Opposition Brief — Delta Holdings, Inc. v. National Distillers & Chemical Corp.

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme peur’ J,

FILED

“

oF, VAR 25 1992

No. 91-1361 ; ; =

Bites . itt Gicanr

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcToBER TERM, 199]

Detta Houprncs, INc.,

Petitioner,

— against —

NATIONAL DISTILLERS AND CHEMICAL CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI

JosePH P. DaILey

Counsel of Record for Respondent

565 Peralta Hills Drive

Anaheim, California 92807

(714) 282-1170

Of Counsel:

Loren F. SELZNICK

James T. SouTHWICK

Corporate Disclosure Statement

Respondent National Distillers and Chemical Corporation

makes this statement pursuant to Rule 29.1 of the Rules of the

Supreme Court. On January 4, 1988, National Distillers and

Chemical Corporation changed its name to Quantum Chemical

Corporation. Respondent has no parent corporation and has the

following subsidiary or affiliate companies (excluding wholly-

owned subsidiaries):

Domestic Companies State of Incorporation

Atlantic Energy, Inc. Delaware

Fallon Propane and Butane Nevada

Company

Petrolane Incorporated California

Petrolane Finance Corporation Delaware

Foreign Companies Country of Incorporation

Cue Insurance Limited Bermuda

Quantum Petrochemical England

Corporation Ltd.

Petrolane Offshore Limited Bermuda

Northwest L.P.G. Supply Ltd. Canada

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS

ES eee eee

Additional Opinion Below................-----

eee ee ce

OO Ee ee ee

The Proceedings Below ............-.--

Loss Reserves And Casualty Reinsurance .

. The Elkhorn Reserves ............-..--

= Oo 0 *

The Reinsurance Experience And

Sophistication Of Delta Holdings........

F. The Preacquisition Investigation ........

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT ....

1. The Court Of Appeals Decided The

Reserve Issues Under The Contract,

Not The Federal Securities Laws .....

2. The Court Of Appeals Never Held

That The Materiality Standard Was

Inapplicable To Investors Who Retain

GS ea a a

3. The Court Of Appeals Did Not Usurp

The Function Of The District Court . .

ee ikea eee AOA

11

12

15

16

20

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Case

Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224 (1988) .....

Dick v. New York Life Ins. Co., 359 U.S. 437

(1959) (Frankfurter, J., dissenting) ...........

Dower v. Mosser Indus., Inc., 648 F.2d 183 (3d

a

Elkind v. Liggett & Myers, Inc., 635 F.2d 156

tel i UIE Sc tree eee

Frigitemp Corp. v. Financial Dynamics Fund,

Inc., 524 F.2d 275 (2d Cir. 1975) ............

Godchaux v. Conveying Techniques, Inc., 846

F.2d 306 (5th Cir. 1988) ................00..

Hafner v. Forest Lab’s, Inc., 345 F.2d 167 (2d

Cie; BR eel eee

Hunt Ltd. v. Lifschultz Fast Freight, Inc., 889

eS BR be | eee re re

Johnson v. Wiggs, 443 F.2d 803 (5th Cir. 1971) ..

Kademian v. Ladish Co., 792 F.2d 614 (7th Cir.

SOUND . oivs vs anes cdaekowee en en eee

Kas v. Financial General Bankshares, Inc., 796

ee Fikes || ere eee err eT

Page

18

19

Case Page

Koplin v. Labe Federal Sav’s ¢ Loan Ass’n, 748

F.Supp 1336 (N.D. II. WE sre eee 19 n.22

Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well Works,

Inc., 261 U.S. 387 (1923) ................... 1]

Levy v. Gadsby, 7 U.S. 180, 3 Cranch 109 (1805) 12n.1]

Mayer v. Oil Field Systems Corp., 803 F.2d 749

ree. TO is 19 n.22

McNabb v. Thomas, 190 F.2d 608 (D.C. Cir.

1951), cert. denied, 342 U.S. 859 (1951) ...... 14 n.13

Michaels v. Michaels, 767 F.2d 1185 (7th Cir.

1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1057 (1986) ..... 16 n.16

Myzel v. Fields, 386 F.2d 718 (8th Cir. 1967),

cert. denied, 390 U.S. 95] GE eles cue, 14 n.13

NLRB v. Pittsburgh Steamship Co., 340 U.S. 498

Saat, MITTEE ETT ee rs Ue ee a 18

Peurifoy v. Commissioner, 358 U.S. 59 (1958) ... 18

Pittsburgh Coke & Chemical Co. v. Bollo, 421

F.Supp. 908 (E.D.N.Y. 1976), aff'd, 560 F.2d

ee 8 Cir NGTT) ss i 15 n.15

In re RAC Mortgage Inv. Corp., 765 F.Supp. 860

rere es | Sires 15 n.15

Vii

Page

SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Co., 401 F.2d 833 (2d

Cir. 1968), cert. denied, 394 U.S. 976 (1969)... 15 n.15

Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S. 232 (1904) ..... 14 n.13

Teamsters Local 282 Pension Trust Fund v.

Angelos, 762 F.2d 522 (7th Cir. 1988) ........ 14 n.13,

19 n.22

Thor Power Tool Co. v. Commissioner, 439 U.S.

Pres er ar een ene ee 18,

Titan Group, Inc. v. Faggen, 513 F.2d 234 (2d

Cir.), cert. denied, 423 U.S. 840 (1975) ....... 16

TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S.

ee EE so Mi oe ee eae Aa eee 15, 16

United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S. 220 (1925) ... 1]

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

6 te fF Ppaeitar ae rrr e hires tere 17

Vulcan Metals Co. v. Simmons Mfg. Co., 248 F.

853 (2d Cir.), cert. denied, 247 U.S. 507 (1918) 14n.13

Ward v. Freeman, 854 F.2d 780 (5th Cir. 1988),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1065 (1989) ........... 19 n.21

Wielgos v. Commonwealth Edison Co., 892 F.2d

ee ee es cee on cee ce eecies a 15 n.15

Wollins v. Antman, 638 F.Supp. 989 (S.D.N.Y.

ee Fd Cay eae each eee came 19 n.22

Page

Statutes & Regulations

ee ef 15 n.15

kk 12, 16

Securities Act Release No. 5992, F ed.Sec.L.Rep.

(CCH) 4 81,756 (Nov. 7, 1978) .............. 15 n.15

Ky.Rev.Stat. § 304.6-100(3) ................... 7 n.6

Other Authorities

American Institute of Certified Public

Accounting, Audits of Fire and Casualty

Insurance Companies (1966) ................. 6 n.4,

7 n.6,

18 n.19

Financial Accounting Standards Board, Statement

Of Financial Accounting Standards No. 60,

“Accounting and Reporting By Insurance

Enterprises” (1982) ......................... 6 n.5

“

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OcroBER TERM, 1991

No. 91-1361

Dera Ho.opincs, INC.,

Petitioner,

— against —

NATIONAL DISTILLERS AND CHEMICAL CORPORATION,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

TO WRIT OF CERTIORARI

National Distillers and Chemical Corporation, now known

as Quantum Chemical Corporation (“Quantum”), opposes the

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari filed by Delta Holdings, Inc.

(“Delta Holdings”). The Petition has misstated the decision of

the Court of Appeals and the issues that would properly be

before this Court if certiorari were granted. The controversy

turns on its own facts and does not raise any serious issues under

the federal securities laws.

ADDITIONAL OPINION BELOW

The summary judgment decision of the district court, which

was not appended to the Petition For Writ Of Certiorari, is

reported at [1987-1988 Transfer Binder] Fed.Sec.L.R. { 93,700

(S.D.N.Y. April 8, 1988).

ne

Statement Of The Case

A. The Transaction.

This action arose out of the sale of the Elkhorn Re Insurance

Company (“Elkhorn”), a casualty reinsurer owned by Quantum,

to Delta Holdings on September 30, 1983 for $18 million. The

sale followed four months of face-to-face negotiations and a

detailed investigation of the loss reserves and financial condi-

tion of Elkhorn by a team of experts hired by Delta Holdings,

including American Risk Management, Inc. (“ARM”), Peat, Mar-

wick & Mitchell (“Peat Marwick”) and Conning & Company

(“Conning”).

The terms and conditions of the Elkhorn sale were set forth

in a Stock Purchase Agreement. Under § 5(g) of the Agreement,

Quantum warranted that a June 30, 1983 balance sheet of

Elkhorn was complete and accurate, prepared in accordance

with generally accepted accounting principles (“GAAP”), and

fairly presented the financial position of Elkhorn. Under § 12

of the Agreement, the parties agreed that after petitioner ac-

quired control on October 1, 1983, it would prepare a September

30, 1983 balance sheet which would be used to adjust the $18

million purchase price paid at the closing. Quantum guaranteed

in § 12 that the net worth shown on the September 30, 1983

balance sheet would not be less than $18 million and, if it were,

agreed to pay any deficiency by October 31, 1983. The parties

further agreed that if a dispute arose concerning the net worth

of Elkhorn as of September 30, 1983, it would be promptly sub-

mitted to Peat Marwick for “final and conclusive and binding”

arbitration. '

The September 30, 1983 balance sheet prepared by petitioner

after the sale showed a net worth of $18 million, as did a June

30, 1983 Pro Forma Statement of Net Assets audited by Peat

' § 12 of the Stock Purchase Agreement is set forth in Note 7 of the Court

of Appeals opinion. See Appendix to Petition For Writ Of Certiorari (“P.App.”)

at 47a.

rr ee

Marwick before the sale. In the spring of 1984, another balance

sheet was prepared and audited by Peat Marwick showing that

Elkhorn, which had changed its name to the Delta America Re

Insurance Company (“Delta Re”), had a net worth of $19.2

million as of December 31, 1983.

After operating for twenty months under the management

of petitioner, Delta Re was declared insolvent by the Kentucky

Insurance Department. Delta Re was a victim of the worst

downturn in the reinsurance market since 1906, the year of the

San Francisco earthquake. More than 90 reinsurers were forced

out of business as the result of overcapacity in the industry and

unexpected claim development on policies written in previous

decades. Delta Re was placed in rehabilitation on May 29, 1985

and in liquidation on September 15, 1985. The present action

ensued.

B. The Proceedings Below.

The complaint filed by petitioner in the Southern District of

New York in 1985 claimed, among other things, breaches of §

5 and § 12 of the Stock Purchase Agreement and violations of

the federal securities laws. Underlying the claims were the allega-

tions, first, that Elkhorn was insolvent at the time of the sale

due to a massive deficiency in the loss reserves; second, that the

reserve deficiency was concealed by improperly prepared loss

development triangles which actuaries use to make reserve

estimates;? and, third, that the President of Elkhorn, Robert

Norton, was aware of the alleged deficiency by reason of two

actuarial reports prepared in early 1982 by Tillinghast, Nelson

& Warren.

In an April 1988 summary judgment decision, the District

Court dismissed the claim under § 12 of the Stock Purchase

Agreement, ruling that submission to Peat Marwick for “final

and conclusive and binding” resolution by October 31, 1983 was

the “exclusive remedy” for resolving disputes concerning the net

2 Loss development triangles are computer-generated summaries of reported

claim information. See P.App.7a.

worth of Elkhorn at the time of the sale.? The Court refused

to dismiss the breach of warranty and securities law claims,

holding that a trial was required to determine if there was any

deception relating to the loss development triangles or any con-

cealment of material information during the preacquisition in-

vestigation (R.App. 13-14).

After a six-week bench trial in 1988, the District Court ruled

on April 10, 1990 that Quantum breached the accounting war-

ranties in § 5 of the Stock Purchase Agreement by failing to

disclose a substantial reserve deficiency at the time of the sale

and violated the federal securities laws by concealing the Til-

linghast reports. The Court construed § 5 as a warranty on the

adequacy of the reserves that provided a second and unqualified

right to dispute the net worth of Elkhorn, free of the restric-

tions of § 12. The Court did not find there was any deception

concerning the loss development triangles, nor did it find, with

the exception of the Tillinghast reports, any concealment of

material information during the four-month investigation. While

the Court concluded the Tillinghast reports were material, it

never explained what the reports would have added to the two

in-depth studies of the reserves conducted by Conning and Peat

Marwick before the sale.

On October 1, 1991, the Court of Appeals unanimously

reversed the trial court, ruling, among other things, that:

* Quantum did not make any representations in the

Stock Purchase Agreement concerning the ade-

quacy of the Elkhorn reserves and the represen-

tations it did make concerning compliance with

GAAP and accounting regularity were truthful.

P.App.44a-5la.

¢ The construction of the Stock Purchase Agreement

adopted by the District Court was “so one-sided so

as to be implausible” (P.App.45a) and the decision

3 See Appendix to this Brief (“R.App.”) at 8.

\

|

to allow petitioner to dispute the net worth under

§ 5 was “anomalous” in light of its earlier ruling

that § 12 was the exclusive remedy for resolving

net worth disputes. P.App.8a-49a n.8.

e The Elkhorn method of establishing reserves was

well known within the reinsurance industry, fully

disclosed to petitioner prior to the sale, and

recognized as acceptable under GAAP. P.App.5a,

20a-2la, 50a-5la.

e The massive reserve deficiency established at trial

was developed in the “glow of hindsight” by trial

court experts who did nothing after the fact that

Peat Marwick and Conning could not have done

before the sale. P.App.45a-46a.

e The method of preparing the Elkhorn triangles

was disclosed to Peat Marwick before the sale and

the injury to petitioner was caused by its own

misunderstanding of the triangles, not by the con-

duct of Quantum. P.App.2la-24a, 39a-43a.

e The Tillinghast reports were “red herrings” that

did not contain any material information except

what was already in the public domain or disclosed

to petitioner before the sale. P.App.34a-39a.

C. Loss Reserves And

Casualty Reinsurance.

Unlike most businesses, the net worth of a casualty reinsurer

is difficult to determine because the largest liability on the

balance sheet, the reserve for unpaid claims, is unknown and

must be estimated.* As the Court of Appeals observed,

* “In most businesses cost information is available before sales are made. In

the insurance business, however, the cost of the protection sold cannot be finally

(Footnote continued)

underwriting casualty risks “leads to complex problems of finan-

cing and accounting because assumptions of third-party liability

risks involves substantial delays or ‘tails’ in the discovery and

reporting of claims” (P.App.4a). For long-tail casualty reinsurers

like Elkhorn, the 15 to 20 year delays in the reporting process

“inevitably create considerable uncertainty” in establishing

reserves (id.).

While GAAP requires reinsurers to make a reasonable estimate

of reserve liabilities,* it neither specifies a precise method of

estimating reserves or even requires that an actuary prepare or

review the estimates (P.App.5a). All of the actuarial methods

require subjective judgments and assumptions that can substan-

tially affect the estimated liability, particularly for incurred but

not reported (“IBNR”) reserves that are highly “conjectural

because they must be calculated without knowing even the num-

ber of claims” (P.App.9a). As a result, even the most conservative

method

“relies on assumptions as to future events and condi-

tions, that, if wrong, will lead to substantial errors

in the final estimate. Consequently, regardless of the

actuarial method used, the preparation of, and

reliance upon a net worth calculation in a balance

sheet for a casualty risk reinsurer is based in large part

upon informed guesswork.” Id.

determined until after policies have expired and any losses adjusted. . ..[T]he

need to make provision, frequently far in advance of settlement for many

casualty losses. . .and for losses which have been incurred but have not been

reported, presents a difficult problem. ...” American Institute of Certified

Public Accountants, Audits of Fire and Casualty Insurance Companies (1966)

(the “Audit Guide”) at 34.

* The fairness of a balance sheet under GAAP “rests on the reasonableness

of the estimates of unpaid losses more than on any other item. However, it

is extremely difficult to estimate this element of cost accurately.” Audit Guide

at 34. See Financial Accounting Standards Board, Statement Of Financial Ac-

counting Standards No. 60, “Accounting and Reporting By Insurance Enter-

prises” (1982).

D. The Elkhorn Reserves.

Elkhorn was a small property and casualty reinsurer incor-

porated in Kentucky with a staff of twelve employees, including

secretaries. The President of Elkhorn, Robert Norton, began his

career as an accountant and did not have any actuarial train-

ing or experience (P.App.13a). In 1972, Elkhorn began reinsur-

ing casualty risks of third parties, where claims typically take

15 to 20 years to develop and the settlement cost is difficult to

estimate. To establish reserves for these risks, Elkhorn used the

loss ratio method under which it recorded 65% of earned

premiums as IBNR reserves unless a ceding company recom-

mended another ratio. The loss ratio method was a recognized

method for establishing reserves under GAAP and was express-

ly authorized by the Kentucky Insurance Code (P.App.5a).°

In October 1981, Elkhorn decided to have its reserving pro-

cedures reviewed by Tillinghast, Nelson & Warren. In February

1982, Tillinghast delivered a report that described a particular

reserving methodology, recommended its use, and appended

worksheets that would assist in applying the methodology as

of December 31, 1980, but did not express an opinion on the

adequacy of the reserves (P.App.35a). In April 1982, Tillinghast

delivered a second report covering the reserves on three canceled

reinsurance contracts (the “Barrett treaties”), which it estimated

were deficient by $10.8 million. Two months later, Elkhorn pur-

chased a $10 million reinsurance policy to cure the estimated

deficiency on the Barrett treaties (P.App.16a).

E. The Reinsurance Experience And

Sophistication Of Delta Holdings.

Delta Holdings was incorporated in 1982 to engage in a

worldwide reinsurance business. Delta Holdings was operated

by ARM, a reinsurance management company with a staff of

® See Audit Guide at 38. Kentucky permits reinsurers to establish reserves by

using a 65% loss ratio for workers compensation risks and a 60% ratio for

other risks. Ky.Rev.Stat. §304.6-100(3).

300 specialists that provided financial and underwriting services

to reinsurers around the world. In March 1983, ARM raised $24

million for Delta Holdings to enter the reinsurance market by

selling stock to 24 clients or affiliates, mostly insurance sub-

sidiaries of Fortune 500 companies.’

In addition to ARM, Delta Holdings was advised by two other

firms with considerable experience in reinsurance, Peat Mar-

wick, which specialized in auditing insurance and reinsurance

companies, and Conning, which provided actuarial services to

reinsurers in the United States and Europe. The Board of Direc-

tors also had substantial experience in reinsurance, since most

of the directors managed the insurance subsidiaries of their

parent corporations.

F. The Preacquisition Investigation.

At the end of 1982, Quantum decided to withdraw from the

insurance business and, in May 1983, began exploring the sale

of the assumed reinsurance business of Elkhorn to Delta Holdings

for a book value price of $18 million. Prior to speaking with

Quantum, ARM had been actively searching for reinsurance ac-

quisitions for Delta Holdings and had already reviewed four

other companies where the asking price was more than twice

book value. Like many other observers, ARM believed the Oc-

tober 1, 1983 renewal season would mark the beginning of a

profitable turnaround for the reinsurance industry.

Petitioner began its investigation of Elkhorn in early June

1983. Recognizing that Elkhorn lacked actuarial expertise, Delta

Holdings hired a team of 2] professionals to review the Elkhorn

loss reserves and reinsurance business, including five actuaries

from Conning and Peat Marwick, six Peat Marwick accountants,

three attorneys from a Wall Street law firm, six reinsurance

specialists from ARM, and an unknown number of investment

bankers from Merrill Lynch. Over the next four months, this

” Shareholders in Delta Holdings included Alcoa, American Cyanamid,

Cargil, Celanese, Eli Lilly, Firestone, Kaiser Aluminum, Kellogg, Rockwell

International, Scott Paper, Sperry, and Weyerhaeuser.

battery of experts descended upon the Elkhorn offices to pour

over the books and records and interview the twelve-man staff.

With the exception of the Tillinghast reports, the witnesses who

participated in the investigation testified that they were given

all the documents and other information they requested during

the four-month inquiry.

Shortly after the investigation began, Alan Kaufman, a senior

Peat Marwick actuary, was asked to provide petitioner with a

preliminary opinion on the Elkhorn reserves. During a June 10,

1983 meeting with Kaufman, Norton explained the data,

methodology, and assumptions Elkhorn used to test its reserves,

giving Kaufman a copy of worksheets containing his most re-

cent analysis that estimated a $250,000 deficiency as of

December 31, 1982. The worksheets revealed exactly how the

estimate was derived, including loss ratio and loss development

assumptions. When Kaufman asked Norton how he learned to

prepare a reserve analysis, Norton said he learned the method

from Tillinghast, but did not give Kaufman a copy of the 1982

reports (P.App.33a). Norton also told Kaufman about the poorly-

performing Barrett treaties and the $10 million reinsurance pol-

icy that was purchased to cover expected losses (P.App.18a-19a).

After the meeting, Kaufman advised petitioner that some of the

loss ratios selected by Elkhorn appeared to be too low and the

reserves were deficient by approximately $5 million.

In July 1983, Conning was retained to perform another review

of the Elkhorn reserves. On August 3, 1983, the Conning actuaries

met with Norton and were told that Elkhorn established reserves

by applying a 65% loss ratio to earned premiums unless a ceding

company recommended a different ratio (P.App.20a-2la). Norton

also gave Conning a copy of his December 31, 1982 reserve anal-

ysis showing the data, methodology, and assumptions he used to

test the reserves. In September, Conning submitted a report to pe-

titioner estimating a $1.6 million surplus in the reserves, but cau-

tioned that actual losses “may vary significantly from our esti-

mates since underlying data is quite variable and difficult to pro-

ject” (P.App.2la). Conning also advised petitioner that the Elk-

horn reserves depended on loss ratio assumptions and if different

assumptions were used, the estimates could change significantly.

10

While the actuaries were reviewing the reserves, Peat Mar-

wick spent 327 hours auditing the books and records (P.App.2la).

As the audit was drawing to a close, one of the auditors, Amy

Factor, noticed that the numbers on the Elkhorn loss develop-

ment triangles were changing, which she knew was not supposed

to happen if the triangles were prepared on what is known as

a “book-date” basis. When Factor noticed the changes, she spoke

with Norton who said he did not know why the numbers were

changing and referred her to his staff (P,App.22a). After speak-

ing with the staff, Factor learned the changes were occurring

because the Elkhorn computer software prepared triangles on

an “account-date” basis.* Factor immediately reported her

findings to the Peat Marwick actuaries, who were making an

independent review of the reserves as part of the audit. The ac-

tuaries knew that account-date triangles would result in an

understatement of reserves unless adjusted, but after reviewing

their earlier work, concluded that a previous adjustment would

be sufficient to correct for any understatement

(P.App.22a-24a).°

On September 28, 1983 the Board of Directors of Delta

Holdings met in Hamilton, Bermuda to consider the proposed

acquisition. ARM strongly recommended the Board approve the

Elkhorn purchase because the company was being sold at book

value, when other reinsurers were selling at twice book, and

because Delta Holdings would be in an ideal position to take

advantage of an expected turnaround in the reinsurance market.

The directors were given the Conning report on the Elkhorn

reserves and the Peat Marwick report on the June 30, 1983

balance sheet, which showed a net worth of $18 million. The

audit report certified that the balance sheet was prepared in

accordance with GAAP and fairly presented the financial posi-

tion of Elkhorn, noting, however, that the largest item on the

balance sheet, the loss reserves, was only an estimate and the

* The nature and significance of “account-date” and “book-date” triangles is

described in detail in the Court of Appeals opinion. See P.App.7a-12a.

* The Peat Marwick witnesses testified that Conning was also notified of the

account-date issue, but Conning denied learning this before the sale

(P.App.22a).

11

actual liability could be higher or lower than the estimate. Peat

Marwick also warned petitioner that

“Insurers who establish claim reserves by applying

selected loss ratios to earned premium (such as

Elkhorn) often understate IBNR due to management's

optimism in making loss ratio selections.” P.App.25a.

After hearing from their advisors, the directors voted unani-

mously to approve the Elkhorn acquisition. Petitioner assumed

control of Elkhorn on October 1, 1983 and immediately began

preparing the September 30, 1983 balance sheet pursuant to

§ 12 of the Stock Purchase Agreement. On October 24, 1983,

the contract balance sheet was completed by ARM and reviewed

by Peat Marwick. It showed a net worth of $18 million. With

the parties in agreement over the value of the business, the price

adjustment and arbitration provisions of § 12 were never in-

voked (P.App.25a).

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

This privately-negotiated securities transaction turns prin-

cipally on an issue of contract interpretation and the “specific

facts” of the Elkhorn sale. United States v. Johnston, 268 U.S.

220, 227 (1925). The particulars of the face-to-face negotiations

and four-month investigation which preceded the sale do not

present any issues “of importance to the public as distinguished

from. . .the parties. . ..” Layne & Bowler Corp. v. Western Well

Works, Inc., 261 U.S. 387, 393 (1923).

In asking this Court to grant certiorari, petitioner has

misstated the rulings of the Court of Appeals. The Second Cir-

cuit did not hold that reserve estimates are exempt from the

disclosure requirements of the securities laws, it ruled as a matter

of contract law that Quantum did not make any representations

in the Stock Purchase Agreement concerning the adequacy of

the reserves, except for the carefully-worded and limited

guarantee in § 12. Nor did the Court rule that materiality stan-

dards are inapplicable to investors who retain professional

12

advisors, it held that information disclosed to the experts in this

transaction made the Tillinghast reports immaterial as a mat-

ter of law. Finally, the Court did not overstep the bounds of

Fep.R.Civ.P.52: It set aside a finding under the clearly er-

roneous rule, applied accounting standards recognized by the

District Court in its summary judgment decision, and ruled as

a matter of law that the Tillinghast reports were immaterial.

1. THE COURT OF APPEALS DECIDED THE

RESERVE ISSUES UNDER THE CONTRACT,

NOT THE FEDERAL SECURITIES LAWS.

The Court of Appeals never held that reserve estimates “can-

not be the basis of claims under § 12(2) or § 10(b)” or that “only

misrepresentations of ‘hard’ facts are actionable under the

securities laws. ...” (Pet. at 15). It simply held as a matter of

contract law that Quantum did not make any representations

concerning the adequacy of the reserves in the Stock Purchase

Agreement, other than the limited guarantee in § 12, and that

the representations it did make concerning compliance with

GAAP and accounting regularity in § 5 were truthful. The Court

of Appeals, therefore, resolved the primary issue presented for

review under state contract law, not the federal securities laws.

In this regard, the approach (if not the judgment) of the Se-

cond Circuit was identical to that of the District Court.!°

While the construction of a privately-negotiated agreement

does not merit the attention of this Court, the interpretation

adopted by the Court of Appeals was correct under New York

law.'! The absence of a specific warranty on the reserves in

'© The District Court restricted its rulings under the federal securities laws

to the alleged concealment of the Tillinghast reports. See P. App.67a-70a.

'! Since the District Court held that the contract was unambiguous (R.App.

8-9), the Court of Appeals was entitled to review its construction de novo.

Levy v. Gadsby, 7 U.S. 180, 185, 3 Cranch 109, 112 (1805); Hunt Ltd. v.

Lifschultz Fast Freight, Inc., 889 F.2d 1274, 1277 (2d Cir. 1989).

13

the contract combined with unequivocal warranties on other

balance sheet items, such as the adequacy of the tax reserves

and the value of the bond portfolio, strongly indicated that § 5

was nothing more than “a warranty as to accounting accuracy

and regularity, not a blanket guarantee of net worth”

(P.App.48a). The construction adopted by the Second Circuit

was buttressed by “a binding, post-purchase opportunity to ar-

bitrate. . .the adequacy of Elkhorn’s loss reserves” under § 12

of the contract (id.), which the trial court had earlier ruled was

the exclusive remedy for resolving net worth disputes (R.App.

8-10).

Having decided that the representations in the contract were

limited to accounting regularity and compliance with GAAP,

the Second Circuit concluded that they were truthful as a mat-

ter of law. Peat Marwick certified that the June 30, 1983 balance

sheet was prepared in accordance with GAAP and the Conning

and Peat Marwick actuaries certified that the reserves were

reasonable. Certifications by experts who knew exactly how the

reserves were established was conclusive proof that the

methodology and assumptions were reasonable and complied

with GAAP (P.App.50a-5la).'? Petitioner used the same

reserve methodology when it prepared the September 30, 1983

balance sheet after the closing, which Peat Marwick also con-

cluded was in accord with GAAP (P.App.25a). On appeal, peti-

tioner did “not even argue that the actuarial method employed

by Elkhorn . . . was inherently unreasonable or inconsistent with

GAAP” (P.App.50a), nor did it present any evidence that the

65% ratio “was at the time viewed by professionals as so over-

ly optimistic as to violate GAAP” (P.App.51a).

The fact that a third group of experts with the “glow of hind-

sight” produced a more “compelling” reserve estimate at trial

showing a substantial deficiency was irrelevant in determining

whether the Elkhorn reserving procedures were reasonable in

2 See infra at 14-15.

14

1983.'° Petitioner never explained what this third battery of ex-

perts did after the fact that Conning and Peat Marwick could

not have done before the sale (P.App.45a-46a). As a result, the

Court of Appeals refused to construe the contract “to allow

recovery of the full purchase price based on professional expert

testimony in court that disagrees with the contemporaneous

professional opinions expressed by Conning and Peat Marwick,

firms hired by [petitioner] itself to render such opinions.”

Id.

Since the warranties in the contract were truthful, it follows

a fortiori that they could not support a claim under the federal

securities laws.'* Even if the Court of Appeals had considered

the reserve estimates under the securities laws, the result would

have been the same. While reserve estimates are actionable if

they lack a reasonable basis in fact, where the data, method-

ology, and assumptions underlying an estimate are disclosed

- Although the Court of Appeals accepted the District Court finding that

a substantial deficiency in the reserves “could have been detected from in-

formation available” in 1983 (P.App.44a), it also emphasized that this belated

discovery was made “in the glow of hindsight” (P.App.22a-23a & n.2) and had

“no relevance to the question of whether the June 30 balance sheet conformed

with GAAP” (P.App.50a). With its team of actuaries and accountants, peti-

tioner was in a better position than Quantum to understand the effect of

account-date triangles on reserve estimates and therefore could not claim it

was deceived. See Vulcan Metals Co. v. Simmons Mfg. Co., 248 F. 853, 856-57

(2d Cir.), cert. denied, 247 U.S. 507 (1918) (L. Hand, J.); Teamsters Local 282

Pension Trust Fund v. Angelos, 762 F.2d 522, 530 (7th Cir. 1985); Myzel v.

Fields, 386 F.2d 718, 736 (8th Cir. 1967), cert. denied, 390 US. 95] (1968);

McNabb v. Thomas, 190 F.2d 608, 610-611 (D.C. Cir. 1951), cert. denied, 342

U.S. 859 (1951). Cf. Shappirio v. Goldberg, 192 U.S.. 232, 241-42 (1904).

'* While the Court of Appeals did not reach the reserve claim under the

federal securities laws, it did consider whether there were any violations of

federal law for knowingly or recklessly misrepresenting the effect of the Elkhorn

triangles, concluding, as did the trial court sub silentio, that no deception or

recklessness was established. P.App.39a-43a. This was far from a “dead issue”,

as petitioner asserts (Pet. at 9 n.7), since it was the only reason why the reserve

claim under the federal securities laws was not dismissed on summary judg-

ment. See R.App. 13-14.

15

to a knowledgeable buyer, as they were here, the requirements

of the federal securities law are fully satisfied. '®

2. THE COURT OF APPEALS NEVER HELD

THAT THE MATERIALITY STANDARD WAS IN-

APPLICABLE TO INVESTORS WHO RETAIN

ADVISORS.

In asserting that the Court of Appeals “carved out an excep-

tion to the well-established objective standard of materiality” (Pet.

at 18) and departed from the “total mix” test of TSC Industries,

Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. 438 (1976), petitioner has again

misstated the ruling below. The Court of Appeals expressly ap-

plied the TSC Industries standard and concluded that the Till-

inghast reports would not have affected the “total mix” of infor-

mation disclosed to petitioner (P.App.34a-39a). The alleged “ex/

ception” to the objective standard was nothing more than the

application of the total mix test to the circumstances of this case.

In assessing the significance of the Tillinghast reports to Delta

Holdings, the Second Circuit necessarily restricted its analysis

to the actuaries who were responsible for evaluating the reserves,

as did petitioner and its expert witnesses in arguing the reports

were material (P.App.37a). It would have been difficult to con-

sider the reports in any other context since the business of Delta

Holdings was run entirely by professionals in 1983. The Court

of Appeals, however, did not vary the standard of materiality

'S The law “requires nothing more than the disclosure of basic facts so that

outsiders may draw upon their own evaluative expertise in reaching” their

decisions. SEC v. Texas Gulf Sulphur Co., 401 F.2d 833, 849 (2d Cir. 1968),

cert. denied, 394 U.S. 976 (1969). See Wielgos v. Commonwealth Edison Co.,

892 F.2d 509, 512-16 (7th Cir. 1989); Dower v. Mosser Indus., Inc., 648 F.2d

183, 188 (3rd Cir. 1981); In re RAC Mortgage Inv. Corp., 765 F.Supp. 860,

864-65 (D.Md. 1991); Pittsburgh Coke & Chemical Co. v. Bollo, 421 F. Supp.

908, 924 (E.D.N-Y. 1976), aff'd, 560 F.2d 1089 (2d Cir. 1977). The significance

of the information provided petitioner is apparent from the SEC rules on

forward-looking statements, 17 C.F.R. § 240.175, which encourage but do not

require disclosure of assumptions. According to the SEC, “disclosure of assump-

tions is perhaps the most significant factor in facilitating investor understand-

ing” of estimates and projections. See Securities Act Release No. 3992.

Fed.Sec.L.Rep. (CCH) 4 81,756 at 81,038 (Nov. 7, 1978)

16

because advisors were used, it applied the objective standard

and concluded that in this transaction the reports “would have

added nothing material” to what was already disclosed to Peat

Marwick (P.App.40a). In a different transaction, the Court

noted, the reports might have been significant to another ac-

tuary who did not have the benefit of the information available

to Peat Marwick (P.App.37a).

The approach of the Court of Appeals was consistent with

the requirement that materiality be “determined on a case-by-

case basis”, Basic Inc. v. Levinson, 485 U.S. 224, 250 (1988), tak-

ing into account “all the circumstances” of a particular trans-

action. TSC Industries, Inc. v. Northway, Inc., 426 U.S. at 449.

Implicit in the “total mix” test is the recognition that materiality

will vary from case to case and that a document which might

be significant in one case, may be immaterial in another. Titan

Group, Inc. v. Faggen, 513 F.2d 234, 239 (2d Cir.), cert. denied,

423 U.S. 840 (1975).'°

3. THE COURT OF APPEALS DID NOT USURP

THE FUNCTION OF THE DISTRICT COURT.

The claim that the Court of Appeals overstepped the bounds

of Fep.R.Crv.P.52(a) is without foundation. The judgment of the

District Court was reversed as a matter of law on all major issues.

In fact, were it not for the allegations of deception relating to

the account-date triangles, the entire complaint should have

been dismissed on summary judgment based on undisputed

evidence provided by Peat Marwick, Conning, and ARM dur-

ing pretrial discovery."’

16 See Kademian ». Ladish Co., 792 F.2d 614, 623 (7th Cir. 1986); Michaels v.

Michaels, 767 F.2d 1185, 1197 (7th Cir. 1985), cert. denied, 474 U.S. 1057 (1986).

'’ The breach of waivanty claim should have dismissed after the District Court

ruled that § 12 was the exclusive remedy for resolving net worth disputes. The

securities law claim for misrepresenting the reserves would have been distnissed

on summary judgment were it not for the account-date triangle allegations.

See K.App. 13-14. The summary judgment record showed, among other things,

that Peat Marwick and Conning knew exactly how the reserves were

(Footnote continued)

17

In any event, each of the assigned errors was a proper exer-

cise of appellate power. Initially, the Court of Appeals did not

exceed its authority by setting aside the finding that Norton

knew Elkhorn was insolvent before the sale. An appellate court

is empowered to set aside a finding “when although there is

evidence to support it, the reviewing court on the entire

evidence is left with the definite and firm conviction that a

mistake has been committed.” United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 395 (1948). After a meticulous review

of the record, and without overturning the credibility findings

of the trial court,'* the Court of Appeals concluded there was

no evidentiary basis for the finding that Norton “knew” the

reserve estimates were understated to the point of insolvency

in 1983 (P.App.3la-33a).

While petitioner may disagree with the clearly erroneous rul-

ing, it cannot claim that the approach was in error or that the

Court exceeded its authority. The unusually thorough opinion

established before the sale, that Peat Marwick certified the June 30, 1983

balance sheet, that Conning and Peat Marwick conducted two independent

examinations of the reserves for petitioner, that ARM and Peat Marwick

prepared the September 30, 1983 balance sheet after the closing, and that

the substance of the Tillinghast reports was disclosed to Peat Marwick, ARM,

and Conning. Based on this nucleus of undisputed facts, the Court of Ap-

peals reversed the District Court judgment as a matter of law.

" Although the Court of Appeals accepted the credibility findings that Nor-

ton prepared an initial calculation showing a $10 million deficiency as of

December 31, 1980 (P.App.15a) and failed to disclose the Tillinghast reports to

petitioner (P.App.33a), neither finding supported the conclusion that Norton

“knew” the reserves were understated in 1983. The Court of Appeals proper-

ly concluded there was no support in the record for the finding that dated

knowledge of the alleged insolvency to October 1981 when Tillinghast was

engaged (P.App.3la). Nor was there any evidence in the record that Norton

even “suspected Elkhorn’s insolvency” after he prepared a reserve analysis show-

ing a negligible deficiency at the end of 1982 (P.App.32a-33a). Norton gave

copies of his 1982 analysis to Peat Marwick and Conning, who reviewed his

assumptions and methodology and, after performing their own studies, con-

cluded the estimates were reasonable. If Norton “knew” the reserves were defi-

cient, so did Peat Marwick and Conning.

18

by a distinguished panel of judges demonstrates that the proper

standard of review was applied and the “Court of Appeals .. .

made a fair assessment of the record.” Peurifoy v. Commissioner,

358 U.S. 59, 61 (1958). Because another reviewing panel might

“find the record tilting one way rather than the other, though

fair-minded judges could find it tilting either way”, NLRB v.

Pittsburgh Steamship Co., 340 U.S. 498, 503 (1951), is not a

special or important reason for granting certiorari. See Dick v.

New York Life Ins. Co., 359 U.S 437, 461-63 (1959) (Frankfurter,

J., dissenting).

The claim that the Second Circuit exceeded its appellate

authority by deciding “factual issues” concerning the re-

quirements of GAAP is also misplaced. The relevant account-

ing standards for establishing reserves were never in dispute and

were set forth in the summary judgment decision of the District

Court.'® Moreover, the critical issue was not what GAAP

required, but what the contract required. Did Quantum warrant

that the reserves were “accurate”, as petitioner and the District

Court believed, or did it warrant that the balance sheet com-

plied with GAAP and, implicitly, that Elkhorn selected from “a

range of ‘reasonable’ treatments” in establishing reserves? Thor

Power Tool Co. v. Commissioner, 439 U.S. 522, 544 (1979).?° The

Court of Appeals construed § 5 as a warranty concerning reserve

methodology, not a guarantee of reserve accuracy, and properly

concluded that it was truthful as a matter of law (see supra

as Citing the Audit Guide, the District Court found in its summary judgment

opinion that the fairness of a reinsurance balance sheet under GAAP “rests

on the reasonableness of the estimates of unpaid losses” (R.App. 13). The court

also found that “[l]oss reserves are contingent on future events, and are very

difficult to estimate” (id.). See Notes 4, 5, & 6, supra at 6-7.

20 GAAP recognizes that in many areas there is no such thing as a “correct”

answer, only “a range of ‘reasonable’ treatments” where “the choice among

alternatives” is left to the discretion of management. Thor Power Tool Co.

v. Commissioner, 439 U.S. 522, 544 (1979). “Thor requires the district court

to defer to the professional judgment of the accountant who prepared” the

balance sheet and “also limits a district court. . .to deciding only whether the

accountant chose a procedure from the universe of generally accepted account-

ing principles.” Godchaux v. Conveying Techniques, Inc., 846 F.2d 306, 315

(5th Cir. 1988).

|

19

at 13-14). In any event, petitioner does not challenge the va-

lidity of the accounting principles recognized by the Court

of Appeals, only its failure to cite specific authorities (Pet.

at 23).

Finally, the claim that the Court of Appeals engaged in im-

permissible fact-finding when it determined that the Tillinghast

reports were immaterial does not withstand scrutiny. A docu-

ment is immaterial as a matter of law if its contents are in the

public domain, Johnson v. Wiggs, 443 F.2d 803, 806 (5th Cir.

1971),”" or its substance has been otherwise disclosed to the

purchaser. Kas v. Financial General Bankshares, Inc., 796 F.2d

508, 517 (D.C. Cir. 1986).”* The information relating to reserve

methodologies in the February 1982 report was in the public

domain and was well known to Peat Marwick and Conning.

The December 31, 1980 data in the appendix was provided peti-

tioner in updated form in the June 30, 1983 triangles and, to

the extent the format of the 1980 data would have revealed the

account-date nature of the 1983 triangles, this matter was in-

dependently disclosed to Peat Marwick, as were the problems

relating to the Barrett treaties in the April 1982 report

(P.App.35a-39a).

*! See, e.g., Ward v. Freeman, 854 F.2d 780, 792-93 (5th Cir. 1988), cert.

denied, 490 U.S. 1065 (1989); Elkind v. Liggett & Myers, Inc. 635 F.2d 156,

166 (2d Cir. 1980); Hafner v. Forest Lab's, Inc., 345 F.2d 167, 168 (2d Cir.

1965).

2? See, e.g., Mayer v. Oil Field Systems Corp., 803 F.2d 749, 755 (2d Cir.

1986); Frigitemp Corp. v. Financial Dynamics Fund, Inc., 524 F.2d 275, 282

(2d Cir. 1975); Teamsters Local 282 Pension Trust Fund v. Angelos, 762 F.2d

522, 530 (7th Cir. 1985); Koplin ». Labe Federal Sav’s ¢& Loan Ass'n, 748

F'Supp. 1336, 1342 (N.D. Ill. 1990); Wollins v. Antman, 638 FSupp. 989, 994-95

(E.D.N-Y. 1986).

20

CONCLUSION

For these reasons, the Petition For Writ Of Certiorari should

be denied.

Dated: Anaheim, California

March 25, 1992

Respectfully submitted,

JosePH P. DaILEy

565 Peralta Hills Drive

Anaheim, California 92807

(714) 282-1170

Counsel of Record for Respondent

OF COUNSEL:

LOREN F. SELZNICK

JaMEs T. SOUTHWICK

APPENDIX

R.App. 1

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

icin sslbteessiiieipadaiighindbasagclgiapeniglamplansiapaanonatinnndembianaee 4

DELTA HOLDINGS, INC.,

Plaintiff,

— against —

NATIONAL DISTILLERS AND CHEMICAL :

CORPORATION, : 85 Civ.

: 3439 (JFK)

Defendant and Third-

Party Plaintiff,

— against — : OPINION

: and ORDER

PEAT, MARWICK, MITCHELL & CO.,

AMERICAN RISK MANAGEMENT, INC.,

and FREDERIC M. REISS,

Third-Party Defendants.

APPEARANCES:

For Plaintiff:

David Klingsberg, Esq.

Kaye, Scholer, Fierman, Hays & Handler

New York, New York

Of Counsel: Paul J. Curran, Esq.

Alan F. Goott, Esq.

Michael Braff, Esq.

For Defendant and Third-Party Plaintiff:

Joseph P. Dailey, Esq.

Breed, Abbott & Morgan

New York, New York

Of Counsel: Joseph J. Tesoriero, Esq.

Nancy A. Brownstein, Esq.

Paul D. Young, Esq.

R.App. 2

APPEARANCES: (cont'd)

For Third-Party Defendant

Frederic M. Reiss:

William G. Primps, Esq.

LeBoeuf, Lamb, Leiby & MacRae

New York, New York

Of Counsel: Jonathan E. Polonsky, Esq.

For Third-Party Defendant

Peat Marwick Main & Co.

(formerly Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co.):

David R. Hyde, Esq.

Cahill, Gordon & Reindel

New York, New York

Of Counsel: Kevin J. Burke, Esq.

—and—

Joseph I. Loonan, Esq.

Assistant General Counsel

Peat Marwick Main & Co.

New York, New York

JOHN F. KEENAN, United States District Judge

R.App. 3

JOHN F. KEENAN, United States District Judge:

Background

Plaintiff, Delta Holdings, Inc., (“Delta Holdings”) brought

this lawsuit against defendant and third-party plaintiff National

Distillers and Chemical Corp., (“National Distillers”) for events

arising out of a commercial transaction. In turn, National

Distillers impleaded Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co. (“PMM”)!

American Risk Management, Inc. (“ARM”) and Frederic M. Reiss

seeking indemnification and contribution for any liability

resulting from Delta Holdings’ complaint.

In an Opinion and Order dated September 4, 1986, this Court

dismissed National Distillers’ claims for indemnification, and

also dismissed National Distillers’ claims for contribution with

respect to the federal causes of action. At that time, the Court

declined to dismiss the contribution claims on the state law

claims. After that Opinion and Order was issued, the parties

conducted and completed discovery.

Currently before the Court are various summary judgment

and dismissal motions made by National Distillers, Reiss and

PMM. National Distillers moves to dismiss the negligent

misrepresentation and federal racketeering counts of the com-

plaint. In addition, National Distillers seeks summary judgment

on the claims that the contract between it and Delta Holdings

was breached, as well as on the claims alleging common law

fraud and violations of the federal securities laws. Reiss seeks

summary judgment on the remaining claim National Distillers

asserts against him, and PMM moves again to dismiss, in part,

the claim asserted by National Distillers.

For the reasons set forth below, the Court grants in part, and

denies in part, National Distillers’ summary judgment motion.

In addition, Reiss’ motion for summary judgment is granted in

full, and PMM’s motion to partially dismiss is granted in full.

' Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co. is now known as Peat Marwick Main & Co.

In 1981, an entity known as the Reiss Organization began to

consider forming a new venture in the reinsurance industry.

Simply put, reinsurance involves an insurer assuming a portion

of the risks for which another insurer is liable. A reinsurer may

insure either primary insurers or other reinsurers in return for

a share of the premium. A company obtaining reinsurance, and

relinquishing some of its risk, is known as a ceding company.

These arrangements are established through what are called |

reinsurance treaties, which frequently involve the participation

of numerous reinsurers. The new venture, which became known

as Delta Holdings, would enter the reinsurance industry by either

obtaining licenses in various jurisdictions, or by acquiring other,

already licensed, reinsurance companies.

One such company was the Elkhorn Reinsurance Company

(“Elkhorn”), a wholly owned subsidiary of National Distillers.

Elkhorn was formed in 1965 to insure and reinsure the proper-

ty and casualty risks of National Distillers. National Distillers

retained ARM, a corporation formed by Reiss in 1962, to manage

Elkhorn’s business. In 1971, Elkhorn began assuming reinsurance

risks other than those of its parent corporation. At the end of

1982, National Distillers decided to get out of the insurance in-

dustry, and focus on its other businesses. In April, 1983, discus-

sions began between ARM and National Distillers concerning

the possible sale of Elkhorn to Delta Holdings. After months

of negotiation, and investigation by outside experts, a Stock Pur-

chase Agreement (“SPA”) was entered on September 30, 1983,

pursuant to which Delta Holdings paid $18 million to National

Distillers for Elkhorn. This agreement was based on a balance

sheet showing Elkhorn had a net worth of $18 million.

After the transaction it became evident that Elkhorn, which

had been renamed Delta Reinsurance, was not a financially

healthy enterprise. While the trial of this action will resolve the

numerous factual questions present, it is nonetheless useful at

this time to outline what was seemingly wrong with Elkhorn.

a ere eae

R.App. 5

In the reinsurance business, income is realized from two

primary sources — premiums and investments. On the other

side of the ledger, liabilities are somewhat uncertain and are

categorized as loss reserves. As will be described below, loss

reserves are a most critical calculation in determining the value

of a reinsurance business. In essence, loss reserves are an estimate

of the final settlement cost of all unpaid liabilities associated

with insurance premiums that have been earned. Loss revenues

are broken into two categories: case reserves, which are estimates

of the cost of settling reported claims and IBNR (incurred but

not reported) reserves, which are estimates of the cost of settling

unknown or unreported claims. What makes loss reserves so

critical, and hazardous, is the fact that the figure is merely an

estimate.

In arriving at a loss reserve figure, at least two methods are

used. The first, and more conservative, method is the book date

basis which reflects the date a loss or premium was received and

entered on the books of the reinsurer. The second approach is

the account date basis. This latter method was used by Elkhorn,

and reflects the date a loss or premium was reported to the

ceding company and not to the reinsurer. Apparently, this

method can cause a loss reserve estimate to be too low, which

can result in financial instability for a reinsurer.

Reduced to its essentials, this case concerns Delta Holdings’

charge that National Distillers knowingly sold it a reinsurance

subsidiary that was worthless due to inaccurate loss reserve

calculations. National Distillers basically responds that Delta

Holdings and its agents, which included PMM and Conning &

Co., had access to all the available information, and hence knew,

or should have known, of Elkhorn’s potential difficulties.

The true financial plight of Delta Reinsurance, formerly

Elkhorn, began to emerge during 1984. In July, 1984, the Ken-

tucky Insurance Department conducted an audit of Delta Rein-

surance that revealed a $38 million deficiency in the loss reserves

as of December 31, 1983. The Kentucky Insurance Department

further employed an actuary to analyze Delta Reinsurance. This

R.App. 6

study estimated the loss reserve deficiency as of December 31,

1983, to be between $34.5 million and $44.4 million. The ac-

tuary provided a final report to the Kentucky Insurance Depart-

ment in March, 1985 which indicated that the loss reserve defi-

ciency as of December 31, 1984 was between $67.8 million and

$77.6 million. Not surprisingly, Delta Reinsurance was placed

in rehabilitation on May 29, 1985 and in liquidation on approx-

imately September 1, 1985.

It is Delta Holdings’ view that National Distillers concealed

Elkhorn’s problems through, inter alia, the work of Robert Nor-

ton, Elkhorn’s president, and a National Distillers director. This

position is based in part on the fact that in 1982, Norton? re-

tained the actuarial firm of Tillinghast, Nelson & Warren to

examine Elkhorn’s method of computing loss reserves, and to

determine whether the loss reserves Elkhorn was carrying were

adequate. The Tillinghast report of February, 1982 found

Elkhorn’s loss ratio too low and a loss reserve deficiency of $11

million as of December 31, 1980. A second report, issued in April,

1982, found that as of December 31, 1981, Elkhorn’s loss reserve

was deficient by $20 million. It is asserted that these facts, as

well as Norton’s own calculations, were concealed from Delta |

Holdings during the negotiations. The complaint sets forth other |

alleged misrepresentations and omissions that will also be con-

sidered at trial.

National Distillers takes the position that Delta Holdings ig-

nored its own experts. It is advanced that despite the fact that

Delta Holdings went through with the transaction two PMM

actuaries found that Elkhorn had a tota! reserve deficiency of

$8.5 million. Moreover, a PMM auditor discovered that the loss

reserves Elkhorn calculated used the account date basis, instead

of the more frequently employed book date basis.

This outline of the facts is hardly exhaustive, and the instant

motions clearly do not dispose of the case. However, these

* After the SPA was executed, Norton remained on as president of :

Elkhorn/Delta Reinsurance. He resigned on September 14, 1984, after the in-

itial findings of the Kentucky Insurance Department.

ain i

R.App. 7

motions, which have been well briefed by the parties, and this

decision will hopefully serve to narrow somewhat the issues to

be tried.

DISCUSSION

I. Delta Holdings’ Claims Against National Distillers

A. The Alleged Breach of § 12 of the Stock Purchase

Agreement.

National Distillers seeks summary judgment on Delta

Holdings’ contention that § 12 of the SPA was breached because

Elkhorn’s net worth was less than $18,000,000 as of September

30, 1983. Section 12 provides as follows:

12. Adjustment To Purchase Price. No later than Oc-

tober 17, 1983, Buyer shall deliver a balance sheet of

Elkhorn as at September 30, 1983 (the “September

30th Balance Sheet”), prepared in accordance with

GAAP and on the same basis as used in the prepara-

tion of the June 30th Balance Sheet. The book value

of all Bonds, Preferred and Common Stocks includ-

ed in the September 30, 1983 Balance Sheet will be

determined by Princeton Financial Systems Inc. and

shall be binding on all parties. Seller guarantees to

Buyer that the Net Worth of Elkhorn, as at September

30, 1983 shall not be less than $18,000,000.

In the event that the Net Worth of Elkhorn is greater

than $18,000,000 as shown on the September 30th

Balance Sheet, then Elkhorn shall pay a dividend to

the Seller on or before the 28th October 1983 in an

amount sufficient to reduce the Net Worth of Elkhorn

to $18,000,000 in accordance with Clause 10 hereof.

In the event that the Net Worth of Elkhorn as shown

on the September 30th Balance Sheet is less than

$18,000,000, then Seller shall pay such deficit to the

Buyer at Fort Lee, New Jersey, or before the 3lst of

October, 1983, or if such Balance Sheet shall be

ae a ee ae

R.App. 8

disputed (as below provided) then payment shall be

made promptly after the settlement of such dispute.

In the event Seller disputes the September 30th

Balance Sheet, Seller shall advise the Buyer not later

than the 25th October, 1983 and any such dispute, if

not resolved promptly between the parties, shall be

resolved by the opinion of Peat, Marwick, Mitchell

& Co., which said opinion shall be final and conclusive

and binding on all parties hereto.

Delta Holdings posits that the guaranty of Elkhorn’s value,

set forth in the last sentence of the first paragraph, stands apart

from the rest of § 12. According to Delta Holdings, that sentence,

when read in conjunction with § 15,* supports a cause of ac-

tion in the event Elkhorn’s net worth was less than $18,000,000

on September 30, 1983. Delta Holdings argues that such a sur-

viving guaranty was important to it when negotiating the pur-

chase. Moreover, it is asserted that the clause only makes sense

when read as a full fledged guaranty that Delta Holdings would

receive $18,000,000 in value in exchange for its $18,000,000 pay-

ment to National Distillers. Delta Holdings urges that summary

judgment is inappropriate on this claim since there are two

reasonable interpretations of § 12.

On the other hand, National Distillers’ motion for summary

judgment argues that § 12 is clear, unambiguous and suscepti-

ble to only one reasonable interpretation. According to National

Distillers, the rights granted to the parties under § 12 expired

on October 31, 1983. In addition, the parties’ exclusive remedy

for resolving disputes concerning Elkhorn’s September 30, 1983

net worth was submission to PMM for a “final and conclusive

and binding” resolution. In the Court’s view, these points are

clearly and unambiguously articulated in § 12, and summary

judgment in favor of National Distillers is required on this claim.

> Section 15 of the SPA provides, “[e]ach of the representations, warranties,

covenants and other agreements made in this Agreement shall survive the ex-

ecution and delivery of this Agreement, the delivery and transfer of the shares

and the payment of the Purchase Price, and shall continue in full force and

effect.”

ie

, ——

R.App. 9

The standard for granting summary judgment is clear. Where

no genuine issue of material fact exists, and the applicable law

is in the movant’s favor, then summary judgment in favor of

the movant is mandated. In contract actions, summary judg-

ment is an appropriate manner of disposition when the con-

tract’s terms are clear and not conducive to more than one

reasonable interpretation. Tokio Marine and Fire Ins. Co. v.

McDonnell Douglas Corp., 617 F.2d 936, 940 (2d Cir. 1980).

A threshold question of law for the Court is whether the terms

of the agreement are clear and unambiguous. Walk-In Medical

Centers, Inc. v. Breuer Capital Corp., 818 F.2d 260, 263 (2d

Cir. 1987).

As noted above, the Court finds § 12 to be clear and unam-

biguous. Although National Distillers guaranteed the net worth

of Elkhorn in § 12, this particular guarantee is intertwined with

procedures and remedies lucidly set forth within that section.

If Elkhorn’s net worth were determined to be more than

$18,000,000, then Delta Holdings was to pay National Distillers

the difference between the net worth and $18,000,000 on or

before October 28, 1983. If Elkhorn’s net worth were determined

to be less than $18,000,000, then National Distillers was to pay

Delta Holdings that difference by October 31, 1983. Disputes

were to be resolved either by the parties themselves, or by PMM.

It is significant to note that the guaranty of Elkhorn’s worth

was set forth in the section entitled “Adjustment to Purchase

Price,” and not in § 5 of the SPA which contained general war-

ranties and representations. Moreover, § 12 makes no reference

to § 15 which provides for the continuing effect of “representa-

tions, warranties, covenants and other agreements.” The par-

ties clearly understood the need for cross-references to other sec-

tions within the SPA as shown by the reference in § 12 to § 10.

Section 12 makes no reference to either § 5 or § 15.

Section 12 is a specific provision. New York law, which ap-

plies in this case pursuant to a clause in the SPA, is clear regard-

ing the relationship between general and specific provisions

within a contract. “A specific provision will not be set aside in

R.App. 10

favor of a catchail clause.” Williams Higgins ¢& Sons, Inc. v. State,

20 N.Y. 2d 425, 428, 284 N.Y.S. 2d 697, 699, 231 N.E.2d 285

(1967); see also John Hancock Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Carolina

Power & Light Co., 717 F.2d 664, 669 n.8 (2d Cir. 1983) (“New

York law recognizes that definitive, particularized contract

language takes precedence over expressions of intent that are

general, summary, or preliminary.”).

This Court is powerless to hear parole evidence as to Delta

Holdings’ intent and understanding of the provision because the

agreement is clear, complete and valid. See New York State

Energy Research & Development Authority v. Nuclear Fuel Ser-

vices, Inc., 640 F. Supp. 1555, 1557 (W.D.N.-Y. 1986); United

States v. Wallace ¢> Wallace Fuel Oil Co., 540 F. Supp. 419, 425

(S.D.N.Y. 1982). This Court is also powerless to “rewrite a con-

tract to accord with its instinct for the disposition of equity under

the facts of a case.” Broad v. Rockwell Intl Corp., 642 F.2d 929,

947 (5th Cir.), cert. denied, 454 U.S. 965 (1981). The Court will

not transform the clear, specific and narrow guaranty of § 12

into a general warranty that should have been, for Delta

Holdings’ purposes, set forth in § 5.

Summary judgment is entered in National Distillers’ favor con-

cerning claims that § 12 of the SPA was breached.

B. The Alleged Breach of Representations and Warran-

ties Contained in §5 of the Stock Purchase

Agreement.

Section 5(g) of the SPA contains a warranty by National

Distillers that,

[t]he June 30th [1983] Balance Sheet and related state-

ment of income are complete and accurate in all

material respects, were prepared in accordance with

Generally Accepted Accounting Principles (“GAAP”),

and the June 30th Balance Sheet presents fairly the

financial position of Elkhorn as at that date.

The complaint alleges that this warranty was breached. The

June 30, 1983 balance sheet indicated that Elkhorn had an

reread

R.App. 11

$18,000,000 net worth and loss reserves of $45,017,000. Accord-

ing to Delta Holdings, however, the balance sheet understated

the loss reserve liability by at least $34,000,000, and as a result,

Elkhorn had a negative net worth of at least $16,000,000.

The SPA further provided, at section 5(f), a warranty from

National Distillers that,

[t]he books and records of Elkhorn are complete in

all material respects and have been maintained in ac-

cordance with good business and accepted insurance

practices and principles and accurately reflect the

financial condition and results of the operation of

Elkhorn.

The complaint asserts that this warranty was breached in that

the June 30, 1983, and September 30, 1983 balance sheets did

not accurately reflect Elkhorn’s condition. Furthermore, Delta

Holdings contends that Elkhorn’s records were not kept in ac-

corance with good business and accepted insurance practices.

As mentioned earlier in this Opinion, the essence of this claim

is that Elkhorn should have employed a book date basis, rather

than an account date basis, in calculating loss reserves.

National Distillers moves for summary judgment on these

breach of warranty claims, asserting that Delta Holdings did

not rely on these warranties in making the contract. Further-

more, National Distillers states that Delta Holdings knew that

the warranties and representations were inaccurate when made.

The Court denies summary judgment on these claims. The

parties vigorously dispute whether reliance is an element in a

breach of warranty claim. The Court concludes that reliance

is not an element in that cause of action, and follows CPC In-

ternational, Inc. v. McKesson Corp., 134 Misc. 2d 834, 513 N.YS.

2d 319 (N.Y. Sup. Ct. 1987), and Ainger v. Michigan General

Corp., 476 F. Supp. 1209 (S.D.N.Y. 1979), aff'd, 632 F.2d 1025

(2d Cir. 1980). As Judge Cannella stated in Ainger, “[w]here

the warranty is proved — and especially where it is expressly

stated in a signed writing — the promisor should be allowed

R.App. 12

to disclaim ‘the bargain of the parties in fact as found in their

language’. . . only in an extraordinary case, such as one in-

volving illegality or some other overriding consideration of public

policy.” Ainger, 476 F. Supp. at 1225.

This is a case where the warranties are clearly set forth in

a signed writing. To require reliance as an element of a breach

of warranty claim in such a case would create uncertainty in

the commercial context, and blur the differences between war-

ranty claims and misrepresentation claims. The Court also notes,

for reasons set forth later, that questions of fact clearly exist con-

cerning Delta Holdings’ knowledge of the financial statements’

accuracy, and the role National Distillers played in Delta

Holdings’ obtaining and understanding this knowledge.

C. The Allegations of Fraud.

Delta Holdings claims that National Distillers committed

common law fraud and violated the federal securities laws. The

federal claims are asserted under § 12(2) of the Securities Act,

15 U.S.C. § 771, and § 10(b) of the Securities Exchange Act, 15

U.S.C. § 78j, and Rule 10b-5 promulgated thereunder, 17 C.F-R.

§ 240.10b-5. National Distillers seeks summary judgment on

these claims of fraud.

National Distillers argues that actual knowledge of inaccurate

representations or warranties bars an action for fraud. See

Rosenbloom v. Adams, Scott & Conway, Inc., 521 F. Supp. 372,

390 (S.D.N.Y. 1981), affd mem., 688 F.2d 816 (2d Cir. 1982);

Pittsburgh Coke & Chemical Co. v. Bollo, 421 F. Supp. 908,

925 (E.D.N.Y. 1976), affd, 560 F.2d 1089 (2d Cir. 1977); 200

East End Avenue Corp. v. General Electric Co., 5 A.D.2d 415,

418, 172 N.Y.S.2d 409 (Ist Dep't 1958), affd, 6 N.Y.2d 731, 185

N.Y.S.2d 816, 153 N.E.2d 508 (1959). National Distillers asserts

that no genuine issue of material fact exists concerning Delta

Holdings’ knowledge of Elkhorn’s true financial condition at the

time of the SPA. The Court differs, and declines to grant sum-

mary judgment to National Distillers on the fraud claims.

a

R.App. 13

According to National Distillers, Delta Holdings knew before

September 30, 1983 that the Elkhorn loss development triangles

used to calculate loss reserves were done on an account date basis.

National Distillers reasons that this information was known to

PMM and Conning, and since they served as agents for Delta

Holdings, the information is to be imputed to the plaintiff. Further-

more, National Distillers notes that no fraud claim can arise out

of any inaccuracy in the June 30, 1983 and September 30, 1983

financial statements because Delta Holdings had actual know-

ledge of the basis on which the loss reserve estimates were made.

Through its agents, Delta Holdings knew that loss reserve

figures were estimates. Loss reserves are contingent on future

events, and are very difficult to estimate. However, the impor-

tance of these loss reserves is profound. In fact, the American

Institute of Certified Public Accountants (“AICPA”) has stated

that, “[t]he fairness of the [insurance] company’s representation

of its financial position and results of operations usually rests

on the reasonableness of the estimates of unpaid losses more than

on any other item.” Tesoriero Affidavit, Exh. 2, AICPA Industry

Audit Guide, Audits of Fire and Casualty Insurance Companies

at 28. The critical nature of loss reserves was certainly known

to National Distillers and Norton.

Although Delta Holdings knew that Elkhorn used an account

date basis to formulate its loss reserves, Delta Holdings was

unaware of certain facts that could have altered its view of

Elkhorn as an acquisition. During PMM’s evaluation of Elkhorn,

the accounting firm sought Norton’s assistance in certain areas.

PMM observed that certain development point numbers on the

Elkhorn loss development triangles were changing between the

December 31, 1982 analysis, and the June 30, 1983 analysis. This

concerned PMM officials who sought the assistance of Norton

and Cascio. Elkhorn personnel, who presumably knew more

about their company than anyone else, indicated that the main

difference between use of the account date instead of the book

date would be seen in the most recent underwriting year. See

Tesoriero Affidavit, Exh. 39, Wasserman Deposition at 12]-22:

Id., Exh. 29, Kaufman Deposition at 178-79. An issue of fact

exists concerning the depth of Norton's knowledge on this subject.

R.App. 14

See Tesoriero Affidavit, Exh. 40, Factor Deposition at 134.

Norton’s important role in PMM’s examination is clear from

another portion of the Wasserman deposition. PMM wanted to

see whether Elkhorn’s use of the account date basis only effected

1982 figures, as indicated by Elkhorn personnel. To do this, PMM

asked Norton and Cascio to produce representative brokers’

statements. A question of fact exists concerning whether Norton

produced truly representative statements, or whether certain

statements were chosen in an effort to mollify PMM’s concerns.

See id., Exh. 39, Wasserman Deposition at 126-28.

Moreover, serious questions of material fact exist concerning

the non-disclosure of the Tillinghast documents. As mentioned

earlier, it is alleged that the actuarial firm of Tillinghast, Nelson

& Warren was retained by Elkhorn in 198] to examine Elkhorn’s

procedures and formulas. In February, 1982, Tillinghast com-

pleted its report which contained a different methodology for

the calculation of loss reserves. When Norton applied this ap-

proach, he found that the loss reserves as of December 31, 1981

were understated by $6,300,000. Tillinghast issued another

report in April, 1982 that evaluated the loss reserves for three

reinsurance treaties. This report indicated ultimate losses on

these three treaties would be $26,800,000. However, the loss

reserves carried by Elkhorn for these treaties was only

$18,700,000 as of December, 1981. These facts were withheld

from PMM, and could have alerted the firm to the magnitude

of Elkhorn’s financial problems. See Appendix to Delta Holdings’

Memorandum of Law, Exh. 23, Kaufman Deposition at 73-75.

Thus, Norton, and others for whom National Distillers is respon-

sible, may have withheld material information from Delta

Holdings’ agents in an effort to brighten Elkhorn’s financial pic-

ture, and curtail Delta Holdings’ understanding of the situation.

The legal significance of these issues is clear. The duty under

the federal securities laws to disclose all material facts necessary

to make other statements fair, “is not discharged merely by giving

the purchaser access to company records and letting him piece

together the materiai facts if he can.” Metro-Goldwyn-Mayer,

Inc. v. Ross, 509 F.2d 930, 933 (2d Cir. 1975). The securities

ee

R.App. 15

laws contemplate investors having “full access” to material in-

formation. Hirsch v. du Pont, 553 F.2d 750, 763 (2d Cir. 1977).

In this case, factual questions concerning Delta Holdings’ ac-

cess to information and National Distillers’ assistance to Delta

Holdings in evaluating Elkhorn’s financial condition remain

unanswered.* For this reason, National Distillers’ motion for sum-

mary judgment on the fraud claims is denied.

D. Alleged Violation of § 12(2) of the Securities Act of

1933.

Delta Holdings alleges that National Distillers violated § 12(2)

of the Securities Act of 1933 by making material misrepresen-

tations and omissions in connection with the Elkhorn sale.

Specifically, it is claimed that National Distillers concealed the

two reports prepared by Tillinghast in 1982, Norton’s calcula-

tions based on those reports, and certain monthly management

reports. National Distillers argues that this cause of action is

barred by the one year statute of limitations applicable to sec-

tion 12(2), see 15 U.S.C. § 77m, and that summary judgment

is appropriate.

According to National Distillers, the lawsuit was commenced

20 months after the sale, and that during this period, Delta

Holdings had constructive knowledge of the alleged mis-

statements and omissions. This constructive knowledge argu-

ment is based upon Delta Re’s employment of three holdovers

* The establishment, and judgment, of loss reserves can lead to liability under

the federal securities laws whether one views loss reserve estimates as either

facts or opinions. See Lewis v. Black, Fed. Sec. L. Rptr., 4 95,715 at 90,476

(E.D.N.Y., Sept. 3, 1976) (CCH); Oleck v. Fischer, 401 F. Supp. 651, 657

(S.D.N.Y. 1975); cf. CPC International, Inc. v. McKesson Corp., 70 N.Y.2d

268, 519 N.Y.S.2d 804, 813, 514 N.E.2d 116 (1987) (projection of corporation's

expected financial performance may constitute material facts to support a fraud

claim). This is also true in the context of common law fraud and the insurance

industry. See Glacier General Assurance Co. v. Casualty Indemnity Exchange,

435 F. Supp. 855, 860 (D. Mont. 1977) (“If the [loss reserve] figures so published

are determined arbitrarily and with the intent to deceive and are in fact false,

then the publisher is guilty of fraud regardless of whether his expression be

one of fact or one of opinion.”).

R.App. 16

from Elkhorn: Robert Norton, Hugh C. Brewer, III and James

D. McGurty. National Distillers contends that the knowledge

of these individuals is to be imputed to Delta Holdings under

established principles of agency.

Delta Holdings argues that Brewer and McGurty did not know

about all of the alleged misrepresentations and omissions made

by Norton. Moreover, it is contended that these two individuals

lacked knowledge of all of the underlying facts. Regarding Nor-

ton, Delta Holdings seeks application of the adverse interest ex-

ception that would prevent it from being imputed with Nor-

ton’s knowledge. Therefore, this reasoning continues, Delta

Holdings cannot be deemed to have known of these misrepresen-

tations and omissions until it obtained actual knowledge of them

in September, 1984. Since the action was filed in May, 1985,

the statute of limitations defense would fail.

The Court concludes that summary judgment is inappropriate

on the statute of limitations defense. The extent of Brewer’s and

McGurty’s knowledge of the concealments is unclear, and is

much better resolved at trial. If it is established at trial that these

individuals had full knowledge of the concealments, and were

not part of the alleged fraud, then the statute of limitations could

bar the section 12(2) claims. Under the adverse interest excep-

tion, Norton’s knowledge can certainly not be imputed to Delta

Holdings at this point in the case because Norton’s failure to

disclose his earlier concealments was possibly done in an effort

to protect himself from a lawsuit such as this one.

The New York Court of Appeals has limited the circumstances

in which the adverse interest exception may be used. It is only

applicable when an agent has “totally abandoned his principal's

interests and . . . [is] acting entirely for his own or another’s

purposes. It cannot be invoked merely because he has a con-

flict of interest or because he is not acting primarily for his prin-

cipal.” Center v. Hampton Affiliates, Inc., 66 N.Y.2d 782, 785,

497 N.Y.S.2d 898, 900, 488 N.E.2d 828 (1985). At the present

time, one can reasonably infer from the facts presented that as

to the earlier misstatements and omissions, Norton “totally aban-

doned” the interests of Delta Re. Denial of summary judgment

R.App. 17

on the statute of limitations issues is entirely consistent with “the

ancient principle that no man can take advantage of his own

wrong.’ Katz v. Amos Treat ¢ Co., 411 F.2d 1046, 1055 (1969)

(citing Glus v. Brooklyn Eastern District Terminal, 359 U.S. 231,

232-34 (1959)).

E. Alleged Violations of RICO.

Delta Holdings’ complaint alleges that National Distillers

violated the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations

Act, 18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-1968 (1982 & Supp. III 1985) (“RICO”),

and that Elkhorn constituted the enterprise. According to Delta

Holdings, National Distillers violated section 1962(c), which re-

quires “(1) conduct (2) of an enterprise (3) through a pattern

(4) of racketeering activity.” Sedima, S.P.R.L. v. Imrex Co., Inc.,

473 U.S. 479 (1985). National Distillers moves to have this cause

of action dismissed.

In essence, Delta Holdings’ contention is that in conjunction

with the SPA, National Distillers concealed the understatement

of Elkhorn’s loss reserves and overstated Elkhorn’s net worth.

In so doing, National Distillers committed the predicate acts

of mail fraud and wire fraud. Although more than one predicate

act is alleged, this Court rules that the complaint does not state

a cause of action under RICO. Delta Holdings does not plead,

as is required by the Second Circuit, “the existence of an enter-

prise whose illicit activities or unlawful goals are continuing

ones.” Creative Bath Products, Inc. v. Connecticut General Life

Insurance Co., 837 F.2d 561, 564 (2d Cir. 1988) (citing Albany

Insurance Co. v. Esses, 831 F.2d 41 (2d Cir. 1987); Beck v.

Manufacturers Hanover Trust Co., 820 F.2d 46 (2d Cir. 1987),

cert. denied, 108 S. Ct. 698 (1988). This case involves allega-

tions of fraud in the context of one stock purchase agreement.

The illicit goal of the alleged enterprise was “straightforward”

and “short-lived.” See Beck, 820 F.2d at 51. It is claimed that

‘National Distillers engaged in fraud when it sold Elkhorn to

Delta Holdings. This does not present a situation posing the

threat of continuing criminal conduct that RICO seeks to com-

bat. See United States v. lanniello, 808 F.2d 184, 192 (2d Cir.

1986), cert. denied, 107 S. Ct. 3229 (1987); Chamarac v. Pike,

No. 86 Civ. 7919 slip op. at 19-20 (S.D.N.Y. Oct. 28, 1987) (JFK)

R.App. 18

(complaint describing on-going, open-ended limited real estate

partnership stated RICO claim). The RICO cause of action in

Count V of Delta Holdings’ complaint is dismissed.

F. The Alleged Negligent Misrepresentations.

Delta Holdings claims that National Distillers negligently mis-

represented material facts, ir cluding Elkhorn’s net worth as

reflected on the June 30, 1983 net assets statement, and on the

September 30, 1983 balance sheet. National Distillers moves to

dismiss this claim, arguing that it fails to meet the required

elements under New York law.

It is well-established in this state that in a negligent mis-

representation claim, a “special relationship” must exist between

the parties. This rule was first set forth by the New York Court

of Appeals in International Products Corp. v. Erie R.R. Co.,

244 NY. 331, 155 N.E. 662, cert. denied, 275 U.S. 527 (1927).

There, the court stated that “the relationship of the parties, aris-

ing out of contract or otherwise, must be such that in morals

and good conscience the one has the right to rely upon the other

for information, and the other giving the information owes a

duty to give it with care ... An inquiry made of a stranger is

one thing; of a person with whom the inquirer has entered or

is about the enter into a contract concerning the goods which

are or are to be its subject is another.” 244 N.Y. at 338. Although

there is some suggestion that parties who are negotiating do not

have the requisite “special relationship,” see Accusystems, Inc.

v. Honeywell Information Systems, Inc., 580 F. Supp. 474, 481

(S.D.N.Y. 1984); Dynamics Corp. of America v. International

Harvester Co., 429 F. Supp. 341, 356 (S.D.N.Y. 1977); the words

of International Products indicates that such a black-letter rule

is inappropriate. The “special relationship” concept must be

adaptable to numerous contexts, and turns on the facts of each

case. While the complaint describes a commercial relationship,

the Court cannot conclude that the relationship could not have

been “special.” This determination must await the development

of all of the facts at trial.

The motion to dismiss the negligent misrepresentation claim

is denied.

R.App. 19

II. National Contribution Claim

Against Frederic M. Reiss

Reiss moves for summary judgment against National Distillers’

third-party complaint seeking contribution on the state iaw

claims. The Court has previously dismissed the third-party

claims as to the federal causes of action in an Opinion dated

September 4, 1986.

Although the broad facts were set forth earlier, some par-

ticular circumstances concerning Reiss should be noted here.

Reiss had a long career in the reinsurance industry, stretching

back to 1946. In the early 1960's, Reiss moved to Bermuda where

he built a network of management companies that administered

his various insurance and reinsurance operations. During the

early 1980's, he was an active player in the formation of Delta

Holdings, and had served as Chairman of the Board of Direc-

tors for a period of time. Reiss was also an active participant

in Delta Holdings’ consideration of possible acqusitions of rein-

surance companies, including Elkhorn Reinsurance. In fact, on

July 18, 1983, Reiss indicated to the Advisory Committee of Delta

Holdings’ Board that the Elkhorn acquisition initially looked

positive, but much work would still have to be done. Reiss also

recommended that outside professional firms be retained to

verify independently the assets and reserves of any possible ac-

quiree with an ongoing book of business. After Elkhorn emerged

as a candidate, the Advisory Committee approved the engage-

ment of Conning & Co. and PMM to review Elkhorn and its

reserves. Conning & Co. opined that the loss reserves were ade-

quate, and PMM certified the June 30, 1983 pro forma state-

ment of Elkhorn’s net assets.

An examination of the material facts and relevant law

demonstrates that summary judgment must be entered in favor

of Reiss. As an initial proposition, the Court again notes that

contribution is available when “the third-party’s conduct con-

tributed to the ‘same injury’ suffered by the plaintiff.” Delta

Holdings v. National Distillers and Chemical Corp., [1986-1987

Transfer Binder] Fed. Sec. L. Rep. (CCH) 4 92,910 at 94,427

(S.D.N.Y. September 4, 1986). Delta Holdings’ harm in this action

R.App. 20

is the purchase and possession of a valueless asset. See id. Any

claim that Reiss should contribute to National Distillers — in the

event National Distillers is found liable under state law — due

to his failure to evaluate Elkhorn’s future profitability is

meritless. This case essentially concerns the sale of a company

allegedly worthless at the time of the transaction, and not the

extent of the company’s future profitability.

Several additional grounds exist that compel summary judg-

ment in Reiss’ favor. National Distillers urges that Reiss is liable

for contribution due to his failure to review personally Elkhorn’s

business. National Distillers further contends that Reiss failed

to keep himself abreast of the investigation into Elkhorn per-

formed by his staff, Conning & Co. and PMM. Moreover, Na-

tional Distillers argues that Reiss had a duty to supervise ac-

tively the investigation because he was a Delta Holdings direc-

tor, and was ARM's sole beneficial officer and chief executive

officer. Lastly, National Distillers asserts that Reiss is liable for

telling the Delta Holdings directors that the Elkhorn transac-

tion looked positive at first review, and for relying on outside

experts to evaluate Elkhorn. Each of these positions is unavailing.

First, the claims against Reiss as a director of Delta Holdings

cannot be asserted by National Distillers. National Distillers was

not a Delta Holdings shareholder at the time of the challenged

conduct. Therefore, National Distillers lacks standing to assert

this claim since allegations that a director breached his affirma-

tive duties to a corporation may only be maintained by the cor-

poration or its shareholders. See Index Fund, Inc. v. Hagapian,

417 F. Supp. 738, 745 (S.D.N.Y. 1976). The business judgment

rule, recognized in both New York and Delaware, further bars

the claim for contribution. Under this rule, a director will not

be liable for actions taken in the honest belief that they were

in the corporation’s best interests, provided the actions were in-

formed and made in good faith. See Hanson Trust PLC v. ML

SCM Acquisition, Inc., 781 F.2d 264, 273 (2d Cir. 1986); Auer-

bach v. Bennett, 47 N.Y.2d 619, 629, 419 N.Y.S.2d 920, 926, 393

N.E.2d 994 (1979); Smith v. Van Gorkum, 488 A.2d 858, 872

(Del. 1985). To hold Reiss liable as a director, there would have

to be evidence that his conduct was fraudulent or in bad faith,

R.App. 21

or constituted a gross abuse of discretion. Even when considered

in the light most favorable to National Distillers, the facts ad-

duced on this motion do not raise a question of material fact.

In hindsight, one could argue Reiss might have been wise to

ask more questions or read more documents. However, hind-

sight is not the relevant analysis. One must evaluate Reiss’ con-

duct as of the time it took place. Reiss did not blindly urge Delta

Holdings to plunge into an $18 milion purchase. Rather, he in-

dicated that while the Elkhorn acquisition appeared promis-

ing, much investigating needed to be done. Outside experts were

hired to evaluate Elkhorn, and their conclusions, albeit flawed,

were relied on in good faith. The Court finds nothing to sug-

gest the contrary. Reiss further relied in good faith on other

favorable reports and representations, included among them

representations from Norton. Reiss’ conduct does not approach

the required standard at which he would lose the protection of

the business judgment rule.

Reiss cannot be found liable for contribution to National

Distillers based on his alleged nonfeasance as an ARM officer.

National Distillers contends that Reiss did not meet personally

with the auditors and insure that all of the transaction’s risks

were resolved. These are charges of nonfeasance, and do not sup-

port a finding of an agent's liability to one other than his prin-

cipal. See Marine Midland Bank v. John E. Russo Produce Co. :

50 N.Y.2d 31, 45, 427 N.Y.S.2d 961, 969, 405 N.E.2d 205 (1980);

Jones v. Archibald, 45 A.D.2d 532, 534-35, 360 N.YS.2d 119,

122 (4th Dep't 1974).

Equally erroneous is National Distillers’ argument that Reiss

made negligent misrepresentations at the July 18, 1983 Advisory

Committee meeting. At that time, Reiss apparently stated that,

“Elkhorn Re looked very positive on first review, but still required

a lot of work. On the positive side, National Distillers was will-

ing to sell Elkhorn Re for (GAAP) book value.” When made,

this statement was not a misrepresentation. Reiss did not state

that Elkhorn was a flawless acquisition and that the transac-

tion should be completed immediately. Rather, he noted that

more work needed to be done. This was accurate, as was Reiss’

statement of the positive aspects of the transaction.

R.App. 22

National Distillers argument that Reiss breached his duties

as a promoter of Delta Holdings also misses the mark. By the

time the transaction at issue occurred, Reiss’ duties as a pro-

moter had ceased. A Board of Directors was in place and was

operating. Furthermore, there is no allegation that Reiss con-

cealed any facts from the subscribers, even if National Distillers

possessed standing to assert such a claim. Finally, the Court re-

jects National Distillers position that Reiss may be liable because

he is the sole beneficial owner of ARM. Generally, stockholders

are not liable for the obligations of a corporation unless the cor-

porate entity is a sham and agent for a controlling shareholder.

This has not been alleged in this case, and no evidence before

the Court presents a genuine issue of material fact in this regard.

The summary judgment motion made by Reiss as to National

Distillers’ contribution claim is hereby granted.

III. The Motion of Peat, Marwick, Mitchell & Co.

to Dismiss National Distillers’ Contribution Claims

PMM renews its motion to dismiss National Distillers’ con-

tribution claim to the extent it is based on National Distillers’

liability to Delta Holdings for breaches of the SPA. As set forth

earlier, the Court grants summary judgment to National

Distillers on that part of Count I of the complaint alleging § 12

of the SPA was breached. The Court, however, denies summary

judgment on the allegations in Count I concerning breaches of

§§ 5(g) and 5(f) of the SPA.

The Court need not dwell on PMM’s instant motion because

the central issue has been resolved by the New York State Court

of Appeals. In Board of Education v. Sargent, Webster, Cren-

shaw & Foley, 71 N.Y.2d 21 (1987), aff'g 125 A.D.2d 27, 511

“N.Y.S.2d 961 (3d Dep’t 1987), the court ruled that New York’s

contribution statute, CPLR § 1401, does not apply in the breach

of contract setting. The court traced the evolution of contribu-

tion in New York and noted that § 1401 “had its genesis in tort

law and in the complications surrounding the apportionment

of liability among joint tort-feasors.” Id. N.Y.2d at 27. Thus, Na-

tional Distillers may not seek contribution from PMM to the

R.App. 23

extent National Distillers is found liable for breaching §§ 5(g)

and 5(f) of the SPA.

PMM's partial motion to dismiss is granted.

CONCLUSION

National Distillers motion for summary judgment on that por-

tion of Count I dealing with § 12 of the SPA is granted. In ad-

dition, the RICO cause of action is dismissed because no pat-

tern of racketeering activity is present. All other portions of Na-

tional Distillers’ motion are denied. The motion of Reiss is

granted in full, and PMM’s motion for partial dismissal is

granted.

The parties are to appear for a pretrial conference on April

20, 1988 at 9:45 a.m. At that time, a firm date for trial will be set.

SO ORDERED.

Dated: New York, New York

April 8, 1988

/s/ John F. Keenan

JOHN F. KEENAN

USD].

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.