Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Eisen v. United States

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Bupreme Court, US,

IN THE

Siuprene Court of the United States

October Term, 1992

GERALDINE G. MORGANTI AND DENNIS RELLA,

Petitioners,

against

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA.

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

RICHARD E. MISCHEL, P.C.

Attorney for Petitioners

Geraldine G. Morganti and Dennis Rella

225 Broadway, Suite 2199

New York, New York 10007

(212) 227-7040

RICHARD E. MISCHEL

Of Counsel

SE SEES SN Se ae ee ee

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented. ...... i

LSOG OF POPEAGRs « 6 « « « oo a BS

Table of Authorities ..... .ilii

Opimign BOLGOW. « «© «© ow sw we we CU

Jurisdictional Statement .... 5

Constitutional Provision

Beene 4.4 as 4 eee Ss ee 5

Statement of the Case. .... . 6

Reasons For Granting The Writ. . 13

CORGIUESOE. « «2 3 a 6 s+ 6 6 ee Be

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States

Court of Appeals For The

Seconm@ Circuit .. «s+ s « 38

Order dated October 20, 1992,

Denying Petition for Rehearing

with Suggestion For Rehearing

In BA€NnC . « «© © © © @ @ ew @ te ew] | C64

|

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Whether the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals and other Circuit Courts of

Appeals have misapplied the decision of

this Court in United States v. Nardello,

393 U.S. 286 (1969), and in so doing have

miscontrued the provision of RICO requiring

state predicates to "be chargeable under

state law" (18 U.S.C. § 1961[1][A]).

2. Whether the RICO statute is

unconstitutionally vague both on its face

and as applied.

3. Whether the exclusion of perjury

from the definition of Rackteering Activity

set forth in 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)(A) permits

the use of a violation of the federal mail

fraud statute as a predicate act for what

was a state court perjury.

LIST OF PARTIES

In addition to Petitioners Geraldine

G. Morganti and Dennis Rella, the other

parties to the appeal before the United

States Court of Appeals for the Second

Circuit, whose judgment is sought to be

reviewed were Morris J. Eisen, Joseph P.

Napoli, Harold M. Fishman, Marty Gabe, and

Alan Weinstein, appellants and the

Respondent, United States of America.

ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES

United States v. Eisen,

974 F.2d 246 (2d Cir. 1992)

United States v. Nardello,

393 U.S. 286 (1969).

STATE CASES

People v. Berger, 52 N.Y.2d 214,

437 N.¥.6.24@ 272, 418 N.E.2cd

1291 [1981] — +e. +s +e © 4

People v. Hudson, 51 N.Y.2d 233,

433 N.Y.S.2d 1004, 414 N.E.2da

SUS £iSG0) «6 «© eS © ew

People v. Leon, 121A.D.2da 1,

509 N.Y.S.2d 1 [lst Dept.

1986], app. denied 69 N.Y.2d

830, 513 N.¥.3.2G@ 1037, 506

N.E.2a 548, N.Y.Crim.Pro.L.

§ 60.22 +. & 6 6 » cece

Matter of DiJoseph, 174 A.D.2d

78, 578 N.Y.S.2d 832 [1992]

People v. Sweet, 78 N.Y.2d 263,

573 N.Y¥.S.2d 438, 577 N.E.2da

1030 ([1991}) . .« « « «© «© « »«

People v. Velasquez, 151 A.D.2d

159, 547 N.Y.S.2da 6 [lst Dept.

1989], aff'd, 76 N.Y.2d 905,

561 N.Y.S.2d 911, 563 N.E.2d

Deer eeeee 5 5 se eee 8

iii

15,

16

15

18

18

16

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (Cont'd)

PAGE

FEDERAL STATUTES

18 U.S.C. §1341 . «2 2© «© @ @ 6

18 U.S.C. §1961 .. «2 « « « i0, i3

18, 20

A@ Vetoes BAPGR ¢. © 6s 8 4 * 3

28 U.S.C. §1254 "etx ue Oe ves gt >

STATE STATUTES

N.Y. Penal Law §§ 200.00 and

Si45300 «© «+ © © & © *&© 6 © eu * 6, 26

N.Y. Penal Law §200.00. ... . 14

N.Y. Penal Law §215.00.

N.Y. Penal Law §20.00 ..... 14

N.¥.Crim.Pro.L. §60.22 .. <« « io, se

N.¥.€rim. Pro... $190.65 . . « » a7, a9

N.Y. Crim. Pro... $70.30 « « « « 17

MISCELLANEOUS AUTHORITIES

Practice Commentaries,

Mck. Consol. Laws of N.Y.,

11A, Crim.Pro.L., §60.22

[weet i992} ++ «© © © & © *® 15

iv

No.

In The

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

GERALDINE G. MORGANTI AND DENNIS

RELLA,

Petitioners,

- against -

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Petitioners Geraldine G. Morganti and

Dennis Rella respectfully pray that a Writ

of Certiorari be issued to review the Order

of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Second Circuit, entered on August 17,

1992, which affirmed the judgment of the

United States District Court, Eastern

District of New York (Sifton, J.), entered

on September 4, 1991

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals is

reported at 974 F.2d 246 and appears in the

Appendix as la-45a. The Court of Appeals

in its August 17th Order affirmed the

judgment of the United States District

Court, Eastern District of New York,

convicting Petitioner Morganti of violating

the anti-racketeering statute of (18 U.S.C.

§1962[c]) and conspiring to violate that

statute (18 U.S.C. §1962[d]), and

Petitioner Dennis Rella of conspiring to

violate the anti-racketeering statute (18

U.S.C. § 1962[d]}), upon a jury verdict, and

sentencing them, in accordance with the

Federal Sentencing Guidelines, to terms of

imprisonment of thirty-seven months

(Petitioner Morganti) and twenty-four

months (Petitioner Rella).

The Order of the Court of Appeals,

dated October 20, 1992, denying the

petition for rehearing and noting that no

- 3-

judges of the court requested a vote on the

suggestion for rehearing in banc, appears

in the Appendix as 46a.

JURISDICTION

The jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked under 28 U.S.C. §1254. The Order

of the Court of Appeals sought to be

reviewed was filed on August 17, 1992. The

Petition for rehearing, with a suggestion

for rehearing in banc, was denied by Order

of the Court of Appeals, dated October 20,

1992. This Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari is filed within the time

prescribed by U. S. Sup. Ct. Rule 13, 28

U.S.C.A.

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

Fifth Amendment:

"No person shall *** be deprived

of life, liberty, or property,

without due process of law."

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Petitioners Geraldine M. Morganti and

Dennis Rella, and five others were accused

by a Grand Jury, sitting in the Eastern

District of New York, of violating the

federal anti-racketeering statute (18

U.8.C. §1962 (c]), and conspiring to

violate the anti-racketeering statute (18

U.S.C. 1962 [d]), alleging in twenty-six

acts of racketeering the commission of mail

fraud (18 U.S.C. §1341) and bribery (N.Y.

Penal Law §§ 200.00 and 215.00) in

connection with the representation of

plaintiffs in personal injury actions by

persons employed by or affiliated with the

Morris .e Eisen, Py... law firm.

Specifically, Petitioners were named in six

racketeering acts, each.’

Also named as _ co-defendants/co-

conspirators in the indictment were

attorneys Morris J. Eisen, Joseph P.

Napoli and Harold Fishman;

investigators Alan Weinstein and Martin

(continued...)

Petitioners and their five co-

defendants/co-conspirators pleaded not

guilty to the charges and, on November 4,

1990, proceeded to trial before’ Hon.

Charles P. Sifton, U.S.D.J., and a jury.

The trial continued until March 4, 1991,

when the jury after deliberating for three

weeks found, inter alia, that Petitioner

Morganti had committed four of six

racketeering acts alleged in the

indictment, that Petitioner Rella had

committed three racketeering acts, and

therefore were guilty of racketeering and

conspiracy. The court set aside the jury's

verdict finding Petitioner Rella guilty of

RICO on the ground that none of the

'(...continued)

Gabe. Petitioner Morganti was named in

the indictment as office administrator

of the Eisen firm; Petitioner Rella was

an investigator performing

investigatives services for the Eisen

firm.

Petitions for a Writ of Certiorari

have also been filed by Morris J. Eisen

and Joseph P. Napoli.

- 7 «

|

predicate acts he was found to have

committed fell within the statute of

limitations.

The government's case against

Petitioners, and their five co-defendants,

rested primarily on the testimony of

numerous witnesses who had _ negotiated

generous cooperation agreements with the

United States Attorney's Office, as well as

with local (county) prosecutors, in return

for their immunized testimony.

Particularly important to the government's

case was the testimony of Steven DiJoseph,

the managing attorney at the Eisen firm

from February 1983, until October 18, 1984

(T864-72, 1075-80, 5389). As a key

government witness, DiJoseph testified

about many of the racketeering acts set

forth in the indictment, admitting that he

was the architect of many of the frauds

charged, that he committed crimes’ too

numerous to catalogue, and that he violated

- 8 =

his oath as attorney on a daily basis.’

Indeed, during his testimony, DiJoseph

volunteered that he "[hjad no ethics" while

he was managing attorney at the Eisen firm

(T1282), and that he hated two of the Eisen

defendants he was testifying against,

namely: Petitioner Morganti and co-

defendant Napoli (T1528).

. In its opinion, per curiam,

accepting Steven DiJoseph’s resignation

from the New York Bar, the Appellate

Division of the Supreme Court of New

York, First Department, said that, “”In

November, 1990, while under no

indictment, [DiJoseph] voluntarily

testified in Federal Court under a

grant of immunity at the racketeering

and conspiracy trial of Morris Eisen,

Esq., and other member of his firm.

During the course of that trial

{DiJoseph]} admitted to misconduct

involving fabrication of evidence,

forgery and perjury in a_ significant

number of judicial proceedings.

[DiJoseph] acknowledges that if charges

were predicated upon the _ foregoing

misconduct under investigation, he

could not successfully defend himself

on the merits against such charges”

(Matter of DiJoseph, 174 A.D.2d 78, 79,

578 N.Y.S.2d 832 [1992]).

- 9 =

In essence the theory of the

prosecution against Petitioner was that, as

co-defendant Morris Eisen's trusted office

manager, she assisted others in suborning

perjury of witnesses, including family

members, bribing witnesses, and committing

mail fraud in connection with six personal

injury actions in which the Eisen firm was

representing the plaintiffs. With regard

to Petitioner Rella, the government

theorized that he committed the same

generic crimes in providing investigative

services to the Eisen firm to facilitate

the successful prosecution of personal

injury actions.

On Appeal to the Second Circuit Court

of Appeals, Petitioners contended, inte

alia, that the phrase in 18 U.S.C. §

1961(1)(A), “chargeable under state law"

required the incorporation of the elements

of state offenses within federal RICO

prosecutions and any relevant state

- 10 -

}

defenses. Specifically, because state law

required corroboration of accomplice

testimony and because without it a state

prosecution would be legally insufficient,

corroboration of state law offenses, relied

upon as predicates in a RICO prosecution,

should be required as part of the

government's case.

By Order dated August 17, 1992, the

Second Circuit affirmed the Petitioner's

convictions, notwithstanding the court's

agreement with Petitioner Morganti that at

least as to one of the racketeering acts

she was found by the jury to have

committed, the evidence was legally

insufficient.

Thereafter, petitions were submitted

for rehearing with a_ suggestion for

rehearing in banc. On October 20, 1992

(46a), the petitions were denied, it being

noted that no judge of the court requested

See

a vote on the suggestion for rehearing in

banc.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE SECOND CIRCUIT COURT OF

APPEALS -- AND VARIOUS OTHER

CIRCUIT COURTS OF APPEALS -- HAVE

APPLIED THE RICO S8TATUTE IN A

MANNER WHICH CONFLICTS WITH THE

DECISION OF THIS COURT IN UNITED

STATES V. NARDELLO PERMITS THE

’NON-INCORPORATION’ OF THE

ELEMENTS OF STATE OFFENSES WHICH

SERVE AS PREDICATES FOR FEDERAL

PROSECUTIONS UNDER THE TRAVEL ACT

AND/OR RICO.

In his Petition for a Writ of

Certiorari, Point One, 14-45, Petitioner

Morris J. Eisen raised concerning the issue

of whether, pursuant to 18 U.S.C.

§1961(1)(A), the phrase "chargeable under

state law," requires the "incorporation" of

the elements of state offenses relied upon

in federal RICO prosecutions to establish a

pattern of racketeering activity and any

relevant defenses to those offenses

permitted under state law. Petitioners

Geraldine G. Morganti and Dennis Rella

adopt and join in the arguments made by

- 13 -

Petitioner Eisen in Point One of his

Petition, adding the following comments.

At the trial, defense counsel argued

that with respect to the RICO racketeering

acts charging violations of New York State

law viz: N.Y. Penal Law §§ 200.00, 215.00,

and 20.00, that the government be required

to corroborate the testimony of accomplice

witnesses who were used to prove these

crimes, since this would have been required

if the case were prosecuted on the state

level. The court was also asked to charge

the jury that to be found guilty the

accomplice testimony pertaining to state

crime predicates had to be corroborated by

independent evidence. The court declined

to give the requested charge.

The argument was made before the trial

court and before the United States Court of

Appeals that under New York law a crime is

not "chargeable" unless the testimony of an

accomplice witness is corroborated. This

- 14 =-

issue was again raised in connection with

the Petition for rehearing with a

suggestion for rehearing in banc.

The New York accomplice corroboration

rule is not a mere formalism (see People v.

Leon, 121 A.D.2d 1, 5-6, 509 N.Y.S.2d 1

[lst Dept. 1986], app. denied 69 N.Y.2d

830, 513 N.Y.S.2d 1037, 506 N.E.2d 548

[1987]). N.Y. Crim. Pro. L. § 60.22 in

relevant part provides that,

"1. A defendant may not be convicted

of any offense upon the testimony of

an accomplice unsupported by

corroborative evidence tending’ to

connect the defendant with the

commission of such offense."

Rather than limiting the class of persons

who qualify as accomplices under New York

law, the legislature broadened the common

law definition by the inclusion of

subdivisions two and three to section 60.22

(People v. Berger, 52 N.Y.2d 214, 219, 437

N.Y.S.2d 272, 418 N.E.2d 1291 [1981]; see

also Preiser, Practice Commentaries, Mck.

- 15 =

Consol. Laws of N.Y., 11A, Crim. Pro. L., §

60.22 p 588 (West 1992]). In Berger, the

New York Court of Appeals explained that,

"(tjraditionally the law has viewed

accomplice testimony with a suspicious

eye [citations omitted]. While such

evidence is competent, *** it may

often lack the inherent

trustworthiness of the testimony of a

disinterested witness [citation

omitted]. This is so because one who

concedes his or her own guilt and

testifies against another might often

be doing so to curry favor with the

authorities. Courts have thus

exercised the utmost caution in

dealing with accomplice testimony,

especially when the testimony is

exchanged for immunity or other

favorable prosecutorial consideration

[citations omitted]. And, many years

ago the legislature saw fit to provide

that the uncorroborated testimony of

an accomplice would not suffice for a

conviction" (52 N.Y.2d at pp. 218-19;

see also People v. Hudson, 51 N.Y.2d

233, 238-39, 433 N.Y.S.2d 1004, 414

N.E.2d 385 [1980]).

The law in New York is also clear that

corroboration of accomplice testimony is a

component of the People's burden of proof

where that kind of testimony is relied upon

by the prosecution to obtain an indictment

- 146 -

Se

as well as to establish the defendant's

guilt of the crimes charged or any lesser

included offenses. Section 70.10 of the

Criminal Procedure Law defines "legally

sufficient evidence" as,

"competent evidence which, if accepted

as true, would establish every element

of an offense charged and the

defendant's commission thereof; except

that such evidence is not legally

sufficient when corroboration required

by law is absent" (emphasis added).

Under New York law, an indictment, to be

valid, must be based upon legally

sufficient evidence (N.Y.Crim.Pro.L.

§190.65, subd 1.), and "no conviction of an

offense by verdict is valid unless based

upon trial evidence which is legally

sufficient" (N.Y.Crim.Pro.L. §70.20).

Finally, Petitioners Morganti and

Rella were charged in the Ninth and Sixth

Racketeering Acts, respectively, with

bribing a witness in violation of section

215.00 of the New York Penal Law. To

establish their guilt of those crimes, the

-17-<-

ee

government relied on the testimony of two

witnesses both of whom were accomplices as

a matter of New York law (see

N.Y.Crim.Pro.L. §60.22, subd 2; People v.

Sweet, 78 N.Y.2da 263, 573 N.Y.S.2d 438, 577

N.E.2d 1030 [1991}). Under state law, the

evidence was legally insufficient to

Support a jury finding that Petitioners

Morganti and. Rella were guilty of the

conduct ascribed to them in Racketeering

Acts Nine and Six because there was no

corroborative evidence truly independent of

the accomplices' testimony "fairly and

reasonably" tending to connect Petitioners

to the commission of the crimes charged

(see People v. Velasquez, 151 A.D.2d 159,

164, 547 N.Y.S.2d 6 [lst Dept. 1989], aff'd

76 N.¥.2d 905, 561 N.Y.S.2da 911, 563 N.E.2d

282 [1990}).

Certiorari should be granted to review

the significant question of whether,

pursuant to 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1)(A), the

- 18 =-

language "Chargeable under state law"

requires the incorporation of the elements

of state offenses, relied upon in federal

RICO prosecutions to establish the required

pattern of racketeering activity, and

relevant defenses to those offenses

recognized under state law.

- 19 -

It.

IF 18 U.8.C. § 1961(1)(A) DOES

NOT REQUIRE THE GOVERNMENT TO

PLEAD AND PROVE ALL OF THE

ELEMENTS OF STATE OFFENSES RELIED

UPON AS RICO PREDICATES -- BUT

RATHER REQUIRES ONLY THAT THE

CONDUCT ALLEGED “BE TYPICAL OF

THE SERIOUS CRIME DEALT WITH BY

STATE STATUTES” -- THEN IT I8

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE. THE

VAGUENESS OF THIS SECTION,

COUPLED WITH THE DEMONSTRATED

VAGUENESS OF THE ‘PATTERN’

REQUIREMENT, RENDERS THE RICO

STATUTE, As A WHOLE

UNCONSTITUTIONALLY VAGUE, BOTH ON

ITS FACE AND AS APPLIED.

In his Petition, Point Two, pp46-64,

Petitioner Eisen argues that the vagueness

of 18 U.S.C. §1961(1)(A) coupled with the

vagueness of the pattern requirement,

renders the RICO statute unconstitutional.

Petitioners Morganti and Rella adopt and

join in those arguments in support of their

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari.

- 20 -

IIt.

WHETHER THE EXCLUSION OF PERJURY FROM

THE DEFINITION OF RACKETEERING

ACTIVITY SET FORTH IN 18 U.8.C. §

1961(1) (A) REQUIRES THE VACATUR OF

THOSE RACKETEERING ACTS ALLEGING

VIOLATIONS OF THE FEDERAL MAIL FRAUD

STATUTE (18 U.S.C. § 1341) WHICH WERE

BASED UPON SUBORNING PERJURY IN STATE

COURT PERSONAL INJURY ACTIONS.: a

In Point IV of his Petition, pp35-38,

Petitioner Joseph P. Napoli raised the

issue of whether the exclusion of perjury

from the definition of Racketeering

i pthedin 180.5... 8 14 eI (4) CA) .

Activity, required the vacatur of the guilty

verdicts on the mail fraud predicates which

were MGsansjaiiy based upon allegations

that Petitioners and their co-defendants

suborned perjury in a state court personal

injury action. Petitioners adopt and join

in the arguments made by Petitioner Napoli

in Point IV of his Petition.

- 21-

—

CONCLUSION

FOR THE REASONS ' STATED, THE

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE GRANTED.

Dated: New York, New York

December 4, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

RICHARD E. MISCHEL, P.C.

Attorney for Petitioners

Morganti and Rella

225 Broadway, Suite 2199

New York, New York 10007

(212) 227-7040

- 22-

APPENDIX

la

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

+

Nos. 1311, 1312, 1313, 1315, 1324. 1325, 1327, 1491

August Term 1991

Argued: April 29, 1992 Decided: August 17, 1992

Docket Nos. 91-1549(L), -1551, -1552, -1553,

-1554, -1555, -1633, 92-1032

*>

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA,

Appellee,

—_vVv.—

MORRIS J. EISEN, JOSEPH P. NAPOLI, HAROLD M. FISH-

MAN, DENNIS RELLA, MARTY GABE, GERALDINE G.

MORGANTI, and ALAN WEINSTEIN,

Defendants-Appellants,

LEONARD KAGEL,

Defendant.

he

Before:

MESKILL, Chief Judge,

TIMBERS and NEWMAN, Circuit Judges.

oe

Appeal from judgments of the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of New York (Charles P.

6421

2a

Sifton, Judge), convicting defendants of RICO violations,

in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c), (d) (1988), arising

out of a law firm's fraudulent conduct of personal injury

cases.

Affirmed.

>

ALAN M. DERSHOWITZ, New York, N-Y.

(Nathan Z. Dershowitz, Dershowitz &

Eiger, New York, N.Y.), for defendant-

appellant Eisen.

JOSEPH P. NAPOLI, pro se, New York, N.Y.

STEVEN R. KARTAGENER, New York, N.Y.

(Roger L. Stavis, Kartagener & Stavis,

New York, N.Y., on the brief), for defen-

dant-appellant Fishman.

RICHARD MISCHEL, New York, N.Y., for

defendants-appellants Rella and Mor-

ganti.

MARTIN J. SIEGEL, New York, N.Y., for

defendant-appellant Gabe.

RONALD E. DEPETRIS, New York, N.Y. (Seth.

F. Kaufman, Carro, Spanbock, Kaster &

Cuiffo, New York, N.Y., on the brief), for

defendant-appellant Weinstein.

FAITH E. GAY, Asst. U.S. Atty., Brooklyn,

N.Y. (Andrew J. Maloney, U.S. Atty.,

Susan Corkery, David C. James, Peter A.

Norling, Asst. U.S. Attys., Brooklyn,

N.Y., on the brief), for appellee.

6422

3a

JON O. NEWMAN, Circuit Judge:

This is an appeal of RICO convictions arising from a

law firm’s fraudulent conduct of civil litigation as plain-

tiff’s counsel in personal injury cases. The appeal is

brought by Morris J. Eisen, Joseph P. Napoli, Harold M.

Fishman, Dennis Rella, Marty Gabe, Geraldine G. Mor-

ganti, and Alan Weinstein from judgments of the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of New York

(Charles P. Sifton, Judge), following a four-month jury

trial. We affirm.

Background

Morris J. Eisen, P.C. (“the Eisen firm”) was a large

Manhattan law firm that specialized in bringing personal

injury suits on behalf of plaintiffs. The defendants, seven

of the Eisen firm’s attorneys, investigators, and office per-

sonnel, were tried jointly on two counts of conducting and

conspiring to conduct the affairs of the Eisen firm through

a pattern of racketeering activity, in violation of 18 U.S.C.

§§ 1962(c), (d) (1988). The indictment alleged, as the

underlying acts of racketeering, that each of the defen-

dants committed, among other crimes, numerous acts of

mail fraud, in violation of 18 U.S.C. § 1341, and bribery

“of witnesses, in violation of New York Penal Law

§ 215.00 (McKinney 1988).

Eisen was the founder, sole shareholder, and principal

attorney of the Eisen firm. Napoli was associated with the

Eisen firm in an “of counsel!” capacity, and he was the

main trial attorney for the firm. Fishman, a trial attorney,

was also “of counsel” to the firm. The Eisen firm regu-

larly used investigators to assist attorneys in the trial

preparation of personal injury cases, and defendants

6423

4a

Weinstein, Gabe, and Rella were private investigators

affiliated with the firm. Morganti was the office admin-

istrator of the Eisen firm with responsibility for managing

the daily affairs of the firm, including assigning attorneys

and investigators to particular cases, monitoring the firm’s

daily calendar, and managing the financial and personnel

operations of the firm.

The evidence at trial established that the defendants

conducted the affairs of the Eisen law firm through a pat-

tern of mail fraud and witness bribery by pursuing coun-

terfeit claims and using false witnesses in personal injury

trials, and that the Eisen firm earned millions in contin-

gency fees from personal injury suits involving fraud or

bribery. The methods by which the frauds were accom-

plished included pressuring accident witnesses to testify

falsely, paying individuals to testify falsely that they had

witnessed accidents, paying unfavorable witnesses not to

testify, and creating false photographs, documents, and

physical evidence of accidents for use before and during

trial. The Government’s proof included the testimony of

numerous Eisen firm attorneys and employees as well as

Eisen firm clients, defense attorneys, and witnesses

involved in the fraudulent personal injury suits. Tran-

scripts, correspondence, and trial exhibits from the fraud-

ulent personal injury suits were also introduced.

The racketeering acts considered by the jury related to

the defendants’ conduct with regard to 18 fraudulent per-

sonal injury lawsuits in which the plaintiff was repre-

sented by the Eisen firm. The defendants were found

guilty of racketeering acts involving the following per-

sonal injury cases:

Eisen: Mulnick, Schwartz, Stanton;

Napoli: Ferri, Mulnick, Robbins, Rehberger;

6424

Fishman: Aboud, Schwartz, Tuning, Nieves;

Rella: Miceli, Rehberger, Schwartz;

Gabe: Robbins, Stanton, Nieves;

Morganti: Miceli, Schwartz, Stanton, Pietrafesa;

Weinstein: Aboud, Schwartz, Tuning, Nieves,

Metrano.

The jury convicted all seven defendants of RICO sub-

Stantive and conspiracy offenses after three weeks of

deliberations.!

Discussion

I. Legal Sufficiency of Charges

A. Mail Fraud

Weinstein argues that a scheme to deprive an adversary

of money by means of a civil lawsuit conducted fraudu-

lently does not constitute mail fraud because there is no

deprivation of property as defined by the Supreme Court

in McNally v. United States, 483 U.S. 350 (1987). In that

case, the Supreme Court held that the mail fraud statute

does not reach schemes to defraud citizens of their right

to honest and impartial government but is instead “limited

in scope to the protection of property rights.” /d. at 360.

Looking to the legislative history of the statute, which

“indicates that its original impetus. . . was to protect the

people from schemes to deprive them of their money and

property,” the Court concluded that

1 Rella’s RICO conviction was vacated because the racketeering acis

underlying that conviction were not committed within the limitations

period.

6425

6a

the words “te defraud” commonly refer to “wronging

one in his property rights by dishonest methods or

schemes,” and “usually signify the deprivation of

something of value by trick, deceit, chicane or over-

reaching.”

Id. at 356, 358 (footnote and citation omitted). In revers-

ing the convictions of defendants charged with scheming

to deprive the state of its right to honest government by

having a state agency share proceeds with business enti-

ties in which the defendants held interests, the Supreme

Court emphasized that there was no allegation that the

State or its citizens had been deprived of any money or

property. /d. at 360-61.

Weinstein contends that the right of the civil defendants

and their liability insurers to have a judgment in a civil

proceeding obtained free of fraud and perjury is an intan-

gible right not cognizable under the mail fraud statute.

The Government responds that the mail fraud predicates

at issue here allege a scheme to defraud that comports

squarely with the McNally definition of mail fraud

because the Eisen indictment explicitly alleges a scheme

to deprive the victims of money.

Weinstein relies on United States v. Eckhardt, 843 F.2d

989 (7th Cir.), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 839 (1988). In Eck-

hardt, the defendant had operated a phony tax shelter

scheme and had committed perjury and submitted false

documents in a civil proceeding brought by his investors

against the IRS to challenge disallowance of their deduc-

tions. The indictment charged him with a scheme

To defraud the United States by impeding and

impairing, obstructing and defeating the lawful func-

tions of the Internal Revenue Service in the ascer-

tainment, computations, assessment and collection of

6426

___——— i

the revenue, to wit, income taxes of taxpayer-

investors. .

843 F.2d at 996. The Seventh Circuit concluded that this

allegation failed to allege mail fraud in light of McNally.

It found that the indictment charged the defendant with

interfering with the IRS’s proper ascertainment and

collection of income taxes. It does not specifically

allege that he deprived the government of revenue.

. . . [I]t is not sufficient to allege conduct which

could have resulted in the government’s failure to

collect revenue owed to it. . . . The connection

between the charged conduct and the loss of revenue

here is too tenuous and speculative to constitute an

actual deprivation of money or property.

Id. at 996-97.

Weinstein’s reliance on Eckhardt is unavailing. The

Eisen indictment contained precisely what was found to

be lacking in the Eckhardt indictment: the allegation of a

scheme to defraud the litigant of money or property. We

have upheld charges similar to those made in Eckhardt

where an indictment has alleged a scheme to defraud the

Government of money. See United States v. Porcelli, 865

F.2d 1352 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 810 (1989)

(upholding conviction for mail fraud against McNally

challenge where defendant was charged with defrauding

state government of its right to sue for sales tax he failed

to collect); United States v. Rubin, 844 F.2d 979, 985-86

(2d Cir. 1988) (upholding conviction for mail fraud where

defendant defrauded New York State of public revenues).

Weinstein next contends that even if the civil defen-

dants were deprived of property, the only party

“deceived” by the alleged fraud were civil juries that

6427

8a

awarded the money judgment. Because the juries were not

claimed to have been injured, Weinstein argues that the

“convergence theory” of mail fraud, which, he contends,

requires that the party defrauded and the party injured be

identical, see United States v. Evans, 844 F.2d 36, 39 (2d

Cir. 1988), is not satisfied. Even if the “convergence the-

ory” is applicable, which we do not decide,? its require-

ments are met here. Weinstein’s argument that “the civil

defendant is contesting, not relying on, the truth of the

allegedly false testimony,” Brief for Appellant Weinstein

at 36, and is therefore not deceived by a corrupt adversary

takes an unrealistically narrow view of the charges in this

case and ignores settled authority that perjury and fake

evidence defraud the adverse party.

First, a number of the mail fraud predicates in the

indictment alleged fraud that was perpetrated directly on

the civil defendants and their liability insurers before the

lawsuit reached trial. In several cases, misrepresentations

in pleadings and pretrial submissions were made in the

hope of fraudulently inducing a settlement before trial.

And in cases that went to trial, fraudulent representations

concerning the claims were directed at the civil defen-

dants and their insurers in an effort to induce settlement

before verdict. In fact, several of the lawsuits listed in the

indictment were settled. Even in cases decided by a jury,

defendants’ misconduct was intended to defraud their

adversaries. Litigants depend on the integrity of the con-

2 Some Diswict Courts in this Circuit have concluded that this Court's

dicta in Evans stands only for the proposition that a civil RICO piaintiff

must have been injured to have standing under section 1964. See, eg.

Shaw v Rolex Watch U S.A., 726 F. Supp. 969, 972-73 (S.D.N.Y. 1989);

Galerie Furstenberg v. Coffaro, 697 F. Supp. 1282, 1288 (S.D.N.Y.

1988). Other district courts outside this Circuit have rejected the con-

vergence theory altogether. See Texas Air Corp. v. Air Line Pilots Ass'n

Int., No. Civ. 88-0804, 1989 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 11149 (S.D. Fla. July 14,

1989); Lewis v. Lhu, 696 F. Supp. 723, 727 (D.D.C. 1988)

6428

Ya

duct of participants in civil proceedings though disputing

the validity of their opponents’ claims to impose or resist

civil liability. It is one thing to challenge the perception,

memory, or bias of an Opponent’s witnesses; it is quite

another for a party’s lawyer and a witness to concoct tes-

timony that they know has been wholly fabricated.

Moreover, Weinstein’s claim that perjured testimony

suborned by the defendants was directed at the civil juries

rather than at the other litigants ignores relevant case law.

In United States v. Rodolitz, 786 F.2d 77 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 479 U.S. 826 (1986), the defendant had brought a

fraudulent civil action against his insurance company and

recovered a money judgment from the company at tnal. In

affirming the defendant’s conviction for mail fraud, this

Court explicitly recognized that false evidence at a civil

trial works a fraud not only on the jury but on the oppos-

ing party as well. /d. 786 F.2d at 80-81. See also Averbach

v. Rival Manufacturing Co., 809 F.2d 1016 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 482 U.S. 915 (1987).

Weinstein also argues that the causation between the

fraud and the resulting deprivation of property is too

“attenuated.” However, the Government need establish

only an intent to harm; it is not required to prove that the

victim was actually injured as a result of the scheme, see

United States v. Starr, 816 F.2d 94, 98 (2d Cir. 1987),

much less that any injury that did occur resulted solely

from the fraud, see Rodolitz, supra. In Rodolitz, we found

a sufficient causal link between the defendant’s failure to

disclose evidence in his trial to recover losses from his

insurance company and the resulting judgment against the

company, regardless of what the trial jury may actually

have relied upon in reaching its verdict.

6429

10a

Finally, Weinstein contends that permitting the mail

fraud offenses charged in the Eisen indictment to serve as

RICO predicate acts conflicts with the deliberate decision

made by Congress in omitting perjury as one of the enu-

merated RICO predicate offenses within the definition of

“racketeering activity.” See 18 U.S.C. § 1961(1). Contrary

to the Government's abrupt dismissal of this argument as

“baseless,” Brief for Appellee at 36, we recognize that

there is some tension between the congressional decision

to include federal mail fraud as a predicate offense and to

exclude perjury, whether in violation of federal or state

law. That tension is illustrated by this prosecution in

which the fraudulent scheme consists primarily of arrang-

ing for state court witnesses to commit perjury.

Though the tension exists, we do not believe it places

the indictment in this case beyond the purview of RICO.

Congress did not wish to permit instances of federal or

State court perjury as such to constitute a pattern of RICO

racketeering acts. Apparently, there was an understand-

able reluctance to use federal criminal law as a back-stop

for all state court litigation. Nevertheless, where, as here,

a fraudulent scheme falls within the scope of the federal

mail fraud statute and the other elements of RICO are

established, use of the mail fraud offense as a RICO pred-

icate act cannot be suspended simply because perjury is

part of the means for perpetrating the fraud. We do not

doubt that where a series of related state court perjuries

occurs, it will often be possible to allege and prove both

a scheme to defraud within the meaning of the mail fraud

Statute as well as the elements of a RICO violation. But in

such cases, it will not be the fact of the perjuries alone

that suffices to bring the matter within the scope of RICO.

In any event, we cannot carve out from the coverage of

6430

lla

RICO an exception for mail fraud offenses that involve

State COurt perjuries.

B. State Law Bribery

1. “Witness” as required by §215.00 of New York

Penal Law. Weinstein, Rella, Morganti, and Fishman all

attack various witness bribery racketeering acts by

arguing that the individual allegedly bribed was not a

“witness or a person about to be called as a witness”

within the meaning of Section 215.00 of the New York

Penal Law. The statute provides in pertinent part:

A person is guilty of bribing a witness when he con-

fers, or offers or agrees to confer, any benefit upon a

witness or a person about to be called as a witness in

any action or proceeding upon an agreement or

understanding that (a) the testimony of such witness

will thereby be influenced, or (b) such witness will

absent himself from, or otherwise avoid or seek to

avoid appearing or testifying at, such action or pro-

ceeding.

N.Y. Penal Law § 215.00 (McKinney 1988)

The New York Court of Appeals has held that a per-

son's status as a witness under section 215.00 “depends

upon the evidence he can supply the court, not the imme-

diacy of the need for the evidence,” nor whether a sub-

poena has been issued in order to secure it. People v. Bell,

538 N.Y.S.2d 754, 760, 73 N.Y.2d 153, 164 (1989). The

Court stated that if “the evidence is sufficient to support

a finding that defendant reasonably should have believed

that the person would be a witness and that he intention-

ally attempted to influence the witness's testimony. . .

the crime is complete.” /d.

6431

l2a

Weinstein challenges the witness bribery racketeering

act in one of the fraudulent tort cases, Metrano, on the

ground that there was insufficient evidence that Alberto

Troche was a “witness or a person about to be called as a

witness” within the meaning of section 215.00. The

Metrano case arose from injuries sustained by Metrano

when he was shot in the leg by a Manhattan parking lot

attendant, Alberto Troche, during a row over a parking lot

fee. Metrano subsequently retained the Eisen firm, which

brought a civil suit against Troche and Troche’s employer,

Simone Grossman. The action against Grossman was

based on allegations that Grossman should have known

that Troche was dangerous and carried a gun. The Eisen

firm retained Weinstein as the investigator on the case,

which settled on the eve of trial for $300,000.

At the Eisen trial, Troche testified that Weinstein had

come to his home and offered him $5,000 to testify that

his employer was aware that he had dangerous propensi-

ties and that he carried a gun. Troche had secretly taped

this meeting, and the tape was introduced into evidence at

the Eisen trial.

Troche, having inflicted the injury that formed the basis

of the tort action, was clearly someone Weinstein rea-

sonably should have believed would be a witness in the

case. On the tape, Weinstein made repeated references to

what Troche must do “when he comes to court” or when

he “takes the stand,” showing that he clearly anticipated

that Troche would be a key witness in the case.

In an effort to avoid Troche’s obvious status as a wit-

ness, Weinstein argues that he did not commit bribery

against Troche, but that Troche committed extortion

against him. The extortionate conduct, he contends,

defeats a section 215.00 violation because it negates the

6432

Derr eae aie ete ene ee

I3a

essential element of mens rea in the crime of bribery.

Although the tape recording provides some support for

Weinstein’s contention that Troche might have offered his

testimony to the highest bidder, other aspects of the tape

recording and Troche’s testimony at the Eisen trial pro-

vide sufficient evidence that Weinstein had the requisite

intent to bribe Troche and that Weinstein’s conduct fits

easily within the proscription of section 215.00. Both the

tape recording and the trial testimony reveal that Wein-

stein initiated the contact with Troche, that Weinstein was

the first to broach the subject of money during their taped

meeting, and that Weinstein described the testimony he

sought to buy from Troche. Clearly a reasonable jury

could find that Troche was a “person about to be called as

a witness” in the Metrano trial and that Weinstein had the

requisite intent to bribe Troche.

Rella argues that Eddie Goldstein, who testified in the

Rehberger case was not a “witness” within the meaning of

section 215.00, and Morganti makes the same claim with

respect to Arnold Lustig, who testified in the Schwartz

and Aboud cases, because neither Goldstein nor Lustig

had observed the accidents about which they testified but

were paid to offer completely fraudulent testimony. The

claim that Goldstein and Lustig do not meet the statutory

definition of “witness” because their testimony was

entirely fraudulent and thus they had no “evidence” to

supply the court is frivolous. In the dictionary sense, a

witness is “one who, being present, personally sees or

perceives a thing,” or one “whose declaration under oath

(or affirmation) is received as evidence for any purpose.”

See Black's Law Dictionary 1438 (Sth ed. 1979). Section

215.00 contains no indication that it is limited to this core

definition of this term to the exclusion of a more func-

tional definition. The section, which explicitly reaches

6433

lta

attempts to influence the testimony of a “witness” as well

as those “about to be called as a witness,” applies to ben-

efits conferred in order to induce someone to hold himself

Out ads a witness and offer wholly fraudulent testimony to

the court. The statute is not limited to payments for tes-

timony that is false only in part. Both Goldstein and

Lustig were paid money to give false testimony, both were

prepared to testify falsely, and both were called to testify

falsely at personal injury trials. lt is of no consequence

that the “evidence” offered and the status of the men as

“witnesses” was entirely an outgrowth of the defendants’

criminal designs.

2. Falsity of influenced testimony. Section 215.00

provides in pertinent part that a person is guilty of brib-

ing a witness “when he confers or offers or agrees to con-

fer, any benefit upon a witness or a person about to be

called as a witness . . . upon an agreement or under-

standing that (a) the testimony of such witness will

thereby be influenced, . .. .” On its face, the statute

requires just two elements of proof: the offer of a benefit

to a witness and the agreement or understanding that the

witness’s testimony will be influenced by such benefit.

See People v. Shaffer, 130 A.D.2d 431, 432, 515 N.Y.S.2d

470, 471 (lst Dep’t 1987) (“All that is required for a

bribery to be complete is the offer or agreement to confer

a benefit upon the defendant’s agreement or understand-

ing that the witness’ testimony will thereby be influ-

enced.”). “Understanding,” as used in the statute, has long

been construed as tantamount to the defendant's intent,

see People v. Kathan, 136 A.D. 303, 120 N.Y.S. 1096

(1910), and it is not necessary for conviction that the jury

find that the bribe’s intended recipient shared that intent.

See People v. Kramer, 132 Misc. 2d 753, 505 N.Y.S.2d

6434

l5a

769 (2d Dep’t), modified on other grounds, 132 A.D.2d

708, 518 N.Y.S.2d 189 (2d Dep’t 1986). The statute con-

tains no requirement that the benefit actually be conferred

or that the testimony actually be influenced. See Shaffer,

130 A.D.2d at 432, 515 N.Y.S.2d at 471.

Weinstein argued in the District Court that section

215.00 requires two additional elements of proof: (a) that

the defendant subjectively believe that testimony, “influ-

enced” as he desires, would be untruthful and (b) that tes-

timony so “influenced” would in fact be untruthful.

Although the District Judge originally incorporated both

requirements in the proposed charge, he reconsidered his

view following the Government’s timely objection. Wein-

stein now complains about the substance and the timing of

that ruling.

The charge that Judge Sifton ultimately gave incorpo-

rated one of the elements proposed by Weinstein. He

instructed the jurors that with respect to the intent element

on the charge of witness bribery, they musi find that the

defendant paid money to a witness in order to get the wit-

ness to modify the substance of his testimony in a way

that the defendant believed would be false. He did not

instruct the jury that it would be a defense to the crime if

by sheer happenstance the testimony so influenced turned

out to be true.

The essence of bribery is the intent to influence

improperly the conduct of another by bestowing a bene-

fit, see 39 N.Y. Penal Law § 215.00, at 553 (Practice

Commentaries) (McKinney 1988); as there is no require-

ment that the intended result be accomplished, see Shaf-

fer, 130 A.D.2d at 432, 515 N.Y.S.2d at 471, the District

Judge properly refused to charge the jury that the fortuity

6435

l6a

that the testimony, as “influenced,” turned out to be truth-

ful would be a defense to the charge.’

Weinstein also complains that the District Court's

charge on the elements of bribery violated Rule 30 of the

Federal Rules of Criminal Procedure, requiring a trial

court to issue rulings on requests to charge prior to sum-

mations in order to afford the parties an opportunity to

frame their closing remarks in light of the court’s subse-

quent legal instructions. See United States v. Lyles, 593

F.2d 182, 186 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 972 (1979);

United States v. Tourine, 428 F.2d 865, 868-69 (2d Cir.

1970), cert. denied, 400 U.S. 1020 (1971). If the Rule is

violated, reversal is required where the defendant can

show that he was “substantially misled in formulating his

arguments” or otherwise prejudiced. United States v.

Smith, 629 F.2d 650, 653 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 449

U.S. 994 (1980). See Lyles, 593 F.2d at 186; United States

v. Conlin, 551 F.2d 534, 539 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 434

U.S. 831 (1977).

Weinstein was not prejudiced by Judge Sifton’s deci-

sion, made after the charging conference, to revise the

proposed charge as to the elements of witness bribery.

When the issue was raised in the charging conference, the

Government objected to the proposed charge. Following

an exchange between the Court and the Government on

the question of whether the Government had to prove the

actual falsity of the testimony sought by the defendant,

Judge Sifton said, “All right. Ill consider that exception.”

3 The Government argues that the bribery statute properly applies

whenever money is paid to influence testimony, even if money is paid to

secure what the defendant believes is truthful testimony. Because the

Judge's charge required the jury to find that the defendant believed that

he was seeking to influence testimony in a false direction, we need not

decide if section 215.00 extends to payments to influence a witness to

testify truthfully.

6436

17a

Weinstein was on notice that his requested charge was the

subject of further consideration and could not have been

“substantially misled” by the Court in formulating his

summation argument, which contended that the Govern-

ment had to prove the actual falsity of the testimony

sought. Cf. Wright v. United States, 339 F.2d 578, 579-80

(9th Cir. 1964) (reversal required where court did not

respond to defense request for pre-summation rulings on

requests to charge, advised counsel to “go ahead and

argue the case any way you want to argue it,” and in its

charge rejected the theory of defense offered in summa-

tion). Moreover, following the summation, the Court

advised Weinstein’s counsel that the charge was not in

accord with his argument and offered counsel an oppor-

tunity to address the jury again. Having ignored this offer,

counsel has no valid claim of prejudice.

II. Sufficiency of Evidence

A. The Mulnick Case—Racketeering Act Three

The jury found Eisen guilty of witness bribery and

found Eisen and Napoli guilty of mail fraud in connection

with the Mulnick case. Both Eiser and Napoli contend

that the evidence presented at trial was insufficient to

prove beyond a reasonable doubt that they committed

mail fraud in connection with the Mulnick case. Both

defendants also contend that invalidation of the Mulnick

predicate would undermine their RICO substantive and

conspiracy convictions. Relying on the standard recently

employed by this Court in United States v. Paccione, 949

F.2d 1183, 1198 (2d Cir. 1991), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct.

3029 (1992), defendants argue that in a RICO case, where

one or more predicates is held invalid on appeal, the

RICO conviction cannot stand unless the error in sub-

6437

18a

mitting the invalid predicate to the jury is demonstrated to

be harmless beyond a reasonable doubt.‘ Upon careful

review of the record, we conclude that the defendants’

sufficiency arguments are unavailing.

The Mulnick case arose out of injuries suffered by Beth

Mulnick in 1979 when she was struck by a car as she was

crossing a Manhattan street with her friend Patti Kibel.

The Eisen firm sued the car’s driver on Mulnick’s behalf.

Napoli was the attorney assigned to the case, which set-

tled for $1 million after the trial testimony of Patti Kibel.

At the Mulnick trial, Kibel had testified that Mulnick was

crossing the street with the light and within the crosswalk,

dropped her glove, and returned several paces to retrieve

it, and that the car then ran into her while she was in the

crosswalk with the light still in her favor.

At the Eisen trial, Kibel testified that her testimony at

the Mulnick trial had been false and that various Eisen

firm lawyers, including Eisen and Napoli, caused, or

acquiesced in, her false testimony that Mulnick had been

crossing with the light. Eisen and Napoli contend that

Kibel’s testimony at the Eisen trial was too equivocal to

support a jury finding that Eisen or Napoli either prepared

or caused Kibel to testify falsely at the Mulnick trial.

With respect to Napoli, Kibel testified at the Eisen trial

that, prior to her testimony at the Mulnick trial, she told

the man who “prepared” her that her anticipated testimony

about the accident was false. Although Kibel could not

recall the identity or appearance of the lawyer who con-

4 In Paccione, the Court found that there was no doubt that the jury

would have convicted defendant Paccione of a RICO violation even in

the absence of the invalid predicate because eight valid predicates

remained and because the pattern of verdicts returned against co-defen-

dants on the RICO count demonstrated that the invalid predicate was not

an ingredient in the jury's RICO verdicts.

6438

DRI aie iis edn hi oo cnmion

19a

ducted this trial, it was established through the testimony

of other witnesses and documentary evidence that Napoli

was the Eisen firm trial attorney who questioned wit-

nesses at the Mulnick trial. Contrary to Napoli’s sugges-

tion, the Government was not required to prove that he

specifically formulated the lie to which Kibel was to tes-

tify. Instead, as the indictment charged, the Government

needed to establish that Napoli had either prepared or

caused Kibel to testify falsely. To prove this, it was

plainly sufficient to establish that Kibel told Napoli the

truth about the Mulnick accident but that Napoli did noth-

ing to dissuade her from testifying to the false version

conjured by the —isen firm and that he caused her to tes-

tify falsely by putting her on the stand and eliciting the

perjurious testimony from her.

With respect to Eisen, Kibel’s testimony is even more

indefinite. Eisen claims that Kibel’s wavering testimony

at the Eisen trial is insufficient proof that he was the per-

son who instructed Kibel to provide false testimony in

connection with the Mulnick case. Kibel’s recollection

was vague as to the details of her conversations with

Eisen, but on direct examination she stated that she told

Eisen the truth about Beth Mulnick’s accident and that he

instructed her to give a false account of how the accident

occurred. However, when questioned on cross-examina-

tion as to any particular element of the fabricated story

offered by her at the Mulnick trial, Kibei could not recall

whether Eisen or someone else in the Eisen firm had sug-

gested the alteration. The Government argues that Kibel’s

assertion on direct that Eisen instructed her how to testify

is not invalidated by her inability to remember on cross-

examination what Eisen had said to her on specific topics

and who precisely had caused her to testify as she did to

particular aspects of her testimony. The Government

6439

20a

argues that the weakness of Kibel’s testimony was a mat-

ter for cross-examination, and that any apparent tension

in her testimony was a matter of credibility to be resolved

by the jury.

We need not decide whether Kibel’s equivocal testi-

mony constituted sufficient evidence to support the jury’s

finding with respect to the mail fraud allegation against

Eisen specified in the Mulnick predicate act, racketeering

act 3. That act (one of three charged against Eisen)

alleged that Eisen engaged in criminal activity in con-

nection with the Mulnick case in two distinct ways: (1)

that he committed mail fraud for the purpose of executing

a scheme to prepare and cause Patti Kibel to testify

falsely at trial, and (2) that he caused another person to

bribe a New York City Police Officer who was about to be

called as a witness in connection with the case. The jury

indicated on the verdict form that it found Eisen had com-

mitted racketeering act 3 beth by committing witness

bribery and mail fraud. Eisen does not allege any infir-

mity with the jury’s finding on the witness bribery aspect

of the Mulnick predicate.

A finding either of mail fraud or of witness bribery

would have been sufficient to support the Mulnick rack-

eteering act. Thus the invalidation of one of two sufficient

bases specifically found by the jury to support this pred-

icate would not undermine the jury’s finding that Eisen

committed a racketeering act with respect to the Mulnick

5 Officer William Mulligan testified at the Eisen trial that he wrote the

original police report of the Mulnick accident, which indicated that Kibel

had stated at the time of the accident that Mulnick was crossing the street

against the light. He further testified that he had been offered a bribe sev-

eral days before the Muinick trial by Eisen firm investigator Frank Laine

to testify that he could not recall Kibel's statement. Laine, who testified

under a grant of immunity at the Eisen tial, admitted that he had indeed

attempted to bribe the officer and had done so at Eisen's request.

6440

re ee

2la

case. Cf. Griffin v. United States, 112 S. Ct. 466, 469-74

(1991) (even a general verdict in a criminal case is to be

upheld on appeal against a claim of insufficient evidence

to support one of alternative bases for conviction when-

ever the evidence suffices for at least one basis). In light

of the fact that Eisen’s challenge does not compromise the

validity of the Mulnick predicate, and the ample evidence

that the Mulnick case was fraudulent and that Eisen par-

ticipated in the fraud, we have no doubt that the jury

would have convicted Eisen on the RICO substantive and

conspiracy charges even if it had found that the Mulnick

racketeering act rested only on bribery. Cf. Paccione, 949

F.2d at 1198 (jury would have convicted defendant of a

RICO violation even in the absence of an invalid predi-

cate).

B. The Pietrafesa Case—Racketeering Act Twenty-

Six

Morganti claims that there was insufficient evidence

that she committed mail fraud in connection with the

Pietrafesa case. That case arose from injuries sustained

by Carmella Pietrafesa when she slipped on a sidewalk

outside a supermarket in Greenwich Village. The Eisen

firm sued the supermarket on behalf of Pietrafesa. The

Eisen firm relied on the testimony of Morganti’s 70-year-

old mother, Helen Gaimari, who lived four blocks from

the supermarket, to establish that the supermarket had

prior notice of the sidewalk defect. At trial, Gaimari tes-

tified that she gave Pietrafesa her name at the time of the

accident, had fallen because of the same defect months

before, and had previously complained to the supermar-

ket about the defect. It was not disclosed to defense coun-

sel in the Pietrafesa case that Gaimari was the mother of

Morganti, the Eisen firm’s office manager. The jury

6441

22a

returned a verdict for Pietrafesa of approximately

$35,000.

Morganti argues that the Government adduced no affir-

mative evidence that Morganti caused her mother to tes-

tify, or that her mother, Helen Gaimari, testified falsely.

In evaluating this claim we must credit every inference

that can be drawn in the Government’s favor, whether

from direct or circumstantial! evidence. See, e.g., United

States v. Parker, 903 F.2d 91, 96-97 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 111 S. Ct. 196 (1990). Moreover, the jury is free

to draw negative inferences from an untruthful witness's

testimony as long as there is affirmative testimony to sup-

plement or corroborate those negative inferences. See

United States v. Marchand, 564 F.2d 983, 985-86, 1000-

Ol (2d Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1015 (1978).

The Government points to the testimony of five wit-

nesses to support the inference that Morganti caused her

mother to testify and that the testimony was false. The

plaintiff, Carmella Pietrafesa, testified in a deposition pre-

ceding her personal injury trial that she had not gotten the

names of the people who helped her up at the time of her

accident. In contrast, she testified at her own trial and at

the Eisen trial that an elderly woman who turned out to be

Gaimari picked her up and gave her a piece of paper con-

taining Gaimari’s name and number. Pietrafesa also tes-

tified at the Eisen trial that during the course of trial

preparation she had had a few discussions with Morganti

concerning her case.

Frank DeSalvo, an Eisen firm attorney, testified about

his handling of the Pietrafesa case. He stated that he sent

out a letter to defense counsel on November 11, 1982,

Stating that there were no witnesses to Pietrafesa’s acci-

dent. DeSalvo testified that he represented Pietrafesa at

6442

23a

the December 20, 1982, deposition in which she stated

that she did not get the name of the person who helped her

up. He further testified that he sent a second letter to

defense counsel in the Pietrafesa case three days after the

deposition that listed Helen Gaimari, Morganti’s mother,

as a notice witness to Pietrafesa’s accident. However,

even though DeSalvo had dated Morganti’s daughter and

had met Gaimari, he claimed to know the older woman

only as “Grandma Helen.”

Evan Torgan, another attorney formerly associated with

the Eisen firm, testified that Morganti and Eisen assigned

him the cases that he tried at the Eisen office, that he had

tried the Pietrafesa case in November 1984, and that it

was his practice to report trial verdicts to Morganti. He

further testified that he was dating Morganti’s daughter

around the end of 1984 or the beginning of 1985 but also

claimed that he did not learn that Gaimari was Morganti’s

mother until after the Pietrafesa trial ended.

Gaimari testified at the Eisen trial that sometime after

the accident, she was called by a lawyer who asked her to

testify at the Pierrafesa trial; the lawyer indicated that he

knew Gaimari was Morganti’s mother.

Robert Steindorf, a defense attorney at the Pietrafesa

trial, testified that Gaimari was a crucial witness against

his client because she was the only notice witness at that

trial who was not related to Pietrafesa.

Giving credence to every inference that could be drawn

in the Government's favor from the direct and circum-

stantial evidence elicited from these witness, we find that

a reasonable juror could find that Gaimari gave false tes-

timony concerning her presence at the Pietrafesa accident.

We are, however, unable to conclude that a reasonable

juror could find, beyond a reasonable doubt, that Mor-

6443

24a

ganti caused Gaimari to give false testimony in the

Pietrafesa case. The Government invites us to rely on

Morganti’s familial relation to Gaimari as well as Mor-

ganti’s role in the Eisen firm. While these factors may

indicate that Morganti had abundant opportunity to cause

Gaimari to give false testimony, they provide an insuffi-

cient basis for a reasonable juror to conclude beyond a

reasonable doubt that Morganti played a role in having

her mother testify falsely at the Pietrafesa trial. Although,

having persuaded the jury that Gaimari was untruthful, the

prosecutor might have invited the jury to disbelieve

Gaimari’s denials of her daughter’s involvement, without

affirmative evidence in corroboration, such a negative

inference is, by itself, insufficient to support the convic-

tion. Marchand, 564 F.2d at 986. “A jury's verdict will be

sustained if there is substantial evidence, taking the view

most favorable to the government, to support it.” United

States v. Mulheren, 938 F.2d 364, 368 (2d Cir. 1991) (cita-

tions omitted) (emphasis in original). In this case Mor-

ganti has met the very heavy burden of demonstrating that

the evidence at trial was insufficient to prove her guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt.

We must now determine whether the invalidation of this

racketeering act undermines Morganti’s substantive and

conspiracy RICO convictions. We conclude that the error

in submitting the invalid predicate to the jury was harm-

less beyond a reasonable doubt. See Paccione, 949 F.2d at

1198. Three valid racketeering acts remain, those relating

to the Miceli, Schwartz, and Stanton cases. In each of

these cases there was direct and unequivocal testimony

that Morganti was an active participant in the cabal to fal-

sify testimony. Furthermore, the pattern of verdicts

returned against co-defendants confirms our conclusion

that the jury would have returned the RICO convictions in

6444

25a

the absence of the invalid predicate. Eisen, Gabe, and

Rella were convicted of the RICO counts on the basis of

a jury finding that they had each committed three racke-

teering acts. Morganti shares a pair of valid predicates in

common with those of Eisen and Rella: Morganti and

Eisen were both found guilty of the Schwartz and Stanton

predicates; Morganti and Rella were both found guilty of

the Miceli and Schwartz predicates. The acts alleged

against Morganti in the Miceli, Schwartz, and Stanton

predicates occurred, respectively, in 1983, in 1984, and

between 1984 and 1988, and thus the substax:ive RICO

conviction remains timely. The jury has already found that

these predicates relate to each other as well as to the

enterprise, and because we have no hesitancy in finding

that, even without the Pietrafesa predicate, these three

racketeering predicates posed a threat of continuity, we

affirm Morganti’s substantive and conspiracy RICO con-

victions. See United States v. Minicone, 960 F.2d 1099,

1106 (2d Cir.) (to establish pattern of racketeering, pros-

ecution must show racketeering predicates are horizon-

tally and vertically related, and that they amount to or

pose threat of continued criminal activity), cert. denied,

112 S. Ct. 1511 (1992).

III. Leak of Grand Jury Testimony

Eisen argues, on behalf of all defendants, that he is

entitled to a hearing on his claim that he was prejudiced

by a leak of grand jury testimony. Shortly before the trial

began, The Village Voice published an artiele about the

case. The author of the article purported to summarize the

contents of the testimony of four grand jury witnesses and

indicated that the source of the information was not the

witnesses themselves. In fact, the story indicated that one

of the witnesses whose testimony was outlined had

6445

26a

refused to speak to the Voice about his grand jury appear-

ance. After the publication of the article, Eisen moved for

a hearing to determine whether grand jury secrecy had

been violated. Eisen claimed that a leak could prejudice

his trial because trial witnesses exposed to the article

could tailor their testimony to dovetail with the sworn tes-

timony of others. The District Court denied the request for

a hearing but referred the case to the Department of Jus-

tice (“DOJ”), requesting an expedited investigation.

After trial, almost seven months since the matter was

referred to DOJ and in spite of some prodding by Judge

Sifton, little if any progress had been made on the inves-

tigation, and Eisen renewed his request for a court hear-

ing. The Government was quick to ascertain the status of

the DOJ investigation and informed the Court that DOJ

investigators had formed a preliminary plan for investi-

gation and would soon begin to conduct interviews con-

cerning the matter. The District Court again rejected

Eisen’s request, stating that it had no obligation to super-

‘vise Or instigate an investigation in the absence of a prima

facie showing of prejudice to the defendant as a conse-

quence of the alleged leak. The Judge noted that Eisen

had had opportunity and incentive to develop evidence of

“cross-pollination” among witnesses due to the alleged

{Teak but had failed to do so. The Court also noted its -

. reluctance to hold a hearing while there was an ongoing

federal investigation.

At oral argument of this appeal, the Government main-

tained that the DOJ investigation had concluded, that the

investigation had shed no light on whether or how the

integrity and secrecy of the grand jury proceeding had

been compromised, and that the results of the investiga-

tion had been forwarded to Eisen’s counsel. The Gov-

6446

—-

27a

ernment also represented to this Court that the results

would be forwarded to the District Court.

A breach of grand jury secrecy can jeopardize the

defendant's right to a fair trial before a petit jury. See

United States v. Friedman, 854 F.2d 535, 583 (2d Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1904 (1989). However, a

defendant seeking reversal or a hearing regarding alleged

grand jury abuse must show prejudice or bias. See id. at

583-84 (in the absence of showing of prejudice, district

court’s refusal, without holding a hearing, to grant post-

trial relief for alleged grand jury leaks not error); see also

United States v. Helmsley, 866 F.2d 19, 22 (2d Cir. 1988)

(noting approval of district court procedure of referring to

Department of Justice charges of prosecutorial miscon-

duct in leak of grand jury testimony), cert. denied, 490

U.S. 1004 (1989).

Eisen contends that he has made a prima facie showing

of prejudice. He asserts that the trial record indicated that

cross-pollination as a result of the grand jury leaks seem-

ingly had occurred in at least one instance: one witness's

testimony in the grand jury about backdating a report, dis-

closed in the Voice article, was echoed in another wit-

ness’s trial testimony about the report, although that

witness had never mentioned any backdating at his grand

jury appearances. While this confluence of testimony may

be suspect, we agree with the District Court that the

defendants had the opportunity and incentive to develop

such possibilities of prejudice into evidence of prejudice

during the cross-examination of witnesses.

Eisen argues that it would have been “foolhardy” to

seek to establish evidence of cross-pollination during

cross-examination, that a defendant should not be

required to pursue an agenda distinct from his trial

6447

28a

agenda, and that he should not be faulted for forgoing the

Opportunity where he was led to believe that the DOJ was

making prompt inquiries. We disagree. If, on cross-exam-

ination a defendant had been able to expose that prose-

cution witnesses had changed their testimony in response

to the testimony of other witnesses, that fact would have

been devastating to the Government and entirely consis-

tent with the defendant's “trial agenda.” Moreover, a

defendant's i-terest in showing that the Government's

case has protited from a breach of grand jury secrecy, is

distinct from the DOJ’s inquiry into whether a leak has

occurred and who was responsible. Referring the matter

to the DOJ did not absolve Eisen of the obligation to dis-

cover and come forward with some evidence of prejudice,

if any existed, in order to obtain a hearing or further relief

on the ground that grand jury secrecy had been violated.

The District Court did not err in denying a hearing.

IV. Testimony from Hostile Government Witnesses

Eisen argues that he was deprived of a fair trial because

the Government was permitted to call numerous witnesses

associated with the defendants and to elicit from them

trial testimony that the Government anticipated would be,

and argued to the jury that it was, perjurious. In its open-

ing, the prosecution told the jury that it would call some

witnesses “who have refused to give up the lie or the

fraud of the particular case that they were involved in.”

The Government made this argument with regard to a por-

tion of the testimony of 11 of its 75 witnesses. The Dis-

trict Judge allowed the practice, reasoning that it was not

unduly prejudicial because the witnesses’ testimony, in

fact, tended to exculpate the defendants, and because the

prosecutor confined himself to arguing that each witness

persisted in his lie from personal motives rather than at

6448

29a

the behest of the defendants. Eisen argues that this evi-

dence shouid have been excluded because it was irrele-

vant, and even if it was relevant, Eisen argues, it should

have been excluded because the danger of unfair prejudice

substantially outweighed its probative value.

Eisen contends that the testimony from these witnesses

exculpating the defendants was not probative of the Gov-

ernment’s theory of the case and therefore should not have

been presented to the jury. The Government notes, how-

ever, that impeachment of hostile government witnesses

is admissible as negative inference evidence, see Marc-

hand, 564 F.2d at 985-86, and that the testimony of these

hostile witnesses provided other affirmative proof that

was important to the Government's case.

In arguing that this practice should not have been per-

mitted, Eisen relies on two sets of cases that are clearly

distinguishable. First, Eisen points to a series of cases that

hold that while a jury may be permitted to draw negative

inferences from disbelieved testimony, a case cannot go

to a jury solely on that basis.* Second, Eisen relies on a

series of cases that hold that a party may not call a wit-

ness whose testimony it knows to be adverse for the sole

6 See Martin v. Citibank, NA., 762 F.2d 212, 217-18 (2d Cir. 1985);

United States v. Jenkins, 510 F.2d 495, 499 (2d Cir. 1975); Davis v.

National Mortgage Corp., 349 F.2d 175, 178 (2d Cir. 1965); Dyer v.

MacDougall, 201 F.2d 265, 269 (2d Cir. 1952); Pariso v. Towse, 45 F.2d

962, 964 (2d Cir. 1930).

In Dyer v. MacDougall, Judge Learned Hand observed that “the denial

of one, who has a motive to deny, may be uttered with such hesitation,

discomfort, arrogance or defiance, as to give assurance that he is fab-

ricating, and that, if he is, there is no alternative but to assume the truth

of what he denies.” 201 F.2d at 269. However, the Court went on to hold

that “although it is therefore true that in strict theory a party having the

affirmative might succeed in convincing a jury of the truth of his alle-

gations in spite of the fact that all the witnesses denied them, we think

ii plain that a verdict would nevertheless have to be directed agetn-'

him.” /d.

6449

30a

purpose of impeaching him and thereby presenting evi-

dence to the jury that would not otherwise be admissible.’

The first line of cases is inapposite because in this case

there was independent evidence to support the Govern-

ment’s case. The second line of cases is inapplicable

because the Government did not call these witnesses as a

mere subterfuge to get before the jury evidence not oth-

erwise admissible.

Federal Rule of Evidence 607 provides: “The credi-

bility of a witness may be attacked by any party, includ-

ing the party calling the witness.” Rule 607, having no

special restrictions, allows the Government to impeach its

own witnesses. United States v. DeLillo, 620 F.2d 939,

946-47 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 835 (1980).

Where the Government has called a witness whose cor-

roborating testimony is instrumental to constructing the

Government’s case, the Government has the right to ques-

tion the witness, and to attempt to impeach him, about

those aspects of his testimony that conflict with the Gov-

ernment’s account of the same events. /d. Here, the tes-

timony of the hostile witnesses provided affirmative proof

that was necessary to construct the Government’s case,

and thus the Government was entitled to question these

witnesses and to invite the jury to disbelieve that portion

of their accounts that contradicted the prosecution’s the-

ory of the case.

Eisen claims that, if the Government is allowed to pro-

ceed in this fashion, it could “routinely pre-empt the

defendant, offer his ‘defense,’ and effectively preclude

him from presenting his case as he and his lawyers deter-

mined to be in his best interests.” Brief for Appellant

Eisen at 31 n.34. Eisen complains that in eliciting testi-

7 See United States v. Morlang, $31 F.2d 183, 189-90 (4th Cir. 1975);

United States v. Johnson, 802 F.2d 1459, 1466 (D.C. Cir. 1986).

6450

3la

mony exculpatory of the defendants, the Government, in

essence, foisted witnesses and testimony onto the defen-

dants’ case thereby curtailing their ability to shape their

own defense. Certainly, a defendant should be allowed to

present his best defense consistent with the bounds of the

law and the limits of the practicable. But the defendants

cannot blame the Government’s actions in this case for

frustrating their ability to put on such a defense. The Gov-

ernment called as witnesses those who had participated in

various ways in the personal injury suits underlying the

allegations in the indictment and who clearly had relevant

evidence to offer the Court. The Government need not

confine itself to fragments of their testimony just because

the witnesses persist in repeating untruthful portions.

A finding that the evidence was relevant and that the

practice at issue is not proscribed does not, however, end

the inquiry. Under Federal Rule of Evidence 403, the trial

judge must determine if relevant evidence should be

excluded because its “probative value is substantially out-

weighed by the danger of unfair prejudice.” United States

v. Robinson, 560 F.2d 507, 513-14 (2d Cir. 1977) (in

banc), cert. denied, 435 U.S. 905 (1978). We give the trial

judge wide discretion in assessing the balance, and his

ruling will not be overturned unless he acted “arbitrarily

or irrationally.” /d. at 515. Eisen does not argue that the

Government introduced highly prejudicial or inflamma-

tory evidence in order to impeach these witnesses; instead

he argues that, in the context of a case revolving around

the subornation of perjury, the very argument that the wit-

nesses were lying was highly prejudicial. Eisen contends

that because the defendants are accused of suborning

these witnesses’ perjury (or conspiring with them to sub-

orn perjurious testimony) in the underlying personal

injury trials, the jury will naturally assume that the Gov-

6451

+ 3228

ernment accuses the defendants of complicity in these

criminal trial lies as well. The Court, however, had fore-

closed this line of argument and the prosecutor was care-

ful to attribute the alleged lies to the personal motivations

of these witnesses. The District Court acted reasonably in

concluding that the negative inference evidence need not

be excluded as unfairly prejudicial simply because of the

risk that the jury might, nonetheless, embrace a theory of

Causation eschewed by the prosecution.

V. Statute of Limitations

Gabe and Rella both contend that their convictions are

barred by the five-year statute of limitations period of 18

U.S.C. § 3282 (1988). Gabe argues that all of the racke-

teering acts with which he is charged fall outside the five-

year limitations period. In making this argument, Gabe

incorrectly assumes that the mail fraud claims date from

the time the fraud was conceived or from the time of the

underlying civil trial. However, the statute of limitations

in a mail fraud case runs from the date of the charged

mailing, notwithstanding that the defendant's actions con-

cerning the scheme to defraud occurred before the statu-

tory period. See United States v. Read, 658 F.2d 1225,

1240 (7th Cir. 1981); United States v. Ashdown, 509 F.2d

793, 797-98 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 829 (1975).

See also United States v. Weinberg, 656 F. Supp. 1020,

1026 (E.D.N.Y. 1987). Because at least one of the proven

mailings in the racketeering acts of which Gabe was

found guilty occurred within five years of the filing of the

original indictment, Gabe’s timeliness claim fails.

Rella argues that because the substantive RICO count

against him was dismissed as untimely, the RICO con-

spirac ’ count must fail as well. All three of the racke-

teering acts that the jury found Rella to have committed

6452

33a

fall outside of the five-year limitations period, and thus

the substantive RICO count was properly dismissed.

However, the statute of limitations for a RICO conspiracy

does not begin to run until the objectives of the conspir-

acy have been either achieved or abandoned. United

States v. Persico, 832 F.2d 705, 713 (2d Cir. 1987), cert.

denied, 486 U.S. 1022 (1988). The jury found that the

RICO conspiracy comprehended conduct that occurred as

late as 1988, and because there was no evidence that the

criminal objectives of the conspiracy were abandoned,

this count against Rella was not time-barred.

VI. Ineffective Representation

Napoli appeals from Judge Sifton’s denial of his section

2255 petition for a new trial. In that petition, Napoli

claimed that his Sixth Amendment rights to effective

assistance of counsel had been violated as a result of an

alleged conflict of interest of his trial counsel, Gerald L.

Shargel. The alleged conflict of interest was said to arise

from Shargel’s disqualification in an unrelated case, see

United States v. Gotti, 771 F. Supp. 552 (E.D.N.Y. 1991),

which occurred during the trial of this case. We affirm the

District Court’s denial of the petition.

Napoli argues that Shargel’s disqualification in the

Gotti case resulted in both a per se and an actual depri-

vation of Napoli’s Sixth Amendment right to effective

assistance of counsel in this case. In order to sustain a

claim that a per se violation occurred, a defendant must

establish that his lawyer suffered from an actual conflict

of interest with regard to presenting a vigorous defense of

the defendant. See United States v. Aiello, 900 F.2d 528,

530-31 (2d Cir. 1990). Upon a showing of such a conflict,

a defendant need not demonstrate prejudice because a

conflict inhibiting a lawyer’s performance is such an

6453

34a

affront to the right to effective assistance of counsel that

we have found that such a circumstance demonstrates a

denial of that right. /d. We have found a per se Sixth

Amendment violation where trial counsel was implicated

in the very crime for which his client was on trial. See

United States v. Cancilla, 725 F.2d 867 (2d Cir. 1984). We

also applied a per se rule where a defendant was repre-

sented by a person not authorized to practice law. See

Solina v. United States, 709 F.2d 160 (2d Cir. 1983). In

both cases, we found that counsel had reason to fear that

vigorous advocacy on behalf of his client might provoke

inquiries on the part of the court or prosecutor that might

expose the lawyer to criminal liability or other sanction.

See Cancilla, 725 F.2d at 870; Solina, 709 F.2d at 164.

However, this Court’s decision in Aiello, makes clear that

Napoli’s allegations fail to support a per se claim. In

Aiello, we rejected the argument that an attorney under

investigation for obstruction of justice and tax evasion at

the time of the defendant’s trial on narcotics charges had

suffered from an actual conflict of interest constituting a

per se violation of the defendant’s Sixth Amendment

right. The four factors on which this Court relied in

rejecting Aiello’s conflict of interest claim are also pre-

sent here. First, unlike the facts in Cancilla, the attorney's

purported activity (i.e., his alleged involvement with the

Gotti organization) was totally unrelated to the mail fraud

and witness bribery crimes for which Napoli was being

tried. See Aiello, 900 F.2d at 531. Second, there is no alle-

gation that Shargel’s representation of Napoli in the Eisen

case was the “impetus” for the investigation into Shargel’s

involvement with the Gotti defendants. See Aiello, 900

F.2d at 531-32. Third, Napoli has offered no basis upon

which to believe that Shargel’s defense of Napoli was

intended to please or impress the Gotti prosecutors, who

6454

35a

did not participate in the Eisen case. See Aiello, 900 F.2d

at 532. Finally, unlike the attorney in Solina, there is no

question that Shargel was authorized to practice law at all

times during this case. See Aiello, 900 F.2d at 532.

There is no suggestion that Shargel’s vigorous repre-

sentation of Napoli would have subjected him to sanction

or risked exposure of any wrongdoing on his part. And

any claim that Shargel’s attention may have been

“diverted” by the disqualification proceeding in the Gotti

case is insufficient to establish an actual conflict of inter-

est. A theoretical or merely speculative conflict of inter-

est will not invoke the per se rule. See Aiello, 900 F.2d at

532.

Because Napoli has failed to show an actual conflict of

interest, he must overcome the presumption that his coun-

sel’s conduct was reasonable by satisfying the two-

pronged standard of Strickland v. Washington, 466 U.S.

668 (1984). See United States v. Cruz, 785 F.2d 399, 405

(2d Cir. 1986). Napoli must show that (1) “counsel’s rep-

resentation fell below an objective standard of reason-

ableness” under “prevailing professional norms” and (2)

“a reasonable probability that, but for counsel’s unpro-

fessional errors, the result of the proceeding would have

been different.” Strickland, 466 U.S. at 688, 694.

Out of a trial record of almost 10,000 pages, Napoli

culls five instances of alleged deficiencies in Shargel’s

performance. On review of the record, we are convinced

that Shargel’s overall performance was vigorous, sus-

tained, and effective. Furthermore, we find that none of

the five instances complained of falls “outside the wide

range of professionally competent assistance.” /d. at 690.

Napoli first points to Shargel’s stipulation that a dis-

puted mailing in the Robbins case had been mailed.

6455

36a

Shargel decided to stipulate to the fact of mailing once

informed that James LaRossa, co-defendant Eisen’s attor-

ney, had entered into a stipulation with the Government to

that effect. Napoli now claims that the author of the letter

would have testified that the letter had been hand-deliv-

ered and that it was incompetent for Shargel to stipulate

to the contrary. Napoli ignores evidence that the relevant

document had in fact been mailed—a subsequent letter

written by its author so stating. Moreover, even if Shargel

did not personally verify this fact, it was reasonable for

him to rely on the representation of co-defendant’s coun-

sel that the author admitted the mailing. Furthermore, had

the author been called to take the stand to testify to hand

delivery, his testimony would have been impeached by his

previous letter maintaining that it had been mailed. See

Aiello, 900 F.2d at 532-33 (failure to call exculpatory wit-

ness not ineffective representation because testimony

could have been impeached).

The next four instances of claimed ineffective assis-

tance relate to decisions that “fall squarely within the

ambit of trial strategy, and, if reasonably made,” cannot

support an ineffective assistance claim. See United States

v. Nersesian, 824 F.2d 1294, 1321 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

484 U.S. 957 (1987). As his second example, Napoli

claims that Shargel should have advised him to testify on

his own behalf, and that Shargel should have done a more

thorough job of impeaching two prosecution witnesses.

“The decision whether to call any witnesses on behalf of

the defendant, and if so which witnesses to call, is a tac-

tical decision of the sort engaged in by defense attorneys

in almost every trial.” /d. It was a reasonable tactical

decision to rely exclusively on attacking the Govern-

ment’s witnesses and presenting independent testimony

rather than to subject Napoli to all of the risk attendant on

6456

37a

cross-examination. “Decisions whether to engage in

cross-examination, and if so to what extent and in what

manner, are similarly strategic in nature.” /d. Shargel had

subjected both of these witnesses to vigorous cross-exam-

ination. As Judge Sifton found, Shargel could have rea-

sonably concluded that further cross-examination on

relatively unimportant matters would have confused or

fatigued the jury.

As the third instance, Napoli points to Shargel’s deci-

sion not to lay blame for the charged crimes on the other

defendants. Clearly this was a reasonable strategic deci-

sion. An effort to blame the other defendants might have

provoked retaliation in the same vein, and the Govern-

ment would have been the sole beneficiary of such a

development.

Fourth, Napoli claims that, in support of Napoli’s

motion for sequestration of the jury, Shargel should have

introduced newspaper clippings referring to the Govern-

ment’s accusations against Shargel in the Gotti case.

While this might have been the preferable course, we can-

not say that Shargel’s omission was below an objective

level of competence since none of the other defense attor-

neys included such clippings in their similar motions but

instead relied on paraphrasing. Furthermore, Shargel did

submit a number of the press accounts in support of

Napoli’s claim of error in failure to sequester made in his

motion for a new trial. The issue, including the nature and

content of the articles, was thus properly preserved for

appeal, and no prejudice occurred from the initial failure

to include the materials.

Finally, Napoli claims that Shargel’s failure to attack

the Government in his summation is evidence of a change

in his attitude toward the Government following the dis-

6457

38a

qualification motion. Shargel’s summation lasted an entire

day and occupies almost two hundred pages of transcript.

Shargel assailed the Government’s evidence in each of the

racketeering acts charged against Napoli and reviewed the

exculpatory testimony. Furthermore, he clearly was not

seeking to curry favor with the prosecution when he

claimed that the Government “paid their witnesses with a

price that we could never afford,” had intentionally over-

looked its own witnesses’ inconsistent statements, and

had been overly “righteous and sanctimonious” in dis-

crediting exculpatory testimony. The comprehensive and

vehement nature of Shargel’s summation refutes Napoli’s

claim. See Nersesian, 824 F.2d at 1321.

In none of the five instances complained of did

Shargel’s performance fall below an objective standard of

reasonableness, and Napoli does not even attempt to

demonstrate a reasonable probability that the result of the

proceeding would have been different absent the allegedly

unprofessional conduct.

VII. Prosecutorial Misconduct and Prejudicial Publicity

Regarding the Gorti Case

On Friday, February 22, 1991, after the jury in the

Eisen trial had begun deliberations, argument was heard

on an application by the prosecution in the Gotti case to

disqualify several of the defense lawyers in that case

including Shargel, who was then representing Napoli in

the Eisen trial. Napoli contends that the prosecutors in the

Gotti case acted improperly by repeating in open court

allegations made against Shargel in the Government's

sealed papers, and that these allegations improperly

affected the jury’s deliberations in the Eisen case. Napoli

also argues that the Court improperly denied his motion to

sequester the jury.

6458

ar rere

|

39a

“If a prosecutor abuses her discretion by intentionally

attempting to distort the fact-finding process, then a due

process violation exists.” United States v. Angiulo, 897

F.2d 1169, 1191 (1st Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 130

(1990). But Napoli does not claim that the Government

prosecutors in the Gorti case intentionally provoked press

coverage with the aim of prejudicing the jury in the Eisen

case, nor does he offer any evidence that the Gouti pros-

ecutors even anticipated such a result. Moreover, the Dis-

trict Court took suitable precautions to ensure that the

jury was not exposed to the press accounts of the allega-

tions.

When the problem was brought to Judge Sifton’s atten-

tion on the Friday of the hearing in the Gotti case, the

Judge determined that he would speak with each juror

individually in chambers about avoiding all news media

over the weekend. Defense counsel objected to individual

interviews, arguing that it would magnify the problem,

and instead requested sequestration. The Judge denied

sequestration, but conducted a general inquiry of the jury,

asking the jury to avoid all news media over the weekend

and providing a means by which concerned jurors could

call the Court to ascertain the progress of then pending

events in the Persian Gulf without resort to the media.

The jurors gave their general agreement that they could

comply.

The steps taken to protect the integrity of the jury delib-

erations were adequate under the circumstances. In United

States v. Casamento, 887 F.2d 1141, 1154-55 (2d Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 493 U.S. 1081 (1990), this Court

found that the “great deal” of media attention surrounding

an Organized crime trial did not render it unfair in light of

Judge Leval’s instruction to the jury to avoid press

accounts about the case. We held that “[i]n the absence of

6459

40a

evidence to the contrary, we will presume the jury fol-

lowed these admonitions and avoided exposure to news

reports about the trial.” /d. Although Judge Leval con-

ducted an individual interview with the jurors, the defen-

dants here specifically requested that no such individual

voir dire be conducted for fear of magnifying the prob-

lem. See also United States v. Gaggi, 811 F.2d 47, $3 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 482 U.S. 929 (1987).

Moreover, as in Gaggi, we may find confirmation of the

jury’s ability to render an impartial verdict in “the care

which it took in its deliberations.” 811 F.2d at 53. As the

District Court noted in rejecting these claims post-trial,

jury deliberations lasted from February 14 through March

4, 1991, with several notes sent out each day requesting to

review exhibits or to have extensive testimony read back.

And in its determination, the jury carefully distinguished

among defendants and among predicate acts, finding 16 of

22 racketeering acts proven.

In the absence of any suggestion that the prosecutors in

the Gotti case were acting in bad faith, in light of the fact

that the allegations did not concern the trial in this case,

the defendants on trial, or any of the events at issue in the

case, and giving due weight to the district court’s cau-

tionary measures, we find no due process violation and

reject Napoli’s request for a new trial.

Furthermore, Napoli’s claim that the District Court

erred in denying his motion to sequester the jury in

response to the Gotti proceedings is without merit. “The

decision to sequester the jury to avoid exposure to pub-

licity is committed to the discretion of the cou.i, and fail-

ure to sequester the jury can rarely be grounds for

reversal.” United States v. Salerno, 868 F.2d 524, 540 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 491 U.S. 907 (1989). Judge Sifton did

6460

————————

4la

not abuse his discretion and his precautions seem entirely

adequate to the remote threat of prejudice from the

expected publicity concerning Napoli’s attorney and his

representation of another client in a completely unrelated

matter.

Vill. Sentencing

Fishman, Napoli, Gabe, and Rella contend that the Dis-

trict Court erred in applying the Sentencing Guidelines in

sentencing them on the RICO conspiracy count. Each of

these defendants asserts that, for various reasons, his lia-

bility for participation in the conspiracy cannot extend

past November 1, 1987, the effective date of the Guide-

lines. We conclude that the District Court correctly

applied the Sentencing Guidelines to each of these defen-

dants.

This Court has determined that persons convicted of

offenses that began before and continued after November

1, 1987, (so called “straddle crimes”) would, upon sen-

tencing, be subject to the Sentencing Guidelines. See

United States v. Story, 891 F.2d 988, 994 (2d Cir. 1989).

The RICO conspiracy charged in this case ran from Jan-

uary 1981 to June 1990, and thus straddled the effective

date of the guidelines. Moreover, the jury found three

defendants—Eisen, Gabe, and Morganti—guilty of a

predicate act of mail fraud in connection with the Stanton

case, which included a mailing on March 29, 1988. Thus,

the conspiracy of which the defendants were convicted

continued after the effective date of the guidelines.

Gabe complains that the jury was not asked to deter-

mine whether the conspiracy straddled the effective date

of the Guidelines. However, for purposes of applying the

Guidelines, “the period during which an offense occurs is

6461

42a

considered a ‘sentencing factor’ to be determined by a

judge—instead of an element of the offense to be deter-

mined by a jury.” United States v. Bloom, 945 F.2d 14, 17

(2d Cir. 1991). The District Court did not err in finding by

a preponderance of the evidence that the conspiracy

extended beyond November 1, 1987. Gabe also argues

that he should not have been sentenced under the Guide-

lines because he played a “minimal role” in the conspir-

acy. The extent of Gabe’s role, while relevant in

determining the appropriate length of his sentence within

the Guidelines, see U.S.S.G. § 3B1.2 (Guideline adjust-

ments for mitigating role in the offense), has no bearing

on the threshold question of whether the Guidelines

should apply to his conspiracy conviction.

Napoli argues that application of the Guidelines to his

conviction violates ex post facto principles because he

“did nothing after November 1, 1987 and did not plan

anything which ultimately transpired after that date.”

Brief for Appellant Napoli at 140. The Court may find a

continuation of conspiratorial liability even though the

particular defendant has ceased to engage in overt conduct

relating to the conspiracy prior to November 1, 1987, if it

was foreseeable that the conspiracy would continue past

that date. See, e.g., United States v. Devine, 934 F.2d

1325, 1332 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 112 S. Ct. 349 (1991).

This holding derives from the basic principle that con-

spirators are generally held liable for the known or rea-

sonably foreseeable acts of all other co-conspirators

committed in furtherance of the conspiracy. See Pinker-

ton v. United States, 328 U.S. 640, 647 (1946). Contrary

to Napoli’s contention, the acts of co-conspirators occur-

ring after November 1, 1987, may be attributable to a

defendant for purposes of the application of the Sen-

tencing Guidelines in the absence of evidence that the

6462

43a

defendant somehow “caused” those acts. See United

States v. Rosa, 891 F.2d 1063, 1068-69 (3d Cir. 1989)

(applying Guidelines to co-conspirator who did nothing to

further the conspiracy after 1986 in the absence of any

proof that he affirmatively renounced the conspiracy prior

to November 1, 1987). Defendants committing no acts in

furtherance of a conspiracy after the effective date of the

Guidelines are not subject to ex post facto punishment

because they could have “taken steps to prevent the final

element of the crime from occurring,” United States v.

Alkins, 925 F.2d 541, 549 (2d Cir. 1991), before the

Statute became effective; they could have withdrawn from

the conspiracy. See Rosa, 891 F.2d at 1069. Napoli does

not claim that he ever withdrew from the conspiracy.

Rella and Fishman contend that they affirmatively with-

drew from the conspiracy before the effective date of the

Guidelines. In order to demonstrate withdrawal from a

conspiracy, the defendant has the burden of proving

“some act that affirmatively established that he disavowed

his criminal association with the conspiracy .. . and

that he communicated his withdrawal to the co-conspir-

ators.” United States v. Minicone, 960 F.2d at 1108 (2d

Cir. 1992) (citations omitted). “[MJere cessation of con-

Spiratorial activity is not enough” to satisfy this standard.

United States v. Nerlinger, 862 F.2d 967, 974 (2d Cir.

1988).

Rella contends that he withdrew from the conspiracy

when he left the firm as its “in-house” investigator in

1984. However, Rella continued to work for the firm on

an ad hoc basis thereafter. The parties’ stipulation that

there was no showing that any of the work performed by

Rella after 1984 was tainted by illegality does not alter

the significance of Rella’s continued association with the

Eisen firm. The District Court correctly found that the

6463

44a

’ se

stipulation established, at most, Rella’s “mere cessation”

of illegal conduct, which was insufficient to prove his

withdrawal from the conspiracy. /d. at 974.

Fishman contends that he affirmatively withdrew from

the conspiracy before the effective date of the Guidelines

by resigning his position at the Eisen firm in order to

practice with another, independent law firm. Fishman

relies on this Court’s decision in Nerlinger, in which the

defendant participated in a conspiracy to defraud the cus-

tomers of a brokerage firm. The defendant’s role in the

conspiracy was to open and maintain a bogus account

with the firm for the purpose of diverting profits fraudu-

lently obtained by his co-conspirators. /d. We ruled that

the defendant had withdrawn from the conspiracy before

the conspiracy’s termination by resigning from the bro-

kerage firm and closing the account, reasoning that by

doing so the defendant had foreclosed the possibility of

further participation in the conspiracy and relinquished

any claim to subsequent profits. /d. at 974-75. However,

in this case the District Court found that there was evi-

dence that, after leaving the law firm, Fishman “continued

to be entitled to a percentage of the recovery on all cases

he tried including those giving rise to his pre-1985 rack-

eteering acts.”

Fishman argues that he received an annualized salary

from the Eisen firm and was not entitled to a percentage

of the recovery of the cases he tried. Stephen DiJoseph, a

cooperating co-defendant, testified that Fishman had told

him that he was getting “a piece of the action on the cases

he tried.” Fishman faults the District Court for denying

his request for a hearing on this disputed sentencing fac-

tor. However, the District Court has broad discretion to

determine the procedure by which it will resolve disputed

issues at sentencing, so long as it affords the defendant

6464

45a

some opportunity to rebut the Government’s allegations.

See United States v. Prescott, 920 F.2d 139, 143-44 (2d

Cir. 1990). The District Court did not abuse its discretion

in denying the hearing and was not clearly erroneous in

concluding that Fishman failed to satisfy his burden of

proving withdrawal from the conspiracy.®

Conclusion

We have considered appellants’ other arguments and

find them to be without merit. The judgments of convic-

| tion appealed from are all affirmed.

8 The District Court also relied on another episode in determining that

Fishman had not withdrawn from the conspiracy. The District Court

found that in February 1988, Fishman, together with defendant Wein-

stein, sought to convince DiJoseph to lie to investigators in order to con-

ceal his role in the Schwartz fraud. Fishman argues that such an effort

constituted a later agreement between himself and Weinstein to conceal

an earlier conspiracy and not a continuation in, or rejoining of, the orig-

inal conspiracy. Post-conspiracy acts of concealment do not, without

more, extend the life of the conspiracy after its main objective has been

attained. See Grunewald v. United States, 353 U.S. 391, 399-402 (1957);

Krulewitch v. United States, 336 U.S. 440, 442-44 (1949). Fishman,

however, does not dispute that the original conspiracy was ongoing in

February 1988, when he made the statements in question. Because the

District Court found that Fishman did not effectively withdraw from the

conspiracy when he resigned from the Eisen firm, Fishman was still a

member of the conspiracy at the time of these efforts, and, clearly, acts

or statements designed to conceal an ongoing conspiracy are in fur-

therance.of that conspiracy. See United States v. Beech-Nut Nutrition

Corp., 871 F.2d 1181, 1199 (2d Cir.), cert dened, 493 U.S. 933 (1989).

6465

46a

ORDER DENYING PETITION FOR REHEARING

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Second Circuit, held at the United States Courthouse in the City of

New York, on the 20th day of October one thousand nine hundred

and ninety-two.

UNITED STATES of AMERICA,

Appellee,

Vv.

LEONARD KAGEL,

Defendant, DOCKET NUMBER: 91-1549(1),

91-1551,

Morris J. EISEN; JOSEPH P. NAPOLI; HAROLD 91-1553,

M. FISHMAN; DENNIS RELLA; MARTY GABE; 91-1554,

GERALDINE G. MORGANTI; ALAN WEINSTEIN 91-1555,

Defendants-Appellants. 91-1633,

92-1032,

A petition for rehearing containing a suggestion that the action

be reheard in banc having been filed herein by counsels for

Defendant-Appellants Morris J. Eisen, Joseph P. Napoli, Marty

Gabe, Dennis Rella, and Geraldine G. Morganti,

Upon consideration by the panel that decided the appeal, it is

Ordered that said petitions for rehearing are DENIED.

It is further noted that the suggestions for rehearing in banc have

been transmitted to the judges of the court in regular active service

and to any other judge that heard the appeal and that no such judge

has requested that a vote be taken thereon.

s/Elaine B. Goldsmith,

ELAINE B. GOLDSMITH,

Clerk

s/by Carolyn Clark Campbell

Chief Deputy Clerk

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.