Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Edelman v. United States

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

IN THE :

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1992

BERNHARD F. MANKO,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

HAVEN C. ROoOsEVELT*

EarL H. NEMSER

Gary J. MENNITT

BURTON SPIVAK

Curtis L. SyYKEs

CADWALADER, WICKERSHAM & TAFT

100 Maiden Lane

New York, New York 10038

(212) 504-6000

Attorneys for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record Bernhard F. Manko

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether, in a criminal case, the prosecutor and trial judge

may engage in a secret ex parte conference if it is said to be

limited to matters of “litigation tactics” — here a conference

in which the government obtained a ruling allowing it to secure

a tactical advantage by highlighting damaging testimony before

the jury in rebuttal summation; and may they keep such a rul-

ing secret from the defense until it is too late for it to counter

the tactic by highlighting contrary favorable testimony?

2. Whether in a criminal tax case the trial judge must in-

struct the jury to evaluate a defendant’s good faith defense under

the subjective standard mandated by the Court in Cheek v.

United States (i.e., defendant’s good faith belief, if credited, must

be accepted even if the belief is considered unreasonable), when

the prosecution improperly argues to the jury, contrary to the

Cheek rule, that the defendant’s good faith defense be rejected

as unreasonable and inconsistent with an objective reasonable

man test?

3. Whether the statutory requirements for an interest deduc-

tion set out in the Internal Revenue Code — genuine debt and

accrual of interest — are sufficient for an interest deduction,

which is the rule in the Fourth, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits, or

whether an additional subjective requirement — profit motive

— may be implied in the statute by judicial gloss in a criminal

case as is now the anomalous rule in the Second Circuit?

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED ...................

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES...................

ME ev heh ck ess se sa esevcaveda's

a

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS AND

eg 8 A

ES hE

The Secret Ex Parte Conference............

Fetture to Charge Cheek..................

The Erroneous Interest Deduction Standard . .

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

II

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION

CREATES A CONFLICT IN THE

CIRCUITS ON AN ISSUE WHICH HAS AN

IMPORTANT IMPACT ON THE RIGHT

TO ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL AND

WHICH SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY

THIS COURT WITHOUT DELAY ........

THE DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW

CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S

HOLDING IN CHEEK THAT A

DEFENDANT’S GOOD FAITH DEFENSE

IS TO BE MEASURED BY A SUBJECTIVE

TEST

ee ae a ee eS et eS eS BOS A Se ee Se |] Se Se OD

10

1]

15

iv

A. Cheek Establishes A Rule Of Subjective

SG oreo eae ae Sarees

B. The Prosecutors’ Argument In

Summation Allowed The Government

To Circumvent The Rule Announced In

Cheek Mandating A Subjective Test ....

1. Prosecution May Not Argue

Incorrect Statements Of The Law. .

2. The Prosecution’s Arguments To

The Jury Circumvented The Rule

Sy eos eee ee ewes

III THE DECISIONS BELOW ARE IN

CONFLICT WITH THE LAW IN OTHER

CIRCUITS CONCERNING THE

REQUIREMENTS FOR AN INTEREST

SR EN i ee Ra Perk aires ac,

SPURIOUS ee ea kd A ek nee ee

APPENDICES

Appendix A - Opinion of the Second Circuit

affirming Criminal Conviction

dated October 9, 1992

Appendix B - Order denying Petition for

Rehearing dated December 4,

1992

Appendix C - Judgment of Criminal

Conviction dated December 5,

1991

Appendix D - Order of the Second Circuit

staying the Mandate dated

December 12, 1992

17

17

18

20

25

Appendix E - Relevant excerpts from the

Southern District Court

Record

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES:

Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78 (1935)......

Brooks v. Kemp, 762 F.2d 1383 (11th Cir. 1985),

cert. granted, judgment vacated on other

grounds, 478 U.S. 1016 (1986), on remand,

judgment reinstated, 809 F.2d 700 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1010 1987) ............

Cheek v. United States, 111 S. Ct. 604 (1991)....

Crooks v. Harrelson, 282 U.S. 55 (1930) ........

Goldstein v. Commissioner, 364 F.2d 734

(2d Cir. 1966), cert. denied, 385 U.S. 1005

ee RR RRR RT ot ees hes chen geet,

TN oink Keck cere ee eee

Herring v. New York, 422 U.S. 853 (1975) ......

Jacobson v. Commissioner, 915 F.2d 832 (2d Cir.

Tee Pee Dorr ee hay at”

Rg pcavincieeiet ee

Mahorney v. Wallman, 917 F.2d 469 (10th Cir.

oon cate

PAGE(S)

17, 18

18

passim

21

22

18

18

12

10, 23

22

18, 19

Vill

PAGE(S)

Rice’s Toyota World, Inc. v. Commissioner, 752

Fe ee Ce Sa EE 6 ro Peo as ee es 21-22

Rose v. Commissioner, 88 T.C. 386 (1987),

aff'd on other grounds, 868 F.2d 851 (6th Cir.

PSS 6 he Tee Le aed e ae teresa ai 22

Smith v. Commissioner, 937 F.2d 1089 (6th Cir.

DOR gs oe i ee Os Waa ok kes Le eee 22

Stanton v. Commissioner, 34 T.C. 1 (1960)...... 21

Tarpley v. Dugger, 841 F.2d 359 (11th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 837 (1988) ............ 18

Touche Ross ¢& Co. v. Redington, 442 U.S. 560

ES es neds Gas ks We eRe eS 21

United States v. Aitken, 755 F.2d 188 (lst Cir.

ee eee ae eee ae cee 16

United States v. Corona, 551 F.2d 1386 (5th Cir.

DN ee ica are Wow ana ne Tat arn die Wied 17

United States v. Critzer, 498 F.2d 1160 (4th Cir

ee hore ee te eae ae 21

United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648 (1984) .... 12

United States v. GAF Corp., 928 F.2d 1253 (2d

Re Ro a fe es aca uae eee: 6, 18

United States v. Garber, 607 F.2d 92 (5th Cir.

BR PPM ene ary Seng ie ea me cre nen ge 21

United States v. Golitschek, 808 F.2d 195 (2d

ee ee ee ea eee aa 15

ix

Page

United States v. Gurary, 860 F.2d 521 (2d Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1035 (1989) ..... 15

United States v. Hammond, 642 F.2d 248 (2d

Oe, | eee nae ant OC Mt SL ae hone Oo 18

United States v. Heller, 830 F.2d 150 (11th Cir.

eek oe io te Nee OOM ete eT Oe, 21

United States v. Manko, 979 F.2d 900 (2d Cir.

on, EE EY OE Ire ola VP E MEL We Re la 2

United States v. Mendel, 746 F.2d 155 (2d Cir.

1984), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1213 (1985) ..... 10

United States v. Minsky, 963 F.2d 870 (6th Cir.

eg, RTT EN he Lee) ala 14

United States v. Pabisz, 936 F.2d 80 (2d Cir.

PRN bwiGicn wd eee did eae ee Seas 18

United States v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10 (1976)... 15

United States v. Powell, 955 F.2d 1206 (9th Cir.

OE Sey ide gua De ee eee pera t 16

United States v. Regan, 937 F.2d 823 (2d Cir.

1991), cert. denied sub nom., 112 S. Ct. 2273

pce PER EAE UE REID RN, PA thetntd done 20

United States v. Solivan, 937 F.2d 1146 (6th Cir.

ce, Ee ee ete CR EES RIL APS 13

United States v. Swanson, 943 F.2d 1070 (9th

CR hie rn ee i ee 12

United States v. Wheeler, 800 F.2d 100 (7th Cir

NE ie oy Wi Gee i Sha ee 17-18

United States v. Young, 470 U.S. 1 (1984) ....... 17, 18

Western Assocs., Inc. v. Niagara Props., Inc.,

130 A.D.2d 964, 516 N.Y.S.2d 381

fg Breer ee ver rer renee ee

STATUTES:

ee EL Ak wows WO 4 CRS x on ea ab o0 8h.6 0 90

SG NS oe ev Pe Neca e en en cecean nee s

Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981 (“ERTA”),

No eek ee eee Kaas

one iid ca ak

IRC § 183(b)(1) (1988)... ... 2.00. cece eee ee eee

N.Y. U.C.C. § 8-319(c) (McKinney 1992) .......

N.Y. U.C.C. § 8-319(a) (McKinney 1992) .......

F. Lee Bailey & Henry B. Rothblatt, Successful

Techniques for Criminal Trials § 24:11 (2d ed.

_—_ chap RPG agers me ne Pas ag erage nar ve tea oe

PE AS Re hE RR EAA RARE SERS RRA ee

Joseph Isenbergh, Musings on Form and

Substance in Taxation, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 859

Pc Secs nd sake gute Chas RSS ee sks wee ee

Albert H. Parnell, “The Effective Use of

Demonstrative Aids in Closing Argument”, For

ee GE, ES SOa See ewes baa xiew

Lee A. Sheppard, “Economic Substance

and the Case of T-bill Rolls”, Tax Notes

Pee Gs SG GC wa UA Gos kabel Ganasaa kak oo

Jacob A. Stein, Closing Argument §§ 206-07

i ere a ae a AG Mesh agi, ean a

13

13

23

13

13

xi

Page

John H. Young, The Role of Motive in Evaluating

Tax Sheltered Investments, 22 Tax Law. 275

Be Beh AR A Keiiat ania Ede 5 ote qinuies Ait 23

James W. Wetzler, “The Tax Treatment of

Securities Transactions Under the Tax Reform

Act of 1984”, Tax Notes, Special Report (Oct.

| EEO er ey orn en 5

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 1992

BERNHARD F. MANKO,

Petitioner,

VS.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Bernhard F. Manko prays that a writ of certiorari

issue to review the judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Second Circuit.'

' Petitioner adopts the petition of his co-defendant Jon Edelman, submitted

by his attorneys Williams & Connolly. There were no other parties to this

case at any stage of the proceedings.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit is reported at 979 F.2d 900 (2d Cir. 1992). It is

Appendix A to this Petition.

JURISDICTION

The October 9, 1992 judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit affirmed petitioner Manko’s

judgment of criminal conviction dated December 5, 1991 (Ap-

pendix C). A petition for rehearing was denied by order dated

December 4, 1992 (Appendix B). The mandate was stayed by

the Court of Appeals on December 12, 1992 (Appendix D). This

Court’s jurisdiction rests upon 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

AND STATUTES INVOLVED

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides in pertinent part:

No person shall . . . be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law. . .

The Sixth Amendment to the United States Constitution pro-

vides in pertinent part:

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shall enjoy

the right to a speedy and public trial by an impartial

jury ... and to have the Assistance of Counsel for his

defense.

26 U.S.C. § 7206 provides in pertinent part:

Any person who -

(1) Willfully makes and subscribes any return, state-

ment, or other document, which contains or is verified

by a written declaration that it is made under the

penalties of perjury, and which he does not believe

to be true and correct as to every material matter; or

(2) Willfully aids or assists in, or procures, counsels,

or advises the preparation or presentation under, or

in connection with any matter arising under, the in-

ternal revenue laws, of a return, affidavit, claim, or

other document, which is fraudulent or is false as to

any material matter, whether or not such falsity or

fraud is with the knowledge or consent of the person

authorized or required to present such return, af-

fidavit, claim or document, . . .

. . .

shall be guilty of a felony and, upon conviction

thereof, shall be fined not more than $100,000

($500,000 in the case of a corporation) or imprisoned

not more than 3 years, or both, together with the costs

of prosecution.

Section 163(a) of the Internal Revenue Code provides:

There shall be allowed as a deduction all interest paid

or accrued within the taxable year on indebtedness.

STATEMENT

This case was tried in the Southern District of New York before

District Judge Mary Johnson Lowe and a jury. The basis for

federal jurisdiction in the district court is 18 U.S.C. § 3231, which

states:

The district courts of the United States shall have

original jurisdiction, exclusive of the courts of the

States, of all offenses against the laws of the United

States.

Petitioner Bernhard Fred Manko and his co-defendant Jon

Edelman were indicted in February 1989 in the Southern District

of New York. In May 1989, a superseding indictment charged

Manko with 27 counts and Edelman with 28 counts of making

and subscribing to false tax returns in violation of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7206(1), aiding and abetting the preparation of false returns

in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206(2), and conspiring to violate

the tax laws and to defraud the United States in violation of

18 U.S.C. § 371.

Both defendants were convicted under each statute charged

on various counts and on November 26, 1991, they each were

sentenced to a total term of five years’ imprisonment and fined

$450,000. The judgments of conviction were entered on

December 5, 1991, and notices of appeal were filed on December

4, 1991. After affirming petitioner’s conviction, the Second Cir-

cuit Court of Appeals granted his motion to stay its mandate

for 90 days pending this Court’s ruling on the instant petition

for a writ of certiorari. (Appendix D).?

Defendants’ convictions were based on their management of

syndicated limited partnerships (the “Partnerships”) which in

1982 and 1983 financed the purchase of $51 billion in United

States Treasury bills (“T-bills”) through repurchase agreements

(“repos”) that gave rise to interest expense deductions of $532

million. The government has viewed this case as the largest tax

fraud prosecution ever brought. This is perhaps why it employed

tactics not heretofore considered acceptable and why it sought

to base its case on a tax law theory not universally accepted by

the circuit courts.

The superseding indictment charged essentially that the repo

transactions between two companies that defendants managed,

Government Clearing Company and Government Securities

Trading Corporation (collectively “GCC”), and a counter-party,

TSM Holdings Inc. (“TSMH”), were “pre-arranged, rigged and

fraudulent”. According to the indictment:

[I]n these fraudulent transactions, there were secret

oral agreements with certain [co-]conspirators at

TSM[H], not reflected in the trading confirmations,

that [GCC] would make no money on the transac-

tions and that the colluding entity, TSM[H], would

? Relevant excerpts from the Southern District Court Record are reproduced

in Appendix E.

" NNnnnn

be paid a fee disguised as interest expense and built

into the interest rate for the transactions.

(J.A. 20).?

There were two key issues of fact at trial: (1) whether the

financing transactions (repos) actually took place; and (2)

whether petitioners held a good faith belief that their actions

were lawful. The key issue of law was whether the repos gave

rise to lawful interest expense deductions under Section 163 of

the Internal Revenue Code.* IRC § 163(a) (1988).

After a general verdict of guilty was returned by the jury, and

in an effort to immunize the general verdict from attack, the

district court gave the jury an unusual special interrogatory. The

Court of Appeals relied heavily upon the jury’s response which

purportedly found that the repo transactions were fictitious or

did not take place. (J.A. 481).

The special interrogatory should not inhibit this Court’s is-

suance of a writ of certiorari because the interrogatory could

not cure the defective general verdict. It did not produce find-

ings necessary and sufficient for a conviction and it was answered

>“J.A. ___” refers to the Second Circuit Joint Appendix; “R. ” refers to

the Southern District Court Record; and “T. ___” refers to the trial transcript.

* The Partnerships were formed during the period 1978 through 1983 when

syndicated tax shelters proliferated. In 1981, Congress enacted the Economic

Recovery Tax Act of 1981 (“ERTA”), Pub. L. 97-34 (1981), which eliminated

the tax benefits associated with certain types of low-risk “straddles” transac-

tions. ERTA eliminated the possibility of deferring income by requiring tax-

payers to account for both the income and loss legs of a straddle as one in-

tegrated transaction in the same tax year. While ERTA eliminated specific

shelter transactions, experts believed that the ERTA anti-straddle rules were

likely to cause a dramatic increase in the popularity of another sheltering device

commonly referred to as a “T-bill Roll.” James W. Wetzler, “The Tax Treat-

ment of Securities Transactions Under the Tax Reform Act of 1984,” Tax Notes,

Special Report (Oct. 29, 1984) (noting significant growth in use of leveraged

T-bills to achieve tax deferral after ERTA passed in 1981); Lee A. Sheppard,

“Economic Substance and the Case of T-bill Rolls,” Tax Notes (July 23, 1990).

The criminal charges in this case resulted from the Partnerships’ use of the

“T-bill Roll” as an alternative tax-advantaged trading strategy.

without proper judicial guidance on the law of contract forma-

tion. For example, the special interrogatory did not address the

good faith defense with respect to the transactions, a defense

the jury may have sustained if it was properly instructed. Similar-

ly, it is likely that this finding was influenced by the tactical

advantage secured by the government in an admittedly improper

ex parte conference, as well as the government’s improper

argumentation, and the district court’s failure to instruct the

jury on the law appropriate to determine whether a contract

is formed and a transaction has “taken place”.‘

The Secret Ex Parte Conference

The prosecution sought and obtained a secret ex parte con-

ference with the trial judge and secured an advisory opinion

allowing the use in rebuttal summation of several towering charts

(larger than a person) containing 28 purported paraphrases and

quotations of the record. Although a portion of the conference

was transcribed (Appendix A-17-18), the sealed pages of what

on its face appears to be an incomplete transcription were

not disclosed until after the trial. The charts previewed in

the meeting highlighted damaging out-of-context testimony

* Among other things, the defense argued that if the recollection of witnesses

with respect to ten year old negotiations of Treasury Bill transactions was not

sufficient to establish the formation of a contract, the jury could still find con-

tract formation based on the doctrine of ratification, i.e., if trade confirma-

tions were sent, received and not repudiated by the counter-parties, those

counter-parties were bound. N.Y. U.C.C. § 8-319(c) (McKinney 1992). Paying

only lip service to the rule that a defendant is entitled to a jury instruction

explaining the defense theory (see, e.g., United States v. GAF Corp., 928 F.2d

1253, 1262 (2d Cir. 1991) ), the district court merely advised the jury that the

defense contended that the transactions were “ratified”. It refused to tell the

jury what the term “ratified” meant and the legal requirements of the doc-

trine of ratification. The Court of Appeals erroneously sustained petitioner's

criminal conviction on the ground that the jury charge proposed by defend-

ants improperly set out the law of ratification (Appendix A-21-22); but the

court misapprehended the law by overlooking N.Y. U.C.C. § 3-819(c) and rely-

ing sua sponte on inapplicable law not addressed by the parties. Compare

N.Y. U.C.C. § 3-819(a) (McKinney 1992) (involving authority of agents and

not principal-to-principal transactions); Western Assocs., Inc. v. Niagara

Props., Inc., 130 A.D.2d 964, 516 N.Y.S.2d 381 (4th Dep't 1987).

concerning the issue posed by the special interrogatory, i.e.,

whether the financing transactions (repos) actually took place.

Tactics can have a profound affect on a jury. To assume, as did

the Second Circuit, that this tactic had no affect on the jury im-

perils the right to assistance of counsel and is simply unrealistic.

This admittedly improper and unnecessary ex parte con-

ference occurred before defendants’ summations and without

their knowledge. Moreover, when the prosecutors solicited the

district court’s views on whether to give defendants notice of

their intended use of the imposing charts the district judge clear-

ly demonstrated her favoritism by responding: “I don’t think

you should disclose it.” (Appendix E-6). With respect to several

other incidents the Second Circuit found the district court’s con-

duct “disturbing” and expressed “grave concern” at its “breach

of impartiality”. (Appendix A-15-17). The court then sealed the

transcript of the ex parte conference and refused to unseal it

until over a month after the trial had ended and then only upon

the prosecution’s consent. (Appendix E-7-8; R. 56). Such con-

duct, not heretofore sanctioned by this Court, is now protected

by a safe harbor rule in the Second Circuit, placing it in direct

conflict with the Sixth Circuit.

Defense counsel only discovered the ex parte conference when,

in the middle of defense summations, they received a copy of

the transcript indicating that two missing pages were sealed.

(Appendix E-7-8). They immediately moved to unseal those

pages, but the lower court denied the motion and refused to

reveal the purpose of the conference stating “[t]he prejudice you

will suffer will not be caused by what is sealed, all right?” (Ap-

pendix E-8). Defense counsel learned of the previewed charts

for the first time on the next day during a 45-minute break im-

mediately before the prosecution began rebuttal summation.

Due to the short notice, defense counsel had only one and a half

minutes to review each of the 28 excerpts taken from over 6,000

pages of transcript; first to verify their accuracy and fair con-

text and then to ascertain whether each was within the proper

scope of rebuttal.

It cannot be denied that these charts had an impact on the

jury. For example, several of the enlarged excerpts went to the

heart of the special interrogatory. One purported paraphrase

enlarged on a chart and read to the jury in rebuttal was a highly-

charged, prejudicial and misleading statement of testimony by

a trader involved in the transactions as follows: “Don’t even show

me those tickets, I don’t want to be hauled out of here in hand-

cuffs.” (Appendix E-1; Appendix E-11-12). Defense counsel, if

they were present in the ex parte, would have argued that

the court, in its supervisory powers, should not allow this

sentence to be blown-up for rebuttal because it was not a full

and proper paraphrase. As to the tickets and the remark about

“handcuffs”, the trader testified later on cross-examination that

the comment was not to communicate a serious message, rather

it was “to rattle Joe Bryant’s cage”; and he did not even know

whether the tickets referred to had anything to do with this case.

(Appendix E-2). It is clear that highlighting the quote without

the full context and explanation (which may not have been in

the jury’s ready recal! after a four month trial) had a strong

impact on the jury.

Because the impact of the charts on the jury was palpably

and predictably devastating, the defendants requested remedial

relief in the form of a surrebuttal to put the charts’ excerpts in

their proper context. The district court rejected this request and

ignored defendants’ objections as to scope and use of the charts.

The defense was thus unable to counter the tactical advantage

improperly obtained by the prosecution. (J.A. 1550-53).

Failure to Charge Cheek

Defendants requested that the district court give the follow-

ing charge based on this Court’s opinion in Cheek v. United

States, 111 S. Ct. 604 (1991):

If you find that the defendant you are considering

believed that the repo interest expense arising from

the transactions at issue in this case was deductible

under the Internal Revenue laws, he cannot be guilty

of the charges in the indictment, regardless of whether

his belief was reasonable.

£

(Appendix E-15) (Specific Criminal Intent). The district court

rejected defendants’ proposed charge, even though the prosecu-

tion consented to include the above-italicized language. (Ap-

pendix E-3).

The prosecution’s summations took full advantage of the

district court’s refusal to give defendants’ proposed instructions

by arguing that defendants’ beliefs were not reasonable, know-

ing the district court would not give a corrective charge. It thus

completed an end run around this Court’s decision in Cheek.

During summations, the prosecution repeatedly urged the jury

to hold defendants to an improper reasonable man standard,

improperly asking them to measure defendants’ good faith belief

that the repo interest expense was deductible against what a

reasonable businessman would have believed under the cir-

cumstances. (“You [the jury] constantly have to ask yourself

against these facts, do real business men and women operate

this way?” (Appendix E-5). “Is this the way real businessmen

act, million dollar transactions, billion dollar transactions, no

one knowing what is going on . . . .” (Appendix E-9).

In summation the government also suggested that the jury

should reject the defendants’ subjective belief as unreasonable

by stating: “It only happens in the Manko world, in the land

of Edelman. That is the only place it happens.” (Appendix E-4).

The government argued, in a fashion directly contrary to Cheek,

that the jury should ask: “Where in the real world does that

happen?” (Appendix E-4). Finally, the government ended its

summation with an analogy everyone knows and which left no

question that it was arguing that the defendants’ subjective good

faith belief should be rejected as unreasonable. The government

charged: “Mr. Manko, Mr. Edelman, the emperor has no clothes.”

(Appendix E-7).

The prosecution suggested that the jury use its own experience

to determine if defendants’ good faith belief was reasonable.

See Appendix E-3-4; J.A. 1491-95. On rebuttal summation, the

prosecution suggested that in deliberations the jury divide itself

into two groups and reenact its version of the facts. (Appendix

E10). It prefaced this suggestion with the statement: “If it’s legal

10

to do what the defendants did, you, ladies and gentlemen, can

eliminate the tax liability of our entire country, and you can

do it like that.” (J.A. 1601). The defense alerted the trial court

at the charging conference to the prosecutor’s improper

arguments to the jury suggesting that the jury apply an objective

reasonable man test in deciding whether the petitioners’ defense

of good faith was well founded. (J.A. 331-334). The court refused

to remedy the problem by instructing the rule of Cheek.

In Cheek this Court flatly held that it was improper for a

jury in a criminal tax case to be instructed that the good faith

defense be measured by an objective reasonable man standard

because in the complex world of taxes, a subjective standard is

appropriate. In this case, the district court did not distinguish

between the objective and subjective standards. The Court of

Appeals’ affirmance endorsed the government’s end run around

Cheek by sustaining the convictions here despite the prosecutor’s

summation urging the jury to apply an objeciive standard while

the district court remained silent on the issue and refused to issue

a corrective instruction.

The Erroneous Interest Deduction Standard

Two weeks before the trial of this case, the Second Circuit

decided Jacobson v. Commissioner which held that the only re-

quired elements for an interest expense deduction are actual debt

and the payment or accrual of interest. 915 F.2d 832 (2d Cir.

1990). Since the issue was critically important and would deter-

mine trial strategy, the district court ruled just before opening

arguments that it would follow Jacobson. (J.A. 488-89). See

J.A. 1256-58. After the parties rested, the district court reversed

this pretrial ruling.* It ruled that to find lawful interest

* It is difficult to imagine a more certain basis for prejudice than the district

court’s “last minute 180-degree turn” in its announced treatment of a central

issue in the case. United States v. Mendel, 746 F.2d 155, 161 (2d Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 1213 (1985). Defendants went to trial and rested in

reasonable reliance on the false understanding that the two-pronged economic

substance test would not determine the outcome; “[i]t is not too much to say

that | defense] counsel [were] seduced by the court’s first ruling into forgoing

submission of evidence” of profit potential and market risk. /d.

ee

1]

deductions the jury not only would have to find genuine debt

and the payment or accrual of interest, but was also required

to find that the transaction had “economic substance” which

the court ambiguously defined two ways: (1) as requiring “a

reasonable possibility of profit apart from tax deductions” or

“market risk”, and (2) “business purpose” or “market risk”. (J.A.

413-14). See generally T. 1165-71; J.A. 454-63.

In affirming, the Second Circuit set out a rule which con-

flicts with the Fourth, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I

THE COURT OF APPEALS DECISION CREATES A

CONFLICT IN THE CIRCUITS ON AN ISSUE

WHICH HAS AN IMPORTANT IMPACT ON THE

RIGHT TO ASSISTANCE OF COUNSEL AND

WHICH SHOULD BE ADDRESSED BY THIS

COURT WITHOUT DELAY

The Court of Appeals improperly applied a harmless error

analysis in holding that the ex parte meeting between the judge

and the prosecutor did not constitute reversible error. In doing

so it sanctioned reprehensible conduct and created a conflict

between the Second and Sixth Circuits on the circumstances in

which ex parte conferences between the court and the govern-

ment can be conducted with impunity in criminal cases. Should

the Second Circuit rule announced in this case be allowed to

stand, the government in a criminal case will be able to im-

munize ex parte conferences by determining with the court that

they are “merely” tactical or administrative despite the fact that

the defense is handicapped.

Although acknowledging that “the prosecution initiated

this ex parte proceeding in a blatant attempt to win a tactical

12

advantage, to get a ‘leg up’ ”, in its rebuttal summation, the

Court of Appeals held that “this highly improper ex parte

conference does not constitute reversible error.” (Appendix

A-19-20). This application of the harmless error doctrine is a

radical departure from the standards governing constitutional

error established by this Court. It establishes a safe harbor

rule which will allow prosecutors and judges to collaborate on

the use of tactics to maximize the chances of conviction. This

rule will surely erode confidence in the impartiality of our

judicial system.

This Court “has uniformly found constitutional error without

any showing of prejudice when counsel was either totally ab-

sent, or prevented from assisting the accused during a critical

stage of the proceeding.” United States v. Cronic, 466 U.S. 648,

659 n.25 (1984) (collecting cases). There can be no doubt that

the tactical advantage gained by the prosecutor's ex parte con-

ference occurred at a critical stage of the trial because, as the

Second Circuit found, it gave the prosecutor a tactical advan-

tage in his rebuttal summation. United States v. Swanson, 943

F.2d 1070, 1074 (9th Cir. 1991) (summation is a “critical stage”

of a criminal proceeding). This alone establishes prejudice. This

Court, recognizing the importance of summation to a criminal

defendant, has stated:

The very premise of our adversary system of criminal

justice is that partisan advocacy on both sides of a case

will best promote the ultimate objective that the guilty

be convicted and the innocent go free. In a criminal

trial, which is in the end basically a factfinding pro-

cess, no aspect of such advocacy could be more im-

portant than the opportunity finally to marshal the

evidence for each side before submission of the case

to judgment.

Herring v. New York, 422 U.S. 853, 862 (1975). The impact of

argument on juror’s minds is exaggerated where it is made in

13

a prosecutor's final summation.’ United States v. Solivan, 937

F.2d 1146 (6th Cir. 1991).

The Second Circuit correctly observed that “the propriety of

using the chart cannot be the measure of whether the ex parte

proceeding constituted reversible error. Otherwise, the fact of

an ex parte proceeding would be irrelevant so long as the court

ultimately made the right ruling.” (Appendix A-20). But it went

on anyway to say that the first of two “facts” convincing it that

reversal was not required was that it did not believe “the district

court would [as opposed to could] have ruled differently ab-

sent the ex parte conference.” (Appendix A-20) (emphasis added).

Quite clearly, with the benefit of defense counsels’ advocacy,

the district court could have correctly ruled differently in any

one of several favorable ways as follows:

1. The quotes and paraphrases used in the prosecution’s

charts would have to be put in proper context by the prosecu-

tion (i.e., a fair context rule);

2. The prosecution could use charts in rebuttal summation,

but the defense would be entitled to surrebutal to put the quotes

and paraphrases in their proper context;

3. No charts could be used by the prosecution in rebuttal

unless first used in its closing — so defendants could use their

closing to put the quotes in proper context;

4. The charts could not be as large as those used by the

prosecution;

’ The devastating impact of charts used in summation is attested to by the

many trial manuals and treatises advocating their use. See, e.g.. F. Lee Bailey

& Henry B. Rothblatt, Successful Techniques for Criminal Trials § 24:1] at

544-45 (2d ed. 1985); 5 Melvin M. Belli, Sr., Modern Trials 69-120, 439-43

(2d ed. 1982); Jacob A. Stein, Closing Argument §§ 206-07 (1985); Albert H.

Parnell, “The Effective Use of Demonstrative Aids in Closing Argument”, For

the Defense 15-20 (Dec. 1983). This is particularly the case with jurors who

had listened to hundreds of hours of testimony on complex financial transac-

tions during four months of trial. It is difficult to fathom how the jury could

not be swayed by highlighted, charged testimony in last-word rebuttal where

the context could not be clearly, if at all, remembered.

14

5. No charts could be used by either side; or

6. Both the prosecution and the defense would be permitted

to use charts.

The Second Circuit applied harmless error analysis to the ex

parte conference despite the fact that it gave the prosecution

a “tactical advantage” at a critical stage of this criminal trial.

(Appendix A-19). That holding violated this Court’s ruling in

Cronic that such deprivation of the right to assistance of counsel

is per se reversible error without any showing of prejudice.

A more appropriate solution to the problem of ex parte con-

ferences was presented recently in United States v. Minsky, 963

F.2d 870 (6th Cir. 1992), where, in conflict with the Second

Circuit’s affirmance in this case, the court held that such an ex

parte conference at a critical stage was sufficient ground for

reversal standing alone, and indicated that it would reverse the

judgment below before it decided whether the ex parte ruling

was substantively correct. The Minsky analysis is correct because

its decision to reverse based on the ex parte conference was made

prior to a consideration of the propriety of the ex parte ruling

itself. Otherwise a prosecutor need only secure a non-erroneous

ex parte ruling (though one of many possible non-erroneous rul-

ings) to safely gain a tactical advantage. The decision of the Sixth

Circuit was based on the principle that a court should “refuse

to condone conduct that ‘undermines confidence in the impar-

tiality of the court”. Jd. at 874 (citation omitted). The Second

Circuit condoned just such conduct in this case.

The panel’s opinion will encourage rather than discourage

the use of ex parte conferences by effectively establishing a safe

harbor rule that may be stated most narrowly as follows:

SAFE HARBOR RULE: It is not reversible error for

the prosecutor and trial judge to have a secret, ex parte

conference so the prosecutor can secure a tactical ad-

vantage or a “leg-up”. EXPLANATION: Although it

is improper to engage in such conduct, it is not re-

versible error unless the defendant can overcome the

15

harmless error rule. EXAMPLE: It is not reversible

error if the tactical advantage allows the prosecutor

to highlight damaging testimony or paraphrases of

testimony in its last-word rebuttal semmation because

successfully highlighting damaging testimony on the

ultimate factual issue of a case cannot, as a matter

of law, have even a minimal effect on the jury.

See Appendix A-19. This safe harbor rule sends a dangerous

message to prosecutors and is in conflict with this Court’s rul-

ing in Cronic as well as with the Sixth Circuit’s decision in

Minsky. If the Second Circuit’s tolerance of ex parte conferences

is not forcefully rejected, the integrity of our judicial system will

be damaged.

Il

THE DECISION OF THE COURT BELOW CON.

FLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S HOLDING IN

CHEEK THAT A DEFENDANT'S GOOD FAITH

DEFENSE IS TO BE MEASURED BY A SUBJECTIVE

TEST

Petitioner was convicted of criminal tax violations of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7206(1) that require a finding of specific intent. United States

v. Gurary, 860 F.2d 521, 523 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490

U.S. 1035 (1989). To be guilty of violating a known legal duty,

by making and subscribing false tax returns in violation of 26

U.S.C. § 7206(1), and of “willfully” aiding and assisting in the

preparation of a false tax return in violation of 26 U.S.C.

§ 7206(2), a person must intentionally violate a known legal

duty. United States v. Pomponio, 429 U.S. 10, 11 (1976); United

States v. Golitschek, 808 F.2d 195, 202-03 (2d Cir. 1986). Yet,

petitioner’s conviction was upheld on appeal despite the fact

that the trial court failed to properly instruct that the jury must

determine the validity of a defense of good faith based on what

petitioner honestly believed.

A. Cheek Established A Rule Of Subjective Good Faith.

This Court has held that in criminal cases involving viola-

tions of federal tax law, a jury’s determination of whether a

16

proper defense of good faith has been established is to be deter-

mined by reference to the subjective belief of the accused. Cheek,

111 S. Ct. at 604. In Cheek, this Court specifically announced

that a defendant’s belief need not be objectively reasonable in

order to support a defense of good faith. Jd. at 611.

As this Court explained in Cheei::

In the end, the issue is whether, based on all the

evidence, the Government has pr«ved that the defen-

dant was aware of the duty at issue, which cannot be

true if the jury credits a good faith misunderstanding

and belief submission, whether or not the claimed

belief or misunderstanding is objectively reasonable.

Id. (emphasis added). The Cheek rule emerged out of a recogni-

tion that “[t]he proliferation of statutes and regulations has

sometimes made it difficult . . . to know and comprehend .. .

the tax laws.” Id. at 609. This Court recognized in Cheek that

Congress intended to exclude honest mistakes by making specific

intent an element of federal tax crimes:

“{I]n our complex tax system, uncertainty often arises

even among taxpayers who earnestly wish to follow

the law” and “.. . it is not the purpose of the law to

penalize frank difference of opinion or innocent er-

rors made despite the exercise of reasonable care.”

Id. at 612 (quoting United States v. Bishop, 412 U.S. 346, 360-361

(1973)). More than statutory construction, this is a matter of

constitutional importance because, “forbidding the jury to con-

sider evidence that might negate willfulness would raise a serious

question under the Sixth Amendment's jury trial provision.” Jd.

at 611 (citations omitted).

Under Cheek, the jury is precluded from substituting its own

determination of objective reasonableness for what the defend-

ant subjectively believed. See, e.g., United States v. Powell, 955

F.2d 1206, 1211-12 (9th Cir. 1992). Even if the evidence against

a defendant is strong, an erroneous instruction suggesting that

an objective standard applies is plain error. United States v.

Aitken, 755 F.2d 188, 193-94 (Ist Cir. 1985).

17

The trial court below denied petitioner’s requested charge

regarding its defense of good faith and refused to inform the

jury that it is the defendants’ subjective belief that controls. See

J.A. 375. Specifically, the trial court refused to charge the jury

that a good faith belief in the legality of tax deductions negates

the specific intent necessary to support a criminal conviction

regardless of whether that belief was reasonable. (Appendix

E-13-15).

The charge given by the trial court included the following

general language: “A person who believes that his tax return

truthfully reports the taxable income and allowable deductions

under the tax law acts in good faith and cannot be found guilty

of wilfully filing a false return.” (Appendix E-13). The instruc-

tion omitted the pivotal concept announced in Cheek that a good

faith defense is not negated by a finding that the defendants’

belief may have been objectively unreasonable. (Appendix E-13).

The vague instruction given was insufficient after the prosecu-

tion had repeatedly argued to the jury that it should convict

based on a finding that the defendants’ belief in the legality of

the transactions was unreasonable.

B. The Prosecutors’ Arguments In Summation Allowed

The Government To Circumvent The Rule Announced

In Cheek Mandating A Subjective Test.

1. Prosecution May Not Argue Incorrect Statements

Of The Law

This Court has held that a prosecutor may not make improper

suggestions, insinuations or assertions to a jury, calculated to

mislead. Berger v. United States, 295 U.S. 78 (1935); United

States v. Young, 470 U.S. 1, 7 (1984) (“Nearly half a century ago

this Court counselled prosecutors ‘to refrain from improper

methods calculated to produce a wrongful conviction . . _ ’

(quoting Berger, 295 U.S. at 88)); United States v. Corona, 551

F.2d 1386 (Sth Cir. 1977). Nor may the prosecution argue in-

correct or inapplicable theories of law to the jury. United States

v. Wheeler, 800 F.2d 100, 106-07 (7th Cir. 1987) (prosecution’s

arguments which effectively shifted its legal burden of proof

18

were improper); Mahorney v. Wallman, 917 F.2d 469, 470-74

(10th Cir. 1990) (prosecution’s arguments incorrectly describ-

ing the presumption of innocence found to be reversible error).

See United States v. Hammond, 642 F.2d 248, 249-50 (2d Cir.

1981); Graham v. United States, 257 F.2d 724 (6th Cir. 1958).

These rules are required because jurors should be confident

that the prosecuting attorney will not use improper methods

calculated to produce a wrongful conviction. Berger, 295 U.S.

at 88. Consequently, improper suggestions, insinuations and

assertions made by the prosecution are apt to carry much weight

against the accused when they should properly carry none. Id.

Thus, a prosecutor’s argument to the jury carries with it the

imprimatur of the government and may induce the jury to trust

the government’s judgment rather than its own. Young, 470 US.

at 18; Tarpley v. Dugger, 841 F.2d 359 (11th Cir.), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 837 (1988); Hall v. United States, 419 F.2d 582 (5th

Cir. 1969). When prosecutors abuse this mantle of authority,

it unfairly plays upon the jury’s susceptibility to credit the

prosecutor’s viewpoint. Brooks v. Kemp, 762 F.2d 1383, 1399,

1410 (llth Cir. 1985), cert. granted, judgment vacated on other

grounds, 478 U.S. 1016 (1986), on remand, judgment reinstated,

809 F.2d 700 (11th Cir.), cert. denied, 483 U.S. 1010 (1987).

The district court had an obligation to correct the false

impression left by the prosecution but failed to do so. See Young,

470 U.S. at 9-10; United States v. Pabisz, 936 F.2d 80, 83 (2d

Cir. 1991); GAF, 928 F.2d at 1263 n.4.

2. The Prosecutions Arguments To The Jury

Circumvented The Rule Of Cheek

The jury was misled as to the test to apply in determining

the validity of petitioner’s good faith defense by the prosecu-

tion’s arguments. As a result, the prosecution’s burden of

establishing the petitioner’s specific criminal intent to violate

a known legal duty beyond a reasonable doubt was effectively

removed.

19

During summation, the prosecutor invited the jury to use an

objective test when he stated: “Would any businessman or

businesswoman act the way these guys did?” (Appendix E-5).. .

“It only happens in the Manko world, in the land of Edelman.

That is the only place it happens.” (Appendix E-4). And later,

the prosecutor asked: “Is this the way real businessmen act,

million dollar transactions, billion dollar transactions, no one

knowing what is going on, supposedly at risk, having $33 in

cash?” (Appendix E-9). The government thus asked the jury to

measure the defendants’ conduct by what it argued objective

“real businessmen” would believe or do under the circumstances.

Moreover, after describing the defendants as selling tax losses

and inviting the jury to simulate the activities of the petitioners

during the jury’s deliberation, the government concluded:

Ladies and gentlemen, if you really think you can do

that, then acquit the defendants. You should acquit

the defendants if you think you can do that. But if

you think what I just suggested is absolutely

ridiculous, and the defendants know that, then it’s

your duty to convict them.

(Appendix E-10) (emphasis supplied). The government's clear

invitation to the jury to substitute its own beliefs about the trans-

actions at issue for that of the defendants eviscerated the defense

of good faith. This erroneous suggestion cried out for correc-

tion by the trial court. Yet, the court permitted this misleading

argument over the defense’s objection. (Appendix E-10). The

court’s refusal to correct the prosecutor’s misstatements when

requested to do so gave the prosecution’s arguments the ap-

pearance of judicial approval. See Mahorney, 917 F.2d at 473 n.4.

When viewed through the distorting lens of the prosecution’s

misleading arguments, the charge did not make clear to the jury

that the defendants must demonstrate only that a subjective good

faith belief in the legality of the acts was held and not that

the belief must be found to be objectively reasonable.* The

* There was ample evidence adduced at trial of the petitioners’ good faith belief

in the legality of the transactions (J.A. 1329-34, 1343, 1348, 1350-55) and the

reasons for their belief (J.A. 1108, 1116, 1143, 1266-71).

20

government should not be permitted to so circumvent the holding

of this Court in Cheek.

Ill

THE DECISIONS BELOW ARE IN CONFLICT

WITH THE LAW IN OTHER CIRCUITS CON-

CERNING THE REQUIREMENTS FOR AN IN-

TEREST DEDUCTION

The critical legal issue in the trial of this case concerned the

requirements for an interest deduction under Section 163(a) of

the Internal Revenue Code (the “Code”). The rules for interest

deductibility are important and need to be clearly spelled out.

Deductibility of interest on indebtedness affects the cost of bor-

rowing and, therefore, the pace and scope of commercial activity

in our debt markets which are vast in volume and value. The

imposition of criminal sanctions in an interest deduction case

when the law is confused and the circuits are in conflict requires

that this Court articulate a clear rule. If this confusion and con-

flict are not resolved by this Court, it will result in inconsistent

treatment of taxpayers, both civilly and criminally, with respect

to an important and recurring issue.

The imposition of criminal liability based on the complicated

transactions at issue in this case is inappropriate. As the Second

Circuit has noted:

[O]Jne of the most esoteric areas of the law is that of

federal taxation. It is replete with ‘full grown in-

tricacies’, and it is rare that a ‘sirnple, direct statement

of the law can be made without caveat’.

United States v. Regan, 937 F.2d 823, 827 (2d Cir. 1991) (quoting

1 Mertens Law of Federal Income Tax § 1.01), cert. denied sub

nom., 112 S. Ct. 2273 (1992).

The defendants in this interest deduction case have been held

criminally accountable, not to the clear rule of the Tax Code,

but to one of several competing interpretations of Section 163.

21

Criminal liability is unduly and impermissibly harsh “when the

law [is] uncertain or cast in doubt by prior court decisions.”

United States v. Heller, 830 F.2d 150, 155 (1lth Cir. 1987). See

United States v. Garber, 607 F.2d 92 (5th Cir. 1979); United

States v. Critzer, 498 F.2d 1160 (4th Cir. 1974).

The tax issue boils down to whether the statutory requirements

for an interest deduction as stated in the Code (genuine debt

and accrual of interest) are sufficient for an interest deduction,

which is the rule in the Fourth, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits, or

whether the statutory requirements are necessary but a subjective

non-tax purpose such as a profit motive is also required for an

interest deduction under the contrary rule in the Second Circuit.

The interpretation of any statute “must begin with the

language of the statute itself.” Touche Ross & Co. v. Redington,

442 U.S. 560, 568 (1979). This Court has also cautioned that

the literal terms of a tax statute should be ignored “only under

rare and exceptional circumstances.” Crooks v. Harrelson, 282

U.S. 55, 60 (1930). Section 163 provides as a general rule that

“all interest paid or accrued within the taxable year on in-

debtedness” is deductible, subject to certain statutory exceptions

that are not relevant here. IRC § 163(a) (emphasis added). The

requirements for deductibility under Section 163(a) are plain

and unambiguous: (1) payment or accrual of interest; and (2)

actual indebtedness. See Stanton v. Commissioner, 34 T.C. 1,

7 (1960) (“Congress has included no requirement in the Code

that the borrowed money be used in connection with a trans-

action entered into for profit . .. Congress has repeatedly con-

sidered and ultimately rejected limitations somewhat com-

parable to the [requirement] now urged by the Commissioner’).

The Fourth, Sixth, and Tenth Circuits follow the plain mean-

ing and clear rule of the statute. In Rice’s Toyota World, Inc.

v. Commissioner, 752 F.2d 89 (4th Cir. 1985), a case involving

the sale and leaseback of computers, the Tax Court had denied

a deduction for interest paid on recourse debt that had been

used to finance the sale-leaseback because the underlying trans-

action was motivated by no business purpose other than obtain-

ing tax benefits and had no reasonable prospect of providing

22

a profit and was, therefore, a sham. The Fourth Circuit reversed

on the interest deduction issue despite “the sham nature of the

underlying purchase transaction” because the debt was real and

interest was paid. Id. at 96.

The Fourth Circuit rule as set forth in Rice’s Toyota finds suf-

ficient economic substance for an interest deduction in the

satisfaction of the statutory requirements of genuine debt and

the payment or accrual of interest. In James v. Commissioner,

899 F.2d 905 (10th Cir. 1990), the Tenth Circuit followed Rice's

Toyota and approved an interest deduction on genuine debt

despite the fact that the underlying transaction was a sham and,

therefore, could not be respected for tax purposes. In so holding,

the James court said, “[ w]e agree [with Rice’s Toyota] that within

the framework of a sham transaction a taxpayer may incur bona

fide obligations which should be recognized for tax purposes.”

Id. at 910. In Smith v. Commissioner, the Sixth Circuit relied

on the Rice’s Toyota rule to conclude that the taxpayer’s pay-

ment of interest on a “genuine obligation” gave rise to a valid

tax deduction “even in the face of the sham nature of the underly-

ing agreement.” 937 F.2d 1089, 1099 (6th Cir. 1991). The Tax

Court has also adopted the Fourth Circuit’s reasoning:

[ W Je believe that the distinction made by the [Fourth

Circuit] Court of Appeals is valid to the extent that

the petitioners actually incurred a debt . . . that was

certain to be paid . . . [I]n other words, the require-

ment of a profit objective is not one of the limitations

in section 163 on the deduction of interest actually

paid.

Rose v. Commissioner, 88 T.C. 386, 423 (1987) (emphasis added),

affd on other grounds, 868 F.2d 851 (6th Cir. 1989).

In this criminal case, the Court of Appeals has embraced a

standard for interest deductions which is not supported by the

statute and is stricter than the standard which the Fourth, Sixth,

and Tenth Circuits have applied in civil cases. The Second

Circuit now requires that a borrowing must have additional

ll

23

economic substance in the form of a non-tax purpose (i.e., a

business purpose other than tax savings) or market risk (i.e., an

objective potential for economic gain apart from tax savings).

In Goldstein v. Commissioner, 364 F.2d 734 (2d Cir. 1966),

cert. denied, 385 U.S. 1005 (1967) the Second Circuit first grafted

onto the clear statutory language of Section 163 the additional

requirement of “purposive activity” in order to claim an interest

deduction. The Goldstein court acknowledged that “there is no

[statutory] requirement that deductible interest serve a business

purpose, that it be ordinary and necessary, or even that it be

reasonable.” Id. at 741 (citation omitted). Nevertheless, the

Goldstein court opined that:

Congress could not have intended to permit a taxpayer

to reduce his taxes by means of an interest deduction

that arose from a transaction that had no substance,

utility or purpose beyond the tax deduction.

Id. at 742.°

The Second Circuit appeared to back away from Goldstein

in Jacobson, in favor of the plain meaning of Section 163: “even

if the motive for a transaction is to avoid taxes, interest incurred

therein may still be deductible if it relates to economically

substantive indebtedness.” 915 F.2d at 840. The Jacobson court

relied on Tax Code Sections 183(b)(1) and 163(a) to conclude

that interest expense deductions are not dependent on a finding

of a non-tax purpose and that an interest deduction is “allowable

. .. without regard to whether or not such activity is engaged

in for profit.” IRC § 183(b)(1) (1988); Jacobson, 915 F.2d at 840.

In this case, by adding the element of a non-tax purpose, the

Second Circuit has rejected Jacobson where it had followed the

clean contours of the statute.

* The Goldstein rule has been criticized by tax commentators because of its

departure from the clear language of Section 163 and basic principles of statu-

tory construction. Joseph Isenbergh, Musings on Form and Substance in Tax-

ation, 49 U. Chi. L. Rev. 859, 875-76 (1982); John H. Young, The Role of Motive

in Evaluating Tax Sheltered Investments, 22 Tax Law. 275, 279-81 (1969).

24

This case is an appropriate vehicle for the resolution of the

conflict among the circuits because the trial court’s confusion

on the economic substance requirement infected the jury’s

understanding of the requirement of an actual debt. The jury

was charged that it could not find that the repo loans represented

genuine debt unless it found that the loans possessed “substance

or business purpose”, and that they would be fraudulent for “tax

purposes” if they lacked “economic substance”. (Appendix E-12).

The trial judge also charged that the repo transactions possess-

ed economic substance if they had business purpose or market

risk. (J.A. 1635). These errors would have affected the jury’s

response to the special interrogatory. A finding that the trans-

actions were “fictitious” could have been based on the erroneous

instruction that a transaction without “economic substance’ is

“fraudulent”. (J.A. 481).

Consistency among the circuits and certainty in the ad-

ministration of the tax laws are essential, particularly when the

law can form the basis of a criminal indictment.

25

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, petitioner Bernhard F. Manko

respectfully requests this Court to grant this Petition for a Writ

of Certiorari to the United States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, and to reverse the conviction of petitioner Bernhard F.

Manko.

Dated: New York, New York

March 4, 1993

Respectfully submitted,

Haven C. RooseveE t, Esq.

Counsel of Record

CADWALADER, WICKERSHAM & TAFT

100 Maiden Lane

New York, New York 10038

(212) 504-6000

Attorneys for Petitioner

Bernhard F. Manko

Of Counsel:

Eart H. NEMSER

Gary J. MENNITT

BurTON SPIVAK

Curtis L. Sykes

i

APPENDIX

A-|

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

>

Nos. 1600, 1601—August Term 1991

(Argued July 13, 1992 Decided October 9, 1992 )

Docket Nos. 91-1732, -1733

aed

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

—_—vV—

BERNHARD FRED MANKO, also known as Fred;

and JON EDELMAN,

Defendants-Appellants.

ie

Before:

ALTIMARI, MAHONEY, and WALKER,

Circuit Judges.

a

Appeal from judgment of conviction entered in the United

States District Court for the Southern District of New York

(Mary J. Lowe, Judge) on ground that district court’s bias

denied defendants a fair trial.

Affirmed.

A-2

EARL H. NEMSER (Kathryn L. Hoenig, Gary J.

Mennit, Burton Spivak, Cadwalader,

Wickersham & Taft, New York, NY, of

counsel) for Defendant-Appellant Manko.

MARION BACHRACH (Carro, Spanbock, Kaster &

Cuiffo, New York, NY, of counsel) for

Defendant-Appellant Edelman.

ROBERT J. CLEARY, Ass’t U.S. Atty, Southern

District of New York (Otto G. Obermaier,

U.S. Atty, Miguel A. Estrada, Daniel C.

Richman, Ass’t U.S. Atty’s, Southern Dis-

trict of New York, of counsel) for Appellee.

—

WALKER, Circuit Judge:

On February 4, 1991, following a four-month jury mal in

the Southern District of New York before Judge Lowe,

Bernhard Fred Manko and Jon Edelman were convicted of

making and subscribing false tax returns in violation of 26

U.S.C. § 7206(1), aiding and abetting in the preparation of

false returns in violation of 26 U.S.C. § 7206(2), and consrir-

ing to violate the tax laws and to defraud the United States in

violation of 18 U.S.C. § 371. On November 25, 1991, the

district court sentenced each defendant to five years

imprisonment and fined each $450,000. On appeal, Manko

and Edelman raise a host of objections to the district court's

conduct of the trial. In addition, Manko and Edelman assert

that the government failed to produce sufficient evidence to

Sustain their convictions and that prosecutorial misconduct

denied them a fair trial.

A-3

BACKGROUND

Manko and Edelman were professionals in the once thriv-

ing field of tax shelters. In the late 1970s and early 1980s, the

two sold interests in partnerships that engaged in complex

commodities straddles. These straddles had the effect of

creating losses in one tax year and a corresponding gain in the

subsequent year, thereby deferring income. See Gardner v.

Commissioner, 954 F.2d 836 (2d Cir.) (per curiam), cert.

denied sub nom. Falk v. Commissioner, 112 S.Ct. 1940

(1992).

The straddle business evaporated when Congress passed

the Economic Recovery Tax Act of 1981 (“ERTA”), Pub. L.

97-34 (1981). ERTA eliminated the tax benefits of straddles

by requiring the taxpayer to recognize both the gain and the

loss generated by the straddle in the same tax year. Manko

and Edelman began to look for new tax deferral techniques.

Eventually, Manko and Edelman devised a way around

ERTA. They determined that by engaging in repurchase

transactions (“repos”) in United States Treasury Bills

(“T-Bills”), they could create interest deductions in the first

tax year and corresponding gains in the second year, with lit-

tle or no risk. A T-Bill is an obligation of the United States

Government to pay a fixed amount (the face value) at a cer-

tain date in the future (maturity). T-Bills are purchased at a

discount from face value. The interest is determined by the

difference between the face value and the purchase price. A

repurchase agreement,is an agreement to sell a T-Bill and

then repurchase the bill at a later date for a predetermined

amount. In effect, a repurchase agreement is a loan in the

amount of the proceeds of the original sale, collateralized by

the T-Bill, with interest equal to the difference between the

sale and repurchase prices. A repurchase agreement may ex-

pose the parties to market risk, since the agreed-upon repur-

A-4

chase price may be greater or less than the market price of the

T-Bill at the agreed-upon date. A repo to maturity exists when

the repurchase date specified in the agreement is the maturity

date of the T-Bill. In a repo to maturity, there are no

economic variables, since the market value of the T-Bill at

maturity is always equal to the face value of the T-Bill.

Repos created tax advantages because, until the tax laws

changed in 1984, a securities dealer could deduct the interest

payments on the loan as they accrued, but only had to report

the corresponding gain from the appreciation of the T-Bill at

matunity. If the T-Bill matured in the tax year after the repur-

chase agreement was made, the taxpayer would be able to de-

fer income equal to the amount of interest accrued in the first

year.

One problem with using repos to create tax deductions is

that the deduction created in the first year is relatively small

compared with the face value of the T-Bill. A repo on a ten

million dollar T-Bill would only create a few hundred thou-

sand dollars of interest deductions. Since Manko and Edel-

man had raised over $25 million from investors with a

promise of generating four times that amount in tax deduc-

tions, they realized they would have to do huge quantities of

repos to maturity.

At trial, the government asserted that Manko and Edelman

hatched a fraudulent scheme in order to achieve such vol-

umes. The government alleged that Manko and Edelman ap-

propriated a dormant shell company, TSM Holding Company

(“TSMH”), and unilaterally wrote documents to reflect bil-

lions of dollars of repos to maturity between TSMH and two

clearing brokers controlled by Manko and Edelman—

Government Clearing Company and Government Securities

Trading Corporation (collectively “GCC’’). In turn, Manko

and Edelman created documents to reflect mirror transactions

A-5

between GCC and several investment partnerships, thereby

passing on the ersatz tax breaks to numerous unwitting

investors. Manko and Edelman represented to their lawyers

and accountants that TSMH was an independent entity and

that all their transactions with TSMH actually occurred and

carried market risk.

The documents introduced at trial described the trades as

follows. First, TSMH would sell a T-Bill through GCC to the

partnerships. Since TSMH was only a shell company without

assets, TSMH would sell the bill short. In a short sale, a party

sells a security that it does not own and must therefore find a

way to deliver the security to the buyer, such as borrowing it

from a third party. Since TSMH sold as much as a billion

dollars worth of T-Bills at a time, the partnerships lacked the

funds to pay for the T-Bills. Accordingly, the partnerships

would borrow the funds from GCC by entering into a repo to

maturity with GCC secured by the T-Bill received from

TSMH in the short sale. GCC, of course, did not have a spare

billion dollars lying around to lend to the partnerships. In-

stead, GCC would borrow the funds from TSMH with a repo

to maturity secured by the same T-Bill that TSMH had sold

short to the partnerships and that the partnerships had loaned

to GCC.

The return of the T-Bill to TSMH as collateral cancelled

TSMH’s obligation to deliver the T-Bill promised in the short

sale. Therefore, at the end of the day, GCC would owe TSMH

the proceeds of the loan plus interest and TSMH would owe

GCC a T-Bill. Both obligations would come due at maturity.

GCC would have mirror obligations with the partnerships.

The terms of the repurchase agreements between GCC and

TSMH exactly mirrored the terms of the agreements between

GCC and the partnerships. At the end of the first tax year,

GCC would “roll up” the outstanding interest payments on

the loan by unilaterally adding them to the principal amount

A-6

of the loan. The mirror transactions between GCC and the

partnerships would proceed with a similar interest roll up,

thus allowing the partnerships to take the tax deductions.

GCC set the interest rates on both loans so that the loan

proceeds plus interest would exceed the face value of the

T-Bill by a set amount—$50 per million at the outset. This

money, in effect TSMH’s fee for providing GCC with a tax

deduction to pass on to the partnerships, was the only thing

actually to change hands in the transactions.

The government presented a substantial amount of evi-

dence that the transactions described above never took

place—that GCC engaged in typing, not trading. First, from

July of 1982 to September of 1982, there was no one at

TSMH with whom Manko and Edelman could negotiate the

deals. Vincent Tese and James Sinclair (former partners of

Manko) set up TSMH in June of 1982. Neither, however, ever

injected any capital into TSMH or used the company in any

way. Both denied any kno'vledge of the transactions between

TSMH and GCC. During this period in which nobody

controlled TSMH, Manko and Edelman had their trading

room staff write up trade tickets that made it appear that

TSMH had sold $500 million in T-Bills to GCC and loaned

GCC the money to purchase them. GCC prepared but did not

send confirmations reflecting the terms of these trades.

Edelman admitted that GCC determined the size of the trans-

actions and set the interest rate on the repo without negotiat-

ing with TSMH.

In October of 1982, perhaps in an effort to provide more

substantial documentation of the “trades,” defendant Manko

hired Richard Bandel, a former employee of GCC, to work at

TSMH. At Manko’s instruction, Bandel picked up the con-

firmations that GCC had printed and logged into accounting

ledgers all the trades that had been written up to that point.

A-7

With Bandel in place at TSMH, GCC began sending trading

confirmations to TSMH, and Bandel logged these transactions

into TSMH’s books. The defendants admitted that even with

Bandel in place, GCC did not negotiate the terms of the

transactions with TSMH.

At about the same time that Manko placed Bandel at

TSMH, Tese and Sinclair transferred TSMH, free of charge,

to Robert Maurus and Charles Genovese. Maurus testified

that he did not even learn that Bandel worked at TSMH until

March of 1983. Genovese testified that Manko informed him

that TSMH needed Bandel in order to make TSMH “look like

a real company.”

After the transfer, Maurus and Genovese remained largely

unaware of the details of the alleged transactions. On redirect

examination, Maurus conceded that he understood nothing

about the transactions except that GCC wrote up the paper

and TSMH received a fee. It was not until the Spring of 1983

that TSMH began to send reciprocal confirmation slips to

GCC. By the time these confirmation slips were sent, most of

the underlying T-Bills had already matured and the parties’

obligations had already been settled. Genovese testified that

these confirmation slips were sent for “cosmetic” reasons.

The pace of the transactions’ accelerated in November of

1982. Faced with the need to create almost $100 million in

deductions by the end of the year, Edelman ordered John

Mann, the chief trader for GCC, to write up $500 million and

$1 billion transactions with TSMH. Edelman instructed Mann

to set the price without contacting TSMH. Mann refused, with

the explanation that he did not participate in transactions in

which he did not speak to the other party. Eventually, Mann

agreed to limited participation in the transactions, informing

other trading room employees of the market price for T-Bills

so that the correct amounts could be written on the trade

tickets.

A-8

One GCC trading room employee testified:

Right after the first billion dollars was decided on, it was

just quiet right after, and then Joe Bryant [a trading room

employee] said “this is the one that’s going to get them.”

And John Mann and [another employee] and myself all

agreed to that, and a few minutes later John Mann said,

“it’s gone too far now. The boys have gone too far.”

At other times, trading room employees referred to the bil-

lion-dollar trades as “the straw that’s going to break the

camel’s back.” Employees also discussed the financial reward

for turning Manko and Edelman in to the IRS.

After the first three days of the billion dollar trades, Mann

informed Edelman that he “had legal reservations about these

trades and didn’t want to do them anymore.” Mann testified

that Edelman replied that the trades were “none of [Mann’s]

concern” and “that it was not [Mann’s] job to be policeman

for the world.”

In fifteen days in November of 1982, GCC wrote $25

billion worth of T-Bill repurchase transactions with TSMH.

After that, the pace of the scheme slackened, but GCC con-

tinued to write repurchase transactions until the tax laws

changed in 1984. At the time of the billion dollar trades in

November of 1982, TSMH had $33 in cash, $50 in office ex-

penses, and no telephone bills. TSMH did not even have a

bank account until the end of that month.

Eventually, Barbara Kanter, Edelman’s personal assistant,

opened an account for TSMH. Kanter then transferred mil-

lions of dollars into and out of TSMH’s account. The defense

alleged at trial that this money reflected interest payments

from GCC to TSMH. However, Edelman acknowledged on

cross-examination that he could not correlate any particular

payment to interest owed on any loan. When Maurus and

Genovese learned in the spring of 1983 that Kanter had been

A-9

transferring money into and out of their account, they made

no efforts to stop her. Genovese explained at trial that he felt

the money did not belong to TSMH.

Faced with this powerful evidence that the purported

transactions were shams that never took place, the defense

contended at trial that TSMH had granted GCC discretion to

make trades on TSMH’s behalf, and thus that there was no

need for GCC to seek TSMH’s approval of the terms of the

repo transactions. The defense never presented any direct

evidence of such an agreement apart from Edelman’s testi-

mony that Manko told him that TSMH had granted GCC dis-

cretion to make trades.

The defense further argued that there was nothing strange

about a corporation with no assets making billions of dollars

of loans because it was common in the government securities

markets for undercapitalized entities to engage in highly lev-

eraged, low-risk transactions.

The trial also proceeded on a second front. The government

argued that even if the jury were to determine that the

transactions actually occurred, the transactions were devoid of

nsk and thus lacked economic substance. Accordingly, the

government contended that the transactions could not form

the proper basis for tax deductions. The defense countered

that so long as the repurchase loan represented a real debt,

interest paid on that debt could be deducted even if the

transactions as a whole lacked economic substance. The court

sided with the government and charged the jury that it could

convict if it found either that the transactions did not occur or

that they lacked economic substance.

The trial in this extremely complex matter took four

months. At the close of trial, the jury convicted Manko and

Edelman on all counts. After the jury returned the verdict, the

district court gave the jury a supplemental interrogatory that

A-10

asked the jury to indicate whether it concluded that the

transactions never took place or that the transactions lacked

economic substance. After deliberating briefly, the jury an-

nounced that it had determined that the transactions never

took place. This appeal followed.

DISCUSSION

On appeal, Manko and Edelman principally challenge the

district court’s handling of the trial. They contend that the

court questioned witnesses in a way that suggested disbelief

of the defendants’ position, improperly held an ex parte con-

ference with the prosecutor near the end of the mal, permitted

the prosecutor to make improper comments in summation,

and issued confusing instructions to the jury. Defendants

Suggest that the combined force of these asserted infirmities

denied them a fair trial.

A. The Trial Court’s Conduct

The district judge took an active role in the trial of this

case, asking numerous and probing questions of witnesses.

Such conduct is unquestionably proper—indeed, often re-

quired—in extremely complex cases. United States v. Gurary,

860 F.2d 521, 527 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1035

(1989): United States v. DiTommaso, 817 F.2d 201, 221 (2d

Cir. 1987); United States v. Pisani, 773 F.2d 397, 403 (2d Cir.

1985). However, such questioning carries with it the risk that

the judge will appear partial to one side or the other. In order

to avoid the appearance of partiality, a trial judge should limit

questioning to inquiries necessary to clarify ambiguities,

correct misstatements, or obtain information necessary to

make rulings. United States v. Mazzilli, 848 F.2d 384, 388 (2d

Cir. 1988).

The fact that a judge asks a question the purpose of which

is not so limited will not always require reversal. Judges are

A-11

human, and it is inevitable that in the course of long, com-

Plex, and hotly contested trials, 2 udge may on occasion react

intemperately. A defendant is not entitled to a perfect trial,

only a fair one. United States v. Robinson, 635 F.2d 981, 984

(2d Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 992 (1981). Our ability

to discern from a cold record whether particular statements of

a trial judge rendered the trial unfair is quite limited. “[I]t is

difficult to glean tone of voice, whether sarcastic or neutral,

facial expression, whether reflecting disbelief or sober

thoughtfulness, or physical demeanor, whether self-contained

or expressing opinion and emotion. Therefore, it is only after

an examination of the entire record that we can come to a

conclusion about the conduct of the district court.” Mazzilli,

848 F.2d at 389 (2d Cir. 1988).

The defendants point to several incidents in the trial that we

quite frankly find disturbing. Nonetheless, after a careful

review of the entire record, we conclude that the district

court’s conduct did not deny defendants a fair trial.

1. The District Court’ s Questioning of Jon Edelman

A district court must show particular restraint in question-

ing a Criminal defendant during the defendant’s direct tes-

timony. At this critical phase of the trial, the court must scru-

pulously insure that its questions do not indicate that the court

doubts that the witness is telling the truth. Mazzilli, 848 F.2d

at 388-89; United States v. Victoria, 837 F.2d 50, 55 (2d Cir.

1988). Impeaching the defendant is the job of the prosecution,

not the court.

Here, the district court vigorously interceded in Edelman’s

tesumony. Most of the court’s questioning took the form of

inquiry into precise details of the transaction. The court re-

peatedly sought to clarify whether GCC had made certain

payments to TSMH in cash or by book entry. While the rele-

vance of this distinction to whether the transactions took

ee

A-12

place or had economic substance is not entirely clear, our

view upon reading the record is that the court’s questions

were aimed at pinning down this factual issue, not at casting

doubt on defendant Edelman’s credibility. Accordingly, we

think this portion of the court’s questioning of Edelman was

proper.

We are more troubled by the court’s questioning of

Edelman with regard to financing arrangements between

GCC and the investor partnerships. At one point, Edelman

compared GCC’s willingness to enter into a repurchase

agreement with an investor partnership to allowing a cus-

tomer to purchase securities on margin. The court asked a

series of questions that undermined the analogy:

[Edelman]: Yes, there is financing here and the best

analogy I could make simply is to a financing on a

margin account where you might have 100 shares of

IBM you paid for, no money in your account, but fully

paid for and you want to buy another 100 shares. You

can do that.

The Court: Yes, you can, but if it’s called you are ex-

pected to pay.

Edelman: If there is a margin call.

The Court: Yes.

[Edelman]: And the same thing is here, if my equity

declines —

The Court: At any time in these whole 2 years we are

talking about, did GCC or TSM ever call upon any of

these partnerships to put money on any of these financ-

ing transactions?

[Edelman]: Can I answer that generically first?

The Court: Any way you want to.

A-13

[Edelman]: When an account at GCC has deficit

equity, that is, that its value is less than the amount that it

has borrowed, it has deficit equity, then GCC would be

in a position to ask for more money. It may ask for more

money, it may not.

The Court: That isn’t my question. This is 1990. We

are seven years down the road of the last transaction. In

any of those two years, ’82 or ’83, did GCC or TSM ever

ask any of these partnerships to put up money such as

you were talking about a margin call in a stockbroker’s

account?

[Edelman]: With respect to the financing repo to

maturity transactions, no other transactions?

The Court: Yes.

[Edelman]: I don’t think so. GCC would be the per-

son who would ask for money and I don’t recall any situ-

ation where that was required.

[The Court]: That is the question I was asking.

By forcing Edelman to concede that GCC never made a

margin call, the court discredited Edelman’s analogy to ordi-

nary brokerage accounts. By undermining Edelman’s testim-

ony in this fashion, the court may have cast some doubt on

Edelman’s credibility. We note, however, that the court’s

questioning related to a collateral issue and that Edelman’s

lawyer, upon resuming questioning, elicited testimony ex-

plaining that GCC would never need to make a margin call

because the securities held as collateral for the repos, the

T-Bills, were by their very nature always increasing in value

as maturity approached. Thus, any doubts raised by the

court’s questions were quickly dispelled. While the court

should not have challenged Edelman’s analogy, since the

challenge reflected as much on credibility as it did on factual

A-14

clarification, we do not think this incident undermined the

fairness of the trial.

2. The Bandel Cross-examination

We are also disturbed by the district court’s conduct during

the cross-examination of Richard Bandel, who testified for

the government. The government’s theory was that Bandel

had been placed in TSMH by Manko to record the paper

transactions in TSMH’s books and that Bandel had no sub-

stantive role in determining the dimensions of the transac-

tions.

The defense sought to discredit the government’s view of

Bandel’s role in several ways. First, the defense asked Bandel

to explain his testimony that Manko had hired him at TSMH

in light of Bandel’s prior statement in an affidavit that some-

one other than Manko had hired him to work at TSMH. Ban-

del, with some prodding from the district court, indicated that

he stood by his testimony in court and that his present recol-

lection was more accurate than that found in his prior affi-

davit. The defense also asked Bandel about his view of the

transactions, perhaps in an effort to show that Bandel had

some role in negotiating the deals:

Q. [The Prosecutor] asked you about the large trades

that occurred in November of 1982.

A. Yes, he did.

Q. And it’s your testimony that you viewed those

trades no differently than any others?

A. Just that I was told—

The Court: By whom?

The Witness: By Joe Bryant, usually the day before I

would get the ticket, that there were large tax trades

going through.

—————

A-15

Q. And it’s fair to say the word “tax trade” was used

openly?

A. Yes.

Q. And that based on your experience on Wall Street

that many trades had a tax component?

Mr. Robinson: Objection.

The Court: This man was a scrivener, he wasn't a

policy maker.

While prosecutor Robinson's objection was well taken, in that

Bandel had not been qualified as an expert, the court’s

observation that Bandel “was a scrivener” was unnecessary

and prejudicial. The government’s theory was that Bandel

was a scrivener, and evidence in the record supports this

view. The district court, however, should not have endorsed

the government’s position.

The court repeated the error moments later:

Q. Did you ever tell Mr. Maurus or Mr. Genovese

that you had any problems with these trades?

The Court: He has told us that when he found there

might be errors, he spoke to Mr.—who did you speak to

about the errors in calculating the fees?

The Witness: The financing, Joe Bryant.

The Court: And Mr. Bryant and you got together and

corrected whatever errors?

The Witness: Yes.

| Q. My question was, did you ever tell Mr. Maurus or

Mr. Genovese, when they took control of TSM Hold-

ings, that you had any problems or concerns about these

trades?

The Court: What kind of problems are you talking

about? The man was a scrivener. That’s the third time I

repeated it. He knew nothing about the underlying

transaction, and you’re not going to ask questions to give

the inference that he did when he has told you repeatedly

he did not know.

The court thus explicitly and repeatedly endorsed the gov-

ernment’s view of Bandel’s role. Such a breach of impartial-

ity is a matter of grave concer.

We cannot, however, conclude that the court’s conduct

denied Manko and Edelman a fair trial. First, defendants did

not argue to the jury that Bandel negotiated the transactions.

In closing argument defendants all but adopted the court’s

characterization, impeaching the accuracy of Bandel’s tes-

timony by stressing that after leaving Wall Street, Bandel

went to work as a part-time starter at a golf course. Thus, de-

fendants do not really dispute the accuracy of the scrivener

label.

Second, the court properly instructed the jury that the jury’s

view of the evidence controlled, regardless of what the court

Said:

With respect to factual matters, it is your recollection

that controls. Nothing that counsel for either the

government or the defendant may have said with respect

to matters of evidence, either in their openings or in their

summations, is evidence in this case; nor are any

remarks that I may make during the course of this

charge, or have made during the course of the trial—hat

is not evidence.

* * 5

I remind you again that nothing I may have said, even

my questions to witnesses during the trial when they

were on the stand, those questions should be given no

A-17

undue weight for their sole purpose was to clarify and

aid you in understanding what the content of the

testimony was to be. So you are to place no undue

weight, one way or another, on the fact that I may have

asked questions of witnesses.

In light of this extensive instruction and the fact that the

court’s statement concerned what proved to be an uncontested

issue, we do not think that the court’s error denied Manko and

Edelman a fair trial.

In sum, our review of the transcript confirms that on a few

occasions the court crossed the line in questioning witnesses.

In the context of a four month trial, we think the court’s con-

duct did not indicate to the jury that the court believed that the

prosecution should win. Accordingly, we reject defendants’

contention that the trial court’s conduct denied them a fair

trial.

B. The Ex Parte Conference

Towards the end of the government’s summation, one

prosecutor initiated a conference with the district court, with-

out the defense team. The conference was transcribed, but the

district court sealed the record of the conference and refused

to unseal the transcript until after the government’s rebuttal

summation. In this ex parte conference, the prosecutor ad-

vised the district court of his plan to use a chart in the rebuttal

summation:

The Court: What is it you have handed me, Mr.

Cleary?

Mr. Cleary: Judge, I just handed you a document I

typed up headed “Excerpts of testimony.” It lists

witness’s names and either quotations or paraphrases of

their testimony. It’s what I propose to use. It’s a mockup

of a chart I propose to use in my rebuttal summation.

A-18

I bring this to you ex parte because I didn’t want to let

the defense know at this time before they sum up exactly

what I am proposing to do in my rebuttal and I did want

to apprise the court that I am planning on doing this so

that your Honor could allot whatever time is necessary

between the end of the last defense summation and the

beginning of the rebuttal summation should there be

objection to this. Because at that time I propose to give

the defense a copy of this mockup which contains

references to the page of the transcript.

I should add, Judge, if you think it’s more appropriate

to disclose this information to them now, although I

prefer not to I, of course, would go along with that.

The Court: No, I don’t think you should disclose it.

What I will do is I will check the places that you expect

to use quotations or summations of testimony with the

record so I will be in a position to rule if there are ob-

jections to your use.

Mr. Cleary: Thank you, Judge.

The Court: All right.

At the close of the defense summation, the government in-

formed the defense of its intent to use the chart on rebuttal,

and the court allowed the defense forty-five minutes to review

the twenty-eight quotations and paraphrases in the chart for

accuracy. Defendants objected to the use of the chart and

requested surrebuttal, but did not point to any specific inac-

Curacies in the chart. The court overruled defendants’ objec-

tion and denied the request for surrebuttal. On appeal, the de-

fendants assert that the ex parte conference denied them due

process.

We note at the outset our inability to fathom why the

prosecutor would jeopardize a four month tnal with a wholly

A-19

unnecessary ex parte conference. Such conferences “should

not be conducted except in extraordinary circumstances.”

United States v. Walsh, 700 F.2d 846, 858 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 825 (1983). No such extraordinary circum-

stances are present here.

The government lamely contends that the conference was

for a proper purpose—to advise the district court of the gov-

ernment’s plan to use a chart so that the court could allot

proper time for argument between the defense summations

and the government’s rebuttal summation. But if that were all

that the government wished to accomplish in the meeting,

then there would have been no need to show the court the

chart the government planned to introduce. The government

could have indicated, with defense counsel present, that it

likely would have a chart in rebuttal which would require

prior review. The only purpose for showing the court the

precise quotes the government wished to use was to enable

the court to review the chart for accuracy before the defense

had an opportunity to present any arguments to the court. In

short, the prosecution initiated this ex parte proceeding in a

blatant attempt to win a tactical advantage, to get a “leg up.”

Unhappily, the district court went along with the prosecution.

That this ex parte conference was improper and unneces-

sary does not, of course, establish reversible error. United

States v. Persico, 349 F.2d 6, 13 (2d Cir. 1965). Rather, “[t]he

fact that such a meeting occurs . . . does not require reversal if

it does not affect the fairness of the trial.” Walsh, 700 F.2d at

858: see also United States v. Moten, 564 F.2d 620, 630 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 959 (1977).

Defendants do not point to any inaccuracies in the chart.

Nor do defendants identify any way in which the chart went

beyond the scope of proper rebuttal. Cf. United States v.

Giovanelli, 945 F.2d 479, 493-96 (2d Cir. 1991) (Newman, J.,

A-20

concurring). Defendants’ contention that a chart prepared

before the defense summation is necessarily beyond the scope

of rebuttal is unpersuasive. The quotations reflected on the

charts were all central to the case. The government could

easily predict that defense summation would tread the same

ground as the quotations. Thus, we are convinced that the

district court acted properly in allowing the government to

use the chart.

Of course, the propriety of using the chart cannot be the

measure of whether the ex parte proceeding constituted re-

versible error. Otherwise, the fact of an ex parte proceeding

would be irrelevant so long as the court ultimately made the

right ruling. Such a rule would not properly reflect our deep

distrust for one-sided proceedings. Here, however, two facts

convince us that reversal is not required. First, because the

chart was clearly accurate and within the scope of rebutial,

there is no reason to believe that the district court would have

ruled differently absent the ex parte conference. Moreover,

even if the conference did influence the judge’s decision to

allow the chart, in the context of this four month trial, we

doubt that this chart highlighting damaging testimony played

even a minimal role in influencing the jury verdict. The

prosecution presented substantial evidence that the transac-

tions with TSMH never occurred. The chart at issue did not

present any new information or any information that could

not have been conveyed easily to the jury without the chart.

Accordingly, we conclude that this highly improper ex parte

conference does not constitute reversible error.

C. The Jury Instructions

Defendants raise a series of objections to the court’s in-

structions to the jury. Principally, defendants argue that the

court should have given all of the proposed charges submitted

to the court by the defense on the afternoon of the charging

A-21

conference. Most of the proposed charges concerned tan-

gential legal issues that the government never disputed. In this

lengthy trial, the court properly avoided burdening the jury

with this extraneous information. Accordingly, we find most

of defendants’ contentions meritless. Defendants do raise

three objections to the charge that warrant discussion.

1. Ratification

The defense argued at trial that the transactions between

TSMH and GCC were real and binding even if TSMH did not

grant discretion to GCC to perform trades, because TSMH

subsequently ratified GCC’s trading. The district court, as

part of a general charge on defense contentions, instructed the

jury that “the defendants contend that TSM Holding ratified

all transactions by subsequent conduct.” The defense

requested an additional instruction defining ratification. The

court refused to give the proposed instruction. Defendants

assert this refusal constitutes reversible error. We disagree.

A court may properly refuse to give a charge that fails to

accurately state the law. United States v. Paccione, 949 F.2d

1183, 1200 (2d Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S.Ct. 3029

(1992). Here, defendants’ requested charge stated that TSMH

could ratify the acts of GCC “either by sending back confir-

mations to GCC, by failing to object to the transactions after

TSMH received confirmations from GCC, or by any other

conduct, such as recording the transactions as if they were

done, indicating an intention to be bound by the transactions.”

The problem with this proposed charge is that under New

York law, “[{a]n agent’s acts that are not valid unless

performed pursuant to writing can only be ratified in writing.”

Weston Associates, Inc. v. Niagara Properties, Inc., 130

A.D.2d 964, 965, 516 N.Y.S.2d 381, 382 (4th Dept. 1987).

Here, the acts of the purported agent, GCC, contracting for

the purchase of securities, would not be valid absent “some -

A-22

writing signed by the party against whom enforcement ‘is

sought.” N.Y.U.C.C. § 8-319(a). Accordingly, TSMH could

ratify GCC’s authority only through a writing. The defen-

dants’ proposed instruction suggesting that TSMH could rat-

ify through any conduct indicating an intent to be bound by

the transactions failed to state New York law accurately. The

district court correctly refused to give the proposed instruc-

tion.

2. Economic Substance

Defendants claim that they were prejudiced by a reversal

by the trial court during the course of the trial on the issue of

the proper definition of economic substance. On the eve of

trial, the court ruled that if the transactions were not

“economically substantive indebtedness,” the interest would

not be deductible. Defendants claim that the trial court, at this

time, rejected a two-part test for economic substance ad-

vanced by the government, instead adopting an open defini-

tion of economically substantive indebtedness, but then re-

versed itself in its charge to the jury by adopting the two-part

test previously rejected. The two-part test with which the

court charged the jury stated, in accordance with our decision

in United States v. Atkins, 869 F.2d 135, 139-40 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 493 U.S. 818 (1989), that a transaction lacks

economic substance if it lacks a reasonable possibility of

profit and lacks market risk. Defendants contend that the

ambiguous term “economically substantive indebtedness”

adopted on the eve of trial would encompass purely formal

indebtedness, and that they relied on this notion in presenting

their case. The defendants claim that this reversal constitutes

a- violation of the law of the case doctrine and they were

prejudiced by it, since they relied on the earlier ruling in

formulating their trial strategy.

| ii

A-23

While a trial court’s reversal of its own ruling during the

course of a trial may raise serious issues of prejudice, see

United States v. Uccio, 940 F.2d 753, 758 (2d Cir. 1991), we

doubt whether such concerns are raised here. Our review of

the trial record suggests that, at the outset of the trial, the

judge’s ruling was limited to acknowledging that the question

of economic substance was an issue in the case after first

saying off the record that it would not be an issue. The judge

did not provide the parties with a precise definition of

economic substance until her instructions to the jury, when

she employed the two-prong test of Atkins. On the eve of trial,

the judge simply noted that the defense objected to the

government discussing profit motive and market risk, but

stated to the parties that in establishing whether or not there

was economically substantive indebtedness, the parties may

present “whatever factors you believe are relevant in order to

reach that legal conclusion... .” In light of this, the eventual

jury charge defining economic substance as profit potential or

market risk does not appear to us to constitute a reversal of a

prior decision.

In any event, we need not decide whether there was a

prejudicial reversal of a prior ruling of law by the trial court.

In the special interrogatory, the jury found that the transac-

tions “were fictitious and did not take place.” That finding

rendered the jury’s understanding of the term “economic

substance”’ irrelevant to the outcome.

3. Prearranged Transactions

Defendants contend that the court’s charge implied that

prearranged transactions are necessarily fictitious. Defendants

argue that since all repurchase transactions are in some sense

prearranged—in that the borrower sells the security to the

lender and agrees in advance to repurchase the security at a

A-24

later date for a set price—the court’s charge effectively forced

the jury to conclude that the transactions were fictitious.

Defendants focus particularly on the court’s instructions

with respect to the knowledge element of the filing false re-

turns charge. The court advised the jury that the government

did not have to prove actual knowledge. Instead, the court

stated:

you may find that a defendant knew that the transactions

were a@ Sham or without economic substance if you find,

1, that the defendant you are considering was aware of a

high probability that the transactions did not take place

or were prearranged and, 2, that the defendant acted

with deliberate disregard for how or whether those

transactions were carried out with a conscious purpose to

avoid learning the truth on this subject. (emphasis added)

The defendants argue that this charge equated transactions

that “did not take place” with transactions that “were prear-

ranged.”

However, we think the more natural reading of the above

passage is that it equates transactions that “did not take place”

with transactions that “were a sham” and equates transactions

that “were prearranged” with transactions “without economic

substance.” Viewed in this light, we doubt the court’s

instructions prejudiced defendants. Elsewhere in the instruc-

tions the court advised the jury that “transactions may be

arranged in an attempt to minimize taxes” and expressly

stated that in order to lack economic substance, a transaction

must “lack[ ] a reasonable possibility of profit apart from tax

deductions, and... lack[ ] market risk.”

More importantly, even if the charge confused the jury on

this point, we are unable to see how this confusion prejudiced

defendants, for the same reason that we find that defendants

could not have been prejudiced by the trial court’s alleged

aaa a a

A-25

reversal on her instructions on economic substance. As noted

above, the jury expressly found that the transactions “were

fictitious and did not take place.” This response to the special

interrogatory removed the economic substance issue from the

case. Any lingering confusion about whether prearrangement

was synonymous with a lack of economic substance was ir-

relevant to the verdict. Accordingly, we reject defendants’

challenges to the jury instructions.

Finally, defendants assert that the government failed to

produce sufficient evidence to support the conviction and that

prosecutorial misconduct in summation denied them a fair

trial. We have considered these and the remainder of defen-

dants’ arguments and find them to be without merit.

CONCLUSION

The trial in this case challenged the resources of the district

court. Through the months of testimony and the thousands of

documents, the district court grappled with vigorous and

experienced defense counsel and diligently struggled to

ensure that the jury could follow the evidence and render a

fair verdict. Not unexpectedly in a long trial, the court made

some mistakes, and defendants did not receive a perfect trial.

However, our thorough review of the entire record convinces

us that the defendants did receive a fair one.

Affirmed.

ha

B-1

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE

SECOND CIRCUIT

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FILED

DEC 4 1992

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH, CLERK

SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the

City of New York, on the 4th day of December one thousand

nine hundred and ninety-two.

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee, DOCKET 91-1732

:* NUMBER: 91-1733

BERNHARD FRED MANKO, also

known as FRED; and JON EDELMAN,

Defendants-Appellants.

A petition for rehearing containing a sugggestion that the ac-

tion be reheard in banc having been filed herein by Appellant

Bernhard Fred Manko

Upon consideration by the panel that decided the appeal, it is

Ordered that said petition for rehearing is DENIED.

It is further noted that the suggestion for rehearing in banc

has been transmitted to the judges of the court in regular ac-

tive service and to any other judge that heard the appeal and

that no such judge has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

s/

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH,

Clerk

by: s/

Chief Deputy Clerk

C-1

United States District Court for

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

DOCKET NO. S89CR91-01 (MJL)

United States of America vs.

DEFENDANT BERNHARD F. MANKO

JUDGMENT AND PROBATION/COMMITMENT ORDER

In the presence of the attorney for the

government the defendant appeared in per- [MonTH DAY YEAR

son on this date ROBERT CLEARY ll 25 91

COUNSEL — WITHOUT COUNSEL

However the court advised defendant of right

to counsel and asked whether defendant desired

to have counsel appointed by the court and the

defendant thereupon waived assistance of

counsel.

X_ WITH COUNSEL

GERALD R. LEFCOURT

(Name of Counsel)

PLEA GUILTY, and the court being satisfied

that there is a factual basis for the plea,

__. NOLO CONTENDERE,

> ___. NOT _ GUILTY

FINDING & There being a finding/verdict of

JUDGMENT NOT GUILTY. Defendant is discharged

_X_ GUILTY. Defendant has been convicted

as charged of the offense(s) of

TITLE 21, SECTION 371

TITLE 26, SECTION 7206 (2)

TITLE 26, SECTION 7206 (2)

TITLE 26, SECTION 7206 (1)

DOCKETED AS

A JUDGMENT #91, 2604

ON 12/5/91

_

SENTENCE

OR

PROBATION

ORDER

SPECIAL

CONDITIONS

OF

PROBATION

ADDITIONAL

CONDITIONS

OF

PROBATION

C-2

The court asked whether defendant had

anything to say why judgment should not be

pronounced. Because no sufficient cause to the

contrary was shown, or appeared to the court,

the court adjudged the defendant guilty as

charged and convicted and ordered that the

defendant is hereby committed to the custody

of the Attorney General or his authorized

representative for imprisonment for a period of

COUNT I THREE YEARS IMPRISONMENT.

A FINE OF $250,000.00 $50.00 SPEC. ASS.

FEE

COUNT EIGHT THROUGH TWENTY-

EIGHT ONE YEAR IMPRISONMENT AND

A $50.00 SPEC. ASS. FEE ON EACH COUNT,

SENTENCES OF IMPRISONMENT ARE

CONCURRENT WITH EACH OTHER AND

CONCURRENT WITH COUNT I.

COUNT THIRTY-ONE ONE YEAR IMPRIS-

ONMENT A FINE OF $100,000.00 $50.00

SPEC. ASS. FEE. TO RUN CONSECUTIVE

TO SENTENCE ON COUNTS ONE AND

EIGHT THROUGH TWENTY-EIGHT.

COUNT THIRTY-TWO ONE YEAR IMPRIS-

ONMENT A FINE OF $100,000.00 $50.00

SPEC. ASS. FEE TO RUN CONSECUTIVE

TO SENTENCE ON COUNTS ONE, EIGHT

THROUGH TWENTY-EIGHT, AND

THIRTY-ONE.

In addition to the special conditions of probation

imposed above, it is hereby ordered that the

general conditions of probation set out on the

reverse side of this judgment be imposed. The

Court may change the conditions of probation,

reduce or extend the period of probation, and at

any time during the probation period or within

aii

C-3

a maximum probation period of five years per-

mitted by law, may issue a warrant and revoke

probation for a violation occurring during the

probation period.

The court orders commitment to the custody

of the Attorney General and recommends,

COMMITMENT

RECOMMEN.- It is ordered that the Clerk

DATION submit a certified copy of the

judgment and commitment

to the U.S. Marshal or other

| qualified officer

MICROFILM

DEC 03 1991 9:00 AM

SIGNED BY

_x__ US. District Judge

U.S. Magistrate

» HON. MARY JOHNSON LOWE

Date _11-26-91

US. DISTRICT COURT

FILED

DEC 2 1994

D-1

ORIGINAL PAGE 1

United States Court of Appeals

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Each motion must be

accompanied by a

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA, supporting affidavit.

APPELLEE, 91-1732, 1733

Vv. Docket Number

BERNHARD FRED MANKO and JON Pai oe

EDELMAN, :

state type of motion

for Stay of the

Issuance of the

Mandate

Use short title

DEFENDANTS-APPELLANTS.

MOTION BY: (Name, address and tel. no. 4 law firm and of

attorney in charge of case)

Earl Nemser, Esq.

Cadwalader, Wickersham & Taft

100 Maiden Lane

New York, New York 10038

Has consent of opposing counsel:

A. been sought? &) Yes O) No

B. been obtained? C) Yes x No

Has service been effected? &) Yes O) No

Is oral argument desired? UO Yes OU No

(Substantive motions only)

Requested return date:

(See Second Circuit Rule 27(b))

Has argument date of appeal been set:

A. by scheduling order? O Yes O) No

B. by firm date of argument notice? C) Yes O) No

C. If Yes, enter date: not applicable

Judge or agency whose order is being appealed:

D-2

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FILED

DEC 10 1992

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH, CLERK

SECOND CIRCUIT

OPPOSING COUNSEL: (Name, address and tel. no. of law firm

and of attorney in charge of case)

ROBERT CLEARY, AUSA

Office of the United States Attorney

One St. Andrew’s Plaza

New York, New York 10007

(212) 791-1967

EMERGENCY MOTIONS, MOTIONS FOR STAYS & INJUNC-

TIONS PENDING APPEAL

Has request for relief been made below? JL) Yes LC) No

(See F.R.A.P. Rule 8)

Would expedited appeal eliminate

need for this motion? LJ Yes LJ No

If No, explain why not:

Will the parties agree to maintain

the status quo until the

motion is heard? CL Yes LO No

Brief statement of the relief requested:

Defendants-Appellants seek a 90-day stay of issuance of the

Mandate pending application for a writ of certiorari.

Complete Page 2 of this Form

By: (Signature of attorney)

/s/ Earl Nemser

Signed name must be printed beneath (by CLS)

Earl Nemser

Appearing for: (Name of Party)

Appellant or Petitioner:

CJ Plaintiff &) Defendant

D-3

Appellee or Respondent:

C) Plaintiff O Defendant

Bernhard Manko

Date

10/12/92

ORDER

Kindly leave this space blank

IT IS HEREBY ORDERED that the motion be and it

hereby is granted dented

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FILED

DEC 22 1992

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH, CLERK

SECOND CIRCUIT

/s/

/s/

/s/

12/22/92

T. 1613

A. I said, “Don’t even show me those tickets, I don’t want

to be hauled out of here in handcuffs.”

Q. Did Mr. Bryant reply?

A. Hesaid, “I’m just an employee, and I’m showing you these

tickets.” and I said, “Well, I don’t like seeing tickets anyway.”

Q. I want to move onto another subject now.

Had you received any tax benefit from the TSM tax

transactions?

A. Had I received any?

Q. Right.

A. I was a participant in some limited partnerships.

Q. Which ones — let’s focus on 1982 and ’83?

A. In 1982, I was in a limited partnership called AIP, and

in a limited partnership called HTA, Hedge Trading Associates,

and in one called AHF, Arbitrage Hedge Fund, and joined one

in 1982 called Midopco.

Q. Were these all Manko-Edelman partnerships?

A. They were.

Q. Did you receive any tax deductions from your involve-

ment with these partnerships in 1982 and 1983?

A. I did.

Q. In what amounts?

A. My accountant said that I received a hundred thousand

tax deduction in ’82, and 83, a little more than

T. 1866

A. Yes, I recall that.

Q. Are you able to say what year that happened in?

A. What I’m able to say, I could tell you what I’m able to

say, but in the negative sense, I am not able to say anything but

they were a batch of very large tickets that Joe Bryant held up

that had some cancelled and corrects associated with them. I

can't say when he held those up.

Q. Even the year?

A. If there was another batch of large tickets in another year,

I could have confused it.

Q. Are you able to tell us, or do you know, whether those

tickets had anything at all to do with the trades that are the

subject of this lawsuit?

A. I cannot.

Q. Was the comment made by you intended to communicate

a serious message when you saw those trades?

A. It was to rattle Joe Bryant’s cage.

Q. You were getting at him, I think?

A. He held up those tickets, I don’t like to see tickets, he’s show-

ing me tickets, and he had a line from time to time, “I’m only

an employee, I’m only an employee,” so I said the words, “Don’t

show me your tickets,” or “those tickets,” they’re not going to

haul me out of here in handcuffs.”

Q. With the intention to rattle his cage?

E-3

T. 6374

reiterate, we think the charge the court gave is perfect under

Cheeks, but the defense would like the following language added

and we do not object. The bottom of page 62, the last sentence

begins “a person who acts” and we will be adding something

at the eid. I will read the whole sentence, “a person who acts

on a belief or an opinion honestly held is not punishable under

the statute merely because that honest belief turns out to be in-

correct or,” substitution now, “even if you determine that his

belief was unreasonable.”

MR. NEMSER: On ccasent.

THE COURT: Put a pin in that for a minute.

Let’s talk about what this court was doing in Cheeks.

The court first said that the government must prove beyond

a reasonable doubt that the defendant knew of the duty, in our

case, to deduct interest only on genuine indebtedness. Paraphras-

ing the Cheeks court, it went on to say that if the government

proves actual knowledge of this duty beyond a reasonable doubt

it has satisfied the knowledge component of wilfulness. However,

the government must negate the defendant's claim of either ig-

norance of the law or because of a misunderstanding of the law

he has a good faith belief that he was not violating the law.

Now, as I interpret that distillation, that the

* * *

T. 6428-29

Where is this discretion? Oh, Mr. Manko told me that there was

discretion. The partners in crime, the partners in this fraud —

Mr. Edelman sits there and tells you that Fred Manko told him

he had discretion. But then we put the witnesses on the stand

who could have given discretion. Mr. Sinclair, did you give

E-4

discretion? No. Mr. Tese, did you give discretion? No. Mr.

Maurus, vou must have given discretion. No. Oh, then it must

have been" you, Mr. Genovese, you gave the discretion. No.

Who gave this discretion? Is any authorization form filled out

by TSM Holding, by anyone at TSM Holding over this period?

No. You know they had them. They have the authorization forms

from other clients. Why don’t they have one for TSM Holding

showing this discretion to do whatever we want to do? It didn’t

exist. Do they have an authorization form? No. Do they have

a discretion form? No. Do they have a contract? That is what

they have. They have a contract between TSM Holding and

Government Clearing Company saying this is what we can do.

We, GCC, at our own discretion, give billions of dollars from

you, TSM, and we will set the interest rates.

Where in the real world does that happen? Try on your leisure

time and go to the bank and say, ladies and gentlemen, Mr.

Citibank, Mr. Chemical Bank, Ms. Bank of America, I am going

to borrow money from you. I am going to tell you how much

I am borrowing from you and — and here is the trick — I am

going to set the interest rate. Who would ever do that? Does

that happen in the real world?

It only happens in the Manko world, in the land of Edelman.

That is the only place it happens. They do it without a written

contract. They do it without powers of attorney. They do it

without discretion forms. Are these understandings written down

anywhere? No. Mr. Edelman tells you the understandings are

in Fred Manko’s head. That is where it is.

Mr. Edelman says, but you didn’t know this happened because

there was this account opening document. TSM filed an account

opening document. First of all, even if they did, so what? Does

that account opening document have discretionary language in

it? No. It says we opened an account. But then he tells you TSM

has this account opening document. Mr. Edelman, where is the

document? Oops, we lost it. Our biggest customer, we sold 27

billion dollars in securities for them, we borrowed 13 billion

dollars, the only document we have, we lost it.

Would any businessman or businesswoman act the way these

guys did? Would any businessman or woman act the way Maurus

or Genovese did? Of course not. What if a disagreement arose

between TSM and GCC? How do you solve it? What do you

do? You put on Mr. Manko and Mr. Manko

T. 6516

that, he doesn’t even say I assumed, he says Mr. Bandel was being

supervised by Ed Cohen. He knows it doesn’t make any sense

that they don’t talk to this guy.

Remember redirect, I got up and said, wait a minute, did you

tell Mr. Bandel he was being supervised by Ed Cohen? No. Did

Ed Cohen tell you he was supervising Mr. Bandel? No. Did

Bandel tell you that Ed Cohen was supervising him? No. Did

you ever see the two of them talking? No. Why do you say that?

He finally backs up, and says, yes, I guess I have no reason to

say that. Why did he say that? Bandel told you that. He said

Cohen was not his supervisor. He said Manko was.

Cohen told I you he didn’t supervise Dick Bandel. How is any

of this real? You constantly have to ask yourself against these

facts, do real business men and women operate this way? What

entities out there lend 13 billion dollars in this fashion?

I keep saying that number because I think one gets numb to

the numbers involved here. That would have made TSM Holding

one of the largest loan institutions in this country. 13 billion

dollars in less than six months. That's a tremendous operation.

Who are these guys? They don’t keep records.

The one guy they got keeping records, he doesn’t know what

he’s doing. He tried to explain this to you. He

T. 6579 SEALED

want to apprise the court that I am planning on doing this so

that your Honor could allot whatever time is necessary between

the end of the last defense summation and the beginning of the

rebuttal summation should there be objections to this. Because

at that time I propose to give the defense a copy of this mockup

which contains references to the page of the transcript.

I should add, Judge, if you think it’s more appropriate to

disclose this information to them now, although I prefer not to

I, of course, would go along with that.

THE COURT: No, I don’t think you should disclose it. What

I will do is I will check the places that you expect to use quota-

tions or summations of testimony with the record so I will be

in a position to rule if there are objections to your use.

MR. CLEARY: Thank you, Judge.

THE COURT: All right.

(Continued on next page)

T. 6612

are holding money for them. What are these guys talking about?

He files a tax return. He has $33 in cash, 5 billion dollars in

assets. Talk about being liquid cash poor. This is ridiculous. What

company is like that? No company is like that.

The evidence of this fraud is overwhelming. GCC and TSM

_are both controlled by Manko and Edelman. They are the

emperors, ladies and gentlemen, but we are in the Federal Court

today and all of us are equals here. :

E-7

You need to look at Manko and Edelman with clear eyes. They

are not the emperors here. Look at Manko and Edelman and

you tell them that this was a fraud. You know it was a fraud

and they knew it was a fraud.

The emperor has no clothes. Mr. Manko, Mr. Edelman, the

emperor has no clothes.

Thank you.

THE COURT: Jurors, we will take a recess and then we will

begin the summation of Ms. Chepiga.

(Recess)

T. 6824

I won't have time, because I am sure my secretary will not be

happy if I tell her to do this page over tonight. But if you will

just make that change on yours.

MS. HOENIG: The first sentence of that paragraph, yester-

day we discussed the change to be made there. Just to be clear,

was the change made or not made?

THE COURT: Yes. If I can get upstairs in time you might

have a clean sheet for tomorrow. I will try, but I can’t promise it.

See you tomorrow.

Fa

MR. RITHOLZ: Your Honor, I just was shown the transcript

for January 29, yesterday, which starts out pages 6578 and 6579

sealed.

MR. CLEARY: That was my conference with your Honor.

I don’t mind having that unsealed as soon as Mr. Ritholz

completes his summation.

E-8

THE COURT: All right. Everything I do is on the record one

way or another. You will see it as soon as you are finished.

MR. RITHOLZ: You don’t think I should know it now before

I finish summing up?

THE COURT: No.

MR. RITHOLZ: I won't suffer a prejudice.

THE COURT: The prejudice you will suffer will not be caused

by what is sealed, all right?

* * .

T. 6960-61

MR. CLEARY: From the record, the facts the evidence, the

testimony under oath of the witnesses.

Mr. Ritholz told us during his summation that the fee was

negotiated — the fee was negotiated.

What facts, what evidence, what testimony did he rely on

to reach that conclusion? Well, the fee changed, he said — the

fee changed. It went from 50 to 5 to 10. Does that mean it was

negotiated? Different size trades were done. They weren't

negotiated. The facts, the evidence, the testimony shows the fee

was never negotiated.

How do we know that? All of the decisions would be made

at the Manko/Edelman entities. When we talk about the fee

a little bit later we are going to see the fee computed by the

difference between the interest income on the bill and the in-

terest expense on the repo. Information that you saw during the

course of this trial was typed into the confirmations and someone

at the Manko/Edelman offices determined what figures to put

on those confirmations, not ‘TSM, not negotiated.

E-9

Is this the way real businessmen act, million dollar transac-

tions, billion dollar transactions, no one knowing what is going

on, supposedly at risk, having $33 in cash? We have heard a lot

about big bucks in this case and I think we all tend to get a

little blinded about the type of money we are talking about here.

During the course of the last 3 and a half months did you ever

stop to think what a billion dollars is, a billion dollars? If I were

to hand you a dollar bill every second of every minute of every

hour of every day in the entire year, and I never stopped doing

that, do you know how long it would take me to give you 1 billion

dollars? Any idea?

A JUROR: About 30.

MR. CLEARY: Close, 32 years.

We have in this case, we know, 5] billion dollars in transac-

tions. Mr. Krause told us that. Adding up ’82 and ’83, do the

multiplication, it would take me 1600 years to pass that money

over and that is what these defendants did by banging some keys

on a typewriter — Maurus and Genovese not even caring what

is written with that typewriter and in many instances not even

knowing about billion dollar transactions.

There was some discussion by Mr. Ritholz today about an emo-

tional disability that Mr. Maurus had. Mr. Maurus is not emo-

tionally disabled. Mr. Genovese is not emotionally disabled. They

are not dumb. They are not stupid. They are co-conspirators

with the defendants. They are people that got in bed with the

_ defendants and were willing to do anything the defendants

wantec as long as Maurus and Genovese made their money, and

they didn’t care what was written on the paper. They never

reviewed it as

T. 7040

how much am I going to pay. That is a fee.

E-10

Now, they try to dress it up and say, oh, it’s a markup just

like Mr. McConnon was testifying about, two different things.

This fee is a purchase price. It’s the amount the defendants deter-

mined they would pay in order to get the amount of deductions

they determined they wanted, buying tax losses, just like you

would buy a loaf of bread at the store. The only difference here

is the defendants determined the size of the loaf and how much

they are going to pay for it.

How do we know they determined how mvch they were go-

ing to pay? We looked at this earlier. They made all the deci-

sions for both sides.

What do they want you to believe? That it’s legal to buy tax

losses? If it’s legal to buy and sell tax deductions, there would

be a “Losses Are Us” franchise on every street corner in this city

and no one would pay a dime in taxes. If it’s legal to pay a

predetermined fee for a four-to-one write-off, why don’t they

reveal anywhere that that is what they are doing? If it’s legal

to do what the defendants did, you, ladies and gentlemen, can

eliminate the tax liability of our entire country, and you can

do it like that. You go back to deliberate, divide yourselves into

2 groups, jurors in the back row, jurors in the front row.

Jurors in the back row, short, short sale, you

* * *

T. 7042

Ladies and gentlemen, if you really think you can do that,

then acquit the defendants. You should acquit the defendants

if you think you can do that. But if you think what I just sug-

gested is absolutely ridiculous, and the defendants know that,

then it’s your duty to convict them.

MS. CHEPIGA: Objection.

THE COURT: Overruled.

MR. CLEARY: Their scheme is even more absurd than the

one I just suggested to you. The only difference between what

they did and what I suggested to you is the cosmetics. They had

more paper. They had more ways to hide things. They lied.

One final point about the fee. The way to hide the fee was

to rig the transactions so that GCC’s interest expense was always

a little higher than the income it got on the bill. Remember,

they controlled everything so they can put everything down there.

But the very nature of rigging this transaction this way to get

the fee — interest expense versus the interest income — shows

you that is a phony transaction. I will tell you why.

Remember how Sawyer, Carlock, Mann and even James

McConnon, the expert, described real trades, real repurchase

agreements. You are on the horn. You are calling around. You

finally get a price one place. You try two or three others, you

get the best price, call around for financing on

T. 7126

winks or nods at me.” The defense pointed out that Mr. Mann

said that everything was aboveboard. There is no question about

that. He said it. It’s in the record. It’s just not believable.

Mr. Mann was not being honest with himself nor with you

when he talked about his knowledge of the fraud. He fell prey

to one of the most common of human reactions, protect thyself,

or as we used to say in the old neighborhood, CYA. He wasn’t

willing to admit what he knew. Think about it though. Mann

was the one who told you how his trading room employees used

to refer to these as paper transactions, not having another

substance, cosmetics. When Joe Bryant held up the trading

documents John Mann expressed concern about being hauled

off in handcuffs. “Don’t even show me those tickets, I don’t want

to be hauled out of here in handcuffs.”

E-12

And he tried to justify that by saying, well, I was just trying

to rattle Joe Bryant’s cage. It was a joke. If it was a joke, why

would it rattle Joe Bryant’s cage who was worried about this,

the Joe Bryant that we hear replied to Mr. Mann by saying, I

am just an employee. I am doing my job. In essence, don’t bother

me with anything going on here. I am not responsible for this.

I am just an employee.

By the way, Mr. Ritholz had pointed out that

* . .

T. 7169 CHARGE

To find a defendant guilty of the crimes charged, in addition

to all of the other elements that I wi# instruct you about, you

need only find either, one, that the transactions were a sham,

that is, that they never occurred, or the alternative, two, that

the transactions lacked economic substance. In other words,

either one of these alternatives standing alone, in addition to

the elements of the particular crime charged, is sufficient to

prove that the transactions were fraudulent for tax purposes and

did not give rise to valid tax deductions.

If vou find beyond a reasonable doubt that TSM Holding Cor-

poration did not sell the securities to the defendant companies,

or did not lend the money to the defendant’s companies for the

purchase of these securities, I instruct you that you may find

that the transactions were a sham or paper tax shelters with form

but no substance or business purpose, and therefore did not

represent genuine indebtedness.

Now, let’s look at the alternative of the government’s

contentions.

In the alternative, if you find beyond a reasonable doubt that

the transactions were without economic substance, that is, that

they lacked a reasonable possibility of profit apart from tax

deductions, and they lacked market risk, then they would not

support interest

E-13

T. 7211-12 CHARGE

is not sufficient to constitute wilfulness.

You should look at all of the circumstances concerning the

transactions involved. Look at the manner in which the trans-

actions were carried out or not carried out and each defendant's

knowledge of and role in carrying out those transactions or not

carrying them out.

The good faith of the defendant is a complete defense to the

tax charges of the indictment because good faith is simply in-

consistent with wilfully filing a fraudulent tax return.

While the term “good faith” has no precise definition, it

means, among other things, an honest belief and the intent to

perform all lawful obligations. A person who acts on a belief

or an opinion honestly held is not punishable under this statute

merely because that honest belief turns out to be incorrect or

wrong. The tax laws subject to criminal punishment only those

people who wilfully file a fraudulent tax return.

A person who believes that his tax return truthfully reports

tne taxable income and allowable deductions under the tax law

acts in good faith and cannot be found guilty of wilfully filing

a false return. Therefore, the government must prove beyond

a reasonable doubt that the defendant you are considering knew

that the tax law permitted only the deduction of interest paid

on genuine indebtedness and that the defendant did not have

a good faith belief that the transactions involved herein con-

stituted genuine indebtedness.

In determining whether or not the government has proven

that the defendant wilfully filed a fraudulent tax return, the

jury must consider all of the evidence received in the case bear-

ing on the defendant’s state of mind.

E-14

You are further instructed that motive is irrelevant in

determining whether a taxpayer wilfully acted under either

Section 7206 subdivision 1 or subdivision 2 of the Internal

Revenue Code.

I further instruct you that it is a valid defense to a charge

of filing a false return if a person provides full information

regarding his taxable income and expenses+o an accountant

qualified to prepare federal income tax returns and the defend-

ant adopts and files the return as prepared by the accountant

without having reason to believe that it is incorrect.

On the other hand, a defendant cannot shift his responsibility

to an accountant or another if the defendant has withheld vital

information, failed to disclose secret agreements, made false en-

tries in his books, or created false documents or engaged in any

conduct the likely effect of which would be to mislead the ac-

countant or to conceal the actual state of his affairs.

DEFENDANTS’ REVISED PROPOSED JURY INSTRUCTION

NO. 23

(Specific Criminal Iptent)

Under our system of laws individuals are not punished

criminally for mere mistakes, negligence, carelessness or errors

of judgment, nor are they punished for misunderstanding the

law. They are punished only for knowing and intentional

wrongdoing.

The defendants here are not on trial for errors of judgment,

mistakes, carelessness or for misunderstanding the tax law. They

are on trial for criminal offenses, and an essential element of

such offenses is the specific criminal intent to violate a known

legal duty. To convict either defendant of the charges in the in-

dictment, the prosecution must prove beyond a reasonable doubt

that each defendant intentionally viclated a known legal duty,

E-15

that is that the defendant actually knew of this legal duty and

deliberately, consciously, voluntarily and willfully violated that

duty.

The government must prove beyond a reasonable doubt that

the defendant you are considering actually knew that the tax

law prohibited deducting the repo interest expense arising from

the transactions between GCC/GSTC and the investment part-

nerships, and that he voluntarily and intentionally violated the

tax law.

In the case of their own returns or the returns of the invest-

ment partnerships, a defendant cannot be convicted merely for

listing in a tax return an amount of interest expense or loss which

is later demonstrated to be wrong. You must find that the

defendant you are considering knew of the falsity at the time

that he signed and filed the return, and that he did not act mere-

ly by accident or through negligence, inadvertence or careless

disregard for the truth.

If you find that the defendant you are considering believed

that the repo interest expense arising from the transactions at

issue in this case was deductible under the Internal Revenue laws,

he cannot be guilty of the charges in the indictment, regardless

of whether his belief was reasonable.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.