Opposition Brief — Administrator, New York City Department of Human Resources v. Abbott House
Supreme Court brief1992
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
No. 92-419
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcTOBER TERM, 1992
ADMINISTRATOR OF THE NEW YORK CITY
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES, et al..
Petitioners
VS.
ABBOTT HOUSE, et al..
Respondents
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
PoLiER, TULIN & CLARK
Attorneys for Intervenors-Respondents
STEPHEN WisE TULIN* 350 Fifth Avenue
ALEXANDRA C. CoHN New York, New York 10115
Of Counsel (212) 643-3737
DoNALD J. COHN
Attorney for Intervenors-Respondents
425 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10017
(212) 355-1444
* Counsel of Record
September 29, 1992
T BEST AVAILABLE COPY
he
gtth
af & ‘5
+ et
nterv
nal ri
be d
yn of
: | : | ,
eniedq counsel! rees solely
Question Presented
Ai
enors prevaliea ¢
t the 4.600 « hildren entruste¢
|
~~
4
ly because
their own corporate rights:
;
1o0n the merits 1n vin
;
;
|
the
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Page
Question Presented ...........-----.ss2+eeee> i
en en TET T eee eee eee eee eee eee iii
ES. ee Vv
Restatement of the Case..............------+5- ]
Reasons for Denying The Writ... .......-.---- 7
Point I:
This Case Raises Neither New Issues Nor
Significant Issues..........--.----22++++-0e: 7
Point II:
There Is No Conflict Between The Circuits ... . ll
Point III:
The Standard Set By The Court Below Is
Workable ........ As) Ape eee Ae eee meen ae 13
rie Cais 4 6 Wik ho ache aim 14
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
Cases
Ackerly Communication v. City of Salem, Oregon
752 F.2d 1394, 1397 (9th Cir. 1985) certiorari
denied, sub. nom. County of Multinomah v.
Ackerly Communications, 472 U.S. 1028 (1985)
American Booksellers Assoc., Inc. v. Hudnut, 650
F. Supp. 324 (S.D. Ind. 1986) ..........---..
Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87 (1989) ......
Donnell v. United States, 682 F.2d 240 (D.C.
Cir., 1982) certiorari denied 459 U.S. 1204
ie Oe ee
Gore v. Turner, 563 F.2d 159 (5th Cir. 1978).
Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424 (1983). .
Independent Federation of Flight Attendants v.
Zipes, 491 U.S. 754 (1989) .......-----------
Jones v. Wilkinson, 800 F.2d 989 (10th Cir. 1986)
affirmed, 480 U.S. 926 (1987) .......
League of Unified Latin American Citizens v.
Clements, 923 F.2d 365 (5th Cir. 1991)...
Matter of JCCA v. Saunders, 5 N.Y. 2d 222
(RR aa ee Pe eR Th
Matter of Spence-Chapin Adoption Services v.
Polk, 29 N.Y. 2d 196 (1971) ..
Mid-Hudson Legal Services, Inc. v. G & U, Ine.
578 F.2d 34 (2d Cir. 1978)
Page
~
7]
~
10
1]
1]
10
vi
Cases
Milwe v. Cavouto, 653 F.2d 80 (2d Cir. 1981)
Morgan v. McDonough, 511 F. Supp. 408 (D.
Mass. 1981) affirmed 689 F.2d 265 (1st Cir.
i Pe FF
Posada v. Lamb County, Texas, 716 F.2d 1066
(Sth Cir. 1085) 3... ee
Reeves v. Harrell, 791 F.2d 148] (11th Cir. 1986)
Sable Communication of California v. Pacific Tel.
& Tel., 890 F.2d 184 (9th Cir. |)
Sargeant v. Sharp, 579 F.2d 645 (Ist Cir. 1978) ..
Seattle School District No. 1 v. State of
Washington, 633 F.2d 1338 (9th Cir. 1980)
affirmed 458 U.S. 457 (1982)..........0.
Texas State Teachers Assoc. v. Garland
Independent School District, 489 U.S. 782
(OOD 666 000s eaxcace art ss oe
United States v. Board of Education of
Waterbury, 605 F.2d 573 (2d Cir. |):
Wilder v. Bernstein, 645 F. Supp. 1292 (S.D.N.Y.
1986) affirmed 848 F.2d 1338 (2d Cir. 1988) ..
Wilder v. Bernstein, 725 F. Supp. 1324 (S.D.N.Y.
1989), reversed, 944 F.2d at 1028 (2d Cir.
1991), rehearing granted. prior opinion
vacated, affirmed, Slip Opinion pp.9215-9236
(2d Cir. June 3, 1992)...............0
Page
~
Vil
Page
Statutes:
Civil Rights Attorney’s Fee Awards Act of 1976,
42 U.S.C. § 1988 (1988) g
New York Social Law § 383 4
New York Social Law § 384 §
New York Social Law § 384-a §
New York Social Law § 384-b §
Other Authorities:
S. Rep. 94-1011, 94th Cong., 2d Session reprinted
in 1976 U.S. Code Cong. & Admin. News 8
Federal Rules Civil Procedure R. 24 2G
Constitution of the United States, First
Amendment 6
Constitution of the United States, Fourteenth
Amendment 4.6
No. 92-419
IN THE
Supreme Court of the United States
OcToOBER TERM, 1992
ADMINISTRATOR OF THE NEW YORK CITY
DEPARTMENT OF HUMAN RESOURCES, et al.,
Petitioners,
VS.
ABBOTT HOUSE, et al.,
Respondents.
ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE
UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS
FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT
RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION
Respondents, (hereafter “Intervenors”), 19 not-for-profit child
care agencies who prevailed in vindicating the constitutional
rights of 4,600 children in their care, respectfully urge the Court
to deny the petition for a writ of certiorari for the reasons stated
below.
RESTATEMENT OF THE CASE
The Petition misstates the case by both commission and omis-
sion. Hence we restate it here.
tr
Petitioner (hereafter the “City”) seeks a writ of certiorari to
review an order of the Court of Appeals holding respondents
entitled to counsel fees but remanding the case to the District
Court to recompute the fees to be allowed.
In 1973, plaintiffs’ sued not only the City and religiously af-
filiated child care agencies, but also virtually every child care
agency in the City of New York, including many of the
Intervenors.
Since none of those [ntervenors discriminated (JA 183-184)
they were dismissed as defendants in 1974. However, the
judgments of dismissal reserved to some of them full party status
on any relief that might be granted (A-8) — a fact omitted from
the Petition. They were hardly “volunteers.” See Petition, p. 13.
Ten years later, when those Intervenors obtained a copy of
the settlement negotiated exclusively by the City and plaintiffs,
they found it seriously deficient. At the suggestion of the District
Court, they conferred with the City and plaintiffs to seek
modifications of the proposed settlement to protect the rights
of the children in their care. However, the City and plaintiffs
flatly refused to change the settlement in any respect (A-5,
JA 302, W 1851-1853).
Thus, those Intervenors, joined by others who had reserved
no rights or did not exist in 1973, had no choice but to intervene
under Rule 24 and file objections, since their deep concerns for
the rights of the children in their care would otherwise be ig-
nored by the existing parties (JA 152-153).
These Intervenors stand in loco parentis to the 4,600 children
in their care (A-18), constituting 25% of the children then in
the City’s foster care system (A-8). Intervenors shelter, evaluate,
plan for, supervise, educate, treat medically, psychiatrically and
' References to “A” are to Petitioners appendix; “JA” to the appendix in the
Court of Appeals on this appeal and “W” to the appendix on the prior appeal
which confirmed the final Stipulation of Settlement.
mentally, and nourish the children entrusted to their care, whose
parents cannot do so (W 1643-1849). These children included
large numbers within and large numbers outside the plaintiff
class (W 1647, 1715-16, 1728, 1735-6, 1740-1, 1749, 1755-6,
1766-7, 1781, 1797-8, 1828).
It was Intervenors who proceeded to make a record and ad-
vance arguments that the rights of the children in their custody
and care required that the proposed stipulation be rejected.
(JA 303-4) To that end, Intervenors filed 21 affidavits totalling
250 pages (W 1645-1900), 13 pages of formal a and 62
pages of briefs and exhibits (JA 18-94).
Ultimately the District Court so found, holding that the pro-
posed stipulation was “unacceptable on several levels” in light
of Intervenors’ objections, Wilder v. Bernstein, 645 F. Supp. 1292
at 1347 (S.D.N.Y. 1986), affd 848 F.2d 1338 (2d Cir. 1988), a
finding omitted from the Petition here.
Only when faced with the record compiled by Intervenors
did the City and plaintiffs recognize that Intervenors had raised
substantial issues of the unconstitutionality of the proposed
stipulation and its serious adverse effect on children’s rights.
Lengthy negotiations then followed. As the District Court
found in approving the final settlement:
“It was around [Intervenors’] concrete proposals that
all the parties subsequently negotiated, in open court,
during lengthy sessions held through the fall of 1984”
(645 F. Supp. at 1348).
The District Court found that Intervenor’s succeeded in ob-
taining numerous substantial changes in the proposed stipvula-
tion (645 F. Supp. at 1348-1349; 725 F. Supp. at 1329, n.4, A-52).
Indeed, Intervenor’s assent to the final Stipulation as modified
to meet virtually all of their objections was a weighty factor
in the District Court’s decision to approve it (645 F. Supp. at
1350) — another critical fact omitted from the Petition.
The City aitempts to distinguish between the constitutional
points raised by Intervenors and their “clinical concerns.”
However, Intervenors, and only Intervenors, successfully argued
that the so called “clinical concerns” raised by Intervenors
demonstrated that the settlement agreement proposed by the
City and plaintiffs was adverse to the best interests of children
in care and thus violated their rights under the 14th Amendment.
As the Intervenors contended before the District Court in
August 1984:
“The City and ACLU say the core issues in this case
are equal access to care and religious issues. We
disagree with that.
“We think that in any case dealing with children
and care the best interests of the child, each individual
child, is the lodestar by which the Court and all the
parties must be guided. .. When parents are unwilling
or unable to take care of their children, the state, and
by that I mean the state generically, here the City —
can only step in and act as the parens patriae in the
best interests of the child. That is the beginning, the
end, and the middle. JA 179
* * *
“He is coming into care because the state must take
care of him. The state can only act in the child’s best
_interests. Your Honor put his finger on our constitu-
tional argument, that the equal protection rights of
the child were being violated. . Nobody addressed
that issue except us.
“It is the child’s 14th Amendment rights that are being
violated.” JA 185. (Emphasis added).
In the end, the District Court made the following findings
which were uncontested in the Court below and unchallenged
here:
cst
(1) “{T]Jhe Court found the contributions made by
the Intervenors were essential to the creation of the
final Stipulation” 725 F. Supp. at 1329, A-5l.
(2) Intervenors prevailed “in forestalling entry of
the proposed stipulation negotiated by plaintiffs and
the City” 725 F. Supp. at 1329, A-52.
(3) Intervenors “prevailed, through negotiations,
in their proposals to modify the settlement to
ameliorate the constitutional, clinical, and practical
stumbling blocks they had identified in the original
stipulation.” 725 F. Supp. at i329 (footnote omitted),
A-52. “They succeeded in obtaining modifications in
the initial settlement proposal on virtually every ob-
jection they raised.” 725 F. Supp. at 1332, A-58.
(4) Intervenors “furthered the purposes of the civil
rights statutes by facilitating the formation of a set-
tlement which would safeguard the constitutional
rights of the children in the City’s care, while assur-
ing that the child care system itself would remain
focused on the overall best interests of the children
entitled to the protection of the civil rights laws.” 725
F. Supp. at 1331, A-57-8.
(5) Intervenors “consistently and forcefully ar-
ticulated objections addressed to the constitutional
and civil rights issues in this litigation.” 725 F. Supp.
at 1332, A-58
(6) Intervenors “helped to vindicate the civil rights
of the children and families in the foster care system
which they served, not just their own self interests.” Id.
(7) Intervenors achieved “a ‘material alteration
of the legal relationship of the parties in a manner
which Congress sought to promote’.” Jd. (citations
omitted).
(8) “The contributions made by the intervenors
were essential to the creation of a just and workable
remedy, exactly the type of activity sought to be pro-
moted by the civil rights statutes.” 725 F. Supp. at
1331-2, A-58.
Finally, the City states that Intervenors had no legal interest
at stake in the litigation, because “they had no axes to grind,”
were interested only in “the best interests of children in foster
care” and they were “non-parties vis-a-vis the underlying con-
stitutional claims in the lawsuit.” Petition at p.4.
Intervenors. of course, had no axe to grind as to the underly-
ing claims of racial and religious discrimination. With respect
to relief. however, Intervenors had enormous axes to grind. See
findings 1-8, supra. Intervenors also argued that the proposed
settlement agreement violated the First Amendment rights of
the children and their parents, (JA 23, 70-76, 133-36, 302-3,
308-9) as well as the Fourteenth Amendment rights of the
children.’
Intervenors’ stake in the litigation was to protect the constitu-
tional rights of the 4600 children in their care, and for whom
they stand in loco parentis, when threatened by the settlement
originally put forward by plaintiffs and the City.
? Footnotes 2 and 7 to the Petition disingenuously suggest that the City’s
payments to plaintiffs by agreement somehow impact Intervenor’s right to
fees for their critical contributions. Omitted are the facts that the District
Court expressly found that the City did not pay plaintiffs for litigating against
intervenors (725 F. Supp. at 1332, note 8, misprinted at A-58) and that
Intervenors stipulated in open Court to seek no fees for enforcement activities
short of actual litigation. In any event, this case has been remanded to
the District Court to insure that there will be no duplication of fees. See p. 13
infra.
“I
REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT
POINT |
THIS CASE RAISES NEITHER NEW ISSUES NOR
SIGNIFICANT ISSUES
Here, the unchallenged findings of the District Court (p. 4-6,
supra) demonstrate beyond cavil that Intervenors contribution
was not only significant but pivotal to the outcome and altered
the legal relationship of the parties in numerous and critical
respects.
The decision below simply holcs that an Intervenor who so
vindicates the constitutional rights of those for whom it stands
in loco parentis is entitled to fees for so much of that work as
is non-duplicative of plaintiff.
Nothing in that holding is either new or a departure from
prior law:
A. Once intervenors demonstrate a significant contribution
by non-duplicative work, Donnell v. United States, 682 F.2d 240,
249 (D.C. Cir., 1982) cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1204 (1983), that
resulted in a “material alteration of the legal relationship of the
parties” Texas State Teachers Assoc. v. Garland Independent
School District, 489 U.S. 782, 792-793 (1989), their right to
counsel fees is assured. There is not a single case, and certainly
none is cited by the City, where an intervenor whose independent
activity prevailed in vindicating the rights of its clients or con-
stituents was denied counsel fees.*
‘ Independent Federation of Flight Attendants v. Zipes, 491 U.S. 754 (1989),
relied upon by the City is utterly inapposite. It merely holds that an unsuc-
cessful but blameless intervenor-defendant who violated no rights of plain-
tiff may not be compelled to pay legal fees to plaintiff when the intervention
was not frivolous. Having violated no rights of plaintiffs, there was no liabili-
ty for fees. Here, of course, Intervenors prevented the City from violating the
rights of the children in Intervenors’ care. (In Rhodes v. Stewart, 488 U.S.
1 (1988), the case was moot before judgment on the merits; in Hewitt v. Helms,
482 US. 755 (1987), the fee seeker lost on the merits; and Kay v. Ehrler,
us. _ J11 S.Ct. 1435 (1991) merely held that a pro se litigant was in-
eligible for fees.)
B. The legislative history makes clear that Intervenors who
vindicate constitutional rights may be awarded counsel fees (5.
Rep. No. 1011, 94th Cong., 2d Sess. 4, reprinted in 1976 US Code
Cong. & Admin. News 5908, 5912, n.4).
C. The Courts of Appeals have uniformly so held; United
States v. Board of Education of Waterbury, 605 F.2d 573 (2d
Cir 1979); Morgan v. McDonough, 511 F. Supp. 408 (D. Mass.
1981) aff'd 689 F.2d 265 (Ist Cir. 1982): Seattle School District
No. 1 v. State of Washington, 633 F.2d 1338 (9th Cir. 1980), affd
458 U.S. 457 (1982).
In each of these cases the Intervenors to whom fees were
awarded. like Intervenors here, asserted no organizational rights
of their own, but rather the rights of their constituents.
The Waterbury Intervenors included many persons who had
no children affected by the outcome.
The Morgan Intervenors were a committee to protect the
rights of their clients, a group of public school students.
The Seattle Intervenors were even further removed from the
children whose rights they advocated, being a group of disparate
organizations some of whose members or constituents had
children in the plaintiff school systems. Petitioner's attempt to
distinguish Seattle in footnote 5 is, at best, a distinction without
a difference.
Indeed. the nexus between Intervenors and their children is
far closer here. Patently, had the absent parents done as
Intervenors did, they would have been entitled to fees.
Intervenors here stand in the shoes of the children’s parents. A-I5.
Under New York law, Intervenors are the custodians of children
in their care, New York Social Services Law §§ 383, 384, 384-a,
384-b. The New York Courts have repeatedly so held, Matter
of Spence-Chapin Adoption Services v. Polk, 29 N.Y. 2d 196,
9()2-3 (1971); Matter of JCCA v. Saunders, 5 N.Y. 2d 222, 229
(1959).
se]
The City and plaintiffs, the two parties who should have pro-
tected the rights of the children in Intervenors’ care, had agreed
on_a settlement that violated their rights under the First and
Fourteenth Amendments. Only Intervenors acted to protect
those rights.
Intervenors right to fees for doing so stands on at least as firm,
if not a better, footing then that of the Intervenors in the above
cited cases. In the posture of this case it is indistinguishable from
the status of the organization in Mid-Hudson Legal Services,
Inc. v. G & U, Inc., 578 F.2d 34, 37 (2d Cir 1978). That agency
vindicated the rights of the farm-worker clients it was mandated
to protect. Here, Intervenors protected the rights of the children
they are mandated to protect.
In sum, the decided cases uniformly hold that, where, as here,
a party prevails in vindicating the constitutional rights of its
clients or constituents, it is entitled to legal fees under 42U.S.C.
1988.
The City contends Intervenors should not be awarded fees
because they did not claim the City violated their rights. Peti-
tion at 9. What Intervenors claimed was that the City violated
the rights of the children for whom they care as substitute parents
by agreeing to and offering for court approval the initial flawed
settlement. Intervenors prevailed on that claim and the settle-
ment was modified to meet their objections. They are entitled
to fees.
Since this case in no way expands the coverage of 42 U.S.C.
§ 1988, it will not let loose the dogs of litigation as the City
prophesies. Petition at p. 10. As the Second Circuit so cogently
pointed out, A15-6, Rule 24 of the Federal Rules of Civil Proce-
dure will prevent the parade of horribles the City has dreamed up.
This case is particularly unlikely to stimulate litigation due
to the fact that many intervenors had established rights pur-
suant to judgment to act as parties with respect to remedy. If
Waterbury, Seattle and Morgan have not stimulated intervenor
litigation over more than a decade, it is untenable to argue that
this case will.
10
The City also argues that Intervenors did not need the
incentive of fees to litigate in this case and quotes from the
first opinion of the Court of Appeals, Petition at p. 12. That
opinion was vacated and the unanimous affirmance of fees to
Intervenors points out how essential fee recovery is to organiza-
tions whose constituencies are, as here, economically disad-
vantaged. A 18-19. As Intervenors pointed out in their Petition
for Rehearing:
“There is simply no way Intervenors could or would
have paid legal fees for the years of litigation it took
to correct the seriously flawed stipulation originally
proposed by the City and plaintiff's counsel. Every
dollar spent on legal fees would have been diverted
from providing services to children in dire need, the
only purpose of these agencies. None of these agen-
cies could or would have spent substantial sums on
this litigation instead of on child care. Indeed, one
of their oft repeated objections to the original stipula-
tion was its diversion of scarce financial resources from
direct child care. JA 24, { 12; JA 27, ¢ 22; JA 31, € 40;
JA 116, § 2; W 1717, 1778."
Moreover, the Courts of Appeals have long and unanimously
held that:
“Whether or not an action would have been brought
in the absence of section 1988 is irrelevant.”
Ackerly Communication v. City of Salem, Oregon, 752 F.2d
1394, 1397 (9th Cir. 1985) cert. denied, sub. nom. County of
Multinomah v. Ackerly Communications, 472 U.S. 1028 (1985);
Sargeant v. Sharp, 579 F.2d 645, 648 (Ist Cir. 1978): Milwe v.
Cavouto, 653 F.2d 80, 83 (2d Cir. 1981); Gore v. Turner, 563
F.2d 159, 164 (5th Cir. 1978); Sable Communication of Califor-
nia v. Pacific Tel. & Tel., 890 F.2d 184, 193 (9th Cir. 1989); Jones
* Citations contained in the quotation have been conformed to n. 1, supra.
11
\. Wilkinson, 800 F.2d 989, 991 (10th Cir. 1986), aff'd, 480 U.S.
926 (1987).
More recently, this Court has unanimously reached the same
result. Blanchard v. Bergeron, 489 U.S. 87, 109 S.Ct. at 944
(1989).
POINT I
THERE IS NO CONFLICT AMONG CIRCUITS
As demonstrated in Point I, sujra, in every case where the
issue has been considered, intervenors who prevailed in vin-
dicating the civil rights of clients or constituents have been
awarded fees.
The City’s attempt to manufacture a conflict among the cir-
cuits will not stand even casual scrutiny. Donnell v. United States,
682 F.2d 240 (D.C. Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1204 (1983)
far from supporting the City, simply makes clear that in-
tervenors, like plaintiffs, who make a substantial contribution
are entitled to fees, but when the contribution is minimal no
fee should be awarded. American Booksellers Assoc, Inc. v. Hud-
nut, 650 F. Supp. 324 (S.D. Ind. 1986) holds only that an in-
tervenor who did virtually nothing is entitled to no fee.
Posada v. Lamb County, Texas, 716 F.2d 1066 (5th Cir. 1983)
merely applies the Donnell reasoning to plaintiffs who made
no substantial contribution: so much for the supposed greater
scrutiny.
The “greater scrutiny” the City trumpets is simply the ob-
vious point that intervenors must satisfy the Court that they did
more than ride plaintiffs’ coattails. Far from being in conflict
with the decision below, Donnell emphasizes that intervenors
who. like those here, make a divergent or independent contribu-
tion are entitled to fees, citing Seattle, 682 F.2d at 246 and n.12.
The Court below expressly followed the Donnell formulation.
(A-20)
12
Least tenable of all is the City’s suggestion that the Court
below ignored the question of whether Intervenors were plain-
tiffs or defendants and thus fell into conflict with other Circuits.
(Petition p. 15). 7
In fact the Court below committed no such oversight. It ad-
dressed that very question:
“{T]here is no reason why the present intervenors,
whether they be styled intervenor-plaintiffs or
intervenor-defendants, may not be prevailing parties
for purposes of § 1988 (A-14).
Moreover, Intervenors made clear from the outset that they
were neither plaintiffs nor defendants, insisting that they were
“Non-Defendant Agencies” (JA 19, 33, 98, 179), who intervened
solely with respect to relief. Not having discriminated, they clear-
ly were not defendants. Similarly, they could not stvle themselves
as plaintiffs since they were not involved in the issue of whether
discrimination existed. Thus, perforce, they were Intervenors
without sub-title. That circumstance does not affect their rights.
Finally, the City’s assertion that the Fifth and Eleventh Circuits
deemed the plaintiff or defendant label determinative (Petition
p. 15) borders on the captious: League of Unified Latin American
Citizens v. Clements, 923 F.2d 365 (5th Cir. 1991) turned not on
any distinction between intervenor-plaintiffs and intervenor-
defendants, but simply holds that a prevailing intervenor-
defendant cannot recover against her equally prevailing named
co-defendant. Similarly, Reeves v. Harrell, 791 F.2d 1481 (11th
Cir, 1986) merely holds that an intervenor-plaintiff whose claim
is frivolous is liable for fees to plaintiff — in the same way as
an intervenor-defendant whose claim is frivolous, see Independent
Federation of Flight Attendants v. Zipes, 491 U.S. at 760 (1989).
If the claim is frivolous, liability follows regardless of label.
The labels of “plaintiff” or “defendant” control little when
applied to intervenors. On this the circuits are unanimous. Don-
nell held that if intervenor-defendants contributed substantially
they were entitled to fees. Waterbury, Seattle and Morgan held
the same as to intervenor-plaintiffs.
13
POINT Il
THE STANDARD SET BY THE COURT BELOW IS
WORKABLE
In directing the District Court to determine the extent, if any,
to which Intervenors work included efforts duplicative of plain-
tiffs, or was “attributable solely to advancing concerns other than
civil rights violations” (A-22), the Court of Appeals created no
unworkable standard. The separation of work addressed solely
to non-civil rights concerns is akin to excluding “hours that were
not ‘reasonably expended,’ ” Hensley v. Eckerhart, 461 U.S. 424,
434-5 (1983), or determining the hours to be excluded to account
for limited success, Hensley v. Eckerhart, supra at 436-7; Texas
State Teachers v. Gurland Independent School District, 489 US.
at 791 (1989).
Contrary to the City’s claim (Petition, p.17), the Court of Ap-
peals did not direct the District Court to make any decision based
on Intervenors’ motives. Quite the opposite, it held that where
mixed motives exist, a prevailing intervenor may be compen-
sated for efforts which advanced civil rights concerns (A-21).
In fact. the decision below, far from conflicting with Texas
State, follows its directions in the analogous situation of a par-
tially successful claimant. The District Court was instructed:
1) efforts in pursuit of civil rights remedies may be recovered;
2) efforts which furthered civil rights objections together with
other concerns may be recovered; and in conclusion; 3) efforts
duplicative of plaintiffs’ or solely to advance non-civil rights con-
cerns are not recoverable (A-21, 22).
There is nothing unusually complex, arcane or unworkable
in that disposition. The District Court was left free to “exercise
[its] equitable discretion . . . to arrive at a reasonable fee award,
either by attempting to identify specific hours that should be
eliminated or by simply reducing the award to account for” non-
compensable efforts, Texas State Teachers v. Garland Inde-
pendent School District, supra 109 S.Ct. at 1492. A decision
which, on this point, so closely follows the direction of this Court
is no grounds for granting certiorari.
14
CONCLUSION
The Petition for a writ of certiorari should be denied.
Dated: September 29, 1992
Respectfully submitted,
POLIER, TULIN & CLARK
STEPHEN WIsE TULIN* 350 Fifth Avenue, Suite 1229
ALEXANDRA C. COHN New York, New York
Of Counsel. (212) 643-3737
DONALD J. COHN
425 Park Avenue
New York, New York 10022
(212) 355-1444
Attorneys for Intervenors-
Respondents
*Counsel of Record
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.