Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bunch v. Thompson

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

FILED

APR 30 1992

No.

el

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH,

" Petitioner,

CHARLES E. THOMPSON, Warden,

MECKLENBERG CORRECTIONAL CENTER,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

AMY BERMAN JACKSON

(Counsel of Record)

GERARD F’. TREANOR, JR.

KARL A. RACINE

VENABLE, BAETJER, HOWARD

& CIVILETTI

Suite 1000

1201 New York Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005-3917

(202) 962-4800

Counsel for Petitioner

April 30, 1992 Timothy Dale Bunch

aarp

WILSON - Epes PRINTING Co., INC. - 789-0096 - WASHINGTON, D.C. 20001

q¢

a

QUES' .ONS PRESENTED

1. Whether the Fourth Circuit departed from rulings of

this Court when it failed to apply the rule announced

in Edwards v. Arizona to a petitioner whose convic-

tion became final more than two years after Edwards

was decided, and it ignored the clear mandate of

Edwards that an accused who has asserted his right

to counsel is not subject to further interrogation unless

he initiates further communications with the police.

2. Whether the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that the mere

restatement of the Edwards rule in Solem v. Stumes

constituted a new rule conflicts with this Court’s prior

rulings and misapplies settled retroactivity principles.

(i)

ii

RULE 28.1 LIST OF PARTIES

The parties to this proceeding and the proceedings

below are the petitioner, Timothy Dale Bunch, and the

respondent, Charles E. Thompson, Warden of Mecklen-

berg Correctional Center. Respondent has at all times

been represented by the Office of the Attorney General of

the Commonwealth of Virginia.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

ye ky | | nn i

RULE 28.1 LIST OF PARTIES ............... Fe ee oe ii

I Be EE EID vines enrnsesnrncsecsesennnescesesenssensenens Vv

I I i sanissenevvencivnsbenshiniunssnsopencrtanbistuncenscconinse 1

i clita atrennsetinpebcibivniecesintih tniphtiahondthemtatsies 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVI-

EY TINT TIP ic nnencccwcsed-cnncuecesonitensereecene sb csceutoimice 2

pe ee hs et” | ee ene 3

A. Prior Proceedings ...... eeaeecaniagelcaeniescasascaaincaenaeasisiaaeninn 3

a sanliiicniccedaomnnbcnaninanniictoon 4

C. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision...................2.0........... 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........0.......... 8

CTE SS RIT ee Ee 8

I. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT IGNORED PRIOR

RULINGS OF THIS COURT WHEN IT

FAILED TO APPLY THE CLEAR RULE

ANNOUNCED IN EDWARDS v. ARIZONA

TO A PETITIONER WHOSE CONVICTION

BECAME FINAL MORE THAN TWO YEARS

AFTER EDWARDS WAS DECIDED........ ae 10

A. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because,

At The Time Petitioner’s Conviction Became

Final, It Was Clear That Edwards Estab-

I I a sedinhtionwns 10

B. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because

The Fourth Circuit’s Decision Is Inconsistent

With This Court’s Decision In Shea v. Lou-

isiana, Which Conclusively Establishes That

Petitioner Is Entitled To The Benefit Of

a ARI A et Men SE ren LTS NS 14

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

C. Officer Cahill Reinitiated Conversation With

I seb cle ean et ee sn 15

Il. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S CONCLUSIO

THAT THE MERE RESTATEMENT OF THE

EDWARDS RULE IN SOLEM v. STUMES

CONSTITUTED A NEW RULE CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT’S PRIOR RULINGS AND

MISAPPLIES SETTLED RETROACTIVITY

RE ETN LS oS 17

SEIN ci bictieninirs ciepascocnarcecainiasaenteusagsal Sasieiekdateillein 20

gS MT et Beer aL A Oe la

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

CASES Page

Andrews v. Shulsen, 802 F.2d 1257 (10th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 485 U.S. 919 (1988)............ 15

Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. 675 (1988) ............. 9,13,17

Bunch v. Commonwealth, 225 Va. 423, 304 S.E.2d

271 (1983) ; cert. denied, 464 U.S. 997 (1983),

reh’g denied, 464 U.S. 1064 (1984) _....00 2. passim

Bunch v. Commonwealth, 949 F.2d 1354 (4th Cir.

| RCE NDE SON Bak Oe Pe Be LN TEE rete DL red Tem passim

Butler v. Aiken, 846 F.2d 255 (4th Cir. 1988) ......... 15

Butler v. McKellar, 110 S. Ct. 1212 (1990) ............ 6,18

Cervi v. Kemp, 855 F.2d 702 (11th Cir. 1988) _........ 15

Diaz v. Scully, 641 F. Supp. 1037 (S.D.N.Y. 1986),

aff’d, 821 F.2d 153 (2d Cir. 1987), cert. denied,

gi , : 5 Peer en tee ents Nene 15

Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981) -............. passim

Esquivel v. McCotter, 791 F.2d 350 (5th Cir.

BUTE ncitidsietaciniuiadetaaainemanene ‘idbisakcausleeedanes 15

Flournay v. Marshall, 842 F.2d 875 (6th Cir.

p> | ITS TET SE UR TN NE ne Mk ORO LI eRe 15

Greenwalt v. Ricketts, 784 F.2d 1453 (9th Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 890 (1986) -........... 15

Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458 (1938) 00.2. 11, 16

McFadden v. Garraghty, 820 F.2d 654 (4th Cir.

SN RN i PS BSE le RESET, 9,13, 14

Michigan v. Jackson, 475 U.S. 625 (1986) _.......... 9,12, 16

Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104 (1985) ..00 0. 16

Minnick v. Mississippi, 111 S. Ct. 486 (1990) _....... 9,13

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039 (1983) -........... 7,8,12

Penry v. Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) _.00000000.... 18

Peterson v. Bass, 2 Va. App. 314, 343 S.E.2d 475

II dates aialisdelih assign Giadiieatiaaiatdie pe Coker nars eee es 1 3

Rhode Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980) ............. 16

Shea v. Louisiana, 470 U.S. 51 (1985) .....0000.... 9,14, 15, 19

Simpson v. Commonwealth of Masssachusetts, 795

F.2d 216 (1st Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S.

A ENT AME C TGP ey ee eee ae 15

Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91 (1984) _000 eee. 9,12

Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984) ....0000 000... passim

Stringer v. Black, 112 S. Ct. 1130 (1992) —........... 10, 18

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1988) ........................

United States Ex Rel. Adkins v. Greer, 791 F.2d

590 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 989

2) | RRA cee hole Leer oa ene eon ae nated

United States v. Johnson, 457 U.S. 537 (1982) .....

United States v. Renda, 567 F. Supp. 487, aff’d,

768 F.2d 649 (4th Cir. 1966) ................................

Vogel v. Commonwealth of Pennsylvania, 790 F.2d

REN es See ee

Wilson v. Murray, 806 F.2d 1232 (4th Cir. 1986),

cert. denied, 484 U.S. 820 (1987) ......... diehubtacks

Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42 (1982) -.....0000000..... ee

Yates v. Aiken, 484 U.S. 211 (1988) ~...000000222

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

A Re ppb Sir Dee ae ee NT ee Eee

Be Can) NED sercinenesir-nsnsienacemmincnsinmeniaaiaaieana

1 Ew)

IN THE

Suprenve Court of the United States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

No.

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH,

- Petitioner,

CHARLES E. THOMPSON, Warden,

MECKLENBERG CORRECTIONAL CENTER,

Respondent.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The petitioner, Timothy Dale Bunch, respectfully prays

that a writ of certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for

the Fourth Circuit, entered in the above-entitled proceed-

ing on January 31, 1992. In addition, petitioner respect-

fully submits that a summary reversal of the Fourth

Circuit’s decision is warranted in this case. Petitioner is

currently under sentence of death in the Commonwealth

of Virginia.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals for the Fourth

Cireuit and the dissent are reported at 949 F.2d 1354

and reprinted in the Appendix hereto (“App. at )

The Fourth Circuit’s denial of rehearing (2-1) and re-

hearing en banc (8-4) is not reported but is reprinted in

the Appendix.

2

The memorandum decisions of the United States Dis-

trict Court for the Eastern District of Virginia (Spencer,

J.) have not been reported, but are reprinted in the

Appendix.

JURISDICTION

Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§ 1254(1).

The judgment and opinion of the Fourth Circuit was

rendered on November 27, 1991. A timely petition for

rehearing and suggestion for rehearing en banc was de-

nied by the Fourth Circuit on January 31, 1992. Accord-

ingly, the time for filing this petition expires on April

30, 1992.

CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS INVOLVED

This case involves the following Constitutional pro-

visions:

a. The Fifth Amendment to the United States Con-

stitution, which provides in pertinent part:

No person shall be held to answer for a capital, or

otherwise infamous crime, unless on a presentment or

indictment of a Grand Jury, except in cases arising

in the land or naval forces or in the Militia, when

in actual service in time of War or public danger;

nor shall any person be subject for the same offense

to be twice put in jeopardy of life or limb; nor shall

be compelled in any criminal case to be a witness

against himself, nor be deprived of life, liberty, or

property, without due process of law...

b. The Fourteenth Amendment to the United States

Constitution, Section 1, which provides in pertinent part:

[NJor shall any State deprive any person of life,

liberty, or property, without due process of law;

nor deny to any person within its jurisdiction the

equal protection of the laws.

3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Prior Proceedings

On August 1i, 1982, Timothy Dale Bunch was con-

victed of capital murder in the Circuit Court of Prince

William County, Virginia. The trial judge affirmed the

sentence of death on November 12, 1982. The Virginia

Supreme Court affirmed the conviction and sentence on

June 17, 1983. Bunch v. Commonwealth, 225 Va. 423,

304 S.E.2d 271 (1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 977

(1983), reh’g denied, 464 U.S. 1064 (January 9, 1984).

On September 26, 1983, the Supreme Court of Virginia

stayed the execution of judgment pending further order

of that court.

On February 27, 1984, Bunch filed a writ of habeas

corpus in the Circuit Court of Prince William County,

Virginia. The Circuit Court denied Bunch’s requested

relief on May 28, 1985.

Bunch filed a notice of appeal with the Court of Ap-

peals of Virginia. An order staying the execution pend-

ing further proceedings was signed by Judge Thornton

on August 2, 1985. On July 6, 1987, the Court of Appeals

of Virginia dismissed the appeal for lack of jurisdiction

based on Peterson v. Bass, 2 Va. App. 314, 343 S.E.2d

475 (1986).

On August 4, 1987, Bunch filed a petition for appeal

in the Supreme Court of Virginia. The Virginia Supreme

Court, upon consideration of all briefs filed, refused the

petition for appeal on February 26, 1988, without stating

the grounds for its decision.

On October 6, 1988, Bunch filed a petition for a writ

of habeas corpus in the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of Virginia (Richmond Division).

The Commonwealth’s motion to dismiss the petition was

granted in the District Court’s Memorandum Opinion

dated March 16, 1990.

4

On March 30, 1990, Bunch filed a motion to alter or

amend the March 16, 1990 judgment. Bunch’s motion

was denied in the District Court’s Memorandum Opinion

dated June 4, 1990, and Bunch noted his appeal on June

19, 1990.

On September 21, 1990, Bunch filed his brief to the

United States Court of Appeals for the Fourth Circuit.

The Fourth Circuit rejected Bunch’s claims in a 2-1

decision issued on November 27, 1991. Bunch filed a

timely petition for rehearing and suggestion for rehear-

ing en banc on December 10, 1991. The Fourth Circuit

denied rehearing (2-1) and rehearing en bane (8-4) on

January 31, 1992.

B. Statement of Facts

The facts underlying Bunch’s claims are undisputed.

On January 31, 1982, Su Cha Thomas was killed.

Shortly thereafter, Bunch became a suspect in Ms.

Thomas’s death. Virginia authorities * travelled to Japan,

where Bunch was serving as a sergeant in the United

States Marine Corps, to interview him. During the inter-

view, Bunch requested counsel.

At the hearing on Bunch’s motion to suppress state-

ments made in Japan, Bunch testified that he repeatedly

requested counsel. The Virginia authorities testified that

Bunch mentioned the need for counsel on only one occa-

sion, and that he stated, “he might want to talk to an

attorney.” The trial court specifically rejected the testi-

mony of the Virginia authorities, and found uncondi-

tionally that Bunch had requested counsel:

I have no question in my mind somewhere along the

interview he [Bunch] indicated the feeling that he

1 The Virginia authorities who interviewed Bunch in Japan were

Donald L. Cahill, Criminal Investigator for the Prince William

County Police Department, and Assistant Commonwealth Attorney

for Prince William County, William D. Hamblen.

ae

5

should have an attorney present, and at that point

red flags should fly up everywhere. The whole ma-

chine should go tilt particularly, with an attorney,

a Commonwealth attorney sitting in there.

(A. 118).

Despite Bunch’s request for counsel, the investigators

continued to question him. The trial court ruled that the

continued questioning of Bunch after his assertion of his

right to counsel required the suppression of all statements

made by Bunch in Japan. Bunch v. Commonwealth, 304

S.E.2d 271, 274-275 (Va. 1983). The trial court’s factual

finding that Bunch requested and was denied his right to

counsel is presumed to be correct in this Court, see 28

U.S.C. § 2254(d), and is amply supported by the record.

Bunch was transported from Japan to Quantico, Vir-

ginia in the custody of military personnel. Bunch was

not given the opportunity to consult with an attorney dur-

ing his thirty-six hour journey from Japan to the United

States. Upon his arrival at Quantico, Bunch was proc-

essed for delivery to Prince William County authorities.

At Quantico, Bunch had a brief meeting with a Major

Jillisky, a Marine Corps civil lawyer. The purpose of

the meeting was to inform Bunch of his transfer to

civilian authorities. Jillisky specifically informed Bunch

that he was not his attorney, and the trial court found

that the conference did not satisfy Bunch’s right to

counsel. Despite the fact that Bunch had yet to confer

with a lawyer, Officer Cahill, who had been with Bunch

when he asserted his right to counsel in Japan, reopened

the questioning while the two were en route to the Prince

William County Substation. He “asked Bunch if he felt

he was ready to sit down and go over the case.” Jd. at

275. In response, Bunch made several incriminating

statements.

At the 1982 hearing on the motion to suppress the

statements made in Virginia, Bunch’s trial counsel argued

that this Court’s decision in Edwards v. Arizona, 451

6

U.S. 477 (1981) controlled, and that Edwards required

that the statements made by Bunch in response to Cahill’s

reinitiation of questioning be suppressed. The prosecu-

tion, relying on Justice Powell’s concurrence in Edwards,

argued that Edwards did not require suppression. The

trial court ignored the first prong of the two-step inquiry

established in Edwards, i.e., the requirement that after

a request for counsel has been made, a valid waiver must

be based on a finding that it was the accused who fur-

ther initiated conversations with police. Instead, the

court simply found that under the totality of circum-

stances, Bunch waived his previously invoked right.

(A. 126-161). The trial court never addressed the ques-

tion of who initiated the second colloquy.

C. The Fourth Circuit’s Decision

Bunch maintains that the statements made in Virginia

should have been suppressed under Edwards,’ and in his

dissenting opinion, Judge Sprouse of the Court of Ap-

peals for the Fourth Circuit agreed.

Despite the fact that Edwards was decided well before

Bunch’s conviction became final, the Fourth Circuit ma-

jority held that since the “question on which the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court ruled was ‘susceptible to debate

among reasonable minds’ at the time,” Bunch v. Thomp-

son, 949 F.2d at 1859, App. at 6a, a reversal of Bunch’s

ease on collateral review would violate the “new rule”

doctrine of Teague v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989) and

Butler v. McKellar, 110 S. Ct. 1212 (1990). Jd. The

court strained to apply the new rule doctrine to Bunch’s

case by reasoning that while Edwards “seems clear to-

day,” id. at 13860, App. at 7a, the “holding was not uni-

versally clear to state courts” at the time, and that the

Virginia Supreme Court’s opinion “must be considered a

reasonable application of that case.” Jd. at 1861, App. at

10a. The two-judge majority implied that it took this

2 Bunch has raised this issue at every stage of his case, and thus,

there is no issue of procedural default.

ae

7

Court’s decision in Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984),

to establish the clarity of Edwards, and it deemed the

reiteration of the Edwards rule in Solem to be a “new

rule” which it declined to apply retroactively to Bunch’s

case. Bunch, supra, 449 F.2d at 1360, App. at 7a.

In his dissent, Judge Sprouse rejected the majority’s

approach:

It is the majority’s view that not until Solem was

Edwards clarified as establishing “a bright-line rule

that before a suspect can waive his invoked right to

counsel he must be the party to initiate subsequent

communication.”

In my view, the bright-line rule was clearly an-

nounced in Edwards. Solem did not alter or modify

the Edwards rule. Since the parameters of the

waiver of counsel requirements were established in

Edwards, consideration of Teague’s retroactivity

principle is simply misplaced.

Id. at 13868, App. at 23a-24a.

Judge Sprouse recited the plain language of Edwards

and traced the history of the decisions which followed,

including Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039 (1983) in

which “eight members of the Supreme Court restated

that the waiver ruling in Edwards was absolute.” Bunch,

supra, 949 F.2d at 1868, App. at 25a. Judge Sprouse

disputed the majority’s characterization of Solem as a

“new rule,” since “it neither extended nor modified Ed-

wards.” Id., App. at 26a. While the majority insisted

that the Virginia Supreme Court, prior to Solem, could

have reasonably interpreted Edwards to permit Officer

Cahill’s reinterrogation of Bunch, Judge Sprouse main-

tained:

Not even in the most generous recognition of comity

. could we suggest that a state court’s interpre-

tation of a United States Supreme Court decision on

federal constitutional law is reasonable when the

United States Supreme Court has reached a contrary

conclusion.

8

... [I]f the majority of the Supreme Court holds the

Edwards opinion to be clear—it is clear.

Id. at 1369-70, App. at 27a. Finally, Judge Sprouse ex-

plained that the concerns for the administration of crimi-

nal justice in state courts embodied in Teague would in

fact be frustrated by the majority’s approach:

The majority opinion here . . . would interpret Teague

as allowing lower courts to render a clear decision of

the Supreme Court unclear; the result produces the

very lack of finality the majority panel here decries.

Id. at 1870, App. at 28a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

INTRODUCTION

Petitioner’s Fifth Amendment claim is based on this

Court’s 1981 decision in Edwards v. Arizona, supra. Peti-

tioner submits that a reading of Edwards, the Fourth

Circuit’s majority opinion rejecting his claim, and Judge

Sprouse’s dissent establishes several reasons why this

Court should grant certiorari and consider summary re-

versal of the Fourth Circuit’s ruling.

Specifically, petitioner submits that the majority’s rea-

soning and conclusion are fundamentally flawed and that

certiorari and summary reversal are proper for the fol-

lowing reasons:

1. The majority’s characterization of Edwards as

vague is flatly inconsistent with the plain language of

Edwards and this Court’s reaffirmations of its 1981 deci-

sion. See Wyrick v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42, 45-46 (1982)

(Edwards “held that once a suspect invokes his right to

counsel, he may not be subjected to further interrogation

until counsel is provided unless the suspect himself ini-

tiates dialogue with the authorities”); Oregon v. Brad-

shaw, 462 U.S. at 1054, n.2 (1983) (noting that eight

justices agree that Edwards created a per se rule) ; Solem

9

v. Stumes, 465 U.S. at 646 (Edwards established a per se

rule); Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91, 98 (1984)

(“Edwards set forth a bright-line rule that all question-

ing must cease after an accused requests counsel”) ;

Michigan v. Jackson, 475 U.S. 625, 634 (1986) (“one of

the characteristics of Edwards is its clear, bright-line

quality”); Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. 675, 682

(1988) (“surely there is nothing ambiguous about the

holding in Edwards”) ; Minnick v. Mississippi, 111 S. Ct.

486, 490 (1990) (“the merit of the Edwards decision

lies in the clarity of its command and the certainty of its

application” ) .*

2. The majority’s conclusion that retroactivity prin-

ciples preclude petitioner from benefiting from the rule

in Edwards runs counter to this Court’s direction in Shea

v. Louisiana, 470 U.S. 51 (1985), that Edwards should

be applied to all defendants whose convictions became

final after May 18, 1981, the date on which Edwards was

decided. It is undisputed that petitioner’s conviction did

not become final until more than two years after Edwards

was decided.

3. The majority’s conclusion that Solem v. Stumes,

supra, established a “new rule” is similarly inconsistent

with this Court’s prior rulings, and it distorts settled

retroactivity principles. Solem v. Stumes concerned the

retroactivity of the Edwards rule. The Court repeated

‘the rule, but did not clarify or modify Edwards. See

Michigan v. Jackson, 475 U.S. at 626 (“[i]n Solem v.

3 Indeed, the majority’s characterization of Edwards as unclear

was inconsistent with the Fourth Circuit’s own prior rulings. See

United States v. Renda, 567 F. Supp. 487, 488, aff'd, 758 F.2d 649

(4th Cir. 1985) (“Edwards is a per se rule”) ; Wilson v. Murrey,

806 F.2d 1232, 1237 (4th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 484 U.S. 820

(1987) (Edwards constructed a prophylactic rule of considerable

impermeability) ; McFadden v. Garraghty, 820 F.2d 654, 658 (4th

Cir. 1987) (“Edwards set down a rigid prophylactic rule”). The

majority opinion does not address these cases, although all were cited

below by the petitioner.

10

Stumes we reiterated that Edwards established a bright-

line rule to safeguard pre-existing rights’).

Petitioner submits that a grant of certiorari and sum-

mary reversal is especially proper in light of this Court’s

continuing insistence upon adherence to the Edwards rule,

see Minnick, Roberson, Jackson, Smith, Solem, Bradshaw,

Wyrick and Edwards, and because of the lower court’s

improper use of retroactivity and “new rule” principles.

See Stringer v. Black, 112 S. Ct. 1180, 1134 (1992)

(since case relied upon by petitioner did not “break new

ground,” it did not announce a new rule, and Supreme

Court reversed Fifth Circuit’s improper application of

new rule doctrine).

I. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT IGNORED PRIOR RUL-

INGS OF THIS COURT WHEN IT FAILED TO

APPLY THE CLEAR RULE ANNOUNCED IN

EDWARDS v. ARIZONA TO A PETITIONER WHOSE

CONVICTION BECAME FINAL MORE THAN TWO

YEARS AFTER EDWARDS WAS DECIDED.

A. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because, At

The Time Petitioner’s Conviction Became Final, It

Was Clear That Edwards Established A Per Se

Rule.

The Fourth Circuit majority concluded that at the time

the Virginia Supreme Court decided petitioner’s claim,

the meaning of Edwards was unclear. Bunch v. Thomp-

son, 949 F.2d at 1360, App. at 7a. The operative date

for deciding whether the Edwards holding applies to

Bunch is not the date on which the Virginia Supreme

Court decided his appeal, but rather the date on which

his conviction became final, i.e., when this Court denied

his petition for certiorari on direct review of his state

conviction—January 9, 1984. See Stringer v. Black, 112

S. Ct. at 1134 (“Petitioner’s conviction became final when

we denied certiorari.”). This Court has repeatedly told

lower courts that Edwards established a “bright-line

rule,” and at the time petitioner’s conviction became final,

it was clear that Edwards established a per se rule.

ill

11

Prior to the decision in Edwards, the standard for de-

termining whether a suspect in custody had waived his

previously asserted right to counsel was whether, under

the totality of circumstances, the suspect knowingly and

intelligently waived his right to counsel. Johnson v.

Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464 (1988). The decision (6-3) in

Edwards changed the standard for waiver under those

circumstances. The Court stated unconditionally:

We now hold that when an accused has invoked his

right to have counsel present during custodial in-

terrogation, a valid waiver of that right cannot

be established by showing only that he responded

to further police initiated custodial interrogation even

if he has [again] been advised of his right. We

further hold that an accused ... having expressed

his desire to deal with police through counsel, is not

subject to further interrogation by the authorities

until counsel has been made available to him, wuless

the accused himself initiates further communication,

exchanges or conversations with the police.

Edwards, 451 U.S. at 484-85 (emphasis added).

The holding in Edwards was neither ambiguous nor

equivocal. Indeed, the Edwards Court left no doubt as to

what it meant when it added that any finding of a valid

waiver must include “the necessary fact that the accused,

not the police reopened the dialogue with the authorities.”

Id. at 486 and n.9.

After Edwards, once it has been established that the

accused invoked his right to counsel, courts must under-

take a two-step inquiry to determine whether the accused

subsequently waived that right. First, the accused must

be found to have initiated later conversations with the

police, and second, it must be clear from the totality of

circumstances that the accused knowingly, voluntarily

and intelligently waived his right to counsel. Therefore,

under Edwards, an accused who has not reinitiated com-

munication with the police cannot be found to have waived

12

his right to counsel. See Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. at 95

(if the accused invoked his right to counsel, courts may

admit his responses to further questioning only on find-

ing that he (a) initiated further discussions with police,

and (b) knowingly and intelligently waived the right

he had invoked) (emphasis added).

A majority of this Court reaffirmed the clear holding

of Edwards in two decisions rendered prior to the date

on which petitioner’s conviction became final. In Wyrick

v. Fields, 459 U.S. at 45-46,‘ this Court repeated its hold-

ing in Edwards:

In Edwards, this Court had held that once a suspect

invokes his right to counsel, he may not be subjected

to further interrogation until counsel is provided un-

less the suspect himself initiates dialogue with the

authorities.

In Oregon v. Bradshaw, supra, eight Justices agreed that

Edwards altered the Zerbst standard of waiver and hence

established a per se rule. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1054 and

n.2. Thus, prior to the date on which petitioner’s convic-

tion became final, a majority of this Court held Edwards

to be clear.

Decisions of this Cuurt rendered after petitioner’s con-

viction became final confirm that a majority of the Court

has always regarded Edwards as being clear and un-

equivocal. For example, in Smith v. Illinois, 469 U.S. at

95 (1984), the Court remarked that “Edwards set forth

a bright-line rule that all questioning must cease after

an accused requests counsel.” In Michigan v. Jackson,

475 U.S. at 634 (1985), the Court stated that “one of

the characteristics of Edwards is its clear, bright-line

quality.”

4In Wyrick, the Court reversed an Eighth Circuit decision because

it went beyond Edwards and fashioned another per se rule of its

own, requiring the police to advise a suspect of his rights a second

time notwithstanding a voluntary and intelligent waiver. Wyrick,

459 U.S. at 48.

13

Similarly, in Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. at 682

(1988), the Court emphasized that the Edwards rule

serves the purpose of providing “clear and unequivocal

guidelines to the law enforcement profession.” Most re-

cently, in Minnick v. Mississippi, 111 S. Ct. at 490

(1990), the Court noted that “the merit of the Edwards

decision lies in the clarity of its command and the cer-

tainty of its application.” °

As this Court stated in Roberson and as petitioner

contends:

Surely there is nothing ambiguous about the require-

ment that after a person in custody has expressed

his desire to deal with the police only through counsel,

he is not subject to further interrogation by the

authorities until counsel has been made available to

him unless the accused himself initiates further com-

munications, exchanges or conversations with the

police.

Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. at 682. The Fourth Cir-

cuit’s opinion ignores the consistent holdings of this

Court.

Finally, the Fourth Circuit’s ruling its flatly incon-

sistent with its own decisions holding Edwards to be

clear. See United States v. Renda, supra, n.3, 567 F.

Supp. at 489 (Edwards is a per se rule); Wilson v.

Murray, supra, n.8, 806 F.2d at 1237 (Howards con-

structed a prophylactic rule of considerable impermeabil-

ity) ; McFadden v. Garraghty, supra, n.3, 820 F.2d at 658

(accord). Bunch relied on these cases below, but the

majority opinion did not cite or attempt to distinguish

these decisions.

The McFadden case is particularly significant because

there, the Fourth Circuit applied the per se rule of

5 The Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that Edwards was vague is

based entirely on the concurring opinions of Justice Powell in

Edwards and Bradshaw. It is axiomatic, as Judge Sprouse stated in

his dissenting opinion, that one Justice’s opinion cannot countermand

the law set forth in a decision of the Court.

14

Edwards to an appellant whose conviction became final

nine months before Bunch’s conviction became final.

McFadden, 820 F.2d at 655-56. The Fourth Circuit

applied Edwards to that appellant’s claim that his con-

fession was obtained in violation of his Fifth Amendment

privilege. Jd. at 657-58. The McFadden court made no

reference to the Solem v. Stumes decision because it rec-

ognized that Edwards established a “rigid prophylactic

rule,” and that under Edwards, courts must “first deter-

mine whether the accused actually invoked his right to

counsel.” Jd. at 658. “If the accused invoked his right

to counsel, courts may admit his responses only on find-

ing that he (a) initiated further discussions with the

police, and (b) knowingly and intelligently waived the

right he had invoked.” Jd. Thus, in McFadden, the

Fourth Circuit applied Edwards in the very manner

urged by Bunch.

Bunch’s conviction became final after that of the ap-

pellant in McFadden. Despite this fact, the Fourth Cir-

cuit majority in Bunch’s case ignored McFadden and

constructed a flawed retroactivity argument in order to

avoid the consequences of Edwards. Bunch submits that

the Fourth Circuit’s decision departs from prior rulings

of this Court and directly conflicts with its own prece-

dent. Certiorari should be granted.

B. This Court Should Grant Certiorari Because The

Fourth Circuit’s Decision {Is Inconsistent With This

Court’s Decision In Shea v. Louisiana, Which Con-

clusively Establishes That Petitioner Is Entitled To

The Benefit Of Edwards.

Any doubts as to whether the rule established in

Edwards applies to petitioner, and any doubts as to

whether federal courts are bound to reverse when

Edwards has been misapplied, have been resolved by this

Court’s decision in Shea v. Louisiana, supra. The issue

in Shea was whether Edwards should be applied to cases

which were pending on direct appeal at the time Edwards

15

was decided. Shea, 470 U.S. at 52. The Court held that

Edwards applies to those defendants whose convictions

had not already become final before Edwards was decided.

Id. at 58-59.°

Edwards was decided on May 18, 1981. See Edwards,

supra. Petitioner’s conviction was affirmed on appeal on

June 17, 1983, and it became final on January 9, 1984.

See Bunch v. Commonwealth, supra. Under Shea, because

petitioner’s conviction was not final before Edwards was

decided, he is entitled to the full benefits of that ruling.

Although petitioner relied upon the case below, the Fourth

Circuit ignored Shea, and certiorari is warranted.

C, Officer Cahill Reinitiated Conversation With Peti-

tioner.

The trial court looked only at the totality of the cir-

cumstances and did not address the question of whether

it was Officer Cahill who initiated the conversation lead-

ing to the incriminating statements made in Virginia

when he asked Bunch “if he felt ready to sit down and

go over the case.”” After concluding that Edwards did not

establish a per se rule, the Virginia Supreme Court sum-

marily noted that Cahill’s question amounted to “nothing

more than an effort to ascertain if Bunch had changed his

mind.” Bunch v. Commonwealth, 304 S.E.2d at 277. The

6 Shea has been consistently applied in other circuits. See Simpson

v. Commonwealth of Massachusetts, 795 F.2d 216, 219 (1st Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 1020 (1986); Diaz v. Scully, 641 F.

Supp. 1037 (S.D.N.Y. 1986), aff'd, 821 F.2d 153, 156 (2d Cir. 1987),

cert, denied, 489 U.S. 933 (1987) ; Vogel v. Commonwealth of Penn-

sylvania, 790 F.2d 368, 380 n.6 (3d Cir. 1986); Butler v. Aiken, 846

F.2d 255 (4th Cir. 1988); Esquivel v. McCotter, 791 F.2d 350 (5th

Cir. 1986) ; Flournay v. Marshall, 842 F.2d 875, 878 (6th Cir. 1988) ;

United States Ex Rel. Adkins v. Greer, 791 F.2d 590, 595 (7th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 989 (1986) ; Greenwalt v. Ricketts, 784

F.2d 1458, 1456 (9th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 479 U.S. 980 (1986) ;

Andrews v. Shulsen, 802 F.2d 1257, 1271 (10th Cir. 1986), cert. de-

nied, 485 U.S. 919 (1988) ; Cervi v. Kemp, 855 F.2d 702, 705 and n.9

(11th Cir. 1988).

16

Fourth Circuit majority again failed to apply the Ed-

wards two-pronged inquiry and stated that the Virginia

Supreme Court’s view “under Edwards was a reasonable

application of that case.” Bunch, 949 F.2d at 1360;

App. at 10a.

First, whether the Virginia Supreme Court’s opinion

was a “reasonable application” of the Edwards test is

irrelevant. The constitutional effect of Cahill’s question

is a legal question and, as such, is subject to the inde-

pendent review of this Court. See Rhode Island v. Innis,

446 U.S. at 298-302; Miller v. Fenton, 474 U.S. 104, 112

(1985). The Virginia Supreme Court’s finding is not

entitled to any deferrence even if it was “reasonable”

or grounded in good faith. The majority below disre-

garded its duty to determine whether the Virginia court

was right or wrong as a matter of federal constitutional

law.

Second, the opinions of the Virginia Supreme Court and

the Fourth Circuit ignore the government’s heavy burden

to demonstrate waiver. Courts will “indulge very reason-

able presumption against waiver of fundamental consti-

tutional ‘rights,’ Zerbst, 304 U.S. at 464, and “doubts

must be resolved in favor of protecting the constitutional

claim.” Michigan v. Jackson, 475 U.S. at 633 (1986).

Finally, Edwards implements the Miranda bar on in-

terrogation after the right to counsel has been asserted

by requiring that questioning may not resume unless it is

the accused who initiates further “communications, ex-

changes, or conversations” with the police. Edwards, 451

U.S. at 484-85. Thus, the fact that Cahill initiated the

“exchange” required the trial court to find an Edwards

violation. As Judge Sprouse remarked in his dissent,

“clearly Cahill, not Bunch, initiated the conversation lead-

ing to the subsequent interrogation at the Prince William

County police station.” Bunch, 949 F.2d at 1370, App.

at 28a. The conclusion of Judge Sprouse is consistent

with the clear directive of Edwards that any change of

17

heart must first be voiced by the suspect and not prompted

by the authorities.’ See Edwards, 451 U.S. at 484 (“a

valid waiver cannot be established by showing only that

[the accused] responded further to police-initiated cus-

todial interrogation.”).

Il. THE FOURTH CIRCUIT’S CONCLUSION THAT

THE MERE RESTATEMENT OF THE EDWARDS

RULE IN SOLEM v. STUMES CONSTITUTED A

NEW RULE CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S

PRIOR RULINGS AND MISAPPLIES SETTLED

RETROACTIVITY PRINCIPLES

The Fourth Circuit held that the rule of Edwards was

not adequately clarified until this Court’s decision in

Solem v. Stumes, supra. Bunch, supra, 949 F.2d at 1360,

App. at 7a. According to the majority, Solem established

the “new rule” that once a suspect has invoked his right

to counsel, any subsequent conversation must be initiated

by him. Jd. It follows, the majority concluded, that be-

cause petitioner’s conviction became final one year before

the announcement of the “new rule” in Solem, retroac-

tivity principles preclude him from receiving the benefits

of that ruling.

Petitioner submits that the majority’s conclusion is

merely a strained attempt to avoid following this Court’s

mandate in Edwards, a principle established more than

two years before petitioner’s conviction became final. The

majority’s suggestion that state courts acting ‘“reason-

ably” will be upheld invites state courts to construe Su-

preme Court rulings as narrowly as possible. Moreover,

the majority opinion establishes a novel and dangerous

7 Petitioner’s position is confirmed by the Court’s decision in

Roberson, supra. There, the Court held that an Edwards violation

occurred where a different officer initiated reinterrogation three days

after Roberson requested counsel and while he was still in police

custody. Even more compelling are the facts in petitioner’s case,

where reinterrogation was initiated after petitioner had been in the

custody of the very officer to whom he originally asserted his request

to counsel.

18

principle of constitutional jurisprudence: that lower

courts need not follow Supreme Court precedent until

the Supreme Court repeats itself. Bunch submits that

this Court should soundly reject such an argument.

The Court has recently restated how questions of retro-

activity should be resolved for cases on collateral review.

See Teague v. Lane, supra, 489 U.S. at 301; Penry v.

Lynaugh, 492 U.S. 302 (1989) ; Butler v. McKellar, supra,

110 S. Ct. 1212 (1990). Under these cases, new constitu-

tional rules of criminal procedure will not be applied

to those defendants whose convictions became final be-

fore the new rules were announced. Teague, 489 U.S.

at 310. A case announces a new rule “when it breaks

new ground or imposes a new obligation on the States or

the Federal Government,” or if the result was not dictated

by precedent existing at the time the defendant’s convic-

tion became final.” Butler, 110 S. Ct. at 1216. Petitioner

submits that the Solem decision did not break new ground

or impose a new obligation on the states or the federal

government. Moreover, as discussed above, the result

petitioner seeks was dictated by precedent existing at the

time his conviction became final. See Stringer v. Black,

supra.

Significantly, this Court’s decision in Solem did not

purport to clarify Edwards. The only question posed in

Solem was whether the Edwards rule should be applied

retroactively, that is to convictions which became final

before Edwards was announced on May 18, 1981. As

Justice White, writing for the majority, made clear, “the

question in this case [Solem] is whether Edwards should

be applied retroactively.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 639. Such

an inquiry presumes that Edwards announced a clear

rule, and the Solem majority never questioned that fact.

It noted, “Edwards established a bright-line rule to safe-

guard pre-existing rights.” Solem, 465 U.S. at 646.

Thus, Solem did not “break new ground or impose a new

obligation on the States or the Federal Government.” As

Judge Sprouse explained in his dissent:

Re Pd Mel nel PT

Te ee

thd eat Austen! 1 cath Cele Sine

EA Ce LIN 2 pb Ee

A Ce diets etl, DA PLM SABI bt I2 BP Pee

19

Retroactivity, not the parameters of Edwards, was

the issue in Solem. In fact, whether the treatment of

defendant Stumes violated Edwards, was not even

an issue for decision. “We .. . assume for present

purposes that the conduct at issue here violated

Edwards.” Id. at 642. Therefore, Solem could not

have established a new rule because it neither ex-

tended nor modified Edwards.

Bunch, 949 F.2d at 1369, App. at 26a. (emphasis added).

Judge Sprouse’s view that Solem did nothing but re-

peat Edwards is confirmed by this Court’s opinion ir

Michigan v. Jackson, supra, a case cited below but not

addressed by the majority. There, this Court stated,

“Tijn Solem v. Stumes, we reiterated that Edwards estab-

lished a bright-line rule to safeguard pre-existing rights

....” (emphasis added). 475 U.S. at 626. This Court’s

own description of what took place in Solem was ignored

by the Fourth Circuit majority, and reinforces the notion

that Edwards is in fact applicable to Bunch. As Justice

Stevens stated for a unanimous court in Yates v. Aiken,

484 U.S. 211, 216 and n.3 (1988) (citing United States v.

Johnson, 457 U.S. 537, 549 (1982) ):

[Wlhen a decision of this Court merely has applied

settled precedents to new and different factual situa-

tions, no real question has arisen as to whether the

later decision should apply retroactively. In such

cases, it has been a foregone conclusion that the rule

of the later case applies in earlier cases, because the

later decision has not in fact altered that rule in

any material way.

The Fourth Circuit’s conclusion presents an irreconcil-

able conflict with the instruction to the lower courts con-

tained in Shea, supra. There, the Court explained: apply

Edwards to those defendants whose convictions were not

yet final at the time Edwards was decided. The Shea

opinion followed Solem, and this Court could have said

then that Edwards was to be applied only to those defend-

ants whose convictions became final after Solem. The

20

Court drew no such distinction, because this Court has

never accorded Solem the significance crafted for it by

the Fourth Circuit majority. If the Fourth Circuit were

correct, and it was Solem, and not Edwards, that an-

nounced the new rule, what rule did the Shea court re-

quire federal and state courts to apply to convictions

which became final after Edwards but before Solem? The

obvious answer is that the decision in Shea required lower

courts to recognize and apply the Edwards holding to all

convictions which became final after the date that

Edwards was decided, i.e., May 18, 1991. The Fourth

Circuit ignored this mandate and certiorari and summary

reversal should be granted.

CONCLUSION

Petitioner respectfully submits that certiorari and sum-

mary reversal should be granted because the Fourth Cir-

cuit’s conclusion that Edwards was ambiguous and not

clarified until after petitioner’s conviction became final

conflicts with Edwards, this Court’s subsequent applica-

tions of Edwards, and settled retroactivity principles.

Respectfully submitted,

AMY BERMAN JACKSON

(Counsel of Record)

GERARD F’. TREANOR, JR.

KARL A. RACINE

VENABLE, BAETJER, HOWARD

& CIVILETTI

Suite 1000

1201 New York Avenue, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20005-3917

(202) 962-4800

Counsel for Petitioner

April 30, 1992 Timothy Dale Bunch

APPENDIX

i

ae

“4 Noted és

PaaS ats

la

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-4001

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH,

Petitioner-A ppellant,

V.

CHARLES THOMPSON, Warden,

Respondent-A ppellee.

No. 90-4005

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH,

Petitioner-A ppellant,

V.

CHARLES THOMPSON, Warden,

Respondent-A ppellee.

Appeals from the United States District Court

for the Eastern District of Virginia, at Richmond.

James R. Spencer, District Judge.

(CA-88-645-R )

Argued: April 11, 1991

Decided: November 27, 1991

Before WIDENER, SPROUSE, and WILKINSON, Cir-

cuit Judges.

2a

Affirmed by published opinion. Judge Wilkinson wrote

the majority opinion, in which Judge Widener joined.

Judge Sprouse wrote a dissenting opinion.

COUNSEL

ARGUED: Amy Berman Jackson, Kar] Anthony Racine,

VENABLE, BAETJER, HOWARD & CIVILETTI,

Washington, D.C., for Appellant. John H. McLees, Jr.,

Assistant Attorney General, Richmond, Virginia, for Ap-

pellee. ON BRIEF: Gerard F. Treanor, Jr.,. VENABLE,

BAETJER, HOWARD & CIVILETTI, Washington, D.C.,

for Appellant. Mary Sue Terry, Attorney General of

Virginia, Richmond, Virginia, for Appellee.

OPINION

WILKINSON, Circuit Judge:

Timothy Bunch was convicted by jury trial and sen-

tenced to death for murder in the commission of robbery

while armed with a deadly weapon in violation of Va.

Code Ann. § 18.2-31(d) (1988). His conviction and sen-

tence were affirmed by the Supreme Court of Virginia

on direct appeal. The Virginia courts have considered

and dismissed Bunch’s state petition of habeas corpus.

Bunch is now before this court appealing the district

court’s dismissal of his federal habeas petition. He alleges

numerous points of constitutional error but argues pri-

marily that his confession was admitted in violation of

his rights under the Fifth Amendment and that he was

denied effective assistance of counsel in violation of the

Sixth Amendment. Finding no merit in Bunch’s claims,

we affirm the judgment of the district court.

I.

On January 31, 1982, Bunch killed his girlfriend Su

Cha Thomas. The couple was at Thomas’ house, prepar-

ing to go out for dinner when Bunch hid in a downstairs

3a

bathroom to lure her. After shooting Thomas in the head,

Bunch went upstairs and spent an hour or so drinking

wine and listening to the stereo. He then ransacked the

house, taking Thomas’ Rolex watch, a diamond ring, a

string of pearls and a gold chain. Before he left, he tied

a knot in the scarf Thomas was wearing, pulled her

unconscious body to a door and hung her by the scarf

from the doorknob. According to the medical examiner

there was a combined cause of death—“a gunshot wound

to the head... with a secondary complication, asphyxia-

tion by hanging.”

Following the murder, Bunch pawned Thomas’ watch.

A report that the pawn shop filed with the police set off

an investigation of Bunch, who was a sergeant in the

United States Marine Corps. Bunch had met Thomas

while temporarily stationed at Quantico in Virginia, but

had since returned to his permanent station in Japan.

Two Virginia officials—police inspector Donald Cahill

and an assistant Commonwealth’s attorney—traveled to

Japan to question Bunch. They informed Bunch of his

rights under Miranda v. Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966),

after which Bunch signed a consent form and agreed

to talk with them. Bunch asserts that he asked for

counsel “approximately a dozen times” during the in-

terrogation, while the Virginia officials claim that Bunch

never clearly requested counsel but only mentioned once

that “he felt like he might want to talk to a lawyer.” At

that point, the Commonwealth’s attorney left the room,

but Cahill stayed and discussed another matter with

Bunch for several minutes. As Cahill got up to leave,

Bunch told Cahill he would cooperate and informed him

that the gun was at his mother’s house in Indiana and

that Thomas’ ring was in Japan. Cahill and the Com-

monwealth’s attorney decided that interrogation should

not continue unless Bunch signed another consent form.

When Bunch refused to sign the form, the interview

ended.

4a

Bunch, still in military custody, was transported from

Japan back to Quantico, which took forty-two hours. Al-

though military personnel did not question Bunch, they

informed him during the flight of his Miranda rights

again. Upon arrival at Quantico, Bunch proceeded through

processing for delivery to state authorities. During proc-

essing, Bunch met with Major Donald Jillisky, an at-

torney with the Marine Judge Advocate General’s Office.

Jillisky informed Bunch that he was not present as

Bunch’s attorney, but only to advise him of his situation

and to transfer him to state authorities. The military

attorney told Bunch of the charges he was facing and

that he would either have to obtain an attorney or have

one appointed for him. Jillisky also instructed Bunch

that “he did not have to say anything until he consulted

with his lawyer, and that it was probably not in his best

interest to say anything until he consulted with his

lawyer.”

Following completion of the military processing, Bunch

was turned over to Investigator Cahill for transportation

to the state police station. During the drive, Cahill asked

Bunch “if he felt he was ready to sit down and go over

the case.’ Cahill informed Bunch that he was under no

obligation to speak with Cahill and that the decision was

for Bunch to make. Bunch told Cahill he had spoken with

an attorney at Quantico who had advised him to contact

his own lawyer before making any statements, but had

decided to “get it off his chest” and tell the whole story.

When they arrived at the station, Bunch was once

again advised of his Miranda rights. He signed a consent

form and confessed to Cahill. In his confession, Bunch

stated that he had decided a few days before killing

Thomas to kill someone, probably a prostitute. He de-

cided on Thomas because “she was a slut and she re-

minded him too much of his wife and he wanted her

money.” He told Cahill that he shot Thomas in the head

from behind and had a sexual orgasm when doing so.

5a

After ransacking the house, he dragged Thomas to the

doorknob and hung her by her scarf, again becoming

sexually aroused. He gathered her jewelry and left the

house.

Bunch was tried for murder during the commission of

armed robbery. The trial court suppressed the incrim-

inating statements that Bunch had made in Japan, con-

cluding they had been obtained in violation of his right

to counsel. The court held admissible the confession

Bunch gave to Cahill in Virginia, however, ruling that

he had “intelligently, wittingly, freely and voluntarily”

waived his rights. A jury convicted Bunch of capital

murder and sentenced him to death based on the “vile-

ness” of the crime. See Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-264.2

(1990). The conviction and sentence were affirmed on

direct appeal. See Bunch v. Commonwealth, 304 S.E.2d

271 (Va. 1983).

Bunch filed a state petition for habeas corpus in Feb-

ruary 1984. The trial court dismissed all the asserted

points of error except for the claim of ineffective assist-

ance of counsel. On that point the court conducted a

plenary hearing, after which the court dismissed the claim

in May 1985. The Virginia Court of Appeals dismissed

Bunch’s appeal for lack of jurisdiction and the Virginia

Supreme Court denied Bunch’s petition in February 1988.

Bunch then filed a federal habeas corpus petition which

the district court dismissed in March 1990.

This appeal followed. In his habeas petition, Bunch

raises numerous claims of constitutional error. We shall

address his two major claims—that his confession was

improperly admitted and that he was denied effective

assistance of counsel—in the first two sections. We then

will discuss the remaining allegations.

Il.

Bunch’s first argument is that admission of his confes-

sion violated both his right to counsel and his right to

remain silent. We shall address each claim in turn.

6a

A.

The Virginia Supreme Court ruled on direct appeal

that admission of Bunch’s confession did not violate his

right to counsel. On collateral review, our examination

of the Virginia Supreme Court’s ruling is guided by the

“new rule” doctrine announced in such cases as Teague

v. Lane, 489 U.S. 288 (1989), and Butler v. McKellar,

110 S. Ct. 1212 (1990). In Teague, the Supreme Court

held that “new constitutional rules of criminal procedure

will not be applicable to those cases which have become

final before the new rules are announced” and decided

that “a case announces a new rule if the result was not

dictated by prececent existing at the time the defendant’s

conviction became final.” 489 U.S. at 301, 310 (emphasis

in original). Thus, if the question on which the Virginia

Supreme Court ruled was “susceptible to debate among

reasonable minds” at the time, then a reversal on collat-

eral review would be an application of a new rule in

violation of Teague. Butler, 110 S. Ct. at 1217-18. “State

courts are understandably frustrated when they faithfully

apply existing constitutional law only to have a federal

court discover, during a [habeas] proceeding, new con-

stitutional commands.” Engle v. Isaac, 456 U.S. 107,

128 n.33 (1982).

Bunch seeks to avoid application of the new rule doc-

trine by arguing that the law in existence in June 1983

when the Virginia Supreme Court affirmed his conviction

dictated that his confession be suppressed. He bases his

argument on Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477 (1981),

and claims that case clearly established a per se rule

that an accused in custody who has invoked his right to

counsel cannot waive that right unless he himself ini-

tiates further conversation with the police. Bunch main-

tains that he never initiated any further exchanges with

the police after he invoked his right to counsel and that

under the clear rule of Edwards his confessicn should

have been suppressed. According to Bunch, the Virginia

™

Ta

Supreme Court should never have reached the issue of

whether he intelligently and knowingly raived his rights

because that issue arises only when the suspect initiates

conversation.

Our examination of the law at the time of the Virginia

Supreme Court decision, however, convinees us that the

admissibility of the confession was “susceptible to debate

among reasonable minds.” The Virginia Supreme Court

ruled the confession admissible both because Bunch “in-

telligently, wittingly, freely and voluntarily” waived his

right to counsel and because Investigator Cahill’s inquiry

did not amount to police-initiated interrogation under

Edwards. Bunch, 304 S.E.2d at 277. At that time, Ed-

wards did not dictate a contrary conclusion.

It seems clear today that Edwards established a bright-

line rule that before a suspect can waive his invoked

right to counsel he must be the party to initiate subse-

quent communication. See Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638,

646-47 (1984). That holding was not universally clear

to state courts struggling with Edwards when the opinion

was first issued, however. See, e.g., Richardson v. State,

625 S.W.2d 504 (Ark. 1981); Leuschner v. State, 433

A.2d 1195 (Md. Ct. Spee. App. 1981). Even had that

point been perfectly obvious, Edwards left numerous other

issues unresolved—most notably, what acts constituted

initiation and interrogation. The Edwards opinion never-

theless recognized that such matters were germane to

any right to counsel analysis. “The Fifth Amendment

right identified in Mirenda is the right to have counsel

present at any cusiodial interrogation. Absent such inter-

rogation, there would have been no infringement of the

right that Edwards invoked and there would be no occa-

sion to determine whether there had been a valid waiver.”

451 U.S. at 485-86. Justice Powell, concurring in the

result in Edwards, was the only one to address directly

the meaning of “initiation” and “interrogation” in this

context:

ti i:

8a

{PJolice do not impermissibly ‘initiate’ renewed in-

terrogation by engaging in routine conversatiuns

with suspects about unrelated matters. And _ police

legitimately may inquire whether a _ suspect has

changed his mind about speaking to them without an

attorney. It is not unusual for a person in custody

who previously has expressed an unwillingness to

talk or a desire to have a lawyer, to change his mind

and even welcome an opportunity to talk. Nothing

in the Constitution erects obstacles that preclude po-

lice from ascertaining whether a suspect has recon-

sidered his original decision.

eee ~—

451 U.S. at 490 (citations omitted). Still, the Supreme

Court could not agree on what constituted initiation in

Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039 (1983), a case de-

cided shortly after Bunch’s conviction became final. That

the Virginia Supreme Court reasonably applied Edwards

can readily be seen through an examination of contem-

poraneous courts’ interpretations of that case and of the

concepts of initiation and interrogation.

In Moulds v. State, for example, the Alabama Court of

Criminal Appeals considered an accused who had un-

equivocally invoked her right to counsel but who had

been unable to contact her attorney. 429 So. 2d 1176

(Ala. Crim. App. 1983). A police sergeant spoke with

the accused for a few minutes and then told her that

her attorney would tell her not to make a statement. The

accused responded that she “wanted to go ahead and talk

anyway.” The court concluded that “[{t]he defendant’s

assertion that she was ready to make a statement, even

if made in response to an officer’s inquiry of whether she

had ‘changed her mind about speaking to them without an

attorney,’ constitutes a communication initiated by the

accused under Edwards.” Id. at 1179. See McCall v.

State, 501 So. 2d 496, 500 (Ala. Crim. App. 1986). The

court also specifically rejected the argument that the ser-

9a

geant’s actions constituted interrogation under Rhode

Island v. Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980):

The defendant was subjected to neither “express

questioning” nor to “any words or actions on the part

of the police (other than those normally attendant

to arrest and custody) that the police should know

are reasonably likely to elicit an incriminating re-

sponse from the suspect.”

429 So. 2d at 1178 (citing Innis).

The Supreme Court of Connecticut reached a similar

conclusion in State v. Acquin. 448 A.2d 163 (Conn.

1982). There the suspect had clearly requested counsel

but rejected all suggestions for obtaining one. In re-

sponse to further police questioning the suspect revealed

that “it wasn’t really an attorney that he wanted, it was

just somebody he could trust.” Jd. at 170. After poilce

brought in the accused’s requested psychiatrist, he con-

fessed. Citing Justice Powell's concurrence in Edwards

that “police legitimately may inquire whether a suspect

has changed his mind,” the court found no Violation of

the suspect’s right to counsel. “Unquestionably, the de-

fendant invoked his right to counsel. . .. however, sub-

sequent legitimate questions to find out whom he wanted

showed that the request was not as unequivocal as it

appears to be on its face.” Jd. at 176. The Supreme

Court of Connecticut also dismissed the idea that the

questions directed at clarifying the defendant’s request for

counsel constituted interrogation under Rhode Island v.

Innis, 446 U.S. 291 (1980). “They were not of the kind

likely to elicit an incriminating response.” 448 A.2d at

175.

In State v. Scott, 626 S.W.2d 25 (Tenn. Crim. App.

1981), the defendant invoked his right to counsel where-

upon the police stopped interrogation. While being

escorted back to the holding cell, however, the suspect

spoke with his girlfriend who loudly urged him to “tell

10a

the truth.” The officer escorting the suspect then asked

the defendant whether he wanted to talk about the case

or continue to the holding cell. The suspect confessed.

The court refused to suppress the statement, concluding

that “|t|hese facts cannot be equated with a resumption

of the interrogation as condemned by Edwards.” Id. at

29. See also Johnson v. State, 303 S.E.2d 7, 8 (Ga. 1983)

(“Police may legitimately inquire whether a suspect has

changed his mind about speaking to them with or without

an attorney.’”’).

The Virginia Supreme Court decision is similar to

those of other states interpreting the meaning of initia-

tion and interrogation in the immediate aftermath of

Edwards. The Virginia court concluded that Cahill’s ask-

ing Bunch “if he felt he was ready to sit down and go

over the case’ was a legitimate attempt to determine

whether Bunch’s decision not to speak with the police

without an attorney present had changed. 304 S.E.2d at

277. Cahill testified at the suppression hearing that he

asked the question because he knew that Bunch had just

spoken with a lawyer. As in the Moulds case, Cahill in-

formed Bunch that he “certainly was not required to talk

to [Cahill] if he didn’t want to.” This communication

from Cahill was a far cry from the communication in

Edwards, where the accused was informed that “he had

to talk” to the police. The Virginia Supreme Court thus

determined that Cahill’s inquiry “amounted to nothing

more than an effort to ascertain if Bunch had changed

his mind about wanting an attorney and, hence, did not

amount to police-initiated interrogation within the mean-

ing of Edwards.” 304 8.F.2d at 277. The court’s opinion

that Cahill’s question was not police-initiated interroga-

tion under Edwards was perfectly consistent with other

case law at the time and must be considered a reasonable

application of that case.

Bunch nevertheless argues that he did not make a

knowing and intelligent waiver. This claim has been

waived because Bunch did not raise it on state habeas or

lla

even to the federal district court. See Harrison v.

Warden, Maryland Penitentiary, 890 F.2d 676 (4th Cir.

1989); Whitley v. Bair, 802 F.2d 1487 (4th Cir. 1986).

The claim is also meritless. Bunch had been informed of

his rights numerous times, he had received legal advice

to remain silent, he had been informed that he was not

required to speak with Cahill, and he had understood that

his confession could result in the death penalty. As the

Virginia Supreme Court stated, this was a case of an

individual

who, despite repeated warnings of his rights and con-

trary to sound advice “not to say anything,” decided

“he was ready to tell the whole story” and “wanted

to get it off his chest.” Moments before confessing,

he stated in writing that he did not want a lawyer

and that he was willing to answer questions. We

can conceive of no clearer case of a “ ‘knowing and

intelligent relinquishment or abandonment’” of

| Miranda] rights.

304 S.E.2d at 277 (citing Wyrick v. Fi lds, 459 U.S. 42

(1982) ).

We therefore dismiss Bunch’s claim on collateral attack

on the basis of Teague v. Lane and its progeny. Those

cases require that the Virginia Supreme Court ruling be

judged against the backdrop of other case law at the time

of its decision on direct appeal, not against the law that

may have evolved during the time that Bunch’s case made

its various rounds on collateral review. To grant the

writ would hold the Virginia Supreme Court’s application

of Edwards in 1988 to be beyond the pale of “reasonable,

good-faith interpretation! ] of existing precedents.” Saf-

fle v. Parks, 110 S. Ct. 1257, 1260 (1990) (quoting

Butler). This we decline to do. The Virginia court was

ruling on a close question of law at the margins of the

Miranda doctrine, namely, under what circumstances any

subsequent conversations between a suspect and officials

could be considered a reinitiation of interrogation by the

|

12a

state. The Virginia Supreme Court’s ruling on that point

warrants respect from a federal habeas court as one that

reasonable jurists could make. See Butler, 110 S. Ct. at

1217-18.'

B.

Bunch also argues that his confession should have been

suppressed because he asserted his right to remain silent

in Japan and Virginia investigators did not “scrupulously

honor” that right as required by Michigan v. Mosley, 423

U.S. 96, 104 (1975). When Bunch raised this claim in

his state habeas petition, the Commonwealth, in its “Mo-

tion to Dismiss,” responded that the claim had been pro-

cedurally defaulted because it had not been raised either

at trial or on direct appeal. See Slayton v. Parrigan, 205

S.E.2d 680 (Va. 1974). The Commonwealth made no

other arguments opposing the claim. The circuit court

dismissed the claim “for the reasons stated in the Motion

to Dismiss.” Thus, the circuit court clearly dismissed the

claim on the grounds of the state procedural default. See

1 The dissenting opinion quite fails to appreciate the fact that the

rule announced in Edwards did not define all the terms by which

the rule would be implemented. The Edwards holding rested upon

the concepts of initiation and interrogation, the precise boundaries

of which the state courts could legitimately determine were unde-

fined. Unlike the dissent, we decline to hold in hindsight that the

substantial number of state courts struggling with these concepts

were in any way intent upon disregarding higher authority. We

have no indication, for example, that Virginia was attempting to do

anything other than conscientiously apply the Miranda doctrine.

Indeed, state and military authorities gave Bunch his Miranda warn-

ings on no less than three separate occasions and the state courts in

fact threw out his confession in Japan as violative of his right to

counsel.

In that same regard, we wish to make plain that federal inter-

mediate courts refusing to apply new rules to reverse state convic-

tions on collateral attack are not criticizing any lack of clarity in

earlier Supreme Court decisions, but are only acknowledging what

Teague and its progeny now require us to acknowledge—that even

the clearest decisions will leave some questions for the state courts

in good faith to resolve.

l3a

Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct. 2546, 2559-61 (1991)

(grant of a motion to dismiss on state procedural

grounds neither rests on nor is interwoven with federal

law). The Supreme Court of Virginia refused the peti-

tion for appeal “{u]pon review of the record in this case

and consideration of the argument submitted in support

of and in opposition to the granting of an appeal.” This

order of the Virginia Supreme Court provides no evidence

that that court considered the claim on the merits. Where

“the last reasoned opinion on the claim explicitly imposes

a procedural default, we will presume that a later deci-

sion rejecting the claim did not silently disregard that

bar and consider the merits.” Ylst v. Nunnemaker, 111

S. Ct. 2590, 2594 (1991). In such circumstances, the

procedural default must be considered an adequate and

independent state ground that forecloses review of the

claim in federal] court. Coleman, 111 S. Ct. at 2557-61.

ITT.

Bunch next argues that he was denied the right to ef-

fective assistance of counsel in violation of the Sixth

Amendment. His primary point is that trial counsel was

ineffective in preparing and presenting mitigating evi-

dence at the sentencing phase of the trial. He addition-

ally raises other allegations of deficient performance that

the government urges are procedurally barred. We shall

address these arguments in turn.

A.

The standard of review for ineffective assistance of

counsel claims is a familiar one. Under Strickland v.

* Relying on Justice O’'Connor’s concurring opinion in Duckworth

v. Eagan, 492 U.S. 195 (1989), the Commonwealth argues that fed-

eral courts should not apply on collateral review the exclusionary

rule for Miranda violations. See Stone v. Powell, 428 U.S. 465

(1976) (federal habeas courts reviewing state criminal convictions

will not apply the exclusionary rule for Fourth Amendment viola-

tions). Because we rest this decision on narrower grounds, we need

not address this question.

l4a

Washington, 466 U.S. 668, 687 (1984), in order to estab-

lish a violation of his Sixth Amendment rights, Bunch

must show that his counsel’s performance was deficient

and that the deficiency so prejudiced his defense as to

deprive him of a fair trial. This is no insubstantial bur-

den, as “(t]he benchmark for judging any claim of in-

effectiveness must be whether counsel’s conduct so under-

mined the proper functioning of the adversarial process

that the trial cannot be relied on as having produced a

just result.” Jd. at 686.

Bunch asserts that his court-appointed attorneys per-

formed inadequately by failing to investigate and present

potentially mitigating factors at the sentencing phase.

Bunch presented to the state habeas court numerous affi-

davits containing mitigating evidence that he asserts was

easily available during the trial. Those affidavits came

from various family members and friends, a few neigh-

bors, a law student who interviewed military officers who

had some contact with Bunch, and Bunch’s state habeas

attorney who had interviewed Bunch’s ex-wife. Bunch

argues that his counsel should have offered the jury more

mitigating evidence than simply his mother’s testimony.

See Coles v. Peyton, 389 F.2d 224, 226 (4th Cir. 1968).

We are unpersuaded. It is becoming all too common-

place to charge even diligent counsel in the midst of diffi-

cult circumstances with the adverse outcome in a capital

case. When examining ineffective assistance claims, how-

ever, we must appreciate the practical limitations and

tactical decisions that trial counsel faced. “It is all too

tempting for a defendant to second-guess counsel’s assist-

ance after conviction or adverse sentence, and it is all

too easy for a court, examining counsel’s defense after it

has proved unsuccessful, to conclude that a particular act

or omission of counsel was unreasonable.” Strickland,

466 U.S. at 689. Particularly when evaluating decisions

not to investigate further, we must regard counsel’s

choices with an eye for “reasonableness in all the cir-

a

l5a

cumstances, applying a heavy measure of deference to

counsel’s judgments.” Jd. at 691.

Our review of the record reveals that Bunch’s attor-

neys made reasonable determinations in deciding how

best to present mitigating factors. For example, counsel

did not have the psychiatrist who evaluated Bunch for

potential mitigating evidence testify before the sentenc-

ing jury. Bunch contends that the psychiatrist could have

informed the jury of Bunch’s stressful childhood, which

included domestic violence, and of his loss of self-esteem

following the dissolution of his marriage. In addition, the

doctor could have testified that Bunch’s lack of a prior

criminal record indicated some ability to control his be-

havior, that he was under extreme pressure at the time

of the murder, and that he had the capacity for rehabili-

tation.

Counsel was aware of this beneficial testimony but was

also cognizant of the risks involved if the psychiatrist

had taken the standard. State psychiatrists had evalu-

ated Bunch and made damaging findings of which the

prosecution was aware. Had Bunch’s attorneys called

their psychiatrist, harmful evidence would have emerged

on cross-examination. Counsel feared that the overall im-

pact of the psychiatric testimony would be to reinforce

all the negative aspects of Bunch’s self-destructive be-

havior. Bunch’s lawyers were additionally worried by

“some unusual sexual orientation aspects of the case that

we in no way wanted the jury to hear about.” Having in-

terviewed the state psychiatrists in addition to their own

Witness, counsel made a reasoned strategic choice not to

offer psychiatric testimony. To use that decision as a

basis for finding ineffective assistance would be to insti-

tute a rule that psychiatric testimony should always be

offered in the sentencing phase, no matter how counter-

productive or damaging. This we refuse to do. Trial

counsel is too frequently placed in a no-win situation with

respect to possible mitigating evidence at the sentencing

phase of a capital case. The failure to put on such evi-

l6a

dence, or the presentation of evidence which then back-

fires, may equally expose counsel to collateral charges of

ineffectiveness. The best course for a federal habeas

court is to credit plausible strategic judgments in the

trial of a state case.

This view governs our disposition of the remaining

mitigation claims. With respect to possible military

mitigating witnesses, counsel spoke with the commanding

officer of the correctional facility where Bunch had last

been stationed as well as with the first sergeant of that

facility. The commanding officer reported that Bunch had

unsatisfactory working relationships with his peers, had

been dismissed from his position for drug related prob-

lems and would not have been recommended for re-

enlistment. The first sergeant had taken his post after

Bunch had been arrested but was familiar with his repu-

tation and was unable to offer any positive information.

Additionally, counsel contacted the military liaison officer

for Bunch’s case and obtained copies of Bunch’s military

record to provide the evaluating psychiatrist. With finite

hours and other demands in the case, counsel chose not to

spend valuable time pursuing what appeared to be an

unfruitful line of investigation. This too was a reason-

able decision.

Counsel contacted and interviewed Bunch’s parents.

Although initially hopeful about presenting Bunch’s fa-

ther as a favorable witness, counsel was concerned about

both his reliability and the possibility of contradictory

testimony. For example, Bunch’s father did not show up

for an important meeting with counsel because he had

gotten drunk the night before. Also, much of the mitiga-

tion strategy was to highlight Bunch’s traumatic child-

hood, including the facts that Bunch’s father had been

mostly absent from the home, had a drinking problem and

had been abusive to Bunch’s mother. Counsel worried

that Bunch’s father would downplay this history and that

they would in effect end up impeaching their own witness.

17a

They made a defensible strategic decision not to put him

on the stand.

Bunch’s mother was prepared for trial and ready to

testify to Bunch’s family and social histories, his lack of

disciplinary problems in schools, his lack of a criminal

record, and his efforts to reconcile with his wife. When

she actually testified, however, counsel had to ask a num-

ber of leading questions in order to elicit the favorable

information. Her emotional effect was blunted, as well,

also diminishing her effectiveness as a witness.

Bunch now makes much of the outcome that only one

witness, who was disappointing, testified in his behalf.

Yet when counsel was preparing for the sentencing phase

and asked both Bunch and his parents for names of

potential witnesses with information that they could not

provide, they did not suggest any. While counsel was

aware of other family members, they believed that such

testimony would only be cumulative with that of Bunch’s

mother. One of those whom Bunch now argues that coun-

sel should have contacted is his ex-wife. Before the trial,

however, Bunch instructed his counsel not to contact his

ex-wife or to involve her in the case. It is difficult for us

to fault counsel for failing to obtain additional testimony

when the client himself was not forthcoming with names.

See Strickland, 466 U.S. at 691: Tucker v. Kemp, 776

I’.2d 1487, 1490 (11th Cir. 1985).

Under these circumstances we conclude that Bunch’s

counsel made reasonable professional judgments and did

not render constitutionally defective assistance of eoun-

sel. Counsel “did interview all potential witnesses who

had been called to [their] attention and [] there was a

reasonable basis for [their] strategic decision[s].”

Burger v. Kemp, 483 U.S. 776, 794-95 (1987). Bunch

has simply not shown that “in light of all the circum.

stances, the identified acts or omissions were outside the

wide range of professionally competent assistance.”

Strickland, 466 U.S. at 690.

18a

B.

Bunch raises additional claims that his right to effec-

tive assistance of counsel was violated. He contends that

at the guilt phase of trial his rights were violated by his

attorneys’ failures: (i) to conduct adequate voir dire;

(ii) to object to the Commonwealth’s opening statement;

(iii) to deliver an effective opening statement; (iv) to

object to irrelevant inadmissible testimony; (v) to object

to improper cross-examination of Bunch; (vi) to pre-

serve for review the adequacy of the Indiana search war-

rant; (vii) to object to admission of the gun. He also

alleges other instances of ineffective assistance at the

sentencing phase.

We affirm the district court’s judgment that these ad-

ditional claims are procedurally barred. The only claim

of ineffective assistance of counsel that Bunch presented

to the Virginia Supreme Court for collateral review con-

cerned counsels’ duty to investigate and present mitigat-

ing evidence at the sentencing phase. These other claims

are therefore barred under Whitley v. Bair, 802 F.2d

1487, 1500 (4th Cir. 1986), and Wainwright v. Sykes,

433 U.S. 72 (1977).

IV.

Bunch asserts other points of error which occurred

during the guilt phase of the trial. We shall address each

in turn.

A.

Bunch protests the introduction into evidence of two

photographs of Thomas: one showing her hanging from

the doorknob as she was found, and one black and white

photograph of Thomas on the autopsy table. He argues

that these photographs were inflammatory and that his

conviction and sentence cannot have been the result of a

reasoned and rational determination. See Gregg v. Geor-

gia, 428 U.S. 153, 190 (1976).

Bunch did not challenge at either trial or on appeal the

photograph of the crime scene. That claim is therefore

19a

precluded. Wainwright v. Sykes, 483 U.S. 72 (1977).

With respect to the second print, admission of evidence

rests in the sound discretion of the trial court. Absent

extraordinary circumstances, such questions of admissi-

bility are matters of state law. The court admitted the

photo for identification purposes and Bunch has shown

no extraordinary circumstances that would justify dis-

turbing that ruling. See United States v. MacDonald,

688 F.2d 224, 227-28 (4th Cir. 1982). Admission of the

photograph was not a violation of fundamental fairness.

See Moore ». Illinois, 408 U.S. 786, 798-800 (1972).

B.

Bunch also maintains that the evidence at trial was in-

sufficient to establish a murder during the commission of

a robbery, which was the basis for his capital murder

conviction. See Va. Code Ann. § 18.2-31(d) (1988). He

argues that where the killing and the unlawful taking

are two separate acts and there was no intent to steal at

the time of the killing, there is no robbery. See Branch

v. Commonwealth, 300 S.E.2d 758, 760 (Va. 1983).

Bunch asserts that he had no intent to rob Thomas prior

to the murder and took her jewelry only in an attempt to

disguise the crime.

The Virginia Supreme Court considered this argument

on direct appeal and summarized the “overwhelming”

evidence that Bunch killed Thomas during commission of

a robbery. That evidence included Bunch’s statements to

friends before the murder that he needed money badly,

that he should “go up there to Dale City and knock that

bitch off ... and get her rings and things,” and Bunch’s

confession, wherein he said his plan had been “to go down

and take her jewelry and kill her and leave the area.”

This is more than sufficient evidence that Bunch had the

intent to rob Thomas when he killed her.

20a

C.

Bunch also asserts that his Sixth Amendment right to

cross-examine witnesses and his Fourteenth Amendment

rights to due process and equal protection were violated

when the trial court failed to provide funds for Bunch

to hire a pathologist.

Bunch waived this claim at trial and did not present it

on direct appeal or at any phase of state habeas. It is

therefore barred. Wainwright v. Sykes, 433 U.S. 72

(1977); see also Slayton v. Parrigan, 205 S.E.2d 680

(Va. 1974) (failure to raise issue at trial and on direct

appeal bars state habeas review).

D.

One of Bunch’s friends testified that Bunch spoke with

him two weeks before the murder about wanting to rob a

Pizza Hut. Bunch argued at trial and on direct appeal

that this evidence was too remote from the crime to be

relevant as to his intent to rob Thomas. On state habeas,

Bunch enhanced his argument against this testimony’s

admissibility by asserting that it was unduly prejudicial

character evidence. He asserts that his preserved claim

of irrelevancy was broad enough to incorporate the newer

grounds of inadmissibility.

Bunch’s objection at trial was framed solely in terms

of irrelevancy, however, and not in terms of constitu-

tional deprivations. The state habeas court considered

Bunch’s argument and granted the government’s motion

to dismiss the claim on the grounds of procedural default.

This is an adequate and independent state ground for

decision that forecloses consideration of the claim on fed-

eral habeas review. Coleman v. Thompson, 111 S. Ct.

2546 (1991); Ylst v. Nunnemaker, 111 S. Ct. 2590

(1991). We see no reason in any event to disturb the

discretion of the state trial court on this evidentiary

ruling.

2la

V.

Bunch also asserts numerous claims of errors made at

the sentencing phase of his trial. We shall address these

claims too in order.

A.

Under Virginia’s capital sentencing scheme, a death

sentence cannot be imposed unless a jury determines

beyond a reasonable doubt that the defendant represents

a future danger to society or that the defendant’s conduct

was particularly vile. Va. Code Ann. §§ 19.2-264.2,

-264.4(C) (1990). The trial court submitted to the

jury only the question of vileness. A jury can impose a

sentence of death for vileness only if the defendant’s

conduct satisfied one of three statutory predicates: “tor-

ture, depravity of mind or aggravated battery to the

victim.” Wa. Code Ann. § 19.2-264.4(C) (1990). Bunch

argues that the trial court’s instructions regarding the

death penalty were constitutionally infirm for two rea-

sons. First, he asserts that the court should have in-

structed the jurors that they must be in unanimous agree-

ment as to which of the three vileness predicates existed.

See Andres v. United States, 333 U.S. 740, 748 (1948).

Second, Bunch asserts that the vileness predicate is un-

constitutionally vague and that the trial court erred in

failing to provide a limiting instruction.

We find no error in the instructions given by the trial

court. With respect to the unanimity claim, we observe

that the Virginia legislature has identified three differ-

ent types of conduct, any of which would satisfy a finding

of vileness. Virginia does not require that the jury iden-

tify the particular predicate on which it relies. Clark v.

Commonwealth, 257 S.E.2d 784, 791-92 (Va. 1979). The

jurors, when polled, indicated that the finding of vileness

was unanimous. That affirmance effectively “moots any

claim of error in the instructions on unanimity.” - Briley

v. Bass, 742 F.2d 155, 166 (4th Cir. 1984) - see also Schad

a

22a

v. Arizona, 111 S. Ct. 2491, 2496-2500 (1991) (unless

statutory alternatives were actually separate crimes, ju-

rors’ verdict was unanimous). This court has already

considered the argument that the Virginia vileness stat-

ute is unconstitutionally vague and has rejected it. See

Clozza v. Murray, 913 F.2d 1092, 1105 (4th Cir. 1990).

B.

Bunch alleges that the trial court erred in failing to

strike for cause two jurors who were biased in favor of

the death penalty, thus yielding “a jury uncommonly

willing to condemn a man to die.” Witherspoon v. Illinois,

391 U.S. 510, 521 (1968). Although Bunch did not raise

this claim either at trial.or on direct appeal and it is

procedurally barred, Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478

(1986), Bunch asserts that the alleged error was such

a fundamental miscarriage of justice that review is still

available. See Sykes, 483 U.S. at 91.

The record, however, reveals that neither veniremember

was biased. Although both potential jurors had initially

agreed with the statement that the death penalty should

be imposed in every case of murder regardless of the

facts and circumstances, both changed their positions

upon immediate requestioning. Failure to strike the po-

tential jurors for cause did not lead to a fundamental

miscarriage of justice where, as here, they stated their

ability to consider fairly and impartially sentences be-

sides death.

C.

The Commonwealth introduced evidence at the sen-

tencing phase that Bunch associated with prostitutes and

had thoughts about killing people and becoming a mer-

cenary hit man. Bunch asserts that this evidence relates

only to future dangerousness and not to vileness and

should have been excluded from the sentencing phase.

This objection was not raised at trial and the state

habeas court found the claim procedurally barred under

23a

Virginia’s contemporaneous objection rule. Our review

of the claim is therefore also barred. Coleman v. Thomp-

son, 111 S. Ct. 2546 (1991); Yist v. Nunnemaker, 111

S. Ct. 2590 (1991).

D.

Bunch finally requests that we declare the Virginia

death penalty statute and sentencing procedures to be

facially unconstitutional. As the district court observed,

the Supreme Court has upheld statutes similar to Vir-

ginia’s both as to future dangerousness, see Jurek v.

Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 269, 274-76 (1976), and as to

vileness. See Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S. 153, 201 & n.51

(1976). Bunch’s claim is also conclusory in nature and

disregards the multitude of challenges to the application

of Virginia’s capital punishment scheme which have been

rejected.

VI.

For the foregoing reasons, we hold Bunch’s claim to

be without merit. The judgment of the district court is

hereby

AFFIRMED.

SPROUSE, Circuit Judge, dissenting:

I concur in all of the majority opinion except Part

IJ. A. which I respectfully dissent.

The majority believes that the language used by the

Supreme Court in Edwards was confusing and that the

Edwards rule was neither bright nor linear. It is the

majority’s view that not until Solem was Edwards clari-

fied as establishing ‘‘a bright-line rule that before a sus-

pect can waive his invoked right to counsel he must be

the party to initiate subsequent communication.”

In my view, the bright-line rule was clearly announced

in Edwards. Solem did not alter or modify the Edwards

rule. Since the parameters of the waiver of counsel re-

quirements were established in Edwards, consideration

24a

of Teaque’s retroactivity principles is simply misplaced.

Accordingly, the Virginia courts should have observed

Edwards and suppressed Bunch’s statement to Cahill.

Although the Edwards majority was challenged within

the Supreme Court by two separate opinions, the major-

ity rejected those challenges and, as shown in Bradshaw,

and Solem, persisted in its view that once a defendant

invokes his right to counsel, the accused must initiate

conversation to establish a valid waiver.

The Supreme Court in EHdwards, realizing that addi-

tional safeguards were necessary to protect an accused’s

request for counsel, held that:

when an accused has invoked his right to have counsel

present during custodial interrogation, a valid waiver

of that right cannot be established by showing only

that he responded to further police-initiated custodial

interrogation even if he has been advised of his rights.

We further hold that an accused, such as Edwards,

having expressed his desire to deal with the police

only through counsel, is not subject to further inter-

rogation by the authorities until counsel has been

made available to him, unless the accused himself

initiates further communication, exchanges, or con-

versations with the police.

Id. at 484-85 (emphasis added). The six-justice majority

could not have been any clearer in its holding that once

a suspect invokes his right to counsel, only communica-

tion initiated by the accused can provide the basis for

further interrogation.

Chief Justice Burger concurred only in the judgment

because he disagreed with the majority about the need

for a “special” rule concerning the waiver of a right to

be free from interrogation—opining that the validity of

such waivers should be determined under the particular

facts and circumstances standard of Johnson v. Zerbst,

304 U.S. 458 (1938). Justice Powell also refused to join

25a

the majority. Like Justice Burger, he was of the view

that the issue of Edwards’ waiver of counsel should have

been considered under the Zerbst standard. Justice Pow-

ell also criticized “what appears to be an undue, and

undefined, emphasis on a single element: ‘initiation.’ ”

Id. at 491-92.

The majority here claims Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462

U.S. 1039 (1983), decided six days after Bunch’s state

appeal, demonstrates that Edwards was an uncertain

rule. In Bradshaw, however, eight members of the Su-

preme Court restated that the waiver ruling in Edwards

was absolute. The plurality opinion stated:

We think the Oregon Court of Appeals misappre-

hended the test laid down in Edwards. We did not

there hold that the “initiation” of a conversation by

a defendant such as respondent would amount to a

waiver of a previously invoked right to counsel; we

held that after the right to counsel had been asserted

by an accused, further interrogation of the accused

should not take place “unless the accused himself ini-

tiates further communication, exchanges, or conver-

sations with the police.”

Id. at 1044 (citations omitted). Four dissenting justices

agreed. The dissent stated, “To establish a waiver, it

would thus be a necessary fact that the accused, not the

police, reopened the dialogue with the authorities.” Id.

at 1053 (internal quotations, emphasis, and citations

omitted). Although the justices disagreed as to whether

the defendant had in fact initiated conversation, both

the plurality and the dissent agreed the defendant must

be the one to initiate conversation for a valid fifth

amendment waiver.

The issue in Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. 638 (1984),

was whether Edwards established a “new rule” so as

to apply retroactively to a state court decision rendered

before Edwards. Justice White, for a five-member ma-

jority, wrote:

26a

-

Edwards established a bright-line rule to safeguard

pre-existing rights, not a new substantive require-

ment. . . Edwards established a new test for when

that waiver would be acceptable once the suspect had

invoked his right to counsel: the suspect had to initi-

ate subsequent communication... .

Before Edwards, the question whether the author-

ities could resume questioning after a defendant has

asked for an attorney was acknowledged to be ur»

settled.

Solem, at 646, 648. The Solem court held that since

Edwards established a “new rule,” it was not to be

retroactively applied. Retroactivity, not the parameters

of Edwards, was the issue in Solem. In fact, whether the

treatment of defendant Stumes violated Edwards was

not even an issue for decision. “We .. . assume for

present purposes that the conduct at issue here violated

Edwards.” Id. at 642. Therefore, Solem could not have

established a new rule because it neither extended nor

modified Edwards.

The majority here holds that the Virginia Supreme

Court could have reasonably interpreted Edwards to sanc-

tion the type of reinterrogation conducted by Officer Ca-

hill, because not until Solem was it clear that the inter-

rogation violated the rule established in Edwards. Be-

cause Solem announced a new rule, the majority reasons,

it is not to be applied retroactively to Bunch. I disagree.

In Teague, Justice O’Connor defined a “new rule:”

[A] case announces a new rule when it breaks new

ground or imposes a new obligation on the States or

the Federal Government. ... To put it differently,

a case announces a new rule if the result was not

dictated by precedent existing at the time the defend-

ant’s conviction became final.

Teague at 301. It is true that the Supreme Court in

considering the ‘new rule” principle of Teague stated:

27a

“The ‘new rule’ principle therefore validates reasonable,

good-faith interpretations of existing precedents made

by state courts even though they are shown to be con-

trary to later decisions.” Butler, 58 U.S.L.W. 4294, 4296

(March 5, 1990). Not even in the most generous recog-

nition of comity, however, could we suggest that a state

court’s interpretation of a United States Supreme Court

decision on federal constitutional law is reasonable when

the United States Supreme Court has clearly reached a

contrary conclusion.

The majority here relies on the opinion of various state

courts to illustrate that other state courts’ interpretation

of Edwards was similar to that of the Virginia Supreme

Court in this case. The problem I have with that approach

is that a majority of the United States Supreme Court

justices have expressed views inconsistent with those ex-

pressed by these state appellate bodies. Although the

majority here may take some comfort from the concur-

rence of Justice Powell in Edwards that he found the

majority opinion confusing, it goes without saying that

if the majority of the Supreme Court holds the Edwards

opinion to be clear—it is clear.

In collateral review cases, the Supreme Court, of course,

is always sensitive to the effect of its opinions on the

administration of criminal justice in state courts. Teague

at 308. Whether or not this comity concern is really an-

other aspect of the sometime tension between concerns

of finality on the one hand and fundamental fairness and

protection of truth-finding procedures on the other, state

court decisions cannot undermine the finality of decisions

of the United States Supreme Court, under any of the

various formulations for determining issues of retro-

activity. See Teague; Griffith v. Kentucky, 479 U.S.

314 (1987); Mackey v. United States, 401 U.S. 667

(1971); Desist v. United States, 394 U.S. 244 (1969);

Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293, (1967): Linkletter ».

Walker, 381 U.S. 618 (1965); Palko v. State of Connec-

28a

ticut, 302 U.S. 319 (1937). The majority opinion here,

however, would interpret Teague as allowing lower courts

to render a clear decision of the Supreme Court unclear;

the result produces the very lack of finality the majority

panel here decries.

So no matter how respectable state judicial authorities

might be, we are concerned here with a federal constitu-

tional issue. Although some state courts have reacted

to Edwards as if its intentions were unclear and the

announced test confusing, a majority of the Supreme

Court has consistently treated it as announcing a bright-

line test. The test in Solem is no different than in Ed-

wards. Its results were dictated by the existing prece-

dent of Edwards. Edwards clearly held that once a sus-

pect invokes the right to counsel, police interrogation

must not be renewed unless the suspect initiates the

conversation.

Here Detective Cahill asked Bunch “if he felt he was

ready to sit down and go over the case’’—clearly Cahill,

not Bunch, initiated the conversation leading to the subse-

quent interrogation at the Prince William County police

station. That was a violation of Bunch’s fifth and four-

teenth amendment rights defined by Edwards. In Affirm-

ing the state trial court’s denial of suppression, the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court committed constitutional error. Ac-

cordingly, I dissent on this issue.

29a

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE FOURTH CIRCUIT

No. 90-4001

CA-88-645-R

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH

Petitioner-A ppellant,

CHARLES THOMPSON, Warden

Respondent-A ppellee.

No. 90-4005

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH

Pe titioner-A ppellant,

V.

CHARLES THOMPSON, Warden

Respond nt-A ppe llee.

On Petition for Rehearing with Suggestion

for Rehearing In Bane

[Filed January 31, 1992]

Appellant’s petition for rehearing and suggestion for

rehearing in bane were submitted to this Court.

30a

On the question of rehearing before the panel, Judge

Wilkinson and Judge Widener voted to deny rehearing.

Judge Sprouse voted to grant rehearing, and should be

shown as dissenting from the majority’s denial of re-

hearing.

In a requested poll of the Court on the suggestion for

rehearing in banc, Judges Russell, Widener, Hall, Wil-

kinson, Wilkins, Niemeyer, Hamilton and Luttig voted

to deny rehearing in banc; and Chief Judge Ervin and

Judges Phillips, Murnaghan, and Sprouse voted to grant

rehearing in banc.

As the panel considered the petition for rehearing and

is of the opinion that it should be denied, and as the

majority of the active circuit judges voted to deny re-

hearing in banc,

It is ADJUDGED and ORDERED that the petition

for rehearing and suggestion for rehearing in bane are

denied.

Entered at the direction of Judge Wilkinson, with the

concurrence of Judge Widener. Judge Sprouse dissents.

For the Court,

/s/ John M. Greacen

CLERK

3la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

RICHMOND DIVISION

Civil Action No. 88-0645-R

TIMOTHY DALE BUNCH,

Petitioner,

V.

CHARLES EF. THOMPSON, WARDEN,

Respondent.

MEMORANDUM OPINION

[Filed Mar. 16, 1990]

This matter is before the Court on respondert’s motion

tc dismiss the federal habeas corpus petition filed by

Timothy Dale Bunch and Bunch’s cross-motion for partial

summary judgment. For the reasons stated in this memo-

randum opinion, the Court will GRANT respondent’s

motion to dismiss the petition.

I

On January 31, 1982, petitioner Timothy Dale Bunch

killed Ms. Su Cha Thomas by shooting her in the head

and then using one of her scarves to hang her from a

doorknob. An autopsy revealed both a gunshot wound and

congestion of blood vessels in the lungs, indicating that

her death resulted from a combination of the gunshot

wound and the hanging. After the murder, Bunch re-

moved several items from Ms. Thomas’ home, including

a Rolex watch, a diamond ring, and a pearl necklace.

Bunch then ransacked the house in order to make it ap-

pear that an intruder had broken in and committed the

32a

murder. Later, Bunch stated that he killed Ms. Thomas

because “she was a slut and she reminded him too much

of his wife and he wanted her money.” Bunch v. Com-

monwealth, 225 Va. 428, 430, 304 S.E.2d 271, 280, cert.

denied, 464 U.S. 977 (1983).

Prior to the murder, Bunch and Ms. Thomas had de-

veloped an intimate relationship. Bunch, a sergeant in

the United States Marine Corps, was stationed temporar-

ily at Quantico, Virginia. He had met Ms. Thomas, a

divorcee living in Dale City, Virginia, after he arrived

at Quantico in December, 1981. Soon after the murder,

Bunch returned to his permanent duty station at Iwakumi,

Japan.

Before returning to Japan, Bunch sold a watch similar

to Ms. Thomas’ at a pawn shop in Arlington County,

Virginia. The shop owner reported the sale to the police,

who began to investigate Bunch. On February 16, 1982,

Investigator Donald L. Cahill and Assistant Common-

wealth’s Attorney William Hamblen travelled to Japan

with warrants charging Bunch with murder and robbery. ~

Cahill met Bunch, informed him of his Miranda rights,

and had Bunch sign a “Warning and Consent” form.

Bunch indicated he was willing to talk with Cahill. At

some point in the interrogation, Bunch indicated he

wanted to talk to a lawyer. Hamblen left the room at

that point, and Cahill talked to Bunch about another

matter for several minutes. As Cahill was leaving the

room, Bunch said he would cooperate. He then told

Cahill that “the gun” was at his mother’s home in In-

diana and “the ring” was in Japan.

At that time, Cahill and Hamblen decided that the

questioning should end unless Bunch signed another

“Warning and Consent” form. Bunch refused to sign

another form, and the interrogation ceased. Three days

later, Bunch was moved from Japan to the custody of

civil officials in Virginia. He was advised of his Miranda

rights again during the trip. Bunch arrived in Quantico

i crerrrernieanaacaiaaaiaaanmaiiaiaiiiitel

33a

after midnight on February 21 and was processed for

delivery to Prince William County authorities.

As part of the processing, Bunch spoke with Major

Donald R. Jillisky, a lawyer with the Marine Judge Ad-

vocate General’s Office. Jillisky described the charges to

Bunch and advised him that “he did not have to say any-

thing until he consulted with his lawyer and that it was

probably not in his best interest to say anything until

he consulted with his lawyer.”

After processing, Bunch was again turned over to

Cahill. On the way to the Garfield police station (“Gar-

field”), Cahill asked Bunch “if he felt he was ready to

sit down and go over the case” and told Bunch that “at

that time it didn’t matter to me if he did or didn’t. It

was entirely up to him, and he certainly was not re-

quired to talk to me if he didn’t want to.” Bunch said

that he had spoken to a lawyer at Quantico and had been

advised “not to say anything” and to talk to a lawyer

before talking to the police. He also said that he was

ready to tell the whole story. At Garfield, Bunch was

again given his Miranda warnings and he signed a “Warn-

ing and Consent” form. He then confessed the details of

the crime to Cahill.

Bunch was tried in Prince William County Circuit

Court for murder during the commission of armed rob-

bery. The trial judge suppressed the statements Bunch

made to Cahill while in Japan, finding that Bunch had

requested and had been denied the assistance of counsel.

The judge found, however, that Bunch had ‘intelligently,

wittingly, freely and voluntarily waived his Miranda

rights before making the confession in Virginia, and so

the Virginia confession was admitted into evidence.

After returning a guilty verdict, the jury considered

evidence during the sentencing phase of the trial. The

jury recommended the death sentence based upon the

“vileness” statutory aggravating factor. Va. Code Ann.

34a

§ 19.2-264.2 (1983). Following preparation of a pre-

sentence report, the judge imposed the death sentence

on November 12, 1982.

Bunch’s appeal was consolidated with the statutory

review of his death sentence. The conviction and sentence

were affirmed on June 17, 1983. Bunch, 225 Va. 428,

304 §.E.2d 271. Bunch filed a state petition for habeas

corpus on February 27, 1984. On November 16, 1984, the

trial court dismissed all of Bunch’s claims of error except

ineffective assistance of counsel. The judge held a plenary

hearing on that claim on January 28, 1985, and dismissed

the remainder of the petition on May 28, 1985.

Bunch appealed the state habeas corpus decision to the

Virginia Court of Appeals, which dismissed it for lack of

jurisdiction on July 6, 1987. He then petitioned for ap-

peal to the Supreme Court of Virginia, which refused the

petition of February 26, 1988. The parties agree that

Bunch has no remaining state court remedy.

In his federal habeas corpus petition, Bunch alleges

a host of violations of his rights under the Fifth, Sixth,

Eighth and Fourteenth Amendments to the Constitution

of the United States. They are listed below:

I. Guilt Phase

A. Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated when

the trial court admitted into evidence statements

improperly obtained after Bunch asserted his

rights to remain silent and to consult with an

attorney.

B. Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated when

the trial court admitted into evidence statements

made involuntarily.

C. Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by a

conviction based on insufficient evidence of a mur-

der during the commission of a robbery.

H.

35a

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by tk

trial court’s failure to exclude two jurors for

cause.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by

the admission of irrelevant, unduly prejudicial

character testimony.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

admission of inflammatory and highly prejudicial

photographs.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by

his inability to conduct effective cross-examination

of the pathologist.

Bunch was denied the constitutionally guaranteed

effective assistance of counsel because:

i. trial counsel failed to conduct an adequate

voir dire of prospective jurors;

ii. trial counsel failed to object to portions of

the Commonwealth’s opening statements

which were irrelevant and improper;

iii. trial counsel’s opening statement was _ in-

effective;

iv. trial counsel failed to object to irrelevant,

inadmissible testimony ;

v. trial counsel failed to object to portions of

the Commonwealth’s cross-examination of pe-

titioner which were clearly improper and

irrelevant;

vi. trial counsel failed to preserve for appellate

and collateral review the adequacy of the In-

diana search warrant;

vii. tria! counsel failed to object to the admission

of the gun on the grounds that it had not

been positively identified as belonging to

petitioner ;

I.

36a

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

denial of a fundamentally fair trial.

II. Sentencing Phase

A.

Bunch was denied his constitutionally guaranteed

right to the effective assistance of counsel because:

i. trial counsel failed adequately to prepare and

present evidence at the sentencing phase of

trial;

ii. trial counsel failed to object to the jury in-

struction given in the sentencing phase of

trial and failed to offer other appropriate

instructions;

iii. trial counsel failed to request a ruling on

the future dangerousness issue prior to the

sentencing hearing;

iv. trial counsel failed to object to the emphasis

on future dangerousness testimony during

the Commonwealth’s presentation in closing

argument.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

admission of irrelevant character evidence.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated when

the jury heard evidence of future dangerousness,

a fact later excluded from jury consideration.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

inadequate and confusing instructions given to

the jury.

. Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated when

he was sentenced to death based on insufficient

evidence of a statutory prerequisite to the death

penalty.

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated when

he was denied a fundamentally fair sentencing

trial.

37a

G. The Virginia death penalty statute and sentencing

procedures are facially unconstitutional.

H. The Virginia death penalty statute was uncon-

stitutionally applied to the facts of this case.

I. The Virginia death penalty statute is applied in

an arbitrary and discriminatory manner.

J. The death penalty constitutes cruel and unusual

punishment.

K. The penalty of death by electrocution is unneces-

sarily cruel and unusual.

III. Appellate Phase

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

Virginia Supreme Court’s failure to conduct a mean-

ingful proportionality review.

IV. State Habeas Corpus Phase

Bunch’s constitutional rights were violated by the

exclusion of relevant admissible evidence in the state

habeas corpus proceeding.

The Court will address each of these contentions in turn.

IT.

I. A. Bunch first contends that the confession made

upon his return to Virginia from Japan was obtained in

violation of his Fifth Amendment right to counsel. He

argues that he asserted his right to counsel in Japan

and that when the police resumed interrogating him

before he had spoken with counsel and without Bunch

initiating the conversation, they violated his Fifth Amend-

ment rights under Edwards v. Arizona, 451 U.S. 477

(1981). The trial court, finding that Bunch asserted his

right to counsel in Japan, suppressed the statements he

made in Iwakuni. The court declined, however, to sup-

press the Virginia confession, finding under the totality

38a

of the circumstances a valid waiver of Bunch’s right to

counsel. Bunch argues that Edwards established a per se

rule forbidding a finding that a suspect waives his right

to counsel unless, after his request for an attorney, he

initiates any subsequent interrogation. Bunch argues that

under this per se rule the Virginia confession is inad-

missible.

Respondent argues that Bunch made, at most, only an

ambiguous, equivocal reference to a lawyer, and so did

not assert his right to counsel during questioning in

Japan. Respondent further alleges that the vagueness

of Bunch’s comment allowed further questioning in order

to ascertain whether he in fact desired to confer with

counsel. Finally, respondent claims that Bunch reinitiated

the conversation with the officers, thereby allowing those

officers to engage in further interrogation. This Court

finds it unnecessary to address these issues. Assuming,

arguendo, that Bunch did make a valid request for counsel

in Japan and that officer Cahill reinterrogated Bunch in

Virginia before Bunch was provided counsel, the Court

may still find that no Fifth Amendment violation occurred

to render the statements in Virginia inadmissible. At

the time of Bunch’s arrest and trial, the character of the

Edwards rule was at best ambiguous. That ambiguity

was not resolved until later, when in Solem v. Stumes,

465 U.S. 638, 647 (1984), the Supreme Court first de-

scribed the rule of Edwards as a “per se” rule. Because

the Virginia Supreme Court applied a plausible interpre-

tation of the Edwards rule in the Bunch appeal, and

because the later modification of the Edwards rule should

not be applied retreactively to Bunch’s case, this Court

finds that the state courts properly applied the “totality

of the circumstances” test to find a valid waiver of Bunch’s

right to counsel. The waiver being valid, Bunch’s Fifth

Amendment rights were not violated, and his statements

made in Virginia were properly admitted.

Before the Edwards decision, a waiver of the right to

counsel was examined based upon the “totality of the

39a

circumstances.” Johnson v. Zerbst, 304 U.S. 458, 464

(1938). Waiver after an accused had specifically in-

voked his right to counsel required ‘a knowing and in-

telligent relinquishment or abandonment of a known right

or privilege, a matter which depend[ed] in each case

‘upon the particular facts and circumstances surrounding

that case, including the background, experience, and con-

duct of the accused.’ Edwards, 451 U.S. at 482 (quoting

Johnson, 304 U.S. at 464). In Edwards, the Court im-

plied for the first time that additional safeguards were

necessary when an accused requested counsel. The Court

held that

when an accused has invoked his right to have counsel

present during custodial interrogation, a valid waiver

of that right cannot be established by showing only

that he responded to further police-initiated custodial

interrogation even if he has been advised of his

rights. We further hold that an accused, such as

Edwards, having expressed his desire to deal with

the police only through counsel, is not subject to

further interrovation by the authorities until counsel]

has been made available to him, unless the accused

himself initiates further communication, exchanges,

or conversations with the police.

Edwards, 451 U.S. at 484-85.

Justice Powell concurred in the result in Edwards but

refused to join the court’s opinion because he was “not

sure what it mean[t].” Jd. at 488 (Powell, J., concur-

ring). The Edwards opinion stated the familiar Johnson

v. Zerbst standard for waiver. What concerned Powell,

however, was the emphasis Edwards placed on “initia-

tion.”” Powell was unsure whether Edwards created “a

new per se rule, requiring a threshold inquiry as to pre-

cisely who opened any conversation between an accused

and state officials.” Jd. at 489-90. This possibility troubled

Powell because such a rule would “superimpose a new

element of proof on the established doctrine of waiver

of counsel.” Jd. at 490.

a aera reece naan

40a

The Supreme Court did little to clarify matters when,

the year after Edwards, it issued an opinion in Wyrick

v. Fields, 459 U.S. 42 (1982). In Wyrick, the Supreme

Court reversed and remanded an Eighth Circuit opinion

where the majority had “misconstrued this Court’s recent

decision in Edwards v. Arizona and imposed a new and

unjustified limit on police questioning of a suspect who

voluntarily, knowingly, and intelligently waive[d] his

right to have counsel present.” Jd. at 438 (citation

omitted). The Court did not address Justice Powell’s

concern about the meaning of “initiation,” as it was

conceded that the suspect in Wyrick had initiated the

interrogation. Jd. at 46. The opinion also did nothing

to clarify whether or not Edwards had stated a per se

rule forbidding waiver where further interrogation was

not suspect-initiated. Instead, the Court’s language sim-

ply added to the confusion. The Court stated that “[t]he

Eighth Circuit recognized that what it called the ‘per se

rule’ of Edwards ‘does not resolve the issue present here,’ ”

id. (emphasis added), adding that “[t]he only plausible

explanation for the court’s holding is that, encouraged

by what it regarded as a per se rule established in Ed-

wards, it fashioned another rule of its own.” Jd. at 48

(emphasis added). The Wyrick opinion made no at-

tempt to characterize the Edwards rule as a per se rule

and reiterated the fact that Edwards “emphasize[d] that

the totality of the circumstances, including the fact that

the suspect initiated the questioning, is controlling.” Jd.

(emphasis added). Finally, the Court held that “[b]e-

cause the Court of Appeals misapplied Edwards and

created an unjustified per se rule,” id. at 49 (emphasis

added), the case would be remanded. After the issuance

of the Wyrick opinion, the meaning of the Edwards rule

was still ambiguous.

The confusion that Edwards and Wyrick created was

not confined to Justice Powell’s chambers. In 1983 the

Supreme Court decided Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S.

~ 1039 (1983). Justice Powell wrote a concurring opinion

4la

in which he documented the confusion in the lower courts

over whether Edwards had announced a new per se rule.

Id. at 1047 n.1 (Powell, J., concurring). Powell’s con-

currence noted that Justice Marshall and the three Jus-

tices who joined Marshall’s Bradshaw dissent read Ed-

wards differently than Justice Rehnquist and the three

Justices who joined the Rehnquist opinion. While all

viewed “the ‘initiation’ question as the first step of a

two-step analysis, the second step being the application

of the Zerbst standard that require[d] examination of

the ‘totality of the circumstances,’” id. at 1048, the two

sides disagreed over the meaning of “initiation.” Jd. Full

clarification of the Edwards rule was still lacking.

The Supreme Court of Virginia decided Bunch on June

17, 1983, six days before the United States Supreme

Court decided Bradshaw. The state supreme court re-

fused to hold that the Virginia confession should have

been suppressed, deciding that “Edwards did not estab-

lish, as Bunch seems to suggest, a per se rule forbidding

any finding of waiver of counsel unless subsequent in-

terrogation is suspect-initiated.” Bunch, 255 Va. at 433,

304 S.E.2d at 276. The court based its decision on its

view that in Edwards the Supreme Court “ha[d] not

ruled that the only way a suspect may waive the right to

counsel at a subsequent interrogation is by initiating

the interrogation himself,” id., and went on, using the

totality of the circumstances test, to determine that

Bunch had made a knowing and intelligent waiver of his

right to counsel in Virgina. The court sustained the

admission of the confession on alternate grounds by find-

ing that Cahill’s inquiry whether Bunch “felt he was

ready to sit down and go over the case” was only an at-

tempt to seeif Bunch had changed his mind about wanting

an attorney, and “did not amount to police-initiated in-

terrogation within the meaning of Edwards.” Id. at 434-

35, 304 S.E.2d at 277. Here, the Virginia Supreme

Court relied on Powell’s statement that “police legiti-

mately may inquire whether a suspect has changed his

42a

mind about speaking to them without an attorney.” Ed-

wards, 451 U.S. at 490 (Powell, J., concurring). Both

of Powell’s concerns, the existence of a per se rule in Ed-

wards and the ambiguous use of the term “initiation,”

surfaced in the Bunch decision, and the Virginia Supreme

Court addressed these issues in a manner compatible with

then prevailing law.

The Supreme Court did not adequately clarify its

Edwards rule until it decided Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S.

638, a case decided after Bunch had exhausted his direct

appeal. The Solem opinion was the first occasion where

the Court stated that the Edwards rule was a “per se

approach.” Jd. at 647. In fact, in a later case, Smith

v. Illinois, 469 U.S. 91, 98 (1984) (emphasis in original),

the Supreme Court cited Solem, not Edwards, for the

proposition that “Edwards set forth a ‘bright-line rule’

that all questioning must cease after an accused requests

counsel.” (emphasis in original). At the time of Bunch’s

trial and direct appeal, the rule in Edwards remained

ambiguous.

Bunch’s statements in Virginia were obtained in strict

accordance with established law in Virginia in 1982. The

Virginia Supreme Court found a knowing and intelligent

waiver of counsel under the totality of the circumstances.

The Court noted that it could “conceive of no clearer case

of a ‘knowing and intelligent relinquishment or abandon-

ment’ of [Miranda] rights.” Bunch, 225 Va. at 434, 304

S.E.2d at 277 (quoting Wyrick, 459 U.S. at 47). The

Court’s holding is adequately supported by the law and

the record and will not be disturbed in this federal col-

lateral proceeding unless the Edwards rule, as eventually

clarified in Solem, must be applied retroactively.

Solem, the very case which clarified the rule in Edwards

vw. Arizona, refused to apply Edwards retroactively.

Solem, 465 U.S. at 650. In Solem, the Supreme Court set

forth the criteria controllir retroactive application of

judicial decisions:

caaeeaeieeaceiiiaiiii iii

43a

Under these cases, “[t]he criteria guiding resolution

of the [retroactivity] question implicate (a) the pur-

pose to be served by the new standards, (b) the ex-

tent of the reliance by law enforcement authorities

on the old standards, and (c) the effect on the ad-

ministration of justice of a retroactive application of

the new standards.”

Id. at 643 (quoting Stovall v. Denno, 388 U.S. 293, 297

(1967) ). The Court stated that retroactive effect is most

fitting “where a new constitutiona! principle is designed

tc enhance the accuracy of criminal trials,” Solem, 465

U.S. at 643, and that the Edwards rule was “a far cry”

from such a case. Jd. at 645. The Court further noted

that the reliance interest in Edwards was compelling and

that retroactive application of the rule would disrupt the

administration of justice. Jd. at 649-50. The Court con-

cluded that Edwards should not be applied retroactively,

and stated that, “[a]t a minimum, nonretroactivity

means that a decision is not to be applied in collateral

review of final convictions.” Jd. at 650. The Supreme

Court’s reasoning applies with equal force in the present

case. If the Edwards rule itself has no retroactive effect

during collateral review, then neither should a subsequent

clarification of that rule be applied retroactively.

The Supreme Court has refused to apply other modifi-

cations of the Edwards rule retroactively. The Court re-

cently held that Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. 675

(1988), a case applying Edwards limitations on interro-

gation in the context of a separate criminal investigation,

would not be applied retroactively on collateral review.

Butler v. McKellar, 58 U.S.L.W. 4294 (U.S. Mar. 5,

1990) (No. 88-6677). This opinion affirmed the Fourth

Cireuit’s decision in Butler v. Aiken, 864 F.2d 24, 25

(4th Cir. 1988), which held that the Edwards-Roberson

limitations on police interrogation would not be applied

retroactively because they had only “the most tangential

relationship to truth finding.” The Supreme Court stated

that the Roberson rule was not a new procedure central

44a

to an accurate determination of guilt or innocence, and

reasoned as follows:

Because a violation of Roberson’s added restrictions

on police investigatory procedures would not seri-

ously diminish the likelihood of obtaining an ac-

curate determination—indeed, it may increase that

likelihood—we conclude that Roberson did not estab-

lish any principle that would [require its retroactive

application].

McKellar, 58 U.S.L.W. at 4297.

The Supreme Court’s refusal to apply Edwards retro-

actively and its similar treatment of the Roberson limita-

tions on police interrogation indicate that Bunch is not

entitled to retroactive relief. The Supreme Court waited

until the Solem decision to announce that Edwards cre-

ated a per se rule. This aspect of the Edwards rule does

not enhance the accuracy of criminal procedure or aid

the truthfinding process. As the Court reasoned in

Butler v. McKellar, such a rule does not meet the criteria

for retroactive application on collateral review.

Because Bunch’s Virginia confession was validly ad-

mitted under the law in existence during his trial and

appeal, and because subsequent modification of the

Edwards rule should not be given retroactive effect, this

Court finds that the Virginia confession was properly

admitted into evidence. Its inclusion does not afford

Bunch a basis for relief.

Bunch also asserts in claim I.A. that the trial court

should have suppressed his confession because he asserted

his right to remain silent in Japan, and the Common-

wealth did not scrupulously honor the right as required

by Michigan v. Mosley, 423 U.S. 96 (1975). Respondent

moves to dismiss this claim as procedurally barred be-

cause Bunch failed to raise it at trial or on appeal. See

Murray v. Carrier, 477 U.S. 478 (1986); Wainwright v.

Sykes, 433 U.S. 72 (1977). Bunch responds that he pre-

45a

served the right to challenge the admissibility of his con-

fession on Fifth and Sixth Amendment grounds. In his

assignments of error on direct appeal, Bunch included

the following: “The Trial Court erred in denying Plain-

tiff in Error’s Motion to Suppress His Confession.” Brief

for Appellant at 14, Bunch, 225 Va. 423, 304 S.E.2d 271

(No. 822081). Although Bunch mentioned Mosley in his

appellate brief, he did not assert that the confession vio-

lated his right to remain silent. 7d. at 15. Other circuits

have allowed habeas corpus petitioners to present argu-

ments not raised on direct appeal. See, e.g., Vela v.

Estelle, 708 F.2d 954 (5th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464

U.S. 1053 (1984); Francis v. Spraggins, 720 F.2d 1190

(llth Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 470 U.S. 1059 (1985)

(allowing petitioners in each case to present instances of

ineffective assistance of counsel not raised on direct

appeal).

The Fourth Circuit, however, has barred certain claims

of ineffective assistance of counsel under the Sixth

Amendment as procedurally defaulted while allowing

others to go forward. See Whitley v. Bair, 802 F.2d

1487, 1496 n.17 (4th Cir. 1986), cert. denied, 480 U.S.

951 (1987). Had the Fourth Circuit adopted Bunch’s

desired approach, defense counsel could have preserved

all objections simply by making one blanket objection

under each particular constitutional amendment and

bringing up the others later during federal habeas corpus

proceedings. Obviously, the Fourth Circuit would not ac-

cept Bunch’s argument, because in Whitley it allowed

some of the petitioner’s Sixth Amendment claims, while

barring others. As the Fourth Circuit observed in

Clanton v. Muncy, 845 F.2d 1288, 1240 (4th Cir.), cert.

denied, 485 U.S. 1000 (1988), “constitutional litigation

is not to be conducted piecemeal, claims should be raised

earlier rather than later, and considered resolution by

state courts is far preferable to a last minute dash to

federal habeas corpus.”’ Bunch’s claim of violation of his

right to remain silent is not cognizable in this Court be-

46a

cause it was not raised at trial or on appeal. Murray,

477 U.S. 478; Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72.

I.B. Bunch contends that his statements should have

been suppressed because they were made involuntarily.

In his appellate brief, Bunch states that if the right to

counsel had not been violated, “there would be no doubt

as to voluntariness.” Brief for Appellant at 16. Thus,

Bunch challenged the voluntariness of his confession only

as it related to the lack of counsel. For the reasons stated

in the above discussion of the right to remain silent, this

issue is barred under the rules of Whitley, 802 F.2d 1487,

Murray, 477 U.S. 478, and Wainwright, 483 U.S. 72.

I.C. Bunch alleges that his conviction was based upon

insufficient evidence of a murder during the commission

of a robbery. Specifically, Bunch contends that the evi-

dence was insufficient to prove beyond a reasonable doubt

that the intent to steal preceded the murder. Bunch

argues that because Ms. Thomas was unconscious and

probably dead when he decided to steal her property, the

evidence supports charges of murder and larcency rather

than murder and robbery. The Virginia Supreme Court

considered and rejected this challenge on direct appeal.

Bunch, 225 Va. at 439-40, 304 S.E.2d at 280-81. The

holding that as a matter of Virginia law robbery can

occur after a victim has died is not appropriate material

for federal habeas corpus review because it involves no

federal constitutional issue. See Hailey v. Dorsey, 580

F.2d 112, 115 (4th Cir. 1978), cert. denied, 440 U.S. 987

(1979).

On federal habeas corpus review, the evidence support-

ing a state court conviction is sufficient when, reviewed

“in the light most favorable to the prosecution, any ra-

tional trier of fact could have found the essential ele-

ments of the crime beyond a reasonable doubt.” Jackson

v. Virginia, 443 U.S. 307, 319 (1979) (emphasis in origi-

nal). There was abundant evidence justifying the Vir-

ginia Supreme Court’s finding that the intent to steal

47a

preceded the murder of Ms. Thomas. Bunch told Cahill

that he killed Ms. Thomas “because she was a slut and

she reminded him too much of his wife and he wanted

her money.” Bunch, 225 Va. at 440, 304 S.E.2d at 280.

Bunch testified at trial that he removed the victim’s rings

after he shot her and before he hanged her. Medical evi-

dence indicated that Ms. Thomas may have remained

alive when the robbery occurred. Jd. Clearly, a rational

trier of fact might have found the essential elements

beyond a reasonable doubt. Thus, sufficient evidence ex-

ists to infer that Bunch formed the intent to steal before

he committed the murder.

I.D. Bunch argues that the trial court erred when it

failed to exclude two potential jurors for cause. Two

veniremen, Butler and Hines, answered “yes” to the ques-

tion, “Do you feel that regardless of the facts and cir-

cumstances in every case of murder that the death pen-

alty should be imposed?” Both veniremen, however,

changed their answers upon immediate re-questioning.

Butler stated that she could impose a sentence of less

than death and was not irrevecably committed to voting

for the death penalty; Hines indicated that he misunder-

stood the phrasing of the question and that he would not

impose death penalty in every case. Bunch’s counsel re-

moved Butler with a peremptory strike, but Hines served

on the jury. Bunch argues that both should have been

excluded for cause based upon their original answers.

This claim is not cognizable because objection was not

raised at trial or on appeal. Murray, 477 U.S. 478;

Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72. Bunch argues that this proce-

dural default should not prevent review in the case of a

fundamental miscarriage of justice. Wainwright, 433

U.S. at 91. Butler and Hines both indicated that they

were not irrevocably committed to imposing the death

penalty. Thus, it does not appear that there was a funda-

mental miscarriage of justice in not excluding them for

cause.

48a

I.E. Bunch argues that he was denied a fair trial be-

cause of Lynn Rider’s testimony for the Commonwealth

that two weeks before the murder, Bunch proposed that

the two of them rob a Pizza Hut. On direct appeal,

Bunch argued that the testimony was inadmissible be-

cause it was too remote in time from the events surround-

ing the murder. Bunch now challenges this testimony as

being prejudicial and introduced only to show his propen-

sity for crime. On direct appeal, Bunch “concede[d] that

evidence of other crimes is admissible to show the motive,

intent, and knowledge of an accused.” Bunch, 225 Va. at

437, 304 S.E.2d at 279. Clearly, Rider’s testimony is

relevant to Bunch’s intent to rob Thomas. Bunch now

attempts to question the issue on federal habeas corpus.

Because he failed to raise this claim at trial or on appeal,

his attempt is barred under Murray, 477 U.S. 478, and

Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72.

I.F. The trial court permitted the introduction into

evidence of two photographs of Thomas, both of which

Bunch now challenges. One showed Thomas as she was

found, hanging from the doorknob. The other was a black

and white facial photograph of Thomas on the autopsy

table. The first photograph was not challenged at trial

or appeal. Accordingly, consideration of that claim is

precluded under Murray, 477 U.S. 478, and Wainwright,

433 U.S. 72. Respondent argues that the autopsy table

photograph was necessary for identification because it

was the only photograph available giving a frontal view

of Thomas. Bunch contends that the photograph was in-

flammatory and prejudicial.

Appraisal of the probative and prejudicial value of

evidence is entrusted to the sound discretion of the trial

court and will not be disturbed absent extraordinary cir-

cumstances. United States v. MacDonald, 688 F.2d 224

(4th Cir. 1982), cert. denied, 459 U.S. 1103 (1983). The

Supreme Court of Virginia found no abuse of the trial

court’s discretion. Bunch, 225 Va. at 436-37, 304 S.E.2d

at 278. The finding that the photograph was admissible

49a

for identification was soundly within the trial court’s dis-

cretion, and there are no extraordinary circumstances

which justify disturbing that finding.

I.G. During trial, Bunch requested that the court pro-

vide him with funds to hire a pathologist to aid in the

cross-examination of the Commonwealth’s pathologist.

The court refused the request. Bunch contends that this

refusal violated his Sixth Amendment right to cross-

examine witnesses and his Fourteenth Amendment rights

to due process and equal protection. This claim is not

technically exhausted because it was not presented to the

Virginia Supreme Court on direct appeal and it was not

raised during any phase of the state habeas corpus proc-

ess. The Court finds that any further attempts at ex-

haustion would be futile. See Slayton v. Parrigan, 215

Va. 27, 205 S.E.2d 680 (1974), cert. denied, 419 U.S.

1108 (1975) (state habeas review is barred by failure

to raise issue at trial and direct appeal). This claim is

barred from federal collateral review by Murray, 477

U.S. 478, and Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72.

I.H. Bunch presents seven claims of ineffective assist-

ance of counsel during the guilt phase of his trial. It

appears that several of these claims may not have been

exhausted in the state proceedings; however, the Court

finds that at this time any other attempts at exhaustion

would be futile. See Greenfield v. Robinson, 413 F. Supp.

1113, 1115-16 (W.D. Va. 1976); see also, 28 U.S.C.

2254(b) ; Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-654(B) (2) (1984).

Bunch failed to present allegations I.H.vi and I.H.vii

(contained in paragraphs 56 and 57 of his habeas corpus

petition) to the state trial court. The facts underlying

these claims were known to Bunch at the time he filed

his state petition. Because these claims were known but

not raised, they would be unavailable to Bunch in a sec-

ond state habeas proceeding. Va. Code Ann. § 8.01-654

(B) (2). Bunch’s failure to present these claims properly

in state court bars their consideration in this federal pro-

50a

ceeding. Murray, 477 U.S. 478; Wainwright, 433 U.S.

72.

Bunch presented allegations I.H.i, I.H.ii, 1.H.iii, I.H.iv

and I.H.v (located in paragraphs 51 through 55 of the

petition for habeas corpus) to the state habeas court.

They were not, however, raised during the habeas appeal

to the Virginia Supreme Court. Accordingly, these alle-

gations are procedurally barred under the rule of Whitley

v. Bair, 802 F.2d 1487.

I.I. Bunch claims that his constitutional rights were

violated by the denial of a fundamentally fair trial at

the guilt phase of the proceedings. In paragraph 59 of

his petition, Bunch alleges several instances of the trial

court’s failure to insure the fairness of the process. Alle-

gation (b), that the court improperly restricted voire dire

by defense counsel, was not raised on direct appeal and

is accordingly barred from review in federal habeas

corpus proceedings. Murray, 477 U.S. 478; Wainwright,

433 U.S. 72.

Claim (a) asserts that the trial court erred by failing

to suppress all of Bunch’s statements to police investiga-

tors which were obtained in violation of Miranda v.

Arizona, 384 U.S. 486 (1966). This Court has previously

reviewed the Virginia Supreme Court’s finding that it

could “conceive of no clearer case of a ‘knowing and in-

telligent relinquishment or abandonment’ of [Miranda]

rights.” Bunch, 225 Va. at 434; 304 S.E.2d at 277 (see

I.A., supra). The Court finds that the Virginia Supreme

Court’s holding was clearly supported by the law and the

record, and thus finds that the claim requires no further

response.

Allegations (c) and (d) charge that the trial court

erred by qualifying jurors Butler and Hines after they

indicated that they would always impose the death pen-

alty: These claims are discussed in I.D., supra, and are

held to be meritless.

5la

Allegation (e) states that the trial court erred by ad-

mitting into evidence an inflammatory photograph. Dis-

cussion of this claim appears in I.F., supra; the Court

finds no merit in this allegation.

Claim (f) asserts that the trial court erred in admit-

ting testimony which related to Bunch’s character and

was not relevant to the issue of his intent to rob the

victim. A discussion of this claim occurs at I.E., supra;

this allegation is also without merit.

In allegation (g), Bunch charges that the trial court

erred by allowing the defendant to be cross-examined in

a manner which was clearly improper and prejudicial.

The scope of cross-examination is ordinarily a question of

state law and is therefore not cognizable in federal

habeas corpus proceedings. See, e.g., Moore v. Illinois,

408 U.S. 786 (1972); Grundler v. North Carolina, 283

F.2d 798 (4th Cir. 1960). The nature of the cross-

examination at issue does not compel an exception to this

rule. The Supreme Court of Virginia found that Bunch

had “opened the door” concerning the testimony in ques-

tion and held that the trial court did not abuse its discre-

tion. Bunch, 225 Va. at 438, 304 S.E.2d at 279-80. This

Court will not disturb that holding.

Finally, in claim (h), Bunch alleges that the trial

court erred in failing to grant all of his requests for

statements made by witnesses. This claim is also merit-

less. Only material containing exculpatory evidence is

constitutionally required to be provided to a defendant.

Absent such material, the defendant has no constitutional

right to the names of witnesses or to their statements.

Weatherford v. Bursey, 429 U.S. 545 (1977).

The Court now turns to Bunch’s allegations concerning

the sentencing phase of his trial.

II.A. Bunch claims that his counsel’s assistance was

ineffective during the sentencing phase of his trial. Alle-

gation II.A.(i) charges that Bunch’s trial counsel were

52a

ineffective because they failed adequately to prepare and

present any evidence of Bunch’s character, backgvound

or emotional state other than testimony from his mother,

Mrs. Claghorne. According to Bunch, counsel failed to

identify, contact and evaluate other witnesses, including

Bunch’s sisters, his father, his brother-in-law, his high

school principal, his friends from Indiana and his ex-wife.

The state court held a plenary hearing on this issue.

Bunch’s case consisted of affidavits from friends and rel-

atives. Affidavits from Bunch’s sisters and brother-in-law

stated that he related well to his siblings during child-

hood anf was not then known to be violent, that his fa-

ther drank excessively and was abusive, and that Bunch

had been upset over the breakup of his marriage.

Bunch’s school principal and school friends indicated that

he had not been a major discipline problem and confirmed

his poor relationship with his father and his unhappiness

during the separation from his wife. Family friends’

affidavits repeated these themes and indicated that Bunch

had used marijuana during high school. Bunch’s uncle

discussed Bunch’s bad relationship with his father, his

mental state prior to the murder, and his use of alcohol

and drugs during high school. This information was

echoed in the affidavit supplied by Bunch’s paternal

grandmother. Finally, Bunch’s father stated that he had

not been close to his son, had had little contact with him,

and that Bunch was a relatively quiet child.

In addition to the above affiants, defense counsel had

access to Dr. Showalter, a psychiatrist who had evaluated

Bunch at the beginning of the case. Counsel interviewed

Dr. Showalter, reviewed his findings, and made a tactical

decision that evidence he would give would do more harm

than good to Bunch’s case. Accordingly, he was not called

as a witness. Counsei gave similar consideration to testi-

mony which could have been elicited from Bunch’s ex-

wife. i

Neither Bunch nor his parents indicated that Bunch’s

sisters would be helpful witnesses. Bunch’s counsel were

58a

at 691. Counsel’s actions were reasonable, informed and

strategic in light of the circumstances. Accordingly, this

claim is without merit.

Bunch’s remaining claims of ineffective assistance of

counsel are procedurally barred. Claims IJ.A.(ii) and

II.A.(iv) were not raised at all during the state habeas

corpus proceedings. Further state court action would be

fruitless, as these claims would be barred by Va. Code

Ann. § 8.01-654(B) (2). The claims are barred from

federal collateral review by Murray, 477 U.S. 478, and

Wainwright, 483 U.S. 72. Bunch raised allegation

II.A.(iii) during the state trial level habeas process

but did not include it in his appeal to the Virginia

Supreme Court. Review at the federal level is accordingly

barred under the holding of Whitley v. Blair, 802 F.2d

1487.

IL.B. In claim II.B, Bunch states that his constitu-

tional rights were violated by the admission of irrele-

vant character evidence during the sentencing phase. At

the sentencing phase, the Commonwealth utilized evi-

dence from the guilt phase concerning Bunch’s associa-

tion with prostitutes and his desire to kill various people.

The Court also admitted evidence that Bunch desired

to be a mercenary or a Mafia hit man. Bunch claims that

this evidence did not relate to Ms. Thomas’ murder and

was therefore irrelevant; he contends that its- admission

violated his constitutional rights. Counsel offered no ob-

jection to this evidence when it was admitted. Bunch

therefore defaulted under Virginia’s contemporaneous ob-

jection rule. See Russo v. Commonwealth, 207 Va. 251,

148 S.E.2d 820, 825 (1966), cert. denied, 386 U.S. 909

(1967). The issue is accordingly procedurally barred on

federal habeas corpus review. Murray, 477 U.S. 478;

Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72; see Satterfield v. Zahradnick,

572 F.2d 443 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 486 U.S. 920

(1978) (claims of error defaulted under state contempo-

54a

raneous objection rule are not cognizable in federal habeas

corpus proceedings absent showing of cause and prejudice.

IIL.C. Allegation II.C. charges that Bunch’s constitu-

tional rights were violated when the jury heard evidence

of future dangerousness, a factor which was later ex-

cluded from their consideration. Again, no objection to

this evidence was voiced when it was admitted. Peti-

tioner therefore defaulted under the contemporaneous ob-

jection rule, and federal review is barred under Murray,

477 U.S. 478, and Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72.

II.D. Bunch claims in allegation II.D. that his con-

stitutional rights were violated by the inadequate and con-

fusing instructions given to the jury. First, Bunch argues

that the court’s instruction outlining the jury’s task in

the sentencing phase was illogical and confusing and that

it failed to channel the jury’s discretion. Bunch failed to

object to this instruction during trial or on appeal. Ac-

cordingly, his claim is now procedurally barred. Murray,

477 U.S. 478; Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72.

Bunch raises several claims concerning the failure to

instruct the jury on mitigating circumstances and the

failure to instruct the jury that it must find beyond a

reasonable doubt that death was an appropriate sentence

under the totality of the circumstances. Bunch failed to

preserve these claims on direct appeal. Because they

were not properly preserved, these claims are now pro-

cedurally barred. Murray, 477 U.S. 478; Wainwright,

433 U.S. 72.

Similarly barred are Bunch’s complaints about the jury

form and the trial court’s refusal to instruct the jury

concerning the possibility of parole. In so holding, the

Court notes that although these claims were not techni-

cally exhausted, further attempts at exhaustion would be

futile. See Slayton v. Parrigan, 215 Va. 27, 205 S.E.2d

680.

The only claims concerning jury instructions which

Bunch preserved on direct appeal were those regarding

55a

the trial court’s denial of his proposed instructions A, B

and C. These instructions would have reminded the jury

that proof of an intentional killing alone could not estab-

lish the aggravating circumstances required by Virginia’s

death penalty statute. The proposed instructions also

sought to define the statutory predicates of torture, de-

pravity of mind, and aggravated battery for the jury.

Bunch argues that the instructions given failed to

guide the discretion of the jury in considering the ag-

gravating circumstances. Virginia law states that a

death sentence shall be imposed only when one or two

statutory aggravating circumstances, either the “danger-

ousness” or the “vileness” circumstance, is established

beyond a reasonable doubt. See Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-

264.4(c) (1983). The death sentence may be imposed

based on vileness only when the jury finds the defend-

ant’s act “was outrageously or wantonly vile, horrible

or inhuman, in that it involved torture, depravity of

mind or aggravated battery to the victim.” Jd. A find-

ing of torture, depravity of mind, o: xggravated battery

is a prequisite to a finding of vileness. Turner v. Com-

monwealth, 221 Va. 518, 526, 273 S.B.2d 36, 44-45

(1980), cert. denied, 451 U.S. 1011 (1981). The jury

need not set forth, however, the specific statutory predi-

cate upon which it relies. Clark v. Commonwealth, 220

Va. 201, 213, 257 S.E.2d 784, 791-92, cert. denied, 444

U.S. 1049 (1980).

Bunch first argues that the trial court erred when it

failed to instruct the jurors that they must unanimously

agree about which vileness predicate existed. He argues

that this failure opens the possibility that some jurors

may have found the crime involved depravity, while

others may have based their finding on aggravated bat-

tery. The Court finds this argument to be without merit.

Petitioner cites no authority for the proposition that Vir-

ginia jurors must receive a unanimity instruction re-

garding the statutory predicates to vileness, and, indeed,

there is none. When polled, the jury members indicated

56a

the finding of vileness was unanimous. The jurors’ af-

firmance “that their verdict was unanimous Moots any

claim of error in the instructions on unanimity.” Briley

v. Bass, 742 F.2d 155, 166 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 469

U.S. 893 (1984). The remainder of Bunch’s arguments

concerning aggravating circumstances have been previ-

ously addressed to the Fourth Circuit, and they have

been rejected. See (James D.) Briley v. Bass, 750 F.2d

1238, 1242-46 (4th Cir.), cert denied, 470 U.S, 1088

(1984); (Linwood E.) Briley v. Bass, 742 F.2d at 1165-

66. Accordingly, his claims are without merit. The in-

structions given by the trial court in this case were

adequate to guide the discretion of the jury in consider-

ing aggravating circumstances.

II.E. Bunch asserts in allegation II.E. that his con-

stitutional rights were violated when he was sentenced

to death based on insufficient evidence of vileness. The

Supreme Court presented the standard to be applied to

claims of insufficient evidence raised during federal

habeas corpus review in Jackson v. Virginia, 443 U.S.

307. The reviewing court must sustain the state court’s

findings if, “after viewing the evidence in the light most

favorable to the prosecution, any rational trier of fact

could have found the essential elements of the crime

beyond a reasonable doubt.” Jd. at 319 (emphasis in

original).

The present case contanis ample evidence of both ag-

gravated battery and depravity of mind, two of the stat-

utory predicates to a finding of vileness. In support of

the aggravated battery element, a Dr. Beyer offered evi-

dence that Ms. Thomas did not die immediately, but in-

stead survived for at least an hour after the shooting.

The evidence concerning the path of the bullet allowed

the reasonable inference that Bunch lied about shooting

her from behind, and that Ms. Thomas may have known

that Bunch was going to shoot her. Additional evidence

of battery appears in the evidence that Bunch used Ms.

Thomas’ scarf to hang her from a doorknob after shoot-

ing her.

57a

There is also abundant evidence supporting a finding

of depravity of mind. Evidence of premeditation was

presented, as was evidence that Bunch contemplated kill-

ing someone and chose Ms. Thomas. He told friends that

he desired to be a Mafia hit man because it would be

interesting. Bunch had a sexual orgasm when he killed

Ms. Thomas; as she was dying, Bunch turned on the

stereo, drank wine, and went through her belongings.

He testified that his feelings of euphoria continued while

he hanged Ms. Thomas from a doorknob. Bunch ad-

mitted the murder had thrilled him and he would have

killed some prostitutes if he had remained in the area.

Finally, Bunch never expressed any remorse whatsoever.

Based upon the above evidence, a rational trier of

fact could easily have found that Bunch’s actions dis-

played the vileness necessary to sustain a capital sentence.

His claim to the contrary is meritless.

II.F. Bunch claims that his constitutional rights were

violated when he was denied a fundamentally fair sen-

tencing trial. The issues identified in his petition are

without merit and have been addressed previously (see

I.I., supra). Bunch’s sentencing trial was fundamen-

tally fair and his claim will accordingly be denied as

meritless.

II.G. Bunch asserts that Virginia’s death penalty stat-

ute and sentencing procedures are facially unconstitu-

tional. ‘‘he Court addressed that issue directly in

Stamper v. Baskerville, 531 F. Supp. 1122 (E.D. Va.

1982). In Stamper, the petitioner was convicted of cap-

ital murder and sentenced to death by electrocution. On

federal habeas review petitioner Stamper argued that

Virginia’s death penalty statute, Va. Code Ann. § 19.2-

264.2, was unconstitutional on its face. The Court held

that the claim was “clearly without merit.” Jd. at 1128.

In support of its conclusion, the Court pointed out that

the Supreme Court had held the first aggravating factor

58a

of an identical statute to be constitutional in Jurek v.

Texas, 428 U.S. 262, 276 (1976). The second aggravat-

ing factor was approved in Gregg v. Georgia, 428 U.S.

158, 201 n.51 (1976). Stamper, 531 F. Supp. at 1128.

Bunch cites Godfrey v. Georgia, 446 U.S. 420 (1980), in

support of his argument that Virginia’s death penalty

statute is unconstitutionally broad and vague. In Godfrey,

the Supreme Court did not find the statute it had upheld

in Gregg to be constitutionally defective. What the Court

found unconstitutional was the vagueness of the judge’s

instructions concerning the application of the statutory

criteria. Jd. at 481-33. That case is clearly distinguish-

able from the present one. The trial court’s instructions

in this case regarding the statute avoid any constitu-

tional infirmities akin to those found in Godfrey. See

Stamper, 531 F. Supp. at 1129-31.

II.H. In allegation of II.H., Bunch claims that Vir-

ginia’s death penalty statute was unconstitutionally ap-

plied to the facts of this case. Bunch failed to raise this

claim at trial or on appeal and it is therefore procedur-

ally barred. Murray, 477 U.S. 478; Wainwright, 433

US. 72.

ILI, IJ. and ILK. Allegation II.I. charges that Vir-

ginia’s death penalty statute is applied in an arbitrary

and discriminatory manner; allegation II.J. claims that

the death penalty constitutes cruel and unusual punish-

ment; and allegation II.K. charges that the penalty of

death by electrocution is unnecessarily cruel and unusual.

These claims are forfeited on two levels. First, none of

the arguments were raised at trial or on appeal and they

are therefore procedurally barred under Murray, 477

U.S. 478, and Wainwright, 433 U.S. 72. Aditionally, al-

though the claims were presented in the state trial court

habeas proceeding, they were not raised on state habeas

appeal and are therefore defaulted under the rule of

Whitley v. Blair, 802 F.2d 1487.

59a

III. In allegation III, Bunch charges that his consti-

tutional rights were violated when the Virginia Supreme

Court failed to conduct a meaningful proportionality re-

view. This claim presents no federal question. Virginia

state law requires a comparative proportionality review.

Va, Code Ann. $17-110.1(C). As the Fourth Circuit

has stated, however, “such a comparative review is not

constitutionally mandated.” Roach v. Martin, 757 F.2d

1468, 1482 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 865 (1985)

(citing Pulley v. Harris, 465 U.S. 87 (1984)). Some

type of meaningful review is constitutionally required

as protection against arbitrary outcomes. Jd. The Vir-

ginia Supreme Court’s discussion of its review in this

case reveals a constitutionally adequate approach. The

court collected the records of cases pursuant to Va. Code

Ann. § 17-110.1(E) and determined that

the vileness of [Bunch’s] offense, as exemplified by

the aggravated battery he committed upon Thomas

and the depravity of mind with which he executed

the crime, at least equals any vileness we have en-

countered in other cases, including those cited by

Bunch.

Bunch, 225 Va. at 450, 304 S.E.2d at 286.

Bunch’s claim will be rejected, as this Court finds no

federal constitutional deficiency in the Virginia Supreme

Court’s decision.

IV. Petitioner’s final allegation is that his constitu-

tional rights were violated by the exclusion of relevant,

admissible evidence at the state habeas corpus proceed-

ing. As the Fourth Circuit stated in Bryant v. Maryland,

848 F.2d 492, 493 (4th Cir. 1988), “claims of error oc-

curring in a state post-conviction proceeding cannot serve

as a basis for federal habeas corpus relief.” Accordingly,

this claim is not cognizable.

Because it appears to the Court that Bunch is not

entitled to habeas corpus relief on the claims set forth in

60a

his petition, the petition must be dismissed. An appro-

priate Order shall issue.

/s/ James R. Spencer

- United States District Judge

Date: 16 Mar. 1990

6la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF VIRGINIA

RICHMOND DIVISION

Civil Action No. 88-0645-R

TIMOTHY DALE BuNCH,

Petitioner,

V.

CHARLES E. THOMPSON, WARDEN,

Respondent.

ORDER

[Filed Jun. 4, 1990]

This matter is before the Court on petitioner’s motion

to alter or amend the judgment of this Court entered on

March 16, 1990. For reasons stated below, the motion

will be DENIED.

I

Petitioner Timothy Dale Bunch moves for amendment

of this Court’s opinion on three grounds. First, Bunch

contends that the rule announced in Edwards vy. Arizona,

451 U.S. 477 (1981), was never ambiguous and that the

language of Edwards clearly compels the suppression of

his statements made in Virginia. Second, Bunch argues

that even if courts were divided over the proper inter-

pretation of the Edwards rule, Virginia law had clearly

adopted the per se approach, and the Virginia Supreme

Court ignored this precedent when deciding Bunch’s case.

Finally, Bunch claims that this Court’s opinion flatly con-

tradicts the holding of United States v. Renda, 567 F.

Supp. 487 (E.D. Va. 1983), aff'd mem., 758 F.2d 649

(4th Cir. 1985).

62a

Petitioner has failed to convince this Court that its

analysis of the state of the Edwards rule as of June of

1983 was incorrect. The Edwards decision left the lower

courts substantially uncertain as to whether initiation of

communications by a suspect in custody who had invoked

the right to counsel was an essential predicate to a find-

ing that he later made a knowing, intelligent, and volun-

tary waiver of that right. The Supreme Court did not

definitely resolve this issue so that no lower court could

reasonably hold to the contrary, until Solem v. Stumes,

465 U.S. 6388 (1984), confirmed that the Edwards rule

was indeed a per se rule. Justice Powell’s concurring

opinion in Oregon v. Bradshaw, 462 U.S. 1039 (1983),

documents the confusion in the lower courts at the time

of Bunch’s trial and direct appeal. See id. at 1047 n.1

(comparing seven decisions holding that Edwards estab-

lished a per se rule with five contrary decisions)..

The per se approach was certainly within the logical

compass of the Edwards opinion; its applicability was

ultimately confirmed in Solem. But in June of 1983, the

existence of a per se rule was susceptible to debate among

reasonable minds. The conflicting lower court decisions

bear witness to this fact. The Supreme Court held in

Teague v. Lane, 109 S. Ct. 1060, 1070 (1989) (emphasis

in original), that ‘a case announces a new rule if the

result was not dictated by precedent existing at the time

the defendant’s conviction became final.” Because prior

tc the Solem decision it would not have been an illogical

_application of Edwards to decide that the case did not

establish a per se rule, Solem announced a “new rule.”

See Butler v. McKellar, 110 S. Ct. 1212, 1217-18 (1990).

A new rule is applied retroactively on collateral review

only if it fits within one of two recognized categories.

The first exists where the rule “places ‘certain kinds of

primary, private individual conduct beyond the power

of the criminal law-making authority to proscribe.’ ”

Teague, 109 S. Ct. at 1075 (quoting Mackey v. United

63a

States, 401 U.S. 667, 692 (1971) (separate opinion of

Harlan, J.)). That category is clearly inapplicable

where, as here, the proscribed conduct is capital murder.

See Butler, 110 S. Ct. at 1218. The second category con-

cerns new procedures “central to an accurate determina-

tion of innocence or guilt,” those “without which the like-

lihood of an accurate conviction is seriously diminished.”

Teague, 109 §. Ct. at 1076. This category is also in-

applicable. i'he Supreme Court has refused to apply the

Edwards rule retroactively because it does not enhance

the accuracy of criminal trials. Solem, 465 U.S. at 644-

45. For the same reason, the Supreme Court held that

the rule announced in Arizona v. Roberson, 486 U.S. 675

(1988), a case applying Edwards limitations on police

interrogation in the context of a separate criminal inves-

tigation, would not be given retroactive effect. Butler,

110 S. Ct. at 1218. The reasoning in these cases also

applies to Bunch’s situation. The absence of a per se

rule would not seriously diminish the likelihood of an

accurate conviction. The rule announced in Solem should

not be applied retroactively.

Petitioner’s argument that the decision in this case was

inconsistent with existing Virginia law is also uncon-

vincing. When Bunch’s case was decided, Virginia had

not adopted a per se rule under which a court first had

to determine that an accused initiated a post-counsel-

request colloquy, and only then could consider whether

there had been a voluntary waiver under the totality of

the circumstances.

Bunch claims that Virginia law recognized the

Edwards per se rule even before the Edwards decision.

He relies upon two cases, LaBonte v. Commonwealth, 217

Va. 677, 232 S.E.2d 738 (1977), and Pearson v. Com-

nwealth, 221 Va. 936, 275 S.E.2d 893 (1981). Both

LaBonte and Pearson concern the rule of Miranda v.

Arizona, 384 U.S. 436 (1966). In LaBonte, the Virginia

Supreme Court found a valid waiver of the right to coun-

64a

sel. It also gave examples of situations where valid

Waivers might exist, none of which were analogous to the

facts of Bunch’s case. See LaBonte, 217 Va. at 679, 232

S.E.2d at 739. Bunch argues that because this dictum

regarding waiver contains no reference to his own situa-

tion, a finding that he waived his right to counsel is er-

roneous. This argument is without merit. The Pearson

opinion held that the Commonwealth failed to meet its

burden of demonstrating a knowing and _ intelligent

waiver. Pearson, 221 Va. at 944, 275 S.E.2d at 898.

There is no indication that this finding required an ini-

tial determination of who initiated the conversation

among Pearson and the officers. Neither of the two cases

upon which Bunch relies adopts a per se rule. Both are

applications of Miranda, and as the Supreme Court rec-

ognized in Solem v. Stumes, 465 U.S. at 647 n.7,

“Miranda did not adopt a per se rule with regard to

waiver of the right to counsel.”

Bunch also relies on two Virginia cases decided after

Edwards: McFadden v. Commonwealth, 225 Va. 103, 300

S.E.2d 924 (1983), and Simmons v. Commonwealth, 225

Va. 111, 300 S.E.2d 918 (1983). Again, neither of these

cases directly addresses whether or not Edwards estab-

lished a per se rule. Both cases distinguish Edwards be-

cause the statements in issue were made to investigators

other than those who had heard the demand for counsel

and because t

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.