Opposition Brief — Burke v. Jacoby

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

x

| woe #

. . AR

No. 92-1490 a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

>

JEAN LORELLE BURKE

Petitioner,

ROBERT E. JACOBY,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

RESPONDENT?’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

JOHN HARTIJE*

A. KAIPER WILSON

ROBERT S. SHWARTS

KRONISH, LIEB, WEINER &

HELLMAN

1345 Avenue of the Americas

New York, New York 10105-0202

(212) 841-6000

Attorneys for Respondent

Robert E. Jacoby

*Counsel of Record

April 12, 1993

ee ee

“REST AVAILABLE COP

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Did the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit follow this Court's applicable decisions when it con-

cluded that a claim for violation of Section 10(b) of the Secu-

ritics Exchange Act of 1934 cannot survive a motion for

Summary judgment where there is no evidence that the plain-

tiff suffered any loss as a result of alleged misrepresentations

and omissions?

2. Is there any basis for this Court to exercise its power of

Supervision to require the Second Circuit to certify a question

of settled law to New York State’s highest appellate court?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW... «065. casssuee i

TABLE OF AU TOIRMRE 2 tii scecccacancesxckneaeevaeeeuies iii

SP REC PEN UO oh nie dun en abs cease eee aeons l

DEAE ee EA VOLVED 5 dicncccsssdawenswecensaaeatemes 2

SALOMON! OF THE CARS. ..<<.<ses00s055 50sec 2

FRCHUA BACK OIOUNG jo. 6.5 ciicickninheceseneeeeee 2

Petitiome;r's LAW oo iis 6 ccavicneue ae eee 5

REASONS FOR’ DEN TING THE WRIT... <<a. sasacuuees 8

I. Petitioner’s inaccurate presentation of her case

provides an independent basis for denying her

PRTG: «aviv scckeseeekcahees 5 eeeee tee se ane 8

Il. The Second Circuit’s decision conforms with this

Court’s applicable standards. .....................05 9

III. There is no basis for this Court to exercise its

power Of supervision to require the Second Circuit

to certify a question of settled law to the New York

State Court of ApOOels.. 065.005 cnc eee 15

CONCLUSIOIN, «os. «+0 s0acsis sans nape ee nina 18

APPENDIX

Slip Opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, dated December 29, 1992 .............. Al

New York Business Corporation Law § 623 ......... Al9

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128

(EASES CGN arene ee i iz, 3

Alpert v. 28 Williams St. Corp., 63 N.Y.2d 557,

mem WO, Wem OT CEDOR) ooo vcsccicacccccccces 16

Arthur Young & Co. v. Reves, 937 F.2d 1310 (8th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1165 (1992).......... 13

Bennett v. United States Trust Co., 770 F.2d 308 (2d Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1058 T ) SaaRee ee 13

Breed v. Barton, 54 N.Y.2d 82, 444 N.Y.S.2d 609

aU ss tee yaad oa hock ka ok ow eccn. 16

Carlton v. Franklin, 911 F.2d 721 (4th Cir. 1990)

(unpublished decision reported at 1990 U:S. App.

LEXIS 12946) ......... PMN CaN Ug ah eh as be teed 13

Carroll v. Seacroft, Ltd., 141 A.D.2d 726, 529 N.Y.S.2d

RO 16

Cawley v. SCM Corp., 72 N.Y.2d 465, 534 N.Y.S.2d 344

ON CNL 5 uy sc54 bu ois cavaeesccvccusnucs 16

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) ......... 10, 14

Currie v. Cayman Resources Corp., 835 F.2d 780 (11th

Ue ec eyck sa ce sab sudccaxcascns 13

Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v. Ponce, 904 F.2d 740

ES 17

Huddleston v. Herman & MacLean, 640 F.2d 534 (Sth Cir.

Unit A 1981), aff'd in part, rev'd in part on other

rime, Mae Wm. 57S (1983)... ccc ccc ccacne 13

iV

PAGE

Johnson v. John Deere Co., 935 F.2d 151 (8th Cir.

SB 6 cee ha cles ONE ERROR en ee EERIE 17

Lehman Brothers v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386 (1974)......... 17

LHLC Corp. v. Cluett, Peabody & Co., Inc., 842 F.2d 928

(7th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 926 (1988)......... 13

Madison Consultants v. Federal Deposit Insurance Corp.,

(iis w Byer bs Ae < | reese re rere 12

Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

ee ee ee ee er rey rarer 10

McGonigle v. Combs, 968 F.2d 810 (9th Cir.), cert.

dismissed sub nom. Casares v. Spendathrift Farm,

Fe. TES BGs Fe Ce soe che ares Ces cn chewnns <> 13

Rank Organization Ltd. vy. Pathe Laboratories, Inc.,

33 Misc. 2d 748, 227 N.Y.S.2d 562 (Sup. Ct. N.Y.

CE TIED sincere sviadeseckciaevneletvinassesessds 16

Walter J. Schloss Associates v. Arkwin Industries, Inc..,

61 N.Y.2d 700, 472 N.Y.S.2d 605 (1984) (adopting

dissenting opinion of Mangano, J., inthe Appellate

Division as the New York State Court of Appeals’

opinion (90 A.D.2d at 153-62, 455 N.Y.S.2d at

a LY |) ene eT ers ree Ptr ity 15, 16

Wilson v. Ruffa & Hanover, 844 F.2d 81 (2d Cir. 1988),

aff’ d on rehearing sub nom. Wilson v. Saintine

Exploration & Drilling Corp., 872 F.2d 1124

PD AD | reer Pesce fare yy eae

Statutes and Rules:

Securities Exchange Act of 1934 §10(b), 15 U.S.C.

S TEMG) CIRO) oc cesviseensascunasencessneciewneeee 5

PAGE

N.Y. Bus. Corp. Law § 623 (McKinney 1986 & Supp.

1992) (copy appended to this brief) ............2, 15, 16

Rule 10b-5, 17 G.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1992) .....0 0000000... 5

supreme Court Rule 14.5 ........ 5. cccccccncncscescucccccs 9

Rules of the United States Court of Appeals for the

OUND SWCUE © GEE oe eos vos coe wna dvdcnvceiiene 15

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Wnited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 92-1490

—j>_

JEAN LORELLE BURKE,

Petitioner.

—V.—

ROBERT E. JACOBY,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

—<j>_

RESPONDENT’S BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

is reported at 981 F.2d 1372. For the Court’s convenience. a

copy of the slip opinion is included in the Appendix to this

Brief, beginning at page Al.!

] Citations to the Appendix are in the form 5 ewes

nN

STATUTES INVOLVED

In addition to the statutes and regulations identified in the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, dated March 12, 1993 (the

Petition”), this case involves New York Business Corporation

Law Section 623, a copy of which is included in the Appendix

to this Brief, beginning at page Al19.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Factual Background?

Until August 1986, Ted Bates Worldwide, Inc. (Bates) was

an employee-owned advertising company. Respondent Robert

E. Jacoby was Bates’ President, Chairman of the Board and

Chief Executive Officer, positions he had held since the early

1970's. Petitioner was a vice president of the company.

Bates had two classes of stock—Class A and Class B. Bates’

CEO had unrestricted authority to decide which employees

could purchase Bates’ Class A shares. A Stockholders Agree-

ment otherwise restricted the transfer of the Class A shares.

Those shares could be resold only to Bates, or to designated

employees, at “book value,” a price calculated by dividing

Bates’ net asset value by the number of Class A shares out-

standing. In August, 1986, petitioner Jean Lorelle Burke owned

700 shares of Class A stock. Jacoby owned 27,750 Class A

shares. He also held options covering an additional 80,000

Class A shares. A shareholder resolution adopted in 1982 had

authorized those options. A3.

Jacoby also owned all 30,000 shares of Bates’ Class B stock.

The Stockholders Agreement restricted transfer of the Class B

stock as well, fixing the resale price at 5O¢ per share.

2 This description of the facts and of petitioner’s lawsuit tracks the

description provided by the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit. See A3-A8.

ah

3

Under Bates’ Certificate of Incorporation, each Class A

share had one vote. Fewer than 500,000 Class A shares were

outstanding in August 1986. Each of the 30,000 Class B shares

had 50 votes. Jacoby, with more than 1,500,000 votes, could

exercise voting control of the company.

In August 1986, Saatchi & Saatchi Company, PLC (Saatchi)

acquired Bates by merger. The Acquisition Agreement set the

terms of the merger, providing that: (i) before the closing,

Bates would redeem 22,788 Class A shares for $17.4 million

and would redeem Jacoby’s 30,000 Class B shares for $40 mil-

lion; (ii) prior to the closing, Bates could sell 30,000 additional

Class A shares to 23 named employees; and (iii) Saatchi would

pay a total of $450 million in cash to persons who, at the time

of the closing, held Class A shares or options. Each holder of

Class A stock would receive approximately $853.00 per share:

$765.3953 per share upon closing, and an additional $87.6286

per share two years later. Holders of stock options would

receive the same price per share, minus the exercise price of

the option. The Acquisition Agreement provided appraisal

rights for stockholders who dissented. A4.

On May 8, 1986, Bates’ Board of Directors unanimously

approved the Acquisition Agreement and recommended that the

shareholders adopt it at the upcoming shareholders meeting.

Petitioner learned of the proposed acquisition and merger

Shortly after the Board approved it. She was expecting the

acquisition to be presented at the upcoming shareholders meet-

ing, and was hoping to make a lot of money on the deal.

A “full house” attended the shareholders meeting on May 22,

1986. Petitioner testified that the shareholders were “full of

anticipation and hope”; the atmosphere was one of “tailwag-

ging excitement.”

At the meeting, Jacoby, as Chairman cf Bates’ Board, pre-

sented the terms of the Acquisition Agreement, as described

above, to the shareholders.

4

Jacoby read from a script, drafted and approved in advance

by Bates’ legal counsel and financial officers. Jacoby noted

that, if Saatchi did not acquire Bates, the book value of the

Class A stock at the end of the fiscal year would be $390 per

share. Slides, prepared by Bates’ Finance Department and pro-

jected onto a large screen, accurately illustrated the terms of

the proposed merger. When the slide showing the Class A price

of $853 per share appeared on the screen, the shareholders,

including Burke, applauded. A4. With respect to the Class B

stock redemption, Jacoby stated: “We have had a separate out-

side investigation by a respected investment banking house,

Lazard Freres, and they have stated that the price to be paid for

Class B shares which will be redeemed at or prior to closing

for $40,000,000 is a fair one.”?* A4.

Jacoby read the resolutions, prepared by Bates’ counsel

Cahill Gordon & Reindel, to approve the merger. Petitioner and

Bates’ other shareholders then voted without dissent to approve

the Acquisition Agreement and to terminate the Stockholders

Agreement, effective upon consummation of the merger. A4-

AS. The verbatim text of Jacoby’s statement to the sharehold-

ers was preserved and was reviewed by both the District and

Circuit Courts.

The closing occurred approximately 2'/; months later, on

August 7, 1986. During that time, the Acquisition Agreement,

which had been available at the May 22 sharcholders meeting,

remained available for petitioner to review. Petitioner made no

effort to do so.* She did not object to any of the Agreement’s

terms or take any action to block the closing.

3 The exact words of the Lazard Freres opinion were that

“$40,000,000 is reasonable consideration to pay” for the Class B shares.

4 Despite the Agreement’s availability, petitioner first looked at it

four years later, during her deposition in this case in May 1990.

Before the closing, petitioner learned that two secretaries,

whom she did not consider qualified to own Bates stock, were

being allowed to acquire Class A shares. The Acquisition

Agreement provided for those sales to the secretaries along

with 21 other named employees. A4, A18. Petitioner did not

object or take any action to try to stop those stock sales.

Shortly before the ciosing on August 7, 1986, petitioner and

each of Bates’ other shareholders signed a Letter of Trans-

mittal, necessary to arrange for payment. Petitioner did so

without objection.

Pursuant to the Acquisition Agreement, Jacoby received a

total of $112.6 million: $40 million for his 30,000 Class B

shares; $23.6 million for his 27,750 Class A shares; and $49

million for his Class A stock options. For her 700 shares, peti-

tioner received exactly the amounts per share that Jacoby had

told her at the May 1986 shareholders meeting she would

receive. AS. Petitioner accepted her first payment on August 7,

1986, without objection. She received her second and final pay-

ment on August 7, 1988, two years after the closing (as pro-

vided by the Acquisition Agreement), again without objection.

Petitioner never objected or took any action until she sued

Jacoby in March 1989.

Petitioner’s Lawsuit

Petitioner, alone, sued Jacoby for only money damages,

claiming violations of Section 10(b) of the Securities Exchange

Act of 1934 and Rule 10b-5, allegedly committed in 1982 and

1986. Her complaint also alleged fraud, breach of fiduciary

duty and breach of Bates’ Stockholders Agreement in con-

nection with Saatchi’s acquisition of Bates. Petitioner's orig-

inal and amended complaints are each styled as a “class

action.”” However, petitioner never sought to certify a class dur-

ing the 2'/, years that the case was pending in the District

Court. No former Bates shareholder ever sought to intervene,

TT OL

6

despite wide-spread publicity of the lawsuit. And no former

shareholder has ever started any other action against Jacoby.

Following extensive discovery, petitioner moved for partial

summary judgment on her claim that Jacoby had breached the

Stockholders Agreement when he received $40 million for his

Class B shares. Jacoby cross-moved for summary judgment

dismissing the entire complaint, principally on the grounds that

there was no evidence that any of the alleged misrepresenta-

tions or omissions had caused petitioner injury and because

New York law barred her state law claims.

The District Court denied petitioner’s motion for summary

judgment and granted Jacoby’s motion in its entirety, dis-

missing all counts of the complaint. A6-A8. Before ruling, the

District Court invited petitioner to submit a post-argument affi-

davit (A6), thereby giving her yet another opportunity to

explain how Jacoby’s disclosure had injured her. Her three-

paragraph affidavit is reproduced in its entirety at pages S5ia-

52a of the Petition to this Court.

The District Court dismissed the allegations of securities

fraud in connection with the Saatchi merger because there was

no evidence that any alleged misrepresentation or omission had

caused petitioner any injury. Rather, petitioner’s own state-

ments to the District Court show that she continued to approve

of the merger, conceding that the purchase price was “‘in all

respects fair and adequate’ (Plaintiff's Memorandum in Oppo-

sition to Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment at 54)”

(A14), that “the total sale price was an ‘excellent’ one (P. Mem.

in Opp’n to Summ. J. at 1) and that she is not ‘dissenting from’

the merger (id. at 54).” A7.

The District Court rejected petitioner’s state law challenge

to the redemption of the Class B shares as well. The Court

ruled that since Burke had approved of the merger and had dis-

avowed any desire to rescind the transaction—not wishing to

give up the huge premium over book value she had received

from Saatchi in payment for her shares—she was not entitled

to challenge only that part of the transaction which resulted in

the payment to Jacoby for his Class B shares. A8.

On appeal to the United States Court of Appeals for the Sec-

ond Circuit, Burke reiterated that “[p]laintiff approves of the

merger and the price which Saatchi paid for the Company

(Burke brief on appeal at 39 n.16),” and pursued her attempt to

have much of Jacoby’s payment redistributed to other Class A

stockholders. A8&.

The Second Circuit affirmed the District Court’s grant of

summary judgment to Jacoby in all respects. After carefully

analyzing the District Court’s decision and the entire record,

the Second Circuit, in an opinion by Circuit Judge Amalya

Kearse, ruled that:

“The record thus contains no evidence whatever from

which a reasonable juror could conclude that any of the

alleged misrepresentations or omissions caused Burke any

loss. Accordingly, the District Court properly dismissed

the timely asserted securities claims for lack of evidence

of causation.”

A15 (emphasis supplied).

With respect to Burke’s claim that Jacoby breached his fidu-

ciary duty by accepting $40 million for his Class B shares, the

Second Circuit followed established New York statutory and

case law and affirmed the District Court’s ruling that appraisal

and an action for equitable relief are the only remedies avail-

able to a shareholder who is dissatisfied with a merger. Al5-

Al7.

The Second Circuit also affirmed the dismissal of each of

petitioner’s remaining claims, none of which are presented in

the Petition. As with petitioner’s allegations of federal secu-

rities fraud, the Second Circuit found that petitioner had pre-

sented no evidence to support essential elements needed for

those other claims. All, Al17-A18.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

The Petition does not identify a single special or important

reason for granting a Writ of Certiorari. It misrepresents the

record and the Second Circuit's findings in significant respects.

The Second Circuit’s affirmance of summary judgment in

respondent's favor adhered to this Court’s standards and did

not conflict with decisions of the other circuit courts. The Sec-

ond Circuit did not abuse its discretion when it applied settled

Statutory law, as construed by New York State’s highest appel-

late court, to affirm the District Court instead of certifying a

question to New York State’s Court of Appeals. There is no

basis or reason for this Court to exercise its supervisory power.

The Petition should be denied.

I. Petitioner’s inaccurate presentation of her case pro-

vides an independent basis for denying her Petition.

The Petition is replete with factual misrepresentations and

inaccuracies. Five glaring examples are illustrative:

1. Petitioner states that she brought her case as a class

action. Pet. at 1-2.° However, she fails to inform this

Court that she never sought to certify a class. Nonetheless,

petitioner criticizes the Second Circuit for focusing exclu-

sively on petitioner rather than on the shareholders as a

group. Pet. at 6-7. Without any evidence, she attempts to

trade on what other shareholders might have done (Pet. at

11), even though no other shareholder is a party.

2. Petitioner claims that respondent “surreptitiously”

awarded stock options to himself in 1982. Pet. at 2. The

record shows that Jacoby’s options were “authorized by a

shareholder resolution” in 1982 (A3), that Jacoby had told

the shareholders he would receive stock options, and that

petitioner “knew in 1982 that the stock option plan had

5 Citations to the Petition are in the form “Pet. at

9

been approved by the stockholders and that. . . Jacoby

had been awarded options.” A10.

3. Petitioner claims that Jacoby “concealed” the num-

ber of options he held. Pet. at 3. The record is directly

contrary. As the Second Circuit found: “[{Burke] has come

forward with no evidence of any form of concealment on

the part of Jacoby.” All.

4. Petitioner claims that “both [the District and Circuit]

Courts beiow acknowledged the materiality as well as the

falsity of the challenged statement and omissions.” Pet. at

9. The record clearly shows that neither the District Court

nor the Second Circuit made any finding of materiality

and that neither Court concluded that any statement was

false. Pet. at 39a; A13, Al8.

5. Petitioner claims that the redemption of Jacoby’s

Class B shares “contravened” the Stockholders Agreement

(Pet. at 2), but she does not inform the Court that the

Stockholders Agreement restricted the transfer of both the

Class A and Class B shares. She also fails to tell the Court

that, because of those restrictions, she and the other share-

holders voted to rescind the Stockholders Agreement, and

acknowledged that termination in writing, so they could

receive the huge premium over book value that Saatchi

offered. A4-AS5, Al7.

These inaccuracies and others that abound in the Petition are

an independent reason for dismissing the Petition pursuant to

Supreme Court Rule 14.5.

II. The Second Circuit’s decision conforms with this

Court’s applicable standards.

Properly stated, the first issue presented to the Court is

whether the Second Circuit followed this Court’s decisions

regarding summary judgment. The Second Circuit correctly

identified and applied the proper standards.

10

This Court has recognized that summary judgment is

appropriate when “the record taken as a whole could not

lead a rational trier of fact to find for the nonmoving party

.. . . Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986). Summary judgment is

required if the nonmoving party “fails to make a showing suf-

ficient to establish the existence of an element essential to that

party's case, and on which that party will bear the burden of

proof at trial.” Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322

(1986).

The Second Circuit correctly applied the standard for sum-

mary judgment when it affirmed the District Court’s dismissal

of petitioner’s claims for securities fraud because the record,

developed after exhaustive discovery, contains no evidence to

support a finding that an alleged misrepresentation or omission

caused any loss to petitioner. As the Second Circuit stated:

“The record thus contains no evidence whatever from

which a reasonable juror could conclude that any of the

alleged misrepresentations Or omissi3ns caused Burke any

loss. Accordingly, the district court pre nerly dismissed the

timely asserted securities claims for lack of evidence of

Causation.”

Al5.

The Second Circuit's decision is firmly rooted in the record

which, taken as a whole, shows that petitioner did not suffer

any loss as a result of the alleged misrepresentations or omis-

sions. There is no evidence to link Jacoby’s disclosure to an

identified loss. Rather, there are petitioner’s repeated affir-

mative statements, both in the District and Circuit Courts, that

she “approves of the merger” and is not “dissenting from” it.

A7, A8, Al4, Al7; Pet. at 39a. The record further shows that

petitioner received the exact per share amounts that Jacoby had

told her she would receive, the same amounts required by the

Acquisition Agreement. A4-AS.

11

Petitioner could not have received any larger amount unless

she first dissented from the merger, an action she has repeat-

edly rejected. As the Second Circuit stated:

“The record supports the district court’s view that Burke

had come forward with no evidence that the claimed mis-

representations or omissions caused her any injury, for

She concedes that, whatever importance she might have

placed on the undisclosed information, she would not have

performed the act that was necessary to obtain a better

price for her shares than she received, i.e., dissent from

the merger, either to impede its consummation or to obtain

an appraisal of her shares.”

A14 (emphasis supplied).

The Second Circuit cataloged petitioner’s many opportuni-

lies to provide some evidence linking the alleged misrepre-

sentations and omissions to some loss. Petitioner failed to

identify any such evidence.

“Burke had every opportunity in this litigation to state, if

she could do so in good faith, that she would have dis-

sented from the acquisition if she had known the facts she

contends were misrepresented or concealed. In addition to

the ordinary opportunity to present her case in Opposition

to Jacoby’s motion for summary judgment, she was

invited by the court at oral argument to represent, under

oath, if she could do so in good faith, that she would not

have sold her shares. In response, Burke’s affidavit stated

that she would have objected to ‘the allocation of the pro-

ceeds of the merger’; but she did not state that she would

have dissented, which would have required her to forgo

the large profit to be had on her own shares.”

A 14 (emphasis supplied).

The Petition perpetuates this failure. It merely speculates

that petitioner and the other Bates shareholders might have

“objected” to the redemption of the Class B shares, and some-

12

how forced Jacoby to distribute those monies to the share-

holders, if they had known that Lazard Freres’ opinion referred

to the $40 million paid to redeem the B shares as “reasonable

consideration” rather than as a “fair price.” Pet. at 11. How-

ever, petitioner has never identified any action that she might

have taken to restructure the merger or renegotiate some of its

terms. And petitioner has never provided any proof that such

action likely would have resulted in a re-allocation of the pro-

ceeds of the merger. Cf. Madison Consultants v. Federal

Deposit Insurance Corp., 710 F.2d 57, 64-65 & n.6 (2d Cir.

1983) (to prove causation, plaintiff must identify an available

means of protection and show that, had he pursued such means,

he would have succeeded).

Petitioner had a single investment decision: to approve the

merger and receive a huge premium for her shares or to dissent

from it—an option she has expressly rejected. A7, A8, Al4.

Moreover, what other sharcholders might have done is irrele-

vant. Petitioner was the only plaintiff. No class was ever cer-

tified.

Ignoring this Court’s summary judgment standards and

unable to point to any evidence that the Second Circuit over-

looked, petitioner claims that the Second Circuit failed to fol-

low Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406 U.S. 128

(1972). See Pet. at 8-9. To the contrary, the Second Circuit

cited, quoted and correctly applied Affiliated Ute. Al2-A13.

The Second Circuit’s analysis of petitioner’s allegations of

securities fraud first identified the elements of a claim:

“{A] plaintiff must show, inter alia, that the defendant,

with scienter, made a misrepresentation of material fact or

failed to disclose a material fact, and that the plaintiff

relied on the misrepresentation or omission and suffered

a loss as a result of the misrepresentation or omission.”

All.

13

The Second Circuit noted that courts sometimes refer to the

reliance element as “transaction causation” and the Causation

clement as “loss causation.” Al1l-Al2. Proof of reliance

requires a showing that the alleged misrepresentations or omis-

sions caused the plaintiff to engage in the transaction; proof of

loss Causation requires a showing that the alleged misrepre-

sentations or omissions caused economic harm to the plaintiff.°

See, e.g., Bennett v. United States Trust Co.. 770 F.2d 308, 313

(2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1058 (1986).

The Second Circuit then recognized that, under Affiliated

Ute, when omissions are claimed, a plaintiff’s proof of mate-

riality Creates a presumption that can Satisfy plaintiff’s burden

of proving reliance. Al2-13.

However, since the record contained “no evidence whatever”

that petitioner suffered a loss due to a misrepresentation or

omission, the Second Circuit recognized that there was no

proof of the essential element of ioss causation. Thus, the

Court concluded that any questions of fact which might exist

with respect to materiality or reliance become irrelevant to

deciding the summary judgment motion:

6 The Second Circuit has frequently used this analysis in deciding

securities fraud claims. See, e.g., Wilson v. Ruffa & Hanover, 844 F.2d 81, 85

(2d Cir. 1988), aff'd on rehearing sub nom. Wilson v. Saintine Exploration

& Drilling Corp., 872 F.2d 1124 (2d Cir. 1989); Bennett v. United States

Trust Co., 770 F.2d 308, 313 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1058

(1986). Other circuits have adopted this analysis. No circuit court has rejected

it. See, e.g., Carlton v. Franklin, 911 F.2d 721 (4th Cir. 1990) (unpublished

decision reported at 1990 U.S. App. LEXIS 12946); Huddleston v. Herman

& MacLean, 640 F.2d 534, 549 & n.24 (Sth Cir. Unit A 1981), aff'd in part,

rev'd in part on other grounds, 459 U.S. 375 (1983); LHLC Corp. v. Cluett,

Peabody & Co., Inc., 842 F.2d 928, 931 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 926

(1988); Arthur Young & Co. v. Reves, 937 F.2d 1310, 1327-28 (8th Cir.

1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 1165 (1992); McGonigle v. Combs, 968 F.2d

810, 820-21 (9th Cir.), cert. dismissed sub nom. Casares v. Spendthrift Farm,

Inc., 113 S. Ct. 399 (1992): Currie v. Cayman Resources Corp., 835 F.2d 780,

785 (11th Cir. 1988).

14

“{QJuestions of materiality and reliance are not issues of

material fact in the context of the summary judgment

granted in the present case because, as we read the district

court’s opinion, the court dismissed Burke’s federal secu-

rities claims—whether based on affirmative misrepre-

sentation or omission—for lack of proof of loss

Causation.”

A13-A14 (citations omitted).

The Second Circuit followed this Court’s summary judgment

standards, Stating that:

“If the undisputed facts reveal that there is an absence of

sufficient proof as to one essential element of the claim,

any factual disputes with respect to other elements of the

claim become immaterial and cannot defeat a motion for

summary judgment.”

Al3.

In this Court’s own words:

“In such a situation, there can be ‘no genuine issue as to

any material fact,’ since a complete failure of proof con-

cerning an essential element of the nonmoving party’s

case necessarily renders all other facts immaterial.”

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. at 322-23.

Faced with petitioner’s repeated statements to the District

and Circuit Courts that she “approves of the merger” and, even

today, is not “dissenting from” it (A7, A8), no reasonable juror

could conclude that any alleged misrepresentation or omission

caused petitioner any loss. The Second Circuit properly

affirmed the District Court’s grant of summary judgment in

Jacoby’s favor.

15

III. There is no basis for this Court to exercise its power of

supervision to require the Second Circuit to certify a

question of settled law to the New York State Court of

Appeals.

The Second Circuit applied the plain language of the New

York Business Corporation Law (BCL) § 623(k) and case law

established by New York’s highest court to affirm the District

Court’s dismissal of petitioner’s state-law claim of breach of

fiduciary duty. Al15-A17. There was no reason for the Circuit

Court to certify any question to the New York State Court of

Appeals because there was no unsettled issue of state law.

The New York State Court of Appeals permits certification

only when there is no controlling state law precedent:

“Whenever it appears to the Supreme Court of the United

States, any United States Court of Appeals, or a court of

last resort of any other state that determinative questions

of New York law are involved in a cause pending before

it for which there is no controlling precedent of the Court

of Appeals, such court may certify the dispositive ques-

tions of law to the Court of Appeals.”

New York Rules of Court § 500.17(a) (emphasis supplied). See

also Rules of the United States Court of Appeals for the Sec-

ond Circuit § 0.27 (certification limited to “unsettled” ques-

tions of state law).

In this case, the Second Circuit applied settled state law. The

Circuit Court recognized that, under established New York law,

an appraisal proceeding and an “appropriate action” are the

exclusive remedies available to a shareholder who is dissatis-

fied with the payment offered for her shares ina merger. AlS.

Under New York law, an “appropriate action” within the mean-

ing of BCL § 623(k) is one seeking equitable relief. A15 (cit-

ing Walter J. Schloss Associates v. Arkwin Industries, Inc., 61

N.Y.2d 700, 472 N.Y.S.2d 605 (1984) (adopting dissenting

opinion of Mangano, J., in the Appellate Division as the New

16

York State Court of Appeals’ opinion (90 A.D.2d at 153-62,

455 N.Y.S.2d at 847-52)) (Schloss); Breed v. Barton, 54 N.Y.2d

82, 444 N.Y.S.2d 609 (1981)). See also Cawley v. SCM Corp.,

72 N.Y.2d 465, 471, 534 N.Y.S.2d 344, 347 (1988); Alpert v. 28

Williams St. Corp., 63 N.Y.2d 557, 568, 483 N.Y.S.2d 667, 673

(1984). A claim for money damages is barred unless it is made

“ancillary to a grant of traditionally equitable relief.” A16 (cit-

ing Schloss, 90 A.D.2d at 160, 455 N.Y.S.2d at 851).

Petitioner never sought equitable relief or appraisal. To pur-

sue those remedies in the hope of getting more money, peti-

tioner would have had to forego the huge premium Saatchi

agreed to pay for her shares. Instead, petitioner sought only

money damages. As the Second Circuit concluded, BCL

§ 623(k) and Schloss preclude such an action:

“An action for damages alone will not lie, since this

would allow a dissenting shareholder, by merely alleging

fraudulent or unlawful corporate conduct, to seek therein

the identical relief available to him in appraisal pro-

ceedings. . . . Consequently, an action for damages by a

minority shareholder based on the fraudulent or illegal

corporate conduct of the majority in discharging its fidu-

ciary duty would be unnecessarily duplicative.”

A16 (quoting Schloss, 90 A.D.2d at 161, 455 N.Y.S.2d at 851)

(emphasis supplied).

Petitioner’s complaint that she did not receive notice of her

appraisal right is a red herring. Petitioner has always insisted

that she “approves of the merger” and is not “dissenting from”

it. A7, A8, Al4. Petitioner’s own claims moot both the notice

and appraisal issues. In any event, New York law is clear. Inad-

equate notice does not create a claim for money damages. It

merely preserves a right to appraisal. See, e.g., BCL § 623(a);

Carroll v. Seacroft, Ltd., 141 A.D.2d 726, 727-28, 529

N.Y.S.2d 829, 830 (2d Dep’t 1988); Rank Organization Ltd. v.

Pathe Laboratories, Inc., 33 Misc. 2d 748, 753-54, 227

N.Y.S.2d 562, 567-68 (Sup. Ct. N.Y. County 1962).

17

This Court has acknowledged that certification of a question

to a state Court is a matter of discretion:

“We do not suggest that where there is doubt as to local

law and where the certification procedure is available,

resort to it is obligatory. . . . Its use ina given Case rests

in the sound discretion of the federal court.”

Lehman Brothers v. Schein, 416 U.S. 386, 390-9] (1974). A

federal court’s refusal to certify a question to a state court

Should not be disturbed unless there is a clear abuse ot dis-

cretion. See, e.g., Johnson v. John Deere Co., 935 F.2d 151,

154 (8th Cir. 1991): Federal Deposit Insurance Corp. v. Ponce,

904 F.2d 740, 746 (1st Cir. 1990). Even petitioner does not

claim that the Second Circuit abused its discretion, but only

that the Second Circuit’s decision not to seek Certification was

“dubious.” Pet. at 15.

The Second Circuit’s decision not to certify a question in

connection with settled issues of New York State law was well

within its discretion. Petitioner has no basis to invoke the exer-

cise of this Court’s power of Supervision.

18

CONCLUSION

The Second Circuit's decision adheres to decisions of this

Court. It does not conflict with decisions of other circuit courts.

There is no basis or reason for this Court to exercise its power

of supervision. The Petition should be denied in all respects.

Dated: New York, New York

April 12, 1993

Respectfully submitted,

JOHN HARTJE*

A. KAIPER WILSON

ROBERT S. SHWARTS

KRONISH, LIEB, WEINER & ;

HELLMAN

1345 Avenue of the Amencas

New York, New York 10105-0202

(212) 841-6000

Attorneys for Respondent

Robert E. Jacoby

*Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

Al

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

~~

No. 1063—August Term, 1991

(Argued: March 4, 1992 Decided: December 29, 1992)

Docket No. 91-9148

as

JEAN LORELLE BURKE,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

—vV.— o

ROBERT E. JACOBY,

Defendant-Appellee.

Before:

KEARSE and ALTIMARI, Circuit Judges,

and TELESCA, Chief Judge”.

+

Appeal from a judgment of the United States District Court

for the Southern District of New York, Miriam Goldman

.

Honorable Michael A. Telesca, Chief Judge of the United States District

Court for the Western District of New York, sitting by designation.

7953

A2

Cedarbaum, Judge, dismissing complaint charging federal

securities fraud and state law violations.

Affirmed.

o

RICHARD M. MEYER, New York, New York

(Lee S. Shalov, Milberg Weiss Bershad

Specthrie & Lerach, New York, New York,

on the brief), for Plaintiff-Appellant.

JOHN HARTIJE, New York, New York (A. Kaiper

Wilson, Robert S. Shwarts, Kronish, Lieb,

Weiner & Hellman, New York, New York,

on the brief), for Defendant-Appellee.

a

KEARSE, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff Jean Lorelle Burke, a former employee and

stockholder of Ted Bates Worldwide, Inc. (“Bates” or the

“Company”), appeals from a final judgment of the United

States District Court for the Southern District of New York,

Miriam Goldman Cedarbaum, Judge, dismissing her com-

plaint for damages against defendant Robert E. Jacoby under

§ 10(b) of the Securities and Exchange Act of 1934 (“1934

Act”), 15 U.S.C. § 78j(b) (1988), Rule 10b-5 promulgated

thereunder, 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5 (1992), and state law, al-

leging misrepresentations, omissions, breach of contract, and

breaches of fiduciary duty in connection with the acquisition

of Bates by another company. The district court granted

Summary judgment dismissing the complaint principally on

the grounds (1) that certain of the alleged omissions con-

cerned facts already known by Burke, (2) that Burke failed to

7954

EEE

A3

come forward with evidence that she had relied on the alleged

misrepresentations or omissions or that they had caused her

claimed loss, and (3) that certain of her claims were barred by

the statute of limitations. On appeal, Burke contends, inter

alia, that the district court applied erroneous legal standards

of reliance and causation in assessing her federal securities

claims and that partial summary judgment should have been

entered in her favor on the breach-of-contract claim. She also

argues that the district court’s statute-of-limitations ruling

with respect to one of the federal securities claims must be set

aside in light of a recent amendment to the 1934 Act. For the

reasons below, we reject her contentions and affirm the

judgment of the district court.

I. BACKGROUND

A. The Bates-Saatchi Merger

Prior to August 1986, Bates was an employee-owned ad-

vertising company. Jacoby was its president, chairman, and

chief executive officer, as well as its controlling stockholder.

Bates had two classes of stock. Class A was issued to key ex-

ecutives of the Company. A “Stockholders Agreement” lim-

ited the transferability of such stock, permitting its resale only

to the Company, or to designated employees, at a price

calculated principally by dividing the Company’s net asset

value by the number of Class A shares outstanding. Burke

owned 700 shares of the Class A stock. Jacoby owned 27,750

Class A shares; in addition, as authorized by a shareholder

resolution adopted in 1982, he had options covering 80,000

Class A shares.

All of the Bates Class B stock, of which there were 30,000

Shares, was owned by Jacoby. The Stockholders Agreement

also restricted transfer of the Class B stock, the repurchase

price of which was fixed at $.50 per share. Under the certifi-

7955

A4

cate of incorporation, each Class A share, of which fewer than

500,000 were outstanding, had one vote; each of the 30,000

Class B shares had 50 votes. Thus, Jacoby, with more than

1,500,000 votes, had voting control of the Company.

In August 1986, Bates was acquired by Saatchi & Saatchi

Company, PLC (“Saatchi”). The Acquisition Agreement, ap-

proved by the Bates stockholders in May 1986, principally (1)

required Bates prior to the closing (a) to redeem 22,788 Class

A shares for $17.4 million, and (b) to redeem Jacoby’s 30,000

Class B shares for $40 million; (2) allowed Bates prior to the

closing to sell some 30,000 Class A shares to approximately

20 employees; and (3) required Saatchi to pay a total of $450

million in cash to persons who, at the time of the closing, held

Class A shares or options. Each holder of Class A stock was

to receive $765.3953 per share upon completion of the

acquisition, plus $87.6286 per share two years later, for a

total of approximately $853 per share. Holders of stock

options were to receive the same price per share, minus the

exercise price of the option. The Acquisition Agreement also

provided appraisal rights for stockholders who dissented.

At the May 1986 stockholders’ meeting, Jacoby spelled out

the above terms, noting that, absent the acquisition, the book

value of the Class A stock at the end of the fiscal year would

be $390 per share. When he announced the acquisition price

of approximately $853 per Class A share, the stockholders,

including Burke, applauded. As to the Class B stock

repurchase, Jacoby stated, “We have had a separate outside

investigation by a respected investment banking house,

Lazard Freres, and they have stated that the price to be paid

for Class B shares which will be redeemed at or prior to

closing for $40,000,000 is a fair one.” The shareholders,

including Burke, approved the proposed Saatchi transaction.

They also unanimously approved a resolution terminating the

7956

AS

Stockholders Agreement, effective upon consummation of the

acquisition.

Pursuant to the Acquisition Agreement, Jacoby received a

total of $112.6 million, consisting of the $40 million for his

30,000 Class B shares, $23.6 million for his 27,750 Class A

shares, and $49 million for his Class A stock options. For her

700 shares, Burke received the per-share amounts specified

by Jacoby in the May 1986 stockholders’ meeting presenta-

tion. In her letter transmitting her stock to Saatchi, Burke ac-

knowledged that the Stockholders Agreement restricting

transferability of the stock was rescinded concurrently with

the consummation of the acquisition.

B. The Present Lawsuit

In March 1989, Burke commenced the present action for

damages, alleging that Jacoby had misrepresented or failed to

disclose certain material facts in connection with the Saatchi

acquisition. The complaint alleged principally (a) that Jacoby

had failed to disclose in 1982 that he would receive options

on the Class A shares; (b) that Jacoby had failed to disclose in

May 1986 that, while negotiating with Saatchi, Bates had

received a competing offer that Jacoby summarily rejected;

(c) that Jacoby had failed to disclose in May 1986 how many

Class A stock options he held; and (d) that Jacoby had mis-

represented the investment banker’s opinion of the price for

the Class B shares, stating that the banker had termed the

price “fair,” when in fact the banker had said that the price

was “reasonable.” The complaint also alleged, inter alia, that

Jacoby breached his fiduciary duty (a) by accepting $40 mil-

lion for his 30,000 Class B shares as, in essence, a “control

premium,” and (b) by having Bates sell a total of 3,500 Class

A shares to two employees who were not executives but sec-

retaries. Burke sought damages and an “accounting” of

Jacoby’s profits from the Saatchi transaction.

7957

A6

Following a period of discovery, Burke moved for partial

Summary judgment principally on the ground that Jacoby’s

receipt of $40 million for his Class B shares breached the

Stockholders Agreement. Jacoby cross-moved for summary

judgment dismissing the entire complaint on the grounds,

inter alia, that Burke could not show that any of the alleged

misrepresentations or omissions had been relied on or had

caused her injury, and that she was not entitled to damages on

any of her state-law claims.

After receiving voluminous papers and hearing oral argu-

ment, and after inviting and receiving a postargument affi-

davit from Burke, the district court granted Jacoby’s motion

for summary judgment and denied Burke’s motion. In a

Memorandum Opinion and Order dated October 10, 1991

(“Opinion’’), the court ruled that insofar as Burke’s securities

claims rested on events that occurred in 1982, they were

barred by the one year/three year statute of limitations

adopted in Ceres Partners v. GEL Associates, 918 F.2d 349

(2d Cir. 1990) (one year from discovery, but not more than

three years from occurrence), and Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind,

Prupis & Petigrow v. Gilbertson, 111 S. Ct. 2773 (1991)

(same), and made retroactive by James B. Beam Distilling Co.

v. Georgia, 111 S. Ct. 2439 (1991). As set forth below, the

court dismissed the remaining securities claims on the ground

that Burke had not come forward with evidence of reliance or

Causation, noting that Burke “does not assert that she would

have voted against the merger even if she had been aware of

the extent of [Jacoby]’s self-dealing, and even now, she does

not wish to undo the merger.” Opinion at 2.

As to the claim based on Jacoby’s statement that the

investment banker had said that $40 million was a “fair,” in-

stead of a “reasonable,” price for the Class B stock, the court

stated that Burke failed to show that the “misrepresentation

complained of was at least a ‘but for’ cause of the transaction

7958

EV

A7

in question,” Opinion at 12, and that there was “no evidence

of loss causation,” noting as follows:

At the oral argument of this motion, I invited Burke’s

counsel to submit evidence, in the form of an affidavit

from Burke, that she relied upon Jacoby’s description of

Lazard’s opinion in deciding to sell her shares. (See

Hearing Tr. at 19-20.) In response, Burke submitted an

affidavit stating only: “Had I known of the falsity of that

representation, I would have objected to the allocation of

the proceeds of the merger on the terms then set forth.”

She does not state that she would have dissented from

the merger. Thus, since there is no evidence of loss

Causation, an essential element of a claim of fraud in

connection with the purchase or sale of securities,

Jacoby’s motion for summary judgment on this part of

the Section 10(b) claim is granted.

Opinion at 12. As to the claimed omissions, the court ob-

served that Burke

has never stated that she would have voted against the

merger even if she had been apprised of Jacoby’s option

holdings or potential profit on them, despite my invita-

tion for her to do so. (See Hearing Tr. at 19-20; Burke

Aff.) On the contrary, she has maintained the position

that the total sale price was an “excellent” one (P. Mem.

in Opp’n to Summ. J. at 1) and that she is not

“ “dissenting from’ ” the merger (id. at 54).

Opinion at 14-15; see id. at 17 (as to the third-party offer to

buy the Bates stock, “[a]gain . . . plaintiff has made no

showing that she would have voted against the merger had

She been in possession of the information” and hence “has

failed to make the requisite showing of loss causation”). The

court noted that a § 10(b) plaintiff “must establish that the

7959

A8

misrepresentations complained of caused the injury suffered,”

Opinion at 15, and concluded that

although there may be a genuine issue of material fact as

to whether the omission plaintiff complains of was ma-

terial and misleading, there is no evidence that it affected

her vote or her desire to sell her shares. Thus, the

misrepresentation cannot be said to have caused the al-

leged injury.

Id.

The court also ruled, inter alia, that since Burke disavowed

any desire to rescind the transaction, not wishing to forgo

what she had received in the transaction, she was not entitled

to challenge that part of the transaction that resulted in the

payment to Jacoby for his Class B shares.

Judgment was entered dismissing the complaint, and this

appeal followed.

II. DISCUSSION

On appeal, Burke, stating that “[p]lainuff approves of the

merger and the price which Saatchi paid for the Company”

(Burke brief on appeal at 39 n.16), pursues her attempt to

have much of the payment received by Jacoby redistributed to

other Class A stockholders. She contends principally that, in

light of an amendment to the 1934 Act, her securities claim

based on the 1982 stock options is not barred by the statute of

limitations; that the district court applied erroneous legal

standards of reliance and causation to her other federal

securities Claims; that the court erred in ruling that statutory

appraisal was her only remedy for the claim that Jacoby

breached his fiduciary duty to Bates shareholders by receiving

$40 million for his 30,000 Class B shares; and that the court

erred in not ruling that as a matter of law the $40 million

7960

a

A9

payment to Jacoby for his Class B shares breached the

Stockholders Agreement. For the reasons below, we find no

basis for reversal.

A. The Statute of Limitations on the 1982 Nondisclosure

Claim

Burke contends that notwithstanding the one year/three

year limitations period for claims under Rule 10b-5 estab-

lished by Ceres Partners v. GEL Associates, 918 F.2d 349

(“Ceres”), and Lampf, Pleva, Lipkind, Prupis & Petigrow vy.

Gilbertson, 111 S. Ct. 2773, and the ruling in James B. Beam

Distilling Co. v. Georgia, 111 S. Ct. 2439, requiring that the

one year/three year rule be applied retroactively, her claims

based on 1982 events have been revived by the recently en-

acted § 27A of the 1934 Act, 15 U.S.C.A. § 78aa-1 (West

Supp. 1992), which modifies the retroactivity of the one

year/three year rule. Her reliance on § 27A is misplaced.

Section 27A(b) provides that the limitation period for a

claim under § 10(b) or Rule 10b-5

commenced on or before June 19, 1991 — (1) which was

dismissed as time barred subsequent to June 19, 1991,

and (2) which would have been timely filed under the

limitation period provided by the laws applicable in the

jurisdiction, including principles of retroactivity, as such

laws existed on June 19, 1991, shall be reinstated on

motion by the plaintiff.

15 U.S.C.A. § 78aa-1(b) (West Supp. 1992) (emphasis

added). As indicated by the language emphasized, this section

does not authorize reinstatement of a claim that would have

been time-barred under the principles applicable on June 19,

1991. Leaving aside the question of whether, in light of

§ 27A(b), the Ceres rule, adopted by this Court prior to June

19, 1991, is to have retroactive application to claims filed

7961

Al0

prior to the Ceres decision, see Henley v. Slone, 961 F.2d 23,

25-26 (2d Cir. 1992), that section affords Burke no relief, for

her claim was time-barred even under pre-Ceres precedent.

See generally Grondahl v. Merritt & Harris, Inc., 964 F.2d

1290, 1292-93 (2d Cir. 1992) (no need to analyze

applicability of Ceres if claim would also have been barred

under pre-Ceres rule).

Prior to Ceres, a Rule 10b-5 action that accrued in New

York and was brought in a district court within New York

was time-barred in this Circuit if not brought “within six

years from the time the cause of action accrued or within two

years from the time the wrongdoing was, or with reasonable

diligence should have been, discovered.” Armstrong v.

McAlpin, 699 F.2d 79, 87 (2d Cir. 1983); see also Stull v.

Bayard, 561 F.2d 429, 431-32 (2d Cir. 1977), cert. denied,

434 U.S. 1035 (1978). Here Jacoby’s allegedly wrongful ac-

quisition of stock options occurred in May 1982. The issuance

of such options was approved at the 1982 annual meeting of

stockholders, and Jacoby disclosed at that meeting that he was

one of the employees who would receive options pursuant to

the plan. Though Burke claims that she did not know in 1986

how many options Jacoby held, she does not dispute that she

knew in 1982 that the stock option plan had been approved by

the stockholders and that she knew in 1982 that Jacoby had

been awarded options. The claim in the present action that

Jacoby violated the securities laws in 1982 by not informing

stockholders prior to their approval of the stock option plan

that he intended to award himself 80,000 shares was not

asserted until 1989, more than six years after the options were

issued and more than six years after Burke knew that some

options had been awarded. Thus Burke’s claim would have

been untimely even prior to the adoption of the one year/three

year limitations period in Ceres. Accordingly, even if Ceres

were not to be applied retroactively to claims pending at the

7962

All

time of its decision, § 27A(b) does not authorize

reinstatement of Burke’s claim.

Burke’s contention that even the six-year limitations period

Should not bar her claim because of principles of equitable

estoppel has no merit. The record plainly reveals that Burke

had sufficient facts to inquire, if she had been interested, into

precisely how many shares were optioned to Jacoby, and she

has come forward with no evidence of any form of

concealment on the part of Jacoby.

B. Reliance and Causation

In her challenge to the dismissal of the remaining securities

claims, Burke contends that the district court, in finding

dispositive her failure to show that she would have dissented

from the acquisition had she had full knowledge of the facts,

applied erroneous standards of reliance and causation. Even if

we interpreted the district court’s opinion as imposing an

improper standard of reliance with respect to Burke’s claims

of misleading omissions, the court’s standard of causation

was Clearly proper, and hence we see no basis for reversal.

Rule 10b-5 makes it unlawful, in pertinent part, “[t]o make

any untrue statement of a material fact or to omit to state a

material fact necessary in order to make the statements made,

in the light of the circumstances under which they were made,

not misleading, . . . in connection with the purchase or sale of

any security.” 17 C.F.R. § 240.10b-5. In order to prove a

claim under § 10(b) or Rule 10b-5, a plaintiff must show,

inter alia, that the defendant, with scienter, made a

misrepresentation of material fact or failed to disclose a ma-

terial fact, and that the plaintiff relied on the misrepresenta-

tion or omission and suffered a loss as a result of the misrep-

resentation or omission. See, e.g., Bloor v. Carro, Spanbock,

Londin, Rodman & Fass, 754 F.2d 57, 61 (2d Cir. 1985). The

reliance element of the claim is sometimes referred to as

7963

Al2

“transaction causation,” and the causation element is some-

times referred to as “loss causation.” See, e.g., Litton Indus-

tries, Inc. v. Lehman Brothers Kuhn Loeb Inc., 967 F.2d 742,

747 (2d Cir. 1992); Bennett v. United States Trust Co., 770

F.2d 308, 313 (2d Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1058

(1986). The two concepts are closely allied, for there gener-

ally is no causation without reliance. There can, however, be

reliance without causation.

A plaintiff’s burden with respect to the reliance element of

a Rule 10b-5 claim may vary depending on whether the claim

alleges fraudulent representations or fraudulent omissions. In

connection with a claim that the defendant has affirmatively

made false statements, plaintiff must demonstrate that he or

she relied on the misrepresentation when entering the

transaction that caused him or her economic harm. See, é.g.,

Wilson v. Ruffa & Hanover, P.C., 844 F.2d 81, 86 (2d Cir.

1988), aff d on reh’g sub nom. Wilson v. Saintine Exploration

& Drilling Corp., 872 F.2d 1124 (2d Cir. 1989); Schlick v.

Penn-Dixie Cement Corp., 507 F.2d 374, 380 (2d Cir. 1974),

cert. denied, 421 U.S. 976 (1975). In connection with a claim

of material omission, however, “positive proof of reliance is

not a prerequisite to recovery. All that is necessary is that the

facts withheld be material in the sense that a reasonable

investor might have considered them important in the making

of this decision.” Affiliated Ute Citizens v. United States, 406

U.S. 128, 153-54 (1972); see also duPont v. Brady, 828 F.2d

75, 78 (2d Cir. 1987) (“ ‘in instances of total non-disclosure,

. . . it is of course impossible to demonstrate reliance’ ”)

(quoting Titan Group, Inc. v. Faggen, 513 F.2d 234, 239 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 840 (1975)). Thus, “once the

plaintiff establishes the materiality of the omission by a

preponderance of the evidence, the burden shifts to the

defendant to establish also by a preponderance of the evi-

dence that the plaintiff did not rely on the omission in making

7964

Al3

the investment decision.” duPont v. Brady, 828 F.2d at 76:

see also Litton Industries, Inc. v. Lehman Brothers Kuhn Loeb

Inc., 967 F.2d at 748.

Summary judgment should be granted only if there is no

genuine issue as to any material fact. Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c). In

order to obtain that relief, the moving party need not prove

that his opponent’s case is wholly frivolous. When a defen-

dant has moved for summary judgment on the ground that

undisputed facts reveal that the plaintiff cannot establish an

essenual element of the claim, on which element the plaintiff

has the burden of proof, and the plaintiff has failed to come

forth with evidence sufficient to permit a reasonable juror to

return a verdict in his or her favor on that element, summary

judgment should be granted. See, e.g., Celotex Corp. v.

Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 322 (1986); Anderson v. Liberty

Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 248-49 (1986). If the undisputed

facts reveal that there is an absence of sufficient proof as to

one essential element of the claim, any factual disputes with

respect to other elements of the claim become immaterial and

cannot defeat a motion for summary judgment. See, e.g.,

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. at 322-23; Knight v. U.S.

Fire Insurance Co., 804 F.2d 9, 11-12 (2d Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 932 (1987); Quarles v. General Motors

Corp., 758 F.2d 839, 840 (2d Cir. 1985) (per curiam).

In the present case, there may be, as the district court noted,

questions of fact as to whether the alleged omissions were

material, or whether the description of the Lazard Fréres

opinion was a material misrepresentation, in the sense that

reasonable stockholders might have considered the accurate

information important to their decisions as to whether or not

to vote for the acquisition. And it may be, as to the claims of

omissions, that the undisclosed information was material,

thereby prima facie establishing reliance. But these questions

of materiality and reliance are not issues of material fact in

7965

Al4

the context of the summary judgment granted in the present

case because, as we read the district court’s opinion, the court

dismissed Burke’s federal securities claims—whether based

on affirmative misrepresentation or omission—for lack of

proof of loss causation. See Opinion at 12, 15, 17.

The record supports the district court’s view that Burke had

come forward with no evidence that the claimed misrep-

resentations or omissions caused her any injury, for she con-

cedes that, whatever importance she might have placed on the

undisclosed information, she would not have performed the

act that was necessary to obtain a better price for her shares

than she received, i.e., dissent from the merger, either to

impede its consummation or to obtain an appraisal of her

shares. Burke had every opportunity in this litigation to state,

if she could do so in good faith, that she would have dissented

from the acquisition if she had known the facts she contends

were misrepresented or concealed. In addition to the ordinary

opportunity to present her case in opposition to Jacoby’s

motion for summary judgment, she was invited by the court at

oral argument to represent, under oath, if she could do so in

good faith, that she would not have sold her shares. In

response, Burke’s affidavit stated that she would have

objected to “the allocation of the proceeds of the merger’; but

she did not state that she would have dissented, which would

have required her to forgo the large profit to be had on her

own shares. At no point did Burke suggest that she would

have voted against the acquisition had she known any or all of

the facts she claims were not disclosed to her. In the district

court, she termed the purchase price “‘in all respects fair and

adequate” (Plaintiff's Memorandum in Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment at 54); and in

this Court, as noted above, she stated that she still approves of

the merger.

7966

—_

Al5

The record thus contains no evidence whatever from which

a reasonable juror could conclude that any of the alleged mis-

representations or omissions caused Burke any loss. Accord-

ingly, the district court properly dismissed the timely asserted

securities claims for lack of evidence of causation.

C. The Challenge to the Payment for the Class B Shares

Burke contends that the district court erred in ruling that

her remedies for the claim that Jacoby breached his fiduciary

duty to Bates shareholders by accepting $40 million for his

30,000 Class B shares were limited to her statutory appraisal

right or equitable relief. We disagree.

In ruling that Burke was limited to her appraisal rights, the

district court relied on § 623(k) of the New York Business

Corporation Law, which provided that

[t]he enforcement by a shareholder of his right to receive

payment for his shares in the manner provided herein

[i.e., by an appraisal proceeding] shall exclude the

enforcement by such shareholder of any other right to

which he might otherwise be entitled by virtue of share

ownership, . . . except that this section shall not exclude

the right of such shareholder to bring or maintain an

appropriate action to obtain relief on the ground that

such corporate action will be or is unlawful or fraudulent

as to him.

New York Bus. Corp. Law § 623(k) (McKinney 1986). An

“appropriate action” within the meaning of § 623(k) is an ac-

tion seeking equitable relief, and that type of action and the

exercise of the right of appraisal are the dissatisfied stock-

holder’s only avenues of relief. See Walter J. Schloss Asso-

ciates v. Arkwin Industries, Inc., 61 N.Y.2d 700, 472

N.Y.S.2d 605 (1984) (adopting dissenting opinion of Man-

gano, J., at the Appellate Division as Court of Appeals opin-

7967

Al6

ion), rev'g 90 A.D.2d 149, 455 N.Y.S.2d 844 (2d Dep’t 1982)

(“Schloss”); Breed v. Barton, 54 N.Y.2d 82, 444 N.Y.S.2d

609 (1981). Money damages are not available except as

“ancillary to a grant of traditionally equitable relief.” Schloss,

90 A.D.2d at 160, 455 N.Y.S.2d at 851. As the Schloss court

explained:

An action for damages alone will not lie, since this

would allow a dissenting shareholder, by merely alleging

fraudulent or unlawful corporate conduct, to seek therein

the identical relief available to him in appraisal

proceedings. For example, where, as here, there is “a

forced liquidation or sale of the minority shareholders’

stock incident to a merger” . . . the full and proper

monetary recovery of the fair value of the dissenters’

shares may be obtained in appraisal proceedings in

which the discharge of the majority’s fiduciary duty to

the minority can be weighed in determining fair value

.... Consequently, an action for damages by a minority

shareholder based on the fraudulent or illegal corporate

conduct of the majority in discharging its fiduciary duty

would be unnecessarily duplicative.

Id. at 161, 455 N.Y.S.2d at 851 (footnote omitted). The

equitable relief to which an award of damages could be ancil-

lary means relief other than a so-called request for an ac-

counting that is merely a request for damages in another form.

See id. at 162 n.6, 455 N.Y.S.2d at 852 n.6 (“The complaint

does not seek to have defendant . . . account to plaintiff as

representative of the premerger corporation but appears to

request an accounting and payment of improperly withheld

funds by [defendant] to plaintiff in its individual capacity,

revealing plaintiff’s real, and, in fact stated, intent, i.e., to

obtain damages.”’).

7968

Al7

Burke’s complaint requested compensatory and punitive

damages, together with an accounting that the district court

properly viewed as essentially a request for damages. Burke

made no attempt to obtain traditionally equitable relief such

as a rescission of the merger. As indicated above, she took the

position in the district court that the purchase price was “‘in all

respects fair and adequate,” and that she was not “dissenting”

from the merger. (Plaintiff's Memorandum in Opposition to

Defendant’s Motion for Summary Judgment at 54.) Her

request for an “accounting,” like the request in Schloss, was

not for equitable relief from Jacoby as to funds belonging to

the Company but rather sought funds he received in his

individual capacity. Schloss forecloses that relief.

Accordingly, we affirm the district court’s dismissal of

Burke's state-law breach-of-fiduciary-duty claim concerning

the redemption of Jacoby’s Class B stock.

D. Other Arguments

Burke's other challenges to the dismissal of her complaint

do not require extended discussion. Her breach-of-contract

claim, on which she contends the court should have granted

summary judgment in her favor, was properly rejected as a

matter of law. That claim relied on the Stockholders Agree-

ment. The stockholders, however, in voting to approve the

Saatchi acquisition, explicitly voted to rescind the Stockhold-

ers Agreement to coincide with the acquisition. Further, each

Class A stockholder, including Burke, acknowledged the

termination of the Stockholders Agreement in transmitting his

or her Class A shares to consummate the acquisition. Since

Burke has disavowed any desire to rescind or dissent from the

acquisition, the Stockholders Agreement affords her no basis

for a claim.

Burke’s complaint that Class A stock was improperly is-

sued to two of Bates’s secretaries, who were not “key execu-

7969

Al8

tive employees” entitled to such stock was also properly

dismissed. A schedule attached to that Agreement listed the

two secretaries and the other employees who were to receive

Class A shares prior to the closing; we see no indication in the

record that if any of the authorized Class A shares had not

been issued to the persons listed in the schedule, they were to

be issued to others such as Burke. Further, the Acquisition

Agreement specified, to the hundredth of a cent, the price to

be paid to stockholders for each Class A share; we see no

indication that if any of the authorized shares were not issued

in accordance with the schedule, the price paid for the already

issued shares was to be increased. Burke presented no

evidence from which an inference could be drawn that had

she been notified of the sales, or had they not been made, she

would have received a greater price per share. Thus, we up-

hold the district court’s rulings that the issuance of shares to

the secretaries was not material to Burke’s vote on the

‘merger, was not material to the surrender of her stock, and did

not cause her any injury.

CONCLUSION

We have considered all of Burke’s arguments on this ap-

peal and have found in them no basis for reversal. The judg-

ment of the district court is affirmed.

7970

Al9

NEW YORK BUSINESS CORPORATION LAW § 623

§ 623. Procedure to enforce shareholder’s right to receive

payment for shares.—(a) A shareholder intending to enforce

his right under a section of this chapter to receive payment

for his shares if the proposed corporate action referred to

therein is taken shall file with the corporation, before the

meeting of shareholders at which the action is submitted to a

vote, or at such meeting but before the vote, written objec-

tion to the action. The objection shall include a notice of his

election to dissent, his name and residence address, the num-

ber and classes of shares as to which he dissents and a

demand for payment of the fair value of his shares if the

action is taken. Such objection is not required from any

shareholder to whom the corporation did not give notice of

such meeting in accordance with this chapter or where the

proposed action is authorized by written consent of share-

holders without a meeting.

(b) Within ten days after the shareholders’ authorization

date, which term as used in this section means the date on

which the shareholders’ vote authorizing such action was

taken, or the date on which such consent without a meeting

was obtained from the requisite shareholders, the corporation

shall give written notice of such authorization or consent by

registered mail to each shareholder who filed written objec-

tion or from whom written objection was not required,

excepting any shareholder who voted for or consented in

writing to the proposed action and who thereby is deemed to

have elected not to enforce his right to receive payment for

his shares.

(c) Within twenty days after the giving of notice to him,

any shareholder from whom written objection was not

required and who elects to dissent shall file with the corpora-

tion a written notice of such election, stating his name and

residence address, the number and classes of shares as to

which he dissents and a demand for payment of the fair

value of his shares. Any shareholder who elects to dissent

from a merger under section 905 (Merger of subsidiary cor-

poration) or paragraph (c) of section 907 (Merger or consoli-

A20

dation of domestic and foreign corporations) or from a share

exchange under paragraph (g) of Section 913 (Share

exchanges) shall file a written notice of such election to dis-

sent within twenty days after the giving to him of a copy of

the plan of merger or exchange or an outline of the material

features thereof under section 905 or 913.

(d) A shareholder may not dissent as to less than all of the

shares, as to which he has a right to dissent, held by him of

record, that he owns beneficially. A nominee or fiduciary

may not dissent on behalf of any beneficial owner as to less

than all of the shares of such owner, as to which such nomi-

nee or fiduciary has a right to dissent, held of record by such

nominee or fiduciary.

(e) Upon consummation of the corporate action, the share-

holder shall cease to have any of the rights of a shareholder

except the right to be paid the fair value of his shares and

any other rights under this section. A notice of election may

be withdrawn by the shareholder at any time prior to his

acceptance in writing of an offer made by the corporation, as

provided in paragraph (g), but in no case later than sixty

days from the date of consummation of the corporate action

except that if the corporation fails to make a timely offer, as

provided in paragraph (g), the time for withdrawing a notice

of election shall be extended until sixty days from the date an

offer is made. Upon expiration of such time, withdrawal of a

notice of election shall require the written consent of the cor-

poration. In order to be effective, withdrawal of a notice of

election must be accompanied by the return to the corpora-

tion of any advance payment made to the shareholder as pro-

vided in paragraph (g). If a notice of election is withdrawn,

or the corporate action is rescinded, or a court shall deter-

mine that the shareholder is not entitled to receive payment

for his shares, or the shareholder shall otherwise lose his dis-

senters’ rights, he shall not have the right to receive payment

for his shares and he shall be reinstated to all his nghts as a

shareholder as of the consummation of the corporate action,

including any intervening preemptive rights and the right to

payment of any intervening dividend or other distribution or,

if any such rights have expired or any such dividend or distri-

A21

bution other than in cash has been completed, in lieu thereof,

at the election of the corporation, the fair value thereof in cash

as determined by the board as of the time of such expiration or

completion, but without prejudice otherwise to any corpo-

rate proceedings that may have been taken in the interim.

(f) At the time of filing the notice of election to dissent or

within one month thereafter the shareholder of shares repre-

sented by certificates shall submit the certificates representing

his shares to the corporation, or to its transfer agent, which

shall forthwith note conspicuously thereon that a notice of elec-

tion has been filed and shall return the certificates to the share-

holder or other person who submitted them on his behalf. Any

shareholder of shares represented by certificates who fails to

submit his certificates for such notation as herein specified

shall, at the option of the corporation exercised by written

notice to him within forty-five days from the date of filing of

such notice of election to dissent, lose his dissenter’s rights

unless a court, for good cause shown, shall otherwise direct.

Upon transfer of a certificate bearing such notation, each new

certificate issued therefor shall bear a similar notation together

with the name of the original dissenting holder of the shares

and a transferee shall acquire no rights in the corporation

except those which the original dissenting shareholder had at

the time of transfer.

(g) Within fifteen days after the expiration of the period

within which shareholders may file their notices of election to

dissent, or within fifteen days after the proposed corporate

action is consummated, whichever is later (but in no case

later than ninety days from the shareholders’ authorization

date), the corporation or, in the case of a merger or consoli-

dation, the surviving or new corporation, shall make a writ-

ten offer by registered mail to each shareholder who has filed

such notice of election to pay for his shares at a specified

price which the corporation considers to be their fair value.

Such offer shall be accompanied by a statement setting forth

the aggregate number of shares with respect to which notices

of election to dissent have been received and the aggregate

number of holders of such shares. If the corporate action has

A22

been consummated, such offer shall also be accompanied by

(1) advance payment to each such shareholder who has sub-

mitted the certificates representing his shares to the corpora-

tion, as provided in paragraph (f), of an amount equal to

eighty percent of the amount of such offer, or (2) as to each

shareholder who has not yet submitted his certificates a state-

ment that advance payment to him of an amount equal to

eighty percent of the amount of such offer will be made by

the corporation promptly upon submission of his certificates.

If the corporate action has not been consummated at the time

of the making of the offer, such advance payment or state-

ment as to advance payment shall be sent to each shareholder

entitled thereto forthwith upon consummation of the corpo-

ration action. Every advance payment or statement as to

advance payment shall include advice to the shareholder to

the effect that acceptance of such payment does not consti-

tute a waiver of any dissenters’ rights. If the corporate action

has not been consummated upon the expiration of the ninety

day period after the shareholders’ authorization date, the

offer may be conditioned upon the consummation of such

action. Such offer shall be made at the same price per share

to all dissenting shareholders of the same class, or if divided

into series, of the same series and shall be accompanied by a

balance sheet of the corporation whose shares the dissenting

shareholder holds as of the latest available date, which shall

not be earlier than twelve months before the making of such

offer, and a profit and loss statement or statements for not

less than a twelve-month period ended on the date of such

balance sheet or, if the corporation was not in existence

throughout such twelve month period, for the portion thereof

during which it was in existence. Notwithstanding the forego-

ing, the corporation shall not be required to furnish a bal-

ance sheet or profit and loss statement or statements to any

shareholder to whom such balance sheet or profit and loss

statement or statements were previously furnished, nor if in

connection with obtaining the shareholders’ authorization for

or consent to the proposed corporate action the shareholders

were furnished with a proxy or information statement, which

included financial statements, pursuant to Regulation 14A or

A23

Regulation 14C of the United States Securities and Exchange

Commission. If within thirty days after the making of such

offer, the corporation making the offer and any shareholder

agree upon the price to be paid for his shares, payment there-

for shall be made within sixty days after the making of such

offer or the consummation of the proposed corporate action,

whichever is later, upon the surrender of the certificates for

any such shares represented by certificates.

(h) The following procedure shall apply if the corporation

fails to make such offer within such period of fifteen days,

or if it makes the offer and any dissenting shareholder or

shareholders fail to agree with it within the period of thirty

days thereafter upon the price to be paid for their shares:

(1) The corporation shall, within twenty days after the

expiration of whichever is applicable of the two periods last

mentioned, institute a special proceeding in the supreme court

in the judicial district in which the office of the corporation

is located to determine the rights of dissenting shareholders

and to fix the fair value of their shares. If, in the case of

merger or consolidation, the surviving or new corporation is

a foreign corporation without an office in this State, such

proceeding shall be brought in the county where the office of

the domestic corporation, whose shares are to be valued, was

located.

(2) If the corporation fails to institute such proceeding

within such period of twenty days, any dissenting shareholder

may institute such proceeding for the same purpose not later

than thirty days after the expiration of such twenty day

period. If such proceeding is not instituted within such thirty

day period, all dissenter’s rights shall be lost unless the

Supreme court, for good cause shown, shall otherwise direct.

(3) All dissenting shareholders, excepting those who, as

provided in paragraph (g), have agreed with the corporation

upon the price to be paid for their shares, shall be made par-

ties to such proceeding, which shall have the effect of an

action quasi in rem against their shares. The corporation

shall serve a copy of the petition in such proceeding upon

each dissenting shareholder who is a resident of this state in

the manner provided by law for the service of a summons,

A24

and upon each nonresident dissenting shareholder either by

registered mail and publication, or in such other manner as is

permitted by law. The jurisdiction of the court shall be ple-

nary and exclusive.

(4) The court shall determine whether each dissenting

shareholder, as to whom the corporation requests the court

to make such determination, is entitled to receive payment

for his shares. If the corporation does not request any such

determination or if the court finds that any dissenting share-

holder is so entitled, it shall proceed to fix the value of the

shares, which, for the purposes of this section, shall be the

fair value as of the close of business on the day prior to the

shareholders’ authorization date. In fixing the fair value of

the shares, the court shall consider the nature of the transac-

ton giving rise to the shareholder’s right to receive payment

for shares and its effects on the corporation and its share-

holders, the concepts and methods then customary in the rel-

evant securities and financial markets for determining fair

value of shares of a corporation engaging in a similar trans-

action under comparable circumstances and all cther relevant

factors. The court shall determine the fair value of the shares

without a jury and without referral to an appraiser or ref-

eree. Upon application by the corporation or by any share-

holder who is a party to the proceeding, the court may, in its

discretion, permit pretrial disclosure, including, but not lim-

ited to, disclosure of any expert’s reports relating to the fair

value of the shares whether or not intended for use at the

trial in the proceeding and notwithstanding subdivision (d) of

section 3101 of the civil practice laws and rules.

(5S) The final order in the proceeding shall be entered

against the corporation in favor of each dissenting share-

holder who is a party to the proceeding and is entitled thereto

for the value of his shares so determined.

(6) The final order shall include an allowance for interest

at such rate as the court finds to be equitable, from the date

the corporation action was consummated to the date of pay-

ment. In determining the rate of interest, the court shail con-

sider all relevant factors, including the rate of interest which

the corporation would have had to pay to borrow money

aie el

A25

during the pendency of the proceeding. If the court finds that

the refusal of any shareholder to accept the corporate offer

of payment for his shares was arbitrary, vexatious or other-

wise not in good faith, no interest shall be allowed to him.

(7) Each party to such proceeding shall bear its own costs

and expenses, including the fees and expenses of its counsel

and of any experts employed by it. Notwithstanding the fore-

going, the court may, in its discretion, apportion and assess

all or any part of the costs, expenses and fees incurred by the

corporation against any or all of the dissenting shareholders

who are parties to the proceeding, including any who have

withdrawn their notices of election as provided in paragraph

(e), if the court finds that their refusal to accept the corpo-

rate offer was arbitrary, vexatious or otherwise not in good

faith. The court may, in its discretion, apportion and assess

all or any part of the costs, expenses and fees incurred by

any or all of the dissenting shareholders who are parties to

the proceeding against the corporation if the court finds any

of the following: (A) that the fair value of the shares as

determined materially exceeds the amount which the corpora-

tion offered to pay; (B) that no offer or required advance

payment was made by the corporation; (C) that the corpora-

tion failed to institute the special proceeding within the

period specified therefor; or (D) that the action of the corpo-

ration in complying with its obligations as provided in this

section was arbitrary, vexatious or Otherwise not in good

faith. In making any determination as provided in clause (A),

the court may consider the dollar amount or the percentage,

or both, by which the fair value of the shares as determined

exceeds the corporate offer.

(8) Within sixty days after final determination of the pro-

ceeding, the corporation shall pay to each dissenting share-

holder the amount found to be due him, upon surrender of

the certificates for any such shares represented by certificates.

(i) Shares acquired by the corporation upon the payment of

the agreed value therefor or of the amount due under the

final order, as provided in this section, shall become treasury

Shares or be cancelled as provided in section 515 (Reacquired

shares), except that, in the case of a merger Or consolidation,

A26

they may be held and disposed of as the plan of merger or

consolidation may otherwise provide.

(j) No payment shall be made to a dissenting shareholder

under this section at a time when the corporation is insolvent

or when such payment would make it insolvent. In such

event, the dissenting shareholder shall, at his option:

(1) Withdraw his notice of election, which shall in such

event be deemed withdrawn with the written consent of the

corporation; or

(2) Retain his status as a claimant against the corporation

and, if it is liquidated, be subordinated to the rights of credi-

tors of the corporation, but have rights superior to the non-

dissenting shareholders, and if it is not liquidated, retain his

right to be paid for his shares, which right the corporation

shall be obliged to satisfy when the restrictions of this para-

graph do not apply.

- (3) The dissenting shareholder shall exercise such option

under subparagraph (1) or (2) by written notice filed with the

corporation within thirty days after the corporation has given

him written notice that payment for his shares cannot be

made because of the restrictions of this paragraph. If the dis-

senting shareholder fails to exercise such option as provided,

the corporation shall exercise the option by written notice

given to him within twenty days after the expiration of such

period of thirty days.

(k) The enforcement by a shareholder of his right to

receive payment for his shares in the manner provided herein

shall exclude the enforcement by such shareholder of any

other mght to which he might otherwise be entitled by virtue

of share ownership, except as provided in paragraph (e), and

except that this section shall not exclude the right of such

shareholder to bring or maintain an appropriate action to

obtain relief on the ground that such corporate action will be

or is unlawful or fraudulent as to him.

(1) Except as otherwise expressly provided in this section,

any notice to be given by a corporation to a shareholder

under this section shall be given in the manner provided in

section 605 (Notice of meetings of shareholders).

A27

(m) This section shall not apply to foreign corporations

except as provided in subparagraph (e)(2) of section 907

(Merger or consolidation of domestic and foreign corpora-

tions). (Amended by L. 1962, Ch. 834, § 40; L. 1963, Ch.

746, § 15; L. 1965, Ch. 803, §§ 20-22; L. 1982, Ch. 202,

§§ 3-9; L. 1982, Ch. 928, §§ 38-40; L. 1986, Ch. 117, § 3.)

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.