Petition for Writ of Certiorari — O'Neill Group v. Continental Airlines Corp., 113 S. Ct. 87 (1992) (No. 91-2014)

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

soprene Court, U.S,

: ,

91-2814 FILED

JUN 12 1999

In The Supreme Court Of The United Séatgs o- ;,,; CLERK

OcrToBerR TERM, 1991

O’NeiLt Group, et al., Petitioners

V.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES Corp., Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FIFTH CIRCUIT

* MARTY HARPER

RANDOLPH J. HAINES

ALLEN CLARKE

JANET NAPOLITANO

LEWIS AND ROCA

40 North Central Ave.

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

(602) 262-5311

*Counsel of Record for Petitioners

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

Under Chapter 11 of the Bankruptcy Code, when an employer

who is a debtor in possession rejects its collective bargaining

agreements with its employees, the employees are entitled to con-

tract rejection damages. In this circumstance:

1. Must the employees forego their right to strike in order to

preserve their entitlement to contract rejection damages?

2. Should contract rejection damages be limited by the

hypothetical period the employer would have stayed in business if

it had not rejected its collective bargaining agreements, even if

the employer in fact stayed in business and even if rejection

damages for other types of creditors are not so limited?

-ij-

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners in this Court, appellants in the Fifth Circuit Court

of Appeals, are several hundred past or present pilots and flight

attendants of Continental Airlines, Inc. (“Continental”). They

are denominated as “petitioners” or “the O’Neill Group” in this

petition. Petitioners filed an Application to Extend Time to File

a Petition for Writ of Certiorari on January 8, 1991, and the Court

granted the application on January 9, 1991 (No. A-528). Annex A

to that Application lists all of the petitioners.

RULE 29.1 STATEMENT

_ This petition is not filed by or on behalf of any corporation.

-iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CUTE BI BF PRRNIEIES © BED wrescosensinsncmencnecesnernsenteneatinnnnomaneetininstineii i

Lata SCI ICRI vihitniichictnsitcitiomeriantnsilietnninscieancbiociettovenatatibnnnnstintines ii

EAE Siu 8 eee AUNT ciinicnnieticnnntsntiritciniedsennensinieetintinmnnanininatinten li

a I FE Oe Ne i ititctennncnssicatienniiniciviincsicimniemaintigi vi

CFEC TN a RENIN aisdictlinsichshaieibnsttinabtnivitiniinidecbeditasintatadiaiuewiietie 1

FOF TT ticitntanntinsininunnnicinnnisiiinnitcieeiitinaisinhibisilindhaninnata 1

SF PGE OF BD Bee Oe i nrachtecieleintinnetictitaheninesisdaiahetitiiinabmsesaen 2

SD RPE E OR TE CAGE in isectcctecccncinsnesicensisithinnianttncenevensons 2

A. The ALPA and UFA Labor Contracts .....0..........:cse000 3

B. Continental’s 1983 Bankruptcy, the Rejection

of the ALPA and UFA Contracts, and the

Th 5 Ee ae Eee 3

CC, Tae AA Cn UTA Bama iiss cesiccessisccnesnccennscnnsotoonsinne 4

ED IE II sais iai ener cnesietskcnntrnanctsanmnnee >

1. The bankruptcy court’s dismissal of the

pilots’ and flight attendants’ contract

rejection claims on summary judgment.................. 5

2. The O’Neill Group intervention and

IE sitiintiteaccicreennictinitniimmnibiniiitbintininenncmnarenees 6

-iv-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont'd)

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ......cccccsessseseseeseneeees 8

I.

Il.

The Fifth Circuit Opinion Creates An Unnecessary

Conflict Between The Right To Strike Guaranteed

Under The Railway Labor Act And The Right To

Contract Rejection Damages Guaranteed Under

The Bakreptey C60 ccenitecressssssinitaneninstninstitinnarsnsenessevescorecens 8

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Creates a New

Class of Indentured Servant — The § 502(g)

Employee-Creditor senncnenninnnsitpnuliiaablincindenicae 10

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Encourages the

Massive Defeat of Employees’ Rights Under

the Bankruptcy and Labor Laws 12

C. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision, by Seriously

Misinterpreting the Applicable Law, Cuts Off

Petitioners’ Only Available Remedy for

C§ormntlenCital O GRNROGIN ci ccensiincesssittinsitanlnaieniintinnwetanassnsenes 13

The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Limiting Contract

Rejection Damages Misapplies Fundamental

Principles Of Law On Important Matters Going To

The Heart Of The Bankruptcy System.................cccecceseeeseees 14

A. Limiting Damages Based on Speculation of a

Shutdown Contravenes Basic Bankruptcy Law......... 16

1. The decision violates Bankruptcy Code

requirements for treating all creditors

GUI acecesssnmnnrvensinnnnanennsniinnenienailaliididlilasininitasnnniian 16

iceiaiasneiiaeiabiaaiaaeae maaan ie

-V-

TABLE OF CONTENTS (cont'd)

Page

2. The ruling contradicts this Court’s

decision in NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco ...........++-. 17

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Establishes a

Measure of Contract Rejection Damages

Under § 502 That Is At Odds With Basic

Contract Law Princiqtles.........ctttecovcsesesssnssssressesesesscsvenees 19

CaN sticnsietielyieciietiabaihcniatieisnasribieeehicecacinaniantticii 22

-vi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Case

Air Line Pilots Ass’n v. O’Neill,

111 S. Ct. 1127 (1991)

In re Bildisco,

682 F.2d 72 (3d Cir. 1982), aff'd,

pe ee Se See ea

Briggs Transport Co. v. Int’l Brotherhood of Teamsters,

739 F.2d 341 (8th Cir.), cert. denied,

469 U.S. 917 (1984) Alibi

Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville

Terminal Co.,

SO UT I cece

Center Chemical Co. v. Avril, Inc.,

392 F.2d 289 (Sth Cir, 1968) ..csssscssscsssssssssseesseesesees

In re Continental Airlines Corp.,

57 B.R. 845 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1985)

Film Projects, Inc’,

231 N.L.R.B. No. 146 (1977)

Florida East Coast Railway Co. v. Brotherhood of

Locomotive Engineers, 362 F.2d 482

(Sth Cir. 1966)

Globemaster, Inc. v. Magic American Chemical Corp.,

386 F.2d 420 (6th Cir. 1967)

Page

11

14

14

14

20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Case

Haveg Corp. v. Guyer,

226 A.24 231 (Del. 1967) q.ccccerccvscsscccssccrscescsecssesesoconees

In re Hoe & Co., Inc.,

508 F.2d 1126 (2d Cir. 1974) ..esssscssssssessssssesessssessene

Int'l Brotherhood of Electrical Workers v. A-1

Electric Service,

535 F.2d 1 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

429 U.S. 832 (1976) i ianiiicidintinninnicinnnniconesis

Int’! Brotherhood of Teamsters v. IML Freight, Inc.,

789 F.2d 1460 (10th Cir. 1986) ..ccccccsossossessesenssseessee

In re Landmark Hotel & Casino, Inc.,

S72 E2d SS7 (Sth Cis. 1989) «.....ccccrcccorececsssrsecceversesoecs

Local 461 v. Singer Co.,

540 F. Supp. 442 (D.N.J. 1982) -scceossceccesssssssesesesssees

Locke v. United States,

Se he Sen

Matter of Brada Miller Freight System, Inc.,

702 F.2d 890 (11th Cir, 1983) ..cccsscssccsscssseesesseeeesnees

Matter of Walway Co.,

69 B.R. 967 (Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1987)...

In re Mile Hi Metal System, Inc.,

899 F.2d S87 (10th Cir. 1990) ..........coccceseseseseseescenesense

Page

10

14

11

12

12

-Viii-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Case

Mungin v. Florida East Coast Railway,

416 F.2d 1169 (Sth Cir, 1969) ..escoscsssssosssecssssseseeseeee

NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco,

TOE i iiiicettin ciliate

NLRB v. Haberman Constr. Co.,

618 F.2d 288 (Sth Cir. 1980), aff'd in relevant

part en banc, 641 F.2d 351 (Sth Cir. 1981)...

In re Royal Composing Room,

848 F.2d 345 (2d Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

489 U.S. 1078 (1989)

In re Salt Creek Freightways,

47 B.R. 835 (Bankr. D. Wyo. 1985) ......cssssss0e

Texas Industries v. Brown,

218 F.2d 510 (Sth Cir. 1955) ..rsccccsssssssssceseeeeeen

In re Texas Sheet Metals, Inc.,

90 B.R. 260 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1988)..............+.

Tn-State Generation & Transmission Ass'n v.

Shoshone River Power, Inc., 874 F.2d 1346

ETE ch TT eT ee

Truck Drivers Local 807 v. Bohack Corp.,

541 F.2d 312 (2d Cir. 1976) ..sssssssocscssssscnsceceeesenseeeee :

14

12

11

20

12

20

12

-ix-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Case Page

In re U.S. Truck Co.,

89 B.R. 618 (E.D. Mich. 1988)..........-s-sessseeeenenees 12, 18, 20, 21

In re U.S. Truck Co.,

74 B.R. 515 (Bankr. E.D. Mich. | Tn 20

Union Bank v. Wolas,

112 S. Ct. 527 (1991) ..nesecceceseeeesensersnesennenencenenensenansnnnes 13

United States v. Ron Pair Enterprises, Inc.,

489 U.S. 235 (1989) ......eccececessssesrenescsnsneenenenenneneneneensnes 13

Universal Power System v. Godfather’s Pizza,

818 F.2d 667 (Sth Cir. 1987) .....-.....-s-rereeeseeneeseneenenees 20

Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp. v. United Steelworkers,

791 F.2d 1074 (3d Cir. 1986).........--cesessecrsneseeneeeneeneees 9,12

Workman v. Harmison,

282 F.2d 693 (10th Cir. 1960) .........c-sececeneneeeererenenennes 10

Young v. Higbee Co.,

324 U.S. 204 (1945) ......scccereseensseersnssersenssnsnsneeenenennenens 17

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Rules, Regulations and Statutes Page

United States Code:

11 U.S.C. § 57d [former] .................. 18

11 U.S.C. § 101(5)(A) ........ 18

11 U.S.C. $ 108(c)(2) 2

De Reiter nnenennnnenninnnmcneninennids 2, 3, 9, 19

OD ies BE eitintinrecterennesscemnerenennenasioniiiia 5, 9, 14, 15

0D Rte Piccenenttinrenccrnsernetnintctnnnntntsemie 15

OD al leiiietinnsisinerneiniiiininiaianmoninmen 2, 19

11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(1) 19

RS ee see 6

11 U.S.C. $ 5S02()(7)(A) (ii) ....-..cceseceseeceeseseecees 13

11 U.S.C. § 502(c) 6, 18

5S Cr ieiensscnnnstpthdnnicohetbbicnainin 5, 10, 15

Be Re esenisiheresieiecinhenieesiseitiiraniiipenitaniai 4

rE Te ee ee ee 2

FREE Ta 3) | Sena 2

SD Ts Ge SF C0 BOD. cecivittittcitnmniicentntiittatinanslai 10

I di innenrciscccnnnnanienniisnnentiicinnictaniiniiinten 2

A Rae Wittmann 2

FD a BOO eeretrnecresinmnncsttitiliiiahilil 2

BBR FB RE EN, ecictinsinctitsenns 4

-xi-

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES (cont'd)

Other Authorities

3 CoLLieER On Bankruptcy @ 502.03

(15th ed. 1992)......s.ccvcccserecsnecressnscensenecsnssseseneeseees

3 CoLureR ON Bankruptcy 9 502.07

(15th Od. 1992).........0vcrvcrvecrecssernssessnecsecsesenseseeseese

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong.,

a

New Generation Research, Inc., THE 1991

BANKRUPTCY YEARBOOK & ALMANAC

(Ast Cd. 1991) .........csccrcceseseresessnsessssesressesnsnsseseeees

S. Rep. No. 989, 95th Cong., 1st Sess. 65 (1978) ...

W. Holloway & M. Leech, Employment

Termination Rights and Remedies (1985).........

Page

18

15

15

15

ate

The O'Neill Group hereby petitions for a writ of certiorari to

review the decision and judgment of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Fifth Circuit in the case known there as No. 89-

2347, In re Continental Airlines Corp.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion and judgment of the United States Court of Ap-

peals for the Fifth Circuit is reported at 901 F.2d 1259 (Sth Cir.

1990) (hereafter cited as Appendix A). The Court of Appeals is-

sued an unreported order denying timely petitions for rehearing

and suggestions for rehearing en banc (Appendix G). The March

13, 1989 order of the United States District Court for the

Southern District of Texas in this case is reproduced in Appendix

E. The opinion and judgment of the United States Bankruptcy

Court for the Southern District of Texas (Appendix D) is reported

at 64 B.R. 865 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1986).

JURISDICTION

This case concerns Continental's conduct in connection with its

first bankruptcy petition, which was filed in the United States

Bankruptcy Court for the Southern District of Texas, No. 83-

04019-H2-5, on September 24, 1983. The opinion and judgment

of the Fifth Circuit were entered on May 25, 1990. During the

period otherwise allowed to petitioners to petition for a writ of

certiorari, Continental filed a second bankruptcy petition in the

United States Bankruptcy Court for the District of Delaware, No.

90-932. To permit petitioners to confirm that this second -

bankruptcy petition stayed the present case pursuant to the auto-

matic stay provision of the Bankruptcy Code, this Court, on

January 9, 1991, extended the time for filing a petition for a writ

of certiorari to March 28, 1991, No. A-528. On March 21, 1991,

-2.

the Fifth Circuit confirmed that Continental’s second bankruptcy

stayed the appellate proceedings arising from the first bankruptcy

(Appendix H). Accordingly, the time for petitioning has been

automatically extended pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 108(c)(2).

Within the extended time this Court otherwise allowed to peti-

tion for a writ of certiorari, petitioners moved the Bankruptcy

Court for the District of Delaware to lift the automatic stay (Ap-

pendix I). The Bankruptcy Court granted this motion for the

limited purpose of permitting this petition for a writ of certiorari

on May 12, 1992 (Appendix J). Therefore, this petition is filed

within the time period specified by 11 U.S.C. § 108(c)(2), and this

Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTES INVOLVED

The relevant provisions of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C.

§§ 365 and 502, and the Railway Labor Act (“RLA’), 45 U.S.C.

§§ 152, 155, and 156, are set forth in full in Appendix K.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case involves claims by hundreds of former Continental

pilots and flight attendants for contract rejection damages pur-

suant to §§ 365 and 502 of the Bankruptcy Code. The claims arise

from Continental’s September 24, 1983, bankruptcy in which it

rejected its pre-existing collective bargaining agreements and im-

posed in their place “emergency work rules” that reduced wages

and benefits by more than half. Rather than accepting

Continental’s unilateral and drastic changes in their wages and

working conditions, the pilots and flight attendants embarked on

a lawful strike. This petition asks this Court to consider (1)

whether exercising their lawful right to strike divested these

| .

>

7

3.

employees of their statutory claim for damages, and (2) whether

contract rejection damages should be limited by a hypothetical

shutdown date.

A. The ALPA and UFA Labor Contracts.

For many years prior to September 24, 1983, Continental

employed pilots and flight attendants under terms and conditions

contained in labor contracts which it negotiated with the Air Line

Pilots Association (“ALPA”’) and with the Union of Flight Atten-

dants (“UFA”). The ALPA contract in force at the time of

Continental’s 1983 bankruptcy was dated August 18, 1982. In it,

the pilots gave Continental about $100 million in wage and

benefit concessions from their prior contract based on

Continental’s representation that it needed the concessions to

continue its operations.

B. Continental’s 1983 Bankruptcy, the Rejection of the

ALPA and UFA Contracts, and the Emergency Work

Rules.

On September 24, 1983, Continental ceased domestic flight

operations and filed a bankruptcy petition under Chapter 11. On

September 27, 1983, Continental filed a motion in bankruptcy

court to reject its labor contracts with ALPA and UFA pursuant

to 11 U.S.C. § 365. On that same day, just thirteen months after

the pilots had given the company $100 million in wage and benefit

concessions, Continental reopened its domestic flight operations

under drastically changed terms and conditions known as “Emer-

gency Work Rules.” The Emergency Work Rules cut employee

-4.

wages by more than half and increased their work hours.’ Con-

tinental did not negotiate with ALPA or the UFA over the Emer-

gency Work Rules, but required pilots and flight attendants to

work under them as a condition of continued employment.

C. The ALPA and UFA Strikes.

In response to the Emergency Work Rules, ALPA and UFA

commenced lawful economic strikes on October 1, 1983. All of

the petitioners honored and participated in their respective

unions’ strikes.

The UFA strike continued until April 17, 1985. On that date,

the UFA made an unconditional offer to return to work on behalf

of its striking members without reaching a strike settlement

agreement. The ALPA strike continued until October 31, 1985,

when the bankruptcy court entered an “Order and Award” con-

taining the terms of a secret strike settlement reached between

Continental and ALPA and presented to the bankruptcy court for

entry as a court order.2 On November 17, 1985, the court

amended the Order and Award to reflect subsequent changes

' For example, Continental cut the average captain’s salary from $90,000 to

$43,00 per year, the average first officer’s salary from $64,000 to $31,510 per year,

and the average second officer’s salary from $45,000 to $26,510 per year. In an

opinion rendered in connection with a striking pilot’s application for dislocated

workers’ benefits under the Airline Deregulation Act of 1978, 49 U.S.C. §§ 1301

et seq., the Department of Labor concluded that these drastic changes constituted

a “constructive furlough or termination” of the affected employee.

> This Court already has reviewed the Continental strike and its settlement in

Air Line Pilots Ass'n v. O'Neill, 111 S. Ct. 1127 (1991). Subsequent to

Continental's first bankruptcy, and in part because of it, Congress amended the

Bankruptcy Code to require at least a minimum of bargaining before employers

could reject their labor contracts. See 11 U.S.C. § 1113. This amendment leaves

intact the employer’s ultimate right to reject its labor contracts and the statutory

damages remedy at issue here.

-5-

negotiated by Continental and ALPA. Continental has not to date

negotiated a new labor contract with either ALPA or the UFA.

D. The Present Litigation.

1. The bankruptcy court’s dismissal of the pilots’ and

flight attendants’ contract rejection claims on

summary judgment.

The bankruptcy court approved Continental’s rejection of the

ALPA and UFA contracts on June 19, 1984 and December 5,

1984, respectively. The bankruptcy court’s rejection orders stated

that the contracts were rejected effective September 24, 1983, the

date of the bankruptcy filing. ALPA, on behalf of its pilot mem-

bers, and the UFA, on behalf of its flight attendant members, filed

proofs of claim for contract rejection damages under 11 U.S.C.

§§ 365(g) and 502(g).

Continental next filed a motion for partial summary judgment

on April 30, 1985, asking the bankruptcy court to disallow the

contract rejection claims of pilots and flight attendants for the

time they were on strike. The bankruptcy court granted

Continental’s motion on September 10, 1985 for the following

reason:

Under well-established principles of federal labor law, strik-

ing employees are not entitled to back pay for the period they

were on strike, even if the strike is a response to an unlawful

unfair labor practice by the employer.

Because the unions had objected to the bankruptcy court’s juris-

diction under 28 U.S.C. § 157(d) to interpret and apply federal

labor law, the bankruptcy court alternatively estimated the value

rs

of such claims as zero under 11 U.S.C. § 502(c) on the same

grounds.

On September 20, 1985, Continental filed an additional motion

for summary judgment in the bankruptcy court seeking to disallow

the remaining pilot and flight attendant claims for contract rejec-

tion damages, including claims for time not on strike. On May 8,

1986, the court granted the motion as to the flight attendants and,

on June 26, 1986, granted the motion as to the pilots. The follow-

ing grounds were stated for both rulings:

[B]ut for the Court’s rejection of the collective bargaining

agreements at issue here, [Continental] would have gone out

of business and [the employees] could not have claimed lost

future wages as damages, because the agreements did not

guarantee future employment.

Because of the unions’ jurisdictional objections, the bankruptcy

court again alternatively estimated the claims at zero under 11

U.S.C. § 502(c). Finally, although unnecessary to its holding, the

court also ruled that any employee claims for contract rejection

damages would be cut off as of the amendable dates of their labor

contracts and that the damages weuld be limited to one year’s

compensation under 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(7).

2. The O’Neill Group intervention and appeals.

‘When the bankruptcy court dismissed the pilots’ remaining

contract rejection claims on June 26, 1986, it also held that proofs

of claim filed by ALPA and the UFA on behalf of their members

were improper, and permitted union members to intervene and

pursue their contract rejection damage claims as individuals. The

O’Neill Group previously intervened and filed a notice of appeal

xB

from the June 26, 1986 summary judgment ruling. By that time,

the UFA had appealed the bankruptcy court’s May 8, summary

judgment ruling against the flight attendants. Most of the flight

attendants in the O’Neill Group therefore intervened in the UFA

appeal.

The district court consolidated these appeals and scheduled

oral argument on the consolidated appeals (and several other

bankruptcy court appeals) for February 27, 1989. On that date,

the district court announced in open court, without oral argu-

ment, that it would affirm the bankruptcy court’s summary judg-

ment rulings, and entered an order to that effect on March 13,

1989.

The Fifth Circuit (Garwood, J. dissenting), upheld the

bankruptcy court’s ruling that contract rejection damages were

not available to the petitioners for the time they were on strike.

Analogizing to back pay cases under labor law, the court reasoned

that “[a]bsent constructive dismissal by the employer,” the

employees would not be entitled to back pay for the period of

time they were on strike (App. A at 13A). The Fifth Circuit never

determined whether there was a constructive dismissal by virtue

of Continental’s imposition of the emergency work rules, er-

roneously assuming that this question had been decided in a

separate bankruptcy proceeding. Judge Garwood dissented, and

pointed out that whether or not the employees were on strike,

they still should be entitled to recover the difference between

what they would have made under the rejected labor contracts

and what Continental actually paid. He wrote that to deny

employees all damages for the strike period “simply awards Con-

tinental a windfall” (App. A at 17A).

ltiesienineteneaiieemell

-8-

The Fifth Circuit also upheld the bankruptcy court’s ruling that

lost future wages were not recoverable where the debtor would

have gone out of business absent the contract rejection. On this

point, however, the Fifth Circuit remanded, holding that the

pilots and flight attendants were entitled to contract rejection

damages for the period Continental would have been able to con-

tinue operations under its labor contracts.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. The Fifth Circuit Opinion Creates An Unnecessary

Conflict Between The Right To Strike Guaranteed Under

The Railway Labor Act And The Right To Contract

Rejection Damages Guaranteed Under The Bankruptcy

Code.

We deal with a great national problem. Bankruptcy has become

an accepted business practice in modern America. In 1989 and

1990 alone, there were 38,348 Chapter 11 bankruptcy petitions

filed, involving such corporate giants as Federated Department

Stores and Southland Corporation. New Generation Research,

Inc., THE 1991 BANKRUPTCY YEARBOOK & ALMANAC 6, 32 (1st ed.

1991). The use of bankruptcy is especially common in the

transportation industry where Continental Airlines, Greyhound

Lines, Eastern Air Lines, and Braniff, to name but a few, have all

sought protection under Chapter 11. Jd. at 32-33.

> The Fifth Circuit also held that it was only harmless error when the

bankruptcy court judge accepted an offer of employment from the law firm

representing Continental shortly after approving an award of $700,000 in legal

fees to the firm.

—

- Aw

-9-

Under Section 365 of the Bankruptcy Code, employers in

bankruptcy are permitted to reject their collective bargaining

agreements and set new terms and conditions of employment. 11

U.S.C. § 365; NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513, 531

(1984). When so rejected, the agreement is deemed breached the

day before the Chapter 11 petition was filed, 11 U.S.C. § 365(g),

and the employees’ claims for damages are treated as unsecured

pre-petition claims. See NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. at

530 n.12. Numerous employers who have filed for bankruptcy

have used these provisions to finance their recoveries by cutting

labor costs. See, ¢.g., In re Mile Hi Metal Systems, 899 F.2d 887

(10th Cir. 1990); In re Landmark Hotel & Casino, Inc., 872 F.2d

857 (9th Cir. 1989); and Wheeling-Pittsburgh Steel Corp. v. United

Steelworkers, 791 F.2d 1074 (3d Cir. 1986).

The employees’ right to contract rejection damages is the quid

pro quo for the employer's ability in bankruptcy to reject its labor

contracts. The right to damages vests at the time the labor con-

tract is rejected. Nothing in the Bankruptcy Code states or even

suggests that the right to contract rejection damages is lost for any

period during which employees subsequently exercise their lawful

right to strike. Time and again, this Court has emphasized that the

right to strike “is integral to the [Railway Labor] Act.” Brother-

hood of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville Terminal Co., 394 U.S.

369, 385-86 (1969). By misinterpreting the Bankruptcy Code, the

Fifth Circuit punished these employees and held that they were

compelled to continue working at whatever wages Continental

chose to pay them and under any conditions that Continental

chose to impose if they wanted to keep their damages claims

under the Bankruptcy Code (App. A, pp. 13A-16A). On this im-

portant point, the Fifth Circuit has unnecessarily and unwisely

created a conflict between the right to contract rejection damages

_ and the right to strike. The result is a “windfall” for Continental

and Judge Garwood rightly dissented.

¢?

-10-

A. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Creates a New Class of

Indentured Servant — The § 502(g) Employee-Creditor.

Under § 502(g) of the Bankruptcy Code, an unsecured claim

for damages is the exclusive remedy available for a debtor’s

breach of a labor contract, replacing the labor law remedies other-

wise available outside of the bankruptcy. 11 U.S.C. § 502(g). In

NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513 (1984), this Court ob-

served:

claims arising after filing, such as result from the rejection of

an executory contract, must also be presented through the

normal administration process by which claims are estirnated

and classified. See 11 U.S.C. § 502(g); In re Hoe & Co., Inc.,

508 F.2d 1126, 1132 (2d Cir. 1974); Workman v. Harrison, 282

F.2d 693, 699 (10th Cir. 1960). Thus, suit cannot be brought

against the debtor in possession under the collective bargain-

ing agreement; recovery may be had only through ad-

ministration of the claim in bankruptcy.

465 US. at 530.

If upheld, the ruling below will permit employers to hold this

unsecured interest hostage, forcing employees to choose between

working at whatever wage the employer imposes or withdrawing

their services and losing their sole remedy for their employer's

* Under the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151 et seg., employees can

obtain an injunction requiring the employer to abide by its labor contract, back

pay for the time the employer did not follow the contract, and any other relief

necessary to place them in the same position they would have been in but for the

employer’s unlawful conduct. Mungin v. Florida East Coast Ry., 416 F.2d 1169

(Sth Cir. 1969).

ee

Ste

breach of the labor contract. There is no support in the

bankruptcy law for such an inequitable result.

First, the courts have uniformly held that rejection of an

employment contract may result in both rejection damages and a

strike. In Int’l Brotherhood of Teamsters v. IML Freight, Inc., 789

F.2d 1460 (10th Cir. 1986), for example, the Tenth Circuit

reversed the rejection of a collective bargaining agreement be-

cause, even though the employees were on strike, “both the

bankruptcy judge and the district court failed to recognize that

the rejections could generate burdensome claims against the es-

tate.” Id. at 1463. Thus, despite the strike, the court held that

“claims may be filed for all losses attributable to the non-perfor-

mance of the contracts, including payments due to all fringe

benefit plans, loss of seniority rights, and all other provisions of

the agreements.” Jd. The unavoidable conclusion from JML

Freight is that a strike does not alleviate the debtor’s liability for

rejection claims.

Second, the Code contains nothing that limits the ability of

employees to participate in lawful strikes, the most effective

economic weapon allowed by the labor laws. The result of the

Fifth Circuit’s decision is to allow debtors to use the bankruptcy

process to subvert employees’ labor law rights by effectively re-

quiring them to forfeit accrued rejection claims if they strike. This

is contrary to a substantial body of case law holding that the right

to strike remains intact despite a bankruptcy. See Briggs Transp.

5 See also In re Bildisco, 682 F.2d 72, 80 (3d Cir. 1982) (in balancing equities

to determine whether contract rejection should be allowed, bankruptcy court

must consider the likelihood of both a strike and large damage claims), aff'd, 465

U.S. 513 (1984); In re Salt Creek Freightways, 47 B.R. 835 (Bankr. D. Wyo. 1985)

(estimation of contract rejection damages required even though employees

struck after court-approved rejection).

-12-

Co. v. Int'l Brotherhood of Teamsters, 739 F.2d 341 (8th Cir.)

(bankruptcy court lacked jurisdiction to enjoin a strike or picket-

ing), cert. denied, 469 U.S. 917 (1984); Matter of Brada Miller

Freight Sys., Inc., 702 F.2d 890, 899 (11th Cir. 1983) (“the impact

of a potential strike on the debtor need alsc enter into the court’s

calculus”); Truck Drivers Local 807 v. Bohack Corp., 541 F.2d 312,

318 (2d Cir. 1976) (“By filing under Chapter 11 an employer does

not become clothed in immunity from union action.”).

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Encourages the Massive

Defeat of Employees’ Rights Under the Bankruptcy and

Labor Laws. .

The Fifth Circuit decision, which is based on a serious

misinterpretation of the Bankruptcy Code, deprives more than

450 Continental employees of their sole remedy for Continental's:

breach of its labor contracts. While the magnitude of the harm in

this case alone is sufficient to warrant certiorari review, it is clear

that the situation of the pilots and flight attendants is not unique.

The rejection of labor contracts by debtors seeking to pay workers

less or avoid fixed damage claims for layoffs is a familiar occur-

rence. See In re Royal Composing Room, 848 F.2d 345 (2d Cir.

1988), cert. denied, 489 U.S. 1078 (1989); Wheeling-Pittsburgh

Steel Corp. v. United Steelworkers, 791 F.2d 1074 (3d Cir. 1986); Jn

re Texas Sheet Metals, Inc., 90 B.R. 260 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1988);

In re U.S. Truck, 89 B.R. 618 (E.D. Mich. 1988); Matter of Walway

-Co., 69 B.R. 967 (Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1987). If allowed to stand,

this result will invite employers to continue to reject labor con-

tracts and replace them with extremely harsh terms so as to en-

courage a strike and avoid liability for rejection damages. See

App. A at 17A (Garwood, J. dissenting) (describing this aspect of

majority’s opinion as a “windfall” for debtor).

-13-

C. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision, by Seriously

Misinterpreting the Applicable Law, Cuts Off

Petitioners’ Only Available Remedy for Continental’s

Breach.

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion means that a pilot like Joseph O’-

Neill who, after twenty years with the airline, had his contract

unilaterally rejected and his salary cut in half, is limited to contract

rejection damages amounting to seven days’ pay. The Fifth

Circuit’s holding is unsupported by bankruptcy law. Indeed, the

Code expressly contemplates that contract rejection damages are

recoverable even though “the employer directed the employee to

terminate, or such employee terminated, performance under such

contract.” 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(7)(A)(ii). See Union Bank v. Wolas,

112 S. Ct. 527 (1991) (where law is clear, a heavy burden exists to

show Congress intended otherwise), United States v. Ron Pair

Enterprises, Inc., 489 U.S. 235 (1989).

The Fifth Circuit’s reliance on unfair labor practice back pay

cases to support its opinion is misplaced. The damages at issue

here are not statutory damages flowing from an unfair labor prac-

tice, but rather those flowing from Continental's court-approved

breach of its labor contract. Thus, the proper principles to apply

are those of contract law, not the NLRB’s rulings regarding

statutory back pay. This basic point was correctly raised in Judge

Garwood’s dissent, App. A at 17A.°

© when the debtor is allowed by the court to breach a labor contract by paying

reduced wages and benefits, employees are under a duty to mitigate their

damages by seeking other employment or continuing to work for the reduced

wages and benefits. Even assuming that the employees who went on strike failed

to mitigate their damages, such failure does not eliminate Continental's

responsibility for its contract breach; at most, the failure of the pilots and flight

attendants to mitigate reduces their claims by the amount Continental actually

(continued )

-14-

Even if the back pay cases applied, however, Continental’s

changes were so severe and pervasive that they constituted con-

structive discharge and justified back pay. See NLRB v. Haberman

Constr. Co., 618 F-2d 288, 296 (Sth Cir. 1980) (unilateral change

contrary to collective bargaining agreement is constructive dis-

charge), aff'd in relevant part en banc, 641 F.2d 351, 358-60 (Sth

Cir. 1981).’? The damages remedy for constructive discharge is lost

wages and benefits for the period of a strike, plus other equitable

relief not available here because of Continental's bankruptcy.®

Il. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision ' imiting Contract Rejection

Damages Misapplies Fundamental Principles Of Law On

Important Matters Going To The Heart Of The

Bankruptcy System.

When a debtor (read “employer”) rejects an executory con-

tract, the rejection is treated as a pre-petition breach. 11 U.S.C.

: (continued)

paid its working pilots. As stated by Judge Garwood, “there is no justification for

denying them recovery for the difference between the revised work rule pay rates

(and benefits) and those of the labor contracts; to do so simply awards

Continental a windfall.” App. A at 17A.

” The Panel avoided treating Continental’s institution of its “Emergency

Work Rules” as a constructive discharge by misconstruing Jn re Continental

Airlines Corp., 57 B.R. 845 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1985). The issue in that decision,

however, was whether Continental’s rejection was a “wrongful discharge” under

State law, not whether it was a “constructive” discharge. The court concluded that

the state law claim was preempted by the rejection remedy under the Code, and

reserved the issue for decision in connection with the pilots’ and flight attendants’

pending contract rejection claims. The Department of Labor subsequently held

that Conunental’s actions in this matter constituted a “constructive furlough or

termination.”

® See Florida East Coast Ry. Co. v. Brotherhood of Locomotive Engineers , 362

F.2d 482 (Sth Cir. 1966); Int'l Brotherhood of Elec. Workers v. A-1 Elec. Service,

535 F.2d 1 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 429 U.S. 832 (1976); Film Projects, Inc., 231

N.L.R.B. No. 146 (1977).

-15-

§§ 365(g), 365(g)(1). To compensate for the rejection, the

creditors (read “employee”) receives an unsecured claim against

the estate for the contract damages flowing from the breach. 11

U.S.C. § 502(g); 3 Cotter On Bankruptcy 4 502.07 (15th ed.

1992). In short, the Bankruptcy Code:

gives entities injured by the rejection of an executory con-

tract... a pre-petition claim for any resulting damages, and

requires that the injured entity be treated as a pre-petition

creditor with respect to that claim.

H.R. Rep. No. 595, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 354 (1977); S. Rep. No.

989, 95th Cong., Ist Sess. 65 (1978).

Purporting to apply this statutory scheme, the Fifth Circuit

determined that the pilots and flight attendants here could not

recover the bulk of the damages flowing from Continental’s

breach of its labor contracts with them because the agreements

did not guarantee future employment:?

The collective bargaining agreement in the present

case provides no guarantees of continued employment.

Hence, even if the present agreement had not been can-

celled, damages would only be available for the time Con-

tinental would have been able to continue in business. . . .

* In connection with this ruling, the Fifth Circuit remanded the case for a

finding of when Continental would have ceased operations, stating that contract

rejection darnages were available up to that point. This limited relief is largely

illusory, however, since the court also held that damages were not available for

the time pilots and flight attendants were lawfully on strike, which covers all but

one week of the period Continental would have remained in operation. See § I,

supra.

-16-

(App. A at 12A). Stated differently, the court’s analysis is:

(1) Continental would have eventually ceased operating had it

not rejected its labor contracts; (2) if this happened, the pilots

would not have jobs; and (3) without guaranteed jobs, no damages

could accrue.

A. Limiting Damages Based on Speculation of a Shutdown

Contravenes Basic Bankruptcy Law.

The Fifth Circuit opinion allows bankrupt employers who

breach their labor contracts to limit their employees’ claims for

damages by saying that it was only the breach of contract that al-

lowed them to remain in business.!° Not surprisingly, the decision

below is the only authority for this proposition.

1. The decision violates Bankruptcy Code

requirements for treating all creditors equally.

No bankruptcy authority supports the Fifth Circuit’s decision

to limit damages to “the time Continental would have been able

to continue in business.” App. A at 12A. The Bankruptcy Code

does not authorize, as part of the calculation of contract rejection

damages, a court to consider what would have happened without

the rejection or which of the debtor’s obligations caused the in-

solvency. Nor does the Code permit a court to disallow damages

for contracts that otherwise would have caused the debtor to

cease operations.

° Asnoted by one commentator: “If the same logic were followed in awarding

damages for the repair of a fender crumpled in an intersection collision, the

plaintiff would be denied full recovery for the fender because it might have been

damaged in some other way sooner or later.” W. Holloway & M. Leech,

Employment Termination Rights and Remedies at 402 (1985).

-17-

Not only is the Fifth Circuit’s decision unsupported by

bankruptcy law, it directly violates the fundamental tenet that all

creditors be treated equally. Young v. Higbee Co., 324 U.S. 204,

210 (1945). By limiting the employees’ damages to the time Con-

tinental hypothetically could have continued operations, the Fifth

Circuit violated this principle in treating the employees, qua un-

secured creditors, differently from and worse than other un-

secured creditors of Continental.

Specifically, Continental elected to reject its contracts with the

pilots and flight attendants and to continue operations. With the

exception of its employees, Continental paid all of its unsecured

creditors in full, even those whose contracts it rejected. Only the

pilots and flight attendants were not paid, even though the Fifth

Circuit’s imaginary demise of the airline should have affected all

unsecured creditors equally by cutting off payments to both

employees and nonemployees. In short, the Fifth Circuit allowed

Continental to use the unsecured interests of its pilots and flight

attendants to fly itself out of bankruptcy and pay off its other

creditors.

2. The ruling contradicts this Court’s decision in

NLRB »y. Bildisco & Bildisco.

In Bildisco, this Court held that contract rejection damages are

considered unsecured claims against the bankruptcy estate. As to

what items of damage were recoverable, this Court stated:

Section 502(c) provides that any contingent or unli-

quidated claim shall be estimated for purposes of settling a

bankrupt estate. Under this provision losses occasioned by

the rejection of a collective-bargaining agreement must be

tie

-18-

estimated, including unliquidated losses attributable to

fringe benefits or security provisions like seniority rights. . . .

465 US. at 530 n.12.

The limitation on future wages as contract rejection damages in

this case cannot be reconciled with Bildisco."' There is no logical

distinction between future fringe benefits and lost wages; both

arise only if the debtor continues to employ its workers. Accord In

re U.S. Truck Co., 89 B.R. 618, 624 (E.D. Mich. 1988) (rejecting

same debtor argument and holding “the logic in Bildisco extends

to lost future wages”). Unlike the court below, the Bildisco Court

"! The Fifth Circuit attempted to distinguish Bildisco by saying that it mereiy

attempted to clarify § 502(c), “which requires the estimation of unliquidated

claims if such are otherwise recoverable.” App. A at 11A (emphasis in original).

First, nowhere in its opinion did this Court imply that only “otherwise

recoverable” claims are to be estimated.

Second, the pilots’ and flight attendants’ claims in this case are “otherwise

recoverable.” In the 1978 amendments to the Bankruptcy Code, Congress

eliminated restrictions on the distribution of unliquidated or contingent claims

such as those here. See 3 COLLIER ON BANKRUPTCY 14 502.03, at 502-72 (15th

ed. 1992) (discussing former 11 U.S.C. § 57d). Under the Code as it now stands,

a recoverable claim includes any

right to payment, whether or not such right is reduced to

judgment, liquidated, unliquidated, fixed, contingent,

matured, unmatured, disputed, undisputed, legal, equitable,

secured, or unsecured ....

11 U.S.C. § 101(5)(A). See also Bildisco, 465 U.S. at 530 n.12 (noting that

Congress provided more protection to unsecured creditors, such as employees of

a debtor, whose interests were overlooked and underestimated in the past with

the 1978 Act). The Fifth Circuit’s reliance on the possibility that Continental

would have ceased operations returns bankruptcy law to its pre-1978 roots of

disallowing disputed or contingent claims. The policy of the Code now is to allow

these types of claims, and the possibility that the employer may cease operations

is irrelevant.

| cea

-19-

did not impose any added condition that employees claiming

rejection damages demonstrate a guarantee of continued employ-

ment.

B. The Fifth Circuit’s Decision Establishes a Measure of

Contract Rejection Damages Under § 502 That Is At

Odds With Basic Contract Law Principles.

As noted, an executory contract rejected under § 365 is treated

as a pre-petition breach which allows the nondebtor to recover

conventional contract damages. Section 502(b)(1) of the

Bankruptcy Code requires that the value of a § 365 breach is

determined in precisely the same way that such a claim would be

if a bankruptcy had not occurred. In limiting damages to the time

it thought Continental would have remained in business, the Fifth

Circuit abandoned the directive of § 502(b)(1) and contradicted

well-established case law on contract damages.

Accepting the Fifth Circuit’s premise that the labor contracts

here did not guarantee employment, then the contracts are, by

the lower court’s account, simple requirements contracts. The

buyer (Continental) agreed to fill its requirements for a particular

product (labor) over a specified period of time from a seller

(ALPA and the UFA), who agreed to make the product available

at a specified price (the terms of the labor contracts). It is beyond

dispute that a buyer subject to a requirements contract who meets

continuing needs by purchasing the product elsewhere is liable to

the seller for breach of contract, and that damages are the amount

-20-

“of the product the buyer acquired elsewhere, multiplied by the

contract price, less any mitigation.

These principles apply here. Continental continued to require

pilots and flight attendants after the filing of its bankruptcy peti-

tion, but obtained these services at prices below the terms of its

rejected labor contracts. Like any other requirements supplier,

the pilots’ and flight attendants’ damages must be based on the

Original contract terms and the requirements Continental sub-

sequently had, not speculation that Continental would have no

needs at all.

This is the result reached in the only other reported decision

addressing the measure of damages for rejection of a labor con-

tract. Jn re U.S. Truck Co., Inc., 89 B.R. 618 (E.D. Mich. 1988),

affg 74 B.R. 515 (Bankr. E.D. Mich. 1987). There, both the dis-

trict court and the bankruptcy court measured damages based on

the fact that the debtor continued to employ workers after reject-

ing its labor contract with them, rather than on a hypothetical

decision to go out of business, and expressly rejected the

bankruptcy court holding affirmed by the Fifth Circuit below. The

district court properly analyzed this issue as follows:

If U.S. Truck had ceased operations and liquidated, the

[employees] would have had no claim against it for future lost

wages....

'? See Tri-State Generation & Transmission Ass' hone River Power,

Inc., 874 F.2d 1346, 1362 (10th Cir. 1989); Uni Sys. v. Godfather’s

Pizza, 818 F.2d 667, 673 (8th Cir. 1987); Center Ci al Co. v. Avril, Inc., 392

F.2d 289 (Sth Cir. 1968); Globemaster, Inc. v. Magic American Chemical Corp.,

386 F.2d 420 (6th Cir. 1967); Locke v. United States, 283 F.2d 521 (Ct. Cl. 1960);

Texas Industries v. Brown, 218 F.2d 510 (Sth Cir. 1955); Haveg Corp. v. Guyer,

226 A.2d 231 (Del. 1967).

; -21-

[However,] U.S. Truck and its trustee determined that the

interests of the creditors and the debtor were best served by

continued economic activity. Therefore, a decision was made

that employment should continue during the period of time

that the claimed damages accumulated. This situation of con-

tinuing employment has no relation to a context where no

employment was available during specific parts of a

company’s annual business cycle. In fact, to the extent the

court should look to the actual operations of the company to

determine what damage award is appropriate, the continued

employment of part of U.S. Truck’s workforce militates in

favor of finding damages for pay lost through the 10-percent

reduction in wages. ...

[T]he court cannot say what would have happened had the

company decided to liquidate. A buyer might have been

found; for example, who would have continued the opera-

tions of U.S. Truck. Rather than speculate as to what might

have occurred, the court believes it is the better course to

look at the actual events. Because U.S. Truck continued to

employ workers, these workers should be an unsecured

creditor for the difference between what they were paid and

the amounts contemplated by the Agreement.

89 BR. at 625-26. See also Local 461 v. Singer Co., 540 F. Supp.

442, 450 (D.N.J. 1982). By failing to distinguish or reconcile U.S.

Truck, the Fifth Circuit’s decision creates great uncertainty in this

area of the law.

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion places the entire burden of

Continental’s bankruptcy on one discrete group of creditors —

the employees — and, in doing so, ignores the fundamental con-

7

P| —— ae

2).

tract law principle that speculation about what “might have been”

cannot support or limit an award of damages.

CONCLUSION

The decision below conflicts with basic bankruptcy and labor

law. The Fifth Circuit’s view of the Bankruptcy Code as it applies

to the determination of contract rejection damages is not only

seriously in error, but is fundamentally harsh and unjust. In light

of the central role of labor contracts in the econofmic arena, and

the increasing use of the bankruptcy laws by employers, the public

importance of this question is so great that this petition should be

granted.

RESPECTFULLY SUBMITTED, June 1992.

* MarTY HARPER

RANDOLPH J. HAINES

ALLEN CLARKE

JANET NAPOLITANO

LEwIs AND ROCA

40 North Central Avenue

Phoenix, Arizona 85004

(602) 262-5311

* Counsel of Record for Petitioner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

TO APPENDICES

shad es Kcemannaasite memes — |

A— Inre Continental Airlines Corp., 901 F.2d 1259 (Sth Cir.

1990)

B— Order Granting Debtors’ Motion For Partial Summary

Judgment/Uncontested Facts And Conclusions Of Law

| Relative To Debtors’s [sic] Motion For Summary Judg-

ment With Respect To Contract Rejection Claims Of

Strikers, U.S. Bankruptcy Court, Southern District of

Texas, filed September 10, 1985

C— Order/Findings Of Fact And Conclusions Of Law With

- Respect To The Union Of Flight Attendants(’] Claims

For Contract Rejection Damages, U.S. Bankruptcy

Court, Southern District of Texas, dated May 8, 1986

D— Order/Findings Of Fact And Conclusions Of Law With

Respect To Motion To Disallow Or To Estimate At

Zero Value The Contract Rejection Damages Claims

Filed By The Air Line Pilots Association, U.S.

Bankruptcy Court, Southern District of Texas, dated

June 26, 1986

E— Order, filed March 13, 1989, affirming Bankruptcy

Court’s Orders of September 10, 1985, May 8, 1986 and

June 26, 1986, U.S. District Court, Southern District of

Texas

F— Memorendum & Order, U.S. District Court, Southern

District of Texas, entered August 4, 1989

H —

-ii-

Order denying Petition for Rehearing and Suggestions

for Rehearing En Banc, U.S. Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit, filed October 29, 1990

Order/Appendix, automatically staying the appeal, U.S.

Court of Appeals for the Fifth Circuit, dated March 21,

1991

Motion for Relief from Automatic Stay, by Joseph E.

O’Neill, et al., filed March 28, 1991

Order granting O’Neill Group’s motion in part for the

limited purpose of allowing O’Neill Group to file a Peti-

tion for Writ of Certiorari with the U.S. Supreme Court,

U.S. Bankruptcy Court, District of Delaware, dated

May 12, 1992

The relevant statutes:

11 U.S.C. § 365

11 U.S.C. § 502

45 U.S.C. § 152

45 U.S.C. § 155

45 U.S.C. § 156

APPENDIX A

In re CONTINENTAL AIRLINES Corp., et al., Debtors.

Ar Line Pitots AssociaTION, INTERNATIONAL and

James C. Stephens, et al., Appellants,

Vv.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INc., et al., Appellees.

O’NerLt Group, Appellants,

V.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INc., et al., Appellees.

UNION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS, Appellant,

v.

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES, INc., et al., Appellees.

No. 89-2347.

United States Court of Appeals, Fifth Circuit.

May 25,1990.

Randolph J. Haines, Marty Harper, Allen Clarke, Jessica

Franken, Lewis & Roca, Phoenix, Ariz., for appellants.

Reginald H. Wood, William Schweinle, Jr., Stubbeman,

McRae, Sealy, Laughlin & Browder, Houston, Tex., for O’Neil

Group.

2A

James R. O’Donnell, Leon V. Komkov, Butler & Binion, Hous-

ton, Tex., for Stephens Group.

Barbara Gardner, Mandell & Wright, Houston, Tex., Bruce

Simon, Babette Ceccotti, Cohen, Weiss, & Simon, New York City,

Kathleen M. Schaden, Schaden, Heldman & Lampert, Denver,

Colo., Christopher Cameron, Taylor, Roth, Bush & Geffner, Bur-

bank, Cal., Daniel P. Casey, Continental Airlines, Inc., Houston,

Tex., for appellees.

John J. Gallagher, Charles L. Warren, Jon A. Geier, Aiken,

Gump, Strauss, Hauer & Feld, Washington, D.C., Lenard Parkins,

Sheinfeld, Maley & Kay, Houston, Tex., for Continental Airlines,

Inc.

Appeals from the United States District Court for the Southern

District of Texas..

Before GEE, REAVLEY, and GARWOOD, Circuit Judges.

GEE, Circuit Judge:

Today’s case presents the question whether employees whose

collective bargaining agreements are rejected in a Chapter 11

bankruptcy are entitled to future wages and benefits as contract

rejection damages under 11 U.S.C. § 502(g). Recognizing that the

agreements here at issue do not guarantee employment, we hold

that the difference between the wages and benefits set out in the

agreements and the wages and benefits actually paid under the

emergency work rules are recoverable as unsecured claims to the

extent that work would have been available had the agreements

not been rejected. The bankruptcy court dismissed all employee

claims without considering how long Continental could have

3A

remained in business absent rejection of the agreements. For this

and other reasons to be stated, we reverse and remand the cause

to the bankruptcy court to allow it to make a specific finding of

when Continental would have had to cease operations had it not

cancelled its labor contracts, and to calculate appropriate

damages to that date.

I. Facts

In 1983, Continentai halted domestic flight operations and filed

a bankruptcy petition under Chapter 11. Continental then filed a

motion in bankruptcy court to reject its labor contracts with the

Air Line Pilots Association, International (““ALPA”) and the

Union of Flight Attendants (“UFA”) pursuant to 11 U.S.C. Sec-

tion 365. That same day, Continental recommenced its domestic

flights under what it termed “Emergency Work Rules,” rules that

changed dramatically the employees’ terms and conditions of

employment. As a result, ALPA and UFA called strikes.

The bankruptcy court approved Continental’s rejection of its

labor contracts with ALPA and UFA and ordered the rejection

effective the date of the bankruptcy filing. ALPA and UFA then

filed proofs of claim, in amounts of $408 million and $409 million

respectively, for contract rejection damages under 11 U.S.C. Sec-

tions 365(g) and 502(g). These claimed damages consisted of the

full wages and benefits set forth in the rejected labor contracts,

for time periods beginning from the date of the bankruptcy filing

up to and somewhat beyond the contracts’ amendable dates.

In October of 1985, Bankruptcy Judge T Glover Roberts, ac-

ting by agreement between Continental and ALPA, signed an

“Order and Award” that was intended to settle all issues between

Continental and ALPA, including the contract rejection damage

4A

claims. Because of objections raised by certain individual pilots,

the court allowed pilots who did not participate in the settlement

to file proofs of claim and pursue their derivative share of the

claims originally filed by ALPA. A like settlement agreement was

reached between Continental and UFA, with a procedure created

which was similar to that for the pilots, allowing non-settling flight

attendants to pursue their claims independently of UFA. In all,

approximately 460 pilots and 14 flight attendants have filed proofs

of claim seeking contract rejection damages under the procedures

established by the bankruptcy court.

In a motion for partial summary judgment, Continental next

asked the bankruptcy court to disallow contract rejection

damages claims for the time that the employees were on strike.

When that motion was granted on September 10, 1985 (“Septem-

ber 10 Order”), Continental filed an additional motion for sum-

mary judgment seeking to disallow the remaining claims for

contract rejection damages. This was granted as to the claims of

the flight attendants on May 8, 1986 (“May 8 Order”), and as to

the pilots’ claims on June 26 of the same year (“June 26 Order”).

The court reasoned that as the collective bargaining agreements

did not guarantee employment, the claimants were not entitled to

future wages and benefits as contract rejection damages. The or-

ders were appealed to federal district court, which affirmed them.

II. Discussion

A. Failure to Stand Recused

The appellants contend that Judge Roberts, who shortly after

making his May 8 and June 26 orders received and accepted an

offer for partnership in the law firm representing Continental,

ode! SN a he

SA

should have stood recused from the case and that his failure to do

so requires the reversal of those orders.

Several months before making his rulings in this case, Judge

Roberts had announced his intentions to enter private practice

and to stop handling the Continental bankruptcy cases to avoid

conflicts of interest in the event he considered employment with

any of the firms appearing before him. Shortly thereafter,

Continental's local bankruptcy counsel, Messrs. Sheinfeld, Maley

& Kay (“Sheinfeld”), discussed hiring Judge Roberts at a partner-

ship meeting. Before his confirmation of Continental’s pian of

reorganization, at least two Sheinfeld lawyers had asked Judge

Roberts about his future employment plans. At about the same

time, Judge Roberts was quoted as praising Continental's Presi-

dent Frank Lorenzo in articles which appeared in Business Week

and the Wall Street Journal.'

Judge Roberts granted summary judgment disallowing all con-

. tract rejection damage claims in orders made on May 8 and June

26,1986, and confirmed Continental’s plan of reorganization on

June 30. On July 1, Judge Roberts granted various fee requests

made by counsel, including a $700,000 fee to Sheinfeld. On July

2, Sheinfeld contacted Judge Roberts about joining their partner-

ship. On July 29, Judge Roberts agreed to join the firm and did so

on September 5 of the same year.

28 U.S.C. Section 455(a) requires a judge to stand recused “in

any proceeding in which his impartiality might reasonably be

ae udge Roberts was reported to have said concerning Frank Lorenzo: “Who

do you know with the guts to put half a billion dollars on the table and say he can

do a turnaround’ of a company that is a prime candidate for bankruptcy... If

anybody can do it, Lorenzo can.” Frank Lorenzo, High Flier, Business Week,

March 10, 1986 at 104, 107.

6A

questioned.” Because the goal of Section 455(a) “is to exact the

appearance of impartiality,” recusal may be mandated even

though no actual partiality exists. Hall v. Small Business Admin.,

695 F.2d 175, 178 (Sth Cir. 1983). The standard for recusal is an

objective one, that if a “reasonable man, were he to know all the

circumstances, would harbor doubts about the judge’s impar-

tiality.” Health Services Acquisition Corp. v. Liljeberg, 796 F.2d 796,

800 (Sth Cir. 1986), aff'd, 486 U.S. 847, 108 S. Ct. 2194, 100 L. Ed.

2d 855 (1988).

In the present case there is no allegation that, prior to his

rulings in this case, Judge Robderts had sought employment with

the Sheinfeld firm, or that he knew that the firm was actively con-

sidering him. The close coupling of Judge Roberts’s rulings with

the employment offer and his acceptance of it, however, does cre-

ate the appearance that he may have been pursuing employment

with Sheinfeld while he was presiding over the case. As the

Seventh Circuit noted in Pepsico, Inc. v. McMillen, 764 F.2d 458,

461 (7th Cir. 1985):

The appearance of equal justice requires that the judge not

be exploring the prospects of employment with one lawyer or

all lawyers appearing in a case before him. The dignity and

independence of the judiciary are diminished when the judge

comes before the lawyers in the case in the role of a suppliant

for employment. The public cannot be confident that a case

tried under such conditions will be decided in accordance

with the highest traditions of the judiciary.

Id. at 461.

Continental contends that a judge cannot be expected to stand

recused in a case when he is unaware that counsel for one of the

7A

parties appearing before him is considering him for employment.

The Supreme Court, in Liljeberg v. Health Services Corp.,

responded to a similar contention:

Contrary to petitioner’s contentions, this reading of the

statute does not call upon judges to perform the impos-

sible — to disqualify themselves based on facts they do not

know. If, as petitioner argues, § 455(a) should only be ap-

plied prospectively, then requiring disqualification based on

facts the judge does not know would of course be absurd; a

judge could never be expected to disqualify himself based on

some fact he does not know, even though the fact is one that

perhaps he should know or one that people might reasonably

suspect that he does know. But to the extent the provision

can also, in proper cases be applied retroactively, the judge

is not called upon to perform an impossible feat. Rather, he

is called upon to rectify an oversight and to take the steps

necessary to maintain public confidence in the impartiality of

the judiciary. If he concludes that “his impartiality might

reasonably be questioned,” then he should also find that the

statute has been violated. This is certainly not an impossible

task.

486 U.S. 847, 861, 108 S. Ct. 2194, 2202-03, 100 L. Ed. 2d 855, 873

(1988). Similarly, to hold that § 455(a) was violated in the present

case does not mean that Judge Roberts was required to stand

recused before discovering that he was being considered for

employment. Rather, when an offer of employment was received

the day after his approval of $700,000 in legal fees to the firm

making the offer, Judge Roberts was “required to take the steps

necessary to maintain public confidence in the judiciary.” In the

circumstances of this case Judge Roberts should either have

rejected the offer outright, or, if he seriously desired to consider

8A

accepting the offer, stood recused and vacated the rulings made

shortly before the offer was made. Although we are confident that

Judge Roberts committed no substantive impropriety in his han-

dling of the motions in this case, we nevertheless conclude that

recusal was mandated by the appearances of the situation which

we have described.

Although a violation of § 455(a) has occurred in the present

case, reversal is not automatic. As with other areas of the law, the

“harmless error” rule applies to a breach of a judge’s duty to stand

recused under § 455(a). Liljeberg, 486 U.S. at 861-62, 108 S. Ct. at

2202-03, 100 L. Ed. 2d at 873-74. In determining whether reversal

is mandated by a failure to stand recused, a number of factors

warrant our careful consideration: The risk of injustice to the par-

ties in this particular case; the risk that the denial of relief will

produce injustice in other cases; the risk of undermining the

public’s confidence in the judicial process. Jd. at 864, 108 S. Ct. at

2204, 100 L. Ed. 2d at 875.

The risk of injustice to the parties in allowing a summary judg-

ment ruling to stand is usually slight. Such rulings are subject to

de novo review, with the reviewing court utilizing criteria identi-

cal to that used by the court below. In cases where we would

otherwise affirm such a ruling, little would be gained by vacating

and remanding with instructions that it be essentially reinstated.”

> ‘The Eleventh Circuit noted in a similar situation:

As discussed previously, we agree with the district court that

summary judgment was proper. It would, therefore, be

ridiculous to remand this case and reassign it to another judge

after we have already exercised plenary review and have

concluded that summary judgment was proper.

Parker v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1510, 1526 (11th Cir. 1988), cert. denied,

— US. —, 109 S. Ct. 2066, 104 L. Ed. 2d 631 (1989).

9A

Next, we consider whether a failure to vacate the orders below

would be likely to produce injustice in other cases. We seriously

doubt that a failure to vacate the decisions of the bankruptcy

court could be read in future cases as a nod of approval for Judge

Roberts’s handling of the situation; rather, our ruling here should

serve as a caution to other judges who are contemplating private

employment following retirement. Moreover, were we to vacate

the orders below for the § 455 violation alone, injustice to other

Continental creditors might result from the delay in finishing

Continental's plan of reorganization.

Finally, we consider whether the public’s confidence in the judi-

cial process will be undermined if we hold Judge Roberts’s viola-

tion of Section 455(a) to be harmless error. We are aware of the

high profile the Continental bankruptcy has had before the public

and that the circumstances surrounding Judge Roberts’s retire-

ment from the bench have not gone unnoticed by the press.> That

we have ruled Judge Roberts’s actions to be violative of Section

455(a) should serve to restore some of any public confidence lost

as a result of the violation; whether vacating the orders granting

summary judgment for the sake of appearances alone would help

or hinder the restorative process, however, is not clear. As the

Eleventh Circuit has noted, in similar circumstances:

In fact, if we reverse and vacate a decision that we have al-

ready determined to be proper, the public will lose faith in

our system of justice because the case will be overturned

without regard to the merits of the employees’ claims. Judi-

cial decisions based on such technical arguments not relevant

to the merits contribute to the public’s distrust in our system

of justice.

5 See Texas Lawyer, Dec. 1-5, 1986, at 1; Wall St.J., Oct. 6, 1986, at 24, col. 1.

i I

10A

Parker v. Connors Steel Co., 855 F.2d 1510, 1527 (11th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, — U.S. — , 109 S. Ct. 2066, 104 L. Ed. 2d 631 (1989).

We accordingly hold that the Section 455(a) violation in the

present case constituted harmless error.

B. Contract Rejection Damages

Bankruptcy Code Section 365 permits an employer to reject a

collective bargaining agreement and set new terms and conditions

of employment. 11 U.S.C. § 365; NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465

U.S. 513, 531, 104 S. Ct. 1188, 1198-99, 79 L. Ed. 2d 482 (1984).

When so rejected, the agreement is deemed breached the day

before the Chapter 11 petition was filed. 11 U.S.C. § 365(g). Sec-

tion 502(g) provides a remedy for this breach in lieu of the labor

law remedies which would have been available outside

bankruptcy. The appellants contend that, in addition to accrued

wages and benefits, future wages and benefits are recoverable as

of right as Section 502 contract rejection damages.

In support of their contention that the district court erred in

rejecting their damage claims, the appellants rely principally upon

NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 465 U.S. 513, 104 S. Ct. 1188, 79 L.

Ed. 2d 482 (1983), in which the Supreme Court held that the

authority of a debtor-in-possession to seek the rejection of a col-

lective bargaining agreement was not subject to the modification

restrictions of Section 8(d) of the NLRA. In a footnote the Court

stated that the “losses occasioned by the rejection of a collective-

bargaining agreement must be estimated, including unliquidated

losses attributable to fringe benefits or security provisions like

seniority rights.” Jd. at 530 n. 12, 104 S. Ct. at 1198 n. 12. The

appellants read this portion of the opinion as mandating the

award of contract rejection damages whenever a collective bar-

gaining agreement is breached. The plaintiffs fail to recognize,

11A

however, that this footnote was simply the Court’s attempt at

clarifying Section 502(c), which requires the estimation of unli-

quidated claims if such are otherwise recoverable. Id. at 530, 104 S.

Ct. at 1198. Whether certain types of damages are recoverable

under Section 502 will depend upon the particular contract at

issue and the circumstances surrounding its rejection.

1. Collective bargaining agreements

Unlike a contract of employment, ordinarily a collective bar-

gaining agreement does not create an empiloyer-employee

relationship; and its rejection does not terminate an employment

relationship. It neither obligates any employee to perform work

nor requires the employer to provide work. It is simply “a general-

ized code to govern a myriad of cases which the draftsman cannot

wholly anticipate. . . . The collective agreement covers the whole

employment relationship. It calls into being a new common law —

the common law of a particular industry or of a particular plan.”

John Wiley & Sons, Inc. v. Livingston, 376 U.S. 543, 550, 84 S. Ct.

909, 915, 11 L. Ed. 2d 898 (1964). As has been noted by the

Supreme Court:

[C]ollective bargaining between employer and the repre-

sentatives of a unit, usually a union, results in an accord as to

the terms which will govern hiring and work and pay in that

unit. The result is not, however, a contract of employment

except in rare cases; no one has a job by reason of it and no

obligation to any individual ordinarily comes into existence

from it alone. The negotiations between union and manage-

ment result in what often has been called a trade agreement, _

rather than in a contract of employment.

i

12A

J.I. Case Co. v. National Labor Relations Board, 321 U.S. 332, 335,

64 S. Ct. 576, 579, 88 L. Ed. 762 (1944). Unless a collective bar-

gaining agreement guarantees future employment, lost future

wages and benefits as damages for its breach are not recoverable

in periods when no work would have been available. See, e.g.,

NLRB v. Biscayne Television Corp., 337 F.2d 267, 268 (Sth Cir.

1964); Nabors v. NLRB, 323 F.2d 686, 690 (Sth Cir. 1963), cert.

denied, 376 U.S. 911, 84S. Ct. 666, 11 L. Ed. 2d 609 (1964); NLRB

v. Columbia Tribune Publishing Co., 495 F.2d 1384, 1393 (8th Cir.

1974).* Likewise, employees working under such an agreement

are not entitled to lost future wages if the employer ceases opera-

tions. See, e.g., J.J. Case, supra; Fraser v. Magic Chef — Food Giant

Markets, Inc., 324 F.2d 853 (6th Cir. 1963); Bakery & Confection-

ary Workers Intern. Union of America v. Great Atlantic & Pacific

Tea Co., 357 F. Supp. 1322 (W.D. Pa. 1973), aff'd mem., 491 F.2d

748 (3d Cir. 1974); Abbington v. Dayton Malleable, Inc., 561 F.

Supp. 1290 (S.D. Ohio 1983), aff'd mem., 738 F.2d 438 (6th Cir.

1984).

The collective bargaining agreement in the present case

provides no guarantees of continued employment. Hence, even if

the present agreement had not been cancelled, damages would

only be available for the time Continental would have been able

to continue in business. In rejecting all of the appellants’ damage

claims, Judge Roberts relied upon a previous finding, not here

appealed, “that had Continental not made its unilateral changes

in pilot pay and work rules[ ] it would have been unable to con-

2 Although these cases were decided under the NLRA (the present contract

is governed by the RLA), courts have often looked to decisions under the NLRA

for guidance in RLA matters. See generally Trans World Airlines, Inc. v.

Independent Federation of Flight Attendants, 489 U.S. 426, 109 S. Ct. 1225, 1230,

103-L-Ed. 2d 456 (1989); Brotherhood of Railroad Trainmen v. Jacksonville

Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369, 383, 89 S. Ct. 1109, 1117-18, 22 L. Ed. 2d 344 (1969).

13A

tinue its operations for very much longer for want of necessary

cash,” and that absent the implementation of the September 27

Emergency Work Rules, “Continental would have run ... [out] of

cash” and “would have had to shut its doors even before this hear-

ing commenced,” that date being January 30,1984. Recognizing

that if Continental went out of business, the employees would

have no damage claims under the agreement, Judge Roberts held

that no damages should be available under Section 502(g). Al-

though the reasoning utilized by Judge Roberts in rejecting the

claims parallels our own here, he failed to recognize that the find-

ing relied upon suggests that Continental could have continued to

operate under its labor contracts for some period of up to four

months following September 27, 1983. As the employees operat-

ing under the agreement would have had a claim for damages —

accruing until Continental ceased operations — had the contract

not been rejected, they are entitled to contract rejection damages

for the same period. These damages are to be considered un-

secured claims measured by the differences in the rates of pay and

fringe benefits set forth in the agreements and the pay and

benefits actually received under the Emergency Work Rules.

2. Effect of the strike

The appellants contend that contract rejection damages should

be available for the time the employees were out on strike. As

noted above, the purpose of Section 502(g) is to give the same

remedy as would be available had the contract not been rejected.

Absent constructive dismissal by the employer,’ employees who

strike are not ordinarily entitled to back pay for the period for

> Ina previous order not here appealed, the bankruptcy court held that

Continental's action in rejecting its collective bargaining agreements did not

constitute a constructive discharge. In re Continental Airlines Corp., 57 B.R. 845

(Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1985).

i a

14A

time they are on strike, even if the strike is in response to an unfair

labor practice. See Phelps Dodge Corp. v. NLRB, 313 U.S. 177, 198

n. 7, 61 S. Ct. 845, 854 n. 7, 85 L. Ed. 1271 (noting that the NLRB

does not award backpay for an unfair labor practice strike); J.H.

Rutter-Rex Manuf. Co. v. NLRB, 399 F.2d 356, 361 (Sth Cir. 1968),

rev'd on other grounds, 396 U.S. 258, 90 S. Ct. 417, 24 L. Ed. 2d

405 (1969) (liability for backpay to unfair labor practice strikers

begins with application for reinstatement); Studio 44, Inc., 284

N.L.R.B. No. 67 at 13 n. 22 (1987) (“It is well settled that unfair

labor practice strikers are not entitled to reinstatement and back-

pay until they have made an unconditional offer to return to

work”); Comfort, Inc., 152 N.L.R.B. 1074, 1090 (1965), enforced,

NLRB v. Comfort, Inc., 365 F.2d 867 (8th Cir. 1966). As no

damages would have been available to Continental employees for

the time when they were on strike outside of bankruptcy, none

should be given in this instance.

The cases relied upon by the appellants do not dictate a dif-

ferent outcome. For example, the appellants cite our decisions in

Mungin v. Florida East Coast Railway Co., 416 F.2d 1169 (Sth Cir.

1969) and United Industrial Workers v. Board of Trustees of Galves-

ton Wharves, 400 F.2d 320 (Sth Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 395 U.S.

905, 89 S. Ct. 1747, 23 L. Ed. 2d 219 (1969), in support of their

contention that a back pay remedy is available for striking

employees. In both of these cases the disputed actions of the car-

riers constituted violations of § 6 of the Railway Labor Act, for

which we ruled that back-pay could be awarded as a sanction, cal-

culated from the time of the wrongful discharge until the

employees were reinstated pending bargaining. Jd. at 328. We

noted that the purpose of the sanction was to recreate, so far as

possible, the status quo before the wrongful action was taken and

to maintain it until the carriers complied with the good faith bar-

gaining required by § 6 of the Act. Jd. at 329.

15A

The plaintiffs’ reliance upon Mungin and Galveston Wharves in

the present instance is misplaced. Continental's rejection of the

collective bargaining agreement, unenforceable from the time of

the bankruptcy filing, involved no statutory violation.® In conse-

quence, we ave no such concern to preserve the status quo pend-

ing statutory compliance as we had in Mungin and Galveston

Wharves. We noted the distinction between cases involving

statutory violations and those involving breach of contract in both

Galveston Wharves and Mungin when we stated: “‘But the

employees here do not claim backpay for a breach of contract.

Their claim arises out of a violation of the federal statute. The

contract-dispute cases therefore are not relevant.”” Mungin, 416

F.2d at 1177 (quoting Galveston Wharves, 400 F.2d at 327).

Similarly, as the claims here involved are for contract rejection

damages, our holdings concerning sanctions for statutory viola-

tions are not relevant.

Another case relied upon by the appellants, Carpenter Sprinkler

Corp. v. NLRB, 605 F.2d 60 (2d. Cir. 1979), actually supports our

ruling here. In Carpenter, an employer's unilateral change in

wages and benefits prompted its union employees to strike. An

Administrative Law Judge found the employer to have committed

an unfair labor practice and ordered the strikers be reinstated

with back pay. This order was modified by the NLRB to include a

back pay award for the strike replacements as well. On appeal, the

® In Bildisco, the Supreme Court ruled that “the filing of the petition in

bankruptcy means that the collective-bargaining agreement is no longer

immediately enforceable, and may never be enforceable again.” 465 U.S. at 532,

104 S. Ct. at 1199. The Court held that an employer did not commit an unfair

labor practice by unilaterally imposing new conditions of employment between

the time of bankruptcy filing and the time the contract is either affirmed or

avoided. Jd. This holding has been superseded by statute. See 11 U.S.C. § 1113.

The new statute does not apply, however, to bankruptcy petitions such as this one,

filed before July 10, 1984.

16A

court in Carpenter enforced only that portion of the Board’s order

which awarded back pay to the reinstated strikers. The appellants

assume that the back pay was to run from the beginning of the

strike. A reading of the Board’s order itself, however, reveals that

the award was to consist of “the difference between the wages and

other economic benefits which [the workers] actually received and

the economic benefits which they would have received absent

Respondent’s unlawful conduct.” 238 N.L.R.B. 974, 976 (1978).

The Board ruled that the employer’s “liability for back pay shall

commence as of the date of the employee’s unconditional offer to

return to work.” Jd. (citing Newport News Shipbilding and Dry

Dock Co., 236 N.L.R.B. 1637 (1978)).

Ill. Conclusion

The September 10 order of the bankruptcy court granting the

debtor’s motion for partial summary judgment, which disallowed

contract rejection damages for time periods the employees were

out on strike, is AFFIRMED. The May 8 and June 26 orders of

the bankruptcy court granting the debtor’s motion for summary

judgment, which disallowed all contract rejection damage claims

of the appellants, are VACATED and the cause REMANDED

for proceedings consistent with this opinion.

GARWOOD, Circuit Judge, dissenting in part.

I join all Judge Gee’s cogent opinion save for what is, under the

facts of this case, a relatively minor disagreement as to the

employee-claimants’ entitlement to damages. During the period

in which Continental could have continued to operate under its

labor contracts, as indicated in part B1 of the majority opinion, I

would allow the striking employees to recover amounts not ex-

ceeding the difference between the rates and benefits actually

28 eS

ate dD Wah at

A BO bat > eM Dre

17A

paid by Continental during that time and those that would have

been paid had the provisions of the labor contracts been followed.

I agree that this is not a statutory violation or unfair labor prac-

tice act case. I also agree that the strikers were not constructively

discharged. Nevertheless, under basic principles of contract law,

when Continental clearly repudiated its labor contracts by

unilaterally reducing the agreed rates of pay, the employees were

no longer required to tender performance.' As appropriate work

at Continental indisputably continued to be available to the strik-

ing employees, the doctrine of avoidable consequences prevents

their recovery of what they could have thus earned had they not

been on strike. But there is no justification for denying them

recovery for the difference between the revised work rule pay

rates (and benefits) and those of the labor contracts; to do so

simply awards Continental a windfali.

A hypothetical example will illustrate my point. On January 1,

A hires B to perform all of A’s audit work, for as long during the

year as A has need for such, with B’s compensation to be at the

rate of $5,000 a month. Sometime in June, A informs B that, be-

cause A believes good auditors are available at $3,500 a month,

B’s wages for the final half of the year will be only $3,500 a month.

Accordingly, B then accepts, effective July 1, an offer for similar

work from C which pays $4,000 a month for the July 1 to Decem-

ber 31 period, and A promptly hires a replacement for B who

works throughout the same time for $3,500 a month. I would

allow B to recover $6,000 from A. The majority would allow B no

recovery. But if B had rejected C’s offer and had continued.

(without waiving his contract rights) to work for A at the reduced

$3,500 a month level, the majority would presumably allow B to

! [note that the majority does not hold that the strike was illegal. If it were

illegal, that would put the issue in a different context.

18A

recover $9,000 from A, as it allows pre-strike recovery here.? That

seems an unreasonable result which is not consonant with fun-

damental contract law.

I accordingly dissent from so much of the majority opinion as

disallows all recovery for any striking employee during any of the

time he or she was on strike.

? If, in the latter situation, the majority limited B’s recovery to $6,000 (on the

theory that he could have mitigated his otherwise $9,000 damages by accepting

C’s offer), then the majority could not consistently deny B all recovery in the

former situation (where he accepts C’s offer).

APPENDIX B

1B

APPENDIX B

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DISTRICT

U. S. Bankruptcy Court

Southern District of Texas

FILED

SEP 10 1985

OEE

Clerk

8

In re §

§ Case No. 83-04020-H1-5

CONTINENTAL AIR LInEs, INC., § (Chapter 11)

x

Debtor. §

§

§

In re §

§ Case No. 83-04021-H3-5

TEXAS INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, § (Chapter 11)

INC., §

§

Debtor. § Consolidated Case No.

§ 83-04019-H2-5

8

ORDER GRANTING DEBTORS’ MOTION

FOR PARTIAL SUMMARY JUDGMENT

For the reasons set forth in the findings of fact and conclusions

of law attached hereto, the Debtors’ Motion for Partial Summary -

Judgment disallowing the claims for contract rejection damages

filed by the Air Line Pilots Association, International and the

ee 7 eT

2B |

Union of Flight Attendants on behalf of pilots and flight atten-

dants is hereby granted to the extent such claims include damages

for striking pilots and flight attendants during the period of time

they were on strike. The amount of such disallowance shall be

determined in a hearing at which the identities of striking pilots

and flight attendants and the periods of time they were on strike

will be determined. In the alternative, in the event that the refer-

ence of the Motion for Partial Summary Judgment is withdrawn,

the claims by ALPA and UFA for contract rejection damages on

behalf of striking pilots and flight attendants are hereby estimated

to have zero value. It is so

ORDERED and ADJUDGED this 10th day of September,

1985.

ls/ T. Glover Roberts

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

3B

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DISTRICT

U. S. Bankruptcy Court

Southern District of Texas

FILED

SEP 10 1985

2 EE

Clerk

§

In re §

§ Case No. 83-04020-H1-5

CONTINENTAL AIR LINES, INC., § (Chapter 11)

§

Debtor. §

§

§

In re §

§ Case No. 83-04021-H3-5

TEXAS INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, § (Chapter 11)

INC., §

§

Debtor. § Consolidated Case No.

§ 83-04019-H2-5

§

UNCONTESTED FACTS AND CONCLUSIONS OF

LAW RELATIVE TO DEBTORS’S MOTION FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT WITH RESPECT TO

UNCONTESTED FACTS

1. On September 24, 1983, Continental Air Lines, Inc. and

Texas International Airlines, Inc. filed petitions for

4B

reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United States

Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 1101, et seg. Upon filing the

bankruptcy petition, Continental temporarily suspended all

domestic service and on September 27, 1983, Continental began

rebuilding that service by reinstating a limited portion of its

domestic service, initially requiring fewer employees than

immediately prior to bankruptcy. The active employees worked

under “emergency work rules” and were generally paid lower

wages and benefits than they had received before the filing of the

petition. [see cites in paragraph 3-6 below}.

2. In response to Continental’s implementation of the

emergency work rules, the Air Line Pilots Association,

International (“ALPA”) and the Union of Flight Attendants

(“UFA’) called strikes which began October 1, 1983. The ALPA

strike has continued to the present. The UFA strike was

terminated on April 17, 1985 when the union instructed its

members to offer unconditionally to return to work.

3. Continental filed a Motion To Reject its collective

bargaining agreements with ALPA and UFA on September 27,

1983. Following an extended hearing this Court approved

Continental’s motion to reject its collective bargaining

agreements with ALPA (Order of June 19, 1984) and UFA

(Order of December 5, 1984). Each contract rejection is

retroactive to September 24, 1983.

4. This Court has previously found that “had Continental not

made its unilateral changes in pilot pay and work rules, it would

have been unable to continue its operations for very much longer

for want of necessary cash and, because it could not compete

effectively with the low cost carriers in direct competition with it,

it would have continued losing money until it closed its doors.”

SB

Findings of Fact And Conclusions of Law Relating To The

Rejection Of The Collective Bargaining Agreement With ALPA

1 28; see In re Continental Airlines Corp., 38 B.R. 67, 71-72

(Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1984); Memorandum Of Authorities

Authorizing Rejection Of ALPA Collective Bargaining

Agreement at 12-13, 30. The Court also found that “without

substantial concessions from [the UFA] contracts, Continental

would run out of money and go out of business.” Findings of Fact

had Crinctinal ’ Law Relating To the Rejection Of Coliecti

Bargaining Agreements with UFA at 8.

5. This Court has further found that the emergency work

rules applicable to pilots and flight attendants were modeled on

work rules in use at Braniff Airways, Inc. and Southwest Air

Lines, and that a substantial proportion of the unionized

employees at Continental have indicated, by electing to cross the

picket lines, “their willingness to work at the wage levels and

under the working conditions (including increased productivity)

offered by Continental.” Memorandum Of Authorities

Authorizing Rejection Of ALPA Collective Bargaining

Agreements at 47-48; see Findings Of Fact And Conclusions Of

Law Relating To The Rejection Of The Collective Bargaining

Agreement With ALPA at 99 31, 32; Findings Of Fact And

Conclusions Of Law Relating To The Rejection Of Collective

Bargaining Agreements With UFA at 6-7, 10.

6. This Court’s previous findings make clear that the striking

pilots retained their status as employees during the time they were

on strike. See Memorandum of Authorities Authorizing

Rejection Of ALPA Collective Bargaining Agreement at 22,

23-24. This Court has also found that upon filing its petitions for

reorganization, “Continental immediately went on a campaign to

get the remaining pilots to agree to fly under the emergency work

6B

rules,” and that once ALPAs October 1, 1983 strike began,

“Continental maintained a telephone ‘bank’ in which pilots were

called and requested to fly.” Memorandum Of Authorities

Authorizing Rejection Of ALPA Collective Bargaining

Agreements at 22. This Court has further found that Continental

“made a strenuous effort to get striking pilots to return to

service,” and upon “instructions from its chief operating officer,

Continental delayed hiring [replacement] pilots until it felt it had

to do so to service its re-expanding route system.” Id, at 22-23.

7. ALPA and UFA have filed claims in this Court for contract

rejection and other damages on behalf of all pre-petition pilots

and flight attendants, respectively. Continental has sought

summary judgment disallowing the contract rejection damage

claims insofar as they seek to recover backpay and other benefits

for striking employees during the time they were on strike.

8. The unions have asserted in response that their striking

members should not be denied damages because (a) they were

not really on strike at all, but rather were simply withholding their

services (this position was abandoned at oral argument); (b)

federal labor law does not apply to the determination of employee

claims in bankruptcy proceedings; and (c) the changes in wages

and work rules on September 24, 1983, should be treated as

wrongful “constructive” discharges of affected employees.

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. As originally filed on April 30, 1985, Debtors’ Motion

requested this Court to enter summary judgment in Debtors’

favor on the issue of liability for contract rejection damages for

strikers, pursuant to Section 502(b)(1).

i aah aaa teil

pr Oe ee meyer y ery Tee

7B

2. On June 3 and 4, 1985, ALPA and UFA filed motions

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 157(d) seeking to withdraw the reference

of this Motion from the Bankruptcy Court on grounds that

Debtors’ Motion “required the consideration of federal laws

regulating interstate commerce,” i.e., the Railway Labor Act, 45

U.S.C. § 151 et seq,, and that withdrawal of the reference was

therefore mandatory. The unions’ motions remain pending in the

District Court.

3. On June 3, 1985, ALPA and UFA, joined by the Official

Union Labor and Pension Creditors’ Committee, filed a Motion

to Stay this Court’s consideration of the present motion pending

District Court disposition of the Section 157(d) Motion to

Withdraw Reference. After hearing, this Court entered an Order

denying the Motion, filed July 8, 1985, which found, inter alia, as

follows:

To interpret Section 157(d) as the unions propose would dis-

rupt the claims procedure so carefully crafted in the

Bankruptcy Code, by bifurcating the claims resolution

process between the District Court and the Bankruptcy

Court. As a practical matter, such a result would be in-

tolerable. Not only would the Bankruptcy Court be abandon-

ing a statutorily-charged responsibility, but it would be

thrusting upon the District Court additional litigation in an

already overcrowded arena, a scenario that is not only costly

and time consuming, but also a ridiculously circuitous route

in the bankruptcy case administration process.

Order filed July 8, 1985 at 4-5.

4. Subsequently, on July 16, 1985, Debtors filed a Motion to

Estimate All Contingent Or Unliquidated Employee Claims For

Purposes Of Confirmation Pursuant To Bankruptcy Code Section

502(c) And To Convert Pending Motions For Summary Judgment

To Motions To Estimate The Value Of Claims. While Debtors’

position denying all liability for such claims had not and has not

changed, Debtors’ proposed procedures changed, according to

the Debtors’ view, only the estimation process could produce

allowance of claims for Plan purposes in a time frame sufficient to

avoid delay in the closing of this case.

5. On June 25, 1985, this Court entered an Order Granting

Debtors’ Motion for Extension of the Exclusivity Period up to

September 5, 1985 upon the express condition that no further

extensions would be granted and that the Debtors would, in fact,

file a proposed Plan of Reorganization on that date.

6. The Court is satisfied that it has jurisdiction to resolve on

the merits the liability issues presented by the present motion, for

the motion does not require direct interpretation or application

of the statutory language of the Railway Labor Act or any other

federal statute regulating interstate commerce. The question

rests squarely in the bankruptcy claims adjudication process.

7. There are on file in this major reorganization proceeding

at least three other § 157(d) motions to withdraw the reference

which have been pending undecided on the crowded docket of

the District Court for this district for over one year. See Motion

Of Union Of Flight Attendants For Withdrawal Of The

Reference Of Debtors’ Motion To Reject Collective Bargaining

Agreement Under The Railway Labor Act, filed September 7th,

1984; Motion Of Air Line Pilots Association For Withdrawal Of

The Reference Of Debtors’ Motion To Reject Collective

Bargaining Agreement Under The Railway Labor Act, filed

August 3, 1984; Motion By International Association Of

9B

Machinists And Aerospace Workers To Withdraw The Reference

To The Bankruptcy Court Of The Debtors’ Motion To Reject

Collective Bargaining Agreements, filed July 20, 1984. The

pendency of the § 157(d) motions and the novel and arcane

nature of the issues arising from this recently enacted provision

could create substantial potential difficulties in the administration

of this bankruptcy case and to the bankruptcy system in general.

In the opinion of this Court, it is for this reason that those courts

which have considered this issue have held that § 157(d) must be

narrowly construed to avoid disrupting the Bankruptcy Court

system constructed by the Bankruptcy Reform Act of 1978.

While this Court has concluded that it has jurisdiction to enter

summary judgment on liability on the present motion, the ques-

tions raised regarding the applicability of § 157(d) to this motion

for summary judgment, as well as the pendency in the District

Court of the unions’ motions to withdraw reference, have the

potential for substantially delaying the closing of this reorganiza-

tion. For this reason, the Court has determined that it will also

estimate the value of the claims subject to this Motion pursuant

to § 502(c) of the Bankruptcy Code. Since estimation is clearly a

“core proceeding” and a function within the jurisdiction of the

Bankruptcy Court, use of the estimation procedure by this Court

will allow the now on file Debtors’ Reorganization Plan to

proceed without unnecessary or cost delay to the Debtor or

creditor groups who may have reached agreement relative to debt

repayment. The estimation procedure can, however, be simplified

by resolution of the summary judgment issues now on file by the

Court’s review of facts previously established in the case and ap-

plication of the appropriate law.

8. Section 502(b)(1), 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(1), provides that a

claim against an estate in bankruptcy is to be disallowed if such

10B

claim “is unenforceable against the debtor and property of the

debtor, under any agreement or applicable law for a reason other

than because such claim is contingent or unmatured.” The value

of a bankruptcy claim for contract breach must therefore be

determined in precisely the same way that such a claim would be

determined if the bankruptcy had not occurred. In re Nuisance

Corp., 17 Bankr. 80, 82 (Bankr. D.N.J. 1981); 3 Collier on

Bankruptcy 7 502.02, at 502-24 et seq. (15th ed. 1985). A

bankrupt in breach of contract pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 365(g)

may assert any defense to the liability flowing from statutorily

created breach which any other promisor in breach of contract

may assert. Mazirow vy, Grigsby (In re White Motor Corp,), 44

Bankr. 563 (N.D. Ohio 1984).

9. The Bankruptcy Court must determine the allowability of

claims by applying the appropriate substantive law which would

be applied in the non-bankruptcy context. See, ¢.g., Woods-Tucker

Leasing Corp, v, Hutcheson-Ingram Development Co,, 642 F2d

744, 748 n.8 (Sth Cir. 1981); Vanston Bondholders Protective

Comm, v, Green, 329 U.S. 156, 161 (1946).

10. The rejected contracts were entered into pursuant to the

Railway Labor Act (“RLA’), 45 U.S.C. § 151 et seq,, as expressly

stated at the outset of each contract. A Railway Labor Act

contract, “like the Labor Management Relations Act § 301

contract, is a federal contract and is therefore governed and

enforceable by the federal law, in the federal courts.” [AM v.

Central Airlines, Inc,, 372 U.S. 682, 692 (1963). The Supreme

Court has also held that “the substantive law to apply in suits

under $ 301(a) is federal law, which the courts must fashion from

the policy of our national labor laws.” Textile Workers of America

y, Lincoln Mills of Ala,, 353 U.S. 448, 456 (1957).

11B

11. Under well-established principles of federal labor law,

striking employees are not entitled to back pay for the period of

time they are on strike, even if the strike is in response to an

unlawful unfair labor practice by the employer. See, ¢.g.. Safeway

Trails, Inc., 233 N.L-R.B. 1078, 1083 (1977), enf'd, 641 F.2d 930

(D.C. Cir. 1979), cert, denied, 444 U.S. 1072 (1980); Ace Tank &

Heater Co., 167 N.L.R.B. 663, 664 (1967); Comfort, Inc, 152

N.LR.B. 1074, 1090 (1965), enf’d in part, 365 F.2d 867 (8th Cir.

1966). The basis for this principle that the employee’s voluntary

act of going on strike is an intervening cause of his loss, for which

the employer is not legally answerable because alternative legal

remedies were available to the employee.

An employer is . . . only indirectly responsible for the loss of

employment sutfered by a striker even when the strike has

been precipitated by unfair labor practices. The loss of

employment is attributable to the striker’s own voluntary act

in withholding his services until the unfair labor practices

have been remedied by the strike rather than by available

forms of legal redress. It is for this reason that a striker —

even an unfair labor practice striker ~- unlike a dis-

criminatee, is not entitled to backpay until he has made an

application for reinstatement which has been denied.

For the same reason it would seem that a striker is not en-

: titled to be made whole for the loss of any benefits which he

may have incurred as a result of going out on strike.

=: Cone Bros. Contracting Co., 158 N.LR.B. 186, 197 (1966). These

principles are equally applicable under the Railway Labor Act.

, “ne ; 690

F.2d 838, 847 (11th Cir. 1982), cert, dismissed, 104 S. Ct. 40

12B

(1983); National Airlines, Inc. v. LAM, 416 F2d 998, 1097 (5th Cir.

1969), after remand, 430 F2d 957, 961 (5th Cir. 1970).

12. Application of federal labor law to claims arising under

RLA contracts may not be avoided by labeling a breach of

contract claim as a “wrongful discharge.” Andrews vy, Louisville &

N.R.Co,, 406 U.S. 320, 323-34 (1972); see also Schroeder v. Trans

Woild Airlines, Inc,, 702 F2d 189, 192 (9th Cir. 1983); cf Allis

Chalmers v. Lueck, 105 S. Ct. 1904, 1910-11 (1985). Federal labor

law therefore controls the determination of remedies for breach

of these RLA collective bargaining agreements.

13. The attempt to characterize the changes in pay rates and

work rules on September 24, 1983 as a wrongful “constructive”

discharge fails in any event because none of the prerequisites to

a finding of wrongful constructive discharge can be met. A

constructive discharge is an imputed, rather than an actual,

discharge; it may be imputed by law where an employer acts to

make conditions intolerable with the intent and effect of forcing

the employee to quit. In order to find that the changes in rates of

pay and working conditions implemented on September 24, 1983

constituted a wrongful constructive discharge en masse, a court

would have to conclude (1) that the pilots and flight attendants

actually terminated their employment as a result of those

changes; (2) that Continental acted without business justification

and with anti-union animus in making the changes; (3) that the

changes created by the emergency work rules were intolerable;

and (4) that the changes were in some way unlawful and

“wrongful,” i.e., they must violate a legal duty owed by the

employer to the employee, such as the duty not to discriminate on

the basis of union membership. See NLRB vy. Cable Vision, Inc,

660 F.2d 1 (ist Cir. 1981); LP. Stevens & Co. vy. NLRB, 461 F.2d

490, 494 (4th Cir. 1972); Newspaper Guild of Boston v, Boston

13B

Herald-Traveler Corp, 238 F.2d 471, 472 (1st Cir. 1956);

Guardian Ambulance Serv, 228 N.L.R.B. 1127, 1130 (1977);

Highland Avenue Convalescent Home, Inc, 220 N.L.R.B. 998

(1975).

14. There is no evidence per the previous Findings of the

Court that the events of September 14, 1983 included mass

termination, either actual or constructive of pilots or flight

attendants. The unions do not claim that their members were

actually involuntarily discharged on September 24, 1983, nor do

they claim that the strikers voluntarily terminated their

employment. This Court’s previous finding that Continental

began strenuous efforts to get the pilots to return to work

immediately after filing its bankruptcy petitions further refutes

the constructive discharge claim.

15. Continental did not lack a business justification for the

changes in wages and work rules. This Court has already expressly

found compelling business justifications for Continental's actions,

and has rejected a claim by these unions that Continental acted in

bad faith in implementing new work rules on September 24.

16. The changes in wages, work rules and working conditions

for Continental pilots and flight attendants on September 24,

1983 were not legally “wrongful” because they were approved as

legal and proper by this Court’s June 19, 1984 and December 5,

1984 decisions allowing the rejection of the collective bargaining

agreements with ALPA and UFA, respectively. In accordance

with NLRB vy, Bildisco & Bildisco, 104 S. Ct. 1188 (1984), this

Court held that the changes in wage rates and work rules

implemented by Continental on September 24, 1983 “were

accomplished not by the employer's unilateral action, but rather

by operation of law.” Memorandum of Authorities Authorizing

14B

Rejection of ALPA Collective Bargaining Agreement at 35

(emphasis in original). The Bankruptcy Court also rejected the

unions’ claim that the implementation of wage rates and work

rules that differed substantially from those in the collective

bargaining agreements would violate the status quo provision of

the Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. § 156. See Memorandum Of

Authorities Authorizing Rejection Of ALPA Collective

Bargaining Agreements at 30-31. The Bankruptcy Court held that

“the rationale of the Supreme Court in Bildisco is equally

applicable to the Railway Labor Act and the status quo provisions

of that Act must give way to the realities of bankruptcy.”

Memorandum of Authorities at 37-38. Thus, in accord with the

Supreme Court’s ruling in Bildisco, this Court expressly held that

the rejection of Continental’s labor agreements and the changes

in wages and work rules implemented on September 24, 1983 did

not violate the Railway Labor Act. Memorandum of Authorities

at 38-39.

17. This Court’s prior decisions approving rejection are the

law of this case and as such are binding on the unions, and cannot

be collaterally attacked in this claims proceeding. See Arizona v.

California, 460 U.S. 605, 618 (1983); Messenger v, Anderson, 225

U.S. 436 (1912); White v. Murtha, 377 F2d 428, 431 (Sth Cir.

1967).

18. The contention that the denial of contract rejection

damages to strikers would unlawfully discriminate against them

vis-a-vis non-strikers must also be rejected. “The axiom that an

employer need not remunerate strikers for work not performed

means simply that it is no more discriminatory for an employer to

deny compensation for absence due to strike than to deny it for

any other period of absence.” Kimberly-Clark Corp,, 171

N.L.R.B. 614, 621 (1968). An award of contract rejection

|

:

:

:

j

:

15B

damages to employees striking a bankrupt company would grant

them a windfall not enjoyed by employees striking a solvent

company, a completely anomalous result.

19. The contention that the contract rejection claims of

striking employees are “minor disputes” which must be resolved

through binding arbitration before an adjustment board lacks

merit for two reasons. First, a Bankruptcy Court has not only

jurisdiction, but also responsibility to decide all claims against an

estate. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1334(a), 157(a), (b)(1), (b)(2)(B). A

determination whether to let a particular dispute be decided in

another forum is committed to the Bankruptcy Court’s absolute

discretion. See, ¢.g., Zimmerman y. Continental Air Lines, Inc.,

712 F.2d 55 (3d Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 104 S. Ct. 699 (1984); In

re F&T Contractors, Inc,, 649 F2d 1229 (6th Cir. 1984). Second,

a Bankruptcy Court’s exercise of discretion is to be guided by

whether in the circumstances of a particular case a specialized

tribunal might provide a more efficacious means of resolving a

dispute. See, ¢.g.. Inre Brookhaven Textiles, Inc,, 21 B.R. 204, 207

(Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1982). The question of strikers’ entitlement to

contract rejection damages is a question of law which presents no

need for either a specialized tribunal or particularized expertise,

inasmuch as the breach of contract is already established and the

sole issue is whether strikers are entitled to damages under

federal labor law. See In. re Muskegon Motor Specialties

Company, 313 F.2d 841, 843 (6th Cir. 1963).

20. This motion presents a pure issue of law — whether

strikers are entitled to damages for lost future wages and fringe

benefits for the time periods in which they withheld their Services

from the Debtors. To decide this motion, this Court need not

decide apy factual issues — such as who precisely was on strike

and when; whether the strikers failed to mitigate damages; how

16B

many employees were on strike; or the total amount by which the

claims would be reduced if the Debtors prevailed on this motion.

21. No affidavits or other admissible evidence have been

offered to establish that there is a genuine dispute as to any

material fact. Because this Court is persuaded that Continental is

entitled to judgment as a matter of law, partial summary judgment

is appropriate and will be granted. See Fed. R. Civ. P. 56(e).

22. For the foregoing reasons, the union claims for contract

rejection damages will be disallowed to the extent they seek

damages for striking employees for any period of time during

which the employees on whose behalf the claims were asserted

were on strike. At an evidentiary hearing to be held on the claims,

the Court can proceed to determine the amount by which the

unions, claims should be reduced due to their strikes against

Continental.

. 23. This Court has previously held, and reaffirms here, that it

does not believe that Continental’s motion for partial summary

judgment presents issues whose resolution requires the

consideration of federal laws regulating activities affecting

interstate commerce within the meaning of 28 U.S.C. § 157(d).

The Court here interprets the phrase “federal Laws” to mean

“federal statutes”. Although Continental’s objections to the

unions’ claims at issue herein can in some respects be said to arise

out of federal labor law, the resolution of Continental’s motion

has not required the interpretation of any federal statute or the

balancing of comoeting federal policies. Recognizing, however,

that the unions have filed motions to withdraw the reference of

Continental’s motion from the Bankruptcy Court, this Court in

the interest of efficiency and economy to the Court as well as the

parties hereby rules in the alternative that the value of the unions’

ES FE Ss

17B

claims for contract rejection damages on behalf of striking

employees for the period of time they were on strike is estimated

pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 502(c) to be zero.

The above findings and conclusions are hereby made a part of

and incorporated in the attached Order Granting the Motion for

Summary Judgment. It is so

ORDERED and ADJUDGED this 10th day of September,

1985.

is/ T Glover Roberts _

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

APPENDIX C

iC

APPENDIX C

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

IN RE:

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES CORPORATION, 83-04019-H2-5

CONTINENTAL AIR LINES, INC. 83-04020-H1-5

Texas INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, INC., 83-04021-H3-5

TXIA Ho.pincs CorPORATION, 83-04022-H3-5

Consolidated Case

No. 83-04019-H2-5

Debtors

ORDER

For the reasons set forth in the findings of fact and conclusions

of law attached hereto, the motion of Debtors for summary judg-

ment disallowing the Union of Flight Attendants claims for con-

tract rejection damages is hereby granted. In the alternative, such

claims for contract rejection damages are hereby estimated to

~ have zero value. It is

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this the 8th day of May, 1986.

ls/ T. Glover Roberts

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY JUDGE

2C

IN THE UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY COURT

FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

HOUSTON DIVISION

In RE:

CONTINENTAL AIRLINES CORPORATION, 83-04019-H2-5

CONTINENTAL AIR Lines, INc. 83-04020-H1-5

TEXAS INTERNATIONAL AIRLINES, INC., 83-04021-H3-5

TXIA Ho.pincs CorPorRATION, 83-04022-H3-5

Consolidated Case

No. 83-04019-H2-5

Debtors

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW WITH RESPECT TO

THE UNION OF FLIGHT ATTENDANTS

CLAIMS FOR CONTRACT REJECTION DAMAGES

The following facts are either stipulated, uncontested or estab-

lished by the evidentiary record in this case in previous matters, of

which the Court takes notice and is considered a proper and ade-

quate basis on which to make these Findings and Conclusions:

FINDINGS OF FACT

1. On September 24, 1983, Continental Airlines, Inc. and

Texas International Airlines, Inc. (hereinafter “Continental”)

filed petitions for reorganization under Chapter 11 of the United

States Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 1101, et seg.

2. Thereafter, Continental filed a motion pursuant to

§ 365(a) of the Bankruptcy Code, 11 U.S.C. § 365(a), to reject (a)

3C

the collective bargaining agreement between Continental and the

Union of Flight Attendants. After an extended evidentiary

hearing, the Court, on December 5, 1984 entered its order

rejecting two collective bargaining agreements between the

Debtors and the Union of Flight Attendants (“UFA’) that had

been in effect on the day Debtors filed their bankruptcy petitions.

Order Allowing Rejection of Collective Bargaining Agreements

(Dec. 5, 1984). On April 30, 1985, UFA filed a proof of claim for

$409, 190,273.00 in contract rejection damages, including

damages for lost future wages and benefits in the amount of

approximately $299, 140,000.

3. By their terms, the UFA contracts were to expire on

October 1, 1983 (as to the Debtors’ DC-9 flight attendants) and

on December 1, 1984 (as to the Debtors’ Boeing 727 and DC-10

flight attendants). The latter contract included provisions which

permitted reopening of the contract prior to the expiration date

in the event of certain government actions regarding deregulation

or the acquisition of new types of aircraft. Debtors take the

position that the Boeing 727 and DC-10 contract was properly

reopened by virtue of a February 4, 1983 letter from Continental

to UFA requesting negotiations under the authority of these

provisions. The DC-9 contract was reopened in August 1983.

4. In its proof of claim, UFA claimed lost future wages and

benefits as contract rejection damages for the period September

24, 1983 through and including May 31, 1986, as to both UFA

contracts. The Union Committee asserts that these employee

claims for damages are the difference between what they would

have earned had they continued to work under the contract and

what they in fact earned.

4C

5. On September 20, 1985, Continental (hereinafter

Debtors) filed a Motion to Estimate the Vale of the UFA Claims

for Contract Rejection Damages at Zero Value and for Summary

Judgment disallowing these claims in their entirety. UFA and the

Union Committee strongly opposes both motions.

6. The UFA contracts relative to the motion here are in

evidence in the record described above of which this Court has

taken notice. These contracts are clear and unambiguous. It

appears that: (a) They do not contain any guarantee of

employment; (b) Each contract contains terms as to the wages

and working conditions which will be provided to employees

covered by the agreements when work is available; and (c) Each

contract provides that, when work is not available, management

may furlough employees, subject to notice of furlough and

furlough pay requirements, which themselves are subject to

exceptions for various contingencies not within management's

control.

7. At the time of the filing of the bankruptcy petitions in this

matter, the Debtors unilaterally modified work rules and reduced

wages and fringe benefits paid to flight attendants represented by

UFA as well as those of pilots and other employees, pending this

Court’s approval of the Debtors’ motion to reject the contracts

under 11 U.S.C. § 365. In re Continental Airlines Corp., 38 Bankr.

67 (Bankr. S.D. Tex. 1984). This Court approved the rejection of

the flight attendant contracts, effective retroactively to

September 24, 1983, in accordance with 11 U.S.C. § 502(g). This

Court has already found that if Debtors had not made changes in

their labor contracts, including specifically the UFA contracts,

within a short time the Debtors would have run out of cash and

gone out of business. Findings of Fact and Conclusion of Law

Relating To The Rejection of Collective Bargaining Agreements

oes Sr See Cot

pote eas 8 | alana

SC

With UFA (December 5, 1984) at 8; Memorandum of Authorities

Authorizing Rejection of Air Line Pilots Association Collective

Bargaining Agreements (August 17, 1984) at 33; Findings of Fact

and Conclusions of Law Relating To The Rejection Of The

Collective Bargaining Agreement With ALPA (August 17, 1984)

at 19 28, 40. :

CONCLUSIONS OF LAW

1. The unions contend that this Court, which rejected the

ALPA and UFA collective bargaining agreements pursuant to the

Bankruptcy Code itself, 11 U.S.C. § 365, now does not have

jurisdiction to liquidate the claim or to estimate the value of any

damages created thereby through the Bankruptzy Code “breach”

of these contracts. 11 U.S.C. § 365(g). This contention is clearly

without merit. Bankruptcy courts have jurisdiction to decide the

allowability of all claims against an estate. 28 U.S.C. §§ 1334(a);

157(a), (b)(1), (b)(2)(B).

2. The Court has jurisdiction to resolve on the merits the

question of liability, if any, and damage claims for contract

rejection presented by the present motion. The motion does not

require direct interpretation or application of the statutory

language of Federal Labor Statute or any other federal statutes

regulating any interstate commerce, and therefore § 152(d) is

inapplicable here. The question rests squarely in the bankruptcy

claims adjudication process. 11 U.S.C. § 502. In re Continental

Air Lines, Inc., Order Granting Debtors’ Motion to Estimate, 57

B.R. 841 (S.D. Tex. 1985).

3. Further, use of the estimation procedure by this Court will

allow the Debtors’ reorganization plan to proceed without

unnecessary or costly delay to the Debtor or other creditor groups

6C

who may have reached agreement relative to debt repayment.

The estimation procedure can, however, be simplified by

resolution of the summary judgment issues now on file by the

Court’s review of undisputed facts and facts previously

established in the case, and application of the appropriate law.

4. The courts have recognized that bankruptcy judges have

discretion to determine the allowability of claims in bankruptcy

even if the claim ordinarily would have been liquidated by another

tribunal. Of course, in the absence of bankruptcy, every claim

would have been resolved in another forum. In Zimmerman _y.

Continental Air Lines, Inc,, 712 F2d 55, 56 (3d Cir. 1983), cert.

denied, 104 S.Ct. 699 (1984), a manufacturing company entered

into a contract with Continental which contained an arbitration

clause. The Arbitration Act, 9 U.S.C. §§ 1-208, “requires a federal

court to stay proceedings pending arbitration if issues pertinent

to the dispute are also the subject of an arbitration agreement

between the parties.” 712 F.2d at 56. Subsequently, the

manufacturing company went into bankruptcy and initiated

adversary proceedings against Continental alleging that

Continental’s claim under the contract was improper. Under the

authority of the Arbitration Act, Continental requested that the

matter be deferred to arbitration.

The bankruptcy court there denied Continental’s request, the

Third Circuit affirmed, and the Supreme Court denied certiorari.

Relying on the policies underlying the 1978 Bankruptcy Reform

Act, the Third Circuit held that the Act impliedly modified the

express provisions of the Arbitration Act. 712 F.2d at 56, 59.

Bankruptcy proceedings, however, have long held a special

place in the federal judicial system. Because of their impor-

tance to the smooth functioning of the nation’s commercial

SEA WORLD Ba me

7C

activities, they are one of the few areas where Congress has

expressly preempted state court jurisdiction. See 28 U.S.C.

§ 1334. While the sanctity of arbitration is a fundamental

federal concern, it cannot be said to occupy a position of

Arbitration Act. Thus while a bankruptcy court would have

the power to stay proceedings pending arbitration, the use of

this power is left to the sound discretion of the Bankruptcy

Court.

712 F.2d at 59-60 (emphasis supplied).

5. Citing Gary Aircraft Corp, v, United States (In re Gary

Aircraft Corp.), 698 F.2d 775 (Sth Cir.), cert. denied, 104 S.Ct. 82

(1983), the unions further argue that bankruptcy courts lack

jurisdiction to disallow claims in disputes that Congress has

committed to a specialized tribunal. The unions’ reliance on Gary

Aircraft is misplaced. Gary merely established that, under the

1898 Act, bankruptcy courts ordinarily should defer to the Armed

Services Board of Contract Appeals (“ASBCA’”) for the

liquidation of claims arising from government defense contracts.

(The Gary case factually originated with Gary filing a claim under

its contract against the government, with the government filing a

counter claim.) The case does not provide that bankruptcy courts

have no “jurisdiction” over such claims. Moreover, the Fifth

Circuit based its decision on its findings that deferral would not

impair the satisfaction of other bankruptcy claims and that

government contracts are extremely complex, technical and

esoteric, 698 F.2d at 782, not on the proposition that every claim

’

8C

in bankruptcy which otherwise would have been decided by a

“specialized tribunal” should be liquidated by that tribunal.

To the contrary, the Fifth Circuit expressly acknowledged that,

where bankruptcy court estimation or liquidation by the ASBCA

would unduly delay the administration of the estate, the

bankruptcy court retains the power under the 1898 Act to disal-

low the claim in its entirety. 698 F.2d at 784 n.7. Under the 1978

Bankruptcy code, which applies to this proceeding, the authority

of a bankruptcy court to estimate the value of unliquidated claims

is, if anything, even stronger, since new 11 U.S.C. § 502(c) re-

quires the court to estimate the value of unliquidated claims

where liquidation would unduly delay reorganization.! The 1978

Act significantly expanded bankruptcy subject matter jurisdiction:

[The 1978 Act] evidenced a strong Congressional or federal

policy in favor of the newly created bankruptcy court having

jurisdiction which is sufficiently broad to promptly and ex-

peditiously hear and determine all cor.troversies invulving

matters of law, equity and even admiralty.

"See Addison v. Langston (In re Brints Cotton Marketing, Inc.), 737 F.2d

1338, 1340-41 (Sth Cir. 1984); In re Curtis, 40 Bankr. 793, 801 n.7 (W.D. La.

1984); In re Nova Real Estate Investment Trust, 23 Bankr. 62, 65 (Bankr. E.D.

Va. 1982); In re Brada Miller Freight Systems, Inc., 8 Bankr. 62 (Bankr. N.D. Ala.

1980); 3 Collier on Bankruptcy 4 502.03 at 502-74, 75 (15th ed. 1985).

Accordingly, even if this Court did not have jurisdiction to disallow the claim, it is

clear that the Court nevertheless would have jurisdiction to estimate the value of

the contract rejection claims. Order Granting Debtors’ Motion to Estimate All

Contingent Unliquidated Employee Claims For Purposes of Chapter 11

Confirmation Pursuant to Section 502(c) of the Bankruptcy Code (Sept. 26,

1985). Thus, for example, courts may estimate the value of claims asserted on

behalf of employees by the NLRB, without deferring to any NLRB administrative

process, which might otherwise apply. In re Unit Parts Co., 9 Bankr. 386 (W.D.

Okl. 1981) (court rejects the same arguments and authorities presented by the

unions here, refusing to defer to NLRB, noting that these authorities predate the

1978 expansion of bankruptcy court jurisdiction).

9C

i 9 Bankr. 408, 410 (Bankr. W.D. Va.

1981); see Zimmerman vy, Continental Airlines, Inc., supra, 712

F.2d at 56.

6. In addition, the Debtors’ motion for summary judgment

and estimation in this claims proceeding presents a very different

case for bankruptcy court resolution of the issues than was

present in Gary. First, unlike Gary, the time necessary to

complete arbitration of the unions’ multi-million dollar contract

rejection claims could seriously impair the claims and interests of

the substantial body of other creditors who have already settled

with the debtors and now await distribution. As pointed out in

another case, in Gary, “the only asset of the bankrupt’s estate. ..

consisted of a. . . contractual claim against the United States

government.” In re Compton Corp., 40 Bankr. 880, 884 (Bankr.

N.D. Tex. 1984). Where resolution of a claim could “affect the

amount, existence and priority of claims to be paid out of the

general funds, and, thus involve the interest of other creditors,”

courts have held that a bankruptcy judge does not abuse his

discretion in refusing to compel arbitration of such a claim. Inre

F&T Contractors, Inc,, 649 F.2d 1229, 1232 (6th Cir. 1981); see

Johnson v England, 356 F.2d 44, 51-52 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 384

U.S. 961 (1966). Moreover, since “[p]rotection, of general

creditors is a major function of . . . bankruptcy proceedings,”

submission of the union claims to arbitration would be

particularly unsound because Continental’s creditors have not

consented to arbitration and would have no right to participate in

the arbitration process. 649 F.2d at 1233 n.1; 356 F.2d at 52.”

2 In 4. dition, in arbitration there would be no right to discovery, arbitrators

are less likely to follow legal standards than courts, and judicial review would be

limited. See Zimmerman, Cross and Johnson. supra.

GOUT MARI PS ae aa

10C

Second, unlike the ASBCA in Gary, RLA arbitration panels

(system boards of adjustment) are not specialized tribunals with

particular expertise in the specific issues of fact that must be

resolved in order to value the claim as it relates to this proceeding.

If presented to a system board, bankruptcy contract rejection

claims would be decided by arbitrators who would not necessarily

be more familiar with the particular contract language or past

practice of the parties than is this Court, and who may, like this

Court, have to take evidence and hear testimony in order to

resolve any actual issues of fact, if any exist. Unlike the Court,

however, the arbitrators would have no cognizance of the reor-

ganization or the interests of other creditors. Particularly, in these

circumstances, deferral to arbitration is not required. See In re

Amalgamated Foods, Inc,, 41 Bankr. 616, 617, 619 (Bankr. C.D.

Cal. 1984) (debtor need not submit ERISA claims to arbitration

since bankruptcy claims process adequate to resolve claims).

Third, Gary was decided under the 1898 Act. Bankruptcy courts

which have considered Gary generally have found it inap-

propriate to defer claims to another forum in cases under the

1978 Code. For example, in Amalgamated Foods, the court

refused to defer a claim under the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act (“ERISA”) to arbitration even though the statute

contains a mandatory arbitration procedure. Distinguishing Gary

and Nathanson v. NLRB, 344 U.S. 25 (1952), the court rejected

the creditor’s contention that the claim required expertise not

possessed by the court. 41 Bankr. at 618-619. Comparing the

bankruptcy claims process under the 1978 Bankruptcy Reform

Act to ERISA'’s statutory arbitration procedure, the court con-

cluded that both procedures furthered the policy of speedy dis-

position.

a ed Ae kB i | ge Aa Me A iodme Be ORR) Be) DD A Be A Bi ii i te

11C

I find that the bankruptcy claims procedure achieves the goal

sought by ERISA arbitration —indeed, that the claims pro-

cedure may serve that goal better than ERISA arbitration

itself. For that reason, I hold that the debtor may bypass ar-

bitration in favor of the claims procedure.

41 Bankr. at 616-617. See also In re Page-Wilson Corp., 37 Bankr.

527, 529 (Bankr. D. Conn. 1984); Inre Compton Corp., supra, 40

Bankr. at 884.

These cases are undoubtedly correct, since the Bankruptcy

Reform Act of 1978:

[Significantly expands the jurisdiction of the bankruptcy

courts and is based on the notion that to protect the positions

of both the bankrupt and its creditors, bankruptcy actions

should not be subject to unnecessary delay and all claims and

issues relevant to such action should be resolved in one ¢x-

iti i

Zimmerman v, Continental Air Lines, supra, 712 F.2d at 56 (em-

phasis supplied).°

7. Finally, and most conclusively, as UFA itself points out in

its opposition, at 6, in NLRB v. Bildisco & Bildisco, 104 S. Ct. 1188

(1984), the Supreme Court said that claims for damages arising

out of the bankruptcy court’s own rejection of a collective

> The Bankruptcy Amendments and Federal Judgeship Act of 1984, Pub. L.

No. 98-353, did not detract from bankruptcy court subject matter jurisdiction, but

merely allocated the exercise of that jurisdiction between the bankrupicy and

district courts. 28 U.S.C. § 1334; 1 Collier on Bankruptcy 1 3.01 at 3-19 to 3-29

(15th ed. 1985); Carlton v. BAWW, Inc., 751 F.2d 781 (Sth Cir. 1985).

—_—---—— —--—— -—-

12C

bargaining agreement must be adjudicated in the bankruptcy

court.

[Cjlaims arising after filing, such as result from the rejection

of an executory contract, must also be presented through the

normal administration process by which claims are estimated

and classified. See 11 U.S.C. § 502 (g); Inre Hoe & Co., Inc.,

508 F.2d 1126, 1132 (2d Cir. 1974); Workman vy. Harrison,

282 F.2d 693, 699 (10th Cir. 1960). Thus, suit may not be

brought against the debtor-inpossession under the collective

bargaining agreement; recovery may be had only through ad-

ministration of the claim in bankruptcy.

104 S. Ct. at 1198-99 (emphasis supplied). Thus, Gary presents no

obstacle to the resolution of this Court of the Claims issues, and

the unions’ jurisdictional objections are totally without merit.

8. Although the rejection of an executory contract

constitutes a breach of that contract, 11 U.S.C. § 365(g), Section

502(b)(1) of the Bankruptcy Code, i1 U.S.C. § 502(b)(1),

provides that a claim against an estate in bankruptcy is to be

disallowed if such claim “is unenforceable against the debtor and

property of the debtor, under any agreement or applicable law for

a reason other than because such claim is contingent or

unmatured.” The legal standards for measuring the value of a

bankruptcy claim for contract breach are therefore the same as

those which would be applied if the bankruptcy had not occurred.

In re Nuisance Corp., 17 Bankr. 80, 82 (Bankr. D.N.J. 1981); 3

Collier on Bankruptcy 9 502.02 at 502-24 et seq. (15th ed. 1985).

A bankrupt in breach of contract pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 365 may

assert any defense to the liability flowing from the statutorily

created breach which any other promisor in breach of contract

od

13C

may assert. Mazirow v, Grigsby (In re White Motor Corp.}, 44

Bankr. 563 (N.D. Ohio 1984).

9. The Court must therefore determine the allowability of

these claims by applying the appropriate substantive law which

would have been applied in the non-bankruptcy context. Sec, ¢.g.,

Co., 642 F2d 744, 748 n.8 (Sth Cir. 1981); Yanston Bondholders

Protective Committee v, Green, 329 U.S. 156, 161 (1946).

10. The rejected contracts were entered into pursuant to the

Railway Labor Act, 45 U.S.C. §§ 151, et seg., as expressly stated

at the outset of each contract. A Railway Labor Act contract,

“like the Labor-Management Relations Act § 301 contract, is a

federal contract and is therefore governed and enforceable by

federal law, in the federal courts.” [AM y, Central Airlines, Inc.

372 US. 682, 692 (1963). The Supreme Court has also held that

“the substantive law to apply in suits under § 301(a) is federal law,

which the courts must fashion from the policy of our national

labor laws.” Textile Workers of America v. Lincoln Mills of

Alabama, 353 U.S. 448, 456 (1957). Although the Debtors are

subject to the Railway Labor Act, the federal courts have often

looked to decisions interpreting the National Labor Relations

Act, including § 301 of the LMRA amendments to that Act, for

guidance in RLA matters. See generally Trainmen v, Jacksonville

Terminal Co., 394 U.S. 369, 383 (1969) (although NLRA cannot

be imported wholesale into the railway labor area, NLRA case

law provides “the most relevant corpus of national labor policy”);

irli 538 F.2d 46 (2d Cir. 1976) (using

NLRA Supreme Court decisions to delineate scope of mandatory

subjects of bargaining under the RLA).

*

a”

14C

11. Asa matter of federal labor case law, employees subject to

a collective bargaining agreement are not entitied to lost future

wages as damages under such an agreement when the employer

ceases operations, unless the agreement guarantees future

employment. See, ¢.g., LL_Case v, NLRB, 321 U.S. 332 (1943);

Fraser v, Magic Chef-Food Giant Markets, Inc, 324 F2d 853 (6th

Cir. 1963); American Bakery & Confectionery Workers v, Great

Atlantic & Pacific Tea Co,, 357 F Supp. 1322 (WD. Pa. 1973),

aff'd mem., 491 E2d 748 (3d Cir. 1974); Abbington v. Dayton

Malleable, Inc,, 561 F Supp. 1290 (S.D. Ohio 1983), aff'd mem.,

738 F.2d 438 (6th Cir. 1984); Union de Trabajadores v, Helio San

Jeronimo Corp,, 434 F. Supp. 643 (D.P.R. 1977); Hotel &

Restaurant Employees Alliance, Local 237 v, Alleghney Hotel

Co,, 374 F Supp. 1259 (W.D. Pa. 1974). As noted above, the

contracts at issue did not guarantee employment, but only

provided the terms and conditions applicable to available work.

The presence of contract provisions which permitted

management to furlough employees appears to confirm that by

their own terms these contracts were on their face not guarantees

of employment.

12. As a matter of federal labor case law »nder both the

NLRA and the RLA, and as a matter of the common law of

contracts in general, no promisee is entitled to more than nominal

damages for breach of contract unless that promisee can

demonstrate actual injury proximately caused by the breach.

IBEW vy. A-] Electrical Services, 535 F2d 1, 3 (10th Cir.) cert.

denied, 429 U.S. 832 (1976); Brotherhood of R.R. Trainmen v,

Denver & R.G.WR. Co,, 338 F.2d 407 (10th Cir. 1964), cert.

denied, 380 U.S. 972 (1965); Restatement (Second) of Contracts

$§ 346-347.

15C

13. As noted above, but for the rejection of the collective

bargaining agreements, the Debtors would have ceased

operations and flight attendants would have had no cognizable

claims for lost future wages because the rejected contracts did not

obligate the Debtors to provide employment, but rather only

established rates of pay and working conditions for any

employment which was available. Federal labor law does not

require an award of damages for time periods during which no

work would have been available in any event, even where an

employee was discharged in violation of the NLRA. See NLRB v,

Biscayne Television Corp., 337 F.2d 267, 268 (Sth Cir. 1964);

Nabors v. NLRB, 323 F.2d 686, 690 (5th Cir. 1964); Midland Ross,

Inc, 239 N.L.R.B. 1205 (1979), order enf’d, 653 F.2d 239 (6th Cir.

1981); NLRB v, United Contractors, Inc,, 614 F.2d 134, 138 (7th

Cir. 1980); NLRB v, Columbia Tribune Publishing Co,, 495 F.2d

1384, 1393 (8th Cir. 1974); NLRB vy, American Creosoting Co.,

139 F2d 193 (6th Cir. 1943); Brown & Root, Inc, 112 N.L-R.B.

295 (1955); Lauren Burt, Inc. of Colorado, 114 N.L.R.B 295

(1955); Hill Transportation Co,, 102 N.L.R.B. 1015 (1953). Under

the facts of this case, but for the Court’s rejection of the collective

bargaining agreements at issue here, the Debtors would have

gone out of business and flight attendants represented by UFA

could not have claimed lost future wages as damages, because the

agreements did not guarantee future employment.

14. Even if UFA’s claim for damages are meritorious, UFA

damage calculations are flawed. The amount of damages to be

awarded for breach of a collective bargaining agreement is limited

by both the termination date of the agreement at issue and by the

application of 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(7). The termination date of the

contract establishes the ending date for damage calculation

purposes.

16C

The fact that the contract which was breached was due to

expire April 30, 1976, is controlling as to the period for which

damages may be awarded. Nothing in that contract could

have created an expectation that the employees would have

continued to enjoy the same wages and benefits beyond the

expiration of the contract.

IBTv. Standard Brands 579 F.2d 1282, 1295 (Sth Cir. 1978), cert.

denied, 443 U.S. 913 (1979). Accord, UAW v, Roblin Industries,

561 F Supp. 288, 298 (W.D. Mich. 1983) (rights under agreements

can extend beyond expiration date only if agreement so provides);

Sun Oil Co, of Pa. v. NLRB, 576 F2d 553, 558 (3d Cir. 1978);

Baker v, Fleet Maintenance, Inc,, 409 F2d 551, 554 (7th Cir.

1969); In. re Vic Snyder, Inc,, 23 Bankr. 185 (E.D. Pa. 1982). As

previously noted, the UFA contracts expired by their own terms

on October 1, 1983 (as to DC-9 flight attendants) and December

1, 1984 (as to Boeing 727 and DC-10 flight attendants). UFA‘s use

of May 31, 1986 as the ending date for both contracts in its cal-

culations is based upon its assertions regarding the “average”

length of negotiations in the airline industry. These assertions,

however, are unsupported by any requisite evidence or ap-

propriate pleading and have not been shown by UFA to bear any

relationship here to the “average” length of negotiations at Con-

tinental and Texas International Airlines, as the UFA’s own wit-

nesses admitted in depositions regarding their calculations.

Deposition of C. Lampe at 30-31 (Aug. 14, 1985); Deposition of

C. Winkler at 32-33 (Aug. 14, 1985). This is the only evidence

before this Court. It appears uncontradicted and was offered by

the Debtors. The assertions, the Court concludes, bear no

relationship at all to what, in fact, would have happened to Con-

tinental, which was not in “average” financial condition, if the

contracts had not been rejected.

RE OO FE ES Le ee

17C .

15. Continental’s obligation, under the Railway Labor Act, to

maintain the “status quo” after the contracts expired is excused by

the Bankruptcy Code. NLRB v, Bildisco & Bildisco, 104 S. Ct.

1188 (1984) (despite statutory obligation to maintain wages and

working conditions provided for in collective bargaining

agreement, Chapter 11 debtors may unilaterally lower wages

prior to order rejecting the agreement); Memorandum of

Authorities Authorizing Rejection of Air Line Pilots Association

on Collective Bargaining Agreements (August 17, 1984) at 30-40.

16. An addition to the restriction on damages created by the

term of the contract, Section 502(b)(7), 11 U.S.C. § 502(b)(7),

further limits damages for breach of “employment contracts” to a

maximum of one year’s compensation. Collective bargaining

agreements are “employment contracts” within the meaning of 11

U.S.C. § 502(b)(7). In-re Cortland Container Corp., 30 Bankr.

715 (Bankr. N.D. Ohio 1983).

17. UFA’s reliance on the Report of the Commission on the

Bankruptcy Laws of the United States, H.R. Doc. No. 93-137

(1973), to argue that Section 502(b)(7) does not apply to

collective bargaining agreements is patently unpersuasive. In that

Report, a commission (not the U.S. Congress) described a

provision similar to what became Section 502(b)(7) as

“principally” (not exclusively) intended to apply to long-term

management contracts, and to the termination of contracts for

future “athletic, entertainment or other services.” The language

under discussion itself indicates that the commission did not

intend the cap provision to apply only to such contracts.

Moreover, the report in question is not part of the legislative

but is a report of a

national commission on bankruptcy which concluded its

proceedings five years before the 1978 Code was enacted. As

18C

enacted, § 502(b)(7) contains no limitation to “management,”

“entertainment” or “sports” contracts. The legislative history of

the 1978 Code reflects only an intention to track a similar

provision on leases, which had placed a cap on the damages which

might be claimed for the rejection of a lease to prevent unjust

enrichment of a lessor. H.R. Rep. No. 95-595, 95th Cong., ist

Sess. 352-354 (1977); S. Rep. No. 95-989, 95th Cong., 2d Sess.

62-65 (1978).

18. No affidavits or other admissable evidence have been

offered to establish that there is a genuine dispute as to material

fact. Because this Court is persuaded that Continental is entitled

to judgment as a matter of law, summary judgment is appropriate

and will be granted. Federal Rules of Civil Procedure 56(e).

19. For the foregoing reasons, the Union of Flight Attendant’s

claim for contract rejections damages will be disallowed in its

entirety.

20. This Court further rules that the value of UFAss claim for

contract rejection damages, pursuant to its proof of claim, is

estimated, pursuant to 11 U.S.C. § 502(c) to be zero based upon

the Court’s conclusion that these claims are ultimately without

merit.

The Court would note that even if the damages for breach of

the collective bargaining agreements were deemed appropriate,

UFAs contract rejection damages claims would be limited to the

lesser of one year’s compensation or the compensation due under

the contracts from September 24, 1983 to the date that the:con-

tract was no longer effective by its own terms. In the case of the

DC-9 contract, damages would thus be limited to compensation

for the period September 24, 1983 to October 1, 1983, the

19C

specified expiration date. In the case of the Boeing 727 and DC-

10 contract, damages could be no greater than one year’s compen-

sation as provided in the Bankruptcy Code, Section 502(b)(7).

These Findings of Fact and Conclusions of Law are hereby in-

corporated in and made a part of the order attached hereto. It is

sO

“4

ORDERED AND ADJUDGED this 8th day of May, 1986.

si T. Glover Roberts _

UNITED STATES BANKRUPTCY J UDGE

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.