Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Consol Pennsylvania Coal Co. v. Hughes

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

Supreme Court, U.S.

ca FILED

G& ke 1324 :

—fEB-1 4 1992

IN THE GARCE OF THE CLERK

Supreme Court of the United States

OcTOBER TERM, 1991

CONSOL PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

JAMES E. HUGHES, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

JosEPH D. BECKER

Counsel of Record

BECKER, GLYNN, MELAMED &

MUFFLY

299 Park Avenue

New York, New York 1017]

(212) 888-3033

JosePpH A. KATARINCIC

KATARINCIC & SALMON

2600 CNG Tower

Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania 15222

(412) 338-2900

Attorneys for Petitioners

February 14, 1992

Questions Presented

1. Did not the Third Circuit violate the rules of Haslip!

adopted under the Due Process Clause to fortify judicial

control over excessive awards of punitive damages, and

misapply the abuse of discretion standard of review, when

it vacated a second jury’s punitive award of $674,000, and

reinstated the first jury’s punitive award of $5,500,000,

which the District Court had set aside on the ground that

the compensatory and punitive awards were “obscenely

excessive’?

bo

Does not the great disparity between two awards of

punitive damages in the same case, on the same evidence,

and on relevantly similar instructions to two juries, and

the uncertainty in the Courts of Appeals about the rela-

tion to federal procedure of Alabama rules approved in

Haslip, require that the standards of Haslip be refined

to satisfy the Due Process Clause?

3. Did not the Third Circuit fail to pay sufficient deference

to the district judge’s order setting aside the first jury's

award of compensatory damages under the federal abuse

of discretion standard of review?

4. In relation to the second jury’s award of punitive damages,

did not the District Court abuse its discretion as a mat-

ter of law, and deny due process to petitioners, in refus-

ing to charge the second jury, as required by Pennsylvania

law, that petitioners’ conduct must be found “outrageous”

as a prerequisite to an award of punitive damages?

' Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 111 S.Ct. 1032 (1991).

Parties to the Proceeding

The petitioners joining in this petition are: Consol Penn-

sylvania Coal Company; Greenon Coal Company (formerly

called Rheinbraun U.S. Corporation); The Monongahela Rail-

way Company; Consolidation Coal Company; Consol Land

Development Company; Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft

mbH; and Rheinbraun A.G.

Other petitioners are: William Reese; David Boggs; Ewing

Pollock; Pollock, Pollock and Thomas; The Upshur Agency, Inc.?

The respondents are: James E. Hughes; Linda L. Hughes;

Dorothy Loughman; Paul H. Kent; Mabel Kent; James C. McIn-

tyre; Glenna McIntyre; Larry Levine; Dan Levine; Morris

Levine; Edward Levine; Morris Levine Enterprises, Inc.; Levine

Iron & Metal Inc.; John W. Yesenosky Jr.; Linda M. Yesenosky;

Thomas J. Allen and Estate of John T. Throckmorton; Mark

E. Headlee; and Charlotte B. Headlee.

* Pursuant to Rule 29.1, we advise the Court that the corporate petitioners

are owned as follows:

Consol Pennsylvania Coa! Company is a subsidiary of Consolidation Coal

Company.

Greenon Coal Company is a subsidiary of Consol Energy, Inc. The latter

is a subsidiary of Du Pont Energy Company, Rheinbraun A.G., and Rhein-

braun U.S. GmbH.

Du Pont Energy Company is a subsidiary of E.I. Du Pont De Nemours and

Company.

Consolidation Coal Company is a subsidiary of Consol Energy Inc. Conso

Land Development Company was merged into Consolidation Coal Company

in 1987.

Rheinbraun A.G. and Rheinbraun U.S. GmbH are subsidiaries of RWE AG

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft is subsidiary of Rheinbraun AG

The Monongahela Railway Company is a subsidiary of Consolidated Rail

Corporation

The Upshur Agency, Inc., does not have a parent corporation

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Table of Authorities Vil

Opinions Below 2

Jurisdiction . 2

Constitutional Provision Involved 3

STATEMENT OF THE CASE 3

Preliminary Statement .... | 3

Proceedings in the District Court 4

a. The Factual Background 4

b. The First Trial 4

c. The Second Trial 7

Proceedings in the Third Circuit §

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT 10

Summary of Argument 10

I. THE THIRD CIRCUIT DENIED TO

PETITIONERS PROCEDURAL

SAFEGUARDS OF THE DUE PROCESS

CLAUSE WHEN IT REINSTATED THE

FIRST JURY'S EXORBITANT AWARD OF

PUNITIVE DAMAGES 1]

A. The Third Circuit Misapprehended the

Reinforcing Effect of Haslip on Judge

Teitelbaum’s Order 1]

II.

III.

iv

B. Judge Teitelbaum’s Order Was Entitled to

the Greatest Deference From the Court of

PNG. ca tes anes eee ey ec e enn |

C. Haslip Must Be Refined to Avoid

Unconstitutional Vagueness of Instructions

to Juries on Punitive Damages and to

Integrate Haslip Into Federal Procedure ..

THE THIRD CIRCUIT MISAPPLIED THE

ABUSE OF DISCRETION STANDARD TO

JUDGE TEITELBAUM’S ORDER OF A

NEW TRIAL OF COMPENSATORY

SINE 3c ps fate el ee sy 6

AT THE SECOND TRIAL THE DISTRICT

COURT ABUSED ITS DISCRETION AS A

MATTER OF LAW, AND DENIED DUE

PROCESS TO PETITIONERS, WHEN THE

COURT REFUSED TO INSTRUCT THE

JURY THAT IT MUST FIND PETITIONERS’

CONDUCT “OUTRAGEOUS” IN ORDER

TO AWARD PUNITIVE DAMAGES.......

STI 6 oo ey Cee es

RENO os ee ea Vereen

Amended Opinion of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit, December

20, 1991 (vacating second damage award and

peinstmine TEE)... 2. se oi sins

Order of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Third Circuit. December 20. 1991

(amending Opinion of the Court filed on

September 20, 1991)

Page

13

14

16

A-]

A-65

Amended Judgment of the United States Court

of Appeals for the Third Circuit, December

20, 1991 (vacating second damage award and

sobotbatinn Geel)... s 2.55 656 509 Riek sees

Sur Petition for Rehearing of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit,

December 20, 1991 (denial of Petition for

Rehearing filed by Respondents) ............

Memorandum Order of the United States

District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania, June 18, 1990 (denying post-

trial motions after second trial) .............

Memorandum Opinion of the United States

District Court for the Western District of

Pennsylvania, October 22, 1987 (ordering

partial mew tial) ...... 0.0665. es ese.

Extract from Judge Smith’s Charge to the

jury, Apell &, WOOO «0... oc. ses ioe ae

Extract from Judge Teitelbaum’s Charge to

the Jury, February 20, 1987 ..............

Page

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases

American Employers Insurance Co. Southern

Seeding Services, Inc., 931 F.2d 1453 (11th

Cir. 1991) g.

Anderson v. Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564 (1985)

Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc. v.

Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257 (1989) 13,

Cone v. West Virginia Pulp & Paper Co., 330

U.S. 212 (1947) .

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 110 S. Ct.

2447 (1990)

Eichenseer v. Reserve Life Insurance Co., 934

F.2d 1377 (5th Cir. 1991)

Emerick v. United States Suzuki Motor Corp.,

750 F.2d 19 (3d Cir. 1984)

Feld v. Merriam, 506 Pa. 383, 485 A.2d 742

(1984)

George v. Intl Soc. for Krishna Consciousness of

Cal., No. DO07153 (Cal. Ct. App. Jan. 30,

1992)

H.J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Co.,

492 U.S. 229 (1989)

Johnson v. Hugo’s Skateway, 949 F.2d 1338 (4th

Cir. 1991)

Kirkbride vt. Lisbon Contractors, Inc., 521 Pa

97, 555 A.2d 800 (1989)

Loughman v. Consolidated - Pennsylvania Coal

Co., 740 F. Supp. 1114 (W.D. Pa. 1990)

Page

~]

1]

19

Vill

Cases Pave

Mason vt. Texaco. Inc.. O48 F.2d 1546 (lOth Cir.

1991) 19

Molzof vt. United States, 112 S.Ct. 711 (1992) 19

Pacific Mutual Life Insurance Co. v. Haslip, 11)

S. Ct. 1032 (1991) 3, 40-15

Rizzo vt. Haines, 520 Pa. 484, 555 A.2d 58 (1989) 19

Robertson Oil Co. Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

930 F.2d 1342 (8th Cir. 1991) 13, 15

Salve Regina College v. Russell, 111 S. Ct. 1217

(1991) 17, 20

Semper cv. Santos, 845 F.2d 1233 (3d Cir. 19858) 16

Shanno v. Magee Industrial Enterprises, Inc... 856

F.2d 562 (3d Cir. 1988) 16

Tunis Bros. Co. Inc. v. Ford Motor Co., No.

90-1797 (3d Cir. Dec. 27, 1991) 15

United States v. United States Gypsum Co., 333

U.S. 364 (1948) 17

Constitution, Statutes and Rules

U.S. Const. amend. V . 3

Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations

Act, 18 U.S.C. §8§1961-68 (1985 & Supp. 1989) .

265 U.S.C. §1254(1) (1988) 3

28 U.S.C. §1291 (1988) 2

26 U.S.C. §1331 (1988)

to

1X

Fed. R. Civ. P. 52

Fed. R. Civ. P. 59 1]

Miscellaneous

Henry J. Friendly, Indiscretion About Discretion,

31 Emory L.J. 747, 759 (1982)

6A James Moore, Jo Lucas, & George Grotheer,

Moore's Federal Practice 959.08(6] (2d ed

1989)

Page

17

ee

Sag

16

No.

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

OctToBer TERM, 199]

CONSOL PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, et al.,

Petitioners,

VS.

JAMES E. HUGHES, et al.,

Respondents.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED

STATES COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO

THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

The petitioners joining in this petition respectfully pray that

a writ of certiorari issue to review the amended judgment and

opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the Third

Circuit entered in this action on December 20, 1991.

Opinions Below

There have been three relevant opinions below, two by the

United States District Court for the Western District of Penn-

sylvania and one, amended and restated opinion by the United

States Court of Appeals for the Third Circuit:

1. Loughman v. Consol - Pennsylvania Coal Co., No. 83-921

(U.S.D.C.W.D.Pa., Oct. 22, 1987) (Teitelbaum, D.J.) (ordering

partial new trial) (unreported) (A-97);°

2. Loughman v. Consol - Pennsylvania Coal Co., 740

F.Supp. 1114 (W.D. Pa. 1990) (Smith, D.J.) (denying post-trial

motions after second trial) (A-75); and

3. Hughes v. Consol - Pennsylvania Coal Co., No. 90-3466

(3d Cir. Dec. 20, 1991) (Nygaard, C.J.) (vacating second damages

award and reinstating first) (amended and restated opinion)

(A-1).*

Jurisdiction

These were eight consolidated actions for fraud and conspiracy

under the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt Organizations Act,

18 U.S.C. §§1961-1968 (1988 & Supp. 1989) (“RICO”), and at

common law. The District Court had subject-matter jurisdic-

tion under 28 U.S.C. §1331 (1988) and, as to the state law claims,

on principles of pendent jurisdiction. The Court of Appeals had

jurisdiction to hear the appeal from the final judgment of the

District Court under 28 U.S.C. §1291 (1988). The original opinion

of the Court of Appeals issued September 20, 1991, and” is

reported at 945 F.2d 594. Timely petitions for rehearing with

suggestions of rehearing en banc were filed by petitioners and

respondents. Petitioners’ petition was denied on October 23,

1991. Respondents’ petition was denied on December 20. 1991.

The amended and restated opinion and judgment of the Court

’ References to pages of the appendix are in the form “(A___”).

* The original opinion of the Third Circuit is reported at 945 F.2d 594. The

opinion of December 20, 1991, amends and restates the original opimon in

its entirety (A-1).

of Appeals were entered December 20, 1991. This petition for

a writ of certiorari was filed within 90 days of that date. Sup.

Ct. R. 13.1. This Court’s jurisdiction is invoked under 28 U.S.C.

§1254(1) (1988).

Constitutional Provision Involved

The Fifth Amendment to the United States Constitution pro-

vides in pertinent part that “[n]o person shall be. . .deprived

of life, liberty, or property, without due process of law; ....”

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Preliminary Statement

These cases present for review, in the context of the Due Proc-

ess Clause, the failure of a United States Court of Appeals to

apply rules established by this Court for judicial supervision of

jury awards of punitive damages. Pacific Mutual Life Ins. Co.

v. Haslip, 111 S.Ct. 1032 (1991). The Courts of Appeals, generally,

have been uncertain about the application to federal procedure

of the Alabama rules approved in Haslip, and guidance by this

Court is required. See infra p. 15.

The cases also concern the misapplication by the Court of

Appeals of the “abuse of discretion” standard to the review of

a District Court’s order of a partial new trial to redetermine

damages, compensatory and punitive. The partial new trial was

granted by a highly experienced district judge because, on the

“overwhelming evidence”, the damages awarded by the first jury

were (in his extraordinary, condemnatory phrase) “obscenely ex-

cessive”. (A-98). On appeal from the judgment on the second

jury’s verdict the Court of Appeals vacated the second jury's

lesser award of damages, compensatory and punitive, and

reinstated the enormous award of compensatory and punitive

damages of the first jury.

With particular reference to punitive damages, the first jury

awarded $5,500,000. On the retrial, the second jury awarded

less than 13% of that sum, i.e., $674,000. The Third Circuit

disregarded due process requirements when it overrode the trial

judge's constitutionally-grounded authority over exorbitant

awards of punitive damages. Moreover, the remarkable

discrepancy between the two punitive awards, in the same case,

on the same evidence, and on relevantly similar instructions to

the jury, confirms that the Haslip rules must be refined.

Proceedings in the District Court

a. The Factual Background‘

In 1981, petitioners Consolidation Coal Company (“Consol”),

a coal producer based in Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, and Rhein-

braun A.G., a coal producer of Cologne, Germany, and affiliates

(collectively, the “Consol Petitioners”), formed a joint venture

to develop coal reserves near Waynesburg, Pennsylvania. The

mine was to be located near the junction of a railroad operated

by The Monongahela Railway Company (“Monongahela”). Con-

struction of a spur on a right-of-way running from the mine to

the junction was necessary. As planned, the right-of-way would

run over largely vacant, rural parcels of land. By October 1983,

all parcels necessary for the right-of-way were purchased by the

Consol Petitioners.

In early 1983, of more than 50 selling landowners, respondents

filed eight actions in the United States District Court for the

Western District of Pennsylvania (Pittsburgh) against the Consol

Petitioners, the Monongahela, and others. The respondents alleg-

ed fraud and conspiracy under the RICO statute, 18 U.S.C.

§ §1961-68 (1988 & Supp. 1989), and at common law, perpetrated

by petitioners during negotiations for the purchase of their parcels.

The frauds alleged included false statements that only the

Monongahela, and not Consol, was involved in the purchases,

and that fiart of the purchase price would be tax-free to the sellers.

Respondents demanded compensatory and punitive damages.

b. The First Trial

The cases were consolidated and tried to a jury in early 1987.

Judge Hubert I. Teitelbaum, a judge of long experience in the

Pittsburgh federal district, presided. The trial included a jury

view of the parcels sold by each respondent, in which Judge

Teitelbaum participated.

* Summary of facts as stated by the Court of Appeals. (A-40).

~~ 7

5

With respect to respondents’ claims for punitive damages the

judge charged the first jury that if the conduct of petitioners

was found to be “outrageous” the jury could award punitive

damages “in order to punish said defendants [petitioners] for

their conduct and to deter the defendants [petitioners] and others

from the commission of like acts”. (A-127). To determine the

amount of punitive damages for which each of the petitioners

might be liable, the judge charged that the jury could consider

the character of each petitioner's act, the harm to the respon-

dent, and the “wealth” of each petitioner in order “to punish

him and deter him and others from like conduct in the future”.

(A-128). The judge added that “(t]he amount you assess as

punitive damages must bear a reasonable relationship to the

amount you choose to award as compensatory damages.” (A-128).

The first jury found most of the petitioners, including the Con-

sol Petitioners, liable on one or more claims, and awarded com-

pensatory damages aggregating $5,360,500. The jury also award-

ed punitive damages aggregating $5,500,000 against specific

petitioners, including Consol and the Monongahela.

On October 22, 1987, however, Judge Teitelbaum granted

petitioners’ motion for judgment n.ov. on the RICO claims and,

in respect of the pendent state law claims, ordered a partial new

trial of the damages issue (after respondents refused a remit-

titur), characterizing the jury’s award, twice, as “obscenely ex-

cessive.” (A-98 and A-113). He explained that the “overwhelm-

ing evidence” indicated that respondents’ properties (which the

judge himself had viewed) were worth far less than the values

found by the jury (A-110):

For example, the jury awarded the Hughes’ (Civil Ac-

tion No. 876-1678) $122,000 in damages, even though

they had purchased that same property some four

vears earlier for a mere $9,500. Dorothy Loughman

(Civil Action No. 83-921) had sold ten acres of her

property for only $800 per acre approximately six

years prior to the sale of another portion of the same

property to defendants. The jury, however, awarded

her damages amounting to approximately $100,000

per acre for the portion of her property she sold to

defendants. The Yesenoskys had listed their property

as being for sale in 1980 for $40,000. The jury awarded

the Yesenoskys $435,000 in damages for the sale of

their property to defendants less than two years later.

Judge Teitelbaum also held that respondents’ witness on real

estate valuation, Mr. Bodnar, adopted an untenable theory of

valuation. Bodnar’s method was to value the respondents’ parcels

on the basis of the enormous prices paid to the last three of 50

sellers in a linear series of parcels, purchased by the Consoi Peti-

tioners as they rushed to complete their mining project. The

judge said (A-111) that the jury

obviously relied heavily on the testimony of Mr. Bod-

nar, who explained on cross-examination that his

figures were based largely on the prices paid to three

(out of some fifty) landowners who were the last to

sell their properties for the railroad right-of-way:

Grover Phillipi ($146,670 per acre), John Culp

($75,216 per acre); and Sarah Closser ($240,108 per

acre). All other sales, except for these three, were ig-

nored by Mr. Bodnar in ascertaining the fair market

value of plaintiffs’ properties. *** Jt defies reason to

infer that these three sales, all of them by “hold-outs”,

are indicative in any way of the fair market values> ©

of the properties of those who were among the earliest

to sell. It is far more reasonable to infer that the prices

paid to Phillipi, Culp, and Closser for their proper-

ties were far in excess of their true market values -

because the defendants were operating under severe

time constraints - than it is to infer that the fair market

values of plaintiffs’ properties can be based on the

prices paid to Phillipi, Culp, and Closser. (emphasis

supplied).

The trial judge's analysis was thus founded in reason and on

inferences from the evidence that he was specially qualified to

OOOO

“I

make. As Pennsylvania law precluded an award of punitive

damages absent an award of compensatory damages, and as any

award of punitive damages could not have borne a “reasonable

relationship” to an incompetent award of compensatory

damages, the judge set aside the entire award. See infra p. Il,

n. 9.

The judge's dismissal of respondents’ RICO claims was sus-

tained in due course.°

c. The Second Trial

On March 6, 1990, a second jury trial commenced before

Judge D. Brooks Smith. The same evidence relevant to peti-

tioners’ supposed misconduct was heard by the second jury. In

his charge to the second jury on punitive damages, Judge Smith,

like Judge Teitelbaum, instructed that the purpose of an award

of punitive damages was to punish and deter, and that the jury

might take into account the wealth of petitioners (A-125). Bu’

Judge Smith refused to charge the jury that petitioners’ con-

duct must be found “outrageous” to justify punitive damages;

in his mistaken view the issue had been decided at the first trial

(see infra p. 19).’

* Judge Teitelbaum initially held that the evidence did not prove ongoing

misconduct. Respondents moved to reconsider in light of more recent Third

Circuit authority and Judge Teitelbaum vacated the RICO dismissal. After

this Court decided H.J. Inc. v. Northwestern Bell Telephone Co., 492 U.S.

229 (1989), however, the district court (Smith, D.J.) reinstated the dismissal

of the RICO claims. Loughman v. Consol Pennsylvania Coal Co., 740 F.Supp.

1114 (W.D. Pa. 1990), affd in relevant part sub. nom. Hughes v. Consol

Pennsylvania Coal Co., No. 90-3466 (3d Cir. Dec. 20, 1991) (amended opin-

ion) (A-l).

’ Judge Smith also omitted to charge that there must be a reasonable

relationship between compensatory and punitive damages (A-75). Pennsylvania

law had changed on the point between the date of Judge Teitelbaum’s charge

and Judge Smith's. See Loughman, 740 F.Supp. at 1124, citing Kirkbride v.

Lisbon Contractors, Inc., 521 Pa. 97, 555 A.2d 800 (1989) (changing former

rule) (A-86).

On April 6, 1990, on these instructions and on the same

evidence of misconduct, the second jury awarded punitive

damages of only $674,000, or less than 13% of the first jury’s

award. Compensatory damages of $4,262,677 were also awarded,

about $1.1 million less than the amount awarded by the first jury.

At the close of the second trial, petitioners moved on April

20, 1990, for judgment n.ov. and for a new trial on the ground

(among others) that they were denied due process because Penn-

sylvania law did not provide the jury with adequate standards

for awarding punitive damages.* The motion was denied by

Judge Smith. (A-88).

Proceedings in the Third Circuit

Petitioners and respondents appealed to the Third Circuit.

Petitioners contended that the awards of compensatory and

punitive damages by the second jury were unsupported by com-

petent evidence and violated the Due Process Clause.

The Court of Appeals (per Nygaard, C.J.) disregarded the

results of the second trial. Purporting to apply an “abuse of

discretion” standard of review to Judge Teitelbaum’s original

order of October 22, 1987, granting a new trial of damages, the

Third Circuit held that Judge Teitelbaum erred in setting aside

the first jury’s award of damages. The Circuit simply vacated

the second jury’s award in its entirety and reinstated the first

award, including its immense award of punitive damages.

Hughes v. Consol Pennsylvania Coal Co., No. 90-3466 (3d Cir.

Dec. 20, 1991) (amended opinion) (A-67).

With respect to the first jury’s award of compensatory

damages, the panel rejected Judge Teitelbaum’s assessment of

* Petitioners’ motion stated: “The law of Pennsylvania did not provide the jury

with sufficient guidance in determining whether to award punitive damages

(and, if so. how much) so that the jury’s award of punitive damages in this

case was purely arbitrary and violated the Defendants’ rights of due process

under the United States Constitution, as would any award of punitive damages

under the prevailing statutory scheme in Pennsylvania’. Motion of Defendant

for Judgment Notwithstanding the Verdict and for a New Trial, April 20, 1990,

at 6

the “overwhelming evidence”, and his inferences therefrom,

relating to the value of respondents’ parcels. Ignoring the trial

judge's direct knowledge of the terrain and his specification of

the trivial prices at which several of the parcels had been bought

and sold shortly before the sales to the Consol Petitioners, and

solely on the basis of a contrary inference from Bodnar’s

testimony, Judge Nygaard reinstated the first jury’s award in

the teeth of Judge Teitelbaum’s castigating repudiation of it

(A-60):

Though the district court correctly characterized

Closser, Culp and Phillipi as “hold-outs”, it neglected

to consider that plaintiffs would have demanded more

money had they known what Closser, Culp and

Phillips knew - that Consol was involved and that

Monongahela could not have condemned their prop-

erties for fixed prices. . .The district court abused its

discretion by discounting Bodnar’s testimony and set-

ting aside the first damage award.

Judge Nygaard’s assertion that the respondents would have

demanded more money had they known what the holdouts knew

was speculation unsupported by the record and contrary to fin-

dings and inferences of the trial judge based on the “overwhelm-

ing evidence”. Under the abuse of discretion standard as applied

to issues of fact a Court of Appeals may not engage in such

speculation. See infra pp. 16-17.

With respect to the punitive damages award, the Court of

Appeals also reinstated the first jury’s award of $5,500,000. For

the same conduct the second jury had awarded punitive damages

of only $674,000, less than one-eighth the first award.

The Court of Appeals did not reinstate the first jury's award

of compensatory damages and affirm the second jury’s award

of punitive damages; nor did it order a remittitur of compen-

satory or punitive damages by respondents; nor did it order a

new trial of all damages issues. Cf. American Employers Ins.

Co. v. Southern Seeding Services, Inc., 931 F.2d 1453, 1458 (11th

Cir. 1991) (affirming compensatory award but remanding

punitive award to reflect Haslip standards on record).

10

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

Summary of Argument

These cases involve recurring issues of compelling importance

to the administration of federal justice.

First, the Court’s requirement, expressed as a matter of due

process, that there must be “scrutiny” of punitive jury awards

by the trial judge to ensure “meaningful and adequate” review,

was flouted by the Court of Appeals when it reinstated the first

jury’s colossal award of compensatory and punitive damages,

set aside by the trial judge, and disregarded the greatly reduced

award made by the second jury. The purpose of such judicial

scrutiny, after all, is to reduce the jury’s excesses. Pacific Mutual

Life Ins. Co. v. Haslip, 111 S.Ct. 1032, 1044 (1991).

Second, a Court of Appeals must ordinarily review a District

Court’s factually-grounded order of a new trial of damages under

an extremely deferential “abuse of discretion” standard. In rela-

tion to punitive damages that familiar standard is affected by

the Due Process Clause and means that when a District Court

orders a new trial of punitive damages after a fact-intensive in-

quiry, the district judge must be sustained unless wrong beyond

all question. Here, the Third Circuit ignored the principle.

Third, the Court’s resolution in Haslip of the conflict between

the old remedy of punitive damages and evolving standards of

due process must be refined. The instructions given to both juries

were relevantly similar but yielded, on the same evidence, grossly

disparate punitive awards. The disparity confirms that Penn-

sylvania jury instructions respecting punitive damages, typical

of many, are too vague to comport with procedural due proc-

ess. Further, recent, perplexed attempts by several Courts of Ap-

peals to incorporate the Alabama rules of Haslip into federal

procedure show that guidance from this Court is required.

Fourth, in relation to the first jury’s award of compensatory

damages, the Third Circuit misapplied the usual federal abuse

of discretion standard to Judge Teitelbaum’s order of a new trial,

for that order was based on a fact-intensive inquiry and should

have been paid the greatest deference.

1]

Finally, under established federal practice the second jury’s

award was flawed. The judge refused to instruct the second jury

that it must find petitioners’ conduct “outrageous” if punitive

damages were to be awarded. That failure violated Pennsylvania

law and the judge's federal duty to apply that law to the case.

I

THE THIRD CIRCUIT DENIED TO PETITIONERS

PROCEDURAL SAFEGUARDS OF THE DUE PROC.

ESS CLAUSE WHEN IT REINSTATED THE FIRST

JURY’S EXORBITANT AWARD OF PUNITIVE

DAMAGES.

A. The Third Circuit Misapprehended the Reinforc-

ing Effect of Haslip on Judge Teitelbaum’s Order.

In Haslip, 111 S.Ct. 1032, the Court held that an award of

punitive damages entails the infliction of punishment and

therefore implicates the Due Process Clause, but that due proc-

ess was observed by an Alabama state court jury’s award of

punitive damages in these circumstances:

1. Trial Judge Scrutiny: Alabama had established post-trial

procedures for scrutinizing punitive awards by the trial judge.

The trial judge was required to reevaluate the “culpability of

the defendant's conduct” and other factors to ensure that the

award was not excessive. Id. at 1044.

Here, Judge Teitelbaum, proceeding (before Haslip) under the

more general federal standard applicable to motions for a new

trial, Fed. R. Civ. P. 59, scrutinized the jury’s award of com-

pensatory damages and found it “obscenely excessive”; it was

automatic, therefore, that he must quash a punitive award at-

tached to an outrageous compensatory award.’ The Third

* Although Judge Teitelbaum did not express the point, it is implicit that the

jury’s award of punitive damages could not stand absent a compensatory

award, Emerick v. United States Suzuki Motor Corp., 750 F.2d 19, 22 (3d

Cir. 1984), and could not bear a “reasonable relationship” to an award of com-

pensatory damages that was a nullity, a relationship then required by Penn-

sylvania law. See Kirkbride v. Lisbon Contractors, Inc., 52] Pa. 97.555 A.2d

800 (1989) (changing former rule).

12

Circuit, without mention of Haslip (decided 10 months earlier),

reinstated the first jury’s award including its punitive compo-

nent and defeated Judge Teitelbaum’s constitutionally authorized

post-trial check on the jury’s extravagance.

2. Appellate Check: In Haslip, the Alabama Supreme Court

was seen to provide “an additional check on the jury’s or trial

court’s discretion” by undertaking a comparative analysis of the

award and then applying the “detailed substantive standards

it has developed for evaluating punitive awards.” Jd. at 1045 (em-

phasis supplied). In Alabama, those substantive standards in-

cluded a seven-point check list designed to ensure reasonable

punitive awards, which resulted in their reduction. /d. at 1045.

Here, by contrast, the Third Circuit, instead of acting as a

constitutional curb on the first jury’s runaway verdict (by ap-

proving or reducing the second jury’s award), gave free rein to

the first jury’s irresponsibility for no better reason than its un-

supported speculation about what respondents would have done.

See supra p. 9. This disrespect for the trial judge's constitutionally

assigned role as a check on excessive punitive awards stands at

opposite poles from Alabama practice approved in Haslip. Haslip

demanded that the second jury’s punitive award be left intact,

reduced, or remanded; it surely precluded the reinstatement of

the enormous award of the first jury.

3. Evidence of Petitioners’ Wealth: In Haslip, the Court, as

a constitutional matter, particularly approved the practice that

“any evidence of Pacific Mutual’s wealth was excluded from the

trial in accord with Alabama law.” 11] S.Ct. at 1044. In the in-

stant cases, however, both juries were instructed, in accord with

Pennsylvania law, that the wealth of the petitioners could be

taken into account by the jury in order to punish petitioners’

appropriately. (A-125 and A-128). It is a fair inference that the

first jury put heavy weight on this element, for respondents’

counsel, in closing argument to that jury on February 19, 1987,

said that “there's $3.9 billion worth of coal up there” and that

“$3.9 billion is being made every day” by the Consoi Petitioners,

an absurd notion. (Tr. 2463, 2486) (emphasis supplied).

13

Unlike the Pacific Mutual Insurance Company, which “had

the benefit of the full panoply of Alabama’s procedural protec-

tions’, 111 S.Ct. at 1046, petitioners here were not only denied

all judicial protection by the Third Circuit but suffered addi-

tional damage at its hands. That was a denial of due process.

B. Judge Teitelbaum’s Order Was Entitled to the

Greatest Deference From the Court of Appeals.

Before Haslip the Court had made it clear that, as a matter

of ordinary federal procedure, it was the duty of the district judge

to review jury awards of punitive damages and determine, by

reference to Fed. R. Civ. P. 59, whether a new trial or remit-

titur should be ordered. “The Court of Appeals should then

review the District Court's determination under an abuse of

discretion standard.” Browning-Ferris Industries of Vermont, Inc.

v. Kelco Disposal, Inc., 492 U.S. 257, 279 (1989).

The effect of Haslip on Browning-Ferris was to add the force

of the Due Process clause to the ordinary abuse of discretion

standard. That is, by requiring the district judge to check the

jury's extravagance as a constitutional matter the Court fortified

the exercise of discretion by a district judge in ordering a new

trial of punitive damages; a Court of Appeals must pay even

greater deference to such an order. If the district judge decides

that the award is excessive on the evidence and orders a new

trial (or remittitur), and appeal is eventually taken, the Court

of Appeals may, under Hasiip, act as a further check on the jury

and again reduce the award. 11] S.Ct. at 1045. But unless the

district court has (as Judge Friendly said in another connection)

“taken leave of its senses”, what the Court of Appeals may not

do under the Constitution is to reinstate the first, higher jury

verdict." See Robertson Oil Co. Inc. v. Phillips Petroleum Co.,

930 F.2d 1342, 1346-47 (8th Cir. 1991) (under Haslip reviewing

court can reduce award). The writ should be granted to establish

that principle.

* See Henry J. Friendly, Indiscretion About Discretws.. 31 Emory L.J. 747,

763 (1982).

14

C. Haslip Must be Refined to Avoid Unconstitutional

Vagueness of Instructions to Juries on Punitive

Damages and to Integrate Haslip Into Federal

Procedure.

Whether or not the rules of Haslip were violated by the Third

Circuit, these cases demonstrate that the Haslip rules require

elaboration to avoid unconstitutional vagueness and to integrate

those Alabama rules into federal procedure.

Jury instructions to determine punitive damages in Alabama

and Pennsylvania do not differ greatly (except that, as noted

above, the wealth of the defendant may not be taken into ac-

count in Alabama). In Alabama, the jury is told that the award

of punitive damages is discretionary, that the award is intended

to punish the defendant, and that the award should protect the

public by deterring the defendant and others from repeating the

wrong. Further, in fixing the amount of the award, an Alabama

jury must consider the character and the degree of the wrong

committed by the defendant. Haslip, 111 S.Ct. at 1037, n.l.

Similar instructions were given here to both Pittsburgh juries

(A-122 and A-127)." Nevertheless, on the same evidence, the sec-

ond jury awarded less than 13% of the amount awarded by the

first jury as punitive damages, i.e., $674,000 as compared with

$5,500,000. Paradoxically, the first jury was told that any

punitive award must bear a reasonable relation to the compen-

satory award but the second jury was not so instructed; the first

jury was told that petitioners’ conduct must be found to be

outrageous but the second jury was told to assume that fact.

" In addition to instructions similar to those given in Alabama, the first Penn-

sv'vania jury was told that punitive damages mav be awarded if petitioners

conduct was outrageous; the second jury was told to assume that petitioners

conduct was outrageous because of the first jury's award, a highly prejudicial

error discussed infra, p. 19. The first jury was told that there must be a

reasonable relationship between compensatory and punitive damages: the

second was not (because of an intermediate change in Pennsylvania law). See

supra p. 7, n. 7). Both Pennsylvania juries were told that they might take iato

account the wealth of petitioners (A-125 and A-128).

15

Yet, the second jury produced a punitive verdict that was a frac-

tion of the prior award.

The gross disparity between the two awards, in the same case,

on the same evidence, on a common denominator of jury in-

structions (but with additional instructions more favorable to

respondents given to the second jury) confirms that procedures

approved in Haslip and used by federal courts in Pennsylvania

(and elsewhere) are too vague to satisfy due process requirements,

as various members of the Court have suggested. See Haslip,

111 S.Ct. at 1056 (O’Connor, J., dissenting); Browning-Ferris,

492 U.S. at 280, 282 (1989) (Brennan and Marshall, JJ., con-

curring; O’Connor and Stevens, JJ., concurring in part and

dissenting in part).

Moreover, Haslip approved the constitutionality of Alabama,

viz., state, court procedures for the supervision by judges of

punitive jury verdicts; the case did not arise in a federal district

court. Although Browning-Ferris, supra at 279, requires district

judges to review punitive jury awards under Fed. R. Civ. P. 59,

the Courts of Appeals, attempting to apply the teachings of

Haslip, have been uncertain about the way in which Alabama’s

procedures should be incorporated into Fed. R. Civ. P. 59 and

federal appellate procedure. See, e.g., Tunis Bros. Co. Inc. v.

Ford Motor Co., No. 90-1797 (3d Cir. Dec. 27, 1991), 1991 U.S.

App. Lexis 30165, at *82-83 (uncertain whether Haslip requires

“reasonable relationship” between compensatory award and

punitive award); Johnson v. Hugo's Skateway, 949 F.2d 1338,

1349-53 (4th Cir. 1991) (uncertain whether Virginia standards

used at trial satisfy Haslip, remanded for district court deter-

mination of issue); American Employers Ins. Co. Southern

Seeding Services, Inc., 931 F.2d 1453, 1456-58 (11th Cir. 1991)

(remanded with instruction that district court reflect on the

record how it applied Haslip standards); Robertson Oil Co. Inc.

v. Phillips Petroleum Co., 930 F.2d 1342, 1347 (8th Cir. 1991)

(same); Eichenseer v. Reserve Life Ins. Co., 934 F.2d 1377,

1384-86 (Sth Cir. 1991) (affirming punitive award because Haslip

purportedly applied but confusing state and federal standards

of review). Indeed, even a state court has found that Haslip “offers

little guidance as to what would be necessary to render a different

16

system [than Alabama’s] unconstitutional.” George v. Int Soc.

for Krishna Consciousness of Cal., No. D007153 (Cal. Ct. App.

Jan. 30, 1992), 1992 Cal. App. Lexis 105, *115 (on remand from

this Court). The writ should be granted so that additional

guidance may be given to lower courts.

II

THE THIRD CIRCUIT MISAPPLIED THE ABUSE

OF DISCRETION STANDARD TO JUDGE

TEITELBAUM’S ORDER OF A NEW TRIAL OF

COMPENSATORY DAMAGES.

In relation to Judge Teitelbaum’s nullification of the first jury’s

award of compensatory damages, the dominant standard of

review in the Courts of Appeals is the abuse of discretion stan-

dard. 6A J. Moore, J. Lucas, & G. Grotheer, Moore’s Federal

Practice 459.08[6], at 59-177 (2d ed. 1989). In the Third Cir-

cuit the standard is plainly in force and means, in respect of

a district judge's disposition of post-trial motions attacking the

sufficiency of the evidence, that “it will not be said that a district

judge has abused its discretion if there is ‘any basis in reason

for [its] conclusions as to the weight of the evidence and injustice

of the verdict. ... ” Shanno v. Magee Industrial Enterprises,

Inc., 856 F.2d 562, 567 (3d Cir. 1988) (Sloviter, C.J., quoting

Hastie, C.J., dissenting, in Lind v. Schenley Indus., 278 F.2d

79, 91 (3d Cir.) (in banc), cert. denied, 364 U.S. 835 (1960)).”

Although the abuse of discretion standard is applied variously

according to the issue at hand, there cannot be disagreement

that, in relation to an order of a district judge founded on fac-

tual elements, the standard requires profound deference by a

Court of Appeals to the judge’s order. A trial judge's order of

a new trial of damages predicated on the judge’s analysis of the

* In the instant cases the Third Circuit flagrantly misdirected itself with respect

to its own standard of review. The only case cited for the standard is Semper

v. Santos, 845 F.2d 1233 (3d Cir. 1988) (A-59). That was an appeal from the

appellate division of the Virgin Islands District Court where the Third Cir-

cuit said that the “usual deference” paid to discretionary rulings of a district

court “is inapplicable when one appellate court reviews another”. /d. at 1235.

ee

17

evidence is such an order, for it is the decision “of the judge who

saw and heard the witnesses and has the feel of the case which

no appellate printed transcript can impart.” Cone v. West

Virginia Pulp & Paper Co., 330 U.S. 212, 216 (1947); see Ander-

son v. Bessemer City, 470 U.S. 564, 580 (1985) (acknowledging

that trial judge “is more closely in touch than the appeals court

with the milieu out of which the controversy before him arises”);

Henry J. Friendly, Indiscretion About Discretion, 31 Emory L.

J. 747, 759 (1982) (“The trial court’s direct contact with the

witnesses places it in a superior position” to determine facts

under the abuse of discretion standard).

The Court has now made it clear that “[w]hen an appellate

court reviews a district court’s factual findings, the abuse of

discretion and clearly erroneous standards are indistinguishable.”

Cooter & Gell v. Hartmarx Corp., 110 S.Ct. 2447, 2458 (1990)

(emphasis supplied). The clearly erroneous standard of Fed. R.

Civ. P. 52, the Court recalled, “requires the appellate court to

uphold any district court determination that falls within a broad

range of permissible conclusions.” Idem; accord Anderson, supra

at 574 (“[w]Jhere there are two permissible views of the evidence.

the factfinder’s choice between them cannot be clearly er-

roneous.”) Further, under the clearly erroneous rule, the trial

judge's inferences of fact are entitled to the same respect as his

factual determinations. Jd. at 580; United States v. United States

Gypsum Co., 333 U.S. 364, 394 (1948). Deference to the trial

judge is especially appropriate where he is better positioned than

the Court of Appeals to decide the issue and the issue is fac-

tually multifarious, i.e., unyielding to useful generalizations by

the appellate court. Cooter v. Gell, 110 S.Ct. at 2459-60; cf. Salve

Regina College v. Russell, 111 S.Ct. 1217, 1222 (1991) (de novo

review proper where district judge not “better positioned” to

decide issue of state law, as opposed to mixed question of law

and fact, and issue not multifarious).

Although Judge Teitelbaum’s order of a new trial of damages

was made under Rule 59, not Rule 52, his order draws strength

from Cooter & Gell. Rule 59 gave the judge broad discretion

to make a fact-intensive inquiry into the evidence of damage

18

to determine whether the award was excessive. Judge Teitelbaum

made such an inquiry, as his opinion shows. See supra pp. 5-6.

His analysis was as “fact-dependent” as a judge's inquiry into

the operative facts of a lawyer’s misconduct. Cooter & Gell, 110

S.Ct. at 2459. A highly experienced judge of the Pittsburgh

district, more in touch with the “milieu” of the controversy than

the Court of Appeals in Philadelphia, Anderson, 470 U.S. at 580,

Judge Teitelbaum heard respondents’ testimony about peti-

tioners’ conduct, saw respondents’ properties during the jury’s

view, heard their testimony as to the prices at which their prop-

erties had recently been purchased and sold, and heard the Bod-

nar theory of value (which the judge plainly thought ridiculous).

He made reasonable inferences from the evidence. See supra p.

6 (“it defies reason . . . it is far more reasonable to infer . . ..”).

Under the clearly erroneous rule his conclusion, on the “over-

whelming evidence,” that the award was “obscenely excessive”

should not have been disturbed by the Court of Appeals mere-

ly on the strength of a contrary inference from the Bodnar

testimony. See supra p. 9.

ITI

AT THE SECOND TRIAL THE DISTRICT COURT

ABUSED ITS DISCRETION AS A MATTER OF LAW,

AND DENIED DUE PROCESS TO PETITIONERS,

WHEN THE COURT REFUSED TO INSTRUCT THE

JURY THAT IT MUST FIND PETITIONERS’ CON.

DUCT “OUTRAGEOUS” IN ORDER TO AWARD

PUNITIVE DAMAGES.

The first jury’s award was rightly set aside by Judge

Teitelbaum. The second jury’s award of punitive damages was

also defective because Judge Smith failed in his federal duty to

charge the second jury that punitive damages may not be

awarded under Pennsylvania law absent “outrageous” conduct.

The Court explained in Browning-Ferris, 492 U.S. at 279, that

as a matter of federal law, a district judge reviewing an award

of punitive damages must ensure that the jury's verdict is “within

the confines set by state law.” That duty commands that the judge

19

charge the jury respecting the standards for awarding punitive

damages as required by state law. Idem. And, as discussed, the

Court held in Haslip that, as a matter of due process, the trial

judge must check the jury’s award of punitive damages for ex-

cess, which requires that he “reflect in the record the reasons

for interfering with a jury verdict, or refusing to do so, on

grounds of excessiveness of the [punitive] damages.” American

Employers Ins. Co. v. Southern Seeding Services, Inc., 931 F.2d

1453, 1457 (11th Cir. 1991) (applying Haslip and quoting rele-

vant decision of Supreme Court of Alabama).

Judge Smith ignored these principles. Pennsylvania law bars

an award of punitive damages unless the jury finds the relevant

conduct “outrageous.” Rizzo v. Haines, 520 Pa. 484, 507, 555

A.2d 58, 69 (1989); Feld v. Merriam, 506 Pa. 383, 395, 485 A.2d

742, 748 (1984). But Judge Smith charged the jury on April 2,

1990, that “you are instructed to consider only the conduct that

has previously been determined as outrageous.” (A-124) (emphasis

added). This reflected his mistaken view (expressed at the sup-

plemental pre-trial conference of March 5, 1990, and objected

to there (Tr. 34-35) and again at the charging conference of

March 29, 1990 (Tr. 2891)) that “a punitive damage claim is an

entirely separate cause of action” and that petitioners’ liability

on that “cause of action” had been determined by the prior jury.

In effect, he mistakenly directed the jury to presume that peti-

tioners’ conduct had been outrageous. See Mason v. Texaco, Inc.,

948 F.2d 1546, 1554 (10th Cir. 1991) (“A punitive damage claim

is not an independent cause of action or issue separate from the

balance of plaintiff's case. It is part and parcel of a liability deter-

mination and does not have any independent being until a jury

has decided . . . that defendant's conduct ... was gross, wilful,

wanton or malicious. . ..”).

But liability for punitive damages in Pennsylvania has always

depended (inter alia) on the “character” of the act of the defend-

ant; that requires a determination of outrageousness. Kirkbride.

521 Pa. at 102, 555 A.2d at 803; see Molzof v. United States,

112 S.Ct. 711, 715-16 (1992) (common law definition of punitive

damages focuses on nature of defendant's conduct). As the first

20

jury’s award of punitive damages had been nullified, any deter-

mination it may have made about the outrageousness of peti-

tioners’ conduct disappeared. Jt fell to the second jury to redeter-

mine the issue. Its determination to award punitive damages

required an evidentiary finding, not a presumption directed by

the judge, of outrageous conduct.

After the second jury awarded $674,000 in punitive damages,

Judge Smith denied petitioners’ motion for a new trial without

comment. In refusing to rectify his erroneous charge Judge Smith

abused his discretion on a point of law, a decision reviewable

de novo and that should have been reversed. Salve Regina Col-

lege, 111 S.Ct. at 1222. By the same token his refusal was a denial

of the due process “check” required by Haslip in that he failed

to express on the record the reasons for the denial. American

Employers, supra, at 1456-58. Although petitioners vigorously

argued the point on their appeal, Brief of Defendants-Appellees,

Nov. 8, 1990, at 66-67, the Third Circuit ignored the matter,

simply holding that respondents “clearly showed outrageous con-

duct” (A-62), as if that after-the-fact “finding” by appellate

judges could cure a jury verdict founded on a materially defec-

tive charge about an intensely factual issue.

The writ should be granted to correct an error in federal pro-

cedure highly prejudicial to petitioners, namely, the failure of

the District Court to ensure that, at the second trial, the “con-

fines” of state law applicable to punitive damages were observed,

and to give effect to the “check” on the jury required by the Due

Process Clause.

21

CONCLUSION

In reinstating the first jury’s punitive award the Third Cir-

cuit failed to appreciate that its powers of review of Judge

Teitelbaum’s order were sharply curtailed by Haslip.

The Court of Appeals also failed to pay sufficient deference

to Judge Teitelbaum’s order setting aside the compensatory

award of the first jury under the abuse of discretion standard.

Finally, Judge Smith, at the second trial, abused his discre-

tion as a matter of law in denying petitioners’ motion for a new

trial.

The writ should be granted to rectify these errors and to settle

recurring problems of federal law.

Respectfully submitted,

JosePH D. BECKER

Counsel of Record

BECKER, GLYNN, MELAMED

& MUuUFFLY

299 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10171

(212) 888-3033

JosePH A. KATARINCIC

KATARINCIC & SALMON

2600 CNG Tower

Pittsburgh, Pa. 15222

(412) 338-2900

Attorneys for Petitioners

February 14, 1992.

APPENDIX

A-1

AMENDED

Filed December 20, 199]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 90-3466

JAMES E. HUGHES and LINDA L. HUGHES,

Appellant

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-::

CONSOLIDATED COAL CO.;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT Co.

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

No. 90-3467

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN,

Appellant

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT.

AND MARIA THERESE

VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

No. 90-3468

PAUL H. KENT and MABEL KENT,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

——————

A-3

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

No. 90-3469

JAMES C. McINTYRE and GLENNA MCcINTYRE,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS:

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-.:;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

Ad

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

No. 90-3470

LARRY LEVINE, DAN LEVINE, MORRIS LEVINE,

EDWARD LEVINE, individuals; and

MORRIS LEVINE ENTERPRISES, INC., a

corporation;

and LEVINE IRON AND METAL, INC., a

corporation,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

re

A-5

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

HEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

No. 90-3471

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation; _

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company,

Consolidated Coal Co.,

Consol-Land Development Company, and

The Monongahela Railway Company,

Appellants

No. 90-3472

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft MBH, and

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

A-7

No. 91-3473

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

David Boggs, an individual,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

William Reese, an individual,

Mike Wilson, an individual,

Appellants

No. 90-3474

JOHN W. YESENOSKY, JR. and LINDA M.

YESENOSKY

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company,

Consolidated Coal Company.

Consol-Land Development Company. and the

Monongahela Railway Company,

Appellants

No. 90-3475

JOHN W. YESENOSKY, JR. and LINDA M.

YESENOSKY

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC:;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft, MBH, and

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

A-10

No. 90-3476

PAUL H. KENT and MABEL KENT

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company, a corporation,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

A-11

No. 90-3477

PAUL H. KENT and MABEL KENT

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft MBH,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

No. 90-3478

JAMES C. McINTYRE and GLENNA McINTYRE

A-12

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company, a corporation,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

No. 90-3479

JAMES C. MciINTYRE and GLENNA McINTYRE

V.

7 . |

A-13

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugeselischaft MBH,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

No. 90-3480

LARRY LEVINE; DAN LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE;

EDWARD LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE

ENTERPRISES; LEVINE IRON & METAL

wi.

A-14

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

‘and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

No. 90-3481

LARRY LEVINE; DAN LEVINE; MORRIS

LEVINE; EDWARD LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE

ENTERPRISES; LEVINE IRON & METAL

‘V.

ata alia i i

A-15

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft MBH,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

No. 90-3482

JAMES HUGHES and LINDA HUGHES

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

A-16

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

No. 90-3483

JAMES HUGHES and LINDA HUGHES

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

A-17

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft MBH,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

No. 90-3484

THOMAS J. ALLEN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

_eee——ee—ee——e—e——ee—eEeEeEeEeEeEe——EeEeEeEeEEeEE—eEE

A-18

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

No. 96-3485

THOMAS J. ALLEN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

A-19

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellschaft MBH.

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

No. 90-3494

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation:

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS; |

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT.

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and Thomas.

Appellants

A-20

No. 90-3495

JOHN W. YESENOSKY, JR. and LINDA M.

YESENOSKY,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

A-21

No. 90-3496

JOHN W. YESENOSKY, JR. and LINDA M.

YESENOSKY

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY. a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation:

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY. a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual:

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT. MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT.

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and

Thomas,

Appellants

No. 90-3497

JOHN W. YESENOSKY, JR. and LINDA M.

YESENOSKY

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, Wiiliam Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

A-23

No. 90-3498

PAUL H. KENT and MABEL KENT

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN USS., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK. POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT.

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock. Pollock and Thomas.

Appellants

No. 90-3499

PAUL H. KENT and MABEL KENT

V.

A-24

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

No. 90-3500

JAMES C. McINTYRE and GLENNA McINTYRE

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

A-25

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and Thomas,

Appellants

No. 90-3501

JAMES C. McINTYRE and GLENNA McINTYRE

7s

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation:

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual:

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

A-26

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

No. 90-3502

LARRY LEVINE; DAN LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE;

EDWARD LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE

ENTERPRISES; LEVINE IRON & METAL

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individuai, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS:

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.::

———

A-27

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and

Thomas,

Appellants

No. 90-3503

LARRY LEVINE; DAN LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE;

EDWARD LEVINE; MORRIS LEVINE

ENTERPRISES; LEVINE IRON & METAL

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual:

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC-.:;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

A-28

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

No. 90-3504

JAMES HUGHES and LINDA HUGHES

7.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

A-29

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and Thomas,

Appellants

No. 90-3505

JAMES HUGHES and LINDA HUGHES

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual:

WILLIAM REESE, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual. and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AN

THOMAS; |

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

A-30

No. 90-3506

MARK E. HEADLEE and CHARLOTTE B.

HEADLEE,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

A-31

No. 90-3507

MARK E. HEADLEE and CHARLOTTE B.

HEADLEE

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY:

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT. MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT.

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Consol-Pennsylvania Coa] Company, a

corporation,

Monongahela Railway Company,

Consolidated Coal Company,

Consol-Land Development Company,

Appellants

A-32

No. 90-3508

MARK E. HEADLEE and CHARLOTTE B.

HEADLEE

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Rhein Braun U.S., a corporation,

Maria Theresia Bergbaugesellischaft MBH,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke,

Appellants

A-33

No. 90-3509

MARK E. HEADLEE and CHARLOTTE B.

HEADLEE

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY. a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAPFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and Thomas,

Appellants

A-34

No. 90-3510

MARK E. HEADLEE and CHARLOTTE B.

HEADLEE

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual;

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individuai;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

» and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

_ Appellants

A-35

No. 90-3511

THOMAS J. ALLEN, Esquire, Personal

Representative of the Estate of JOHN T.

THROCKMORTON,

Appellants

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S.. a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.:

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY:

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

A-36

No. 90-3512

THOMAS J. ALLEN, Esquire, Personal

Representative of the Estate of JOHN T.

THROCKMORTON

V.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

JAMES LEACH, an individual;

DAVID BOGGS, an individual;

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK, POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT, MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT;

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Ewing Pollock, and Pollock, Pollock and

Thomas,

Appellants

A-37

No. 90-3513

THOMAS J. ALLEN, Esquire, Personal

Representative of the Estate of JOHN T.

THROCKMORTON

¥,

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY, a

: corporation;

RHEIN BRAUN U.S., a corporation;

MONONGAHELA RAILWAY COMPANY, a

corporation;

MIKE WILSON, an individual:

WILLIAM REESE, an individual;

JAMES LEACH, an individual:

DAVID BOGGS, an individual:

EWING POLLOCK, an individual, and

the law firm of POLLOCK. POLLOCK AND

THOMAS;

THE UPSHUR AGENCY, INC.;

CONSOLIDATED COAL COMPANY;

CONSOL-LAND DEVELOPMENT COMPANY;

RHEINBRAUN VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT. MBLT

and

MARIA THERESE VERKAUFSGESELLSCHAFT:

MARIA THERESIA BERGBAUGESELLSCHAFT,

MBH &

RHEINISCHE BRAUNKOHLENWERKE

Mike Wilson, William Reese, David Boggs,

The Upshur Agency, Inc.,

Appellants

A-38

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Civil Action Nos. 83-00921, 83-01674,

83-01675, 83-01676, 83-01677, 83-01678,

83-01679, 83-01754)

Argued January 28, 1991

Before: SLOVITER, Chief Judge; NYGAARD,

Circuit Judge and KATZ, District Judge*

~ (Opinion Filed December 20, 1991)

LOUIS M. TARASI, JR., ESQUIRE (argued)

JOSEPH J. HINCHLIFFE, ESQUIRE

Tarasi & Johnson

510 Third Avenue

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

DAVID C. HOOK, ESQUIRE

Hook & Hook

P.O. Box 792

Waynesburg, PA 15370

Attorneys for Appellants in

Nos. 90-3466, 90-3467, 90-3468,

90-3469, 90-3470, 90-3495,

90-3506, 90-3511

JOSEPH A. KATARINCIC, ESQUIRE (argued)

Katarincic & Salmon

625 Liberty Avenue

2600 CNG Tower

* Honorable Marvin Katz, United States District Judge for

the Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

A-39

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorney for Appeilants in

Nos. 90-3471, 90-3474, 90-3476

90-3478, 90-3480, 90-3482,

90-3484, 90-3507

JOSEPH D. BECKER, ESQUIRE (argued)

Becker, Glynn & Melamed

299 Park Avenue

New York, NY 10171

Attorney for Appellants in

Nos. 90-3472, 90-3475, 90-3477

90-3479, 90-3481, 90-3483

90-3485, 90-3508

JAMES F. MANLEY, ESQUIRE (argued)

Burns, Manley & Little

2922 Gulf Tower

Pittsburgh, PA 15219

Attorney for Appellants in

Nos. 90-3473, 90-3497, 90-3499

90-3501, 90-3503, 90-3505,

90-3510, 90-3513

KATHRYN L.SIMPSON, ESQUIRE (argued)

VINCENT J. GROGAN, ESQUIRE

Grogan, Graffam, McGinley

& Lucchino

Three Gateway Center

22nd Floor

Pittsburgh, PA 15222

Attorney for Appellants in

Nos. 90-3494, 90-3496, 90-3498

90-3500, 90-3502, 90-3504,

A-40

90-3509, 90-3512

OPINION OF THE COURT

NYGAARD, Circuit Judge.

These consolidated appeals arise from a series

of complaints filed by plaintiffs after Monongahela

Railway Company acquired their properties and

rights-of-way in trust for Consolidated Coal

Company, for it to construct and operate a 14.5

mile track from a coal mine to Monongahela’s main

line. Plaintiffs allege that defendants, Monongahela

and Consolidated Coal, among others, fraudulently

misrepresented facts to obtain favorable prices.

They sought lost profits on theories of civil

conspiracy, common law fraud, and violations of

the Racketeer Influenced and Corrupt

Organizations Act (RICO), 18 U.S.C. § 1961 et seq.

Il. FACTS AND PROCEDURE

Consolidated Coal Company (Consol) acquired

the Nineveh and Manor coai reserves located in

Greene County, Pennsylvania. To exploit these

reserves, it meeded railroad rights-of-way. In

December 1980, Consol signed a letter of intent

with Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke A.G. (RBW) to

form a joint venture to develop these mining

reserves. On June 30, 1981, their affiliates,

Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Company (Consol-PA)

and Rheinbraun U.S. Corporation, signed an

“Operating Joint Venture Agreement”. On October

29, 1981, Consol and Maria Theresia

Bergbaugesellshaft (MTB), a RBW _ subsidiary,

formed Conrhein Coal Company, a partnership.

Aad

Conrhein subleased the reserves to the joint

venture of Consol-PA and Rheinbraun U.S. These

affiliates held the reserves as tenants in common.

The coal reserves are located about 14.5 miles

from Monongahela Railroad Company's

September 30, 1981, Consol and Monongahela

Signed a “Property Acquisition Agreement”. They

agreed that Monongahela would use the railroad's

eminent domain power to acquire more than fifty

parcels of land owned by plaintiffs and other

landowners in the “Areas of Interest”. Monongahela

would hold any land it acquired in trust for

estate broker. Upshur agreed to negotiate with

plaintiffs for the needed rights-of-way.

The Rheinbraun Corporations were concerned

that Consol would be unable to purchase the

needed rights-of-way to transport the coal to the

various markets. Consequently, addenda were

year that passed before Consol obtained the

rights-of-way. If the rights-of-way were not

Purchased after five years, Rheinbraun could

withdraw enurely from the venture.

Time was crucial. The scheme to defraud

Plaintiffs unfolded as follows. Upshur agents

acquired the properties from plaintiffs “in the

name of ‘Monongahela Railroad Corporation,”

concealing the identity of the true acquirer Consol]

(which lacked condemnation power). App. at

1160A. Upshur told plaintiffs that if they refused

A-42

to sell Monongahela would exercise its power of

eminent domain and give a fixed price per acre

upon condemnation.

Following this scheme, Upshur agents

approached plaintiffs and negotiated for the

needed rights-of-way. Plaintiffs sold parcels to

Monongahela. When some plaintiffs initially

refused or hesitated, Upshur agents made

thinly-veiled threats to induce them to sell. For

example, an Upshur agent threatened to bring

condemnation proceedings against James and

Linda Hughes. The Hughes sold their 1.5 acre land

for $90,000. An Upshur agent threatened to

condemn Mark and Charlotte Headlee’s property

for $700 per acre. The Headlees sold their 26 acre

land for $168,000. An Upshur agent threatened

John and Linda Yesenosky, whose son was

afflicted with acute asthma, that trains could be

parked across their driveway. The Yesenoskys sold

their 3.6 acre land for $67,000. In some of these

instances, either Upshur agents or defendant

attorneys told plaintiffs that part of the purchase

price would be tax free.

Among the landowners, five — Grover and

Imogene Phillippi, John and Sharon Culp, and

Sarah Closser — either discovered Consol's

undisclosed role or were land speculators. Upon

the advice of their attorneys, they refused to

accept Upshur’'s original purchase offers. Because

these landowners were fully informed and on equal

footing with the defendants, Upshur agents were

forced to pay _ substantially higher prices.

Specifically, the Phillippis sold 5.2 acres for

$600,000 plus the installation of railroad siding.

The Culps sold 13.3 acres for $1 million. And

Closser sold 1.9 acres for $445,000.

A-43

On April 19, 1983, nine plaintiffs filed eight

complaints against Consol, Consol-PA, Consol

Land Development Company, Monongahela, RBW,

MTB, Ewing Pollock, Esq., his law firm, Upshur,

and Upshur agents David Boggs, William Reese

and Mike Wilson. Plaintiffs alleged violations of

RICO, civil conspiracy, and common law fraud.

One plaintiff, Dorothy Loughman, also alleged

attorney malpractice against Pollock. All eight

complaints were consolidated for trial purposes.

Defendants moved for partial summary judgment

on plaintiffs’ claim that Upshur _ agents

misrepresented Monongahela’s power of eminent

domain. They contended Monongahela had the

power to condemn plaintiffs’ properties. On August

6, 1986, the district court granted defendants’

motion, but sent the remaining claims of

fraudulent misrepresentation, RICO violations, and

civil conspiracy to the jury. Finding most of the

defendants liable, the jury awarded $5,360,500 in

compensatory damages, trebled under RICO. See

18 U.S.C. § 1964(c). It also awarded $5,500,000

in punitive damage because it found defendants

acted outrageously.

The district court believed the jury based its

compensatory award on the testimony of plaintiffs’

land valuation expert, Mr. Gary Bodnar. Bodnar

opined that the highest and best use as railroad

rights-of-way determines market value of the

properties. Because a railroad right-of-way is

commercial or industrial property, Bodnar

calculated the market value by comparing the

properties with purchase prices of other

commercial and industrial properties as well as

prices eventually obtained by Closser, the

Phillippis, and the Culps.

A-44

Defendants moved for judgment n.o.v. on all

claims. On October 22, 1987, the district court

granted defendants’ motion for the RICO claims for

it concluded plaintiffs failed to satisfy RICO’'s

“continuity” requirement. Supp. App. at 127-28. It

also set aside the compensatory damage award

because the award was “obscenely excessive.” Id.

at 123. The court suggested remittitur, but when

the parties disagreed on the amount of damages

to remit it ordered a new damages trial. Plaintiffs

moved for reconsideration of the district court's

orders. On May 17, 1988, the court reinstated the

RICO verdicts, vacating in part its October 22,

1987 grant of judgment n.o.v. On June 9, 1988,

it decided not to submit the issue of punitive

damages to a second jury.

On November 20, 1989, before the start of the

second trial, defendants moved to vacate the May

17 1988 order that vacated the judgment n.o.v. of

October 22, 1987 and reinstated the RICO claim.

On March 1, 1990, the court granted defendants’

motion to vacate the May 17, 1988 _ order,

reinstated the October 22, 1987 grant of judgment

n.o.v. on the RICO claim, and ordered retrial of

the punitive damages issue.

In the- second trial on damages, the jury award

plaintiffs $4,262,677 in compensatory damages

and $674,000 in punitive damages. The defendants

moved for judgment n.o.v., new trial, and

reargument. The _ district court denied these

motions. Plaintiffs and defendants filed timely

appeals, alleging errors at both trial.

We address these issues raised by plaintiffs: (1)

whether plaintiffs satisfied the continuity

requirement under RICO; (2) whether Upshur

agents misrepresented Monongahela’s

A-45

condemnation power; (3) whether the district court

abused its discretion by setting aside the first

damage award; (4) whether plaintiffs should be

entitled to prejudgment interest and delay

damages; and (5) whether the district court erred

by granting judgment n.o.v. on plaintiff Dorothy

Loughman’'s legal malpractice claim.

We address these issues raised by defendants:

(1) whether sufficient evidence existed to support

the first jury award of punitive damages; (2)

whether the district court erred by instructing the

jury that a misrepresentation is actionable

regardless of materiality if the misrepresentation

was made knowingly; (3) whether plaintiffs

Justiflably relied on the Upshur agents’ staternents

concerning the tax free nature of the property

transactions; and (4) whether certain comments

made by the judge in the first trial deprived

defendants of a fair trial.

II. RICO CLAIM

The district court granted defendants’ motion for

Judgment n.o.v. on the federal RICO claims

because plaintiffs failed to prove the continuity

prong of RICO’s “pattern of racketeering activity”

requirement. Memorandum Opinion of March 1,

1990 at 15 (Smith, J.). See 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c).

We will affirm.

When reviewing a judgment n.o.v. we must

construe the evidence in a light most favorable to

the non-movant and search the record for the

minimum quantum of evidence to support the jury

verdict. Burke v. Maassen, 904 F.2d 178, 18] (3c

Cir. 1990). Here we cannot find the minimum

quantum of evidence to support continuity.

A-46

We begin our analysis with the statute. RICO,

the Racketeer Influenced Corrupt Organization Act,

18 U.S.C. §§ 1961-68 (1984 & Supp. 1990),

authorizes civil suits by “[a]ny person injured in

his business or property by reason of a violation

of [18 U.S.C. § 1962].” Id. § 1964(c). To prove that

defendants violated section 1962, one must show

“a pattern of racketeering activity.” This requires

commission of “at least two acts of racketeering

activity.” Id. § 1961(5). These predicate acts

include violating federal mail and wire fraud

statutes. 18 U.S.C. §§ 1341, 1343. Section 1961's

two act requirement does not define a pattern of

racketeering activity so much as it sets a minimum

condition for such patterns to exist. HJ. Inc. v.

Northwestern Tel. Co., 492 U.S. 229, 237 (1989).

The statute does not define such a pattern.

In HJ. Inc., the Supreme Court held that a

pattern of racketeering activity requires. the

predicate acts be “related, and that they pose a

threat of continued criminal activity.” 492 U.S. at

239 (emphasis in original). Predicate acts are

related when they have “the same or similar

purposes, results, participants, victims, or

methods of commission, or otherwise _ are

interrelated by distinguishing characteristics and

are not isolated events.” Id., 492 U.S. at 240.

Because the district court granted judgment n.o.v.

on continuity grounds we will assume relatedness

and analyze continuity only. The HJ. Inc. Court

described continuity but fell short of defining it.

Continuity is a temporal concept. It is “both a

closed- and open-ended concept, referring either to

a closed period of repeated conduct, or to past

conduct that by its nature projects into the future

with a threat of repetition.” JId., 492 U.S. at 241.

A-47

If a plaintiff alleges a RICO violation over a closed

period (“closed-ended” scheme), she must prove a

series of related predicates lasting a “substantial

period of time.” Id. at 242. If, however, she alleges

a RICO violation before continuity is established

(“open-ended” scheme), she must prove a “threat

of continuity.” Id. A threat of continuity exists

when the predicate acts are a part of defendant's

“regular way of doing business.” Jd. That is,

defendant operates a “long-term association that

exists for criminal purposes.” Id.

Though the Court provides the basic structure

to analyze continuity, continuity depends

ultimately on the “specific facts of each case.” Id.

The Court openly invites lower courts to define it.

Id. at 243 (“development of these concepts must

await future cases”).

In Marshall-Siluer Constr. Co. v. Mendel. plaintiff

alleged acts of mail fraud and extortion lasting

seven months related to a scheme to force a single

business entity bankrupt. 894 F.2d 593 (3d Cir.

1990). We held that the span of seven months

showed “neither ‘long-term’ criminal conduct nor

the threat thereof.” Id. at 598.

In Banks v. Wolk, plaintiff alleged that two of

the defendants, Wolk and Weiner. misrepresented

facts to defraud him of his interest tn a single

piece of real estate. 918 F.2d 418 (3d Cir. 1990).

The injury occurred within an eight month period

and there was no threat of “future misconduct by

Wolk or Weiner.” Id. at 423. As -to this

closed-ended scheme, we held eight months was

insufficient to show conunuity. See Kehr Packages,

Inc. v. Fidelcor, 926 F.2d 1406, 1418 (3d Cir. 1991)

(“eight-month period of fraudulent activity directed

at a single entity does not constitute a pattern,

A-48

absent a threat of future criminal acts”); Hindes

v. Castle, 937 F.2d 868, 875 (3d Cir. 1991) (eight

month period failed to satisfy continuity).

Contrasting Marshall-Silver, Banks, Kehr, and

Hindes, we note that in H.J. Inc. the Court found

that violations lasting six years were sufficient to

show “substantial period of time” in a closed-ended

scheme or, alternatively, to show regular way of

doing business in an open-ended one. 492 U.S. at

250. In other circuits, only a period of years

appears substantial. See Fleet Credit Corp. v. Sion,

893 F.2d 441, 447 (1st Cir. 1990) (over four years);

Walk v. Baltimore & Ohio R.R., 890 F.2d 688, 690

(4th Cir. 1989) (ten years); Jacobson v. Cooper, 882

F.2d 717, 720 (2d cir. 1989) (unspecified “matter

of years”); Dana Corp. v. Blue Cross & Blue Shield

Mut. of N. Ohio, 900 F.2d 882, 887 (6th Cir. 1990)

(seventeen years).

After H.J. Inc., we found continuity in two cases.

Both were of the open-ended kind. That is, they

involved a future threat of RICO violations. In

Swistock v. Jones, we held that because plaintiffs

alleged future violations as to “other potential

transactions” plaintiff sufficiently raised the issue

of whether fraud was the defendant's regular way

of doing business (though the predicate acts lasted

only fourteen months). 884 F.2d 755 (3d Cir.

1989). And in Banks, we found that some of the

defendants, the Cohen brothers, used fraud as a

regular way of doing business. 918 F.2d at 424.

Thus as to the Cohen brothers, but not Wolk or

Weiner, we found continuity.

Plaintiffs identified the RICO violation as

“fraudulent misrepresentations, threats and

omissions . . . [that resulted in plaintiffs selling]

their property well below its true value.” App. at

A-49

59 (Kent's Amended Complaint, 1 45.) They alleged

violations of federal mail and wire fraud statutes,

18 U.S.C. §§ 1341, 1343, as the predicate acts

underlying RICO violations. See 18 U.S.C.

§ 1961(1). We will examine the evidence with

respect to both open- and closed-ended schemes.

As to open-ended scheme, we find no evidence

that defendants used fraud as a regular way of

doing business or formed an on-going criminal

association. Upshur threatened plaintiffs to obtain

specific parcels of property. Plaintiffs each had but

one property to sell; defendants had but one area

to acquire. There were no “potential” areas of

interest. Once defendants obtained the property,

they posed no future threat to plaintiffs or society.

The defendants’ fraud was not akin to the type

where hoodlums sell “insurance” to storekeepers

to cover them against breakage of their windows.

telling their victims they would return each month

to collect their “premiums”. H.J. Inc., 492 U.S. at

242. Theirs was akin to a one time racket to obtain

a specific bounty. We find no continuity under an

open-ended scheme.

As to closed-ended scheme, we find no evidence

of a substantial period of time. In the first trial,

Judge Teitelbaum first found no continuity and

then reversed himself. In’ the second trial, on

March 1, 1990, Judge Smith held that there was

no continuity. We agree that there was no

continuity.

Reviewing the record, Judge Teitelbaum made

the correct factual finding: Defendants’ scheme

‘lasted from July 1981 until sometime in

early-1982."” Memorandum Opinion of May 17,

1988 at 7 (Teitelbaum, J.). More precisely, Judge

Smith found the scheme lasted from June 1981 to

A-50

June 1982. Memorandum Opinion of March 1,

1990 at 13 (Smith, J.). In fact plaintiffs testified

that contacts with Upshur agents — the source of

these actions — started about September 1981

and ended in June 1982, a ten month period.

Loughman v. Consol-Pennsylvania Coal Co., 740 F.

Supp. 1114, 1120 (W.D. Pa. 1990).

All the evidence points to a short term operation.

The Property Acquisition Agreement between

Consol and Monongahela shows they anticipated

needing Upshur for only 120 days. When all the

property in the “Areas of Interest” were acquired,

Upshur was to be discharged. The agreement

shows no intent to acquire more land than

originally contemplated. It specifically links the

existing spur to all mines in the area and does

not mention the need for more construction of

spurs or taking of private property. When the

defendants acquired all the property in the areas

of interest, the fraud was complete. In _ short,

defendants worked a single-scheme, single-victim

(albeit a class of victims) operation that lasted one

year at most.

Because “duration is the sine qua non of

continuity” in a closed-ended scheme, the issue

then is whether twelve months is a substantial

period of time. Hindes, 937 F.2d at 873. In Hindes

we hinted that one year is not a substantial period

of time. Jd. at 875 (“we will not hold that although

eight months is not enough [to be a substantial

period of time], a year is”). We hold that twelve

months is not a substantial period of time.

We note that cases finding substantial period,

including H.J. Inc., dealt with fraudulent conduct

lasting years, sometimes over a decade. Such

findings of substantial time periods are consistent

A-51

with Congress’ intent to combat “long-term

criminal conduct.” HJ. Inc., 492 U.S. at 242.

Recently, we noted that “[a]lthough RICO has not

been limited to organized crime activity, we must

not overlook that it was occasioned by Congress’

perception of the danger posed by organized

crime-type offenses, which are almost by definition

continuing.” Hindes, 937 F.2d at 874.

The time period of this case belongs with those

of Marshall-Silver (seven months), Banks (eight

months), Kehr (eight months), and Hindes (eight

months). We therefore find no continuity under a

closed-ended scheme. In Hindes we declined to set

forth a “litmus test” to measure duration. Id. at

875. We still decline. We conclude only that there

is no qualitative difference between eight and

twelve months for the purposes of RICO continuity.

Ill. FRAUD UNDER PENNSYLVANIA LAW

A.

MONONGAHELA’S CONDEMNATION POWERS

Plaintiffs claimed that when seeking to acquire

the railroad rights-of-way defendants fraudulently

misrepresented, among other things, that

Monongahela had power to condemn private

Property. The district court found this

representation to be true, holding that as a matter

of law Monongahela had eminent domain powers.

It granted partial summary judgment for

defendants as to that representation, but sent

other alleged misrepresentations to the jury.

Plaintiffs appeal this grant of partial summary

Judgment. We have plenary review and will affirm.

Plaintiffs asserts that Monongahela did not have

eminent domain power for three reasons: (1)

A-52

because it lacked the Interstate Commerce

Commission's (ICC) approval to construct the new

track; (2) because there was no public use to

justify condemnation; and (3) because the track

was outside Monongahela’s chartered area.

First, we disagree with plaintiffs as to their first

reason. To begin, we note that ICC approval is

required when a rail carrier seeks to construct,

operate or acquire an additional line or extension.

49 U.S.C. § 10901(1). It, however, is not required

when a rail carrier seeks to construct, operate, or

acquire an intra-state spur. 49 U.S.C.

§ 10907(b)(1). Whether a track is a “spur” or

“extension” is a mixed question of law and fact.

United States v. Idaho, 298 U.S. 105, 109 (1936).

If the proposed track is designed to transport

goods between different points of shipment or to

invade the territory occupied by another railroad,

that track is an extension. See Texas & Pac. Ry.

v. Gulf, Colo. & Santa Fe Ry., 270 U.S. 266, 278

(1926); Nicholson v. ICC, 711 F.2d 364, 368 (D.C.

Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 464 U.S. 1056 (1984). If,

however, the track is “designed and used for

loading, unloading, switching, and other purposes

connected with, and incidental to, but not actually

and directly used for [transporting goods between

two different points of shipment],” that tract is a

spur and lies outside ICC jurisdiction. Nicholson,

711 F.2d at 367-368. Among other factors to be

considered in determining whether it is a spur are

the length of the addition; whether the proposed

addition will serve only a single customer; and

whether the carrier had been requested by the

customer to provide service. See Pennsylvania R.R.

Co. v. Reading Co., 132 F. Supp. 616, 621-22 (E.D.

Pa. 1958).

A-53

The district court correctly found that the

proposed track was a _ spur. Though a track's

designation itself does not determine its character

(extension or spur), the track in question is

sufficiently local to preclude ICC jurisdiction.

Nicholson, 711 F.2d at 368, n.12. The track runs

from the Bailey Mine in Grand Enon,

Pennsylvania, to Waynesburg. It runs only 14.5

miles.’ It is located wholly intra-state. It functions

as a route to unload and transfer shipments from

the Waynesburg line. It does not invade the

territory of another railroad. Only Monongahela

uses it. And it serves only Consol. In short. none

of its features evokes “national concern.” Texas &

Pacific, 270 U.S. at 277. The district court was

correct; ICC approval was unnecessary.

Second, we disagree with plaintiffs as to the

second reason. Plaintiffs contend that

Monongahela can only condemn for “public use.”

See U.S. Const. amends. V:; Pa. Const.. art. I,

§ 10; Id, art. X, § 4. The proposed use, they

contend, is private.

When determining what constitutes “public use,”

the Supreme Court defers to legislative decisions.

Hawati Fiousing Auth. v. Midkiff, 467 U.S. 229. 241

(1983) (Court will defer to legislative decision

regarding public use unless that decision is

unreasonable). That property is taken by eminent

1. The landowners cite Central of Georgia Ratlway, 336 I.C.C.

623 (1970) for the proposition that a 14.5 mile track could

not be a spur. In Central of Georgia Rallway, the ICC

concluded that a 14.45 mile track costing more than $3 million

was an extension. The decision was based on the length of

the track and the cost alone. We refuse to adopt this reasoning

since, a track's designation depends on Its use. not the length

and cost alone.

A-54

domain and is transferred to a private party can

still fall within the gambit of public use. This is

so even when the motive for taking is to give to a

private party. Id., 467 U.S. at 243-44. Thus, under

the United States Constitution “public use” is a

broad concept.

Pennsylvania law is much the same. A

condemning authority may only take for public

use. The legislature may not grant the condemnor

the right to take private property for private use.

See Philadelphia Clay Co. v. York Clay Co., 241

Pa. 305, 309-310, 88 A. 481, 482 (1913); Borough

of Big Run v. Shaw, 16 Pa. Commw. 623, 626,

330 A.2d 315, 317 (1975). Notwithstanding, a

taking retains its public character even when a

portion of it benefits a private party. In re Franklin

Town Project-Philadelphia, 19 Pa. Commw. 272,

280-81, 339 A.2d 885, 889, cert. denied, 423 U.S.

992 (1975). See Doman ov. Philadelphia Hous.

Auth, 331 Pa. 209, 200 A. 834 (1938).

In Pioneer Coal Co. v. Chernytree & Dixonville

R.R., the Pennsylvania Supreme Court reasoned

that public use should be broadly defined when

the use benefits the Commonwealth. 272 Pa. 43,

116 A. 45 (1922). When defendant railroad

condemned property to extend its track to reach

a coal mine, the Court found public use because

“the life, happiness and prosperity of the people of

Pennsylvania depend to a very large degree upon

getting the coal supply of the state out of the

mines, on its way to the consumer.” Id., 272 Pa.

at 52, 116 A. at 48. See Philadelphia, Wilmington

& Baltimore R.R. v. Williams, 54 Pa. 103 (1867)

(prosperity of city depended on transporting coal

by rail).

A-55

Here, the district court found public use. We

agree. The district court noted: “[Manor Reserve, |

once at full production, will produce 3,000,000

tons of coal per year and will employ 350 people.

The coal extracted from the mine has an average

sulfur content of 1.7%, a low and desirable level

that complies with emission standards generally

applicable in the United States and Europe.” Supp.

App. at 115-116. The Manor Reserve mine and the

track running to it benefit the Commonwealth's

coal mining industry and the public. That the mine

serves a private coal company does not diminish

the public value. Constructing a spur will tap vital

coal resource, provide fuel for the Commonwealth,

create jobs, and better the environment.

Last, we disagree with plaintiffs as to their third

reason. They contend that because the Manor

track runs outside Monongahela’s charter area

Monongahela lacked the power to condemn

property outside of its franchise without first

obtaining a certificate from the Commonwealth's

Public Utility Commission (PUC). See 66 Pa. Cons.

Stat. Ann. § 1104.

We need not consider this contention in light of

what happened at trial. Judge Teitelbaum

instructed the jury that “[y]ou will reach the issue

of damages only if you find that the plaintiffs have

established all of the elements of any of their

claims.” Supp. App. 218. This instruction reflects

the correct assumption that since plaintiffs had

but one property each they could have suffered as

a result of the misrepresentations only once,

regardless of the number of misrepresentations

committed. The jury found that fraud was

committed and awarded damages to plaintiffs.

—————————

A-56

Thus even if this additional misrepresentation was

made, it is irrelevant.

In sum, the district court properly granted

partial summary judgment on plaintiffs’ claim that

Upshur agents misrepresented Monongahela’s

condemnation powers.

B.

JURY INSTRUCTIONS ON FRAUDULENT

MISREPRESENTATION

The district court instructed the jury, “[i]f it is

shown that a misrepresentation was made

knowingly, then the misrepresentation need not be

material.” Supp. App. at 216. Defendants argue

that when the district court gave this instruction

it erred as a matter of law. We disagree and will

affirm. Our review of this legal issue is plenary.

Under Pennsylvania law a fraud ciaim requires

plaintiff to prov either a knowing

misrepresentation or nonprivileged failure to

disclose some existing fact. If, however, “the

misrepresentation is innocently made, then it ts

actionable only if it relates to a matter material to

the transaction involved.” Smith v. Renault, 387

Pa. Super. 29S, 305-06, 564 A.2d 188, 192 (1989)

(quoting Shane v. Hoffman, 227 Pa. Super. 176,

181-82, 324 A.2d 532, 536 (1974)), overruled on

other grounds, Alello v. Ed Saxe Real Estate, Inc.,

508 Pa. 553, 560-61, 499 A.2d 282, 286 (1985).

Thus, materiality becomes important only when

the misrepresentation was innocently made or

when it involved a privileged failure to disclose.

The district court's. instructions adequately

reflected this distinction.

A-57

Even if we held all the misrepresentations were

innocently made and materiality became a

concern, the “error” is harmless. Upshur's

misrepresentations were most material. The gross

disparity between the prices obtained by the

plaintiffs and those who knew of Consol's role

(Closser, the Phillippis, and the Culps) bespeaks

materiality. Moreover, while defendants correctly

point out that Upshur had no duty to disclose

Consol's role, they neglect to mention that Upshur

agents affirmatively misrepresented that

Monongahela was the sole principal. See Chiarella

v. United States, 445 U.S. 222, 227-228 (1980).

This representation constituted more than “mere

Silence"; it constituted active concealment. It

amounted to common law fraud. Renaut, 387 Pa.

Super. at 306, 564 A.2d at 199.

C.

JUSTIFIABLE RELIANCE ON TAX

REPRESENTATIONS

The defendants moved for Judgment n.o.v. as to

the liability based on the representation of the tax

free nature of the transactions. They claim there

was insufficient evidence for the jury to conclude

that plaintiffs justifiably relied on defendants’

representation. Because they are not tax experts,

defendants _ argue, plaintiffs should have

independently investigated the tax matter. The

district court denied the motion. We will affirm.

The same standard of review applies to this

denial of a judgment n.o.v. as it did for the denial

of the RICO judgment n.o.v.. Supra. See Kinnel v.

Mid-Atlantic Mausoleums, Inc., 850 F.2d 958, 961

(3d Cir. 1988).

A-58

Justifiable reliance on a misrepresentation is an

element of common law fraud. Klemow v. Time,

Inc., 466 Pa. 189, 197 n.17, 252 A.2d 12, 16 n.17,

cert. denied, 429 U.S. 828 (1976). Moreover,

“[w]here the means of obtaining information are

not equal the positive representations of the

person who is supposed to possess superior means

of information may be relied on.” Siskin v. Cohen,

363 Pa. 580, 70 A.2d 293 (1950) (quotation

omitted).

The Upshur agent approached plaintiff

landowners, told them that he _ represented

Monongahela, denied involvement of Consol,

offered a purchase price, threaten plaintiffs that

they would receive a lower fixed condemnation

price if they refused to accept the agent's offer,

and stated that part of the purchase price paid

would be tax free. Upshur agents possessed

superior access to information, initiated the sales

of property, and presented themselves as land

experts. Under’ these’ circumstances, the

negotiating parties did not stand on equal footing

and plaintiffs justifiably relied on the Upshur

agent's statements concerning the tax

consequences of a _ sale without making an

independent investigation.

Justiflable reliance is even more evident in the

cases where defendants’ attorneys told plaintiffs of

the tax free consequences of the sale. A lay person

may justifiably rely on a lawyer's statement of fact

or opinion of law though he knows the lawyer is

representing a client whose interest is adverse to

his own. Restatement (Second) of Torts, § 545,

comment d.

A-59

IV. DAMAGES

A.

COMPENSATORY DAMAGE AWARD

Plaintiffs contend that the district court erred by

granting a new damages trial. We agree and will

reverse. We review for an abuse of discretion.

Semper v. Santos, 845 F.2d 1233, 1236 (3d Cir.

1988).

Under Pennsylvania law, the measure of

damages for a fraud claim is the actual loss that

the fraud inflicts. Savitz v. Weinstein, 395 Pa. 173.

178 & n.2, 149 A.2d 110, 113 & n2 (1959); Peters

v. Stroudsburg Trust Co., 348 Pa. 451, 35 A.2d

341, 343 (1944): Delahanty v. First Pa. Bank, N.A.,

318 Pa. Super. 90, 117-18, 464 A.2d 1243, 1257

(1983). Actual loss equals the fair market value of

the property when sold minus the fraudulently

paid price. Stroudsburg Trust, 348 Pa. at 454, 35

A.2d at 343; Bishoff v. Valley Dairy Co., 302 Pa.

125, 153 A. 133 (1931).? The issue is whether the

actual loss should be based on the properties’ use

as agricultural lands or the highest and best use

as railroad rights-of-way.

At trial, plaintiffs’ expert, Bodnar, testified that

he valued the properties by assumting the highest

and best use parameter: that is, value as a

railroad right-of-way. To determine this value, he

considered the selling prices of the Closser, Culp,

and Phillippi parcels.

2. The defendants claim that the landowners are only entitled

to out-of-pocket losses rather than tie benefit of the bargain.

The cases cited, however, concern fraudulent

misrepresentations by a seller to a purchaser Here, we are

faced with the converse Situation.

A-60

The district court rejected Bodnar’s testimony.

Because it believed that the jury relied on Bodnar's

testimony to compute the damages, the court

rejected the jury award. It characterized Closser,

the Culps, and Phillippis as “hold-outs.” Since

prices paid to hold-outs far exceed true market

value, the court reasoned that Bodnar's valuations

do not reflect the fair market value.

Under Pennsylvania law, a property owner can

show her property's special and potential use as

a railroad’ right-of-way when she faces

condemnation. See North Shore RR. ov.

Pennsylvania Co., 251 Pa. 445, 96 A. 990 (1916);

Commonwealth Dep't of General Servs. v. Fake, 45

Pa. Commw. 46, 405 A.2d 971 (1979). To prove

highest and best use, a condemnee must show the

land is adaptable to such use and a market need

existed for such use at the time of the

condemnation. Fake, 45 Pa. Commw. at 50-51,

405 A.2d at 974. See United States v. 46,672.96

Acres of Land, 521 F.2d 13, 15 (10th Cir. 1975).

Contrary to the district court's conclusions,

Bodnar properly referred to the prices paid to the

“hold-outs.” A railroad right-of-way existed across

many of the plaintiffs’ properties long before

Upshur agents approached them. The year before

the Upshur agents offered to buy the property,

Consol approached some plaintiffs to see if they

were interested in_ selling. Thus plaintiffs’

properties were adaptable for use as railroad

rights-of-way and Bodnar properly calculated this

potential into the value.

As to fair market value, the prices paid to the

hold-outs reflect the market value. Consol needed

each and every piece of property to construct their

track. Though the district court correctly

A-61

characterized Closser. Culp and Phillippi as

“hold-outs”, it neglected to consider that plaintiffs

would have demanded more money had _ they

known what Closser. Culp and Phillippi knew —

that Consol was involved and that Monongahela

could not have condemned their properties for

fixed prices. But for the defendants’ scheme

misrepresenting the circumstances surrounding

Monongahela’s property acquisitions, plaintiffs

would have commanded higher prices. And these

prices more accurately reflect fair market value.

The district court abused its discretion by

discounting Bodnar's testimony and setting aside

the first damage award.

B.

PUNITIVE DAMAGE AWARD

The defendants contend that there was

insufficient evidence to Support the jury’ award of

punitive damages against some of the defendants.

We disagree and will affirm.

“Fraud, alone, is not sufficient” to justify an

award of punitive damages. Golomb v. Korus. 261

Pa. Super. 344, 348, 396 A.2d 430, 432 (1978).

The conduct must be outrageous for a jury to

award punitive damages. Rizzo v. Haines. 520 Pa.

484, 507, 555 A.2d 58. 69 (1989); Pittsburgh

Outdoor Adv. Co. v. Virginia Manor Apts., Inc., 436

Pa. 350, 353, 260 A.2d 801, 803 (1970). Where

the defendants are agent and principal, the agent's

conduct must be “clearly outrageous to justify the

vicarious imposition of exemplary damages upon

the principal.” Delahanty, 318 Pa. Super. at 132,

464 A.2d at 1264 (quoting Skeels v. Universal

C.I.T. Credit Corp., 335 F.2d 846, 851-52 (3d Cir.

A-62

1964)). Plaintiffs must show outrageous conduct

by a preponderance of the evidence. See Martin v.

Johns-Manwville Corp., 508 Pa. 154, 494 A.2d 1088,

1098 (1985).

Plaintiffs clearly showed outrageous conduct.

Upshur agent Boggs told the Hughes that they

would have to be out of their house within two

months though they had no interest in selling

their property. He told the Headlees: “[Y]ou forget

Consol. You are dealing with Mon railway system

now.” App. at 116A. When the Headlees expressed

concern about the proximity of the track to their

house and children, Boggs stated that if the

right-of-way were condemned, the railroad could

place the tracks within 10 feet of their home and

is under no duty to fence the track or to otherwise

provide for the safety of the Headlees’ children. We

hold that the jury could reasonably conclude that

defendants acted outrageously when they obtained

property by fraud, economic coercion, and

thinly-veiled personal threats.

i.

DELAY DAMAGES AND PREJUDGMENT

INTEREST

The district court awarded delay damages under

Pa. R. Civ. P. 238. We have plenary review and

will reverse. Rule 238 allows for interest on

compensation awards arising from “bodily injury,

death or property damage.” Because this case

involves lost profits the district court erred by

allowing them.

As for prejudgment interest, the district court

refused to award it. We agree and will affirm.

When deciding whether to award prejudgment

A-63

interest to a party, a court must consider “whether

countervailing equitable considerations militate

against such a Surcharge.” See American Mut.

Liab. Ins. Co. uv. Kosan, 635 F. Supp. 341, 346

(W.D. Pa. 1986), affd, 817 F.2d 751 (3d Cir.

1987).

In Arkla Exploration Co. vy. Boren, the court of

appeals refused to award prejudgment interest

where the plaintiff did not preserve the issue

under Fed. R. Civ. P. 5] at the time the district

court instructed the jury on the amount of

damages to be entered Should they choose to

return a liability verdict. 41] F.2d 879, 883-884

(8th Cir. 1969).

Likewise plaintiffs failed to preserve the issue

here. Plaintiffs first moved for prejudgment interest

in June 1990, seven years after filing this action

in federal court. This was too late. Plaintiffs

explain this delay by noting that the district court

awarded them delay damages under Pa. R. Civ. P.

238. Since American Enka Co. v. Wicaco Mach.

Corp. prevents a party from obtaining both delay

damages and prejudgment interest. plaintiffs argue

that they were forced to rely on the court's award

of delay damages and _ could not request

prejudgment interest. 686 F.2d 1050, 1057 (3d

Cir. 1982). This decision was imprudent. Plaintiffs

Should have moved for both remedies at the outset

and let the court decide which to grant. We hold

that plaintiffs’ untimely request for prejudgment

interest constitutes a countervailing equitable

consideration militating against such a surcharge.

V. LEGAL MALPRACTICE

Plaintiff Dorothy Loughman claims that the

district court erred when it granted Attorney Ewing

? we

A-64

Pollock judgment n.o.v. on her legal malpractice

action. We agree and will reverse.

To establish legal maipractice under

Pennsylvania law, plaintiffs must show three

elements: (1) employment of the attorney or other

basis for a duty owed to the client; (2) failure of

the attorney to exercise ordinary skill and

knowledge; and (3) the attorney's negligence

proximately caused damage to the client. Rizzo,

520 Pa. at 499, 555 A.2d at 65 (quoting Schenkel

v. Monheit, 266 Pa. Super. 396, 405 A.2d 493, 494

(1977)). Viewing the evidence in a light most

favorable to Loughman, we conclude that the

evidence was sufficient to support a finding of legal

malpractice.

Loughman owned 50.79 acres of land in the area

of interest. An Upshur agent approached her and

claimed that he represented Monongahela. He

offered to purchase her property for $60,000.

Loughman rejected the offer. The agent threatened

that Monongahela would use its condemnation

authority to take a 13 acre right-of-way for $1000

per acre. If Monongahela condemned the 13 acres,

most of Loughman’s property would be rendered

inaccessible.

The same day Loughman telephoned her

attorney Pollock. She had known Pollock for about

forty-two years, and he had handled legal matters

for her and her family. At that time Pollock was

working for Monongahela, unbeknownst to

Loughman. Loughman explained the situation, and

Pollock told her not to worry because Monongahela

would be fair. He also told her she did not need

an attorney to negotiate with the Upshur agent.

Under these’ circumstances, we _ conclude

sufficient evidence exists to find an attorney-client

A-65

relationship, lack of ordinary care, and proximate

cause. When Loughman called Pollock. an

attorney-client relationship was formed. She called

him to seek his legal advice. He accepted this offer

and readily gave advice. That Pollock previously

represented her only furthers this conclusion.

When Pollock told her that Monongahela would be

fair without knowing what price had been offered.

and when he failed to tell her Consol was involved

and he represented Consol, Pollock failed to

exercise ordinary skill and knowledge. Since

Loughman testified that she agreed to sell only

after she had consulted with Pollock, his advice

and representations proximately caused her lost

profits. Therefore the district court erred by failing

to uphold the jury verdict on malpractice?

VI. DISTRICT COURTS REMARKS

Upshur agents contend the district court

deprived them of a fair trial by calling them liars.

Specifically, they complain about the district

court's remarks that they “lied” if they represented

3. The defendant attorneys argue that there is no evidence

that Pollock fraudulently misrepresented Monongahela’s

condemnation powers to Dorothy Loughman, made any

misrepresentations concerning the role of Consol or any other

defendant in the transaction. or told her that a portion of the

purchase price would be tax free.

Notwithstanding these arguments, the requisite minimum

quantum of evidence supports the Jury verdict against Attorney

Pollock. Pollock told Loughman that Monongahela would treat

her fairly without knowing the offered price for her parcel.

Furthermore, he failed to disclose his representation of the

defendants although he had a duty to do so. This evidence

adequately supports a jury finding that Pollock committed

fraud in his dealings with Loughman.

A-66

that property could be condemned for a fixed price.

We disagree and will affirm.

In American Home _ Assur. v. Sunshine

Supermarket, we stated:

A federal judge is permitted to summarize and

comment upon the evidence . . . . The court's

comments, however, may not confuse or mislead

the jury, or become so one-sided as to assume

an advocate’s position.

753 F.2d 321, 327 (3d Cir. 1985). Here, the district

court merely characterized the great weight of the

testimony and drew a correct conclusion. If the

district court's comments confused or misled the

jury, we still find no prejudicial error for the judge

cured any error. He instructed the jury that only

its decision counts and that it does not “have to

be influenced” by anything he thinks or says.

VII. CONCLUSION

We conclude that the district court erred by

setting aside the first damage award; the first

award of punitive damages was. adequately

supported by the record; plaintiff landowners are

not entitled to either prejudgment interest or delay

damages; the district court properly granted

judgment n.o.v. on the RICO claim since the

continuity requirement was not satisfied; the

Upshur agents’ representation of Monongahela’s

condemnation power was a true statement; the

district court properly instructed the jury as ‘o the

law of misrepresentation; the plaintiffs could have

justifiably relied on the Upshur agents’ statements

concerning the tax free nature of the property

transactions; the district court erred by granting

judgment n.o.v. on landowner Loughman’s legal

ft

A-67

malpractice claim; and the district court's remark

did not deprive defendants of a fair trial. We will

vacate the second damage award and reinstate the

first award returned by the jury.

A True Copy:

Teste:

Clerk of the United States Court of Appeals

Jor the Third Circutt

- A-68

Dated: December 20, 199]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 90-3466, 90-3467, 90-3468, 90-3469,

90-3470, 90-3471, 90-3472, 90-3473, 90-3474,

90-3475, 90-3476, 90-3477, 90-3478, 90-3479,

90-3480, 90-3481, 90-3482, 90-3483, 90-3484,

90-3485, 90-3494, 90-3495, 90-3496, 90-3497,

90-3498, 90-3499, 90-3500, 90-3501, 90-3502,

90-3503, 90-3504, 90-3505, 90-3506, 90-3507,

90-3508, 90-3509, 90-3510, 90-3511, 90-3512.

90-3513,

JAMES E. HUGHES, ET AL,

Appellant

¥,

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY,

ETC., ET AL

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT

COURT FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Civil Action Nos. 83-00921, 83-01674.,

83-01675, 83-01676, 83-01677, 83-01678,

83-01679, 83-01754)

‘Argued January 28, 199]

|.

A-69

Before: SLOVITER, Chief Judge; NYGAARD.

Circuit Judge and KATZ, District Judge*

ORDER

The Opinion of the Court filed on the 20th day

of September, 1991, is amended as reflected in the

attached Opinion.

/s/ Richard L. Nygaard

Circuit J udge

* Honorable Marvin Katz, United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

A-70

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

No. 90-3466

JAMES E. HUGHES and LINDA L. HUGHES,

Appellant

Vv.

CONSOL~- PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY , @t al.

(OTHER CAPTIONS OMITTED]

ON APPEAL FROM THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE WESTERN

DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

(D.C. Civil Action Nos. 83-00921,

83-01674, 83-01675, 83-01676, 83-01677

83-01678, 83-01679, 83-01754)

Present: Sloviter, Chief Judge, aard

Circuit Judge, and Katz, District Judge

AMENDED JUDGMENT

Honorable Marvin Katz, United

States District Judge for the

Eastern District of

Pennsylvania, sitting by

designation.

A-71

These causes came on to be

heard on the records from the United

States District Court for the Western

District of Pennsylvania and were argued

by counsel January 28, 1991.

; On consideration whereof, this

Court hereby holds that the said

District Court erred by setting aside

the first damage award; the first award

of punitive damages was adequately

Supported by the record; plaintiff

landowners are not entitled to either

prejudgment interest or delay damages;

the district court Properly granted

judgment n.o.v. on the RICO claim since

the continuity requirement was not

Satisfied; the Upshur agents!

representation of Monongahela's

condemnation power was a true statement;

the district court properly instructed

the jury as to the law of

A-72

misrepresentation; the plaintiffs could

have justifiably relied on the Upshur

agents' statements concerning the tax

free nature of the property

transactions; the district erred by

granting judgment n.o.v. on landowner

Loughinan's legal malpractice claim; and

the district court's remark did not

deprive defendants of a fair trial.

Accordingly, it is now here ordered and

adjudged that the judgments of the said

District Court appealed here are vacated

as to the second damage award and the

causes are remanded to the said District

Court with instruction to reinstate the

first awards returned by the jury. All

of the above in accordance with the

opinion of this Court.

ATTEST:

CLERK

Dated: December 20, 1991

A-73

Dated: December 20, 199]

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE THIRD CIRCUIT

Nos. 90-3466, 90-3467, 90-3468. 90-3469,

90-3470,

90-3475,

90-3480,

90-3485,

90-3498,

90-3503,

90-3508,

90-3471,

90-3476,

90-3481,

90-3494,

90-3499,

90-3504,

90-3509,

90-3472,

90-3477,

90-3482,

90-3495,

90-3500,

90-3505,

90-3510,

90-3513,

90-3473,

90-3478,

90-3483,

90-3496,

90-3501,

90-3506,

90-3511,

90-3474,

90-3479,

90-3484,

90-3497,

90-3502,

90-3507,

90-3512,

V.

JAMES E. HUGHES, ET AL.

Appellant

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL COMPANY,

ZIC., ET AL

BEFORE: SLOVITER, Chief Judge, NYGAARD.,

Circult Judge and KATZ, District Judge*

SUR PETITION FOR REHEARING

The

petition

for

panel

rehearing

appellants/cross-appellees in the above-entitle

filed

* Honorable Marvin Katz, United States District Judge for the

Eastern District of Pennsylvania, sitting by designation.

A-74

case having been submitted to the judges who

participated in the decision of this court and no

judge who concurred in the decision having asked

for rehearing, the petition for panel rehearing is

denied, but the opinion is amended as reflected in

the attached.

By the Court,

/s/ Richard L. Nygaard

Circuit Judge

Dated: December 20. 199]

A-75

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN, et al.,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

CONSOL-PENNSYLVANIA COAL CO., et al.,

Defendants.

Civil Action Nos. 83-921, 83-

1674, 83-1675, 83-1676, 83-

1677, 83-1678, 83-1679, & 83-

1754.

MEMORANDUM ORDER

This court conducted a new

trial in these consolidated cases, on

damages only, in March, 1990. The par=-

ties have filed various’ post-trial

motions, which we address here seriatinm.

As a preliminary matter, however, plain-

tiffs have moved to strike defendants’

post-trial motions as exceeding the

A-76

scope of the retrial or for having been

waived by defendants. We have addressed

only motions relevant to the second

trial. In that regard, we find that

defendants adequately have preserved

these points at trial, with one excep-

tion noted below. The motion to strike

is denied.

eo Defendants’ Motions for JNOV

and New Trial

Defendants Consol Pennsylvania

Coal Company, Consolidation Coal

Company, Consol Land Development

Company, The Monongahela Railway

Company, Rheinbraun U.S. Corporation,

Rheinische Braunkohlenwerke A.G., and

Marie Theresa Bergbaugesellschaft MBH

(the "Coal Company defendants") move for

a judgment notwithstanding the verdict

on grounds that plaintiffs introduced

A-77

insufficient evidence at trial to sup-

port a finding of any damages, compensa-

tory or punitive. The standard for

evaluating a judgment notwithstanding

the verdict is whether the evidence and

justifiable inferences most favorable to

the prevailing party afford any rational

basis for the verdict. Bhaya_v.

Westinghouse Elec. Corp., 832 F.2d 258,

259 (3d Cir.1987) cert. denied, 109

S.Ct. 782 (1989). Where the evidence is

contradictory, a judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdict is inappropriate.

Bonjorno v. Kaiser Aluminum & Chemical

Corp., 752 F.2d 802 (3d Cir. 1984),

cert. denied, 477 U.S. 908 (1986) .°

The Third Circuit has explained

the JNOV standard as follows:

([SJince the credibility of

witnesses is peculiarly for

the jury, it is an invasion

Footnote cont’d. on next page

A-78

In these cases, plaintiffs

presented expert testimony concerning

the fair market value of their proper-

ties which would support the jury’s

Footnote cont’d. from preceding page

of the jury’s province to

grant a new trial merely be-

cause the evidence was

sharply in conflict. The

trial judge, exercising a

mature judicial discretion,

should view the verdict in

the overall setting of the

trial; consider the character

of the evidence and the conm-

plexity or simplicity of the

legal principles which the

jury was bound to apply to

the facts, and abstain from

interfering with the verdict

unless it is quite clear that

the jury has reached a seri-

ously erroneous result. The

judge’s duty is essentially

to see that there is no mis-

carriage of justice. If con-

vinced that there has been,

then it is his duty to set

the verdict aside; otherwise

not.

Lind v. Schenley Industries, Inc.,

278 F.2d 79, 89 (3d Cir.), cert.

denied, 364 U.S. 835 (1960).

A-79

verdict. Therefore, we deny the motion

for JNOV.

The Coal Company defendants

also seek a new trial on several

grounds. First, defendants claim that

the amount of damages set by the jury is

SO excessive as to warrant a remittitur

or, in the alternative, a new trial. An

order directing plaintiffs to remit a

portion of the verdict in excess of the

maximum amount Supportable by the evi-

dence or, if remittitur is refused, to

Submit to a new trial is the proper

procedure in situations where no clear

Judicial error or “pernicious influence"

can be identified but where the verdict

is so large as to Shock the conscience

of the court. Kazan v. Wolinski, 721

F.2d 911, 914 (2a Cir. 1983). In light

of the evidence presented at trial, we

cannot say the size of the verdict here

is shocking.

A-80

Next, defendants allege that

certain evidentiary errors by this court

necessitate a new trial. In particular,

defendants attack the court’s decision

to admit into evidence the testimony of

plaintiffs’ real estate experts and the

testimony of David Hook, an attorney

involved in negotiations with defendants

on behalf of some other property sell-

ers, not plaintiffs. We already have

addressed the admissibility of plain-

tiffs’ experts’ testimony by denying

defendants’ motions in limine. See

Loughman v. Consol. Pa. Coal Co., et al,

No. 83-921, slip op. at 7-9 (W.D. Pa.

January 31, 1990). We reiterate only

that the Federal Rules of Evidence es-

tablish a liberal policy of permitting

expert testimony. In that defendants

did not challenge the qualifications of

plaintiffs’ experts and had ample oppor-

A-81

tunity to introduce their own experts on

the issue of fair market value, we see

no error in our decision to admit the

testimony of plaintiffs’ experts.

Likewise, we see no error in

allowing David Hook to testify about

certain conduct of defendants which was

consistent with or similar to the con-

duct of defendants vis-a-vis the plain-

tiffs in this case, such information

being relevant to plaintiffs’ fraud

Claims. Testimony by Mr. Hook outside

the scope of similar or consistent con-

duct was merely cumulative in nature and

created no prejudice to defendants.

Defendants allege that plaint-

iffs’ counsel’s closing argument was so

inflammatory as to support the need for

anew trial. In that regard, defendants

allege that counsel made references to

evidence not of record, that he made

inappropriate references to some of

A-82

defendants’ nationalities, and that he

improperly argued the finding of liabil-

ity by the previous jury. After plain-

tiffs’ counsel’s closing and upon objec-

tions of defendants, this court deliv-

ered a curative instruction to the jury.

A new trial may be ordered

where counsel engages in improper con-

duct having a prejudicial effect on the

jury. Whether there is_ prejudice

depends on whether there is a reasonable

probability that the jury’s verdict was

influenced by the conduct in question.

Northeast Women’s Center, Trice . ¥.

McMonagle, 689 F.Supp. 465, 471 (E.D.

Pa. 1988), aff’d in relevant part, re-

manded on other grounds, 868 F.2d 1342

(3d Cir. 1989). In light of the cura-

tive instruction delivered to the jury,

we find no reasonable probability that

the jury was influenced improperly by

counsel’s comments.

A-83

Defendants have challenged the

sufficiency of the jury charge, con-

plaining that it lacked an appropriate

instruction concerning nominal damages

and vicarious liability and alleging

that it was generally confusing to the

jury. As for the lack of an instruction

On nominal damages, there was never a

request concerning such a charge and

therefore we find any objection now to

its absence to be untimely. Concerning

the jury instruction on agency and

vicarious liability, the court included

Sufficiently clear instructions on these

legal issues and we find defendants

Suffered no prejudice on this point.

Finally, we detected no confusion gener-

ally on the jury’s part, nor did counsel

complain that the charge was potentially

confusing, even though counsel were

presented with a copy of the charge well

A-84

before it was delivered orally to the

jury.

Finally, defendants have

raised two due process arguments’ in

support of their new trial motion.

First, they complain that with regard to

the claims for punitive damages the

retrial improperly bifurcated the

liability and amount of damages issues.

At the first trial, the jury found by

special interrogatory that defendants’

conduct was outrageous, and that defen-

dants were liable for punitives.

Because a RICO claim remained in the

case at that time, Judge Teitelbaum’s

order vacating the damage amounts did

not expressly address punitives, the

Court having determined that the treble

damage provision of RICO precluded the

punitives. At the time of retrial, the

RICO claims having been dismissed by our

Order of March 1, 1990, we determined

A-85

that Judge Teitelbaum’s Order directing

that the first jury’s calculation of

damages was excessive required a retrial

Of all damages issues. We see no error

in retrying the amount Of punitives

again, and in particular, we find that

no prejudice to defendants resulted

Since the collective Sum of punitives

assessed at the second tria] represented

more than a four million dollar reduc-

tion from the amount assessed at the

first trial.

Defendants’ second due process

argument is that Pennsylvania law pro-

vides insufficient guidance to juries in

calculating punitive damage awards. We

do not recollect defendants previously

raising this objection, either in formal

motions or in the conferences concerning

the jury instructions. Although defen-

dants have not expounded on the legal

A-86

basis for this argument in the form of a

memorandum or in the motion itself, we

presume that defendants are in effect

challenging the Pennsylvania Supreme

Court’s recent holding that the amount

of punitive damages need not bear a

reasonable relationship to compensatory

damages awarded in a particular case.

Kirkbride v. Lisbon Contractors, Inc.,

521 Pa. 97, 555 A.2d 800 (1989).

Kirkbride may have eliminated one stan-

dard for evaluating punitive damages;

however, we find that juries in

Pennsylvania still have’ sufficient

guidelines by which .to calculate the

amount of punitive damages to be

assessed, if any. The relevant factors,

set forth in the Restatement of Torts

(Second), have been adopted by the

Pennsylvania courts and were included in

this court’s jury instructions in the

instant cases:

A-87

In assessing punitive damages,

the trier of fact can properly

consider the character of the

defendant’s act, the nature

and extent of the harm to

plaintiff that the defendant

caused or intended to cause

and the wealth of the defendant.

Restatement (Second) of Torts

§908 (2) (1979). Accord Kirkbride, 521

Pa. at 100, 555 A.2d at 802; Chuy v.

Phil. Eagles Footbal] Club, 595 F.2a

1265, 1277 (3d Cir. 1979). Where the

amount of punitive damages is so dispro-

portionate in light of these factors

that it shocks the court’s sense of

Justice, the court may, in its discre-

tion, remit the damages to a more rea-

sonable amount. Kirkbride, 521 Pa. at

104, 555 A.2d at 803-04.

In light of the circumstances

in the trial of these Cases, we find

that defendants’ due process rights were

adequately protected.

A-88

For the foregoing reasons, the

post-trial motions filed by the Coal

Company defendants are denied.

Defendants Ewing Pollock,

Pollock Pollock & Thomas, the Upshur

Agency, Inc., David Boggs, Mike Wilson

and William Reese have also filed post-

trial motions for judgment notwithstand-

ing the verdict and for a new trial.

These motions present us with nothing

substantially different from the argu-

ments made by the coal company defen-

dants; therefore, we also will deny the

other defendants’ motions for JNOV and

for a new trial.

A-89

II. Plaintiffs’ Motion to Impose Pre-

judgment Interest and To Impose

Delay Damages

Plaintiffs have requested both

statutory delay damages and common law

prejudgment interest. The result of

granting both kinds of interest would be

duplication of damages, which

Pennsylvania law prohibits. Dean Witter

Reynolds, Inc. v. Genteel, 346 Pa.

Super. 336, 499 A.2d 637 (1985), alloca-

tur denied, 514 Pa. 635, 522 A.2da 1105

(1987) and 514 Pa. 639, 523 A.2da 346

(1987); American Enka Co. v. Wicaco

Mach. Corp., 686 F.2d 1050, 1057 (3d

Cir. 1982). Whether plaintiffs are

entitled to one or the other type of

interest is discussed below.

A-90

A. Delay Damages

Plaintiffs seek delay damages

under Rule 238 of the Pennsylvania Rules

of Civil Procedure. Contrary to plain-

tiffs’ interpretation of the record,

this Court has not ruled on this issue

previously. In addressing the post-

trial motions from the first trial,

Judge Teitelbaum held that delay damages

were appropriate. Loughman v. Consol

Pa. Coal Co. et al., No. 83-921 slip op.

at 4 (W.D. Pa. October 22, 1987). Our

analysis of the case law leads us to the

opposite conclusion and we will deny

plaintiffs’ motion for delay damages.

Rule 238 provides for

mandatory interest on compensatory dam-

age awards arising from bodily injury,

death or property damage, which interest

is to be calculated from the date of the

complaint. Plaintiffs’ damages do not

A-91

arise from bodily injury, death or prop-

erty damage. These cases do not present

the kind of damage to tangible property

anticipated by Rule 238. They arise

from fraud in the making of contracts.

We find them to be tort cases and Simi-

lar to an action for tortious interfer-

ence with a contract in that they allege

lost profits from the sale of property.

Rule 238 does not apply to cases involv-

ing lost profits or income. Butler v.

Flo-Ron Vending Co., 383 Pa. Super. 633,

655, 557 A.2a 730, 741 (1989), allocatur

denied, Pa. » 567 A.2da 650

(1989); Temporaries Inc. v. Krane, 325

Pa. Super. 103, 115, 472 A.2d 668, 674

(1984); Contractor Utility Sales Cos. Vv.

Certain-Teed Corp., 748 F.2d Ba51,. 1157

(7th Cir. 1984) (applying Pennsylvania

law) (Dumbauld, J.), cert. denied, 470

U.S. 1029 (1985). Plaintiffs’ motion

for delay damages is denied.

A-92

B. Prejudgment Interest

Plaintiffs also seek common

law prejudgment interest.

Common law pre-judgment

interest is based on the prin-

ciple of compensation and the

understanding that a plaintiff

wrongfully deprived of a sum of

money is not made whole unless the

delay in recovery is accounted for.

* * *

. . « in Pennsylvania common

law damages for delay are re-~-

coverable in tort actions when

the amount is liquidated or

capable of mathematical ascer-

tainment.

American Enka Co. v. Wicaco Mach. Corp.,

686 F.2d at 1056, 1057. Prejudgment

interest could be appropriate in these

cases because the amount of plaintiffs’

damage was ascertainable by reference to

the fair market value of the properties

sold.

A-93

The decision to award damages

in delay and the rate of interest is in

the discretion of the trial court. Sack

v. Feinman, 495 Pa. 100, 432 A.2da 971

(1981); Ambromovage v. United Mine

Workers of America, 726 F.2d 972, 981

(3d Cir. 1984). Accord Levy v. First

Pennsylvania Bank, N.A., 338 Pa. Super.

73, 84, 487 A.2da 857, 863 (1985) .°

There are four factors to consider when

contemplating an award of prejudgment

interest:

1) whether the claimant has been

less than diligent in prose-

cuting the action;

Contrary to defendants’ posi-

tion that only the jury can

grant prejudgment interest,

we are satisfied that the

trial court may mold the ver-

dict to include it. Verner

v. Shaffer, 347 Pa. Super.

206, 211, 500 A.2da 479, 482

(1985).

A-94

2) whether the defendant has been

unjustly enriched;

3) whether an award would be com-

pensatory; and

4) whether countervailing equita-

ble considerations militate

against such a surcharge.

American Mut. Liability Ins. Co. Vv.

Kosan, 635 F.Supp. 341, 346 (W.D. Pa.

1986) (Weber, J.), aff’d w/O Op., $17 F.

2a 751 (3d Cir. 1987); Pension Benefit

Guaranty Corp. v. Greene, 570 F. Supp.

1483, 1503 (W.D. Pa. 1983), aff’d w/o

op., 727 F.2d 1100 (3€4 Cir.}), G@xrt.

denied, 469 U.S. 820 (1984).

Plaintiffs have been diligent

in pressing their claims, having filed

them within a year of the last land

transaction in question. Given both

juries’ determinations concerning lia-

bility and damages, the second and third

factors favor a grant of prejudgment

interest.

A-95

With respect to the fourth

factor, defendants have raised the issue

of waiver by contending that plaintiffs

did not seek common law prejudgment

interest prior to the post-trial motion

Stage of this litigation. Our review of

the record indicates that plaintiffs did

not seek common law prejudgment interest

in their complaints (including original

and amended complaints), in their pre-

trial calculations of damages or even in

their post-trial motions filed after the

first trial in 1985.°

Having failed to preserve this

issue during seven years of litigation,

we find that plaintiffs’ request for

Plaintiffs sought Rule 238

delay damages after the first

trial, which request was

originally denied but then

was granted upon reconsidera-

tion.

EE

A-96

prejudgment interest at this juncture is

untimely. Arkla Exploration Co. v.

Boren, 411 F.2d 879, 883-84 (8th Cir.

1969) (no entitlement to prejudgment

interest where plaintiff did not pre-

serve issue). The equities clearly

militate against granting interest, and

plaintiffs’ motion for common law pre-

judgment interest is denied.

For the foregoing reasons, all

post-trial motions filed by defendants

and plaintiffs are denied.

BY THE COURT,

/s/ D. Brooks Smith

D. Brooks Smith

United States District

Judge

DATE: June 18, 1990

cc: All Counsel of Record

A-97

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR

THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF PENNSYLVANIA

CIVIL ACTION NO.

83-921

DOROTHY LOUGHMAN, Plaintiff,

Vv.

CONSOL~ PENNSYLVANIA COAL CO., et al.,

Defendants.

(CTHER CAPTIONS OMITTED]

MEMORANDUM OPINION

Judgment previously was

entered in favor of Plaintiffs and

against defendants in each of the above-

Captioned cases after completion of a

jury trial.

Several motions presently are

before the Court.

All defendants have filed

motions for judgment notwithstanding the

verdict (JNOV) or, in the alternative,

for a new trial. JNovV will be granted

A-98

for all defendants with respect to the

claims that they violated 18 U.S.C. §§

1962(c) and (qd). JNOV will not be

granted, howver, with respect to the

claims for common law fraud -= and

conspiracy to defraud. In addition,

because the Court finds that the damages

awarded to plaintiffs are obscenely

excessive and contrary to the great

weight of the evidence concerning

damages, unless plaintiffs agree to a

remittitur defendants will be granted a

new trial limited to the issue of

damages to be awarded to plaintiffs.

This Court previously had

denied plaintiffs' motion for an award

of delay damages pursuant to Pa.R.C.P.

238, 42 Pa.C.S.A. (Purdon's 1987).

Plaintiffs have filed a motion for

reconsideration. The Court has

reconsidered and now finds that

plaintiffs are entitled to delay

A-99

damages. In the event that plaintiffs

do agree to a remittitur, delay damages

are to be included in that amount.

Defendants have argued that

Civil Action No. 83-1754 should be

dismissed because the plaintiffs named

therein - Carolyn Schultz, Coleen Abel,

and Beth Meighen - are not the real

parties in interest in that case.

Defendants are correct in maintaining

that these individuals are not the real

parties in interest. Even so, Civil

Action No. 83-1754 will not be

dismissed. Rather, Plaintiffs will be

given ninety (90) days in which to

substitute the real party in interest.

Defendant Upshur Agency, Inc.

has filed a motion to compel plaintiffs

to satisfy any judgment against it. The

motion will be denied.

Finally, plaintiffs have

petitioned for an award of attorney's

A-100

fees, costs, and expenses. The motion

will be denied in light of the granting

of JNOV for the defendants with respect

to 18 U.S.C. §§ 1962(c) and (d).

I.

The standard to be applied

when considering a motion for JNOV is a

familiar one. Such a motion may be

granted only when, without considering

the credibility of the evidence, there

can be but one reasonable conclusion as

to the proper judgment. JNOV may not be

granted, however, when there is

conflicting evidence, or even

insufficient evidence, to conclusively

establish the movant's case. See 5A J.

Moore and J. Desha Lucas, Moore's

Federal Practice 4 50.07[2] (2d ed.

1986).

A-101

Plaintiffs Claimed, among

other things, that defendants had

violated 18 U.S.c. §§ 1962(c) and (qd).

18 U.S.C. § 1962(c) provides

that

It shall be unlawful for any

person employed by or

associated with any enterprise

engaged in, or the activities

Of which affect, interstate or

foreign commerce, to conduct

Or participate, directly or

indirectly, in the conduct of

such enterprise's affairs

through a pattern of

racketeering activity

Proof of a violation of ae. U.8.6.4-%

1962 (c) requires a showing of (1)

conduct (2) of an enterprise (3) through

a pattern (4) of racketeering activity.

see Sedima S.P.L.R. vy. Imrex Co.,

v8. , 87 L.Ed.2a 346, 358-59

(1985).

18 U.S.C. § 1961(1) defines

"racketeering activity" as including a

long list of specified state and federal]

criminal offenses, including mail fraud

A-102

(18 U.S.C. § 1341) and wire fraud (18

U.S.C. § 1343).

A "pattern" of racketeering

activity is defined at 18 U.S.C. §

1961(5) as requiring "at least two acts

of racketeering activity" within a

specified period of time. Beyond this,

however, the statute itself says nothing

concerning whether anything further is

required for a "pattern" of rackeeting

activity.

Although certain comments in

Sedima unquestionably are dicta, they

very strongly suggest that something

more than just two racketeering acts is

required for a "pattern" of racketeering

activity for purposes of RICO. The

Court noted that the above definition of

"pattern":

requires at least two acts of

racketeering activity...not

that it "means" two such acts.

The implication is that while

two such acts are necessary,

A-103

they may not be sufficient.

Indeed, in common parlance two

of anything do not generally

form a pattern.

Sedima, ¥.8. at » Mn. 14, 87

L.Ed.2d at 358, nm. 14.

The Court then considered the

legislative history of RICO to ascertain

what else is required for a "pattern" of

racketeering activity:

The legislative history

Supports the view that two

isolated acts of racketeering

activity do not constitute a

pattern. As the Senate Report

explained: "The target of

(RICO) is thus not sporadic

activity. The infiltration of

legitimate business normally

requires more than one

‘racketeering activity' and

the threat of continuing

activity to be effective. It

is this factor of ccentinuity

plus relationship which

combines to produce a

pattern." S.Rep.No. 91-617,

p. 158 (1969) (emphasis

added). Similarly, the

sponsor of the Senate bill,

after quoting this portion of

the Report, pointed out to his

colleagues that "([t)he term

‘pattern' requires the showing

of a relationship... So,

therefore, proof of two acts

A-104

of racketeering activity,

without more, does not

establish a pattern...." 116

Cong.Rec. 18940 (1970)

(Statement of Sen. McClellan).

See also id., at 35193

(statement of Rep. Poff) (RICO

"not aimed at the isolated

offender") ; House Hearings, at

665.

Sedingn, ._ U.S. Ot —. BM. 16, OF

L.Ed.2d at 358-359, n. 14.

Finally, the Court looked to

another provision of the same bill for

further illumination:

Significantly, in defining

"pattern" ina later provision

of the same, bill Congress was

more enlightening: "criminal

conduct forms a pattern if it

embraces criminal acts that

have the same or. similar

purposes, results,

participants, victims, or

methods of commission, or

otherwise are interrelated by

distinguishing characteristics

and are not isolated events."

18 U.S.C. § 3575(e). This

language may be useful in

interpreting other sections of

the Act.

Cf. Janelli v. United States,

420 U.S. 770, 789, 95

S.Ct. 1284, 1295, 43 L.Ed.2d

616 (1975).

A-105

Many courts that have been

confronted with questions concerning

whether more than just two predicate

acts are required for a "pattern" of

racketeering activity have Capitalized

on the above remarks in Sedima that

proof of a "pattern" also requires a

showing that the racketeering acts were

continuous and related. See, e.g.,

Superior Oil Co. v. Fulmer, 785 F.2d

252, 257 (8th Cir. 1986); also Torwest

DBC, Inc. v. Dick, 810 F.2d 925, 928

(10th Cir. 1987).

Unfortunately (and not

surprisingly), Sedima does not indicate

how this additional requirement of

"continuity plus relationship" is to be

understood. In particular, the

continuity requirement has caused

considerable difficulty. Those courts

that have attempted to capitalize on the

remarks in Sedima are in general

A-106

agreement that a plaintiff must

demonstrate some facts from which at

least the threat of "ongoing illegal

conduct" may be inferred. A scheme to

achieve a single, discrete objective,

without more, does not create a threat

of ongoing activity because the scheme

will terminate when that objective has

been achieved. See Towest DBC, 810 F.2d

at 928-929." Put another way, a scheme

must be "open-ended" in some

demonstrable way - e.g., in time, or in

those whom it will victimize, or in the

means employed to further the objectives

of the scheme - in order for it to be

continuous.

JNOV will be granted for all

defendants and against all plaintiffs

But see United States v.

Ianello, 808 F.2d 184, 189-

193 (2d Cir. 1986) fora

contrary view.

a

A-107

with respect to 18 U.S.C. § 1962(c)

because plaintiffs failed to offer any

proof from which it reasonably could be

inferred that defendants engaged in a

"pattern" of racketeering activity for

RICO purposes, as that term just has

been construed. More precisely,

plaintiffs have not offered any evidence

which could be taken as showing that the

alleged scheme in which defendants were

engaged was continuous - FP ongoing.

The evidence presented by

Plaintiffs at most showed only that the

So-called "schemé" of the defendants had

but a single, discrete objective --

namely, to purchase the right-of-way

needed to build a rail line. Such a

scheme was not open-ended. It had a

discrete temporal ending-point. The

Scheme was completed and Came to an end

once the necessary properties were

acquired. The scheme also was self-

areca cece areata

A-108

limiting in its scope. It involved only

a discrete number of properties

necessary to complete the right-of-way.

Such self-imposed limitations were

inherent to the scheme as depicted by

plaintiffs.

Il.

As was noted previously,

plaintiffs also claimed that defendants

had violated 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d), which

provides that:

It shall be unlawful for any

person to conspire to violate

any of the provisions of

subsections (a), (b), or (c)

of this section.

The object of a RICO

conspiracy must be to violate a

substantive RICO provision. See United

States v. Hampton, 786 F.2d 977, 978

(10th Cir. 1986). Proof that a

defendant violated 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d)

by conspiring to violate 18 U.S.C. §

A-109

1962(c) requires more than proof that

the defendant merely conspired to commit

the predicate offenses necessary to

establish a "pattern." Rather, it must

be shown that the defendant conspired to

"participate...in the conduct of such

enterprise's affairs through a pattern

of racketeering activity." United

States v. Elliott, 571 F.2d 880, 903

(Sth Cir. 1978); also Medallion Tv

Enterprises v. SELECTV, ine., 627 F.

Supp. 1290, 1301 (C.D. Cal. 1986).

Not only did plaintiffs fail

to produce evidence which could support

the inference that defendants engaged in

a "pattern" of racketeering activity,

they also failed to produce evidence

which could support the inference that

defendants conspired to participate in

the conduct of the affairs of an

enterprise through a atte of

racketeering activity. JINOV therefore

A-110

also will be granted for all defendants

and against all plaintiffs with respect

to 18 U.S.C. § 1962(d).

JNOV will not, however, be

granted with respect to plaintiffs'

remaining claims that defendants

committed common law fraud and conspired

to commit common law fraud. fThere is

evidence which could support’ these

claims.

The overwhelming evidence

indicates that plaintiffs' properties

were worth far less than those values

awarded by the jury. For example, the

jury awarded the Hughes' (Civil Action

No. 876-1678) $122,000 in damages, even

though they had purchased that same

property some four years earlier for a

mere $9,500. Dorothy Loughman (Civil

Action No. 83-921) had sold ten acres of

her property for only $800 per acre

approximately six years prior to the

A-111

Sale of another portion of the same

property to defendants. The jury,

however, awarded her damages amounting

to approximately $100,000 per acre for

the portion of her property she sold to

defendants. The Yesenoskys had listed

their property as being for sale in 1980

for $40,000. The jury awarded the

Yesenoskys $435,000 in damages for the

Sale of their property to defendants

less than two years later.

The problem is not confined

Only to the damages awarded to these

particular plaintiffs. As was pointed

out, the jury obviously relied heavily

on the testimony of mr. Bodnar, who

explained on cross-examination that his

figures were based largely on the prices

paid to three (out of some fifty)

landowners who were the last to sell

their properties for the railroad right-

Of-way: Grover Phillipi ($146,670 per

A-112

acre); John Culp ($75,216 per acre); and

Sarah Closser ($240,108 per acre). All

other sales, except for these three,

were ignored by Mr. Bodnar in

ascertaining the fair market value of

plaintiffs' properties.

Iii.

A new trial may be ordered

should the trial court find that the

damages awarded by the jury are grossly

excessive. See 6A J. Desha_ Lucas,

Moore's Federal Practice § 59.08[6] (3d

ed. 1987).

The jury awarded the following

compensatory damages: to Dorothy

Loughman (Civil Action No. 83-921) it

awarded $1,450,000; to John and Linda

Yesonosky (Civil Action No. 83-1674) it

awarded $435,000; to Paul and Mabel Kent

(Civil Action No. 83-1675) it awarded

$747,500; to James and Glenna McIntyre

A-113

(Civil Action 83-1676) it awarded

$48,000; to Morris Levine Enterprises it

awarded $775,000 and to Levine Iron and

Metal (Civil Action No. 83-1677) it

awarded $438,000; to James and Linda

Hughes (Civil Action No. 83-1678) it

awarded $122,000; to Mark and Charlotte

Headlee (Civil Action No. 83-1679) it

awarded $895,000; and to Carolyn

Schultz, Colleen Abel, and Beth Meighen,

the heirs of John T. Throckmorton (Civil

Action No. 83-1754), it awarded

$450,000. Such damages are obscenely

excessive and are against the great

weight of the’ evidence concerning

damages.

For all practical purposes,

the sole evidence concerning the fair

market values of plaintiffs' properties

came from Mr. Gary Bodnar, plaintiffs'

expert witness. A comparison of the

damages awarded with those figures

A-114

propounded by Mr. Bodnar leaves one with

the inescapable impression that the jury

relied almost entirely on his testimony

in determining damages.

It defies reason to infer that

these three sales, all of them by "hold-

outs", are indicative in any way of the

fair market values of the properties of

those who were among the earliest to

sell. It is far more reasonable to

infer that the prices paid to Phillipi,

Culp, and Closser for their properties

were far in excess of their true market

values - because the defendants were

operating under severe time constraints

- than it is to infer that the fair

market values of plaintiffs' properties

can be based on the prices paid to

Phillipi, Culp, and Closser.

A court is not required to

order a new trial when it finds that th

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.