Petition for Writ of Certiorari — San Filippo v. Bongiovanni

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

@#~155

No. 92-

y

JUL 20 1992

OFEICE OF THE aa

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBeR TERM, 1992

JOSEPH SAN FILIPPO,

Petitioner.

VS.

MICHAEL BONGIOVANNI, ANTHONY S.

CICATIELLO, ADRIENNE S. ANDERSON, DONALD

M. DICKERSON, FLOYD H. BRAGG, NORMAN

REITMAN, individually and as members of the Board of

Governors of Rutgers University, and RUTGERS,

THE STATE UNIVERSITY,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

LEON FRIEDMAN

Counsel of Record

Attorney for Petitioner

148 East 78th Street

New York, New York 10021

(212) 737-0400

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

l. Did the Court below properly hold,

consonant with the "void for vagueness" doctrine and the

need for fair warning under the due process clause, that

certain dismissal regulations at Rutgers, the State

University, dealing with standards of sound scholarship

and competent teaching covered activities not connected

with teaching and scholarship and therefore permitted

dismissal of a tenured professor, despite the fact that he

was accused of activities not involving teaching or

scholarship in any form?

y A Did the court below properly reverse the

decision of the district court which held that the Rutgers

regulations at issue, based upon their legislative history,

attempts at revision and their application in specific

cases were void for vagueness since they did not give fair

warning that the particular activities with which

petitioner was charged could lead to dismissal?

3. Did the Court below err by upholding the

validity and application of the regulations without

looking at any interpretive guides or permitting factual

development and evidence to determine the common

understanding of the University community with respect

to the reach of the regulations at issue?

4. Did the Court below commit error by not

applying this Court’s decision in Gentile v. State Bar of

evada, 111 S. Ct. 2720 (1991) which held that general

standards which contain classic terms of degree and have

no settled usage or tradition of interpretation cannot be

applied in situations where they do not give fair warning

that they can be applied in a given situation.

LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this action are listed in the caption

of the case. None of the parties has any subsidiary or

parent companies.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES V

OPINIONS BELOW l

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION l

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

‘ PROVISIONS INVOLVED ]

STATEMENT OF THE CASE l

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 21

I THE COURT SHOULD DECIDE

WHETHER THE VAGUENESS

DOCTRINE WAS MISAPPLIED

IN THIS CASE IN VIEW OF THE

COURT OF APPEALS’ CONCLUSION

THAT THE RULES REGULATING

TEACHING AND SCHOLARSHIP

COVER MORE THAN TEACHING

AND SCHOLARSHIP 21

I] THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF

THE REGULATIONS, THEIR

DEFINITION IN OTHER RULES

AND THEIR INTERPRETATION

AND APPLICATION IN EARLIER

INSTANCES DEFINED THE

REGULATIONS IN A MANNER

CONTRARY TO THAT GIVEN BY

THE COURT OF APPEALS 26

CONCLUSION 30

APPENDIX A la

Opinion, United States

Court of Appeals for the

Third Circuit, dated

April 22, 1992

TABLE OF CONTENTS (Continued)

APPENDIX B

Opinion, United States

District Court, District

of New Jersey, dated

July 25, 1990

APPENDIX C

Order, United States

District Court, District

of New Jersey, dated

July 25, 1992

APPENDIX D

Consent Order Amending

July 25, 1990 Order to

Include 28 U.S.C. 1292(B)

Statement And Staying Action,

dated September 20, 1990

APPENDIX E

Order, United States Court

of Appeals for the Third

Circuit Granting Petitioner’s

Motion to Appeal, dated

December 19, 1990

36a

64a

66a

68a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES

Page

Arnett v. Kennedy,

416 US. 134 (1974) 1, 20, 24

Bence v. Breier,

501 F.2d 1185 (7th Cir. 1974) pa

Bouie v. City of Columbia,

378 U.S. 347 (1964) 28, 29

Boutilier v. INS,

387 U.S. 118 (1967) 22

Cleveland Board of Education v. Loudermill,

470 U.S. 532 (1985) 24

Colten v. Kentucky,

407 U.S. 104 (1972) 19

Connally v. General! Construction Co..

269 U.S. 385 (1926) 19

Director, OWCP, U.S. Department of Labor v.

Mangifest, 826 F.2d 1318 (3d Cir. 1987) 3, 23

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada,

111 S. Ct. 2720 (1991) 2, 24,

25, 30

Grayned v. City otf Rochtord,

408 U.S. 104 (1972) 21

Marin v. University of Puerto Rico,

377 F. Supp. 613 (D.P.R. 1974) 22

STATUTES

28 U.S.C. 1254(1)

28 U.S.C. 1292(b) 19

oo Wok. 1931

42 U.S.C. 1983 1,4

MISCELLANEOUS

Note, "Bringing the Vagueness

Doctrine on Campus,"

80 Yale L.J. 1261 (1971) 23

“The Pythoness," in

4 Penguin Book of French

Verse, (N.Y. 1959) 23

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF

APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Petitioner Joseph San Filippo prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment and opinion of

the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals (Appendix,

infra, la-34a) is reported at 961 F.2d 1125 (3d Cir.

1992). The opinion of the District Court is reported at

743 F. Supp. 327 (D.N.J. 1990) and is reproduced in

Appendix B at 36a-63a.

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was

entered on the date of the opinion, April 22, 1992. The

jurisdiction of this Court is conferred by 28 U.S.C.

1254(1). The jurisdiction of the district court over the

underlying cause of action is conferred by 42 U.S.C.

1983 and 28 U.S.C. 1331.

STATUTES AND CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

The case was brought under 42 U.S.C. 1983.

Also involved is the Fourteenth Amendment to the

Constitution of the United States.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves an important application of the

vagueness doctrine in the context of public employment,

as issue that this Court has not examined since Arnett v.

Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134 (1974). As noted below, review is

necessary in this Court because the Third Circuit,

reversing the District Court’s grant of summary

judgment, misapplied the Arnett standard and refused

to consider this Court’s most recent application of the

vagueness doctrine in Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada,

111 S. Ct. 2720 (1991). Review is also necessary because

the challenge arises in the context of university

regulations relating to the dismissal of tenured faculty

members in state universities, an issue which this Court

has never considered.

The Petitioner, Joseph San Filippo, was a

prominent Chemistry professor at Rutgers - the State

University of New Jersey, with a distinguished teaching

and scholarship record. But he was a thorn in the side of

the Chemistry Department because of his repeated

complaints about the violation of University, state and

federal regulations by senior members of his

department. In return, these senior members then

solicited charges against him, specifically that he had

allegedly "exploited" certain visiting co-employees of the

University from China by allowing them to work in his

3 The issue of the standards for dismissing tenured

faculty members throughout the nation has received

considerable attention recently. See "The Need for

Academic Tenure Reform," Los Angeles Times, July 4,

1992, B7 (dealing with standards for dismissing

professors); "Court Finds a Violation of a Professor’s

Rights," The New York Times, June 9, 1992, B3 (dealing

with successful lawsuit brought by dismissed tenured

professor); "Legal Woes on Campus Increase; Due

Process Questions Are Often at the Fore," National Law

Journal, June 8, 1992, Business Watch, p. 1 (dealing with

law suits brought by professors on due process grounds);

"Move to Dismiss a Tenured Professor is First at

Kansas," New York Times, October 25, 1989, B7: "The

Kansas case and a plan by the University of California

system to set public guidelines for the discipline and

dismissal of ‘grossly incompetent’ tenured faculty

members have raised concern among some professors

that such moves could expose them to personal reprisals

unconnected with how well they teach."

garden on spring weekends without pay. These co-

employees were not students enrolled at the school but

foreign nationals employed as researchers in Dr. San

Filippo’s laboratory. The charges against him were

reviewed by a faculty Senate panel and the University

administration, each concluding that he had violated the

"basic ethical tenets of the profession, including those

standards of professional ethics set forth in University

Regulation 3.91" and dismissed him from his tenured

position.

The only difficulty with this scenario is that the

"ethical" rules which he was alleged to have violated do

not provide for dismissal and are not subsumed in the

dismissal rules of the University, as both the District

Court and the Court of Appeals found (22a, 49a-51a).

Nevertheless, the Court of Appeals reversed the District

Court and upheld the dismissal by invoking other

regulations, permitting dismissal if a professor violates

"standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching,’ although it was a given that his actions did not

involve teaching and scholarship as they were defined in

other regulations at the school (see pp.27-28 below).

The regulations at issue in this case were drafted

after many years of debate and effort at Rutgers

University (a state-supported university which is a "state

actor" for purposes of the due process clause). In 1967, a

joint faculty-administration committee revised certain

regulations dealing with the discipline and dismissal of

be It is uncontested that the "exploitation" charge

was the most serious charge brought against Petitioner.

The minor nature of the other charges, which are

discussed below at pp. 13-15, cast doubt on the bona

fides of the entire campaign.

. The ethical rules in University Regulation 3.91,

are quoted in fn. 11 of the Third Circuit decision, 19a.

4. The regulations relating to dismissal are laid out

in fn. 5 of the Third Circuit decision, 8a-10a.

faculty members. Those regulations eliminated an

"open-ended" "catch-all" provision governing faculty

conduct, which had been in effect for many years. Like

similar provisions in force in some universities, which

provide for dismissal for “conduct unbecoming a

teacher,” "good cause," or "adequate cause," the previous

Rutgers regulations allowed termination of a teacher

"because his conduct has been reprehensible and

detrimental to the University." (Third Circuit Appendix,

"3dA643"; see also 58a)

In 1967, that standard was replaced at Rutgers by

a more specific standard permitting dismissal of a faculty

member only if he or she was found guilty of (1)

incompetence, (2) incapacity, (3) conviction of a crime

involving moral turpitude or (4) failure to maintain

"standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching.” (See Reg. 3.97, quoted at 9a). The clear

purpose of such a revised and specific standard was to

eliminate the open-ended provisions of the past, which

gave broad discretion to the school administration and

which could be applied against politically unpopular

teachers. Rather, the new rules required school

administrators to focus on acts of misconduct specific to

the area of teaching or scholarship, such as clear

deficiencies in the classroom, plagiarism, academic fraud

and the like.

After Petitioner was dismissed, he brought an

action in federal court under 42 U.S.C. 1983. On cross-

motions for partial summary judgment, the District

Court found?’ that the legislative history of the

regulations, later proposed revisions as well as the actual

application of the regulations in prior dismissal

proceedings made clear that Rutgers’ dismissal rules

covered only specific conduct defined by the rules and

that they could not be interpreted as equivalent to open-

ended dismissal provisions such as existed in other

schools or in previously eliminated provisions in the

earlier Rutgers regulations. (60a-61a; 58a).

The District Court also found that the open-

ended "ethical" rules found in Reg. 3.91, were not

applicable in a dismissal context since those ethical rules

were not embodied in the dismissal regulations. |

Rutgers has no ‘catch-all’ provision in its dismissal

regulations, much less one which would permit it to

terminate a faculty member because he or she acted

unethically." (61a). Applying the actual words of the

operative regulations, the District Court found: "The rub

is this. Professor San Filippo’s ‘scholarship’ and

‘teaching,’ as those terms are commonly understood,

were never ... at issue.” (51a).

Nevertheless in a bewildering decision that

seriously erodes the protections of faculty members at

Rutgers and in state universities around the country, the

Third Circuit said in effect that "standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching" mean whatever the

administration thinks those words mean, even if they do

not arise in the context of teaching or scholarship. And

despite the fact that Rutgers had eliminated an ‘catch-

all" provision in the regulations over twenty-five years

ago, the Court of Appeals treated the new specific

regulations as if they were equivalent to the rejected

rules of the past. Such analysis violates the "fair warning"

requirements of the due process clause and requires

review and reversal by this Somet.

The verbal shell-game engaged in by the Court of

Appeals and the University underscores the core

constitutional defect in the proceedings against

Petitioner. The University’s approach is a variation of

the Alice-in- Wonderland trick "of making words mean

so many different things," or making them mean "just

what I choose [them] to mean." ~ However, the United

States Constitution requires that fair notice be given to

5. See Director, OWCP, U.S. Dept. of Labor v.

Mangitest, 826 F.2d 1318, 1334 (3d Cir. 1987)(Weis, J.

conculring).

any person that certain conduct will lead to specific

sanctions against him or her. As the District Court below

found, the dismissal regulations at issue here, based

upon their specific legislative history and the manner of

their prior application at Rutgers, did not give fair notice

that they could be applied against the type of activity

with which Petitioner was charged. Thus any effort to

apply them in this case is unconstitutional under the

vagueness doctrine. The Third Circuit erred in reversing

the District Court’s careful and correct analysis of the

relevant constitutional principles.

Statement of Facts:

Petitioner, Dr. Joseph San Filippo, Jr. was an

Outstanding scientist and teacher at Rutgers for

seventeen years, from 1971 to 1988, when he was

dismissed. (37a-38a). The Senate Panel that

recommended his dismissal made the _ tollowing

comments about his record:

Professor San Filippo has an excellent

record as evidenced by his long list of

publications and promotion to the rank of

professor in 1984...He has received over a

million dollars in research grants and

awards. He has worked with industry to

bring together funding for equipment at

Rutgers. He is an active research[er] with

an international reputation and a senior

member of the Chemistry department. His

research accomplishments are an asset to

the University’s quest for excellence and

distinction. There is no doubt that

Professor San Filippo has made positive

contributions to the awl (3dA941)

Other scientists in the field testified to his

brilliance in his field. Professor F.A. Cotton, one of the

foremost inorganic chemists in the world, wrote that San

Filippo "was among the most talented young chemists in

the country," (3dA432). A Stanford professor

commented on his "large, vigorous and diverse research

program," and he was nominated by his own department

for the American Chemical Society’s Award in Pure

Science, as well as for other prestigious awards.

(3dA433, 434). His resume shows over 70 published

ar\cles and the delivery of over 50 important scientific

papers all over the world. (3dA55U-55).

His teaching ability was among the highest as

well. He received above average teaching evaluations,

with students commenting, "very good lecturer,’

“detailed and clear," "very much in command of the

course,’ “interested and informative professor," and

“truly a credit to the Chemistry Department." (3dA439,

440).

Petitioner distinguished himself in yet another

way that earned him the enmity of his senior

departmental colleagues and the — University

administration. He repeatedly and publicly objected to

what he considered dangerous, improper or even illegal

activities at the school. As the District Court below

noted,

Professor San Filippo had to have been a

thorn in Rutgers side, continually voicing

complaints and filing grievances and

arbitrations concerning a_ variety of

matters and filing at least three legal

actions against the University aside from

this action, conduct which played no

explicit part in Rutgers decision to

terminate him (38a)(emphasis added).

In 1977 and again in 1979, he made numerous

complaints about the dangerous conditions in the

chemistry laboratories and was quoted in the school

newspaper as calling them "a health hazard and an

absolute danger." (3dA443). His comments about health

conditions in the laboratories led directly to the creation

of a AAUP-University safety committee (3dA446).

Petitioner also testified before a state grand jury about

an adjunct faculty member using a chemistry department

laboratory to manufacture illegal drugs. For these

actions, he was attacked by his department chairman for

"washing the department’s dirty linen in public” and for

his "disloyalty." (3dA458).

Petitioner became embroiled in another dispute

in the Chemistry Department in 1983-84, when the

department sought to obtain major federal funding for a

second mass spectrometer.(3dA459). He cautioned his

colleagues that if they persisted in their stated attempt to

factually misrepresent the department’s needs in this

regard, he would report their conduct to the relevant

federal agency. The department chairperson and some

senior colleagues took this as a threat and placed a letter

of reprimand in Petitioner’s personnel file. He contacted

the U.S. Attorney’s office regarding the department's

action against him, which the Assistant U.S. Attorney

characterized as an effort to obstruct justice. Informed

by Petitioner of this, the department withdrew the letter.

(3dA460).

Petitioner also complained about various

financial irregularities in the Chemistry Department.

Thus, when the Department made _ inappropriate

disbursements from his federal research grants, he cited

the requirements of federal law prohibiting the leveling

of such charges. (3dA446). He objected, for example, to

the legality of a "shop user’s fee" to Chemistry

Department members on the grounds that it constituted

double billing (since the shop services being billed were

covered by University overhead, provided by his

federally funded grants and other charges) and was an

inappropriate charge to his federal grant a second time.

He called it "illegal." (3dA451).

Dr. San Filippo also had numerous disputes with

senior members of his department over promotion and

Salary increases, which ultimately led to his filing of

several grievances against the University. His claims of

administrative misconduct in his failed promotion were

sustained after a two year proceeding in which the

University’s position was presented and defended by the

same dean who, approximately a year later, initiated

dismissal charges against Petitioner. (3dA454). Rutgers

refused to comply with the contractually-mandated

remedy and as a result, the Rutgers AAUP Chapter filed

suit in state court to secure that remedy for Petitioner.

(3dA455, 461-462).

In 1984, Petitioner grieved the fact that he had

never obtained a supplemental Salary adjustment or

merit increase, although he met all the criteria. The first

hearings in the arbitration occurred in October, 1985,

just about the time the dismissal charges were being

prepared. The impartial arbitrator eventually found in

Petitioner's favor, holding that he had not been fairly

considered for a merit increase. In his final decision, he

made independent determinations about the hostility of

the department to Dr. San Filippo, finding that part of

the antagonism related to Dr. cin Filippo’ Ss exercise of

First Amendment rights. (3dA465).

In addition to the grievances, arbitrations and the

AAUP law suit on the promotion, Dr. San Filippo

brought other legal actions against the University. One

was filed in November, 1985 (just before the dismissal

charges were actually served on him). This was a libel

action brought in state court against three administrators

who had accused plaintiff of “deliberately falsifying"

certain time reports concerning one of his technical

assistants. Another law suit was brought by Dr. San

Filippo against the University was filed in March, 1986,

after formal charges had been recommended by the

University. That law suit complained, inter alia, of the

University’s withdrawal of graduate student assistance

without a hearing of any kind, based merely on the

accusations against him.

The Charges against Dr. San Filippo

The principal charges brought by the University

against Dr. San Filippo relate to his alleged

mistreatment of certain visiting foreign nationals (not

10

graduate students, but co-employees at the University).

In 1984, while he was on a lecture tour in China,

Petitioner was asked by certain Chinese he met to

consider accepting several Chinese nationals then

employed in chemical research in China as candidates

for temporary employment in his laboratory at Rutgers.

Petitioner agreed to this proposal despite his written

reservations detailing his concern about the professional

qualifications of the individuals who had _ been

nominated. Petitioner then made arrangements with the

University to sponsor as temporary employees two 29-

year old Chinese nationals, Mr. Hetian Gao and Mr.

Changhe Xiao, who had been recommended to him.

At the suggestion of the University’s

International office, Dr. San Filippo assigned these

individuals the title "Visiting Scholars," but that title was

rejected by the chairman of the chemistry department as

inappropriate. He designated them with _ the

employment title of "Visiting Investigators." Because of

that change in title and because of their late arrival in

ihe country, Messrs. Gao and Xiao did not qualify for

the University’s medical benefits program. (This became

the basis for one of the dismissal charges, Charge

1(c)(1la)). Months prior to their arrival in his

laboratory, Petitioner had provided both Mr. Xiao and

Mr. Gao with materials critical to the work they were to

perform in his laboratory. Upon their arrival he

ascertained that neither understood the work they were

to carry out, and therefore neither was prepared to

undertake the work they had contracted to perform. Dr.

San Filippo expressed to each _ individual his

considerable displeasure at their having failed to

prepare themselves for their work assignment. This

reproach of an employee for failed performance was

interpreted as an abusive threat to send them back to

China and was the basis for one of the dismissal charge

against plaintiff. (Charge 1(d))(11a).

Dr. San Filippo is an avid gardener and often had

visitors On social occasions who would work with him in

the garden. On one occasion in May, 1985, Petitioner

11

invited to his home a Mr. Peng Zhou, a Chinese national

who had house-sat Petitioner’s home while he was on his

lecture tour in China. (Mr. Zhou, who also figured in

other dismissal charges, was also involved in research in

Dr. San Filippo’s laboratory). Petitioner’s invitation to

Mr. Zhou included the suggestion that Mr. Zhou could

bring any friends he might choose. In turn, but

unbeknownst to Petitioner, Mr. Zhou invited Mr. Gao to

accompany him. Mr. Gao accepted Mr. Zhou’s

invitation, apparently believing that it afforded him the

Opportunity to return to the good graces of Petitioner

following the displeasure Dr. San Filippo initially

expressed when he revealed his lack of preparation for

his employment (3dA486). On the same day and again

on a later occasion in May, 1985, Mr. Wen-min Shi, the

President of the University Chinese Club, himself an

avid gardener and a social acquaintance of Petitioner,

asked Dr. San Filippo if he could also join him in his

garden. Mr. Shi also brought a friend and Mr. Zhou also

joined Mr. Shi on this later date and again invited --

unbeknownst to Petitioner -- Mr. Gao to accompany

him. (3dA486). Mr. Gao accepted on both occasions,

and all participated in normal social intercourse, some

garden work on a pleasant spring day, and Dr. San

Filippo took them all to a restaurant. (3dA486)

While Mr. Xiao was at the house, he fell and

injured his back. Several days later, he asked Dr. San

6. It must be noted that the invitation by a senior

professional to his coworkers to assist in gardening is not

an unusual occurrence. Newsweek Magazine reports

that Chief Justice Warren Earl Burger "occasionally

offered his law clerks the opportunity to plant trees and

shrubs at his suburban home on weekends. Few turned

him down." Newsweek, June 30, 1986, p. 21. Presumably,

on the same theory as that advanced by Rutgers, the

Chief Justice could have been impeached for his

“ethical” violations on the ground that they violated the

"good behavior" standard for federal judges under

Article III of the Constitution.

¢ .

12

Filippo to drive him to the hospital. (3dA487). Petitioner

then learned that Mr. Xiao had no health insurance. On

his own initiative, Mr. Zhou, who accompanied Mr. Xiao

as an interpreter, offered to present his own medical

insurance card in order to insure that Mr. Xiao would be

treated. Dr. San Filippo reluctantly agreed, only on the

condition that he would pay the full medical expenses

when they came. He did in fact make such payment.

(3dA487).

Months later, the Chajrman of the Chemistry

Department, Robert Boikess, ° learned of these events

at Petitioner’s house. A series of meetings were held

with Messrs. Gao and Xiao and other administrators,

from which emerged the following charges (10a-14a):

a. The charge that Petitioner

allegedly exploited Mr. Gao and Mr. Xiao

by "leading them to believe that they had

no choice but to perform domestic work

for [him]" (Charge 1(a))

b. The charge that Petitioner

exploited Mr. Xiao by representing that

he would be provided health benefits

when he came to the United States, but

that Petitioner then did not provide such

benefits. (Charge 1(c)).

c The charge that Petitioner

threatened and harassed these individuals

7 Sometime: thereafter, Chairman Boikess was

called as a witness. at a grievance hearing brought by

Petitioner. The arbitrator noted with respect to

Chairman Boikess’ testimony: "One would have to be a

piece of wood to fail to notice Dr. Boikess’ complete

distaste for San Filippo." (3dA598) He also stated that

his testimony as well as that of another senior member

of the department was "not credible with respect to

critical aspects of their testimony." (3dA580).

a3

by stating that he would send them back to

China and by directing abusive language

against them. (Petitioner was also charged

with using abusive language against a

Teaching Assistant, Ms. Zong Ping Chen

in an episode that occurred in March,

1986). (Charges 1(d) and (e)).

d. The charge that Petitioner directed

Mr. Xiao to identify himself as Mr. Peng

Zhou in Middlesex Hospital in order to

have Mr. Xiao covered by the latter’s

medica] insurance. (Charge 2).

€. The charge that Petitioner

encouraged Ms. Marilyn Brownawell to

submit a false time report for the week of

August 17, 1984. (Charge 3(b)).

8. Marilyn Brownawell, had been a consultant who

Operated and = maintained Petitioner’s mass

spectrometer. As a consultant, she had accumulated

over 700 hours of uncompensated overtime. Dr. San

Filippo had allowed her to take paid vacation time to

make up for such hours. In the summer of 1984, her

Status was changed from consultant to hourly employee.

Dr. San Filippo was unclear how that would affect her

status; he asked various administrators about what to do

and was told to maintain "the status quo" until the

situation was clarified. (3dA492). He took that to mean

that he could continue to give her paid vacation time to

make up for her uncompensated overtime and so

informed both Ms. Brownawell and his secretary who

prepared time reports Tor Ms. Brownawell. The latter

then took off one week in August 1984, but put in a time

report for that week, charging 40 out of 700 hours of her

uncompensated overtime as paid vacation. Dr. San

Filippo had left for China and the time report was signed

by both Ms. Brownawell and his secretary, but not by Dr.

San_ Filippo. Seventeen months later this episode

became one of the bases for dismissing him as a tenured

professor. (3dA496).

14

f. The charge that Petitioner violated

professional and academic standards by

bringing to the University certain foreign

visitors as post-doctoral fellows who did

not have the appropriate credentials.

(Charge 4).

g. The charge’ that _~ Petitioner

submitted a letter of recommendation

allegedly signed by a Chinese scholar

whom he knew did not actually sign that

letter. (Charge 5).

h. The charge that Petitioner was

guilty of insubordination in refusing to

obey a direct order of the Chairman of his

department, Dr. Robert Boikess, that

certain foreign nationals not work in his

laboratory. (Charge 6).

The last three charges related to the

following ineidents:

Charge 4: Petitioner sponsored Mr. Peng Zhou

as a visitor to the University in January, 1984. Since each

such visitor must have an appropriate job title,

Petitioner recommended "Visiting Scholar." This title

was rejected by the department administrator (a Mrs.

Shirley Maimone) who reviewed payroll appointments.

Aware that in an earlier equivalent situation Mrs.

Maimone had titled another visitor as a "postdoctoral

fellow"). Petitioner suggested that Mrs. Maimone

consider a similar course of action with regard to Mr.

Zhou. Mrs. Maimone checked with the dean’s office

about using the title "postdoctoral fellow" and she

received authorization to use that title. (3dA499).

Nevertheless Petitioner was later found guilty of

committing a dismissible offense and sacked as a

tenured professor in part for suggesting the title.

15

Charge 5. While in China in 1984, Petitioner

received a letter of recommendation handwritten in

Chinese by a Professor Liu and submitted on behalf of

Mr. Peng Zhou. On his return to the United States,

Petitioner had this letter translated by Mr. Zhou, had

the translation typed up and had Mr. Zhou transcribe

Professor Liu’s name to it in Chinese characters as it had

been in the original. The letter was forwarded as part of

Mr. Zhou’s application for graduate school. There was

never any question but that the translation was accurate,

and that Professor Liu had authored the

recommendation. But Petitioner was found guilty of

committing a dismissible offense because he did not

disclose that the Chinese character which corresponded

to Professor Liu’s signature on the translated letter was

in fact a simulacrum. (3dA501-02).

Charge 6: Even before any formal charges were

presented against Petitioner, and before he had any

chance to respond to them and before any hearing of

any kind was held, the chairman of the Chemistry

Department ordered that no more Chinese nationals

would be permitted to carry out research with Petitioner.

Several such individuals who had worked with Petitioner

for years and wanted to continue were forced to stop

their work. (3dA503-04). The department later retracted

the order, but before that occurred, some of these

individuals continued to work in the laboratory. The

Senate Panel later concluded that its recommendation

would have been the same even in the absence of

Charge 6 (3dA939),

Formal hearings to consider the charges were

initiated before a Senate Panel of five faculty members

chosen by lot, none of whom had any legal training. The

hearings began in March, 1987 and continued

intermittently through September, 1987. (3dA507) As a

result of the unexpected length of the proceedings and |

the heavy demand on their time, the members of the

Panel sought additional compensation from the Rutgers

Administration, represented by the Vice President for

16

Personnel, Susan A. Cole, the chief "prosecutor" of the

charges against plaintiff. To this end, the chairman of

the panel, Professor Ted Szatrowski, met secretly and

continuously with Vice President Cole to discuss

additional compensation for the panel members. In fact,

after the hearings were completed and the Panel issued

its decision in favor of the administration finding

Petitioner guilty of dismissible offenses, its members

received extremely generous salary increases. (3dA600,

870). Except for a brief exchange about the possibility of

summer salary payments, all of these discussions about

additional salary occurred off the record without any

notification to Petitioner or his _ representatives.

(3dA953-55)

On May 13, 1988, the Board of Governors upheld

the findings of the Senate Panel and ordered Petitioner

dismissed. (3dA979 et seq.) The Board made an

additional finding, not reached by the Senate Panel, that

Petitioner was guilty of violating Reg. 3.94 in that his

actions showed a failure to maintain standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching. (19a).

There was one dissent, by member Walter

Wechsler, who stated that "the punishment is clearly out

of proportion to his alleged wrongdoing, and quite

possibly tainted by a long history of animus." (3dA1042)

He noted the lack of precedent for the punishment: "It is

difficult to imagine that, among the thousands employed

by the University, only Professor San Filippo had

committed offenses of this nature." (3dA1045). He

concluded:

The sanction imposed on Professor San

Filippo could be the death knell of his

career in higher education. Before

Sustaining that sanction, we must insure

that it was chosen as the result of objective

and careful deliberations and __ is

proportionate to the offense. (3dA1047)

at

The District Court Decision:

After his dismissal, Petitioner brought an action

under 42 U.S.C. 1983 against the members of the

Board of Governors of Rutgers University, alleging that

his constitutional rights were violated in three respects:

(1) the Rutgers regulations were void for vagueness; (2)

his dismissal was the result of retaliation against his

exercise of First Amendment rights; (3) he was denied

procedural due process in the conduct of the hearing, in

particular because of the financial interest of the

members of the Senate Panel in making a finding in

favor of the University. The complaint also contained a

a number of pending state claims (4a; 49a).

Before discovery was completed, the defendants

moved for summary judgment on all claims. Petitioner

then cross-moved for summary judgment on_ the

vagueness and procedural due process claims. The

District Court granted summary judgment in favor of

Petitioner on the vagueness issue.

The District Court found that the words of the

regulations do not support any claim that they cover

ethical violations. The Court noted that the word “ethics”

is not referred to in the dismissal regulations and the

word “dismiss" or "dismissal" does not appear in the

ethics regulations.(49a).

The Court pointed out that, since ethical

considerations weré at the heart of the entire effort to

dismiss plaintiff, the University had some responsibility

to show that such violations could lead to dismissal. But

the history of the development of the regulations and

proposals to amend them showed that the University

community did not believe that ethical violations could

be the basis for dismissal. Originally, the regulations

provided for dismissal for "conduct ... reprehensible and

detrimental to the University." This was changed in 1967

to provide for dismissal only after conviction of a crime

involving moral turpitude. Such an amendment made it

impossible to conclude that the dismissal regulations

18

covered any ethical violation, whether or not a moral

turpitude crime was involved (58a).

In addition, the Court pointed out, efforts were

made to amend the regulations in 1981 to explicitly

make ethical violations a basis for dismissal. If the

regulations already incorporated ethical dictates, that

effort would not have been necessary (54a).

The District Court also found that in two earlier

roceedings against “pry, members, the Villiers and

Leat cases, the Board of Governors had explicitly held

that the ethical regulations were not encompassed within

the dismissal rules, that is, a violation of those ethical

rules could not lead to dismissal. (50a; n. 23).

If the dismissal regulations do not cover ethical

violations, the District Court found that they could not

cover the conduct with which Petitioner was charged,

since none of that conduct could be considered

encompassed by the standard of "sound scholarship” or

“competent teaching."

"Standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching" cannot include

ethical violations committed by a scholar

and teacher even in the academic setting

absent embodying the ethical

requirements of 3.91 in those standards, as

the common: sense definitions of those

standards in Appendix D_ of the

University’s Academic Reappointment

and Promotion Policy [3dA405-410]

indicate .. Rutgers, it appears, is

attempting to come in the back door after

refusing for years, to come in the front. As

applied to the conduct charged in this

case, ‘failure to maintain standards of

sound scholarship and competent

teaching,’ is void for vagueness. (61a

19

The District Court then certified the void for

vagueness issue for interlocutory appeal under 28 U.S.C.

1292(b)(67a). The Court of Appeals then granted

defendants permission to appeal (68a).

The Third Circuit Opinion

The Third Circuit reversed the District Court

decision, and found, without any further remand for fact-

finding or any need for reference to the understanding

of the University comminity, that the regulations were

not void for vagueness. The Court concluded, as did the

District Court and as Petitioner had urged, that the

"ethics" regulations were not incorporated into the

dismissal regulations at Rutgers. (21a)

The Court concluded, however, that the general

language found in Regulation 3.94 prohibiting failure to

maintain "standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching" could be applied in this situation, even though

no teaching or scholarship was involved. The Court

held that the vagueness doctrine is based on the idea of

fairness:

Its purpose is only to give "fair warning" of

prohibited conduct. Colten v. Kentucky,

407 U.S. 104, 110 (1972). The relevant

inquiry is whether the statute or standard

is:

Sufficiently explicit to inform those

who are subject to it what conduct

on their part will render them

able to its penalties . . . consonant

alike with ordinary notions of fair

lay and the settled rules of law.

fciting Connally v. General Constr.

Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391 (1926)]

(25a)

The Court further noted that:

20

In the public employment context, the

Supreme Court has reiterated that the

vagueness doctrine is based on fair notice

that certain conduct puts persons at risk of

discharge. Such standards are not void for

vagueness as long as ordinary persons

using ordinary common sense would be

notified that certain conduct will put them

at risk of discharge. Arnett, 419 U.S. at

159. Accordingly, broad public employee

dismissal standards have been upheld

against void for vagueness attacks. The

Arnett Court upheld the general standard

"such cause as will promote the efficiency

of the service" for dismissal of civil service

employees. Id. (26a)

It concluded that Dr. San Filippo did obtain tair

warning in this situation:

Under these decisions, while

Rutgers dismissal regulations are broad

and general, they are not

unconstitutionally vague. Dismissal for

failure to maintain "standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching" does

not fail to specify any standard for

dismissal but rather provides a standard

which encompasses a wide range of

conduct. We reject the district court’s

narrow reading of this standard based on

the absence of a "catch-all" provision in

Rutgers’ dismissal regulations, and

embrace the "common sense" approach of

Arnett and its progeny. ... A reasonable,

ordinary person using his common sense

and general knowledge of employer-

employee relationships would have fair

notice that the conduct the University

charged Dr. San Filippo with put him at

risk of dismissal under a regulation stating

he could be dismissed for "failure to

21

maintain standards of sound scholarship

and competent teaching.” Regulation

3.94. He would know that the standard

did not encompass only actual teaching or

research skills. (emphasis added)(28a-

29a)

The Court therefore reversed the grant of partial

summary judgment in favor of Petitioner.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I.

THE COURT SHOULD DECIDE WHETHER THE

VAGUENESS DOCTRINE WAS MISAPPLIED IN

THIS CASE, IN VIEW OF THE COURT OF APPEALS’

CONCLUSION THAT THE RULES REGULATING

TEACHING AND SCHOLARSHIP COVER MORE

THAN TEACHING AND SCHOLARSHIP

The Third Circuit’s decision is nothing more than

astonishing. Having concluded that the regulations do

not encompass ethical regulations found elsewhere in

the Rutgers regulations, the Court nevertheless finds

that they require a professor to act "decently" toward

coworkers, a requirement found nowhere in the school!

regulations. Having found that the regulations cover

scholarship and teaching, the Court then concludes that

a faculty member should realize that "the standard did

not encompass Only actual teaching or research skills."

This type of analysis goes against every element

of the vagueness doctrine established by this Court,

whether in the criminal or civil context. This Court has

emphasized again and again that the key to

determinations of vagueness depend upon fair warning.

As this Court noted in Grayned v. City of Rochford, 408

U.S. 104, 108 (1972):

22

It is a basic principle of due process that

an enactment is void for vagueness if its

prohibitions are not clearly defined.

Vague laws offend several important

values. First, because we assume that man

is free to steer between lawful and

unlawful conduct, we insist that laws give

the person of ordinary intelligence a

reasonable opportunity to know what is

prohibited, so that he may act accordingly.

Vague laws trap the innocent by not

providing fair warning. Second, if arbitrary

and discriminatory enforcement is to be

prevented, laws must provide explicit

standards for those who apply them. A

vague law impermissibly delegates basic

policy matters to policemen, judges, and

juries for resolution on an ad hoc and

subjective basis, with the attendant

dangers of arbitrary and discriminatory

application. Third, but related, where a

vague statute ‘abut(s] upon sensitive areas

of basic First Amendment freedoms,’ it

‘operates to inhibit the exercise of [those]

freedoms.”

The void-for-vagueness doctrine applies when

civil penalties are imposed upon an individual, see

Boutilier v. INS, 387 U.S. 118, 123 (1967)("the ’void for

vagueness’ doctrine [is] applicable to civil as well as

criminal actions"). It applies when administrative rules

are used to sanction a government employee: ". . it is

well-settled that the prohibition against vagueness

extends to administrative regulations affecting

conditions of government employment, as well as to

penal statutes . ." Bence v. Breier, 501 F.2d 1185, 1188

(7th Cir. 1974). It certainly applies to university

regulations that deprive a university professor of a

constitutionally protected property right in his position

and his professional license. See e.g., Marin v. University

of Puerto Rico, 377 F. Supp. 613, 627 (D.P.R. 1974)("the

normal vagueness standards apply to university

23

regulations;" vagueness standard applied to student

discipline rules prohibiting "improper or disrespectful

conduct in the classrooms or campus" which were found

vague). See generally, Note, "Bringing the Vagueness

Doctrine on Connie” 80 Yale L. J. 1261 (1971).

The Third Circuit’s attempt to stretch the

meaning of "scholarship" and "teaching" into the area of

“decent” behavior of faculty members toward co-workers

-- not involving "teaching" and "scholarship" -- is

poe —— eae

reminiscent of Alice in Wonderland:

"When I use a word,’ Humpty Dumpty said in a

rather scorntul tone, ‘it means just what I choose

it tO mean -- neither more nor less.’

‘The question is,’ said Alice, ‘whether you can

make words mean so many different things.’

‘The question is,’ said Humpty Dumpty, which is

to be master -- that’s all."

It does not take extended analysis to show that if

a government official or body can make "words mean so

many things," or make it mean "just what I choose it to

mean,’ then the official or body is "master" of all it

surveys. If Rutgers is allowed to define "sound

scholarship" as anything that a faculty member does in

his interpersonal relationships with co-employees or

Staff that interferes with scholarly activities -- none of

which are defined anywhere-- then the rules mean

whatever the administration wants them to mean, and it

-is "master" over the entire faculty.

To make another literary illusion, the French

poet Paul, Valery, spoke of the "beautiful chains" of

language. ““ We are "chained" by language in the sense

9. See Director, OWCP, U.S. Dept. of Labor vy.

Mangifest, 826 F.2d 1318, 1334 (3d Cir. 1987).

24

that the common meaning accepted by society binds the

governmental officials who apply the rules against our

citizens. And it is the courts’ function through the

"vagueness" doctrine to insure that government officials

do not invent new meanings for operative rules,

definitions that do not give citizens fair warning of what

conduct is proscribed by those rules and that gives such

officials too much discretion to apply those rules for

improper reasons.

The Third Circuit improperly relied upon Arnett

v. Kennedy, where this Court upheld a_ standard

permitting dismissal of federal civil service employees

for "such cause as will promote the efficiency of the

service. It was significant in Arnett that a personnel

manual was in existence that helped to interpret and

define dismissible offenses under the general standard,

which was not "written upon a clean slate," id. at 160. In

addition the regulations in Arnett covered the entire

federal civil service and Congress intended to "give

myriad different federal employees performing widely

disparate tasks a common standard of job protection,"

416 U.S. at 159. Thus a highly general standard was

proper. Other aspects of the Arnett decision were

overruled by this Court in Cleveland Board of Education

v. Loudermill, 470 U.S. 532 (1985).

Furthermore, the Third Circuit completely

overlooked and ignored this Court’s recent decision in

Gentile v. State Bar of Nevada, 111 S. Ct. 2720 (1991).

In that case, this Court examined a disciplinary rule

which stated that a lawyer may not make any statement

that has a _ "substantial likelihood of materially

prejudicing an adjudicative proceeding." However, the

rule had an exception, a "safe harbor" provision under

which a lawyer could "state without elaboration . .. the

general nature of the .. . defense."

10. See "The Pythoness," in 4 Penguin Book of French

Verse, (N.Y. 1959) at p. 63: "i. sainted

language...beautiful chains, put on man by the Gods."

25

This Court held that the latter "safe harbor" rule

was void for vagueness, and the lawyer could therefore

not be disciplined for violating it. It stated that the rule

‘fails to provide fair notice to those to whom [it] is

directed.’ . .. A lawyer seeking to avail himself of Rule

177(3)’s protection must guess at its contours. The right

to explain the ‘general’ nature of the defense without

‘elaboration’ provides insufficient guidance because

‘general’ and ‘elaboration’ are both classic terms of

degree. In the context before us, these terms have no

settled usage or tradition of interpretation in law," 111 S.

Ct. at 2731.

The Gentile decision would therefore suggest

that none of the conduct with which Dr. San Filippo was

charged fall within the definitions of the operative terms

of the Rutgers regulations. The activities with which

Petitioner was charged do not involve "scholarship" or

“teaching” in any sense. The modifying terms -- "sound"

and “competent” -- are also "classic terms of degree," as

this Court stated, which have "no settled usage or

tradition of interpretation" in regulating ethical conduct

of faculty members toward non-student, co-employees of

faculty members. As in Gentile, and unlike Arnett, there

was no "clarifying interpretation" of these terms that

forewarned anyone that the rules could be applied with

respect to allegedly unethical conduct by faculty against

such non-students. Indeed, as explained below, the

existing regulations interpreting these terms and the

precedents in the Villiers and Leaf cases suggest the

Opposite.

This case involves, every facet of the vagueness

doctrine. Rutgers University attempted to change the

meaning of its rules in its effort to dismiss Petitioner for

what appeared to be highly questionable reasons. (See

discussion above on Petitioner’s First Amendment

activities ).

The interchangeable use of the operative

language of the rules attempted by the University in this

26

case, shows that the Respondents were indeed trying to

be "master" of the situation by making these terms mean

whatever they wanted. But the fair notice requirements

of due process clause of the 14th Amendment,

embodying the vagueness doctrine, prohibits any such

manipulative and elastic use of language.

Il.

THE LEGISLATIVE HISTORY OF THE

REGULATIONS, THEIR DEFINITION IN OTHER

RULES AND THEIR INTERPRETATION AND

APPLICATION IN EARLIER INSTANCES

DEFINED THE REGULATIONS IN A MANNER

CONTRARY TO THAT GIVEN BY

THE COURT OF APPEALS

The Court of Appeals examined the regulations

as if they were written on a clean slate, without any prior

interpretation or explanation. The record belies that

approach. The regulations had an extensive history of

development and application that the District Court

relied upon but the Third Circuit totally ignored. Other

University regulations existed which interpreted the key

terms (scholarship and teaching) in the dismissal

regulations. In addition, there were prior interpretations

and applications of the dismissal provisions found in two

earlier cases of attempted dismissal by the Rutgers

administration, which the Court ignored. The only way in

which the Court below could reach the conclusion that it

did was to pay no attention to each and every of these

interpretative guides.

As noted above, an earlier version of the Rutgers

regulations provided that a faculty member could be

dismissed "because his conduct has been reprehensible

and detrimental to the University." (58a; 3dA643). The

change of the regulations to "failure to maintain

standards of sound scholarship and competent teaching”

must therefore be interpreted as an effort to restrict the

reach of the rules to a narrower compass. That

7

27

difference in language is totally ignored by the Third

Circuit.

In addition, Rutgers has, in other regulations,

detined the key terms in the dismissal regulations,

namely "teaching" and "scholarship." The standard stated

for judging teaching competency is:

As teachers, members of the

faculty are responsible for effective

instruction, whether at the undergraduate,

graduate, or continuing education level.

They should have both a depth and

breadth of knowledge in their chosen field

and be able to communicate | this

knowledge to their students. They should

maintain an active interest in the advances

and current thinking in their subject and

be able to relate such information to their

teaching in an organized manner.

Effective teachers feel and _ exhibit

enthusiasm for their subject and create an

environment that stimulates imaginative

thinking. They should have deep interest

in their students’ progress and welfare.

Moreover, they should maintain a critical

attitude toward their teaching and strive

continuously to improve it. (3dA405-10).

The stated standard by which scholarship is judged is:

Scholarly or creatiye activity should

characterize academicians. If they

function as scholars they are responsible

to the University and to society to keep

informed about advances in knowledge

and to contribute to them. Typically,

scholars engage in research work and

produce __ publications. However,

important and valuable scholarly activity

may be carried on without being directed

toward the production of research results.

28

Such scholarship may be expressed in a

variety of ways including teaching,

advising, public lecturing, enriching

courses, compiling of information, or

participating in organized professional

activities. These activities may be more

difficult to evaluate than research work

and publications, but they are no less

important. (3dA405-410)

An examination of the University’s own criteria

regarding the standards of scholarship and teaching on

which faculty are evaluated for appointment and

promotion do not incorporate any criteria which could

provide guidance to a faculty member apropos the

conduct alleged against Dr. San Filippo. It would be

impossible to apply the standards noted above to the

conduct charged against him, none of which related to

his teaching of or interchange with students. There is not

a word in any of the charges that impugn his research

and teaching performance, which were among the

highest in his department.

Furthermore, the Board of -Governor’s - prior

interpretation of the regulations in the Villiers and Leaf

cases shows that Rutgers did not believe that it covered

general standards of "ethics" and "decency" not involving

students or scholarship.

In this Court’s leading case of Bouie v. City of

Columbia, 378 U.S. 347 (1964), the detendants were

charged with trespass for "sitting-in" a department store

lunch counter and refusing to leave after being told to do

so. The state trespass statute prohibited entry upon

someone’s property after being given notice not to enter.

It had never been construed as covering the type of

conduct with which defendants were charged, namely

staying on the property of another after being asked to

leave, even though the initial entry was legal. The

highest state court, on appeal in that case, broadened

the interpretation of the law to cover a refusal-to-leave

situation, and construed the law as penalizing the act of

29

remaining on the premises of another after receiving

notice to leave, even if the entry had been permitted.

This Court reversed the conviction. It noted:

There can be no doubt that a deprivation

of the right of fair warning can result not

only from vague statutory language but

also. from an_ unforeseeable and

retroactive expansion of narrow and

precise statutory language. 378 U.S. at

352.

This Court noted that it is a violation of due process

‘where the construction expectedly broadens a statute

which on its face had been definite and precise." For in

that case, "an unforeseeable judicial expansion of a

criminal statute applied retroactively, operates precisely

like an ex post facto law..." 378 U.S. at 353.

In the situation now before the Court, the

University is retroactively urging a more expansive

interpretation of the dismissal rules than it had ever

taken before, an interpretation that is contrary to its °

interpretation of the rules in the Villiers and Leaf cases.

It cannot be allowed to do so since that would violate the

‘fair warning" requirements of the vagueness doctrine as

embodied in the due process clause. The Bouie case

precludes any interpretation of the rules in the expansive

manner accepted by the Third Circuit.

It must be noted that Petitioner does not dispute

that broad language in a dismissal regulation can cover a

wide variety of actions. Thus for example, it would not

be disputed that the standards relating to "competent

teaching" would presumably cover sex harassment of a

11. The Bouie case shows that the vagueness

doctrine covers not only unclear and uncertain language

in operative laws which truly do not give any warning

about what conduct they cover, but also very precise

laws that are applied in a manner totally foreign to their

ordinary meaning or their prior interpretation.

30

student who came to a teacher for assistance on a paper

or encouraging a coworker to falsify experimental data.

But it would not cover a teacher shouting at his or her

secretary, which has nothing to do with the scholarship

or teaching relationship.

The Third Circuit’s refusal to consider any

interpretative guides to the regulations and to examine

any evidence as to the understanding of the University

community as to what they meant goes counter to this

Court’s decision in Gentile which specifically noted the

importance of examining the "settled usage or tradition

of interpretation" of the general terms of a disciplinary

provision, 111 S. Ct. at 2731. Review by this Court is

necessary to correct these errors.

CONCLUSION

This Court should grant the writ to decide

whether the vagueness doctrine was properly applied

and whether .the Third Circuit properly reversed the

careful decision of the District Court, which granted

summary judgment to Petitioner.

Dated: July 15, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

¥

Leodn Friedman

148 East 78th Street

New York, N.Y. 10021

(212) 737-0400

Attorney for Petitioner

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX A

Filed April 22, 1992

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 90-6052

JOSEPH SAN FILIPPO, JR.,

Appellee

v.

MICHAEL BONGIOVANNI, ANTHONY S.

CICATIELLO, ADREIENNE S. ANDERSON,

DONALD M. DICKERSON, FLOYD H. BRAGG,

NORMAN REITMAN, Individually and as members of

the Board of Governors of Rutgers University,

RUTGERS, THE STATE UNIVERSITY,

Appellants

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the District of New Jersey

(D.C. Civil Docket No. 88-02575)

Argued: May 14, 199]

PRESENT: HUTCHINSON, COWEN and SEITZ,

Circuit Judges

(Opinion Filed April 22, 1992)

2a

John J. Peirano, Jr., Esquire (Argued)

Linda B. Celauro, Esquire

Carpenter, Bennett & Morrissey

100 Mulberry Street

Three Gateway Center

Newark, NJ 07102

Attorneys for Appellants

Leon Friedman, Esquire (Argued)

148 East 78th Street

New York, NY 10021

and

Stuart S. Ball, Esquire

Ball, Livingston & Tykulsker

108 Washington Street

Newark, NJ 07102

Attorneys for Appellee

OPINION OF THE COURT

HUTCHINSON, Circuit Judge.

I.

In this certified interlocutory appeal Rutgers, the

State University of New Jersey (Rutgers or the

University), its Board of Governors (Board) and the

Board’s individual members appeal an order of the

United States District Court for the District of New

Jersey. That order granted appellee, Joseph San

Filippo, Jr.’s (Dr. San Filippo’s) motion for partial

summary judgment as to liability on one of several of his

claims under 42 U.S.C.A. 1983 (West 1981) that

Rutgers violated his constitutional rights when it

stripped him of academic tenure and discharged him

from his position as a professor at that University. See

3a

San_Filippo_y. Bongiovanni, 743 F. Supp. 327, 339

(D.N.J. 1990).’

The order granting Dr. San Filippo partial

summary judgment concerned his claim that the grounds

set forth in the University’s regulations for dismissing a

tenured professor violated his Fourteenth Amendment

due process right to fair notice that the acts he was

charged with could lead to dismissal because they were

void for vagueness. Id.

The sole question before us on this certified

appeal is whether the University’s regulations were

indeed too vague to meet the fair notice requirement

l. The case remains pending in the district court,

but has been stayed pending disposition of this certified

interlocutory appeal.

2. Dr. San Filippo’s void for vagueness claim is

particularly set forth in paragraph twenty-seven of his

Third Amended Complaint. It reads:

27. The actions of defendants

complained of (including the actual dismissal, as

described above) violated plaintiff's due process

rights under the Sth and 14th Amendments and

the comparable provisions of the New Jersey

Constitution in that the University regulations

under which he was disciplined are vague and

uncertain and did not fairly warn him that the

acts of which he was accused were violations of

University rules. Furthermore, the rules, by

specifically mentioning § radically different

offenses for which dismissal was appropriate, did

not give plaintiff fair warning that the type of

offenses involved here were so serious that they

could serve as the basis for dismissal.

Appendix (App.) at 973.

4a

incorporated in the due process clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment to the Constitution. Therefore, we cannot

consider or decide Dr. San Filippo’s other express or

implied claims, or any implied claim that his discharge

violated. his constitutional right to substantive due

process.>

> San Filippo’s other express claims include

violation of his rights to procedural due process, equal

protection, and free speech under the United States and

New Jersey Constitutions, and a New Jersey state law

breach of contract claim.

San Filippo’s Third Amended Complaint does

not include any express claim that the Board’s action to

revoke his tenure and discharge him for reasons the

contract did not permit was a violation of substantive

due process. Paragraphs seventeen and eighteen do,

however, contain allegations from which it might be

possible to infer a substantive due process claim. They

state:

17.... The relevant rule of dismissal is Rule

3.94 which mentions the following offenses:

"failure to maintain standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching, or gross

neglect of established University obligations

appropriate to the appointment, or

incompetence or incapacitation, or conviction of

a crime involving moral turpitude." In such cases,

and in only such cases, dismissal is appropriate.

But none of the accusations against plaintiff fit

within any of the categories mentioned in Rule

3.94 or are remotely covered by, or analogous to,

such defined offense. ...

18. The conclusion is inescapable that

defendants have violated their own standards by

invoking as a basis for dismissal conduct which

under its own rules do not justify dismissal.

Sa

The applicable dismissal regulations state that

tenured professors may only be dismissed for adequate

cause. Regulation 3.93. Adequate cause is defined as

"failure to maintain standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching, or gross neglect of established

University obligations appropriate to the appointment,

or incompetence, or incapacitation, or conviction of a

crime involving moral turpitude... ." Regulation 3.94.

These regulations are no less definite than provisions

permitting discharge for immoral conduct, just cause or

conduct unbecoming a teacher. Such provisions have

been upheld against void for vagueness attacks in cases

involving the discharge of teachers, professors and other

public employees. Accordingly, we will vacate the

district court’s order granting Dr. San Filippo’s motion

for summary judgment as to liability on his 42 U.S.C.A.

1983 void for vagueness claim and remand the case to

the district court for further proceedings.

IT.

Dr. San Filippo brought suit against the

University in the United States District Court for the

District of New Jersey. He based his federal claims on

42 U.S.C.A. 1983. That Statute states:

Every person who, under color of any statue,

ordinance, regulation, custom, or usage, of any

State or Territory or the District of Columbia,

subjects, or causes to be subjected, any citizen of

the United States or other person within the

jurisdiction thereof to the deprivation of any

rights, privileges, or immunities secured by the

Constitution and laws, shall be liable to the party

injured in an action at law, suit in equity, or other

proper proceeding for redress. For the purposes

of this section, any Act of Congress applicable

App. at 966-67.

|

6a

exclusively to the District of Columbia shall be

considered to be a statute of the District of

Columbia.

The University moved for summary Judgment on

several grounds, including Dr. San Filippo's claim that

the University’s regulations governing the dismissal of

tenured faculty members were so vague that they

violated his right to due process. See San Filippo, 743 F.

Supp. at 332. Dr. San Filippo filed a cross-motion for

partial summary judgment as to liability on this same

claim. Id. After oral argument, the district court held

that the University’s discharge regulations, as applied to

Dr. San Filippo, were void for vagueness, as they did not

give him fair notice that the charges against him could

lead to dismissal. Accordingly, it granted Dr. San

Filippo’s cross-motion. Id. at 339.

Ancillary to its order granting Dr. San Filippo

partial summary judgment on his void for vagueness

claim, the district court denied the University’s motions

for summary judgment on the void for vagueness claim;

to strike certain affidavits and exhibits; and to strike Dr.

San Filippo’s claim for loss of consulting fees. The

district court granted the University’s motions to strike

Dr. San Filippo’s claims for punitive damages, front and

back pay, and research grants. Id. at 339. It did not

decide the remaining motions before it nor did it address

the question whether the record before the Board was

sufficient for it to find that Dr. San Filippo had

committed the particular acts of misconduct which the

Board had decided justified his dismissal. Id. at 332-33.

Later, the University moved the district court to

certify the void for vagueness question for interlocutory

appeal, and to stay the action pending disposition of its

petition for permission to appeal and pending appeal if

permission is granted. The district court granted the

motion and thus amended its order as follows:

Ta

STATED, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. 1292(b) and

Rule 23 of the Rules of the United States Court

_of Appeals for the Third Circuit, that the within

Order, in its grant of summary judgment to the

plaintiff determining that Rutgers, The State

University’s dismissal regulations are

unconstitutionally vague, involves a controlling

question of law as to which there is substantial

ground for difference of opinion and that an

immediate appeal from the order may materially

advance the litigation....

App. at 1132-33. This Court then granted the University

permission to appeal from the certified interlocutory

order.

ITT.

Dr. San Filippo became a tenured professor of

chemistry at the University in 1984. Before the

University discharged him, he was highly respected by

his peers for his professional achievements. 7

On January 6, 1986, the Dean of the Faculty of

Arts and Sciences gave Dr. San Filippo written notice

that various complaints had been made against him

regarding his conduct towards visiting Chinese scholars

brought fo the University to work with him on research

projects. The allegations included verbal abuse,

harassment, exploitation, - attempted exploitation,

4. Dr. San Filippo had previous oral notice of the

charges. On November 25, 1985 he met and discussed

the charges with the Dean of Arts and Sciences, the

assistant to the Dean, an American Association of

University Professors (AAUP) advisor, and the

Chemistry department Chairman and former Chairman.

Dr. San Filippo chose not to respond to the charges at

that time.

Sa

intimidation, fraud, deceit and misrepresentation. Dr.

San Filippo responded with a written denial.

Over the next several months, various

administrative actions were taken to investigate and

dispose of the charges against Dr. San Filippo. The

investigative phase ended on October 1, 1986, when

Rutgers’ President, Edward J. Bloustein, issue a formal

charging document pursuant to University Regulation

3.97. The document stated that Dr. San Filippo

"violated the basic ethical tenets of our profession,

including those standards of professional ethics set forth

in University Regulation 3.91, and that, in doing so, [Dr.

San Filippo has} failed in [his] responsibilities to this

University." App. at 892. Regulation 3.91 sets forth the

Statement on Professional Ethics adopted by the AAUP.

The document then stated the charges "meet the

standards for dismissal set forth in University

Regulations 3.93, 3.94, 3.97, and 3.99 and constitute

gross neglect of established university obligations

appropriate to your appointment and evidence a failure

to maintain standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching.” Id. Regulation 3.93 states that a

tenured professor may be dismissed for "adequate

cause" as defined in section 3.94. Regulation 3.94

defines adequate cause as "failure to maintain standards

of sound scholarship and competent teaching, or gross

neglect of established University obligations appropriate

to the appointment, or incompetence, or incapacitation,

Os ie of a crime of moral turpitude... ." App. at

5. Regulations 3.94, 3.97, 3.98, 3.99 and 3.99a set

forth the standards and requirements for dismissal of a

tenured professor. They state:

3.94. Recommendations regarding dismissal of a

tenured faculty member or a nontenured faculty

member prior to the completion of his or her

contract, when the ground is failure to maintain

standards of sound scholarship and competent

9a

teaching, or gross neglect of established

University obligations appropriate to the

appointment, or incompetence, or incapacitation,

Or conviction of a crime involving moral

turpitude, are made to the president through the

executive vice president and chief academic

officer and the appropriate pr vost by deans of

colleges and schools, with the advice of the

tenured faculty, at, or above, the particular rank

in the faculty member’s department.

3.97. If the President of the University finds

reason to believe that a faulty member should be

dismissed when the ground is that he has been

convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude, or

is incompetent, or incapacitated, or has failed to

maintain for himself standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching, the

President shall send the faculty member a notice

Stating in detail the charges against him and

informing him that he is entitled to a hearing if he

shall ask for it within two weeks and that, in the

absence of a request for a hearing, he may be

dismissed from the faculty.

3.98 If the faculty member requests a hearing, it

shall be held by a panel of five, selected by lot

from the elected members of the University

Senate; but the parties may first exercise a

reasonable number of challenges, and a member

of the Senate may be excused form service on the

panel at his own request, for good cause. The

procedure at the hearing shall fully conform to

the concept of due process; but the hearing shall

not be public unless the respondent so requests.

The President of the University shall designate a

lawyer or a member of the faculty to present the

charges, and the respondent shall be entitled to

the aid of counsel. His reasonable expense shall

be paid by the University. No administrative

10a

Specifically, the document set forth the following

charges:

l. Your treatment of scholars visiting trom

the People’s Republic of China and a

Chinese Teaching assistant violated the

standards of professional ethics required

of all faculty members. More specifically,

your treatment with respect to these

officer of the University shall participate in

presenting charges, or as defense counsel, or as

member of the panel.

3.99. The panel shall determine whether the

charges, or any part thereof, are true; whether

the matters charged and proved constitute

ground for dismissal under section 3.93 above;

and whether, taking into consideration the

respondent’s previous records and his value to

the University, he should be dismissed or

otherwise disciplined.

3.99a. The report of the panel shall be presented

to the Board of Governors and a copy thereof

sent to the respondent. Written as well as oral

argument may be submitted to the Board on

behalf of the President and the respondent. If

further evidence is required by the Board, the

panel shall be reconvened to receive it and to

make any further findings that may be

appropriate. The Board shall accord great

weight to the findings of the panel, and its final

action affirming, revising, or modifying the panel

shall be by vote for such action by at least six

members of the Board.

App. at 977-78.

lla

individuals, as set forth more fully in the

attached documents, is a follows:

a.

You took advantage of your

professional position and exploited

Mr. Hetian oa and Mr. Changhe

Xiao, both visiting scholars from

the People’s Republic of China, by

directing them or by leading them

to believe that they had no choice

but to perform domestic work for

you, such as- garden work and

indoor and outdoor cleaning work

during the period May through July

1985.

You attempted to exploit Ms. Yaru

Zang, also a visiting scholar form

the People’s Republic of China, by

attempting to make her perform

domestic work for you.

You exploited Messrs. Gao and

Xiao by representing that they

would be provided health benefits

coverage and that you would

deduct $700.00 from the salary to

be paid each of them in order to

cover the costs of such benefits.

Despite deducting such sums, you

did not provide coverage for Mr.

Gao or Mr. Xiao.

During the period of time that the

above-named visiting Chinese

scholars were at Rutgers, you

threatened and harassed those

individuals by repeatedly stating

that you would send them back to

China and by directing abusive

language toward them. :

i)

tJ

l2a

¢. On or about March 31, 1986, you

interrupted without sufficient cause

a laboratory class being conducted

by Teaching Assistant, Zong Ping

Chen. You continued that incident

by treating her in an

unprofessional, threatening and

abusive manner, within the hearing

of other individuals, including her

students.

On or about July 8, 1985, you direct Mr.

Changhe Xiao, who had injured himself

while doing maintenance work at your

house, to identify himself as Mr. Peng

Zhou in Middlesex Hospital in order to

have Mr. Xiao covered by Mr. Peng

Zhou’s medical insurance.

You encouraged and _ permitted

individuals working under your directions

and supervision to submit false time

reports and to make inappropriate

charges against certain University

accounts. Specifically:

a. In or about August 1985, Ms. Abie

Lieber, a secretary who works

solely under your supervision,

submitted a time report form,

urportedly to compensate Mr.

etian Gao and Mr. Changhe Xiao

for extra computer (and/or library)

work supposedly performed by

them, but you told them that the

payment was actually to provide

them with money to purchase

health benefits from the Chinese

consulate. Both Messrs. Hetian

Gao and Changhe Xiao thereatter

’

l3a

received $100.00 each, charged

against your NSF grant, despite the

fact that you knew that they had no

performed any extra work for the ,

money. (Note the previous

promise to provide health benefits

recited in item 1.c. above.)

b. Ms. Marilyn Brownawell, who

works directly under = your

supervision, submitted time report

forms for the week ending August

17, 1984. She reported and was

paid for 40 hours of work for that

period, charged against the

Chemistry Department’s mass

spectrometer account, even though

you knew that she did not perform

any work related to the mass

spectrometer or indeed = any

compensable work for Rutgers of

any kind during that period.

4. You violated professional and academic

standards and exploited foreign visitors to

the University by bringing to the

University as post-doctoral fellow Chinese

scholars who you knew did not have

appropriate credential and by charging

the stipends of such individuals, who did

not possess doctoral degrees, to your NSF

rant as post-doctoral fellows.

ubsequently, you supported these

individuals for admission to the graduate

program in Chemistry, a fact which clearly

established that they did not have the

credentials to be post-doctoral fellows.

Subsequently, you supported these

individuals for admission to the graduate

program in Chemistry, a fact which clearly

l4a

established that they did not have the

credentials to be post-doctoral fellows.

5. During Fall 1985, you submitted an

application for admission to the graduate

program, including letters of reference, on

behalf of Mr. Peng Zhou, one of the

individuals referred to in #4. above. One

of the letters of reference submitted by

you purportedly was written and signed by

Liu Guozhi. In fact, that letter was not

prepared by Liu Guozhi, and you had

knowledge of that fact and did not make it

known when you submitted the letter.

6. On December 16, 1985, Professor Robert

Boikess, Chair of your department,

specifically instructed you not to permit

Mr. Peng Zhou, Mr. Con-Yuan Guo, or

any other graduate student except those

already associated with your research

group, to work in your laboratory, pending

investigation of allegations of exploitation

an harassment lodged against you by

visiting Chinese scholars. Despite these

specific instructions, you subsequently

permitted Con -Yuan Guo, Zhen-Min

He, and Peng Zhou to perform work in

your laboratory.

App. at 1050-52.

The document concluded that the charges against

Dr. San Filippo, if ~~ could be a basis for his

dismissal, and that if Dr. San Filippo did not exercise his

preliminary right to a hearing before a panel of five

members of the University Senate (the Panel), President

Bloustein would recommend to the Board of Governors

So Board) that Dr. San Filippo be dismissed. Dr. San

ilippo requested a hearing before the Senate Panel and

his request was granted. The Panel hearing took 250

lSa

hours and lasted forty-six days. San Filippo, 743 F.

Supp. at 330. Following it, the Panel sustained charges

la, lc, 1d, le, 2, 3b, 4, 5, and 6 after determining that the

facts alleged within those charges were true.”

The Panel sustained four of the five subparts of

the first charge that Dr. San Filippo had "violated the

standards of professional ethics required of all faculty

members" through his abuse of visiting Chinese scholars

at the University. App. at 892. With respect to charge

la, the Panel found that Dr. San Filippo’s verbal abuse

and intimidation of the scholars created a climate in

which they felt compelled to perform domestic services

for Dr. San Filippo:

Professor San Filippo took advantage of his

professional position and exploited these visiting

scholars in a manner that was demeaning and

insensitive. Given his abusive and threatening

treatment of Messrs. Gao and Xiao, their recent

arrival in the United States, and his position as

their supervisor, Messrs. Gao and Xiao had little

choice in their response.

App. at 906./

6. Our description of the specifics of the various

charges and their disposition is taken primarily from the

portions of the record that deal with the’ Panel

proceedings noting, however, where the Panel’s report

differs materially from the findings and

recommendations of the Board.

t While the Panel found that Dr. San Filippo "did

not directly invite Mr. Gao and Mr. Xiao to come over

to his house or direct them to do uncompensated work

for him," App. at 905, the Board cited evidence that Dr.

San ee had explicitly assigned chores to the

scholars. App. at 998-999.

ee

- 16a

The Panel did not sustain charge 1b, which

asserted that Dr. San Filippo "attempted to exploit’

another Chinese visiting scholar by "attempting to make

her perform domestic work" for him, App. at 893,

because it found the evidence insufficient to support the

charge. Charge 1c, which asserted that Dr. San Filippo

had deducted money from the salary of two visiting

scholars to cover health insurance premiums without

obtaining any coverage for them, was sustained as to one

visiting scholar, but not as to the other.

Charge 1d concerning Dr. San Filippo’s use of

threatening and abusive language toward the Chinese

scholars was sustained as well. These outbursts

concerned the scholars’ work performance, a request by

one to be taken to the hospital for an injury sustained

while performing services for Dr. San Filippo at his

home, and the failure of two scholars who had

authorized deductions for health insurance premiums

from their stipends to otherwise obtain any pay for

health insurance from the Chinese consulate.

The Panel also sustained charge le concerning

Dr. San Filippo’s treatment of Zong Ping Chen. It did so

after three witnesses testified that Dr. San Filippo had

"used a loud, harsh, angry voice and yelled and used

obscenities in his discussion with Ms. Chen." App. at

918. On this charge, the Panel found Dr. San Filippo’s

conduct unacceptable not only because he abused Ms.

Chen but also because his interruption of her class

“disruipt[ed] _.. the learning environment." App. at

919.

8. Dr. San Filippo claimed that he was frustrated at

the attacks being made on his research program and that

Ms. Chen was upset because she had been put on a

waitlist-for the following semester’s teaching assistant

roster. He further claimed that he was frustrated with

Ms. Chen’s handling of the teaching assistant application

process. The Panel found these responses did not

justify, explain or excuse his actions.

| nea ae aia a

17a

The Panel additionally sustained the second

charge. While the Panel found that Dr. San Filippo did

not necessarily "direct" Mr. Xiao to use Mr. Zhou’s

insurance card, it determined that this misrepresentation

would not have occurred were it not for Dr. San

Filippo’s approval of the scheme. Further, while Dr. San

Filippo paid Mr. Xiao’s hospital bill, the Panel found his

payment delinquent in that it only happened after the

bill “was in the hands of a collection agency." App. at

921.

The Panel only sustained charge 3b covering Dr.

San Filippo’s involvement with the submission of false

time reports. The Panel sustained this charge because it

found Dr. San Filippo had authorized Marilyn

Brownawell, an employee working directly under his

supervision, to submit time reports that resulted in pay

from the chemistry department’s mass spectrometer

account for times when he knew she was on vacation.

The Panel considered Dr. San Filippo’s defense that he

had an "informal" agreement with Ms. Brownawell

regarding her compensation which explained the false

time report but found that, every if true, it did not

present a mitigating circumstance.” It noted that this

informal" agreement resulted in less money bring taken

out of Dr. San Filippo’s grant funds.

9. Dr. San Filippo claimed that the time form

submitted by Ms. Brownawell was not fraudulent but

was authorized by him so that Ms. Brownawell could be

compensated for work that she had done for Dr. San

Filippo in the past for which she had not yet been

compensated. Dr. San Filippo also said that the

business manager of the chemistry department led him

to believe that he and Ms. Brownawell could continue

their informal employment arrangement pursuant to

which the time report had been submitted.

Derren

18a

The Panel sustained the fourth charge as well.

Among the sustained charges, this charge seems most

closely related to the requirement statec in Regulations

3.91 and 3.94 that professors "maintain standards of

sound scholarship and competent teaching." This charge

concerned the appointment of two visiting scholars,

Cong-Yuan Guo and Pen Zhou as postdoctoral fellows.

The Panel did not sustain it with respect to Mr. Guo but

did with respect to Mr. Zhou. Dr. San Filippo had

received a memorandum from the Universitys Vice

President for Academic Affairs before he appointed Mr.

Zhou stating that only individuals with doctoral degrees

could be postdoctoral fellows. Mr. Zhou did not have a

doctoral degree. Dr. San Filippo had also been notified

by the chair of the chemistry department that Mr. Zhou

did not possess the qualifications necessary to hold the

position of a postdoctoral fellow. The Panel noted that

Mr. Zhou’s classification as a postdoctoral fellow gave

Dr. San Filippo the advantage of a lower charge against

his research grant.

The fifth charge, which asserted that Dr. San

Filippo had submitted an individual's application to the

University’s graduate program knowing that it contained

a recommendation letter of questionable integrity was

also sustained. The recommendation was presented as

an original letter from Liu Guozhi, a professor in China.

In fact, it was the applicant’s translation of a letter from

Professor Guozhi which Dr. San Filippo had edited and

on which translation the applicant had signed Professor

Guozhi’s name in the Chinese characters that

represented the professor’s signature. In sustaining this

charge against Dr. San Filippo, the panel noted there

was "insufficient evidence to sustain a charge that there

was no original letter of recommendation" from the

professor who purportedly wrote the letter that was

submitted. App. at 937.

Lastly, the Panel sustained the sixth and final

charge which asserted that Dr. San Filippo had allowed

three graduate students, Cong-Yuan Guo, Zhen-min

19a

He, and Peng Zhou, to work in his laboratory after being

specifically instructed in a memorandum from the chair

of the chemistry department that he was not to allow

them to work there pending investigation of the

complaints lodged against him by visiting Chinese

scholars. The Panel noted that the prohibition of Dr.

San Filippo’s use of graduate students was a "very strong

action," but concluded it was not unreasonable given the

gravity of the allegations against Ds. San Filippo and

therefore should have been obeyed.

Based on its determination that charges la, lc,

Id, le, 2, 3b, 4, 5, and 6 were true, the Pane! concluded

that "the matters charged and proved" met the standard

for dismissal of a tenured professor set forth in the

University Regulations and, after taking into

consideration Dr. San Filippo’s "previous record and his

value to the University" pursuant to Regulation 3.99,

recommended to the Board of Governors that he be

Stripped of tenure and discharged from his position of

professor. App. at 940. The Panel Report stated:

Professor San Filippo has exploited, threatened

and been abusive of individuals who have worked

under him in a professional ca acity. In addition,

we find that Professor ean Filippo has

demonstrated a serious lack of integrity in his

professional dealings. His excellent research

record and his contribution to the University are

laudatory, and were considered by the Panel in

reaching its decision. The Panel unanimously

10... The Panel reported Dr. San Filippo’s response

that he did not adhere to his department chair’s order

not to permit additional graduate students to work in his

lab because Dr. San Filippo thought that it would have

been "the death of his research program, and that [the]

memo was unconstitutional, in violation of the principles

of due process and academic freedom, and sections of

the AAUP Bargaining Agreement." App. at 938-939.

Deel

20a

recommends, however, that Professor San

Filippo be dismissed from the University.

App. at 1031.

After reviewing the evidence and hearing oral

argument as to each charge sustained by the Panel, the

Board, one member dissenting, affirmed the Panel’s

conclusions and ordered Dr. San Filippo’s immediate

dismissal. It concluded that all the sustained charges

evidenced "a failure to maintain standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching.” App. at 1036. In

sustaining ethical charges 1a, 1d, and le with respect to

Dr. San Filippo’s abuse and exploitation of the visiting

scholars, the Board relied in part on a portion of the

AAUP’s Statement on Professional Ethics set forth in

University Regulation , 3.91 concerning a_professor’s

treatment of students. I App. at 1033. The Board,

11. That portion of the AAUP’s Statement in

Regulation 3.91 states:

As a teacher, the professor encourages the

free pursuit of learning in his students. He

holds before them the best scholarly

standards of his discipline. He

demonstrates respect for the student as an

individual, and adheres to his proper role

as intellectual guide and counselor. He

makes every reasonable effort to foster

honest academic conduct and to assure

that his evaluation of students reflects

their true merit. He respects the

confidential nature of the relationship

between professor and student. He avoids

any exploitation of students for his private

advantage and acknowledges significant

assistance from them. He protects their

academic freedom.

App. at 976.

2la

however, did not expressly rely on the AAUP Statement

in sustaining the other charges against Dr. San Filippo.

The Board reasoned that, "although the conduct

involved in each of these charges is not specifically

enumerated in the national AAUP’s Statement on

Professional Ethics[,a]ll of these charges flow directly

out of Professor San Filippo’s activities as a scholar and

teacher and constitute serious ethical violations of his

responsibilities in these areas." App. at 1036.

IV.

The district court had subject matter jurisdiction

over this case under 28 U.S.C.A. 1331 (West Supp.

1991)(federal question) and 28 US.C.A.

1343(a)(3)(West Supp. 1991)(civil rights). We have

appellate jurisdiction over the University’s appeal from

the interlocutory order granting Dr. San Filippo partial

summary judgment on his void for vagueness claim

under 28 U.S.C.A. 1292(b)(West Supp. 1991).

Federal Rule of Civil Procedure 56 states that the

moving party is entitled to summary judgment upon a

Showing "that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving party is entitled to summary

judgment as a matter of law." Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(c); see

Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 247

(1986). Our review of the district court’s order granting

partial summary judgment is plenary. International

Union, UMW v. Racho Trucking Co., 897 F.2d 1248,

1252 (3d Cir. 1990).

In undertaking that review, we look first to the

record to determine whether Dr. San Filippo has

produced evidence that would sustain his claim that the

University’s dismissal standards were void for vagueness.

The district court’s application of the void for vagueness

doctrine to the University’s dismissal standards is purely

an issue of law subject to our plenary review. Id. We

22a

will assess Dr. San Filippo’s claim in light of the legal

principles set out in the cases involving attacks by

discharged public employees upon dismissal standards

as unconstitutionally vague to determine if he is entitled

to summary judgment as a matter of law.

V.

Rutgers argues that its dismissal regulations

incorporate the AAUP Statement on Professional Ethics

that is set out in Regulation 3.91 and relied on in part by

the Board in its decision to discharge Dr. San Filippo.

We reject that argument and instead agree with the

district court that the Statement on Professional Ethics

that appears in Regulation 3.91 is not incorporated into

Regulation 3.93, the regulation setting forth the

permissible bases for the dismissal of tenured faculty.

We do so essentially for the reasons that the district

court set forth in its published opinion. See San Filippo,

743 F. Supp. at 333-37.

That conclusion, however, is not dispositive ot

Dr. San Filippo’s void for vagueness claim. The question

remains whether the dismissal standards set forth in

Regulations 3.93 and 3.94, typescript supra at 9 n.6,

absent incorporation of the ethical standards set forth in

Regulations 3.91, were void for vagueness. Our task in

deciding this question is complicated by the way the

parties have presented their arguments, both here and in

the district court. In both fora they devoted most of

their attention to the incorporation question. They

devoted little attention to the remaining question, 1.e.,

whether the dismissal regulations absent 3.91 are void

for vagueness.

The University, in the district court and in its

appellate brief, did mention the argument that its

general standard of "sound scholarshi and competent

teaching," absent incorporation of egulation 3.91,

could withstand a void for vagueness attack when

considered in the context of the academic community's

23a

Shared professional standards. See Brief for Appellant

at 23-4. Dr. San Filippo also argued this issue before the

district court and devoted a section of his appellate brief

to it. See Brief for Appellee at 35-45. Thus,

although the parties mainly focused on the incorporation

issue, there is no unfairness to Dr. San Filippo in

considering whether he has produced evidence that

could show the University’s dismissal standards, absent

Regulation 3.91, are unconstitutionally vague.

Additionally, the district court had an Opportunity

to. consider whether the University’s discharge

regulations absent Regulation 3.91 are void for

vagueness and it did so. After concluding that

Regulation 3.91 was nat incorporated into the

University’s dismissal regulations so that purely ethical

violations cannot be considered a dismissible offense,

the district court also concluded that the dismissal

regulations absent Regulation 3.91 were void for

vagueness. San Filippo, 743 F. Supp. at 338. This is

evidenced by the district court’s statement that "[a]s

applied to the conduct charged in this case, failure to

maintain standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching’ is void for vagueness." Id.

Under these circumstances, we believe it is both

fair and appropriate for us to consider whether the

general dismissal standards in Regulations 3.93 and 3.94,

absent incorporation of the ethical standards in

Regulation 3.91, are unconstitutionally vague.

The due process clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment says that no state shall "deprive any person

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law...

- US. Const. amend. XIV, 1. Due process

requirements apply to Dr. San Filippo becuse his

tenured faculty position is a property interest. In

12. Of course, regardless of the interests involved, no

procedural due process is required unless state action is

involved in the deprivation of property. It is clear that

24a

Board of Regents v. Roth, 408 U.S. 564, 571 (1972), the

Supreme Court of the United States said that in

determining whether there is a_ property interest

involved, and thus whether due process requirements

apply, courts must look to the nature of the interest

involved. "[P]roperty interest protected by procedural

due process extend well beyond actual ownership of real

estate, chattels, or money." Id. at 572. Whenever a

"person’s good name, reputation, honor, or integrity is a

at stake because of what the government is doing to

him," id. at 573, a property interest is involved and due

process requirements apply. It follows from these

principles that a tenured university professor has a

property interest in his position, and thus cannot be

deprived of that position without due process. sce

Slochower v. Board of Higher Educ., 350 U.S. 551, 559

(1956)(summary dismissal of tenured professor violated

due process right); Morris v. Clifford, 903 F.2d 574, 576

(8th Cir. 1990)(tenured faculty member has

constitutionally sewentey property right); Yatvin_v.

Madison Metro. School Dist., 840 F.2d 412, 416 (7th Cir.

1988)("A tenured professor in a public university has a

Fourteenth Amendment property right in his job; the

right is created by his tenure contract with the

university"); Agarwal v. Regents of Univ. of Minn., 788

F.2d 504, 507 n.2 (8th Cir. 1986)(same); Harden_v.

Adams, 760 F.2d 1158, 1167 (11th Cir.)(same), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 1007 (1985). Cf. Perry v. Sindermann,

408 U.S. 593, 599-601 (1972)(employment contract

providing professor could only be terminated for cause

constituted pygperty right protected by Fourteenth

Amendment).

Rutgers, as a state university, is a state actor. No party

has contended otherwise.

13. Strangely, no case in this Circuit specifically states

that a tenured — rofessor has a_ property

interest in his position. Cf. Unger v. National Residents

Matching Program, 928 F.2d 1392, 1397-99 (3d Cir.

1991)(citing Yatvin in discussion of property rights

25a

Generally, cases involving dismissals in violation

of the principles set out in Roth involve pure procedural

due process challenges concerning unfairness in the

manner of dismissal. The district court has yet to rule on

Dr. San Filippo’s pure procedural due process claim and

that claim is not before us on this interlocutory appeal.

Dr. San Filippo’s void for vagueness claim, however,

poses a different problem. It asserts violation of

procedural due process apart from the manner in which

he was dismissed. He claims the standards in the

University’s dismissal regulations are so broad and

general that they did not put him on notice that he could

be dismissed for engaging in the conduct with which he

was charged.

The void for vagueness doctrine arose as an

aspect of Fourteenth Amendment due process in the

context of criminal statues because it was thought unfair

to punish persons for conduct which they had no notice

could subject them to criminal punishment. See

Connally, v. General Constr. Co., 269 U.S. 385, 391

(1926).** The doctrine has been extended to civil cases.

created by contracts with state entities); Bradley _v.

Pittsburgh Bd. of Educ., 913 F.2d 1064, 1076 (3d Cir.

1990)("property interest in employment exists where

State law supports a claim of entitlement to continued

employment’).

14. We note that the void for vagueness doctrine

Should be distinguished from the related doctrine of

overbreadth which is not at issue here but often arises in

conjunction with void for vagueness in cases where First

Amendment free expression:is at issue. The overbreadth

doctrine permits a person who is not himself injured to

raise the constitutional rights of others. See Kreimer v.

Bureau of Police, No. 91-5501, slip. op. at 57 (3d Cir.

Mar. 23, 1992). Asa practical matter, it is a standing

doctrine. The void for vagueness doctrine, on the other

hand, requires the person raising it to show that he

26a

See A.B. Small Co. v. American Sugar & Refining Co.,

267 US. 233 (1925); Boutilier_v. Immigration &

Naturalization Serv., 387 U.S. 118 (1967). It has further

been applied in civil cases involving the discharge of

public employees. See Arnett v. Kennedy, 416 U.S. 134

(1974). Lesser degrees of specificity are required to

overcome a vagueness challenge in the civil context than

in the criminal context, however, because the

consequences in the criminal context are more severe.

Village of Hoffman Estates v. The Flipside, Hoffman

Estates, Inc., 455 U.S. 489, 498-99 (1982).

The doctrine is based on the idea of fairness. Its

purpose is only to give “fair warning" of prohibited

conduct. Colten v. Kentucky, 407 U.S. 104, 110 (1972).

The relevant inquiry is whether the statute or standard

is:

Sufficiently explicit to inform those who are

subject to it what conduct on their part will

render them liable to its penalties . . . consonant

alike with ordinary notions of fair play and the

himself has been injured by the overly broad language.

See Rode v. Dellarciprete, 845 F.2d 1195, 1200 (3d Cir

1988)(statute must be vague as applied to person

challenging it).

In the university context, First Amendment issues

sometimes arise with respect to academic freedom.

This, however, does not affect our decision today. Dr.

San Filippo does not raise an overbreadth challenge to

the University regulations. He was not dismissed, nor

does he allege that he was dismissed, for any reason

relating to ge that could be considered a free

expression issue. We note that he does make a First

Amendmert retaliation claim unrelated to his void for

vagueness claim. That claim has not yet been

considered by the district court and is not presently

before us.

27a

settled rules of law. And a statute which either

forbids or requires the doing of an act in terms so

vague that men of common intelligence must

necessarily guess at its meaning and differ as to

its application violates the first essential of due

process of law.

Connally, 269 U.S. at 391; see Bradley v. Pittsburgh Bd.

of Educ., 910 F.2d 1172, 1177 (3d Cir. 1990). It is well

established the inquiry is undertaken on a case by case

basis. The statute or standard is examined as to whether

it is vague as applied to the affected party. See United

States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544, 550 (1975).

In the criminal context, the Supreme Court has

held that since vagueness attacks are based on lack of

notice, "they may be overcome in any specific case where

reasonable persons would know their conduct puts

[them] at risk" of punishment under the statute.

Maynard v. Cartwright, 486 U.S. 356 (1988)(definition of

mitigating circumstance in Oklahoma death penalty

Statute that murder was "especially heinous, atrocious, or

cruel" held unconstitutionally vague). Thus, to be

constitutional, criminal statutes need only give "fair

warning" that certain conduct is prohibited. Colten, 407

U.S. at 110. Simply because a criminal statute could

have been written more precisely does not mean the

Statute as written is unconstitutionally vague. United

States v. Powell, 423 U.S. 87, 94 (1975). Certainly if such

general standards in criminal statutes are sufficiently

precise to withstand attack as void for vagueness,

analogous standards in the civil context where less

specificity is required satisfy due process.

In the public employment context, the Supreme

Court has reiterated that the vagueness doctrine is based

on fair notice that certain conduct puts persons at risk of

discharge. Such standards are not void for vagueness as

long as ordinary persons using ordinary common sense

would be notified that certain conduct will put them at

risk of discharge. Arnett, 419 U.S. at 159. Accordingly,

28a

broad public employee dismissal standards have been

upheld against void for vagueness attacks. The Arnett

Court upheld the general standard "such cause as will

promote the efficiency of the service" for dismissal of

civil service employees. Id. It stated:

"[T]here are limitations in the English language

with respect to being both specific and

manageably brief, and it seems to us that

although the prohibitions may not satisfy those

intent on finding fault at any cost, they are set out

in terms that the ordinary person exercising

ordinary common sense can _ sufficiently

understand and comply with, without sacrifice to

the public interest. [T]he general class of offense

to which . . . [the provisions are] directed is

plainly within [their] terms. . ., [and they] will not

be struck down as vague, even though marginal

cases could be put where doubts mights arise.’

United States _v. Hariss, 347 U.S. 612, 618

(1954)."

Id. (quoting Civil Serv. Comm’n v. National Ass’n_of

Letter Carriers, 413 U.S. 548, 578-79 (1973)); see

Grayned_ vy. City of Rockford, 408 U.S. 104, 110

(1972)("Condemned to the use of words, we can never

expect mathematical certainty from our language.").

The Court noted that employees could be guided, in

using their common sense, by "longstanding principles of

employer-employee relationships. like those developed

in the private sector." Id. at 160.

15. The Arnett court also stated that the employees

in that case had the benefit of a personne] manual that

added to the general standard. We do not believe the

manual’s existence was the basis for the court’s holding,

however. It simply acknowledged the manual in a

footnote to demonstrate that it could aid employees in

ascertaining the "longstanding principles" of employer-

employee relationships to guide them in their behavior.

See Arnett, 416 U.S. at 160 n.24. Further, the language

29a

In cases specifically invoiving dismissal of

teachers or professors, the courts have upheld general

Standards against vagueness attacks. In Wishart. v.

McDonald, a tenured sixth grade public school teacher

was discharged when he carried, dressed, undressed and

caressed a mannequin in public view on his property

located in the town in which he taught. The school’s

dismissal regulation provided a tenured teacher could be

dismissed only for "conduct unbecoming a teacher... or

other good cause." Id. at 1111. The court, applying

Arnett, held the regulation was not void for vagueness as

applied to Wishart because his behavior was fairly

identifiable by an ordinary person as conduct

unbecoming a teacher. Therefore, the regulations gave

him notice that his conduct put him at risk of dismissal.

Id. at 1116. The court stated: "The choice between

specific rules and general standards is a difficult one;

each has its unique costs. The real safeguard under a

general standard is the common-law adjudicatory

process and judicial review." Id. at 1117 (citation

omitted).

In Garrett v. Matthews, 474 F. Su p. 594 (N.D.

Ala. 1979), aff'd, 625 F.2d 658 (Sth Cir. 1980 (per

curiam), a tenured university professor found to have

been insubordinate in not Opening mail from his

superior, in failing to comply with his superior’s request

to supply a list of publications and in failing to keep

office hours was dismissed under an "adequate cause"

standard. The court upheld the professor’s dismissal

concluding that the term "adequate cause" was no more

vague than the standard approved by the Supreme

Court in Arnett. Id. at 599; see Fowler v. Board of

Educ., 819 F.2d 657, 664-65 (applying Arnett and

in the manual shows the breadth of the regulation but

does not make it any more specific. See id. The court in

Wishart v. McDonald, 500 F.2d 1110, 1116 (1st Cir.

1974) similarly construed the Arnett holding.

30a

Wishart in upholding dismissal standard of "conduct

unbecoming a teacher’).

Under these decisions, while Rutgers dismissal

regulations are broad and general, they are not

unconstitutionally vague. Dismissal for failure to

maintain "standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching" does not fail to specify any standard for

dismissal but rather provides a standard which

encompasses a wide range of conduct. We reject the

district court’s narrow reading of this standard based on

the absence of a "catch-all" provision in Rutgers’

dismissal regulations, and embrace the “common sense”

approach of Arnett and its progeny. Professors at

Rutgers can evaluate their behavior’s conformity to the

dismissal regulations. A reasonable, ordinary person

using his common sense and general knowledge of

employer-employee relationships would have fair notice

that the conduct the University charged Dr. San Filippo

with put him at risk of dismissal under a regulation

stating he could be dismissed for "failure to maintain

standards of sound scholarship and competent teaching."

Regulation 3.94. He would know that the standard did

not encompass only actual teaching or research skills.

Here, all of Dr. San Filippo’s charged actions sprang

from his role as a faculty member at the University. It is

not unfair or unforeseeable for a tenured professor to be

expected to behave decently towards students and

coworkers, to comply with a superior’s directive, and to

be truthful and forthcoming in dealing with payroll,

federal research funds or applications for academic

positions. Such behavior is required for the purpose of

maintaining sound scholarship and competent teaching.

The academic community can reasonably conclude that

otherwise the educational atmosphere is likely to

become so tainted and disturbed that it would become

impossible to "maintain standards of sound scholarship

and competent teaching." Id We find further support of

our holding in the following statement by the Panel:

3la

Through these proceedings, the Panel has

felt particular concern for pressures on all of the

Chinese scholars that have been involved in the

matter before the Panel. Coming to a foreign

land to study can be unsettling enough, but to

become embroiled in a dismissal proceeding can

do nothing to aid their scholarship or personal

well-being, or the reputation of the University. -

We urge the University to avail itself to the fullest

to be supportive of foreign scholars and to be

sensitive to the pressures that can be placed on

them, both willingly and unwittingly, because of

their inexperience with our culture and their

dependence on their faculty sponsors and the

University as a whole.

App. at 942.

Thus, Rutgers’ dismissal regulations are not void

for vagueness, even thought they do not incorporate the

ethical standards set out in Regulation 3.91. The general

standards of Regulations 3.93 and 3.94 are sufficient to

Survive a void for vagueness attack. Were we to accept

Dr. San Filippo’s argument that 3.93 and 3.94 were void

for vagueness absent 3.91, the University could never

discharge Dr. San Filippo, or any other tenured

professor, for any conduct nor directly involving teaching

or research short of committing a crime of moral

turpitude. We are unwilling to countenance such a

result. Indeed, its starkness may explain the district

court’s evident dissatisfaction for its own result. See San

Filippo, 743 F. Supp. at 338 (stating that Dr. San

Filippo’s charged conduct is "alien to any concept of how

civilized professionals should comport themselves").

We think that unpalatable result arose out of the

district court’s failure to distinguish the lack of notice

inherent in the void for vagueness doctrine from the

substantive due process issues presented by a discharge

not rationally related to, or covered by, general

standards of acceptable conduct. Its confusion of these

a

32a

principles is traceable to the way Dr. San Filippo

presents his void for vagueness claim. As set out in his

Third Amended Complaint, Dr. San Filippo’s void for

vagueness claim confuses two distinct due process

themes. See typescript, supra at 3 n.2. The theme that

dominates is void for vagueness but, as stated and

presented to both the district court and us, it echoes a

second theme with overtones of pure substantive due

process. The sounds of substantive due process echo

back most clearly in Dr. San Filippo’s argument that the

University’s decision to strip him of tenure was based on >

ethical standards that were not a part of his contract and

that his actions towards the visiting Chinese scholars

bore no relation to sound scholarship or competent

teaching, even if we suppose that those broad, general

concepts had been more specifically defined by the

ethical standards whose incorporation into Rutgers

dismissal standards we have already rejected. | This

confuses the two doctrines. In a void for vagueness

attack, the claim is that the standard is so vague that it is

no standard at all and that lack of a standard caused the

injury. In a substantive due process attack, the claim is

that the standard was not rationally applied to your

conduct and thus you were injured.

The Supreme Court’s decision in Regents of

Univ. of Mich. v. Ewing, 474 U.S. 214 (1985) provides

guidance. There, in considering whether the University’s

refusal to allow a student to retake an important

examination violated the student’s due process rights,

the Court stated:

When judges are asked to review the substance of

a genuinely academic decision, such as this one,

16. Here, we note that although the University’s

decision was based in part on ethical charges it

considered to violate Regulation 3.91, it was as well

dependent on charges the University specified violated

Regulations 3.93 and 3.94.

33a

they should show great respect for the faculty’s

professional judgment. Plainly, they may not

Override it unless it is such a substantial

departure from accepted academic norms as to

demonstrate that the person or committee

responsible did not actually exercise professional

judgment. Cf. Youngberg v. Romeo, 457 USS.

307, 323 (1982).

Considerations of profound importance

counsel restrained judicial review of the

substance of academic decisions.

Id. at 225 (footnote omitted.) Additionally, several

circuits have considered substantive due process claims

by dismissed tenured professors or teachers. See

Newman v. Burgin, 930 F.2d 955, 962-63 (1st Cir.

1991)(arbitrary decision significantly affecting tenured

professor’s employment status may violate substantive

due process); Morris v. Clifford, 903 F.2d 574, 577 (8th

Cir. 1990(recognizing tenured professor’s due process

right to be free from discharge for "arbitrary and

Capricious" reasons); Agarwal, 788 F.2d at 507 (same)

McEnteggart v. Cataldo, 451 F.2d 1109, 1111 (1st Cir.

1971)(substantive due process challenge to college’s

failure to renew non-tenured professor’s contract

required proof that reasons "were unrelated to the

educational process or to working relationships within

the educational institution"), cert. denied, 408 U.S. 943

1972). Cf Bello v. Walker, 840 F.2d 1124, 1129 (3d

ir.)(deliberate and arbitrary abuse of government

power violates substantive due process), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 868 (1988).

17. On the general subject of substantive due process

in cases involving dismissals of public employees, see ;

Henry H. Perritt, Jr., Employee Dismissal Law and

Practice 6.13 (3d ed. 1992).

ete

34a

The district court and Dr. San Filippo have not

fully recognized the distinctions among his constitutional

right to fair notice that the charges against him could

subject him to dismissal and his substantive due process

right to be safe from arbitrary and capricious discharge

for conduct that has no rational pglation to his duties as a

tenured university professor. Dr. San Filippo’s

arguments on void for vagueness disguise the differences

between a state actor’s adoption of a statute or a

regulation that is so broad it fails to give notice as to

what it prohibits with a failure to apply those standards

rationally to his conduct. Thus, he fogs the distinctions

among federal remedies for violation of substantive and

procedural due process and failure to meet the due

process standards of fair notice implicit in the void for

vagueness doctrine, as that doctrine is applied to

discharges from public employment.

Whether Dr. San Filippo has alleged or can

establish that the University is liable for wrongfully

discharging him on the basis of substantive due process,

some other constitutional tort, or breach of state

contract law has not yet been decided by the district

court. Those alternatives are not before us on this

certified interlocutory appeal.

Likewise, none of Dr. San Filippo’s other claims

are now before us. They are: that his dismissal was in

retaliation for activity protected under the First

Amendment in violation of the United States and New

Jersey constitutions, that his dismissal violated his right

18. It may also be important to avoid confusing a

claim for a deprivation of substantive due process and

Dr. San Filippo’s express claim under state contract law

not to be deprived of tenure unless he acts in a manner

that his tenure contract, reasonably read, prohibits and

assigns as a ground for discharge. This claim is not

presently before us because the district court has not yet

ruled on it.

35a

to equal protection of the law under the United States

and New Jersey constitutions, that the conduct of the

Senate Panel Hearing violated his right to procedural

due process under the United States and New Jersey

constitutions, and the pendent state claim that his

dismissal was a violation of his contract with the

University.

On remand, if the district court decides that none

of these other federal claims are viable and that Dr. San

Filippo has not stated or shown a substantive due

process claim by reason of a wholly arbitrary deprivation

of his tenure rights or otherwise brought a valid section

1983 claim, it will, of course, be necessary for the district

court to exercise its discretion to decide whether to hear

Dr. San Filippo’s pendent state claim, in accordance

with the standards set out in United Mine Workers of

America v. Gibbs, 383 U.S. 715, 725-28 (1966).

VI.

We will reverse the district court’s grant of partial

summary judgment in favor of Dr. San Filippo on his

void for vagueness claim and its denial of the

University’s motion on this same claim and remand this

case for further proceedings consistent with this Opinion.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of

Appeals

for the Third Circuit

36a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF NEW JERSEY

JOSEPH SAN FILIPPO, JR.,

Plaintiff,

Civil Action

VS. : No. 88-2575

OPINION

MICHAEL BONGIOVANN],

ANTHONY S. CICATIELIJO,

ADRIENNE S.ANDERSON,

DONALD M. DICKERSON, :

FLOYD H. BRAGG, NORMAN

REITMAN, individually and

as members of the Board of

Governors of Rutgers

University, and RUTGERS,

THE STATE UNIVERSITY,

Defendants. :

APPEARANCES: Leon Friedman, Esq.

148 East 78th Street

New York, New York 10021

-AND-

Stuart S. Ball, Esq.

BALL, LIVINGSTON &

TYKULSKER

108 Washington Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

(Attorneys for Plaintiff)

37a

CARPENTER, BENNETT

& MORRISSEY

Three Gateway Center

100 Mulberry Street

Newark, New Jersey 07102

By: Linda B. Celauro, Esq.

(Attorneys for Defendants)

BEFORE: BARRY, DISTRICT JUDGE

INTRODUCTION

It is a disgrace that Rutgers, the State University

of New Jersey, cannot terminate a faculty member when

he or she committed ethical violations of a high- order

because, for whatever reason, Rutgers has not seen fit to

adopt regulations which would permit it to do so. It is

similarly a disgrace that 46 days of hearings which

culminated in a 44 page report recommending plaintiff's

dismissal because he violated the basic ethical tenets ot

the profession as evidenced by his exploitation of and

threatening and abusive behavior towards individuals

who worked under him and his lack of integrity in

professional dealings, a report sustained by the Board of

Governors in a 60 page opinion, must turn out to be a

total waste of time and _ taxpayers’ money. Finally, it is a

disgrace that, having committed the gross ethical

violations seen here, plaintiff will, most likely, return to

Rutgers, although that return will hardly be the return of

a conquering hero.

FACTS

In 1971, rn San Filippo, Jr., plaintiff herein,

was employed by Rutgers as an untenured Assistant

Professor of Chemistry. In 1977, he earned tenure and

became an Associate Professor of Chemistry and in 1984

achieved the rank of full Professor. Rutgers does not

take issue with his characterization of himself as not

only a respected scientist, an accomplished academic,

38a

and a prolific writer, particularly in his specialty of

organometallic chemistry, but also as a researcher who

had the ability to obtain substantial monies in research

grants and more than one million dollars of scientific

equipment for the University (Third Amended Comp. at

12). Certainly, however, aside from any professional

prowess, Professor San Filippo had to _ have been a

thorn in Rutgers’ side, continually voicing complaints

and filing grievances and arbitrations concerning a

variety of matters and filing at least three legal actions

against the University aside from this action, conduct

which played no explicit part in Rutgers’ decision to

terminate him.

Pursuant to University Regulations 3.94, by letter

dated January 6, 1986, Dean Tilden Edelstein, Dean of

Rutgers’ Faculty of Arts and Sciences, New Brunswick,

formally advised Professor San Filippo that various

complaints had been made against him concerning his

mistreatment of visiting Chinese scholars who were

“sebaemen, research in San Filippo’s laboratories.

ollowing Professor San Filippo’s response in which, tor

the most part, he denied the allegations and attempted

to justify those he admitted, on February 26, 1986, Dean

Edelstein advised Provost Kenneth W. Wheeler of the

allegations of "harassment, exploitation and attempted

exploitation, and fraud," all allegations "so serious” that,

if sustained, warrant dismissal. (Pack Aff., Exh. A). The

1. Professor San Filippo apparently regarded

himself as knight errant amicus at Rutgers. Counsel

described some of his activities: he "often expressed

himself about what he considered dangerous, improper

or even illegal activities at the school"; he "threatened to

inform the authorities"; he "constantly reminded [the

Chemistry Department] of the requirements of federal

law"; and he “had numerous disputes with senior

department members ... many of which led to his filing of

rievances ..." Plaintiffs Memo. in Opposition to

ummary Judgement at 8-10.

39a

tenured faculty of the Department of Chemistry passed

a resolution, concurring.

On April 2, 1986 Provost Wheeler wrote to Dr. T.

Alexander Pond, Executive Vice President and Chief

Academic Officer, Stating that the allegations constitute

‘a gross violation of the ’Statement of Professional

Ethics" contained in University Regulation 3.91 and are

totally unacceptable in an academic community." (ld.,

Exh. B). He recommended that Professor San Filippo

be formally notified of the allegations which, in his view,

warranted dismissal. On August 1, 1986, Dr. Pond

advised Professor San Filippo that "the evidence is

persuasive that you have violated the basic ethical tenets

of our profession and that, in doing so, you have failed in

your obligations to this institution." “(First Cole Aff.,

Exh. A). On September 9, 1986, after having given

Professor San Filippo yet another Opportunity to

respond, Dr. Pond recommended to then President

Edward J. Bloustein that appropriate action be taken to

recommend Professor San Filippo’s dismissal to the

Board of Governors.

Pursuant to Regulation 3.97, on October 1, 1986

President Bloustein issued the formal charging

document advising San Filippo that he has "violated the

basic ethical ‘tenets of our profession, including those

standards of apc yr ethics set forth in University

Regulation 3.91, and that, in doing so, you have failed in

aed responsibilities to this University." (Exh. 1 to

efendants’ Answer to First Amended Comp.) The

charges, President Bloustein continued, "meet the

Standards for dismissal set forth in University

Regulations 3.93, 3.94, 3.97, and 3.99 and constitute

gross neglect of established university obligations

appropriate to your appointment and evidence a failure

to maintain standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching ...." Id.

The charges were detailed by President

Bloustein:

40a

“- Your treatment of scholars visiting trom

the People’s Republic of China and a Chinese

Teaching Assistant violated the standards of

professional ethics required of all faculty

members. More specifically, your treatment with

respect to these individuals, as set forth more

fully in the attached documents, is as follows:

a. You took advantage cof your

professorial position and exploited Mr. Hetian

Gao and Mr. Changhe Xiao, both visiting

scholars from the People’s Republic of China, by

directing them or by leading them to believe that

they had no choice but to perform domestic work

for you, such as garden work and indoor and

outdoor cleaning work during the period May

* through July 1988.

b. You attempted to exploit Mr. Yaru

Zang, also a visiting scholar from the People's

Republic of China, by attempting to make her

perform domestic work for you.

G. You exploited Messrs. Gao and

Xiao by representing that they would be provided

health benefits coverage and that you would

deduct $700.00 from the salary to be paid each of

them in order to cover the costs of such benefits.

Despite deducting such sums, you did not provide

coverage to either Mr. Gao or Mr. Xiao.

d. During the period of time that the

above-named visiting Chinese scholars were at

Rutgers, you threatened and harassed those

individuals -by repeatedly stating that you would

send them back to China and by directing abusive

language toward them.

6. On or about March 31, 1986, you

interrupted without sufficient cause a laboratory

4la

class being conducted by Teaching Assistant,

Zong Ping Chen. You continued that incident by

treating her in an unprofessional, threatening and

abusive manner, within the hearing of other

individuals, including her students.

2. On or about July 8, 1985, you directed Mr.

Changhe Xiao, who had injured himself while

doing maintenance work at your house, to’

identify himself as Mr. Peng Zhou in Middlesex

Hospital in order to have Mr Xiao covered by

Mr. Peng Zhou’s medical insurance.

a You encouraged and permitted

individuals working under your direction and

supervision to submit false time reports and to

take inappropriate charges against certain

University accounts. Specifically:

a. In or about August 1985, Ms.

Abbie Lieber, a secretary who works solely under

your supervision submitted a time report form,

urportedly to compensate Mr. Hetian Gao and

r. Changhe Xiao for extra computer (and/or

library) work supposedly performed by them, but

you told them that the payment was actually to _

provide them with money to purchase health

benefits from the Chinese consulate. Both.

Messrs. Hetian Gao and Changhe Xiao.

thereafter received $100.00 each, charged -

against your NSF grant, despite the fact that you

knew that they had not performed any extra work

for the money. (Note the previous promise to

provide health benefits recited in item 1.c. above.)

b. Ms. Marilyn Brownawell, who

works directly under your supervision, submitted

time report forms for the week ending August 17,

1984. She reported and was paid for 40 hours of

work for that period, charged against the

Chemistry Department’s mass spectrometer

42a

account, even though you knew that she did not

perform any work related to the mass

spectrometer Or indeed any compensable work

for Rutgers of any kind during that period.

4. You violated professional and academic

standards and exploited foreign visitors to the

University by bringing to the University as post-

doctoral fellows-Chinese scholars who you knew

did not have appropriate credentials and by

charging the stipends of such individuals, who did

not possess doctoral degrees, to your NSF grant

as post-doctoral fellows. Subsequently you

supported these individuals for admission to the

graduate program in Chemistry, a fact which

clearly established that they did not have the -

credentials to be post-doctoral fellows.

> During Fall 1985, you submitted an

application for admission to the graduate

program, including letters of reference, on behalt

of Mr Peng Zhou, one of the individuals referred

to in #4 above. One of the letters of reference

submitted by you purportedly was written and

signed by Liu Guozhi In fact, that letter was not

prepared by Liu Guozhi, and you had knowledge

of that fact and did not make it known when you

submitted the letter.

6. On December 16, 1985, Professor Robert

Boikess, Chair of your department, ee

instructed you not to permit Mr. Peng hou, Mr.

Con-Yuan Guo, or any other graduate student

except those already associated with your

research group, to work in your laboratory,

pending __ investigation of allegations of

exploitation and harassment lodged against you

by—visiting Chinese scholars. Despite these

specific instructions, you subsequently permitted

on-Yuan Guo, Zhen-min He, and Peng Zhou to

perform work in your laboratory."

43a

President Bloustein advised Professor San

Filippo that he was entitled to a hearing and would

receive a hearing upon request. If there was no request

for a hearing, however, President Bloustein would

recommend to the Board of Governors that Professor

San Filippo be dismissed from the University. A hearing

was requested.

The evidentiary phase of the hearing commenced

on March 30, 1987 before a panel of five of Professor

San Filippo’s academic peers who were members of the

Rutgers University Senate - Noel Da Costa, Mary

Fetzee, Richard Hixson, David Wilder, and Ted H.

Szatrowski, who served as Chair. The evidentiary phase

alone consumed 250 hours over 46 days - only 16 of

which were used by the University before it rested its

case - and generated 5,800 pages of testimony from 33

witnesses and more than 400 exhibits. The Senate

Panel, in a 44 page report issued on December 21, 1987,

found that all or parts of Charges 1(a), 1(c), 1(d), 1(e), 2,

3(b), 4, 5 and 6, as set forth in President Bloustein’s

letter of October 1, 1986 were "true". (Exh. 2 to

Defendants’ Answer to First Amended Comp. at 42).

The panel concluded that Prefessor San Filippo

violated the basic ethical tenets of our

profession, including those standards of

pe ey ethics set forth in University

egulation 3.91 and that, in doing so,

Professor San Filippo failed in his

responsibilities to the University. The

Panel concludes that the ’matters charged

and proved’ meet the standards for

dismissal set forth in University

Regulations 3.93, 3.94, 3.97, and 3.99 as

evidenced by his exploitation of_ and

threatening and abusive behavior towards

individuals who worked under him in a

rofessional capacity and his lack of

integrity in professional dealings. Id.

44a

Based on findings of exploitation, threats, abuse, and

"serious lack of integrity", the panel, while conceding

Professor San Filippo’s “excellent record", unanimously

recommended dismissal._Id. at 43.

After reviewing the sufficiency of the evidence as

to each charge and hearing oral argument, the Board of -

Governors, in a 60 page opinion issued on May: 13, 1988

affirmed - one member dissenting - the recommendation

of the Senate Panel and directed Professor San Filippo’s

immediate dismissal. (Exh. B to First Amended

Comp.). é

The Board of Governors dismissed Professor San

Filippo on the ground that the charges which it sustained

evidenced a failure to maintain standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching, a basis for dismissal

under Regulations 3.93, 3.94, 3.97, and 3.99. Those -

‘classes of behavior which define the standards of "sound

scholarship and competent teaching’, it believed, are set

forth in Regulation 3.91, which adopted the Statement

on Professional Ethics itself adopted by the national

American Association of University Professors

("AAUP"). The Board set forth those portions of

Regulation 3.91 it believed provided the relevant

definition: -

3.91. Since the very nature of a

university and its value to society depend

upon the free pursuit and dissemination of

knowledge and free artistic expression,

every member of the faculty of this

University is expected, in the classroom

and studio, in research and professional

publication, freely to discuss subjects with

2 The dissenting member found "clearly sufficient

evidence" to sustain the charges but believed the

sanction of dismissal was too severe. Id. at 63.

- 45a

which he is competent to deal, to pursue

inquiry therein, and to present and

endeavor to maintain his opinion and

conclusions relevant thereto. In

expressing those ideas which seem to him

justified by the facts, he is expected to

maintain standards of sound scholarship

and competent teaching. He shall conduct

himself in accordance with the standards

of professional ethics set forth in

aragraph I to’ V, inclusive, of the

Sratement on Professional Ethics adopted

by the American Association of University

Professors at its annual meeting, April

1966.

Statement on Professional Ethics

* * *

Il. As a_ teacher, the professor

encourages the free pursuit of learning in

his students. He holds before them the

best scholarly standards of his discipline.

He demonstrates respect for the student ‘

as an individual, and adheres to his proper

role_as intellectual guide and counselor.

He_makes_ every reasonable effort to

foster_hones academic conduct and _ to

assure_that_his evaluation of students

reflects their true merit. He respects the

confidential nature of the relationship

between professor and student. He avoids

any exploitation of students for his private

advantage and ‘acknowledges significant

assistance from them. He protects their

academic freedom.

46a

(Emphasis in Board of Governors’ Opinion, at

51-52).

Those charges which, in the Board of Governors’

view, were the most serious, i.e. 1(a), 1(d) and 1(e),

which concerned Professor San Filippo’s order that two

Chinese scholars do gardening and cleaning at his home

and his threatening and abusive treatment of these two

scholars, plus a third, "directly fall under the prohibition

of Paragraph II of tho national AAUP’s Statement on

Professional Ethics", Id. at 52, set forth above. “The

behavior stated in these sustained charges

demonstrate[s]", the Board concluded, ‘clear

‘exploitation of students for his private advantage’ and

lack of proper ‘respect for the student as an individual’

and thereby meet the standards for a dismissible offense

under University regulations." Id. The other sustained

charges, in the Board’s view, also constitute a clear

"failure to maintain standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching" and, therefore, also meet the

standards for a dismissible offense even though the

conduct underlying those charges was "not specifically

enumerated" in the Statement on Professional Ethics.

Id. at 53. These charges "flow directly out of Professor

San Filippo’s activities as a scholar and teacher and

constitute serious ethical violations of his responsibilities

in these areas". Id. at 55.

~ On June 13, 1988, pursuant to 42 U.S.C. 1983,

Professor San Filippo instituted this action against the

University and the six members of the Board of

Governors who voted in favor of his dismissal alleging

various violations of his rights under the United States

Constitution, violations of his corresponding rights under

the New Jersey State Constitution, and breach of

contract.

More specifically, as set forth in what is by now is

Third Amended Complaint, Professor San Filippo

alleges: (1) violation of his due process rights on the

basis of vague and uncertain University dismissal

47a

standards which did not fairly warn him that the acts of

which he was accused violated University rules and

could serve as the basis for dismissal, 27; (2) violation

of his First Amendment rights and comparable

provisions of the New Jersey Constitution by virtue of

the commencement of dismissal proceedings and his

dismissal in retaliation for his filing of lawsuits,

grievances and complaints against the University and its

employees, 28; (3) violation of his equal protection

rights and comparable provisions of the New Jersey

Constitution in that he was selectively chosen as a target

for disciplinary action, 29; (4) violation of his

procedural due process rights resulting from the conduct

of the hearing and the negotiation for additional

compensation between one or more members of the

Senate Panel and the administration while the hearing

was ongoing, 30; and (5) breach of the contract

established by Rutgers’ rules and regulations because his

dismissal was predicated upon offenses which could not

be the basis of dismissal under that contract, 31.

Defendants now move for summary judgment on

a host of grounds, to strike affidavits and certain exhibits

relied upon by Professor San Filippo in opposition to

that summary judgment motion, and, in the alternative,

to strike his claim for damages. Professor San Filippo

moves for summary judgment as to his claims that the

dismissal standards, as applied to him, were

unconstitutionally vague and that his procedural due

process rights were violated. Neither side of the case

asks me to decide the issue -- if issue it be -- of whether,

on the basis of the evidence presented, the charges

against Professor San Filippo were proven and whether,

based on the evidence as to proven charges, dismissal

was warranted.

For the reasons that follow, Professor San

Filippo’s motion for summary judgment on_ the

vagueness claim will be granted and defendants’ motion

for summary judgment on that claim will be denied.

Defendants’ motion to strike affidavits and certain

48a

exhibits wili be denied as well? and their motion to

strike Professor San Filippo’s claim for ae will be

granted in part and denied in part. iven this

disposition, the remaining motions need not and, thus,

will not be decided.

KS Affidavits submitted in conjunction with a motion

for summary judgment must contain admissible evidence

within the personal knowledge of the affiant to which he

or she is competent to testify. Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(e); Fowle

v. C&C Cola, 868 F.2d 59, 67 (3d Cir. 1989); Hlinka v.

Bethlehem Steel Corp., 863 F.2d 279, 282 (3d Cir. 1988).

Defendants have ferreted out from the hundreds of

paragraphs that comprise the three affidavits in question

and the volumes of exhibits attached thereto numerous

legal arguments and conclusions and statements not

based upon personal knowledge, as well as other

instances of purportedly inadmissible evidence. They do

not, however, separate out many statements which,

while not based on personal knowledge are, nonetheless,

helpful statements of opinion or belief that rest upon an

adequate factual foundation, see F.R. Evid. 701; and do

not distinguish many statements which are not hearsay

because they are not offered to show the truth of the

matter asserted or are otherwise admissible as

exceptions to the hearsay rule. Inadmissible evidence

can, in most instances, be excised with surgical

recision. See 10A Wright, Miller & Kane, Federal

Practice and Procedure, 2738, p.509 ("The court will

disregard only the inadmissible portions of a challenged

affidavit and consider the rest of it.") Mindful of the

admonition that evidence should not be excluded on

summary judgment on "hypertechnical grounds," Fowle,

supra, F.2d at 67, I will disregard those portions of

the affidavits that fail to comport with the standards of

Rule 56(e). Accordingly, defendants’ motion to strike

the affidavits and accompanying exhibits is denied.

49a

DISCUSSION

The Regulations Definin Dismissible Offenses Do Not

Cover and Cannot Be Interpreted To Cover the Conduct

For Which Professor San Filippo Was Dismissed.

Certainly, the ethical standards set forth in

Regulation 3.91 put Professor San Filippo on notice that

the conduct in which he engaged was impermissible.

Query: was he on notice that his unethical conduct

would, under the University’s dismissal standards, be

cause for dismissal? Stated somewhat differently, are the

ethical standards contained in Regulation 3.91, which

incorporates the AAUP Statement on Professional

Ethics, legally enforceable rules subsumed within and

otherwise defining Regulations 3.93-3.99a, the dismissal

standards? Defendants say "yes"; Professor San Filippo

says "no." The answer is clearly "no."

First, "Regulation 3.91 Concerning Professional

Ethics for Faculty Members," as 3.91, in effect since

January 1967, is entitled, never defines, nor was it

intended to define, what, if any, ethical violations are

dismissible offenses; indeed the word "dismiss" is

nowhere to be found. It sets forth, in plaintiffs phrase, a

“moral imperative" for the faculty, and nothing more.

Plaintiffs Memo. in Support of Motion for ummary

Judgment at 12. Second, when "University Regulations

-93-3.99a Concerning Procedures to be Followed in the

Dismissal Proceedings of a Tenured Faculty Member,"

as the dismissal regulations are entitled, were adopted in

September 1972, the ethical standards set forth in Reg.

3.91 and, indeed, even the word "ethics," were neither

incorporated nor referred to and, thus, violations of

4. Professor San Filippo concedes that the adoption

of 3.91 was not a "meaningless gesture" and assumes that

it can be enforced against a faculty member in ways

other than dismissal. Plaintiff's Memo. in Opposition to

Motion for Summary Judgment at 41, note 3.

S0a

those standards cannot be a basis for dismissal. Third,

an examination of the proposed, withdrawn, and

adopted amendments to the dismissal regulations over a

period of more than ten years confirms that violations of

ethical standards cannot, of themselves, be the basis of a

dismissal decision. None of this is seriously disputed.

Regulation 3.97, as Rutgers’ itself conceded in In

re: Villiers, outlines the only bases for dismissal and this,

too, is not indispute.5 3.97 states:

3.97. If the President of the University

finds reason to believe that a faculty

member should be dismissed when the

ground is that he has been convicted of a

crime involving moral turpitude, or is

incompetent, or incapacitated, or has

failed to maintain for himself standards of

sound scholarship) and competent

teaching, the President shall send the

ms Professor Villiers was charged with "gross neglect

of established University obligations appropriate to the

appointment," Reg 3.94. The charges were sustained

and he was found to have "repeatedly violated

University Regulation 3.91." Friedman Aff. Exh. 20 at 8.

Because, however, 3.97, which, Villiers held, defines the

dismissible offenses, did not give adequate notice that

the transgressions at issue -- violations 3.91 and 3.94 --

could lead to dismissal, the Board found that Villiers

could not be dismissed and imposed a lesser sanction.

Similarly, dismissal proceedings against Professor

Russell C. Leaf were dropped because of Villiers. Three

of the seven charges against Leaf charged violations only

of 3.91 (Id. Exh. 21,22). Aside from whether Villiers and

Leaf are legally binding, they provide an authoritative

interpretation of the Regulations which could thereafter

be relied upon. In a nutshell, unless one is charged with

a violation of 2.97, he or she cannot be dismissed.

Sla

faculty member a notice stating in detail

‘the charges against him and informing him

that he is entitled to a hearing if he shall

ask for it within two weeks and that, in the

absence of a request for a hearing, he may

be dismissed from the faculty.

Indeed, Rutgers continues to maintain that 3.97 alone

sets forth the bases for dismissal, arguing, however, that

Reg. 3.91 "defines" standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching, one of the bases for dismissal set

forth in 3.97. (Defendants’ Br. in Support of motion for

Summary Judgment at 29).

And so while professor San Filippo was advised

by President Bloustein in the formal charging document

that he had "violated the basic ethical tenets of our

profession, including those standards of professional

ethics set forth in University Regulation 3.91," he was

also advised that the conduct at issue evidenced "a

failure to maintain standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching," an offense set forth in 3.97. (Exh.

1 to Defendants’ Answer to First Amended Complaint).

Because, Rutgers’ argues, the ethical standards of 3.91

"define" standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching, Professor San Filippo’s vagueness claim must

fail because the dismissal standard invoked here --

‘sound scholarship and competent teaching" -- is not

vague as applied to the "serious ethical violations"

committed by him, conduct which falls within the clear

proscription of the Statement on Professional Ethics.

See seresciyned Br in Support of Motion for Summary

udgment at 29).

The rub is this. Professor San Filippo’s

‘scholarship" and "teaching," as those terms are

commonly understood, were never -- and are not now --

at issue and, were they, the Board would not have had to

utilize, as it did, the ethical imperatives of 3.91 to

provide "definition" to those terms. Stated somewhat

differently, what is clear from the Board’s decision is that

lteensieencemeenele

52a ~-

Professor San Filippo committed ethical violations which

had absolutely nothing to do with "scholarship" and

"teaching" but because those violations were committed

by a scholar and a teacher, "standards of sound

scholarship and competent teaching" were supposedly

not maintained.

Parenthetically, what leads Rutgers to conclude

that 3.91 "defines" "sound scholarship and competent

teaching" and how any language in 3.91 relevant to a

definition of those terms possibly assists Rutgers is less

than clear. Certainly, the terms "sound scholarship and

competent teaching" in one sentence are not given

definition by the mere exhortation in another sentence,

with no apparent connection between the two, to

conduct oneself in accordance with the standards of

professional ethics. Certainly, too, there is nothing at

any point in 3.91 in connection with anything akin to

scholarship and teaching competence language that

concerns other than the teacher’s obligation to his or her

students in the academic setting -- as the very first

sentence of 3.91 puts it, "in the classroom and studio"

not, I suggest, in the garden or during indoor or outdoor

cleaning. Stated somewhat differently, even if 3.91

defined "sound schoalrship and competent teaching" in

the academic setting, which it did not, nothing in 3.91

even hinted that it had anything to do with those terms

in an extra-curricular setting even assuming that an

extra-curricular setting vis-a-vis those terms can be

imagined, which it cannot.

Be that as it may, it bears repetition that ethical

violations -- wherever they occurred -- were the basis of

the dismissal at issue here and ethical violations only,

although the Board was careful to invoke the "sound

scholarship" "competent teaching" language, albeit

without much enthusiasm. Two examples will suffice.

"The serious lack of ethics in the employer-employee

relationship found [in charges 1(c) and 2] constitutes

adequate ground for finding a lack of maintenance of

53a

‘standards of ‘sound scholarship and competent

teaching," id. at 56; charge 4 " concerns the

responsibility of a teacher-scholar to act ethically ... and

likewise can be considered a failure to maintain

‘standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching.” Id. at 56-57.

With ethical violations playing such an important

part in the dismissal decision and with any failure to

maintain ‘standards of sound scholarship and

competent teaching" -- as those terms are commonly

understood -- seemingly irrelevant, an examination of

what, if any, part ethical violations can play in a dismissal

decision is important. In early 1980, the Board

requested that the administration review the University

regulations and statements on the ethical obligations of

faculty and, if warranted, make recommendation, and a

select committee of faculty and administrators was

established (Friedman Aff., Exh. 4). At the same time,

the administration was considering a revision of 3.91

“with particular emphasis on ... dismissal processes." Id.

A paper entitled "Background notes: Faculty Ethics at

Rutgers," apparently prepared by the Office of the

Executive Vice President, was distributed on March 14,

1980 to the committee members. Id. at Exh. 5. It

described the AAUP Code contained in 3.91 as more

comprehensive than other institution - specific codes, yet

Stating only "broad ethical principles; it does not in the

manner of a legislative code, spell out in concrete detail

the specific behaviors which are prescribed or

proscribed by those principles." Id. at 2,3. The final

report of the committee was submitted to President

Bloustein on January 20, 1981 and, with reference to

ethical concerns, said little beyond what the

“Background Notes" had said and Suggested little in the

way of change although noting, somewhat curiously in

my view, that dismissal was then available as a sanction

for ethical violations. Id. Exh. 6 at 7.

Meanwhile, an Advisory Committee on Facult

Dismissal Procedures was operating and, on July 15,

S4da

1981, its report was forwarded to President Bloustein

and the President of the Rutgers Council of the AAUP.

Id. Exh. 7. That report recommended, as relevant here,

that the sanction of dismissal be available only tor

academic incompetence or for a serious or persistent

breach of proiessorial standards. In determining

whether academic incompetence exists or professorial

standards have been breached, evidence of

(1) serious or persistent failure to

maintain standards) of sound © scholarship,

competent teaching and professional conduct, or

ot

(2) serious or persistent neglect of

University obligations which relate directly and

substantially to a faculty member’s fitness in his

professional capacity;

3) conduct involving moral turpitude

which relates directly and substantially to fitness

as a faculty member shall be relevant. Id. Exh.

7at 3.

Importantly, in a footnote the committee observed that

"standards of sound scholarship, competent teaching and

professional conduct" incorporates, but is not limited to,

among other things, the AAUP Statement on

Professional Ethics. Id.

Thus, for the first time in many years, violations

of ethical standards were explicitly proposed as a basis

for dismissal. One wonders why this proposal would

have been deemed necessary if, as Rutgers argues, those

ethical standards were already incorporated within the

terms "standards of sound scholarship and competent

teaching" which appear in 3.97 and were to be retained.

The proposal was never adopted.

Apparently, additional drafts of the report were

prepared by the administration, one draft proposing that

SSa

a violation of any University regulation would be a basis

for dismissal. Friedman Aff. at 15. Apparently, too,

the faculty vociferously opposed that draft with Dean

Peter Simmons of the Rutgers Law School describing it

as “patent foolishness." Id. and Exh. 8 at 2. On March

18, 1982, the draft was withdrawn for revision in light of

the comments received. Id. Exh. 9.

Almost another year went by before the Final

Report of the President's Select Committee on Facu ty

Ethics was submitted to a closed session of the

Educational Planning and Policy Committee on January

26, 1983. Id. at Exh. 10. This report proposed a much

broader range of conduct to be disciplined, including the

discipline of dismissal. Once again, a violation of the

Statement on Professional Ethics (now contained in

proposed Reg. 3.72) was proposed as a basis for

dismissal. The report also proposed that the failure to

abide by University rules, regulations, policies, and

requests and insubordination be made bases for

dismissal. Id. at 7,8. Quoted in full, "cause" as defined in

III A of the proposal "shall include but not be limited to:

l. Failure to maintain Standards of

sound scholarship, competent

teaching or professional conduct as

defined in Regulations 3.7] and

3.72;

y Failure to abide by University

rules, regulations and policies:

a Neglect of University obligations or

oe appropriate to

his er appointment;

4. Failure to comply with

administration requests which are

appropriate to his/her appointment

and which are consistent. with

S6a

University rules, regulations, and

policies: or insubordination;

a)

Conduct exhibiting gross moral

turpitude or depravity and which

reflects upon fitness to serve as a

faculty member.

<4

Id. at 7.

All hell broke loose. 26 members of the

Department of Physics -- a majority -- and 37 members

of the Department of Psychology, for starters, submitted

resolutions to Provost Wheeler which stated, as

pertinent here:

We strongly oppose the following as being

far too broad and vague and, therefore,

potentially subject to abuse:

(a) Dismissal for "failure to maintain

professional conduct";

(b) Dismissal for "conduct exhibiting

neglect of established University

obligations or responsibilities";

(c) Dismissal for "conduct exhibiting gross

moral turpitude..."

(d) Dismissal for "failure to abide by

university rules, regulations and policies or

insubordination.’

Id. Exh. 11.

Now having struck out twice in terms of obtaining

faculty acceptance of its proposed revisions of the

dismissal regulations, the administration tried again In

S7a

August, 1983, it determined that yet another committee -

- comprised of administrators, faculty, and AAUP and

Board of Governors representatives -- would be formed

to revise Regulations 3.70-3.99 and that committee was

established in late 1983. Id. Exh. 12. In April, 1984, a

draft of proposed revisions dealing with outside

employment was issued and in June, 1986. more than

two years later, the Board of Governors approved those

revisions. Id. 20, 21; Exh. 13, 14.

On September 16, 1986, the remaining proposed

revisions of regulations 3.70-3.99 were submitted to the

faculty for comment. Id. Exh. 15. The proposed

regulation dealing with dismissal (Reg. 3.74) defined

"cause" adequate for dismissal as

“persistent or recurrent failure to maintain

appropriate standards = of — sound

scholarship and competent teaching, or

gross neglect of established obligations

appropriate to the appointment or gross

disregard of Regulations and other written

policies of the University, or conviction of

a crime that involved moral turpitude and

that reflect adversely upon fitness to serve

as a faculty member." Id. at 2.

On February 18, 1987, the proposed revisions were

submitted to President Bloustein for approvai by the

Board of Governors. As of this date more than three

years later -- the proposed revisions dealing with

termination for cause, 3.70-3.74, and the dismissal

regulations, 3.90-3.98, have not been approved.

The foregoing exegesis make certain things

crystal clear. First, as noted earlier, Regulation 3.9] --

which includes the Statement on Professional Ethics --

does not mention dismissal or anything to do with

dismissal and the dismissal regulations do not mention

ethics or anything to do with ethics. A violation of 3.91 is

simply not a dismissible offense and. were it otherwise,

58a

there would have been no need in 1967 to specifically

incorporate as a ground for dismissal under Regulation

3.97 conviction of a crime involving moral turpitude, a

ground, I note, which replaced "conduct ... reprehensible

and detrimental to the University," (Second McNatt Aff.,

Exh. B, E), a not insignificant fact. Moreover, it makes

utterly no sense that while one must actually be

convicted of a crime involving moral turpitude before he

or she can be dismissed, all of the generalized ethical

imperatives set forth in 3.91 but not even alluded to in

3.97 would, nonetheless, similarly permit di missal. And,

of course, if violations of these ethical imperatives were

grounds for dismissal, whether on their own or as

"defining" one of the grounds for dismissal set forth in

3.97, why the extraordinary efforts over more than ten

years to put in what was already there and why the sturm

und drang when those efforts were made?

I return to where I began. Professor San Filippo

argues that if the dismissal regulations and, in particular,

the "sound scholarship and competent teaching"

standards are expanded, by virtue of being defined by

3.91, to cover the charged conduct here, those

regulations are unconstitutionally vague because they

did not give him fair and adequate notice that that

conduct could lead to dismissal.’ As the Supreme Court

6. To the extent that plaintiff seems to suggest that

as to certain of the charges the Board of Governors

found that he violated University rules and regulations

and was insubordinate, the same reasoning applies.

Neither violation of rules and regulations or

insubordination are currently bases for dismissal, and

proposals to that effect were vigorously opposed by the

faculty. Indeed, the proposed revisions which have been

pending for more than three years make only "gross

disregard" of regulations a dismissible offense and do

not even mention insubordination.

7. If 3.91 is not subsumed within or does not

otherwise define "sound scholarship and competent

S9a

observed, albeit in the context of a criminal statute,®

‘there can be no doubt that a deprivation of the right of

fair warning can result not Only from vague Statutory

language but also from an unforeseeable and retroactive

expansion of narrow and precise statutory language.

Bouie v. City of Columbia, 378 U.S. 347, 352 (1964).

The argument here is that reasonably precise language --

“sound scholarship and competent teaching" -- has been

expanded by virtue of the unforeseeable and retroactive

gloss which Rutgers has placed on it by attempting to

slip in 3.91.

Certainly, the history of the dismissal regulations

and, aside from a conviction of a crime involving moral

turpitude, the aborted efforts to make ethical violations

the basis for a dismissa] decision, indicate, at least to me,

that it was "unforeseeable" that Rutgers would use

ethical violations, albeit segued into the "sound

Scholarship and competent teaching language," to

dismiss San Filippo and, thus, that he was deprived of his

right of fair warning.

Rutgers, however, points me to Korf v. Ball State

University, 726 F.2d 1222 (7th Cir 1984), in which the

Statement on Professional Ethics was found to have

adequately notified Korf that what he desc

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — San Filippo v. Bongiovanni · 506 U.S. 908 | Frix