Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. v. Jarillas

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U. 5, }

92-459 FILED

No. 92- SEP 14 1992

mastanatiidibad CLERK

- a

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.,

. Petitioners,

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, Individually,

as Personal Representative of

the Estate of Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as

Natural Tutrix of Their Minor Children,

= Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT B, DEANE

Counsel of Record

KENNETH J. SERVAY

DOUGLAS L. GRUNDMEYER

__CHAFFE, MCCALL, PHILLIPs,

TOLER & SARPY

2300 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, LA 70163-2300

(504) 585-7000

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and

September 14, 1992 Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd.

WILSON - EPEes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 2000!

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Does the federal common law of foreign relations,

specifically the act of state doctrine, authorize removal of

a state court action as a preemptive federal question not-

withstanding the “well pleaded complaint” rule?

2. Can a plaintiff file suit in state court to invalidate

an official act of the Government of the Philippines in its

own territory and evade federal jurisdiction by omitting

from its pleadings the foreign sovereign’s essential role

in the case?

3. Did the Fifth Circuit err in remanding to state

court a suit seeking to invalidate an official act of the

Government of the Philippines in its own territory?

4. Did the Fifth Circuit violate this Court’s controlling

jurisprudence by dismissing a federal declaratory judg-

ment action because of a parallel proceeding in a state

court, where the dismissal and remand strip petitioners of

access to the fundamental federal maritime doctrine of

forum non conveniens?

ii

LIST OF INTERESTED PERSONS AND

RULE 29.1 NOTATION

The parties to the proceeding below were petitioners—

Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd.

—and respondent, Eufemia R. Jarillas, individually, as

personal representative of the Estate of Leopoldo L.

Jarillas, and as natural tutrix of their minor children.

Petitioners certify that they have no parent or sub-

sidiary companies to be listed under this Court’s Rule

29.1.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

LIST OF PARTIES AND RULE 29.1 NOTATION

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES...

OPINIONS BELOW .....

nl, SS ES

STATUTES INVOLVED...

STATEMENT OF THE CASE _.

I

B. The District Court Proceedings

C. Proceedings Before the Fifth Circuit .

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ___

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DI-

RECTLY CONTRAVENES THIS COURT'S

JURISPRUDENCE ESTABLISHING THE

COMPLETE PREEMPTION OF THE FED.-

ERAL ACT OF STATE DOCTRINE

A. The Federal Act of State Doctrine Raises a

Preemptive Federal Question That Author-

izes Federal Question Removal Jurisdiction

Notwithstanding the “Well Pleaded Com-

oe Sw SRS eae ee

B. A Plaintiff Suing in State Court to Set Aside

a Valid Settlement Officially Approved by

the Government of the Philippines in Its

Own Territory Cannot Evade Federal Ques-

tion Jurisdiction and the Act of State Doc-

trine by Artful Pleading

(iii)

Page

oocrtlr/F fF

pend

11

11

11

14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

II. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DISMISSAL OF PE-

TITIONERS’ PARALLEL FEDERAL DE-

CLARATORY JUDGMENT ACTION CON-

TRAVENES THIS COURT’S MANDATE TO

MAINTAIN SUCH ACTIONS WHERE STATE

COURTS HAVE REFUSED TO PROTECT A

PARTY’S FEDERAL RIGHTS ............000000.........

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Dismissal Usurps the Dis-

trict Court’s Discretion and Contravenes the

Standards of Brillhart v. Excess Insurance

Co. and Subsequent Decisions of this Court....

B. Petitioners Have Been Stripped of a Funda-

mental Defense by Louisiana’s Refusal to

Recognize the Doctrine of Forum Non Con-

veniens in Maritime Cases ....................2....0...-.

C. The Fifth Circuit’s Order Remanding This

Maritime Cause of Action to the Court of A

State That Statutorily Denies Application of

the Doctrine of Forum Non Conveniens De-

stroys the Uniformity of Federal Maritime

CONCLUSION ............... LIISA SED on ESOT SUT

Page

16

17

20

22

25

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. v. Jarillas, 963 F.2d 806

Coe Cy FI ii a ee passim

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398

a een OPENS ME ON NR Pe en il 11

Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972) .. 21

Brillhart v. Excess Insurance Co., 316 U.S. 491

| TY SEM AE LUN Ro ice ee —=.passim

Camejo v. Ocean Drilling & Exploration, 838 F.2d

omre (oon Ce, POR) ee. 23

Canada Malting Co. v. Paterson Co., 285 U.S. 413

CIR cetsacissices teil th oe eco 20

Carnival Cruise Lines v. Shute, 111 S.Ct. 1522

OED hevicicicticcsnisseaec ee: Tr ae ROR OMe SPE, AE 21

Caterpillar Inc. v. Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987),

quoting Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v.

Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 107 S.Ct. 1542, 95 L.Ed.2d

Oe CRE iden ee eee een 12

Chick Kam Choo v. Exxon, 486 U.S. 140 (1988) __. 23

Christianson v. Colt Industries, 486 U.S. 800

Fa, Ea MENS SANA man Ey clone tiny ty Clos, ae 14

Deford v. Soo Line Railroad Co., 867 F.2d 1080 d

(8th Cir.), cert. denied, 492 U.S. 927 (1989) ..12, 13, 15

Federated Department Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452

ims Re RU ko eee 14

Fisher v. White, 715 F.Supp. 37 (E.D.N.Y. 1989) .. 14

ern California, 463 U.S. 1 | PE eee aaa OS 14

Garrett v. Moore-McCormack Co., Inc., 317 US.

wee (1942) .................... ME eR I Or, 1 WA 22

Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 20GT? ......... 20

Ikospentakis v. Thalassic Steamship Agency, 915

We 296 (0 Cle, 1000) ie oe: 23

Illinois v. City of Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972). 13

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique,

Oe Ces GW CI oor veissiscu ee ee 22

Ass’n, 635 F.2d 797 (10th Cir. 1980), cert. de-

nied, 451 U.S. 1018 (1981)... eee 14

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Maria Victoria Naviera, S.A. v. Cementos Del

Valle, S.A., 759 F.2d 1027 (2d Cir. 1985) ............. 23

Miller v. American Dredging Co., 595 So.2d 615

(La. 1992), petition for writ filed sub nom.

American Dredging Co. v. Miller, No. 91-1950,

60 U.S.L.W. 3844 (U.S. May 29, 1992) .............. §, 21

~ Panama Railroad Co. v. Johnson, 264 U.S. 375

G RUINED isicscanedscdcanccennicocsnanedacasspuummiarsniicmbanaae iets neers 22

Piper Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981).. 20, 21,

24

Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346 U.S. 406 (1953) .. 22

Provident Tradesmens Bank & Trust Co. v.

Patterson, 390 U.S. 102 (1968) ........0.......... 16, 17, 18, 19

Singalas v. Lido Maritime, Inc., 776 F.2d 1512

Obs: he) Ae | PR ee io & 23

The Belgenland, 114 U.S. 355 (1885) —........000000..... 20

Underhill v. Hernandez, 168 U.S. 250 (1897) ........ 11

Van Camp v. AT&T Information Systems, 963 F.2d

R1Q CO Gee: TOD wivcsvccdecictscnccccceeeeee 12, 15

Will v. Calvert Fire Insurance Co., 437 U.S. 655

CRI isn ak cc ee 16, 17, 18, 19

Zipfel v. Haliburton Co., 832 F.2d 1477 (9th Cir.

1987), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 1054 (1988) _............ 23

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS, STATUTES,

RULES

rk Be” eae TO. Speen nner n eens: 3, 11

is Se RR SG Reman S. 3,11

oh Re a ) Ne rire 3, 11,22

ts Gs ee | Seater our wae. 3

if Es SO , % SeMppeRe en NeIaT felenrenees parts 3, 22

Bik Te S| 1S ) nT mS Uue a 3

Bis kk & SM MNeNR DEIR Reta Teter tran bcs 3

I TEs Fe wis civkicsiciscesnatcictivlecmsiidagieaeenaaeeenel 2,9,13

Lik Fl SOO RUN RATEN L ME NRCS TI NUIA 2,3

LR ee & | FONE Canina ms cece. ues 2

28 U.S.C. §§ 1441 (a), (b), and (c) ............. ane 3, 8

ge Tae ft) ewe, ne eee 3

28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-2202 .............. sdtiisbraa sical aieadiblaice 3

OB UR 6 Ge ekskiceiicktemeiiinnenieecuseaeeal passim

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

La. Code Civ. Proc. art.123.... tice 4

La. Code Civ. Proc. art. 123(C)...........000022 21

Rule 13.1, Supreme Couit of the United States _. 3

Rule 29.1, Supreme Court of the United States __. ii

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Wright, Miller & Cooper, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND

PROCEDURE § 3722, at 276 (1985) psereueuiecaal 13

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 92- ———

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.,

‘ Petitioners,

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, Individually,

as Personal Representative of

the Estate of Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as

Natural Tutrix of Their Minor Children,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioners, Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas

Maritime, Ltd., respectfully ask this Court to grant

certiorari to review the judgment and opinion of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit

entered in consolidated civil proceedings on June 24, 1992.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fifth Cir-

cuit, which is reported at 963 F.2d 806, is reprinted in

the appendix hereto, pp. la-7a, infra.

The minute entries and judgments of the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana that

<i a

2

were the subject of the appeal are unpublished and are

likewise reprinted in the appendix at 8a-19a, infra.

JURISDICTION

Respondent Eufemia R. Jarillas filed suit on August 30,

1989 in the 29th Judicial District Court, -Parish of St.

Charles, State of Louisiana, alleging claims under the

Jones Act and the general maritime law of the United

States resulting from the death of her husband, a Filipino

seaman, aboard a foreign flag vessel on the High Seas

(Appendix, 22a-32a). Respondent additionally sought to

invalidate a prior settlement of her claims and to recover

punitive damages against petitioners on allegations of

duress, deception, and coercion in signing the release. Jd.

Respondent’s “Receipt and Release” is reprinted in the

appendix hereto at 33a-37a, infra.

Invoking the federal removal statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1441,

and federal question jurisdiction, 28 U.S.C. § 1331, peti-

tioners removed respondent’s state court lawsuit on Sep-

tember 11, 1989 to the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Louisiana (Appendix, 38a-40a).

On the same day, petitioners filed a complaint for declara-

tory relief in federal district court, invoking federal ques-

tion jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1331, as well as

admiralty jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1333 (Appendix,

41a-47a). In an order entered on September 22, 1989, the

district court consolidated respondent’s removed action

and petitioners’ declaratory judgment action.

In a minute entry entered on September 14, 1990

( Appendix, 10a-12a), the district court denied respondent’s

motions to dismiss and remand. By minute entry entered

on March 14, 1991 (Appendix 13a-19a), after considering

the criteria established by this Court in Brillhart v. Ex-

cess Insurance Co., 316 U.S. 491 (1942), the district

court maintained its jurisdiction over the declaratory

judgment action and the removed action and dismissed

3

them on forum non conveniens grounds in favor of a

proceeding in the Philippines. In accordance with that

order, the court thereafter rendered judgments entered

on March 29, 1991, dismissing the consolidated actions

(Appendix, 8a-9a).

On April 15, 1991, respondent filed a notice of appeal

under 28 U.S.C. § 1291. The United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Fifth Circuit rendered its judgment on

June 24, 1992, reversing the district court’s judgment.

Both the removed action and the suit for declaratory

judgment were remanded to the district court with in-

structions to remand respondent’s suit to state court and

to dismiss the petitioners’ declaratory judgment action

(Appendix, la-7a). After obtaining an extension of

time, petitioners timely filed a petition for rehearing and

a suggestion for rehearing en banc on July 22,1992. The

court of appeals denied both requests on August 6, 1992

(Appendix, 20a-21a).

On August 7, 1992, petitioners filed a motion to stay the

mandate of the Fifth Circuit’s judgment in order to pre-

pare and file this petition for a writ of certiorari in this

Court before September 17, 1992. On August 19, 1992,

the Fifth Circuit granted a Stay, and petitioners now

invoke the jurisdiction of this Court under 28 U.S.C.

$ 1254(1), having filed their petition according to the

conditions of the Fifth Circuit’s order and within the time

period provided by 28 U.S.C. § 2101(c) and this Court’s

Rule 13.1.

STATUTES INVOLVED

The following provisions of the Constitution of the

United States are implicated in this case: U.S. Const. art.

I, § 8, els. 3 and 10; art. III, s 2, cl. 1; and art. VI, el. 2

(the Supremacy Clause). The following federal statutes

are likewise implicated: (1) 28 U.S.C. § 1381: (2) 28

U.S.C. § 1833; (3) 28 U.S.C. $1441l(a), (b), and (ce):

and (4) 28 U.S.C. §§ 2201-2202. This case further im-

4

plicates the following state statute: La. Code Civ. Proc.

art. 123. The full texts of these provisions are set forth_

in the appendix, 61la-65a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Preface

This case raises important federal questions under the

act of state doctrine, the removal statute, the declaratory

judgment statute, and the maritime doctrine of forwm non

conveniens that warrant this Court’s review. The issues

presented affect the public rights of foreign nations and

their citizens, as well as the private rights of these liti-

gants as defined by their own government. A citizen of

the Republic of the Philippines has filed suit in Louisiana

state court to invalidate a death claim settlement, while

neglecting to plead that the settlement was executed in

the Philippines and expressly approved through an official

public act of an agency of the Philippine Government ex-

ercising its authority in its own territory and according

to its own law. Relying on the “well pleaded complaint”

rule, the Fifth Circuit reversed the district court’s ex-

press holding that plaintiff could not avoid the federal

“act of state” doctrine and federal removal jurisdiction

by omitting these crucial details from her state court pe-

tition. Thus, this case questions whether the federal com-

mon law of foreign relations, specifically the act of state

doctrine, completely preempts state law and authorizes re-

moval under federal question jurisdiction notwithstanding

the “well pleaded complaint” rule. It likewise questions

whether a plaintiff can evade federal jurisdiction by

neglecting, through artful pleading, to mention the Philip-

pine Government’s official approval of the settlement she

is asking the state court to nullify.

This petition further raises far-reaching questions con-

cerning the scope of federal declaratory judgment actions

and the uniformity of federal maritime law, particularly

the application of the doctrine of forwm non conveniens.

5

The district court maintained jurisdiction over petition-

ers’ parallel declaratory judgment action to uphold the

settlement agreement, consolidating it with the removal

action and dismissing the case under the maritime doc-

trine of forum non conveniens. The district court recog-

nized that petitioners’ right to assert the federal mari-

time doctrine of forum non conveniens would be denied

by the Louisiana state courts pursuart to a state statute.'

However, the Fifth Circuit reversed, reasoning that the

forum non conveniens question could be litigated in state

court, despite express state law to the contrary. In so

holding, the Fifth Circuit usurped the district court’s

discretion in deciding whether to entertain declaratory

judgment actions and ignored this Court’s Brillhart man-

date, which supports the district court’s action in this

case. In view of the important federal questions pre-

sented, inci;ding the impact of this case on United States

foreign relations law, petitioners submit that this Court

should grant a writ of certiorari.

B. The District Court Proceedings

Respondent is the widow of Leopoldo Jarillas, who was

employed as a seaman on board the M/V ALFA, a Cypriot

flag vessel. Petitioner Aquafaith, a Cypriot corporation,

is the owner of the vessel. Petitioner Seven Seas, a Brit-

ish corporation, is the vessel operator’s London agent.

On November 16, 1988, the ALFA was involved in a col-

lision in the Baltic Sea. Leopoldo Jarillas disappeared

and is now presumed dead.

Decedent was a citizen and resident of the Philippines,

as are his wife and children. He was employed aboard

1 La. Code Civ. P. art. 123 (Appendix, 65a); Miller v. American

Dredging Co., 595 So2d 615 (La. 1992). A _ separate petition

for certiorari challenging Louisiana’s defiant refusal to apply forum

non conveniens in state-filed maritime cases is now pending in this

Court in the matter entitled American Dredging Co. v. Miller, No.

91-1950, 60 U.S.L.W. 3844 (U.S. May 29, 1992). Petitioners re-

spectfully suggest that this Court should grant writs in this case as

well as in Miller to address this recurring issue and to correct

Louisiana’s aberration on the uniformity of maritime law.

6

the ALFA under a standard form contract of the Philip-

pine Overseas Employment Administration (“POEA”’),

which he executed in the Philippines on July 7, 1988. His

contract expressly provided th.t the POEA and the Philip-

pine Courts of Justice wouid have exclusive jurisdiction

over all disputes arising out of the contract. In accord-

ance with Philippine law, decedent’s employment contract

was filed with and approved by the POEA.

The POEA, an agency of the Philippine government, is

charged with overseeing the employment of Filipinos by

foreign entities. Two of its functions are to establish the

compensation owed by the employer in the case of injury

to or death of a Filipino seaman and to advise and pro-

tect the interests of Filipino employees or their survivors

concerning serious employment-related issues. In addition

to authorizing the standard form contract for the employ-

ment of seamen, the POEA reviews the settlement of

claims by Filipino seamen/employees in the Philippines

and determines whether to approve them.

In January 1989, a representative of petitioners ap-

proached respondent and advised her that they were pre-

pared to settle any claims arising from the death of her

husband by paying an amount greater than the benefits

required under the POEA contract, rules, and regulations.

On January 9, 1989, respondent, accompanied by her

uncle and an attorney representing petitioners, appeared

in the POEA offices in Metro Manila before Maria Lourdes

Cortez, a Senior Overseas Employment Officer of the

POEA. Respondent voluntarily agreed to settle all claims

for the sum of P220,000 Philippine pesos. Because POEA

regulations and the approved contract required a death

benefit of P170,000, the agreed upon sum was P50,000

above the legally mandated death benefits. The settlement

released petitioners and anyone else connected with the

M/V ALFA-from any further potential liability arising

from the death of seaman Jarillas. This agreement was

memorialized in a written receipt and release signed by

respondent (Appendix, 33a-37a).

7

As part of the receipt and release, Mrs. Jarillas re-

sponded to several questions in her own handwriting. She

acknowledged: (1) that she had read the settlement pa-

pers; (2) that she understood she was signing a receipt

and release; (3) that she understood that signing the

release settled all claims arising out of the death of her

husband; and (4) that she had received 220,000 Philip-

pine pesos in settlement of all claims (Appendix, 34a-35a).

Her signature was notarized by the Notary Public of the

POEA and was witnessed and accepted for filing by

Maria Lourdes Cortez, in her capacity as the Overseas

Employment Officer of the POFA. Jd.

Jose S. Brillantes, the Philippine Government Labor

Attache to the United States and the official POEA rep-

resentative in the United States, testified by deposition

in this case that the POFRA is a governmental agency un-

der the Department of Labor of the Philippines that has

several functions, including promoting the overseas em-

ployment of Philippine workers and protecting such

workers’ interests. It has established rules and regula-

tions for the employment of Philippine workers and in-

sures that the contract of employment between the for-

eign employer and the worker conforms to minimum

POEA standards. It adjudicates disputes between Philip-

pine workers and their overseas employers and assists

seamen in resolving and settling claims with their em-

ployers. He testified that the signature of the Senior

Overseas Employment Officer of the POEA and the filing

of the document with the POEA constituted the POERA’s

approval of the receipt and release. Any claim concern-

ing the validity of the receipt and release would fall

within the original and exclusive jurisdiction of the POE A.

Furthermore, the POEA regards any foreign court’s con-

sideration of a claim brought by a Philippine worker

against his foreign employer as undermining the POEA’s

execution of the Philippine government’s policy.

In this particular case, the POEA has officially declared

and confirmed that the death compensation of Leopoldo

8

Jarillas was paid to his surviving spouse, Eufemia Jarillas,

on January 9, 1989 before Lourdes M. Cortez, Senior

Overseas Employment Officer of the Welfare and Em-

ployment Office of the POEA, and that the copy of the

worldwide receipt and release executed by Mrs. Eufemia

Jarillas is on file with the POEA. See sworn statement

of Crescencio M. Siddayao, Deputy Administrator for

Employment and Welfare, reprinted at 48a-51la, below.

As part of its function to conciliate the claims of seamen

and their beneficiaries against their employers and agents,

the POEA considers such a settlement agreed upon before

a POEFA officer to be valid and binding. 7d. Mr. Siddayao

declares, ‘As far as this Administration [the POEA] is

concerned, the settlement of the case of A/B Jarillas be-

fore the WEO [the Welfare and Employment Office of

the POEA] is considered closed and terminated.” Jd. Mr.

Siddayao further notes that in Executive Order No. 247,

which is entitled “Reorganizing the Philippine Overseas

Employment Administration and For Other Purposes,”

Corazon C. Aquino, then President of the Philippines, or-

dered the POEA to exercise original and exclusive juris-

diction to hear claims arising out of the employer-em-

ployee relationship involving overseas Filipino workers.

Id. Executive Order No. 247 attached to the Siddayao

affidavit is reprinted in the appendix hereto, at 54a-60a,

infra.

Despite her Philippine government approved settlement,

Mrs. Jarillas retained Louisiana counsel and brought suit

on August 30, 1989 in Louisiana state court (Appendix,

22a-32a). In addition to asserting claims under the Jones

Act and the General Maritime Law, she separately al-

leged that the settlement she had confected with petition-

ers was invalid and that she was entitled to punitive

damages because of defendants’ alleged misconduct in co-

ercing her into the settlement. /d.

Petitioners removed respondent’s state court action to

federal court under 28 U.S.C. § 1441(b) and (c), as-

9

serting “federal question” jurisdiction (28 U.S.C. § 1331)

(Appendix, 38a-40a). Respondent was not simply filing a

Jones Act and general maritime law claim under the

“saving to suitors” clause. Rather, she was mounting an

independent attack on the official public act of a foreign

sovereign government by challenging the validity of her

prior settlement executed in the Philippines under the

authority and approval of the Philippine Government.

Thus, the attempted settlement annulment and punitive

damage claims are independent claims governed by the

federal common law of foreign relations—in particular,

the “act of state” doctrine—and present a separate and

independent federal question supporting removal. Peti-

tioners also filed a declaratory judgment action based on

federal question and admiralty jurisdiction, seeking a

declaration that the Philippine settlement was valid and

that it precluded respondent from bringing her state court

action (Appendix, 41a-47a). The district court consoli-

dated the two actions.

Respondent filed motions to dismiss the declaratory

judgment action and to remand the removed action, al-

leging that the district court lacked subject-matter juris-

diction. In opposition, petitioners produced the foregoing

evidence establishing, inter alia, that the Philippine Gov-

ernment closely regulated the employment of Filipino sea-

men and the settlement of their claims and that the re-

spondent’s government approved settlement consummated

in the Philippines under the authority of the POEA was

final and binding under Philippine law.

The district court denied respondent’s motions, finding

that her claims to invalidate the release and for punitive

damages were separate and independent from the wrong-

ful death claims (Appendix, 10a-12a). Because the claims

concerning the settlement required the court to review

the regulatory process and official acts of a foreign govern-

ment within its own territory, they invoked federal juris-

diction and were properly before the court (id.).

10

The district court thereafter dismissed both consolidated

actions on grounds of forum non conveniens, finding that

Philippine law controlled the validity of the release and

the employment contract of decedent and that all relevant

factors militated in favor of a Philippine forum. The dis-

trict court conditioned its dismissal on petitioners’ ap-

pearance and cooperation in the appropriate Philippine

forum. | Appendix, 13a-19a).

C. Proceedings Before the Fifth Circuit

On respondent’s appeal from the district court’s judg-

ments, the Fifth Circuit reversed and remanded. Aqua-

faith Shipping, Ltd. v. Jarillas, 963 F.2d 806 (5th Cir.

1992), reprinted at la-7a, below. The appellate court

vacated the forum non conveniens dismissal and ordered

the district court to remand the removed action to state

court and to dismiss the declaratory judgment action

(Appendix, 6a-7a).

Without reaching petitioners’ arguments based on the

federal common law of foreign relations and the act of

state doctrine, the court of appeals concluded that the

“well pleaded complaint” rule barred removal of the state

court action, because respondent’s original petition failed

to state that the Philippine Government had approved the

settlement. According to the Fifth Circuit, respondent’s

pleadings in state court had invoked no federal question,

and petitioners alone had raised federal law as a matter

of defense. (Appendix, at 4a-6a).

Upon concluding that the case should have been re-

manded to state court, the court of appeals next held that

the district court should have dismissed petitioners’ declar-

atory judgment action. Citing this Court’s opinion in

Brillhart v. Excess Insurance Co., 316 U.S. 491 (1942),

the Fifth Circuit concluded that allowing the federal court

action to continue would interfere with a parallel action

in a state court that was capable of resolving the dispute.

CC

11

The Fifth Circuit further observed, “The state court might

not apply the same doctrine of forum non conveniens as a

federal court would, but this possibility does not change

our result.” /d., at 6a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION DIRECTLY

CONTRAVENES THIS COURT’S JURISPRUDENCE

ESTABLISHING THE COMPLETE PREEMPTION

OF THE FEDERAL ACT OF STATE DOCTRINE

A. The Federal Act of State Doctrine Raises a Pre-

emptive Federal Question That Authorizes Federal

Question Removal Jurisdiction Notwithstanding the

“Well Pleaded Complaint” Rule

In Benco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398

(19641, this Court held that the federal common law of

foreign relations, in particular, the “act of state doctrine,”

completely preempts state law. According to this centuries

old doctrine, as defined in Underhill v. Hernandez, 168

U.S. 250, 252 (1897),

very sovereign state is bound to respect the inde-

pendence of every other sovereign state, and the

courts of one country will not sit in judgment on the

acts of the government of another done within its

own territory.

As this Court observed in Sabbatino, the act of state

doctrine has “ ‘constitutional’ underpinnings.” 376 U.S.

at 423. ““|T]he problems involved are uniquely federal in

nature,” and “the scope of the act of state doctrine must

be determined according to federal law.” 376 U.S. at 424

and 427 (emphasis added). Among the constitutional pro-

visions this Court cited in Sabbatino in support of this

doctrine and this country’s “desire to give matters of

international significance to the jurisdiction of federal

institutions” are U.S. Const., art I, § 8, els. 3 and 10 and

art. III, $2, reprinted in the appendix hereto at 61a.

12

As a matter of paramount federal international rela-

tions law, the act of state doctrine prohibits all courts in

the United States from questioning the validity of an act

of a foreign government undertaken within its own terri-

tory. The Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this case eviscerates

this Court’s complete “preemption” exception and subverts

federal international relations policy by allowing private

litigants to file suit in a state court to collaterally attack

a release executed in a foreign nation and officially ap-

proved and filed by the public act of a foreign govern-

mental agency in the exercise of its governmental au-

thority.

In holding that the “well pleaded complaint” rule

foreclosed petitioners from removing this case, the Fifth

Circuit further misapplied the law and reached a result

directly contrary to decisions of this Court and other

circuit courts. The allegations of a plaintiff’s compaint

do not govern when the controlling federal law raised as

a defense completely supplants state law and forms the

basis for removal judisdiction. E.g., Caterpillar Inc. v.

Williams, 482 U.S. 386 (1987); Van Camp v. AT&T In-

formation Systems, 963 F.2d 119 (6th Cir. 1992) ; Deford

v. Soo Line Railroad Co., 867 F.2d 1080, 1084 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 492 U.S. 927 (1989).

In Caterpillar, this Court found that even though a fed-

eral defense usually does not support removal, such is not

the case where ‘the preemptive force of a statute is so

‘extraordinary’ that it ‘converts an ordinary state common-

law complaint into one stating a federal claim for

purposes of the well pleaded complaint rule.’” Jd., 482

U.S. at 393, quoting Metropolitan Life Insurance Co. v.

Taylor, 481 U.S. 58, 65, 107 S.Ct. 1542, 95 L.Ed.2d 55

(1987).

In Van Camp, plaintiff’s complaint alleged sex and age

discrimination claims under state law and made no men-

tion of any federal claim. 963 F.2d at 120-21. AT&T

ee

13

removed, asserting that plaintiff’s purported state claims

were exclusively governed by ERISA. The Sixth Circuit

agreed that removal was proper: “When this exception to

the well-pleaded complaint rule—the ‘complete-preemption

doctrine’—applies, a complaint, though on its face set-

ting forth a claim under state law, is, for the purposes of

removal, treated as a federal claim because federal law

displaces any right of action under state law.” 963 F.2d

at 122. Similarly, in Deford, the Eighth Circuit found

that the “complete preemption” exception “prohibits a

plaintiff from defeating removal by failing to plead neces-

sary federal questions in a complaint and allows a defense

of federal preemption as a basis for removal.” 867 F.2d

at 1084.

Thus, jurisprudence from this Court and the federal cir-

cuits has firmly established that, where “complete pre-

emption” is involved, the federal court must look beyond

the allegations of the state court complaint. Plaintiffs

cannot hide behind their incomplete state court allega-

tions. Otherwise, the “complete preemption exception”

would be no exception at all, as plaintiffs could always

subvert important federal law and paramount federal

policy by “artfully” omitting crucial facts to disguise the

nature of their claims. See also Wright, Miller & Cooper,

FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE § 3722 at 276 (1985),

noting that “the plaintiff’s failure to make specific refer-

ence in the complaint to a source of federal law that

clearly is applicable will not prevent removal.”

Furthermore, the “complete preemption doctrine” is not

limited to Congressional statutory enactments. The “fed-

eral common law” likewise can completely preempt so as

to provide a basis for removal. In Illinois v. City of

Milwaukee, 406 U.S. 91 (1972), this Court held that the

“federal common law” regarding pollution of interstate

waterways completely preempted state law and supported

federal question jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1831. 406

U.S. at 99-100, 107 n.9. Citing to Illinois v. Milwaukee,

14

other federal courts have held that “federal common law”

is completely preemptive and provides a basis for federal

question jurisdiction so as to support removal. E.g., Mad-

sen v. Prudential Federal Savings & Loan-Ass’n, 635 F.2d

797, 802 (10th Cir. 1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 1018

(1981); Fisher v. White, 715 F.Supp. 37, 40 (E.D.N.Y.

1989).

This case falls squarely within the federal common law

of foreign relations and the act of state doctrine, which

are fields preempted by federal law. Accordingly, under

this Court’s jurisprudence, this case was removable to

federal court notwithstanding the “well pleaded com-

plaint” rule. This Court should grant a writ to reconcile

the Fifth Circuit’s decision that incorrectly remanded this

case contrary to the prevailing jurisprudence of this and

other federal courts. Unless reconciled, the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s opinion will lead to further distortions in an area

where federal courts must speak with one voice.

B. A Plaintiff Suing in State Court to Set Aside a

Valid Settlement Officially Approved by the Gov-

ernment of the Philippines in Its Own Territory

Cannot Evade Federal Question Jurisdiction and

the Act of State Doctrine by Artful Pleading

This Court has repeatedly recognized that “it is an

independent corollary of the well pleaded complaint rule

that a plaintiff may not defeat removal by omitting to

plead necessary federal] questions in a complaint... .”

Franchise Tax Board of the State of California v. Con-

struction Laborers Vacation Trust for Southern Califor-

nia, 463 U.S. 1, 22 (1983), Christianson v. Colt Indus-

tries, 486 U.S. 800, 809 n.8 (1988); Federated Depart-

ment Stores, Inc. v. Moitie, 452 U.S. 394, 397 n.2 (1981).

This is not a case involving purely private interests

where a plaintiff has simply filed a Jones Act claim in

state court under the “saving to suitors” clause and where

the defendant is first to mention a prior settlement by

15

way of defense to the claim. On the contrary, Mrs. Jaril-

las, a Philippine citizen, affirmatively asked the state

court in her petition to nullify her Philippine Government-

authorized and approved settlement. In so pleading, she

necessarily challenged her own government’s official pub-

lic act within its own sovereign territory and raised a

federal question of United States foreign relations law.

To invalidate that settlement, she necessarily must con-

front the federal act of state doctrine and cannot evade

that inescapable fact by neglecting to plead that she en-

tered into the settlement in the Philippines under the

auspices of the government of that sovereign nation. Had

respondent pleaded all the essential facts relevant to her

claim overtly challenging the prior settlement, including

that the agreement was confected in the Philippines with

the public approval of an officer of the Philippine Govern-

ment, her state court claim clearly would have invoked

the federal common law of foreign relations and the “act

of state’ doctrine—areas of federal law that completely

preempt the field.

The Fifth Circuit’s reliance on the “well pleaded com-

plaint rule” to shield plaintiff’s complaint from federal

jurisdiction under the federal act of state doctrine con-

dones plaintiff’s artful pleading and conflicts with this

Court’s jurisprudence and that of other federal courts

discussed above. This Court has mandated that federal

courts must look behind a plaintiff’s artful, incomplete

allegations and-consider the defendant’s jurisdictional

allegations that the plaintiff “conveniently” has failed to

allege. The state court pleadings in other “complete pre-

emption” cases, such as Van Camp and Deford, discussed

above, no more alleged federal claims than did the peti-

tion filed in state court in this case. Nevertheless, those

courts correctly looked behind plaintiffs’ state court alle-

gations to find federal jurisdiction based on defensive

allegations-of preemption. The district court in the in-

stant case did no more. As the district court in this case

16

correctly recognized, the foreign policy implications of

this case provide even a greater basis for refusing to allow

a plaintiff to artfully evade preemptive federal law and

removal jurisdiction.

If allowed to stand, the decision below authorizes liti-

gants to evade federal jurisdiction and important ques-

tions of public policy merely by refusing to plead the

factual details that invoke important federal interests.

This Court should grant a writ to reconcile the Fifth

Circuit’s erroneous decision with federal law as previously

established by this Court.

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT'S DISMISSAL OF PETI-

TIONERS’ PARALLEL FEDERAL DECLARATORY

JUDGMENT ACTION CONTRAVENES ~ THIS

COURT’S MANDATE TO MAINTAIN SUCH AC-

TIONS WHERE STATE COURTS HAVE REFUSED

TO PROTECT A PARTY’S FEDERAL RIGHTS

The Fifth Circuit’s further error in dismissing peti-

tioners’ federal declaratory judgment action furnishes

equally compelling reasons for granting a writ in this

case. First, the appellate court dismissal undermines this

Court’s decisions in Brillhart v. Excess Insurance Co.,

316 U.S. 491 (1942), Provident Tradesmens Bank &

Trust Co. v. Patterson, 390 U.S. 102 (1968), and Will v.

Calvert Fire Insurance Co., 437 U.S. 655 (1978)—

jurisprudence vesting discretion in the district courts to

entertain declaratory judgment actions. Second, the ap-

pellate court has stripped petitioners of an essential mari-

time legal right by relegating them to a state forum that

defiantly refuses to recognize the fundamental maritime

doctrine of forum non conveniens. Third, the dismissal

destroys the uniformity of maritime law.

17

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Dismissal Usurps the District

Court’s Discretion and Contravenes the Standards

of Brillhart v. Excess Insurance Co. and Subsequent

Decisions of this Court

Petitioners filed a federal declaratory judgment action

based on federal question and admiralty jurisdiction,

seeking a declaration that the receipt and release ap-

proved by the Government of the Philippines was binding

and precluded respondent’s Jones Act and general mari-

time law action. The district court, after considering

whether it should maintain this action under the criteria

enunciated in Brillhart, maintained its jurisdiction to dis-

miss on grounds of forum non conveniens, noting that the

Philippines was the proper forum for this litigation

(Appendix, 13a-19a). The Fifth Circuit, after holding

that Mrs. Jarillas’ lawsuit should be remanded to state

court, held that the forum non conveniens dismissal should

be vacated and that the declaratory judgment should also

be dismissed because “it would be uneconomical as well as

vexatious for a federal court to proceed in a declaratory

judgment suit.” Appendix, 6a, quoting Brillhart, 316

U.S. at 495. In so holding, the Fifth Circuit misapplied

Brillhart, Will, and Patterson by relegating these defend-

ants to a state forum that has conclusively refused to

apply the maritime doctrine of forwm non conveniens.

By stripping petitioners of their fundamental federal

maritime rights, the Fifth Circuit has both misapplied

Brillhart, as well as a long line of Supreme Court juris-

prudence recognizing that forwm non conveniens is a

characteristic feature of maritime law that is available

to all litigants in all cases, whether in state or federal

court.

The Fifth Circuit correctly noted that Brillhart or-

dinarily requires a federal court to dismiss a declaratory

judgment action where it seeks to adjudicate matters that

are already being litigated in a parallel state court pro-

ceeding. Nevertheless, this Court also held that a dismis-

18

sal is not proper in every case. Brillhart instructs federal

courts to refuse jurisdiction over declaratory judgment

actions only where the questions at issue in the case can

“better be settled” in the state court proceeding. On the

other hand, where the state proceeding is deficient in

resolving the claims, or where the state court cannot or

will not protect a litigant’s federal rights, the federal

declaratory judgment action should not be dismissed:

Where a district court is presented with a claim such

as was made here, it should ascertain whether the

questions in controversy between the parties to the

federal suit, and which are not foreclosed under the

applicable substantive law, can better be settled in

the proceeding pending in the state court. This may

entail inquiry into the scope of the pending state

court proceeding and the nature of defenses open

there. The federal court may have to consider

whether the claims of all parties in interest can satis-

factorily be adjudicated in that proceeding, whether

necessary parties have been joined, whether such

parties are amenable to process in that proceeding,

ete.

316 U.S. at 495 (emphasis supplied).

In Brillhart, this Court ordered remand of the dismissal

of the declaratory judgment action to the district court,

because the district court had failed to consider whether

defenses raised in that proceeding could be considered in

the state forum. 316 U.S. at 495-96. Significantly, this

Court vacated the circuit court’s reversal of the district

court’s original dismissal of the declaratory judgment ac-

tion, stating that this determination was within the prov-

ince of the district court, not the court of appeals. Since

Brillhart, this Court has again held that whether a

declaratory judgment action should be maintained is sub-

ject to the district court’s discretion, which should not

ordinarily be disturbed on appeal. See Will v. Calvert.

Fire Insurance Co., 437 U.S. at 662-64, and Provident

19

Tradesmens Bank & Trust Co. v. Patterson, 390 U.S. at

126-27.

The Fifth Circuit’s dismissal of the declaratory judg-

ment action in this case directly contravenes Brillhart,

Will, and Patterson. First, the circuit court summarily

ordered dismissal of the declaratory judgment action with-

out considering, as Brillhart demands, whether Aquafaith

will receive a fair adjudication of its federal maritime

defenses in the state court litigation. Contrary to the

Fifth Circuit’s finding,? the state court’s potential treat-

ment of Aquafaith’s federal maritime forum non. con-

veniens defense is not insignificant, but is, as discussed

below, a dispositive Brillhart factor that requires the

court to maintain jurisdiction over the declaratory judg-

ment action; Louisiana has statutorily and jurispruden-

tially barred any and all consideration of this fundamental

maritime doctrine. Second, in Will v. Calvert Fire In-

surance Co., cited above, this Court held that the Brill-

hart analysis is a question for the district court, whose

decision should not be reversed absent an abuse of dis-

cretion. This district court in this case has exercised its

discretion in maintaining jurisdiction over this declara-

tory judgment action by expressly considering, in light of

Brillhart, that the state court would deprive petitioners

of this fundamental maritime right (Appendix, 16a-18a).

Given the unavailability of the federal maritime forum

non conveniens doctrine in state court, the appellate court

violated Brillhart and its progeny by substituting its own

arbitrary analysis for the reasoned exercise of discretion

by the district court.

The Fifth Circuit’s summary dismissal without analysis

substantially undermines the Brillhart rule. It abridges

the discretion that this Court has vested in the district

* The panel held: “The state court might not apply the same

doctrine of forum non conveniens as a federal court would, but this

possibility does not change our result.” (Appendix, 6a).

20

courts and authorizes appellate courts to substitute their

own ad hoc analysis, notwithstanding the well-reasoned

basis of a district court’s exercise of discretion. It au-

thorizes federal courts to ignore a state’s refusal to pro-

tect a litigant’s federal rights, a factor that Brillhart

expressly commands that the federal trial and appellate

courts consider. This Court should grant a writ to recon-

cile the decision below with Brillhart and its progeny.

B. Petitioners Have Been Stripped of a Fundamental

Defense by Louisiana’s Refusal to Recognize the

Doctrine of Forum Non Conveniens in Maritime

Cases

Furthermore, Brillhart recognizes the propriety of a

federal declaratory judgment action where a defendant

will lose important federal defenses if the, party is rele-

gated to state court. Brillhart, 316 U.S. at 495. By dis-

missing petitioners’ federal declaratory judgment action,

the Fifth Circuit has stripped petitioners of their right

to assert the fundamental maritime doctrine of forum

non conveniens.

In maritime actions between foreigners, this Court has

long recognized the discretion of admiralty courts to re-

fuse to exercise jurisdiction where the case has little or

no substantive contact with the United States and where

the litigation could be conducted more appropriately in a

different court. The Belgenland, 114 U.S. 355 (1885);

Canada Malting Co. v. Paterson Co., 285 U.S. 413 (1932).

In later cases, this Court applied the doctrine to actions at

law and formulated a set of public and private interest

factors to be considered in dismissing a case filed in the

United States in favor of a proceeding in a foreign forum.

Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501 (1947); Piper

Aircraft Co. v. Reyno, 454 U.S. 235 (1981). “[Dlis-

missal will ordinarily be appropriate where trial in the

plaintiff's chosen forum imposes a -heavy burden on the

defendant or the court, and where the plaintiff is unable

21

to offer any specific reasons of convenience supporting

his choice.” Piper, 454 U.S. at 249. The doctrine “is

designed in part to help courts avoid conducting complex

exercises in comparative law.” 464 U.S. at 251.

Nonetheless, despite the preeminence of forum non

conveniens as a characteristic feature of maritime law,

Louisiana has defiantly refused to apply it in maritime

eases. Article 123(C) of the La. Code of Civ. Proc., repro-

duced in the appendix hereto at 65a, expressly denies

the defense of forum non conveniens to maritime defend-

ants. Furthermore, the Louisiana Supreme Court has held

that the statute clearly means “that the doctrine of forum

non conveniens is specifically made unavailable in a Jones

Act or maritime case” and that “application of Louisi-

ana’s forum non conveniens rule is not preempted by fed-

eral admiralty law.” Miller v American Dredging Co.,

595 So.2d 615, 617, 619 (La. 1992) (emphasis added).

The result is that maritime defendants in Louisiana state

courts are deprived of their long established federal rights

of forum non conveniens, even though the dispute has a

totally foreign nexus, foreign law governs the controversy,

and all the public and private interest factors favor dis-

missal.*

Brillhart and its progeny teach that a federal declara-

tory judgment action should be maintained—or at the

3In this case, the district court specifically found that the de-

cedent’s POEA contract, which was executed in the Philippines,

“expressly provided that the POEA and the Philippine Courts of

Justice have exclusive jurisdiction over all disputes arising out of

the employment relationship, which contract was filed with and

approved by the POEA.” (Appendix, 14a). Exclusive forum selec-

tion clauses are valid and enforceable, absent a strong showing that

they are fundamentally unfair or unreasonable under the circum-

stances. See Bremen v. Zapata Off-Shore Co., 407 U.S. 1 (1972);

Carnival Cruise Lines v. Shute, 499 U.S. —, 111 S.Ct. 1522 (1991).

Here, respondent has no proof that litigating her claim in her home

country of the Philippines under the forum selection clause of a

standard, government approved contract will be unfair, unreason-

able, or inconvenient.

22

very least, that the federal district court is the proper

court to determine whether the action should be main-

tained—where a fundamental defense under the applica-

ble substantive law is unavailable and cannot be con-

sidered in state court. The district court in this case

made the Brillhart determination to maintain its declar-

atory judgment jurisdiction in light of the unavailability

of this fundamental maritime right in Louisiana courts.

The Fifth Circuit in this case has usurped the district

court’s prerogative and has provided the basis for other

courts to follow suit.

C. The Fifth Circuit’s Order Remanding This Maritime

Cause of Action to the Court of A State That Stat-

utorily Denies Application of the Doctrine of Forum

_ Non Conveniens Destroys the Uniformity of Federal

Maritime Law

Furthermore, the Fifth Circuit’s decision violates the

uniformity of federal maritime law by relegating these

maritime litigants to a state forum that statutorily denies

forum non conventens dismissals in maritime cases.

When a Jones Act or maritime claim is filed in state

court, Article III, § 2 of the United States Constitution

mandates that federal maritime law, not state law, gov-

erns the course of the lawsuit in the state forum. Garrett

v. Moore-McCormack Co., Inc., 317 U.S. 289 (1942);

Kermarec v. Compagnie Generale Transatlantique, 358

U.S. 625, 628 (1959); Pope & Talbot, Inc. v. Hawn, 346

U.S. 406, 409 (1953); Panama Ratlroad Co. v. Johnson,

264 U.S. 375, 385-89 (1924). As this Court extensively

explained in Johnson, the U.S. Constitution vests the fed-

eral government with the exclusive power regarding fed-

eral maritime law so as to guarantee its uniform applica-

tion in its “substantive as well as its procedural features.”

264 U.S. at 385-89; see also Hawn, 346 U.S. at 409.

Furthermore, the Supremacy Clause, U.S. Const., art VI,

cl. 2, guarantees that the maritime law, like all other

federal law, “shall be the supreme law of the land.”

23

The doctrine of forum non conveniens is a fundamental

feature of federal maritime law; it has been recognized

in the landmark cases of this Court cited above and re-

peatedly applied in modern maritime cases. See [kospen-

takis v. Thalassic Steamship Agency, 915 F.2d 176 (5th

Cir. 1990); Maria Victoria Naviera, S.A. v. Cementos

Del Valle, S.A., 759 F.2d 1027 (2d Cir. 1985); Zipfel v.

Haliburton Co., 832 F.2d 1477 (9th Cir. 1987), cer’.

denied, 486 U.S. 1054 (1988) ; Singalas v. Lido Maritime,

Inc., 776 F.2d 1512 (11th Cir. 1985). Federal jurispru-

dence recognizes this doctrine as an integral part of the

maritime law and as the supreme law of the land in

maritime cases. See Ikospentakis v. Thalassic Steamship

Agency, cited above; Camejo v. Ocean Drilling & Explora-

tion, 838 F.2d 1374 (5th Cir. 1988). See also Chick Kam

Choo v. Exxon, 486 U.S. 140 (1988) (stating that the

Fifth Circuit’s view of the “preemptive force of federal

-aaritime forum non conveniens” may in fact be a correct

statement of the law). Federal and state courts must con-

sistently apply forwm non conveniens to maintain uni-

formity in federal maritime law.

As noted above, Louisiana statutory law, as definitively

interpreted by the Louisiana Supreme Court, denies appli-

cation of forum non conveniens in maritime cases. This

result contravenes the federal jurisprudence cited above,

which mandates all courts, federal and state alike, to

apply the fundamental doctrine of forwm non conveniens.

By dismissing petitioners’ declaratory judgment and rele-

gating them to a state forum that defiantly refuses to

recognize this doctrine, the Fifth Circuit has destroyed

the uniformity of maritime law.

Furthermore, if left uncorrected, the Fifth Circuit’s

decision invites all foreign maritime litigants to avoid

the uniform application of federal maritime law, as well

as the law of their own sovereign governments, by filing

their maritime actions in the courts of a state like Louisi-

ana that refuses tc abide by this fundamental maritime

24

doctrine. Louisiana, and other states like it, will become

a world forum for unrelated actions with no connexity

to the United States, and maritime litigants will be denied

an essential right that has been a characteristic feature

of federal maritime law since its inception. As this Court

has recognized in Piper, if litigants are allowed to shop

for favorable law without regard to the doctrine of forum

non conveniens,

American courts, which are already extremely attrac-

‘tive to foreign plaintiffs, would become even more

attractive. The flow of litigation into the United

States would increase and further congest already

crowded courts.

454 U.S. at 252.

In short, allowing the decision in this case to stand will

violate the fundamental federal maritime policy behind

the forum non conveniens doctrine: Actions with no rela-

tion to the U.S. should be heard conveniently by courts of

the nation with the most interest. Unless this Court in-

tercedes, the decision below will create a profound distor-

tion in the established system of resolving maritime

disputes, will encourage conflicts in maritime law, and

will work a grave injustice on litigants and courts world-

wide.

This Court should grant a writ to reconcile the Fifth

Circuit’s decision in this case with Brillhart, to rectify the

Fifth Circuit’s error that deprives petitioners of a funda-

mental maritime doctrine if their declaratory judgment

action is dismissed, and to confront Louisiana’s refusal to

recognize the supremacy and uniformity of federal mari-

time law.

25

CONCLUSION

The Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case contravenes

this Court’s jurisprudence and settled federal law in the

areas of foreign relations and the act of state doctrine.

removal jurisdiction, declaratory judgments, and the mari-

time doctrine of forum non conveniens. For the reasons

set forth above, petitioners submit that the Court should

grant a writ of certiorari to address these important

issues of international concern.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT B. DEANE

Counsel of Record

KENNETH J. SERVAY

DOUGLAS L. GRUNDMEYER

CHAFFE, MCCALL, PHILLIPS,

TOLER & SARPY

2300 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, LA 70163-2300

(504) 585-7000

Attorneys for Petitioners,

Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and

September 14, 1992 Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd.

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-3346

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD., and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.,

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

versus

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS,

Individually, as personal representative of the estate of

LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS, ETC.,

Defendant-A ppellant.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

(June 24, 1992)

Before POLITZ, Chief Judge, WILLIAMS and DUHE.,

Circuit Judges.

DUHE, Circuit Judge:

This case requires us to decide whether the petition

filed in state court contains a removable claim or cause

of action separate and independent from a Jones Act

claim. We hold that the petition states no removable

claim or cause of action and therefore reverse the judg-

2a

ment of the district court. We also hold that the district

court should have dismissed the declaratory judgment

action because the federal action is identical to the previ-

ously filed state court case.

I.

This litigation started when Eufemia R. Jarillas, a

Philippine domiciliary, filed a Petition for Damages and

for Writ of Attachment in Louisiana state court. She is

suing Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas Mari-

time, Ltd. (Cypriot and British corporations, respectively )

under the Jones Act' and the general maritime law of

the United States, alleging that her husband was killed

while employed as a seaman on the M/V Alfa, a vessel

owned and operated by those corporations. She also claims

that Aquafaith and Seven Seas prevailed upon her,

through unlawful overreaching, to settle the claim and

release them from liability. She asks for punitive dam-

ages to deter them from such conduct in the future. The

suit is brought by Mrs. Jarillas individually, as repre-

sentative of her husband’s estate, and as natural tutrix

of the couple’s minor children.

In response to her petition, Aquafaith and Seven Seas

invoked the jurisdiction of the federal district court.

They filed a petition for removal and a complaint for

declaratory relief. Mrs. Jarillas moved to remand her

action to state court and she asked that the district court

dismiss the declaratory judgment action. The court held

that the release claim is separate and independent from

the Jones Act claim, that the release claim is within the

jurisdiction of the federal courts because it is governed

by the federal common law of foreign relations, and that

the whole matter could therefore be removed under 28

U.S.C. § 1441(c). The court denied Mrs. Jarillas’s mo-

tions to remand and dismiss. It then applied the doctrine

146 U.S.C. § 688.

| On

8a

of forum non conveniens and dismissed the entire case in

favor of a Philippine forum. Mrs. Jarillas appeals.

IT.

We first address the issue of removability. The Jones

Act allows a plaintiff to bring her action in state court

without fear of removal to federal court. 46 U.S.C. § 688:

28 U.S.C. § 1445(a). Aquafaith and Seven Seas argue

that Mrs. Jarillas’s release claim is “separate and in-

dependent” from her Jones Act claim, that the receipt

and release claim is within the jurisdiction conferred by

28 U.S.C. § 1331 (federal question jurisdiction), and that

the entire case, including the Jones Act claim, may there-

fore be removed under 28 U.S.C. § 1441(¢c). Mrs. Jarillas

controverts each of these three contentions.

We need not resolve any “potential conflict between

$ 1445(a) and § 1441(c).” In re Dutile, 985 F.2d 61,

62 (5th Cir. 1991). The removal statute requires that

the separate and independent claim be within our federal

question jurisdiction. Regardless of whether Mrs. Jaril-

las’s receipt and release claim is separate and independent

from her Jones Act claim (a question on which we

intimate no opinion), the release claim is not subject to

federal question jurisdiction, as far as can be discerned

from her state court petition.

Aquafaith and Seven Seas base their contrary conten-

tion on the following reasoning. The release signed by

Mrs. Jarillas was filed with the Philippine Overseas Em-

ployment Administration, which among other things is

charged with helping seamen and their families settle

claims. Therefore, Aquafaith and Seven Seas conclude,

this case will require a court “to pass on the validity of

official acts of a foreign sovereign taken within its own

territory.” Orig. Br. of Appellees at 23. The court would

find itself embroiled in the area of international rela-

tions, which is exclusively a matter of federal law. The

federal courts have fashioned a federal common law to

4a

dispose of cases in this area. See generally Banco Nacional

de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398 (1964) ; Texas Indus.

v. Radcliff Materials, Inc., 451 U.S. 6380 (1981) ; Republic

of Philippines v. Marcos, 806 F.2d 344 (2d Cir. 1986).

Aquafaith and Seven Seas argue that nothing less than

the act-of-state doctrine is involved in this case.

Defense counsel’s erudite arguments about the federal

common law of foreign relations are foreclosed by the

familiar well-pleaded complaint rule. For purposes of

jurisdiction, we look only to the properly pleaded com-

plaint or petition. E.g., Franchise Tax Bd. v. Construc-

tion Laborers Vacation Trust, 463 U.S. 1, 9-10 (1983)

(citing Taylor v. Anderson, 284 U.S. 74, 75-76 (1914) );

Addison v. Gulf Coast Contracting Servs., Inc., 744 F.2d

494, 499 (5th Cir. 1984). The court may have to examine

pleadings filed by the defendant in order to determine

whether the plaintiff’s complaint is in fact “well pleaded.”

Thus, when a court performs its duty to verify that it

has jurisdiction, it may be required to survey the entire

record, including the defendant’s pleadings, and base its

ruling on the complaint, on undisputed facts, and on its

resolution of disputed facts. See Williamson v. Tucker,

645 F.2d 404, 412-13 (5th Cir. May 1981), cert. denied,

454 U.S. 897 (1981); Calvert v. Sharp, 748 F.2d 861,

862-63 (4th Cir. 1984), cert. denied, 471 U.S. 11382

(1985), overruled on other grounds by West v. Atkins,

487 U.S. 42 (1988). See generally Fed. R. Civ. P. 12

(b) (1). The purpose of this careful survey, however,

is to shed light on the plaintiff’s pleadings. The court’s

focus is on the plaintiff’s pleadings, not the defendant’s.

A federal court is not confined to the letter of the

petition. The court may find that the plaintiff’s claims

arise under federal law, even though the plaintiff has not

characterized them as federal claims. Thus, if the petition

purports to invoke state law but would actually be gov-

erned by federal law because of the complete preemption

of state law, federal jurisdiction will attach. Avco Corp.

= =

5a

v. Aero Lodge No. 735, Int'l Ass’n of Machinists & Aero-

space Workers, 390 U.S. 557 (1968). Still, the court

draws this conclusion from a close reading of the plain-

tiff’s pleadings, not from defenses raised by the defend-

ant. “A defense that raises a federal question is inade-

quate to confer federal jurisdiction.” Merrell Dow

Pharmaceuticals Inc. v. Thompson, 478 U.S. 804, 808

(1986).

Seven Seas and Aquafaith have not cited any exceptions

to the well-pleaded complaint rule, and our research has

uncovered only one. Federal officers may “overcome the

‘wel-pleaded complaint’ rule which would otherwise pre-

clude removal even if a federal defense were alleged.”

Mesa v. California, 489 U.S. 121, 136-37 (1989). This

exception is provided by a specific jurisdictional statute.

Id. at 136 (construing 28 U.S.C. § 1442(a)). We have

been unable to find any judge-made exceptions, nor are

we sure that judges would have the power to create one.

One district court in New York referred to the Avco

holding as an exception, but that holding is not truly

an exception. Avco requires a court to examine the com-

plaint. The court may reconstruct the plaintiff’s legal

theories, but the court looks only to the pleadings of the

plaintiff.

No matter how closely we scrutinize Mrs. Jarillas’s

petition, we can find no hint of the federal common law

of foreign relations. The complaint does allege that Mrs.

Jarillas maintains her domicile in the Philippines, that

corporations organized in foreign countries are involved,

and that the collision which killed Mr. Jarillas occurred

somewhere between New Orleans and the erstwhile Soviet

Union. These allegations do not lift this case from the

usual scaly context of maritime suits into the rarefied

realm of foreign relations. We learn of the involvement

2 International Ass’n of Machinists & Aerospace Workers, Local

Lodge No. 967 v. General Elec. Co., 713 F. Supp. 547, 551 (N.D.N.Y.

1989).

6a

of the POEA only from the pleadings of Aquafaith and

Seven Seas. Without the information that we discover

from their pleadings, the act-of-state doctrine and federal

common law are not implicated.*. We hold that Mrs.

Jarillas’s release claim is not subject to federal question

jurisdiction and that her case should have been remanded

to state court.

ITI.

Having concluded that Mrs. Jarillas’s case should have

been remanded, we also hold that the declaratory judg-

ment action should be dismissed. In the words of Mr.

Justice Frankfurter, “it would be uneconomical as well

as vexatious for a federal court to proceed in a declara-

tory judgment suit” when the entire controversy is already

being litigated in a state court that is capable of resolving

the dispute. Brillhart v. Excess Ins. Co., 316 U.S. 491,

495 (1942). “Gratuitous interference with the orderly

and comprehensive disposition of a state court litigation

should be avoided.” Jd. While we do not rule in favor

of dismissing the federal action solely because the state

court suit was filed first, prosecution of the federal action

would be useless when the state court is adjudicating the

same controversy, and dismissal is therefore appropriate.

See Employers’ Liab. Assurance Corp. v. Mitchell, 211

F.2d 441, 448 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 347 U.S. 1014

(1954). The state court might not apply the same doc-

trine of forum non conveniens as a federal court would,

but this possibility does not change our result.

IV.

For the foregoing reasons, the judgment of the district

court is reversed. Both cases are remanded to the United

States District Court for the Eastern District of Louisi-

3 We express no opinion on whether the federal common law would

be implicated if Mrs. Jarillas’s pleading had contained all of the

allegations included in those of Aquafaith and Seven Seas.

;

Ta

ana, which should remand Mrs. Jarillas’s suit for dam-

ages to the 29th Judicial District Court, Parish of St.

Charles, Louisiana. The declaratory judgment action of

Aquafaith and Seven Seas should be dismissed.

REVERSED and REMANDED WITH INSTRUC-

TIONS.

8a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action No. 89-4036

SECTION ‘“‘A”’

EUFEMIA R. JARRILLAS ETC.

Versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. et al.

JUDGMENT

(Filed Mar. 29, 1991;

Date of Entry Mar. 29, 1991)

In accordance with the Court’s Order entered herein

on March 14, 1991, and upon the Court noting that Aqua-

faith Shipping LTD. and Seven Seas Maritime LTD. have

complied with the Court’s directive contained in said

Order,

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED,

that the claims herein be dismissed with prejudice for

forum non conveniens reserving unto Eufemia R. Jarillas

petitioning the Court for reopening this matter in the

event that the conditions for dismissal are not complied

with.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 29th day of March, 1991.

/s/ Loretta G. Whyte

LORETTA G.. WHYTE

Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FORM:

‘s/ Charles Schwartz, Jr.

United States District Judge

ee

9a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action No. 89-4037

SECTION “A”

EUFEMIA R. JARRILLAS etc.

Versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. et al.

JUDGMENT

Filed Mar. 29, 1991;

Date of Entry Mar. 29, 1991)

In accordance with the Court’s Order entered herein

on March 14, 1991, and upon the Court noting that Aqua-

faith Shipping LTD. and Seven Seas Maritime LTD. have

complied with the Court’s directive contained in said

Order,

IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED,

that the claims herein be dismissed with prejudice for

forum non conveniens reserving unto Eufemia R. Jarillas

petitioning the Court for reopening this matter in the

event that the conditions for dismissal are not complied

with.

New Orleans, Louisiana, this 29th day of March, 1991.

/s/ Loretta G. Whyte

LORETTA G. WHYTE

Clerk

APPROVED AS TO FoRM:

s Charles Schwartz, Jr.

United States District Judge

10a

MINUTE ENTRY

SEPTEMBER 183, 1990

SCHWARTZ, J.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action No. 89-4036

SECTION ‘‘A”’

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD. AND

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.

Versus

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS

CONSOLIDATED WITH

Civil Action No. 89-4037

SECTION “‘A”’

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS

Versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD. AND

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.

(Filed Sep. 13, 1990;

Date of Entry Sep. 14, 1990)

This matter is before the Court on the motions of plain-

tiff ' to remand and to dismiss. The motions, set for hear-

ing on September 12, 1990, was taken on briefs without

oral argument. For the reasons set forth below, the

motions are DENIED.

1 For the sake of clarity, Eufemia R. Jarillas will be referred to

as “plaintiff,” and Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas Mari-

time, Ltd. will be referred to as “defendants.”

ila

On November 16, 1988, the M/V ALFA, owned and

operated by the defendants, was involved in a collision

in the Baltic Sea. Plaintiff’s decedent was reported as

missing, and is presumed drowned. The decedent, Leo-

poldo Jarillas, was a Philippine resident. On Jan. 9,

1989, plaintiff entered into a settlement whereby she

signed a Receipt and Release in which she released all

claims against the defendants arising out of Leopoldo

Jarillas’ death and received 220,000 Philippine pesos.

Plaintiff now claims this agreement was signed under

duress and coercion.

The Philippine Overseas Employment Agency (“POEA”)

is a Philippine government agency. Part of its function

is the protection of overseas workers and the resolutions

of disputes between an overseas worker and his employer.

Defendants claim that the settlement was approved by

the POEA, and that under Philippine law, it is a binding

settlement.

Plaintiff claims, however, that the agreement is stamped

“received” not “approved” by the POEA, and that the

agreement was merely filed with that agency after plain-

tiff signed it. Since this procedure is not required by the

POEA, meyely filing such documents, does not make

them binding under Philippine law.

This case was originally filed on August 30, 1989 in

state court. At that time, plaintiff filed a petition for

damages and a writ of attachment and alleged a Jones

Act claim, a claim of unseaworthiness, and that the re-

lease was null and void because it was signed under

duress and coercion. On Sept. 11, 1989, defendants filed

a removal petition and a complaint for declaratory relief

in this Court. Plaintiffs have filed a motion to dismiss

the complaint for declaratory judgment and a mofion for

remand.

First, plaintiff's Jones Act claim and her claim to void

the release are clearly separate and independent claims.

Although the claim regarding the validity of the settle-

12a

ment agreement is related to the decedent’s death, it deals

with a separate wrong and seeks to enforce a separate

right. See Hollis v. Halter Marine, Inc., 595 F. Supp.

827, 829 (E.D. La. 1984). The claims arose at different

times, out of different events, and involve different actors.

Moreover, the recovery plaintiff seeks in each claim is

different. Although a Jones Act claim by itself it not

removable, it is removable if joined with a separate and

independent claim that would be removable if sued upon

alone. 28 U.S.C. § 1441(c). Accordingly, removal is

proper.

Plaintiff’s second claim involves a determination of the

validity of the release agreement, and ultimately a deci-

sion must be made regarding what forum and what law

must be used to make that decision. Article 227 of the

Philippine Labor Code provides:

A compromise settlement ... voluntarily agreed upon

by the parties with the assistance of the Bureau or

the regional office of the Department of Labor, shall

be final and binding upon the parties. The National

Labor Relations Commission or any court shall not

assume jurisdiction over issues involved therein ex-

cept in case of non-compliance thereof or if there is

prima facie evidence that the settlement was ob-

tained through fraud, misrepresentation, or coercion.

Furthermore, the deposition of Jose S. Brillantes, the

Labor Attache for the Philippine Embassy, and the state-

ment of Maria Lourdes Cortez, a Senior Overseas Em-

ployment Officer for the POEA, indicate that the release

would be considered approved by the POEA, and there-

fore binding. As defendants point out, plaintiff is, in

essence, requesting a United States court to review the

rules and regulations of a foreign government, and make

a determination of their validity and application in this

situation. Such a decision is properly made in a federal,

rather than a state court. Banco Nacional de Cuba v.

Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398 (1964).

13a

MINUTE ENTRY

March 11, 1991

SCHWATZ, J.

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action No. 89-4036

C/W 89-4037

SECTION “‘A”’

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD AND

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.

Versus

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS,

IndividuaHy, ete.

(Filed Mar. 14, 1991;

Date of Entry Mar. 14, 1991)

This matter is before the Court on the Motion of Aqua-

faith Shipping Ltd. and Seven Seas Maritime Ltd. for

Summary Judgment or, alternatively, Motion for Forum

Non Conveniens Dismissal in the above referenced mat-

ters. Docket No. 89-4036 is the movants’ Complaint for

Declaratory Relief, which action was consolidated with

Docket No. 89-4037, the Petition for Damages of Eufemia

R. Jarillas which the movants herein removed from the

state court on September 11, 1989. The motions, set for

hearing February 27, 1991, were taken under submission

on briefs without oral argument at the request of the

parties.

This consolidated matter arises from the death of sea-

man Leopoldo Jarillas. The decedent was a citizen and

resident of the Philippines, as are his wife and children,

l4a

and was employed aboard the M/V ALFA, a Cyprus flag

vessel, pursuant to a Philippine Overseas Employment

Administration (“POEA’’)! contract which he executed

in the Philippines on July 7, 1988. This contract ex-

pressly provided that the POEA and the Philippine Courts

of Justice have exclusive jurisdiction over all disputes

arising out of the employment relationship, which con-

tract was filed with and approved by the POEA. Aqua-

faith Shipping Ltd. is a Cypriot corporation and owner

of the M’V ALFA. Seven Seas Maritime Ltd. is a British

corporation and the vessel operator’s London agent. On

November 16, 1988, the M/V ALFA was involved in a

collision in the Baltic Sea. In the aftermath it was

discovered that Leopoldo Jarillas was missing; his body

was never found and he was presumed drowned. In

January 1989, defendants’ representative approached

Mrs. Jarillas.in the Philippines and advised her that they

were prepared to settle any claims for the death of her

husband for an amount greater than the compensation

benefits required under POEA contract and the POEA

rules and regulations. On January 9, 1989, Mrs. Jarillas,

in the presence of her uncle, an attorney representing

the defendants, and a senior officer of the POEA entered

into a settlement for an amount of compensation 34%

greater than that required under the POEA contract.

As part of the settlement, Mrs. Jarillas, individually

and as representative for her minor children, executed a

release to the defendants from any further liability aris-

ing from the death of her husband, which release was

1The POEA is a Phillipine government agency charged with

overseeing the employment of Filipinos, including seamen, by for-

eign entities. The POEA establishes the compensation owed by an

employer for the injury or death of a Filipino seaman, and is charges

with advising and protecting the interests of their empolyees or

their survivors. The POEA also reviews and approves the settle-

ment of claims made by Filipino employees or their survivors against

their employers.

EE Se Te

15a

witnessed by and Notarized additional personnel at the

POEA. On August 30, 1989, Mrs. Jarillas, individually,

as representative of her deceased husband’s estate, and

as Natural Tutrix of their minor children, filed a Peti-

tion for Damages and Writ of Attachment against the

defendants and the M/ ALFA in the 29th Judicial Dis-

trict Court, Parish of St. Charles, State of Louisiana,

asserting Jones Act negligence and unseaworthiness

claims arising from the death of her husband. Specifically

averred in this Petition is Mrs. Jarillas’ claim that her

exccution of the January 9, 1989 settlement and release

was obtained under duress, deception and/or coercion.

Defendants then filed their Complaint for Declaratory

Relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2201 (No. 89-3046) and re-

moved the state court action to this Court (No. 89-3407)

under 28 U.S.C. $$ 1331 and 1333 on September 11, 1989.

Defendants move now for summary judgment on the

effect of the settlement and release of January 9, 1989,

or alternatively for forum non conveniens dismissal of

this matter.

The primary issue in this matter is the validity of

the settlement and release of January 9, 1989, and while

neither of the parties dispute this fact—neither of the

parties has submitted a memorandum of Philippine law

relative to duress, undue influence, coercion, unequal bar-

gaining power, and the avoidance of contracts generally.

Following review of the parties’ submissions, there is no

question but that Philippine law governs that issue herein

and, further, that this entire matter does not “belong” in

this forum. See Quintero v. Klaveness Ship Lines, 914

F.2d 717, 722-23, reh. and reh. en bane denied, 920 F.2d

931 (5th Cir. 1990) (application of the Lauritzen-Rhodi-

tis test places most significant weight on place of employ-

ment contract, domicile of worker, and provision for

choice of law in contract, to determine law to be applied

when other factors absent). Plaintiff, however, challenges

the defendants’ ability to raise the forum non conveniens

16a

defense as an alternative at this time when defendants

not only removed the plaintiff’s state court Petition to this

Court over a year and a half ago but filed a Complaint of

their own under the Declaratory Judgment Act.

The Declaratory Judgment Act, 28 U.S.C. § 2201, con-

fers no jurisdiction but is a procedural device designed

to provide a new remedy in the federal court arsenal.

Mission Insurance Company v. Puritan Fashions Corpe-

ration, 706 F.2d 599, 601 (5th Cir. 1983), citing Aetna

Life Insurance Company of Hartford, Conn v. Haworth,

300 U.S. 227, 239-240, 57 S. Ct. 461, 463-464 (1937). As

was stated by the Fifth Circuit in Dresser Industries,

Inc., v. Insurance Company of North America, 358 F.

Supp. 327, 330 (N.D. Tex.), aff'd, 475 F.2d 1402 (5th

Cir. 1973), the Declaratory Judgment Act “gives the

Court a choice, not a command.” Mission Insurance Com-

pany, supra, at 601. The district court is not required to

grant declaratory judgment relief, and it is a matter for

the district court’s sound discretion whether to decide a

declaratory judgment action. /d., citing Brillhart v. Ev-

cess Insurance Company of America, 316 U.S. 491, 62 S.

Ct. 1163 (1942). In the instant case, defendants filed

their Complaint for Declaratory Relief in order to ensure

the removal of plaintiff’s Petition from the state court.

Louisiana state courts have refused to recognize the ap-

plication of federal forum non conveniens law in maritime

cases, Markzannes v. Bermuda Star Lines, Ine., 545 So.2d

537 (La. 1989), cert. denied, US. ——, 110 S. Ct.

837 (1990), even though implored to do so by the Fifth

Circuit. Jkopentakis v. Thalassic Steamship Agency, 915

F.2d 176 (5th Cir. 1990). To estopp defendants from as-

serting the federal forum non conveniens defense through

the rationale that they have themselves chosen this forum

would “blink at reality” and turn these foreign litigants

into the kinds of “guinea pigs” for whom the Fifth Cir-

cuit expressed such concern in /kospentakis. The conven-

ience of the parties and witnesses has traditionally been

considered in determining whether to hear a declaratory

a

17a

judgment action, Mission Insurance Company, supra, at

602, citing Amerada Petroleum Corp. v. Marshall, 381

F.2d 661, 663-664 (5th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 389 U.S.

1039, 88 S. Ct. 777 (1968), and the Fifth Circuit has

adopted the same formulation of considerations normally

applied in the forum non conveniens context. /d., citing

Gulf Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 380 U.S. 501, 508, 67S. Ct. 839,

848 41947). Forum non conveniens is the equitable rule

which gives this Court discretion to decline to exercise

jurisdiction when the action could more appropriately be

tried elsewhere. Even where jurisdiction is authorized by

a venue statute, the Court may resist the imposition of its

jurisdiction by use of this doctrine. See generally Gulf

Oil Corp. v. Gilbert, 330 U.S. 501, 507, 67 S. Ct. 839, 842

(1947): Hotvedt v. Schlumberger Ltd. (N.V.), 914 F.2d

79, 81 (5th Cir 1990).

The status of the case when the forum non conveniens

motion is decided is most significant in the resolution of

the motion, and the Court must review the motion in light

of the status of the case at the time the motion is filed.

In Re Air Crash Disaster Near New Orleans, La., 821

F.2d 1147, 1166 (5th Cir. 1987). Aside from meeting

the burdens of showing an adequate and available forum

for plaintiff and all the defendants, and that the private

and public interests weigh more heavily in favor of trial

in the foreign forum, a movant must also submit the mo-

tion in a timely manner. The rule of the Fifth Circuit is

that a defendant assert a motion to dismiss for forum non

conveniens within a reasonable time after the facts or

circumstances which serve as the basis of the motion have

developed and become known or reasonably knowable to

the defendant. Jd. at 1165, citing Wright, Miller & Cooper,

Federal Practice and Procedure: Jurisdiction § 3828, at

291 (2d ed. 1986). This is tempered, however, by con-

siderations of the non-movants conduct in preventing or

obfuscating the possibility or availability of an otherwise

timely motion for dismissal on these grounds. See [ko-

spentakis, supra, at 179-180.

18a

The alleged untimeliness of Aquafaith’s and Seven

Seas’ motion for forum non conveniens dismissal, coming

a year and a half after removal of Mrs. Jarillas’ Petition

from the state court and their filing of a Complaint for

Declaratory Relief, necessarily raises the question of di-

latory conduct on the movants’ part, as the purpose of the

doctrine itself is to prevent the costs and inconvenience

which this case has already incurred. However, the rec-

ord reveals a lengthy litigation, beginning October 10,

1989, of Mrs. Jarillas’ motion to remand her Petition to

the Louisiana state court, where the forum non conveniens

defense is not available; litigation of her motion for dis-

missal of defendants’ action for declaratory relief also

began on October 5, 1989. This Court’s order of Septem-

ber 18, 1990 denying plaintiff's motion to remand (and

motion to dismiss) was finalized with the Fifth Circvit’s

dismissal of plaintiff’s appeal of the remand issue on No-

vember 14, 1990. Thus no “delay” can be charged to the

defendants while this matter was progressing through an

orderly district and appellate process on other issues.

No significant discovery has been taken in this matter,

and the discovery which was taken was for purposes of

opposing Mrs. Jarillas’ motion to remand and motion to

dismiss. In this case, all the material witnesses relative

to the settlement and release at issue, including the plain-

tiff, reside in the Philippines. The underlying accident

took place in the Baltic Sea, and neither Aquafaith, Sev-

en Seas nor the vessel reside in the United States. The

Court concludes that the law of the Philippines governs

the decedent’s employment contract and that the Philip-

pine Courts of Justice provide the adequate and available

alternate forum for determination of this matter.

Accordingly, for all the aforesaid reasons, IT IS OR-

DERED that the Motion of Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and

Seven Seas Maritime Ltd. for Summary Judgment in the

above referenced matter is DENIED; Aquafaith’s and

Seven Seas’ Motion for Forum Non Conveniens Dismissal

should be and is hereby GRANTED, dismissing the above

a

19a

referenced actions, with prejudice, conditioned upon Aqua-

faith and Seven Seas certifying in the record by March

29, 1991 that they will:

(1) Submit to service of process and jurisdiction in the

appropriate forum in the Philippines;

(2) Formally waive in the proceeding in the Philip-

pines any statute of limitations defense that has matured

since the commencement of these actions in the American

courts;

(3) Make available in the Philippine proceeding all rel-

evant documents under their control and all relevant wit-

nesses under their control relative to the execution of the

settlement and release at issue;

(4) Make available in the Philippine proceeding all

relevant documents under their control and all relevant

witnesses who were their employees at the time of the

underlying accident and who remain their employees at

the time of trial of the matter;

(5) Agree that any depositions, answers to interroga-

tories, responses to requests for production of documents

and admissions filed herein may be used in the Philippine

proceeding to the same extent as if they originated there;

and

(6) Formatly agree in the Philippine proceeding to

satisfy any final judgment rendered by such Court.

Should Aquafaith and Seven Seas fail to so certify by

April 11, 1991, this Court will then consider their Motion

as denied and this Court shall assume jurisdiction over

the case. Upon timely receipt of such certification by

Aquafaith and Seven Seas, the Clerk of Court is directed

to enter a judgment in accordance herewith.

ll

20a

IN THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 91-3346

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD.,

and SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.

Plaintiffs-A ppellees,

versus

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, Individually,

as personal representative of the

estate of LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS, ETC.,

Defendant-A ppellant

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Louisiana

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING AND SUGGESTION

FOR REHEARING EN BANC

(Opinion June 24, 1992)

(Filed August 6, 1992)

Before POLITZ, Chief Judge, WILLIAMS and DUHE,

Circuit Judges.

PER CURIAM:

(\/) The Petition for Rehearing is DENIED and no

member of this panel nor Judge in regular active service

ree NT

2la

on the Court having requested that the Court be polled

on rehearing en banc, (Federal Rules of Appellate Pro-

cedure and Local Rule 35) the Suggestion for Rehearing

En Banc is DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

‘s/ John M. Duhé, Jr.

United States Circuit Judge

22a

NUMBER 35,757, DIVISION “E”

29TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. CHARLES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

EUFEMIA R, JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MiNOR CHILDREN

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. JARILLAS,

AND JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME LTD.

(Filed: August 30, 1989

Lena C. Breaux Dy. Clerk)

PETITION FOR DAMAGES AND

FOR WRIT OF ATTACHMENT

The Petition of EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, Individually,

as Personal Representative of the Estate of Leopoldo L.

Jarillas, and as Natural Tutrix of the Minor Children

Jana Lynne R. Jarillas, Diorella Mae R. Jarillas, of full

age of majority and domiciled in and a resident of the

Republic of the Philippines, respectfully represents:

i

The following are made Defendants herein:

A. AQUAFAITH SHIPPING, LTD., on information

and belief a corporation organized under the laws

of the Country of Cyprus, with a principal place of

: | ee

a ithe ind ce

23a

business at the offices of Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd., -

12 A, Finsbury Square, London EC2A 1AS, United

Kingdom, not licensed to do but doing business in

the State of Louisiana, and alleged to have been at

all times material herein the employer of ‘the de-

cedent and the owner/operator of the M/V ALFA;

and

B. SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD., on information

and belief a corporation organized under the laws

of the Country of Great Britain with a principal

place of business at 12 A, Finsbury Square, London

EC2A 1AS, United Kingdom, not licensed to do but

doing business in the State of Louisiana, and al-

leged to have been at all times material herein the

employer of the decedent and the owner/operator

of the M/V ALFA.

2.

On or about November 16, 1988, Leopoldo Jarillas was

serving as an able-bodied seaman and member of the crew

of the M/V ALFA, and in said capacity was serving

aboard the aforementioned vessel when he sustained se-

vere injuries and death as a result of a collision between

the M/V ALFA and a vessel by the name of the M/V

SEADRIVE while en route from New Orleans, Louisiana

to the Soviet Union.

3.

Petitioner avers on information and belief that the

M/V ALFA was at all times relevant owned, managed

and operated by Defendants Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd.

and Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd., said Defendants being at

all pertinent times the employer of the decedent.

4,

At all times material herein there was and still is in

full force and effect an Act of Congress commonly known

as the Jones Act (46 U.S.C. § 688) which Act is appli-

24a

cable hereto in that Defendants were both guilty of acts

of negligence as were other employees of Defendants and

other members of the crew of the M/V ALFA, which acts

of negligence proximately caused the injuries and death

sustained by the decedent.

5.

Pursuant to the general maritime law of the United

States, Defendants had the absolute duty to provide the

decedent with a safe and seaworthy vessel, but said duty

was breached and violated by these Defendants since the

M/V ALFA was unseaworthy, and such unseaworthiness

was a direct and proximate cause of the injuries and

death sustained by the decedent.

6.

Petitioner is entitled to maintain this action in this

Honorable Court pursuant to the Savings to Suitors

Statute, 28 U.S.C. § 1333.

A

The accident sued upon herein and resulting injuries

and death sustained by the decedent were caused by the

unseaworthiness of the aforementioned vessel and the

negligence of the crew when senior officers of the vessel

were not attending to their duties and/or in their proper

| stations, and neither yet was a watch properly posted nor

| was standard safety equipment employed to avert a colli-

sion at sea.

8.

At all times material herein Petitioner and the decedent

were lawful man and wife, and the represented minor

children herein were lawful issue of the marriage between

Petitioner and the decedent, all to the end that Petitioner

brings this action individually and in a representative

capacity on behalf of the represented minors.

25a

9.

As a result of the incident sued upon, the decedent suf-

fered excruciating pain prior to his death by drowning

with his body never being recovered, and Petitioner here-

in hereby asserts a claim for compensatory damages as

are reasonable in the premises relative to the conscious

pain and suffering of the decedent prior to his death, loss

of nurture and guidance to the children as a result of the

decedent’s death, loss of consortium to Petitioner and the

children as a result of the decedent’s death, loss of serv-

ices to the Petitioner and the children as a result of the

decedent’s death, loss of income, Support and accumulated

wealth to Petitioner and the children as a result of the

decedent’s death, the cost of memorial services, mental

anguish and distress of Petitioner and the children as a

result of the decedent’s death, and loss of love and af-

fection as a result of the decedent’s death.

10.

On or about January 9, 1989, less than two months

after the announcement of the decedent’s death, at a time

when Petitioner was unrepresented by counsel, in a state

of financial distress and emotionally distraught, agents

of Defendants presented to Petitioner what purported to

be a full release of all causes of action against Defendants

in consideration of a sum of money token in nature, to

the end that Petitioner executed the documents presented

without being aware of the import or nature of the docu-

ments and without having an opportunity to consult

counsel.

11.

The aforementioned release signed by Petitioner was

executed under duress, deception and/or coercion, was not

executed freely, and was executed without a full under-

standing by Petitioner of her rights or benefit of counsel,

and said release is and was from its inception patently

void and unenforceable pursuant to the general maritime

law of the United States of America.

. 26a

12.

Petitioner is additionally entitled to recover from De-

fendants, in solido, punitive damages in a sum which, in

the premises, will serve to punish Defendants and serve

as an appropriate deterrent to Defendants’ conduct in the

future relative to the callous and wanton disregard of

Defendants’ obligation to furnish a seaworthy vessel and,

or Defendants’ overreaching in inducing Petitioner to sign

an adhesion release in the weeks following her husband’s

death.

13.

Petitioner is informed, believes and therefore alleges

that certain property of the Defendants, to-wit: The M/V

ALFA, is and will be during the pendency of these pro-

ceedings within the navigable waters of the Parish of St.

Charles, and Petitioner desires that a Writ of Attachment

be issued in this action attaching the aforementioned

property of Defendants to secure satisfaction of the

Judgment to be obtained in favor of Petitioner herein

pursuant to Article 3542 of the Louisiana Code of Civil

Procedure.

14,

Both Defendants are non-residents with no duly ap-

pointed agent for service of process within this State

within the meaning of Article 3541 of the Louisiana Code

of Civil Procedure, and this Court should appoint an at-

torney at law to represent Defendants in this proceeding

pursuant to Article 5091(1) of the Louisiana Code of

Civil Procedure, on whom process may be served, and

against whom this proceeding may be conducted contra-

dictorily.

WHEREFORE, Petitioner prays that:

I. The Court appoint an attorney at law to represent

the absent Defendants in this proceeding;

II. A Writ of Attachment issue herein on Petitioner’s

furnishing security as required by law, commanding the

i cence ileal

27a

Sheriff to seize and attach, according to law, the property

of the Defendants within the jurisdiction of this Court

sufficient to satisfy Petitioner’s claims, and more parti-

cularly the M/V ALFA currently situated in the waters

of the Parish of St. Charles, and to hold this property sub-

ject to further Order of this Court; .

III. Citation and service of process be issued against

the Defendants, and after due proceedings are had, there

be judgment rendered herein in favor of Petitioner, EU-

FEMIA R. JARILLAS, Individually, as Personal Repre-

sentative of the Estate of Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as

Natural Tutrix of the Minor Children Jana Lynne R.

Jarillas, Diorella Mae R. Jarillas, and Jason Paul R.

Jarillas and against Defendants AQUAFAITH SHIP-

PING, LTD. and SEVEN SEAS MARITIME, LTD.., in

solido, in a principal sum as compensatory damages and

as punitive damages which are reasonable in the premises,

with legal interest on all such damages from date of the

loss herein, or, alternatively, from date of judicial de-

mand, until paid, and for all costs of these proceedings;

and

IV. The Writ of Attachment be maintained herein and

the bond furnished by Petitioner cancelled, the property

of Defendants be sold and Petitioner’s claim paid with

preference and priority out of the proceeds.

PAUL L. BILLINGSLEY

Attorney for Plaintiff

By:

PAUL L. BILLINGSLEY

Attorney at Law

Post Office Box 61

Luling, LA 70070

Telephone: (504) 785-8776

Bar Roll Number

28a

C. JOHN CASKEY

Attorney at Law

628 North Boulevard, Suite 200

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Telephone: (504) 343-9850

Bar Roll Number 3981

RICHARD J. DODSON

Attorney at Law

628 North Boulevard, Suite 100

Baton Rouge, LA 70802

Telephone: (504) 344-0633

Bar Roll Number 4982

29a

NUMBER ——_—-, DIVISION “—”

29TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. CHARLES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

IKUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MINOR CHILDREN

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. J ARILLAS,

AND JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME Lrtp.

VERIFICATION

STATE OF LOUISIANA

PARISH OF EAST BATON ROUGE

BEFORE ME, personally came and appeared C. JOHN

CASKEY, who upon being duly sworn deposed and de-

clared that he is an attorney for Petitioner named in

the foregoing Petition; that he has read the same and

that all of the allegations and facts contained therein

are true and correct to the best of his knowledge, infor-

mation and belief.

C. JOHN CASKEY

SWORN TO AND SUBSCRIBED before me, Notary

Public, in my office in Baton Rouge, Louisiana, this 29th

day of August, 1989.

Notary Public

30a

NUMBER -—-———-,, DIVISION “—”

29TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. CHARLES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

EUFEMIA R, JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MINOR CHILDREN

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. JARILLAS,

AND JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME LTD.

ORDER

Considering the allegations of the verified Petition in

this case:

IT IS ORDERED:

1. , Esq., attorney

at law, is appointed to represent the absent Defendants in

this case, on whom the citation to the Defendants shall

be served; and

2. A Writ of Attachment issue herein, as prayed for

and according to law, on Petitioner’s first furnishing

security in the sum of $250.00 pursuant to Article 3544

of the Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure.

ORDER RENDERED AND SIGNED at

, Louisiana, on this — day of August, 1989.

29th Judicial District Court

3la

NUMBER ————,, DIVISION “—”

29TH JUDICIAL DISTRICT COURT

PARISH OF ST. CHARLES

STATE OF LOUISIANA

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MINOR CHILDREN

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. J ARILLAS,

AND JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME Lrtp.

WRIT OF ATTACHMENT

To: The Honorable Johnny Marino, Sheriff

St. Charles Parish, Louisiana

WHEREAS due process having been made before the

Twenty-Ninth Judicial District Court in and for the

Parish of St. Charles, Louisiana, by Eufemia R. Jarillas,

Individually, as Personal Representative of the Estate

of Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as Natural Tutrix of the

Minor Children Jana Lynne R. Jarillas, Diorella Mae R.

Jarillas, and Jason Pau! R. Jarillas, Petitioner in the

above numbered and entitled proceedings, that Aquafaith

Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas Maritime, Ltd., Defendants

herein, are justly and truly indebted to Petitioner and

that the said Aquafaith Shipping, Ltd. and Seven Seas

Maritime, Ltd. are non-resident corporations with no

duly appointed agent for service of process in this state;

NOW, THEREFORE, YOU ARE COMMANDED in

the name of the State of Louisiana and the Twenty-Ninth

32a

Judicial District Court in and for the Parish of St.

Charles, State of Louisiana, to seize and attach according

to law the M/V ALFA to satisfy said Writ and that you

give notice thereof to the attorney at law appointed by

the Court to represent the non-resident Defendant herein,

and to make valid return of the Writ and endorse thereon

the manner in which you have executed it.

By Order of the said Twenty-Ninth Judicial District

Court, Parish of St. Charles, State of Louisiana.

Clerk of Court

33a

RECEIPT AND RELEASE

|PORA Workers Assistance Division Received by

[illegible] Date 1/9/89]

KNOW ALL MEN BY THESE PRESENTS:

That for and in consideration of the sum of TWO

HUNDRED TWENTY THOUSAND PESOS AND

00/100 ONLY (P220,000.00), Philippine Currency, the

receipt of which is hereby acknowledged to my full and

complete satisfaction, broken down as follows:

For death compensation and burial benefits

under POEA Standard Format (14) .. P170,000.00

Donation from Messrs. SEVEN SEAS

ee | SS of P 50,000.00

Total amount to be received .... P220,000.00

I, EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, of legal age and a resident

of Lot 26 Block 12, Phase 2, Pacita Complex I, San Pedro

Laguna, for myself being the surviving wife and sole

allottee of Able Bodied Seaman (A.B) LEOPOLDO L.

JARILLAS of the vessel M/V “ALFA” who was found

missing after the vessel sufferred collission at Baltic Sea

on 16th November 1988, do by these presents, hereby

remise, release and forever discharge said vessel MV

“ALFA”, her Owners, managers, operators, charterers,

agents, underwritters P and I Club and all parties at

interest therein or thereon whether named or not named,

including but nor limited to INTERORIENT MARI-

TIME ENTERPRISES, INC., SEVEN SEAS MARI-

TIME LTD. (AQUAFAITH SHIPPING CO., LTD.),

from any and all claims, demands, debts, dues, liens,

actions or causes of action at law or in equity, in common

law or in admiralty, statutory or contractual, arising

from and under the laws of Cyprus, the United Kingdom

or the Republic of the Philippines and/or any other

foreign country now held, owned or possessed by me,

related to or concerning whether directly or indirectly,

proximately or remotely, without being limited to but

34a

including the disappearance and death of said A.B

LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS onboard said MV ALFA.

This instrument is a GENERAL RELEASE intended

to release all liabilities of any character and/or claims

or damages and/or losses and/or any other liabilities

whatsoever, whether contractual or statutory, at common

law or in equity, tortious or in admiralty, now or hence-

forth in any way related to or occuring as a consequence

of the death of my said husband, including but not limited

to all damages and/or losses constituting of loss of sup-

port, loss of earning capacity, loss of all benefits of what-

soever nature and extent incurred, physical pain and

suffering and/or all damages and/or indemnities claim-

able in law, tort, contract, common law, equity and/or

admiralty by me or by any person or persons pursuant

to the laws of Cyprus, United Kingdom or the Republic

of the Philippines and of all other countries whatsoever.

I hereby certify that I am of legal age and that I fully

understand this instrument which was read to me in the

local dialect and I agree that this isa FULL AND FINAL

RELEASE AND DISCHARGE of all the parties and

things referred to herein, and I further agree that this

release may be pleaded as an absolute and final bar tv

any suit or suits or legal proceedings that may hereafter

be prosecuted by me or by any one claiming by, through,

or under me, against any of the persons or things referred

to or related herein for any matter or thing referred to

or related herein. I further certify and agree in my

personal capacity that in case any other heir will claim

from the parties hereinabove referred to or mentioned

herein based on the same occurrence, I agree to give them

whatever is due and will hold the parties hereinabove

mentioned free and harmless from any and all liabilities

whatsoever.

Questions and Answers:

1. Have you read this paper from beginning to end?

Answer: Yes

———_eaaa

f

35a

2. Do you know what this paper is that you are

signing?

Answer: Yes

3. What is this paper that you are signing?

Answer: Receipt & Release

4. Do you know that. signing this paper settles and

ends every right or claim you may have for all damages/

losses, including but not limited to loss of earning ca-

pacity of the deceased, past and future maintenance, sup-

port, suffering, mental anguish, serious anxiety and

similar injury?

Answer: Yes

5. Do you know that upon receipt of the above amount,

you waive all claims you may have for damages/benefits

against the vessel’s Owners and her agents, insurers,

charterers, operators, underwritters, P and I Club, ship-

pers and all other persons in interest therein or thereon,

under all the laws including the common law of Cyprus,

United Kingdom or the Republic of the Philippines?

Answer: Yes

6. Did you in fact receive the amount of TWO HUN-

DRED TWENTY THOUSAND PESOS AND 00/100

ONLY (P220,000.00), Philippine Currency?

Answer: Yes

I further solemnly state and affirm that this Receipt

and Release is not being made of any persuasive state-

ment or representation by any one whomever and for any

reason other than the payment and consideration stated

herein and I agree that the money paid to me for this

release is not an admission of liability.

36a

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my

hand this 9th day of January in Pasig, Metro Manila,

Philippines.

/s/ Eufemia R. Jarillas

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS

(Wife)

in my own capacity and in representation

of my minor children, namely Janalynne,

Diorella Mae, Jason Paul & Joy Anne

Marie

/s/ Rafael U. Macaspac

(Uncle)

SIGNED IN THE PRESENCE OF:

/s/ Ma. Lourdes M. Cortez

P.O.E.A. Sr. DEO

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES

MUNICIPALITY OF PASIG

CITY OF MANILA [stamped] SS.

ACKNOWLEDGEMENT

In the Municipality of Pasig, City of Manila (stamped)

Metro Manila, Philippines, this 09 of Jan 1989, be-

fore me, a Notary Public, in and for the said munici-

| pality, personally appeared EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS,

| with Res. Cert. No. 1173245 issued at Q.C. on Nov/88,

| known to me to be the same person who executed the fore-

going Receipt and Release and she acknowledged to me

that she executed the same as her free and voluntary act

and deed, after having the same fully explained to her and

realizing the effects thereof, to be a full and final dis-

charge and release of all the parties referred to therein,

of all the matters and things dealt with in said instru-

ment; that the same was executed and signed by her

without any persuation, promis, threat, force, duress,

)

37a

fraud or representation of any kind by any person whom-

soever and that she understood the full contents thereof

as well as the effects thereof.

WITNESS MY HAND AND NOTARIAL SEAL this

09 of Jan 1989 in the Municipality of Pasig, Metro,

Manila, Philippines.

/s/ R. N. Aguilos

ATTY. RAFAEL N. AGUILOS

Notary Public

Until Dec. 31, 1989

PTR No. 564307

Issued: Jan. 2, 1989, Manila

Doc. No. 48

Page No. 78

Book No.

Series of 1989

38a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action 89-4037

Sect. L Mag. 2

EUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. JARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MINOR CHILDREN,

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. JARILLAS,

and JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

versus

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING LTD. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME LTD.

PETITION FOR REMOVAL

[Filed September 11, 1989]

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGES

OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

The Petition of Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and Seven

Seas Maritime Ltd. respectfully represents upon infor-

mation and belief:

I.

On 30 August 1989, the petitioners recvived a Petition

for Damages and Writ of Attachment, a copy of which

is attached hereto, in an action entitled “Eufemia R.

Jarillas, et al. v. Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and Seven

Seas Maritime Ltd., Suit No. 35-757, Division “EK”, in

the Twenty-Ninth Judicial] District Court for the Parish

of St. Charles, State of Louisiana.

39a

II.

The above-described action is a civil action over which

this Court has original jurisdiction under the provisions

of 28 U.S.C. 1331, in that this civil action asserts claims

arising under the Constitution, laws and/or treaties of

the United States. Therefore, pursuant to the provisions

of 28 U.S.C. § 1441, this action is one which may be

removed to the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Louisiana.

ITI.

Petitioners file herewith a bond for the good and suffi-

cient surety on condition, as provided by 28 U.S.C.

§ 1446(d), that it will pay all costs and disbursements

incurred by reason of the removal proceeding hereby

brought should it be determined that this action was not

removable or was improperly removed.

WHEREFORE, Petitioners, Aquafaith Shipping Ltd.

and Seven Seas Maritime Ltd. pray that the above-entitled

action now pending against it in the Twenty-Ninth Judi-

cial District Court for the Parish of St. Charles, State of

Louisiana, be removed therefrom to this Court.

Respectfully submitted,

CHAFFE, MCCALL, PHILLIPs,

TOLER & SARPY

By: /s/ Robert H. Murphy

RoBERT H. MuRPHY—Bar No. 9850

PETER B. SLoss—Bar No. 17142

2300 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleans, Louisiana 70163

Telephone: (504) 585-7000

Attorneys for defendants,

Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and

Seven Seas Maritime Ltd.

40a

CERTIFICATE OF SERVICE

I certify that the foregoing has been served on counsel

of record by depositing same in the U.S. Mail, postage

prepaid, this 11th day of September, 1989.

/s/ R. H. Murphy

ROBERT H. MURPHY

4la

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA

Civil Action 89-4036

Sect. A Mag. 1

AQUAFAITH SHIPPING Lp. and

SEVEN SEAS MARITIME LTp.

versus

EKUFEMIA R. JARILLAS, INDIVIDUALLY, AS PERSONAL REPRE-

SENTATIVE OF THE ESTATE OF LEOPOLDO L. J ARILLAS,

AND AS NATURAL TUTRIX OF THE MINOR CHILDREN,

JANA LYNNE R. JARILLAS, DIORELLA MAE R. J ARILLAS,

and JASON PAUL R. JARILLAS

COMPLAINT FOR DECLARATORY RELIEF

| Filed September 11, 1989 |

TO THE HONORABLE JUDGES

OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT CouRT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF LOUISIANA:

The Complaint of Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and Seven

Seas Maritime Ltd. against Eufemia R. Jarillas, Indi-

vidually, as Personal Representative of the Estate of

Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as Natural Tutrix of the Minor

Children, Jana Lynne R. Jarillas, Diorella Mae R. Jaril-

las, and Jason Paul R. Jarillas, in a cause of action for

declaratory relief, alleges upon information and belief, as

follows:

I.

Plaintiff Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. (“Aquafaith”) was

and is a legal entity duly organized and existing pursuant

to the laws of the Country of Cyprus.

42a

Il.

Plaintiff Seven Seas Maritime Ltd. (“Seven Seas’) was

and is a legal entity duly organized and existing pursuant

to the laws of the United Kingdom.

Ill.

At all times pertinent hereto, defendant Eufemia R.

Jarillas was and is a citizen of The Republic of The

Philippines, and was domiciled in that nation.

IV.

This is a civil action over which this court has original

jurisdiction under the provisions of 28 USC § 1331, in

that this civil action involves claims arising under the

Constitution, laws and/or treaties of the United States.

V.

This also is an admiralty and maritime claim within

the meaning of Rule 9(h) of the Federal Rules. of Civil

Procedure, and this Court has jurisdiction pursuant to

28 U.S.C. § 1333.

VI.

This is an action for Declaratory Judgment pursuant

to 28 U.S.C. § 2201, for the purpose of determining a

question of actual controversy between the parties, as

hereinafter more fully appears.

VII.

Plaintiff Aquafaith is the owner of the M/V ALFA,

an oceangoing bulk carrier, and Seven Seas is a man-

aging agent for Aquafaith.

VIII.

Leopoldo J. Jarillas was employed as a seaman aboard

the M’-V ALFA pursuant to an employment contract

43a

signed by Jarillas in the Republic of the Philippines,

which contract was processed and approved by The Phil-

ippine Overseas Employment Administration (“POEA”),

the official Philippine governmental authority which sets

the rules and regulations applicable to the employment of

all Philippine seamen.

IX.

On or about 16 November 1989, while the M/V ALFA

was on the Hich Seas in the Baltic Sea, she was involved

in a collision. As a result of the collision Leopoldo L.

Jarillas disappeared and is presumed drowned.

X.

On January 9, 1989, defendant Eufemia R. Jarillas,

the wife of Leopoldo L. Jarillas, entered into an agree-

ment with plaintiffs in the Republic of The Philippines

whereby Eufemia R. Jarillas, individually, and as repre-

sentative of her minor children, and accepted the sum

of 220,000 Philippine PESOS in settlement of all claims

against the M/V ALFA and plaintiffs arising from her

husband’s death.

XI.

In connection with the settlement agreement referred

to in Paragraph X, Eufemia R. Jarillas, individually, and

as representative of her minor children, identified to be

Jana Lynne Jarillas, Diorella Mae Jarillas, Jason Paul

Jarillas and Anne Marie Jarillas executed a receipt and

release which was duly witnessed and notarized. (A copy

of the receipt and release is attached hereto as Exhibit

af sa 2

XII.

The Receipt and Release referred to in Paragraphs X

and XI was voluntarily agreed upon by the parties in

the presence of a representative of the Philippine Over-

seas Employment Administration and the executed Re-

ceipt and Release was filed with the POEA. According

to Philippine law, as set forth in Article 227 of the Labor

44a

Code of the Philippines, this compromise settlement is

final and binding upon the parties. (Copy of Art. 227 of

the Labor Code of the Philippines is attached as Exhibit

- ot »

XIII.

Pursuant to the rules and regulations of the POEA,

the POEA has original and exclusive jurisdiction over all

disputes arising out of POEA approved contracts, such

as the contract between Leopoldo L. Jarillas and _ plain-

tiffs and, more specifically, any claims for death or dis-

ability arising during employment.

XIV.

In August 1989, defendant Eufemia R. Jarillas, indi-

vidually, and as personal representative of the Estate of

Leopoldo L. Jarillas, and as Natural Tutrix of the minor

children Jana Lynne R. Jarillas, Diorella Mae R. Jarillas,

and Jason Paul R. Jarillas filed suit against plaintiffs

Aquafaith and Seven Seas in the Twenty-Ninth Judicial

District Court, for the Parish of St. Charles, in the State

of Louisiana. In the petition, it is alleged that the above-

referenced release was executed by defendant Eufemia

R. Jarillas under duress, deception and/or coercion, was

not executed freely and was executed without a full

understanding of her rights and, further alleges that

said release is unenforceable, and praying for the attach-

ment of the M/V ALFA in St. Charles Parish. This law-

suit had not been served on Aquafaith or Seven Seas at

the time this Declaratory Judgment was filed. However,

a writ of attachment of the M/V ALFA has been issued

in the 29th Judicial District Court and will be effected

when the vessel berths in that parish to load cargo on or

about September 12, 1989.

XV.

Plaintiffs aver that Receipt and Release executed in

the Republic of The Philippines in the presence of the

45a

POEA and on file with the POEA is a valid, final and

binding agreement between the parties which is enforce-

able under the laws of the Republic of the Philippines

and/or, alternatively, under laws of any country.

XVI.

Plaintiffs maintain that the law of the Republic of

the Philippines is the proper law to govern this dispute

and determine the validity and enforceability of the Re-

ceipt and Release executed by the defendant.

XVII.

Plaintiffs maintain that said Receipt and Release is

an absolute bar to any claim for damages by defendant

as a result of her husband’s death.

XVIII.

Plaintiffs maintain that defendant has no right of

action or cause of action under the Jones Act and/or

the General Maritime Law of the United States arising

from her husband’s death.

XIX,

Plaintiffs maintain that this is a case which is governed

exclusively by the law of the Republic of the Philippines

and that the POEA has original and exclusive jurisdic-

tion over all disputes between these parties. However,

because of the Louisiana State Court action filed, but not

yet served, by defendant asserting entitlement to the

benefits of United States Law, and because of the threat

that the M/V ALFA will be attached in Louisiana State

Court in the 29th Judicial District Court for the Parish

of St. Charles pursuant to the writ of attachment that

has already been issued, Plaintiffs have been compelled

to file this Declaratory Judgment suit in the United States

District Court for the Eastern District of Louisiana.

46a

WHEREFORE, plaintiffs pray that defendant Eufemia

R. Jarillas be served via certified mail, return receipt

requested. and through her attorneys in the State of

Louisiana, Richard J. Dodson, Paul W. Billingsly, C. John

Caskey, with a copy of this Complaint for Declaratory

Judgment, together with a summons to appear and an-

swer under oath, and that this Court adjudge and decree

pursuant to its authority under 28 USC § 2201:

1. That Philippine law governs this dispute;

2. That the POEA has the exclusive jurisdiction and

is the appropriate forum to resolve this dispute;

8. That Philippine law and, in particular, Article 227

of the Labor Code of the Philippines, requires a finding

that the Receipt and Release is valid, final and binding

upon the parties;

4. That the forum selection clause and choice of law

provisions of the POEA rules and regulations and Leo-

poldo L. Jarillas’s POEA approved employment contract

are valid and enforceable;

5. Alternatively, that the Receipt and Release executed

by Eufemia R. Jarillas is a valid, final and binding agree-

ment between the parties;

6. That defendant has no cause of action under the

Jones Act and/or the General Maritime Law of the

United States; and

7. That plaintiffs have such other and further relief

in the premises as they may be entitled to receive.

47a

CHAFFE, MCCALL, PHILLIPs,

TOLER & SARPY

By: /s/ Robert H. Murphy

ROBERT H. MurPHY—Bar No. 9850

PETER B. SLOSsS—Bar No. 17142

JOHN N. CRITCHLOW—Bar No. 17539

2300 Energy Centre

1100 Poydras Street

New Orleams, Louisiana 70163

Telephone: (504) 585-7000

Attorneys for plaintiffs,

Aquafaith Shipping Ltd. and

Seven Seas Maritime Ltd.

48a

[SEAL]

EMBASSY OF THE

UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

MANILA, PHILIPPINES

Republic of the Philippines )

City of Manila :

Embassy of the United States of America )

I, Gloria M. Jordan, Vice Consul of the United States

of America at Manila, Philippines, duly commissioned

and qualified, do hereby certify that

** Juanito P. Vitangeol

whose true signature and official seal are, respectively,

subscribed and affixed to the foregoing (annexed) certifi-

cate (document), was on the 3lst day of October, 1989,

the date thereof, Notary Public for and within the City

of Manila, Republic of the Philippines duly commissioned

and qualified, as to whose official acts, faith and credit

are due.

ee

IN WITNESS WHEREOF, I have hereunto set my

hand and affixed the seal of the American Consular Serv-

ices at Manila, Philippines, this 31st day of October, 1989

/s/ Gloria M. Jordan

GLORIA M. JORDAN

Vice Consul of the

United States of America

MNL: PS/6

Feb 1982

| 49a

PHILIPPINE

OVERSEAS

EMPLOYMENT

ADMINISTRATION

Republic of the Philippines

Department of Labor & Employment

POEA Bldg., Ortigas Avenue cor. EDSA,

Mandaluyong, 1501 Metro Manila

P.O. Box 4061/Telex: 42472 POEA PM

Tel. : 722-1142 to 99

30 October 1989

PANDIMAN PHILIPPINES, INC.

3rd Floor Phil. Veterans Bank Bldg.

General Luna St., Intramuros

1002 METRO MANILA

Gentlemen:

This has reference to the letter of Chaffe, McCall, Phil-

ipps, Toler & Sarpy dated 25 October 1989 relative to the

civil action filed by Eufemia Jarillas in the United States

District Court, Eastern District of Louisiana on the death

of her husband, A/B Leopoldo Jarillas and requesting the

confirmation by this Administration of the telex sent on

31 August 1989.

We hereby confirm the said telex message and in sup-

port of your position, please be further informed of the

following:

1. The death compensation of A/B Leopoldo Jarillas

of P170,000.00 in accordance with the POEA Stand-

ard Employment Contract plus owner’s donation of

P50,000.00 was paid to the surviving spouse Eu-

femia Jarillas on 09 January 1989 before Ma.

Lourdes M. Cortez, Sr. Overseas Employment Offi-

cer, Welfare & Employment Office (WEO), POEA.

The copy of the worldwide receipt and release exe-

50a

cuted by Mrs. Eufemia Jarillas is on file with this

Administration.

2. It is one of the functions of the WEO to conciliate

claims of seamen or any other overseas contract

workers or their beneficiaries against the employers

or their agents. Any settlement agreed upon before

said Office, as long as the terms and conditions

thereof are over and above the provisions of the

POEA Standard Employment Contract, and not con-

trary to laws, morals and public policy, is valid and

binding. As far as this Administration is con-

cerned, the settlement of the case of A/B Jarillas

before the WEC is considered closed and terminated.

3. Executive Order No. 247 entitled “Reorganizing the

Philippine Overseas Employment Administration

and For Other Purposes” promulgated on 24 July

1987 provides that the POEA shall “exercise origi-

nal and exclusive jurisdiction to hear and decide all

claims arising out of an employer-employee relation-

ship or by virtue of any law or contract involving

Filipino workers for overseas employment x x x.”

Under Section 2, Rule I, Book VII of the POEA

Rules and Regulations Governing Overseas Employ-

ment, the Administration is mandated to “x x x pro-

vide the worker and his family all assistance they

may need in the enforcement of the contractual ob-

ligations by agencies or entities and/or by their

principals « x x.” Further, Section H of the POEA

Standard Employment Contract provides:

“q. All rights and obligations of the parties to this

Contract, including the annexes thereof, shall

be governed by the laws of the Republic of the

Philippines, international conventions, treaties

and covenants wherein the Philippines is a sig-

natory. i.

b. The Philippine Overseas Employment Adminis-

tration shall have original and exclusive juris-

5la

diction over any and all disputes or controver-

sies arising out of or by virtue of this Con-

tract.”

Enclosed are photocopies of Executive Order No. 247

and the telex message dated 31 August 1989.

We hope to have been of assistance to you.

Very truly yours,

/s/ Crescencio M. Siddayao

CRESCENCIO M. SIDDAYAO

Deputy Administrator

for

Employment and Welfare

REPUBLIC OF THE PHILIPPINES)

) ss.

CITY OF MANILA

SUBSCRIBED AND SWORN to before me: Affiant

exhibited to me his Res. Cert. No: 43322456H issed at

Manila on January 9, 1989.

[ JUANITO P. VITANGCOL

Notary Puk

Until Dec. 31, 1989

PTR No. 564584

Manila 1/3/89]

52a

MSG 176-S[TLX]

18:07 AUG.31.89

PTS

19+

23092

ETPI MNL INFO PN

CHAFFE, MCALL, PHILLIPS, TOLER N SARY

LAW OFFICES

460122 VIA WORLDCOM

58335 VIA WESTERN UNION

A/B CMPTS

ATTN: ATTY BOB MURPHY

RE: MV ALFA

CLAIM OF EUFEMIA JARILLAS/DEATH OF ~—

AB LEOPOLDO JARILLAS

THIS IS PHILIPPINE OVERSEAS EMPLOYMENT

ADMINISTRATION (POEA)

RELATIVE TO THE ABOVE SUBJECT, PLS BE

INFORMED OF THE FF:

1) DEATH COMPENSATION OF AB LEOPOLDO

JARAILLAS OF P170,000.00 PER POEA STANDARD

FORMAT CONTRACT PLUS OWNER’S DONATION

OF P50,000.00 WAS PAID TO SURVIVING SPOUSE

EUFEMIA JARILLAS BEFORE POEA WELFARE

OFFICER ON 9 JANUARY 1989 STOP COPY OF

WORLDWIDE RECEIPT AND RELEASE EXECUTED

BY WIDOW ON FILE AT POEA.

2) PURSUANT TO SAID SETTLEMENT CASE OF

AB JARILLAS’ DEATH COMPENSATION

CONSIDERED TERMINATED.

53a

3) BASED ON PAR. 2 SEC. H OF POEA STANDARD

FORMAT CONTRACT, POEA HAS ORIGINAL AND

EXCLUSIVE JURISDICTION OVER ALL DISPUTES

ARISING OUT OF POEA-APPROVED CONTRACT

FOR YOUR INFORMATION AND GUIDANCE

TKS N RGDS

ADM. ACHACOSO/D.A. SIDDAYAO

POEA MANILA

ETPI MNL INFO PN

64035 POEA PN 1

AAD 000.0 MINS

TIME 08/31 1819

54a

MALACAGUNG

MANILA

EXECUTIVE ORDER NO. 247

REORGANIZING THE PHILIPPINE OVERSEAS

EMPLOYMENT ADMINISTRATION AND FOR

OTHER PURPOSES

WHEREAS, Executive Order No. 5 (1986), provides

that the necessary and proper changes in the organiza-

tional and functional structures of the government, its

agencies and instrumentalities need to be effected to pro-

mote efficiency and effectiveness in the delivery of public

services ;

WHEREAS, it has become necessary to institute

changes in the functional structure of the Philippine

Overseas Employment Administration in order to enhance

its effectiveness in responding to changing market and

economic conditions and to the call of the national devel-

opment plan for the strengthening of the worker protec-

tion and regulation components of the overseas employ-

ment program; and,

WHEREAS, the Philippine Overseas Employment Ad-

ministration has to systematize its operations by ration-

alizing its functions, structure and organization to make

it more efficient in undertaking its principal function of

formulating and implementing a systematic program for

promoting and monitoring the overseas employment of

Filipino workers and for protecting their rights to fair

and equitable employment practices, and in order that it

may respond more effectively to the new demands for

more meaningful welfare services to workers, better pro-

tection of their rights, more efficient adjudication of cases

and more efficient manpower delivery system.

NOW, THEREFORE, I CORAZON C. AQUINO, Pres-

ident of the Philippines, by virtue of the powers vested in

55a

me by the sovereign will of the Filipino people and the

Constitution, do hereby order:

Section 1. Title. This Executive Order shall otherwise

be known as the Reorganization Act of the Philippine

Overseas Employment Administration.

Section 2. Reorganization. The Philippine Overseas

Employment Administration, hereinafter referred to as

the Administration is hereby reorganized, structurally and

functionally in accordance with the provisions of the Exe-

cutive Order.

Section 8. Powers and Functions. To the pursuit of

its mandates, the Administration shall have the following

powers and functions:

(a) Regulate private sector participation in the re-

cruitment and overseas placement of workers by

setting up a licensing and registration system;

(b) Formulate and implement, in coordination with

appropriate entities concerned, when necessary,

a system for promoting and monitoring the over-

seas employment of Filipino workers taking into

consideration their welfare and the domestic

manpower requirements;

(c) Protect the rights of Filipino workers for over-

seas employment to fair and equitable recruit-

ment and employment practices and ensure their

welfare;

(d) Exercise original and exclusive jurisdiction to

hear and decide all claims arising out of an

employer-employee relationship or by virtue of

any law or contract involving Filipino workers

for overseas employment including the disci-

plinary cases; and all pre-employment cases

which are administrative in character involving

or arising out of violation of requirement laws,

(g)

(h)

(i)

(k)

56a

rules and regulations including money claims

arising therefrom, or violation of the conditions

for issuance of license or authority to recruit

workers.

All prohibited recruitment activities and prac-

tices which are penal in character as enumerated

and defined under and by virtue of existing

laws, shall be prosecuted in the regular courts

in close coordination with the appropriate De-

partments and agencies concerned;

Maintain a registry of skills for overseas place-

ment;

Recruit and place workers to service the re-

quirements for trained and competent Filipino

workers by foreign governments and their in-

strumentalities and such other employers as

public interest may require;

Promote the development of skills and careful

selection of Filipino workers for overseas em-

ployment ;

Undertake overseas market development activi-

ties for placement of Filipino workers;

Secure the best terms and conditions of employ-

ment of Filipino contract workers and ensure

compliance therewith;

Promote and protect the well-being of Filipino

workers overseas;

Develop and implement programs for the effec-

tive monitoring of returning contract workers,

promoting their re-training and re-employment

or their smooth re-integration into the main-

stream of national economy in coordination with

other government agencies;

(1)

(m)

(n)

57a

Institute a system for ensuring fair and speedy

disposition of cases involving violation of re-

cruitment rules and regulations as well as vio-

lation of terms and conditions of overseas em-

ployment ;

Establish a system for speedy and efficient en-

forcement of decisions laid down through the

exercise of its adjudicatory function;

Establish and maintain close relationship and

enter into joint projects with the Department of

Foreign Affairs, Philippine Tourism Authority,

Manila International Airport Authority, Depart-

ment of Justice, Department of Budget and

Management and other relevant government en-

tities, in the pursuit of its objectives. The Ad-

ministration shall also establish and maintain

joint projects with private organizations, domes-

tic or foreign, in the furtherance of iis objec-

tives.

Section 4. Structural Organization. The Administra-

tion shall consist of the Governing Board, the Office of

the Administrator, the offices of such number of Deputy

Administrators as may be necessary, Office of the Direc-

tor for each of the principal subdivisions of its internal

structure.

(a)

(b)

The Governing Board shall be composed of the

Secretary of Labor and Employment as Chair-

man, the Administrator and a third member,

considered well-versed in the field of overseas

employment who shall be appointed by the

President to serve for a term of two (2) years;

an’)

The Administrator and such Deputy Adminis-

tor and Directors as may be necessary shall be

appointed by the President upon recommenda-

tion of the Secretary ;

’

(c)

58a

The functional structure of the Administration

shall be established along the areas of: market

development, employment, welfare, licensing,

regulation and adjudication. Each of the prin-

cipal substantive subdivisions of the Administra-

tion shall be headed by a Director and shall have

such departments and units as may be neces-

sary.

Section 5. Regional Extension Units. The Administra-

tion is hereby authorized to set up regional extension

units in such regions as the Governing Board may deter-

mine to be necessary to promote efficient and economic

delivery of its services. The regional extension units shall

be under the administrative supervision of the Labor

Regional Director. It shal! have, among others, the fol-

lowing functions:

(a)

(b)

(c)

(e)

(f)

Execute the policies, plans and programs of the

Administration in the regions outside of the

Metro Manila area;

Coordinate with local government officials on the

matter of implementation of the Administra-

tion’s program on overseas employment;

Advise the central office on the needs of the

region for particular welfare and regulatory

programs;

Establish linkages with other allied government

agencies in the pursuance of the objectives of

the overseas employment program ;

Coordinate the anti-illegal recruitment campaign

in the region;

Perform other functions as the Administration

may deem necessary.

Section 6. New Structure and Pattern. Upon approval

of this Executive Order, the officers and employees of the

Philippine Overseas Employment Administration shall, in

59a

a hold over capacity, continue to perform their respective

duties and responsibilities and receive the corresponding

salaries and benefits unless in the meantime they are

separated from the service. The new structure and staff-

ing pattern for the Philippine Overseas Employment Ad-

ministration shall be approved and prescribed by the

Secretary of the Department of Labor and Employment,

within one hundred twenty (120) days from the approval

of this Executive Order and the authorized positions cre-

ated thereunder shall be filled with regular appointments

by the Secretary of the Department of Labor and Em-

ployment or the President as the case may be. Those

incumbents whose positions are not included therein or

who are not reappointed shall be deemed separated from

the service. Those separated from the service shall re-

ceive the retirement benefits to which they may be en-

titled under existing laws, rules and regulations. Other-

wise they shall be paid the equivalent of one-month salary

for every year of service, or fraction thereof, computed

on the basis of the highest salary received, but in no case

shall such payment exceed the equivalent of twelve (12)

months salary.

Section 7. Prohibition Against the Organizational

Change. No change in the reorganization herein pre-

scribed shall be valid except upon approval of the Presi-

dent for the purpese of promoting efficiency and effective-

ness in the delivery of public service.

Section 8. Funding. Funds needed to earry out the

provisions of this Executive Order shall be taken from

funds available in the Administration.

Section 9. Implementing Authority of Secretary. The

Secretary shall issue such rules, regulations and other

issuances as may be necessary to ensure the effective

implementation of the provisions of this Executive Order.

Section 10. Separability Clause. Any portion or pro-

vision of this Executive Order that may be declared un-

es

60a

constitutional shall not have the effect of nullifying other

portions or provisions that can still subsist and be given

effect in their entirety.

Section 11. Repealing Clause. All laws, ordinances,

rules, regulations, other issuances or parts thereof, which

are inconsistent with this Executive Order are hereby

repealed or modified accordingly.

Section 12. Effectivity. This Executive Order shall

take effect immediately.

APPROVED in the City of Manila, Philippines, this

24th day of July, in the Year of Our Lord, Nineteen

Hundred and Eighty-Seven.

(Sgd.) CoRAZON C. AQUINO

President of the Philippines

By the President:

(Sgd.) JOKER P. ARROYO

Executive Secretary

6la

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

U.S. Const. art. I, § 8, Cl. 1.

The Congress shall have Power . .

§ 8, Cl. 3.

To regulate Commerce with foreign Nations, and among

the several States, and with the Indian Tribes:

§ 8, Cl. 10.

To define and punish Piracies and Felonies committed

on the high Seas, and Offences against the Law of Nations;

U.S. Const. art. III, § 2, Cl. 1.

The judicial Power shall extend to all Cases, in Law

and Equity, arising under this Constitution, the Laws of

the United States, and Treaties made, or which shall be

made, under their Authority ;—to all Cases affecting Am-

bassadors, other public Ministers and Consuls;—to all

Cases of admiralty and maritime Jurisdiction;—to Con-

troversies to which the United States shall be a Party;—

to Controversies between two or more States:—between

a State and Citizens of another State;:—between Citizens

of different States;—between Citizens of the same State

claiming Lands under Grants of different States, and

between a State, or the Citizens thereof, and foreign

States, Citizens or Subjects.

U.S. Const. art. VI, cl. 2.

This Constitution, and the Laws of the United States

which shall be made in Pursuance thereof; and all Treaties

made, or which shall be made, under the Authority of the

United States, shall be the supreme Law of the Land:

and the Judges in every State shall be bound thereby,

any Thing in the Constitution or Laws of any State to

the Contrary notwithstanding.

62a

FEDERAL STATUTES INVOLVED

28 U.S.C. § 1831. Federal question

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction of

all civil actions arising under the Constitution, laws, or

treaties of the United States.

(As amended July 25, 1958, Pub.L. 85-554, § 1, 72 Stat.

415; Oct. 21, 1976, Pub.L. 94-574, § 2, 90 Stat. 2721;

Dec. 1, 1980, Pub. L. 96-486, §2(a) 94 Stat. 2369.)

28 U.S.C. § 1833. Admiralty, maritime and prize cases

The district courts shall have original jurisdiction,

exclusive of the courts of the States, of:

(1) Any civil case of admiralty or maritime

jurisdiction, saving to suitors in all cases all other

remedies to which they are otherwise entitled.

(2) Any prize brought into the United States and

all proceedings for the condemnation of property

taken as prize.

(As amended May 24, 1949, c. 139, § 79, 68 Stat. 101.)

28 U.S.C. § 1441. Actions removable generally

(a) Except as otherwise expressly provided by Act of

Congress, any civil action brought in a State court of

which the district courts of the United States have origi-

nal jurisdiction, may be removed by the defendant or the

defendants, to the district court of the United States for

the district and division embracing the place where such

action is pending. For purposes of removal under this

chapter, the citizenship of defendants sued under fictitious

names shall be disregarded.

(b) Any civil action of which the district courts have

original jurisdiction founded on a claim or right arising

under the Constitution, treaties or laws of the United

63a

States shall be removable without regard to the citizen-

ship or residence of the parties. Any other such action

shall be removable only if none of the parties in interes

properly joined and served as defendants is a citizen of

the State in which such action is brought.

(c) Whenever a separate and independent claim or

cause of action within the jurisdiction conferred by sec-

tion 1331 of this title, is joined with one or more other-

wise non-removable claims or causes of action, the entire

case may be removed and the district court may deter-

mine all issues therein, or, in its discretion, may remand

all matters in which state law predominates.

(As amended Oct. 21, 1976, Pub.L. 94-583, § 6, 90 Stat.

2898; June 19, 1986, Pub.L. 99-336, §3(a), 100 Stat.

637; Nov. 19, 1988, Pub.L. 100-702, Title X, § 1016(a),

102 Stat. 4669; Dec. 1, 1990, Pub.L. 101-650 Title ITI,

$ 312, 104 Stat. 5114.)

28 U.S.C. § 2201. Creation of remedy

(a) In a ease of actual controversy within its juris-

diction, except with respect to Federal taxes other than

actions brought under section 7428 of the Internal Rev-

enue Code of 1986, a proceeding under section 505 or

1146 of title 11, or in any civil action involving an anti-

dumping or countervailing duty proceeding regarding a

class or kind of Canadian merchandise, as determined by

the administering authority, any court of the United

States, upon the filing of an appropriate pleading, may

declare the rights and other legai relations of any inter-

ested party seeking such declaration, whether or not fur-

ther relief is or could be sought. Any such declaration

shall have the force and effect of a final judgment or

decree and shall be reviewable as such.

(b) For limitations on actions brought with respect

to drug patents see section 505 or 512 of the Federal

Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act.

64a

(As amended May 24, 1949, c. 139, § 111, 63 Stat. 105;

Aug. 28, 1954, ec. 1033, 68 Stat. 890; July 7 1958, Pub.L.

85-508, § 12(p), 72 Stat. 349; Oct. 4, 1976, Pub.L. 94-455,

Title XIII, § 1306(b) (8), 90 Stat. 1719; Nov. 6, 1978,

Pub.L. 95-598, Title II, § 249, 92 Stat. 2672; Sept. 24,

1984, Pub.L. 98-417, Title I, § 106, 98 Stat. 1597; Sept.

28, 1988, Pub.L. 100-449, Title IV, § 402(c), 102 Stat.

1584; Nov. 16, 1988, Pub.L. 100-670, Title I, § 107(b),

102 Stat. 3984.)

28 U.S.C. § 2202. Further relief

Further necessary or proper relief based on a declara-

tory judgment or decree may be granted, after reasonable

notice and hearing, against any adverse party whose

rights have been determined by such judgment.

65a

STATE STATUTE INVOLVED

Louisiana Code of Civil Procedure, Art. 123. Forum non

conveniens

A. For the convenience of the parties and the wit-

nesses, in the interest of justice, a district court upon

contraditory motion, or upon the court’s own motion after

contradictory hearing, may transfer a civil case to an-

other district court where it might have been brought;

however, no suit brought in the parish in which the plain-

tiff is domiciled, and in a court which is otherwise a court

of competent jurisdiction and proper venue, shall be trans-

ferred to any other court pursuant to this Article.

B. Except as provided in Paragraph C, upon the con-

tradictory motion of any defendant in a civil case filed

in a district court of this state in which a claim or cause

of action is predicated solely upon a federal statute and

is based upon acts or omissions originating outside of this

state, when it is shown that there exists a more appro-

priate forum outside of this state, taking into account the

location where the acts giving rise to the action occurred,

the convenience of the parties and witnesses, and the

interest of justice, the court may dismiss the suit without

prejudice; however, no suit in which the plaintiff is

domiciled in this state, and which is brought in a court

which is otherwise a court of competent jurisdiction and

proper venue, shall be dismissed pursuant to this Article.

In the interest of justice, and before the rendition of the

judgment of dismissal, the court shall require the defend-

ant or defendants to file with the court a waiver of any

defense based upon prescription, provided that a suit on

the same cause of action is commenced in a court of com-

petent jurisdiction within sixty days from the rendition

of the judgment af dismissal.

C. The provisions of Paragraph B shall not apply to

claims brought pursuant to 46 USC § 688 or federal

maritime law.

Added by Acts 1970, No. 294, §1. Amended by Acts

1988, No. 818, $1, eff. July 18, 1988.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.