Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Delta Air Lines, Inc. v. Ferris

Supreme Court brief2002

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

rn, Up Vo VvyuTt, Wo.

FILED

—_

No. 011829 JUN 11 2002

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

te i

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

PENNY FERRIS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

MARGUERITE H. TAYLOR GILMORE F. DIEKMANN, JR.

DELTA AIR LINES, INC. Counsel of Record

Law Department, No. 982 SEYFARTH SHAW

1030 Delta Boulevard 101 California Street, Suite 2900

Atlanta, Georgia 30320 San Francisco, California 94111-5858

(404) 715-2861 (415) 397-2823

BENJAMIN A. STONE

MUNGER & STONE, LLP

2850 First Union Plaza

999 Peachtree Street, NE

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

(404) 815-1884

Counsel for Petitioner Delta Air Lines, Inc.

li6eq

re

REN e

aa

QUESTIONS PRESENTED

1. Whether an employer can be liable under Title VII

for sexual harassment based solely on an off-duty per-

sonal encounter between two non-supervisory employees

that occurs after hours, off-premises, and in a private

bedroom?

2. Whether an employer can be liable for sexual

harassment solely for not investigating reports about a

non-supervisory employee’s private sexual conduct in

his home and in a private hotel room?

il

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

The case caption contains the names of all parties

to the proceeding in the Second Circuit Court of

Appeals, whose judgment is sought to be reviewed in

this matter. Petitioner Delta Air Lines, Inc. does not

have a parent corporation. Two Investment Companies

hold more than 10% of Delta Air Lines, Inc. stock—

PRIMECAP Management Company and Fidelity Man-

agement & Research.

|

TABLE OF CONTENTS

PAGE

Questions Presented..........0000000. i

Corporate Disclosure Statement.............. li

mame Of Authorities............................ iv

~ at tetiadlEEEE ]

TI 5.56 on sc icksdédsnsensceeesse...... 2

Statutory Provision EMVOlVOd .................... 2

Sie ctanae ELE eT 3

Reasons for Granting the Petition .......0 12

BO Sos ons cientcasetaciesesecce....., 21

= hon a eee la

PE si vniciscsecssnsnnsisceicececess..... 19a

PM Scseekiseccsesesesstedeceses.c...., 43a

IE ios ns shes cectsnsescccaecacs....._. 45a

<7

iV

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Cases: PAGE

Alvey v. Rayovac Corp., 922 F. Supp. 1315

A rr rrr rrr ar err 14, 18

Ambrosio v. Price, 495 F. Supp. 381

Cs Ns BPW bo udasanasckadad napecvnnvenuns 11, 20

Anderson v. Adam’s Mark Hotels & Resorts,

211 F.3d 1277, 2000 WL 390107

(10th Cir. 2000) (table) .............. 13, 14, 17, 18

Capitol City Foods v. Superior Court,

5 Cal.App.4th 1042, 7 Cal.Rptr. 2d

ee ED acne aknesnedeevhasuancdccenontans 17, 18

Feingold v. Delta Air Lines, et al.,

No. 99-CV-0728-T (N.D. Tex.,

Oct. 20, 1999), aff’d, No. 01-10209

COG Cae, TE Big ee a6 es cnnencaxanacens 8

Ganzy v. Allen Christian School, 995 F.Supp. 340

Cs Bo. WORE co vnc cncacans¥nesnieeaenove 19

Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17 |

COD ktsstiocaccwesssaesnweake bacesuneaaees 13

Haybeck v. Prodigy Services Co., 944 F.Supp. i

Te Ces Ba Re hi aes bachecunssxasekasas 20

Hennessy v. Penril Datacomm Networks, Inc., :

OP F326 13566 CIE GAR. BD ose ncdcundcinsee 18

Hirase-Doi v. U.S. West Communications, Inc.,

61. F.36 777 COG GCOk. SOOO? xs ceacccesseoass 19

PAGE

Hunter v. Countryside Ass’n for the

Handicapped, Inc., 723 F.Supp. 1277

CARA. BP cass icnvageate alee 18

Meritor Savs. Bank vy. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57

CAIMIED wien ss cnchaccecunci ina: ae eee 14

Polimeni v. American Airlines, Inc.,

No. CV 92 5702 (RJD), 1996 WL

743381 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 18, 1996)........... 14

Tomka v. Seiler Corp., 66 F.3d 1295

(608 Che, 1909) oiccssncinctcy en 13

Thorne Vv. City El Segundo, 726 F.2d 459

PR Oe RI sais tin oa ee 20

Statutes:

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2....0 00, passim

8 USL. $1906 ise 2

ae OS. BITTE oo iihcicencsee ee 5

8 USL. OEE 56 5

N.Y. Corrections Law DF Psi icc 20

N.Y. Corrections Law 25 | Eee 2s, 20

ee ee en

nent soot :

Aas

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No.

oc. =

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Petitioner,

—_—_vV.—

PENNY FERRIS,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE UNITED STATES

COURT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

o> 2s

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

Petitioner Delta Air Lines, Inc. petitions for a writ of

certiorari to review the judgment of the United States

Court of Appeals for the Second Circuit in this case.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the court of appeals (App., infra, 1a) is

reported at 277 F.3d. 128 (2nd Cir. 2001). The opinion of

the United States District Court for the Eastern District

of New York (App., infra, 19a) is published at 102

F.Supp.2d 132 (E.D.N.Y. 2000).

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered on

December 21, 2001. (App., infra, 1a) A petition for

rehearing was denied on March 14, 2002. (App., infra,

43a) The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under 28

U.S.C. § 1254. 5

STATUTORY PROVISION INVOLVED

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964, as amended,

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a), is the only Statutory provision

involved in this case. It provides as follows:

Bh bain pial Si dit sa 3 *

§ 2000e-2. Unlawful employment practices

(a) Employer practices. It shall be an unlawful

employment practice for an employer—

(1) to fail or refuse to hire or to discharge

any individual, or otherwise to discriminate

against any individual with respect to his com-

pensation, terms, conditions, or privileges of

employment, because of such individual’s race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin; or

(2) to limit, segregate, or Classify his

employees or applicants for employment in any

way which would deprive or tend to deprive

any individual of employment opportunities or

Otherwise adversely affect his status as an

employee, because of such individual’s race,

color, religion, sex, or national origin.

3

STATEMENT

The Second Circuit Court of Appeals has expanded

employer liability far beyond the intention and language

of Title VII—obliging employers to monitor and inves-

tigate the private lives of their employees. The court has

held that an employer is legally responsible under Title

VII for private sexual conduct that occurs behind a bed-

room’s closed doors during a purely social encounter

between two non-supervisory co-employees. In so rul-

ing, it has placed on employers obligations that, if

allowed to stand, will have pernicious consequences for

the privacy rights of employees throughout the country.

For the purposes of this proceeding, the facts are well

developed and not materially disputed. Delta Flight

Attendant Penny Ferris pursued an after-hours social

visit with another Delta Flight Attendant, Michael Young

in his layover hotel room in Rome, Italy. Ms. Ferris vis-

ited Mr. Young’s room solely for the purpose of drinking

a bottle of wine that they bought together, eating a meal

and socializing with him—in essence a date. There was

no work related purpose to the visit. The encounter

ended in an alleged sexual assault by Mr. Young.

Despite the private and purely social nature of the

visit between Ms. Ferris and Mr. Young, the Second Cir-

cuit held that Delta could be liable for sexual harassment

under Title VII based on the allegation that Ms. Ferris

was date raped. In so holding, it issued two unprece-

dented legal rulings. First, it expanded Ms. Ferris’ “work

environment” far beyond the sphere contemplated by

Title VII and beyond any area over which Delta had any

meaningful control. Second, the court triggered Delta’s

responsibility by ruling that the company was required

by Title VII to investigate and somehow <orrect Mr.

Young’s possible sexual misconduct during two private,

off-premises and off-duty dates that took place several

years before. Both of these holdings are directly contrary

to the law in other circuits. Moreover, if the decision

stands, employers will be placed in the untenable posi-

tion of policing the off-duty, off-premises social conduct

of their employees in an effort to control their Title VII

exposure—even when their employees are on private

dates, behind bedroom doors. The impact on employee

privacy would be dramatic.

1. The Basic Facts. In April 1998, Penny Ferris, a

flight attendant for Delta, reported that a male Delta

flight attendant had sexually assaulted her during the

prior month while she was in a hotel during a layover in

Rome, Italy. While she did not name the flight attendant

or provide anything close to a complete recitation of the

event, she indicated that the incident had occurred when

she visited the unnamed flight attendant in his hotel

room to share some wine with him. (App., infra, 3a-6a,

23a-24a, 48a-52a)

In subsequent meetings with Delta managers, Ms. Fer-

ris provided additional details. She stated that, while she

was off-duty and on layover in Rome in March 1998, she

decided to visit the hotel room of a fellow flight atten-

dant to drink wine they had purchased at a shop near the

hotel. (Id.) She stated that while she was visiting and

drinking with this flight attendant, she believed the

flight attendant had covertly placed an unknown sub-

stance in her wine. According to Ms. Ferris, after she

drank one or more glasses, she began feeling tired and

eventually passed out in his room. (Id.) She allegedly

regained consciousness after she passed out and found

the flight attendant having sex with her. Although she

was aware of this activity, she stated that she was unable

to resist. She eventually became sufficiently aware to get

up and return to her hotel room. (Id.)

————————— ee UC

eee eee Sugar Saale

5

Ms. Ferris eventually identified the individual as the

Defendant Michael Young. Delta took the allegations

very seriously and after a thorough investigation, which

included repeated interviews with Mr. Young and other

flight attendants, the company removed Mr. Young from

the workplace. (Id. at 6a) This action was taken against

Mr. Young despite substantial information casting doubt

on the veracity of Ms. Ferris’ allegations.’

2. Plaintiff’s Action Below. Not long after she ceased

cooperating in Delta's investigation of her complaint,

Ms. Ferris filed a lawsuit asserting a variety of claims

against Delta. Pertinent to the present Petition, she stated

a claim against Delta under Title VII for creating an

unlawful “hostile work environment.” (Id. at 2a) During

her deposition, however, Ms. Ferris testified to a number

of facts that conclusively show that her encounter with

Mr. Young occurred outside her work environment—

while she was off duty and off Delta's premises.

Ms. Ferris acknowledged that when she entered the

hotel in Rome, she was not performing services for

Delta, but engaged in a personal pursuit. (Id. at 36a; 48a-

49a) She was released from any obligations to Delta and

was free to engage in any activities she chose—includ-

ing sleeping, consuming alcohol, visiting with friends,

and touring the city or the countryside. (Id. at 46a-47a)

She was never required by Delta to undertake any work-

related activity after being released from duty. She was

| {tis worth noting that a trial was held in the District Court

solely on the issue of whether Mr. Young raped Ms. Ferris. Nine out

of ten jurors concluded that Mr. Young had not in fact assaulted Ms.

Ferris. (Id. at 22a)

2 Because Ms. Ferris asserted claims under Title VII, the Dis-

trict Court’s jurisdiction was premised on 28 U.S.C. § 1331. The

District Court exercised supplemental jurisdiction over Ms. Ferris’

state law claims pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1367.

6

not even required to stay in the hotel—and certainly she

was not required to visit Mr. Young’s hotel room, regard-

less of whether that room was in the crew hotel or else-

where. (Id.)

Ms. Ferris also fully acknowledged that she volun-

tarily accompanied Mr. Young to his hotel room for

purely personal reasons—to eat, drink wine and social-

ize with him. (Id. at 48a-49a) The purely personal choice

she made to pursue an acquaintance with Mr. Young,

enter his hotel room, and begin drinking wine with him

was hers and hers alone: Delta had, and could have had,

nothing whatever to do with it.

3. Alleged Prior Reports. Despite the purely personal

nature of Ms. Ferris’ encounter with Mr. Young, Ms.

Ferris attempted to hold Delta liable for the alleged

assault because, during the previous six years, Delta

allegedly had received reports from two other Flight

Attendants of inappropriate sexual] behavior on dates

they had with Mr. Young. Both of the alleged reports

involved conduct that occurred in private bedrooms, far

removed from the workplace and from any location

remotely connected to the workplace. Further, the

alleged reports each concerned situations in which Flight

Attendants were on purely social visits with Mr. Young

in private bedrooms, during which Mr. Young allegedly .

“went too far” in his sexual advances.

The first alleged report to Delta came from Delta

Flight Attendant Kathleen Ballweg, and involved an

encounter with Mr. Young that took place in December

1992 while she was visiting Mr. Young and his mother in

Florence, Italy. (Id. at 62, 58a-61a) Ms. Ballweg’s

encounter with Mr. Young allegedly occurred in a pri-

vate hotel room, in a bed she was consensually sharing

with him. (Id. at 60a-62a) According to Ms. Ballweg,

after engaging in some consensual kissing with Mr. Young

Crane

COC ARR te.

7

in bed, Mr. Young continued beyond the point with

which she was comfortable. (Id. at 67a-69a) While she

made no attempt to get out of bed, or to resist further

advances beyond a single statement that “I don’t want to

do this,” and while Ms. Ballweg did not even believe she

had been assaulted until much later, she eventually

reported that she had been “attacked” by a fellow flight

attendant to an unspecified, unidentifiable person at

Delta.? (Id.) She did not state that she had been raped or

that the “attack” was a sexual one.* She refused to file a

complaint and she did not ask that the matter be inves-

tigated or that Delta do anything about her reports. (Id.)

The second alleged report came from Delta Flight

Attendant Aileen Feingold. Ms. Feingold’s encounter

with Mr. Young took place in the spring of 1995 after a

friendship had developed between them. (Id. at 7a-8a,

72a) During a purely social visit to Mr. Young’s home

in Dallas, Texas (a site far removed from the Delta

workplace), Ms. Feingold voluntarily agreed to spend

the night with him and went to sleep in his bed. (Id.

at 74a) He subsequently joined her and began caressing

and fondling her. (Id. at 77a-81a) Ms. Feingold asked

3 Ms. Ballweg did not think of her hotel room encounter with

Young as a “rape” until much later, when she related the incident to

a roommate and the roommate expressed a belief that what had

occurred had been a rape. (Id. at 62a-63a) While Ms. Ballweg alleges

that she thereafter reported that she had been “attacked,” ‘she does not

recall to whom she spoke, the person’s sex or race, Or any other

descriptive characteristics.

4 Ms. Ballweg alleges that she made a second, similar report to

another Delta employee after Mr. Young called her on the phone. (Id.

at 64a-67a) Again, she cannot name or in any way describe the Delta

representative with whom she spoke, but she alleges that she told the

second Delta employee that she had previously spoken to someone

about a fellow flight attendant who had “attacked” her on a layover

(again with no clarifying details or indications the “attack” was sex-

ual), and that he had phoned her in a way that disturbed her. (/d.)

Mr. Young “what he thought he was doing,” to which he

replied, “I’m just playing.” (Id.) She responded that this

was not a game to her and that she did not want to play.

(Id.). When he continued his advances, she said nothing

further and made no attempt either to get out of bed or to

remove him from it. She made no objections to the sex-

ual relations that followed. (Id.)

Ms. Feingold had no further contact with Young for

approximately four months, at which point she initiated

both e-mail and telephone communications with him to

secure a suitcase she had left for him to have repaired.

(Id. at 8a, 75a-76a) When these communications did not

result in the return of her suitcase, Ms. Feingold

allegedly called a Delta manager, told her about the suit-

case and e-mails, and also allegedly accused Young of

“attacking and raping” her on a prior visit to his home in

Texas. (Id.)° She allegedly asked the Delta manager to

help her secure the return of her suitcase and to put a

note in Young’s file so she could assist in case anyone

else had a similar experience with him. (Id.) Several

years later, she followed plaintiff’s lead and belatedly

filed her own lawsuit against Delta in Dallas, Texas.

That suit was dismissed, largely because of the non-work

reiated nature of the incident. Feingold v. Delta Air

Lines, et al. No. 99-CV-0728-T (N.D. Tex., Oct. 20,

1999) This decision dismissing her case recently was

affirmed by the Fifth Circuit. (No. 01-10209, May 21,

2002).°

> Delta submitted that Ms. Feingold made no such report.

¢ Delta also allegedly received a report about Mr. Young, from

Delta Flight Attendant Michelle Zachary. The report from Ms.

Zachary involved no sexual conduct at all—but instead involved an

allegation that Young had twice yelled at her in an “intimidating”

fashion (primarily because she was gossiping about him) and said

that he was going to “get her” if she continued to talk about him.

Pp ee as®

rikctie lit wor <Se-wee AL rie ae hte.

ee

ie a aa ty ik ob i ee Ls

9

4. Judge Weinstein's Decision. The Honorable Jack

B. Weinstein, sitting in the district court, recognized

that, under the facts set forth above, Delta was entitled

to summary judgment on Ms. Ferris’ hostile work

environment claims under Title VII. For two separate

reasons, he ruled that Delta could not be held liable

based on the events that occurred in Mr. Young’s

bedroom.

First, Judge Weinstein noted that, “[a]s a general

proposition, employers are not responsible under Title

VII for hostile sexual acts resulting from non-work-

related, off-duty interactions between co-employees.”

(Id. at 29a) While he recognized that, in a minority of

cases (particularly in the context of supervisor/employee

interactions), the work environment can extend beyond

the traditional work place, this case involved a purely

social interaction between two co-employees in a private

hotel] room—a setting that was too far removed from the

workplace to suggest liability:

In the instant case the environment was not work-

related. Plaintiff was not only off-duty, she volun-

tarily associated with defendant—someone who had

no supervisory authority over her—for purely per-

sonal reasons. No evidence has been presented link-

ing her decision to go to Defendant’s room with her

employment with Delta.

(Id. at 36a) Judge Weinstein concluded that to hold an

employer like Delta liable for an off-duty, private assault

would require employers to begin closely monitoring

and controlling their employees’ off-duty conduct—

something that the drafters of Title VII never envisioned

Ms. Zachry’s alleged report had no sexual overtones or content at all,

did not even hint at a sexually hostile work environment. (Id. at

82a)

10

and that conflicted with fundamental notions of personal

privacy. In Judge Weinstein’s words:

To hold an employer liable in these circumstances

would be to encourage unacceptable inquisitorial

snooping and intrusiveness by employers into the

private lives of their employees, contrary to fun-

damental American notions of privacy.

(Id. at 22a)’

Judge Weinstein also recognized a second, indepen-

dent basis for dismissing Delta from the case, hold-

ing that there was no basis on which to conclude that,

even if Ms. Ferris had been harassed in the workplace by

Mr. Young, Delta should be liable for the assault. Judge

Weinstein correctly rejected Ms. Ferris’ argument that

Delta was on “notice” of prior sexual assaults by Mr.

Young because it allegedly had received reports of his

conduct with respect to Ms. Ballweg (in a hotel room

while visiting his mother’s house) and Ms. Feingold (in

his own home):

Plaintiff contends that because Delta might have

been aware of two earlier reports of her attacker’s

off-duty, non-work related improper sexual conduct,

it had constructive notice. . . . Although knowl-

edge that a co-worker has allegedly assaulted other

persons may in some instances be sufficient to put

an employer on constructive notice that a sexual

assault is likely to occur, the facts of this case pre-

sent no material question of constructive notice.

Earlier complaints of sexual improprieties involved

non-work related, off-duty encounters, substantially

7

Judge Weinstein also recognized that Ms. Ferris’ minimal

contact with Defendant Young in the workplace after the alleged

assault was not sufficient to create a hostile work environment under

Title VII. (Id. at 38a-39a)

= Pe ere ee

ee | pws

SA te edocs 6 ho Dl RAIL AE es NDS lh

1]

curtailing both the practical ability and the legal

authority of Delta to investigate. Cf. Ambrosio v.

Price, 495 F. Supp. 381, 386 (D. Neb. 1979) (“An

employer cannot be expected to exercise control

over the personal, as opposed to business, activities

of its employees in order to protect third persons.”).

(Id. at 38a) (some citations omitted).

5. The Second Circuit’s Decision. The Second Circuit

Court of Appeals reversed Judge Weinstein’s decision.

Departing from other state and federal courts that have

considered the issue, the court held in its published opin-

ion that, while Ms. Ferris’ choice to visit with Mr.

Young was purely personal and voluntary, an employer

like Delta could be held liable for any conduct that

occurred in Mr. Young’s bedroom because it was fore-

seeable that some Delta flight attendants would “social-

ize as a matter of course” while off-duty on layovers,

and that some of them might choose to enter bedrooms

together. (Id. at 12a) In other words, because Delta knew

that some of its flight attendants would strike up rela-

tionships—and some might even date—the court placed

Delta in the position of being required to monitor and

regulate their private sexual activity.

The Court also held that Delta’s liability in this case

could be premised on the allegation that Delta had

received reports—from Ms. Ballweg and Ms. Feingold—

of private, off-duty sexual acts on dates they had with

Mr. Young. According to the Court, these reports of dat-

ing misconduct provided Delta with “notice of Young’s

proclivity to rape co-workers” and thus provided a basis

for Title VII liability. (Id. at 14a-16a) The court did not

suggest what Delta should or could have done had it

investigated the incidents and learned the truth—that the

circumstances of the two incidents were unclear and

very much a matter of subjective interpretation.

12

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

The Second Circuit’s opinion epitomizes the adage

that hard cases make bad law, and extremely hard cases

make extremely bad law. With not one, but two distinct

rulings, the court has dramatically broadened employer

responsibilities to employees under federal law. It in

essence has required employers to monitor off-duty dates

and sexual encounters between employees any time 2

employers know such encounters are likely, and it has

declared that employers are responsible under Title VII

for ensuring that their employees do not go “too far”

during these private dates. Succinctly put, the court’s

opinion has expanded employers’ responsibility, author-

ity, and liability under Title VII into the private bed-

rooms of employees.

The Second Circuit’s first ruling is that an employer

may be liable for sexual harassment under Title VII

when two non-supervisory employees voluntarily go to

a private bedroom after work, for purely social reasons.

The sole prerequisite to converting the bedroom to the

workplace is the foreseeability of social interaction

between fellow employees—a matter as foreseeable as

night and day. Second, the Court held that an employer’s

Title VII liability to an employee for such social inter-

actions can be predicated solely on constructive know]l-

edge of prior allegations of private misconduct that also

occurred off-duty, off-premises, behind locked bedroom

doors.

These rulings, which purport to be based on an inter-

pretation of a narrow employment discrimination statute,

expand employer liability further than ever before and

place the Second Circuit squarely in opposition with the

other United States Court of Appeals that has addressed

the issue. They also run counter to the growing number

of statutes and cases that place limits on an employer’s

13

right to monitor, investigate and control an employee's

off-duty activities and relationships. Indeed, until now,

whether co-employees chose to socialize, and certainly

whether they became intimate enough to enter a bed-

room together (not to mention what they did in that bed-

room) have been purely private matters far beyond the

reach of the persons’ employers and far beyond the

scope of Title VII.

1. The Court of Appeals Decision Dramatically

Expands Title VII to Areas and Subjects Unrelated to the

Workplace. For an employer to be found liable for hos-

tile work environment sexual harassment under Title

VII, it must engage in misconduct that causes the work-

place to be “permeated with discriminatory intimidation,

ridicule, and insult. . .” Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc.,

510 U.S. 17, 21 (1993). Courts have occasionally rec-

ognized that the “work environment” in which unlawful

sexual harassment can occur may reach beyond the

actual premises of the employer. But, when sexual acts

occur away from the work premises, courts also have

required an employee to demonstrate a substantial con-

nection between the improper conduct and the employ-

ment relationship as a prerequisite to employer liability

under Title VII. See e.g., Anderson v. Adam's Mark

Hotels & Resorts, 211 F.3d 1277, 2000 WL 390107 (10th

Cir. 2000) (table); Tomka v. Seiler Corp., 66 F.3d 1295,

1306 (2nd Cir. 1995).

Many courts have recognized that unwelcome or hos-

tile sexual acts that occur during off-duty interactions

between co-employees are too remote to the employment

relationship to implicate Title VII. Because Title VII is

aimed at immunizing employees’ work environments

from sexual intimidation, employers are not liable for

unwelcome or hostile sexual acts that occur during off-

duty dates, in private quarters, between two co-workers.

14

Anderson, 2000 WL at *1; Alvey v. Rayovac Corp., 922

F. Supp. 1315, 1330 (W.D. Wis. 1996). Such off-duty,

off-premises conduct does not have the requisite con-

nection with the employment relationship to cause

employers to be liable. /d.

The statutory basis and policy rationale behind this

principle is sound. Employers cannot effectively comply

with Title VII in the private social world, over which

they have no realistic control. Thus, to hold employers

liable in that context requires them to override all rea-

sonable notions of employee privacy and to engage in a

host of monitoring, investigative and regulatory activi-

ties that have no otherwise rational connection to the

workplace or the employer's business.

As this Court has made clear in prior precedent, a sex-

ually hostile environment can be created in a variety of

ways—from intimate physical contact, to conversations

in the workplace, to displays of photos. See, e.g., Mer-

itor Savs. Bank v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 67 (1986). See

also Polimeni v. American Airlines, Inc., No. CV 92

5702 (RJD), 1996 WL 743381 (E.D.N.Y. Dec. 18, 1996).

If the “work environment” includes private bedrooms

and hotel rooms, as the Second Circuit now holds, to

prevent a Title VII “hostile environment” claim, employ-

ers will be obliged to police the private conduct of

employees within those areas (including their touching,

television viewing, reading, conversations, efc.).

Employers would, for instance, be expected to discipline

employees who watched risqué shows on television

while being visited by other employees. Cautious

employers would have to prohibit any sexual activity of

any kind between employees, including consensual

activity by adult employees, to protect against romances

and liaisons gone bad and the cross-allegations they fre-

quently spawn. Employees, the general public and the

15

drafters of Title VII would no doubt find such results to

be astounding and an invasion of the right to engage in

the most basic private activities. Yet, that is exactly what

the Second Circuit’s published opinion now requires.

There certainly are state law claims—separate and

apart from claims under Title VII—that are available to

employees when fellow employees injure them. Such

incidents and injuries are what tort and workers’ com-

pensation laws are designed to remedy. The Second Cir-

cuit decision, however, expands Title VII into this field,

making it a general tort statute rather than an employ-

ment discrimination statute, and applying it to alleged

conduct that occurs nowhere near the work environment.

In so doing, it turns workplace employment discrimi-

nation law on its head.

2. The Court of Appeals Bases Its Expansion of Title

VII On An Employers Knowledge that Its Employees are

Likely to Socialize—Knowledge Common to Every

Employer Subject to the Act. The Second Circuit's

premise for holding Delta liable for private sexual con-

duct is its knowledge that its Flight Attendant employ-

ees. because they frequently travel, are likely to engage

in social interaction. The Court’s reasoning, in its

entirety, is as follows:

The flight crew members repeatedly spend brief lay-

overs in a foreign country with little opportunity to

develop private lives in that place. Most likely they

do not speak the local language. In all likelihood,

they do not have family, friends or their own resi-

dences there. Although it is not mandatory for them

to do so, they generally stay in a block of hotel

rooms that the airline reserves for them and pays

for. The airline in addition provides them as a group

with ground transportation by van from the airport

to the hotel on arrival, and back at the time for

16

departure. It is likely furthermore in those circum-

stances that the crew members will have no other

acquaintances in this foreign place and will band

together for society and socialize as a matter of

course in one another’s hotel rooms. Even though

the employer does not direct its employees as to

how to spend their off-duty hours, the circumstances

of the employment tend to compel these results.

(App., infra, 12a)

Putting aside the fact that most of these factual asser-

tions are conjecture unsupported by the record, the

implications of the court’s rationale are profound. While

the court is certainly correct that some Delta employees

may “band together for society and socialize as a matter

of course,” in this regard Delta employees are no dif-

ferent from employees at any other job. Delta is cer-

tainly no different from any other employer who knows

that its employees—because of busy work schedules,

common commutes, travels away from home, or simply

having common interests—will socialize together, and

even date one another, when away from work. This

knowledge of employee camaraderie, however, has never

formed the basis for imputing liability to an employer

when two non-supervisory co-employees begin social-

izing together and the relationship goes awry.

If mere knowledge of a “propensity to socialize” is

enough, employers face ever-increasing liability (under

Title VII, no less) for anything that happens when co-

employees are together—no matter where, when or how

they socialize with each other. The implications are sig-

nificant, as employers now are being placed in the

untenable position of having to control off-duty social

interaction between their employees.

17

3. The Court of Appeal’s Decision Conflicts With

Decisions of other Courts of Appeal and Generally

Accepted Limits on Employers’ Interests and Responsi-

bilities. Prior to the Second Circuit’s opinion in this

case, every court considering this issue has recognized

that off-duty, private encounters between co-workers are

far outside the working environment and cannot form the

basis of a “hostile work environment.” In Anderson v.

Adam’s Mark Hotels & Resorts, 211 F.3d 1277, 2000

WL 390107 (10th Cir. 2000) (table), for instance, the

plaintiff, who was employed by the Adam's Mark Hotel,

alleged that the manager of the hotel’s nightclub sexu-

ally assaulted her in one of the hotel’s rooms that had

been provided by the employer to the accused employee.

In other words, the alleged assault took place in a hotel

room on the employer hotel’s premises. The assault

occurred after the plaintiff accepted the accused

employee’s offer to share his hotel room in lieu of driv-

ing home following a round of social drinks after work.

The court rejected the plaintiff’s statutory discrimination

claims (as well as her other claims) because the alleged

“sexual harassment” occurred outside the workplace,

after work hours, in an area where the employer lacked

full access. Because plaintiff’s work environment was

not implicated by the off-duty conduct of her fellow

employee, she was not able to establish the requisite

“hostile work environment.” Her Title VII claim there-

fore was dismissed.

Similarly, in Capitol City Foods v. Superior Court,

5 Cal.App.4th 1042, 7 Cal.Rptr. 2d 418 (1992), the Cal-

ifornia Court of Appeals rejected a statutory sexual

harassment claim that was based on the allegation that

the plaintiff’s supervisor raped her in his home during an

after hours date that was arranged while the two were

working together. The court noted that the plaintiff had

voluntarily accompanied the supervisor to his home, had

eee ee

—___ En — —w

18

not objected to being with him, and had not indicated

she had been coerced into accepting his invitation. It fur-

ther noted that both employees were off-duty at the time,

that the conduct had not occufred in the workplace, and

that the incident was not work related. Based on those

facts, the court held that there was no basis for holding

the employer liable for statutory sexual harassment.

5 Cal.App. 4th at 1050, 7 Cal.Rptr.2d at 423. See also

Hennessy v. Penril Datacomm Networks, Inc., 69 F.3d

1344 (7th Cir. 1995) (recognizing that, standing alone,

conduct that occurred after plaintiff voluntarily went to

a strip bar after work hours could not form the basis for

a Title VII claim); Alvey v. Rayovac Corp., 922 F.Supp.

1315, 1330 (W.D. Wisc. 1996) (holding that off-premises,

off-duty conduct “has no relevance to plaintiff’s work-

place environment”); Hunter v. Countryside Ass’n for

the Handicapped, Inc., 723 F.Supp. 1277 (N.D.IIl. 1989)

(employer not liable under Title VII for an alleged rape

committed when employee visited co-worker at his

me).

The Second Circuit’s extensive opinion does not

address, or even attempt to reconcile, any of the cases

like Anderson, Capitol City Foods, or Hennessy, or oth-

erwise to legally support its finding that a private bed-

room can constitute a “hostile work environment,”

particularly when two co-employees voluntarily enter it

for purposes of socializing and drinking. However, the

fact that the Second Circuit did not attempt to reconcile

or expound upon its opinion does not render it any less

significant to employers.

4. The Court of Appeals Decision Imposes Upon

Employers An Obligation to Inquire Into, Investigate

and Regulate the Private Lives of Their Employees

and Thereby Substantially Impairs Significant Personal

Privacy Rights. The Second Circuit’s second rationale

19

for its decision underscores the court’s requirement that

employers necessarily engage in inquisitorial snooping

into the private lives of their employees. Specifically,

the court ruled that Delta could be held liable for the

alleged conduct of Mr. Young in his private hotel room

because, during the six year period prior to the

encounter, it allegedly had received two reports about

his sexual activity during private dates in his home (with

Ms. Feingold) and in a private (non-layover) hotel room

(with Ms. Ballweg).

The Second Circuit is the first court ever to hold that

an employer may be found liable for creating a hostile

work environment based upon its knowledge of alleged

conduct by an employee indisputably outside the work

environment. There is certainly no prior Title VII hold-

ing that in any way obligates an employer to regulate,

investigate, and/or penalize an employee for off-duty

social behavior, be it sexual or otherwise. To the con-

trary, courts have held that such liability can be

premised only on knowledge of conduct that involves

alleged harassment in the workplace, in the course and

the scope of the accused employee’s employment, that iS

also near in time to the events about which the employee

complained. See, é.g., Hirase-Doi v. U.S. West Commu-

nications, Inc., 61 F.3d 777, 783-4 (10th Cir. 1995).

The law “generally prevents interference with the

privacy of sexual relationships,” and only “Irjeligious

institutions . . . are provided leeway under federal con-

stitutional and statutory law in regulating the sexual con-

duct of those in their employ. . . .” Ganzy v. Allen

Christian School, 995 F.Supp. 340, 359 (E.D.N.Y. 1997)

(Weinstein, J.). An employer should not even have the

right, much less a court-imposed obligation, to police its

employee’s constitutionally protected private sexual con-

duct. Thorne v. City El Segundo, 726 F.2d 459, 468 (9th

20

Cir. 1983). See also, Ambrosio v. Price, 495 F. Supp.

381, 386 (D. Neb. 1979) (“An employer cannot be

expected to exercise control over the personal, as

opposed to business, activities of its employees. . . .”)®

The Second Circuit’s ruling that Delta was obligated

to investigate unverifiable reports about Mr. Young’s

off-duty, private sexual conduct is remarkable when con-

sidered in light of the privacy implications of such an

approach and the express provisions of federal and state

law. To impose such a duty on employers would force

them to monitor “the most intimate aspects of their

[employees’] off-duty lives,” which in turn would con-

travene other laws and public policies that prohibit

employers from inquiring into private sexual matters and

their employees’ off-duty behavior with others. Haybeck

v. Prodigy Services Co., 944 F.Supp. 326, 331 (S.D.N-Y.

1996). Title VII does not impose such a duty upon

employers, and the Second Circuit’s holding that it

does—and that employers essentially must employ

“social police” like those Henry Ford employed early in

8 If employers not only have a right, but also an obligation, to

investigate the private sexual conduct of those in their employ, and to

refrain from hiring those whoever have engaged in any form of sex-

ual misconduct (e.g., spousal abuse), the obligation would run counter

to a variety of express statutory and public policy obligations—

including the express laws and policies of New York where this case

was heard. It is the express public policy of New York “to encourage

the . . . employment of persons previously convicted of one or more

criminal offenses.” N.Y. Corrections Law § 753. Based on this public

policy, the New York legislature has made it unlawful (except in nar-

row circumstances) to deny employment “by reason of being con-

victed of one or more criminal offenses. . . .” N.Y. Corrections Law

§ 752. The Second Circuit’s proposed expansion of employment dis-

crimination law to impose an obligation on employers not only to

investigate peoples’ sex lives outside of work, but also to refrain from

hiring, or even to terminate, those whose past includes potentially

criminal sexual misconduct outside the workplace, would run counter

to these express provisions of New York law.

21

the Twentieth Century to monitor the most private

aspects Ford's employees’ lives—warrants review by

this Court.

CONCLUSION

The petition for a writ of certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

GILMORE F. DIEKMANN, JR.

Counsel of Record

SEYFARTH SHAW

101 California Street, Suite 2900

San Francisco, California 94111-5858

(415) 397-2823

BENJAMIN A. STONE

MUNGER & STONE, LLP

2850 First Union Plaza

999 Peachtree Street, NE

Atlanta, Georgia 30309

. MARGUERITE H. TAYLOR

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.

Law Départment, No. 982

1030 Delta Boulevard

Atlanta, Georgia 30320

Counsel for Petitioner

Delta Air Lines, Inc.

APPENDIX

la

Appendix A

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

August Term, 2000

(Argued: January 17, 2001

Decided: December 21, 2001)

Docket No. 00-7921

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

ihn

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee,

—and—

MICHAEL YOUNG, :

Defendant.

~ Before:

VAN GRAAFEILAND, NEWMAN, and LEVAL,

Circuit Judges.

2a

The plaintiff, a female flight attendant employed by

defendant Delta Air Lines, Inc., appeals from summary

judgment granted by the United States District Court for

the Eastern District of New York (Weinstein, J.), dis-

missing her claims for sexually hostile work environ-

ment under federal, New York State, and New York City

law, and tort claims under New York State law, all aris-

ing from plaintiff’s rape during a layover in Rome by a

male flight attendant employed by Delta. The Court of

Appeals (Leval, Circuit Judge) holds that the judgment

is (1) vacated, insofar as it dismissed the sexual harass-

ment claims under federal law, and (2) affirmed, insofar

as it dismissed the state tort claims.

Affirmed in part, vacated in part, and remanded.

—

ALLEGRA FISHEL, Beranbaum Menken Ben-

Asher & Fishel LLP, New York, NY

(John A. Beranbaum on the brief), for

Plaintiff-Appellant.

GILMORE F. DIEKMANN, Jr., Seyfarth Shaw,

San Francisco, CA (Lisa Barnett Sween

on the brief), for Defendant-Appellee.

LEVAL, Circuit Judge:

Plaintiff Penny Ferris, a flight attendant employed by

defendant Delta Air Lines (“Delta”), appeals from a

grant of summary judgment by the United States District

Court for the Eastern District of New York (Weinstein,

J.), dismissing her claims for (1) sexual harassment

under Title VII of the 1964 Civil Rights Act, 42 U.S.C.

3a

§ 2000e, et seqg., the New York State Human Rights Law,

N.Y. Exec. L. § 290 et seqg., and the New York City

Human Rights Law, N.Y.C. Admin. Code § 8-107, and

(2) numerous other torts under the law of New York,

including negligent hiring, retention, and supervision of

an employee; assault, battery, false imprisonment, and

intentional infliction of emotional distress. The suit

arises from a male flight attendant’s rape of Ferris dur-

ing the crew’s brief layover between flights in Rome. We

vacate the grant of summary judgment as to the federal

sexual harassment claims because a reasonable factfinder

could find that Delta was responsible for a sexually hos-

tile work environment that caused injury to Ferris. We

affirm the grant of summary judgment as to the claims

under New York State and New York City law.

BACKGROUND

A. Events giving rise to this lawsuit.

In reviewing a grant of summary judgment in favor

of the defendant, we are obligated to consider all facts

in the light most favorable to the plaintiff. They are as

follows:

1. Young’s rape of Ferris

In March 1998, Penny Ferris and Michael Young, both

Delta flight attendants, were employed together on the

crew of a Delta flight from New York City to Rome,

Italy. When the flight arrived in Rome on March 17, the

crew (including Ferris and Young) boarded a Delta bus

to be driven to the Savoy Hotel, where Delta had

reserved and paid for a block of rooms to be used by the

crew until their return flight to New York on March 18.

That afternoon, Ferris and Young had shopped together

4a

for wine for Ferris to bring home as a present. Young

told her he had brought a bottle of a vintage Ferris was

considering and offered to let her taste it in his room

when they returned to the hotel. Upon their return, Fer-

ris went to Young’s room, where he had a glass of wine

ready for her. After drinking about half a glass, Ferris

felt faint. She tried to return to her room, but could not

make her legs move. She blacked out. While she was

unconscious, Young took off her clothes and raped her

vaginally, orally, and anally. She partially regained con-

sciousness intermittently during the multiple rapes, at

one point telling Young to stop before blacking out

again.

That night, at dinner with the other flight attendants,

Ferris was in shock and confusion. During the dinner,

she began to feel nauseous, and went to the bathroom

and vomited. The following day, she flew back to New

York, serving as crew together with Young.

On March 30, 1998—about two weeks after the rape—

Ferris recounted what had happened to Vanessa Bray,

who had been the “On-Board Leader” (the lead flight

attendant) on the March 16-18 flights. She told Bray that

she thought that she might have been drugged because

she was unable to do anything about what was happening

to her. Ferris then asked Bray not to repeat what she had

said, and Bray did not.

On April 11, 1998—about three weeks after the rape—

Ferris reported the rape to Anne Estall, the Delta Duty

Supervisor. In the course of a one-hour meeting, Ferris

informed her that she had been raped by a flight atten-

dant who was an Italian speaker on a March 1998 flight

to Rome. Ferris refused to give Young’s name. Using the

Delta computer system, Estall narrowed the suspects

down to two male, Italian-speaking flight attendants who

had been on the March 16-18 flights. She then set up a

5a

meeting between Ferris and Maritza Biscaino, the Delta

Base Manager at John F. Kennedy International Airport

(JFK) for six days later.

At the meeting on April 17, 1998, Ferris told Biscaino

about the rape in an interview that lasted approximately

two hours. Biscaino requested a written report and the

rapist’s name, both of which Ferris refused to give her.

In follow-up conversations with Ferris around May 4,

1998, Biscaino eventually persuaded Ferris to disclose

her assailant’s name.

On May 5, 1998, Biscaino and her co-base-manager

Kevin Grimes interviewed Michael Young for approxi-

mately two hours. He said that, upon arriving in Rome,

he had gone to the gym, returned to his room for a nap,

and spent the night with another flight attendant, Jaycee

Kantz. The same day, he provided a written statement to

this effect. Biscaino interviewed Kantz shortly after, and

Kantz confirmed that Young had spent the night with

her.

Sometime in early June 1998, flight attendant Carolyn

Gordon overheard a conversation between Young and

another flight attendant in which Young said that he had

been accused of drugging and raping a Delta flight atten-

dant. This prompted Gordon to handwrite a memo to

Delta on June 22, 1998, which recounted an experience

that Gordon had had with Young in December, 1997.

Gordon had accepted Young’s invitation to come to his

room during a layover in Rome for a glass of wine.

When she got there, two glasses of wine were already

poured on the nightstand. Gordon’s memo implied that

the wine Young gave her may have been drugged and

that he took advantage of her drugged state to have sex

with her, although she acknowledged that she may have

suffered an adverse reaction between the wine and anti-

depressant medications she had been taking.

6a

On June 25, 1998, Ferris gave Biscaino her first writ-

ten report of the incident. Ferris’s written report repeated

the events as previously recounted to Vanessa Bray,

Estall, and Biscaino. On June 29, 1998, Biscaino and

Grimes again met with Young, confronting him with the

information in Ferris’s written report.’ At the conclusion

of the meeting, Biscaino and Grimes suspended Young

and removed his Delta workplace identification. Delta

continued to investigate Ferris’s claims over the next

several months, while Young was on suspension. Young

refused to cooperate with the investigation, and was rec-

ommended for termination on November 5, 1998. At

some point, Young submitted a handwritten resignation

to Delta.

2. Delta’s prior notice of Young’s sexually abusive

conduct with co-workers

a. Kathleen Ballweg

At Christmas time, 1993, Kathleen Ballweg and

Young were flight attendants together on a Delta flight

from New York to Milan. During the flight, Young

invited several flight attendants to accompany him to see

the Christmas Eve service in Florence. Several agreed,

but changed their minds by the time the plane arrived in

Florence, leaving Ballweg as the only flight attendant

accompanying Young to Florence. Young raped Ballweg

in her hotel room in Florence.

| The written report stated that the rape occurred in the after-

noon. Biscaino and Grimes seem to have thought that Ferris had

stated that she was raped in the evening, so that Kantz could provide

Young with an alibi. However, Ferris was virtually certain that she

had told Biscaino in her initial interview that the rape had occurred

during the afternoon.

Ta

Upon returning to the United States, Ballweg reported

the incident to a Delta supervisor at JFK. She said the

supervisor should know about somebody who is poten-

tially dangerous, and she identified Young by name.

Although she believed she did not use the word “rape,”

she told the supervisor that she had been attacked, and

clearly communicated that the attack was sexual in

nature. She told the supervisor that she wanted to be

anonymous, and the supervisor replied that Delta could

do nothing about it unless Ballweg made a written, for-

mal complaint, which Ballweg did not want to do. Ball-

weg told the supervisor that she would spread the word

about Young’s dangerousness, and later warned many

flight attendants about Young.

Ballweg later encountered Young during a Delta lay-

over in Frankfurt. Young called Ballweg several times in

her hotel room that night, saying she should spend the

night with him, and berating her with comments about

sex. Ballweg again reported her experiences with Young

to a Delta supervisor. She told the supervisor about the

attack in Florence, noted that she had already told a

supervisor about it, and told the supervisor that she

thought that Young was still dangerous.

Ballweg flew with Young only one more time after the

phone calls in Frankfurt. Whenever she was flying to

Rome or Milan, she would check the flight attendant list

to see if Young was on the flight, and tried to avoid

assignment to a flight if she saw that Young would be

working on it.

Delta took no action in response to Ballweg’s reports.

b. Aileen Feingold

In March 1995, Delta flight attendant Aileen Feingold

visited Young in Dallas for sightseeing. Young had

invited her to stay at his house, telling her she would

(8a

have a separate bedroom. On the night that Feingold

spent at Young’s house, Young entered the bedroom

where she was sleeping and raped her while she was

asleep.

Feingold was so distraught after the rape that she

failed a training test that she took the next day. Delta

subsequently cancelled one of Feingold’s scheduled trips

so that she could re-take the test.

Feingold later warned several Delta flight attendants

that Young was a rapist. About four months after the

rape, Feingold contacted Young about a suitcase that she

had left at his house. Young emailed her, telling her that

it was her problem to take care of her things, that he had

heard that she was talking negatively about him, and that

she had better stop because Young had friends that could

get her in a lot of trouble, specifically mentioning Delta

supervisor Nancy Ruhl, who was manager of in-flight

service for JFK. Young also left messages at her home,

telling her to shut her mouth, or he would take care of

her.

Feingold then contacted Ruhl, the Delta supervisor

that Young had mentioned. Feingold told Ruhl about the

rape. Feingold also read Ruhl the emails that she had

received, and offered to bring her file of Young’s emails

by Ruhl’s office. Ruhl said that that would not be nec-

essary. Feingold said that she believed she was not the

first person that Young had raped, as it seemed to her

that Young had a method of operation that was down pat.

Feingold offered to write up a report to put in Young’s

file to document her allegations. She told Ruhl that she

wanted to do something so that Young would not rape

anyone else. Ruhl told Feingold that she would talk to

Young and that she would take care of the situation, and

that it was not necessary for Feingold to provide a writ-

ten report.

9a

The next day, Ruhl called Feingold and told her that

she had talked to Young, that he would not bother her

again, and that she had taken care of everything. She

instructed Feingold never to talk to Young, and not to

talk to anyone about what had happened.

Delta took no action in response to Feingold’s report.

3. Michelle Zachry

Michelle Zachry, another Delta flight attendant, had

also reported to Delta that Young had behaved hostilely

and aggressively toward her during their work on a flight

after she refused to go out to dinner with him.

Zachry flew with Young to Rome in July 1997. During

the flight, Young made sexual comments to her, told her

about his illegal steroid use, told her that he was

involved in a sexual affair with another flight attendant,

and invited Zachry to go to dinner. Later, Young called

Zachry in her hotel room to ask her to go to dinner, and

after she turned him down, called her back and became

belligerent.

After landing from the return flight from Rome,

Young came up to Zachry and began cursing and scream-

ing at her. Passengers turned around to look at him, and

another flight attendant eventually interposed himself

between Young and Zachry and told Young that he

needed to “chill out.”

Zachry reported this incident to a supervisor. She did

not give Young’s name, but told the supervisor that a

flight attendant had gone crazy because she would not go

out to dinner with him. The supervisor did not ask any

questions of her, and did not make a formal report.

In the meantime, Zachry had spoken with the flight

attendant that Young had said he was having an affair

with. About one week later, Zachry encountered Young

on a Delta tram in the Dallas airport. Young called

10a

Zachry obscene names, and threatened to kill her. Zachty

feared that Young might physically attack her.

After the incident on the tram, Zachry told Cheryl

Merit, a Delta supervisor, that she was going to report an

incident. Merit then accompanied Zachry to the office of

Kathy Goldberger, a Delta supervisor. This time, Zachry

identified Michael Young by name, and told Goldberger

what had happened on the plane, on the tram, and how

Young had boasted of his illegal steroid use. Goldberger

asked Zachry to make a written report, telling her that

they could not do anything unless Zachry made a written

report, and Goldberger told Zachry that Delta “[did not]

have anything on [Young].” Zachry was not willing to

make a written report. Afterwards, Zachry would not fly

to Rome because of her fear of encountering Michael

Young.

Delta took no action in response to Zachry’s report.

B. The district court’s decision

In July 1999, Ferris brought this action against Young

and Delta. Judge Weinstein ordered a separate initial

trial on the question whether the rape had occurred. This

resulted in a mistrial when the jury was unable to agree

on a verdict. Delta then moved for summary judgment.

The court rejected plaintiff’s sexual harassment claims.

See P. v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 102 F. Supp. 2d 132

: (E.D.N.Y. 2000) (hereinafter “P.”). With respect to the

| rape itself, the court ruled that Ferris could not prevail

because Young’s hotel room in Rome was not a “work

| environment” within the ambit of Title VII. See id. at

141. As to the claim based on Ferris’s anxiety and dis-

tress at the prospect of thereafter encountering Young at

Delta, the court concluded that plaintiff’s claimed injury

was too hypothetical and speculative to support a claim

:

lla

of hostile work environment harassment. See id. at 142-

43.

The court also rejected plaintiff’s state tort claims.

Plaintiff has not sought review of most of these rulings.

On the claims for negligent retention and supervision,

which plaintiff has pursued on appeal, the district court

concluded that Delta could not be heid liable for Young’s

actions because Young was not on Delta’s premises Or

using Delta’s chattels when he raped plaintiff. See id. at

144. Rae

Judgment was entered on July 20, 2000. On this

appeal, Ferris argues the district court erred in granting

summary judgment to Delta on her sexual harassment

claim and on her claims for negligent supervision and

retention of Young.

DISCUSSION

A. Sexual harassment claims

1. Young’s rape of Ferris during the layover in Rome

The district court granted summary judgment to Delta

on Ferris’s claim based on the rape in Rome. Because

Young had no supervisory authority over Ferris and she

associated voluntarily with him, and there was no evi-

dence that Delta had affirmatively encouraged flight

attendants to visit each other’s rooms, the court con-

cluded that the attack in Young’s hotel room could not,

as a matter of law, be found to have occurred in a “work

environment.” See P., 102 F. Supp. 2d at 141.

Although we think the question is close, we respect-

fully disagree with the district court’s conclusion. In our

view, the rape could be found to have occurred in a work

environment within the meaning of Title VII. The cir-

12a

cumstances that surround the lodging of an airline’s

flight crew during a brief layover in a foreign country in

a block of hotel rooms booked and paid for by the

employer are very different from those that arise when

stationary employees go home at the close of their nor-

mal workday. The flight crew members repeatedly spend

brief layovers in a foreign country with little opportunity

to develop private lives in that place. Most likely they do

not speak the local language. In all likelihood, they do

not have family, friends, or their own residences there.

Although it is not mandatory for them to do so, they

generally stay in a block of hotel rooms that the airline

reserves for them and pays for. The airline in addition

provides them as a group with ground transportation by

van from the airport to the hotel on arrival, and back at

the time for departure. It is likely furthermore in those

circumstances that the crew members will have no other

acquaintances in this foreign place and will band

together for society and socialize as a matter of course in

one another’s hotel rooms. Even though the employer

does not direct its employees as to how to spend their

off-duty hours, the circumstances of the employment

tend to compel these results. In view of the special set of

circumstances that surround such a foreign layover, we

disagree with the district court’s conclusion. A jury

could properly find on these facts that Young’s hotel

room was a part of Ferris’s work environment within the

terms of Title VII.?

2

We recognize that cases that have found or implied that sex-

ually abusive conduct committed by supervisors away from the place

of employment can sustain employer liability depend at least in part

on a significantly different theory. See, e.g, Burlington Indus., Inc. v.

Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742, 748 (1998) (plaintiff’s allegations of harass-

ment included an allegation that while she and a supervisor were on

a business trip, the supervisor had invited her to the hotel lounge,

made remarks about her breasts, and, when she gave no encourage-

13a

The Supreme Court has stated that “whether an envi-

ronment is ‘hostile’ or ‘abusive’ can be determined only

by looking at all the circumstances. These may include

the frequency of the discriminatory conduct; its severity;

whether it is physically threatening or humiliating, or a

mere offensive utterance; and whether it unreasonably

interferes with an employee’s work performance.” Har-

ris v. Forklift Sys., Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 23 (1993). A plain-

tiff establishes a claim for hostile environment sexual

harassment if she demonstrates (1) harassment that was

sufficiently severe or pervasive to alter the conditions of

her employment, creating an abusive working environ-

ment, and (2) a sufficient basis for imputing the conduct

that created the hostile environment to her employer. See

Perry v. Ethan Allen, Inc., 115 F.3d 143, 149 (2d Cir.

1997).

Although a continuing pattern of hostile or abusive

behavior is ordinarily required to establish a hostile

environment, a single instance can suffice when it is suf-

ficiently egregious. We have no doubt a single incident

ment to him, told her to “loosen up” and warned her, “I could make

your life very hard or very easy at Burlington.”); Meritor Sav. Bank

vy. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 60 (1986) (plaintiff's allegations of harass-

ment included allegations that her supervisor had invited her out to

dinner and, at the dinner, suggested that they go to a motel and have

sexual relations and that her supervisor had made repeated demands

upon her for sexual favors, both during and after business hours);

Tomka v. Seiler Corp., 66 F.3d 1295, 1301-02 (2d Cir. 1995) (plain-

tiff’s allegations of harassment included an allegation that plaintiff

had gone out for a “business dinner” with two supervisors and a co-

worker that consisted of having about 40 drinks and a small quantity

of food at a bar, after which the thtee men raped her in the back seat

of a rental car), abrogated on other grounds by Burlington Indus., Inc.

vy. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742 (1998); McGuinn-Rowe v. Foster’s Daily

Democrat, 1997 WL 669965, at *3 (D.N.H. 1997); Enders v. Asso-

ciated Co., Inc., 1995 U.S. Dist. LEXIS 14525, at *5 (D. Kan. 1995);

Huitt v. Market St. Hotel Corp., 1993 WL 245744 (D. Kan. 1993).

l4a

of rape can satisfy the first prong of employer liability

under a hostile work environment theory. See Tomka v.

Seiler Corp., 66 F.3d 1295, 1305 (2d Cir. 1995) (“{Elven

a single incident of sexual assault sufficiently alters the

conditions of the victim’s employment and clearly cre-

ates an abusive work environment for purposes of Title

VII liability.”), abrogated on other grounds by Burling-

ton Indus., Inc. v. Ellerth, 524 U.S. 742 (1998).

Ferris’s evidence must also satisfy the second prong

by showing a sufficient basis for imputing responsibil-

ity to Delta for Young’s conduct. Where the harassment

was done by a co-employee without supervisory author-

ity over the plaintiff, liability will be imputed to the

employer “only if it is negligent, that is, if it either pro-

vided no reasonable avenue for complaint or knew of the

harassment but did nothing about it.” Richardson v. New

York State Dep’t of Corr. Serv., 180 F.3d 426, 441 (2d

Cir. 1999) (internal quotation marks omitted); see

Faragher v. City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 799

(1998) (noting agreement among the circuits that lia-

bility should be imputed to employers in cases of co-

worker harassment only if the employer was negligent).

A reasonable factfinder might conclude that Delta’s

negligence made it responsible for Ferris’s rape. Delta

had notice of Young’s proclivity to rape co-workers. The

fact that Young’s prior rapes were not of Ferris but of

other co-workers is not preclusive. If an employer is on

notice of a likelihood that a particular employee’s pro-

clivities place other employees at unreasonable risk of

rape, the employer does not escape responsibility to

warn or protect likely future victims merely because the

abusive employee has not previously abused those par-

ticular employees.

Supervisory personnel at Delta had been notified that

Young had twice raped female co-workers and had

es ih Lin SOR aS

15a

engaged in other abusive, sexually hostile conduct

toward the rape victims and a third co-worker. Not only

did Delta do nothing about it, but a Delta supervisor

(Ruhl) took affirmative steps to prevent the filing of a

formal complaint that might have resulted in protective

steps and even to prevent a prior victim (Feingold) from

informally spreading cautionary words among the flight

attendants about Young. Given all the circumstances, a

reasonable factfinder could find that Delta was negligent

in failing to take steps that might have protected Ferris

from Young’s proclivity to rape female co-workers.

The district court rejected the proposition that the

Ballweg and Feingold rapes could constitute notice to

Delta as to the harassment Ferris suffered. It reasoned

that the “[eJarlier complaints of sexual improprieties

involved non-work-related, off-duty encounters, sub-

stantially curtailing both the practical ability and the

legal authority of Delta to investigate.” P., 102 F. Supp.

2d at 142. We disagree. Had the earlier non-work related

incidents consisted of less grave conduct, such as off-

duty flirtation, sexual innuendo, or crude talk, we might

agree that such off-premises, off-duty conduct does not

reasonably give notice of a likelihood that the person

will represent a danger to co-employees or import his

harassment into a work environment and therefore does

not give rise to an employer’s duty to protect co-work-

ers. But rape is obviously a far more serious matter. The

more egregious the abuse and the more serious the threat

of which the employer has notice, the more the employer

will be required under a standard of reasonable care to

take steps for the protection of likely future victims. The

district court may have been correct that Delta’s ability

to investigate was curtailed by the fact that the Feingold

and Ballweg rapes occurred off-duty. It does not follow,

however, that the off-duty nature of the rapes absolved

}

a

l6a

Delta of all responsibility to take reasonable care to pro-

tect co-workers, much less justified a supervisor’s affir-

mative steps to prevent a victim from filing a written

complaint and warning co-workers.

2. Ferris’s subsequent distress at the prospect of

encountering Young at Delta once she was back in

New York.

Because Ferris did not work with Young again after

their return to New York, the district court granted sum-

mary judgment to Delta with respect to Ferris’s fear of

further encounters with Young on the ground that “such

trepidation, standing alone, is too hypothetical and spec-

ulative to support a contention that there was an ‘objec-

tively hostile or abusive work environment.’ ” P., 102 F.

Supp. 2d at 142. We think the evidence, viewed in the

light most favorable to Ferris, showed that she suffered

real emotional trauma from her fear of seeing Young

again while both were working as flight attendants. Fer-

ris endeavored to keep abreast of Young’s work schedule

in efforts to ensure that she would not ever work on a

flight he was on. But she suffered anxiety attacks at

work due to her fear that she might again encounter

Young, sought psychiatric help and took antidepressants.

Under the circumstances, we do not think that Ferris’s

fear of encountering her rapist at her workplace is too

hypothetical and speculative to sustain an award of dam-

ages. We do not rule out, however, that Ferris may be

chargeable with partial, or even full, responsibility for

this later injury or its duration by reason of her failure to

mitigate her damages when she delayed reporting the

event to Delta and naming her assailant.

17a

B. New York negligent retention and supervision claims

Ferris originally brought claims against Delta for var-

ious intentional torts under the doctrine of respondeat

superior, as well as claims for negligent hiring, reten-

tion, and supervision. The district court granted sum-

mary judgment for Delta on all of Ferris’s state tort

claims. See P., 102 F. Supp. 2d at 143-44. On appeal,

Ferris pursues only her negligent retention and super-

vision claims.

The district court granted summary judgment for Delta

on Ferris’s negligent retention and supervision claims on

the grounds that employers are only liable for the torts

of negligent retention and supervision when the torts are

committed on the employer’s premises or with the

employer’s chattels, and that the hotel room in Rome

was neither Delta’s premises nor its equipment. P., 102

F. Supp. 2d at 143-44.

We affirm the grant of judgment by reason of the New

York’s Workers’ Compensation statute. It provides that:

“The right to compensation or benefits under this chap-

ter, shall be the exclusive remedy to an employee. . .

when such employee is injured. . . by the negligence or

wrong of another in the same employ... .” N.Y.

Workers’ Comp. Law § 29(6) (McKinney 1993 & Supp.

2001), see also N.Y. Workers’ Comp. Law § 11 (Mc-

Kinney 1993 & Supp. 2001). We held in Torres v. Pisano,

116 F.3d 625 (2d Cir. 1997), that the New York Workers’

Compensation Law barred a common law negligence

claim that was asserted on the basis of an alleged hostile

work environment because of co-worker harassment. Jd.

at 640. Ferris’s state common law negligence claims are

therefore precluded by the exclusive remedy provisions

of New York’s Workers’ Compensation statute. See id.;

see also Ross v. Mitsui Fudosan, Inc., 2 F. Supp. 2d 522,

533 (S.D.N.Y. 1998) (dismissing New York common law

|

|

|

i

’

i

18a

negligence claims arising out of sexual harassment law-

suit as barred by exclusive remedy provisions of New

York Workers’ Compensation Law), Burlew v. Am. Mut.

dns £2, 472 NUE.2d 682 (N.Y. 1984). We therefore

affirm the district court’s grant of summary judgment on

Ferris’s negligent retention and supervision claims.

CONCLUSION

The district court’s grant of summary judgment in

Delta’s favor as to Ferris’s federal sexual harassment

claims is vacated and the case remanded for further pro-

ceedings. The district court’s grant of summary judg-

ment in Delta’s favor as to Ferris’s state law claims for

negligent retention and supervision is affirmed. The

award of costs and disbursements to Delta is vacated.

The costs of the appeal are awarded to Ferris.

19a

Appendix B

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

99 CV 4127

Filed June 29, 2000

Pas

Plaintiff,

—against—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., and M.,

Defendants.

AMENDED PARTIAL JUDGMENT,

MEMORANDUM AND ORDER

APPEARANCES:

Attorneys for Plaintiff:

Timothy C. Davis

Lorelle J. Chin

Kristy L. Capogrossi

Clapp, Moroney, Bellagamba, Davis and Vucinich

4400 Bohannon Drive, Suite 100

Menlo Park, CA 94025

Allegra L. Fishel

Beranbaum, Menken, Ben-Asher & Fishe!

Three New York Plaza

New York, NY 10004

20a

Richard O’ Keeffe

| O’ Keeffe & Lindgren

707 Westchester Ave.

White Plains, NY 10604

Attorneys for Defendant Delta:

Janine Syll Simerly

Gilmore F. Deikmann, Jr.

Simone A. Pam

Seyfarth, Shaw, Fairweather & Geraldson

101 California Street, Suite 2900

San Francisco, CA 94111

Benjamin A. Stone

Delta Air Lines, Inc.

Law Department — 982

P.O. Box 20574

Atlanta, GA 30320

Attorneys for Defendant M.:

Robert J. Conway

Steven L. Sonkin

Marshall, Conway & Wright, P.C.

116 John St.

New York, NY 10038

JACK B. WEINSTEIN,

Senior District Court Judge:

2la

TABLE OF CONTENTS

E.'S eas WIE 6 ket cndcdued ci csccatuenas ic 3

Oe 2 ES daha Schau eesendana css kaauesatios 4

III STATUTORY SEXUAL HARASSMENT... 6

Bia: RRR i ctnvdndinsddncdavessdnstee ays 7

1. Hostile Work Environment......... 8

a. Hostile or Abusive Conduct... 8

b. Work Environment ............ 10

2. Employer Imputed Liability ....... 13

a. Reasonable Avenue of

RANE sc idietcakadtadacareias 15

b. Notice and Response.......... 15

B. Application of Law to Facts............ 17

1. Sexual Assault in Rome............ 17

2. Flight from Rome en eer rer 18

3. Fear of Additional Encounters..... 20

Sor NE nek Na canadnasdsApens Sikdawnuaenes 21

Bi: DR: cidapccvesscndcnnknn Sededeawns 21

ee seer ke i picashinwas 22

i EEE bed actnabsdecscsichesctacewsss 24

cca lie

|

22a

I INTRODUCTION

P. (Plaintiff) sues Delta Airlines, Inc., which employs

her as a cabin flight attendant, and M. (Defendant), who

was formerly so employed, for rapes Defendant

allegedly committed on her while the two were off-duty

following a Delta flight to Rome, Italy. She contends

that he administered a “date rape” drug and then com-

mitted the sexual assaults.

After a mistrial in which a ten member jury split nine

to one in favor of defendants on the underlying question

of whether a rape had in fact occurred, Delta moves for

summary judgment. See Fed.R.Civ.P. 56. The motion is

granted. To hold an employer liable in these circum-

stances would be to encourage unacceptable inquisitorial

snooping and intrusiveness by employers into the private

lives of their employees, contrary to fundamental Amer-

ican notions of privacy.

Both Defendant and Plaintiff are mature; one is

approaching forty, the other is almost fifty, and both

were previously married. Delta can not be faulted for

failure to warn this plaintiff that years before, in private

residences far removed in time and place from any Delta

related work activities, Defendant may have engaged in

non-consensual intercourse with fellow employees, nor

that he had sexual relations with a number of female

employees between Delta trips to and from Rome (a mat-

ter it could not have known about before plaintiff’s com-

plaint).

Arguably, if Defendant were a sexual predator who

should have been known by his employer to be a danger

to females, Delta would have had an obligation to warn

her or to decrease the hazards of his sexual rapacity by

not providing the pair with adjacent hotel rooms.

Arguably, were Plaintiff an immature person requiring

special protection and advice, Delta would have had an

Me Lines REN LENTT R NE BeNOR Ee te NE TT ECM OT Tene ee “ass a hs ech etn Al es Oy ak AGA ae laa

s ‘ ae Ph ia, Bee Fn PEN ter be SENT eae TNE Tha . FIT aL eee OY ME ee Te Pee ae . Tey ee = Te meg e® oh ‘

23a

obligation to not expose her to this danger or to provide

an appropriate chaperon. Arguably, were it mooted about

by employees that Defendant was a sexual hazard to be

avoided and guarded against, Delta would have had an

obligation to prevent the degeneration of work related

surroundings by his presence. The evidence supports

none of these hypotheses.

II FACTS

Analyzing the evidence to favor Plaintiff’s version,

see Matsushita Elec. Indus. Co. v. Zenith Radio Corp.,

475 U.S. 574, 587-88 (1986), this story may be briefly

summarized from her point of view.

She was a long time Delta cabin flight attendant

assigned to her first flight from J.F.K. International Air-

port to Rome. He was a cabin flight attendant regularly

assigned to Delta’s New York-Rome flights. They had

neither met nor heard of one another prior to the March

16, 1998 trip to Rome. Neither had supervisory author-

ity over the other.

Upon arriving in Rome on the morning of March 17,

Plaintiff and Defendant, together with the rest of the

flight crew, were driven in a Delta bus to a hotel where

the airline had arranged for the crew to stay until the

return flight to New York on March 18. Responding to

his offer of some wine, Plaintiff went to his hotel room

at about 11 a.m. There he served her wine spiked with a

“date rape” drug.

Within a short period Plaintiff fell comatose on his

bed, awakening only intermittently, but realizing during

these periods of partial consciousness that Defendant

was raping her. She was unable to defend herself. After

five hours, Plaintiff came-to. She returned to her hotel

room where she slept until awakened at 7 p.m. by a tele-

phone call to join crew members for dinner. While dress-

|

|

|

24a

ing for dinner, she found no seminal fluid on her clothes

or body, but threw away her undergarments.

During dinner Plaintiff did not discuss the sexual

assault. He was not present.

Plaintiff and Defendant both vorked aboard the March

18th return flight to New York. Neither then nor upon

landing in New York did she report the incident.

Two weeks later, on March 30, 1998, Plaintiff com-

plained about the rape to a fellow flight attendant who

had worked as lead attendant on the March 16 and 18

trips to and from Rome, but she asked that the informa-

tion not be relayed to Delta management; it was not.

More than three weeks after the assault, on April 11,

1998, Plaintiff informed a Delta flight attendant super-

visor of the assault, but declined to give her attacker’s

name. A month after the assault she informed a Delta

J.F.K. base supervisor that she had been raped, but

_ declined to identify the attacker; in contravention of

Delta’s printed policy statement requiring immediate

reports of sexual harassment, Plaintiff refused a specific

request to provide a written statement detailing the

event.

Finally, some month and a half after the rape Plaintiff

told Delta her attacker’s name. Defendant was immedi-

ately interviewed by Delta officials. He denied that the

incident had taken place and submitted a written state-

ment detailing his actions on March 17.

More than two months after the attack, on June 25,

1998, Plaintiff gave Delta a first written report. Upon

receiving it, Delta suspended Defendant without pay. He

resigned or was fired a few months later without ever

having been permitted to return to work.

Though no evidence appears in Delta’s records, it is

alleged (and assumed to be true) that the airline knew

that some years before: (1) another female flight atten-

25a

dant visited Defendant for the night at his home in Texas

where he seduced her; and, (2) yet another female flight

attendant slept with him in his family’s home in

Florence, Italy, where sexual congress ensued without

her full consent.

During the trial two other sexual encounters Defen-

dant had engaged in with female flight attendants were

revealed—one a fully consensual liaison and the other a

repeated voluntary sexual partnership that may have

begun by his spiking wine with a “date rape” drug. It is

not contended that Delta had any knowledge of either of

these affairs prior to the sexual assault on Plaintiff.

III] STATUTORY SEXUAL HARASSMENT

Plaintiff asserts claims for unlawful workplace sexual —

harassment under federal law as well as under New York

State and City laws. See, e:g., 42 U.S.C. §8§ 2000e, et

seq.; N.Y. Exec. L. §§ 296.1, 296.6, & 296.7; N.Y.C.

Admin. Code § 8-107. For purposes of this motion, New

York State and City discrimination laws are assumed to

mirror federal law. See, e.g., Cruz v. Coach Stores, Inc.,

202 F.3d 560, 565 n.1 (2d Cir. 2000). (“consideration of

claims brought under the state and city human rights

laws parallels the analysis used in Title VII claims”);

Smith v. Xerox Corp., 196 F.3d 358, 363 n.1 (2d Cir.

1999) (“claims under the [New York State Human Rights

Law] are analyzed identically to claims under. . . Title

VII”). i

A. Law

Title VII of the Civil Rights Act of 1964 provides in

pertinent part:

[i]t shall be an unlawful employment practice of an |

employer. . .to. . . discriminate against any indi-

26a

vidual with respect to. . . conditions, or privileges

of employment, because of such individuals. . .

sex[.]

42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1). “[S]Jexual harassment in the

workplace violates Title VII’s broad rule of workplace

equality.” Karibian v. Columbia University, 14 F.3d 773,

777 (2d Cir. 1994) (internal quotation marks omitted);

see Meritor Savings Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57,

66 (1986). Claims of workplace sexual harassment can

be advanced under two theories: (1) quid pro quo, and

(2) hostile environment. See, e.g., Torres v. Pisano, 116

F.3d 625, 630 (2d Cir. 1997); Carrero v. New York City

Housing Authority, 890 F.2d 569, 577 (2d Cir. 1989).

Quid pro quo harassment occurs “when ‘submission to

or rejection of [unwelcome sexual] conduct by an indi-

vidual is used as the basis for employment decisions

affecting such individual.’ ” Karibian, 14 F.3d at 777

(quoting 29 C.F.R. § 1604.11(a)(2)) (changes in origi-

nal); see also id. (prima facie case consists of “evidence

that [the plaintiff] was (1) subject to unwelcome sexual

conduct, and (2) that her reaction to that conduct was

then used as the basis for decisions affecting the com-

pensation, terms, conditions or privileges of employ-

ment” (internal quotation marks omitted)). No such

harassment is alleged here.

A hostile work environment exists when gender-based

“intimidation, ridicule, and insult . . . is sufficiently

severe Or pervasive to alter the conditions of the victim’s

employment and create an abusive working environ-

ment.” Oncale v. Sundowner Offshore Serv., Inc., 523

U.S. 75, 78 (1998); (emphases added). To state an

actionable claim, a plaintiff must establish that (1) “the

harassment was ‘sufficiently severe or pervasive to alter

the conditions of the victim’s employment and create an

abusive working environment[,]’ ” and (2) “that a spe-

27a

cific basis exists for imputing the conduct that created

the hostile environment to the employer.” Perry v. Ethan

Allen, Inc., 115 F.3d 143, 149 (2d Cir. 1997); see

Kotcher v. Rosa and Sullivan Appliance Center, Inc., 957

F.2d 59, 63 (2d Cir. 1992).

1. Hostile Work Environment

In order to establish the first element—an abusive

work environment—a plaintiff must identify hostile or

abusive conduct and establish a connection between that

conduct and the work environment.

a. Hostile or Abusive Conduct

Whether unwelcome conduct by a fellow employee “is

‘hostile’ or ‘abusive’ depends on the totality of cir-

cumstances.” Quinn v. Green Tree Credit Corp., 159 F.3d

759, 767-68 (2d Cir. 1998). A plaintiff must establish

both an “objectively hostile work environment, as well

as a subjective perception by the plaintiff that the envi-

ronment was abusive[.]” Hirase-Doi v. U.S. West Com-

munications, Inc., 61 F.3d 777, 782 (10th Cir. 1995);

see Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc., 510 U.S. 17, 21

(1993). Factors considered include: “ ‘the frequency of

the discriminatory conduct; its severity; whether it is

physically threatening or humiliating, or a mere offen-

sive utterance; and whether it unreasonably interferes

with an employee’s work performance.’ ” Quinn, 159

F.3d at 767-68 (quoting Harris, 510 U.S. at 23).

Though this inquiry is not subject to “a mathemati-

cally precise test,” Harris, 510 U.S. at 22, the court of

appeals for the Second Circuit has provided benchmarks:

As a general matter, isolated remarks or occasional

episodes of harassment will not merit relief under

Title VII; in order to be actionable, the incidents of

28a

harassment must occur in concert or with a regu-

larity that can reasonably be termed pervasive.

However, where the conduct is sufficiently severe,

it may alter the plaintiff’s conditions of employment

without repetition: [E]ven a single incident of sex-

ual assault sufficiently alters the conditions of the

victim’s employment and clearly creates an abusive

work environment for purposes of Title VII liability.

Quinn, 159 F.3d at 768 (internal citations and quotation

marks omitted) (change in original). As the Supreme

Court has advised, “[t]hese standards for judging hos-

tility are sufficiently demanding to ensure that Title VII

does not become a ‘general civility code.’ ” Faragher v.

City of Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 788 (1998); see also

Meritor Savings Bank, FSB v. Vinson, 477 U.S. 57, 67

(1986).

The sexually charged acts constituting a hostile work

environment need not be directed at the plaintiff—either

in whole or in part—to create a viable claim. See, e.g.,

Perry, 115 F.3d at 151 (“Evidence of the harassment of

women other than [plaintiff], if part of a pervasive or

continuing pattern of conduct, [is] surely relevant to

show the existence of a hostile environment.”); Hicks v.

Gates Rubber Co., 833 F.2d 1406, 1416-17 (10th Cir.

1987) (quoting approvingly: “Even a woman who

was never herself the object of harassment might have

a Title VII claim if she were forced to work in an atmo-

sphere where such harassment was pervasive.”); see also

Hirase-Doi, 61 F.3d at 782 n.2; Drinkwater v. Union

Carbide Corp., 904 F.2d 853, 863 (3d Cir. 1990);

Leibovitz v. New York City Trans. Auth., 4 F.Supp.2d

144, 150-53 (E.D.N.Y. 1998).

In relying on sexual acts directed at others to make out

a hostile work environment claim, the plaintiff “may

only rely on evidence relating to harassment of which

29a

she was aware.during the time that she was allegedly

subject to a hostile work environment.” Hirase-Doi, 61

F.3d at 782. This limitation results from the requirement

that the plaintiff must have had a subjective perception

that the environment was abusive. A plaintiff who did

not know of the sexual acts directed at co-workers dur-

ing the time in which she claims to have experienced a

hostile work environment cannot assert them as a basis

for believing her general work environment was so abu-

sive as to effectively alter her working conditions. See

id.

b. Work Environment

For purposes of stating a hostile work environment

claim, the “work environment” in which the abusive and

hostile acts can occur reaches beyond the traditional

“work place.” Nonetheless, when the sexual acts occur

outside the work place, the plaintiff must identify suf-

ficient facts from which to infer a connection between

the abusive and hostile sexual conduct and the employ-

ment. See, e.g., Tomka v. Seiler Corp., 66 F.3d 1295,

1306 (2d Cir. 1995); Huitt v. Market Street Hotel Corp.,

No. 91-1488-MLB, 1993 WL 245744, at * 5 (D.Kan.

June 10, 1993).

Because Title VII is aimed at immunizing employees’

work environment from sexual intimidation and repres-

sion, employers can avoid liability for unwelcomed or

hostile sexual acts resulting from off-duty interactions

between co-workers. See, e.g., Alvey v. Rayovac Corp.,

922 F.Supp. 1315, 1330 (W.D.Wis. 1996). As a general

proposition, employers are not responsible under Title

VII for hostile sexual acts resulting from non-work-

related, off-duty interactions between co-employees.

Determining whether unwelcome sexual conduct out-

side the work place is sufficiently work related to fall

30a

within Title VII’s reach may be difficult because work

relations often blossom into intense personal relation-

ships.

As the work force grows and people spend more of

their time at work, the workplace inevitably

becomes fertile ground for the dating and mating

game. It is certainly not unusual, and it may even be

desirable, for love to bloom in the workplace. Con-

tiguity can lead to sexual interest, which can lead to

soft music, candlelight dinners, serious romance,

and marriage, or any stops along the way.

Hennessy v. Penril Datacomm Networks, Inc., 69 F.3d

1344, 1353 (7th Cir. 1995) (“[We] should not be in the

business of throwing a wet blanket over activities that

can lead to consensual amour.”); see also Ganzy v. Allen

Christian Sch., 995 F.Supp. 240, 350-59 (E.D.N.Y.

1998).

A more difficult—though related—question is: can an

actionable Title VII claim for hostile work environment

be brought against the employer because the victim of an

off-duty non-work-related sexual assault is subsequently

forced to work alongside the attacker? The answer is

yes. When a violent sexual assault on a co-worker occurs

outside of the work environment during the employees’

off-duty personal hours, continuing resentment and fear

on the job can affect employment “terms, conditions, or

privileges[.]” 42 U.S.C. § 2000e-2(a)(1).

Depending on the nature of the off-duty conduct

alleged, the employer may face liability for continuing

to employ the victim and the attacker in close proximity

where the presence of the attacker can reasonably be

expected “to alter the conditions of the victim’s employ-

ment[,]” and the victim in fact experiences such a

change. Harris, 510 U.S. at 21; see Faragher v. City of

3la

Boca Raton, 524 U.S. 775, 787 (1998) (“[A] sexually

objectionable environment must be both objectively and

subjectively offensive, one that a reasonable person

would find hostile and abusive, and one that the-victim

in fact did perceive to be so.”). .

A contrary conclusion—that an employer is never

obligated to mitigate the work related consequences of

an off-duty, violent sexual assault by one co-worker on

another—would have the effect of penalizing the victim

by “detract[ing] from job performance” and “dis-

courag[ing] [her] from remaining on the job” because of

predictable psychological pressures. Harris, 510 U.S. at

ye &

To avoid liability for the work-related consequences

from off-duty sexual attacks, therefore, an employer

must provide a reasonable avenue for complaint. Addi-

tionally, once put on notice of the off-duty sexual assault

and its consequences to the victim’s work environment,

the employer must take prompt corrective action. See

infra Part IV.A.2..

2. Employer Imputed Liability

The second element required for a hostile work envi-

ronment claim is “a specific basis. . . for imputing the

conduct that created the hostile environment to the

employer.” Perry, 115 F.3d at 149; Tomka, 66 F.3d at

1305; Karibian, 14 F.3d at 780 (“[A] plaintiff seeking to

establish harassment under a hostile environment theory

must demonstrate some specific basis to hold the

employer liable for the misconduct of employees.”).

Relevant to this inquiry is the status of the employee-

harasser; the degree to which employers are held liable

for sexual harassment of employees varies depending on

whether “the alleged harasser is the plaintiff’s supervi-

sor [or]. . . her co-worker.” Karibian, 14 F.3d at 779.

32a

When a supervisor creates an actionable hostile work

environment, the employer is automatically subject to

vicarious liability. Burlington Indus., Inc., v. Ellerth, 524

U.S. 742, 763 (1998); Faragher, 524 U.S. at 807. A

“supervisor's power and authority invests his or her

harassing conduct with a particular threatening charac-

ter, and in this sense, a supervisor always is aided” in

Carrying out the harassment by his employment position.

Burlington Indus., 524 U.S. at 765.

When a fellow employee harasses, the victim can

walk away or tell the offender where to go, but it

may be difficult to offer such responses to a super-

visor, whose “power to supervise—[which may be]

to hire and fire, and to set work schedules and pay

rates—does not disappear. . . when he chooses to

harass through insults and offensive gestures rather

than directly with threats or promises of promotion.

Faragher, 524 U.S. at 803. Employers also have “a

greater opportunity to guard against misconduct by super-

visors”; they can “screen them, train them, and monitor

their performance.” Jd. at 803; see also McKennon v.

| Nashville Banker Pub. Co., 513 U.S. 352, 358 (1995)

(“Congress designed the remedial measures in [Title

VII] to serve as a ‘spur or catalyst’ to cause employers

‘to self-examine and to self-evaluate their employment

practices and to endeavor to eliminate, so far as possible,

the last vestiges’ of discrimination. Deterrence is one

object of these statutes.” (internal citations omitted)).

In contrast, where an employee of equal or inferior

rank and authority is responsible for the harassment,

the employer generally will not be liable unless the

employer either (1) provided no reasonable avenue for

complaint, or (2) knew of the harassment but did noth-

ing about it. See, e.g., Perry, 115 F.3d at 149; Tomka, 66

ee

33a

F.3d at 1305; Karibian, 14 F.3d at 780; see also Quinn,

159 F.3d at 767 (“In contrast to allegations of harass-

ment by co-workers. . . , employers are presumptively

liable for all acts of harassment perpetrated by an

employee’s supervisor.” (citing Burlington Indus., 524

U.S. at 765)); cf. 29 C.F.R. § 1604.11(d) (“With respect

to conduct between fellow employees, an employer is

responsible for acts of sexual harassment in the work-

place where the employer . . . knows or should have

known of the conduct, unless it can show that it took

immediate and appropriate corrective action.”).

a. Reasonable Avenue of Complaint

Whether an employer has provided a reasonable

avenue for complaint varies with the structural organi-

zation of the company and the resources available to it.

Factors to consider include whether: 1) the employer has

an anti-harassment policy in place; 2) that policy makes

it clear that harassment is strictly prohibited; 3) the pol-

icy is seriously enforced; 4) employees are informed

how to report sexual harassment; 5) the policy is effec-

tively communicated to employees; and 6) other pro-

grams or actions are taken by the employer to eliminate

sexual harassment. See, e.g., Fiscus v. Triumph Group

Operations, Inc., 24 F.Supp.2d 1229, 1240-41 (D.Kan.

1998); Duran v. Flagstar Corp., 17 F.Supp.2d 1195,

1202 (D.Colo. 1998).

b. Notice and Response

As a general matter, an employer must have actual

notice of the hostile work environment before it is

required to take remedial action. Nevertheless, the

employer is assumed to know what a reasonably astute

and concerned employer would have known under the

circumstances. See, e.g., Torres v. Pisano, 116 F.3d 625,

34a

634 n.9 (2d Cir. 1997) (“An official’s actual or con-

structive knowledge of harassment will be imputed to

the employer when principles of agency law so dic-

tate.”). Employers will be deemed to have constructive

notice of harassment “if officials sufficiently high in the

management hierarchy should have gained knowledge of

it through the exercise of reasonable care.” Torres, 116

F.3d at 634 n.9. If a co-worker has knowledge of a

harassee’s complaint and that co-worker is “charged with

substantial responsibility for relaying employee com-

plaints to management, particularly where management

is located away from the workplace[,]” the employer

may also be deemed to have constructive knowledge of

the harassment. Id. at 637.

When an employer is aware of evidence of sexual

harassment against other employees “that is similar in

nature and near in time” to the plaintiff’s allegations this

too may be sufficient to establish notice. Hirase-Doi v.

U.S. West, 61 F.3d 777, 784 (10th Cir. 1995). Liability

may be imputed to the employer because it “reasonably

should have anticipated that the plaintiff would become

a victim of sexual harassment in the workplace and yet

failed to take action reasonably calculated to prevent

such harassment.” Paroline v. Unisys Corp., 879 F.2d

100, 107 (4th Cir. 1986), vacated in part on other

grounds, 900 F.2d 27 (1990) (en banc); see also Perry,

115 F.3d at 151 (“Evidence of the harassment of women

other than [plaintiff], if part of a pervasive or continu-

ing pattern of conduct, . . . could have been found

probative of the company’s notice of that environment

~s ae

Once an employer has knowledge of a co-worker’s

harassing conduct, “the law imposes. . . a ‘duty to take

reasonable steps to eliminate it.’” Torres, 116 F.3d at

636. Though the reasonableness of the employer’s

35a

response will necessarily vary based on the underlying

allegations of harassment, at a minimum an employer

should promptly investigate the allegations and take

effective steps to ensure that the conduct does not recur.

Cf. Kotcher v. Rosa and Sullivan Appliance Center, Inc.,

957 F.2d 59, 63 (2d Cir. 1992) (“[N]Jot every response to

a complaint [of sexual harassment] should take the form

of a discharge[.]”).

B. Application of Law to Facts

Plaintiff alleges two encounters with her attacker

which serve as the basis for her hostile work environ-

ment claims against Delta. The first was the alleged

assault in Defendant’s Rome hotel room. The second was

working with him on the return Delta flight from Rome

to New York. Plaintiff alleges no other contact between

the two.

1. Sexual Assault in Rome

With respect to Delta’s liability for the sexual assault

in Rome, the threshold issue is whether Plaintiff’s pres-

ence in the hotel room was sufficiently related to her

employment that the room was effectively a “work envi-

ronment” falling within Title VII. Inquiries of this nature

are inherently fact based, but off-site encounters

between employees may be sufficiently related to the

employment to constitute a “work environment.” See,

e.g, Tomka, 66 F.3d at 1306.

For example, in Tomka, two of the plaintiff’s super-

visors and one co-worker were alleged to have raped her.

The rape occurred immediately after a business dinner

attended by the four during which a substantial quantity

of alcohol was consumed. Id. at 1301-02, 1306. There

was a sufficient connection between plaintiff’s employ-

ment and the assault to raise a material question as to

36a

whether it occurred in a “work environment”; the plain-

tiff’s supervisors may have “used their actual or appar-

ent authority to accomplish the rape.” Id. at 1306.

Relevant though not explicitly addressed was the fact

that dinners such as the one which preceded the rape

were encouraged by the employer. See id. 1301 (“com-

pany policy for. . . employees. . . to transact business

during these meals”).

It is possible that a sexual assault during a flight lay-

over could be found to occur in a “work environment,”

implicating Title VII liability of the employer. The

employees are away from home and together because of

their employment.

In the instant case the environment was not work-

related. Plaintiff was not only off-duty, she voluntarily

associated with defendant—someone who had no super-

visory authority over her—for purely personal reasons.

No evidence has been presented linking her decision to

go to Defendant’s room with her employment by Delta.

Had Defendant been a supervisor or had he had super-

visory authority, an inference that Plaintiff felt coerced

into going to his room might present a fact question of

whether the attack occurred in a “work environment.”

Alternatively, had Plaintiff introduced evidence that

Delta had a policy or practice of encouraging flight

attendants to commingle in one another’s rooms a fact

question might exist as to whether the attack took place

in a “work environment.” No. such evidence has been

presented.

Also lacking is evidence that Delta was, or could have

been, aware that the attacker was a sexually dangerous

predator who should not have been placed in close prox-

imity to a fellow employee. See infra Part III.B.2.

37a

2. Flight from Rome

During the time Plaintiff was forced to work in close

proximity with her attacker on the March 18 flight back

to New York, Delta was potentially liable for the work-

related consequences of the assault. Given the violent

and traumatic nature of rapes, it cannot be said as a ‘nat-

ter of law that Plaintiff did not experience both an objec-

tively and subjectively “sexually objectionable” work

environment during this period, satisfying for purposes

of this motion the first element of a hostile work envi-

ronment claim. See Faragher, 524 U.S. at 787; see also

Merritor, 477 U.S. at 65.

Plaintiff must also establish a basis for imputing lia-

bility to Delta for her unease during the flight back—the

second element of a hostile work environment claim. See

Kotcher v. Rosa and Sullivan Appliance Center, Inc., 957

F.2d 59, 63 (2d Cir. 1992). As earlier noted, where a

non-supervising co-worker “is the alleged harasser, an

employer will generally not be liable unless the

employer either [1] provided no reasonable avenue for

complaint or [2] knew of the harassment but did nothing

about it.” Tomka, 66 F.3d at 1305.

With respect to the first prong, Delta provided a rea-

sonable avenue for complaint. It had a comprehensive

anti-discrimination policy that covered sexual harass-

ment. Delta informed its employees and supervisors

about the policy through training sessions, manuals,

posters, memoranda, brochures, and mailings. It took

reasonable steps to ensure that employees were aware of

the host of reporting options, including availability

of the employee’s supervisor, any manager in the

employee’s department, and Delta’s Equal Opportunity

office. Both Plaintiff and Defendant were aware of the

airline’s policy and its available reporting procedures at

all relevant times.

38a

As to the second prong—that the employer knew of

the harassment but did not reasonably take action to pre-

vent it—there is no dispute that at the time of the return

flight from Rome Delta was not aware, and could not

have known, that a sexual assault had occurred.

Plaintiff contends that because Delta might have been

aware of two earlier reports of her attacker’s off-duty,

non-work related improper sexual conduct, it had con-

structive notice. Cf. Hirase-Doi v. U.S. West Communi-

cations, Inc., 61 F.3d 777, 784 (10th Cir. 1995).

Although knowledge that a co-worker has allegedly

assaulted other persons may in some instances be suffi-

cient to put an employer on constructive notice that a

sexual assault is likely to occur, the facts of this case

present no material question of constructive notice.

Earlier complaints of sexual improprieties involved

non-work related, off-duty encounters, substantially cur-

tailing both the practical ability and the legal authority

of Delta to investigate. Cf. Abrosio v. Price, 495 F.Supp.

381, 386 (D.Neb. 1979) (“An employer cannot be

expected to exercise contro] over the personal, as

opposed to business, activities of its employees in order

to protect third persons.”).

Having provided reasonable avenues for complaint and

having had no notice of the off-duty, non-work related

sexual assault, Delta cannot be held liable for any anxi-

ety plaintiff experienced during the flight from Rome.

3. Fear of Additional Encounters

Although Plaintiff concedes that she never worked

with or even encountered her attacker after the return

flight from Rome, she contends that the continuing pos-

sibility and uncertainty of being forced to work with

Defendant again (until his suspension) had the effect of

sustaining an on-going hostile work environment for

39a

which Delta is responsible. Such trepidation, standing

alone, is too hypothetical and speculative to support a

contention that there was an “objectively hostile or abu-

sive work environment.” Harris v. Forklift Systems, Inc.,

510 U.S. 17, 21 (1993). This conclusion is supported by

the fact that Plaintiff’s continuing fear of again encoun-

tering her attacker at work was caused by her own delay

in identifying him to Delta.

IV TORTS

With respect to state causes of action, the Plaintiff and

Delta have consistently asserted that New York law

applies; they are deemed to have consented to its appli-

cation. See Celle v. Filipino Reporter Enterprises, Inc.,

209 F.3d 163, 175 (2d Cir. 2000) (implied choice of law).

Plaintiff has asserted claims of assault, battery, false

imprisonment and intentional infliction of emotional dis-

tress against Delta under the doctrine of respondeat

superior. She has also advanced claims for negligent

hiring, retention ind supervision.

A. Intentional

Under the doctrine of respondeat superior, an

employer may be held vicariously liable for a tort “com-

mitted by an employee while acting within the scope of

his employment.” Tomka, 66 F.3d at 1317 (citing Riviello

v. Waldron, 47 N.Y.2d 297, 302 (1979); Heindel v.

Bowery Savings Bank, 525 N.Y.S.2d 428 (App.Div. 3d

Dep’t 1988)). “However, an employer is not liable for

torts committed by the employee for personal motives

unrelated to the furtherance of the employer’s business.”

Tomka, 66 F.3d at 1317 (citing Heindel, 525 N.Y.S.2d at

428; Island Assoc. Coop., Inc. v. Hartmann, 500

N.Y.S.2d 315, 316 (App.Div. 2d Dep’t 1986)); see Judith

v. Sisters of Charity Hospital, 93 N.Y.2d 932, 933 (1999)

~~

40a

(“Assuming plaintiff’s allegations of sexual abuse are

true, it is clear that the employee here departed from his

duties for solely personal motives unrelated to the fur-

therance of the Hospital’s business.”). An employer is

| not liable for the unpredictable intentional acts of an

| employee committed for purely personal reasons.

There is no basis to conclude that the claimed sexual

assault was anything other than a purely personal act. As

in Tomka, this defect is fatal. See Tomka, 66 F.3d at

1317; see also, e.g., Moore v. Sam’s Club, 55 F.Supp.2d

177, 195 (S.D.N.Y. 1999) (“[T]he intentional torts of

employees related to sexual misconduct ‘arise from

personal motives and do not further an employer’s busi-

ness, even when committed within the employment con-

text.’ ”). Plaintiff cannot, as a matter of law, sustain

actions against Delta for assault, battery, false impris-

onment, or emotional distress stemming from the assault.

B. Negligent

| As to Plaintiff’s negligence claims, it is assumed—

without deciding—that the New York Workers Com-

pensation Act does not operate to bar employee suits

against employers for tortious acts by a fellow employee

in a foreign setting arranged by the employer for its ben-

efit. See N.Y. Work. Comp. Law § 29(6) (preempting

actions against an employer for injuries sustained by an

employee in the course of employment).

New York recognizes claims of negligent hiring, reten-

tion and supervision against employers for employee’s

whose conduct causes harm. See Kenneth R. v. Roman

Catholic Diocese, 654 N.Y.S.2d 791, 795 (App.Div. 2d

Dep’t 1997) (“In instances where an employee cannot

| be held vicariously liable for its employee’s torts, the

employer can still be held liable under theories of neg-

ligent hiring, negligent retention, and negligent super-

vision.”).

With respect to the negligent hiring claim, Plaintiff

has produced no evidence that Delta knew or should

have known of any hostile sexual acts committed—either

in the workplace or elsewhere—by Delta when it hired

him. See Kenneth R., 654 N.Y.S.2d at 795. This absence

of evidence is fatal to plaintiff’s claim for negligent

hiring.

The negligent supervision and negligent retention

claims also have no merit. An employer does not owe a

duty, and is not liable, to persons who are injured by its

employees while the employees are off duty, not then

acting for the employer’s benefit, not on the employer’s

premises, and not using the employer’s equipment. See,

e.g., D’Amico v. Christie, 71 N.Y.2d 76, 78 (1987)

(Kaye, J.) (employer’s liability for torts committed by its

employees outside the course and scope of their employ-

ment “is limited to torts committed by employees on the

employer’s premises or with the employer’s chattels”);

Ross v. Mitsui Fudosan, Inc., 2 F.Supp.2d 522, 533

(S.D.N.Y. 1998) (same); see also Anderson v. Adam's

Mark Hotels and Resorts, No. 99-1100, 2000 WL

390107, at *2 (10th Cir. 2000); Feingold v. Delta Air

Lines, Inc., 3:99-cv-0728-T, (N.D.Tex. Oct. 20, 1999)

(Maloney, J.) (slip-op); Ambrosio v. Price, 495 F.Supp.

381, 386 (D.Neb. 1979) (“An employer owes no duty to

persons who are injured by its employees while the

employees are off duty and not on the employer’s

premises.”).

There is no dispute that Plaintiff and Defendant were

off duty and not acting on Delta’s behalf at the time of

the assault. Cf. Rich v. Delta Air Lines, Inc., 921 F.Supp.

767, 776-77 (N.D.Ga. 1996). Although Plaintiff and

Defendant were staying in hotel rooms paid for by Delta,

42a

the airline neither had control over activities in those

rooms, nor did it have access to the rooms. The hotel

accommodations cannot be considered the airline’s

“premises” or “equipment” as support for a claim of neg-

ligence against Delta for the assault.

V CONCLUSION

Delta’s motion for summary judgment is granted.

Costs and disbursements are assessed against Plaintiff.

There being no just reason for delay, entry of a final

judgment in favor of Delta is directed. See Fed.R.Civ.P.

54(b).

The action against the individual defendant—the

alleged attacker—will proceed.

SO ORDERED

/s/ JACK B. WEINSTEIN

JACK B. WEINSTEIN

U.S. Senior District Judge

Dated: Brooklyn, New York

June 28, 2000

Appendix C

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

Dkt No: 00-7921

Filed March 14, 2002

At a stated term of the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit, held at the Unsted States Court-

house, Foley Square, in the City of New York, on the

14th day of March two thousand two.

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff-Appellant,

—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC.,

Defendant-Appellee.

A petition for panel rehearing and a petition for rehear-

ing en banc having been filed herein by the appellee

Delta Air Lines.

Upon consideration by the panel that decided the

appeal, it is Ordered that said petition for rehearing

is DENIED.

It is further noted that the petition for rehearing en banc

has been transmitted to the judges for the court in

regular active service and to any other judge that heard

| the appeal and that no such judge has requested that a

| vote be taken thereon.

FOR THE COURT

ROSEANN B. MACKECHNIE, Clerk

By: ARTHUR M. HELLER

Arthur M. Heller,

Administrative Attorney

45a

Appendix D

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 99-CIV4127

(JBW-RLM)

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

meant, i. means

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., a corporation qualified to do

business in California, and MICHAEL YOUNG, an indi-

vidual, ‘

Defendants.

VIDEOTAPED DEPOSITION OF PENNY FERRIS

November 16, 1999

VOLUME II

(Pages 260-514)

Reported By: Delaine Hall CSR 10164 JN: 1-86067

* * *

46a

[312] Q. While you are on layover you are free to pur-

sue whatever personal business you like consistent with

your legal obligations and the commission of violations

ofNeltaapuar yp ounce? .

A. What do you mean free? What do you mean by

legal?

Q. You can go to—you can go to a nightclub if you

want, right?

A. Not all night long.

Q. You’re free to go to a nightclub if you [313] wish?

Yes?

A. Yes.

Q. You’re free to take a trip out in the countryside if

you wish as long as you’re back when the next flight

leaves?

A. You need to let someone know where you’re

| going. The coordinator is usually the one.

Q. You’re free to go to a grocery store?

| A. Yes.

Q. You’re free to take a nap?

A. Yes.

| Q. You're free to visit friends in that location if you

| wish?

| A. Leave a number.

Q. You’re free to do that?

A. Yes.

Q. So basically your obligation is to make sure peo-

ple know where to find you if they need to contact you,

but otherwise you’re free to do whatever you want?

| A. No. You’re not free to do whatever you want.

Q. You’re as free to do whatever you want as you

would be if you were in your home in the United

States?

47a

[314] A. I don’t understand.

Q. Do you have any less degree of freedom on lay-

over than you do when you’re at home in your days off?

An. Vees.

Q. In what way?

A. We’re still on layover and we’re still being paid by

the company. We have expense money. We get expense

money the minute the plane pushes back.

Q. You get reimbursed for your expenses. That’s fine.

In what way are you less free to engage in your personal

pursuits on layover than you are when you are at home

on a day off?

A. Depends on what you’re going to do.

Q. In what way are you not free to do something on

layover that you are free to do when you're at home on

your day off?

A. Can’t drink eight hours before a flight.

Q. Can’t do that while you’re at home either, can

you?

A. True.

Q. What can’t you do on layover that you can do

when you’re at home on your days off?

A. Right now I can’t think. I am getting tired.

* * *

[320] Q. What conversations did you have with him?

A. I asked him if he could recommend any nice red

wine and that’s what I—because he’s an Italian speaker

and flies there all the time. _

Q. Did you know that from the flight over?

A. No.

Q. How did you know that he flies to Rome all the

time?

A. He’s an Italian speaker.

Q. How did you know he flew to Rome all the time?

48a

A. Normally they have to bid it to keep their—I’m not

a language speaker, but they need to fly so many months

in order to—if they are language-qualified, they need to

bid that.

Did you know he was language-qualified?

He’s one of the Italian speakers.

On the plane?

Right.

Did he tell you that, or did you just observe that?

. Well, I believe he told me that and I think that

mi ight be on the rotation.

Q. And so what did he say to you when you asked

[321] him to recommend some wine?

A. He said, “why don’t you just bring your sandwich

over and you can try”—he had in his hand a bottle of

wine and it was red. And he said, “you can try this. If

you like it, you can go back and buy it.” And that was it.

There’s a counter in the sandwich shop?

Very tall counter.

Do people—from which people eat sandwiches?

No.

Drink beverages?

Mainly cappuccinos.

But it’s a counter where people consume what they

buy in the store?

A. You can stand and consume it.

Q. Okay. Did you discuss whether you were going to

eat your sandwiches or drink the wine there?

A. Excuse me?

Q. Did you discuss with him whether you were going

to eat the sandwiches and drink the wine while you were

there?

A. He told me to bring my sandwich, to come over

and I can try the wine he’s purchasing.

(PO>O>O

O>O>O>O

49a

Q. And you assumed—you assumed him to mean

[322] to come back to the hotel to drink the wine and eat

the sandwiches?

A. Yes.

Q. What other conversations did you have with him in

the store?

A. That was it.

Q. Did you say you would do that?

A. I said, “oh, that sounds nice” or something like

that.

Q. Did you discuss with him that you were going to

be eating the sandwich and consuming the wine in his

room?

A. He had said bring over your sandwich to my room.

Q. So you did discuss?

A. To his room, yeah. “Just bring your sandwich. You

can try this wine. If you like it, you can go back and try

it.”

* * *

[454] Q. You did see him on a side view after you woke

up?

A. It was like a silhouette.

Q. Could you tell whether—do you have any knowl-

edge based upon the events that took place in the hotel

room whether he is hairy or smooth-skinned in his chest,

back area?

Ms. FISHEL: Both or one at a time?

MR. DIEKMANN: Q. Or either.

A. No.

Q. Do you have any knowledge based upon the events

that took place in that hotel room whether he is cir-

cumcised or not? ~

A. No.

50a

Q. Did you see the time of day on a room clock

before you left the room?

A. No.

Q. And I assume from your prior testimony you didn’t

ask him what time it was before you left the room?

A. After I said “I’m leaving,” I just left.

Q. As of the time you woke up was the window back

open?

S5la

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

Case No. 99 Civ. 4127

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—against— -

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., a corporation qualified to do

business in California, and MICHAEL YOUNG,

Defendants.

November 22, 1999

9:18 a.m.

Continued Videotaped Deposition of PENNY FERRIS,

taken by Defendants, pursuant to Notice, at the offices of

Seyfarth Shaw Fairweather & Geraldson, Esqs., 1270

Avenue of the Americas, New York, New York, before

Phyliss Salimbene, a Registered Professional Reporter

and Notary Public within and for the State of New York.

(86307)

52a

[618] Q. All right. Now, the first question I have, is:

How did you choose Ms. Estall as the individual to

whom to make this report?

A. I believe I looked at the photos that are on the wall

in Our, our crew lounge. And I went in to the, it says

operational supervisor, and I went into that area and

that’s when I met with her.

Q. Was there some reason you choose her as opposed

to your normal supervisor?

A. Well, I didn’t want to go to a male supervisor.

Q. Was your normal supervisor a male?

A. At the time, yes.

Q. All right. And did you see her in—the memo indi-

cates the conversation took place in the hallway, ini-

tially, and then it went into her office, is that correct, is

that the way it [619] began?

A. I believe I started talking. She was at her desk.

And we went into the oe into another room so it

would be private.

Q. Is her desk in the open, in a public area?

A. Yes.

Q. Okay. All right.

What did you say to her to begin the conversation?

A. In so many words, I went over what’s in my report,

what had happened to me on this rotation, on this trip.

Q. So you explained to her in some detail what had

happened?

A. Yes.

Q. Now, in the memo she indicates that you did not

give the name of the individual but described the event

in some detail, is that an accurate statement on her part?

Were you reluctant at this point to mention who it was?

A. I just had told her it was an Italian-speaking male.

* * *

53a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

Case No. 99 Civ. 4127

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—against—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., a corporation qualified to do

business in California, and MICHAEL YOUNG,

; Defendants.

November 23, 1999

9:36 a.m.

Continued Videotaped Deposition of PENNY FERRIS,

taken by Defendants, pursuant to Notice, at the offices of

Seyfarth Shaw Fairweather & Geraldson, Esqs., 1270

Avenue of the Americas, New York, New York, before

Phyliss Salimbene, a Registered Professional Reporter

and Notary Public within and for the State of New York.

(86308) Wa ana

|

|

i

j

j

54a

[824] person, I just was walking there by myself.

Q. I want to know what you told her in the meeting if

it’s different than what she says you told her?

A. I believe it’s different.

Q. All right. What did you tell her?

A. That I went over to the deli.

Q. Okay.

A. Then, the other thing that’s not accurate is the next

sentence: Ms. Ferris pointed out after returning from

purchasing the wine, she proceeded to the male flight

attendant’s room. What’s inaccurate is that I didn’t pur-

chase wine.

Q. Okay. What’s the next inaccurate statement?

A. And the next inaccurate statement is the very next

sentence, because she puts down that there had been two

glasses of wine already poured and there was only one.

Q. Did you tell her in this meeting that two glasses of

wine had been poured?

A. No.

Q. You told her that one had been [825] poured, right?

A. Right, when I had already come into the room.

Q. Okay.

A. And then, let’s see, the next sentence: Because

I had drank approximately half a glass and I remember

he filled it up again to make the glass full and so as far

as the second glass, I don’t believe that’s accurate, too,

that I said.

Q. You told her that you had finished part of the first

glass and he filled it up?

A. Yes. .

Q. All right. what else is inaccurate?

By the way, he filled it up out of the bottle?

| A. Yes.

| And the next sentence is inaccurate. I—I wonder if she

| really listened.

55a

She—okay. Her words: She remembers being pene-

trated anally and wanting to struggle to resist but being

unable to.

Q. What is inaccurate about that sentence in terms of

what you told her?

[826] A. Well, that wasn’t the first thing I told her.

Q. She doesn’t say it was the first thing you told her.

A. Okay.

MS. FISHEL: Not emotions, just—

THE WITNESS: Oh, okay. Not emotions. I was just try-

ing to—

MS. FISHEL: No, I know you’re trying to answer can-

didly.

THE WITNESS: okay.

A. And...

Q. So that sentence is accurate, right?

A. Well, well, that I—okay, she remembers being—

and wanting to struggle to resist but being able. . .

Those weren’t my words.

Q. All right. Let’s deal with the first part. Did you tell

her—

A. I could—

Q. Let’s deal with the first part. Did you tell her that

you remembered being penetrated anally in this con-

versation?

A. I remember saying he did everything to me. And,

yes, it was penetration of the anus.

[827] Q. Did you tell her that you wanted to struggle?

A. All I—I didn’t say the word, “struggle.”

Q. What did you say?

A. I said, how I said no, stop, get out of there and

how—

56a

Q. Wait a minute. Did you tell her that you wanted to

resist him?

A. But I couldn’t move my body.

Q. Did you tell her that you wanted, in this conver-

Sation, that you wanted to resist what he was doing?

A. In another sentence prior to this. I said, when I was

on my back and he was try—pulling my pants down

I tried to move my hand and I couldn’t, so I wanted to

resist him. ,

Q. But you didn’t tell her you wanted to resist any

other actions?

A. I couldn’t because I couldn’t move my muscles.

57a

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

Sips

Index No.: 99Civ.4127

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—against—

DELTA AIRLINES, a corporation qualified to do busi-

ness in New York and MICHAEL YOUNG, an individual,

Defendants.

Three New York Plaza

New York, New York

December 16, 1999

9:50 A.M.

EXAMINATION BEFORE TRIAL OF KATHLEEN BALL-

WEG, the witness herein, taken by the attorneys herein,

pursuant to Subpoena, and held before Therese Ferrara,

a Notary Public of the State of New York at the above-

Stated time and place.

58a

[21] Q Sounds fun.

A It was okay, because I was enjoying it. It was beau-

tiful. The countryside in Italy is gorgeous.

Q Do you remember any conversations you had with

Michael Young in the car or with this man in the car?

A Not really because the way I remember it is they

were talking in Italian most of the time. I was just taking

in the scenery, enjoying the opportunity to see a little bit

more of Italy.

Q What was your understanding of the destination

when you arrived in Florence?

A We were going to go right to his mother’s house.

The man drove us right to Michael’s mother’s home,

which is right across—when you look out her window

you could see right into the garden where Dante wrote

the Inferno, and the man came in with us and we all had

a glass of wine.

The man was very nice. He said good-bye and left.

I remember at some point before we even got [22] in the

car he had given me his business card, which I no longer

have, and I don’t remember anything about it.

Q Do you remember anything about what that gen-

tleman looked like that gave you the ride?

A No, I just remember he was older, Italian, a busi-

nessman.

Q Do you remember anything about what the car

looked like other than it being small?

A No, I’m sorry.

Q So you arrived at Michael Young’s mother’s house.

Did you meet his mother upon your arriving?

A His mother and his aunt were there.

Q Do you remember his mother’s name?

A No.

Q Do you remember his aunt’s name?

A No.

59a

Q Do you remember what his mother looked like?

A His mother was an attractive lady. She had short hair,

nice figure. His aunt was taller than her, dark hair, wore

glasses, shawls. She was a bit more flamboyant like than

his mother. [23] That’s it. They mostly spoke Italian, so

it’s not like I could really have a conversation with them.

Q Did either of them speak any English?

A His mother spoke some English because I under-

stand Michael’s father is American.

Q How did you find out Michael’s father was Amer-

ican?

A At some point during a conversation. I don’t know

if it was on the plane or when we were in Florence or at

a dinner or what, because he had an unusual middle

name. I asked him how he got his middle name.

Q What was that middle name?

A Buddy.

Q How did he get-that middle name?

A The way I remember him telling me is that it was

his father’s name, or nickname and what I remember, or

what I think he said was that his father was a military

man and that when he was born his mother gave him that

name, so I don’t know if it was a nickname or his

father’s real, given name.

Q Did you meet his father that day?

A No, I didn’t. As far as I understood, [24] Michael

hasn’t seen his father in years.

Q Did Michael Young tell you that?

A Yes.

Q Was it your belief when you were traveling to

Florence that you would be staying at Michael Young’s

mother’s house that evening?

A No.

Q Where did you understand you would be staying

that evening?

A We had at some point on the plane talked that

I would be getting a small Pancione, a room somewhere,

and that his mother knew plenty of them. There would

be no problems finding one.

Q Did you arrange for the Pancione room or did

somebody else?

A His mother did.

Q If.you recall, how far was the Pancione from where

Michael’s mother’s house is located?

A I remember Michael walked me over there and it

wasn’t that far.

* * *

[39] Q Michael Young walked you up to your room?

A Yes.

Q What happened next?

A I went in and I remember turning to say good-night

to him and to thank him for a nice evening and he started

coming in the room and I was like—you know, “I really

want to call it a night. I’m really tired, thank you for a

lovely evening.” He goes, “Oh no, I can’t go back to my

mother’s house.” I said, “Well, you can’t stay here”, and

he goes “Well, I have to stay here”, and I said, “Why?”,

and he goes, “I don’t know if my mother’s home. I don’t

have a key.”

I mean, it was like a whole list of things, “It’s too late

to wake her up”, and I was like—I said, “But you can’t.

That isn’t my understanding that you could spend the

night here”, and he goes, “Well, I have to spend the night

here. That’s all there is to it”, and he [40] said, “I have no

place to go. I can’t walk the streets of Florence”, and

I was like, “Well, okay”, I said.

I suppose for me, after even being with Delta and

T.W.A. that little bit of time there comes a kind of an

unspoken trust with crew members. You feel like you

6la

kind of know them and I thought he was gay, so I let him

in the room.

Q Did you have any discussion of where he was going

to sleep when he stayed in the room?

A Well, I don’t specifically remember doing it but

I think I probably did, so not that I specifically remem-

ber, but I can’t imagine that I didn’t.

Q I don’t remember you describing it. Was there any

kind of couch or anything that you could sleep on?

A No.

Q Were you planning on having him sleep on the

floor?

A No. I have lots of gay friends. I’ve shared beds

with them a lot and traveled with them. It’s never been

a problem, so I think I just figured well, okay.

[41] Q So at that point when he said, “I can’t go back to

my house”, and you had this conversation you were still

under the impression that Michael Young was gay at that

point?

A Yes.

Q So you agreed to let him stay in the room that

night?

A Yes.

Q Once you both were in the room what happened

next? |

A I didn’t have any pajamas or nightgown or anything

with me so while he was in the bathroom doing some-

thing, I don’t know, whatever, I took my clothes off and

I had like a body suit, so I put my body suit on and got

under the covers. I was under the covers already when he

came out of the bathroom and I remember I was lying on

my side facing the wall.

Q Did you talk to him at all as to whether he was

going to sleep outside of the covers or under the covers?

A No.

62a

Q What was the next thing that you remember?

[42] A I just remember him getting in the bed turning

the light off and just laying really still for a while and it

was like—lI think I may have said, “Good night, thank

you for a nice evening”, and then that was it for a while.

Q Did you fall asleep?

A I don’t know. I don’t remember.

Q What is the next thing you do remember?

A I remember Michael’s penis on my back and from

that point on it was like being in bed with an octopus. He

kept wrestling with me, trying to kiss me, and I remem-

ber his—some time during the evening or the flight he

had told me that he was a triathlete so he shaved his

body and I remember his entire body was covered with

stubbles, his legs, his arms, his chest, everything.

Q You said he was like an octopus. Could you

describe what you mean by that?

A I was like, “What are you doing? You were just

supposed to be spending the night here.” I said, “You

know, I am not interested in you that way. I thought we

were having a nice”—you know, I can’t remember the

conversation and I

* * *

[187] Q You said when you got home from Milan that

you wanted to just get home. Where was your home at

the time? Was that New York?

A Yes, it’s here in Queens. Well, there in Queens.

Q Did you ever report the incident with Mr. Young in

Milan to any police authorities at all?

A No.

Q Why is that?

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

Q Why is that?

63a

A All I could think about was getting home and like

I said before, I don’t think until my commuter roommate

and I were talking that it really clearly was in my head

that I had been raped and at that time it was the first

time that I really kind of stepped back from it and really

looked at it and realized that that’s what had happened.

Q At least up until that point when your roommate

mentioned that to you did you, in your own mind, con-

sider the situation a relatively gray [188] one?

A No.

Ms. VAN HERICK: Objection, vague and ambiguous.

A Well, what do you mean by gray?

Q You said several times in your testimony you

referred to areas of gray and shades of gray and so basi-

cally, in that context.

A In an emotional sense I knew that I had been vio-

lated. I had felt trapped but I don’t think it was until

I really kind of—it’s hard to explain. You get a feeling

like you have pins and needles in your head. You hear it

constantly and at that time all I was thinking about was

getting home. I just wanted to get home, get in my own

apartment, sit down and that was the first time I could

really, really breathe about it and I remember running it

over in my mind and thinking how awful it was, but the

word rape never entered my mind until my roommate

said it. :

Q How soon after your return to New York did your

roommate first indicate to you an opinion on her part

that you had been raped?

A Probably a couple of days because I

* * *

64a

[224] Q What exactly did Mr. Young say to you in the

telephone calls that he made to you that night in your

hotel room?

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

A That I should come and spend the night with him or

he should come and spend the night with me. This

wasn’t all in one conversation. We didn’t even have con-

versations. It was just like hello, why don’t you come

down here? Michael, I am going to sleep, click. Why are

you so frigid? Click. The phone rings again, what’s

wrong with you? You know, I am a great catch. It was

like a series of phone calls, so finally, like I said, I just

stopped answering the phone. It was stupid.

Q Was he threatening you in any way?

[225] A No.

Q I get the idea he was persistent—

A He was very persistent.

Q —In his request, but did he in any way attempt to

intimidate you or did he get angry over the telephone?

A Well, what he started saying started becoming a lit-

tle bit more personal. Why are you frigid? It was like sex

is good, you know, we would go good together, so that in

and of itself is intimidating. It wasn’t being intimidating

on the phone, just by the nature of what he was saying

was disturbing.

Q What made you decide then following that incident

to go back to the duty supervisor?

A Because it indicated to me that his behavior hasn’t

changed.

Q Then you walked up to the duty desk again and you

asked to see somebody about something personal?

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

Q Was that the way that worked the second time?

65a

A I don’t know if I went up to the duty [226] desk the

second time more comfortable in Kennedy now or just

walked back there myself and found a supervisor. I’m

not exactly sure at that particular time because I was

much more comfortable down there now. As a relatively

new flight attendant you’re a little bit more timid, so you

felt a certain ownership after you have been at a certain

place a while.

Q Was this particular supervisor that you spoke with

a male or female?

A I don’t remember.

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

Q You have no details of who the person was or what

they looked like at all?

A I don’t remember. -

Q Is there any way you’re able to say here now that it

was, in fact, a supervisor with whom you spoke?

A Other than the fact that they were in a supervisor’s

office, in that whole section everybody that is in those

offices are supervisors.

Q What did you say when you walked in?

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

[227] A I stuck my head in. Sometimes it’s just a mat-

ter of finding a supervisor. A lot of times they’re not

there. You walk along and you stick your head in a cou-

ple of doors until you find someone or the doors are

closed and there is a sign out that says they are in a con-

ference.

I stuck my head in a couple of doors and asked do you

have a minute? Could I talk to you about something kind

of private? That would have been how I would have

Started it.

66a

Q Is there any reason, by the way, why you didn’t go

to your assigned supervisor on either of these two visits?

A No reason in particular, probably just because

that’s when [ got the nerve to do it. Probably you know,

thinking about it and saying okay, do it now kind of a

thing.

Q Is there any reason why you didn’t go to one of the

base managers?

A No, I don’t think I thought about it that much. I

think I just wanted to tell somebody. It may not have

been the right judgement or may not have been the wis-

est way to go about it, but I think I just wanted to talk to

[228] a supervisor.

Q Have you ever had any difficulty getting along with

your own assigned supervisor?

A No.

Q So that would not have been a reason why you

didn’t go to her or him?

A No, as a matter of fact, for a while there every time

I would make an appointment for a supervisor for like a

review or whatever you have to do, make an appoint-

ment, by the time the day would come along that super-

visor was no longer there.

Q Would there be an interim person?

A Then it would be to make the appointment with that

person or whatever, so there was a period of time when

I had a different supervisor a lot, so a lot of times it’s

just a matter of getting somebody, you know? I have had

a couple of supervisors that I really, really liked. Other

than that, it’s just the people, you know, you talk to fer

whatever it is you have to talk to them about.

Q On this second visit you walked in, asked if they

had a moment to talk about something [229] personal

and then what happened? What did you say and what did

they say to you?

67a

Ms. VAN HERICK: Asked and answered.

A I said briefly that I had come in and spoken about

a flight attendant previously that had attacked me on a

layover and that he had made a few phone calls. It was

disturbing and I just came in to tell them about it, didn’t

file any paperwork or anything. I just wanted them to

know and that something happened and I just had a

trip where he was on a layover that happened to be in

the same city at the same time and that that night in

the hotel he made a few phone calls and they were

disturbing.

I just wanted to come back and tell them that appar-

ently, his behavior is still at best, eccentric, and I found

it disturbing and I eventually stopped answering the

phone in the hotel room which I didn’t like to do

because if something would have happened and Delta

would have needed to get in touch with me I wouldn’t

have been answering the phone. I just wanted them to

know that he was still—I thought he was a spooky guy,

a creepy guy, that they should know.

* * *

[245] Q You said the bed in the room was like an

American double bed, as far as not being like a single

person’s bed? i

A No, most people have queen size beds now. It was

a double bed. It’s smaller than a queen and bigger than

a double—I mean, bigger that a twin.

Q You said you were wearing a body suit. Would you

describe what a body suit and/or what that body suit

was?

A It was like a white, stretchy tank top, kind of like a

white swim suit.

Q Did it have long arms? : _

68a

No, it was like a swim suit. It had a tank top.

No legs?

No.

No legs, no arms, just a swim suit type thing?

Yes, white, stretchy knit.

>O>O>

MR. PERRY: Is it like a leotard?

THE WITNEsSs: Yes, like a leotard. You wear it under-

neath your clothes if you’re [246] cold. It’s not appro-

priate to wear on the beach, but it’s shaped like a

leotard.

Q Did you have underwear on underneath?

A It was one piece, that was it.

Q When Michael Young came out of the bathroom

and got into the bed was he clothed?

A I don’t remember. I was facing the wall.

Q How much time expired between the time he got in

bed and the time there was any physical contact between

you?

A I couldn’t say, but I think I was just starting to drift

off to sleep.

Q Was there any level of consensual touching, kissing

or petting at the beginning?

A I remember he was trying to kiss me. I was like no,

Michael, stop it. I remember him putting his arms

around me and then kind of, he left me alone and then

when I drifted off to sleep he was behind me then.

Q Was there any reciprocal touching or kissing or pet-

ting of any kind?

A That’s not the way I remember it.

Q Do you recall any conversation with Ms. [247]

Taylor in which you indicated there was some at the

beginning?

A He may have like kissed me, or it just wasn’t right

and I remember whatever it was that was going on

69a

was stopping. It wasn’t like—it was such an awk-

ward situation. He would like try to kiss me and

then it kind of became kind of a wrestling match, so he

kissed me. I thought maybe if I just kiss him it will stop,

but it didn’t. It seemed to like escalate, so it really

became more of a wrestling match. It wasn’t reciprocal

at all.

Q There may have been some kissing at the beginning

in which there was not a significant level of resistance

but then he began to press and you began increasingly to

resist?

A I imagine that would be the best way to describe it.

Q Were you touching him in any way in the initial

stages?

A Not that I remember.

Q At what point after the initial physical touching

started did it get to the point where it started to be a

wrestling match?

[281] Q When you went into the room the first time do

you recall whether the individual supervisor asked you

whether the assault was sexual in nature?

A What? Say that again.

Q Do you recall whether the individual supervisor

you were speaking to asked you when you said that there

had been an assault, whether the individual asked you

whether the assault was sexual in nature?

MR. DIEKMANN: I think the word she used was attack.

Q Whether the attack was sexual in nature?

A I don’t remember them asking me that.

Q The first time you went in did the Delta supervisor

you talked to offer you any sort of confidentiality in

making the complaint?

A No, but they were answering questions.

x * x

Tila

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 99-CV-4127 (JBW-RLM)

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—vs.—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., and MICHAEL YOUNG,

Defendants.

ORAL DEPOSITION OF AILEEN (CORI) FEINGOLD

ANSWERS AND DEPOSITION OF AILEEN (CORI)

FEINGOLD, a witness produced on behalf of the Plain-

tiff taken in the above-styled and -numbered cause, on

the 30th day of November, 1999, from 1:10 p.m. to 5:31

p.m., before Cynthia Lyn Conyers, a Certified Shorthand

Reporter in and for the State of Texas, at the offices of

Gillespie, Rozen & Watsky, P.C., located at 3402 Oak

Grove Ave., Suite 200, in the City of Dallas, County of

Dallas, and State of Texas, in accordance with the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure.

* * x

72a

[155] Q. When you left the restaurant, where did you

drive to in his car?

A. To his house.

Q. I assume that you drove from the restaurant to his

house in his car?

A. Correct.

Q. And where was his house located? Do you recall

the community or place where it was located?

A. I want to say something about Ulysses. I don’t

know why. I don’t know if that’s the street he lived on or

if that’s a city or a suburb. He lived in the suburbs ina

little house on a little street. They all look alike to me.

I have no good sense of direction.

Q. And was the house one or two stories, if you can

recall?

A. One story.

Q. And when the two of you arrived there at his home

in his car, did he park in the driveway or did he pull into

the garage or what?

A. I recall that he parked on the street in front of the

house.

Q. Okay. And I assume he’s the one who drove from

the restaurant to his house?

A. Yes.

73a

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 99-CV-4127 (JBW-RLM)

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—vs.—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., and MICHAEL YOUNG,

Defendants.

ORAL DEPOSITION OF AILEEN (CORI) FEINGOLD

VOLUME 2

ANSWERS AND DEPOSITION OF AILEEN (CORI)

FEINGOLD, a witness produced on behalf of the Plain-

tiff taken in the above-styled and -numbered cause, on

the 1st day of December, 1999, from 9:15 a.m. to 4:50

p.m., before Cynthia Lyn Conyers, a Certified Shorthand

Reporter in and for the State of Texas, at the offices of

Gillespie, Rozen & Watsky, P.C., located at 3402 Oak

Grove Ave., Suite 200, in the City of Dallas, County of

Dallas, and State of Texas, in accordance with the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure.

* * *

74a

[191] Q. Notwithstanding the behavior and comments

he had made, did you in your own mind, on retiring to

go to bed, feel scared or intimidated physically by him?

A. Not physically, no. I didn’t—I didn’t—I mean,

I think I still thought he was gay or whatever. I wasn't

afraid of him at that point. I just knew he was not my

type of person. You know, he’s not the kind of person

I would even like to have another coffee with or some-

thing.

You just thought he was weird?

He's a real weird guy.

Okay. Now—

I think I nicknamed him weirdo—and sorry.

In your own mind, you mean, or how?

Well, when I tried to get my stuff back from him,

I no longer called him by his first or last name. I just

called him “weirdo.”

[192] Q. By “stuff,” you mean your suitcase?

A. Yeah.

Q. Did you go to sleep?

A. Yeah, I went to sleep.

Q. So you went to sleep in his bed alone with your

pajamas on, correct?

A. Correct.

Q. Do you know if you had panties on underneath

your pajama bottoms?

A. Yes.

Q. Okay. That’s customary for you?

A. Yes.

Q. Okay. And—

MR. DIEKMANN: By the way, do I still have my stand-

ing objection on all leading questions?

>O>O>L

Mr. DAVIS: You de.

75a

Q. (By Mr. Davis) Did you have trouble getting to

sleep that evening, if you recall?

A. I don’t recall. I don’t usually—I don’t recall.

Q. Now, from the time you first went into his bed-

room to retire for the evening until the time you actually

went to sleep, did Mr. Young ever come into the bed-

room to say or do anything?

A. No.

* ~ ~

[221] Q. At some point did you call and talk to Nancy

Conn-Ruhl?

A. Well, when I decided not to talk to Michael Young

anymore, I called around JFK’s—the supervisors’ offices

and got her personal—her direct number; and I called

her up and talked to her about the whole incidence.

Q. Now, why did you call her?

A. Well, there are a couple off reasons. Because he

specifically mentioned her as his ally that would get me

fired for him if—if ever I double-crossed him or any-

thing like that. And he also-—he named her so many

times as his good friend; and then I had met the pilot

‘at was her boyfriend that said she didn’t want anything

to do with him, so I assumed that it’s not as friendly as

he thought.

And, also, I—he had told me that they worked

together in a different capacity; and I wanted her to

know, first of all, what he was saying about her [222] so

that she could know that here is this—you know, you're

moving up the ladder and here is this guy using your

name to threaten and intimidate other flight attendants.

So I called and I told her about the e-mails that I had,

We—we talked for a long time. I told her about the

e-mails I had. I told her about going to his house before

jet recurrent. I told her that he had attacked and raped

76a

me and that he was manipulating me through her name,

and I also told her about the suitcase. I told her that

I believed that he was victimize—at the time, I believed

this. I don’t believe it anymore, but that he was victim-

izing new flight attendants, those of us that didn’t know

better, and that part of his whole spiel or his whole—

I don’t know what you would call it—seduction or—

Q. MO?

A. Yeah, his method of operation. Thank you. His

method of operation definitely included using her as his

big, you know, supervisor friend that would do anything

for him and owed him favors. So I told her everything.

* * *

[321] Q. And what did you see that led you to conclude

that he shaved his body hair?

A. A lack of body hair.

Q. Okay. Did you see any tattoos?

A. Yes.

Q. Where?

A. On one of his arms he had something going on. I

don’t know which arm.

What was it?

Right in this area (indicating).

What tattoo was it?

I don’t know.

What about on his torso?

He had his torso covered. I don’t know.

Was the vest buttoned?

Yes.

>OP>OPO>DO

MR. PERRY: Just let the record [322] reflect that pre-

viously when the witness was asked about the tattoos,

she indicated that Mr. Young had a tattoo on his right

bicep.

T7a

A. Yeah. It was here (indicating). It was his bicep.

I don’t know if it was his right, but—I can’t recall if it

was his right or his left.

Q. (BY MR. DIEKMANN) Anything on his left arm?

A. I can’t recall. I don’t remember. He had one major

tattoo on his bicep. 50% chance it was on his left; 50%

chance it was on his right.

Q. Just on one, though”?

A. That I can remember.

Q. So he—you awaken and he is groping you. What

was he doing exactly?

He had his hands on me.

On your chest, on your arm, on your—

Everywhere. Yes.

What was he doing?

He was touching me.

Was he stroking you or just touching you?

At some point he put his fingers inside my vagina.

During—at the time you awoke, what was he

doing: stroking you or just touching you?

[323] A. He had his hands on me. I do not recall what

exactly he was doing. He was violating me.

Q. You knew that he was doing something you didn't

want him to?

A. And he knew that he was doing something that I

didn’t want him to.

Q. Strike the question, please.

Did you know that he was doing something that you

didn’t want him to do?

ee ee >

MR. DAVIS: Objection, asked and answered.

MR. DIEKMANN: Certainly asked, not answered.

A. Yes—

78a

MR. DAVIs: Yes, it has been.

A.

Q.

—lI knew that.

(By MR. DIEKMANN) All right. And you

screamed?

ord

>O>O>0% ror O>O>

No, I did not scream.

But you did say something to him?

Yes.

What did you say?

I asked him what he thought he was doing.

Why didn’t you say “Stop that”?

I probably did. I don’t recall all my [324] exact

s. I recall asking him what he thought he was doing.

What did he say?

He said he’s just playing.

And then you said, I’m not interested in playing—

That’s right.

—this game? Then what did you say?

I don’t recall all my words. I recall those words.

Those are the words that I gave you.

Q. Did you at that point make any effort to physically

detach him from you?

A.

Q.

A.

Q.

A.

I made as much effort as I felt safe making.

Did you make any physical effort—

Yes. I was——

—to remove him from the bed?

—squirming from him. I made some effort. And

there’s some point where you just don’t make any effort

anymore.

Q.

What effort did you make—

MR. DAVIs: One second. You’ve got to wait until he

finishes his whole question. He has to wait until you fin-

ish your whole answer. We’re having a jumbled record.

ee eee

79a

[325] Q. (BY MR. DIEKMANN) What effort did you

make to remove him from the bed—physical effort did

you make to remove him from the bed?

A. I didn’t make a physical effort to remove him from

the bed.

Q. How long did he continue to fondle or grope you

before he penetrated you?

A. Not long.

Q. Well, how long is that? Seconds? Minutes?

A. It was probably minutes. I honestly cannot tell you

what the time frame was.

Q. During the time that he continued to fondle or

grope you, did you have further conversation with him

than the one that we’ ve just discussed?

A. At some point I just stopped talking.

Q. When was that?

A. When I was crying and he wasn’t stopping and

I realized there was no point. .

Q. So at some point while he was still fondling or

groping you, you started to cry?

A. Yes.

Q. Did you say anything while you were crying?

A. I don’t remember.

Q. And did he say anything when you started crying?

[326] A. No. I mean, nothing about my crying. I don’t

know what your—

- Q. Were you sobbing or were you just weeping, if you

know the difference?

A. What is the difference?

Q. Okay. Sobbing would be there was—there were

audible sounds coming out of your mouth or—

A. He knew I was crying. It was audible.

Q. Okay. Not just tears?

A. He knew I was crying.

Q. How did he know? Well, that calls for speculation.

ns

80a

How do you know—what makes you say that he knew

you were crying in a dark room where you couldn’t see

him?

MR. GILLESPIE: I’m going to object. She’s already

answered that. Is there some reason for picking on her?

MR. DIEKMANN: No, she hasn’t. She hasn’t—

MR. GILLESPIE: She said it was audible; I was crying

out loud. He could have heard it. Now, I can hear this

stuff.

MR. Davis: How do you know it’s raining outside,

Gil, on a dark night?

[327] MR. GILLESPIE: I don’t know why you would be

picking on her. She’s a Delta employee. She’s been

through a bad experience, and I would like her to be

treated with some respect. At least hear what she says. If

this—if there’s going to be any area in which you only

ask a question once—get an answer and move on—this

should be it.

Q. (BY MR. DIEKMANN) How did he know that you

were crying?

MR. PERRY: Over my objection, she can answer.

A. He must have heard my patterns of breathing

changing. He must have felt tears. He must have known.

He had to know. It is not speculation. if I start crying

here, you will know even if I turn out the lights.

Q. (By MR. DIEKMANN) Did he touch or fondle your

face in any respect?

A. I don’t remember.

Q. You were awake throughout the entire attack?

A. Yes.

8la

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE EASTERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

No. 99-CV-4127 (JBW-RLM)

PENNY FERRIS,

Plaintiff,

—vVs.—

DELTA AIR LINES, INC., and MICHAEL YOUNG,

Defendants.

ORAL DEPOSITION OF MICHELLE ZACHRY

ANSWERS AND DEPOSITION OF MICHELLE

ZACHRY, a witness produced on behalf of the Plaintiff

taken in the above-styled and -numbered cause, on the

2nd day of December, 1999, from 12:40 p.m. to 3:55

p.m., before Cynthia Lyn Conyers, a Certified Shorthand

Reporter in and for the State of Texas, at the offices of

Gillespie, Rozen & Watsky, P.C., located at 3402 Oak

Grove Ave., Suite 200, in the City of Dallas, County of

Dallas, and State of Texas, in accordance with the Fed-

eral Rules of Civil Procedure.

* * *

82a

[139] Q. Did you discuss his sexual comment about “If

the wind blows, I get hard”?

A. I don’t recall.

Q. Do you recall, if you did, any response made by

either Cheryl or Kathy?

MR. STONE: She just said she didn’t remember if she

did it.

MR. Davis: No. I agree with that, Ben, and I agree the

question probably is objectionable.

Q. (By MR. DAVIS) But the only reason I ask it is, as

you sit here now, do you remember Kathy or Chery!

making any kind of comment about any sexual comment

Michael Young said or made?

A. No. ;

Q. Was the subject of sexual comments by Young,

including ones like “If the wind blows, I get hard,” the

subject of any discussion there in the meeting you had

with Kathy and with Cheryl?

A. No. I don’t recall it being a sexual nature in con-

tent.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.