Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Kismet Investors, Inc. v. County of Benton
Supreme Court brief2002
Ask Donna
What actually matters in this document.
Text
US e
Court,
001305 Fep 13 200
No. 01
OFFICE OF
THE CLERK
IN THE
SUPREME COURT OF THE UNITED STATES
Kismet Investors, Inc., a
Minnesota corporation,
Petitioner,
VS.
County of Benton,
Respondent.
ON
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
TO THE SUPREME COURT OF MINNESOTA
PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI
RANDALL TIGUE LAW OFFICE, P.A.
Randall D.B. Tigue, Esq.
Atty ID No. 110000
2940 Pillsbury Avenue South
Suite No. 9
Minneapolis, MN 55408
612/825-0936
Attomey for Petitioners
ESTI PRESE D
1. Is a governmental agency’s judgment
concerning adverse secondary effects caused by sexually
oriented businesses, when based upon data that is unreliable and
outdated, forever immune from constitutional scrutiny,
regardless of whatever contrary substantive evidence may arise?
rs Did the court properly grant summary judgment
on the issue of whether the remedy chosen to regulate adverse
secondary effects was itself narrowly tailored so as to prevent
such adverse secondary effects, in light of unrefuted evidence
that the remedy, if implemented, not only would not ameliorate
secondary effects but would exacerbate them?
3. Can an ordinance regulating sexually explicit
entertainment comply with the requirement that it make
available alternative avenues of communication when the
undisputed evidence indicates that all locations were available
only at the discretion of the County Planning Commission?
arr
TABLE OF CONTENTS
Corporate disclosure statement
Opinions below
WEE wn eee eee 2
Constitutional and statutory provisions involved ........ 2
Statement of the case.............. ee ae ee
Reason for granting the wnt ..................00.. 1]
I. A substantial constitutional question exists as to
whether the Minnesota courts erred in granting summary
judgment to the county on the issue of whether its zoning
ordinance was “narrowly tailored” to those uses found to cause
adverse secondary effects, in light of substantial and largely
uncontradicted evidence that no such effects were caused by
Potisiomer’e wee... cs os 4 eee 1]
A. Petitioner’s use is presumptively entitled to
protection of the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the
United States Comming . onc penn cacnctaseees ll
B. Given the substantial evidentiary showing that
Petitioner’s use caused no adverse secondary effects, the
decision to grant summary judgment to uphold the
validity of this ordinance is in clear violation of applicable
decisions of this Court and of at least one other United States
ROMO 5 oo occ cass ccccecccee......., 12
Il. A substantial question exists as to whether the
Ordinance, if implemented, would have the effect of
ameliorating adverse secondary effects........... 24
Ill. The ordinance would have the effect of suppressing or
greatly limiting access to constitutionally protected speech in
violation of the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the United
StatesConstitution .......... sis 26
Conclusion ...........__.. 09-8, SP ee en eee . 28
lil
TABLE OF AUTHORITIES
CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS:
U.S. Constitution Amendment] ................ passim
U.S. Constitution Amendment 14 ............... passim
STATUTES:
Title 28 U.S.C. Sec. 1257(a) ................ access 2 |
pg tk oD err ee rrere rrr rer rare 2 )
BENTON COUNTY ORDINANCES:
Benton County Ord. Sec. 4.2.1 ..................... 4 |
ambom Commty Cid... B06. 7.00.2. cc ec acees 4 |
; .Benton County Ord Sec. 7.10.3 .................... 4 |
man Cor Ge.. BOG. GF og ccc csenaeanes’s 9
CASES:
Alameda Books, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles, 222 i
owl. te 21, 23
Barnes v. Glen Theater, Inc., 501 U.S. 560 (1991) .. 11, 12 |
Bukaka, Inc. v. County of Benton, 852 F. Supp. 807
Se ee Sk cow aa ea cddan ve OEE eka ces Glee 2
iv
California v. LaRue , 409 U.S. 109(1972) ...... 1]
City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 US. , 120
S.Ct. 1382(2000) 0... 12, 17, 24
City of Lakewood v.Plain Dealer Publishing Co., 486
ae TOO 6s onc oo 28
City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters, Inc., 475 US.
ia cia MITEL eT Te ns, 12, 13
Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922 i np 1]
Forsyth County,Ga vy. Nationalist Movement, 505
Oe CRO ia ee, 28
Janra Enterprises, Inc. v. City of Reno, 818 F. Supp. 136]
ettaadiaae ET 14
Kismet Investors, Inc. v. County of Benton,
617 N.W. 2d 85 (Minn. ee 1]
Lady J Lingerie v. City of Jacksonville, 176 F. 3d 1358
RO, TON os cesge 28
Mga Susu, Inc. vy. C ounty of Benton, 853 F. Supp.
1147 (D. Minn. dap bl sy ees a 3
New Jersey Citizen Action vy. Edison Township, 797 F.
2d 1250 (3rd Cir. aan, SOT POC ae PEP Aart S 16
Pennsylvania Alliance Jor Jobs & Energy y.
Council of the Borough of Munhall, (PAJE),
TSS F. BB WB GBC. FED oc kccsctccsecicssess: 16
Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley, 409 U.S.
ot Pr nmr er ry et 12
Pringle v. City of Covina, 1S Cal. App. 3d 151, 171
Col. Sime, SIGE Use scene 14
Regen v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641 (1984) ............ 12
Schad v. Borough of Mt.Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61 (1981) .. 11
Sebago, Inc. v. City of Alameda, 2\\ Cal. App. 3d 1372,
259 Cal. Rptr. 918 (1989), rev. denied, (Cal. 1989) .......... 14
Texas v. Johnson, 491 U.S. 397 (1989) .............. 12
Tollis, Inc. v. San Bernardino County, 827 F. 2d
ESED GG. GOON iv caine nsascsasseveeueere 14, 21, 22
Town of Islip v. Cavigilia, 73 N.Y. 544, 540 N_E.
26 SIS CISD oc vccectescinscssane eee 25
University Books and Videos, Inc. v. Metropolitan
Dade County, 33 F. Supp. 2d 1364 (S.D. Fla. 1999) .... 28
University Books and Videos, Inc. v. Metropolitan
Dade County, __ F. Supp. 2d_(S.D.Fla January 25,
United States v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S.
FR eee aa 16
World Wide Video v. City of Tukwila, 17 Wash. 2d 382,
816 P. 2d 18 (1991), cert. denied, U.S.__., li2 S.Ct. 1672,
eG I nines ccccecbavascecnupaukecwdss 14
XLP Corp, v. County of Lake, _NE.2d____, 2000
W.F. 33156447 (Ill. App. 2d Dist. 2000). ................ 28
Young v. American Mini Theaters, 427 U.S. 50 .. 12, 13, 26
l
CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT
Petitioner in the above-entitled matter is Kismet
Investors, Inc. , a Minnesota corporation. There is no parent or
publicly held company owning more than 10% of the
corporation’s stock.
All parties to the proceeding are listed in the caption.
OPINIONS BELOW
Kismet Investors, Inc., respectfully petitions for a writ
of certiorari to review the decision of the Supreme Court of
_ Minnesota, issued November 15, 2000, Appendix at A.1,
denying Petitioner’s petition for a review of the decision of the
Minnesota Court of Appeals, issued September 12, 2000.
The order of the Minnesota Supreme Court is
unpublished. The decision of the Minnesota Court of Appeals,
which the Minnesota Supreme Court refused to review, is
reported at 617 N.W. 2d 85 (Minn. App. 2000). The opinion
is set forth in the A.appendix at A.2-A.24. The Minnesota
Court of Appeals’ opinion affirmed two decisions of the State
District Court, Seventh Judicial District, the first, entered July
7, 1999, granting partial summary judgment to Respondent, and
the second, entered December 22, 1999, dismissing Petitioner’s
complaint after a trial. Both District Court opinions are
re ~
«sg,
ee ee
2
unpublished and are set forth in the appendix at A.25-A.75.
JURISDICTION
The Minnesota Supreme Court issued its order on
November 15, 2000, denying a timely petition for further
review of a decision of the Minnesota Court of Appeals.
Jurisdiction of this Court is invoked pursuant to Title 28 U.S.C.
Sec. 1257(a).
CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY PROVISIONS
INVOLVED
Constitution of the United States, Amendment 1.
The First Amendment to the United States provides, in
pertinent part: “Congress shall make no law...abridging the
freedom of speech or of the press...”
Constitution of the United States, Amendment 14.
The Fourteenth Amendment to the Constitution of the
United States provides, in pertinent part: “...nor shall any State
deprive any person life, liberty, or property without due process
of law...”
Title 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983.
Title 42 U.S.C. Sec. 1983 provides, in pertinent part:
“Every person who, under color of state laws...subjects or
causes to be subjected, any citizen to the deprivation of any
3
rights, privileges or immunities secured by the Constitution and
law, shall be liable to the party injured in an action at law.”
Because of its voluminous nature, the Benton County
Adult Use Ordinance is set forth in the appendix at A.87-A.96.
STATEMENT OF THE CASE
Since January 2, 1997, Petitioner Kismet Investors, Inc., a
Minnescta corporation, has operated a business known at “King’s on
the Lake” in unincorporated Benton County.' The business features
live non-obscene nude dance entertainment.
The business itself has operated since September of 1993.
When King’s first opened for business, Respondent Benton County
sought its closure pursuant to the conditional use permit requirement
in its Development Code, only to be enjoined, both temporarily and
permanently by the United States District Court by the District of
Minnesota. See Bukaka, Inc. v. County of Benton, 852 F. Supp. 807
(D. Minn. 1993), and Mga Susu, Inc. v. County of Benton, 853 F.
Supp. 1147 (D. Minn. 1994).
The following year, the county enacted Ordinance No.
242, a copy of which is set forth in the appendix at A.87-A.96,
zoning so-called “adult uses.” Section 7.10.2 of the ordinance
required adult uses to be located in the areas zoned B, B-2, I-1
1See complaint, paragraphs 3 and 4, Appendix A.3-A.4.
— =
4
and I-2 provided they are not located within 500 feet of
residentially zoned property, a school, church, day care facility,
hotel or motel, or public park. Appendix at A.94-A.95.
| Petitioner’s use was in an area zoned B, in which adult
uses were permitted, but was located within 500 feet of
residentially zoned property. Id at A.32.
Ordinarily, uses which were legal at the time the zoning
code was enacted or amended are permitted to remain
permanently as non-conforming uses.2 However, under Sec.
7.10.3 of Ordinance No. 242, all non-conforming adult uses
were required to cease operation as of July 31, 1998.’
“After the decisions of the United States District Court
rendering the King’s Inn a lawful use in Benton County, and
prior to the enactment of the restrictive zoning ordinances,
Petitioner’s predecessor in title made substantial improvements
to the premises on which King’s Inn was located, essentially
rendering the premises useless for any purposes other than an
adult entertainment establishment. These improvements include a
custom-built roof, which eliminated the ventilation system necessary
2See Benton County Zoning Ordinance 4.2.1, Appendix at
A.97-A.99..
3See Id. at A.95.
a
5
to allow the building to continue its previous use as a restaurant; a
custom-built stage costing at least $63,000, situated immediately
below the custom-built roof, useful for no other purpose other than
adult entertainment; within the roof, a dome conatining custom-made
lighting, speakers, and sound system, focused directly on the stage,
costing in excess of $80,000; a security and monitoring system
focused on the stage and surrounding audience area, costing in the
neighborhood of $43,000; a D.J. booth and wiring system into the
sounds amplification system in the roof area, costing in excess of
$50,000 (Appendix at A.263-A.279).
In reliance upon the extreme hardship which compliance
with the amortization provision ordinance would entail,
Petitioner on July 22, 1998, filed with the Benton County Board
of Adjustments an application for a variance from the 500-foot
setback requirement from residentially zoned property. In
support of the variance application, Petitioner presented not
only the uncontradicted evidence of the extreme hardship that |
enforcement of the amortization provision would cause for the |
subject property, but also the uncontradicted report of Planning ;
Consultant R. Bruce McLaughlin, indicating that in its five years
of operation, the King’s Inn had caused virtually none of the
adverse secondary effects which this Court has held to
constitutionally justify zoning restrictions on adult
6
entertainment.* For example, the McLaughlin report pointed
out that in its five years of existence, property values around
King’s Inn increased at double the rate of unincorporated
Benton County as a whole, and more than four times as fast as
a comparable control use, Pirate’s Cove, located on the same
highway, not featuring adult entertainment (Appendix at A.232-
A.242) With respect to crime in the surrounding area, the
McLaughlin report pointed out that in its years of existence,
King’s on the basis of area and seating capacity, generated
fewer police calls than Rumor’s Bar, an alcohol establishment
nearby, and absolutely fewer police calls than a local gas station
and convenience store. The report indicated absolutely no sex
offenses or drug crimes at King’s. Id. at A.225-A.231.°
Despite the overwhelming evidence in support of the petition,
the Benton County Board of Adjustments denied the variance
application of October 15, 1998. See appendix at A.84-A.86.
On October 23, 1998, Petitioner commenced the present
action in Benton County District Court, seeking judicial review
4See for example, Young v. American Mini-Theaters, 427
U.S. 50 (1976), and City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters,
Inc., 475 U.S. 41 (1986).
5McLaughlin’s statistical analysis of secondary effects of
King’s: is uncontradicted on this record.
7
of the variance denial, and challenging the constitutional
validity, under the First and Fourteenth Amendments to the
United States Constitution, of Ordinance No. 242.°
Contemporaneously with the summons and complaint,
Petitioner filed a motion seeking temporary injunctive relief.
In support of the motion for temporary injunction,
Petitioner tendered the affidavit of Richard Wilson, Appendix
at A.120-A.127, stating, inter alia, that virtually all of the studies
that found in particular that nude dance establishments caused adverse
secondary effects date back to the 1970's or early 1980's. He points
out that during this period of time the nude dance club industry was
vastly different than it is now. He points out that during this period
of time, nude dance establishments consisted basically of rather sleazy
topless bars, poorly maintained and poorly operated, at which most
people would not wish to be seen. He points out that over the past 15
years, the industry had dramatically changed and that the sleazy strip
bar is gradually going out of existence, to be replaced by what he calls
an upscale adult cabaret. He points out that such establishments
generally emphasize hospitality and safety of customers. They are
6The complaint is set forth in the Appendix A100-A119. Since the
denial of the variance is exclusively a matter of state law, Petitioner does
not seek review of the validity of the denial of the variance. Rather,
review is limited to the constitutionality, under the First and Fourteenth
Amendments, of Ordinance No. 242, both facially and as applied.
:
:
}
‘
q
8
characterized by expensive buildings, with substantial investments in
high technology equipment such as lighting, sound, and security. .
The Wilson affidavit points out that far from causing property values
to decline and crime to increase, the upscale adult cabaret generally
enhances property values in the surrounding community and
contributes to public safety. He points out that the “adverse
secondary effects” such as a decline in property value and an increase
in crime are as abhorrent to an upscale adult cabaret operated as they
would be to any other business, because they would scare away the
very clientele the upscale cabaret is seeking.
The Wilson affidavit further points out that, based upon on
personal observation and upon the nature of the equipment and
improvements made to the King’s Inn, King’s is far more like the
upscale adult cabaret then it is a sleazy strip bar (Id. at A.488).
On July 7, 1999, the District Court, by Judge Hoolihan,
issued findings of fact, conclusions of law, and an order
granting partial summary judgment,’ upholding the
constitutional validity of ordinance No. 242, insofar as the
factual predicate for its enactment was concerned. The order
set for trial the issue of whether the ordinance allowed for
adequate alternative avenues of communication.
7A copy of the order is set forth in the Appendix at A.48-
A7S..
9
A file on those issues was held before Judge Hoolihan,
sitting without a jury, on November 12, 1999. At that trial, Ron
Peterson, director of the Benton County Department of
Development, testified that given the area in which adult uses
are permitted, and given the setback requirements from
residential areas, churches, schools, daycare centers and parks,
some 101 sites were available within unincorporated Benton
County for adult entertainment uses (T.22). However, on cross-
examination, Peterson conceded that anytime a land owner would
convert from one land use to another, Peterson’s office would want
to review that use for compliance with zoning laws, especially if a
commercial use, such as a restaurant, were to convert to an adult
entertainment use (T.51). On cross-examination, Peterson conceded
that at least part of the review that would be triggered was compliance
with the county’s off-street parking requirements.* The off-street
parking requirements, set forth in the Development Code, introduced
as Exhibit 2 at trial provides, in Sec. 9.2.1, Subparagraph C,
“Required off-street parking spaces shall be provided as determined
by the County Planning Commission.” T.45.
Consequently, Peterson conceded that, to the extent that the
Planning Commission has the absolute authority to set off-street
8On two separate occasions, Peterson admitted that unless
the proposed use complied with off-street parking
requirements, the use would not be permitted. See T.44.
10
parking spaces in its discretion, and prevent the establishment of any
use which does not meet those requirements, all 101 locations are
available to adult businesses, only in the discretion of the Planning
Commission. (T.47).
On this basis, Appellant’s expert, Florida planner Robert
Bruce McLaughlin , disqualified all available sites, testifying as
follows:
“There is absolutely nothing anywhere in the code
that prohibits the Planning Commission from saying
if you’ve got a 100 acre site, you need 100 acres and
350 square feet for parking. If you’ve got 200 acres,
you need 200 acres plus 350 square feet for parking.
If you’ve got 640 acres, you need 640 acres plus 350
feet of parking. There is nothing in the code
anywhere to prevent them from doing that.” T.98.
In its opinion, the District Court held that the Benton County
ordinance provided adequate sites for location of adult businesses,
notwithstanding the fact that all of those sites were available only at
the County Planning Commission’s discretion. Appellant’s Appendix
at A.33-A.35.
On September 12, 2000, the District Court’s decision
was affirmed by the Minnesota Court of Appeals, (Appendix at
A.2-A.24, Kismet Investors, Inc. v. County of Benton, 617
N.W. 2d 85 (Minn. App. 2000).
11
On November 15, 2000, the Minnesota Supreme Court
denied Petitioner’s petition for further review.
REASON FOR GRANTING THE WRIT
L A SUBSTANTIAL CONSTITUTIONAL
QUESTION EXISTS AS TO WHETHER THE
MINNESOTA COURTS ERRED IN GRANTING
SUMMARY JUDGMENT TO THE COUNTY ON THE
ISSUE OF WHETHER ITS ZONING ORDINANCE WAS
“NARROWLY TAILORED” TO THOSE USES FOUND
TO CAUSE ADVERSE SECONDARY EFFECTS, IN
LIGHT OF SUBSTANTIAL AND LARGELY
UNCONTRADICTED EVIDENCE THAT NO SUCH
EFFECTS WERE CAUSED BY PETITIONER’S USE.
A. PETITIONER’S USE IS PRESUMPTIVELY
ENTITLED TO PROTECTION OF THE FIRST AND
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED .
STATES CONSTITUTION.
This Court has clearly and repeatedly held nude dancing
to be an activity presumptively entitled to protection under the
Free Speech Clause of the First Amendment to the United
States Constitution. See for example, California v. LaRue, 409
U.S. 109 (1972); Doran v. Salem Inn, Inc., 422 U.S. 922
(1975); and Schad v. Borough of Mt.Ephraim, 452 U.S. 61
(1981). In Barnes . Glen Theater, Inc., 501 U.S. 560 (1991),
8 of the 9 Justices of this Court reaffirmed the entitlement of
ee ee ee
12 -
nude dancing to First Amendment protection as did a majority
of this Court in the more recent decision of City of Erie v.
Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S.___, 120 S.Ct. 1382 (2000).
B. GIVEN THE SUBSTANTIAL
EVIDENTIARY SHOWING THAT PETITIONER’S USE
CAUSED NO ADVERSE SECONDARY EFFECTS, THE
DECISION TO GRANT SUMMARY JUDGMENT TO
UPHOLD THE VALIDITY OF THIS ORDINANCE IS IN
CLEAR VIOLATION OF APPLICABLE DECISIONS OF
THIS COURT AND OF COURTS OF APPEALS AND AT
LEAST ONE OTHER UNITED STATES COURT OF
APPEALS.
When this Court in Young v. American Mini Theaters,
427 U.S. 50 and City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters, Inc., 475
U.S. 41 (1986), upheld the constitutional validity of separate
zoning treatments for adults only theaters, based upon the
contents of the film shown, it departed from its long-standing
tradition of permitting content-based discrimination of speech
only in the most limited of circumstances. Compare, for
example, Police Department of Chicago v. Mosley, 409 U.S. 92
(1972); Regen v. Time, Inc., 468 U.S. 641 (1984); and Texas v.
Johnson, 491 U.S. 397 (1989). The basis for this Court’s
departure from its long standing prohibition against content-
based discrimination was the theory that the ordinances were
justified, not by objection of the content of protected speech,
13
but by the adverse secondary effects caused by such speech,
such as a decline in the value of surrounding property, and an
increase in the crime in the surrounding neighborhoods.”
As a result of the “secondary effects rationale of Young
and Renton, a necessary corollary has arisen: Regulation of adult
entertainment, in order to be constitutionally valid, must be “narrowly
tailored” to those uses shown to have caused secondary effects. In
Young, Justice Powell, whose concurring opinion provided the fifth
vote necessary to uphold the validity of the Detroit ordinance in
question, stated, “The case would present a different situation had
Detroit brought within the ordinance types of theaters that had not
been shown to contribute to the deterioration of surrounding
neighborhoods.” 427 U,S. at 82 (Powell, J. concurring). Likewise,
in Renton, the ordinance was upheld only because it was “‘narrowly
tailored’ to affect only that category of theaters shown to produce the
unwanted secondary effects...” 475 U.S. at 52.
Relying upon these two comments, numerous courts have
invalidated zoning restrictions on adult entertainment, even nominally
patterned after Young and Renton, when a particular type of adult use
has not been shown to cause adverse secondary effects. See, for
example, Pringle v. City of Covina, 11S Cal. App. 3d 151, 171 Cal.
Rptr. 251 (1981); Tollis, Inc. v. San Bernardino County, 827 F. 2d
9See for example, the plurality opinion of Justice Stevens in
Young, 427 U.S. at 71, n. 34.
14
1329 (9th Cir. 1987); World Wide Video v. City of Tukwila, 117 Wash.
2d 382, 816 P. 2d 18 (1991), cert. denied, _ U.S.__, I2 S.Ct. 1672,
18 L.Ed. 2d 391 (1992); Janra Enterprises, Inc. v. City of Reno, 818
F. Supp. 1361 (D. Nev. 1993); and Sebago, Inc. v. City of Alameda, 21
Cal. App. 3d 1372, 259 Cal. Rptr. 918 (1989), rev. denied, (Cal. 1989).
Judged by these standards, at minimum, a factual dispute
existed as to whether the county’s ordinance in question was
narrowly tailored to those uses found to cause adverse
secondary effects. As already noted, supra, the affidavit of
Richard Wilson indicated that all of the studies from the 1970s
and 1980s, which were the studies relied upon by the County of
Benton in enacting the ordinance,"® were premised on a type of
facility which, by and large, no longer exist, the old sleazy type
of “strip bar,” characterized by poor maintenance, lack of
concern for customer safety, lack of cleanliness, poor lighting
and upkeep, and generally a “low life” type of clientele. By
contrast, the upscale cabaret, in which catagory Wilson places
the King’s Inn, a clear, well maintained, with an emphasis on
’ hospitality and security. No evidence exists that such
establishments had ever caused adverse secondary effects.
This opinion evidence was reinforced by the emperical data in
10Reliance upon these studies is set forth on the face of the
ordinance. See Appendix at A.87.
15
the McLaughlin Plan Review, indicating that, in fact, during its
four years of of existences, King’s has caused no adverse
secondary effects. -
In holding that no genuine issue of material fact existed
as to whether the Benton County ordinance was sufficiently
tailored to pass First Amendment consideration, the Minnesota
Court of Appeals said it was “necessarily” limited to “the
information available to the county when it passed the
ordinance,” and the it would not “second guess the scientific
accuracy of a legislative determination of fact.” Appendix at.
A.18-A.19, 617 N.W. at 94. The court further found that
because the county relied upon studies of adult uses addressing
similar businesses, it may regulate adult businesses as a class,
without regard to whether a particular genre of adult businesses
causes adverse secondary effects. Id.
Thus, the position of the Minnesota Court of Appeals
appears to be that if a government agency, in enacting a
nominally content-based restriction on speech, relies upon some
evidence, no matter how outdated and unreliable that evidence
may be, that secondary effects are caused by some type of adult
entertainment, that judgment is forever immunized from
constitutiona! scrutiny.
This position is plainly at odds with decades worth of
16
decisions of this Court and other courts of appeals.
See for example, this Court’s decision in United States
v. Carolene Products Co., 304 U.S. 144, 153 (1938), in which
this Court stated:
"Where the existence of a rational basis for
legislation whose constitutionality is attacked
depends upon facts beyond the sphere of judicial
notice...the constitutionality of a statute predicated
upon the existence of a particular state of facts may
be challenged by showing to the court that those
facts have ceased to exist." 304 US. at 153, 58
S.Ct. at 784.”
The Third Circuit clearly applied this principle in a First
Amendment context in New Jersey Citizen Action v. Edison
Township, 797 F. 2d 1250 (3rd Cir. 1986), in which it
invalidated a municipal ordinance proscribing door-to-door,
political canvassing and solicitation after 5:00 p.m., only two
years after a panel of the same court had upheld the validity of
identical restrictions in Pennsylvania Alliance for Jobs &
Energy v.Council of the Borough of Munhall, (PAJE), 743 F.
2d 182 (3rd Cir. 1984). The reason for the rapid reversal of its
decision was the fact that in PAJE, the municipal government
had justified the restrictions on the need to prevent residential
burglaries, while in New Jersey Citizen Action, the Piaintiffs
empirically demonstrated that the restrictions were unnecessary
17
to accomplish such an end.
Applying the same principle, it is clear that if Petitioners
can demonstrate that the “secondary effects” rationale of studies
20 and 30 years old is no longer applicable, a restriction
premised on those studies cannot pass constitutional muster
under Renton.
The fact that the county’s decision, based upon outdated
and unreliable information, is not immune from constitutional
scrutiny was reaffirmed by this Court’s decision in City of Erie
v. Pap’s A.M., supra, 529U.S.__, 120 S.Ct. 1382 (2000). In
that case, a four-Justice plurality, written by Justice O’Connor,
upheld the validity of the city’s public nudity ordinance, on a
secondary effects rationale, but only because the rationale was
not contested by the adult entertainment establishment which
challenged the validity of the prohibition. Justice O’Connor
wrote, in part IV of her opinion:
“Here, Kandyland has had ample opportunity to
contest the Council’s findings about secondary
effects - before the Council itself, throughout the
state proceedings, and before this Court. Yet to this
day, Kandyland has never challenged the City
Council’s findings or cast any specific doubt on the
validity of those findings. Instead, it has simply
asserted that the Council’s evidentiary proof was
lacking. In the absence of any reason to doubt it, the
City’s expert judgment should be credited (emphasis
eat aialaleaaaedlia!
18
supplied).” 120 S. Ct. at 1396."
Justice O’Connor proceeded to reject Justice Souter’s
concurring opinion, which would have demanded a much stronger
evidentiary basis for the Council’s conclusion with respect to adverse
secondary effects, stating the following:
“Justice Souter next hypothesizes that the reason we
cannot accept Erie’s conclusion is that, since the
question whether these secondary effects occur is
‘amenable to empirical treatment,’ we should ignore
Erie’s actual experience and instead require such an
empirical analysis. [Citation omitted.] In Nixon [v.
Shrink Missouri Government PAC, 528 U.S. __,
120 S. Ct. 897 (January 24, 2000)], however, we
flatly rejected that idea. [Citation omitted.] (Noting
that the ‘invocation of academic studies said to
indicate’ that the threatened harms are not real is
insufficient to cast doubt on the experience of the
local government).” Id. at 1397.
The reference to the Nixon case was to in the Court’s decision
upholding the validity of the Missouri legislature’s limitation on the
amount of contributions to candidates for state office. At issue was
whether a sufficient evidentiary basis existed to support the purported
need for such a restriction, based upon the justifications of prevention
11The so-called “expert judgment” consisted of the City
Council members’ “first-hand knowledge of what took place
at and around nude dancing establishments in Erie,” enabling
such members to make “particularized expert judgments
about the resulting harmful secondary effects.” Id. at 1397.
19
of corruption and government and public perception of corruption in
government. The Court then proceeded to outline the evidentiary
record made in the trial court to support the conclusion that both
interests would be furthered by the legislation in question. The Court,
by Justice Souter then concluded as follows: '
“There might, of course, be need for a more
extensive evidentiary documentation if Petitioner’s
an ing on their own
the apparent implication of Buckley’ s and the record
here (emphasis supplied), but the closest
Respondents come to challenging these conclusions
is their invocation of academic studies said to
indicate that large contributions to public officials or
candidates do not actual result in changes in the
candidates’ position. Brief for Respondent’s Shrink
Missouri Government PAC, et al 41; Smith, Money
Talks; Speech, Corruption, Equality and Campaign
Finance, 86 Geo. L.J. 45, 58 (1997); Smith, Faulty
Assumptions and Undemocratic Consequences of
Campaign Finance Reform, 105 Yale L. J. 1049,
1067-1068 (1995). Other studies, however, point
the other way. Reply Brief for Respondent Bray 4-
5; F. Sorauf, Inside Campaign Finance 169 (1992);
Hall & Wayman, Buying Time: Moneyed Interests
and the Mobilization of Bias in Congressional
Committees, 84 a.m. Pol. Sci. Rev. 797 (1990); D.
Magleby & C. Nelson, The Money Chase 78 (1990).
Given the conflict among these publications, and the
absence of any reason to think that public perception
has been influenced by the studies cited by |
Respondents, there is little reason to doubt that
sometimes large contributions will work actual
corruption of our political system, and no reason to
question the existence of corresponding suspicion
20
among voters.” Id. 120 S. Ct. at 908..
Thus, it is clear from both the O’Connor concurrence in
Pap’s and the majority opinion in Nixon, written by Justice Souter,
that this Court has adopted the following standards with respect to
evidentiary burdens to justify restrictions on First Amendments rights:
1. Automatic deference to governmental conclusions
occurs only when those conclusions are not challenged by the
proponents of First Amendment rights.
y Where such a challenge occurs, and the evidence is
contradictory, or does not necessarily dispute the government’s
conclusion deference will occur in those cases as well.
3. Where there is a conflict between the city’s own
experience and academic studies, the city’s own experience prevails.
4. Apart from the foregoing situations, objective truth
plainly does make a difference.
Judged by these standards, the inadequacy of the error of
granting summary judgment to Respondent is obvious. Clearly, the
county’s conclusions as to secondary effects were in fact challenged
directly at all stages of the proceeding. Moreover, to the extent the
county’s own “experience” was at issue, it directly contradicted the
studies upon which it relied. The county’s own experience was that,
far from causing property values to decline, the presence of
Petitioner’s establishments has resulted in property values sharply
increasing. Far from causing a particular problem for law
21
enforcement services, Petitioner’s establishment causes relatively
fewer law enforcement problems than do comparable establishments
no featuring adult entertainment. Thus, to the extent this Court now
mandates deference to a municipality's own experience” over
academic studies, at minimum, a genuine issue of material fact has
been created.
Finally, the standard adopted by the Minnesota Court of
Appeals plainly contradicts the rationale of a virtually
contemporaneous decision from the United States Court of
Appeals for the Ninth Circuit in Alameda Books, Inc. v. City of
Los Angeles, 222 F. 3d 719 (9th Cir. 2000), in which that court
invalidated a municipal ordinance prohibiting multiple adult uses
within a single buiiding, finding that the study relied upon by the
city did not support the ordinance in question. Referring to its
earlier decision in Tollis v. San Bernardino County, 827 F. 2d
1329 (9th Cir. 1987), the Ninth Circuit in Alameda Books stated
the following:
“[W ]e held that under Renton, the county ‘must
show that in enacting the partial limitations. ..it
relied upon evidence permitting a reasonable
inference that, absent of such limitations, the
adult theaters would have harmful secondary
effects.’ [Citation omitted.] We then found that
the county had presented no evidence that a
single showing of an adult film would have any
of the harmful secondary effects on the
22
community that the county identified as the basis
for the regulation. [Citation omitted. ]
Like the county in Tollis, Los Angeles has
presented no evidence that a combination adult
bookstore/arcade produces any of the harmful
effects identified ia the Study... Therefore, it is
unreasonable for the City to infer that absent its
regulations, a bookstore/arcade combination
would have harmful secondary effects.”Id. at
725.
By this standard, the impropriety of summary judgment
on behalf of the county in the instant case is obvious. Given the
substantial and uncontradicted evidence that uses of the genre
of adult business engaged in by Petitioner cause no adverse
secondary effects, when coupled with a total absence of
evidence of adverse secondary effects plainly indicate it is
unreasonable for the county to believe that absent its present
regulations harmful secondary effects would occur.'2_ Indeed,
12In this regard, it should be noted that the factual posture of
the instant case is far different from the factual posture in
Renton. In Renton, the city was enacting adult zoning
regulations, prior to any adult business opening within the
city. See 475 U.S. at 52-53. It is therefore eminently
reasonable, in evaluating the factual predicate for such an
ordinance, to look merely at the legislative record before the
enacting body, at the time of enactment. By contrast, what is
at issue in the instant case is not the enactment of a new
23
it should be noted that the Minnesota Court of Appeals itself
implicitly acknowledged that the ordinance would not have
passed constitutional muster under the standard adopted by the
Ninth Circuit in Alameda Books. The Minnesota Court of
Appeals stated:
“Kismet asserts that a recent Ninth Circuit
opinion requires a more exacting analysis to
determine whether a local government
reasonably relied on an adult-use study. See
Alameda Books, Inc. v. City of Los Angeles,
222 F. 3d 719, 724 (9th Cir. 2000)...we
conclude, however, that Mitchell
v.[Commission on Adult Entertainment
Establishments, 10 F. 3d 123 (3rd Cir. 1993),
and JLO [Investments v. City of Rochester, 25
F.3d 1413 (8th Cir. 1994)] demonstrate a better
application of Renton’s holding that a local
government may rely on studies from other
localities if the studies are ‘reasonably relevant
to the problem that the [locality] addresses.’
[Citation omitted. ]”
617 N.W. at 94, Appendix at A.20.
Plainly, resolution of the clear conflict between the
ordinance in a jurisdiction which had no adult businesses;
rather, it is the amortization of an existing adults-only
business, which developed a four-year track record of not
causing adverse secondary effects. Compare XLP Corp. v. )
County of Lake, _N.E.2d__, 2000 W_L. 33156447 (Ill. )
App. 2d Dist. 2000).
24
Ninth Circuit on the one hand, and the Minnesota Supreme
Court, and the Third and Eighth Circuits on the other hand, is
itself a basis for granting the writ of certiorari."?
I. A SUBSTANTIAL QUESTION EXISTS AS
TO WHETHER THE ORDINANCE, IF IMPLEMENTED,
WOULD HAVE THE EFFECT OF AMELIORATING
ADVERSE SECONDARY EFFECTS.
Even assuming that the county, at the time it enacted the
ordinance in question, had before it legally sufficient evidence
to support the proposition that Petitioner’s uses cause adverse
secondary effects, there is clearly, in light of this Court’s
decision in City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M., 529 U.S._ (2000), in
order for even a content-neutral regulation of speech to be
valid, it must in fact advance the content-neutral goal of
13In this regard, it should be noted that the Ninth Circuit in
Alameda Books expressly rejected the Third Circuit’s
standard in Mitchell, stating, “merely requiring that a
legislative body show that adult establishments as a class
cause adverse secondary effects the regulation is aimed at
preventing could easily fall short of our requirement in Tollis
that a legislative body ‘must show that in enacting the
particular limitations...it relied upon evidence permitting the
reasonable inference that, absent of such limitations, the adult
[businesses] would have harmful secondary effects’ [Citation
omitted.] 222 F. 3d at 727. ,
25
eliminating adverse secondary effects.‘ In this regard,
Petitioner submitted essentially uncontradicted evidence that
where amortization of non-conforming adult uses has taken
place, it has resulted, not in amelioration of adverse secondary
effects, but in their exacerbation. The report points out that in
the case of “Ray’s Playpen” a Kansas City adult bookstore
which, as a lawful nonconforming use, was acquired as part of
an eminent domain proceeding, along with two other legal
nonconforming uses, resulted in a decline in property values and
a loss of tax revenue for the City of Kansas, Missouri
(Appendix at A.187-A.189). He pointed out that in Pinellas
County, Florida, an adult cabaret operated from 1988 to 1994,
during which time property values in the area of the cabaret
increased substantially. When closed by amortization in 1995,
property values in the area of the cabaret fell precipitously (Id.
at A.188-A.191).
Likewise, in the amortization made famous in Town of
Islip v. Cavigilia, 73 N.Y. 544, 540 N..E. 2d 215 (1989), the
following resulted:
“Eight years later in 1997, the building deteriorated
14To be sure, at least according to the plurality opinion in
Pap’s, this is a minimal burden, but a burden nonetheless.
See Id. at 1397.
a ee ee ee ee re
26
to the point where there is a clear and present danger
to persons on the property. The building is open to
the elements, it has been vandalized, there is clear
evidence of sexual activity and drug use on the
property, and the property is being used for illegal
dumping. The residential use to the north, which is
was of an alleged concern to the Town at the time of
the Study is also vacant, and several commercial
uses across the street have closed. There can be no
doubt that closure of “Gloria’s Place” has not only
dramatically and adversely affected property values
in the area, but it is also brought true blight to the
area.” Id. at A.674-A.675...
Indeed, on the record presented in the instant case,
absolutely no basis exists for suggesting the result would be any
different if Petitioner’s use were amortized. An existing
prosperous land use, resulting in no significant law enforcement
problems and a substantial increase in the value of surrounding
property would be replaced by a vacant building absolutely unusable
for the only purpose for which it was designed. How such a result
would continue the property value increase caused by existing land
use is unexplained by either Respondent or the District Court or the
Court of Appeals.’> .
15This problem cannot be waved away by simple reliance
upon the language in Young that city’s must be “free to
experiment” in order to resolve complex urban problems.
427 U.S. at 71. The problem with this language is that now,
24 years after Young, amortizing of non-conforming adult
27
fil. THE ORDINANCE WOULD HAVE THE
EFFECT OF SUPPRESSING OR GREATLY LIMITING
ACCESS TO CONSTITUTIONALLY PROTECTED
SPEECH IN VIOLATION OF THE FIRST AND
FOURTEENTH AMENDMENTS TO THE UNITED
STATES CONSTITUTION.
In Young, this Court upheld the validity of Detroit’s
adult entertainment zoning ordinance, only upon a factual
showing that implementation of the ordinance would not limit
the availability of adult entertainment to the residents of the City
of Detroit. Writing for the plurality, Justice Stevens noted that,
under the ordinance, “The market for this commodity is
essentially unrestrained.” 427 U.S. at 62. He further wrote that
the “situation would be quite different if the ordinance had the
effect of suppressing or greatly restricting access to, lawful
speech.” Id. at 71, n. 35.
The record in the instant case was essentially undisputed
uses is no longer an “experiment.” It is something
municipalities throughout the country have repeatedly
engaged in. Its track record of advancing content-neutral
goals is now plainly before the Petitioner and must be
considered in determine the constitutional validity of the
ordinance. Plainly, at least a genuine issue of material fact on
the issue was created; given the uncontradicted nature of
McLaughlin’s evidence, summary judgment, if granted at all,
should have been granted to Petitioner.
28
that, while the city asserted that over 100 sites were available
for adult entertainment, within unincorporated Benton county,
under the terms of the ordinance, these sites were available only
in the unbridled discretion of the county’s planning commission,
since, as noted, supra, a new business could not be established
in Benton County, without complying with the county’s off-
street parking requirements. The ordinance governing off-street
parking gave to the county’s Planning Commission absolute
unbridled discretion, on a business-buy-business, to set the off-
street parking requirement at any figure it wishes.
To permit the city to meet the alternative avenues of
communication requirements of Young and Renton with
locations available only at the discretion of the city plainly is
contrary to a long line of decisions of this Court holding that the
mere existence of discretion renders a regulation of speech
unconstitutional. See for example, City of Lakewood v.Plain
Dealer Publishing Co., 486 U.S. 750 (1988), and Forsyth
County,Ga v. Nationalist Movement, 505 U.S. 123 (1992).
In this regard, the Minnesota Court of Appeals decision
is directly contrary to the Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Lady J
Lingerie v. City of Jacksonville, 176 F. 3d 1358 (11th Cir.
1999), holding that the city could not comply with a Young-
Renton alternative avenues requirements with locations
29
available only at governmental discretion. In this regard, see
also University Books and Videos, Inc. v. Metropolitan Dade
County, 33 F. Supp. 2d 1364 (S.D. Fla. 1999), and the
University Books and Videos, Inc. v. Metropolitan Dade
County, __F. Supp.2d__(S.D-Fla January 25, 2001)."°
Since the Court of Appeals decision directly contradicts
decisions of both this Court and the Eleventh Circuit, certiorari
should be granted."
CONCLUSION
For all of the foregoing reasons, Petitioner’s writ of
15In its opinion, the Minnesota Court of Appeals attempts to
distinguish Lady J Lingerie by asserting that the parking
requirements “do not give county officials discretion to deny
Kismet’s ability to operate an adult use in Benton County...”
617 N.W. 2d at 95, Appendix at A.22. The assertion is
directly contrary to Benton County’s own testimony in the
record in which the Planning Director clearly admitted that
unless the off street parking requirements were complied
with, a use would not be permitted. See T. 44.
ee ee
30
certiorari should be, in all respects, granted.
Respectfully submitted,
G 0 ll P.A.
AG, bg
Randall D.B. Tigue po
Atty ID No. 110000
Attorney for Petitioners
9 Karmel Square Bidg.,
2940 Pillsbury Avenue South
Minneapolis, MN 55408
612/825-0936
Dated: 2/8/01
APPENDIX INDEX
Order of the Minnesota Supreme Court denying
NE a eae rca ee es a ire one A.l
Court of Appeals opinion........................ A.2
District Court findings of fact, conclusions of law
and order for judgment dated 12/27/99 ............ A.25
District Court order June 1999, .................. A.48
Findings of the Benton County Board of
MI exec Ua Meese, Wann G seca eee A.84
Benton County Ordinance No. 242 ............... A.87
Benton County Non-conforming use Ord. ........... 97.
Petitioner’s complaint in District Court ........... A100.
Affidavit of Richard Wilson .................... A120.
Declaration of R. Bruce McLaughlin ............. A152.
Excerpts of McLaughlin Planning Review ......... A204.
Exerpts of zoning appeal board hearing ........... A.248
A.|
STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN SUPREME COURT
C9-00-65
Kismet Investors, Inc.
s
Petitioner,
VS.
County of Benton,
Respondent.
ORDER
Based upon all the files, records and proceedings herein:
IT IS HEREBY ORDERED: that the petition of
County of Benton for further review be, and the same is, denied.
November 15, 2000
BY THE COURT:
/s/
Alan C. Page
Associate Justice
BLATZ, C.J., took no part in the consideration or decision of
this case.
A?.
STATE OF MINNESOTA
IN COURT OF APPEALS
C9-00-65
Kismet Investors, Inc.,
Appellant,
VS.
County of Benton,
Respondent.
Filed September 12, 2000
Affirmed
Lansing, Judge
Benton County District Court
File No. C0981240
Randall D.B. Tigue, Randall Tigue Law Office, P.A.,
2940 Pillsbury Avenue South, Suite 200, Minneapolis,
MN 55408 (for appellant)
Kenneth H. Bayliss III, Quinlivan & Hughes, P.A., 400
South First Street, Suite 600, St. Cloud, MN 56302 (for
respondent)
Considered and decided by Lansing, Presiding Judge,
Klaphake, Judge, and Peterson, Judge.
A>
SYLLABUS
I. Use variances, when permitted under
Minnesota statutes, must be justified by showing that a
landowner will suffer particular hardship absent the
variance. Practical difficulties alone cannot justify a use
variance.
Il. Although statutes and ordinances generally
carry a presumption of Constitutional validity, when an
ordinance allegedly infringes First Amendment rights,
States and local governments have the burden to
demonstrate that the ordinance is Constitutional.
iil. Parking requirements that do not give
county officials unfettered discretion to deny a permit or
license to operate an adult use are not unconstitutional
prior restraints.
OPINION
LANSING, Judge
Kismet Investors, Inc., appeals the district court’s
decision affirming Benton County’s denial of Kismet’s
application for a variance to allow King’s on the Lake,
an adult cabaret, to continue operating in its existing
location. Kismet also appeals from the court’s summary
judgment that the Benton County ordinance making
King’s an unlawful use does not violate the First
fr. Y
Amendment. Because we conclude that the county
reasonable denied the variance and that the ordinance
does not violate the First Amendment, we affirm.
FACTS
King’s on the Lake, also called King’s Inn, is a nude-
dancing establishment or adult cabaret located in Benton
County. Before September 1993, the building that now
houses King’s housed several restaurants. When
Bukaka, Inc., Kismet’s predecessor- in-interest, began
operating King’s as an adult cabaret in September 1993,
the county zoning and planning administrator notified
Bukaka that it would need a conditional-use permit to -
operate an adult cabaret. See Bukaka, Inc. v. County of
Benton, 852 F. Supp. 807, 809 (D. Minn. 1993). Bukaka
sought and obtained injunctive relief against Benton
County’s conditional-use requirement on the grounds
that it allowed Benton County administrators too much
discretion to satisfy First Amendment requirements.
See Id. at 813 (granting preliminary injunction); see also
Mga Susu, inc. v. County of Benton, 853 F. Supp. 1147,
1154 (D. Minn. 1994) (granting permanent injunction).
In June 1993, the Benton County Planning Commission
began considering the need for an ordinance to govern
adult-use establishments. In January 1994, the
commission recommended to the Benton County Board
of Commissioners a six-month moratorium on new adult
uses in Benton County. The board passed the
AS
moratorium after a public hearing at which no adverse
comments were received. On July 14, 1994, the
planning commission recommended to the county board
that it enact an amendment to the development code,
designated Ordinance 242, to govern adult uses. The
board, again after receiving no adverse comment at-a
public hearing, passed the ordinance on July 19, 1994.
Ordinance 242 permits adult uses in areas zoned B-1,
B-2, I-1, and I-2 so long as no adult use is located
within 500 feet of any area zoned R-1, R-2, or R-3, or
within 500 feet of any school, church, daycare facility,
hotel, or public park. Benton County, Minn.,
Development Code § 7.10.0(A) (1998). The ordinance
defines adult uses to include “adult enterprises,
businesses or places open to some or all members of the
public at or in which there is an emphasis on the
presentation, display, depiction or description of
‘specified sexual activities’ or ‘specified anatomical
areas.”” Id. § 7.10.1. The ordinance designates existing
adult uses as nonconforming uses until July 31, 1998,
and unlawful uses after that date. Jd. § 7.10.3.
Kismet purchased King’s in January 1997 and the land
on which King’s is located in January 1998. Kismet
continued to operated King’s as an adult cabaret. On
July 22, 1998, just days before King’s would become an
unlawful use, Kismet applied to the Benton County
Board of Adjustment for a variance from Ordinance 242.
At a public hearing on the variance application, the
AG
board heard testimony from Keith Keller, Kismet’s
owner, and from many King’s employees. Keller
testified that Kismet’s predecessors had made
improvements to King’s that cost more than $300,000
and that these improvements made the building suitable
only for an adult cabaret. King’s employees testified to
personal hardships that they would suffer if no longer
able to work at King’s. Bruce McGlaughlin, an expert
planning consultant for King’s, testified that King’s met
the criteria for a variance and that King’s did not cause
the secondary effects that were the basis for enacting
Ordinance 242. The board also heard testimony from
Benton County citizens opposed to the variance.
-In addition to testifying, McGlaughlin submitted a
planning review that summarized his empirical study of
King’s. The study concluded that King’s operation
did not result in increased police calls or lower property
values. The review also critically analyzed the studies
from other municipalities and counties on which Benton
County based its conclusion that adult uses lead to
adverse secondary effects. McGlaughlin concluded that
most of the studies were (1) misrepresented; (2) biased;
(3) methodologically flawed; and/or (4) conducted under
circumstances distinguishable from Benton County’s.
The board issued a written order denying the variance.
The board found that King’s used was not prohibited in
its current zoning district, but that the requested
variance was not in harmony with the general purposes
of the development code. The board further found that
A.
Kismet had not demonstrated a hardship unique to its
property, and that the variance, if granted, would alter
the family-neighborhood character of the area. In
response, Kismet brought this action, requesting that the
district court (1) compel the count to grant a variance;
(2) declare the ordinance unconstitutional; (3) declare
unreasonable the amortization of King’s nonconforming
use; (4) grant a temporary injunction prohibiting
enforcement of the ordinance; and/or (5) find a taking
and compel the county to condemn the land and pay fair
value. The district court denied Kismet’s motion for an
injunction and affirmed the county’s denial of the
variance. The county then moved for summary
judgment on the remaining claims. The district court
granted the motion against all claims except the
constitutional claim. The court found a material issue of
fact on whether there were alternative avenues of
communication as required by the First Amendment and
held an evidentiary hearing on that issue. Relying on
evidence produced at the hearing that 100 alternative
sites were available for adult uses in Benton County, the
district court found the Benton County ordinance
constitutional. Kismet appeals the district court’s
decision affirming the county’s denial of the
Variance and summary judgment ruling the Benton
County ordinance constitutional.
ISSUES
I Was the board’s denial of the variance
unreasonable?
A.8
Il. Does Ordinance 242 violate the First
Amendment to the U.S. Constitution?
ANALYSIS
A board of adjustment has broad discretion to grant or
deny variances, and we Review the exercise of that
discretion to determine whether it was reasonable.
Vanlandschoot v. City of Mendota Heights, 336 N.W. 2d
503, 508 (Minn. 1983); Rowell v. Board of Adjustment,
446 N.W. 2d 917, 921 (Minn. App. 1989), review
denied (Minn. Dec. 15, 1989). In determining
reasonableness, we are guided by the Standards set out
in the relevant county ordinance, but a board’s authority
to grant Variances under the ordinance may not exceed
the power granted by statute. Rowell, 446 N.W.2d at
921. When proceedings before a board are fair and
complete, appellate review is based on the record of the
board’s proceedings, not the district court’s findings or
conclusions. Swanson v. City of Bloomington, 421 N.W.
2d 307, 313 (Minn. 1988); VanLandschoot, 336 N.W.
2d at 508. County boards of adjustment have the
exclusive power to grant variances from their zoning
ordinances. Minn. Stat. § 394.27, subd. 7 (1998). A
variance may be granted only if it is in harmony with the
general purposes and intent of local zoning ordinances
and if strict enforcement of those zoning ordinances will
cause “practical difficulties” or “particular hardship.”
Id. The county variance statute is worded differently
A.
from the municipality variance statutes, which allows
variances only on a showing of “undue hardship” and
does not refer to practical difficulties. See Minn.
Stat. § 462.357, subd. 6(2) (1998).
Under both statutes, however, “hardship” means that (1)
“the property in question cannot be put to a reasonable
use” absent the variance (2) “the plight of the
landowner is due circumstances unique to the property
[and] not created by the landowner;” and (3) “the
variance, if granted, will not alter the essential character
of the locality.” Minn. Stat. §§ 394.27, subd. 7;
462.357, subd. 6(2). Economic considerations alone do
not constitute hardship if there is a reasonable use for the
property absent a variance. Minn. State. §§ 394.27, subd
7; 462.357, subd. 6(2). And, “[n]o variance may be
granted that would allow any use that is prohibited in the
zoning district on which the subject property is located.”
Minn. Stat. §§ 394.27, subd. The Benton County
Development Code outlines identical factors for
consideration of variance applications. Development
Code, supra, § 11 .5.1. The landowner applying for a
variance carries the “heavy burden” to show that
the variance is justified. Luger v. City of Burnsville, 295
N.W. 2d 609, 612 (Minn. 1980). Thus, variances are
distinguishable from special-or conditional-use permits,
which generally should be granted when an applicant
meets the conditions specified in the ordinance, and for
which the burden rests with the opposing party to show
facts compelling denial. Jd. ; Westling v. City of St.
Alo
Louis Park, 284 Minn. 351, 355-56, 170 N.W.2d 218,
221-22 (1969).
Minnesota courts have recognized the difference
between use and area variances. In re Appeal of Kenney,
374 N.W. 2d 271, 274 (Minn. 1985); Rowell, 446
N.W.2d at Use variances allow a use prohibited under
the zoning ordinance; area variances control area, height,
setback, density, and parking requirements for uses that
are permitted by the ordinance. Kenney, 374 N.W.2d at
274; see generally 3 Kenneth H. Young, Anderson’s
American Law of Zoning § 20.06-.07 (4" ed. 1996).
Kismet seeks to vary the uses permitted for its property
under the zoning ordinance and thus seeks a use
variance.
In Minnesota, most use variances are prohibited by
statue. Minn. Stat. § 394.27, subd. 7 (no variance shall
be allowed if use prohibited in zoning district). Local
governments may grant used variances, however, when a
use is not prohibited in the zoning district, but the use is
limited by another portion of the zoning ordinance. See
Kenney, 374 N.W.2d at 274-75 (holding county had
authority to grant use variance from ordinance
prohibiting boathouses or addition to boathouses). The
parties agree that King’s use is not prohibited in its
zoning district, but is instead prohibited by the adult-use
sections of the development code. Thus, this case falls
within the small number of use variances allowable
under Minnesota statues.
A.))
Kismet disputes the board’s finding that Kismet failed to
demonstrate hardship to support its requested variance.
Kismet argues that substantial and costly improvements
to the building demonstrate hardship. Kismet cites
Minnesota variance cases affirming findings of hardship
based on financial investment combined with practical
difficulties of complying with the zoning ordinance.
Each of the cases Kismet cites, however, deals with an
area variance, not a use variance, which is what Kismet
seeks. See Merriam Park Community Council, Inc. v.
McDonough, 297 Minn. 285, 293, 210 N.W.2d 416, 421
(1973) (affirming variances from setback requirements,
parking Requirements, and maximum number of
apartment units), overruled on other grounds by
Northwestern College v. City of Arden Hills, 281
N.W.2d 865 (Minn. 1989); Arcadia Dev. Corp. v. City of
Bloomington, 267 Minn. 221, 228, 125 N.W. 2d 846,
851 (1964) (holding that city’s denial of variance from
sign-standards ordinance was arbitrary and capricious);
Rowell, 446 N.W.2d at 922-23 (affirming variance from
setback requirements).
Although courts historically have required variance
applicants to demonstrate that there was no other
reasonable use for their land, some jurisdictions,
including Minnesota, have more recently recognized that
area variances may be granted on a lesser showing of
practical difficulties. See Rowell, 446 N.W.2d at 922
(citing McDonough, 297 Minn. At 292, 210 N.W.2d at
A, (2.
420); see also Ogawa v. City of Des Peres, 745 S.W. 2d
238, 242 (Mo. Ct. App. 1987) (applying lower standard
for area variances); [vancovich v. City of Tucson Bd. Of
Adjustment, 529 P.2d 242, 250 (Ariz. Ct. App. 1974)
(same); Sprague-Covington Co. v. Zoning Bd. Of
Review, 230 A.2d 419, 420 (R.I. 1967) (same); see
generally Young, supra, § 20.48-.51.
Kismet’s argument requires us to consider whether a
lesser showing of practical difficulties can justify a use
variance. Minnesota appellate courts have not directly
addressed this issue, but other jurisdictions that
recognize the lower practical-difficulties standard for
area variances continue to require the more demanding
hardsnip standard for use variances. See, e.g.,
vancovich, 529 P.2d at 250 (use variances require more
stringent showing). After a careful review of the
variance statue and the relevant precedents, we conclude
that Minnesotg landowners seeking use variances must
demonstrate that they will suffer particular hardship
absent the variance. Practical difficulties alone cannot
justify a use variance.
We recognize that Minnesota’s county variance statute
appears to cast practical difficulties or particular
hardship in the alternative. But the Minnesota
legislature adopted this dual variance standard in 1974,
when the differing treatment of use and area variances
was well established in the caselaw. See 1974 Minn.
Laws Ch. 571, § 27; Meister v. Western Nat'l. Mut. Ins.
Co., 479 N.W.2d 372, 378 (Minn. 1992) (stating courts
A,t3
should presume legislature acted with understanding of
existing, related legislation). The statue, read in the
context of the caselaw, supports the conclusion that the
standard of practical difficulties was intended to apply to
area variances and the standard of particular hardship
was intended to apply to use variances. See In re
Village of Bronxville, 150 N.Y.S.2d 906, 908 (N.Y.
App. Div. 1956) (interpreting nearly identical New York
variance statue allowing variances based on “practical
difficulties” or “unnecessary hardship” to create two
different variance standards-one for area variances and
one for use variances). Moreover, to interpret the
statutory language to apply both standards to use
variances would read the more demanding particular-
hardship standard out of the statue. See Minn. Stat. §
645.17 (1998) (stating legislature intends entire statue to
be effective). Our construction of the statue gives
practical meaning to both standards.
Applying the particular-hardship standard, we must
next determine whether the board reasonably found that
Kismet’s property could be put to other reasonable uses;
that Kismet’s plights was not unique to the property; and
that granting Kismet’s requested variance would change
the essential character of the locality.
The record supports the board’s finding that there are
other reasonable uses for Kismet’s property, including a
restaurant or resort. Kismet agues that improvements
to the property make it useful only as a adult cabaret. A
Aly
landowner’s significant investment in the property,
however, does not demonstrate the absence of other
reasonable uses. See Minn. Stat. § 394.27, subd. 7
(stating economic considerations alone do not justify
variance). Some courts have found hardship when the
costs of alternative uses are so prohibitive that they will
effectively prevent the property from being put to
another use. See generally Young, supra, § 20.22, at
492-93 n. 13. But Kismet has only shown the cost of
remodeling King’s to operate as an aduit cabaret; Kismet
has offered no evidence on the costs of remodeling the
building for alternative uses or evidence that the costs
would be prohibitive. Kismet has also failed to
demonstrate that its plight is unique to the land.
Kismet’s circumstances as the only landowner currently
seeking to operate as an adult uses in Benton County
does not make its plight unique. The adult-use
ordinance applies in a similar fashion to all those who
own commercially or industrially zoned property
within 500 feet of a protected use. None of these
landowners may operate adult uses on their land. See
Garibaldi v. Zoning Bd. Of Appeals, 303 A.2d 743, 745
(Conn. !972) (“[I]t would be rare case where*** a
regulation which prescribes a minimum distance
between certain types of liquor outlets would cause a
hardship different in kind from that felt by other
properties in a zone”).
Further, Kismet’s failure to show that other uses are cost
prohibitive prevents it from claiming a unique plight
AIS
based on its investments. Cf Halberstadt v. Borough of
Nazarath, 687 A.2d 371, 373-74 (Pa. 1997) (affirming
variance because razing heavy fortress-like building for
alternative uses cost prohibitive); see generally Young,
supra, § 20.37. The board reasonably concluded that
Kismet’s plight was not unique to the land.
Kismet argues that its predecessor made improvements
to the property in Reasonable reliance on the federal
injunctions against Benton County’s conditional-use-
permit requirement. This argument is in oppostion. The
injunction against Benton County’s unconstitutional
conditional-use-permit requirement included no
guarantee that Benton County would not find a
constitutionally permissible method of regulating adult
uses. Cf Bruzzese v. Board of Appeals, 179 N.E.2d
269-271 (Mass. 1962) (reasoning that fact that plaintiff
spent money in anticipation of being granted a variance
did not justify a finding of hardship).
Because it has demonstrated neither that its land can be
put to no other reasonable use nor that its plight is
unique, Kismet has not met its burden to show
particular hardship. Accordingly, we affirm the board’s
denial of variance. The district court granted summary judgment
on Kismet’s claim that the Benton County ordinance violated the
First Amendment, and thus we review that ruling under a
summary judgment standard. See Cummings v.
Koehnen, 568 N.W.2d 418, 420 (Minn. 1997) (on appeal
from summary judgment, reviewing court determines
A,1¢
whether case raises genuine issues of material fact and
whether district court erred in application of law). But
because the issue of reasonable alternative avenues of
communication received an evidentiary hearing, we will
not reverse the district court’s findings on that issue
unless they are clearly erroneous. See Minn. R. Civ. P.
52.01 (“[f]indings of fact, whether bases on oral or
documentary evidence, shall not be set aisle unless
clearly erroneous”); D] MA Corp. v. City of St. Cloud,
562 N.W.2d 312, 321 (Minn. App. 1997), review denied
(Minn. July 28, 1997).
Although statutes and ordinances generally carry a
presumption of constitutional validity, when an
ordinance allegedly infringes First Amendment rights,
the local government bears the burden of demonstrating
that the ordinance is constitutional. See Association of
Community Org. for Reform Now v. City of Frontenac,
714 F.2d 813, 817 (8" Cir. 1983) (citing Organization
for a Better Austin v. Keefe, 402 U.S. 415, 419, 91 S.
Ct. 1575, 1577-78 (1971)); see also J & B
Entertainment, Inc. v. City of Jackson, 152 F.3d 362,
370-371 (5" Cir. 1998); Phillips v. Borough of Keyport,
107 F.3d 164, 172-73 (3d Cir. 1997). This distinguishes
First Amendment challenges to Zoning ordinances from
police-power challenges, which require the challenger to
Demonstrate an unconstitutional exercise of a local
government’s police powers. See, e.g., City of St. Paul
v. Dalsin, 245 Minn. 325, 329, 71 N.W.2d 855, 858
(1955) (burden on appellant to show ordinance not |
ee
within police power). 41D
Ordinances that regulate adult uses based on their
secondary effects are reviewed as time, place, manner
regulations. City of Renton v. Playtime Theatres, Inc., _
475 U.S. 41, 49, 106 S. Ct. 925, 930 (1986). Such
ordinances must be content-neutral, must be designed to
advance a substantial government interest, and must
allow reasonable alternative avenues of communication.
Id. at 50, 106 S. Ct. at 930; Holmberg v. City of Ramsey
12 F.3d 140, 142 (8™ Cir. 1993) (Holmberg I); City of
Crystal v. Fantasy House, Inc., 569 N.W.2d 225, 229
(Minn. App. 1997), review denied (Minn. Nov. 18,
1997). Courts have recognized ordinances that attempts
to prevent the adverse secondary effects of adult uses as
content-neutral regulations that advance a substantial
government interest. See City of Erie v. Pap’s A.M,
USS. , , 120 S. Ct. 1382, 1392-95
(2000) (plurality opinion); Renton, 475 U.S. at 48-49,
106 S. Ct. at 929-30, Fantasy House, 569 N.W.2d at
229. And the Supreme Court has held that a city need
not demonstrate secondary effects within its own
experience, but instead may rely on studies conducted by
other cities, so long as the studies are “reasonably
believed to be relevant to the problem that the [city]
addresses.” Renton, 475 U.S. at 51-52, 106 S. Ct. at
931. We conclude, as did the district court, that
Ordinance 242 is content-neutral and designed to
advance a substantial government interest. The
preamble to Ordinance 242 includes findings that adult
A.17
A. 1g
uses cause secondary effects and states that the
ordinance is intended to ameliorate the secondary effects
of adult uses in Benton County. And the ordinance
reasonably relies on adult-use studies from St. Paul;
Indianapolis; Los Angeles; Phoenix; Rochester,
Minnesota; Adams County, Colorado; and Amarillo,
Texas.
Kismet argues that Benton County’s reliance on these
studies was unreasonable because the studies are flawed,
because they address circumstances different from
Benton County’s, and because King’s was unable to
demonstrate empirically that its s operation has not
caused secondary effects. We reject these arguments for
several reasons.
First, neither Kismet nor its predecessor raised these
issues before the board of commissioners at the public
hearings held before the adoption of Ordinance 242. In
determining whether the county reasonably relied on the
studies, we necessarily review the information available
to the county when it passed the ordinance. See City of
Ramsey v. Holmberg, 548 N.W.2d 302, 306 (Minn. App.
1996) (Holmberg II) (studies that were bit before the city
when it enacted the ordinance failed to raise a genuine
issue on whether “the city reasonably believed that the
businesses to which the ordinance applies produce at
least some of the unwanted secondary effects
experienced by other cities”), review denied (Minn. Aug.
6, 1996). At best, Kismet’s criticism of the studies
A.14
raises a question of whether adult uses actually cause
secondary effects. The resolution of that question is .
precisely the type of fact-finding best left to the county’s
comparatively superior ability to “amass and evaluate
the vast amount of data” available and “make predictive
judgments” about its own circumstances. Turner
Broad. Sys., Inc. v. F.C.C., 522 U.S. 180, 195, 117 S. Ct.
1174, 11898 (1997) (quotation omitted). It is not our
function, “at least in absence of overwhelming
evidence to the contrary, to second-guess the scientific
accuracy of a legislative determination of fact.”
Minnesota State Bd. Of Health by Lawson v. City of
Brainerd, 308 Minn. 24, 32, 241 N.W.2d 624, 629
(1976).
Second, the county reasonably relied on adult-use
studies addressing uses similar to the adult uses covered
by Ordinance 242. See Holmberg Il, 548 N.W.2d at 306
(local government may reasonably rely on studies ,
addressing “reasonably similar businesses”) (quoting
ILQ Investments, Inc. v. City of Rochester, 25 F.3d 1413,
1418 (8" Cir. 1994)). Finally, the county need not
demonstrate which secondary effects are attributable to
each of its adult uses, but may pass ordirances to
address the secondary effects of adult uses as a class and
to address both existing and potential adult uses in
Benton County. See Mitchell v. Commission on Adult
Entertainment Establishments, 10 F.3d 123, 138 (3d Cir.
1993) (stating that state need only show that adult
entertainment Establishments as a class cause secondary
A20
effects); see also Vicary v. City of Corona, 119 F.3d 8,
1997 WL 406768 (9" Cir. July 18, 1997) (reversing
district court reasoning that an ordinance could be
facially constitutional but unconstitutional as
applied to adult use not shown to produce secondary
effects). Kismet asserts that a recent Ninth Circuit
opinion requires a more exacting analysis to determine
whether a local government reasonably relied on an
adult-use study. See Alameda Books, Inc. v. City of Los
Angeles, 222 F.3d 719, 724, 2000 W1 1047892, at *5 (9%
Cir. July 27, 2000) (1977 study finding that
concentration of adult uses causes secondary effects
does not justify ordinance prohibiting multiple adult
uses in one building). We conclude, however, that
Mitchell and ILQ demonstrate a better application of
Renton’s holding that a local government may rely on
studies from other localities if the studies are
“reasonably believed to be relevant to the problem that
the [locality] addresses.” Renton, 475 U.S. at 51-52, 106
s. Ct. at 931.
The last constitutional hurdle is whether Ordinance 242
leave reasonable alternative avenues of communication
for adult uses. The district court’s determination
of the number of sites available for adult uses is factual |
finding reviewed only for clear error. David Vincent, |
Inc. v. Broward County, 200 F.3d 1325, 1333 (11" Cir.
2000). But the court’s methodology for determining the
number of sites and its conclusion about whether that
number of sites provides reasonable alternative avenues
2!
of communication are issues of law that we review de
novo. /d. at 1333, 1335. We also review de novo the
court’s construction of Ordinance 242. See Rowell, 446
N.W.2d at 920.
We see no error in the court’s construction of Ordinance
242’s requirement that adult uses and protected uses
must be separated by 500 feet. The district court
confirmed Benton County’s method of measuring from
building to building because the ordinances defined
most adult uses and most protected uses in terms of the
buildings they occupy. See Development Code, supra,
§§ 7.10.1, 7.10.2. When adult uses are not in a building,
however, the 500 feet is measured from the adult use.
And when the protected use is residentially zoned
property, the measurement is from the lot line of
that residential use. We conclude that the court correctly
applied the plain language of the ordinance.
Using the county’s measurement methods, the district
court found that 100 sites were available for adult uses
in Benton County. The district court’s finding was not
clearly erroneous. The court reasonably credited the
testimony of Benton County development director Ron
Peterson, who conducted the measurement for the
county, and rejected the testimony of King’s expert, who
used all lot-line-to-lot-line measurements. Kismet
argues that the development code’s discretionary parking
requirements render all of the sites unavailable, but we
find this argument unpersuasive. Nothing in the
county’s parking requirements impinges on Kismet’s
A22
ability to use any of the 100 sites for an adult use. The
parking requirements may limit the amount of land on
which Kismet may build, but the First Amendment does
not guarantee Kismet a certain size piece of land or
building for its adult use. See Broward, 200 F.3d at
1336 (“making due with less space than one desired” is
impediment to relocation of adult use that is not of
constitutional magnitude).
We also reject Kismet’s argument that the parking
requirements constitute a prior restraint unconstitutional
under the First Amendment. Zoning provision that
allow adult uses only y at the unfettered discretion of a
locality violate the First Amendment. See, e.g., Lady J.
Lingerie, Inc. v. City of Jacksonville, 176 F.3d 1358,
_ 1361-62 (11™ Cir. 1999) (finding that requirement that
adult uses apply for discretionary zoning exceptions
precluded reasonable alternative avenues of
communications), cert. denied, 120 S. Ct. 1594 (2000).
But the Benton County parking requirements do not give
county officials discretion to deny Kismet’s ability to
operate an adult use in Benton County and thus are
distinguishable from prior restraints that have beén fatal
to adult-use ordinances. See Young v. City of Simi
Valley, 216 F.3d 807, __, 2000 WL 780991, at__—_(9"
Cir. June 20, 2000) (9* Cir. June 20, 2000) (involving
adult use that could not operate if private parties vetoed
it); Lady J., 176 F.2d at 1361 (involving adult use that
could not operate without zoning exception); Bukaka,
852 F. Supp. At 812 (involving adult use that could not
A, 22
operated without conditional-use permit). Simply put,
nothing in the development code required Kismet to
apply for a permit or license to operate as an adult use.
Absent these circumstances, we do find a prior restraint
within the meaning of the First Amendment. CF.
Forsyth County v. Nationalist Movement, 505 U.S. 123,
130, 112 S. Ct. 2395, 2401 (1992) (holding that
ordinance requiring permit and fee for public speeches,
parades, or assemblies was prior restraint on speech);
Stokes v. City of Madison, 930 F.2d 1163, 1168 (7" Cir.
1991) (prior restraint exists when regulation gives
officials power to deny use of a forum in advance
of actual expression).
The touchstone of Renton’s requirement of alternative
avenues of communication is that adult use should not
be denied a reasonable opportunity to operate within the
locality. DJ MA Corp., 562 N.W.2d at 321 (citing
Renton, 475 U.S. at 54, 106 S. Ct. at 932). We conclude
that the 100 available sites provide ample opportunity
for adult uses to operate in Benton County and thus
provide reasonable alternative avenues of
communication. Cf DI MA Corp., 562 N.W.2d at 322
(finding 15 alternative sites sufficient).
DECISION
The Benton County Board of Adjustment reasonably
denied Kismet’s variance application, and we affirm that
denial. Because we conclude that Ordinance 242 is
A2y
content neutral, designed to promote a substantial
government interest, and leaves reasonable alternative -
avenues of communication for adult uses, we also affirm
the district court’s summary judgment determining that
the ordinance is constitutional.
Affirmed.
we A. 24
ivan
STATE OF MINNESOTA IN DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF BENTON SEVENTH JUDICIAL DIST.
Kismet Investors, Inc., a
Minnesota corporation,
FINDINGS OF FACT
Plaintiff, CONCLUSIONS OF
LAW, AND ORDER
VS. FOR JUDGMENT
AND JUDGMENT
County of Benton,
Defendant.
The above-entitled matter came before the Honorable
James W. Hoolihan, Judge of District Court, on the 12 day of
November, 1999.
Randall D.B. Tigue, Esq., appeared on behalf of the
Plaintiff, Kismet Investors, Inc.,
Kenneth H. Bayliss, Esq., appeared on behalf of
Defendant, County of Benton.
Plaintiff has a four (4) count complaint against the
Defendant. The parties agreed to bifurcate the issued and
have the Court first decide Count I, Defendant’s challenge to
the validity of the Benton County Board of Adjustment’s
denial of the variance request.
In findings of fact; conclusions of law and order for
judgment and judgment, pe sll affirmed the board’s denial
of the variance request as a valid exercise of its power and
denied Plaintiff's requested relief for a temporary restraining
order and temporary injunction against enforcement of
Benton County Development Code, Ordinance No. 242. See
Kismet Investors, Inc. v. County of Benton, File No. 05-C5-
98-001240, findings of fact, conclusions of law, and order for
judgment and judgment, dated April 2, 1999.
Defendant then moved the court for summary
judgment on Counts II, III and IV of thePlaintiff's complaint.
Count II challenged the Constitutionality of the Benton
County Zoning Ordinance on First and Fourteenth
Amendment grounds. Count III challenged the
reasonableness of Benton County Ordinance 242 in its
amortization provision. Count IV challenged the
constitutionality of a taking or damaging of Plaintiff's
property without just compensation in violation of the Fifth
and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution and Article I, Section 13 of the Minnesota
Constitution. The court granted summary judgment on
Counts III and IV, but denied summary judgment on Count II
and ordered an evidentiary hearing to be held on the sole
issue of whether Benton County has provided for reasonable
alternative avenues of communication for adult use business
4.29
to ensure freedom of communication rights under the First
and Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution. The court also denied the Plaintiff's motion to
amend its complaint in light of the passage of new
amendments to Minn. Stat..394.21, Subd. 1a and Minn. Stat.
462.357, Subd. 1c concerning zoning ordinances and
prohibitions on amortization by counties and local
municipalities. See Kismet Investors, Inc. v. County of
Benton, File No. C5-98-1240, findings of fact, conclusions of
law and order for judgment and judgment, dated July 7, 1999.
The evidentiary hearing on Count II was held on
November 12, 1999.
Now having duly considered the arguments of
counsel, the documents and proceedings herein, together with
the applicable law, this Court ORDERS:
The Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on
Count II of the Plaintiff's complaint is GRANTED.
The findings, conclusions, orders and memoranda
from the Court Orders dated April 2, 1999, and July 7, 1999
are incorporated by reference as part of this Order.
The attached memorandum is made part of this Order. —
FINDINGS OF FACT
1. Kismet Investors, Inc., is a 302A Minnesota
corporation incorporated in December of 1996. it has operated
the business known as 2. the Lake” in Benton County,
Minnesota since January 2, 1997. The business features live,
nude dance or cabaret entertainment and is currently doing
business as “The King’s Inn.” The business itself has operated
since September of 1993 under different ownership. At that
time Benton County had a conditional use permit requirement
for all recreational uses, which included adult use facilities. This
previous ordinance was challenged by Plaintiff's predecessors
in interest and was both temporarily and permanently enjoined
by the United States District Court in the District of Minnesota.
See Mga Susu, Inc. v. County of Benton, 853 F. Supp. 1147 (D.
Minn. 1994) and Bukaka, Inc. v. County of Benton, 852 F.
Supp. 807 (D. Minn. 1993).
2. In June of 1993, Benton County was considering
whether, and in what form, to adopt a new adult use zoning
ordinance. A scheduled discussion of the potential regulation
of adult use business was planned and held on June 24, 1993, by
the Benton County Planning and Zoning Commission
(Commission). The Benton County Attorney and Planning and
Zoning Administrator presented information on various legal
aspects of the regulation of adult use businesses. The outline
indicated that any zoning restrictions by Benton County must
be: 1) content-neutral; 2) time, place and manner restrictive; 3)
defined to serve a substantial government interest; and 4) not
unreasonably limit Bris om of communication. As
part of the process of consideration of other ordinances and
study of possible secondary negative effects of adult use
businesses, a copy of the City of St. Cloud, Minnesota adult use
ordinance was also distributed to the Commission.
3. On November 18, 1993, Benton County Planning
and Zoning Commission continued discussion on adult use land
regulations, specifically addressing information regarding
concerns and activities or other municipalities, and their adult
use establishment. Benton County considered numerous other
municipalities’ studies or negative secondary effects of adult use
businesses and was aware of valid land use regulations, which
had been passed, based upon the secondary effects analysis.
The commission unanimously passed a resolution for the county
attorney’s office to further research a possible adult use
ordinance and submit potential ordinance language, which was
proper and enforceable.
4. On May 26, 1994, the Commission held a publicly
noticed meeting in which it considered adopting a proposed
resolution. The proposed resolution stated:
Whereas, The Benton County Planning Commission is
concerned about the possible adverse secondary effects of
sexually oriented businesses on adjacent properties; and
Whereas, The Benton County Planning Commission
upon review of studies conducted by the cities of Phoenix,
/\ 36
Arizona; Indianapolis, Indiana and Austin, Texas is aware of an
increase in overall crime rates in areas near sexually oriented
businesses; and
Whereas, The Benton County Planning Commission
seeks to minimize any potential negative impact on the value
and marketability of land adjacent to sexually oriented
businesses; and
Whereas, The Benton County Planning Commission
hopes to provide space for location of sexually oriented
businesses in appropriately zoned districts in the county,
(emphasis added)
Therefore, it is resolved that the Benton County
Planning Commission shall commence the development and
adoption of an ordinance addressing these concerns.
(Benton County Planning Commission, Minutes from
Planning Session on May 26, 1994). The Planning Commission
approved the proposed resolution with the only modification
being replacement of the word “hopes” with the word “intends”
5. On June 23, 1994, the Commission held another
publicly noticed open work session on a proposed adult use
ordinance. It discussed specific language from the City of
Ramsey in Anoka County, Minnesota, separate distances,
amortization periods and enforcement of zoning ordinances.
6. On June 28, 1994, the Benton County published
notice of a final public hearing where both the commission an d
the Benton County Board had an intent to amend the Benton
/).3j
County Development Code regarding adult use establishments
in Benton County. The notice included specific language of a
proposed ordinance for consideration and request for public
input.
7. On July 14, 1994, the Commission had its final
meeting for consideration of the auld use amendment. No one
at the meeting spoke in opposition to the amendment. A
motion to approve the amendment passed on a unanimous vote.
Neither the Plaintiff nor the Plaintiff's predecessor in interest
attended this or any other Commission meeting concerning the
regulation of adult use facilities.
8. On July 19, 1994, the Benton County Board held a
publically noticed and regularly scheduled meeting. Proposed
amendments to the County Development Code regarding adult
uses were presented. The Board did not receive any comments
for or against the proposed ainendments. The Board voted
unanimously to adopt the amendments, which became Benton
County Ordinance No. 242.
9. The adopted ordinance provides for an amortization
period as expressed in Benton County Development Code
7.10.3. It state that nonconforming uses must cease at the end
of approximately four years:
Adult uses established prior to the enactment of Benton
County Ordinance 235 shall be permitted and regulated as
‘eee AES ae ss
| Ae
nonconforming uses until July 31, 1998 at which time such uses
shall become unlawful.
10. The ordinance also provides a 500 foot setback
requirement of adult use facilities from residentially-zoned
areas. Benton County Development Code, 7.10.2 state:
“No adult use shall be located with five hundred (500)
feet of;
1. Any area zoned R-1, R-2 or R-3.” [residential areas].
“Adult use facilities are allowed to operate in B, B-2, [1
and I-2 zones.”
11. The Plaintiff purchased the business know as the
King’s Inn in January of 1997 and subsequently purchased the
real property, which is the subject of this action, one year later
in 1998 for approximately $250,000 by contract for deed. At
the time of the purchase of the real property by the Plaintiff,
theBenton County Adult Use Ordinance No. 242 had been in
existence for approximately three and one-half years and
compliance with the setback provisions of the ordinance
required the adult use to cease within approximately six (6)
months from the date of the real property purchase.
12. Plaintiff's current business is lawfully in a B zoned
area, however, it is within 500 br a residentially zoned area
and is located approximately 150 feet from the nearest
residence. This makes the Plaintiffs business a nonconforming
ee
A 33
use and is the subject of the instant case. The amortization
period of the ordinance allowed the Plaintiff to operate the
King’s Inn as an adult use business until July 31, 1998.
13. On July 22, 1998, Plaintiff applied for a variance
from the Board to continue operations after the end of the
amortization period. The application was denied on September
17, 1998. This lawsuit was commenced in October of 1998.
ALTERNATIVE SITES
14. Ronald Peterson, the Benton County Development
Director, who oversees county planning and zoning
administration, identified 101 sites in unincorporated Benton
County that are available and properly zoned for adult uses such
as the King’s Inn. He testified that the identified sites had road
access and were visible from nearby roadway; that they either
had existing buildings or would permit a building; were not
encumbered by wetlands; would not be precluded by septic
System issue; and were more than 500 feet from any
residentially zoned area.
15. Ronald Peterson was a credible witness and the
court accepts as fact that there are 101 properly zoned sites
reasonable available in Benton County as alternative sites for a
business such as the King’s Inn, except as noted in No. 20
below.
16. Plaintiff's expert, Robert McLaughlin, would
disqualify 57 of the Mie 0 by interpreting the county
ordinance to require setback measurements from boundary line
to boundary line. The court rejected this interpretation as
contrived and unreasonable and not consistent with the county’s
application of the setback requirements.
17. McLaughlin then disqualifies all the remaining sites
on one or more basis such as access, size, current use or some
other reason such as his interpretation that the adult use would
trigger the need for a permit requiring parking to be solely
determined b the county and therefore subject to whimsical
discretionary requirements. Mr. McLaughlin’s testimony is not
credible and the court rejects his conclusions except as noted in
No. 20 below.
18. Curtis Curry testified on behalf of the Plaintiff. Mr.
Curry is a builder and carpenter and testified to the difficulties
he experienced in getting appropriate building permits when
working on “adult use” businesses. Mr. Curry was not a
credible witness and his testimony as largely irrelevant as
Benton County does not require building, electrical or plumbing
permits.
19. In this southeast section of Minden Township,
Plaintiff disqualified a site because his expert concluded there
was a shrine and park in the southeast quadrant of the
- intersection and that prohibit placement of an adult use facility.
: (\.35
Plaintiff was mistaken. There is no park at that location and the
shrine is a private display and not a county park or exhibit.
20. One identified site located in Sec.10, west of
Highway 10, in Watab Township had no access. While there is
no testimony to indicate whether access is possible or practical,
the court finds that at this time this location is not a reasonable
alternative site.
21. The population of Benton County is 30,000 and
approximately 15, 000 of those people live in unincorporated
portions of the county.
22. At the present time there is one adult use
establishment in unincorporated Benton County.
23. There is very little for adult use establishments in
the unincorporated areas of Benton County as evidenced by the
existence of only one establishment and the lack of any
application for additional uses.
24. Six of the identified sites are occupied by active
businesses. This fact makes them less available but does not
exclude them from the poo! of alternative sites.
CONCLUSIONS CF LAW
1. There are 100 available sites without significant legal
impediments to their use as adult entertainment businesses and
they provide reasonable alternative avenues of communication.
2. The proper method of measuring setbacks under the
A.U
A%<,
Benton County Development Code is from the building or
portion of the building that incorporates the adult use in those
instances where this term is included in the definition of the
particular type of adult use, or to the place where the sexually
-oriented activity is taking place with respect to other adult
uses.
3. The proper method of measuring segregated use
setbacks is to the property line ofa residentially zoned area with
respect to residential area setbacks and to the buildings which
constitute the segregated use, such as churches, daycare centers
_and schools. With respect to other segregated uses. .
4. The off-street parking provisions and land use permit
provisions of the ordinance do not interfere with the availability
of the adult use sites.
5. The Benton County Adult Use Ordinance is
constitutional in all respects.
6. Neither party is entitled to costs or disbursements.
ORDER
IT IS ORDERED:
1. The adult use provisions of the Benton County
Development Code are declared constitutional.
LET JUDGMENT BE ENTERED ACCORDINGLY.
BY THE COURT:
As
dated: 12/22/99 /s/
James Hoolihan
Judge of District Court
JUDGMENT
I hereby certify that the foregoing constitutes the judgment of
this Court.
Dated: 12/27/99 TIMOTHY R. ROBERTS
Court Administrator
/s/
Deputy Ct. Administrator
N39
MEMO
Summary judgment “shall be rendered forthwith if the
pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories and
admissions on file, together with the affidavits of any, show that
there is no genuine issue as to any material fact and that either
party is entitled to a judgment as a matter of law.” Minn.R.
Civ. P. 56.03. The party moving for summary judgment must
demonstrate that no genuine ‘ssue of material fact exists. Thiele
v. Stich, 425 N.W. 2d 580, 583 (Minn. 1988). The evidence
must be viewed in the light most favorable to the non-moving
party. Offerdahl v. University of Minnesota, 426 N.W. 2d 425,
427 (Minn. 1988). The non-moving party may not rest‘on mere
averments or denials of the adverse party’s pleading but must
present specific facts showing that there is a genuine issue for
trial. See Minn. R. Civ. Proc. 56.05. The mere existence of a
scintilla of evidence in support of the plaintiff's position will be
insufficient; there must be evidence on which the jury could
reasonably find for the plaintiff. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby,
Inc., 477 U.S. 242, 252, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202
(1986). After the moving party makes out a prima facie case,
the non-moving party must come forward with facts that raise
a genuine issue for trial. Thiele, 425 N.W. 2d at 583 (citing
Celotex Corp. v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986)).
The court does not resolve or decide issues of fact, but
A.38
AR
only til ee of material fact to be
tried. Nord v. Herreid, 305 N.W. 2d 337, 339 (Minn.1981). If
a plaintiff cannot support each essential element of his or her
claim, summary judgment must be granted because a complete
failure of proof regarding an essential element necessarily
renders all other facts immaterial. See Nicollet Restoration,
Inc. v. City of St. Paul, 533 N.W. 2d 845, 848 (Minn. 1995)
(citing Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-23). Summary judgment
should not be granted if reasonable person, after reviewing the
evidence, might reach different conclusions. Honathan vy.
Kvaal, 403 N.W. 2d 256, 259 (Minn. Ct. App. 1989).
Speculation or general assertions, and promises to produce
evidence at trial are not sufficient to create a genuine issue of
material fact for trial. Bob Useldinger & Sons Inc. v.
Hangsleben, 505 N.W. 2d 323, 328 (Minn. 1993) (speculation);
Erickson v. General United Life Ins. Co., 256 N.W. 2d 255,
259 (Minn. 1977) (general assertions).
I. Keasonableness of Benton County Adult use ordinance
in providing alternative avenues of communication
In Minnesota, the constitutionality of municipal
ordinances is presumed, including adult use ordinances, and the
burden of proving otherwise rests on the party attacking its
validity. City of Ramsey v. Holmberg, 548 N.W. 2d 302, 305
(Minn. Ct. App. 1996) (citing City of St. Paul v. Dalsin, 245
146
minn. 325, 329 71 N.W. 2d 855, 858, (1955)). Establishment
which offer nude dancing or nude cabaret may be entitled to
- First and Fourteenth Amendment protection as a form of
expression, see Koppinger v. City of Fairmont, 311 Minn. 186,
248 N.W. 2d 708, 715 (Minn. 1975); California v. LaRue, 409
U.S. 109, 118, 93 S. Ct. 390, 397, 34 L. Ed. 2d 342 (1972). In
order to survive First Amendment scrutiny, such regulations
must be content-neutral, “designed to serve a substantial
governmental interest” and cannot unreasonably limit alternative
avenues of communication. City of Ramsey, 548 N.W. 2d at
305 (quoting Renton, 475 U.S. at 46, 106 S. Ct. at 928).
Where an ordinance does not ban adult uses completely, but
merely limits the areas in which they may operate, it is properly
analyzed as a time, place and manner regulation.
City of Ramsey, 548 N.W. 2d at 305. See City of Ramsey v.
Playtime Theaters Inc., 475 U.S., 41, 46, S. Ct. 925, 928, 89 L.
Ed. 2d 28 (1986).
Since Benton County ordinance 242 does not ban adult
‘use facilities in the County completely and attempts to limit the
areas in which they may operate, the regulation is a time, place
and manner regulation and is controlled by and properly
analyzed under the test in City of Ramsey v. Renton v. Playtime
Theaters. The first and second parts of the Renton test were
previously analyzed by this Court and the ordinance was found
AY]
to be constitutional as content-neutral and narrowly tailored to
serve a substantial governmental interest. (April 1, 1999 and
July 7, 1999 orders).
The third part of the Renton test is to determine whether
Benton County’s ordinance provides reasonable alternative
avenues of communication for the exercise of that First
Amendment right.
In making this determination, the First Amendment
requires Benton County to refrain from effectively denying the
Plaintiff a reasonable opportunity to operate or open an adult
use facility within the County. See City of Renton, 475 U.S. at
54, 106 S. Ct. at 932. Under Renton, when an adult use
ordinance restricts free speech in order to control the negative
effect of adult establishments, it “must provide reasonable
alternative avenues of communication.” City of Crystal 569
N.W 2d at 230 (citing City of Renton, 475 U.S. at 50, 106 S.
Ct. at 930). A city cannot ban adult uses totally or fail to
provide reasonable sites for relocation that are sufficient for
uses existing within its borders at the time of the enactment,
thereby forcing a business to close. Alexander . City of
Minneapolis, 928 F. 2d 278, 283-84 (8 Cir. 1991). The
Supreme Court has stated this does not mean “that the First
Amendment compels the Government to ensure that adult
theaters, or any other kinds of speech-related businesses for that
AY2
matter, will be able to obtain sites at bargain prices.” American
Mini Theaters, Inc., 427 U.S. at 71, n. 35, 96 S. Ct. at 2453, n.
35 (plurality opinion). Each business “must fend for themselves
in the real estate, on an equal footing with other prospective
purchasers and lessees...” City of Renton, 475 U.S. at 54, 106
S. Ct. at 932. Ifan ordinance provides potential relocation sites
in accessible zoned areas in the community, such ordinances do
not unreasonably limit alternative avenues of communication.
Holmberg v. City of Ramsey, 12 F. 3d 140, 144 (8" Cir. 1993).
In deciding this issue, the Court must look at specific
evidence of the amount of land open to use for adult use
businesses. Providing fifteen (15) to seventeen (17) possible
locations has been found sufficient to meet the requirements of
reasonableness. DiMa Corp. v. City of St. Cloud, 562 N.W. 2d
312, 233 (Minn. Ct. App. 1997). In Holmberg, providing 35
percent of the city’s land, both developed and undeveloped,
zoned for commercial uses provided reasonable opportunity,
despite claim that relocation costs would put owner out of
business. Holmberg, 12 F. 3d at 144.
In the above-entitled action, the Defendant asserts that
there are over 2400 acres available for commercial and
industrial uses in Benton County. Of these the County claims
that there are 101 commercial and industrial sites within the
county where a locating adult use business would not run afoul
of setbacks. AS 12
Plaintiff contends that 57 of the sites would be
disqualified by a property line to property line measurement and
that much of the land has subdivision requirements that would
leave its availability at the discretion of the Benton County
Board.
Where statutory language is clear and unambiguous a
court must effect to that plain language. State v. Burrell, 506
N.W. 2d 34, 37 (Minn.Ct. App. 1993). The Benton County
Development Code defines “setback” as: the minimum
horizontal distance betweer. a Structure, sewage treatment
system, or other facility and an ordinary high water level,
sewage treatment system, top of a bluff, road, highway,
property line, or other facility (emphasis added). Benton
County Development Code 3.155. The code further defines an
“adult cabaret” as: a building or portion of a building used for
providing dancing or other live entertainment... Benton County
Development Code, 7.10.1 Sec. 7.10.2 provides that the
setback is from the “adult use” to “any area zoned R-1, R-2. Or
R-3.”
From this language, it is clear and unambiguous to the
court that the setback as defined in the Benton County Code
requires measurement from the adult use facility to the property
line of the residentially zoned area. In other words, the setback
a
NY
requirement of 500 feet is al from the building providing
adult use to the property line of the adjacent residence or
residences. It is therefore reasonable for the Benton County
Ordinance 242 to requires adult use facilities to not be located
within 500 feet of residential areas so as not to restrict
alternative avenue of communication for those facilities.
Plaintiff also contends that some sites are too remote.
With the exception of one site noted by the court, all the sites
are along Trunk Highway 10 or 23, or along State Highways 25
or 95, or along paved county highways. Access is easily
available to the sites from these roads. The sites meet the legal
standard of available access. Woodall IIT. 49 F. 3d at 1126 (site
not to be excluded simply because not near heavily trafficked
area).
Plaintiff contends 6 sites should be excluded because the
parcels are currently occupied by large, active businesses. No
evidence was presented to the court to show that these parcels
were unavailable. Mere use by arother business does not in and
of itself render a site legally unavailable. Hickerson v. City of
New York, 146 F. 3d 99 (2™ Cir. 1998).
Plaintiff finally contends that all the sites are legally
inadequate because they are available only in the discretion of
the governmental officials of Benton County. The substance of
Plaintiff's argument is changing from a current industrial or
N\4c
commercial use to an adult use would trigger a zoning review
and the county could require off-street parking spaces “as
determined by the County Planning Commission.” (9 Sec. 9.2.1
(c), Benton County Development Code). Plaintiff argues that
this “{unbridled discretion” could be used to impose impossible
to provide pking requirements, thus preventing location of an
adult use business.
This argument is unfounded in fact and highly
speculative in outcome. Many of the identified sites are large
enough to accommodate any reasonable parking requirements.
Counties are required by statute to act on zoning matters within
60 days of a request. Minn. Stat. Sec. 15.99,Subd/ 2. If the
county were to act in an arbitrary or unreasonable manner with
respect to parking or any other zoning issue, Plaintiff would
have an adequate remedy at law. Minn. Stat. 606.01 gives the
right to petition for writ of certiorari if there is no right of
judicial review. Upon review b writ of certiorari, any decision
that is “arbitrary, oppressive, unreasonable, fraudulent, under an
erroneous theory of law, or without any evidence to support
it,will be reversed. Dietz v. Dodge County, 47 N.W. 2d 237,
239 (Minn. 1992); Scott County Lumber v. City of Shakopee,
471 N.W. 2d 721, 727 (Minn. Ct. App. 1988), review denied
(Minn. Mar. 23, 1988).
Plaintiff also raised concerns that the zoning
ANG
administrator might hinder the issuance of a land permit and
thus prohibit an adult use business. The zoning administrator is
required to follow the ordinance and make decisions to
accomplish the purpose of the ordinance. An appeal may be
taken from any decision by the zoning administrator to a Board
of Adjustment. Benton County Development Code 11.4.7.
Minn. Stat. 394.27, Subd. 9 provides an appeal to the District
Court from a determination by the Board of Adjustment.
Consequently, any arbitrary or capricious decision by the zoning
administrator in the issuance of a land use permit would be
subject to appeal and review. The mere fact that the applicants
must provided information to a zoning administrator does not
render the ordinance impermissible, as long as a mechanism of
review is available. Mom N Pops, Inc. v. City of Charlotte,
162 F. 3d 1155 (4" Cir. 1998) (unpublished); Chesapeake B &
M, Inc. v. Harford City., 58 F. 3d 1005 (4 Cir.) cert. denied,
516 U.S. 1010 (1995).
CONCLUSION -
The County has identified 101 sites in unincorporated
Benton Count. The court finds 100 of those sites to be
reasonably available for location by an adult use facility.
Plaintiff must comply with ordinary land use regulations, which
apply to all commercial businesses. Any arbitrary or capricious
position taken by the county is subject to administrative and
ee
AY
Benton County has provided reasonable alterative
avenues of communication. Its adult use ordinance is
constitutional and enforceable.
judicial review.
AY8
STATE OF MINNESOTA IN DISTRICT COURT
COUNTY OF BENTON SEVENTH JUDICIAL
DITRICT |
Kismet Investors, Inc., a Court File No. CO-98-
1240
Minnesota corporation,
| FINDINGS OF FACT,
Plaintiff, CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
ORDER FOR PARTIAL
SUMMARY JUDGMENT,
V.
County of Benton,
Defendant.
The above-entitled matter came before
Honorable James W. Hoolihan, Judge of District Court,
on the 9" day of June 1999.
Randall D.B. Tigue, Esq., appeared on behalf of
the Plaintiff, Kismei Investors, Inc.
Kenneth H. Bayliss, Esq., appeared on behalf of
Defendant, County of Benton.
4 UG
The Court denied the Plaintiff's zoning appeal in
Count I of the Complaint in Findings of Fact,
Conclusions of Law and an Order of Judgment dated
April 2; 1999. The Defendant nowmoves the Court
summary judgment against the Plaintiff, Kismet
Investors, Inc. on Count II, III, and IV of the Plaintiff’s
Complaint. Count II of the Plaintiff's Complaint
challenges the constitutional validity of
the County’s zoning ordinance which regulates adult use
facilities within Benton County. Count III challenges
the reasonableness of Benton County Ordinance 242 in
its amortization provision. Count IV contends that
Benton County Ordinance 242 provides for an
unconstitutional taking of Plaintiff's property without
just compensation in violation of the Fifth and
Fourteenth Amendments of the United States
Constitution and Article I, Section 13 of the Minnesota
A.49
Constitution. /) LO
The Plaintiff has brought a motion to amend the
original Complaint in light of the passage of new
amendments to Minn. Stat. §394.21, Subd. 1a and Minn.
Stat. §462.357, Subd. 1c concerning zoning ordinances
and prohibitions on amortization by counties and local
municipalities.
Now, having duly considered the arguments of
counsel, the documents and proceedings herein, together
with the applicable law, this Court ORDERS:
The Defendant’s motion for summary judgment
on Count II of the Plaintiff's Complaint is DENIED.
An evidentiary hearing shall be scheduled on the sole
issue of whether Benton County has provided for
reasonable alternative avenues of cmmunication for
adult use Businesses.
The Defendant’s motion for summary judgment
on Count III of the Plaintiff's Complaint is GRANTED.
Ye
Ds;
The Plaintiff's motion to amend the original
Complaint in light of recently enacted Amendments to
Minn. Stat. § 394.21 and Minn. Stat. § 462.357 is
DENIED.
The attached memorandum constitutes the Findings of
Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order and Judgment of the
Court.
MEMORANDUM
Findings of Fact
Kismet Investors, Inc., the Plaintiff herein, is a 302A
corporation incorporated in December of 1996 under
Minnesota law. It has operated the business known as
“King’s on the Lake” in Benton County, Minnesota
since January 2, 1997. The business features live, nude
dance or cabaret entertainment and is currently doing
business as “The King’s Inn.” The business itself has
operated since September of 1993 under different
ownership. At that time, Benton County, the Defendant
herein, had a conditional use permit requirement for all
recreational uses, which included adult use facilities.
This previous ordinance was challenged by Plaintiffs
predecessors in interest and was both temporarily and
permanently‘enjoined by the United States
District Court in the District of Minnesota. See Mga
Susu, Inc. v. County of Benton, 853 F.Supp. 1147
(D.Minn. 1994) and Bukaka, Inc. v. County of Benton,
852 F. Supp. 807 (D. Minn.1993).
A sz
In June of 1993, Benton County was considering
whether, and in what form to adopt a new adult use
zoning ordinance. A scheduled discussion of the
potential regulation of adult use businesses was planned
and held on June 24, 1993 by the Benton County
Planning and Zoning Commission (Commission).
Assistant Benton County Attorney, Robert Raupp and
Planning and Zoning Administrator, Lynn Machula
presented information on the topic. Mr. Raupp
distributed a one-page outline on various legal aspects
of the regulation of adult use businesses. The outline
indicated that any zoning restrictions by Benton County
must be: 1) content-neutral; 2) time, place and manner
restrictions; 3) designed to serve a substantial
government interest; and 4) cannot unreasonably limit
alternative avenues of communication. As part of the
process of consideration of other ordinances and study
of possible secondary negative effects of adult use
businesses, a copy of the City of St. Cloud, Minnesota
adult use ordinance was also distributed to
the Commission. On July 22, 1993, Benton County
identified adult use facilities as continued topic of
discussion as it analyzed land use regulations and
ordinances. No adult use facilities were operating in
Benton County at this time. In September of 1993, the
Plaintiff's predecessor in interest, Bukaka, Inc., began
operation of an adult use business featuring nude dance
entertainment at the property which is the subject of the
instant case. A former ordinance in Benton County
A 52
N53
required all adult use facilities to obtain conditional use
permits. This ordinance was challenged and enjoined in
Mga Susu, Inc. v. County of Benton. 853 F. Supp. 1147
(D. Minn. 1994) and Bukaka, Inc. v. County of Benton,
852 F.Supp. 807 (D. Minn. 1993).
On November 18, 1993, Benton County Planning
and Zoning Commission continued discussion on adult
use land regulations, specifically addressing information
regarding concerns and activities of other municipalities
and their adult use establishments. Benton County
considered numerous other municipalities’ studies of
negative secondary effects of adult use businesses and
was aware of valid land use regulations which had been—
passed based upon the secondary effects analysis. The
Commission unanimously passes a resolution for the
County Attorney’s office to further research a possible
adult use ordinance and submit potential ordinance
language which was proper and enforceable.
On December 9, 1993, Mr. Raupp presented an update
on the status of the investigation of studies and
ordinances from other jurisdictions regarding adult use
land regulations. Mr. Raupp reported that he had
requested studies on adult use establishments for the
Commission to consider for this type of land use
activity. A neighborhood task force also presented
concerns to the Commission regarding negative
secondary effects of nude dancing establishments.
On December 28, 1993, Benton County published notice
of its intent to amend the County Development Code
A. SY
regarding adult use activities and to adopt an interim
ordinance. The notice scheduled both a Commission
meeting and a County Board meeting on the interim
ordinance. As required under Minnesota law, Benton
County published notice of open hearings on the interim
ordinance for public attendance on January 13™ and 18”
of 1994.
On January 13, 1994, a public hearing was held by the
Benton County Planning and Zoning Commission which
considered and took public comment upon an interim
ordinance regulating adult use facilities. The interim
ordinance prevented the construction or operation of
new adult use facilities. The interim ordinance
prevented the construction or operation of new adult use
facilities and had no impact on existing adult use
facilities. Two citizens spoke in favor of the interim
ordinance. No representative of the Plaintiff or
Plaintiff's predecessor in interest attended the hearing.
No person spoke against the interim ordinance.
On January 18, 1994, the Benton County Board
of Commissioners held a meeting and adopted an
interim ordinance (#236) to protect the planning process
concerning adult use facilities. No person from the
public spoke against the interim ordinance. Neither the
Plaintiff, nor the Plaintiff's predecessor in interest spoke
against the ordinance. The interim ordinance was
scheduled to expire on July 31, 1994 due to time
constraints imposed by the Minnesota Legislature.
On January 27, 1994, the Commission held a
work session meeting to continue to examine the need
A.54
N.ss
for adult use land regulations. The Commission
considered court interpretations of the rights of freedom
of expression under the First Amendment of the United
States Constitution and negative effects of adult use
facilities. The Commission looked at adult use
ordinances from St. Cloud, Minnesota; Ramsey,
Minnesota; Boston, Massachusetts; and Detroit,
Michigan. The Commission also discussed the
reasonable length of An amortization period based upon
the recoupment of capital investment. On February 24,
1994, the Commission held a meeting and discussed
issues regarding an adult use ordinance. The issues
included: First Amendment protection of speech and
expression, offering alternative avenues of
communication for adult use facilities, setback distances
from protected zoned area, property values and
marketability, crime Statistics, coordination with the
Benton County Plan, and regulation of negative
secondary effects as the focus of any regulation.
On March 24, 1994, the Commission held a
work session which provided published notice and was
open to the public. Discussed were property values
histories in Anoka and Morrison Counties, Minnesota.
On May 26, 1994, the Commission held a
publicly noticed meeting in which it Considered
adopting a proposed resolution. The proposed resolution
Stated:
Whereas, the Benton County Planning
Commission is concerned about the possible adverse
secondary effects of Sexually Oriented Businesses on
A. 55 a
AS
adjacent properties, and;
Whereas, the Benton County Planning Commission,
upon review of studies Conducted by the cities of
Phoenix, Arizona; Indianapolis, Indiana and Austin,
Texas is aware of an increase in overall crime rates in
areas near Sexually Oriented Businesses, and:
Whereas, the Benton County Planning Commission
wished to minimize the impact of traffic
congestion, glare and noise generated by the normal
operation of Sexually Oriented Businesses on adjacent
properties, and:
Whereas, the Benton County Planning Commission
seeks to minimize any potential negative impact on the
value and marketability of land adjacent to Sexually
Oriented Businesses, and;
Whereas, the Benton County Planning Commission
hopes to provide space for location of Sexually Oriented
Businesses in appropriately zoned districts in the
County, (emphasis added) (Benton County Planning
Commission, Minutes from Planning Session on May
26, 1994). The Planning Commission approved the
proposed resolution with the only modification being
replacement of the word “hopes’ with the word
“intends.”
The Commission resolved that concerns existed
regarding negative secondary effects
oust « $6
AST
related to adult uses of property and that it wished to
minimize the impact of traffic on the area,
glare and noise from any adult use establishments and
intended to protect property values and marketability
from any potential negative secondary effects of adult
use facilities. On June 23, 1994, the Commission held
another publicly noticed open work session on a
proposed adult use ordinance. It discussed specific
language from the City of Ramsey in Anoka
County, Minnesota, separate distances, amortization
periods and enforcement of zoning ordinances.
On June 28, 1994, Benton County published
notice of a final public hearing where both
the Commission and the Benton County had an intent to
amend the Benton County Development Code regarding
adult use establishments in Benton County. The notice
included Specific language of a proposed ordinance for
consideration and request for public input.
On July 14, 1994, the Commission had its final meeting
for consideration of the adult use Amendment. No one
at the meeting spoke in Opposition to the amendment. A
motion to approve the amendment passes on a
unanimous vote. Neither the Plaintiff not the Plaintiffs
predecessor in interest attended this or any other
Commission meeting concerning the regulation of adult
use facilities. :
On July 19, 1994, the Benton County Board held a
publicly noticed and regularly scheduled meeting. Ms.
4) Sg
Machula presented proposed amendments to the County
Development Code regarding adult use. The Board
voted unanimously to adopt the amendments, which
became Benton County Ordinance 242. The
preamble of the ordinance states the Commission
studied and reviewed various reports relating to the
secondary effects of adult uses, including reports from
St. Paul, MN; the Office of the Minnesota Attorney
General; Indianapolis, IN; Rochester, MN; Los Angeles,
CA; Phoenix, AR; Adams County, CO; Amarillo, TX;
and Austin, TX. The preamble specifically noted the
Amarillo, TX report which found increased traffic, noise
and glare from adult uses and the St. Paul, Austin, Los
Angeles and Indianapolis reports which found a
potentially negative impact on property values adjacent
to adult uses. The preamble expressly states an intent to
allow adult uses in the County in appropriately zoned
areas.
The adopted ordinance provides for an amortization
period as expressed in Benton County Development
Code 7.10.3. It states that nonconforming uses must
cease at the end of Approximately found year:
Adult uses established prior to the enactment of Benton
County Ordinance 235 shall be permitted and regulated
as nonconforming uses until July 31, 1998 at which time
such uses shall become unlawful. The ordinance also
provides a 500 foot setback requirement of adult use
facilities from esidentially-zoned areas. Benton County
Development Code, 7.10.2 states:
AS
“No adult use shall be alt within five hundred (500)
feet of: Any area zoned R-1, R-2, or R-3.” [residential
areas].
“Adult use facilities are allowed to
operated in B, B-2, I-1 and IJ-2 zones.”
The Plaintiff purchased the business knows as
The King’s Inn in January of 1997 and subsequently
purchased the real property, which is the subject of this
action, one year later in 1998 for approximately
$250,000 by contract for deed. At the time of the
purchase of the real property by the Plaintiff, the Benton
County Adult Used Ordinance #242 had been in istence
for approximately 3 14 years and compliance with the
setback provisions of the ordinance required the adult
used to cease within approximately six (6) months from
the date of the real property purchase. Plaintiffs current
business is lawfully in a B zoned area, however, it is
within 500 feet of a residentially-zoned area and is
located approximately 150 feet from the nearest
residence. This makes the Plaintiff's business a
nonconforming use and is the subject of the instant case.
The amortization period of the ordinance allowed the ~
Plaintiff to operated The King’s Inn as an
adult use business until July 31, 1998.
On July 22, 1998, Plaintiff applied for a variance
from the Board to continue operations after the end for
the amortization period. The application was received
by the Board approximately nine (9) days prior to the
4.Go
end of the amortization period. Hearings on the request
for a variance were held by the Board on August 20,
1998 and September 17, 1998. The board members
made a physical, on-site inspection of the property prior
to the August 20, 1998 hearing.
On August 20, 1998, the Board held a public
hearing for consideration of the Plaintiff's request. The
Plaintiff presented information from a planning review
performed by the Plaintiff's consultant, R. Bruce
McLaughlin. Plaintiff presented information regarding
the cost of improvements which were made to the
property and claimed it would suffer hardship if the
variance request was not granted. The Board decided to
table the request to the next scheduled Board meeting,
study and examine the information provided to it and
schedule a second on-site inspection of the property.
The Board inspected the property a second time
before the September 17, 1998 meeting to reconsider the
pplication for a variance from the Plaintiff.
The Board met on September 17, 1998 to
consider the variance application of the Plaintiff. A
public hearing was again held and the hearing was
recorded. The Board heard from several members of the
public concerning the granting of the variance for
continued operation of the adult business. At the
conclusion of the meeting, the Board denied the
requested variance and on October 15, 1998 issued
written findings on the separate factors required for
A. 6/
granting the variance. The Board specifically found that
the Plaintiff proposed to continue to operated an adult
use facility after the conclusion of the amortization
period. They also found:
(a) the proposed use is adult use, and is not
_ prohibited in the business
district in which it is located;
a) the variance would not be in
harmony with the general purposes
and intent of the Ordinance;
b) the Plaintiff had not demonstrated a
hardship;
c) the concerns of the Plaintiff were
solely economic:
d) the property could be put to an
alternative reasonable use; the Plaintiff failed to
demonstrated a plight that is due to circumstances
unique to the property;
e) the Plaintiff purchased the property
with constructive knowledge of the Ordinance;
f) the variance, if granted, would alter
the family neighborhood character of the locality.
The Plaintiff subsequently brought a four (4) count
complaint against the Defendant. The parties agreed to
bifurcate the issues and have the Court address the first
count which challenged the validity of the Benton
County Board of Adjustment’s denial of the variance
request.
In Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for
Judgment and Judgment, this Court affirmed the Board’s
A.o2
denial of the variance request as a valid exercise of its
power and denied Plaintiff's requested relief for a
temporary restraining order and a temporary injunction
against enforcement of Benton County Development
Code, Ordinance #242. See Kismet Investors, Inc.
v. County of Benton, File No. 05-C5-98-001240,
Findings of Fact, Conclusions of Law, Order for
Judgment and Judgment, dated Apnil 2, 1999.
The Defendant now moves the Court for an order
directing the entry of summary Judgment in its favor and
against the Plaintiff, Kismet Investor, Inc., in accordance
with Rule 56 of the Minnesota Rules of Civil Procedure
on Counts II, III, and IV of the Plaintiff's Complaint.
DISCUSSION AND CONCLUSIONS OF LAW
Summary judgment “shall be rendered forthwith
if the pleadings, depositions, answers to interrogatories,
and admissions on file, together with the affidavits, if
any, show that there is no genuine issue as to any
material fact and that either party is entitled to a
judgment as a matter of law.” Minn. R. Ciy. P. 56.03.
The party moving for summary judgment must
demonstrate that no genuine issue of material fact
exists. Thiele v. Stich, 425 N.W.2d 580, 583 (Minn.
1988).
The evidence must be 322. the light most-favorable to
the non-moving party. Offerdahl v. University of Minnesota,
426 N.W. 2d 425, 427 (Minn. 1988). The non-moving party
may not rest on mere averments or denials of the adverse
party's pleading but must present specific facts showing that
there is a genuine issue for trial. See Minn. R. Civ. Proc.
56.05. The mere existence of a scintilla of evidence in
support of the plaintiff's position will be insufficient, there
must be evidence on which the jury could reasonably find for
the plaintiff. Anderson v. Liberty Lobby, Inc., 477 U.S. 242,
252, 106 S. Ct. 2505, 91 L. Ed. 2d 202 (1986). After the
moving party makes out a prima facie case, the non-moving
party must come forward with facts that raise a genuine issue
for trial. Thiele, 425 N.>W. 2d at 583 (citing Celotex Corp.
v. Catrett, 477 U.S. 317, 324 (1986).
The court does niot resolve or decide issues of fact,
but only determines whether there are issues of material fact
to be tried. Nord v. Herreid, 305 N.W. 2d 337, 339 (Minn.
1981). Ifa plaintiff cannot support each essential element of
his or her claim, summary judgment must be granted because
a complete failure of proof regarding an essential element
necessarily renders all other facts immaterial. See Nicolle
Restoration, Inc v. City of St. Paul, 533 N.W. 2d 845, 848
(Minn. 1995) (citing Celotex, 477 U.S. at 322-23). Summary
judgment should not be granted if reasonable persons, after
reviewing the evidence, might reach different conclusions.
Jonathan v. Kvaal, 403 N.W. 2d 256, 259 (Minn. Ct. App.
1989). Speculation or general assertions, and promises to
produce evidence at trial are not sufficient to create a genuine
issue of material fact for trial. Bob Useldinger & Sons, Imc.
v. Hangsleben, 505 N.W. 2d 323, 328 (Minn. 1993)
(speculation); Erickson v. General United Life Ins. Co. 256
N.W. 2d 255, 259 (Minn. 1977) (general assertions).
I. Constitutionality of Benton County Adult use
Ordinance.
A
In Minnesota, the constitutionality of municipal
ordinances is presumed, including adult use
ordinances, and the burden of proving otherwise rests
on the party attacking its validity. City of Ramsey v.
Holmberg, 548 N.W. 2d 302, 305 (Minn. Ct. App.
1996) (citing City of St.Paul v. Dalsin, 245 minn.
325, 329, 71 N.W. 2d 855, 858 (1955)).
Establishments which offer nude dancing or nude
cabaret may be entitled to First Amendment
protection as a form of expression. See Koppinger v.
City of Fairmont, 311 Minn. 186, 248 N.W. 2d 708,
715 (Minn. 1976); California v. LaRue 409 U.S. 109,
118, 93 S. Ct. 390, 397, 34 L. Ed. 2d 342 (1972). In
order to survive First Amendment scrutiny, such
regulations must be content-neutral, “designed to
serve a substantial governmental interest” and cannot
unreasonably limit alternative avenues of
communication. City of Ramsey, 548 N.W. 2d at 305
(quoting Renton, 475 U.S. at 46, 106 S. Ct. at 928).
Where an ordinance does not ban adult uses
completely, but merely limits the areas in which they
may operate, it is properly analyzed as a time, place
and manner regulation. City of Ramsey, 548 N.W. 2d
at 305. See City of Renton v. Playtime Theaters,
Inc., 475 U.S. 41, 46,106 S. Ct. 925, 928, 89 L. Ed.
2d 29 (1986).
Since Benton County Ordinance No. 242 does not
ban adult use facilities in the County completely and attempts
to limit the areas in which they may operate, the regulation is
a time, place and manner regulation and is controlled by and
properly analyzed under the test in City of Renton v. Playtime
Theaters.
In applying the Renton rest, the first task is to
determine whether the ordinance is “content-neutral.” JLO
Investments, Inc. v. City of Rochester, 25 F. 3d 1413, 1416
(8" Cir. 1994). The term “content-neutral” is a term of art.
ALS
The fundamental principle that underlies the Court’s concern
with “content-based” speech regulations is that “government
may not grant the use of a forum to people whose views it
finds acceptable, but deny use to those wishing to express less
favored or more controversial views.” City of Renton, 475
U.S. at 48-49. (Quoting Police Dept. of Chicago v. Mosley,
408 U.S. 92, 95-96 S. Ct. 2286, 2289-90, 33 L. Ed. 2d 212
(1972)). “A regulation the serves purposes unrelated to the
content of expression is deemed neutral, even if it has an
incidental effect on some speakers or messages but not
others.” Ward v. Rock against Racism, 491 U.S. 781, 791,
109 S. Ct. 2746, 2754, 105 L. Ed. 2d 661 (1989). Local
governments may restrict adult businesses in order to curb
their unwanted “secondary effects.” City of Ramsey v.
Holmberg, 548 N.W. 2d 302, 360 (Minn. Ct. App. 1996)
(citing City of Renton at 49, 106 S. Ct. at 929-30. If the
county’s ordinance serves a purpose unrelated to the
expressive content of the sexually-oriented businesses the
county wants to regulate, the ordinance is deemed neutral,
even though the ordinance may affect those businesses
incidentally. Holmberg v. City of Ramsey, 12 F. 3d at 143
(citing Ward, 491 U.S. at 791, 109 S. Ct. at 2453). The
county may draw distinctions between entertainment
establishments and adult entertainment establishments
“without violating the government’s paramount obligation of
neutrality in its regulation of protected communication.” See
City of Renton, 475 U.S. at 49, 106 S. Ct. at 930 (quoting
Young v. American Mini-theaters, Inc., 427 U.S. 50, 70, 96
S. Ct. 2440, 2452, 49 L. Ed. 2d 310 (1976). The Supreme
Court noted in American Mini-Theaters, that “[i]t is the [e]
secondary effect which these zoning ordinances attempt to
avoid, not the dissemination of ‘offensive’ speech.” Id
(quoting American Mini-Theaters at 71, n. 34, 96 S. Ct. at
2453, n. 34). In JLQ, the Eighth Circuit has stated:
...even if a time, place and manner ordinances
regulates only businesses selling sexually explicitly materials,
AG
the ordinance is eos. 2 if its purpose is to lessen
undesirable secondary effects attributable to those businesses,
such as increased crime, lower property values, or
deteriorating residential neighborhoods.
ILO Investments, 25 F. 3d at 1416. See Holmberg,
12 F. 3d at 143; Doe v. City of Minneapolis, 898 F. 2d 612,
617 (8* Cir. 1990)
In the above-entitled matter, Benton County sought
to regulate adult use facilities without reference to the
content of the regulated speech (nude dance entertainment).
The ordinance seeks to limit the locations of sexually-oriented
adult use businesses from within 500 feet of protected areas.
Benton County Development Code 7.10.2 expressly state
that: “(A) Adult Uses shall be permitted in areas zoned B, B-
2, I-1 and I-2...” (Emphasis added). The ordinance by its
terms is designed to lessen the adverse secondary effects of
sexually -oriented businesses, i.e. adult uses. Such adverse
secondary effects which the commission found, based upon
review anc study of various reports were increased rates of
crime resulting from adult use businesses, negative impact on
surrounding neighborhoods; greater perpetration of crime on
children and other vulnerable persons; traffic, glare and noise
from adult use businesses; and the negative impact on the
value and marketability of adjacent properties. The ordinance
was not designed to suppress the expression of unpopular or
offensive communication or conduct.
Therefore, Benton County Ordinance 242 does not
involve an impermissible time, place and manner restriction
based on the content of expression. It is “content-neutral: in
its purpose to lessen unwanted negative secondary effects
attributable to adult uses businesses such as increased crime,
lessened quality of life for nearby residential neighborhoods
and possible lower property values and marketability in the
surrounding area. The ordinance survives attack on the first
test from City of Renton, as it is a content-neutral ordinance.
N.67
The second pat of the test in Renton is to determine
whether the regulation serves a substantial government
interest. Regulations reasonably designed to curb unwanted
secondary effects of sexually oriented businesses serve a
substantial governmental interest. JLO Investments, 25 F. 3d
at 140, 143 (8 Cir. 1993). In order for Benton County to
prove that its ordinance is narrowly tailored to the
government interest, it must prove that adult uses cause
negative secondary effects. See City of Crystal v. Fantasy
House, Inc., 569 NW. 2f 225, 229 (Minn. Ct. App. 1997). In
determining whether the secondary effects of adult businesses
justify regulation, a city is not required to conduct its own
study, but may rely on the studies and experiences of other
cities, “so long as whatever evidence the [county] relies upon
is reasonably believe to be relevant to the problem that the
[county] addresses.” City of Ramsey, 548 N.W. 2d at 306
(quoting City of Renton, 475 U.S. at 51-52, 106 S. Ct. at
931) (emphasis added).
The Plaintiff argues that Benton County relied upon
studies which “were drafted with preconceived notion{s] of
coming up with evidence to justify restrictions upon adult
entertainment,” that such secondary effects were unlikely to
occur in rural Benton County and that little too adverse
secondary effects have occurred in connection to the
plaintiff’ s business.
As the courts have addressed numerous times in JLO
Investments, Inc. v. City of Crystal, City of Ramsey and City
of Renton, “that is simply not the law.” JLO Investments,
Inc., 25 F. 3d at 1418. “{T]he requirement of narrow
tailoring is satisfied ‘so long as the ...regulation promotes a
substantial government interest that would be achieved less
effectively absent the regulation.” Id (citing Ward, 491 U.S.
at 799, 109 S. Ct. at 2758 (quoting United States v.
Albertini, 482 U.S. 675, 689, 105 S. Ct.2897, 2906, 86 L.
Ed. 2d 536 (1985))). A county only needs to prove that the
ordinance targets businesses, “reasonably believed to produce
A.GZ
NO & ,
at least some of the unwanted secondary effects...” City of
Crystal, 569 N.W. 2d at 230 (quoting JLQ Investments, Inc.,
25 F. 3d at 1418).
Under Renton, Benton County dses not need to prove
that the King’s Inn would have the same negative secondary
effects on its surroundings as other adult use businesses
studies in St. Paul, MN; the Office of the Minnesota Attorney
General; Indianapolis, IN; Rochester, MN; Los Angeles, CA;
Phoenix, AR; Adams County, CO; Amarillo, TX; and Austin,
TX. It is enough that Benton County Ordinance 242 affects
only categories of businesses reasonably believed to produce
at least some of the unwanted secondary effects. As stated in
City of Renton, “the city must be allowed a reasonable
opportunity to experiment with solutions to admittedly
serious problems.” City of Renton, 475 U.S. at 52, 106 S.
Ct. at 931 (quoting American Mini-Theaters, 427 U.S. at 71,
96 S. Ct. at 2453, 49 L. Ed. 2d 310) (plurality opinion).
Therefore, as stated in City of Crystal, the question becomes:
did Benton County reasonably believe that the studies relied
upon were relevant to restricting adult use facilities?
Benton County relied upon numerous studies which
viewed adult use and sexually-oriented businesses, both
within Minnesota and outside of it and in both rural and urban
settings. Those studies identified specific adverse secondary
effects attributable to adult use businesses and it is reasonable
for Benton County to have relied upon them in establishing
their ordinance. The studies examined reasonably similar
businesses which provided the commission and the Benton
County Board sufficient information to enact the ordinance.
This satisfies the second part of the Renton test. Any
businesses effected by the ordinance are those the county
reasonably believe cause adverse secondary effects.
The plaintiff argues that the studies were flawed and
has resented evidence and affidavits to show that the studies
liking adverse secondary effects to the King’s Inn specifically
are not credible.
—A.68
N64
The law is whether + County reasonable believe
the studies were relevant to the problems addressed by the
ordinance at the time it enacted the ordinance. The county
enacted the ordinance on the strength of thorough research,
documented studies, public hearings and considered
deliberations. As the new studies and evidence were not
before the commission or the Benton County Board at the
time of the enactment of the ordinance, they were not part of
the commissioners or the Board members deliberations.
When the county passed the ordinance, it had evidence before
it that adult use businesses like the plaintiff's produced
unwanted negative secondary effects in the surrounding
community. The plaintiffs argument fails to raise a genuine
issue of fact as to whether Benton County reasonably
believed that the businesses to which the ordinance applies
produce at least some of the negative secondary effect shown
in the studies which were considered. See City of Ramsey v.
Holmberg, 548 N.W. 2d 302, 306 (Minn. Ct. App. 1996).
The third part of the Renton test is to determine
whether Benton County ordinance, which restricts free
speech in order to control the negative secondary effects of
adult use businesses, provides reasonable alternative avenues
of communication for the exercise of that First Amendment
right.
In making this determination, the First Amendment
requires Benton County to refrain from effectively denying
the plaintiff a reasonable opportunity to operate or open an
adult use facility within the county. See City of Renton, 475
U.S. at 54, 106 S. Ct. at 932. The Supreme Court has stated
this does not means “that the First Amendment compels the
government to ensure that adult theaters, or any other kinds
of speech-related businesses for that matter, will be able to
ontsin sites at bargain prices.” American Mini-Theaters, Inc.,
427 US. at 71, n. 35, 96 S. Ct. at 2453, n. 35 (plurality
opinion).
In the above-entitled action, the Defendants assert
4\20
that there are over 2400 acres available for commercial and
industrial uses in Benton County. Of these, they claim that
there are dozens of commercial and industrial sites within the
county where a locating adult use business would not run
afoul of setbacks. The Plaintiff asserts that virtually all of the
industrial zones available for adult uses could be eliminated
since generic commercial uses are excluded from the entire
industrial zone. It also asserts that virtually all of the
available land is unplatted and rural in nature. This could
allow the Defendants to indefinitely delay acting to permit a
subdivision and grants the county unfettered discretion in
placing conditions upon the approval of subdivision
development.
In light of the parties’ assertions regarding land
availability, a genuine issue of material fact exists as to
whether reasonable alternative avenues of communication are
provided for adult use businesses. This precludes the court
from granting summary judgment to Defendant and requires
that an evidentiary hearing be held to make a determination
on the issue.
In summary, Benton County ordinance No. 242 is
content-neutral and is narrowly tailored to serve a substantial
governmental interest. A fact issue exists as to whether the
ordinance provides reasonable alternative avenues of
communication for adult use facilities.
i Amortization Period Reasonableness
As stated, Benton County ordinance provides a four
(4) years amortization period for nonconforming adult
uses to comply with the zoning ordinance. Benton
County Code 7.10.3 states:
Adult uses established prior to the enactment of
Benton County Ordinance No. 235 shall be permitted and
regulated as nonconforming uses until July 31, 1998, at which
A
time such uses shall become unlawful, unless they conform to
the requirements of Sec. 7.10.22.
Minn. Stat. Sec. 394.21 grants counties the authority
to carry on their planning and zoning activities. The statute
states: “Except most populous counties. For the purpose of
promoting the health, safety, morals and general welfare of
the community any county in the state having less than
300,000 population according to the 1950 federal census is
authorized to carry on county planning and zoning activities.”
Minn. Stat. Sec. 394.21, Subd. 1 998). Minn. Stat. Sec.
394.36 provides counties with the power to regulate
nonconforming uses. It states:
Nonconformities.
Subdivision 1. Continuous or it ends. Any nonconformity
including the lawful use or occupation of land or premises
existing at the time of the adoption of an official control
hereunder may be continued, except as regulated, terminated
or acquired by the board as provided in subdivision 2 or 3...
Subd. 2. Regulation. The board may by ordinance adopt
such regulations not contrary to law as it deems desirable or
necessary to classify, regulate and control, reduce the number
or extent of and provide for the gradual elimination of
Nonconformities and occupancies, including requiring
Nonconformities to conform with the official controls of the
county or terminate within a reasonable time as specified in
the official controls...(emphasis added).
Amortization periods have been upheld by both state
and deferral courts as long as they are reasonable. See
Naegele Outdoor Advertising Co. of Minn. v. Village of
Minnetonka, 281 Minn. 492, 162 N.W. 2d 206 (Minn. 1968);
Alexander v. City of Minneapolis, 928 F. 2d 278 (8* Cir.
1991); Holmberg v. City of Ramsey, 12 F. 3d 140 (8 Cir.
A. 7 lemme
AN
1993). In Naegele, the Minnesota Supreme Court noted:
“In order to make this power to create
exclusively residential districts effective,
municipalities must have the power to prohibit
the construction of future nonconforming uses
and to require the removal of old ones. The
continued presence of preexisting
nonconforming commercial uses within these
residential districts may reasonably be found
to vitiate the effectiveness of the entire
comprehensive municipal plan... The
legislature, in giving municipalities broad land-
use-planning powers, could not have intended
to render them ineffective by denying the
municipalities the power to eliminate
preexisting nonconforming uses. Thus, even
though the enabling nonconforming uses, such
a power is necessarily implied from the broad
grant of power to establish and implement a
comprehensive municipal plan.
Naegele Outdoor Advertising, 281 Minn. at 504, 162
N.W. 2d at 215. -
In Minnesota, amortization periods of two (2) and
three (3) years have been upheld. See Naegele Outdoor
Advertising, 281 Minn. 492, 162 N.W. 2d 206 (Minn. 1968)
(three year amortization period reasonable) and AVR, Inc. v.
City of St. Louis Park, 585 N.W. 2d 411 (Minn. Ct. App.
1998) (two year amortization period reasonable).
In light of the foregoing, the four (4) year
amortization period enacted by the Benton County Planning
and Zoning Commission and Benton County Board is
reasonable and constitutional as authorized under Minnesota
state law.
The plaintiff has subsequently moved the county for
al gt ti icine
AR
amend its complaint to assert a claim under the newly
adopted Minnesota law which prohibits amortization
ordinances from being adopted or enforced by counties or
municipalities within the state. Minn. Stat. Sec. 394.21 was
amended by adding a subdivision to read:
Subd. la. Amortization Prohibited. Except as
otherwise provided in this subdivision, a
county, regardless of population, under this
chapter or under a special or local law, must
not enact, amend, or enforce an ordinance
proving for the elimination or termination of a
use by amortization which use was lawful at
the time of its inception. This subdivision
does not apply to adults-only bookstores,
adults-only theaters, or similar adults-only
businesses, as defined by ordinance (emphasis
added).
Minn. Stat. Sec. 394.21, Subd. 1a (1999).
The statute was recently enacted and signed into law
on April 23, 1999 and provides clear and unambiguous
language which excepts adult use businesses from the
prohibited amortization. In light of the fact that the language
States that adult-only businesses are those defined by
ordinance and the Plaintiff has stipulated that the King’s Inn
is an adult use businesses under the definition of the
ordinance, the Plaintiff's business is an exception to the
recently amended statute. Therefore, the Plaintiff's motion to
amend its complaint to assert a claim under the amended
statute is denied.
Ill. Taking
The plaintiff concedes in its argument that under Myron
v. City of Plymouth, 562 N.W. 2d 21 (Minn.Ct. App.
A7Y
1997) (aff'd without opinion, 581 N,W. 2d 815 (Minn.
1998), one who purchases property subject to zoning
restrictions cannot argue that the pre-existing
regulations constitute a constitutional taking. It does
asset that under the Minnesota Constitution, private
property shall not be taken, destroyed or damaged for
public use without just compensation therefor, first paid
or secured (emphasis added). MINN CONST., Art I,
Sec. 13. The Plaintiff claims its property has been
damaged because its value as an adult use facility has
been diminished considerably by the zoning ordinance
and setback requirement. Plaintiff contends the building
is “useless” for any other purpose than nude dance
entertainment without large expenditures.
It would be inconsistent to interpret the takings clause
of the Minnesota Constitution to allow relief to one for damage
to property where they purchased said property with knowledge
that it is encumbered by zoning regulations and not to allow
compensation for the taking of that same property which is
equally so encumbered. In order to establish an unconstitutional
taking a landowner must demonstrate he has been deprived,
through governmental action or inaction, of all the reasonable
uses of its land. Heller v. Wolner, 269 N.W. 2d 31 (Minn.
1978); Czech v. City of Blaine, 253 N.W. 3d 272 (Min. 1977).
The simple assertion that Plaintiff's building is more
valuable as a nude dance establishment facility than any other
use has been determined to be without merit. “[I]t is too
fundamental for citation or authorities that rezoning, which is
otherwise valid, does not give rise to an action for damages
because the land in question may be more valuable for some
other purpose.” Holeway v. City of Pipestone, 269 N.W. 2d
28, 30 (Minn. 1978) (quoting Almquist v. Town of Marshan,
—— 308 Minn. 52, 69, 245 NPY. 2d 819, 828 (Minn. 1976).
Therefore, the Plaintiffs claim for an unconstitutional
taking or damaging of property is rejected by the court under
A?s -Ag2
the United States and the Minnesota Constitution. As stated in
Myron and applied to this case, “[plaintiff] knew [it] was taking
a “gamble” when [it] purchased the property. The price
presumably reflected the zoning restriction, and [plaintiff]
therefore, may not now claim that the [County] has taken
property rights from [it] without just compensation.” Myron v.
City of Plymouth, 562 N.W. 2d 21, 24 (Minn. Ct. App. 1997).
Order for Judgment
The Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on
Count II of the Plaintiff's complaint is DENIED. An
evidentiary hearing will be scheduled on the sole issue of
whether Benton County has provided for reasonable alternative
avenues of communication for adult use businesses. The
Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on Count III of the
Plaintiff's complaint is GRANTED. J
The Defendant’s motion for summary judgment on
Count IV of the Plaintiff's complaint is GRANTED.
The Plaintiff's motion to amend the original complaint
in light of recently enacted amendments to Minn. Stat. Sec.
394.21 and Minn. Stat. Sec. 462.357 is DENIED.
Dated this 7” day of July, 1999
/s/
James W. Hoolihan
District Judge
Let Judgment be Entered Accordingly,
I hereby certify that the foregoing constitutes the judgment of
this court.
Dated: 7/1/99 A 33
TIMOTHY R. ROBERTS.
Court Administrator.
/s/
Deputy Court Administrator
A,34
STATE OF MINNESOTA BENTON COUNTY
COUNTY OF BENTON BOARD OF ADJUSTMENT
In the matter of the Variance Request of:
KISMET INVESTORS, INC. File No. 9800403
WHEREAS, Kismet Investors, Inc, d/b/a King’s Inn,
applied for a variance from Sec. 7.10.3(A) of the Benton County
Development Code; and
WHEREAS, public hearings regarding said application
were held on August 20" and September 17, 1998; and
WHEREAS, upon consideration of all the evidence,
documents and testimony presented herein, the Board of
Adjustments makes the following:
FINDINGS
1. That the proposed use is an adult use, and is not
prohibited in the business district in which it is located. 7
2. That the requested variance would not be in harmony
with the general purposes and intent of the Benton County
|
A, 85
Development Code, which provides for the gradual elimination of
nonconforming uses and structures.
( 3. That the applicant has not demonstrated a hardship
within the meaning of the Benton County Development Code and
Minn. Stat. Sec. 394.27.
4. That the concerns expressed by the applicant are solely
economic in nature.
5. That the property in question could be put to the
reasonable use if used under the conditions allowed by the
Development Code. The property and existing building have, prior
to the applicant’s purchase, been used as a restaurant and resort,
and could be used in a similar manner again.
6. That the applicant has failed to demonstrate a plight that
is due to circumstances unique to the property.
7.. That the applicant purchased the property after the adult
use provisions of the Benton County Development Code were ;
enacted and, therefore, had constructive knowledge of those
provisions when the property was purchased.
A. 86
8. That the variance , if granted, would alter the family
neighborhood character of the locality.
Based upon the foregoing, the Board of Adjustments finds
that the applicant has failed to demonstrate that it qualifies for a
variance pursuant to M.S. Sec. 394.27 and Sec. 11.5.1 of the
Benton County Development Code, and the applicant’s variance
request is hereby DENIED.
/s/
Bruce Binnie, Chair
Subscribed and sworn
to before me this 15"
day of Oct., 1998.
/s/
Notary Public
aA.8Lo
ADULT USE ORDINANCE
Benton County, Minnesota
Ordinance #
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission is
concerned about the possible adverse secondary effects of sexually
oriented businesses on adjacent properties; and,
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission has
reviewed and studied the following reports relating to Sexually
Oxented Businesses, also referred to herein as Adults Uses:
Adult Entertainment , a 40-Acre Study, St. Paul, Mn,
Department of Planning and Economic Development (1987,
Supplemented 1988), EL —
Attorney General, State of Minnesota (1989); Adult Entertainment
Businesses in Indianapolis, Indiana (1984); Adult Entertainment
Perspectives, Rochester/Olmsted, MN, Consolidated Planning
Department (1988); Study of the Effects of the Concentration of
Adult Business Study, Planning Department, wade of Phoenix, AZ
Oriented Business in Austin, TX; (1986), all of which are hereafter
collectively referred to as “Reports” and,
WHEREAS, the Planning Commission finds, based upon
the Reports, that Sexually Oriented Businesses have an impact on
the neighborhoods surrounding them which is distinct from the
impact caused by other commercial uses; and
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission
finds, based upon the Reports completed by the cities of Phoenix,
Indianapolis, and Austin, that the rate of overall crime is greater in
areas near Sexually Oriented Businesses; and
WHEREAS, because of the increased potential for criminal
behavior in areas near sexually oriented business, the Planning
Commission seeks to separate such businesses from areas in which
children and other persons who are particularly vulnerable to crime
may be expected to frequent; and
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission,
after review of the report completed for the city of Amarillo, TX,
finds that sexually oriented businesses can result in traffic, glare
and noise, in excess of that created by other businesses by virtue of
their hours of operation; and
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission
wishes to minimize the negative impact of traffic, glare and noise
on adjacent properties; and
A.
WHEREAS, the Planning Commission finds, based
upon
the Reports completed for the cities of St. Paul, Austin, Los
Angeles, and Indianapolis, that sexually oriented businesses have
potentially negative impact on the value and marketability of
properties adjacent to those businesses; and
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission
seeks to minimize any potential negative impact on the value of
land adjacent to sexually oriented businesses; and
WHEREAS, the Reports conclude the adverse impacts
which sexually oriented businesses have on surrounding areas
diminish as the distance from the sexually oriented businesses
increases; and
WHEREAS, the Benton County Planning Commission
intends to provide space for location of sexually oriented
businesses in appropriately zoned districts in the county; and
WHEREAS, on June 28, 1994, a notice of public heating
and intent to amend development code was published in the
newspaper and mailed to the governing bodies of all towns and
municipalities located within Benton County; and
WHEREAS, on July 14, 1994, the Planning Commission
held a public hearing thereon and recommended that the following
amendment be enacted; now
THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED that the Benton
County Planning Commission recommends that the following test
be added as Sec. 7.10 of the Benton County Development Code,
Ordinance No. 185:
7.10
ADULT USES
7.10.1 For the purposes of this section, the following definitions
shall apply:
Adult uses: Adult uses include adult bookstores, adult motion
picture theaters, adult mini-motion picture theaters, adult massage
parlors, adult steam room/bathhouse facilities, adult enterprises,
businesses or places open to some or all members of the public at
or in which there is an emphasis on the presentation, display,
depiction or description of “specified sexual activities” or
“specified anatomical areas” which are capable of being seen by
members of the public.
Adult bookstore: _a building or portion of a building used for
the barter, rental or sale of items consisting of printed matter,
pictures, slides, records, audiotape, videotape, or motion picture
film if a substantial or significant portion of such items are
distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on the depiction or
description of “specified sexual activities’ or “specified anatomical
areas” or the barter, rental or sale or instruments, devices, or
paraphernalia that are designed for use in connection with specified
\ sexual activities, “substantial or significant portion of items,” for
purposes of this ordinance, shall mean more than fifteen (15)
percent of usable floor area.
Adult cabaret: A building or portion of a building used for
providing dancing or other live entertainment, if such building or
portion of a building excludes minors by virtue of age, or if such
dancing or other live entertainment is distinguished or
characterized by an emphasis on the presentation, display,
depiction or description of “specified sexual activities” or
“specified anatomical areas.”
Adult conversation/rap parlor: A conversation/rap parlor which
excludes minors by reason of age, or which provides the service of
_ engaging in or listening to conversation, talk, or discussion, if such
service is distinguished or characterized by an emphasis on
“specified sexual activities” or “specified anatomical areas.”
Adult health/sports club: A health/sports club which excludes
minors by reason of age, or if such club is distinguished or
characterized by an emphasis on “specified sexual activities’ or
“specified anatomical areas”
Adult massage parlor: A massage parlor which restricts minors
by reason of age, or which provides the service of “massage” if
such service if distinguished or chara
This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.
This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.