Petition for Writ of Certiorari — Stewart v. Martin (No. 07-1074)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

i 9 a

O7LO7&FEB 13 2008

6, OFFICE OF THE CLERK

No. 07A48

In The Supreme Court of the United States

Robert Stewart, as Chief of the South Carolina Law

Enforcement Division, Henry McMaster, as Attorney

General of the State of South Carolina and Ralph

Hoisington, as Solicitor of the Ninth Judicial Circuit,

Petitioners,

vs.

Jimmy Martin and Lucky Strike, LLC,

Respondents.

On Petition For Writ Of Certiorari To The United

States Court Of Appeals For The Fourth Circuit

PETITION FOR WRIT OF CERTIORARI

ROBERT D. COOK

Deputy Attorney General

Counsel of Record

HENRY DARGAN McMASTER

South Carolina Attorney General

C. HAVIRD JONES, JR.

Senior Assistant Attorney General

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 734-3736

Attorneys for Petitioners.

February 13, 2008

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

Does abstention under Burford v. Sun Oil Co.,

319 U.S. 315 (1943) apply to a facial constitutional

challenge that South Carolina’s anti-gambling statutes

violate the Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses

when South Carolina has created complex state

administrative and judicial mechanisms that provide

timely and adequate state court review of gambling

forfeiture decisions and when this Court has previously

ruled that the virtually identical South Carolina

statutes are not violative of these Clauses of the

Fourteenth Amendment?

il

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

Petitioners Robert Stewart, as Chiefofthe South

Carolina Law Enforcement Division, Henry McMaster,

as Attorney General of the State of South Carolina and

Ralph Hoisington, as Solicitor of the Ninth Judicial

Circuit, were Defendants in the District Court and

Appellees in the Court of Appeals.

Jimmy Martin and Lucky Strike, LLC, were

Plaintiffs in the District Court and Appellants in the

Court of Appeals and are Respondents here.

iii

TABLE OF CONTENTS

QUESTION PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

PARTIES TO THE PROCEEDINGS

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...1...........-.. vi

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI ...... 1

a oy one oe a ae 6 bine wo ae 1

I i a Sa ial ea a ee eee ee 1

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED ........ 1

a es a re eis ir le 2

STATEMENT OF THE CASE ................. 2

Procedural Background ................. 2

South Carolina Gambling Law ........... 4

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION .... 7

eT see rrr 7

3 OVERVIEW OF THE CASE ............. 9

ll. THE MAJORITY’S DECISION IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS OF

THIS COURT REGARDING BURFORD

i ree ee eee re er er 14

A. BURFORD AND ITS PROGENY ... 14

iV

B. NOPSI DOES NOT RENDER BURFORD

ABSTENTION UNWARRANTED HERE

Jc EREEN ORES Wa Eee 17

C. THE MAJORITY CREATED AN

EXCEPTION TO BURFORD

UNRECOGNIZED BY THIS COURT 23

Ill. THE MAJORITYS DECISION FURTHER

ADDS TO THE CONFUSION IN LOWER

FEDERAL COURTS REGARDING

BURFORD’S APPLICABILITY, AND IS

INCONSISTENT WITH DECISIONS IN

OTHER CIRCUITS AS WELL AS THE

Pet ye | 5 marae sree seen 25

IV. BURFORD ABSTENTION IS ESPECIALLY

APPLICABLE HERE BECAUSE OF THIS .-

COURTS SUMMARY AFFIRMANCE IN

HOLLIDAY, WHICH REJECTED SIMILAR

CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGES MADE

AGAINST THE VIRTUALLY IDENTICAL

SCUTH CAROLINA STATUTES IN

QUESTION IN THIS CASE. ........... 30

A. HOLLIDAY DECISION

B. EFFECT OF HOLLIDAY ......... 32

eS | een or ae Peat a arurrar ea 37

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

FEDERAL CASES:

Alabama Public Service Commission v. Southern Ry.

Ce ee es A CRIED ook 6 as paw wise we ee 15, 16, 21

Ankenbrandt v. Richards, 504 U.S. 689 (1992) ... 17

Ayotte v. Planned Parenthood, 546 U.S. 320 (2006)

Bath Memorial Hospital v. Maine Health Care Fin.

Comm., 853 F.2d 1007 (1* Cir. 1988) ........... 27

Bennis v. Michigan, 516 U.S. 442 (1996)

Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S. 491 (1985)

Se Se ciaia hee 4 Wag aes Ke abe aed ee 18

Be Sky as bE ew ee fa ee Se ee eee 16

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315 (1943) . 3, 4, 8-

10, 12-18, 23-27, 29, 30, 35, 36

Calero-Toledo v. Pearson Yacht Leasing Co, 416 U.S.

ON 4. 0G) 0s 5 oink ny ae waa ew eek eee 35

Capital Bonding Corp. v. New Jersey Supreme Court,

127 F.Supp.2d 582 (D.N.J. 2001) ........... 26, 27

vi

Chiropractic America v. Lavecchia, 180 F.3d 99 (3d Cir.

BR rr eee ere ee 18, 26, 27

Chun v. State of N.Y., 807 F.Supp. 288 (S.D.N.Y. 1992)

iSée eS eek ee Cae oes ti eee 13

City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41 (1999) ... 33

Colorado River Water Conserv. Dist. v. U.S., 424 U.S.

PI iste Sn ee hr, tee eee 12, 17, 24

Comm. Party v. Whitcomb, 414 U.S. 441 (1974) .. 32

Durant v. Bennett, 54 F.2d 634 (W.D.S.C. 1931) .. 34

Fralin and Waldron, Inc. v. Martinsville, 493 F.2d 481

i a 8 | oie oe és bee 27

Gonzales v. Carhart, ___ U.S. __, 127 S.Ct. 1610

i sg whe se are ee 33

Great Lakes Dredge and Dock Co. v. Huffman, 319 U.S.

Ee ee mee soe Ped ae nd > 5 EN 16

Harrison v. NAACP, 360 U.S. 167 (1959) ....... 12

Heckler v. Chaney, 470 U.S. 821 (1985) ......... 21

Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332 (1975) ...... 32, 36

Holliday v. State, 335 U.S. 803 (1948), (affirming 78

F.Supp. 918 (W.D.S.C. 1948)) .. 3, 5, 6, 8, 13, 19, 30-

36

vil

Intl. Eateries of America, Inc. v. Bd. of County

Commrs., 838 F.Supp. 580 (S.D.Fla. 1993) ...... 27

Jernigan v. State of Miss., 812 F.Supp. 688 (S.D. Miss.

I a re ae ag graces Ms lee nea 27, 29

Johnson v. Collins Entertainment Co., 199 F.3d 710(4™

I Sh SO alee ag ea eetare ise, Meine ag ete ore 13

Kolender v. Lawson, 461 U.S. 352 (1983) ........ 33

La. Power and Light Co. v. Thibodaux, 360 U.S. 25

(1959) (Brennan, J. et al. dissenting) ........... 11

Lawton v. Steele, 152 U.S. 133 (1894) ....... 34, 35

Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173 (1977) ......... 32

Martin v. Creasy, 360 U.S. 219 (1959) .... 11, 16, 24

Martin v. Stewart, 438 F.Supp.2d 603 (D.S.C. 2006).

Ee Ue eae ee ar ee ee ee eae es ae ee ee ee Sh ree Ere tee 1

Martin v. Stewart, 499 F.3d 360, 25 A.L.R. Fed.2d 687

rR Ig i). otal bg bw acs ae kee aa es mie ad 1

McNeese v. Bd. of Ed., 373 U.S. 668 (1963) ...... 11

Monongahela Power Co. v. Schriber, 322 F.Supp.2d 902

i oN gg din ala a aS Oe A ee 23

Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415 (1979) ...... 11, 22-24

vill

New Orleans Public Service Inc. v. Council of City of

New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350 (1989) . 13, 16-19, 21-24,

30, 36

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156

COTE bok id 5 Kb eee LR eee ee ee 33

Pennsylvania Video Operators v. U.S., 731 F.Supp. 717

(W.D. Pa. 1990), affd., 919 F.2d 136 (3d Cir. 1990)

Posadas de Puerto Rico Associates v. Tourism Co. of

Puerto Rico, 478 U.S. 328 (1986) .............. 35

Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U.S. 555 (1978) ..... 32

Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co., 517 U.S. 706 (1996)

1k RPK WAR a 11, 12, 23, 24

Rizzo v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362 (1976) ............ 21

Russell v. Giles County, 105 F.Supp.2d 841 (M.D. Tenn.

SEED dx eau a:b bce -e 66 Oo a a hes oa eee 27

Sierra Club v. City of San Antonio, 112 F.3d 789 (5

Ce. Be) 6 kk hee os ee ek Oe eee eee 26

U.S. Term Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779

CEG, ae ke ok hn ee ae eee eee 10

U.S. v. Edge Broadcasting Co., 509 U.S. 418 (1993)

SS dawn eas 066 eed bine 35

1x

U.S. v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739 (1987) ........... 19

United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456 (1996) . 18

United States v. Korpan, 354 U.S. 271 (1957) .... 35

United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544 (1975) ... 19

Village of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, 455 U.S. 489

Oh hn ek cee eedeudeseewereasacteds 19

Wainwright v. Stone, 414 U.S. 21 (1973) ........ 34

Younger v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37 (1971) ... 12, 22, 2

STATE CASES:

Alexander v. Martin, 192 S.C. 176, 6 S.E.2d 20 (1939)

sew weteeecerceececseeeee 6, 34

Allendale Sheriff's Office v. Two Chess Challenge II,

361 S.C. 581, 606 S.E.2d 471 (2004) .. 2,5, 7, 8, 10,

21

Ingram v. Bearden, 212 S.C. 399, 47 S.E.2d 833 (1948)

Mims Amusement Co. v. SLED, 366 S.C. 141, 621

S.E.2d 344 (2005)

x

Squires v. SLED, 249 S.C. 609, 155 S.E.2d 859 (1967)

State v. 192 Coin-Operated Video Game Machines, 338

S.C. 176, 525 S.E.2d 872 (2000) ........... 5, 7, 34

State v. DeAngelis, 257 S.C. 44, 183 S.E.2d 906 (1971)

State v. Four Video Slot Machines, 317 S.C. 397, 453

# & 7 fy er rr ee et 7

State v. Kizer, 164 S.C. 383, 162 S.E. 444 (1932) . 6,

State v. One Coin Operated Video Game Machine, 321

S.C. 176, 467 S.E.2d 443 (1996) ................ 7

Sun Light Prepaid Phonecard Co. v. State, 360 S.C. 49,

og eee eee 7

Westside Quik Shop, Inc. v. Stewart, 341 S.C. 297, 534

S.E.2d 270 (2000), cert. den. 531 U.S. 1029 (2000)

n.0 PO OS 5: N Oe ee warn eee ee eee 4,5,7

FEDERAL CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS:

- 23 Foe fs ree yr l

xi

STATE CONSTITUTIONAL AND STATUTORY

PROVISIONS:

a a ke ae a eee 4

South Carolina Code Ann. Section 12-21-2710 (2006)

a a se ee id ee 2-6, 27

South Carolina Code Ann. Section 12-21-2712 (2006)

ee ee sca a ak eng ere 2-6, 19, 27, 31

OTHER AUTHORITIES:

Davies, “Pullman and Burford Abstention: Clarifying

the Roles of State and Federal Courts in Constitutional

Cases,” 20 U.C. Davis L.R. 1, 11 (1986) ......... 17

Wise and Christensen, “Sorting Out Federal and State

Judicial Roles In State Institutional Reform:

Abstention’s Potential Role,” 29 Fordham Urb. L. J.

I, en fi a Se ae ee et a a Ge Wt a 25

Wright, Miller and Cooper, 17A Federal Practice and

EE EE SS PEF Ma amen re ger 16

Young, “Federal Court Abstention and Administrative

Law From Burford to Ankenbrandt,” 42 DePaul L. Rev.

Te oe a me ob a ee 25

]

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

The Attorney General of South Carolina on

behalf of himself, the Chief of the South Carolina Law

Enforcement Division and the prosecutor for the Ninth

Judicial Circuit of South Carolina, respectfully

petitions this Court for a writ of certiorari to review the

judgment of the United States Court of Appeals for the

Fourth Circuit in this case..

OPINIONS BELOW

The district court’s opinion granting Petitioners’

Motion to Dismiss (Pet. App. a51-a63) is reported at

438 F.Supp.2d 603 (D.S.C. 2006). The court of appeals

opinion is reported at 499 F.3d 360, 25 A.L.R. Fed.2d

687 (4 Cir. 2007). (Pet. App. al-a47). The order

denying the Petition for Rehearing and Rehearing En

Banc is found at Pet. App. a64-a65.

JURISDICTION

The court of appeals entered its judgment on

August 29, 2007. A petition for rehearing and

rehearing en banc was denied on September 20, 2007.

Pet. App. a64-a65. The Court extended the time for

filing the Petition for Certiorari until February 15,

2008. The jurisdiction of this Court is invoked under

28 U.S.C. § 1254(1).

STATUTORY PROVISIONS INVOLVED

South Carolina’s yambling statutes being

challenged as unconstitutional are codified at S.C.

2

Code Ann. Sections 12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712.

(2006). Pet. App. a66-a67.

STATEMENT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Procedural Background

South Carolina’s anti-gambling statutes [S.C.

Code Ann. Sections 12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712 (2006)},

see Pet. App. a-66-a67, provide that slot machines,

video poker machines, specific video games and any

“other device pertaining to games of chance” are illegal

and may not be possessed. Such possession is a crime.

Pursuant to Section 12-21-2712, law enforcement

officers must seize these devices and take them before

a magistrate, who determines their legality under § 12-

21-2710, on a machine-by-machine basis. Allendale

Sheriff's Office v. Two Chess Challenge II, 361S.C. 581,

606 S.E.2d 471 (2004). Devices violative of Section 12-

21-2710 are ordered destroyed, subject to the right of

the owner to aost-seizure hearing and appeal. Mims

Amusement Co. v. SLED, 366 S.C. 141, 621 S.E.2d 344

(2005).

Respondents sought declaratory and injunctive

relief in federal court, contending that Sections 12-21-

2710 and 12-21-2712 violate the Due Process and

Equal Protection Clauses. Specifically, Respondents’

Complaint contends that Section 12-21-2710 is void for

vagueness, and thus violates the Due Process Clause.

Moreover, it is alleged that the failure of the two

statutes to provide a pre-enforcement mechanism for

3

determining the legality ofa particular type of machine

or device contravenes the Equal Protection Clause.

Finally, Respondent contends the State has

discriminatorily enforced these statutes. Pet. App. a68-

a8 1.

The District Court dismissed the action,

abstaining under Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315

(1943). Pet. App. a51-a63. Respondents appealed, and

the Fourth Circuit panel reversed, over a vigorous

dissent by Judge Wilkinson. The majority deemed

Burford inapplicable essentially because Respondents

are challenging the “facial” constitutionality of Sections

12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712. In the view of the

majority, Respondents’ claims “present no difficult

questions of state law whose importance outweighs the

federal interest in adjudicating Martin’s constitutional

case,” nor do the claims “threaten a state interest in

uniform regulation that outweighs the federal interest

in adjudicating the case.” Jd. at al2. The panel

concluded that if successful, Respondents would be

entitled to have enjoined “all enforcement of the

statutes at issue; such relief could not possibly

threaten their uniform application.” Jd. at al5.

(emphasis in original).

The Petitioners sought rehearing, which was

denied on September 20, 2007. Pet. App. a64-a65.

Petitioners again contended that Burford abstention is

applicable notwithstanding Respondents’ claims that

Sections 12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712 are

unconstitutional. Moreover, Petitioners argued that

this Court’s summary affirmance in Holliday v. State,

4

335 U.S. 803 (1948), (affirming 78 F.Supp. 918

(W.D.S.C. 1948)), which upheld a three-judge court’s

determination that similar predecessor provisions of

these South Carolina statutes do not violate the Due

Process and Equal Protection Clauses, strongly

supports Burford abstention. fd. at al14-al130. The

time for filing having been extended by the Court, our

Petition is timely.

South Carolina Gambling Law

South Carolina long ago sought to prohibit

gambling devices. In 1931, the Legislature enacted a

comprehensive ban in what is now Sections 12-21-2710

and 12-21-2712. These provisions, with certain

exceptions, remain today largely unchanged. Westside

Quik Shop v. Stewart, 341 S.C. 297, 300-302, 534 S.E.2d

270, 271-272, (2000), cert. den. 531 U.S. 1029 (2000) [history

of statutes discussed]. The additions, since 1931,

largely focus upon video poker. Following extensive

debate, Act No. 125 was enacted in 2000, and added

video poker and other video games to the statutes’ ban.

Pursuant to the statute, slot machines, video poker

machines, keno, blackjack, and other devices

“pertaining to games of chance,” are declared illegal per

se.! Possession constitutes a crime, and law

* As noted above, in 2000, by Act No. 125, the Legislature

amended the statute to add video poker machines [“video game

machine with a free play feature operated by a slot or thing of

value”] and other video games such as blackjack, keno, lotto, bingo

orcraps. However, except for minor consolidations, the remainder

of Section 12-21-2710, including the language “pertaining to

(continued...)

5

enforcement is authorized to seize such devices and

take them to a magistrate for determination of

illegality. The magistrate must order devices deemed

illegal under Section 12-21-2710 destroyed.’

An owner may seek a post-seizure hearing to

contest the magistrate’s initial determination of

illegality. State v. 192 Coin-Operated Video Game

Machines, 338 S.C. 176, 525 S.E.2d 872 (2000).

Forfeiture is machine-by-machine before the

magistrate — the exclusive forum for such matters.

Allendale County Sheriff's Office, 361 S.C. supra at

587, 606 S.E.2d supra at 474. The owner may appeal

to the circuit court, and then to the appellate courts.

Mims Amusement Co. v. SLED, supra. The statutes’

purpose is clear: forfeiture of gambling devices “serves

a deterrent purpose both by preventing the further

illicit use of the property and by imposing an economic

penalty, thereby rendering the illegal behavior

unprofitable.” Westside, 341 S.C., supra at 304, 534

S.E.2d supra at 273 (2000), citing Bennis v. Michigan,

516 U.S. 442, 452 (1996).

In 1948, a wide-ranging constitutional attack

was launched in federal court against these statutes.

In Holliday v. State, supra, plaintiff sought to enjoin

these virtually identical statutes as violative of the

Due Process and Equal Protection Clauses, alleging the

‘(...continued)

games of chance,” has been present since 1931.

* The language of Section 12-21-2712 has remained

virtually unchanged since 1931.

6

laws “unconstitutional, null and void and in violation

of the Fourteenth Amendment of the United States

Constitution.” 78 F.Supp., id., at 921. A three-judge

court upheld the anti-gambling statutes as

constitutional, as “clearly a valid exercise of the police

power of the State of South Carolina, and constitute[ ]

no attempt on the part of the state to deprive plaintiff

of his property without due process of law.” Id. at 925.

According to the three-judge court, “[t}]he General

Assembly of South Carolina, under its police power,

had the right to declare such machines gambling

machines per se, and as such illegal in the State of

South Carolina.” Id.

Holliday also contended before this Court that

these statutes violate both Due Process and Equal

Protection. See, Pet. App. a131-a160. (Appellant’s

Jurisdictional Statement and Brief). Holliday’s

arguments, like Respondents’, were that the statutes

arbitrarily deprived him of innocent property by

declaring his particular gaming devices contraband per

se and thus subject to destruction pursuant to present

§ 12-21-2712. Id. at al38. However, this Court

summarily affirmed the three-judge court, thus finding

the statutes constitutionally valid. 335 U.S. 803

(1948).

Sections 12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712 and its

predecessors have been consistently enforced and

upheld by the state Supreme Court. Over the decades,

- muchcase law regarding these provisions’ applicability

and constitutionality has been adjudicated. See, State

uv. Kizer, 164 S.C. 383, 162 S.E. 444 (1932): Alexander

7

v. Martin, 192 S.C. 176, 6 S.E.2d 20 (1939); State v.

Appley, 207 S.C. 284, 35 S.E.2d 835 (1945); Ingram uv.

Bearden, 212 S.C. 399, 47 S.E.2d 833 (1948); Squires v.

SLED, 249 S.C. 609, 155 S.E.2d 859 (1967); State v.

DeAngelis, 257 S.C. 44, 183 S.E.2d 906 (1971); State v.

Four Video Slot Machines, 317 S.C. 397, 453 S.E.2d

896 (1995); State v. One Coin Operated Video Game

Machine, 321 S.C. 176, 467 S.E.2d 443 (1996); State v.

192 Coin-Operated Video Game Machines, supra;

Allendale County Sheriff's Office v. Two Chess

Challenge II, supra; Westside, supra; Sun Light

Prepaid Phonecard Co. v. State, 360 S.C. 49, 600 S.E.2d

61 (2004); Mims Amusement Co. v. SLED, supra.

These cases have addressed the statutes’ conformity

with procedural due process (State v. Kizer, supra;

State v. 192 Coin-Operated Video Game Machines,

supra); alleged vagueness (State v. DeAngelis, supra);

purported Equal Protection violations (State v. 192

Video Game Machines, supra; Sun Light, supra); trial

by jury (Mims Amusement Co., supra); and the

statutes’ alleged unconstitutional “taking” (Westside,

supra). The statutes have been applied to slot

machines, pin ball machines, remnants of machines,

and video games. Over the years, the state Supreme

Court has diligently applied these gaming statutes

consistently with the federal Constitution.

REASONS FOR GRANTING THE PETITION

Summary of Argument

In this case, the Fourth Circuit panel, by a 2-1

split, reversed the District Court’s decision to abstain

8

under Burford. Essentially, the panel’s majority found

abstention unwarranted, premised upon the illogic

that, because Respondents allege the forfeiture

statutes are facially unconstitutional as vague and

discriminatory, Burford is inapplicable. In the

circumstances of a ‘facial” attack upon the State’s

regulatory scheme, concluded the majority, federal

court intervention does not “possibly threaten [the] ...

uniform application” of the State’s regulatory scheme.

Pet. App. a15 (emphasis in original).

The majority thus created a new exception tothe

Burford doctrine, an exception which this Court has

rejected, and one which is inconsistent with decisions

in other circuits. Indeed, it did so, mindful that this

Court previously concluded in Holliday, supra that the

similar predecessor forfeiture statutes to South

Carolina’s amended version do not violate the Due

Process and Equal Protection Clauses. These are the

very constitutional provisions which Respondents

assert here, and it is these provisions which form the

basis for the majority’s “facial” exception to Burford.

With the panel’s ruling, Respondents and other

federal plaintiffs may now avoid the state forfeiture

process altogether, as well as disregard state court

interpretations concerning that process. See, e.g.

Allendale, supra. It is evident Respondents do not like

these state court decisions such as requiring “machine

by machine” forfeiture adjudicated in a post-seizure

proceeding. Pet. App. a77. [alleging Respondents’

desire to market a “legal” machine in South Carolina].

Now, armed with a well-crafted complaint, machine

9

owners and other plaintiffs may proceed directly to

federal court, having bypassed the state enforcement

scheme on the basis that the federal Constitution

insures a right to place machines on the market prior

to a forfeiture proceeding. Such avoidance of the state

forfeiture process upends the abstention doctrine and

undermines the structure of federalism it preserves.

Here, in reversing the District Court’s decision

to abstain under Burford, the majority rejected the

lower court’s concern for avoiding entanglement in the

intricacies of state gambling law. Instead, the majority

found that since Respondents’ claims constitute a

“direct attack on the constitutionality of a statute, ‘the

kind of controversy federal courts are particularly

situated to adjudicate ...,” such claims “are not proper

candidates for Burford abstention.” Pet. App. a19-a20.

However, in dissent, Judge Wilkinson astutely rejected

the non-existence of any rule exempting “facial” claims,

stating that the Fourteenth Amendment has not

“reordered” federa] and state relations “as to render

Burford abstention virtually inapplicable to all

constitutional challenges in federal court to specialized

regulatory schemes.” Pet. App. a28.

I. OVERVIEW OF THE CASE

This case invokes the fundamental principle of

“Our Federalism” established by the Founding Fathers.

At stake is South Carolina’s ability under our federal

system to perform the core state function of regulating

gambling — through a system of seizure and forfeiture

of contraband gambling devices and other “games of

chance” — without intrusion by the federal courts.

10

South Carolina has had its forfeiture system

proscribing slot machines and other “games of chance”

in place since 1931. In 2000, after much debate and

deliberation, the forfeiture statutes were amended by

the South Carolina legislature to add “video poker” and

other video games to the _ statutes’ previous

longstanding ban. In addition, in recent years, the

state Supreme Court has further clarified these

statutes, concluding that owners of seized machines

are entitled to a post-seizure (not a pre-seizure)

hearing, and that forfeiture is “machine-by-machine.”

In other words, legality under state law is not

determined upon the basis of an entire class or

category of machines, but only those individual

machines seized and brought before the magistrate are

adjudged. Allendale, supra; Mims, supra.

Justice Kennedy perhaps said it best: America’s

dual sovereignty structure is a work of “genius,”

premised upon the idea that “our citizens would have

two political capacities, one state and one federal, each

protected from incursion by the other.” U.S. Term

Limits, Inc. v. Thornton, 514 U.S. 779, 838 (1995),

(Kennedy, J. concurring). Abstention protects these

sacred values, thus enabling federal courts to exercise

“wise discretion” by restraining “their authority

because of ‘scrupulous regard for the rightful

independence of state governments ....” Burford, 319

U.S., supra at 332. A federal court, in employing its

equitable powers, thus may refrain from exercising

jurisdiction if, upon balancing federal and state

interests involved, determines “the State’s interests are

paramount and ... a dispute would best be adjudicated

Srp ail

1]

in a state forum.” Quackenbush v. Allstate Ins. Co.,

517 U.S. 706, 728 (1996). Such circumstance

warranting abstention includes the “avoidance of the

hazard of unsettling some delicate balance in the area

of federal-state relationships.” La. Power and Light

Co. v. Thibodaux, 360 U.S. 25, 32 (1959) (Brennan, J.

et al. dissenting).

The abstention doctrine, as articulated through

the decisions of this Court, does not recognize a “facial”

constitutional claim exception, as the majority created,

particularly where, as here, questions of racial

discrimination or other fundamental rights are not

involved, and a timely and adequate mechanism to

review violations of any constitutional rights is

available. Compare, McNeese v. Bd. of Ed., 373 U.S.

668 (1963). To exempt altogether such constitutional

claims effectively disregards the State’s interest,

embroils federal courts in the State’s “internal affairs,”

thereby undermining the principle of federalism.

McNeese, Id. at 677 (Harlan, J. dissenting). As Justice

Rehnquist wrote in Moore v. Sims, 442 U.S. 415, 427

(1979), “{t]he breadth of a challenge to a complex state

statutory scheme has traditionally militated in favor of

abstention, not against it.” (emphasis in original).

Martin v. Creasy, 360 U.S. 219, 224 (1959)

recognizes that there is no broad rule eliminating

abstention, as the majority fashioned. In Creasy, even

though the lower court enjoined the State's

administrative scheme as violative of Due Process,

abstention was required to “avoid[]... the unnecessary

impairment of state functions.” Quackenbush, supra

12

also cautioned that a rigid, “per se” approach to

Burford’s applicability is inconsistent with Burford’s

flexibility. 517 U.S., supra at 730. See also, Younger

v. Harris, 401 U.S. 37, 45 (1971) [state cour‘s are

competent to address the constitutionality of state

statutes]; Harrison v. NAACP, 360 U.S. 167, 176 (1959)

[notwithstanding “facial” claims, abstention warranted

to avoid “unnecessary interference by the federal courts

with proper and validly administered state concerns.”);

Colorado River Water Conserv. Dist. v. U.S., 424 U.S.

800, 814 (1976) [“[i]t is enough that exercise of federal

review of the question in a case and in similar cases

would be disruptive of state efforts to establish a

coherent policy with respect to a matter of substantial

public concern.”}]. Accordingly, this case raises the

critical question of whether Burford is avoided merely

by alleging “facial” unconstitutionality of the governing

statutory scheme or, instead abstention is determined

by carefully balancing the federal and state interests

involved.

In not balancing these interests, the majority's

decision is especiall« troubling. First, is the adverse

effect upon the State’s deterrence of gambling — its core

function. For decades, without interruption, South

Carolina has discouraged gambling by criminalizing

gambling devices and “games of chance” and forfeiting

them as contraband per se. Now, that core state

process is threatened by a federal action seeking to

bypass the rulings of the South Carolina Supreme

Court determining the manner in which that forfeiture

system operates under state law.

13

Secondly, New Orleans Public Service Inc. v.

Council of City of New Orleans, 491 U.S. 350, 361

(1989) (NOPSI) recognized that Burford is particularly

applicable where the constitutional challenge is “of

minimal federal importance ....” This Court’s summary

affirmance in Holliday v. State, supra — upholding the

almost identical predecessor South Carolina statutes to

those attacked here, against similar constitutional

challenges — should have convinced the majority to

revisit its establishment of any “facial” exception to

Burford. Disregard of Holliday’s controlling impact

undermines respect for this Court’s precedents.

Moreover, the majority's decision is at odds with

those in other circuits. These rulings essentially

recognize that Burford s applicability depends not upon

the claim alleged, but upon the proper balancing of

federal and state interests involved and the assurance

that the state procedures adequately protect

constitutional claims. Other courts have concluded

Burford is applicable, notwithstanding constitutional

challenges to statutes, regulations, court rules, or local

ordinances. Where the state’s regulation of gambling

is the subject of inquiry in federal court, Burford

abstention has been considered particularly warranted.

See, Johnson v. Collins Entertainment Co., 199 F.3d

710, 720 (4 Cir. 1999) [deterrence of gambling lies “at

the heart of the state’s police power.”]; Chun v. State of

N_Y., 807 F.Supp. 288, 292 (S.D.N.Y. 1992) [“(t)he

scope of laws regulating gambling and lotteries is

clearly a matter of predominately local concern.”}

Thus, as dissenting Judge Wilkinson recognized,

14

Burford’s applicability “in the most sensitive areas of

state sovereignty [is] an issue that has been rife with

conflicting approaches.” Pet. App. a25. Unless this

Court squarely addresses abstention’s applicability

when a “facial” constitutional challenge is made to a

state regulatory regime, Burford’s doctrine is undercut

and respect for state sovereignty undermined. The

majority's decision leaves the fate of abstention in the

hands of the creative drafter of the complaint, who can

avoid state processes by alleging the entire regulatory

regime is constitutionally defective. As Judge

Wilkinson observed, the majority’s decision sends the

“troubling message” that the abstention doctrine can be

“skirtfed]” by “characterizing claims such as this as

mere facial challenges.” Pet. App. a43.

Il. THE MAJORITY’S DECISION IS

INCONSISTENT WITH THE DECISIONS

OF THIS COURT REGARDING BURFORD

ABSTENTION.

A. BURFORD AND ITS PROGENY

In Burford and its progeny, this Court has

ordered abstention notwithstanding the assertion of

constitutional claims. Burford, itself involved a due

process claim. Yet, this Court concluded abstention

was warranted, explaining that

{aJlthough a federal equity court does

have jurisdiction of a _ particular

proceeding, it may in its sound discretion,

whether its jurisdiction is invoked on the

grounds of diversity of citizenship or

otherwise, ‘refuse to enforce or protect

15

legal rights, the exercise of which may be

prejudicial to the public interest’; for it ‘is

in the public interest that federal courts

of equity should exercise their

discretionary power with proper regard

for the rightful independence of state

governments in carrying out their

domestic policy.’

319 U.S., supra, at 317-318 (emphasis added).

Importantly, the state provided a “unified method for

the formation of policy and determination of cases by

the Commission and by the state courts.” Id. at 333-

334. Judicial review of the Railroad Commission’s

order was “expeditious and adequate.” Id. at 334.

Burford’s doctrine was reaffirmed in Alabama

Public Service Commission v. Southern Ry. Co., 341

U.S. 341 (1951). Again, a due process claim was raised.

Nevertheless, the Court required abstention,

explaining that

[e]quitable relief may be granted only

when the District Court, in its sound

discretion exercised with the ‘scrupulous

regard for the rightful independence of

state governments which should at all

times actuate the federal courts ... is

convinced that the asserted federal right

cannot be preserved except by the

extraordinary relief of an injunction in

the federal courts.’ ... Whatever rights

appellee may have are to be pursued

through the state courts.

16

Id. at 349-350.

And, Martin v. Creasy, supra, as here, involved

a constitutional challenge to a statute as written. In

reversing the three-judge court’s enjoining of the

highway access statute as violative of the Fourteenth

Amendment, the Court concluded that “[t]he

circumstances which should impel a federal court to

abstain from blocking the exercise by state officials of

their appropriate functions are present here in a

marked degree.” 360 U.S., supra at 224. Emphasizing

that the state statute provides a “procedure through

which the full measure of {plaintiffs’] ... rights under

the United States Constitution will be preserved ...,”

the Court abstained. Abstention was based upon “the

unnecessary impairment of state functions.”* Jd.

NOPSI, supra clarified Burford. There,

abstention was deemed inappropriate to a challenge

that a rate order was federally pre-empted. NOPSI

summarized the “Burford doctrine” as follows:

[w]here timely and adequate state-court

review is available, a federal court sitting

in equity must decline to interfere with

the proceedings or orders of state

administrative agencies: (1) when there

3 Creasy is a form of “Burford type abstention. ...” BT Inv.

Managers, Inc. v. Lewis, 559 F.2d 950, 955 (5" Cir. 1977); Wright,

Miller and Cooper, 17A Federal Practice and Procedure § 4244

[citing Creasy as a Burford type case]. See also, Great Lakes

Dredge and Dock Co. v. Huffman, 319 U.S. 293, 298 (1943) [“It is

in the public interest that federal courts of equity should exercise

their discretionary power to grant or withhold relief so as to avoid

needless obstruction of the domestic policy of the states.”]

17

are “difficult questions of state law

bearing on policy problems of substantial

public import whose importance

transcends the result in the case at bar”;

or (2) where the exercise of federal review

of the question in a case and in similar

cases would be disruptive of state efforts

to establish a coherent policy with respect

toa matter of substantial public concern.”

491 U.S., id. at 361, quoting Colorado River Water

Conserv. Dist. v. U.S., 424 U.S. supra.*

B. NOPSI__DOES NOT RENDER

BURFORD ABSTENTION

UNWARRANTED HERE

Contrary to the Fourth Circuit’s suggestion

otherwise, Pet. App. at al8, NOPSI does not disqualify

Respondents’ constitutional claims as a “candidate” for

Burford abstention. This Court’s two-pronged test

specified in NOPSI for Burford applicability is

alternatively stated, such that “Burford does not

require unclear questions of state law.” Davies,

“Pullman and Burford Abstention: Clarifying the Roles

of State and Federal Courts in Constitutional Cases,”

20 U.C. Davis L.R. 1, 11 (1986). Nor does NOPSI

suggest in this test that “facial” constitutional claims

are not subject to Burford. The key question for

Burford abstention is instead whether adjudication in

federal court would “unduly intrude into the processes

* In Ankenbrandat v. Richards, 504 U.S. 689, 706 (1992),

this Court suggested that Burford is applicable to judicial

proceedings, as well as administrative.

18

of state government or undermine the State’s ability to

maintain desired uniformity.” 491 U.S. id. at 363.

Thus, NOPSI lends no comfort to the Fourth

Circuit's creation of a “facial” exception to Burford.

Importantly, NOPSI’s “facial” claim was based upon

preemption of an order, rather than a “facial”

constitutional claim. There is a_ considerable

distinction between the two. See, Chiropractic America

v. Lavecchia, 180 F.3d 99, 108 (3d Cir. 1999)

{distinguishes preemption from a “facial” constitutional

attack; “[a] reviewing federal court would be required

to delve beyond the text of the regulations to adjudicate

Appellants’ constitutional claims.”]. Moreover, it is

rare that a “facial” claim sweeps away an entire

statute. Brockett v. Spokane Arcades, Inc., 472 U.S.

491, 504 (1985) [Partial, rather than facial

invalidation, is the “normal rule.”]; Ayotte v. Planned

Parenthood, 546 U.S. 320, 328-29 (2006) [*... when

confronting a constitutional flaw in a statute, we try to

limit the solution to the problem.”].

Here, discriminatory enforcement is alleged. As

stated in United States v. Armstrong, 517 U.S. 456, 466

(1996), a discriminatory enforcement claim is “not

based on the ground [the statute] is unconstitutional

on its face,” but challenges “the manner of its

administration.” Such a claim is, therefore, generally

a mixed question of law and fact. Unlike NOPSI, this

claim cannot be adjudicated based upon a purely

“facial” analysis.°

* Moreover, unlike NOPSI, Respondents, in reality, allege

certain state law violations as well as constitutional claims. They

(continued...)

19

Likewise, Respondents other Due Process and

Equal Protection contentions cannot be characterized

solely as “facial” claims. A facial vagueness claim

“means a claim that the law is ‘invalid in toto — and

therefore incapable of any valid application.” Village

of Hoffman Estates v. Flipside, 455 U.S. 489, 494 n. 5

(1982). As United States v. Mazurie, 419 U.S. 544, 550

(1975) emphasizes, “... vagueness challenges to statutes

which do not involve First Amendment freedoms must

be examined in the light of the facts of the case at

hand.” (emphasis added). Respondents’ Due Process

and Equal Protection claims are thus not “facial” in

NOPSI’s sense. Holliday, supra clearly demonstrates

that Respondents cannot “establish that no set of

circumstances exists under which ... [these] Act[s]

would be valid.” U.S. v. Salerno, 481 U.S. 739, 745

(1987).

5(...continued)

assert that “[djefendants have permitted the possession and

operation of devices pertaining to games of chance that have been

specifically ruled illegal in prior judicial rulings in video arcades

catering to young children ....” Pet. App. a76. Yet, Section 12-21-

2712 requires law enforcement officers to seize “any” illegal

machine or device and take before the magistrate. While

Respondents characterize their claim as Equal Protection-based,

they also are alleging a state law violation. Moreover,

Respondents’ complaint asserts the goal to design and

manufacture “a legal video amusement machine to be operated

within the State of South Carolina,” yet are “unwilling” to “risk”

prosecution and seizure. Pet. App. at a77. In effect, Respondents

argue that their machines - in contrast to others’ — are “legal”

under state law, i.e. not “games of chance.” Thus, their contention

is essentially that the state may misperceive the nature of their

machines and thus “misapp]ly] its lawful authority,” or that the

State will not “properly weigh relevant state law factors ....”

NOPSI, 491 U‘S. at 562.

20

Judge Wilkinson correctly recognized that

Respondents’ claims are not “facial.” He noted that the

essence of Respondents’ claims are for discriminatory

enforcement and to support such claim they desire

extensive discovery. Pet. App. a43-a45. In his view,

the majority “exalts form over substance ...,” Jd. at a42,

in characterizing Respondents’ equal protection claim

as “facial”:

... plaintiffs’ equal protection challenge

inevitably requires a detailed probing of

South Carolina’s enforcement scheme.

Thus, it was clearly not an abuse of

discretion to abstain from adjudicating

this claim. Plaintiffs not only ask a

federal court to pass upon the rationality

of South Carolina’s strategy for enforcing

its gambling laws, but also seek to delve

into the strategy’s details. Such an

undertaking would inevitably require the

federal court to interpret and apply the

state statute to various individualized

decisions made by the state in the

enforcement of its gaming laws.

Pet. App. a43-a44.

Moreover, as Judge Wilkinson noted concerning

Respondents’ “vagueness” claim, “... federal court

involvement here will interfere with the detailed,

individualized analysis required to determine what

constitutes a ‘game of chance’ and will inescapably

intrude upon South Carolina’s regulatory system.” Id.

at a36. And, with regard to Respondents’ contention

that a pre-seizure mechanism is constitutionally

21

required, he recognized that in areas of traditional

local control, “‘state courts are fully competent to —

adjudicate constitutional challenges to local ...

decisions.” Jd. at a47. Thus, unlike NOPSI, which

involved a truly “facial” claim, Respondents’ claims are

clearly “entangled in a skein of state law” which must

be untangled before any federal action can proceed.

491 U.S. at 362. In essence, Respondents’ federal

action is based upon a desire to “design and

manufacture a legal video amusement machine [under

state law] to be operated within the State of South

Carolina ....” Pet. App. at a77. A federal court, faced

with their Due Process and Equal Protection claims,

will inevitably become enmeshed in the details of

South Carolina’s anti-gambling statute and invariably

must apply the State’s “game of chance” requirement

to a specific factual situation. Such intrusion by the

federal judiciary significantly threatens the State’s

interest in maintaining uniformity in the treatment of

an “essentially local problem ....” Alabama Pub. Serv.

Comm’n., 341 U.S., supra at 347.

As stated, South Carolina enforces its gambling

laws, based upon a “machine by machine” forfeiture

analysis. An amusement machine can instantly

become an illegal per se gambling device with a slight

computer modification. Allendale, supra. Thus, as

Heckler v. Chaney, 470 U.S. 821, 831 (1985) states, the

“decision not to enforce often involves a complicated

balancing of a number of factors which are peculiarly

within its expertise.” Where “the exercise of authority

by state officials is attacked, federal courts must be

constantly mindful of the ‘special delicacy of the

adjustment to be preserved between federal equity

power and state administration of its own law.” Rizzo

22

v. Goode, 423 U.S. 362, 378 (1976).

For all these reasons, the Fourth Circuit’s

reliance upon NOPSI or other cases for its novel “if

facial constitutional claims are alleged, no possible

threat to uniformity is imposed” reasoning is entirely

misplaced. Indeed, such analysis is at odds with this

Court’s decisions regarding the applicability of

abstention to constitutional claims. Moore v. Sims,

supra, although a Younger abstention case, is highly

instructive. There, abstention was warranted even

though Plaintiffs facially attacked provisions of Texas

law authorizing emergency custody of children. As the

Fourth Circuit did here, the District Court refused to

abstain, intimating that Plaintiffs’ challenge to the

entire Texas statutory scheme as unconstitutional

rendered abstention inapplicable. Justice Rehnquist

demonstrated why such reasoning is flawed:

[t}hus, the District Court suggests that

the more sweeping the challenge the

more inappropriate is abstention, and

thereby inverts traditional abstention

reasoning. The breadth of a challenge to

a complex state statutory scheme has

traditionally militated in favor of

abstention, not against it. This is evident

in a number of distinct but related lines

of abstention cases which, although

articulated in different ways, reflect the

same sensitivity to the primacy of the

State in the interpretation of its own laws

and the cost to our federal system of

government in federal court

interpretation and subsequent

23

invalidation of parts of an integrated

statutory framework.

442 U.S., supra at 427 (emphasis in original). While

Moore involved Younger abstention, Burford and

Younger are closely related. Monongahela Power Co. v.

Schriber, 322 F.Supp.2d 902, 915 (S.D. Ohio 2004). See

also, NOPSI, 494 U.S. supra at 365 [*... the mere

assertion of a substantial federal constitutional

challenge to state action will not alone compel the

exercise of federal jurisdiction.”].

C. THE MAJORITY CREATED AN

E I T D

UNRECOGNIZED BY THIS COURT

Accordingly, in fashioning an exception to

Burford for “facial” constitutional claims, the majority

wrongly applied Burford cases, including NOPSI.

Again, Quackenbush, supra, rejects a “rigid” or “per se”

approach to Burford. While Burford requires a

“balance [which] only rarely favors abstention,” still,

that “balance” must be made.°® It is error tc determine

° True, the Court of Appeals ostensibly applied the test for

Burford abstention articulated in NOPSI, See, 491 U.S. at 361-

363. Yet, clearly the so-called “facial” attacks Respondents make

against South Carolina’s statutes drove the majority's analysis.

Moreover, as Judge Wilkinson noted, the majority's conclusion

that no difficult questions of state law are here involved is

incorrect. The District Court, faced with Respondents’ vagueness

claims, will inevitably become enmeshed in applying the statutes

“pertaining to games of chance” language on a machine-by-

machine basis as state law requires. Further, concerning

Respondent's claim that no mechanism for advance approval of a

class of machines exists, the District Court will again run

(continued...)

24

that an attack upon the statutes “as written” results in

Burford abstention’s inapplicability. Although the fact

that a state policy may be overturned is no reason to

abstain, 491 U.S., supra, at 363, a “facial”

constitutional attack upon a state policy or state

regulatory statutes ts no reason not to abstain. See,

Creasy, supra; Moore v. Sims, supra, Colorado River,

421 U.S., supra at 815, n. 14 [Although the burden may

. be greater, Burford may apply, even where there is “a

federal basis for jurisdiction.”] Rather than concluding

that “facial” constitutional attacks upon the state’s

regulatory scheme are not “proper candidates” for

Burford, a federal court must carefully balance federal

and state interests, determining whether “the State’s

interests are paramount and that a dispute would best

be adjudicated in a state forum.” Quackenbush., 517

U.S. supra at 728.

The majority failed to engage in such balancing,

giving no weight to the fact that state law assigns toa

magistrate the determination of legality of all

gambling devices seized, subject to timely and

adequate judicial review. Instead, the Court severely

devalued the State’s interest in prohibiting gambling

and in maintaining uniformity in that deterrence — by

placing all emphasis upon Respondents’ “facial”

claims. And, by discounting completely the inevitable

entanglement of Respondents’ claims with South

Carolina’s regulatory anti-gaming scheme aimed at

“games of chance,” the majority was also unfaithful to

Burford. Such an analysis undermines the flexibility

which Burford encourages and thwarts the principles

®(__ continued)

headlong into the machine-by-machine requirement of state law.

25

of federalism and comity which Burford protects.

lil, THE MAJORITYS DECISION FURTHER

ADDS TO THE CONFUSION IN LOWER

FEDERAL COURTS REGARDING

BURFORD’S APPLICABILITY, AND IS

INCONSISTENT WITH DECISIONS IN

OTHER CIRCUITS AS WELL AS THE

FOURTH CIRCUIT.

Judge Wilkinson’s dissent expressed concern

about the reigning confusion in the lower federal courts

over Burford’s applicability, noting that the “issue [is]

rife with conflicting approaches.” Pet. App. a25. Other

commentators agree wholeheartedly with his

assessment. As one authority has_ observed,

“[cJonfusion over the scope of Burford abounds ....”

Young, “Federal Court Abstention and Administrative

Law From Burford to Ankenbrandt,” 42 DePaul L. Rev.

859, 866 (1993). And, as another commentator has

written,

[m]Juch confusion surrounds the factors

federal courts should consider in deciding

whether to grant Burford abstention ... .

Supreme Court formulations of Burford

have been abstract, leading to a variety of

views concerning its requirements among

the federal circuits.

Wise and Christensen, “Sorting Out Federal and State

Judicial Roles In State Institutional Reform:

Abstention’s Potential Role,” 29 Fordham Urb. L. J.

387, 399 (2001). By adopting a “per se” rule for so-

called “facial” challenges, the majority compounds the

26

confusion dramatically.

Decisions in other circuits disagree with the

Court of Appeals’ “facial” exception. For example, the

Fifth Circuit has stated quite clearly in Sierra Club v.

City of San Antonio, 112 F.3d 789, 795 (5™ Cir. 1997)

that “Burford abstention does not so much turn on

whether the plaintiffs cause of action is alleged under

federal or state law, as it does on whether the

plaintiffs claim may be ‘in any way entangled in a

skein of state law that must be untangled before the

federal case can proceed.” And, in Capital Bonding

Corp. v. New Jersey Supreme Court, 127 F.Supp.2d 582

(D.N.J. 2001), the District Court abstained under

Burford notwithstanding that Plaintiffs claim

constituted a “facial challenge” to a New Jersey

Supreme Court rule for notice and removal of insurers

from the New Jersey Bail Registry. The Court noted

that “[wJe are thus presented with murky federal

constitutional claims of questionable merit.” Jd. at

595. Finding that the “Plaintiff has ample opportunity

for review of the new Rule and any implementation

thereof,” /d., at 594, the Court relied upon the Third

Circuit’s decision in Chiropractic America v. Lavecchia,

supra, in abstaining under Burford. Quoting

Lavecchia, which involved Burford abstention in the

context of constitutional challenges to chiropractic

regulations, the Capital Bonding Court stated that

“... certain matters are of state concern to

the point where federal courts should

hesitate to intrude; and they may also

concern judicial ‘economy, the notion that

courts should avoid making duplicate

efforts or unnecessarily deciding difficult

27

questions.” —

127 F.Supp.2d at 591, quoting Chiropractic America,

180 F.3d at 103 (quoting Bath Memorial Hospital v.

Maine Health Care Fin. Comm., 853 F.2d 1007, 1012

(1™ Cir. 1988)).

An earlier Fourth Circuit decision, Fralin and

Waldron, Inc. v. Martinsville, 493 F.2d 481 (4™ Cir.

1974) is also inconsistent with the Court of Appeals’

reasoning in thiscase. Fralin involved a constitutional

challenge to a zoning ordinance. As here, Plaintiffs

claims raised questions of vagueness and arbitrary

enforcement. Yet, the Fourth Circuit required

abstention, because state adjudication would “avoid

needless friction in federal-state relations over the

administration of purely state affairs.” 493 F.2d, Id. at

483. See also, Russell v. Giles County, 105 F.Supp.2d

841, 848 (M.D. Temn. 2000) [the Court abstained

under Burford even though constitutional claims were

mounted against the Tennessee Public Indecency Act.];

Intl. Eateries of America, Inc. v. Bd. of County

Commrs., 838 F.Supp. 580 (S.D.Fla. 1993) [Burford

abstention warranted in suit challenging

constitutionality of adult entertainment ordinance].

Another case, Jernigan v. State of Miss., 812

F.Supp. 688 (S.D. Miss. 1993), referenced by Judge

Wilkinson in his dissent, is also highly instructive.

While not directly involving Burford abstention, this

case employed an abstention approach which is the

polar opposite of the Fourth Circuit's reasoning.

Jernigan involved the application ofa gambling statute

similar to Sections 12-21-2710 and 12-21-2712.

Plaintiff sued in federal court claiming his machines

28

were legal under Mississippi law and their use thus

protected by the federal Constitution. Seizure of his

machines, he argued, deprived him of property without

due process.

The District Court, however, abstained under

Younger v. Harris, supra. Relying upon a similar Third

Circuit decision, Pennsylvania Video Operators v. U.S.,

731 F.Supp. 717 (W.D. Pa. 1990), affd., 919 F.2d 136

(3d Cir. 1990), the Mississippi Court concluded as

follows:

... Jernigan claims that he will lose

money if state or federal law enforcement

officials seize his video poker machines.

However, the court ... does not view this

as “a potential irremediable

constitutional violation of sufficient

magnitude to warrant the interference of

this court in either state or federal law

enforcement.”

[NJeither can declaratory relief

properly be granted.... [PJlaintiff alleges

... that his due process right to “a hearing,

prior to the seizing of [his] equipment or

personal property” is threatened ... by

criminal proceedings. Defendants argue,

inter alia, that plaintiff has no property

interest in his video poker machines and

that ... his due process rights could not be

implicated by any seizure of those

machines. Jernigan does not dispute that

the ownership, possession, control or

transportation of machines such as his

29

could be declared illegal by the state

legislature or by Congress as a valid

exercise of government police powers. Nor

does he dispute that he would not have a

property interest in the machines if they

had been declared illegal by these

statutes. His claim appears to be simply

that his machines are not, in fact,

“gambling devices” within the meaning of

any of the subject statutes. ... [H]e wants

an injunction against defendants' seizing

his machines or prosecuting him for his

ownership of these machines. It is

apparent from the record in this case that

the question whether a _ particular

machine is a “gambling device” depends,

under either state or federal law, on the

various features of the machine....

{[C]lonsideration of the various

characteristics of each game and machine

is the core of analysis under the statute.

812 F.Supp. at 692-693. The Court’s reasoning in this

case vividly illustrates why Judge Wilkinson’s dissent

was correct. Without abstention, the federal court

inevitably will be required to plunge headlong into the

thicket of South Carolina gambling law. A federal

district judge will necessarily function as a “super

magistrate” in this case.

Accordingly, the lower federal courts do not read

Burford consistently. This Court should reconcile

these varying approaches.

30

IV. BURFORD ABSTENTION IS ESPECIALLY

APPLICABLE HERE BECAUSE OF THIS

COURT'S SUMMARY AFFIRMANCE IN

HOLLIDAY, WHICH REJECTED SIMILAR

CONSTITUTIONAL CHALLENGES MADE

AGAINST THE VIRTUALLY as

SOUTH CAROLINA STATUTES

QUESTION IN THIS CASE.

A. HOLLIDAY DECISION

The State’s interest in having this case

“adjudicated in a state forum” is_ substantially

enhanced by this Court’s summary affirmance decision

in Holliday, supra. Undoubtedly, the “minimal”

nature of the constitutional question was important in

the Burford decision to abstain. NOPSI, 491 US.,

supra at 361.

Likewise, based upon Holliday, the Respondents’

constitutional issues are of “minimal federal

importance.” For purposes of Respondents’ claims, the

similar predecessors to the current South Carolina

forfeiture statutes were upheld as constitutional

against Due Process and Equal Protection Clause

challenges — Respondents’ same claims here. Pet. App.

a68-a81. Like Respondents, Holliday brought a pre-

enforcement federal action to enjoin these provisions.

Holliday claimed these South Carolina statutes were

unconstitutional, null and void and in

violation of the Fourteenth Amendment

..., because the statutes treat, embrace,

regard and include the same _ coin-

operated amusement machines of the

31

plaintiff as gambling devices per se and

subject them to seizure and destruction

as gambling devices per se although they

are ultimately innocent and are not

gambling devices per se; that their

intended seizures and destruction, or any

seizures and destruction of them are and

would be, in violation of plaintiffs

constitutional rights ....

78 F.Supp. at 921. As today, South Carolina law then

banned devices “pertaining to games of chance of

whatever name or kind.” Moreover, the statutes in

Holliday mirrored present § 12-21-2712, requiring law

enforcement to seize machines and take before a

magistrate for review and subsequent destruction.

A three-judge Court concluded that Holliday’s

machines were “games of chance” because they “do not

give a certain uniform return value for each coin

deposited.” Jd. at 925. Thus, the federal question was

whether South Carolina’s anti-gambling laws violated

the Fourteenth Amendment. Concluding that “South

Carolina’s policy is to suppress gambling,” which “is

illegal in South Carolina,” Jd. at 921, the three-judge

court held that the forfeiture statute is “clearly a valid

exercise of [South Carolina’s] ... police power ... and

constitutes no attempt on the part of the State to

deprive plaintiff of his property without due process of

law.” Id. at 925.

Holliday appealed to this Court (Appellant’s

Jurisdictional Statement, Pet. App. a131-a139), asking

whether the South Carolina anti-gambling statutes

violated the Due Process and the Equal Protection

32

Clauses. Id. at al38. MHolliday’s Jurisdictional

Statement asserted that the gambling statute “has no

basis, is arbitrary and denies to the plaintiff his

fundamental rights under the equal protection of the

law clause and due process of law clause under [the] ...

14° Amendment....” Jd. This Court, however, expressly

affirmed the three-judge Court. 335 U.S. 843, supra.

B. EFFECT OF HOLLIDAY

In Mandel v. Bradley, 432 U.S. 173, 176, (1977),

this Court stated that

{s)ummary affirmances and dismissals for

want of a substantial federal question

without doubt reject the _ specific

challenges presented in the statement of

jurisdiction and do leave undisturbed the

judgment appealed from. They do prevent

lower courts from coming to opposite

conclusions on the precise issues presented

and necessarily decided by these actions.

And, in Hicks v. Miranda, 422 U.S. 332, 340 (1975), a

summary affirmance sustained “the constitutionality of

the very California obscenity statute ...” before the

Court. Hicks held it error to disregard this Court’s

decision because, where the issues “are substantially

the same,” the summary affirmance is dispositive. Id.

at 345, n. 14. The Court also has concluded that

determination of whether particular issues are “fairly

comprised” within the Jurisdictional Statement’s

questions is “not limited by the precise terms of the

question presented.” Procunier v. Navarette, 434 U.S.

555, 559, n. 6 (1978). See also, Comm. Party v.

33

Whitcomb, 414 U.S. 441, 451, n. 1 (1974) (Powell, J., et

al., dissenting) [jurisdictional statement “to include

every subsidiary question fairly comprised therein....”’].

Accordingly, Holliday concluded that South

Carolina statutes, similar to their current version, are

valid under the Due Process and Equal Protection

Clauses. Such ruling includes upholding the very

statutory language Respondents attack as vague —

“pertaining to games of chance of whatever name or

kind.” Respondents’ constitutional claims are thus

“fairly included” within Holliday’s issues decided.

While Respondents assert a “void-for-vagueness’” claim,

it is virtually the same one Holliday made here — that

“plaintiffs business [selling alleged gaming devices] is

inherently innocent ....”. Pet. App. al131-a160, a138.

Holliday argued that South Carolina’s forfeiture

statutes in making games of chance illegal per se “is

arbitrary and denies to the plaintiff his fundamental

rights under the equal protection clause and due

process of law clause ....” Id.

Generally, laws designating “innocent” conduct

criminal are candidates for void-for-vagueness claims.

See, City of Chicago v. Morales, 527 U.S. 41, 53 (1999);

Papachristou v. City of Jacksonville, 405 U.S. 156, 163

(1972). Moreover, “the void-for-vagueness doctrine

requires that a penal statute define the criminal offense

with sufficient definiteness that ordinary people can

understand what conduct is prohibited and in a manner

that does not encourage arbitrary and discriminatory

enforcement.” Gonzales v. Carhart, __ U.S. __, 127

S.Ct. 1610, 1616 (2007), quoting Kolender v. Lawson,

461 U.S. 352, 357 (1983). In Holliday, this Court

rejected arguments that the statutes’ breadth permitted

34

the arbitrary and discriminatory punishment of

innocent conduct. By summarily affirming the three-

judge court, the Court allowed the State to proceed

against Holliday’s machines. If this Court had thought

that the phrase “pertaining to games of chance” was

unconstitutionally vague in violation ofthe Due Process

Clause — a Clause Holliday asserted the statutes

violated — the three-judge court’s judgment would not

have stood. Indeed, the three-judge court defined

“games of chance” as those not giving “a uniform return

for each coin deposited.” 78 F.Supp. at 925. Neither

this Court nor the three-judge court deemed such a

definition unconstitutionally vague.’

Further, Respondents’ constitutional challenge to

lack of a pre-enforcement mechanism was also

necessarily decided in Holliday. Indeed, at the time

Holliday was adjudicated, both federal and state courts

had ruled — in accordance with Lawton v. Steele, 152

U.S. 133 (1894) — that an owner whose machines were

seized pursuant to the South Carolina statute was

entitled to no pre-seizure hearing under the Due

Process Clause. See, Durant uv. Bennett, 54 F.2d 634

(W.D.S.C. 1931) [judicial intervention after seizure is

constitutionally sufficient); State v. Kizer, supra [same],

overruled in part by State v. 192 Coin-Operated Video

. The three-judge court relied upon previous

interpretations of the state Supreme Court, such as Alexander v.

Martin, supra. For purposes of vagueness, this Court has

recognized that such claims must be adjudged in Light of the

statute’s construction by the highest court of the State.

Wainwright v. Stone, 414 U.S. 21, 22-23 (1973). Thus, there has

never been any difficulty in construing the statute's language and

this Court in Holliday, having Alexander v. Martin before it, saw

no such difficulty.

a

Game Machines, supra [post-seizure hearing required,

based upon Calero-Toledo v. Pearson Yacht Leasing Co,

416 U.S. 663 (1974)]. Whether Respondents’

contentions are based upon Equal Protection or

procedural Due Process, Holliday necessarily disposed

of the claim by allowing state enforcement to proceed.

In short, the claims in Holliday and this case are

essentially the same — that South Carolina statutes

arbitrarily punish innocent conduct (“legal” machines).

Yet, Holliday found no Due Process or Equal Protection

violations in these statutes.® Nevertheless, the majority

still refused to invoke abstention even though Holliday

8 Also, the Court has spurned the Due Process and Equal

Protection arguments which Respondents make in this case in the

specific context of treatment of contraband per se and the

regulation of gambling. A state is afforded considerable

constitutional leeway in the exercise of its police power to regulate

gambling. See, Posadas de Puerto Rico Associates v. Tourism Co.

of Puerto Rico, 478 U.S. 328, 341 (1986); U.S. v. Edge Broadcasting

Co., 509 U.S. 418, 426 (1993) [“gambling ... implicates no

constitutionally protected 1 ght.”]. Moreover, in Lawton v. Steele,

supra, the Court held that destruction of “public nuisances,” such

as gambling instrumentalities, may be accomplished, consistent

with Due Process, by “summary” proceedings. And, in Calero-

Toledo v. Pearson Yacht Leasing Co., supra, no preseizure

proceeding was required for the forfeiture of contraband.

Further, the Court has also reviewed a federal statute

similar to South Carolina’s and rejected the claim that the

language therein — “involved an element of chance” — is void for

vagueness. United States v. Korpan, 354 U.S. 271 (1957).

Accordingly, the constitutional claims in this case have

long been decided by this Court, thus furthering the necessity for

Burford abstention here. The federal interest in this case is

clearly “minimal.”

36

renders Respondents federal claims and the need for

having the matter decided by a federal court as

“minimal.” Undoubtedly, “lower courts are bound by

summary decisions by this Court ‘until such time as the

Court informs (them) that (they) are not.” Hicks v.

Miranda, 422 U.S., supra at 334. Accordingly, the

District Court’s decision to abstain should have been

affirmed.?

% While Burford was not raised in Holliday, — a case

decided in 1948 long before Burford was fully established — it is

easy to see from Holliday how a federal court will inevitably

become “enmeshed” or “entangled in a skein of state law.” NOPSI,

supra. In Holliday, the three-judge court first had to determine

whether in-line pin games were “game of chance” under South

Carolina law before it could address Holliday’s constitutional

claims against South Carolina’s forfeiture statutes. Today, even

more so, — where legality is adjudged on a “machine-by-machine”

basis — it is clear that a federal court will necessarily become ~

entangled in the intricacies of state law. As in Holliday, the

federal court will be required to insert itself into South Carolina

gambling law before it can proceed to decide the federal issues

before it. Judge Wilkinson, in his dissent discusses this

entanglement at considerable length. See, Pet. App. a36-a50. -

37

CONCLUSION

For the foregoing reasons, the petition for writ of

certiorari should be granted.

February 13, 2008.

Respectfully submitted,

ROBERT D. COOK

Deputy Attorney General

Counsel of Record

HENRY DARGAN McMASTER

South Carolina Attorney General

C. HAVIRD JONES, JR.

Senior Assistant Attorney General

Post Office Box 11549

Columbia, South Carolina 29211

(803) 734-3736

Attorneys for Petitioners.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.