Opposition Brief — Mobil Oil Corp. v. Christopher

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

No. 91-1881

IN THE * {HE Cirp, |

Supreme Court of the Wuited States ine

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

MoBIL OIL CORPORATION, THE RETIREMENT PLAN OF

MosiL OIL CORPORATION, and REX ADAMS,

Petitioners,

v.

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, CHARLES L. PRUNTY, and

BILLY G. TURNER,

Re spond NTS.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

WILLIAM E. TOWNSLEY RODNEY R. PATULA

TOWNSLEY, HANKS & (Counsel of Record

TOWNSLEY, P.C. [ELIZABETH C. MORAN

3550 Fannin Street MICHAEL G. BOHN

Beaumont, Texas 77701 BRADFORD J. LAM

(409) 832-3453 PRYOR, CARNEY & JOHNSON

A Professional Corporation

6200 South Svracuse Way, #400

Englewood, Colorado 80111

(303) 771-6200

July 27, 1992 Counsel for Respondents

WILSON - EPES PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF QUESTION PRESENTED

Was the Court of Appeals correct in holding that for-

mer employees may establish standing to sue for being

involuntarily discharged in violation of $510 of the

Employee Retirement Income Security Act of 1974

(“RISA”) by proving, not merely alleging, that but for

the violation of § 510, they would be current employees

with a reasonable expectation of receiving benefits?

(i)

li

LIST OF PARTIES

Petitioners: (Defendants-Appellees below) :

Mobil Oil Corporation, a subsidiary of Mobil Corpor-

ation (a publicly held corporation). A list of Mobil

Oil Corporation’s non-wholly-owned subsidiaries has

been included in the Appendix to their petition [46a].

Retirement Plan of Mobil Oil Corporation

Rex D. Adams (a Vice President of Mobil Corporation)

Respondents: ( Plaintiffs-Appellants below) :

Gerald W. Christopher

Charles L. Prunty

Billy G. Turner

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED .__. ee Bratton o- i

a ccs hacvantucawennasvsesevsunpanebunvacnds il

MI I RR I ose nc cnncncsncsnsnsanonaneccoceces V

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE ....... 1

I. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE FACTS...... 2

A. The July 1984 Plan Amendment ...._...__.. 2

B. The Six-Month “Window” Retirement Pro-

Teen ee ai cnCecasebnloss

C. The Seiten 1984 Plan Amendment . 4

D. Mobil’s Misrepresentations and Conceal-

ee ae ls as ogucnseveasaabsaabenion 5

E. Mobil’s Violations of ERISA § 510.0000... 6

II. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF PROCEED-

a cas is cai cuthnseandivanans 7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT..................... ‘ 8

I. THE CONTROLLING STATUTORY PROVI-

EE RE DD ea OE 9

II. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS CON-

SISTENT WITH FIRESTONE AND THE

ONLY INTERPRETATION OF FIRESTONE

CONSISTENT WITH SECTION 510 Bs 11

Ill. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES

NOT CREATE STANDING BY A MERE

ALLEGATION OR CLAIM OF STANDING... 13

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES

NOT ALTER THE STATUTORY DEFINI-

TION OF “PARTICIPANT,” BUT DOES REC-

OGNIZE THAT THE PROOF REQUIRED TO

MEET THE DEFINITION DIFFERS DE-

PENDING UPON THE NATURE OF THE

ERISA CLAIM ASSERTED ........................ an 15

(iil)

a ee

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

V. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS NOT

INCONSISTENT WITH PRECEDENT IN

OTHER CIRCUITS 20

VI. THE CIRCUIT COURTS HAVE ONLY RE-

CENTLY BEGUN TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE

PRESENTED HERE fate 22

Vil. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES

NOT CREATE “UNCERTAINTY” OR “IN-

CONSISTENCY” IN THE ADMINISTRA-

TION OF ERISA PLANS 24

MIN a cok cieies we ale ndce accussAs nur sewua der iacebearaweasaay 26

APPENDIX

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209 (5th

Rees crs. h Fh ccna dons paapcealiness eka aceastaiains la

Order Granting Motion for Judgment on the

Pleadings and Motion to Dismiss, Christopher v.

Mobil Oil Corp., Civ. No. B-89-0653-CA (E.D. Tex.

Tt ER ecsaer it chnncmaaandat cee

Order Granting Motion for Summary Judgment,

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., Civ. No. B-89-

0653-CA (E.D. Tex. June 22, 1990) ..........00000000000... 28a

Order Denying Appellants’ Petition for Rehearing,

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., No. 90-4562 (5th

os gree ees Re tee 30a

Reporter’s Transcript of Order Denying Motion

for Summary Judgment, Raymond v. Mobil Oil

Corp., No. 88-Z-2112 (United States District

Court, District of Colorado, June 25, 1992) ........... 32a

ERISA § 3(7), 29 U.S.C. § 1002 (7) ................2....2--- 38a

ERISA § 602, 29 U.S.C. § 1132 .................... lei-nertinpans 38a

ERISA § 610, 29 U.S.C. § 1260... sc ccccccccccrensesnese 45a

v

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405

(1975) 19

Amalgamated Clothing & Textile Workers Union,

AFL-CIO v. Murdock, 861 F.2d 1406 (9th Cir.

1988) 15

Barrett Computer Services, Inc. v. PDA, Inc., 884

F.2d 214 (5th Cir. 1989) in 14

Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co., 911 F.2d 911 (3rd

Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 1310 (1991) 18, 22

Bittner v. Sadoff & Rudoy, 490 F. Supp. 534 (E.D.

Wis. 1980) . 18, 19, 20

Boren v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., Ince.,

933 F.2d 891 (10th Cir. 1991) 15

Buchanan v. Foster Elec. Co., 1989 WL 157340

(N.D. Ill. 1989) 15

Calhoun v. Falstaff Brewing Corp., 478 F. Supp.

357 (E.D. Mo. 1979) 18

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F. 2d 1209 (5th

Cir. 1992) ates passim

Conkwright v. Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 739 F.

Supp. 1006 (D. Md. 1990), aff’d, 933 F.2d 231

(4th Cir. 1991) pecuit ye ees

Deller v. Portland General Elec. Co., 727 F. Supp.

1369 (D. Or. 1989) LAY PEt) he

Deeming v. American Standard, Inc., 905 F.2d

1124 (7th Cir. 1990) 24

Donahue v. Custom Management Corp., 634 F.

Supp. 1190 (W.D. Pa. 1986) sss 24

Fischer v. Philadelphia Elec. Co., 1991 WL 36215

(ieee Dek Wee cca fe . 18,28

Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. : v. Bruch, 489 U.S.

101 (1989) _. __... passim

Fleming v. Ayers & Associates, 948 F. 2d 993 (6th

> | PE rt a A Ae SE 19

Flick v. Borg-Warner Corp., 392 F.2d 285 (3rd

RA SIO iovcccesscone tostueks ee eee ee 15

Folz v. Marriott Corp., 594 F . Supp. 1007 (W.D.

Bn, TO i a eee 18, 19, 20

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Freeman v. Jacques Orthopaedic & Joint Implant

Surgery Medical Group, Inc., 721 F.2d 654 (9th

CO ROI asec vecccccvccccncectoteee ee ee . 15, 21

Garry v. TRW, Inc., 603 F. Supp. 157 (N.D. Ohio

WE hiiscseivessisenevssncsaccecaccasavinhcis cea 18, 24

Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834 (3rd

CSU ROM I AD scnvcnesscgnccsesssscocsccionsbeech eee eee 16, 24

Gilquist v. Becklin, 675 F. Supp. 1168 (D. Minn.

1987), aff'd mem., 871 F.2d 1093 (8th Cir.

RN escecscsenccosineesnscecdcouasceatees eee 15

Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U. S. 91

6) ) Reena (iiavaxaccss¢heeedesieat oaeeeren eaten eat 14

Hager v. Veco Corp., 1 Employee Benefits Cas.

(BA) UGBT CRD, TE. RGR) xc ncviccccccsscccckccccensssss 15

Healy v. Axelrod Const. Co, Pension Plan & Trust,

787 F. Supp. 888 (N.D. Il. 1092) ....................:.... 24

Henry v. Black & Decker Inc., 779 F. Supp. 778

CTD, Fabs. OAD akcctontstcese eee eee 14

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. 478

EEE sicrcicccescccnsncckescebcucrbreeb ae acai eaneee passim

Jones v. AT & T Co., 1992 WL 68266 (E. D. Pa.

ROE Sos icccscdtnn. ccna ee 23

Joseph v. New Orleans Elec. Pension & Retirement

Plan, 754 F.2d 628 (5th Cir. 1985) 2.0... 15

Kuntz v. Reese, 785 F.2d 1410, (9th Cir. 1986)

(per curiam), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 916

CIE vo cecdcsgicnccesdcacevccavesonntansnnceumeen ass ee 10, 15

Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473

Seis RI SID i sescncnre occsccecctoe ee sada 16,17

Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463 (10th

Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 252 (1990) .......... 7, 17, 20,

21, 23

Nemeth v. Clark Equipment Co., 677 F. Supp. 899

COR A BN BID hore sed eee 18

Nugent v. Jesuit High School of New Orleans, 625

je 8: Fi ee | ne. os ee 15

Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., Civil Action No. 88-

Z-2112 (D. Colo. June 25, 1992) .......................... 23

Saladino v. I.L.G.W.U. Nat’l Retirement Fund, 754

PBe Gre COR Gar BE wiisnews 15

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Saporito v. Combustion Enginering, Inc., 843 F.2d

666 (2d Cir. 1988), vacated and remanded, 489

U.S. 1049 (1989), on remand No. 87-5144, slip.

op. (3d Cir. June 29, 1989) ........................ 18, 20, 22, 23

Sommers Drug Stores Co. Employee Profit Sharing

Trust v. Corrigan, 883 F.2d 345 (5th Cir.

i Re SIRNA a SAA as SENNA TE alse SSS EUR 15

Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 482 (4th Cir.

1) RUA a Ree eR a la Ce ROCIO PENS TRA SN Sp ecED ST EOS 15, 21

Teagardener v. ' Republic- Franklin Incorporated

Pension Plan, 909 F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1990) ...... . 16,22

Vogel v Independence Federal Savings Bank, 692

F. Supp. 587 (D. Md. 1988), aff’d, 728 F. Supp.

po I Re eee Se ta ee ea ae | | |

West v. Butler, 621 F.2d 240 (6th Cir. 1980)... 24, 25

Winchester v. Pension Committee, 942 F.2d 1190

(7th Cir. 1991) - tia : yeas |

Woolsey v. Marion , Laboratories, “Inc., 934 F.2d

1452 (10th Cir. 1991) __.... pT IN PNM NRA ES 16

Yancy v. American Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 107

See nn ne oe ee ee ee 15, 21

Young v. AT & T Transition Protection Payment

Plan, 1989 WL 675 (D. N.J. 1989)... 23

Zipf v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 799 F.2d 889

pe a A eee ed AM Pe 16, 18, 25

STATUTES AND RULES

26 U.S.C. § 401 (a) (4)...... iA Sn nen DT AE HEM Sd oN 4

EE | Tete arbor Sanne nen nea en Senna onan 9,23

, Rik Fe Ft Se eae Pe sence 10

Be re eT onic ovo ees ssc siniscnesnnannee ae ie erence 15, 16

os ce caudbi cneinesunondavneaiente 7

pee FM 8D 5 2 ee anne eeee ee enenen 10

Be Meas Oe UO OF GORD oon case cecesenceececcsevencasnsccses 15

20 U.5.C. § 1132 (a) (i) (C) ...................... Pedra hes 15

29 U.S.C. § 1183 (a@) (2).......................... Sh aaa 15, 16

Bk Tee Be a } oars 10

Rte Som Bee fh Te 8 et | cnn nn nae 15

Viii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

ee I ee eee 10

ED coc ce ea 2,9, 10, 20

ae sn ae 7

ERISA § 502 (a) ............ pee RAR AAP ISSR case NT INTO 19

I oan case cece eaves 10

SMA We UF oe accesso iccenccecncaeesevscsennevornvecncecs 8

Ue re 2 es ee passim

OTHER AUTHORITIES

2 Legislative History of the Employee Retirement

Income Security Act of 1974, 1641-42 (1976)... 18

Retirement Equity Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-

397, § 302(d) (1), 98 Stat. 1426, 1451-52, (codi-

fied, as amended, 29 U.S.C. § 1001, Historical

and Statutory Notes) $

S. Rep. No. 93-127, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., Reprinted

in 1974 U.S. Code Cong. and Ad. News at 4871.. 9

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1992

No. 91-1881

MoBIL OIL CORPORATION, THE RETIREMENT PLAN OF

MoBIL OIL CORPORATION, and REx ADAMS,

‘ Petitioners,

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, CHARLES L. PRUNTY, and

BILLY G. TURNER,

Respondents.

On Petition for Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit

RESPONDENTS’ BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

At issue here is whether the Court of Appeals correctly

held that standing to sue under ERISA $510 may be

established by former employees, notwithstanding their

receipt of a lump sum payment of all their accrued pen-

sion benefits, if they prove: (1) that their employer’s

misrepresentations and concealment of certain material

facts prior to the empolyees’ “retirement” decision caused

the retirements and rendered them involuntary in the

Same sense that an outright firing is an involuntary dis-

92

ee

charge; and (2) that but for the violation of § 510, the

respondents would in fact be current employees “eligible

to receive a benefit-of any type from an employee benefit

plan.” ERISA § 3(7).

I. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE FACTS.

Plaintiffs were each employed by Petitioner Mobil Oil

Corporation (“Mobil”) for more than 35 years. As par

of their compensation, they earned retirement benefits,

including a pension under a defined-benefit Retirement

Plan (the “Plan”). For many years, such pensions were

paid in the form of monthly annuities. But in 1977,

Mobil amended the Plan to allow retiring employees to

take their pensions in a lump sum, reduced to present

value using a 5% discount rate. To qualify for this

lump sum option, the retiring employee had to have

$250,000 in acerued pension or had to show a personal

net worth, exclusive of his Mobil pension, exceeding that

figure.

A. The July 1984 Plan Amendment.

In late 1983 and early 1984, Mobil’s Executive Com-

mittee began consideration of changes to the lump sum

benefit. The 5% discount factor had made the lump sum

far more valuable—approximately 40% more valuable—

than the annuity benefit. The intervening years of in-

flation, including salary inflation, had made a majority

of Mobil’s employees eligible for the lump sum under the

$250,000 test. Utilization of the lump sum option was

becoming virtually universal. The Executive Committee

wanted to increase the discount factor and the eligi-

bility test or “threshold.”

By May 1984, however, Mobil knew that Congress was

likely to pass an amendment to ERISA that would pre-

vent “cutbacks” in defined benefits, including “optional”

forms of benefits such as Mobil’s lump sum option. The

proposed amendment, eventually enacted as part of the

3

Retirement Equity Act (“REA”), would not prohibit such

“cutbacks,” however, if made before July 30, 1984. Re-

tirement Equity Act of 1984, Pub. L. No. 98-397, § 302

(d) (1), 98 Stat. 1426, 1451-52 (codified, as amended, 29

U.S.C. § 1001, Historical and Statutory Notes).

Mobil’s Executive Committee acted quickly. On June

13, 1984, it adopted and on July 2, 1984, it announced a

Plan amendment: (a) increasing the discount factor from

5% to 9.5° for benefits accrued after February 1, 1985;

and (b) increasing the lump-sum eligibility threshold from

$250,000 to $450,000, also effective February 1, 1985,

to be increased thereafter by the consumer price index.

The change in the threshold eligibility requirement was

not made prospectively. That is, once the Plan amend-

ment became effective, the new eligibility test would

apply to all retirees and with respect to the entirety of

their pension.

B. The Sixth-Month “Window” Retirement Program.

Ostensibly as a matter of fairness, Mobil also announced

on July 2 1984, a special, six-month “window” retire-

ment program for those employees who were 55 or older

before the new Plan amendment became effective. They

could take their pension in a lump sum under the old

$250,000 test—but only if they retired by January 1,

1985. As part of this window “program,” Mobil waived

certain advance notice requirements for electing the lump

sum.

For more than 1,000 Mobil employees, the Plan amend-

ment and the six-month window operated as an “early

retirement” program—and an inexpensive one for Mobil,

since it was not required to pay any “incentives” to en-

courage the early retirements. Indeed, Mobil’s net sav-

ings for this “early retirement” program were nearly

$300 million.

At the time it announced the Plan amendment and the

“window” retirement program, Mobil informed its em-

4

ployees that the amendment was “subject to IRS approval”

—j.e. an IRS determination that the Plan, as amended,

would continue to meet the IRS’ criteria for ‘favorable

tax treatment.’’ The plaintiffs and their fellow ‘window

retirees’”” were led to believe that such IRS approval

would be routine. After all, Mobil had the right to adopt

the Plan amendment when it did. In fact, Mobil could

have abolished the lump sum benefit altogether—so long

as it did so before July 30, 1984, the effective date of the

REA’s “anti-cutback” provision.

To this point in events, Mobil’s conduct did not violate

ERISA. In particular, as to $510 of ERISA, if retire-

ment-eligible employees chose to “opt” for the lump sum

benefit and to give up their jobs to get the lump sum,

their retirements would not constitute unlawful discharges

in violation of $510. Instead, they would be making a

conscious, albeit unwanted, decision to retire and to re-

ceive all their retirement benefits earned through the

date of retirement.

C. The September 1984 Plan Amendment.

On July 16, 1984, Mobil submitted its application for a

determination letter to the IRS. The chief concern was

whether the new $450,000 threshold would “discriminate

in favor of highly compensated employees,” in violation

of 26 U.S.C. § 401(a) (4). In September, the IRS agent

reviewing the Plan amendment informed Mobil that he

would not approve it, because it would indeed favor

Mobil’s “highly paid executives.”

Although Mobil informed its Executive Committee of

the IRS’ rejection of the Plan amendment, it did not in-

form_its rank and file. Instead, in late September 1984,

it made a new amendment, incorporating into the amend-

ment proposed in July, a right of each employee to apply

for a waiver of the $450,000 threshold. This new Plan

amendment reserved to Mobil “sole discretion” to grant

such waivers “in individual cases for valid cause shown.”

5

However, Mobil has admitted that the purpose and in-

tended operation of the waiver clause was to prevent

“statistical” discrimination in favor of highly compen-

sated employees. Since eligibility for the lump sum option

among Mobil’s highly paid employees would be virtually

universal even under the $450,000 test—a fact Mobil knew

from internal and outside actuarial studies—-the prac-

tical effect of the waiver clause was inescapable: it would

negate the $450,000 threshold amendment.

D. Mobil’s Misrepresentations and Concealments.

The IRS informally approved the new amendment in

October. However, Mobil again made no announcement

to its rank and file. It did not inform the employees that

the IRS had rejected the originally proposed Plan amend-

ment, that a new amendment had been adopted—after the

July 30, 1984 effective date of the REA—or that employees

now had a right to apply for a waiver of the $450,000

requirement.

To the contrary, Mobil actively concealed these facts

from employees considering retirement under the “win-

dow” program. For example, in October 1984, Mobil pre-

pared two memoranda concerning the IRS’ approval of

the new Plan amendment. One was sent to Mobil’s Ex-

ecutive Committee and correctly described the amendment

as adopted the previous month, including the new waiver

clause. The second memorandum, addressed to Mobil’s

employee relations managers throughout the country—

who referred only to the Plan amendment in the form

announced on July 2, 1984.

Several employees, including plaintiffs, who were con-

sidering retirement under the window program asked

their respective employee relations departments about

possible exceptions to the $450,000 requirement. They

were consistently told that no exceptions were possible.

On November 12, 1984, one of Mobil’s executives pre-

pared a “confidential memorandum” concerning plans for

ee

6

administering the waiver clause. This document discusses

“adverse comments” made to the IRS about the July 2,

1984 version of the Plan amendment by employees who

were considering retirement under the window program.

The IRS had responded to the employees, explaining only

that the amendment “did not adversely affect the qualifi-

cation of the Plan.” This internal Mobil memorandum

then expresses relief that the IRS had made “no mention

of the additional amendment required by the IRS [i.e.,

the waiver clause].”

Mobil announced the IRS’ approval of the Plan amend-

ment to its employees on December 21, 1984—just ten

days before the end of the “window” program. This an-

nouncement specifically referred to the July 2, 1984

announcement and implied that the IRS had approved

the Plan amendment as announced in July. This Decem-

ber announcement also did not disclose the waiver amend-

ment or the date of its adoption.

E. Mobil’s Violations of ERISA § 510.

Plaintiffs and their fellow “window retirees” left Mobil

on January 1, 1985, believing that the Plan amendment

announced by Mobil the previous July had been approved

by the IRS and without knowing that the true Plan

amendment had been made in September 1984. Plaintiffs

also retired not knowing of their right under the Plan

amendment to apply for a waiver of the $450,000 re-

quirement. Had plaintiffs known of the IRS rejection,

they, through their unions and attorneys, would have

learned that their rights to the lump sum benefit under

the $250,000 test had been “grandfathered in” by the

REA. Similarly, had plaintiffs known of the right to

apply for a waiver, each would have done so, instead of

forfeiting his job—especially if provided information

about the purpose and intended operation of the waiver

clause.

|

7

Mobil never did announce the true Plan amendment in

the form adopted in September 1984. Instead, in October

1985, Mobil announced the “‘waiver clause,” without spec-

ifying when it had been adopted and without explaining

that it was part of the threshold amendment. Mobil made

this announcement only to then-current employees. Plain-

tiffs did not discover Mobil’s fraudulent conduct until

late 1988, as a result of discovery and trial in a case

brought by one of the “window retirees” in Colorado."

Il. COUNTERSTATEMENT OF PROCEEDINGS.

Plaintiffs brought this action on July 7, 1989, alleging

that Mobil’s conduct violated the Age Discrimination in

Employment Act (“ADEA”) and state law. Plaintiffs

also asserted that if their state law claims were pre-

empted by ERISA, then Mobil’s conduct constituted a

violation of ERISA, specifically § 510.

Mobil filed dispositive motions on all claims, including

a motion to dismiss plaintiffs’ ERISA claims on grounds

that plaintiffs were not “participants” seeking to recover

benefits under ERISA § 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132, and they

therefore lacked standing to sue under ERISA. On June

22, 1990, the District Court granted summary judgment

for Mobil on the ADEA claims, finding those claims

barred by statutes of limitations. The trial court dis-

missed the state law claims based on ERISA preemption,

1 The Colorado action, denominated Mitchell v. Mobil Ow Corp.,

Civil Action No. 86-Z-585, asserted claims for violation of the Age

Discrimination in Employment Act, of ERISA, and of state law.

Mitchell’s theory was that Mobil’s July 2, 1984 announcement itself

worked a “constructive discharge” of Mitchell. Although Mitchell

also offered evidence of Mobil’s fraudulent conduct after the July 2,

1984 announcement—solely as a means of showing that the an-

nouncement was willful and intentional—he did not claim at trial

that his retirement had been fraudulently procured. Ultimately, his

“constructive discharge” theory failed under both ADEA and

ERISA. Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, 111 S.Ct. 252 (1990).

8

and it ruled that plaintiffs did not have standing to sue

as “participants” under ERISA § 502(a).

The Fifth Circuit affirmed the ADEA ruling and the

ERISA preemption ruling, but reversed and remanded

the district court’s dismissal of plaintiffs’ ERISA claims.

Christopher v. Mobil Oil Corp., 950 F.2d 1209 (5th Cir.

1992). The Court found that dismissal on the pleadings

of the contingent ERISA claims. was premature, as

plaintiffs’ allegations indicated that they may have been

discharged in violation of § 510 and that, but for Mobil’s

nondisclosures, they would be covered employees with

standing to sue under § 510. The Fifth Circuit observed

that it was possible plaintiffs could prove facts that

would establish standing under ERISA § 510. The Fifth

Circuit also noted that plaintiffs had sought reinstate-

ment on their ADEA claims, and did not affirmatively in-

dicate that reinstatement was not also sought under their

ERISA claims.

Upon remand, plaintiffs have amended their Complaint,

asserting claims under § 510 of ERISA. They allege that

Mobil fraudulently procured their involuntary discharges,

by interfering with their ERISA-protected right to re-

ceive the lump sum benefit under the $250,000 test, by

inducing them to believe that they could exercise their

right to the lump sum only by giving up their jobs, and

by concealing from them and thus preventing them from

exercising their right under the Plan to apply for a

waiver of the $450,000 requirement. Plaintiffs seek

equitable relief pursuant to ERISA § 502(a)(3) in the

form of a “make whole” remedy. The case is now pro-

ceeding in the District Court for the Eastern District

of Texas.

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

(1) The means by which a former employee may estab-

lish or prove his standing, as articulated by the Fifth

Circuit’s decision in this case, are consistent with the

9

statutory definition of “participant” under ERISA § 3(7)

and are not inconsistent with any applications of that

definition by this Court or any of the other circuits.

(2) The Fifth Circuit’s decisien on standing does not

threaten the certainty or uniformity of ERISA plan

administration.

(3) Review of the Fifth Circuit’s decision would be

premature. The grounds for standing recognized by the

Fifth Circuit require proeef of an ERISA § 510 claim that

in and of itself caused plaintiffs to cease being “current

employees.” Standing here is not based on a mere claim

or allegation of standing. Ultimately, plaintiffs may or

may not establish standing in the District Court, but in

any event the proper time for review by this Court would

be after the lower courts have fully adjudicated the issue.

(4) If the Court were to review the Fifth Circuit’s

decision on standing purely as a legal formulation, it

would find, again, that the formulation is not inconsist-

ent with any prior decisions of this Court or of the other

circuits; however, the principles articulated by the Fifth

Circuit have not been significantly developed by the lower

courts. In fact, in related litigation, the District Court

for the District of Colorado on July 21, 1992 certified

the very issue presented here for interlocutory review by

the Tenth Cireuit Court of Appeals under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1292(b). [32a.]

I. THE CONTROLLING STATUTORY PROVISIONS.

ERISA is comprehensive remedial legislation intended

to provide the full range of legal and equitable remedies

to redress and prevent violation of its provisions. S.Rep.

No. 93-127, 93d Cong., 2d Sess., Reprinted in 1974 U.S.

Code Cong. and Ad. News at 4871. As pertinent here,

standing to bring civil actions to enforce ERISA rights

and to redress violations is afforded to a “participant”

of an employee benefit plan. ERISA § 502(a) (1) & (3),

lle

10

29 U.S.C. § 1182(a) (1) & (3). A participant, as defined

by ERISA § 3(7), is “any employee or former employee

. who is or may become eligible to receive a benefit

of any type from an employee benefit plan.” (emphasis

added). 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7).

Under § 3/7), current employees who are eligible or

who in the future may become eligible for plan benefits

are “participants” for standing purposes. A former em-

ployee “may become eligible for benefits,” and is therefore

a “participant,” if he has a “reasonable expectation of

returning to covered employment” or a “colorable claim

to vested benefits.” Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. v.

Bruch, 489 U.S. 101, 117 (1989); Kuntz v. Reese, 785

F.2d 1410, 1411 (9th Cir. 1986).

In relevant part, ERISA § 510 provides:

It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge...

a participant . . . for exercising any right to which

he is entitled under the provisions of an employee

benefit plan [or] this Subchapter... or for the pur-

pose of interfering with the attainment of any right

to which such participant may become entitled under

the plan [or] this Subchapter. . . . 29 U.S.C. § 1140.

Mobil contends that a former employee cannot be a

“participant” under this or any other provision of ERISA

if he has received all the benefits he earned through the

date he left “covered employment”—regardless of whether

his departure was caused by his employer’s violation of

$510. Mobil asserts that the only “exception” to this

“rule” is where the former employee asks his employer

to reinstate him before he sues under ERISA. Under that

“exception,” the presuit request for reinstatement, ac-

cording to Mobil, may represent a “reasonable expecta-

tion of returning to covered employment,” but only if

the reinstatement would allow the employee to “satisfy

eligibility requirements” for a benefit not satisfied before

his wrongful discharge.

! |

11

These are the “rule” and the “exception”? Mobil urged

below and which it advances on its Petition. But neither

the decisions of this Court nor of the circuits support the

“rule” or the “exception.”

Il. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS CONSIST-

ENT WITH FIRESTONE AND THE ONLY INTER-

PRETATION OF FIRESTONE CONSISTENT WITH

SECTION 510.

Under Mobil’s argument, many persons who might be

harmed by conduct proscribed by § 510 would lack stand-

ing to sue under that section. Any employee discharged

for exercising his right to a fully vested ERISA benefit

necessarily would have already received the vested bene-

fit. He would no longer have a “colorable claim for

vested benefits.”” He would not have a “reasonable expec-

tation of returning to covered employment” to “attain

eligibility for the benefit’”’ because he had already obtained

eligibility. Also, his expectation of returning to covered

employment could be defeated by the employer or by cir-

cumstances entirely beyond the participant’s control (e.g.

if the employer goes out of business), making his request

for reinstatement “unreasonable.”

To illustrate, an employer offering a health plan and

maternity leave as its only ERISA benefits might inten-

tionally discharge a female worker immediately after her

return from maternity leave, for exercising her ERISA

rights. At the time of her discharge, she had received all

earned and vested benefits, yet her discharge is obviously

violative of § 510. She would lack standing, according to

Mobil, however, because she would have no claim, color-

able or otherwise, for ‘“‘vested benefits’ and no expecta-

tion of attaining eligibility for a vested benefit in the

future. Additionally, if the circumstances of her dis-

charge or events subsequent to the discharge made her

reinstatement unlikely or an “unreasonable expectation,”

then she would lack standing on this ground as well.

Such a construction of Firestone would vitiate § 510

and allow the employer, through his own conduct viola-

12

tive of § 510, to defeat the employees’ standing to remedy

the violation. The Fifth Circuit recognized this, and thus

rejected Mobil’s restrictive interpretation of Firestone—

the same interpretation advanced in its petition here. In

doing so, the court used the plaintiff in /ngersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, 111 8.Ct. 478 (1990), as an example,

not unlike the female employee discharged after return-

ing from maternity leave:

The Supreme Court’s recent McClendon decision held

that |Section 510] would foreclose the development of

any state law cause of action for wrongful termina-

tion to prevent vesting of pension benefits. ... The

implication of the Court’s holding that the discharged

employee must look solely to ERISA for his remedy

is that he would have standing to do so. Neverthe-

loss, it is not readily apparent that he would have

standing under the construction of /irestone urged

by Mobil; he would be a former employee lacking

both a claim for vested benefits and (unless he re-

cuested reinstatement) a reasonable expectation of

returring to covered employment. It would be un-

usual if in that situation his ability to assert a claim

at all turned on whether or not his requested relief

included reinstatement; it would seem more logical

to say that but for the employer’s conduct alleged to

be in violation of ERISA, the employee would be a

current employee with a reasonable expectation of

receiving benefits, and the employer should not be able

through its own malfeasance to defeat the employee’s

standing. 950 F.2d at 1221 (citations omitted).

The Fifth Circuit recognized that, at the time of the

alleged $ 510 violation, each of these plaintiffs were “par-

ticipants” in Mobil’s Retirement Plan, and their standing

to sue for that alleged violation cannot be defeated by

the violation itself. Either their standing is to be deter-

mined as of time of the wrongful acts, i.e. when they

were still “current employees” and thus “participants,”

or they must be treated in law as if they had never left

covered employment.

i3

Stated another way, if plaintiffs can prove the § 510

claims they allege, then they—as a matter of law—aave

continued to earn or accrue vested benefits, i.e., addi-

tional pension accumulations, which were not paid to

them. Accordingly, they would then have claims for

vested benefits not paid. Also, plaintiffs would then have

more than merely a “reasonable expectation of returning

to covered employment.” They would have proven that

they never should have lost their jobs in the first place.

II]. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES NOT CRE-

ATE STANDING BY A MERE ALLEGATION OR

CLAIM OF STANDING.

Mobil’s petition misapprehends an important aspect of

the Fifth Circuit’s decision in this case. The Fifth Cir-

cuit held that plaintiffs may establish standing to sue

under § 510 only if they prove that their status as “for-

mer employees” was the result of a § 510 violation and

not the result of their own actions. See especially, 950

F.2d at 1222. In other words, plaintiffs are required to

show that their apparently conscious decision to take early

retirement was in fact a fraudulently procured discharge

in which plaintiffs’ “conscious choice” was effectively

negated by fraud. Proof of such fraud is required to

render the “early retirements” truly involuntary in the

same sense that the outright firing in McClendon was

involuntary.

Thus, plaintiffs’ standing is not established by a mere

claim of fraudulent discharge. It requires proof of the

violation :

i'T\ be standing question and the merits of an em-

ployee’s claim are unavoidably intertwined to some

degree; whether a plaintiff has standing to assert

ERISA viehts may depend upon whether he can

es ublish a discharge or some other conduct in viola-

ion yf “RISA, but for which he would have standing.

959 ¥.2d at 1222 (emphasis added).

14

Thus, the Fifth Circuit did not run afoul of the princi-

ples in Firestone that plaintiffs either are or are not “par-

ticipants” and that they cannot establish their status as

“participants” by merely alleging or claiming that status.

Here, the plaintiffs either are or are not participants—

depending upon whether they actually prove that they

would not have left covered employment but for Mobil’s

fraud in violation of § 510.

Requiring proof of an underlying violation as a pre-

requisite to standing, so that standing cannot be deter-

mined except upon the merits of the case, is not foreign

to the law. Gladstone, Realtors v. Bellwood, 441 U.S. 91,

n.31 (1979) (“it sometimes remains to be seen whether

the factual allegations of the complaint necessary for

standing will be supported adequately by the evidence

at trial.”) ; Barrett Computer Services, Inc. v. PDA, Ine.,

884 F.2d 214, 218-19 (5th Cir. 1989) (“... in cases in

which the merits of the claims asserted are intertwined

with the jurisdictional issue of standing challenges to

standing are frequently resolved in summary judgment

proceedings . . . or at a trial on the merits.” ) See also,

Henry v. Black & Decker Inc., 779 F. Supp. 778, 784, n.4

(D.N.J. 1991).

In this case, the merits of respondents’ ERISA claim

are inextricably intertwined with the question of stand-

ing. The Fifth Circuit, in fact, held that: “[wle em-

phasize that we have not determined that appellants will

be able to establish a violation of $510, only that they

should be allowed to do so.” [25a.]

15

IV. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES NOT

ALTER THE STATUTORY DEFINITION OF “PAR-

TICIPANT,” BUT DOES RECOGNIZE THAT THE

PROOF REQUIRED TO MEET THE DEFINITION

DIFFERS DEPENDING UPON THE NATURE OF

THE ERISA CLAIM ASSERTED.

Judicial interpretation of ERISA standing has devel-

oped, not under § 510, but in the context of claims for

breach of plan obligations—failure to provide plan docu-

ments,” denial of benefits,* or failure to meet fiduciary

obligations. Unlike § 510 claims, such claims arise from

the contractual rights created by benefit plans and have

their genesis in pre-ERISA jurisprudence: prior to

ERISA, actions challenging denial of benefits and other

2 29 U.S.C. §§ 1182(a)(1)(A) and (C); see, e.g., Firestone Tire

and Rubber Company v. Bruch, 489 U.S. 101; Winchester v. Pension

Committee, 942 F.2d 1190 (7th Cir. 1991); Flick v. Borg-Warner

Corp., 892 F.2d 285 (3d Cir. 1989); Kuntz v. Reese, 785 F.2d 1410

(9th Cir. 1986); Saladino v. 1.L.G.W.U. Nat'l Retirement Fund,

754 F.2d 473 (2d Cir. 1985) ; Nugent v. Jesuit High School of New

Orleans, 625 F.2d 1285 (5th Cir. 1980); Buchanan v. Foster Elec.

Co., 1989 WL 157340 (N.D. Ill. 1989); Hager v. Veco Corp., 1

Employee Benefits Cas. (BNA) 1827 (N.D. Il. 1979).

$29 U.S.C. § 11382(a)(1)(B); see, e.g., Firestone v. Bruch; Boren

v. Southwestern Bell Telephone Co., Inc., 933 F.2d 891 (10th Cir.

1991); Teagardner v. Republic-Franklin, Inc. Pension Plan, 909

F.2d 947 (6th Cir. 1990); Flick v. Borg-Warner Corp., 892 F.2d

285; Yancey v. American Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 707 (5th Cir.

1985) ; Freeman v. Jacques Orthopaedic and Joint Implant Surgery,

721 F.2d 654 (9th Cir. 1983); Deller v. Portland General Elec. Co.,

727 F. Supp. 1369 (D. Or. 1989).

#29 U.S.C. §§ 1109, 1132(a)(2); see, e.g., Flick v. Borg-Warner

Corp., Sommers Drug Stores Co. Employee Profit Sharing Trust v.

Corrigan, 883 F.2d 345 (5th Cir. 1989); Amalgamated Clothing &

Textile Workers Union, AFL-CIO v. Murdock, 861 F.2d 1406 (9th

Cir. 1988) ; Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432 (4th Cir. 1986) ;

Kuntz v. Reese; Joseph v. New Orleans Elec. Pension & Retirement

Plan, 754 F.2d 628 (5th Cir. 1985) ; Gilquist v. Becklin, 675 F. Supp.

1168 (D. Minn. 1987).

1d

pension plan rights were governed by principles of con-

tract law. Firestone, 489 U.S. at 112.

The conduct prohibited by § 510 is not merely the fail-

ure to meet plan obligations; a § 510 claim requires in-

terference with the employment relationship, with a spe-

cific intent to prevent attainment or to interfere with the

exercise of a right under ERISA or an ERISA-governed

plan. Gavalik v. Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834, 851-

52 (3rd Cir. 1987); Zipf v. American Tel. & Tel. Co.,

799 F.2d 889, 893 (3rd Cir. 1986). Thus, claims alleging

violation of $510 are more akin to common law actions

in tort for wrongs to the employment relationship. See,

Woolsey ». Marion Laboratories, Inc., 934 F.2d 1452,

1461 (10th Cir. 1991) (recognizing that § 510 “was de-

signed to protect the employment relationship which gives

rise to an individual’s pension rights.”); Vogel v. Inde-

pendeiice Federal Savings Bank, 692 F.Supp. 587, 595

(D.Md. 1988) (§ 510 creates the statutory equivalent of

tortious interference claim) ; see also, Vogel, 728 F. Supp.

1210, 1218 n.18 «(D. Md. 1990).

Section 510 was enacted to prevent interference with

the attainment or exercise of any right or benefit to

which a participant may become entitled, including the

opportunity to accrue additional benefits through contin-

ued employment. See, e.g., Conkwright v. Westinghouse

Elec. Corp., 933 F.2d 231, 236 (4th Cir.-1991). And

since the prohibitions of § 510 are not limited to conduct

that result in deprivation of benefits, but reaches as well

conduct that harms the employment relationship, a § 510

plaintiff need not present a claim for benefits at all.

Zipf, 799 F.2d at 898; see also, McClendon, 111 S.Ct.

at 486.°

5 Mobil cites Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co. v. Russell, 473 US.

134 (1985) for the proposition that only “benefits” are recoverable

on a claim under ERISA. Petition at 16. Russell held that under

§ 1132(a) (2), an individual may bring a § 1109 suit for breach of

fiduciary duty to recover on behalf of the plan, but not for losses he

RP oA

17.

It is therefore not surprising that a wrongfully dis-

charged employee may prove that he has a “colorable

claim for vested benefits” and thus standing by a showing

that is different from the showing required a plaintiff

suing for the denial of benefits or for plan information.

The § 510 plaintiff may be considered a “current em-

ployee,” as a matter of law, or his standing as a “partici-

pant” may be determined as of the time the tort was

committed. He may prove that he should never have lost

his job, and upon such proof, establish a claim for vested

benefits he has earned in law though not in fact.

This does not mean that the statutory definition of

“narticipant” is different in a § 510 case, but it does

mean that the proof required to meet the definition may

indeed be different in a § 510 context than in a benefits

denial context.

The same result obtains under the other prong of the

Firestone formulation, i.e., whether the “former” em-

ployee has a “reasonable expectation of returning to cov-

ered employment.” The fact that a § 510 plaintiff does

not precede his suit by asking his employer to rehire him

cannot defeat his standing to bring an ERISA § 510

claim.® Reinstatement, whether through an informal, pre-

suit request for reemployment or otherwise, is nota pre-

has personally incurred. The majority opinion in Russell states that

the Court was not considering whether any other ERISA provision

—such as § 510-—-authorized recovery of extracontractual relief.

Vogel, 692 F. Supp. at 595, citing Massachusetts Mut. Life Ins. Co.

v. Russell, 473 U.S. at 139, n.5, 105 S.Ct. at 3088 n.5; see also, Vogel,

728 F. Supp. at 1218.

® Here, as the Fifth Circuit noted, respondents did request

reinstatement in connection with their age discrimination claim,

indicating that respondents “do desire court-ordered reinstatement.”

[2la.] On remand, they have also requested reinstatment on their

ERISA §510 claims—-which defeats Mobil’s argument against

standing in this case in any event. See, Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 474;

Christopher, 950 F 2d at 1223.

18

requisite to a cause of action under § 510.7. And the rem-

edies provided by $ 510 were designed to be administered

by the courts, not by the employer or the plan adminis-

trator. Zipf v. American T & T, 799 F.2d at 892, citing

2 Legislative History of the Employee Retirement Income

Security Act of 1974, 1641-42 (1976).°

Indeed; given the nature of the conduct actionable under

§ 510, a pre-suit request to be rehired is likely an exer-

cise in futility.’ Where employment has terminated be- -

cause of conduct in violation of § 510, reinstatement may

be a practical impossibility due to the former employee’s

age, illness or injury (whether related to the prohibited

conduct or not), hostility, or dissolution of the employer’s

business. If the employee asks the employer for reinstate-

ment, and the employer rejects the request, saying there

is “no chance” of reinstatement, then can the employee

ever prove a “reasonable expectation of returning to cov-

ered employment?”

The Fifth Circuit’s opinion in this case recognizes, in

effect, that “equitable” or constructive reinstatement is

the only realistic alternative in such cases. Section 510

7 See, e.g., Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co., 911 F.2d 911, 922 (3rd

Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct. 1310 (1991); Saporito v. Com-

bustion Engineering, Inc., 843 F.2d 666, 672 (3rd Cir. 1988),

vacated and remanded, 489 U.S. 1049, on remand, No. 87-5144, slip

op. (3rd Cir. June 29, 1989); Fischer v. Philadelphia Electric Co.,

1991 WL 36215, at p. 5; Conkwright, 739 F. Supp. 1006, aff’d, 933

F.2d 231 (4th Cir. 1991); Nemeth v. Clark Equipment Co., 677

F. Supp. 899, 908 (W.D. Mich. 1987); Garry v. TRW, Inc., 603

F. Supp. 157, 164 (N.D. Ohio 1985); Folz v. Marriott Corp., 594

F. Supp. 1007, 1016 (W.D. Mo. 1984); Bittner v. Sadoff & Rudoy,

490 F. Supp. 534, 536 (E.D. Wis. 1980) ; Calhoun v. Falstaff Brewing

Corp., 478 F. Supp. 357, 360 (E.D. Mo. 1979).

‘In Zipf, the Third Circuit held that the plaintiff was not required

to submit her § 510 claim (which included a request for reinstate-

ment, back pay and other restitutionary relief) to the plan for

administrative determination. In so holding, the court drew a dis-

tinction between a claim under §510 and contractual claims for

yenefits or other contract-based rights under other provisions of

ERISA. 799 F.2d at 892.

19

contemplates that federal courts will fashion equitable,

“make whole’ remedies—in effect treating the wrong-

fully discharged employee as though he had never been

terminated. See, Folz v. Marriott, 594 F.Supp. at 1015;

Bittner v. Sadoff & Rudoy Industries, 490 F.Supp. at

536 (under the equitable power afforded the courts by

ERISA, the court is not limited in its ability to award

relief to mere restoration of pension plan benefits, but

has equitable power to put plaintiff “back into the posi-

tion he enjoyed before the discharge.”) ; accord, Fleming

v. Ayers & Associates, 948 F.2d 993, 998 (6th Cir. 1991),

citing Albemarle Paper Co. v. Moody, 422 U.S. 405,

418-19.

This Court’s decision in McClendon reaffirms the avail-

ability of the full panoply of equitable remedies to redress

$510 violations. Although McClendon did not address the

question of standing, this Court held that where a former

employee has been discharged in order to defeat pension

rights and he seeks—not benefits—but lost wages and

other compensatory relief, his remedy is not under state

law but under ERISA § 510:

There is no basis in § 502(a)’s language for lim-

iting ERISA actions to only those which seek “pen-

sion benefits.” It is clear that the relief requested

here [including loss wage» and other “extracontrac-

tual” relief] is well within the power of the federal

courts to provide.

111 S.Ct. at 486.°

McClendon requested neither an award of unpaid,

vested benefits nor reinstatement of his employment. He

9 The Fifth Circuit did not hold or even imply that McClendon

overruled or “superseded sub silentio” Firestone. The Fifth Circuit

merely reasoned that Mr. McClendon would have standing to sue

under the ERISA claim this Court said he possessed—under § 510.

That conclusion merely buttressed the circuit court’s construction

of Firestone in the context of a $510 claim. The Fifth Circuit's

opinion is consistent with both McClendon and Firestone, and these

two opinions are consistent with each other.

thes the ve

20

had neither a colorable claim for vested benefits nor a

reasonable expectation of returning to covered employ-

ment, but he nonetheless had suffered an injury for which

$ 510 provided a remedy.

McClendon, like the plaintiffs here, could establish his

standing if he proved his § 510 claim. Either his stand-

ing was to be determined at the time the tort (i.e., the

$510 violation) occurred, or, upon proof of the violation,

he could demonstrate his status in law as a “current

employee.” And even as a former employee in fact, upon

proof of the violation, he could establish a claim for un-

paid benefits and far more than a mere “expectation of

returning to covered employment.” '°

In sum however the Fifth Circuit’s standing decision is

analyzed, it is consistent with the definition of ‘“partici-

pant” under ERISA § 3(7), and it is not inconsistent with

Firestone or, as demonstrated in the next section, any of

Firestone’s progeny in the other circuits.

V. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S DECISION IS NOT INCON-

SISTENT WITH PRECEDENT IN OTHER CIR-

CUITS.

The Fifth Circuit’s analysis of standing in this case is

not inconsistent with Mitchell v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d

463 (10th Cir.), cert. denied, 111 S.Ct. 252 (1990). or

With the decisions of other circuits on ERISA standing.

The requirement that plaintiffs here prove they were

involuntarily discharged as a result of fraudulent misrep-

resentations distinguish the cases Mobil cites. As the

Fifth Circuit observed:

|Plaintiffs’} allegations do at least suggest an

assertion that they were constructively discharged in

violation of section 510 and that but for Mobil’s non-

See, e.g., Folz v. Marriott, 594 F. Supp. at 1016; Saporito v.

Combustion Engineering, Inc., 843 F.2d at 672: Bittner v. Sadoff &

Rudoy Industries, 490 F. Supp. at 536.

an VAR cal lay A PE i Dar ORE

21

disclosure they would be covered employees with

standing to challenge the plan amendment. They

allege deceptive conduct by Mobil that might be found

to vitiate the voluntariness of their decision to retire

and that might distinguish the present case from

both Yancy and Mitchell.

Christopher, 950 F.2d at 1223. As the court adduced, it

is the involuntariness of plaintiffs’ termination that may

and, with proof, will distinguish this case from those

which Mobil claims are inconsistent with the Fifth Cir-

cuit’s opinion. See and compare, Yancy v. American

Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 707, 709 (5th Cir. 1985). The

Mitchell and Yancy plaintiffs exercised a knowing and

legally voluntary (albeit unwanted! choice to retire and

accept.a lump-sum payment of their vested benefits in

lieu of continuing employment and later challenging their

employer’s conduct. See especially, 950 F.2d at 1227. That

defeated their standing. Here, the plaintiffs made no

such knowing choice. They were defrauded out of their

jobs—the legal equivalent of an outright firing. But that

is what they must prove in order to have standing.

Similarly, in Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 432

(4th Cir. 1986) and in Freeman v. Jacques Orthopaedic

& Joint Implant Surgery Medical Group, Inc., T24 F.2d

654 (9th Cir. 1983)—both pre-Firestone cases—the issue

was whether an employee who had never been a “partici-

pant” in the ERISA plan from which he was claiming

benefits could be treated as one if he claimed that he

would have become a “participant” but for the employer’s

alleged fraud. Aside from the fact that neither case is a

$510 discharge case, both make the very point articu-

lated in Firestone and followed by the Fifth Circuit in

this case: a person either is or is not a “participant.” A

mere allegation or claim that he would have had such

status but for his employer’s actions (or any other cir-

eumstance for that matter) does not establish standing.

Proof of the actual status is required. See also and com-

22

pare, Winchester v. Pension Committee, 942 F.2d 1190,

1193 (7th Cir. 1991) (mere assertion of claim to re-

instatement is not sufficient to establish a “reasonable ex-

pectation of returning to covered employment” and thus

standing) ; Teagardener v. Republic-Franklin ] ncorporated

Pension Plan, 909 F.2d 947, 949-50 (6th Cir. 1990) (for-

mer employees not entitled to additional benefits accruing

from termination of retirement plan after they voluntarily

retired and ceased to be “participants” ),

None of the cases cited by Mobil are inconsistent with

the Fifth Cireuit’s decision in this case.

VI. THE CIRCUIT COURTS HAVE ONLY RECENTLY

BEGUN TO ADDRESS THE ISSUE PRESENTED

HERE.

As the Fifth Circuit’s decision reveals, the circuits

have only begun to articulate the principles of standing

applied below. In Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co., 911

F.2d 911, 922 (3rd Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 111 S. Ct.

1310 (1991), the Court followed prior law in holding that

the former employees did not have Standing to sue for

the denial of additiona! benefits where they had retired

and accepted all their earned benefits in a lump sum and

had not asked for reinstatement. But on the $ 510 claim,

the court held:

Of course, we recognize that if the employees were

constructively discharged ‘as they do claim, they

would not necessarily have to return to work in order

to have standing to claim a make whole remedy.

The Third Circuit has voiced similar concepts in Saporito

v. Combustion Engineering, Inc., No. 87-5144, slip op. at

5 (3rd Cir. June 29, 1989), on remand, 489 U.S. 1049

(1989), after remand from this Court to reconsider stand-

ing in light of Firestone. On remand, the court reaffirmed

an even broader principle than that applied by the Fifth

Circuit in this case:

By its very nature a $510 claim will often involve

employees who claim that they did not receive benefits

23

because of the employer’s actions, and thus were de-

nied an opportunity to become participants in the

benefits. To require that the employees have the

status of participants where they allege that the em-

ployers’ acts effectively deprived them of such status

would undercut the provision |[i.e., § 510] and can-

not have been intended by Congress.

Other courts have reached the same result, but without

necessarily articulating the means of establishing stand-

ing in the same terms used as the Fifth and Third Cir-

cuits. See, e.g., Jones v. AT & T Co., 1992 WL 68266, at

5 (E.D. Pa. 1992); Fischer v. Philadelphia Elec. Co.,

1991 WL 36215 (E.D. Pa. 1991); Young v. AT & T

Transition Protecton Payment Plan, 1989 WL 675, at 1

(D.N.J. 1989) (former employee may maintain § 510

action where employer made false representations induc-

ing employee’s involuntary resignation and thereby de-

priving him of early retirement benefits available in plan

which was announced the day after his separation from

employment); Deller v. Portland General Elec. Co., 727

F.Supp. 1369, 13871 (D. Or. 1989) (plaintiffs who received

lump sum payment of vested retirement benefits upon

termination may state claim under § 510 by showing that

but for employer’s discriminatory conduct in calculating

termination dates they would have been employed and

eligible on date improved retirement benefits were made

available).

As mentioned earlier, the issue presented here has re-

cently been certified for interlocutory appeal under 28

U.S.C. § 1292(b)—at Mobil’s request—in the related case

of Raymond v. Mobil Oil Corp., Civil Action No. 88-Z-

2112, pending in the U.S. District Court for the District

of Colorado. In Raymond, a certified class action of

“window” retirees, the District Court ruled that the Fifth

Circuit’s decision in this case is not inconsistent with

Mitchell. If the Tenth Circuit grants Mobil’s petition for

immediate review, it will then rule on the issue. If the

Tenth Circuit were to reverse the District Court’s ruling,

then a conflict would exist between the circuits.

24

In the meantime, the ERISA $510 claims in this case

are now before the District Court and should be resolved

on their merits in due course. If plaintiffs establish their

Standing to the District Court’s satisfaction, the issue in

this case may return to the appellate courts—by which

time the Tenth Circuit and perhaps other circuits will

have also decided the issue. The lower courts should be

permitted to more fully develop the law on this issue

before this Court exercises its discretionary review juris-

diction. See also, Deeming v. American Standard, Ine.,

905 F.2d 1124, 1127 (7th Cir. 1990); Healy v. Axelrod

Const. Co. Pension Plan & Trust, 787 F. Supp. 838, 844-

45 (N.D. Ill. 1992) (noting that the “exact perimeters of

[Section 510] have not been fully developed judicially.” |

VII. THE FIFTH CIRCUIT’S OPINION DOES NOT CRE-

ATE “UNCERTAINTY” OR “INCONSISTENCY” IN

THE ADMINISTRATION OF ERISA PLANS.

Mobil contends that the Fifth Circuit’s standing analy-

sis will impair the “delicate balance” between the pro-

tection of employee benefits and the costs of administering

benefit plans. Mobil’s argument emphasizes only one

purpose of ERISA—to protect benefits—to the exclusion

of the purpose for which § 510 was enacted: protection of

the employment relationship that gives rise to the bene-

fits. West v. Butler, 621 F.2d 240, 245 (6th Cir. 1980) ;

Gavalik v, Continental Can Co., 812 F.2d 834, 851 (3rd

Cir. 1987); Garry v. TRW, Inc., 603 F.Supp. 157, 162

(N.D. Ohio 1985); Donahue v. Custom Management

Corp., 634 F.Supp. 1190, 1197 (W.D. Pa. 1986).

Congress viewed $510 as a crucial part of ERISA

because without it employers would be able to “circum-

vent the provision of promised benefits.” Ingersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, 111 S.Ct. at 485 (1990). Section 510

was enacted “to prevent unscrupulous employers from

discharging or harassing their employees in order to

prevent them from obtaining their statutory or plan-based

ee we Dee Onn ee ee ee

he eR ile ae >

|

:

i

:

‘

:

i

<html

25

rights.” Zipf v. AT&T, 799 F.2d at 891, citing West v.

Butler, 621 F.2d at 244-46.

Mobil attempts to create a gap between preemption and

standing that was not intended by Congress. By its hold-

ing in McClendon, this Court reaffirmed that ERISA is

intended to provide a federal remedy for what previously

could only be litigated as a wrongful discharge claim

under state law. But this does not imply that employers

are now free to engage in fraud and concealment to pro-

cure the “retirement” of their employees with the intent

to deprive them of benefits or other rights under a plan.

Under Mobil’s analysis, as long as employers can dupe

employees into accepting payment of their currently ac-

erued benefits, immunity from $510 claims would be

guaranteed. And terminated employees, because of pre-

emption, would he left without state-law claims to redress

the employer’s misconduct.

Mobil would eviscerate the protections provided by § 510

in the name of administrative expense, legal predict-

ability, and certainty of p'an obligations. But the Fifth

Cireuit’s decision does not increase the legal or adminis-

trative burdens on ERISA plans or employers. The legal

obligation of the plan and the employer to employees under

§ 510 is to refrain from the conduct prohibited by § 510.

By definition, the means of proving “participant” status

recognized by the Fifth Circuit applies only to § 510

claims, and only to a limited, fact-specific subclass of § 510

cases—where the employer has taken prohibited action

against the employee and the prohibited conduct has itself

divested the emnloyee of his status as a current employee.

The opinion does not confer standing on every former

employee who has “second thoughts” about his early

retirement.

The Plan’s obligations to former employees remain un-

changed. Former employees asserting claims for denial

of benefits, for enforcemert of plan obligations, or for

92

yA ®)

refusal of plan information must continue to meet the

“colorable claim” or “reasonable expectation” tests estab-

lished by Firestone. Section 510 claimants must also meet

those tests. but they may do so by proof that the alleged

$510 violation did occur and that the violation is the

reason they are no longer current empioyees in fact.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

WILLIAM E. TOWNSLEY RODNEY R. PATULA

TOWNSLEY, HANKS & (Counsel of Record)

TOWNSLEY, P.C. ELIZABETH C. MORAN

3550 Fannin Street MICHAEL G. BOHN

Beaumont, Texas 77701 BRADFORD J. LAM

(409) 832-3453 PRYOR, CARNEY & JOHNSON

A Professional Corporation

6200 South Syracuse Way, #400

Englewood, Colorado 80111

(303) 771-6200

July 27, 1992 Counsel for Respondents

APPENDIX

la

APPENDIX

Opinion of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Fifth Circuit, January 24, 1992

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FIFTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-4562

Jan. 24, 1992

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, CHARLES L. PRUNTY,

and BILLY G. TURNER,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

—vV.—

MoBIL OIL CORPORATION, RETIREMENT PLAN OF

MoBIL OIL CORPORATION and REx ADAMS.

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Texas

Before:

HENLEY,* KING, and GARWOOD,

Circuit Judges.

GARWOOD, Circuit Judge:

Appellants brought claims under the Age Discrimina-

tion in Employment Act (ADEA) and the Employee Re-

* Circuit Judge of the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

2a

tirement Income Security Act (ERISA), as well as var-

ious common-law claims including fraud, civil conspiracy,

and breach of the employment contract, against their

former employer Mobil Oil Corporation, based on Mobil’s

1984 amendment of its employee benefit plan and alleged

failure to disclose to appellants all of the options available

under the amended plan. The district court granted

Mobil’s motion for summary judgment on the ADEA

claims on the grounds that the claims were time-barred

and that as a matter of law appellants were not construc-

tively discharged in violation of ADEA. The district

court also granted Mobil’s request for judgment on the

pleadings on appellants’ state law claims on the ground

that they were preempted by ERISA, and dismissed the

ERISA claims on the ground that because appellants

were not participants seeking to recover benefits from

a retirement plan, the court lacked jurisdiction over their

ERISA claims. We affirm in part and reverse and re-

maid in part.

Facts and Proceedings Below

The following facts are drawn from the parties’ sub-

missions of undisputed facts in connection with Mobil’s

motions for summary judgment, judgment on the plead-

ings, and dismissal.

Mobil provides retirement benefits for its employees

through a defined benefit plan, under which employees

receive a pension based on years of service, salary his-

tory, and life expectancy. Until 1977, the standard

method of receiving these pensions was in the form of

an annuity. In that year, however, Mobile [sic] added a

lump sum option, enabling certain employees to receive

the actuarial equivalent of their annuity, discounted at

five percent, in one payment following retirement. To

be eligible for the lump sum option, an employee had to

have either an accrued lump sum pension benefit, or a

net worth independent of the pension, equal to at least

3a

$250,000. Also, the employee was required to be at least

fifty-five years old.

On July 2, 1984, Mobil announced changes to the lump

sum option of the retirement plan, including (1) an in-

crease in the discount rate from 5% to 9.5%, to operate

prospectively, i.e., to be applied to all earnings after

January 31, 1985; (2) an increase in the eligibility thresh-

old from $250,000 to $450,000; and (3) a linking of the

new threshold to the Consumer Price Index. These

changes, which were announced as subject to Internal

Revenue Service (IRS) approval, would apply to all em-

ployees retiring after January 31, 1985; thus, employees

otherwise eligible to retire had a six-month window in

which they could retire subject to the lower threshold and

lower discount rate. The choice was a significant one for

employees who met the $250,000 threshold but who were

uncertain ever to meet the indexed $450,000 threshold

because, with market interest rates well above 5%, the

lump sum pensions were worth 40% more than the an-

nuities. Appellants, Gerald Christopher, Charles Prunty,

and Billy Turner, were among the approximately 1,100

Mobil employees who elected to take early retirement

during the 6-month window. All three submitted their

retirement notices between August and October 1984, and

retired as of January 1, 1985.

On July 16, 1984, Mobil sought a determination from

the IRS that the plan as amended continued to meet the

Internal Revenue Code’s requirements for favorable tax

treatment, including the requirement that pension plans

not “discriminate in favor of highly compensated employ-

ees.” 26 U.S.C. § 401(a) (4). In meetings in late Sep-

tember 1984, the IRS reviewing agent expressed concern

that the amended plan could result in benefits favoring

highly compensated employees, and indicated that he

might need to seek technical advice from Washington. In

response, Mobil adopted another plan amendment ailow-

ing Mobil, in its sole discretion, to waive the eligibility

|

da

threshold in individual! cases for valid cause shown. After

insertion of this provision, the IRS issued to Mobil a

favorable determination letter on November 23, 1984,

noting that continued qualification of the plan would de-

pend upon its effect in operation.

Mobil announced the IRS approval to its employees

on December 21, 1984, but did not notify its employees

of the waiver provision until well after expiration of the

six-month window—October 1985. Because of a 1985

IRS revenue ruling and subsequent pronouncements, Mo-

bil eventually entirely deleted the lump sum eligibility

threshold in 1986.

Appellants filed age discrimination charges against

Mobil with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commis-

sion (EEOC) on March 1, 1989. They alleged that Mo-

bil’s conduct in amending the plan and concealing the

Waiver provision was a concerted scheme to reduce its

work force. By purporting to increase the lump sum

threshold and concealing its awareness that applicable

tax law precluded that action, appellants charged, Mobil

induced hundreds of older employees into retirement with-

out the need to pay them an early retirement bonus. The

EEOC dismissed the charges as untimely filed. Appel-

lants then commenced this suit on July 7, 1989. They

alleged that Mobil’s conduct constituted age discrimina-

tion in violation of ADEA, 29 U.S.C. §§ 621 et seq., as

well as common-law fraud. civil conspiracy, unlawful in-

terference with contract rights, breach of the employ-

ment contract, negligence, and gross negligence. In the

event that appellants’ state law claims were held to be

preempted by ERISA, the complaint alleged in brief and

conclusory fashion that Mobil’s conduct violated ERISA,

apparently ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, prohibiting

interference with an employee’s attainment of a right

under ERISA. For all claims, appellants sought the

wages and employment benefits they would have received

had they continued working until normal retirement age.

Va

On the ADLA claims, appellants also requested reinstate-

ment.

Mobil moved for summary judgment on the ADEA and

state law claims. The district court granted the motion,

finding that the ADIXA and state law claims were time-

barred, that appellants had not been constructively dis-

charged in violation of the ADEA, and that appellants’

claims of discrimination arose from changes in fringe

benefits available under a bona fide retirement plan, not

from discrimination in nonfringe aspects of employment,

and thus were not within the purview of the ADIZA ac-

cording to ADEA § 4(f)(2), 29 U.S.C. § 623(f) (2}.

Simultaneously, Mobil moved for judgment on the plead-

ings under I*ederal Rule of Civil Procedure 12(c) on the

state law claims on the ground that they were preempted

by ERISA, and dismissal under Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure 12(b) (1) & (6) of the contingent ERISA

claim on the ground that appellants were not “partici-

pants” seeking to recover benefits under ERISA § 502,

29 U.S.C. § 1132, depriving the court of jurisdiction. The

district court granted this motion as well.

Discussion

I. ADEA Claims

We first examine the district court’s grant of sum-

mary judgment on the ADEA claims on the ground that

they were time-barred. In reviewing a grant of sum-

mary judgment, all legitimate factual inferences pre-

sented by the record are drawn in favor of the party op-

posing the motion. Bozé v. Branstetter, 912 F.2d 801, 804

(5th Cir. 1990) (per curiam). We can uphold the sum-

mary judgment only if our review demonstrates that no

genuine issue of material fact remains and that the mov-

ing party is entitled

Id.

. , e

d to judgment as a matter of law.

It is not disputed that the applicable statutes of limi-

tations require an employee ‘o file an age discrimination

{ piO) §

————————— ee eee

6a

charge with the EEOC within 300 days after the alleged

unlawful practice occurred, 29 U.S.C. § 626(d) (2), and

to file a lawsuit within 3 years after the alleged unlaw-

ful practice occurred, 29 U.S.C. §§ 255(a), 626(e). Ap-

pellants argue, however, that a genuine issue of material

fact exists as to when their awareness of the facts con-

stituting the alleged age discrimination was sufficient to

commence the running of the limitations period. See

Pruect Production Co. v. Ayles, 784 F.2d 1275, 1279 (5th

Cir. 1986) (“[T]he statute does not begin to run until

the facts which would support a cause of action are ap-

parent or should be apparent to a person with reason-

ably prudent regard for his rights.” (quoting Reeb v.

Economic Opportunity Atlanta, Inc., 516 F.2d 924, 930

(5th Cir. 1975))). Specifically, they argue that Mobil’s

negotiation of a revised plan in October 1984 only came

to light in 1988 when counsel for another former em-

ployee, Porter Mitchell (Mitchell), suing Mobil in federal

district court in Colorado, discovered the correspondence

between Mobil and the IRS. It was only when this fact

became publicly known at the trial of Mitchell v. Mobil

Oil Corp. in December 1988,’ appellants argue, that they

nad any reason to know of Mobil’s concealment of the

1The alleged fraud was not part of Mitchell’s claims against

Mobil. He argued, rather, that the plan amendment itself consti-

tuted a constructive discharge and was a willful violation of the

ADEA. He also argued that Mobil had breached its fiduciary duties

under ERISA § 404, 29 U.S.C. § 1104, and had violated ERISA’s

anti-cutback provision, ERISA 204(g), 29 U.S.C. § 1054(g), by

retroactively limiting his right to the lump sum option, an accrued

benefit. The jury found in favor of Mitchell on his ADEA claim

and awarded him damages for back pay, front pay, and lost benefits.

The district court held in favor of Mitchell on the ERISA claims

as well, awarding him compensatory and liquidated damages. On

appeal, the Tenth Circuit reversed, holding that Mitchell had failed

to prove that Mobil’s proffered justification for the plan amend-

ment was a mere pretext for discrimination, and that Mitchell was

not a participant with standing to assert ERISA claims. Mitchell

v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463, 471-74 (10th Cir.), cert. denied,

—— U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d 210 (1990).

7a

waiver option. Appellants’ EEOC filing in March 1989

and their commencement of this suit in July 1989 would

both have been timely if the statute of limitations had

commenced running in December 1988.

Evaluating the appellants’ claim that the statute of

limitations did not commence until December 1988 re-

quires an analysis of the nature of their ADEA claim.

The ADEA forbids an employer to “discharge any in-

dividual or otherwise discriminate against any individual

with respect to his compensation, terms, conditions, or

privileges of employment, because of such individual’s

age.” 29 U.S.C. § 623(a) (1). A “discharge” within the

meaning of this section may be constructive if a reason-

able person in the employee’s position would have felt

compelled to resign under the circumstances. Bodnar v.

Synpol, Inc., 843 F.2d 190, 192 (5th Cir.), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 908, 109 S.Ct. 260, 102 L.Ed.2d 248 (1988).

An attractive early retirement offer, however, is not a

constructive discharge merely because it creates a strong

incentive to retire; an early retirement option can con-

stitute a constructive discharge only if the employee

shows that it sufficiently alters the status quo that each

choice facing the employee makes him worse off. Mitchell

v. Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 463, 467 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, ——- U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d

210 (1990) ; Bodnar, 843 F.2d at 193.

The gist of appellants’ prima facie ADEA claim is as

follows. The adoption of the 1984 plan amendment pre-

sented appellants with a choice between unfavorable op-

tions; they faced the choice of retiring within the six-

month window or staying on at Mobil but possibly for-

going eligibility for the lump sum payout. Either could

be regarded as less favorable than staying on at Mobil

until normal retirement age with the assurance of eli-

gibility for the lump sum payout, which was the “status

quo” when the amendment was adopted. The asserted

discriminatory character of the amendment to the plan

8a

arises from the fact that only employees over the age

of fifty-five were put to that choice. Employees under

fifty-five did not presently qualify for retirement, so al-

though the plan amendment may have defeated an ex-

pectation for them, they were not confronted with the

possibility of losing a benefit for which they were then

qualified. See Mitchell, 896 F.2d at 496.

This much of the ADEA theory was evident in July

1984 upon the initial announcement of the plan. The

unfavorable choice to which it put “window” employees

and its particular impact on employees over fifty-five

were both apparent on the face of the plan amendment.

Indeed, the theory outlined above was precisely Mitchell’s

claim against Mobil, accepted by the Tenth Circuit.

Mitchell filed a complaint with the EEOC on April 25,

1985, with no knowledge of Mobil’s alleged concealment

of the waiver provision. Moreover, another employee,

Frederic J. Raymond (Raymond), filed a similar charge

with the Ohio Civil Rights Commission and the EEOC

on May 10, 1985. Therefore, unless appellants can show

that Mobil’s alleged concealment adds a material element

to their ADEA claim, the statute of limitations should

have commenced running in July 1984.

Appellants have offered no theory under which the

alleged nondisclosure is a necessary element. They refer

us to the Fourth Circuit case of Stone v. University of

Maryland Medical System Corp., 855 F.2d 167 (4th Cir.

1988), for their argument that “where, as here, the em-

ployee surrenders his job as a proximate result of fraud

and deceit by the employer, the voluntariness of the re-

tirement or resignation is fundamentally vitiated.” Stone

is one of a series of cases where resignations have been

held to be involuntary based on an employer’s misrepre-

sentations about or nondisclosure of an employee’s rights.

Others include Covington v. Department of Health and

Human Services, 750 F.2d 937 (Fed. Cir.1984), and

Scharf v. Department of the Air Force, 710 F.2d 1572

(Fed.Cir.1983).

9a

We do not believe that these cases avail appellants,

however. As appellants’ phrasing of their argument re-

flects, the effect of a showing of fraud in these cases is

to render an otherwise voluntary choice involuntary.

Stone and related cases involve disputes in which public

employees were entitled to certain procedural protections

if they were to be terminated involuntarily; they were

required to show that their retirement was involuntary

to invoke the jurisdiction of the Merit Systems Protec-

tion Board or to establish a “deprivation” under the

due process clause. Here, by contrast, appellants allege

a constructive discharge arising from the choice to which

they were put by the plan amendment. To further argue

that the actual election made was involuntary because it

was based on incomplete information would be superflu-

ous; involuntariness is implicit in appellants’ argument

that they were coerced into early retirement by the

threatened removal of the lump sum option. Assuming,

arguendo only, that appellants’ allegations of nondisclo-

sure would serve to estop Mobil from raising in defense

the claim that appellants’ retirement was voluntary, nev-

ertheless the asserted nondisclosure does not form a ma-

terial part of appellants’ constructive discharge theory

that would prevent the statute of limitations from com-

mencing.

Appellants’ arguments that this Court should apply

equitable tolling or equitable estoppel fail for similar

reasons. These doctrines provide for tolling of the statute

of limitations when a plaintiff’s unawareness of his abil-

ity to bring a claim—either unawareness of the facts

necessary to support a discrimination charge or unaware-

ness of his legal rights—is due to defendant’s miscon-

duct. See Rhodes v. Guiberson Oil Tools Division, 927

F.2d 876, 878-79 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——_.

112 S.Ct. 198, 116 L.Ed.2d 158 (1991); Kale v. Com-

bined Insurance Co., 861 F.2d 746, 752 (1st Cir. 1988).

Here, the knowledge allegedly concealed from the employ-

ees was that they had a third option—to continue their

eid

10a

employment and apply for a waiver from the higher lump

sum requirement. Therefore, the facts as known to the

employees in 1984 actually gave them a better ADEA

claim than they would have had with full knowledge.

Whatever nondisclosures Mobil is guilty of would not

have lulled appellants into postponing assertion of their

rights; if anything, it would have made them more likely

to assert that they were constructively discharged.

Finally, appellants argue that although they knew in

1984 of the plan amendment and retirement window,

they were misled into belteving that they had no cause

of action by Mobil’s plausible justifications for its amend-

ment of the plan, 7.e., that the threshold was changed to

adjust for intervening inflation and that the discount

rate was raised to align Mobil’s practice with that of its

competitors and to more realistically reflect current in-

terest rates. In other words, appellants contend that

although the discriminatory effect of the amendment was

apparent in 1984, it was only upon learning of the con-

cealment of the waiver option that they had reason to

believe the plan amendment was actuated by age bias and

that the alleged concerted scheme to reduce the work

force began to take shape.

We find this argument unpersuasive as well. First,

we fail to see how the deception alleged by appellants

calls into question Mobil’s proffered justifications for the

plan amendment. The evidence does not create a genuine

dispute as to the factual accuracy of Mobil’s proffered

justifications. Even if appellants’ allegations are true

respecting Mobil’s having deceived its employees about

the validity under applicable tax law of the plan amend-

ment and about the waiver provision, there is no evidence

showing that Mobil’s announced reasons for the plan

amendment were deceptive. This is an issue on which

appellants would have had the burden at trial, and they

were hence required to meet Mobil’s summary judgment

motion with summary judgment evidence that would sus-

lla

tain a jury finding in their favor on the issue. See

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 106 S.Ct. 2548,

91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986); Blumberg v. HCA Management

Co., Inc., 848 F.2d 642, 644 (5th Cir.1988), cert. denied,

488 U.S. 1007, 109 S.Ct. 789, 102 L.Ed.2d 781 (1989).

In any event, a showing of deception as to motive sup-

ports equitable estoppel only if it conceals the very fact

of discrimination; equitable estoppel is not warranted

where an employee is aware of all of the facts constitut-

ing discriminatory treatment but lacks direct knowledge

of the employer’s subjective discriminatory purpose.

Thus, where an employee was told that he was being dis-

charged because industry economic downturn required

reduction of the work force, and was told that he would

be considered for re-hiring, we applied equitable estoppel

to hold that limitations on his ADEA claim did not com-

mence until he learned that he had been replaced by a

younger employee. Rhodes, 927 F.2d at 880-82; see also

Coke v. General Adjustment Bureau, Inc., 640 F.2d 584,

595 (5th Cir.1981) (en bane) (employer’s misrepresenta-

tion that employee would be reinstated induced foresee-

able forebearance in filing ADEA claim) ; Meyer v. Riegel

Products Corp., 720 F.2d 303, 307 (3d Cir.1983) (em-

ployer’s explanation to employee that he was dismissed

as part of a reorganization furnished grounds for equi-

table tolling in an ADEA suit until discharged employee

learned that a younger replacement had been hired), cert.

dismissed, 465 U.S. 1091, 104 S.Ct. 2144, 79 L.Ed.2d 910

(1984). By contrast, where an employee knew that he

was discharged and replaced by a younger employee, his

allegation that the company concealed from him the true

reason for his discharge and that it was not until sub-

sequent hirings that the “pattern of age discrimination”

became evidence was held insufficient to support equitable

estoppel. Pruet Production Co., 784 F.2d at 1279-80;

accord Chapman v. Homco, Inc., 886 F.2d 756, 758 (5th

Cir.1989), cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1067, 110 S.Ct. 1784,

12a \

108 L.Ed.2d 785 (1990); Blumberg, 848 F.2d at 645.’

The showing required for a prima facie employment dis-

crimination claim is minimal, see Pruet Production Co.,

784 F.2d at 1279, and when “facts that would support a

cause of action are or should be apparent,” the statute

commences even if the employee is not aware of all the

evidence that he will ultimately rely upon at trial. Blum-

berg, 848 F.2d at 645 (emphasis added). The showing

required at the stage of filing charges with the EEOC is

even more lenient, because the purpose of the filing is

only to initiate an EEOC investigation. Pruet Production

Co., 784 F.2d at 1279.

Applying those principles here, we conclude that what-

ever concealment Mobi! may have been guilty of did not

deceive appellants as to the facts of the alleged discrimi-

nation. Rather, appellants were able to evaluate the

propriety of their alleged constructive discharge for

ADEA purposes immediately. Just as in individual dis-

charge cases the prima facie showing is only that the

employee has been discharged and replaced by a younger

worker, leaving exploration of an employer’s motives for

the EEOC investigation or pretrial discovery, here the

appellants’ prima facie case for constructive discharge

was that older employees alone were put to the unfavor-

able choice of early retirement or loss of the lump sum

option. This fact, apparent in July 1984, was sufficient

to put appellants on notice of possible age discrimination

(as it did other Mobil employees) and to require them

to assert their rights.

For these reasons, even accepting for purposes of our

review of the summary judgment appellants’ charges of

nondisclosure, we do not believe that a genuine issue of

2 This view is consistent with this Circuit’s rule in Title VII

cases that the limitations period starts running when the plaintiff

knows of the discriminatory act, not when the plaintiff perceives a

discriminatory motive behind the act. See Merrill v. Southern

Methodist University, 806 F.2d 600, 605 (5th Cir.1986).

13a

material fact exists as to when the statute of limitations

on the ADEA claims commenced. Concluding that the

district court’s grant of summary judgment is supported

on that ground, we do not reach the district court’s fur-

ther holding that as a matter of law appellants were not

constructively discharged in violation of the ADEA.

II. ERISA Preemption of State Law Claims

We next address the district court’s grant of judgment

on the pleadings on appellants’ state law claims. Appel-

lants charged that Mobil’s actions in amending the plan

and withholding information about the waiver provision

fraudulently induced them to surrender their jobs, were

taken pursuant to a plan to reduce Mobil’s work force,

and breached the duty of good faith and fair dealing

owed to appellants by Mobil under their employment con-

tracts. This conduct, appellants alleged, gave rise to

claims for fraud, civil conspiracy, breach of the employ-

ment contract, unlawful interference with contract rights,

negligence, and gross negligence. The district court held

these claims were preempted because they “relate to Mo-

bil’s Retirement Plan, which is governed by ERISA, and

directly overlap with provisions of ERISA.” We turn

to the first ground relied upon by the district court,

namely tkat appellants’ claims “relate to” an ERISA-

governed retirement plan.

ERISA’s provisions “supersede any and all State laws

insofar as they may now or hereafter relate to any em-

ployee benefit plan.” ERISA § 514(a), 29 U.S.C. § 1144

(a). The Supreme Court has consistently emphasized the

expansiveness of the “relate to” standard and its purpose

of establishing the regulation of pension plans as an ex-

clusively federal concern. See, e.g., Ingersoll-Rand Co. v.

McClendon, USS. , 111 S.Ct. 478, 482, 112 L.Ed.

2d 474 (1990); FMC Corp. v. Holliday, —— USS. ;

111 S.Ct. 403, 407, 112 L.Ed.2d 356 (1990); Pilot Life

Insurance Co. v. Dedeavx, 481 U.S. 41, 107 S.Ct. 1549,

EEE

l4a

1552-53, 95 L.Ed.2d 39 (1987); Shaw v. Delta Air Lines,

Inc., 463 U.S. 85, 103 S.Ct. 2890, 2899-2901, 77 L.Ed.2d

490 (1983). The words “relate to” are to be given their

“broad common-sense meaning,” Metropolitan Life Insur-

ance Co. v. Massachusetts, 471 U.S. 724, 105 S.Ct. 2380,

2389, 85 L.Ed.2d 728 (1985), and a state law will be

pre-empted “if it has a connection with or reference to

such a plan.” Shaw, 103 S.Ct. at 2900. This Circuit has

held that the fact that a claim sought damages measured

by pension benefits sufficed as the requisite “connection”

to an employee benefit plan for preemption purposes.

Cefaiu v. B.F. Goodrich Co., 871 F.2d 1290, 1294 (5th

Cir. 1989). But see Memorial Hospital System v. North-

brook Life Insurance Co., 904 F.2d 236, 247 (5th Cir.

1990); Pizlo v. Bethlehem Steel Corp., 884 F.2d 116,

120-21 (4th Cir.1989). :

The complaints here focus on Mobil’s amendment of

an ERISA-governed employee benefit plan and Mobil’s

disclosure to its employees of the terms of the plan. In

addition to calculating their damages by computing lost

benefits under the plan, a court adjudicating appellants’

claims of a fraudulent scheme to reduce the work force

would have to examine, at a minimum, the operation of

the plan prior to the amendment, the language of the

= plan amendments, and Mobil’s communication to its em-

ployees about the terms of the plan amendments. Given

the breadth of the section 514(a) test, we find that these

connections are adequate to warrant preemption.

This conclusion is buttressed by decisions of this and

other courts addressing claims of fraudulently induced |

retirement and wrongful termination, which are the crux

of appellants’ state law claims here. In the closely analo- |

gous case of Lee v. E.J. DuPont de Nemours and Cea., |

894 F.2d 755 (5th Cir.1990), the plaintiffs alleged that |

they had retired in reliance on their employer’s repre-

sentations that the company was not preparing to adopt

an early retirement incentive plan, and they sued their

15a

former employer for fraud and negligent misrepresenta-

tion in that respect. We held that the claims were pre-

empted under section 514(a). Id. at 758; see also Cefalu,

871 F.2d at 1295 (breach-of-contract claim for oral mis-

representation that retirement options offered equivalent

benefits was preempted) ; Degan v. Ford Motor Co., 869

F.2d 889, 895 (5th Cir.1989) (claim for breach of an

oral agreement to pay early retirement benefits was pre-

empted). In a case almost identical to the present one,

the Third Circuit held that where employees alleged that

an employer’s notification of proposed plan amendments

misrepresented to them that they would lose a retire-

ment benefit if they did not retire in a window period

before the amendments became applicable, their claims

were preempted. Berger v. Edgewater Steel €o., 911 F.2d

911, 923 (8d Cir.1990), cert. denied, —— U.S. ——,

111 S.Ct. 1810, 113 L.Ed.2d 244 (1991).

In addition, the Supreme Court recently spoke deci-

sively to the question whether a tort claim premised on

wrongful discharge to prevent vesting of pension benefits

could survive independently of ERISA. In Ingersoll-Rand

Co. v. McClendon, -—— U.S. ——, 111 S.Ct. 478, 483,

112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990), the Court found that the claim

“related to” an ERISA-covered plan under section 514

(a). Appellants here seek to distinguish their “wrong-

ful discharge by fraud” claim from the tort claim at

issue in McClendon. They argue that whereas the ex-

istence of a pension plan is a necessary element of the

cause of action considered in McClendon (discharge to

prevent vesting of pension benefits), here the pension

plan was merely the subject of Mobil’s fraud. The fraud

claim itself, they argue, is conceptually identical to a

fraud claim concerning any other subject matter, and

ERISA cannot generally preempt state laws prohibiting

employers from fraudulently inducing employees to give

up their jobs. Appellants rely on Mackey v. Lanier Col-

lections Agency and Service, 486 U.S. 825, 108 S.Ct. 2182,

100 L.Ed.2d 836 (1988), in which the Court noted that

16a

lawsuits based on “run-of-the-mill state-law claims such

as unpaid rent, failure to pay creditors, or even torts

committed by an ERISA plan” are not preempted merely

because the suits are brought against an ERISA plan.

Id. 108 S.Ct. at 2187.

We do not find this argument persuasive. We have

previously noted that preempted state law includes any

state law cause of action as it relates to an employee

benefit plan, even if it arises under a general law which

in and of itself has no connection to employee benefit

plans. Cefalu, 871 F.2d at 1292 n. 5. Although there

would undoubtedly be eases of fraudulently induced re-

tirement that were not preempted, the specific conduct

here, as in Lee, Cefalu, and Degan, relates directly to

the operation of an ERISA plan. Superimposing state

law fraud standards on the elaborate ERISA provisions

governing the content and timing of notice of plan pro-

Visions and amendments, see ERISA §§ 102, 104(b) (1),

29 U.S.C. $$ 1022, 1024(b), would undercut the goal of

uniform national regulation in the manner that section

514(a) seeks to prevent. See Memorial Hospital System,

904 F.2d at 245 (observing that preemption is proper

where the state law claims address areas of exclusive

federal concern, and where they directly affect the rela-

tionship among the traditional ERISA entities). In our

view, this makes the conduct at issue here a far ery from

the “run-of-the-mill” claims alluded to in Mackey.

3 Appellants also cite Greenblatt v. Budd Co., 666 F.Supp. 735

(E.D.Pa.1987), which does provide more direct support for their

argument than the fact that the subject of the alleged fraud is

pension benefits is incidental and does not waarant preemption.

See id. at 742. However, we agree with the Seventh Circuit that

Greenflatt is not consistent with our Circuit’s holding in Cefulu.

See Lister v. Stark, 890 F.2d 941, 945 n. 10 (7th Cir.1989), cert.

denied, ———~ U.S. 111 S.Ct. 579, 112 L.Ed.2d 584 (1990).

Therefore, we, like the Seventh Circuit, decline to follow Green-

blatt. See id. at 945.

17a

For the same reason, appellants’ reliance on Hartle v.

Packard Electric, 877 F.2d 354 (Sth Cir.1989) (per

curiam) is misplaced. In Hartle, a discharged employee

brought suit for wrongful termination and civil conspir-

acy to unlawfully terminate his employment. Because

the general rule in Mississippi was employment at will,

he argued that his participation in an employee benefit

plan had removed his employment from employment-at-

will status and had effectively given him a tenured posi

tion. However, because the employer’s complained-of

conduct did not pertain to the operation of an ERISA

plan, we observed that Hartle’s claim did “not in any

manner implicate the federal regulation of employee

benefit plans” and held that preemption was not proper.

Id. at 356. Here, the employer’s conduct does relate to

the pension plan, and federal regulation of retirement

plans is implicated to a much greater degree.

Finally, appellants argue that even if their state law

claims are preempted to the extent that the damages

sought are deemed to be “benefits,” the preemption

would not bar the claims in their entirety, and that the

claims for lost wages, exemplary damages, and the like,

would survive as state law claims. They rely on several

cases finding partial preemption only. One is Kravse v.

Dresser Industries, Inc., 910 F.2d 674 (10th Cir. 1990),

in which a terminated employee filed claims under the

ADEA and for breach of an implied contract for ten-

ured job security. The district court entered summary

judgment for the defendant on the breach-of-contract

claim insofar as it sought lost pension, health insurance,

or life insurance benefits, on the grounds of ERISA pre-

emption. The Tenth Circuit upheld a verdict for the

plaintiff on the claim for lost salary, however, stating.

“We are at a loss to see how a breach of contract claim

solely for lost salary is at all related to an emplovee ben-

efit plan,” and holding that there was no preemption of

that claim. Jd. at 680 (citing Hartle, supra). Likewise, in

Sorosky v. Burroughs Corp., 826 F.2d 794 (9th Cir.

1987), the Ninth Circuit held that an employee’s claim

—

18a

of breach of contract and wrongful discharge in part

relied on theories independent of the benefit plan and

thus was not entirely preempted. Jd. at 800. Finally,

appellants cite Clark v. Coats & Clark, Inc., 865 F.2d

1237, 1245 (11th Cir. 1989), for the proposition that the

same set of operative facts can give rise to both pre-

empted and unpreempted causes of action.

We conclude that this type of partial preemption is

inappropriate in the present case, however. Unlike

Krause, this case is not one where the main nexus to an

employee benefit plan is only the calculation of damages.

Once stripped of its link to the pension plan provided

by the measure of damages, the Krause plaintiff’s claim

survived as a suit for lost salary based upon breach of

an implied contract of continued employment. Here,

by contrast, the basis of the claims themselves is the

operation of the pension plan: if appellants’ claims were

stripped of their link to the pension plans, they would

cease to exist. The Sorosiky and Clark courts employed

a similar analysis which would support complete pre-

emption in the present case. In Sorosiy, the court held

that Sorosky’s claim that Burroughs agreed to provide

him with monthly retirement benefits and then sought

to prevent him from acquiring those benefits was pre-

empted: it was only breach-of-contract or wrongful dis-

charge theories “that have no relationship to the benefit

plan” that survived as independent state law claims.

Sorosky, 826 F.2d at 800. The Clark court confronted

an employee’s claim that his termination, in addition

to being effected for the purpose of interfering with

his attainment of pension benefits in violation of ERISA

$510, 29 U.S.C. $1140, was carried out in a malicious

manner that inflicted severe emotional distress upon him.

The court held that the tort claim, though it “allude[d]

to conduct which was proximate (for even concurrent)

in time to the alleged ERISA violation,” was “wholly

remote in content’; the employee had “not alleged any

conduct on the part of Coats & Clark which relates to

19a

the processing of any ERISA covered benefit or claim.”

Clark, 865 V.2d at 1243. However, Clark carefully dis-

tinguished the employee ’s claim there from a claim that

a refusal to pay pension benefits was itself so outrageous

as to amount to intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress, which the court had found to be preempted in

Howard v. Parisian, Inc., 807 F.2d 1560 (11th Cir.

1987).

Because the underlying conduct at issue here cannot

be divorced from its connection to the employee benefit

plan, we uphold the district court’s judgment that the

state law claims are preempted in their entirety.

III. ERISA Standing

ERISA grants standing to a “participant” to bring

civil action to enforce his rights under the terms of

plan or to enforce the provisions of ERISA. ERISA

> 502, 29 U.S.C. $1132. The district court granted

Mobil’s motion to dismiss appellants’ ERISA claims on

the ground that appellants were not “participants”

within the meaning of that section and therefore were

not empowered to sue. See Nugent v. Jesuit High School

of New Orleans, 625 F.2d 1285, 1286 & n. 8 (5th Cir.

1980).

ERISA defines the term “participant” to include “any

employee or former employee . . . who is or may be-

come eligible to receive a benefit of any type from an

employee benefit plan.” ERISA §3(7), 29 U.S.C.

$ 1002(7). The Supreme Court recently addressed the

meaning of the “former employee” component of that

definition. In Firestone Tire and Rubber Co. v. Bruch,

489 U.S. 101, 109 S.Ct. 948, 103 L.Ed.2d 80 (1989), the

Court observed that the definition referred to “former

employees who ‘have . . . a reasonable expectation of

returning to covered employment’ or who have ‘a color-

able claim’ to vested benefits.” Jd. 109 S.Ct. at 958

(quoting Auntz v. Reese, 785 F.2d 1410, 1411 (9th Cir.)

20a

(per curiam), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 916, 107 S.Ct. 318,

93 L.Ed.2d 291 (1986)). The Court also construed the

“may become eligible” language of section 3(7) to mean

that “a claimant must have a colorable claim that (1) he

or she will prevail in a suit for benefits, or that (2) eligi-

bility requirements will be fulfilled in the future.” Jd.

Mobil argues that appellants do not have standing

because they have neither a colorable claim for vested

benefits nor a reasonable expectation of returning to

covered employment. In Mitchell’s suit against Mobil,

the Tenth Circuit denied ERISA standing to the plain-

tiffs on the ground here urged by Mobil. Mitchell v.

Mobil Oil Corp., 896 F.2d 468, 474 (10th Cir.), cert.

denied, —— USS. , 111 S.Ct. 252, 112 L.Ed.2d 210

(1990).

The first part of this conclusion finds support in the

decisions of this Circuit. We have held that where, as

here, retired employees received in a lump sum benefits

that were concededly all to which they were entitled

under a plan as it existed at their retirement, their claim

is for damages, not vested benefits. Yancy v. American

Petrofina, Inc., 768 F.2d 707, 708-09 (5th Cir.1985) (per

curiam); Joseph v. New Orleans Electrical Pension &

Retirement Plan, 754 F.2d 628, 630 (5th Cir.), cert.

denied, 474 U.S. 1006, 106 S.Ct. 526, 88 L.Ed.2d 458

(1985); accord Kuntz, 785 F.2d at 1411. In Yancy, the

employer announced its intention to modify the interest

rate factor used to calculate lump sum retirement bene-

fits, but gave employees approximately three months in

which to retire under the older, more generous discount

rate. We denied standing to an employee who took early

retirement during the three months, received his lump

sum payment, then sued alleging that the amendment of

the plan violated fiduciary duties imposed by ERISA.

We held that, lacking a claim for vested benefits, he

could not be deemed a plan “participant.” Yancy, 768

F.2d at 709.

21a

For the second part of its conclusion—that the plain-

tiff lacked a reasonable expectation of returning to cov-

ered employment—the Mitchell court relied on the fact

that the plaintiff had not sought reinstatement. Mitchell,

896 F.2d at 474; see also Berger v. Edgewater Steel Co.,

Y1l F.2d 911, 922 (3d Cir.1990), cert. denied, U.S.

» 111 S.Ct. 1810, 113 L.Ed.2d 244 (1991); Kuntz,

785 t'.2d at 1411. In the present case, the only request

for reinstatement in appellants’ original complaint is in

the ADEA claim, which we have held to be barred by

the statute of limitations. See section I, supra. However,

this request does indicate that appellants do desire court-

ordered reinstatement.

We are not convinced that Firestone can be read to

reduce the standing question to a straightforward for-

mula applicable in all cases. This seems particularly so

in cases involving allegations of discharge. ERISA

$510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140, makes it unlawful for an

employer to “discharge, fine, suspend, expel, discipline,

or discriminate against a participant” for exercising a

right provided by ERISA or “for the purpose of inter-

fering with the attainment” of a right provided by

ERISA. The Supreme Court’s recent McClendon deci-

sion held that this provision would foreclose the devel-

opment of any state law cause of action for wrongful

termination to prevent vesting of pension benefits.

Ingersoll-Rand Co. v. McClendon, USS. , lll

S.Ct. 478, 485, 112 L.Ed.2d 474 (1990). The implication

of the Court’s holding that the discharged employee

must look solely to ERISA for his remedy is that he

would have standing to do so. Nevertheless, it is not

readily apparent that he would have standing under the

construction of Firestone urged by Mobil: he would be a

former employee lacking both a claim for vested bene-

fits and (unless he requested reinstatement) a reasonable

expectation of returning to covered employment. It

would be unusual if in that situation his ability to assert

a claim at all turned on whether or not his requested

relief included reinstatement; it would seem more logical

to say that but for the employer’s conduct alleged to be

in violation of ERISA, the employee mould be a current

employee with a reasonable expectation of receiving ben-

efits. and the employer should not be able through its

own malfeasance to defeat the employee's standing. Cf.

Amalgamated Clothing and Textile Workers v. Mur-

dock, 861 F.2d 1406, 1418 (9th Cir.1988) (“Tt would be

ironie if the very acts of benefit payment and plan ter-

mination that allegedly resulted in a fiduciary personally

obtaining ill-gotten profits should also. serve to deny

plan beneficiaries standing . . . to redress the fiducia-

ries’ alleged breach of the duty of loyalty.” ).*

Therefore, recognizing that we are anchored at one

end by Yancy, we also believe that Yancey does not

extend so far as to encompass situations such as the one

at issue in McClendon. The question then hecomes

where on that axis the present case falls. A few per-

tinent distinctions between the two cases bear emphasis.

Yancy’s position as a retired employee who had received

lump sum benefits was largely of his own making. He

was informed of the plan amendment and of the effects

of each option open to him. Our holding in the case

amounts to a decision that he could not both accept the

offered inducement for early retirement and then later

complain of the choice to which he had been put, if he

felt that he was entitled to continue to work and then

retire at the time of his choice with a lump sum calcu-

lated at the old rate, he was obligated to act consistently

with his desired relief by remaining a covered employee

4We do not mean to imply that an employee’s entitlement to

certain remedies might not turn on whether or not he was willing to

return to work. If, for example, he claimed entitlement to the fully

vested pension as damages, it might be perfectly reasonable to re-

quire that he return to work at least for the additional length of time

required for the pension to vest. However, a wrongful discharge

might give rise to other damages as well, for which reinstatement

would not seem to be a logical prerequisite.

23a

and challenging the plan amendment. The violation he

alleged—an amendment of the retirement plan that

amounted to a breach of fiduciary duty under ERISA

§ 409, 29 U.S.C. §1109—was not one that in and of

itself divested aggrieved parties of their status as cov-

ered employees able to sue. McClendon, on the other

hand, had no such choice. A discharge to prevent vesting

of benefits in violation of section 510 by definition must

be challenged by someone other than a current employee

or someone with a claim to vested benefits. Thus, the

standing question and the merits of an employee’s claim

are unavoidably intertwined to some degree; whether a

plaintiff has standing to assert ERISA rights may

depend upon whether he can establish a discharge or

some other conduct in violation of ERISA, but for

which he would have standing. See Amalgamated Cloth-

ing, 861 F.2d at 1410.

The Third Circuit alluded to this problem in its recent

Berger decision. There, Edgewater Steel amended its

retirement plan to eliminate two benefits: a lump sum

payment in place of the first three months of pension

benefits, and a supplemental payment given as an early

retirement benefit to employees whose retirement was in

the mutual interests of the company and the retiree and

was approved by the company. Upon announcement of

these changes, Berger and the other plaintiffs chose to

retire before the amendments became effective. They

each received the three-month lump sum provided auto-

matically to all retirees, but none were approved for the

supplemental payment. Among the plaintiffs’ allegations

were a charge that the elimination of the three-month

lump sum amounted to the elimination ef an accrued

benefit in violation of ERISA § 204(g), 29 U.S.C.

§1054(¢), and a charge that the amendment constituted

an intentional interference with their right to both bene-

fits, in violation of ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. $1140. The

court, citing Aunt: and Yancy, held that the plaintiffs

24a

did not have standing to assert their section 204(g)

claim because they had retired and accepted the benefits

in a lump sum, and had not asked for reinstatement.

Berger, 911 F.2d at 921-22. However, the court noted

the contingency of this conelusion on the denial of the

plaintiffs’ section 510 claim. /d. at 922. It stated: “Of

course, we recognize that if the Employees were con-

structively discharged as they do claim, they would not

necessarily have to return to work in order to have

standing to claim a make whole remedy.” /d.°

On the record before us, we cannot say where on the

spectrum between Yancy and McClendon this case falls.

Because appellants pleaded their ERISA claims only as

contingent on preemption of their state law claims, and

because the district court did not rule on the merits of

the ERISA claims, appellants have not fleshed out their

IK RISA claims and theories, or even identified with pre-

5A Third Circuit decision in a pre-Firestone case provides an

even more direct illustration of the contingency of standing on the

nature of the ERISA violation alleged. In Saporito v. Combustion

Engineering Inc,, 843 F.2d 666 (3d Cir.1988), vacated, 489 U.S.

1049, 109 S.Ct. 1306, 103 L.Ed.2d 576 (1989), the plaintiffs claimed

that they had been induced to retire under one retirement. plan

While the employer concealed the development of a second plan with

more favorable terms. The court held that they did not have standing

as participants in the first plan to sue for breach of fiduciary duties

because they had retired and received all of the benefit to which they

were entitled in a lump sum. 7d. at 671. However, the court did hold

that they had standing as participants in the second plan to argue

that they had been tricked into retiring in violation of section 510,

because they alleged that “but for the selective divulgence of in-

formation, they would have been members of [the second plan],

and, for the purposes of standing to bring an action under ERISA,

should be considered as such.” Jd. at 672; see also id. at 672 n. 7

(distinguishing Stanton v. Gulf Oil Corp., 792 F.2d 482 (4th Cir.

1986), in which the plaintiff urged “but for” participant standing,

but his claim was rejected because the events precluding standing

were under his control). Saporito was vacated and remanded by the

Supreme Court for further consideration in light of Firestone,

489 U.S. 1049, 109 S.Ct. 1306, 103 L.Ed.2d 576 (1989).

25a

cision which sections of ERISA they claim were vio-

lated. However, their allegations do at least suggest an

assertion that they were constructively discharged in vio-

lation of section 510 and that but for Mobil’s nondisclo-

sure they would be covered employees with standing to

challenge the plan amendment. They allege deceptive

conduct by Mobil that might be found to vitiate the vol-

untariness of their decision to retire and that might dis-

tinguish the present case from both Yancy and Mitchell.

Appellants also sought reinstatement in their ADEA

action, and did not affirmatively indicate that reinstate-

ment was not sought under their ERISA claims. For

these reasons, we cannot now foreclose the possibility

that they could prove facts that would create standing

for them, and we believe that the trial court’s dismissal

on the pleadings of the ERISA claims was premature.

Of course, appellants can, and doubtless should, be

required to plead their ERISA claims with greater speci-

ficity.

We emphasize that we have not determined that

appellants will be able to establish a violation of section

510, only that they should be allowed to attempt to do

so, We reverse the trial court’s dismissal of appellants’

ERISA claims and remand for further proceedings con-

sistent with this opinion.

Conclusion

lor the reasons stated above, we affirm the district

court’s grant of summary judgment to Mobil on the

ADEA claims and its grant of judgment on the plead-

_ings for Mobil on all of appellants’ state law claims.

However, we reverse and remand the district court’s dis-

missal of appellants’ ERISA claims.

AFFIRMED In Part; ReverseED And REMANDED In

Part.

linen

26a

Order of the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Texas granting Motion for

Judgment on the Pleadings and Motion to Dismiss,

June 22, 1990

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

BEAUMONT DIVISION

Civ. No. B-89-0653-CA

June 22, 1990

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

|

MosBIL OIL CORPORATION, eft al.,

Defendants.

ORDER

1. CAME ON to be considered the Motion for Judg-

ment on the Pleadings and Motion to Dismiss filed by

defendants Mobil Oil Corporation, the Retirement Plan

of Mobil Oil Corporation and Rex Adams (collectively,

“Mobil’’) ; and the Court, having considered such Motion,

the supporting memorandum, and plaintiffs’ opposition

thereto, finds:

A. Plaintiffs’ state-law claims are preempted by

the Employee Retirement Income Security Act of

1974 (“ERISA”) because those claims relate to

Mobil’s Retirement Plan, which is governed by

ERISA, and directly overlap with provisions of

ERISA;

27a

B. Plaintiffs are not participants seeking to re-

cover benefits under Mobil’s Retirement Plan and

therefore have no cause of action under ERISA

§ 502; and

C. The Court lacks jurisdiction over plaintiffs’

ERISA claim because plaintiffs do not have a cause

of action under ERISA.

2. Based on these findings, the Court is of the opinion

]

that said motion should be in all things GRANTED.

3. It is therefore OrDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED

by the Court that defendants’ Motion for Judgment on

the Pleadings and Motion to Dismiss be, and the same

hereby is, GRANTED and the case dismissed in its entirety

with prejudice, at plaintiffs’ cost.

SIGNED THIS 22nd DAY oF JUNE, 1989 [sic].

S/ Richard A. Schell

United States District Judge

28a

Order of the United States District Court for the

Eastern District of Texas granting Motion for

Summary Judgment, June 22, 1990

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF TEXAS

BEAUMONT DIVISION

Civ. No. B-89-0653-CA

June 22, 1990

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

|

MosIL OIL CORPORATION, ef al..

Defendants.

ORDER

1. CAME ON to be considered the Motion for Sum-

mary Judgment filed by defendants Mobil Oil Corpora-

tion, the Retirement Plan of Mobil Oil Corporation and

Rex Adams (collectively, “Mobil”): and the Court, hav-

ing considered such Motion, the supporting memoran-

dum, statement of undisputed facts, declaration and

affidavit, and plaintiffs’ opposition thereto, finds:

A. Plaintiffs’ Age Discrimination in Employment

Act (“ADEA”) claims are time-barred because (7)

plaintiffs did not file an age-discrimination charge

with the Equal Employment Opportunity Commis-

sion within 300 days after the alleged discrimination

occurred (29 U.S.C. §$ 626(d)(2)), and (ii) plain-

29a

tiffs did not file a lawsuit under ADEA within three

years after the alleged discrimination occurred (29

U.S.C. $$ 255(a), 626(e)):

B. Plaintiffs’ state-law claims are time-barred by

applicable statutes of limitations;

C. Plaintiffs were not constructively discharged

in violation of ADEA; and

D. Plaintiffs’ claims of discrimination arise from

changes in the fringe benefits available under

Mobil’s bona fide Retirement Plan, not from any

conduct related to the nonfringe-benefit aspects of

plaintiffs’ employment, and are therefore not within

the scope of ADEA pursuant to 29 U.S.C. § 623(f)

2).

2. Based on these findings, the Court is of the opinion

that said motion should be in all things GRANTED.

3. It is therefore ORDERED, ADJUDGED and DECREED

by the Court that defendants’ Motion for Summary

Judgment be, and the same hereby is, GRANTED and the

case dismissed in its entirety with prejudice, at plain-

tiffs’ cost.

SIGNED THIS 22nd DAy OF JUNE, 1989 [sic].

s/ Richard A. Schell

United States District Judge

80a

Order of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fifth Circuit denying appellants’ petition for rehearing,

February 24, 1992

is COURT OF APPEALS

IN THE UNITED STATE

FIFTH CIRCUIT

FOR THE FI

No. 90-4562

Filed: Feb. 24, 1992

GERALD W. CHRISTOPHER, CHARLES L. PRUNTY and

BILLY G. TURNER,

Plaintiffs-A ppellants,

versus

Mori OL CORPORATION, RETIREMENT PLAN OF

MosBIL OIL CORPORATION AND REX ADAMS,

Defendants-A ppellees.

Appeal from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Texas

ON PETITION FOR REHEARING

Before:

HFENLEY*, KING, and GARWoop,

Circuit Judges.

* Circuit Judge of the Eighth Circuit, sitting by designation.

3la

PER CURIAM:

IT IS ORDERED that appellants’ petition for rehearing

filed in the above entitled and numbered cause be and

the same is hereby DENIED.

ENTERED FOR THE COURT:

s/ Will Garwood

United States Circuit Judge

32a

Denial of Motion for Summary Judgment of the

United States District Court for the

District of Colorado, dated June 25, 1992

11] IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF COLORADO

Civil Action Ne, 88-Z-2112

FREDERIC J. RAYMOND, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

Monit OU. CORPORATION, et al.,

Defendants,

REPORTER’S TRANSCRIPT

(Hearing on Motion for Summary Judgment)

Proceedings before the HONORABLE ZITA L. WEIN-

SHIENK, Judge, United States District Court for the

District of Colorado, commencing at 9:50 a.m., on the

25th day of June, 1992, Courtroom C-502, United States

Courthouse, Denver, Colorado.

APPEARANCES

PryorR, CARNEY, and JOHNSON, P.C., by RopNey R.

PATULA and ELIZABETH MORAN, Attorneys at Law, 6200

South Svracuse Way, Suite 400, Englewood, Colorado,

80155, appearing for the plaintiffs.

HADDON, MorRGAN & FOREMAN, P.C., by HARoLp A.

HADDON and MAUREEN A. CAIN, Attorneys at Law, 150

East Tenth Avenue, Denver, Colorado, 80203; LoREN

33a

KIEve, Attorney at Law, Debevoise & Plimpton, 555 13th

N.W., Washineten, D.C., [2] 20004, and MICHAEL

FE. TiGAr, Attorney at Law, 727 East 26th Street, Austin,

Texas, 78705, appearing for the defendant.

St reet

* * * *

THE COURT: Thank you.

[ think perhaps we should start, if you want to just

have a seat for a moment—

MR. TIGAR: Yes, your Honor.

THE COURT: —by my telling you how this looks to

me on the briefing and on the paper. This is a motion for

summary judgment on the ERISA claims, and it appears

to me from looking at the briefs, from looking at the

claims, from reviewing the Christopher v. Mobil Ov! case

in the Fifth Cireuit and the [3] Mitchell v. Mobil Oil

case in this circuit and all of the other cases that have

been decided, including Firestone, that what Plaintiff has

done in pleading this ERISA or these ERISA claims is

to fit them as closely as possible under the rulings of

Christopher and trying to avoid in the pleading the ad-

verse effects of rulings of Mitchell. And it appears to me

also that reading Christopher carefully, there are factual

issues which were left open under Christopher, which

were not discussed in Mitchell, which probably this court

is going to have to try.

Now, that’s how it looks on paper; and I’m certainly

going to listen to the arguments of the defendants as to

why this is not the case. But I think we have some pri-

mary cases here to consider. Well, the two core cases

that were argued in the briefs were the Chinstopher case

and the Mitchell case. But if this case is fit very care-

fully under the ruling in Christopher and does not appear

to be covered by the ruling in Mitchell, then the motion

will have to be denied.

7 * 7 aa

34a

[38]

RULING

THE COURT: Well, let me address Boren. Mr.

Boren was not an employee within the meaning of

ERISA; and when he asked to be treated as if he were a

former employee, he is asking for a determination that he

was at one time an employee, as opposed to the position of

the plaintiffs. As I understand Plaintiffs’ theory is saying

that but for the actions of Defendant, they still would

be employees of Defendant; and this case is predicated on

the fact that they were employees at one time, unlike

Boren.

I realize that Judge McKay, who this court has the

most high respect for—and I do for Judge Moore, too,

and all the Tenth Circuit judges—made some statements

in Boren which appear to be fairly broad statements. But

indeed, in looking at the facts of Boren, they were talking

about a factual situation which does not appear to me, at

least, to apply in this case.

There are many rules and many cases about granting

motions for summary judgment, and I think judges some-

times overlay on this law their own experiences with sum-

mary judgment. Having been a judge for a long time,

I have an overlay; and that is, it’s sort of like the old

“T know it when I see it,’ which used to be the rule in

pornography cases. When I am [39] comfortable that

there are no factual issues and when I can grant some-

thing as a matter of law, when I have that feeling that

there are no factual issues, when I have to decide the

case on summary judgment and all the facts and the

arguments convince me of that, then I grant the motion

for summary judgment—yvou know—considering all of

the other cases that are there on summary judgment.

But when I have this lingering feeling that there may

be factual issues, even though I think probably there is

going to be a difficult time, there is going to be a difficult

effort of plaintiff to prove these factual issues—-I don’t

35a

think it’s going to be easy; I think it’s going to be most

difficult—when I have this nagging feeling that well, I’m

not sure as a matter of law that we've really taken care

of all factual issues, then I simply have to resolve it by

denying the motion for summary judgment.

Now, what we have here are two very important cases,

one in the Tenth Circuit and one in the Fifth Circuit.

And the question is, can they be distinguished? Does the

Fifth Cireuit carve out an area which was not considered

by the Tenth Circuit and which has to be considered by

this court, even in view of the strong ruling of the Tenth

Circuit?

And I will admit, as much respect as I do have for the

judges that decided Mitchell v. Mobil, I really do wonder

if they read my opinion carefully on the ERISA claims

in finding [40] that he didn’t seek reinstatement—that

Mr. Mitchell didn’t.

Be that as it may, that’s the rule. I’m bound by that

decision. I have no intent to be overruled in the Tenth

Circuit, if I can uphold it; and what we have, then, is

the Fifth Circuit carving out a little area from Mobil

and saying, if I can just paraphrase what they say on

1223 of their opinion—and maybe I better put this on the

record. For the record, Christopher v. Mobil is 950 F.2d

1209, Fifth Circuit, 1992. What they say is here’s an

area that might—might; it isn’t for sure—might distin-

guish this case from Mitchell, and that is if a plaintiff is

alleging deceptive conduct which vitiates the voluntariness

of the decision to retire, the “but for” test, that might

distineuish this case from Mitchell.

Plaintiffs have fit in this case right to that exception;

and they say, We are alleging and we intend to prove—

now, I don’t know if they’re going to be able to prove

it; it’s going to be tough—but we are alleging and we

intend to prove deceptive conduct which will show that

none of these plaintiffs would have retired, had they not

been deceived, had they not been defrauded. We're talk-

ing about fraud here.

iii

36a

Maybe it was hinted at in Mi/chell, and I don’t know

what you folks argued; but it really didn’t come out that

way, it seems to me, in the trial that strongly.

So here’s an area: Mitchell (sic), they’re arguing,

we're alleging, committed fraud on us, deceived us. We

would [41] not have retired had we known the truth,

had we not been deceived, had we not been defrauded.

The Fifth Circuit, good judges, say this distinguishes

or this might distinguish this case from Mitchell. All

these circuit judges are supposed to be really experts in

the law, may be experts in the law more than the trial

judges. At least they have the last word. So here are the

judges, the three judges on the Fifth Circuit saying,

Here’s an area that’s different, might be distinguished.

I’m not going to say it can’t be distinguished. I’ve got

that feeling that boy, I’m not sure. I’m not sure that they

can't prove it. And if they can they can prove it, they

have to have the chance to prove it.

I think one must read the law also with good common

sense and good judgment; and if, indeed, hypothetically

an employee has been deceived by an employer—I’m not

talking about Mobil now, but just what is the policy, what

should be the law. If an employee has been deceived, de-

frauded by the employer, and retires because of that de-

ceit when they never would have retired, does that mean

they can’t sue under 510, just because they’ve taken bene-

fits? And common sense tells us there have to be—there

has to be an exception to the flat rule stated in Mitchell,

and this deceptive conduct certainly from a matter of

policy, from a matter of good common sense, seems to

be that area.

[42] So even though there might be a bright line rule

in Mitchell, there appears to this court that there might

very well be, as stated by the Christopher court, a way

of distinguishing that; and that is if there is deceptive

conduct.

Now, if the plaintiffs can prove it—I don’t know if

they can prove it sufficiently—but if they can prove it,

ee a

37a

then I think we do have a distinguishing feature and I

think they have brought their case in an area that fits

under—fits under the Christopher case and may very well

be an area which would cause the Tenth Circuit to Say,

You know, we didn’t really mean that. We really didn’t

mean that if there is something promised the following

year and then they're defrauded and they’re retiring be-

cause they're defrauded that the ERISA—that they’re

foreclosed from suing under ERISA.

So looking at the statute with good judgment and what

the policy should be, which is to protect the employees,

looking at the fact that these were employees, their alle-

gation is that they would not have retired. They have

brought this case under the very narrow confines of

Christopher.

I don’t feel I can grant the motion for summary judg-

ment; and accordingly, the motion for summary judgment

on the ERISA claims will be denied and we'll have to

hear what the facts are.

Now, one more thing: We now no longer have motions

for directed verdict in Federal Court. We have motions

for [43] judgment on the law. The rules have been

changed. So if, indeed, this proof does not come forward,

I’ll be hearing your argument, maybe not even at the end

of the plaintiffs’ case maybe in the middle of the plain-

tiffs’ case, when they have a chance to go through ERISA,

whichever one they’re going to prove first. But this is

something that I’m sure that will come'up for argument

in the trial case—in the trial.

* * * *

88a

STATUTORY PROVISIONS

ERISA § 3(7), 29 U.S.C. § 1002(7)

For purposes of this subchapter:

(7) The term “participant” means any employee or

former employee of an employer, or any member or

former member of an employee organization, who is or

may become eligible to receive a benefit of any type from

an employee benefit plan which covers employees of such

employer or members of such organization, or whose bene-

ficiaries may be eligible to receive any such benefit.

ERISA § 502, 29 U.S.C. § 1132

(a) Persons empowered to bring a civil action

A civil action may be brought—

(1) by a participant of beneficiary—

(A) for the relief provided for in subsection (c¢)

of this section, or

(B) to recover benefits due to him under the terms

of his plan, to enforce his rights under the terms of

the plan, or to clarify his rights to future benefits

under the terms of the plan;

(2) by the Secretary, or by a participant, beneficiary

or fiduciary for appropriate relief under section 1169 of

this title;

(3) by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary (A) to

enjoin any act or practice which violates any provision

of this subchapter or the terms of the plan, or (B) to

obtain other appropriate equitable relief/7) to redress

such violations or (ii) to enforce any provisions of this

subchapter or the terms of the plan;

39a

(4) by the Secretary, or by a participant, or benefi-

clary for appropriate relief in the case of a violation of

[section] 1025(e) of this title;

(5) except as otherwise provided in subsection (b) of

this section, by the Secretary (A) to enjoin any act or

practice which violates any provision of this subchapter,

or (B) to obtain other approrpiate equitable relief (i) to

redress such violation or (ii) to enforce any provision of

this subchapter; or

(6) by the Secretary to collect any civil penalty under

subsection (¢) (2) or (i) or (1) of this section.

(b) Plans qualified under Internal Revenue Code; main-

tenance of actions involving delinquent contributions

(1) In the case of a plan which is qualified under sec-

tion 401(a), 403(a), or 405(a) of Title 26 (or with re-

spect to which an application to so qualify has been filed

and has not been finally determined) the Secretary may

exercise his authority under subsection (a) (5) of this

section with respect to a violation of, or the enforcement

of, parts 2 and 3 of this subtitle (relating to participa-

tion, vesting, and funding), only if—

(A) requested by the Secretary of the Treasury,

or

(B) one or more participants, beneficiaries, or

fiduciaries of such plan request in writing (in such

manner as the Secretary shall prescribe by regula-

tion) that he exercise such authority on their behalf.

In the case of such a request under this paragraph

he may exercise such authority only if he determines

that such violation affects, or such enforcement is

necessary to protect, claims of participants or bene-

ficiaries to benefits under the plan.

(2) The Secretary shall not initiate an action to en-

force section 1145 of this title.

40a

(c) Administrator's refusal to supply requested infor-

mation; penalty for failure to provide annual report in

complete form

(1) Any administrator (4) who fails to meet the re-

quirements of paragraph (1) or (4) of section 1166 of

this title or section 1021(e) (1) of this title with respect

to a participant or beneficiary, or (2) who fails or refuses

to comply with a request for any information which

such administrator is required by this subchapter to fur-

nish to a participant or beneficiary (unless such failure

or refusal results from matters reasonably beyond the

eontrol of the administrator) by mailing the material

requested to the last known address of the requesting

participant or beneficiary within 30 days after such

request may in the court’s discretion be personally liable

to such participant or beneficiary in the amount of up

to $100 a day from the date of such failure or refusal,

and the court may in its discretion order such other

relief as it deems proper.

(2) The Secretary may assess a civil penalty against

any plan administrator of up to $1,000 a day from the

date of such plan administrator’s failure or refusal to

file the annual report required to be filed with the Secre-

tary under section 1021(b) (4) of this title. For purposes

of this paragraph, an annual report that has been re-

jected under section 1024(a) (4) of this title for failure

to provide material information shall not be treated as

having been filed with the Secretary.

(3) Any employer maintaining a plan who fails to

meet the notice requirement of section 1021(d) of this

title with respect to any participant or beneficiary or

who fails to meet the requirements of section 1021(e) (2)

of this title with respect to any person may in the court’s

discretion be liable to such participant or beneficiary or

te such person in the amount of up to $100 a day from

the date of such failure, and the court may in its discre-

tion order such other relief as it deems proper.

4la

(d) Status of employee benefit plan as entity

(1) An employee benefit plan may sue or be sued

under this hea ea as an entity. Service of summons,

subpoena, or other legal process of a court upon a trustee

or an ne eS ine tor of an .employee benefit plan in his

capacity as such shall constitute service upon the em-

ployee benefit plan. In a case where a plan has not desig-

nated in the summary plan description of the plan an

individual as agent for the service of legal process, service

upon the Secretary shall constitute such service. The

Secretary, not later than 15 days efter receipt of service

under the preceding sentence, shal] notify the adminis-

trator or any trustee of the plan of receipt of such

service,

(2) Any money judgment under _ this subchapter

against an employee benefit plan shall be enforceable

only against the plan as an entity and~shall not be en-

forceable against any other person unless liability against

such person is established in his individual capacity under

this sube hap ver,

(e) Jurisdiction ii a

(1) Except for actions under subsection (a) (1+(B) of

this section, the district courts of the United States shall

]

have exclusive jurisdiction Of ely ictions under this

subchapter brought by the Secretary or by a participant

beneficiary, or fiduciary. mane courts of competent juris-

diction and district courts of the United States shall have

concurrent jurisdiction of setines under subsection

(ai {1l)'B) of this section.

(2) Where an action under this subchapter is brought

in a district court of the United States. it may be brought

“4 +i sat 77 + rt] 5" + 1, , ]. , ‘ In : m + . ] * Re . i

in the district where the pidal Is aAUCMINIstered, where tne

1 ? _ rin Le ‘ Fai ‘ + . ~ 7)

breach took place, or where a defendant resides o1

e . 20% ’ _ re % ‘ rT ee

be found, and process may be served in any 0 her district

Where a defendant resides or may be found.

~

~

tc

‘

42:

(f) Amount in controversy; citizenship of parties

The district courts of the United States shall have ju-

risdicion, without respeet to the amount in controversy

or the citizenship of the parties, to grant the relief pro-

vided for in subsection (a) of this section in any action.

(xg) Attorney's fees and costs; awards in actions involv-

ing delinquent contributions

(1) In any action under this subchapter (other than

an action described in paragraph (2)) by a participant,

beneficiary, or fiduciary, the court in its discretion may

allow a reasonable attorney's fee and costs of action to

either party.

(2) In any action under this subchapter by a fiduciary

for or on behalf of a plan to enforce section 1145 of this

title in which a judgment in favor of the plan is awarded,

the court shall award the plan—

(A) the unpaid contributions,

(B) interest on the unpaid contributions,

(C) an amount equal to the greater of

(1) interest on the unpaid contributions, or

(ii) liquidated damages provided for under

the plan in an amount not in excess of 20 per-

cent (or such higher percentage as may be per-

mitted under Federal or State law) of the

amount determined by the court under subpara-

graph (A),

(I1)) reasonable attorney’s fees and costs of the

action, to be paid by the defendant, and

(Ig) such other legal or equitable relief as the

court deems appropriate.

For purposes of this paragraph, interest on unpaid

contributions shall be determined by using the rate pro-

vided under the plan, or, if none, the rate prescribed

under section 6621 of Title 26.

43a

(h) Service upon Secretary of Labor and Secretary of

Treasury

A copy of the complaint in any action under this sub-

chapter by a participant, beneficiary, or fiduciary (other

than an action brought by one or more participants or

beneficiaries under subsection (a) (1)(B) of this section

which is solely for the purpose of recovering benefits

due such participants under the terms of the plan) shall

be served upon the Secretary and the Secret: iry of the

Treasury by certified mail. Either secretary shall have

the right in his discretion to intervene in any action,

except that the Secretary of the Treasury may not in-

tervene in any action under part 4 of this subtitle. If

the Secretary brings an action under subsection (a) of

this section on behalf of a participant or benefici: iry, he

shall notify the Secretary of the Treasury.

(i) Administrative assessment of civil penalty

In the case of a transaction prohibited by section 1106

of this title by a party in interest with respect to a plan

to which this part applies, the Secretary may assess a

civil penalty against such party in interest. The amount

of such penalty may not exceed 5 percent of the amount

involved in each such transaction (as defined in section

4975(f) (4) of Title 26) for each year or part thereof

during which the prohibited transaction continues, ex-

cept that, if the transaction is not corrected (in such

manner as the Secretary shall prescribe in regulations

which shall be consistent with section 4975(f) (5) of Title

26) within 90 days after notice from the secretary (or

such longer period as the Secretary may permit), such

penalty may be in an amount not more than 100 percent

of the amount involved. This subsection shall not apply

to a transaction with respect to a plan described in sec-

tion 4975(e) (1) of Title 26.

(j) Direction and control of litigation by Attorney

General

In all civil actions under this subchapter, attorneys

appointed by the Secretary may represent the Secretary

44a

(except as provided in section 518(a) of Title 28), but

all such litigation shal! be subjeet to the direction and

control of the Attorney General.

(k) Jurisdiction of actions against the Secretary of

Labor

Suits by an administrator, fiduciary, participant, or

beneficiary of an employee benefit plan to review a final

order of the Secretary, to restrain the Secretary from

taking any action contrary to the provisions of this

chapter, or to compel him to take action required under

this subchapter, may be brought in the district court of

the United States for the district where the plan has its

principal office, or in the United States District Court

for the District of Columbia.

(7) Civil penalties on violations by fiduciaries

(1) In the case of—

(A) any breach of fiduciary responsibility under

(or other violation of) part 4 by a fiduciary, or

(B) any knowing participation in such a breach

or violation by any other person,

the Secretary shall assess a civil penalty against such

fiduciary or other person in an amount equal to 20 per-

cent of the applicable recovery amount.

(2) For purposes of paragraph (1), the term “appli-

cable recovery amount” means any amount which is re-

covered from a fiduciary or other person with respect

to a breach or violation described in paragraph (1)—

(A) pursuant to any settlement agreement with

the Secretary, or

(B) ordered by a court to be paid by such fi-

duciary or other person to a plan or its participants

and beneficiaries in a judicial proceeding instituted

45a

by the Secretary under subsection (a) (2) or (a) (5)

of this section.

(3) The Secretary may, in the Secretary’s sole dis-

cretion, waive or reduce the penalty under paragraph

(1) if the Secretary determines in writing that—

(A) the fiduciary or other person acted reasonably

and in good faith, or

(B) it is reasonable to expect that the fiduciary

or other person will not be able to restore all losses

to the plan without severe financial hardship unless

such waiver or reduction is granted.

(4° The penalty imposed on a fiduciary or other per-

son under this subsection with respect to any transaction

shall be reduced by the amount of any penalty or tax

imposed on such fiduciary or other person with respect

to such transaction under subsection (i) of this section

and section 4975 of Title 26.

ERISA § 510, 29 U.S.C. § 1140

It shall be unlawful for any person to discharge, fine,

suspend, expel, discipline, or discriminate against a par-

ticipant or beneficiary for exercising any right to which

he is entitled under the provisions of an employee bene-

fit plan, this subchapter, section 1201 of this title, or the

Welfare and Pension Plans Disclosure Act [29 U.S.C.

s 301 et seq.], or for the purpose of interfering with the

attainment of any right to which such participant may

become entitled under the plan, this subchapter, or the

Welfare and Pension Plans Disclosure Act. It shall be

unlawful for any person to discharge, fine, suspend, ex-

pel, or discriminate against any person because he has

given information or has testified or is about to testify

in any inquiry or proceeding relating to this chapter or

the Welfare and Pension Plans Disclosure Act. The pro-

visions of section 1132 of this title shall be applicable in

the enf«rcement of this section.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.