Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Bouchard v. Regional Governing Board of Region V Mental Retardation Services

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S,

§1- 1402) ‘TTLep

ms U-

-EB-2 8 1992

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

OFFICE OF THE Clenf

OCTOBER TERM,1991

BONNIE BOUCHARD; RODNEY WACKER, VICKI

DANOWICZ; GARY SEXTON; JACK D. YATES, JR.;

LAWRENCE E. YATES; ILA FETT; ROSEMARIE STEEL;

DANIEL J. ROSEY; PHYLLIS HENSLEY; KEVIN CARLSON;

JEAN PETERS; TAMMY SUE EMPFIELD; LEO F. PROKOP,

JR.; DORIS JEAN MEYER;AND PATRICK K. BOUCHARD,

PETITIONERS,

V.

THE REGIONAL GOVERNING BOARD OF REGION V

MENTAL RETARDATION SERVICES AND REGION V

MENTAL RETARDATION SERVICES,

RESPONDENTS.

KEVIN HUSS; CHRIS AMUNDSON; AND JERRY JUNKER,

PETITIONERS,

¥.

THE REGIONAL GOVERNING BOARD OF REGION V

MENTAL RETARDATION SERVICES AND REGION V

MENTAL RETARDATION SERVICES,

RESPONDENTS.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO |

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Mary C. Wickenkamp

Attorney for Petitioners

Wickenkamp Law Office

4831S. 58th St.

Lincoln, Nebraska 68516

(402)488-1381

ISSUES PRESENTED

THE COURT OF APPEALS IMPROPERLY

DISREGARDED THE FACTUAL FINDINGS UPON

WHICH THE DISTRICT COURT BASED _ ITS

CONCLUSION THAT THE DEFENDANT

APPELLANT VIOLATED THE FLSA AND FAILED

TO PROVE GOOD FAITH AS REQUIRED BY 29

U.S.C. SECTION 259 WITHOUT FIRST

DETERMINING THAT SUCH FACTUAL

FINDINGS WERE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS OR

THAT FED. R. CIV. PRO. 52(A) WAS OTHERWISE

INAPPLICABLE.

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN MAKING

FINDINGS OF FACT WHICH IGNORED A JOINT

STIPULATION OF THE PARTIES THAT, IN

ORDER TO AVOID CUMULATIVE TESTIMONY,

THAT THE TESTIMONY OF ALL PLAINTIFFS

TESTIFYING AT TRIAL WOULD BE TAKEN TO

REPRESENT THE WORKING CONDITIONS OF

ALL PLAINTIFFS EMPLOYED BY THE

DEFENDANT.

THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN FINDING

THAT REASONABLE CONFORMITY WITH

WAGE AND HOUR OPINION LETTERS

SATISFIES THE REQUIREMENTS OF 29 U.S.C.

$259 AND SUCH DECISION CONFLICTS WITH

THE ACTUAL CONFORMITY STANDARD

ADHERED TO BY OTHER CIRCUITS

THE FINDINGS OF THE APPELLATE COURT

ARE NOT SUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL

EVIDENCE ON THE RECORD

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States District Court for the District

of Nebraska is set forth in the Appendix.

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit is set forth in the Appendix as is the Court’s order of

October 16, 1991 denying Rehearing and Rehearing En Banc.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

I RRs EM POPPOEE W vcscpanssyarncesnnsencecrsencracessnsverciseasonansenal |

ac Covesacianksnxticebnensensehasenbeanenrtsiensecnenus 8

I MS Pg cersssscatsacsesenensnnsnsdvapononavannsisaknaiaxshnaes |

rac cisassaamuatenenshiecassexnixnasasevansesshvesasadeannnnynys 1]

APPENDIX ...... ReCEEED MUN cis COLL a Lt vata Sunkivenacguscvssorabuackiens tone 25

EE ED MW BOOGIE 555s cdivicnisnsnucasesescensatectcenssascensaces 2

COURT OF APPEALS OPINION ne ss 69

Cases Cited

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

ft IRESITE G CLET EN ERNE RODE EP RE NOE PENA 19

Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C ...................00.00..2.0.esseee0e. 19

rs ee ee OO ec werendokeiauuiaevauoadbaionnacin 19

ee I ee, oc cscsaseccoanuscnsnuanvarcccesesoss 19, 22

SRE UE ER 6 RRS Sea NALS nO RSA E NR ALD IND EAD eRe RAR 22

Garcia v. Sen Antonio Metro Transit Aut, ...................ccccccccoccssesoses 1]

Hultgren v. County of Lancaster, Nebraska ..0.00..........00ccc0000.. S, 43, 22

en A NN st fds i eindrammsehsaidououslebcns 18

Olson v. Superior Pontiac-GMC Inc. ..................cccccccccsscccsecccecceeees 22

ee AR ec I os sadundauebucuusivamabueriaadacs 21

Statutes and Regulations

1). ENS. age > RAEneeeereeenee Nokon Cheet Bacar as Se ee &

eee I ne Oe aan dausntoeann anes &

re a ee I cla eh) Once 2 SY eee 9

ee Se ee ED Ot ocd ak estadcone tes xtc areeneee 9

(hoe S Oy) . & + Y

yg See oF SY. 5, TORR a ee meena AR ec ear a 10

6

JURISDICTIONAL STATEMENT

The judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Eighth Circuit was entered on July 25, 1991. An order denying a

rehearing en banc was entered on October 16, 1991. On January 4,

1992 the Supreme Court of the United States entered an order with

regard to Application No.91-A476 granting Petitioners until February

28,1992 to file a Petition for Writ of Certiorari. Petitioners believe

this court has jurisdiction pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1254 and Rule 10 of

the Rules of the Supreme Court of the United States.

STATUTES AND REGULATIONS

29 U.S.C. Section §259(a)

In any action or proceeding based on any act or

omission on or after May 14, 1947, no employer shall

be subject to any liability or punishment for or on

account of the failure of the employer to pay

minimum wages or overtime compensation under the

Fair Labor Standards Act of 1938,. . .if he pleads and

proves that the act or omission complained of was in

good faith in conformity with and in reliance on any

written administrative regulation, order, ruling,

approval, or interpretation, of the agency of the United

States specified in subsection (b) of this section, or

any administrative practice or enforcement policy of

such agency with respect to the class of employers to

which he belonged. Such a defense, if established,

shall be a bar to the action or proceeding,

notwithstanding that after such act or omission, such

administrative regulation, order, ruling, approval,

interpretation, or practice, or enforcement policy is

modified or rescinded or is determined by judicial

authority to be invalid or of no legal effect.

29 C.F.R.§785.14

Whether waiting time is time worked under the Act

depends upon _ particular circumstances. The

determination involves "scrutiny and construction of

the agreements between particular parties, appraisal of

their practical construction of the working agreement

by conduct, consideration of the nature of the service,

and its relation to the waiting time, and all of the

circumstances. Facts may show that the employee was

engaged to wait or they may show that he waited to

be engaged."(Skidmore v. Swift, 323 U.S. 134 (1944))

Such questions "must be determined in accordance

with common sense and the general concept of work

or employment." (Central Mo. Tel. Co. v. Conwell,

170 F.2d 641 (C.A. 8, 1948)

29 C.F.R. Section 785.20

Under certain conditions an employee is considered to

be working even though some of his time is spent in

sleeping or in certain other activities.

29 C.F.R.Section 785.21 Less than 24 hour duty.

An employee who is required to be on duty for less

than 24 hours is working even though he is permitted

to sleep or engage in other personal activities when

not busy. A telephone operator, for example, who is

required to be on duty for specified hours is working

even though she is permitted to sleep when not busy

answering calls. It makes no difference that she 1s

furnished facilities for sleeping. Her time is given to

her employer. “She is required to be on duty and the

time is worktime.

29 C.F.R. Section 785.22

(a) General. Where an employee is required to be on

duty for 24 hours or more, the employer and the

employee may agree to exclude bona fide meal

periods and a bona fide regularly scheduled sleeping

period of not more than 8 hours from hours worked,

9

provided adequate sleeping facilities are furnished by

the employer and the employee can usually enjoy an

uninterrupted night;st sleep. If sleeping period is of

more than 8 hours, only 8 hours will be credited.

Where no expressed or implied agreement to the

contrary is present, the 8 hours of sleeping time and

lunch periods constitute hours worked. (Citations

omitted. )

29 C.F.R. Section 785.23 Employees residing on employer’s

premises or working at home.

An employee who resides on his employer’s premises

on a permanent basis or for extended periods of time

is not considered as working all the time he is on the

premises. Ordinarily, he may engage in normal private

pursuits and thus have enough time for eating,

sleeping, entertaining, and other periods of complete

freedom from all duties when he may leave the

premises for purposes of his own. It is, of course,

difficult to determine the exact hours worked under

these circumstances and any reasonable agreement of

the partics which takes into consideration all of the

pertinent facts will be accepted. This rule would apply,

for example, to the pumper of a stripper well who

resides on the premises of his employer and also to a

telephone operator who has the switchboard in her

own home. (Citations omitted.)

10

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondent Regional Governing Board of Region V

Mental Retardation Services and Region V Mental Retardation Services

(hereinafter known as Region V) is a political subdivision of the State

of Nebraska established under Neb. Rev. Stat. Section 83-141, et. seq.

(Reissue 1987). Region V_ operates group homes for mentally

retarded individuals in a sixteen county area in southeastern Nebraska.

Region V provides vocational services (teaching of vocational skills)

and residential services. The residential services consist of providing

group homes for mentally retarded clients which are supervised by

employees of Region V. Petitioners/Plaintiffs are twenty individuals

who were employed by Region V to supervise mentally retarded

clients in group homes in Fairbury, Nebraska. Their job title was Life

Skills Trainer. The Plaintiffs fall into three general categories of Life

Skills Trainers: weekday, weekend and substitute.

Prior to Garcia v. Metro Transit Authority, 469 U.S. 528

(1985) these community residences had been staffed by people paid on

a salary basis. Hours worked were not recorded.

Plaintiffs brought this action under the FLSA alleging that they

were entitled to be compensated for all "sleep time" spent on the

premises of Region V from April 15, 1986 to November 17,1989.

Weckday LSTs were paid for cight hours in a workday and

were actually on the Region V premises, for Region V's benefit, for

a total of sixteen to seventeen hours. Weekend LSTs typically were

on Region V premises from Friday afternoon to Monday morning.

Weekday LSTs typically spent four nights a weck on Region V

premises, Weekend LSTs spent three. Weekend and Weekday LSTs

were treated similarly in that they were allotted a specific amount of

time each night for sleeping purposes during which they were required

to remain on the employer’s premises and for which they were not

paid. During those sleeptime hours all LSTs were required to remain

alert in order to be aware of and respond to the needs of the mentally

retarded clients. Many of the mentally retarded clients were severely

1]

or profoundly retarded, some suffered from medical problems and

many exhibited behavioral problems. Plaintiffs sought back straight

time and overtime for the overnight hours worked on the basis that the

sleep time was in reality work time and should be paid.

Region V claimed to have relied in good faith on opinion

letters issued by the Wage and Hour Division of the Department of

Labor in accordance with 29 U.S.C. §259.

After a trial to the court, the District Court entered judgment

on behalf of the Petitioners/Plaintiffs. In doing so, The District Court

specifically found that the Petitioners were always on Region V's

premises for the benefit of their employer. The District Court also

found that the LSTs were "rarely, if ever,able to obtain an

uninterrupted night’s sleep."

The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit reversed in part,

and finding Region V liable for backpay to only one Plaintiff, Gary

Sexton.

ARGUMENT

I. THE COURT OF APPEALS IMPROPERLY DISREGARDED THE

FACTUAL FINDINGS UPON WHICH THE DISTRICT COURT

BASED ITS CONCLUSION THAT THE DEFENDANT

APPELLANT VIOLATED THE FLSA AND FAILED TO PROVE

GOOD FAITH AS REQUIRED BY 29 U.S.C. SECTION 259

WITHOUT FIRST DETERMINING THAT SUCH FACTUAL

FINDINGS WERE CLEARLY ERRONEOUS OR THAT FED. R.

CIV. PRO. 52(A) WAS OTHERWISE INAPPLICABLE.

Petitioners contend that the Court of Appeals failed to follow

the proper standard of review.

The Court of Appeals ruled that the District Court had

incorrectly rejected Respondent's claim of reliance upon two opinion

letters of the Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor in

support of Respondents’ asserted good faith defense under 29 U.S.C.

Section 259. The Court of Appeals reversed the determination of

liability under the FLSA as to nineteen of the twenty plaintiffs, stating

that the District Court had "applied a legal standard subsequently

rejected by this court."

The Court of Appeals for the Eighth Circuit previously

addressed the identical issue and the identical opinion letters in

Hultgren v. County of Lancaster, Nebraska, 913 F.2d 498 (8th Cir.

1990). Petitioners note that the opinion letters, of the Wage and Hour

nN same Wage and Hour

Division which were at issue in Hultgren are t

opinion letters at issue here.

In Hultgren the Court held that opinion letters of the Wage and

Hour Division of the Department of Labor written by Deputy

Administrators did constitute the "position of the agency" as required

by 29 U.S.C. Section 259 and that the employer was entitled to rely on

them. However,in Hultgren the Court determined that the underlying .

facts, as determined by the District Court, demonstrated a lack of

conformity with such opinion letters. The Hultgren

13

court found the factual findings of the District Court to be not clearly

erroneous and affirmed the District Court’s holding that the Defendant

employer had violated the FLSA and had not acted in "good faith in

conformity with" the Wage and Hour Division opinion letters.

In this case the reversal of the District Court by the Court of

Appeals derives from the latter’s application of the "de novo" standard

of review to the record in this case. The Court of Appeals here makes

reference to Hultgren| and appears to premise its reversal on the

District Court’s incorrect application of the law relating to

Defendant/Appellant’s reliance on administrative rulings under Section

259. The majority goes on to reject all factual findings of the District

Court and to make its own factual determinations. Petitioners submit

that the Court of Appeals was incorrect in doing so.

The District Court made a number of factual findings

which impact significantly on the determination of good faith under

§259. Those findings are as follows:

1) ". . .Region V does receive a benefit

from having the LST’s on_ the

premises during sleep-time hours.

This is supported by the ample

testimony of the LST’s concerning the

activity of the clients during sleep-

time hours and the general inability of

the LST’s to gain a restful night's 2

sleep." Dist.Ct.Op. at 3.

2) "Among the interruptions which

LST’s dealt with during sleeptime

hours were (1)a client who hit herself

and the wall during the night, (2) a

client who urinated and defecated on

the floor of her bedroom, (3) clients

who were incontinent and soiled their

beds during the night for which an

LST would clean up the client and

14

change the sheets, (4) clients who

woke up during the night and

wandered about the residence, (5)

clients who needed assistance in using

the toilet, including the removal of

clothing, wiping and flushing, (6) a

client who had tried to leave the

residence in the past, (7) clients who

woke up during the night, dressed

themselves and thought it was time to

to work, (8) a client who liked to get

out of bed and rearrange things, (9)

clients who awoke and became afraid

of the sound of wind, thunder, and

sirens, (10) a client who spent some

nights awake and yelling, (11) a client

who had a tendency to steal from

other clients at night and damage

property, (12)a client who had on

occasion had a bowel movement in

bed and then smeared it on the wall,

(13) clients who came into the room

where the LST was sleeping to make

sure the LAST was still there, (14)

clients who became _ physically

aggressive, (15) a client with diarrhea

and a prolapsed bowel, which meant

the LST had to check her alter each

rest room visit to make sure her

bowels had not fallen outside her

body, and (16) a client prone to

epileptic seizures.

Dist.Ct.Op. at 3.

That weekday LSTs worked a serics

of 17-hour shifts because, despite the

Defendant’s assertions that these

employees were "on-call" within the

meaning of 29 C.F.R. §785.17, that

the employees were never told that

they were on call, never required to

carry a beeper,were never required to

leave a phone number where they

could be reached and were never

called in and that the Defendant

maintained substitutes available to

come in during the daytime hours if

necessary. Dist. Ct. Op. at 6.

That weekday LST’s did not fall

within the scope of 29 C.F.R.§785.23

because "Section 785.23 is not

applicable to the working conditions

of the LST’s. Section 785.23

contemplates a situation where an

employee would at times be on his or

her employer's premises for his or her

own benefit. It is clear from the

testimony that the LST’s were at all

times on the group home premises for

Region V's benefit, including the

period of their sleep time. Section

785.23 speaks of sleep time as one of

the ‘periods of complete freedom

from all duties." The LST’s did not

have complete freedom from their

duties while they slept. They were

required by Region V to remain on

the premises to care for and protect

the clients after clocking out at night.

16

WN

Dist. Ct. Op. at 7.

"_. that weekend LST’s did work for

24 hours or more..Dist. Ct. Op. at 9.

"The greater weight of testimony

showed that LST’s were rarely, if

ever, able to enjoy an uninterrupted

night’s sleep. In fact, few LST’s ever

had a night where they received at

least five hours of uninterrupted sleep.

The demands of their job simply did

not allow for such luxury. Dist. Ct.

Op.at 9.

"testimony by the LST’s was that

they sometimes, but not consistently,

documented sleep-time interruptions

on their time sheets.However, this

was due in large part to the fact that

the LST’s were not allowed to

document any interruptions which did

not last at least 5-7 minutes and could

not document interruptions for which

they did not have to physically be out

of bed. Both Merrill and (sic)

Klausterer knew that these were the

policies of Region V." Dist. Ct. Op.

at 13.

"The LSTs employed by Region V

were staying at the residences during

the nighttime hours for the benefit of

Region V, not for their own benefit.

The testimony of David Merrill

17

acknowledges that LST’s were

responsible for the clients’ safety and

well-being and were in fact

responsible for the clients’ lives. He

believes that it is the responsibility of

an LST to respond to a client during

the nighttime hours if the LST has

reason to believe a client could cause

harm to himself or others,or could

cause damage to property. The

testimony of the LSTs shows that

they believe themselves to function in

a parent-like role and that they

remained repsonsible for the clients’

safety at any time they were on duty,

including those hours during which

they were allowed to sleep".Dist. Ct.

Op. at 9.

"I find from the evidence as a whole

that Region V knew or should have

known that the LST’s sleep-time

interruptions did occur, and that they

were a normal part of the job."Dist.

Ct. Op. at 14

The factual findings of the District Court impact on two issues:

|) whether the Respondent's practices violated the FLSA; and 2)

whether the Respondent met its burden under 29 U.S.C.§259 in

showing good faith reliance on rulings or interpretations of an

administrative agency.

In Skidmore v. Swift & Co.,323 U.S. 134 (1944) the Court

held that the issue of whether time spent on an employer's premises

was working time under the FLSA is a question of fact to be resolved

by the trial court. Skidmore at 136. The Eighth Circuit has, in previous

cases, adhered to the same standard. Hultgren v. County of Lancaster,

18

913 F.2d.498 (8th Cir. 1990); Central Mo. Tel. Co. v. Conwell, 170

F.2d 641 (8th Cir. 1948).

The question of whether or not the Respondent met its burden

of proving good faith under 29 U.S.C. Section 259 is a question of

law, which is subject to a de novo review. Cole v. Farm Fresh Poultry,

Inc., 824 F.2d 923,926, (11th Cir. 1987).

Good faith under 29 U.S.C.Section 259 requires a showing that

the act or omission was (a) taking in good faith and was (2) in

conformity with and (3) in reliance on a written administration

interpretation by a designated agency." Such a determination is

inextricably tied to factual issues. Hultgren v. County of Lancaster,

Nebraska, 913 F.2d 498 (8th Cir. 1990). Factual findings of the trier

of fact cannot be set aside unless they are shown to be clearly

erroneous. Amadeo v. Zant, 486 U.S. 214 (1988); Anderson v. City of

Bessemer City, N. C., 470 U.S. 564 (1985).

Of particular significance is the District Court's specific

finding that LSTs rarely, if ever, got an uninterrupted night's sleep.

This determination by the District Court totally precludes the

Respondent from showing actual conformity with the Wage and Hour

Division’s opinion letters. If the Respondent cannot meet the

conformity requirement, there is no way in which it can avail itself of

the good faith defense under 29 U.S.C. Section 259. The conformity

requirement is precisely linked to the requirement of objective good

faith. Hultgren v. County of Lancaster, 913 F.2d 498, (8th Cir. 990);

Cole v. Farm Fresh Poultry, 824 F.2d 923,926 (11th Cir.1987).

The Court of Appeals rejected the factual findings upon which

the conclusion of the District Court is based and made its’ owns

factual determinations. If the District Court's account of the evidence

is plausible in light of the record viewed in its entirety, the court of

appeals may not reverse it even though convinced that had it been

sitting as the trier of fact, it would have weighed the evidence

differently. Anderson _v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S.

564,573 (1984). "In applying the clearly erroneous standard to the

findings of a district court sitting without a jury, appellate courts must

constantly have in mind that their function ts not to decide factual

19

issues de novo." Id. at 573. "{W}hen a trial judge’s finding is based

on his decision to credit the testimony of one of two or more

witnesses, each of whom has told a coherent and facially plausible

story that is not contradicted by the extrinsic evidence, that finding, if

not internally inconsistent, can virtually never be clear error. Id. at 575.

If the Court of Appeals believed that the clearly erroneous rule was

inapplicable here it should be required to state the reasons for that

view.

Petitioners submit that the finding by the District Court that

LSTs " rarely, if ever," enjoyed an uninterrupted night's sleep is

sufficient to rebut actual conformity and = deprive _ the

Defendant/Appellant of its good faith defense.

Petitioners submit that in doing so the Court of Appeals failed

to adhere to the proper standard of review.

The Court of Appeals, had it followed the proper standard of review

and given due deference to the District Court’s factual findings, would

have been compelled to affirm the decision of the District Court tn its

entirety.

I THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN MAKING

FINDINGS OF FACT WHICH IGNORED A JOINT

STIPULATION OF THE PARTIES THAT, IN

ORDER TO AVOID CUMULATIVE TESTIMONY

THE TESTIMONY OF ALL PLAINTIFFS

TESTIFYING AT TRIAL WOULD BE TAKEN TO

20

REPRESENT THE WORKING CONDITIONS OF

ALL PLAINTIFFS EMPLOYED BY THE

DEFENDANT.

In order to avoid cumulative and repetitive testimony and to

make expeditious use of trial time, the parties, prior to trial, reached

a stipulation that would allow them to avoid the necessity of having all

twenty plaintiffs testify in detail as to working conditions they

encountered at Region V. They stipulated as follows:

"To avoid cumulative and repetitive testimony the

parties stipulated that the testimony of all plaintiffs

who did testify shall be considered to accurately

reflect the working conditions for all LSTs who are

plaintiffs herein and who were employed by Region V

Fairbury for the time period from April 15, 1986, until

the present."

Dist. Ct. Op. at 3.( See Bouchard, Filing 48, Huss, Filing 4.

The District Court accepted the stipulation and the partics

relied upon them at trial. As a result, only ten of the twenty Plaintiffs

testified at trial.

The decision of the Court of Appeals reversed the judgment of

the District Court as to nineteen of the twenty plaintiffs, awarding only

Gary Sexton backpay and interest. The Court of Appeals based its

decision on its determination that the "private quarters" that the Wage

and Hour opinion letters required be provided to employces sleeping

overnight equated to a bedroom separate from those occupied by

Region V's mentally retarded clients. The award of backpay as to Gary

Sexton was affirmed by the Court of Appeals solely for the reason that

Sexton testified that he had never had a separate bedroom in which to

sleep during his entire tenure with Region V.

The District Court accepted the stipulation and incorporated tt

into its findings. As part of the findings of the District’ Court.

stipulations are governed by Fed. R. Civ. Pro. 52(a). Texas co., V.R.

21

—

O’Brien & Co., 242 F.2d 526 (Ist Cir. 1957). The Court of Appeals

disregarded the stipulation without comment and without first finding

it to be clearly erroneous. The testimony relating to working conditions

and sleeptime interruptions introduced at trial was consistent and

supported the Trial Court’s application of that testimony to all

plaintiffs. The Court of Appeals’ failure to give deference to the

stipulation is incorrect and constitutes reversible error.

Il. THE COURT OF APPEALS ERRED IN FINDING

THAT REASONABLE CONFORMITY WITH

WAGE AND HOUR OPINION’ LETTERS

SATISFIES THE REQUIREMENTS OF 29 U.S.C.

§259 AND SUCH DECISION CONFLICTS WITH

THE ACTUAL CONFORMITY STANDARD

ADHERED TO BY OTHER CIRCUITS

Petitioners submit that the Court of Appeals erred in applying

a "reasonable conformity" standard to the conformity requirement

embodied in 29 U.S.C. §259. The good faith defense set forth in

Section 259 is essentially an estoppel defense intended to protect

employers from an agency’s mistakes in statutory interpretation.

Hultgren at 507. To avoid liability under Section 259 an employer

must show "that the act or omission complained of was in good faith

in conformity with and in reliance on any written administrative

regulation, order, ruling, approval, or interpretation, of the agency." 29

U.S.C. Section 259.

The Eighth Circuit Court of Appeals held in Hultgren that

v. County of Lancaster, 913 F.2d. 498,508 (8th Cir. 1990) that the

employer must show actual conformity with the interpretation sought

to be relied upon. This rule is also adhered to by the Eleventh and

Second Circuits. Cole v. Farm Fresh Poultry, Inc., 824 F.2d 923,

26(1 1th Cir. 1987); Olson v. Superior Pontiac-GMC, Inc., 765 F.2d

1570,1579-80 (11th Cir. 1985); EEOC v. Home Insurance Co., 672

F.2d 252, 263 (2nd Cir. 1982).

The Court of Appeals applied a different, lesser standard in

determining whether there exists conformity with the administrative

interpretation the employer seeks to rely upon in this case: that of

reasonable conformity.

The Court of Appeals states:

We consider this aspect of the Department's

Enforcement Policy an unreasonable attempt to dictate

the precise nature of relationships that Skidmore and

the regulation acknowledge will vary. But in any

event, Region V’s prior schedule was in reasonable

conformity with the regulation and with the February

3, 1981 letter ruling.

Majority Op. at 10,n.3. (Emphasis Supplied).

The Second Circuit , EEOC v. Home Ins. Co, 672 F.2d 252,

265(1 1th Cir. 1985) stated:

Section 259’s language "in good faith in conformity

with,” precisely links the question of good faith to an

act in conformity, and if there is not conformity,

general good faith in other respects cannot save the

day.

Petitioners submit that the Court of Appeals has applied a

lesser standard that conflicts not only with its own, carlier precedent,

but with the rule adhered to by the Second and Elevonth Circutts.

Petitioners submit that the correct standard is that of "actual

conformity" and that the Court of Appeals erred in its application of

the law.

IV. THE FINDINGS OF THE COURT OF APPEALS

ARE NOT SUPPORTED BY SUBSTANTIAL

EVIDENCE ON THE RECORD

Petitioners submit that the Court of Appeals made numerous

23

FO

factual findings de novo. Petitioners believe that virtually all such

findings contradict the actual record in this case. To set forth all such

factual findings and the transcript references which refute them would

contradict Rule 14(g) and 14(j) of this Court which requires a concise

statement of the reasons the Writ is sought. Petitioners submit that the

substantial conflicts between the Majority’s opinon and the record as

well as the transcriptual references there to are set forth accurately in

the Dissent by Chief Judge Lay. Slip. Op. at 26.

CONCLUSION

Petitioners submit that this Writ of Certiorari brings before the

Court substantial and important questions for review. Petitioners pray

that the Court grant the Writ of Certiorari so that consideration of such

issues may be had.

Dated: Lincoln, Nebraska

February 26, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

Mary C. Wickenkamp

Neb. State Bar. No. 16396

Attorney for Petitioners

P.O.67067

4831S. 58th ST.

Lincoln,Nebraska 68516

(402)488-138]

FOR THE EIGHTH CIRCUIT

Nos.90-2015 and 90-2016

Bonnie Bouchard; Rodney Wacker,

Vicki Danowicz; Gary Sexton, Jack

D. Yates, Jr.; Lawrence E. Yates;

Ila Fett; Rosemarie Steel; Daniel

J. Rosey; Phyllis Hensley; Kevin

Carlson; Jean Peters; Tammy Sue

Empfield; Leo F. Prokop, Jr.;

Doris Jean Meyer; and Patrick

Bouchard,

Appellees,

The Regional Governing Board

of Region V Mental Retardation

Services and Region V Mental

Retardation Services,

Appellants.

Kevin Huss: Chris Amundson: and

Jerry Junker,

Appellees,

The Regional Governing Board of

Region V Mental Retardation

Services, in the official

capacity, and Region V Mental

Retardation Services,

Nem ee”

Appellants.

Appeal From the United States

District Court For the

District of Nebraska

Submitted: January 9,199]

Filed: July 25, 199]

Betore Lay, Chicf Judge, Magill and Loken, Circuit Judges.

LOKEN, Circuit Judge.

In this Fair Labor Standards Act ("FLSA") case, defendant

Region V Mental Retardation Services ("Region V"), a political

subdivision of Nebraska, appeals from a judgment awarding over

$300,000 in unpaid overtime compensation and attorneys fees to

twenty present and former Life Skill Trainers ("LSTs") employed at

28

residential facilities for the mentally retarded in Fairbury, Nebraska.

Plaintiffs cross appeal from the district court’s refusal to ward

liquidated damages equal to the amount of the unpaid compensation.

In rejecting Region V’s defense that it relied in

good faith upon written interpretations of the FLSA by the Wage

and Hour Division of the U.S. Department of Labor (the

"Department"), see 29 U.S.C. Section 259, the district court applied

a legal standard subsequently rejected by this court in Hultgren _v.

County of Lancaster, 913 F.ed. 498 (8th Cir. 1990). Accordingly, we

reverse the judgment in favor of all plaintiffs except Gary Sexton.

Plaintiffs brought this action under the private remedies

section of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C. Section 216(b), alleging they were

entitled to be compensated for all "sleep time" spent on the premises

of Region V facilities from April 15, 1986, when the FLSA became

applicable to public agencies, see Pub. L. 99-150, 99 Stat. 787

(1985), until November 1989, when Region V adopted a new

compensation schedule that climinated this issue. The district court

held that all disputed sleep time was compensable under the

Department’s applicable regulations, an issue that, for the most part,

we need not reach on appeal given our disposition of the Section

259 defense.

The district court further rejected Region V's defense under

Section 259, concluding that the defense may not be based upon

letter rulings issued by "lesser officials" of the Department. for the

reasons explained below, we disagree and hold that, except as to

Gary Sexton, the Section 259 defense was proved. Finally, the

district court held that plaintiffs were not entitled to liquidated

damages because Region V had proved the good faith defense to

such damages under 29 U.S.C. Section 260. Our resolution of the

Section 259 issue makes it unnecessary to address separately the

Section 260 defense.

During the relevant period, Region V’s residential facilities

each housed from two to four mentally retarded adults in private

homes or apartments in the Fairbury community. One or two LSTs

resided in each group home when the mentally retarded clients were

present. LSTs instructed the clients in social skills necessary for

independent living; they also prepared meals, administered

medication, reported on each client’s needs and progress, and were

generally responsible for the clients’ safety and well-being at the

group home.

The plaintiff LSTs fell into three categories. Weekday LSTs

worked at the group homes from Monday afternoon until Friday

morning or, later in the damage period, early Friday afternoon. They

left the premises only when the clients attended workshops

elsewhere. Weekend LSTs were at the group homes with their

clients continuously from Friday afternoon until Monday morning.

Substitute LSTs replaced either weekday or weekend LSTs and

worked the same schedule as the LSTs being replaced. Because of

the intricacies of the FLSA sleep time issue, each category of

plaintiffs was separately analyzed by the district court and by the

parties on appeal.

Prior to 1985, Region V LSTs were paid on a salary basis.

In February 1985, the Supreme Court held that the FLSA ts

generally applicable to state and local governmental units such as

Region V. Garcia v. San Antonio Metro. Transit Auth., 469 U.S.

528. Following Garcia, Region V concluded that is LSTs must be

converted to hourly employees subject to the minimum wage and

maximum hour (overtime) requirements of the FLSA, 29 U.S.C.

206,207.

Accordingly, Region V administrators obtained wage and

hour pubiications from the Department and received other

interpretive materials from the National Association of Private

Residential Resources ("NAPRR"), an association of agencies that

provide community-based residential support: services to some

30

40,000 mentally retarded and developmentally disabled persons.’

After reviewing these materials, Region V developed a compensation

schedule for the LSTs and prepared a standard Employment

Agreement adapted from a form of agreement obtained from

NAPRR. Region V counsel approved this form of agreement, and in

mid-1985 a copy of the agreement was presented to and signed by

each Region V LST. In October 1988, responding to an Enforcement

Policy issued by the Department, Region V prepared, with counsel’s

approval, a revised Employment Agreement containing somewhat

modified LST work schedules. The revised agreement was again

presented to and signed by each LST. In this lawsuit, plaintiffs claim

that Region V violated FLSA because the work schedules in the

Employment Agreements provided (with exceptions explained

below) that LSTs must spend eight hours of uncompensated sleep

time on the premises of the group home each night.

I].

The FLSA requires that covered employees be paid at least

the prescribed minimum hourly wage and receive at least | 1/2

times their regular hourly wage for overtime hours. 29 U.S.C.Section

206, 107. The amount of money an employee must be paid under

FLSA cannot be determined without knowing the number of hours

worked. In two of its early landmark FLSA decisions, the Supreme

Court considered when an employer must compensate for sleep time

and other on-premises waiting time that the employer would prefer

to designate as "off duty". In Armour & Co. v. Wantock, 323 U.S.

125 (1944), the Supreme Court held that on-premises "time spent in

playing cards and other amusements, or in idleness: must be

NAPRR has been the primary organization with which the

Department has communicated since the carly 1970°s on FLSA

issues concerning employees of community-based — residential

facilities. NAPRR_- filed an amicus curiae bricf supporting Region

V's Section 259 defense in this case.

3]

compensated because the employer’s fire guards had been hired "to

do nothing but wait for something to happen," 323 U.S. at 132, 133.

However, the district court’s decision to exclude the employees’ on-

premises time "for sleep and for eating: from the FLSA computation

was not at issue, 323 U.S. at 129.

In Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134 (1944), decided

the same day as Armour, sleep time was included in the waiting

time at issue. In reversing a decision that no waiting time was

compensable, the Supreme Court held that whether waiting time and

sleep time must be compensated in a particular case is a question of

fact which:

involves scrutiny and construction

of the agreements between the

particular parties, appraisal of their

practical construction of _ the

working agreement by conduct,

consideration of the nature of the

service, and its relation to the

waiting time, and all of the

surrounding circumstances. . . .The

law docs not impose an

arrangement upon the parties. It

imposes upon the courts the task of

finding what the arrangement was.

323 U.S. at 137. The Court noted that the Department had filed an

amicus brief urging the "the exclusion of sleeping and cating time.

and the inclusion of all other on-call time,"323 U.S. at 139

Without accepting or rejecting this conclusion, the Court stated, "We

consider that the rulings, interpretations and opinions of the

Administrator under this Act, while not controlling upon the courts

by reason of their authority, do constitute a body of experience and

32

informed judgment to which courts and litigants may properly resort

for guidance." 323 U.S. at 140.

An employer charged with violating the minimum wage or

maximum hour provisions of FLSA is given an affirmative defense

in Section 259, which provides that,

no employer shall be subject to any

liability. . .for .. .failure. . .to pay

minimum wages or overtime

compensation. . .if he pleads and

proves that the act or omission

complained of was in good faith in

conformity with and in reliance on

any written administrative

regulation, order, ruling, approval,

or interpretation, of {the

Department}. . .or any

administrative practice or

enforcement policy... . .

Section 259 was enacted in 1947 in response to Congress; perception

that the FLSA “has been interpreted judicially in disregard of long-

established customs, practices, and contracts between employers and

employees, thereby creating wholly unexpected liabilities, immense

in amount and retroactive in operation.” 29 U.S.C.Section 251(a).

Thus, the deference to employment agreements mandated by the

Supreme Court in Skidmore ts particularly appropriate in the context

of the Section 259 good faith defense.

In 1961, the Department issued an interpretive bulletin that

is now Part 785 of the Wage and Hour Division Regulations, 29

C.F.R. Part 785, discussing what constitutes compensable work time

for FLSA purposes. Several provisions deal with sleep time issues.

29 C.F.R. Section 785.20-23. Beginning in 1980, in response to

inquiries from trade associations such as NAPRR, the Department

issued a serics of letter rulings applying its regulations to the sleep

33

time of "houseparents" at "community residences for the mentally

retarded." In January 1988, the Department suspended its’ numerous

compliance investigations of group homes around the country °* to

develop a consistent enforcement policy. On June 30, 1988, the

Department promulgated an Enforcement policy. On June 30, 1988,

the Department promulgated an Enforcement Policy "refining and

restating" the interpretations set forth in its earlier letter rulings. this

Enforcement Policy expressly stated that the Department : "will not

initiate any new investigations of residential care facilities which

involve only an assertion that improper sleep time deductions are

being made by a group home employer until 90 days from the date

of this enforcement policy statement."

Under the FLSA, this moratorium on public enforcement did

not preclude Section 216(b) private actions such as this. However,

it reflected the agencies judgment that the difficult compliance

questions facing this industry should be resolved by prospective

enforcement. Therefore, the district court’s decision to award

substantial retroactive overtime liability against this public agency

defendant must be "justified by very good reasons," Skidmore, 323

U.S. at 140.

In 1985, when Region V obtained interpretive materials from

the NAPRR, developed the hours-worked schedules for LSTs and

prepared the standard Employment Agreement signed by cach LST,

it relied upon three letter rulings issued by the Department that dealt

with this industry. In rejecting the Section 259 defense, the district

court held that Region V was not entitled to rely upon these rulings

* Unlike the defendant in Hultgren, Region V had not been the

subject of any investigation or enforcement litigation by the

Department.

34

ae

because they were signed by a Deputy and an Assistant

Administrator who were "lesser officials within the agency." The

district court then concluded that Region V had not acted "in good

faith in conformity with" the regulations, based upon the court's own

interpretation of the regulations rather than the Department’s

interpretation as reflected in the letter rulings.

This Court’s subsequently decision in Hultgren held that the

Deputy and Assistant Administrator’s letter rulings, including two of

the same letters at issue here, "may properly be characterized as the

position of the agency for purposes of section 259," 913 F.2d at 507.

Thus, the district court erred in limiting its Section 259 inquiry to

the regulations alone. We must consider whether Region V met the

good faith reliance standards under Section 259, taking into account

both the Department's regulations and the agencies letter rulings.

The good faith test under Section 259 is an objective one. Hultgren,

supra, 913 F.2d at 507. We conclude that Region V proved the

Section 259 defense with respect to cach of the three categories of

LSTs.

Weekday LSTs. These full-time employees remained at

Region V premises from Monday afternoon until Friday. Pursuant

to the compensation schedule in the Employment Agreement, they

were paid for approximately 40 Duty Hours. Unpaid time included

(a) "Off Duty," from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. each day, when the

clients were away from the group homes, and "Evening Hours, "

defined as the period form 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. when the LSTS

were expected to sleep in private quarters at the group home.

Sleep time was not compensated except in two situations:

first, if a client needed attention for at least 5-8 minutes during sleep

time, the LST would be compensated for the time actually spent on

duty; second, on any night when client interruptions totaled three

hours or more, the LST would be paid for the entire eight hour sleep

time period. LSTs were required to record all such compensable

sleep time interruptions on their time cards. They were paid 1/1/2

35

times their hourly rates for hours worked over 40 per week,

including compensable sleep time.

Section 785.22 of the Department’s sleep time regulations

provides that, if an employee is required to be on duty for 24 hours

or more, the employer and the employee may agree to exclude "a

bona fide regularly scheduled sleeping period of not more than 87

hours" from hours worked. The employer must furnish "adequate

sleeping facilities, " and sleep time conditions must be such that the

employee "can usually enjoy an uninterrupted night’s sleep." Sleep

time interruptions must be compensated "if the employee cannot get

at least 5 hours’ sleep during the scheduled period.” This regulation

is based upon decisions such as Skidmore and Rokey v. Day &

Zimmerman, Inc., 157 F.2d 734 (8th Cir. 1946), cert.denied, 330

U.S. 842 (1947).

Section 785.23 of the regulations broadens the sleep time

exception for an employee who resides on the employer's premises

for "extended periods of time." Consistent with the Supreme Court's

admonition in Skidmore, this regulation states, "It is, of course,

difficult to determine the exact hours worked under these

circumstances and any reasonable agreement of the parties which

takes into consideration all of the pertinent facts will be accepted.”

This general guideline was clarified with respect to "houseparents

sleeping at community residences for the mentally retarded" in a

letter ruling of the Deputy Administrator dated February 3, 198]:

In general, we take the position that

employees who reside on_ their

employer's premises five days a

week are considered to reside there

"for extended periods of time."

Where the facilities offered by the

employer provide a home-like

environment with private quarters

separate from the residents of the

36

group home, we would regard such

employees as residing there, even

though they may have another

residence which they may regard as

their principal residence.

{W}here employees are on duty for

less than 120 hours in a week, they

can be considered as residing on

the employer’s premises, provided

that they spend five consecutive

days or five consecutive nights on

the premises.

Region V argues that it was not required to compensate

Weekday LSTs for their sleep time (except when interrupted)

because these employees resided on the employer’s premises for

extended periods of time within the meaning of Section 785.23, as

interpreted in the February 3, 1981 Ictter ruling, and because they

were properly compensated for sleep time interruptions in

accordance with Section 785.22.

It is apparent that the work schedules for Weekday LSTs

reflected in Region V’s Employment Agreements were based upon

and were in concept consistent with the Department's regulations, as

clarified by the Deputy Administrator’s letter ruling. Weekday LSTs

resided at the Region V group homes for consecutive five day and

four night periods.’ They were provided private sleeping rooms, and

‘The Department's June 1988 Enforcement Policy provided that,

to reside on the employer's premises for an extended period of time

under Section 785.23, an employee must be compensated "for at

least crght hours in cach of five consecutive 24-hour periods.” As a

result of this change--described by the Department as a refinement--

(continued...)

the group homes were intended to provide a "home-like

environment." The LSTs were compensated for recorded sleep time

interruptions and were paid for any eight hour sleep period in which

client interruptions totaled three hours or more.

The district court nonetheless concluded that Section 785.23

was not applicable to the Weekday LSTs because they were on the

premise at night to protect the clients, to the employer’s benefit, and

thus were "engaged to wait" within the meaning of Skidmore. The

district court further reasoned that Region V knew that LSTs sleep

was frequently interrupted by client needs and therefor that the LSTs

were engaged to wait within the meaning of Section 785.14 of the

regulations, thereby precluding a Section 259 good faith defense. We

disagree.

Region V_ relied upon written agency interpretations

specifically addressing working conditions in the group home

industry. After considerable study of the industry, the Department

issued letter rulings that houseparents who work five day-four night

schedules comparable to those of the Weekday LSTs do reside on

the employer’s premises for extended periods of time within the

meaning of Section 785.23 and therefor may be afforded, pursuant

to a written employment agreement, up to cight hours of unpaid

‘(...continued)

Region V revised its work schedule for Weekday LSTs to provide

for cight compensated hours cach day, Monday through Friday, and

reflected this new schedule in the October !98& Employment

Agreement. We consider this aspect of the Department's

Enforcement Policy an unreasonable attempt to dictate the precise

nature of relationships that Skidmore and the regulation acknowledge

will vary. But in any event, Region V's prior schedule was in

reasonable conformity with the regulation and with the February 3,

1981 letter ruling.

38

sleep time per day in private quarters on the employer's premises.

The Department’s interpretation of its own regulation is reasonable

on its face and is entitled to deference by the courts and contracting

parties. Region V could reasonably assume that the Department was

familiar with the nighttime duties of houseparents for the mentally

retarded; thus, Region V’s reliance upon the February 3, 1981 letter

ruling in developing the work schedules contained in_ its

Employment Agreements with the Weekday LSTs was plainly

reasonable.

The district court’s reliance upon Section 785.14 of the

regulations was misplaced. Section 784.14 deals generally with

"Waiting Time." As the Supreme Court decisions in Armour and

Skidmore and the position of the Department in those cases make

clear, sleep time raises different compensation questions under the

FLSA than do other types of waiting time. See also Halferty v. Pulse

Drug Co., 864 F.2d 1185, 1189-1191 (Sth Cir. 1989). Section

785.23 of the regulations specifically addressed the question of sleep

time, and the Department's letter ruling clarified the application of

the regulation to this industry. None of these Ictter rulings, including

the June 1988 Enforcement Policy, even referred to Section 785.14

Accord, Beaston v. Scotland School for Veteran's Children, 693

F.Supp. 234 (M.D. Pa. 1988), aff'd 869 F.2d S587 (3d Cir. 1989)

Given Congress” statement of purpose in enacting Section 259. "in

close cases we should consider the expectations of the contracting

parties and the reasonableness of the employer's actions in light of

the administrative interpretation in question.” Marshall v_ Baptist

Hosp., 668 F.2d 234, 238 (6th Cir. 1981) (where the administrative

interpretation was ambiguous, employer that reasonably relied on the

Department's specific rule, rather than its indefinite standard, was

entitled to the Section 259 defense. )

Appellees argue that the Weekday ESTs never resided on

Region V's premises for an extended period of time because they

"worked a series of sixteen or seventeen hour shifts.” However,

the fact that LSTs left the premises during their off duty daytime

hours, when the clients were off the premises, did not render Section

785.23 of the regulations inapplicable. Region V had to allow the

LSTs to use this time effectively for their own purposes, or it would

have been compensable hours worked. See 29 C.F.R. Section

785.23 expressly states that an employee who resides on the

employer’s premiss for an extended period of time may have

"periods of complete freedom from all duties when he may leave the

premises for purposes of his own." Therefore, the fact that Region

V's Employment Agreement expressly granted Weekday LSTs such

periods of off-duty time is consistent with Section 785.23 and does

not undermine the Section 259 good faith defense.

Appellees and the dissent further contend that Region V

must be denied the good faith defense because it unilaterally drafted

the Employment Agreement and "forced it on" the LSTs. We

disagree. The 1985 Employment Agreement essenually codified the

parties’ prior employment relationship under work schedules adapted

to comply with FLSA. It did not obligate LSTs to accept either

reduced total compensation, longer hours, or increased

responsibilities than they had agreed to work prior to the Garcia

decision. The Employment Agreement served the purpose of

advising the LSTs in advance of the circumstances under which thetr

sleep time would be compensated. Sce Aricnds v. Olin Mathieson

Chem. Corp., 382 F.2d 192, 197 (6th Cir. 1967). Region V

permitted minor schedule variations for the convenience of

individual LSTs, and it obtained the views of LSTs_ betore

implementing the revised work schedules contained in the 1988

Employment Agreement.

The LSTs had no collective bargaining representative.

Region V circulated its proposed Employment Agreements to cach

LST, and there is no evidence that any LST refused to sign either

agreement. In the context of the Section 259 defense, we conclude

that the Employment Agreements in this case satisfy the standard,

40

under Skidmore, that " ‘any reasonable agreement of the parties

which takes into consideration all of the pertinent facts will be

accepted.’" Halferty v. Pulse Drug Co., 821 F.2d 261, 269 (Sth Cir.

1987) (quoting Skidmore, 323 U.S. at 137), appeal after remand, 864

F.2d 1185 (Sth Cir. 1989). Accord, General Elec.Co. v. Porter, 208

F.2d 805. 814 (9th Cir.),cert. denied, 347 U.S. 951 (1954). any

other decision would violate Congress’ stated purpose not to award

employees "windfall payments. . . of sums for activities performed

by them without any expectation of reward beyond that included in

their agreed rates of pay." 29 U.S.C. Section 251(a)(4).

Finally, the dissent argues that Region V must be denied the

Section 259 defense because it did not provide the LSTs a "home-

like environment." The dissent bases its definition of home-like

environment on the Department's June 30,1988 Enforcement Policy.

However, Region V had to comply with FLSA after Garcia in 1985.

Thus, the Department’s February 1981 letter ruling, upon which

Region V's compliance program was based, is far more relevant to

the Section 259 defense. On the home-like environment question,

the February 1981 letter ruling stated:

The houseparents and relict staff

sleep in private quarters separate

from the mentally retarded residents

of the group home. The actual facts

differ somewhat from facility to

facility, but the above description

sets forth the typical situation as tt

has been explained to us.

*x* * * *

Where the facilities offered by the

employer provide a home-like

environment with private quarters

separate from the residents of the

group home, we would regard such

4]

employees as residing there, even

though they may have another

residence which they may regard as

their principal residence. In light of

the amount of time they spend at

the group home, it is in effect a

second residence.

* * * *

We have reached this conclusion

{regarding relief employees}, which

represents a departure from the

general rule under 29 C.F.R.

785.21, because of the home-like

environment afforded to those

employees in community

residences, with private quarters

and other amenities and where

employees do in fact get a

reasonable nights sleep

It is apparent that the Department's rulings on this subject

changed over the 1981-1988 period, from a gencral pronouncement

in 1981 that the home-like environment inherently available in these

group homes must include private quarters where LSTs could geta

reasonable nights’s sleep, to detailed specifications in 1988 as to the

furniture and the cooking, cating, and bath facilities that had to be

provided separately to these employees.

The issue here is whether sleep time must be compensated.

Where an employee is furnished reasonable sleeping facilitics under

conditions that satisfy Skidmore and the regulations, the Department

may not deny the exclusion of sleep time because the employer did

42

a it

not provide employees with other "amenities" unrelated to their sleep

time. See Van Dyke v. Bluefield Gas. Go., 210 F.2d 620 (4th Cir.

1954). Thus, it is clear to us that Region V acted in good faith

conformity with the regulations and the Department’s February 1981

letter ruling so long as it provided LSTs with a separate sleeping

room and the LSTs got at least five hours sleep per night, which

Section 785.22(b) of the regulations defines as "an uninterrupted

night’s sleep."

Weekend LSTs. These full-time employees were on Region

V premises continuously from Friday afternoon to Monday morning.

The Employment Agreements provided that all hours between 3:30

p.m. Friday and 8:00 a.m. Monday would be compensated except for

sleep time from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. each night. Interrupted sleep

time was compensable under the same circumstances as for Weekday

LSTs.

Region V contends that the Weekend LSTs’ work schedules

were intended to and did in fact meet the Section 785.22 standards

for unpaid sleep time for employees "required to be on duty for 24

hours or more," as construed in the February 3, 1981 letter ruling.

Appellees and the district court concede that Region V's work

schedule for the Weekend LSTs was, in concept, consistent with

Section 785.22 as clarified by this letter ruling. Nevertheless, the

district court held that weekend LSTs did not fall within this

exception because they rarely had a night where they received "at

lcast five hours of uninterrupted sleep." However, this ts not a basis

for rejecting Region V's Section 259 defense because it misconstrues

the regulation.

Section 785.22 allows unpaid sleep time for employees who

"can usually enjoy an uninterrupted night's sleep. The regulation

defines "uninterrupted" as meaning, " that if the employee cannot get

at least 5 hours’ sleep during the scheduled period the entire time ts

working time." Here, the LSTs testified that their sleep time was

frequently interrupted for short periods (which they usually did not

43

record on their time cards); their time cards reflected that they

typically did get at least five hours sleep in total each night. The

regulation plainly states that the required five hours’ sleep need not

be consecutive hours. This was confirmed by the Department's letter

ruling of August 20,1985, which stated:

{I}f an employee’s sleeping time is

interrupted to such an extent that

the employee cannot get at least

five hours’ sleep during the

scheduled period, then all hours of

the sleeping period are compensable

hours of work.

The Department’s view on this was even more clearly stated

in is May 1985 WH Publication 1459, entitled "State and Local

Government Employees Under the Fair Labor Standards Act."

The 5 hours of sleep need not be 5

continuous uninterrupted hours of

sleep. However, if interruptions

during the sleep period are so

focused as to prevent reasonable

periods of sleep totaling at least 5

hours, the entire period would be

considered hours worked.

In sum, Region V and the LSTs entered into Employment

Agreements providing for sleep time compensation consistent with

Section 785.22, and requiring the LSTs to record compensable sleep

time on their time cards. Region V paid the LSTs for all recorded

compensable sleep time. Under these circumstances, Region V's

Section 259 defense may not be defeated by the LSTs’ general

testimony that their sleep time was frequently interrupted for

uncertain lengths of time which they chose not to reflect on their

44

time cards. See, Davis v. Food Lion, 792 F.2d 1274, 1276-1277 (4th

Cir. 1986).

We note that this factor distinguishes this case from

Hultgren which did not involve full-time employees such as the

Weekday LSTs and the Weekend LSTs, this court rejected the

employer’s good faith claims, despite holding that it was entitled to

rely upon the Department’s letter Rulings, because the district court

had specifically found that " relief employees averaged from zero to

four hours of sleep during the nighttime hours," 913 F.2d at 508.

this essential fact made the employer’s sleep time conditions

obviously inconsistent with the Department’s regulations and its

letter rulings, and thus compelled the conclusion that the employer's

Section 259 good faith defense must be rejected.

Substitute LSTs. These employees replaced both Weekday

LSTs and Weekend LSTs when needed. Each worked the same

schedule as the LST being replaced. The Employment Agreements

defined the paid work day for substitute LSTs as 3:30 p.m. to 10:00

p.m. and 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. during each shift worked, with the

Evening Hours again being unpaid.

The issue of when sleep time must be paid to substitute or

rclicf houseparents in community homes was specifically addressed

in two of the Deputy Administrator's letter rulings. The February 3.

1981 letter stated:

Your third and final question

related to employees who do not

reside at the community residences

but who, as_ relicf employees,

remained there for at least 24 hours,

and often as long as two or three

days. . (Although) such employees.

. .are arguably on duty for less

than 24 hours. . .we believe that

such sleep time can be deducted

45

20

from hours worked, provided that

the employer and employees agree

in advance to do so, and that no

more than 8 hours per night (or

actual, uninterrupted sleeptime, if

that is less than 8 hours) is

deducted.

By letter dated August 20, 1985, the Deputy Administrator

responded to a request for further clarification of the Department's

position regarding houseparent sleep time:

We have review all available

information, including — that

furnished by you and that obtained

from a review of a large number of

case files involving investigations

of community residences under

FLSA. As a_ result of this

comprehensive review, we have

concluded that, because of the

special circumstances that prevail in

community residences, and because

relief employees perform essentially

the same duties as regular full-time

employees, the same “hours

worked" principles should be

applied to both categorics of

employees. . .Therefore, it is our

opinion that, in situations where a

community residence employs one

or more full-time employees who

reside on the employcr:s premises

for extended periods of time, the

46

employer and a relief employee

who performs essentially the same

duties as such full-time employees

may agree, in advance of the

performance of any work, that

sleeping time of up to eight hours

can be excluded from compensable

hours of work, regardless of the

length of the tour of duty involved.

In Hultgren, the issue was whether FLSA required the

employer to compensate the sleep time of relief assistants who

replaced resident managers one or two days a week at residential

facilities for the mentally retarded in another county of Nebraska.

However, because the resident managers were exempt, the relief

employees in Hultgren were not entitled to the "departure" from the

regulations explained in the above letter rulings. Here, on the other

hand, Region V’s full-time employees--the Weekday LSTs and the

Weekend LSTs- were allowed uncompensated sleep time, and thus

Region V acted consistently with the letter rulings in providing

uncompensated sleep time for the Substitute LSTs on the same basis.

Accordingly, Region V has established its 259 good faith defense

with respect to this category of employces as well.

Gary Sexton. This former Weekend LST testified that he

was never afforded a private sleeping room at the group home at

which he worked, which Region V stopped using in early 1989.

Although the record included photographs of the private sleeping

rooms that Region V provided at cach of the group homes operating

at the time of trial, Region V did not rebut Sexton’s testimony that

he was never afforded a private room during his employment as a

Weekend LST. Region V’s Section 259 good faith defense was

based upon Department letter rulings that uniformly required that

LSTs be furnished private slecping quarters. Region V knew of this

47

requirement and failed to comply with it at the group home where

Sexton worked. Therefore, as to Sexton, we affirm the district

court’s decision that all sleep time was compensable under FLSA,

that Region V failed to prove the Section 259 defense, but that

liquidated damages should not be awarded.

IV.

The Section 259 defense is "jurisdictional in nature."

Marshall v. Baptist Hosp., supra, 668 F.2d ‘at 239. Thus, our

conclusion that Region V established the defense as to each category

of LSTs ends our inquiry. Accordingly, the judgment of the district

court is reversed as to all plaintiffs except Gary Sexton, as to whom

it is affirmed. The award of attorneys’ fees is vacated and remanded

to the district court for further proceedings consistent with this

decision.

LAY, Chief Judge, dissenting.

I respectfully dissent.

The reversal of the judgment of the district court constitutes

a gross injustice to a dedicated working class of people. The

majority opinion fails (1) to give due deference to the district court's

factual findings; (2) to adhere to a controlling precedent of this

circuit, Hultgren v. County of Lancaster, Neb., 913 F.2d 498 (8th

Cir. 1990);’ and (3) to give proper weight to a record that is

virtually undisputed.

‘ The Hultgren case is identical in fact and law to the present

case. It is indistinguishable. | respectfully submit our failure to apply

the controlling principles of our own precedent can only result in

contusion to the Department of Labor, litigants, and the bar.

4&

DISCUSSION

The fundamental issue, as posed by the majority opinion, is

whether Region V is entitled to a good faith defense, under 29

U.S.C. Section 259 (1988), ° for violating the Fair Labor Standards

Act ("FLSA"), 29 U.S.C. Section 201 (1988). The district court's

findings that Region V failed to properly provide compensation for

"sleep time" for all three classes of Life Skills Trainers ("LSTs") is

unassailable. Under the clearly erroneous rule, these findings cannot

be set aside. Anderson v. City of Bessemer City, N.C., 470 U.S.

564, 573-74 (1985).

The majority side-steps Region V’s gross violations of the

FLSA by holding that Region V’s acts or omissions were

* Section 259(a) provides:

In any action or proceeding based on any act or omission on

or after May 14, 1947, no employer shall be subject to any liability

or punishment for or on account of the failure of the employer to

pay minimum wages or overtime compensation under the Fair Labor

Standards Act of 1938, . . .if he pleads and proves that the act or

omission complained of was in good faith in conformity with and in

reliance on any written administrative regulation, order, ruling

approval, or interpretation, of the agency of the United States

specified in subsection (b) of this section, or any administrative

practice or enforcement policy of such agengy with respect to the

class of employers to which he belonged. Such a defense, if

established, shall be a bar to the action or proceeding,

notwithstanding that after such act or omission, such administrative

regulation, order, ruling approval, modified or rescinded or is

determined by judicial authority to be invalid or of no legal effect.

29 U.S.C. Section 259(a) (1988).

49

nevertheless taken in good faith because of their attempted

conformity with and reliance on written administrative interpretations

by a designated agency.® The good faith defense to liability for

FLSA violations requires that Region V prove that the act or

omission was "(1) taken in good faith and was (2) in conformity

with and (3) in reliance on a written administrative interpretation by

a designated agency."_Cole v. Farm Fresh Poultry, Inc., 824 F.2d

923, 926 (llth Cir. 1987); see_also 29 U.S.C. Section 259, (a)

(1988). Whether Region V is entitled to the good faith defense

embodied in section 259 is a question of law that is reviewed de

novo. Cole, 824 F.2d at 926. The record here clearly establishes that

Region V’s actions did not adhere or even attempt to conform to the

Department of Labor’s ("Department") regulations and opinion

letters in good faith."’The "good faith" defense is not available to an

employer unless the acts or omission complained of "were in

conformity with" the regulation. . . . This is true even though the

employer erroneously believes he conformed with it and in good

faith relied upon it; actual conformity is necessary." Olson_v.

Superior Pontiac-GMC, Inc. 765 F. 2d 1570, 1580 (11th Cir. 1985)

(quoting 29 C.F.R. Section 790.14(a). Region V has the burden to

‘The majority initially premises its reversal on the district court's

mistaken view that because some of the administrative letters were

written by lesser officials within the agency Region V was not

entitled to rely on them. This interpretation was deemed crroncous

by this court in Hultgren but we nevertheless affirmed the same

district court’s holding that FLSA was violated and that there was

no good faith conformity with the letters. This issue is not

determinative here any more than it was in Hultgren. The district

court analyzed all the regulations and the key administrative letters.

The majority relics on all the letters in holding good faith

conformity. Therefore, the basic principle upon which the majority

premises its reversal--"the district court applicd a legal standard

subsequently rejected by this court"--is irrelevant.

50

establish that it conformed with the letters in good faith. "this is not

a requirement of a showing of general good faith; the Portal Act

language, “in good faith in conformity with,’ precisely links the

question of good faith to an act in conformity, and if there is no

conformity, general good faith in other respects cannot save the

day." EEOC v. Home Ins. Co., 672 F.2d 252, 265 (2nd Cir. 1982).

The fundamental issue in determining if Region V violated

FLSA, and identical to the issue in Hultgren, is whether "sleep time

is work time." As we stated in Hultgren, this issue is a question of

fact "which must be determined, *in accordance with common sense

and the general concept of work or employment.’"Hultgren, 9132

F.2d at 504 (quoting Central Mo.Tel.Co. v. Conwell, 170 F.F2d 641,

646 (8th Cir. 1948);. Our court stated that the "issue, at bottom, 1s

whether the employee’s time is spent predominantly for the benefit

of the employer or the employee."Hultgren, 913 F.2d at 504 (citing

Armour & Co. v. Wantock, 323 U.S. 126, 133 (1944). In bypassing

the district court’s findings that Region V violated FLSA, the

majority obviates much of the harshness and unfairness created by

Region V to the employee involved. These findings, I beiieve, are

directly relevant to the good faith conformity which the majority

chooses to discuss in its single issue analysis. The district court

specifically found that the "LST’s employed by Region V were

staying at the residences during the nighttime hours for the benefit

of Region V, not for their own benefit." Mem. Op. at 9. this finding

is not clearly erroncous.

In the present case, the district court found, "from the

evidence as a whole that Region V knew or should have known that

the LST’s sleep-time interruptions did occur, and that they were a

normal part of the job." Id. at 14. According to the district court

‘Even Region V's employment agreement states that the

employees are sleeping at the residences for Region V's benefit.

Jt.App. at 47.

S|

{t}estimony was received regarding

interruptions incurred by plaintiffs

working all three different shifts.

To avoid cumulative and repetitive

testimony the parties stipulated that

the testimony of all plaintiffs who

did testify shall be considered to

accurately reflect the working

conditions for all LSTs who are

plaintiffs herein and who were

employed by Region V Fairbury for

the time period from April 15,

1986, until the present.

Id. at 3 (Citations omitted) (Emphasis added).

If substantial evidence on the record exists, as in this case,

this court must show great deference to the district court’s findings

of fact. The majority asserts that "Region V’s Section 259 defense

may not be defeated by the LSTs general testimony that their sleep

time was frequently interrupted for uncertain lengths of time which

they chose not to reflect on their time cards." Maj. Op. at 16-17. The

district court found,however, that the sleep time interruptions were

not documented on the employees’ time cards because "the LST’s

were not allowed to document any interruptions which did not last

at least 5-7 minutes and could not document interruptions for which

they did not have to physically be out of bed." Mem.Op at 13, sec

-also Tr. at 131-32, 136-37, 142, 196-97. 212-14, 278, 298, 405-07,

412-14. These facts parallel Hultgren. See Hultgren, 913 F.2d at S06.

The majority distinguishes Hultgren,on the ground that the district

court in Hultgren expressly found that the employces had less than

five hours sleep. Maj. Op. at 17. The majority overlooks the district

court’s identical finding here. The district court in this case found

that "few LST’s ever had a night where they received at least five

52

hours of uninterrupted sleep. The demands of their job simply did

not allow for such luxury." Mem. Op. at 9. Region V’s employees

were also discouraged from documenting overtime hours because of

budget problems. Tr. at 345. Region V knew about sleep time

interruptions because of the frequent complaints from employees. Tr.

at 179, 387-88, 503-05, 675,963. "{Gtood faith requires the

employer io have honesty of intention and to be without knowledge

of circumstances which ought to put him upon inquiry." Olson, 765

F.2d at 1580 (Citing 29 C.F.R. Section 790.15 (1984)). The trial

transcript is replete with testimony regarding the numerous and

diverse nighttime interruptions the LSTs experienced. The district

court found that

{a}mong the interruptions which

LST;s dealt with during sleep-time

hours were (1) a client who hit

herself and the wall during the

night, (2) a client who urinated and

defecated on the floor of her

bedroom, (3) clients who were

incontinent and soiled their beds

during the night for which an LST

would clean up the client and

change the sheets, (4) clients who

woke up during the night and

wandered about the residence, (5)

clients who needed assistance in

using the toilet, including the

removal of clothing, wiping and

flushing, (6)a client who had tried

to leave the residence in the past,

(7) clients who woke up during the

night, dressed themselves and

thought it was time to go to work,

53

(8) a client who liked to get out of

bed and rearrange things, (9) clients

who awoke and became afraid of

the sound of wind, thunder, and

sirens, (10)a client who spend some

nights awake and yelling, (11)a

client who had a tendency to steal

from other clients at night and

damage property, (12) a client who

on occasion had a bowel movement

in bed and then smeared it on the

wall, (123) clients who came into

the room where the LST was

sleeping to make sure that the LST

was still there, (14) clients who

became physically aggressive, (15)

a client with diarrhea and a

prolapsed bowel, which meant the

LST had to check her after each

restroom visit to make sure her

bowels had not fallen outside her

body, and (16) a client prone to

epileptic seizures.

Mem. Op. at 3; see_also TR. at 23-26, 28-29, 31-33, 35-37,151-

62,168-69,266-71, 274-75, 341-=42, 351-58, 364-67, 396-99, 404-

06, 4376-53, 509-12, 534-4-. These sleep time conditions are as

“obviously inconsistent with the Department's regulations and its

letter rulings" in this case as they were in Hultgren. See Maj. Op. at

17 (emphasis omitted).

The record and the district) court's findings clearly

demonstrate that the alleged conformity to the Department's hours

requirements did not exist. However, assuming, arguendo, that there

$4

was compliance with the scheduled hours the Department's

directives required, the good faith defense still must fail because of

two basically undisputed deficiencies in Region V's attempted

conformity.

In Hultgren, we held that the employer did not conform in

good faith to the agency directives because (1) the employer failed

to provide the required "home-like environment" consisting of

private quarters, and (2) only a unilateral agreement enforced by the

employer existed.” Hultgren, 913 F.2d at 506.

‘The court in Hultgren observed:

Even assuming section 785.22 of the

regulations applies, both this regulation and the

opinion letters from the Wage & Hour Deputy

Administrator are premised on the notion that

employees are able to get a full night’s sleep and

are provided with adequate sleeping facilities or

home-like environment in a group home setting. The

sleeping accommodations for plaintiffs in this case.

who were generally in a different group home each

night they worked and who often slept on a sofa or

a hide-a-bed in the living room, are simply not the

same as the environment envisioned by the opinion

letters. Moreover, plaintiffs did not usually enjoy an

uninterrupted night’s sleep, both because of [the!

nature of their sleeping accommodations and

because, as a general rule, the clients who resided in

ithe employer's} facilities were "prone to being up

at night, often frequently, and on a consistent basis

over time." Thus, the very nature of plaintiffs jobs

required that they be ready for frequent nighttime

interruptions."

(continued... )

aA

‘A

The record in this case overwhelmingly establishes that

Region V failed to provide its employees with private quarters in a

homelike environment and that it required the employees to sign a

unilateral non-negotiable agreement.

I. Absence of Home-like Environment

The June 30,1988, letter from the Department defines

"private quarters" to be furnished living quarters that are separate

from the clients and from any other staff members, have as a

minimum the same furnishings available to the clients and enable the

employees to leave his or her belongings there during on and off

duty periods. Appellant's App. at 31. A "home-like environment" is

defined as facilities including private quarters and also including on

the same premises facilities for cooking and eating, for bathing in

private, and for recreation. The amenities and quarters must be

‘(...continued)

Nor did plaintiffs agree that their "sleep

time" could be uncompensated. The Deputy

Administrator’s 1985 opinion letter stresses that

only “mutually agreed-upon sleep time may be

excluded: the exclusion of sleep time may not be

the “unilateral decision of the employer." The

magistrate in this case found {the employer's post

Garcia_v. San Antonio Metropolitan Transit

Authority,469 U.S.528 (1985)}contracts "were

drafted exclusively by the defendant with no input

or negotiation from the plaintiffs or even any

bargaining agent for them. . . .The evidence ts

uncontradicted that the contracts at issue in this case

were most certainly presented on a take-it or leave-it

basis without any possibility for negotiation by the

plaintiffs.”

Hultgren, 913 F.2d at 506.

56

suitable for long-term residence by individuals and be similar to

those found in a typical private residence or apartment, rather than

those found in institutional facilities such as barracks, dormitories.

and short-term facilities for travelers. Id. at 32.

It is virtually undisputed that Region V did not provide

private quarters and a home-like environment for the employces. The

district court relied upon a stipulation that the testimony of all of the

employees who did testify "shall be considered to accurately reflect

the working conditions for all LST’s who are plaintiffs.” Mem.Op.

at 3. The majority holds that Gary Sexton’s sleep time should be

compensated because he was never given a private bedroom. Patrick

Bouchard also testified that he never had a private bedroom. He

testified that he had to sleep on a couch in the living room because

of the condition of the staff bedroom in this group home. He

testified that the bed was stained and smelled of urine. body odor,

and leakage from a staff person who had a tracheotomy. Tr. at 337-

40; see also Tr. at 369-70. The stipulation makes the testimony of

Sexton and Bouchard binding as to all the employees. All the agency

letters assumed that the employees had a “home-like environment”

with a private bedroom. The record presents a vivid and Startling

contrast. There was testimony that in some cases the employees

slept on couches in the living rooms, on roll away beds in the

kitchen, or on the floor either because there was no private bedroom

or the bed was not in a sanitary condition. Tr. at 51-52, 74, 145-|48.

191-93, 261-63, 336-40,43 1-33, 541-43. There is little evidence that

any of the employees had private quarters where they could leave

their belongings during on and off duty periods. Tr. at 44, 147-48.

261-63, 339, 432, 542. Most of the employees testified that they

could not leave any of their personal belongings in the homes while

they were off duty because the clients would get into them. Id.

il. The Unilateral Agreement

Region V did not negotiate with its employees on the issue

57

of sleep time compensation. It created its own employment

agreement from a sample agreement obtained from the National

Association of Private Residential Resources ("NAPRR"). The

NAPRR had advised Region V that the agreement had been

approved by the Department. Region V deleted portions of the

sample agreement discussing the value of room and board provided

to the employee by the employer. Region V’;s agreement stated that

"since both the meals and quarters made available to EMPLOYEE

are for REGION V’s convenience, no value is assigned to room and

board for pay purposes, and no charge is made to EMPLOYEE fer

them." J. App. at 47. Region V also did not include the

"Employment Agreement Pay Schedule Breakdown" that was

attached to the sample agreement as part of the contract. The pay

schedule breakdown applies a fixed dollar value to the employee's

use of the premises and it specified the number of hours excluded

pursuant to the terms of the agreement. Region V did not distinguish

between the employer's premises and the employee's living quarters

as did the sample agreement. It also added a clause stating that all

overtime had to be documented with incident reports. Region V

never asked legal counsel to review the agreement regarding the

sleep time exclusion. Tr. at 765-768. It only asked counsel to review

the agreement for "legal problems." Tr. at 768; Jt. App. at 89-90.

Any agreement to exclude sleep time must be "mutua!ly

agreed upon."” Region V did not attempt to reach a "mutually

agreed-upon" decision that sleep time would be uncompensated. The

1985 opinion letter stated that the employer could not unilaterally

decide to exclude sleep time from compensation. Appellant's App.

at 27. Region V’s employees had no input into the terms of the

“The facts here are nearly identical to Hultgren, reflecting that

it is not so easily distinguishable. As in Hultgren, the agreement here

was “the unilateral decision of the employer." Hultgren, 913 F.2d at

S06.

58

agreement. Tr. at 599, 772. Region V required its employees to

individually sign the employment agreement to receive their

paychecks. Tr. at 55-58, 135, 176-77, 418, 454-57, 543-44, 963. The

majority contends there was no evidence that the employees refused

to sign the agreement but it is difficult to refuse to sign under the

duress of a withheld paycheck.

II} Nonconformity with Agency Regulations and Directives

In addition to nonconformity with the Department's

directives regarding home-like environment and a negotiated

agreement, Region V also was not in actual conformity with the

regulations and directives concerning the number of hours worked

before an employer can exclude sleep time.

A. Weekday LSTs

An employer must pay an employee for sleep time unless

the employees’ work schedule falls under one of the exceptions

contained in the regulations. Region V argues that it excluded sleep

time in the good faith belief that its employees fell under the

exceptions. The weekday LSTs* schedule did not comply with any

of the exceptions. ‘They did not qualify for the exception under 29

C.F.R. Section 785.22 (1987), because they were not on duty

twentyfour hours or more.'' The weekday LSTs were off duty for

Weekday LSTs worked Monday 3:30 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.. (slept

from 10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. Monday through Thursday), Tuesday

to Thursday 6:00 to 8:00 a.m., 3:30-10:00 p.m. (off-duty free time

from 8:00 a.m. to 3:30 p.m. Monday through Thursday), and Friday

6:00 to 8:00 a.m.

‘Section 785.22 provides that:

(continued...)

several hours everyday and according to the Department’s

interpretations of the regulations this interruption kept the employees

from qualifying for this exception. Appellant’s App. at 34 (June 30,

1988 letter). The weekday LSTs also did not qualify for the

"residing for extended periods of time exception," under 29 C.F.R.

Section 785.23 (1987) because they did not work eight hours in five

''(. continued)

(a) General. Where an employee is required

to be on duty for 24 hours or more, the employer

and the employee may agree to exclude bona fide

meal periods and a bona fide regularly schedule

sleeping period of not more than 8 hours from hours

worked, provided adequate sleeping facilities are

furnished by the employer and the employee can

usually enjoy an uninterrupted night’s sleep. If

sleeping period is of more than 8 hours, only &

hours will be credited. Where no expressed or

implied agreement to the contrary is present, the 8

hours of sleeping time and lunch periods constitute

hours worked.

(b) Interruptions of slecp. If the sleeping

period is interrupted by a call to duty, the

interruption must be counted as hours worked. if the

period is interrupted to such an extent that the

employee cannot get a reasonable night's slecp, the

entire period must be counted. For enforcement

purposes, the Divisions have adopted the rule that if

the employee cannot get at least 5 hours’ sleep

during the scheduled period the entire time ts

working time.

29 C.F.R. Section 785.22 (1987) (citations omitted).

60

consecutive twenty-four hour periods.'* Jt. App. at 73 (July 27,

1987), which requires the employer to compensate them for sleep

time.’ To qualify for these exceptions not only does the

Region V places the most reliance on section 785.23. This

regulation states:

An employee who resides on his employer’s

premises on a permanent basis or for extended

periods of time is not considered as working all the

time he is on the premises. Ordinarily, he may

engage in normal private pursuits and thus have

enough time for eating, sleeping, entertaining, and

other periods of complete freedom from all duties

when he may leave the premises for purposes of his

own. It is, of course, difficult to determine the exact

hours worked under these circumstances and any

reasonable agreement of the parties which takes into

consideration all of the pertinent facts will be

accepted.

29 C.F.R.Section 785.23(1987) (citations omitted).

Section 785.21 discusses employces on duty iess than twenty-

four hours. It states that:

An employee who is required to be on duty

for less than 24 hours is working even though he is

permitted to sleep or engage in other personal

activitics when not busy. A telephone operator, for

example, who is required to be on duty for specified

hours is working even though she is permitted to

sleep when not busy answering calls. It makes no

difference that she is furnished facilities for

sleeping. Her time is given to her empleyer. She is

(continucd...)

61

employee’s work schedule have to fit within the guidelines, outlined

by the regulations and the Department’s letters, but also the

employer has to provide a home-like environment and the parties

must mutually agree to exclude sleep time from compensation. As

we discussed above, Region V did not provide a home-like

environment for its employees and it did not mutually agree with its

employees to exclude sleep time.

Region V argues that it complied with the regulations after

it changed the weekday LSTs’ schedule on October 1, 1988. After

the change, the weekday LSTs worked eight hour shifts during five

consecutive twenty-four hour periods. This change allowed the LSTs

to qualify for the exception under 785.23. However, Region V still

did not comply with FLSA even after the schedule change because

Region V did not provide the LSTs with a home-like environment

containing private quarters, the parties did not mutually agree to

exclude sleep time, and the LSTs could not obtain a reasonable

night's sleep. The district court found that Region V did not qualify

for the section 785.23 exception because the LSTs were on Region

V's premises for Region V’s benefit at all times. The court found

that section 785.23:

speaks of sleep time as_ one of the "periods of

complete freedom from all duties." The LST’s did

not have complete freedom from their dutics while

they slept. They were required by Region V to

remain on the premises to care for and protect the

clients after clocking out at night.

Mem.Op. at 7. The court also concluded that section 785.23 had

to be read in conjunction with 29 C.F.R. Section 785.14 (1987),

z °

'*(...continued)

required to be on duty and the time ts work time.

29 C.F.R. Section 785.21(1987) (citations omitted).

62

defining whether waiting time is time worked under FLSA." The

court found that a reasonable person would have looked to section

785.14 to decide whether the LSTs sleep time should be

compensated. The court found that because the LSTs were engaged

to wait within the meaning of section 785.14 and Region V knew or

should have known about the Sleep interruptions, Region V was

precluded from using the good faith defense. Mem.Op. at 13-14. The

majority argues that the district court’s reliance on section 785.14

was misplaced because none of the Department’s letters referred to

section 785.14. However, the Department’s May 1985 pamphlet

discussed waiting time and stated that waiting time could be

included in hours worked depending on the circumstances. Jt. App.

at 79. The pamphlet further stated that an employee required to be

on duty for less than twenty-four hours is working even though he

or she is allowed to sleep or engage in other personal activities when

not busy. Id. at 81. "The employee is engaged to wait during slack

time that may occur during the duty period." Id. The pamphlet stated

that an employee who resides on the premises for an extended

“Section 785.14 provides:

Whether waiting time is time worked under

the Act depends upon particular circumstances. The

determination involves "scrutiny and construction of

the agreements between particular parties, appraisal

of their practical construction of the working

agreement by conduct, consideration of the nature of

the service, and its relation to the waiting time, and

all of the circumstances. Facts may show that the

employee was engaged to wait or they may show

that he waited to be engaged." Such questions "must

be determined in accordance with common sense

and the general concept of work or employment."

29 C.F.R. Section 784.14 (1987) (citations omitted).

63

period of time:

is not considered to be working all of the time while

on the employer;s premises. Ordinarily an employee

who resides on the employer’s premises may engage

in private pursuits; has enough time for eating.

sleeping, and entertaining; and has other periods of

complete freedom from duties when he or she may

leave the premises for personal reasons. It is, of

course, difficult to determine the exact hours of

work under these circumstances. Therefore, any

reasonable agreement by the parties which takes into

consideration all of the pertinent facts will be

accepted.

Id.at 82. Even while sleeping, Region V’s employees did not have

complete freedom from their duties because they were required to be

on the premises and available in case the clients needed them. The

LSTs were engaged to wait during the night.'° The district court’s

finding that Region V should look to section 785.14 is not clearly

' The pamphlet stated that employees"on call" who were not

required to remain on the employer's premises and who were free

to engage in personal pursuits were not working while on call.

However,

{wyhen an employee is called out on a_ job

assignment, only the time actually spent in making

the call need be counted as hours worked. Of

course, if calls are so frequent or the readiness

conditions are so restrictive that the employee ts not

really free to use the intervening periods effectively

for his or her own benefit, the employee may be

considered as "engaged to wait" rather than "waiting

to be engaged."

Jt. App. at 80.

64

erroneous under these circumstances. '°

B.Weekend LSTs

Weekend LSTs qualify for the twenty-four hour duty

exception under section 785.22'’. According to the regulations,

these employees should be considered relief employees, not full-time

employees. The majority makes its own factual findings regarding

the weekend LSTs’ ability to get at least five hours of sleep.

although these employees fall within section 785.22. sleep time can

only be deducted if the employee can get at least five hours of sleep

during the scheduled period. The district court specifically found that

the weekend LSTs rarely received five hours of sleep. Mem. Op. at

9. The majority, however, overlooks this finding and uses the time

cards to find that the employees typically received at least five hours

of sleep a night. The majority did not state that the district court’s

The majority states that Region V could reasonably rely on the

Department's February 3, 1981, leiter discussing the sleep time issue

as it applicd to house parents in a group home. The majority argues

that the house parents’ schedule in that letter was similar to the

weekday LSTs’” schedule in this case. The schedule referred to in the

letter indicated that employees on duty from 9:00 a.m. Monday to

5:00 p.m. Friday are considered to reside on the premises for

extended periods of time within Section 785.23 because they are on

duty five consecutive days but did not work full days. The LSTs

only worked two hours on Friday. This is far removed from

conformity with the Department's letter. That letter also provided

that the parties had to have a reasonable agreement regarding sleep

time deductions and that the employer had to provide a home-like

environment with private quarters for the employees.

’ Weekend LSTs worked Friday from 3:30-10:00 p.m. (slept

10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m. Friday through Sunday), Saturday and

Sunday 6:00 a.m. to 10:00 p.m., and Monday 6:00 to 8:00 a.m.

65

finding was clearly erroneous. The majority also does not address

the fact that the district court found the LSTs were not allowed to

document many of their sleep time interruptions. The majority

distinguishes Hultgren on this point, arguing that Hultgren did not

involve full-time employees. In this case, the only employees

considered full-time by the regulations are the weekday LSTs. The

weekend and substitute LSTs are considered relief employees. In any

event, the letters also state that relief and full-time employees should

be treated the same regarding sleep time deductions. See Appellant's

App. at 27-28 (Aug. 20, 1985 letter). The majority attempts to

distinguish Hultgren on the basis that the Hultgren district court

found the employees averaged from zero to four hours of sleep a

night. The majority finds that this was obviously inconsistent with

the regulations. The district court in this case found that Region V's

employees did not receive five hours of sleep a night. Thus, Region

V’s treatment of its employees also was obviously inconsistent with

he regulations. In this regard the majority's analysis remains

inexplicable.

Cc. Substitute LSTs

Substitute LSTs worked the same shift as the person they

replaced. Thus, they should also be considered relicf employces.

To show compliance with the Department’s requirements,

Region V asserted that its employees were on call from 6:00 a.m.

until 2:00 p.m. Tr. at 667-70. The employees, however, were never

called in nor did they have to provide a telephone number where

they could be reached. Even if an "on-call" employee was needed to

work for some reason, Region V would call a substitute instead of

a full-time employee. Tr. 566-70. This was an obvious attempt to

circumvent the regulations. These violations cannot be ignored when

weighing the alleged good faith reliance on the agency letters upon

which the majority opinion focuses.

66

CONCLUSION

Each directive relied on by Region V to support its good

faith defense was conditioned upon (1) the employer and the

employees agreeing in advance to exclude sleep time, and (2) the

employer providing a home-like environment for the employees

Region V did not meet these conditions

I respectfully submit that this court should be bound by the

record and our own precedent. | therefore dissent

67

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE DISTRICT OF NEBRASKA

BONNIE BOUCHARD, et al., ) CV88-L-21

) CV89-L-386

Plaintiff, )

)

VS. )

)

THE REGIONAL GOVERNING )

BOARD OF REGION V MENTAL _ )

RETARDATION SERVICES and )

REGION V MENTAL RETARDATION

SERVICES, ) MEMORANDUM OF

) DECISION

Defendants. )

KEVIN HUSS, CHRIS AMUNDSON,

and JERRY JUNKERS,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

THE REGIONAL GOVERNING

BOARD OF REGION V MENTAL

RETARDATION SERVICES, in

the official capacity, and

REGION V. MENTAL

RETARDATION SERVICES,

Defendants.

69

This action is brought pursuant to the Fair Labor Standars Act, 29

U.S.C §§ 201, et.seq. (FLSA). By stipulation of the parties the

cases of Bonnie Bouchard, et. al. and Kevin Huss, et. al. have been

consolidated. The twenty plaintiffs in these actions are past and

present employees of Region V Mental Retardation Services

(Region V). They seek unpaid straight and overtime compensation

for sleep time that occurred during the course of their employment

at Region V in Fairbury, Nebraska. In addition they seek liquidated

damages, costs and attorney's fees.

FACTS

Region V operates group homes for clients with mental

retardation in a sixteen-county area in Nebraska. It is governed by

a Board of Directors consisting of one county commissioner for

each sixteen counties. The Region provides both vocational and

residential services to its mentally retarded clients. All the plaintiffs

are past or present Life Skills Trainers (LST’s) assigned to work

one of three different shifts.

WEEKDAY SHIFTS:

Weekday LST’s began their shifts on Monday at 3:30 p.m.

when they arrived at the residential facility and clocked in. The

LST’s clocked out at approximately 10:00 p.m. The LST’s

remained on the premises until 6:00 a.m. on Tuesday morning,

when they again clocked in. They remained on the premises and

clocked out at approximately 8:00 a.m. on Tuesday morning. After

8:00 a.m. the LST’s left the residential facility and returned at 3:30

p.m. on Tuesday. This schedule continued until Friday morning at

8:00 a.m., at which point they left the residential facility and did not

return until the following Monday.

For the above-mentioned time period from 10:00 p.m. until

6:00 a.m. the following morning, the LST’s were required to remain

70

on the premises and were not allowed to leave the premises at any

time. They were allowed to sleep but were required to be available

to care for clients’ needs during the sleep time at all times in the

event of an emergency. In the event an LST was called to duty

during sleep-time hours, he or she would be compensated for the

time actually spent up with a client. This time was to be rounded

to the nearest quarter hour, with time spent up of less than 5-8

minutes (testimony varied) uncompensable.

WEEKEND SHIFTS:

Weekend LST’s began their shifts on Friday at 3:30 p.m.

and remained clocked in until 10:00 that night. The LST’s

remained on the premises until 6:00 Saturday morning when they

clocked in again. They remained clocked in until 10:00 Saturday

evening. They remained on the premises until 6:00 a.m. Sunday at

which time they clocked back in and remained on the clock unti!

10:00 Sunday night. They remained on the premises until Monday

morning, when the clocked in from 6:00 a.m. to 8:00 a.m. They

then left the residence until the following Friday. Weekend LST’s

were not allowed to leave the premises a night on the weekends.

Again, as with weekday staff, they were allowed to sleep at night,

and were paid for interruptions rounded to the nearest quarter hour.

SUBSTITUTE SHIFTS:

Substitute LST’s were required to fill in for one of the

above shifts when needed. Their schedule mirrors the above

schedules. They too were required to remain on the premises, were

allowed to sleep, and were paid for interruptions rounded to the

nearest quarter hour.

Generally, the duties of the LST’s involved the responsibilty

for utilizing individual program plans to instruct mentally retarded

71

clients in social skills, toilet training, feeding, dressing, motor

coordination, management of personal finances, cooking, shopping,

telling time and other social skills necessary to independent living.

Their duties also included preparation of meals, maintaining sanitary

living conditions, administering medication, recording daily

activities of clients, and providing input to superiors concerning

physical and emotional needs and progress of clients.

During the time period from approximately 10:00 p.m. until

8:00 a.m. the LST’s were required to remain on the premises.

Some residences provided the LST with a staff bedroom; in other

residences the LST slept on a cot or couch in the general living

area.

David Merrill, the Executive Director of Region V, testified

that Region V represents itself as providing 24-hour care and that

Region V does receive a benefit from having the LST’s on the

premises during sleep-time hours. This is supported by the ample

testimony of the LST’s concerning the activity of the clients during

sleep-time hours and the general inability of the LST’s to gain a

restful night’s sleep. Testimony was received regarding

interruptions incurred by plaintiffs working all three different shifts.

To avoid cumulative and repetitive testimony the parties stipulated

that the testimony of all plaintiffs who did testify shall be

considered to accurately reflect the working conditions for all LST’s

who are plaintiffs herein and who were employed by Region V

Fairbury for the time period from April 15, 1986, until the present.

Bouchard, Filing 48, Huss, Filing 4.

Among the interruptions which LST’s dealt with during

sleep-time hurs were (1) a client who hit herself and the wall during

the night, (2) a client who urinated and defecated on the floor of her

bathroom, (3) clients who were incontinent and soiled their beds

during the night for which an LST would clean up the client and

72

Oe

change the sheets, (4) clients who woke up during the night and

wandered about the residence, (5) clients who needed assistance in

using the toliet, including the removal of clothing, wiping and

flushing, (6) a client who had tried to leave the residence in the

past. (7) clients who woke up during the night, dressed themselves

and thought it was time to go to work, (8) a client who liked to get

out of bed and rearrange things, (9) clients who awoke and become

afraid of the sound of wind, thunder, and sirens, (10) a client who

spent some nights awake and yelling, (11) a client who had a

tendency to steal from other clients at night and damage property,

(12) a client who had on occasion had a bowel movement in bed

and then smeared it on the wall, (13) clients who came into the

room where the LST was sleeping to make sure the LST was still

there, (14) clients who became physically agressive, (15) a client

with diarrhea and a prolapsed bowel, which ment the LST had to

check her after each restroom visit to make sure her bowels had not

fallen outside her body, and (16) a client prone to epileptic seizures.

It is undisputed that the LST’s could (and sometimes did)

write down these nighttime interruptions and that they would be

paid for the time they were up and attending to a client.

Interruptins for which the LST was up less than 5-8 minutes was

not compensted and no compensation was allowed except for time

the LST was out of bed. Time spent listening, wondering, worrying

or waiting in bed, however alertly , was not compensated.

LEGAL ANALYSIS

Since 1985 the provisions of the FLSA have been held

applicable to state and local governments. Garcia v. San Antonio

Metro. Transit Auth., 469 U.S. 528 (1985). After the Garcia

decisions, Congress provided that state and local governments would

be sebject to the wage and hour provisions of the FLSA beginning

on April 15, 1986. See Pub. L. No. 99-150. 99th Congress.

73

At issue here is whether the plaintiffs’ sleep time constitutes

work time within the FLSA. The question of whether sleep time

constitutes work time is a question of fact for the trial court.

Skidmore v. Swift, 323 U.S. 123 (1944). "This involves scrutiny

and construction of the agreements between the particular parties,

appraisal of their practical construction of the working agreement by

conduct, consideration of the nature of the service, and its relation

to the waiting time and all of the surrounding circumstances."

Skidmore, supra at 137.

It is well settled that sleep time constitutes work time under

appropriate circumstances. Beaston v. Scotland School for Veterans

Children, 693 F. Supp. 234 (M.D. Pa. 1988), aff'd 869 f.2d 587

(3rd cir. 1989).

Courts are assisted by interpretive bulletins issued by the

Administrator of the Wage and Hour Division of the United States

Department of Labor. Although these interpretive bulletins are not

binding on the courts, they do offer guidance. Beaston, supra at

237. The policy concerning sleep time is in Interpretive Bulletin

Part 785, in Title 29 of the Code of Federal Regulations (Ex. 102),

as follows:

Section 785.20-GENERAL

Under certain conditions an employee is

considered to be working even though some of his

time is spent in sleeping or in certain other activities.

Section 785.21 LESS THAN 24-HOUR DUTY.

An employee who is required to be on duty for less

than 24 hours is working even though he ts permitted

to sleep or engage in other personal activitics when

not busy. A telephone operator, for example, who ts

required to be on duty for specified hours 1s working

74

even though she is permitted to sleep when not busy

answering calls. It makes no difference that she is

furnished facilities for sleeping. Her time is given

to her employer. She is required to be on duty and

the time is worktime. (Citations omitted)

Section 785.22 DUTY OF 24 HOURS OR MORE

(a) General. Where an employee is required to be

on duty for 24 hours or more, the employer and the

employee may agree to exclude bona fide meal periods

and a bona fide regularly scheduled sleeping period

of not more than 8 hours from hours worked. provided

adequate sleeping facilities are furnished by the

employer and the employee can usually enjoy an

uninterrupted night's sleep. If sleeping period of

more than 8 hours, only 8 hours will be credited. Where

no expressed or implied agreement to the contrary is

present, the 8 hours of sleeping time and lunch periods

constitute hours worked. (citations ommited)

(b) Interruptions of sleep. If the sleeping period is

interrupted by a call to duty, the interruption must

be counted as hours worked. If the period is interrupted

to such an extent that the employee cannot get a reasonable

night's sleep, the entire must be counted. For enforcement

purposes, the Divisions have adopted the rule that if the

employee cannot get a least 5 hours’ sleep during the

scheduled period the entire time is working time.

(citation omitted)

Section 785.23-EMPLOYEES RESIDING ON

EMPLOYER’S PREMISES OR WORKING AT HOME.

An employee who resides on his employer's

premises on a permanent basis or for extended

periods of time is not considered as working all the

time he is on the premises. Ordinarily, he may engage

in normal private pursuits and thus have enough time

for eating, sleeping, entertaining, and other periods

of complete freedom from all duties when he may leave

the premises for purposes of his own. It is of course

difficult to determine the exact hours worked under these

circumstances and any reasonable agreement of the parties

which takes into consideration all of the pertinent

facts will be accepted. This rule would apply, for

example, to the pumper of a stripper well who resides

on the premises of his employer and also to a telephone

operator who has the switchboard in her own home.

(citations omitted)

Thus, sleep time is compensable unless an employee is on

duty for 24 hours or more and a qualified agreement for

nonpayment is reached (§§ 785.22), or where an employee resides

on his employer’s premises on a permanent basis or for an extended

period of time (§§ 785.23).

WEEKDAY LIST’S

I believe that neither the §§ 785.22 exception nor the

§§ 785.23 exception applies to weckday LST’s, and thus they are

entitled to compensation for sleep time. Richard Packwood,

Director of Fiscal Management for Region V until March 1988,

testified that weekday LST’s "definitely" did not work a series of

17-hour shifts, but rather were on duty for 24 hours or more, even

though the LST’s left the residence at approximately 8:00 a.ni. and

did not return until 3:30 p.m. Both Merrill and Packwood testified

that during these hours the LST’s were "on-call". Section 785.17

76

of the Interpretive Bulletin defines on-call time as follows:

An employee who is required to remain on call on

the employer’s premises or so close thereto that

he cannot use the time effectively for his own

purposes is working while "on call." An employee

who is not required to remain on the employer's

premises but is merely required to leave word at

his home with company officials where he may be

reached is not working while on call. (citations

omitted)

Plaintiff Ila Fett testified that she was not required to leave

a number where she could be reached after clocking out at 8:00 a.m.

She was not required to carry a beeper. Plaintiff Vickie Dannewitz

tessified that she was never told that she was on-call during that

time and in fact was never called in. She stated that the policy of

Region V was to call in a substitute LST if a client became ill or

for some reason an LST was needed to care for a client during

daytime hours. Plaintiff Gary Sexton testified that he never

understood he was to be on-call during the day and that he took

college classes outside of Fairbury when he was not working.

Kevin Huss was aware that he was considered to be on-call after

8:00 a.m. but that he was not required to carry a beeper, was never

called in, that he considered himself free until 4:00 p.m., and that

if'a client became ill during the day a substitute LST was called in.

David Merrill testified that LST’s were not required to leave a

phone number where they could be reached and that they were not

required to carry beepers, but that he wanted LST’s to be available

for mectings. He did not recall if he ever told LST’s that they

would not be called in after 8:00 a.m. and before 3-00 p.m., but that

he may have told them that Region V would try not to call them in

and instead would first try to find a substitute. It is clear from the

testimony that the LST’s were not on-call during their hours away

77

purse

from the residence, but were instead off-duty. Therefore, the LST’s

do not fall within the excetion contained in §§785.22.

The defendant contends that the LST’s fall within the

second exception contained in §§ 785.23, that being that sleep time

need not be compensated when an employee resides on an

employer's premises for an extended period of time. I disagree.

Section 785.23 is not applicable to the working conditions of the

LST’s. Section 785.23 contemplates a situation where an employee

would at times be on his or her employer’s premises for his or her

own benefit. It is clear from the testimony that the LST’s were at

all times on the group home premises for Region V’s benefit,

including the period of their sleep time. Section 785.23 speaks of

sleep time as one of the "periods of complete freedom from all

duties". The LST’s did not have complete freedom from their

duties while they slept. They were required by Region V to remain

on the premises to care for and protect the clients after clocking out

at night.

More importantly, the provisions of §§ 785.23 must be read

in conjunction with §§ 785.14, which states:

Whether waiting time is time worked under the act

depends upon particular circumstances. The

determination involves "scrutiny and construction of

the agreements between particular parties, appraisal

of their practical construction of the working

agreement by conduct, consideration of the nature

of the service, and its relation to the waiting time,

and all of the circumstances. Facts may show that

the employee was engaged to wait, or they may

show that he waited to be engaged." (Skidmore v.

Swift, 323 U.S. 134 (1944) ) Such questions "must

be determined in accordance with common sense

78

and the general concept of work or employment."

(Central Mo. Tel. Co. v. Conwell, 170 F.2d 641

(C.A. 8, 1948) )

The following cases demonstrate that the LST’s were

engaged to be waiting and are entitled to compensation for sleep

time.

In Armour & Co. v. Wantock, 323 U.S. 126 (1944) the

Court addressed the issue of whether firefighters who were required

to remain on the company’s premises from 5:00 p.m. when they

clocked out until 8:00 a.m. the next morning were entitled to

compensation for that time. During their nighttime duty the

firefighters were required to remain on the premises, respond to any

alarms, make temorary repairs of fire apparatus and take care of any

defective sprinkler systems. These tasks consumed on the average

less than one-half hour per week. Armour did not deny that the

time actually spent working in the nighttime hours should be

compensated In affirming the 7th Circuit’s finding that such

nighttime hours should be compensated, the Court held:

Readiness to serve may be hired, quite as much as

service itself, and time spent lying in wait for

threats to safety of the employer’s property may be

treated by parties as a benefit to the employer.

Whether time is spent predomnantly for the

employer's benefit or for the employee's is a

question dependant upon all the circumstances of the

case. 323 US. at 133.

In the companion case of Skidmore v. Swift & Co., 323 U.S. 134

(1944) the question of to whose benefit nighttime hours were spent

was again raised. The answer depends on whether the employee

was "engaged to wait" or "waiting to be engaged". Skidmore, supra

79

at 137.

In general, the answer depends "upon the degree to which

the employee is free to engage in personal activities

during periods of idleness when he is subject to call

and the number of consecutive hours that the employee is

subject to call without being required to perform active

work." "Hours worked are not limited to the time spent in

active labor but include time given by the employee to the

employer..." Skidmore, supra at 138.

Four years later the 8th Circuit applied the principles of

Armour and Skidmore in Central Missouri Tel. Co. v. Conwell, 170

F.2d 641 (8th Cir. 1948). The plaintiffs, two nighttime telephone

operators, brought an action to recover compensation for overtime

hours worked during their eleven-hours-a-day, six-days-a-week shift,

which started at 9:00 p.m. and ended at 8:00 o'clock the next

morning. The plaintiffs were paid only for eight hours of work

because they were allowed to rest or sleep during times when the

switchboard did not need attending. The evidence showed that on

some nights the plaintiffs received several hours sleep while on

other nights they received very little sleep due to frequent

interruptions. The court held that the entire cleven-hour shift must

be compensated, because it was clear that they were required to be

on the premises ready to serve and "were not there for the purpose

of sleep nor for any purpose of their own, but for their employer's

benefit." Central Missouri Tcl. Co., supra at 646.

The court distinguished a previous case by the 8th Circet

in which sleep time was held not compensable and upon which

Region V relics in the present case. In Rokey_v. Day &

Zimmerman, 157 F.2d 734 (8th Cir. 1946) the plaintiffs were

employed as firemen who were required to be on duty for 24 hours

SO

a day on alternate days. They were paid for sixteen of those hours,

with the remaining eight hours uncompensated a sleep time. This

arrangement was upheld on the basis that interruptions were rare

and the plaintiffs slept an average of eight or nine hours a night.

The Central Missouri court held that Rokey was _ readily

distinguishable in its facts for the reason that the firemen were

rarely interrupted.

A more recent case that has explained the waiting to be

engaged doctrine is Halferty v. Pulse Drug Co., Inc., 821 F.2d 261

(Sth Cir. 1987), modified 864 f.2d 1185 (Sth Cir. 1989).

{W]hen idle time is spent predominantly for the

benefit of the employer, not the employee, the

employee is engaged to be waiting, not waiting

to be engaged and is entitled to compensation.

Conversely, if the time primarily benefits the

employee, the employee can be considered to be

waiting to be engaged, and should receive

compensation for actual work time. Halferty, sura

at 269.

The LST’s employed by Region V were staying at the

residences during the nighttime hours for the benefit of Region V,

not for their own benefit. The testimony of David Merrill

acknowledges that LST’s were responsible for the clients’ safety and

well-being and were in fact responsible for the clients’ lives. He

believes that it is the responsibility of an LST to respond to a client

during the nighttime hours if the LST has reason to believe a client

could cause harm to himself or others, or could cause damage to

property. The testimony of the LST’s shows that they believe

themselves to function in a parent-like role and that they remained

responsible for the clients’ safety at any time they were on duty,

including those hours during which they were allowed to sleep.

8]

WEEKEND LST’S

I find that weekend LST’s did work for 24 hours or more.

At issue is whether weekend LST’s fall within the 785.22 exception,

which states that "where an employee is required to be on duty for

24 hours or more, the employer and employee may agree to exclude

a bona fide regularly scheduled sleeping period... provided

adequate sleeping facilities are furnished by the employer and _the

employee can usually enjoy _an_uninterrupted_night’s_ sleep.”

(Emphasis supplied)

The greater weight of testimony showed that LST’s were

rarely, if ever, able to enjoy an uninterrupted night's sleep. In fact,

few LST’s ever had a night where they received at least five hours

of uninterrupted sleep. The demands of their job simply did not

allow for such luxury

SUBSTITUTE LST’S

As mentioned previously, substitute LST’s filled in for both

weekday and weekend staff on an as-need basis. In analyzing the

question of sleep-time compensation for substitute LST’s it is

necessary only to determine whether they were filling in for a

weekday person or a weekend person. If they were filling in for a

weekday person the analysis previously discussed for weekday

LST’s should be equally applied to their substitutes. If they were

filling in for weekend LST’s then the analysis previously discussed

for weekend LST’s should be applied.

GOOD FAITH DEFENSE

Region V asserts that even if | find that it violated the

provisions of the FLSA, it is entitled to a good faith defense under

the Portal to Portal Act, 29 U.S.C. $$ 259 (PTPA). The act states

in pertinent part as follows:

ee

(a) In any action or proceeding based on any act or

omissions on or after May 14, 1947, no employer shall be

subject to any liability or punishment for or on account

of the failure of the employer to pay minimum wages or

overtime compensation under the [FLSA] ... if he pleads

and proves that the act or omission complained of was in

good faith in conformity with and in reliance on any

written administrative regulation, order, ruling, approval,

or interpretation, of the agency of the United States

specified in subsection (b) of this section, or any

administrative practice or enforcement policy of such agency

with respect to the class of employers to which he belonged.

Such a defense, if established, shall be a bar to the

action or proceeding, notwithstanding that after such

act Or Omission, such administrative regulation, order,

ruling, approval, interpretation, practice, or enforcement

policy is modified or rescinded or is determined by judicial

authority to be invalid or of no legal effect.

(b) The agency referred to in subsection (a) of this

section shall be -- (1) in the case of the Fair Labor

Standards of 1938, as amended...the Administrator of

the Wage and Hour Division of the Department of Labor.

Good faith is determined by using an objective test for

which the evidence must show that the defendant’s acts were

consistent with those of a reasonably prudent person under similar

circumstances. Good faith requires that the employer have honesty

of intention and no knowledge of circumstances that ought to put

him or her on inguiry. 29 C.F.R. §§ 790.15(a). Region V relied on

several documenis received from the National Association of Private

Residential Facilities for the Mentally Retarded (NAPRFMR) who

X3

had in turn received these documents from a deputy administrator

(Ex. 104) and as assistant administrator (Ex. 105) in the Wage and

Hour Division. In Hultgren et. al. v. County of Lancaster, No.

CV88-L-93 (D. Neb., May 10, 1989) the defendant asserted a good-

faith defense under 29 U.S.C. 259. The defendant, in part, based its

defense on two opinion letters from the deputy administrator of the

Wage and Hour Division. The court concluded that the opinion

letters were insufficient to support a finding that the defendant acted

in good faith because the documents were not issued by the

Administrator of the-Wage and Hour Division as required in §§

259(b). The opinion letters came from lesser officials or employees

and were therefore insufficient to support the good-faith defense of

§§ 259. See also, National Automatic Laundry and Cleaning

Council v. Schultz, 443 F.2d 689 (D.C. Cir. 1971).

While I realize that §§ 29 U.S.C. 259(a) states that one is

entitled to rely on a written administrative regulaiton, order, etc., of

the agency specified (that agency being the Administrator of the

Wage and Hour Division), this is not broad enough to cover lesser

officials within the agency, including deputy and assistant

administrators. I base this conclusion on the fact that "agency" Is

defined in 29 C.F.R. 790.19 as being expressly limited to the

official or officials actually vested with final authority under the

statutes involved. It goes on to explain that the definition of

"agency" in other federal statutes indicates that the term has

customarily been restricted in its usage by Congress "to the persons

vested under the statutes with the real power to act for the

Government--those who actually have the power to act as (rather

than merely for) the highest administrative authority of the

Government establishment*". (* footnote omitted)

For this reason | will not consider any documents which

Region V received from anyone other than the Administrator in

determining whether a good faith defense applics.

&4

Three documents, authored by the Administrator of the

Wage and Hour Division, were received by Region V. It appears

that these documents were not received by Region V directly from

the Administrator but rather through NAPRFMR. The first

document is a memorandum dated December 2, 1987, upon which

both Merrill and Packwood relied. (Ex 108) It said that time spent

sleeping by employees of group homes who failed to meet the

definition of full-time or relief employees, as discussed in FOH

31d01, could not be excluded in computing cempensable hours of

work. In order to exclude sleep time for such employees they must

be on duty for 24 hours or more, as discussed in 785.22. No

evidence has been furnished to guide me in determining the

definition contained in FOH 31d01 but I find nothing in the

memorandum of December 2, 1987, that would give Region V an

objectively valid reason for believing in good faith that the LST’s

should not be compensated for their sleep time.

In the second memorandum (Ex. 109) dated January 4,

1988, the Administrator stated that the National Office would be

reviewing group home compliance involving issues of hours worked

and would in the near future provide specific guidance on how

hours worked should be teeated in investigations of group homes.

All investigations of group homes involving issucs of work hours

then in progress were suspended. Nothing in this memorandum

gives Region V an objective reason for believing in good faith that

the LST’s were not entitled to compensation for their sleep time.

Finally, David Merrill received a memorandum authored by

the Administrator dated June 30, 1988. (Ex. 160) Merrill reviewed

this document and sent a copy to his legal counsel requesting an

opinion. The document states that the review of group home

investigations had been completed and tt was determined that further

guidance on hours worked issues was necessary. An enforcement

policy is attached to the memorandum for guidance as to the

conditions under which the Wage and Hour Division, in its

enforcement of FLSA, will not require compensation for sieep time.

It starts out by reviewing its previous position on the definition of

"residing on the premises permanently" or for "extended periods of

time" and says that in 1981 it took the position that residing on the

employer's premises for 120 hours a week or 5 consecutive days or

nights would qualify an employee as residing on the premises for

an extended period of time. It goes on to say that it is refining and

restating the minimum conditions required to be deemed as residing

on the premises for an extended period of time. The new conditions

were that: (1) the employee be on duty at the group home and be

compensated for at least eight hours in each of five consecutive 24-

hour periods; and (2) the employee must sleep on the premises for

all sleep periods between the beginning and end of the 24-hour

period. The following example is given:

Any 24-hour period can be utilized, and the eight

compensated hours per 24-hour period need not be

consecutive. Thus, an employee who is on duty and

compensated for the period 5:00 p.m. to 10:00 p.m.

Monday, 6:00 a.m. to 9:00 a.m. and 3:00 p.m. to —

10:00 p.m. Tuesday through Friday, and 6:00 a.m.to

9:00 a.m. Saturday, and who sleeps on the premises

(10:00 p.m. to 6:00 a.m.) for all sleep periods from

Monday night through Friday night, has been compensated

for at least cight hours in five consecutive 24-hours

periods between 5:00 p.m. Monday and 5:00 p.m. Saturday.

The employee would also have slept five consecutive nights

on the premises. Provided the other conditions were met,

this would be considered to be residing on the premises

for an extended period of time.

Weekday LST’s did not meet this criteria because they did

86

i]

not work eight hours in five consecutive 24-hour periods. David

Merrill testified that after receiving this document Region V made

a schedule change in October 1988, so that weekday LTS’s worked

eight-hour shifts during five different 24-hour periods. The issue is

whether this is sufficient to support a finding that Region V had an

objective reason for good faith reliance in believing, at least at this

point when they changed their schedule, that they were in

compliance with wage and hour laws and that they did not need to

compensate for sleep time.

Section 785.23 must be read in light of §§ 785.14. The

memorandum did not address a situation where an employee is

engaged to be waiting during the time the employee is allowed to

sleep. Under a reasonable person (objective) standard, Region V

had to read the memorandum in light of the conditions and

requirements of the entire Interpretive Bulletin as they knew them

or should have known them. I believe a reasonable person should

have read the memorandum in light of the waiting to be engaged

doctrine embodied in §§ 785.14. Section 785.14 is contained in the

same Interpretive Bulletin that contains §§ 785.22 and §§ 785.23

This Bulletin was received by Region V on or about February 27

1985, so there is no question but that Region V had the provisions

of §§ 785.14 within its possession.

The next question to be answered is whether a reasonable

person in the position of Region V would know or should have

known that the LST’s were performing services for Region V during

sleep-time hours; that is, that the LST’s were on the premises for

Region V's benefit, David Merrill testified that he relied on the

LST’s time cards to determine how many interruptions occurred

during sleep time. Kal Lausterer, area director of Region V in

Fairbury also believed that interruptions incurred by LST’s were

written down on time sheets. The general consensus of testimony

by the LST’s was that they sometimes, but not consistently,

documented sleep-time interruptions on their time sheets. However,

this was due in large part to the fact that the LST’s were not

allowed to document any interruptions which did not last at least 5-

7 minutes and could not document interruptions for which they did

not have to physically be out of bed. Both Merrill and Klausterer

knew that the these were the policies of Region V.

In addition, Region V was informed by various LST’s that

they had problems with nighttime interruptions. Ila Fett voiced

concerns to Lausterer about her problems sleeping. She also told

Clarice Wienke, residential coordinator for Region V in Fairbury,

about her sleep-time problems. Wienke’s response was that it was

sad, but nothing could be done. Vickie Dannewitz testified that

Lausterer and Wienke were aware that she regularly got out of bed

at 5-00 a.m. to take two of her clients to the restroom, and that she

had discussed sleep time problems with Wienke. Gary Sexton

stated that his supervisors were aware that he got up every 1 1/2

hours to take a client to the bathroom and that he was instructed to

do this when he started his job. Between July 1986 and August

1987 Patrick Bouchard had conversations with Lausterer regarding

payment for sleep time. Bouchard described this as a "constant

topic". Dan Rosey testified that he complained to Lausterer and

Wienke more than once about nighttime interruptions.

| find from the evidence as a whole that Region V knew or

shoud have known that the LST’s sleep-time interruptions did occur,

and that they were a normal part of the job. This, combined with

the fact that Region V knew about or should have been aware of

S$ 785.14, eliminates any good faith defense. I cannot find that

their acts were consistent with those of a reasonably prudent person,

nor can I find that they had no knowledge of circumstance that

ought to have put them on inquiry.

The memorandum goes on to explain that where one or

SS

more employees meet the full-time employee/residing on the

premises test described above, Wage and Hour will likewise apply

the provisions of 785.23 to one or more "relief" employees who

reside on the premises for one to three nights. It is clear that they

are referring to employees who temporarily take the place of a full-

time employee, such as a substitute LST filling in for a weekday

LST not a weekend LST. Nothing is this memorandum gives

Region V an objective reason for believing in good faith that

weekend LST’s were not entitled to compensation for their sleep

time.

LIQUIDATED DAMAGES

Plaintiffs seek, in addition to unpaid compensation, an

additional equal amount as liquidated damages pursuant to 29

U.S.C. 216 (b) which directs than an employer who violates the

minimum wage or overtime provisions "shall be lable ... in the

amount of ... their unpaid overtime compensation, and in an

additional equal amount as liquidated damages." However, 29

U.S.C. 260 permits an employer to assert a good faith defense to

payment if the employer can show "that the act or omission giving

rise to [the] action was in good faith and that he had reasonable

grounds for believing that his act or omission was not a violation of

the [FLSA]."

Whether the good faith defense applies depends on a two-

part test. In order to invoke the defense the employer has the

burden of showing that he acted in good faith and that he had

reasonable grounds for belicving that he did not violate the FLSA

Sinclair v. Automobile Club of Oklahoma, Inc., 733 F.2d 726 (10th

Cir. 1984). this ts in contrast to the objective good faith test used

in $$ 259. Here, the test for awarding liquidated damages

incorporates both a subjective and an objective standard. In order

to satisfy the subjective good faith component under $$ 260 the

employer is obligated to prove that he had an honest intention to

ascertain the requirements of the FLSA and to act in accordance

with it. E.E.O.C. v. First Citizens Bank of Billings, 758 F.2d 397,

cert. denied, 474 U.S. 902 (1985).

Acts or omissions occurring on advice of counsel or other

professionals warrant a finding, under a subjective test, that an

employer acted in good faith and, objectively, will support a finding

that the employer had reasonable grounds upon which he could base

a belief that he was acting in accordance with FLSA requirements.

Hultgren et. al. v. County of Lancaster, supra. In Lane v. M’s Pub,

Inc., 435 F. Supp. 917 (D. Neb. 1977) the court denied the

plaintiff's request for liquidated damages primarily on the basis that

his employer had consulted with her accountant who had informed

her (wrongly) that the provisions of the FLSA were inapplicable in

her business. The court found that even though the accountant was

mistaken the employer had reasonably and in good faith relied on

his advice, and declined to award liquidated damages.

Similarly, the evidence in this case shows that Region V

had reasonable grounds for believing they were not in violation of

FLSA provisions. Region V sought out information both from

NAPRFMR and from counsel. For that reason liquidated damages

are not appropriate in this case.

Counsel have stipulated to the amounts of straight and

overtime compensation the plaintiffs are entitled to if the plaintiffs

are found to prevail. Judgment will be entered in those amounts, as

follows:

Tammy Empficld $ 2,432.43

Larry Yates 5,460.61

Ila Fett 32,394.00

Debra Junker 30,024.96

90)

aa

Dan Rosey 9,872.83

Rodney Wacker 7,292.91

Kevin Huss 25,682.11

Phyllis Hensley 14,754.26

Leo Prokop 17,059.10

Jean Peters 26,076.27

Vickie Dannewitz 23,641.61

Gary Sexton 18,074.51

Bonnie Bouchard 9,033.14

Jerry Junker 11,114.36

Kevin Carlson 15,608.94

Jack Yates 2,772.33

Chris Amundson 7,134.27

Rose Marie Steel 6,283.30

Doris Meyer 6,777.21

Pat Bouchard 10,926.40

Under 29 U.S.C. §216 the plaintiffs are entitled to a

reasonable attorney’s fee. Judgment will be withheld until the

amount of fees to be allowed is resolved. Counsel are invited to

proceed in accordance with Local Rule 34 and the Fee Application

Guidelines referred to in that rule.

IT IS ORDERED that plaintiffs’ counsel shall have until

February 2, 1990, to submit a showing regarding attorney's fees and

the defendants may respond by February 16, 1990.

Dated January 22, 1990.

BY THE COURT

Warren K. Urbom

United States District Judge

9|

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.