Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Massachusetts v. Greenwood Trust Co.

Supreme Court brief1993

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 92-

feta ews

In the Supreme Court of-the ‘J

United States

October Term, 1992

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al

Petitioners.

Vv.

GREENWOOD TRUST COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

SCOTT HARSHBARGER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

OF MASSACHUSETTS

Emest L. Sarason, Jr.*

William N. Brownsberger

Assistant Atomeys General

Public Protection Bureau

One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

*Counsel of Record (617) 727-2200

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Did Congress preempt state

consumer protection laws regulating late

charges and other non-interest loan fees

when it expressly preempted interest

rate restrictions on state chartered

banks through Section 521 of the

Depository Institutions Deregulation and

Monetary Control Act of 1980?

2. After finding that the text and

legislative history of an express

preemption statute are "at bottom

inconclusive" as to preemptive scope,

may a court then define the preemptive

scope broadly so as to find preemption?

(1)

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

OPINION BELOW

JURISDICTION

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

Fe

Skis

THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

DECISION MAY HAVE A

DRAMATIC IMPACT ON

THE TRADITIONAL STATE

REGULATION OF LENDING

PRACTICES.

THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

DECISION DISREGARDED

THE PLAIN LANGUAGE AND

UNAMBIGUOUS LEGISLATIVE

HISTORY OF DIDA.

AFTER FINDING THAT

"DIDA’S TEXT AND

LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

ARE, AT BOTTOM,

INCONCLUSIVE," THE

FIRST CIRCUIT SHOULD

NOT HAVE FOUND PREEMPTION.

(11)

Page

i9

30

Iv. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

HOLDING IS INCONSISTENT

WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT AND OF OTHER

CIRCUITS AS TO THE

PREEMPTIVE SCOPE OF THE

NATIONAL BANK ACT.

V. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

CONSTRUCTION OF SECTION 521

OF DIDA, TO INCLUDE

LATE CHARGES WITHIN

THE TERM "INTEREST,"

CONFLICTS WITH THE

TRUTH-IN-LENDING ACT AND

OTHER RELEVANT AUTHORITY.

CONCLUSION

APPENDICES (see separate Appendix)

(iii)

35

43

49

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases Page

Aldens, Inc. v. Packel,

524 F.2d 38 (3rd Cir. 1975), cert.

denied, 425 U.S. 943 (1976). 11

Allen v. Grand Central

Aircraft Co., 347 U.S.

535 (1954) 46

American Timber and

Trading Co. v. First

National Bank, 690 F.2d 781

(9th Cir. 1982) 28

Anderson National Bank v.

Luckett, 321 U.S. 233 (1944) 37

Beasley v. Wells Fargo Bank,

N.A., 1 Cal. Rptr. 2d 446,

235 Cal. App. 3d 1383 (1991)

review denied (Mar. 1992) is, 48

Cable Television Association

v. Finneran, 954 F.2d 91

(2d Cir. 1992) 33, 34

Chevron U.S.A., Inc.

v. National Resources Defense

Council, Inc. 467 U.S. 837 (1984) 42

Cipollone v. Ligget Group, Inc.,

112 S.Ct 2608 (1992) >

Cronkleton v. Hall, 66 F.2d 384

(8th Cir. 1933) 29

(iv)

Daagas v. Phoenix National Bank,

177 U.S. 549 (1900)

Demarest v. Manspeaker,

111 S.ct 599 (1991)

Evans v. National Bank,

251 U.S. 108 (1919)

First National Bank in Mena v.

Nowlin, 509 F.2d 872 (8th Cir. 1975)

First National Bank v.

Dickinson, 396 U.S. 122 (1969)

Fisher v. First National Bank,

548 F.2d 255 (8th Cir. i977) ai,

Franklin National Bank

v. New Y

ork, 347 U.S. 373 (1954)

Gade Vv.

National Solid Wastes

Management Association,

112 S.Ct 2374 (1992)

Garrett

v. Coast and

Southern Federal Savings

and Loan Ass‘’n, 511 P.2d 1197

(Cal. 1973)

Hill v. Chemical Bank, Civ. Nos.

3-92-255, 3-92-387 (D. Minn.

Aug. 4, 1992)

Johnson v. McCracken-Sturman

Ford, Inc.,

(3d Cir.

1975)

$27 F.2d 257

(v)

47,

45,

37

42

28

28

40

28

48

27

46

Laing v. U.S., 423 U.S.

161 (1976) 18

Marquette National Bank

v. First of Omaha Service

Corp., 439 U.S. 299 (1978) 19, 41, 42

Morales v. Trans World

Aivriines,. Ine... 112 8.6.

2031 (1992) 21, 30

National Bank v. Johnson,

104 U.S. 271 (1881) 28

National State Bank v.

Long, 630 F.2d 981 (3d Cir. 1980) 37

Nelson v. Citibank, 794 F. Supp.

312 (D. Minn. 1992) 27

Northway Lanes v. Hackley

Union National Bank

and Trust Co.,

464 F.2d 855 (6th Cir. 1972) 28

Panos v. Smith, 116 F.2d 445

(6th Cir. 1940) 29

Perdue v. Crocker National Bank

702 P.2d 503 (Cal. 1985),

appeal dismissed 475 U.S.

1001 (1986) 38, 39, 42

State of North Dakota

v. Merchants National Bank

and Trust Co., 634 F.2d 368,

(8th Cir. 1980) 38

(vi)

Tikkanen v. Citibank (South Dakota),

NWA.» Civ. Nos. 4-92-286, 4-92-2287

(D.Minn. Sept. 10, 1992) 27

U.S. v. Philadelphia

National Bank, 374 U.S. 321

(1963) 37

Constitutional Provisions

U.S. Const., art. VI, cl. 2 3

Statutes and Regulations

12 U.S.C. §85 passim

12 U.S.C. §1831d(a)

(1988 & Supp. 1990) passim

15 U.S.C. §1601 44

15 U.S.C. §1605(a) 44

15 U.S.C. §1637 26

28 U.S.C. §1254(1) (1988) 2

28 U.S.C. §1292(b) (1988) 8

28 U.8.C. $4332 2

28 U.S.C. §133e2 2

28 U.8.C. §13337 2

U.C.C. §2-718 (1983) 47

12 C.F.R. §226.4(c) (2) 45

(vil)

16 C.F.R. 444 (49 Fed. Reg. 7789,

March 1, 1984)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann.,

ch. 140, §114B (West 1991)

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann.,

ch. 255, £13 (West 1988)

Legislative Materials

126 Cong. Rec. 6965

(March 27, 1980)

S. Rep. No. 368, 96 Cong.,

lst Sess. 19 (1979)

Other Authorities

Business Week, Feb. 24, 1992,

at 32

“Small States Teach a Big

Banking Lesson," Chicago Fed

Letter, June 1986.

ALI, Restatement of

Contracts § 339

Ausubel, "The Failure of

Competition in the Credit

Card Market," The American

Economic Review, March, 1991.

Corbin, Contracts § 1058

(viii)

26

25

28

24

46

17

12

47

16

47

Credit Card Management,

Card Industry Directory:

The Blue Book of the Credit

and Debit Card Industry

in the United States,

1992 ed. i3, 26,

Field, The Law of Damages

Ch. 9 & § 22 (1876)

New York Times, Business,

September 13, 1992, at 13.

Sedgewick, Damages §§ 389-427

(9th ed. 1912)

Stewart, “How Penalty Fees

are Rewarding Banks," Credit

Card Management, November 1991.

The Nilson Report, Nov. 1991. 15,

U.S. Department of Commerce, A

Statistical Abstract Supplement:

State and Metropolitan Area Data

Book, 1986, 1986

Williston, Contracts §§ 769-792

(1920) and 781 (3d ed.)

(ix)

17

47

17

47

17

id

47

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE

UNITED STATES

October Term, 1992

COMMONWEALTH OF MASSACHUSETTS, et al,

Petitioners

Vv.

GREENWOOD TRUST COMPANY,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIRST CIRCUIT

The Commonwealth of Massachusetts

and the Attorney General of

Massachusetts petition for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the

Court of Appeals for the First Circuit,

entered in this case on August 6, 1992.

OPINION BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the First Circuit is reported at 971

F.2d 818 and is reproduced as Appendix A

-lj-

hereto. The decision of the United

States District Court for the District

of Massachusetts is reported at 776 F.

Supp. 21 and is reproduced as Appendix C

hereto. The final judgment under Fed.

R. Civ. P. 54(b) and the "Supplement to

the Court’s Memorandum and Order of

October 22, 1991" of the United States

District Court are reproduced as

Appendices B and D hereto,

respectively. Appendices A-D are

included in a separate Appendix.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of

Appeals for the First Circuit was

entered on August 6, 1992. Petitioners

invoke the jurisdiction of this Court

under 28 U.S.C. §1254(1) (1988). The

respondent invoked District Court

jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. §§1331,

1332 and 1337.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The Supremacy Clause of the United

States Constitution provides:

This Constitution, and the

Laws of the United States which

shall be made in Pursuance thereof;

and all Treaties made, or which

shall be made, under the Authority

of the United States, shall be the

supreme Law of the Land; and the

Judges in every State shall be

bound thereby, any Thing in the

Constitution or Laws of any State

to the Contrary notwithstanding.

Const., art. VI, cl. 2.

12 U.S.C. §1831d(a) (1988 & Supp.

1990) provides, in pertinent part:

In order to prevent

discrimination against

State-chartered insured depository

institutions, including insured

savings banks, or insured branches

of foreign banks with respect to

interest rates, if the applicable

rate prescribed in this subsection

exceeds the rate such State bank or

insured branch of a foreign bank

would be permitted to charge in the

absence of this subsection, such

State bank or such insured branch

of a foreign bank may,

-3-

notwithstanding any State

constitution or statute which is

hereby preempted for the purposes

of this section, take, receive,

reserve, and charge on any loan or

discount made, or upon any note,

bill of exchange, or other evidence

of debt, interest at a rate of not

more than 1 per centum in excess of

the discount rate on ninety-day

commercial paper in effect at the

Federal Reserve bank in the Federal

Reserve district where such State

bank or such insured branch of a

foreign bank is located or at the

rate allowed by the laws of the

State, territory, or district where

the bank is located, whichever may

be greater.

Mass. Gen. Laws Ann., ch. 140,

§114B (West 1991) provides, in pertinent

part:

No creditor shall impose a

delinquency charge, late charge, or

Similar charge on loans made

pursuant to such an open end credit

plan.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The facts giving rise to this

controversy are undisputed. Greenwood

Trust Company ("Greenwood"), a Delaware

-4-

state bank insured by the FDIC, issues

the Discover Card to customers

nationwide, including several hundred

thousand Massachusetts residents. In

addition to charging a monthly periodic

rate of 1.65%, Greenwood imposes a

$10.00 "late charge" if a required

payment is not made within 20 days after

the monthly payment due date. A

Massachusetts consumer protection

statute, Mass. Gen. Laws Ann., ch. 140,

§114B (1991), prohibits credit card late

charges. App. A - 6, 7.

On October 27, 1989, the Attorney

General of Massachusetts sent written

notice to Greenwood that Greenwood’s

imposition of late charges on its

Massachusetts Discover Card customers

violated the Massachusetts statute.

Greenwood then filed a Complaint for

Declaratory and Injunctive Relief in the

-5-

U.S. District Court for the District of

Massachusetts, alleging that Delaware

law allowed the imposition of credit

card late charges on Massachusetts

consumers, and that the Massachusetts

statute was preempted by the Supremacy

Clause of the United States Constitution

and by Section 521 of the Depository

Institutions Deregulation and Monetary

Control Act ("Section 521" and

"prpa") .2/

l/ Greenwood also alleged that its late

charges did not violate the

Massachusetts statute and that, pursuant

to a choice of law provision in its

Cardmember Agreement, more permissive

Delaware law controlled its contractval

relationships with its Massachusetts

customers. Those allegations, which

were rejected by the District Court in

its Memorandum and Order of October 24,

1991 (App. C - 126), were not addressed

by the Court of Appeals (App. A - 55),

and are not at issue in this petition.

In its Answer and Counterclain,

Massachusetts denied that its late

charge statute was preempted by federal

law and asked the District Court for

civil penalties and restitution of the

late charges illegally collected.

On cross-motions for summary

judgment, the District Court ruled in

favor of the Commonwealth stating that

Greenwood had not met its heavy burden

of showing preemption. App. C - 84.

The District Court held that "(t]he

plain meaning of section 521 does not

evince Congressional intent to preempt

state regulation as to other credit

terms, apart from interest rates, such

as the late charges challenged by

Massachusetts." App. C - 22,23. The

court also noted that "[{t]he record of

Congressional debate and deliberation

-7J7-

concerning the enactment of DIDA is

generally supportive of the

Commonwealth’s argument that preemption

of credit card regulation under DIDA is

confined to numerical interest rates."

App. C = 33.

The District Court certified its

rulings for Greenwood’s interlocutory

appeal under 28 U.S.C. §1292(b)

(1988). The First Circuit accepted the

certification, noting:

In light of the pivotal

importance and broad commercial

consequence of the questions

presented, we accepted the

certification. (As an aside, we

remark that our belief as to the

importance of the questions

presented has been validated to

some degree by the outpouring of

amicus briefs, some favoring

appellant’s position and some

opposing it.) App. A - 8.

On August 6, 1992, the First

Circuit reversed the District Court.

The First Circuit found the statute’s

"text and legislative history .. . at

bottom, inconclusive." App. A - 41.

The court went on to hold that the

preemptive reach of DIDA goes beyond

numerical percentage rates of interest,

and preempts Massachusetts’ law

prohibiting credit card late charges.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S OPINION

MAY HAVE A DRAMATIC IMPACT ON

THE TRADITIONAL STATE

REGULATION OF LENDING

PRACTICES.

The First Circuit’s opinion, if

allowed to stand, may result in the

preemption of much state regulation of

lending practices. Even the narrowest

reasonable reading of the First

Circuit’s holding affects the allocation

between consumers and the banking

industry of hundreds of millions of

dollars in late charges annually.

-9-

The First Circuit’s ruling may

place most loan-related charges beyond

the reach of state regulation. 2/

States have, in fact, historically

regulated many of these charges. 2/

2/ The court’s statement that a late

charge is "related to the use or

forbearance of money, or .. . damages

for its detention", App. A - 25, 26

(emphasis added), implies that any state

restriction of loan related charges

affecting a lender’s total return is

preempted under §521. For example,

charges for exceeding the credit limit,

replacement card fees, and charges for

duplicate statements are arguably all

“related to" the use or forbearance of

money (at least under the First

Circuit’s expansive reading of §521),

"interest," and therefore exportable,

regardless of the law of the

cardholder’s state. This analysis could

also lead to the preemption, for

example, of limitations on attorney’s

fees under state law.

3/ For example, Washington, since 1899,

has restricted loan "setup charges."

Wash. Rev. Code Ann. § 19.52.020 (Supp.

1992). New Mexico, since 1912, has

restricted loan commissions. N.M. Stat.

Ann. §56-8-7 (1978). South Carolina,

Since 1962, and Louisiana, since 1988,

have restricted over-limit charges.

(footnote continued)

-10-

The First Circuit’s opinion will

encourage more and more lenders to flout

long-standing state consumer protection

laws. As state law enforcement officers

attempt to fulfill their legitimate

roles, they will be met by declaratory

judgment actions citing Greenwood Trust.

Even read as limited to its facts,

the First Circuit’s opinion is of

national importance. It holds that

section 521 of DIDA preempts state

regulation of late charges in open-end

credit agreements with out-of-state

banks and allows interstate

(footnote continued)

S.C. Code Ann. §37-2-202(c)(ii) (Law

Co-op. 1991); La. Rev. Stat. Ann.

§3530(E) (West 1991). Congress

recognized the state’s historic role in

this type of regulation when it passed

the Truth in Lending Act -- a

comprehensive scheme of lending

regulation far broader than the usury

deregulation in s.521. Aldens, Inc. v.

Packel, 524 F.2d 38, 46 (3d Cir. 1975),

cert. denied, 425 U.S. 943 (1976).

-ll-

"exportation" of late charge

deregulation. Given that most open-end

credit agreements now cross state lines

and originate from bank entities

domiciled in low-regulation states, +/

4/ "Credit card loans at commercial

banks in the United States increased by

$72.4 billion from 1980 to 1987. Just

two states accounted for half of that

increase -- Delaware for $25.0 billion

and South Dakota for $12.3 billion."

See "Small States Teach a Big Banking

Lesson," Chicago Fed Letter, June 1986.

To achieve this result, the states

repealed all consumer protection

legislation applicable to consumer

lending. In 1980, South Dakota removed

all usury ceilings for credit card loans

and other types of consumer lending. In

1981, Delaware eliminated interest rate

ceilings on all types of loans and

passed laws allowing banks to charge a

variety of fees associated with the

extension of credit. Id. See App. C-20.

The ten largest holders of bank card

receivables hold 50.9% of the market

share. Of t'e 10 largest holders of

bank card riveivables, six are located

in Delaware and one is located in South

Dakota. The six Delaware banks

accounted for approximately 26% of the

total bank card receivables in 1991; the

one South Dakota bank accounted for

(footnote continued)

-12-

the result of this holding, in effect,

is that states may no longer regulate

late charges.

This derogation of the states’

historically accepted police powers will

have a very significant economic

impact. Today, 32 states, as well as

Puerto Rico and the District of

Columbia, prohibit or significantly

restrict credit card late charges. Six

(footnote continued)

approximately 18%. Credit Card

Management, Card Industry Directory:

The ue Book of the Credit and Debit

Card Industry in the United States, 1992

ed., at 35, 68-72. Clearly, the

residents of these two states, with

populations of 594,000 and 708,000,

ranking 47th and 45th in population

size, respectively, do not account for

these receivables. U.S. Department of

Commerce, A Statistical Abstract

Supplement: State and Metropolitan Area

Data Book, 1986, 1986, at 504.

states prohibit late charges, —’ 24

states plus the District of Columbia and

Puerto Rico impose percentage and/or

total dollar limitations on such

charges, ©/

5/ COLO. REV. STAT. §5-3-203NJ(5) (a)

(1992); MASS. GEN. LAWS ANN. ch. 255,

§12H (West 1988); N.J. STAT. ANN.

§17:16C-50 (West 1984); 69 PA. CONS.

STAT. ANN. §1906 (Purdon SUPP. 1992);

TEX. REV. CIV. STAT. ANN. art.

5069-15.02(f), 3.15(8), 3.16(3) (Vernon

1987); VT. STAT. ANN. tit. 9, §2406(c)

(1987)).

6/ ARIZ. REV. STAT. ANN. §44-6002G

(SUPP. 1991); CONN. GEN. STAT. ANN.

§§36-233(d), 36-233b (SUPP. 1992); D.C.

CODE ANN. §28-3310 (1990); FLA. STAT.

ANN. §520.35 (West 1988); GA. CODE ANN.

§10-1-7 (1989); HAW. REV. STAT. §476-9

(1985); IND. CODE ANN. §24-4.5-3-203.5

(Burns 1991); IOWA CODE ANN.

§537.2502(4) (West SUPP. 1992); KAN.

STAT. ANN. §16a-2-502 (1988); KY. REV.

STAT. ANN. §287.750

(Michie/Bobbs-Merrill 1988); LA. REV.

STAT. ANN. §9:3527 (West 1991); ME.

REV. STAT. ANN. tit. 9A, §§2-402,

2-501(3), 2-502 (SUPP. 1991); MD. COM.

LAW CODE ANN. §12-506(6) (1990); MINN.

STAT. ANN. §§48.185(d), 168.71(a) (3)

(West SUPP. 1992); MISS. CODE ANN.

(footnote continued)

-14-

and two states specifically require such

2/

charges to be reasonable.

More than 79 million Americans hold

one or more credit cards. 2/

Three-quarters of cardholders are

"borrowers" who pay interest (finance)

charges on their outstanding balances on

(footnote continued)

§75-17-19(3) (1991); MO. ANN. STAT.

§408.330(3) (Vernon SUPP. 1992); MONT.

CODE ANN. §31-1-235 (1991); NEV. REV.

STAT. §97.195 (1987); N.C. GEN. STAT.

§24-11(d1) (1991); P.R. LAWS ANN. art.

19(B); S.C. CODE ANN. §37-3-203 (Law.

Co-op. 1987); S.D.CODIFIED LAWS ANN.

§54-6-61 (1990); UTAH CODE ANN.

§70C-2-102 (SUPP. 1992); VA. CODE ANN.

§6.1-330.80 (1988); W.VA. CODE

§46A-3-113 (1992); WIS. STAT. ANN.

§422.202(2m) (a) (1988)).

7/. CAL. CIV. CODE §1671(c)(d) (West

1985) interpreted in Beasley v. Wells

Fargo Bank, N.A., 1 Cal. Rptr. 2d 446,

235 Cal. App. 3d 1383 (1991) review

denied (Mar. 1992) (credit card late

fees charged by National Bank were

unreasonable in amount) and WASH. REV.

CODE ANN. §63.14.090 (SUPP. 1992).

8/ The Nilson Report, Nov. 14, 1991

at 4.

-15-

a monthly basis. 2 In 1991, those

borrowers paid finance charges at an

average annual rate of approximately

18%, although these rates have declined

in recent months. +2/

Sixty five percent of banks charge

late fees to customers. These fees

average over $8.00 per month. 22/ In

1991, credit card issuers billed to and

received from consumers $858 million

9/ See Ausubel, "The Failure of

Competition in the Credit Card Market,"

The American Economic Review, March,

1991, at 71.

10/ See Credit Card Management, Card

Industry Directory: The Blue Book of the

Credit and Debit Card Industry in the

United States, 1992 ed, at 35, 37.

ll/ Stewart, "How Penalty Fees are

Rewarding Banks," Credit Card

Management, Nov. 1991, p.39.

-16-

in late charges. 22/ (It is safe to

assume that a material share of these

late charges are collected in apparent

violation of the state law of the

cardholder.)

Summarizing, millions of credit

card customers pay late charges as well

as high interest rates on their unpaid

balances when they cannot or do not make

12/ Business Week, Feb. 24, 1992 at

32. In 1981, there was $31.8 billion in

outstanding debt on bank credit cards.

See Credit Card Management, Card

Industry Directory: The Blue Book of the

Credit and Debit Card Industry in the

United States, 1992 ed. at 26. By 1992,

that figure had grown more than six

times to $189 billion; the average

outstanding balance on the major credit

cards exceeds $1200. See New York

Times, Business, September 13, 1992, at

13, citing Ram Research Corporation.

Credit cards are now used to charge more

than $200 billion for goods and services

per year. The Nilson Report, Nov. 14,

1991, at 5. Credit cards also generated

approximately $34.24 billion in revenues

for the banking industry and $5.83

billion in pre-tax profits. Id.

-17-

timely monthly payments. Thirty two

state legislatures have seen fit to

strike a better balance between the

average consumer and the credit card

industry. The First Circuit’s holding

would void the thoughtful decisions of

these policy-making bodies. The need

for this Court’s review is reinforced by

pending litigation potentially affected

by this ruling.+2/

The First Circuit has broadly

expanded the preemptive scope of DIDA.

The logic and language of the First

Circuit’s opinion suggests that not only

13/ The Commonwealth is aware of more

than 20 actions, most of which are class

actions, pending in seven jurisdictions,

which turn on the resolution of the

questions presented in this case. See

Laing v. U.S., 423 U.S. 161, 167 (1976)

(Solicitor General did not oppose

petition for certiorari because 70

pending federal tax cases depended on

resolution of conflict).

- 18-

iaiaecaiieanitiiauamatiaiaaiieaiii

late charges, but many other

loan-related charges and terms are now

beyond the reach of state regulation.

This interpretation would represent an

extraordinary incursion on state law and

state authority and may significantly

alter the state/federal balance in

banking regulation.

II. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S DECISION

DISREGARDED THE PLAIN LANGUAGE

AND UNAMBIGUOUS LEGISLATIVE

HISTORY OF DIDA.

The plain language of DIDA §521

allows federally insured state-chartered

banks to export the "interest rate"

ceiling of their home states to foreign

14/

states.

14/ The language of DIDA §521 is

similar to the language of §85 of the

National Bank Act, 12 U.S.C. §85

("§85"). This Court held in Marquette

National Bank v. First of Omaha Service

Corp., 439 U.S. 299 (1978) that national

banks could disregard other states’

interest ceilings when doing business

outside their home states.

-19-

Section 521 of DIDA reads in pertinent

part as follows:

(I]f the applicable rate prescribed

in this subsection exceeds the rate

such State bank .. . would be

permitted to charge in the absence

of this subsection, such State bank

may, notwithstanding any State

constitution or statute which is

hereby preempted for the purposes of

this section, . . . charge on any

loan . . made .. . interest at [a

federal ceiling] rate ... or at

the rate allowed by the laws of the

State,... where the bank is located,

whichever may be greater.

12 U.S.C. §1831d(a) (1988 & Supp. 1990).

Congress, in the language of §521,

expressed its preemptory intent. The

scope of that preemption is clearly

limited to "interest." There is no

expressed intent to reach beyond

"interest" to deregulate late charges

and other loan fees.

The question at bottom is one of

statutory intent, and we accordingly

"begin with the language employed by

Congress and the assumption that the

-20-

ordinary meaning of that language

accurately expresses the legislative

purpose."

Morales v. Trans World Airlines, Inc.,

112 S. Ct. 2031, 2036 (1992) (quotation

marks and citations omitted).

The straightforward -- "interest"

means interest -- reading of the

statute, which the District Court

correctly applied, is consistent with

the legislative history of DIDA. In

1980, Congress faced a very clear

problem, and, in DIDA, crafted a very

focused, simple solution. Before the

Act, less-regulated deposit-taking

institutions -- especially money market

funds -- and the capital markets

generally were offering extremely high

interest rates on deposits and other

fixed income investments. Many state

banks were unable to offer competitive

-21-

rates for two reasons: (1) federal

regulations limited the maximum interest

rates state banks could pay on deposits;

and (2) state usury laws limited the

interest rates state banks could charge

on loans. The usury laws reinforced the

effect of the deposit rate regulations

by making it unprofitable to offer

competitive rates on deposits. The

final result, very destructive to local

economies, was that it was impossible

for many state banks to make loans --

lack of cash in-flow on the deposit side

(as a result of uncompetitive rates)

made cash out-flow on the loan side

impossible.

To solve this problem, Congress

raised the legal ceilings on both

-22-

5 ana ait

15/

deposit and loan interest rates.

15/ In DIDA, Congress changed the

financial system in "three particularly

critical ways":

The high interest rates available to

savers from money market funds,

certificates of deposits, and other

instruments has sharply discouraged

passbook savings accounts for those

who can afford an alternative, and

left the small saver dependent on

his passbook account severely

discriminated against. This bill

will phase out interest rate

ceilings to give small savers a

better break and to encourage

savings. At the same time it will

broaden the services available from

thrift institutions, and expand

their opportunities for improving

earnings.

Usury ceilings in some 24 States

have left lenders unable to lend and

borrowers unable to borrow,

diverting credit availability out of

these states and distorting the

economy in myriad ways. The bill

lifts usury ceilings to reflect the

realities of the marketplace and

makes it possible for banks and

thrift associations to continue

necessary lending. The provisions

protect States’ rights by allowing

States to restore the usury ceiling

promptly if they wish to do so.

(footnote continued)

-23-

Title II of DIDA deregulated deposit

interest rates; Title V deregulated loan

interest rates. Each section of Title V

deregulates rates for a particular type

of loan. Section 521, in particular,

deregulates loan interest rates for

state chartered banks. It does not

preempt late charges or other incidental

loan charges. An analytic reading of

§521 in conjunction with other sections

of Title V and their legislative

histories reinforces the conclusion that

late charges are not preempted by §521.

See the District Court’s opinion in this

case, App. C= 21 to 50.

Massachusetts’ ban on late charges

in no way “interferes with or is

(footnote continued)

126 Cong. Rec. 6965 (March 27, 1980).

Remarks of Rep. Henry S. Reuss,

Chairman, Committee on Banking, Finance

and Urban Affairs.

-24-

seaieiamaaciaaaaiaceiaiia sia aa aii

contrary to federal law" or Congress’s

purpose. Gade v. National Solid Wastes

Management Association, 112 S.€e. 2374,

2388 (1992). Massachusetts’ late charge

law does not limit Greenwood’s abilities

to charge and earn high interest rates

on its loans, or to pay competitive

rates on its deposits, or to supply

adequate credit to the economy.

The Massachusetts prohibition

against credit card late charges,

enacted in 1981, 2+2/ does not limit

bank interest income. It is a consumer

protection law designed to bar what the

Massachusetts legislature viewed as an

16/ Mass. Gen. Laws Ann. ch. 140,

§114B, amended by Mass. Stat. 1981, ch.

384, §1. See App Cc - 101 to 116.

-2 5-

unfair and deceptive practice.2Y The

Massachusetts statute was not preempted

by Congress in DIDA.

Nonetheless, the First Circuit

determined that Congress intended to

preempt late charge laws. The First

Circuit’s fundamental error was to read

state and federal cases applying usury

laws as a guide to Congress’s preemptive

intent in enacting §521. Finding the

17/ Massachusetts Representative

Antoine Aguiar, Chairman of the

Massachusetts Joint Committee on Banks

and Banking, refers to late fees and

Similar fees as "the notorious hidden

charges that we have fought for years to

eliminate." State House News Service,

October 26, 1981. App. C - 116.

Consumers shopping for credit are often

unaware of differences in late fee

practices, because they do not intend or

expect to make late payments. See

Statement of Basis and Purpose for FTC

Trade Regulation Rule Concerning Credit

Practices, 16 C.F.R. 444 (49 Fed. Reg.

7789, March 1, 1984). Credit card

advertising and marketing do not focus

on late fees except when required by

law. See 1988 Fair Credit and Charge

Card Disclosure Act, 15 U.S.C. §1637.

-26-

statute and legislative history unclear,

and finding no case law directly

addressing the issue of whether late

charges or other loan fees are preempted

by §521 or §85 of the National Bank Act

(12 U.S.C. §85) ,+8/ the court turned

to a completely distinct line of cases,

cases analyzing how interest should be

computed for the purpose of applying

usury laws. Courts in these cases often

broadly interpreted "interest" to cover

19/

a wide variety of charges.

18/ The court did reference a recent

preliminary late fee decision under the

National Bank Act in Nelson v. Citibank,

794 F. Supp. 312, 318 (D. Minn. 1992).

See also Hill v. Chemical Bank, oe

Nos. 3-92-255, 3-92-387 (D. Minn. Aug.

4, 1992) and Tikkanen v. Citibank (South

Dakota), N.A., Civ. Nos. 4-92-286,

4-92-287 (D.Minn. Sept. 10, 1992).

19/ In fact, many of these cases do not

really stand for a broad definition of

"interest" even in usury computation.

For example, in Fisher v. First National

(footnote continued)

-27-

(footnote continued)

Bank, 548 F.2d 255 (8th Cir. 1977), the

Eighth Circuit never decided the issue

of whether a cash advance transaction

fee was "interest." Instead, the Court

of Appeals simply determined that a

Nebraska bank was entitled to charge

interest on its credit card accounts at

the rate permitted to Nebraska small

loan companies. The small loan interest

rate was high enough to make the fee

irrelevant. Similarly in Northway Lanes

v. Hackley Union National Bank & Trust

Co., 464 F.2d 855, 864 (6th Cir. 1972),

the Sixth Circuit, in allowing a

national bank operating in Michigan to

impose front-end closing costs in

conformity to Michigan state law

governing state banks, did not consider

or decide whether those charges were

"interest." The Sixth Circuit also

accepted the view that prepayment

penalties, another form of

post-transaction charges heavily

regulated by states (see, e.g., Mass.

Gen. Laws Ann. Ch. 255D §13 (West

1988)), are not interest and cannot make

a nonusurious loan usurious. Id.

Likewise, the opinion in First National

Bank in Mena v. Nowlin, 509 F.2d 872

(8th Cir. 1975) did not offer an

expanded definition of the term "rates,"

but merely deferred to state usury case

law. But see National Bank v. Johnson

104 U.S. 271, 277 (1881); Evans v.

National Bank, 251 U.S. 108 (1919).

Also, for example, in American Timber &

Trading Co. v. First National Bank, 690

(footnote continued)

-28-

eee mceaiaiii

These cases cannot provide guidance

in preemption analysis. There is no

question that in usury cases courts must

include as interest some fees and

charges associated with loans.

Otherwise, usury laws would be easily

circumvented by creative lenders.

However, even if some of these fees and

charges must be computed-in for usury

purposes, they are not interest in the

(footnote continued)

F. 2d 781 (9th Cir. 1982), the primary

issue was how much money had been

loaned, not whether the charge was

properly considered "interest" (which,

the bank conceded, should be defined

with reference to federal, not state,

law) while in Panos v. Smith, 116 F.2d

445 (6th Cir. 1940) and Cronkleton v.

Hall, 66 F.2d 384 (8th Cir. 1933), the

Courts of Appeals made unremarkable

rulings that illegal front-end charges

for mortgage taxes and recording fees

(Panos) and bonuses or commissions

(Cronkleton) were simply interest in

disguise. None of these cases directly

addressed the issue of the scope of

preemption under §85, much less §521.

-29-

ordinary meaning of the word as used in

§521. Nor was the relationship between

those fees and interest construed in a

preemption context in which the

presumptions against preemption would

apply. In sum, the usury cases provide

no guide whatsoever as to the scope of

Congress’s preemptive intent. Neither

DIDA nor the National Bank Act preempt

state regulation of late charges and

other charges not included within the

plain meaning of the term "interest."

III. AFTER FINDING THAT "DIDA’S

TEXT AND LEGISLATIVE HISTORY

ARE, AT BOTTOM, INCONCLUSIVE,"

THE FIRST CIRCUIT SHOULD NOT

HAVE FOUND PREEMPTION.

Section 521 contains no broadening

language such as that recently

interpreted in Morales, supra, 112 S.

Ct. 2031 (1992) (Congressional

preemption of state regulation "relating

to" airline rates, routes or services).

-30-

It expressly preempts only limitations

on “interest." The First Circuit

explicitly found the absence of clear

intent to preempt late charge laws,

stating that "DIDA’s text and

legislative history are, at botton,

inconclusive." App. A - 41. The court’s

ultimate finding of preemption is thus

inconsistent with the Supreme Court’s

recent preemption cases.

The First Circuit ignored the

principle that "the historic police

powers of the States are not to be

superseded by .. . [the] Federal Act

unless th*t is the clear and manifest

purpose of congress." Cipollone v.

Ligget ‘“sroup, Inc., 112 S. Ct. 2608,

2617 (1992) (quotation marks and

citations omitted). No "clear and

manifest purpose" was found. In fact,

the court found the exact opposite --

-3l1-

inconclusiveness.

The First Circuit read Cipollone

incorrectly and created a novel approach

to express preemption analysis.

[S]o long as Congress’s intent to

effect preemption remains clear and

manifest, uncertainty which

pertains only to the contours of

the ensuing preemption does not

necessitate an alteration of a

reviewing court’s basic analytic

approach.

App. A. - 19. In the quoted sentence,

and in the actual course of its

analysis, the court adopted the approach

that once Congress has expressed an

intent to preempt, the courts are

largely free to define the scope of the

preemption. This position goes beyond

even the “ordinary meaning" standard

suggested in Justice Scalia’s Cipollone

dissent:

The proper rule of construction for

express pre-emption provisions is,

it seems to me, the one that is

customary for statutory provisions

-32-

in general: Their language should

be given its ordinary meaning.

112 S.Ct at 2634. When, as in this

case, after considering the ordinary

meaning of terms, a court explicitly

finds that the statutory text and

legislative history are "inconclusive"

as to Congressional intent to preempt a

given area, this Court’s rulings do not

allow the court to continue an extended

guessing exercise based on marginally

relevant authority. The policy

requiring a "clear and manifest purpose"

to preempt must, at some point, be given

effect.

The First Circuit’s derivation of a

broad preemptive scope for Section 521

conflicts with the Second Circuit’s more

proper analytic approach in Cable

Television Association v. Finneran, 954

F.2d 91 (2d Cir. 1992). Although

Congress had expressly preempted state

=33-

regulation of "rates for the provision

of cable services," the Second Circuit

nonetheless found that regulation of

charges for downgrading cable services

could be regulated by the states. Even

though downgrading services is far more

plausibly within the scope of

"provision" than late charges are within

the scope of "interest," the Second

Circuit applied the correct standard for

preemption analysis, stating:

Where there are persuasive indicia

that Congress intended exclusive

federal regulation of the sphere in

question, then the state act cannot

stand . . . [Citations Omitted] .

- Absent such an intent, the state

rule will only fall if it actually

conflicts with the federal law.

954 F.2d at 95 (emphasis added). After

finding no evidence of a broad

preemptive intent in the language or

legislative history of the cable

-34-

statute, the Second Circuit stopped and

found there was no preemption. By

contrast, the First Circuit continued

its analysis through a discussion of

marginally relevant state and federal

usury cases after finding the statute

and legislative history "inconclusive."

This Court should grant the Petition for

Certiorari to prevent other courts from

following the First Circuit’s approach

to preemption analysis.

IV. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S HOLDING IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT AND OF OTHER CIRCUITS AS

TO THE PREEMPTIVE SCOPE OF THE

NATIONAL BANK ACT.

The First Circuit’s finding of

preemption conflicts with the long line

of cases upholding dual state and

federal regulation of National Banks.

The §85 preemption of state law as

-35-

applied to National Banks should, if

different, be broader than the §521

preemption of state law applied to state

banks, given that National Banks, but

not state banks, are "national

favorites." App. C- 59. The breadth of

the First Circuit’s preemptive holding,

if applied to National Banks, would

conflict with other Circuit’s analyses.

A_ fortiori, the direct holding with

respect to state-chartered banks

conflicts with other Circuits.

The First Circuit gave insufficient

weight to the rule that National Banks

are, absent a conflict, subject to state

laws: "This court has often pointed out

that National Banks are subject to state

laws, unless those laws infringe the

national bank laws or impose an undue

burden on the performance of the bank’s

-36-

functions." s atio ank v.

Luckett, 321 U.S. 233, 248 (1944)

(upholding a state escheat statute

applied to a national bank). See also,

U.S. v. Philadelphia National Bank, 374

U.S. 321, 328 (1963); Franklin National

Bank v. New York, 347 U.S. 373, 378, n.7

(1954); Daggs v. Phoenix National Bank,

177 U.S. 549 (1900). ~° Having made no

finding of any actual conflict with

federal law, the court should have

followed the general principle of

coexistence with state law laid out in

the long line of National Bank cases.

The court’s decision conflicts with

those of other circuits that have

analyzed alleged preemption of state

consumer protection statutes under the

National Bank Act. See e.g., National

State Bank v. Long, 630 F.2d 981 (3d

-37-

Cir. 1980) (state anti-redlining statute

not preempted; enforcement

responsibility assigned to Comptroller

of Currency); State of North Dakota v

Merchants National Bank and Trust Co.,

634 F.2d 368 (8th Cir. 1980) (en banc)

(very narrowly limiting preemption of

state unfair competition law to the area

where it directly conflicted with the

authority of the O.C.C.).

The First Circuit stands in direct

opposition to the Supreme Court of

California which held that California’s

unconscionability law could restrict

charges for bounced checks -- charges

analogous to late fees, but ina

deposit, rather than loan, context. The

court found that the restrictions

neither conflicted with nor frustrated

the purpose of the National Bank Act or

DIDA and were not preempted. Perdue v.

-38-

Crocker National Bank, 702 P.2a 503,

520-24 (Cal. 1985), appeal dismissed,

475 U.S. 1001 (1986).

The First Circuit does, ina limited

way, follow the coexistence rule in

looking to Delaware for the definition

of "interest." Delaware explicitly

allows late charges "as ‘Sitkeens.°

However, turning to Delaware to

determine the preemptive scope of §521

begs the question of whether Congress

intended to preempt late charge

regulation. Only if Congress meant to

preempt late charge restrictions would a

§521 analysis then turn to the late

Charge laws of the bank’s home state.

Certainly, Congress did not intend to

give each bank’s home state the ability

to control Congress’ preemptive intent

by controlling the definition of

interest.

-39-

In First National Bank v. Dickinson,

396 U.S. 122 (1969), this Court

confronted the issue whether federal or

state law defined the term "branch" in

the National Bank Act. This Court

recognized that to permit state law to

define the federal term "branch" would

"make them the sole judges of their own

powers" and that Congress "did not

intend such an improbable result." 396

U.S. at 133-34.

That Congress did not specifically

define "interest" in §521 does not mean

it delegated the definitional role to

the states. Congress did not intend for

one state, by a unique definition of the

term "interest" that includes

delinquency charges and attorneys’ fees

for collection efforts, to preempt the

consumer protection laws of all other

-40-

states. In fact, such a broad

delegation would be "improbable." As

noted by the district court, "Delaware

does not enact law on behalf of

Congress." App. C- 59, 60.

Marquette National Bank v. First of

Omaha Service Corp., 439 U.S. 299

(1978), is not to the contrary --

Marquette simply construes the language

Of §85 which allows a National bank to

choose the interest rate allowed by its

howe state. Marquette does not define

the types of loan regulation within the

preemptive scope of §85. Marquette

preemption is limited factually to

numerical interest rates, with no

mention of the exportation of other

credit card terms, such as late

charges. 22/ This petition should be

granted to properly define the scope of

this Court’s holding in Marquette.

20/ The District Court noted that

"Marquette’s discussion of the National

Bank Act does not teach a general

dynamic of ever-expanding preemption or

a Congressional strategy of uniform

credit regulation which extends

irresistibly to displace all state

restrictions on state banks." App. C -

72. The deference that the First

Circuit gave to unofficial informal

opinion letters from the Office of the

Comptroller of the Currency and the

Federal Home Loan Bank Board (App. A -

52), that expand the preeemptive scope

of Marquette, the National Bank Act, and

DIDA, is not justified under Chevron

U.S.A., Inc. v. Natural Resources

Defense Council, Inc., 467 U.S. 837

(1984). Deference is not warranted

when, as here, the language of the

statute is clear and there is no

discernible Congressional intent to

preempt. See, e.g., Demarest v.

Manspeaker, 111 S.Ct. 599, 603 (1991).

Perdue, supra, 707 P.2d at 519-520.

-42-

V. THE FIRST CIRCUIT’S

CONSTRUCTION OF SECTION 521 OF

DIDA, TO INCLUDE LATE CHARGES

WITHIN THE TERM "INTEREST,"

CONFLICTS WITH THE TRUTH-IN-LENDING

ACT AND OTHER RELEVANT AUTHORITY.

Even if the Court of Appeals’ broad

preemption logic were correct as applied

to other incidental loan charges which

might fairly be viewed as "interest," it

would not be correct as applied to late

charges. Late charges are not

"interest" and regulation of them is not

preempted by section 521. They are not

“compensation for the use or forbearance

of borrowed money", especiaily in credit

card accounts. Greenwood continues to

receive interest on its past due

accounts, in addition to late charges.

Late charges are contingent on lateness

of payment, not on the making of the

loan itself, and are therefore not to be

included in evaluating the interest rate

of the loan.

-43-

The federal Truth in Lending Act

("TILA"), 15 U.S.C. 1601 et seg.,

authoritatively defines consumer credit

loan terms. Central to TILA is the

"Finance Charge" which is a

comprehensive economic measure of the

borrower’s costs of credit. The Finance

Charge is defined as:

- « »- the sum of all charges,

payable directly or indirectly by

the person to whom the credit is

extended, and imposed directly or

indirectly by the creditor as an

incident to the extension of credit

- « « « Examples of charges which

are included in the finance charge

include...(1) Interest....

15 U.S.C.§ 1605(a) (emphasis added).

"Finance charge" is a broader definition

of the costs of credit than the

traditional term "interest." Interest

is only one component of the Finance

Charge. Courts interpreting usury laws

have often construed "interest" broadly

to resemble Finance Charge. The First

-44-

Circuit mistakenly adopted such a broad

construction to define the scope of §521

preemption.

Even a Finance Charge analysis would

exclude late charges. Late charges,

unlike interest, are not imposed

"incident to the extension of credit";

rather they are imposed as a result of a

late payment. The regulations

implementing the Truth in Lending Act

explicitly exclude late charges from the

computation of "Finance Charge." 12

C.F.R. §226.4(c) (2). These regulations

are completely consistent with the

Congressional definition of "Finance

Charge." Indeed, Congress was well

aware of the recognized commercial

distinction between finance charges

incident to the extension of credit and

delinquency charges. See Johnson v.

-45-

McCracken-Sturman Ford, Inc. 527 F.2d

257, 265-66 (3d Cir. 1975).

The Senate Report on DIDA

specifically incorporated TILA

terminology in its explication of §501,

a sister provision to §521. S. Rep. No.

368, 96th Cong., list Sess. 19 (1979)

("We intend to exempt only those

limitations that are included in the

annual percentage rate") (emphasis

added). In addition, Congress amended

portions of TILA as part of the DIDA

package. While TILA is not specifically

cited in the legislative history of §521

per se, to read DIDA without reference

to TILA "is to read it out of the

context in which Congress enacted it."

Cf. Allen v. Grand Central Aircraft

Co 347 U.S. 535, 541 (1954).

-46-

| ial

The common law points to the same

conclusion that late charges are not

interest. At common law, late fees

typically were considered a form of

contractual liquidated damages. The

primary treatises, digests and case

books on damages or on contracts have

consistently treated liquidated damages,

such as late fees, as a contract remedy

distinct from "interest." See, e.g.,

Field, The Law of Damages Ch. 9 & §22

(1876); Williston, Contracts §§ 769-792

(1920) and § 781 (3d ed.); Corbin,

Contracts § 1058; Sedgewick, Damages §§

389-427 (9th ed. 1912); ALI, Restatement

of Contracts § 339; U.C.C. § 2-718

(1983). The California Supreme Court

succinctly described the differences in

Garrett v. Coast and Southern Federal

Savings and Loan Ass’n, 511 P.2d 1197

(Cal. 1973), where it noted:

-47-

The fundamental difference between

interest and penalty charges is that

interest is a measure of

compensation to which an obligee is

entitled while a penalty is punitive

in character. A penalty provision

operates to compel performance of an

act and usually becomes effective

only in the event of default upon

which a forfeiture is compelled

without regard to the actual damages

sustained by the party aggrieved by

the breach.

se £ 8 &.S

We are compelled to conclude that a

charge for the late payment of a

loan installment which is measured

against the unpaid balance of the

loan must be deemed to be punitive

in character. It is an attempt to

coerce timely payment by a

forfeiture which is not reasonably

calculated to merely compensate the

injured lender.

at 1202-1203 (citations omitted).

also Beasley v. Wells Fargo Bank,

ao, BUDE. Greenwood’s late charges

are

not even measured against the unpaid

balance -- they are a flat penalty

charge.

-48-

a

Late charges are not "interest."

Even under the First Circuit’s erroneous

approach to measuring the scope of §521

preemption, the court should not have

preempted the Massachusetts prohibition

of credit card late charges.

CONCLUSION

For the reasons set forth above, the

petition for a writ of certiorari should

be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

SCOTT HARSHBARGER

ATTORNEY GENERAL

Ernest L. Sarason, Jr.*

William N. Brownsberger

Assistant Attorneys General

Public Protection Bureau

One Ashburton Place

Boston, Massachusetts 02108

(617) 727-2200

*Counsel of Record

-49-

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.