Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Person v. Meachum

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

| FILED

91 1485 MAY 15 1999

No.

OFFIGE OF THE CLERK

In The

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1991

4

ERIC N. PERSON,

Petitioner,

LARRY MEACHUM,

Respondent.

+

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

¢

HUBERT J. SANTOS, ESQ

51 Russ Street

Hartford, CT 06106

(203) 249-6548

Counsel of Record for Petitioner

Printed by

Brescia’s Printing Services, Inc

66 Connecticut Boulevard

East Hartford, CT 06108

528-4254

ee ee

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

WHETHER THE PETITIONER WAS

DEPRIVED OF HIS CONSTITUTIONAL RIGHT TO

PRESENT A DEFENSE AND CONFRONT THE

WITNESSES AGAINST HIM WHEN THE TRIAL

COURT PREVENTED THE PETITIONER FROM

PRESENTING MATERIAL EVIDENCE RELATING

TO THE SOURCE OF CHILD COMPLAINANT’S

KNOWLEDGE OF SEX?

TABLE OF CONTENT

QUESTION PRESENTED ........

TABLE OF CONTENTS ...... li, ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES .. iv, v, vi

OPINIONS BELOW .......... Vill

FREER 666 664 ae ix

CONSTITUTIONAL

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..... IX, X

STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED ..... X, xl

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ...... l

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE COURT OF APPEALS

ERRED IN HOLDING THAT

THE EXCLUSION OF MATERIAL

EVIDENCE CONCERNING

DEFENDANT’S GUILT DID NOT

AMOUNT TO A VIOLATION OF

PETITIONER’S SIXTH AMENDMENT

RIGHTS UNDER THIS COURT’S

HOLDINGS IN CHAMBERS V.

MISSISSiPPI AND WASHINGTON

¥. Ss cs oe ee 9

IE tt ee 16

eg tt. GE LA

1

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Federal Cases:

California v. Green, 399 U.S.

149, 177, 90 S. Ct. 1930, 26

we Ft eee 10

Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S.

284, 93 S. Ct. 1038, 35

L. GS. oe ae (1975)... 9,10,12,16

Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S.

308, 94 S. Ct. 1105, 39

eS Ff) ee 10,12

Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S.

335, 83 S. Ct. 792, 9

me @ 2 i | eee 10

Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S.

730, 107 S. Ct. 2658, 96

ee ae rr 10

Mary] Vv a 2 Sa

110 S. Ct. 3157,

111 L. Ed. 2d 666 (1990) .... 11,15,16

Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S.

436, 86 S. Ct. 1602, 16

L. Bd. 2d G34 (1966) .\......... 10

Ohio v. Roberts, 488 U.S.

56, 100 S. Ct. 2531, 65

ee ei: 11,12

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S.

39, 107 S. Ct. 989, 94

we Se et) y) 12

Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S.

400, 93 S. Ct. 351, 34

a. we Rt): ee 9,10,11,16

Rosario v. Kuhlman, 839,

ob) Bote le ee 8,13

Taylor v. Illinois, 484 U.S.

400, 108 S. Ct. 646, 98

ies Ee Ot POU bs oe es 1]

United States v. Augrs, 427 U.S.

97, 96 S. Ct. 2392, 49

Li Se A ee CPD se ee a 13,14

United States v. Nixon, 422 U.S.

225, 94 S. Ct. 3090, 41

ee ey. | 9

United States v. Nobles, 422 U.S.

225, 95 S. Ct. 2160, 45

bai se ee RET eae eee ea Y

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S.

14, 87 S.Ct 1920, 18

L. Ed. 2d 1019 (1967) ....... 9,10,11

Webb v. Texas, 409 U.S.

95, 93 S.Ct. 351, 34

me & ffs, rere 9

State Cases:

Commonwealth v. Ruffen, 399 Mass.

811, S07 N.E.2d 684 (1987) .... 15,16

State v. Carver, 37 Wash. App.

122, 678 P.2d 842 (1984) ........ 16

State v. Howard, 121 N.H. 53,

GP Ai.ae Get CNP) 6c we cw ees 16

State v. Oliver, 158 Ariz. 22,

TOO P.a6 TGFl (ISGe) we ee es 16

State v. Padilla, 110 Wis.2d

414, 328 N.W.2d 263 (1982) ...... 16

State v. Person, 20 Conn. App.

115, 564 A.2d 626 (1989) ..... viii, 5,6

State v. Person, 215 Conn.

653, 577 A.2d 1036 (1990) .... passim

United States Constitution:

Sixth Amendment .......... passim

Fourteenth Amendment .......... iX

v1

Connecticut General Statutes:

7 ES Bren ae OL en a ee x, 1

TREES <b 5.4 oo oh 0s OO l

ee 8 arene te mi

SP Ss 5 av he ee eee ee x,4,5

Vil

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

ERIC N. PERSON, Petitioner

v.

LARRY MEACHUM, Respondent

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND

CIRCUIT OF THE UNITED STATES OF AMERICA

TO THE HONORABLE CHIEF JUSTICE AND

ASSOCIATE JUSTICES OF THE SUPREME COURT OF

THE UNITED STATES:

The Petitioner, Eric N. Person, respectfully prays that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the order of the Court

of Appeals for the Second Circuit entered in’ this

proceeding on February 18, 1992.

Vill

OPINIONS BELOW

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit issued its

opinion affirming the denial of the Petitioner’s Motion for

Summary Judgment on Petition for Habeas Corpus relief

under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 on February 18, 1992, which

opinion was unreported. (App. A).

Preceding the Second Circuit Court of Appeal’s

decision, the District Court for the District of Connecticut

denied the Petitioner’s Motion for Summary Judgment on.

his Petition for Habeas Corpus Relief and granted the

Respondent’s Motion for Summary Judgment on the

petition. The District Court’s decision is reported in Person

v. Meachum, 772 F. Supp. 69 (1991). (App. B).

Preceding the Petition for Habeas Corpu., the

Connecticut Supreme Court issued an opinion affirming

Petitioner’s conviction on charges of sexual assault in the

second degree and risk of injury to a minor, which decision

is reported in State v. Person, 215 Conn. 653, 577 A.2d

1036 (1990). (App. C). A petition for writ of certiorari

from this Court to the Connecticut Supreme Court was

denied on January 14, 1991, Person vy. Connecticut, oe

U.S. , 111 S. Ct. 756 (1991).

Preceding the Connecticut Supreme Court decision, the

Connecticut Appellate Court issued its opinion affirming

the Petitioner’s conviction on September 26, 1989, which

decision is reported in State v. Person, 20 Conn.App 115,

564 A.2d 626 (1989). (App. D).

JURISDICTION

The order of the Second Circuit Court of Appeals was

rendered on February 18, 1992. This petition for a writ of

certiorari was filed within ninety (90) days of that denial.

Therefore, this Court’s jurisdiction is invoked pursuant to

28 U.S.C. Sec. 1254(1).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS INVOLVED

Sixth Amendment

In all criminal prosecutions, the accused shaii enjoy the

right to a speedy and public trial, by an impartial jury of

the State and district wherein the crime shall have been

committed, which district shall have been previously

ascertained by law, and to be informed of the nature and

cause of the accusation; to be confronted with the witnesses

against him; to have compulsory process for obtaining

witnesses in his favor, and to have the Assistance of

Counsel for his defense.

Fourteenth Amendment

Section 1. All persons born or naturalized in the United

States, and subject to the jurisdiction thereof, are citizens

of the United States and of the State wherein they reside.

No State shall make or enforce any law which shall abridge

the privileges or immunities of citizens of the United

States; nor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law; nor deny

to any person within its jurisdiction the equal protection of

the laws.

FEDERAL RULES OF EVIDENCE

Rule 403. Exclusion of Relevant Evidence on Grounds of

Prejudice, Confusion, or Waste of Time

Although relevant, evidence may be excluded if its

probative value is substantially outweighed by the danger

of unfair prejudice, confusion of the issues, or misleading

the jury, or by consideration of undue delay, waste of time,

or needless presentation of cumulative evidence.

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

§$53-21. Injury or risk of injury to, or

impairing morals of, children

Any person who wilfully or unlawfully causes or

permits any child under the age of sixteen years to be

placed in such a situation that its life or limb is

endangered, or its health is likely to be injured, or its

morals likely to be impaired, or does any act likely to

impair the health or morals of any such child, shall be

fined not more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not

more than ten years or both.

$53a-71. Sexual assault in the second degree: Class C

Felony: Nine months not suspendable.

(a) A person is guilty of sexual assault in the second \

degree when such person engages in sexual intercourse

X]

with another person and such other person is (1) under

sixteen years of age.

(b) Sexual assault in the second degree is a Class C felony

for which nine months of the sentence imposed may not

be suspended or reduced by the court.

§ 54-86e. Information re address or telephone number of

victim of sexual assault to be confidential

The name and address of the victim of a sexual assault

under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-71, 53a-72a, 53a-72b

or 53a-73a, or injury or risk of injury, or impairing of

morals under section 53-21, or of an attempt thereof shall

be confidential and shall be disclosed only upon order of

the superior court, except that such information shall be

available to the accused.

X1i

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Trial Court Proceedings

Petitioner, Eric N. Person, was accused in a four count

information with sexually abusing his two children,

Jennifer and Jamie.’ Counts three and four involved his

daughter, Jamie, and charged the Petitioner with risk of

injury in violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-21 and sexual

assault in the second degree in violation of Conn. Gen.

Stat. § 53a-71(a)(1). After a jury trial, the Petitioner was

found guilty of counts three and four involving Jamie.

At trial, the state’s case centered on the testimony of

Petitioner’s eight year old daughter, Jamie Person. The

Petitioner and his ex-wife had joint custody of Jamie who

visited the Petitioner on weekends at his apartment.

(Transcript of, hereinafter, "T", 11-24-88 at 27). Jamie

testified that during her visits the Petitioner would take her

into his bedroom and engage in sexual acts. (T. 11-12-87

at 30-37). To corroborate Jamie’s testimony by way of

constancy of accusation, the State also called Jamie’s

mother, Debra Person, and Detective Yakacki. (T. 11-17-

87 at 152-162). The prosecution also called Jamie’s

brother, Cameron, and Jamie’s pediatrician, Dr. Hochstadt.

' Counts one and two involved his daughter, Jennifer, and

charged the petitioner with risk of injury in violation of Conn. Gen.

Stat. §53-21 and sexual assault in the fourth degree in violation of

Conn. Gen. Stat. §53a-73a(1)(D). The petitioner was found not

guilty of these counts.

The defense called as witnesses various persons who

visited with or saw the Petitioner at his apartment during

the time he was alleged to have assaulted Jamie. Joseph

Marzullo, the Petitioner’s landlord, testified that he

observed the Petitioner with his children and that he

believed the Petitioner was a good father, active with the

children and found Jamie to be very affectionate toward her

father. (T. 11-24-87 at 50-64). Eric "Ricky" Person, the

Petitioner’s son, also testified that during his visits with the

Petitioner Jamie was usually very happy. (T. 11-25-87 at

66).

Petitioner also testified in his own defense. (T. 12-2-87

at 11-105). He denied sexually abusing Jamie. He

explained that during the period Jamie and his other

children visited his Danbury apartment his close friend,

Dean Mercier was almost always present. Mercier visited

nearly every weekend and stayed overnight on occasion.

(T. 12-2-87 at 18-25). Mr. Mercier also stated that he

visited the Petitioner in Danbury on "about every weekend"

since May of 1984. (T. 12-2-87 at 137). He testified that

it appeared to him that the Petitioner had a very good

relationship with Jamie and his other children, and that he

had no reason to believe that the Petitioner had any kind of

unusual relationship with his children. (T. 12-2-87 at 151).

The state’s case against the Petitioner rested almost

entirely on the testimony of the Petitioner’s younger

daughter. She was the only person to directly testify that

any acts of deviant sexual contact ever occurred.

Despite the critica] nature of Petitioner’s daughter’s

testimony, the Petitioner was not allowed to introduce

certain evidence that his younger daughter’s best friend,

2

Lauren Ardell, had made strikingly similar accusations

against her own father two weeks prior to the time that

Petitioner’s daughter accused Petitioner of sexually abusing

her. The affidavit in support of Petitioner’s arrest and

Lauren’s father reveal the striking similarities in the two

cases.’ Lauren’s father’s arrest affidavit is dated February

24, 1987, and Petitioner’s arrest affidavit is dated March

10, 1987.

Jamie Person testified that the first person with whom

she discussed Petitioner’s conduct was her best friend

Lauren Ardell. (T. 11-2-87, 64). Apparently, the two girls

discussed the respective allegations of sexual abuse during

recess at school. (T. 11-12-87, 64) Lauren reported the

conversation to her mother who then informed Petitioner’s

wife, the alleged victim’s mother. (T. 11-12-87, 64-66).

Based on the foregoing, defense counsel sought to

examine Lauren to determine whether Petitioner’s

daughter’s knowledge of deviate sex was the result of what

she learned from Lauren. (T. 11-24-87, 15-17). Defense

counsel wanted to demonstrate an alternative source of

? See Arrest Warrant Application for John Ardell and Arrest

Warrant Application for Eric Person, Appendices E and F,

respectively. The warrants for petitioner’s arrest and John Ardell’s

arrest, reveal that Jamie and Lauren discussed the alleged sexual

abuse by their respective fathers. On February 3, 1987, when asked

by their respective mothers, both girls stated that their respective

fathers had asked them to suck their penises. Both girls went to the

same school, shared the same social worker, Susie Laffette, who

reported their respective complaints to police and the same

pediatrician, Dr. Judith Hochstadt who reported her findings to

police. Both girls were products of a divorce, who visited their

fathers on weekends. See Appendices E and F, respectively.

3

Jamie’s explicit sexual knowledge. Defense counsel wished

to explore the details of the alleged assault of Lauren by

her own father and an earlier incident of possible sexual

assault involving her baby sitter for the purpose of proving

the source of Jamie’s knowledge of sexual activity.

Defense counsel intended to rebut the state’s theory that the

only way that Petitioner’s younger daughter could have

learned of deviate sexual activity was from the actual abuse

by her father. Further, defense counsel intended to

demonstrate that Jamie got the idea of complaining against

her father from Lauren. Defense counsel also wanted to

show a motive and course of conduct by the two girls to

sexually fantasize and fabricate accusations. (T. 11-24-87,

15-17). Defense counsel wanted to uncover Lauren’s role

in the filing of a criminal complaint against the Petitioner.

Defense counsel stated that Lauren’s testimony was vital to

the defense, that the Petitioner was entitled to put his

theory of defense before the jury and that the jury should

have been allowed to decide whether Lauren was the true

reason why a complaint was made against the Petitioner.

(T. 11-24-87, 3).

The trial court prohibited any inquiry of Lauren Ardell

except as to what Jamie Person told her concerning the

activities of the Petitioner. The trial court ruled that any

evidence as to what which Lauren Ardell may have told

Jamie concerning Lauren’s alleged sexual abuse by her

father was irrelevant in the Petitioner’s trial and that it

would be a violation of Connecticut General Statute § 54-

86e° to question the friend on the specifics of the alleged

sexual abuse by her father. (T. 11-24-87, 13).

The court denied post trial motions for a judgment of

acquittal and to set aside the verdict as to these two counts.

The Petitioner was sentenced to concurrent terms of ten

years on each count. New counsel appeared for the

Petitioner and a timely appeal was filed.

State Appellate Proceedings

On September 26, 1989, the Connecticut Appellate

Court affirmed the conviction. State v. Person, 20 Conn.

App. 115 (1989)(hereinafter "Person I")(App. D). The

Petitioner presented seven (7) claims of error, only the

following of which is relevant to this petition:

(1) Defendant was denied his right to present a defense

and his right to confrontation when the trial court refused

to allow the defendant to present evidence that the child

complainant’s best friend had accused her own father of

conduct very similar to the conduct allegedly committed by

the defendant.

The Appellate Court found no error in the trial court’s

* Connecticut General Statute § 54-86e provides:

The name and address of the victim of a sexual assault under

section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-71, 53a-72b or 53a-73a, or Injury

or Risk of Injury, or Impairing of Morals under section 53-21,

or of an attempt thereof shall be confidential and shall be

disclosed only upon order of the superior court, except that such

information shall be available to the accused.

5

ruling prohibiting the Petitioner from presenting the

evidence that Lauren Ardell, Petitioner's younger

daughter’s best friend, had made striking similar

accusations of sexual abuse against her father. The

Appellate Court relied in part on the trial court’s ruling that

evidence was not relevant. The Appellate Court refused to

analyze Petitioner’s claim that the exclusion of this

evidence constituted an error of constitutional proportion.

Person I, at 127 n.5. The Appellate Court held that

Petitioner had not adequately briefed this as a claim of

constitutional error as opposed to an error of state

evidentiary law. /d.

After the Connecticut Appellate Court affirmed

petitioner’s conviction, the Connecticut Supreme Court

refused to grant Certification on the question of whether

the trial court’s exclusion of the testimony from Lauren

Ardell constituted a violation of petitioner’s constitutional

right to present a defense.‘

Federal Habeas Corpus Proceedings

On April 26, 1991, the Petitioner filed a Petition for

Habeas Corpus relief under 28 U.S.C. § 2254 in the

United States District Court for the District of Connecticut.

Petitioner raised the following claims, among others, in his

petition:

Petitioner was deprived of his rights to compulsory

* The Connecticut Supreme Court granted Certification on the

issue of whether the prosecutor’s repeated and improper questioning

of a defense witness with the purpose of eliciting a Fifth Amendment

privilege constituted a violation of the Due Process clause.

6

process and to present a defense when he was not

allowed to present evidence that the child complainant’s

best friend had made strikingly similar accusations of

sexual abuse against her own father.

On cross-motions for summary judgment, the District

Court granted respondent’s Cross-Motion for Summary

Judgment and denied Petitioner’s Motion for Summary

Judgment. Ruling on Crcss-Motion for Summary

Judgment, August 6, 1991 (hereinafter "Ruling")(Appendix

B).

As to Petitioner’s claim that the exclusion of Lauren

Ardell’s testimony violated his constitutional right to

compulsory process and to present a defense, the District

Court first ruled that Petitioner had adequately briefed the

claim to the Connecticut Appellate Court and that the claim

was therefore not procedurally barred from habeas review.

Ruling, at 14 n.4. The District Court then found that the

exclusion of the testimony of the best friend of Petitioner’s

younger daughter who had made strikingly similar sexual

abuse allegation about her own father just prior to the

allegation made by Petitioner’s younger daughter did not

violate Petitioner’s compulsory process rights under the

Sixth Amendment. The District Court stated that "the trial

court’s exclusion [of Lauren Ardell’s testimony] on the

grounds of irrelevance, immateriality, and arguable

privilege under Connecticut shield laws did not amount to

a constitutional violation of Petitioner’s right to present a

defense." Id. at 17.

Thereafter, the Petitioner appealed to the Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit. The Second Circuit found

that even though the evidence was material, as an arguable

basis for impeaching the victim, the exclusion of this

7

evidence did not amount to a due process violation. Order,

Eric N. Person v. Larry R. Meachum, Docket Number 91-

2405 (February 18, 1992)(hereinafter "Order")(App. A).

The Court of Appeals held that "its admissibility involved

an assessment of numerous factors, including the burden of

subjecting the young girlfriend to further questioning

beyond the trial at which the girlfriend’s father had been

acquitted." Id. at 2. The Court of Appeals then cited its

own decision, Rosario v. Kuhlman, 839 F.2d 918, 925 (2d

Cir. 1988), as support for its conclusion that the exclusion

of this evidence did not meet the test of depriving the

petitioner of a fundamentally fair trial. Jd.

Original federal jurisdiction in the District Court for the

District of Connecticut was invoked under 28 U.S.C. §

2241 to bring a claim for habeas corpus relief under 28

U.S.C. § 2254. Appeal of the denial of habeas corpus

relief by the District Court for the District of Connecticut

was taken to the Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit

pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 2253.

REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN

HOLDING THAT THE EXCLUSION OF

MATERIAL EVIDENCE CONCERNING

DEFENDANT’S GUILT DID NOT AMOUNT

TO A VIOLATION OF HIS SIXTH

AMENDMENT RIGHTS UNDER THIS

COURT’S HOLDINGS IN CHAMBERS JY.

MISSISSIPPI AND WASHINGTON V. TEXAS.

Our adversarial system of justice relies predominantly,

if not completely, on the parties for the presentation and

exploration of relevant facts. United States v. Nobles, 422

U.S. 225, 230, 95 S. Ct. 2160, 45 L. Ed. 2d 14] (1975).

To that extent, "[t]he need to develop all relevant facts in

the adversary system is both fundamental and

comprehensive." United States vy. Nixon, 418 U.S. 683,

709, 94 S. Ct. 3090, 41 L. Ed. 2d 1039 (1974). “The

ends of justice would be defeated if judgments were to be

founded on a partial or speculative presentation of the

facts." Nixon, Supra, at 709. Within this framework, a

number of this Court’s decisions make clear that there are

few more basic rights afforded a criminal defendant than

the right to compulsory process; see, Chambers y.

Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284, 302, 93 S. Ct. 1038, 35 L. Ed.

2d 297 (1973), citing, Webb vy. Texas, 409 U.S. 95, 93 S.

Ct. 351, 34 L. Ed. 2d 330 (1972); Washington vy. Texas,

388 U.S. 14, 18 (1972): and to confront witnesses against

an accused. see, Pointer v. Texas, 380 U.S. 400, 406, 85

S. Ct. 1065, 13 L. Ed. 2d 923 (1965).° While the

Constitution affords certain other protections in the face of

criminal accusations, Gideon v. Wainwright, 372 U.S. 335,

83 S. Ct. 792, 9, L. Ed. 2d 799 (1963)(Sixth Amendment

guarantee of counsel); Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 4365,

86 S. Ct. 1602, 16 L. Ed. 2d 694 (1966)(establishing

procedures to protect Fifth Amendment privilege against

self-incrimination);

The right of an accused in a criminal trial to due

process is, in essence, the right to a fair opportunity

to defend against the state’s accusations, the rights

to confront and cross-examine witnesses and to call

witnesses in one’s own behalf have long been

recognized as essential to due process.

Chambers at 294. As Justice Harlan stated in his

concurrence in California v. Green, "[{iJf anything, the

confrontation guarantee may be thought, along with the

right to compulsory process, merely to constitutionalize the

right to a defense." Id., 399 U.S. 149, 177, 90 S. Ct.

1930, 26 L. Ed. 2d 489 (1970).

Although the decisions of this Court make clear that the

right of confrontation and the right of compulsory process

are not limitless, see, Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730,

107 S. Ct. 2658, 96 L. Ed. 2d 631 (1987)(Confrontation

Clause not violated when defendant excluded from

‘The Sixth Amendment’s Compulsory Process Clause and

Confrontation Clause are binding on the states through the

Fourteenth Amendment. Washington v. Texas, supra, 388 U.S. at

18; Pointer, supra 380 U.S. at 407.

10

competency hearing of child witness); Maryland vy. Craig,

__._:;U.S. __, 110 S. Ct. 3157, 111 L. Ed. 2d 666

(1990)(Scalia, J., dissenting)(Confrontation Clause not

violated when child complainant allowed to testify via

closed circuit television); Taylor v. Illinois, 484 U.S. 400,

108 S. Ct. 646, 98 L. Ed. 2d 798 (1988)(Compulsory

Process Clause not violated by Ordering preclusion of

defense witness’ testimony as sanction for defense counsel’s

discovery rule violation), the decisions of this Court have

defined certain essential components of the rights

guaranteed by both the compulsory process clause and the

confrontation clause. At a minimum, the compulsory

process guarantees a defendant the right to present

evidence, with the state’s assistance if needed, to rebut the

State’s accusations. A criminal defendant must be able to

call witnesses on his behalf and to allow the jury to weigh

the evidence in its entirety.

"The right to offer the testimony of witnesses and

to compel their attendance, if necessary, is in plain

terms the right to present a defense, the right to

present the defendant’s version of the facts as well

as the prosecution’s to the jury so it may decide

where the truth lies."

Washington v. Texas, 388 U.S. at 18. Conversely, the

right of Confrontation requires that a criminal defendant

have the opportunity for effective cross-examination of the

witnesses against him. Pointer, supra, 380 U.S. at 406.

While a criminal conviction. will not be constitutionally

infirm because a criminal defendant has not opted to cross-

examine a witness against him, the "absence of a proper

confrontation of witnesses at trial calls into question the

ultimate integrity of the fact-finding process." Ohio vy.

1]

Roberts, 488 U.S. 56, 100 S. Ct. 2531, 65 L. Ed. 2d 597

(1980). A criminal defendant must have the opportunity

"to show that a witness is biased, or that the testimony is

exaggerated or unbelievable ... [as] this type of evidence

can make the difference between conviction and acquittal."

Pennsylvania v. Ritchie, 480 U.S. 39, 51-52, 107 S. Ct.

989, 94 L. Ed. 2d 40 (1987).

In this case, the question for this Court is whether the

trial court’s exclusion of material evidence deprived the

Petitioner of his Sixth Amendment right to present a

defense and to confront the witnesses against him. The

trial court violated Petitioner’s right under the Compulsory

Process Clause of the Sixth Amendment to present

witnesses in his own defense, Chambers, supra, at 302;

and excluded from the jury’s consideration relevant and

credible evidence which would tend to establish that the

child complainant gained her knowledge of sexual activity

from a source other than Petitioner. Lauren Ardell’s

testimony provided an acknowledged source for Jamie's

knowledge of sexual activity other than actual sexual abuse.

By restricting his ability to impeach the credibility of the

State’s primary witness by presenting evidence which

would seriously undermine the complainant’s accusations

by demonstrating an alternative source of knowledge of

sexual activity, see e.g., Davis v. Alaska, 415 U.S. 308,

319-20, 94 S. Ct. 1105, 39 L. Ed. 2d 347 (1974), the trial

court deprived Petitioner of his right to confront the

accusations of the state’s witness. Petitioner claims that

Lauren Ardell’s testimony was so material to the

presentation of his defense thzt the trial court’s exclusion

of this evidence deprived him of a fundamentally fair trial,

in violation of his right to compulsory process, to present

a defense and to effectively confront the only witness who

12

could directly implicate Petitioner in the alleged crime. see

e.g., Rosario v. Kuhlman, 839 F.2d 918, 925 (2d Cir.

1988).

The Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit rejected

the holdings of the Connecticut Appellate Court and the

United States District Court for the District of Connecticut

that Lauren Ardell’s testimony was immaterial to

impeaching Jamie Person’s credibility. See Appendix A.

However, having found that this evidence was material to

Petitioner’s defense, the Court of Appeals then held that

the exclusion of this crucial evidence did not rise to a

constitutional violation. Order, supra, at 2. The Court of

Appeals cited its own decision Rosario, supra, 839 F.2d at

925, as support for the notion that the exclusion of

evidence material to Petitioner’s defense did not violate his

constitutional rights. The Court of Appeals also held that

“numerous factors," such as the burden of subjecting the

young girlfriend to further questioning beyond the trial at

which the girlfriend’s father had been acquitted, justified

the trial court’s exclusion of material evidence. While

material evidence may be excluded in certain limited

circumstances, See e.g., Rule 403 of the Federal Rules of

Evidence (allows trial court to exclude relevant evidence on

grounds of prejudice, confusion, or waste of time), the

instant case does not fall within these limited

circumstances. Moreover, a close exarnination of the

evidence excluded in this case reveals it would have created

a reasonable doubt. United States v. Augrs, 427 U.S. 97,

13

96 S. Ct. 2392, 49 L. Ed. 2d 342 (1976).°

The prosecutor argued extensively in summation that

Jamie Person could not have gained her knowledge of

sexual activity except through personal experience.’ The

jury may well have found Petitioner guilty solely because

he failed to explain how Jamie developed an explicit

* In Augrs, this Court addressed the issue of whether a

prosecutor’s failure to disclose exculpatory evidence pursuant to a

general request for exculpatory evidence violated the defendant's due

process rights. /d., at 97. After determining that a prosecutor

indeed had a constitutional duty to turn over such evidence to a

defendant, this Court held that this duty extended only to material

evidence. Jd. at 112-13. As to the constitutional standard of

materiality, this Court stated:

The proper standard of materiality must reflect our overriding

concern with the justice of the finding of guilt. Such a finding

is permissible only if supported by evidence establishing guilt

beyond a reasonable doubt. /t necessarily follows that if the

omitted evidence creates a reasonable doubt that did not

otherwise exist, constitutional error has been commitied. This

means that the omission must be evaluated in the context of the

entire record. If there is no reasonable doubt about guilt

whether or not the additional evidence is considered, there is no

justification for a new trial. On the other hand, if the verdict is

already of questionable validity, additional evidence of relatively

minor importance might be sufficient to create a reasonable

doubt.

Id., supra, at 112-13, (emphasis added; footnotes omitted).

Petitioner argues that Lauren Ardell’s testimony creates a reasonable

doubt that did not otherwise exist.

” Appendix G.

14

knowledge of sexual activity. see Commonwealth v. Ruffen,

399 Mass. 811, 814, 507 N.E.2d 684 (Mass. 1987). Had

the jury heard this evidence it could have found that Jamie

got not only the idea of making up a sexual abuse story

from Lauren, but also the knowledge to support the

allegation.’ The jury could also have found that the two

girls were engaging in a childhood fantasy together and had

fabricated the accusations. Because of the trial court's

ruling that the evidence was irrelevant, however, the

defendant was never able to examine Lauren on these

subjects. That the two girls had fabricated the allegations,

that Jamie gained knowledge of sexual activity from

Lauren, and that Jamie got the idea of making these

accusations from Lauren were essential to the defense at

trial, because that information could have created a

reasonable doubt in the minds of the jurors as to whether

Jamie was actually abused. As trial counsel stated, it was

"vital to the defense."

The exclusion of Lauren Ardell’s testimony takes on

added importance considering the age of the complainants

in their respective cases. Jamie Person gave explicit

testimony concerning various sexual acts. As the state

argued in summation, the only source of Jamie’s

knowledge could have been at the hands of the Petitioner.

However, as Justice Scalia noted in his dissent in Maryland

* Petitioner also argues that whatever merit rests with the Court

of Appeals’ reasoning that Lauren-Ardell’s testimony could be

excluded because of the "burden of subjecting her to further

questioning" is ameliorated by the use of procedures for examining

child witnesses which this Court found to be constitutional in the

face of a Confrontation Clause challenge. see, Maryland v. Craig,

supra, 111 S. Ct. 3171.

15

v. Craig, supra, 110 S.Ct. at 3175, “some studies show

that children are substantially more vulnerable to suggestion

than adults, and often more unable to separate recollected

fantasy (or suggestion) from reality." Jd. (citing

authorities). In Maryland, Justice Scalia argued that

problems of suggestiveness on the part of young children

demanded that a defendant be allowed to confront the child

complainant. Jd., supra, at 3176. Various state court have

also examined the problem of childhood fantasy in

allegations of sexual abuse. See, Ruffen, supra, 399 Mass.

at 814-15; State v. Oliver, 158 Ariz. 22, 760 P.2d 1071

(1988); Washington v. Carver, 37 Wash. App. 122, 678

P.2d 842 (1984); State v. Padilla, 110 Wis.2d 414, 329

N.W.2d 263 (1982); State v. Howard, 121 N.H. 53, 426

A.2d 457 (1981). The Supreme Judicial Court of

Massachusetts reversed a defendant’s conviction for

sexually assaulting a young girl precisely because the trial

court prevented him from presenting credible evidence

demonstrating an alternative source of the young

complainant’s knowledge of sex. Ruffen, supra, 399 Mass.

at 814-15. Petitioner in this case could not rebut the

damaging testimony of an eight year old girl who described

sexual acts explicitly.

Petitioner respectfully argues that the Court of Appeals’

decision in this case is in contravention of this Court’s

decisions interpreting the scope of Petitioner’s

constitutional right to confront the witness against him,

Pointer, supra, at 406, and to present evidence supporting

his defense, Chambers, supra, at 302.

16

CONCLUSION

For all the foregoing reasons, the Petitioner respectfully

urges this Court to grant certiorari and review each of the

questions herein presented.

THE PETITIONER

ee eh

/

whe A Ln <t—

HUBERT J/SANTOS

A Member? of the Bar of

the Supreme Court of the

United States

In The

Supreme Court Of The United States

October Term, 1991

en

ERIC N. PERSON,

Petitioner.

V.

LARRY MEACHUM,

Respondent.

APPENDIX

*

TABLE OF CONTENTS TO APPENDIX

Opinion of the Court

of Appeals for the

Second Circuit ........

Opinion of the District

Court for the District

of Connecticut ........

Opinion of the

Connecticut Supreme ... .

Opinion of the Connecticut

Appellate Court .......

Arrest Warrant Affidavit

for John Ardell... ...

Arrest Warrant Affidavit

for Eric Person........

Excerpt of Transcript

of Prosecutor’s Summation

1A

APPENDIX A

Opinion of the Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit

2A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

At a stated term of the United States Court of

Appeals for the Second Circuit, held at the United States

Courthouse in the City of New York, on the 18th day of

February, one thousand nine hundred and ninety-two.

Conn.

B90-cv-579

Cabranes

PRESENT: HONORABLE JON O. NEWMAN

HONORABLE AMALYA L. KEARSE,

Circuit Judges.

HONORABLE THURGOOD

MARSHALL,

Associate Justice Retired.”

ERIC N. PERSON

Petitioner - Appellant,

Vv.

LARRY R. MEACHUM, COMMISSIONER

OF THE STATE OF CONNECTICUT

DEPARTMENT OF CORRECTION,

Respondent-Appellee.

" Of the United States Supreme Court, sitting by

designation.

3A

ORDER

Appeal from the United States District Court for the

District of Connecticut (Jose A. Cabranes, Judge).

This cause came on to be heard on the transcript of

record from the United States District Court for the

District of Connecticut and was argued by counsel.

ON CONSIDERATION WHEREOF, IT IS

HEREBY ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND DECREED

that the judgment of the District Court be and it hereby

is AFFIRMED.

Eric N. Person appeals from the August 7, 1991,

judgment dismissing, on motion for summary judgment,

his petition for a writ of habeas corpus to challenge his

state court conviction for sexually assaulting his

daughter, in violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-71-

(a)(1) (1991), and risking injury to her as a minor, in

violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. 53-21 (1991). The

conviction was affirmed by the Connecticut Supreme

Court. State v. Person, 215 Conn. 653, 577 A.2d 1036,

(1190), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 756 (1991).

1. The prosecutor’s questioning of the witness

Mercier, precipitating the witness’s invocation of the

Fifth Amendment before the jury, did not constitute the

sort of misconduct that might constitute a due process

violation as contemplated by Perez v. Jones, 935 F.2d

480, 483 (2d Cir. 1991). There occurred neither the

flagrant attempt to build a case out of inferences from

invocation of the privilege nor the addition of inferences

to add critical weight to the prosecution’s case. See

Namet v. United States, 373 U.S. 179 (1963). As the

District Court Judge noted, there was no reasonable basis

from which the jury could draw the inference that the

defendant sexually abused his daughter from the fact that

Mercier refused to answer questions about smoking

marijuana in the presence of the defendant and his

daughter.

2. The claim that evidence offered by the

defendant was improperly excluded does not establish a

due process violation, even if we assume that the claim

has not been forfeited for failure to present it to the

Connecticut Appellate Court in the defendant’s main

brief. The defendant sought to prove through the

testimony of the victim’s girlfriend that the girlfriend’s

account of the alleged sexual assault upon her by the

girlfriend’s father was the likely source of the victim’s

knowledge of certain details of sexual activity. The

victim testified that her knowledge stemmed from the

defendant’s assault upon her. Though we do not doubt

that this evidence was material as an arguable basis for

impeaching the victim, its admissibility involved an

assessment of numerous factors, including the burden of

subjecting the young girlfriend to further questioning

beyond the trial at which the girlfriend’s father had been

acquitted. The exclusion of this evidence did not meet

SA

OO

the test of depriving the defendant of a fundamentally

fair trial. See Rosario v. Kuhlman, 839 F.2d 918, 925

(2d Cir. 1988).

3. The prosecutor’s questioning of various

witnesses (not including the defendant) about their

marijuana use and asking a character witness for the

defendant whether his opinion would change if he were

aware of defendant’s use of marijuana did not constitute

the sort of prosecutorial misconduct cognizable on habeas

corpus, in view of the emphatic curative instruction by

the trial judge that whether the defendant had ever

smoked marijuana was "totally irrelevant" and should be

disregarded. See Blissett v. Lefevre, 924 F.2d 434, 440

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 112 §.Ct. 158 (1991).

Circuit Judges.

Associate Justice.

N.B. THIS SUMMARY ORDER WILL NOT BE

PUBLISHED IN THE FEDERAL REPORTER AND

SHOULD NOT BE CITED OR OTHERWISE RELIED

UPON IN UNRELATED CASES BEFORE THIS OR

ANY OTHER COURT.

6A

APPENDIX B

Opinion of the District Court

for the District of Connecticut

7A

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

DISTRICT OF CONNECTICUT

ERIC N. PERSON

v. : Civil No. B-90-579 (JAC)

LARRY R. MEACHUM,

Commissioner,

Department of

Correction

Appearances:

HUBERT J. SANTOS

(Santos, Peck & Smith)

Hartford, CT

Counsel for Petitioner

HARRY WELLER

(Assistant State’s Attorney,

Appellate Unit)

Office of the Chief State’s

Attorney,

Wallingford, CT

Counsel for Respondent

RA

RULING ON CROSS-MOTIONS FOR SUMMARY

JUDGMENT

JOSE A. CABRANES, District Judge:

Petitioner Eric N. Person, who is currently

serving two concurrent ten-year terms of imprisonment at

the Connecticut Correctional Institution at Somers, has

filed a petition for habeas corpus pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

§ 2254, arguing that he is currently in state custody in

violation of his constitutional right to due process. On

January 26, 1988, a judgment of conviction was entered

against him in Connecticut Superior Court, Judicial

District of Danbury, after a jury found him guilty of

sexually assaulting his younger daughter, in violation of

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53a-71(a)(1), and of risking injury to

a minor, in violation of Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-21. The

9A

jury also acquitted petitioner of two counts - of sexual

assault and of risk of injury - with respect to this older

daughter.

Both parties have moved for summary judgment.

At a hearing and oral argument on June 17, 1991, the

parties agreed that there exist no issues of material fact

in dispute requiring an evidentiary hearing. After I

permitted both parties to submit post-hearing

supplemental memoranda, this matter was deemed

submitted for decision. |

I. BACKGROUND

The State of Connecticut formally commenced

prosecution of petitioner when it filed an information

naming him on November 6, 1987. The information

charged petitioner with sexually assaulting both of his

10 A

daughters. With respect to his eight-year-old daughter,’

he was charged with one count of sexual assault in the

second degree and one count of risk of injury to a minor;

with respect to his sixteen-year-old daughter, he was

charged with one count of sexual assault in the fourth

degree and one count of risk of injury to a minor.

Petitioner was tried before a jury of six between

November 12, 1987 and December 9, 1987, and the

Honorable Patricia A. Geen presided over eleven days of

testimony. On December 15, 1987, the jury returned its

verdict of "guilty" on the two counts relating to the

younger daughter and "not guilty" on the two counts

relating to the older daughter.

' The child was eight at the time of the trial, but the events to

which she testified occurred when she was between the ages of five

and seven.

11A

Judge Geen denied petitioner’s motion to set aside

the verdict and for acquittal, concluding that "the verdict

was more than substantiated by the evidence." Trial

Transcript (Appendix A to Petitioner’s Memorandum in

Support of Motion for Summary Judgment (filed Apr.

26, 1991) (Petitioner’s Memoresidians”)) ("tr.") (Jan. 26,

1988) at 5. Judge Geen sentenced petitioner to the

custody of the respondent for a period of ten years of

each of the two counts, to be served concurrently. Id. at

30.

Petitioner appealed from his conviction to the

Appellate Court of Connecticut. He raised seven claims

of error on appeal:

(FIRST) That the Court erred in permitting

the state prosecutor’s repeated

elicitation of the Fifth Amendment

124

(SECOND)

(THIRD)

privilege from a key defense

witness in the presence of the jury;

and the prosecutor was guilty of

misconduct when she not only

knew that the witness would invoke

the privilege but she made

reference to the invocation of the

privilege in recross-examination

and during closing arguments;

That the court erred in prohibiting

defendant from presenting expert

witnesses to testify that he did not

fit the profile of a pedophile or of a

sexual deviate;

That the court erred by refusing

defendant’s request to present

13A

(FOURTH)

(FIFTH)

evidence that his younger

daughter’s best friend had accused

her own father of conduct similar

to that of which petitioner was

accused;

That the court erred in admitting

into evidence an audiotaped

interview between a police

detective and the victim and in

permitting the jury to take the tape

into the jury room during the

deliberations; |

That the court erred in permitting

two police detectives to give

opinions concerning the victim’s

credibility and concerning

14 A

“common pattern" evidence in child

abuse cases;

(SIXTH) That the court erred in twice

refusing to grant a mistrial

following the prosecutor’s

intentional and improper

questioning concerning the use of

marijuana at petitioner’s apartment;

and

(SEVENTH) That the court erred in admitting

hearsay testimony that the

defendant’s sister had told his older

daughter not to testify and then in

advising the defendant’s sister,

while in the presence of the jury, of

ISA

her privilege against self-

incrimination.

See State v. Person, 20 Conn. App. 115, 118-33, 564

A.2d 626, 629-36 (1990). The Appellate Court affirmed

the conviction. A motion for reargument en banc was

denied, and the petitioner filed a petition of certification

to the Connecticut Supreme Court. The Connecticut

Supreme Court granted petitioner’s motion for

certification, limited to the following issues:

(1) May the state, in a criminal prosecution,

require a defense witness to invoke the privilege

against self-incrimination in open court, and may

it use such invocation an subsequent waiver as a

basis for impeaching the witness and for adverse

comment it its summation?

(2) If the trial court’s ruling to permit such

conduct was erroneous, was the Appellate Court

correct in concluding that the error was harmless?

State v. Person, 213 Conn. 811, 568 A.2d 796 (1990).

16A

The Connecticut Supreme Court affirmed

petitioner’s conviction on July 17, 1990. State v.

Person, 215 Conn. 653, 577 A.2d 1036 (1990).

Petitioner’s petition for a writ of certiorari to the United

States Supreme Court was denied on January 14, 1991.

Person v, Connecticut, 111 S.Ct. 756 (1991).

On November 15, 1990, petitioner filed his

petition for habeas corpus. Although the original petition

raised the seven claims of error originally raised before

the Appellate Court, petitioner has chosen to pursue only

three of the original seven claims. These are: (1) That

petitioner was deprived of his rights under the Fourteenth

Amendment from Dean Mercier ("Mercier"), a key

defense witness; (2) that petitioner was deprived of his

rights to compulsory process and to present a defense

when he was not allowed to examine his younger

17A

daughter’s best friend on concerning similar accusations

of sexual abuse about her own father; and, finally, (3)

that petitioner was denied his right to a fair trial by the

prosecutor’s repeated questioning of various witnesses

concerning the use of marijuana at petitioner’s apartment.

II. DISCUSSION

Erroneous evidentiary rulings do not automatically

rise to the level of constitutional error. The court’s duty

on a petition for habeas corpus is to determine whether

the error was sufficiently material so as to deprive the

petitioner of fundamental fairness. Rosario v. Kuhlman,

839 F.2d 918, 924 (2d Cir. 1988). A writ of habeas

corpus may issue only where the petitioner can show that

the error deprived him of a fundamentally fair trial. See

Taylor v. Curry, 708 F.2d 886, 891 (2d Cir.), cert.

18A

denied, 464 U.S. 1000 (1983); see also Rosario, 839

F.2d at 925.

A. Invocation of the Fifth Amendment Privilege

At trial, petitioner called several witnesses who

spent time at his apartment to testify that they never

observed any unusual or improper activity between him

and his daughter. Mercier, who was petitioner’s best

friend, testified that he was often in petitioner’s

apartment when his daughter was visiting and that he

never observed any unusual behavior between the

petitioner and his daughter and that he believed that they

had a good relationship. State v. Person, 215 Conn. at

657, 577 A.2d at 1038. On cross-examination, the

following colloquy took place:

Q: Well, how sharp would you say your

perception of events taking place in the apartment

was at the -- between the dates in question?

19A

A: Very sharp.

Q: Well, isn’t true, sir, that with regard to your

powers of perception while you were at the

defendant’s apartment during the dates in

question, that you were frequently smoking

marijuana --

Tr. (Dec. 3, 1987) at 76-77.

The petitioner objected to this question, and Judge

Geen excused the jury. After the court ruled that the

prosecutor’s question was proper because smoking

marijuana “has a bearing upon the ability of a person to

remember and relate," id. at 80, Mercier requested the

opportunity to consult with his attorney. After he was

recalled for cross-examination and the prosecutor once

again asked him about his marijuana use, Mercier

invoked his privilege against self-incrimination. Id. at

111. The prosecutor asked ten questions relating to the

20A

use Of marijuana, and to each question, Mercier invoked

his Fifth Amendment privilege.

On the following day, petitioner recalled Mercier

to the stand, and he waived his Fifth Amendment

privilege. Tr. (Dec. 4, 1987) at 5. During recross-

examination, the prosecutor inquired of Mercier whether

he changed his answer because he learned that he could

not be prosecuted for his marijuana use. Id. at 9-10.

Mercier responded that his prior invocation of his

privilege resulted from his confusion during cross-

examination. The prosecutor continued by asking a

series Of questions designed to demonstrate an

inconsistency between Mercier’s prior invocation of his

Fifth Amendment privilege and his present denial of

marijuana use at the petitioner’s apartment.

21A

The Connecticut Appellate Court concluded, and

respondent has conceded, that "it was improper for the

trial court to permit recross-examination for the purpose

of establishing inconsistency between the implications of

Mercier’s assertion of the privilege against self-

incrimination and his subsequent testimony that he had

not used marihuana in the defendant’s apartment."

Person, 20 Conn. App. at 123, 564 A.2d at 631.

However, the Appellate Court also concluded that the

error was harmless. Id.; see also Person, 215 Conn. at

660, 577 A.2d at 1040 (Connecticut Supreme Court

concluding that petitioner has not met burden of

demonstrating that erroneous action was harmful). "[T]he

jury could reasonably have believed the testimony of

both Mercier and the victim and still have found the

defendant guilty." Id. at 664, 577 A.2d at 1041.

22 A

There are essentially two questions before me:

First, was the error committed by the prosecutor purely

“evidentiary” or could it implicate petitioner’s

constitutional right to due process of law for which

habeas corpus relief is appropriate? Second, if the error

could be a constitutional violation, were petitioner’s due

process rights in fact violated?

l. Has Petitioner Alleged a Constitutional

Violation?

In Namet v. United States, 373 U.S. 179 (1963),

the Supreme Court considered the question of whether

the trial court committed reversible error in permitting

the Government to question witnesses about whether they

engaged in criminal activity with the defendant after it

was known that they were going to claim their privilege

not to incriminate themselves. The Court held that

234

reversible error can occur when either "the Government

makes a conscious and flagrant attempt to build its case

out of inferences arising from use of the testimonial

privilege," id. at 186, or when, “in the circumstances of

a given case, inferences from a witness’ refusal to

answer added critical weight to the prosecution’s case in

a form not subject to cross-examination, and this unfairly

prejudiced the defendant," id. at 187; see also United

States v. Casamento, 887 F.2d 1141, 1186 (2d Cir.

1989), cert. denied, 110 S.Ct. 1138 (1990); Rado v.

Connecticut, 607 F.2d 572, 581 (2d Cir. 1979), cert.

denied, 447 U.S. 920 (1980); United States v. Maloney,

262 U.S. 535, 537 (2d Cir. 1959).?

*Namet was an appeal from a conviction in federal court for

violation of federal wagering tax laws. The standard was whether of

not the prosecution committed reversible error. Under the facts or

Namet, the Court held that no reversible error was committed, and it

affirmed the conviction. In this case, the question presented is

24A

Respondent argues that the Court in Namet "ruled

unequivocally that a criminal defendant on direct appeal

presents no constitutional claim when a witness, other

than the defendant, is forced to plead the fifth

amendment before the jury." See Respondent’s Brief in

Opposition to Motion for Summary Judgment and in

. Support of his Motion for Summary Judgment (filed May

22, 1991) ("respondent’s Brief") at 10-11. Although the

Court in Namet determined that "[n]Jo constitutional

issues of any kind [were] presented," Namet, 373 U.S. at

185, it is not clear whether the Court concluded that such

a claim could never raise constitutional issues or whether

it was simply not presented as a constitutional claim in

that particular case. See Petitioner’s Memorandum at 4.

whether Namet error can ever amount to constitutional error.

25A

In Casamento, our Court of Appeals stated that

"[t]he due process rights of a defendant may be violated"

when one or both prongs of the Namet rule are satisfied.

Casamento, 887 F.2d at 1186. In other words, if the

prosecutor consciously and flagrantly attempts to build

the Government’s case out of inferences arising from the

invocation of the privilege or if inference from a witness’

refusal to answer added "critical weight to the

prosecution’s case," Namet, 373 U.S. at 186-87, the

defendant’s due process rights would be violated.

The Connecticut Supreme Court concluded that

the error in this case could only have been evidentiary

error, because it interpreted Namet to mean that it was

never constitutional error to cause a defense witness to

invoke his Fifth Amendment privilege against self-

incrimination in the presence of a jury. Person, 215

26A

Conn. at 659, 577 A.2d at 1039. Furthermore, it held

that attempting to impeach a witness through use of that

witness’ prior invocation of his Fifth Amendment does

not rise to a constitutional level even if harm results

because the harm involves another’s exercise of a

enristitational privilege rather than a constitutional

privilege of the defendant." Id. at 660, 577 A.2d at

1039. .

I cannot concur with this holding of the

Connecticut Supreme Court. Whether or not a Namet

init amounts to a violation of due process depends

on the circumstances of the case. It is a misreading of

Namet to conclude that a prosecutor’s repeated elicitation

of the Fifth Amendment privilege from a defense witness

in the presence of the jury could never deprive a

defendant of a fundamentally fair trial. As a purely

27A

jurisdictional matter, I shall entertain petitioner’s

application, for he has indeed alleged a violation of his

rights under the Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment. The next question is whether or not his

constitutional nghts were in fact violated.

2. Was Petitioner Deprived of Due Process?

As our Court of Appeals stated in Casamento,

petitioner’s due process rights may be violated (1) when

the prosecution commits misconduct by consciously or

flagrantly attempting to build its case out of the

inferences arising from the invocation of the testimonial

privilege; or (2) when inferences from a witness’ refusal

to answer added critical weight to the prosecution’s case.

Casamento, 887 F.2d at 1186 (quoting Namet, 373 U.S.

at 186-87).

28A

It is clear that the prosecutor’s intent in cross-

examining Mercier on his use of marijuana was to

impeach his testimony that he was able accurately to

perceive the petitioner’s behavior with his younger

daughter while he was with them in petitioner’s

apartment and that he could effectively recall his

perceptions on the witness stand. But “[w]hen a witness

claims his privilege, a natural, indeed an almost

inevitable, inference arises as to what would have been

his answer if he had not refused." United States v.

Maloney, 262 F.2d 535, 537 (2d Cir. 1959) (L.Hand,

J.). In Namet and in Casamento, the witness invoked

their Fifth Amendment privileges when questioned about

criminal activity in which they had allegedly engaged

with the defendant. In those cases, the defendants

argued that the invocation of the privilege "naturally"

29A

gave rise to the inference that the defendants engaged in

the criminal conduct.

In this case, the only inference that reasonably

could have been drawn is that defendant permitted and

possibly joined Mercier in the smoking the marijuana

while in the presence of his younger daughter. As the

Connecticut Supreme Court reasons, "[w]ithout any

logical nexus between the charges pending against the

defendant and the subject matter about which Mercier

was questioned, there was no reasonable basis from

which the jury could draw an inference of defendant’s

guilt." Person, 215 Conn. at 663, 577 A.2d at 1041. It

is simply unreasonable to believe that the jury might

have drawn the inference that the petitioner sexually

abused his daughter because it had already drawn the

inference that petitioner smoked marijuana in her

30A

presence. Had petitioner been on trial for smoking

marijuana in the presence of a minor, the prosecutor’s

conduct might have been sufficient to violate petitioner’s

due process rights. Under the circumstances of this case,

however, no due process violation occurred.

Mercier’s subsequent decision to waive his Fifth

Amendment privilege -- and to deny that he ever used

marijuana in the petitioner’s apartment while the

petitioner’s younger daughter was present -- and the

prosecutor’s inquiry concerning the apparent

inconsistency between his prior invocation of the

privilege and his subsequent testimony did not prejudice

the petitioner. At most, the prosecutor raised significant

doubts about Mercier’s credibility. But he was not the

only witness who testified as to the seemingly normal

relationship between father and daughter; even if

31A

Mercier’s credibility was unfairly placed into doubt, his

testimony was cumulative.

Even more importantly, Mercier’s refusal to

answer added little if anything to the weight of the

State’s evidence against the petitioner, which was built

almost entirely on the shocking testimony of petitioner’s

eight-year-old daughter. Based on the entire record, the

prosecutor’s conduct with respect to the questioning of

Mercier, although found to be “highly inappropriate" as

a matter of state law, Person, 215 Conn. at 661, 577

A.2d at 1040, simply did not amount to the deprivation

of his rights to a fundamentally fair trial.°

> Although petitioner and respondent have argued vigorously

over which side would bear the burden of proving harmlessness

beyond a reasonable doubt compare Petitioner’s Supplemental

memorandum (filed June 21, 1991) with Respondent’s Supplemental

Memorandum (filed June 27, 1991), that question is only reached

after it is determined that a constitutional error has occurred.

Because I have found that there was no so-called Namet error, |

32 A

B. Compulsory Process

Petitioner’s second ground for habeas corpus

relief is that he was deprived of his right to compulsory

process guaranteed under the Sixth Amendment and

made applicable to the states through the Fourteen

Amendment. Specifically, petitioner claims that his right

to present a defense were violated by the trial judge’s

refusal to permit evidence that the best friend of

petitioner’s younger daughter had made “extremely

similar sexual abuse allegations about her own father."

Petitioner’s Memorandum at 11.4

need not engage in harmless-error analysis under Chapman v.

California, 386 U.S. 18 (1967).

“Respondent argues that petitioner’s second claim for relief is

procedurally barred because he did not adequately raise this

argument before the Appellate Court. The argument is without

merit. Even a cursory review of petitioner’s reply memorandum to

the Appellate Court reveals that he indicated the federal nature of his

claim, thereby preserving his right to raise it in a petition for habeas

| 33A

i eeeeiaeinerneereeeenill

Petitioner’s whole defense was based on the

theory that his younger daughter learned about explicit

sexuai activity from watching adult movies on television

and from hearing stories from her best friend. Tr. (Nov.

24, 1987) at 16. Judge Geen ruled that any testimony by

the friend about her own experiences of sexual abuse

would be irrelevant, immaterial, and in violation of

Connecticut General Statutes sections 54-86d and 54-

86e.° Id. at 19.

corpus. See Appellant’s Reply Brief (Appendix E to Petitioner’s

Memorandum) at 11.

‘Section 54-86d reads in pertinent part that

[a]ny person who has been the victim of sexual assault . . .

shall not be required to divulge his or her address or telephone

number during any trial or pretrial evidentiary hearing arising from

the sexual assault . . . provided that the judge presiding over such

legal proceeding shal) find: (1) Such information is not material to

the proceeding; (2) the identity of the victim has been satisfactorily

established; and (3) the current address of the victim is made

available to the defense.

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-86d (1985).

34A

Toeeenneneenimnmemmeel

A defendant’s right to call witnesses is not

unlimited and must comply with established rules of

evidence, see Chambers v. Mississippi, 410 U.S. 284,

302 (1973). Petitioner’s right to pursue his defense was

mited by laws designed to protect the identity of victims

of sexual assault. But more importantly, the testimony

of the child’s friend was irrelevant and immaterial. As

Section 54-86e reads as follows:

The name and address of the victim of a sexual assault...

shall be confidential and shall be disclosed only upon order of the

superior court, except that such information shall be available to the

accused.

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 54-86e (1985).

“Judge Geen concluded that the best friend was a member of the

class of persons protected by the Connecticut shield laws. She was

the complainant in a Separate criminal action, see Application for

Arrest Warrant (Appendix C to Petitioner’s Memorandum), and the

statutes themselves are broadly worded. "They are clear, they are

plan. She is not to be questioned, give her name and address and go

into a set of questions about any sexual assault of her. Otherwise,

the statute would be absolutely, totally useless." Tr. (Nov. 24,

1987) at 13.

35 A

the Connecticut Appellate Court stated when affirming

the petitioner’s conviction,

[t]he [petitioner’s] argument rests upon an

assumption that the victim’s credibility would

somehow automatically be placed in question by

evidence of the fact that she had a friend who

claimed, as did she herself, to have been the

victim of sexual abuse. There is no necessary

logical link, however, between the fact that the

victim of sexual abuse and a conclusion that the

victim might therefore be an unreliable witness

whose testimony regarding the [petitioner’s]

actions was not worthy of belief.

State v. Person, 20 Conn. App. at 127-28, 564 A.2d at

633-34.

In the affidavit in support of the arrest warrant for

the best friend’s father, the affiant wrote that he spoke

with her along and that she "did not have any concept of

ejaculation." Application for Arrest Warrant (Appendix

C to Petitioner’s Memorandum) at 3. In contrast, during

36 A

her direct examination, petitioner’s daughter testified as

follows:

Q. And, what would happen?

A. Well, I would feel the gooey stuff come in

my mouth, and I would try to spit it out, but it

just went down my throat.

Q. What was the gooey stuff like?

A. Well, it was sort of whitish -- whitish

clearish, and it would be gooey and sticky and

everything.

Tr. (Nov. 12, 1987) at 39.’ As Judge Geen

acknowledged before sentencing the petitioner and after

presiding over the entire trial:

There was an effort, a good effort, made

by the defense to try to show that the youngster

was relaying what she had seen on Playboy

Channel Television, pornographic in nature. That

defense didn’t work because on television you do

not have touch, feel. That little girl was able to

This was not an isolated reference to explicit sexual contact in

the testimony of petitioner’s daughter. Indeed, her testimony is

replete with similar references. See, e.g., Tr. (Nov. 12, 1987) at

40, 41-42, 43-44, 45, 53.

37A

describe a physical ejaculation, the feel of seman

[sic], its color, in the way nobody could do

except if it had happened to them.

. . . Her statement to the police in

February and her evidence in court in December

[sic] was consistent, but not rote. There were

differences in words, differences in expressions,

but consistency of factual recitation of the overall

history with her father. There’s no doubt in my

mind that it happened and that the defendant is

guilty.

Tr. (Jan. 26, 1988) at 25. The tral court’s exclusion of

the testimony of the daughter’s best friend on grounds of

irrelevance, immateriality, and arguable privilege under

Connecticut shield laws did not amount to an

unconstitutional violation of petitioner’s right to present a

defense.

c. Questioning Concerning Use of Marijuana

Petitioner argues as his third ground for habeas

corpus relief that the prosecutor’s deliberate, intentional

=

38 A

and improper questioning concerning the use of

marijuana at this apartment violated his due process

rights because it rendered the trial fundamentally unfair.

Petitioner’s Memorandum at 14.

The first time the issue of marijuana was raised

was when the prosecutor asked petitioner’s younger

daughter whether her father smoked anything other than

cigarettes. Tr. (Nov. 12, 1987) at 59. After dismissing

the jury, Judge Geen ruled that the question of

petitioner’s use of marijuana was irrelevant to the

allegations of sexual abuse, but she also denied

petitioner’s motion for a mistrial. Id. at 62. When the

jury returned, Judge Geen gave the following cautionary

instruction: "All right. Now, ladies and gentlemen,

we've had our little legal discussion. Therefore, I just

want to tell you that you are to ignore and strike from

39A

your mind any questions about smoking cigarettes or

anything else." Id. at 63.

Petitioner argues, however, that this asserted

prosecutorial “misconduct was not limited to one isolated

incident, but was repeated throughout the trial."

Petitioner’s Memorandum at 15. Not only did the

prosecutor engage in the colloquy with Mercier discussed

_previously, but she also asked Joseph Marzullo,

petitioner’s landlord, whether it would change his

generally favorable opinion of the relationship between

petitioner and his daughter if he “knew that the defendant

would regularly smoke marijuana in front of the

children." Tr. (Nov. 24, 1987) at 93. After excusing

the jury, Judge Geen once again sustained petitioner’s

objection while denying his motion for a mistrial. Upon

the jury’s return, Judge Geen gave another cautionary

instruction:

Now, ladies and gentlemen, with reference

to the question as to whether the witness had ever

heard of whether or not Mr. person had ever

smoked marijuana exclude that from your mind.

That’s totally irrelevant in this particular case,

and in these proceedings up to this point, there is

nothing involved with that. And, therefore, you

are to disregard that question.

Id. at 99.

Petitioner argues that the prosecution’s repeated

questioning about the use of marijuana was particularly

damaging because petitioner was being tried for risk of

injury to a minor in violation of Connecticut General

Statute section 53-21.° Petitioner argues that the jury

®Section 53-21 reads as follows:

Any person who wilfully or unlawfully causes or permits

any child under the age of sixteen years to be placed in such a

situation that its life or limb is endangered, or its health is likely to

414A

could have convicted him of risking the injury of his

younger daughter simply on the basis of the inference

drawn from the prosecutor’s improper questions about

marijuana smoking in petitioner’s apartment.

Although Judge Geen herself recognized this as a

possible danger, see Tr. (Dec. 3, 1987) at 79, the

Connecticut Supreme Court explicitly stated that "[s]uch

an inference of guilt is not reasonable in this case,

however, because the specifications of the charges

against the defendant were exclusively acts of a sexual

nature." Person, 215 Conn. at 663, 577 A.2d at 1041.

Furthermore, Judge Geen’s instructions cured any

be injured, or its morals likely to be impaired, or does any act likely

to impair the health or morals of any such child, shall be fined not

more than five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than ten

years of both.

Conn. Gen. Stat. § 53-21 (1985).

42A

“ ‘confusion that the jury might have felt. Based on the full

record of the trial, there is no question that the jury

found petitioner wie of violating section 53-21 based

on the evidence of sexual abuse.

| The fact that the jury acquitted petitioner on the

two counts charging him with risk of injury and sexual

assault of the older daughter suggests that he petitioner

was not confronted with insurmountable prejudice on the

part of the jury. On the contrary, a review of the full

record of this case leads inescapably to the conclusion

that petitioner received a fundamentally fair trial. As the

Supreme Court has repeatedly state, "the Constitution

entitles a criminal defendant to a fair trial, not a perfect

one." Rose v. Clark, 480 U.S. 570, 579 (1986); United

States v. Hasting, 461 U.S. 499, 508-09 (1983).

43A

II. CONCLUSION

The foregoing reasons, petitioner’s Motion for

Summary Judgment (filed Apr. 26, 1991) is DENIED

and respondent’s Cross-Motion for Summary Judgment

(filed May 22, 1991) is GRANTED. Judgment shall

enter in favor or respondent.

In light of the court’s ruling, petitioner Renewed

Motion to Set Bail pending resolution of the petition for

habeas corpus is DENIED as moot.

It is so ordered.

Dated at New Haven, Connecticut, this 6th day of

August, 1991.

Jose A. Cabranes

United States District Court

APPENDIX C

Opinion of the Connecticut

Supreme Court

45A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 653

State v. Person

ing that the experimental conditions were not materi-

ally different and, therefore, it was not an abuse of dis-

cretion to admit the chart.

The judgment of the trial court is affirmed.

In this opinion the other justices concurred.

STATE OF CONNECTICUT v. ERIC N. PERSON

(13868)

Peters, C. J., SHEA, CALLAHAN, COVELLO and HuLty Js. _

Convicted of the crimes of sexual assault in the second degree and risk of

injury to a child, in connection with incidents involving his daughter,

the defendant appealed to the Appellate Court. He claimed, inter alia,

that the trial court should not have refused to allow a defense witness,

M, to invoke his fifth amendment privilege against self-incrimination

outside the presence of the jury when he was asked whether he had

ever smoked marihuana in the defendant's apartment, and that it should

not have permitted the state to use his invocation of that privilege before

the jury and a subsequent waiver of the privilege as a basis for impeach-

ing M's testimony. The Appellate Court affirmed the judgment of the

trial court, and the defendant, on the granting of certification, appealed

to this court. Held:

1. The defendant did not meet his burden of showing that it was more prob-

able than not that the result of his trial was affected by the trial court's

evidentiary rulings concerning M's invocation of the privilege, which

rulings the state conceded were improper; the substance of M's testi-

mony was remote from the central issue in the case, it was highly

unlikely that the jury was confused by the testimony to such an extent

that it subconsciously linked the defendant to M's assertion of the priv-

ilege and, since other witnesses presented testimony similar to M's,

M's testimony was cumulative.

2. The defendant could not prevail on his claim, raised for the first time

on appeal, that the state should not have been permitted, in summa-

tion, to attack M's credibility by referring to the invocation of the priv-

ilege; this court could not cay that in the context of the entire trial the

summation remarks, which were inappropriate, constituted a manifest

injustice to the defendant so as to impair the effectiveness or integrity

of his trial.

Argued May 3—decision released July 17, 1990

Information charging the defendant with the crimes

of sexual assault in the second degree, sexual assault

46A

654 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

in the fourth degree and two counts of the crime of risk

of injury to a child, brought to the Superior Court in

the judicial district of Danbury, geographical area num-

ber three, and tried to the jury before Geen, J.; ver-

dict and judgment of guilty of sexual assault in the

second degree and of one count of risk of injury to a

child, from which the defendant appealed to the Appel-

late Court, Spallone, Daly, and Foti, Js., which affirmed

the trial court’s decision and the defendant, on the

granting of certification, appealed to this court.

Affirmed.

Hubert J. Santos, for the appellant (defendant).

Harry Weller, assistant state’s attorney, with whom

were Mary Elizabeth Baran, assistant state’s attorney,

and, on the brief, Walter D. Flanagan, state’s attor-

ney, and Ted Diament, law student intern, for the

appellee (state).

HULL, J. The defendant, Eric N. Person, was charged

with sexual assault in the second degree in violation

of General Statutes § 53a-71 (a) (1),! sexual assault in

the fourth degree in violation of General Statutes

§ 53a-73a (a) (1) (D)? and two counts of risk of injury

to a child in violation of General Statutes § 53-21.5 Fol-

1 General Statutes § 53a-71 provides in pertinent part: “‘(a) A person is

guilty of sexual assault in the second degree when such person engages

in sexual intercourse with another person and such other person is (1) under

sixteen years of age ... .”

2 General Statutes § 53a- 73a provides in pertinent part: “(a) A person

is guilty of sexual assault in the fourth degree when: (1) Such person inten-

tionally subjects another person to sexual contact whois . . . (D) less than

eighteen years old and the actor is such person’s guardian or otherwise

responsible for the general supervision of such person's welfare . . .

* General Statutes § 53-21 provides: “Any person who wilfully or unlaw-

fully causes or permits any child under the age of sixteen years to be placed

in such a situation that its life or limb is endangered, or its health is likely

to be injured, or its morals likely to be impaired, or does any act likely to

impair the health or morals of any such child, shall be fined not more than

five hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than ten years or both.”

47A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 655

State v. Person

lowing a jury trial, he was convicted of sexual assault

in the second degree and one count of risk of injury

to a child and acquitted of the other two charges. The

trial court thereupon sentenced the defendant to con-

current ten year terms of imprisonment on the two

counts. The Appellate Court affirmed the judgment of

conviction and determined, inter alia, that: (1) the

defendant was not unfairly prejudiced when the trial

court permitted a defense witness to invoke his fifth

amendment privilege against self-incrimination in the

presence of the jury; and (2) it was harmless error for

the trial court to permit recross-examination of the wit-

ness regarding his prior fifth amendment invocation

for the purposes of impeaching the witness’ credibil-

ity. State v. Person, 20 Conn. App. 115, 123, 564 A.2d

626 (1989). This court granted the defendant’s petition

for certification to appeal from the decision of the

Appellate Court, limited to the following issues:

“(1) May the state, in a criminal prosecution, require

a defense witness to invoke the privilege against self-

incrimination in open court, and may it use such invo-

cation and subsequent waiver as a basis for impeach-

ing the witness and for adverse comment in its

-summation?”’ and ‘‘(2) If the trial court’s ruling to per-

mit such conduct was erroneous, was the Appellate

Court correct in concluding that the error was harm-

less?”’ State v. Person, 213 Conn. 811, 568 A.2d 796

(1990). We conclude that the trial court should not have

permitted the conduct but that no prejudice resulted.

Accordingly, we affirm the decisicn of the Appellate

Court.

Although the facts are set forth in the decision of the

Appellate Court; State v. Person, supra, 20 Conn. App.

115; we discuss those facts pertinent to the issues. On

March 25, 1987, the defendant was arrested and charged

with sexual assault in the second degree and risk of

injury to a child in connection with sexual acts allegedly

48A

656 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

perpetrated against the younger of his two daughters.

In addition, he was charged with sexual assault in the

fourth degree and risk of injury to a child in connec-

tion with alleged sexual conduct involving his older

daughter. At trial, the younger victim (hereinafter the

victim) testified that following her parents’ divorce she

would regularly visit the defendant on the weekends

at his apartment in Danbury. She stated that during

these weekend visits, the defendant would take her into

his bedroom and engage in various sexual acts with her.

On one occasion he forced the victim to engage in sex-

ual activity in his car. The victim described these acts

in graphic detail and used anatomically correct dolls

to demonstrate the sexual activity.

The victim’s physician, a pediatrician, provided con-

stancy of accusation testimony. Further, the physician

testified that in her opinion the physical condition of

the victim’s genital area was consistent with the vic-

tim’s allegations of sexual assault. Constancy of accu-

sation testimony was also provided by the victim’s

mother and two police officers who had investigated

the matter.

Various defense witnesses testified that while present

at the defendant’s apartment in Danbury, they had

observed no unusual behavior between the defendant

and the victim. Other witnesses stated that the defend-

ant appeared to be a good father who had a positive

relationship with the victim. The defendant testified

in his own defense and denied the victim’s accusations.

The defendant challenges the Appellate Court’s con-

clusions regarding three incidents of alleged prosecu-

torial misconduct. We consider first the challenged

prosecutorial conduct that occurred during the presen-

tation of the defendant’s case and second the challenged

conduct that occurred during the state’s closing

argument.

49A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 657

State v. Person

I

The defendant asserts that he was denied a fair trial

- when a defense witness was required to invoke his priv-

ilege against self-incrimination in the presence of the

jury. Immediately following the defendant’s testimony,

Dean Mercier was called to testify on behalf of the

defense. Mercier stated that he was a good friend of

the defendant and that he had frequently visited the

defendant’s apartment during the time the sexual

assaults allegedly had occurred. Mercier further testi-

fied that he had never observed any unusual behavior

between the defendant and the victim and that in his

opinion, the defendant and the victim had a good rela-

tionship. He did state, however, that he had only had

occasion to go into the defendant’s bedroom while the

defendant and the victim were napping. _

On cross-examination, the state inquired-as to Mer-

cier’s ability to perceive events while present at the

defendant’s apartment. In response Mercier stated that

his perception was “‘very sharp.’”’ The state then posed

the following question: “Well, isn’t it true, sir, that with

regard to your powers of perception while you were

at the defendant’s apartment during the dates in ques-

tion, that you were frequently smoking marihuana—?”’

The defendant objected to this question, and the court

excused the jury.

Outside the presence of the jury, the state argued

that the inquiry was relevant to the witness’ ability to

observe and perceive events. The defendant argued

that the attempied introduction of the witness’ mari-

huana use was inflammatory and prejudicial to the

defendant and thereupon moved for a mistrial. The

court overruled the objection and denied the motion

for a mistrial. The court stated that although the ques-

tion would have been improper if asked of the defend-

50A

*

eee od ——

658 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

ant, it was permissible to in,uire about marihuana use

of a witness, because the question “‘has a bearing upon

the ability of a person to remember and relate.”

Mercier expressed concern that his answer to the

pending question might incriminate him and asked for

an opportunity to consult with his attorney. He left the

witness stand. When, shortly thereafter, he resumed

the witness stand, he stated that he had been unable

to contact his attorney, but that he would answer the

question anyway. The court, however, advised Mercier

to refrain from further testimony until after he had

obtained proper legal advice. The witness was then

excused.

Mercier was later recalled for cross-examination. Out-

side the presence of the jury, he informed the court that

he had been advised not to answer any questions relat-

ing to marihuana use. The defendant requested that

Mercier’s invocation of his fifth amendment privilege

occur without the jury present, reasoning that its

inflammatory and prejudicial nature outweighed its

probative value. The court denied the defendant's

request.

Following the jury’s return, the state proceeded to

engage in a litany of questions regarding Mercier’s use

of marihuana and alcohol: The defendant adamantly

objected throughout the cross-examination, but the

court overruled the majority of the objections. Mercier

asserted his fifth amendment privilege against self-

incrimination in response to ten questions.

The defendant also contends that he was denied his

right to a fair trial when the state sought to impeach

Mercier during recross-examination based upon his

prior invocation of the fifth amendment privilege. Sub-

sequent to Mercier’s initial testimony, the defendant

recalled Mercier who stated that he was waiving his

fifth amaadment privilege against self-incrimination.

51A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 659

State v. Person

Mercier testified that he had never smoked marihuana

at the defendant’s apartment while the victim was

there.

During recross-examination, the state inquired

whether Mercier’s decision to waive his fifth amend-

ment privilege was a result of newfound knowledge that

he could not be prosecuted for marihuana use revealed

at the trial. Mercier stated that such knowledge had

no bearing on his decision and that his prior invoca-

tion had primarily resulted from his confusion during

cross-examination. The state asked numerous questions

designed to imply that there was an inherent incon-

sistency between Mercier’s prior invocation of his fifth

amendment privilege and his present denial of mari-

huana use at the defendant’s apartment. The defend-

ant objected several times during the recross-examination,

but again the court permitted the state’s line of ques-

tioning.

At the outset, we note that although the defendant

has framed these claims in terms of a denial of his due

process right to a fair trial, the claims do not present

constitutional issues. “Clearly, the defendant ‘ “has put

a constitutional tag on . . . nonconstitutional eviden-

tiary ruling{s].”” State v. Douglas, 203 Conn. 445, 455,

525 A.2d 101 (1987) . . . .’ State v. Vilalastra, [207

Conn. 35, 46, 540 A.2d 42 (1988)]; State v. Vitele, 197

Conn. 396, 403, 497 A.2d 956 (1985); State v. Gooch,

186 Conn. 17, 18, 438 A.2d 867 (1982).”’ State v.

Walker, 215 Conn. 1, 5, A.2d (1990). First, with

regard to a claim of error in requiring a defense wit-

ness to invoke his fifth amendment privilege against

self-incrimination in the presence of the jury, the United

States Supreme Court has held that “{n]o constitutional

issues of any kind are presented” if such action is chal-

lenged, rather, it “is a claim of evidentiary trial error.”’

Namet v. United States, 373 U.S. 179, 185, 83 S. Ct.

1151, 10 L. Ed. 2d 278 (1963). Second, an attempt to

52A

660 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

impeach a witness during cross-examination through

use of that witness’ prior invocation of his fifth amend-

ment privilege does not rise to a constitutional level

even if harm results, because the harm involves

another’s exercise of a constitutional privilege rather

than a constitutional privilege of the defendant. United

States v. Rubin, 559 F.2d 975, 984 (5th Cir. 1977),

vacated, 439 U.S. 810, 99 S. Ct. 67, 58 L. Ed. 2d 102

(1978), rev'd in part on other grounds, 591 F.2d 278

(5th Cir.), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 864, 100 S. Ct. 133,

62 L. Ed. 2d 87 (1979); People v. Godsey, 74 Ill. 2d 64,

73, 383 N.E.2d 988 (1978); see United States v. Natale,

526 F.2d 1160, 1171 (2d Cir. 1975), cert. denied, 425

U.S. 950, 96S. Ct. 1724, 48 L. Ed. 2d 193 (1976). Thus,

these two claims of alleged prosecutorial misconduct

are claims of evidentiary error reviewable under the

standard of harmless error applicable to nonconstitu-

tional errors. State v. Burak, 201 Conn. 517, 527, 518

A.2d 639 (1986); State v. Vitale, supra, 403.

The state concedes that requiring Mercier to invoke

his fifth amendment privilege against self-incrimination

in the presence of the jury and later attempting to

impeach the witness with his prior assertion of the priv-

ilege constituted error. “‘ ‘ “When a trial error in a

criminal case does not involve a constitutional viola-

tion the burden is on the defendant to demonstrate the

harmfulness of the court’s error. State v. Ruth, 181

Conn. 187, 196-97, 435 A.2d 3 (1980). The defendant

must show that it is more probable than not that the

erroneous action of the court affected the result. Id.;

State v. McClain, 171 Conn. 293, 300, 370 A.2d 928

(1976).” State v. Jones, 205 Conn. 723, 732, 535 A.2d

808 (1988).’ State v. Vilalastra, [supra, 47].”’ State v.

Sterra, 213 Conn. 422, 436-37, 568 A-Bd 448 (1990).

We conclude that the defendant has not met his burden.

Requiring a witness to assert the fifth amendment

privilege against self-incrimination in the presence of

53A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 ' 661

State v. Person

the jury presents two potential grounds for a finding

of harmful error. “‘ ‘First, some courts have indicated

that error may be based upon a concept of prosecuto-

rial misconduct, when the Government makes a con-

scious and flagrant attempt to build its case out of

inferences arising from use of the testimonial privi-

lege. . . . Asecond theory seems to rest upon the con-

clusion that, in the circumstances of a given case,

inferences from a witness’ refusal to answer added crit-

ical weight to the prosecution’s case in a form not sub-

ject to cross-examination, and thus unfairly prejudiced

the defendant.’ ’’ State v. Reddick, 197 Conn. 115, 126, °

496 A.2d 466 (1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1067, 106

S. Ct. 822, 88 L. Ed. 2d 795 (1986), quoting Namet v.

United States, supra, 186-87.

Although the state’s repeated questioning of Mercier

with the design to elicit an invocation of the fifth

amendment privilege in the presence of the jury was

highly inappropriate as it served no legitimate purpose,

such action did not constitute prosecutorial misconduct

within the meaning of Namet v. United States. The rec-

ord indicates that the state had prior knowledge that

Mercier would invoke the privilege. Knowledge alone,

however, does not substantiate the defendant’s claim

that the state consciously sought to build its entire case

through use of Mercier’s invocation by undermining the

credibility of all defense witnesses. The state had made

its objective clear when it requested that Mercier

answer its question regarding marihuana use.‘ It

sought to raise doubt as to Mercier’s ability to observe

and perceive events, an entirely permissible subject of

cross-examination. State v. Esposito, 192 Conn. 166,

‘ Regarding its questions on marihuana use, the state claimed: “It's highly

relevant. I claim that as highly relevant. He has testified as far as percep-

tions of what he observed, what he heard, what he saw, his observations.

And, my point here is that he was not in complete control of his faculties,

and I ask this question based on good faith, Your Honor. I do not ask it

frivolously.” :

54A

‘

662 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

176, 471 A.2d 949 (1984), cert. denied sub nom. Pier-

son v. Connecticut, US. , 109 S. Ct. 1131, 103

L. Ed. 2d 193 (1989); State v. Ramirez, 16 Conn. App.

284, 291, 547 A.2d 559, cert. denied, 209 Conn. 828,

552 A.2d 434 (1988). Absent any further showing by

the defendant, therefore, we cannot conclude that the

state made “‘a conscious and flagrant attempt to build

its case out of inferences arising from [Mercier’s] use

of the testimonial psivilege.”” Namet v. United States,

supra, 186.

“Nor is this a case where a witness’ invocation of the

fifth amendment lent critical weight to the state’s case,

as where the prosecutor uses the assertion of the priv-

ilege by an accomplice or someone linked to the defend-

ant’s crimes in order to build a case against the

defendant.” State v. Reddick, supra, 127; see also

United States v. Maloney, 262 F.2d 535 (2d Cir. 1959)

(two of the witnesses who invoked their fifth amend-

ment privilege were critical witnesses in the sense that

their silence acted as the sole source of potential cor-

roboration for the state’s version of the crime). Mer-

cier was not a key witness in this regard or as a result

of any special relationship with the defendant. Com-

pare State v. Williams, 204 Conn. 523, 535, 529 A.2d

653 (1987) (record supported claim of serious prosecu-

torial misconduct where alleged improper conduct

involved cross-examination of the defendant’s principal

witness, his wife); People v. Godsey, supra, 75 (revers-

ible error where prosecutor referred to prior fifth

amendment invocation of the defendant’s wife).

The defendant contends that Mercier’s assertion of

his fifth amendment privilege added critical weight to

the state’s case, because through Mercier’s silence the

state intended to create the overall impression of a

depraved, licentious environment at the defendant’s

apartment that would lead the jury to infer that the

defendant was guilty of the crimes charged. Such an

55A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 663

State v. Person

inference of guilt is not reasonable in this case, how-

ever, because the specifications of the charges against

the defendant were exclusively acts of a sexual nature.

There were no allegations regarding a depraved or

immoral environment and drug use was not at issue.

Compare People v. Godsey, supra (likelihood that infer-

ence of witness’ guilt transferred to defendant, because

fifth amendment plea directed toward.the same crimi-

nal involvement as that for which defendant was on

trial). Without any logical nexus between the charges

pending against the defendant and the subject matter

about which Mercier was questioned, there was no rea-

sonable basis from which the jury could draw an infer-

ence of the defendant’s guilt. The defendant’s claim

of critical weight, therefore, fails in this respect as well.

Whether examination of a witness regarding his prior

fifth amendment invocation for the purpose of impeach-

ment requires reversal due to its prejudicial impact on

the outcome of the trial involves the consideration of

various factors, including: (1) the remoteness of the wit-

ness’ testimony from the crime with which the defend-

ant is charged; (2) the likelihood of juror confusion

whereby the defendant is subconsciously linked to the

witness’ assertion of the privilege; and (3) the cumu-

lative nature of the evidence, if any, provided by the

witness. See United States v. Rubin, supra, 986-88;

United States v. Natale, supra, 1171.

In this case, the substance of Mercier’s testimony was

remote from the central issue of the case, namely

whether the sexual assaults had in fact occurred in the

bedroom of the defendant’s apartment as alleged by

the victim. Whereas the victim provided direct evidence

regarding the incidents in question, Mercier’s testimony

only provided circumstantial exculpatory evidence in

that he stated that he had never observed any unusual

behavior between the defendant and the victim and that

in his opinion the defendant was a good father. Thus,

56A

664 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

the jury could reasonably have believed the testimony

of both Mercier and the victim and still have found the

defendant guilty. Compare United States v. Tomaiolo,

249 F.2d 683 (2d Cir. 1957) (reversible error where

state sought to impeach witness with prior fifth amend-

ment assertion in response to questions regarding spe-

cific offense with which defendant was charged).

It is highly unlikely that the jury was confused by the

recross-examination regarding Mercier’s prior invoca-

tion of the fifth amendment to such an extent that it

subconsciously linked the defendant to Mercier’s asser-

tion of the fifth amendiment privilege. First, it was evi-

dent from the state’s questions, which focused on

perception, that the state was trying to impeach Mer-

cier’s credibility rather than trying to create an infer-

ence as to the defendant’s guilt. Second, Mercier

arguably dispelled any adverse inference that might

have been drawn by his prior silence by proceeding to

testify that he had not smoked marihuana at the defend-

ant’s apartment while the victim was present. Finally,

Mercier responded to the state’s questions regarding

inconsistency by explaining that his assertion of the

fifth amendment resulted from his lack of understand-

ing and therefore was not inconsistent with his present

testimony. Combined with the lack of any connection

between marihuana use and the charges against the

defendant, Mercier’s rehabilitation made it unlikely that

any reasonable juror would be confused and as a result

subconsciously link the defendant to Mercier’s invoca-

tion of the privilege.

Since other defense witnesses presented testimony

similar to Mercier’s regarding their observations and

impressions of the defendant and the victim, Mercier’s

testimony was cumulative. The defendant claims that

the impeachment served to discredit all of the witnesses

who presented the same or similar evidence thereby

unduly prejudicing the defendant. As previously stated,

57A

215 Conn. 653 JULY, 1990 665

State v. Person

this argument fails, because the state did not imply that

the prior invocation was relevant to any witness’ credi-

bility except that of Mercier.

On the basis of the foregoing, we cannot conclude

that the evidentiary rulings of which the defendant

complains had a prejudicial impact on the outcome of

the trial. State v. Vilalastra, supra; State v. Jones,

supra.

II

The defendant also challenges the state’s comments

during summation regarding the credibility of Mercier

as a defense witness. During final argument, the state

attacked Mercier’s credibility by contrasting Mercier’s

initial invocation of his fifth amendment privilege in

response to questions concerning marihuana use with

his subsequent waiver and denial of marihuana use.*

Unlike the aforementioned claims of prosecutorial

misconduct, this claim was not preserved at trial. The

failure to raise distinctly at trial the matter being

objected to ordinarily renders a claim unreviewable on

appeal. Practice Book § 4185.* The defendant, however,

* During its summation the state argued: “The defendant's best friend,

Dean Mereier, a man who was at the defendant's apartment, according

to him, ninety percent of the time on the weekends, left this courtroom

with no credibility whatsoever. First he claims his fifth amendment right

not to incriminate himself in response to a line of questioning about his

mental [state] and his level of sobriety or lack thereof when he was at that

apartment, then, he comes back in and wants to answer the questions in

a different way. If he was really being straightforward with us, members

of the jury, why didn't he answer the question the first time? Because he

is not being straightforward. He is playing games with this Court. He only

wants to help his best friesd. He has no credibility. What he saw or did

not see at that Danbury apartment is as elusive as a puff of smoke.”

* Practice Book § 4185 provides in pertinent part: ‘“‘The supreme eourt

shall not be bound to consider a claim unless it was distinctly raised at the

trial or arose subsequent to the trial. The supreme court may in the inter-

ests of justice notice plain error not brought to the attention of the trial

court.”

58A

CC

at ed . AERA

666 JULY, 1990 215 Conn. 653

State v. Person

urges this court to review his claim as plain error under

In evaluating the reasons set forth above, we note

that the cumulative effect of the contested rulings was

not so prejudicial as to have affected the outcome of

the trial. Even if we were to consider the defendant’s

unpreserved claim in assessing the overall effect, our

conclusion would be the same.

Accordingly, we affirm the judgment of the Appel-

late Court.

In this opinion the other justices concurred.

” Although the defendant refers to this claim in constitutional terms, at

oral argument he clearly stated that his claim of reviewability was premised

on the plain error doctrine. Therefore, we see no need to address its review-

ability under State v. Golding, 213 Conn. 233, 567 A.2d 823 (1989), and

State v. Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 327 A.2d 576 (1973)

* “The prosecutor may not express his own opinion, either directly or

indirectly, as to the credibility of witnesses. United States v. Modica, (663

F.2d 1173, 1181 (2d Cir. 1981) cert. denied, 456 U.S. 989, 102 S. Ct. 2269,

73 L. Ed. 2d 1284 (1982)}; United States v. Drummond, 481 F.2d 62 (2d

Cir. 1973); State v. Floyd, 10 Conn. App. 361, 365, 523 A.2d 1323 {cert.

denied, 203 Conn. 809, 525 A 2d 523, cert. denied, 484 U.S. 859, 108 S

Ct. 172, 98 L. Ed. 2d 126) (1987); ABA Standards for Criminal Justice (Sec

ond), The Prosecution Function § 3-5.8 (b) (1985) _ . "* State v. Williams,

204 Conn. 523, 541, 529 A.2d 653 (1987)

59A.

Can)

APPENDIX D

Opinion of the Connecticut

Appellate Court

60A

20 Conn. App. 115 115

“ State v. Person

STATE OF CONNECTICUT v. ERIC N. PERSON

(6774)

SPALLONE, DALY and Forti, Js.

) Convicted of the crimes of sexual assault in the second degree and risk of

injury to a child in connection with incidents involving his daughter,

| the defendant appealed to this court claiming, inter alia, that the trial

court erred in permitting a key defense witness to assert his fifth amend-

ment privilege in the presence of the jury when he was asked: by the

prosecutor whether he had smoked marihuana in the defendant's apart-

ment. Held:

1. The defendant was not unfairly prejudiced by the challenged ruling, there

having been no prosecutorial misconduct and any inferences that could

have been drawn by the jury from the invocation of the privilege not

having added critical weight to the state's case; furthermore, although

the prosecutor should not have been permitted to argue that the invo-

cation of the privilege was inconsistent with the witness’ subsequent

testimony that he had not srroked marihuana, that error was harmless.

2. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in refusing to permit the

defendant to introduce testimony of a psychiatrist and a psychologist

to the effect that he did not fit the profile of a pedophile; the defend-

ant did not elicit testimony from either witness that the profile that

was to be the subject of testimony was accepted by the scientific com-

munity, nor did he establish that the witnesses had expertise in areas

related to intrafamily sexual abuse.

3. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in excluding, on relevancy

grounds, evidence that the victim's best friend had accused her own

father of sexual assault; that court reasonably could have concluded -

that the basis for the questions the defendant sought to ask was mere

speculation and that that inquiry was unjustified.

4. The defendant's challenge to the admission of an audiotaped interview

of the victim was not adequately briefed and was deemed abandoned.

5. The defendant's claims that the trial court erred in permitting one police

detective to comment on the victim's credibility and another to testify

regarding patterns of conduct of child molesters were not distinctly

raised at trial and were not entitled to plain error review.

6. The trial court did not abuse its discretion in denying t'.. Jcfendant's

motions for a mistrial following questions by the prosecution concern-

ing possible marihuana use in the defendant's apartment; even if the

questions were improper. the fact that they were asked was not enough

to deny the defendant a fair tral, particularly as the court gave an appro-

pnat: cautionary instruction.

7. The defendant's claim that the trial court erred in admitting testimony

that the defendant's sister had asked one of his daughters not to tes-

tify was not adequately briefed, and even if that ruling was erroneous,

cathe ‘ui

ae ws

61A

116 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

any error was harmless; moreover, there was no ment to the defend-

ant’s claim that he was deprived of a fair trial by that court's warning

the sister, in the presence of the jury of her mght against self-

incnmination.

Argued June 22—decision released September 26, 1989

Information charging the defendant with the crimes

of sexual assault in the fourth degree and sexual assault

in the second degree and with two counts of the crime

of risk of injury to a child, brought to the Superior Court

in the judicial district of Danbury, geographical area

number three, and tried to the jury before Geen, J.; ver-

dict and judgment of guilty of sexual assault in the sec-

ond degree and of one count of risk of injury to a child,

from which the defendant appealed to this court. No

error.

F’. Mac Buckley, with whom, on the bref, was Hubert

J. Santos, for the appellant (defendant).

Harry Weller, deputy assistant state’s attorney, with

whom, on the brief, were Walter F'lannigan, state’s

attorney and Mary Elizabeth Barran, assistant state’s

attorney, for the appellee (state).

SPALLONE, J. The defendant appeals from the judg-

ment of conviction, rendered after a jury trial, of the

crimes of risk of injury to a child, General Statutes

§ 53-21,! and sexual assault in the second degree, Gen-

eral Statutes § 53a-71 (a) (1).2 The defendant claims

' [General Statutes] Sec. 53-21. INJURY OF RISK OF INJURY TO, OR IMPAIR-

ING MORALS OF, CHILDREN. Any person who wilfully or unlawfully causes

or permits any child under the age of sixteen years to be placed in such

a situation that its life or limb is endangered, or its health is likely to be

injured, or its morals likely to be impaired, or does any act likely to impair

the health or morals of any such child, shall be fined not more than five

hundred dollars or imprisoned not more than ten years or both."

? General Statutes § 53a-71 provides, in pertinent part: ‘‘(a) A person is

guilty of sexual assault in the second degree when such person engages

in sexual intercourse with another person and such other person is (1) under

sixteen years of age

62A

20 Conn. App. 115

117

State v. Person

witness to assert his fifth amendment privilege in the

presence of the jury, (2) in prohibiting the defendant

from calling certain expert witnesses, (3) in prohibit-

ing the defendant from questioning the victim's best

friend concerning the friend’s complaint of sexual

assault against her father, (4) in admitting as a state's

exhibit an audiotaped interview given by the victim,

(5) in permitting two police detectives to give opinions

concerning the victim’s credibility and ‘“‘common pat-

tern” evidence in child abuse cases, (6) in not declar-

ing a mistrial after the prosecutor questioned a defense

witness regarding his use of marihuana at the defend-

ant’s apartment, and (7) in permitting hearsay testi-

mony that the defendant's sister had asked one of the

victims not to testify and then warning the defendant's

sister, in the presence of the jury, of her right against

self-incrimination.

The defendant was arrested and charged with one

count of sexual assault in the fourth degree; General

Statutes § 53a-73a (a) (1) (D); and one count of risk of

injury to a child; General Statutes § 53-21; in connec-

tion with certain sexual acts allegedly perpetrated

against his older daughter. He was tried to a jury on

these charges, along with the charges of risk of injury

to a child and sexual assault in the second degree

related to offenses involving his younger daughter, age

eight at the time of the trial.* He was acquitted of the

crimes involving the older daughter, but was convicted

of the two counts involving his younger daughter (the

victim).

The defendant and the victim’s mother were divorced

in June, 1981. Subsequent to the divorce, the victim

visited the defendant on weekends at his apartment in

> The defendant's younger daughter was eight years old at the time of

the tral in 1987. The events complained of occurred sometime between

September 1, 1984 and January 31, 1987

63A

118 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

Danbury. At trial, the victim stated that during these

visits the defendant would take her into his bedroom

and engage in a number of sexual acts with her. The

victim described these acts very specifically, in graphic

detail. Moreover, the victim used anatomically correct

dolls to describe the defendant’s sexually abusive

behavior.

The victim’s doctor provided constancy of accusation

testimony, stating that there was physical evidence of

the victim’s molestation. Qther constancy of accusa-

tion testimony was provided by the victim’s mother and

two police officers who had investigated the matter.

Following his conviction of the crimes of risk of injury

to a child and sexual assault in the second degree, the

defendant filed this appeal.

The defendant’s first claim of error is that the trial

court erred in permitting a key defense witness to

assert a fifth amendment privilege in the presence of

the jury. The following facts are relevant. Following

the defendant’s testimony, he called his friend, Dean

Mercier, to testify for the defense. Mercier testified that

he had been a frequent visitor at the defendant’s apart-

ment during the period of time the alleged assaults on

the victim occurred and that nothing unusual had trans-

pired while he was at the apartment. On cross-

examination, in response to the state’s question regard-

ing how well he was able to perceive events during his

visits to the apartment, Mercier stated that his percep-

tion was very sharp. The state then inquired whether

it was true that, during such visits, Mercier frequently

smoked marihuana. The defendant objected to this

question, and the court excused the jury. In argument

to the court, the state claimed that its inquiry into Mer-

cier’s use of marihuana was proper because a positive

answer would call into question his ability to perceive

events properly. The defendant argued that the

introduction of this issue into the case was inflamma-

64A

20 Conn. App. 115 . 119

State v. Person

tory and moved for a mistrial. The court denied the

defendant’s motion for a mistrial. The court indicated

that, although the question would have been improper

if asked of the defendant, it was permissible for the

state to question a defense witness regarding his abil-

ity to perceive. Mercier, apparently concerned that an

answer to the question might incriminate him, asked

for the opportunity to consult with an attorney. He left

the witness stand, and, upon returning later, agreed

to answer the state’s questions, despite the fact that

he had been unable in the interim to contact his attor-

ney. The trial court advised Mercier ayainst testifying

under the circumstances, however, and Mercier was

excused for the day.

When Mercier was recalled for cross-examination,

he informed the court that he would not answer any

questions about manhuana use. Defense counsel argued

that Mercier’s invocation of his fifth amendment priv-

ilege should occur outside the presence of the jury. The

trial court denied the defendant’s request, and the

defendant excepted. In the jury’s presence, the state

asked Mercier eight questions regarding his use of

marihuana.‘ In response to each question, Mercier

asserted his fifth amendment privilege against self-

incrimination.

The following day, the defendant recalled Mercier,

and at that time Mercier waived his fifth amendment

‘ The questions the prosecutor asked Mercier were as follows: (1) Whether

he frequently smoked marihuana while at the defendant's apartment; (2)

how often he smoked when the defendant's children were present; (3) how

much manhuana he smoked in general; (4) whether it was true he smoked

marnihuana in the presence of the defendant's children on a regular basis,

(5) with whom he smoked marhuana at the defendant's apartment, (6)

whether he “‘got high"’ when he smoked marihuana when the children were

there; (7) whether, when he “got high" when he smoked manhuana in the

children’s presence, his ability to perceive events happening around him

was affected; (8) whether he smoked manhuana with the defendant's oldest

son

65A

120 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

privilege and testified that he had never smoked mari-

huana in the defendant’s apartment when the victim

was present. Upon recross-examination, the state asked

several questions designed to show that Mercier’s

present denial of marihuana use was inconsistent with

his previous assertion of his privilege against self-

incrimination. During final argument, the state argued

that Mercier was not crédible because he had first

asserted his privilege against self-incrimination and

later waived that privilege, denying any involvement

in any illegality.

We note at the outset that the defendant’s first claim

does not present any constitutional issues. The defend-

ant claims no violation of his own constitutional rights,

and he has no standing to assert the constitutional

rights of the witness. See State v. Williams, 206 Conn.

203, 208, 536 A.2d 583 (1988); State v. Jones, 205 Conn.

723, 739, 535 A.2d 808 (1988). In essence, therefore,

he presents a claim of evidentiary trial error.

The defendant claims that the circumstances in this

case present the type of situation that warrants rever-

sal of his conviction and a new trial under the theories

discussed in Namet v. United States, 373 U.S. 179, 83

S. Ct. 1151, 10 L. Ed. 2d 278 (1963). Our Supreme

Court discussed Namet v. United States, supra, in State

v. Reddick, 197 Conn. 115, 126, 496 A.2d 466 (1985),

cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1067, 106 S. Ct. 822, 88 L. Ed.

2d 795 (1986). “‘In Namet v. United States [supra], the

United States Supreme Court addressed the issue of

when a witness’ claim of his privilege not to answer

results in reversible error. The court outlined two

aspects of the issue, each suggesting a distinct ground

of error. ‘First, some courts have indicated that error

may be based upon a concept of prosecutorial miscon-

duct, when the Government makes a conscious and fla-

grant attempt to build its case out of inferences arising

from use of the testimonial pnvilege. . . . A second

66A

20 Conn. App. 115 121

State v. Person

theory seems to rest upon the conclusion that, in the

circumstances of a given case, inferences from a wit-

ness’ refusal to answer added critical weight to the

prosecution’s case in a form not subject to cross-

examination, and thus unfairly prejudiced the defend-

ant.’ "’ State v. Reddick, supra. The defendant bases

his claim of error on both theories, arguing that the

prosecutor deliberately utilized the fact that Mercier

had asserted his privilege against self-incrimination as

a trial tactic to create ‘‘the overall implication of

depravity and licentiousness in the defendant’s house-

hold”’ and to prejudice the defendant unfairly. We find

the defendant’s claim unpersuasive and reject his asser-

tion that a new trial is necessary.

First, this case does not present the scenario of pros-

‘ecutorial misconduct contemplated by Namet v. United

States, supra. This is not a situation in which the pros-

ecutor deliberately called to the stand a witness whom

she knew intended validly to invoke the privilege

against self-incrimination. See id., 185-86; United

States v. Maloney, 262 F.2d 535 (2d Cir. 1959). Rather,

in this case the witness was called by the defense, and

the witness’ assertion of the privilege occurred in the

context of cross-examination by the prosecutor. Nor

should the prosecution’s conduct be characterized as

‘deliberate attempts by the Government to make cap-

ital out of [the witness’] refusals to testify.”” Namet v.

United States, supra, 189. The prosecutor’s initial pur-

pose in questioning Mercier regarding his use of mari-

huana was to impeach his credibility by casting doubt

on his ability to perceive and recall the events that were

the subject of his testimony. The capacity of a witness

to observe, recollect and narrate an occurrence is a

proper subject of inquiry on cross-examination. State

v. Esposito, 192 Conn. 166, 176, 471 A.2d 949 (1984).

Consumption of alcohol or drugs obviously can impair

an individual’s ability to observe and recall accurately

67A

122 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

and so iS a proper subject of inquiry on cross-

examination. State v. Heinz, 3 Conn. App. 80, 86, 485

‘A.2d 1321 (1984). At the outset, then, the prosecutor’s

questioning of Mercier was proper. There is no support

for the defendant’s claim of prosecutorial misconduct.

Moreover, this is not a case in which “‘ ‘inferences

from a witness’ refusal to answer added critical weight

to the prosecution's case in a form not subject to cross-

examination, and thus unfairly prejudiced the defend-

ant.’ "’ State v. Reddick, supra, 126, quoting Namet v.

United States, supra, 187. This is not a case, for

instance, in which the prosecutor used the assertion

of the privilege by an accomplice or someone linked to

the defendant’s crimes in order to build a case against

the defendant. See State v. Reddick, supra, 127. Again,

the prosecutor was merely cross-examining Mercier in

an attempt to impeach his credibility. Mercier’s asser-

tion of the privilege cannot be seen as having formed

the bases for inferences adding ‘‘critical weight’’ to the

prosecutor’s case. Although his refusal to answer ques-

tions concerning his use of marihuana could conceiva-

bly have caused the jury to draw an impermissible

inference that he was asserting the privilege in order

to hide the fact that he used marihuana; see State v.

Daley, 11 Conn. App. 185, 188, 526 A.2d 14 (1987); the

jury’s drawing that inference would not have given crit-

ical weight to the prosecution’s case. It would merely

have resulted in the discrediting of a defense witness.

Even if the possibility that the jury drew an impermis-

sible inference from the fact of Mercier’s assertion of

the privilege could be seen as being of critical weight,

any prejudice to the defendant caused thereby was

defused by Mercier’s subsequent testimony denying the

use of marihuana. That testimony presumably settled

whatever questions might have been raised in the minds

of the jurors regarding his reasons for asserting the

privilege. In any event, ‘‘no prejudice will generally be

68A

20 Conn. App. 115 123

State v. Person

presumed to flow from the refusal of a witness to

answer questions concerning acts committed by him

unrelated to the defendant’s alleged crime. . . .”’ Peo-

ple v. Jones, 138 App. Div. 2d 405, 406, 525 N.Y.S. 2d

689 (1988). We therefore conclude that the defendant

in this case was not unfairly prejudiced by a likelihood

that inferences from Mercier’s assertion of a fifth

amendment privilege added critical weight to the prose-

cution’s case in a form not subject to cross-examination.

The state acknowledges, however, and we agree, that

it was improper for the trial court to permit recross-

examination for the purpose of establishing incon-

sistency between the implications of Mercier’s asser-

tion of the privilege against self-incrimination and his

subsequent testimony that he had not used marihuana

in the defendant’s apartment. The refusal of a witness

to testify, on the ground that it would incriminate him,

cannot be the basis of any inference, either favorable

to the prosecution or favorable to the defendant. State

v. Daley, supra. Therefore, no inconsistency could be

shown between Mercier’s refusal to testify and his later

statement that he had not used marihuana in the

defendant’s apartment. We conclude, however, that the

error was harmless.

In his second claim, the defendant argues that it was

error for the trial court to prohibit him from establish-

ing, through the testimony of a psychiatrist and a psy-

chologist, that the defendant did not fit the profile of

a pedophile.

The trial court has wide discretion in ruling on the

admissibility of expert testimony. State v. Kemp, 199

Conn. 473, 476, 507 A.2d 1387 (1986). In reviewing the

trial court’s decision, we do not decide whether this or

any other court would have reached the same conclu

sion. State v.S & R Sanitation Services, Inc., 202 Conn.

300, 311-12, 521 A.2d 1017 (1987). Absent a manifest

69A

ee

124 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

abuse of discretion, the trial court’s decision will stand.

State v. Spigarolag 210 Conn. 359, 376, 556 A.2d 112

(1989); State v. Hasan, 205 Conn. 485, 488, 534 A.2d

877 (1987). We agree with the state that the trial court

did not abuse its discretion when it rejected the defend-

ant’s proffer of expert testimony on whether the

defendant fit the profile of a pedophile.

A majority of the courts that have considered the

issue have rebuffed attempts on the part of the state

as well as the defendant to present testimony of this

kind. See, e.g., Douglas v. United States, 386 A.2d 289

(D.C. App. 1978) (evidence that defendant fit into

statistical category of abuser extremely prejudicial);

Sanders v. State, 251 Ga. 70, 303 S.E.2d 13 (1983); State

v. Loebach, 310 N.W.2d 58 (Minn. 1981) (error to admit

profile of battering parents); State v. Claflin, 38 Wash.

App. 847, 690 P.2d 1186 (1984); State v. Steward, 34

Wash. App. 221, 660 P.2d 278 (1983). In Douglas v.

United States, supra, 296, the court noted that the

defendant, through expert testimony, was attempting

to prove “‘that the absence of articulated or observa-

ble sexual abnormalities established the fact that he did

not commit the particular offense with which he had

been charged.”’ The court stated, “‘[w]Je do not regard

the field of psychology as being so exact . . . as to

be able to determine with sufficient reliability that an

individual did not commit a certain act, based solely

on the presence of some characteristics and the absence

of certain observable symptoms.”’ (Emphasis in origi-

nal.) Id. We agree that psychiatric evidence regarding

the propensity or lack of propensity of a defendant to

commit a crime should not be allowed. See C. Tait &

J. LaPlante, Handbook of Connecticut Evidence (2d

Ed.) § 7.16.3 (i). When scientific expertise is offered in

an area outside the general knowledge of the average

juror, the subject matter of such testimony must be suf-

ficiently established to have gained general acceptance

70A

20 Conn. App. 115 125

State v. Person

in the particular field. Frye v. United States, 293 F.

1013, 1014 (D.C. App. 1923). ‘‘ ‘Just when a scientific

principle or discovery crosses the line between the

experimental and demonstrable stages is difficult to

define. Somewhere in this twilight zone the evidential

force of the principle must be recognized, and while

courts will go a long way in admitting expert testimony

deduced from a well recognized scientific principle or

discovery, the thing from which the deduction is made

must be sufficiently established to have gained general

acceptance in the particular field in which it belongs.’ ”

State v. Hasan, supra, 489, quoting Frye v. United

States, supra; see also State v. Spigarolo, supra. The

defendant failed to elicit testimony from either expert

that the profile that was to be the subject of his testi-

mony was accepted by the scientific community.

Moreover, the trial court was justified in excluding

the expert testimony offered by the defendant because

the defendant failed to demonstrate that the witnesses

had a special skill or knowledge directly applicable to

a matter at issue that would make their testimony

informative and helpful to the juty. “Expert testimony

is admissible if the witness possesses a special skill or

knowledge directly applicable to a matter in issue, the

skill or knowledge is not commonly shared by the aver-

age person, and the testimony would be helpful to the

court or jury in considering the issues . . . .”’ State

v. Hasan, supra, 488. Although the defendant’s experts

testified that they were experienced in treating a num-

ber of sexual offenders and victims, they did not tes-

tify to having had any experience dealing with

incestuous relationships such as that presented in this

case. At least one modern commentator takes the view

that the incest offender’s chief aberrancy is incest and

that, usually, there is no history of other sexually

related problems occurring outside the family. Groff

& Hubble, “‘Incest,’’ 11 Criminal Justice and Behavior,

71A

126 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

461, 473 (1984). Incestuous fathers are often excluded

from the studies of pedophiles. M. de Chesney, ‘‘Father

Daughter Incest,”’ 4 Behavioral Sciences and the Law,

382 (1985). Because the defendant never established

that his expert witnesses had expertise in areas directly

related to intrafamily sexual abuse, the trial court could

reasonably have concluded that it was unlikely that

their testimony would be of help to the jury.

The defendant’s third claim is that the trial court

erred in excluding evidence that the victim’s best fnend

had accused her father of conduct similar to the con-

duct in which the defendant had engaged. The follow-

ing facts are relevant. The friend was the first person

the victim told that she was being sexually abused by

her father. The friend reported the conversation to her

mother, who, in turn, informed the victim’s mother.

As a result of a complaint made by the friend, the

friend’s father had been charged with two counts of

risk of injury and two counts of sexual assault in the

second degree. To establish this fact and the fact that

the victim and her friend had discussed these matters,

the defense subpoenaed the friend. The state filed a

motion in limine seeking to bar the friend’s testimony.

The friend’s personal counsel moved to quash the sub-

poena. The defendant argued that the friend’s testi-

mony could be vital to the defense and that he wished

to question her for the purpose of proving knowledge

of sexual activity on the part of the friend and the vic-

tim and a motive on the part of the two children against

their respective fathers. Counsel wanted to investigate

the possibility that the victim had obtained her know1-

edge of sexual matters from stories told to her by the

friend, as well as the possibility that the victim and the

friend had either fabricated or fantasized the events

described by the victim. The trial court ruled that the

defendant could not question the friend regarding the

charges against her father, but that the defendant could

72A

20 Conn. App. 115 127

State v. Person

question her regarding statements the victim had made

to her concerning the activities of the defendant.:The

court relied, in part, on relevancy grounds.® Nes

The trial court has broad discretion in determining

the relevancy of proffered evidence. State v. Pollitt,

205 Conn. 61, 91, 530 A.2d 155 (1987). A ruling exclud-

ing evidence as irrelevant will not be disturbed absent .

a showing of a clear abuse of discretion. State v. Fritz,

204 Conn. 156, 167-68, 527 A.2d 1157 (1987); State v.

Watkins, 14 Conn. App. 67, 73, 540 A.2d 76, cert.

denied, 208 Conn. 804, 545 A.2d 1102(1988). In a deter-

mination of whether there has been an abuse of dis-

cretion, every reasonable presumption should be given

in favor of the correctness of the court’s ruling. State

v. DeAngelis, 200 Conn. 224, 238, 511 A.2d 310 (1986):

State v. E'scobales, 16 Conn. App. 272, 277, 547 A.2d

553 (1988).

The defendant urges upon us the proposition that,

because the victim and her friend made similar com-

plaints against their fathers, the jury should have been

made aware of this fact for the purpose of weighing

the credibility of the victim. The defendant’s argument

* The trial court apparently also based its ruling on General Statutes

§ 54-86d and § 54-86e, which provide as follows:

“[General Statutes] Sec. 54-86d. DISCLOSURE OF ADDRESS OR TELEPHONE

NUMBER BY VICTIMS OF SEXUAL ASSAULT. Any person who has been the

victim of a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-71, 53a-72a,

53a-72b or 53a-73a, or injury or risk of injury, or impairing of morals under

section 53-21, or of an attempt thereof, shall not be required to divulge

his or her address or telephone number during any trial or pretrial eviden-

tiary hearing arising from the sexual assault or injury er risk of injury to,

or impairing of morals of, children; provided the judge presiding over such

legal proceeding shall find: (1) Such information is not material to the pro-

ceeding, (2) the identity of the victim has been satisfactorily established,

and (3) the current address of the victim is made available to the defense.”’

“(General Statutes} Sec. 54-86e. INFORMATION RE NAME AND ADDRESS

OF VICTIM OF SEXUAL ASSAULT TO BE CONFIDENTIAL. The name and address

of the victim of a sexual assault under section 53a-70, 53a-70a, 53a-71,

S3a-72a, 53a-72b or 53a-73a, or injury or risk of injury, or impairing of morals

73A

128 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

rests upon an assumption that the victim's credibility

would somehow automatically be placed in question by

evidence of the fact that she had a friend who claimed,

as did she herself, to have been the victim of sexual

abuse. There is no necessary logical link, however,

between the fact that the victim had a friend who also

claimed to be a victim of sexual abuse and a conclu-

sion that the victim might therefore be an unreliable

witness whose testimony regarding the defendant’s

actions was not worthy of belief. In the absence of evi-

dence tending to show the significance, if any, of the

fact that the friend had also claimed to have been sex-

ually abused, that fact indicates nothing about the

accuracy and reliability of the victim’s testimony

regarding the defendant. In the absence of evidence

to establish a connection between the friend’s personal

circumstances and-the victim’s credibility, the trial

court reasonably concluded that the basis for the

defendant’s questions was mere speculation and that

under section 53-21, or of an attempt thereof shall be confidential and shal

be disclosed only upon order of the superior court, except that such infor-

mation shall be available to the accused.”

In his reply brief, the defendant argues that “‘[t]o the extent that the tria]

court relied upon Conn. Gen. Stat. Sec. 54-86e . . . to rule that [the

friend's} testimony was to be excluded . . . it is unconstitutional as a vio-

lation of the due process clauses of the Constitution of The United States

and the State of Connecticut.”” The extent of the defendant's briefing of

this claim is this declaration in his reply brief followed by a citation to

Washington v. Tezas, 388 U.S. 14, 19, 87 S. Ct. 1920, 18 L. Ed. 2d 1019

(1967). We will not review this claim under these circumstances. In any

event, we need not review a constitutional claim where, as here, there is

some other ground on which the case may be decided. See State v. Warren,

14 Conn. App. 688, 699, 544 A.2d 209 (1988).

The record does not indicate whether the defendant argued that his con-

stitutional nght to confrontation would be implicated by a decision to exclude

the friend's testimony. Nevertheless, on appeal, he declares in his brief that

“(t)he trial court's decision to prohibit testimony concerning [the friend's}

accusations against her father denied [the] defendant his constitutional nght

to confrontation."’ Tne defendant did not brief this claim and therefore we

will not consider it.

74A

Oo? 6G oh ee Sey

20 Conn. App. 115 129

State v. Person

further inquiry was therefore unjustified. See State v.

Daniels, 8 Conn. App. 190, 194, 512 A.2d 936 (1986).

The defendant's fourth claim is that the trial court

erred both in admitting into evidence, as a state’s

exhibit, an audiotape recording of an interview with

the victim conducted by Detective Daniel Mulvey of the

Danbury police department, and in permitting the jury

to bring the tape into the jury room to play during its

deliberations. The circumstances surrounding admis-

sion of the tape were as follows. Mulvey testified that,

on February 10, 1987, he conducted an audiotaped

interview with the victim during which he took her

statement. Mulvey used a question and answer format

to obtain the statement. The state offered the tape as

an exhibit. The defendant objected on sixth amendment

. and hearsay grounds. The state argued that the tape

was admissible under the constancy of accusation

exception to the hearsay rule. The trial court agreed

with the state that the tape was admissible to show con-

stancy of accusation, and the tape was admitted as

state's exhibit 2 and played to the jury during the trial.

The trial court explained to the jury that the tape had

been admitted to shew constancy of accusation, and

it fully explained the constancy of accusation doctrine

in its instructions. The jury was permitted to take the

tape and a tape recorder into the jury room during

deliberations.

We first consider the state’s argument that the

defendant’s claim is not reviewable because the defend-

ant did not object when the court permitted the jurors

to take a tape recorder into the jury room so that they

would be able to play the tape during deliberations. The

state contends that the defendant thus failed to pre-

serve the issue for appellate review. See Practice Book

§ 4185. We disagree. The defendant’s objection to the

admissibility of the tape was sufficient to express his

objection to its submission to the jury. The purpose of

75A

130 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

any evidentiary objection is to prevent the evidence

from being considered by the trier of fact. Having

objected to the admissibility of the tape, the defend-

ant successfully preserved the issues distinctly raised

before the trial court for appellate review. See Prac-

tice Book § 4185. He was not required to repeat those

objections at the time the jury was given the tape

recorder for use during deliberations.

Although we have found that the defendant took the

necessary steps in the trial court to preserve for appel-

late review the issue of whether the trial court erred

in admitting the tape under the constancy of accusa-

tion exception to the hearsay rule, we nevertheless

decline to review his claim because he has failed ade-

quately to brief the issue.* Under such circumstances,

we Consider the claim abandoned and decline to review

it. See State v. Frocchi, 17 Conn. App. 326, 327 n.3,

553 A.2d 181, cert. denied, 210 Conn. 812, 556 A.2d

611 (1989). Similarly, although the defendant objected

in the trial court to admission of the tape on the ground

of denial of his sixth amendment right to confronta-

tion, and now repeats that claim on appeal, he has failed

to discuss the issue in his briefs to this court.” We there-

fore decline to review this claim as well.

* The defendant does declare in his brief that the constancy of accusa-

tion rule “does not permit the admission of prior written, oral or video-

taped statements of the victim. It simply permits the witness, in this case

Detective Mulvey, to repeat what the victim told him, as long as the victim

has so testified about the matter on direct examination.” Then, in his reply

brief, the defendant states, “‘[wJhile the taped interview was allowed under

the constancy of accusation exception to the hearsay rule, that exception

could only apply to the complainant's pnor statement, not the statements

of Detective Mulvey."’ These declarations by the defendant represent the

only briefing on the issue of whether the trial court erred in admitting the

tape under the constancy of accusation exception to the hearsay rule. The

defendant has cited no authonty in support of these propositions.

’ The defendant's attempt to brief the issue is limited to a declaration

in his reply brief that his “‘sixth amendment nght to confront Detective

Mulvey was violated" by the court's decision to allow the jury to bring the

tape to the jury room for use during deliberations.

76A

20 Conn. App. 115 131

State v. Person

The defendant's fifth claim of error is that the trial

court erred in permitting two police detectives to ren-

der opinions concerning the victim’s credibility and

“common pattern”’ evidence in child abuse cases. Nei-

ther his claim that one of the detectives was improp-

erly allowed to comment on the credibility of the victim,

nor his claim that the other detective was impermissi-

bly permitted to testify regarding patterns of conduct

of child molesters, was raised by him in the trial court.

We need not review evidentiary claims that were not

distinctly raised in the trial court. See Practice Book

§ 4185; State v. Rogers, 199 Conn. 453, 462, 508 A.2d

11 (1986). Moreover, the defendant states no claim for

review under State v. Evans, 165 Conn. 61, 67-69, 327

A.2d 576 (1973), and we see no reason to accord the

defendant’s claims plain error review. See State v.

Smith, 209 Conn. 423, 426-27, 551 A.2d 742 (1988).

The defendant's sixth claim is that the trial court

erred in twice refusing to grant a mistrial following

questions by the prosecutor concerning use of mari-

huana at the defendant’s apartment. The prosecutor

first raised the question of marihuana use during the

victim's testimony. When the victim was asked if the

defendant smoked anything around her, she answered

that he smoked cigarettes. The victim was then asked

whether the defendant ever smoked anything else. The

defendant objected, and the jury was excused. The

court sustained the objection and gave a cautionary

instruction. The defendant moved for a mistrial, and

the court denied the motion.

The issue of marihuana use arose again when the

defendant called his landlord, Joseph Marzullo, who tes-

tified on direct examination that the defendant and the

victim had a good relationship. On cross-examination,

the prosecutor asked Marzullo if his opinion about the

defendant’s relationship with the victim would change

if he knew that the defendant regularly smoked mari-

T7A

132 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

huana in front of the children. The defendant objected,

and the jury was excused. The court sustained the

objection. The defendant moved again for a mistrial,

and the court denied the motion.®

The general rule in Connecticut is that a mistrial is

granted only where it is apparent that as a result of

some occurrence during trial a party has been deprived

of the opportunity for a fair trial. State v. Hancich, 200

Conn. 615, 624-25, 513 A.2d 638 (1986); State v. Mal-

donado, 193 Conn. 350, 356, 478 A.3d 581 (1984). The

trial court enjoys wide discretion in deciding whether

a mistrial is warranted, and its decision will be reversed

on appeal only if it is established that this discretion

has been abused. State v. Hancich, supra, 625.

The defendant argues that, because drug use is

regarded by many persons “‘in today’s environment’’

as a major threat to society, testimony about marihuana

use at the defendant’s apartment in the presence of

his children was “‘so obviously prejudicial as to deny

the defendant a fair trial.’” We disagree with the

defendant’s contention that in the circumstances of this

case the trial court should have declared a mistrial. In

the first instance, the record fails to support the defend-

ant’s contention that there was any ‘‘testimony’”’

regarding the use of marihuana. It appears that objec-

tions were made and sustained on both occasions that

the prosecutor attempted to elicit information in this

regard. Even if the questions were improper, as the

trial court apparently decided they were, the fact that

the questions were asked is not enough to deprive the

defendant of a fair trial, particularly where the court

gave an appropniate cautionary instruction to the jury.

* In his brief, the defendant also points to the prosecutor's attempt to

elicit responses regarding the use of manhuana from Dean Mercier. The

claim involving Mercier has been sufficiently addressed in our discussion

of the defendant's first claim of error. It is unnecessary to repeat that dis-

cussion as part of our review of his sixth claim.

78A

LL

20 Conn. App. 115 133

State v. Person

We conclude that the trial court did not abuse its dis-

cretion in denying the defendant’s motions for a mis-

trial.

The defendant’s final claim is that the trial court

erred both in admitting hearsay testimony that the

defendant’s sister had told his older daughter not to

testify and then in advising the defendant’s sister, in

the presence of the jury, of her privilege against self-

incrimination. .

The state called Jo-Ann Person, the mother of the

defendant’s older daughter. She testified that the

defendant’s older daughter had told her that the

defendant’s sister, Holly Person, had called and asked

his older daughter noi to testify against the defend-

ant. The defendant objected on the ground that the tes-

timony was hearsay. The trial court admitted the

testimony under the constancy of accusation exception

to the hearsay rule.

Later in the trial, the defendant’s sister was called

to testify. The defendant asked her whether she had

telephoned Jo-Ann Person in March, 1987, and Holly

Person responded that she had done so. The defend-

ant asked her who had answered the telephone. Holly

Person answered that the defendant’s older daughter

had answered. When the defendant asked Holly Per-

son to describe what occurred during the ensuing tel-

ephone conversation, the state objected, and the court

engaged the witness in the following exchange:

“The Court: I should warn you, since you do not have

an attorney present, and I have been informed, I don’t

know if it’s true or not, but we got partially into the—

are you under arrest for any criminal charge?

“The Witness: No, I am not.

‘The Court: Okay. There was a reference by the police

department that they made a referral to another police

79A

134 20 Conn. App. 115

State v. Person

department concerning these telephone calls, and I just

wish to tell you that you do not need to answer any

of these questions on the grounds that it might tend

to incriminate you.

“The Witness: Your Honor—

“The Court: Since you don’t have an attorney here,

I’m obligated, by law, to tell you that.

“The Witness: Thank you, Your Honor. May I answer

the question?

“The Court: That’s going to be up to you.

“The Witness: I will. May I explain?

‘The Court: No, I don’t know what the question is,

now —let’s get to the question.”’

Thereafter, the witness answered questions concern-

ing the telephone conversation.

The defendant argues that the court’s admission of

Jo-Ann Person's testimony regarding what the defend-

ant’s older daughter told her was erroneous because

the testimony was hearsay. We will not review this

claim because the defendant has failed to brief the issue

of whether the trial court erred in admitting the testi-

mony under the constancy of accusation exception to

the hearsay rule. We note, however, that even if the

court’s ruling was erroneous, the defendant has failed

to demonstrate that such error was harmful. When a

claimed error is evidentiary, the defendant bears the

burden of establishing its harmfulness. State v. Nelson,

17 Conn. App. 556, 568, 555 A.2d 426 (1989). In this

case, the jury had already heard, from the defendant’s

older daughter herself, about Holly Person’s telephone

conversation with her. An erroneous ruling should not

be considered reversible error if the evidence admit-

ted thereby has already properly entered the case. Id.

80A

20 Conn. App. 115 135

ae State v. Person

Therefore, even if the trial court erred in admitting Jo-

Ann Person's testimony regarding what the defend-

ant’s older daughter told her, the record is clear that

the error was harmless.

With regard to the court’s remarks to Holly Person,

the defendant argues that the court erred in question-

ing her as it did in the presence of the jury “in a man-

ner bearing directly on her credibility.” Relying on

State v. Echols, 170 Conn. 11, 14, 364 A.2d 225 (1975),

he argues that a judge must refrain from making

remarks that are indicative of either favor or condem-

nation. The defendant contends that the court’s

remarks deprived him of a fair trial.

The defendant’s arguments are without merit. First,

on the basis of the evidence presented at the trial, the

court simply anticipated the possibility that the witness,

who was not represented by counsel, might be entitled

to assert her fifth amendment privilege against self-

incrimination. The court took reasonable steps to

inform the witness of her rights and to give her a

meaningful opportunity to exercise them if she chose.

We do not think this solicitousness on the part of the

court with regard to the witness’ constitutional nghts

caused the witness’ credibility to be compromised

before the jury. Moreover, the court’s action was not,

as claimed by the defendant, in any way indicative of

condemnation. We fail to see how the court’s remarks

could possibly have caused the defendant to be deprived

of a fair trial.

There is no error.

In this opinion the other judge

B1A 4

APPENDIX E

Excerpt of Arrest Warrant Application

For John Ardell

ores

Excerpt of Arrest Warrant Application

Dated February 24, 1987

NAME AND RESIDENCE (Town) OF ACCUSED

John Ardell, 68 Sport Hill Road, Easton, CT

AFFIDAVIT

That I, the undersigned, Police Officer Elizabeth A.

Briggs, #10, a regular member of the Easton Police

Department for the past 2 1/2 years do hereby make the

following affidavit:

That the following set of facts and circumstances are

Stated from personal knowledge, observation and

investigation as well as from information received from

brother officers acting in their official Capacity.

That I, the undersigned, hold in my possession a Report

of Suspected Child Abuse/Neglect (Form CYS-136) as

filed by Dr. Judith Hochstadt of 1172 Post Road,

Fairfield, Ct. on one Lauren Ardell (DOB: 11/ 12/79) of

122 Eleanor Terrace, Fairfield, CT.. Report states that

Lauren Ardell reported to her mother Julia Rose of 112

Eleanor Terrace, Fairfield, Ct. (DOB: 11/02/47) that

Lauren’s father, John Ardell, sexually abused her by

asking her to “suck his penis".

83A

That I, the undersigned, hold in my possession a CYS

737 report as submitted by Social Worker, Susie Laffitte

of the Department of Children and Youth Services, 1115

Main Street, Bridgeport, Ct. detailing report of Dr.

Hochstadt that Lauren goes with her father on weekends

and week days (no set schedule) and he has forced her to

perform oral sex on him and he puts his penis near her

vagina but never in her. Susie Laffitte of DCYS spoke

with the office of Dr. Hochstadt and reported the

incident to this department. (John Ardell, 68 Sport Hill

Road, Easton, CT., DOB: 5/7/47)

That I, the undersigned, during my initial investigation

and continued investigation have determined that Lauren

visited he father on weekends and week days (no set

schedule for visitation) and that also during these visits

from November 1985 to December 1986 abuses took

place.

That on February 5, 1987, at approximately 2000 hours,

Mrs. Judith Rose and her daughter, Lauren Ardell,

personally appeared at the Easton Police Department. I

hold :n my possession a sworn written statement

submitted by Mrs. Judith Rose that on February 3, 1987,

at approximately 1900 hours, her daughter, Lauren

Ardell was talking to her about a school friend that was

being sexually abused by her father at which time Lauren

became hysterical and told Mrs. Rose that it was

happening to her also. As this time Lauren told her

mother that in the past she had "sucked her father’s-

*

84A

penis". Mrs. Rose was unsure as to how to handle the

situation and did not press Lauren for any more details.

Mrs. Rose then called her ex-husband and Lauren’s

father, John Ardell, who was in Nantucket at the time

and told him what Lauren had said. Mr. Ardell denied

the incident and told Mrs. Rose that Lauren was a

"Lolita" who had "come on" to him. Mr. Ardell stated

to Mrs. Rose that Lauren was the one with the sexual

problems not him. Mrs. Rose continued that on

February 4, 1987 she took Lauren to Dr. Hochstadt

where she was examined by the doctor and the reports

were filed. Mrs. Rose also added that one of the reasons

she and John Ardell were divorced was because she and

he had sexual problems.

That, after speaking to Mrs. Rose, the undersigned did

speak to Lauren Ardell alone. Lauren is a seven year

old, who appears to be confident in what she says and

articulates he thoughts well. Through the use of

questions, visual aids and anatomically correct drawings

the undersigned was able to determine what had

happened to Lauren. Lauren said that starting in 1985,

approximately November, her father, John Ardell had

Started to ask her to suck his penis. Lauren stated that

she did not know what this meant and that he had pointed

to the area of his groin. Lauren did not feel that this

was right and did not want to do it. Lauren stated that

when she saw her father at his house in Easton he kept

asking her to suck his penis. Lauren stated that in the

beginning of 1986 she did put her father’s penis in her

85A

mouth in the hopes that he would stop asking. Lauren

stated that she did not like it and pretended to have to go

to the bathroom in order to stop. Lauren did point out

int drawings a penis, and she did know what the word

“suck" meant. Lauren was also able to describe an

erection, stating that at first the penis was soft and small

in her mouth that it began to get harder and that her

father had said it was her fault. Lauren was worried

about this. Lauren said that her father kept on asking

her to suck his penis, but that she hadn’t since the first

occurrence.

That on Monday, February 9, 1987 the undersigned did

receive a phone call from Mrs. Rose. Mrs. Rose. said

that Lauren had become very upset that day and told

Mrs. Rose that she hadn’t told the undersigned of Dr.

Hochstadt the whole truth and that some more incidents

of abuse had happened to her.

That on Wednesday, 11, 1987 Mrs Julia Rose and

Lauren Ardell returned to Easton Police Headquarters.

Mrs. Rose submitted a sworn written statement that on

February 9, 1987 Lauren told her that she had her

father’s penis in her mouth more than once and that he

had his penis in her vagina. Mrs. Rose took Lauren

back to Dr. Hochstadt and to a psychologist, Dr. Fred

Bader. As far as could be determined by the doctor

when Lauren said that the penis had been in her vagina it

was between.her legs. The doctor did not find any

evidence of penetration. Mrs. Rose also recalled an

86A

incident where John Ardell had told her that Lauren had

pulled down her pants ‘bent over’ and told Mr. Ardell

‘suck my ass’.

That, after speaking to Mrs. Rose, the undersigned then

spoke to Lauren Ardell alone. I first asked Lauren why

she had not told me everything the first time. Lauren

Stated that she did not want me to think that she was a

bad girl and she was afraid to tell. Again I used visual

aids and drawings to help Lauren tell her story. Lauren

told me that she had ‘sucked’ her father’s penis on

several occasions not just once. Lauren described how

her father would lie down on the bed or on the couch in

the living room, (Lauren told the undersigned that she

had been in the bedroom a lot with her father), and that

she would kneel along side of him and suck his penis.

Lauren did not have any concept of ejaculation. Lauren

also went on to describe how she would lie down on the

bed and her father would hold he up slightly while he put

his penis between he legs. I asked Lauren if anything

else happened. At this point Lauren became quiet and

said she was embarrassed. Lauren had trouble talking

about this but she stated that on a few occasions her

father had taken down her pants, bend her over, and had

touched her ‘hiney’. Lauren did not know the word

anus, but she spoke of her ‘rear end’.

That on February 13, 1987, at approximately 2245

hours, the undersigned was able to contact John Ardell

and requested him to come to Easton Police

87A

Headquarters, which he did at approximately 2305 hours.

Mr. Ardell was told that this department had received

complaints of sexual abuse to a Lauren Ardell, and that

he was the named abuser. After informing Mr. Ardell of

his constitutional rights, Mr. Ardell chose to waive these

rights and gave a sworn written statement which I hold in

my possession. Mr. Ardell states the following: He

denies any implications and indicates that in fact the

allegations are erroneous and further describes several

episodes of abnormal acts of sexual connotation by his

daughter. Mr. Ardell states that he believes this

behavior is due to the fact that Lauren was molested by a

babysitter in Wayne, New York in approximately 1982

and that another babysitter in Ct was arrested for child

molesting on October 1985. Mr. Ardell also stated that

on occasions in 1985 the Fairfield Police had been

summoned to his ex-wife’s (Julia Rose) home in

Fairfield, CT on a complaint that the children, Lauren

and Brian, were not supervised.

That I, the undersigned, continued my investigation and

re-interviewed Julia Rose concerning her ex-husband’s

John Ardell, statement.

That I, the undersigned, have a sworn written statement

of Mrs. Rose who states that Lauren had not been

molested in Wayne, New York. At that time Lauren was

3 years old and the babysitter was a 13 year old boy.

Both Mr. & Mrs. Rose thought it would be better if the

babysitter was a female and the boy was dismissed.

88A

Mrs. Rose further went on concerning the incident in

Fairfield, CT.. At the time, 1985, she and her family

were living at 312 Riverside Drive in Fairfield, Ct. when

the woman who lives downstairs at that address called

the police to complain that the Ardell children were not

being supervised. Upon investigation the Fairfield Police

found a babysitter with the children as well as their

father, John Ardell. In regards to the babysitter being

arrested, Mrs. Rose stated that she had employed ‘Sitting

and Home Care Services’ to find her a reliable babysitter

for the children. A man was sent to Mrs. Rose, he only

sat for a short time. This man was later arrested

Fairfield Police Department for child molesting. There

was no evidence that Lauren or Brian had been molested.

That I, the undersigned, again continued my investigation

and contacted the police agencies of Wayne, New York

and Fairfield, Ct. Both agencies had not record of the

first two preceding incidents. In regards to the babysitter

who was arrested in Fairfield the undersigned holds in

my possession a report from Fairfield Police Officer

VonHoltz that states the babysitter, Brian Bonello, was

arrested for assaulting a boy he was sitting for, and that

there was no evidence that the Ardeil children had been

abused by Brian Bonello.

That I, the undersigned, hold in my possession a written

statement from the niece of Julia Rose, Susan J.

Hamilton, of the Village of Bath, New York, County of

89A

Stuebin, N.Y., which states that from her age of 10 to

16 she was sexually abused by John Ardell.

That I, the undersigned, hold in my possession an

investigative report of the Danbury Police Department

which describes the meeting of Lauren Ardell and Jamie

A. Person corroborating Lauren’s reference to the fact

that both she and her friend, Jamie, were the victims of

sexual abuse by their respective fathers.

That I, the undersigned, Police Officer Elizabeth A.

Briggs 10 of the Easton Police Department do hereby

request an Arrest Warrant be issued for the arrest of

JOHN ARDELL, 68 Sport Hill Road, Easton, Ct. (DOB:

5/7/47) for the charges of:

53a-71 --- Sexual Assault, 2nd

53-21 --- Risk of Injury to a Minor

90A

APPENDIX F

Excerpt of Arrest Warrant Application

For Eric N. Person

91A

i

Excerpt of Arrest Warrant Application

Dated March 10, 1987

NAME AND RESIDENCE (Town) OF ACCUSED

ee ee ee Danbury

AFFIDAVIT

The undersigned, being duly sworn, deposes and says:

That the affiant, Daniel Mulvey, is presently a

member of the Danbury Police Department and has been

for a period of service for five years and months. That

during said police service the affiant has conducted and

participated in numerous investigations into various

forms of criminal activity which have resulted in

numerous arrests and convictions.

That on February 05, 1987, Detective Russell

Benjamin of the Danbury Police Department Youth

Bureau received a call from Susie Laffette who is

employed as a Social Worker for the Bridgeport,

Connecticut office of the Department of Children and

Youth Services. That Laffette stated to Detective

Benjamin that one Jamie Alexandra Person who was born

in Bridgeport, Connecticut on July 27, 1979 had been

sexually assaulted by her natural father, identified as one

Eric Norman Person who is a Danbury resident, who

92A

§

3

=]

§

}

according to Department of Motor Vehicle records was

born on August 15, 1944.

That the affiant, Daniel Mulvey, interviewed the

mother of Jamie Person, identified as Debra Person of

545 Roland Road, Fairfield, Connecticut, at the Danbury

Police Department on February 10, 1987 and she

reported the following: that at one time she was married

to Eric Person and together they had two children

identified as Cameron and Jamie Person. That Eric and

Debra divorced in June 1981, that Eric has joint custody

with liberal and agreeable visitation.

That Debra Person stated to the affiant on February

03, 1987 that she observed her daughter Jamie was

upset, that Jamie told her mother that she would be

receiving a call from a Judy Rose. That Rose is the

mother of sever year old Laurie Ardell, that Ardell is a

friend of Jamie Person. That Judy Rose called the

Person home and arranged to meet with Debra later that

day. Debra stated that Rose came to her home and

disclosed to her that Jamie had been molested, sexually,

by her father. That Jamie initial disclosed these

allegations to Laurie Ardell.

That Debra Person stated to the affiant that she

confronted her daughter with these allegations, that Jamie

Stated in the presence of Rose and Ardell that her father

asks her to “lick and suck" his penis, that she had

93A

advised her father that what they had been doing was

wrong but that the same behavior continued anyway.

That on February 10, 1987, the affiant interview

Jamie Person at the Danbury Police Department. That

the affiant along with Danbury Detective Ingrid Yakacki

again interviewed Jamie Person at her home, 545

Rowland Road, Fairfield, Connecticut on March 04,

1987. That the affiant found the child to be

appropriately intelligent for her age and possessed a good

recollection of what had taken place between her father

and herself. That Jamie stated that her mother and father

divorced and since that time she has usually seen her

father, Eric Person, on the weekends, Saturdays and

Sundays.

That Jamie Person states to the affiant that behavior

of a sexual nature began when she was five years old and

remembers being in kindergarten at the time. That these

incidents of a sexual nature occurred at her fathers

Danbury Apartment, 22 Harrison Street, in the fathers

bedroom where she would go to take a nap in the fathers

bed. That behavior of a sexual nature continued until

her last visit to her fathers apartment, towards the end of

January 1987. The victim advised that one incident

occurred in her father car.

That Jamie Person stated to the affiant that the

molestations began with her father, Eric Person, kissing

her on her lips, neck and ears, that this continued for a

94A

while and her father began to kiss Jamies breasts. Jamie

Stated that during these times in the beginning that she

would also kiss her fathers lips, neck and ears.

That Jamie Person stated to the affiant that towards

the end of her fifth year the molestations progressed to

where her father began to caress and penetrate her vagina

with his fingers.

That her father also began to engage in oral sex

with her during this approximate time frame. That Jamie

stated shortly after the aforementioned behavior began

that she engaged in oral sex with her father and also at

his request she would fondle his penis. Jamie stated that

her actions with her fathers penis would stimulate her

father to the point of ejaculation. That Jamie stated on

occasion that her father would place his penis on her

breasts and would move, rub his penis i

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Person v. Meachum · 506 U.S. 821 | Frix