Opposition Brief — Ecoban Finance Ltd. v. Grupo Acerero del Norte, S. A. de C. V.

Supreme Court brief2001

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

) Supreme Gore -

PILE

No. 00-1597 ,

sai tee

IN THE

. K

Supreme Court of the Un isa

ECOBAN FINANCE LIMITED,

Petitioner,

v.

GRUPO ACERERO DEL NORTE, S.A. DE C.V.,

Respondent.

ECOBAN FINANCE LIMITED,

Petitioner,

v.

ALTOS HORNOS DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V.,

Respondent.

ON PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI TO THE

UNITED STATES CouRT OF APPEALS FOR THE SECOND CIRCUIT

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

GERALD J. FIELDS STEVEN H. REISBERG*

PAUL, HASTINGS, JANOFSKY WILLKIE FARR & GALLAGHER

& WALKER L.L.P. 787 Seventh Avenue

75 East 55th Street . New York, NY 10019-6099

New York, NY |0022 (212) 728-8000

(212) 318-6000 Counsel for Respondent

Counsel for Respondent Altos Hornos De Mexico,

Grupo Acerero Del Norte, S.A. de C.V.

A. de CV.

— * Counsel of Record

COUNSEL PRESS

(800) 274-3321 * (800) 359-6859

l

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

1. Does the Court of Appeals’ decision affirming the

dismissal of this case on grounds of international comity in

favor of prior filed bankruptcy proceedings by the

Respondents pending before the Courts of Mexico pursuant

to the Law of Bankruptcy and Suspension of Payments

present an appropriate issue for review?

2. Whether the courts below erred in holding that, in a

case in which the District Court’s subject-matter jurisdiction

was based upon the diverse citizenship of the parties, New

York state law, rather than federal law, governed the question

of dismissal on the ground of international comity.

3. Whether the dismissal of Petitioner’s complaints on

grounds of international comity with prejudice should be

reversed for purportedly depriving Petitioner of an

adjudication on the merits of Petitioner’s underlying claims,

where Petitioner’s underlying claims will be adjudicated

either by the Courts of Mexico in the Suspension of Payment

Proceedings or if the Mexican Suspension of Payment

Proceedings are not completed, the District Court has stated

that it will adjudicate such claims.

ii

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of the Supreme Court

of the United States, (1) Respondent Altos Hornos de Mexico,

S.A. de C.V. (“AHMSA”) certifies that: Grupo Acerero del

Norte, S.A. de C.V. (“GAN”) is the parent corporation of

AHMSA and no publicly held corporation owns 10% or more

of the stock of AHMSA; and (ii) Respondent GAN certifies

that there is no parent corporation of GAN and no publicly

heid corporation owns 10% or more of the stock of GAN.

ee a ee

—

* a —

reel OO a ete ge NT Ne

a ER sp tT” eee me

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE QUESTIONS

PRESENTED FOR REVIEW .........000...

STATEMENT PURSUANT TO RULE 29.6 .....

pp kk ge oe errr rer err

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES ............

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE .......

ee oa 5 are ain. Ono nee ease

oe RRS rrr rs.

B. Proceedings Below ..........2.cceceees

1. Nature of the Instant Actions ...... e

2. The District Court’s Decision........

3. The Second Circuit’s Decision .......

eae an av ts ped teKKa eed > oa

IL THE DISMISSAL OF PETITIONER’S

CLAIMS ON GROUNDS OF INTERNATIONAL

ee ek GS ee

A. The Enforcement of the Mexican

Bankruptcy Law, Like Chapter 11 of the

U.S. Bankruptcy Code, Requires the

Dismissal of Petitioner’s Wrongfully

Commenced Actions. ..............

Page

iv

Contents

Page

B. The Circuit Courts of Appeal Are In

PS nk EGAGS sos ROR Rei Ks 11

C. Quackenbush and Hartford Fire

Insurance Do Not Address the Comity

oh Togme te NG COBO, oo ike caw cccess 14

II. FEDERAL LAW GOVERNS THE ISSUE

OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY. ....... 16

II. A DISMISSAL WITH PREJUDICE ON

GROUNDS OF INTERNATIONAL

COMITY DOES NOT PRECLUDE

ADJUDICATION OF THE CLAIMS ON

REO DUUMEESGS 640 ctcssanpaddnnnteackws 18

ete 8 ere ee re Teer ere Try Tree 19

Vv

Contents

APPENDIX

DECLARATION OF JAIME GARCIA PRIANI IN

SUPPORT OF THE MOTION OF ALTOS

HORNOS DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V. TO

DISMISS ON THE GROUND OF COMITY

AND IN OPPOSITION TO PLAINTIFF’S

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT .....

Exhibit A to the Declaration of Jaime Garcia Priani:

Translation of the Mexican Law of Bankruptcy

and Suspension of Payments ................

Exhibit B to the Declaration of Jaime Garcia Priani:

Articles 408 and 409 of the Mexican Law of

Bankruptcy and Suspension of Payments ......

[Remainder of Exhibit B Intentionally Omitted]

[Exhibit C to the Declaration of Jaime Garcia Priani

Intentionally Omitted]

Page

la

34a

176a

vi

TABLE OF CITED AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Banco Nacional de Cuba v. Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398

(EDOM vc cdcrcoccanches cktndsbeasabaeae 16

Boushel v. Toro Co., 985 F.2d 406 (8th Cir. 1993)

60 0dbacgtees 64eenben ue tnaae ae a, t2%, 83

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943) ..... 15

Canada S. Ry. v. Gebhard, 109 U.S. 527 (1883) ..

pwsevees eee e500 46 6b es One 6, 7, 8, 16

Crosby v. National Foreign Trade Council, 530 U.S.

SES CHOOT cc ccccccavcescnsdssuxsuecenoas 16

In re Culmer, 25 B.R. 621 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1982)

1s'ckebabh eee? tae eeeeee PPR RN ee

Drexel Burnham Lambert Group Inc. v. Galadari,

eee freee fC > Re Cer ke 17

E. Equip. & Servs. Corp. v. Factory Point Nat’l

Bank, 236 F.3d 117 (2d Cir. 2001) ........... 10

Hamm yv. R.H. Macy & Co., No. 93 Civ. 1446 (LAP),

1994 WL 507717 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 13, 1994) ... 9,10

Hartford Fire Ins. Co. v. California, 509 U.S. 764

(ESSE) . ce echisvevegaskucneeehaea eee 14, 16, 17

vil

Cited Authorities

Page

Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113 (1895) .........-. 6

Ingersoll Milling Mach. Co. v. Granger, 833 F.2d

680 (7th Cir. 1987) .........--- ee eeeeees $1, 32, 15

Kenner Prods. Co. v. Societe Fonciere et Financiere

Agache-Willot, 532 F. Supp. 478 (S.D.N.Y. 1982)

s ee und does an sued naeeenanrueesebnarsaees 17

Philadelphia Gear Corp. v. Philadelphia Gear de

Mexico, S.A., 44 F.3d 187 (3d Cir. 1994) ...... 13, 14

Posner v- Essex Ins. Co., Ltd., 178 F.3d 1209 (11th

Ces BI cc kcncdnadisceducussacsneyeas 11, 12, 15

Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S. 706

| Serr rrrrrry et et 12, 14, 15, 16

Remington Rand Corp.-Delaware v. Bus. Sys., Inc.,

830 F.2d 1260 (3d Cir. 1987) .........-.----- 13

SEC v. Brennan, 230 F.3d 65 (2d Cir. 2000) ..... 11

SNR Holdings, Inc. v. Ataka Am., Inc., 54 A.D.2d

406, 388 N.Y.S.2d 909 (Ist Dep’t 1976) ...... 17

In re Stoddard, 242 N.Y. 148, 151 N.E. 159 (1926)

Vili

Cited Authorities

Page

Statutes:

RR Soa | Bile uc. apie prego pepe ers ee 8-9, 10, 11

Rules:

Py ie Sa ass 8 ocd ieekobcuws buweces 19

Other Authorities:

3 Collier on Bankruptcy 4 362.03 (15thed. 2001)... 11

1

BRIEF OF RESPONDENTS ALTOS HORNOS

DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V. AND GRUPO ACERERO

DEL NORTE, S.A. DE C.V. IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

COUNTERSTATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Statement of Facts

1. Background

Respondent Altos Hornos de Mexico, S.A. de C.V.

(“AHMSA”) is a corporation organized under the laws of

the United Mexican States. AHMSA has been in the steel

industry for more than 50 years and is the largest steel

producer in Mexico. Respondent Grupo Acerero del Norte,

S.A. de C.V. (“GAN”) is a holding company of subsidiaries

in the business of manufacture, distribution and sale of stvel,

fertilizer, petrochemicals, and oxidants. AHMSA is the main

operating company of GAN.

As a result of significant financial distress, GAN,

on May 18, 1999, and AHMSA, on May 24, 1999, filed

petitions to be declared in Suspension of Payments (“SOP”)

pursuant to the Law of Bankruptcy and Suspension of

Payments (“Ley de Quiebras y Suspension de Pagos” or

“LOSP”) (the “Mexican Bankruptcy Law”) in the Mexican

Courts. A Suspension of Payments Proceeding is much like

a chapter 11 proceeding under U.S. law, and is intended to

relieve a debtor from the immediate pressure of creditors’

claims and suits in order that they can reorganize their affairs

and restructure their debts. See Declaration of Jaime Garcia

Priani, dated December 22, 1999 (“Garcia Priani Decl.”) 4 22

(Respondents’ Appendix (“Respondents’ App.”) at 16a);

2

Memorandum & Order Dismissing Creditor’s Claims

Because of Comity, dated August 8, 2000 (“District Court’s

Opinion”) (Petitioner’s Appendix (“Petitioner’s App.’’) at

2a, 4a).

The Mexican Courts, by judgments issued on May 24,

1999 in the case of GAN, and on May 25, 1999 in the case

of AHMSA, declared each to be in Suspension of Payments

under the LQSP (the “SOP Judgments”).

Upon entry of the SOP Judgments, Articles 408,

409 and 410 of the LQSP impose an automatic stay of

claims against the debtor. See Garcia Priani Decl. FJ 12, 54

(Respondents’ App. at 6a-7a, 28a-29a). Article 411 of the

LQSP states that the granting of security interests by the

debtor shall be ineffective as against creditors during

the pendency of a suspension of payments proceeding.

Id. {J 13, 54 (Respondents’ App. at 7a, 28a-29a).

Accordingly, a moratorium on legal actions against

AHMSA and GAN became effective as of the entry of the

SOP Judgments. Jd. ¥ 12-14, 54 (Respondents’ App. at 6a-

9a, 28a-29a). AHMSA and GAN are not permitted to pay

any pre-petition claims and all suits against AHMSA and

GAN that have as their purpose claiming compliance with a

general unsecured monetary obligation are stayed. Jd. J 12

(Respondents’ App. at 6a-7a). The Suspension of Payments

Proceeding is intended to be comprehensive as to all of

AHMSA’s and GAN’s assets located in and outside of

Mexico, including, but not limited to, those assets located

in the United States. Jd. § 14 (Respondents’ App. at 8a-9a).

Also, all claims against AHMSA and GAN, whether or not

in litigation, can and must be brought before the Mexico

Court. Jd. | 16 (Respondents’ App. at 9a-10a). The equitable

3

and orderly reorganization of AHMSA and GAN, as is the

case with any bankruptcy proceeding under U.S. Bankruptcy

Code, requires that all claims against the limited assets of

the debtor proceed in a single proceeding.

B. Proceedings Below

1. Nature of the Instant Actions

Petitioner Ecoban Finance Limited (“Ecoban”) is a

creditor of AHMSA and GAN. On June 13, 1999, Ecoban

appeared in court in Mexico and acknowledged receipt of

AHMSA’s SOP notice. On June 18, 1999, Ecoban appeared

before another court in Mexico and acknowledged receipt

of GAN’s SOP notice.

On October 1, 1999, more than three months after

Ecoban first appeared in the AHMSA and GAN SOP

Proceedings in Mexico, Ecoban, in violation of the SOP

Proceedings and more specifically, the LQSP’s automatic

stay, commenced these actions by filing separate Complaints

against GAN and AHMSA in the Southern District of New

York. The Complaints allege that AHMSA and GAN have

defaulted in payment on certain promissory notes which

became due and payable roughly two to four months after

the entry of the SOP Judgments. The basis of the Complaints

are identical to the claims Ecoban has made in the GAN and

AHMSA SOP Proceedings pending in Mexico.

By Orders To Snow Cause dated October 19, 1999 and

October 20, 1999, Ecoban moved for Orders of Attachment.

On October 28, 1999, the District Court granted the Orders

of Attachment, but without prejudice to the right of GAN

and AHMSA to move to dismiss the actions and vacate the

attachments on grounds of international comity.

4

The Complaints filed herein commencing these actions

as well as all subsequent steps taken by the Ecoban to attach

AHMSA’s and GAN’s assets thus constitute a violation of

the automatic stay imposed by the LQSP.

Ecoban filed motions for summary judgment against

AHMSA and GAN on November 30, 1999 and December 8,

1999, respectively. GAN and AHMSA filed their motions

to dismiss the Complaints and in opposition to the motions

for summary judgment on December 23, 1999. In connection

with the motions, GAN and AHMSA included the sworn

declaration of an expert on Mexican bankruptcy law, together

with a full translation of the LOSP. Ecoban in its opposition

submitted an extensive report by its own expert in the

bankruptcy laws of Mexico.

2. The District Court’s Decision

On August 8, 2000, the District Court dismissed the

Complaints on the ground of international comity.

The District Court also denied Ecoban’s motion for summary

judgment as moot and vacated the Orders of Attachment.

The District Court, in a well-reasoned, 12-page decision,

held that “[hJaving examined the Mexican law on SOP’s,

and considered expert reports from each side, I hold that the

SOP’s are not fundamentally procedurally unfair, or in

violation of American public policy, and that comity is

appropriate in the circumstances of these cases.” District

Court’s Opinion (Petitioner’s App. at 2a) (footnote omitted).

The District Court concluded that “[i]n general, an SOP

resembles an American Chapter 11 reorganization.” Jd.

(Petitioner’s App. at 4a).

5

The District Court held that U.S. courts should defer to

foreign bankruptcy proceedings as long as fundamental

standards of procedural fairness are observed, and state and

federal public policy are not violated. Jd. (Petitioner’s App.

at 6a). Finding no reason to deny the exercise of comity in

this case, the District Court concluded:

In the end, we are left with the simple case of

an American creditor of a Mexican corporation

asking this Court to give it a preference over other

creditors by releasing it from the obligations

imposed by Mexican bankruptcy law. Principles

of international comity and a strong public policy

favoring the administration of all claims against

a debtor in a single forum preclude this Court from

doing so.... The public policy and procedural

fairness exceptions to the exercise of comity,

under both New York and federal law, are

intended as shields to protect American citizens

and corporations from fundamentally unfair

treatment abroad. They are not swords to be

wielded by American creditors to frustrate and

evade foreign bankruptcy laws.

Id. (Petitioner’s App. at 9a-10a) (citations omitted).

3. The Second Circuit’s Decision

On January 12, 2001, the United States Court of Appeals

for the Second Circuit affirmed the District Court in a

Summary Order.

6

ARGUMENT

I. THE DISMISSAL OF PETITIONER’S CLAIMS ON

GROUNDS OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY WAS

PROPER.

A. The Enforcement of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law,

Like Chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code,

Requires the Dismissal of Petitioner’s Wrongfully

Commenced Actions.

For over a century, this Court has defined comity as:

the recognition which one nation allows within its

territory to the legislative, executive, or judicial acts

of another nation, having due regard both to

international duty and convenience, and to the rights

of its own citizens, or other persons who are under

the protection of its laws.

Hilton v. Guyot, 159 U.S. 113, 164 (1895). The District Court

applied this principle to determine whether or not to grant

recognition to the legislative and judicial acts of the Republic

of Mexico, namely the Mexican Bankruptcy Law or LQSP.

The importance of extending comity to bankruptcy

proceedings has been well-established for over 100 years. This

Court first articulated the particular need to recognize foreign

reorganization proceedings in Canada Southern Railway v.

Gebhard, 109 U.S. 527 (1883). In that case, which involved a

challenge by citizens of New York to a scheme of arrangement

for the Canada Southern Railway Company, this Court

explained that:

Unless all parties in interest, wherever they reside,

can be bound by the arrangement which it is sought

7

to have legalized, the scheme may fail.

All home creditors can be bound. What is needed

is to bind those who are abroad. Under these

circumstances the true spirit of international

comity requires that schemes of this character,

legalized at home, should be recognized in other

countries.

Id. at 539. Significantly, this Court further explained:

[E]very person who deals with a foreign

corporation impliedly subjects himself to such

laws of the foreign government, affecting the

powers and obligations of the corporation with

which he voluntarily contracts, as the known and

established policy of that government authorizes.

To all intents and purposes, he submits his

contract with the corporation to such a policy of

the foreign government, and whatever is done by

that government in furtherance of that policy,

which binds those in like situation with himself,

who are subjects of the government, in respect to

the operation and effect of their contracts with

the corporation, will necessarily bind him... .

It follows. therefore, that anythii'g done at the

legal home of the corporation, under the authority

of such laws, which discharges it from liability

there, discharges it everywhere.

Id. at 537-38.

In light of these principles, this Court enforced the terms

of the Canadian “scheme of arrangement” which required

the dismissal of the action filed in the United States

8

subsequent to the authorization and approval of the scheme.

Petitioner cannot distinguish Canada Southern Railway from

this case.

In this case, the Petitioner commenced its actions against

debtors AHMSA and GAN after they had been declared in

bankruptcy by the Mexican Courts. The District Court

held that Petitioner, doing business with Mexican

corporations, was charged with the knowledge of the

Mexican Bankruptcy Law and could not now circumvent

what that law mandates. District Court’s Opinion

(Petitioner’s App. at 1la). Accordingly, once the District

Court determined that the Mexican Bankruptcy Law accords

with U.S. principles of fundamental fairness, the doctrine

of international comity required the recognition and

enforcement of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law. /d. (Petitioner’s

App. at 6a). Petitioner does not question either the factors that

the District Court considered in determining whethe: to

recognize the Mexican Bankruptcy Law or the District Court’s

application of those factors to the Mexican Bankruptcy Law.

In fact, the District Court found that Petitioner conceded that

the Mexican Bankruptcy Law is essentially fair as written. /d.

(Petitioner’s App. at 7a). Thus, Petitioner’s difficulty is not with

the District Court’s application of international comity, but

rather with the result mandated by the terms of the Mexican

Bankruptcy Law.

Significantly, the District Court’s recognition and

enforcement of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law is no different

than if the District Court recognized and enforced the

U.S. Bankruptcy Code had AHMSA or GAN commenced a

chapter 11 proceeding in the United States. In particular, Section

362(a) of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code provides for an automatic

stay of:

9

the commencement or continuation, including the

issuance or employment of process, of a judicial,

administrative, or other action or proceeding

against the debtor that was or could have been

commenced before the commencement of the case

under this title, or to recover a claim against the

debtor that arose before the commencement of the

case under this title.

11 U.S.C. § 362(a)(1). Similarly, Articles 408 through 410

of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law require an automatic stay

of all actions pending against debtors. Garcia Priani

Decl. $4 12, 54 (Respondents’ App. at 6a-7a, 28a-29a).

Specifically, Article 409 provides that:

ARTICLE 409. With the exception of claims for

debts for employment obligations, for food and

alimony, or for claims with a guarantee, all suits

against the debtor that have as their purpose

claiming compliance with a monetary obligation

shall be suspended; but actions tending to prevent

damage to things covered by the litigation or to

conserve entirely the rights of the parties may be

undertaken.

Under both the U.S. Bankruptcy Code and the Mexican

Bankruptcy Law, the effect of an automatic stay on an action

commenced outside the bankruptcy proceeding depends

on one key procedural fact — when the action was filed.

Hamm vy. R.H. Macy & Co., No. 93 Civ. 1446 (LAP), 1994

WL 507717, at *2 n.1 (S.D.N.Y. Sept. 13, 1994). If a

bankruptcy proceeding has been commenced under chapter

11 and a creditor subsequently attempts to bring an action

outside of the chapter 11 bankruptcy proceeding, whether in

another forum in the United States or abroad, that action

10

will be dismissed because it is deemed wrongfully

commenced. See, e.g., E. Equip. & Servs. Corp. v. Factory

Point Nat'l Bank, 236 F.3d 117, 120-21 (2d Cir. 2001);

Hamm, 1994 WL 507717, at *2 n.1. Similarly, the application

of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law to those circumstances

requires that the subsequent action, brought outside the

bankruptcy proceeding, whether in a forum in Mexico or

abroad, be dismissed for the same reason. Garcia Priani Decl.

{4 12-16 (Respondents’ App. at 6a-10a).

However, if a party commences a chapter 11 bankruptcy

proceeding after an action has been filed and is pending,

the action will be stayed pursuant to Section 362 of

the U.S. Bankruptcy Code because it would be deemed

wrongfully continued. Hamm, 1994 WL 507717, at *2 n.1.

Articles 408 through 410 of the Mexican Bankruptcy

Law mandate the same result. Garcia Priani Decl. #9 12, 54

(Respondents’ App. at 6a-7a, 28a-29a).

The District Court properly concluded that it would as a

matter of international comity grant recognition to the

judicial acts of the Mexican Courts in declaring AHMSA

and GAN in Suspension of Payments under the Mexican

Bankruptcy Law. It is then a matter of the enforcement of

the Mexican Bankruptcy Law that determines whether the

action is to be dismissed or stayed. Here, because the lawsuits

were commenced more than three months after the debtors

SOP Proceedings had been commenced, under the Mexican

Bankruptcy law the actions had been wrongfully commenced,

in that the commencement of the actions is a violation of

Mexican law, and the proper remedy is for the actions to be

dismissed.

As stated above, the result in this case would have been

no different if the Respondents filed a chapter 11 proceeding

11

and the Petitioner then commenced an action in a court

outside the bankruptcy proceeding. As the U.S. Bankruptcy

Code has long recognized, the protection of debtors and

creditors requires centralization of all actions involving a

debtor’s property in one forum. See SEC v. Brennan, 230

F.3d 65, 70 (2d Cir. 2000); 3 Collier on Bankruptcy { 362.03,

at 362-13-14 (15th ed. 2001). But if Petitioner’s contention

is true, then actions against chapter 11 debtors may be

commenced or continued in any forum outside a chapter 11

bankruptcy proceeding, whether in the United States or

abroad, in violation of Section 362(a) of the U.S. Bankruptcy

Code. This result would undermine the entire structure of

the U.S. Bankruptcy Code.

Thus, international comity requires that once a foreign

reorganization scheme, such as the Mexican Bankruptcy

Law, is held fundamentally fair, it must be enforced as the

U.S. Bankruptcy Code would be enforced. Because the

automatic stay provision of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code is

consistently enforced without the implication of the doctrine

of abstention, so too should the enforcement of the automatic

stay provision of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law.

B. The Circuit Courts of Appeal Are In Accord.

Petitioner misrepresents to the Court that there is a

“split” in authority among the circuit courts of appeal with

respect to the propriety of the dismissal on grounds of

international comity. Petitioner’s Brief at 11. There is not.

Petitioner cites Posner v. Essex Insurance Co., Ltd., 178

F.3d 1209 (11th Cir. 1999), Ingersoll Milling Machine Co.

v. Granger, 833 F.2d 680 (7th Cir. 1987) and Boushel v.

Toro Co., 985 F.2d 406 (8th Cir. 1993) as inconsistent with

12

the holding of the Second Circuit. However, those cases do

not even address the kind of comity at issue in this case —

that is, comity which recognizes a foreign law, and in

particular a foreign bankruptcy scheme, the enforcement of

which requires the dismissal of a case wrongfully

commenced in the United States.

Rather, Posner, Ingersoll, and Boushel address a

different form of comity known as “comity of courts.”

See Posner, 178 F.3d at 1209 (stay of Florida action in favor

of pending parallel proceeding in Bermuda); /ngersoll, 833

F.2d at 680 (granting stay of employment action after

judgment rendered in parallel Belgium proceeding); Boushel,

985 F.2d at 406 (affirming stay of action in favor of

simultaneously pending Canadian proceeding). In these

cases, the issue is whether an action properly commenced in

the United States should be stayed in light of a parallel

foreign proceeding, also properly commenced. This kind of

comity is analogous to the doctrine of forum non conveniens

which considers the dismissal of an action in favor of another

forum which is more convenient in terms of witnesses and

evidence.' In Posner, Ingersoll, and Boushel, as with a forum

non conveniens case, the only issue was which forum is better

suited to adjudicate the case, not, as it is here, whether the

action was wrongfully commenced.

' Significantly, in Quackenbush v. Allstate Insurance Co., 517

U.S. 706, 721 (1996), this Court held that when applying the doctrine

of forum non conveniens, a federal court may relinquish jurisdiction in

favor of another forum. This Court noted that that “our abstention

doctrine is of a distinct historical pedigree, and the traditional

considerations behind dismissal for forum non conveniens

differ markedly from those informing the decision to abstain.”

Id. at 722-723.

13

Philadelphia Gear Corp. v. Philadelphia Gear de

Mexico, S.A., 44 F.3d 187 (3d Cir. 1994), which is the only

case cited by Petitioner which addresses whether to extend

comity to recognize a foreign bankruptcy proceedings, is

completely consistent with the Second Circuit’s holding in

this case.? Petitioner misrepresents to the Court that

Philadelphia Gear holds that the Third Circuit will only stay,

rather than dismiss, an action filed in the United States

against a debtor which is the subject of a foreign bankruptcy

proceeding. Petitioner’s Brief at 13. This assertion is

incorrect.

As stated above, under both the U.S. Bankruptcy Code

and the Mexican Bankruptcy Law, the effect of the automatic

stay is determined by the sequence of the debtor’s filing of

the bankruptcy and the creditor’s filing of the separate action.

Where a creditor’s action is already pending before the debtor

files for bankruptcy protection, the creditor’s action shall be

stayed or transferred because its continuation is wrongful.

If the bankruptcy is filed first, and a creditor attempts to

circumvent the proceeding by filing an action outside of the

bankruptcy proceeding, the creditor’s action will be

dismissed because it was wrongfully commenced.

Unlike Ecoban in this case, the creditor in Philadelphia

Gear filed its action against the debtor in the United States

over a year before the debtor filed for protection under the

Mexican Bankruptcy Law. 44 F.3d at 190. In light of the

2 Although the Petitioner cites to Remington Rand Corp.-

Delaware v. Business Systems, Inc., 830 F.2d 1260 (3d Cir. 1987),

in which the defendant entered suspension of payment proceedings

in The Netherlands, that case did not deal with the issue of dismissing

an action filed in the U.S. because of the existence of a pending

foreign bankruptcy proceed:ng.

a

debtor’s supervening Mexican bankruptcy proceeding, the

Third Circuit recognized the Mexican Bankruptcy Law and

properly enforced its terms by directing a stay or transfer of

the U.S. action. Jd. at 193. The Court specifically held that

the debtor presented a “prima facie case that Mexican

Law mandates a stay of the district court proceedings.” Jd.

The Court also noted that “[c]onceivably, on remand the

district court might conclude that it should transfer the

proceedings to the Mexican court. We do not reach that issue

and thus express no opinion on the point.” /d. at 194 n.7.

Thus, the holdings of the Third Circuit in Philadelphia

Gear and the Second Circuit in this case are completely

consistent. Both Circuits have recognized the Mexican

Bankruptcy Law as fundamentally fair and then have

enforced it as Mexico would. Accordingly, the different

outcomes were not a result of inconsistent applications of

the doctrine of international comity. Rather, it is the

application of the Mexican Bankruptcy Law itself which

mandated different outcomes in the cases, depending upon

whether the U.S. creditor filed its action before or after the

debtor’s commencement of the bankruptcy proceeding.

C. Quackenbush and Hartford Fire Insurance Do Not

Address the Comity at Issue in this Case.

Ecoban’s assertion that this action should have been

evaluated under Quackenbush v. Allstate Insurance Co., 517

U.S. 706 (1996), which is a discussion of the doctrine of the

Burford abstention, should be rejected. Ecoban essentially seeks

to have this Court ignore the well established standard of

international comity, especially in the context of foreign

bankruptcy reorganizations, and apply the doctrine of the

Burford abstention, which addresses a completely different kind

15

of comity. Quackenbush, like Posner, Ingersoll, and Boushel,

addresses the application of the “comity of courts” to determine

the more appropriate forum as between paraliel proceedings,

neither of which were improperly commenced or continued.

In Quackenbush, the California Insurance Commissioner,

in its capacity as trustee for an insolvent insurance company,

brought a state court action against Allstate Insurance Company

for breach of reinsurance agreements. 517 U.S. at 709.

The action was removed to federal court on grounds of diversity.

The issue presented was whether the District Court had been

correct in remanding the action to state court under

“the abstention doctrine first recognized in Burford v. Sun Oil

Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943).” Id. This Court held that a federal

court sitting in diversity should have exercised its jurisdiction

to adjudicate certain state law claims which were simultaneously

being adjudicated in a state insolvency proceeding. Jd. at 731.

Quackenbush does not even purport to address issues of

international comity. Indeed, to the contrary, this Court held

that its ruling was limited to the Burford abstention, a

doctrine that arises out of principles of federalism which may

require a federal court to yield in certain situations of

“federal-state conflict.” Jd. at 723 (citation omitted). Further,

this Court specifically held that its ruling did not apply

to damages action under the doctrine of forum non

conveniens, noting that such doctrine dealt with cases where

“the alternative forum is abroad.” Jd. at 722 (citation

omitted).

More significantly, »co2use no state law can prohibit

the filing or continuation of a federal action, whether the

federal court in Quackenbush was precluded from

adjudicating certain claims by another forum’s law was not

at issue as it is in this case.

16

Finally, to the extent that Petitioner asserts that Hartford

Fire Insurance Co. v. California, 509 U.S. 764 (1993), is

relevant, that case addresses a third form of comity, known

as legislative comity, which is also different from that applied

in this case. Hartford Fire Insurance did not involve whether

to grant comity to a separate ongoing proceeding in a

different forum. In fact, in Hartford Fire Insurance, there

was no issue of concurrent jurisdiction. Rather, Hartford Fire

Insurance dealt with the extent of the extraterritorial reach

of the Sherman Act (15 U.S.C. § 1, et seq.) to British

reinsurance companies located in London and the comity

concerns raised in interpreting the proper scope of the Act.

Id. at 779 n.9.

Accordingly, because neither Quackenbush nor Hartford

Fire Insurance dealt with the comity issues raised in this

case, where the application of another forum’s law requires

the preclusion or transfer of an action wrongfully commenced

or continued, they do not govern these circumstances.

Il. FEDERAL LAW GOVERNS THE ISSUE OF

INTERNATIONAL COMITY.

As this Court stated in Banco Nacional de Cuba v.

Sabbatino, 376 U.S. 398, 425 (1964) “our relationships with

other members of the international community must be

treated exclusively as an aspect of federal law.” As a result,

this Court has consistently applied federal law to cases

implicating foreign relations. See, e.g., Crosby v. National

Foreign Trade Council, 530 U.S. 363 (2000) (federal

preemption law applied to state foreign trade law boycotting

Burma); Banco Nacional de Cuba, 376 U.S. at 425 (federal

law determined scope of act of state doctrine regarding Cuban

expropriation decree); Canada S. Ry., 109 U.S. at 537

17

(federal law applied to grant comity to Canadian scheme of

arrangement). In addition, this Court has also applied federal

law in cases dealing with comity as between federal and state

courts. See Hartford Fire Insurance, 509 U.S. 764. Therefore,

the federal law of international comity should be applied in

this case.

However, even if state law of international comity is

applied in this case, as the District Court held, the outcome

would be the same. District Court’s Opinion (Petitioner’s

App. at 5a-6a). The Second Circuit has summarized the law

of New York on the issue of granting comity to foreign

bankruptcy proceedings.

In New York, whose law controls this diversity

action, courts will defer to an alien bankruptcy

proceeding only so long as the foreign authority

has jurisdiction over the bankrupt and “the foreign

proceeding has not resulted in injustice to New

York citizens, prejudice to creditors’ New York

statutory remedies, or violation of the laws or

public policy of the state.”

Drexel Burnham Lambert Group Inc. v. Galadari, 777 F.2d

877, 880 (2d Cir. 1985) (quoting Clarkson Co. v. Shaheen,

544 F.2d 624, 629 (2d Cir. 1976)); Kenner Prods. Co.

v. Societe Fonciere et Financiere Agache-Willot, 532

F. Supp. 478, 479 (S.D.N.Y. 1982) (applying New York

law); In re Stoddard, 242 N.Y. 148, 151 N.E. 159 (1926);

see SNR Holdings, Inc. v. Ataka Am., Inc., 54 A.D.2d 406,

408, 388 N.Y.S.2d 909, 911 (1st Dep’t 1976) (“Generally,

comity is extended when the foreign court has jurisdiction

over the parties and recognition of its actions would not

menace public welfare or violate ‘some fundamental

18

principle of justice, some prevalent conception of good

morals, [or] some deep-rooted tradition of the common

weal.” ”) (citation omitted).*

Accordingly, because the law of international comity

under federal and New York is the same, the question of

which law should have been applied would not alter the

outcome and is not appropriate for review by this Court.

III. ADISMISSAL WITH PREJUDICE ON GROUNDS

OF INTERNATIONAL COMITY DOES NOT

PRECLUDE ADJUDICATION OF THE CLAIMS

ON THE MERITS.

Petitioner’s assertion that it has been denied the

opportunity for an adjudication on the merits of its claim is

flatly wrong. First, the District Court’s dismissal on grounds

of international comity was based on deference to the SOP

Proceedings in Mexico, which the Court found to be

fundamentally fair. Accordingly, Ecoban’s claims on the

promissory notes against GAN and AHMSA, together with

other creditors’ claims, will be adjudicated by the Mexican

courts presiding over the SOP Proceedings. However, if the

SOP Proceedings are not completed and Ecoban’s claims

are not adjudicated, the District Court specifically held that

Ecoban could re-file its claims in that Court. District Court’s

Opinion (Petitioner’s App. at 9an.5). Thus, while the District

Court’s judgment as to propriety of extending comity to the

SOP Proceedings was final, it did not purport to adjudicate

the merits of Ecoban’s underlying claims on the promissory

notes.

> In Jn re Culmer, 25 B.R. 621, 629 (Bankr. S.D.N.Y. 1982),

the court stated that the “[c]ourts in New York have even more

narrowly construed ti.e exceptions to the comity doctrine.”

19

Second, to the extent that Ecoban seeks to clarify

the scope and finality of the judgment, Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(a)

provides the appropriate procedura! device. Specifically,

Ecoban asserts that the District Court erred in its failure to

state explicitly that the judgment was without prejudice as

to the underlying merits. At best, the judgment may suffer

from a clerical “mistake” which Ecoban may seek to cure

pursuant to Fed. R. Civ. P. 60(a). However, to date, Ecoban

has not done so. Accordingly, whether the judgment was

appropriately dismissed with prejudice is not a proper |

question for review by this Court.

CONCLUSION

a a ee

For the foregoing reasons, the Petition for a writ of

certiorari should be denied.

Respectfully submitted,

GERALD J. FIELDS STEVEN H. REISBERG*

PauL, HASTINGS, JANOFSKY WILLKIE FARR & GALLAGHER

& WALKER L.L.P. 787 Seventh Avenue

75 East 55th Street New York, NY 10019-6099

New York, NY 10022 (212) 728-8000

(212) 318-6000 Counsel for Respondent

Counsel for Respondent Altos Hornos De Mexico,

Grupo Acerero Del Norte, S.A. de C.V.

S.A. de C.V. * Counsel of Record

APPENDIX

Sat

ries

so

=

os

la

APPENDIX — DECLARATION OF JAIME GARCIA

PRIANI IN SUPPORT OF THE MOTION OF ALTOS

HORNOS DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V. TO DISMISS ON

THE GROUND OF COMITY AND IN OPPOSITION TO

PLAINTIFF’S MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

DATED DECEMBER 22, 1999

UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF NEW YORK

99 Civ. 10202 (AKH)

ECOBAN FINANCE LIMITED,

Plaintiff,

— against —

ALTOS HORNOS DE MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V.,

Defendant.

DECLARATION OF JAIME GARCIA PRIANI IN

SUPPORT OF THE MOTION OF ALTOS HORNOS DE

MEXICO, S.A. DE C.V. TO DISMISS ON THE GROUND

OF COMITY AND IN OPPOSITION TO PLAINTIFF’S

MOTION FOR SUMMARY JUDGMENT

JAIME GARCIA PRIANI, pursuant to 28 U.S.C. § 1746,

hereby declares under penalty of perjury as follows:

1. I submit this declaration in support of the motion by

Altos Hornos de Mexico, S.A. de C.V. (*“AHMSA”) to

dismiss the instant action on the ground of comity and in

opposition to the Plaintiff's motion for summary judgment.

2a

Appendix

2. I have been duly licensed to practice law by the

Federal Government of Mexico for 23 years and hold

professional license number 423996. I am the senior member

of the law firm of Bufete Garcia Jimeno located in Mexico

City, Mexico. I specialize in the practice of civil and

commercial litigation and in suspension of payments and

bankruptcy law. Since 1982, I have represented many

companies involved in suspension of payments under the

Ley de Quiebras y Suspension de Pagos, the Law of

Bankruptcy and Suspension of Payments (the “Bankruptcy

Law” or “B.L.”) adopted by Mexico, an English translation

of which Bankruptcy Law is annexed hereto as Exhibit A.

Since 1993, I have also served as a professor at Universidad

Panamericana in Mexico City where I teach courses

pertaining to the theory of suspension of payments and

bankruptcy under Mexican law. Since 1998, I have also been

a professor at Universidad Del Mayab in Merida, Yucatan

where I have taught graduate and post-graduate studies of

the law of bankruptcy and suspension of payments. Since

1994, I have taught courses in bankruptcy and suspension of

payments law to attorneys and accountants and others at the

Instituto Para La Especializacion de Ejecutivos in Mexico

City. I have also taught courses in civil proceedings at

Universidad Anahuac in Mexico City from 1976 to 1983 and

taught courses in civil law at Escuela Libre de Derecho in

Mexico City from 1984 to 1985. I have participated in many

conferences and seminars pertaining to the law of suspension

of payments and bankruptcy. If called upon as a witness,

I could testify competently from my own knowledge to

matters set forth hereinafter.

690179.2

3a

Appendix

1. AHMSA DECLARED TO BE IN SUSPENSION OF

PAYMENTS.

3. | have reviewed the Complaint and the Order of

Attachment, in each instance together with all exhibits

annexed thereto (including, without limitation, the

promissory notes at issue). Based on my review of these

promissory notes, I am of the view that the Plaintiff herein

is acommon (unsecured) creditor under Mexican law. I have

also reviewed the Declaration of Alfonso Passapora Mora,

dated October 27, 1999.

4. [have reviewed the Declaration of Andres Gonzalez

Saravia in Support of Motion of Altos Hornos de Mexico,

S.A. de C.V. to Dismiss on the Ground of Comity and in

Opposition to Plaintiff's Motion for Summary Judgment,

which has been filed herewith, together with all exhibits

thereto (the “Gonzalez Saravia Declaration”). The Gonzalez

Saravia Declaration sets forth at length the financial and other

difficulties that led to the filing of the petition by AHMSA

to be declared in suspension of payments. I have reviewed

the Declaration of Madiyn Gleich Primoff in Support of

Motion of Grupo Acerero Del Norte, S.A. de C.V. to Dismiss

on the Ground of Comity (the “Primoff Declaration”).

5. Ihave reviewed the petition together with all exhibits

thereto (the “Petition”) filed by AHMSA on May 24, 1999

with the First Court of First Instance in Monclova (Coahoila)

Mexico (the “Mexico Court”). Pursuant to the Petition,

AHMSA sought to be declared in suspension of payments

under Title VI of the Bankruptcy Law and Articles 394 and

395 thereof in particular. The Bankruptcy Law is derived

690179.2

4a

Appendix

from and based on the civil law of Spain, Italy, France and

other European nations. A copy of the Petition together with

an English translation thereof is annexed to the Gonzalez

Saravia Declaration as Exhibit B thereto.

6. As required by Article 398 of the Bankruptcy Law,

AHMSA’s proposed preventive agreement with its creditors

(the “Preventive Agreement”) was filed shortly after the

Petition. I have reviewed the Preventive Agreement, a copy

of which together with an English translation thereof is

annexed to the Gonzalez Saravia Declaration as Exhibit C

thereto. The Preventive Agreement is a proposed agreement

between a company and its creditors which addresses the

manner of resolution of all claims against the company. In

general, the proposed Preventive Agreement provides for the

repayment of the recognized principal amount of all claims

against AHMSA within 3 years after the acceptance of such

Preventive Agreement by the requisite majorities of

AHMSA’s creditors. If the Preventive Agreement is accepted

by AHMSA’s creditors and approved by the Mexico Court,

AHMSA’s proceedings under the Bankruptcy Law will be

successfully concluded.

7. I have reviewed the judgment which was issued by

the Mexico Court on May 25, 1999, declaring AHMSA to

be in suspension of payments in accordance with Articles

404 through 406 of the Bankruptcy Law (the “SOP

Judgment”). A copy of the SOP Judgment together with an

English translation thereof is annexed to the Gonzalez

Saravia Declaration as Exhibit D thereto.

8. I have been informed based on the Gonzalez Saravia

Declaration that notice of AHMSA’s suspension of payments

690179.2

Sa

Appendix

proceeding has been provided by actual notice sent to

creditors whose addresses are known, including Plaintiff

herein, and by publication in Diario Oficial de la F ederacion,

the official Mexican gazette, and in major national

newspapers in Mexico (see B.L. Arts. 15-17). Publication

was effected on October 4, 5 and 6 of 1999.

9. The SOP Judgment, among other things, included a

notice to AHMSA’s creditors to submit their claims for

review within 45 days, beginning the day after the final

publication of the SOP Judgment. As set forth in the

Gonzalez Saravia Declaration, the last publication of the SOP

Judgment was made on October 6, 1999, thereby initially

giving © reditors until December 13, 1999 (because of

weekends and court holidays) to submit their claims. The

Mexico Court, however, recently expanded the time for

creditors to file claims until March 23, 2000.

10. In accordance with Articles 28-30, 44, 46, 48-52,

54, 57, 415 and 416 of the Bankruptcy Law, the National

Chamber of the Transformation Industry (Camara Nacional

de la Industria de Transformacion), who designated Javier

Francisco Gaxiola as its representative, was appointed to

serve as AHMSA’s trustee by order of the Mexico Court

dated August 6, 1999. I have reviewed such order, a copy of

which together with an English translation thereof is annexed

to the Gonzalez Saravia Declaration as Exhibit E thereto.

11. I have been informed based on the Gonzalez Saravia

Declaration that AHMSA has approximately 1,471 creditors,

the vast majority of which are common (unsecured) creditors.

690179.2

6a

Appendix

Il. THE INSTANT ACTION IS IMPERMISSIBLE AS

A MATTER OF MEXICAN LAW.

12. The Bankruptcy Law contains a statutory stay,

prohibiting the commencement and prosecution of this action

by Plaintiff herein. Articles 408, 409 and 410 of the

Bankruptcy Law provide as follows:

ARTICLE 408. While the proceeding is in

progress, no credit established previously may be

required or executed against the debtor, nor may

he pay it, the statute of limitations shall not run

and the suits cited in the subsequent article shall

remain in suspense.

However, such protests as are allowable by

law shall be filed.

ARTICLE 409. With the exception of claims

for debts for employment obligations, for food

and alimony, or for claims with a guarantee, all

suits against the debtor that have as their purpose

claiming compliance with a monetary obligation

shall be suspended; but actions tending to prevent

damage to things covered by the litigation or to

conserve entirely the rights of the parties may be

undertaken.’

ARTICLE 410. During the proceedings, the

debtor preserves the administration of assets and

' A certified translation of Articles 408 and 409 is annexed

hereto as Exhibit B

690179.2

ih ast imal

7a

Appendix

shall continue the ordinary operations of his

business, under the care of the trustee.

Based upon the above-quoted provisions of the Bankruptcy

Law, upon the entry of the SOP Judgment, (a) AHMSA is

not permitted to pay any prepetition claims, and (b) all suits

against AHMSA that have as their purpose claiming

compliance with a monetary obligation shall be in suspension

except for labor proceedings, proceedings for the collection

of alimony payments and proceedings for the enforcement

of a security interest in rem (e.g., mortgage, pledge, etc.).

In other words, a moratorium on legal actions such as the

instant action commenced by Plaintiff became effective as

of the entry of the SOP Judgment. Accordingly, the complaint

filed herein commencing this action as well as all subsequent

steps taken by Plaintiff to attach AHMSA’s assets constitute

a violation of the stay imposed by the Bankruptcy Law.

13. Pursuant to Article 411 of the Bankruptcy Law,

the debtor is prohibited from granting security interests

during the pendency of a suspension of payments proceeding.

The purpose underlying this provision is to maintain the

equality of distributions to all creditors of the same rank and

priority, which is a critical underpinning of the Bankruptcy

Law. If a debtor is found to have improved the position of

one of its creditors vis-a-vis (and at the expense of) its other

creditors, the debtor may both be sanctioned by the Mexico

Court and also have its suspension of payments proceeding

converted to a bankruptcy/liquidation proceeding. Thus,

AHMSA cannot permit the attachment by Plaintiff of

AHMSA’s assets and Plaintiff's attempted circumvention

of Mexican law to occur.

690179.2

pete eA SOE RI UL Hel ly oR ae oe ee AN ae

8a

Appendix

14. Pursuant to Articles 6(d), 13, 14, 26 and 408-410 of

the Bankruptcy Law, the suspension of payments proceeding

is intended to be comprehensive as to all of AHMSA’s assets

located in and outside of Mexico, including but not limited

to those assets located in the United States. It is a general

principle of the Bankruptcy Law that a suspension of

payments proceeding is intended to be universal, not

territorial. Indeed, Article 13 of the Bankruptcy Law

provides:

The following have jurisdiction to hear the

bankruptcy of an individual merchant: the District

Judge of the Trial Court of the place where the

merchant has his principal place of business, or,

if there is none, where he lives.

With regard to companies, jurisdiction shall

be proper in the place where the main office is

located and if there is none, in the place where

it has its principal place of business.

Branches of foreign businesses may be

declared bankrupt, without consideration of any

jurisdiction which may pertain to foreign judges.

This bankruptcy shall affect assets located in the

republic and creditors of the operation carried out

by the branch.

The third paragraph of Article 13 sets forth an exception to

the general rule of universality which is embodied in the

second paragraph of Article 13. The third paragraph indicates

that a foreign branch of a business may be declared bankrupt

690179.2

9a

Appendix

under Mexican law, but that such bankruptcy shall affect

only those assets located in Mexico. However, the second

paragraph of Article 13 reflects the principle that all assets

of AHMSA — whether located in Mexico, the United States

or elsewhere — are subject to the jurisdiction of the Mexico

Court.

15. This reading of Article 13 is confirmed by Article

1097 of the Code of Commerce (Codigo de Comercio),

a Federal code supplementary to the Bankruptcy Law, which

states as follows:

The court hearing the bankruptcy and

suspension of payments proceeding is competent

to hear all actions against the debtor, including

those filed against co-defendants acting as joint

and several obligors, guarantors, or persons bemg

sued for any reason for monetary obligations,

whether those actions are asserted in mercantile

or civil proceedings, so that those actions may be

joined in the universal and attractive bankruptcy

process in which alli assets are under the scrutiny

of the court, in order for such third parties to

litigate their rights in that procedure.

Exceptions to the foregoing are claims

derived from mortgages or secured loans, or

claims in which the final decision of first instance

has already been issued and notified.

16. The Bankruptcy Law further provides that all claims

in litigation or otherwise against the debtor must be brought

690179.2

10a

Appendix

to the Mexico Court. See B.L. Arts. 126, 220, 221, 408-410,

429; Code of Commerce Art. 1097. Because AHMSA has

been declared to be in suspension of payments, the

enforceability of the promissory notes at issue is governed

by the Bankruptcy Law of Mexico and any claim to recover

“on the notes must be brought in AHMSA’s pending

suspension of payments- proceeding. Moreover, effective

upon the entry of the SOP Judgment, interest ceases to accrue

on the notes and recovery of any default rate of interest or of

costs and expenses by Plaintiff are not allowed. Further,

under Mexican law, all obligations of AHMSA are converted

into pesos as of the entry of the SOP Judgment in order to

assure equality of treatment of creditors.

17. Foreign judgments, such as a stay imposed by a

bankruptcy court or other court in the United States, would

be enforced in Mexico. Article 14 of the Bankruptcy Law

provides that foreign bankruptcies are honored in Mexico

so long as it can be shown that (i) the formalities for filing

under the foreign bankruptcy law were complied with, and

(ii) the foreign bankruptcy would satisfy the provisions of

the Mexican Bankruptcy Law with respect to the declaration

of bankruptcy. In addition, other provisions of Mexican law

confirm that an order of this Court or another court in the

United States imposing a stay would be enforced in Mexico:

(a) Articles 604-608 of the Codigo de Procedimientos Civiles

para el Distrito Federal (Code of Civil Procedure for the

Federal District of Mexico), which is applicable in AHMSA’s

suspension of payments proceeding; (b) Articles 569-577 of

the Codigo Federal de Procedimientos Civiles (Federal Code

of Civil Procedure), which is applicable in AHMSA’s

suspension of payments proceeding pursuant to Article 6 of

690179.2

-

lla

Appendix

the Transitory Provisions (addendum) of the Bankruptcy

Law; and (c) Articles 1347-A of the Code of Commerce.

(Such statutes together with an English translation thereof

are annexed hereto as Group Exhibit C.)

(a) Article 605 of the Code of Civil Procedure

for the Federal District of Mexico states:

Decisions and other foreign resolutions shall

be effective and shall be recognized in the

Republic in all matters which are not contrary to

the internal public order under the terms of this

Code, of the Federal Code of Civil Procedures

and other applicable laws, except that which is

stipulated by treaties and conventions to which

Mexico is a party.

In the case of jurisdictional decisions or

resolutions which are only going to be used as

evidence, it shall be sufficient that they meet the

requirements necessary to be deemed authentic

certified documents.

The effects which foreign decisions or

arbitration rulings have in the Federal District

shall be governed by the Civil Code, by this Code

and the Federal Code of Civil Procedures and

other applicable laws.

(b) Article 569 of the Federal Code of Civil ©

Procedure provides:

690179.2

12a

Appendix

Decisions and private arbitration decisions

and other foreign jurisdictional resolutions shall

be effective and shall be recognized in the

Republic in all matters which are not contrary to

the internal public order under the terms of this

Code, of the Federal Code of Civil Procedures

and other applicable laws, except that which is

stipulated by treaties and conventions to which

Mexico is a party.

In the case of jurisdictional decisions or

resolutions which are only going to be used as

evidence before Mexican courts, it shall be

sufficient that they meet the requirements

necessary to be deemed authentic documents.

The effects which foreign decisions or

arbitration rulings have in the national territory

shall be governed by the Civil Code, by this Code

and other applicable laws.

(c) Article 1347-A of the Code of Commerce

provides:

Decisions, arbitration rulings and resolutions

issued abroad may be enforceable if they meet

the following conditions: ;

I. That the formalities stipulated in the

treaties and conventions to which Mexico is a

party have been satisfied with respect to letters

rogatory coming from abroad; in the case of the

690179.2

13a

Appendix

enforcement of arbitration decisions, no letter

rogatory shall be required;

Il. That they have not been issued as a result

of the exercise of an action in rem;

Ill. That the deciding judge or court had

jurisdiction to hear and judge the matter pursuant

to the rules recognized in the international sphere

which are compatible with those adopted by this

Code;

IV. That the defendant has been notified or

summoned personally in order to ensure him the

guarantee of a hearing and the exercise of his

defenses;

V. That they have the character of a

res judicata in the country where they were issued,

or that no ordinary appeal exists against them,

VI. That the action which gave rise to them

is not a matter which is pending between the same

parties before Mexican courts and in which a

Mexican court has issued preliminary measures

or at least when the letter rogatory for summons

has been processed and delivered to the Department

of Foreign Affairs or to the Government authorities

where the summons is to be performed. The same

rule shall apply when a final decision is issued;

690179.2

14a

Appendix

VII. That the obligation whose performance

is being enforced is not contrary to the public

order in Mexico; and

VIII. That they meet the requirements to be

considered authentic.

Notwithstanding the performance of the

preceding conditions, the court may deny

execution if it is proved that foreign decisions,

jurisdictional resolutions or arbitration rulings are

not enforced in analogous cases.

Based on the foregoing, I believe that if the situation were

reversed — i.e., if the Mexico Court were asked to uphold a

stay imposed by a bankruptcy court or other court in the

United States — the Mexico Court would resolve that

question in favor of giving effect to the stay.

18. Pursuant to Article 128 of the Bankruptcy Law, upon

the entry of the SOP Judgment (i) all of AHMSA’s

obligations matured, (ii) interest ceased to accrue on such

obligations except in the case of certain secured claims, and

(111) the offset of claims against AHMSA’s assets held by a

creditor was prohibited except in certain limited

circumstances.

690179.2

15a

Appendix

Ill. BY THIS ACTION, PLAINTIFF WRONGFULLY SEEKS

TO CIRCUMVENT THE MEXICAN SUSPENSION OF

PAYMENTS PROCEEDING AND IMPROPERLY

ELEVATE ITS POSITION VIS-A-VIS AHMSA'S OTHER

COMMON CREDITORS.

19. By. means of the instant action, Plaintiff is

wrongfully seeking both to circumvent the suspension of

payments proceeding pending for AHMSA in Mexico and

also to elevate the priority of its position vis-a-vis other

creditors from a common (general unsecured) claim, which

would be treated ratably with the vast majority of AHMSA’s

other creditors under the Bankruptcy Law, to a claim that

would be paid improperly and unfairly ahead of such

creditors through the attachment mechanism. By this action,

Plaintiff is seeking to obtain improperly an advantage — to

the detriment of all creditors — that it would not be entitled

to under the Mexican Bankruptcy Law or, for that matter

(based upon my reading of the Primoff Declaration), title 11

of the United States Code (the “U.S. Bankruptcy Code”).

20. The granting by this Court of the remedy of attachment

in favor of Plaintiff — a common creditor in AHMSA’s

pending suspension of payments proceeding — not only

would enable Plaintiff to circumvent such suspension of

payments proceeding, but also would be in direct violation

of Articles 408-410 of the Bankruptcy Law and, by analogy,

Article 411 as well.

690179.2

l6a

Appendix

IV. OVERVIEW OF LAW ON SUSPENSION OF

PAYMENTS.

Z1. In this section, I intend to furnish an overview of

those provisions of the Bankruptcy Law that are most

relevant to a suspension of payments proceeding. While Title

VI of the Bankruptcy Law, which is entitled “Prevention of

Bankruptcy,” is addressed to suspension of payments

proceedings, Article 429 of the Bankruptcy Law (which is

included in Title VI) expressly provides: “In all that is not

set forth expressly for the suspension of payments and

preventive agreement, the rules of bankruptcy and the

agreement for the same shall apply as long as they do not

contradict the essence and character of the suspension of

payments.” Also, as indicated above, pursuant to the Sixth

Transitory of the Bankruptcy Law, the Code of Commerce

and the Federal Code of Civil Procedure aiso apply in

suspension of payments proceedings.

22. Under the Bankruptcy Law, there are two primary

types of proceedings: (i) a suspension of payments

proceeding, which I understand based on the Primoff

Declaration is analogous to a reorganization case under

chapter 11 of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code; and (ii) bankruptcy,

which is a liquidation and which I understand based on the

Primoff Declaration is similar to a case under chapter 7 of

the U.S. Bankruptcy Code. The principal purpose of a

suspension of payments proceeding is to prevent the

bankruptcy/liquidation of a merchant through the means of

a preventive agreement between the merchant and its

creditors.

690179.2

OO eEOO~7

17a

Appendix

Rights and Powers of Debtor and Trustee

23. In a suspension of payments proceeding, the debtor

preserves the administration of its assets and continues the

ordinary operations of its business under the care of a trustee.

See B.L. Art. 410. The trustee is an officer of the court and

is a fiduciary, see B.L. Art. 44, and shall be selected and

shall have the rights and obligations set forth in Articles 410

and 416 of the Bankruptcy Law. While the debtor remains

in control of its day to day operations, the trustee supervises

the debtor with respect to the administration of the debtor’s

estate. The trustee is required to communicate any

irregularities in the business of the debtor to the judge before

whom the suspension of payments proceeding is pending.

B.L. Art. 41 6(III).

Preventive Agreement

24. A fundamental element of the suspension of

payments proceeding is that the debtor must file a proposed

preventive agreement upon the commencement of such

proceeding. B.L. Art. 398. Such preventive agreement must

maintain the most absolute equality in the treatment of non-

privileged creditors such as Plaintiff herein. B.L. Art. 304.

The preventive agreement may propose the partial payment

of claims on the deferral of payment of claims or both.

See B.L. Arts. 317-322, 400. In addition, a preventive

agreement must include adequate assurance of the debtor’s

compliance therewith, a timetable for repayment and the

mechanisms for the debtor to carry out the terms of the

preventive agreement. B.L. Arts. 337, 420. The Preventive

Agreement filed by AHMSA, which provides for the

690179.2

| Appendix

repayment of the recognized principal amount of all claims

| against AHMSA within three years after acceptance of the

Preventive Agreement by the requisite majorities of

| AHMSA’s creditors, satisfies all of these requirements.

25. Pursuant to Articles 304, 305, 313, 316, 317, 321,

322, 401, 403, 418 and 419 of the Bankruptcy Law, all of

AHMSA’s creditors have the right to accept or reject

AHMSA’'s proposed Preventive Agreement. Votes are tallied

| based on both the number of creditors present at the meeting

| called for the purpose of voting on a preventive agreement

| and also the amount of claims held by such creditors.

| Minimum voting requirements vary depending upon the

terms of a proposed preventive agreement. In general, as the

percentage to be paid in respect of claims decreases or the

time frame in which such claims are to be satisfied increases,

the voting requirements likewise increase. See B.L. Arts. 317-

322. With respect to AHMSA’s Preventive Agreement, the

following three conditions must be satisfied in order for the

Preventive Agreement to be deemed approved by the

requisite majorities: (i) an absolute majority of creditors by

claim amount (as distinguished from number of claim

holders) must vote in favor of the Preventive Agreement,

(ii) an ‘absolute majority of claim holders (creditors), by

number and not amount of claims, must attend in person or

by proxy the meeting of creditors at which approval of the

Preventive Agreement will be considered and (iii) a third of

the creditors (by number and not amount of claims) attending

the meeting in person or by proxy must vote in favor of the

Preventive Agreement. B.L. Arts. 317, 321, 322, 400, 403.

26. In all events, affiliates and insiders may not vote on

a preventive agreement and the amount of their claims against

690179.2

erectile

19a

Appendix

the debtor are deducted for the purposes of computing

whether the requisite percentage of total claims have voted

in favor of the preventive agreement. B.L. Arts. 325, 326. If

the preventive agreement is not accepted, the judge

overseeing the suspension of payments proceeding is required

to proceed with a declaration of bankruptcy whereupon the

assets of the debtor are liquidated. See B.L. Art. 419.

27. If the requisite majorities vote in favor of the

preventive agreement, it will be submitted to the judge

overseeing the suspension of payments proceeding for

approval. See B.L. Arts. 337, 420. Approval will be granted

if the following requirements are met: (a) the debtor was not

ineligible to be declared in suspension of payments pursuant

to Article 396 of the Bankruptcy Law, (b) the amount offered

under the preventive agreement was not less than the

possibilities of the debtor and (c) the debtor’s performance of

the agreement is sufficiently guaranteed in view of the assets

of the debtor. B.L. Art. 420. In addition, the judge will examine

the preventive agreement to make certain that it maintains

the most absolute equality in the treatment of non-privileged

creditors such as Plaintiff herein. B.L. Art. 304.

28. The approval of the preventive agreement means that

the debtor will not go bankrupt (i.e. be liquidated), and

produces the same effects as an agreement in bankruptcy.

See B.L. Art. 423. In this connection, an order approving a

preventive agreement binds the debtor and the creditors to

the terms of the preventive agreement, and discharges the

debtor from liability on its prepetition debts to the extent

the agreement provides for payment of such debts. B.L. Arts.

359, 360.

690179.2

20a

Appendix

V. PROCESSING OF CLAIMS; ROLE OF CREDITORS.

29. As indicated above and as required by Article 16 of

the Bankruptcy Law and the SOP Judgement, notice of

AHMSA’s suspension of payments proceeding has been

provided by actual notice sent to creditors whose addresses

are known, including Plaintiff herein, and by publication.

See B.L. Arts. 15-17. The SOP Judgment included a notice

to AHMSA’s creditors to submit their claims for review

within 45 days, beginning the day after the final publication

of the SOP Judgment. The last publication of the SOP

Judgment was made on October 6, 1999, which initially gave

creditors until December 13, 1999 to submit their claims.

The Court recently expanded the time for creditors to file

claims until March 23, 2000.

30. The procedures with respect to filing and recognition

of claims are set forth in Articles 220 through 259 of the

Bankruptcy Law. A creditor shall petition the Mexico Court

for recognition of its claim, attaching to the petition the

documents justifying the claim and copies of the same. B.L.

Art. 221. The debtor and all creditors have the right to be

heard with respect to the allowance or disallowance of any

claim. B.L. Art. 243. All parties have the right to appeal

from the Mexico Court’s allowance or disallowance of claims

to a superior appellate court. See B.L. Arts. 249-254.

31. The Bankruptcy Law contains no preference

whatsoever for Mexican creditors over non-Mexican

creditors. See B.L. Art. 261. In fact, Article 223 of the

Bankruptcy Law permits the Mexico Court to extend for

non-Mexican creditors the period for presenting their claims,

up to the day set for the meeting of creditors.

690179.2

2la

Appendix

32. Pursuant to Articles 58 and 417 of the Bankruptcy

Law, one, three or five representatives of the creditors —

called intervenors — will be appointed by the Mexico Court

to represent the interests of the creditors in AHMSA’s

suspension of payments proceeding. The intervenors are ~

recognized by the Mexico Court and elected by the creditors.

33. The intervenors have all measures available to them

which are relevant in the interest of the debtor’s estate and

the rights of the creditors, including (a) appealing decisions

of the Mexico Court and opposing those of the trustee which

they consider prejudicial to the interests of the creditors;

(b) requesting removal of the trustee and exercising actions

of responsibility against the Mexico Court, (c) requesting

the Mexico Court to order the debtor to appear before them

so that they can be informed about the activities of the debtor;

(d) designating one or more intervenors to attend all activities

regarding the administration of the debtor’s estate and/or

watch over all operations of the trustee and the debtor;

(e) informing the Mexico Court of all acts of extraordinary

administration which it should authorize; (f) requesting the

Mexico Court to convene an extraordinary meeting of

creditors; (g) informing creditors of the progress of the

suspension of payments proceeding; and (h) performing other

duties which the law expressly designates to them or which

it gives, in general, to the creditors. See B.L. Art. 67.

VI. DISTRIBUTION OF ASSETS AND TREATMENT OF

COMMON CLAIMS.

34. The provisions with respect to classification,

prioritization and distribution in respect of claims is set forth

690179.2

22a

Appendix

in Articles 260 through 273 of the Bankruptcy Law.

AHMSA’s Preventive Agreement adheres to all of these

requirements. The Mexico Court is required in a suspension

of payments proceeding to determine the class and priority

for each claim. B.L. Art. 260.

35. A distribution to the creditors of one class may not

begin until the creditors of each class having a higher priority

have been paid. B.L. Art. 269.

36. The following are claims against the debtor’s estate

that shall be paid with priority over any other claims:

(a) expenses for the safekeeping, preservation and

administration of the property of the debtor’s estate; and

(b) claims arising from judicial or non-judicial proceedings

for the common benefit, provided such proceedings were duly

authorized. B.L. Art. 270.

37. Claims against the estate are classified as follows,

in descending order of priority:

(a) creditors who are exclusively privileged;

(b) secured creditors;

(c) creditors with special privilege;

(d) common creditors due to mercantile

operations; and

(e) common creditors based on civil law.

B.L. Art. 261.

690179.2

23a

Appendix

38. “Exclusively privileged” creditors include

(a) creditors having claims for burial expenses, (b) creditors

having claims for medical expenses for an illness that caused

the death of the debtor where bankruptcy was declared after

death and (c) employees owed salaries for services rendered

within 12 months prior to the suspension of payments

declaration. B.L. Art. 262.

39. Secured creditors receive payments from the

proceeds of their collateral in the order in which their security

interests were recorded. Only the remaining equity, if any,

in such collateral over and above the secured debt is then

available for other creditors. B.L. Art. 263.

40. “Specially privileged” creditors are creditors that

in accordance with the Code of Commerce or other statute

have a special privilege (e.g., mechanics liens, etc.). See B.L.

Art. 264. Like mortgage creditors, specially privileged

creditors are entitled to be paid first out of the proceeds of

the sale of their collateral, but if several claims arise from

the same good or asset, a pro rata distribution shall be made

without distinction for dates except where the law states to

the contrary. See B.L. Art. 265.

41. The claims of tax authorities have priority over

distributions to all other creditors except for certain secured

creditors, alimony creditors and claims for wages for work

performed during the last 12 months before the debtor was

declared bankrupt. B.L. Arts. 261, 262.

42. Common creditors, like Plaintiff, whose claims are

based upon mercantile operations collect pro rata without

regard to the date on which their claims arose. B.L. Art. 266.

690179.2

24a

Appendix

43. Common creditors whose claims arose from civil

law obligations not arising out of the normal course of

business (such as claims by professionals for services

rendered, certain personal injury claimants, service providers,

etc.) also collect without regard toe the date on which their

claims arose. B.L. Art. 267. These claims rank junior to the

claims of common creditors whose claims arose from

mercantile operations. See B.L. Art. 269.

44. There is no restriction in the Bankruptcy Law on

the right of non-Mexican creditors to participate equally with

local creditors in a distribution of a debtor’s assets. Nor does

the Bankruptcy Law discriminate in any way against foreign

creditors, who stand on the same footing as local creditors.

Indeed, Article 304 of the Bankruptcy Law provides that a

preventive agreement shall maintain the most absolute

equality in the treatment of non-privileged creditors, unless

all creditors in the same class consent.

45. Under Mexican Law, all obligations of the debtor

shall be converted into pesos as of the entry of the SOP

Judgment in order to assure equality of treatment of creditors.

The rate of conversion is fixed as of the date of entry of the

SOP Judgment — 9.5 pesos to the dollar in AHMSA’s case.

VII. THE INSTANT ACTION SHOULD BE DISMISSED

BASED ON COMITY.

46. I have been informed that under the relevant case

law in the Southern District of New York it is appropriate to

defer to, and grant comity to, the Mexico Court with respect

to the determination and resolution of Plaintiff's claims as

690179.2

a

25a

Appendix

long as it can be shown that the Mexico Court abides by

fundamental standards of procedural fairness. I have been

further informed that, with respect to the suspension of

payments proceeding pending for AHMSA before the

Mexico Court, this Court will examine the foiiowing factors

as indicia of procedural fairness:

(a) Whether creditors of the same class are treated

equally in the distribution of assets.

(b) Whether AHMSA or the Mexican trustee are

considered fiduciaries and are held accountable to the

Mexico Court.

(c) Whether creditors have the right to submit

claims which, if denied, can be adjudicated by the

Mexico Court.

(d) Whether AHMSA or the Mexican trustee are

required to give notice to the debtor’s potential

claimants.

(ec) Whether the Bankruptcy Law provides for a

creditors’ meeting.

(f) Whether Mexico’s insolvency laws favor its

own citizens.

(g) Whether all of AHMSA’s assets are marshalled

before one body for centralized distribution.

690179.2

26a

Appendix

(h) Whether the suspension of payments proceeding

includes an automatic stay and provides for the lifting

of such stay to facilitate the centralization of claims.

(i) After carefully reviewing the foregoing indicia

of procedural fairness, I am of the view that AHMSA’s

suspension of payments proceeding and the Bankruptcy

Law amply satisfy each and every one of these indicia.

47. Creditors of the same class are treated equally.

As set forth in Section VI above, creditors of the same class

are treated equally in the distribution of assets. See B.L. Arts.

266, 267, 269, 304.

48. The debtor and the Mexican trustee are considered

fiduciaries and are held accountable to the Mexico Court.

Pursuant to the Bankruptcy Law, the debtor and the Mexican

trustee have duties of care and loyalty to their creditors and

others and are held accountable to the Mexico Court.

See B.L. Arts. 44, 410, 411, 416. In this connection, the

trustee is required, inter alia, to (a) deliver to the Mexico

Court, prior to the meeting of creditors, a detailed report

about the causes of AHMSA’s suspension of payments, the

state of AHMSA’s books and other information that the

trustee deems relevant, B.L. Art. 46; (b) make recommendations

to the Mexico Court with respect to AHMSA’s estate,

B.L. Art. 48(III); and (c) deliver every three months

accountings of the trustee’s actions and a report on the status

of the suspension of payments proceeding. B.L. Art. 50.

49. Creditors have the right to submit claims for

adjudication by the Mexico Court. As set forth in

690179.2-

a CI PESO cI TUS SERIA

27a

Appendix

paragraphs 9 and 29 through 31 above, creditors of AHMSA

have the right to submit claims to the Mexico Court for

adjudication. Article 220 of the Bankruptcy Law provides

that creditors who want to perfect their claims against

AHMSA’ s estate should request recognition of their claims,

which shall be done by the Mexico Court at a creditor’s

meeting convened especially for such purpose. The

determination of the Mexico Court with respect to any claim

is subject to appeal. See B.L. Art. 249.

50. Notice is required to be given to AHMSA’s potential

claimants. Pursuant to Articles 15(V), 16 and 405 of the

Bankruptcy Law, the judgment of declaration of suspension

of payments must contain an order requiring that creditors

be notified that they have 45 days, beginning the day after

the final publication of the judgment, to present their claims

for review. As indicated in paragraph 8 above, notice of

AHMSA’s suspension of payments proceeding has been

provided by actual notice sent to creditors whose addresses

are known, including Plaintiff herein, and by publication, as

required.

51. The Bankruptcy Law contains provisions for a

creditors’ meeting. Articles 15(V1), 26(III) and 73 through

82 of the Bankruptcy Law provide for and prescribe the

conduct of creditors’ meetings. Creditors’ meetings are either

ordinary or extraordinary. B.L. Art. 73. An ordinary meeting

is one that is required to take place pursuant to the

Bankruptcy Law, including meetings for (a) the recognition

of claims, B.L. Arts. 220, 235, 240, (b) the appointment of

intervenors, B.L. Arts. 60, 417, (c) approval of the preventive

agreement, B.L. Arts. 418, 305, 311, 314, 315, 297, 331,

690179.2

a erences

28a.

Appendix

and (d) approval of the accounts of the trustee. B.L. Art.

416(IV). Extraordinary meetings are those called in

connection with other subjects. B.L. Arts. 61, 67(VI).

Creditors’ meetings are convened and presided over by the

Mexico Court. B.L. Arts. 74, 76, 82. Notice of the meetings

are published. B.L. Art. 7¢. Resolutions are generally valid

if they were set forth on the agenda for the meeting and

approved by the majority of creditors attending the meeting

in person or by proxy. B.L. Arts. 75, 77-79.

52. Mexico’s insolvency laws do not favor citizens of

Mexico. As indicated in paragraphs 31 and 44 above, the

Bankruptcy Law contains no preference whatsoever for

Mexican creditors over non-Mexican creditors.

53. All assets are consolidated before one body for

centralized distribution. As set forth at length in paragraphs

14 through 17 above, Articles 26(III) and (XI) and 429 of.

the Bankruptcy Law provide that the suspension of payments

proceeding is intended to be comprehensive as to all of

AHMSA’ s assets located in and outside of Mexico, including

but not limited to those assets located in the United States.

As a general principle, the suspension of payments

proceeding is intended to be universal, not territorial. The

Bankruptcy Law further provides that all claims in litigation

or otherwise against the debtor must be brought to the Mexico

Court. See B.L. Arts. 126, 220, 408-410, 429; Code of

Commerce Art. 1097. The intent of these provisions is to

accumulate all of AHMSA’s assets before the Mexico Court

for centralized distribution.

54. The Bankruptcy Law contains an automatic stay.

As described in detail in paragraphs 12 through 16 and 18

690179.2

29a

Appendix

above, upon entry of the SOP Judgment, Articles 408 through

410 of the Bankruptcy Law imposed a statutory stay of claims

against AHMSA. Article 411 of the Bankruptcy Law states

that the granting of security interests by the debtor shall be

ineffective as against creditors during the pendency of a

suspension of payments proceeding. A moratorium on legal

actions such as the instant action commenced by Plaintiff

became effective as of the entry of the SOP Judgment.

B.L. Art. 409. The complaint filed herein commencing this

action as well as all subsequent steps taken by the Plaintiff

to attach AHMSA’s assets thus constitute a violation of the

stay imposed by the Bankruptcy Law.

VIII. DISMISSAL OF THE INSTANT ACTION WILL BEST

ASSURE THE ECONOMICAL AND EXPEDITIOUS

ADMINISTRATION OF AHMSA'S ESTATE.

55. I have been informed that section 304(c) of the

U.S. Bankruptcy Code provides authority for dismissal of

the instant action, and that in determining whether to grant —

such relief the Court shall be guided by what will best assure

an economical and expeditious administration of AHMSA’s

estate, consistent with —

(a) just treatment of all holders of claims against

the estate;

(b) protection of claim holders in the United States

against prejudice and inconvenience in the processing

of claims in AHMSA’s suspension of payments

proceeding;

690179.2

30a

Appendix

(c) prevention of preferential or fraudulent

dispositions of property of AHMSA’s estate;

(d) distribution of proceeds of AHMSA’s estate

substantially in accordance with the order prescribed by

the U.S. Bankruptcy Code; and

(e) comity.

I have been asked to comment on each of these factors.

56. The suspension of payments proceeding affords just

treatment to all of AHMSA’s creditors. As discussed at

length above, AHMSA’s creditors will have been afforded

sufficient opportunity to submit their claims for

determination. A creditor is permitted to appeal an adverse

determination. Pursuant to the Bankruptcy Law, creditors

have the right to call and attend meetings of creditors.

Creditors will have the right to accept or reject the proposed

Preventive Agreement. Creditors also have the right to seek

the appointment of an intervention.

57. With respect to distributions to creditors, as detailed

more particularly above, the Mexico Court is required in

AHMSA’s suspension of payments proceeding to determine

the class and priority for each claim. A distribution to the

creditors of one class may not begin until the creditors of

each class having a higher priority have been paid. Certain

claims described above shall be paid with priority over any

other claims. The most absolute equality in the treatment of

non-privileged creditors is strictly required unless all

creditors in the same class consent. Creditors who are

690179.2

31a

Appendix

outvoted or believe that they have been placed in the wrong

class may obtain a hearing on such issue before the Mexico

Court and take an appeal from an adverse determination.

58. Claim holders in the United States will not suffer

prejudice in the processing of claims in AHMSA's suspension

of payments proceeding. There are no provisions in the

Bankruptcy Law which create any special prejudice or

inconvenience for the processing of claims of United States

creditors, including the Plaintiff herein, in AHMSA’s

suspension of payments proceeding. In fact, as indicated

above, Article 223 of the Bankruptcy Law permits the

Mexico Court to extend for non-Mexican creditors the period

for presenting their claims, up to the day set for the meeting

of creditors.

59. The Bankruptcy Law prevents preferential or

fraudulent dispositions of property of AHMSA’s estate.

The Mexico Court has the power to avoid preferential or

fraudulent dispositions of a debtor’s property (or assets)

made to the detriment or prejudice of creditors. See B.L.

Arts. 93, 96, 168-170, 172, 173, 297. Transactions that are

intentionally fraudulent or transactions that are made for less

than fair consideration may be set aside. Setting aside the

transaction would enable the debtor to recover the property

or assets transferred.

60. The proceeds of AHMSA'’s estate will be distributed

substantially in accordance with the order described by the

U.S. Bankruptcy Code. Although I am not in a position to

testify to the meaning of the U.S. Bankruptcy Code, I believe

that the rules and principles governing the distribution of

690179.2

32a

Appendix

the assets of AHMSA’s estate under the Mexican Bankruptcy

Law and the case law thereunder are substantially similar to

the rules and principles which would govern distribution

under the U.S. Bankruptcy Code. (See the Primoff

Declaration in this regard.) It is readily apparent that both

the Mexican Bankruptcy Law and the U.S. Bankruptcy Code

provide for equal and ratable distributions to be made to

creditors having the same rank and priority. In this

connection, both statutory schemes classify claims with

distributions to creditors being made based on the priority

of the class in which a creditor’s claims is placed. Secured

creditors naturally have a higher priority than common

(unsecured) creditors. Claims for expenses relating to the

administration of the debtor’s estate also have priority.

Distributions to common (unsecured) creditors are made on

a pro rata basis.

61. Principles of comity favor granting dismissal.

For all of the reasons discussed at length above in Section

VII, principles of comity favor dismissal of the instant action.

As I explained in detail in paragraphs 14 through 17 above,

a judgment of this Court may be enforced in Mexico. And,

if the situation were reversed — i.e. if the Mexico Court

were asked to uphold a stay imposed by a bankruptcy court

or other court in the United States — the Mexico Court would

resolve that question in favor of giving effect to the stay.

62. In view of the foregoing, I believe that dismissal of

the instant action will promote the economical and

expeditious administration of AHMSA’s estate.

690179.2

33a

Appendix

IX. CONCLUSION.

63. The Plaintiff's action, and the remedy it seeks of

various “self-help” measures such as attachment, constitutes

a serious threat to AHMSA’s other creditors and, therefore,

to the success of AHMSA’s suspension of payments

proceeding. Such measures are strictly forbidden by the

Mexican Bankruptcy Law; unless the instant action is

dismissed by this Court, this action will jeopardize the

orderly administration of AHMSA’s estate. As indicated in

paragraph 22 above, Plaintiff is wrongfully seeking to

circumvent the Mexican suspension of payments proceeding

and improperly elevate its position vis-4-vis AHMSA’s other

common (unsecured) creditors. Plaintiff herein seeks to

enhance its position at the expense of the vast majority of

AHMSA’s other creditors through the attachment mechanism

and to obtain a benefit that it simply is not entitled to as a

matter of Mexican law or (I believe, based on the Primoff

Declaration), for that matter, United States law. Furthermore,

unless dismissed, the instant action might result in the

dismemberment of AHMSA’s assets and foster inequitable

treatment of creditors with similar claims, whether such

creditors are located in the United States, Mexico or

elsewhere.

| declare under penalty of perjury under the laws of the United

States of America that the foregoing is true and correct.

Executed on this [22nd]th day of December, 1999.

Is! Jai escia Prienl

Jaime Garcia Priani

690179.2

34a

Appendix

EXHIBIT A TO PRIANI DECLARATION

APPENDIX 8

LAW OF BANKRUPTCY AND |

SUSPENSION OF PAYMENTS

(Part Five of the Code of Commerce)

Diario Oficial, 20 April, 1993

TITLE I

The Concept _ Declaration of Bankruptcy

Chapter I

Requirements for the Declaration

of Bankruptcy

ARTICLE 1. A merchant who ceases to pay his

obligations may be declared to be in a state of bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 2. It shall be presumed, except upon proof

to the contrary, that a merchant ceased making his payments

in the following cases and any others of an analogous nature:

I. General non-compliance with the payment of his

current and outstanding obligations;

II]. The non-existence or insufficiency of assets upon

which to levy execution of a lien due to non-compliance with

a debt or upon executing a judgment;

35a

Appendix

III. The concealment or absence of the merchant without

leaving someone at his business who could legally comply

with his obligations;

IV. Under the same circumstances as the preceding case,

the closing of the offices of his business;

V. An assignment for the benefit of creditors,

VI. Resorting to ruinous, fraudulent or fictitious means

to discharge or avoid discharging his obligations;

VII. Petitioning for a declaration of bankruptcy,

VIII. Petitioning for a suspension of payments, which

is denied, or, if it is granted, an agreement of creditors is not

reached; ;

IX. The non-compliance with obligations contracted for

in an agreement reached for a suspension of payments.

The presumptions alluded to in this article shall be

overcome by proof that the merchant can pay his current

and outstanding obligations with his available funds.

ARTICLE 3. Within the two-year period following the

death or the retirement of a merchant, he may be declared to

be in a state of bankruptcy when there is proof that he had

ceased paying his obligations before his death or retirement,

or in the year following either.

36a

Appendix

The estate of a merchant may be declared to be in

bankruptcy when the business of which the merchant was

the owner continues.

ARTICLE 4. The bankruptcy of a partnership also

causes the general partners to be considered bankrupt for all

purposes.

The respective liquidations shall be kept separate.

The bankruptcy of one or more partners does not by itself

cause the bankruptcy of the partnership.

Mercantile partnerships in liquidation and joint ventures

may be declared to be in a state of bankruptcy.

The bankruptcy of a joint venture shall cause the

bankruptcy of the general partners and of those against which

there is proof that, without any objective reason therefor,

they were designated as limited partners. Other than the

exceptions expressly indicated by this law, all provisions

concerning the bankruptcy of partnerships shall apply to joint

ventures.

37a

Appendix

Chapter II

The Declaration of Bankruptcy

FIRST SECTION

Initiation of the Declaration

ARTICLE 5. A declaration of bankruptcy may be made

by official act in the cases for which the law so provides, or

by written petition by the merchant, by one or more creditors

or by the Public Ministry.

ARTICLE 6. The merchant who intends to declare a state

of bankruptcy should present before the judge having

jurisdiction a petition signed by the merchant by his legal

representative or by his special attorney in fact, in which he

states the reasons for his situation and which is accompanied by:

a) The accounting books he was obligated to keep and

those which he voluntarily had adopted;

b) The balance sheet for his business,

c) A list which contains the names and addresses of his

creditors and debtors, the nature and amount of his pending

debts and obligations, the status of the losses and gains of

his business in the last five years;

d) A description of the value of all his movable and

non-movable property, securities-stocks, merchandise and

rights of any other kinds;

e) A complete valuation of his business.

38a

Appendix

When the number of creditors exceeds one thousand or

when it is impossible to determine the number of claims, it

shall be sufficient to list, with reference to the final balance

sheet of the situation, the approximate number of them, the

names and addresses of the known creditors and the total

amount of their claims.

ARTICLE 7. If the merchant is a company, the petition

should be signed by the persons who are empowered to sign

the firm name; in the cases of companies in liquidation, by

the liquidators, and in those cases of an estate, by the

executors.

ARTICLE 8. The petition of a company for a declaration

of bankruptcy should be accompanied by a copy of the

articles of incorporation or partnership agreement and by a

copy of its registration in the Public Commercial Register,

if they exist.

ARTICLE 9. The creditors and the Public Ministry,

when requesting a declaration of bankruptcy, shall

demonstrate-that the debtor falls within one of the categories

referred to in the previous chapter.

ARTICLE 10. If, during the course of a trial, the judge

becomes aware of a suspension of payments, he shall proceed

to make a declaration of bankruptcy, if he has jurisdiction to

do so, or he shall report it immediately to a judge with such

jurisdiction.

If he only has serious and well-founded doubts about

the situation of a suspension of payments, he shall notify

39a

Appendix

the creditors and the Public Ministry, so that they can request,

in the appropriate case, a declaration of bankruptcy within a

period of one month following the notification. In the

meantime, the judge shall adopt the measures authorized in

the second paragraph of the following article, which shall

cease, if in the period of one month the declaration of

bankruptcy is not sought.

ARTICLE 11. In all cases, the judge, in order to make

the declaration of bankruptcy, shall give to the debtor and

the Public Ministry within five days, notice of a hearing in

which evidence shall be brought forth and the corresponding

decision shall be rendered.

General partners shall be notified at the partnership

address.

The judge, according to his authority, shall adopt

provisional measures in the meantime which are necessary

for the protection of the interests of the creditors.

ARTICLE 12. Neither the debtor nor the creditors who

have petitioned for a declaration of bankruptcy may withdraw

their petition, even when all creditors agree.

SECOND SECTION

Jurisdiction of Bankruptcy

ARTICLE 13. The following have jurisdiction to hear

the bankruptcy of an individual merchant: the District Judge

or the Judge of the Trial Court of the place where the

40a

Appendix

merchant has his principal place of business, or, if there is

none, where he lives.

With regard to companies, jurisdiction shall be proper

in the place where the main office is located and if there is

none, in the place where it has its principal place of business.

Branches of foreign businesses may be declared

bankrupt, without consideration of any jurisdiction which

may pertain to foreign judges. This bankruptcy shall affect

assets located in the republic and creditors of the operations

carried out by the branch.

ARTICLE 14. Except for that set forth in the international

conventions and agreements, declarations of bankruptcy

abroad shall not be honored in the republic, except after

verification of the formal requirements of the same and

assuring that they have acknowledged the provisions of this

law in the declaration of bankruptcy.

The effects of the declaration of bankruptcy shall be

subject to this law.

Chapter III

The Judgment Declaring Bankruptcy and its

Publication, Opposition and Revocation

ARTICLE 15. The judgment in which a declaration of

bankruptcy is adjudicated shall contain:

I. The name of the trustee and of the auditor;

4la

Appendix

Il. The order to the bankrupt to present his balance sheet

and accounting books within twenty-four hours, if they were

not presented with the petition;

Ill. The order to secure and give possession to the trustee

of all assets and claims, the administration of which the

debtor is now deprived due to the judgment, as well as the

order to the post office and telegraph to deliver all

correspondence of the bankrupt to the trustee;

IV. The prohibition against making payments and

delivering assets or goods of any kind to the debtor, under

penalty of receiving payment secondary to the other creditors

in the case;

V. The notice to creditors to present their claims for

review within a period of forty-five days, beginning the day

after the final publication of the judgment,

VI. The order convening a meeting of creditors to

recognize, correct and classify all claims, which shall be done

within a period of forty-five days, beginning fifteen days

after the day on which the period set forth in the preceding

section ends, at the place and time fixed by the judge,

according to the circumstances in the case.

For good cause, the meeting may be held within a

maximum period of ninety days;

VII. The order to register the judgment in the Public

Register where the registration of the merchant is found, and,

in its absence, in the Public Register of the place of residence

42a

Appendix

of the judge having jurisdiction of the case and in the Public

Commercial Registers and Public Property Registers in the

places where assests [sic] or eStablishments of the debtor

are located;

VIII. The order issuing to the trustee, the bankrupt, the

intervenors or to any creditor who so requests, certified

copies of the judgment;

IX. The date on which the purposes of the bankruptcy

take effect.

Upon the declaration of bankruptcy of a partnership, the

judgment shall also indicate the names, surnames and

addresses of the partners referred to in Article 4.

Along with the date of the judgment, the hour on which

it was rendered shall be set forth.

ARTICLE 16. The judgment which declares the

bankruptcy shall be reported to the debtor, the Public

Ministry, the intervenors, the secured creditors, the privileged

creditors and the other creditors whose addresses are known,

either personally or by certified mail, return receipt requested,

or by official telegram before fifteen days pass from the day

on which the judgment was rendered.

During the same period the Public Registers, in which

the judgment shall be registered, shall be notified.

Within the same period an excerpt of the judgment shall

be published on three consecutive occasions in the Diario

43a

Appendix

Oficial of the Federation and in two newspapers of major

circulation in the place where the declaration of bankruptcy

was made, and, if it is necessary in the opinion of the judge,

in the locations where important establishments of the

business of the bankrupt were situated.

ARTICLE 17. The official in charge of giving the

notices shall insure that the notices, communications and

publications established in the previous article are made

without excuse or delay in the form and during the periods

set forth.

The same obligation shall rest on the trustee.

ARTICLE 18. Any violation of that set forth in the

previous article shall be punishable, when dealing with the

official in charge of giving the notices, by a fine up to two

hundred pesos and, in the case of a reoccurrence of the violation,

the suspension of employment for a period of one month. When

dealing with the trustee, it shall be punishable by his removal

and the loss of any fees that he may have earned.

The respective decision shall be appealable without

execution thereof being suspended.

One month after the declaration of bankruptcy, without

everything ordered in Article 16 having been complied with,

the parties, including the creditors not yet recognized, shall be

able to appear before the court of appeals, which, in a period or

seventy-two hours, shall issue the relevant instructions

omitted by the judge and shall submit the facts to the Public

Ministry for the purposes of the duties of such Ministry.

44a

Appendix

ARTICLE 19. Against a judgment which denies the

declaration of bankruptcy, exists the recourse of appeal for

all purposes. The appeal shall be brought without suspension

of execution of the judgment being carried out against the

person declaring bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 20. Once the evidence has been received, the

court of appeals, within two days, shall decide upon the

admissibility of the appeal according to that set forth in the

Code of Civil Procedure.

Also applicable shall be that set forth in the Code on

damages, and from these codes notice shall be given to the

other parties for a period common to them all. The periods

for declaring and answering damages shall be three days.

In the petitions for damages and the answers, the parties

should offer proof, specifying the points on which they should

argue, which shall never deviate from the debated issue.

Within the third day the court shall decide on the

admission of the proof, opening up an evidentiary period,

which shall not exceed fifteen days.

From the act of admission until the periods for arguing

the evidence have passed, a confession may be made. In case

of an implied confession the judge shall examine carefully

the presumption which is produced against the documents

and records of the proceedings.

ARTICLE 21. Once the damages are answered, if not

through the production of evidence, or once it has been

45a

Appendix

produced, there shall be a period of three days for the

appellant to argue, and another three days for the other parties

to argue. The passage of these periods shall suffice to place

the business on notice that the couct is ready to issue its

judgment.

The judgment which confirms or revokes the declaration

of bankruptcy shall be issued within the ten-day period

following the notice that the court is ready to announce

judgment.

ARTICLE 22. The previous provisions shall apply as

long as this law, without setting forth anything to the

contrary, allows for the appeal of a judicial decision.

ARTICLE 23. The judgment which denies a declaration

of bankruptcy shall be registered in the Public Registries in

which the declaration was registered and shall be

communicated, in order to cancel the registrations, to the

commercial and property registers in which the judgment of

the declaration of bankruptcy had been recorded.

The judgment denying the bankruptcy shall be

communicated and published just as the declaration of

bankruptcy is.

ARTICLE 24. Once the judgment declaring bankruptcy

is revoked, all things shall return to the state in which they

were before the declaration was made, having respect,

however, for the administrative acts legally carried out by

the organs of bankruptcy and the rights acquired during the

same period by good faith third parties.

46a

Appendix

| ARTICLE 25. If a revocation of the judgment of

declaration of bankruptcy is obtained, an action may be

brought against those that petitioned for it or against the judge

who officially declared it for compensation for the damages

suffered, if the former proceeded with malice, known

injustice or gross negligence.

TITLE Il

The Organs of Bankruptcy

Chapter I

The Bankruptcy Judge

ARTICLE 26. The following shall be powers of the

judge:

I. To authorize the acts of seizure of all assets and books,

documents and papers of the bankrupt concerning his

business, and to intervene personally in such acts, if he deems

it necessary;

: Il. To examine the aforementioned assets, books,

documents and papers of the bankrupt;

III. To order the measures necessary for the security and

preservation of the assets of the estate;

IV. To convene the meetings of the creditors prescribed

by law and those which he deems necessary and to preside

over them;

maniacal

47a

Appendix

V. To authorize the naming of the personnel or

professionals necessary in the interest of the bankruptcy, to

watch over their actions and to remove them for just cause;

VI. To resolve the claims that are presented against the

acts or omissions of the trustee;

VII. To authorize the trustee to:

a) Initiate lawsuits when the latter so requests and

intervene in all phases of their activity;

b) Settle or dismiss certain actions and, in general, carry

out all acts which exceed those which are purely acts of

ordinary preservation and administration of the estate;

VIII. To inspect the activities of the trustee, to assure

his compliance with the actions or the performance of useful

actions for the estate and to guard the good management

and administration of the assets of the same;

IX. To remove the trustee by means of an official

decision or upon the petition by an interested party;

X. To examine and verify the claims and to watch over

the preparation of the balance sheet to be presented at the

creditor’s meeting.

XI. In general, to do all things necessary for the

management, care and administration of the bankruptcy and

its operations.

48a

Appendix

ARTICLE 27. The decisions made by the judge, with

the exceptions provided by law, do not need to be

communicated personally to the parties, unless the judge

deems it necessary.

Chapter II

The Trustee

ARTICLE 28. The trustee shall be picked from one of

the institutions or persons who are indicated as follows,

according to the order of preference:

I. Credit institutions legally authorized to be trustees;

II. Chambers of Commerce and Industry;

III. Commercial companies and individuals duly

registered in the Commercial register.

ARTICLE 29. Credit institutions shall carry out

trusteeships in bankruptcies in the manner set forth for

fiduciary functions.

Chambers of Commerce and Industry shall carry out

trusteeships through one of the members of their board of

directors, or through the delegation of the duty, in each case,

to one of their members or attorneys, to whom they shall

give ample special powers and whom they may substitute at

their discretion.

az

49a

Appendix

Chambers of Commerce and Industry shall be responsible

for the actions of their agents, without this fact removing

the responsibility which the agents incur personally.

Mercantile companies shall carry out their duties through

one of their partners or directors who is authorized to use

the firm signature, or through that person to whom they have

granted ample special powers; however, they shall assume

responsibility for the actions of their representative.

ARTICLE 30. The following may not serve as trustees

nor act as the agents of the entities mentioned in Article 28:

I. Relatives within the fourth level of consanguinity or

second level of affinity to the bankrupt;

Il. Those who are relatives within said levels to the

members of the Board of Directors or managers of

corporations or limited liability companies in bankruptcy,

or to persons authorized to use the firm signature when

dealing with partnerships or limited partnerships;

III. Relatives within the levels referred to above of the

judge who is presiding over the bankruptcy;

IV. Intimate friends or known enemies, the attorney in

fact, the partners or persons who have interests in common

with the bankrupt or with the members of the companies

mentioned in Section II.

The incompatibility referred to in Section IV shall be

liberally interpreted by the judge.

50a

Appendix

ARTICLE 31. The following may not be included in

the lists of trustees:

I. Persons who do not have full exercise of their civil

and political rights;

II. Those who, having been declared to be in bankruptcy,

were not rehabilitated;

III. Persons who do not have an unimpeachably good

reputation.

ARTICLE 32. Whenever it is possible, the choice of a

trustee shall fall on an institution or merchant which resides

in the place where jurisdiction over the bankruptcy lies.

This circumstance shall allow a change, if the judge

deems it necessary, in the order of preference established in

Article 28.

When the choice of trustee falls on the commercial

entities or merchants referred to in Section III of Article 28,

preference shall be given to those which are dedicated to the

same activities as the bankrupt, or those which are the most

similar.

ARTICLE 33. In each trial court there shall be lists of

institutions and persons who may be designated as trustees.

These lists shall be made in the manner and under the

conditions listed as follows:

Sila

Appendix

I. The National Banking Commission shall insure that

every two years a list of the credit institutions which have

the necessary attributes to carry out the duties of trustee,

along with information about the branches and

establishments which they have in the nation, is made, printed

and delivered to all trial courts in the nation.

Any exclusions from this list shall be communicated

immediately to the corresponding courts;

II. The National Ministry of the Economy shall proceed

in the same manner to establish a list of the Chambers of

Commerce and Industry;

III. The civil trial judges and district judges shall

request, every two years, from the Chambers of Commerce

and Industry whose addresses are located within their

jurisdiction, a list of the mercantile companies and merchants

who are their members.

Said Chambers of Commerce and Industry shall be

undeniably obligated to supply said lists in the maximum

period of fifteen days, as well as to communicate twice a

year the additions and deletions to such list.

When there are several judges of equal position in the

same jurisdictional area, the request shall be made by the

least number, who shall be obligated to send copies of the

lists obtained to the others.

ARTICLE 34. For the reasons set forth in the judgment

of declaration of bankruptcy, judges may name as trustees

52a

Appendix

institutions or persons who are not included in the above-

mentioned lists.

Interested parties may appeal this decision and the

Superior Court shall decide if the reasons indicated by the

judge are justified.

ARTICLE 35. For the choice of trustee, the judges shall

designate one of the institutions included in the list of credit

institutions.

If none of these accept or are not suitable, he shall

designate one of the Chambers of Commerce and Industry

on the list.

If none of these is possible, he shall name, according to

alphabetical order, one of the commercial companies or

individuals in the respective list, taking into account what is

set forth in the last paragraph of Article 32.

ARTICLE 36. An individual merchant or company shall

not be named for a new trusteeship if it already has served

as trustee, unless none of those who can serve in the

corresponding category accept.

ARTICLE 37. In order to increase the brevity of the

procedure for naming the trustee, the judge can designate

separately and simultaneously as the trustee of a bankruptcy

several institutions or persons, indicating to all of them that

they are proposed trustees and the alphabetical order of

preference in which their acceptances shall be considered,

according to that set forth in the following articles.

53a

Appendix

ARTICLE 38. Within the twenty-four hour period

following the communication of his appointment, the trustee

designated shall inform the judge whether he shall accept

the duties.

ARTICLE 39. Acceptance is voluntary, but once made

it may not be relinquished except by a declaration of grave

supervening reasons, which shall be freely appraised by the

judge.

The only recourse against the decision of the judge is

responsibility.

ARTICLE 40. The denial of acceptance of the initial

designation obligates the judge to name a new trustee.

If circumstances justifying the denial are alleged and

the designate requests judgment on them, the judge shall

consider them and if he does not admit them he can confirm the

designate in his duties. All this must be done within two days.

ARTICLE 41. If, once the duties of trusteeship are

accepted, the appointed trustee fails to discharge his duties,

he shall be responsible for all damages caused by such failure

to the bankruptcy, and he shall incur a fine of fifty to five

hundred pesos.

ARTICLE 42. Within the twenty-four hours following

the communication of resignation, or of the existence of a

legal reason of incompatibility or incapacity, the judge shall

pass judgment on the alleged reasons and, where appropriate,

shall name a new trustee.

54a

Appendix

. ARTICLE 43. The judge shall order that the trustee,

within the fifteen days following his appointment, furnish a

substantial bond, in the judgment and under the responsibility

of the judge.

Credit institutions shall be regulated in these matters by

that set forth in their special laws. The expenses and

premiums paid for the creation and maintenance of the bond

shall be charged to the estate of the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 44. The trustee shall be deemed an assistant

in the administration of justice.

ARTICLE 45. The trustee may not delegate his duties;

but for the purpose of carrying out the functions corresponding

to him in the order for the administration and liquidation of

the bankruptcy, without the consent of the court, he may use

agents and representatives, whose designation the judge may

acknowledge. The judge, by official act or upon the request

of the trustee, may order that such agents and representatives

carry out the demands for their compliance with the necessary

actions or operations.

ARTICLE 46. The rights and duties necessary for the

good preservation and ordinary administration of the assets

of the estate shall belong to the trustee, and among them are

the following:

I. Taking possession of the business and other assets of

the bankrupt;

II. Making an inventory of the business and other assets

of the bankrupt;

‘

. " ROT EY TILT TS EE BTR BE = Migtaa freAGs DMT Pf te fTh siNlos ape TRIKE PAAR Or ere ys cea ma

“se sg ai cet a a ec begat eat hy MPR ARR NAVE SCR RARER BO MIRCEA ARN MS SUMO CII RENT NORE MOAN a Been :

55a

Appendix

III. Making the balance sheet, if the bankrupt has not

presented it, and if he has, correcting it if necessary or looking

it over carefully;

IV. Receiving and examining the books, papers and

documents of the business and noting in the first pages of

each that he has reviewed them;

V. Depositing within seventy-two hours the money

collected in the company or from the sale of other seized

assets for credit, which the judge has indicated.

When the law does not set a period for compliance with

the obligations imposed upon the trustee, the judge shall set

a period within which they should be carried out.

Any delay in compliance with this, besides obligating

the trustee to pay the interest the estate should have received,

shall be cause for removal.

VI. Delivering to the judge, before the meeting of

creditors referred to in Section VI of Article 15 is held, a

detailed report, based upon the memory of the bankrupt if

he is present, about the causes of the bankruptcy, particular

circumstances about the functioning of the business, the state

of the books, the period to which the bankruptcy dates back,

personal and family expenses of the bankrupt, as well as

other information which he deems relevant;

VII. Establishing a provisional list of privileged creditors,

as well as of ordinary creditors who were presented;

56a

Appendix

VIII. Making the proposals of personnel necessary in

the interest of the bankruptcy;

IX. Taking care of the accounting of the bankruptcy,

with the requirements established in the Commercial Code.

ARTICLE 47. The trustee, if he is an attorney, may be

the legal employer in the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 48. The following also pertain to the trustee:

I. Presenting to the creditor’s meeting proposals for

agreement, after receiving judicial approval;

Il. Exercising and following all the rights and actions

which pertain to the debtor, with regard to his assets, and to

the group of creditors against the debtor, against third parties

and against certain creditors of theirs;

III. Proposing to the judge the continuation of the

business of the bankrupt, its sale, or the sale of some of its

parts, or of other assets of the bankruptcy, under the

circumstances and with the effects which the law determines.

as well as all other extraordinary measures advised for the

good of the estate of the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 49. Against any act or omission of the trustee,

the bankrupt, the intervenors, any creditor and the agent of

the Public Ministry may make a claim before the judge, who

shall resolve it within three days. Against this decision, there

is an appeal, without execution of the decision being

suspended.

57a

Appendix

ARTICLE 50. The trustee, every three months, shall

deliver accountings of his actions and a report on the state

of the bankruptcy. The report and accounting shall be shown

to the bankrupt and the intervenors for three days, and, ina

hearing held within the three following days, the judge shall

issue a decision, approving or disapproving the accountings.

Whenever the judge so decides, either by official act or

upon the petition of the intervenors, the bankrupt or the

trustee, an accounting shall be rendered and a report on the

state of the bankruptcy shall be presented within a period of

three days from the day on which the judge so decided.

The decision made which called for the accountings is

appealable without execution thereof being suspended.

The books and documents of the bankrupt shall always

remain with the business if it has continued with its activities.

ARTICLE 51. The intervenors have the duty to

communicate to the creditors the information relative to the

accountings and state of the bankruptcy, so that they may

use their rights relative to the decisions adopted.

ARTICLE 52. The appointment of the trustee may be

opposed by the bankrupt or by any creditor within the three

days following its publication.

The opposition, which shall be based upon legal

reasoning, shall be carried out as a trial.

58a

Appendix

ARTICLE 53. The trustee shall be removed immediately

if he fails to deliver the extraordinary or trimestria!

accounting, or to guarantee his conduct according to the terms

of the law.

He shall be removed on the request of a party, after a

trial, for improperly carrying out his duties or for doing one

of the improper actions referred to in this law.

In these same circumstances, the judge may remove him

by official act.

ARTICLE 54. The opposition to the appointment of the

trustee made by the bankrupt or by the creditors shall not

suspend the continuation of the bankruptcy, nor shall it

impede the trustee in the exercise of his functions.

The judge may, nevertheless, order the contrary, taking

into account that set forth in Section III of Article 26.

ARTICLE 55. The trustee who ceases to carry out his

duties shall not be free from responsibilities, nor shall he

have the right to receive his fees until a substitute has taken

possession and, upon receiving and reviewing his report, the

judge so decides.

ARTICLE 56. The trustee shall be responsible to the

estate for the damages caused in carrying out his functions

by not proceeding as a diligent merchant in the manner of a

proper business.

59a

Appendix

ARTICLE 57. The trustee shall receive as his sole fees:

I. Eight percent of the amount of the sales made for the

good preservation and ordinary administration of the assets

of the bankruptcy;

II. When the sales are made to liquidate the assets of

the estate:

a) Eight percent of the product of the sale of the same,

if this does not exceed twenty-five thousand pesos;

b) Four percent of the excess up to two hundred

thousand pesos;

c) Two percent of any excess amount;

III. When the business continues with its activities until

the liquidation of its existing activities, the fees shall accrue

according to the scale of the previous clause with an increase

of two percent;

iV. If the enterprise continues temporarily and then

proceeds to liquidation in the aforementioned ways, that set

forth in the previous clauses shall be taken into account;

V. If the business is sold as a whole, the percentage

shall be the same as that established in Section II on the

amount of the same, increased by two percent,

VI. If the bankruptcy concludes by agreement, the rules

set forth in the previous sections shall apply; but if the assets

60a

Appendix

return to the administration of the bankrupt, they shall be

considered sold only for purposes of this article.

Chapter III

The Intervenors

ARTICLE 58. In order to represent the interests of the

creditors in the vigilance of the actions of the trustee and of

the administration of the bankruptcy, one, three or five

intervenors shall be appointed, in the judgment of the judge,

according to the amount and importance of the bankruptcy,

who shall form the intervention in the same.

The necessary substitutes may also be named.

ARTICLE 59. The judge, in the judgment which declares

the bankruptcy, shall provisionally name the intervenors

until, in the creditors’ meeting, the final appointments are

made.

Only in cases where the judge does not know who the

creditors of the bankrupt are may he designate as intervenors

persons who do not fulfill the above-mentioned condition.

In this case, they shall proceed to the immediate

substitution of the provisional intervenor or intervenors who

are not creditors as soon as they have the necessary

information.

ARTICLE 60. The appointment of intervenors shall be

made by the meeting of the creditors in nominal voting.

6la

Appendix

If it is necessary to elect three intervenors, two shall be

elected by the votes which represent the majority of claims

present. The third intervenor shall be named by the creditors

present who do not form the majority.

The same shall be done if there are to be five intervenors,

but then the minority shall name two of them.

For these purposes, each creditor present shall be able

to vote only for two or three intervenors, according to whether

three or five intervenors are to be named.

In the same meeting in which the intervenors are

designated and in the same manner in which that is done,

substitutes may be named.

ARTICLE 61. Either by official act or upon the request

of any creditor or provisional intervenor, the judge may

convene a meeting of the creditors for the purpose of naming

the permanent intervenors.

ARTICLE 62. The intervenors shall carry out their

duties during the entire time in which the bankruptcy

continues, but they may be removed by the judge in the same

cases and circumstances as the trustee.

The meeting of creditors may remove all or some of the

intervenors, as long as they designate substitutes, if there

are none already.

The removal of the intervenors designated by the

minority, if it is not consented to by two-thirds of the

minority, signifies the removal of all intervenors.

62a

Appendix

In order for the creditors’ meeting to validly agree on

the removal, it is necessary that the majority of the creditors

representing the majority of the debt attend the meeting.

ARTICLE 63. The judge shall notify their designation

to the creditors elected as intervenors, who were not present

at the meeting in which they were named, through personal

notification and shall call a meeting of all of them which

shall be held within six days from the date on which they

were notified, in order to advise them of the necessary

measures to be taken in order to function as intervenors and

to Guly carry out the tasks with which they are confronted.

ARTICLE 64. All agreements of the intervenors shall

be made by an absolute majority of the votes of all the

intervenors.

ARTICLE 65. The creditors designated as intervenors

and their substitutes shall accept or reject their duties within

seventy-two hours of their notification of being named as

intervenors.

Acceptance of the duties of intervenor is voluntary, but

once accepted, it may not be abandoned, except for grave

cause, in the discretion of the judge, who shall pass judgment

on the reasons immediately and from which judgment there

shall be no other recourse than responsibility.

ARTICLE 66. If there are no substitutes, vacancies in

the intervenors’ positions shall be covered by the creditors

designated by the judge within twenty-four working hours

following the opening of a vacancy, unless the creditors use

their rights according to Article 60.

63a

Appendix

ARTICLE 67. The intervenors have all measures

available to them which are relevant in the interest of the

bankruptcy and of the rights of the creditors, among which

are the following:

I. Appealing the decisions of the judge and opposing

those of the trustee which they consider prejudicial to the

interests of the creditors or the rights granted to them by law;

II. Requesting the removal of the trustee and exercising

actions of responsibility against the judge;

III. Requesting the judge to order the appearance before

them of the bankrupt or the trustee so that they can inform

them about the activities of the bankruptcy. The iudge shall

do whatever is necessary to comply with their request, except

for just cause, of which he shal! inform them;

IV. Designating one or more intervenors to attend all

activities of the administration of the bankruptcy or of the

liquidation of those which are specifically set out,

V. Informing the judge of all acts of extraordinary

administration which he should authorize, and of all other

acts of administration which they deem necessary or which

the judge or trustee request;

VI. Requesting the judge to convene an extraordinary

meeting of the creditors;

VII. Informing, every two months, in writing, the other

creditors of the progress and state of the bankruptcy, and

64a

Appendix

when appropriate, of the decisions of the trustee or judge

which may affect their collective or individual interests;

VIII. Performing other duties which the law expressly

designates to them or which it gives, in general, to the

creditors.

ARTICLE 68. The intervenors shall designate one of

their members to meet with the judge or trustee and who

shall represent them in civil proceedings.

ARTICLE 69. The intervenors, in order to accurately

comply with their duties, shall have, together and

individually, the most ample freedom to examine the books,

correspondence and other papers of the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 70. The intervenors shall have the right to a

fee, which shall be set by the judge, and which shall not be

given to them until the conclusion of the bankruptcy.

The decision of the judge shall be appealable.

ARTICLE 71. The intervenors shall be responsible to

the creditors under the same terms as those set for the

responsibility of the trustee to the estate.

ARTICLE 72. Ifthe intervenors group cannot be set up

even provisionally, because there is an insufficient number

of creditors, because they will not accept the duties designated

to them, because of their residence outside the jurisdiction

of the bankruptcy or because of other similar reasons, the

judge shall issue a decision expressing the reasons which

prevent the existence or functioning of the intervenors.

65a

Appendix

If at any later time it becomes possible to designate

intervenors or the continuation of their functions, the judge

shall do so by official act or at the request of any creditor,

the trustee or the bankrupt.

Chapter IV

The Creditors’ Meetings

ARTICLE 73. A meeting of the creditors shall be held

ordinarily in the cases provided for by the law and in the

special cases which are necessary.

ARTICLE 74. The meeting of creditors shall be

convened by the judge. The meeting shall be reported, by

personal notification, to the intervenors, the bankrupt and

the trustee.

The other creditors shall have legal notification through

the publication of the meeting according to this law.

ARTICLE 75. Any resolution which deals with matters

not included in the agenda shall be null, unless all those who

should have been notified are present and agree.

ARTICLE 76. Notices of meeting of creditors shall be

published in the same manner as that established for the

judgment of the declaration of bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 77. The creditors shall attend the meeting

themselves or by proxy, which may be done by a document

which is not a public document or by a telegram sent to the

judge, not subject to ratification.

66a

Appendix

In the latter case, the manager of the issuing office shall

certify the identity of the person who made the representation.

The proxy shall be stamped before the judge in the hearings.

The bankrupt may also be represented by proxy, unless

the judge has ordered his personal appearance.

Those who represent several creditors shall have as many

votes and as much voting power as the people they represent

would have had if they had attended the meeting.

The judge shall provide all necessary elements for the

proper functioning and order of the meetings of creditors.

ARTICLE 78. The meeting shall be convened no matter

how many creditors attend or how many claims are

represented.

ARTICLE 79. Each creditor shall have a vote, and,

except in cases where the law requires special majorities or

majorities of capital, the meeting may adopt agreements by

a simple majority of the creditors present.

Upon voting, each creditor shall recor .ne amount

which, for these purposes, has been recognized for him.

The assignees of divided claims shall only have between

them the vote which corresponds to the assignor, unless they

prove with authentic documents that the assignment and

division were done before the date to which the declaration

of bankruptcy is retroactive.

67a

Appendix

ARTICLE 80 Creditors whose demands for recognition

of their claims have been declared admissible by the trustee

and the intervenors may attend the meetings of creditors.

In the case of discrepancy, the judge must resolve it and

shall show the claim that is recognized to the creditor for his

participation in the meetings.

The judge may proceed in the same manner when he

deems it necessary without considering the reports of the

trustee and intervenors.

ARTICLE 81. If, on the day established for the meeting,

all items on the agenda cannot be handled, the meeting shall

be continued on the following working day.

The judge, before ending the session, shall indicate the

hour on which the meeting shall be continued.

~

ARTICLE 82. The judge, as chairman of the meeting,

shall provide for the drawing up of the minutes of the

meetings which shall be signed by the secretary, the trustee

and the intervenors.

_ ies,

68a

Appendix

TITLE Ill

The Effects of the Declaration of Bankruptcy

Chapter I

Effects on the Bankrupt

FIRST SECTION

Limitations on the Capacity and Exercise

of Personal Rights

ARTICLE 83. By the judgment declaring the bankruptcy,

the bankrupt is deprived of the right to the administration

and disposition of his assets and those assets he acquires,

until the bankruptcy is finalized.

ARTICLE 84. Although the judgment declaring

bankruptcy docs not limit the civil rights of the bankrupt,

except in the cases established by law, the bankrupt cannot

carry out any activities which require full possession of such

rights.

ARTICLE 85. The judge shall have the judgment

declaring bankruptcy communicated to the post office,

telegraph and other analogous offices. By virtue of this

notification, the directors of those offices shall assure that

the correspondence and communications directed to the

bankrupt are delivered to the trustee.

The trustee shall open such, in the presence of the

bankrupt or his agent, if he attends, returning to him

69a

Appendix

immediately all such correspondence and communications

which have no relation to the interests of the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 86. The divulgence of the information so

acquired shall be cause for removal of the trustee, carried

out by a trial, without waiving the penalties which are

appropriate.

ARTICLE 87. The judgment declaring bankruptcy

produces all the civil and penal effects of bail for the

bankrupt, who cannot leave the place of the bankruptcy

without the judge authorizing it and without leaving an agent

sufficiently empowered to represent him.

The judge shall have to consult with the intervenors in

the case where he is considering granting permission to the

bankrupt to leave the jurisdiction.

Whenever it is required by the judge, the bankrupt shall

appear before him, the trustee, the intervenors or the

creditors’ meeting, except where, due to a legitimate conflict,

the judge authorizes him to appear through an agent or

attorney in fact.

ARTICLE 88. The general partners shall be subject to

the requirements established by this law for a bankrupt.

ARTICLE 89. In bankruptcies of corporations, these

shall be represented by those set forth in their bylaws and,

if they are not, by their administrators, managers or

liquidators, who shall be subject to all obligations imposed

by this law on a bankrupt.

70a

Appendix

In the absence of the above, the corporation shall be

represented by an agent of the Public Ministry.

ARTICLE 90. In the case where the merchant dies after

the declaration of bankruptcy or when his estate has declared

bankruptcy, the executors and the heirs shall have, in the

course and proceedings of the bankruptcy, the obligations

which correspond to the bankrupt, with the exception of when

they are bonded.

SECOND SECTION

The Penal Responsibility of the Bankrupt

ARTICLE 91. For legal purposes, there are three classes

of bankruptcy:

1. Accidental bankruptcies;

2. Culpable bankruptcies;

3. Fraudulent bankruptcies.

ARTICLE 92. An accidental bankruptcy is understood

to be where a merchant suffers misfortune, arising

accidentally in the regular and prudent activities of the good

administration of his business, which reduces the capital of

the business ic the extreme of having to cease making its

payments.

ARTICLE 93. A culpable bankruptcy shall be considered

to be where a merchant, by actions contrary to the requirements

Tia

Appendix

for good administration of his business, has caused,

augmented or worsened the state of cessation of payments,

such as:

I. Where domestic and personal expenses have been

excessive and disproportionate to the economic possibilities

of the business;

Il. Where there are disproportionate sums lost due to

gambling, bets and similar operations in stock or other

exchanges;

III]. Where there are losses as a result of purchases, sales

or other operations to delay the bankruptcy;

IV. Where, within the period to which the bankruptcy

is retroactive, there were sales with losses, for less than the

market price, of items bought on credit and on which money

was still owed;

V. Where the expenses of the business are much greater

than the accounts receivable, according to its capital, its

activity and other analogous circumstances.

ARTICLE 94. A culpable bankruptcy shall also be

considered to be, except in cases where they allege and prove

their innocence, where a merchant:

I. Has not maintained his accounting records for his

business according to the requirements of the code, or if he

has, there has been an error which has caused damages to a

third party;

72a

Appendix

II. Does not file his declaration of bankruptcy in the

three days following that established as the day of cessation

of payments;

Ill. Fails to present the documents required by this law

in the manner, circumstances and periods set forth.

ARTICLE 95. Those declared to be in bankruptcy who

are determined to be culpable shall be punished by one to

four years in prison.

ARTICLE 96. A fraudulent bankruptcy shall be considered

to be where a merchant:

I. Absconds with all or part of the assets, or fraudulently

commits, before the declaration but after the date to which

the bankruptcy is retroactive, acts or operations which

increase his liabilities or decrease his assets;

II. Does not keep accounting books, or alters, falsifies

or destroys them in order to make it impossible to

comprehend the true situation of the business;

III. Favors, after the date to which the bankruptcy is

retroactive, one creditor by making payments or granting

him guarantees or preferences to which he had no right.

ARTICLE 97. The bankruptcy of brokers shall be

deemed fraudulent when it is proven that they committed

some act or operation different from those of their profession

for their own account, either in their own name or that of

another, even when the reason for the bankruptcy is not a

result of these actions.

73a

Appendix

If the bankruptcy comes about due to the broker’s having

made a guarantee of the operations in which he was involved,

a fraudulent bankruptcy is presumed, except on proof to the

contrary.

ARTICLE 98. The bankruptcy of a merchant whose real

situation cannot be understood from his books, shall be

presumed fraudulent, except on proof to the contrary.

ARTICLE 99. Merchants declared to be in fraudulent

bankruptcy shall be punished by five to ten years in prison

and a fine, which may be as high as ten percent of the

liabilities.

The amount of these fines shall be paid from the assets

which remain after paying creditors or from those which the

bankrupt has or acquires after the conclusion of the

bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 100. An agreement reached in a suspension

of payments or a bankruptcy shall not prevent the

corresponding penalties from being applied according to the

judgment issued in the penal proceeding which would have

followed.

But, if the judgment declared the bankruptcy culpable,

execution shall be suspended against the debtor who entered

the agreement, unless he is later judicially declared to be in

noncompliance with his agreement.

ARTICLE 101. When the bankruptcy of a corporation

is classified as culpable, the responsibility shall fall on the

74a

Appendix

directors, administrators or liquidators of the same who are

responsible for the acts which so classify the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 102. Guardians who perform the business for

minors or incompetents, in the cases set forth in civil

legislation, or the agents who substitute for them in the case

of their incapacity or incompatibility in the performance of

the business, shall be subject to the rules set forth in the

preceding articles for culpable or fraudulent bankruptcies.

ARTICLE 103. Those who aid or cooperate in any way,

by previous or later agreement, or who directly cause

someone to commit the crimes typified in this section, shall

be punished by the penalties set forth in Articles 95 and 99

hereinabove.

ARTICLE 104. Persons included in the cases set forth

in the previous article, without removing the penalties which

correspond to them, shall also be condemned:

1. To losing any right which they may have to the estate

of the bankruptcy;

II. To returning to the estate the assets, rights or actions,

the loss of which was determined to be their responsibility,

along with interest and damages.

ARTICLE 105. The spouse, consanguine ascendants or

relatives of the bankrupt, who, without his consent have

removed or hidden assets belonging to the bankruptcy, shall

not be deemed to be accomplices to the fraudulent

bankruptcy, but shall be considered guilty of robbery.

75a

Appendix

ARTICLE 106. Merchants and others acknowledged to

be guilty of either culpable or fraudulent bankruptcy may

also be condemned:

I. To not doing business during the time of the principal

punishment,

Il. To not performing any duties of administration or

representation of any kind for mercantile companies during

the same time.

ARTICLE 107. The person who by himself or through

another seeks the recognition of a false claim in the

bankruptcy or suspension of payments shall be considered

the perpetrator of the crime referred to in Article 389 of the

Penal Code.

ARTICLE 108. Trustees of bankruptcies shall be subjected

to the rules issued in Titles X and XI of the indicated

Penal Code.

ARTICLE 109. The previous provisions are applicable

to trustees in suspensions of payments, and to the people

referred to in Articles 29 and 45 of this law.

ARTICLE 110. The creditor who agrees, with the

bankrupt or another, for his own interests, to benefits in

exchange for voting in a certain way in any creditors’

meeting, shall be punished by imprisonment from three

months to three years and by a fine of five hundred to five

thousand pesos and by the loss of his claim for the benefit of

the estate.

76a

Appendix

The same penalties of prison and fine shall be imposed

on the bankrupt or the person who represented him.

ARTICLE 111. Action shall not be taken against the

crimes defined in this section without the competent judge

having declared the bankruptcy or suspension of payments.

ARTICLE 112. A culpable or fraudulent bankruptcy

shall be pursued upon the accusation of the Public Ministry.

ARTICLE 113. The classification of the bankruptcy

shall be made in the corresponding criminal trial, for which

the judge who makes the declaration of bankruptcy shall

notify such declaration to the Federal Public Ministry.

ARTICLE 114. In cases of culpable or fraudulent

bankruptcy, the responsible party may be detained, but the

civil judge may require the presence of the bankrupt before

him or before the organs of the bankruptcy, whenever be

deems it necessary.

Chapter Il

Effects on the Assets of the Bankrupt

ARTICLE 115. The bankrupt shall maintain the

disposition and administration of the following assets:

I. Rights which are strictly personal, such as those

related to his civil or political status, although they indirectly

have an effect on the estate;

77a

Appendix

II. Assets which legally constitute the estate of the

family;

III. The rights to assets of another which are not

transferable by their nature or for whose transfer the consent

of the owner is necessary;

IV. Earnings the bankrupt obtains after the declaration

of bankruptcy through personal activities;

The judge may limit the exclusion, taking into account

the necessities of the bankrupt and his family;

V. Food assistance, within the limits set by the judge,

in accord with that indicated in the previous clause.

VI. Those which are legally not attachable, with the

exceptions required by the universal character of the

proceedings of bankruptcy and with the limitations deemed

necessary by the judge.

ARTICLE 116. All acts of control or administration

done by the bankrupt regarding assets included within the

estate from the moment in which the judgment declaring

bankruptcy is issued are void as against creditors.

The declaration of nullity shall not proceed when the

estate gains from the prices obtained by the bankrupt.

ARTICLE 117. The judge, after seeing the report of the

trustee and of the intervenors, shall decide on the extension,

duration and quantity of the food assistance for the bankrupt

78a

Appendix

and his family. This decision may be appealed by

any interested party.

ARTICLE 118. The date to which the effects of the

bankruptcy should be retroactive, set out in the judgment,

may be modified by official act, according to the

circumstances of the records in the case and the

considerations of justice resulting from those records, or on

the petition of the trustee, the intervenors or any creditor,

whenever, respectively, the judgment is issued or the

demands are made before the day set forth for the recognition

of claims.

ARTICLE 119. The same notice given about the

judgment of the declaration shall be given about those which

modify the date of retroactivity.

ARTICLE 120. The provisionai decisions of the judge

regarding the date of retroactivity shall not be appealable.

ARTICLE 121. Within the twelve days following the

recognition of claims, the judge shall permanently fix the

date of retroactivity.

Chapter III

Effects Regarding the Judicial Proceeding

ARTICLE 122. The actions taken and suits pursued by

the bankrupt and those taken and pursued against him, which

have anything to do with the estate, shall be continued by

the trustee or with him, with the intervention of the bankrupt,

in the cases in which the law or the judge so disposes.

79a

Appendix

ARTICLE 123. All suits exclusively dealing with goods

or rights whose administration and disposition are maintained

by the bankrupt are excepted from the above.

ARTICLE 124. The bankrupt may also intervene in

other suits, if they affect goods or rights included in the

previous article.

ARTICLE 125. The bankrupt may intervene in all cases

as a third party assisting the bankruptcy.

ARTICLE 126. All pending suits against the bankrupt

shall be tried jointly with the bankruptcy proceedings, except

the following and without interference with that set forth in

Article 122 and the powers given to the trustee to sell all

assets:

I. Those in which the judgment has already been

declared in the trial court;

II. Those dealing with secured claims or collateral.

ARTICLE 127. In both cases, when there is a writ of

execution, they will be joined with the bankruptcy for

purposes of classification and payment.

80a

Appendix

Chapter IV

Effects On Pre-existing Legal Relationships

FIRST SECTION

Obligations in General

ARTICLE 128. From the moment of the declaration of

bankruptcy:

I. For purposes of the bankruptcy all current obligations

of the bankrupt shall mature.

If payment of debts which do not draw interest is made

before the time set, a discount shall be made for interest at

the legal rate for the time remaining from the moment of

payment to that on which the claim should have matured;

II. The debts of the bankrupt shall cease accruing interest

against the estate.

Secured claims are excepted up to the amount of the

respective guarantee;

III. The claims of bondholders of corporations shall be

calculated by the value of the issuance, with deduction made

for any amount paid as redemption or refund;

IV. The debts of the bankrupt may not be legally offset,

even by an agreement of the parties.

8la

Appendix

The following are excepted:

a) The debts of the estate which are related to the claims

of the bankrupt.

The offset shall not proceed when the claim against the

estate or against the bankrupt was acquired by assignment,

gift or other analogous way, after the date on which the

effects of the bankruptcy arose;

b) The debts produced by a contract which is a current

account;

c) Special partners, stockholders of corporations and

partners in joint ventures which at the same time are creditors

of the bankruptcy, of the corporation or of the joint venture,

do not form part of the liabilities of the estate, except for the

resulting difference owed to them after considering the

amounts they were required to contribute as partners or

stockholders.

V. Claims which are suspended shall be demandable

against the bankruptcy.

The amounts which should be received from these claims

shall be deposited in the credit institution designated by the

judge, until, once the condition has passed, they are paid to

the creditors.

If, before the condition has been met, the bankruptcy is

concluded, the amounts should be paid to the debtor, if a

full payment is made, or they shall be distributed among the

other creditors.

82a

Appendix

ARTICLE 129. Claims subject to defeasance are

considered unconditional.

ARTICLE 130. The creditor of a life annuity shall have

the right to be given a life annuity in an insurance company

which is equal or proportional, according to the reduction

suffered in capital which was necessary at the moment of

the declaration of bankruptcy to make the dividend.

ARTICLE 131. The guarantor or the bankrupt may not

be obligated to make any payment until the obligation

matures under the conditions agreed on and he shall preserve

all the rights against the bankruptcy that civil legislation

grants to him.

ARTICLE 132. In order to exercise the rights

corresponding to obligations or the bankrupt which are not

pecuniary or which have an undetermined or uncertain value,

it is necessary to value them in terms of money.

ARTICLE 133. The amount of the claims for periodic

loans or continuous loans shall be determined through the

amount of the established payments, and to each one of those

paymenrits that so set forth, discounts for early payments shall

apply.

ARTICLE 134. Ifthe special partners, the stockholders

or the limited partners have not delivered at the time of the

declaration of bankruptcy the total amounts that they were

obligated to contribute to the company, the trustee shall have

the right to demand the installment payments which are

necessary within the respective limit of responsibility.

83a

Appendix

SECOND SECTION

Individual Liability

ARTICLE 135. If several or some or the debtors of an

obligation owed jointly are declared in bankruptcy, the

creditor has the right to receive from each estate the amount

which corresponds to his claim until the debt is paid in full.

If the total amount of the payments received by the

creditor from several debtors who are liable jointly for the

debt exceeds the amount of the claim, the difference shall

be returned to each estate in proportion to the amount which

had been paid. If the bankrupt parties made guarantees to

pay in a certain order, the amount in excess shall be paid to

the last of the guarantors and the others who had overpaid,

successively, before him, until the total is repaid.

ARTICLE 136. The bankruptcy or bankruptcies of

individual debtors who are jointly liable to a common creditor

have the right to require from the others the payment of their

corresponding portion of the debt.

ARTICLE 137. Partial payment of an obligation before

a declaration of bankruptcy limits the amount of the claim

against the estate.

The debtor who paid may register in the bankruptcy of

his co-debtor the amount of the payment made, but the

portion that corresponds to him shall be delivered to the

creditor, if he requests it, if the whole payment had not been

made, up to the amount necessary to pay it.

84a

Appendix

ARTICLE 138. The amount which corresponds in the

bankruptcy to a co-debtor or guarantor of the bankrupt shall

remain a credit in favor of the creditor until the acceptance

of his claim if said amount was secured by assets of the

bankruptcy in guarantee of such claim.

THIRD SECTION

Pending Bilateral Contracts

ARTICLE 139. Bilateral contracts which are pending

execution either totally or partially may be carried out by

the trustee, upon authorization of the judge and a hearing

with the intervenors. |

Ls

Anyone having contracted with the bankrupt may

demand that the trustee declare whether he is going to affirm

or rescind the contract even before the terms of the contract

require compliance.

The contracting party not in bankruptcy may delay

execution of the contract until the trustee complies or

guarantees compliance with the contract.

ARTICLE 140. Ifthe business of the bankrupt is continued,

all contracts related thereto must be complied with.

ARTICLE 141. Contracts of deposit, to open credit,

commissions, and the like are rescinded by the bankruptcy

of one of the parties, unless the trustee, upon authorization

by the judge and a hearing with the intervenors, assumes the

obligation, in agreement with the other contracting party.

85a

Appendix

That set forth in the Commercial Code regarding powers

conferred to agents is not hereby disturbed.

ARTICLE 142. A declaration of bankruptcy suspends

the activities of the active accounts, which shall be liquidated

in order to exact or cover their balance in the manner and

way which so corresponds.

ARTICLE 143. The bankruptcy shall not affect

contracts made regarding assets or affecting those whose

administration and disposition is maintained by the bankrupt,

anc, in general, contracts which are strictly personal and do

not affect the assets of the estate.

ARTICLE 144. If the bankruptcy had purchased

personai or real property from a party who had not yet

delivered it, the seller cannot be required to deliver it unless

the price therefor is paid or guaranteed to be paid to the

satisfaction of the seller.

If the delivery had been made only due to a promise of

sale, the seller may recover the item, as well as when the

contract of sale was not written as a public document, when

this is a legal requirement.

ARTICLE 145. If the seller of real property declares

bankruptcy, the buyer has the right to demand the delivery

thereof, after paying the price therefor, if the sale was

perfected.

ARTICLE 146. The seller of personal property, which

has not been paid for and which is en route for delivery to

86a

Appendix

the buyer in his storehouse or in the place agreed upon, may,

if the buyer declares bankruptcy:

I. Change the payment according to legally allowed

terms;

II. Detain the goods, although he does not have the

necessary documents to change the payment. The opposition

to delivery shall be substantiated in a hearing between the

seller, buyer and the trustee.

ARTICLE 147. If, according to that set forth in this law,

they decide to perform the contract, and the price has been

set to be paid in installments, the seller may require a deposit.

The trustee may pay the price all at one time, obtaining

a discount for immediate payment, expressed or implied in

the contract, and lacking that, according to the market.

Lacking both, the discount may be that set forth for early

payment.

ARTICLE 148. When sales involve deliveries and some

deliveries have already been made without being paid for,

the trustee shall be obligated to pay for them, which shall be

a requirement in order for the compliance set forth in Articles

147 and 162.

ARTICLE 149. In spite of the bankruptcy of the seller

of personal property, the buyer may demand compliance with

the contract if the property had been specified before the

declaration of bankruptcy.

87a

Appendix

ARTICLE 150. In contracts for borrowing securities,

the bankruptcy of the party borrowing the securities

authorizes the trustee, at the maturity of the contract, to

deliver the securities and demand the price. If this is not

done, the party lending the securities may register in the

estate the amount of the securities prior to the payment of

the price agreed upon.

If the bankrupt is the party lending the securities, the

trustee could pay the price and receive the securities. If that

is not done, the party borrowing the securities could deliver

the securities and register in the bankruptcy the price which

corresponds.

ARTICLE 151. The trustee shall comply with contracts

for futures which mature after the declaration of bankruptcy,

through the recognition of or demand for the claim which

results according to the terms of the same.

The difference shall be liquidated according to the value

of the things or securities on the day of the agreed maturation.

ARTICLE 152. The bankruptcy of a partner of a general

partnership, of a limited liability company or of a limited

partnership or joint stock company, gives the right to the

trustee to request his contribution and the corresponding

profits therefrom, according to the last balance sheet of the

entity, or to continue with the entity, if the judge so

authorizes, after a hearing with the intervenors, as long as

the other partners or shareholders do not prefer to exercise

the right of partial dissolution of the entity, unless the

partnership agreement or incorporation papers provide for

a different solution.

sili =

es, OO pa

88a

Appendix

ARTICLE 153. The bankruptcy of the lessor does not

rescind the lease, except upon agreement to the contrary, for

real property.

The bankruptcy of the lessee authorizes the trustee to

rescind the contract, after paying a fair indemnification in

the appropriate case, which shall be set by the judge if the

parties cannot reach an agreement therefor, after a hearing

with the trustee, the intevenors and the lessor.

ARTICLE 154. Contracts for the rendition of services

and for labor, of a strictly personal type, which are to the

benefit of the bankrupt or which he is charged with

performing, are not rescinded.

Those that are necessary for the continuation of the

business or for the administration or liquidation of the

bankruptcy may be continued by the trustee.

ARTICLE 155. A contract for work at a fixed price shall

be rescinded by the bankruptcy of one of the parties, unless

the trustee, with the consent of the other contracting party

and after judicial authorization, agrees to comply with the

contract.

ARTICLE 156. The bankruptcy of the insured does

not rescind the insurance contract if the object insured is

real property, but if it is personal property, the insurer may

rescind it.

If the trustee of the bankruptcy docs not notify the insurer

of the declaration of bankruptcy within thirty days thereafter,

the insurance contract shall be rescinded from that date.

89a

Appendix

In life insurance or mixed insurance, the trustee of the

bankruptcy of the insured may give up the insurance policy

or obtain a reduction in the amount of insurance in proportion

to the premiums already paid according to the calculations

considered by the insurer in making the contract and taking

into account the risks incurred by the insurer. At the same

time, they can make any other arrangement which would be

of economic benefit to the estate.

That set forth in the last paragraph is applicable to

contracts for investments.

ARTICLE 157. The bankruptcy of the insurance

company rescinds the insurance contract, if in the maximum

time of one month from the declaration, the trustee, with the

authorization of the judge and after a hearing with the

intervenors, does not insure the insured risks with another

company or does not guarantee that the business will continue

functioning.

FOURTH SECTION

Removal from the Bankruptcy

ARTICLE 158. Goods, securities or any kinds of assets

which are part of the estate of the bankrupt and which are

identifiable, whose ownership was not transferred to the

bankrupt by a definite and irrevocable legal title, may be

removed by their legal owners, by the exercise of the

corresponding action before the judge of the bankruptcy.

If there is no opposition to the request for removal, the

judge may grant, with no further proceedings, the removal

90a

Appendix

requested. If there is opposition, the dispute shall be resolved

through trial proceedings.

The decisions issued by the judge, whether cr not through

litigation, shall be appealable, without execution of the

decisions being suspended, by any interested party.

The trustee shall exercise the rights and shall comply

with the obligations which the bankrupt has over these assets.

ARTICLE 159. As a result, assets which are found in

the following situations or others of an analogous nature,

may be removed from the estate:

I. Those which may be claimed according to law;

II. Real property sold to the bankrupt but not paid for

by him, when the sale was not duly registered;

III. Personal property bought for cash if the bankrupt

has not paid the total price at the time of the declaration of

bankruptcy;

IV. Real or personal property purchased on credit if they

had agreed upon rescission based on non-compliance and if

there is documentation of that in the corresponding public

registers;

V. Securities issued or endorsed to the bankrupt as

payment for sales made for the account of another, as long

as there is proof that the obligations arise from them and the

item is not recorded as a current account between the

bankrupt and his constituent;

9la

Appendix

VI. Assets which the bankrupt should return because

they are under his control for one of the following reasons:

a) Deposit, administration, lease, rental, usufruct, irust

or consignment based upon appraisal contracts, if in this case

the bankruptcy was declared before the manifestation by the

buyer that he is going to take back these items, or if the

period set forth for doing so has not passed;

b) Commission for purchase, sa

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.

Opposition Brief — Ecoban Finance Ltd. v. Grupo Acerero del Norte, S. A. de C. V. · 534 U.S. 814 | Frix