Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. United Airlines, Inc.

Supreme Court brief1992

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

LL

Bupreme Court, U.S.

Pg FILE

Sie l242

No. 91- | JAN 27 1992

ete CLERK |

IN THE

Supreme Court Of The Gnited States

October Term, 1991

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC. and

TRANSTAR AIRLINES CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

y

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

MAXWELL M. BLECHER

Counsel of Record

BLECHER & COLLINS

611 West Sixth Street

Twenty-Eighth Floor

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 622-4222

January 27, 1992 Attorneys for Petitioners

y

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Whether the Court of Appeals erred in (a) creating a square

conflict with decisions in other Circuits by failing to follow this

Court’s interpretation of Section 2 of the Sherman Act in United

States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100 (1948), and Otter Tail Power

Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366 (1973), which provide for

liability when monopoly power in one market is used to produce

an anticompetitive effect, although falling short of actual or

attempted monopolization, in a second, vertically related market,

and (b) thus erroneously upholding summary judgment against

petitioners’ claims of violation of the “essential facilities” and

“monopoly leveraging” doctrines under Section 2 of the Sherman

Act.

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING

All parties to this proceeding are shown in the caption of

the case. Petitioner Alaska Airlines, Inc., an Alaska corporation,

is wholly owned by Alaska Air Group, Inc., a Delaware corpora-

tion. Petitioner TranStar Airlines Corporation, a Texas corpora-

tion, which is wholly owned by Southwest Airlines Co., a Texas

corporation, is a successor to Muse Air Corporation, which was

a plaintiff in the action below. Petitioner Northwest Airlines, Inc.,

a Minnesota corporation, is wholly owned by NWA, Inc., a

Delaware corporation. None of petitioners has a subsidiary other

than a wholly owned subsidiary. Midway Airlines, Inc., a

Delaware corporation currently in Chapter 7 bankruptcy, and a

plaintiff in the action below, has elected not to join this petition.

ili

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........ i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDING ............ ii

TABLE OF CONTENTS .................. iii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ................ Vv

Prereeee LOW fe. 2

cE 2

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND

REGULATIONS INVOLVED ............... 2

STATEMENT OF THECASE ............... 2

x ee 2

a The Decisions Below .............. 6

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ........ ®

l. The Decision Below Creates a Con-

flict in the Circuits With Respect to the

Monopoly Leveraging Doctrine That

This Court Should Resolve .......... &

2. The Decision Below Creates a Con-

flict in the Circuits With Respect to the

Essential Facilities Doctrine That This

Court Should Resolve ............. 10

3. The Decision Below Conflicts With

the Settled Antitrust Precedent of This

a oe 12

4. The Decision Below Improperly

Affirmed Summary Judgment by

Resolving Fact Issues on the Basis of

eeomomic Theory ................ 16

a. The Decision Below Impermis-

sibly Overlooked American’s

and United’s Power to Eliminate

Competition Through a Price

Se eee es Oe a oak

b. The Decision Below Impermis-

sibly Assumed That an Airline

Can Withdraw FromaCRS .......

c. The Decision Below Impermis-

sibly Assumed That a Travel

Agency Can Change ltsCRS ......

d. The Decision Below Impermis-

sibly Relied on Market Share as

the Only Possible Indicator of

a ae ee

CRUE. 4-3-8 6 G6 he a ee oe re a

APPENDIX

Opinion of the Courtof Appeals ...........

Opinion of the District Court ............

Statutory Provisions and Regulations

re eae eee ae ee eee

Page

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases

Advanced Health-Care Servs. v. Radford Com-

munity Hosp., 910 F.2d 139 (4th Cir. 1990) .... 10

Association for Intercollegiate Athletics for

Women v. NCAA, 735 F.2d 577 (D.C. Cir. 1984) .. 10

Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603

F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S.

eee COD. 25 54 4b trace a we ae eee eee 8

Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317 (1986) .... 19

City of Malden v. Union Elec. Co., 887 F.2d 157

ote a ne ere Nee aru rr rar err 1]

Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube Corp.,

GG Uhm. fae ties KA hoe ee ee ee 6, 15

Delaware & Hudson Ry. Co. v. Consolidated

Rail Corp., 902 F.2d 174 (2d Cir. 1990), cert.

denied, ___ ~ U.S. __., 111 S. Ct. 2041, 114

me boty) rere Perera gr mera 12

Directory Sales Mgt. Corp. v. Ohio Bell Tele-

phone Co., 833 F.2d 606 (6th Cir. 1987) ..... 1]

Fishman v. Estate of Wirtz, 807 F.2d 520 (7th Cir. ,

| Ser ee ie tr a mp ay aarti St tm nerd Ss | oe

Grand Light & Supply Co. v. Honeywell, Inc.,

T20 Vie OTR TTEED 88a ee 8 8 wee ee 9

Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982 (D.C.

Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 956 (1978) ... 10, 15

Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466

ae Settee 4k eee eee ee 16

vi

Page(s)

Kerasotes Mich. Theatres v. National Amuse-

ments, 854 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1988), cert. dis-

missed sub nom. G.K.C. Michigan Theatres,

Inc. v. National Amusements, Inc., 490 U. S.

OP EEOOD 6 vy oe ee ee )

Key Enterprises of Delaware, Inc. v. Venice

Hosp., 919 F.2d 1550 (11th Cir. 1990)... .. |. 10

Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574 (1986)... .......... 19

Northern Pacific Ry. Co. v. United States, 356

WE AEOOP: os 5 gt ee 16

Otter Tail Power Co. y. United States, 410 U.S.

iieihnniia A 14

Times-Picayune Publishing Co. v. United States,

345 U.S. 594 (1953)... 2. 16

Twin Laboratories, Inc. y. Weider Health & Fit-

ness, 900 F.2d 566 (2d Cir. See tate eee ae 1]

United Air Lines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics Board,

766 F.2d 1107 (7th Cir. Pee eae Rhee. 5

United States v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148

F.2d 416 (2d Cir. ine a ee ee ee 17

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100 (1986) 2... 13

United States v. Otter Tail Power Co., 331

F. Supp. 54 (D. Minn. yore) ys Vee 14

United States v. Terminal Railroad Assoc., 244

U.S. 383,411 (1912) 2... 12

Vil

Page(s)

Statutes

Sherman Act (15 U.S.C.):

Ps outa Sak a oe eee eae fetes 6, 16

Be ak ak eee ee passim

es ENE be area eae ee ee ee te 2

Oe BOE Se teas oh eee Oe 6

eS colt Rs MRR te eters Ac 5

Other

ee Oe 66 oo ae es eee ee 2,9

No. 91-

IN THE

Supreme Court Of The Anited States

October Term, 1991

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC. and

TRANSTAR AIRLINES CORPORATION,

Petitioners,

V.

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Respondent.

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

v.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.,

Respondent.

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC., TRANSTAR AIRLINES

CORPORATION, and NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC. respect-

fully petition for a writ of certiorari to review the decision of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Ninth Circuit (App. 1a-24a) is reported at 948 F.2d 536. The

opinion of the United States District Court for the Central District

of California (App. 25a-78a) is reported at 694 F. Supp. 1443.

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

October 29, 1991. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS AND REGULATIONS

INVOLVED -

Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2, is set forth at

App. 79a and 14 C.F.R. § 255 is set forth at App. 79a-85a.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This case concerns the question whether a monopolist

should be permitted to abuse its power to the detriment of com-

petition and consumers so long as the monopolist’s pernicious

conduct causes a significant anticompetitive effect in a second,

related but not yet monopolized, market. The decisions of the

courts below, rendered as a matter of law on motion for summary

judgment—and based on improper judicial factfinding—accord

monopolists just such a license. We respectfully submit that the

decision of the Court of Appeals below, which squarely conflicts

with the settled rules adopted by other Circuits and with the

decisions of this Court, and which creates a safe harbor for

conduct that is anticompetitive and harmful to consumers, should

be reviewed and reversed.

1. Material Facts. Respondents American Airlines, Inc.

(“American”), and United Air Lines, Inc. (“United”), own air

passenger computer reservation systems (“CRSs”), named

SABRE and Apollo respectively. (App. 2a)!

A CRS is a computer system that provides travel agencies

with access to information on the availability and prices of seats

on airline flights, and provides a medium for booking seats and

issuing tickets on those flights. A travel agency subscribing to a

CRS leases computer terminals and printers from the CRS vendor

that are connected to the CRS vendor's computer system, thereby

giving the travel agency access to a database of information on

all “participating” airlines. There are currently four CRSs operat-

ing in the United States, of which SABRE and Apollo are the

largest. (App. 26a-27a)

CRSs were first introduced in the late 1970's. After attempts

to create an industry-wide CRS failed, following United's

withdrawal from the last such venture, American and United

introduced SABRE and Apollo. Respondents encouraged use of

their CRSs by persuading all major airlines to participate in

them—initially free or with minimal charge—and by offering

their CRSs to travel agencies at low—below cost—subscription

rates. (App. 28a, 55a)? The proliferation of flights and fares that

followed deregulation of airlines in 1978 rendered it difficult for

travel agencies to provide efficient service to their customers

without CRSs. (App. 2a-3a) About 95% of all travel agencies,

which account for approximately 80% of all domestic airline

ticket sales, are automated with a CRS. See United States Depart-

ment of Transportation: Secretary's Task Force on Competition

in the U.S. Domestic Airline Industry, Airline Marketing Prac-

tices: Travel Agencies, Frequent-Flyer Programs, and Computer

Reservation Systems 7, 21, 44 (1990) [hereinafter Secretary's

1 In 1988, United scld Apollo to Covia Partnership; United owns

approximately 50% of Covia and manages the Apollo CRS for Covia.

2 Once, however, American and United achieved market power by

placing their CRSs in approximately 40% and 30%, respectively, of travel

agencies, accounting for about half of the tickets written for airline passengers

nationwide, American and United were able to—and did—charge substantial

and discriminatory booking fees to the various participating airlines. (App. 28a,

43a)

=—-ss-'--'-'-eRereweeeee ee

4

Task Force]. In 1984, SABRE had approximately 40% of all CRS

installations in United States travel agencies; Apollo had approx-

imately 30%. (App. 49a n.11)

Few travel agencies subscribe to more than one CRS; from

the travel agency’s perspective, there is no need to do so because

all CRSs provide information about all major airlines. See

Secretary’s Task Force, at 44. Moreover, the contracts that

American and United impose on travel agencies Substantially and

deliberately inhibited them from changing CRSs or adding a

second CRS. The SABRE and Apollo subscriber contracts have

long contained terms that are designed and have operated to

discourage or prevent travel agencies from switching from one

CRS to another and from installing more than one system.

(App. 32a-33a)3

If an airline withdrew from SABRE, that airline would be

almost entirely foreclosed from Selling tickets on its flights

through the approximately 40% of travel agencies that are

automated with SABRE. Likewise, if an airline withdrew from

Apollo, the airline would be effectively foreclosed from selling

tickets on its flights through the approximately 30% of travel

agencies automated with Apollo. (App. 49a n.11) Petitioners,

whose business is characterized by very high fixed costs, could

not possibly afford to incur the immediate reduction in sales and

revenue that would ensue if they withdrew from either SABRE

or Apollo, much less both systems. SABRE and Apollo, therefore,

are firmly entrenched as essential elements in each airline's

ability to sell its air transportation services to passengers—

indeed, they are each essential to petitioners’ very survival.

From the inception of CRSs, American and United used

their systems to provide themselves with commercial advantages

in the market for air transportation services. Notably, American

and United “biased” the screen displays on their CRSs to favor

3 The contracts were (and still are) for long terms (five years or more),

and provide for automatic renewal whenever new equipment is installed and for

draconian liquidated damages in the event of withdrawal from SABRE or

Apollo

their own flights over those of their competitors. American and

United elevated their respective flights to positions of greatest

prominence on the CRS displays that they transmitted to travel

agencies using SABRE and Apollo. This practice diverted sales

to American and United from other airlines. (App. 27a)

In the early 1980's, Congress and federal regulators became

concerned about possible anticompetitive uses of CRSs. !n 1984,

after a series of reports and Congressional hearings, the Civil

Aeronautics Board promulgated rules governing the use of CRSs

operated by airlines, including rules prohibiting display bias and

discrimination in the fees charged to different carriers. See 14

C.F.R. § 255. The CRS rules were upheld by the United States

Court of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit when United challenged

their validity. See United Air Lines, Inc. v. Civil Aeronautics

Board, 766 F.2d 1107 (7th Cir. 1985).

Immediately after the federal CRS rules outlawing display

bias and price discrimination were promulgated in 1984, United

and American increased the fees they charged to certain airlines

by over 500%. Despite this enormous increase in the booking fees

charged by CRS vendors, not a single airline withdrew from any

CRS. (App. 28a, 43a)

In 1985, the present actions were commenced against

American and United. The cases were consolidated before the

United States District Court for the Central District of California,

which had jurisdiction under 15 U.S.C. § 2 and 28 U.S.C. § 1331.

Petitioners assertéd a number of claims under Section 2 of

the Sherman Act, including claims that SABRE and Apollo were

each “essential facilities” for the provision of air transportation

services and that American and United, through display bias and

discriminatory and excessive prices, had denied petitioners

reasonable access to those facilities. Further, petitioners claimed

that American and United had monopoly power in the markets for

the sale of SABRE and Apollo services, respectively, to airlines,

and had “leveraged” that power in order to impair competition in

the market for air transportation services. (App. 26a, 70a)

eee ET

2. The Decisions Below. Respondents moved for summary

judgment on petitioners’ essential facilities and monopoly

leveraging claims, among others. The District Court granted

Summary judgment against petitioners on both claims. First,

despite the summary judgment context, the District Court held

that neither SABRE nor Apollo was an essential facility.

(App. 35a-36a, 38a) Although the District Court found that

“American [and United] may be able to extract supracompetitive

booking fees in the CRS market, and such price increases do

create entry barriers in the air transportation market by raising

competitors’ costs”, the District Court held that there was no

danger of monopolization of that market and thus no Section 2

offense. (App. 36a) The District Court made a factual finding on

motion for summary judgment and impermissibly discounted

petitioners’ evidence to the contrary when it held, purportedly as

a matter of law, that there were constraints on American’s and

United's “ability to weaken competition”. (App. 38a-39a) Having

made this finding, the District Court then focused on market share

in the air transportation industry to hold that a reasonable jury

was precluded from finding monopolization. (App. 39a)

Second, the District Court flatly rejected the monopoly

leveraging doctrine, holding that “it does not appear that the

monopoly leveraging theory is consistent with the requirements

of Section 2 of the Sherman Act”, and granted summary judgment

to respondents. (App. 70a)

The United States Court of Appeals for the Ninth Circuit,

having jurisdiction under 28 U.S.C. § 1291, affirmed. Relying cn

Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube Corp., 467 U.S. 752

(1984) (which held that a wholly owned Subsidiary could not

conspire with its parent for the purposes of Section 1), the Court

of Appeals held that one of two standards of liability—a higher

standard for unilateral action cases and a lower standard for

concerted action cases—applied to all antitrust claims, including

claims under the essential facilities doctrine. (App. 7a-8a) The

Court of Appeals so held even though Copperweld did not address

the essential facilities doctrine and even though no court had ever

before applied such a distinction in the context of the essential

facilities doctrine.

The Court of Appeals then held that the standard of liability

for all unilateral action cases was whether competition, measured

by market share, was being eliminated. The Court of Appeals

held: “A facility that is controlled by a single firm will be con-

sidered ‘essential’ only if control of the facility carries with it the

power to eliminate competition in the downstream market.”

(App. 15a) (emphasis in original). The Court of Appeals further

declared that “[t}he power to eliminate competition must not be

momentary, but must be at least relatively permanent.” (App. 15a

n.11) (citations omitted)

The Court of Appeals found that neither SABRE nor Apollo

were essential facilities under this test. According to the Court of

Appeals: “Basic economic theory tells us that plaintiffs will

withdraw from SABRE or Apollo if the cost of using either CRS

causes the cost to the airline of providing a flight booked on a

CRS to exceed the revenue that the airline gains by providing the

flight.” (App. 15a) The Court of Appeals pointed out that

“[njeither United nor American have ever set this fec at a level

that would drive their competitors away.” (App. 16a) The Court

of Appeals then held as a matter of fact—despite a complete

absence of factual support in the record and despite petitioners’

entitlement, on motion for summary judgment, to have all infer-

ences drawn in their favor—that “it is unlikely that defendants

would set their fee at such a level, for, if they did, they would

destroy their CRSs rather than competition.” (App. 16a)

Having decided that there was no “essential facility” in this

case, the Court of Appeals proceeded to establish a new test for

liability, different from that which prevails in other Circuits.

According to the Court of Appeals, even if SABRE or Apollo

were an essential facility, the only use of such a facility that would

give rise to liability would be actual or attempted monopolization:

a firm must exclude “at least some of its competitors” from the

downstream market. (App. 17a)

4

4

Turning to the monopoly leveraging claim, the Court of

Appeals flatly rejected the law in other Circuits, including the

Second Circuit's decision in Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak

Co., 603 F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1093

(1980), stating: “We now reject Berkey’s monopoly leveraging

doctrine as an independent theory of liability under Section 2.”

(App. 19a) According to the Court of Appeals, using monopoly

power in one market in order to gain a competitive advantage in

a second market, however harmful to competition and consumers,

is “just one of a number of ways that a monopolist can permissibly

benefit from its position”, provided there is no actual or attempted

monopolization. (App. 22a-23a) Thus, under the rule adopted by

the Court of Appeals, a monopolist may lawfully leverage its

monopoly power to extract virtually unlimited competitive

advantages in a second market, so long as evidence of market

Share and the existence of other firms in the second market

insulate it from a finding of actual or attempted monopolization

of that market.

The Court of Appeals concluded that “the antitrust laws seek

to punish only the willful attainment and maintenance of a

monopoly, or the attempt to attain such a monopoly.” (App. 23a-

24a) Thus, the Court of Appeals held that standard monopo-

lization and attempted monopolization doctrine occupied the

entire field and rejected any separate monopoly leveraging

doctrine.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

1. The Decision Below Creates a Conflict in the Circuits

With Respect to the Monopoly Leveraging Doctrine That This

Court Should Resolve. The Court of Appeals could not have been

more explicit in creating a conflict in the Circuits than by its

express rejection of the Second Circuit’s decision in Berkey

Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 603 F.2d 263 (2d Cir. 1979),

cert. denied, 444 U.S. 1093 (1980). The Ninth Circuit's holding

that the use of monopoly power in one market to gain a competi-

tive advantage in another only gives rise to liability if there is

monopolization or attempted monopolization of the second

market—measured by market share and the existence of other

firms—is flatly contradictory to Berkey and those cases following

it.

In Berkey, the Second Circuit held that “a firm violates § 2

by using its monopoly power in one market to gain a competitive

advantage in another, albeit without an attempt to monopolize the

second market”. /d. at 275 (emphasis added). The Berkey court

further held:

“We tolerate the existence of monopoly power . . . only

insofar as necessary to preserve competitive incentives and

to be fair to the firm that has attained its position innocently.

There is no reason to allow the exercise of such power to

the detriment of competition, in either the controlled market

or any other. That the competition in the leveraged market

may not be destroyed but merely distorted does not make it

more palatable.” /d.

The Second Circuit reaffirmed Berkey in Grand Light &

Supply Co. v. Honeywell, Inc., 771 F.2d 672, 681 (1985):

‘A successful claim of monopoly leveraging requires proof

of at least three factors: monopoly power in one market,

‘“the use of [that] power, however lawfully acquired, to

foreclose competition, to gain a competitive advantage, or

to destroy a competitor”’ in another distinct market, and

injury caused by the challenged conduct.” (Citations

omitted) (emphasis added}.

The decision of the Ninth Circuit is also at odds with the

holding of the Sixth Circuit in Kerasotes Mich. Theatres v.

National Amusements, 854 F.2d 135 (6th Cir. 1988), cert. dis-

missed sub nom. G.K.C. Michigan Theatres, Inc. v. National

Amusements, Inc., 490 U.S. 1087 (1989). Following Berkey, the

Kerasotes court expressly rejected the requirement that the

monopolist use its power either to monopolize or attempt to

monopolize the second market. The court held that “[t]o run afoul

of the antitrust laws, it is not necessary that the party attempting

to leverage its monopoly power from a given market into a second

10

market possess monopoly power or dominant market position in

that second market”. Jd. at 137. The court found that the sole

purpose of the conduct at issue was “to extend a business’

dominance from one market into a second market, without having

to achieve that dominance in the second market by developing a

Superior product or as the result of other legitimate competitive

advantages” and that it was, therefore, unlawful. /d.

The Ninth Circuit’s rejection of petitioners’ monopoly

leveraging claims creates a clear conflict in the Circuits, which

this Court should resolve.4

2. The Decision Below Creates a Conflict in the Circuits

With Respect to the Essential Facilities Doctrine That This Court

Should Resolve. The Ninth Circuit’s decision is also in clear

conflict with the decisions of other Circuits with respect to the

essential facilities doctrine. The Court of Appeals below held that

a facility is not “essential” unless it can be used to “eliminate”

competition in the downstream market. (App. 15a) Moreover, the

Court of Appeals held that the essential facility must be used

actually to monopolize or attempt to monopolize. (App. 17a)

Other Circuits, however, have adopted less stringent tests, both

regarding what constitutes an essential facility and regarding

what constitutes forbidden anticompetitive behavior.

In Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982, 992 (D.C. Cir.

1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 956 (1978), the D.C. Circuit held: .

“To be ‘essential’ a facility need not be indispensable; it is

sufficient if duplication of the facility would be economically

infeasible and if denial of its use inflicts a severe handicap on

potential market entrants.” (Footnote omitted). The D.C. Circuit's

4 Both the Fourth Circuit and the D.C. Circuit have expressly reserved

judgment on whether or not “monopoly leveraging” states a distinct antitrust

violation under Section 2. See Advanced Health-Care Servs. y. Radford Com-

munity Hosp., 910 F.2d 139, 149 n.17 (4th Cir. 1990); Association for Intercol-

legiate Athletics for Women v. NCAA, 735 F.2d 577, 586 n.14 (D.C. Cir. 1984).

See also Key Enterprises of Delaware, Inc. v. Venice Hosp., 919 F.2d 1550,

1567-68 (11th Cir. 1990) (not reaching question of whether monopoly leverag-

ing short of attempted monopolization violated Section 2 of Sherman Act).

11

Hecht standard, requiring far less of a showing for liability than

the Ninth Circuit now requires, has been followed by several

other Circuits.

Both the Sixth and Seventh Circuits have agreed with the

D.C. Circuit that to be essential a facility need not be “indispen-

sable” but rather so important and difficult to duplicate, that

competition is impaired. See Directory Sales Mgt. Corp. v. Ohio

Bell Telephone Co., 833 F.2d 606, 612 (6th Cir. 1987) (quoting

Hecht); Fishman v. Estate of Wirtz, 807 F.2d 520, 539 (7th Cir.

1986) (same).°

The Directory Sales and Fishman cases also adopt Hecht’s

“severe handicap” standard with regard to the anticompetitive

effect that must be shown. See Directory Sales, 833 F.2d at 612;

Fishman, 807 F.2d at 539. The Second Circuit adopted the same

standard in Twin Laboratories, Inc. v. Weider Health & Fitness,

900 F.2d 566, 569 (2d Cir. 1990), holding that “[a] successful

‘essential facilities’ plaintiff must prove that denial of access has

caused it ‘severe handicap.’” As the Second Circuit pointed out,

the policy behind the essential facilities doctrine “is to prevent a

monopolist in a given market. . . from using its power to inhibit

competition in another market”, not to prevent a monopolist from

foreclosing competition in the second market. /d. at 568 (empha-

sis added).°®

Shortly after the Twin Laboratories decision, the Second

Circuit again considered the essential facilities doctrine, in

5 Similarly, in City of Malden v. Union Elec. Co., 887 F.2d 157 (8th Cir.

1989), the Eighth Circuit implicitly rejected the elimination of competition

standard. The court approved the following jury instruction as appropriate in

essential facility cases: “Monopoly power, that is, the power to control prices or

the power to exclude or economically inhibit competitors, may be proven

through what is known as a bottleneck monopoly.” /d. at 163 n.6 (emphasis

added).

6 The Court of Appeals in the present case purported to rely ea the Twin

Laboratories decision. (App. 13a-14a) The Court of Appeals acknowledged that

Twin Laboratories turned on a “severe handicap” standard, but it still proceeded,

without explanation, to propound an elimination of competition standard

directly at odds with Twin Laboratories. (App. 14a-1Sa)

12

Delaware & Hudson Ry. Co. v. Consolidated Rail Corp., 902 F.2d

174 (2d Cir. 1990), cert. denied, ___ ~ U.S. __, 111 S. Ct. 2041,

114 L. Ed. 2d 125 (1991), and expressly distinguished it from the

Separate offenses of monopolization and attempted monopo-

lization. Having dealt with plaintiff's claim of monopolization

the Court of Appeals continued, [w]e turn next to the question

whether the make or buy policy constituted denial of an essential

facility and, by implication, a violation of § 2”. /d. at 179. Only

after having separately addressed the essential facilities claim did

the Court of Appeals turn to the attempted monopolization claim.

In its discussion of the essential facilities doctrine in

Delaware & Hudson, the Second Circuit made no mention of

foreclosing or attempting to foreclose competition. Rather, the

Court of Appeals held that the essential facility owner must, to

the extent possible, treat its competitors on an equal basis with

itself, in order not to impair competition. “{T]here need not be an

outright refusal to deal in order to find that denial of an essential

facility occurred. It is sufficient if the terms of the offer to deal

are unreasonable.” /d. at 179-80. Further, the essential facility

owner has to ““‘place every such [user] company upon as nearly

an equal plane as may be with respect to expenses and charges as

that occupied by the proprietary [owner] companies.’” /d. at 180

(quoting United States v. Terminal Railroad Assoc., 224 U.S.

383, 411 (1912)).

Plainly, the Ninth Circuit’s application of traditional

monopolization and attempted monopolization standards to

essential facilities Claims is flatly at odds with the prior decisions

of the Second, Sixth, Seventh and D.C. Circuits—a second con-

flict in the Circuits that this Court should resolve.

3. The Decision Below Conflicts With the Settled Antitrust

Precedent of This Court. Both the essential facilities and

monopoly leveraging doctrines address a single issue: to what

extent may a monopolist lawfully use its monopoly power in one

market to gain a competitive advantage in another market? The

essential facilities doctrine is merely an instance of that overall

question. The Ninth Circuit's response is that, at least in the

context of a single firm monopolist, only actual or attempted

: 13

monopolization of the second market—which requires substan-

tial market share—is unlawful.’ Moreover, in the context of

essential facilities, no monopolization or attempted monopo-

lization claim will lie unless it is first established that the monop-

Olist has the ability to eliminate competition in the second market.

These novel standards ignore and distort the governing decisions

of this Court.

In United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 107 (1948), this

Court held that: “the use of monopoly power, however lawfully

acquired, to foreclose competition, to gain a competitive ad-

vantage, or to destroy a competitor, is unlawful.” (Emphasis

added). In Griffith, theatre owners that held monopoly power in

certain towns were using that power to gain competitive advan-

tages in other towns, in which they had competitors. This Court

held that monopolists could not avoid liability merely by showing

that “no competitors were driven out of business”. Jd. at 109.

Thus, the Court overturned the District Court’s ruling that there

was no monopolization or attempted monopolization and

remanded the case.

The Court of Appeals below attempted to distinguish the

Griffith standard, stating “it is not controlling since it is a Sec-

tion | case involving concerted action”, (App. 19a n.16) That

distinction is unavailing. The paragraph quoted above is explicit-

ly addressed to—and indeed, confined to—Section 2. Moreover,

this Court expressly held, in Griffith, that, in the circumstances,

it did not matter whether the challenged conduct was that of a

single firm or concerted action:

“The consequence of such a use of monopoly power

is that films are licensed on a non-competitive basis in what

would otherwise be competitive situations. That is the effect

whether one exhibitor makes the bargain with the distributor

7 Under that test, the existence of competitors—evidenced by the fact

that, at the time of the District Court's opinion, American and United each had

only 12-14% shares of the market for air transportation services—was disposi-

tive for the District Court and Court of Appeals in granting summary judgment

against petitioners.

14

or whether two or more exhibitors lump together their

buying power, as appellees did here. It is in either case a

misuse of monopoly power under the Sherman Act.” 334

U.S. at 108 (emphasis added).

Griffith is the foundation of the monopoly leveraging

doctrine. Berkey was expressly based on the passage from Griffith

quoted above. See Berkey, 603 F.2d at 275. To ignore Berkey is

to ignore Griffith, and that the Ninth Circuit may not do.

Griffith is also the antecedent of Otter Tail Power Co. v.

United States, 410 U.S. 366 (1973), which the Court of Appeais

below recognized as the leading and controlling case with regard

to the essential facilities doctrine in the single firm context.

(App. 11a) In Otter Tail, defendant had monopoly power over the

“wholesale” distribution of electric power within a certain area,

and used that power to restrict competition in the market for the

“retail” distribution of electric power in that area. This Court

held: “The record makes abundantly clear that Otter Tail used its

monopoly power in the towns in its service area to foreclose

competition or gain a competitive advantage, or to destroy a

competitor, all in violation of the antitrust laws.” /d. at 377 (citing

Griffith, 334 U.S. at 107) (emphasis added).

The Court of Appeals below ignored this language and

distinguished Otter Tail as a case in which there was actual and

attempted monopolization. That reasoning is circular. There was

indeed a finding of actual and attempted monopolization in Otter

Tail, but plainly on a different standard from that espoused by the

Court of Appeals in this case. The proper standard to be applied

in essential facilities cases is the Griffith standard, as Otter Tail

made clear.

Mureover, the Court of Appeals below required that the

essential facility owner possess the power to eliminate competi-

tion, in square conflict with Otter Tail. Otter Tail did not have the

power to eliminate competition. Rather, “[i]ts control over trans-

mission facilities in much of its service area gives it substantial

effective control over potential competition from municipal

ownership.” United States v. Otter Tail Power Co., 331 F. Supp.

15

54, 61 (D. Minn. 1971) (emphasis added).® This Court expressly

acknowledged that Otter Tail’s inability to eliminate competition

was irrelevant, noting that “{t]he fact that three municipalities

which Otter Tail opposed finally got their municipal systems does

not excuse Otter Tail’s conduct.” 410 U.S. at 381. The

misinterpretation and rejection of Otter Tail’s clear language by

the Court of Appeals below is reversible error.

The heart of the decision below is a fundamental

misunderstanding of Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube

Corp., 467 U.S. 752 (1984). Copperweld did not define monop-

olization, but merely pointed out that monopolization is a higher

standard than unreasonable restraint of trade and that monopo-

lization is the proper standard to apply to cases involving

unilateral action. Copperweld did not immunize actions by a firm

with monopoly power in one market that have anticompetitive

effects in a second market merely because that firm’s actions are

effectively unilateral and do not actually eliminate competition

in the second market. Rather, Copperweld requires only that

where the challenged actions are properly regarded as the conduct

of a single firm—whether a parent and subsidiary acting together,

an essential facility owner or a monopolist trying to leverage its

market power from one market into another market—the legality

of that conduct must be analyzed under the Section 2 monopo-

lization standards appropriate to the circumstances.

Here, the conduct at issue is unilateral action by the CRS

owner that has effects in two markets: the market for providing

CRS services, in which the CRS owner has monopoly power, and

the air passenger transportation market, in which it does not. In

such a case, the applicable monopolization standards are those set

forth in Griffith and Otter Tail. The interpretation of Copperweld

Suggested by the court below would not merely rewrite Griffith

and Otter Tail; it would hold that Copperweld overruled both

8 This factual finding was relied upon by the D.C. Circuit in Hecht for

its determination that to be “essential” a facility need not be “indispensable”.

See Hecht, 570 F.2d at 992 n.40.

16

those decisions sub silentio. There is no basis for that

conclusion.?

4. The Decision Below Improperly A {firmed Summary Judg-

ment by Resolving Fact Issues on the Basis of Economic Theory.

The Court of Appeals below disguised the ultimate consequences

of its decision—the creation of an immunity for otherwise illegal

anticompetitive conduct in the airline industry—by making

impermissible and unwarranted factual findings that discount, or

disregard entirely, the anticompetitive effects of American's and

United's behavior. Those assumptions not only improperly

attempted to validate the unsupportable consequences of the

decision below, but also deprived petitioners of their ri ght to trial

and an opportunity to prove the harm of which they complain.

Each of these crucial findings of fact is either unsupported by the

record or is the subject of a genuine dispute.

a. The Decision Below Impermissibly Overlooked

American's and United's Power to Eliminate Competition

Through a Price Squeeze. The Court of Appeals “found” that

‘defendants’ control of their CRSs did not give them power to

eliminate competition in the downstream air transportation

market.” (App. 15a) The District Court, however, found that

American and United “may be able to extract supracompetitive

booking fees in the CRS market, and such price increases do

create entry barriers in the air transportation market by raising

competitors’ costs”. (App. 36a) Moreover, the Court of Appeals

9 Further, if the Court of Anpeals is correct, Copperweld also overruled

forty years of established tying law sub silentio. An illegal tying arrangement,

challenged under Section 1, is simply the unilateral exercise of market power in

the tying product market to impair competition in the tied product market—in

which the seller lacks market power. According to the decision below, Copper-

weld dictates that such an arrangement can only be illegal if competition is

eliminated. Thus, the Ninth Circuit held that Copperweld overruled sub silentio

such seminal tying cases as Times-Picayune Publishing Co. v. United States, 345

U.S. 594, 608-09 (1953), and Northern Pacific Ry. Co. v. United States, 356 U.S.

1 (1958), as well as Jefferson Parish Hosp. Dist. No. 2 v. Hyde, 466 U.S. 2

(1984), decided only one month before Copperweld. No such revolution in the

law governing tying arrangements can be inferred from Copperweld.

17

Suggested that American and United could increase competitors’

costs, using their CRSs, as far as they chose and not cause

competitors to withdraw from those CRSs, provided that the cost

of “providing a flight booked on a CRS” did not “exceed the

revenue that the airline gains by providing the flight”. (App. 1Sa)

If that is true, then American and United can effect a “price

Squeeze” and can eliminate competition in the air transportation

market.!° There is no basis for the Court of Appeals’ finding that

they cannot.

b. The Decision Below Impermissibly Assumed That an

Airline Can Withdraw From a CRS. The Court of Appeals simply

and crucially assumed—as a matter of “[b]asic economic theory”

(App. 15a)—that an airline could withdraw from a CRS and still

survive commercially; if American or United prompted such a

withdrawal, “they would destroy their CRSs rather than their

competition.” (App. 16a) There is no basis whatsoever for that

assumption. It is contradicted by the undisputed fact that, despite

respondents’ massive increases in booking fees charged to air-

lines, no airline has withdrawn from any CRS. Moreover,

petitioners’ evidence at trial would have shown—contrary to the

Court of Appeals’ assumption—that withdrawal from either

SABRE or Apollo would swiftly have destroyed any airline that

tried it.

10 By raising competitors’ costs—in a manner unrestrained by market

forces—respondents can control, limit and ultimately, if they wish, destroy their

competitors’ ability to offer either price or service competition in the

downstream market for air transportation services. The illegality of such “price

squeezing” was made plain in United States v. Aluminum Co. of America, 148

F.2d 416, 436-38 (2d Cir. 1945) (L. Hand. J.). Alcoa had monopoly power in the

market for aluminum ingot, and was also a manufacturer of aluminum sheet.

which was made from that ingot. Alcoa used its monopoly power to keep the

price of ingot sufficiently high and the price of sheet sufficiently low to deprive

its competitors in the sheet market of “a living profit”. /d. at 437. Slowly, Alcoa’s

competitors were being driven out of business. Although Judge Hand recognized

that Alcoa's conduct “was not part of an attempt to monopolize the ‘sheet’

market’, he still held that it was an actionable abuse of monopoly power in the

ingot market: “That it is unlawful to set the price of ‘sheet’ so low and hold the

price of ingot so high, seems to us unquestionable.” /d. at 438.

18

c. The Decision Below Impermissibly Assumed That a

Travel Agency Can Change Its CRS. The finding of the Court of

Appeals that SABRE and Apollo were not “essential” rests heav-

ily on the theory that if an airline is unhappy with booking fees

charged by aCRS vendor, the airline can withdraw from the CRS,

and that travel agencies will not subscribe to the CRS if it does

not contain information about all the vendor’s competitors.!!

This theory in turn depends on the premise that “aside from

contractual limitations, travel agents can switch CRSs whenever

they desire”. (App. 16a n.12) (emphasis added). That gargantuan

“aside from” calls to mind the apocryphal question posed to

Mrs. Lincoln. A central contention of petitioners was that

respondents’ practices of using long-term contracts and onerous

liquidated damage provisions effectively prevented travel agen-

cies from switching CRSs. Petitioners presented substantial

evidence in support of that contention. The District Court

unabashedly and impermissibly weighed that evidence and found

that “[t]he significance of the entry barriers . . . are exaggerated

by plaintiffs.” (App. 35a) The Court of Appeals not only failed to

correct the District Court's usurpation of the role of trier of fact,

but repeated it; it too weighed the evidence of “contractual limita-

tions” (App. 15a-16a n.12) and rejected petitioners’ contention

that this evidence rebutted any presumption that airlines can

simply withdraw from a CRS, secure in the knowledge that travel

agencies will quickly abandon it. Petitioners showed that there

was a genuine issue of material fact, and summary judgment

should plainly have been denied.

d. The Decision Below Impermissibly Relied on Market

Share as the Only Possible Indicator of Market Power. The Court

of Appeals repeated the mistake of the District Court in simply

assuming that because respondents had shares of the air transpor-

tation market no greater than 12-14% (they now have substantially

11 This assumption by the Court of Appeals involves a sleight-of-hand:

even if a CRS would be unmarketable to travel agencies if there were no

information on it concerning any of the CRS vendor's competitors, it does not

follow that one individual airline can withdraw from a CRS, confident in the

belief that the absence of information about its flights will make the CRS

similarly unmarketable.

19

increased shares), they could not be Causing substantial harm—

t.e., they could not be monopolizing or attempting to monopolize

the market. (App. 16a) The fact. however, that respondents have

the power to increase petitioners’ costs to the level of marginal

revenue means, despite their seemingly small market shares, that

they can control or even eliminate competition, and thus can

cause substantial harm to consumers.

These assumptions of contested material facts in favor of

respondents allowed the District Court and the Court of Appeals

to make it appear that there would be no harmful consequences

to their decisions. That is not the case. Petitioners presented

evidence and economic analysis demonstrating the anticompeti-

tive nature of the conduct in question. The courts below did not

have the power to discount and reject that evidence and analysis.

In order to avoid summary judgment, petitioners had to

demonstrate that there is some evidence that would create a

genuine issue of material fact. See Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477

U.S. 317, 322-23 (1986). Petitioners came forward with evidence

that SABRE and Apollo are the only method of reaching travel

agencies that sell about half of all air transportation tickets, that

there is no practical alternative to membership in SABRE and

Apollo and that American and United were using their ownership

of SABRE and Apollo to restrict competition and control the costs

of competitors in the air transportation market—indeed, that they

had the power to entirely eliminate competition among airlines.

That showing, even under the improperly restrictive standards

adopted by the Court of Appeals, was sufficient to go to a jury.

The courts below, however, weighed petitioners’ evidence

and decided it was unpersuasive. That is not permissible. Indeed,

““{o]n summary judgment the inferences to be drawn from the

underlying facts . . . must be viewed in the light most favorable

to the party opposing the motion.’” Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v.

Zenith Radio Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 587 (1986) (quoting United

States v. Diebold, Inc., 369 U.S. 654, 655 (1962)). The District

Court and the Court of Appeals completely reversed that

presumption and denied petitioners their right to trial. For that

reason alone, the decision below should be reversed.

20

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certiorari

should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

MAXWELL M. BLECHER

Counsel of Record

BLECHER & COLLINS

611 West Sixth Street

Twenty-Eighth Floor

Los Angeles, California 90017

(213) 622-4222

January 27, 1992 Attorneys for Petitioners

APPENDIX

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE NINTH CIRCUIT

Nos. 90-55162, 90-55163

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC.; MIDWAY AIRLINES;

MUSE AIR CORPORATION,

Plaintiffs-Appellants

v.

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC.,

Plaintiff

and

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC.,

Plaintiff-Appellant

V.

UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendant

and

AMERICAN AIRLINES. INC.,

Defendant-Appellee

Argued and Submitted April 5, 1991

Decided October 29, 199]

Before: NORRIS, HALL and TROTT,

Circuit Judges

2a

OPINION OF THE COURT

CYNTHIA HOLCOMB HALL, Circuit Judge.

Alaska Airlines, Muse Air Corporation, Midway Airlines,

Inc., and Northwest Airlines, Inc. (collectively “plaintiffs”)

brought suit against their two largest competitors, United Airlines

and American Airlines (collectively “defendants”), alleging that

defendants had individually violated the Sherman Act in operat-

ing their proprietary computerized reservation systems (“CRS”).

Plaintiffs appeal the district court’s grant of summary judgment

against them on two of their three distinct claims under Section 2

of the Act. 15 U.S.C. § 2. The district court had jurisdiction under

15 U.S.C. § 2 and 28 U.S.C. § 1331. We have jurisdiction under

28 U.S.C. § 1291. We affirm.

In 1974, American Airlines obtained government approval

to attempt to persuade the other major airlines to pool their

resources and create a jointly-owned CRS. A CRS provides par-

ticipating travel agents with schedule, fare, and seat availability

information for every airline that subscribes to the CRS. Further,

a CRS allows travel agents to send and receive airline booking

data, book space on flights, and automatically prepare tickets and

advance boarding passes. The proposed joint CRS project col-

lapsed in 1976 due to insufficient funding. Three weeks later,

United Airlines announced that it would create a proprietary CRS

under the trade name of Apollo. American Airlines quickly

responded by announcing that it would create its own proprietary

CRS, under the trade name of SABRE. Other airlines also quickly

developed proprietary CRSs.! American’s SABRE soon became

the largest CRS. United’s Apollo was the second largest.

Shortly after SABRE and Apollo began operations,

Congress deregulated the airline industry. See The Airline

1 TWA began operating a CRS in 1976. Eastern Airlines and Delta

Airlines began operating CRSs in 198].

3a

Deregulation Act of 1978 (“the Deregulation Act”), Pub.L.

No. 95-504, 92 Stat. 1705 (1978) (codified at 49 U.S.C. App.

§ 1301). Deregulation fueled demand for computerized fare and

flight availability information, and as a result a substantial per-

centage of total air passenger bookings were made through CRSs.

The CRS works as follows. The airlines pass flight infor-

mation to the CRSs, and the CRSs then provide this information

to their subscribers, the travel agents. The travel agents in turn

use the information to serve consumers, who naturally desire the

lowest airfares and the most convenient flights. The CRSs charge

travel agents only a nominal fee, or no fee, for the CRSs’ services.

In contrast, the CRSs charge airlines a substantial amount for such

services, in the form of a per booking fee. For example, since the

Civil Aeronautics Board (“the Board”) ruled in 1984 that each

CRS owner must charge its airline customers a uniform rate,

American has charged a uniform fee of $1.75 for each booking

made through SABRE.2

The CRS market's triangular structure makes the market

unusually resistant to normal disciplinary mechanisms. A CRS’s

market share (the proportion of flights that are booked through a

given CRS) might ordinarily be thought to depend on both how

many travel agents and how many airlines subscribe to the CRS.

However, because each and every airline subscribes to each and

every viable CRS, the market share of a given CRS depends solely

on the number of travel agents who subscribe to that CRS.

Airlines generally subscribe to every CRS because the CRSs

charge the airline per booking. The $1.75 fee to secure a booking

is of little consequence because a $300 or $400 fare may other-

wise be lost. This is not to say that a CRS can charge its airline

subscribers any fee that it desires, no matter how high. Basic

economic theory tells us that an airline will withdraw from the

CRS if the cost of using it causes the marginal cost of providing

a flight booked on the CRS to exceed the marginal revenue gained

2 The Deregulation Act eliminated both the Board itself and many of

its functions. See 49 U.S.C. § 1551. Most of the Board’s remaining functions

were transferred to the Department of Transportation. See id. at § 1551(a)(1)(E).

The CRS fee regulation remains in effect. See 14 C.ER. § 255.5(a).

Ce

4a

by the booking. See generally M. Handler, H. Blake, R. Pitotsky,

H. Goldschmid, Trade Regulation App. B (2d ed. 1983)

(hereinafter “Trade Regulation”). However, since CRS fees are a

relatively small part of the total costs incurred by a “booked”

airline when it provides air transportation to a paying passenger,

the CRSs have leeway to charge substantial booking fees.

The plaintiffs, each previous subscribers to Apollo and

SABRE, were unhappy about the ability of their largest com-

petitors to extract substantial booking fees from them. Accord-

ingly, plaintiffs brought suit under the Sherman Act.? Plaintiffs

argued that United and American had individually violated Sec-

tion 2 of the Sherman Act by, among other things: (1) denying

plaintiffs reasonable access to their CRS services, which were

alleged to be “essential facilities;” and (2) “leveraging” their

dominance in the CRS market to gain a competitive advantage in

the downstream air transportation market. The district court

granted summary judgment in favor of defendants on both claims.

Plaintiffs have appealed.4

II.

The district court’s grant of summary judgment is reviewed

de novo. Kruso v. International Tel. & Tel. Corp., 872 F.2d 1416,

1421 (9th Cir.1989), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 110 S.Ct. 3217, 110

L.Ed.2d 664 (1990). We must decide, viewing the evidence in the

light most favorable to the nonmoving party, whether there are

any genuine issues of material fact and whether the district court

3 At the conclusion of pretrial proceedings in September 1989, two

separate CRS cases were ready for trial: (1) a suit by Northwest Airlines against

American Airlines, and (2) a suit by Alaska Airlines, Midway Airlines, and Muse

Air Corporation (now part of Southwest Airlines) against United Airlines. The

district court consolidated these cases and tried both of them simultaneously, a

decision that has not been appealed.

4 Plaintiffs also asserted a third Section 2 claim, arguing that each

defendant had unlawfully acquired and then exercised monopoly power over

travel agents in the market for CRS services. This third claim was tried to a jury,

which returned a verdict in favor of each defendant. Plaintiffs do not appeal from

these jury verdicts.

Sa

correctly applied the relevant law. Tzung v. State Farm Fire and

Casualty Co., 873 F.2d 1338, 1339-40 (9th Cir.1989).,

ITT.

A.

Defendants argue that the doctrine of res judicata bars

plaintiffs from pursuing their essential facilities and monopoly

leveraging claims in this court. “The concept of res judicata

embraces two doctrines, claim preclusion and issue preclusion (or

collateral estoppel), that bar, respectively, a subsequent action or

the subsequent litigation of a Particular issue because of the

adjudication of a prior action.” McClain vy, Apodaca, 793 F.2d

1031, 1033 (9th Cir. 1986). Defendants’ claim is meritless

because this is not a case where plaintiffs, unhappy with the

outcome of One action, institute an entirely separate action either

alleging grounds for relief which could have been raised in the

prior suit upon the same cause of action, or involving an issue

previously litigated in the prior action. Rather, plaintiffs are

merely appealing the district court’s award of summary judgment

in favor of defendants on two discreet issues alleged in the

complaint. The doctrine of res judicata prohibits repetitive litiga-

tion, not appellate review of claims rejected by the district court.

See McClain, 793 F.2d at 1032-33.

B.

Defendants also contend that plaintiffs are judicially

estopped from denying that collateral estoppel bars their essential

facilities and monopoly leveraging claims. The doctrine of judi-

cial estoppel precludes a party from arguing inconsistent posi-

tions to gain an unfair advantage over its adversary. See Russell y,

Rolfs, 893 F.2d 1033, 1037-39 (9th Cir. 1990) (state may not

argue that appellant is procedurally barred from obtaining relief

in state court when it had previously persuaded district court to

deny appellate review because appellant had “adequate and avail-

able” state remedy), cert. denied, — U.S. —, 111 S.Ct. 2915, 115

L.Ed.2d 1078 (1991); Rockwell Int’! Corp. v. Hanford Atomic

Metal Trades Council, 851 F.2d 1208, 1210 (9th Cir. 1988),

6a

Defendants’ argument is without merit because plaintiffs’

positions are not inconsistent. Prior to trial, defendants argued

that plaintiffs did not have standing to assert unlawful monopo-

lization of the market for CRS services to travel agents. In

response to defendants’ standing argument, plaintiffs asserted

that defendants had monopoly power over travel agents and that

defendants’ monopoly power affected plaintiffs as consumers in

that market.° Now, to support their monopoly leveraging and

essential facility claims, on which the district prevented trial by

granting summary judgment for defendants, plaintiffs say that

defendants have monopoly power over plaintiffs, and that this

factual question has not yet been determined. Plaintiffs’ positions

are not inconsistent because the argument that defendants had

monopoly power over travel agents does not preclude the pos-

sibility that they might also have such power over airlines. Nor

is it unfair for plaintiffs to press this argument on appeal because

plaintiffs clearly made the argument below; this is not a case

where a party creates a new theory to sustain its argument on

appeal.

IV

We turn to the merits of plaintiffs’ antitrust claims. The

antitrust laws are designed to “safeguard general competitive

conditions, rather than to protect specific competitors.” Oahu Gas

Serv., Inc. v. Pacific Resources, Inc., 838 F.2d 360, 370

(9th Cir. 1988).

5 Defendants contend that, in response to the standing challenge, plain-

tiffs defined the relevant market as CRS services to both travel agents and

airlines. Defendants are incorrect. Plaintiffs argued that the market was identical

to the one approved by the district court in its summary judgment opinion, In re

Air Passenger Computer Reservations Systems Antitrust Litigation, 694 F.Supp.

1443 (1988). While the court in that opinion does use loose language suggesting

that the relevant market consists of CRS services to both travel agents and

airlines, in its decision on the standing motion, the district court explained that,

in its summary judgment opinion, “[it] undertook to analyze the relevant markets

to CRS services to travel agents and found that the plaintiff airlines were

consumers in that market for the purpose of establishing a Section 2 monopo-

lization claim.” (ER, vol. I, at 440). Thus, even if plaintiffs alleged that the

market included services to both airlines and travel agents, it is obvious that the

district court did not base its decision on this allegation.

eT

Ta

A

The Sherman Act provides in relevant part:

[Section 1.] Every contract, combination in the form of

trust or otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade

or commerce among the several States, or with foreign

nations, is declared to be illegal.

[Section 2.] Every person who shall monopolize, or

attempt to monopolize, or combine or conspire with

any other person or persons, to monopolize any part of

the trade or commerce among the several States, or

with foreign nations, shall be deemed guilty of a

felony....

15 U.S.C. §§ 1, 2.6

The bare text of the Sherman Act indicates that Sections |

and 2 focus on different problems. Section 1 deals with concerted

activity, outlawing “combination[s] . . . in restraint of trade.” /d.

Section 2, on the other hand, concerns unilateral activity, punish-

ing “[e]very person who shall monopolize, or attempt to monop-

olize... ."1d.

The Supreme Court described the differing functions of

Sections 1 and 2 in Copperweld Corp. v. Independence Tube

Corp., 467 U.S. 752, 104 S.Ct. 2731, 81 L.Ed.2d 628 (1984),?

The Court emphasized that the Act distinguishes between

unilateral and concerted conduct. While concerted conduct is

subject to sanction if it merely restrains trade, unilateral conduct

6 Private treble damage actions for violations of the Sherman Act are

authorized by Sections 4 and 5(a) of the Clayton Act. 15 U.S.C. §§ 15, 16.

7 In Copperweld the Court considered the validity of the “intra-

enterprise conspiracy” doctrine. The Court faced the question whether a whol-

ly-owned subsidiary corporation and its parent corporation could “conspire”

with each other for purposes of Section ! of the Sherman Act Copperweld, 467

U.S. at 767, 104 S. Ct. at 2739. It is apparent from the Copperweld opinion that

the Court relied heavily on its analysis of the relationship between sections |

and 2 of the Actin concluding that a wholly owned subsidiary cannot “conspire”

with its parent. See id. at 767-69, 774-77, 104S. Ct. at 2739-41, 2743-45.

8a

is subject to sanction only if it either actually monopolizes or

threatens monopolization. The Copperweld Court said:

It is not enough that a single firm appears to “restrain

trade” unreasonably, for even a vigorous competitor

may leave that impression , . . . [B]ecause it is some-

times difficult to distinguish robust competition from

conduct with long-run anticompetitive effects, Con-

gress authorized Sherman Act scrutiny of single firms

only when they pose a danger of monopolization. Judg-

ing unilateral conduct in this manner reduces the risk

that the antitrust laws will dampen the competitive zeal

of a single aggressive entrepreneur .. . .

It cannot be denied that § 1's focus on concerted behav-

ior leaves a “gap” in the Act's proscription against

unreasonable restraints of trade. An unreasonable

restraint of trade may be effected not only by two

independent firm acting in concert; a single firm may

restrain trade to precisely the same extent if it alone

possesses the combined market power of those same

two firms. Because the Sherman Act does not prohibit

unreasonable restraints of trade as such—but only

restraints effected by a contract, combination, or con-

spiracy—it leaves untouched a single firm’s anticom-

petitive conduct (short of threatened monopolization)

that may be indistinguishable in economic effect from

the conduct of two firms subject to §1 liability ....

Moreover, whatever the wisdom of the distinction, the

Act's plain language leaves no doubt that Congress

made a purposeful choice to accord different treatment

to unilateral and concerted conduct. Had Congress

intended to outlaw unreasonable restraints of trade as

Such, § Is requirement of a contract, combination, or

conspiracy would be superfluous, as would the entirety

of § 2.

Id. at 767-69, 774-77, 104 S. Ct. at 2739-41, 2743-45.

9a

The instant case is predicated on Section 2.8 We review the

two traditional grounds for relief under Section 2, monopo-

lization and attempted monopolization, before moving on to

consider plaintiffs’ less orthodox claims. The traditional claim for

monopolization has two elements: ““1) the possession of

monopoly power in the relevant market and (2) the willful acqui-

sition or maintenance of that power as distinguished from growth

or development as a consequence of a Superior product, business

acumen, or historic accident.’” Aspen Skiing Co. v. Aspen High-

lands Skiing Co., 472 U.S. 585, 596 n. 19, 105 S.Ct. 2847, 2854

n. 19, 86 L.Ed.2d 467 (1985) (quoting United States v. Grinnell

Corp., 384 U.S. 563, 570-71, 86 S.Ct. 1698, 1703-04, 16 L.Ed.2d

778 (1966)). The traditional claim for attempted monopolization

arises when the danger of monopolization is clear and present,

but before a full-blown monopolization has necessarily been

accomplished. Accordingly, the elements of attempted monopo-

lization, like the elements of monopolization, emphasize

monopoly power and the acquisition or perpetuation of this power

by illegitimate “predatory” practices. A claim for attempted

monopolization has three elements: 1) a specific intent to monop-

olize arelevant market; (2) predatory or anticompetitive conduct:

and (3) a dangerous probability of success. See Catlin v.

Washington Energy Co., 791 F.2d 1343, 1348 (9th Cir. 1986);

Foremost Pro Color, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak Co., 703 F.2d 534,

543-44 (9th Cir. 1983), cert. denied, 465 U.S. 1038, 104 S.Ct.

1315, 79 L.Ed. 2d 712 (1984),

B

Plaintiffs claim that United and American individually vio-

lated Section 2 of the Sherman Act by denying Plaintiffs

reasonable access to Apollo and SABRE. They base their claim

8 Plaintiffs based their claims against defendants on Section 2 of the

Sherman Act in the district court, in their opening brief, and at oral argument.

Thus, we do not consider the viability of any claims that plaintiffs might have

had under Section | of the Act. See United States v. Munoz, 746 F.2d 1389, 1390

(9th Cir. 1984) (refusing to consider a tort theory not raised below in a contract

action).

10a

on the “essential facilities” doctrine.’ Stated most generally, the

essential facilities doctrine imposes liability when one firm,

which controls an essential facility, denies a second firm

reasonable access to a product or service that the second firm

must obtain in order to compete with the first. Plaintiffs propose

a broad view of the essential facilities doctrine, claiming that

defendants are liable under the doctrine even though defendants’

control of their respective CRS systems did not give them power

to eliminate competition in the downstream air transportation

market. We must consider whether the essential facilities doctrine

reaches that far.

In support of its broad view of the essential facilities

doctrine, plaintiffs mistakenly rely on three Supreme Court cases:

United States v. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 68 S.Ct. 941, 92 L.Ed.

1236 (1948) (holding invalid concerted action by a number of

movie distribution companies); Associated Press v. United

States, 326 U.S. 1, 65 S.Ct. 1416, 89 L.Ed. 2013 (1945) (ordering

Associated Press, which had created a pooled news service, not

to exclude prospective members merely because the prospective

members competed with existing members); United States v. Ter-

minal R.R. Ass'n, 224 U.S. 383, 397, 401, 411-12, 32 S.Ct. 507,

510, 512, 516, 56 L.Ed. 810 (1912) (holding that competitors had

to be admitted into a combination formed by several railroads that

had acquired control of all the passages into and out of St. Louis,

passages which were not amenable to duplication). Griffith, Asso-

ciated Press, and Terminal Railroad are of limited value because

each case involved a combination in restraint of trade, not single

firm conduct. Under the Sherman Act, combinations and indi-

vidual firms are treated quite differently. See Copperweld, 467

U.S. at 767-69, 774-77, 104 S.Ct. at 2739-41, 2743-45 (while a

combination may be liable for effecting a mere restraint of trade,

for a single firm to be liable there generally must be either

9 We considered the essential facilities doctrine only very briefly in

Ferguson v. Greater Pocatello Chamber of Commerce Inc., 848 F.2d 976, 983

(9th Cir.1988), before concluding it was inapplicable on the facts before us.

lla

monopolization or the threat of monopolization). Moreover, as

one commentator has noted:

[Associated Press| cannot automatically govern

unilateral denial of an essential facility for several

reasons. First, and most obvious, concerted action is

exceptional, whereas unilateral action is omnipresent.

Innumerable firms engage in unilateral action every

day. We have to be very wary about examining the

decisions of each of those firms in our economy .. . .

Second, concerted exclusion is much easier to remedy,

particularly when an outsider, who is willing to invest

on an equal basis, seeks admission at the time the joint

venture is created . . . . Third, admission to a joint

venture is a one-time remedy that does not require [the

exertion of] day-to-day control [by the courts].

Areeda, Essential Facilities: An Epithet In Need of Limiting

Principles, 58 Antitrust L.J. 841, 844-45 (1990) (emphasis

added).

A review of the cases in which the doctrine has been applied

to facilities controlled by single firms suggests that Section 2

does not prohibit the defendants’ unilateral conduct. The sole

Supreme Court case involving a single firm’s control of an

“essential facility” is Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410

U.S. 366, 93 S.Ct. 1022, 35 L.Ed.2d 359 (1973). The Otter Tail

Power Company's general practice was to supply both

“wholesale” and “retail” electrical services in its operating area.

However, a number of municipalities decided that they would

prefer to supply the retail component of these electrical services

themselves, and sought to contract with Otter Tail Power for only

“wholesale” electrical services. Otter Tail Power, whose

wholesale, electrical services could not be duplicated feasibly,

refused to supply only wholesale electricity, thereby eliminating

the possibility of competition in the provision of “retail” electri-

cal services, Id. at 369-71, 376-79, 93 S.Ct. at 1025-27, 1028-30.

Otter Tail, the foundation of the essential facilities doctrine

in the single firm context, was an extreme case. Otter Tail Power.

12a

an “upstream” monopolist, baldly refused to deal with its poten-

tial “downstream” competitors. Given the difficulty of duplicat-

ing Otter Tail’s facilities, this refusal did more than merely

impose some handicap on potential competitors; it eliminated all

possibility of competition in the downstream market. As the

Supreme Court indicated, Otter Tail Power had both attempted to

monopolize and had succeeded in monopolizing the downstream

market for “retail” electric services. /d. at 377-79, 93 S.Ct. at

1029-30.

Two Seventh Circuit decisions suggest the limits of the

essential facilities doctrine in the single firm context. In MC/

Communications Co. v. AT&T, 708 F.2d 1081, 1133 (7th Cir.),

cert. denied, 464 U.S. 891, 104 S.Ct. 234, 78 L.Ed.2d 226 (1983),

the court held that AT&T violated Section 2 by refusing to con-

nect MCI to its network. MCI, like Otter Tail, involved a refusal

to grant access to a facility that could not be duplicated feasibly.

Id. Moreover, this refusal eliminated competition, rather than

merely impeding it. Thus, like Otter Tail Power, AT&T had the

power to eliminate competition in a downstream market, exer-

cised this power, and thereby monopolized the market.

In sharp contrast to MCI is Olympia Equip. Leasing v.

Western Union Tel. Co., 797 F.2d 370 (7th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 934, 107 S.Ct. 1574, 94 L.Ed.2d 765 (1987).

Western Union, which had for years dominated the businesses of

providing telex services and leasing telex machines, decided to

quit the telex leasing business. Since the firm had a large stock

of telex machines that it needed to dispose of, it converted its

leasing agents into a sales force. Jd at 372-73. In an effort to help

open the telex machine supply market to competition, Western

Union instructed this newly formed sales force to pitch not only

Western Union's telex machines, but also the machines of new

entrants into the telex machine supply business. However, when

the sales of Western Union’s own telex machines did notmeet

expectations, the firm ordered its salespeople to stop mentioning

the products of competing vendors. /d. Olympia, one of Western

Union’s rivals in the Telex machine supply business, brought suit

under Section 2. Olympia claimed that Western Union's sales

13a

force was a facility “essential” to participation in the telex

machine supply market, and asserted a right to nondiscriminatory

access. /d. at 376-77.

The Seventh Circuit rejected Olympia’s claim, holding that

Olympia had no right of access to the trail that Western Union

had already blazed. Even though Western Union’s sizable sales

force provided a considerable advantage and would require great

effort to duplicate, Olympia must-blaze its own trail to consumers.

Judge Posner, for the court, stated: “Olympia had no right under

antitrust law to take a free ride on its competitor’s sales force.

You cannot conscript your competitor's salesmen to sell your

product even if the competitor has monopoly power and you are

a Struggling new entrant.” /d. at 377-78.

Moreover, Western Union’s sales force was not an “essen-

tial” facility because the sales force’s withdrawal did not

eliminate the potential for competition:

All Western Union did in this case to “obstruct” Olym-

pia from competing with it in the sale or lease of telex

terminal equipment was to stop making referrals to

Olympia. That was not [sufficient] obstruction . . .. for

Olympia remained free to compete by sending sales-

men to call on Western Union's subscribers. This was

not an illusory freedom. Firms better established than

Olympia—firms that had their own sales forces—

weathered the withdrawal of the vendor list.

Id. at 378-79.

The Second Circuit considered the reach of the essential

facilities doctrine in Twin Laboratories, Inc. v. Weider Health

Fitness, 900 F.2d 566 (2d Cir. 1990). In that case, the court

affirmed the district court’s grant of Summary judgment in favor

of Weider on the essential facilities claim. /d. at 569. Weider sold

nutritional supplements and published the most widely read

magazines catering to those interested in body building. Twin

Labs competed with Weider in the market for nutritional supple-

ments, and advertised its products in Weider’s magazines. Weider

aia iis

l4a

then changed its policies and refused to include Twin Labs’

advertisements in its magazines. Twin Labs sued, arguing that

Weider’s magazines amounted to an essential facility for com-

petition in the nutritional supplement market, and that Weider’s

exclusion of Twin Labs therefore violated Section 2. /d. at

567-68.

The Second Circuit held that, as a matter of law, ““Weider’s

conduct did not amount to an antitrust violation.” /d. at 569. Twin

Labs failed to demonstrate a “severe handicap” as a result of

Weider’s denial of access, a necessary element of a successful

essential facilities claim. The opinion turns on the court's view

that Weider’s power to exclude advertising from its magazine did

not amount to the power to eliminate competition in the

downstream nutritional supplements market. /d. at 569-70. While

Weider did have power to impose some handicap on his competi-

tion, this limited power was insufficient to establish that Weider’s

facility was “essential.” The court said:

A successful “essential facilities” plaintiff must prove

that denial of access has caused it “severe handicap.”

... Twinlab’s own expert, Dr. Overstreet, stated that,

six months after Weider’s advertising ban, Twinlab’s

nutritional supplements were not only continuing to

grow more profitable but were continuing to increase

their market share relative to Weider’s products. While

Dr. Overstreet stated that in his opinion Twinlab’s

growth would have been even more rapid but for the

advertising ban, this hardly constitutes a showing of

severe hardship ....

[A]s the word “essential” indicates, a plaintff must

show more than inconvenience, or even some

economic loss; he must show that an alternative to the

facility is not feasible.

Id. at 569-70 (citations omitted).!°

10 As the Weider court noted, some commentators have suggested that

the essential facilities doctrine be applied only to facilities that are “‘natural

ae i

lSa

Weider, Olympia, and MCI share a concern that transcends

their fact-based differences. A facility that is controlled by a

single firm will be considered “essential” only if control of the

facility carries with it the power to eliminate competition in the

downstream market.!!

In the instant case, it is clear that defendants’ control of their

CRSs did not give them power to eliminate competition in the

downstream air transportation market.!2 Basic economic theory

tells us that plaintiffs will withdraw from SABRE or Apollo if the

cost of using either CRS causes the cost to the airline of providing

a flight booked on a CRS to exceed the revenue that the airline

monopolies}, facilities whose duplication is forbidden by law, and perhaps

those that are publicly subsidized and thus could not practicably be built

privately.’ Jd. at 569 (quoting P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law

{ 736.2 at 680-81 (1988 Supp.)). The reason for such a limitation is that contro!

of a natural monopoly facility gives the facility holder a power to eliminate

downstream competition that is permanent even in theory, as well as in practice.

See 3 P. Areeda & D. Turner, Antitrust Law 47-48 (1978). Such a strict limitation

goes further than Weider, and perhaps Olympia.

11 The cases also seem to contemplate a second condition that must be

satisfied for a facility to be considered “essential” in addition to the power to

eliminate competition: The power to eliminate competition must not be momen-

tary, but must be at least relatively permanent. See MCI, 708 F.2d at 1133

(discussing virtual impossibility of duplicating AT & T’s local distribution

facilities); Olympia, 797 F.2d at 379 (discussing possibility that Olympia

“remained free to compete by sending salesmen to call on Western Union’s

subscribers.”). In the instant case we need not decide whether defendants’

control of their respective CRSs gave them power that was of sufficient per-

manence for the CRSs to qualify as essential facilities. For we conclude that the

extent of the power bestowed on defendants by Apollo and SABRE, quite apart

from the duration of this power, was insufficient.

12 Monopoly control of the upstream market is a necessary element of

essential facility and monopoly leveraging claims. Defendants contend that

plaintiffs’ claims fail as a matter of law because the jury has decided that

defendants do not have monopoly control in the upstream CRS market.

However, the jury did not directly consider whether defendants had

monopoly power in the CRS market for services to airlines. The jury was

specifically instructed to consider only whether defendants possessed monopoly

power over the travel agent participants in the CRS market. Since jurors are

presumed to follow the instructions given, see United States v. Escalante. 637

F.2d 1197, 1202 (9th Cir.), cert. denied, 449 U.S. 856, 101 S.Ct. 154, 66 L.Ed.2d

gains by providing the flight. See Trade Regulation App. B;

E. Sullivan & J. Harrison, Understanding Antitrust and its

Economic Implications 22 (1988). It is difficult to imagine that a

travel agent would subscribe to a CRS if it only contained infor-

mation about 12-14% of available flights. Because the parties

agree that neither United nor American controlled more than

12-14% of the air transportation market, SABRE and Apollo

would contain information concerning approximately 12-14% of

available flights if competitors withdrew from either SABRE and

Apollo. Thus, the ability of United or American to abuse their

downstream competitors by manipulating their CRSs is severely

limited.

Moreover, United and American have never refused any of

the plaintiffs access to their respective CRSs.!3 See Otter Tail,

410 U.S. at 378,93 S.Ct. at 1030 (outright refusal); MC/, 708 F.2d

at 1132 (same). Rather, United and American have always given

all of their competitors in the air transportation market such

access for a fee. Neither United nor American have ever set this

fee at a level that would drive their competitors away. As noted

above, it is unlikely that defendants would set their fee at such a

71 (1980), we reject defendants’ contention that the jury directly considered the

extent of defendants’ monopoly power over plaintiffs.

Neither did the jury implicitly decide that defendants lacked monopoly

power over plainuffs. See In re Westgate-Cal. Corp., 642 F.2d 1174, 1176

(9th Cir.1981) (holding that collateral estoppel barred plaintiff's claim because

the jury's previous decision that plaintiff had engaged in fraud effectively

resolved the newly presented question whether plaintiff had acted inequitably).

Plaintuffs and the travel agent participants in the CRS market are not similarly

situated. Plaintiffs alleged that they had no real alternative to membership in

either SABRE or Apollo because withdrawal would result in a business loss of

such magnitude that no member airline could withstand it. In contrast, aside from

contractual limitations, travel agents can switch CRSs whenever they desire. A

travel agent must belong to only one CRS to obtain the information that she

needs to operate her business, and there are a number of CRSs to which the travel

agent may subscribe. This factual difference indicates that the jury’s decision

could not have included a finding that the defendants had monopoly power over

plaintiffs.

13 We do not reach the question of whether at some level, charging a

price may be the same as an outright refusal to deal.

17a

level, for, if they did, they would destroy their CRSs rather than

their competition.

Plaintiffs claim that each defendant's CRS was an “essen-

tial” facility because each defendant's control of its CRS gave it

power to redistribute a portion of its rivals’ revenues to itself.

Plaintiffs make this claim even though they concede that each

defendant's control of its CRS did not create a dangerous prob-

ability that the defendants would monopolize the downstream air

transportation market. Although each defendant may have gained

some leverage over its competitors through control of its CRS,

each defendant's power fell far short of the power to eliminate

competition seen in Otter Tail and MCI. At most, defendants

gained a monetary profit at their rivals’ expense. The exercise of

this limited power is not actionable under Section 2.!4

Our view of the essential facilities doctrine does not render

the doctrine superfluous or otherwise inappropriately curtail its

reach. When a firm's power to exclude rivals from a facility gives

the firm the power to eliminate competition in a market

downstream from the facility, and the firm excludes at least some

of its competitors, the danger that the firm will monopolize the

downstream market is clear. In this circumstance, a finding of

monopolization, or at least attempted monopolization, is appro-

priate, and there is little need to engage in the usual lengthy

analysis of factors such as intent. Cf Catlin, 791 F.2d at 1348

(specifying the elements of a claim for attempted monopo-

lization). We hold that neither defendant denied plaintiffs an

essential facility in violation of the antitrust laws.

Cc

Plaintiffs next allege that each defendant violated Section 2

by “leveraging” its monopoly power over its competitors in the

14 We highlight that this is not a case in which a facility holder has the

power to eliminate competition in a downstream market, but has as yet exercised

its power to only a limited extent. The essential facilities doctrine, consistent

with principles underlying section 2, might well reach such conduct, because in

that situation, the danger of monopolization may be immediate enough to satisfy

the Act.

18a

CRS market to gain a competitive advantage over these airlines

in the downstream air transportation market.!> Plaintiffs admit

that, because there was no dangerous probability that either

defendant would monopolize the downstream air transportation

market, they have no claim under the traditional Section 2

doctrine of attempted monopolization. This circuit expressly

declined to decide whether “monopoly leveraging is a distinct

Section 2 violation” in Catlin v. Washington Energy Co., 791 F.2d

1343, 1348 (9th Cir.1986).

The origin of the notion that a single firm may be liable for

“monopoly leveraging,” even in the absence of a threat that the

“leveraged” market will be monopolized, is Berkey Photo, Inc. v.

Eastman Kodak Co., 603 F.2d 263 (2d Cir.1979), cert. denied,

444 U.S. 1093, 100 S.Ct. 1061, 62 L.Ed.2d 783 (1980). In Berkey

Photo, Kodak possessed a monopoly in the film and camera

markets. Berkey Photo argued that Kodak had “leveraged” its

dominant position in these areas to gain a “competitive ad-

vantage” in the photofinishing equipment and services markets.

Berkey Photo conceded that there was no dangerous probability

that Kodak could monopolize either of these markets. /d. at 275.

The Berkey Photo court announced and applied the rule that

“a firm violates § 2 by using its monopoly power in one market

to gain a competitive advantage in another, albeit without an

15 Defendants claim that plaintiffs waived their monopoly leveraging

claim by failing to raise the claim in the district court. It is well established that

an appellate court will not reverse a district court on the basis of a theory that

was not raised below. See Image Technical Service, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak, 903

F.2d 612, 615 n. 1 (9th Cir.1990) (holding that plaintiff's failure to raise an issue

in Opposition to a defendant’s motion for summary judgment waived the issue),

cert. granted, ae US: ene S.Ct. 2823, 115 L.Ed.2d 994 (1991): Munoz,

746 F.2d at 1390 (refusing to consider a tort theory not raised in contract action

below). However, there is no factual basis supporting defendants’ contention.

First, plaintiffs raised the monopoly leveraging claim at the outset cf their action.

Second, although plaintiffs emphasized the essential facilities theory in their

response to defendants’ motion for summary judgment, they also discussed

Griffith, a monopoly leveraging case, and mentioned the monopoly leveraging

doctrine. Most importantly, the district court discussed the theory at length. See

In Re Air Passenger Computer Reservation System Antitrust Litigation, 694

F.Supp. at 1472-75. Thus, we reject defendants’ waiver argument.

EL

19a

attempt to monopolize the second market.” /d. In contrast to the

traditional actions for monopoly and attempted monopoly, Berkey

Photo's “monopoly leveraging” doctrine has Only two rather

loose elements: 1) there must be monopoly power in some

market, and 2) such power must be “exercise[d] .. . to the detri-

ment of competition” in another market. The Berkey Photo court

slighted the functions performed by the elements of the traditional

Section 2 offenses, stating: “There is no reason to allow the

exercise of [monopoly] power to the detriment of competition, in

either the controlled market or any other. That the competition in

the leveraged market may not be destroyed but merely distorted

does not make it more palatable.” /d. at 275.

We now reject Berkey’s monopoly leveraging doctrine as an

independent theory of liability under Section 2. Even in the two-

market situation, a plaintiff cannot establish a violation of Sec-

tion 2 without proving that the defendant used its monopoly

power in one market to obtain, or attempt to attain, a monopoly

in the downstream, or leveraged, market. We believe that Berkey

Photo misapplied the elements of Section 2 by concluding that a

firm violates Section 2 merely by obtaining a competitive advan-

tage in the second market, even in the absence of an attempt to

monopolize the leveraged market. !6

16 Plaintiffs also rely on two other cases, neither of which need be

addressed at length. First, although United States vy. Griffith, 334 U.S. 100, 68

S.Ct. 941, 92 L.Ed. 1236 (1948), does contain some broad language, it is not

controlling since it is a Section | case involving concerted action. See Copper-

weld, 467 U.S. at 774-77, 104 S.Ct. at 2743-45 (noting the difference between

Section 1's focus on concerted activity and Section 2’s focus on unilateral

activity).

Plaintiffs also cite Kerasotes Mich. Theatres, Inc. v. National Amuse-

ments, Inc., 854 F.2d 135 (6th Cir.1988), cert. dismissed sub nom.. G.K.C. Mich.

Theatres, Inc. v. National Amusements, Inc., 490 U.S. 1087, 109 S.Ct. 2461, 104

L.Ed.2d 982 (1989). In Kerasotes, the Sixth Circuit held that the use of monopo-

ly power in one market to gain a competitive advantage in a second market is

forbidden, even when there is no danger of monopolization in the seeond market.

Id. at 137-38. Kerasotes is in error for the same reasons that Berkey Photo is in

error.

20a

l

As traditionally interpreted, the Sherman Act punishes any

individual or entity that uses “predatory” means to attain a

monopoly, or to perpetuate a monopoly after the competitive

Superiority that originally gave rise to the monopoly has faded.

See Aspen Skiing Co., 472 U.S. at 602, 610-11, 105 S.Ct. at 2857,

2861-62 (upholding liability of a monopolist that had used

predatory conduct to attain or preserve monopoly power); Grin-

nell Corp., 384 U.S. at 570-71, 86 S.Ct. at 1703-04. A monopoly

attained or perpetuated by such means unnecessarily raises the

cost of the relevant product or service, with the ultimate victim

being the consumer. See United States v. Syufy Enterprises, 903

F.2d 659, 663 (9th Cir. 1990); United States v. Aluminum Co. of

Am., 148 F.2d 416, 427 (2d Cir.1945).

However, the Sherman Act does not attack every monopoly.

See Aspen Skiing Co., 472 U.S. at 602, 105 S.Ct. at 2857 (holding

that predatory conduct to attain or preserve a monopoly is a

prerequisite to a finding of monopolization or attempted monop-

olization); Syufy Enterprises, 903 F.2d at 668 (stating that

“| while the successful competitor should not be raised above the

law, neither should he be held down by law”); Olympia, 797 F.2d

at 375-76 (“[T]he lawful monopolist should be free to compete

like everyone else; otherwise the antitrust laws would be holding

an umbrella over inefficient competitors.”); Foremost, 703 F.2d

at 543-44 (“[Tjhe Sherman Act... does not render unlawful all

monopolies. ... A monopolist, no less than any other competitor,

is permitted and indeed encouraged to compete aggressively on

the merits.”). A firm may acquire a monopoly simply by virtue of

being a better competitor. For example, a firm may have better

production methods or be more innovative than its past and

prospective competitors. Aspen Skiing Co., 472 U.S. at 604, 105

S.Ct. at 2858; Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. at 570-71, 86 S.Ct. at

1703-04; Syufy Enterprises, 903 F.2d at 668; Aluminum Co. of

Am., 148 F.2d at 430. This kind of monopoly, absent “predatory”

practices to maintain it, will continue only so long as the monop-

Olist sustains a level of efficiency or innovation such that its rivals

cannot effectively compete. Because this type of monopolist

21a

behaves in an economically efficient manner, the antitrust laws

do not stand as an obstacle to its existence. See Syufy Enterprises,

903 F.2d at 668; Olympia, 797 F.2d at 375-76; Foremost, 703 F.2d

at 544; see also P. Areeda & D. Turner, Antitrust Law, at 41-42,

60-63, 68-71 (1978).

There is also at least one other type of lawful monopoly—

the natural monopoly. Such a monopoly occurs whea:

There may not be room enough in the market for more

than one firm. . . . In that case, demand is “too thin” to

Support two surviving firms. Monopoly is inev-

itable .... [For example, t]he entire natural gas con-

sumption of a region of the country may be insufficient

to support a second pipeline from a remote producing

region. Demand may total millions of dollars annually

and yet be “too thin” relative to the minimum efficient

scale of a long-distance natural gas pipeline, a

hydroelectric power generator, or a fully automated

machine-tool production line. In these cases, demand

mfight} be sufficient at some price fixed by law... .,

but the cost of production will be Significantly lower

with a single producer. Ip that event, one producer can

earn larger profits by charging less [than a number of

producers of inefficient scale would be able to charge]

in order to win a larger volume of business that will

permit him to produce at lower unit costs. Local public

utilities supplying electricity, gas, water, and telephone

Service are usually regarded as classic examples...

P. Areeda & D. Turner, supra, at 47-48.

The antitrust laws tolerate both efficient monopolies ard

natural monopolies. See Foremost, 703 F.2d at 543. The Sherman

Act has not been interpreted to penalize efficient monopolies

because they meet consumer demand without raising the price

and gaining a monopoly profit. Syufy Enterprises, 903 F.2d at

668; see also Berkey, 603 F.2d at 294. The Sherman Act also has

not been interpreted to penalize natural monopolies. A firm that

creates a valued service or product should not be punished with

22a

treble damages and criminal sanctions merely because the firm

finds itself to be the holder of a natural monopoly. Aluminum Co.

of Am., 148 F.2d at 429-30 (reasoning that those who find thein-

selves holders of a natural monopoly should not be subject to

Sherman Act sanctions). Government regulation, as opposed to

treble damages and criminal liability under the Sherman Act, is

generally thought to be the appropriate remedy for the difficulties

posed by natural monopolies. See Jones, Government Price Con-

trols and Inflation: A Prognosis Based on the Impact of Controls

in the Regulated Industries, 65 Cornell L.Rev. 303, 304 (1980).

“| Jjudicial oversight of pricing policies would place the courts in

a role akin to that of a public regulatory commission. We would

be wise to decline that function unless Congress clearly bestows

it upon us.” Berkey Photo, 603 F.2d at 294 (citations omitted);

see also Areeda, supra, at 845, 853.

Thus, the elements of the established actions for “monopo-

lization” and “attempted monopolization” are vital to differen-

tiate between efficient and natural monopolies on the one hand,

and unlawful monopolies on the other. Berkey Photo's monopoly

leveraging doctrine fails to differentiate properly among monop-

olies. The anticompetitive dangers that implicate the Sherman Act

are not present when a monopolist has a lawful monopoly in one

market and uses its power to gain a competitive advantage in the

second market. By definition, the monopolist has failed to gain,

or attempt to gain, a monopoly in the second market. Thus, such

activity fails to meet the second element necessary to establish a

violation of Section 2. Unless the monopolist uses its power in

the first market to acquire and maintain a monopoly in the second

market, or to attempt to do so, there is no Section 2 violation.

Monopoly leveraging is just one of a number of ways that

a monopolist can permissibly benefit from its position. See

Berkey Photo, 603 F.2d at 294; P. Areeda & D. Turner, supra, at

41-42; Trade Regulation App. B; E. Sullivan & J. Harrison,

supra, at 19-27. This does not mean, however, that such conduct

is anticompetitive. Both “monopoly leveraging” in an adjaceat

market, and setting high prices in the original “monopoly”

market, represent the cost that we incur when we permit efficient

23a

and natural monopolies.!? See Berkey Photo, 603 F.2d at 294

(“setting a high price may be a use of monopoly power, but it is

not in itself anticompetitive”). The Supreme Court has consis-

tently held that there must be “predatory” conduct to attain or

perpetuate a monopoly for a monopolist to be liable under Sec-

tion 2. Aspen Skiing Co., 472 U.S. at 596 n. 19, 602, 105 S.Ct. at

2854 n. 19; Grinnell Corp., 384 U.S. at 570-71, 86 S.Ct. at

1703-04; see also Syufy Enterprises, 903 F.2d at 669 (“[flostering

an environment where businesses fight it out using the weapon of

efficiency and consumer goodwill is what the antitrust laws are

meant to champion.”). We hesitate to disregard this settled rule

in the absence of any meaningful substantive distinction between

monopoly leveraging and other consequences of lawful

monopoly.

The danger that a lawful monopoly will either create a new

monopoly or unduly perpetuate itself is no more evident when a

lawful monopoly is leveraged than when a lawful monopolist

reaps its monopoly profit solely from price increases in the

monopoly market. Indeed, leveraging activity may tend to under-

mine monopoly power, just like monopoly pricing. Every time the

monopolist asserts its market dominance on a firm in the

leveraged market, the leveraged firm has more incentive to find

an alternative supplier, which in turn gives alternate suppliers

more reason to think that they can compete with the monopolist.

Every act exploiting monopoly power to the disadvantage of the

monopoly ’s customers hastens the monopoly’s end by making the

potential competition more attractive. P. Areeda & D. Turner,

supra, at 41-42; see also Berkey Photo, 603 F.2d at 294 ( applying

this principle to monopoly pricing).

Berkey Photo errs by straying from the Sherman Act's focus

on the problem of the creation, or attempted creation, of a

monopoly through monopoly leveraging. Yet the antitrust laws

seek to punish only the willful attainment and maintenance of a

17 We highlight that this case does not involve the special problem of

a regulated monopolist (usually a natural monopolist) that seeks to evade

regulations which limit profits in the monopoly market by creeping into adja-

cent, unregulated markets. Such a case might present very different issues

24a

monopoly, or the attempt to attain such a monopoly. If there is a

dangerous probability that a monopoly will be created by le verag-

ing conduct, then the conduct will be reached under the doctrine

of attempted monopoly.

V

We conclude that defendants’ CRSs were not essential

facilities, and we reject Berkey Photo's monopoly leveraging

doctrine.

The judgment of the district court is AFFIRMED.

25a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE CENTRAL DISTRICT OF CALIFORNIA

MDL No. 667-ER.

Civ. Nos. 86-0696-ER(Mcx).

86-0697-ER(Mcx), 84-5185-ER(Mcx) and

84-8918-ER(Tx).

In re AIR PASSENGER COMPUTER

RESERVATIONS SYSTEMS ANTITRUST LITIGATION.

CONTINENTAL AIR LINES, INC.. and

TEXAS INTERNATIONAL AIRI INES, INC..,

Plaintiffs,

7 ¥.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., and UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendants

NEW YORK AIRLINES, INC., Plaintiff,

V.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., and UNITED AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendants.

USAIR, INC., PACIFIC SOUTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., AIRCAL.

INC., OZARK AIR LINES, INC., MUSE AIR CORPORATION,

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC., MIDWAY AIRLINES, INC.,

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., and WESTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Plaintiffs,

Vs

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC., and UNITED AIR LINES, INC..,

Defendants.

AMERICAN AIRLINES, INC.

Counterclaimant,

Vv.

USAIR, INC., PACIFIC SOUTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., AIRCAL.

INC., OZARK AIR LINES, INC., MUSE AIR CORPORATION,

ALASKA AIRLINES, INC., MIDWAY AIRLINES, INC.,

NORTHWEST AIRLINES, INC., and WESTERN AIR LINES, INC.,

Counterdefendants.

26a

PACIFIC EXPRESS, INC., and PACIFIC EXPRESS HOLDING Co.,

Plaintiffs,

7.

UNITED AIR LINES, INC., Defendant.

August 25, 1988.

AMENDED MEMORANDUM DECISION

AND ORDER RE: MOTIONS FOR

SUMMARY JUDGMENT ON

SECTION TWO SHERMAN ACT CLAIMS

RAFEEDIE, District Judge.

The captioned case came on for hearing before this Court,

the Honorable Edward Rafeedie, United States District Judge,

presiding, on August 8, 1988. The following motions were heard;

Defendant United Airlines (“United”) and American Airlines’

(“American”) Motions for Summary Judgment on plaintiffs’

claims under Section 2 of the Sherman Act, 15 U.S.C. § 2, Plain-

tiff Continental's Motions for Partial Summary Judgment:

(1) that Defendants’ Computerized Reservations Systems are

Essential Facilities, (2) that Defendants did not allow Equal

Access to their Essential Facilities, and (3) that Defendants have

Monopoly Power.

The Court, having read and considered the Papers sub-

mitted, and the argument of counsel at the hearing, orders that

summary judgment should be granted in part, and denied in part,

for the reasons stated in this Memorandum Decision and Order.

FACTUAL BACKGROUND

This case arises out of defendants’ ownership of

Computerized Reservation Systems (“CRS”). A CRS is com-

posed of computer terminals and printers in travel agents’ offices

aie Chm vais

27a

which are telephonically linked to the vendor's computer. This

equipment enables the travel agent to send and receive air

(ransportation booking information, book flights and print out a

ticket. These CRSs are owned by various airlines and each system

contains flight information for airlines other than the vendor

airline. The vendor charges the travel agent for the use of its

System and they charge other airlines fees for booking air

(ransportation through the CRS.

Defendant American owns the world’s largest CRS,

SABRE, which is comprised of six IBM mainframe computers

that are connected to nearly 100,000 other devices. including

computer terminals, ticket printers, and boarding pass printers.

More than 11,000 travel agency locations use SABRE to handle

airline as well as hotel and car reservations for their clients.

SABRE contains schedules for more than 650 airlines and

projects more than one year into the future. SABRE processes

over 10 million reservations a month.

Defendant United was the first company to announce plans

to market a CRS. United's CRS, Apollo, has been the second

largest CRS in the world with an estimated market share of 23%

of all travel agency locations. In 1981, Apollo claimed a 39%

market share. SABRE’s market share is in the 30% range, down

from 40% in 1980. The market also includes SystemOne (or

SODA), owned by Eastern Airlines, PARS is run by TWA, and

DATAS II is owned by Delta.

Originally, travel agents paid a fee for CRS equipment

rental and other services, while airlines were not charged for

Participating in the CRS or for bookings. The vendor airline.

however, received substantial revenue form additional airline

business they received through “biasing” the System. Biasing is

the practice of displaying flight information in a way that favors

the vendor airline. The travel agent inputs its client’s preferences

and the CRS displays, in order of desirability, the various flights.

However, each system was biased, to differing degrees, so that

the desirability of the vendor’s flights would be artificially

inflated.

28a

In the late 1970’s, SABRE and Apollo began signing car-

riers to “cohost contracts” under which the contracting carrier's

product would receive preferential treatment in the CRS in return

for a fee paid on each booking which the carrier received through

the CRS. Beginning in 1981, vendor airlines began entering into

individually negotiated contracts with each airline, and booking

fees rose from $0.25 per booking up to $3.00 per booking.

In August 1984, the Civil Aeronautics Board (“CAB”)

established a number of rules governing the practices of CRS

vendors. Those rules required each CRS vendor to make available

an unbiased primary display, to charge all carriers Participating

in its CRS the same booking fees for the same level of service,

and to make CRS marketing data available for sale. The CAB

declined to regulate booking fees. 49 C_F.R. 255.

In response to the CAB rules, American announced it would

charge $1.75 for booking, and United followed with a $1.85

booking fee. Competing CRS vendors are currently charging the

following fees: the SystemOne fees are $1.75 and $2.00 for direct

access, the PARS fees are $1.75 and $2.00 for direct access, and

the DATAS II fees are $1.50 and $1.75 for direct access.

I, Standard for Summary Judgment

Rule 56 of the Federal Rules of Civil Procedure states that

the court shall enter judgment if “the pleadings, depositions [and]

affidavits show that there is no genuine issue as to any material

fact and that the moving Party is entitled to judgment as a matter

of law.” Fed.R.Civ.P. 56(c). The nonmoving party must show

there is a genuine issue of fact if the specific facts set forth by the

moving party, coupled with undisputed contextual or background

facts, are such that a rational or reasonable jury might return a

verdict in its favor based on the evidence. TW Electrical Ser-

vice v. Pacific Electrical Contractors, 809 F.2d 626 (9th Cir.

1987). The nonmoving Party can meet this burden with any kind

of evidence listed in Federal Rule 56(c), but the pleadings alone

are not enough. Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 US. 317, 106

S.Ct. 2548, 91 L.Ed.2d 265 (1986). All that is required at this

Stage is that sufficient evidence Supporting the claimed factual

29a

dispute be shown to require a factfinder to resolve the parties’

disputing versions of the truth at trial. 7] W. Electrical, 809 F.2d

at 630. The judge is not to weigh conflicting evidence with respect

to disputed material facts, nor Should the judge make credibility

determinations with respect to statements in the affidavits. At

Summary judgment, the judge must view the evidence in the light

most favorable to the nonmoving party. /d.

The Supreme Court has plainly stated that the standard for

summary judgment applies equally to antitrust cases as it does to

any other case. Matsushita Electric Industrial Co. v. Zenith Radio

Corp., 475 U.S. 574, 106 S.Ct. 1348, 89 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986).

Il. Essential Facilities Doctrine!

The essential facilities doctrine imposes on a business that

controls an essential facility the obligation to provide its com-

petitors reasonable access to that facility. Byars v. Bluff City News

Co., 609 F.2d 843, 856 (6th Cir. 1979). Anessential facility is one

which cannot be reasonably duplicated and to which access is

necessary if one wishes to compete. Fishman v. Estate of Wirtz,

807 F.2d 520, 539 (7th Cir. 1986). A refusal to deal in this context

violates section 2 because control of an essential facility can

“extend monopoly power from one stage of production to another.

and from one market into another.” MCI Communications

Corp. v. American Tel. & Tel. Co., 708 F.2d 1081, 1132 (7th Cir.

1983).

A facility or resource is “essential” when competitors must

have access to the facility to meaningfully be able to compete

with the firm controlling the facility. Holmes, 1987 Antitrust Law

Handbook, section 2.06, at 175. The doctrine has been applied to

electric transmission lines, football and basketball stadiums,

downhill ski hills, natural £as pipelines, and local telephone

facilities. To be essential, “‘a facility need not be indispensable; it

is sufficient if duplication of the facility would be economically

1 For the sake of simplicity this section will refer only to American and

SABRE. There are no relevant factual distinctions between the claims against

United and American for purposes of the essential facilities doctrine

30a

infeasible and if denial of its use inflicts a severe handicap on

potential market entrants.” Fishman, 807 F.2d at 539 (quoting,

Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982, 992 (D.C. Cir. 1977),

cert. denied, 436 U.S. 956, 98 S.Ct. 3069, 57 L.Ed.2d 1121

(1978)). “The point of the essential facilities doctrine is that a

potential market entrant should not be forced simultaneously to

enter a second market, with its own large capital requirements.”

Fishman, 807 F.2d at 540. A participant in the downstream

market, who also controls a facility which is deemed essential to

the downstream market, has the power to increase the costs of

market entry through its control of the essential facility. The

facility owner has the power to monopolize the market to which

his facility is the “bottleneck.” /d.; Gamco, Inc. v. Providence

Fruit & Produce Bldg., Inc., 194 F.2d 484, 487 (Ist Cir.), cert.

denied, 344 U.S. 817, 73 S.Ct. 11, 97 L.Ed. 636 (1952).

Plaintiff's contend that SABRE is an essential facility for

domestic airlines; that is, SABRE confers exclusive access to 4

large number of travel agents, and all domestic airlines are

dependent on SABRE because no airlines can afford to forgo

access to the SABRE travel agents, therefore, rival CRSs are not

substitutes for SABRE. It is argued that American, as the major

CRS vendor, holds all other airlines captive by virtue of the

essential need for access to the SABRE travel agents.

American contends that this is simply not an essential

facilities case. In a normal case brought under this doctrine, the

facility at issue constitutes a bottleneck to competition in the

downstream market. Control of the bottleneck by a competitor

can foreclose competition in the underlying market. For example,

in United States v. Terminal R.R. Ass'n, 224 U.S. 383, 32 S.Ct.

507, 56 L.Ed. 810 (1912), the railroad combination’s denial of the

use of its terminal facilities to non-member railroads would have

foreclosed “any other reasonable means of entering the city” to

the non-members, making it impossible to gain access to

St. Louis. In the MCI case, foreclosure of access to local

telephone distribution channels precluded MCI from competing

in the long distance telephone service market because access to

the local distribution channels is necessary to providing long

s «ail

3la

distance service. The court stated that, given present technology,

local telephone service is generally regarded as a natural

monopoly and is regulated as such. Therefore, it would not be

economically feasible for MCI to duplicate AT & T’s local dis-

tribution facilities. Such duplication would involve laying mil-

lions of miles of cable and line to individual homes and

businesses, and regulatory authorization could not be obtained for

such an uneconomical duplication. MC/, 708 F.2d at 1133.

Similarly, in Otter Tail Power Co. v. United States, 410 U.S. 366,

93 S.Ct. 1022, 35 L.Ed.2d 359 (1973), a regulated electric utility

refused to sell power wholesale, or to transmit power purchased

from other sources to municipalities which had chosen to own

their own retail distribution systems. The electric utility’s facility

for transmitting electric power was essential to competition in the

downstream market for the retail distribution of electric power.

Again, the facility was along the lines of a natural monopoly. That

is, duplication of the facility would be an inefficient waste of

resources where the one facility is all that is needed, absent

anticompetitive conduct by the facility owner with respect to a

downstream market. The antitrust laws will relieve a competitor

of the need to build its own production facilities only where the

market will not support more than one. Fishman, 807 F.2d at 574

(Easterbrook, dissenting). See, Consolidated Gas Co. of Fla. v.

City Gas Co. of Fla., 665 F. Supp. 1493 (S.D.Fla.1987) (a gas

pipeline was deemed essential based upon the increased costs of

gas which would be caused by the uneconomical duplication of

an existing pipeline).

In Fishman, the Seventh Circuit upheld the district court’s

finding that the Chicago Stadium was the only stadium in the

Chicago Metropolitan area which was suitable for the exhibition

of professional basketball, and that it could not feasibly be dupli-

cated by plaintiffs. Since building a new stadium would cost

$19 million, and the basketball franchise was substantially less

expensive than a stadium, the court held that duplication of the

facility would be unreasonable. On this basis, the court held that

the Chicago Stadium was essential to competition in the market

for the exhibition of professional basketball in Chicago. Fishman,

807 F.2d 539-40. See, Hecht v. Pro-Football, Inc., 570 F.2d 982

32a

(D.C. Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 436 U.S. 956, 98 S.Ct. 3069, 57

L.Ed.2d 1121 (1978) (football stadium in Washington D.C.

deemed essential to market for professional football exhibition).

In this case, there are channels of distribution other than

SABRE because there are computerized reservation systems in

competition with SABRE. Thus, plaintiffs can look to other

systems for alternative channels of distribution and are not forced

to enter the market for CRSs in order to compete in the

_ downstream market of airline transportation. Nevertheless, plain-

tiffs claim that SABRE is essential because the other CRSs are

not effective substitutes for SABRE.

Under ideal market conditions, the absence of an airline

from SABRE would decrease SABRE’s attractiveness to travel

agents and cause them to seek out better systems. Continental,

however, points to a number of market imperfections which

allegedly impair better CRSs from attracting SABRE agents.

American’s contracts with SABRE travel agents contain

provisions which plaintiffs argue make it very difficult for an

agent to switch CRS systems. The contracts contain a SABRE

usage clause (“parity of usage rule”)?, a liquidated damages

provision and roll-over provisions. American’s “minimum of

parity” rule required new subscribers to have at least as many

SABRE Computerized Reservation Terminals (“CRTs”) as there

are non-SABRE CRTs at each location.? American also regularly

employ five year term contracts which contained a provision

requiring a SABRE agent to sign a new five year contract when-

ever any new piece of equipment is installed or even replaced

during the life of the existing contract. Finally, the liquidated

damages provision in the contracts (installed after the anti-bias

rules became effective) is (typically) as follows; 80% of the

agent’s contract fee plus 200 (the average monthly segment

booking per SABRE CRT) multiplied by the $1.75 segment fee

2 The minimum of parity ruled was outlawed by the CAB in 1984.

3 United had a 95% rule, which required 95% of United's bookings

through an Apollo agent to be made through Apollo.

a hl a

33a

multiplied by the number of SABRE CRTs in place multiplied by

the remaining months of the contract.

Plaintiffs continue the attack by arguing that travel agents

have strong economic incentives to carry only one CRS. First, the

installation of a CRS, or additional CRSs, imposes significant

costs on the agency in terms of both equipment and training. For

example, the average SABRE and Apollo subscriber fees per year

per agency location (not agency) in 1986 were $10,596 and

$12,763, respectively. Thus, agents are unlikely to switch to

another CRS unless the costs of conversion are paid for by the

new vendor. Second, the minimum of parity rule constitutes a

contractual restriction on the Subscribing agents use of other

CRSs.

Finally, plaintiffs point out that the airline industry has

always been characterized by narrow operating margins, there-

fore, even slight reductions in sales have a disproportionately

adverse impact on profits and the carrier’s ability to compete.

These contractual provisions and the structure of the air

transportation market are claimed to prevent effective competi-

tion in the CRS market, and consequently, justify plaintiffs’

argument that SABRE is an essential facility to the air transpor-

tation market despite the existence of competing CRSs. Plaintiffs’

point to the conclusions of government regulatory bodies and

Judge Posner’s opinion for the court in United Airlines, Inc. v.

C.A.B., 766 F.2d 1107 (7th Cir. 1985) where the court upheld the

CAB’s antibias rue. In United, the court wrote:

Unless an airline limits its Operations to one small

region, it must, whether or not it has its own compu-

terized reservation system, persuade several of the

largest airlines to list its flights in their [CRS] systems

if it is to have a fair chance of success. It is thus

dependent for an essential facility on what may be its

principal competitors. /d. at 1114.

Judge Posner's opinion has a number of helpful observa-

tions. First, itis necessary to put the case in its proper perspective.

34a

The Seventh Circuit held, as a matter of administrative law, that

the CAB’s exercise of rulemaking authority was within the scope

delegated by Congress through the Federal Trade Commission

Act, section 5, as amended 15 U.S.C. § 45, and the Federal Avia-

tion Act of 1958, section 411, 49 U.S.C. App. § 1381. Under these

Statutory provisions the CAB can forbid anticompetitive practices

“before they become serious enough to violate the Sherman Act.”

United, 766 F.2d at 1114. The court ruled that the Board’s ruling

was “plausible, if not compelling, [and its] rules can not be set

aside as arbitrary and capricious.” Jd. at 1116. Therefore, the

Seventh Circuit did not rule that Apollo was an essential facility,

it merely held that the Board’s analysis was not arbitrary and

capricious in light of its statutory authority. Thus, the Board has

the power to outlaw conduct which may restrain competition.

More interesting, however, are Judge Posner’s comments on

the CRS market:

If the owner of a computerized reservation system

used the system to weaken competition from other

airlines, it is a little hard to see why those airlines

would not simply switch their patronage to a compet-

ing system that was not biased against them. Competi-

tion would (one might have thought) force at least

some of the owners of competing systems to offer

unbiased listings in order to expand the market for

their systems. Even if every airline owner refused,

because of the impact on its air transportation

revenues, to give equal prominence to a competitor's

flights, there is nothing to stop independent companies

from offering a computerized reservation system with

no such inhibitions—and one does.

The court, however, goes on to state that an airline needs to be

listed “‘at least in the largest” CRSs. “Of course, if the owner of

a System charges such a high price that no competing airline will

pay it, the owner is hurt. It not only loses revenues from that

airline; its system will be worth less to travel agents if it contains

less information. But the owner may be able to extract a high

enough price from competitors to slow their growth; indeed, that

35a

may be the purpose of the high prices.” /d. at 1115. In sum, the

CRS vendor will charge as high a price as it can without losing

Participating airlines (and thereby decreasing the attractiveness

of its’ CRS). Similarly, with respect to display bias, the CRS

vendor “hope[s] to gain more business by complicating the

marketing of competing services than it would lose to travel

agents by providing them with less flight information.” /d.

The question is whether the entry barriers to a competing

CRS (with respect to access to SABRE agents) are sufficient to

qualify SABRE as an essential facility. An entry barrier is either

(a) “a condition that makes the long run costs of a new entrant

into the market higher than the long run costs of the existing firms

in the market”, or more broadly, (b) “heavy Start-up costs

required for entry into the market.” Posner, Economic Analysis of

Law, section 10.9, p. 290 (3rd ed. 1986). In a hypothetical market

without any entry barriers, a seller charging more than his mar-

ginal costs (which includes “competitive profits”—profits suffi-

cient to maintain the seller’s investment in the industry) reaps

“monopoly profits” which will attract increased output in the

form of new firms entering the market and increased Output from

firms already in the market. Entry barriers, however, serve to

Stave off increased industry output beyond the threshold point

established in the hypothetical market: that point being when a

seller's price is greater than his marginal costs. The seller's ability

to reap monopoly profits depends upon the significance of the

entry barriers. In this case, the contractual provisions of the

SABRE leases raise the cost of entering the market for access to

SABRE agents. However, the entry barriers do not foreclose

competition in the market. Rather, they raise the cost of entry to

the extent that it is expensive for a travel agent to attain dual-CRS

Capacity.

The significance of the entry barriers, however, are exag-

gerated by plaintiffs. Assuming that American uses SABRE to

weaken competition in the air transportation market by providing

biased information, or by charging exorbitant booking fees, there

will be an increased incentive for travel agents to attain dual or

multiple CRS capability. Moreover, American’s anticompetitive

36a

action will create an incentive for other CRSs to reduce bias

and/or booking fees in an attempt to capture the SABRE agent

market. The costs of making SABRE agents dual-CRS-capable

can be shared by the agents, airlines and CRS vendors, all of

whom have an incentive to widen the market if SABRE is an

unattractive product.

While American may be able to extract supracompetitive

booking fees in the CRS market, and such price increases do

create entry barriers in the air transportation market by raising

competitors’ costs, the entry barrier in the air transportation

market is not significant enough to create a danger of monopo-

lization under the circumstances. Just because defendant may be

extracting monopoly profits in one market does not inevitably

lead to the conclusion that its power in an affected market is-also

significant enough to confer monopoly power in the related

market.

Under Section 2 of the Sherman Act, a firm must provide

reasonabie access to an essential facility in order to prevent that

firm from extending its monopoly power from one market into

another. MCI, 708 F.2d at 1132. The evil at which the doctrine is

aimed is monopolization of the underlying market. In Monsanto

Co. v. Spray-Rite Service Corp., 465 U.S. 752, 104 S.Ct. 1464,

79 L.Ed.2d 775 (1984), the Court recognized that the Sherman

Act contains a “basic distinction between concerted and inde-

pendent action,” and that distinction is embodied in sections |

and 2 of the Act. In Copperweld Corp v. Independence Tube

Corp., 467 U.S. 752, 104 S.Ct. 2739, 81 L.Ed.2d 628 (1984), the

Court considered the policy differences between claims brought

under section 1 and section 2 of the Sherman Act. Section 2

provides:

Every person who shall monopolize, or attempt to

monopolize, or combine or conspire with any other

person or persons, to monopolize any part of the trade

or commerce among the several States . . . shall be

deemed guilty of a felony. 15 U.S.C. § 2.

37a

In contrast, section | provides: “[e]very contract, combination in

the form of trust or otherwise, or conspiracy, in restraint of trade

or commerce among the several States . . . is declared to be

illegal...” 15 U.S.C. § 1.

The “conduct of a Single firm is governed by section 2 alone

and is unlawful only when it threatens actual monopolization.”

Copperweld, 467 U.S. at 767, 104 S.Ct. at 2739, “It is not enough

that a single firm appears to ‘restrain trade’ unreasonably, for

even a vigorous competitor may leave that impression.” Jd. Par-

tially because “it is sometimes difficult to distinguish robust

competition from conduct with long-run anticompetitive effects,

Congress authorized Sherman Act scrutiny of single firms only

when they pose a danger of monopolization.” Id. at 767-68,

104 S.Ct. at 2740: The Jeanery, Inc. v. James Jeans, Inc.,

849 F.2d 1148 (9th Cir. 1988) (“a single firm’s conduct, absent

the danger of monopolization, is not the object of antitrust

scrutiny because to treat it with such scrutiny would heighten ‘the

risk that the antitrust laws will dampen the competitive zeal of a

Single aggressive entrepreneur.’”)

The essential facilities doctrine must be tied to the particular

Statutory provision under which relief js sought. The doctrine

itself is an abstraction designed to assist courts in determining

Whether the statute has been violated. The Starting point of

Statutory construction is the language of the statute itself.

Landreth Timber Co. vy. Landreth, 471 U.S. 681, 105 S.Ct. 2297,

2301, 85 L.Ed.2d 692 (1985); United States v. Hoffman, 794 F.2d

1429, 1431-32 (9th Cir. 1986). The plain meaning of the statute

is controlling “absent a clearly expressed Congressional intention

to the contrary.” Hoffman, 794 F.2d at 1432 (citing, North

Dakota v, United States, 460 U.S. 300, 312, 103 S.Ct. 1095, 1102,

75 L.Ed.2d 77 (1983)). While section i of the Act precludes

conspiracies in “restraint of trade,” section 2 is targeted at

“monopolization.” As the Supreme Court has stated, the section 2

Standard is less stringent than section | because it is often difficult

for a court to distinguish between vigorous competition and

anticompetitive conduct when analyzing the actions of a Single

firm. Copperweld, 467 U.S. at 768, 104 S.Ct. at 2740. Thus, the

38a

Sherman Act authorizes scrutiny of single firms only when they

pose a danger of monopolization. /d. Therefore, when applying

the essential facilities doctrine in the context of section 2 of the

Sherman Act, a facility should be deemed essential to the

downstream market only where control of the facility by a com-

petitor poses a danger of monopolization of the downstream

market.

In this case, there is no danger that American will monopo-

lize the market for air transportation. Looking at the facts in a

light most favorable to the plaintiffs, American’s conduct may

restrain trade4, but it does not threaten monopolization. Even if

“entry barriers” to accessing SABRE agents are substantial

enough to preclude a single airline from withdrawing from

SABRE because SABRE agents will not look to other CRSs (or

other sources of information) when making reservations, there is

no danger that American will monopolize the air transportation

market. As Judge Posner recognized, American is restrained by

the existence of competing CRSs. Although there are costs (entry

barriers) associated with leasing more than one CRS, these costs

only partially insulate American from competition in the SABRE

agent market. “[I]f the owner of a system charges such a high

price that no competing airline will pay it, the owner is hurt. It

not only loses revenues from that airline; its system will be worth

less to travel agents if it contains less information.” Although the

CRS owner may be able to “extract a high enough price from

competitors to slow their growth,” such a restraint of trade does

not violate section 2 of the Act unless it poses a danger of

monopolization. The existence of competing CRSs constitute a

substitute for SABRE and constrain American’s ability to weaken

competition in the air transportation market.

4 That is, American may be able to raise its rival's costs through

imposing monopoly prices in a related market. While the effect in the air

transportation market may be enough to “restrain trade”, it is not enough to

create a danger of monopolization.

5 The parties have noted that under this court's essential facilities

analysis, American's power was deemed to be dissipated by the existence of

competing CRSs, while under the monopoly power and relevant market analysis,

the court has found a factual issue as to whether American's market power is

eee

29a

American has never had more than a 14 percent share of the

air transportation market, Although market share is, in itself, an

insufficient indicator of market power, such a minimal share

precludes a reasonable jury from finding monopolization. “There

is Substantial merit in a presumption that market shares below S()

or 60 percent do not constitute [market] power.” P. Areeda &

H. Hovenkamp, Antitrust Law, section 518.3c (1986 Supp.)

(hereinafter P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp). A claim that a twelve

to fourteen percent market share confers monopoly power is

absurd, absent a showing that the air transportation market is

characterized by a low elasticity of demand or supply. The large

number of competing airlines belies any contention that the

industry is faced with low elasticity of supply. The court has also

been presented with uncontroverted evidence that the airline

industry is highly competitive from the demand side.

The USAir plaintiffs have argued that requiring a dangerous

probability of successful monopolization of the underlying

market renders the doctrine Superfluous. This argument is not

well taken. First, whenever courts have applied the doctrine, the

facility at issue constituted a bottleneck to competition in the

underlying market which created a danger that the facility owner

would monopolize the underlying market.

Moreover, a competitor's failure to provide its competitors

with access to a facility does not constitute “anticompetitive

conduct” absent an essential facilities doctrine. The general rule

is that “even a firm with monopoly power has no general duty to

engage in a joint marketing program with a competitor.” Aspen

Skiing Co. v. Aspen Highlands Skiing Corp., 472 U.S. 585, 600,

105 S.Ct. 2847, 2856, 86 L.Ed.2d 467 (1985). Thus, a firm with

~ monopoly power has no general duty to help competitors by

“pulling its competitive punches.” Olympia Equip. Leasing v.

Western Union Tel., 797 F.2d 370. 375 (7th Cir. 1986), cert.

denied, 480 U.S. 934, 107-S.Ct. 1574, 94 L.Ed.2d 765 (1987).

limited by the existence of competing CRSs. This distinction is based upon the

different markets at issue: The air transportation market and the CRS or SABRE

market.

40a

However, in some circumstances, failure to cooperate with

a competitor may indicate probable anticompetitive effect where

the monopolist lacks a business justification for its action. Aspen,

105 S.Ct. at 2859-60; Olympia, 797 F.2d at 378. The particular

circumstances in which firms are required to provide a helping

held to its competitors are not well defined in antitrust law. The

essential facilities doctrine can be interpreted as a set of

requirements® triggering a competitor's obligation to cooperate

with a competitor. Absent the essential facilities doctrine, a firm's

refusal to provide its competitors with access to its facility would

not constitute anticompetitive conduct.

Therefore, requiring plaintiffs to show that denial of access

to an essential facility creates a danger of monopolization does

not render the essential facilities doctrine superfluous. Rather, the

doctrine established the conditions for requiring a firm to

cooperate with its competitors and thereby rendering the failure

to provide reasonable access an anticompetitive act under sec-

tion 2. Moreover, satisfaction of the doctrine’s four internal

requirements eliminates the need to prove that the firm had a

specific intent to monopolize.

II. Monopolization’

A. Relevant Service Market

A determination of the relevant market usually requires an

inquiry into the nature of the product, and the geographical area

of effective competition. Oahu Gas Serv., Inc. v. Pacific

Resources, Inc., 838 F.2d 360, 364 (9th Cir. 1988). Plaintiffs

6 The following elements have been deemed necessary to establish

liability under the essential facilities doctrine: (1) control of the essential facility

by a monopolist; (2) a competitor's inability to practically or reasonably duphi-

cate the essential facility; (3) the denial of the use of a facility to a competitor;

and (4) the feasibility of providing the facility. Ferguson v. Greater Pocatello

Chamber of Commerce, 848 F.2d 976, 983 (9th Cir. 1988).

7 This section will refer only to defendant American Airlines for the

sake of simplicity. The analysis is equally applicable to defendant United

Airlines.

4la

claim that the relevant market in this case is the nationwide

market for access to SABRE agents. Defendants argue that the

relevant service market is the nationwide market for access to all

CRS automated travel agents.

A relevant service market is the smallest service market for

which (1) the elasticity of demand and (2) the elasticity of supply

are sufficiently low that a firm with 100% of that market could

profitably reduce output and increase price. “What is called for

is an appraisal of the ‘Cross-elasticity’ of demand in the trade.”

Fount-Wip, Inc. v. Reddi-Wip, Inc., 568 F.2d 1296, 130] (9th Cir.

1978). Thus, products and services which are “reasonably inter-

changeable” for the same or similar uses normally should be

included in the same product market for antitrust purposes.

Kaplan v. Burroughs Corp., 611 F.2d 286, 291 (9th Cir. 1979).

A particular brand may define a relevant market; ‘‘a relevant

submarket in one’s own Products will exist if such a submarket

is (a) sufficiently distinct in commercial reality, and (b) is rela-

tively immune from competition of substitutes, or (c) was ac-

quired by means that show an attempt to monpolize.” United

States v. CBS, Inc., 459 F. Supp. 832 (C.D. Cal. 1978). Asa legal

matter, a firm’s own product can constitute a distinct market only

where the product is “so unique or so dominant” in the market

that control over the product would virtually assure that competi-

lion in the market would be “destroyed.” Bushie v. Stenocord

Corp., 460 F.2d 116, 121 (9th Cir. 1972).

A “market” is “any grouping of sales whose sellers .

could raise prices significantly above the competitive level. If the

Sales of other producers substantially constrain the price-increas-

ing ability of the [seller], they are part of the market.” P. Areeda &

H. Hovenkamp, at 31i-12. It is true that products differing in

brand name may have certain physical or service based differen-

ces which may be substantial. Furthermore, brand recognition

may be substantial in many cases. Consequently, differentiated

products are not perfectly interchangeable for consumers.

“Unlike a perfectly competitive firm, a producer of a successfully

differentiated product can raise his price above that of his rivals

without losing all of his sales.” P Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, at

42a

316. The question is whether “the degree of power inherent in

each differentiated product is sufficient to make each brand a

separate market for . .. monopolization purposes? The answer is

almost uniformly negative.” /d. at 316-17. The reason is, from a

policy perspective, legal rules limiting a monopolist cease to

make sense when applied to every producer uf a differentiated

product. From an economic perspective, producers engage in

product differentiation because they are involved in a highly

competitive market and are merely attempting to compete with

other brands. Product differentiation is a public good created by

competitive markets, and not an indication that competition is

lacking in the product market. /d.

The ultimate question is whether other existing or potential

CRSs significantly constrain the price-raising power of

American. If the answer is yes, then these other CRSs must be

grouped in the same “market” as SABRE.® However, if the other

CRSs do not impair SABRE’s ability to control prices or exclude

competition, then the other CRSs can not be viewed as substitutes

for SABRE.

The Supreme Court has suggested the following factors

when determining the relevant market:

The boundaries of such a submarket? may be deter-

mined by examining such practical indicia as industry

or public recognition of the submarket as a separate

economic entity, the product’s peculiar characteristics

and uses, unique production facilities, distinct cus-

tomers, distinct prices, sensitivity to price changes,

and specialized vendors.

8 This “market” would be the market for access to CRS-automated

travel agents.

9 The term “submarket” is used to refer to a distinct and economically

relevant “market” which is drawn from a broader market. The term submarket

will not be used in this memorandum because the prefix “sub” merely creates

confusion and is superfluous. P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, at 312.

43a

Brown Shoe v. United States, 370 U.S. 294, 325, 82 S.Ct. 1502,

1524, 8 L.Ed.2d 510 (1961); Kaplan, 611 F.2d at 292-93. Con-

tinental supports its claim that access to SABRE agents is a

distinct service market by applying these factors.

There is evidence that the industry recognizes access to

SABRE as a separate service from access to other CRSs. The fact

that almost all airlines Participate in virtually all CRSs is evidence

that each airline perceives each CRS as a different service.

Moreover, when United, TWA and American raised their booking

fee to $1.75, no airline elected to Participate in one of the lower

priced CRSs (Eastern’s SystemOne and Delta’s DATAS II had

rates of $.75) and bypass Apollo or SABRE. Rather, all airlines

continued to participate in both Systems. Evidence that American

engaged in price discrimination prior to enactment of the 1984

CAB rules is also evidence that Carries perceive the different

CRSs as constituting different services. Finally, Continental

points to evidence that American set its booking fees without

regard to prices set by other CRS vendors. Despite disparity in

pricing, demand for access to SABRE has not gone down. The

apparent reason, according to Continental, for the low elasticity

of demand is that access to SABRE provides a carrier with

Virtually the only practical access to SABRE-automated travel

agents, since more than 90% of all SABRE agents only use

SABRE.

The evidence amassed by Continental, however, does not

Support its contention that a reasonable jury could not find a

broader market (such as the market for access to all CRS-

automated travel agents) to be relevant in this case. Market

definition is essentially a question of fact dependent upon the

Special characteristics of the industry involved. Oahu, 838 F.2d

at 363 (citations omitted). The evidence provided does not com-

pel a factfinder to conclude that other CRSs do not constrain

American when it establishes booking fees for SABRE.

Continental's argument is based upon a Static reading of the

CRS market. The historical fact that almost ali SABRE agents

have only one CRS and that almost all Carriers participate in

Virtually all of the major CRSs is not indicative of market power.

44a

The apparent low elasticity of demand is meaningless unless it is

complemented by low elasticity of supply.

[Djefining a market. . . on the basis of demand con-

siderations alone is erroneous. The function of defin-

ing a market is to determine that grouping of sales

which, if controlled by a single firm . . ., could charge

noncompetitive prices. But that is not possible if either

demand or supply elasticity are high. Exploitative

prices cannot be maintained on, say, children’s shoes,

if high prices induce consumers to shift to other

products or induce producers of men’s or women’s

shoes to make children’s shoes.

P. Areeda & H. Hovenkamp, at 319.

Thus, although current market conditions suggest low

demand elasticity, the existence of alternative channels of dis-

tribution such as competing CRSs indicate high supply elasticity.

CRSs such as Apollo, PARS, DATAS II, and SystemOne provide

essentially the same services as SABRE, except that SABRE is

used in more travel agencies than the other CRSs. If SABRE

began charging supracompetitive prices, then airlines would

abandon SABRE, causing SABRE-automated travel agents to

look to other CRSs. The existence of the other CRSs, therefore,

constrain American's ability to set supracompetitive prices for

SABRE. The existence of alternative CRSs suggests high supply

elasticity, so there exists at least a factual dispute as to whether

the relevant market is “‘access to SABRE agents.”

The more interesting question is whether the court should

characterize the market for CRS access as the relevant market as

a matter of law. Although market definition is a factual matter, it

is often properly decided on summary judgment because issues

of market definition do not involve questions of motive or intent.

General Business Systems v. North American Phillips Corp.,

699 F.2d 965 (9th Cir. 1983) (affirming granting of summary

judgment for failure to present evidence of a relevant market).

The question is whether a reasonable jury could conclude that

45a

access to SABRE agents is a distinct service market, when viewed

in the light most favorable to plaintiffs

Entry Barriers to Accessing SABRE-Agents

Plaintiffs have presented evidence that certain entry barriers

preclude other CRS vendors from competing with American for

access to SABRE agents. The existence of entry barriers suggest

that elasticity of supply is low, despite the presence of alternative

distribution channels. This conclusion is based upon the alleged

“captive customers” relationship between SABRE and the

SABRE-automated agents, maintained through long-term con-

tracts and high liquidated damage clauses.

As stated earlier, plaintiffs argue that access to SABRE-

automated agents is impaired through contractual provisions and

the costs involved in making travel agents dual-CRS-capable. In

defining a “market” the court must look to all products which

substantially constrain the price-setting ability of the seller. Even

if certain SABRE agents are stuck with long term contracts,

American must make its product attractive to new travel agencies,

SABRE agents whose contracts are expiring, and SABRE agents

who can afford the extra expense of obtaining a second CRS.

SABRE-automated agents can become ex-SABRE-automated

agents as their contracts expire, or as they chose to become dual-

CRS-capable. Competing CRSs can quickly expand output

merely by setting up a terminal at the travel agent's office. Indeed,

the virtual nonexistence of start-up costs!° would permit a com-

peting CRS to bear some of the financial burden of making a

SABRE-agent dual CRS capable.

Defendants argue that plaintiffs’ claim that SABRE is a

separate market for purposes of section 2 must be based upon a

further, unstated, assumption: that SABRE-automated travel

agents have a “captive” group of customers who buy all their air

transportation through the SABRE-agents, even if the SABRE-

agents do not provide a competitive level of service. If consumers

10 Since competing CRS vendors already exist, there is no need for

firms to start from the ground up.

46a

are not somehow held captive by their travel agents, then basic

economic theory holds that they will seek out the best service

available. There is no evidence that consumers are held captive

by travel agents. The consumer's freedom effects the entire sys-

tem so that travel agents will demand better service from its CRS

vendor, and if such service is not given, the agent will either seck

alternative methods for booking flights (other CRSs, direct book-

ing by telephone, etc.), or go out of business and make way for

more competitive travel agents. This competitive pressure con-

strains American from charging supracompetitive prices to the

carriers because the CRS vendor needs to provide access to its

CRS in order to make the service attractive to travel agents.

Therefore, as long as the consumer is not held captive, the CRS

vendor must compete with other CRS vendors. In this case, there

is no evidence that consumers are held captive by travel agents.

Defendants’ theory accurately shows that American is con-

Strained by the existence of competing CRSs. However, the

question is not whether there is any form of constraint, but

whether American is precluded from charging monopoly prices.

While entry barriers exist and impose additional costs for entering

the market, the difficult factual question is whether the barriers

ure high enough to allow monopoly pricing. American may be

able to extract booking fees high enough to slow the growth of

their airline competitors, but low enough to make participation in

the system cost efficient for the carrier. See, United Airlines vy.

C.A.B., 766 F.2d at 1114. The test for monopoly pricing is not

whether participation in the system is cost efficient for the carrier

(it must be, otherwise the carrier would not participate), but

whether the price is significantly higher than the seller’s marginal

cost. The existence of entry barriers for access to SABRE agents

creates a material issue of fact as to whether other CRSs are

effective substitutes for access to SABRE.

The evidence, interpreted in a light most favorable to plain-

tiff, could permit a reasonable jury to conclude that SABRE is a

separate service market because there is evidence that airlines

view each CRS as offering a unique service: access to a particular

set of travel agents. A reasonable jury may conclude from the

i.e

47a

evidence that SABRE automated agents are locked into SABRE

(through contractual provisions) and that American is free to

extract supracompetitive booking fees from Participating airlines,

although the fees are not high enough to justify abandoning the

System. Thus, defendants are able to set booking fees at a

supracompetitive rate, and consumers will not abandon SABRE

agents because the travel agency's services are not effected since

Supracompetitive prices are high enough to slow an airlines

growth, but low enough to remain economically cost-efficient for

the airlines.

B. Elements of Monopolization

The elements of monopolization under section 2 of the

Sherman Act are (1) possession of monopoly power in a relevant

market; (2) wilful acquisition or maintenance (“use”) of that

power, and (3) casual antitrust injury. Catlin v. Washington Ener-

gy Co., 791 F.2d 1343, 1347 (9th Cir. 1986) (citations omitted).

1, Monopoly Power

Monopoly power focuses generally on a firm's ability to

“control prices or exclude competition.” Oahu, 838 F.2d at 366

(citations omitted). Courts have employed the following eviden-

liary methods in order to determine whether a defendant has

market power in the relevant market; proof that defendant

accounts for a high percentage of total firm sales within the

market (“market share”), defendant's actual exercise of price

leadership control over the industry, affirmative actions taken by

defendant that has excluded actual or potential competitors, profit

levels, barriers to competition in the industry that would thwart

new entry at the expansion of existing competitors, and historical

trends within the industry. Holmes, supra, at 148-49,

Inquiries in this area often depend heavily upon market

Share and barriers to entry. Oahu, 838 F.2d at 366. “A firm with

a high market share may be able to exert market power in the short

run, but ‘[s]ubstantial market power can persist only if there are

Significant and continuing barriers to entry.” /d. (quoting,

2 P. Areeda & D. Turner, Antitrust Law, at section 505). A high

48a

market share will not raise an inference of market power in a

market with low entry barriers or other evidence of defendant's

inability to control prices or exclude competitors. Oahu, 838 F.2d

at 366. “By the same token, ‘{a] declining market share may

reflect an absence of market power, but it does not foreclose a

finding of such power.’” /d. (quoting, Greyhound Computer

Corp. v. International Business Machines Corp., 559 F.2d 488,

496 n.18 (9th Cir. 1977), cert. denied, 434 U.S. 1040, 98 S.Ct.

782, 54 L.Ed.2d 790 (1978)).

Market share is used as a surrogate for information which,

if available, would provide a more accurate assessment of a firm's

market power. Thus, if a firm’s market elasticities (supply and

demand) could be shown directly, there would be no need for

extrapolating market power from market share. Landes & Posner,

Market Power in Antitrust Cases, 94 Harv.L.Rev. 938, 953

(1981). If a firm's marginal cost could be ascertained, its exercise

of market power would be revealed merely by subtracting the

price actually charged from the marginal cost of production. /d.

These figures, however, are notoriously difficult (if not impos-

sible) to determine. Therefore, courts look to market share in a

relevant market as an effective surrogate for direct measurement

of market power. P. Areeda & D. Turner, section 507, at 330-31. :

If the relevant market may be access to SABRE agents, then

defendant controls 100% of the market, and included in the

determination of “relevant market” is a finding that other CRSs

may not be effective substitutes for SABRE. Thus, there is a

material issue of fact as to whether SABRE has market power

because there is a material issue as to whether access to SABRE

automated agents is a relevant market.

If the relevant market is the national CRS market, then

plaintiffs must show that American has market power despite its

relatively small share of the market. SABRE’s share of Com-

puterized Reservation Terminals has never exceeded 44.2%, and

laa cel

49a

it appears to be declining.!! Plaintiffs argue, however, that the

market share figures do not accurately represent American’s

market power. Thus, plaintiffs point to the actual exercise of

market power as evidence of American's monopoly power.

Evidence of Market Power

First of all, there is direct evidence of the defendants’

exercise of monopoly power in the CRS market. The recent

Department of Transportation Report shows that defendants price

booking fees above marginal cost. The report indicates that

SABRE'’s booking fees equal 233 percent of their average costs

for producing reservations during 1986, and Apollo's booking fee

constitutes 192 percent of its costs for producing reservations.

These results, however, do not mandate a finding of market

power, as a matter of law, because the Report itself details the

complications in allocating costs between booking transactions

and supporting agency subscribers. Nevertheless, these factual

findings preclude the court from finding, as a matter of law, that

defendants do not have market power in the CRS market.

Plaintiffs also point to evidence that American engaged in

price discrimination prior to the enactment of the 1984 CAB

rules.!? Price discrimination is “a term that economists use to

describe the practice of Selling the same product to different

customers at different prices even though the cost of sale is the

same to each of them.” R. Posner, Antitrust Law, 63 (1976). Price

discrimination in sales of the same product can not last long in a

competitive market because other sellers of the same product

ll CRS Vendors’ Shares of CRTs

Year SABRE _ Apollo SystemOne Pars DATAS II Total

1980 342.0% 40.6% O% 17.4% O%X 100%

1981] 44.) 39.8 4 15.6 0 100

1982 44.2 36.5 3.9 14.4 9 100

1983 40.9 32.6 rie 14.8 4.4 100

1984 40.3 30.3 9.0 hey 6.6 100

1985 39.7 29.8 11.0 eee. 7.4 100

12 The CAB rules require uniform booking rates

50a

have an incentive to sell the product at a competitive rate to the

victims of price discrimination. R. Posner, Antitrust Law, at 63

(“persistent price discrimination is very good evidence of

monopoly because it is inconsistent with a competitive market”).

Therefore, price discrimination usually can not occur in a com-

petitive market for very long. P. Areeda & D. Turner, section 513,

at 341-42; Coal Exporters Ass'n of the United States, Inc. v.

United States, 745 F.2d 76, 91 (D.C. Cir. 1984), cert. denied,

397 U.S. 907, 105 S.Ct. 2151, 85 L.Ed.2d 507 (1985) (“it is well

established that the ability of a firm to price discriminate is an

indicator of significant monopoly power”).

There is evidence that American engaged in price dis-

crimination. For example, Eastern Airlines became a co-host on

SABRE in March 1981, at a fee of 24 cents per booking. Delta

Airlines, which competed with American at the Dallas/Ft. Worth

hub, became a participating carrier on SABRE in October 1982

only after agreeing to a fee of $1.32. New York Air agreed to pay

a $2.00 booking fee in December 1981.

The issue in both the market definition and monopoly power

area is whether American is constrained from charging monopoly

prices by the existence of alternative distribution channels. The

ability to engage in price discrimination is an indication that

American has market power. Whether the degree of market power

rises to the level of monopoly power, however, is a detailed

factual question which involves a weighing of the evidence. In

response to charges of price discrimination, American argues that

different prices were the result of individually negotiated con-

tracts where some airlines had more bargaining power based upon

the benefits to American created by their participation in SABRE.

In this case, evidence of price discrimination is not a com-

pelling indication of market power. In a typical case of price

discrimination, the value of the product in issue is not effected by

the purchase of the product. That is, the fact that Buyer purchases

a widget does not increase the value of the widget such that the

market value of the widget increases because of the purchase by

the particular Buyer. However, the value of SABRE is enhanced

by each subscriber because the number of subscribers directly

Sla

increases the market value of the product to travel agents, and

consequently, to other airlines. In effect, a major airline gives

American something of value merely by subscribing to SABRE.

A lesser airline's participation does not increase the value of the

CRS as much because that flight information is not as valuable

to the CRS. Therefore, the Subscription price does not reflect

American's entire compensation for providing SABRE services

to its subscriber.

The evidence shows that Eastern became a co-host at a fee

of 24 cents per booking in March 1981]. SABRE'’s booking fee

increased, so that New York Air was charged a $2.00 booking fee

in December 1981, and Delta was charged $1.32 per booking in

October 1982. However, neither New York Air nor Delta became

“co-hosts”, and their Participation began after SABRE had estab-

lished itself in the market. In 1981 and 1982 the CRS market was

just establishing itself, and PARS was really the only other CRS,

aside from Apollo and SABRE, in the market.!3 Above cost

pricing and price discrimination is expected at this stage of

market development. If the pricing was in fact Supra-competitive

it would serve to attract new entrants into the market. In fact, such

new entry did take place when DATAS II and SystemOne entered

the market and began to chip away at SABRE’s and Apollo's

market shares. !4

Defendant's exercise of price discrimination supports

plaintiffs’ allegation that defendant had market power, although

under the circumstances it is not compelling. A reasonable jury

could conclude that defendant's exercise of price discrimination

was indicative of market power, however, a reasonable jury could

also come to the opposite conclusion.

Finally, whether the relevant market is deemed to be the

market for access to SABRE automated travel agents, or the

13 SystemOne was just beginning in 1981, and DATAS II began in

1982.

14 Apollo's market share has dropped approximately 10% since

SystemOne and DATAS II entered the market. SABRE has fallen from a high

water mark of 44.2% in 1982 to 39.7 in 1985.

52a

market for access to CRS automated travel agents, plaintiffs have

presented evidence indicating that competing CRSs may not be

effective substitutes for SABRE. Thus, the discussion relating to

whether SABRE is a distinct service market also supports

plaintiffs’ argument that defendants have monopoly power in the

CRS market. The evidence indicates that the other CRSs may not

constrain SABRE since the other CRSs are not substitutes for

SABRE. Although not compelling, the evidence precludes a find-

ing that defendants do not have monopoly power as a matter of

law.

2. Wilful Acquisition or Maintenance of that Power

The second element of monopolization under section 2 of

the Sherman Act is “the wilful acquisition or maintenance of

[monopoly] power as distinguished from growth or development

as a consequence of superior product, business acumen, or

historic accident.” United States v. Grinnell, 384 U.S. 563,

570-71, 86 S.Ct 1698, 1704, 16 L.Ed.2d 778 (1966); Oahu, 838

F.2d at 367-68. The question of whether conduct is anticompeti-

tive is a question of law. Oahu, 838 F.2d at 368 (reversing

judgment against defendant monopolist on the ground that con-

duct was not anticompetitive as a matter of law).

Section 2 of the Sherman Act does not prohibit “monopoly”

itself (“monopoly in the concrete”), Standard Oil Co. of New

Jersey v. United States, 221 U.S. 1, 62, 31 S.Ct. 502, 516, 55

L.Ed. 619 (1911); rather, it prohibits conduct directed at

“smothering competition.” Berkey Photo, Inc. v. Eastman Kodak,

Inc., 603 F.2d 263, 275 (2d Cir. 1979). Conduct which may not

be unlawful in itself may be illegal when done by a monopolist

because it tends to destroy competition. Lorain Journal & Co. v.

United States, 342 U.S. 143, 72 S.Ct. 181, 96 L.Ed. 162 (1951).

Plaintiffs contend that American engaged in predatory pric-

ing through which it attained its monopoly power. “Predatory

pricing” refers to a firm’s attempt to drive a competitor out of

business, or to discourage a potential competitor from entering

the market, by selling its output at an artificially low price. The

theory is that once the rival has been dispatched from the market,

sa. Annee path ics sal hati teeters

$3a

the predator will be able to reap monopoly profits which will more

than pay for the losses incurred duri ng the predatory period. Price

reductions that constitute a legitimate, “competitive response” to

market conditions are competitive, not predatory. William Inglis

and Sons Baking Co. v. ITT Continental Baking Co., 668 F.2d

1014, 1031 (9th Cir. 1981), cert. denied, 459 US. 825, 103

S.Ct. 58, 74 L.Ed.2d 61 (1982). “Pricing is predatory only where

the firm forgoes short-term profits in order to develop a market

position such that the firm can later raise prices and recoup lost

profits . . .” Janich Bros., Inc. v. American Distilling Co., 570

F.2d 848, 856 (9th Cir.!1977), cert. denied, 439 US. 829, 99

S.Ct. 103, 58 L.Ed.2d 122 (1978),

While the Ninth Circuit has adopted the Areeda-Turner

theory, it has also modified the test. Inglis, 668 F.2d at 1032

(citing cases). The general rule is that a price should be con-

sidered predatory “if its anticipated benefits depend on its

tendency to eliminate competition.” Jnglis, 668 F.2d at 1034. If

the justification for a price reduction did not depend upon this

anticipated effect, then it does not Support a claim of illegal

monopolization or attempted monopolization. Predatory pricing

may be proven, without reference to evidence of subjective intent,

by examining the relationship between the defendant's prices and

costs. “But such proof must tend to show that the anticipated

benefits of the prices, at the time they were set, depended on their

anticipated destructive effect upon competition and the conse-

quent enhanced market position of the defendant.” Inglis, 668

F.2d at 1034.15 Ultimately, “cost-based” inquiries serve merely

as “an aid in determining the ultimate question: Did the justifica-

tion for the defendant's price depend upon its anticipated destruc-

tive effect on competition, or was the price justified as a

reasonably calculated means of maximizing profits minimizing

losses, or achieving some other legitimate end?” Inglis, 668 F.2d

at 1038. However, the cost-based analysis establishes the burden

15 The court not

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Alaska Airlines, Inc. v. United Airlines, Inc. · 503 U.S. 977 | Frix