Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Seitz v. Speagle

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

tee 9 Coun, UWS.

‘iLED

av

O115 U9 apR -8 20a

ES

No.

(In oy he

Supreme Court of the Cited States

CHRISTY LYNETTE HOLLAND SEITZ,

Petitioner,

WILLIAM SPEAGLE, and

wife, DERENE SPEAGLE,

Respondents.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

7

Petition for Writ of Certiorari

.

M. Gordon Widenhouse, Jr.

Counsel of Record

RUDOLF, MAHER,

WIDENHOUSE & FIALKO

312 West Franklin Street

Chapel Hill, NC 27516 -

(919) 967-4900

Counsel for Petitioner

THE LEX GROUP @ 1108 East Main Street ¢ Suite 1400 # Richmond, Virginia 23219

(804) 644-4419 ¢ (800) 856-4419 ¢ Fax: (804) 644-3660 ¢ www.thelexgroup.com

QUESTION PRESENTED

Whether a_ state violates a mother’s

constitutionally protected right to custody of her

daughter when it uses a “best interests of the child”

analysis to deny the mother custody in favor of a

non-parent third-party by finding the mother unfit

based solely on past conduct that no longer exists

proved only by a preponderance of the evidence?

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED...............cccccccccccccssscssesecsescssscesees i

RR AE StI UII Oi csnceccchncnccaseuiisisshussenintensassasiannoiansens ii

BER PAT U EEE II vacisccecdsnexscssisisisiansssnsdssasoensonsons iv

RI IRIN ssicnslinnnccascscdsssidepiainynipabieigacnGnsialesctutinast 2

IRANI rssh tesissonsesesciinenionasnitaahaniedadamieasscidiemannen 2

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT

NII IIIT chasse asdetlsnate ilentecindsonisnoniinaemnosieudlicdebiensisaeass 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ..........c.cccsccssseccscceseceseasceesees 3

A. PRO AL, FEES EIR Y, cccccaceccesecocsnsenses 3

B. FACTUAL BACKGROUND .......0...00000000. 7

Manner In Which The Federal

Constitutional Issue Was Raised

And Decided Below ...............cccccccseeseeeeee 13

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI

PEAR Ws RAMRPAI BAUD nsnniesensevescsensansesdiccsnnssehsnesenaconsons 15

il

THE COURT BELOW VIOLATED A

MOTHER’S DUE PROCESS RIGHT TO

THE CUSTODY OF HER DAUGHTER

WHEN IT USED A “BEST INTERESTS OF

THE CHILD” ANALYSIS TO DENY HER

CUSTODY IN FAVOR OF A THIRD

PARTY BY FINDING HER UNFIT BASED

SOLELY ON PAST, DISTANT

CONDUCT FOUND ONLY BY A

PREPONDERANCE OF THE EVIDENCE..

A. Due Process Protected

Christy Seitz’s Right to the

Custody of Her Daughter,

Which the Courts Below

eee Tce ag

B. The Lower Court's Use

of a Preponderance of

the Evidence Standard

Unconstitutionally Shifted

the Burden of Proof to the

Natural Parent/Mother and

Away from a Third Party........

S. No Evidence Showed

Christy Seitz was an Unfit

er

a ee adicesieniaiascike doniaisiese Inaiinanasemessimbaneeaeeiies

Pe IG scnincdkcalaiendiiidintsuaniseadndcedpapaasitaionioontontonntde

ill

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page(s)

Cases:

In re Adoption of E.L.,

315 Ill. App. 3d 137,

733 N.E.2d 846 (2000)... eececcccecscssecsssceccceeeseee aL

In re Adoption of a Female Child,

896 S.W.2d 546 (Tenn. 1995) ooo eccccecccccccecce. 17, 26

Davis v. Collinsworth,

771 S.W.2d 329 (Ky. 1989)... cccccceccccsseseeceeese. 16, 21

Deel v. Deel,

113 Mich. App. 556,

317 N.W.2d 685 (1982) ooccccccecccssescsecssesssesseseeeeceses. 22

Greer v. Alexander,

248 Mich. App. 259,

639 N.W.2d 39 (2001)... eeeeeecccccsecscscesseeceseece. 16, 22

In re Guardianship of L.L.,

745 N.E.2d 222 (Ind. App. 2001)......0.cccccc.... 16, 23

Hamers v. Guttormson,

610 N.E.3d 758 (N.D. 2000) .oeeececccccccccscecee 17, 26

Heltzel v. Heltzel,

248 Mich. App. 1,

638 N.W.2d 123 (2001) oocceecceccccsccseccsesssccssecsseee 22, 24

Hendnckson v. Binkley,

316 N.E.2d 376 (Ind. App. 1975).........:cccsseeeees 23

Lehr v. Robertson,

GD VUE. Ee CFE witht 5, 14,19

Mason v. City of Biloxi,

SOS ID. SO IFO) exciscisnitisinicsenetantaaeanel 14

Overfield v. Collins,

199 W.Va. 27, 483 S.E.2d 27 (1997) .........cscscseseeeees 23

In re Parenting of ].N.P.,

305 Mont. 351, 27 P.3d 953 (2001).................00... 16

Parham v. ].R.,

442 US. FO (Rot Oe scsstiistanein ee 18-19

In re S.B.L.,

150 Vt. 294, 553 A.2d 1078 (1988) ..............:.ccccceees 10

Santosky v. Kramer,

435 US. 765 (BD siiccesvsentdaionia passim

Stanley v. Illinois,

GIS US. CED (EGGS) sinicicermcitinimsanann 2,5, 17, 21

Torrance v. Callenius,

SGD US. Cae (IIS ED scncitncscncsinsccesegenaaaee 14

Troxel v. Granville,

FOO US. ST (AFGG) tvieninssinniccismaada passim

Wisconsin v. Yoder,

Gb US. TIS 856 ED ccvguinstitntieemaanal 14

Constitutional Provisions:

USS. Const., armend. XIV .........ccccccesseseeeeseenennseenennnenees 2,18

Statute:

QB U.S.C. §1257(a) .......-cecesesecssescnesererenessssncssnssecscsaceesenenenens 2

Rules:

Fed. R. App. P. 41(d)(1)-......-.:-sessesessessessseeenenneenseneensenncens 2

N.C. R. App. P. 31(a) ...-..-sssssesessessessesseensenennennsnnentansensnnsens 6

N.C. R. App. P. 32(b) ....-.e:sesssessessessessesssneeneeneenennenneenscensen 1

N.C. R. App. P. 32(€) ....-.-sssessecsessscesssssnsesnennenneaneanennsensenncens 2

vi

IN THE

SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES

he ee ee ee ee ae ee ae ae a a oe a a Oe eo

CHRISTY LYNETTE HOLLAND SEITZ,

Petitioner,

Vv.

WILLIAM SPEAGLE, and wife, DERENE SPEAGLE,

Respondents.

she oe ee ae ae ee a ee ao

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

TO THE SUPREME COURT

OF NORTH CAROLINA

ie ee Oe ee a a a a

Petitioner, Christy Lynette Holland Seitz

(hereinafter Christy], respectfully prays that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the attached opinion of the

Supreme Court of North Carolina, filed on 18

December 2001 [App. 1-14], upon which the judgment

of the Supreme Court of North Carolina was entered

on 7 January 2002.! [App. 49-50] This opinion is starkly

at odds with the consistent jurisprudence of this Court

endorsing the constitutionally protected right of a

mother to the care, custody, and nurturing of her child

that is superior to a non-parent, third party where the

The opinion of the Supreme Court of North Carolina was

filed on 18 December 2001. The actual judgment is entered on the ©

docket by the clerk 20 days after the filing of the opinion. N.C. R.

App. P. 32(b).

1

mother has not been legitimately determined unfit to

raise her daughter. See, e.g., Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S.

57, 66 (2000); Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 753

(1082); Stanley v. Illinois, 405 U.S. 645, 651 (1972).

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Supreme Court of North

Carolina is published at 354 N.C. 525, 557 S.E.2d 83

(2001). [App. 1-15] The court below denied a petition

for rehearing on 31 January 2002.2 [App. 47-48] The

opinion of the North Carolina Court of Appeals, which

was reversed by the court below, is published at 141

N.C. App. 534, 541 S.E.2d 188 (2000). [App. 15-20]

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Supreme Court of North

Carolina was entered on 7 January 2002. [App. 49-50]

The petition is from a final judgment of the Supreme

Court of North Carolina. Jurisdiction of this Court is

invoked pursuant to 28 U.S.C. §1257(a), as the state has

denied petitioner her right and privilege to the care,

custody, and control of her daughter over a non-

parent, third party, which is protected by due process.

CONSTITUTIONAL AMENDMENT INVOLVED

U.S. Const., amend. XIV: No state shall...

deprive any person of life, liberty, or property, without

due process of law....

2 In North Carolina, unlike the federal system, see Fed. R.

App. P. 41(d)(1), the filing of a petition for rehearing in an

appellate court has no effect of the date a judgment is entered on

the docket. N.C. R. App. P. 31(e).

2

+

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. PROCEDURAL HISTORY.

On 3 September 1993 petitioner, Christy Seitz

gave birth to her daughter, Amber, who is the subject of

this custody litigation. Christy was not married to

Amber's father, Stacey Speagle. After two years during

which Christy and Stacey lived together, separated,

reconciled, and separated again, Stacey filed an action

seeking custody on 8 September 1995, just after Amber’s

second birthday. On 17 October 1995, a temporary

custody order was entered under which Christy was to

have custody of Amber for fourteen days and Stacey

was to have custody of Amber for fourteen days.

On 29 January 1996, Bryce Delon murdered

Stacey and then killed himself. Christy was arrested on

January 29 and charged with conspiring to have Stacey

killed. The following day, respondents filed a complaint

seeking permanent custody of Amber. An emergency

order was entered granting custody of Amber to

respondents. Christy duly filed an answer to the

custody complaint. She was eventually released on

bond pending trial on the conspiracy charge and sought

to regain custody of Amber. Her motion for temporary

custody was denied on 2 May 1996. After Stacey’s

death, his original custody action abated. Following a

jury trial at which she testified, Christy was acquitted of

the homicide charge on 27 June 1997. On 19 August

1997, she was granted visitation rights with Amber

pending the final outcome of the custody proceedings.

The custody trial began on 11 August 1998 and

concluded on 4 September 1998. The trial court

announced its oral decision on September 4, awarding

custody to respondents but granting “liberal visitation”

3

to Christy. In doing so, the trial court stated, “But I do

want to be certain that there is no finding that [Christy]

is unfit for custody.” [App. 46] The trial court noted

that there may have been conditions in the past “but not

in the recent past” that might be construed as

inconsistent with the presumption that the biological

parent will always act in the best interests of the child.

He concluded that “those things are not in the recent

past and I do not want any finding that she is unfit for

custody.” [App. 46]

The court subsequently entered a written order

that awarded respondents custody and visitation to

Christy. The court found Christy’s “lifestyle and

romantic involvement’s [sic] resulted in her neglect

and separation from the minor child.” [App. 34] The

court also found “any actions in the past but not recent

past by [Christy] that may have been construed as

inconsistent with the presumption that the biological

parent will act always in the best interests of the child

do not render [her] unfit to have a relationship with,

but not custody of, her daughter.” [App. 34] The court

concluded respondents “are fit and proper persons to

be granted the care, custody and control” of Amber

and the “best interests of the child” would be served by

granting them custody. [App. 34] The court further

concluded Christy “is unfit to have custody of, but is a

fit and proper person to be granted visitation with, the

minor child.” [App. 34]

Christy appealed to the North Carolina Court of

Appeals. In a unanimous decision, the court reversed.

The court concluded the trial court improperly utilized

“a best interests of the child” standard to resolve the

custody dispute because Christy “had not lost her

constitutionally protected right to retain custody of her

child.” [App. 20] Significantly, the court of appeals

4

recognized (1) the constitutional right of a natural

parent to raise her child prevents application of the

“best interests of the child” test in determining a

custody dispute with a third party and (2) no evidence

or findings of fact supported the conclusion that

Christy had engaged in behavior that justified

stripping her of her constitutional rights as a parent.

Respondents sought and obtained review in the

Supreme Court of North Carolina. Explaining that this

Court has never held that a parent's constitutional right

to the custody of her child was absolute [App. 8],3 the

lower court determined it was appropriate to consider

3 For this proposition, the state supreme court relied on Lehr

v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248 (1983). The use of Lehr is curious,

especially in light of more numerous and. analogous precedents

endorsing the constitutionally protected right of a natural parent to

the care and custody of her child, including Troxel, Santosky, and

Stanley. In Lehr, a father with no significant custodial, personal, or

financial relationship to a child he fathered out of wedlock

challenged the child’s adoption when she was two years old by the

child’s mother and her husband, whom she married eight months

after the child’s birth. Id. at 251-52. This Court took especial note of

the absence of any effort by the father to be any part of the child’s

life in the two years since her birth, as “he did not seek to establish a

legal tie until after she was two years old.” Id. at 262. Having made

these determinations, this Court concluded that since the father

failed to “grasp the opportunity” to establish a relationship with or

“accept some measure of responsibility for” the child, “the Federal

Constitution will not automatically compel a State to listen to his

opinion of where the child’s best interests lie.” Id. at 262. A fair

reading of Lehr reveals it hardly stands for an overarching limitation

on a parent's constitutional right to the custody of her child.

Indeed, its facts are so diametrically unlike those in this case that is

can hardly be considered authoritative. The lower court reliance on

it alone for its federal constitutional guidance, to the exclusion of far

more similar situations in Troxel, Santosky, and Stanley, is a startling

demonstration of the inadequacy and incorrectness of the decision

below and the need for certiorari review.

5

past conduct that no longer existed, and which never

had an impact (negative or otherwise) on the child, as a

factor in the custody analysis. [App. 13] It therefore

reversed the court of appeals and reinstated the trial

court's order.

Christy sought rehearing, arguing that the state

supreme court had misapplied the appropriate

constitutional inquiry and erred in holding that past

conduct, which was no longer occurring, could be used

to award custody to a non-parent, third party as

opposed to the natural parent.4 Rehearing was denied

on 31 January 2002. [App. 47-48] The lower court's

judgment was entered on 7 January 2002. [App. 49-50]

. In North Carolina, a petition to rehear an appellate

decision can only be filed and obtained if it is supported by

certificates from two attorney who have been members of the bar

for at least five years who are neither counsel to the parties nor

have a personal interest in the proceedings. N.C. R. App. 31(a).

They “must have carefully examined the appeal and the

authorities cited in the decision [and] consider the decision in

error on points specifically and concisely identified.” Id. Christy

supported her petition for rehearing in the state supreme court

with affidavits from two of the most recognized and respected

professors of family law in North Carolina: Suzanne Reynolds of

Wake Forest Law School (the current author of Lee on North

Carolina Family Law, the seminal treatise on family law in the

state) and Jean Cary of Campbell Law School (who also teaches

family law at Duke Law School). Both Professor Reynolds and

Professor Cary found the state supreme court decision erroneous

in its use of the “best interests of the child” standard in a custody

dispute between a mother and a non-parent and in its

consideration of the mother’s past behavior which was no longer

occurring as a determinative factor. Their views strongly signal

the need for review by this Court.

6

rn

B. FACTUAL BACKGROUND.

Christy [then Holland] Seitz met Stacey Speagle

in high school in 1990-91, and they began dating. After

high school, Stacey left for basic training, returned

about four months later, and began staying with

Christy at her apartment in Hickory. Christy and

Stacey were 18.

Although respondents, _Stacey’s parents,

disapproved of the intimate relationship, they

preterred that Christy and Stacey stay with them rather

than at an apartment. In December 1992, Christy and

Stacey became engaged and Christy became pregnant

with Stacey’s child. Respondents were angry about the

pregnancy and wanted Christy to have an abortion.

Christy, however, wanted to keep the child: So she

continued the pregnancy, moved from respondents’

house, and lived with her mother. Several months

later, Christy returned to live with respondents and

worked at an office supply store until shortly before

the child’s birth.

Amber was born on 3 September 1994. Christy

stayed with her own mother for several weeks, and

then Christy and Stacey lived with respondents.

Christy stayed home and took care of Amber. After

numerous disagreements with respondents over how

to raise Amber, Christy left with her mother, and

eventually moved into an apartment. Christy and

Stacey reconciled until August when Christy and

Stacey again separated. Christy earned her GED and

moved to Raleigh. Christy stayed in Raleigh until

March 1995, when she returned to Hickory so Amber

could be closer to her father.

a

/

While living in Raleigh, Christy worked as a

topless dancer. When Christy worked in Raleigh,

either Allison Barber Griffin or Christy’s older sister,

Brandi, looked after Amber. Allison, who lived with

Christy and Amber in Raleigh and Hickory, testified

for respondents that Christy was a good mother.

Allison had no misgivings about Christy watching

Alexis, Allison’s young daughter.

No evidence suggested Amber was not well

looked after during this time. In fact, when asked by

respondents’ about activities with Amber, Allison

replied they took their children to the park, worked on

crafts, and went on trips to the mountains.

From November 1994 until December 1995,

Christy held similar jobs dancing at various clubs.

Several witnesses, including Heather Brown and Allison

Griffin, explained Christy danced because she could

make good money and still have time to be with Amber.

Stacy Speagle had no objection to Christy’s dancing.

In March 1995, Christy moved back to Hickory

because the cost of living was lower, and she and

Amber could be closer to Stacey. Christy lived with

Allison Griffin and Allison’s daughter. Allison said

Christy had no male visitors who spent the night

during the time they lived in Raleigh or Hickory.

. Christy earned enough to support herself and

Amber and had time during the day to spend time

with Amber. Christy and Amber would practice the

alphabet, do flash cards, and watch shows such as

Sesame Street. When Christy worked in Hickory,

Amber would spend the night either with her

grandparents or with Roberta Jewell, a child-care -

provider with experience running day care facilities.

Sometimes Amber would spend the entire night, and

sometimes Christy would pick her up early in the

8

oem:

morning after work. Jewell testified Christy appeared

to love Amber, and that Amber was always clean, well

fed, and well dressed. Nothing indicated Christy did

not take good care of Amber.

In early September 1995, Christy began to move

to the Carolina Beach area, where her mother and step-

father lived. However, Stacey filed suit seeking

custody. In October 1995, a judge awarded Stacey

custody approximately half of the time, with Christy

and Stacey to alternate custody every two weeks. At

this point Christy abandoned her plan to move and

returned to Hickory. During times when Christy had

custody of Amber, she would take Amber to visit with

her mother at the beach.

During one of these trips, Christy met Brvce

Delon, a marine stationed at Camp Lejeune. They

became friends, and the trial court found they engaged

in sex at the marine barracks. Amber was never

present; in fact, Christy only visited the barracks when

Stacey had custody of Amber.

In November 1995, Christy’s sister Brandi

moved to Texas. In December 1995, Christy and Delon

went to Texas to visit Brandi. During this trip, Amber

was in Hickory with Stacey. In Texas, Christy danced

one evening at a club; that was the last time she

danced. She returned from Texas without Delon,

began work in the hat-check area of a club, and made

plans to earn her living through child care.

Jimmy Morris, a private investigator hired by

respondents, saw Christy working at the hat-check area

of a club in early January 1996. Christy told him she

and Stacey were getting along, she felt better about

Stacey having access to Amber, and she was thinking

of finding work with children. Morris never saw any

sign that Christy mistreated Amber.

9

Derene Speagle testified that when Christy

brought Amber to them she was clean. Respondents

offered no evidence Christy mistreated Amber in any

way.

During January 1996, Delon and some friends

visited Christy. Delon lured Corporal Robert Lankford

to Hickory with the idea that Lankford could meet

Christy’s friend, Heather. In fact, this was not true,

and Lankford saw Heather for about five minutes and

then spent time in Christy's residence. During this

time, Christy and Bryce went into the kitchen to talk

and smoke, and Lankford watched videos with Amber.

In addition, Lankford, Delon, Christy and Amber went

Out on various errands. They took Amber sledding in

the back yard. Amber was not mistreated in any way.

Lankford said he and Delon spent the night at a hotel.

In addition, Lankford thought Christy was not happy

Delon had come and did not seem to like him.

Lankford did not see affection between them.

Sometime after this visit, Christy and Stacey reconciled,

and Stacey moved back into Christy’s apartment.

After Stacey and Christy reconciled, Delon again

came to visit, accompanied by a Marine named Varney.

Heather Brown came to visit Christy during at this

time, and saw Delon and Varney at the residence.

When Heather opened the door to a bathroom, outside

the presence of Christy, Delon made a comment about

harming Stacey. Christy did not hear the comment.

When Christy asked Heather what Delon said, Heather

repeated the comment, and then said that Delon was

just being silly. Heather also claimed that while the

custody action between Christy and Stacey was

pending, Christy said Stacey would be dead by

Christmas and that she had set it up. Heather thought

Christy was joking and did not take the comment

10

seriously. Heather did not recall any further

discussion during Delon’s visit in January 1996,

although she was at Christy's apartment for two hours.

Like Christy, Heather supported herself by dancing at

topless clubs, and it did not interfere with her ability to

be a good mother. Heather said Christy was a good

mother to Amber. Amber was clean and well fed.

On 29 January 1996, Delon drove to Hickory,

shot and killed Stacey Speagle, and then shot and

killed himself. Delon had told several people

he wanted to hurt Stacey, but they did not believe him

or take him seriously because of his penchant for

lying.

Following Stacey’s murder and Delon’s suicide,

Christy was arrested and charged with having

arranged the murder. Christy was held in jail and

respondents obtained an ex parte emergency order the

day after her arrest granting them custody of Amber.

On 27 March 1996, Christy was released on bond and

immediately sought custody of her daughter, which

was denied pending resolution of the criminal charge.

Christy moved to Dallas and lived with her

sister, Brandi, pending the trial. Through her sister,

Christy met Eric Seitz, a Dallas businessman who was

involved in developing shopping centers. Seitz had

assisted Brandi in bailing Christy out of jail, and she

eventually worked as his secretary. They began dating

and became engaged prior to her trial.

From the time Christy was arrested through her

trial, she consistently attempted to maintain contact

with her daughter. Denied custody by the court, she

nonetheless called to speak to Amber. Respondents,

however, refused to allow Christy to talk to Amber.

Christy sent numerous letters to Amber, which

respondents would not read to her. Christy sent

11

Amber presents. Christy also sent approximately

$5,000.00 in child support, much of which respondents

did not accept.

After a jury trial, at which she testified, Christy

was acquitted of participating in Stacey’s murder. On

19 August 1997, the court granted Christy visitation

rights with her daughter, which visits were to be

accomplished by having Amber delivered and picked

up from a neutral exchange person. For the first time

in almost twenty months, Christy was allowed to have

contact with her own daughter. Although exercising

her visitation required extensive travel, Christy visited

Amber on every occasion she could, until her ability to

travel was restricted by a pregnancy with her second

child. The only visit Christy missed was caused when

the respondents refused to deliver Amber to the

neutral exchange person.

Christy married Eric Seitz in October 1997. They

got married in North Carolina so that Amber could

participate in the wedding. The every-second-weekend

visits required Christy and her husband to come North

Carolina and find a place to stay. Christy arranged to

stay in the home of Barbara Andrews. Andrews

described Christy as a loving mother and a very loving

wife. Andrews described the activities she saw when

Christy and her husband would visit with Amber. They

played and hugged, and interacted in a loving fashion.

After this visitation began, Christy and Eric

contacted a psychologist about issues that would arise

in reunifying with a child after an extended separation.

In addition, Christy and Eric enrolled in a parenting

class called Blended Families.

Respondents consulted with a psychologist after

the visits began between Amber and Christy. This

psychologist worked with Amber and respondents to

12

reduce the stress from these visits. He instructed

Derene Speagle not to question Amber about her visits

with Christy, but acknowledged a tape she made

ignoring this advice. She was recorded telling Amber

the court made her send Amber to Christy, statements

the expert would not encourage a care taker to make.

Another clinical psychologist with whom Christy

had consulted since June 1996 offered some insight into

why Christy had made some poor life choices when she

was younger. In her expert opinion, Christy had

improved in her decision-making and would not return

to the lifestyle she had before Stacey’s death.

Christy testified about her home in Texas. Their

neighborhood has a playground, a club house, and

other children. An accountant testified Seitz had the

financial resources to support a family.

Manner In Which The Federal Constitutional Issue

Was Raised And Decided Below

Petitioner, Christy Seitz, sought to regain custody

of her daughter from respondents, which she lost,

through no fault of her own, upon her arrest for a crime

for which she was later acquitted. In the ensuing

custody trial, Christy presented substantial evidence of

her fitness and argued her constitutionally protected

status as Amber's mother created a presumption in her

favor and required a finding that she was unfit by

something more than a mere preponderance of the

evidence. To the contrary, the trial court used a “best

interests of the child” analysis, evaluating the evidence

through a preponderance of the evidence standard, and

awarded custody to respondents, the paternal

grandparents, without affording Christy her

constitutionally protected status as Amber's mother

13

because it did so without finding Christy was not a fit

parent. Indeed, it found she was a fit parent. [App. 46]

The North Carolina Court of Appeals reversed, holding

a parent's constitutional right to custody of a child

precludes the use of a “best interests of the child”

analysis unless evidence shows the parent is unfit

because she endangers the health or safety of her child.

[App. 18-19, relying on Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205,

233-34 (1972)] That court noted no evidence or findings

of fact supported a conclusion that Christy ever engaged

_ in any behavior which “had any negative impact on”

Amber, resulted in Amber’s neglect or abandonment, or

even “had a substantial risk of causing some harm to

her.” [App. 20] The Supreme Court of North Carolina

reversed this decision, finding the constitutionally

protected right of a parent is not absolute [App. 8,

relying on Lehr v. Robertson, 463 U.S. 248 (1983)] and

does not preclude the use of a “best interests of the

child” analysis, which need only be proved by a

preponderance of the evidence.> [App. 13] Whether

Christy’s due process right to the care, custody, and

nurturing of Amber gave her a presumptive right to

. Curiously, no court below considered this Court's most

recent explanation and analysis of a parent's constitutional right to

the care, custody, and nurturing of her child, especially vis-a-vis a

non-parent, third-party, in Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 66-72

(2000)(plurality opinion)(holding parent has constitutionally

protected interest in care, custody, and control of child that state

can neither supply nor hinder absent evidence parent did not

adequately care for child). Indeed, given the implications Troxel

has for this situation and the lower court's apparent disregard of

its impact, this Court should remand this matter for

reconsideration in light of Troxel. Mason v. City of Biloxi, 385 U.S.

370 (1966)(summarily reversing in light of earlier decision);

Torrance v. Callenius, 369 U.S. 658 (1962)(remanding for

consideration in light of new decision).

14

custody over the non-parent respondents that could

only be overcome through a showing, by at least clear

and convincing evidence, that Christy was unfit was

raised and decided on the merits below.

REASONS WHY CERTIORARI

SHOULD BE GRANTED

THE COURT BELOW VIOLATED A MOTHER’S

DUE PROCESS RIGHT TO THE CUSTODY OF

HER DAUGHTER WHEN IT USED A “BEST

INTERESTS OF THE CHILD” ANALYSIS TO

DENY HER CUSTODY IN FAVOR OF A THIRD

PARTY BY FINDING HER UNFIT BASED SOLELY

ON PAST, DISTANT CONDUCT FOUND ONLY

BY A PREPONDERANCE OF THE EVIDENCE.

The decision below is wholly at odds with the

consistent jurisprudence of this Court endorsing the

constitutionally protected right of a mother to the

custody of her daughter that is superior to a non-

parent, third party, like respondents, where the

mother has not been legitimately determined unfit to

raise her daughter. The state court of appeals

cogently observed, “there are no findings of fact or

any evidence in the record [petitioner's] conduct had

any negative impact on [the child] or had a substantial

risk of causing some harm to her.” [App. 20] “The

liberty interest . . . of parents in the care, custody, and

control of their children is perhaps the oldest of the

fundamental liberty interests recognized by this

Court.” Troxel v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57, 65 (2000). This

Court had earlier reaffirmed its historical recognition

of a natural parent’s fundamental liberty interest in

the custody of her child even when she has not been a

15

model parent or may have lost temporary custody of

her child. Santosky v. Kramer, 455 U.S. 745, 753 (1982).

Santosky explained that a parent is a least entitled to a

clear and convincing evidence standard of proof

before a child can be removed from her custody in

favor of a third person. Id. The court below failed to

heed these teachings. It did not accord Christy Seitz

her constitutionally protected liberty interest in the

custody of her child, Amber, particularly in a dispute

with respondents, who were non-parent, third parties.

By employing the “best interests of the child”

analysis, the court below reduced a natural parent to

same status as a non-parent, third party. This Court’s

jurisprudence, culminating most recently in Troxel,

does not permit this result. Not surprisingly, the

decision below is at odds with the majority of the

highest courts in other states on the question.® See,

e.g., In re Parenting of J.N.P., 305 Mont. 351, 27 P.3d 953

(2001)(standard requires showing sufficient to

terminate parental rights); In re Guardianship of L.L.,

745 N.E.2d 222 (Ind. App. 2001)(must show “present

‘ The lower court also allowed the custody determination to

be made only by a preponderance of the evidence standard. [App.

13] When the dispute is between a natural parent and a non-

parent, third party, this lower threshold of proof is inconsistent

with the parent's constitutional right to custody. Santosky, 455

U.S. at 753 (requiring proof by clear and convincing evidence

before denying natural parent custody in favor of third person).

The lower court's use of this burden of proof is also contrary to the

majority of the highest courts in other states on this question. See,

e.g. In re Guardianship of LL, 745 N.E.2d 222 (Ind. App.

2001)(requiring proof by “clear and cogent” evidence); Greer v.

Alexander, 248 Mich. App. 259, 639 N.W.2d 39 (2001)(requiring

clear and convincing evidence); Davis v. Collinsworth, 771 S.W.2d

329 (Ky. 1989)(requiring clear and convincing evidence in reliance

on Santosky).

16

unfitness” or “past abandonment”); Hamers v.

Guttormson, 610 N.E.3d 758 (N.D. 2000)(only go to

“best interests” analysis in “exceptional circumstances

like voluntary abandonment); In re Adoption of a

Female Child, 896 S.W.2d 546 (Tenn. 1995)(only use

“best interests” standard if evidence of substantial

harm to child). For these reasons, certiorari is

appropriate to address this important constitutional

question.

A. Due Process Protected Christy Seitz’s

Right to the Custody of Her Daughter,

Which the Courts Below Denied.

There can be no serious dispute that Christy

Seitz, as a natural parent, enjoys a constitutionally

protected right to the custody of her child, Amber. The

courts must carefully protect parental rights, not

merely as a matter of legislative grace, but as a matter

of constitutional law. Stanley, 405 U.S. at 651. As

Stanley explained, the integrity of the family unit is

protected by due process, equal protection, and the

ninth amendment. Id. (citations omitted). Most

recently, this Court decided a visitation dispute

between a child’s natural mother and the paternal

grandparents, which provided important guidance that

the lower court ignored. In Troxel, the paternal

grandparents sought to obtain more frequent visitation

with the child than the child’s mother wished to offer

them. 530 U.S. at 60-61. The lower court had declared

a state visitation statute unconstitutional because it

permitted the state to infringe-upon the natural parents

right to raise her child without a threshold showing of

harm and permitted judicial overriding of parental

decisions regarding visitation merely because a trial

17

court felt a different decision better would serve the

child’s best interest. Id. at 63. This Court affirmed the

reversal of the order granting the grandparents

visitation that exceeded what the child’s mother had

offered. “In light of . . . extensive precedent, it cannot

now be doubted that the Due Process Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment protects the fundamental

rights of parents to make decisions concerning the care,

custody, and control of their children.” Id. at 66.

(plurality opinion). In reaching this conclusion, this

Court described the state visitation statute at issue as

“breathtakingly broad” because it gave a parent's

decision regarding appropriate visitation for her child

no deference and permitted “a court [to] disregard and

overturn any decision by a fit custodial parent

concerning visitation whenever a third party affected

by the decision files a visitation petition, based solely

on the judge’s determination of the child’s best

interests.” Id. at 67. The statute violated the mother’s

fundamental right to make decisions regarding her

child’s up bringing.

Importantly, Troxel recognized that there is a

presumption that a fit parent acts in the best interests

of her child. Id. at 68. “[O]ur constitutional system

long ago rejected any notion that a child is the merely

creature of the State and, on the contrary, asserted that

parents generally have the right coupled with the high

duty, to recognize and prepare [their children] for

additional obligations. ... The law’s concept of the

family rests on a presumption that parents possess

what a child lacks in maturity, experience, and capacity

for judgment required for making life’s difficult

decision. More important, historically it has been

recognized that natural bonds of affection lead parents

to act in the best interests of their children.” Parham v.

18

a ii a

J.R., 442 U.S. 584, 602 (1979). As Troxel cogently

concluded, “so long as a parent adequately cares for his

or her children (i.e. is fit), there would normally be no

reason for the State to inject itself into the private realm

of the family to further question the ability of that

parent to make the best decisions concerning the

rearing of that parent's children.” Troxel, 530 US. at 69.

The lower court simply did not afford Christy this

constitutional protection.

In many ways, the decision below represents a

judicial interference with parent decision-making just

as “breathtakingly broad” as the legislative interference

in Troxel. Here, a mother sought to regain custody,

which she had lost through no fault of her own (again,

quite unlike the situation in Lehr, where the

complaining parent had taken nary a single step to

involve himself in the two-year old child’s life), from a

non-parent, third party. The trial judge denied her

request, as in Troxel, “based solely on the judge’s

determination of the child’s best interests.” He did so

without any finding or evidence that the mother

neglected or did not adequately care for the child. And

the state supreme court affirmed this result despite a

unanimous decision of the intermediate appellate court

that the mother did nothing to lose her constitutionally

protected right to retain custody of her child and that

this principle prevented the application of the “best

interests of the child” test in a dispute between a parent

and a third party. [App. 18-20] In essence, North

Carolina does by judicial fiat what this Court prohibits

by legislative decree.

A fair reading of the opinions below leads to the

inescapable conclusion that the trial court denie*

Christy custody of Amber, and the court below agreed

with that determination, almost exclusively because f

19

a disapproval of Christy’s past conduct, none of which

had any effect on her child. However one may regard

a mother’s decision to work as a topless dancer and

engage in romantic and perhaps sexual activity with

several men (all outside the child’s presence and none

of which left the child abandoned, not cared for. or

neglected), this past conduct does not justify denying

the mother custody of the child in favor of a non-

parent, third party. The intermediate appellate court

specifically noted there was no evidence or findings of

fact that would support a conclusion that Christy

engaged in behavior which would justify stripping her

of her right as a parent. [App. 18] There was no proof

Christy engaged in any behavior detrimental to Amber

or which had a substantial risk (or even any risk) of

causing some harm to her. [App. 20] Because of its

basic disapproval of some parts of Christy’s lifestyle

(all of which ended long before the custody trial and

which an expert testified would never resume), the trial

court imposed its own judgment of what was in

Amber’s “best interests” in awarding custody to

respondents. As this Court noted in Troxell, this

subjective approach through the use of “best interests

of the child” standard essentially placed a burden on

Christy, the mother, of disproving that custody for

respondents would be in the best interest of Amber.

This decisional framework failed to provide Christy

with the protection for her fundamental constitutional

right to the custody of Amber. 530 US. at 69. The

result here is simply inconsistent with Troxell and must

be reversed.

B. The Lower __Court’s Use of a

Preponderance of the Evidence Standard

Unconstitutionally Shifted the Burden of

Proof to the Natural Parent/Mother and

Away from a Third Party.

In this case, North Carolina announced, for the

first time, that a non-parent, third party need only show

by a preponderance of the evidence that it would be ina

child’s best interests for custody to reside elsewhere

than with the natural parent. [App. 13] In Santosky, this

Court held that such a low standard of proof by

preponderance of the evidence was unconstitutional in

determining a contest between a natural parent and the

state. 455 US. at 768-70. In doing so, this Court noted

that the overwhelming majority of the states required a

higher standard of proof then merely a preponderance

of the evidence in such situations. Id. at 749-50 & n.3.7

A parent has a fundamental, basic, and constitutionally

protected right to raise her own daughter and any third

person who attacks this custody and seeks to abrogate

this right, including paternal grandparents like

respondents, show the natural parent's unfitness by at

least clear and convincing evidence. Davis v.

Collinsworth, 771 S.W.2d 329, 330 (Ky. 1989)(relying on

Santosky and Stanley).

The vice in using a lower standard of proof by

preponderance of the evidence is it essentially shifts the

burden of proof to the natural parent and, in doing so,

ignores the constitutionally recognized presumption

that a natural parent acts in the best interest of her child.

: North Carolina was not included in the discussion or

listing. It appears the decision below is the first reported opinion

in North Carolina setting the burden of proof in a custody dispute

between a natural parent and a non-parent, third party.

21

See Heltzel v. Heltzel, 248 Mich. App. 1, 638 N.W.2d 123

(2001)(requiring mother to show her child’s “best

interests” required custody with the mother rather than

grandparents violated mother’s fundamental liberty

interest). If a natural parent’s decision becomes subject

to judicial review, Troxell acknowledges that her view

must be accorded some special weight. 530 U.S. at 70.

Neither the trial court nor the state supreme court

accorded Christy’s opinion any special weight. And

apparently both courts did so primarily, if not

exclusively, because of disagreements with her decision

to engage in lawful employment as a topless dancer and

to have romantic relationships with men to whom she

was not married. As Greer explained, the presumption

that it is always in the best interests of a child to be in

the custody of her natural parent remains a

presumption of the strongest order and must be

seriously considered and heavily weighted in favor of

the parent. 248 Mich. App. at 267, 639 N.W.2d at 43

(quoting Deel v. Deel, 113 Mich. App. 556, 562, 317

N.W.2d 685 (1982)).

In addition to Troxell, Stanley also recognized the

interest of a parent in the custody of her child that

“undeniably warrants deference, and absent a powerful

countervailing interest, protection.” 405 U.S. at 651.

This fundamental right is expressed through the well-

recognized presumption that the right of a natural

parent to the custody of her child is superior to any right

or interest claimed by a third-person. In re Adoption of

E.L., 315 Ill. App. 3d 137, 157, 733 N.E.2d 846, 862 (2000).

While the presumption is not absolute, it serves as one

of the more important factors used by a court in

deciding where custody should be. In order to retain

custody of a child over the superior right of a natural

parent, a third party must demonstrate good cause or

22

reason to overcome this presumption. Id. at 158, 733

N.E.2d at 862. The court below acted contrary to the

rule in the majority of states, based upon constitutional

underpinnings, “that when a parent initiates an action

to obtain custody, a nonparent seeking to retain custody

must bear the burden of overcoming the parent's

presumptively superior right to custody.” In re.

Guardianship of L.L., 745 N.E.2d 222, 227 (Ind. App.

2001). Evidence to rebut the presumption in favor of

custody in the natural parent must be clear and cogent.

Id. at 228; accord Overfield v. Collins, 199 W.Va. 27, 36, 483

S.E.2d 27, 36 (1997); Hendrickson v. Binkley, 316 N.E.2d

376, 381 (Ind. App. 1975). In re Guardianship is

particularly instructive and shows why the decision

below is at odds with the constitutional holdings of this

Court and the majority rule among the states. A child

had been placed in the guardianship of a third party

because the mother and her ex-husband were drug and

alcohol abusers and fought regularly. The mother

rehabilitated herself, both from her drug and alcohol

abuse and from her relationship with the former spouse

who fought with her. The conditions that led to the

guardianship “where no longer present when [the

mother] filed the current petition to terminate

guardianship.” The trial court left the guardianship in

place. This decision was reversed because the trial court

did not apply the appropriate presumption, similar to

the error in the case at bar. Furthermore, the trial court

also relied on past conduct that no longer existed to

deny custody to the parent in favor of a third party,

again like the courts below. This reliance was

misplaced. Reliance on past conduct is inappropriate in

light of Troxell. Rather, a third party must “prove [a

parent's] unfitness at the present time, not at some time

in the past.” Id. at 231.

23

Critically, none of the courts that reviewed this

matter - - the trial court, the court of appeals, or the

state supreme court - - found that Christy’s work as a

topless dancer or her romantic involvements with other

men existed at the time of the trial court’s custody

determination. Indeed, the uncontroverted evidence

demonstrated she was happily married and working as

a secretary in her husband’s real estate development

enterprise. Had the trial court imposed on respondents

the constitutionally required burden of proving

Christy’s unfitness by clear and convincing evidence,

they could not have met this burden and the trial court

could not have denied Christy custody of Amber.

Indeed, if it had done so, the decision could not stand.

North Carolina’s use of a preponderance of the

evidence standard in this situation, where a third party

seeks to retain custody of a child over the natural

parent, is unconstitutional. Santosky, 455 U.S. at 769-70.

It is far outside the mainstream of the rules used in

other jurisdictions. As the Michigan Court of Appeals

observed, due process does not permit a state “to

infringe on the fundamental right of parents to make

child rearing decisions simply because a state judge

believes a ‘better’ decision could be made.”

Accordingly, it is not sufficient in a competing custody

claim between a noncustodial natural parent and a

third party that the third party establish by clear and

convincing evidence that a marginal, though distinct,

benefit would be gained if the child were maintained

by him. Heltzel v. Heltzel, 248 Mich. App. 1, 28, 638

N.W.2d 123, 138-39 (2001). This Court should grant

certiorari to review this important constitutional issue.

24

atic Ba il rantcctnciiaisie abana

eR eS ei ee eRe .

ed No Evidence Showed Christy Seitz was

an Unfit Parent.

There was no evidence, much less clear and

convincing evidence, that Christy Seitz was not fit to

have custody of Amber. Troxell noted the importance of

this aspect “for there is a presumption that fit parents

act in the best interests of their children.” 530 U.S. at 68.

Justice O'Connor, writing for the plurality in Troxell,

went on to explain the basic notion of a fit parent. A

parent is fit if she “adequately cares for . . . her

children.” Jd. This Court’s recognition of fitness is

significant. Nothing in the record suggested Christy did

not adequately care for Amber. [App. 16] Rather, all of

the evidence showed Christy provided more than

adequate care for Amber. Allison Barber, who lived

with Christy and Amber in Raleigh and Hickory,

testified for respondents that Christy was a good

mother. Allison had no misgivings about Christy

watching her own young daughter. When asked by

respondents about activities with Amber, Allison

replied they took their children to the park, worked on

crafts, and went on trips to the mountains. When

Christy worked in Hickory, Amber would spend the

night either with her grandparents or with Roberta

Jewell, a child-care provider with experience running

day care facilities. Sometimes Amber would spend the

entire night, and sometimes Christy would pick her up

early in the morning after work. Jewell testified Christy

appeared to love Amber, and that Amber was always

clean, well fed, and well dressed. Nothing indicated

Christy did not take good care of Amber. Jimmy

Morris, a private investigator hired by respondents,

never saw any sign that Christy mistreated Amber.

Even Derene Speagle testified that when Christy

25

\

brought Amber to them she was clean. Respondents

offered no evidence Christy mistreated Amber in any

way.

Relying loosely on the relative fitness of a third

party vis-a-vis a natural parent carries a constitutionally

unacceptable risk that the resulting custody analysis will

impermissibly lower the burden a third party should

shoulder to obtain custody from a natural parent. See

Hamers v. Guttormson, 610 N.W.2d 758 (N.D.

2000)(unfitness must mean more than poor parenting

choices); In re S.B.L. 150 Vt. 294, 553 A.2d 1078

(1988)(due process requires showing natural parent

unfit in dispute with third party and “best interests”

standard is not appropriate). In a contest between a

parent and a non-parent, a parent cannot be deprived of

the custody of her child unless there has been a finding,

after notice required by due process, that she has caused

or a least created a risk of substantial harm to the child.

Only then may a court engage in a “best interests of the

child” evaluation in determining custody. In re Adoption

of a Female Child, 896 S.W.2d 546, 548 (Tenn. 1995).

Both the trial court’s convoluted musings at the

end of the custody trial, its less than clear order, and the

state supreme court decision lead to the inescapable

conclusion that Christy was denied custodv of Amber

almost exclusively because of a disapproval of Christy's

past conduct, none of which had any effect whatsoever

on Amber. However one may regard a mother’s work

as a topless dancer and romantic involvement with

several men (all outside the Amber’s presence and none

of which left her abandoned or neglected), it cannot

justify denying Christy custody of Amber in favor of the

non-parent, third party respondents. The intermediate

appellate court specifically noted there was no evidence

or findings of fact that would support a conclusion that

26

Christy engaged in behavior which would justify

stripping her of her right as a parent. [App. 18] There

was no proof Christy engaged in any behavior

detrimental to Amber or which had a substantial risk (or

even any risk) of causing some harm to her. [App. 20]

Because of a basic disapproval of some parts of Christy's

lifestyle (all of which ended long before the custody trial

and which an expert testified would never resume), the

trial judge imposed its own judgment of what was in

Amber's “best interests” in awarding custody to

respondents and the state supreme court simply

followed suit. As this Court noted in Troxell, this

subjective approach through the use of “best interests of

the child” standard essentially placed a burden on

Christy, the mother, of disproving that custody for

respondents would be in the best interest of Amber.

This decisional framework failed to provide Christy

with the protection for her fundamental constitutional

right to the custody of Amber. 530 U.S. at 69. The result

here is flatly outside acceptable constitutional

constraints.

It is clear the lower courts simply exercised their

judgment in determining whether Christy or

respondents would be better parents of Amber.

However, the constitutional strictures preclude this

discretionary determination. The lower courts were not

free simply to decide it would be in Amber's best

interest to be with respondents. Troxell makes this

abundantly clear. To the extent the lower courts did so

because of a disagreement with or disapproval of

Christy’s past conduct, which all the evidence showed

no longer continued, this discretionary determination in

utter disregard of Christy’s constitutionally protected

rights as Amber’s mother is simply indefensible. This

Court should grant certiorari.

27

CONCLUSION

For the reasons stated herein, Christy Lynette

Holland Seitz respectfully requests that the judgment

of the Supreme Court of North Carolina be summarily

reversed or vacated and remanded for reconsideration

in light of Troxell v. Granville, 530 U.S. 57 (2000). In the

alternative, she respectfully requests that a writ of

certiorari issue to review the decision below.

RESPECTFULLY submitted this the 8 day of

April 2002.

RUDOLF MAHER WIDENHOUSE

& FIALKO

*M. Gordon Widenhouse, Jr.

(NCSB 10107)

312 West Franklin Street

Chapel Hill, North Carolina 27516

Telephone: 919-967-4900

*Counsel of Record

28

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Appendix to Petition

Opinion

Supreme Court of North Carolina

entered December 18, 2001 0.......:.csscssecscscses App. 1

Opinion

North Carolina Court of Appeals

entered December 29, 2000........... cesses App. 15

Order and Judgment of

The Honorable William A. Creech

State Of North Carolina, Catawba County

General Court of Justice, District Court Division

Re: Custody, Visitation and Child Support

ENSUE GRICE TF, TIFF sets snsssssercsessncsansans App. 21

Excerpt of Transcript of Trail before

The Honorable William A. Creech

on September 4, 1998:

Oral Findings of Facts of

The Honorable William A. Creech............ App. 42

Opinion

Supreme Court of North Carolina

Re: Denying Petition for Rehearing

extered Jariary 7; 2002 ..cccccessssoresesrsacasesans App. 47

Judgment

Supreme Court of North Carolina

entered January 7, 2002.......:sc-ssssssssersssaooss App. 49

App. i

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

No. 32PA01

FILED: 18 DECEMBER 2001

[Entered: December 18, 2001]

WILLIAM SPEAGLE, and wife, DERENE SPEAGLE

Vv.

CHRISTY LYNETTE HOLLAND SEITZ

On discretionary review pursuant to N.C.GS. §

7A-31 of a unanimous decision of the Court of Appeals,

141 N.C. App. 534, 541 S.E.2d 188 (2000), reversing an

order and judgment entered 5 April 1999 by Creech, J.,

in District Court, Catawba County. Heard in the

Supreme Court 11 September 2001.

Sigmon, Clark, Mackie, Hutton, Hanvey & Ferrell,

P.A., by Forrest A. Ferrell and Stephen L. Palmer; and Long,

Parker, Warren & Jones, P.A., by Robert B. Long, Jr., for

plaintiff-appellants.

Ruldolf Maher Widenhouse & Fialko, by Thomas K.

Maher, for defendant-appellee.

LAKE, Chief Justice.

The question presented for review in this case is

Whether the trial court was correct in determining

defendant lost her constitutionally protected status as a

parent and in applying the “best interests of the child”

analysis under the circumstances in this case. The

Court of Appeals reversed the trial court, holding there

was no evidence of: “conduct inconsistent” with

App. 1

defendant’s protected status at the time of trial or at

any time soon before trial, which would support

triggering of the “best interest” analysis. Speagle v.

Seitz, 141 N.C. App. 534, 537 n.1, 541 S.E.2d 188, 190 n.1

(2000).

On 1 March 2001, this Court allowed

defendant’s motion to dismiss plaintiffs’ appeal of a

constitutional question, but allowed plaintiffs’ petition

for discretionary review. For the reasons stated below,

we reverse the decision of the Court of Appeals and

direct that court to reinstate the trial court’s judgment

awarding custody of the child to plaintiffs.

On 3 September 1993, defendant, Christy

Lynette Hollane (now Christy Seitz), gave birth to a

daughter, Amber Ashton Holland, out of wedlock. The

biological father of the child was William Stacy

Speagle. Starting soon after the child’s birth, defendant

and the child often moved from one location to

another. Defendant and the minor child resided with

plaintiffs, William Speagle and Derene Speagle, and the

father from about 1 October 1993 until shortly after

Christmas in December 1993. Plaintiffs are the parents

of Stacy Speagle and the paternal grandparents of the

child.

Defendant was employed as a topless dancer at

various establishments in North Carolina frora 1993

through 1995. Defendant ‘was fired from one such

establishment in June 1995 in Hickory, North Carolina,

for violating its rules by ejaculating a male patron in

front of the audience.

During the early part of 1994, defendant and the

infant child resided with defendant’s mother and

stepfather. During this period, defendant denied that

Stacy Speagle was the biological father of the child.

App. 2

However, a paternity test confirmed he was the

biological father. Defendant and her daughter moved

to a townhouse in the Bethlehem community of

Alexander County, North Carolina, in January or

February 1994. Plaintiffs and the child’s father visited

the child at this location. Defendant and the child

moved to Raleigh in October 1994. In March 1995, they

moved back to Hickory, North Carolina. After her

return to Hickory in 1995, defendant danced at another

establishment in Hickory at various times throughout

the year. While defendant worked, she left her child in

the care of a woman previously warned by the

Catawba County Department of Social Services for

keeping too many children in her house. Defendant

occasionally picked the child up at 1:00 or 2:00 a.m.

from this residence.

Defendant and the father reconciled several

times after the child’s birth. After a period of

reconciliation in the summer of 1995, they soon

separated again. Defendant did not allow the father to

see his child after this separation. The father filed two

separate actions in Catawba County, seeking custody

and legitimation of the minor child. On 12 December

1995, the trial court entered a temporary custody order

providing joint custody to defendant and the father.

The custody case was set for trial commencing at the 21

February 1996 session of court.

In September 1995, defendant moved to

Carolina Beach, North Carolina, with the child in her

custody. From September 1995 until November 1995,

defendant worked part-time as a topless dancer in

Snead’s Ferry, North Carolina. During this period, she

had a relationship with Bryce Delon, a marine

stationed nearby at Camp Lejeune. On weekends,

App. 3

defendant and her sister, Brandy Holland, would

spend the night on the base with Delon _and his

roommate, Heath Mosely. On occasion, defendant

engaged in sexual intercourse with Delon, and her

sister engaged in sexual intercourse with Mosely

during these weekends.

Defendant had sole custody of the child from

the time of her birth until 12 December 1995, when the

trial court entered an order granting joint custody to

defendant and the father. During the times defendant

and the father were not reconciled and he had custody

of the minor child, both father and child resided with

plaintiffs.

In December 1995, defendant traveled with

Delon to Texas to meet his family. On 18 January 1996,

defendant and Stacy Speagle again reconciled and

began living together in defendant’s home in Hickory.

After this reconciliation, Delon visited defendant at her

residence in Hickory.

On 29 January 1996, Delon shot and killed Stacy

Speagle. Later that evening, Delon committed suicide.

On 30 January 1996, defendant was arrested and

charged with the first-degree murder of Speagle and

conspiracy to commit first-degree murder. On the day of

defendant's arrest, plaintiffs filed a complaint seeking

permanent custody of the child as well as an ex parte

order for temporary custody. The District Court,

Catawba County, immediately entered an emergency

order granting plaintiffs custody of the child. Defendant

remained in jail until 26 March 1996, when she was

released on bond. After being released on bond,

defendant moved to Dallas, Texas, and lived with her

sister, Brandy Holland. She later established her own

residence there and worked as an office receptionist.

App. 4

On 29 March 1996, defendant filed an answer to

plaintiffs’ complaint and counterclaimed for custody.

On 2 May 1996, the trial court denied defendant's

motion for temporary custody. The court allowed

plaintiffs’ motion to stay further proceedings either

until the completion of defendant's trial for Speagle’s

murder or the district attorney, the State Bureau of

Investigation and the Hickory Police Department

“decid[e] to share all information which plaintiffs’

counsel considers adequate to present the case of the

plaintiffs at a custody proceeding.” On 29 June 1997,

after a six-week trial, defendant was acquitted of all

charges relating to the murder of Speagle. In October

1997, defendant married Eric Seitz in Texas, and in

June 1998, she gave birth to a second child.

In the case sub judice, the trial court found as a

fact that defendant’s “lifestyle and romantic

involvements” resulted in her “neglect and separation

from the minor child” and concluded that defendant

was unfit to have custody of the child. The trial court

found as a fact and concluded as a matter of law that,

at the time of the hearing, it was in the best interests of

the child for custody to remain with plaintiffs.

Defendant was awarded visitation with the child.

The trial court further found defendant's

conduct to be inconsistent with her constitutionally

protected interest as set forth in Petersen v. Rogers, 337

N.C. 397, 445 S.E.2d 901 (1994). In Petersen, this Court

held that natural parents have a constitutionally

protected interest in the companionship, custody, care,

and control of their children. Absent a showing of

unfitness or neglect, this interest must prevail in a

custody dispute between a parent and a nonparent. Id.

at 403-04, 445 S.E.2d at 905.

App. 9

In addition, the trial court made several findings

of fact regarding plaintiffs and their relationship with

the minor child. The trial court found plaintiffs

presented ample testimony of their love for the child

and their ability to provide for her care and

upbringing. Plaintiffs had good character and

reputations, with a stable life in a comfortable, well-

kept home in Hickory, North Carolina. The child was

well adjusted; was enrolled in a nearby school; and had

a strong bond with plaintiff, Derene Speagle. Shortly

after the child began visitation with defendant,

plaintiffs sought professional assistance from a child

psychologist to assist the child with those visits. The

trial court found that since the child’s birth, plaintiffs

and the child had a close and loving relationship, the

continuation of which was necessary to protect the

child’s best interests and welfare.

Defendant appealed the trial court’s decision to

the Court of Appeals, contending there was insufficient

evidence to support the trial court's finding that

defendant lost her constitutionally protected right to

custody. The Court of Appeals agreed, and based on

Petersen, it reversed the trial court’s ruling and awarded

custody of the child to defendant. Speagle, 141 N.C.

App. at 537-38, 541 S.E.2d at 190. The Court of Appeals

held there existed “no evidence [d]efendant was

engaging in any ‘conduct inconsistent’ with her

protected status in August 1998, the date of the custody

trial, or any time soon before that trial.” /d. at 537 n.1,

5941 S.E.2d at 190 n1. The Court of Appeals thus

concluded that defendant did not lose _ her

constitutionally protected status. Id. at 537, 541 S.E.2d at

190. Therefore, the court reasoned that it was improper

for the trial court to apply the best interests analysis. Id.

App. 6

In the appeal to the Court of Appeals, plaintiffs

asserted a cross-assignment of error addressing the

trial court's failure to admit and consider evidence of

defendant's participation in the murder. This cross-

assignment was not addressed by the Court of

‘Appeals. In their petition for discretionary review by

this Court, plaintiffs included this issue that the Court

of Appeals failed to address. On 1 March 2001, this

Court allowed plaintiffs’ petition for discretionary

review with no limitations.

Plaintiffs now argue that the trial court's

findings of fact of defendant's neglect and separation

from the child and that defendant’s conduct was

inconsistent with her protected status were supported

by the evidence, and the trial court’s conclusions of

law based thereon were correct. Additionally,

plaintiffs assert that while the trial court reached the

correct result, the court erred in excluding evidence of

defendant’s participation in Speagle’s murder.

Plaintiffs contend that in light of defendant's overall

conduct and under these circumstances, the Court of

Appeals erred in concluding defendant did not lose

her constitutionally protected status. Specifically,

plaintiffs assert that the evidence of defendant's

involvement in Speagle’s murder was relevant and

should have been allowed and incorporated into the

trial court’s determination. Plaintiffs contend

defendant's participation in the murder of the child’s

father could be proven by a preponderance of the

evidence, and such proof, in and of itself, would

abrogate her constitutional right to custody. Plaintiffs

contend the murder evidence and trial court's

findings of fact regarding defendant’s conduct

App. 7

inconsistent with her protected status, based upon her

lifestyle, strongly support the trial court’s award of

custody to plaintiffs.

The United States Supreme Court has

recognized that protection of a parent's interest in the

custody of his or her children is not absolute. Lehr v.

Robertson, 463 U.S. 248, 77 L. Ed. 2d 614 (1983). This

principle is stated by this Court in Price v. Howard, 346

N.C. 68, 76, 484 S.E.2d 528, 533 (1997). Like the present

case, Price also involved a custody dispute between a

parent and a third party who was not the natural

parent. In Price, this Court set forth a test for

determining when a parent loses his or her protected

status and the “best interest of the child” analysis is

triggered, holding as follows:

A natural parent’s constitutionally

protected paramount interest in the

companionship, custody, care, and control

of his or her child is a counterpart of the

parental responsibilities the parent has

assumed and is based on a presumption

that he or she will act in the best interest of

the child. Lehr, 463 U.S. 248, 77 L. Ed. 2d

614; In re Hughes, 254 N.C. 434, 119 S.E.2d

189 [(1961)]. Therefore, the parent may no

longer enjoy a paramount status if his or

her conduct is inconsistent with this

presumption or if he or she fails to

shoulder the responsibilities that are

attendant to rearing a child. If a natural

parent's conduct has not been inconsistent

with his or her constitutionally protected

status, application of the “best interest of

App. 8

the child” standard in a custody dispute

with a nonparent would offend the Due

Process Clause. However, conduct

inconsistent with the parent's protected

status, which need not rise to the statutory

level warranting termination of parental

rights, see N.C.GS. § 7A-289.32 (1995),

would result in application of the “best

interest of the child” test without

offending the Due Process Clause.

Unfitness, neglect, and abandonment

clearly constitute conduct inconsistent

with the protected status parents may

enjoy. Other types of conduct, which must

be viewed on a case-by-case basis, can also

rise to this level so as to be inconsistent

with the protected status of natural

parents. Where such conduct is properly

found by the trier of fact, based on

evidence in the record, custody should be

determined by the “best interest of the

child” test mandated by statute.

Price, 346 N.C. at 79, 484 S.E.2d at 534-35 (emphasis

added) (citations omitted); see also Adams v. Tessener,

354 N.C. 57, 61-62, 500 S.E.2d 499, 502 (2001). We

reaffirm the holding in Price.

As mentioned above, plaintiffs contend the trial

court erred in excluding relevant evidence of

defendant’s participation in the murder. Not

withstanding plaintiffs’ assignments of error and

arguments in this regard, the Court of Appeals did not

specifically address the relevancy of the murder

evidence.

App. 9

While we do not consider the evidence relating

to the murder to be essential to our determination -of

the instant case, in light of the circumstances here

presented, we elect to address the issue of the

relevancy of this type of evidence in custody

proceedings, as this was one of the main contentions of

the parties in both the trial court and the Court of

Appeals, and we consider this issue important in the

development of our law in custody proceedings.

In addition, we do not agree with the inference

contained in the Court of Appeals’ opinion that

custody proceedings, unlike termination of parental

rights proceedings, cannot or should not be concerned

with past circumstances or past actions and conduct of

a parent when determining custody as between parents

or between parents and nonparents. We conclude that

any past circumstance or conduct which could impact

either the present or the future of a child is relevant,

notwithstanding the fact that such circumstance or

conduct did not exist or was not being engaged in at

the time of the custody proceeding. In this regard, we

note that findings of fact of a-parent’s conduct

inconsistent with that parent’s protected status,

whether related to past or present conduct, do not in

and of themselves determine custody. A finding of

inconsistent conduct merely triggers the best interests

of the child analysis.

We now turn to whether the evidence of

defendant's participation in Speagle’s murder was

relevant and constituted “conduct inconsistent” with

her protected status. While the trial court did not

expressly state this evidence was not relevant, it is clear

from the record that the trial court did not consider this

evidence when determining custody. The court noted

App. 10

defendant had been tried and acquitted of all charges

in the Speagle murder and stated that evidence of

defendant's role in the murder had “nothing to do with

what is before this Court today.” We disagree with the

trial court's ruling regarding the relevancy and thus the

admissibility of this evidence.

We find the logic and authority set forth in a

prominent case from California to be compelling. The

. court there held: “As a matter of case law, as well as

common sense, the question of whether one parent has

actually murdered the other is about-as relevant as it is

possible to imagine in any case involving whether the

surviving parent should be allowed any form of child

custody.” Simpson v. Brown, 67 Cal. App. 4th 914, 925-

26, Z9 Cal. Rptr. 2d 389, 395 (1998). The relevance of

this type of evidence in child custody cases is clear, and

such evidence is paramount.

Other areas of North Carolina law find such

evidence highly relevant. For example, the “slayer”

statute, N.C.-GS. § 31A-4 (1999), prevents a murderer

from acquiring the testate or intestate property of a

decedent he willfully and unlawfully killed. Likewise,

the principle that a person may not benefit from his or

her own wrong prevents a parent from sharing in the

wrongful death proceeds in an action brought by the

child’s estate, based upon the parent's negligence.

Carver v. Carver, 310 N.C. 669, 675, 314 S.E.2d 739, 744

(1984); see 2 James B. McLaughlin, Jr. & Richard T.

Bowser, Wiggins: Wills and Administration of Estates in

North Carolina § 203 (4th ed. 2000). It would be

incongruous for evidence of a party’s participation in a

murder to be relevant in property and estate cases but

not be relevant in child custody cases where one parent

is accused of killing the other parent. |

App. 11

The trial court excluded testimony previously

given by Robert Varney in defendant's criminal

trial. That testimony tended to show that in December

1995, Bryce Delon approached Varney and asked him

to kill Speagle while Delon was on military leave.

Delon apparently wanted to kill Speagle because of

his custody battle with defendant. Varney also

testified in the murder trial that on 27 January 1996,

two days prior to the murder, he traveled with Delon

to Hickory to visit defendant at the home she was

sharing with Stacy Speagle. During the evening of 27

January 1996, a woman named Heather Brown came to

defendant's residence. According to Varney’s

testimony, Delon hid in the bathroom with a .45-caliber

pistol in hand until he realized it was Brown. Delon

then stated to Brown, “You almost got f---ing shot.”

Varney testified this incident occurred while the

child was in the residence. During the trip, Delon told

Varney that “he [Delon] was going to have Christy

[defendant] send him [Stacy Speagle] to a Food Lion

and he was going to pop him in the parking lot.”

Speagle was in fact murdered by Delon in a Food Lion

parking lot. Delon murdered Speagle with a .45-caliber

pistol. All of this evidence was excluded in the custody

trial.

The trial court did consider testimony by Brown

regarding a statement made by defendant concerning

the victim. Brown testified that in December 1995,

defendant stated to Brown that “Stacy Speagle would

be dead by Christmas and it was taken care of.”

Speagle was murdered by Delon on 29 January 1996,

one month after Christmas.

App. 12

ET ie Lia NTO IA ca tal hI aM eS ae So

The California Court of Appeals dealt with a

similar situation in Hightower v. Smith, 147 Cal. App. 2d

686, 306 P.2d 86 (1956). In that case, the mother’s

paramour was convicted of murdering the child’s

father. At the time of the murder, the child’s father

was married to the child’s mother. The mother was

indicted, tried and acquitted of the father’s murder.

The mother sought custody of her child over the child’s

paternal aunt. The trial court considered all evidence

and denied custody to the mother. Id. at-687, 306 P.2d

at 86. The California Court of Appeals affirmed the

trial court. Id. at 703, 306 P.2d at 98.

In this case, defendant was acquitted of all

criminal charges relating to the murder. The standard

of proof in a criminal trial is proof of guilt beyond a

reasonable doubt. However, the applicable standard of

proof in child custody cases is by a preponderance, or

greater weight, of the evidence. Jones v. All American

Life Ins. Co., 312 N.C. 725, 733, 325 S.E.2d 237, 241

(1985). Preponderance of the evidence is a lower

standard than proof beyond a reasonable doubt.

Although defendant was acquitted in the criminal trial,

evidence of her involvement in the murder of the

child’s father was highly relevant in the subsequent

custody case and could possibly have been proven

using the lower standard. Thus, the trial court should

have considered all relevant, admissible evidence

relating to defendant's role in Speagle’s murder.

Defendant argued Varney’s testimony was

inadmissible hearsay, regardless of relevancy.

Plaintiffs contended the evidence fell within the Rule

804(b)(1) hearsay exception as former testimony

admissible where the declarant at a later trial is

unavailable as a witness. The trial court did not find

App. 13

this evidence inadmissable as hearsay, and the Court of

Appeals did not address the issue. We decline to

address this issue as well because we conclude a new

trial is not required in this case.

In light of the evidence before and considered

by the trial court, we conclude the trial court was

correct in its finding of fact that defendant’s conduct

“resulted in her neglect and separation from the minor

child,” and in accord with our holding in Price, we

further conclude the trial court was correct in holding,

in effect, that defendant's actions were inconsistent

with her protected status, and in applying the “best

interest of the child” analysis, that defendant was unfit

to have custody. The decision of the Court of Appeals

is therefore reversed and that court is directed to

reinstate the order and judgment of the trial court.

REVERSED.

Justice EDMUNDS did not participate in the

consideration or decision of this case.

App. 14

NORTH CAROLINA COURT OF APPEALS

Filed: 29 December 2000

[Entered: December 29, 2000]

WILLIAM SPEAGLE, and wife

DERENE SPEAGLE,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. NO. COA99-1526

CHRISTY LYNETTE HOLLAND SEITZ,

Defendant.

Appeal by plaintiffs and defendant from order and

judgment filed 5 April 1999 by Judge William A.

Creech

in Catawba County District Court. Heard in the

Court of Appeals 17 October 2000.

Sigmon, Clark, Mackie, Hutton & Hanvey, P.A., by

Forrest A. Ferrell and Stephen L. Palmer, for plaintift-

appellants/appellees.

Rudolf Maher Widenhouse & Fialko, by Thomas K.

Maher and M. Gordon Widenhouse, for defendant-

appellant/ appellee.

App. 15

Eee BE Mere ncn ie SEN a Erma tb rere epee pease ae

GREENE, Judge.

Christy Lynette Holland Seitz (Defendant)

appeals a 5 April 1999 Order and Judgment (the Order)

awarding William Speagle and Derene Speagle

(collectively, Plaintiffs) custody of Defendant's

daughter, Amber Ashton Holland (Amber), with liberal

visitation to Defendant. Plaintiffs cross-appeal the

Order's denial of Plaintiffs' claim Defendant be ordered

to pay child support for Amber. In summary form, the

undisputed evidence shows Amber was born out of

wedlock on September 1993. Defendant is the mother of

the child and William Stacy Speagle (the father), now

deceased, was the biological father of the child.

Plaintiffs are the biological parents of the father and,

~ thus, the paternal grandparents of Amber. Defendant

had sole custody of Amber from birth until 24 October

1995, when a court order was entered granting joint

custody to Defendant and the father. During the time

the father had custody of Amber, the father and child

resided in Plaintiffs' home. On 29 January 1996, the

father was killed by Bryce Colby Delon, a recent

companion of Defendant. On 30 January 1996,

Defendant was arrested and charged with first-degree

murder and conspiracy to commit first-degree murder

of the father. On that same day, Plaintiffs filed an action

seeking custody of Amber, and an Emergency Order

was immediately entered granting Amber's custody to

Plaintiffs. Defendant remained in jail until 26 March

1996, after which she was released on bond, moved to

Dallas, Texas, and became employed as an office

receptionist. On 29 March 1996, Defendant filed an

answer to Plaintiffs' complaint and counterclaimed for

Amber's custody. On 29 June 1997, Defendant was

App. 16

acquitted of all criminal charges arising from the father's

death. On 19 August 1997, the trial court entered a

temporary order maintaining Amber's custody with

Plaintiffs and granting Defendant certain visitation

privileges. With few exceptions, Defendant exercised

her visitation privileges consistent with the 19 August

1997 order. Defendant was married to Robert Eric Seitz

of Texas on 4 October 1997 and gave birth to his son on

15 June 1998. Defendant and her husband presently live

in Texas. The evidence further shows Plaintiffs are of

good character and reputation and have a stable home

in Hickory, North Carolina. Amber is well adjusted and

is currently enrolled in the Catawba County schools.

There is a strong bond between Amber and Plaintiffs.

Defendant, between Amber's birth and her arrest in

1996, was regularly employed as a topless dancer at

various clubs and, on occasion, had sexual relations

with different men. There is no evidence Defendant ever

engaged in topless dancing or sexual relations in the

presence of Amber. The triai court entered findings of

fact consistent with this undisputed evidence and

further found in part:

98... . Defendant's lifestyle and romantic

involvement[]s resulted in her neglect

and separation from the minor child.

39... . [T]hat any actions in the past but

not recent past by .. . Defendant that may

have been construed as inconsistent with

the presumption that the biological

parent will act always in the best interests

of the child do not render . . . Defendant

unfit to have a relationship with, but not

custody of, her daughter.

App. 17

The trial court then concluded, in part: “that at

this time the best interests of the child would be

served [by] granting custody to... . Plaintiffs” and

“Defendant is unfit to have custody of, but is a fit and

proper person to be granted visitation with, the minor

child.”

The dispositive issue is whether the findings of

fact and conclusions of law in this case justify the trial

court's application of the best interests standard to

adjudicate the custody dispute between a natural

parent and the grandparents. In any child custody

dispute between the parents and third parties,

including grandparents, the parents have

aconstitutionally protected interest in the

companionship, custody, care, and control of their

children. Price v. Howard, 346 N.C. 68, 73, 484 S.E.2d

528, 530 (1997). The interest of the parents, therefore,

prevails against the interest of third parties and

precludes the application of a _ best interests

standard, in resolving child custody disputes, unless

the parents have engaged in some “conduct

inconsistent with [their] protected status.” Id. at 79,

484 S.E.2d at 534. This conduct includes, but is not

limited to: neglect of the children; abandonment of the

children; and, in some circumstances, the voluntary

surrender of custody of the children. Id. Whether the

conduct constitutes “conduct inconsistent” with the

parents' protected status presents a question of law

and, thus, is reviewable de novo, Raynor v. Odom, 124

N.C. App. 724, 731, 478 S.E.2d 655, 659 (1996); see In re

Helms, 127 N.C. App. 505, 510, 491 S.E.2d 672, 675

(1997) (any determination requiring the “exercise of

judgment” is most properly classified a conclusion of

App. 18

law), and “need not rise” to that conduct necessary to

terminate parental rights, Price, 346 N.C. at 79, 484

S.E.2d at 534. The parental conduct must, however,

in order to give rise to a best interests inquiry, have

some negative impact on the child or constitute a

substantial risk of such impact. See Wisconsin v. Yoder,

406 U.S. 205, 233-34, 32 L. Ed. 2d 15, 35 (1972) (parents'

constitutional right to rear their children can be

suspended only when “it appears that parental

decisions will jeopardize the health or safety of the

child”); cf. Browning v. Helff, 136 N.C. App. 420, 424,

924 S.E.2d 95, 98 (2000)(modification of child custody

order permissible only upon showing of a change

in circumstances “affecting the welfare of the

child”); In re Safriet, 112 N.C. App. 747, 752, 436 S.E.2d

898, 901-02 (1993) (neglect of child, within meaning

of Juvenile Code, occurs only upon showing of lack

of proper care accompanied with a showing that

the lack of care resulted in “some physical, mental,

Or emotional impairment of the juvenile”);

In re McCraw Children, 3 N.C. App. 390, 395, 165 S.E.2d

1, 5 (1969) (adulterous conduct of parent does not

per se render that parent unfit to have custody). In

this case, the trial court clearly utilized a best interests

inquiry. It concluded it was in the “best interests

of the child” to grant custody to Plaintiffs, the

child's grandparents. This was_ error. Even

assuming Defendant's conduct between 3

September 1993 (Amber's birth) and 30 January

1996. (Defendant's arrest) is “inconsistent” with her

App. 19

protected status,! there are no findings of fact or any

evidence in the record this conduct had any negative

impact on Amber or had a substantial risk of causing

some harm to her. Accordingly, it was improper for the

trial court to utilize the best interests standard to

resolve this custody dispute, as Defendant has not lost

her constitutionally protected right to retain custody of

her child. The Order of the trial court must, therefore,

be reversed. It, consequently, is unnecessary for us to

address Plaintiffs' appeal or any other assignments of

error.

Reversed.

Judges MARTIN and EDMUNDS concur.

t Although the “conduct inconsistent” with the parents’ protected

constitutional right is not to be judged solely by the termination statutes,

Price, 346 N.C. at 79, 484 S.E.2d at 534, the law with regard to termination

of parental rights can, nonetheless, be instructive. That law holds that

termination of parental rights cannot be based on past circumstances,

which no longer exist, but must be based on grounds present at the time

of the termination hearing. In re Young, 346 N.C. 244, 248, 485 S.E.2d 612,

615 (1997). In this case, even assuming Defendant's topless dancing or

sexual relations constitute “conduct inconsistent” with her protected

parental status, within the meaning of Price, there is no evidence this

conduct extended beyond 26 March 1996. Thus, there is no evidence

Defendant was engaging in any “conduct inconsistent” with her

protected status in August 1998, the date of the custody trial, or at any

time soon before that trial. Furthermore, although Defendant was forced

to leave her child when she was arrested and placed in custody, there is

no evidence Defendant intended for this separation to be permanent and

indeed Defendant sought to regain custody upon her release from jail. See

Price, 346 N.C. at 83, 484 S.E.2d at 537 (parents' grant of temporary

custody to another does not necessarily result in loss of protected status).

App. 20

STATE OF NORTH CAROLINA

CATAWBA COUNTY

IN THE GENERAL COURT OF JUSTICE

DISTRICT COURT DIVISION

FILE NUMBER: 96CVD234

WILLIAM SPEAGLE, and wife

DERENE SPEAGLE

PLAINTIFFS, .

-VS-

CHRISTY LYNETTE HOLLAND SEITZ

DEFENDANT,

ORDER AND JUDGMENT OF CUSTODY,

VISITATION AND CHILD SUPPORT

[Entered: March 19, 1999]

THIS CAUSE coming on to be heard and being

heard before the undersigned William A. Creech,

District Court Judge presiding at a Special Term of

District Court, Civil Division, Domestic Relations of the

General Court of Justice for Judicial District 25-B in

Newton, Catawba County, North Carolina

commencing on August 11, 1998 and ending on

September 4, 1998. Plaintiffs were represented by J.

Richardson Rudisill, Jr. Of Hickory, North Carolina

and the Defendant was represented by Theodore F.

Cummings, III ef Hickory, North Carolina and Lisa

Andrew Dubs of Hickory, North Carolina.

App. 21

From the file, record and evidence presented,

THE COURT MAKES THE FOLLOWING FINDINGS

OF FACT:

1. That this action was commenced

. by the filing of a duly verified complaint and the

issuance of a summons from the Office of the

Clerk of Superior Court of Catawba County on

January 30, 1996.

2. That at the time of commencement

of this action, on January 30, 1996, both the

Plaintiffs and the Defendant were citizens and

residents of the State of North Carolina,

Catawba County, and had been such

for in excess of six (6) months.

3. That on January 30, 1996, Plaintiffs

obtained a Ex-parte Emergency Order granting

possession of the minor child Amber Ashton

Holland, born September 3, 1993, and the

verified Complaint and Emergency Order were

served on the Defendant on February 6, 1996

while she was incarcerated in the Catawba

County jail in Newton, North Carolina.

4. That through her attorney, the

Defendant filed a duly verified answer on

March 29, 1996.

5. That the Plaintiffs are the

biological grandparents of the minor child

Amber Ashton Holland, and the biological

parents of the father of the minor child and each

being approximately fifty (50) years of age.

6. That the Defendant is_ the

biological mother of the minor child and being

approximately twenty-four (24) years of age.

App. 22

That the biological father of the minor child,

Wituam Stacy Speagle, is deceased, having died

on January 29, 1996. |

7. That the minor child, whose

custody is in question, Amber Ashley Holland,

was born September 3, 1993 and is now

approximately five (5) years of age.

8. That the Defendant and the father

of the minor child were never married to one

another.

9. That from the time of her birth, the

minor child was in the physical custody of her

mother, the Defendant, until October 24, 1995,

when a Temporary Order was entered by the

Honorable Oliver L. Noble granting shared

custody between the Defendant and the child’s

biological father.

10. That the Defendant and the minor

child resided with the Plaintiffs and the father of

the minor child from on or about October 1, 1993

until shortly after Christmas in December of

1993. That after the Defendant and the minor

child moved out of the home of the Plaintiffs,

the Plaintiffs continued to have contact with the

minor child.

- 11.‘ During the early part of 1994, the

Defendant and the infant child resided with the

Defendant's mother and step-father. During

this period, Defendant denied that William

Stacey Speagle was the biological father of

Amber Ashton Holland, however, a paternity

test confirmed that he was the biological father

of the child.

App. 23

12. That the Defendant subsequently

moved into a rental dwelling in the Bethlehem

Community of Alexander County where

William Stacy Speagle and the Plaintiffs visited

the infant child, Amber Aston Holland.

13. That during this period of time,

Defendant was having some type of romantic

affairs including sexual intercourse with men

other than William Stacy Speagle.

14. That thereafter the Defendant

moved to Raleigh, North Carolina on or about

October of 1994. While there, the Defendant

was employed as a topless dancer.

15. That the Defendant moved back to

Hickory, North Carolina on or about March of

1995. That from October of 1994 to March of

1995, the Plaintiffs and the biological father of

the minor child continued to have visitation

with the minor child and during such visitation

would participate in the care of the minor child.

16. That when the Defendant returned

to Hickory, North Carolina she was employed as

a topless dancer at Thee Dollhouse in Hickory,

North Carolina.

17. That there were periods of time

when the Defendant and the biological father of

the minor child would reconcile. That further,

during the summer of 1995 the parents of the

minor child did in fact reconcile but later

separated again during which time the

Defendant did not allow William Stacy Speagle

or the Plaintiffs to see the minor child.

—s

App. 24

18. That after the aforementioned

separation, the biological father, William Stacy

Speagle, filed two separate actions in Catawba

County, to will An action for the custody of the

minor child in Catawba County, File Number

95CVD2217; and an action Legitimating, Amber

Ashton Holland, in Catawba County, File

Number 95 SP 201.

19. The Defendant Christy Holland,

moved, taking the minor child, Amber, to the

Carolina Beach area of North Carolina.

20. That on October 24, 1995, the

Honorable Oliver L. Noble entered a Temporary

Order giving custody of the minor child to the

mother on the second Sunday in each month

through and including the next fourteen day

period and to the biological father at all other

times.

21. That during the period of 1993 and

1994, witnesses testified and the Court finds as a

fact, that Defendant was dancing at an

establishment in Hickory, North Carolina

known as the “PSST” CLUB, later know as the

TRIPLE A CLUB.

22. That Defendant was fired from the

Triple A Club for violating their rules in that

she ejaculated a male patron in front of the

crowd.

23. That Defendant was working at

“Thee Doilhouse” in August and September of

1995, and continued working at this

establishment into December of 1995.

App. 25

24. That while the biological father

had custody of said minor child Amber, he

resided with and maintained the child at the

home of the Plaintiffs who assisted in caring for

the minor child.

25. That from September of 1995, until

November of 1995, the Defendant worked part-

time as a topless dancer in Snead’s Ferry, North

Carolina, near the United States Marine Corp.

Base at Camp Lejeune. During this period, the

Defendant came to know and had a relationship

with Bryce Colby Delon, a marine stationed at

Camp Lejeune.

26. That according to the testimony of

Lance Corporal Heath Mosely, who was the

roommate of the Defendant's boyfriend, Bryce

Colby Delon at Camp Lejeune, the reputation of

both Defendant and her sister Brandy at the ~

Marine Base, was that of “whores”.

27. That on these weekends, both the

Defendant and her sister, would usually spend

the night in Room 316 of the United States’

Marine barracks, being the room of Bryce Colby

Delon and Heath Mosely, but did on occasions,

spend the night with these two (2) Marines at

the “Hostess House” located on the Marine Base

where the Defendant engaged in sexual

intercourse with Bryce Colby Delon and her

sister Brandy Holland and engaged in sexual

intercourse with Heath Mosely. In December

1995, the Defendant accompanied Mr. Delon to

Dallas, Texas where she met his parents and also

performed as a dancer at a Men’s Club.

App. 26

ee Ne |

28. That on one occasion, the minor

child, Amber, was seen by Lance Corporal

Heath Mosely at the residence of the

Defendant's mother, Ms. Geneva Gockel at Ms.

Gockel’s Carolina Beach residence,

approximately an hour’s drive from Snead’s

Ferry, at a time when Marine Bryce Colby Delon

was also at Ms. Gockei’s residence.

29. That during the period September

of 1995, through December of 1995, while

Defendant was in Hickory, she would leave the

minor child, Amber, in the care of on Roberta

Jewell while Defendant danced at Thee

Dollhouse.

That Ms. Jewell had been apprised by the

Catawba County Department of Social Services

that she was maintaining too many children in

her home at one time without a license.

That the Defendant would

sometimes come by Ms. Jewell’s house in the

early morning hours at approximately 1:00

o'clock or 2:00 o’clock a.m., to take the minor

child, Amber, to the Defendant's personal

residence.

That other dancers also left their children

in the care of Ms. Roberta Jewell during this

period.

30. That a written Order was signed

by the Honorable Clerk of Superior Court of

Catawba County on December 27, 1995, which

legitimated the child without changing the

surname.

App. 27

31. That on occasion the Defendant

would visit Bryce Colby Delon in his barracks

room or at the “Hostess House” located on the

Marine Base. And in December 1995, Defendant:

accompanied Mr. Delon to Dallas, Texas where

she met his parents and also performed as a

dancer at a Men’s Club.

32. That Heather Brown, friend of

Defendant, testified that she, along with the

Defendant, the minor child, Amber, and the

minor child of Miss Brown, traveled to

Morganton, North Carolina in December of

1995, to see a movie.

That Defendant stated, to Ms. Brown, that

William Stacy Speagle would be dead by

Christmas and it was taken care of.

33. That on January 18, 1996 the

Defendant and the biological father of the minor

child reconciled and began living together with

the minor child in the home of the Defendant.

34. That on January 29, 1996 the

biological father of the minor child was killed by

Bryce Colby Delon, who on the same night

committed suicide.

35. That on January 30, 1996, the

Defendant was arrested and charged with the

First-Degree Murder and Conspiracy to Commit

Murder of William Stacy Speagle.

36. That pursuant to the Emergency

Order entered ex-parte on the 30% day of

January 1996, physical possessiun of the minor

child, Amber, was given to the Plaintiffs.

App. 28

mY That the Defendant remained

incarcerated until March 26, 1996 at which time

she was bonded out of jail. The funds for the

purchase of her bond were provided by Robert

Eric Scitz, a citizen and resident of Dallas, Texas

whom the Defendant did not know prior to her

incarceration.

38. That on March 29, 1996, the

Defendant filed a duly verified Answer through

her then attorney, John F. Cutchim, of Newton,

North Carolina.

39. That on March 29, 1996 the

Defendant filed a motion seeking Temporary

Custody of the child, Amber.

40. That on April 30, 1996, the

Honorable L. Oliver Noble, Jr., signed an order,

which was filed may 2, 1996, staying further

proceedings in the case until the earlier of either

of the following:

A. The completion of the trial -

of Christy Lynette Holland for her

alleged part in the murder of William

Stacy Speagle

B. The Office of the District

Attorney of the 25'* Judicial District, the

North Carolina State Bureau of

Investigation and the Hickory Police

Department deciding to share all

information which Plaintiffs counsel

considers adequate to present the case of

the Plaintiff at a custody hearing.

App. 29

41. That between January 30, 1996 and

August of 1997, the minor child resided with the

Plaintiffs and their other son Scott Speagle.

During this period of time, numerous cards and

notes were sent by the Defendant to the minor

child, Amber, in care of the Plaintiffs herein and

that Plaintiff, Derene Speagle, read one of these

cards and showed some of the drawings on one

card to the minor child. That further, Defendant

made attempts to contact the minor child but

was not allowed to speak to the child until she

was allowed visitation in August, 1997 pursuant

to a Court Order entered on July 18, 1997. That

Plaintiff, William Speagle, testified that from the

time of the entry of the Temporary Order on

January 30, 1996 until the Court Ordered

visitation in August of 1997, the Defendant's

name was never mentioned to the minor child

nor was the Defendant ever discussed with the

minor child. That for a period of approximately

twenty months, the minor child had no contact

with the Defendant.

42. That shortly after being released

from jail, the Defendant traveled to Dallas,

Texas to stay with her sister, Brandie Renee

Holland, and eventually established her own

residence in Dallas, Texas. Subsequently, the

Defendant became employed as a receptionist

with the Scitz Group, Inc. of Dallas, Texas.

43. That after a six (6) week trial, the

Defendant, on June 29, 1997, was acquitted of

the charges of First Degree Murder and

Conspiracy to Commit Murder of William Stacy

Speagle.

App. 30

44. That Defendant through her

attorney, Lisa Andrew Dubs, filed a Motion,

dated July 9, 1997 verified by the Defendant,

seeking the care, custody, control and

supervision of the minor child, Amber Ashton

Holland, and seeking an Immediate Order

removing the child from the Plaintiffs and

placing the child with the Defendant.

45. That on July 10, 1997, defendant,

through her then attorneys, C. Randall Isenhour

and Lisa Andrew Dubs, filed another Motion

seeking, among other relief, that the Ex-Parte

Order which had been submitted to the

Honorable Nancy L. Einstein on July 10, 1997 be

treated as a Motion for an immediate Order and

that a hearing be set on July 15, 1997 in the

District Court of Catawba County.

46. That the Defendants Motions came

on before the Honorable Jonathan L. Jones who

ordered that the Motions were to be heard on

July 18, 1997 and that the presentation of

evidence was restricted to one hour for each the

Plaintiff and the Defendant. That after such

hearing Judge Jones Ordered that the minor

child, Amber, was to remain in the temporary

custody of the Plaintiffs and set a visitation

schedule, which was to commence on August

20, 1997.

47. That the visitation schedule took

place pursuant to the schedule set by Judge

Jones except for the first period of visitation,

visitation on December 12, 1997 and visitation

scheduled around the birth of the Defendant's

second child.

App. 31

48. On October 4, 1997 the Defendant

married Robert Eric Seitz. Further on June 15,

1998 the Defendant gave birth to a son,

Chandler, the half brother of the minor child,

Amber, and the son of Robert Eric Seitz.

49. That between October of 1997, and

the latter stages of the Defendants pregnancy,

she and Eric Seitz regularly flew from Dallas,

Texas, or other locations to Charlotte, North

Carolina and came to Hickory, North Carolina,

an approximate one (1) hour drive away, by

motor vehicle. That during this period of time,

they expended in excess of thirty thousand

dollars in travel expenses.

50. That the Defendant made two

payments to the Plaintiffs of child support, one

on April 30, 1997, in the amount of three

thousand, five hundred, eighty-seven dollars

($3,587.00) and another consisting of two money

orders, totaling one thousand, four hundred

dollars ($1,400.00), dated January 20, 1998

neither of which were negotiated or returned to

the Defendant.

51. That Mr. Springler, a certified

public accountant, employed by Mr. Seitz

testified that Mr. Seitz was well capable of

providing financial security for the Defendant,

his child and the minor child, Amber. Further,

shortly before the commencement of this trial,

Mr. eitz had paid off a Federal Tax Lien in the

approximate amount of one F-undred, eighteen

thousand dollars ($118,000.00) and was subject

to a Judgment from South Trust Bank of Florida

in excess of two hundred fifty thousand dollars

App. 32

($250,000.00) which judgment and lien were to

be paid within ninety days of his testimony and

from the proceeds from the sale of property,

‘owned by Mr. Seitz, in Amarillo, Texas.

52. That the Plaintiffs presented ample

testimony of their love for the minor child and

their ability to continue to provide for the care

and upbringing of the minor child.

53. That the Plaintiffs are of good

character and reputation and have a stable home

life and live, with the minor child Amber, in a

spacious, well kept, and comfortable home in

Hickory, North Carolina.

54. The minor child is well adjusted

and is currently enrolled in Kindergarten at St.

Stephens Elementary School, in Catawba

County, North Carolina. :

55. | That shortly after the minor child

began visitation with the Defendant, the

Plaintiffs sought professional assistance from

Dr. James Powell, Child Psychologist, of

Statesville, North Carolina, to assist the minor

child.

56. That Dr. Powell testified that there

was a strong bond between the minor child and

the Plaintiff, Derene Speagle.

57. That the court finds that since birth

of the child, through and including January 30,

1996, and continuing until the present, there has

been a close and loving relationship between the

Plaintiffs and the minor child and that the

continuation of this relationship is necessary to

protect the best interest and welfare of the minor

child.

App. 33

58. That the court finds that the

Defendant's lifestyle and romantic

involvement’s resulted in her neglect and

separation from the minor child.

59. The Court finds that any actions in

the past but not recent past by the Defendant

that may have been construed as inconsistent

with the presumption that the biological parent

will act always in the best interests of the child

do not render the Defendant unfit to have a

relationship with, but not custody of, her

daughter.

NOW THEREFORE, BASED UPON

THE FOREGOING FINDINGS OF FACTS,

THE COURT CONCLUDES AS A MATTER

OF LAW AS FOLLOWS:

e That the Court has jurisdiction

over the parties and the subject matter hereto.

ro That all pending issues are

properly before the court.

3. That the Plaintiffs are fit and

proper persons to be granted the care, custody,

control, and supervision of the minor child,

Amber Ashton Holland, and that at this time the

best interests of the child would be served

thereby granting custody to the Plaintiffs.

4. That the Defendant is unfit to have

custody of, but is a fit and proper person to be

granted visitation with, the minor child, Amber

Ashton Holland; and, the best interests of the

child thereby would be served by granting

_ liberal visitation to the Defendant.

. App. 34

BASED UPON THE FOREGOING

FINDINGS OF FACT AND CONCLUSIONS

OF LAW, IT IS ORDERED, ADJUDGED, AND

DECREED AS FOLLOWS:

1. Custody of the minor child, Amber

Ashton Holland, is granted to the Plaintiffs

subject to the following “visitation” rights and

privileges granted to Defendant.

A. Defendant shall have

visitation privileges with the minor child

at least once a month in accordance with a

schedule to be agreed upon by the

Plaintiffs and the Defendant. In the

absence of a schedule voluntarily agreed

upon by the Plaintiffs and the Defendant

then Defendant shall have visitation as

follows.

1. Visitation shall take

place during the minor child's

school Fall Break commencing at

4:00 p.m. on the day preceding and

ending at 8:00 p.m. on the date it

ends on even years.

2. Visitation shall take

place during the Thanksgiving

Holidays commencing at 4:00 p.m.

on the day preceding and ending

8:00 p.m. on the afternoon or early

evening of the next Sunday on

uneven years.

App. 35

3. Visitation shall take

place during Christmas vacation

commencing 4:00 p.m. on the

preceding day and ending 4:00

p.m. on December 26 on even

years and from December 26 until

8:00 p.m. the day before school

resumes on uneven years.

4. Visitation shall take

place during the Martin Luther

King Holiday commencing the

Friday before the observance at

4:00 p.m. and ending on the

holiday at 8:00 p.m. on uneven

years.

2. Visitation shall take

place during school Spring Break

commencing on the preceding day

it begins at 4:00 p.m. and ending

on the last day at 8:00 p.m. on even

years.

6. Visitation shall take

place during Easter Break

commencing on the preceding day

at 4:00 p.m. and ending on the last

day at 8:00 p.m. on uneven years.

7. Visitation shall take

place for school summer vacation

commencing one week from the

last day of classes at 4:00 p.m. and

continuing for a period of four

weeks and ending at 8:00 p.m. on

. the last day.

App. 36

8. Visitation for the

school year 1999-2000 and

subsequent years shall follow the

schedule of the Catawba County

School system.

9. The Defendant shall

have visitation with the minor

child on Mother’s Day each year.

Said visitation to begin 4:00 p.m.

on Friday and continue through

Sunday at 8:00 p.m. |

B. The Provisions for

“visitation” may be modified or adjusted

by mutual agreement of the parties, and

any other “visitation” which is agreed

upon by the parties is permitted. Any

reasonable request by a party for

custodial time or visitation shall not be

unreasonable denied or withheld, given

the circumstances at the time of the

request. Each party shall yield custody to

the other on special occasions such as

family gatherings, reunions, deaths,

weddings, or serious illnesses.

y The Defendant shall be responsible

for arranging the transportation the minor child

to Charlotte Douglas Airport, one hour prior to

the scheduled flight departure on the dates she

is to travel to Dallas, Texas for visitation and for

her return to the Defendant’s home when she

returns from Dallas, Texas to Charlotte, North

Carolina. The minor child may be picked up,

App. Yi

delivered and travel with a responsible adult

known to be so by either the Plaintiffs and or the

Defendant in the event the Defendant is unable

to personally travel to and from North Carolina.

The Defendant will notify the Plaintiffs in

advance of who will travel with the child during

visitation in the event the Defendant is not the

person traveling with the child. Both parties

will allow for time exceptions due to travel

problems. The party experiencing the problem

will use due diligence in contacting the other

party about any scheduling problems.

3. The parties shall not use or possess

any alcoholic beverage, illegal drug, controlled

substance, drug paraphernalia, sexually explicit

material, or dangerous harmful, illegal material

in the presence of the child. The parties shall

not be impaired at anytime in the presence of

the child and shall not permit the child to be in

the presence of anyone who uses or possesses

any of the materials named above, or to be in the

presence of anyone who is impaired by any

substance. The custodial party is responsible for

the supervision of the child in the use of any

potentially dangerous toys, vehicles or devices,

such as motorcycles, go carts, or electrical

appliances. The parties shall not allow the child

to play or use any device that is inappropriate or

dangerous considering the age and skill of the

child.

The parties shall keep all weapons or

dangerous equipment safely stored away from

the child and shall not allow the child to use or

possess a handgun or firearm, except when in

App. 38

the physical presence and under the direct

supervision and control of a responsible adult

familiar with the use and safety of firearms.

4. The parties shall not use or permit

anyone else to use or subject the child to the use

of any profane, obscene, indecent, derogatory,

or unkind language, particularly with reference

to another party, their relatives, acquaintances,

or friends. The parties shall not stalk, harass,

intimidate, threaten, assault, or molest the child,

each other, another party, or relative or

acquaintance of a party, and neither the

Plaintiffs or the Defendant shall not question the

child about the activities of the other.

A. The parties shall not use the

child to deliver or communicate any

message to another party.

B. Neither party will discuss,

with the child, the trial or the death of the

father of the child or any past

circumstances and activities of the

parties.

5. The parties shall not engage in

sexual activity while having custody or care of

the child, except with their respective spouse,

and out of the presence of the child.

A. _ The parties shall not sleep

with or occupy a bed with another person

to whom they are not married while

having custody or care of the child.

App. 39

6. The child will be returned

promptly after each visit.

pi The child may be taken for

vacations beyond the boundaries of the State of

North Carolina if the other party is given the

specific address and location of the child, a

phone number where the child can be contacted,

and the approximate time and date of arrival

and return of the child. Further, said location

shall be given to the other party in advance so

that reservations or the proposed location of the

child can be confirmed. It is anticipated in this

Order that the child will be allowed to travel to

the home of the Defendant in Dallas, Texas

during the regular visitation.

8. All terms of this Order are

enforceable pursuant to the contempt powers of

the Court set forth in North Carolina General

Statues, Chapter 5A, in addition to any other

remedy available at law or in equity. This

document shall serve as the Order of the Court.

The provisions of this Order are effective

immediately, and this Order is entered as

Judgment for all intents and purposes pursuant

to Rule 58 of the North Carolina Rules of Civil

Procedure, N.C.G.S. 1A on the date written

below.

9. That violation of the terms of this

Order shall result in punishment as _ for

Contempt in addition to any and all other

appropriate remedies at law or in equity.

— a

App. 40

~

10. That by and with the consent of

both counsel for the Defendant and counsel for

the Plaintiffs, this Order may be signed out of

term, out of session, and out of County.

Announced in open Court September 4, 1998, and

signed this 19" day of March 1999.

/s/

Honorable William A. Creech

District Court Judge Presiding,

by Special Commission Of

the Administrative Office of the Courts

App. 41

ER SS EST ane NS IGT Te

- |

+ +

Creech, what Amber would be if you would tear from

the heartstrings of that child her bond with the

Speagles and give her to this woman. You can predict

what she'll be if you leave her with the Speagles.

THE COURT: Thank you, Mr. Rudisill. Now, I

am—I know that this case has been delayed for a

considerable time and I’m certain that the litigants are

anxious to have a decision in this matter and I shall be

back with counsel as quickly as possible. I want to read

the brief and I have been going over my notes during

the days that we were not here and reviewing cases and

so I don’t feel that I have an awful lot that I need to do to

render a decision, but I shall be back in touch with

counsel as quickly as possible. And I would just like to

admonish everyone the same admonition I gave to you

yesterday, that we're dealing with a very precious

commodity, this child. And that I would hope that the

love that these litigants have for that child will in some

way enable them to transcind any personal animosity

that may exist between them. And having said that,

— we'll recess this Court. So we stand in recess.

(Court stood in recess.)

THE COURT: Well, I'd like to say to counsel

that I very much appreciate the representation that

each of you has made in this case. I know this has been

a very difficult case for everyone concerned and |

appreciate the great deal of work that each of you has

done. It’s very obvious from the presentations you

made, and I want to thank you very much for all the

courtesies that you extended to the Court, especially to

me, during this time.

App. 42

Now, as the judgment of this Court, and before

Saying it, I just want to reiterate what Senator Ervin

said a half century ago when he was a Justice of the

North Carolina Supreme Court, that the law is realistic

and certainly takes into consideration the fact that there

are changes, changes of conditions, changes of fortune

in general, and society. And while we’re making a

judicial award of custody today, that only determines

the rights of the parties at this time. It’s not permanent.

And, of course, it may be modified by the Court in the

future as there are events and the welfare of the child

require modification. But it’s the judgment of the

Court that the custody of the child, Amber Ashton

Holland, should remain with the grandparents who are

the plaintiffs in this action.

The Court does want to provide in the order that

there will be liberal visitation with the mother. And I

would hope that counsel could discuss this and would

discuss it with their clients. And if there’s any

possibility that the clients, among themselves, could

agree to a visitation schedule, then I would prefer that.

And I realize that this has been a period of

estrangement. And I hope, by negotiating more or less

directly with each other, that we can bring about some

type of reproachment. Because it certainly is not in the

best interest of this child to have this estrangement,

and so I‘m very much concerned about that.

If there is no agreement among the parties, then

I have taken the liberty of taking one of your order

forms that are used here, I understand, rather

perfunctorily, and I have designated the periods of

time that I think would be appropriate, which I shall

provide for if they can’t work out something otherwise.

And I would simply provide that the plaintiffs are to

App. 43

have primary custody, but the defendant is to have

liberal visitation. And by that I mean that -we’ll talk

about weekends that will begin at 6:00 on Friday_and

continue until 6:00 on the following Sunday. And I

would provide that the holidays be divided, that

Thanksgiving—For instance, I’ve indicated the times

for Thanksgiving, the times for Christmas. I’ve

provided for a week at Christmas. I have provided

that she will have four weeks visitation with her

mother during the summer. I have provided that she

may leave this jurisdiction for these visitations, and

that the defendant, the mother, will give the primary

custodians 30-days’ notice of the four weeks that she

intends to exercise visitation. And some things that I

didn’t address because I wasn’t certain, about a spring

break. And I presume counsel will address that and

work something out if there is to be a spring break. I

would provide for the Easter visitation also being

every other year unless it is a situation that we can

divide it and if there’s spring break at that time. But

I’m not familiar with your local customs, so I will leave

that up to counsel to work that out. Certainly, on the

parent's birthday, the child should have that time with

her mother, if at all possible. I don’t recall exactly

when the mother’s birthday is. The birthday of the

child, I would certainly provide for some visitation if it

can come on a weekend or if it would come at a time it

can be divided. I want these things to be reasonable.

And I want you to look through the—through this

order form that I have seen that you use here, and | am

going to provide other reasonable visitation.

And I don’t see any reason to provide that there

would be any third parties involved in exchanges of

the child. I think it’s time for these people to get

App. 44

together, have direct communication. And I expect

them to cooperate with each other, to be polite and

courteous to each other at all times. And I expect that,

in every instance, they will see that this child is

provided a salubrious environment. By that, I mean

not only legally correct, but morally correct, and that

no one who is involved with the care of this child

would be involved in any type of harmful, dangerous,

Or impairing substances, and that no disparaging

remarks of any kind will be tolerated. I want them to

be very certain about that, that they - I don’t want this

child to hear anything discussed about the parent's

background or anything of that sort. It’s unfortunate

that the child probably has already heard some things.

But in any event, I think that with regard to the order, I

don’t want any reference made to any assassination or

anything of that sort, simply the death of the father. |

don’t care about making this an affrontare to anyone. I

want this - Hopefully, we can start a procedure here

that will make things a little bit more amenable for all

the parties involved. I realize there are some doubts

about that in view of the other considerations. But |

want to provide a course that the child would be

promptly picked up and returned.

Now, I recognize that the mother is going to

be— presumably is going to be living in Texas, and I

would hope that we could work out some

accommodation. It would seem to me, because the

child is getting older that especially when there is to be

extended visitation, it may be, the way they do things

now at the airport, that the child, in a year or so, can fly

herself without being accompanied. I don’t know.

Airlines have various and sundry arrangements.

App. 45

But I do want to be certain that there is no

finding that the defendant is unfit for custody. The fact

that there have been conditions in the past, but not in

the recent past, which might have been construed as

being inconsistent with the presumption that the

biological parent will always act in the best interest of

the child. I think those things are not in the recent past

and I do not want any finding that she is unfit for

custody.

~ Now, having said those things to you, I would

like to leave counsel with the opportunity to discuss

with their clients what the Court has provided for.

And hopefully you can come up with an order that will

not in any way be an affrontare to either one of them,

taking into consideration that I’m certain that these

cases always are difficult for people to accommodate

when there’s been such bitterness in the past. But I

look forward to hearing from counsel. And I shall be

in Charlotte next week and I will be able to

communicate with you by telephone. And if you have

anything ready by the first of the week, which I’m not

suggesting that you have to do it that quickly, but I will

be there after Labor Day. I'll be in Charlotte the rest of

the week.

MR. RUDISILL: With your permission, I will

fax it

App. 46 .

No. 32PA01 TWENTY-FIVE-B- DISTRICT

SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

kkk KR R «RRL a RR a a CR zak RR RRR RR

(Speagle v. Seitz)

William Speagle, and wife, Derene Speagle

Vv

Christy Lynette Holland Seitz

From NC Court of Appeals

(COA99-1526)

From Catawba

(96CVD234)

kkkkRRKRK KK KKK KKK KKK KR Ra RR a RR a a aR RRR a RR RR a, RR kr RR ER

ORDER

Upon consideration of the petition filed by

Defendant for rehearing of the decision of this Court

pursuant to Rule 31, N.C. Rules of Appellate Procedure,

the following order was entered and is hereby certified

to the North Carolina Court of Appeals:

“Denied by order of the Court in conference, this the

31st day of January 2002.

Edmunds, J. Recused.

s/ Butterfield, J.

For the Court”

App. 47

WITNESS my hand and the seal of the Supreme Court

of North Carolina, this 4th day of February 2002.

Christie Speir Cameron

Clerk, Supreme Court of

North Carolina

/s/ Carol B. Templeton

Assistant Clerk

Copy to:

North Carolina Court of Appeals

Mr. Ralph A. White, Appellate Court Reporter

Mr. Forrest A. Ferrell, Attorney at Law, For Speagle

Mr. Stephen L. Palmer, Attorney at Law, For Speagle

Mr. Robert B. Long, Jr., Attorney at Law, For Spaegles

Mr. Thomas K. Maher, Attorney at Law, For Seitz

Mr. M. Gordon Widenhouse, Attorney at Law for Speitz

West Publishing Company

Lexis-Nexis

App. 48

IN THE SUPREME COURT OF NORTH CAROLINA

32PA01 (Speagle v Seitz) Catwaba

William Speagle, and wife, Derene Speagle

Vv

Christy Lynette Holland Seitz

NC Court of Appeals

(COA99-1536)

Catwaba

(96CVD234)

JUDGMENT

[Entered January 7, 2002]

This cause came to be argued upon the

transcript of the record from the North Carolina Court

of Appeals. Upon consideration whereof, this Court is

of the opinion that there is error in the record of said

Court of Appeals.

It is therefore considered and adjudged by the

Court here that the opinion of the Court, as delivered

by the Honorable I. Beverly Lake, Jr., Chief Justice, be

certified to the said North Carolina Court of Appeals to

the intent that the judgment of the Court of Appeals is

Reversed.

And it is considered and adjudged further, that

the Defendant do pay the costs of the appeal in this

Court incurred, to wit, the sum of Two-Hundred forty-

seven and 25/100 dollars ($247.25), and execution issue

therefor.

App. 49

Certified to the North Carolina Court of

Appeals, this the 7th day of January 2002.

A TRUE COPY CHRISTIE SPEIR CAMERON

Clerk, Supreme Court of

North Carolina

by: /s/

Assistant Clerk

App. 50

TREE LANE TRL ER RN E FOP RAEI WEL MT OOTY

sh

PAPEL ANN ELE SAE,

ide

a a iia engl

ose

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.