Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Ritter v. Stanton

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

_~ Supreme Court, U.S.

FI

Uv LED

U11456 APR 1 2002

OFFICE OF THE CLARK

No. 01-

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

IRA C. RITTER AND THE KROGER Co.,

Petitioners,

Vv.

JERRY STANTON AND RUTH A. STANTON,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Court of Appeals of Indiana

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

KARL L. MULVANEY

DAVID C. CAMPBELL

NANA QUAY-SMITH

BINGHAM MCHALE LLP

2700 Market Tower

10 West Market Street

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 635-8900

*Counsel of Record

JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.*

CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN

HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5810

Counsel for Petitioners

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0096 -— WASHINGTON, D. C. 20001

QUESTION PRESENTED

A jury awarded respondents $55 miilion in compensatory

damages, roughly $53 million of which was for “loss of

consortium” and “pain and suffering.” Petitioners appealed,

arguing that the award—the largest by far in Indiana his-

tory—was grossly excessive. In doing so, they urged the

Court of Appeals of Indiana to conduct a “comparability

analysis,” an approach endorsed by many federal and state

courts whereby damage awards in similar cases are compared

to determine whether a particular award is excessive. The

Court of Appeals refused to adopt this method of review,

ruling that it would improperly second-guess jury decisions

“in a manner not permitted by the Seventh Amendment.”

The question presented is:

Whether the Court of Appeals correctly held—in clear

conflict with this Court’s established precedent that the

Seventh Amendment applies only to the federal courts—that

the Seventh Amendment constrains a state appellate court

when reviewing a jury award for excessiveness?

(1)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

AND RULE 29.6 STATEMENT

Petitioners Ira C. Ritter and The Kroger Company were the

defendants and appellants below. Pursuant to S. Ct. Rule

29.6, petitioner The Kroger Company notes that it has no

parent corporations and that no publicly traded company

owns 10% or more of its stock.

Respondents Jerry Stanton and Ruth A. Stanton were the

plaintiffs and appellees below.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED ................:cccceeessseeeeeeseeeees

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS AND RULE

29GB STATEMENT cccccccncsssseccscessscesssssssssoscsccccsnees il

TABLE OF AUTHORITIEG...................:::ceeeeseeeeeeeeees Vv

COPTINIOING BELIIW, cccscscsceccccssssseressscssercscscccsscessesensees l

PEs 6 RG onncccnscrincccscceceesvensasensnsscsnennscessessscononess l

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED ...... 2

DT I FIN vccoccccccccccssccsescccncssenccsccsecssssoseccnscasees 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE....................sseessseseseeees 3

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT ................ 8

THE DECISION BELOW SQUARELY CON-

FLICTS WITH THIS COURT’S SETTLED PRE-

CEDENT THAT THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT

APPLIES TO FEDERAL, NOT STATE COURT

PRI vcccccccncsccsnnsccemececcssscssesesscccsasssccceces 8

PE A PIED ocasnscncancdusseecessnensbiascastecenenensnecscnssosenanes 18

iV

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

Page

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A:

Opinion of the Court of Appeals of Indiana,

I OU i ciccccastimenccteuienssnnsenen la

APPENDIX B:

Judgment of the Superior Court of the State

of Indiana, County of Marion, dated

III UNE, BP ciceccincesenicicnnsiseconsnscmias 49a

APPENDIX C:

Order of the Superior Court of the State of

Indiana, County of Marion, Denying

Defendants’ Motion to Correct Errors,

dated December 17, 1999.00.00... Sla

APPENDIX D:

Order of the Supreme Court of Indiana De-

nying Transfer of Jurisdiction, dated

I ies A cidinsatsntiadsiahsapiadinimiaciane: 52a

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Arizona v. Evans, 514 U.S. | | SR ae 11, 12,15

Arizona v. Mauro, 481 U.S. 520 1 RDO 8

Arkansas v. Sullivan, 532 U.S. 769 (2001) (per

COTTII iainssansntcsinussntatossosacpaccanstnniassesscs.... 13,15

Barker v. Kansas, 503 U.S. a |: | OED 8

Boyd v. Bulala, 877 F.2d | 191 (4th Cir. Ree 16

Buffalo Athletic Club v. New York State Div. of

Human Rights, 672 N.Y.S.2d 210 (N.Y. App.

Hein, ee 17

Bush v. Palm Beach County Canvassing Bd.,

aaa les ge: 12

Cade v. Walker, 771 So. 2d 403 (Miss. Ct.

POD. MOO css ncisasssnsiaintsinssdatssseperie titse asccscs cceccce, 17

Davis v. Omitowoju, 883 F.2d 1155 (3d Cir.

ROOT Sisceihinciinhsendeaiotaiaindiegegh gl oad 16

Fowler v. Park Corp., 673 S.W.2d 749 (Mo.

RY ossessrmssineniranesersisssesomielld duapucg tis a de 17

Gasperini v. Center for Humanities, Inc., 518

PR AE I i sisiscensincsamaisie 7,9, 10, 16

Greene vy. Georgia, 519 U.S. 145 (1996) (per

CUPIMET) osssssssssorsesccesssssssesessessssrsssterssorsnsestecssa,......... 14,15

Groves v. First Nat’l Bank of Valparaiso, 518

N.E.2d 819 (Ind. Ct. ee | 6

Grunewald vy. United States, 353 U.S. 392

(LIST) -sncsssceenedédtgnnsessessssenssssasanussesenssetnesecsoseeseces.c... 14

Gumbs v. Pueblo Int 7%, Inc., 823 F.2d 768 (3d

ate: Ce RT UL ee 16, 18

Hetzel v. County of Prince William, 89 F.3d

169 (4th Cir.), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1028

CB RD) -nsierssnsinisstdaasaieratenigaotesdhigeaciian acca 16

Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479 ES Piiincisniceictinn 14

Illinois v. Rodriguez, 497 U.S. 177 (1990) oooeecccecceccccee.. 11

Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730 (1987) ooo. 1]

(v)

vl

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Cases:

Maryland v. Dyson, 527 U.S. 465 (1999) (per

QUIT cccecccrancstbinnsntistentsansimniaidiaiinandiadantaditamaimaaitaeeealions 13

Mathie v. Fries, 121 F.3d 808 (2d Cir. 1997)................... 16

Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032 (1983).............. 10, 11, 12

Miksis v. Howard, 106 F.3d 754 (7th Cir.

SU FP ccctalthsccetecntsnetsnnnnnntntenesdiaaliamandamiceasnas maaan ciiameames 7

Minnesota v. National Tea Co., 309 U.S. 551

CE cnicinssicnsnsstatisenstamnniinbsiciasiaieamanmiuiahtisstaa tiie cama 12

Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. 17 (2001) (per cu-

TERI .cecsncocessctstnsseiehaebanniemaasiaaeencans 8, 10, 14, 15

Palenkas v. Beaumont Hosp., 443 N.W.2d 354

CREDO, Wie cschacctneptnnscsinsssensiseuinisinnnitemanndemeatandnedemiatens 17,18

Pearson v. Yewdall, 95 U.S. 294 (1877) ...............cccee0e —

Pennsylvania v. Goldhammer, 474 U.S. 28

(ES SOOT CUTIES occcececerssecsscensseunssinionsictignnicsoncnnieanintan Ss

Pennsylvania v. Labron, 518 U.S. 938 (1996)

GOO? CUTTD ccicssinncsedintenninma 11-12

Perkins v. Benguet Consolidated Mining Co.,

REE of , . , Rn i Ne Rae x cane 12

Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U.S.

PGP CES EED sicesniesscetenernsateaae —_

Reimer v. Illinois Dep't of Transp., 148 F.3d

BOO CHEN Gal Ci cidechuicicacinncteanistaninenansanien eae 16

Scala v. Moore McCormack Lines, Inc., 985

ae GE Ce Ge He ichcaveshsctncecunnaecistaninnatetminiceaacieee 18

Soto v. United States, 11 F.3d 15 (1st Cir.

SODED cevecocescnssacnctinnpeaabiuiaseneuneddemiiamnaaieiaasaniaananannne 17

State Tax Comm'n v. Van Cott, 306 U.S. 511

OC FED snncencecesssksniatisidieassentediandiomemaiannanaueaenaaaee 10

State v. Thompson, 385 N.E.2d 198 (Ind. Ct.

Vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. Continued

Page

Cases:

Sykes vy. McDowell, 786 F.2d 1098 (11th Cir

IG) acsaccssscncassnsssesscsnssosessecesesssnsenscesesesesinessece.ac............ 17

The Justices v. Murray, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.) 274

(USO) .ssssssecssssnssnsnesssscossecesesssessrtsstcesessesoesesessesse....... 7)

Three Affiliated Tribes of Ft. Berthold Reser-

vation Vv. Wold Eng'g, P.C.. 467 U.S. 138

SEIU) oiisssnsnescesnenanssessnnbinnntserntonenaineansassisiesss, ic... passim

United Air Lines. Inc Vv. Mahin, 410 US. 623

CEPT) csncsesseussenssasasiensicbbonsbittintinasasanaeen. 3,10. 11

Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. na ARE 14

Wakefield Vv. United States. 765 F.2d 55 (Sth

OO. USGS) ann assssesscsccssoscsonassssnsnrertvtsttseceseesesccccse.... 16

Walker vy. Sauvinet, 92 U.S. 90 | Ne 7,9

Wheat v. United States, 860 F.2d 1256 (Sth

Or, BSG) oan nsasssnascssonnsonsnsnsntntestnstneseeoesscc...... 7,16

Constitutional Provisions:

U.S. Const. amend. VID .........cccccesceececssssesse-. se Passim

Ind. Const. art. I, HF ocseseussrssnissscsnseatsttasseseeewmassseseese... 1]

Statutes:

28 U.S.C. DID MR sscaneesncnessscesnnssssesinsotsasesasssaneceseeecs........ 2

28 U.S.C. I itrecsiiinvaisnnibieisaidsac tics M Mr 14

Rules:

S. Ct. Rule 10(C)....scsessssscecssssssssssssssseessstsseeesesecccccg 8

IN THE

Supreme Court of the Anited States

No. 01-

IRA C. RITTER AND THE KROGER CoO.,

Petitioners,

V.

JERRY STANTON AND RUTH A. STANTON,

~ Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

Court of Appeals of Indiana

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Ira C. Ritter and The Kroger Company (“Kroger’’) respect-

fully petition for a writ of certiorari to review the judgment

of the Court of Appeals of Indiana in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Court of Appeals of Indiana is reported

at 745 N.E.2d 828 and reprinted in the appendix hereto

(“App.”) at la. The order of the Supreme Court of Indiana

denying Kroger’s petition to transfer jurisdiction is unre-

ported and reproduced at App. 52a. ;

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

March 14, 2001. App. la. On January 31, 2002, the Su-

preme Court of Indiana, by a vote of 3-2, denied Kroger’s

2

timely petition to transfer jurisdiction. App. 52a. The

jurisdiction of this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1257(a).

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The Seventh Amendment to the United States Constitution

provides: “In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shall exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by

jury shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be

otherwise reexamined in any Court of the United States, than

according to the rules of the common law.”

INTRODUCTION

Petitioners Kroger and Ritter appealed a $55 million com-

pensatory damages award to the Court of Appeals of Indiana,

arguing that the award—by many multiples the largest

compensatory damages award in Indiana history—was

excessive and should be reduced. To prove the point, Kroger

and Ritter urged the Court of Appeals to follow the lead of

courts throughout the country and adopt a method for re-

viewing jury awards known as “comparability analysis,”

whereby the award under review is compared to awards

rendered in analogous cases to evaluate the challenged

award’s excessiveness. The Court of Appeals affirmed, and

in doing so rejected the comparability approach because it

thought that comparing awards amounted to “second-

guessing jury decisions in a manner not permitted by the

Seventh Amendment.” App. 30a.

The decision below is flatly contrary to this Court’s estab-

lished precedents and should be reversed. For more than a

century, this Court has consistently held that the Seventh

Amendment applies exclusively to the federal courts, con-

straining in no way the manner or degree to which state

appellate courts may review jury determinations. Certiorari

is therefore warranted to resolve this glaring conflict on an

issue of great importance to our federal system. Moreover,

“to avoid the risk of an affirmance of a decision which might

4

:

4

3

have been decided differently if the court below had felt free

* * * to do so,” United Air Lines, Inc. v. Mahin, 410 U.S.

623, 632 (1973) (quotation omitted)—a decision that will

otherwise cost petitioners $55 million—the Court should

grant the petition and follow its normal “practice to vacate

the judgment of the state court and remand the case so that

the court may reconsider the state-law question free of

misapprehension about the scope of federal law.” Three

Affiliated Tribes of Ft. Berthold Reservation v. Wold Eng’g,

P.C., 467 USS. 138, 152 (1984). Indeed, the error of the

court below is so blatant that summary reversal may be

appropriate.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

This $55 million compensatory damages case arises out of

a claim for damages sustained in a tractor-trailer accident.

On May 6, 1995, respondent Jerry Stanton drove a tractor-

trailer to Kroger’s Indianapolis Distribution Center, where he

was to receive a shipment of milk destined for Illinois.

Before leaving, Stanton stopped to take a break. In what is

known as the “ready line,” Stanton parked his vehicle beside

an idle stand-alone trailer. By the time he had finished

parking his vehicle, however, Ira Ritter, a 38-year employee

of Kroger, had begun backing his semi-tractor toward the idle

trailer beside which Stanton had parked. As Stanton walked

between Ritter’s oncoming tractor and the trailer to which

Ritter intended to connect, Stanton paused to read a manu-

facturer’s tag on the trailer. Unaware that Ritter was ap-

proaching, Stanton became pinned between Ritter’s tractor

and the idle trailer, suffering severe injuries, including a

crushed pelvis, broken ribs, punctured lungs, loss of-sight in

one eye, and other internal injuries.

Two months after the accident, Stanton and his wife filed

suit against Ritter and Kroger in the Superior Court of

Indiana, Marion County. The complaint alleged that Ritter’s

negligence caused serious and permanent injuries to Stanton

4

and deprived his wife of his services, society, companion-

ship, and consortium. Respondents sought unspecified

damages against Ritter individually and against Kroger under

the doctrine of respondeat superior.

At trial, Kroger and Ritter disclaimed liability, arguing that

Stanton’s own negligence was the proximate cause of his

injuries. Putting aside issues of fault, however, the parties

did agree that Stanton had in fact incurred special damages in

the amount of $1,281,741. That figure covered Stanton’s

past medical expenses, lost earnings, and lost future pension

benefits.

Respondents, however, sought much more—almost 60

times more—in general damages. Although it is not clear

from where he derived these sums, respondents’ counsel

urged the jury to award $30 million for future pain and

suffering, $7 million for past pain and suffering, $10 million

for future loss of consortium, $2 million for past loss of

consortium, $10 million for future disfigurement, $3 million

for past disfigurement, and $2 million for future medical

expenses. All told, respondents sought a verdict amounting

to $65,281,741.

After deliberating for less than two hours, the jury con-

cluded that respondents had actually understated their

damages, finding the proper figure to be roughly $3.5 million

more, or $68,750,000. Nonetheless, believing that Stanton

bore 20 percent comparative fault for the accident, the jury

discounted its calculation accordingly and awarded respon-

dents an even $55 million. The Superior Court entered

judgment on the verdict, see App. 49a-50a, and denied

Kroger and Ritter’s subsequent motion to correct errors, in

which they sought a remittitur and a new trial. See id. Sla.

Kroger and Ritter appealed.

On appeal, Kroger and Ritter contended that the award was

grossly excessive and should be reduced. In doing so, they

urged the Court of Appeals to adopt a method for reviewing

eS AEE stbh AS ny AB nnd SoFood lak Katee ay

MET AO Bhs PI Aa) eo

li at tied

5

jury awards known as “comparability analysis.” Under that

approach—which many state courts, as well as their federal

counterparts, apply—an appellate court compares the award

under review to awards rendered in Similar cases to deter-

mine whether the challenged award is so far outside the range

of past damages calculations as to be presumptively exces-

sive. Based on that approach, Kroger and Ritter demon-

strated how the colossal award in this case exceeded by a

factor of nearly 10 what had previously been Indiana’s

largest verdict for similarly grievous injuries and accompa-

nying loss of consortium. Not that this Came as a surprise; as

Kroger and Ritter explained, the award below was not just

the largest of its kind, but it was also the single largest

compensatory damages award ever rendered in Indiana.

The Court of Appeals refused to engage in comparability

analysis and accordingly affirmed. Its principal reason for

refusing to do so was to avoid a perceived conflict with the

Seventh Amendment’s prohibition on reexamining a jury’s

findings of fact—even though no party ever cited, much less

briefed, the Seventh Amendment. The court initially ex-

plained that “{i}n examining the question of the proper

method of analysis, we have reviewed the role of the jury in

awarding compensatory damages,” and from that “(t]he

relationship between judge and jury with respect to compen-

sation is clear[:] The Seventh Amendment generally requires

that the jury determine compensatory damages.” App. 23a.

Underscoring the federal constitutional dimension to the

decision, the court went on to state that “Supreme Court

doctrine, historical practices prior to the adoption of the

Seventh Amendment, and functional considerations all

indicate that determination of compensation lies at the heart

of the jury’s constitutional province.” /d. And based on this

understanding, the court concluded that “once the jury makes

a decision about compensation, the Seventh Amendment

constrains the ability of the judge to alter the award.” Id.

(emphasis added).

6

The court felt bound by first principles of Seventh

Amendment law because the propriety of using comparabil-

ity analysis remained an open question under Indiana law.

See id. 25a (“Indiana has not heretofore adopted the compa-

rability analysis for evaluating compensatory damage

awards”); id. 28a (“It is clear that Indiana courts have \not

previously adopted a comparability analysis for evaluating

compensatory damage claims.”). Although one prior deci-

sion of the Court of Appeals had tacitly endorsed the compa-

rability approach, see id. 25a-26a (citing Groves v. First

Nat'l Bank of Valparaiso, 518 N.E.2d 819, 831 (Ind. Ct.

App. 1988)), other decisions had emphasized the individual-

ity of damages determinations, though none remotely fore-

closed the possibility of analyzing comparable awards on

appeal. See id. 26a-27a (citing State v. Thompson, 385

N.E.2d 198, 214 (Ind. Ct. App. 1979)).

Having determined that the propriety of comparability

analysis remained unsettled, the court proceeded to resolve

the question, noting that “the obvious concern raised on the

face of this verdict is the great disparity between it and other

compensatory damage awards in Indiana cases.” Jd. 28a.

Although the Court of Appeals “recognize[d] that variability

among awards is a problem primarily because it undermines

the legal system’s claim that like cases will be treated alike,”

id., it found that “[a] certain level of inconsistency * * * is

inherent in the jury system.” Jd. 29a. And that inconsis-

tency, the court reasoned, “‘is unlikely to be eliminated

because the discretion exercised by juries supports basic

democratic values recognized in the Seventh Amendment

right to a jury trial and similar provisions in most state

constitutions.” /d.'

1 Although the court referred generically to “state constitu-

tions,” it did not cite a specific state constitution. More impor-

tantly, nowhere in the decision did the court cite the Indiana

constitution.

7

In the end, although the Court of Appeals found it “tempt-

ing to engage in such a comparative analysis to aid us in the

difficult task of evaluating such a large award as is at issue in

this case,” id. 32a, it found the Seventh Amendment prohib-

ited such a practice. Specifically, the court held: “Because a

comparability analysis effectively places a ‘cap’ on the jury’s

award regardless of the evidence, it can be considered to be

second-guessing jury decisions in a manner not permitted by

the Seventh Amendment.” /d. 30a. Thus, in the court’s

view, were it to adopt comparability analysis, ‘[t]he right to

jury determination of compensatory damages would become

a hollow guarantee.” /d.

Following the Court of Appeals’ decision, Kroger and

Ritter filed a petition to transfer with the Supreme Court of

Indiana, arguing that the decision below “erroneously con-

cludes that the 7th Amendment constrains the ability to

perform a post-verdict alteration of the award.” Pet. for

Transfer 3.2 Citing this Court’s decisions in Gasperini v.

Center for Humanities, Inc., 518 U.S. 415, 432 (1996), and

Walker v. Sauvinet, 92 U.S. 90, 92 (1876), Kroger and Ritter

explained that, for more than a century, it has been well

established that the Seventh Amendment applies only to

federal, not state court proceedings. Moreover, Kroger and

Ritter argued that, even were it applicable, the Seventh

Amendment would raise no bar to the comparability ap-

proach; for years, federal courts have employed comparabil-

ity analysis to review “monstrously excessive” verdicts,

Miksis v. Howard, 106 F.3d 754, 764 (7th Cir. 1997), and to

provide “an objective frame of reference,’ Wheat v. United

States, 860 F.2d 1256, 1259 (Sth Cir. 1988), without ever

suggesting that doing so violates the Reexamination Clause

of the Seventh Amendment. Pet. for Transfer 3.

2 A “petition to transfer” is the standard means of invoking the

Indiana Supreme Court’s discretionary jurisdiction to review

decisions of the state Court of Appeals. See Ind. R. App. P. 57.

8

On January 31, 2002, by a 3-2 vote, the Supreme Court of

Indiana denied without comment the petition to transfer.

App. 52a.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

THE DECISION BELOW SQUARELY CONFLICTS

WITH THIS COURT’S SETTLED PRECEDENT

THAT THE SEVENTH AMENDMENT APPLIES TO

FEDERAL, NOT STATE COURT PROCEEDINGS.

One of the principal considerations governing the exercise

of this Court’s discretion to grant certiorari is whether a state

court “has decided an important question in a way that

conflicts with relevant decisions of this Court.” S. Ct. Rule

10(c). See, e.g., Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. 17, 18 (2001) (per

curiam); Barker v. Kansas, 503 U.S. 594, 597 (1992);

Arizona v. Mauro, 481 U.S. 520, 525 (1987); Pennsylvania

v. Goldhammer, 474 U.S. 28, 29 (1985) (per curiam). As we

explain below, the decision of the Court of Appeals in this

case directly contravenes decisions of this Court, which, for

more than a century, have consistently held that the Seventh

Amendment plays no role in state appellate proceedings.

Certiorari is warranted to resolve this fundamental conflict,

particularly given the importance of the issue—not to men-

tion the staggering size of this damages award—and the need

to reaffirm that state courts of appeals may continue to

review jury verdicts free from federal constitutional con-

straints. Indeed, the error in the decision below is so plain

that plenary review may well be unnecessary and summary

reversal more appropriate.

1. By its terms, the Reexamination Clause of the Sev-

enth Amendment applies only to the “Court[s] of the United

States.” U.S. Const. amend. VII. For more than 100 years,

that plain language has led this Court to hold time and again

that the Seventh Amendment means just what it says: that it

“governs proceedings in federal court, but not in state court.”

Gasperini, 518 U.S. at 432. See Pearson v. Yewdall, 95 U.S.

ee ee ey Tee ee we eo

on,

Nort et 198 ie EES OD i On a ar en a Fendi

abled mare ras cal al Sian ai oth Baki n't

v4

—

9

294, 296 (1877) (“We have held over and over again that art.

7 of the amendments to the Constitution of the United States

relating to trials by jury applies only to the courts of the

United States.”); Walker v. Sauvinet, 92 U.S. at 92; The

Justices v. Murray, 76 U.S. (9 Wall.) 274, 278 (1869). So

fundamental is this principle that as long ago as 1869, this

Court thought it obvious that “the Seventh Amendment could

not be invoked in a State court to prohibit it from re-

examining, on a writ of error, facts that had been tried by a

jury in the court below.” The Justices v. Murray, 76 U.S. (9

Wall.) at 278.

That, however, is precisely what the Court of Appeals did

here. Without the benefit of briefing from any of the parties,

the court sua sponte invoked the Seventh Amendment,

concluding that the Amendment’s prohibitions on reexamin-

ing jury determinations foreclosed it from comparing the

astronomical sum awarded in this case to awards rendered in

similar cases. The Court of Appeals reasoned that “[b]ecause

a comparability analysis effectively places a ‘cap’ on the

jury’s award regardless of the evidence, it can be considered

to be second-guessing jury decisions in a manner not per-

mitted by the Seventh Amendment.” App. 30a. See id.

(“The right to jury determination of compensatory damages

would become a hollow guarantee.”); id. 23a (“once the jury

makes a decision about compensation, the Seventh Amend-

ment constrains the ability of the judge to alter the award”’).

Even if the court below were right that comparability

analysis does, in fact, amount to “second-guessing jury

decisions in a manner not permitted by the Seventh Amend-

ment’’—-which, as we explain later, it plainly does not—that

is no reason for a state court to reject the comparability

approach. For whatever its prohibitions, the Seventh

Amendment simply does not “govern[{] proceedings * * * in

state court.” Gasperini, 518 U.S. at 432. The Court of

Appeals’ decision flatly conflicts with this settled legal

principle and should be reversed.

10

2. It does not matter that the court’s ultimate conclu-

sion—that Indiana courts should not engage in comparability

analysis—may be regarded as announcing a rule of state law.

“It is * * * well established * * * that this Court retains a role

when a state court’s interpretation of state law has been

influenced by an accompanying interpretation of federal

law.” Three Affiliated Tribes of Ft. Berthold Reservation v.

Wold Eng’g, P.C., 467 U.S. at 152. Accord Ohio v. Reiner,

532 U.S. at 20. That role is particularly important here,

where “‘a state court [has] construe[d] state law narrowly to

avoid a perceived conflict with federal statutory or constitu-

tional requirements.” Three Affiliated Tribes, 467 U.S. at

152. See, e.g., United Air Lines, Inc. v. Mahin, 410 US. at

630-632; State Tax Comm'n v. Van Cott, 306 U.S. 511, 513-

515 (1939); Red Cross Line v. Atlantic Fruit Co., 264 U.S.

109, 120 (1924). In refusing to adopt comparability analysis,

the Court of Appeals narrowly construed its common-law

authority to review jury awards to avoid a perceived conflict

with the Seventh Amendment. As we demonstrated above,

the court’s perceived conflict was just that; for the Seventh

Amendment does not constrain in any way the degree to

which state appellate courts can review jury compensatory

damages awards. See, e.g., Gasperini, 518 U.S. at 432.

Nor is there any doubt that the decision below “fairly ap-

pears to rest primarily on federal law, or to be interwoven

with the federal law.” Michigan v. Long, 463 U.S. 1032,

1040 (1983). The court below expressly and repeatedly

invoked the Seventh Amendment in explaining why it found

comparability analysis inappropriate. See App. 30a (“Be-

cause a comparability analysis effectively places a ‘cap’ on

the jury’s award regardless of the evidence, it can be consid-

ered to be second-guessing jury decisions in a manner not

permitted by the Seventh Amendment.”); id. 23a (“once the

jury makes a decision about compensation, the Seventh

Amendment constrains the ability of the judge to alter the

award’’). And nowhere in its decision did the court “offer a

11

plain statement that its references to federal law were ‘being

used only for the purpose of guidance, and did not them-

selves compel the result that it reached.’ ” Arizona v. Evans,

514 US. 1, 10 (1995) (quoting Long, 463 U.S. at 1041).

In any event, the decision certainly does not contain a

“ “plain statement’ that [it] rests upon adequate and inde-

pendent state grounds.” Long, 463 U.S. at 1042. Not only

did the Court of Appeals “consistently refer[] to * * * the

[Seventh] Amendment to the Federal Constitution as sup-

porting its ruling,” Kentucky v. Stincer, 482 U.S. 730, 735

n.7 (1987), but it also did not “rely on (or even mention) any

specific provision of the [Indiana] Constitution, nor even the

[Indiana] Constitution generally.” J/linois v. Rodriguez, 497

U.S. 177, 182 (1990). Thus when the Court of Appeals

Stated that, were it to adopt comparability analysis, “[t]he

right to jury determination of compensatory damages would

become a hollow guarantee,” App. 30a, it is clear that the

court was referring to the right embodied by the Seventh

Amendment, not a state constitutional analog.3

To be sure, the court did cite several Indiana cases in the

course of discussing comparability analysis, see App. 25a-

28a, but it did so to demonstrate that “Indiana has not hereto-

fore adopted the comparability analysis for evaluating

compensatory damages awards.” Jd. 25a; accord id. 28a. It

was to answer that open question of Indiana law that the

court turned to the Seventh Amendment. Because the Court

of Appeals’ decision to reject comparability analysis is thus

“interwoven with the federal law, and * * * the adequacy

and independence of any possible state law ground is not

clear from the face of the opinion,’ * * * [this Court’s]

jurisdiction in [this] case is secure.” Pennsylvania v. Labron,

3 The jury-trial provision of the Indiana Constitution provides,

in full: “In all civil cases, the right of trial by jury shall remain

inviolate.” Ind. Const. art. I, § 20. That provision was never cited

by the Court below.

12

518 U.S. 938, 941 (1996) (per curiam) (quoting Long, 463

U.S. at 1040-41); Long, 463 U.S. at 1040-41 (“when the

adequacy and independence of any possible state law ground

is not clear from the face of the opinion, we will accept as the

most reasonable explanation that the state court decided the

case the way it did because it believed that federal law

required it to do so”). See also Bush v. Palm Beach County

Canvassing Bd., 531 U.S. 70, 78 (2000) (“ ‘it is * * * impor-

tant that ambiguous or obscure adjudications by state courts

do not stand as barriers to a determination by this Court of

the validity under the federal constitution of state action’ ’’)

(quoting Minnesota v. National Tea Co., 309 U.S. 551, 555

(1940)); accord Arizona v. Evans, 514 U.S. at 9.

3. | Where, as here, a “state-law determination appears to

have been premised” on a federal question and the “state

court has proceeded on an incorrect perception of federal

law, it has been this Court’s practice to vacate the judgment

of the state court and remand the case so that the court may

reconsider the state-law question free of misapprehension

about the scope of federal law.” Three Affiliated Tribes, 467

U.S. at 152. Thus where a state supreme court narrowly

construed a state tax statute to avoid a perceived, but false,

conflict with the Commerce Clause, this Court remanded the

case “to avoid the risk of ‘an affirmance of a decision which

might have been decided differently if the court below had

felt free, under our decisions, to do so.’ United Air Lines,

Inc. v. Mahin, 410 U.S. at 632 (quoting Perkins v. Benguet

Consolidated Mining Co., 342 U.S. 437, 443 (1952)).

That is the course this Court should take here. As we have

explained, the decision below rests on a demonstrably

“incorrect perception of federal law.” Three Affiliated Tribes,

467 U.S. at 152. To correct such a blatant misreading of its

established precedents is reason enough for this Court to

grant the petition. Yet the reason for doing so is heightened

further still by the fact that it would be grossly unfair to

saddle Kroger and Ritter with a $55 million judgment, based

13

on a decision “which might have been decided differently if

the court below had felt free” to ignore the Seventh Amend-

ment.

Indeed, the risk of letting stand a decision that might very

well have come out the other way, absent the court’s miscon-

ception of federal law, is particularly acute here. The Court

of Appeals specifically noted that it was “tempting to engage

in * * * comparative analysis to aid us in the difficult task of

evaluating such a large award,” App. 32a, and recognized

that “variability among awards is a problem primarily

because it undermines the legal system’s claim that like cases

be treated alike.” /d. 28a. It nonetheless resisted the tempta-

tion to use a comparability approach because of its fatally

flawed view that the Seventh Amendment prevented it from

doing so. The Indiana Supreme Court denied review of that

decision by the narrowest of margins. /d. 52a-53a. This

Court should not allow such an important decision based on

such a clear error of federal constitutional law to stand.

4. Although the question presented by the petition is

exceedingly important and merits review, the flagrant nature

of the error below may militate against plenary review. For

that reason, we urge the Court to summarily reverse the

decision below and remand for reconsideration free of any

misapprehension about the applicability of the Seventh

Amendment.

This Court will grant certiorari and summarily reverse

where, as here, a state court’s decision is “flatly contrary to

this Court’s controlling precedent.” Arkansas v. Sullivan,

532 U.S. 769, 771 (2001) (per curiam). As this Court has

explained, “a summary reversal does not decide any new or

unanswered question of law, but simply corrects a lower

court’s demonstrably erroneous application of federal law.”

Maryland v. Dyson, 527 U.S. 465, 467 n.* (1999) (per

curiam). Such dispositions are particularly appropriate in

cases such as this one, where a state court has interpreted

14

state law based on a manifestly incorrect view of federal law.

See, e.g., Ohio v. Reiner, 532 U.S. at 18; Greene v. Georgia,

519 U.S. 145, 146-147 (1996) (per curiam).

In Reiner, for example, the Supreme Court of Ohio held

that a witness had been wrongly granted immunity from

testifying under a provision of state law. That state-law

decision, however, rested on a determination that the witness

did not have a valid Fifth Amendment privilege because she

denied all culpability and claimed complete innocence.

This Court summarily reversed. Noting that it “ ‘retains a

role when a state court’s interpretation of state law has been

influenced by an accompanying interpretation of federal

law,” Reiner, 532 U.S. at 20 (quoting Three Affiliated

Tribes, 467 U.S. at 152), the Court emphasized that “we have

never held, as the Supreme Court of Ohio did, that the

privilege is unavailable to those who claim innocence.” /d. at

21. It therefore granted the petition and summarily reversed

“[b]ecause our precedents dictate that the privilege protects

the innocent as well as the guilty.” /d. at 18; accord id. at 21

(“The Supreme Court of Ohio’s determination that [the

witness] did not have a valid Fifth Amendment privilege

because she denied any involvement in the abuse of the

children clearly conflicts with” the Court’s precedents)

(citing Hoffman v. United States, 341 U.S. 479, 486 (1951),

and Grunewald v. United States, 353 U.S. 392, 421 (1957)).

Similarly, in Greene, the Supreme Court of Georgia cited

this Court’s decision in Wainwright v. Witt, 469 U.S. 412

(1985), as “controlling authority” for a rule that state appel-

late courts must defer to trial courts’ findings concerning

juror bias. Greene, 519 U.S. at 145-146. This Court summa-

rily reversed, because “Witt was a case arising on federal

habeas, where deference to state-court findings is mandated

by 28 U.S.C. § 2254(d)” and therefore “does not govern the

standard of review of trial court findings by” state appellate

courts. Jd. at 146. Thus, just as the Supreme Court of

Georgia did in Greene, the Court of Appeals below errone-

ee ee

15

ously limited its appellate review of state-law issues based on

a principle of federal law inapplicable to the States.

Summary reversal is appropriate here because the Court of

Appeals, in declining to engage in comparability analysis,

adopted a view of the Seventh Amendment that is “flatly

contrary to this Court’s controlling precedent.” Sullivan, 532

U.S. at 771. And as in Reiner and Greene, the court’s plain

misapprehension of federal law fatally infected its determi-

nation of the interwoven state-law issue. By requesting

summary reversal, we are not, of course, asking this Court to

compel the Court of Appeals to adopt comparability analysis

as a means of facilitating effective review of the excessive-

ness of damages awards. As this Court has recognized, a

State court on remand “‘is free to adopt the rule” it errone-

ously thought compelled by federal law, “but it need not do

so.” Greene, 519 U.S. at 147; accord Reiner, 532 U.S. at 22.

Summary reversal is therefore justified to allow the Court of

Appeals to reconsider its approach to comparability analysis,

“disabused of its erroneous view of what the United States

Constitution requires.” Arizona v. Evans, 514 U.S. at 8. The

court below found comparability review “tempting,” App.

32a, and declined to adopt it because of an erroneous view of

the Seventh Amendment. Reconsideration is thus plainly

warranted.

5. Although this Court need not reach the issue to decide

the narrow question presented by this petition, it bears

mention that the Court of Appeals was wrong not just on the

applicability of the Seventh Amendment, but also on its

substantive requirements. The court believed that “[b]ecause

a comparability analysis effectively places a ‘cap’ on the

jury’s award regardless of the evidence, it can be considered

to be second-guessing jury decisions in a manner not per-

mitted by the Seventh Amendment.” App. 30a. Compara-

bility analysis, however, does not establish a “cap” on how

much a jury may award; it merely provides an appellate court

with “an objective frame of reference” that is “helpful in

16

determining whether a particular award is excessive.” Wheat

v. United States, 860 F.2d at 1259. And while comparing

analogous awards “‘ ‘might serve as a point of reference,

*** such comparison is not controlling.”” Jd. at 1260

(quoting Wakefield v. United States, 765 F.2d 55, 59 (Sth Cir.

1985). | But more fundamentally, even if comparability

analysis did, in fact, effectively “cap” the amount of damages

a jury could award, there would still be no Seventh Amend-

ment violation. As this Court has recognized, the federal

“courts of appeals have held that district court application of

state statutory caps in diversity cases, postverdict, does not

violate the Seventh Amendment.” Gasperini, 518 U.S. at

429 n.9 (citing Davis v. Omitowoju, 883 F.2d 1155, 1161-65

(3d Cir. 1989); Boyd v. Bulala, 877 F.2d 1191, 1196 (4th Cir.

1989)).

Moreover, a substantial number of the federal courts of

appeals—where the Seventh Amendment does apply—have

expressly adopted the comparability approach, with nary a

concern that doing so implicates the Seventh Amendment.

See, e.g., Mathie v. Fries, 121 F.3d 808,813 (2d Cir. 1997)

(“the determination of whether a damages award exceeds a

reasonable range should not be made in a vacuum, but should

include consideration of the amounts awarded in other,

comparable cases”) (citation and internal quotation omitted);

Gumbs v. Pueblo Int’l, Inc., 823 F.2d 768, 773 (3d Cir. 1987)

(“determining the excessiveness of verdicts with comparable

injuries offers us some guidelines”); Hetzel v. County of

Prince William, 89 F.3d 169, 172 (4th Cir.) (“That this award

is outrageous is confirmed by even a cursory analysis of the

impressive array of cases” comparable to the plaintiff's

injuries), cert. denied, 519 U.S. 1028 (1996); Wheat v.

United States, 860 F.2d at 1259 (“Although our determina-

tion is, by its nature, subjective, we do conduct our analysis

within an objective frame of reference: damage awards in

similar cases.”); Reimer v. Illinois Dep’t of Transp., 148 F.3d

800, 808 (7th Cir. 1998) (“We make three inquiries when

17

reviewing a compensatory damages award: whether the

award is ‘monstrously excessive’; whether there is no ra-

tional connection between the award and the evidence, and

whether the award is roughly comparable to awards made in

similar cases.”) (quotation and ellipses omitted). Although

other courts of appeals have rejected comparability analysis,

they have done so not for any constitutional reason, but

simply because they find the approach unilluminating. See

Soto v. United States, 11 F.3d 15, 18 (1st Cir. 1993); Sykes v.

McDowell, 786 F.2d 1098, 1105 (11th Cir. 1986).

A number of state courts likewise engage in comparability

analysis when reviewing jury compensatory damages awards

for excessiveness. And until the decision of the Court of

Appeals below, it would have gone without saying that none

of these courts paused to consider whether the Seventh

Amendment constrained them from adopting that analytic

framework. See, e.g., Palenkas v. Beaumont Hosp., 443

N.W.2d 354, 358 (Mich. 1989) (“a comparison of jury

awards in analogous * * * cases * * * provide[s] an objective

means of determining the range of appropriate awards”);

Cade v. Walker, 771 So. 2d 403, 408 (Miss. Ct. App. 2000)

(“We thus review a claim of excessiveness, as required by

precedent, by comparing the awards at issue with rulings in

other factually similar cases decided under controlling law.”’);

Fowler v. Park Corp., 673 S.W.2d 749, 758 n.15 (Mo. 1984)

(although it “is no longer the sole factor considered in

reviewing the excessiveness of damage awards,” from “the

early days of statehood, Missouri appellate courts followed

the rule that damage judgments should conform with judg-

ments entered in like cases”); Buffalo Athletic Club v. New

York State Div. of Human Rights, 672 N.Y.S.2d 210, 211

(N.Y. App. Div. 1998) (reducing award by fifty percent on

appeal because reduced award was “more consistent with

awards for comparable injuries and proof of mental anguish

made in similar cases”) (quotation omitted).

18

The reason federal and state courts alike have resorted to

comparability analysis has been in “response to the increas-

ingly outrageous amounts demanded by plaintiffs and

awarded by juries.” Gumbs, 823 F.2d at 773. Comparability

analysis “provide[s] an objective means of determining the

range of appropriate awards,” Palenkas, 443 N.W.2d at 358,

and thereby allows an appellate court to determine whether a

seemingly excessive award was the likely product of im-

proper passion or prejudice. For whatever latitude juries

enjoy in fixing compensation, they “‘may not abandon

analysis for sympathy for a suffering plaintiff and treat an

injury as though it were a winning lottery ticket.’” Scala v.

Moore McCormack Lines, Inc., 985 F.2d 680, 684 (2d Cir.

1993) (quoting Gumbs, 823 F.2d at 773).

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of certio-

rari should be granted, the judgment below reversed, and the

case remanded to the Court of Appeals for reconsideration

free of the misapprehension that the Seventh Amendment

constrains appellate review of jury compensatory damages

awards in state court.

Respectfully submitted,

KARL L. MULVANEY JOHN G. ROBERTS, JR.*

DAVID C. CAMPBELL CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN

NANA QUAY-SMITH HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

BINGHAM MCHALE LLP 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

2700 Market Tower Washington, D.C. 20004

10 West Market Street (202) 637-5810

Indianapolis, Indiana 46204

(317) 635-8900

*Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

IN THE |

COURT OF APPEALS OF INDIANA

No. 49A02-9912-CV-883

IRA C. RITTER AND THE KROGER CO.,

Appellants-Defendants,

Vv.

JERRY STANTON AND RUTH A. STANTON,

Appellees-Plaintiffs.

Appeal from the Marion Superior Court No. 10

The Honorable Richard H. Huston, Judge

Cause No. 49D10-9506-CT-959

March 14, 2001

OPINION—FOR PUBLICATION

BARNES, Judge

Case Summary

This case stems from a personal injury action brought

against Ira Ritter and the Kroger Company (“Kroger”) as a

result of an accident occurring on Kroger property while the

Plaintiff, Jerry Stanton, was working as a truck driver for a

Kroger subsidiary. The jury awarded $55,000,000 in

2a

compensatory damages after determining that Stanton was

20% at fault. We affirm.

Issues

Kroger raises two primary issues for our review, namely:

I. whether the trial court erroneously denied its motion

to dismiss for lack of subject matter jurisdiction

because of the exclusivity provision of the Indiana

Worker’s Compensation Act (“Act”); and

II. whether the jury awarded excessive damages.

Facts

Forty-eight year-old Stanton was a truck driver for

Gateway Freightline Corporation (“Gateway”), a wholly

owned subsidiary of Kroger. On May 6, 1995, he traveled

from his home state of Illinois to Indianapolis for the purpose

of returning empty milk containers to Kroger’s dairy. Prior to

leaving Kroger’s Indianapolis Distribution Center, he

stopped for a break and parked his tractor-trailer beside a

parked trailer. In the meantime, Ritter, a Kroger employee,

began backing a Kroger tractor toward the same parked

trailer. Unaware that Ritter was moving toward him, Stanton

walked between Ritter’s backing tractor and the parked

trailer. After Stanton stopped momentarily, he was pinned

between the parked trailer and Ritter’s tractor, suffering

massive injuries.

Stanton and his wife, Alfie, filed suit in June 1995 against

Ritter and Kroger, alleging negligence resulting in permanent

injuries to Stanton and loss of consortium to his wife. Two

years later, Kroger filed a motion to dismiss for lack of

subject-matter jurisdiction on the basis that the claims were

barred by the exclusivity provision of the Act because

Stanton was employed by a Kroger subsidiary. The following

year, the trial court denied the motion and refused Kroger’s

request for interlocutory appeal.

3a

The case was tried to a jury for several weeks in mid-1999.

At trial, the parties stipulated that Stanton suffered

$1,281,741 in special damages, including past medical

expenses, lost earnings, and lost future pension benefits.

Kroger defended the suit on the basis that Stanton’s claim

was barred because he was totally at fault for the accident.

During his closing argument, Stanton suggested the

following damage amounts: $2 million for future medical

expenses; $3 million for past disfigurement; $10 million for

future disfigurement; $7 million for past pain and

suffering/ability to function as a whole person; $30 million

for future pain and suffering; $2 million for past loss of

consortium; and $10 million for future loss of consortium.

Including the $1,281,741 in special damages, Stanton

requested a total verdict of $65,281,741. After deliberating

for a relatively short time, the jury returned a verdict in favor

of the Stantons for $55,000,000, which reflected a 20%

reduction or discount for Stanton’s comparative fault.

Analysis

I. Exclusivity of Worker’s Compensation Remedy

The threshold issue this case presents is whether the

exclusivity provision of the Act bars Stanton’s claim. This

provision of the Act provides:

[T]he rights and remedies granted an employee[!]

subject to I.C. 22-3-2 through I.C. 22-3-6 on account of

personal injury or death by accident shall exclude all

other rights and remedies of such employee, the

employee’s personal representatives, dependents, or

next of kin, at common law or otherwise, on account of

such injury or death... .

! Indiana Code Section 22-3-6-1(b) defines an “employee” under

the Act as “every person, including a minor, in the service of

another, under any contract of hire or apprenticeship, written or

implied, except one whose employment is both casual and not in

the usual course of the trade, business, occupation or profession of

the employer.”

4a

Ind.Code § 22-3-2-6. The only way for an employee to

recover for personal injuries arising out of and in the course

of employment is through worker’s compensation. Kroger

claims that Kroger and Gateway are the same “employer” for

purposes of the exclusivity provision, and, therefore, that

Stanton’s sole remedy is through worker’s compensation.

A. Standard of Review

The appropriate standard of review is disputed by the

parties with respect to the question of jurisdiction. Kroger

filed a motion to dismiss for lack of subject-matter

jurisdiction pursuant to Indiana Trial Rule 12(b)(1). In ruling

on a motion to dismiss for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction,

the trial court may resolve factual disputes. Perry v. Stitzer

Buick GMC, 637 N.E.2d 1282, 1286-87 (Ind. 1994);

Common Council v. Matonovich, 691 N.E.2d 1326, 1328

(Ind. Ct. App. 1998), trans. denied. In doing so it may

consider not only the complaint and motion to dismiss but

any affidavits or other evidence submitted. /d. Moreover, a

court may weigh the evidence to determine the existence of

the requisite jurisdictional facts. /d. It is well-settled that

when the facts are not in dispute, we review a ruling on a

motion to dismiss de novo. See, e.g., Common Council, 691

N.E.2d at 1328; Rieheman v. Cornerstone Seeds, Inc., 671

N.E.2d 489, 491 (Ind. Ct. App. 1996), trans. denied.

When the facts related to subject-matter jurisdiction are in

dispute, the proper standard of review is not as clear. Sonie

cases have said that “when we review a trial court’s ruling on

[a motion to dismiss for lack of subject-matter jurisdiction],

we may affirm the judgment on any theory supported by the

evidence of record.” Vranicar v. Board of Comm'rs of Brown

County, 730 N.E.2d 752, 755 (Ind. Ct. App. 2000); M.V. v.

Charter Terre Haute Behavioral Health System, Inc., 712

N.E.2d 1064, 1066 (Ind. Ct. App. 1999). Additionally, when

in ruling on such a motion the trial court considers evidence

outside the complaint (affidavits, etc.), holds a hearing during

which the parties present arguments regarding the evidence,

and issues findings of fact and conclusions thereon, an

appellate court wil! review the trial court’s resolution of the

Sa

factual disputes by applying a clearly erroneous standard.

Lawson v. Raney Mfg., 678 N.E.2d 122, 126 (Ind. Ct. App.

1997), trans. denied.

We have stated that the question of whether an injury

occurred in the course of employment depends upon the facts

and circumstances of each case. Northcutt v. Smith, 642

N.E.2d 254 (Ind. Ct. App. 1994). In that case, we reasoned:

[a]lthough the Northcutts concede that Northcutt’s

injury arose in the course of his employment and the

facts are not in dispute regarding how, where, and when

the injury occurred, the question of whether Smith is

subject to liability pursuant to the Act remains a mixed

question of law and fact, which ultimately will

determine whether the trial court has jurisdiction over

the subject matter.

Id. at 256 (emphasis added). We concluded that the review of

such a factual determination was for an abuse of discretion.

Id.

Despite the semantic differences among these cases in

articulating the standard of review, the overarching principle

is clear: when the trial court resolves factual issues in

reaching its decision on subject-matter jurisdiction, deference

should be afforded on appeal just as in any other type of case

where the trial court weighs the facts. The standard of review

for the jurisdiction determination in this case then turns on

the question of whether there were any questions of fact

before the trial court in ruling on the motion to dismiss. The

parties may not dispute the facts surrounding the accident,

but they do dispute some of ihe facts and many of the

inferences to be drawn therefrom relating to the relationships

between Kroger and Gateway and between Kroger and

Stanton. The trial court necessarily made factual

determinations in reaching its conclusion that Stanton’s claim

was not barred by the Act, even though it did not issue

written findings detailing those specific determinations.

Therefore, we will give deference to the trial court’s decision

a

tee

$

ee

=

ee

a> 2a

Pim

:*

oe

oe,

6a

when reviewing this issue. We now turn to the substance of

the arguments.

B. McQuade v. Draw Tite, Inc.

The thrust of Kroger’s jurisdictional argument is that

Kroger and Gateway were the same employer at the time of

the accident and, as a result, Stanton is prohibited from suing

Kroger. In effect, Kroger is asking us to permit it to

defensively “pierce the corporate veil” erected when it

formed its parent-subsidiary corporate structure and find that

it was actually the employer of Stanton by virtue of the fact

that it is Gateway’s parent company.

The watershed case addressing this issue is McQuade v.

Draw Tite, Inc., 659 N.E.2d 1016 (Ind. 1995). In that case, an

injured employee brought a negligence action against her

employer’s parent corporation for injuries sustained in the

course of employment. The trial court held that the parent

company was so interconnected with the subsidiary that it

was equivalent to the plaintiff's “employer” under the Act

and, therefore, that the plaintiff could not pursue the cause of

action because the exclusive remedy for her injuries against

her “employer” was under the Act. McQuade, 659 N.E.2d at

1017.

Our supreme court reversed the trial court and this court,

rejecting our conclusion that because the parent company

oversaw and controlled the subsidiary’s operations, reported

the subsidiary’s earnings as profits, shared a worker’s

compensation policy with the subsidiary, and performed

payroll and accounting functions for the subsidiary, the

parent and subsidiary corporations were not distinct and

separately operated corporations. /d. at 1020. The supreme

court held as a case of first impression that the exclusivity

provision of the Act did not prevent an employee of a

subsidiary from suing a parent corporation for injuries

sustained in the course of employment. Jd. The supreme

court recognized a subsidiary and its parent corporation as

separate legal entities and acknowledged that a court may

exercise its equitable power in disregarding the corporate

7a

form. /d. However, the supreme court emphatically

concluded “there is little likelihood that equity will ever

require us to pierce the corporate veil to protect the same

party who erected it.” Jd. (emphasis added). Because

corporate parents are not covered under the language of the

exclusivity clause, and any uncertainty as to the clause’s

applicability calls for a narrow construction of the statute in

favor of the employee, the supreme court found no statutory

basis for the trial court’s grant of summary judgment in favor

of the corporate parent. /d.

In so holding, the court cited the “well reasoned analysis”

of the Sixth Circuit, which had adopted the most widely

accepted approach and stated:

[A] business enterprise has a range of choice in

controlling its own corporate structure. But reciprocal

obligations arise as a result of the choice it makes. The

owners may take advantage of the benefits of dividing

the business into separate corporate parts, but principles

of reciprocity require that courts also recognize the

separate identities of the enterprises when sued by an

injured employee.

Id. at 1019 (quoting Boggs v. Blue Diamond Coal Co., 590

F.2d 655, 661-62 (6th Cir. 1979), cert. denied, 444 U.S. 836,

100 S. Ct. 71 (1979)).2 Our supreme court reiterated that “‘it

2 Similar policy concerns were raised by Judge Kirsch in his

dissenting opinion in Nowicki v. Cannon Steel Erection Co., 711

N.E.2d 536 (Ind. Ct. App. 1999), trans. denied. In that case, the

court affirmed the trial court’s findings that a crane operator was

an employee of a construction company and that his claim was

therefore barred by the Act’s exclusivity provision. Jd. at 544.

Judge Kirsch detailed serious policy concerns implicated by the

conclusion that the worker’s claim was barred. He wrote in part:

[M]y dissent is based on public policy concerns and what I

believe to be a misapplication of such concerns by our

courts. In its opinion, the majority iterates the oft-repeated

statement that ‘public policy favors the inclusion of

employees within the scope of the Worker’s Compensation

Act’... The purpose underlying this policy was to insure

8a

was, after all, [the] defendant who chose to structure itself in

its present multi-corporate form.” Jd. at 1020. The supreme

court clarified its holding by stating, “[w]hat our decision is

meant to prevent is a situation where an injured party would

be deprived of his or her day in court by the purely fortuitous .

circumstance that the alleged tortfeasor is the corporate

parent of the injured party’s employer.” Jd. at 1020 n.7.

On its face, Kroger’s entreaty to pierce its corporate veil

defensively by claiming Stanton cannot sue the parent

corporation of his employer clearly fails in light of the

express holding by the McQuade court rejecting such an

attempt. Nonetheless, Kroger contends that McQuade is

distinguishable because the relationship between it and

Gateway is more interconnected than the relationship

between the parent and subsidiary corporations in that case.

Our review of the record leads us to conclude that although

there is undoubtedly some degree of interconnectedness

that workers injured in workplace accidents in the course of

their employment would receive the health and disability

benefits mandated by the act. The purpose was not to

immunize third-party tort feasors and their liability insurers

from liability for negligence which results in Serious injuries

to one who is not in their employ. And yet, that is the result

of the application of the foregoing policy to cases such as the

one now before us.

It is from the application of this policy that the burden

shifted to the injured employee to prove that the claim falls

outside the coverage of the act... .

*e ee * *

If it is the public policy of this state to allow third-party

tort feasors and-their liability insurers to use the Indiana

Worker’s Compensation Act as a shield by which to

immunize themselves from liability for their wrongful acts

resulting in serious injuries to the employee of another, then

it is a policy which should be re-examined. I would not

apply the policy in this way ....

Id. at 544-45 (citations omitted).

9a

between Kroger and Gateway, we see no legal compulsion to

depart from the McQuade holding.

Kroger and Gateway had a contract governing the terms for

the services Gateway provided to Kroger. It contains several

clauses contradicting Kroger’s assertion that it considered

“ Gateway to be the same entity and/or that it perceived

Gateway drivers to be its own direct employees. The contract

identifies the companies as separate entities and states that

Gateway was “engaged in the business of warehousing and

distributing dry groceries, health and beauty aids, dairy

perishables and produce (product), meat, frozen food and

fresh dairy products” and that Kroger “desires to utilize the

facilities and services of [Gateway].” Record p. 932. The

contract provides that Gateway is a “bailee only” and that

title to all product delivered for Kroger shall remain in

Kroger. Jd. Significantly, the contract contains mutual

clauses whereby each company agreed to hold the other

harmless and indemnify the other from all claims, suits, and

judgments for damages caused by the act or omission of its

agent or employee. Also, Gateway was required to furnish

Kroger with a certificate evidencing coverage under IIlinois’

worker’s compensation laws. Kroger is required to pay

Gateway for each case of product it delivered and for

transportation charges according to the published tariff.

Attached to the contract are several exhibits detailing various

aspects of the work to be performed by Gateway. One of the

exhibits indicates that Gateway would deliver store mail to

Kroger stores for a per-delivery fee. Another exhibit

concerns baled salvage and provides that Gateway would

charge Kroger a fee per bale for handling it. The exhibit also

States that a buyer should direct checks for the bales to

Gateway and that Gateway would send checks to Kroger for

its portion. These contract provisions are not the type one

would typically expect Kroger to have in an agreement with

its own employees.

There are other indicia of the nature of the relationship

between Kroger and Gateway. First, the hiring of anyone

below the top management of Gateway was left to Gateway

10a

employees. The employment application completed by

Stanton was labeled as that of Gateway. After the accident,

Gateway filed the First Report of Injury or Illness as the

employer without referencing Kroger. Kroger maintains that

it had at least indirect authority to discipline Gateway drivers.

It states that if “a Kroger store manager had a problem with a

particular Gateway driver, the manager would call Paul

Upton, Gateway’s Vice President and General Manager, to

complain.” Appellant’s Brief p. 20. In addition, Kroger

claims that “[c]ommon sense dictates that Kroger had the

right and power to compel the discharge of a Gateway driver

..” Appellant’s Brief p. 20. Stanton responds that Kroger

did not have authority to terminate a Gateway driver due to

the local addendum to the union contract with Gateway’s

drivers pursuant to which only Gateway could terminate

them. Kroger’s Manager of Safety and Health testified that to

the best of his knowledge, no Gateway Teamster driver was

ever suspended by anyone other than an employee of

Gateway. He also stated that if a Kroger store manager had a

problem with a particular Gateway driver, the manager

would call Gateway’s Vice President to complain but that

Gateway disciplined the driver if it was deemed necessary.

Kroger’s Transportation Manager testified that she cannot

suspend or fire a Gateway driver because “it’s a different

contract and they have a boss.” Record p. 1510. Gateway’s

Vice President and General Manager testified that even at the

store level, Kroger employees would not suspend a Gateway

driver.

Kroger contends that the fact that it “may not have had the

absolute authority to directly terminate Gateway employees”

does not mean that it could not compel such termination.

Appellant’s Reply Brief p. 14. However, the ability to

complain about a driver is not the same thing as the authority

to discipline the driver. Any customer has the ability to

complain about a driver but not the authority to directly

discipline that driver. It is clear from this evidence that

although Kroger may have had some influence over such

decisions, Gateway ultimately controlled the hiring and

discipline of its drivers.

lla

—

Second, the parties agree that Kroger provides the capital

that funds Gateway’s operating budget because Gateway is

operated under a zero-based budget. That is to say, on a daily

basis, all cash in excess of Gateway’s operating needs is

wire-transferred for deposit into Kroger’s operations account

for investment. Likewise, if Gateway’s operating costs

exceed its available cash revenues, necessary funds are wire-

transferred to Gateway. However, it is reasonable to conclude

from our review of the record that at least a portion of

Gateway’s gross receipts were returned to Gateway to fund

its own payroll. The employer participation portion of

Stanton’s health insurance was paid under Gateway’s

accounting system, and Gateway reimbursed Kroger for its

portion of the worker’s compensation premium.

Third, Kroger supplied Gateway with tractors and trailers

to which Gateway decals were affixed. However, the tractors

and trailers operated by Gateway and bearing Gateway’s logo

are titled in the State of Illinois in the name of Gateway.

Stanton testified that Kroger tractors were not driven unless a

Gateway unit had broken down because the tractor is a piece

of equipment authorized to run as a contract carrier for hire

such that it had to be licensed to Gateway. The executive

secretary to Gateway’s vice-president testified that some of

the trailers pulled by Gateway drivers may carry a Kroger

logo because a company with common carrier authority can

pull another company’s trailers with its own power units. In

addition, if Kroger employees worked on a Gat: vay truck,

Kroger bilied Gateway (at least as “paper charges for labor

time of the Kroger employee and for any parts used. Record

pp. 1318-19, 1354.

Fourth, Kroger sometimes supplied Gateway drivers with

keys to the Kroger stores to which they made deliveries to

facilitate evening or after-hours deliveries. However, when

keys to Kroger stores were given to Gateway drivers, they

were given by somebody within Gateway rather than Kroger.

Furthermore, the facilities have a driver’s door because the

drivers would drop or unload a mail bag, a service for which

Kroger paid Gateway.

12a

Finally, the Kroger distribution manager, together with the

manager of logistics, created delivery schedules and

determined when groceries were to be delivered to Kroger

stores. While at the distribution center, Gateway drivers were

directed by Kroger managers.’ Kroger provided directions as

to which stores a driver was to make deliveries. However,

Gateway drivers received supervision and instructions from

Gateway supervisory personnel. Kroger’s logistical planning

was for its own benefit and was the same as any other

customer of a trucking company that would need to

coordinate deliveries. Gateway billed Kroger for any freight

hauling it did for Kroger.

From this and other evidence in the record, we conclude

that although there is a certain degree of interconnectedness

between the companies, there is a deliberate attempt to keep

a significant portion of the businesses separate. Kroger may

oversee Gateway’s operations, report Gateway’s earnings,

share a worker’s compensation policy with Gateway, and

perform some accounting functions for Gateway, but those

were the exact characteristics of interconnectedness rejected

by the McQuade court. Therefore, the policy concerns

articulated by the McQuade court are implicated here. If

Kroger intends to maintain separate corporate entities for tax

or other purposes, then it should not be permitted to disregard

that corporate form when it is convenient for it to do so to

avoid potential liability. Equity requires us to reject Kroger’s

attempt to pierce its veil because this is the precise situation

the McQuade court intended to prevent.

3 It is to be expected that Kroger would control the traffic

movement on its property and the use of its facilities by its own

employees, as well as those of Gateway and other trucking

companies. The mere conformity with rules made for the general

policing of the premises, when there are a number of separate

groups of workers on the premises, does not mean that all of those

workers are thus transformed into Kroger employees .

13a

C. Exception to the McQuade Holding

To circumvent this result, Kroger claims that the

circumstances present in this case fall within an “exception”

to the McQuade prohibition. In the text of the opinion, the

McQuade court stated:

Plaintiff contends that the Court of Appeals’ decision is

erroneous because Indiana courts disregard the

corporate form only when it has been used to promote

fraud or some other injustice, and therefore, the Court

of Appeals should not have permitted defendant’s

‘defensive piercing of the corporate veil.’ Defendant

contends that the Court of Appeals properly applied a

‘reverse piercing’ of the corporate veil doctrine in

determining that plaintiff's claim is barred.

Id. at 1019. A footnote immediately followed, stating that

“Defendant does not claim that it had an express or implied

employment contract with Plaintiff. Rather, its claim is based

solely upon its interconnectedness with Mongo.” /d. at 1020

n.4. Kroger argues the footnote “left open the question”

whether under certain circumstances, piercing the veil to find

that the parent corporation is the employer of the plaintiff

could be appropriate. Kroger contends the footnote creates an

exception where an implied or express employment contract

is present. Kroger alleges that there was an express contract

of employment between Kroger and Stanton by virtue of a

collective bargaining agreement and Kroger’s 401(k) plan.

Kroger’s argument presupposes the existence of an

“exception” to the McQuade holding in situations where

there is a contract of employment. It is far from clear that the

language and context of the footnote creates such an

automatic exception. Rather, Kroger asks us to read an intent

into the footnote where we find none. As the McQuade court

set out the parties’ arguments, it mentioned that the defendant

had not claimed the existence of a contractual relationship.

That could mean the analysis contained in the opinion might

have been different had there been an allegation of a

contractual relationship; it could also merely be a reminder

14a

that it would not specifically address the issue of an

employment contract because the issue was not before it. We

see no indication from the passing reference in the footnote

that our supreme court intended to articulate a blanket or

automatic exception to its clear holding for cases where an

employment contract is involved. In those cases, it seems

appropriate to evaluate a particular contractual relaticaship

carefully to determine whether it is sufficient to fall outside

the scope of the general McQuade holding preventing parent

corporations from seeking protection from liability by

piercing their own corporate veils. Although in other cases

such contractual relationships may exist to create an

exception to the McQuade holding, we see no intent by our

supreme court to create a broad exception to its holding. This

is particularly true in light of the definitive language in the

opinion clearly rejecting defensive corporate veil-piercing

based on public policy concerns.

Even if we were to indulge Kroger’s claim that there is

some sort of exception created by the footnote language in

McQuade, we do not find a sufficient contractual relationship

between Kroger and Stanton to fall within it. The thrust of

Kroger’s argument is that the collective bargaining

agreement governing Stanton’s employment with Gateway

was a contract of employment with Kroger and created an

“express contractual employment relationship” between

Kroger and Stanton. Appellant’s Reply Brief p. 8.

From August 1989 through August 1994, a labor

agreement was in effect that had been negotiated by

Stanton’s union, Teamsters Local 627, with Gateway. Upon

the expiration of that agreement, Local 627 chose not to

continue operating under a separate agreement with Gateway

and instead decided to associate Gateway members with

other workers to obtain more favorable contract terms. It

decided to become a part of the Kroger and Teamsters

“Master Contract” that had been negotiated between Kroger

and the International Teamsters Union. In so doing, Gateway

accepted the same contract for its union drivers as was

negotiated for Kroger union drivers with certain conditions as

15a

outlined in a letter from Local 627. The Master Contract

identified “The Kroger Co.” as the “Employer” and referred

to the Teamsters Kroger National Negotiating Committee

representing Local Unions affiliated with the International

Brotherhood of Teamsters and Local Union as “Union.” The

Master Contract was not signed by any Gateway officer, but

was ratified locally.

Kroger maintains that this collective bargaining agreement

created an express employment contract between Kroger and

Stanton. This court has stated:

The general rule is that, in order to be found valid and

enforceable, an employment contract must contain four

terms: 1) it must state the place of employment; 2) it

must state the period of employment; 3) it must state

the nature of the services the employee is to render; and

4) it must state the compensation the employee was to

receive.

Majd Pour v. Basic American Medical, Inc., 512 N.E.2d 435,

439 (Ind. Ct. App. 1987); see also Jones v. General Elec.

Co., 87 F.3d 209, 213 (7th Cir. 1996), cert. denied. Kroger

cites little authority for its declaration that the collective

bargaining agreement constituted an employment contract

under this or any other definition of such a term of art.

The primary authority Kroger does rely upon is Bentz v.

Metal Products Co. v. Stephans, 657 N.E.2d 1245 (Ind. Ct.

App. 1995), which, according to Kroger, recognizes “an

employee covered by collective bargaining agreement as

party to an at-will employment contract with company.”

Appellant’s Reply Brief p. 10. Our review of that case does

not lead us to the same conclusion regarding its definitive

statement on collective bargaining agreements. In Bentz, the

court held that employment security provisions in a collective

bargaining agreement did not necessarily conflict with the

employment at-will doctrine and that the former employee

was not barred from pursuing an action for retaliatory

discharge by the fact he was covered by a collective

bargaining agreement. Bzniz, 657 N.E.2d at 1249-50. The

l6a

court noted that the company had relied heavily on

Remington Freight Lines, Inc. v, Larkey, 644 N.E.2d 931,

939-40 (Ind. Ct. App. 1994), in which this court stated that it

recognized “the distinction between employees who are

retained for a definite duration or subject to contract, and

employees whose employment is of indefinite duration, and

may terminate at the will of the employer for any reason.”

However, the Bentz court then stated that “filing a grievance,

the remedy available to [the employee] under the terms of the

[Collective Bargaining] Agreement, is not the same as

obtaining relief under a breach of contract action, which is

the actionable claim of a\ wrongfully discharged employee

under a contract for a definite term.” Jd. at 1249. This case

holds that the existence of a collective bargaining agreement

does not preclude the existence of an employment at-will

relationship between the employer and the employee. It does

not stand for the definitive proposition that a collective

bargaining agreement creates an employment contract.

Other cases have found that a collective bargaining

agreement is not an employment contract for certain

purposes. For example, in Peake v. International Harvester

Co., 489 N.E.2d 102 (Ind, Ct. App. 1986), trans. denied, we

held that a collective bargaining agreement between a former

employee’s union and his former employer was not a

“written contract” within the statute-of-limitation exception

for actions arising from employment agreements not in

writing, and thus, the statute of limitation applied. We

rejected the plaintiff's claim that the terms, conditions, and

privileges of his employment were governed by the written

collective bargaining agreement between his union, the

U.A.W., and International Harvester on the basis that it was

uncontested he was an hourly employee hired under an oral

contract. Jd. at 105.

In so holding, the court relied on IJnternational Union,

U.A.A. & A.I. Workers of America (UAW), AFL-CIO v.

Hoosier Cardinal Corp., 346 F.2d 242 (7th Cir. 1965), aff’d.,

383 U.S. 696, 86 S. Ct. 1107. In that case, the U.A.W. sought

to recover vacation pay for the company’s employees.

ess pia PO INP sk Takk FEIN AR ie UR wel RIS tar ila ca tah LLIN ae vm

17a

Rejecting the union’s argument that a twenty-year statute of

limitation for actions on written contracts rather than

Indiana’s six-year statute regarding accounts and contracts

not in writing applied to those facts, the Seventh Circuit

determined:

[p]laintiff's action in the district court was based upon

the contract of employment between the individual

employees and defendant. There is no evidence or

contention that these employment contracts were ever

reduced to writing. It was for wages due under these

employment contracts that the present action was

brought....

Id. at 245. In affirming, the United States Supreme Court

reasoned that “[p]roof of the breach and of the measure of

damages, however, both depend upon proof of the existence

and duration of separate employment contracts between the

employer and each of the aggrieved employees.” Hoosier

Cardinal, 383 U.S. at 706, 86 S. Ct. at 1113. The Supreme

Court held that although the provision concerning the

company’s payment of vacation pay to its employee-

members was embodied within the provisions of the written

collective bargaining agreement, the determination of which

statute of limitation applied was to be determined by whether

each employee’s contract of hiring was oral or written.

Several federal courts have likewise concluded that a

collective bargaining agreement does not create an

employment contract. Most importantly, the U.S. Supreme

Court has held:

Collective bargaining between employer and the

representatives of a unit, usually a union, results in an

accord as to terms which will govern hiring and work

and pay in that unit. The result is not, however, a

contract of employment except in rare cases; no one has

a job by reason of it and no obligation to any individual

ordinarily comes into existence from it alone. The

negotiations between union and management result in

18a

what often has been called a trade agreement, rather

than in a contract of employment.

JI. Case Co. v. National Labor Rel. Bd., 321 U.S. 332, 334-

35, 64 S. Ct. 576, 579 (1944) (emphasis added). In Young v.

North Drury Lane Productions, Inc., 80 F.3d 203 (7th Cir.

1996), the Seventh Circuit noted that it could not find any

cases where a collective bargaining agreement provided

individual guarantees of employment to named employees

and cited authority stating, “[A] labor agreement is not a

contract of employment; employees are hired separately and

individually, but the tenure and terms of their employment

once in the unit are regulated by the provisions of the

collective bargaining agreement.” Jd. at 206. Similarly, the

Fifth Circuit has stated that “[ujnlike a contract of

employment, ordinarily a collective bargaining agreement

does not create an employer-employee relationship. . . . It

neither obligates any employee to perform work nor requires

the employer to provide work.” Jn re Continental Airlines

Corp., 901 F.2d 1259, 1264 (Sth Cir. 1990), cert. denied, 506

U.S. 828, 113 S. Ct. 87.

Therefore, although collective bargaining agreements can

be considered contracts relating to employment, they do not

necessarily create a “contract of employment” within the

strict meaning of the term. Any contractual relationship

created between Kroger and Stanton by virtue of the Master

Agreement is not the sort of “employment contract” that

would be contemplated by the footnote in McQuade. The

holding and strong policy language of McQuade clearly

reject a corporation’s ability to pierce its veil to protect itself

by asserting that it and its subsidiary are the same employer.

It is evident from the unequivocal language of the opinion

that any potential exception to that rule would have to be

narrowly drawn and would occur only under very limited

circumstances. The contractual relationship created by the

fact that Stanton’s local union combined forces with the

larger Teamsters’ organization to secure better benefits for

Gateway employees is not the sort of relationship for which

our supreme court would contemplate an exception. Rather,

19a

if any exception is suggested by the “express or implied

employment contract” language of the footnote, it would be

limited to cases where there is a direct employment contract

with the pareni corporation, not a collective bargaining

agreement that includes the parent corporation along with

other employers. To hold otherwise would circumvent the

holding and compelling policy arguments articulated in

McQuade because a parent corporation could avoid liability

by piercing the corporate veil any time a collective

bargaining agreement exists.

Kroger also contends that Stanton had a contractual

relationship with it as a participant in the Kroger 401(k) plan

(“K-Plan”). The K-Plan allows participation as follows:

Participating Employers. The participating employers

of the Plan are referred to herein as ‘Employers’ and

are defined as the Company and all of its subsidiaries

and any other affiliated organization which is a member

of the same controlled group of organizations under the

Internal Revenue Code of 1986, as amended (the

‘Code*) as the Company, which is authorized by the

Board of Directors of the Company (‘Board’) to adopt

the Plan and which has adopted the Plan and Trust by

the action of its own Board of Directors. Except as

otherwise indicated, any references to ‘Kroger’ or ‘the

Company’ relating to its role as an Employer under the

Plan shall be deemed to include any other Employers.

Record p. 619. The parties contest the interpretation of this

language. Kroger contends that Gateway had to be a member

of the same “controlled group” as Kroger pursuant to the

Internal Revenue Code, which provides that all employees of

all corporations that are members of a controlled group of

corporations shall be treated as employed by a single

employer. Stanton, on the other hand, maintains that

Gateway was a separate participating employer under the K-

Plan and, therefore, that his participation in the plan was not

evidence that he was a Kroger employee. Stanton’s position

is more consistent with the plain language of the provision.

The provision clearly identifies subsidiaries as “participating

20a

employers” and as separate and distinct entities from those

other “affiliated organizations” that were required to be part

of the “controlled group.” Contrary to Kroger’s argument,

subsidiaries were not required to be part of the “controlled

group.” We cannot conclude that an employment contract

was automatically created between Kroger and Stanton by

the fact that Stanton contributed to the K-Plan when the K-

Plan is designed to allow the participation of other

employers, such as Kroger subsidiaries. Stanton did not

automatically become a Kroger employee simply because his

employer, Gateway, was one of several participating

employers in the K-Plan. Furthermore, even if some sort of

contractual relationship existed between Kroger and Stanton

by virtue of the K-Plan, it is not the sort of direct

employment contract that might warrant an exception to the

McQuade holding.

Our supreme court has expressly prohibited the precise

type of defensive veil-piercing Kroger is attempting to

accomplish in this case. We find that the degree of

interconnectedness between the companies is not sufficient to

justify a defensive piercing here. Similarly, we find no

blanket “exception” to the prohibition in the language of the

footnote for employment contracts. Even if such an exception

may exist under limited circumstances, we find that the

collective bargaining agreement and the K-Plan do not create

a contractual relationship sufficient to bring this case outside

the scope of the McQuade holding. Therefore, we conclude

that the trial court properly denied Kroger’s motion to

dismiss because Stanton’s claim is not barred by the

exclusivity provision of the Act.4

4 Alternatively, Kroger contends that Stanton was employed by

both Kroger and Gateway and/or that Stanton was a borrowed

servant. Typically, we analyze dual employment by applying the

seven factors reiterated in Hale v. Kemp, 579 N.E.2d 63, 67 (Ind.

1991). However, we need not engage in such an analysis in this

case. The cases applying the seven factors generally do not include

those where the dual employment alleged is between a parent

corporation and its subsidiary. Because our supreme court in

McQuade foreclosed the ability of a parent corporation to pierce

2la

Il. Damages

The second challenge raised by Kroger relates to the

damage award. Although Kroger admits that Stanton was

seriously and permanently injured, it maintains that the

award is excessive and that we should either remit it or

remand the case for a new trial on damages. Kroger contends

that the verdict was motivated by passion, prejudice, or

partiality and that the evidence does not support such a large

award.°

Broadly stated, the person injured by the negligence of

another is entitled to reasonable compensation. Kavanagh v.

Butorac, 140 Ind.App. 139, 144, 221 N.E.2d 824, 828

(1966). Courts have said that term means such sum as would

reasonably compensate the victim both for bodily injuries

and for pain and suffering. /d. To that sum is added past,

present, and future expenses reasonably necessary to the

plaintiffs treatment and all financial losses suffered, or to be

suffered, as a result of the inability to engage in his usual

occupation. /d. “Compensation is the stated goal of a court

when measuring damages for personal injuries.” /d. (citation

omitted). The question, as is so frequently raised in personal

injury actions, is how much money reasonably compensates

the Stantons for their injuries and pain and suffering.

A. Standard of Review

This court applies a strict standard when reviewing a jury

verdict containing a damage award claimed to be excessive

or inadequate. Dee v. Becker, 636 N.E.2d 176, 177 (Ind. Ct.

the corporate veil defensively as Kroger is attempting to do here, it

is dispositive on the question of subject-matter jurisdiction in this

case.

> As a side note, Kroger does not contend that the jury was

improperly instructed. In fact, Kroger recognizes the jury was

instructed it could return a “fair” amount for pain and suffering and

disability. Record p. 1880. A jury is presumed to have followed the

court’s instructions. Landis v. Landis, 664 N.E.2d 754, 758 (Ind.

Ct. App. 1996).

OS eee es SaSigs 2) Rin taoR

22a

App. 1994). On appeal, we will consider only the evidence

that supports the award together with the reasonable

inferences therefrom. If there is any evidence to support the

amount of the award, even if it is conflicting, this court will

not reverse.

Traditionally, the jury has been afforded a great deal of

discretion in assessing damage awards. Sears Roebuck & Co.

v. Manuilov, 2001 WL 51680 (Ind. 2001); Dollar Inn vy.

Slone, 695 N.E.2d 185, 190 (Ind. Ct. App. 1998), trans.

denied. This discretion is not limitless, however. This court

will set aside an award of compensatory damages as

impermissibly excessive where it is apparent from a review

of the evidence that the amount of damages is so great it

cannot be explained upon any basis other than passion,

partiality, prejudice, corruption, or some other improper

element. To warrant reversal, the award “must appear to be

so outrageous as to impress the Court at ‘first blush’ with its

enormity.” Kimberlin v. DeLong, 637 N.E.2d 121, 129 (ind.

1994) (quoting New York Cent. R.R. Co. v. Johnson, 234 Ind.

457, 127 N.E.2d 603 (1955)), cert. denied, 516 U.S. 829, 116

S. Ct. 98 (1995). Where the damage award is so outrageous

as to indicate the jury was motivated by passion, prejudice,

partiality, or consideration of improper evidence, we will find

the award excessive. Jd. The jury’s damage award will not be

deemed the result of improper considerations if the size of

the award can be explained on any reasonable ground. Dee,

636 N.E.2d at 178. When the evidence concerning the injury

and damages is conflicting, the jury is in the best position to

assess the damages and the jury’s verdict cannot be said to be

based upon prejudice, passion, partiality, corruption, or on

the consideration of some improper element. Dollar Inn, 695

N.E.2d at 190. Our supreme court has summarized the

standard as follows:

A personal injury award is not excessive where (1) the

award was not based upon jury prejudice, partiality, or

corruption, (2) the jury has not misunderstood or

misapplied the evidence, (3) the award was not based

upon consideration of an improper element such as

BBL AL TL PR SEL BPEL BEREAN ASSES WMATA Tp Bad RMS Al GER LATE e EY EY REPS ASAE ORE ETS

23a

liability insurance, and (4) the award was within the

parameters of the evidence. Under such circumstances,

we will not substitute our judgment for that of the jury

as to reasonable compensation for a plaintiff.

Kimberlin, 637 N.E.2d at 130 (citation omitted).

B. Method of Analysis

With this standard in mind, the parties dispute the method

of evaluating the reasonableness of the verdict. Kroger

contends that a “comparability” analysis is appropriate

whereby we would compare this verdict to similar cases in

Indiana and across the country, particularly those that are

similar with respect to pain and suffering and loss of

consortium. Kroger cites both Indiana cases considering

punitive damage awards and Seventh Circuit cases to support

its position that the comparability approach should be applied

in this case. Stanton counters that Indiana does not use the

comparability method when evaluating compensatory

damages and that each verdict must be evaluated individually

based on the evidence in that particular case.

In examining the question of the proper method of analysis,

we have reviewed the role of the jury in awarding

compensatory damages. The relationship between judge and

jury with respect to compensation is clear. The Seventh

Amendment generally requires that the jury determine

compensatory damages. Supreme-Court doctrine, historical

practices prior to the adoption of the Seventh Amendment,

and functional considerations all indicate that determination

of compensation lies at the heart of the jury’s constitutional

province. See Colleen P. Murphy, Determining

Compensation: The Tension Between Legislative Power and

Jury Authority, 74 Tex. L. Rev. 345 (1995). Moreover, once

the jury makes a decision about compensation, the Seventh

Amendment constrains the ability of the judge to alter the

award. .

The role of the jury in awarding compensatory damages is

clear. However, numerous practical problems arise when a

ete E ae Pa Se Rt te ae

24a

jury is actually faced with calculating and awarding damages,

particularly in areas where the damages are not easily

quantified. Damages for pain and suffering are one such

problematic component of compensatory damages. The’

process by which pain and suffering damages are awarded in

the United States has been aptly called “procedurally simple

but analytically impenetrable.” David W. Leebron, Final

Moments: Damages for Pain and Suffering Prior to Death,

64 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 256, 265 (1989). One author described the

problem this way:

An inescapable reality of the pain and suffering

conundrum is that tort law requires the monetization of

a ‘product’ for which there is no market and, therefore,

no market price. This largely explains the lamented fact

that the jurors who must undertake the monetization are

given no ‘absolute’ standard by which to do it. There is

none to give them. Each juror must create or bring their

own standard to the courtroom.

Oscar G. Chase, Helping Jurors Determine Pain and

Suffering Awards, 23 Hofstra L. Rev. 763, 765 (1995).

Despite the difficulties these issues pose, Indiana courts

have found that awards for pain, suffering, fright,

humiliation, and mental anguish are particularly within the

province of the jury because they involve the weighing of

evidence and credibility of witnesses. See, e.g., Landis, 664

N.E.2d at 757. “Physical and mental pain are, by their very

nature, not readily susceptible to quantification, and,

therefore, the jury is given very wide latitude in determining

these kinds of damages.” Jd. (quoting Groves v. First Nat'l

Bank of Valparaiso, 518 N.E.2d 819, 831 (Ind. Ct. App.

1988), trans. denied). Damages for pain and suffering are of

necessity a jury question that may not be reduced to fixed

rules and mathematical precision. Dee, 636 N.E.2d at 178.

Where the damages cannot be calculated with mathematical

certainty, the jury has liberal discretion in assessing damages.

Id. Our inability to look into the minds of jurors and

determine how they computed an award is, to a large extent,

the reason behind the rule that a verdict will be upheld if the

Cane ee eee eee

25a

award falls within the bounds of the evidence.® Griffin v.

Acker, 659 N.E.2d 659, 664 (Ind. Ct. App. 1995), trans.

denied.

These principles, while easily stated, are not easily applied.

The appropriate degree of oversight by a court into the

decision-making process of the jury, especially in an area

such as pain and suffering, is not an easy thing to determine.

Affording a jury the discretion it is due while at the same

time making sure the verdict is within the bounds of the

evidence can sometimes be a difficult balance to strike.

Kroger urges us to apply a comparability analysis to this

verdict to assist in this process. In essence, Kroger maintains

that because the verdict in this case is coiisiderably larger

than those in purportedly similar cases, it could not be found

to be reasonably within the bounds of the evidence.

Our review of Indiana case law leads us to conclude that

Indiana has not heretofore adopted the comparability analysis

for evaluating compensatory damage awards. One Indiana

case mentioned other verdicts in evaluating the propriety of a

compensatory damage award. See Groves, 518 N.E.2d at

819. That case was a quiet title action in which an award of

$100,000 was found to be excessive on the basis of an

absence of evidence of any physical or psychological

manifestation of mental anguish. In reaching that conclusion,

the court considered a Seventh Circuit case, a Northern

District of Indiana case, and a Louisiana appellate case for

6 For example, this court has stated:

We must confess we review the damages for emotional

distress with some reluctance. We were not, after all, present

to review the demeanor of the witnesses as they recounted

~ the events which occurred here and the emotional trauma

which the events induced; we are confined to review of a

record which, no matter how accurate and detailed, can

never convey the emotions and demeanor of the witnesses.

Still, it is our duty to insure that the jury acted properly in

assessing damages, and we may not shrink from this duty.

Groves, 518 N.E.2d at 831.

26a

purposes of determining the extent of evidence required to

support mental anguish damages. As such, the Groves court

looked to other cases for guidance in evaluating a particular

type of damages, those being for mental anguish in the

absence of any physical manifestation of the anguish.

The vast majority of Indiana cases simply consider whether

the verdict was reasonable in light of the evidence presented

at trial. Indeed, some cases have specifically stated that each

case should be considered on its own evidence.’ For

example, this court has stated that “[e]ach case will stand and

fall on its own merit when an award is challenged as

excessive, and an award will not be disturbed unless it is

manifestly excessive.” Southern Indiana Gas & Elec. Co. v.

Scoles, 435 N.E.2d 287, 294 (Ind. Ct. App. 1982); see also

Levin v. Shuckman, 150 Ind.App. 254, 276 N.E.2d 208

(1971).

In addition, in State v. Thompson, 179 Ind.App. 227, 385

N.E.2d 198 (1979), the State’s contention that the damages

were excessive and that the jury was motivated by prejudice,

passion, partiality, or corruption was based in part on the

premise that it was the largest personal injury verdict entered

to date in Indiana. In rejecting the State’s argument, this

court explained the “correct way to determine whether a

verdict is excessive” was by first reconsidering the evidence

introduced at trial. Jd. at 251, 385 N.E.2d at 214. The court

included a passage from State v. Daley, 153 Ind.App. 330,

287 N.E.2d 552, 556 (1972) (quoting Kavanagh v. Butorac,

140 Ind.App. 139, 221 N.E.2d 824 (1966)), which stated:

For a formula then, our common law sets only the

general guidelines for compensating the victim, each in

its own way to be considered by the trier of facts and

7 This statement also holds true in at least one jurisdiction where

a comparability analysis has been used. See Wheat v. United

States, 860 F.2d 1256, 1259-60 (5th Cir. 1988) (stating that

“damage awards in analogous cases provide an objective frame of

reference, but they do not control our assessment of individual

circumstances”).

27a

| weighed to determine what the total compensation will ©

| be. Because of the personal nature of each case and

) since the decision is unique to the particular set of facts

our courts have said the trier of facts is to be given™

‘sound discretion,’ and ‘liberal discretion’ where

damages cannot be defined and calculated with

mathematical certainty or by any exact standard.

Id. at 251, 385 N.E.2d at 214.

Furthermore, in Kavanagh, we stated:

By nature, injuries personal to the individual are

incapable of a more definite rule for measurement of

damages. Each action is unique and it must be so

treated and deiermined on the facts peculiar to that

matter. Because our law seeks to individualize the

solution to the problem of properly compensating the

victim of torts, no overall expedient applies in every

case.

Kavanagh, 140 Ind.App. at 145, 221 N.E.2d at 828. We

noted that the appellant had documented numerous cases to

show that the judgment in question far exceeded what had

been allowed in Indiana and elsewhere for what it contended

were comparable injuries. Yet, we concluded that “[w]e are

not able to say the loss of an eye in one case is worth the

same or just about the same in another case. If such a system

is to be desired (and we express no sentiment for such idea) it

must come from legislation. Our common law requires each

case to rest finally on its own merits.” Jd. In reaching that

conclusion, we called attention to language of the Supreme

Court of Louisiana:

[C}ases relied upon may be similar in that each of them

involves a similar injury such as a broken arm, the loss

of an eye or eyes, or the loss of some member of the

body. Thereafter, however, the similarity ceases for

each case is different, and the adequacy or inadequacy

of the award should be determined by the facts and

circumstances peculiar to the case under consideration.

28a

The primary purpose of the judge or the jury in fixing

the award in a personal injury case is to adequately

compensate the injured person for his injury under the

facts shown to exist in his case.

Id. at 146, 221 N.E.2d at 828 (quoting Gaspard v. LeMaire,

245 La. 239, 158 So.2d 149, 158 (1963)). After commenting

that the determination of the amount was not our decision,

we cited long-standing Indiana Supreme Court precedent

stating, ‘“‘[t]hat the jury assessed higher damages than we

would have done, is no reason why we should set aside the

verdict.’” Jd. at 146, 221 N.E.2d at 829 (quoting Chenowith

v. Hicks, 5 Ind. 224, 226 (1854)).

Our supreme court recently confirmed the principle that the

jury has broad discretion in determining damage awards.

Sears Roebuck, 2001 WL 51680, at *7. The court noted that

damages are particularly a jury determination and that

appellate courts will not substitute their idea of a proper

damage award for that of the jury. Jd. The court reiterated:

Our inability to actually look into the minds of the

jurors is, to a large extent, the reason behind the rule

that we will not reverse if the award falls within the

bounds of the evidence. We cannot invade the province

of the jury to decide the facts and cannot reverse unless

_ the verdict is clearly erroneous.

Id. (quoting Annee v. State, 256 Ind. 686, 271 N.E.2d 711,

713 (1971)). ;

It is clear that Indiana courts have not previously adopted a

comparability analysis for evaluating compensatory damage

claims. More importantly, they have historically expressed

disfavor in evaluating cases other than on their own merits.

That being said, however, the obvious concern raised on the

face of this verdict is the great disparity between it and other

compensatory damage awards in Indiana cases.

We recognize that variability among awards is a problem

primarily because it undermines the legal system’s claim that

like cases will be treated alike; the promise of equal justice

29a

under law is an important justification for our legal system.

Criticisms of variability include the contention that it makes

it harder to predict verdicts and, in turn, to settle cases,

thereby adding unnecessary transaction costs to the tort

system and delaying payment to plaintiffs. See David Baldus

et al., Improving Judicial Oversight of Jury Damages

Assessments: A Proposal for the Comparative

Additur/Remittitur Review of Awards for Nonpecuniary

Harms and Punitive Damages, 80 Iowa L. Rev. 1109 (1995);

Judyth W. Pendell, Enhancing Juror Effectiveness: An

Insurer’s Perspective, 52 Law & Contemp. Probs. 311

(1989). Furthermore, we acknowledge that inadequate notice

of the limits of potential liability may impair planning for

risk management, resulting in the overinvestment in liability

avoidance, suppression of innovation, and higher insurance

costs.

A certain level of inconsistency, however, is inherent in the

jury system and is unlikely to be eliminated because the

discretion exercised by juries supports basic democratic

values recognized in the Seventh Amendment Hight to a jury

trial and similar provisions in most state constitutions. See

Baldus, 80 Iowa L. Rev. at 1118. As that article points out,

“moral diversity has been preferred to uniform outcomes

imposed by rulemaking elites” and “some inconsistent

awards may result not from the role of the jury, but rather

may simply reflect superior lawyering purchased in a free

market, or the ‘luck of the draw’ that is inherent in all social

institutions.” Jd.

As one author observed, “there is . . . no standard man, no

reasonable man afoot in the law of damages.” Kalven, The

Jury, the Law, and the Personal Injury Damage Award, 19

Ohio St. L.J. 158, 160 (1958). It may be extremely difficult

to determine an adequate and appropriate amount of money

to compensate an injured person for feelings of pain and

suffering, or for lost biological functioning, professional

standing, or business opportunity. Identical injuries may have

radically different effects on different plaintiffs. Because we

lack the ability to attach price tags to given functions and

30a

talents, the translation of social wrongs into dollars and cents

is problematic at best.

If a comparability analysis is applied to reduce awards

exceeding the range of purportedly similar cases, the effects

are far-reaching. Because a comparability analysis effectively

places a “cap” on the jury’s award regardless of the evidence,

it can be considered to be second-guessing jury decisions in a

manner not permitted by the Seventh Amendment. -Without

express statutory authority, no decisionmaker should have the

power to alter a jury’s award without regard for the evidence.

If a jury’s award can be subject to being set aside for

exceeding an applicable range, the charge of the jury to fully

compensate the plaintiff would no longer be paramount. The

jury’s decision on the amount of compensation would be

replaced with a figure within the “comparable range.”

Although the jury would still find facts and calculate an

amount that would compensate the plaintiff, it is

disingenuous to claim that restricting the award after the fact

by comparing it to other cases would not change the

functioning of the jury by effectively rendering it less of a

final decisionmaker and more of an advisory jury. The

comparability analysis renders illusory the jury’s discretion

to compensate a victim.

This kind of encroachment on the traditional exercise of

jury discretion is of particular concern when an appellate

court, which has not heard the evidence in the case, conducts

a de novo review that gives little or no deference to the ruling

of the trial court or the verdict of the jury. Given the

uncertainty that accompanies the assessment of

compensatory damages not fixed by legal rule, an outright

adjustment of the jury’s award by the judge would simply be

a substitution of the judge’s opinion for that of the jury. The

right to jury determinatior of compensatory damages would

become a hollow guarantee. This concern is perhaps most

salient in the context of judicial review of jury awards for

noneconomic damages because a jury, applying a subjective

standard of measurement, conceivably has a better sense than

a judge in determining an appropriate amount of

| PIES at

}

3la

compensation. A judge’s review of a jury award would

diminish the significance of the facts of the case that

underlay that award.

Furthermore, because all cases are unique, the search for

comparable or similar cases is inherently flawed. The nature

and extent of pain and suffering are seldom, if ever, alike in

any two cases. These differences in the details of the harms

and the circumstances of plaintiffs inevitably make a

comparison of the verdicts difficult if not impossible. The

inherently subjective basis of awards for pain and suffering

confounds the measurement and quantification required for

an accurate comparison. There simply are no standards by

which to measure the effects of injuries or to convert them

into dollar amounts. Similarly, the data currently available to

many courts is inadequate to support a viable system of

comparative review. Another problem is that the reported

decisions used as comparison cases are likely

unrepresentative of all damages awards approved by courts

or agreed to by parties in comparable cases. The reported

facts in these cases bearing on the level of nonpecuniary

harm are often sparse or nonexistent. The comparison of

cases can be easily manipulated, particularly when the factual

bases for the awards in those cases are frequently not

reported in great detail. Each case is normally evaluated in

terms of only a limited number of characteristics. Because of

8 This case perfectly illustrates our concern with comparing

damage awards to other cases. If this case were written in a manner

similar to other reported personal injury cases, it would likely

merely contain a summary of Stanton’s injuries, probably

consisting of something to the effect that he suffered severe

injuries including a crushed pelvis, underwent multiple surgeries,

and had several complications. The opinion would indicate that he

is permanently disabled and will continue to have pain and

complications from his condition. However, without a more

thorough description of the injuries, the complications, the effects

of the medical problems on his life, and the profound devastation

the accident has caused him and his family, which we undertake to

provide later, it would be impossible for any other case to be

compared accurately to this one.

32a

the uncertainty and variability associated with pain,

suffering, and loss of enjoyment of life, comparing cases on

that basis may have even less validity than comparing for

other types of damages.

We recognize that there is a public policy concern with

respect to seemingly excessive jury verdicts® and believe that

verdicts not supported by the evidence must be set aside or

reduced as violative of the law. In so doing, some type of

comparative analysis may, under certain circumstances, be

necessary to evaluate particular types of damages or to

determine whether the size of a particular verdict indicates

jury passion or prejudice. Although it may be tempting to

engage in such a comparative analysis to aid us in the

difficult task of evaluating such a large award as is at issue in

this case, to do so would be a significant departure from

Indiana’s historical regard of the uniqueness of every tort

claim and the belief that compensatory damage assessments

should be individualized and within the discretion of the

factfinder. After reviewing all of the testimony and evidence

presented to the jury, it is clear to us that such a departure is

not necessary here.

C. Evidence in this Case

The record is replete with evidence that Stanton was an

active person before the accident, heavily involved in his

community and outdoor sports. He was at various times a

dog catcher and part-time police officer. He coached Little

League and was very active in the local Men’s Club. He

coached for one of his daughters’ softball teams every year,

9 Interestingly, a recently released U.S. Department of Justice

survey “basically nullifies the long-espoused notion that lay people

layer on unnecessary damages in civil litigation cases.” Denise G.

Callahan, Judges Just As Generous As Juries, Indiana Lawyer, Jan.

17-30, 2001, at 1. The survey studied 45 of the country’s largest

counties, including Marion County, Indiana, and concluded that

judges favored plaintiffs more often than juries in tort cases and

that the judges awarded slightly higher damages than juries

overall. /d. at 27.

in oa Se

a apa se ae ge pw: es camer pera ee a

‘mae "

Peis a hl seein ed ee ee oe eee) *

33a

including traveling teams and All Stars. He took care of the

ball diamonds for the community.

Stanton remembers being hit by the tractor:

Well, on the original hit, I felt my pelvis break. I say

‘my pelvis’; I really don’t know what bones it was. And

then it was like a pause and it started back again. And |

could feel it crunching, and then there was another

pause, and it started back again. I could feel my ribs

Start breaking. . . . I felt it hit me, and then I felt the

bones start breaking.

Record p. 3616. An eyewitness described it this way:

When I saw him go up underneath the trailer, I just

knew he was cut half in two. I didn’t think he’d ever

live over this ordeal. And then when [Ritter] pushed

him up underneath there, [Ritter] had to see because he

snatched him right back out from underneath it.

***e *& &

[Ritter] put it in forward gear and jerked him back out

from underneath the trailer.

Record p. 2715.

The initial assessment of Stanton in the emergency room

revealed that he suffered an “open book” pelvic fracture with

vertical shearing, hemorrhagic shock, fractured ribs,

hemopneumothorax (blood in his chest), internal bleeding

from the pelvic fracture, and a lung contusion. He was later

diagnosed with a large scrotal hematoma, swelling of the

testicles, swelling of the penis with infection, and necrosis

secondary to demodialysis. He developed a foot drop and a

fungal infection in the area of the injury. He developed

effusion (fluid on the lungs), which caused respiratory

distress syndrome and required treatment with a ventilator.

He developed several other complications.

Anna, one of the Stantons’ daughters, testified that Alfie

cried the whole way to Indianapolis from Illinois when they

q

;

34a

found out about the accident. She described her mother as

being in shock and devastated, “rushing back and forth,

saying we had to go get daddy.” Record p. 3087. Alfie

testified that on the day of the accident, “They told us that

there was no hope for him, and it would be amazing if he

made it through the night.” Record p. 3452. Another one of

the Stantons’ daughters, Lynn, remembered the doctors’

prognosis: .

They—the doctors flat said he won’t make it most

likely through the night. He said it will be minute by

minute. You need to stay here throughout the night,

because at any time he will go. We don’t expect his

chances—he doesn’t really have any chances, is what

they pretty much said.

Record p. 3108. Lynn stated that when she first saw her

father:

[I]t didn’t look like him. He was about three times as

big as he normally was. And the doctors told us, you

won’t recognize him, and we thought, yeah, we’ll

recognize him. It’s your dad, you know. But he was

really swollen. They said that was from all the blood.

Record p. 3108. Their other daughter, Christy, testified that

“the just looked horrible. I just, you know, started crying. And

then my mom, you know, she was freaking out. She was, you

know, patting his head, Jerry, I love you, you know, you’re

going to be okay, you know.” Record p. 3027.

It was approximately a month before he was stable. The

record contains evidence that Stanton had to be resuscitated

numerous times. In fact, the hospital staff kept a “crash cart”

right outside his hospital room for several days. Lynn

remembered one life-threatening event:

One of his surgeries—actually he had had a 14-hour

surgery, and they were taking him up in the elevator,

and they had actually got him stuck in the elevator and

he had collapsed.

35a

And I was watching the nurse literally get on top of

my dad in the elevator, because the doors were pried

open, and he was half stuck in and half stuck out, and

was on top of him trying to revive him. He had actually

died in the elevator.

Record p. 3110.

Stanton was kept in an induced coma for considerable

period of time. Alfie testified that when he woke up, “he

couldn’t talk. That was painful, because he wanted to

communicate with us, but he couldn’t because he had the

trach in or the tube in his throat. And you could tell by just

looking at him that he was so scared.” Record p. 3501.

Dr. Thomas Ambrose, one of the orthopedic surgeons who

treated Stanton, summarized Stanton’s pelvic injuries as

follows:

Mr. Stanton sustained a crushing injury to the pelvis.

This is a compression of the pelvic bone itself with

multiple fractures through both iliac wings. The iliac

wings are the bone that support the hip joint. In fact, the

sockets of the hip joint were on both sides fragmented

into multiple pieces.

Record p. 2962. He further described the injury:

In these types of fracture patterns and this severity of

fracture, the chances of mortality or death from this

type of injury is about 50 percent. The fact that he

survived was probably—he was on the window of

being crushed to death, and the fracture patterns were

some of the most severe that I have seen in ten years of

practice.

Record p. 2965. In addition to the fractures, Stanton suffered

massive soft tissue injuries, which Dr. Ambrose described as

“massive crushing of both the muscles around the bone, as

well as avulsion or pulling away of the skin from the

underlying deep fascia or covering of the muscles. This was,

indeed, a significant factor in his overall injury index.”

36a

Record p. 2966. Stanton also sustained traumatic injury to the

nerves in the pelvic region and blood vessels in that area.

Initially, 2 ten-hour surgery was performed. During that

surgery, the doctors were successful in “putting the pieces

back together” of portions of the left pelvic bones in a near

anatomic position using plates and screws. Record p. 2969.

Before they were able to conduct another surgery to repair

the right side, however, Stanton developed an infection.

Because of the tremendous amount of muscle damage at the

time of the injury, “countless” surgeries were subsequently

necessary not only to clear infection but also to remove dead

muscle, dead skin, and dead subcutaneous fat, as well as dead

bone fragments that were involved in the infection. Record

pp. 2971, 2979. The massive infection Stanton suffered was

life-threatening and caused systemic toxic shock, which

resulted in complications with various organs and caused

renal failure.

Dr. Ambrose explained that the injury to the hip socket is

“one of the most severe injuries that a human can sustain.”

Record p. 2983. He explained that the possibility of

developing posttraumatic arthritis was substantial with a

reconstruction of the hip joint, but virtually all patients who

suffer displacement of the socket and have no surgery will

suffer from the arthritis. He testified that although one of the

goals of surgery is to repair the bone so the patient would

have future use of it, another is to reduce the risks of arthritis.

He explained that because of the massive infection, Stanton’s

prognosis with respect to future functional capability was not

promising:

As a result, the chances of going on to resume virtually

normal function were diminished practically to zero.

The patient lost a tremendous amount of muscle around

the hip joint, so he wouldn’t have a normal gait pattern.

He also lost a fair amount of bone... .

*** % &

37a

He was not a candidate for a hip replacement, in my

opinion, because of the involvement of the bone around

the hip socket with infection.

We already discussed the fact that you can never be

completely sure of clearing a bone infection; and that

another surgical insult to that bone may reactivate

infection.

Record p. 2985. Explaining his ability to testify about

Stanton without referring to his notes, Dr. Ambrose stated:

Everyone—every surgeon in their career has several

patients that they—that are standouts, if you will, that

you remember for your entire career and into

retirement.

And there are about half a dozen, all of them having

severe crushing-type injuries to the pelvis, that are

readily recalled. And Mr. Stanton is one of those.

Again, the magnitude of the injury was so severe, and

his complications were so severe, and we cared for him

on a very intensive basis over a period of several

months. You’re absolutely right; I can recall this patient

as if several of these episodes were just a few weeks

ago.

Record p. 3002.

As a result of the infection and the countless surgeries to

remove dead tissue and bone, Stanton developed a very large

open wound near one of his hips. The wound was open to the

bone and required dressing changes several times a day to

remove the drainage caused by the infection. Several

witnesses testified that Alfie changed Stanton’s dressings for

the wound. Alfie testified that it hurt her to cause her

husband pain when she changed his dressings. She stated that

she generally changed the dressings once a day, but “iJf it

was real mucky, smelly, I might have to do it twice a day or

three times a day.” Record p. 3460.

a DOTS Ra Bi A tsk are ad

38a

Several people testified that the dressing changing was a

tedious and painful process, complicated by the foul odor and

debris coming from the wound. Anna stated, “they would use

three packages of the coverall and a Q-tip, and they would

just have to fill the hole in. And when you pulled it out, it

would be bloody and it was infected, so it was a yellow. And

the smell was just hard to describe.” Record p. 3091. Christy

described it as “nasty. There was just, you know, stuff

coming out of it, a foul odor, and, I mean, [Alfie] wouldn’t

think twice but to take care of him.” Record p. 3038.

One of Stanton’s nurses was an expert in wound care at the

Rehabilitation Hospital. She stated that it was “for me the

worst wound I had ever seen.” Record p. 3228. She described

how painful the dressing changes were for Stanton because

he could feel them and explained that they dressed the

smaller pressure sores before treating the large wound:

As you came back up his body and to the left side.

We turned him over on the right side—now, the whole

dressing change was very painful, and we gave him

medicine through his IV at that time. Yes, I believe it

was through his IV, because any changes in positioning

were very uncomfortable.

We turned him to his right side to get access to the

left, and with that you also noticed that there is multiple

skin areas and grafts along his flank in front.

As we pulled the dressing off, there was another nurse

in there with me, and I don’t—it was very foul

smelling. And you tri.d to keep your dignity when

you’re with a patient and not get sick or anything like

that, but I know that just the smell of the drainage was

pretty potent.

And we pulled the dressing off, and we were gowned

and gloved, and just kept pulling and pulling and

pulling dressing out. And you just-—it had pieces of

flesh on it, as well as red and yellow drainage coming

out of this wound.

39a

And part of the assessment, when you bring a patient

in, is to measure their wound. And his was so deep, I

could almost put my fist right into the area of the

wound and reach around. And when I did, I did touch

bone. And that was something that was not a very good

experience for me or him, I’m sure. . . .

** kK &

.. . The pictures don’t depict the depth of the wound,

nor the drainage or odor that did occur with the wound

either.

Record pp. 3226-27. She further testified that the antibiotics

he was taking caused Stanton to have diarrhea several times a

day, which aggravated their attempts to keep the wound clean

because he could not use a bedpan.

In addition to the injuries Stanton suffered to his pelvic

region, he also lost vision in one of hi’ eyes as a result of the

trauma. With this condition, the eye typically becomes

unsightly and painful as it begins to deteriorate, so Stanton

may need surgery to remove the eye in the future. Because

only one eye remains, the risk of total blindness is higher for

him if something happens to his “good” eye.

The Stantons’ daughters, as well as the doctors, testified

that Alfie rarely left Stanton’s side during his entire seven-

month hospital stay. She slept on an air mattress in the

intensive care unit and later Slept in a chair. She left only to

bring food from the cafeteria and to shower. Lynn

remembered her mother saying, “[A]s long as he’s here, I’m

here.” Record p. 3110. Their daughters stayed for extended

periods too, particularly Christy, who stayed for

approximately two months at the hospital away from her

family. Anna, whose son was eight years old at the time of

trial, stated that she took a thirty-day leave of absence from

her job immediately following the accident and that later she

worked four ten-hour days per week in Illinois so she could

spend three days in Indianapolis to assist her parents while

Stanton remained in the hospital.

40a

At one point during his recovery, Stanton had breathing

and feeding tubes. He was receiving daily dialysis because

his kidneys had failed. When medical personnel had to

reinsert the breathing tube because he needed surgery, Lynn

stated, “he didn’t want it. He fought it, you know. He would

squeeze our hand and shake his head no. And he knew that,

you know, they were going to do it, but he didn’t want it.”

Record p. 3113.

It took four to six weeks of physical therapy for Stanton to

be able to go from a lying position to a sitting position

because he had a difficult time “tolerating” it. Record p.

3321.

Alfie testified that Stanton was a modest person and that

she bathed him so the nurses would not have to. She stated

that the helplessness of his condition bothered him

“fb]ecause he was a proud man. He wasn’t letting, you know,

somebody else take care of him. He always was the one who

took care of everybody else, and he wasn’t able to do that.”

Record p. 3453.

Before leaving the intensive care unit of the hospital, |

Stanton vowed he would return one year later and walk onto

the ward. Anna described the one-year anniversary this way:

There was a set of double doors at the front of the

entrance, and he wheeled up to the doors. And he was

probably eight steps from the nurse’s desk, and he

walked in. And they all gathered around him, and they

all clapped because they didn’t believe that he would

actually walk back there.

Record p. 3093. Although he was able to walk short

distances with a walker at one point, it became too painful for

him to do so after another bone infection and a series of

surgeries in 1997. At that time, the top portion of the femur

(the ball) and other bone from his hip was removed. As a

result, one of his legs is several inches shorter than the other

one. One doctor described walking after that surgery as

4la

having two rough bones rub against each other because of the

absence of ligament to cushion the bones.

In addition to the surgeries Stanton underwent on his hips,

he also had surgery for a penile implant. The injuries he

sustained in the crash prevented him from functioning

normally, and the doctors believed an implant would enable

him to engage in sexual relations again with Alfie. Despite

his increased risk of infection due to the complications he

suffered from his other surgeries, Stanton elected to proceed

with the implant. In all likelihood, Stanton will need to

undergo additional surgery to replace the implant several

years from now. Alfie testified that she and Stanton had a

very sexual relationship before the accident. She testified that

their physical relationship was important to both of them.

She stated that unfortunately, although Stanton had a penile ~

implant inserted, they have been unable to successfully have

intercourse because they have not been able to find a position

that is comfortable for Stanton.

Stanton rarely leaves his home. The evidence was clear that

he suffers tremendous pain if he sits more than two hours at a

time or if he overexerts himself. He explained his neck pain

as follows:

That’s where I had one of those big bed sores, and all

the meat was gone down to the bone just about. And

what I would say it is, is the muscles are detached there,

and they will kink up and just cause like a charley horse

in the side of my neck.

Record p. 3670. If there is dampness in the air, he is in

constant pain. In addition, he is not able to maneuver his

large wheelchair into many locations, including several

rooms of his house, his neighbors’ houses, and even the

bedroom of the hotel he stayed at during the trial. He is

sometimes required to use freight elevators when he is out in

public places.

The vocational rehabilitation counselor testified that after

her evaluation and testing of Stanton, she concluded he is not

With a nS ek tao

42a

suitable for employment because of the “totality of the

situation . . . It’s being in a wheelchair, no sight of the right

eye, not being able to stand, not being able to sit for long

periods of time, limitations that exceed any requirements of

elemental jobs.” Record p. 3269.

Stanton has a life expectancy of 25.4 years. Record p.

3677. When asked what his expectations are and what he

wanted to do in the future, Stanton responded: “I’d like to be

able to get my life back together where I got my own

choices, where I could, you know, make my life count, have

an impact on my family, the community.” Record p. 3633. In

responding to the question of what the worst thing was about

his ordeal, Stanton stated, “Watching what it’s done to my

wife.” Record p. 3633.

One of Stanton’s friends summarized his future this way:

I think, and I'll say this since he isn’t here, his toughest

days are coming. He’s got little grandchildren that’s

going to grow up, and it’s going to be very hard for him

not to be able to do the things that he has done with his

children. I can just—I think he’s going to have a very

difficult time on that.

Record p. 3306. Christy testified that her father lives day to

day because of the pain and that he “doesn’t know—you

can’t make plans with him because he doesn’t know if he’s

going to be able to get up that day. There is days where he’s

just hurting realy bad, and he can’t get up at all.” Record p.

3041.

The devastating infection Stanton suffered was

osteomyelitis, a bone infection, which is nearly impossible to

treat completely and continues to be harbored in the bone for

years, if not the remainder of the patient’s life. There always

remains a risk that the infection could be rekindled at some

point in the future, particularly with surgery.

Alfie stated that in spite of everything he has been through,

her husband is still pleasant to be around. She stated, “I mean

my husband hasn’t changed in that, because like I said, he’s

43a

got his family. He’s got me, you know. He’s got friends, you

know. He doesn’t—he’s really still the same person except

for he’s in the chair and he’s blind, you know.” Record p.

3492. However, one of the Stantons’ neighbors described

how, in his view, Stanton has changed as a result of the

accident:

Well, he feels that he has lost the ability to take care

and to protect his family, and that was always a very

big issue with Jerry. And he’s very limited in what he

can do. And I think that bothers him because he was an

independent person and did things for himself.

And an active person. I know he misses his hunting

and his fishing. I mean, what do you want to say? He’s

changed.

Record pp. 3012-13.

Before the accident Alfie and Stanton purchased a motor

home and planned to travel upon Stanton’s retirement, which

they had anticipated in January 1999. At the time of trial, the

motor home was parked in the backyard at one of their

daughters’ houses. Annie testified that her son’s father is not

involved in his life and that Stanton was disappointed that he

could no longer do the things that a father would for the

child, including helping with Cub Scouts, fishing, and

playing ball.

During his overall stay in the hospital, he received

approximately 150 units of blood, which represents his total

blood volume many-times over. He underwent more than

fifty surgeries and multiple episodes of resuscitation. He

spent almost 300 days in hospitals.

In addition to the detailed, emotional testimony, Stanton

offered pictures and videotapes into evidence. The pictures

demonstrated several things, including Alfie helping him up,

the rooms of their house, and Stanton’s inability get into

several primary rooms in their house. The pictures also

documented the progress of his open wound and depicted it

and the other scars in graphic detail.

44a

It is clear from the amount of the verdict that the extensive

testimony and evidence had a profound effect on the jury.

We conclude that it adequately supports the amount of

damages awarded.'° In so doing, we reject Kroger’s claims

that comments by Stanton’s attorney during closing

arguments “attempted to engender ill-will and a desire in the

jury to punish Kroger” despite the fact that Stanton had

dismissed his punitive damages claim. Appellant’s Brief p.

27. Among the statements alleged to have been intended to

inflame passion against Kroger were comments relating to

Kroger’s being the reason the case was at trial, to the jury’s

being the only thing that could stop Kroger from running

over Stanton a second time, to Kroger’s wanting to leave

Stanton on his own with no remedy, and to Stanton’s

forgiveness toward Ritter for his “terrible mistake.” Record

p. 3984. Kroger claims there “is no question that the closing

argument was a direct invitation to the jury to ignore the law

and punish Kroger or to make an award based largely on

sympathy.” Appellant’s Brief p. 28.

10 With respect to Kroger’s challenge to the evidence presented for

future medical expenses, the jury completed a summary form, so

there is no way to know how much of the total award, if any, the

jury allocated for future medical expenses. However, we conclude

that the evidence is sufficient to support a significant award for

future expenses based on the testimony regarding the treatment he

will likely face in the future for his hip, his penile implant, his eye,

and further complications caused by his bone infection. On appeal,

any uncertainty as to the exact amount of damages is resolved

against the wrongdoer. City of Fort Wayne v. Capehart-

Farnsworth Corp., 127 Ind.App. 412, 424, 142 N.E.2d 442, 448

(1957) (citations omitted), recites the rule:

It was the tortious act of appellant which created this

situation and all doubts and uncertainties as to the proof of

the exact measure of damages must be resolved against it.

‘... [A]ny other rule would enable the wrongdoer to profit

by his wrongdoing at the expense of his victim . . . The most

elementary conceptions of justice and public policy require

that the wrongdoer shall bear the risk of the uncertainty

which his own wrong has created. .. .’

45a

The first problem with this argument is Kroger’s failure to

object to any of the statements during trial. Indiana law is

clear that to preserve statements of counsel for appellate

review, the opposing party must promptly interpose and state

its objection to the language or argument and request the

court io so instruct the jury as to counteract any harmful

effect of such language or argument, and if granted and such

instructions were not sufficient to cure the error, follow such

action by motion to have the submission set aside. Dayton

Walther Corp. v. Caldwell, 273 Ind. 191, 402 N.E.2d 1252

(1980) (finding the issue waived and quoting Gamble v.

Lewis, 227 Ind. 455, 85 N.E.2d 629, 635 (1949) as stating,

“[w]e cannot permit litigants to gamble on the possibility of a

favorable verdict, and, after an adverse verdict has been

returned, set it aside on appeal when the losing parties failed

to move that the submission be set aside when the alieged

error occurred.”). If the statements were as objectionable as

Kroger now claims, then certainly it had an obligation to

object and request an admonishment during trial.

The second problem with Kroger’s claim is that there is no

way to determine whether these statements alone formed the

basis of the verdict against Kroger. This court will reverse a

judgment due to improper argument of counsel only where it

appears from the entire record that the remarks from counsel

were “in all probability, the basis for securing an incorrect

verdict.” Chaiken v. Eldon Emmor & Co., 597 N.E.2d 337,

345 (Ind. Ct. App. 1992), trans. denied. The record contains

extensive evidence, including graphic photographs, of

Stanton’s massive, permanent injuries that have prevented

any sort of normal life for him and his family and cause him

constant pain. In addition, Kroger defended itself at trial on

the basis that Stanton was totally at fault for the accident. In

fact, Kroger’s expert insisted that Ritter was not at all

responsible for the accident and even agreed with Stanton’s

counsel’s characterization of Ritter as being “innocent as a

newborn babe that wasn’t even on the scene.” Record p.

3870. In light of the testimony of Kroger’s own supervisor,

whose investigation of the accident resulted in the conclusion

that Ritter was at fault for the accident and that Stanton was

46a

artially at fault, Kroger’s continued insistence that Ritter

fig At TAUIL, KroRer & veinreident.om hay |

TL i iit it (We ne eH call (Wve Mili \

pani i ey i Ie Hin Th at We iN i 8 i Hanada 1H

ety ali ey i} Hi i wih { | 4 ry Vere eihe

an MT MLL i Vi F Wit hat hit

|

LA

cH | HL i ith wity We \\| A wily wtih

alii My TUL IN i TRL Ab

wan ale at (null ty Me weet Hh Hie jie hae dete

ivmer elaine aid aeled wutely A Hdtdall i HH ath i itt

Femail fer He ev idenee, ull nat ve willed Mets Fv

sper aid lay leelimeny la same le te Gene ya iia

Sraen bere a HHMTanle MneHi al reepanehility fae the

accident. The reduction in the verdict ta reflect Sianten’s

comparative fault indicates to us that the jury exercised is

discretion to evaluate and weigh the evidence to reach a

conclusion regarding damages. This process is precisely the

function that is within the heart of the jury’s constitutional

province.

The jury's damage award will not be deemed the result of

improper considerations if the size of the award can be

explained on any reasonable ground. Dee, 646 N.B.2d at 178

The record is replete with evidence of devastating Muumes,

yerManent daabiilies, au pain and avflering, and

yah Pana We age ne iH A ly ihe IMF aglerd

Hi aP PYBWHIPR P Muh Hy i IPTRINTR, Ip el

ih. i Ly ui ne MH Mm

i MM

ieee Wi ))) i H)/)) aii N. pe

hi nay My i) i) F HW I i) Wy" hy ith

UL pul) Mh yi) hy 14}

i) Ail Hy HH Hh | | ih ib | } Mh nae i

YARHBIE, 3/8 EAHHAT ROHETAR THA HH 1 HAAN DIY RH He

by iAetice

D. Constitional Implications

Krower takes a brief atternpt to argue that the size of the

award violates dwe process and equal protection under the

United States Constitution and dwe course of law under the

Indiana Constitution. Kroger contends that an unfettered right

47a

to a jury trial in civil cases does not equate to the unfettered

FAGY AS AGATA RAY, RIN 9 Sa

an emi tives WH HE BAUR AP LAW & GT

eM UMUNTANY ADC ty WT VLIHCHTT GL Ta Wot ite Nie ait

Wie widaly mee JM mm men mete

CT Ce Hninpn AR UR Codriuteel on ih We 4

TRLLLLLL. Teta PTC tte Athi naan HN i! A

Mb Hal verted iM CHOCER Ty Hhvecqnmeed eat peaeeetialietuiet

Wald We fermiied” and thal wd Hie Flan i tel an

Celnliig Fane law whieh ehawed the Wehen beipat alle

derdiet in the ranwe Al RA 78 Millian.” Appellant's ile! pp

44, 44. Kroger ciles ne authority MecHeniig ie HALiK® lemue

WHH respect 1a an award af damages and provides na futher

a BHInEM developing the Comention Kroger’s argument first

presupposes that the verdict is excessive and beyond the

scope of the evidence. We have already concluded that the

verdict is within the parameters of the evidence Second,

Kroger’s argument that it had no notice a verdict this high

was possible assumes that the comparability analysis should

be applied in this case to compare it to other verdicts in cases

with simular injunes. We have already declined to apply a

POHPATAPlity analysis to this case. Even if we had used such

a) aalyats, however, Kroger was not deprived af native

Spy Repanae Hie Verdio€ was higher, even sHhatanially

Niateh, Wah AISA WKE I Repanae even Pane Wihinately

Wil YH) NB SLVR PARR RRIET Ty Whe WEI Sa A

efiy} IN \ Nay Wa TB Ay ATT Pie Aiea Sins

WH I}

Ye i LEI a H

PH THE DON I PL biti 1a i i I

bib Hi Wi Hinkle fy LPL BH) |! a

yy } bh by thd] Wp Ha ahs ih Mi ii wit iH] Mi Sf Ope i} ip

evidetbe HHA HOH HORT MAA Hy Hae, BAHAY Hy, prejAiee,

COrTlption, OF SOHHE btn iHiptopet BLbHEHY Ad Siiedy, tober

Had artiple tice thal i could We table fy ditty dathapes

found not to be excessive for its wrongdoing

Kroget also makes the broad allegation that an equal

protection violation occurred because the juty treated it

differently than it would have treated an individual. This

48a

ent fails. First, os verdict - entered le both

WBA FALLS: We ev ne rn innsth

ni i iw Ht He i ie

a \ i Ma | 1h

\WW i ‘ Ne

i in Ny ie Wt

it i ta ii iy

i i 4 ih fi I W tt i) Ni

ii ih wlan fall i A

ma con if (nae ta a if Mt i

al ewite Kanal wai " ne

lob FHA Aart 4 lvateeted a fe

Pata ate el oe nthe

evidence, we see ne merit (a Kroger's

Conclusion

z

ae

ney " ihe exclusivity pravisiag af

we ae wager i jury vershet iq eh tw

ay i cig HA BS i) ih it

Wi) RAY Ha A ANAT in aay

| i da

si

WALLEY J and HALEY, J.) Bonu

AVHHA

ees

49a

MARS We

HEN

|

HIATH AE

vO MARIAN

VAI

Nh Ht i

|

Cay

Cause Na. 49D 1 00500CT 0059

JERRY STANTON AND RUTH STANTON,

Plaintiffs,

Vv.

ika C. RITTER AND THE KROGER COMPANY, 4 CORP.,

Defendants

ANH

my ry iI Ine i Wit I BE ) i |

"| Wh ili ih i I wl 1

i Ae WAIN AMHOAIGA TWA ATHY CST

wit CHUM HAMAD fu fied a4 He HAH Iee Fig tH)

ett Hater Here, AHA tHe i8sllee HAYNE ‘’ Muily tHe

tHe jlity Havine dilly tendered 4 weHeral vardiel typ

plaintiffs in the sui of Fifty-five tillion dollar

($55,000,000.00).

IT IS THEREFORE ORDERED ADIUDGED AND

DECREED that the plaintiffs, Jetty Stanton and Ruth

50a

Stanton, shall recover from the defendants, The Kroger

Company, a Corporation and Ira C. Ritter, the sum of Fifty-

five million dollars ($55,000,000.00), together with interest

thereon at the rate of 8(%) percent per annum from

September 16, 1999 until this judgment is satisfied. Costs vs.

Defendants.

ALL OF WHICH IS ORDERED ADJUDGED AND

DECREED THIS 20th DAY OF SEPTEMBER, 1999.

/s/

Richard H. Huston, Judge |

Superior Court Room No. 10,

Civil Division

Dated: Sep. 20, 1999

Sla

APPENDIX C

[Filed December 17, 1999]

IN THE

MARION SUPERIOR COURT

CIVIL DIVISION, ROOM NO. 10

No. 49D10-9506-CT-0959

JERRY STANTON AND RUTH A. STANTON,

Plaintiffs,

VS.

IRA C. RITTER AND THE KROGER CO., A CORPORATION,

Defendants.

ORDER ON DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO

CORRECT ERRORS

Defendants, by counsel, having filed with this court a

Motion to Correct Errors, and the court having heard the

argument of counsel for all parties and being duly advised in

the premises hereby denies in its entirety the defendants’

Motion to Correct Errors.

ALL OF WHICH IS ‘ORDERED THIS 17th DAY OF

DECEMBER, 1999.

/s/

The Honorable Richard H. Huston,

Marion Superior Court, Div. 10

_ 52a

APPENDIX D

CLERK

SUPREME COURT, COURT OF APPEALS, AND TAX COURT

STATE OF INDIANA

217 State House, Indianapolis, IN 46204

317-232-1930 * Fax 317-232-8365

Karl Mulvaney Cause Number:

2700 Market Tower 49A02-9912-CV-00883

10 West Market St. Lower Court Number:

Indianapolis, IN 46204 49D 109506CT959

Fax Number: 236-9907

RITTER, IRA, ET.AL. -V—- STANTON, JERRY & RUTH

You are hereby notified that the SUPREME COURT has

on this day, 1/31/02:

This matter has come before the Indiana Supreme Court on

a Petition to Transfer Jurisdiction following the issuance of a

decision by the Court of Appeals. The petition was filed

pursuant to Appellate Rule 57. The Court has reviewed the

decision of the court of appeals. Any record on appeal that

was submitted has been made available to the Court for

review, along with any and all briefs that may have been filed

in the court of appeals and all the materials filed in

connection with the request to transfer jurisdiction. Each

participating member of the Court has voted on the petition.

Each participating member has had the opportunity to voice |

that Justice’s views on the case in conference with the other

Justices.

Being duly advised, the Court now denies the Appellant’s

Petition to Transfer of Jurisdiction.

53a

RANDALL T. SHEPARD, CHIEF JUSTICE on behalf of

the Court. All Justices concur, except SHEPARD, C.J. and

SULLIVAN, J., who vote to grant transfer.

MS

WITNESS my name and the seal of said Court, this 31st day

of January, 2002 |

/s/

Brian Bishop

Clerk Supreme Court, Court of

Appeals and Tax Court

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.