Appendices — Sacramento Municipal Utility District v. United States

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

la

APPENDIX A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

Nos. 99-5156, 99-5158 and 99-5160.

MAINE YANKEE ATOMIC POWER COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee,

SACRAMENTO MUNICIPAL UTILITY DISTRICT,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee,

OMAHA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

Vv.

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

Nov. 20, 2001

Before MAYER, Chief Judge, FRIEDMAN, Senior Circuit

Judge, and GAJARSA, Circuit Judge.

PER CURIAM.

In the Energy Policy Act of 1992, Congress imposed

liability upon nuclear electric power companies that had

purchased enriched uranium from the United States—the

2a

purchases having been made as far back as 1969—for a

substantial portion of the government’s costs of decon-

taminating the plants in which it had enriched the uranium.

The three appellants—electric utilities that had purchased

enriched uranium from the government for their nuclear

power plants and who were subject to, and had paid part of,

the statutory liability—sued the United States in the Court of

Federal Claims, challenging the assessments as a taking of

their property for which they sought just compensation and as

an unconstitutional retroactive statutory application that

denied them due process and equal protection. On the

government’s motion, the Court of Federal Claims dismissed

the complaints, holding that they did not set forth valid

constitutional claims.

In Commonwealth Edison Co. v. United States, No.

00-5069, also decided today, this court en banc has upheld the

constitutionality of that statutory assessment against similar

challenges, namely that it takes the property of another utility

and denies that utility due process. That decision binds this

panel, and requires us to reject the utilities’ taking and due

process arguments in the instant case.

Two of the utilities in this case, Maine Yankee Atomic

Power Company and Sacramento Municipal Utility District,

also argue that the statute denies them equal protection—a

contention not made in Commonwealth Edison. As the Court

of Federal Claims stated, the utilities argued that “the fact that

foreign utilities were exempted from the assessment imper-

missibly differentiates between similarly—situated entities—

i.e., all those that had consumed government-enriched ura-

nium. In addition, plaintiffs contend, the Act draws an

illegitimate distinction between purchasers who resold the

uranium, and those who kept it for their own purposes, as

well as between pre 1992 consumers (who are subject to

the fee) and post 1992 consumers (who are exempt).” Maine

Yankee Atomic Power Co. v. United States, 44 Fed.Cl. 372,

383 (1999).

ee ee ae ee ee ee re

hei i a

3a

The Court of Federal Claims correctly rejected those

contentions. We rely upon and accept that court’s reasoning:

With regard to Congress’s decision to exempt foreign

utilities from liability, we refer to the Supreme Court’s

observation in Barclay & Co. v. Edwards, 267 U.S. 442,

451, 45 S.Ct. 348, 69 L.Ed. 703 (1924) that “[cJon-

siderations of policy toward foreign countries may very

well justify an exemption of the foreign corporations

from taxes that might legitimately be imposed on them,

but which Congress does not think it wise to exact.” In

addition, we think it significant that, as defendant points

out in its motion to dismiss, the exclusion of foreign

utilities from the liability equation in no way increases

or otherwise affects plaintiffs’ portion of domestic

utility usage.

Similarly, legislatures need not burden the most respons-

ible party to survive rational basis review. Association

of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246,

1255-56 (D.C.Cir.1998). While the original purchasers

of uranium (those who resold it and were therefore

exempt from assessment) may seem, to plaintiffs,

equally to have benefited from the enrichment services,

we cannot conclude that Congress’s decision to target

end-users was without rational basis. And although

plaintiffs may have preferred a system under which

USEC’s post 1992 customers likewise picked up the

tab, Congress’s assignment of liability for a past prob-

lem to past consumers does not stretch the limits of

the reasonable.

Id.

The judgments of the Court of Federal Claims dismissing

the complaints are

AFFIRMED.

4a

* * * * K €

Concurring opinion of FRIEDMAN, Senior Circuit Judge,

in which MAYER, Chief Judge, joins.

Since I agree that we are bound by Commonwealth Edison

and also agree with the court’s rejection of the equal

protection contention, I join in the opinion and judgment of

the court. If I were not bound by Commonwealth Edison,

however, I would hold that the retroactive assessment denies

the appellants due process.. My reasons for that conclusion

follow.

I

A. During World War II, the United States began enriching

uranium, first for military purposes and, starting in the mid

1960s, as nuclear fuel for commercial generation of

electricity, which it sold to domestic and foreign utilities.

Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co. v. United States, 44 Fed.Cl.

372, 374 (1999). The government sold the enriched uranium

under fixed price contracts, which did not authorize the

government to collect any additional amounts. Jd. The

decontamination and decommissioning of these polluted

facilities is expected to take 40 years and to cost up to

$20 billion. Yankee Atomic Elec. Co. v. United States, 112

F.3d 1569, 1572 (Fed.Cir.1997).

Congress dealt with this problem in the Energy Policy Act

of 1992 (“the Act” or “the Energy Act”). See generally id.

That was comprehensive legislation designed to implement a

“national energy policy,” a reaction, at least in part, to the

adverse economic effects of an oil embargo associated with

the military conflict in the Persian Gulf. H.R.Rep. No.

-102-474(1), at 132 (1992), reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.A.N.

1953, 1955.

In this legislation, Congress sought to “reform the current

uranium enrichment program of the [government] so that

it will be operated in a more business-like fashion.”

—

Sa

H.R.Rep. No. 102-474(1), at 142 (1992), reprinted in 1992

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1953, 1965. The Act established the United

States Enrichment Corporation (“Enrichment Corporation’)

as a government corporation .v assume the operation of the

government’s uranium enrichment services, 42 U.S.C.

§ 2297, and “which eventually could be sold to the pri-

vate sector.” H.R.Rep. No. 102-474(I), at 142-43 (1992),

reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1953, 1965-66. The Act

required that the Enrichment Corporation “[w]ithin 2 years

prepare a strategic plan for transferring ownership of the

Corporation to private investors.” 42 U.S.C. § 2297d(a). The

“key purposes of the Corporation includ[ed] providing

enrichment services in a business-like fashion, maximizing

the economic return to the [government].” H.R.Rep. No.

102-474(I), at 198 (1992), reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.A.N.

1953, 2021.

The Act provided that the Enrichment Corporation would

not be liable for the costs of cleaning up and closing

the government’s uranium enrichment facilities. 42 U.S.C.

§ 2297c-2(d). Instead, the Act established the Uranium

Enrichment Decontamination and Decommissioning Fund

(“Fund”) for that purpose. § 2297g. The Fund is financed

through both Congressional appropriations and an assessment

on those domestic utilities that purchased and used

government enriched uranium. § 2297g-1(b).

The Fund is instructed to obtain up to $480 million per year

(to be adjusted annually for inflation), with at most $150

million from a special assessment on the domestic utilities.

§ 2297g-1(a), (c).. That assessment is based on each utility’s

share of the government’s enriched uranium sales (whether

purchased directly from the government or from another

source), which were made prior to October 24, 1992 and that

it did not resell. § 2297g l(c). The special assessment

terminates after 15 years or after $2.25 billion has been

collected. § 2297g-1(e).

6a

The Act also provided that the special assessments “shall

be deemed a necessary and reasonable current cost of fuel and

shall be fully recoverable in rates in all jurisdictions in the

same manner as the utility’s other fuel cost.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 2297g-1(g).

B. The three appellants filed separate complaints in the

Court of Federal Claims, as did a number of other sim-

ilarly-situated electric utilities. They contend that the special

assessment constituted a breach of the fixed-price contract

under which they had purchased enriched uranium from the

government. The complaints included the following factual

allegations, which we accept for purposes of the govern-

ment’s motions to dismiss. Highland Falls-Fort Montgomery

Cent. Sch. Dist. v. United States, 48 F.3d 1166, 1169-70

(Fed.Cir.1995) (“[W]e assume that all well-pled factual

allegations are true and indulge in all reasonable inferences in

favor of the movant.”).

The appellants—Maine Yankee Atomic Power Company

(“Maine Yankee”), Sacramento Municipal Utility District

(“Sacramento District”), and Omaha Public Power District

(“Omaha District”) (collectively “the Utilities”)—all operated

nuclear power plants and purchased government-produced

enriched uranium before 1992. Thus, as domestic utilities

that purchased and used government provided enriched

uranium, each is liable for a portion of the Act’s special

assessment, and each has paid millions of dollars.’

The Utilities also allege that the government completely

contaminated its enrichment facilities (buildings, equipment,

property, and surrounding property) prior to 1969, at a time

when they were used almost exclusively for defense purposes.

Little, if any, additional contamination occurred after 1969,

when these facilities were used to enrich uranium for sale to

commercial utilities.

ee ee ee a

Ta

Maine Yankee is a domestic utility that operated a single

nuclear power plant, which was permanently closed in 1996.

It purchased enriched uranium from the government from

1970 to 1986 under two contracts, one executed on October a

1970 and the other on November 4, 1982. On its purchases of

government enriched uranium, Maine Yankee is subject to a

$25 million special assessment, of which it has paid more

than $9.8 million.

Sacramento District is a municipal utility district in

California that generates electricity and operated a nuclear

generating facility, which it closed in 1989. During the

operation of that facility, the Sacramento District purchased

enriched uranium from the government, beginning in 1969”

and ending in 1981. In 1990, the Sacramento District

terminated its contract for purchasing enriched uranium.

Because of those purchases, Sacramento District has paid

$5.8 million in special assessments and expects its total

liability to reach $8 million.

Omaha District is a domestic utility that generates and

supplies electricity in Nebraska. It purchased enriched ura-

nium from the government between 1969 and 1992 under two

contracts. Omaha District has paid special assessments of

more than $7.4 million, and estimates its total liability to be

nearly $20 million.

One of the other utilities that filed such a suit in the Court

of Federal Claims was Yankee Atomic Electric Company.

That court granted Yankee Atomic summary judgment,

holding that “the assessment imposed upon Yankee Atomic to

fund clean-up costs constitutes an unlawful exaction because

it violates the Government’s earlier contractual agreements to

supply enriched uranium at fixed prices.” Yankee Atomic

Elec. Co. v. United States, 112 F.3d 1569, 1571 (Fed.

Cir.1997). On the government’s appeal, we reversed. Id. We

held that the special assessment did not constitute a

retroactive increase of the contract price, id. at 1575, but

8a

instead “constitutes a general exercise of Congress’s taxing

power for the purpose of addressing a societal problem rather

than an act that retroactively increases the price charged

to contracting parties for uranium enrichment services,”

id. at 1577.

After our decision in Yankee Atomic, the Utilities amended

their complaints to assert claims not addressed in Yankee

Atomic; namely, that the assessment was a taking of their

property and denied them due process in violation of the Fifth

Amendment. Maine Yankee and the Sacramento District also

asserted that the assessment denied them equal protection.

On the government’s motion, the Court of Federal Claims

granted summary judgment dismissing the complaints for

failure to state a claim upon which relief could be granted.

Maine Yankee Atomic Power Co. v. United States, 44 Fed. Cl.

372 (1999); Omaha Pub. Power Dist. v. United States, 44

Fed. Cl. 383 (1999); Sacramento Mun. Util. Dist., 44 Fed.Cl.

395 (1999).

In an opinion dealing with the three cases (but issued

separately for each case), the court first held that Yankee

Atomic was not stare decisis on the constitutional issues the

Utilities raised. Maine Yankee, 44 Fed.Cl. at 376-77. In

holding that the complaints did not state a valid takings claim,

the court concluded that none of the factors in “‘a traditional

takings analysis . ..—the economic impact of the legislation,

the reasonableness of plaintiffs’ investment-backed expec-

tations and the character of the government action—support

the finding of a taking of property.” /d. at 381. The court

rejected the Utilities’ due process claim based on the

retroactivity of the assessment. /d. at 379-80. The court

concluded its discussion of these issues with the following

statement:

Whether we analyze the assessment under the Due

Process Clause, under the Takings Clause, or under some

amalgam of the two, we are, in the end, faced with a

9a

single, basic question: Is it inherently unfair, unjust, or

irrational for Congress, when faced with costs resulting

from the enrichment of uranium, to ask those parties

who received the uranium to contribute to the solution?

The answer, quite clearly, is no. Plaintiffs’ assessments

are directly proportional to their usage of uranium

enrichment services the very services which created the

contamination. Congress itself took responsibility for

more than two thirds of the clean-up costs and assigned

the rest, as a general tax, to the rate-payers in districts

which had previously benefited from nuclear power.

Such a scheme can hardly be construed as beyond the

reach of fairness or rationality.

Id. at 382-83.

Finally, the court rejected the claim that the special

assessment denied Maine Yankee and the Omaha District

equal protection because it did not cover (1) foreign utilities

or (2) utilities that purchased but resold government-enriched

uranium. The court denied this claim since “legislatures need

not burden the most responsible party to survive rational basis

review.” Id. at 383 (citing Ass’n of Bituminous Contractors,

Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246, 1255-56 (D.C.Cir.1998)).

II

A. The Supreme Court has noted that “the presumption

against retroactive legislation is deeply rooted in our juris-

prudence, and embodies a legal doctrine centuries older than

our Republic. Elementary considerations of fairness dictate

that individuals should have an opportunity to know what the

law is and to conform their conduct accordingly; settled

expectations should not be lightly disrupted.” Landgraf v.

USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244, 265, 114 S.Ct. 1483, 128

L.Ed.2d 229 (1994) (footnotes omitted). When the retro-

activity is severe, the legislation may violate the Due Process

Clause. See United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26, 32, 114

10a

S.Ct. 2018, 129 L.Ed.2d 22 (1994) (concluding that the

application of a 1987 federal tax statute to a 1986 transaction

did not violate due process in part because “Congress acted

promptly and established only a modest period of retro-

activity.”); see also id. at 38, 114 S.Ct. 2018 (O’Connor, J.,

concurring) (“A period of retroactivity longer than the year

preceding the legislative session in which the law was enacted

would raise, im my view, serious constitutional questions.”’).

In exceptional circumstances not involving tax law, however,

longer retroactivity has been held not to deny due process.

See Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1, 96 S.Ct.

2882, 49 L.Ed.2d 752 (1976), discussed in Part III B below.

Another pertinent principie is that economic legislation has

a presumption of constitutionality, which may be overcome

by demonstrating that the legislation is arbitrary or irrational.

Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at 15, 96 S.Ct. 2882 (noting that

“legislative Acts adjusting the burdens and benefits of

economic life come to the Court with a presumption of

constitutionality, and that the burden is on one complaining of

a due process violation to establish that the legislature has

acted in an arbitrary and irrational way’’) (citing, for example,

Ferguson v. Skrupa, 372 U.S. 726, 83 S.Ct. 1028, 10 L.Ed.2d

93 (1963); Williamson v. Lee Optical Inc., 348 U.S. 483,

487-88, 75 S.Ct. 461, 99 L.Ed. 563 (1955)). Thus, to prevail

here, the Utilities must demonstrate that the Act is arbitrary

and irrational as applied to them. They have carried that

burden.

The special assessment was wholly retroactive: it covered

only purchases of enriched uranium before the effective date

of the Act. The retroactivity was severe. It reached back to

the Utilities’ enriched uranium purchases that occurred up to

twenty-two years (or twenty-three years, in the case of Omaha

District) before the Act was passed, six years after Maine

Yankee had stopped purchasing government enriched ura-

nium, and three years after Sacramento District closed its

lla

plant. It also was substantial, subjecting the Utilities to

additional charges which they assert would tota! $25 million,

$8 million and almost $20 million for the three companies.

The Utilities did not cause or contribute to the contam-

ination of the government’s plants, which the special assess-

ment was designed to cure, and did not benefit from it. The

Utilities allege that the contamination occurred prior to the

beginning of their purchases, when the plants were producing

enriched uranium “almost exclusively” for the military, and

that “[little, if any additional contamination” occurred there-

after. Moreover, when the Utilities entered into the purchase

contracts at a fixed price, they had no reason to believe, or

even suspect, that years later the government would seek to

make them pay for a substantial portion of its cleanup costs.

They may well have understood and expected that the

government would incur substantial expenses in making that

cleanup, but they reasonably would have believed that the

charges the government made for the enriched uranium

included the cleanup cost. They certainly had no basis to

expect that they would be subject to the additional large

amounts of the assessments.

To be sure, the Utilities benefited from their participation

in the government’s uranium enrichment program, but the

plant contamination and the cost of cleaning it up arose from

an earlier stage of that program (when the Utilities were not

participants). For the reasons just given, however, the

Utilities’ participation is not a sufficient basis under the Due

Process Clause to subject the Utilities to such a substantial

portion of the costs of cleaning up the contamination, which

they did not cause and from which they did not benefit.

B. The government contends that Usery v. Turner Elkhorn

Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1, 24, 96 S.Ct. 2882, 49 L.Ed.2d 752

(1976), supports the retroactive assessment against the

Utilities. Turner Elkhorn involved a provision of the Federal

Coal Mine Health and Safety Act of 1969, 83 Stat. 792, as

12a

amended by the Black Lung Benefits Act of 1972, 86 Stat.

150, 30 U.S.C. § 901 et seq., that required mining companies

to pay death or total disability benefits to employee miners

suffering from pneumoconiosis (black lung disease), as

applied to miners who had stopped so working before the

effective date of the Act. The disease, whose symptoms may

“become apparent only after a miner has left the coal mines,”

id. at 8, 96 S.Ct. 2882, “is caused by long-term inhalation of

coal dust,” id. at 6, 96 S.Ct. 2882. The mining companies

challenged this retroactive application of the Act as violating

due process.

The Supreme Court upheld the Act against this challenge.

The Court recognized that the legislation imposed new

liability for disabilities developed prior to enactment, but

concluded that such retroactivity was “justified as a rational

measure to spread the costs of the employees’ disabilities to

those who have profited from the fruits of their labor.” /d. at

18, 96 S.Ct. 2882. It reflected the “interlocking economic

rights and duties of employers and employees,” and “ad-

just[ed] the burdens and benefits of economic life.” /d. at 15,

96 S.Ct. 2882. Thus, Turner Elkhorn held that it was not a

due process violation for legislation “to satisfy a specific need

created by the dangerous conditions under which the former

employee labored—to allocate to the mine operator an actual,

measurable cost of his business.” /d. at 19, 96 S.Ct. 2882.

The Court, however, in sustaining the presumptions of the

Coal Act relating to total disability, which were also at issue

in the case, stated: “To the extent that the presumption of

death due to pneumoconiosis is viewed as requiring com-

pensation for damages resulting-from death unrelated to the

operator’s conduct, its application to employees who

terminated their employment before the Act was passed

would present difficulties not encountered in our prior

discussion of retroactivity. The justification we found for the

retrospective application of the Act is that it serves to spread

13a

costs in a rational manner—by allocating to the operator an

actual cost of his business, the avoidance of which might be

thought to have enlarged the operator’s profits. The damage

resulting from a miner’s death that is due to causes other than

the operator’s conduct can hardly be termed a ‘cost’ of the

operator’s business.” /d. at 24, 96 S.Ct. 2882: see also Con-

crete Pipe and Prods. v. Constr. Laborers Pension Trust, 508

U.S. 602, 641, 113 S.Ct. 2264, 124 L.Ed.2d 539 (1993):

United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26, 31, 114 S.Ct. 2018,

129 L.Ed.2d 22 (1994). Thus, in Turner Elkhorn, the

Supreme Court recognized culpability as an important factor

supporting the imposition of retroactive liability.

There is a critical difference between Turner Elkhorn and

the present case that precludes the application of Turner

Elkhorn here. In Turner Elkhorn the miners’ illness was

caused by conditions that existed when they were working for

the company, for which it was responsible and which

“profited from the fruits of their labor.” The company,

therefore, could fairly be charged with responsibility for its

former employees’ condition.

In the present case, however, the contamination occurred

before the government sold enriched uranium to the Utilities,

which neither were responsible for nor benefited from the

contamination. In these circumstances, as shown, it would be

unfair and unreasonable to subject the Utilities to a substantial

additional charge to cure the contamination they neither

caused nor benefited from.

In many (if not most) of the cases in which the Supreme

Court rejected Due Process challenges to retroactive legis-

lation, the statute dealt with the relationships, financial and

otherwise, among private parties; the government’s role was

only the regulation of those relationships. In the present case,

however, the statute deals with the relationship between the

government and private parties; it seeks to transfer to those

parties a substantial portion of the government’s costs of

rectifying the contamination of its plants used to produce the

product it sold to those parties. It is by no means clear that

those Supreme Court cases may be automatically and

uncritically applied to the significantly different situation

here involved.

C. The government contends that the Comprehensive

Environmental Response, Compensation, and Liability Act of

1980 (“Environmental Response Act”), 42 U.S.C. § 9601 et

seq. (1994), supports the validity under the Due Process

Clause of the retroactive assessment of clean-up costs on the

Utilities. Among other things, that Act provides for the

clean-up of inactive hazardous waste disposal sites and

established a Hazardous Substances Response Trust Fund

(“Superfund”) to pay for it. The Superfund was funded

initially, and in large part, by special taxes on certain

petroleum products and chemicals and was to be replenished

by assessments on persons responsible for the waste.

Hazardous Substance Response Revenue Act of 1980, Title

II, Subtitle A §§ 4611, 4661, Title Il, Subtitle B, § 221, 26

U.S.C. §§ 4611, 4661, 42 U.S.C. § 9631. The government

used the Superfund to fund the clean-up and replenished the

cost by charging the persons responsible for the hazardous

waste. 42 U.S.C. §§ 9604(a)(1), 9607. Such responsible

persons include those involved in the cleanup work, including

“the owner and operator of . . . a facility,” anyone who at the

time of disposal “owned or operated any facility at which

such hazardous substances were disposed of,” anyone who

arranged for or participated in the “transport for disposal or

treatment, of hazardous substances” and anyone who

“accepted any hazardous substances for transport to disposal

treatment facilities, incineration vessels or sites selected by

such person, from which there is a release, or a threatened

release which causes the incurrence of response costs, of a

hazardous substance.” 42 U.S.C. § 9607(a).

15a

The Environmental Response Act thus retroactively

imposes liability on numerous persons for cleanup of

pre-enactment contamination.

The government cites two Court of Appeals cases that

upheld the retroactive application of the Environmental

Response Act against Due Process challenges to its

constitutionality, as support for the constitutionality of the

retroactive assessment against the Utilities. United States vy.

Northeastern Pharm. & Chem. Co., 810 F.2d 726 (8th

Cir.1986), held liable for cleanup costs individuals who

arranged for the transportation and dumping of hazardous

waste before the effective date of the Act. In United States v.

Monsanto Co., 858 F.2d 160, 174 (4th Cir.1988), the court

ruled that retroactive application of the Environmental

Response Act did not violate due process as applied to (1)

landowners who leased their property to a company that

stored hazardous waste on the land and (2) the companies that

generated the waste but which contracted with another

waste-handling business, which provided transportation,

recycling and disposal of chemical waste. Noting that the

companies that generated the waste profited from inexpensive

waste disposal methods that may have been technically legal

prior to the [Environmental Response Act]’s enactment, it

was certainly foreseeable at the time that improper disposal

could cause enormous damage to the environment. [The

Environmental Response Act] operates remedially to spread

the costs of responding to improper waste disposal among all

parties that played a role in creating the hazardous condi-

tions. . . . [T}he retroactive application of [the Environmental

Response Act] does not violate due process. /d. at 174

(citations omitted). -

In the present case, however, the Utilities did not

participate in any way, directly or indirectly, or play any role

in, the creation of the hazardous conditions at the gov-

ermment’s uranium facilities. The Utilities merely purchased

enriched uranium after the contamination had occurred, long

16a

before the passage of the Energy Act. The Utilities’ tangential

connection with the contamination of the government’s

uranium enrichment facilities is quite different from the

relationships to the hazardous waste disposal of the

persons held constitutionally liable under the Environmental

Response Act.

D. The government also contends that because 42 U.S.C.

§ 2297g-1(g) provides that the assessments “shall be deemed

a necessary and reasonable current cost of fuel and shall be

fully recoverable in rates in all jurisdictions in the same

manner as the utility’s other fuel cost,” the Utilities will be

able to pass the assessments on to their customers, and that

the assessments, therefore, will not have any substantial

economic impact on them.

It is impossible to predict, however, to what extent (if any)

state and local regulatory agencies and courts would per-

mit the Utilities to treat the assessments as a “current cost

of fuel” in determining their rates. The question whether

§ 2297g-1(g) preempts state regulatory authority in this area

appears difficult. The power of Congress to require that

particular items be included in the Utilities’ costs for rate

making purposes is uncertain. Regulation of retail electric

power rates is a traditional function of state government. The

likelihood of the state action that the government envisions is

far too speculative and conjectural to constitute a valid basis

for upholding the assessments.

In any event, the question whether, and to what extent, the

State regulatory agencies and courts will recognize the

assessment as part of the Utilities’ costs for rate making

purposes appears more appropriately an issue for the damages

phase of these cases than for the liability phase.

E. In sum, I conclude that the Utilities’ complaints have

stated a valid claim under the Due Process Clause, and that the

Court of Federal Claims erred in dismissing the complaints for

failure to state a claim upon which relief could be granted.

te

ie

&

uu

Be

17a

APPENDIX B

UNITED STATES COURT OF FEDERAL CLAIMS

(Filed: July 26, 1999]

No. 96-616 C

OMAHA PUBLIC POWER DISTRICT,

Plaintiff, -

V.

THE UNITED STATES,

Defendant.

OPINION

WIESE, Judge.

In the Energy Policy Act of 1992, Pub.L. No. 102-486, 106

Stat. 2776 (codified as amended in various sections of 42

U.S.C.), Congress directed the collection of a special fee from

all domestic electric utility companies that previously had

purchased enriched uranium from the Government for the

generation of electrical energy. The fee, which is to remain in

effect for fifteen years following the Act’s enactment or until

$2.5 billion has been collected, is deposited into a special

fund, the Uranium Decontamination and Decommissioning

Fund (the “D & D Fund”), to be used to meet the Clean-up

costs of the Government facilities where the uranium

enrichment activities were carried out.

The lawfulness of this fee was the subject of a legal

challenge in Yankee Atomic Elec. Co. v. United States.

112 F.3d 1569 (Fed.Cir.1997), rev’g 33 Fed.Cl. 580 (1995).

cert. denied 524 U.S. 951, 118 S.Ct. 2365, 141 L.Ed.2d 735

(1998). In that case, a similarly-situated plaintiff argued

that the Government’s imposition of the fee violated the

18a

fixed-price character of the contracts under which the

enriched uranium had been sold to the utility companies.

While the trial court initially accepted the plaintiff's

argument, the Federal Circuit reversed, holding that the fee

constituted “a general exercise of Congress’s taxing power

for the purpose of addressing a societal problem rather than

an act that retroactively increases the price charged

to contracting parties for uranium enrichment services.” /d.

at 1577. .

The same fee is once again brought under attack in this

case. The arguments we encounter now are that the impo-

sition of the fee amounts to an unconstitutional taking of

property, a violation of substantive due process and a denial

of equal protection.

The Government has moved to dismiss for failure to state a

claim on which relief can be granted. Plaintiffs oppose.’ The

parties have filed extensive briefs and oral argument was

heard on May 18, 1999. We now decide in defendant’s favor.

FACTS

Beginning in the 1940s, the Government, acting originally

through the Atomic Energy Commission and later through the

Department of Energy (DOE), owned and operated a number

of uranium enrichment facilities as part of the national

defense program. For almost 25 years, most of the uranium

produced at these plants—approximately 96%—was used

solely for national defense purposes. In the mid-1960s,

however, the Government decided to make its enrichment

services available to commercial customers, a decision that

' Although their cases have not been formally consolidated, the actions

filed by Maine Yankee Atomic Power Company, docket number 97-28C,

Sacramento Municipal Utility District, docket number 95-823C, and

Omaha Public Power District, docket number 96-616C, present nearly

identical issues that were briefed and argued together. Accordingly, this

opinion speaks to all three claims.

19a

was implemented by entering into a series of contracts with

various public utilities permitting their purchase of enriched

uranium for the generation of electricity. In the main, these

contracts provided for the sale of uranium at a fixed price,

determined according to prevailing rates established by the

Commission at the time the service was provided.

In the early 1990s, following nearly fifty years of uranium

enrichment activity, Congress decided to privatize its enrich-

ment facilities by creating a new, for-profit, governmental

corporation called the United States Enrichment Corporation

(“USEC”). Under the Energy Policy Act of 1992, USEC was

to assume operational control of the enrichment facilities,

with the goal of ultimately selling the facilities to private

investors. DOE, concerned that the cost of decontaminating

the plants would stand as an obstacle to attracting private

investment, lobbied Congress to exempt USEC from all

clean-up-cost liability. Congress agreed, specifying that all

pre-enactment liabilities—including the cost of decontami-

nating and decommissioning the plants—would remain the

responsibility of DOE.

As part of the Energy Policy Act, then, Congress estab-

lished the Uranium Enrichment Decontamination and De-

commissioning Fund to pay for the clean-up of the

government-owned enrichment facilities. The Act specified

that a portion of the clean-up costs—specifically $330 million

annually, or 68% of the required amount—would be

contributed by Congress from appropriated funds. The

remaining third, a figure not to exceed $2.5 billion, would be

collected in up to $150 million annual installments over a

fifteen-year period from those domestic utility companies that

had earlier used government-enriched uranium in the

generation of electricity. 42 U.S.C.A. § 2297g-1 (West 1994

& Supp.1999). The utilities’ portion was subject to annual

and aggregate caps, with Congress, by statute, obligated to

make up the difference.

20a

Three aspects of the D & D Fund are, from plaintiffs’

perspective, worthy of note. First, the fee imposed by the

Energy Policy Act applies only to the end-users of the

uranium. Thus, a utility that had contracted with the Gov-

ernment for the purchase of uranium but then had resold the

uranium to another utility would not be subject to the fee. As

a result, the list of utilities responsible for the fee is strikingly

similar to, but not entirely coincident with, the list of utilities

that had contracted with the Government. Second, the special

assessments are imposed only on those utilities that purchased

government-enriched uranium prior to the Energy Policy

Act’s 1992 enactment, and thus do not apply to domestic

customers who purchased USEC services any time after 1992.

Finally, the Act specifies that foreign utilities, despite having

represented 25% of DOE’s pre-1992 commercial customer

base, are not subject to the fee.

Under the Act, the fee itself is based on the percentage of

uranium enrichment work units each utility had previously

purchased from the Department of Energy, relative to the

total number of work units produced by DOE over the life of

the enrichment facilities. That contribution scheme—

apportion-ing liability for the fee on the basis of pro-rata

consumption of uranium—was first challenged in Yankee

Atomic, 112 F.3d 1569 as a violation of the utilities’

fixed-price contracts for the purchase of uranium.

The Federal Circuit, as we earlier noted, rejected Yankee

Atomic’s claim that the Energy Policy Act impermissibly

raised the price of uranium in breach of the parties’ fixed-

price contracts with the Government. Characterizing the fee

as a “general exercise of Congress’s taxing power,” the

Federal Circuit concluded that the assessment was “not a

deliberate retroactive increase in the price of those contracts,”

but was instead “the Government’s way of spreading the costs

of the later discovered decontamination and decommissioning

problem on all utilities that benefited from the Government's

service.” /d. at 1577, 1580.

2la

The plaintiffs now before this court—Maine Yankee

Atomic Power Company, Sacramento Municipal Utility Dis-

trict and Omaha Public Power District—each signed enrich-

ment contracts with the Government which, in their original

form, were largely identical to the contracts between Yankee

Atomic and the Government.’ As a result of the uranium

purchases made under those contracts, plaintiffs, like Yankee

Atomic, have been subject to the assessment outlined in the

Energy Policy Act. As of the date of suit in this court, Omaha

Public Power District had paid approx-imately $7.4 million of

the $19 million it is projected to owe under the Energy

Policy Act for purchases of uranium made from 1969 until

1992; Maine Yankee Atomic Power Company had paid

$9,815,718.57 of its estimated $25 million liability on

uranium purchases from 1970 until 1986; and Sacramento

Municipal Utility District had paid more than $5.8 million of

its projected $8 million liability for uranium purchased from

1969 until 1981. Of the three utilities, only one—Maine

Yankee—has abandoned the electricity gener-ating business

entirely, closing down its sole electricity generating facility

permanently in 1996.

DISCUSSION

In the first count of their amended complaints, * plaintiffs

assert that the imposition of a monetary liability which is both

? Omaha Public Power maintains that the Utility Services Contract and

the Supplemental Agreement of Settlement it signed in 1984 (terminating

all existing uranium contracts and providing that “all obligations arising

under [its then existing} contract shall be deemed to be concluded”’)

differentiates its contract from the contracts at issue in Yankee Atomic.

We address this contention later in this opinion.

* The claims now before us were pending, but stayed, while the parallel

claim in Yankee Atomic was proceeding before the trial and appellate

courts. In light of the decision in Yankee Atomic, plaintiffs filed amended

complaints in which they essentially have distanced themselves from their

earlier contract-based theories. Plaintiffs attempt now to move forward

under the theories set forth in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498,

22a

retroactive and unconnected to their past conduct deprives

them of property rights in violation of the Takings Clause

of the Fifth Amendment. The second count sets forth a

due process claim based on similar contentions—that the

assessment is unconstitutional to the extent that it imposes on

plaintiffs a severe, disproportionate and extremely retroactive

liability. Plaintiffs’ third and final count alleges a taking

and/or breach of plaintiffs’ contract- based rights.

Defendant, in turn, has moved to dismiss plaintiffs’ claims.

It contends first that plaintiffs’ takings and due process

arguments were considered and rejected by the Federal

Circuit in Yankee Atomic and, under the principle of stare

decisis, should not be revisited. Second, defendant argues

that the holding in Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524 U.S.

498, 118 S.Ct. 2131, 141 L.Ed.2d 451 (1998), striking down

as unconstitutional the imposition of a severely retroactive

liability on a party that had no reason to anticipate the liability

and whose experience was not commensurate with the burden

later imposed, is not dispositive of the issues before us.

Finally, defendant maintains that even under the traditional

tenets of due process and takings law, plaintiffs’ claims must

fail. We address those arguments in turn.

I. Stare Decisis

In urging us to apply the doctrine of stare decisis,

defendant argues that the Yankee Atomic ruling, upholding

the assessment on the grounds that it constitutes a general tax

falling proportionally on those utilities that had benefited

from the Government’s services, disposes of the issues now

before us. While we agree that the Yankee Atomic decision

goes a long way in addressing plaintiffs’ present arguments,

we are unconvinced, however, that the decision forecloses

118 S.Ct. 2131, 141 L.Ed.2d 451 (1998), specifically that a retroactive

imposition of liability may, in certain circumstances, constitute a vio-

lation either of the Takings Clause or Due Process Clause of the

Fifth Amendment.

PR PN Re ee ee ae oye ae

OEE REET RE yy an ee oe

23a

plaintiffs’ takings and due process claims. Only to the extent

that plaintiffs now attempt to maintain contract-based claims

—an issue argued before, and rejected by, the Federal Circuit

in Yankee Atomic—do we find the doctrine of stare decisis to

be applicable.

In reaching this conclusion, we begin with a fundamental

principle of stare decisis: in order for an issue of law to be

seen as settled, and hence binding, it must have been both

heard and decided by an earlier court. 18 James Wm. Moore

et al., Moore’s Federal Practice § 134.04 [2] (3d ed.1998).

Stare decisis applies “only to legal issues that were actually

decided in a prior action” and not to those which were

neither “litigated [nJor resolved.” Beacon Oil Co. v. O’ Leary,

71 F.3d 391, 395 (Fed.Cir.1995). In addition, a case will not

be treated as binding precedent on a point of law where the

holding is only implicit or assumed in the decision but is not

announced. United States v. L.A. Tucker Truck Lines, 344

U.S. 33, 38, 73 S.Ct. 67, 97 L.Ed. 54 (1952).

Two obstacles prevent us from invoking the doctrine of

stare decisis. As an initial matter, we do not believe the

Yankee Atomic decision explicitly rules on, nor even squarely

addresses, plaintiffs’ takings or due process arguments. As

we discuss below, the takings and due process claims put

forth by Yankee Atomic differ in crucial respects from the

takings and due process claims now before this court. In

addition, the Supreme Court’s opinion in Eastern Enterprises

—issued after the Yankee Atomic decision—adds a new

perspective to the issues at hand. To the extent that the

decision must guide our own thinking, we are not prepared to

conclude that the decision would in no way have shaped the

Federal Circuit’s thinking in Yankee Atomic as well. And it is

this subtle shift in legal thought we are now bound to explore.

Considering first the scope of the Yankee Atomic decision,

we note that while the Government is correct in asserting that

the Yankee Atomic court considered both due process and

24a

takings challenges to the Energy Policy Act assessment, it

considered only a single aspect of those challenges: whether

the contract rights, establishing a fixed price for govern-

ment-provided enrichment services, had been taken or

otherwise violated. The court was not asked to address, nor

did it consider, whether the assessment; properly treated as a

tax, met the standards of takings and due process law as

applied simply to governmental demands for money.

Indeed, the takings claim that was presented and briefed in

Yankee Atomic was the taking of a contract right. The trial

court explicitly characterized the assessment as a revision in

contract price, and held the assessment unconstitutional on

the grounds that it deprived Yankee Atomic of the economic

benefit provided by the contract. To the extent that a taking

or, in the words of the trial court, an illegal exaction, had

occurred, the illegality was specifically predicated on a

violation of contract-based rights.

The contract-based approach to the problem continued at

the appellate level: “The decision of the Court of Federal

Claims is driven by its characterization of the special assess-

ment as a retroactive price increase rather than an exercise of

the sovereign’s taxing power, and the parties’ dispute over

this characterization frames the dispositive issue of this

appeal.” Yankee Atomic, 112 F.3d at 1573. However, in

focusing on what the assessment was not—an impermissible

infringement on contract rights—the Federal Circuit was

not required to explore the full_dimensions of what it

concluded the assessment in fact was—the imposition of a

tax. Accordingly, the court made no explicit findings with

regard to whether money, rather than contract rights, had

indeed been taken.

Similarly, while the alleged retroactivity of the fee was a

feature of the Yankee Atomic case, it was not, either in the

arguments before the court or in the court’s decision,_treated

as a true factor in assessing the fee’s constitutionality. To the

25a

extent that due process or takings issues were addressed, the

focus remained on the Government’s action as it affected

contract rights, not as a limitation on the Government’s

power to tax. “Regardless of whether the situation is

characterized as a breach of contract, an unlawful taking, or

an unlawful exaction, the arguments stem from Yankee

Atomic’s prior contracts with the Government.” /d. at 1574

n. 2. Yankee Atomic thus offers us no guidance as to what

restrictions on the Government’s taxing power takings law or

due process may in fact impose.

In assessing the applicability of stare decisis, then, we must

ask ourselves whether we can be assured that Yankee Atomic

answered, in a deliberate fashion, the questions plaintiffs raise

here: whether, independent of any contract right, the special

assessment imposed by the Energy Policy Act amounted to a

taking of plaintiffs’ money; whether the liability itself was so

retroactive, so divorced from plaintiffs’ experiences and so

contrary to their expectations that it violated due process.

These questions, we believe, were not answered.

With regard to plaintiffs’ contract-based claims,* however,

we find Yankee Atomic to be dispositive. In determining that

the assessment constituted an exercise of general taxation

apart from, and wholly independent of, the parties’ earlier

contractual relationship, the Federal Circuit rejected the

contention that the assessment amounted to an impermissible

infringement on the plaintiff’s contract-based rights. This

court, in-turn, is bound by that ruling.

Nor do the additional contract documents put forth by

Omaha Public Power District change that result. We see

nothing in the Utility Services Contract or the 1984

Supplemental Agreement to differentiate it from the contract

that was at issue in Yankee Atomic. And to the extent that the

* With the exception of Omaha Public Power District, plaintiffs con-

cede the preclusive effect of Yankee Atomic and reiterate their contract

claims merely to preserve the issue for appeal.

26a

fixed-price terms of the contract were held by the Federal

Circuit not to constitute an unmistakable promise, no addi-

tional terms in the Supplemental Agreement satisfy that

unmistakability requirement. The unmistakability doctrine—

a principle which dictates that immunity from future legis-

lation (here, a tax) be clearly, unmistakably incorporated into

a contract with the Government in order to be enforced—

requires more than the generic statements embodied in the

Supplemental Agreement or the extra-contractual assurances

by Government officials allegedly made to Omaha.

II. The Eastern Enterprises Decision

A. The Essential Ruling

Moving forward, then, with plaintiffs’ due process and

takings claims, we begin with the contentions that the Energy

Policy Act assessment impermissibly imposes financial

liability on parties not responsible for the problem that the

legislation addresses, and is based on conduct excessively far

in the past. As evidence of those two propositions, plaintiffs

point first to testimony offered before a congressional sub-

committee to the effect that it was the use of the enrichment

facilities by the U.S. military that alone contaminated the

plants, and that the subsequent enrichment of uranium for

commercial purposes added no additional contamination.

Plaintiffs additionally point to the fact that the fees levied are

based, in some instances, on purchases of uranium that

occurred some twenty-three years before the passage of the

Energy Policy Act.

° See, for instance, Department of Energy Budget Request for Fiscal

Year 1993: Oversight Hearing before the Subcommittee on Energy and

the Environment of the Committee on Interior and Insular Affairs, 102d

Cong., 2d Sess. at 79 (Feb. 28, 1992) (statement of William H. Young,

Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy, United States Department of

Energy) (acknowledging that “the contamination that was placed on the

systems and structures occurred during that 20-year peried that it was

operated for the government”).

27a

Plaintiffs’ orientation to the present problem is shaped in

large part by the holding in Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S.

498, 118 S.Ct. 2131, 141 L.Ed.2d 451—a decision defendant

maintains is inapplicable to the facts at hand. In Eastern

Enterprises, a coal mining company challenged the Coal

Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992 (the Coal Act),

charging that the act was unconstitutional as applied to it.

The Coal Act obligated Eastern to pay premiums, beginning

in 1992, to cover health care benefits for former employees

who had worked for Eastern prior to 1966, despite the fact

that Eastern itself had ceased its mining operations in 1965.

Central to the Supreme Court’s analysis was the fact that, of

the various bargaining agreements signed by the coal industry

throughout the years, only those agreements reached after

1965—i.e., those in which Eastern Enterprises had not

participated—contained explicit reference to, or fostered

expectations of, lifetime health benefits.

A four-justice plurality held that the assessment, reaching

back more than thirty years and unrelated to the company’s

experience with the health-care plans, violated the Takings

Clause. One justice, concurring in the result, rejected the

applicability of the Takings Clause, but reached his con-

clusion based on due process grounds. In contrast, a four-

justice dissent concluded that the Takings Clause was inap-

plicable, and that due process had not been violated.

It is the fractured nature of that decision which defendant

believes limits its holding. This court need not apply a

takings analysis, defendant maintains, since a majority of the

Court—the four dissenters along with Justice Kennedy in

his concurrence °_explicitly rejects the applicability of the

° The dissent rejected the plurality’s takings analysis on the ground that

the case involved “not an interest in physical or intellectual property, but

an ordinary liability to pay money, and not to the Government, but to third

parties.” Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S. at___, 118 S.Ct. at 2162 (Breyer,

J., dissenting). Justice Kennedy, writing in concurrence, further cautioned

28a

Takings Clause to “an ordinary liability to pay money.”

Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S. at __, 118 S.Ct. at 2162

(Breyer, J., dissenting). And in the absence of Eastern

Enterprises, defendant contends, prevailing case law would

only require the act to meet a standard of rationality in order

to withstand a constitutional challenge.

While we recognize that the takings analysis employed

by the plurality in Eastern Enterprises does not necessarily

reflect the approach advocated by the remaining members of

the Court, we are nonetheless mindful of the D.C. Circuit’s

observation that “[w]hen a fragmented Court decides a case

and no single rationale explaining the result enjoys the assent

of five Justices, ‘the holding of the Court must be viewed as

that position taken by those members who concurred in the

judgments on the narrowest grounds.”” King v. Palmer, 950

F.2d 771, 783 (D.C.Cir.1991) (quoting Marks v. United

States, 430 U.S. 188, 193, 97 S.Ct. 990, 51 L.Ed.2d 260

(1977)) (emphasis omitted).

If Eastern Enterprises does not stand for a single, distinct

approach to the problem before it, it nonetheless stands for a

clear principle: a liability that is severely retroactive, dis-

ruptive of settled expectations and wholly divorced from a

party’s experience may not constitutionally be imposed. We

draw that conclusion from the language offered both by the

plurality and by the concurrence. The plurality pointed out

that Supreme Court decisions “have left open the possibility

that legislation might be unconstitutional if it imposes severe

retroactive liability on a limited class of parties that could not

have anticipated the liability, and the extent of that liability is

that “[t]he plurality’s opinion disregards this requirement [that a specific

property right or interest be at stake] and, by removing this constant

characteristic from takings analysis, would expand an already difficult and ;

uncertain rule to a vast category of cases not deemed, in our law,

to implicate the Takings Clause.” /d. at__, 118 S.Ct. at 2155 (Kennedy,

J., concurring). -

29a

substantially disproportionate to the parties’ experience.”

Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S. at__, 118 S.Ct. at 2149. The

plurality then went on to criticize the assessment as “not

calibrated either to Eastern’s past actions or to any agree-

ment—implicit or otherwise—by the company,” rejecting the

liability on the grounds that it was “substantial in amount,

based on the employer’s conduct far in the past, and unrelated

to any commitment that the employers made or to any injury

they caused.” Jd. at___, 118 S.Ct. at 2153. Similarly, Justice

Kennedy, in his concurrence, looked to the “degree of retro-

active effect” as a “significant determinant” in assessing

a statute’s constitutionality. Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S.

at __, 118 S.Ct. at 2159 (Kennedy, J., concurring). Noting

that the retroactivity in Eastern was of “unprecedented

scope,” he concluded that, to the extent that Eastern was

responsible neither for the miners’ expectations of life-long

health benefits nor for the benefit plan’s fiscal instability, it

could not constitutionally be made to bear the burden

imposed by the Coal Act. /d.

The Eastern Enterprises test thus asks us to look more

broadly—whether through the lens of takings or due

process—at the equity of imposing retroactive liability if the

length of the retroactivity is great and the party’s experience

with the underlying problem inconsequential.

B. The Ruling Applied

In examining the factors which unified the plurality and the

concurrence in Eastern Enterprises, we begin first with the

magnitude of the retroactivity. Plaintiffs urge us to measure

the length of retroactivity from the time the utilities first

purchased uranium from the Government, on the grounds that

the assessment changes the consequences of transactions

dating back to those years. By plaintiffs’ calculations, the

assessment taxes Omaha and Sacramento on purchases made

twenty-three years before the statute’s enactment, and Maine—

Yankee on purchases made twenty-two years before that date.

30a

i. Retroactivity

While at first glance the length of time appear’ to rival the

thirty to fifty-year period found objectionable in Eastern

Enterprises, those numbers belie an important distinction:

Eastern Enterprises had left the coal business almost thirty

years before the Coal Act’s passage, and was no longer a

member of the industry either at the time the expectation of

lifetime benefits was fostered or at the time the existing

benefit fund became unstable. Plaintiffs, in contrast, con-

tinued to participate in the uranium enrichment field, in at

least one instance, up until the date of the Energy Policy Act’s

passage ’ and had, by definition, contemporaneous exposure

to the process (i.e., the enrichment) which created the

problem. While the import of that distinction may not be

immediately obvious, it goes to the heart of the case against

retroactive law-making. The objection to retroactivity is not

simply that a transaction is “reopened,” but that legitimate,

long-settled expectations are themselves disrupted. Put sim-

ply, retroactivity most offends when dealings an individual

reasonably views as both completed and long-past are,

without legitimate justification, again called into account.

We explain further.

To the extent that Eastern had left the coal business entirely

and had done so at a time when the driving forces behind the

Coal Act—the miner’s expectations of lifetime benefits and

the instability of the benefit fund—had yet to come into

existence, it could reasonably have concluded that its dealings

in the coal industry were complete. The Eastern Enterprises

decision taught in part that such thirty-year-old expectations

’ Omaha Public Power District continued to purchase government-

enriched uranium until 1992; Maine Yankee until 1986 and Sacramento

Municipal Utility District until 1981. In the case of Sacramento, however,

its contracts with the Government continued until 1990 even though it

had exercised opt-out provisions to permit its purchase of uranium from

other sources.

t

3la

should not be lightly undone. Plaintiffs’ situation offers no

parallel: unlike Eastern, they did not leave the industry

decades before the imposition of liability, nor were they

charged with remedying a problem that was still to be

recognized at the time they completed the conduct on which

their liability was later to be based. Plaintiffs, still purchasing

uranium well into the 1980s and 1990s (and presumably

aware, at Jeast in a general sense, of the problem of

contamination), could not reasonably have harbored the same

sense of closure with regard to those transactions as did the

plaintiff in Eastern Enterprises.

The Energy Policy Act’s retroactive effect extends, at most,

for less than a decade, though we see no need actually to

quantify that period. As intimated above, what concerns us is

not the length of the period per se--one could hardly maintain,

for instance, that an eleven-year reach-back is unacceptable

while a nine-year reach-back passes muster—but the reasons

for the retroactivity and the retroactivity’s effect. Eastern

Enterprises teaches that, even in the face of severe retro-

activity (not, we believe, the present situation), the extent of a

Statute’s retroactivity is not the only factor to be considered in

determining the legislation’s constitutionality. We turn then

to the other factors.

ii. Proportionality—Present Burden and Past Conduct

Significant also to the Eastern Enterprises analysis was the

fact that Eastern had no reason to anticipate the liability

imposed on it, and its burden was substantially dispro-

portionate to its experience. Focusing on the proportionality

of the current plaintiffs’ burden to their experience, we make

two general but crucial observations: the plaintiffs’ burden,

ultimately, was small, and its experience—at least for the

purposes of assigning liability—was great. We explore those

conclusions further.

32a

With regard to the magnitude of the liability, we begin with

the point that a lion’s share of the expense for the clean-up—

some 68%—is to be funded by Congress through public

appropriations. The utilities, from the beginning, were slated

only to shoulder less than a third of the total costs. In

addition, the Energy Policy Act contains a specific pass-

through mechanism, designed to ensure that the utilities’

present customers, rather than the utilities themselves, bear

the ultimate expense of the assessment.” That amount, spread

over a wide customer base and included as a present cost of

fuel, is a far less substantial burden—either on the utili-

ties or on its customers—than the one challenged in

Eastern Enterprises. .

Turning next to the experience criterion, we note first that

the calculation of liability was not, in the words of the

Supreme Court “made in a vacuum.” Eastern Enterprises,

524 U.S. at __, 118 S.Ct. at 2150 (quoting Connolly v.

Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp., 475 U.S. 211, 225, 106

S.Ct. 1018, 89 L.Ed.2d 166 (1986)). The assessments are

based on each utility’s pro rata consumption of uranium—a

method which explicitly allocates liability in direct proportion

to the amount of uranium received and used. In that respect,

then, the assessment is exactly as the Federal Circuit

described it in Yankee Atomic: “a general tax that falls

proportionally on all utilities that benefited from the DOE’s

uranium enrichment services.” Yankee Atomic, 112 F.3d at

1575. And as the Federal Circuit there recognized, “the costs

of large, unrecognized societal problems are frequently spread

among those who benefited from the source of the problem.”

Id. at 1576 n. 6.

8 42 U.S.C. § 2297g-1(g), titled “Treatment of assessment” provides

that “{aJny special assessment levied under this section . . . shall be

deemed a necessary and reasonable current cost of fuel and shall be fully

recoverable in rates in all jurisdictions in the same manner as the utility’s

other fuel costs.”

©

33a

Plaintiffs object to that justification on the grounds that it = _

was the U.S. military—rather than they—who allegedly

caused the contamination of the enrichment facilities. Yet

even if we were to accept plaintiffs’ contention that the

uranium sold to plaintiffs caused no additional contamination

(as indeed we must for the purposes of this motion), we

nonetheless conclude that plaintiffs received a benefit—i.e.,

the enriched uranium—made possible only through the prior

contamination of the plants. Thus, plaintiffs’ situation readily

accommodates itself to the observation noted by the Supreme

Court in United States v. Sperry Corp., 493 U.S. 52, 65, 110

S.Ct. 387, 107 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989) that “i]t is surely proper

for Congress to legislate retrospectively to ensure that costs of

a program are borne by the entire class of persons that

Congress rationa!ly believes should bear them.”

Plaintiffs respond that, to the extent that the enrichment

Services represented a benefit, it was a benefit for which they

had already paid in full through their contract price. Yet, as

discussed in Yankee Atomic, the assessment does not repre-

sent an increase in contract price, but rather the imposition of

liability to remedy a social ill. Yankee Atomic, 112 F.3d at

1575. And the fact that the contamination—a partial legacy

of plaintiffs’ dealings with the Government—exists, neces-

sarily means that there remain unpaid social costs of those

transactions. That plaintiffs could have purchased their

uranium elsewhere (and, as with Sacramento, did-in fact

do so) ’ is beside the point. The contamination clean-up is an

“actual, measurable cost of [the] business” in which plaintiffs

” As a result of competition from foreign uranium suppliers, including

facilities in France, Canada, Italy, Russia, China, India and England, the

Government’s share of the enrichment market declined from almost 100%

in the 1960s and 1970s to less than 50% in 1983. When foreign suppliers

offered lower prices—specifically in 1984, 1985, 1987, 1988 and 1990

Sacramento elected not to exercise its contract right to purchase uranium

from the Government in those years.

34a

chose to participate. Eastern Enterprises, 524 U.S. at __.,

i18 S.Ct. at 2159 (quoting Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining

Co., 428 U.S. 1, 19, 96 S.Ct. 2882, 49 L.Ed.2d 752 (1976)).

The question wheiher plaintiffs could have anticipated the

liability is an inquiry closely related, if not identical, to the

considerations which underpin our concerns about retroac-

tivity and experience. Retroactivity is largely objectionable,

for instance, to the extent it cannot be anticipated (with all the

concomitant issues such lack of notice engenders), and a

close experiential connection between the burdened party and

the fee imposed necessarily means that the liability should

have been anticipated. While we discuss below—in our

assessment of the reasonableness of their investment-backed

expectations—the extent to which plaintiffs might have

anticipated their Energy Policy Act liability, we note only that

plaintiffs’ participation in so highly regulated a field and their

receipt of benefit from that field should each have served as

notice of a possible future obligation. Heavy industry

regulation of the sort seen in the nuclear industry means that

few legislative changes can truly be seen as_ wholly

unanticipated. Atlas Corp. v. United States, 895 F.2d 745,

758 (Fed.Cir.1990). And, as a more general matter, those

who create a burden for society or who benefit from a

burden’s creation must be seen as implicitly accepting

responsibility and possessing constructive knowledge that

they may one day be called to account. -

Thus, none of the factors found crucial in Eastern

Enterprises—the length of the retroactivity, the unforeseen

nature of the assessment or the disconnect between Eastern’s

conduct and its resulting liability, militate against a finding of

constitutionality in the present case. In short, the assessment

is not an unlawful exaction.

35a

Ill. The Energy Policy Act as a Taking

In spite of the divided nature of the Eastern Enterprises

decision, however, plaintiffs nonetheless urge us to apply the

plurality’s takings analysis to find that the Energy Policy

assessment constitutes a compensable taking of plaintiffs’

property. Yet, despite our reservations about that approach,

we conclude that even when viewed through a traditional

takings analysis, plaintiffs’ claim must fail. None of the

factors cited in Eastern Enterprises—the economic impact of

the legislation, the reasonableness of plaintiffs’ investment-

backed expectations and the character of the government

action—support the finding of a taking of property. We

explain further.

As discussed above, the magnitude of the liability im-

posed on plaintiffs is sharply diminished by their ability

to pass through the costs to their customers. 42 U.S.C.

§ 2297g-1(g).'” The fact that the tax burden falls, as

Sacramento acknowledges, on Sacramento’s “current and

future ratepayers,” necessarily means that the economic im-

pact on Sacramento—limited perhaps to incidental costs of

collection—is slight. Thus, plaintiffs cannot show “any

deprivation significant enough to satisfy the heavy burden

placed upon one alleging a regulatory taking.” Keystone

Bituminous Coal Assn. v. De Benedictis, 480 U.S. 470, 493,

107 S.Ct. 1232, 94 L.Ed.2d 472 (1987).!!

Ge: Hughes Communications Galaxy, Inc. v. United States, 38 Fed.Cl.

578 (1997), a case provided to us by plaintiffs, does not reach a contrary

result. There, the court concluded in a breach of contract action that the

contractor’s ability to receive indemnification from third parties in no way

affected the measure of the damages resulting from the Government’s

breach. Such reasoning has no application in the takings context, where

the ability to pass on a cost speaks not to the measure of damages, but to

the economic impact of the challenged action.

''The fact that Maine Yankee ceased its operations in 1996 and

presumably can no longer pass on the fee to its customers does not change

36a

As to their investment-backed expectations, plaintiffs offer

a host of reasons why they reasonably did not expect to be

subject to the fee in question: the fixed-price nature of their

original contracts; the supplemental agreements of settlement

signed by Sacramento & Omaha purporting to settle all

claims; the statutory requirement that the prices as originally

set be sufficient to recover all costs; the settled expectations

of twenty-two year’s time; and the Government’s sole

possession and control of the enrichment facilities.

What that assessment overlooks, however, is the benefit

conferred on plaintiffs as a byproduct of the contamination’s

creation. Retroactive legislation is most suspect when it

deprives citizens of legitimate expectations. But legitimate

expectations cannot include an expectation of immunity from

legislation that imposes additional costs on activities from

which the plaintiff derived a prior benefit. As the Federal

Circuit has pointed out, a commercial expectation, harbored

in a field as regulated as the nuclear industry, that a company

will not have to “spend its own money to remediate health

and environmental hazards created by its own production of

uranium” is simply unreasonable. Atlas, 895 F.2d at 758.

In assessing the nature of the government action, the court

in Eastern Enterprises concluded that the liability was “quite

unusual” as it “singles out certain employers to bear a burden

that is substantial in amount, based on the employer’s conduct

far in the past, and unrelated to any commitment that the

employers made or to any injury they caused... .” Eastern

Enterprises, 524 U.S. at ___, 118 S.Ct. at 2153. But while

the analysis. Maine Yankee was in business at the time of the Energy

Policy Act’s passage, meaning that it, like the other domestic utilities to

which the act applied, was intended—and able—to pass on those costs.

That Maine Yankee later chgse to leave the industry, fully aware of

its existing obligations, cannot transform either the character of the

government action or the economic impact of the Act as it was

originally imposed.

37a

plaintiffs make much of the fact that, according to the Gov-

ermment’s own account, the contamination occurred during

the twenty years the facilities were operated: solely for

governmental purposes, we do not find that factor dispositive.

All indicators point to the fact that Congress, confronted

with a hazard created by uranium enrichment, looked for

partial contribution from those who created the demand for

the uranium.

Ultimately, it is that determination which most Sways us.

Whether we analyze the assessment under the Due Process

Clause, under the Takings Clause, or under some amalgam of

the two, we are, in the end, faced with a single, basic

question: Is it inherently unfair, unjust, or irrational for Con-

gress, when faced with costs resulting from the enrichment of

: uranium, to ask those parties who received the uranium to

contribute to the solution? The answer, quite Clearly, is no.

Plaintiffs’ assessments are directly proportional to their usage

of uranium enrichment services—the very services which

created the contamination. Congress itself took responsibility

for more than two thirds of the clean-up costs and assigned

the rest, as a general tax, to the rate- payers in districts which

had previously benefited from nuclear power. Such a scheme

can hardly be construed as beyond the reach of fairness or

rationality. Accordingly, we are bound to conclude there has

been no taking here.

IV. Equal Protection

Although the Energy Policy assessment comports, in our

view, with both takings law and due process, plaintiffs

nonetheless argue that the fee constitutes a violation of equal

protection. According to plaintiffs, the fact that foreign

utilities were exempted from the assessment impermissibly

differentiates between similarly-situated entities—i.e., all

those that had consumed government-enriched uranium. In

addition, plaintiffs contend, the Act draws an illegitimate

38a

distinction between purchasers who resold the uranium, and

those who kept it for their own purposes, as well as between

pre-1992 consumers (who are subject to the fee) and

post-1992 consumers (who are exempt).

The short answer to plaintiffs’ objection is that the drawing

of such categories neither implicates nor violates the 14th

Amendment. With regard to Congress’s decision to exempt

foreign utilities from liability, we refer to the Supreme

Court’s observation in Barclay & Co. v. Edwards, 267 U.S.

442, 451, 45 S.Ct. 135, 69 L.Ed. 703 (1924) that “[cJonsid-

erations of policy toward foreign countries may very well

justify an exemption of the foreign corporations from taxes

that might legitimately be imposed on them, but which

Congress does not think it wise to exact.” In addition, we

think it significant that, as defendant points out in its motion

to dismiss, the exclusion of foreign utilities from the liability

equation in no way increases or otherwise affects plaintiffs’

portion of domestic utility usage.

Similarly, legislatures need not burden the most respon-

sible party to survive rational basis review. Association

of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246,

1255-56 (D.C.Cir.1998). While the original purchasers of

uranium (those who resold it and were therefore exempt from

assessment) may seem, to plaintiffs, equally to have benefited

from the enrichment services, we cannot conclude that

Congress s decision to target end-users was without rational

basis. And although plaintiffs may have preferred a system

under which USEC’s post-1992 customers likewise picked up

the tab, Congress’s assignment of liability for a past problem

to past consumers does not. stretch the limits of the

reasonable.

Accordingly, plaintiffs’ equal protection challenge, like its

takings and due process claims, must fail.

39a

CONCLUSION

In apportioning the costs of modern life, Congress must

often determine which expenses should properly be seen as

liabilities belonging to society as a whole, and which should

instead be treated as obligations of a smaller subset of the

population. Congress could reasonably have determined that

plaintiffs, along with other recipients of government-enriched

uranium, were the beneficiaries of the pracess through which

the uranium plants became contaminated. The fact that

plaintiffs may not have caused the contamination, and indeed

may simply have received a benefit from uranium plants

long- contaminated before plaintiffs’ arrival on the scene,

does not diminish their accountability. The burden imposed

on plaintiffs by the Energy Policy Act is not impermissibly

substantial, nor unduly retroactive, nor unacceptably divorced

from plaintiffs’ experience with the program so as to violate

any constitutional mandate. Plaintif’s have suffered no

unconstitutional taking nor other unlawful exaction of their

funds. We therefore grant defendant’s motion to dismiss and

direct the entry of judgment accordingly.

40a

APPENDIX C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FEDERAL CIRCUIT

No. 00-5069

COMMONWEALTH EDISON COMPANY,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

v.

UNITED STATES,

Defendant-Appellee.

Nov. 20, 2001

Before MAYER, Chief Judge, NEWMAN, MICHEL,

LOURIE, CLEVENGER, RADER, SCHALL, BRYSON,

GAJARSA, LINN, and DYK, Circuit Judges.”

DYK, Circuit Judge.

This case is one of a large number of cases brought in the

Court of Federal Claims challenging the constitutionality of

the Energy Policy Act of 1992, Pub.L. No. 102-486, 106 Stat.

2776 (codified as amended in various sections of 42 U.S.C.)

(“EPACT” or “the Act’), which imposes special monetary

assessments on domestic utilities for the remediation of

environmentally contaminated uranium processing facilities

owned by the United States. See 42 U.S.C. § 2297g 1. After

argument before a panel on April 4, 2001, we sua sponte

ordered that the case be heard in banc without additional

briefing. The case was heard in banc on October 3, 2001.

* Circuit Judge Prost, who entered on duty on October 3, 2001, has not

participated in the disposition of this case.

weet i

4la

In light of our decision in Consolidated Edison Co. v.

United States, 247 F.3d 1378 (Fed.Cir.2001),! Edison’s

request for a stay of the proceedings in the Court of Federal

Claims has become moot.

On the merits, we conclude that requiring plaintiff

Commonwealth Edison Company (“Edison”) and the other

domestic utilities that benefited from the uranium processing

services to contribute to the remediation costs does not

constitute a Fifth Amendment taking because the Takings

Clause does not apply to legislation requiring the payment of

money. We also conclude that the Act does not violate the

Due Process Clause of the Fifth Amendment. The retroactive

application of the Act rationally furthers a legitimate

legislative objective—the remediation of contaminated facili-

ties used by the United States to process uranium for

domestic utilities. Congress reasonably concluded that the

utilities received benefits from the processing and that the

utility processing contributed to the contamination. Liability

was imposed on those utilities for only a portion of the

cleanup costs. As a matter of law, Edison and other similarly

situated utilities could have reasonably expected to be liable

for a share of the remediation costs arising from the

contamination of the processing facilities. Edison’s other

arguments on the merits are foreclosed by our decision in

Yankee Atomic Electric Co. v. United States, 112 F.3d 1569

(Fed.Cir.1997), cert. denied, 524 U.S. 951, 118 S.Ct. 2365,

141 L.Ed.2d 735 (1998).

We therefore dismiss as moot the appeal from the denial of

the stay request and affirm the decision of the Court of

Federal Claims dismissing the complaint.

' This opinion replaced our previous decision in that case, reported at

234 F.3d 642 (Fed.Cir.2000).

42a

This case arises against the background of our earlier decision

in Yankee Atomic where we rejected contentions that EPACT

breached uranium processing contracts between Yankee Atomic

Electric Co. (“Yankee Atomic’) and the United States and

constituted a taking of those contract rights. Some of the claims

asserted by Edison are the same as those asserted in Yankee

Atomic. Edison also claims that the statutory obligation to pay

money to the government constitutes a taking of that money,

and that the retroactivity of the Act renders it unconstitutional

under the Due Process Clause.

Resolution of this appeal requires a brief overview of the

history of the United States government’s involvement in the

enrichment of low-grade uranium for Edison and other

domestic utilities, as well as the provisions of EPACT.

The uranium processing facilities involved here were

originally constructed and operated by the United States

government for national defense purposes. Between 1945

and 1970, approximately 96% of the enriched uranium

produced by the government was used for weapons

production. These facilities were also capable of producing

enriched uranium for nuclear power reactors.

Before 1954, United States law permitted only the United

States government to own nuclear power reactors. In 1954,

however, Congress enacted amendments to the Atomic

Energy Act of 1954, Pub.L. No. 83-703, 68 Stat. 919, which

for the first time authorized private ownership of nuclear

power reactors. The government extensively regulated these

reactors, inter alia, “to protect the health and safety of the

public” from the possible environmental hazards. /d. at § 2

(codified as amended at 42 U.S.C. § 2210).

Plaintiff Edison is a domestic utility company with its

principal place of business in Illinois. Beginning in 1960,

Edison owned and operated nuclear reactors, which it used to

Ee ee

os

43a

customers in lilinois. ‘Thosé nuclear reactors, in turn,”

required enriched uranium.

Edison alleges that in 1960 it began to “purchase or lease”

enrichment services from the government. However, we note

that until 1964 the government retained strict control over the

technology used to enrich low-grade uranium for use in

nuclear reactors, and barred private ownership of enriched

uranium. In that year, Congress passed the Private

Ownership of Special Nuclear Materials Act, Pub.L. No. 88-

489, 78 Stat. 602 (1964), which authorized the private

ownership of enriched uranium. After the passage of that act,

the government began to offer uranium enrichment services

to commercial customers like Edison.

Beginning in 1969, Edison entered into a series of

multi-year contracts with the United States government in

which Edison agreed to purchase uranium enrichment

services from the United States. Those enrichment services

were provided at enrichment plants operated first by the

Atomic Energy Commission and later (beginning in 1974) by

the Energy Research and Development Administration and,

ultimately (beginning in 1977) by the Department of Energy

(collectively, “DOE”).

Under those contracts, Edison delivered low-grade uranium

to the government-owned facilities for enrichment. The

government took title to the low-grade uranium, processed

the uranium, and returned enriched uranium to Edision. The

enrichment services were measured in terms of “separative

work units” (“SWUs”). The plaintiff here, like other

domestic utilities, paid for the services by multiplying the

number of SWUs provided by the unit price set forth in its

contracts with the government. Although the utilities’

contracts varied somewhat, each stated that the price paid by

the utility for the enrichment services would be based on an

“established Commission pricing policy,” defined under the

44a

owe i AM. A the time the cervice WAS

rendered. A ‘mae of these contracts also capped the

maximum per unit charge for the enrichment services.

Edison alleges in its complaint that it purchased a portion of

its uranium enrichment services “with the Government’s

knowledge and consent, from other sources.” First Amended

Complaint of Plaintiff-Appellant Commonwealth Edison

Company (hereinafter “Complaint’”) at ¥ 50.

Edison alleges that “[b]y the late 1970s and early 1980s,

foreign suppliers of uranium enrichment services emerged,

threatening the Government’s monopoly power and creating

Significant competition for the Government.” /d. at ¥ 41.

Edison further alleges that the Government’s share of the

uranium processing market “declined substantially, from

nearly 100% in the 1960s and 1970s, to below 50% in 1983.”

Id. Edison elected, however, to continue to use government

processing facilities even though those foreign alternatives

became available.

In January 1984, the government developed a standard

requirements-type contract for uranium enrichment services,

referred to as a Utility Services Contract. In July 1984,

Edison entered into a Utility Services Contract after

terminating all of its existing uranium enrichment services

contracts with the government through a Supplemental

Agreement of Settlement (“Setthement Agreement”). This

Utility Services Contract, like the previous contracts, charged

the utilities for the services according to the “established

pricing policy,” and likewise capped the maximum unit

charge. It appears that the government developed this Utility

Services Contract, at least in part, at the request of Edison and

the other domestic utilities.

As a result of the government’s use of the processing

facilities for national defense purposes, they had become

contaminated, even before the utilities’ uranium processing

commenced. Although Edison alleges that the facilities were

»

PEST EMO ~ recipe a oe S Po ae

Pp See eae AW AT, FA HE 4, | fawen 2 as Cle Pee ee,

i are Oe

#

=a:

+

i

:

45a

“fully contaminated with radioactive and other hazardous

materials” before they began to be used for the processing of

the utilities’ uranium, Complaint at 4 23, there is no question

that the processing of the utilities’ uranium caused the same

type of contamination as the government’s earlier use of the

facilities to enrich uranium for weapons purposes. Indeed,

Edison at oral argument specifically conceded that that was

the case, and agreed that contamination cleanup costs are

incurred any time uranium is enriched, including when it is

enriched for the benefit of the utilities. Edison alleged,

however, that the cleanup costs were not “materially”

increased by the later contamination resulting from the utility

uranium processing.”

? At oral argument, counsel for Edison explained Edison’s contribution

to the contamination as follows:

COUNSEL FOR EDISON: If it can be demonstrated—in our cases

there’s nothing in the record—but if it can be demonstrated that

there was additional cost associated with the enrichment being—

services provided to the commercial utilities, then perhaps there

would be an argument that we have a certain responsibility. . . .

THE COURT: Well, of course there are. You can’t run a nuclear

enrichment program without creating contamination, so of course-

we can quarrel about exactly how to measure them or how big they

are, but of course there are contamination cleanup costs.

COUNSEL FOR EDISON: There are. Let me try to make an

analogy. . . . I know in terms of nuclear utilities, when they have

boiling water, nuclear generated, and they periodically are required

to decontaminate, what they do is they have these very large deep

swimming pool type reactors. What they do is paint the well of the

reactor with a rubberized paint that the contamination adheres to.

Then they peel that paint off and the—. . . The contamination

adheres to that paint. So regardless of whether there is a half inch of

contamination or a full inch of contamination, all the contamination

adheres to that rubberized paint and you just peel it off, and the cost

is no more.

THE COURT: Well, that’s basically your point, that the processing

of the utilities’ uranium caused pollution, but it didn’t cost any more

46a

Edison also admits in its complaint that the obligation to

decontaminate and decommission the facilities “was an

obligation well understood by operators of nuclear facilities

throughout the industry.” Complaint at J 31. Although the

contracts provided for recovery of the government’s costs of

operating the plants and fixed the price as of the time of

delivery, the original contracts, the Utility Services Contract,

and the Settlement Agreement did not expressly preclude (or

even address) the government’s future assignment to Edison

of any remediation costs for the decontamination of the

government’s uranium enrichment facilities.’

These remediation costs were addressed by Congress in

1992. Faced with its declining share of the uranium

processing market, Congress decided to restructure the

government’s uranium processing services in order to remain

competitive with its overseas providers. Congress created a

new, for-profit, governmental corporation called the United

States Enrichment Corporation (“USEC”) to provide those

services to Edison and other domestic utilities.

to clean it up than it would have cost to clean up the weapons

pollution, right?

COUNSEL FOR EDISON: Exactly. Yes, Sir.

* The Utility Services Contract merely stated, in pertinent part, that:

[T]he Customer and DOE desire to terminate all previous long-term

contracts between the Customer and DOE for the furnishing of

uranium enrichment services in order to accommodate the

Customer’ s desire to obtain such services under the Utility Services

form of uranium enrichment services contract... .

(Emphasis added.). That contract further provided that “the unit charge

for enrichment services under this contract shall not exceed a ceiling

charge of $135.00 per separative work unit through September 30, 1985.”

The Settlement Agreement provided that “the Government agrees that all

obligations arising under the [previous] contracts or by reason of their

termination shall be deemed to be concluded.”

47a

At the same time that it created the USEC, Congress in

EPACT addressed the need to decontaminate and decom-

mission the government’s uranium enrichment facilities. The

DOE “estimated that the total cost of this clean up could

exceed $20 billion over 40 years, which amounted to about

$500 million per year, indexed to inflation.” Yankee Atomic,

112 F.3d at 1572. As this court noted in Yankee Atomic,

“[b]ecause [the magnitude of] this decontamination and

decommissioning fiscal problem was not [fully] recognized

until the 1980s, the prices charged in the Government’s past

uranium enrichment contracts had not accounted for the

problem.” /d.

EPACT established a Uranium Enrichment Deconta-

mination and Decommissioning Fund (the “Fund”) to

accumulate over a fifteen-year period the funds necessary to

remediate the uranium enrichment facilities. 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2297g, 2297g 1. The Act provided that the costs were to

be shared by the government and those domestic utilities that

benefited from processing at government facilities. The Act

accordingly provided that the annual deposits of $480 million

(adjusted for inflation) would come from two sources: (1) up

to $150 million (or up to approximately 32% of the total

amount) was to be collected as a special assessment from

domestic utilities* that purchased (on the primary or

secondary markets) the uranium enriched at these facilities:

and (2) the balance of at least $330 million-the lion’s share of

the costs, amounting to at least 68%-was to be paid by the

goverment. The Act further provided that the imposition of

these special assessments on Edison and the other utilities

would cease after the earlier of 15 years after October 24,

1992 (the date of EPACT’s enactment) or the collection of

* The implementing regulations for the Fund defined “domestic utility”

as any utility in the United States that purchased SWUs from the

government between 1945 and October 23, 1992. See 10 CER.

§ 766.3. It is undisputed that Edison meets this definition.

48a

$2.25 billion (again adjusted for inflation) from the domestic

utilities. See 42 U.S.C. § 2297g-1.

Under the Act, the special assessment imposed on each

domestic utility was based on the percentage of SWUs

purchased from the DOE relative to the total number of

SWUs produced by the DOE. 42 U.S.C. § 2297g-1(c). As

noted above, the Aci provided that a domestic utility was

considered to have purchased a SWU from the DOE if the

SWU was originally produced by the DOE, even if the utility

actually purchased it from another source. Similarly, a utility

was not considered to have purchased a SWU from the DOE

if it subsequently resold that SWU to another utility. As this

court noted in Yankee Atomic, “[iJn sum, the Act impose[d]

the assessment upon whichever utility company eventually

use [d] the enrichment services.” 112 F.3d at 1572.

Two groups of purchasers of uranium enrichment services

were exempt from the special assessment: (1) domestic

utilities that purchased USEC services any time after 1992;

and (2) foreign utilities, which represented 25% of DOE’s

pre-1992 customer base. See Commonwealth Edison Co. v.

United State:, 46 Fed. Cl. 29, 33 n. 1 (2000); see also

Complaint at ¥ 25 (alleging that sales to foreign utilities

historically ‘accounted for approximately 25% of the

Government’s commercial uranium enrichment market’).

EPACT also provided the utilities with a “pass-through”

provision, providing in pertinent part that the special

assessment “shall be deemed a necessary and reasonable

current cost of fuel and shall be fully recoverable in rates in

all jurisdictions in the same’ manner as the utility’s other fuel

cost.” 42 U.S.C. § 2297g-1(g). This statutorily mandated

pass-through provision was binding on state regulatory

agencies. See Mississippi Power & Light Co. v. Mississippi,

487 U.S. 354, 369-72, 108 S.Ct. 2428, 101 L.Ed.2d 322

(1988); Nantahala Power & Light Co. v. Thornburg, 476

U.S. 953, 962-65, 106 S.Ct. 2349, 90 L.Ed.2d 943 (1986). At

49a

oral argument, counsel for Edison conceded that Edison

sought to recover the costs of the special assessment by

passing the costs through to Edison’s customers, though

counsel expressed some doubt whether Edison recovered

those costs in light of deregulation of the market and the

competitive rates that deregulation produced.

The cost-sharing provisions were enacted after “much

congressional debate over the issue of how these costs should

be recovered, especially to what extent DOE’s nuclear utility

customers should be expected to share in paying for these

costs.” 138 Cong. Rec. H11,399, H1 1,401 (1992) (statement

of Rep. Phillip Sharp on Conference Report), reprinted in

Senate Comm. On Energy & Natural Res., 103d Congress 2d.

Sess., 6 Legislative History of the Energy Policy Act of 1992,

~ at 4519, 4553 (Comm. Print 1994). Ultimately, the utilities’

share was limited to 32% even though the House Report

concluded that “[h]istorical production from these plants

ha[d] been divided almost evenly between the government

and commercial sectors.” H.R.Rep. No. 102-474(I), at 144

(1992), reprinted in 1992 U.S.C.C.A.N. 1953, 1967.

Indeed, Edison and other utilities participated actively in

shaping the legislation that became EPACT and approved the

concept of cost sharing. See Comprehensive National Energy

Policy Act: Hearings on H.R. 776 Before the House Comm.

on Ways & Means, 102d Cong. 170-83 (1992) (“Committee

Hearings I”). During the course of EPACT’s consideration,

the House Committee on Energy and Commerce proposed to

impose “a $419 million annual liability, or a $9 billion

[liability] over 20 years,” on the utility industry for

remediation of the enrichment facilities. Jd. at 181. In

Edison’s case the company estimated that this funding

Proposal, if enacted, would increase its uranium enrichment

costs by “one third” over the amount it had already agreed

to pay. Id.

50a

In the hearings on EPACT, Edison’s President complained

that the industry was being asked to pay a “disproportionate

share” of the costs, and, as in the present Complaint, stated

that “virtually all the contamination at [the government

enrichment] facilities occurred during the first 20 years of

operations, when operations were strictly for the defense

program.” Jd. at 180-81 (statement of Bide L. Thomas,

President, Commonwealth Edison Co., et al.).° Edison

offered no independent study of the industry’s relative

contribution to the contamination and relied entirely on the

testimony of the Department of Energy. That testimony, by

Assistant Secretary for Nuclear Energy William Young, was

that “there is additional pollution in the area of the sites [of

_the enrichment facilities] because of commercial operations

subsequent to the exclusive operation [of the facilities] for the

government.” Department of Energy Budget Request for

Fiscal Year 1993: Oversight Hearing Before the Subcomm.

On Energy and the Env’ t of the House Comm. on Interior and

Insular Affairs, 102d Cong. 80 (1992) (“Committee Hearings

II’). He estimated the remediation costs for that portion of

the pollution attributable to the enrichment of the utilities’

uranium amounted to approximately $1.6 billion, out of a

total cost of approximately $18.5 billion. He concluded

that “[i]f you look at it from a polluter-pays basis, about

$1.6 billion of that $18.5 billion would be properly allocated

to commercial customers” of the enrichment facilities.

Id. at 79.°

* This testimony was a joint statement of Bide L. Thomas; Michael R.

Peevey, President, Southern California Edison Co.; and Joseph M. Farley,

Chairman and Chief Executive Officer, Southern Nuclear Operating Co.

See id. at 178.

° Assistant Secretary Young further explained this proposed allocation

when questioned by Representative Kostmayer during his testimony:

MR. KOSTMAYER: Who else did the polluting besides the

government?

Sla

Based on Edison’s view of the industry’s responsibility for

the contamination, Edison reaffirmed its and other utilities’

“willingness to pay a fair share of the [decontamination and

decommissioning costs] for these [enrichment] facilities.”

Committee Hearings I at 182; see also id. at 172 (“[T]he

industry is willing to participate in the cleanup program

....') (testimony of Bide L. Thomas, President, Common-

MR. YOUNG: In some cases, there is additional pollution in the

area of the sites because of [the] commercial operations subsequent

to the exclusive operation for the government. Some of the tailings

are there as a result of commercial operations, for example.

MR. KOSTMAYER: Commercial operations conducted by some

party other than the government?

MR. YOUNG: No, no. We have run the diffusion plants. A certain

amount of the tails are there because of [the] SWUs produced for

the government. Another certain amount of the tails are there

because of SWUs produced for commercial customers.

MR. YOUNG: ... The largest piece of [the estimated total cleanup

cost] is $14 billion which is [decontamination and

decommissioning] of the buildings and systems themselves. Of

that, because of the government operation having led to the

contamination, we are saying the government would pay 100

percent of that.

There are two other elements of the cleanup that has got to take

place. One is on the grounds around the facilities and we are saying

that some of the contamination that occurred in the ground resulted

not solely from the 20 years of government operation, but a

measurable amount more resulted from the commercial-or operation

to the benefit of commercial customers. And since we did not pass

those costs on in the past, we feel it is equitable to pass those costs

on in the future.

Further, with the tails, some of the tails were created for the benefit

of commercial customers, and the portion that was, and again, not

passed on in the past, we feel it is equitable to pass it on to

commercial customers at this time.

Committee Hearings II at 80-81.

52a

wealth Edison Company). But Edison and other utilities

objected that their share should not exceed the $1.6 billion

estimated by the Department of Energy, and sought “a cap to

protect ratepayers from being assessed more than their fair

share of costs.” /d. at 181. Edison and other utilities urged

Congress to adopt a compromise funding proposal-one

adopted by the House Committee on Science, Space and

Technology (the “Science Committee”)—that would have

capped the utilities’ liability for the remediation costs at $2.5

billion. Edison and two other utilities stated, on behalf of

themselves and two industry interest groups,” that:

While $2.5 billion is significantly more than the

$1.6 billion that DOE estimates the civilian sector

should contribute [to the remediation of the enrichment

facilities], the industry is willing to accept this

compromise in the interest of providing certain liability

levels and to move forward with this restructuring

legislation and [decontamination and decommissioning]

program.

Id. at 182. (Emphasis added.). The liability cap proposed by

the Science Committee, which Edison viewed as protecting

its ratepayers from paying more than “their fair share of

[remediation] ccsts,” essentially became the cap in the

legislation that Edison now challenges, though the ultimate

liability of the atilities under the enacted legislation was

more certain than under the Science Committee proposal. See

42 U.S.C. § 2297-1.

’ These interest sroups were the American Nuclear Energy Council

(“ANEC”) and the Edison Electric Institute (“EET”). ANEC “represents

over 100 domestic aid international organizations that have an interest in

nuclear energy.” E3I, in turn, “is the national association of investor-

owned electric companies” and represents “approximately three-quarters

of all American electricity customers.” Committee Hearings I at 178.

53a

Following the enactment of EPACT in 1992, as well as

corresponding DOE regulations implementing EPACT, the

government assessed Edison and similarly situated domestic

utilities on an annual basis for each utility’s share of the

special assessment. Edison alleges that as of the date

of the complaint, it had paid the government approximately

$95.5 million in seven special assessments for the decontam-

ination and decommissioning of the enrichment facilities.

These special assessments covered the period from 1969,

when Edison first began to purchase uranium processing

services from the government, until 1992, the year of

EPACT’s enactment.

PROCEEDINGS BELOW

On April 9, 1997, Edison commenced an action in the

Court of Federal Claims challenging the legality of the

special assessments authorized by the Act. Edison’s original

complaint alleged that the special assessment breached its .

contracts with the government by retroactively increasing the

cost of the uranium enrichment services and constituted an

impermissible taking of those contracts in violation of the

Fifth Amendment. See, e.g., Original Complaint of Plaintiff

Appellant Commonwealth Edison Company at §§ 53, 68-69.

On May 6, 1997, during the pendency of Edison’s action, this

court issued its decision in Yankee Atomic rejecting identical

claims made by another utility.

Following our decision in Yankee Atomic, Edison filed a

new and separate action for declaratory and injunctive relief

in the United States District Court for the Southern District of

New York seeking to invalidate EPACT and to bar the

government from attempting to compel future payments

under the Act (the “New York action”). The district court

subsequently denied a motion by the United States to transfer

the case to the Court of Federal Claims. Consol. Edison Co.

- v. United States, 45 F.Supp.2d 331 (S.D.N.Y.1999). In

54a

Consol. Edison Co. v. United States, Dept. of Energy, 247

F.3d 1378 (Fed.Cir.2001), we reversed that decision and

instructed the district court to transfer the New York action to

the Court of Federal Claims for adjudication.

On November 6, 1998, Edison also filed a motion in the

Court of Federal Claims to stay proceedings in that court

pending resolution of the New York action. On February 2,

1999, Edison amended its original complaint in the Court of

Federal Claims to state new and additional theories for

recovery. The amended complaint stated essentially three

theories for recovery. Edison alleged that the special

assessments imposed by EPACT: (1) constituted an unlawful

taking of money undef the Takings Clause of the Fifth

Amendment; (2) constituted a breach of contract, inasmuch

as “[t]he fixed price nature of [Edison’s] enrichment

contracts, coupled with the additional release granted by the

Government pursuant to the termination of certain of those

contracts, provided [Edison] with an unmistakable promise

that it would not be subject to future liability to the

Government based upon its contractual purchases of

enrichment services”; and (3) constituted an illegal exaction

in violation of the Due Process Clause of that amendment.

The government moved to dismiss the amended complaint for

failure to state a claim.

On February 3, 2000, the Court of Federal Claims denied

Edison’s motion for a stay, noting, in part, that the original

action in the Court of Federal Claims was the first filed action

and that it “has the jurisdiction to rule on each of the counts

in the amended complaint and thus need not defer to the

district court’s broader jurisdiction.” Commonwealth Edison,

46 Fed. Cl. at 34. In a well-reasoned opinion, the Court of

Federal Claims also granted the government’s motion to

dismiss, concluding that neither the old nor new theories of

recovery stated a claim. That court rejected Edison’s first

claim—that EPACT constituted an impermissible taking of

55a 2

Edison’s property without just compensation—on the ground

that “a government-imposed payment of money cannot result

in a compensable taking.” /d. at 41.

The court dismissed the utility’s claim that the imposition

of the special assessments constituted a taking of its contract

rights with the government, finding that “this issue. was

squarely addressed” in this court’s decision in Yankee Atomic.

Id. at 46. In reaching this conclusion, the court rejected

Edison’s arguments that its contracts with the government

were significantly different from those contracts at issue in

Yankee Atomic. Id. 5

Finally, the court rejected Edison’s claim that the special

assessment constituted an illegal exaction barred under the

Due Process Clause. Recognizing the~ well-established

principle that “an economic statute, such as the Energy Policy

Act, comes to the court with a presumption of validity,”

id. at 43, the Court of Federal Claims determined that

although the Act is indeed retroactive, “it cannot be said that

the retroactivity of the Act is irrational or that that

retroactivity unfairly impacted on the plaintiff.” Jd. at 44

(citing Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co., 428 U.S. 1, 18,

96 S.Ct. 2882, 49 L.Ed.2d 752 (1976)). The court further

held that “the liability imposed by the special assessment is

neither disproportional nor excessive,” as EPACT imposed

“liability only on those utilities that benefited from the

government’s uranium enrichment services.” /d. at 45.

This timely appeal followed. We have jurisdiction over

this appeal pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1295(a)(3).*

* Amicus Curiae briefs in support of Edison were filed in this

case by Sacramento Municipal Utility District and Maine Yankee Atomic

Power Co.

56a

DISCUSSION

I

As an initial matter, we note that the decision of the Court

of Federal Claims to deny Edison’s request for a stay of those

proceedings pending resolution of the New York action is

now moot, in light of our decision in Consolidated Edison,

247 F.3d 1378, in which we instructed the United States

District Court for the Southern District of New York to

transfer that action to the Court of Federal Claims.

Accordingly, the only question before us is whether the

Court of Federal Claims erred in dismissing this action for

failure to state a claim upon which relief may be granted. We

review that decision without deference. First Hartford Corp.

Pension Plan & Trust v. United States, 194 F.3d 1279, 1286-

87 (Fed.Cir.1999). In so doing, we also “assume that all

well-pled factual assertions are true and make all reasonable

inferences in favor of’ Commonwealth Edison, New Valley

Corp. v. United States, 119 F.3d 1576, 1580 (Fed.Cir.1997),

to the extent that such allegations are relevant to the

constitutional issues.

7 II

Ever since the New Deal Supreme Court’s discarding of

the Lochner ” line of substantive due process cases, the Court

has repeatedly held that economic legislation “adjusting the

burdens and benefits of economic life” is to be judged under a

deferential standard. Usery v. Turner Elkhorn Mining Co.,

428 U.S. 1, 15, 96 S.Ct. 2882, 49 L.Ed.2d 752 (1976). There

remain, however, at least three areas in which judicial review

of federal legislation imposing regulatory burdens still bites.

Not surprisingly, Edison relies on each of these three theories.

* Lochner v. New York, 198 U.S. 45, 25 S.Ct. 539, 49 L.Ed.

937 (1905).

57a

First, there are the takings cases, in which the government

is alleged to have taken property without just compensation

under the Fifth Amendment. The Supreme Court has made

Clear that government regulation can constitute a taking of

property requiring compensation. See, e.g., Lucas v. So.

Carolina Coastal Council, 505 U.S. 1003, 1027-28, 112 S.Ct.

2886, 120 L.Ed.2d 798 (1992). It is also clear that a fund of

money can be property protected under the Takings Clause.

See Phillips v. Washington Legal Found., 524 U.S. 156, 160,

118 S.Ct. 1925, 141 L.Ed.2d 174 (1998) (holding that interest

income generated by funds held in IOLTA accounts is private

property of the owner of the principal for purposes of the

Takings Clause); see also Webb’s Fabulous Pharmacies, Inc.

v. Beckwith, 449 U.S. 155, 164-65, 101 S.Ct. 446, 66 L.Ed.2d

358 (1980) (holding that the Takings Clause can apply to

monetary interest generated from the operation of a specific,

separately identifiable fund of money). However, although a

minority of the Supreme Court has urged that a taking can

occur when Congress has imposed an obligation to pay

money, see Eastern Enterprises v. Apfel, 524 U.S. 498, 537,

118 S.Ct. 2131, 141 L.Ed.2d 451 (1998), we are bound to

follow the views of a majority of the Supreme Court.

In United States v. Sperry Corp., 493 U.S. 52, 110 S.Ct.

387, 107 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989), the Supreme Court held that a

federal statute that required the payment of a portion of an

arbitral award from the Iran-United States Claim Tribunal to

the United States government did not violate the Takings

Clause because, in part, “[i]t is artificial to view deductions of

a percentage of a monetary award as physical appropriations

of property. Unlike real or personal property, money is

fungible.” /d. at 62 n. 9, 110 S.Ct. 387.

In Eastern Enterprises, five justices of the Court rejected

the theory that an obligation to pay money constitutes a

taking. There, the Supreme Court confronted a constitutional

challenge to the retroactive liability provisions of the Coal

58a

Industry Retiree Health Benefit Act of 1992, codified at

26 U.S.C. §§ 9701-9722 (the “Coal Act”). The Coal Acct

required coal operators such as petitioner Eastern Enterprises

(“Eastern”) to fund future health benefits of current and

former coal mine employees. There was no majority opinion

of the Supreme Court. Writing for the plurality, Justice

O’Connor, joined by three other justices, concluded that the

retroactive impact of the Coal Act as applied to Eastern

Enterprises resulted in an unconstitutional taking of property

because it placed a “severe, disproportionate and extremely

retroactive burden on Eastern.” Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. at

538, 118 S.Ct. 2131.

Justice Kennedy in his concurrence, however, disagreed

with the plurality’s conclusion that the Coal Act resulted in an

unconstitutional taking of property:

Our cases do not support the plurality’s conclusion that

the Coal Act takes property. The Coal Act imposes a

staggering financial burden on the petitioner, Eastern

Enterprises, but it regulates the former mine owner

without regard to property. It does not operate upon or

alter an identified property interest, and it is not

applicable to or measured by a property interest. The

Coal Act does not appropriate, transfer, or encumber an

estate in land (e.g., a lien on a particular piece of

property), a valuable interest in an intangible (e.g.,

intellectual property), or even a bank account or accrued

interest. The law simply imposes an obligation to

perform an act, the payment of benefits. —-

Id. at 540, 118 S.Ct. 2131. The four dissenters in Eastern

Enterprises (Justices Stevens, Souter, Ginbsurg, and Breyer)

agreed that the Takings Clause was not implicated because

“(t]he ‘private property’ upon which the [Takings] Clause

traditionally has focused is a specific interest in physical or

intellectual property. . . . This case involves not an interest in

59a

physical or intellectual property, but an ordinary liability

to pay money... .” /d. at 554, 118 S.Ct. 2131 (Citations

omitted.).

Thus five justices of the Supreme Court in Eastern

Enterprises agreed that regulatory actions requiring the

payment of money are not takings.'? We agree with the

prevailing view that we are obligated to follow the views of

that majority.

This court has similarly concluded that the imposition of an

obligation to pay money does not constitute an unconstitu-

tional taking of property. In Atlas Corp. v. United States, 895

F.2d 745 (Fed.Cir.), cert. denied, 498 U.S. 811, 111 S.Ct. 46,

112 L.Ed.2d 22 (1990), for example, we considered the

constitutionality of the Uranium Mill Tailings Radiation

'° See Parella v. Ret. Bd. of the R.I. Employees’ Retirement Sys., 173

F.3d 46, 58 (ist Cir.1999) (upholding state statute temporarily with-

holding excess retirement benefits against a Takings Clause challenge

because “a majority of justices found that the Takings Clause did not

apply under the facts of Eastern Enterprises, because they concluded that

a Takings Clause issue can arise only after a plaintiff’s property right has

been independently established”); Unity Real Estate Co. v. Hudson, 178

F.3d 649, 659 (3d Cir.) (“[W]e are bound to follow the five-four vote

against the takings claim in Eastern.”), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 963, 120

S.Ct. 396, 145 L.Ed.2d 309 (1999); Holland v. Big River Minerals Corp.,

181 F.3d 597, 606 (4th Cir.1999) (following Supreme Court in holding

Takings Clause inapplicable to the Coal Act because five Justices in

Eastern Enterprises reasoned that “no identifiable property interest was

infringed by the legislation”), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 1117, 120 S.Ct. 936,

145 L.Ed.2d 814 (2000); but see U.S. Fidelity & Guar. Co. v. McKeithen,

226 F.3d 412, 416 (Sth Cir.2000) (citing Eastern Enterprises but

analyzing a Takings Clause challenge to retroactive assessments under the

Louisiana Workers’ Compensation Fund under ad hoc, fact-specific

factors), cert. denied, __U.S.__, 121 S.Ct. 1360, 149 L.Ed.2d 289

(2001); United States v. Hercules, Inc., 247 F.3d 706, 722 (8th Cir.2001)

(stating that “inquiry into the constitutionality of CERCLA . . . would be

‘essentially ad hoc and fact intensive’” (quoting Eastern Enterprises, 524

U.S. at 523, 118 S.Ct. 2131)).

60a

Control Act (*“UMTRCA”), Pub.L. No. 95-604, 92 Stat. 3021

(1978), which required that uranium producers spend large

sums of money to clean up uranium tailings piles, a by-

product of uranium manufacture. We held that the

UMTRCA’s imposition of the obligation to pay money to

clean up the tailings piles did not constitute an

unconstitutional taking of property under the Takings Clause:

In this case, [the uranium producer] has not alleged a

physical taking of any of its property. Its complaint

alleges only that it will be required to spend sums of

money for reclamation of tailings and mill decom-

missioning. Requiring money to be spent is not a taking

of property.

Id. at 756 (citing United States v. Sperry Corp., 493 U.S. 52,

62 n. 9, 110 S.Ct. 387, 107 L.Ed.2d 290 (1989)).

In short, while a taking may occur when a specific fund of

money is involved, the mere imposition of an obligation to

pay money, as here, does not give rise to a claim under the

Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment.

Ill

The second area, represented by the Supreme Court’s

decision in United States v. Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839,

116 S.Ct. 2432, 135 L.Ed.2d 964 (1996), involves contracts

in which the government has agreed to pay damages if it

engages in certain types of regulation.

A similar contract claim was made with respect to the

present contracts and rejected by this court in Yankee Atomic.

In that case, this court was confronted with a claim that the

special assessments imposed under EPACT breached the

utility’s fixed-price contracts with the government by, “in

effect, retroactively increasing the price that it must pay

for the previously supphed uranium enrichment services.”

112 F.3d at 1573. Relying on the analysis prescribed by the

an Dt Oa tao

SEU,

6la

Supreme Court’s decision in Winstar, we held that the

imposition of the special assessments was a lawful exercise of

Congress’s taxing power under the sovereign acts doctrine,

and was not designed to retroactively increase the price of

the government’s earlier contracts with Yankee Atomic.

Id. at 1575. In other words, this court concluded that the

special assessments constituted “a general exercise of

Congress’s taxing power for the purpose of addressing a

societal problem rather than an act that retroactively increases

the price charged to contracting parties for uranium

enrichment services.” /d. at 1577.

We further held that because the contracts between the

plaintiff in that case and the government “did not include an

unmistakable promise that precluded the Government from

later imposing an assessment upon all domestic utilities that

employed the DOE’s uranium enrichment services,” id. at

1580, the special assessments imposed by the Act did not

constitute a breach of contract. We similarly disposed of the

plaintiff's takings claim by concluding that “{b]ecause the

contracts did not contain an unmistakable promise against a

future assessment, [the utility] had no property right (via a

vested contract right) which was subsequently taken by the

assessment.” /d. at 1580 n. 8. This court denied Yankee

Atomic’s motion to rehear the case in banc, 112 F.3d 1569

(Fed.Cir.1997), and the Supreme Court denied certiorari, 524

U.S. 951, 118 S.Ct. 2365, 141 L.Ed.2d 735 (1998).

We reject Edison’s request that we distinguish our decision

in Yankee Atomic. There is no meaningful difference

between the contract theories asserted here and in Yankee

Atomic, and we therefore agree with the Court of Federal

Claims’ conclusion that Edison’s claims based on_ its

contracts with the government are barred by that decision.

This also disposes of Edison’s argument that the Act

constitutes a taking of Edison’s supposed contract rights to be

free of future government assessments.

62a

IV

The third area of judicial review occurs where a regulation

is retroactive and accordingly implicates the Due Process

Clause. The Supreme Court has made clear that federal

legislation is to be construed to avoid retroactivity." No such

issue is presented here since the statute is clear on its face,

and no party urges that a narrowing construction is either

possible or appropriate. Accordingly, we must address the

Due Process issue.

The standard of review in this area is well-settled. As the

Supreme Court stated in Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at 15,

96 S.Ct. 2882, “[i]t is by now well established that legislative

Acts adjusting the burdens and benefits of economic life

come to the Court with a presumption of constitutionality,

and that the burden is on one complaining of a due process

violation to establish that the legislature has acted in an

arbitrary and irrational way.” So too the Supreme Court

observed in Pension Benefit Guaranty Corp. v. R.A. Gray &

Co., 467 U.S. 717, 104 S.Ct. 2709, 81 L.Ed.2d 601 (1984):

Provided that the retroactive application of a statute is

supported by a legitimate legislative purpose furthered

by rational means, judgments about the wisdom of such

legislation remain within the exclusive province of the

legislative and executive branches.

Id. at 729, 104 S.Ct. 2709 (citing Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at

15-16, 96 S.Ct. 2882). Where the basis for the challenge is

'' See Landgraf v. USI Film Prods., 511 U.S. 244, 270, 114 S.Ct. 1483,

128 L.Ed.2d 229 (1994) (“Since the early days of this Court, we have

declined to give retroactive effect to statutes burdening private rights

unless Congress had made clear its intent.”); Bowen v. Georgetown Univ.

Hosp., 488 U.S. 204, 208, 109 S.Ct. 468, 102 L.Ed.2d 493 (1988)

(“(C]Jongressional enactments and administrative rules will not be

construed to have retroactive effect unless their language requires

this result.”).

63a

retroactivity, the Supreme Court has held that Due Process is

satisfied “simply by showing that the retroactive application

of the legislation is itself justified by a rational legislative

purpose.” /d. at 730, 96 S.Ct. 2882.

In judging the rationality of legislation under the Due

Process Clause, an evidentiary trial of facts, such as the

relative contributions of weapons processing and utility fuel

processing to the total contamination at the government

plants, is not required. Rather, as the Supreme Court has

noted in another context:

the question is whether the legislative conclusion [to

enact the statute] was reasonable and supported by

substantial evidence in the record before Congress. In

making that determination, we are not to re-weigh the

evidence de novo, or to replace Congress’ factual

predictions with our own. Rather, we are simply to

determine if the standard [of review] is satisfied. If it is,

summary judgment . . . is appropriate regardless of

whether the evidence is in conflict.

Turner Broad. Sys., Inc. v. FCC, 520 U.S. 180, 211, 117 S.Ct.

1174, 137 L.Ed.2d 369 (1997) (Citations omitted.). In short,

legislative facts control the analysis. In these Due Process

cases the federal courts are not assigned the task of making

policy, determining a fair outcome, or determining the actual

state of facts. We are charged simply with determining

whether the congressional action was rational.

Under that rational purpose standard it will be a rare

circumstance where federal legislation that is retroactive

will be held unconstitutional under the Due Process Clause.

In the modern era this has occurred on only a very few

occasions, even if we count Eastern Enterprises as being such

acase. See Nichols v. Coolidge, 274 U.S. 531, 47 S.Ct. 710,

71 L.Ed. 1184 (1927); Blodgett v. Holden, 275 U.S. 142,

48 S.Ct. 105, 72 L.Ed. 206 (1927) (per curiam); R.R. Ret.

64a

Bd. v. Alton R.R. Co., 295 U.S. 330, 58 S.Ct. 758, 79 L.Ed.

1468 (1935); Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. 498, 118 S.Ct. 2131,

141 L.Ed.2d 451."

The cases that invalidated these statutes were most

unusual.

Both Blodgett v. Holden and Nichols v. Coolidge involved

the government's reiroactive application of revenue statutes

to transactions made well before the enactment of the

respective statutes. The Supreme Court held in both cases

that such retroactive application violated due process.

Blodgett, 275 U.S. at 147, 48 S.Ct. 105; Nichols, 274 U.S.

at 542-43, 47 S.Ct. 710."

In United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26, 114 S.Ct. 2018,

129 L.Ed.2d 22 (1994), the Court questioned the continuing

relevance of those decisions to present day challenges to

retroactive statutes, concluding that “[t]hose cases were

decided during an era characterized by exacting review of

economic legislation under an approach that has long since

been discarded.” /d. at 34, 114 S.Ct. 2018. In any event

those decisions were limited to situations involving a “wholly

new tax.” /d. EPACT, unlike the statutes at issue in those

two Cases, is not a mere revenue-raising measure. Rather, it

represents an assessment on particular existing domestic

utilities, which Congress concluded benefited from the

government’s operation of the uranium enrichment facilities,

'? Cf. United States v. Sec. Indus. Bank, 459 U.S. 70, 78-82, 103 S.Ct.

407, 74 L.Ed.2d 235 (1982) (declining to retroactively construe a

provision of the Bankruptcy Reform Act, Pub.L. No. 95-592, 92 Stat.

2549 (1978), without clear evidence of Congressional intent to apply that

statute retroactively, and expressing “substantial doubt whether the

retroactive” application would “comport with the Fifth Amendment’).

ws Untermyer v. Anderson, 276 U.S. 440, 48 S.Ct. 353, 72 L.Ed. 645

(1928), involved a challenge to the same statute at issue in Blodgett, and

reached the same result.

65a

und which Congress also concluded were themselves partially

responsible for the problem the statute seeks to remedy.

In Alton, the Court invalidated a statute that required

railroads to establish a pension fund covering both current

employees and former employees who had worked for the

railroad within the year before passage of the statute because

of the retroactive effect of the statute. Alton bears little

resemblance to this case, and it appears that Alton, in any

event, has effectively been overruled. See Pension Benefit,

467 U.S. at 733, 104 S.Ct. 2709 (questioning whether Alton

“retains vitality’ despite the changes in judicial review of

economic legislation that have occurred in the ensuing

years”); see also Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at 19, 96 S.Ct.

2882. We note that neither Edison nor any of its amici relies

on Alton.

Eastern Enterprises, which is the focus of the parties’

attention, is also starkly different from this case. There, the

employees’ claims of entitlement to the payment of future

health benefits arose from a number of National Bituminous

Coal Wage Agreements (“NBCWAs” or “Agreements”)

between the employees’ union and various coal mine

operators, The statute in Eastern Enterprises was justified on

the ground that expectations of future benefits had been

created by these agreements. A majority of the Court

concluded that the obligation to pay benefits could not be

imposed on companies that had no role in creating those

expectations.

The plurality noted that Agreements negotiated in 1974,

1978, and subsequently first suggested an industry commit-

ment to the funding of health benefits for former employees

and their dependents. Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. at 530, 118

S.Ct. 2131. The plurality emphasized, however, that Eastern

“ceased its coal mining operations in 1965 and neither

participated in negotiations nor agreed to make contributions

in connection with the [employees’] Benefit Plans under the

66a

1974, 1978 or subsequent NBCWA’s.” /d. Under the

particular facts of that case, the plurality accordingly

reasoned that the Coal Act’s retroactive provisions violated

the Takings Clause of the Fifth Amendment. In_ his

concurrence, Justice Kennedy agreed with the plurality that

the particular facts of the case warranted the invalidation of

the statute, but based his reasoning on Due Process grounds.

He wrote:

Eastern was once_in the coal business and employed

many of the beneficiaries, but it was not responsible for

their expectation of lifetime health benefits. . . . As the

plurality opinion discusses in detail, the expectation was

created by promises and agreements made long after

Eastern left the coal business. Eastern was not

responsible for the resulting chaos in the funding

mechanism caused by other coal companies leaving the

framework of the [NBCWA]. This case is far outside the

bounds of retroactivity permissible under our law.

524 US. at 550, 118 S.Ct. 2131 (Kennedy, J., concurring).

Even if the Eastern Enterprises plurality and concurrence

could be read together to announce a binding holding on the

Due Process issue,'* this case does not involve the

imposition of liability on companies having no responsibility

for creating the expectation of a future benefit. Rather, it

involves a congressional determination to impose liability on

companies that received a benefit, the production of which

benefit contributed to a societal problem.

'* The District of Columbia Circuit has concluded that the plurality and

concurrence in Eastern Enterprises cannot be combined into a single

holding on the Due Process issue. Ass'n of Bituminous Contractors v.

Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246, 1254-55 (D.C.Cir.1998) (“Justice Kennedy's

concurrence in the judgment is of no help in appellant’s efforts to cobble

together a due process holding from Eastern Enterprises’ fragmented

parts. . . . Justice Kennedy’s due process reasoning can in no sense be

thought a logical subset of the plurality’s takings analysis.”).

67a

On the other side of the balance, on more than ten

occasions, the Supreme Court has rejected challenges to

economic legislation based on the Due Process Clause of the

Fifth Amendment. See United States v. Carlton, 512 U.S. 26,

35, 114 S.Ct. 2018, 129 L.Ed.2d 22 (1994) (upholding a

retroactive amendment to the federal estate tax, even though

the taxpayer received no advance notice of the amendment

and relied to his detriment on pre-amendment law); Concrete

Pipe & Prods. of Cal., Inc. v. Constr. Laborers Pension Trust

for S. Cal., 508 U.S. 602, 636-41, 113 S.Ct. 2264, 124

L.Ed.2d 539 (1993) (upholding retroactive withdrawal

liability provisions of the Multiemployer Pension Plan

Amendments Act (“MPPAA”) which assessed employer

nearly $300,000 for its withdrawal from a pension plan prior

to the effective date of the MPPAA); Gen. Motors Corp. v.

Romein, 503 U.S. 181, 191-92, 112 S.Ct. 1105, 117 L.Ed.2d

328 (1992) (finding that Michigan workers’ compensation

statute did not violate the Due Process Clause, even though it

required the petitioners to pay nearly $25 million for

retroactive benefits to disabled employees); United States v.

Sperry Corp., 493 U.S. 52, 64-65, 110 S.Ct. 387, 107 L.Ed.2d

290 (1989) (upholding retroactive imposition of an arbitration

fee on prevailing parties before the Iran United States Claim

Tribunal); United States v. Hemme, 476 U.S. 558, 571, 106

S.Ct. 2071, 90 L.Ed.2d 538 (1986) (rejecting Due Process

challenge to statutorily-prescribed transitional rule that

retroactively applied to gifts made before enactment of rule);

United States v. Locke, 471 U.S. 84, 105-06, 105 S.Ct. 1785,

85 L.Ed.2d 64 (1985) (upholding the retroactive application

of the filing requirements of the Federal Land Policy and

Management Act of 1976 (“FLPMA”), codified at 43 U.S.C.

§ 1744, that resulted in the forfeiture of mining claims made

before the enactment of the FLPMA); Nat'l R.R. Passenger

Corp. v. Atchison, Topeka & Santa Fe Ry. Co., 470 U.S. 451,

475-79, 105 S.Ct. 1441, 84 L.Ed.2d 432 (1985) (upholding

legislation requiring private railroads to reimburse Amtrak for

68a

rail travel privileges provided by Amtrak to the private

railroads’ employees and former employees even though

Amtrak for some years had not imposed such costs on

the private railroads); Pension Benefit, 467 U.S. at 731-32,

104 S.Ct. 2709 (upholding the retroactive application of

the withdrawal liability provisions of the MPPAA during

period before the MPPAA’s enactment); United States v.

Darusmont, 449 U.S. 292, 296-302, 101 S.Ct. 549, 66

L.Ed.2d 513 (1981) (upholding the retroactive application of

an amendment to the federal tax statute to transactions made

before enactment of amendment); Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S.

at 18, 96 S.Ct. 2882 (upholding requirement that coal mine

operators compensate former employees disabled by

work-related illnesses, even though those operators had never

contracted for such liability, and the employees involved

were no longer employed by the operators); FHA v. The

Darlington, Inc., 358 U.S. 84, 91, 79 S.Ct. 141, 3 L.Ed.2d

132 (1958) (upholding application of statutory requirement

that occupants of mortgaged housing must be residents as

opposed to transients to apartment buildings mortgaged prior

to enactment of the statute); Lichter v. United States, 334

U.S. 742, 788, 68 S.Ct. 1294, 92 L.Ed. 1694 (1948)

(upholding statute permitting government to require private

parties to pay excessive profits realized during wartime to the

government); Welch v. Henry, 305 U.S. 134, 146-51, 59 S.Ct.

121, 83 L.Ed. 87 (1938) (sustaining retroactive Wisconsin

statute that taxed shareholder dividends paid two years before

statute’s enactment); Funkhouser v. J.B. Preston Co., 290

U.S. 163, 167-68, 54 S.Ct. 134, 78 L.Ed. 243 (1933)

(upholding retroactive application of statute providing that

interest be added to damages awards for breach of contract

claims); Milliken v. United States, 283 U.S. 15, 21-24, 51

S.Ct. 324, 75 L.Ed. 809 (1931) (upholding retroactive

application of federal estate tax statute to tax gifts made prior

to enactment of the statute). In Eastern Enterprises, both the

plurality and Justice Kennedy suggested that liability for

50 Wi stdin hed RAR nl decialoheves

i

win tly wu ee ate

69a

health care costs limited to miners formerly employed by the

companies could be retroactively imposed, presumably

because the companies benefited from their services, and the

performance of those services contributed to the health

problems." Significantly, other courts of appeals have

rejected claims that similar retroactive effects of the

Comprehensive Environmental Response, Compensation and

Liability Act, 42 U.S.C. § 9601, et seq., (“CERCLA”) violate

Due Process. See United States v. Northeastern Pharm. &

Chem. Co., 810 F.2d 726, 734 (8th Cir.1986), cert. denied,

484 U.S. 848, 108 S.Ct. 146, 98 L.Ed.2d 102 (1987); United

States v. Monsanto Co., 858 F.2d 160, 174 (4th Cir.1988),

cert. denied, 490 U.S. 1106, 109 S.Ct. 3156, 104 L.Ed.2d

1019 (1989); Franklin County Convention Facilities Auth. v.

Am. Premier Underwriters, Inc., 240 F.3d 534, 551-52

(6th Cir. 2001).'° And we also have repeatedly rejected Due

'S See Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. at 536, 118 S.Ct. 2131 (“Eastern might

be responsible for employment-related health problems of all former

employees whether or not the cost was foreseen at the time of

employment . .. .”) (plurality opinion); id. at 549, 118 S.Ct. 2131 (noting

that the Supreme Court has “upheld the imposition of liability on former

employers based on past employment relationships”) (Kennedy, J.,

concurring); see also Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at 18, 96 S.Ct. 2882

(“[T]he imposition of liability for the effects of disabilities bred in the past

is justified as a rational measure to spread the costs of the employees’

disabilities to those who have profited from the fruits of their labor. . . .”).

'© These courts have reasoned that “{c]leaning up inactive and

hazardous waste disposal sites is a legitimate legislative purpose, and

Congress acted in a rational manner in imposing liability for the cost of

cleaning up such sites upon those parties who created and profited from

the sites and upon the chemical industry as a whole.” Northeastern

Pharm., 810 F.2d at 734. See also, e.g., O'Neil v. Picillo, 883 F.2d 176,

183 n. 12 (ist Cir.1989), cert. denied sub nom. American Cyanamid Co.

v. O’Neil, 493 U.S. 1071, 110 S.Ct. 1115, 107 L.Ed.2d 1022 (1990);

United States v. R.W. Meyer, Inc., 889 F.2d 1497, 1506 (6th Cir.1989),

cert. denied, 494 U.S. 1057, 110 S.Ct. 1527, 108 L.Ed.2d 767 (1990);

Long Beach Unified Sch. Dist. v. Godwin Cal. Living Trust, 32 F.3d 1364,

1366 (9th Cir. 1994).

70a

Process challenges to retroactive federal statutes. See, e.g.,

Atlas, 895 F.2d at 756 (upholding retroactive legislation

requiring uranium producers to spend large sums of money to

clean up uranium tailings piles).

Not surprisingly, in light of this history, the Supreme Court

has repeatedly advised us that such Due Process challenges

will only succeed in the rarest of cases. As Justice Kennedy

noted in Eastern Enterprises, “[s}tatutes may be invalidated

on due process grounds only under the most egregious of

circumstances.” 524 U.S. at 550, 118 S.Ct. 2131.

Although such “most egregious circumstances” do not

exist unless the legislation is severely retroactive, they do not

exist merely because the legislation is severely retroactive

and costly, as is the case here. Without attempting to define

exactly when retroactive legislation will be held

unconstitutional, we perceive that the imposition of even

severe retroactive obligations for past acts will be found

rational and will be held constitutional under the Due Process

Clause if two conditions are satisfied: (1) Congress

reasonably concluded that the party subjected to retroactive

obligations benefited from activity that contributed to a

societal problem, and liability is not disproportionately

imposed on that party; and (2) the imposition of retroactive

liability would not be contrary to that party’s reasonable

expectations. It may well be that legislation is constitutional

if either of the two conditions is satisfied, but we need not

decide that question in this case. Both of those conditions

are present. ;

The first is easily disposed of. Whether or not Edison

received the enrichment services below cost from the govern-

ment, as the government asserts, it certainly benefited from

the government's provision of enrichment services. Edison

admits that it received a benefit from the government's

enrichment services (though it claims to have fully

Tila

compensated the government for the benefit).'’ Indeed,

Edison could hardly have operated nuclear reactors without

the benefit of uranium enrichment services from the United

States government or some other approved source.

Congress could reasonably conclude that the processing of

the utilities’ uranium contributed to a societal problem

(processing plant pollution) on two separate theories. First,

while the weapons processing may have fully contaminated

the buildings at the plants, the utility processing contributed

to increased costs associated with decontaminating the

grounds around the facilities and disposing of the tails.

Second, whether or not the utility processing marginally

increased the remediation costs, Congress could reasonably

conclude that the later pollution should bear a share of the

costs. Edison and utility industry groups themselves

contributed to Congress’ conclusion that the utilities were

responsible by explicitly recognizing in the course of the

legislative consideration that it would be fair to imipose a

share of the remediation costs on the utilities. See ante at

1334-36. The Court of Federal Claims does not sit to retry as

a factual matter the reasonableness of such congressional

judgments.'*

"” See Brief for Plaintiff Appellant Commonwealth Edison Co. at 62

(“Although Commonwealth Edison obviously received a ‘benefit’ when it

obtained enrichment services from the government, it paid a price agreed

between the parties to represent the fair value of that benefit.”).

Even if the legislative history here were devoid of support for

Congress’ conclusions, it would not, of course, be “significant for due

process purposes that the legislative history” did not address the issue of

causation. Ass'n of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246,

1256 n. 7 (D.C.Cir.1998). “{T]he government can create a rational

explanation ex post to support a statute attacked on due process grounds.

That being so, we can hardly require a showing that Congress specifically

identified [the] cause of the problem before it passed the [Act] in order to

sustain the Act under rational basis review.” Jd. See also FCC v. Beach

Communications, Inc., 508 U.S. 307, 315, 113 S.Ct. 2096, 124 L.Ed.2d

72a

The remediation costs imposed on Edison and the other

domestic utilities also are not severely disproportionate;

these utilities are obligated to pay only about a third of the

remediation costs, even though evidence was presented that

the “production from these plants ha[d] been divided almost

evenly between the government and commercial sectors.”

H.R.Rep. No. 102-474(1), at 144 (1992), reprinted in 1992

U.S.C.C.A.N. 1953, 1967.'? In Pension Benefit, 475 U.S. at

225-26, 106 S.Ct. 1018, for example, the Supreme Court held

that the Multiemployer Pension Plan Amendments Act of

1980, 94 Stat. 1208 (“MPPAA”) did not constitute an

unconstitutional taking of property under the Takings Clause

of the Fifth Amendment because “[t]here is nothing to show

that the [retroactive] withdrawal liability actually imposed on

an employer will always be out of proportion to its experience

with the plan, and the mere fact that the employer must pay

money to comply with the [MPPAA] is but a necessary

consequence of the MPPAA’s regulatory scheme.” /d. The

mere fact that foreign utilities are exempted from the

assessment also does not mean that the liability imposed on

the domestic utilities is severely disproportionate. See Ass'n

of Bituminous Contractors, Inc. v. Apfel, 156 F.3d 1246,

1255-56 (D.C.Cir.1998); Holland v. Keenan Trucking Co.,

102 F.3d 736, 741-42 (4th Cir.1996).

211 (1993) (“[B]Jecause we never require a legislature to articulate its

reasons for enacting a statute, it is entirely irrelevant for constitutional

purposes whether the conceived reason . . . actually motivated the

legislature. Thus, the absence of ‘legislative facts’ . . . has no significance

in rational-basis analysis. In other words, a legislative choice_is not

subject to courtroom factfinding. . . .””) (Citations omitted.).

'? Amici Sacramento Municipal Utility District and Maine Yankee

Atomic Power Company urge that a small portion of the Fund

(approximately $75 million) has been used for thorium cleanup for which

the utilities were not responsible. Considering that $7.2 billion was

authorized for the Fund, see 42 U.S.C. § 2297g-1(a), (d), this de minimus

diversion of funds does not affect our analysis.

—o

73a

This conclusion standing alone may be sufficient to

warrant rejection of Edison’s Due Process argument. The

Supreme Court has held that it is rational for Congress to

impose costs for certain activities on “those who have

profited from the fruits of” activities that contributed to a

societal problem, Turner Elkhorn, 428 U.S. at 18, 96 S.Ct.

2882, and that “our cases are clear that legislation readjusting

rights and burdens is not unlawful solely because it upsets

otherwise settled expectations,” id. at 16, 96 S.Ct. 2882.

However, Edison also has failed to establish that the

retroactivity violated the utilities’ reasonable expectations.

That issue requires more extensive discussion.

Vv

One of the key questions in the Supreme Court’s

retroactivity decisions is whether the regulated party could

have reasonably expected that it would be free from the

regulatory exaction. Those decisions suggest that if the

regulated party could have reasonably expected that it would

be subject to regulation, there can be no constitutional Due

Process violation. See, e.g., Concrete Pipe & Prods. of Cal.,

508 U.S. at 646, 113 S.Ct. 2264.” This critical theme was

reiterated by each of the separate opinions in Eastern

Enterprises. There the question was directed to reasonable

expectations at the time that Eastern operated coal mines.

The plurality concluded that the Coal Act constituted an

impermissible taking because, in part, it “substantially

interferes with Eastern’s reasonable investment-backed

expectations.” Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. at 532, 118 S.Ct.

2131. In reaching this conclusion, the plurality emphasized,

° Cf. Rogers v. Tennessee, 532 U.S. 451, 121 S.Ct. 1693, 1700-01,

149 L.Ed.2d 697 (2001) (retroactive judicial abolition of archaic common

law rule, which precluded murder conviction where victim did not die

within year and a day of stabbing, was not unexpected under prior law,

and thus did not violate Due Process).

74a

in part, that Eastern had left the coal mining industry and had

ceased to employ miners years before “lifetime medical

benefits . . . [could] have been viewed as promised” by the

industry. /d. at 535, 118 S.Ct. 2131.

Justice Kennedy, on Due Process grounds, agreed with the

plurality that the three-factor regulatory takings analysis set

forth in Penn Central Transportation Co. v. New York City,

438 U.S. 104, 124, 98 S.Ct. 2646, 57 L.Ed.2d 631 (1978),

including investment-backed expectations, was relevant to the

analysis of the Coal Act’s retroactivity. Eastern Enters, 524

U.S. at 547, 118 S.Ct. 2131 (Kennedy, J., concurring). He

sustained Eastern’s challenge to the Coal Act, in part, because

the miners’ expectations of future health benefits were

“created by promises and agreements made long after Eastern

left the coal business.” Jd. at 550, 118 S.Ct. 2131.

The dissenters likewise focused on Eastern’s reasonable

expectations to conclude that “the historical circumstances,

taken together, prevent Eastern from showing that the Coal

Act’s ‘reachback’ liability provision so frustrates Eastern’s

reasonable settled expectations as to impose an unconsti-

tutional liability.” /d. at 559, 118 S.Ct. 2131. Thus, in

Eastern Enterprises there was remarkable agreement on the

reasonable expectations standard, if not its application to the

particular case.

In addressing the issue of reasonabie expectations here, we

must separate the government as sovereign from the

government as contracting party. The question, in other

words, is not what Edison could expect the United States as

contracting party to do but what it could reasonably expect

the United States as sovereign to do. See United States v.

Winstar Corp., 518 U.S. 839, 116 S.Ct. 2432, 135 L.Ed.2d

964 (1996). Nor does the question require an evidentiary

trial. Edison’s subjective expectations are irrelevant. The

question is what a reasonable company in Edison’s position

should have anticipated.

75a

VI

The cases suggest three factors relevant to a determination

of a party’s reasonable expectations. First, was the company

operating in a highly regulated industry? Second, did the

company know of the problem at the time it engaged in the

activity? Third, in the light of the regulatory environment at

the time of the activities, could the possibility of the

assessments have been reasonably anticipated? We conclude

that each of these three factors is present here, and therefore

we do not need to decide whether the presence of only one of

these factors, without more, suffices to establish a lack of

reasonable expectations.

Operation in a Highly Regulated Industry

First, it is undisputed that Edison operates in a highly

regulated industry. As has been noted, “the production of

energy from nuclear sources is one of the most highly

regulated human activities.” Peter Riley, Legal Control of

Nuclear Energy Between States, 21 Cal. W. Int’l L.J. 303,

303 (1991).

We have previously held that participants in this highly

regulated field can expect liability for remediation costs.

Thus, in Atlas, 895 F.2d at 745, we considered the

constitutionality of the UMTRCA, codified at 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2022, 2113, 2114, 7901-7942, which required that

uranium producers spend large sums of money to clean up

uranium tailings piles. We held that the Court of Federal

Claims had properly dismissed the complaint for failure to

state a claim:

From the outset of the uranium procurement program,

the nuclear industry has been highly regulated, as the

plaintiffs admit. “Those who do business in the regulated

field cannot object if the legislative scheme is buttressed

by subsequent amendments to achieve the legislative

end.” Connolly, 475 U.S. at 227, 106 S.Ct. 1018,

76a

quoting FHA v. The Darlington, Inc., 358 U.S. 84, 91,

79 S.Ct. 141, 146, 3 L.Ed.2d 132 (1958). The only

“expectation” that [the processors] could have under the

circumstances it has alleged is that it expected it would

not have to spend its own money to remediate health and

environmental hazards created by its production of

uranium. Such an expectation cannot be a reasonable

commercial expectation.

Id. at 758. This holding was directly supported by the

Supreme Court’s decision in Connolly, in which the Court

concluded that the imposition of withdrawal liability from a

multiemployer pension plan on certain employers did not

interfere with the company’s reasonable expectations

because, in part, the companies were well aware that

“[p]Jension plans . . . were the objects of legislative concern,”

and “it was clear” to those companies operating in that highly

regulated industry that withdrawal liability could be

retroactively imposed. 475 U.S. at 226-27, 106 S.Ct. 1018.

We are aware of no case to the contrary.

Edison’s Knowledge of the Hazards of the Uranium

Processing

Second, it is undisputed that all parties here were aware of

the hazardous nature of the materials. In its amended

complaint, Edison admitted that the need to decontaminate

and decommission the facilities “was an obligation well

understood by operators of nuclear facilities throughout the

industry.” Complaint at § 31. Likewise, counsel for Edison

conceded at oral argument here that “[i]t was recognized from

way back in the 1950s that there would be decontamination

and decommissioning costs” arising from the operation of the

uranium processing facilities.

A number of Supreme Court decisions make clear that

company knowledge of the dangers present in their operations

is relevant to a determination of reasonable expectations. In

PERNT PO RAE MAID. SL BN OTA BO DTN OOM le a LA Cee Oe Hse RANA Wn ae i Ri Ll) he wipe ta aCe

77a

Turner Elkhorn, for example, the Supreme Court noted that

the coal mine operators had “been aware of the danger of

pneumoconiosis for at least 20 years... .” 428 U.S. at 17,

96 S.Ct. 2882. So too in Gen. Motors Corp. v. Romein,

503 U.S. 181, 112 S.Ct. 1105, 117 L.Ed.2d 328 (1992), the

Supreme Court ruled that a retroactive 1987 Michigan

workers’ compensation statute had not “unreasonably

interfered with closed transactions” because the employers

“knew they were taking a risk in reducing benefits to their

workers, but they took their chances with their interpretation

of the 1981 law.” Id. at 191-92, 112 S.Ct. 1105.”

The Regulatory Environment

Finally, the regulatory environment is pertinent. We first

consider the regulatory environment at the time when Edison

received uranium enrichment services from the government.

This focus on the regulatory climate at the time of the

processing is supported not only by the Due Process cases

discussed above but also by the regulatory takings cases.

The Eastern Enterprises plurality judged reasonable

expectations for purposes of the takings analysis at the time

of the relevant activity. Eastern Enters., 524 U.S. at 532,

118 S.Ct. 2131. So too in Pension Benefit, 475 U.S. 211, 106

S.Ct. 1018, 89 L.Ed.2d 166, for example, the Supreme Court

rejected the employer’s takings claim that money had been

taken unconstitutionally because, in part, it found that:

Pension plans, however, were the objects of legislative

concern long before the passage of ERISA in 1974....

Prudent employers then had more than sufficient notice

not only that pension plans were currently regulated, but

7! Other courts of appeals have also rejected challenges to CERCLA’s

retroactivity because, in part, “it was certainly foreseeable at the time that

improper disposal could cause enormous damage to the environment.”

Monsanto Co., 858 F.2d at 174.

78a

also that withdrawal itself might trigger additional

financial obligations.

Id. at 226-27, 106 S.Ct. 1018.”

Where a Due Process violation is alleged because the

government has ordered the payment of money, we think that

reasonable expectations are to be judged as of the point at

which the complaining party entered into the activity that

triggered the obligation—here the submission of uranium for

processing. We have no doubt that the utilities were on notice

of the possible imposition of remediation liability at the times

when the material was submitted for processing.

We first address the period following the enactment in

1980 of CERCLA, when the utilities should have been aware

that statutory liability might be extended to cover other

hazardous substances.”

CERCLA is a broad, remedial statute enacted by Congress

in order to ensure “that those responsible for any damage,

environmental harm, or injury from chemical poisons bear

the costs of their actions.” Gen. Elec. Co. v. AAMCO

Transmissions, Inc., 962 F.2d 281, 285 (2d Cir.1992)

*? Where a regulatory taking of real property is alleged, the state cannot

defeat liability simply by showing that the current owner was aware of the

regulatory restrictions at the time that the property was purchased. See

Palazzolo v. Rhode Island, 533 U.S. 606,___, 121 S.Ct. 2448, 2462, 150

L.Ed.2d 592 (2001). As Justice O’Connor’s concurring opinion in

Palazzolo makes clear, however, even in that context the regulatory

environment at the time of the acquisition of the property remains both

relevant and important in judging reasonable expectations. /d. at 2465-66.

> CERCLA liability only attached to cleanup costs arising from the

remediation of substances defined to be “hazardous substances” under

CERCLA and the Environmental Protection Agency’s implementing

regulations. 42 U.S.C. § 9601(14); 40 C.F.R. § 302.4 (listing, inter alia,

arsenic, lead, mercury and methane as hazardous substances). There is no

dispute here that the uranium was a “hazardous substance” under

CERCLA.

Ao cate grt es nl aay ‘

TNE BEER ISI RAS RM PC Oa: RAL coh aren 89 5 Tahoe SURG Oy I caged 25 Aeliey What Manele

79a

(quoting S.Rep. No. 96-848, at 13 (1980)). Under CERCLA,

the Environmental Protection Agency (“EPA”) is authorized

to undertake remedial efforts to clean up hazardous waste

spills, and, where an “imminent and substantial endangerment

to the public health exists,” to take legal action in order to

compel potentially responsible parties to undertake their

own private cleanup efforts. Gen. Elec. Co., 962 F.2d at 285;

42 U.S.C. § 9606(a).

There are several aspects of CERCLA of immediate

relevance here:

“CERCLA is a strict liability statute, one of the

purposes of which is to shift the cost of cleaning up

environmental harm from the taxpayers to the parties

who benefited from the disposal of the wastes that

caused the harm.” Jn re Bell Petroleum Servs., 3 F.3d

889, 897 (Sth Cir.1993); see also United States vy.

Aceto Agric. Chems. Corp., 872 F.2d 1373, 1378 (8th

Cir.1989).

CERCLA by its terms has unlimited retroactivity. Indeed,

every court of appeals to consider the question has concluded

that Congress intended CERCLA to apply retroactively. See,

e.g., Northeastern Pharm., 810 F.2d at 732; Monsanto, 858

F.2d at 174.

While the statute does cap those costs that may be imposed

on current and former owners and other potentially

responsible parties, those caps are quite high. See 42 U.S.C.

§ 9607(c). For example, the liability for the release of a

hazardous substance from a facility is “the total of all costs

of response plus $50,000,000 for any damages... .”

§ 9607(c)(1)(D).

Costs may be imposed on any current or former property

owner or other potentially responsible party. See Monsanto,

858 F.2d at 167. Under CERCLA’s liability provision,

responsible parties include those who arrange for the

rT

80a -

treatment of hazardous substances. A party may be liable

under CERCLA for the arrangement for treatment of any

“hazardous substances owned or possessed by [that party]. . .

at any facility owned or operated by another party or entity

and containing such hazardous substances. .. .” /d. m

This type of “arranger liability” may be imposed even if

the party who arranges for the treatment of the hazardous

substance does not actually perform the treatment. In Aceto,

872 F.2d 1373, for example, the Eighth Circuit held, inter

alia, that the defendants which hired another company to

formulate their technical grade pesticides into commercial

grade pesticides, would be liable as an arranger under

CERCLA if it were established that the defendants owned the

technical grade pesticides and the final product and, in

addition, knew that the generation of hazardous wastes was

inherent in the formulation process. /d. at 1381-82.7°

4 Section 9607(a)(3) imposes liability for “all costs of removal or

remedial action incurred by the United States Government or a State” on:

[A]ny person who, by contract, agreement, or otherwise

arranged for disposal or treatment, or arranged with a transporter

for transport for disposal or treatment, of hazardous substances

owned or possessed by such person, by any other party or entity, at

any facility or incineration vessel owned or operated by another

party or entity and containing such hazardous substances ....

42 U.S.C. § 9607(a)(3) (Emphases added.).

?° Numerous other courts of appeals have approved the holding in

Aceto. See, e.g., Jones-Hamilton Co. v. Beazer Materials & Servs., Inc.,

973 F.2d 688, 695 (9th Cir.1992).

Edison and the supporting amici unsuccessfully attempt to limit the reach

of Aceto, based on decisions from other courts of appeals suggesting that

that case would not extend to other situations, for example, situations in

which the utilities merely arranged for the transportation of hazardous

substances, see United States v. Cello-Foil Products, Inc., 100 F.3d 1227,

1232 (6th Cir.1996), and Amcast Industrial Corp. v. Detrex Corp., 2 F.3d

746, 751 (7th Cir.1993), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 1044, 114 S.Ct. 691, 126

L.Ed.2d 658 (1994), or the material submitted for processing was not

8la

In other words, by 1980, Edison could have reasonably

expected that the enrichment of its uranium by an indepen-

dent contractor (the United States) could result in the passage

of legislation retroactively imposing liability for a portion of

the remediation costs on Edison and the other utilities that

benefited from the processing facilities. -

Even before the enactment of CERCLA in 1980

liability-imposing regulations were either already in place, or

could have been anticipated. CERCLA was not an

unheralded statute. Federal statutes enacted in the 1960s and

1970s imposed obligations on the federal government to

develop and maintain certain minimum standards for clean

air, see “Clean Air Act” of 1963, Pub.L. No. 88-206, 77 Stat.

392, codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 7401-7642, and clean water, see

Federal Water Pollution Control Act Amendments of 1972,

Pub.L. No. 92-500, 86 Stat. 816, codified as amended at

33 U.S.C. §§ 1251-1376 (the “Clean Water Act” of 1972). In

1970, Congress enacted the National Environmental Policy

Act, Pub.L. No. 91-190, 83 Stat. 852 (1970), codified at

42 U.S.C. §§ 4321-4370a, which required all federal

agencies, inter alia, to conduct thorough assessments of the

environmental impacts of all major programs.

By 1969, a number of federal statutes had been enacted or

interpreted to impose liability for environmental damages.

Section 13 of the Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of

1899, 30 Stat. 1152 (codified as amended at 33 U.S.C. § 407),

for example, prohibited the discharge of refuse into navigable

waters without a permit. In the 1960s, the Supreme Court

interpreted that prohibition broadly to impose strict liability

on companies for obstruction of waterways caused by the

discharge of industrial waste. See, e.g., United States v.

Republic Steel Corp., 362 U.S. 482, 491, 80 S.Ct. 884,

itself hazardous, see Concrete Sales & Services, Inc., v. Blue Bird Body

Co., 211 F.3d 1333, 1339 (11th Cir.2000).

82a

4 L.Ed.2d 903 (1960); United States v. Standard Oil Co., 384

U.S. 224, 229-30, 86 S.Ct. 1427, 16 L.Ed.2d 492 (1966)

(construing the Rivers and Harbors Appropriation Act of

1899 to prohibit discharge of oil). Other statutes enacted in

the 1970s imposed liability, inter alia, for the improper

handling, storage and disposal of hazardous wastes. See, e.g.,

Resource Conservation and Recovery Act of 1976, Pub.L.

No. 94-580, 90 Stat. 2795, codified at 42 U.S.C. §§ 6901-

6987; Toxic Substances Control Act of 1976, Pub.L.

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.