Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Maryland v. Ott

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

wy? q FinbnED

ad MAR 17 1992

OFFICE OF THE CLenk

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

STATE OF MARYLAND,

Petitioner,

ws

THOMAS E. Ort, III,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

J. JOSEPH CURRAN, JR.

Attorney General of Maryland

Gary E. Bair*

MarY ELLEN BARBERA

Assistant Attorneys General

200 Saint Paul Place

Baltimore, Maryland 21202

(410) 576-6422

Counsel for Petitioner

*Counsel of Record

AEE RNR ARR RR ame. ent NF

PRESS OF BYRON S. ADAMS, WASHINGTON, D.C. (202) 347-8203

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

i. Whether the collective police

knowledge doctrine of Whiteley v. Warden

requires exclusion of evidence seized

incident to an arrest based upon a police

computer record of an open warrant that

had been satisfied seven days before the

arrest?

2. Whether a non-owner occupant of

an automobile may challenge the seizure of

drugs from the vehicle as the fruits of

the occupant’s illegal arrest notwith-

standing his failure to establish a

reasonable expectation of privacy in the

vehicle?

PARTIES

The caption contains the names of all

the parties below.

;

is

:

-iii-

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED.......2.ccccees eres |

3 eeeeeeeseseee#eee#ee#e#e#ee#ee#*# ii

OPINIONS 0 eeee#ee#e#e# 2

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION......2222.0-. 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED...... 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE. .cccccccccccccccecse 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.......... 9

I. The courts are in conflict on

the issue whether the

collective police knowledge

rule of Whiteley v. Warden

applies to invalidate an

otherwise reasonable arrest

based upon stale warrant

BUA wee eS bbe cee eercceccccecs 11

II. The courts are in conflict on

the issue whether a passenger

of an automobile must

demonstrate a legitimate

expectation of privacy in the

vehicle in order to challenge

the lawfulness of its search...... 18

CONCLUSION... .-. cece evecsocesecscce 0ece26

APPENDIX........ cece cccccccecs a la

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases

Albo v. State, 477 So. 2d 1071

(Fla. App. 29BS) ccccccccccsccvccceeclk®

Carter v. State, 18 Md. App. 150,

305 A.2d 856 C1973) cwccccecccccccecscehd

Childress v. United States,

381 A.26' 638 (D.C. 2977) «cccccevcesesi3

Chimel v. California,

395 Wels 752 C1969) cccccccccccccsccscah

Commonwealth v. Riley,

284 Pa. Super. 280,

425 A.2d 813 (19B1) wcccccsccccccccccl4

Durio v. State, 807 S.W.2d 876

(Tex. ~ App. Lh Perr rTerErrerere? <.

Illinois v. Rodriguez,

110 S. Ct. 2793 (1990)......16, 17, 18

Jones v. United States,

362 a * 257 CROSS besacoscsceecscssead

Josephs v. Commonwealth,

10 Va. App. 87,

390 S.E.2d 491 (1990)

(ON DANG) csccccvcecsecccccceaG, 21, 22

Maryland v. Garrison,

480 U.S. 79 (1987) eccccccccclkG, 7 18

Mayberry v. State,

561 So. 2d 1201

(Fla. App. 0) eee era eee

Meeks v. State, 692 S.W.2d 504

(Tex. Crim. App. 1985)....-----+-eees 22

Ott v. State, 325 Md. 206,

600 A.2d 111 (1992)... cece reece ecceccs 2

People v. Fields, 785 P.2d 611

(COlLO. 1990) .. eee ee renee ccc reeeeecces 16

People v. Ivey,

228 Cal. App. 3d 1423,

279 Cal. Rptr. 554 (1991)......-2--- 16

People v. Jennings,

54 N.Y.2d 518,

446 N.Y.S.2d 229,

430 N.E.2d 1282 (1981)..----2eeeeees 13

People v. Manke,

181 Ill. App. 3d 374,

537 N.E.2d 13 (1989)... eeecececes 23

People v. Mitchell,

678 P.2d 990 (Colo. 1984)........-- .13

People v. Mourecek,

208 Ill. App. 3d 87,

566 N.E.2d 841 (1991) ..---eeeeeeeces 16

People v. Ramirez,

34 Cal. 3d 541,

194 Cal. Rptr. 454,

eS Se, at Pee eee eee ere rere 13

People v. Smith,

106 A.D.2d 525,

483 N.Y.S.2d 62 (1984) ..-eeeeeeeeees 23

Page

Rakas v. Illinois,

630 0.8... 236. 4209S. ocves. <dOs By Bi

Rawlings v. Kentucky,

666. Gifs. 9B: ARON) oc. cercccecccss38¢ 20

State v. Cheek, 81 Md. App. 171,

567 A.2d 158 (1989),

cert. dismissed sub non.

Waters v. State, 319 Md. 483,

S73. AcBG GOT CISSG dc cccccvcvcccsccsda

State v. Cowen, 104 Idaho 649,

662 P.2d 230 C29S3) womdocecescccosscdd

State v. Cross, 164 N.J. Super.

368, 396 A.2d 604 (1978) ..ccccccccrcld

State v. DeMasi, 419 A.2d 285

(R.I. 1980), vacated on other

grounds, 452 U.S. 934 (1981)........23

State v. Eis, 348 N.W.2d 224

(Iowa 1964) cc ecdbbbeterese vet eeosceesds

State v. Epperson, 237 Kan. 707,

703 P.2d 761 (29GS) se cescodsssceccscosdd

State v. Gough, 35 Ohio App. 3d

S1, 519 W.B.2G 842 (1066) .ccccceccecdS

State v. Ott, 85 Md. App. 632,

S584 A.2G 1266. (IDSA) acancvcvsrcccvescse 2

State v. Ribera, 183 Mont. 1,

DOT Bi. DG 2EGK Care icc 8485085 ieee

State v. Somfleth, 8 Or. App. 171,

402 Bi SR OO Fae tel 66k d6 ck dk essacnwul

a

-vii-

Page

State v. Taylor, 468 So. 2d 617

(La. App.), cert. denied,

472 So.2d 918 (La. 1985) eccccccccceeldd

State v. Trenidad, 23 Wash. App.

418, 595 P.2d 957 (1978) ~.--eeeeeeces 13

Terry v. Ohio,

392 U.S. 1 (1968) cece reeeerereeces 12

United States v. De Leon-Reyna,

930 F.2d 396

(5th Cir. 1991) (en banc)...---- 1S 27

United States v. Durant,

730 F.2d 1180 (8th Cir.),

cert. denied, 469 U.S. 843

TERMED. chb 5 adhd abd dbs b 0 sess ocendes 23

United States v. Hensley,

469 U.S. 222 (1988) .cccccccccccccces 12

United States v. Hill,

855 F.2d 664 (10th Cir. 1988)...-.--- 22

United States v. Leon,

468 U.S. 897 (1984)....-.-- er oe

United States v. Mackey,

387 F. Supp. 1121

(D. Nev. 1975) «cece eceees eee3e#eee#e# ere

United States v. Manbeck,

744 F.2d 360 (4th Cir. 1984),

cert. denied sub non.

O’Hare v. United States,

469 U.S. LETT CUSSS) wvccvcccsecccves 22

-viii-

Page

United States v. Salvucci,

448 Woe 83 (1980) cecccccccccccccvcceed

United States v. Towne,

870 F.2d 880 (2d Cir.),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1101

CSOOOD Ce bRe oe ceeedSecesisaseovececossecs 15

United States v. Williams,

589 F.2d 210 (5th Cir. 1979),

aff‘’d, 617 F.2d 1063

(Sem CAS. 2900) (eh BONG) ci. ce cwecves 23

Whiteley v. Warden,

401 U.8. SEG CASTA} soc ccvsccs 8, passim

Wong Sun v. United States,

S78: Gu be 472. CAOGR 6 ccc veces 19, passim

Constitutional Provision

United States Constitution,

Fourth Amendment..... wees eeee 3, passim

Statute

fe ee |) ee eee 3

Rule

Rule 13, Rules of the

| ee ee ee a ee ee a 3

Miscellaneous

4 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure

(2d ed. 1987) ecccccece e*ee#ee#ee#es? es*eeseeese#e#e¢ 24

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OCTOBER TERM, 1991

STATE OF MARYLAND,

Petitioner,

¥.

THOMAS E. OTT, III,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE COURT OF APPEALS OF MARYLAND

Petitioner, the State of Maryland,

respectfully requests that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the judgment

and opinion of the Court of Appeals of

Maryland.

=-2-

OPINIONS BELOW

The reported opinion of the Court of

Appeals of Maryland, Ott v. State, 325 Md.

206, 600 A.2d 111 (1992), affirming the

grant of Respondent’s motion to suppress,

is reproduced in Appendix A (1a-49a).

The reported opinion of the Court of

Special Appeals of Maryland, State v. Ott,

85 Md. App. 632, 584 A.2d 1266 (1991),

reversing the trial court’s grant of

Respondent’s motion to suppress, is

reproduced in Appendix B (50a-84a).

The transcribed opinion of the trial

court, granting Respondent’s motion to

suppress, is reproduced in Appendix C

(85a-88a).

STATEMENT OF JURISDICTION

The opinion of the Court of Appeals

of Maryland was filed on January 13,

1992. This petition is filed within 90

days of that judgment as required by Rule

ne nell *

13

Therefore,

properly invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C.

-3-

of the Rules of the Supreme Court.

1257(a).

IV:

Corporal James Fogle of the Frederick

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

United States Constitution, Amendment

The right of the people to

be secure in their persons,

houses, papers, and effects,

against unreasonable searches

and seizures, shall not be

violated, and no Warrants shall

issue, but upon probable cause,

supported by Oath or

affirmation, and particularly

describing the place to be

searched, and the persons or

things to be seized.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

The suppression hearing testimony of

County, Maryland sheriff’s

disclosed the following.

1:40 a.m. on January 5, 1990, Corporal

Fogle observed a car,

jurisdiction of this Court is

At approximately

with two people in

-4<

it, sitting in an otherwise deserted

shopping mall parking lot. (E. 4-5).2

Because of vandalism and thefts that had

occurred in the parking lot, Corporal

Fogle stopped to check the two persons in

the car. (E. 5).

Respondent Thomas Ott was seated in

the driver’s seat; Sandra Sorenson was in

the passenger seat. (E. 6). After

obtaining identification from Ott and

Sorenson, Corporal Fogle ran a computer

check to determine whether either was the

subject of an outstanding warrant. (E.

6). The check revealed that Ott was

wanted for failure to appear in a civil

non-payment case. (E. 6). Based on this

information, Fogle arrested Ott. (E. 6).

i References to the record herein are to

the Joint Record Extract filed in the

Court of Appeals of Maryland.

st te nly ante itl,

Nene tte: Ba Neil te, bela

ee ae ee

| PE OIE Fo A

-5-

By this time, three other Sheriff’s

Office deputies had arrived. (E. 7-8).

Sorenson, later determined to be the owner

of the car, (E. 14), was asked to step

outside the car so it could be searched

incident to Ott’s arrest, (E. 7). As

Sorenson was getting out of the car, one

of the deputies, Corporal Johnson, noticed

a twenty-dollar bill rolled up into a

straw. (E. 8). Corporal Fogle seized the

bill because in his experience it was

something that could be used for the

ingestion of controlled dangerous

substances. (E. 8). A search of the glove

compartment uncovered three bags of a

white powdery substance that was

recognized to be cocaine. (E. 9, 16). In

addition, a small round mirror with white

powdery residue on it was found under the

passenger seat. (E. 9). Both Ott and

-6-

Sorenson were then handcuffed and

transported to headquarters. (E. 9).

Later that evening, Corporal Fogle

learned that the arrest warrant for ott

had been satisfied on December 29, 1989.

(E. 7, 12-13). The warrant already had

been served but, as of January 5, 1990,

had not been removed from the computer.

(Be Phi A printout dntrodeced at the

suppression hearing reflected that an

active warrant for Ott was in the computer

when Corporal Fogle ran the check on

January 5. (E. 7).

The State rested at the conclusion of

Corporal Fogle’s testimony, whereupon

Ott’s attorney informed the court that he

would present no evidence. (E. 19). In

arguing why oOtt’s suppression motion

should be denied, the State asserted that

Ott lacked standing to object to the

search of the car because Sorenson owned

eee

-7-

the vehicle. (E. 19-20). Counsel for Ott

countered that Ott had standing because he

was the person seated behind the wheel of

the car, and argued that the evidence

should be suppressed because there was no

outstanding warrant when Ott was arrested

on January 5, 1990. (E. 20-23).

The suppression court granted defense

counsel’s motion. (86a-87a). The State

appealed, and the Court of Special Appeals

of Maryland reversed. The court assumed,

arguendo, that Ott had standing’ to

challenge the search, (57a), but held that

the officer’s good faith reliance on the

computerized information was sufficient to

justify both Ott’s arrest and the search

of the car incident thereto, (74a-82a) .

On certiorari, the Court of Appeals

of Maryland reversed the decision of the

intermediate appellate court. The Court

of Appeals held that application of the

collective police knowledge rule of

Whiteley v. Warden* invalidated ott’s

arrest. The court reasoned that the

arresting officer’s reliance on the

outdated computer information, while in

good faith, was nonetheless objectively

unreasonable on the facts presented. (26a-

34a). The Court of Appeals further held

that, because Ott’s arrest was unlawful,

he had standing to challenge the fruits of

the search of the car, even though he did

not own the car and the car’s owner had

been in the car with him. (35a-48a).

Chief Judge Robert Cc. Murphy

dissented. He agreed with the Court of

Special Appeals that the arresting

officer’s conduct was objectively

reasonable; that the delay in updating the

computer record to reflect satisfaction of

2 401 U.S. 560 (1971).

-9-

the warrant did not constitute police

misconduct or negligence; that nothing in

Whiteley mandated invalidating the arrest

and the search; and, finally, that

exclusion of the evidence did not “further

the ends of the exclusionary rule in any

appreciable way.” (48a-49a).

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Every day, police officers encounter

situations similar to that faced by the

officer here. Pursuant to a police

computer warrant check, a passenger of a

car is arrested because of an outstanding

warrant and the car is searched incident

to the arrest. Not uncommonly, such a

search uncovers drugs, weapons, or other

contraband items as, indeed, the search

did here. Given the passenger’s lack of a

legitimate privacy interest in the vehicle

-10-

and the reasonableness of the police

conduct, a Fourth Amendment’ challenge

should fail.

Nonetheless, the Maryland Court of

Appeals wrongly ruled that under Whiteley

v. Warden an arrest is unlawful and its

fruits must be suppressed if the arrest

was made in reliance on a validly issued

warrant, which, unbeknown to the arresting

officer, had recently been satisfied.

Compounding its error, the Maryland Court

of Appeals misapplied the fruit of the

poisonous tree doctrine. It decided that

a mere non-owner occupant of an

automobile, regardless of whether he has

demonstrated an expectation of privacy,

automatically may seek suppression of the

fruits of a vehicle search, so Leng as he

asserts that the search derived from his

unlawful detention.

WSS LP

Oe

Lat ha Me

-ll-

Given the frequency of traffic

encounters like that presented by this

case, the decision of the Maryland court

has far-reaching consequences. Not only

is this case of great public importance,

the two closely related issues it presents

have not been addressed by this Court.

Left undecided, these questions will

continue to generate conflicts among the

state and federal courts.

I.

THE COURTS ARE IN CONFLICT ON

THE ISSUE WHETHER THE

COLLECTIVE POLICE KNOWLEDGE

RULE OF WHITELEY v. WARDEN

APPLIES TO INVALIDATE AN

OTHERWISE REASONABLE ARREST

BASED UPON STALE WARRANT

INFORMATION.

Twenty-one years ago this Court ruled

in Whiteley v. Warden, 401 U.S. 560

(1971), that an arrest based upon a radio

bulletin that is unsupported by probable

cause cannot be insulated from challenge

-12-

merely because the arresting officer is

unaware of the absence of probable cause.

Id. at 568. More recently, the Court

applied the Whiteley doctrine in the

context of a Terry? stop, where the issue

was whether the police had articulable

suspicion for the stop. See United States

v. Hensley, 469 U.S. 221 (1985). The

present case involves an issue related to,

but distinct from, Whiteley and Hensley:

Is the collective police knowledge

doctrine applicable where it is undisputed

that probable cause existed for the

issuance of a warrant, but the warrant

remains in police records for a brief

period of time after it has_ been

satisfied?

Courts have taken conflicting

approaches to resolving this as_ yet

3 Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1 (1968).

ines etl MSE ae ¢

SP 0 MAR? tA DTOA he's il GS Ce Rage Ret EM

ORE el: oo BA Oe

a

RA ln Ta OX A Cae RP BI AON a hd a

-13-

unaddressed question. Some courts have

concluded that the collective police

knowledge doctrine of Whiteley applies and

that the arrest is illegal. See, e.g.,

United States v. Mackey, 387 F. Supp.

1121, 1125 (D. Nev. 1975); People v.

Ramirez, 34 Cal. 3d 541, 194 Cal. Rptr.

454, 668 P.2d 761, 764-65 (1983); People

v. Mitchell, 678 P.2d 990, 993-94 (Colo.

1984); Carter v. State, 18 Md. App. 150,

155-56, 305 A.2d 856 (1973); People v.

Jennings, 54 N.Y.2d 518, 446 N.Y.S.2d 229,

232, 430 N.E.2d 1282 (1981); State v.

Trenidad, 23 Wash. App. 418, 595 P.2d 957,

958 (1978).

Other courts have refused to apply

the Whiteley doctrine where, as here, the

warrant: once enjoyed unassailable legal

existence and the delay in updating the

computer information is of short

duration. See, e.g., Childress v. United

-14-

States, 381 A.2d 614, 616 (D.C. 1977)

(four days); Mayberry v. State, 561 So. 2d

1201, 1202 (Fla. App. 1990) ("no showing

of excessive and unacceptable delay”);

State v. Cross, 164 N.J. Super. 368, 396

A.2d 604, 605-07 £(1978) (one month);

Commonwealth v. Riley, 284 Pa. Super. 280,

425 A.2d 813, 816 (1981) (four days). See

also State v. Somfleth, 8 Or. App. 171,

492 P.2d 808, 811 (1972) (arrest based

upon radio broadcast that defendant was

AWOL or deserter, later determined to be

erroneous, held not to invalidate search

incident to arrest).

More recently, courts have applied

the good faith exception doctrine of

United States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897

(1984), finding that the exclusionary rule

should not be applied absent intentional

police misconduct. Such was the rationale

of the intermediate appellate court and

-15-

the dissenting chief judge of the Maryland

high court in this case. Within the past

several years, three other courts have

ruled to like effect. See United States

v. De Leon-Reyna, 930 F.2d 396, 401 (5th

Cir. 1991) (en banc) (applying good faith

exception to uphold warrantless arrest

where officer relied upon mistaken license

plate information); United States v.

Towne, 870 F.2d 880, 885 (2d Cir.), cert.

denied, 490 U.S. 1101 (1989) (reliance on

warrant improperly kept in NCIc files

upheld on basis of Leon); Durio v. State,

807 S.W.2d 876, 877-78 (Tex. Ct. App.

1991) (applying Leon exception to evidence

seized by officers relying upon warrant

subsequently determined to have _ been

executed).

Still other courts, however, have

ruled that Leon is inapplicable to the

present situation. Like the Court of

OQ ———e

-16-

Appeals majority here, these tribunals

have reasoned that arrests resulting from

the collective negligence of a police

department are not subject to the good

faith exception. See, e.g., People v.

Ivey, 228 Cal. App. 3d 1423, 279 Cal.

Rptr. 554, 557 (1991); People v. Fields,

785 P.2dad 611, 613 (Colo. 1990); Albo v.

State, 477 So. 2d 1071, 1073-75 (Fla. App.

1985); People v. Mourecek, 208 Ill. App.

3d 87, 566 N.E.2d 841, 845 (1991); State

v. Taylor, 468 So. 2d 617, 623 (La. App.),

cert. denied, 472 So.2d 918 (La. 1985);

State v. Gough, 35 Ohio App. 3d 81, 519

N.E.2d 842, 844-45 (1986).

In addition to the above conflicts,

Whiteley itself appears to be in conflict

with this Court’s recent pronouncements in

Maryland v. Garrison, 480 U.S. 79 (1987),

and Illinois v. Rodriguez, 110 S. Ct. 2793

(1990). In those cases this Court ruled

LAO AB Ppa PAL? eat > .

Mt oo 5 spss et Nah Be ee.

ee eee ee eed

=-17=

that the Fourth Amendment is satisfied

where a police officer conducting a search

makes a mistake of fact, but nonetheless

acts reasonably. Although no lower court

has yet expressly relied upon Garrison and

Rodriguez in a situation like the one

presented here, the Fifth Circuit, sitting

en banc, has intimated that mistaken

reliance on a police radio broadcast

satisfies the reasonableness requirement

of the Fourth Amendment. See United

States v. De Leon-Reyna, 930 F.2d at 399-

401 & n.5.

In the present case, it is undisputed

that the officer who arrested Ott acted

reasonably. Given the police computer

information that a warrant was outstanding

(which Ott did nothing to dispel), it

would have been most unreasonable had the

officer acted otherwise. In light of

—

-18-

Rodriguez and Garrison, there was no

Fourth Amendment violation.

A definitive decision by this Court

will resolve the aforementioned

.conflicts. It will necessarily resolve

the question of Whiteley’s scope, its

continued viability, and whether it, or

this Court’s more recent pronouncements,

control this case and others like it.

II.

THE COURTS ARE IN CONFLICT ON

THE ISSUE WHETHER A PASSENGER

OF AN AUTOMOBILE MUST

DEMONSTRATE A LEGITIMATE

EXPECTATION OF PRIVACY IN THE

VEHICLE IN ORDER TO CHALLENGE

THE LAWFULNESS OF ITS SEARCH.

Assuming, arguendo, that Whiteley

applies, this case presents a _ second

question worthy of this Court’s review:

May an occupant of a car, who has

demonstrated no reasonable expectation of

privacy in s¢, nonetheless seek

suppression of evidence seized therein if

be nb thee i td aD

-19-

the search that produced the evidence

derived from the occupant’s unlawful

detention? This issue stands at _ the

crossroads of two Fourth Amendment

doctrines--that which entitles an accused

to suppression of evidence obtained as the

fruits of unlawful police conduct, Wong

Sun v. United States, 371 U.S. 471 (1963),

and that which requires persons who seek

to litigate the lawfulness of a Fourth

Amendment search and seizure to show first

a reasonable expectation of privacy in the

place searched, Rakas_v. Illinois, 439

U.S. 128 (1978); Rawlings v. Kentucky, 448

U.S. 98 (1980).

In Rakas, this Court decided that a

passenger qua passenger of a car could not

challenge its search. 439 U.S. at 148-

49. Since then, the Court has not

addressed the question left open in that

case but squarely presented here. There,

-20-

unlike here, the petitioners neither

challenged the legality of the stop of the

automobile nor contended that they had

been seized when they were told to get out

of the car. Id. at 151 (Powell, J.,

concurring). In the wake of Rakas, lower

courts have grappled with the tension

between the fruit of the poisonous tree

doctrine of Wong Sun and the reasonable

expectation of privacy requirement of

Rakas and Rawlings. Not surprisingly,

this tension has produced conflicts among

the courts.

Representative of the sharply

divergent views taken on this question is

the recent en banc decision of the Court

of Appeals of Virginia in Josephs v.

Commonwealth, 10 Va. App. 87, 390 S.E.2d

491 (1990) (en banc). The five-judge

majority relied on Rakas to hold that

Josephs, a passenger in an automobile that

-21-

had been stopped and searched, could not

challenge the fruits of the search because

she enjoyed no legitimate privacy

expectation in the vehicle. 390 S.E.2d at

496. Three of the remaining judges

disagreed. Eschewing Rakas, they would

have ruled that Josephs could contest the

stop--which the dissenters believed was

unlawful--and that the fruits of her

detention were suppressible under Wong

Sun. Id. at 499-502 (Barrow, J.,

dissenting).

Some courts are in accord with the

Josephs majority. These courts take the

position, like that urged by the State of

Maryland in this case, that a defendant’s

entitlement to litigate the lawfulness of

the search and seizure requires that he

first demonstrate a legitimate expectation

of privacy in the place searched. See,

e.g., State v. Cowen, 104 Idaho 649, 662

-22-

P.2d 230, 231 (1983); State v. Ribera, 183

Mont. 1, 597 P.2d 1164, 1168-69 (1979);

State v. Cheek, 81 Md. App. 171, 567 A.2d

158, 159-60 (1989), cert. dismissed sub

nom. Waters v. State, 319 Md. 483, 573

A.2ad 807 (1990); Meeks v. State, 692

S.W.2d 504, 510 (Tex. Crim. App. 1985).

Other courts, including the Court of

Appeals here, approach the issue as did

the dissenters in Josephs, and hold that a

defendant may challenge any search that

flows from unlawful police conduct vis-a-

vis hin, thereby holding, at least

implicitly, that the defendant’s lack of

reasonable expectation of privacy in the

place searched is irrelevant. See, e.g.,

United States v. Hill, 855 F.2d 664, 666

(10th. -Ciri 1988); United States v.

Manbeck, 744 F.2d 360, 380-81 (4th Cir.

1984), cert. denied sub nom. O/’Hare v.

United States, 469 U.S. 1217 (1985);

-23-

United States v. Durant, 730 F.2d 1180,

1182 (8th Cir.), cert. denied, 469 U.S.

843 (1984); United States v. Williams, 589

F.2d 210, 214 (5th Cir. 1979), aff’d, 617

F.2d 1063 (5th Cir. 1980) (en banc);

People v. Manke, 181 Ill. App. 3d 374, 537

N.E.2d 13, 15 (1989); State v. Eis, 348

N.W.2d 224, 226 (Iowa 1984); State v.

Epperson, 237 Kan. 707, 703 P.2d 761, 770

(1985); People v. Smith, 106 A.D.2d 525,

483 N.Y.S.2d 62, 63 (1984); State v.

DeMasi, 419 A.2d 285, 294-95 (R.I. 1980),

vacated on other grounds, 452 U.S. 934

(1981).

Indeed, one noted commentator has

gone so far as to state: "Where the search

of the person or the surrounding area has

its only justification as being ‘incident

-24-

to’ the arrest under Chimel Vv.

California, [4] then unquestionably the

evidence found in the search must be

suppressed if the antecedent arrest was in

violation of the Fourth Amendment.” 4 W.

LaFave, Search and Seizure § 11.4(d) at

408 (2d ed. 1987) (emphasis added). This

reasoning, however, confuses the

justification for the search with the

distinct question of aan individual’s

Fourth Amendment privacy expectation.

Here, Ott did have an expectation of

privacy in the search of his person, but

did not have a similar expectation in the

search of Sorenson’s car, even though both

were justified as incident to oOtt’s

arrest.

Moreover, those courts which find

that the fruit of the poisonous tree

4 395 U.S. 752 (1969).

-25-

doctrine controls seemingly ignore that

Wong Sun was decided at a time when

defendants accused of possessory crimes

had “automatic standing” to challenge the

search that produced the contraband. See

Jones v. United States, 362 U.S. 257, 264-

65 (1960). This rule, of course, was

subsequently disavowed in United States v.

Salvucci, 448 U.S. 83, 85 (1980), in favor

of the rule that a defendant who has no

legitimate privacy expectation in the

place searched is not’ permitted to

challenge the search.

The conflict among the courts on this

issue makes it, like the first issue,

appropriate for the Court’s consideration.

The Court can provide much needed guidance

to the lower courts and law enforcement

officials on this important and recurring

issue of Fourth Amendment law.

-26-

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated, this Court

should issue a writ of certiorari to

review the judgment of the Court of

Appeals of Maryland.

Respectfully submitted,

J. JOSEPH CURRAN, JR.

Attorney General of Maryland

GARY E. BAIR*

MARY ELLEN BARBERA

Assistant Attorneys General

Counsel for Petitioner

54 Counsel of Record

March 17, 1992

APPENDIX

CONTENTS OF APPENDIX

Page

APPENDIX A:

Reported opinion of the Court of

Appeals of Maryland, Ott v. State,

325 Md. 206,

Owe Mame GAR CAGOS) ccccocececsesessss la

APPENDIX B:

Reported opinion of the Court of

Special Appeals of Maryland,

State v. Ott, 85 Md. App. 632,

584 A.2d 1266 (1991)... ..cceccccees 50a

APPENDIX C:

Unreported ruling of the Circuit

Court for Frederick County,

Maryland, dated August 7, 1990,

in State v. Ott, Criminal

po Oe ee ee eee 85a

hpi Ange nd Ae afE

“1a-

APPENDIX A

THOMAS E. OTT, III

Vv.

STATE OF MARYLAND.

No. 31, Sept. Term, 1991.

Court of Appeals of Maryland.

January 13, 1992.

Argued before MURPHY, C.J, and

ELDRIDGE, RODOWSKY, MCAULIFFE, CHASANOW,

KARWACKI and ROBERT M. BELL, JJ.

ROBERT M. BELL, Judge.

This case presents for resolution the

questions whether Thomas E. Ott, III, the

petitioner, was illegally detained and/or

illegally arrested and, if he was, whether

-2a-

the evidence seized by reason of the

detention or arrest should have been

suppressed. The latter question requires

a determination of petitioner’s standing

to challenge the seizure of the

evidence. The Circuit Court for Frederick

County ruled in favor of petitioner,

finding that: (1) he had standing by

virtue of his occupation of the driver’s

seat in the automobile; (2) "the officers

had [no] probable cause in the first place

to go in like they did;” and (3) the

search of the car’s glove box was not

incident to petitioner’s arrest “and

certainly not for the presence of

weapons.” The court, therefore,

Suppressed the evidence and the State

appealed. +

1 The state appeals pursuant to Maryland

Code (1974, 1989 Repl. Vol.) § 12-

302(c)(3)(i) of the Courts and Judicial

(Continued)

~ Seeiee giand~t 10) Wedd CA. Diets Bite dae ted cthd capt idandlit”™ gedit, . Citltes ibe bit eine te! pel tg 0 Ah Baal Phe tk

i ee Pe ee

-3a-

The intermediate appellate court

reversed. State v. Ott, 85 Md. App. 632,

584 A.2d 1266 (1991). Assuming arguendo

that petitioner had standing, the court

held that the initial encounter between

petitioner and the police did not rise to

a Fourth Amendment violation. It further

held that the petitioner’s arrest, albeit

pursuant to an invalid arrest warrant, was

effected in good faith. "Thus, the

warrantless search of the vehicle was

valid as a search incident to a lawful

arrest...,” 85 Md. App. at 646-47, 584

A.2a at 1273, notwithstanding that the

petitioner had been handcuffed and placed

Proceedings Article. Pursuant to that

section, the State may appeal, inter alia,

in a case brought under, Art. 27, § 286.

In accordance with § 12-302(c) (3) (iv), the

charges must be dismissed should this

Court affirm the decision of the trial

court. Petitioner was charged with

possession of cocaine with intent to.

distribute and related offenses.

-4a-

outside the automobile before the glove

box was searched.

We granted petitioner’s petition for

writ of certiorari and the _ State’s

conditional petition to address’ the

important questions presented. For the

reasons hereinafter set forth, we will

reverse the judgment of the Court of

Special Appeals.

-

The facts are not in dispute.

Consequently, we will adopt the statement

of facts as set out in the opinion of the

Court of Special Appeals:

On January 5, 1990, Cpl. Fogle [2] was

on routine patrol near the Francis

Scott Key Mall in Frederick,

Maryland. At about 1:40 a.m., he

observed two people sitting in a car

in an otherwise deserted public

parking lot in that mall. No signs

were posted that said “No

2 The only witness to testify at the

suppression hearing was Cpl. Fogle.

-5a-

trespassing,” nor were there = any

indicating that parking was prohibited

after certain hours... In short, no

restrictions had been posted at all.

Fogle [approached] the car and its

occupants because of thefts and acts

of vandalism that previously had

occurred in the parking lot. When he

decided to do so, he saw nothing

suspicious occurring in the car or

anywhere else nearby.

Fogle asked the two individuals their

names and also asked what they were

doing there. They identified

themselves as Thomas Ott (seated in

the driver’s seat) and Sandra Sorenson

(seated in the passenger’s seat), and

said that they were just talking.

After Fogle obtained identification

from each one, he radioed police

headquarters to run a computer check

to determine whether either of them

was the subject of an outstanding

warrant. Nothing in Fogle’s testimony

suggested that oOtt’s or Sorenson’s

responses to his initial questions

were suspicious in any manner;

likewise, Fogle appears to have

requested written identification to

run a computer check as a matter of

routine.

The computer check indicated that an

outstanding warrant existed for ott

because of his failure to appear in a

civil /*”non-payment” case. Fogle

subsequently arrested Ott on this

basis. Fogle then asked Sorenson--the

car owner--to step out of the car so

that the other officers on the scene

-6a-

could conduct a search incident to

Ott’s arrest. As Sorenson exited the

car, Cpl. Johnson spied a MTwenty-

dollar bill rolled up into a straw

that fell from her lap. Fogle

confiscated the bill as evidence,

recognizing that it could be used to

ingest controlled dangerous

substances. The officers proceeded to

search the car. They discovered in

the glove compartment three bags of a

white powdery substance that Fogle

recognized to be cocaine. In addition

they found under the passenger seat a

small round mirror with a white

powdery residue on it. The officers

handcuffed Ott and Sorenson, and

transported them both to the police

station. After Ott signed a waiver of

rights form he told Cpl. Smith that he

was trying to sell the cocaine to get

out of debt.

Cpl. Fogle later determined that, in

fact, no outstanding warrant existed

for Ott because the bench warrant had

been satisfied on December 29, 1989.

Another sheriff apparently had served

the warrant, but had not removed it

from the computer before January 5,

1990. At the suppression hearing, the

State introduced a computer printout

which showed that there was an active

warrant when Cpl. Fogle ran_ the

computer search.

85 Md. App. at 634-35, 584 A.2d at 1267-

68.

= 2 IE ag eK

Be RE Mat BB, eA 0 OPA ALLE AE RE RI At PP BE DAL ae EINE A SCI AE ne in,

-J7a-

2.

Petitioner did not present’ any

evidence. He argued, however, that, since

the warrant on the basis of which the

arrest was made was invalid, he was

illegally arrested. Petitioner also

contended that he had standing, by virtue

of his being seated in the driver’s seat

of the car.

A.

It is undisputed that petitioner was

arrested on the basis of an outstanding

arrest warrant which had been satisfied

seven days earlier. Thus, unless Cpl.

Fogle’s subjective good faith reliance on

the outdated information supplied by the

Frederick County sheriff’s computer

mandates a different result, petitioner’s

arrest was illegal. The State argued

below, and the Court of Special Appeals

agreed, that the good faith exception to

-8a-

the exclusionary rule applies to the case

sub ‘judice. The court reasoned that the

policy underlying the exclusionary rule,

“a judicially created remedy designed to

safeguard Fourth Amendment rights

generally through its deterrent effect,

rather than a personal constitutional

right of the party aggrieved,” United

States v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 906, 104

S.Ct. 3405, 3412, 82 L.Ed.2d 677, 687

(1984), quoting United States v. Calandra,

414 U.S. 338, 348, 94 S.Ct. 613, 620, 38

L.Ed.2d 561, 571 (1974), and, § in

particular, "to deter police misconduct”,

id., 468 U.S. at 917, 104 S.Ct. at 3417,

82 L.Ed.2d at 694, is not furthered by

suppressing evidence when, rather than

acting in bad faith, the police act in

complete good faith. 85 Md. App. at 643-

44, 584 A.2d at 1272, citing Leon, 468

U.S. at 919, 104 S.Ct. at 3418, 82 L.Ed.2d

-9a-

at 696 (citing United States v. Peltier,

422 U.S. 531, 539, 95 S.Ct. 2313, 2318, 45

L.Ed.2d 374, 382 (1975)). As the Peltier

Court put it:

If the purpose of the exclusionary

rule is to deter unlawful police

conduct, then evidence obtained by a

search should be suppressed only if it

can be said that the law enforcement

officer had knowledge, or may properly

be charged with knowledge, that the

search was unconstitutional under the

Fourth Amendment.

Id. The Court of Special Appeals

recognized the applicability of the

"collective knowledge/collective

ignorance” rule, see Albo v. State, 477

awiacratenniaNeltntinnie) 0.

So.2d 1071, 1075 n. 4 (Fla. App. 1985);

nevertheless, it was of the view that,

because of the relatively small number of

days by which the information’ was

outdated, "this is [not] a case of police

misconduct or negligence such that we

should apply the exclusionary rule.” 85

Md. App. at 646, 584 A.2d at 1273. The

-10a-

court relied upon Commonwealth v. Reilly,

284 Pa. Super. 280, 425 A.2d 813, 816

(1981) and Childress v. United States, 381

A.2d 614 (D.C. App. 1977).

The State argues, in addition, that

Maryland v. Garrison, 480 U.S. 79, 107

S.Ct. 1013, 94 L.Ed.2d 72 (1979); Illinois

v. Rodriguez, 497 U.S. , 230 2...

2793, 111 L.Ed.2d 148 (1990); and Florida

v. Jimeno, 500 U.S. » 232 8.8. 296i,

114 L.Ed.2d 297 (1991) require affirmance

of the Court of Special Appeals. It

contends that police reliance on warrant

information received from its computer was

objectively "reasonable conduct under the

Fourth Amendment and therefore no Fourth

Amendment violation occurred....”

Petitioner concedes that Cpl. Fogle

acted in “subjective good faith,” i.e. he

was not aware that the warrant on the

basis of which he made the arrest had been

Ab dee Pie:

Met

ed tah ta LTE 0

ne 2 UO 6 SEO

ker BATON ee tee tee IRR terns aOR A TM recat Battle ee

-lla-

previously served. Petitioner denies,

however, that that fact is dispositive.

Applying the "collective knowledge/

collective ignorance” rule, which he too

asserts is applicable, he argues that Cpl.

Fogle must be charged with knowledge that

the warrant had been satisfied prior to

petitioner’s arrest. That result is

required, according to petitioner, because

the outdated information came from a

computer belonging to the Frederick County

Sheriff’s Department, the warrant was

issued in Frederick County, it had been

turned over to the Sheriff’s Department

for execution, and the warrant had been

executed by a member of the Sheriff’s

Department. From this, the petitioner

maintains that the arresting officer did

not act objectively reasonably. Moreover,

petitioner observes, "the State does not

explain why a County Sheriff’s department

aaa a

-12a-

would reasonably require more than seven

days to update its own records.”

In Whiteley v. Warden, 401 U.S. 560,

91 S.Ct. 1031, 28 L.Ed.2d 306 (1971), a

sheriff in one Wyoming county, acting on

an informant’s tip, obtained a warrant for

the arrest of Whiteley and a companion.

That fact, along with descriptions of the

two men, were broadcast over state-wide

police radio. An officer in another

Wyoming county, relying on the

descriptions, arrested Whiteley and his

companion. Evidence uncovered during the

search incident to that arrest was used,

over objection that he was illegally

arrested, to convict Whiteley. The

Supreme Court agreed with Whiteley,

holding that the warrant, pursuant to

which he was arrested, was invalid. It

then rejected the argument that, because

he was unaware of the factual basis

-413a-

provided to the magistrate for issuance of

the warrant, the arresting officer had

probable cause for a warrantless arrest.

401 U.S. at 566, 91 S.Ct. at 1036, 28

L.Ed.2d at 312. In particular, the Court

found unpersuasive the argument that the

radio bulletin rendered reasonable the

assumption that, whoever authorized the

bulletin had probable cause to direct the

arrest. 401 U.S. at 568, 91 S.Ct. at 1037,

28 L.Ed. 2d at 313. It explained:

We do not, of course, question that

the Laramie Police were entitled to

act on the strength of the radio

bulletin. Certainly police officers

called upon to aid other officers in

executing arrest warrants are entitled

to assume that the officers requesting

aid offered the magistrate the

information requisite to support an

independent judicial assessment of

probable cause. Where, however, the

contrary turns out to be true, an

otherwise illegal arrest cannot be

insulated from challenge by the

decision by the instigating officer to

rely on fellow officers to make the

arrest.

“a

-14a-

In United States v. Hensley, 469 U.S.

221, 105 S.Ct. 675, 83 L.Ed.2d 604 (1985),

a case decided after its decision in Leon,

the Supreme Court explicated the Whiteley

holding. There, the issue was whether a

stop, in reliance on a “wanted flier”

issued by another police department, of an

automobile- driven by the accused was

valid. Relying on Whiteley, the Court

held that it was, so long as the stop was

in objective reliance on the “wanted

flier” and the police department issuing

it collectively possessed reasonable

suspicion sufficient to justify it. 469

U.S. at 229-33, 105 S.Ct. at 680-82, 83

L.Ed.2d at 612-15. The Court opined:

Thus, Whiteley supports the

proposition that, when evidence is

uncovered during a search incident to

an arrest and reliance merely on a

flier or bulletin, its admissibility

turns on whether the officers who

issued the flier possessed probable

cause to make the arrest. It does not

turn on whether those relying on the

= | ee

‘

ees Te

Palle OAS, BOO Naa ele anata.

Pi Mtns ~Deer ith eRIeA l

Nah ae AOA ET.

-15a->

flier were themselves aware of the

specific facts which led their

colleagues to seek their assistance.

In an era when criminal suspects are

increasingly mobile and increasingly

likely to flee across jurisdictional

boundaries, this rule is a matter of

common sense: it minimizes the volume

of information concerning suspects

that must be transmitted to other

jurisdictions and enables police in

one jurisdiction to act promptly in

reliance on information from another

jurisdiction.

469 U.S. at 231, 105 S.ct. at 681, 83

L.Ed.2d at 613-14. Although Hensley

emphasized the reasonableness of a police

department’s reliance on information

possessed by another police department, it

also recognized the limitation expressed

in Whiteley: if the sending police

department does not have the requisite

information, the receiving police

department’s reliance on the_- sending

department is not “insulated from

challenge.” 469 U.S. at 230-31, 105 S.Ct.

at 680-81, 83 L.Ed.2d at 613-14.

-16a-

In Maryland, probable cause may be

based on information within the collective

knowledge of the police. Mobley and King

v. State, 270 Md. 76, 81, 310 A.2d 803,

807 (1973), cert. denied, 416 U.S. 975, 94

S.Ct. 2003, 40 L.Ed.2d 564 (1974); Hopkins

v. State, 239 Md. 517, 520, 211 A.2d 831,

833 (1965); Johnson v. State, 238 Md. 528,

539, 209 A.2d 765, 770 (1965); Mercer v.

State, 237 Md. 479, 483, 206 A.2d 797, 800

(1965); Farrow v. State, 233 Md. 526, 531-

32, 197 A.2d 434, 436-37 (1963); Carter v.

State, 18 Md. App. 150, 154, 305 A.2d 856,

858 (1973). Thus, while an officer may

make an arrest on the strength of a

warrant, the existence of which has been

certified to him by other officers in his

department, if the officers who obtained

the warrant did not possess sufficient

information or evidence to establish

probable cause, the arrest based on the

-17a-

warrant is illegal. In Carter, an

automobile, with a specific license tag

number, was reported stolen. The police

recovered the automobile on the same day

it was reported stolen; however, the

incident report that had been prepared was

not cancelled. Approximately two months

later, Carter was a passenger in a car

whose license tags were, according to the

stolen automobile report, the same as

those on the car that previously had been

reported stolen. He was arrested, charged

with, and convicted of possession and

control of narcotics. Applying’ the

collective knowledge rule, the Court of

Special Appeals noted that "the police

department should have known that [the

stolen vehicle report] was erroneous,

Since police officers had recovered the

vehicle and tags originally reported

-stolen on January 10, 1969.” 18 Md. App.

|

~18a-

at 154, 305 A.2d at 859. It concluded

that, because the information on which the

police acted was its own “outdated copy of

an erroneous report of a stolen motor

vehicle which the police had recovered on

the same day it was taken,” the arresting

officer, a part of the police team, “must

be charged with the knowledge that the

report was, in effect, rescinded when

members of the Baltimore City Police

Department recovered the car shortly after

it was stolen. Accordingly, the erroneous

information transmitted [to the arresting

officer] and on the basis of which he

arrested the appellant was clearly

insufficient to show probable cause.” 18

Md. App. at 156, 305 A.2d at 860. This

case thus stands for the proposition that

“police may not rely upon incorrect or

incomplete information when they are at

fault in permitting the records to remain

-19a-

uncorrected.” (footnote omitted). LaFave,

Search & Seizure, Vol. 2, § 3.5(d), 21-22

(1987).

Cases from other jurisdictions,

whether decided before Leon, e.g., United

States v. Mackey, 387 F.Supp. 1121, 1125

(D.Nev. 1975); People v. Ramirez, 34

Cal.3d 541, 194 Cal. Rptr. 454, 458, 668

P.2d 761, 764-65 (1983); People Vv.

Mitchell, 678 P.2d 990, 993-94 (Colo.

1984); State v. Trenidad, 23 Wash. App.

418, 595 P.2d 957 (1978), or after Leon,

People v. Howard, 162 Cal.App.3d 8, 208

Cal. Rptr. 353 (1984); Albo v. State, 477

So.2d 1071 (Fla. App. 1985); People v.

Mourecek, 208 I1l1.App.3d 87, 152 Ill. Dec.

964, 968, 566 N.E.2d 841, 845 (1991);

People v. Joseph, 128 I1ll.App.3d 668, 83

Ill. Dec. 883, 470 N.E.2d 1303 (1984);

State v. Taylor, 468 So.2d 617 (La. App.

-20a-

1985); State v. Gough, 35 Ohio App.3d 81,

519 N.E.2d 842 (1986), are in accord.

Whiteley is not affected by Leon, as

Hensley makes clear. In fact, cases that

directly address the “good faith”

exception in the context of the collective

knowledge rule reject the applicability of

the good faith exception to the

exclusionary rule.

In Joseph, supra, for example, a case

Similar to that sub _ judice, after

distinguishing the Leon facts from those

before it, the court noted the problems

evolving “from police reliance on

electronically recorded and disseninated

criminal files,” which are not kept up to

date. 83 Ill. Dec. at 886, 470 N.E.2d at

1306. It then opined: >

In the case at bar the arresting

officer received computerized

information that there was a warrant

outstanding against the defendant, and

he arrested defendant solely on that

-2la-

basis. The warrant, in fact, had been

recalled eleven days earlier. During

this period of time defendant was

subject to arrest through no fault of

his own and, only because information

had been retained in the system when

it was no longer valid. See People v.

Jennings, 1981, 54 N.Y.2d 518, 446

N.Y.S.2d 229, 430 N.E.2d 1282 (1982).

eh ea es iP an he vil

In Leon the Supreme Court observed

that the exclusionary rule is designed

to deter police misconduct rather than

to punish the errors of judges and

magistrates. (468 U.S. [897], 104

| S.Ct. 3405, 3419, 82 L.Ed.2d 667).

|| The situation in the instant case

reflects a matter within the responsi-

bility and control of police

authorities who failed to update their

records to accurately reflect

defendant’s current status. In this

age of computerization, we do not

believe it would be appropriate to

sanction the arrest here, thereby

allowing for law enforcement

authorities to rely on an error of

their own making.... Moreover, it is

our opinion that the good-faith

reliance of the arresting officer, in

acting upon information provided to

him through police channels, cannot

overcome the intrusion made upon

defendant’s fourth amendment rights.

(some citations omitted).

Id. Taylor, supra, 468 So.2d at 625,

relying on Joseph, added:

-22a-

It logically follows that once police

authorities have actual knowledge of a

fact (here the invalidity of the

warrant which the . . . Sheriff’s

Office must be charged with because of

the information on file in its records

department), all successive officers

who dealt with defendant are held to

have knowledge of this fact.

See also Albo, supra, 477 So.2d at 1074,

in which the court commented:

Any doubt about the inapplicability of

Leon to a case in which the arresting

officer, although in individual “good

faith,” acts in reliance upon

objectively incorrect information

supplied by other police sources, has

been dissipated by the recent, post-

Leon decision in United States v.

Hensley, 469 U.S. [(221}), 105 S.Ct.

675, 83 L.Ed.2d 604 (1985).

Hensley directly applied the Whiteley

probable cause-arrest rule to a Terr

stop effected to investigate a prior

crime. It held that a stop based on a

flyer or bulletin is permissible when

the officers who issued it had a

founded suspicion that the designated

person had committed an offense. But

the court emphasized that just as the

police may permissibly act upon their

collective knowledge, so they are

restrained by their collective

ignorance.

-23a-

Indeed, Leon, itself, supports the

proposition that the good faith exception

is inapplicable:

References to ¥Yofficer” throughout

this opinion should not be read too

narrowly. It is necessary to consider

the objective reasonableness not only

of the officers who eventually

executed the warrant, but also of the

officers who originally obtained it or

who provided information material to

the probable-cause determination.

Nothing in our opinion suggests, for

example, that an officer could obtain

a warrant on the basis of a “bare

bones” affidavit and then rely on

colleagues who are ignorant of the

circumstances under which the warrant

was obtained to conduct the search.

See Whiteley v. Warden, 401 U.S. 560,

568, 28 L.Ed.2d 306, 91 S.Ct. 1030

(1971).

468 U.S. at 923 n.24, 104 S.Ct. at 3420

n.24, 82 L.Ed.2d at 698 n.24.

Garrison, Rodriguez, and Jimeno are

also inapposite. In none of those cases

was the source of the misapprehension of

the facts information obtained from

another police officer or the result of a

police department failure to update its

-24a-

own records. In Garrison, the search was

pursuant to ae facially valid search

warrant; however, due to the peculiar

layout of the subject premises, the

officers mistakenly believed that they had

authority to search an area not covered by

the warrant. That belief was, the Court

held, objectively reasonable. 480 U.S. at

80-81, 107 S.Ct. at 1015, 94 L.Ed.2d at

78. The Supreme Court held, in Rodriguez,

that it was objectively reasonable for the

police to conduct a search in reliance on

the consent given by a person. who,

notwithstanding that it later turned out

she did not, appeared to have authority to

do so. 497 U.S. at __, 110 S.Ct. at 2801,

111 L.Ed.2d at 161. Significantly, the

consenting person, albeit illegally,

possessed a key to the apartment and

stated that she lived at the premises,

neglecting to add that she had done so

ie anemeienmmaannanieaeee

-25a-

some days before. 497 U.S. at , 110

S.Ct. at 2797, 111 L.Ed.2d at 156. Nor is

Jimeno supportive of the State’s

arguments. It stands for the rather

unremarkable proposition that, having

advised the consenting person as to what

is being’ sought, it is objectively

reasonable for the officer to whom consent

is given to assume that the consent covers

the search of any container in which the

evidence sought could logically fit. 500

U.S. at __, 111 S.Ct. at 1804, 114 L.Ed.2d

at 303.

In the case sub judice, whether

probable cause existed depended upon the

accuracy of the outstanding warrant

information in the Sheriff Department’s

computer. Placing accurate and current

information into the computer, just as

taking inaccurate or outdated information

out, is a function performed by personnel

-26a-

in the Sheriff’s Department. Allowing

outdated, inaccurate information to remain

in the computer, thus, placing citizens at

risk of being deprived of liberty, without

legal basis, see Joseph, 83 Ill. Dec. at

886, 470 N.E.2d at 1306, therefore, is the

fault of the Sheriff’s Department.

The arresting officer had no actual

knowledge that the warrant on which he

arrested petitioner was no longer

outstanding. In that sense, then, he

acted in subjective good faith.

Nevertheless, he was chargeable with

knowledge of the warrant’s invalidity.

Since an officer in the Sheriff’s

Department had previously served the

warrant, that department must have known

that it was outdated.

Notwithstanding the applicability of

the "collective knowledge/collective

ignorance” rule to the circumstances sub

-2/a-

judice, a fact that the Court of Special

Appeals specifically acknowledged, 85 Md.

App. at 645, 584 A.2d at 1273, and which

the State has not expressly denied, the

State argues, as the Court of Special

Appeals held, that this is not a "case of

police misconduct or negligence,”

implicating the exclusionary rule. Also,

like the Court of Special Appeals, it

asserts that “it is the amount of time

which elapses between the time that the

warrant...becomes invalid and the time of

the arrest which primarily determines

whether probable cause exists for a valid

warrant.” Ott, 85 Md. App. at 645-46, 584

A.2d at 1243. Thus, the State proffers

that "“[b]Jecause the erroneous information

remained in the computer only four days

longer than it should have, it is

inappropriate to apply the exclusionary

rule.’”-

-28a-

Neither Reilly, nor Childress, the

cases upon which the State relies, is

persuasive. Both involved arrests based

upon warrants that, although previously

satisfied, had not been removed from the

computerized “active” list. In Reilly,

the computer was that of the National

Crime Information Center (NCIC), not the

Philadelphia Police Department, and the

court recognized that there was no

indication that the Philadelphia Police

were responsible for NCIC’s failure to

update the information. Reilly, 425 A.2d

at 816. Because police may reasonably

rely upon an NCIC report of an outstanding

arrest warrant and juvenile detainer in

making a warrantless arrest, 425 A.2d at

816, the court held that the information

subsequently proven wrong and stale by

only four days was insufficient to negate

the probable cause otherwise provided by

-29a-

the NCIC report. Id. Without adopting the

merits of the distinction drawn by Reilly

--that the source of the erroneous

information is dispositive, the case sub

judice, is nevertheless distinguishable on

that basis, i.e., as we have seen, the

computer in this case was that of the

Sheriff’s Department, which, consequently,

had the responsibility of updating the

information in it.

In Childress, the case upon which

Reilly relied, the erroneous information

was the result of the District of Columbia

Police Department’s failure to remove a

satisfied warrant from its “active” list.

381 A.2d at 616. Notwithstanding, the

court held that “the police officer’s good

faith reliance on the radio report and the

resultant reasonable belief that valid

traffic warrants were outstanding provided

probable cause to arrest appellant

-30a-

Childress.” Id. Whiteley was not

controlling, it asserted, because the

warrant in that case /"never legally

existed”. 318 A.2d at 617. It then opined

(at 617-18):

Administrative delays attendant to the

operation of any metropolitan area

police department resulted in failure

to remove the satisfied warrants from

the computerized “active” list before

the officers received the radio

dispatch on November 18 that the

warrants were outstanding. This

combination of reasonable

administrative delay and reasonable

police reliance on misinformation

produced by such a delay presents a

Situation in which acceptance of

appellants’ position would do nothing

to advance the purposes of _ the

exclusionary rule. (Footnote omitted)

Apparently as a matter of law, the court

concluded that a four day delay, two days

of which occurred on the weekend, did not

amount to “police administrative

negligence.” 381 A.2d at 617-18 n.3.

We are not persuaded. The Childress

court never addressed the critical

-3la-

distinctions drawn by Whiteley--whether

the department is chargeabie with

knowledge that the information is outdated

and is at fault for not having cleared the

computer of the erroneous information.

Moreover, it never explained why the delay

in that case was reasonable. Furthermore,

the conclusion reached by Childress

presents an anomalous situation that, for

some period of time, a police department’s

failure to maintain accurate records,

without explanation, may lawfully place

citizens at risk. We are not prepared to

reach such a conclusion without, at the

very least, some indication that the

department’s omission or failure is

reasonable.

3 The distinction between the case where,

although the information in the police

department’s possession was erroneous,

that fact was known, not to a police

officer, but, rather, to a third party who

(Continued)

-32a-

The record is devoid of evidence, or,

for that matter, any attempt to introduce

evidence, tending to establish the amount

of time it reasonably would, or should,

have taken to clear the computer of

executed warrants. The Court of Special

Appeals held as a matter of law, reasoning

from cases upholding arrests based on

similar outdated information, that a “net”

did not inform the police that the

information was erroneous, and the case

where the police know or should know that

information upon which they rely is

erroneous is’ significant. Carter v.

State, 18 Md. App. 150, 154 n.1, 305 A.2d

856, 859 n.1 (1973). Thus, the cases of

United States v. De Leon-Reyna, 930 F.2d

396 (5th Cir. 1991) (en banc), in which

the good faith exception was applied to

uphold a warrantless arrest based on

reliance upon mistaken license plate

information, and Durio v. State, 807

S.W.2d 876 (Tex.Cr.App. 1991), in- which

the good faith exception was applied to

uphold reliance by police officers upon an

invalid warrant which’ was, however,

facially valid, do not support the Court

of Special Appeals’ decision. In both

cases, a third party was the actor, not

the police department.

-33a-

delay of four days* in clearing a computer

of outdated information is not sufficient

to amount to - police misconduct’ or

negligence implicating the application of

the exclusionary rule. That

determination, however. is not one that

may be made as a matter of law. The

question whether a lapse of time was

sufficiently short so that reliance by the

police may properly be considered

reasonable and in good faith may be a

mixed question of law and fact. Moreover,

the burden to establish the _ facts

underlying that determination rests with

the State. Stackhouse v. State, 298 Md.

203, 217, 468 A.2d 333, 341 (1983) (Burden

of proving exigent circumstances is on the

4 As previously noted, the total delay was

seven days, but two of those days were on

a weekend and a third was a holiday.

-34a-

State); Bouldin v. State, 276 Md. 511,

515, 350 A.2d 130, 133 (1976) (Burden on

State to show that lawful arrest occurred

prior to search alleged to be incident

thereto). And the good faith exception

does not serve to excuse the State of that

burden. Since the State failed to meet

its burden of going forward with evidence

as to the amount of time reasonably

required to clear the computer of outdated

information, not to mention the burden of

persuasion on the issue, the trial court

properly suppressed the evidence;

consequently, the judgment of the Court of

Special Appeals must ‘be reversed. >

5 The determination whether it is

reasonable or unreasonable for outdated

information to remain in a computer must

be made after consideration of the

totality of the circumstances. One of the

circumstances is whose responsibility it

is to keep information in the computer

current. We point out that, where the

right of citizens to be free from an

(Continued)

ia na ecienaiiaciaaeacaeaa satiate

-35a-

B.

Notwithstanding the illegality of

petitioner’s arrest, the State maintains

that petitioner lacked standing to

challenge the search of his companion’s

illegal arrest is at stake, because

infringement upon the rights of the

citizenry will not be lightly tolerated,

the State’s burden is heavy. In that

regard, we observe that the dispatch with

which a police department acts in putting

information into its computer’ system

should serve as a guide as to the dispatch

with which it should be required to act in

taking information out of the system. The

State acknowledged at oral argument that

it does not take a lot of time to enter

warrant information into a _ computer,

certainly not seven days, or even four

days; it should take no longer to remove

information from the computer than it

takes to put it in. We also wonder

whether the occurrence of a weekend or

holiday has any real relevance to the

question of the reasonableness of a delay

in clearing a computer of outdated

information. Unlike a business in the

private sector, a police department

ordinarily is a 24-hour a day, seven days

a week and holiday operation. Therefore,

strong evidence should be required to

justify omitting holidays and weekends in

computing the delay.

-36a~-

automobile. It argues, therefore, that

the Court of Special Appeals erred in

assuming, albeit arguendo, that he did.

This argument must proceed on the premise

that at issue is the legality of a car

search qua car search, see the State’s

citation to, inter alia, Rakas_ssv.

Illinois, 439 U.S. 128, 99 S.Ct. 421, 58

L.Ed.2d 387 (1978), and its reliance upon

California v. Acevedo, 500 U.S. » 223

S.Ct. 1982, 114 L.Ed.2d 619 (1991); New

York v. Class, 475 U.S. 106, 112-13, 106

S.Ct. 960, 965, 89 L.Ed.2d 81, 89-90

(1986); South Dakota v. Opperman, 428 U.S.

364, 368, 96 S.Ct. 3092, ° 3096, 49 L.Ed.2d

1000, 1005 (1976); Doering v. State, 313

Md. 384, 399, 545 A.2d 1281, 1288

(1988). Thus, it is understandable that

the State asserts that petitioner failed

to show that he had a legitimate

expectation of privacy in the

-37a-

automobile. See Ricks v. State, 312 Md.

11, 26, 537 A.2d 612, 619, cert. denied,

488 U.S. 832, 109 S.Ct. 90, 102 L.Ed.2d 66

(1988). As to the latter contention, it

also says that petitioner did not

establish his standing to challenge the

search by merely showing that he was

seated in the driver’s seat; he needed to

show, in addition, that he had driven the

car or to produce evidence that he had

control over, or an expectation of privacy

ami 2G,

The search in this case was. one

incident to arrest, as the Court of

Special Appeals held, 85 Md. App. at 647,

584 A.2d at 1274, and the State, in its

brief, concedes. Such a search is lawful

to the same extent as the arrest pursuant

to which it was undertaken; if the arrest

is illegal, the search incident to that

arrest is also illegal. fTrusty v. State,

-36a-

308 Md. 658, 661 n.2, 521 A.2d 749, 750

n.2 (1987); Stanley v. State, 230 Md. 188,

191, 186 A.2d 478, 481 (1962); Dipasquale

v. State, 43 Md. App. 574, 575, 406 A.2da

665, 666 (1979); Dixon v. State, 23 Md.

App. 19, 26, 327 A.2a 516, 521 (1974).

See also Bouldin v. State, 276 Md. 511,

515, 350 A.2d 130, 132 (1976). In this

case, but for petitioner’s arrest, the

police would have had neither the occasion

nor, presumably, any cause to conduct a

search of the car--according to the

evidence, petitioner and his companion did

nothing criminal in the officer’s

presence. Because it was as a result of

official intrusion on petitioner’s

personal Fourth Amendment right, Rakas v.

Illinois, 439 U.S. at 133-34, 99 S.Ct. at

425, 58 L.Ed.2d at 394-95, i.e. his right

to be secure from an illegal seizure of

his person, that the search was

iain atin

-39a-

undertaken, which intrusion has been

determined to have been illegal,

petitioner must have the right to point

out that the search incident to his arrest

is, like the arrest, illegal and to move

to suppress the fruits of that search.

In Wong Sun _v. United States, 371

U.S. 471, 83 S.Ct. 407, 9 L.Ed.2d 441

(1963), the Supreme Court made clear that

"fruit of the poisonous tree”, id. at 488,

83 S.Ct. at 417, 9 L.Ed.2d at 454, “bar[s]

from trial physical, tangible materials

obtained either during or as a direct

result of an unlawful invasion.” 371 U.s.

at 485, 83 S.ct. at 416, 9 L.Ed.2d at

454. Thus, where contraband is “come at

by exploitation of {a primary]

illegality,” 371 U.S. at 488, 83 S.Ct. at

417, 9 L.Ed.2d at 455, quoting Maguire,

Evidence of Guilt, 221 (1959), rather than

from a source distinguishable from, and,

-40a-

therefore, purged of the taint, it must be

suppressed and may not be used against the

petitioner. Id. The exploitation of a

primary illegality does not refer only to

an illegal search; it may refer to an

unlawful seizure of the person. See,

e.g., United States v. Erwin, 875 F.2d

268, 269-70 (10th Cir. 1989), in which the

court recognized the distinction to be

drawn between “standing to challenge a

stop and standing to challenge a

search.” The court pointed out, citing,

inter alia, Wong Sun, 371 U.S. at 484, 83

S.ct. at 415, 9 L.Ed.2d at 453, that

"(ejven if defendant lacks standing to

challenge the search of the car, if the

initial stop was illegal, the seized

contraband is subject to exclusion under

the ‘fruit of the poison tree’ doctrine.”

875 F.2d at 269 n.2.

~4la-

In United States v. Hill, 855 F.2a

664, 666 (10th Cir. 1988) the court

excluded evidence seized incident to an

illegal arrest. Other cases and treatise

writers have gone even further. E.g.

United States v. Durant, 730 F.2d 1180,

1182 (8th Cir. 1984) (recognizing that a

passenger in an automobile that is stopped

may, on the basis that it was illegal,

move to suppress evidence uncovered as a

direct result of the stop); United States

v. Williams, 589 F.2d 210, 214 (Sth Cir...

1979) (same); State v. Haworth, 106 Idaho

405, 679 P.2d 1123, 1123-24 (1984) (same) ;

People _v. Manke, 181 I11.App.3d 374, 130

Ill. Dec. 192, 194, 537 N.E.2d 13, 15

(1989) (same); State v. Eis, 348 N.W.2a

224, 225-27 (Iowa 1974) (same); State v.

Epperson, 237 Kan. 707, 703 P.2d 761, 770

(1985); People v. Smith, 106 A.D.2d 525,

483 N.Y.S.2d 62, 63 (1984) (same); State

-42a-

v. Scott, 59 Or. App. 220, 650 P.2d 985,

987 (1982) (same); State v. DeMasi, 419

A.2d 285, 294-95 (R.I. 1980), vacated on

other grounds, 452 U.S. 334, 101 S.Ct.

3072, 69 L.Ed.2d 948 (1981) (same); see

also 1 LaFave and é “Israel, Criminal

Procedure § 9.1, 422 (1985), in which it

is said:

that a passenger does not _ have

standing to object to police conduct

which intrudes upon his Fourth

Amendnent protection against

unreasonable seizure of his person.

If either the stopping of the car or

the passenger’s removal from it are

unreasonable in a Fourth Amendment

sense, then surely the passenger has

standing to object to those

constitutional violations and to have

suppressed any evidence found in the

car which is their fruit.

Setting aside the question whether,

under these circumstances, the petitioner

had a legitimate expectation of privacy in

his companion’s car, he clearly has an

interest in being free from an illegal

seizure of his person, a matter of

-43a-

legitimate concern. See United States Vv.

Cortez, 449 U.S. 411, 417, 101 S.Ct. 690,

694-95, 66 L.Ed.2d 621, 628 (1981). As to

that, petitioner has a “legitimate

expectation that [he] would be free from

the unreasonable governmental intrusion

occasioned by [his arrest].” DeMasi, 419

A.2d at 294. Hill is illustrative. In

that case, the defendants argued that

their arrests were unlawful and,

therefore, the search conducted incident

thereto was also illegal. They also

argued that the fruits of a search

conducted pursuant to a= search warrant

issued on the basis of information derived

from their illegal arrests~ should have

been suppressed as fruit of the poison

tree. 855 F.2d at 666. The court

recognized that its determination of those

questions turned on the legality of the.

arrests. Id. Before addressing that

~-44a-

issue, however, it rejected the

government’s argument that one of the

defendants did not have standing to

challenge the legality of the search,

which was of a houseboat that he did not

own. It explained:

We hold that no showing of a privacy

interest is necessary under the facts

of this case. The main thrust of

Hill’s argument is that his warrant-

less arrest violated the Fourth

Amendment and that all evidence

obtained as a result of the arrest is

therefore tainted and must be

suppressed. Hill clearly may

challenge the validity of his own

arrest. We hold that he may therefore

claim that evidence found as a fruit

of the arrest should be excluded.

Id. To like effect is Epperson, in which

the court recognized that:

Epperson’s right to challenge the

search stems not from the fact that he

was previously a passenger in the

motor vehicle, but because he is a

person who was unlawfully stopped and

seized, and because the search

followed as a consequence thereof.

-

-45a-

703 P.2d at 770.°

In Rakas, the issue was whether the

Fourth Amendment rights of the occupants

of an automobile, stopped because it was

believed to be the get-away car used ina

robbery, who did not assert a proprietary

°.-2 noted commentator has suggested that

the “fruit of the poisonous tree” analysis

is not always appropriate when a search is

conducted “incident” to an arrest:

When the search of the person or the

surrounding area has its only

justification as being “incident to”

the arrest under Chimel v. California

(395 U.S. 752, 89 S§.ct. 2034, 23

*"L.Ed.2d 685 (1969) } then

unquestionably the evidence found in

the search must be suppressed if the

antecedent arrest was in violation of

the Fourth Amendment. This is direct

rather than derivative evidence, and

there is no occasion to be concerned

about the limits of the fruit of the

poisonous tree doctrine.

4 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure, A

Treatise on the Fourth Amendment § 11-

4(d), 408 (2nd ed. 1987). Whether,

therefore, the evidence is viewed as

direct or derivative, it may be challenged

because the predicate for its discovery

was an illegal arrest.

-46a-

or possessory interest in the car or its

contents, had been violated so that they

could object to the search of the car and

the seizure of a rifle and shells that the

search uncovered. The defendants did not

challenge the legality of the stop of the

automobile or contend that they had been

seized when they were told to get out of

the car. See 439 U.S. at 150-51, 99 S.Ct.

at 434, 58 L.Ed.2d at 405-06 (Powell, J.

concurring). It was under these

circumstances that the Supreme Court

affirmed the jtdgment of the Illinois

Appellate Court. The Court was of the

view ‘that the "question is whether the

challenged search and seizure violated the

Fourth Amendment rights of a criminal

defendant who . seeks to exclude _ the

evidence obtained during it.” 439 U.S. at

140, 99 S.Ct. at 429, 58 L.Ed.2d at 399.

It held that, because they made no showing

that “they had any legitimate expectation

of privacy in the glove compartment or

area under the seat of the car in which

they were merely passengers,” 439 U.S. at

148, 99 S.Ct. at 433, 58 L.Ed.2d at 404,

the defendants’ Fourth Amendment rights

had not been violated and they could not

assert those of the owner of the car or

its contents. 439 U.S. at 133-34, 99

S.Ct. at 425, 58 L.Ed.2d at 394-95. Thus,

the Court found the issue more

appropriately analyzed under the

substantive Fourth Amendment right rather

than on the basis of traditional notions

of standing. 439 U.S. at 140, 99 S.ct. at

428, 58 L.Ed.2d at 399. See also Scott,

650 P.2d at 987. In that regard, then,

the Rakas analysis is consistent with the

result we reach here. It is also

inapposite since, in the instant case, by

virtue of his arrest, the personal Fourth

-48a-

Amendment rights of the petitioner were

infringed. Williams, 589 F.2d at 213-14;

Haworth, 679 P.2d at 1124; DeMasi, 419

A.2d at 294.

JUDGMENT OF THE COURT OF SPECIAL

APPEALS REVERSED; CASE REMANDED TO THAT

COURT WITH INSTRUCTIONS TO FURTHER REMAND

THE CASE TO THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR

FREDERICK COUNTY FOR DISMISSAL OF THE

CHARGES AGAINST PETITIONER.

COSTS IN THIS COURT AND IN THE COURT

OF SPECIAL APPEALS TO BE PAID BY FREDERICK

COUNTY.

MURPHY, C.J., dissents.

MURPHY, Chief Judge, dissenting.

On the facts of this case, giving

full sway to the intended reach of the

“good faith” exception so clearly

articulated in United States v. Leon, 468

U.S. 897, 104 S.Ct. 3405, 82 L.Ed.2d 677

(1984), I would affirm the judgment for

the reasons stated by the Court of Special

Appeals. The arresting officer’s conduct

was objectively reasonable. To exclude

ER eT ae ne

~49a-

the evidence in this case does not further

the ends of the exclusionary rule in any

appreciable way. While I share the

majority’s concern that the police-

Operated computer should promptly reflect

the satisfaction of an outstanding

warrant, I do not believe that the delay

in this case amounts to. such police

misconduct or negligence as warrants the

result reached by the Court. See e.g.,

Connelly v. State, 322 md. 719, 589 A.2ad

958 (1991). Nothing in Whiteley vy.

Warden, upon which the majority places

such stress, mandates the reversal of the

judgment in this case.

é

ee

-50a-

APPENDIX B

STATE OF MARYLAND

Vv.

THOMAS E. OTT, III.

Court of Special Appeals of Maryland.

January 29, 1991.

Argued before GARRITY, ALPERT and

FISCHER, JJ.

ALPERT, Judge.

In this case, the State charged

Thomas E. Ott, III - (appellee) with

possession of a controlled dangerous

substance, possession of a controlled

dangerous substance with intent to

distribute, and possession of drug

paraphernalia. After a hearing on Ott’s

motion to suppress the evidence, the

Circuit Court for Frederick County granted

a ee

-Sla-

the motion and the State (appellant)

appeals to us from that ruling.

FACTS

Corporal James Fogle of the Frederick

County Sheriff’s Office was the sole

witness who testified at the suppression

hearing. His testimony established the

following facts:

On January 5, 1990, Corporal Fogle

was on routine patrol near the Francis

Scott Key Mall in Frederick, Maryland. At

about 1:40 a.m., he observed two people

sitting in a car in an otherwise deserted

public parking lot in that mall. No signs

were posted that said “No trespassing,”

nor were there any indicating that parking

was prohibited after certain hours. In

short, no restrictions had been posted at

all. Fogle stopped to check the car and

its occupants because of thefts and acts

of vandalism that previously had occurred

-52a-

in the parking lot. When he decided to do

so, he saw nothing suspicious occurring in

the car or anywhere else nearby.

Fogle asked the two individuals their

names and also asked what they were doing

there. They identified themselves as

Thomas Ott (seated in the driver’s seat)

and Sandra Sorenson (seated in the

passenger’s seat), and said that they were

just talking. After Fogle obtained

identification from each one, he radioed

police headquarters to run a computer

check to determine whether either of them

was the subject of an _ outstanding

warrant. Nothing in Fogle’s testimony

suggested that Ott’s or Sorenson’s

responses to his initial questions were

suspicious in any manner; likewise, Fogle

appears to have requested written

identification to run a computer check as

a matter of routine.

-53a-

The computer check indicated that an

outstanding warrant existed for Ott

because of his failure to appear in a

civil “non-payment” case. Fogle

subsequently arrested Ott on this basis.

Fogle then asked Sorenson--the car owner--

to step out of the car so that the other

officers on the scene could conduct a

search incident to oOtt’s arrest. As

Sorenson exited the car, Corporal Johnson

spied a twenty-dollar bill rolled up into

a straw that fell from her lap. Fogle

confiscated the bill as evidence,

recognizing that it could be used to

ingest controlled dangerous substances.

The officers proceeded to search the

car. They discovered in the glove

compartment three bags of a white powdery

substance that Fogle recognized to be

cocaine. In addition, they found under

the passenger seat a small round mirror

-54a-

with a white powdery residue on it. The

officers handcuffed Ott and Sorenson, and

transported them both to the. police

station. After Ott signed a waiver of

rights form, he told Corporal Smith that

he was trying to sell the cocaine to get

out of debt.

Corporal Fogle later determined that,

in fact, no outstanding warrant existed

for Ott because the bench warrant had been

satisfied on December 29, 1989. Another

sheriff apparently had served the warrant,

but had not removed it from the computer

before January S, 1990. At the

suppression hearing, the State introduced

a computer printout which showed that

there was an active warrant when Corporal

Fogle ran the computer search.

The State rested at the conclusion of

Corporal Fogle’s testimony; defense

counsel announced that he would not

-55a-

present any evidence, only argument. At

that point, the State argued that Ott did

not have standing to object to the vehicle

search because Sorenson Owned the car.

Defénse counsel countered that Ott indeed

had standing because he had been sitting

in the driver’s seat. Defense counsel

also argued that the court should suppress

the evidence because no outstanding

warrant existed when Fogle arrested Ott on

January 5, 1990.

The trial court held that Ott had

Standing by virtue of “his sitting in the

passenger seat of the vehicle at the time

that the officers came up.” The court

further held that the officers had no

probable cause “in the first place to go

in like they dia. Finally, the court

held that the officers could not search

the glove compartment incident to Oott’s

arrest ”“[b]ecause the weapons would

-56a-

certainly be outside the reach of Mr. Ott

who was already handcuffed according to

the officers.” For these reasons, the

court granted Ott’s motion to suppress the

evidence. On appeal, the State asks us to

decide whether the trial court erred when

it suppressed the evidence that’ the

officers seized incident to Ott’s arrest.

The Search and Seizure

The State contends that the trial

court erred when it granted Ott’s motion

to suppress the evidence. It argues that

we should reverse the trial court’s

decision for any one of the following

three reasons: (1) Ott lacked standing to

challenge the lawfulness of the vehicle

search, (2) Ott’s arrest was legal and the

search therefore was a valid search

incident to a lawful arrest, and (3) even

if the arrest technically was improper

because no outstanding warrant existed

-S7a-

when Corporal Fogle arrested Ott, the

officer acted in good faith so _ the

exclusionary rule should not apply.

Because we shall hold that there was

no Fourth Amendment violation, we assume

arguendo that Ott had standing to

Challenge the lawfulness of the vehicle

searched and therefore need not address

that issue.

A. Initial Encounter

1. Police-Citizen Encounter

The State argues that neither

probable cause nor articulable suspicion

was required for Corporal Fogle to

approach the car and to question the

occupants. We agree.

Not every encounter between police

officers and citizens engages the

protections of the Fourth Amendment. See

Terry _v. Ohio, 392 U.s. ae 23, 88 8.Ct.

1868, 1875, 20 L.Ed.2da 889 (1968). These

-58a-

protections would apply only if a police

officer “seized” a citizen during the

course of such an encounter. See 3 W.

LaFave Search and Seizure § 9.2(h), at 402

(1987) [hereinafter W. LaFave]. "(A]

person has been ‘seized’ within the

meaning of the Fourth Amendment only if,

in view of all the circumstances

surrounding the incident, a reasonable

person would have believed that he was not

free to leave.#+ United States v.

1 In 3 W. LaFave, Search and Seizure §

9.2(h), at 410-418 (1987) [hereinafter W.

LaFave], LaFave notes that if the "freedom

to walk away” test under Mendenhall and

Royer is interpreted literally; then

almost all encounters between police

officers and citizens would be considered

Fourth Amendment seizures because the

average person would feel compelled to

stop and respond. Id. at 410. Instead,

LaFave proposes a reinterpretation of the

“freedom to walk away” test

which is grounded in the proposition

that police, without having later to

justify their conduct by articulating

a certain degree of suspicion, should

be allowed ‘to seek cooperation, even

(Continued)

-59a-

Mendenhall, 446 U.S. 544, 554, 100 S.ct.

where this may involve inconvenience

or embarrassment for the citizen, and

even though many citizens will defer

to this authority of the police

because they believe--in some vague

way-~-that they should.’ That is, if

‘the moral and instinctive pressures

to cooperate are in general sound and

may be relied on by the police,’ then

a street encounter does not amount to

a fourth amendment’. seizure merely

because of those pressures--that is,

merely because the other party to the

encounter is known to be a

policeman. Rather, the confrontation

is a seizure only if the officer adds

to those inherent pressures by

engaging in conduct Significantly

beyond that accepted in social

intercourse. The critical factor is

whether the policeman, even if making

inquiries a private citizen would not,

has otherwise conducted himself in a

manner which would be perceived as a

nonoffensive contact if it occurred

between two ordinary citizens.

Id. at 410-11 (citations omitted).

LaFave finds this approach useful in

cases in which a police officer interacts

with an individual seated in a parked car.

id. at 415. Thus, there is no seizure

when an officer approaches and questions

Such persons, uses a generally accepted

means such as tapping on the window to get

the person’s attention, opens the door if

the person is asleep, or even requests

that the person roll down the window or

(Continued)

-60a-

1870, 1877, 64 L.Ed.2a 497 (1980); see

also Florida v. Royer, 460 U.S. 491, 497-

98, 103 S.Ct. 1319, 1323-24, 75 L.Ed.2d

229 (1983). More than mere questioning by

a police officer is required to make a

reasonable person believe that he or she

is not free to leave, and a number.of

courts have held that no seizure occurred

when a police officer approached a parked

car to ask the occupants a few

questions. See 3 W. LaFave, supra, §

9.2(h), at 408-09 & n.230 (1987 & Supp.

1991).

open the door. Id. at 415-16 (citations

omitted). At the same time, an order to

roll down the window or open the door or

for the individual to get out of the car

can turn the encounter into a seizure for

Fourth Amendment purposes. Id. at 416.

LaFave points out that this general

approach also explains “why vehicle stops

are generally viewed as seizures while

pedestrian encounters typically are

not....” Id. at 417.

-6la-

In this case, Corporal Fogle

approached the parked car and asked the

two occupants who they were and what they

were doing. They identified themselves

and said that they were “just talking.”

In our view, this exchange did not

constitute a seizure within the meaning of

the Fourth Amendment. We think that a

reasonable person under these

circumstances would have believed that he

or she was "free to leave.” That is,

Officer Fogle did nothing to add to the

“moral and instinctive pressures’ to

cooperate” that Ott and Sorenson might

have felt by “engaging in conduct

significantly beyond that accepted in

social intercourse. #2 see 3 W. LaFave,

2 There was no evidence in the record to

Suggest that the officer exerted even

subtle pressure on Ott to remain there and

to cooperate with the officer’s

requests. Further, the State at oral

(Continued)

-62a-

supra, § 9.2(h), at 412; see also supra

note 1.

2. Identification Request

We further hold that the officer’s

subsequent request for Ott’s

identification? to run a computer check

argument acknowledged that Ott could have

left at any time had he chosen to do so.

Ott, however, argued in his brief

that when the police officer asked him for

identification to run a computer check,

Ott could not reasonably have believed

that he was free to refuse the request or

to leave. In our discussion, infra, we

find that sections 13-409 and 16-112 of

the Transportation Code authorize police

officers to request an individual’s

driver’s license and/or vehicle

registration card. See infra text pp.

639-643 and notes 4 & 5. In Beckwith v.

State, 78 Md. App. 358, 362, 553 A.2d 259

(1989), rev’d on other grounds, 320 Md.

410, 578 A.2d 220 (1990), we agreed that

under the circumstances of that case, the

officers had no right to demand to see the

defendant’s driver’s license, but we

distinguished between a “"demand” and a

“request.” As in Beckwith, there was no

evidence of a “demand” in this case.

3 The record is unclear as to whether the

officer used Ott’s verbal identification

of himself or a document with

(Continued)

-63a-

was reasonable and did not turn the

consensual encounter into a seizure under

the Fourth Amendment. Maryland cases have

identification to run the computer check:

Q Who did you identify them as being?

A The driver was mr. Ott, seated with

Mr. Stillrich. And the passenger was

a Sandra Sorenson.

Q Alright, did you ask them what they

were doing in the parking lot?

A Yes I did.

Q And what was the response?

A They stated they were just talking.

Q Alright and what did you do then?

A I ran a computer check, I got

identification from both and ran a

computer check for wanted on both of

them.

In his brief, ott alleged that Officer

Fogle violated ott’s freedom of movement

when he “obliged [Ott] to hand over

written identification (presumably, his

driver’s license) so that he could ‘run a

computer check for wanted’ on him....”

(emphasis added).

We think it is reasonable to assume

for our purposes that Ott produced a

document with identification and that it

was a driver’s license. Because the

police later determined that Sorenson

Owned the car, it is unlikely that ott

would have produced a vehicle registration

card to identify himself.

aa aati Nt

-64a-

interpreted sections 13-4094 and 16-112°

of the Transportation Code to authorize

police officers to request an individual’s

driver’s license and/or vehicle

registration card. See Byrd v. State, 13

Md. App. 288, 292-93, 283 A.2d 9 (1971);

Taylor v. State, 9 Md. App. 402, 405-06,

264 A.2dad 870 (1970); see also Beckwith v.

State, 78 Md. App. 358, 362 n.4, 553 A.2d

259 (1989), rev’d on other grounds, 320

Md. 410, 578 A.2a 220 (1990).

4 Section 13-409(b) provides that “*[o]jn

demand of a police officer who identifies

himself as a police officer, an individual

who is driving or in control of a vehicle

shall display a registration card that

refers to the vehicle.” Md.Transp.Code

Ann. § 13-409(b) (1987).

> section 16-112(c) provides that *”“[e]Jach

individual driving a motor vehicle on any

highway in this State shall display the

license to any uniformed police officer

who demands it.” Md.Transp.Code Ann. § 16-

112(c) (1987).

-65a-

The facts in the case sub judice are

Similar to those in Taylor v. State, 9 Md.

App. 402, 264 A.2da 870 (1970). In Taylor,

a@ police officer observed two young men

sitting in a car, which was parked in

front of a bar ina high crime area of the

city at 12:15 a-m. Id. at 404, 264 A.2q

870. Knowing that “it’s the younger

. generation generally observed stealing

cars,’” the officer asked James Edward

Taylor, who was seated in the driver’s

seat, for a driver’s license and vehicle

registration card. id. The officer took

these documents and Called the police

Station to determine whether the vehicle

was stolen and whether there were any

warrants outstanding on Taylor. Id. There

were, as it happened, and the officer

arrested Taylor. Id. at 404-05, 264 A.2aq

870. After the arrest, the officer

observed two brown envelopes on the front

-66a-

seat. Id. at 405, 264 A.2d 870. He knew

from experience that these often were used

for narcotics. Id. Examination of these

envelopes revealed a “large number of

capsules and a leafy substance,” later

determined to be methadone and marijuana.

"Id. The trial court admitted the

narcotics into evidence over Taylor’s

objections. Id. Taylor appealed from his

conviction of unlawful possession of

narcotics, contending--among other things-

-that the officer had no right to check

his driver’s license and vehicle

registration: his car had been parked at

the time and the officer had not observed

any illegalities. Id. at 404-05, 264 A.2d

870. Taylor also contended that even if

the officer had the authority to request

the documents, he should not have detained

Taylor after he had displayed them. Id.

-67a-

In writing for the court, Judge

Robert C. Murphy--then Chief Judge of the

Court of Special Appeals and now Chief

Judge of the Court of Appeals--pointed out

that Article 664 sections 97 and 31°

6 The language of the statutes in effect

when the court decided Taylor is different

than that of the current statutes. See

Supra notes 4 & 5. At that time, Article

Sch section 97 provided that “([o]perating

licenses shall at all times be carried by

the licensee when Operating a motor

Section 31 of that article stated

that “[e]very such registration card shall

be carried at all times in the vehicle to

which it refers or shall be carried by the

person driving or in control of such

law.” Md.Ann.Code, art. 66, § 31 (1967).

We think that the difference in the

statutory language is minimal and makes no

difference for our Purposes in this case.

-68a-

authorized uniformed officers to request a

driver’s license and vehicle registration

card respectively. Id. at 405-06, 264 A.2d

870. Judge Murphy further noted that

"(tjhe applicability of the statutes do

[sic] not, however, depend upon whether

the operator has committed some traffic or

other violation of law, nor are they

inapplicable simply because the vehicle is

parked, rather than in actual operation.”

Id. at 406, 264 A.2d 870 (citations

omitted).

The Taylor court held that the

officer, who was in uniform, “had the

right to ask [Taylor] for his driver’s

license and registration card,” and that

Taylor was not “seized” simply because the

officer verified the documents by radioing

police headquarters. Id. The court

further held that probable cause to make

-69a-

the arrest arose once the officer learned

of the outstanding warrant. Id.

In this case, we already have

established that the officer’s initial

contact with Ott was not a seizure under

the Fourth Amendment. Following our

decision in Taylor, we hold that the

officer’s request for Ott’s

identification--presumably a driver’s

license--was authorized by section 16-112

of the Transportation Code and was not a

seizure under the facts of this case.’

In so holding, we are not unmindful

of our decision in Goode Vv. State, 41 Md.

App: 623, 398 A.2d 801 (1979). In Goode,

we held that the random stop of a single

7 We want to make clear that the facts of

this case are such that it falls short of

a Terry stop as well and that we do not

uphold the officer’s actions on that

basis. See Terry v. Ohio, 392 U.S. 1, 88

S.¢e. 1868, 20 L.Ed.2d 889 (1968).

-70a-

vehicle for a routine check under sections

16-112 and 13-409 of the Transportation

Code constituted an unconstitutional

seizure, id. at 628, 398 A.2d 801, unless

there was some minimal factual basis

(*“articulable specific facts”) to underpin

the stop. Id. at 630-31, 398 A.2d 801. We

also overruled “any of our prior decisions

to the extent that they ... indicate[d] a

sanctioning of the single stop. ”8 Id. at

628, 398 A.2d 8s0l. We think, however,

8 Among the previous decisions that we

overruled were Kraft v. State, 18 Md. App.

169, 305 A.2d 489 (1973); Glover v. State,

14 Md. App. 454, 287 A.2d 333 (1972); and

Burkett v. State, 5 Md. App. 211, 245 A.2d

911 (1968). See Goode v. State, 41 Md.

App. 623, 628 n.6, 398 A.2d 801 (1979).

-7la-

that Goode and vehicle stop cases

generally? are distinguishable from the

instant case.

A random stop of a vehicle to check

the driver’s documents--such as that in

Goode~--visits a “physical and

Psychological intrusion” on the vehicle’s

occupants. Delaware v. Prouse, 440 U.S.

648, 657, 99 S.ct. 1391, 1398, 59 L.Ed.2d

660 (1979). These vehicle stops

"generally entail law enforcement officers

Signaling a moving automobile to pull over

to the side of the roadway, by means of a

9 But see United States v. Adegbite, 846

F.2d 834, 838 (1988), in which the Second

Circuit found that “where the car had

Cars to which the Mendenhall seizure test

(the “freedom to walk away” test) is

applied. (citations omitted). See supra

We Be

-72a-

possibly unsettling show of authority.”

Id. They interfere with “freedom of

movement, are inconvenient, and consume

time.” Id. Further, they “may create

substantial anxiety.” Id.

Any intrusion visited upon’ the

occupant of a parked vehicle--such as the

one in this case--is minimal by

comparison. Here, there was no

“unsettling show of authority” by Corporal

Fogle, either when he approached the car,

asked questions of the occupants, or

requested their identification. There was

no interference with the occupants’

freedom of movement because the vehicle

already was parked. Further, the

momentary inconvenience and brief time

involved for the officer to verify that

the parties were who they said they were

do not seem unreasonable given the

circumstances, i.e., the car was the sole

-73a-

vehicle in a deserted Parking lot at 1:40

a.m. and the officer was aware of previous

acts of theft anda vandalism that had

occurred in the lot. We believe that

there is a Substantial difference between

the random Stop of a vehicle to run a

“routine” check on a driver’s license ana

vehicle registration card, and a request

for identification to verify the same from

In short, the Officer’s request for

identification Was not a seizure

under the Fourth Amendment.

B. Arrest

Once police headquarters informed

Corporal Fogle that an outstanding warrant

existed for Ott, the officer then had

Probable cause to make the arrest. Our

analysis does not end here, however,

because the officer later learned that the

-74a-

warrant on which he relied to make the

arrest had been served by the sheriff the

previous week.

1. Good Faith Exception

The State contends that Ott’s arrest

was legal despite the fact that the

warrant already had been served and the

police had failed to remove it from their

computer files. It argues that Corporal

Fogle’s good faith reliance on the warrant

precludes the application of the

exclusionary rule. Thus, we must decide

whether the good faith exception to the

* exclusionary rule applies under the facts

of this case.

The exclusionary rule is a

“‘judicially created remedy’” designed to

deter police misconduct. United States v.

Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 906, 917, 104 S.Ct.

3405, 3411, 3417, 82 L.Ed.2d 677 (1984)

(citation omitted). “'The deterrent

-75a-

purpose of the exclusionary rule

necessarily assumes that the police have

engaged in willful, or at the very least

negligent, conduct which has deprived the

defendant of some right. [] If the purpose

of the exclusionary rule is to deter

unlawful police conduct, then evidence

obtained from a search should be

suppressed only if it can be said that the

law enforcement officer had knowledge, or

may properly be charged with knowledge,

that the search was unconstitutional under

the Fourth Amendment. /” Id. at 919, 1064

S.Ct. at 3418 (quoting United States vy.

Peltier, 422 U.S. 531, 539, 542, 95 S.Ct.

2313, 2318, 2320, 45 L.Ed.2d 374 (1975)

(emphasis added).

Courts that have addressed the

problem of an arrest based on outdated

police records focus upon whether the

officers’ good faith reliance on the

-76a-

inaccurate records provided probable cause

for a valid arrest. In making that

determination, these courts primarily have

considered the amount of time that elapsed

between the time that the warrant or

stolen vehicle report became invalid and

the time of the arrest. See Annotation,

Validity of Arrest Made in Reliance Upon

Uncorrected or Outdated Warrant List or

Similar Police Records, 45 A.L.R. 4th, at

554 (1986).

In Carter v. State, 18 Md. App. 150,

305 A.2d 856 (1973), we said that probable

cause for an arrest did not exist when the

officer, in making the arrest, relied on

an official police broadcast that was

based on erroneous information--an

outdated stolen vehicle report. The

stolen vehicle report on which the officer

relied became invalid on January 10,

1969. On March 10, 1969, the date of the

-77a-

arrest, the police still had not cancelled

or rescinded the outdated report. Thus,

the report was active for two months

longer than it should have been.

We based our decision in Carter on

the "collective knowledge” rule, see Albo

Vv. State, 477 So.2d 1071, 1075 n.4

(Fla.Dist.Ct.App. 1985), that the Supreme

Court established in Whiteley yv. Warden,

401 U.S. 560, 568, 91 S.ct. 1031, 1037, 28

L.Ed.2d 306 (1971), i.e., that = an

individual officer need not have personal

knowledge of facts which show probable

cause so long as. other officers who

directed the arrest have such personal

knowledge. That rule works both ways: "to

validate an arrest when the responsible

officers have Probable cause and to

vitiate it when ... none objectively

-78a-

exists. 719 Albo, 477 So.2ad at 1073.

10 the court’s decision in United States

v. Leon, 468 U.S. 897, 104 S.Ct. 3405, 82

L.Ed.2d 677 (1984), left the rule

unaffected.

The exception to the exclusionary rule

stated in Leon specifically applies to

a case in which ’an officer acting

with objective good faith has obtained

a search warrant from a judge or

magistrate and acted within its

scope. ’ In that instance, the fact

that the magistrate had erroneously

found probable cause [did] not result

in a suppression of evidence seized

under the warrant. The explicitly-

stated basis for this holding was the

determination that the interest in

deterring unlawful police conduct,

which is the foundation of the

exclusionary rule, is not implicated

in such a case. This is because, on

the one hand, the situation involves

‘no police illegality and thus nothing

to deter, ’ and, on the other,

exclusion would have no ‘significant

deterrent effect on the issuing judge

or magistrate’ who made the underlying

error. Plainly, these considerations

have no effect upon a case like Pesci

{v. State, 420 So.2d 380 (Fla.3d DCA

1982)] or this one in which no

judicial determination was involved

and the arrest was based instead

wholly upon = erroneous information

supplied by the law enforcement

authorities themselves.

(Continued)

-79a-

Consequently, we said in Carter that

because “the information possessed by the

police team was an outdated erroneous

report of a stolen motor vehicle which the

Police had recovered on the same day it

was taken, [t]he Police team... must be

Charged with the knowledge that the report

was, in effect, rescinded when [the

POLGGe} «ss. recovered the car shortly

after it was stolen. Accordingly, the

erroneous information transmitted to {the

officer] and on the basis of which he

arrested the appellant was clearly

insufficient to show Probable cause.” Id.

[18 Md. App.] at 156, 305 a.oqg 856.

We think that the “collective

knowledge/collective ignorance” rule, -see

Albo, 477 So.2da at 1075 n.4, applies in

Albo v. State, 477 So.2d 1071, 1073 (1985)

(citations omitted) (emphasis added).

-80a-

this case as well. We already have noted

that it is the amount of time which

elapses between the time that the warrant

or stolen vehicle report becomes invalid

and the time of the arrest which primarily

determines whether probable cause exists

for a valid arrest.++

In this case, the sheriff actually

served the warrant on Ott on Friday,

December 29, 1989. The warrant still

appeared active in the computer files at

the time of Ott’s arrest at 1:40 a.m. on

January 5, 1990. Corporal Fogle did not

learn until that evening (January 5) that

the sheriff had served the warrant the

11. The probable cause determination

appears to be a legal fiction. The court,

in effect, actually determines whether

there was police misconduct--or at least

negligence--that might be deterred in the

future by the application of the

exclusionary rule. 2 W. LaFave § 3.5(d),

at 21-22.

-8la-

week before. In contrast to the stolen

vehicle report in Carter, the warrant

remained active for seven days beyond the

time that the police should have removed

it from the computer files. Two of those

days, December 30 and 31, were a Saturday

and a Sunday; a third day, January 1, was

a holiday. We assume that Corporal Fogle

learned on January 5 that the warrant no

longer was active because someone entered

the information into the computer on that

day. Thus, the warrant remained in the

computer a total of four days longer than

it should have.

Based on the facts before us, we do

not think that this is a case of police

misconduct or negligence such that we

should apply the exclusionary rule. Other

courts have upheld arrests based on

Similar outdated information. These

courts were "unwilling to invalidate the

-82a-

arrest simply because ‘’[a]dministrative

delays attendant to the operation of any

metropolitan police department resulted in

failure to remove satisfied warrants from

the computer ‘active’ list before the

officers received the radio dispatch...

that the warrants were outstanding.’”

Commonwealth v. Riley, 284 Pa.Super. 280,

425 A.2d 813, 816 (1981) (quoting

Childress v. United States, 381 A.2d 614

(D.C.App. 1977). We hold that’ the

officer’s good faith reliance on

computerized information that was only

four days out of date was sufficient to

justify Ott’s warrantless arrest. Thus,

the warrantless search of the vehicle was

valid as a search incident to a lawful

arrest, and the trial court erred when it

granted oOtt’s motion to suppress’ the

evidence.

-83a-

2. Scope of Search Incident to an

Arrest

In the suppression hearing, the court

found that even if the officers had had a

valid warrant, i.e., probable cause for

Ott’s arrest, they exceeded the

permissible scope of a search incident to

a lawful arrest when they opened the glove

compartment. The court reached this

conclusion by reasoning that any weapons

in the car would have been outside Ott’s

reach because the officer already had

handcuffed him. In its brief, the State

contends that “it was proper to search the

glove compartment and interior of the car

even though Ott was handcuffed and outside

of the car.”

Once an officer lawfully arrests an

individual, the officer is permitted to

search, incident to that arrest, the

individual’s person, the passenger

-84a-

compartment of the car, and any containers

found in the passenger compartment.

United States v. Taylor, 857 F.2d 210, 214

(4th Cir. 1988); see also New York v.

Belton, 453 U.S. 454, 101 S.Ct. 2860, 69

L.Ed.2d 768 (1981). In Belton, the

Supreme Court construed the term

‘container’ to mean “any object capable of

holding another object .. . includ{ing]}

closed or open glove compartments. .. .”

Id. 453 U.S. at 461 n.4, 101 S.Ct. at 2864

n.4, 69 L.Ed.2d at 775 n.4. Further, we

think that under Belton, an officer may

conduct a vehicle search even though the

defendant has been removed from the car,

handcuffed, and even placed in the

police cruiser. See 3 W. LaFave, §

7.1(c), at 15 n.73 (1987 & Supp. 1991).

ORDER GRANTING MOTION TO SUPPRESS

REVERSED; CASE REMANDED TO THE CIRCUIT

COURT FOR FREDERICK COUNTY FOR TRIAL;

APPELLEE TO PAY THE COSTS.

-85a-

APPENDIX C

IN THE CIRCUIT COURT FOR

FREDERICK COUNTY, MARYLAND

Criminal Trial No. 11,701

STATE OF MARYLAND

Ve

THOMAS E. OTT, III,

Defendant.

EXCERPT OF TRANSCRIPT OF PROCEEDINGS

(Ruling on Motion to Suppress)

Courthouse

Frederick, Maryland

August 7, 1990

BEFORE:

HONORABLE MARY ANN STEPLER,

Judge

APPEARANCES:

For the State:

SCOTT L. ROLLE, ESQ.

For the Defendant:

FRANKLIN D. STILLRICH, ESQ.

-86a-

[20] THE COURT: I find that Mr. Ott does

have standing by reason of his sitting in

the passenger seat of the vehicle at the

time that the officers came up.

Apparently, there was nothing suspicious

that was occurring at the time that the

officer noticed their automobile. Mr. Ott

was sitting somewhere from as far as what

the evidence is, he had a right to be,

although the parking lot was essentially

deserted and all the stores were closed,

the evidence also is that the [21] car was

doing nothing suspicious. And apparently

there was nothing to preclude him from

sitting on that lot. The officers came up

to the car uh, asking whom he was, then

ran through the computer his name. And

found that the computer had an outstanding

warrant, told him to step out, placed him

under arrest, handcuffed him, told the

passenger to step out and then

-87a-

(inaudible). I don’t have that the

officers had any probable cause in the

first place to go in like they did. Now

if one of the officers had said there’s

Thomas Ott and there’s an outstanding

warrant for him, I think that the officers

could have gone onto the vehicle. But

still to reach the glove box even if that

Situation had occurred I don’t think they

could have reached the glove box.

Certainly not incident to the arrest and

certainly not for the presence of

weapons. Because the weapons’ would

certainly be outside the reach of Mr. ott

who was already handcuffed according to

the officers. So I do not find any

probable cause to search. I’m going to

grant your Motion Mr. Stillrich. That

means the confession’s on hold, too.

* * *

-88a-

[Certificate of Court Reporter omitted in

printing]

ae a ee a et ee

oF Any © RE EON Pom na

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.