Opposition Brief — Barclays Bank PLC v. Franchise Tax Board of California

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

) ULind

No. 92-212 \ or} cerene us |

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992

*

BARCLAYS BANK PLC,

Petitioner,

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD,

An Agency of the State of California,

Respondent.

* —

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The California Supreme Court

o

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR

WRIT OF CERTIORARI

.

DaNiEL E. LUNGREN

Attorney General of

the State of California

TimotHy G. LApDDISH

Assistant Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

2101 Webster Street, 12th Floor

Oakland, CA 94612-3049

(510) 464-0364

Ropert D. MILAM

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondent

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO, (800) 225-6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 442-2831

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether there is a “final judgment” under the

jurisdictional test set by 28 U.S.C. § 1257 when the Cali-

fornia Supreme Court has decided a Foreign Commerce

Clause issue but has remanded the state tax refund case

to a lower California court for consideration of due pro-

cess issues which, if all were determined in taxpayers’

favor, would result in a complete judgment for taxpayers.

2. If this Court has jurisdiction to consider this case

at this time, whether the California Supreme Court prop-

erly declined to apply a dormant Commerce Clause anal-

ysis and properly held that, due to congressional

acquiescence, California did not violate the Foreign Com-

merce Clause by application of worldwide combined

reporting to determine the taxable California income of

the Barclays taxpayers.

3. If there is such jurisdiction, and if there has been

no violation of the Foreign Commerce Clause, whether

California’s application of worldwide combined report-

ing to the Barclays taxpayers was nevertheless preempted

by the United States Constitution as an intrusion into an

inherently federal area; specifically, whether the Execu-

tive Branch’s foreign affairs powers can eclipse Congress’

exercise of its treaty and Commerce Clause powers to

permit such state use of worldwide combined reporting.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .. 2005 5s0 se essucnsvecunes i

TABLE OF CONTENTS... «i045 c0sscencueapeuveegaes ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIOS ©. «.55vichuassuccuesesess iv

JURISDICTION .. «0. .00000s00008 eben ee Cena eee wanes 1

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS. . ..... <iscncuesceeekeeueeewesaensen es 2

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE..... 2

1. The California Tax Filings of Petitioners and

the Adjustments Made by the Franchise Tax

Board ....s.scuscsn ccd sake cee eee eee ene 2

2. Awareness of the Use of the Worldwide Com-

bined Report Method of Determining Income... 4

3. The United States/United Kingdom Tax Treaty . 5

4. The California Water’s-Edge Election......... 6

5. This Court’s Recognition of the Merits of For-

mulary Apportionment. ...............0.eeees 6

ARGUMENT

I THIS COURT HAS NO JURISDICTION TO

CONSIDER THIS CASE AT THIS TIME, FOR

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT’S

DECISION, WHICH REMANDED THE CASE

TO THE COURT OF APPEAL FOR CONSID-

ERATION OF TAXPAYERS’ DUE PROCESS

ISSUES, IS NOT A “FINAL JUDGMENT” AS

REQUIRED BY 26 U.SG. & BoP ccencssisncss 8

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

Il THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT HAS

PROPERLY APPLIED THIS COURT’S WAR-

DAIR DECISION IN HOLDING THAT CON-

GRESSIONAL ACQUIESCENCE IN

CALIFORNIA’S USE OF WORLDWIDE COM-

BINED REPORTING IS DETERMINATIVE OF

THE COMMERCE CLAUSE ISSUE, WITH NO

NEED FOR ANY DORMANT COMMERCE

MME PENUURAST Os bins ccc nssccncecsennveses 17

III THE DETERMINATION OF THE FOREIGN

COMMERCE CLAUSE ISSUE IN THIS CASE

ECLIPSES ANY FOREIGN AFFAIRS PREEMP-

EE 6 Aas 64 554k 04 4a a4 casera dK vaw eed 26

a cee eN anh lak Gavs sida a ess anaes 29

iv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Alcan Aluminum Corporation v. Franchise Tax Board,

Cal. Ct. of Appeal Nos. 2 Civ. No. B065648, 3

Re WN Sess Rete kacaasnaw sews cenaxceens ces 15

Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of Taxation, __

U.S. __ , 112 S.Ct. 2251 (1992) 2.0... eee ee eee +

Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S. 83 (1963)................ 11

California v. Rooney, 483 U.S. 307 (1987) ........... 9, 10

Cohan v. Alvord, 162 Cal.App.3d 176 (1984).......... 13

Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371 U.S. 542 (1963) .... 14

Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax Bd., 463

U.S. 159 (1983)... cece cece eens 7, 18, 19, 27, 28

Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420 U.S. 469 (1975)

ET er Ey py rere TT re eT eee . we 3, 2

Dames & Moore v. Regan, 453 U.S. 654 (1981)........ 26

Dows v. Chicago, 11 Wall. 108 (1871)................. 16

Fair Assessment in Real Estate Assn. v. McNary, 454

ib a Bt. | a Pore re Serr ris rere 15, 16

Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619 (1981) ......... 9, 13, 14, 15

Fort Wayne Books, Inc. v. Indiana, 489 U.S. 46 (1989) .... 14

Franchise Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Alcan Aluminium, 493

a SR MEE Woo ve dhknk hea so kak sav asenshacwes 16

Hathorn v. Lovern, 457 U.S. 255 (1982)............. 9, 10

Hines v. Davidowitz, 312 U.S. 52 (1941) .............. 27

Illinois Com. Men's Assn. v. State Bd. of Equalization,

ee et eer rere rr ty tore Press 13

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Kraft General Foods v. Iowa Dept. of Revenue, __

Gs we BER GAL RGD CEG: cen ev cece ssn eed 18

Lewis v. Reynolds, 284 U.S. 281 (1932)................ 8

Mercantile National Bank v. Langdeau, 371 U.S. 555

LEIP ss nvavdsaudionse dean bike ada nn kee eee 14

Minnick v. California Dept. of Corrections, 452 U.S.

We CEPGED s x6 onkscuthdns ean ees ate e ee eee 12

Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961).................. 16

O'Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982)............... 10

Radio Station WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120

ti) DEER ee eee ee ee Te SEE re pene eed fr 9, 11

San Diego Gas & Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S.

TEE SEPOES si cxeae een Vm ce eee eee eee 12

Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1 (1984)......... 14

Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept. of Treasury, ___ U.S.

ere eee Ss.) rrr oer er 7

Underwood Typerwriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 U.S.

BED CEE sci kok 4 ck du as aed wee ee ee ae 7

United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299

oe eB | eee ere rere eee 22, 26

United States v. Guy W. Capps, Inc., 204 F.2d 655

Cer GP ROU os nso nsec anes cae er eneeee ae 22, 27

Wardair Canada, Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477

igh. ©. CEE i Fok cs wexckicoaccst ee passim

Western & Southern L.I. Co. v. Bd. of Equalization,

WE ia ee TAPED « 5.6 5k 050han eee 22

Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429 (1968) ........... 27, 28

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

U.S. Const. art. I § 8(3) (Commerce Clause)..... passim

US. Comat. ort. 1 6 di vnsscesas sicctancaveeaeneus 2, 28

U.S. Const. art. VI (Supremacy Clause).............. 28

ee: Se eer eer rere 9, 10, 12, 13

Equal Protection Clause.........ccsseevvvessseses 14, 15

Cel Conmit. aft. 237 cicic vce. RRR eo 13

STATUTES

x) Bik oe ob .. : eer ge nA 1, 2, 8, 9, 17, 26

26 USS. | 1bG iii ci iiictsnekneeeeeeoe 16

42 OSC: & TOG vo nccdavinises Fee 16

Federal Aviation Act. i. ...0060sdaveues sedans eeee 20

California Revenue and Taxation Code § 25110. 2, 6, 15

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxation

and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasions with

Respect to Taxes on Income and Capital Gains

(US/UK Treaty), Dec. 31, 1975, 31 U.S.T.

OGD cs ci ssnnnecsvevdscaecsncgnere 5, 23, 24, 25, 28

Chicago Convention on International Civil Avia-

CG on soc cnndaccscetnssscdneuee caneap ee eeeeeaee 20, 21

124 Cong. Rec. (1978)... s.06iscesesesseuaeseneveas 23, 24

No. 92-212

+

In The

Supreme Court of the United States

October Term, 1992

¢

BARCLAYS BANK PLC,

Petitioner,

FRANCHISE TAX BOARD,

An Agency of the State of California,

Respondent.

¢

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The California Supreme Court

e

BRIEF OF RESPONDENT FRANCHISE TAX BOARD

IN OPPOSITION TO PETITION FOR WRIT OF CER-

TIORARI

¢

JURISDICTION

Petitioner Barclays Bank PLC (“Barclays”), successor in

interest to taxpayers Barclays Bank International, Inc. (“BBI”)

and Barclays Bank of California (“Barcal”), invokes jurisdic-

tion under 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a). Respondent Franchise Tax

Board argues below that there is no current jurisdiction

under that section because there is not yet any final judg-

ment from the California courts in this litigation.

+

STATUTORY AND CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Petitioner Barclays has included some of the relevant

constitutional and statutory provisions in Appendix D to

the petition. Appendix A to this brief in response con-

tains the following: a portion of article II, section 2 of the

United States Constitution; a portion of 28 U.S.C.

§ 1257(a); and California Revenue and Taxation Code

section 25110.

SUPPLEMENTAL STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Franchise Tax Board believes that peti-

tioner Barclays’ statement regarding the case (Petition for

Certiorari (“Pet.”) 3-14) contains significant omissions.

Therefore, pursuant to Rule 15.1, the Franchise Tax Board

provides this Court with this supplemental statement.

This supplement, which is not necessary to the jurisdic-

tional argument presented below at pp. 8-17, should be

read in conjunction with and in addition to both Barclays’

statement and the California Supreme Court’s statement

of the factual, procedural, legislative and case law back-

ground, which is included herein by reference. Most cita-

tions herein are to the appendices to the Petition for Writ

of Certiorari.

1. The California Tax Filings of Petitioners and the

Adjustments Made by the Franchise Tax Board.

The Barclays Group conducted its business in Califor-

nia through two corporate entities during the year in

issue. Barclays Bank of California (“Barcal”), a wholly

owned, California incorporated, subsidiary of Barclays

Bank International Limited (“BBI”), conducted a commer-

cial banking business in the State of California. C-38, #9.

BBI, a wholly owned, United Kingdom incorporated, sub-

sidiary of Barclays Bank Limited (“BBL”), conducted

business in California as a banking agency. C-36, #1. BBI

was engaged in general retail and commercial banking,

leasing, and consumer and commercial finance, directly

or through subsidiaries, in approximately fifty-five (55)

countries and territories during 1977. C-37, #2.

Both corporations filed California Franchise Tax

returns for the year at issue. Barcal filed a return which

included in its calculations only its individual income

and activities. C-39-40, #19. BBI filed a return based upon

a worldwide combined report which included all of its

worldwide income and activities, and the worldwide

income and activities of all of its controlled subsidiaries,

including Barcal. C-39, #18. The income which served as a

measure of BBI’s California tax was determined by apply-

ing an apportionment formula, which compared BBI’s

California activities to the worldwide activities of BBI

and its subsidiaries, to the worldwide net income of BBI

and its subsidiaries.

At audit the Franchise Tax Board determined that

Barcal, BBI and all of BBI’s other subsidiaries were part of

a single unitary business which also included BBL, the

parent company of BBI, and all of the other controlled

subsidiaries of BBL. C-38, #14. As a result of this deter-

mination the Franchise Tax Board recomputed the Cali-

fornia tax liabilities of Barcal and BBI upon the kasis of a

combined report which included all of the income and

activities of the entities determined to be in the unitary

business, from which the California net incomes of Barcal

and BBI were reached by formulary apportionment. C-38,

#15; C-39, #16; A-5. For purposes of this litigation it is

agreed that BBL and all of its majority-owned subsid-

iaries, including BBI and Barcal, are a single unitary

business. A-2, C-37 #8, C-42 #27.

BBI and Barcal pursued administrative remedies with

the Franchise Tax Board, and modifications were made to

the original audit calculations of the amount of income

attributed to California. BBI and Barcal paid the modified

assessments and filed a suit for refund asking for the

return of all tax and interest amounts paid which were

over the amounts paid with their original returns. Nei-

ther BB} (C-41, #25) nor Barcal (C-41, #24) have claimed

that the amount of tax paid with their original returns

was erroneous. 7

2. Awareness of the Use of the Worldwide Combined

Report Method of Determining Income.

There is evidence which suggests international

awareness of the use of formula apportionment and the

unitary method at least from the mid-1950’s on. A-33. As

early as the late 1940’s the United States negotiators of

Friendship Commerce and Navigation agreements recog-

nized the existence of formulary approaches. A-34. The

use of formula apportionment as an alternative to the

arm’s-length/separate accounting method penetrated the

international financial and diplomatic consciousness as

early as 1924. A-32.

The debate on the States’ use of worldwide combined

reporting (“WWCR”) methodologies was recognized by

the Executive Branch of the federal government as span-

ning at least two decades as of 1984. A-33, n. 14. Congres-

sional bills dealing in part with the subject of the states’

use of WWCR have been introduced since at least 1965

(A-31) and have included measures sponsored by the

United States Treasury. For over 25 years senior tax and

foreign policy officials of the Executive Branch had been

aware of the complaints and demands of foreign govern-

ments regarding worldwide combined reporting. A-27.

3. The United States/United Kingdom Tax Treaty.

In 1975, the Ford administration concluded negotia-

tion of a bilateral income tax convention (“US/UK

Treaty”) with the United Kingdom which would have

prevented the use of the WWCR methodology here at

issue. A-28. in 1978, with explicit recognition of the “neg-

ative implications” of its act, the United States Senate

rejected the income tax convention negotiated by the exec-

utive branch. A-27. It was only approved after the clause

limiting the states’ use of worldwide combined reporting

was removed. A-27. tn the wake of the Senate rejection of

the limiting clause, the executive scuttled its effort to

achieve a treaty-imposed curb on the states’ use of

WWCR. A-28 and A-37, n. 20. -

The Parliament of the United Kingdom ratified the

treaty in 1980, without the clause prohibiting the states’

use of WWCR. A-30, n. 11 and C-56, #40gg. The ratifica-

tion occurred after representative of the two countries

negotiated the Third Protocol to the Treaty. C-56, #40gg.

In 1985 Parliament enacted legislation which

empowered the Prime Minister to institute retaliatory

taxation against United States companies if the use of

WWCR was continued. C-49, #34. This power has never

been exercised. The Executive Branch has indicated to

Congress that exercising this power would constitute a

clear violation of the treaty by the United Kingdom. Exh.

37i, p. 12.

4. The California Water’s-Edge Election.

In 1986 California enacted legislation which allows

both foreign and domestic based businesses to elect out

of the use of WWCR in favor of a “water’s-edge” method,

which in general confines WWCR to United States incor-

porated entities, certain tax advantage subsidiaries of

United States corporations and, in limited circumstances,

some portion of foreign incorporated entities. A-36 and

C-73, #55; Cal. Revenue and Taxation Code § 25110 (see

Appendix A hereto). The enactment of the California

water’s-edge legislation prompted senior Treasury offi-

- cials to retreat from their previous insistence that Con-

gress prohibit state use of worldwide formula

apportionment. A-36-37.

5. This Court’s Recognition of the Merits of Formulary

Apportionment.

As noted above, worldwide combined reporting is

based upon formulary apportionment of the total net

income of a unitary business. Use of such formula appor-

tionment of income does not result in a taxation of non-

California corporations or in a taxation of non-California

income; it is only the means of determining what portion

of the unitary income can be fairly attributed to the part

of the unitary business that is actually being carried out

in California. Container Corporation v. Franchise Tax Board,

463 U.S. 159, 164-65, 184, 192 (1983) (hereinafter “Con-

tainer”).

The Container decision, id., upheld the merits of Cali-

fornia’s use of unitary apportionment and WWCR as to

worldwide unitary businesses headed by domestic corpo-

rations. The Container Court held California’s version of

WWCR to be a “proper and fair method of taxation” (463

_ U.S. at 184) which reflects “a reasonable sense of how

income is generated” (id. at 169-70) and which avoids the

“basic theoretical weaknesses” of arm’s length/separate

accounting methods (id. at 181), the alternative to WWCR.

which petitioner Barclays claims must be applied to the

Barclays taxpayers. Among the separate accounting

weaknesses pointed out in Container are that separate

accounting “is subject to manipulation and imprecision,

and often ignores or captures inadequately the many

subtle and largely unquantifiable transfers of value that

take place among the components of a single enterprise”

(id. at 164-65).

As this Court stated in Trinova Corp. v. Michigan Dept.

of Treasury, ___ U.S. __, 111 S.Ct. 818, 831 (1991), “since

Underwood Typewriter Co. v. Chamberlain, 254 U.S. 113

(1920), we have recognized the impracticability of assum-

ing that all income can be assigned [by geographic desig-

nation] to a single source.” This Court has very recently

stated, “The principal virtue of the unitary business prin-

ciple of taxation is that it does a better job of accounting

for ‘the many subtle and largely unquantifiable transfers

of value that take place among the components of a single

enterprise’ than, for example, geographical or transac-

tional accounting.” Allied-Signal, Inc. v. Director, Div. of

Taxation, __ U.S. __, 112 S.Ct. 2251, 2261 (1992).

+

ARGUMENT

I

THIS COURT HAS NO JURISDICTION TO CON-

SIDER THIS CASE AT THIS TIME, FOR THE CALI-

FORNIA SUPREME COURT’S DECISION, WHICH

REMANDED THE CASE TO THE COURT OF APPEAL

FOR CONSIDERATION OF TAXPAYERS’ DUE PRO-

CESS ISSUES, IS NOT A “FINAL JUDGMENT” AS

REQUIRED BY 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

The ultimate issue to be finally determined in a tax-

payer’s tax refund suit is whether the taxpayer has over-

paid its tax. Lewis v. Reynolds, 284 U.S. 281, 283 (1932).

That issue clearly has not yet been determined by the

California courts. The California Supreme Court has

decided the Foreign Commerce Clause issue in favor of

the Franchise Tax Board, and it has remanded the case

back to the California Court of Appeal for consideration

of due process issues. If all those due process issues were

to be determined in taxpayers’ favor, taxpayers would

then receive a final and favorable California judgment for

refunds of their taxes as prayed for in their complaints.

Such a judgment in favor of taxpayers would render moot

the Foreign Commerce Clause issue and holding as to this

case, unless the Franchise Tax Board petitioned this Court

for relief from the Due Process Clause judgment and

taxpayers preserved the Foreign Commerce Clause issue

in their response. On the other hand, if taxpayers ulti-

mately lose the Due Process Clause issue in-a final judg-

ment rendered by the highest California court in which a

decision could be had, there can be no question that

taxpayers then properly could raise both the Due Process

Clause issues and the Foreign Commerce Clause issues in

a petition for certiorari to this Court. Hathorn v. Lovern,

457 U.S. 255, 261 (1982); accord, California v. Rooney, 483

U.S. 307, 311-12 n. 2 (1987).

Under these circumstances, is the California Supreme

Court’s May 1992 interlocutory opinion a “final judg-

ment” for purposes of section 1257 jurisdiction? Proper

application of this Court’s recent decisions establishes

that it is not.

28 U.S.C. § 1257 limits the jurisdiction of this Court in

State-originated cases to “[flinal judgments or decrees

rendered by the highest court of a State in which a

decision could be had... .” “In general, the final-

judgment rule has been interpreted ‘to preclude

reviewability . . . where anything further remains to be

determined by a state court, no matter how dissociated

from the only federal issue that has finally been adjudi-

cated by the highest court of the State.’ Radio Station

WOW, Inc. v. Johnson, 326 U.S. 120, 124 (1945).” Flynt v.

Ohio, 451 U.S. 619, 620 (1981). One of the goals behind the

final-judgment rule is to avoid piecemeal review of the

various federal issues which might be present in a Partic-

ular case. See id. at 621. If this Court were to take this

case now and sustain the California Supreme Court on

the merits of the Foreign Commerce Clause issue, this

10

Court could well then be faced, either later this term or

next term, with a petition from a final California decision

on Due Process Clause issues in the same litigation.

Barclays, citing Cox Broadcasting Corp. v. Cohn, 420

U.S. 469 (1975), argues that the California Supreme

Court’s decision “meets the criteria established by this

Court for finality under 28 U.S.C. § 1257 where further

state proceedings may occur. Cox, 420 U.S. at 476-87.” Pet.

27. But Barclays never singles out nor completely sets

forth any of the four Cox exceptions to the general rule.

The reason for this omission is clear: Barclays’ circum-

stances meet none of the four exceptions in Cox.

The Cox decision provides “a limited set of situa-

tions” which provide exceptions to the above general

rule. O'Dell v. Espinoza, 456 U.S. 430 (1982). There are four

categories of cases listed in Cox as comprising that lim-

ited set of exceptions. The first and third categories are

not pertinent here.! The second and fourth categories

deserve attention.

The wisdom of applying the final-judgment rule to

deny jurisdiction in this case can be demonstrated by a

1 The first exception does not apply here because the For-

eign Commerce Clause determination is not conclusive of the

rest of the state proceedings — the case is not for all practical

purposes concluded. See Cox, 420 U.S. at 479. The third excep-

tion is not applicable here because Barclays would be able to

seek review in this Court on the Foreign Commerce Clause issue

if Barclays were to lose on the merits in the further California

proceedings. See Cox, 420 U.S. at 481; see also Hathorn and

Rooney, cited above at p. 9.

11

close analysis of the second Cox exception. Cox presents

the second exception as follows:

“Second, there are cases such as Radio Sta-

tion WOW, supra, and Brady v. Maryland, 373 U.S.

83 (1963), in which the federal issue, finally

decided by the highest court in the State, will

survive and require decision regardless of the

outcome of future state-court proceedings. In

Radio Station WOW, .. . [t]he federal issue was

held reviewable here despite the pending [state

proceedings] on the ‘presupposition . . . that the

federal questions that could come here have

been adjudicated by the State court, and that the

[further state proceedings] could not remotely

give rise to a federal question . . . that may later

come here. .. . ’ 326 U.S., at 127. . . . Nothing

that could happen in the course of the [further

State proceedings], short of settlement of the

case, would foreclose or make unnecessary deci-

sion on the federal question.” 420 U.S. at 480.

The second exception in Cox is premised upon two

conditions: (1) that no further decision of the state courts

will render moot the federal question which has already

been decided, and (2) that no other federal question will

be a subject of the state court proceedings to come. Bar-

clays argues in part that this Court should take jurisdic-

tion imniediately in order to keep the Foreign Commerce

Clause question from becoming moot. To the contrary, the

second exception in Cox establishes that if the federal

question might be rendered moot in the further state

proceedings, that usually is sufficient reason to find that

there has not been a “final judgment” in the state courts.

This approach is tied to this Court’s recognition that the

final- judgment limitations on this Court's jurisdiction are

12

‘4

closely connected to the “ ‘policy of strict necessity in

disposing of constitutional issues. . . . ’” Minnick v.

California Dept. of Corrections, 452 U.S. 105, 122-23 & n. 30

(1981).

By also conditioning this second exception in Cox

upon the absence of any possibility that any other federal

question might arise in the remaining state court proceed-

ings, this exception avoids the possibility of there being

two or more “final judgments” in the same state case, a

situation which could give rise to piecemeal consider-

ation by this Court of various federal issues in the same

state case. The present case provides an example: imme-

diate consideration on the merits of Barclays’ Foreign

Commerce Clause claims could well be followed soon by

another petition on Due Process Clause grounds, with

both petitions arising from exactly the same California

litigation. To avoid this situation, this Court has held that

when further state proceedings are necessary to resolve

another federal question, there is no “final judgment”

and thus no jurisdiction under section 1257. San Diego Gas

& Electric Co. v. San Diego, 450 U.S. 621, 633 (1981).

Although the second Cox exception clearly does not

apply to this case, its consideration in the context of this

case demonstrates some of the reasons why the present

case should not be excepted from the general rule. Any

attempt to expand any other exception from Cox in order

to apply it here should be given extremely careful scru-

tiny.

Without being specific, Barclays refers to just a por-

tion of the fourth exception in Cox. In order for this Court

to have jurisdiction, Barclays must establish that this case

13

now meets all of the necessarily intertwined conditions of

the fourth exception. See Flynt v. Ohio, 451 U.S. 619. That

exception requires that (1) “the federal issue has been

finally decided in the state courts with further proceed-

ings pending in which the party seeking review here might

prevail on the merits on nonfederal grounds, thus rendering

unnecessary review of the federal issue by this Court,” '

(2) “reversal of the state court on the-federal issue would

be preclusive of any further litigation on the relevant

cause of action rather than merely controlling the nature

and character of, or determining the admissibility of evi-

dence in, the state proceedings still to come,” and (3) “a

refusal immediately to review the state-court decision

might seriously erode federal policy. ...” Cox, 420 U.S. at

482-83 (emphasis added).

The first requirement for this exception is not met by

this case. While the Franchise Tax Board has argued that

there are California procedural bars to the consideration

of the due process claims on their merits, there is no way

that Barclays can ultimately prevail on the merits in the

further state proceedings without establishing that there

has been a denial of due process of law.?

? Although article I, section 7 of the California Constitution

also guarantees “due process” rights, that provision has not

been interpreted in tax cases as providing any rights different

from those guaranteed in the federal Due Process Clause. See

Cohan v. Alvord, 162 Cal.App.3d 176, 184-86 (1984); Illinois Com.

Men's Assn. v. State Bd. of Equalization, 34 Cal.3d 839 (1981). In

this case the Barclays taxpayers have never argued to the Cali-

fornia courts that the California due process guarantee has a

broader coverage here than the federal Due Process Clause.

14

The third requirement for this Cox exception also is

not met in this case. The third requirement has been

satisfied in cases where First Amendment rights are

directly at stake in the delays involved in further state

proceedings (see, e.g., Fort Wayne Books, Inc. v. Indiana,

489 U.S. 46, 55-56 (1989)) and cases where the federal

question involves such procedural questions as proper

jurisdiction, venue, or arbitration with regard to which

the claimed federal interest would be sacrificed or seri-

ously undermined by continuation of contrary state court

procedures (see, e.g., Southland Corp. v. Keating, 465 U.S. 1,

6-9 (1984); see also Mercantile National Bank v. Langdeau,

371 U.S. 555 (1963), and Construction Laborers v. Curry, 371

U.S. 542° (1963), which are cited as examples for the fourth

exception in Cox, 420 U.S. at 483, and in Flynt v. Ohio, 451

U.S. 619, 622 (1981)).

In Flynt, id., this Court refused to consider whethef

permitting a particular criminal prosecution to proceed in

state courts was violative of the Equal Protection Clause,

holding ihat the resolution of that question could await

final state judgment without “any adverse effect upon

important federal interests.” Id. at 122. This Court

reached this holding even though the first two conditions

of the fourth Cox exception were met. In the words of this

Court, “A contrary conclusion would permit the fourth

exception to swallow the rule.” Id. at 622. In other words,

the mere fact that the state courts had reached their final

holding on a vital federal constitutional issue does not

mean that a delay in United States Supreme Court review

of that holding will “seriously erode federal policy.”

Barclays argues that failure to give immediate review

to the California Supreme Court’s interlocutory decision

15

would seriously erode an alleged “federal economic pol-

icy of promoting a uniform standard for division of

income for tax purposes between nations.”3 Barclays fails

to explain why Barclays’ purported economic policies

somehow must be protected immediately in this case

while the Equal Protection Clause claims in the criminal

proceedings in Flynt could wait.4

Barclays fails to recognize that there is an extremely

strong federal policy of comity which would be seriously

eroded if Court were to take this case at this juncture. This

Court has long recognized that “ ‘the modes adopted [by

the states] to enforce the taxes levied should be interfered

with as little as possible.’ ” Fair Assessment in Real Estate

3 Barclays fails to recognize that if, as the California

Supreme Court has held, Congress has taken this case out of the

dormant Commerce Clause context by acquiescence in Califor-

nia’s taxing procedures, there can be no federal economic policy

which can overshadow this congressional position.

* In making this argument, Barclays also fails to inform this

Court that under current California law, Barclays subsidiaries

doing business in California can choose to not have worldwide

combined reporting used in the determination of their taxes;

thus such Barclays subsidiaries do not need to experience

worldwide combined reporting while the California state court

proceedings proceed to a truly final judgment. See Pet. App.

A-36 & n. 19, citing Cal. Rev. & Tax Code § 25110 et seq. Barclays

also fails to inform this Court of two other cases (Alcan Alumi-

num Corporation v. Franchise Tax Board, Cal. Ct. of Appeal Nos. 2

Civ. No. B065648, 3 Civ. No. 11530), currently proceeding in two

separate districts of the California appellate courts, wherein

another taxpayer is actively raising the same Foreign Commerce

Clause issue which Barclays wishes to argue now in this Court.

Thus even if the Foreign Commerce Clause issue is mooted out

in Barclays’ further state court proceedings, another taxpayer

may soon be asking this Court to consider it.

16

Assn. v. McNary, 454 U.S. 100, 102 (1981), quoting Dows v.

Chicago 11 Wall. 108, 110 (1871).5 In Fair Assessment this

Court held that, as long as the state legal tax remedies

were “plain, adequate, and complete,” the above funda-

mental principle of comity in determining constitutional

issues in state tax cases overcame the doctrine, enunci-

ated in Monroe v. Pape, 365 U.S. 167 (1961), that comity

does not apply in civil rights damages cases brought

under 42 U.S.C. § 1983. 454 U.S. at 116.© This fundamental

federal principle of comity with regard to state taxes

certainly outweighs and overwhelms Barclays’ purpor-

tedly applicable economic policy. Given this fundamental

federal principle of comity in cases dealing with state

taxes, a principle which strongly favors allowing state tax

proceedings to go to true completion before reviewing

any federal issues in this Court, it is even more clear that

Cox’s fourth exception to the “final judgment” rule does

not apply in this case.

5 In 28 U.S.C. § 1341, which bars the federal district courts

from jurisdiction to enjoin the assessment or collection of state

taxes where there is a plain, speedy and efficient remedy in the

state courts, “Congress also recognized that the autonomy and

fiscal stability of the States survive best when state tax systems

are not subject to scrutiny in federal courts.” Fair Assessment in

Real Estate Assn., 454 U.S. at 102-03. “This legislation, and the

decisions of this Court which preceded it, reflect the fundamen-

tal principle of comity between federal courts and state govern-

ments that is essential to ‘Our Federalism,’ particularly in the

area of state taxation.” Id. at 103.

6 This Court has specifically held under 28 U.S.C. § 1341

that the California tax refund remedies now being pursued in

the California courts are plain, speedy and efficient. Franchise

Tax Bd. of Cal. v. Alcan Aluminium, 493 U.S. 331, 338-41 (1990).

17

There has been no final judgment in the California

courts as jurisdictionally required by 28 U.S.C. § 1257.

Barclays’ current petition for certiorari-should be denied.

II

THE CALIFORNIA SUPREME COURT HAS PROPERLY

APPLIED THIS COURT’S WARDAIR DECISION IN

HOLDING THAT CONGRESSIONAL ACQUIESCENCE

IN CALIFORNIA’S USE OF WORLDWIDE COMBINED

REPORTING IS DETERMINATIVE OF THE COMMERCE

CLAUSE ISSUE, WITH NO NEED FOR ANY DORMANT

COMMERCE CLAUSE ANALYSIS.

Respondent Franchise Tax Board submits that, even if

this Court did have jurisdiction to grant Barclays’ petition,

the California Supreme Court has correctly applied existing

precedent of this Court. Under these circumstances there

would be no need for this Court to exercise its jurisdiction.

The California Supreme Court’s Commerce Clause

holding is based upon an application of Wardair Canada,

Inc. v. Florida Dept. of Revenue, 477 U.S. 1 (1986) (hereinaf-

ter “Wardair”), to conclude that Congress has acted to

acquiesce in the state tax practice which Barclays is chal-

lenging. That being so, the California Supreme Court

pointedly did not engage in any dormant Commerce

Clause analysis. A-39.7 Barclays spends most of its

7 Given the California Supreme Court’s holding, respon-

dent Franchise Tax Board will not in this response engage in a

lengthy dormant Commerce Clause analysis. No admission

should be inferred from this attempt at succinctness; the Fran-

chise Tax Board stands ready to establish its dormant Commerce

Clause position if called upon to do so by a granting by this

Court of Barclays’ petition.

18

petition attempting to make points which only are rele-

vant to a dormant Commerce Clause analysis. Other than

a few citations, Barclays confines its Wardair contentions

to two partial pages near the back of its petition. Pet.

22-2

ke 23.

In Wardair this Court cautioned that “It would turn

dormant Commerce Clause analysis entirely upside down

to apply it when the Federal Government has acted, and

to apply it in such a way as to reverse the policy that the

Federal Government has elected to follow.” Id. at 12. In

criticizing the California Supreme Court for “disre-

gard[ing]” established dormant Commerce Clause criteria

(Pet. 17) in a case where Congress has acted to allow the

state tax practice in issue, the Barclays petition attempts

to lead this Court into just such an upended and illogical

exercise.§

In Container Corp. of America v. Franchise Tax Board,

463 U.S. 159 (1983) (hereinafter “Container”), this Court

held that California’s worldwide combined reporting

method as applied to a multinational unitary business

with a domestic ultimate parent was constitutional. This

Court reserved the question of whether it would reach

8 There is no need or basis to apply in this case the results

or dormant Commerce Clause analysis from such cases as Kraft

General Foods v. lowa Dept. of Revenue, ___ U.S. ___, 112 S.Ct. 2365

(1992%, cited Pet. at 16, 19, 24, and 26. The fact that the dormant

Commerce Clause analysis is broader in the foreign commerce

context than in the domestic context (id. at 2370) cannot affect

Congress’ total power to remove all Commerce Clause restric-

tions upon any state tax practice in which Congress chooses to

acquiesce. See also n. 11 below at p. 22.

19

the same result if (as in this case) the ultimate parent

corporation were foreign. 463 U.S. at 193-97.9

Three years after Container, in Wardair, this Court

provided the analytic tool which, as properly applied by

the California Supreme Court to uncontradicted facts in

the current record, mandates the resolution of this

reserved question in favor of California’s use of WWCR.

Noting that a dormant Commerce Clause analysis should

not be applied when federal law indicates an authorita-

tive federal decision to permit the challenged state tax,

this Court held in Wardair that such a permissive decision

can exist by implication, i.e., under circumstances where

® When dealing with the question of the “one voice” of the

federal government in foreign commerce, the Container Court

only considered whether California’s application of WWCR vio-

lated either one of two branches of the one voice standard,

indicating that the state tax “will violate the ‘one voice’ stan-

dard if it either implicates foreign policy issues which must be

left to the Federal Government [the dormant clause branch of

the standard] or violates a clear federal directive.” 463 U.S. at

194 (emphasis by the Court). Thus the only non-dormant For-

eign Commerce Clause analysis in Container was a consider-

ation whether the one voice had spoken to preempt California’s

use of WWCR. Id. In the words of the Barclays trial court, Con-

tainer “did not address the question of whether such policy was

expressed Congressionally for it.” C-31 (emphasis by the court).

The Container Court's consideration of “specific indications of

congressional intent” (463 U.S. at 196) was restricted to the

preemptive analysis, with the Court deciding that “we cannot

conclude that the California tax at issue here is preempted by

federal law. ...” Id. at 197. Since the Container Court did not

even consider whether the federal government’s one voice had

spoken to permit California’s use of WWCR, it certainly is not

inconsistent with Container to apply the later Wardair analysis in

the present case to find such permission.

20

there is no explicit statement of such permission. Such

“implications” are to be drawn from “the law as it pres-

ently stands,” not from any “aspiration” for what the law

might become. Id. at 10 (emphasis by the Court).

In Wardair, a Canadian airline challenged Florida’s

imposition of a tax on all aviation fuel sold within the

state insofar as that tax was assessed on fuel used by

foreign airlines exclusively in foreign commerce. On the

Commerce Clause issue in Wardair,!° the taxpayer and the

Solicitor General as amicus curiae argued that the Florida

tax unconstitutionally interfered with the ability of the

federal government to speak with one voice because there

was a federal policy of exempting such fuel from tax. As

evidence of the alleged federal “policy,” Wardair and the

Solicitor General principally relied on (1) the Chicago

Convention on International Civil Aviation, an interna-

tional treaty to which the United States and 156 other

countries, including Canada, are parties; (2) a resolution

adopted by the International Civil Aviation Organization

in 1966; and (3) more than 70 bilateral agreements into

which the United States has entered with various coun-

tries dealing with international aviation. Discussing each

of these in turn, this Court pointed out: (1) that the

Chicago Convention by its terms precludes the imposi-

tion of local taxes on fuel only when the fuel already is on

10 The Wardair Court also held that the Florida tax was not

preempted by the Federal Aviation Act, but the Court explicitly

stated that it did not rely on a permissive provision of that act

“to answer the Commerce Clause issue” present in Wardair. 477

U.S. at 6-7. Thus Barclays errs in implying (Pet. 23) that the

Federal Aviation Act served in any way as a basis for the War-

dair Commerce Clause holding.

21

board an arriving aircraft, thus giving rise to the “nega-

tive implication” of “a decision by the parties to that

convention to address the problem of [state and local

taxation] by curtailing and limiting only some of the

localities’ power to tax, while implicitly preserving other

aspects of that authority” (id. at 10); (2) that the resolution

adopted by the ICAO, while it endorses an international

scheme of tax exemption, is merely the work product of

an international organization of which the United States

is a member and has no force of law (id. at 11); and (3)

that while most of the 70 bilateral agreements commit the

United States to refrain from imposing national taxes of

the type imposed by Florida, in none of these agreements

has the United States agreed to deny the states the power

to tax the sale of aviation fuel; in particular, the agree-

ment between the United States and Canada makes no

mention of taxation by political subdivisions, “an omis-

sion which must be understood as representing a policy

choice by the contracting parties... .” Id. at 11.

This Court went on to say:

“What all of this makes abundantly clear is

that the Federal Government has not remained

silent with regard to the question of whether

States should have the power to impose taxes on

aviation fuel used by foreign carriers in interna-

tional travel. By negative implication arising out

of more than 70 agreements entered into since

the Chicago Convention, the United States has

at least acquiesced in state taxation of fuel used

by foreign carriers in international travel.

Again, in the U.S.-Canadian Agreement only

‘national’ charges are barred, and we presume

22

that drafters from two federalist nations under-

stood this as representing a choice not to preclude

local taxation. It would turn dormant Commerce

Clause analysis entirely upside down to apply it

when the Federal Government has acted, and to

apply it in such a way as to reverse the policy that

the Federal Government has elected to follow.” Id.

at 12 (emphasis in original).

Thus in Wardair the federal government had consid-

ered whether to bar a type of tax practice by international

agreement, but the states were not restricted from apply-

ing that tax practice when the agreements were finally

adopted as a part of United States law. Under this Court’s

Wardair rule, the implications to be drawn from such an

action establish that in formulating federal law Congress

has elected to permit the states to apply such a tax

practice. Id. at 10, 12.1!

11 It must be kept in mind that the United States Constitu-

tion gives the power to regulate foreign and interstate com-

merce to Congress. U.S. Const. art. I, § 8(3); Pet. App. D. Thus, as

to foreign or interstate commerce matters, congressional action

prevails over any conflicting actions or desires of the Executive

Branch. See United States v. Curtiss-Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S.

304 (1936); United States v. Guy W. Capps, Inc., 204 F.2d 655 (4th

Cir. 1953), aff'd on other grounds, 348 U.S. 296 (1955). If Con-

gress has exercised its commerce powers so as to permit state

action there cannot possibly be any violation of the Commerce

Clause; once such permission is ascertained, “any action taken

by a State within the scope of the congressional authorization is

rendered invulnerable to Commerce Clause challenge.” Western

& Southern L.I. Co. v. Bd. of Equalization , 451 U.S. 648, 653 (1981);

see also Wardair, 477 U.S. at 12-13. In short, in granting such

permission Congress is unrestricted by any of the policy stan-

dards which would apply in a dormant Commerce Clause con-

text.

|

23

In holding that the Wardair rule was applicable in the

present case, the California Supreme Court placed its

primary reliance on the United States/United Kingdom

(“US/UK”) Treaty which was negotiated and ratified in

the 1970’s. Convention for the Avoidance of Double Taxa-

tion and the Prevention of Fiscal Evasions with Respect to

Taxes on Income and Capital Gains, Dec. 31, 1975, U.S.-

U.K., 31 U.S.T. 5668 (Exh. 40gg). For the first and only

time, the federal Executive Branch negotiated a provision

for that treaty, article 9(4), which would have explicitly

prohibited any state’s use of WWCR. A-29. After much

debate, and several votes in the Senate, the treaty was

only ratified when that provision was rendered totally

inapplicable to the states by a reservation. 124 Cong. Rec.

18416 (June 22, 1978) (Exh. 36c), 19076 (June 27, 1978)

(Exh. 36d); A-29. After more bargaining with the United

Kingdom, wherein the United Kingdom exacted other

federal tax concessions from the United States, the United

Kingdom accepted the treaiy with the prohibition of

WWCR only applicable to the national governments, not

to the states. 31 U.S.T. 5709, 5713 (Exh. 40g2). Thus the

States’ use of WWCR was directly considered as a tax

issue in the formulation of the treaty, but the states’ use of

WWCR ultimately was not restricted in the final adoption

of the treaty as a part of United States law.

The US/UK Treaty provides a perfect context for the

application of the Wardair rule: a clear congressional con-

sideration of whether a state tax practice (WWCR) should

be permitted, and a final ratification of a treaty which by

clear implication permitted the states’ application of that

tax practice (WWCR). At the time of the final Senate vote,

the clear choice before the Senate was either to ratify the

24

US/UK treaty while permitting the states to use WWCR

or (since ratification with original article 9(4) had proved

impossible) not to ratify the treaty. See 124 Cong. Rec.

18709-12 (June 23, 1978) (statements of Senators Byrd,

Church, Javits, Stevens, Sparkman, Cranston and Pack-

wood) (Exh. 36d). By more than the required two-thirds

vote (82 yeas, 5 nays), the Senate chose to ratify the treaty

while permitting (by implication) state use of WWCR. 124

Cong. Rec. 19076 (June 27, 1978) (Exh. 36d). In the words

of the Wardair decision, the Senate has “at least acqui-

esced” in the use of WWCR by the states, and under the

Wardair holding such acquiescence is fully sufficient to

establish that the federal government has “affirmatively

decided to permit” state use of WWCR. 477 U.S. at

12-13.12

The California Supreme Court correctly analogized

the present case to Wardair:

“The parallels between this evidence of

‘governmental silence’ or refusal to act and that

regarded as decisive in Wardair, supra, 477 U.S.

1, seem to us both evident and compelling. As in

Wardair, an international agreement (here the

bilateral income tax treaty between the United

States and the United Kingdom) demonstrates

that while federal executive branch officials

aspired to eliminate a state tax practice (here the

use of formula apportionment to calculate the

tax liability of foreign-based multinationals),

12 Contrary to Barclays’ attempt to characterize the Senate’s

ratification of the treaty as a “stalemate” (Pet. 23 n. 23), the final

outcome was a clear defeat for those who had attempted to bar

exactly the type of state tax practice which Barclays is challeng-

ing in this case.

25

‘the law as it presently stands acquiesces’ in the

states’ continued use of that practice. As in War-

dair, the ‘negative implications’ of international

agreements (here the tax treaty as ratified by the

Senate) support recognition of a federal policy

that acquiesces in the states’ tax practice. And

certainly, in the circumstances of Senate consid-

eration detailed above, the explicit removal of

‘political subdivisions’ from the scope of article

9(4) effected by the Church reservation, like the

omission of restrictions on taxation by political

Subdivisions in the international agreements

considered in Wardair, ‘must be understood as

representing a policy choice by the contracting

parties.’ (Wardair, supra, 477 U.S. at p. 11.)”

A-29-30 (emphasis in Original; footnote omit-

ted).

Recognizing that formula apportionment such as

WWCR has been a matter of international interest from at

least the mid-1950’s (A-33-34), and noting that indications

of such federal acquiescence also were to be found in the

history of other bilateral income tax treaties (A-31-34) and

in legislative histories of congressional bills (A-31), the

California Supreme Court applied Wardair to hold that (1)

California’s application of WWCR in this case has been

permitted by Congress under its Commerce Clause

powers and (2) since Congress has acted to permit such

application, no dormant Commerce Clause analysis was

necessary. Respondent Franchise Tax Board submits that

one does not have to do more than apply the Wardair rule

to the US/UK treaty to determine that the California

Supreme Court’s holdings were fully consistent with all

current precedents of this Court. The California Supreme

Court has not formulated and applied a “new test” of its

26

own (see Pet. 12, 23, 24) to reach these holdings; it has

correctly applied the test provided to it by this Court in

Wardair. Even if these correct holdings of the California

Supreme Court were held to constitute a “final judgment”

under section 1257, there would be no need for this Court

to take jurisdiction of this case.

III

THE DETERMINATION OF THE FOREIGN COM-

MERCE CLAUSE ISSUE IN THIS CASE ECLIPSES

ANY FOREIGN AFFAIRS PREEMPTION ISSUE.

Even if section 1257 gave jurisdiction to consider a

foreign affairs pre-emption issue on the merits, such an

issue could not be determinative in this foreign commerce

context. It is clear that at the heart of the California

Supreme Court's opinion is an issue pertaining directly to

the Foreign Commerce Clause. It is undisputed that the

Constitution gives to Congress alone the power “[t]o

regulate commerce with foreign nations. ...” U.S. Const.

art. I, § 8(3). If, as the Board contends, proper application

of the Wardair rule in this case confirms that federal law

pertaining to foreign commerce contains a permission for

the states’ use of WWCR, then no contrary foreign affairs

aspirations of the Executive Branch could eclipse that

permission. The Executive Branch’s power in the field of

foreign relations, “ ‘like every other governmental power,

must be exercised in subordination to the applicable pro-

visions of the Constitution.’ ” Dames & Moore v. Regan,

453 U.S. 654, 661 (1981), quoting United States v. Curtiss-

Wright Export Corp., 299 U.S. 304, 319-20 (1936).

27

But what of authorities such as Hines v. Davidowitz,

312 U.S. 52 (1941), and Zschernig v. Miller, 389 U.S. 429

(1968)? Barclays relies on these cases as barring any state

act which has a direct impact upon foreign relations and

which may well adversely affect the power of the central

government to deal with foreign affairs issues. The

answer in this case must be given in the foreign com-

merce context. If Congress has acted so as to permit state

action in a foreign commerce context, no further authori-

zation is needed, even though foreign relations neces-

sarily are also involved. See Wardair, 477 U.S. at 12-13; see

also United States v. Guy W. Capps, Inc., 204 F.2d 655 (4th

Cir. 1953), aff'd on other grds., 348 U.S. 296 (1955). Alter-

natively, if there is a dormant Foreign Commerce Clause

situation with no clear congressional directive, the Con-

tainer decision teaches that a state tax at variance with the

federal tax approach and affecting foreign commerce will

violate the Foreign Commerce Clause if it “ ‘may impair

federal uniformity in an area where federal uniformity is

essential’... and ‘prevents the Federal Government from

“speaking with one voice” in international trade. ...’”

463 U.S. at 194. In reaching its Foreign Commerce Clause

holding, the Container decision contains many references

to “foreign affairs,” “foreign relations,” and “foreign pol-

icy” (see 463 U.S. at 189, 194, 195, 196, 197); it rejected the

dissent’s position that California’s application of WWCR

was “an intrusion on national policy in foreign affairs

that is not permitted by the Constitution.” 463 U.S. at 206

(dissent). Thus Container establishes that a holding that

WWCR does not violate the dormant Foreign Commerce

Clause includes consideration of foreign affairs issues,

leaving no room for any determination that the federal

28

government’s foreign affairs powers bar the application

of WWCKR to that taxpayer. If a state tax affecting foreign

commerce is valid either by way of congressional authori-

zation or under the dormant Foreign Commerce Clause

tests (which include the balancing of foreign policy con-

siderations), it cannot be made unconstitutional on the

basis of infringement upon foreign affairs, particularly

since the Congress and the President share authority over

foreign affairs. Container, 463 U.S. at 196; Zschernig v.

Miller, 389 U.S. 429, 432 (1968).

Application of Barclays’ foreign affairs preemption

argument in this case would also rewrite the treaty

powers provisions of the United States Constitution. Con-

gress, through the Senate’s actions on the many bilateral

income tax treaties, and through the Senate’s action on

article 9(4) of the US/UK Treaty, has taken affirmative

action which allows the states to tax unfettered by sepa-

rate accounting restrictions placed on the national gov-

ernment and unfettered by proposed article 9(4), and has

therefore impliedly authorized state use of WWCR. This

Court cannot construe the Executive Branch’s foreign ‘

policy aspirations as authoritative federal policy without

disabling not only Congress, but also the Constitution,

which requires that treaties can become law only upon

ratification by two-thirds vote of the Senate. U.S. Const.

art. II, § 2 (App. A hereto.) By rejecting the Executiv:

Branch’s aspirations which were given voice in proposed

article 9(4) of the US/UK Treaty, Congress’ implied acqui-

escence in the state use of WWCR has become a part of

the “supreme law of the land” (U.S. Const. art. VI(2); it

cannot then be voided merely by relabeling the Executive

Branch’s thwarted aspirations as “foreign policy.”

a

TY

29

CONCLUSION

For the reasons given above, it is respectfully submit-

ted that the petition for writ of certiorari should be

denied.

Dated: September 1, 1992.

Respectfully submitted,

Daniet E. LUNGREN

Attorney General of the

State of California

TimotHy G. LappisH

Assistant Attorney General

(Counsel of Record)

Rosert D. Mitam

Deputy Attorney General

Attorneys for Respondent

App. 1

APPENDIX A

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS

UNITED STATES CONSTITUTION

Article II, section 2, clause 2 (in part):

[The President} shall have power, by and with

the advice and consent of the Senate, to make

treaties, provided two-thirds of the Senators

present concur... .

UNITED STATES CODE

28 U.S.C. section 1257(a), in part:

(a) Final judgments or decrees rendered by the

highest court of a State in which a decision

could be had, may be reviewed by the Supreme

court by writ of certiorari ... where the validity

of a statute of any State is drawn in question on

the ground of its being repugnant to the Consti-

tution, treaties, or laws of the United States, or

where any title, right, privilege, or immunity is

specially set up or claimed under the Constitu-

tion or the treaties or statutes of, or any commis-

sion held or authority exercised under, the

United States.

CALIFORNIA REVENUE AND TAXATION CODE

Section 25110 (water’s edge election):

(a) Notwithstanding Section 25101, a qualified

taxpayer, as defined in paragraph (2) of subdivi-

sion (b) which is subject to the tax imposed

under this part, may elect to determine its

income derived from or attributable to sources

within this state pursuant to a water’s-edge

election in accordance with the provisions of

App. 2

this part, as modified by this article. A taxpayer

which makes a water’s-edge election shall take

into account the income and apportionment fac-

tors of the following affiliated entities only:

(1) Affiliated banks or corporations which

are eligible to be included in a federal consoli-

dated return as described in Sections 1501 to

i505, inclusive, of the Internal Revenue Code,

other than corporations making an election

under Section 936 of the Internal Revenue Code.

(2) Domestic international sales corpora-

tions, as described in Sections 991 to 994, inclu-

sive, of the Internal Revenue Code and foreign

sales corporations as described in Sections 921

to 927, inclusive, of the Internal Revenue Code.

(3) Any corporation, regardless of the

place where it is incorporated if the average of

its property, payroll, and sales factors within the

United States is 20 percent or more.

(4) Banks and corporations which are

incorporated in the United States, excluding cor-

porations making an election pursuant to Sec-

tions 931 to 936, inclusive, of the Internal

Revenue Code, of which more than 50 percent of

their stock is controlled directly or indirectly by

the same interests, which are not included in

paragraph (1).

(5) A bank or corporation which is not

described in paragraphs (1) to (4), inclusive, or

paragraph (6), but only to the extent of its

income derived from or attributable to sources

within the United States and its factors assign-

able to a location within the United States in

accordance with paragraph (3) of subdivision

(b). Income of such a bank or corporation

App. 3

derived from or attributable to sources within

the United States as determined by federal

income tax laws shall be limited to and deter-

mined from the books of account maintained by

the bank or corporation with respect to its activ-

ities conducted within the United States.

(6) Export trade corporations, as described

in Sections 970 to 972, inclusive, of the Internal

Revenue Code.

(7) Any affiliated bank or corporation

which is a “controlled foreign corperation”, as

defined in Section 957 of the Internal Revenue

Code, if all or part of the income of that affiliate

is defined in Section 952 of Subpart F of the

Internal Revenue Code (“Subpart F income”).

The income and apportionment factors of any

affiliate to be included under this paragraph

shall be determined by multiplying the income

of and apportionment factors of that affiliate

without application of this paragraph by a frac-

tion (not to exceed one), the numerator of which

is the “Subpart F income”, of that bank or cor-

poration for that income year and the denomi-

nator of which is the “earnings and profits” of

that bank or corporation for that income year, as

defined in Section 964 of the Internal Revenue

Code.

(8) (A) The income and factors of the

above-enumerated banks and corporations shall

be taken into account only if the income and

factors would have been taken into account

under Section 25101 if this section had not been

enacted.

(B) The income and factors of a bank or

corporation which is not described in para-

graphs (1) to (4) inclusive, and (6) and which is

App. 4

an electing taxpayer under this subdivision shall

be taken into account in determining its income

only to the extent set forth in paragraph (5).

(b) For purposes of this article and Section

24411:

(1) An “Affiliated bank or corporation”

means a bank or corporation which is related to

a bank or corporation, required to file under this

part, because of any of the following:

(A) It owns directly or indirectly more than

50 percent of the voting stock of the bank or a

corporation required to file under this part.

(B) More than 50 percent of its voting

stock is owned directly or indirectly by a bank

Or corporation required to file under this part.

(C) More than 50 percent of voting stock of

both it and the bank or corporation required to

file under this part is owned or controlled

directly or indirectly by any bank or person (as

defined in Section 7701(a)(1) of the Internal Rev-

enue Code).

(2) A “qualified taxpayer” means a bank

or corporation which does both of the following:

(A) Files with the state tax return on

which the water’s-edge election is made a con-

sent to the taking of depositions at the time and

place most reasonably convenient to all parties

from key domestic corporation individuals and

to the acceptance of subpoenas duces tecum

requiring reasonable production of documents

to the Franchise Tax Board as provided in Sec-

tion 26423 or by the State Board of Equalization

as provided in Title 18, California Code of Regu-

lations, Section 5005, or by the courts of this

App. 5

State as provided in Chapter 2 (commencing

with Section 1985) of Title 3 of Part 4 of, and

Section 2025 of, the Code of Civil Procedure.

The consent relates to issues of jurisdiction and

service and does not waive any defenses a tax-

payer may otherwise have. The consent shall

remain in effect so long as the water’s-edge

election is in effect and shall be limited to pro-

viding that information necessary to review or

to adjust income or deductions in a manner

authorized under Sections 482, 861, Subpart F of

Part III of Subchapter N, or similar provisions of

the Internal Revenue Code, together with the

regulations adopted pursuant to those provi-

sions, and for the conduct of an investigation

with respect to any unitary business in which

the taxpayer may be involved.

(B) Agrees that for purposes of this article,

dividends received by any bank or corporation

whose income and apportionment factors are

taken into account pursuant to subdivision (a)

from either of the following are functionally

related dividends and shall be presumed to be

business income:

(i) A bank or corporation of which more

than 50 percent of the voting stock is owned,

directly or indirectly, by members of the unitary

group and which is engaged in the same general

line of business.

(ii) Any bank or corporation which is

either a significant source of supply for the uni-

tary business or a significant purchaser of the

Output of the unitary business, or which sells a

Significant part of its output or obtains a signifi-

cant part of its raw materials or input from the

unitary business. “Significant,” as used in this

App. 6

subparagraph, means an amount of 15 percent

or more of either input or output.

All other dividends shall be classified as

business or nonbusiness income without regard

to this subparagraph.

(3) The definitions and locations of prop-

erty, payroll, and sales shall be determined

under the laws and regulations which set forth

the apportionment formulas used by the indi-

vidual states to assign net income subject to

taxes on or measured by net income in that

state. If a stale does not impose a tax on or

measured by net income or does not have laws

or regulations with respect to the assignment of

property, payroll, and sales, the laws and regu-

lations provided in Article 2 (Commencing with

Section 25120) shall apply.

Sales shall be considered to be made to a

state only if the bank or corporation making the

sale may otherwise be subject to a tax on or

measured by net income under the Constitution

or laws of the United States, and shall not

include sales made to a bank or corporation

whose income and apportionment factors are

taken into account pursuant to subdivision (a) in

determining the amount of income of the tax-

payer derived from or attributable to sources

within this state.

(4) “The United States” means the 50)

states of the United States and the District of

Columbia.

(c) All references in this part to income

determined pursuant to Section 25101 shall also

mean income determined pursuant to this sec-

tion.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.