Petition for Writ of Certiorari — O'Brien v. Consolidated Rail Corp.

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

92-879

No. 92-

Bopreme Court, U.S

FJ )LEQD

NOV 3 1992

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF

OE OF THE CLERM

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

William J. O’Brien

Petitioner

Vv.

Consolidated Rail

Corporation,

Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT

OF APPEALS FOR THE

FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Harold L. Lichten

Ruth A. Bourquin*

ANGOFF, GOLDMAN,

MANNING, PYLE, WANGER &

HIATT, P.C.

24 School Street

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 723-5500

Philip G. Boyle, Esq.

Charles Street

Meeting House

121 Mt. Vernon Street

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 227-7119

*Counsel of Record

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Is the preemptive effect of

the Railway Labor Act to be judged by

the same standard set forth in Lingle

v._No ivision of Magic Chef,

Inc., 486 U.S. 399 (1988), which

addressed preemption under the Labor

Management Relations Act, or by a

different standard?

2. Are state law claims of

handicap discrimination more

vulnerable to federal labor act

preemption than state law claims of

discrimination on the basis of race,

sex, age, etc?

3. When, if ever, may labor

unions, through the collective

bargaining process, prospectively

waive the State statutory rights of

their members to be free from

discrimination based

on handicaps, race, sex, age, or

other protected categories?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED............. (i)

TABLE OF CONTENTS........ eer (ii)

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES............ (iv)

INTRODUCTION....... eee rs ee 1

OPINIONS BELOW............. eee 1

SUREOUECTOIN G55 kiko 4 605 00% ioseae es 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED.....3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE.............9

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.....12

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE

THE SPLIT IN THE CIRCUIT

COURTS OVER WHETHER THE

LINGLE STANDARD FOR

DETERMINING PREEMPTION

APPLIES UNDER THE RAILWAY

TABOR ACP... ci cescs eee 5 44 5 12

Il.

THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE

CONFUSION AMONG THE CIRCUIT

COURTS AS TO WHETHER STATE

HANDICAP DISCRIMINATION

CLAIMS ARE MORE SUSCEPTIBLE

TO LABOR ACT PREEMPTION THAN

ARE RACE OR OTHER

DISCRIMINATION CLAIMS.......

(11)

IIl. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

DECISION ALLOWS LABOR

UNIONS TO WAIVE THEIR

MEMBERS’ STATE

ANTI-DISCRIMINATION RIGHTS

AND CONFLICTS WITH THE

REASONING OF PRIOR

DECISIONS OF THIS COURT....34

CONCLUSION. wc cccccccccscccccccccces 48

APPENDICES A - E

(iii)

Cases

Ackerman v. Western

Electric 860 F.2d 1514

(9th Cir. 1988)

Alexander v. Gardner-

Denver, 31, 415 U.S. 36,

94 S.Ct. 1011, 39 L.Ed.2d

147 (1974)

_ por Pty

& Nashville R. Co.,

406 U.S. 320, 92 S.Ct.

1562, 32 L.Ed.2d

95 (1972)

Atchison, Topeka and

Sante Fe Ry. Co, V.

Buell], 480 U.S. 557,

107 S.Ct. 1410, 94

L.Ed.2d 563 (1986)

Barrantine v.

Arkansas-Best

j t nc.,

450 U.S. 728,

101 S.Ct. 1437,

67 L.Ed.2d 641 (1981)

Beard v. Carrollton

Railroad, 893 F.2d 117

(6th Cir. 1989)

Brown v. Holiday Station

stores, Inc., 723 F.Supp.

396 (D. Minn. 1989)

(iv)

assi

17, 20

a?

21

18

Colorado Anti- Page

¥ rire

Commission v.

& er tbtines

372 U.S. 174, 83 S.Ct.

1022, 10 L.Ed.2d 84

(1963) 26,

45

Vv

Conway v. Boston

Edison Co., 745 F.Supp.

773 (D. Mass. 1990) 31

Cronan v. New England

Telephone Co., No. 86-

0242-S, 41 Four Empl.

Proc. Cas. (BNA) 1268 (D.

Mass. Apr. 11, 1986)

(Lexis, Genfed. library,

Dist. file). 15

D vi , :

j j , 971 F.2a

463 (10th Cir. 1992) 19

Deford Vv. Soo Line R.R. 27

867 F.2d 1080 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 109 S.Ct.

3265 (1989) 21

Dothard v. Rawlinson,

433 U.8. 321, 97 S.Ct.

2720, 53 L.Ed.2d 786

(1977) 30

Espinosa v. Norfolk

& W.R. Co., 750 F.Supp.

819 (E.D. Mich. 1990),

aff’d mem., 946 F.2d

894, (6th Cir. 1991) 17-18

(v)

Vv

Vv n

Pacific Trang. Co.,

213 Cal. App. 3d 1378,

262 Cal. Rptr. 416

(1989)

F

Vv n

Island Railroad,

723 F.

Supp. 892

(E.D.N.Y. 1989)

107 S.

, 482 U.S.

Ct. 2211,

96 L.Ed.2a 1 (1987)

411 U.

Vv j son,

S. 677,

93 S.Ct. 1764 (1973)

Gilmer v.

Interstate/Johnson

Lane Corp.

111 S.

114 L.

, U.S. ’

Ct. 1647,

Ed.2d 26 (1991)

Vv ns World

Airlines, 905 F.2d

1307,

(9th Cir. 1990)

vy. Johnson Controls,

U.

1196,

(1991)

S. , 111 S.Ct.

113 L.Ed.2d 158

(vi)

1,

38,

i7,

28

18

42

30

39

20

30

Jackson v. Liquid

Carbonic Corp., 863 F.2d

111 (lst Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 490

U.S. 1107 (1989) 24

Lancaster v.

W

Norfolk and Western

Railway, 773 F.2d

807 (7th Cir. 1985),

cert. denied,

480 U.S. 945 (1987) 19, 20

Leu _v. Norfolk

& W. Ry., 820 F.2d 825,

(7th Cir. 1987) 19

Lingle v. Norge

ta hef

Inc., 486 U.S. 399,

108 S.Ct. 1877, 100

L.Ed.2d 410 (1988) passim

Vv W e

Transit Rail Opern. Inc.,

125 N.J. 455, 593 A.2d

750 (1991) 28

McCall v. C&O Ry. Co.,

844 F.2d 294 (6th Cir.),

cert. denied, 488

U.S. 879 (1988) 18, 21,

27, 34

McCann v. Alaska

irli , 758 F.

Supp. 559 (N.D. Cal. 1991) 18

McDonald v. West Branch,

466 U.S. 284, 466

U.S. 284, 104 S.Ct. 1799,

80 L.Ed.2d 302 (1984) 37

(vii)

802, 93 S.Ct. 1

1824 (1973)

Air Lines, 931

-S. 792,

817,

F.2d 558

(9th Cir.), cert.

denied, 112 S.Ct. 189

(1991)

Miller v. ATT Network

Systems, 850 F.

(9th Cir. 1988)

(en banc)

’

887 F.2d 683

(6th Cir. 1989)

2d 543

Quinn v. Southern

Pacific Trans. Co.,

76 Or. App. 617,

P. 24 139 (198

711

5)

a Buildi

Trades Council v. Garmon,

359 U.S. 236, 79 S.Ct. 773,

3 L.Ed.2d 775 (

1989)

School] _ Bd. of Nassau

County v. Arline

U.S. 273, 107 S

94 L.Ed.2d 307

, 480

Ct. 1123

(1987)

Smolarek v. Crysler

Corporation, 879 F.2d

1326 (6th Cir.

(en banc)

1989)

(viii)

15,

29

17

33

15

28

42

31

15

Texas Dept. of Community

Affairs v. Burdine, 450

101 S.Ct. 1089

U.S. 248,

(1981)

Trans World Airlines,

Inc. v. Thurston, 469

105 S.Ct 613,

67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1985)

Underwood v. Trans

World Airlines, 710

F. Supp. 78 (S.D.N.Y.

U.S. ill,

1989)

U Sentons

Trail Tours, Inc.,

531 F.2d 224 (5th

Cir. 1976)

Statutes

M.G.L. c.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

28 U.S.C.

151B,

§1254

§1291

§1331

§1332

§ 4(16)

(1988 Ed.)

(ix)

29

29

18

30

12

12

Page

29 U.S.C. § 185 13, 22, 39,

40, 45

29 U.S.C. § 794 31

29 U.S.C. §12101 A3, 22, 39,

40, 45

29 U.S.C. §12117 41

29 U.S.C. §12201 41, 47

45 U.S.C. §§151-88 5-9

Rules of The Supreme Court

of The United States

Rule 10.1 (a) 25, 34

Rule 10.1 (c) 34, 47

(x)

INTRODUCTION

William O’Brien, an individual

who was born without a right hand,

petitions for a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment of the First

Circuit Court of Apeals, which held

that his state law handicap

discrimination claim was entirely

preempted by the Railway Labor Act.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the First Circuit

Court of Appeals, which held that

plaintiff’s state law handicap

discrimination claim was preempted by

the Railway Labor Act, is reported at

972 F.2d 1 (1992). It is reproduced

in the appendix at pages A-1 to

A-27. The Report and Recommendation

of the United States magistrate are

reported in the appendix at pages B-1

to B-39. The order and judgment of

the United States District Court for

the District of Massachusetts, which

adopted the recommendation of the

magistrate, are unreported, but are

reproduced in the appendix at pages

C-1 to C=3.

S ON

The judgment of the First Circuit

Court of Appeals was entered on

August 5, 1992. Petitioner invokes

the jurisdiction of the Court under

28 U.S.C. §1254 (1988 Ed.) The Court

of Appeals had jurisdiction pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. §1291.

ae

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

INVOLVED

Mass. General Laws Chapter 151B,

§4 provides in pertinent part:

It shall be an unlawful practice:

16. For any employer, personally

or through an agent, to dismiss

from employment, or refuse to

hire, rehire or advance in

employment or otherwise

discriminate against, because of

his handicap, any person alleging

to be a qualified handicapped

person, capable of performing the

essential functions of the

position involved with reasonable

accommodations, unless the

employer can demonstrate that the

accommodation required to be made

to the physical or mental

limitations of the person would

impose an undue hardship to the

employer’s business.

In determining whether an

accommodation would impose an

undue hardship on the conduct of

the employer’s business, factors

to be considered include:-

(1) the overall size of the

mployer’s business with respect

to the number of employees,

number and type of facilities,

and size of budget or available

assets;

(2) the type of the employer’s

operation, includina the

composition and structure of the

employer’s workforce; and

(3) the nature and cost of the

accommodation needed.

Physical or mental job

qualification requirement with

respect to hiring, promotion,

demotion or dismissal from

employment or any other change in

employment status or

responsibilities shall be

functionally related to the

specific job or jobs for which

the individual is being

considered and shall be

consistent with the safe and

lawful performance of the job.

An employer may not make

preemployment inquiry of an

application as to whether the

applicant is a handicapped

individual or as to the nature or

severity of the handicap, except

that an employer may condition an

offer of employment on the

results of a medical examination

conducted solely for the purpose

of determining whether the

employee, with reasonable

accommodation, is capable of

performing the essential

functions of the job, and an

employer may invite applicants to

voluntarily disclose their

handicap for purposes of

assisting the employer in its

affirmative actions efforts.

The Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.

§§151-88 provides in relevant part:

§15la. General purposes.

The purposes of the chapter are

(1) To avoid any interruption to

commerce or to the operation of

any carrier engaged therein; (2)

to forbid any limitation upon

freedom of association among

employees or any denial, as a

condition of employment or

otherwise, of the right of

employees to join a labor

organization; (3) to provide for

the complete independence of

carriers and of employees in the

matter of self-organization to

carry out the purposes of this

chapter; (4) to provide for the

prompt and orderly settlement of

all disputes concerning rates of

pay, rules, or working

conditions; (5) to provide for

the prompt and orderly settlement

of all disputes growing out of

grievances or out of the

interpretation or application of

agreements covering rates of pay,

rules or working conditions.

§153. National Railroad

Adjustment Board

First. Establishment;

composition; powers and duties;

divisions; hearings and awards;

judicial review

There is established a Board,

to be known as the "National

Railroad Adjustment Board", the

members of which shall be

selected within thirty days after

June 21, 1934, and it is

provided-...

(i) The disputes between an

employee or group of employees

and a carrier or carriers growing

out of grievances or out of the

interpretation or application of

agreements concerning rates of

pay, rules, or working

conditions, including cases

pending and unadjusted on June

21, 1934, shall be handled in the

usual manner up to an including

the chief operating officer of

the carrier designated to handle

such disputes; but, failing to

reach an adjustment in this

manner, the disputes may be

referred by petition of the

parties or by either party to the

appropriate division of the

Adjustment Board with a full

statement of the facts and all

supporting data bearing upon the

disputes...

(m) The awards of the several

divisions of the Adjustment Board

shall be stated in writing. A

copy of the awards shall be

furnished to the respective

parties to the controversy, and

the awards shall be final and

binding upon both parties to the

dispute. In case a dispute

arises involving an

interpretation of the award the

division of the Board upon

request of either party shall

interpret the award in the light

of the dispute.

§184. System, group, or regional

boards of adjustment

The disputes between an

employee or group of employees

and a carrier or carriers by air

growing out of grievances, or out

of the interpretation of

application of agreements

concerning rates of pay, rules or

working conditions, including

cases pending and unadjusted on

April 10, 1936 before the

National Labor Relations Board,

shall be handled in the usual

manner up to and including the

chief operating officer of the

carrier designated to handle such

disputes; but, failing to reach

an adjustment in this manner, the

disputes may be referred by

petition of the parties or in

either party to an appropriate

adjustment board, as hereinafter

provided with a full statement of

the facts and supporting data

bearing upon the disputes.

It shall be the duty of every

carrier and to its employees,

acting through their

representatives, selected in

accordance with the provisions of

the subchapter, to establish a

board of adjustment of

jurisdiction not exceeding the

jurisdiction which may be

lawfully exercised by systen,

group, or regional boards of

adjustment, under the authority

of section 153 of this title.

Such boards of adjustment may

be established by agreement

between employees and carriers

either on any individual carrier,

or system, or group of carriers

by air and any class or classes

of its or their employees; or

pending the establishment of a

permanent National Board of

Adjustment as hereinafter

provided. Nothing in this

chapter shall prevent said

carriers by air, or any class or

classes of their employees, both

acting through their

representatives selected in

accordance with provisions of

this subchapter, from mutually

agreeing to the establishment of

a National Board of Adjustment of

temporary duration and of

Similarly limited jurisdiction.

T 2) CAS

In this case, the petitioner

William O’Brien, who was born without

a right hand, challenges the decision

of his employer Consolidated Rail

Corporation ("Conrail") to deny him a

"stevedore" position solely because

of its belief that he could not

perform the job because of his

physical handicap. The district

court, affirmed by the Court of

Appeals, held that O’Brien’s state

statutory discrimination claim was

preempted by the Railway Labor Act.

Petitioner O’Brien was employed

by Conrail as a yardmaster for more

that 10 years. In January of 1988 he

was laid off from that position. He

then exercised the undisputed right

to "bump" a less senior employee

holding the position of "stevedore".

972 F.2d at 2 (A.3). Conrail denied

O’Brien this position solely because

of its belief that his physical

handicap would prevent him from

performing two of the many duties of

that position: 1.) climbing ladders

in adverse weather conditions and 2)

handling "forty pound

bridgeplates."1

1tThe company made this

determination 3 years earlier in

1985 when O’Brien first sought the

stevedore position. At no time did

Conrail even consider the question

of whether these two duties were

essential functions or whether with

reasonable accommodations such

duties could be performed by

O’Brien. See M.G.L. c. 151B,

§4(16). O’Brien filed a grievance

- 10 =

Believing that, given the

opportunity, he could prove his

ability to perform the essential

functions of the stevedore position,

O’Brien filed an administrative

complaint with the Massachusetts

Commission Against Discrimination

("MCAD"). He later requested and

received permission from the MCAD to

file his claim in Massachusetts state

court, and he did so. Conrail

footnote continued

in 1985 under his union’s labor

contract challenging Conrail’s

denial of the stevedore position to

him. The grievance was eventually

submitted to the National Railroad

Adjustment Board as provided in the

Labor contract. The Board ruled

that it was concerned about the

case, but was constrained and

without authority to review de novo

the merits of Conrail’s

determination. Appendix E-4 to E-6.

- ll-

removed the action to the Federal

District Court pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§1331 and §1332. It then moved for

summary judgment alleging inter alia

that O’Brien’s claim was preempted by

the Railway Labor Act ("RLA"). A

Magistrate recommended that summary

judgment be granted on the basis of

RLA preemption, and the district

court adopted the magistrate’s

recommendation and entered summary

judgment for Conrail. The United

States Court of Appeals for the First

Circuit affirmed in a decision dated

August 5, 1992 (A-1).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE THE

SPLIT IN THE CIRCUIT COURTS OVER

WHETHER THE LINGLE STANDARD FOR

DETERMINING PREEMPTION APPLIES

UNDER THE RAILWAY LABOR ACT.

In Ling} N bieins

Magic Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 108

- 12 -

S.Ct. 1877, 100 L.Ed.2d 410 (1988),

this Court resolved a long-standing

debate in the Federal Courts of

Appeals when it articulated a

straight-forward test for determining

when a state law claim is preempted

by Section 301 of the Labor

Management Relations Act ("LMRA"), 29

U.S.C. § 185 ("Section 301"). This

Court held that the LMRA does not

preempt state law employment claims

of unionized employees unless such

Claims "require[{ ] the interpretation

of a collective bargaining

agreement." Lingle, 486 U.S. at

413; see also id. at 407 (no

premption unless claim "requires

construing" the collective bargaining

agreement).

- 13-

The Court in Lingle noted that

even when "the state law analysis

might well involve attention to the

same factual considerations as the

contractual determination...," it is

not the case that "such parallelism

renders the state law analysis

dependent upon the contractual

analysis." Id. at 408.

In other words, even if dispute

resolution pursuant to a

collective bargaining agreement,

on the one hand, and state law,

on the other, would require

addressing the same set of facts,

as long as the state law claim

can be resolved without

interpreting the agreement

itself, the claim is

"independent" of the agreement

for §301 preemption purposes.

id. at 410 (footnote omitted).

- 14 -

Following Lingle, the federal

courts have uniformly held that state

law handicap discrimination claims

are not preempted by the LMRA,

because the resolution of state law

handicap discrimination claims does

not depend on any interpretation of

the contract. See Miller v. AT&T

Network Systems, 850 F.2d 543 (9th

Cir. 1988) (en banc); Ackerman v._

Western Electric, 860 F.3d 1514 (9th

Cir. 1988); O’Shea v. Detroit News,

887 F.2d 683 (6th Cir. 1989);

Smolarek v. Crysler Corporation, 879

F.2d 1326 (6th Cir. 1989) (en banc);

onan v Ww Ba.

No. 86-0242-S, 41 Fair Empl. Prac.

Cas. (BNA) 1268 (D. Mass. Apr. 11,

1986) (LEXIS, Genfed. library, Dist.

file). The reasoning of the

- 15 -

—OOON

decisions in those cases is that

resolution of the issue of whether

there has been unlawful

discrimination based on a handicap is

not dependent upon resolution of any

Claim under the collective bargaining

agreement, regardless of whether an

arbitrator might be empowered to

address similar issues under the

collective bargaining agreement.

Statutory discrimination claims

require no interpretation of or

construing of the collective

bargaining agreement.

However, there now exists a split

among the Federal Courts of Appeals

as to whether the Lingle analysis

applies to claims of preemption under

the Railway Labor Act. Indeed, at

least three different trends have now

- 16 =

a nara

pints -e

emerged in the Circuit Courts

regarding the comparative preemptive

effect of the LMRA and RLA.

Relying on a statement in dicta

in Andrews v. Louisville & Nashville

R. Co., 406 U.S. 320, 323, 92 S.Ct.

1562, 32 L.Ed.2d 95 (1972), the Sixth

and Ninth Circuit Courts of Appeals

have held that the RLA has more

preemptive effect over state law

claims than the LMRA and that the

Lingle standard is not applicable

under the RLA. See, e.g., Melanson

vy. United Air Lines, 931 F.2d 558,

562 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 112

S.Ct. 189 (1991); Grote v. Trans

World Airlines, 905 F.2d 1307, 1309

(9th Cir. 1990); Espinosa v. Norfolk

& W.R. Co., 750 F.Supp. 819, 825

(E.D. Mich. 1990), aff’d mem., 946

- 17 <=

F.2d 894 (6th Cir. 1991); McCall v.

C & O Ry. Co., 844 F.2d 294, 304 (6th

Cir.) (order denying rehearing after

Lingle), cert. denied, 488 U.S. 879

(1988); see also McCann v. Alaska

Airlines, Inc., 758 F. Supp. 559

(N.D. Cal. 1991) (applying

“inextricably intertwined" test

rejected by this Court in Lingle).

Lower courts in the Second and

Eight Circuits seem to have arrived

at the same conclusion. See Feldleit

vy. Long Island Railroad, 723 F. Supp.

892, 899 (E.D.N.Y. 1989); Brown v.

Holiday Station Stores, Inc., 723

F.Supp. 396, 406 (D. Minn. 1989);

d Vv W irlines,

710 F. Supp. 78, 82 (S.D.N.Y. 1989).

- 18 -

At least two other Circuit Courts

of Appeals, the Seventh and the

Tenth, have held, on the other hand,

that the preemptive effect of the

LMRA and RLA is identical and thus

Lingle controls under both statutes.

Davies v. American Airlines, 971 F.2d

463, 466-67 (10th Cir. 1992); Leu v.

Norfolk & W. Ry., 820 F.2d 825, 125

LRRM 2390 (7th Cir. 1987); Lancaster

v. Norfolk and Western Railway, 773

F.2d 807 (7th Cir. 1985), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 945 (1987).

In Lancaster v. Norfolk and_

Western Railway, Judge Posner, after

analyzing in detail the history and

purpose of the RLA and the LMRA,

concluded that no persuasive grounds

exist to distinguish between the

preemptive effect of these two

- 19 -

federal labor statutes. In his

words, "it is hard to see why [the

RLA] should have more preemptive

force than the National Labor

Relations Act." 773 F.2d at 816-17.

Likewise in Davies, the Tenth Circuit

acknowledged that RLA preemption is

statutory whereas LMRA preemption is

contractual, but concluded that that

fact does not affect "the inquiry

into whether a claim requires

interpretation of a [collective

bargaining agreement])." 971 F.2d at

467 n.5, citing Andrews v. Louisville |

& Nashville R. Co., supra and

expressly rejecting the analysis of

Grote, supra.

Still other courts have concluded

that Lingle does not control the

preemption analysis under the RLA,

- 20 -

but is "instructive" to some

undefined extent. See Beard v.

Carrollton Railroad, 893 F.2d 117,

122 (6th Cir. 1989); v. Soo

Line R.R., 867 F.2d 1080, 1086 (8th

Cir.), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 926

(1989).

In the present case, the First

Circuit, in some places in its

opinion, appears to have taken the

middle-of-the-road position that LMRA

preemption cases, including Lingle,

are not controlling but are of

assistance in construing the RLA.

972 F.2d at 4, 5. (A-13 to A-15) In

others, it states that virtually all

labor disputes are preempted by the

RLA, id. at 4, quoting McCall, 844

F.2d at 301 (A-18 to A-19), and rules

that "the mere fact that O’Brien’s

- 21-

cause of action under Chapter 151B is

‘independent’ of the RLA says nothing

about whether such action is

preempted by the RLA." Id. at 3

(A-11). The latter statement is of

course tantamount to a rejection of

this Court’s holding in Lingle that

if the state law claim is

"independent" of the collective

bargaining agreement, it is not

preempted by Section 301. See 486

U.S. at 407, 410.2

2The Court’s rejection of

Lingle, at most, or its

misapplication of Lingle, at a

minimum, is further revealed by its

statement that preemption is

warranted under both the LMRA and

the RLA whenever the case involves

"state law claims connected with the

collective bargaining agreement."

972 F.2d at 4 (A-19). This is

Clearly not the Lingle standard.

- 22 -

The First Circuit concluded that

O’Brien’s physical handicap

discrimination claim would "“require[ }

interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement," 972 F.2d at 5

(A-20), but never stated what in the

collective bargaining agreement

"requires" interpretation in order to

decide O’Brien’s state statutory

discrimination claim.

3Indeed, all that the court

below did was identify provisions of

the collective bargaining agreement

pursuant to which a parallel

proceeding could be brought. Such

parallelism, however, was clearly

rejected by the Court in Lingle as

the basis for preemption. See 486

U.S. at 408-10, 412-13. In one

place, the court below found that

"under the collective bargaining

agreement he was entitled to ’bump’

the less senior employee filling the

position." 972 F.2d at 2 (A-3).

Hence, the court’s later

- 933 -

Because of the disarray in the

lower federal courts over the

footnote continued

discussion to the effect that the

court would have to determine as a

"threshold question...0O’Brien’s

eligibility for the job," and hence

"would need to interpret the

collective bargaining agreement to

determine whether

it... entitled O’Brien to ‘bump’

the present holder of the Stevedore

position," 972 F.2a4 at 5 (A-22), is

inexplicable. Moreover, resolution

of this threshold question, like

resolution of claims for damages,

would not justify preemption of the

enire discrimination clain. See

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 413 n.12. The

First Circuit has generally resisted

the notion that this Court meant

"require" when it said "require" in

Lingle. See

, 863 F.2d 111, 121

(lst Cir. 1988), cert. denied, 490

U.S. 1107 (1989). In the decision

below, the court admitted that the

Jackson court’s analysis leads to

the conclusion that "state law

Claims arising out of the employment

relationship" are preempted. 972

F.2d at 4 (A-16). This is of course

inconsistent with the "requires"

standard of Lingle.

- 24 -

question of the proper standard for

determining RLA preemption,

particularly as it affects state law

discrimination claims against rail

and air carriers, this Court should

grant certiorari in this case. See

Rules of the Supreme Court of the

United States, 10.1(a).

II. THIS COURT SHOULD RESOLVE

CONFUSION AMONG THE CIRCUIT

COURTS AS TO WHETHER STATE

HANDICAP DISCRIMINATION CLAIMS

ARE MORE SUSCEPTIBLE TO LABOR ACT

PREEMPTION THAN ARE RACE OR OTHER

DISCRIMINATION CLAIMS.

Whatever standard governs RLA

preemption, there is a confusion

among the circuits as to whether

handicap discrimination claims are

more susceptible to preemption than

race, sex, age or other

discrimination claims.

- 295 -

The First Circuit has now joined

the Sixth -_.-_it in concluding that

handicap discrimination claims are

more readily subject to preemption

under federal labor statutes than are

race discrimination claims, and

presumably any other type of

discrimination claim.

The court below and the Sixth

Circuit in McCall attempted to

distinguish this Court’s holdings in

20) 10 _Anti-Di iminati

tani Cont j tal Airli ’

372 U.S. 174, 83 S.Ct. 1022, 10

L.Ed.2d 84 (1963), in which the Court

held that state statutory race

discrimination claims are not

preempted by the Railway Labor Act.

See also Alexander v. Gardner-Denver

Co., 415 U.S. 36, 94 S.Ct. 1011,

- 26 -

39 L.Ed.2d 147 (1973) (noting

distinctness of collective bargaining

agreement rights and Title VII

rights). The court below contrasted

handicap and race discrimination

cases by stating, "’racial

discrimination [is] conduct that is

not by any construction a subject for

collective bargaining and

arbitration.’" 972 F.2d at 5-6,

quoting McCall, 844 F.2d at 302 (A-25

to A-26).

In effect then, the court below

and the Sixth Circuit in McCall] have

concluded that handicap

discrimination claims will be

preempted by the RLA whenever the

collective bargaining agreement

contains provisions relevant to the

issues that would be litigated in

=» 27 «

resolving the discrimination Clain,

whereas race discrimination Claims,

and presumably sex and age clains,

will never be preempted. 4

Underlying the rationale of the

Sixth Circuit in McCall, the First

Circuit in this case and the state

court decisions on which the court

below relied is a fundamental

misapprehension that handicap

discrimination claims are unique in

terms of placing on the plaintiff

4In Support of its holding

that handicap claims are more

vulnerable to preemption than other

kinds of discrimination Claims, the

court below cited Maher v. New

i » 125

N.J. 455, 593 A.2ada 750, 765 (1991);

Evans v. ifi

Co., 213 Cal. App. 3d 1378, 262 Cal.

Rptr. 416, 420 (1989), cert. denied,

496 U.S. 936 (1990); and Quinn v.

Southern Pacific Trans. Co., 76 or.

App. 617, 711 P. 2d 139, 144 (1985).

- 28 -

Lee Dime >

an eet

the burden of proving she is capable

of performing the job in question.

In any state law claim of unlawful

race, sex or age discrimination where

there is no direct proof of

discriminatory intent, the plaintiff

has the burden of proving that she is

qualified to perform the job in

question. See McDonnell Douglas _

Corp. v. Green, 411 U.S. 792, 802, 93

S.Ct. 1817, 1824, 36 L.Ed.2d 668

(1973) (race; element of prima facie

cases is ability to perform the job);

+ . ) = ity Affai

Burdine, 450 U.S. 248, 253-54, 101

S.Ct. 1089, 1094 (1981) (sex); Trans

World Airlines, Inc. v. Thurston, 469

U.S. 111, 121-22, 105 S.Ct 613,

621-22, 67 L.Ed.2d 207 (1985) (age).

- 29 =-

Likewise, in mandatory retirement

cases and other bona fide

occupational qualification (BFOQ)

cases under both Title VII of the

Civil Rights Act of 1964 and the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act

(ADEA), the central issue is whether

members of the class of persons at

issue are or are not able to pertorm

the duties of the job. See, e.g.,

_ ee -

Controls, ___ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct.

1196, 1206, 113 L.Ed.2d 158 (1991);

Dothard v. Rawlinson, 433 U.S. 321,

335-37, 97 S.Ct. 2720, 2730, 53

L.Ed.2d 786 (1977); Frontier v.

Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 93 S.Ct.

1764, 36 L.Ed.2d 583 (1973); Usery v.

Tamiami Trail Tours, Inc., 531 F.2d

224, 236 (Sth Cir. 1976). In such

cases, ability to perform the job is

- 30 -

aC aN sali te eseciies 8 2 Met ls tT ORAS 8 Hts BOS copa ies pak

Nt MC TA ant im, Pit ah CTI

St Ct ih nl se Rl Sed ar

an issue to no greater or lesser

extent that in handicap

discrimination cases.° Hence,

across all categories of

discrimination claims, there will be

cases involving the same types of

disputes about the plaintiff’s

ability to perform the job as there

are in handicap discrimination

cases. Thus, the rationale of the

°M.G.L. c. if1B, §4(16) is

virtually identical! to Section 504

of the Rehabilitatiion Act of 1973,

29 U.S.C. §794, which was at issue

in School Bd. of }

Arline, 480 U.S. 273, 107 S.Ct.

1123, 94 L.Ed.2d 307 (1987). As

under the federal act, a plaintiff

under M.G.L. c.151B, §4(16), must

prove that he or she is qualified

and capable of performing the duties

of the job, with or without

reasonable accommodations. See

, 745

F.Supp. 773 (D. Mass. 1990).

- 31-

decision below threatens preemption

of all state law discrimination

Claims.

The First Circuit, purporting to

apply Lingle to determine RLA

preemption, found that the

availablity of parallel proceedings

under the collective bargaining

agreement meant that O’Brien’s

handicap discrimination Claim was

preempted. In the lower court’s

words:

Perhaps the best

indication that fitness

and ability are the

subject of the collective

bargaining agreement is

the very grievance that

O’Brien brought under this

collective bargaining

agreement on the issue of

his fitness and ability to

be a stevedore.

972 F.2d at 5.

- 32 -

ts 10 le PAE ltt ta tng At SPR arg ae

The Ninth Circuit, following

Lingle, has rejected such an

analysis, holding that state handicap

discrimination claims are not

preempted even when the collective

bargaining agreement provides a

mechanism for asserting a parallel

claim. Ackerman v. Western Electric

860 F.2d 1514 (9th Cir. 1988); Miller |

vy. ATT Network Systems, 850 F.2d 543

(9th Cir. 1988) (en banc).

There is therefore a conflict ~

among the Courts of Appeals over when

handicap discrimination claims

“require[] the interpretation of a

collective-bargaining agreement,"

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 413, and over

whether handicap discrimination, like

race discrimination, is "conduct that

- 33 -

is not by any construction a subject

for collective bargaining and

arbitration.’" Decision below, 972

F.2d at 5-6, quoting McCall, 844 F.2d

at 302 (A-25 to A-26).

The status of the law with

respect to preemption by federal

labor statutes of state handicap

discrimination claims needs to be

Clarified by this Court. See Rules

of the Supreme Court of the United

States, Rule 10.1(a) and (c).

III. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S DECISION

ALLOWS LABOR UNIONS TO WAIVE

THEIR MEMBERS’ STATE

ANTI-DISCRIMINATION RIGHTS AND

CONFLICTS WITH THE REASONING OF

T.

In substance, the First Circuit’s

decision in this case means that

O’Brien’s right to pursue a state law

- 34 +

handicap discrimination claim was

prospectively waived at the

bargaining table when the union

signed onto the collective bargaining

agreement with Conrail. This is in

conflict with decisions of this

Court.

In Alexander v. Gardner-Denver _

Co., 415 U.S. 36, 94 S.Ct. 1011, 39

L.Ed.2d 167 (1973), this Court held

that a union may not waive its

members’ rights to pursue claims

under Title VII of the Civil Rights

Act of 1964. The Court distinguished

“independent statutory rights

accorded by Congress," id. at 49-50,

from "certain statutory rights

related to collective activity, such

as the right to strike," which "are

conferred on employees collectively

-+.- and properly may be exercised or

- 35 -

relinquished by the union as a

collective bargaining agent to obtain

economic benefits for union members."

id. at $1.

Title VII, on the other hand,

stands on plainly different

ground; it concerns not

majoritarian processes, but an

individual’s right to equal

employment opportunities. Title

VII’s strictures are absolute and

represent a congressional command

that each employee be free from

discriminatory practices. of

necessity, the rights conferred

can form no part of the

collective bargaining process

since waiver of those rights

would defeat the paramount

purpose behind Title VII. In

these circumstances, an

employee’s rights under Title VII

are not susceptible to

prospective waiver.

Id. at 51-52.

Likewise, in Atchis opeka and

Sante Fe Ry. Co. v. Buell, 480 U.S.

557, 564-65, 107 S.Ct. 1410, 1415, 94

L.Ed.2d 563 (1986), this Court held

- 36 -

that the availability of the

arbitration process for "minor

disputes" under the Railway Labor Act

does not preclude covered (6

from asserting independent statutory

rights.

This Court has, on numerous

occasions, declined to hold that

individual employees are, because

of the availability of

arbitration, barred from bring

Claims under federal statutes.

See, e.g., McDonald v. West

Branch, 466 U.S. 284 (1984);

Freight System, Inc., 450 U.S.

728 (1981); Alexander v._

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. 36

(1974).

id. (parallel citations omitted).

Then, in Lingle v. Norge Division

of Magic Chef, 486 U.S. at 411-12,

this Court made clear that the

reasoning in Buell, which involved

federal statutory rights, applies

- 37 =

equally when the independent rights

arise under a state statute, such as

M.G.L. c. 151B.

Although our comments in Buell,

construing the scope of Railway

Labor Act preemption, referred to

independent federal statutory

rights, we subsequently rejected

a claim that federal law preempts

a state statute...

id., citing Fort Halifax Packing Co.

v. Coyne, 482 U.S. 1, aa, 267 6:Ct.

2211, 2222, 96 L.Ed.2da 1 (1987).

The clear message of these

decisions is that the Courts should

be very hesitant to find that

Congress, in enacting general federal

labor statutes, intended to confer on

labor unions the authority to waive

the independent Statutory rights of

their members through the collective

bargaining process. This reticence

is particularly warranted in the

- 38 -

ti Alea

anti-discrimination area for the

reasons articulated in Alexander v.

Gardner-Denver Co., 415 U.S. at

49-51.°

This was acknowledged by the

Court in Lingle, where it stated

that:

The Court of Appeals

‘recognize[d] that § 301

6This Court’s ruling in

Vv S n

fore, _- Bale _ » S83 BiGe. 1647,

114 L.Ed.2d 26 (1991) is not to the

contrary. There the Court held that

individuals who register as

securities representatives with the

stock exchanges may individually

waive their federal statutory

discrimination claims by personally

agreeing to arbitrate all

controversies with their employers.

The Court specifically noted the

distinction between individual

agreements to arbitrate and

agreements made by unions on their

members’ behalves. 111 S.Ct. at

1657.

- 39 -

does not preempt state

anti-discrmination laws,

even though a suit under

these laws . . . requires a

state court to determine

whether just cause existed

to justify the discharge. ’

486 U.S. at 412, quoting 823 F.24

at 1046, n.17. While the Court

found that in Lingle’s case,

which concerned a state law other

than a state anti-discrimination

law, the distinction was

"unnecessary for determining

whether § 301 preempts the state

law in question," id., it seemed

to endorse, and certainly did not

reject, the conclusion that State

anti-discrimination laws are not

subject to premption under a

- 40 =

Lingle analysis.’

: In Lingle, this Court relied upon

its earlier decision in Fort Halifax

Packing Co., 482 U.S. 1, 107 S.Ct.

2211, 96 L.Ed.2d 1 (1987), in which

the Court emphasized the principles

of federalism that are at stake when

7In 1990, Congress enacted

a federal prohibition against

handicap discrimination in

employment, when it enacted the

Americans With Disabilities Act

("ADA"), 29 U.S.C. §12101 et seq.

Title I of the ADA, which prohibits

discrimination in employment, became

effective on July 26, 1992, and

expressly incorporates state law

remedies through the deferral

mechanism used under Title VII. 29

U.S.C. §12117. Hence, Congress has

endorsed state law handicap

discrimination remedies. Cf. Lingle,

486 U.S. at 412 (quoting with

apparent approval the lower court’s

recognition that Congress had

endorsed state anti-discrimination

laws).

- 41-

ea ai iii

a claim of preemption is raised.

Lingle, 486 U.S. at 412, quoting Fort |

Halifax, 482 U.S. at 21, 23. Where

the subject matter "falls within the

traditional police power," as does

the subject of handicap

discrimination, see note 7 supra,

“preemption should not be lightly

inferred..." Fort Halifax, 482 U.S.

at 21. See also San Diego Building —

Trades Council v. Garmon, 359 U.S.

236, 239, 79 S.Ct. 773, 776, 3

L.Ed.2d 775 (1989) (federal law

preemption of state law claims gives

“rise to difficult problems of

federal-state relations") .

In spite of the teachings of

Lingle, Fort Halifax and Alexander,

the decision of the First Circuit

below, like the decisions of the

- 42 =

Ne

Sixth Circuit in McCall, supra and

its progeny, cedes to labor unions

the exclusive power tc determine the

scope of protection to be afforded

their members against handicap

discrimination. In every case, there

will be some language in a collective

bargaining agreement to which an

employer can point as being relevant

to the question of what is the scope

of a job in question, or to the

question of whether the employer’s

action was warranted as a matter of

contract. For instance, almost every

collective bargaining agreement

continains language concerning

eligibility for promotions, etc.

Moreoever, most contracts contain an

anti-discrimination provision.

- 43 <-

This Court in Lingle made clear

that "such parallelism [does not}

render[) the state law analysis

dependent upon the contractual

analysis..." 486 U.S. at 408. The

Court in Lingle further stated that:

the mere fact that a broad

contractual protection

against discrimina-

tory . . . discharge may

provide a remedy for

conduct that

coincidentally violates

state law does not make the

existence or the contours

of the state law violation

dependent upon the terms of

the private contract. For

even if an arbitrator

should conclude that the

contract does not prohibit

a particular discriminatory

[action], that conclusion

might or might not be

consistent with a proper

interpretation of state

law.

id. at 412. Yet, under the reasoning

of the court below, virtually every

case of handicap discrimination

- 44 =

brought by a unionized employee

pursuant to state statute will

hereinafter be preempted either by

Section 301 of the LMRA or the

Railway Labor Act.®

Sunder the First and Sixth

Circuit approach, only non-unionized

employees and applicants for

positions will be ever able to

pursue state law handicap

discrimination claims and obtain

judicial review of such claims,

because there will almost always be

some language in a collective

bargaining agreement that will in

some way be relevant to a

discrimination claim. Under the

Ninth Circuit approach, and the

approach suggested by this Court in

, Supra, all citizens

would be free to avail themselves of

their states’ anti-discrimination

laws, and to receive the protections

afforded by the federal process.

But cf. Lingle, 486 U.S. at 407 n.7

(fact that unionized and

nonunionized workers will be treated

- 45 -

The result of the First

Circuit’s decision will be to ensure

that all claims of handicap

discrimination by unionized employees

will hereinafter be brought in

federal court under the Americans

with Disability Act ("ADA"). See note

7 supra. The system of bringing such

Claims in state court under state

handicap discrimination laws will be

entirely foreclosed. The dockets of

the federal courts will swell beyond

what would otherwise have been the

case based solely on enactment of the

ADA. Moreover, the States will be

moved to the side-lines in the battle

against handicap discrimination, a

footnote continued

differently is not determinative in

preemption analysis).

- 46 -

result that Congress clearly did not

intend. See 29 U.S. §12117

(incorporating state law remedies)

and §12201 (ADA does not preempt

state handicap discrimination laws).

The decision below is

inconsistent with the line of cases

beginning with Alexander v._

Gardner-Denver, supra and continuing

through Lingle, and the proposition

that unions should not be allowed to

supplant state governments in the

realm of protecting or not protecting

their members from discrimination in

employment. For that reason, the

petition for writ of certiorari

should be granted. See Rules of the

Supreme Court of the United States,

Rule 10.1(c).

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above,

William J. O’Brien respectfully

requests that this petition be

granted.

Respectfully submitted

on behalf of Petitioner,

William O’Brien,

Je = dae Aaa

Harold L. Lichten

Ruth A. Bourquin*

ANGOFF, GOLDMAN,

MANNING, PYLE, WANGER &

HIATT, P.C.

24 School Street

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 723-5500

Philip G. Boyle

Charles Street Meeting

House

121 Mt. Vernon Street

Boston, MA 02108

(617) 227-7119

*Counsel of Record

Dated: November 3, 1992

- 48 -

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

No. 92-1086

WILLIAM J. O’BRIEN

Petitioner,

Vv.

CONSOLIDATED RAIL

CORPORATION

Defendant, Appellee

APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE DISTRICT

OF MASSACHUSETTS.

DISPOSITION: Affirmed.

August 5, 1992 Decided

{[Hon. William Young,

U.S. District Judge]

Before

Selya, Circuit Judge

Lay, *Senior Circuit Judge

O’Scannlain, ** Circuit Judge

* Of the Eighth Circuit, sitting

by designation.

**x Of the Ninth Circuit, sitting

by designation.

Opinion By: O’Scannlain

O’SCANNLAIN Chief Judge.

A-1

We must decide whether a state

law providing for physical handicap

discrimination claims against

employers is pre-empted by the

Railway Labor Act ("RLA"), 45 U.S.C.

§§ 151-88.

I.

In August 1985, William J.

O’Brien was laid off by Consolidated

Rail Corporation ("Conrail") from his

position as yardmaster in the Boston

area. O’Brien declined Conrail’s

offer of a position in Springfield,

Massachusetts and instead applied for

a stevedore position with Conrail,

also in the Boston area. Although

such position was already filled,

O’Brien had eight and one-half years

of seniority with Conrail and under

the collective bargaining agreement

he was entitled to "bump" the less

senior employee filling the position.

O’Brien was born without a right

hand. The supervisor of the

stevedoring operation told O’Brien he

was disqualified from being a

stevedore because he was physically

incapable of performing the duties of

a stevedore. O’Brien requested a

field test to refute the supervisor’s

contention. Six Conrail employees

conducted the field test, and

concluded that O’Brien could not

safely perform all of the duties of a

stevedore. In particular, the

six-member committee determined that

O’Brien would not be able to climb

ladders safely in adverse weather,

and would not be able to handle

Safely the forty-pound "bridge

plates" unsed in the stevedoring

operation.

O’Brien filed a grievance under

the procedures provided by the

collective bargaining agreement,

Claiming that Conrail violated the

antidiscrimination provision of such

agreement. The grievance was first

denied by the Manager-Labor Relations

at Conrail, and later by Conrail’s

Senior Director-Labor Relations.

O’Brien then submitted the matter to

the National Railroad Adjustment

Board ("NRAB"), which was created by

the RLA to resolve labor disputes in

the railroad industry. The NRAB

denied O’Brien’s grievance.

oo

O’Brien also filed a complaint

with the Office of Federal Contract

Compliance Programs ("FCCP"), which

investigates complaints of unlawful

employment discrimination lodged

against federal contractors such as

Conrail. The OFCCP determined that

Conrail had not violated the

antidiscrimination provisions of its

contract with the government.

O’Brien sought reconsideration by the

Director of the OFCCP, who affirmed

the determination of the OFCCP.

Eventually, O’Brien was called

back from layoff by Conrail to his

former yardmaster job. In January

1988, however, O’Brien was again laid

off. O’Brien wrote to the

stevedoring supervisor requesting to

"bump" an employee in a stevedore

position, and the supervisore replied

that "Conrail’s prior determination

still stands."

On March 14, 1988, after he had

requested the stevedore position but

before his request was denied,

O’Brien filed a complaint with the

Massachusetts Commission Against

Discrimination ("MCAD"), a

" prerequisite to bringing an action in

court for a violation of the state

antidiscrimination law. O’Brien

alleged that Conrail has violated

Massachusetts General Laws Chapter

151B ("Chapter 151B"), which

prohibits discrimination on the

basis of physical or mental handicap,

if the handicapped person is "capable

of performing the essential functions

of the position involved with

reasonable accommodation, unless the

employer can demonstrate that the

accommodation required ... would

impose an undue hardship to the

employer’s business." Mass. Gen. L.

ch. 151B, § 4. The MCAD permitted

O’Brien to file suit in Massachusetts

state court, and he did so.+

Conrail petitioned to remove the

case to United States district court,

alleging that the district court had

diversity jurisdiction and

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1337(a), which grants federal

lin his state court complaint,

O’Brien also alleged breach of the

convenant of good faith and fair

dealing in his employment contract

and violation of his rights under

the Massachusetts Constitution,

Amendment Article 114. On the

recommendation of the magistrate

judge, these counts were dismissed

by the district court, and O’Brien

does not challenge such dismissals

on appeal.

A-7

jurisdiction over all "civil

actions ... arising under any Act of

Congress regulating commerce." The

district court granted the removal

petition.

Conrail then moved for summary

judgment on the following grounds:

(1) O’Brien’s claims were pre-empted

by the RLA, (2) O’Brien’s claims were

pre-empted by Section 503 of the

Rehabilitation Act, (3) the adverse

determinations of the NRAB and the

OFCCP had preclusive effect on

O’Brien claims, and (4) O’Brien’s

Claim under Chapter 151B was barred

by a six month Statute of

Limitations. A hearing on the Motion

was heid before U.S. Magistrate Judge

Marianne Bowler.

The magistrate judge recommended

that summary judgment be granted for

Conrail on all the grounds urged by

Conrail except the Statute of

Limitations theory. The district

court adopted the recommendations of

the magistrate judge in whole and

entered summary judgement for

Conrail. O’Brien timely appealed.

II.

O’Brien argues that the district

court erred in determining that his

Claim was barred because his state

statutory rights under Chapter 151B

are independent of and exceed his

rights under the RLA and the

collective bargaining agreement with

Conrail. O’Brien contends that the

resolution of his claim under Chapter

151B hinge[s] upon the meaning to be

given the terms of the statute

involved, and not those within the

collective bargaining agreement," and

thus that the RLA and the collective

bargaining agreement are simply not

implicated, let alone pre-emptive.

A.

Preemption doctrine is founded on

Article VI, Clause 2 of the

Constitution, which states "the Laws

of the United States ... shall be

the supreme Law of the Land." Under

the Supremacy Clause, "state laws

that interfere with, or are contrary

to the laws of congress, made in

pursuance of the constitution’ are

invalid." Wisconsin Pub. Intervenor

Yo atios, ... U.Ss ., 128 Bi Ct.

2476, 2481, 115 L.Ed. 2d 532 (1991)

A-10

(quoting Gibbons v. Ogden, 22 U.S. 1,

71 (1824)). Thus, the mere fact that

O’Brien’s cause of action under

Chapter 151B is “independent” of the

RLA says nothing about whether such

action is preempted by the RLA.

Indeed, in any case where preemption

doctrine is applied, there will be a

state law cause of action

"independent" of federal law.

Rather, the critical issue is whether

the state law, Chapter 151B,

"interferes with" the federal RLA.

"’Pre-emption may be either

express or implied, and is compelled

whether Congress’ command is

explicitly stated in the statute’s

language or implicitly contained in

its structure and purpose.’" Morales

v. Trans World Airlines, Inc., __

U.S. _., 112 S.Ct. 2031, 2036, 119

A-11

L.Ed. 2d 157 (1992) (quoting FMC

Corp. v. Holliday, ___ U.S. _, ___,

111 S. Ct. 403, 407, 112 L.Ed.2d 356

(1990)). Where, as here, ress

pre-emption is absent,

the challenged state law

must yield when it

“requlates conduct in a

file that Congress intended

the Federal Government to

occupy exclusively" ...

[or] where arises where it

is physically impossible to

comply with both the

federal and the state law

or where "state law stands

as an obstacle to the

accomplishment and

execution of the full

purpose and objectives of

Congress."

Pedraza v. Shell Oil Co., 942 F.2d

48, 51 (lst Cir. 1991) (quoting

English v. General Elec. Co., 496

U.S. 72, 79, 110 S. Ct. 2270, aais,;

110 L.Ed. 2d 65 (1990)), cert.

Genied, ___ U.S. __ , 112 S. Ct. 993

(1992)). Hence, we consider whether

A-12

the RLA evinces a congressional

intent to occupy the field of

railroad labor relations and whether

separate state causes of action such

as Chapter 151B undermine the "full

purposes and objectives of Congress"

in enacting the RLA.

This court has not previously had

occasion to determine the scope of

preemption under the RLA. We have,

however, examined preemption under

the Labor Management Relations Act

("LMRA"), 29 U.S.C. §§ 141-87. See

Jackson v. Liquid Carbonic Corp., 863

F.2d 111 (lst Cir. 1988), cert.

denied, 490 U.S. 1107, 109 S.Ct.

3158, 104 L.Ed. 2d 1021 (1989). The

LMRA and the RLA are similar in many

respects: "[{a]lthough the preemptive

effect of ... the Labor Management

Relations Act ... cannot be ’imported

A-13

wholesale into the railway labor

arena,’ courts may look to the

construction of other federal labor

statutes for assistance in construing

(the RLA])." McCall v. Chesapeake &

Ohio Ry. Co., 844 F 2d 294, 299 (6th

Cir. (quoting Brotherhood of R.N.__

Co., 394 U.S. 369, 383, 89 S.Ct.

1109, 1118, 22 L.Ed. 2d 344 91969),

cert. denied, 488 U.S. 879, 109 S.ct. ©

196, 102 L.Ed. 2d 166 (1988).

In Jackson, an employee

challenged drug testing by his

employer under Massachusetts’ privacy

laws. Jackson, 863 F.2d at 113.

The employer contended that the

employee’s Massachusetts causes of

action were barred, state law having

been preempted by the federal LMRA.

id. The court observed that "under

A-14

state law, Massachusetts would 100k

to the [collective bargaining]

Agreement to discern the scope of the

privacy right which [the employee]

was attempting to assert." Id. at

120. The court then held that

"(bjecause resolution of [the

employee’s] state-law claims requires

the interpretation of a collective

bargaining contract,’ ... it

follows inexorably, as night unto

day, that [the LMRA]) preempts

maintenance of the suit in its

present form." Id. at 122 (quoting

Chef, Inc., 486 U.S. 399, 409 n.8,

108 S. Ct. 1877, 1883 n.8, 100 L.Ed.

2d 410 (1988)).

We believe that the holding of

Jackson is equally applicable to

asserted RLA preemption. The Jackson

A-15

court concluded that to allow state

law claims arising out of the

employment relationship to be brought

in court would undermine the scheme

for labor dispute resolution

established by Congress.

We are mindful of the need

to preserve the central

role of arbitration in our

system of industrial

self-government .... The

ordering and voluntary

collective bargaining is

the keystone of the federal

scheme to promote

industrial peace.

Grievance and arbitration

are important cogs in the

machinery. A plaintiff

should not be allowed to

bypass the grievance .

procedures established by

the labor contract in a

case where his claims are

so clearly dependent on

interpretation of the terms

of that contract. Allowing

such an end run would

surely undermine the

structure of industrial

self-government.

A-16

Id. at 121-22 (quotations and

citations omitted).

Such concerns are equally present

here. The RLA established a

comprehensive conflict resolution

procedure for railroad labor

disputes. Tne RLA divides disputes

into major disputes, those relating

to the formation or existence of

collective bargaining agreements, and

minor disputes, which concern rights

under an existing collective

bargaining agreement. See

: lidated Rail ¢ Rail

Labor Exec. Ass’n, 491 U.S. 299, 302,

109 S.Ct. 2477, 2480, 105 L.Ed.2d 250

(1989). “In the event ofa major

dispute, the RLA requires the parties

to undergo a lengthy process of

bargaining and mediation." Jd. In

the event such mediation fails, the

A-17

<A At LT CE LO TS TO CT TT A

RLA provides for arbitration of major

disputes. Id., 491 U.S. at 302 n.3,

109 S.Ct. at 2480 n.3. "A minor

dispute in the railroad industry is

subject to compulsory and binding

arbitration before the National

Railroad Adjustment Board. The

Board... has exclusive jurisdiction

over minor disputes." Id. at 2481-81.

Thus, the RLA "envision[s]

binding administrative proceedings

into which virtually all individual

labor-management disputes are

directed." McCall, 844 F.2d at 301.

The RLA’s procedures were designed

for quick and efficient dispute

resolution. Union Pac. Ry. v.

Sheehan, 439 U.S. 89, 94 (1978) (per

curiam). "The federal act was

intended to serve the interests of

railroad employees by creating a

A-18

statutory scheme providing for the

final settlement of grievances by a

tribunal composed of people

experienced in the railroad

industry." McCall, 844 F.2d at 301.

As in the case of the LMRA, to

permit litigation in court of state

law claims connected with the

collective bargaining agreement would

undermine the purposes behind the

RLA. "If the federal dispute

resolution mechanism is to have any

force, juries cannot be allowed to

second-guess the decisions of

arbitration boards." Id. at 302.

Congress’ intent that industry-based

grievance and arbitration proceedings

be used to resolve labor-management

disputes in the railroad industry

would be frustrated if employees (or

employers) could bring actions

A-19

requiring interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement in

court, based on state law. Costly

litigation would replace efficient

grievance and arbitration procedures.

B.

Having concluded that the

pre-emption rule of Jackson governs

here, we turn to applying it. Would

resolution of O’Brien’s physical

handicap discrimination claim under

Chapter 151B "require interpretation

of collective bargaining contract?"

We believe it would.?

2o’Brien argues that Chapter

151B holds Conrail to a different

and higher standard of conduct than

Conrail’s duties under the

collective bargaining agreement

because Chapter 151B contains a

“reasonable accommodation"

requirement. We do not need to

decide whether that is correct

_A-20

|

|

In order to determine whether

Conrail had unlawfully discriminated

against O’Brien, we would first have

to ascertain whether O’Brien was

otherwise eligible for the stevedore

position he sought. That is, aside

from his handicap, would O’Brien be

eligible? To answer this question we

would have to resort to the

collective bargaining agreement.

O’Brien was laid off from his job as

yardworker in the Boston area, Court

Council offered him another position

in Springfield, Massachusetts, where

O’Brien had worked before. Further,

no stevedore positions were vacant in

because we conclude to the extent

that O’Brien’s state law claim

requires interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement such

claim is preempted under Jackson.

A-21

the Boston area. Thus, as a

threshold issue to determine

O’Brien’s contractual eligibility for

the job, we would need to interpret

the collective bargaining agreement

to determine whether it entitled

O’Brien to refuse to return to

Springfield, and whether it entitled

O’Brien to "bump" the present holder

of the stevedore position.

More fundamentally, addressing

the merits of O’Brien’s claim of

physical handicap discrimination

would require us to assess O’Brien’s

fitness and ability to perform safely

the functions of a stevedore. yet an

employee’s fitness and ability are

governed by the rules and procedures

contained in the collective

bargaining agreement. Rule 49 of the

collective bargaining agreement sets

A-22

forth the method by which an

employee’s physical fitness to

perform his job is determined. Rule

50 describes Conrail’s obligations to

accommodate disabled and

incapacitated employees. Perhaps the

best indication that fitness and

ability are the subject of the

collective bargaining agreement is

the very grievance that O’Brien

brought under this collective

bargaining agreement on the issue of

his fitness and ability to be a

stevedore. Chapter 151B requires a

court to determine whether the

plaintiff is a "qualified handicapped

person," but this determination would

be impossible to make without

reference to the collective

bargaining agreement.

A-23

Hence, we hold, following

Jackson, O’Brien’s claim under

Chapter 151B is barred because

resolution of his claim would require

interpretation of the collective

bargaining agreement. * This

3The New Jersey Supreme Court

has recently held that "allowing [an

aggrieved employee] to bring his

Claim of handicap discrimination

before the courts would interfere

impermissibly with Congress’s intent

that the Adjustment Boards be the

sole arbiter of claims related to

railroad ‘rules and working

conditions.’" Maher v. New Jersey

Transit Rail Oper., Inc.,. 593 A.2d

750, 765 (N.J. 1991). Similarly,

the California Court of Appeal has

stated that "(i)f an employee’s lack

of fitness to perform his job is

made arbitrable under the parties’

collective bargaining agreement, the

present action is preempted insofar

as it alleges discrimination based

on physical handicap because it

raises an issue determinable solely

under procedures established by the

RLA." Evans v. Southern Pacific

Trans. Co., 262 Cal. Rptr 416, 420

A-24

holding is not inconsistent with

20] Jo Anti-Di iminatj .

vy. Continental Air Lines, Inc., 372

U.S. 714 (1963), which held that a

state racial discrimination claim

statute was not preempted by the

RLA. Resolution of the question of

whether an employer was engaged in

racial discrimination would not

require interpretation of the

collective bargaining agreement. As

the Sixth Circuit has noted, "racial

discrimination [is] conduct that is

(Cal. App.), review denied, (1989)

cert. denied, 496 U.S. 936 (1990).

See also

, 711 P.2a 139, 144 (Or.

App. 1985) (because neither party

argued that employee’s physical

handicap discrimination claim under

Oregon law “implicate[d] any

provision of a collective bargaining

agreement," Oregon law was not

preempted by the RLA), review

denied, 715 P.2d 93 (Or. 1986)

A-25

not by any construction a subject for

collective bargaining and

arbitration." McCall, 844 F.2d at

302.

"In enacting [the RLA], Congress

endeavored to promote stability in

labor-management relations in this

important national industry by

providing effective and efficient

remedies for the resolution of

railroad-employee disputes arising

out of the interpretation of

collective-bargaining agreements."

Union Pacific Ry., 439 U.S. at 94, 99

S.Ct. at 402. The procedures

provided by the RLA were intended "to

secure the prompt, orderly, and final

settlement of grievances that arise

daily between employees and

carriers." Jd. O’Brien has fully

availed himself of such procedures.

A-26

| To permit him to relitigate the Lonnie

: of his physical fitness by way of a

claim under a state physical handicap

discrimination law would clearly

conflict with the “prompt, orderly,

and final settlement of grievances"

sought by Congress in enacting the

RLA’s dispute resolution procedures.

Affirmed.

A-27

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVIL ACTION

NO. 88-2591-N

WILLIAM J. O’BRIEN,

Plaintiff,

V.

CONSOLIDATED RAIL

CORPORATION,

Defendant.

me ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee

REPORT AND RECOMMENDATION RE:

DEFENDANT CONRAIL’S MOTION

FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

(DOCKET #215) AND MOTION TO

—_AMEND ANSWER (DOCKET #31)

August 8, 1990

Bowler, U.S.M.

The defendant, Consolidated

Rail Corporation ("Conrail") has

moved for summary judgment on the

plaintiff, William J. O’Brien’s

("O’Brien") claim that Conrail

unlawfully discriminated against him

-B-l-

enn

on the basis of a physical

handicap. O’Brien claims that the

alleged discrimination is a

violation of M.G.L. c. 151B, the

Massachusetts Constitution,

Amendment Article 114, his

employment contract with Conrail and

its covenant of good faith and fair

dealing. Conrail denies the

allegations.

The bases for Conrail’s

motion are preemption, preclusion

and failure to file within the

applicable statute of limitations.

This action was filed in the

Superior Court of the Commonwealth

of Massachusetts on October 21,

1988, and Conrail Petitioned for

Removal on November 17, 1988.

Conrail’s ground for removal was

this court’s jurisdiction pursuant

to the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C.

§151 et seq. ("RLA"). O’Brien filed

an Opposition to the Petition for

Removal and a Motion for Remand

(Docket #5), arguing that the

gravamen of the complaint was

Conrail’s alleged violation of

Massachusetts’ anti-discrimination

law, M.G.L. c. 151B, §4(16) and

alleged violation of the

Massachusetts Constitution,

Amendment Article 114, and that the

action was more properly filed in

State court. Further, O’Brien

argued that this court did not have

Original and exclusive jurisdiction

Over this claim under the RLA.

O’Brien objected to Conrail’s

Characterization of the case as a

-B-3-

contractual dispute between employer

and employee. The Petition for

Removal was allowed by Nelson, D.J.,

on December 2, 1988.

On June 29, 1990, Conrail

moved for leave to file an Amended

Answer (Docket #31), raising for the

first time an express statute of

limitations defense. As grounds,

Conrail states that justice requires

the amendment be allowed in order

that all issues existing between the

parties be fully litigated, that

O’Brien will not be prejudiced by

allowance of the motion and that it

will secure a just, speedy and

inexpensive determination of this

action pursuant to Fed. R. Civ.

P. 1. O’Brien opposes the motion

(Docket #33) on the grounds that it

-B-4-

is untimely and that Conrail has not |

asserted any basis for excusing the |

untimeliness. In addition, O’Brien

asserts that the amendment is futile

and that he would be unduly

prejudiced by allowance of the

motion.

Undisputed Facts?

O’Brien was born without a

lconrail’s Statement of

Undisputed Facts, (Docket #23),

filed pursuant to Rule 18, follows

in summary form. O’Brien, in his

brief, failed to dispute the factual

assertions of Conrail in any

meaningful form and they are thus

Geemed admitted. O’Brien’s

Statement of Undisputed Facts,

(Docket #26), is made up almost

entirely of conclusory legal

assertions and, in the rare instance

where a factual assertion can be

discerned, the cited authority or

documentation fails to support the

facts asserted. Local Rule 18 is

unambiguous in its requirement that

"([O)ppositions to motions for

summary judgment shall

include a concise statement

of the material facts as to

which it is contended that

there exists a genuine issue

to be tried, with page

references to affidavits,

depositions and other

documentation.

right hand on February 14, 1955. He

was hired by Conrail on February 15,

1977, rising from a position of crew

dispatcher to Assistant Yardmaster

and finally, Yardmaster. O’Brien

submitted a handicap certification

form to Conrail in February, 1984,

in conformity with Conrail’s

requirements. Conrail has an

affirmative action policy which

includes qualified handicapped

individuals.

On August 27, 1985, O’Brien

sought to "bump" a less senior

Material facts set forth in

the statement required to be

served by the moving party

will be deemed for purposes

of this motion to be admitted

by opposing parties unless

controverted by the statement

required to be served by

opposing parties."

-B-6-

Conrail employee who held a

stevedore position. On that same

date, a Conrail supervisor informed

O’Brien that he was disqualified for

the stevedore position because of

his missing right hand. On

September 9, 1985, O’Brien filed a

claim for compensation under the

governing union contract for working

days lost as a stevedore since

August 27, 1985. The sole reason

for disqualification was O’Brien’s

missing right hand and Conrail’s

determination that O’Brien would be

unable to perform the stevedore job

because of this handicap.

-B-7-

Rs A ah io

eeantee,

On September 25, 1985,

O’Brien was given a field test

before a committee of six Conrail

employees in which he was allowed to

demonstrate his ability to perform

as a stevedore. While O’Brien met

all non-medical requirements, it was

determined as a result of the field

test that O’Brien was not qualified

for the stevedore position. The

specific grounds for this

determination were that O’Brien

would not be able to climb ladders

safely under snow and ice conditions

and would not be able to handle 40

pound bridge plates used in the

stevedore operation and that such

inability would pose a safety hazard

to O’Brien and to other Conrail

employees.

O’Brien filed a Complaint of

Discrimination in Employment under

Federal Government Contracts against

Conrail with the Office of Federal

Contract Compliance Programs

(OFCCP). Conrail filed its initial

responses to the OFCCP Complaint by

letters dated January 6, 1986, and

February 27, 1986. On March 10,

1986, O’Brien was interviewed by the

OFCCP’s Equal Opportunity

Specialist. The OFCCP issued its

Notification of Results of

Investigation on on May 22, 1986,

concluding that Conrail "did not

violate its obligations under the

nondiscrimination and affirmative

action provisions of Section 503 [of

the Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

U.S.C. §793] as amended." O’Brien

Fo PRT eae SR om

requested review of the OFCCP’s

decision, pursuant to 41 CFR

6-741.26(g) by letter dated June 17,

1986. The review had not been

completed at the time of the hearing

on this motion.

In addition, O’Brien’s claim

was taken by the union to the

Manager-Labor Relations on October

15, 1985, and was denied by letter

dated January 10, 1986. The union

and Conrail prepared a Joint

Submission for the progression of

O’Brien’s claim to the Senior

Director-Labor Relations, Conrail’s

highest appellate officer, and the

claims was denied by letter dated

August 11, 1986.

-B-10-

By letter dated August 9,

1987, O’Brien served notice of his

intent to submit his claim against

Contrail to the National Railroad

Adjustment Board, Third Division

("NRAB") pursuant to 45 U.S.C. First

(i). O’Brien made two submissions

to the NRAB, one dated January 11,

1988, and the other undated. On

June 29, 1989, the NRAB issued an

Award and Order denying O’Brien’s

clain.

On January 8, 1988, O’Brien

was again notified of a layoff. He

sought to "bump" into a stevedore

position by letter dated March 11,

1988, stated that he "continue[d] to

press [his] position that [he was]

entitled to displace a junior

stevedore with like position during

present furlough."

-B-ii-

By letter dated April 4,

1988, Conrail informed O’Brien that

his “situation had been reviewed and

Conrail’s prior determination still

stands."

On March 14, 1988, O’Brien

filed a Complaint with the

Massachusetts Commission Against

Discrimination ("MCAD"). On October

6, 1988, the MCAD assented to

O’Brien’s request to remove his case

from the MCAD in order to file a

Civil action in court. That action,

O’Brien v. Conrail, Suffolk Superior

Court, Civil Action No. 88-6010-E

was commenced on October 20, 1988,

and removed to U.S. District Court

on December 2, 1988.

-“—-i2=

DISCUSSION

Summary judgment is ;

permissible when "there is not

genuine issue as to any material ;

fact and...the moving party is

entitled to a judgment as a matter

of law." Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). The

entire record must be viewed in the

light most favorable to the party

opposing summary judgment with all

reasonable inferences drawn in that

party’s favor. Mack v. Great |

ti i fi e fe) ,

871 F.2d 179, 181 (1st Cir. 1989).

Relying on documents and

pleadings as well as substantive

law, Conrail argues that O’Brien’s

claim is a single, straightforward

Claim alleging unlawful

discrimination due to physical

handicap. Conrail

-B-13-

+” Seo i dem aCdaialeD va

i OP hag

|

;

;

contends that O’Brien’s three causes

of action,“ all based on state

law, are preempted by federal law,

i.e. both the RLA (45 U.S.C. §151 et

seq.) and Section 503 of the

Rehabilitation Act of 1973, 29

2The court finds that

O’Brien’s claims for breach of the

covenant of good faith and fair

dealing in this employment contract

(Count II) and for violation of the

Massachusetts Constitution,

Amendment Article 114 should be

dismissed. There is no common law

Claim for »reach of the covenant of

good faith and fair dealing, Grubba

v. Bay State Abrasives, 803 F.2d 746

(lst Cir. 1986). Under

Massachusetts law common law claims

of handicap discrimination are

barred and the sole remedy is under

M.G.L. c. 151B. elley v j

Corp., 19 Mass. App. Ct. 511 (1985)

affirmed 397 Mass. 1004 (1986). The

Massachusetts Civil Rights Act,

M.G.L. c. 12, §11I provides a “fully

adequate procedural vehicle" for

pursuit of a claim based upon an

alleged violation of Article 114.

Grubba, supra at 748.

-B-14-

U.S.C. §793 ("Section 503"), and

that the decisions of the NRAB and

the OFCCP are entitled to preclusive

effect. In addition, Conrail also

argues that M.G.L. c. 151B is

O’Brien’s sole viable cause of

action and that it is barred by the

applicable statute of limitations,

M.G.L. c. 151B, §5.°

A. Preemption

In Preemption analysis,

‘(t)jhe purpose of Congress is

the ultimate touchstone. ’

Where the pre-emptive effect

of federal enactments is not

explicit, “courts sustain a

local regulation ‘unless it

conflicts with federal law or

would frustrate the federal

scheme, or unless the courts

3conrail’s third argument

is inextricably intertwined with its

Motion for Leave to file Amended

Answer, (Docket #31) and shall be

considered separately.

-B-15-

discern from the totality of

the circumstances that

Congress sought to occupy the

field to the exclusion of the

state.’"

Metropolitan Life Insurance Company

v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724,

797-98 (1985) (citations omitted).

The treatment of implied

preemption issues by the circuit

courts is abundant but not always

uniform due to the factual inquiry

and balancing that is required by an

analysis of implied preemption.

"(B)ecause Congress has refrained

from providing specific directions

with respect to the scope of

preempted state regulation, the

court has been unwilling to ‘declare

pre-empted all local regulation that

touches or concerns in any way the

complex interrelationships between

employees, employers and

unions...’" Farmer, Special

Administrator v. United Brotherhood

of Carpenters & Joiners of America,

Local 25, et al., 430 U.S. 290,

295-96 (1977) (citing Motor Coach

mployees v. Lockridge, 403 U.S.

274, 289 (1971)). In somewhat

analogous cases involving the

National Labor Relations Act, 29

U.S.C. §151 et seq., rather than the

RLA as presented here, the Supreme

Court has utilized a standard of

"balanced inquiry into such factors

as the nature of the federal and

state interests in regulation and

the potential for interference with

federal regulation." Farmer,

Special Administrator; 430 U.S. at

300. The cases “demonstrate that

-B-i7-

As ce Dette Rear Bt

the decision to pre-empt federal and

state court jurisdiction over a

given class of cases must depend

upon the nature of the particular

interests being asserted and the

effect upon the administration of

national labor policies of

concurrent judicial and

administrative remedies." Vaca v.

Sipes, 386 U.S. 171, 180 (1967).

After reviewing the various

circuit decisions involving the

issue of whether state law claims

are preempted by the RLA, this court

finds the analysis and decision of

McCall v. Chesapeake & Ohio Railway

Co., 844 F.2d 294 (6th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied 109 S. Ct. 196 (1988)

to be directly on point and the most

persuasive in deciding the instance

“B-“i6=-

case. McCall was a locomotive

engineer who was not allowed to

serve aS an engineer or as a fireman

for the defendant railroad, because

he was a diabetic requiring —

insulin. The defendant’s policy

restricted insulin-requiring

diabetics from operating mobile

equipment, working in proximity to

dangerous or moving equipment,

working at unprotected elevations or

working alone. McCall proceeded

under the dispute resolution

structure provided by his collective

bargaining agreement which was the

type of voluntary adjustment board

provided for by the RLA. The board

found against McCall. He brought

suit in state court for violation of

the Michigan Handicappers Civil

-B-19-

IN a he ARs Ban mew

Sd Sel Heh 2 eect

Pee wen atte dS hah No hatitie tori

CIS Oi MEI EDEMA HEP AER

st Lae atest re subst edd:

ee eee

Rights Act, Michigan Comp. Laws Ann.

§37.1101 et seq. (1985). The action

was removed to federal court and at

trial the jury returned a verdict

for the plaintiff. On appeal, the

defendant argued that the RLA

preempted the state cause of

action. The court of appeals

agreed, and the judgment was

vacated.

The analysis in McCall

focused on the issue of whether the

state anti-discrimination statute

was in conflict with the federal

statute. It did not find an

across-the-board federal interest in

regulating employment discrimination

that supercedes a state’s interest

entirely, however, it did find that

the RLA arbitration board in McCall

-—-20-

"had to make essentially the same

decision--whether [the plaintiff] is

physically able to perform the

duties of his job," as the fact

finder would in hearing the state

claim. cCall, 844 F.2d at 301.

Thus, the purposes of railway labor

arbitration would be frustrated by

allowing the plaintiff to litigate

an issue on the merits before an

arbitration board created pursuant

to the RLA, and "then relitigate the

identical issue in an independent

judicial proceeding." Id. (citing

Andrews v. Louisville & N.R.R., 406

U.S. 320, 325 (1972)).

This Court agrees with the

Sixth Circuit’s reasoning that

the policy of the railway act

is to channel dispute

resolution to either the

national board or the various

-B-2i-

Dar Kao WES AE

BD BB MP LRP ome

voluntarily established

boards. The exercise of

state power over an area of

activity specifically

relegated to the railway act

dispute resolution process

therefore gives a danger of

conflict with national labor

policy great enough to

mandate preemption.

If the federal dispute

resolution mechanism is to

have any force, juries cannot

be allowed to second-guess

the decisions of arbitration

boards.

McCall, 844 F.2d at 301-302.

The McCall court

distinguished its decision from that

of Colorado Anti-Discrimination

Comm. v. Continental Airlines, 372

U.S. 714 (1963), which involved a

Claim of racial discrimination, by

noting that racial discrimination is

conauct that "is not by any

construction a subject for

-B-2e~

collective bargaining and

arbitration." McCall, 844 F.2d at

302. The distinction between a

claim involving alleged

discrimination on the basis of

physical handicap and one of alleged

race discrimination is the

difference in inquiry a fact finder

must pursue in order to reach a

finding. A claim of racial

discrimination concerns an inquiry

into “whether the motivation for the

challenged action was the employee’s

race." Id. In the case of handicap

discrimination case,

The inquiry must go further:

once it is established that

the challenged action was

taken on account of the

employee’s physical

condition, it must also be

determined that the

employee’s physical condition

is unrelated to job

performance. It is the

“3-2 3°

necessity of the second level

of inquiry which leads to the

conclusion that the state

Claim is preempted in this

case.

Both the plaintiff in McCali

and O’Brien had specific physical

conditions that the respective

arbitration boards determined

affected their ability to perform

their jobs. The same determination

would have to be made by the

fact-finder in the instant action.

The substantial similarities between

the Michigan Statute and M.G.L. c.

151B lead this court to adopt the

McCall court reasoning that

[t}he state legislation in

this case relates directly to

the employee’s ability to

perform and contravenes the

process set out by Congress

and agreed to by the parties

through collective

bargaining...to decide ‘the

physical fitness of the

engineer to continue in

service of the carrier, ’

which is itself a matter

subject to extensive federal

regulation.

McCall, 844 F.2d at 303.

The cases cited by O’Brien

involving handicap discrimination

and RLA preemption, Muncy v. Norfolk

& Wes » CO., 651 F.Supp. 641

(S.D.W.Va. 1986), Evans v. Southern

Pacific Transportation Co., 213 Ca.

App. 3d 1378, 262 Cal. Rptr. 416

(1980), appeal pending, and Santoni

Roig v. Iberia Lineas Areas de

Espana, 688 F.Supp. 810 (D.Puerto

Rico 1988) are distinguishable from

the case at bar. Muncy, was

premised on reasoning that held that

discrimination on the basis of age,

race and handicap were analogous.

This court finds that this analysis

is not persuasive because it

generalizes and paints with too

broad a stroke what is a fairly

specific inquiry. Evans was decided

on the grounds that the defendant

failed adequately to support its

motion for summary judgment with

evidence that the claims of the

plaintiff were committed to the

arbitration process. Finally,

Santoni Roig, supra, although a

decision of a district court of this

circuit, is factually distinct from

the instant case in that the

statutes at issue concerned the

minimum wage and severance pay due

under Puerto Rico law. The court

Classified both statutes as "minimum

standards required by the state"

with "no direct impact on the

-B-26-

collective bargaining process or the

right of self organization."

antoni Roig, 688 F.Supp. at 816.°

The inquiry did not turn on the

issue of qualification, nor did the

court address the issue of

litigating the merits of a claim

after review of the identical facts

and issues by an arbitration board.

One could not reasonably argue that

minimum wage and severance pay

issues are industry-specific, and

thus better left to the pervasive

regulatory scheme. A strong

argument can be made, however, that

physical qualification for a certain

position within an industry is a

determination best made by industry

members themselves within the

pervasive reyulatory framework.

Upon these facts, O’Brien’s

Claim of handicap discrimination

under state law must be preempted by

the RLA. Conrail argues that under

W Vv ne, F7id F.2¢

1152 (llth Cir. 1983), O’Brien’s

claims are preempted by Section 503

of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

29 U.S.C. §793. In Howard, the

court found that the regulatory

scheme of the statute, the dominant

federal interest, the danger of

conflict with varying state laws,

and the interest in avoiding the

thwarting of the objectives of

informal dispute resolution

warranted a finding of preemption of

plaintiff’s third-party beneficiary

contract claim. Howard is

persuasive in determining that

O’Brien’s state law

-B-28-

Claims are preempted by Section 503,

although the analysis of McCall

provides a more substantial basis

for finding that the state law

claims are preempted by the RLA.

B. Ss CLUSION

This court finds that the

administrative proceedings before

the NRAB and the OFCCP are both

entitled to preclusive effect in

this action.

When an administrative agency

is acting in a judicial

Capacity and resolves

disputed issues of fact

properly before it which the

parties have had an adequate

opportunity to litigate, the

courts have not hesitated to

apply res judicata to enforce

repose.

United States v. Utah Construction &

Mining Co., 384 U.S. 394, 421-422

(1966).

-B-29-

The procedural requirements

for the NRAB proceedings are found

at 45 U.S.C. §153 and for the OFCCP

proceedings at 41 C.F.R. §60-741.20

to §60-741.32. Both ere

comprehensive regulatory schemes

which involve "essential elements of

adjudication." Restatement (Second)

of Judgments §83. The various

reports and findings from both the

NRAB and the OFCCP indicate that

each was concerned with the issve of

whether O’Brien was physically

qualified to perform the duties of a

4

stevedore. Both determined that

4~he OFCCP also

specifically found that “complainant

[O’Brien] failed to take the

reasonable accommodation given by

the respondent [Conrail]}."

(Conrail’s Ex. A, p.23).

«“—3-30-

O’Brien was not physically qualified

for the position.

In a proceeding under M.G.L.

Cc. 1818, §4(16),> a plaintiff must

prove that he/she is a

"It shall be an unlawful

practice:

For any employer, personally

or through an agent, to

dismiss from employment or

refuse to hire, rehire or

advance in employment or

otherwise discriminate

against, because of his

handicap, any person alleging

to be a qualified handicapped

person, capable of performing

the essential functions of

the position involved with

reasonable accommodation,

unless the employer caii

demonstrate that the

accommodation required to be

made to the physical or

mental limitations of the

person would impose an undue

hardship to the employer’s

business (M.G.L. c. 151B

§4(16)).

qualified handicapped person.

O’Brien has carried this buffer

through both administrative

proceedings, and their findings must

be given preclusive effect.

Cc. Amendment of Answer

(Docket #31)

Conrail asserts a third basis

for summary judgment which relies

upon a statute of limitations

defense not raised in its Answer to

the Complaint. Conrail has moved to

amend the Answer, stating that

M.G.L. c.151B, §5 requires that a

complaint to the MCAD must be tried

within six months of the alleged act

of discrimination. Christo v.

Edward G. Boyle Ins. Agency, Inc.,

402 Mass. 815, 816 (1988).

-B-32°

In view of the prior

reasoning in Sections A and B, a

decision concerning amendment of the

answer is essentially moot.

However, in an effort to be

complete, Conrail’s motion shall be

considered.

Fed.R.Civ.P. 9(c) requires a

party to plead affirmatively its

defenses. If not done at the

outset, a party may amend or

supplement its answer under the

provisions of Fed.R.Civ.P. 15(a). If

a party moves for leave of court,

the rule requires that "leave shall

be freely given when justice so

requires."

In determining whether leave

to amend should be granted, the

court is guided by the following

-B-33-

factors: whether bad faith,

repeated failure to cure, futility,

undue delay or undue prejudice to

the plaintiff were present.

Perlmutter v. Shatzer, 102 F.R.D.

245, 247 (D. Mass 1984) (citing

Foman v. Davis, 371 U.S. 178, 182

(1962) and Farkas v. Texas

Instruments, Inc., 429 F.2d 849 (lst

Cir. 1970)).

Conrail has not stated any

reason for its failure to raise the

statute of limitations defense

before this time. However, there is

no evidence of bad faith or

intentional delay, nor has Conrail

repeatedly failed to cure. While

the delay was lengthy (November 17,

19980 to June 29, 1990, a period of

nineteen months), it is not

determinative of this issue.

-B-34-

O’Brien argues that the

amendment is futile because a

continuing act of discrimination

brings the claim within the six

month period. Based upon the

undisputed facts, this assertion

appears problematic, although the

Court cannot say as a matter of law

that a jury could not find a

continuing act of discrimination.

O’Brien also argues that he would be

prejudiced by the allowance of this

motion, because he could have used

other avenues in search of a

remedy. This assertion is

unsupported by any concrete

examples, and such avenues are not

immediately apparent to the court.

O’Brien also contends that the costs

he has incurred in pursuing this

litigation over the past nineteen

months would have been avoided if

the statute of limitations had been

raised by Conrail at the outset.

This assumes that Conrail would not

have raised the preceding grounds of

preemption and issue preclusion in

support of its motion for summary

judgment, and that is an assumption

the Court cannot make.

Recent decisions have allowed

defendants to raise an affirmtive

defense in a motion for summary

judgment “regardless of the failure

to plead it in the answer." Buhl v.

Biosearch Medical Products, Inc.,

635 F.Supp. 956, 959 (D. Mont. 1985)

(citing Rivera v. Anaya, 726 F.2d

564, 566 (9th Cir. 1984)); LaPorte

v.R.D. Werner Co., Inc., 561

F.Supp. 189, 191 (N.D. Ill.) 1983)

(relying on Baker v. Chicago Fire

and Burglary Detection, Inc., 489

F.2d 953, 955 (7th Cir. 1973));

Mamos _v. School Committee of the

Town of Wakefiled, 553 F.Supp. 989,

992 (D. Mass. 1983) ("Defendants did

not waive their statute of

limitations defense by delaying its

assertion").

In essence, the court must

not put form over substance and

should act in the spirit of

Fed.R.Civ.P. 1 and seek a "just,

speedy, and inexpensive

determination of every action." A

defendant should not be barred from

asserting a valid legal defense to a

claim without a showing of futility,

intentional or inexcusable delay or

prejudice to the plaintiff.

-B-37-

Therefore, Conrail’s Motion

to Amend Answer (Docket #31) should

be ALLOWED. However, the court

cannot find as a matter of law that

O’Brien’s claim is time barred under

M.G.L. c.151B, §55.

CONCLUSION

The court recommends® that

Conrails Motion for Summary Judgment

(Docket #21SS) be ALLOWED on the

grounds that O’Brien’s state law

Sany objections to this

Report and Recommendation must be

filed with the Clerk of Court within

ten days of receipt of the Report

and Recommendation and must identify

the portion of the Report and

Recommendation to which objection is

made and the basis for such

objection. Any party may respond to

another party’s objections within

ten days after service of the

objections. Failure to file

objections within the specified time

waives the right to appeal the

district court’s order. United

States v. Escoboza Vega, 678 F.2d

376, 378-79 (lst Cir. 1982); United

STates v. Valencia-Copete, 792 F.2d

4, 6 (ist Cir. 1986).

-B-36-

claim of handicap discrimination

(M.G.L. c. 151B, §4(16)) is

preempted by the RLA and Section 503

of the Rehabilitation Act of 1973,

and that the decisions of the NRAB

and OFCCP should be given preclusive

effect. Conrails Motion to Amend

Answer (Docket #31) is also ALLOWED.

MARIANNE B. BOWLER

UNITED STATE MAGISTRATE

=-—-39-

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVIL ACTION

NO. 88-2541-N

WILLIAM J. O’BRIEN,

Plaintiff,

Vv.

CONSOLIDATED RAIL

CORPORATION,

Defendant.

ee ee ee ee ee ee ee ee”

DECEMBER 27, 1991

The report and recommendation is

approved as to docket no. 215 for the

reasons stated herein. Summary

judgment shall enter for the defendant

Conrail. While the Magistrate judge,

in her typically thorough manner, has

made a report and recommendation on

docket no. 311, no action need be taken

thereon, as action on the motion for

summary judgment moots the issue.

William Young

District Judge

-C-2-

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF MASSACHUSETTS

CIVIL ACTION

NO. 88-2541-N

WILLIAM J. O’BRIEN,

)

)

Plaintiff, )

)

Vv. ) Cc. A. No.

) 88-2541-N

CONSOLIDATED RAIL )

CORPORATION, )

Defendant. )

)

JUDGMENT

YOUNG, D.J. December 27, 1991

The motion for summary judgment

having been allowed, judgment shall,

and hereby does, enter for the

defendant Consolidated Rail

Corporation.

Kate Myrick, Deputy Clerk

Approved as to form:

WILLIAM J. YOUNG

UNITED STATES DISTRICT JUDGE

APPENDIX D

AGREEMENT

BETWEEN

CONSOLIDATED RAIL CORPORATION

AND

BROTHERHOOD OF RAILWAY, AIRLINE

AND STEAMSHIP CLERKS, FREIGHT

HANDLES, EXPRESS AND STATION

EMPLOYES

CLERKS

EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 1979

[EXCERPTS ]

D-1-

kkk

RULE 2 - APPOINTMENT TO PARTIALL

EXCEPTED POSITIONS

(a) All new partially excepted

positions or vacancies in positions

listed in Appendix No. 1 will be made

known by means of a notice posted on all

bulletin boards in the seniority district

with the advice that interested employees

should, in writing, within five (5)

calendar days after the date of the

notice advise the Company officer having

jurisdiction over the position, with copy

to the Division Chairman of the seniority

district in which the vacancy occurs, his

desire for consideration and state his

qualifications.

Preferential consideration will be

given to the above applicants prior to

giving consideration to other employees

covered by this Agreement or to employees

not covered by this Agreement.

D-2-

(b) When a partially excepted

position is vacated by the incumbent for

more than sixty (60) days and no notice

has been posted under paragraph (a), or

is abolished for more than sixty (60)

days (except as provided in Rule 18(b) or

(c)) it can only be reestablished by

agreement between the Senior

Director-Labor Relations and the General

Chairman.

RULE 3 - CONSIDERATION FOR PROMOTION

Employees will be given

consideration for promotion to Appendix 2

and Appendix 3 excepted positions as

opportunity may offer.

U 4 _ - QUALIFICATIONS FO ULLETINED

POSITIONS OR VACANCIES

(a) Assignment and displacement

rights to advertised positions or

vacancies under these rules, shall be

p-3-

based on seniority, fitness and ability.

Fitness and ability being sufficient,

seniority shall prevail

NOTE: The word "sufficient" is

intended to more clearly

establish the right of the

senior employee to the

position or vacancy where two

(2) or more employees have

adequate fitness and ability.

(b) Where the words "qualified

employee" are used in this Agreement,

they shall mean that an employee has

sufficient fitness and ability as those

terms are defined in paragraph (a) above.

(c) Employees required to take a

written intelligence test as a

prerequisite for employment shall not be

required to take this particular test a

second time, including persons

D-4-

*ransferring from the scope of one

agreement to another.

No intelligence or similar test

shall be given nor used as a basis to

determine the rights of the employee for

promotion to positions covered by the

Scope Rule of this Agreement.

RULE 5 - BULLETINING AND AWARDING OF

POSITIONS

(a) All new positions and vacant

positions known to be of more than thirt

(3) days duration, will be bulletined in

the seniority district on the Wednesday

following the date they occur, but not

later than the succeeding Wednesday for |

period of seven (7) calendar days in

places accessible to employees affected.

Bulletin will show position (indicating

if new), location, primary duties, tour

D-5=

of duty, assigned meal period, days of

rest, rate of pay, symbol number and

whether position is of permanent or

temporary nature. A position which it is

anticipated will be of six (6) months or

more duration will be bulletined as a

permanent position. Copies of bulletins

and notices of award will be furnished

the Division and Local Chairman. (Note:

if the Wednesday is a holiday, the

bulletin will be posted on the following

day.)

Bulletins advertising seasonal

positions in addition to stating that the

position is of a permanent or temporary

nature will also state if it is a

seasonal position.

Temporary positions which become

permanent, through any cause, shall be

rebulletined. Temporary positions of six

(6) months duration will be rebulletined

as permanent.

Bulletined positions requiring

stenographic duties will regularly

perform such duties. If a bulletined

stenographic position does not regularly

perform stenographic duties such position

shall be readvertised without

stenographic duties.

(b) Employees, including those

furloughed, desiring bulletined

positions, will file their bids in

writing, prior to the expiration of the

bulletin, with the designated official

with copy to the Local Chairman. All

furloughed employees will be considered

automatic bidders for permanent positions

bulletined on their seniority district

which do not require a change in

residence, as defined in Section 501( )

of the Act. (Appendix No. 8).

D-7-

An employee who desires to withdraw

his application for a bulletined position

must file his request, in writing, with

the official whose name appears in the

bulletin prior to the time and date on

which the bulletin is closed.

(Cc) Bulletined positions will be

awarded to the senior qualified bidder

effective on the day following close of

the advertising period. Notice of award

will be posted where the position was

- bulletined on the following Wednesday,

showing position, symbol number, date

bulletined an the name of the employee

awarded the position.

(d) Any employee, in service,

awarded a bulletined position shall be

transferred to such assignment within

fourteen (14) calendar days after the

effective date of the Award. If the

employee is not transferred within the

D-8-

specified time limit, he shall receive

pay for an additional three (3) hours at

the straight time rate of the position

awarded for each work day that he is

withheld from such assignment. (Zé

withheld from an extra list assignment,

he shall be paid at the extra list rate

of pay).

(e) When a permanent position is

awarded to a qualfied furloughed employee

and it does not require a change in

residence, he shall be recalled by

certified mail to his home address. An

employee failing to report for duty

within ten (10) calendar days after such

notice was mailed, except under

circumstances beyond his control, shall

forfeit all seniority.

(f) The provisions of the Agrement

of May 12, 1978, (Appendix No. 13), will

be continued in effect for transfer

purposes under Title V of the Act.

D=-3-

er anime at BOM 8M

(g) Positions of thirty (30)

calendar days or less duration and

vacation absences may be filled without |

bulletining. The senior qualified

available employee requesting such

position or requesting a bulletined

position, pending assignment of a

successful applicant, will be assigned,

except where agreement requires the use

of extra employees, provided this will

not entail additional expense to the

Company.

(h) Bulletined positions may be

filled temporerily pending assignment.

(1) (1) Vacancies of more than

five (5) days but less than thirty (30)

calendar days’ duration, and vacation

absences of more than five (5) working

days, will, if filled, be assigned on a

hold-down basis to the senior qualified

employee making written application for

same. Hold-down on a vacant extra list

position will not be permitted.

D-10-

(2) A vacancy created by a

regular employee assigned to a hold-down

will not be subject to further hold-down

and will be filled under the provisions

of paragraph (d) of Rule 40 or paragraphs

(f), (g) and (h) of Rule 24.

(3) An employee granted a

hold-down must cover the position for the

duration of the vacancy or absence and

will assume the rest days of the

position. An employee on a hold-down up

to and including the work day preceding

the rest days of the position, must

observe the rest days.

(4) An employee on a hold-down

who is displaced from his regular

assigned position or whose regular

- assigned position is abolished, will not

be required to exercise his seniority

until after completion of the hold-down.

Under these circumstances, observance

D-11-

of the last rest days of the hold-down

will not be applicable and the bumping

period will commence the day following

the last work day of the hold-down.

POSITION

When more than one position subject

to the application of the provisions of

Rule 5 exists at the same time, employees

Shall have the right to bid on any or

all, stating preference. Nothing in this

Agreement shall be construed to prevent

employees bidding on all bulletined

positions, irrespective of whether the

position is of the sane, greater or

lesser remuneration.

D-12-

RULE 7 - BIDDING ON FORMER POSITION

When an employee bids for and is

awarded a bulletined position, his former

position will be bulletined, if the

former position is one which is subject

to the provisions of Rule 5. Such

employee can file a bid for the said

former position and the same shall be

considered, provided no other employee

bids for it on the initial bidding.

RULE - DECLINING PROMOTION OR TO BID

Employees declining promotion or

declining to bid for a bulletined

position, shall not lose their seniority

except as otherwise provided in Rule 18.

RULE 9 - TIME IN WHICH TO QUALIFY

(a) Employees awarded bulletined

positions or exercising displacement

rights will be allowed thirty (30) days

in which to qualify and failing to

DeliJj=

qualify may exercise seniority under Rule

18(d). The thirty (30) days may be

extended by agreement between the Local

Chairman and the proper Company official.

(b) When it is evident that an

employee will not qualify for a position,

after conference with the Local Chairman,

he may be removed from the position

before the expiration of thirty (30) days

and be permitted to exercise seniority

under Rule 18(d). The Division Chairman

will be notified in writing the reason

for the disqualification.

(Cc) Employees will be given full

cooperation of the department heads and

others in their efforts to qualify.

D-14-

RULE 10 - RETURNING FROM TEMPORARY _

POSITION

An employee assigned to a temporary

position shall, upon expiration of same,

or when displaced or disqualified, within

seven (7) calendar days thereafter,

return to his former position if

available to him, or select any position

bulletined during his absence which was

awarded a junior employee. In the event

he has no regular position, he shall

exercise seniority under Rule 18(d).

RULE 11 - RETURNING FROM LEAVE OF

ABSENCE, ETC.

An employee returning to duty after

leave of absence, vacation, sickness,

disability, jury duty or suspension shall

either return to his former position if

available to him, or shall select any

position bulletined during his absence

which was awarded to a junior employee.

D-i5-

kkk

RULE 49 - PHYSICAL FITNESS,

DETERMINATION OF

When an employee has been removed

from his position due to his physical

condition and the employee or his

representative desires the question of

his physical fitness to be finally

decided before he is permanently removed

from his position, the case shall be

handled in the following manner:

The General Chairman shall bring the

case to the attention of the Senior

Director-Labor Relations. The Company

and the General Chairman shall each

select a doctor to represent them, each

notifying the other of the name and

address of the doctor selected. These

two (2) doctors will confer and appoint a

third doctor. Such Board of Doctors

shall then fix a time and place for the

employee to meet then.

»=-16=

After completion of the examination,

they shall make a full report in

triplicate, one copy each to be sent to

the Senior Director-Labor Relations, the

Medical Director and the General

Chairman.

The decision of the Board of

Doctors, setting forth the employee’s

physical fitness and their conclusions as

to whether he meets the requirements of

the Company’s physical examination

policy, shall be final and binding on the

parties, but this does not mean that a

change in physical condition shall

preclude a reexamination at a later time.

The doctors selected for such Board

shall be experts in the disease or injury

from which the employee is alleged to be

suffering, and they shall be located at a

convenient point so that it will only be

necessary for the employee to travel a

D-17-

minimum distance and, if possible, not to

be away from home for a longer period

than one (1) day.

The fees and expenses of the third

or neutral physician shall be borne

equally by the Company and the employee.

All other expenses shall be paid by the

Company and the employee incurring then,

including the fees of the physician

selected by them. At the time the

Board’s report is made, a bill for the

fee, and traveling expenses, if any, of

the third or neutral physician should be

made in duplicate, one (1) copy to be

sent to the Company’s Medical Director

and one (1) copy to the employee.

RULE 50 - INCAPACITATED EMPLOYEES

(a) Efforts will be made to furnish

suitable employment to employees who have

become physically incapacitated to

D-18-

continue in service in their present

occupation.

(b) By agreement, in writing,

between the Division Chairman and the

Manager Labor Relations, a disabled

employee covered by the Scope of this

Agreement, may be assigned to a new

position or vacancy, or be placed in an

existing position without regard to his

seniority or the seniority of any other

employee, provided he is capable of

performing the service.

(c) A disabled employee while so

assigned will not be permitted to bid for

an advertised position.

(ad) An employee displaced in the

application of this Rule may exercise

seniority in accordance with Rule 18.

kkk

D-19-

RULE 59 - NON-DISCRIMINATION

(a) The parties to this Agreement

pledge to comply with Federal and State

Laws dealing with non-discrimination

toward any employee. This obligation to

not discriminate in employment includes,

but is not limited to placement,

transfer, demotion, rates of pay or other

forms of compensation, selection for

training, lay-offs, and termination.

(b) Wherever words are used herein

in the masculine gender, they shall be

construed as though they were also used

in the feminine gender in all cases where

they would so apply.

RULE 60 - EXCEPTION TO RULE

(a) Exceptions to any rule or rules

in this Agreement, in writing, between

the Senior Director-Labor Relations and

the General Chairman.

D-20-

(b) Where provision is made in this

Agreement for exceptions or special

agreements between the Company and the

duly accredited representatives of the

employees, agreements with respect

thereto will be in writing and numbered

consecutively by seniority district, two

(2) copies of each to be furnished the

General Chairman and Senior

Director-Labor Relations.

y"-2i=

lis

APPENDIX E

NATIONAL RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT BOARD

THIRD DIVISION

Form 1 Award No. 27989

Docket No. MS-28026

89-3-87-3-590

The Third Division consisted

of the regular members and in

addition Referee Marty E.

Zusman when award was

rendered.

(William J. O’Brien

S (

DISPUTE: (Consolidated Rail

(Corporation

STATEMENT OF CLAIM:

"This is to serve notice, as

required by the rules of the National

Railroad Adjustment Board of my intention

to file an ex parte submission September

8, 1987 covering an unadjusted dispute

between me and Conrail involving the

question of discrimination in covering

the position of stevedore in Framinghan,

Massachusetts."

-E-l=-

FINDINGS:

The Third Division of the Adjustment

Board upon the whole record and all the

evidence, finds that:

The carrier or carriers and the

employee [sic] or employees [sic]

involved in this dispute are respectively

carrier and employees [sic] within the

meaning of the Railway Labor Act as

approved June 21, 1934.

This Division of the Adjustment

Board has jurisdiction over the dispute

involved herein.

Parties to said dispute were given

due notice of hearing thereon.

Considering the case at bar on

merits, the on-property record indicates

that Claimant requested to exercise his

Agreement rights to displace onto a

Stevedore position at the Auto Terminal

-E-2-

in Framington, Massachusetts effective

August 27, 1985. His request was denied

by Carrier’s Supervisor due to physical

disability (absent a hand since birth).

During the progression of this Claim

on property the Carrier provided Claimant

a test to determine his physical

qualifications for the Stevedore

position. A committee of six (6)

determined that in the Carrier’s words

the Claimant “could not safely perform

the various duties of the Stevedore

assignment and therefore could not be

considered qualified." The record

specifically notes that Claimant was

unable to safely climb ladders in

inclement weather and handle forty pound

bridge plates.

Claimant argued on property and

before this Board that he had sufficient

fitness and ability to perform the job.

Further, with normal wrist action and a

dedicated history of safely performing

heavy and similar tasks, claimant was

qualified. If Carrier had such concerns,

some minimal accommodation or more proper

and complete test should have been

given. The Claimant argues that

Carrier’s actions were arbitrary,

capricious, biased and defective.

The Board is concerned with this

instant case, but as an appellate forum

and not a court of equity, we must rule

precedentially and upon the probative

evidence.

-E-4-

By long established precedent this

Board has found that "fitness and

ability" determinations are vested with

the Carrier (First Division Awards 20384,

17523; Second Division Award 6233; Third

Division Awards 15387, 9534; Fourth

Division Awards 4093, 3960). In the

instant case, the test committee

consisted of the Regional Medical

Director, Safety Supervisor, District

Claim Agent, Personnel Specialist, Health

Services Manager and Supervisor. On the

record, there is nothing that this Board

can find to support Claimant’s alleged

Agreement violations. Once the Carrier

finds insufficient qualifications, the

burden of proof shifts to the Claimant to

overcome that decision with substantial

probative evidence. Based upon the cold

record, such evidence is absent. The

Commission that evaluated the allegation

on property found no Carrier defect.

Absent proof of record to shoulder the

burden of an unfair test or Carrier

violation of Agreement provisions, we are

constrained to deny the clain.

AWARD

Claim denied.

NATIONAL RAILROAD ADJUSTMENT

BOARD

By Order of Third Division

Attest:

Nancy J. Beuer - Executive

Secretary

Dated at Chicago, Illinois, this 29th day

of June 1989

append-e

-E-6-

n

3

j

x

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.