floor

St. Louis, MO 638102

(314) 241-7961

Counsel for Petitioner

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether non-seniority provisions, such as a uniform

attendance requireraent and procedure, contained in a col-

lective bargaining agreement, limit the scope of the rea-

sonable accommodation duty imposed upon employers by

section 701(j) of Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964,

which has resulted in a conflict among the circuits.

2. Whether the mere existence of a nondiscriminatory

collective bargaining agreement containing a nondiscrimi-

natory seniority system (or the existence of some other

arrangement providing a general means to assist with em-

ployee scheduling) may by be deemed a substitute for the

active effort by the employer to seek a reasonable accom-

modation of an employee’s religious practices.

3. Whether, in determining if each available accommo-

dation would result in more than a de minimis cost to the

employer, the Court should consider the EEOC Guidelines

on Religious Discrimination and whether the trial court,

in making its findings, should have quantified the claimed

monetary costs and loss of efficiency and further should

have considered at least the following factors: (a) the size,

operating costs, and number of employees needing accom-

modation; and (b) whether the additional expenses, if any,

incurred were for costs similar to the regular payment of

premium wages of substitutes.

4. Whether an employer violates Title VII and this

Court’s teachings in Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philhrook,

479 U.S. 60 (1986), when it refuses to use the same ac-

commodation means for one employee that it uses for all

other employees who seek accommodation for religious or

secular purposes.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

The parties to the proceedings below were Jesse Cook,

the petitioner, and Chrysler Corporation and United Au-

tomobile Aerospace, Agricultural Implement Workers Lo-

cal 1386, the respondents.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

SRPRPEPEPENe BPRRSCMIN LED) ccsccesesescvscrcscescsscssevessescnses

EE REE MIME GS iscusvscstccuvecnssececcsassccesasceoneess

URE PAUSE EEOC A EIGS ccsscccccscoscrccsasescscassusscasesss

OPINIONS BELOW ...

JURISDICTION ............ ;

See ee ee eee eee eee eee eT

eee eee eee eee eee ee |

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ..................

I. CONTRARY TO THE CONCLUSION OF LAW

II.

OF THE COURTS BELOW, NON-SENIORITY

PROVISIONS CONTAINED IN A COLLEC-

TIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT DO NOT

LIMIT THE SCOPE OF THE REASONABLE

ACCOMMODATION REQUIREMENT _IM-

POSED ON EMPLOYERS BY SECTION 701(j)

I Sid ANGcabintch bensduahesaksnasesaccasansanens

CONTRARY TO THE HOLDINGS OF THE

COURTS BELOW, THE EXISTENCE OF A

COLLECTIVE BARGAINING AGREEMENT OR

OTHER EMPLOYER ARRANGEMENT PRO-

VIDING SOME FLEXIBILITY TO ASSIST EM-

PLOYEES GENERALLY AS TO SCHEDULING

MAY NOT BE DEEMED A SUBSTITUTE FOR

THE ACTIVE EFFORT OF AN EMPLOYER

TO SEEK A MEANS BY WHICH AN EM-

PLOYEE CAN BE REASONABLY

REED cdanssehnnatncnsaisnessasvencesnvisesses

1]

16

III. THE COURT FAILED TO PROPERLY ANA-

LYZE THE ISSUE OF UNDUE HARDSHIP

WHEN DETERMINING THAT EACH AVAIL-

ABLE ACCOMMODATION WOULD RESULT

IN “MORE THAN A DE MINIMIS COST” TO

THE EMPLOYER AND IS INCONSISTENT

WEZES TOG GUTERAING acccsnessssansersnssasossnenes 21

IV. TITLE VII IS VIOLATED WHEN AN EM-

PLOYER UTILIZES A SPECIFIC MEANS OF

ACCOMMODATING OTHER EMPLOYEES FOR

EITHER RELIGIOUS OR SECULAR PUR-

POSES BUT DOES NOT PERMIT ANOTHER

EMPLOYEE SEEKING A RELIGIOUS AC-

COMMODATION TO BE ACCOMMODATED IN

DEOe CORDES MUMRROENIES tnkscccsneccosccvesnvesiessccstbics 24

Cael REE ccthaincuncapeeunnhesconvuanniiins cuniatedsadaiananhinaee 28

APPENDIX

APPENDIX A—Opinion of the Eighth Cir-

CURE CEE CE BIG osicccssccscvsscsisisessossncecess la

APPENDIX B—Judgment of the Eighth Cir-

CITE Se OE I Stscecittacesrvetcinaess 8a

APPENDIX C—Order Denying Petition for

Rehearing and Suggestion for Rehearing En

Banc by the Eighth Circuit Court of

BMI sisdvackdasantbniacalaakchcuhiiAcchusnimnanccodiackensoa 9a

APPENDIX D—Memorandum Opinion of the

United States District Court for the Eastern

District of Missouri (Eastern Division) ........ 10a

APPENDIX E—Guidelines on Discrimination

NE Gr TR cc cparencacccssssacstacsacccadinnveans 27a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: Page

Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 236

POUND -uschsnksecue capaivasvaseusebasenctduveanseanisaiionaneneseanns 20

Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. 60

EIU -cabacctcaiatiaiwecnasederecnuascsheune: nueueicanealiatin 19,20,26

Brown v. General Motors Corp., 601 F.2d 956 (8th

Ss. i sesincxasinsasnchuracna voncecanninsaciaceencnianemnnieans 12,13

Burns v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 589 F.2d 403

(9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S. 1072

ERUPWET -conisesapocebcanneceasanseuabapn deetagsGateamuenpnaeemaietiin 20

Claybaugh v. Pacific Northwest Bell Tel. Co., 355

F. CU. © Tie. SR TPE) ceccenmcsinmcancan 23

Cook v. Chrysler Corp., 981 F.2d 336 (8th Cir.

RINE cictvccsghcs ecosaaeudealaiiomnedehncnmeianiae 10,11,14,17,23

Cook v. Chrysler Corp., 779 F. Supp. 1016 (E.D.

ia FO ce ee ee 9,10

Cooper v. General Dynamics, Convair Aerospace

Div., 533 F.2d 163 (5th Cir. 1976), cert. denied

sub nom International Ass’n of Machinists and

Aerospace Workers v. Hopkins, 433 U.S. 908

COG OP ccsstanarconcicxenaduceaeiecnendtocsun eearanaenammnstdan 15,22

EEOC v. Hacienda Hotel, 881 F.2d 1504 (9th Cir.

PIPED innate sidedeilciruianammninnerauereameapeeenanaieas 20,27

EEOC v. Ithaca Industries, Inc., 849 F.2d 116 (4th

Ro: MINIM cliuscunaiasianssusundeumcaneenacabaniamciamenncnideess 17

EEOC v. Universal Mfg. Corp., 914 F.2d 71 (5th

RAR. QUIET vasnccsckinciscicansustadetioekorsadklcemeaneaucoaibie 26

EEOC v. University of Detroit, 904 F.2d 331 (6th

Ce. TID saciarkccctausintiaiaasey sane ees 18

Estate of thornton v. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703

CRE cacicsciscsinctusuieunadocsaiceecsiehuantanvsoiiasigevamaee 21

Getz v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dept. of

Public Welfare, 802 F.2d 72 (3d Cir. 1986) ...

—"

qn

Table of Authorities Continued

Gordon v. MCI Telecommunications Corp., 791 F.

ee: G8 EEN. INL Es Ti cinntsencicccssiessancs

Hudson v. Western Airlines, Inc., 851 F.2d 261 (9th

PT ED “scisanvcscusacahasetdscssansdunbangbeeneikommatneen

Huston v. Local No. 93, Int’l Union, UAW, 559 F.2d

OFF Se SS BOT) catsticnsiccnrincunne

Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F.2d

TE TOUR Sls ROOOE ssishscstsiaclensenbaen

Ka Nam Kuan v. City of Chicago, 563 F. Supp. 255

SE Ts BUND vasskatainrnccbeiesiantcencuecmane

Lake v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 837 F.2d 449 (11th Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 826 (1988) ........

McDaniel v. Essex Int'l, Inc., 696 F.2d 34 (6th Cir.

UIE canasicscandiavedasensccnsngtncdetplabeadeisetaltnomas

McDaniel v. Essex Int'l, Inc., 571 F.2d 338 (6th

BAS MUN TUED ccccdaccstcicinssitactsmaecuneuas ace et

Meadows v. Golden Grain Macaroni Co., 45 FEP

eB A ae Gy: Peeeenere: e ere

Nottelson v. A.O. Smith Corp., 643 F.2d 445 (7th

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1046

NIE - siss-csnsnickhscvuiasiatauaane un senebneaasemsduabammaona: madbanase

Nottelson v. A.O. Smith Corp., 423 F. Supp. 1345

CE: WPI BOPU UND nasissvkveuntsnntoauianestnabieaselstanteeeans

Protos v. Volkswagen of America, Inc., 797 F.2d

BT UE MMs TOME treccvcccsshianseccncnantesbiaetabnnesnrs

Rohr v. Western Elec. Co., Inc., 567 F.2d 829 (8th

REE MINER D acccnsisnidvaniccneusbionanaxanuasiacaiumnaaannasesdtis

Shaffield v. Northrop Worldwide Aircraft Serv.,

Inc., 373 F. Supp. 987 (M.D. Ala. 1974) ........

Smith v. Pyro Mining Co., 827 F.2d 1081 (6th Cir.

SET bunsgusionadninsianinnnenshaueadasnebuaheaaiannuanantaedeneas

Tooley v. Martin-Marietta Corp., 648 F.2d 1239 (9th

Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 1098

RET \snccahincscahsanannushennahane secade spunea ash cbuaagerneies

Page

21

18

21,24

vii

Table of Authorities Continued

Page

Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco., Inc., 892 F.2d 1481 (10th

ane: SUMED ‘Goncauinesdscochuevnteaxsabnicaietasinasues eoueudiucecaas 23

Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 68

EWE E chashckaconesenaenhted vaeuptaapyach conan ccacitincacesracnien passvm

Statutes and Rules:

42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg. (Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, as amended) .................. passim

Se reece Oe ND Siinosanmassceaceacacanacdecnchesstnivtecanianes 3

Oe is IE epcrasstts ca vaceeisivteseskecakscithustcessanee

Oe TE. I ccacncatncearcicnschcsaccnccasaaccancevenses 3

MUSE. See Sk cose 4,14

EEOC Guidelines on Discrimination Because of

Religion,

29 C.F.R. §§ 1605.1-1605.3,

Se A Ne WED ieecbavcciibincioasounncneencssenes 22

Be Sr a FID eakcsdcctissatecsemaderaeviseens 17

29 C.F.R. § 1605.2(e\1),

45 Fed. Reg. 72613-14 (1980) «...:...........00..000:. 22 23

Miscellaneous:

RD SB TI Ieee skits cnkindicclcciocecaeuesns 20

Re See, TOW. TEE CITI sovoviss scsasnceesccsccneerenecvcanas 22

Schlei & Grossman, Employment Discrimination

Law (2d ed. Cumulative Supp. 1983-85) ......... 12

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Cnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

JESSE L. Cook,

Petitioner.

Vi

CHRYSLER CORPORATION and

UNITED AUTOMOBILE AEROSPACE, AGRICULTURAL

IMPLEMENT WORKERS LOCAL 136,

Respondents.

Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court of Appeals

For The Eighth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Jesse Cook petitions for a writ of certiorari to review

the judgment of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth Cir-

cuit. The opinion and judgment of the court of appeals

was entered in this case on December 7, 1992. The Petition

for Rehearing and Suggestions for Rehearing En Banc was

denied on January 21, 1993.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Eighth

Circuit is reported at 981i F.2d 336 (8th Cir. 1992), and

is reprinted in the Appendix herein at p. la, infra.

tr

The memorandum opinion of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, Eastern Di-

vision, which was entered on December 31, 1991, is re-

ported at 779 F. Supp. 1016 (E.D. Mo. 1991), and is

reprinted in the Appendix herein at p. 10a, infra.

JURISDICTION

Invoking federal jurisdiction under Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964, as amended by the Equal Employment

Opportunity Act of 1972, 42 U.S.C. § 2000e et seg., and

under 28 U.S.C. § 1331 (general federal question jurisdic-

tion), the petitioner brought this suit in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Missouri, Eastern

Division. On December 31, 1991, the district court entered

judgment in favor of the defendants Chrysler and the union

and against plaintiff Cook on the merits of plaintiff's com-

plaint. See pp. 10a-26a, infra.

On petitioner’s appeal, the Eighth Circuit on December

7, 1992, entered a judgment and order affirming the dis-

trict court’s judgment. See p. 8a, infra. Thereafter a timely

petition for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing en

bane was filed with the court of appeals. The court of

appeals on January 21, 1993, entered an order denying

the petition for rehearing and suggestions for rehearing

en banc. See p. 9a, infra.

The jurisdiction of this Court to review the judgment

of the Eighth Circuit is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

42 U.S.C. § 2000e(j) provides:

The term “religion” includes all aspects of reii-

gious observance and practice, as well as belief,

unless an employer demonstrates that he is un-

able to reasonably accommodate to an employee’s

or prospective employee’s religious observance or

practice without undue hardship on the conduct

of the employer’s business.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a) provides:

It shall be an unlawful employment practice for

an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or discharge any

individual, or otherwise to discriminate against

any individual with respect to his compensation,

terms, conditions, or privileges or employment,

because of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify his employ-

ees or applicants for employment in any way

which would deprive or tend to deprive any in-

dividual of employment opportunities or other-

wise adversely affect his status as an employee,

because of such individual’s race, color, religion,

sex, or national origin.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(c) provides:

It shall, be an unlawful employment practice for

a labor organization—

(1) to exclude or to expel from its membership,

or otherwise to discriminate against, any individ-

ual because of his race, color, religion, sex, or

national origin;

(2) to limit, segregate, or classify its member-

ship or applicants for membership, or to classify

or fail or refuse to refer for employment any

individual in any way which would deprive or

tend to deprive any individual of employment op-

portunities or would limit such employment op-

portunities or otherwise adversely affect his

status as an employee or an applicant for em-

ployment, because of such individual’s race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin.

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(h) provides in pertinent part:

Notwithstanding any other provision of this sub-

chapter, it shall not be an unlawful employment

practice for an employer to apply different stand-

ards of compensation, or different terms, condi-

tions, or privileges of employment pursuant to a

bona fide seniority or merit system, ... provided

that such differences are not the result of an

intention to discriminate because of race, color,

religion, sex, or national origin,.. .

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Three days after notifying Chrysler of his need for a

religious accommodation because his work schedule re-

quired work during his Sabbath, petitioner Cook was told

by his immediate supervisor that no accommodation could

be made (A 154, 204-07, 225-26) and his Friday night

absences would not be excused (A 446-47). Chrysler su-

pervision was not only instructed by its Labor Relations

Department to refuse Friday night absences for Cook for

religious reasons but also told not even to contact labor

relations again with such a request (A 1197).

Cook was thereafter scheduled to work on Friday nights

and warned that if he left early he would be considered

a voluntary quit (A 208, 449, 610, 614, 615; see also A

618-21, 705-06). Roger Williams, another Sabbatarian em-

ployed at the plant who consistently left early on Friday

nights, however, was never considered a voluntary quit.

It was not Chrysler’s practice to consider an employee as

a voluntary quit when he or she left early but only in

violation of the rules of good conduct (A 1202-03).

On May 6, 1986, Cook’s area manager met with Cook

and gave him a “‘supervisor’s report.” (A 132, 215, 415-

16) The report stated:

On Friday, 2/28/86, employee J. L. Cook was

absent and subsequently was issued a Step 2 of

the Uniform Attendance Procedure for such ab-

sences.

Notwithstanding the receipt of a letter dated

January 16, 1986, from the St. Louis Central

Seventh-day Adventist Church, requesting the

Corporation’s consideration of Cook’s religious

preferences and to accommodate his absences on

Friday nights or Saturdays, Management has re-

viewed the entire facts and circumstances sur-

rounding this request and is unable to make such

accommodation. Specifically, employee Cook’s

seniority date is 1/14/86 and he cannot be trans-

ferred to the first shift by virtue of the Collective

Bargaining Agreement which only recognizes

seniority as the basis for its shift preference. Em-

ployee Cook does not have sufficient seniority to

be transferred to the first shift.

This report is to advise employee Cook that

any further absences will be considered in the

Same manner as any other absence.

Cook was told that future absences for religious reasons

would not be excused. If he continued to be absent, he

would progress through the Uniform Attendance Proce-

dure, which was set out in the collective bargaining agree-

ment, and would ultimately be discharged (A 247-48, 697-

700, 1233-48).

Cook continued to be absent on Friday nights. Chrysler

imposed progressive discipline consisting of mandatory time

off without pay (A 176-78). Although absentee conferences

were held at each discipline step, Chrysler failed to discuss

the possibility of accommodating Cook’s religious beliefs

(A 211-18; see also A 668-90, 698-700). When Cook reached

the final step of the absentee program, Chrysler and a

union representative informed him he was fired (A 159).

In spite of an earlier Eighth Circuit ruling in Huston

v. Local No. 98, Int’l Union, UAW, 559 F.2d 477 (8th Cir.

1977), which held that a union was not obligated to consent

to a shift change accommodation in violation of the sen-

iority provisions of a collective bargaining agreement, that

was the sole method of accommodation Chrysler chose to

consider. Chrysler’s labor relations manager testified that

he knew in advance that the union was not going to agree

to such an accommodation and that his request of the

union was merely to put the onus of non-accommodation

on the union (Kallaos Dep. at 151-53).

Cook’s area manager specifically acknowledged that

Cook was not terminated because of any production loss

and in fact had no knowledge of any loss as a result of

Cook’s Friday night absences (A 1255). The representative

from labor relations testified similarly (A 1050-51).

Although Chrysler maintained and the district court

found that there were additional ‘‘repairs’’ when Cook was

not on the job, his immediate supervisor testified that these

repairs only occurred in Cook’s absences when the regular

floater was not on the job and the “floater was more than

qualified to do the job.’”' (A 625; see also A 627, 628, 629,

and 630). In fact, even a temporary part-time worker

(‘TPT’) could have handled the job on a regular basis

(A 667).

‘The term “‘repairs’’ is misleading. It was Cook’s job to install the

spare tire and jack in the automobile trunk (A 21). Cook’s foreman

testified that it took about three days to learn the job (A 627, 667-

68). A “repair’’ on the line might be something as insignificant as a

misplaced spare tire and repairs relating to Cook’s job took approxi-

mately one minute (A 652). It was regular practice to have two re-

pairmen at the end of the line along with the inspectors (A 652-53).

Cook’s foreman said that if there were no repairs, these repairmen

would still be standing around getting paid (A 422).

Although there is absolutely no proof of any production

loss as a result of Cook’s Friday night absences, Chrysler

failed to investigate whether there were other line jobs to

which Cook could have been assigned to make it easier to

accommodate him. Cook’s foreman acknowledged that

there were ‘‘probably a lot of jobs’ but did not look into

them (A 639-40).2 Cook’s supervisor never consulted with

the union to find out whether it would be willing for Cook

to transfer to a different position on the line where it

might be easier to cover for him on Friday night nor did

he ever investigate to ascertain whether there were any

other sections within Cook’s department that might have

a job that would be easier to cover. Likewise, there was

no investigation to find out whether there were any po-

sitions outside of Cook’s department on the same shift

where there might have been available jobs (A 452). At

no time was there any inquiry by Cook’s supervisors as

to whether replacements could be scheduled regularly on

Friday nights so that they could learn Cook’s job and cover

for him. It was acknowledged that if this had been done,

it would have been much easier to have accommodated

Cook (A 458).

There is absolutely no evidence that Chrysler was re-

quired to hire an additional employee because of Cook’s

absences (A 816-19). In fact, the record is devoid of any

evidence that during the nine months Cook refrained from

working on Friday nights or arrived late Saturday nights

that any additional costs were incurred (A 525-56, 1255-

56). Cook was not paid for his absences. Floaters were

paid the same as Cook, and TPTs (Temporary Part Time

employees) were paid less. Floaters were part of the pool

to cover absences and were paid benefits regardless of

when they worked. And TPTs did not receive any benefits

so long as they remained temporary, i.e., under 120 days.

? Cook’s immediate supervisor testified that Cook was not transferred

because a regular ‘‘floater’’ could handle the job without repairs (A

631, 641, 707).

The representative from labor relations who was pri-

marily involved in disciplining and ultimately terminating

Cook testified that he believed that there was no loss in

production as a result of Cook not working on Friday night

and that he had never attempted to quantify or determine

if there was any loss (A 1050-51). The area manager ac-

knowledged that there were other employees absent from

work on nights other than Friday. When employees were

absent, Chrysler covered their position exactly the same

way that Cook’s absences were covered (A 1255-56). In

fact, on the line on which Cook worked prior to his dis-

charge, floaters or TPTs routinely replaced absent em-

ployees (A 428; 450-51).

There was never any report received that Cook’s po-

sition was not covered on Friday night when Cook was

absent (A 418-19). Although the area manager confirmed

that there were in fact records kept daily of hourly pro-

duction losses, he had no recollection of anyone trying to

determine any loss resulting from Cook’s Friday night ab-

sences (A 1255-56).

A representative of the Seventh-day Adventist Church

wrote to the labor relations department of Chrysler stating

that Cook would be willing to work on Friday afternoons

and evenings up to his Sabbath hours (Cook worked after

sundown Saturday) and that he was willing to cooperate

with any accommodation efforts made on his behalf so long

as it did not violate his religious beliefs. The letter sug-

gested the utilization of ‘‘floaters’’ that Chrysler hired to

handle absences (A 133-34).

Chrysler never explored with the union whether it would

accept Cook’s suggestion (A 544-48) because, even if the

union did not object, it violated Chrysler’s attendance cri-

teria (A 1025-26). The head of labor relations, however,

admitted such an arrangement would make it easier to

cover for Cook since it would permit Chrysler to plan

ahead (A 548-50). The union had no objection to utilizing

absentee replacements for Cook on Friday nights (A 858-

59). In fact, the union specifically asked Chrysler to ac-

commodate Cook by allowing him off on Friday nights,

utilizing the absentee pool, and permitting him to use the

paid absence allowance. This was the same proposal made

by Cook’s church representative (A 156, 938-43).

In the four months between May 6, 1986, when the

supervisor’s report was presented to Cook stating that no

excused absences would be permitted for religious reasons

until September 18, 1986, when Cook was discharged, other

than holding a single meeting with and taking telephone

calls from Cook’s church representative, Chrysler did noth-

ing to resolve Cook’s problem and made no further in-

vestigation concerning a possible accommodation (A 1104-

05; see also A 328, 1199-1200). Chrysler’s position was

simply that Cook’s refusal to work, although motivated by

religious convictions, was an act of misconduct requiring

discipline (A 998-99).

Several aspects of the district court’s memorandum opin-

ion require emphasis. The court found that the ‘“‘[t]he na-

tional agreement ... sets forth a no-fault absenteeism

policy, known as the Uniform Attendance Procedure. Cook,

779 F. Supp. at 1018; see p. 12a, infra. In its conclusions

of law, the court also stated that ‘“‘[e]xcusing Cook every

Friday night would circumvent the ‘book procedure’ spe-

cifically set up to afford everyone equal opportunity to

arrange absences.” Jd. at 1023; see p. 21a, infra. And

“{cjonstant Friday night absences would also conflict with

the chronic absenteeism policy.’’ Jd. The court then held

that “[clircumventing the book procedure and the chronic

absenteeism policy would violate the local agreement and

supersede the contractual rights of Cook’s fellow workers.

Id.

The district court found that “(t]he collective bargaining

agreements were a maze of restrictions’ and that

“‘{e]verywhere he [Kallaos] turned he ran into a ‘violation’

10

wall.’’ Jd. at 1024; see p. 24a, infra. The court concluded

that Chrysler was unable to accommodate Cook not simply

because of his lack of seniority but because of the existence

of the collective bargaining agreements. /d. at 1025; see

p. 25a, infra. However, the lower court at the same time

stated that Chrysler and the union had “‘provided a sen-

iority system, which in itself, represented a significant ac-

commodation to the needs, religious and secular, of all

employees.”’ Id.; see p. 25a, infra.

In the trial court and the court of appeals petitioner

Cook specifically raised each of the issues here presented.

These issues included the questions as to whether only the

seniority, as distinguished from all of the collective bar-

gaining provisions, stand as a legal roadblock to the sta-

tutory accommodation mandate. Cook also challenged the

district court’s claim that the collective bargaining agree-

ment itself represented an employee accommodation. The

court of appeals, however, concluded that a collective bar-

gaining agreement and other employer-designed arrange-

ments, which provided methods by which employees could

generally obtain days off, met the accommodation require-

ment imposed by Title VII. Cook, 981 F.2d at 339; see p.

da, mnfra.

Although the district court never quantified the dollar

cost nor the extent of inefficiency, which the court con-

cluded would have resulted from accommodating Cook, the

court of appeals held that “‘there is evidence to support

the district court’s finding that more than de minimis cost

was involved.” Jd. This holding was made even though the

trial court had included as part of its recitation of claimed

“costs,” employee benefits which were clearly not similar

to the regular payment of premium wages of substitutes

which was as issue in Trans World Airlines v. Hardison,

432 U.S. 63 (1977). The trial court had also failed to con-

sider the claimed costs in relation to the size and operating

costs of Chrysler and the number of individuals who would

1]

in fact need a particular accommodation at Chrysler Plant

No. 2.

The court of appeals held that ‘“‘[t]he collective bargain-

ing agreement provides both a system for determining

seniority and an absenteeism policy.’’ Cook, 981 F.2d at

338; see 4a, infra. It stated that “[e]fforts to accommodate

Cook would violate the terms of the collective bargaining

agreement and contravene the ‘book’ procedures.” /d. The

appeals court concluded that “‘Chrysler’s efforts satisfied

the requirements of Title VII in view of the obstacles

presented by the collective bargaining agreement. See

Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S. at 83

n.14."" Cook, 981 F.2d at 339; see p. 4a-5a, infra.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. CONTRARY TO THE CONCLUSION OF LAW OF THE

COURTS BELOW, NON-SENIORITY PROVISIONS

CONTAINED IN A COLLECTIVE BARGAINING

AGREEMENT DO NOT LIMIT THE SCOPE OF THE

REASONABLE ACCOMMODATION REQUIREMENT

IMPOSED ON EMPLOYERS BY SECTION 701()

OF TITLE VII.

The conclusion of law of the district court, reaffirmed

by the court of appeals, that all provisions contained in a

collective bargaining agreement are inviolate even against

the religious accommodation requirements of Title VII, in

essence rewrites congressional legislation and effectively

confers on employers and unions operating with a collec-

tive bargaining agreement the ability to excuse themselves

from accommodating the religious beliefs and practices of

employees.

Religious accommodation law is in a state of disarray

with Title VII offering only empty promises and expensive

litigation to Sabbatarians who find themselves working in

union shops. For over 15 years since the decision by this

Court in Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63

12

(1977), lower ‘“[cJourts have reached varying conclusions

on the degree of accommodation required if the proposed

accommodation would vary the terms of an established

bargaining agreement.” Schlei & Grossman, Employment

Discrimination Law, (2d ed. Cumulative Supp. 1983-85).

Courts of appeal have split as to whether Hardison held

that only seniority provisions contained in collective bar-

gaining agreements were impervious to Title VII religious

accommodation requirements or whether all provisions of

a bona fide collective bargaining agreement constituted a

bar to an employee’s accommodation request. Other courts

have given divergent definitions as to what is a ‘“‘seniority”’

provision. Some give an expansive, and others a more

restricted, definition to the term. As a result, the rights

of employees and the duties of employers and unions under

the religious accommodation requirements of Title VII ex-

pand or contract depending upon the district or circuit in

which the litigation occurs.

In some circuits, such as the Eighth Circuit, a unionized

employer can use a collective bargaining agreement as

almost an absolute shield against any duty of religious

accommodation. In other circuits, the employer must dem-

onstrate that a specific seniority provision would be vio-

lated if a specific accommodation arrangement were to be

employed.

The Eighth Circuit’s deference to all provisions con-

tained in a collective bargaining agreement surfaced prior

to this decision. That court in a per curiam opinion in

Rohr v. Western Elec. Co., Inc., 567 F.2d 829 (8th Cir.

1977), in dealing with a religious observer who offered to

work a four-day week or on Sunday when attempts to

reschedule him failed, found that “the collective bargaining

agreement prohibited Western Electric from authorizing

nonstandard workweeks.”’ Jd. at 830.

The Eighth Circuit, in Brown v. General Motors Corp.,

601 F.2d 956 (8th Cir. 1979), reviewing this Court’s de-

13

cision in Hardison, concluded that “[s]ection 703(aX1) ...

requires an employer to accommodate the religious ob-

servance of its employees unless such accommodation would

contravene the provisions of a valid collective bargaining

agreement or would cause the employer undue hardship.”’

Id. at 958. The Brown court, in stating the issue it was

to decide in that case, said that ‘‘[s]ince neither party

contends that such an arrangement would contravene the

collective bargaining agreement, the only remaining in-

quiry is whether the cost of the proposed accommodation

would be more than de minimis.”’ Jd.

In light of the decision in this case, it is clear that the

absence of an employer claim that the proposed accom-

modation (permitting the Sabbath observer to work a four-

day week with the fifth day being covered through a re-

placement pool) violated the union contract was critical

and explains the difference in results between Brown and

Cook.

In Hardison, this Court noted that both the plaintiff

and EEOC insisted ‘‘that the statutory obligation to ac-

commodate religious needs takes precedence over both the

collective-bargaining, contract and seniority rights of TWA’s

other employees.” Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432

U.S. at 79. This Court then found:

We agree that neither a collective-bargaining con-

tract nor a seniority system may be employed to

violate the statute, but we do not believe that

the duty to accommodate requires TWA to take

steps inconsistent with the otherwise valid agree-

ment. Collective bargaining, aimed at effecting

workable and enforceable agreements between

management and labor, lies at the core of our

nationai labor policy, and seniority provisions are

universally included in these contracts. Without

a clear and express indication from Congress, we

cannot agree with Hardison and the EEOC that

14

an agreed-upon seniority system must give way

when necessary to accommodate religious ob-

servances.

Id.

This Court further explained:

Our conclusion is supported by the fact that

seniority systems are afforded special treatment

under Title VII itself. Section 703(h) provides in

pertinent part:

“Notwithstanding any other provision of

this subchapter, it shall not be an unlawful

employment practice for an employer to ap-

ply different standards of compensation, or

different terms, conditions, or privileges of

employment pursuant to a bona fide senior-

ity or merit system ... provided that such

differences are not the result of an intention

to discriminate because of race, color, reli-

gion, sex, or national origin. ...’’ 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000e-2(h).

Id. at 81-82.

After analyzing the impact of section 703(h), the Court

then stated that “absent a discriminatory purpose, the

operation of a seniority system cannot be an unlawful em-

ployment practice even if the system has some discrimi-

natory consequences.” Jd.

The court of appeals in Cook plucked one snippet of this

Court’s analysis in Hardison and concluded that ‘‘the duty

to accommodate does not require an employer to take

steps inconsistent with an otherwise valid agreement.”’

Cook, 981 F.2d at 338; see 4a, infra. This analysis below

resulted in a determination that the uniform attendance

procedure contained in the collective bargaining agree-

ments were inviolate and stood as an impenetrable shield

against Cook’s accommodation claim.

In Getz v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, Dept. of Pub-

lic Welfare, 802 F.2d 72, 74 (3d Cir. 1986), the court found

that an accommodation was not required if it violated an

overtime provision of a collective bargaining provision. The

court cited its earlier decision in Protos v. Volkswagen of

America, Inc., 797 F.2d 129, 1383 (3d Cir. 1986), in which

it concluded that ‘“‘{iJn its central holding [in Trans World

Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison] the Court ruled that the rea-

sonable accommodation requirement did not compel an em-

ployer to abrogate a collective bargaining agreement in

order to enable an employee to satisfy religious observ-

ances.”

The majority of the religious accommodation decisions

in other circuits, however, have concluded that this Court’s

decision in Hardison relates specifically to seniority pro-

visions and not to the remaining provisions of a collective

bargaining agreement. The court in McDaniel v. Essex Int’l

Inc., 696 F.2d 34, 37 (6th Cir. 1982), recognized that the

Hardison Court’s deference to terms of the collective bar-

gaining agreement was limited to seniority rights. It ruled

that Title VII required the union to waive the union se-

curity clause in its contract in order to accommodate the

plaintiff. Every circuit that has ruled on this issue has

ruled the same way. See Cooper v. General Dynamics, Con-

vair Aerospace Div., 583 F.2d 163 (5th Cir. 1976), cert.

denied sub nom International Ass’n of Machinists and Aer-

ospace Workers v. Hopkins, 433 U.S. 908 (1977); Nottelson

v. A.O. Smith Corp., 643 F.2d 445 (7th Cir. 1981), cert.

denied, 454 U.S. 1046 (1981) Tooley v. Martin-Marietta

Corp., 648 F.2d 1239 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 454

U.S. 1098 (1981).

$In Nottelson v. A.O. Smith Corp., 643 F.2d 445, 452 (7th Cir. 1981),

the court stated that “‘[i]Jt is well settled, ... that Title VII rights

cannot be bargained away and that a collective bargaining agreement

therefore does not of itself provide a defense for Title VII violations.”’

16

Some courts have concluded that even if there were any

validity to a claim that a union contract presented an

obstacle to alternative means of accommodation, the em-

ployer is still under the obligation to seek the union’s

consent to a variance. See Shaffield v. Northrop Worldwide

Aircraft Serv., Inc., 373 F. Supp. 987 (M.D. Ala. 1974).

Other courts, however, differ with the view expressed in

Shaffield. For instance, in Meadows v. Golden Grain Mac-

aront Co., 45 FEP Cases 235 (N.D. Ill. 1987), the court

concluded that granting a leave of absence to an employee

to permit that employee to accrue seniority while not

working would be inconsistent with a bona fide seniority

system and thus not a reasonable accommodation. /d.

at 243.

This Court should clearly state whether the Third and

Eighth Circuit decisions based on Hardison—or those of

the Fifth, Sixth, Seventh, and Ninth—are correct. Leaving

Cook to stand will only continue to bring confusion to this

area of Title VII law and will essentially emasculate the

protections of Title VII at least when collective bargaining

agreements factor into the equation.

Il. CONTRARY TO THE HOLDINGS OF THE COURTS

BELOW, THE EXISTENCE OF A COLLECTIVE

BARGAINING AGREEMENT OR OTHER EMPLOYER

ARRANGEMENT PROVIDING SOME FLEXIBILITY TO

ASSIST EMPLOYEES GENERALLY AS TO SCHEDULING

MAY NOT BE DEEMED A SUBSTITUTE FOR THE

ACTIVE EFFORT OF AN EMPLOYER TO SEEK A

MEANS BY WHICH AN EMPLOYEE CAN BE

REASONABLY ACCOMMODATED.

The court of appeals, citing an earlier decision [Johnson

v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F.2d 671 (8th Cir.

1985)], held that “‘the collective bargaining agreement, cou-

pled with the ‘book’ method for obtaining days off, in itself

provided an accommodation of Cook’s religious needs.”

17

Cook, 981 F.2d at 339; see p. 5a, infra.‘ It is true that

this Court in Hardison stated:

We shall say more about the seniority system,

but at this juncture it appears to us that the

system itself represents a significant accommo-

dation to the needs, both religious and secular,

of all of TWA’s employees. As will become ap-

parent, the seniority system represents a neutral

way of minimizing the number of occasions when

an employee must work on a day that he would

prefer to have off.

Trans World Airlines v. Hardison, 432 U.S. at 78. Seizing

upon this language, the circuit court here concluded that

a collective bargaining agreement may suffice and replace

hands-on involvement of management in attempting to

work out an employee’s need for a religious accommoda-

tion. If that is this Court’s holding, then the Court has

effectively overruled the legislative intent of Congress.

Such a holding is in contrast to the recent holding of

the Fourth Circuit in EEOC v. Ithaca Industries, Inc., 849

F.2d 116 (4th Cir. 1988). In that case, the court noted

that the employer had ‘‘demonstrate[d] an effort to ac-

commodate all their employees when Sunday work was

assigned.’’ Nevertheless, the court concluded that ‘“‘[t]hese

accommodations, ... were clearly not for reasons of re-

ligion, nor were they specifically aimed at addressing

Dean’s beliefs.’’ The court observed that Ithaca had made

no efforts to utilize methods suggested by the EEOC

Guidelines, 29 C.F.R. § 1605.2(dX1Xi), and therefore con-

cluded that the employer violated Title VII by discrimi-

nating against the plaintiff. Jd. at 119.

‘In Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F.2d 671, 674 (8th

Cir. 1985), the court concluded that a collective bargaining agreement

in and of itself could be deemed a sufficient accommodation to meet

Title VII requirements.

18

The decision in Cook cannot be squared with the decision

in Ithaca. Clearly, the two circuits have substantially dif-

fering views as to whether or not an employer must ac-

tually engage in an active effort to search out an

accommodation for its employees. The Fourth Circuit has

concluded that it must. The Eighth Circuit in Cook has

clearly indicated that it need not. A clear implication of

the decision in Cook is that the mere existence of a col-

lective bargaining agreement constitutes sufficient em-

ployer accommodation, thus excusing the employer from

any active responsibility as to accommodation.’

This concept did not originate in Cook. The Ninth Circuit

in Hudson v. Western Airlines, Inc., 851 F.2d 261, 267

(9th Cir. 1988), held that an employer meets its duty to

seek a reasonable accommodation of an employee's reli-

gious needs by informing her of ‘“‘her options under the

collective bargaining agreement.’ In Hudson, the court

found that ‘‘the bases for accoriimodation contained in the

collective bargaining agreement_are recognized as reason-

able means of satisfying an employer’s burden under Title

VII.” Jd. at 226 (emphasis supplied).

The Ninth Circuit skirted the question of whether the

terms of the collective bargaining agreement did in fact

provide a means of accommodating the employee’s reli-

gious needs at all, rather than simply the potential means

to accommodate. Exactly the same has occurred here. The

court does not and cannot show that the provisions ex-

isting in the collective bargaining agreement would have

* The circuit court decision in Cook is internally inconsistent. Although

it states that the collective bargaining agreement provided a means of

accommodation, it simultaneously concluded that the collective bar-

gaining agreement was ‘‘a maze of restrictions” preventing Chrysler

from accommodating Cook’s religious beliefs and practices as to Sabbath

observance. However, a collective bargaining agreement must be suf-

ficiently flexible to permit religious accommodations required by Title

VII. See EEOC v. University of Detroit, 904 F.2d 331, 334-35 (6th Cir.

1990).

19

permitted Cook to self-accommodate. The holding in Hud-

son and implicitly the holding in Cook fail to distinguish

between a system of potential accommodation and an ac

tual accommodation.

Contrary to the reasonings of the Eighth and Ninth

Circuits, the Sixth Circuit Court of Appeals specifically

held in Smith v. Pyro Mining Co., 827 F.2d 1081 (6th Cir.

1987), that a collective bargaining agreement’s provision

permitting religious observers to swap days off with other

employees did not, in the case of the employee who had

a religious objection to seeking such a swap, provide that

employee with a reasonable accommodation.

We believe that Cook and the other cases, which hold

that a nondiscriminatory collective bargaining agreement

by itself may constitute a reasonable accommodation,

clearly misinterpret Hardison. While this Court in Har-

dison did determine that TWA made a reasonable effort

to accommodate and that other suggested alternatives

would constitute an undue hardship within the meaning of

the statute, this Court so ruled only after thoroughly and

extensively discussing the detailed findings of the district

court. See Hardison, 432 U.S. at 77.

The trial and appellate courts below failed to support

their conclusion that the collective bargaining agreement

did in fact \provide a reasonable accommodation.* Title VII

rights are distinct from those secured by a collective bar-

gaining agreement. Chrysler cannot, in essence, claim that

* Even if a collective bargaining agreement could be considered as a

substitute for active effort to accommodate, the Court would have to

first determine whether it ‘eliminates the conflict between employment

requirements and religious practices.’’ Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Phil-

brook, 479 U.S. 60, 68-69 (19856). The courts below failed to address

this question and hence failed to make the needed finding that the

scheduling or other provisions of the collective bargaining agreement

or the ‘“‘book’’ procedure would have in fact eliminated the conflict

between Cook’s employment requirements and his religious practices.

ail

20

by entering into the collective bargaining agreement, it

has effected a prospective waiver of Title VII protection.

Justice Powell stated in Alexander v. Gardner-Denver Co.,

415 U.S. 36, 51 (1974), that Title VII mghts are not sus-

ceptible to prospective waiver. See also Notielson v. A.O.

Smith Corp., 423 F. Supp. 1345, 1348 (E.D. Wis. 1976).

The legislative history of the reasonable accommodation

language of this statute clearly indicates that Congress

was concerned with cases such as this, which involve a

“refusal at times of employers to hire or continue in em-

ployment of employees whose religious practices rigidly

require them to abstain from work ... on particular hol-

idays.”’ 18 Cong. Rec. 705-06 (1972) (statement of Sen.

Jennings Randolph).

This Court in Ansonia, 479 U.S. at 70 observed:

In enacting § 701(j), Congress was understand-

ably motivated by a desire to assure the individ-

ual additional opportunity to observe religious

practices, but it did not impose a duty on the

employer to accommodate at all costs. [Emphasis

supplied. ]

If collective bargaining agreements in and of themselves

represent religious accommodation, Title VII changed

nothing. It is clear that when Congress adopted section

701Q), it did not believe that such agreements served that

purpose. If it had, it surely would not have enacted the

amendment. Thus, the employer is required to take some

good faith steps in negotiating with the employee to reach

a reasonable accommodation to the particular religious be-

liefs at issue. Burns v. Southern Pac. Transp. Co., 589

F.2d 403, 405-06 (9th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 439 U.S.

1072 (1979); EEOC v. Hacienda Hotel, 881 F.2d 1504, 1513

(9th Cir. 1989); McDaniel v. Essex Int’l Inc., 571 F.2d

338, 343 (6th Cir. 1978).

Through the enactment of section 701(j), Congress placed

the burden on the employer to engage in active and bona

21

fide efforts to accommodate the religious needs of its em-

ployees and if unsuccessful, then to demonstrate that it

was unable to reasonably accommodate the plaintiff's re-

ligious beliefs without undue hardship. Lake v. B.F. Good-

rich Co., 837 F.2d 449, 451 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 826 (1988).

Ill. THE COURT FAILED TO PROPERLY ANALYZE THE

ISSUE OF UNDUE HARDSHIP WHEN DETERMINING

THAT EACH AVAILABLE ACCOMMODATION WOULD

RESULT IN “MORE THAN A DE MINIMIS COST” TO

THE EMPLOYER AND IS INCONSISTENT WITH EEOC

GUIDANCE.

The court of appeals concluded that it could not upset

the district court’s finding that accommodating Cook would

result in more than a de minimis cost to Chrysler.’ Both

the court of appeals and the district court, however, have

applied the de minimis cost analysis in a manner incon-

sistent with the EEOC Guidelines on Religious Discrimi-

nation.

The district court failed to quantify and identify each

of the claimed costs for each type of accommodation and

also concluded that the cost was more than de minimis

when it involved such items as hospital and other benefits

to which workers at Chrysler were entitled.

7 In Gordon v. MCI Telecommunications Corp., 791 F. Supp. 431, 435

(S.D. N.Y. 1992), the district court noted that “‘[aJlthough the term

‘undue hardship’ is not defined in Title VII, the Supreme Court has

held that an accommodation that results in an imposition on other

workers or requires an employer to bear more than de minimis costs

in terms of money or efficiency creates an undue hardship.’’ Perhaps

the phrase ‘‘more than de minimis cost’? means a cost which would

result in “substantial economic burdens”’ in light of the Court’s more

recent holding in Estate of Thornton v. Caldor, Inc., 472 U.S. 703, 709-

10 (1985), which raised the same Establishment Clause concerns as

those raised by the appellants in Hardison.

Oe

22

EEOC found that after Hardison ‘‘[t]he Court’s inter-

pretation of an undue hardship led to much confusion in

the employment sector. It left employers, employees, and

labor organizations unclear as to the extent of the sta-

tutory duty under Title VII to provide reasonable accom-

modation for the religious practices of an employee or

prospective employee.”’ 45 Fed. Reg. 72610 (1980) (pro-

viding background on the EEOC Guidelines on Discrimi-

nation Because of Religion).

The legislative history surrounding the adoption of sec-

tion 701(j) as an amendment to Title VII indicates that

“(t]he purpose of this subsection is to provide the statutory

basis for EEOC to formulate guidelines on discrimination

because of religion such as those challenged in Dewey v.

Reynolds Metals, 429 F.2d 324 (1970). ...’’ Cooper v. Gen-

eral Dynamics, 533 F.2d at 168 n.9, quoting 18 Cong.

Rec. 1861-1862 (1972).

After holding post-Hardison hearings, EEOC issued new

Guidelines on Discrimination Because of Religion. These

Guidelines are set forth in 29 C.F.R. §§ 1605.1-1605.3, 45

Fed. Reg. 72610-72615; see p. 27a, infra. The court of

appeals below, however, ignored these Guidelines in ana-

lyzing Chrysler’s undue hardship defense, particularly as

it relates to the application of the “more than de minimis

cost”’ criteria. This Court should provide guidance as to

whether the Eighth Circuit or the EEOC Guidelines rep-

resents the present state of the law concerning the issue

of undue hardship in religious accommodation cases.

The EEOC Guidelines, in discussing undue hardship,

states that ‘‘[t]he Commission will determine what consti-

tutes ‘more than a de minimis cost’ with due regard given

to the identifiable cost in relation to the size and operating

cost of the employer, and the number of individuals who

will in fact need a particular accommodation.”’ 29 C.F.R.

§ 1605.2(eX1), 45 Fed. Reg. 72613-14 (1980); see p. 32a,

infra.

23

The same Guidelines also states that the ‘“‘de minimis

cost’’ phrase as it was used in Hardison would be con-

strued ‘‘to mean that costs similar to the regular payment

of premium wages of substitutes, which was at issue in

Hardison,’ would constitute undue hardship. Jd. at 72614;

see p. 32a, infra.

The Guidelines further states that it ‘will presume that

the infrequent payment of premium wages for a substitute

or the payment of premium wages while a more permanent

accommodation is being sought are costs which an em-

ployer can be required to bear as a means of providing a

reasonable accommodation.” Jd.; see id.

The court in Ka Nam Kuan v. City of Chicago, 563 F.

Supp. 255, 259 (N.D. Ill. 1983), citing the EEOC Guide-

lines, stated that “‘[ul]ltimately, the question whether

defendants have imposed an undue burden on employees

, or whether the burden is de minimis, is a question

of fact that will depend on a variety of factors. ...’

Recently, the Tenth Circuit in Toledo v. Nobel-Sysco.,

Inc., 892 F.2d 1481, 1492 (10th Cir. 1989), citing Tooley

v. Martin-Maretta Corp., 648 F.2d at 1243, stated that

“(t]he magnitude as well as the fact of hardship must be

determined by examination of the facts of each case.”’

Chrysler introduced no quantifiable evidence as to the

magnitude of hardship. The district court made no finding

as to the magnitude, and the court of appeals never dis-

cussed the matter. The Eighth Circuit in fact held that

the additional costs need not be quantifiable. Cook, 981

F.2d at 339; see p. 6a, infra. When the trial court fails

to quantify what it believes to be more than de minimis

costs, it is impossible for a reviewing court to determine

whether the finding was or was not clearly erroneous.

Claybaugh v. Pacific Northwest Bell Tel. Co., 355 F.

Supp. 1, 6 (D. Ore. 1973), postulated that ‘“‘[ajs the degree

of business hardship increases, the quantity of conduct

which will satisfy the reasonable accommodation de-

24

creases.” The lower courts need further guidance from this

Court as to how to apply the de minimis costs analysis—

that is whether total dollars alone are sufficient or whether

consistent with the case-by-case application of the undue

hardship test, the various factors such as the size of the

employer, the method of filling vacancies for vacations and

other absences, and other factors must all be analyzed.

What is more than de minimis cost of course is a judicial

determination that must be made on a case-by-case basis.

But unless further guidance is provided as to the appli-

cation of the de minimis cost test, and trial courts are

required to quantify that cost, the test will be applied

unevenly.’ The ultimate result will be less resolution at

conciliation and more litigation.

IV. TITLE VII IS VIOLATED WHEN AN EMPLOYER

UTILIZES A SPECIFIC MEANS OF ACCOMMODATING

OTHER EMPLOYEES FOR EITHER RELIGIOUS OR

SECULAR PURPOSES BUT DOES NOT PERMIT

ANOTHER EMPLOYEE SEEKING A RELIGIOUS

ACCOMMODATION TO BE ACCOMMODATED IN THE

SAME MANNER.

Cook was denied an accommodation that another Sab-

batarian (with a different supervisor) in the same plant

* The court of appeals in Cook cited Lake v. B.F. Goodrich, 837 F.2d

449 (11th Cir. 1988), in support of its holding that the circuit court

will upset findings of undue hardship and more than de minimis costs

only if clearly erroneous. It is significant that both in Cook and in Lake

the courts of appeal observed that though they might have reached

another conclusion since there was evidence to support the district

court’s findings, the conclusions could not be found to be clearly er-

roneous. A reading of the district courts’ decisions in both cases reveals

why guidance from this Court concerning the issues raised in this

petition are vital to a more uniform application of the religious accom-

modation provisions of Title VII. Had Cook been decided by the court

in Alabama and Lake by the court in Missouri, the decisions in both

cases might easily have been the opposite. Fifteen years is sufficient

time for the lower courts to have squared their reasoning with one

another. Action by this Court is needed now.

ee l=:

was afforded. Chrysler also refused to excuse Cook’s ab-

sences because his religious reasons were not deemed as

important as the secular reasons of other employees. The

district court ignored the fact that Chrysler itself devised

specific methods to provide replacements for absent work-

ers. These methods included ‘absentee pool’’ (floaters),

“temporary part-time’ people (TPTs), and ‘‘vacation re-

placements.”’ The collective bargaining contract also con-

tains numerous provisions permitting employees to be

excused from work for secular reasons. These absences

may be for vacations (A 69), leave for union business (A

70), leave for bereavement (A 70), leave for jury duty (A

70-71), leave for short-term military duty (A 71-72). The

agreement also excuses short-term military or National

Guard duty not to exceed 30 calendar days (A 71). Most

important, Chrysler gives its supervisors discretion to ex-

cuse an employee (A 782). The only standing order against

providing an excused absence was contained in Chrysler’s

May 8 supervisor’s report prohibiting excused absences for

religious reasons (see A 132, 215, 415-16, 293-94).

Roger Williams, the other Sabbatarian employed at

Chrysler Plant No. 2, was informed by his supervisor that

if he kept his attendance up, Chrysler would allow him to

be off at sunset so that he could observe his Sabbath so

long as he came into work after sunset on Saturday. That

arrangement continued until May 8, 1986, when Chrysler

notified Cook that he would not be excused from work on

Friday nights (A 293-94).

After May 8, 1986, Williams from time-to-time was able

to get his name “‘in the book” so as to be excused from

work (A 297-98). But this was only because Williams’ su-

pervisor regularly checked ‘“‘the book”’ to see if anyone

had canceled out. Cook, on the other hand, was instructed

to stop using this procedure for his Friday night absences

(A 244). Instead of permitting Cook to utilize his paid

absence allowances (‘‘PAAs’’) as an accommodation when

Cook exercised his right to take eight hours leave under

26

Chrysler’s PAAs, Chrysler counted it as an unexcused ab-

sence (A 1212). Ordinarily, if an employee asked to use a

PAA in advance, the absence was excused with pay (A

542-43).° According to Cook’s area manager, he never con-

sidered excusing Cook’s Friday night absences on the basis

of religious conviction because ‘‘[Cook’s] reason was not

to me as important as anybody else’s reason to be off on

Friday night.”’ (A 1245). Chrysler thus gave preference to

secular reasons lacking statutory protection over religious

reasons originally granted such protection.

Williams, on the other hand, used his paid absence al-

lowance to be excused on Friday nights. Even after his

PAAs were exhausted, Williams’ foreman allowed him off

work Friday nights without penalty (A 299-300).

Cook, however, was told that he if left work early on

Friday nights he would be treated as voluntary quit (A

449, 610, 614-15). In addition, Williams was assigned the

position of a floater because, in that position it was easier

for management to permit Williams to leave on Friday

night (A 302, 399-400). The same accommodation, however,

was not considered for Cook.

In Ansonia Bd. of Educ. v. Philbrook, 479 U.S. at 71,

this Court ruled that ‘‘unpaid leave is not a reasonable

accommodation when paid leave is provided for all pur-

poses except religious ones.’”’ Employees’ absences were

normally excused when using their paid absence allowance

leaves, but Cook was not excused for religious reasons.

Other employees were not deemed to have quit work if

they left work early on Fridays, but Cook was warned

that he would be considered to have quit. Williams, on the

other hand, was even permitted to complete his 40 hour

*In EEOC v. Universal Mfg. Corp., 914 F.2d 71, 73 n.3 (5th Cir.

1990), the court stated that “both unpaid leave and voluntary rather

than mandatory shift swaps ordinarily would be reasonable; but dis-

criminating between religious and non-religious paid personal leave

would not.”’

27

workweek by leaving at sunset on Friday and returning

at sunset on Saturday. Cook was not so accommodated.

Such disparate treatment against Cook exhibits discrimi-

nation against religious practices that is the antithesis of

reasonableness. Jd.}°

It is submitted that an employer may not devise a means

to accommodate individuals needing to be off for secular

reasons and then deny utilization of that means for reli-

gious concerns, particularly when such an arrangement has

even been found workable by another supervisor for re-

ligious reasons.

In EEOC v. Hacienda Hotel, 881 F.2d 1504, 1513 n.7 (9th Cir.

1989), the court indicated that to the extent an employer provided

scheduling consideration for the personal safety concerns of one em-

ployee, it cannot discriminatorily deny such consideration for religious

needs of others.

28

CONCLUSION

For the above-stated reasons, the Petition for Writ of

Certiorari should be granted.

Dated: Apri] 21, 1993 Respectfully submitted,

LEE BOOTHBY

Counsel of Record

BooTHBY & YINGST

Suite 201, 4545 42nd St., NW

Washington, DC 20016

(202) 363-1773

ROBERT W. NIXON

MITCHELL A. TYNER

12501 Old Columbia Pike

Silver Spring, MD 20904

(301) 680-6320

MICHAEL J. HOARE

One Metropolitan Square

24th Floor

St. Louis, MO 63102

(314) 241-7961

Counsel for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-1385

Jesse L. Cook,

Appellant,

v.

Chrysler Corporation; United Automobile Aerospace,

Agricultural Implement Workers Local 110,

Appellees.

Submitted: September 17, 1992

Filed: December 7, 1992

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Missouri.

Before BEAM, Circuit Judge, FLOYD R. GIBSON, Senior

Circuit Judge, and MORRIS SHEPPARD ARNOLD, Circuit

Judge.

BEAM, Circuit Judge.

Jesse Cook appeals an adverse decision in an action for

religious discrimination in employment. We affirm.

I. BACKGROUND

Jesse Cook was employed on the assembly line at Chrys-

ler’s St. Louis plants from 1976 until 1986, when he was

terminated for excessive absences. Cook is a Seventh Day

Adventist. His religious beliefs prohibit work from sun-

2a

down Friday to sundown Saturday. The terms and con-

ditions of Cook’s employment are determined in part by

a national collective bargaining agreement between Chrys-

ler and the International Union, United Automobile, Aer-

ospace and Agricultural Implement Workers of America

(UAW or Union). This national agreement is supplemented

by local agreements between Chrysler and the UAW local

representing employees at each Chrysler plant. Under the

agreement applicable to Cook, seniority is determined on

a plant-by-plant basis and seniority at a plant prevails over

seniority with the corporation. Shift assignments at the

St. Louis plants are determined by seniority.

Cook was laid-off at Chrysler St. Louis Assembly Plant

I and was later offered a position at St. Louis Assembly

Plant II, with a loss of seniority.1 Because he had no

seniority at Plant II, he was placed on the evening shift,

which requires that he work on Friday nights. He could

have retained his seniority if he had remained on lay-off

until recalled to Plant I.

The collective bargaining agreement provides a negoti-

ated no-fault absenteeism policy, known as the Uniform

Attendance Procedure. The policy deals with excessive and

chronic absenteeism and provides a six-step system of pro-

gressive discipline and also provides grievance and arbi-

tration procedures. Any employee absent more than twenty

percent of his regularly scheduled time is subject to dis-

charge. In addition, the local agreement at plant II was

amended in 1985 to address the particular problem of Fri-

day night absenteeism. Under the amended system, known

as the ‘‘excused in advance system’’ or “‘book procedure,”’

employees could sign up in a book for an excused day off

on a first-come-first-serve basis. Fridays are most sought

for excused absences.

‘The conditions for transfer between plants are also determined by

the collective bargaining agreement.

3a

After his transfer to Plant II in January, 1986, Cook

informed his supervisor of the need for accommodation of

his religious beliefs. Cook proposed a shift change, working

on a Sunday instead of Friday, or a flexible schedule. His

supervisor contacted the union shop steward and the labor

relations supervisor in an effort to find an accommodation.

Cook missed work every Friday night and was late every

Saturday night. He was disciplined after his sixth and

seventh absences, pursuant to the six-step procedure for

discipline, but was not disciplined for eight subsequent

absences while Chrysler and the UAW investigated his re-

quest. He was then informed that Chrysler could not ac-

commodate him by changing his shift. Cook continued to

miss work on Fridays and was eventually terminated.

Cook brought suit against Chrysler and the UAW (col-

lectively, ‘“‘defendants’’) in district court under Title VII

of the. Civil Rights Act of 1964. He alleged he was ter-

minated by Chrysler on the basis of his religion and also

alleged that the Union failed to represent him on the basis

of his religion. The district court entered judgment for

defendants after a bench trial. The district court found

that Chrysler’s efforts to accommodate Cook satisfied the

requirements of Title VII and that the Union had not

breached any duties to Cook.’

On appeal, Cook essentially contends that there is in-

sufficient evidence to support the judgment. He further

contends that the district court misinterpreted applicable

law.

II. DISCUSSION

Section 701(j) of Title VII provides that employers must

“reasonably accommodate” the religious beliefs or prac-

tices of their employees unless doing so would cause the

employers to suffer undue hardship. Trans World Airlines,

* There is no dispute that Cook’s religious beliefs are sincere and

that he established a prima facie case of discrimination.

4a

Inc. v. Hardison, 482 U.S. 63, 75 (1977). The statutory

language does not make clear the precise reach of this

obligation. Jd. at 74. Although neither a collective bar-

gaining agreement nor a seniority system may be em-

ployed to violate Title VII, the duty to accommodate does

not require an employer to take steps inconsistent with

an otherwise valid agreement. Jd. at 79. It is “‘anomalous

to conclude that by ‘reasonable accommodation’ Congress

meant that an employer must deny the shift and job pref-

erence of some employees, as well as deprive them of their

contractual rights, in order to accommodate or prefer the

religious needs of others.’”’ Jd. at 81. Title VII does not

require an employer to go that far. Jd. Differential treat-

ment resulting from accommodation runs afoul of section

2000(e)-2(aX1) (which sets forth unlawful employment prac-

tices) if it: 1) compromises other employees’ contractual

seniority rights as secured by a collective bargaining agree-

ment; or 2) confers a privilege, the cost of which is more

than de minimis, solely on the basis of the recipient’s

religious beliefs. Brown v. General Motors Corp., 601 F.2d

956, 962 (8th Cir. 1979). The present case presents both

such situations.

First, accommodating Cook would compromise other em-

ployees’ contractual rights as secured by the collective bar-

gaining agreement. The collective bargaining agreement

provides both a system for determining seniority and an

absenteeism policy. Efforts to accommodate Cook would

violate the terms of the collective bargaining agreement

and contravene the ‘‘book”’ procedures. Cook’s first pro-

posal for a change of shift would contravene the seniority

provisions. It is not disputed that shift preference is a

highly prized aspect of seniority. The record shows that

Chrysler approached the Union and tried to find a way

to accommodate Cook. The Union was not willing to grant

Cook a change of shift out of line with seniority. Chrysler’s

efforts satisfied the requirements of Title VII in view of

the obstacles presented by the collective bargaining agree-

5a

ment. See Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432

U.S. at 83 n.14.

Further, the collective bargaining agreement, coupled

with the ‘‘book’”’ method for obtaining days off, in itself

provided an accommodation of Cook’s religious needs. /d.

at 78 (seniority system, establishing neutral way to min-

imize occasions when an employee would have to work on

a day he would prefer to have off, was in itself a signif-

icant accommodation to the religious and secular needs of

employees). See also Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group,

Inc., 762 F.2d 671, 674 (8th Cir. 1985) (stating in dicta

that a collective bargaining agreement provided a reason-

able accommodation).

Second, the district court found that accommodating

Cook would result in more than a de minimis cost to

Chrysler. The district court’s conclusion in this regard is

ultimately a finding of fact. In particular, we will upset

findings of undue hardship and more than de minimis cost

only if clearly erroneous. Lake v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 837

F.2d 449, 451 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 826 (1988).

Though we might have reached another conclusion, there

is evidence to support the district court’s finding that more

than de minimis cost was involved. We cannot find this

conclusion clearly erroneous. All accommodation proposals,

other than a simple shift change, involved significant costs

to Chrysler: the proposal that Cook be allowed excused

absences every Friday meant that he would be a part-time

employee but would be paid full-time beneii.. ‘Chrysler

showed that a typical benefit package was costly to the

company; the cost of the benefit package lost because of

being absent twenty percent of the time is over $1,500

per year); allowing a temporary part-time employee (or

floater) to replace Cook every Friday night meant that

Chrysler either had to forego using a floater elsewhere or

hire another floater; absences affect the quality of work

because there are more repairs than usual and lower ef-

6a

ficiency when a floater is used on the line (there is no

way to guarantee the same floater to replace Cook without

hiring a new floater). There was also evidence that it was

not possible to allow Cook to substitute working on a

Sunday for a Friday; the collective bargaining agreement

required over-time pay on weekends and the plant was

normally closed on Sundays.’

Cook argues that this court’s decision in Brown v. Gen-

eral Motors Corp., 601 F.2d at 962, mandates that the

additional costs must be quantifiable. We disagree. Brown

stands only for the proposition that an employer’s costs

of accommodation ‘“‘must mean present undue hardship, as

distinguished from anticipated or multiplied hardship.”’ Jd.

at 961 (quotations omitted). In contrast to the speculative

evidence of future impact (calculated with an assumption

that more employees would seek Fridays off for religious

purposes) presented by General Motors in Brown, Chrysler

presented evidence of tangible present costs of accom-

modation. The costs, although not ascertained with exact-

itude, were present and real. We note further that in

Brown, neither party contended that the proposed accom-

modation contravened the collective bargaining agreement.

Id. at 958.

With respect to the Union, its refusal to waive or modify

the collective bargaining agreement’s seniority provisions

does not constitute unlawful discrimination. Huston v. Lo-

cal No. 938, International UAW, 559 F.2d 477, 481 (8th

Cir. 1977). We affirm the district court’s finding that the

Union did not breach any good-faith duties to represent

Cook’s interests.

* Even if, as Cook claims, hiring a new floater is not necessary, it

would be of no consequence. The apportioned cost of a floater’s time,

in combination with evidence that there is additional warranty costs

associated with temporary workers, is enough to support the district

court’s decision.

7a

III. CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated above, we affirm.

A true copy.

Attest:

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

8a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-1385EMSL

Jesse L. Cook,

Appellant,

v.

Chrysler Corporation; United Automobile Aerospace,

Agricultural Implement Workers Local 110,

Appellees.

Filed

Feb 5, 1993

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

E. DISTRICT OF MO.

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Missouri

JUDGMENT

This appeal from the United States District Court was

submitted on the record of the district court, briefs of the

parties and was argued by counsel.

After consideration, it is hereby ordered and adjudged

that the judgment of the district court in this cause is

affirmed in accordance with the opinion of this Court.

December 7, 1992

A true copy.

ATTEST: /s/ Michael E. Gans

CLERK, U.S. COURT OF APPEALS, EIGHTH CIRCUIT.

iV

9a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

No. 92-1385EMSL

Jesse L. Cook,

Appellant,

v.

Chrysler Corporation; United Automobile Aerospace,

Agricultural Implement Workers Local 110,

Appellees.

Order Denying Petition for Rehearing and Suggestion for

Rehearing En Banc

The suggestion for rehearing en banc is denied. The

petition for rehearing is also denied.

January 21, 1993

Order Entered at the Direction of the Court:

/s/ Michael E. Gans

Clerk, U.S. Court of Appeals, Eighth Circuit

10a

APPENDIX D

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF MISSOURI

EASTERN DIVISION

No. 87-1985C(5)

JESSE L. COOK

Plaintiff,

VS.

CHRYSLER CORPORATION and UNITED AUTOMOBILE,

AEROSPACE, AGRICULTURAL IMPLEMENT WORKERS

LOCAL 110,

Defendants.

FILED

DEC. 31, 1991

U.S. DISTRICT COURT

E. DISTRICT OF MO.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Plaintiff filed this action alleging that defendants Chrys-.

ler and Local 110 UAW discriminated against him on the

basis of his religion. Plaintiff alleges that Chrysler dis-

charged him and the Local 110 UAW failed to properly

represent him due to his religion in violation of Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964. 42 U.S.C. §2000e et seg.

The case was tried before this Court sitting without a jury

on September 14-15 and 18-19, 1989 and December 17-18,

1990. This Court, having now considered the pleadings,

the testimony of the witnesses, the depositions testimony,

the documents in evidence and the stipulation of the par-

ties, and being fully advised in the premises, hereby makes

lla

the following findings of fact and conclusions of law as

required by Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 52.

FINDINGS OF FACT

Plaintiff Jesse Cook is a citizen of the United States

who resides within the Eastern Division for the Eastern

District of Missouri. Plaintiff Cook is an ‘employee’ within

the meaning of Title VII. Defendant Chrysler is a cor-

poration duly organized and existing under the law and is

an “employer” within the meaning of Title VII. The United

Automobile, Aerospace and Agricultural Implement Work-

ers of America (UAW) and the Local 110 UAW are “‘labor

organizations” within the meaning of Title VII.

At all times relevant to this cause of action, Chrysler

owned and operated two motor vehicle assembly plants in

Fenton, Missouri known as Plants 1 and 2. The UAW

represents production and maintenance workers employed

at both plants under a national collective bargaining agree-

ment with Chrysler. This national collective bargaining

agreement is supplemented by a local agreement at each

of the plants. The national collective bargaining agreement

was in effect during the time period relevant to plaintiff's

cause of action. Local 110 UAW (Union) is a local labor

union affiliated with the UAW and covered by the national

collective bargaining agreement with Chrysler. It repre-

sents more than 3000 production and maintenance workers

employed at Plant 2 and is a party to the local agreement

with Chrysler covering those employed at Plant 2. The

local agreement was in effect during the time period rel-

evant to plaintiff's cause of action.

The national agreement sets forth a two-shift production

schedule. Shift 1 operates Monday through Saturday from

8:00 AM to 4:00 PM. Shift 2 operates Monday through

Saturday from 4:00 PM to midnight. There is generally

no production work scheduled on Sunday; however if it is,

such work is considered double-time work and is compen-

12a

sated at a higher hourly rate. The work schedule or shift

times can not be changed by Chrysler without Union vote

and approval.

The national agreement also sets forth a no-fault ab-

senteeism policy, known as the Uniform Attendance Pro-

cedure. Under the Procedure, no discipline is mandated

for the first six (6) absences in any six (6) month period

(excused or unexcused) but additional unexcused absences

result in progressive discipline in six (6) successive steps.

For the first unexcused absence (after the first six non-

sanctioned absences), the worker is counseled by both

Chrysler management and the Union. The second is ad-

ditional counseling, the third is a five (5) day disciplinary

lay-off, the fourth is a fifteen (15) day disciplinary lay-off,

the fifth is a thirty (80) day disciplinary lay-off, and the

sixth results in permanant discharge from employment.

Chronic absenteeism is also addressed by the national

agreement. Any employee who is absent over 20% of the

time over a six (6) month period (counting a five-day work-

week) is counseled. If the absenteeism continues, the em-

ployee faces discharge.

In 1985, Plant 2’s local agreement with Chrysler was

amended to address a growing problem with absenteeism,

especially on Friday nights. An ‘‘excused in advance’’ pro-

gram was set up by which employees could sign up in a

book for an excused day or night on a first come, first

serve basis. Time off may be signed for no more that

thirty (30) days in advance. The book fills up for Friday

nights faster than any other time period.

Under the terms of the national agreement, if employees

are on lay-off at Plant 1 and there are openings at Plant

2, they are offered the option to work at Plant 2 in ac-

cordance with their seniority until all slots are filled. If

an employee is offered and refuses the transfer, s/he is

not entitled to receive the unemployment benefits provided

to laid-off workers under the national agreement. If an

13a

employee transfers, his/her seniority at the originating

plant does not count, and the seniority date at the new

plant is the date of transfer. The employee stays at the

new plant until s/he is laid-off, at which time s/he has the

option to return to the originating plant (if jobs are avail-

able) with the same seniority or stay laid-off.

Each plant negotiates separately for its own local agree-

ment with Chrysler. Seniority is on a plant-by-plant basis.

Employees at each plant are laid-off, recalled, and select

shifts on the basis of their seniority at that particular plant

and their seniority within each particular department in

the plant. There is no interchange of seniority between

the two plants. Seniority, at Plant 2, determines shift pref-

erence, vacation preference, job assignments, and other

various personnel matters.

Seniority provisions, especially shift preference, is highly

valued by workers. The right to assert shift preference is

embedded in Plant 2’s local agreement with Chrysler and

can not be amended, modified, or removed without

(renegotiation, ratification, and approval by membership

vote. The seniority provisions can not be changed or elim-

inated independently by UAW officers, Union officers, or

Chrysler management. The seniority provisions, especially

shift preference, is personal to each union member and is

asserted and defended by virtue of both the national agree-

ment and the local agreement.

The national agreement provides a procedure for the

adjustment of grievances, including challenges to discipline

assessed by Chrysler. The procedure begins at the super-

visor level, then proceeds to the area manager level, and

then to the plant manager level. If the grievance cannot

be resolved at any of these levels, the matter proceeds to

an appeal board, which consists of two Chrysler represen-

tatives and two UAW representatives. If the grievance

cannot be resolved, the UAW has the option of proceeding

to arbitrate the matter to a final decision. As a practical

l4a

matter, the grievances are handled by Union representa-

tives and Chrysler labor relations representatives.

Plaintiff Cook began his employment with Chrysler, at

Plant 1, in January 1976. During periods of lay-off, plaintiff

transferred back and forth between Plants 1 and 2. In

1983, plaintiff was recalled to Plant 1 on the second shift.

He remained at Plant 1 on the second shift until an in-

definite lay-off in November 1985. Plaintiff remained on

indefinite lay-off until January 14, 1986, when he elected

to transfer to Plant 2 on the second shift. January 14,

1986 became his seniority date at Plant 2.

At Plant 2, during the relevant time period, plaintiff

held one of the less desirable jobs on the assembly line.

His job was primarily to install the spare tire and jack in

the trunk of the car. This job was one of approximately

thirty (30) jobs on the assembly line. In order to keep

things running smoothly, plaintiffs job (as well as the

other jobs on the line) had to be completed within a des-

ignated timeframe. Plaintiff's job required a certain level

of competency not easily replaced. Absenteeism on the line

resulted in increased number of complaints and repairs.

In October 1985, shortly before his indefinite lay-off at

Plant 1, plantiff became a member of the Seventh Day

Adventist Church. One of the tenets of the Church is that

a member may not do manual labor or other types of

secular labor from sundown Friday to sundown Saturday.

While at Plant 1, after plaintiff became a Seventh Day

Adventist and shortly before his indefinite lay-off, plaintiff

was assessed Step 1 discipline under the Uniform Attend-

ance Procedure due to unexcused absences on Friday

nights. He transferred to Plant 2 before any additional

disciplinary measures were taken for his unexcused Friday

night absences.

On January 17, 1986, shortly after transferring to Plant

2, plaintiff delivered two letters to Edward Pope, Em-

ployment Supervisor at Plant 2. One letter was written

15a

to Mr. Pope advising him of plaintiff’s religious beliefs and

a request for accommodation; the other letter was from

plaintiff's pastor, W. E. Dagenais. Pope made copies of

the letters and told plaintiff to deliver his letters to

plaintiff's supervisor, Robert Brinkley.

Plaintiff then delivered his letters to Brinkley, who ad-

vised plaintiff that he would get back to him about the

accommodation request. Although it is unclear as to who

was contacted next about plaintiff’s request, it is agreed

that Ken Davenport (Union Shop Steward), Thomas Kal-

laos (Labor Relations Supervisor), and Donald Woemmel

(Union President) all were informed of plaintiff's situation.

In his letter of January 17, 1986, Cook acknowledges

that the local agreement with Chrysler (for Plant 2) makes

no provision for an accommodation for persons who “‘keep

the Sabbath”. He suggests possibilities whereby Chrysler

might accommodate him. These include flexible scheduling,

the use of compensatory time, making lateral transfers

without loss of seniority, arrange shift trades and/or time

swaps, and allow temporary accommodations while a per-

manent accommodation is being arranged.

After transferring to Plant 2 in January 1976, plaintiff

was absent every Friday night and late for work every

Saturday night. Pursuant to the Uniform Attendance Pro-

cedure, Cook was assessed Step 1 discipline after his sixth

absence and then was issued a Step 2 discipline for his

seventh absence. Thereafter, although Cook continued with

his Sabbath absences for more than eight weeks, he was

not disciplined. Cook was not told specifically why the

absences were not being disciplined but he was told by

Brinkley that Chrysler was looking into his accommodation

request.

Meanwhile, Thomas Kallaos was investigating possible

solutions to the problem. He determined that the only way

to accommodate Cook without violating the local agree-

ment was to see if Cook’s seniority would allow a transfer

16a

to the first shift. Kallaos checked Cook’s seniority and

discovered that he did not have seniority to allow such a

transfer. Kallaos then spoke with Reggie Crocker, Chrys-

ler’s Equal Employment Opportunity Supervisor in De-

troit, Michigan. Crocker advised Kallaos that if Cook did

not have seniority for a transfer to the first shift, then

Kallaos could ask the Union for permission to place Cook

on the first shift out of line with seniority. Crocker further

advised Kallaos that if the Union refused permission for

the transfer, then he had two options: 1) advise plaintiff

that the Union refused permission to transfer plaintiff to

the first shift out of line with seniority; or 2) transfer

plaintiff to the first shift anyhow and let the Union grieve

the action. Finally, Crocker advised Kallaos that if Cook

was not transferred to the first shift, then Cook had to

work Friday nights but that his tardiness could be accom-

modated on Saturday night. Absenteeism is not as much

of a problem on Saturday night as it is on Friday night.

If Cook was off every Friday night with or without pay,

Chrysler would still be required under the collective bar-

gaining agreement to pay the cost of his benefits, which

costs assume an employee works a full work week. The

cost of the benefit package lost because of being absent

20% of the time (approximately one day per week) is $1578

per year. The plant costs allocated to each employee which

are lost by an employee being absent one day every week

exceed $5000 per year.

Temporary part-time employees (TPTs) are persons hired

to cover casual absences; not regular permanant on-going

absences. By contract, TPTs work only on Mondays and

Fridays. If a TPT works more than 120 days, the National

Agreement with Chrysler provides for additional benefits

for that TPT. TPTs are generally trained on the job and

do not fill in for a regular worker on a constant basis.

Consequently, Chrysler can not guarantee the same TPT

would fill in for plaintiff every Friday night.

17a

“Floaters” are full-time employees who replace other

workers absent due to vacations, advanced excused ab-

sences, or medical emergencies and/or leaves. They work

the same shift schedules as regular line workers and are

paid full benefits. If a floater were to replace someone,

like plaintiff, on a constant regular basis, another floater

would have to be hired in order to keep an adequate num-

ber of floaters available (for the other absences).

After speaking with Crocker, Kallaos then spoke with

Don Woemmel. Kallaos asked permission to transfer Cook

to the first shift out of line with seniority. Woemmel re-

fused stating that such a transfer was in breach of the

local agreement and would prejudice the rights of the other

workers at Plant 2 with more seniority than Cook. He

reminded Kallaos that a waiver of shift preference rights

or modification of the local agreement could not be done

unilaterally by either Chrysler or the Union without the

affirmative vote and approval of the Union membership.

Kallaos then talked with Richard Burton, the Union’s

Regional Supervisor. Burton took the exact same stance

as did Woemmel, for the same reasons.

On May 6, 1986 Robert Brinkley and John McFarland

(Chrysler Plant Final Area Manager) met with plaintiff

and gave hin a written supervisor’s report. This report

informed plaintiff that he did not have seniority to transfer

to the first shift, that further absences on Friday nights

would be unexcused, and that these unexcused absences

would be treated like any other unexcused absence under

the Uniform Attendance Procedure. Another Seventh Day

Adventist, Roger Williams, was given the same supervi-

sor’s report. Williams had been accommodated for a time

being while at Plant 1. The same accommodation was short-

lived at Plant 2. After the May 6th supervisor’s report,

Williams used the book procedure and leaves of absence

to continue his employment. He eventually accrued enough

seniority to transfer to the first shift.

18a

Thereafter, Cook continued for the most part to accrue

unexcused absences on Friday nights. He was progres-

sively disciplined pursuant to the Uniform Attendance Pro-

cedure and the chronic absenteeism procedures. At each

unexcused absence disciplinary step, the Union filed a

grievance on behalf of Cook. On September 12, 1986

plaintiff absented himself and consequently on September

16, 1986 was issued Step 6 discipline and was discharged

by Chrysler.

The Union then proceeded to file a discharge gnevance

with the Appeal Board of the UAW. The Union sought

reinstatement of Cook and the use of a “‘floater’’ on the

nights he was absent. The Union also sought a continuing

excused absence for Cook’s Sabbath hiatus. Chrysler re-

jected the Union’s proposal. The Union did not take the

matter to arbitration because on the face of it the dis-

charge was proper under the Uniform Attendance Pro-

cedure and the chronic absenteeism procedures.

Plaintiff remained unemployed until May 1987 when he

began work with Central States Services. Since his dis-

charge through December 17, 1990, Cook earned

$73,558.45 in wages and unemployment compensation. If

Cook had remained employed at Chrysler through Decem-

ber 17, 1990, he would have earned $141,929.73.

On September 27, 1986 Cook filed an EEOC charge of

religious discrimination against Chrysler. The EEOC is-

sued a Right to Sue letter on July 30, 1987. Cook filed

this action on October 27, 1987. He seeks reinstatement,

back pay, seniority, lost benefits, and legal fees.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

Plaintiff Cook has brought suit alleging employment dis-

crimination on the basis of religion. The Court has juris-

diction pursuant to §706 of Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964, 42 U.S.C. §2000e-5. Plaintiff has satisfied all

the procedural prerequisites to suit under Title VII. The

19a

parties all agree that plaintiff has met the burden of es-

tablishing a prima facie case of religious discrimination in

that 1) plaintiff has a bona fide religious belief that con-

flicts with an employment requirement; 2) plaintiff in-

formed both Chrysler and the Union of this belief (i.e.

working Friday nights violated the Seventh Day Adventist

prohibition against secular work on the Sabbath); and 3)

plaintiff was disciplined and eventually discharged for fail-

ure to comply with the conflicting employment require-

ment. Johnson v. Angelica Uniform Group, Inc., 762 F.2d.

671, 673 (8th Cir. 1985); Brown v. General Motors Corp.,

601 F.2d. 956, 959 (8th Cir. 1979).

Title VII, as amended, makes it an unlawful employment

practice for an employer to discriminate against an em-

ployee on the basis of religion. 42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(a\1).

This section of Title VII must be read in conjunction with

the section which defines religion to include all aspects of

religious observance and practice, as well as beliefs, the

employer must reasonably accommodate unless s/he can

demonstrate undue hardship in so doing. 42 U.S.C.

§2000e(j). Title VII also makes it an unlawful employment

practice for a labor organization to discriminate against

any person because of religion or to cause or attempt to

cause an employer to discriminate on the basis of religion.

42 U.S.C. §2000e-2(c).

Once a plaintiff has made out a prima facie case of

religious discrimination, the burden shifts to the employer

to produce evidence showing that it can not reasonably

accommodate the employee without incurring undue har-

ship. Protos v. Volkswagan of America, Inc., 787 F.2d. 129,

134 (8rd Cir. 1986). The employer’s burden is one of “‘pro-

duction rather than persuasion, and the plaintiff bears the

ultimate burden of establishing by a preponderance of the

evidence that defendant could have reasonably accommo-

dated his religious beliefs and practices without undue

hardship. ..’’. Boomsma v. Greyhound Food Management,

Inc., 639 F.Supp. 1448, 1452 (W.D. Mich. 1986), appeal

20a

dismissed, 815 F.2d. 76 (6th Cir. 1987). Furthermore, once

the employer has demonstrated that it has offered a rea-

sonable accomodation to the employee, the statutory in-

quiry ends. Ansonia Board of Education v. Philbrook, 479

U.S. 60, 68-69 (1986). The employer must produce evidence

of undue hardship only if it professes an inability to offer

any reasonable accommodation. ‘‘[T]he extent of undue

hardship on the employer’s business is at issue only where

the employer claims that it is unable to offer any reason-

able accomodation without such hardship.” Ansonia, at 69.

Plaintiff contends that defendant Chrysler chose to ig-

nore his situation instead of taking steps to reasonably

accommodate him by transferring him to the first shift or

excusing his Friday night absences and using TPTs or

floaters to fill in for him. He further argues that the Union

failed to protect his employment rights by refusing Chrys-

ler permission to transfer plaintiff out of seniority and by

failing to arbitrate his discharge grievance. The Court finds

that Chrysler and the Union both met their Title VII ob-

ligations.

Both Chrysler and the Union testified uncontrovertably

that the national agreement and the local agreement con-

trolled the degree of flexibility each had in addressing

plaintiff's situation. Thomas Kallaos, Donald Woemmel, and

Melvin Jarvis (Alternate Shop Steward) all testified that

there were no alternatives for Cook without violating the

collective bargaining agreements. Transferring plaintiff to

the first shift out of seniority clearly violated the seniority

provisions of the local agreement. Excusing plaintiff every

Friday night clearly violated the Uniform Attendance Pro-

cedure and the chronic absenteeism policy.

In Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63

(1977), the Supreme Court held that Title VII did not

require an employer to undertake any activity to accom-

modate an employee which would violate a bona fide sen-

iority system. Title VII’s reasonable accommodation

2la

requires only that an employer make a good faith effort

to accommodate the employee’s religious beliefs. “It does

not require that in doing so an employer override an es-

tablished seniority system, nor does it require that an em-

ployer take steps that go beyond those a reasonable person

would take.” Krushinski v. Roadway Exp., Inc., 626

F.Supp. 472, 473-474 (M.D. Pa. 1985). Title VII’s mandate

to employers to try to reasonably accommodate religious

needs ‘‘does not supercede the contractual rights of other

employees.”’ Huston v. Local No. 93, International UAW,

559 F.2d. 477, 480 (8th Cir. 1977). This same limitation

is equally applicable to the unions. A union may be able

to grant a variance if it met with approval of the-mem-

bership, but “‘it certainly could not vary the seniority pro-

visions of the collective bargaining agreement in disregard

of the contractual rights of employees who wished to be

afforded the benefits of their seniority.’”’ Huston, at 480.

There were only two options available to accommodate

Cook without incurring undue hardship. Granting Cook a

preference in the seniority structure would violate the local

agreement; notwithstanding the fact it would create very

hard feelings among Cook’s fellow employees, especially

those with more seniority who qualified but could not

transfer due to lack of openings. Additionally, Chrysler

officials testified that since no openings existed (during

the time in question) on the first shift, someone would

have to be bumped to make room for Cook. The Court

can only imagine the degree of animosity and hostility such

a move would create. Excusing Cook every Friday night

would circumvent the ‘‘book procedure’”’ specifically set up

to afford everyone equal opportunity to arrange absences.

Constant Friday night absences would also conflict with

the chronic absenteeism policy. Circumventing the book

procedure and the chronic absenteeism policy would violate

the local agreement and supercede the contractual rights

of Cook’s fellow workers.

22a

The other options that plaintiff feels should have been

considered are equally violative of the collective bargaining

agreements or would cause undue hardship to Chrysler.

An employer is not obligated to take accommodation steps

which would require it to incur additional costs, such as

overtime pay for replacements, if such costs were more

than de minimis. TWA v. Hardison, at 84-85; Wren v.

T.I.M.E.-D.C., Inc., 595 F.2d. 441, 445 (8th Cir. 1979)

[citing in affirmance, Wren v. T.I.M.E.-D.C., Inc., 453

F.Supp. 582 (E.D. Mo. 1978)}.

Cook’s absence on the assembly line every Friday night

would involve additional costs to Chrysler, both in the form

of lost efficiency and increased employee wages. Thomas

Kallaos testified that there were no shifts or departments

that plaintiff could transfer into (in line with his seniority)

that would not require Friday or Saturday work. He tes-

tified that the local agreement did not provide for swap-

ping shifts or trading seniority and neither Chrysler nor

the Union could force employees to do so. Substituting

Sunday work for plaintiff's Sabbath absences was not pos-

sible because no production was normally scheduled on

Sunday. If production was scheduled on Sunday, the local

agreement mandated double-time wages. He further tes-

tified that the collective bargaining agreements did not

provide for a flexible work schedule within the shifts. Fur-

thermore, since plaintiff's Sabbath absences would change

seasonly (even perhaps weekly or monthly as times for

sunset and sunrise change), it would be very difficult to

schedule other employees to cover plaintiff's absences. Fi-

nally, the collective bargaining agreements did not provide

for “temporary” assignments.

Using TPTs or floaters would create additional expense

to Chrysler. Not only would Cook continue to receive his

full benefits despite working a four-day week, but Chrysler

would have to pay the TPT or floater wages and benefits.

In order to keep the replacement pool number adequate

(to cover other workers’ absences) Chrysler would have to

23a

hire (and pay) someone to replace the person replacing

Cook every Friday night. Lost efficiency was another price

Chrysler would have to pay for Cook’s absences. Jarvis

and Ron Czar (Chrysler Quality Manager) testified to in-

creased number of repairs during Cook’s absences. Ab-

senteeism directly affected the quality of workmanship.

Absenteeism also directly affected morale among the work-

ers on the line. Brinkly and Jarvis testified to increased

number of complaints (when plaintiff was absent) regard-

ing the number of repairs that had to be done on the job

plaintiff normally performed and the slow performance of

the replacement workers.

The testimony of Chrysler and the Union witnesses re-

mained largely undisputed by plaintiff. Instead his main

contention is that the defendants did not do enough to

figure out a way to accomodate his religious needs. While

it is true that defendants cannot excuse their failure to

accomodate him by simply sitting on their laurels’ or

pointing to the deficiencies in plaintiff's suggested alter-

natives, plaintiff cannot maintain a posture of uncooper-

ativeness. Hudson v. Western Airlines, Inc., 851 F.2d. 261,

266-67 (9th Cir. 1988); Anderson v. General Dynamic, 589

F.2d 397, 401 (9th Cir. 1978); Krushinski, at 474-75; Wren,

453 F.Supp. at 584. The trial record is very quiet as to

steps taken by the plaintiff to eliminate the conflict be-

tween his religious beliefs and employment demands.

Plaintiff used the book procedure a couple of times, but

for the most part simply did not show up for work on

Friday nights and arrived late for work on Saturday nights.

He chose not to use the means available within the system,

such as the book procedure, vacations, leaves, etc. to avoid

discipline. Although the employer has an accommodation

duty, the employee has a correlative duty to make a good

faith attempt to satisfy (her) needs through means offered

by the employer. Hudson, at 266-67; Krushinski, at 474;

Wren, 453 F.Supp. at 584. ‘‘An employee cannot shirk his

duties to try to accommodate himself or to cooperate with

24a

his employer in reaching an accommodation by a mere

recalcitrant citation of religious precepts. Nor can he

thereby shift all responsibility for accommodation to his

employer.” Chrysler Corp. v. Mann, 561 F.2d. 1282, 1285

(8th Cir. 1977). Plaintiff did little to fulfill his mutual ob-

ligation to cooperate. “‘A failure of cooperation by either

party will clearly lessen the chances of achieving a rea-

sonable accommodation.”’ Chrysler Corp. v. Mann, at 1285.

The defendants, on the other hand, did all they were

required to do under Title VII. Chrysler management did

not overly exert itself in assisting plaintiff. However, it

did make efforts within the seniority system to accom-

modate plaintiff. See, Wren, 453 at 584. Kallaos looked

into plaintiff's seniority status. He conferred with repre-

sentatives of the Church. He sought advice from Chrysler’s

EEO Supervisor and attempted to get permission from

the Union to transfer plaintiff to Shift 1 out of seniority.

He sought a way to assist Cook within the seniority system

but couldn’t find a way. The collective bargaining agree-

ments were a maze of restrictions. Everywhere he turned

he ran into a “‘violation” wall. Other options would require

Chrysler to bear more than a de minimis cost in order to

give plaintiff the Sabbath off.

The Union officials were equally stymied by the collec-

tive bargaining agreements. The Union had no duty to

waive or modify the seniority provisions of the local agree-

ment to the detriment of its members. Its refusal to do

so neither constituted unlawful discrimination against

plaintiff or caused such discrimination by Chrysler. See,

Huston, at 481. The Union’s only duty to plaintiff was to

protect and defend his statutory and contractual employ-

ment rights. It carried out this duty in good faith by filing

a grievance on behalf of plaintiff at every discipline step.

It took his discharge grievance to the Appeals Board. After

that it conceded that plaintiff was properly discharged pur-

suant to Step 6 of the Uniform Attendance Procedure.

John Guinan (the UAW representative to the Appeals

25a

Board) testified that arbitration was pointless because the

discharge was in conformity with the collective bargaining

agreements and the Uniform Attendance Procedure. The

Union had the right to determine the viability of plaintiff's

grievance and cannot be faulted for concluding that his

grievance was not a good candidate for arbitration. Failure

to secure for plaintiff the relief he wanted does not evi-

dence a breach of the Union’s good faith duty to represent

plaintiff’s interests.

The defendants explored every avenue for the purpose

of accommodating plaintiff but simply were unable to do

so due to Cook’s seniority (or lack thereof) and the col-

lective bargaining agreements. Title VII did not compel

them to trample upon everyone else’s non-discriminatory

contractual rights in order to accommodate plaintiff’s re-

ligious beliefs. The defendants provided a seniority system,

which in itself, represented a significant accommodation

to the needs, religious and secular, of all employees. Har-

dison, at 77-78. Title VII does not require an employer or

union to discriminate against some employees in order to

allow others to observe their Sabbath. Hardison, at 85.

Title VII also does not require differential treatment which

would confer a privilege, the cost of which was more than

de minimis, solely on the basis of religious needs. Har-

dison, at 81-85; see also, Brown, at 962.

The collective bargaining agreements provided a senior-

ity system designed to protect all employees’ rights by

insuring fair and equal treatment. It wasn’t a perfect sys-

tem and in plaintiff's case proved to be more of a hin-

drance than a help. However, given the particular

circumstances of this case, the Court concludes that

defendants Chrysler and the Union satisfied their ‘‘rea-

sonable accommodation” obligation as required by Title

VII.

For the foregoing reasons, the Court enters judgment

in favor of the defendants Chrysler and the Union and

against plaintiff Cook on the merits of plaintiffs complaint.

26a

Dated this 3lst day of December, 1991.

/s/ Stephen N. Limbaugh

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

27a

APPENDIX E

PART 1605—GUIDELINES ON DISCRIMINATION BECAUSE

OF RELIGION

Sec.

1605.1 “Religious” nature of a practice or belief.

1605.2 Reasonable accommodation without undue hardship

as required by Section 701(i) of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964.

1605.3 Selection practices.

Appendix A to §§ 1605.2 and 1065.3 Background infor-

mation.

Authority: Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as

amended, 42 U.S.C. 2000e et seq.

§ 1605.1 ‘‘Religious” nature of a practice or belief.

In most cases whether or not a practice or belief is

religious is not at issue. However, in those cases in which

the issue does exist, the Commission will define religious

practices to include moral or ethical beliefs as to what is

right and wrong which are sincerely held with the strength

of traditional religious views. This standard was developed

in United States v. Seeger, 380 U.S. 163 (1965) and Welch

v. United States, 398 U.S. 333 (1970). The Commission has

consistently applied this standard in its decisions.! The fact

that no religious group espouses such beliefs or the fact

that the religious group to which the individual professes

to belong may not accept such belief will not determine

whether the belief is a religious belief of the employee or

prospective employee. The phrase ‘“‘religious practice”’ as

used in these Guidelines includes both religious observ-

ances and practices, as stated in Section 701(j). 42 U.S.C.

2000e(j).

1 See CD76-104 (1976), CCH P 6500; CD 71-2620 (1971), CCH P 6283;

CD 71-779 (1970), CCH P 6180.

28a

§ 1605.2 Reasonable accommodation without undue hard-

ship as required by Section 701(j) of Title VII of the Civil

Rights Act of 1964.

(a) Purpose of this section.

This section clarifies the obligation imposed by Title VII

of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended, (sections

701(G), 703 and 717) to accommodate the religious practices

of employees and prospective employees. This section does

not address other obligations under Title VII not to dis-

criminate on grounds of religion, nor other provisions of

Title VII. This section is not intended to limit any addi-

tional obligations to accommodate religious practices which

may exist pursuant to constitutional, or other statutory

provisions; neither is it intended to provide guidance for

statutes which require accommodation on bases other than

religion such as § 503 of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973.

The legal principles which have been developed with re-

spect to discrimination prohibited by Title VII on the bases

of race, color, sex, and national origin also apply to re-

ligious discrimination in all circumstances other than where

an accommodation is required.

(b) Duty to accommodate.

(1) Section 701() makes it an unlawful employment

practice under § 703(aX1) for an employer to fail to rea-

sonably accommodate the religious practices of an em-

ployee or prospective employee, unless the employer

demonstrates that accommodation would result in undue

hardship on the conduct of its business.?

(2) Section 701(j) in conjunction with § 703(c), imposes

an obligation on a labor organization to reasonably accom-

modate the religious practices of an employee or prospec-

tive employee, unless the labor organization demonstrates

that accommodation would result in undue hardship.

See Trans World Airlines, Inc. v. Hardison, 432 U.S. 63, 74 (1977).

29a

(3) Section 1605.2 is primarily directed to obligations of

employers or labor organizations, which are the entities

covered by Title VII that will most often be required to

make an accommodation. However, the principles of Sec-

tion 1605.2 also apply when an accommodation can be

required of other entities covered by Title VII, such as

employment agencies (§ 703(b)) or joint labor-management

committees controlling apprenticeship or other training or

retraining (§ 703(d)). (See, for example, § 1605.3(a) ‘“‘Sched-

uling of Tests or Other Selection Procedures.’’)

(c) Reasonable Accommodation.

(1) After an employee or prospective employee notifies

the employer or labor organization of his or her need for

a religious accommodation, the employer or labor orga-

nization has an obligation to reasonably accommodate the

individual’s religious practices. A refusal to accommodate

is justified only when an employer or labor organization

can demonstrate that an undue hardship would in fact

result from each available alternative method of accom-

modation. A mere assumption that many more people, with

the same religious practices as the person being accom-

modated, may also need accommodation is not evidence of

undue hardship.

(2) When there is more than one method of accommo-

dation available which would not cause undue hardship,

the Commission will determine whether the accommoda-

tion offered is reasonable by examining:

(i) The alternatives for accommodation considered by the

employer or labor organization; and

(ii) The alternatives for accommodation, if any, actually

offered to the individual requiring accommodation. Some

alternatives for accommodating religious practices might

disadvantage the individual with respect to his or her em-

ployment opportunities such as compensation, terms, con-

ditions, or privileges of employment. Therefore, when there

30a

is more than one means of accommodation which would

not cause undue hardship, the employer or labor organi-

zation must offer the alternative which least disadvantages

the individual with respect to his or her employment op-

portunities.

(d) Alternatives for Accommodating Religious Practices.

(1) Employees and prospective employees most fre-

quently request an accommodation because their religious

practices conflict with their work schedules. The following

subsections are some means of accommodating the conflict

between work schedules and religious practices which the

Commission believes that employers and labor organiza-

tions should consider as part of the obligation to accom-

modate and which the Commission will consider in

investigating a charge. These are not intended to be all-

inclusive. There are often other alternatives which would

reasonably accommodate an individual’s religious practices

when they conflict with a work schedule. There are also

employment practices besides work scheduling which may

conflict with religious practices and cause an individual to

request an accommodation. See, for example, the Com-

mission’s finding number (3) from its Hearings on Religious

Discrimination, in Appendix A to §§ 1605.2 and 1605.3.

The principles expressed in these Guidelines apply as well

to such requests for accommodation.

(i) Voluntary Substitutes and ‘Swaps’.

Reasonable accommodation without undue hardship is

generally possible where a voluntary substitute with sub-

stantially similar qualifications is available. One means of

substitution is the voluntary swap. In a number of cases,

the securing of a substitute has been left entirely up to

the individual seeking the accommodation. The Commission

believes that the obligation to accommodate requires that

employers and labor organizations facilitate the securing

of a voluntary substitute with substantially similar quali-

fications. Some means of doing this which employers and

sla

labor organizations should consider are: to publicize policies

regarding accommodation and voluntary substitution; to

promote an atmosphere in which such substitutions are

favorably regarded; to provide a central file, bulletin board

or other means for matching voluntary substitutes with

positions for which substitutes are needed.

(ii) Flexible Scheduling.

One means of providing reasonable accommodation for

the religious practices of employees or prospective em-

ployees which employers and labor organizations should

consider is the creation of a flexible work schedule for

individuals requesting accommodation.

The following list is an example of areas in which flex-

ibility might be introduced: flexible arrival and departure

times; floating or optional holidays; flexible work breaks;

use of lunch time in exchange for early departure; stag-

gered work hours; and permitting an employee to make

up time lost due to the observance of religious practices.*

(ili) Lateral Transfer and Change of Job Assignments.

When an employee cannot be accommodated either as

to his or her entire job or an assignment within the job,

employers and labor organizations should consider whether

or not it is possible to change the job assignment or give

the employee a lateral transfer.

(2) Payment of Dues to a Labor Organization.

Some collective bargaining agreements include a pro-

vision that each employee must join the labor organization

or pay the labor organization a sum equivalent to dues.

When an employee’s religious practices do not permit com-

*On September 29, 1978, Congress enacted such a provision for the

accommodation of Federal employees’ religious practices. See Pub. I.

95-390. 5 U.S.C. 5530, ‘Compensatory Time Off for Religious Observ-

ances.”

32a

pliance with such a provision, the labor organization should

accommodate the employee by not requiring the employee

to join the organization and by permitting him or her to

donate a sum equivalent to dues to a charitable organi-

zation.

(e) Undue Hardship.

(1) Cost.

An employer may assert undue hardship to justify a

refusal to accommodate an employee’s need to be absent

from his or her scheduled duty hours if the employer can

demonstrate that the accommodation would require ‘“‘more

than a de minimis cost’’.* The Commission will determine

what constitutes ‘‘more than a de minimis cost’”’ with due

regard given to the identifiable cost in relation to the size

and operating cost of the employer, and the number of

individuals who will in fact need a particular accommo-

dation. In general, the Commission interprets this phrase

as it was used in the Hardison decision to mean that costs

similar to the regular payment of premium wages of sub-

stitutes, which was at issue in Hardison, would constitute

undue hardship. However, the Commission will presume

that the infrequent payment of premium wages for a sub-

stitute or the payment of premium wages while a more

permanent accommodation is being sought are costs which

an employer can be required to bear as a means of pro-

viding a reasonable accommodation. Further, the Commis-

sion will presume that generally, the payment of

administrative costs necessary for providing the accom-

modation will not constitute more than a de minimis cost.

Administrative costs, for example, include those costs in-

volved in rearranging schedules and recording substitu-

tions for payroli purposes.

(2) Seniority Rights. Undue hardship would also be shown

where a variance from a bona fide seniority system is

‘ Hardison, supra, 432 U.S. at 84.

33a

necessary in order to accommodate an employee’s religious

practices when doing so would deny another employee his

or her job or shift preference guaranteed by that system.

Hardison, supra, 432 U.S. at 80. Arrangements for vol-

untary substitutes and swaps (see paragraph (dX1\i) of this

section) do not constitute an undue hardship to the extent

the arrangements do not violate a bona fide seniority sys-

tem. Nothing in the Statute or these Guidelines precludes

an employer and a union from including arrangements for

voluntary substitutes and swaps as part of a collective

bargaining agreement.

§ 1605.3 Selection practices.

(a) Scheduling of Tests or Other Selection Procedures.

When a test or other selection procedure is scheduled at

a time when an employee or prospective employee cannot

attend because of his or her religious practices, the user

of the test should be aware that the principles enunciated

in these guidelines apply and that it has an obligation to

accommodate such employee or prospective employee un-

less undue hardship would result.

(b) Inquiries Which Determine An Applicant’s Availa-

bility to Work During An Employer’s Scheduled Working

Hours.

(1) The duty to accommodate pertains to prospective

employees as well as current employees. Consequently, an

employer may not permit an applicant’s need for a reli-

gious accommodation to affect in any way its decision

whether to hire the applicant unless it can demonstrate

that it cannot reasonably accommodate the applicant’s re-

ligious practices without undue hardship.

(2) As a result of the oral and written testimony sub-

mitted at the Commission’s Hearings on Religious Dis-

crimination, discussions with representatives of

organizations interested in the issue of religious discrim-

ination, and the comments received from the public on

34a

these Guidelines as proposed, the Commission has con-

cluded that the use of pre-selection inquiries which deter-

mine an applicant’s availability has an exclusionary effect

on the employment opportunities of persons with certain

religious practices. The use of such inquiries will, there-

fore, be considered to violate Title VII unless the employer

can show that it:

(i) Did not have an exclusionary effect on its employees

or prospective employees needing an accommodation for

the same religious practices; or

(ii) Was otherwise justified by business necessity.

Employers who believe they have a legitimate interest in

knowing the availability of their applicants prior to selec-

tion must consider procedures which would serve this in-

terest and which would have a lesser exclusionary effect

on persons whose religious practices need accommodation.

An example of such a procedure is for the employer to

state the normal work hours for the job and, after making

it clear to the applicant that he or she is not required to

indicate the need for any absences for religious practices

during the scheduled work hours, ask the applicant whether

he or she is otherwise available to work those hours. Then,

after a position is offered, but before the applicant is hired,

the employer can inquire into the need for a religious

accommodation and determine, according to the principles

of these Guidelines, whether an accommodation is possible.

This type of inquiry would provide an employer with in-

formation concerning the availability of most of its appli-

cants, while deferring until after a position is offered the

identification of the usually small number of applicants who

require an accommodation.

(3) The Commission will infer that the need for an ac-

commodation discriminatorily influenced a decision to re-

ject an applicant when: (i) prior to an offer of employment

the employer makes an inquiry into an applicant’s avail-

ability without having a business necessity justification;

35a

and (ii) after the employer has determined the applicant’s

need for an accommodation, the employer rejects a qual-

ified applicant. The burden is then on the employer to

demonstrate that factors other than the need for an ac-

commodation were the reason for rejecting the qualified

applicant, or that a reasonable accommodation without un-

due hardship was not possible.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.