Petition for Writ of Certiorari — St. John's United Church of Christ v. City of Chicago (No. 07-1127)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

® 071127 MAR 3- 2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 07

| IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

St. JOHN’S UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST, et al.,

Petitioners,

v.

CITY OF CHICAGO, et al.,

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

RONALD D. ROTUNDA CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN*

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY ROBERT E. COHN

SCHOOL OF LAW DOMINIC F.. PERELLA

3301 Fairfax Drive HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

Arlington, VA 22201 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

(703) 993-8041 Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5719

*Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

(additional counsel listed on inside cover)

WILSON-EPES PRINTING CO., INC. — (202) 789-0086 — WasninGTon, D. C. 20002

QUESTION PRESENTED

Illinois amended a state law to withdraw from one

religious group a_ statutory protection that it

continues to offer to all other religious. groups in the

State. In evaluating a Free Exercise challenge to

this law, a divided panel of the Seventh Circuit

refused to apply strict scrutiny: It held that the law

remained neutral and of general applicability

because the State, in treating this religious group

differently, was pursuing a secular objective, not a

religiously motivated one.

The rule adopted by the Seventh Circuit has been

embraced by the First, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits. In

contrast, four other Circuits—the Third, Sixth,

Tenth, and Eleventh—have held that legislative

motivation is irrelevant; a law that singles out

religion for unique burdens is categorically not

neutral and of general applicability, regardless of

whether the law’s goals are secular and benign.

The question presented is: Whether the Seventh

Circuit correctly held that a law extending a benefit

to some religious groups but withholding it from

others is neutral and of general applicability simply

because “the legislature had [a] nondiscriminatory

purpose” in adopting the law.

(i)

ii

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners are St. John’s United Church of Christ,

Helen Runge, and Shirley Steele. They were

plaintiffs in the District Court and appellants before

the United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit.

Respondents are the City of Chicago (“Chicago”),

the Federal Aviation Administration (“FAA”), and

FAA Acting Administrator Robert A. Sturgell.

Chicago, the FAA, and former FAA Administrator

Marion C. Blakey were defendants in the District

Court and appellees before the United States Court

of Appeals for the Seventh Circuit.

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTION PRESENTED..u.....ceccccccsssssessscesssseeccessssee i

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGG........cccccccssseeestes ii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES. ...........ccccosesscccscsseeccccssove v

SS EAR RE a 1

ee as 2

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION

Gere 2

DINE 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE .......essccccccssssesesccsssossees: 5

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT.............- 12

I. THE RULING BELOW EXACER-

BATES AN EXISTING CIRCUIT

A. Four Circuits Hold That Laws

Singling Out Religion For

Differential Treatment Are

Categorically Not Neutral And

Generally Applicable....................ccesesseeseeeess 13

B. Four Circuits Have Adopted A.

eis dsdupcuanadocs 18

II. THE SEVENTH CIRCUIT’S RULING

CONFLICTS WITH THIS COURT'S

Pe NSE co cchrivissedsiansitcdsiansinarssidsecssncisecss 23

Ill. THE CASE PRESENTS AN IDEAL

VEHICLE TO ADDRESS AN

IMPORTANT AND RECURRING

NE iss cn destissnostastskopsschobeoateigdintceas init 30

accom

iv

TABLE OF CONTENTS—Continued

LE ED TELE

APPENDICES

APPENDIX A:

Opinion of the Court of Appeals,

dated September 13, 2007...................

APPENDIX B:

Memorandum Opinion and Order of

the District Court, dated

November 16, 2006.......:..:.00..0......0000

APPENDIX C:

Order Denying Rehearing, dated

OUI Be IEE oo nc sess ccc nchacabnasaccs

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

Cases:

Blackhawk v. Pennsylvania,

BO1l F.30 202 (3a Cir. 2004) ........cscccseccccccsocees 16,

Braxton v. United States, 500 U.S. 344

ERIN Biases ces asaeadandsdsunakonenenses Giidchstiens mcacaaninedcesdianes be

Central Va. Cmty. Coll. v. Katz,

BOT ois ects estan crsens 31

Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye Inc. v.

City of Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1998)........... passim

Columbia Union College v. Clark,

Bee Oe Be Chk ceschecobiasersteiieiscosccesessnsesstens 22

Employment Div., Dep’t of Human Res.

of Or. v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990)........... passim

Fraternal Order of Police Newark Lodge

No. 12 v. City of Newark, 170 F.3d 359

(3d Cir.), cert. denied, 528 U.S. 817

KDM ex rel. WJM v. Reedsport Sch.

Dist., 196 F.3d 1046 (9th Cir. 1999),

cert. denied, 531 U.S. 1010 (2000)................. 19,

KDM ex rel. WJM v. Reedsport Sch.

Dist., 210 F.3d 1098 (9th Cir. 2000).......... §, 21,

Kissinger v. Board of Trustees, 5 F.3d

177 (6th Cir. 19998).............. i iikguiiae Nees cknantane 7,

Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228 (1982)..............00.

Locke v. Davey, 540 U.S. 712 (2004) 0... eens

(v)

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Lyng v. Northwest Indian Cemetery

Protective Ass’n, 485 U.S. 439 (1988).................. 11

Maislin Indus. U.S., Inc. v. Primary

Steel, Inc., 497 U.S. 116 (1990) .............2...00000e0ee 32

Midrash Sephardi v. Town of Surfside,

366 F.3d 1214 (11th Cir. 2004), cert.

denied, 543 U.S. 1146 (2008)............. 15, 16, 17, 21

Shrum v. City of Coweta, 449 F.3d 1132

CIE SII ci hnsedisdnbaipsbiduboincdebasesaocsace passim

Strout v. Albanese, 178 F.3d 57 (1st Cir.),

cert. denied, 528 U.S. 931 (1999)............. 18, 19, 20

Tenafly Eruv Ass'n, Inc. v. Borough of

Tenafly, 309 F.3d 144 (3d Cir. 2002)................... 17

Village of Arlington Heights v.

Metropolitan Housing Dev. Corp., 429

ns cancabeconens 25, 26

Village of Bensenville v. FAA,

457 F.3d 52 (D.C. Cir. 2006)...................02.220. 12, 31

World Wide St. Preachers Fellowship

v. Town of Columbia, 245 Fed. Appx.

es pemnsebepuniiah 21

Constitution:

SS ETE AMR Tae 2

ee I, I oi od iu ccs ve cuhutadbateen 26

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continued

Page

Statutes:

Be Asa ED aiilen sh descasonnsuenapsovornsnsnetubesnnnandannti 2

716 Tl. Comm. Stat. & SEINE wince. scsces0ccosccs.neeaee 7

Te ee Is Ss a oinistncccdicendsccoccccasniciadewiess 7

Rules:

RN Te ID Biss soi sdesoncaeackisvicbinbgsbaecedssmienabuons eres

i ME HI ait cisliniisaainiudicasabiitilenieipisitwanabinpsmesuteeeisns 23

ie asia anes nictcis chsnlincconaas 2

Other Authorities:

Carol M. Kaplan, The Devil Is in the

Details: Neutral, Generally Applicable

Laws and Exceptions from Smith,

75 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1045 (2000) ......sssssccccssssessesssseees 5

Douglas Laycock, The Supreme Court

and Religious Liberty, 40 Cath. Law.

ii cthatiivechanninleesskihacibtanssccpianas sxeooieds 22, 21, 20

Douglas Laycock, Theology Scholarships,

The Pledge of Allegiance, and

Religious Liberty: Avoiding the

Extremes but Missing the Liberty,

118 Harv. L. Rev. 155 (2004)...............c0c0cecceccss000 27

Michael W. McConnell, Institutions and

Interpretation: A Critique of City of

Boerne v. Flores, 111 Harv. L. Rev. 153

Rika ha decisis ica Lt gelesen iia igh ce hanes Zedtninaeneeamintios 27

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES—Continue

Page

The New Shorter Oxford English

I aa ii in api ssiseninjansiunsccdnbnenkeie

Laurence H. Tribe, American

Constitutional Law § 5-16 (3d ed. 2000).............

5 Ronald D. Rotunda & John E. Nowak,

Treatise on Constitutional Law:

Substance and Procedure § 21.6 (3d ed.

Sarah Waszmer, Taking It Out of

Neutral: The Application of Locke’s

Substantial Interest Test to the School

Voucher Debate, 62 Wash. & Lee L.

BU SIE CE aiksakncicsn cies pusatccibenptpnndaschbeonbieonin

On Cats CEN eT:

Syftas Sy.

ts Nek a hy i Sate oS a Me a ek ts ig Sota earl &

IN THE

Supreme Court of the United States

No. 07-

St. JOHN’S UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST, et ai.,

Petitioners,

v.

CITY OF CHICAGO, et al., :

Respondents.

Petition for a Writ of Certiorari to the

United States Court of Appeals

for the Seventh Circuit

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

St. John’s United Church of Christ and two of its

members, Helen Runge and Shirley Steele

(collectively “St. John’s”), respectfully petition for a

writ of certiorari to review the judgment of the

United States Court of Appeals for the Seventh

Circuit.

OPINIONS BELOW

The opinion of the Seventh Circuit affirming the

District Court’s dismissal of petitioners’ Free

Exercise claim is reported at 502 F.3d 616 and

reprinted in the appendix hereto (“App.”) at la. The

opinion of the District Court is reported at 401 F.

Supp. 2d 887 and reprinted at App. 64a.

2

JURISDICTION

The judgment of the Court of Appeals was entered

on September 13, 2007. App. 2a. A timely petition

for rehearing and rehearing en banc was denied on

December 4, 2007. App. 105a. The jurisdiction of

this Court rests on 28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).!

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISION INVOLVED

The First Amendment to the United States

Constitution provides in pertinent part: “Congress

shall make no law respecting an establishment of

religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof.”

INTRODUCTION

In Employment Division, Department of Human

Resources of Oregon v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990),

and Church of Lukumi Babalu Aye Inc. v. City of

Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520 (1993), this Court held that a

law does not offend the Free Exercise Clause so long

as it is neutral and generally applicable.

In the 15 years since, the lower courts have divided

over a fundamental question: whether a law that

singles out religious activity for differential

treatment categorically lacks neutrality or general

applicability. Four circuits have held that it does.

But with the decision below, the Seventh Circuit

joins three other circuits that have taken the

opposite approach: They have held that a law

' Because their lawsuit challenges the constitutionality of a

state statute, petitioners. named state officials in their

complaint. The State of Illinois, however, moved to dismiss,

arguing that Chicago was the proper defendant. The District

Court dismissed the State on March 29, 2005. Since then, none

of the parties has served the State with any pleadings.

Nevertheless, petitioners have served a copy of this Petition on

the Attorney General of Illinois. See S. Ct. R. 29.4(c).

3

imposing this sort of differential treatment remains

neutral and generally applicable unless the law’s

object was to target the affected religious activity

because of its religious nature.

At issue below was the Illinois Religious Freedom

Restoration Act (“Illinois RFRA”). As first enacted,

the Illinois RFRA provided all religious exercise with

across-the-board protection against governmental

‘intrusion. In 2003, however, the legislature

amended the [Illinois RFRA to withdraw its

protections from one religious group: those who

worship at religious cemeteries located adjacent to

O’Hare International Airport. The legislature

stripped RFRA protection from this group because

the religious cemeteries supposedly interfered with

Chicago’s desire to expand O’Hare.

A divided panel of the Seventh Circuit deemed this

amendment “neutral,” even though it singles out a

tiny subset of religious observers,. and “generally

applicable,” even though it leaves the Illinois RFRA’s

protections applicable to some religious observers but

not others. App. 36a. The court so held because it

reduced the Free Exercise inquiry to one outcome-

determinative question: “whether the object of the

flaw] was ‘to infringe upon or restrict practices

because of their religious motivation.’” App. 32a

(quoting Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 533). Concluding that

the legislature was motivated not by religion but by

a desire to ease O’Hare’s expansion, the court

answered in the negative and ended the inquiry.

The panel majority thus embraced a rule that three

other circuits—the First, Fifth, and Ninth—have

endorsed: Unless the object of a law is to impose

special burdens on certain religious groups because

of religion, strict scrutiny is not triggered. But the

4 ;

dissenting judge below (Ripple, J.) and four

circuits—the Third, Sixth, Tenth, and Eleventh—

have taken exactly the opposite approach: They

have rejected a motive requirement and held that

strict scrutiny applies whenever religious practice is

subjected to objectively unequal treatment, even if

that unequal treatment “was the means to an

entirely secular end.” Shrum v. City of Coweta, 449

F.3d 1132, 1144 (10th Cir. 2006).

This latter approach is the correct reading of Smith

and Lukumi. A statute that objectively treats one

religious group differently than all other religious

groups categorically lacks neutrality and general

applicability and therefore triggers strict scrutiny.

To be sure, the Lukumi majority suggested that a

government motive to burden religion unequally

because of its religious nature may be sufficient to

trigger strict scrutiny, but it did not hold that such a

motive inquiry is necessary in cases where religious

practice is being subjected to demonstrably unequal

treatment. And to clarify matters, Justice Scalia

' Goined by Justice Thomas) emphasized in Lukumi

that “(t]he First Amendment does not refer to the

purposes for which legislators enact laws, but to the

effects of the laws enacted.” Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 558

(Scalia, J., concurring in part and in the judgment).

The rule adopted by the Seventh Circuit rejects that

principle. Under the panel majority’s approach, the

unequal “effects of the laws enacted” will not trigger

strict scrutiny unless they are coupled with evidence

about the “purposes” animating those laws. Id.

The deep division over this issue has not gone

unnoticed. Six judges of the Ninth Circuit have

recognized “growing confusion among the lower

courts” about Free Exercise and predicted that “[i]t is

only a matter of time before the Supreme Court

confronts this confusion.” KDM ex rel. WJM v.

Reedsport School Dist., 210 F.3d 1098, 1099 (9th Cir.

2000) (O’Scannlain, J., joined by Kozinski, Nelson,

Kleinfeld, Tashima, and Wardlaw, dissenting from

denial of rehearing en banc). Scholars likewise have

noted that “confusion abounds in the lower courts,

which interpret [Smith and Lukumi] in significantly

divergent ways.” Carol M. Kaplan, The Devil Is in

the Details: Neutral, Generally Applicable Laws and

Exceptions from Smith, 75 N.Y.U. L. Rev. 1045, 1046

(2000). The Court should grant certiorari to resolve

this entrenched conflict and to provide much-needed

clarity on this recurring and important question.

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. Facts

1. St. John’s is a Christian church established in

1849 in Bensenville, Illinois. That same year, St.

John’s consecrated St. Johannes Cemetery. The

remains of about 1,300 people are buried there.

St. John’s is part of the United Church of Christ, a

Protestant denomination with nearly two million

members in the United States. A central belief of the

Church is that on the Day of Resurrection, the bodies

of Christian believers will be resurrected to live with

God. Church members believe that because God

ordained St. Johannes as their loved ones’ final

resting place, the remains should not be disturbed

until judgment day. They believe the salvation of

deceased members’ souls would be impaired if their

remains were removed. The District Court and the

Seventh Circuit accepted that Chicago’s plan to

condemn and destroy the cemetery is a “sacrilege to

6

[St. John’s] religious faith”; the sincerity of that

belief is not at issue. App. 3la-32a, 81a.

Among the St. John’s members who hold these

beliefs are petitioners Helen Runge and Shirley

Steele. Ms. Runge, now in her 80s, was baptized,

married in, and intends to have her funeral at St.

John’s. About 25 of Ms. Runge’s relatives, including

her husband and infant son, are buried at St.

Johannes. Ms. Runge visits the cemetery to honor

those buried there; she also owns a plot next to her

husband, where she intends to be buried. She

believes disturbing the graves of her husband and

son would be a sacrilege. Likewise, Ms. Steele visits

the cemetery to care for and exercise her beliefs at

the graves of her grandparents and others.

2. In 2001, Chicago announced a massive

expansion plan for O’Hare International Airport.

App. 5a. As part of this redevelopment, Chicago

decided to acquire 433 acres of land in the Villages of

Elk Grove and Bensenville, adjacent to O’Hare. Id.

6a. The properties scheduled for condemnation

included homes, businesses, and two religious .

cemeteries—St. Johannes and a cemetery owned by

the Rest Haven Cemetery Association (“Rest

Haven”). Id. St. John’s and Rest Haven responded

by filing separate suits to block the City’s

acquisition, with St. John’s arguing (among other

things) that the City could not destroy the cemetery

without violating the Illinois RFRA. The Villages of

Bensenville and. Elk Grove filed a parallel suit; the

state court hearing that suit agreed with the

localities’ claim that the expansion needed a state

permit and granted a preliminary injunction. Jd. 7a.

Faced with this setback, Chicago turned to the

Illinois legislature for relief. The legislature

responded by enacting the O’Hare Modernization Act

(“OMA”), which re-wrote more than a dozen laws to

remove legal obstacles to O’Hare’s expansion. Most

pertinent here are two provisions: First, the OMA

granted Chicago the power to acquire any property

needed for the O’Hare project. App. 8a. Second, the

OMA amended the Illinois RFRA to eliminate the

protections St. John’s had previously enjoyed. Before

the OMA’s amendment, the Illinois RFRA—like its

federal namesake—provided that:

Government may not substantially burden a .

person’s exercise of religion, even if the burden

results from a rule of general applicability, unless

it demonstrates that [the burden] (i) is in

furtherance of a compelling governmental

interest and (ii) is the least restrictive means of

furthering that compelling governmental interest.

775 Ill. Comp. Stat. § 35/15. _But the OMA revoked

this across-the-board protection by adding a new

. Section 30 to the Ilhnois RFRA: “Nothing in [the

Illinois RFRA] limits the authority of the City of

Chicago to exercise its powers under the [OMA] for

the purpose of relocation of cemeteries or the graves

located therein.” Id. § 35/30. Section 30, in other

words, transformed the Illinois RFRA from a statute

that provided strict-scrutiny protection to all

religious exercise into a statute that provided that

protection to almost all religious exercise. The one

exception: religious exercise involving cemeteries

adjacent to O’Hare. Religious adherents in this

category are now excluded from the law’s benefits.

B. Proceedings Below

1. In hght of Section 30, St. John’s state-court

Illinois RFRA claim was dismissed as moot. St.

8

- John’s, Rest Haven, and the localities responded by

filing suit in the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois. App. 9a. In a proposed

second amended complaint, St. John’s? noted that

absent Section 30, Chicago would be required to meet

strict scrutiny under the Illinois RFRA before it

could destroy or move St. Johannes. The complaint

alleged that Section 30 was unconstitutional under

the Free Exercise Clause because it stripped from St.

John’s members a_ benefit—RFRA protection—

available to all other religious activity in the state.

2. The District Court found the Free Exercise

claim to be without merit and therefore rejected the

second amended complaint as futile, effectively

dismissing it. The court correctly noted that this

Court has deemed laws that are “‘neutral and of

general applicability’” to pass muster under the Free

Exercise Clause. App. 83a (quoting Lukumi, 508

U.S. at 531). But rather than analyze the neutrality

and general-applicability requirements, the court

read Smith to mean that “strict scrutiny applies only

to laws that discriminate against religion.” Jd. 84a.

Continuing in this vein, the court asked only

whether Section 30 was intended to burden St.

John’s religious exercise because of religion. The

answer, the court found, was no: There was “no

indication in the complaint that the object of the law

is to infringe upon or restrict practices because of

their religious motivation” and Section 30 did not

“single out St. Johannes or any other cemetery

because of its religious affiliation.” Id. 84a-85a

(emphasis in original). The District Court concluded:

2 The Rest Haven relocation had by then been deleted from

the O’Hare expansion plan.

9

“Nothing in the complaint supports the proposition

that Chicago wants the St. Johannes land for any

reason other than *** the expansion of O’Hare

Airport. Because [there] is no indication that § 30

discriminates against religion, this Court applies

rational basis review.” Id. 86a.

3. On appeal, the Seventh Circuit divided two-to- .

one, with the majority adopting the same approach

as the District Court. The majority accepted that the

destruction of St. Johannes would be a sacrilege to

church members and would impose a burden on their

religious exercise. App. 31a-32a. The majority also

acknowledged the “obvious point” that St. Johannes

is “the only cemetery in the State of Illinois affected

by the new § 30.” Jd. 35a-36a. But it concluded that

‘this differential treatment was not sufficient to state

a Free Exercise claim. That was so because St.

John’s had failed to show something more—that “the

object of the OMA was ‘to infringe upon or restrict

practices because of their religious motivation.’” Id.

32a (quoting Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 533) (emphasis

added). Having framed the question this way, the

majority found it immaterial that St. John’s alone

was singled out by Section 30. In fact, precisely

because St. John’s was the only religious group

targeted, the majority was all the more convinced

“that the legislature had the nondiscriminatory

purpose of clearing all land needed for O’Hare’s

proposed expansion.” I[d.. 36a. The majority also

found that Section 30 was facially neutral because it

did not “‘refer[ ] to a religious practice without a:

secular meaning discernible from the language or

context.’” Jd. 33a (quoting Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 533).

The majority, in short, concluded that the

government could treat St. John’s differently than all

10

other religious groups in the State, and could thereby

impose unique burdens on its members’ religious

practice, so long as the legislature’s underlying

motive was unrelated to religion. Because the

underlying motive was indeed unrelated to religion,

the majority held that “the OMA, including the

portion that amends [Illinois RFRA], is a neutral law

of general applicability.” App. 36a.

This sufficed to dispose of petitioners’ claim. The

majority nonetheless opined, in dicta, that if strict

scrutiny had applied, Section 30 would have satisfied

it. Though the task of assessing compelling interest

and least-restrictive means is highly fact-bound—

and though the case was on appeal from a grant of a

motion to dismiss—the majority hypothesized:

“Although we think it unnecessary to ask whether |

the plan passes the strict scrutiny test * * * we add

for the sake of completeness that *** the plan

passes muster.” App. 36a.

Judge Ripple dissented. He first rejected the

majority’s conclusion that Section 30 was neutral on

its face. Explaining that “‘[a] law lacks facial

neutrality if it refers to a religious practice without a

secular meaning discernable from language or

context,’” App. 59a (quoting Lukumi, 508 U.S. at

533), Judge Ripple concluded that “it is clear that the

OMA’s amendment to the Illinois RFRA is not

facially neutral.” Jd. 59a-60a. He emphasized that

the majority’s “analysis fails to appreciate that, when

read in context,” Section 30—an amendment to a law

that addressed nothing but religion—had no possible

secular referent. Id. 60a.

Judge Ripple then turned to the majority’s other

proposition—that a Free Exercise claim requires not

just differential treatment but also a showing that

oe

the government singled out a religious group because

of religion—and rejected it too. Judge Ripple

explained that “[t]he effect of the amendment is to

remove from the protections afforded to every other

individual’s religious observance, those individuals

whose religious practices would be substantially

burdened by the relocation of cemeteries in

connection with the expansion of O’Hare,” Id. 60a-

6la. That unequal treatment was sufficient to

trigger strict scrutiny: “The OMA amendment * * *

offends the Free Exercise Clause by penalizing those

individuals whose religious observance is affected by

the expansion project by denying them ‘an equal

share of the rights, benefits, and privileges enjoyed

by other citizens. *** ([S]trict scrutiny must be

applied.” Jd. 61a (quoting Lyng v. Northwest Indian

Cemetery Protective Ass'n, 485 U.S. 439, 449 (1988)).

Finally, Judge Ripple rebuked the majority for

addressing in dicta, and at the motion-to-dismiss

stage, how the state’s action would have fared under

the strict-scrutiny inquiry. He emphasized that the

court could not reach the merits of strict scrutiny

because “accepting the City’s assertions [regarding

narrow tailoring] at this stage in the litigation is

inconsistent with our obligation * * * to accept all

well pleaded facts as true.” App. 63a. Since “there

has been none of the factual development necessary

to determine whether the means chosen by the City

are narrowly tailored to meet the compelling interest

asserted here,” Judge Ripple chided the majority for

needlessly speculating that Chicago could satisfy

strict scrutiny. Id.

3 Judge Ripple’s conclusion was consistent with that of the

only judge to actually review the full panoply of evidence and

12

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE WRIT

I. THE RULING BELOW EXACERBATES

AN EXISTING CIRCUIT SPLIT.

The Seventh Circuit's decision deepens an

entrenched circuit split on a question federal courts

regularly face: whether selectively imposing burdens

on certain religious practices is enough to trigger

strict scrutiny under the Free Exercise Clause, or

whether plaintiffs must also show that the

government specifically burdened their religious

practice because of its religious nature. The Seventh

Circuit held that this extra showing is necessary.

That same rule has been embraced by the First,

Fifth, and Ninth Circuits. In contrast, at least four

other circuits—the Third, Sixth, Tenth, and

Eleventh—have held just the opposite. This Court

should grant the writ to resolve the four-to-four split.

See S. Ct. R. 10(a); Braxton v. United States, 500 U.S.

344, 347 (1991) (a “principal purpose for which we

consider on the merits whether the O’Hare plan could survive

strict scrutiny. In Village of Bensenville v. FAA, 457 F.3d 52

(D.C. Cir. 2006), the D.C. Circuit denied a petition for review

brought by, among others, St. John’s, which challenged under

federal RFRA the decision by the FAA to approve the O’Hare

plan. Jd. at 68. A majority of the D.C. Circuit held, as a

threshold matter, that FAA’s approval of Chicago’s expansion

plan was not governed by federal RFRA. Judge Griffith

dissented, concluding that federal RFRA did apply. He

therefore went on to apply strict scrutiny and found that the

FAA had failed to carry its burden under that exacting

standard. Petitioners, he explained, had presented alternative

designs that would permit O’Hare's expansion while preserving

St. Johannes. /d. at 77 (Griffith, J., concurring in part and

dissenting in part). Indeed, one of these alternatives involves

nothing more than “shifting one runway 350 feet” and would

“still achieve the FAA's objectives.” Id.

13

use our certiorari jurisdiction *** is to resolve

conflicts among the United States courts of appeals”).

A. Four Circuits Hold That Laws Singling

Out Religion For Differential Treatment

Are Categorically Not Neutral And

Generally Applicable.

The decision below squarely conflicts with the

decisions of four circuits. These circuits have applied

strict scrutiny to laws singling out religious practice

for unequal burdens regardless of the government’s

underlying motivation for imposing those burdens.

The Tenth Circuit. Most recently, the Tenth

Circuit so held in Shrum, 449 F.3d 1132. Shrum

concerned a police officer who also worked as a

minister. He alleged that the police chief rearranged

his work schedule so that it would conflict with his

ministerial duties, forcing him to quit his police job.

Id. at 1134. The allegation was not that the chief

had burdened Shrum’s religious practice because of

its religious nature, but instead that he had done so

to achieve an underlying goal unrelated to religion—

forcing Shrum to quit the force.

Writing for a unanimous panel, Judge McConnell

held that this act triggered strict scrutiny even

though the chiefs motivation was, at base, secular.

“To be sure, Officer Shrum does not allege that Chief

Palmer held Officer Shrum’s faith against him or

acted from religious prejudice,” Judge McConnell

wrote. “Rather, the claim is that religious

discrimination was the means to an entirely secular

end: Chief Palmer wanted to force Officer Shrum

out, and making him choose between his duties as a

police officer and his duties as a minister was the

method at hand.” /d. at 1144. But that fact did not

14

immunize the chief's action. “[T]he. Free Exercise

Clause,” Judge McConnell wrote,

is not limited to acts motivated by overt religious

hostility or prejudice. As its language suggests,

the animating ideal of the constitutional provision

is to protect the ‘free exercise of religion’ from

unwarranted governmental inhibition whatever

its source. * * * True to this history, the Free

Exercise Clause has been applied numerous times

when government officials interfered with

religious exercise not out of hostility or prejudice,

but for secular reasons, such as saving money,

promoting education, obtaining jurors, facilitating

traffic law enforcement, maintaining morale on

the police force, or protecting job opportunities.

(Id. at 1144-45 (collecting cases) (citations

omitted). ]

The Tenth Circuit’s decision in Shrum squarely

conflicts with the rule adopted by the Seventh

Circuit. In the case below, as in Shrum, the

government singled out a religious actor for a special

burden. The government entities in both cases did so

not out of religious hostility, but instead as “the

means to an entirely secular end”—airport expansion

here and. work-force reduction in Shrum. The panel

below held that because of this “secular reason[ J,”

the Illinois law was neutral, generally applicable,

and outside the Free Exercise Clause’s protection.

The case would have come out the other way under

the Tenth Circuit's rule.

The majority below denied that its ruling conflicted

with Shrum. App. 42a. But its attempt to

distinguish Shrum on its facts misses the point:

Unlike the rule the majority adopted, Shrum held

that laws that treat religious practices differently are

15

categorically not neutral or generally applicable. —

Whether the governmental actor was motivated by

religious prejudice or animus is simply irrelevant

under the Tenth Circuit’s decision in Shrum. The

Tenth Circuit’s rule thus squarely conflicts with the

decision below, which required plaintiffs to show that

the government burdened religious practice because

of its religious nature.

The Eleventh Circuit. The Eleventh Circuit has

adopted the same rule as the Tenth. In Midrash

Sephardi v. Town of Surfside, 366 F.3d 1214 (11th

Cir. 2004), plaintiffs challenged a zoning ordinance

that excluded religious assemblies from a downtown

business district but allowed private clubs. Jd. at

1219. Applying the Smith-Lukumi rubric, the court

held that the ordinance was non-neutral: It

“target[ed]” religious practice in the sense that it

“treat[ed] religious assemblies differently than

secular assemblies.” Jd. at 1233. According to the

court, strict scrutiny was appropriate even though

there was no reason to believe that the differential

treatment was motivated by a desire to suppress

religious exercise: “We reject Surfside’s contention

that the [business district] is neutral because there is

no evidence of selective and discriminatory intent

against Orthodox Jews, a pattern of hostility or

discriminatory animus toward the synagogues, or

evidence that Surfside directly targeted religion.” Id.

at 1234 n.16. As the court explained, “[uJnder

Lukumi, it is unnecessary to identify 2n invidious

intent in enacting a law—only Justices Kennedy and

Stevens attached significance to evidence of the

lawmakers’ subjective motivation.” Jd. (citing

Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 540-542; id. at 558 (Scalia, J..,

concurring in part and concurring in judgment)).

16

The Eleventh Circuit, in short, understood Lukumi

to condemn not just the imposition of unequal

restrictions on a religious practice because it is

religious, but also the imposition of unequal

restrictions for any reason at all. Applying that

approach here, the decision below would have come

out the other way. For although Section 30 was

enacted for secular reasons—to make room for a new

runway at O’Hare— it nevertheless targeted one type

of religious practice for special treatment. Under the

Eleventh Circuit’s decision in Midrash, that alone

would have triggered strict scrutiny.

The Third Circuit. The Third Circuit has aligned

itself with the Tenth and Eleventh, most notably in

decisions authored by now-Justice Alito. See

Blackhawk v. Pennsylvania, 381 F.3d 202 (3d Cir.

2004); Fraternal Order of Police Newark Lodge No.

12 v. City of Newark, 170 F.3d 359 (3d Cir. 1999).

In Blackhawk, the appellant was a Native

American who kept bears for religious reasons.

State officials demanded that Blackhawk obtain a

special permit, and he applied for a waiver, which

was denied. Jd. at 205. Blackhawk sued on Free

Exercise grounds, arguing that the waiver process

constituted a “system of individualized exemptions”

that entitled him to an exemption of his own. Id. at

206; see Smith, 494 U.S. at 884 (“[W]here the State

has in place a system of individual exemptions, it

may not refuse to extend that system to cases of

‘religious hardship’ without compelling reason.”).

The Third Circuit, per Judge Alito, agreed that

the waiver process at issue created an exemption

system sufficient to trigger strict scrutiny. Jd. at

209. That was so even though there was no evidence

that the state had denied Blackhawk’s waiver

17

because of a desire to burden his religious practices.

Judge Alito explained why with a quote from his

earlier opinion in Fraternal Order: “‘[T]he * **

exemption raises concern because it indicates that

the Department has made a value judgment that

secular * * * motivations * * * are important enough

to overcome its general interest in uniformity but

that religious motivations are not.’” Id. at 208

(quoting Fraternal Order, 170 F.3d at 366)

(alteration in Blackhawk). And “‘when the

government makes a value judgment in favor of

secular motivations, but not religious motivations,

the government’s actions must survive heightened

scrutiny.’” Jd. (quoting Fraternal Order, 170 F.3d at

366). See also Tenafly Eruv Ass’n, Inc. v. Borough of

Tenafly, 309 F.3d 144, 165-168 (3d Cir. 2002).

The Third Circuit’s decisions in Fraternal Order

and Blackhawk square with those of the Tenth and

Eleventh Circuits. As in Shrum and Midrash, the

Third Circuit found Free Exercise violations based

solely on unequal treatment. Blackhawk, 381 F.3d

at 208. The court never paused to ask why

government had _ treated’ religious practice

differently—whether the officials involved had

disliked the groups at issue, or conversely whether

they had had some wholly benign underlying motive.

The mere fact that government had engaged in

unequal treatment, which inherently “devalues”

religious practice, Fraternal Order, 170 F.3d at 366,

was sufficient to trigger strict scrutiny.

The Sixth Circuit. In Kissinger v. Board of

Trustees, 5 F.3d 177 (6th Cir. 1993), the Sixth Circuit

likewise held that illicit motive is merely a sufficient,

not a necessary, condition to trigger strict scrutiny.

Kissinger involved a student’s claim that her college

18

offended the Free Exercise Clause by requiring her

to dissect animals despite her religious beliefs. Jd. at

178-179. The court applied a disjunctive test drawn

from Smith. Id. at 179. One part focused on the

‘motive inquiry: It asked whether the curriculum

was intended to “attack or exclude any individual on

the basis of his or her religious beliefs.” Jd. But a

separate part of the analysis—a part unconcerned

with motive—asked only whether “evidence exist[ed]

that any student was allowed to graduate without”

participating in the challenged program. Id. If the

answer had been “yes,” the college’s curriculum

would not have been “generally applicable” and strict

scrutiny would have applied. See id.

Kissinger squares with Shrum, Midrash, and

Blackhawk. Like those cases, it stands for the

proposition that laws singling out religious groups

are categorically non-neutral or non-generally

applicable. These holdings cannot be reconciled with

the Seventh Circuit’s ruling.

B. Four Circuits Have Adopted A Contrary

Rule.

The First, Fifth, and Ninth Circuits have adopted a

rule that squarely conflicts with the decisions above.

In these circuits—and in the Seventh Circuit now—

laws that impose differential treatment on religious

groups do not categorically trigger strict scrutiny.

Instead, such laws remain neutral and generally

applicable unless their object was to target religious

activity because of its religious nature. Certiorari is

warranted to resolve this entrenched split.

The First Circuit. In Strout v. Albanese, 178 F.3d

57 (1st Cir. 1999), parents challenged a Maine law

that allowed the state to fund students’ private-

19

school educations, provided the private schools were

“non-sectarian.” Jd. at 59. The court rejected a Free

Exercise challenge to this law, concluding that the

Smith-Lukumi line of cases was “inapposite.” Jd. at

65. This was so because in Lukumi “the record

showed a substantial animus against [religion] that

motivated the law in question. No such showing has

been made here.” Jd. The First Circuit, in other

words, treated a showing that government singled

out religion because of its religious nature as

necessary, not merely sufficient, to state a Free

Exercise claim, just as the Seventh Circuit did below

The Ninth Circuit. The Ninth Circuit adopted

this same approach in KDM ex rel. WJM v. Reedsport

School District, 196 F.3d 1046 (9th Cir. 1999), cert.

denied, 531 U.S. 1010 (2000). KDM involved an

Oregon regulation allowing the provision of state-

funded special-education services to private-school ©

students, but only if the services were provided in a

“religiously-neutral setting.” Jd. at 1048. When

KDM, a disabled child, transferred to a Christian

school, the school district no longer allowed a vision

specialist to visit him at his schoolhouse. The

district instead required KDM—who was blind and

suffered from cerebral palsy—to leave the school and

travel to a firehouse down the street. Jd.

KDM argued that the Oregon rule was non-neutral

and non-generally applicable because the rule, on its

face, treated students at private sectarian schools

differently than students at private non-sectarian

schools: The latter would not have had to leave their

school grounds to receive services. A divided Ninth

Circuit panel rejected this challenge. The majority

recognized that “the Oregon regulation is not

‘neutral.’” Jd. at 1050. Even so, the majority held

20

that strict scrutiny was not triggered because “as

applied here [the regulation] does not have ‘the

object or purpose * * * [of] suppression of religion or

religious conduct.’” Id. (quoting Lukumi, 508 U.S. at

533). It concluded: “We agrce with the [First

Circuit] in Strout v. Albanese, [which] distinguished

Lukumi because there was no evidence of ‘a

substantial animus * * * that motivated the law in

question.’” Jd. (quoting Strout, 178 F.3d at 65).

The Ninth Circuit, in short, did just what the

Seventh Circuit did below: It conceded that a law

singled out religion for unequal treatment but held

that that was not enough; the plaintiff also had to

show that the law’s goal was to burden religious

conduct precisely because it was religious conduct.

This holding inspired a pair of impassioned

dissents. Judge Kleinfeld, dissenting from the panel

decision, explained that “[t]he regulation at issue

here is not neutral on its face. By requiring a

‘religiously-neutral setting, the government

expressly and intentionally discriminates against

religious as opposed to secular private schools.” Id.

at 1053 (Kleinfeld, J., dissenting) (emphasis in

original). He concluded: “When the government, by

a law not neutral on its face, treats people of one or

all religions better or worse than others, the

constitutional question is traditionally formulated so

that the answer has to be ‘No!’” Zd.

KDM’s petition for rehearing en banc was denied,

but not before six judges heaped criticism on the

panel’s rule. Judge O’Scannlain, writing on behalf of

Judges Kozinski, Nelson, Kleinfeld, Tashima, and

Wardlaw, explained that the panel decision suffered

from a “fundamental inconsistency with Supreme

Court precedent” because under Lukumi, “a law that

21

is non-neutral on its face, like the Oregon regulation

at issue here, triggers strict * * * scrutiny—even in

the absence of extrinsic evidence suggesting that the

law was the result of anti-religious bigotry or

animus.” KDM ex rel. WJM v. Reedsport Sch. Dist.,

210 F.3d 1098, 1099 (9th Cir. 2000) (O’Scannlain, J.,

dissenting from denial of rehearing en_ banc)

(emphasis in original). _ Underscoring the need for

this Court to provide clarity and uniformity, Judge

O’Scannlain criticized the panel for “contribut[ing] to

the growing confusion among the lower courts over

the demands of the First Amendment.” Id.

The Fifth Circuit. Finally, the Fifth Circuit has

adopted the approach of the First, Seventh, and

’ Ninth Circuits. In World Wide Street Preachers

Fellowship v. Town of Columbia, 245 Fed. Appx. 336

(5th Cir. 2007), the Fifth Circuit announced in an

unpublished opinion that “[t]he constitutional test[ ]

for whether governmental action unconstitutionally

infringes on the free exercise of -religion” is

“dependent on whether the restriction was motivated

by the nature of the conduct that is restricted.” Id.

at 344. “[A] restriction of religious practices because

of their religious nature must survive strict scrutiny.

* ** Thus, the motivation for the restriction on the

exercise of religion must be established before the

restriction can be legally analyzed.” Id. (emphasis

added). This holding is, by its plain terms,

irreconcilable with decisions like Shrum and

Midrash. After all, in those cases, the courts

recognized that a restriction on religious exercise

can—and should—be analyzed by examining nothing

more than the restriction’s unequal treatment of

religion. In contrast, the Fifth Circuit—like the

panel majority below—requires courts to divine “the

22

motivation for the restriction” before reaching any

conclusion about its constitutionality.

* * *

The circuits thus divide four-to-four on the question

presented by this petition. This persistent division

has drawn the attention of not just prominent jurists

but also academics. Professor Laycock, a leading

religion-law scholar, has noted that “we have the

Smith/Lukumi test, but we have considerable

disagreement over what exactly that test means.”

Douglas Laycock, The Supreme Court and Religious

Liberty, 40 Cath. Law 25, 26 (2000). Other

commentators likewise have noted that “[t]he federal

circuits. have split on whether Lukumi requires an

object to infringe upon religious practice before a law

must be supported by a compelling government

interest” and that “the Supreme Court has not

addressed this split.” Sarah Waszmer, Taking It out

of Neutral: The Application of Locke’s Substantial

Interest Test to the School Voucher Debate, 62 Wash.

& Lee. Rev. 1271, 1285 (2005).

On a broader level, the legal academy has long

documented the lower courts’ confusion about what it

means to say government must be “neutral” toward

religion. See, e.g., Laycock, supra. That confusion

has not escaped the attention of the Justices of this

Court. In 1999, Justice Thomas noted that the

“lower courts *** are struggling to reconcile our

conflicting First Amendment pronouncements,” and

suggested that the Court provide “much needed

guidance.” Columbia Union College v. Clark, 527

U.S. 1013 (1999) (Thomas, J., dissenting from denial

of certiorari). That guidance is needed more urgently

today than it was then. This Court should exercise

23

its certiorari jurisdiction to resolve the deep divisions

- within the country.

Il. THE RULING BELOW CONFLICTS WITH

THIS COURT’S PRECEDENTS.

The rule adopted below also conflicts with this

Court’s Free Exercise jurisprudence. This Court’s

cases establish that an underlying motive to burden

religion may be a sufficient, but is not a necessary,

condition to trigger strict scrutiny: Where unequal

treatment exists, that is enough to render the

governmental action non-neutral and non-generally

applicable. The Seventh Circuit’s contrary holding

leads to absurd results in practice, immunizing

religion-targeting laws simply because they were

adopted in good faith and for secular reasons. The

Court should grant the writ and clarify that

“neutrality” and “general applicability” do not turn

on any showing of religious hostility. See S. Ct. R.

10(c) (certiorari is warranted when “a United States

court of appeals *** has decided an important

federal question in a way that conflicts with relevant

decisions of this Court”).

1. The Free Exercise Clause’s modern history

begins with Smith. Smith involved two men who

were denied unemployment benefits after being fired

for using peyote. 494 U.S. at 874. They challenged

the denial, arguing that they were entitled to a

religious exemption for their peyote use. The Court

declined to apply strict scrutiny. It concluded that

“the right of free exercise does not relieve an

4 It does not matter whether the treatment is unequal vis a

vis another religious group or vis a vis a secular group. Either

type of singling-out runs afoul of the First Amendment. See

Larson v. Valente, 456 U.S. 228, 245-246 (1982).

24

individual of the obligation to comply with a valid

and neutral law of general applicability.” Jd. at 879

(quotation omitted). The Court explained that “if

prohibiting the exercise of religion” is “merely the

incidental effect of a generally applicable and

otherwise valid provision, the First Amendment has

not been offended.” Jd. at 878.

The Court subsequently considered in Lukumi

several municipal ordinances that were designed to

prohibit Santeria animal sacrifice, while leaving

activities such as fishing untouched. Lukumi, 508

U.S. at 543. The Court, per Justice Kennedy, held

that the ordinances triggered strict scrutiny.

Justice Kennedy analyzed’ separately the

“neutrality” and “general applicability” inquiries. As

to the first, he noted that “/aj/t a minimum, the

protections of the Free Exercise Clause pertain if the

law at issue discriminates against some or all

religious beliefs or regulates or prohibits conduct

because it is undertaken for religious reasons.” Id.

at 531 (emphasis added). He explained that “the

minimum requirement of neutrality is that a law not

discriminate on its face.” Jd. at 533. That “minimum

requirement” is violated if the law “refers to a

-religious practice without a secular meaning

discernible from the language or context.” Id.

In a separate section of his neutrality analysis—a

section joined only by Justice Stevens—Justice

Kennedy wrote that “[i]n determining if the object of

a law is a neutral one under the Free Exercise

Clause, we can also find guidance in our equal

protection cases.” Id. at 540. He suggested that

“(hjere, as in equal protection cases, we may

determine the city council’s object from both direct

and circumstantial evidence,” including legislative

25

history. Id. (citing Arlington Heights v. Metropolitan

Housing Dev. Corp., 429 U.S. 252, 267-268 (1977)). .

Having examined this evidence, Justice Kennedy

concluded that the ordinances “were enacted

‘because of,’ not merely ‘in spite of,’ their suppression

of Santeria religious practice.” Id. (quoting Arlington

Heights, 429 U.S. at 279).

Writing for a majority again, Justice Kennedy

“turnfed] next to a second requirement of the Free

Exercise Clause, the rule that laws burdening

religious practice must be of general applicability.”

Id. at 542. Here he abandoned his concerns for

“legislative object” and focused on the differential

treatment of similarly situated actors: § “The

principle that government, in pursuit of legitimate

interests, cannot in a selective manner impose

burdens only on conduct motivated by religious belief

is essential to the protection of the rights guaranteed

by the Free Exercise Clause.” Jd. at 542-543. He

concluded that the ordinances were non-generally

applicable because they burdened Santeria animal

sacrifice while not burdening other practices—

fishing, for example—that also undermined the

ordinances’ ostensible goals. Id. at 544-545.

Justice Scalia, joined by Chief Justice Rehnquist,

concurred in part but rejected Justice Kennedy’s

analogy to the Equal Protection Clause. He

explained that First Amendment analysis does not

require “determination of legislative motive.” Id. at

558 (Scalia, J., concurring in part and concurring in

the judgment). He explained that “[t}]he First

Amendment does not refer to the purposes for which

legislators enact laws, but to the effects of the laws

enacted.” Jd. at 559. For that reason, it would not

matter “that a legislature consists entirely of the

26

pure-hearted, if the law it enacts in fact singles out a

religious practice for special burdens.” Id.

2. The panel majority below viewed Smith and

Lukumi as cases about motive. According to the

panel, Smith and Lukumi require not just that

religious activity be singled out but also that the

singling-out be motivated by the activity’s religious

aspects. That rule, however, conflicts with Smith

and Lukumi in at least three ways.

a. First, a motive requirement cannot be extracted

from Lukumi. The Court focused on legislative

“object” only when analyzing one of the two Free

Exercise inquiries—neutrality—and not the other—

general applicability. The general-applicability

inquiry was instead concerned with differential

treatment of similarly situated entities. See Lukumi,

508 U.S. at 542-544. Indeed, the majority’s

explanation of “general applicability” used language

that cannot be reconciled with a motive requirement:

It wrote that government, even “in pursuit of

legitimate interests, cannot in a selective manner

impose burdens only on conduct motivated by

religious belief.” Jd. at 542-543 (emphasis added).

Further, even the neutrality discussion was not so

limited. Lukumi did not announce that an intent to

suppress religion was required to deem a law non-

neutral, but only that it was sufficient. See id. at 532

(“At a minimum,” the Clause pertains to a law that

“regulates or prohibits conduct because it is

undertaken for religious reasons.”) (emphasis added).

And importantly, the portion of Lukumi tying the

Free Exercise Clause to Arlington Heights-style

“because of, not in spite of’ equal-protection analysis

garnered only two.votes.

27

These points have led four circuits to conclude that

the Smith-Lukumi line does not announce a motive

requirement—a conclusion with which the legal

academy agrees. “Whatever else it may be, Lukumi

is not a motive case. * * * Seven Justices failed to

find bad motive, but nine voted to strike down the

ordinances.” Laycock, 40 Cath. Law at 28. Then-

Professor (now Judge) McConnell reached the same

conclusion: “Smith did not limit free exercise

protection to laws motivated by ‘religious bigotry,’

‘persecution,’ or even ‘animus or hostility to the

burdened religious practices’ * * *. Rather, Smith

held that the Free Exercise Clause applies to laws

that are not neutral or generally applicable

(regardless of their motivation).” Michael W..

McConnell, Institutions and Interpretation: A

Critique of City of Boerne v. Flores, 111 Harv. L.

Rev. 153, 167 (1997); see also Laurence H. Tribe,

American Constitutional Law § 5-16, at 956 (3d ed.

2000) (same); 5 Ronald D. Rotunda & John E.

Nowak, Treatise on Constitutional Law: Substance

and Procedure § 21.6, at 106 (3d ed. 1999) (same).5

5 This Court has decided one Free Exercise case since

Lukumi, but it is not to the contrary. In Locke v. Davey, 540

U.S. 712 (2004), the Court held that a government’s decision

not to fund certain religious instruction is permissible unless it

(1) burdens religious practice or (2) is the product of bad motive.

See Locke, 540 U.S. at 720; see also Douglas Laycock, Theology

Scholarships, The Pledge of Allegiance, and Religious Liberty:

Avoiding the Extremes but Missing the Liberty, 118 Harv. L.

Rev. 155, 216 (2004). Here, Section 30 concededly imposes a

substantial burden on religious practice. Locke’s “motive”

discussion therefore is irrelevant. In any event, Shrum,

Midrash and Blackhawk—all of which rejected a motive

requirement—were decided after Locke was handed down.

Locke therefore has not ameliorated the circuit split.

28

The Seventh Circuit ignored this guidance—and

the holdings of four sister circuits—when it

announced its contrary rule. In so doing it saw fit to

rely explicitly on the equal-protection portion of

- Lukumi, even though that portion attracted just two

votes. App. 34a. Its motive requirement, in short,

relies on portions of Lukumi that were rejected by

most of the Court and cannot in any event be

squared with the rest of Lukumi’s text.

b. Second, the inclusion of a motive requirement,

even in cases where unequal treatment and burden

have been shown, is unfaithful to the plain language

of both the Free Exercise Clause and the Court’s test.

As to the former, the Court was careful to note in

Smith that the rule adopted there was a “permissible

reading of the [constitutional] text.” 494 U.S. at 878.

Not so with the Seventh Circuit’s approach:. It looks

only to “the purposes for which legislators enact

laws,” and not, like the Clause itself, “to the effects of

the laws enacted.” Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 558 (Scalia,

J., concurring in part and concurring in the

judgment). And as to the latter, the Seventh

Circuit’s approach hews to the plain meaning of

neither the word “neutral” nor the phrase “generally

applicable.” “Neutral” means “taking neither side,”

The New Shorter Oxford English Dictionary (2005); it

can hardly be said that a law extending benefits to

all religious adherents and then withdrawing them

from a small group is neutral. It is still more

difficult to claim such a law is generally applicable.

“Taking ‘generally applicable’ at its literal English

meaning, the law has to apply to everyone, or nearly

everyone.” Laycock, 40 Cath. Law at 26-27. Not so

with Illinois RFRA after the addition of Section 30.

29

Because the Seventh Circuit’s approach strays from

the plain meaning of “neutral” and “generally

applicable” it creates the potential for absurd results.

Say, for example, that a Virginia law provided: “All

religious adherents shall be entitled to strict-scrutiny

protection for their religious exercise, except those

who belong to churches or synagogues in downtown

Richmond.” It is difficult to imagine how such a law

could be considered “neutral” or “generally

applicable,” regardless of the legislature’s motivation

in enacting it. And yet this hypothetical law is

identical in every relevant respect to the law deemed

neutral and generally applicable by the court below.®

c. Third, and finally, the approach adopted by the

Seventh Circuit conflicts with this Court’s cases

because it effectively collapses the Free Exercise

inquiry announced in Smith and Lukumi from two

stages into one. Under Smith and Lukumi, a court

must first determine whether a law is neutral and

generally applicable; if it is not, strict scrutiny

applies and the court then considers’ the

government's interest, determining whether it is

“compelling.” Under the Seventh Circuit’s approach,

by contrast, consideration of the government’s

interest is imported into stage one of the analysis

and permitted to distort the neutrality and general-

applicability inquiries. Under the Seventh Circuit’s

6 That the hypothetical law mentions “church” and

“synagogue,” while Section 30 avoids words that connote

religion, is not a relevant difference. After all, “a law lacks

facial neutrality if it refers to a religious practice without a

secular meaning discernible from the language or context.”

Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 533 (emphasis added). Section 30 lacks a

discernible secular meaning when read in context, for it amends

a law—the Illinois RFRA—that has religion as its only subject.

30

approach, so long as the government can identify

some legitimate, secular reason for its differential

treatment, that is the end of the inquiry. This rule

radically restricts the Free Exercise Clause

protection that Smith-Lukumi carefully preserved.

Ill. THE CASE PRESENTS AN _ IDEAL

VEHICLE TO ADDRESS AN IMPORTANT

AND RECURRING QUESTION.

1. Free-exercise cases are far from rare—several

hundred have been decided just in the federal

appellate courts in the past decade—and this case

presents an ideal vehicle to address a question about

free-exercise doctrine that has vexed the lower courts

since Smith and Lukumi were handed down. The

question presented was squarely raised and

addressed below. App. 3la-36a. Other circuits have

weighed in with analyses so clearly incompatible as

to be outcome-determinative. Supra at 13-19. And

there are no procedural complications that would

prevent the Court from reaching the merits.

The fact that the panel majority speculated in dicta

that Chicago could satisfy strict scrutiny creates no

barrier to this Court’s review. Indeed, even

respondents have admitted that this portion of the

majority's opinion was “wholly unnecessary to the

decision.” Answer of Defendants-Appellees to

Petition for Pane] Rehearing or, in the Alternative,

Rehearing En Banc 13 (filed Nov. 16, 2007). [t was

also inappropriate because the strict-scrutiny test is

a heavily fact-bound inquiry—one which an appellate

court is ill-suited to resolve in the first instance on

an appeal arising from a motion to dismiss. See App.

63a (Ripple, J., dissenting). Moreover, the only

federal judge ever to apply strict scrutiny to the

O’Hare plan on a fully developed factual record

31

concluded that the government had failed to carry its

burden of demonstrating the existence of “least

restrictive means.” Village of Bensenville, 457 F.3d

at 77 (D.C. Cir. 2006) (Griffith, J., concurring in part

and dissenting in part). Judge Ripple was therefore

exactly right to criticize the majority for ruminating

in dicta on the strict-scrutiny test when “there has

been none of the factual development necessary to

determine whether the means chosen by the City are

narrowly tailored to meet the compelling interest

asserted here.” App. 63a. Because this Court is not

bound even by its own dicta, see Central Va. Cmty.

Coll. v. Katz, 546 U.S. 356, 363 (2006), it need not be

detained by that of the panel majority below.

Nor should this Court be deterred by any fear that,

as a practical matter, petitioners’ victory on the

merits would block an expansion of O’Hare.

Petitioners are not Luddites seeking to block modern

improvement to O’Hare. They instead simply want

to ensure that their religious cemetery is not

destroyed if there are in fact less destructive

alternatives—the very purpose of the strict-scrutiny

analysis. To that end, petitioners themselves have

identified alternative designs that would save St.

Johannes while allowing the O’Hare expansion to

proceed almost exactly as Chicago has envisioned it.

See supra at 12; Village of Bensenville, 457 F.3d at

77 (Griffith, J., concurring in part and dissenting in

part) (noting petitioners’ alternative designs and

finding that the FAA offered only “conclusory

responses” that did not allow the court to “determine

if any of these alternatives are a less restrictive

means”). The Court therefore may take this

opportunity to clarify the Free Exercise Clause’s

meaning without fear that “strict mechanical

32

adherence” to the _ resulting doctrine would

“produce[ | absurd results.” Maislin Indus. U.S., Inc.

v. Primary Steel, Inc., 497 U.S. 116, 151 (1990)

(Stevens, J., dissenting).

2. It has been 15 years since the Court squarely

addressed the issues presented by this case. In that

time, an impressive list of legal lights—judges,

scholars, even a Justice of this Court—have

recognized that the lower courts’ Free Exercise

jurisprudence is hopelessly divided. Because the

question whether governmental conduct violates the

Constitution should not turn on accidents of

geography, this Court should grant the »rit.

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for a writ of

certiorari should be granted.

Respectfully submitted,

RONALD D. ROTUNDA CHRISTOPHER T. HANDMAN*

GEORGE MASON UNIVERSITY ROBERT E. COHN

SCHOOL OF LAW DOMINIC F. PERELLA

3301 Fairfax Drive HOGAN & HARTSON L.L.P.

Arlington, VA 22201 555 Thirteenth Street, N.W.

(703) 993-8041 _ . Washington, D.C. 20004

(202) 637-5719

JOSEPH V. KARAGANIS

A. BRUCE WHITE

JOHN W. KALICH

KARAGANIS, WHITE &

MAGEL LTD.

414 North Orleans Street

Suite 810

Chicago, Illinois 60610

(312) 836-1177

*Counsel of Record Counsel for Petitioners

APPENDICES

la

APPENDIX A

In the

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

for the SEVENTH CIRCUIT

No. 05-4418 ©

ST. JOHN’S UNITED CHURCH OF CHRIST, HELEN

RUNGE, and SHIRLEY STEELE,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

v.

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, the FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION, and MARION C. BLAKELY,

Administrator of the Federal Aviation

Administration,

Defendants-Appellees.

Nos. 05-4450 & 05-4451

VILLAGE OF BENSENVILLE, VILLAGE OF ELK

GROVE, ROXANNE MITCHELL, REST HAVEN

CEMETERY ASSOCIATION, ROBERT PLACEK,

and LEROY H. HEINRICH,

Plaintiffs-Appellants,

2a

THE CITY OF CHICAGO, the FEDERAL AVIATION

ADMINISTRATION, and MARION C. BLAKELY,

Administrator of the Federal Aviation

Administration, 3

Defendants-Appellees.

Nos. 05-4418, 05-4450 & 05-4451

Appeals from the United States District Court for the

Northern District of Illinois, Eastern Division.

No. 03 C 3726—David H. Coar, Judge.

ARGUED JAN. 10, 2006; JUNE 7, 2006— —

DECIDED SEPT. 13, 2007 -

Before: BAUER, RIPPLE, and WOOD, Circuit Judges.

WOOD, Circuit Judge. Mention Chicago to almost

any person who has been on an airplane, and that

person will immediately think of Chicago’s O’Hare

International Airport. It is one of the busiest airports

in the world: in 2005, more than 76.5 million

passengers passed through its facilities, along with

1.7 million tons of freight. See

http://www.flychicago.com/events/KidsPage2006/OHare

History.shtm (last visited August 27, 2007). It is also

of central importance to the economy of Chicago and

3a

Northern Illinois, generating approximately 514,000

jobs for the region and nearly $37 billion a year in

economic development. Jd. Responding to growth in

demand for O’Hare’s services, the Illinois. General

Assembly passed the O’Hare Modernization Act (OMA),

620 ILCS 65/5, in 2003, in order to improve and expand

the airport. This case deals with certain land

_ acquisitions contemplated by that legislation.

We consolidated these appeals for decision because

each raises challenges to the same district court order

in lawsuits filed by objectors to the modernization

project. In that order, the court denied a motion for

leave to file a second amended complaint (for all but

one count) and refused to enjoin the City of Chicago’s

plan to acquire each plaintiffs property in order to-

build additional runways at O’Hare. In appeal number

05-4418, the St. John’s United Church of Christ and

two of its parishioners (collectively, St. John’s)

challenge the district court’s denial of their motions for

leave to file a second amended complaint and for a

preliminary injunction. St. John’s claims that the

City’s attempt to condemn a cemetery located on

church property violates the First Amendment’s Free

Exercise Clause, the Fourteenth Amendment’s Equal

Protection Clause, and the Religious Land Use and

Institutionalized Persons Act (RLUIPA), 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000cc et seg. We consider only the claims St. John’s

has asserted against the City; its claims against the

Federal Aviation Administration (FAA) were resolved

in the FAA’s favor by the court of appeals for the

4a

District of Columbia Circuit in Village of Bensenville v.

FAA, 457 F.3d 52 (D.C. Cir. 2006).!

In appeal number 05-4450, the Villages of

Bensenville and Elk Grove (Municipal Plaintiffs)

contend that the district court erred in concluding that

it lacked jurisdiction to review their claims against the

FAA. Lastly, in appeal number 05-4451, we consider

the challenge of the Rest Haven Cemetery Association

and two members of its board of directors (collectively,

Rest Haven) to the district court’s dismissal of the first

amended complaint. Rest Haven was not named in the

proposed second amended complaint because the City

no longer plans to acquire its cemetery. The district

court concluded, for that reason, that its claim was

1 The main issue before the D.C. Circuit concerned whether the

FAA had violated the federal Religious Freedom Restoration Act

(RFRA), 42 U.S.C. § 2000bb et seg., by approving the City's plan

and determining that the plan was eligible for federal funding. As

an ‘agency .. . of the United States,” § 2000bb-2(1), the FAA,

unlike the City, falls within the scope of RFRA and thus must

meet the requirements of strict scrutiny when its actions

substantially burden exercise of someones religion. The D.C.

Circuit considered whether any potential burden on the exercise of

religion in this case could be fairly attributable to the FAA by

virtue of its having approved the City’s plan. Because ‘[t]he

expansion plan for the airport, which is owned by the City, was

prepared and will be implemented by the City, which is prepared

to proceed without federal funds if necessary, the court found that

it was the City, not the FAA, that was responsible for any ©

potential burden on religion that resulted from the plan.

Bensenville, 457 F.3d at 57. It thus rejected the RFRA claims

against the FAA without reaching the question whether the FAA

had shown a compelling governmental interest supporting its

decision.

Re mk

5 paps eh ee en a

5a

moot; Rest Haven disagrees with that assessment. In

Rest Haven’s appeal, we also consider the same

question raised by the Municipal Plaintiffs, namely,

whether the district court had jurisdiction to consider

Rest Haven’s claims against the FAA. We conclude

that the district court navigated its way through these

complex issues successfully, and we thus affirm its

judgment in all respects.

\

I

In the summer of 2001, the U.S. Senate Commerce,

Energy, and Transportation Committee held hearings

in Chicago to discuss the ways in which delays at

O’Hare contribute to excessive aviation delays

throughout the United States. During the course of

these hearings, the Committee strongly hinted that if

the City of Chicago and the State of Illinois did not

reach a decision on airport expansion before September

1, 2001, Congress would likely intervene.

On June 29, 2001, the City announced its plan to

increase O’Hare’s capacity; this plan later developed

into the O’Hare Modernization Program (OMP). The

OMP proposed to correct some of the inefficiencies

created by the airfield’s outdated configuration of seven

intersecting runways (which include a “runway

triangle” created by the three original intersecting

runways that lie north of the present terminals) by

creating six parallel and two crosswind runways. The

proposed design resembles the more effective runway

architecture that has been employed at Hartsfield-

Jackson Atlanta International Airport and_ the

Dallas/Fort Worth International Airport. In contrast to

6a

the current layout of intersecting runways, in which

the ability to use one runway is limited by whether an

aircraft is using any of the others, the proposed

configuration would permit a constant stream of take-

offs and landings on each parallel runway, regardless

of the activity that may simultaneously be occurring on

adjacent runways.

On December 5, 2001, the Mayor of Chicago and the

Governor of Illinois announced that they had reached

an agreement on the central components of the

proposed OMP. Shortly thereafter, the FAA submitted

its Notice of Intent to Prepare an Environmental

Impact Statement (EIS), which is a “detzviled

-analysis .. . conducted to determine if, or the extent to

which, a particular agency action will impact the

environment.” Heartwood, Inc. v. United States Forest

Serv., 230 F.8d 947, 949 (7th Cir. 2000). All federal

agencies are required to prepare an EJS for any “major

Federal actions significantly affecting the quality of the

human environment.” See the National Environmental

‘Policy Act (NEPA), 42 U.S.C. § 4332(2)(C).

In June of 2002, the City announced its plan to

acquire 433 acres of land located in the Villages of Elk

Grove and Bensenville, two municipalities adjacent to

, OHare, in anticipation of the airport’s expansion. A

wide variety of properties were scheduled for

condemnation, including a number of homes and

businesses, a police and fire station, an elementary

school, several parklands, and the two cemeteries at

issue here—St. Johannes and Rest Haven, owned by

the St. John’s United Church of Christ and the Rest

Haven Cemetery Association, respectively. The

7a

Municipal Plaintiffs responded by filing suit in state

court seeking both a declaration that any effort to

acquire the desired property without first obtaining a

“certificate of approval” from the Illinois Department of

Transportation was beyond the City’s authority under

the Illinois Aeronautics Act, see 620 ILCS 5/47, and a

preliminary injunction preventing the City from

proceeding with its land acquisition plan. On July 9,

2002, the Circuit Court of DuPage County granted the

municipalities’ requested relief; the Illinois Appellate

Court affirmed its decision. See Philip v. Daley,

790 N.E.2d 961 (Ill. App. Ct. 2003).

Faced with this setback, the City turned to

‘ Springfield and the Illinois General Assembly for help.

It was successful in persuading the legislature to enact

the OMA in May of 2003. See 620 ILCS 65/5. The

Act’s statement of findings and purposes notes the

importance of O’Hare to both the state and national air

transportation system and affirms the necessity of

acquiring adjacent properties as part of the

modernization program. See OMA § 5(a)(1), (2), (5). In

addition, the Act proclaims that “[i]t is the intent of the

General Assembly that all-agencies of this State and its

subdivisions shall facilitate the _ efficient and

expeditious completion of the O’Hare Modernization

Program to the extent not specifically prohibited by

law, and that legal impediments to the completion of

the project be eliminated.” OMA § 5(b).

The Act specifically addresses the issue of acquisition

of property in several places. It does so generally in

section 15, which grants to the City “liln addition to

any other powers the City may have, and

8a

notwithstanding any other law to the contrary,” the

power to

acquire by gift, grant, lease, purchase,

condemnation . . . or otherwise any right, title,

or interest in any private property, property

held in the name of or belonging to any public

body or unit of government, or any property

_ devoted to a public use, or any other rights or

easements, including any property, rights, or

easements owned by the State, units of local

government, or school districts, including forest

preserve districts, for purposes related to the

O’Hare Modernization Program.

OMA § 15. Lest there be any doubt on the particular

topic of cemeteries, the Act continues: “The powers

given to the City under this Section include the power

to acquire, by condemnation or otherwise, any property

used for cemetery purposes within or outside of the

City, and to require that the cemetery be removed to a

different location.” See also id. § 92 (amending the

Illinois Municipal Code, 65 ILCS 5/11-51-1, to make it

clear that the City of Chicago need not obtain the

consent of a cemetery’s owner in order to exercise its

powers under § 15 of the OMA, even though such

consent is normally required).

The OMA amends many statutes—indeed, as counsel

for-the City argued, it seems to have amended every

statute that someone thought might stand in the way

of the OMP. Thus, for example, it amends the

Downstate Forest Preserve District Act, 70ILCS

805/5e, OMA § 93; the Vital Records Act, 410 ILCS

. 9a |

535/21, OMA §98.5; the Illinois Aeronautics Act,

- 620ILCS 5/38.01, OMA § 94; and the Code of Civil

Procedure, 735 ILCS 5/2-103, OMA § 95. Among these

many modifications is the one that is central to this

litigation: the addition of a new section 30 to the

Illinois Religious Freedom Restoration Act (IRFRA),

775 ILCS 35/1 et seg. OMA § 96. The IRFRA provides

generally that the “[glovernment may not substantially

burden a person’s exercise of religion, even if the

burden results from a rule of general applicability,

unless it demonstrates that application of the b rden

to the person (iis in furtherance of a compelling

governmental interest and (ii) is the least restrictive .

means of furthering that compelling governmental

interest.” 775 ILCS 35/15. That broad language was

qualified by the new section 30, which states: “Nothing

in this Act [.e. IRFRA] limits the authority of the City

of Chicago to exercise its powers under the [OMA] for

the purpose of relocation of cemeteries or the graves

located therein.” 775 ILCS 35/30.

On May 30, 2003, shortly after the legislature

enacted the OMA, the Municipal Plaintiffs, St. John’s,

and Rest Haven filed suit in the United States District

Court for the Northern District of Illinois against the

City of Chicago, Mayor Richard M. Daley, the State of

Illinois, Governor Rod Blagojevich, and both the FAA

and its administrator alleging a number of violations of

federal law. On June 19, 2003, Plaintiffs filed an

amended complaint. Most of the counts of the

amended complaint challenged the City’s plan to

acquire land before the FAA issued its EIS or Record of

Decision (ROD). Additionally, all of the Plaintiffs

10a

alleged that the City, along with the Mayor, violated

NEPA and its implementing regulations, the National

Historic Preservation Act (NHPA), 16 U.S.C. § 470, et

seq., § 4() of the Department of Transportation Act,

49U.S.C. §303(c), as well as provisions of the

Administrative Procedures Act, 5 U.S.C. § 706.

In the amended complaint, St. John’s and Rest Haven

also asserted a number of claims based on religion

against the City. They alleged that the City, in

proposing to condemn their cemeteries without

demonstrating a compelling governmental interest and

use of the least restrictive mechanism, as IRFRA

ordinarily requires, violated their constitutional rights

under the Free Exercise Clause of the First

Amendment and the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment. These plaintiffs charged that

the City is “targeting” their religious activities and

posing a substantial burden on their ability to practice

their religion. Plaintiffs also alleged that the City’s

plan to condemn their cemeteries violated the federal

Religious Land Use and Institutionalized Persons Act

(RLUIPA), 42 U.S.C. § 2000cc et seg. Additionally,

they asserted violations of the Fifth Amendment’s

Takings Clause and the Fourteenth Amendment’s Due

Process clause. Finally, these Plaintiffs raised similar

religion-based claims against the State of [linois and

Governor Blagojevich, and against the FAA and its

administrator, including an allegation that the FAA

violated the federal RFRA. On March 29, 2005, the

district court dismissed the State of Illinois and

Governor Blagojevich from the case on Eleventh

Amendment immunity grounds.

lla

As this suit was pending before the district court, the

parties entered into a court-approved order under

which the City agreed that it would not acquire

property in Bensenville and Elk Grove, including the

St. John’s and Rest Haven Cemeteries, until the FAA

issued an EIS or a ROD. At the end of 2003, the City

began to move forward with other components of its

plan to expand O’Hare, seeking FAA approval for over

$1.3 billion in federal funds for “Phase One” of the

OMP. Specifically, the City requested about $300

million in airport improvement program discretionary

funds, $63 million in entitlement funds, and over $1

billion in Passenger Facility Charge (PFC) funds.

Phase One of the project was to include the demolition

of the cemeteries, as well as other property in the

villages. In late July of 2005, the FAA issued its final

EIS, which compared the environmental impact of the

City’s proposal with other alternatives and concluded

‘ that the City’s airport plan, with some minor revisions,

was the preferred course. The EIS also reviewed the

legal issues raised by St. John’s and Rest Haven,

ultimately concluding that if the City’s plan was

approved in the ROD, the St. Johannes Cemetery

would be relocated, while the Rest Haven Cemetery

would not.

On September 30, 2005, the FAA issued its ROD

granting the City’s request for approval of its airport

layout plan. The ROD considered St. John’s RFRA

claims and concluded that although the acquisition and

relocation of the St. Johannes cemetery was likely to

burden the exercise of the parishioners’ religion

substantially, the City had a compelling interest in

bi.

12a

relocating the cemetery in order to make O’Hare more

efficient. The same day that the FAA issued its ROD,

the Municipal Plaintiffs and St. John’s filed a petition

for review of the EIS and ROD in the D.C. Circuit.

Their petition alleged, among other things, that the

FAA’s approval of the airport layout plan violated a

number of provisions of federal law, including the First

and Fifth Amendments and RFRA. Along with their

petition for review, the Plaintiffs filed an emergency

motion for a stay pending appeal and a motion for an

administrative stay, which the D.C. Circuit granted.

Rest Haven was not a party to this litigation.

In light of the FAA’s approval of the airport layout

plan and the claims pending before the D.C. Circuit,

the district court issued an order to show cause why

certain parties and claims should not be dismissed.

Given that the Rest Haven Cemetery had by then been

excluded from the OMP and that the City was not

challenging this step, the district court suggested that

Rest Haven should voluntarily dismiss itself from the

suit. The district court also ordered the Plaintiffs to

show cause why Mayor Daley should noi be dismissed

from the suit, because suing him in his official capacity

and suing the City of Chicago amounted to the same

thing. The district court also questioned its

jurisdiction to review claims asserted against the FAA

involving the ROD.

Before the district court issued its show cause order,

however, the FAA informed the D.C. Circuit that it

planned to award the City the $363 million in

discretionary funds it had requested to begin the

implementation of the first phase of the OMP. It made

2 ae

13a

this announcement despite the fact that it had not yet

formally rendered a decision granting the City’s

request. The City argued that in the absence of the

FAA’s final order rendering a decision on funding, the

court was without jurisdiction to consider Plaintiffs’

NEPA and RFRA claims. On October 25, 2005, the

D.C. Circuit denied St. John’s and the Municipal

Plaintiffs’ emergency motion for a stay pending appeal,

determining that they had not demonstrated either the

irreparable injury or the likelihood of success on the

merits required for the issuance of a stay pending

review. At that point, the court did not address the

jurisdictional question.

On October 26, 2005, St. John’s and the Municipal

Plaintiffs returned to the district court and filed a

motion for leave to file a second amended complaint.

Rest Haven was not listed as a party to the motion for

leave to file the second amended complaint. The

proposed second amended complaint included a claim

that the FAA had violated the Freedom of Information

Act (FOIA), 5 U.S.C. § 552, et seq., when it allegedly

ignored the Plaintiffs’ requests for documents relating

to O’Hare’s expansion. On October 31, 2005, St. John’s

filed a motion for a temporary restraining order and a

motion for a preliminary injunction, seeking to halt all

action on the City’s part while all these challenges

were pending. The district court entered a temporary

restraining order as it reviewed these motions.

After filing these motions in district court, the

Plaintiffs then filed a docketing statement of issues in

the D.C. Circuit. In addition to the claims they raised

against the FAA before the district court, Plaintiffs

14a

asked the D.C. Circuit to decide whether it was

improper for the FAA to fail to rule on Chicago’s

funding applications, whether the FAA had issued an

unlawful ROD, and whether their First Amendment

and RFRA claims were entitled to de novo review of

disputed factual questions in an Article III court.

At that juncture, the district court dismissed Rest

Haven from the litigation. Because the City no longer

planned to acquire the Rest Haven Cemetery, and

because Rest Haven did not present any argument

explaining why or how it might be affected by either

_ the City’s or the FAA’s actions in their response to the

order to show cause, the district court held that its

claims were moot. The court also dismissed Mayor

Daley from the litigation, concluding that the Plaintiffs

had not responded to the issue it raised in the order to

show cause (whether it was redundant to sue both the

City and the Mayor in his official capacity). The

Plaintiffs do not challenge the dismissal of Mayor

Daley from this suit on appeal.

With respect to St. John’s religious claims against the

City, the district court concluded that the Plaintiffs

failed to state a claim upon which relief could be

- granted under the Free Exercise Clause or the Equal

Protection Clause. It found that the OMA was

constitutional on its face and that there was no

indication that any of the City’s proposed actions were

motivated by St. John’s religious affiliation. - The

district court also denied St. John’s motion for leave to

file a second amended complaint with respect to these

claims, finding them to be similarly lacking.

Additionally, the district court dismissed all counts of

l5a

the complaint that pertained to RLUIPA, concluding

that the City’s plan to condemn the St. Johannes

Cemetery was noi a “land use” regulation as

contemplated by that statute.

The district court also dismissed the bulk of

St. John’s and the Municipal Plaintiffs’ claims against

the FAA and its administrator. It concluded that it

lacked jurisdiction to review challenges to the FAA’s

actions concerning the ROD because under 49 U.S.C.

§ 46110, those claims fell within the _ exclusive

jurisdiction of the court of appeals. Indeed, as the

court recognized, the D.C. Circuit was already

considering these claims. After dismissing these

claims, all that remained was St. John’s and the.

Municipal Plaintiffs’ FOIA claim, for which the district

court granted the motion for leave to file a second

amended complaint. Given the dismissal of virtually

all of the Plaintiffs’ claims against the City and the

FAA, the district court vacated the temporary

restraining order and denied the motion for a

preliminary injunction as moot. Plaintiffs have

appealed from that decision. See 280U.S.C.

§ 1292(a)(1).

II

We review de novo the district court’s grant of a

motion to dismiss under Rule 12(b)(6) for failure to

state a claim upon which relief can be granted,

accepting as true “all of the factual allegations

contained in the complaint.” Erickson v. Pardus,.

127S. Ct. 2197, 2200 (2007) (quoting Bel/ Atlantic

Corp. v. Twombly, 1278S. Ct. 1955, 1965 (2007)). We

16a

may affirm the dismissal only if the complaint fails to

set forth “enough facts to state a claim to relief that is

plausible on its face.” Bel] Atlantic, 127 S. Ct. at 1974. °

As we held in Azrborne Beepers & Video, Inc. v.

AT&T Mobility LLC, 2007 WL 2406859 (7th Cir.

Aug. 24, 2007), a district court should dismiss a

complaint if “the factual detail... [is] so sketchy that

the complaint does not provide the type of notice of the

claim to which the defendant is entitled under Rule 8.”

Id. at *5. A district court’s decision whether to allow a

party to file a second amended complaint, however, is

reviewed for abuse of discretion. See Doherty v. Davy

Songer, Inc., 195 F.3d 919, 927 (7th Cir. 1999).

With respect to the district court’s decision that St.

John’s motion for a preliminary injunction is moot, we

review the court’s “findings of fact for clear error, its

balancing of the factors for a preliminary injunction

under the abuse of discretion standard, and its legal

conclusions de novo.” Linnemeir v. Bad. of Trs. of

Purdue Univ., 260 F.3d 757, 761 (7th Cir. 2001). In

assessing whether a preliminary injunction is

warranted, we must consider whether the party

seeking the injunction has demonstrated that “1) it has

a reasonable likelihood of success on the merits; 2) no

adecuate remedy at law exists; 3)it will suffer

irreparable harm if it is denied; 4) the irreparable

harm the party will suffer without injunctive relief is

greater than the harm the opposing party will suffer if

the preliminary injunction is granted; and 5) the

preliminary injunction will not harm the _ public

interest.” Jd.

17a

Il

Before turning to the merits, we must address two

jurisdictional issues that the Municipal Plaintiffs and

Rest Haven have raised. The first is whether the

district court erred in dismissing with prejudice all

claims brought by Rest Haven as moot, because the

City no longer plans to acquire that cemetery. Second

is the question whether the district court correctly

dismissed the Municipal Plaintiffs’ claims against the

FAA for lack of jurisdiction based upon 49 U.S.C.

§ 46110. We review de novo the district court’s grant of

a motion to dismiss for lack of subject matter

jurisdiction under Federal Rule of Civil Procedure

12(b)(1), which includes a dismissal on mootness

grounds. See, eg. Franzoni v. Hartmarx Corp., ©

300 F.3d 767, 771 (7th Cir. 2002). “When reviewing a

dismissal for lack of subject matter jurisdiction, we

note that a district court must accept as true all well-

pleaded factual allegations and draw all reasonable

inferences in favor of the plaintiff.” Long v. Shorebank

Dev. Corp., 182 F.3d 548, 554 (7th Cir. 1999). In

considering such a motion, “[t]he district court may

properly look beyond the jurisdictional allegations of

the complaint and view whatever evidence has been

submitted. on the issue to determine whether in fact

subject matter jurisdiction exists.” Jd.

A. Rest Haven

At the beginning of the EIS process, the City

submitted to the FAA a proposed revision to its airport

layout plan that included the construction of a runway

in an area that would require the relocation of existing

18a

air cargo facilities. In that proposed plan, the City

indicated that it wanted to move these facilities to the

site that is currently the Rest Haven Cemetery. The

FAA concluded in its final EIS, however, that it would

be possible to relocate the air cargo facilities without.

disturbing Rest Haven. Ultimately, on September 29,

2005, the FAA issued its ROD approving a revised

airport layout plan “that depictled] cargo building

repositioning, but also showled] that Rest Haven

Cemetery wiould] remain in private ownership.” The

ROD also reaffirmed that there would be no basis for

the mandatory reinterment of bodies at Rest Haven,

and it assured that the cemetery would “remain

available for future burials, and for visitation and care

of the-graves by members of the public.” This convinced

the district court that there was no longer a live

controversy among Rest Haven, the City, and the FAA;

it therefore dismissed all counts brought by Rest.

Haven in the first amended complaint with prejudice.

Like the district court, we see no reason why Rest

Haven should not be dismissed from this litigation.

Under Article III, § 2 of the United States Constitution,

federal court jurisdiction is limited to “actual, ongoing

- controversies.” Honig v. Doe, 484 U.S. 305, 317 (1988).

“(W]hen the issues presented are no longer ‘live’ or the

parties ‘lack a legally cognizable interest in the

outcome,” the case is (or the claims are) moot and must

be dismissed for lack of jurisdiction. Powell v.

McCormack, 395 U.S. 486, 496 (1969); see also Stotts v.

Cmty. Unit. Sch. Dist. No. 1, 230 F.3d 989, 990-91.

(7th Cir. 2000). The fact that Rest Haven at-one point

was entitled to pursue this action makes no difference.

19a

In order to. satisfy Article III's jurisdictional

requirements, “[tlhe requisite personal interest that

must exist at the commencement of the litigation

(standing) must continue throughout its existence

(mootness).” Arizonans for Official English v. Arizona,

520 U.S. 43, 68 n.22 (1997) (quoting United States

Parole Comm'n v. Geraghty, 445 U.S. 388, 397 (1980)).

As of July 2005, “the dispute between thelse] parties no

longer rages”; in fact, the FAA granted Rest Haven

precisely the relief it wanted—the agency approved a

layout plan that leaves it alone. AHolstein v. City of

Chicago, 29 F.3d 1145, 1147 (7th Cir. 1994). In fact,

the ROD goes one step further: it requires the City to -

provide a road to the cemetery to allow continued

access to its grounds and to ensure that its daily

activities are not unduly disturbed by the surrounding

construction. Once a plaintiffs entire demand is

satisfied, “there is no dispute over which to litigate,

and a plaintiff who refuses to acknowledge this loses

outright, under FED. R. CIV. P. 12(b)(1), because he

has no remaining stake.” Aand v. Monsanto Co.,

926 F.2d 596, 598 (7th Cir. 1991); see also North

Carolina v. Rice, 404 U.S. 244, 246 (1971) (noting that

a case becomes. moot when a court’s decision can no

longer affect the rights of litigants in the case before it

and would be nothing but an advisory opinion on

hypothetical facts).

In response to the district court’s order to show cause

why its claims should not be dismissed, Rest Haven

complained that it was uncomfortable without an

enforceable court order providing that “Chicago will

preserve and leave forever undisturbed the graves of

20a

the departed at Rest Haven,” as well as an order

requiring Chicago to “guarantee the Rest Haven

_ plaintiffs continued access to the Rest Haven

Cemetery.” In its reply brief here, Rest Haven concedes

that the City’s representation that it will not acquire

Rest Haven Cemetery “may moot the claim for

injunctive relief.” See Brown v. Bartholomew Consol.

Sch. .Corp., 442 F.3d 588, 596 (7th Cir. 2006) (‘In an

action seeking only injunctive relief . . . once the threat

of the act sought to be enjoined dissipates, the suit

must be dismissed as moot.”). At oral argument,

however, Rest Haven appeared to defend the necessity

of the order it requested on the ground that, without

such an order, the City might unilaterally terminate its

agreement not to condemn Rest Haven. This fear is

motivating some of Rest Haven’s religious adherents to

bury their loved ones elsewhere out of fear of future

disinterment.

If the City could change its mind at any time, Rest

Haven might have a point. But that is not the case

here. There is no indication on this record that the

City has the authority to modify the airport layout plan

without FAA approval. As the City represented at oral

argument, it took approximately four years for the FAA

to approve the plan at issue, and the City has no

immediate intention to seek modification of the

approved airport layout plan in favor of one that

requires it to condemn the Rest Haven Cemetery. To

the contrary, the City stated that it is quite eager to

implement the approved plan. Rest Haven’s fear that

the City may one day change its mind and seek to

acquire its cemetery is rooted in nothing but

2la

speculation. In order to satisfy Article III's

justiciability requirements, “(t]he injury or threat of

injury must be both real and immediate, not

conjectural or hypothetical.” O’Shea v. Littleton,

414 U.S. 488, 494 (1974). If and when the day comes

when the City or some other governmental entity

wants to condemn the Rest Haven Cemetery, Rest

Haven will have ample opportunity to defend itself

before all appropriate tribunals.

If what Rest Haven wants is a perpetual injunction

against the City requiring it to leave its cemetery

undisturbed until the end of time, it is overreaching.

The power of eminent domain is a fundamental power

of government, and a court cannot restrict future

governmental authorities from its proper use.

Moreover, any injunction issued by a court of equity is

itself subject to later modification. See Rufo v. Inmates

of Suffolk County Jail, 502 U.S. 367 (1992); New York

State Assn for Retarded Children Inc. v. Carey,

706 F.2d 956, 967 (2d. Cir. 1983) (“The power of a court

of equity to modify a decree of injunctive relief is long-

established, broad, and flexible.”). Courts grant

injunctive relief with the understanding that there will

be an “opportunity for modifying or vacating [the]

injunction when its continuance is no _ longer

warranted.” Milk Wagon ODrivers Union v.

Meadowmoor Dairies, 312 U.S. 287, 298 (1941).

Neither the district court nor this court is empowered

to enjoin the City from ever seeking to acquire Rest

Haven’s property, no matter what the reason. Rest

Haven also indicated at oral argument that it would be

satisfied with a court order finding as a fact that there

22a

would be a substantial burden to its First Amendment

rights in the event of a future taking. This will not do.

In the absence of a live controversy, such an order

would be no more than an advisory opinion, which, as

we are sure Rest Haven knows, federal courts are

without constitutional authority to issue.

Rest Haven also argues that its claims are not moot

because it wants a declaratory judgment establishing

that OMA’s amendment to IRFRA violates the First

Amendment and the RLUIPA. This, at least, looks

more like an ongoing controversy. Because Rest Haven

did not advance this argument either before the district

court or in its opening brief, however, we consider it

waived. See Nelson v. LaCrosse County Dist. Attorney,

301 F.3d 820, 836 (7th Cir. 2002) (arguments raised for

the first time in the reply brief are waived). Waiver or

forfeiture aside, the argument has no merit. Even

though someone may be affected by the IRFRA

amendment, that “someone” is no longer Rest Haven,

and it is well established that the “case or controversy”

requirement applies to declaratory judgments, just as

it apphes to every other kind of litigation in federal

court. See Powell, 395 U.S. at 518 (“The availability of

declaratory relief depends on whether there is a live

dispute between the parties. . . .”); see also Tobin for

Governor v. Ill. State Bd. of Elections, 268 F.3d 517,

528 (7th Cir. 2001) (noting that a claim for declaratory

judgment was moot where “relief . . . would have no

impact on the parties to thle] suit”). —

23a ;

B. Municipal Plaintiffs and Rest Haven: FAA Claims

The district court also found that it lacked

jurisdiction to review the Municipal Plaintiffs’ and Rest

Haven’s claims against the FAA because these claims

fell within the exclusive jurisdiction of the court of

appeals under 49 U.S.C. § 46110. After dismissing

Rest Haven from the litigation, the district court

decided that it lacked jurisdiction to review the claims

against the FAA that related to the issuance of the

ROD. Because Rest Haven was not a party to this

complaint, it has no “personal stake” in the appeal of

the district court’s denial of St. John’s and the

Municipal Plaintiffs’ motion for leave to file a second

amended complaint on this ground. See, e.g., Freedom

from Religion Foundation, Inc. v. Bugher, 249 F.3d

606, 609 (7th Cir. 2001) (Under Article III, only a

-plaintiff with a personal stake in a case or controversy

has standing.”). Even if Rest Haven were a party to

the second amended complaint and its claims were not

moot, the district court would still lack jurisdiction to

review either Rest Haven’s or the Municipal Plaintiffs’

claims against the FAA. The jurisdictional language in

49 U.S.C. § 46110 coud not be plainer. It says that

a person disclosing a substantial interest in an

order issued by . . . the Administrator of the

Federal Aviation Administration with respect to

aviation duties and powers designated to be

carried out by the Administrator . . . in whole or

in part under this part [or] part B . . . may apply

for review of the order by filing a petition for

review in the United States Court of Appeals for

the District of Columbia Circuit or in the court of

‘g

eS

4

BS.

hire

a

oa

Me

.

3

5

My

ae

24a

appeals of the United States for the circuit in

which the person resides or has its principal

place of business.

49 U.S.C. § 46110(a). “Part B” refers to the Airport

Development and Noise provisions of the same subtitle,

see 49 U.S.C. § 47107, et. seg., which include the

provision that grants the FAA the authority to review

airport layout plans. See 49 U.S.C. § 47107(a)(16).

The statute goes on to provide that the court of appeals

has “exclusive jurisdiction to affirm, amend, modify or

set aside any part of the order.” 49 U.S.C. § 46110(a).

The Plaintiffs’ arguments urging that the district

court had the authority to consider these claims are

without merit. First, Rest Haven argues that the

federal RFRA, which Rest Haven claims the FAA has

violated, commands that contested issues of fact

pertaining to violations of that statute be tried in the

federal district court. In support of this claim, they cite

§ 2000bb-1(c) of the Act, which provides that a person

alleging a violation of RFRA “may assert that violation

as a claim or defense in a judicial proceeding” and that

standing to assert such a claim is “governed by... .

article III of the Constitution.” Plaintiffs urge that this

language means that they are entitled to an Article III

proceeding in which to resolve disputed issues of fact.

Even assuming that Rest Haven’s claims are not moot,

however, the statute says nothing about exclusive

jurisdiction of district courts to find facts in RFRA

cases. Review of an agency action in the court of

appeals surely qualifies as an Article III judicial

proceeding. Nothing in RFRA purported to repeal the

authority of federal administrative agencies to find

25a

facts, subject to review by the courts of appeals; there

was no silent elimination of the judicial review

provisions of the Administrative Procedures Act. See

.5U.S.C. § 706. Furthermore, the fact that Rest

Haven’s claims against the FAA include allegations

that the FAA violated the Constitution does not allow

it to “bypass the administrative process” because “[t]he

effect would be that important and _ difficult

constitutional issues would be decided devoid of factual

content.” Gaunce v. DeVincentis, 708 F.2d 1290, 1293

(7th Cir. 1983) (holding that exclusive jurisdiction

rested in the court of appeals in a case in which a pilot

challenged an FAA order revoking her flight certificate

on due process grounds); see also Thunder Basin Coal

Co. v. Reich, 510 U.S. 200, 215-16 (1994) (indicating

that while the “[a]djudication of the constitutionality of

congressional enactments has generally been thought

beyond the jurisdiction of administrative agencies,”

such a “rule is not mandatory,” particularly when a

plaintiffs “statutory and constitutional claims can

meaningfully be addressed in the Court of Appeals”)

(internal citations omitted).

As further support for their argument that their

claims against the FAA should be heard by the federal

district court, both Rest Haven and the Municipal

Plaintiffs contend that the misconduct of various FAA

administrators made it impossible to develop the type

of factual record necessary for meaningful appellate

review. The Plaintiffs charge that the FAA has

developed a compensation program that provides

monetary rewards for FAA officials who make decisions

that allow the construction of new runway projects:

26a

that former Chicago employees (who had worked on

previous O’Hare expansion projects) are currently FAA

officials and employees; and that these administrators

withheld thousands of documents that are not a part of

the appellate record. Without the ability to present

their claims to the district court, they fear, they will be

stuck with the outcome of these tainted proceedings.

Appellate courts, however, are certainly competent to

hear a party’s argument that there were flaws in due

process at the agency level and remand the case to the

agency with instructions to correct these problems.

Additionally, any plaintiff can make an argument to

the court of appeals that there were problems with the

creation of the record before the administrative agency

and thus in the record on appeal. See FCC v. ITT

- World Commc‘ns, Inc., 466 U.S. 463, 468-69 (1984) (“If,

however, the Court of Appeals finds that the

administrative record is inadequate, it may remand to

the agency, see Harrison v. PPG Indus., Inc.

446 U.S. 578, 593-94 (1980), or in some circumstances

refer the case to a special master, see 28 U.S.C.

§ 2347(b)(3).”). In fact, Plaintiffs made these

arguments before the Court of Appeals for the D.C.

Circuit, which rejected them. See Bensenville, 457

F.3d at 72-73.

Lastly, Plaintiffs argue that the district court at least

has jurisdiction over their NEPA claims, pursuant to

40 C:F.R. § 1506.1. That regulation provides that

“{ulntil an agency issues a record of decision . . . no

action concerning the proposal shall be taken which

would [hlave an adverse environmental impact: or

(llimit the choice of reasonable alternatives.” According

27a

to Plaintiffs, the FAA has not made a substantive

funding decision about the disposition of certain

passenger facility charges (PFC) that amount to more

than one billion dollars. This is money that the City

needs to facilitate Phase One of the OMP. Without the

federal money, the City cannot proceed with the

implementation of Phase One, which includes the

acquisition of land from the Municipal Plaintiffs.

Plaintiffs argue that the City is attempting to subvert

the requirements of NEPA by adhering to a policy of

“destruction before decision,” in disregard of this

court’s ruling in Old Town Neighborhood Ass'n v.

Kauffman, 333 F.3d 732 (7th Cir. 2003), disapproving

such a strategy. The district court decided that it had

no jurisdiction over this claim either. 7

Perhaps because events continue to unfold, the

Plaintiffs’ argument in this respect seems to have

unraveled. The regulation to which Plaintiffs refer

prohibits action in the absence of an agency’s issuance

of a ROD. Here, though, the ROD and the

accompanying EIS have been issued. More than that,

in an agreed order between these parties, the City

stipulated that it “[would] not acquire property in the

Village of Bensenville and Elk Grove Village for the

OMP, or acquire the Rest Haven or St. Johannes

' Cemeteries, unless and until’ the FAA has issued a

Record of Decision following completion of an EIS for

the OMP.” At oral argument the FAA directed the

Court’s attention to § 12.3 of the ROD where the FAA

made specific factual findings on the airport layout

plan’s effect on natural resources, in compliance with

49 U.S.C. § 47106(c)(1)(B). Plaintiffs contend that this

28a

does not do the job, because while environmental

findings have been made with respect to the airport

layout plan, those findings did not focus on the specific

project for which the City is seeking funding—the

Phase One Project. Based on our reading of the record,

however, the Phase One Project is a part of the airport

layout plan for which the City has received FAA

approval. Furthermore, the regulation does not

prohibit action until the FAA has made a// decisions

with respect to funding; it says only that no action can

be taken before the issuance of the ROD, which we now

have. If these Plaintiffs wanted to challenge the

environmental findings made by the FAA, they

certainly could: have included those claims in the

petition for review. of the ROD that they filed in the

D.C. Circuit... -

This shows Plaintiffs’ NEPA challenge for what it is:

a matter so intertwined with the ROD that it falls

within the exclusive jurisdiction of the court of appeals.

If we needed further reassurance on the point, we have

it in the fact-that Plaintiffs actually made the identical

argument about NEPA -compliance im _ their

presentation to the D.C. Circuit. There, they argued

that the FAA violated NEPA by issuing a ROD that

approved of ‘the airport layout plan without making

any formal funding decisions. Before the district court

and on appeal here, they argue that the FAA is

violating NEPA by allowing the City to proceed with

the acquisition of property in these villages before a

funding decision has been made. Even if we did not

think that this'issue was under the court of appeals’

exclusive jurisdiction, we do not think it wise to allow

29a

either the Municipal Plaintiffs or Rest Haven to litigate

the same issues, either concurrently or seriatim, in

separate federal courts.

IV

We turn now to St. John’s part of this case. The first

question is whether St. John’s is entitled, as a matter

of state law, to the protection afforded by the Illinois

Religious Freedom Restoration Act, 775 ILCS 35/30. If

the OMA’s amendment of IRFRA can withstand legal

challenge, then the answer must be no; if not, then

St. John’s may have a point. Before the district court,

St. John’s argued that the OMA’s amendment of

IRFRA violated the Free Exercise Clause of the First

Amendment. The Free Exercise Clause prohibits the

government from “placling] a substantial burden on the

observation of a central religious belief or practice”

without first demonstrating that a “compelling

governmental interest justifies the burden.” Hernandez

v. CIR. 490 U.S. 680, 699 (1989). In Employment

Division v. Smith, 494 U.S. 872 (1990), however, the

Supreme Court held that neutral laws of general

applicability do not run afoul of the Free Exercise

Clause, even if these laws have the incidental effect of

burdening a religious practice. Jd. at 883; see also

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of

Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520, 531-32 (1993). In order. to

determine whether a law is neutral, as the Court used

the term in Smith, we must examine the object of the

law. A law is not neutral if “the object of the law is to

infringe upon or restrict practices because of their

religious motivation.” Lukumi, 508 U.S. at 533. The

related principle of “general applicability” forbids the

30a

government from “impos[ing] burdens only on conduct

motivated by religious belief’ in a “selective manner.”

Id. at 543; see also id. at 531 (“Neutrality and general

applicability are interrelated, and failure to satisfy one

requirement is a likely indication that the other has

not been satisfied.”).

The Illinois legislature passed IRFRA in 1998 in

response to both Smith and the Supreme Court’s

subsequent invalidation (as applied to the states) of the

federal Religious Freedom and Restoration Act of 1993

(RFRA), 42 U.S.C. § 2000bb, et.seg. See City of Boerne

v. Flores, 521 U.S. 507 (1997) (holding that RFRA, as it

applied to the states and their subdivisions, exceeded

Congress’s remedial powers under the Fourteenth

Amendment). RFRA had been Congress’s attempt to

impose what it understood to be the pre-Smith

“compelling interest test” to state measures affecting

religious practices. Under RFRA, a governmental unit

could not “substantially burden a person’s exercise of

religion even if the burden resultled] from a rule of

general applicability . . . unless [the government’s

action was] in furtherance of a compelling

governmental interest and [was] the least restrictive

means of furthering that .. . interest.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000bb-1; see also Sherbert v. Verner, 374 U.S. 398

(1963); Wisconsin v. Yoder, 406 U.S. 205 (1972).

Since the holding of Boerne was predicated on the

scope of Congress’s powers under section 5 of the

Fourteenth Amendment, the Illinois legislature

reasonably concluded that Boerne said nothing about

its own ability under Illinois’s Constitution to enact a

measure affording special protection to religion. It did

sla

so in IRFRA, using language that mirrors that of the

federal RFRA. See 775 ILCS 35/15 (“Government may

not substantially burden a person’s exercise of religion,

even if the burden results from a rule of general

_ applicability, unless it demonstrates that application of

the burden to the person (i)is in furtherance of a

compelling governmental interest and (ii) is the least

restrictive means of furthering that compelling

governmental interest.”). The legislation was expressly

designed to afford greater protection to religious

activity in Illinois than Smith holds is required under

the federal Constitution. The legislature acted again in

the OMA, however, taking back part of what IRFRA

gave: it put religious institutions on the same footing

as all other property owners for purposes of the O’Hare

project. The OMA accomplishes this goal by adding a

new § 30 to IRFRA; the new section states that nothing

in IRFRA “limit[s] the authority of the: City of Chicago

to exercise its powers under the [OMA] for the purpose

of relocation of cemeteries or graves located therein.”

775 ILCS 35/30. As St. John’s points out, the OMA

also mentions cemeteries in § 92, which amends the

Illinois Municipal Code, 65 ILCS 5/11-51-1, by allowing ©

the City to remove cemetery remains for airport

expansion without the assent of cemetery trustees or

owners.

According to St. John’s, a major tenet of its religious

beliefs is that the remains of those buried at the

St. Johannes Cemetery must not be disturbed until

Jesus Christ raises these remains on the day of

Resurrection. It asserts therefore that the City’s plan

to acquire and con¢emn the cemetery is a “sacrilege to

32a

[its] religious faith.” We accept those representations.

St. John’s continues with a claim that the OMA

impermissibly targets the religious cemeteries adjacent

to O'Hare, stripping them of the protection under

IRFRA that is afforded to every other religious

institution, including other religious cemeteries, in

Illinois. The district court decided, however, that this

was the wrong perspective: it saw no discrimination or

targeting of religious institutions because any property,

religious or otherwise, within the area designated for

O’Hare expansion is subject to the extraordinary

powers conferred in the OMA. It therefore dismissed

_ all counts in the first amended complaint that asserted

a free exercise violation and similarly denied the

motion for leave to file a second amended complaint

with respect to the free exercise claims, concluding that

the Plaintiffs failed to state any free exercise claim on

these facts.

Throughout these proceedings, St. John’s has insisted

that the relevant comparison is between the two

cemeteries potentially affected by the O’Hare project —

and all other cemeteries or religious properties in the

state. But this assumes the answer to the crucial

question: what is the proper comparison to make?

Lukumi requires us to approach that question by

asking whether the object of the OMA was “to infringe

upon or restrict practices because of their religious

motivation.” 508 U.S. at 533. In looking at OMA, we

2 Our dissenting colleague answers this critical question in

St. John’s favor. For the reasons we set forth in the discussion

that follows, we conclude that the City has the better of the

argument.

33a :

must consider the act as a whole, as well as the part

that the new § 30 of IRFRA (added by § 96 of the OMA)

plays in it.

We begin, as Lukumi instructs, with the text of the

OMA.. As we noted earlier, the new § 30 of IRFRA says

simply “Nothing in this Act limits the authority of the

City of Chicago to exercise its powers under the O’Hare

Modernization Act for the purposes of relocation of

cemeteries or the graves located therein.” In our view,

this language does not “refer ] to a religious practice

without a secular meaning discernible from the

language or context.” Lukum, 508 U.S. at 533. Some

cemeteries are affiliated with religious sects, others are

not; even graves in cemeteries with a. religious

affiliation may be relocated because of natural

necessity, for public health concerns, after a hurricane

or flood, or for many other private or public reasons.

We conclude there is nothing inherently religious about

cemeteries or graves, and the act of relocating them

thus does not on its face infringe upon a religious

practice, as Lukumi uses that term. (We acknowledge

the fact that the OMA addresses only cemeteries that

are entitled to invoke the protections of IRFRA, but

that is only because secular cemeteries presumably

would have no extraordinary defense to the power of

eminent domain to begin with.) We note in this

connection that the Supreme Court held in Lukumi

that the words “sacrifice” and “ritual” were not so

closely associated with religious practice that a finding

of facial non-neutrality was compelled. Jd. at 534. If

that was the case there, then it is straightforward here |

to conclude that the OMA is facially neutral.

34a

Even if a law passes the test of facial neutrality, it is

still necessary to ask whether it embodies a more

subtle or masked hostility to religion. See, e.g., Gillette

v. United States, 401 U.S. 437, 452 (1971) (indicating

that the Free Exercise Clause “forbids subtle

departures from neutrality”); see also Bowen v. Roy,

476 U.S. 693, 703 (1986) (noting that the First

Amendment prohibits the government from engaging

in the “covert suppression of particular religious

beliefs”). To answer that question, we must look at

available evidence that sheds light on the law’s object,

including the effect of the law as it is designed to —

operate, the “historical background of the decision

under challenge, the specific series of events leading to

the enactment or official policy in question, and the

[act’s] legislative or administrative history.” Lukumi,

508 U.S. at 540. Perhaps the most important of these

‘sources is the remainder of the statute of which the

new § 30 is a part. The OMA in its entirety is the law

that the Illinois General Assembly passed; by relying

on it we do not run the risk of selective use of

statements in legislative history that might not reflect

the intent of the legislature. The Supreme Court took

. this approach when it reviewed the Free Exercise and

Establishment Clause claims in Locke v. Davey,

540 U.S. 712 (2004). There, although the petitioner

challenged only the specific statutory provision of a

scholarship program that prohibited recipients from

pursuing post-secondary degrees in theology, the Court

observed that “the entirety of the Promise Scholarship

Program goes a long way toward including religion in

its benefits.” Jd. at 724 (emphasis added).

35a

Although St. John’s alleges in its complaint that the

City targeted its religious rights when the City asked

the Illinois General Assembly to amend IRFRA as part

of the OMA, in reviewing the sufficiency of the

complaint “we are not obliged to accept as true legal

conclusions or unsupported conclusions of fact.” Hickey

v. O'Bannon, 287 F.3d 656, 658 (7th Cir. 2002). There

are simply no facts in the voluminous record onsappeal

that support any such claim of targeting religious

institutions or practices. According to its stated

purpose, the OMA was enacted, in part, to insure that

“legal impediments to the completion of the [O’Hare]

project be eliminated.” OMA § 5(b). As we noted

earlier, most of the OMA’s provisions have absolutely

nothing to do with religion, cemeteries, or IRFRA. See,

e.g., id. § 20 (prohibiting local government units, other

than the City of Chicago, from condemning property

that is slated to become part of O’Hare); id. § 94

(amending the Illinois Aeronautics Act, 620ILCS

5/38.01, to exempt project applications under the

provisions of the Airport and Airway Improvement Act

submitted in connection with the OMP from the

general requirements for such applications); id. § 95

(amending the Illinois Code of Civil Procedure to

include a quick-take provision for property condemned

for the OMP). In fact, the record as a whole strongly

supports the position the City has urged throughout

these proceedings: the OMA was designed to remove

any and all state-law based impediments to the O’Hare

expansion project, no matter what their source.

St. John’s makes the obvious point that, as matters

have developed, it is now the only cemetery in the

36a

State of Illinois affected by the new § 30 of IRFRA.

That is true, but an “adverse impact will not. always

lead to a finding of impermissible targeting.” Lukumi,

' 5608 U.S. at 535. In fact, if this point matters at all, it .

may cut in favor of the City. As St. John’s repeatedly

mentions in its brief, no other religious cemetery in

Illinois, including other cemeteries similarly affiliated

with the United Church of Christ, is affected by the

OMA. The fact that the legislation leaves other

religious cemeteries untouched (including those

affiliated with churches or other religious institutions

that hold similar beliefs with respect to burial grounds)

reinforces the proposition that the legislature had the

nondiscriminatory purpose of clearing all land needed

for O’Hare’s proposed expansion. If there were ten

cemeteries in that area, then the new § 30 would apply

to all ten; while there were two, it applied to both. We

conclude that the OMA, including the portion that

amends IRFRA, is a neutral law of general

applicability. The Illinois legisiature was entitled to

restore Illinois law to the regime governed by Smith in

order to facilitate the airport project.

Although we think it unnecessary to ask whether the

plan passes the strict scrutiny test, and whether the

‘ City has shown that it is the least restrictive means of

furthering a compelling governmental interest, we add

for the sake of completeness that we agree with the

FAA’s conclusion in the ROD that the plan passes

muster. Unlike our dissenting colleague, we see no

disputed issues of material fact that would require

further proceedings.

37a

Virtually all involved parties, from the competent

committee in Congress, to the FAA, to the State of

Illinois, to the City of Chicago, have made a compelling

case that the OMP addresses a serious problem with

national—indeed international—consequences. O’Hare

is a vital transportation link for the Midwest region, for

North America, and for the world. It is the only airport

in the United States that is the hub of two major

airlines. Serving 47 scheduled passenger airlines and

23 cargo carriers, O’Hare provides nonstop service to

127 domestic and 48 international destinations. In

part because Chicago is the largesc population and

economic center in the middle of the country, O’Hare.

“plays an important role in the National Airspace

System (NAS) as a dual airline hub, a major mid-

continent market for nearly every major airline, and ¢ a

key international gateway.”

O’Hare is not only one of the busiest airports in the

world. Unfortunately, recently it has also become one

of the most congested. Its delay record is at least twice

as bad as that of the next two airports that suffer from

excessive delays, Atlanta and Newark. Nearly 70,000

airport operations at O’Hare were delayed in 2004, for

a total of almost 4,000,000 minutes. As the OMA

states, “The reliability and _ efficiency of air

transportation for residents and businesses in Illinois

and other States depend on efficient air traffic

operations at O’Hare.” 620 ILCS 65/5. Approximately

51% of total passengers traveling through O’Hare

connect to and. from other airports. As a major

international gateway, the effects of the congestion at

O’Hare are far-reaching. Delays at O'Hare spark

38a

further delays around the country and the world, with

serious economic and logistical consequences.

According to the ROD, “O’Hare has consistently been

the number one problem related to delays with the

National Airspace System in the United States today.”

Moreover, the problem seems unlikely to abate; the

FAA believes that “[alir traffic at O’Hare is projected to

increase in the future from some 31 million passengers

and 922.787 operations in 2002 to some 50 million

passengers and 1,194,000 operations by 2018.” Many

who have tried to connect through O’Hare have learned

the hard way that the airport simply lacks the capacity

to accommodate all the demand for its services. It is

for these reasons that the FAA concluded that the state

interests at stake are compelling and agreed to fund

one of the largest and most costly reconfigurations of

an airport in the United States.

The routes and networks that have developed around

O’Hare are vast and entrenched. The FAA considered

the option of diverting air traffic to other regional

airports or mid-continent hubs, but it found that local,

national and international dependence on O’Hare as a

national connecting hub and international] gateway had

developed to the point of making those ideas effectively

unworkable. To borrow a concept from the “essential

facilities” doctrine in antitrust law, as a practical

matter it is impossible reasonably to duplicate O’Hare

in a way that meets the crushing demand for its

important services. Compare MCI Commc'ns Corp. v.

AT&T Co., 708 F.2d 1081, 1132 (7th Cir. 1983). If the

decision were ours to make (a proposition that we find

doubtful), rather than that of the FAA or the competent

39a

authorities in Chicago and Illinois, we would find that

there really is “no realistic, economically practical

alternative,” City of Malden, Missouri v. Union Electric

Co., 887 F.2d 157, 163 n.6 (8th Cir. 1989), to the

restructuring of O’Hare to remedy those concerns.

Given O’Hare’s unique importance to the national

transportation infrastructure, we are persuaded that

the City and State have a compelling interest in fixing

the problems from which O’Hare suffers.

Even if the need is compelling, if IRFRA applied it

would be necessary to decide whether the OMP is the

least restrictive alternative. St. John’s has offered no

plausible evidence to suggest that it is not. See Bel/

Atlantic, 127 S. Ct. at 1974. The City and its many

partners carefully considered the concerns of the

religious entities in an exhaustive review. They

studied the alternatives thoughtfully, adopted some of

them, and came up with a final plan that represents

the City’s best effort to be solicitous of the religious

concerns involved without substantially undermining

the goals of the overall project. See Bensenville,

457 F.3d at 72 (stating that the FAA “appears to have

acted with great care in conducting its analyses for the

EIS and ROD” in this case). Cf. Lyng v. Northwest

Indian Cemetery Protective Ass’n, 485 U.S. 439, 453-55

(1988) oting that where the government

commissioned a comprehensive study of the effects its

’ proposed road would have on the religious concerns at

issue and had planned numerous ameliorative

measures to mitigate the intrusion as much as

possible, “it is difficult to see how the Government

could have been more solicitous”). The City discarded

40a

_ its original plan to relocate air cargo facilities to the

Rest Haven site, after the FAA concluded that “there is

a measure of flexibility in the design and location of

_ these buildings sufficient to accommodate the religious

liberty interests without impeding the air cargo

component” of the overall plan. Accordingly, Rest

Haven was spared in an effort to tailor the plan in as

accommodating a manner as possible.

Unfortunately, geography, and the needs of the

expansion project made it impossible similarly to

accommodate the St. Johannes cemetery. The FAA’s

review of alternative proposals illustrates, however,

that this conclusion was not reached lightly. The

proposals attempted to minimize encroachment on the

St. Johannes cemetery as much as possible by

considering options that would have shifted, shortened,

or eliminated various runways or other parts of the

overall plan. For example, one alternative called for

moving a key runway about 400 feet to the south and

shortening it to avoid the St. Johannes cemetery. The

FAA found that doing so would have moved the runway

into protected space for a new air control tower that

could not be moved without running afoul of FAA

safety standards. According to the ROD, the ultimate

result would have “compromisled]. the efficiency and

capacity of [other] runways in poor weather.” The ROD

noted that the responses to these concerns

“demonstrate [d] an unfamiliarity with the real-world

situation of operating a major airport in both a safe

and efficient manner.” Another proposal suggested

simply shortening the runway without moving it to

another part of the airport. The FAA found that this .

4la

alternative would “place severe operating constraints

on the airfield any time weather conditions presented a

ceiling below 4,500 feet and less than 7 miles of

visibility” which “would not accommodate anticipated

growth in aviation activity at acceptable levels of

delay.” :

More creative possibilities were considered as well,

such as simply constructing a necessary runway on the

surface of the cemetery ground without disturbing the

bodies underneath. Even though this would have made

access to and future use of the cemetery impossible and

may also have offended religious sensibilities, some

thought that this proposal was less restrictive because

the bodies would remain untouched. The FAA

consulted the Tennessee Valley Authority, a federal

agency with considerable experience in cemetery

relocation (derived over many years of building hydro-

power facilities in areas where cemeteries were

located), about this idea. The concept proved to be

infeasible as a matter of engineering. The FAA

concluded that “the depth of excavation needed for

runway construction, along with the ancillary activities

such as electrical cabling for airfield runway lighting

and storm sewer pipes for airfield drainage, presented

a substantial likelihood that the graves could be

disturbed.”

It is significant that this case involves physical

intrusion on a religious site, not the curtailment or

prohibition of a religious practice. The least restrictive

alternative analysis here comes down to concrete

measurements. The question is whether there is a way

to construct the vitally needed new runways and

42a

supporting structures at O’Hare—a defined physical

space—in a way that limits or avoids entirely physical

encroachment on an adjacent geographical area. An

airport layout and runway configuration is an intricate

web of interrelated parts where placements and

measurements are carefully calibrated to account for

variables such as wake turbulence, weather, and

visibility, as well as the size, speed, and schedules of

departing and arriving aircraft. The entire project is

constrained by demanding FAA standards. As the

ROD explains, “a change in one runway often has

consequences for other runways, nearby taxiways, and

the overall ability to handle greater levels of traffic.”

Each alternative proposal fell victim to that reality.

The City has demonstrated that it has accommodated

the religious concerns as much as is physically possible

without compromising its compelling interests. The

only plausible conclusion that the pleadings support is

that the OMP represents the least restrictive

alternative.

Lastly, St. John’s argues that the district court erred

in concluding that in order to state a free exercise claim

a plaintiff must allege two things: (1) that the

defendant’s actions were motivated by animus or

prejudice, and (2) that the law at issue is not neutral or

of general applicability. The first of these, it asserts, is

precluded by cases such as Shrum v. City of Coweta,

Okla., 449 F.3d 1132 (10th Cir. 2006). There, the

Tenth Circuit observed that “the Free Exercise Clause

has been applied numerous times when government

officials interfered with religious exercise not out of |

43a

hostility or prejudice, but for secular reasons.” /d. at

1144.

With respect, we think that St. John’s has misread

the district court’s opinion. Only after the court

decided that the OMA was a neutral law of general

applicability did it observe that “none of the allegations

in the complaint givels] rise to the inference that the

facially neutral language masks more _ insidious

underpinnings.” This comment reflects the inquiry

required by Lukumi. The district court was not

suggesting that a plaintiff is required to allege animus

or prejudice in order to state a free exercise claim.

In fact, a closer look at ShArum reveals that it is not of

much help to St. John’s. In that case, the plaintiff, a

police officer and minister, alleged that he was

assigned to a day shift precisely because this schedule

would conflict with his ministerial duties. Although

the defendant gave a neutral justification for the

assignment, the plaintiffs allegation was that the

decision to reassign him was “motivated by [plaintiff]’s

religious commitments.” Jd. at 1144. .A question

therefore existed with respect to whether the decision

at issue was actually neutral and of general

applicability; the court had no need to require the

plaintiff also to allege that the assigning officer had

held his faith against him or had acted out of religious

prejudice. The problem was that the assigning officer

wanted to force the plaintiff to choose between his

duties as a police officer and his post as a minister and

“religious discrimination was the means to [that]

entirely secular end... .” Jd. Here, in contrast,

St. John’s does not allege that the City is seeking to

44a

acquire its land because of its religious significance; the

City needs the land in spite ofits current dedication to

religious use. Cf Personnel Adm’. of Mass. v. Feeney,

442 U.S.-256, 279 (1979) (“ ‘Discriminatory purpose,’

however, implies more than intent as volition or intent

as awareness of consequences. It implies that the

' decisionmaker, in this case a state legislature, selected .

or reaffirmed a particular course of action at least in

part ‘because of,’ not merely ‘in spite of,’ its adverse

effects upon-an identifiable group.”) (internal citation

omitted). There are no facts in this record that could

support such a claim.

V

Moving on from its free exercise challenge to the

OMA’s amendment of IRFRA, St. John’s argues that

the OMA violated the Fourteenth Amendment's Equal

Protection Clause when it deprived St. John’s of

constitutional and statutory legal protections that are

available to every other cemetery in the state. The.

district court dismissed this aspect of the case, in both

the original ‘and the second amended complaint, for

failure to state a claim upon which relief could be

granted. The court’s error in this respect, according to

St. John’s, was its failure to review the equal protection

theory using strict scrutiny.

In deciding woether the OMA violates the Equal

Protection Clause, our first question is whether the act

targets a suspect class or addresses a fundamental

right. See Eby-Brown Co., LLC v. Wisc. Dep't of Agric.,

295 F.3d 749, 754 (7th Cir. 2002). If it does eituer of

these things, then the legislation must survive more

45a

demanding scrutiny. Normally, this means. that it

must be tailored narrowly to facilitate a compelling

state interest. See Arislov v. Rednour, 226 F.3d 851,

863 (7th Cir. 2000). If no fundamental rights or

suspect categories are at issue, “[t]he general rule is

that legislation is presumed to be valid and will be

sustained if the classification drawn by the statute is

rationally related to a legitimate state interest.” City of

Cleburne, Tex. v. Cleburne Living Ctr., 473 U.S. 432,

440 (1985).

St. John’s first tries to repackage its free exercise

argument in equal protection language, by claiming

that the new § 30 unduly burdens its fundamental

right freely to exercise its religion. We have already

rejected the underlying point, however. “Where a.

plaintiffs First Amendment Free Exercise claim has

failed, the Supreme Court has applied only rational

basis scrutiny in its subsequent review of an equal

protection fundamental right to religious free exercise

claim based on the same facts.” Wirzburger v. Galvin,

412 F.3d 271, 282-83 (1st Cir. 2005) (citing Johnson v.

Robison, 415 U.S. 361, 375 n.14 (1974)).

St. John’s also argues that the new § 30 targets a

suspect class, namely, the two religious cemeteries

adjacent to O’Hare. It has not fleshed out this

argument particularly well. If it means to suggest that

“cemeteries adjacent to O’Hare” constitute a

constitutionally suspect class, we must disagree with

it. A suspect class either “possesses an immutable

characteristic determined solely by the accident of

birth,” Frontiero v. Richardson, 411 U.S. 677, 686

(1973), or is one “saddled with such disabilities, or

46a

subjected to such a history of purposeful unequal

treatment, or relegated to such a position of political

powerlessness as. to command extraordinary protection

from the majoritarian political process.” San Antonio

Indep. Sch. Dist. v. Rodriguez, 411 U.S. 1, 28 (1978).

Although religion may fit the bill, see, e.g., City of New

Orleans v. Dukes, 427 U.S. 297, 303 (1976), strict

scrutiny has been reserved for laws that “discriminatle]

among religions.” Corp. of the Presiding Bishop of the

Church of Jesus Christ of Latter-Day Saints v. Amos,

483 U.S. 327, 339 (1987). The new § 30 neither

classifies on the basis of religion nor discriminates

among religions.

Once again, St. John’s notes that it is the only

religious cemetery currently affected by the OMA:

other religious cemeteries ir the state, including those

affiliated with the United Church of Christ, are beyond

the statute’s reach. As was the case with respect to its

free exercise claim, St. John’s own argument proves

that this statute does not treat St. John’s differently

from other religious cemeteries in the state because it

is a religious cemetery. Rather the statute puts

St. John’s in a different position from other religious

cemeteries in the state because it is near O’Hare and,

unlike the Rest Haven Cemetery, the City badly needs

the land to construct additional runways. Geography,

however, is not a suspect class for equal protection

purposes. If St. John’s is attempting to state a “class of

one” equal protection claim, see Village of Willowbrook

v. Olech, 528 U.S. 562, 564 (2000), it has failed to do so.

This court has held that “la] class of one equal ©

protection claim may be brought where (1) the plaintiff

47a

alleges that he has been intentionally treated

differently from others similarly situated and (2) that

there is no rational basis for the difference in

treatment or the cause of the differential treatment is a

‘totally illegitimate animus’ toward the plaintiff by the

defendant.” Lunini v. Grayeb, 395 F.3d 761, 768

(7th Cir. 2005) (quoting McDonald v. Vill. of Winnetka,

371 F.3d 992, 1001 (7th Cir. 2004)). Even if St. John’s

could satisfy the first part of that test, it cannot survive

the second part. 3

The fact that this statute affects a religious group or

institution does not necessarily mean that the statute

classifies on the basis of religion. See, e.g., Johnson,

415 U.S. at 375 n.14 (declining to categorize group of

religious conscientious objectors as a suspect class);

Locke, 540 U.S. at 712 (applying rational basis review

to a statute that prohibited state aid to any post-

secondary student pursuing a degree in theology). As

we observed earlier, in a case like this, where a facially

neutral statute is challenged on equal protection -

grounds, the challenger must prove that the legislature

“selected or reaffirmed a particular course of action at

least in part ‘because of,’ not merely ‘in spite of,’ its

adverse effects upon an identifiable group.” Feeney,

442 U.S. at 279. Nothing supports the proposition that

the Illinois legislature singled out St. John’s for lesser

protection under IRFRA protection because it runs a

religious cemetery. Anyone or anything standing in

the way of the O’Hare project faces the prospect of the

City’s exercise of its eminent domain power. We have

no doubt that the legislature was unmoved by

St. John’s religious affiliation.

2 48a

In order to survive a motion to dismiss for failure to

state an equal protection claim, “a plaintiff must allege

facts sufficient to overcome the presumption of

rationality that applies to government classifications.”

Wroblewski v. City of Washburn, 965 F.2d 452, 460

(7th Cir. 1992). As the district court observed,

St. John’s does not even attempt to argue that the.

OMA’s amendment to IRFRA is not rationally related

to some legitimate government purpose. Certainly, the

expansion of O’Hare is a legitimate state purpose. As a

classic “public use”’—an airport to be operated by the

City of Chicago for the benefit of local, national, and

international transportation—it does not raise any of

the questions that concerned the dissenting Justices in

the Supreme Court’s decision in Kelo v. City of New

London, Conn., 545 U.S. 469 (2005). Enacting a

statute that removes legal barriers to the City’s ability

to acquire land in connection with the expansion of the

airport is not “wholly impossible” to relate to that

legitimate interest. Civz/ Liberties for Urban Believers

v. City of Chicago, 342 F.3d 752, 766 (7th Cir. 2003).

VI

Last, St. John’s invokes the Religious Land Use and

Institutionalized Persons Act (RLUIPA), 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000cc, et seg. Congress enacted RLUIPA after the

Supreme Court invalidated the federal RFRA,

42 U.S.C. § 2000bb, et seg., as it applied to the states

and their subdivisions in City of Boerne, 521 U.S. 507.

“Less sweeping” than RFRA, RLUIPA is limited to

cases involving land use regulations or the religious

exercise rights of institutionalized persons. It applies

when a substantial burden to religious exercise is

49a

“imposed in a program or activity that receives Federal

financial assistance,” affects interstate commerce, or,

in a case involving a land use regulation, is imposed

pursuant to a procedure that permits the government

to make “individualized assessments of the proposed

uses for the _ property’ involved.” 42 U.S.C.

§§ 2000cc1(b)(1)-(2), 2000ce(a){2)(A)-(C).

The question before us is whether the “land use” part

of RLUIPA applies here. That part of the statute

prohibits any government from implementing a “land

use regulation” that “imposes a substantial burden on

the religious exercise of a person,” as well as on

religious assemblies and other religious institutions,

unless the government can show that the “imposition of

-the burden on that person, assembly, or institution is

in furtherance of a compelling governmental interest [ ]

and is the least restrictive means of furthering that

compelling governmental interest.” 42 U.S.C.

§ 2000ec(a)(1). We must decide whether the City’s plan

to condemn the St. Johannes Cemetery is a “land use

regulation” within the meaning of RLUIPA. We agree

- with the district court’s conclusion that it is not.

Initially, we note that we are proceeding on the

assumption that RLUIPA as a whole does

constitutionally apply to the states. In Cutter v.

Wilkinson, 544 U.S. 709 (2005), the Supreme Court

held that § 3 of RLUIPA, which deals with the religious

exercise rights of institutionalized persons, is

constitutional as applied to the states. The Court

specifically declined to express any view on the validity

of §2 of the statute, which deals with land use

regulations. 544 U.S. at 715 n.3. Neither party has

- 50a

raised any challenges to the constitutionality of § 2:

because we conclude that the statute does not apply.

here, we save for another day the question whether

this part of the statute may be applied to the states.

The term “land use regulation” is defined by RLUIPA

as follows:

[A] zoning or landmarking law, or the application of

such a law, that limits or restricts a claimant’s use

or development of land (including a_ structure

affixed to land), if the claimant has an ownership,

leasehold, easement, servitude, or other property

interest in the regulated land or a contract or option

to acquire such an interest.

42 U.S.C. § 2000cc-5(5). St. John’s (as well as the

Municipal Plaintiffs and Rest Haven, for that matter)

have not objected, however, to any plan on the City’s

part to zone their property in an unfavorable way or to

impose’ restrictions on it under a landmarking law.

St. John’s claims instead that the OMA is a “zoning-

type law” because it changes the permitted use of its

land from a religious cemetery to land designated as

“airport property.” But this is a _ misleadingly

incomplete description of the City’s intentions under

the statute. The fact that the OMA refers to the land it

seeks to acquire from everyone living within the

footprint of the O’Hare expansion project as “airport

property” does not morph the OMA into a zoning

ordinance. The City is not attempting to dictate to

these plaintiffs what they are permitted to do with the

plot of land that is currently the St. Johannes

Cemetery; rather, the City seeks to exercise its takings

5la

power to assume full ownership of the land, after

paying St. John’s just compensation. As Illinois courts

have long recognized, the “police power [zoning] and

eminent domain are distinct powers of government.”

Sanitary Dist. of Chi. v. Chi. & Alton R.R. Co., 108 N.E.

312, 314 (Ill. 1915) (“Whatever restraints the

Legislature imposes upon the use and enjoyment of

property with the reason and principle of this duty the

owner must submit to. It is a regulation, and not a

taking; an exercise of police power, and not of eminent

domain.”). Because zoning and eminent domain are

“two distinct concepts” that involve land “in very

different ways,” we reject the argument that the City’s

plan to condemn the St. Johannes Cemetery under the

OMA is an act of zoning. Faith Temple Church v.

Town of Brighton, 405 F. Supp. 2d 250, 254 (W.D.N.Y.

2005).3

3 Some argue that the two concepts are not so distinct, and

that the problem with zoning is that it forces property owners to

limit the uses to which they put their property. In that sense, the

argument goes, zoning regulations are in fact partial takings of

private property. See Richard A. Epstein, Takings: Private

Property and the Power of Eminent Domain 100-03 (1985).

Professor Epstein argues that what government should do in

lieu of zoning is use its power of eminent domain, assuming of

course that there is a valid public purpose and the government is

willing to pay. He recognizes that the law has not adopted his

theory, however, noting that ‘the dominant line of opinion—one

that can be traced to Justice Holmes in [Pennsylvania Coal Co. v.

Mahon, 260 U.S. 393 (1922)]—is that regulation, far from being a

subclass of takings, its outside the scope of the eminent domain

clause unless it is taken ‘too far.’” Jd. at 102.

St. John's argument runs in the other direction; it claims that

the exercise of eminent, domain in this case has essentially zoned

52a

St. John’s relies on a district court case from the

Southern District of Indiana for the sweeping

proposition that “[wlhen an ordinance constitutes an —

attempt by the government to regulate the use of a

piece of property, it is an act of zoning.” Sagamore Park »

v. City of Indianapolis, 885F. Supp. 1146, 1150

(S.D. Ind. 1994). That decision, however, is inapposite.

It addressed the question whether a moratorium

imposed by the Board of Zoning Appeals amounted to

an act of zoning; it had nothing to do with the question

whether an exercise of the sovereign power of eminent

domain should also be regarded as “zoning.”

In addition to arguing that the OMA is a zoning law,

the Plaintiffs contend that eminent domain itself is a

‘land use” regulation under RLUIPA. Their best

authority for this point is a footnote in a district court

case from the Central District of California,

Cottonwood Christian Center v. Cypress

Redevelopment Agency, 218F. Supp. 2d 1203

(C.D. Cal. 2002). Briefly, in that case, the plaintiff,

Cotton-wood Christian Center, wanted to build a

church on an 18-acre parcel of land that it owned. The

City of Cypress planned to use that land for

commercial retail space and initiated eminent domain

proceedings. The plaintiff brought an action for a

preliminary injunction after the City denied it the

necessary land use permit it needed to begin

away its entire property. But the City has paid just compensation

for what it has taken in this case, which is exactly what

distinguishes it from a zoning regulation that has gone “toc far.” It

would strain the statutory definition beyond repair to equate a

buy-out with a ‘limitation’ or “restriction” on land use.

, ==

53a

constructing its place of worship. The district court

found that the City’s refusal to grant Cottonwood’s

application for a conditional use perrrit was a land use

regulation subject to RLUIPA. In a footnote, the court

commented that “elven if [it] were only considering the

condemnation proceedings, they would fall under

RLUIPA’s land use _ regulation.” Cottonwood,

218 F. Supp. 2d at 1222 n.9.

We are not persuaded by the district court’s brief

dicta in Cottonwood that eminent domain is always

and inevitably a land use regulation under RLUIPA.

Given the importance of eminent domain as a

governmental power affecting land use, we think that if

Congress had wanted to include eminent domain

within RLUIPA, it would have said something. Indeed,

before federal law (even under the Spending Clause)

starts interfering with the fundamental state power of

eminent domain, it is likely that we would need a clear

statement from Congress. See, e.g., Will v. Mich. Dep't

of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 65 (1989) (“[I]f Congress

intends to alter the usual constitutional balance

between the States and the Federal Government,’ it

must make its intention to do so unmistakably clear in

the language of the statute.”) (internal quotation

omitted).- Congress did not mention eminent domain in

so many words in RLUIPA’s definition of a land use

regulation, which is enough for us to consider it

excluded. See Lamie v. United States Tr., 540 U.S.

526, 534 (2004) (“It is well established that where the

statute’s language is plain, the sole function of the

courts . . . is to enforce it according to its terms.”). The

handful of federal and state cases that have addressed

54a ©

this question have reached the same conclusion that we

have. See, e.g., Faith Temple Church, 405 F. Supp. 2d

at 255 (“By its terms . .. RLUIPA does not. apply to

eminent domain proceedings.”); City and County of

Honolulu v. Sherman, 129 P.3d 542, 547 (Haw. 2006)

(RLUIPA is not available as a defense to

condemnation....”); see also Prater v. City of

Burnside, Ky., 289F.3d 417, 434 (6th Cir. 2002)

(although not specifically addressing the question

whether condemnation is a land use regulation under

RLUIPA, indicating that the City’s property interest in

the land at issue gave it the right to develop the land

as it desired and thus the City’s decision to develop the .

roadway was not based on any zoning or landmarking

law). Because this case does not involve a “land use

regulation,” there is no need for us to address

RLUIPA’s other element—whether the City’s proposed

actions will substantially burden Plaintiffs’ religious

exercise. )

With RLUIPA inapplicable, we have exhausted the

possible reasons why the St. Johannes Cemetery might

be exempt from the City’s general eminent domain

power. Over the years, Illinois has condemned

cemeteries, both religious and otherwise, for a variety

of public uses, such as highways. See, e.g., J/linois

State Toll Highway Comm'n v. Eden Cemetery Ass’n,

158 N.E.2d 766 (Ill. 1956) (oft-cited case about the

appropriate uses of the state’s eminent domain power

involving condemnation of a religious cemetery); Dep't

of Transp. v. Bouy, 386 N.E.2d 1163 (Ill. App. Ct. 1979)

(resolving methods government was required to use to

determine the market value and _ appropriate

55a

compensation for the partial taking of a cemetery to

provide land for a highway). We recognize that

relocating St. Johannes will be a sensitive and labor

intensive task. The City has established a detailed

protocol, which includes identifying the next of kin for

each person buried at the cemetery and hiring

professional archaeologists and a licensed funeral

director to -carry out archaeological work and

disinterments for each person buried there. At oral

argument, the City assured us that it will comply with

these procedures. We take the City at its word and

trust that this process will be carried out with dignity

and respect for both living and dead. Of course, the

plaintiffs remain free to challenge any deviation from

the City’s proposed methods of relocation before an

appropriate tribunal should some controversy arise in

the future.

Given our conclusion that none of St. John’s religious

claims against the City survives, the district court was

- correct to deny its motion for a preliminary injunction.

Vil

Accordingly, we AFFIRM the judgment of the district

court.

RIPPLE, Circuit Judge, concurring in part and

dissenting in part. I join my colleagues in affirming

the judgment of the district court with respect to the

claims by Rest Haven and the municipal defendants.

However, I believe that the amendments to the Illinois

56a

Religious Freedom Restoration Act (“Illinois RFRA”)

made in the O’Hare Modernization Act (“OMA”),

Ill. Pub. Act No. 093-0450, violate the Free Exercise

Clause, and, for that reason, must be subject to strict

scrutiny. I further believe that there remain factual

questions regarding whether the City of Chicago

(“City”) has shown that the proposed modernization

and expansion plan of O’Hare Airport is narrowly

tailored to meet the compelling interest the City

claims. These factual issues render dismissal

inappropriate at this stage in the litigation. Therefore,

I respectfully dissent.

I

BACKGROUND

The majority’s thoughtful and comprehensive opinion

sets forth the facts of this case in great detail:

therefore, I shall provide only a brief description of the

pertinent facts.

In May 2003, the Illinois General Assembly enacted

the OMA. The legislation amended various provisions

of Illinois law to facilitate the planned expansion of

O’Hare Airport. One of the legal impediments that this

legislation sought to remove was a restriction on the

power of the City to condemn particular properties for

the expansion, including two _ religiously-affiliated

cemeteries, one of which, St. Johannes Cemetery

(“St. Johannes”); is owned by St. John’s United Church

of Christ (“St. John’s”). Among the changes aimed at

facilitating the condemnation of these cemeteries was

an amendment to the Illinois RFRA that repealed

otherwise generally applicable statutes only with

57a

respect to the relocation of cemeteries in connection

with the O’Hare expansion.

St. John’s and two of its congregants! filed this

action, challenging both the City’s attempt to acquire

the land on which St. Johannes is located and the

amendment to the Illinois RFRA. St. John’s asserted

that the City’s actions violated its rights under the

Free Exercise Clause of the First Amendment and the

Equal Protection Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment.” St. John’s maintains that the relocation

of St. Johannes would violate a major tenet of its

religious beliefs, which requires that those buried in

St. Johannes must remain’ undisturbed until

resurrected by Jesus Christ on the Last Day.

St. John’s further contended that, because the

amendments to the Illinois RFRA singled out religious

cemeteries near O’Hare, the law was not neutral and of

general applicability, and therefore subject to strict

scrutiny under the Free Exercise Clause of the First

Amendment and the Equal Protection Clause of the

Fourteenth Amendment.

5 3

The district court dismissed St. John’s complaint for

failure to state a claim. The district court concluded

1 Because the congregants assert the same claims as St. John's,

I shall refer, for ease of reference, to the plaintiffs collectively as

St. Johns.

2 The owner of the second cemetery, Rest Haven Cemetery

Association, originally joined St. John’s in these claims. As noted

by the majority opinion, the City no longer seeks to acquire the

land on which Rest Haven is located, rendering Rest Haven's

challenges moot.

aes:

ee

a.

e

58a

that the OMA was a neutral law of general

applicability; thus, it was subject only to rational basis

scrutiny under both the Free Exercise Clause and the

Equal Protection Clause.

I

DISCUSSION

The First Amendment ensures religious freedom by

firmly committing the state to a position of neutrality

in the relationship between individuals and religion.

Sch. Dist. of Abington Twp. v. Schempp, 374 U.S. 208,

226 (1963). The Supreme Court has observed that,

with respect to religious freedom, the principle of

government neutrality, the government “protectls] all,

it prefers not, and it disparages none.” Td. at 215

(quoting Minor v. Bd. of Educ. of Cincinnati (Super. Ct.

of Cincinnati, February 1870) (Taft, J., dissenting)

(unpublished case), reproduced in The Bible in the

Common Schools (Robert Clark & Co. ed., 1870)). The

Free Exercise Clause advances the command of

government neutrality by securing “religious liberty in

the individual by prohibiting any invasions thereof by

civil authority” and protecting against the coercive

effect of legislation “as it operates against him in the

practice of his religion.” Schempp, 374 U.S. at 223

(emphasis added); see also Jimmy Swaggart Ministries

v. Bd. of Equalization of California, 493 U.S. 378, 384

(1990); Vision Church v. Vill. of Long Grove, 468 F.3d

975, 996 (7th Cir. 2006). At a minimum, the Free

Exercise Clause protects against laws _ that

“discriminate[ ] against some or all religious beliefs.”

Church of the Lukumi Babalu Aye, Inc. v. City of

Hialeah, 508 U.S. 520, 532 (1993).

59a

State action that offends the Free Exercise Clause

must satisfy strict scrutiny, i.e., be narrowly tailored to

serve a compelling state interest. See Vision Church,

468 F.3d at 996; Civil Liberties for Urban Believers v.

City of Chicago, 342 F.3d 752, 763 (7th Cir. 2003).

Additionally, when a legislative classification offends a

fundamental right, such as the Free Exercise Clause,

an equal protection challenge to that classification is

subject to strict scrutiny. Vision Church, 468 F.3d at

1000. A law offends the Free Exercise Clause and its

requirement of government neutrality with respect to

religion in two circumstances. First, a law that

burdens the free exercise of religion and that is not

facially neutral and of general applicability will be

* subject to strict scrutiny. City of Hialeah, 508 U.S. at

531-32; Vision Church, 468 F.3d at 996. Second, a

facially-neutral law that “imposes a substantial burden

on religion” offends the Free Exercise Clause and

likewise is subject to strict scrutiny. Vision Church,

468 F.3d at 996. The QMA’s amendment to the Illinois

RFRA violates the Free Exercise Clause under either of

these approaches.

A law is not neutral on its face if its object or purpose

“Is the suppression of religion or religious conduct.”

City of Hialeah, 508 U.S. at 533 (emphasis added). To

determine whether a law is neutral and of general

applicability, we first look to the text of the statute to

determine whether it discriminates on its face. Jd. “A

law lacks facial neutrality if it refers to a religious

practice without a secular meaning discernable from

language or context.” /d. Applying these standards, it

is clear that. the OMA’s amendment to the Illinois

60a

RFRA is not facially neutral OMA added a new

section 30 to the Illinois RFRA which reads:

Nothing in this Act limits the authority of the

City of Chicago to exercise its powers under the

O’Hare Modernization Act for the purposes of

relocation of cemeteries or the ‘graves located

therein.

775 ILCS 35/30. The panel opinion determines that,

because cemeteries and the burial, or relocation,

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.