Opposition Brief — Exxon Mobil Corp. v. Grefer (No. 07-1055)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

8% @ FILED

No. 07-1055 MAR 1 7 2008

OFFICE OF THE Crier:

In The SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Supreme Court of the Anited States

EXXON MOBIL CORPORATION,

Petitioner,

V.

JOSEPH GREFER, ET AL..,

Respondents.

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The Louisiana Court Of Appeal,

Fourth Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION

$

STUART H. SMITH STEPHEN B. MURRAY

MICHAEL G. STAG (Counsel of Record)

SMITH STAG, L.L.C. ARTHUR M. MURRAY

365 Canal Street, Suite 2850 MURRAY LAW FIRM

New Orleans, LA 70130 909 Poydras Street,

(504) 593-9600 Suite 2550

‘ New Orleans, LA 70112

(504) 525-8100

Attorneys for Respondents

| Additional Counsel On Inside Cover]

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO (800) 225 6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342-2831

ANDREW B. SACKS

JOHN WESTON

LAW OFFICES OF ANDREW B. SACKS AND ASSOCIATES

114 Old York Road

Jenkintown, PA 19046

(215) 925-8200

RALPH R. ALEXIS, III

PORTEOUS, HAINKEL AND JOHNSON, L.L.P.

704 Carondelet Street

New Orleans, LA 70130

(504) 581-3838

RON A. AUSTIN

AUSTIN & ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.

400 Manhattan Avenue

Harvey, LA 70058

(504) 436-7844

JACK W. HARANG

HARANG & BARKER, L.L.C.

3500 N. Hullen Street

Metairie, LA 70002

(504) 456-8658

D.

i

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW

DID EXXON’S FULL, VOLUNTARY AND

UNCONDITIONAL PAYMENT OF THE PUNI-

TIVE DAMAGE AWARD EFFECT A WAIVER

OF ANY ISSUES ON APPEAL AND RENDER

THIS PETITION MOOT”?

DID EXXON’S FAILURE TO PRESERVE ANY

WILLIAMS OBJECTIONS WAIVE THOSE IS-

SUES?

DOES WILLIAMS EXPLICITLY PERMIT

CONSIDERATION OF HARM TO THIRD

PARTIES IN ASSESSING THE REPREHEN-

SIBILITY OF EXXON’S MISCONDUCT?

DID THE LOUISIANA COURTS PROVIDE

EXXON FULL DUE PROCESS PROTECTION

—~ EVEN THOUGH EXXON DID NOT RE-

QUEST IT?

DOES WILLIAMS REQUIRE A RETRIAL?

IS ANY STATE FARM RATIO ISSUE BEYOND

THE SCOPE OF THIS COURTS REMAND,

WAS IT RAISED IN THE COURTS BELOW,

AND IS IT EVEN ARGUABLY MERITORI-

OUS?

l

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

QUESTIONS PRESENTED FOR REVIEW ........ i

ae GO GPIB eveccsncncccccssevsessesnssacsvegence li

TAB CF BU aie BD sons vce ccnssnsinnscsciccsccenace v

STATEMENT OF THE CASE..................cceccseceeees 1

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND....................0... 1

(1) Exxon Has Unconditionally Paid The

Punitive Damage Award Contested

| RRA RANTES NORE LORIE PEO OER TOT Te 1

(2) The Greter Promerey ........25.005s000se0e00es. 1

(3) Exxon’s Conduct, Its Motivations and

the Effect on the Grefer Family and

FE I oii sivitttierxeserreshiccrersve 3

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW...................0..000.. 7

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION ..... 10

A. EXXON’S FULL, VOLUNTARY AND

UNCONDITIONAL PAYMENT OF THE

PUNITIVE DAMAGE AWARD = EF-

FECTED A WAIVER OF ANY ISSUES

ON APPEAL, AND RENDERED THIS

PR ee vices nvnesddnnassntsaveoens 10

(1) Exxon’s Payment of the Punitive

Damage Award Was Unconditional..... 10

(2) Exxon’s Payment of the Punitive

Damage Award Was Voluntary............ 12

(3) Exxon’s Unconditional and Voluntary

Payment of the Punitive Damage

Award Renders This Petition Moot..... 13

ll

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

EXXON’S FAILURE TO PRESERVE ANY

WILLIAMS OBJECTIONS WAIVED THOSE

NP icaiasssninnek aakuenictsincnsarsanveniaaniessnen

(1) The Trial Court’s Instructions Were

Proper, and Exxon Never Asked for

the Relief It Now Demands.................

(2) Exxon’s Failure to Request a Wil-

liams Instruction Waived the Issue ....

(3) Exxon Also Waived the Williams Is-

sue Under Louisiana Law ...................

(4) Exxon Made No Due Process Objection

to Evidence of Third-Party Harm...........

WILLIAMS EXPLICITLY PERMITS

CONSIDERATION OF HARM TO

THIRD PARTIES IN ASSESSING THE

REPREHENSIBILITY OF EXXON’S

PANTER sex sniscsnkasdchacnvhnceceessncabvessonken

THE LOUISIANA COURTS PROVIDED

EXXON FULL DUE PROCESS PRO-

TECTION —- EVEN THOUGH EXXON

EPREP TOPE GRMP MN T UPE BA ic sckiccnccstanncididnaniunss

WILLIAMS DOES NOT REQUIRE A

ee BRR BARE Coe EO UT OTE” rt eee

ANY STATE FARM RATIO ISSUE IS

BEYOND THE SCOPE OF THIS

COURT’S REMAND, WAS NOT RAISED

IN THE COURTS BELOW, AND IS NOT

EVEN ARGUABLY MERITORIOUG.........

15

16

18

18

19

20

25

28

1V

TABLE OF CONTENTS — Continued

Page

(1) Exxon’s 1:1 Ratio Argument Is Be-

yond the-Scope of This Court’s Re-

mand and Was Not Preserved on

oe cad Higcil adanindnideasnncuneaniin 34

(2) Exxon’s 1:1 Ratio Argument, Even if

It Could Properly Be Raised at This

Time, Does Not Merit This Court’s

ee alee esa yadicaminkineia 35

a. The 2:1 Ratio In This Case Is En-

tirely Consistent With State Farm .... 35

ead Tadinsues cesistnay cca vapuscueeccneanshsdacss 39

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

' Action Marine, Inc. v. Continental Carbon

Incorporated, 481 F.3d 1302 (11th Cir. 2007)......... 21

American Motor Insurance Co. v. American

Rent-All, Inc., 617 So.2d 944 (1993)...................068. 10

BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S.

559, 116 S. Ct. 1589, 134 L.Ed.2d 809 (1996)... passim

Buckbee v. United Gas Pipe Line Co. Inc., 561

se aliases nds banieannnensues 33

Bullock v. Philip Morris USA, Inc., 159

Cal.App.4th 655 (Cal. Ct. App. 2d Dist.

CT can dndeheikinnens 30, 31

Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 98

P.3d 409 (Utah 2004), cert. denied, 543 U-E.

874, 125 S. Ct. 114, 160 L.Ed.2d 123 (2004)....29, 36

Cooper v. AMT, Inc., 454 So.2d 156 (La.App. 1

Cir. 1984), writ denied, 459 So.2d 539 (La.

Delaney v. Whitney, 703 So.2d 709 (La.App. 4th

Cir. 1997), writ denied, 715 So.2d 1211 (La.

ee Sac Sinuhaasahedtwkesbnioasesne 18

ExxonMobil v. Grefer, Joseph, et al., No.

AGE ol ean RRS ES ay

ExxonMobil Corp. v. Grefer, 126 S.Ct. 2056

a Lin ivnagbenacnivGeebncass 9

ExxonMobil Corp. v. Grefer, 127 S.Ct. 1371

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

Gonzales v. Xerox Corp., 320 So.2d 163 (La.

TEP i cciwinsnsenndpnsncesacecacinincebid aiienhcaatbeaisinodsadeubaakinn 33

Grefer v. Alpha Technical, 901 So.2d 1117

(La.App. 4th Cir. 2005) ....................00 2, 8, 22, 23, 26

Grefer v. Alpha Technical, on remand, 965

So.2d 511 (La.App. 4th Cir. 2007)....................... 9, 34

Griffin v. International Insurance Company,

727 So.2d 485 (La.App. 3d Cir. 1998)............... 13, 14

Kauffman v. Maxim Healthcare Services, Inc.,

509 F.Supp.2d 210 (E.D. N.Y. 2007)...................08. 18

Merrick v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 500 F.3d

ee ee Ge EE os eioits i estneccnctnscatecerenndcdvadanetcci: 30

Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 549 U.S. __.,

127 S. Ct. 1057, 166 L.Ed.2d 940 (2007)........ passim

Riley v. Salley, 874 So.2d 874 (La.App. 4th Cir.

BE in ciceenacapcst sus eekoniaddingins neta, puaadanaitesubsabaniae ss 33

Rodriguez v. Taylor, 468 So.2d 1186 (La. 1985) ........ 33

Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of

New Orleans v. Louisiana Gas Serv. Co., 618

mT Ge Ci Thien kn ctccecccceanesccnacedccocensdeessnscans 38

Saint Charles Parish Sch. Bd. v. GAF Corp.,

ALE O31. 24 OO |. y 5 en 14,15

Sand Hill Energy, Inc. v. Smith, 142 S.W.3d

153 (Ky. 2004)......cc.cceccssccsceccosscsssessecsossesscessnseceesees 32

Southstar Funding, LLC v. Sprouse, 2007 U.S.

Dist. LEAIS 22585 (D. N.C. 2007)..............0.s0cccsesses 18

vii

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES — Continued

Page

State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. uv.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408 (2008)..................000 passim

Stevens v. Snow, 191 Cal. 58, 214 P. 968 (1923)........ 31

Temple v. Liberty Mutual Ins. Co., et al., 330

OG GP) Cah: FI i iccetiitctnnicnicehtcanieamees 32

White v. Ford Motor Company, 500 F.3d 963

COR CRE, FID svsiscsticndnssecneedonennnmenaee 30

STATUTES

Louisiana Civil Code art. 2047 ...........ccccccessccceeeeeeeeees 11

Louisiana Civil Code art. 2315.3 ...............ssccsecsscsseceees 8

Lae. Come Ga Fart: DO cnshancumnucmeanncwee 14

Louisiana Code of Evidence art. 105 ...........0....... 18-19

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

Lam. Conk. ort. V, SOC vccssinssesissaniscsemmmasicana 32, 33

RULES

U.S. Supreme Court Rule 10....0..............cccccceseees 27, 40

U.S. Supreme Court Rule 14(g)(i).............00....00... 34-35

OTHER AUTHORITIES

Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary

AID»: nivsston'annssbiisirCasiéawadstialoenoupesaninaneneect na eaal enn 11

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

A. FACTUAL BACKGROUND

(1) Exxon Has Unconditionally Paid The Pu-

nitive Damage Award Contested Here.

At the outset, we note that after a series of

discussions and negotiations by and between counsel

for the Grefers and Exxon Mobil Corporation (herein-

after “Exxon”), reflected in correspondence by and

between said counsel, Exxon “unconditionally” paid to

the Grefers the full punitive damage award.’ (Resp.

App. la-26a). As Respondents assert hereinafter, this

payment renders Exxon’s Petition moot.

(2) The Grefer Property.

The instant suit involves a large tract of land

owned by the Grefer family for over 125 years which,

due to the wanton, reckless, and reprehensible con-

duct of Exxon, was thoroughly inundated with radio-

active waste. The damage to this property began in

1968 when Intracoastal Tubular Services, Inc.

(“ITCO”) first leased the Grefer property from the

Grefer family in order to operate a pipe yard for trans-

porting, storing, cleaning, and inspecting Exxon’s

oilfield pipe.

During the many years of operations on the

Grefer tract, Exxon sent ITCO millions of sections of

' Exxon had previously paid the Grefers the full compensa-

tory damage award, which is not atis 2.

2

oilfield pipe encrusted with radioactive scale from

Exxon’s onshore and offshore oil production opera-

tions. R. 33:16.’ This scale consisted of concentrated

Radium-226, Radium-228, and their daughter prod-

ucts, collectively known as Technologically Enhanced

Radioactive Material (TERM).’ At Exxon’s direction,*

ITCO cleaned Exxon’s pipes and allowed the waste to

enter the environment in an uncontrolled fashion, as

the radioactive scale fell from the pipes onto the

ground when the pipes were transported in and

around the yard, were off-loaded by crane or forklift,

and were cleaned by both portable and stationary air

rattling machines. R. 33:14-18, 34:48-52; R. 33:38-41,

34:49; Pl. Ex. 40-50. These rattling machines used

high pressure air compressors that generated radio-

active dust clouds. R. 33:17-19, 34:38. Aside from the

deposit of scale from ITCO’s cleaning operations, the

radioactive scale in the pipes was also randomly

* Citations to the trial court transcript are to the record

filed with the Court of Appeal and take the form

“R.[volume}):[page].”

* The acronym “TERM” refers to the radioactive scale

deposits found in used oilfield drilling pipe. The acronym

“NORM?” is also used to describe that condition. Grefer v. Alpha

Technical, 901 So.2d 1117, 1128, n.11 (La.App. 4th Cir. 2005);

Petr. App. 48a. The decay of radium also generates Radon gas,

which is a known human carcinogen.

* Exxon maintained offices at ITCO for its employees who

managed materials, oversaw quality control, and supervised

ITCO. R. 33:11-12, 46:40-41. The Grefers had no involvement

with the industrial activities conducted by ITCO and Exxon on

the property. R. 39:115-18.

3

buried and used as road and pipe rack building

materials throughout the yard during all years of

operations. R. 33:39-41, 34:48-52; ITCO Ex. 193(D).

Estimates of the average amount of scale indicate

that as much as 1.5 million pounds of scale per

cleaning machine was dispersed in the yard each

year. R. 33:26, 29:10. This waste was never removed

from the yard, nor was there any record of a cleanup

(of any sort).

(3) Exxon’s Conduct, Its Motivations and

the Effect on the Grefer Family and

Their Property.

The Fourth Circuit concluded that Exxon’s ac-

tions in despoiling the Grefer property resulted from

Exxon’s “callous, calculated, despicable and reprehen-

sible conduct during the time-period in question”

(Petr. App. 114a), which showed that Exxon had no

concern for human safety, “and even less concern

about the property damage that it caused” to the

Grefer family. Petr. App. 1l4a. Indeed, the facts

clearly support that finding:

Exxon has long known of NORM contamination in

oilfield equipment. Petr. App. 42a-43a. This knowl-

edge pre-dated 1985, but in that year the United

Kingdom Offshore Operators’ Association — of which

Exxon was a member — published safety guidelines

and a reference manual that were distributed to all

oil companies. The manual extensively covered the

identification of radioactive scale in wells and the

4

procedure to follow up on such identification. Petr.

App. 43a. Exxon officials felt that the guidelines were

too onerous, restrictive, inflexible and unreasonable

for Exxon’s production operations in the United

States. Petr. App. 88a.

Chevron discovered NORM contamination in its

well sites in Mississippi in 1986. In May, 1986, after

learning of Chevron’s discovery, Exxon surveyed its

Mississippi well sites and confirmed the presence of

radiation in its equipment. Exxon’s own hygienist

admitted that had Exxon surveyed its U.S. wells

sooner than 1986, it would have discovered radium in

its wellheads sooner. Petr. App. 88a. Twice Exxon

officials were notified that its cleaning contractors

had to be informed of the radioactivity, since it posed

a health and safety hazard, but Exxon still did noth-

ing to warn them. Petr. App. 88a.

In fact, an internal memorandum written in

August, 1986 by Exxon’s then Director of Environ-

mental and Regulatory Affairs showed that Exxon’s

“primary concern” after Chevron’s NORM discovery

was not health, safety or property clean-up — it was to

get the oil industry and federal regulatory agencies to

“slow down” the investigation into NORM contamina-

tion out of fear that the Environmental Protection

Agency (“EPA”) would increase its regulation and

would eliminate the “produced water” exemption

under the Resource Conservation Recovery Act

(“RCRA”). Under that exemption oil companies such

as Exxon are allowed to dispose of water produced

5

during drilling operations in an unregulated manner.

Petr. App. 88a-89a.

Exxon’s entirely selfish motivations were further

demonstrated when the same Exxon official,” at a

meeting of Exxon executives concerning NORM in

January, 1987, calculated that the loss to Exxon if it

were to lose its produced water exemption would be

$750 million in the first year and $150 million for

each subsequent year. Petr. App. 89a.

At the same meeting, several Exxon officials

concluded that notifying pipe-cleaning contractors

such as ITCO about the health and safety risks of

NORM was “premature.” Petr. App. 89a. This was

contrary to the advice of an Exxon hygienist who had

earlier opined that cleaning contractors such as ITCO

had to be notified of the presence of radioactivity.

Petr. App. 43a-44a.

Another confidential memo written by another

Exxon executive in October, 1986 showed that Exxon

wanted to downplay the NORM problem because of

Exxon’s potential exposure to litigation. The memo

noted that litigation against Chevron by one of its

pipe yard contractors had followed Chevron’s disclo-

sure of NORM contamination. The same memo noted

that ITCO was a potential “look alike” to the Chevron

contractor and suggested Exxon perform “low key”

* The same Exxon official also wrote that Chevron’s discov-

ery was “nothing new.” Petr. App. 89a-91a.

6

radiation exposure measurements. Petr. App. 89a-

90a.

Exxon did not send any notification to ITCO until

March, 1987 (five months after the October, 1986

memo, and ten months after it had identified the

NORM problem at its domestic well sites), causing

further (and still unrestricted) contamination of the

Grefer property. Even then, Exxon downplayed the

problem. In a videotape played for ITCO’s president,

Exxon portrayed the health risks associated with

NORM as minor, and the safety procedure guidelines

as merely suggestive of taking precautions to avoid

breathing or ingesting airborne dust. Petr. App. 90a.

Exxon’s inadequate warning did nothing to protect the

Grefer property from further contamination or to

address the problem already existing at the property.

Even after Exxon no longer used ITCO as a

cleaning contractor, Exxon was aware that contami-

nated equipment remained stockpiled on the Grefer

property and was further aware of the danger posed

by NORM-contaminated scale; yet Exxon took no step

to remove its radioactive material from the Grefer

property. Petr. App. 94a-95a.

At no point did Exxon notify or warn the Grefer

family about the contamination at their property. R.

20:4946-48. Rather, Exxon knowingly and intention-

ally left the Grefer family with a huge mess. As a

result of the radioactive contamination described

above, the Grefers’ long-held family property was

despoiled. Petr. App. 95a. Exxon’s actions financially

7

burdened the Grefers with the tusk of cleaning up the

property. Petr. App. 95a. That burden, according to

the jury, was $56 million (not the $1.5 million market

value of the land asserted by Exxon). (Pet. 31.) This

was less than the estimate of plaintiffs’ expert, Mr.

Stanley Waligora, and more than that of Exxon’s

expert.” Petr. App. 74a-77a. The Fourth Circuit de-

termined that there was sufficient evidence to sup-

port the jury’s award. Petr. App. 107a; 113a-115a.

That judgment is now final and has been satisfied.’

Exxon’s actions have not only exposed the Grefers

to the expense of defending claims brought by third

parties as a result of the contamination of the Grefer

property but have also exposed the Grefers to signifi-

cant potential liabilities. Petr. App. 117a-118a. In fact,

a number of suits have already been instituted

against the family.

B. PROCEEDINGS BELOW.

The Grefers filed the instant suit in August of

1997 to recover damages for the burial, concealment

and disposal of radioactive scale throughout the

Grefer tract, a large (32.75 acre) property, located in a

suburb of New Orleans. Trial Record Volume 34, pp.

* R. 29:22, 29:36, 33:163-64, 33:166.

* Indeed, Exxon has unconditionally paid that amount, with

interest, to the Grefer family. See Exxon’s Motion For Stay and

Renewed Motion For Stay, ExxonMobil v. Grefer, Joseph, et al.,

No. 05A981.

8

35-36 (“R34:35-36”); Plaintiffs’ Exhibit No. (“Pl. Ex.”)

13; Pl. Ex. 35-39; ITCO Exhibit No. (“ITCO Ex.”)

193(A). They sought compensatory damages for the

costs of restoration, general damages associated with

the damage to the Grefer tract, and exemplary (puni-

tive) damages under Louisiana Civil Code art. 2315.3.

Petr. App. 5a. After a five-week trial, the jury found

Exxon 85% at fault, ITCO 5% at fault, and two absent

defendants 10% at fault. The jury rendered a verdict

of: (1) $56,000,000.00 for the cost of remediating the

contamination at the Grefer tract; (2) $145,000.00 in

general damages associated with the damage to the

Grefer tract; and (3) one billion dollars in punitive

damages assessed against Exxon.

The Fourth Circuit affirmed the judgment in its

entirety but reduced the punitive award to an amount

equal to twice the compensatory damage award.

Grefer v. Alpha Technical, 901 So.2d 1117 (La.App.

Ath Cir. 2005) (“Grefer I”); Petr. App. 107a; 113a-115a.

Both the plaintiffs and Exxon applied for Writs of

Certiorari to the Louisiana Supreme Court. The

Louisiana Supreme Court denied both Writ Applica-

tions on March 31, 2006. Petr. App. 120a-121a.

On April 5, 2006, seeking to stay execution of the

punitive damage award, Exxon filed in the Supreme

Court of Louisiana an “Emergency Motion to Stay

Execution of Judgment.” The court denied the Motion

on April 24, 2006.

On April 27, 2006, Exxon filed a Motion to Stay

in this Court. Justice Scalia denied the Motion on

9

May 1, 2006. ExxonMobil Corporation v. Grefer,

Joseph, et al., No. 05A981. Exxon filed a Renewed

Motion to Stay, which was referred to all members of

this Court, and was also denied. ExxonMobil Corp. v.

Grefer, 126 S. Ct. 2056 (2006).

Exxon then applied to this Honorable Court for a

Writ of Certiorari to the Louisiana Court of Appeal,

Fourth Circuit. On February 26, 2007 this Court

granted the writ, vacated the Fourth Circuit’s deci-

sion, and remanded the case to the Fourth Circuit

“for further consideration in light of Philip Morris

USA v. Williams, 549 U.S. ____ (2007).”

The Fourth Circuit, after exhaustively reviewing

its prior decision, the record of this case, and this

Court’s Philip Morris decision, elaborated and ex-

panded on its “thought process” that went into its

earlier opinion and reaffirmed its initial decree with

regard to its award of exemplary damages. Grefer v.

Alpha Technical, on remand, 965 So.2d 511, 526

(La.App. 4th Cir. 2007) (“Grefer IT”); Petr. App. 33a.

Exxon applied for writs of certiorari to the Lou-

isiana Supreme Court. That Court denied the appli-

cation on November 16, 2007. Petr. App. 123a. Exxon

now seeks review in this Honorable Court.

¢

10

REASONS FOR DENYING THE PETITION

A. EXXON’S FULL, VOLUNTARY AND UN-

CONDITIONAL PAYMENT OF THE PUNI-

TIVE DAMAGE AWARD EFFECTED A

WAIVER OF ANY ISSUES ON APPEAL, AND

RENDERED THIS PETITION MOOT.

Exxon has voluntarily and unconditionally paid

the full amount of the punitive damages award

included in the judgment entered below. Under

applicable state law, that payment waived all issues

on appeal. Exxon’s petition is moot.

(1) Exxon’s Payment of the Punitive Dam-

age Award Was Unconditional.

Exxon “unconditionally” tendered to the Grefers

the full punitive damages award contained within the

June 22, 2001 judgment. This is clearly demonstrated

by the letters attached, in globo, as Resp. App. la-

26a. That correspondence demonstrates that the

Grefers insisted at the time that, in order to stop the

accumulation of interest, any payment must be

“unconditional,” and cited pertinent jurisprudence

such as American Motor Insurance Co. v. American

Rent-All, Inc., 617 So.2d 944 (1993).° In his letter of

May 18, 2006, Exxon attorney, Glen M. Pilié, wrote to

Grefer attorney, Michael G. Stag:

° Correspondence dated May 18, 2006 from Grefer attorney

Michael G. Stag to Exxon attorney Glen M. Pilié. Resp. App. 5a-

6a.

11

ExxonMobil hereby makes an unconditional

tender of full payment of the punitive dam-

age component of the judgment and all legal

interest thereon as of May 24, 2006...°

Exxon thereafter unconditionally paid the Gre-

fers the full amount of the punitive damage award,

including legal interest." The correspondence thus

clearly shows that Exxon tendered and the Grefers

accepted nothing less than an unconditional payment.

Exxon’s choice of the word “unconditional” was un-

qualified. Louisiana Civil Code art. 2047 provides

that “the words of a contract must be given their

generally prevailing meaning.” Webster’s Dictionary

defines “unconditional” as “not limited: absolute,

unqualified ... ”'' Exxon uses the word “uncondi-

tional” or “unconditionally” in its correspondences dated

May 18, 2006 and May 22, 2006, respectively. Resp.

App. 7a-8a; 15a-16a. Because the Grefers had previ-

ously provided Exxon with pertinent jurisprudence

which demonstrated that only an unconditional

tender would stop the running of interest, Exxon

knew, when it employed the word “unconditional,”

that the law imposed certain consequences on the use

of the term. Exxon’s transmission of funds, against

* Resp. App. 7a-8a.

'° Correspondence dated June 16, 2006, Stuart H. Smith to

Mr. Pilié. Resp. App. 19a-20a; correspondence dated June 20,

2006, from Glen M. Pilié to Stuart H. Smith. Resp. App. 21a-22a.

'' Webster’s Ninth New Collegiate Dictionary (1986)

(emphasis added).

12

this background, is proof of Exxon’s deliberate and

informed acceptance of the consequences of uncondi-

tional payment.”

(2) Exxon’s Payment of the Punitive Dam-

age Award Was Voluntary.

The correspondence reveals that Exxon was

eager to terminate the accrual of interest on the

punitive damage award. Exxon even asserted that it

would attempt to deposit the funds into the registry

of court if the Grefers refused to accept payment.”

Coincident with its “unconditional” payment, Exxon

asked for and obtained the Grefers’ acknowledgment

of the payment, allowing Exxon to release the sus-

pensive appeal bond which it had posted."

In short, Exxon paid the Grefers so that it could

end its obligation to pay legal interest on the underly-

ing judgment and premiums on the suspensive appeal

bond. To achieve these savings, Exxon had to pay the

money “unconditionally,” and that is precisely what it

did.

Exxon performed a simple risk analysis, balanc-

ing its chances of obtaining certiorari and a reversal

‘* Exxon did not respond to Mr. Smith’s letter (in which he

accepted Exxon’s “unconditional” tender) to clarify that the

payment Exxon was making was not “unconditional.”

Correspondence dated May 18, 2006 from Mr. Stag to Mr.

Pilié. Resp. App. 6a.

* Correspondence from Mr. Pilié to Mr. Smith dated June

20, 2006. Resp. App. 21a.

13

of the punitive damage award against the certainty of

further accumulation of interest and bond premiums.

Exxon opted to save the money.” This was a clear and

deliberate choice, a choice which garnered Exxon an

immense savings in interest and bond premium

payments — a choice which Exxon was not just will-

ing, but anxious, to make. Exxon thus benefitted from

its “unconditional” tender in the form of legal interest

and bond premiums saved, and clearly paid the

money to obtain those benefits.

(3) Exxon’s Unconditional and Voluntary

Payment of the Punitive Damage Award

Renders This Petition Moot.

The “unconditional” and voluntary payment by

Exxon to the Grefers renders this petition moot

because, under Louisiana law, the payment extin-

guished the action. In Griffin v. International Insur-

ance Company, 727 So.2d 485 (La.App. 3d Cir. 1998),

the defendants paid the full amount of the judgment

with accrued interest and court costs into the registry

of court, executing a document which asserted that

the tender was “unconditional” and was made to

“eliminate the continued accrual of legal interest

pending plaintiff’s delay for appeal and/or pending

an appeal if taken.” The defendants then appealed

'* Obviously, Exxon hoped it could pay the money and,

nevertheless, seek to “vindicate” a legal principle, which is why

it filed its Application for Writ of Certiorari with the US.

Supreme Court.

14

the judgment. The Louisiana Third Circuit dismissed

the appeal as moot:

... to permit such an appeal would directly

contradict La. Code Civ. P. art. 2085, which

reads:

An appeal cannot be taken by a party

who confessed judgment in the proceed-

ings in the trial court or who voluntarily

and unconditionally acquiesced in a

judgment rendered against him. Confes-

sion of or acquiescence in part of a di-

visible judgment or in a favorable part of

an indivisible judgment does not pre-

clude an appeal as to other parts of such

judgment.

We find that Abbeville and International In-

surance voluntarily and unconditionally ac-

quiesced in this judgment. Therefore, we find

that although they have halted the accrual of

interest on the amount of the judgment ten-

dered, they are prohibited from appealing.”

The unconditional payment of the punitive award

in this case renders Exxon’s petition moot, as under

Louisiana law there is no longer a justiciable contro-

versy. Saint Charles Parish Sch. Bd. v. GAF Corp.,

512 So.2d 1165, 1170 (La. 1987). It is well settled that

'* Griffin at 489. Emphasis added. It is instructive that in

Griffin the defendant thought it could voluntarily and uncondi-

tionally pay the judgment and still prosecute its appeal.

15

courts will not decide abstract hypothetical or moot

controversies. /d. at 170.

Accordingly, this Court should deny review for

this reason alone.

B. EXXON’S FAILURE TO PRESERVE ANY

WILLIAMS OBJECTIONS WAIVED THOSE

ISSUES.

The Williams opinion sets forth a three-step

analysis:”

e First, the court must find that there

was a significant risk that the jury

might utilize punitive damages to pun-

ish the defendant for misconduct to third

parties.

e Second, the defendant must request a

cautionary instruction.

¢ Third, the defendant must be afforded

“some form of protection” to ensure that

the jury’s punitive damage award calcu-

lation does not include money meant to

'’ “In particular, we believe that where the risk of that

misunderstanding is a significant one — because, for instance, of

the sort of evidence that was introduced at trial or the kinds of

argument the plaintiff made to the jury — a court, upon request,

must protect against that risk. Although the States have some

flexibility to determine what kind of procedures they will

implement, federal constitutional law obligates them to provide

some form of protection in appropriate cases.” Philip Morris

USA v. Williams, 127 S. Ct. at 1065.

16

punish the defendant for harm to third

parties.

Regardless of whether or not the first element

existed in this case,-Exxon clearly failed to comply

with the second element. The Fourth Circuit found

that Exxon failed to request a cautionary instruction.

Petr. App. 8a-9a; 13a. Despite this failure, the courts

of Louisiana went out of their way to ensure that the

final punitive damage award included only damages

related to the Grefers’ loss.

(1) The Trial Court’s Instructions Were

Proper, and Exxon Never Asked for the

Relief It Now Demands.

Indeed, Exxon does not (and cannot) actually

argue that the instructions which were given mis-

stated the law. A comparison of the instructions

requested by Exxon reveals that they differ very little

— and, for purposes of this petition, not at all — from

the instructions actually given by the trial court. The

essence of the argument Exxon does make is that the

trial court should have given the jury additional

instructicns, instructions which explicitly informed

the jury that it could not include in its award sums

meant to punish third parties — instructions which

Exxon never requested, as is required under Williams.

The Fourth Circuit quickly and soundly dis-

patched this argument:

Moreover, even though the record does not

include the objections made by Exxon to the

17

instructions during the jury charge confer-

ence, two facts should be noted. First, unlike

the defendant in Philip Morris, Exxon raised

no assignment of error on appeal as to either

the trial court’s jury instructions or to the

trial court’s refusal to give Exxon’s proposed

jury instructions. Second, for all intents and

purposes, the trial court’s instructions

tracked almost verbatim Exxon’s proposed

instructions.”

As the Fourth Circuit recognized, the single most

glaring fact of this case is that Exxon never requested

the relief at trial which it now demands (nor did it

timely raise the issue on appeal). The charge Exxon

asked for was — “almost verbatim” — the charge which

was given. Despite Exxon’s assertion that it objected

to the court’s charge to the extent it did not include a

“Williams instruction,” nothing in the record supports

that claim.” Pet. 9-10; 14. Tellingly, Exxon’s proposed

instructions contained nothing resembling a “Wil-

liams instruction” — an instruction which, this Court

held, must only be furnished “upon request.” Wil-

liams, 127 S. Ct. at 1065.

* Petr. App. 13a.

In its writ application, Exxon does not point to an actual

objection to the trial court’s charge. At the Fourth Circuit, Exxon

acknowledged that no such objection was in the record but

suggested that the court should “assume” that it was made. To

say the least, it is disingenuous of Exxon to suggest that it “may

have” objected to the absence of something in the trial court’s

instructions that Exxon did not bother to include in its proposed

instructions.

18

(2) Exxon’s Failure to Request a Williams

Instruction Waived the Issue.

There is no concept of “fundamental error” in the

Williams opinion, or in any other opinion addressing

the subject. Post-Williams cases uniformly recognize

that a failure to raise the matter is a waiver of the

issue. See, e.g., Kauffman v. Maxim Healthcare Ser-

vices, Inc., 509 F.Supp.2d 210 (E.D. N.Y. 2007) (de-

fendant failed to request the instruction; issue

waived); Southstar Funding, LLC v. Sprouse, 2007

U.S. Dist. LEXIS 22585 (D. N.C. 2007), n.2 (defen-

dant failed to request the instruction; issue waived).

The fact is that Exxon focused on different issues in

its punitive damage trial, and only discovered the

Williams principles when those tactics failed. Exxon

did not request the relief it now demands, and it,

therefore, failed the second prong of the Williams

analysis.

(3) Exxon Also Waived thé Williams Issue

Under Louisiana Law.

This is consistent with Louisiana procedural law.

A party who does not propose a jury instruction or

who does not object to the omission of an instruction

waives any right to appeal that issue. Delaney v.

Whitney, 703 So.2d 709, 719 (La.App. 4th Cir. 1997),

writ denied, 715 So.2d 1211 (La. 1998). The Louisiana

Code of Evidence likewise required Exxon to propose

a limiting jury instruction:

19

When evidence which is admissible as to one

party or for one purpose but not admissible

as to another party or for another purpose is

admitted, the court, upon request, shall re-

strict the evidence to its proper scope and in-

struct the jury accordingly. Failure to restrict

the evidence and instruct the jury shall not

constitute error absent a request to do so.

Louisiana Code of Evidence art. 105 (empha-

sis added).

Thus, the failure of Exxon to propose a limiting

jury charge and/or to preserve that issue on appeal,

constitutes an independent state ground for affirming

the judgment without even reaching any federal

question asserted by Exxon.

(4) Exxon Made No Due Process Objection

to Evidence of Third-Party Harm.

Exxon’s failure to request a limiting jury instruc-

tion was not its only failure to preserve the issue.

Despite Exxon’s assertion that evidence of alleged

harm to non-parties was admitted into evidence over

its objections, Exxon has cited not one instance in the

trial record where it objected to evidence of harm to

third parties on due process grounds, or where Exxon

asked that the jury be instructed to limit its consid-

eration of that evidence, much less an instance where

such an objection was overruled.” Exxon’s failure to

*’ Exxon’s argument about the admission of evidence of the

risk posed to third parties is eviscerated by what concurrently

(Continued on following page)

20

object on due process grounds constituted a failure to

preserve its rights to assert error on that basis. See,

e.g., Cooper v. AMI, Inc., 454 So.2d 156, 161 (La.App.

1 Cir. 1984), writ denied, 459 So.2d 539 (La. 1984).

(“Different grounds for objection cannot be asserted

on appeal.”)

C. WILLIAMS EXPLICITLY PERMITS CONSID-

ERATION OF HARM TO THIRD PARTIES IN

ASSESSING THE REPREHENSIBILITY OF

EXXON’S MISCONDUCT.

Following remand, the Fourth Circuit carefully

analyzed the actual punitive damage instruction

given to the jury. Although Williams prohibits an

award which includes money meant to punish the

defendant for harm to third parties, Williams also

makes clear that harm to third parties is very much a

part of the reprehensibility analysis:

transpired at tral: R. 32:17 (no objection); R. 32:122 (no objec-

tion); R. 32:131 (no objection); R. 33:19 (objection and motion to

strike, no grounds stated, sustained); R. 33:200 (no objection);

R. 34:38 (no objection); R. 29:131 (no objection); R. 29:137-41

(objection, foundation, sustained); R. 32:153 (objection, no

grounds stated, sustained). The same is true of Exxon’s asser-

tion that plaintiff counsel’s argument relating to the risks posed

to third parties was improper: R. 56:36 (no contemporaneous

objection); R. 56:42 (no objection); R. 56:43 (objection, relevance

and prejudice, Grefers’ counsel instructed not to mention

incident); R. 56:51 (no objection); R. 56:53 (no objection); R. 56:84

(no objection); R. 56:95 (no objection).

21

Evidence of actual harm to nonparties can

help to show that the conduct that harmed

the plaintiff also posed a substantial risk of

harm to the general public, and so was par-

ticularly reprehensible — although counsel

may argue in a particular case that conduct

resulting in no harm to others nonetheless

posed a grave risk to the public, or the con-

verse.”

Indeed, this Court has stressed that reprehensi-

bility is the most crucial aspect of a punitive damage

award analysis. BMW of North America, Inc. v. Gore,

517 U.S. 559, 575, 116 S. Ct. 1589, 1599, 134 L.Ed.2d

809 (1996) (“Perhaps the most important indicium of

the reasonableness of a punitive damages award is

the degree of reprehensibility of the defendant’s

conduct.” BMW, 517 U.S. at 575); see also Action

Marine, Inc. v. Continental Carbon Incorporated, 481

F.3d 1302 (11th Cir. 2007).

Considering the reprehensibility of Exxon’s

misconduct, the Fourth Circuit observed:

In reviewing an award of punitive/exemplary

damages, we have the responsibility of look-

ing to the callous, calculated, despicable and

reprehensible conduct of Exxon during the

time period in question. Even though this

case is not a personal injury claim by the

ITCO workers, the mindset of Exxon should

be considered in deciding whether the sum

” Williams, 127 S. Ct. at 1064.

Pcs +

22

awarded was appropriate. The fact that

Exxon showed no regard for ITCO’s workers,

i.e., no concern for human safety, certainly

demonstrates that it had even less concern

for the property damage that it caused, thus -

further demonstrating the morally culpable

nature of its conduct.”

That Exxon had little, if any, regard for human

life and even less regard for the value of property is

an appropriate and significant factor in determining

whether punitive damages were warranted. The

Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that a nexus existed

between Exxon’s conduct towards non-parties and the

harm to the Grefers is amply supported by the record.

For instance, Exxon’s failure to tell anyone about the

contamination at the Grefer tract (whether for one

year in the case of ITCO, or never in the case of the

Grefers) not only put ITCO’s workers and the sur-

rounding neighbors at risk but also led to further

contamination of the Grefer tract.” Additionally,

” Grefer I at 1154-55. Petr. App. 114a.

“ Exxon contends that by 1986 the property already

required whatever remediation it was ever going to require. Pet.

14, n.4. Exxon then concludes, based on this contention, that the

fact that it allowed further radioactive material to be dumped

throughout the Grefer tract after learning of the NORM problem

did not harm the Grefers. This is simply ridiculous. First, the

disposal costs associated with the Grefers’ clean-up plan (nota-

bly, the most expensive component of that plan) necessarily

correlate with the amount of radioactive material in the soil.

When Exxon dumped more radioactive material on the site, the

Grefers’ disposal costs (harm) went up. Second, allowing the

property to be further contaminated increased the Grefers’

(Continued on following page)

23

Exxon’s failure to properly warn ITCO (when a warn-

ing finally was given) and its failure to implement

adequate screening and handling procedures at the

yard, not only put ITCO’s workers and the surround-

ing neighborhood at risk but also led to even more

contamination of the Grefer tract, leaving the Grefers

with a huge mess. Perhaps most important, Exxon’s

misconduct delayed the remediation of the property,

allowing a hazard to remain on the Grefers’ land and

in their neighbors’ community.”

Additionally, the risk posed by Exxon’s conduct

towards ITCO’s workers and the surrounding

neighbors was directly related to the potential harm

to the Grefers. Because the Grefers are potentially

liable to third parties under Louisiana law (as owners

of the contaminated property), the nature and extent

of the risks posed to third parties increased the

potential liability of — and thus harm to — the Grefers,

exposure to lawsuits and regulatory enforcement actions,

subjecting them to further potential harm.

* This was clearly a fact the Fourth Circuit considered

during its reprehensibility analysis. When discussing the

financial vulnerability factor, the court found that the Grefers

“are now financially burdened with the task of remediating the

property.” Grefer I at 1149; Petr. App. 96a. Later in its reprehen-

sibility analysis, the court also found that “Exxon took no step to

remove the radioactive material” from the Grefer tract. Jd. at

1149; Petr. App. 96a. Exxon’s suggestion at Pet. 8 that the

Fourth Circuit found Exxon’s conduct reprehensible based solely

on a “nine-month delay in notifying ITCO” is flatly contradicted

by these portions of the court’s reprehensibility analysis.

24

a valid consideration under the second BMW guide-

post. State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v.

Campbell, 538 U.S. 408, 425 (2003) (confirming that

the second BMW guidepost considers the ratio be-

tween the “harm, or potential harm, to the plaintiff

and the punitive damages award”).

Exxon’s central argument is that because Exxon’s

misconduct threatened a different type of harm to

third parties than the harm suffered by the Grefers,

the jury could not consider the threat to the third

parties. This is an incorrect statement of the law.

State Farm holds that “a defendant’s dissimilar acts,

independent from the acts upon which liability was

premised, may not serve as the basis for punitive

damages (538 U.S. at 423).” Exxon confuses “dissimi-

lar acts” with “dissimilar harm.” There is no require-

ment that in the reprehensibility analysis the

applicable third parties must have suffered the same

harm, but only that the misconduct to the third

parties be similar to the misconduct to the plaintiff:

Evidence of actual harm to nonparties can

help to show that the conduct that harmed

the plaintiff also posed a substantial risk of

harm to the general public, and so was par-

ticularly reprehensible — although counsel

may argue in a particular case that conduct

resulting in no harm to others nonetheless

25

posed a grave risk to the public, or the con-

verse.”

Here, although the Grefers suffered a different

“harm” from third parties such as ITCO and its

workers, all were harmed by the similar — in fact, the

same — conduct on the part of Exxon. This was a

proper application of the reprehensibility analysis,

and confirmed the Fourth Circuit’s conclusion that

“When we consider the totality of the trial court’s jury

instructions on exemplary damages, we find they are

both permissible and constitutional.””

D. THE LOUISIANA COURTS PROVIDED

EXXON FULL DUE PROCESS PROTEC-

TION - EVEN THOUGH EXXON DID NOT

REQUEST IT.

Although Exxon’s voluntary and unconditional

payment of the entire judgment rendered the case

moot, the Fourth Circuit gave Exxon the benefit of

the doubt and analyzed the Williams due process

issue on its merits. In an opinion notable for its

extended reconsideration of the punitive damage

award, the Fourth Circuit determined that the consti-

tutional safeguards missing in Williams were provided

to Exxon. Despite the fact that Exxon never requested

any form of protection at trial, as is required, there

have been at least five different occasions upon which

*” Williams, at 127 S. Ct. 1064.

* Petr. App. 13a.

26

Exxon was, nevertheless, provided protection against

any impermissible miscalculation of punitive dam-

ages. First, the jury instructions correctly stated the

law. Second, the trial court clarified any potential

jury misunderstanding before the verdict, by inform-

ing the jurors that the entire punitive damage award

would be paid to the Grefers alone.” Third, the

Fourth Circuit itself, in Grefer I, took elaborate

precautions to cure any possible jury confusion,

slashing the billion dollar punitive damage award to

a sum directly proportional to the quantified compen-

satory damages awarded by the jury. Fourth, the

punitive damage award was reassessed by the Fourth

Circuit on rehearing. Fifth, the Fourth Circuit has

again reviewed the punitive damage award after this

Court’s remand. That is to say that the case has been

reviewed by a court of Louisiana twice since the

Fourth Circuit’s radical reduction of the punitive

damage award. Exxon’s argument that it was pun-

ished for harm to third parties, and not for harm to

the Grefers, simply has not survived this intense

appellate review. In its three separate opinions on the

*” Approximately one hour before the jury concluded its

deliberations, the trial judge issued a further instruction in

response to a jury question: “[E)xemplary damages are not

compensation ... Any exemplary damage award that you may

make will be paid to the Grefers, no matter what amount you

decide on.” R. 59:16-17. This instruction made it clear that

increasing the award based upon harm to people other than the

Grefers would not benefit those non-parties, and thus, there was

no reason for the jury to punish “directly on account of” that

harm.

27

issue, the Fourth Circuit has explained, over and over

again, that the harm to the Grefers was directly

linked to the harm to third parties. Exxon’s inexcus-

able delay in warning the Grefers, their tenants and

others of the existence and danger of radioactive

contamination allowed additional contamination of

the Grefer property, and delayed the much-needed

cleanup of the existing hazard. The Fourth Circuit

ensured this relation between misconduct and award

by molding the award to reflect a direct link of the

Grefers’ compensatory damages and the punitive

damages awarded to them.

In short, the Fourth Circuit bent over backwards

to assess, for the third time, whether Exxon received

a fair trial on this matter. These extensive review

procedures satisfied Williams’ requirement of “some

form of protection in appropriate cases.” There is,

thus, no conflict between the Louisiana courts’ appli-

cation of federal law in this case and the Williams

decision.

There is no important question of federal law

raised by this case which has not already been settled

by this Court; nor does the Fourth Circuit’s interpre-

tation of federal law conflict with any decisions of any

state court of last resort or of any United States court

of appeals. Therefore, there is not one consideration

supporting the grant of the writ petition under Rule

10.

28

E. WILLIAMS DOES NOT REQUIRE A RE-

TRIAL.

Exxon argues at great length that procedural due

process violations can only be cured by starting over

again with a new trial. Exxon claims that the lower

courts are split on this issue. Even assuming that

Exxon had requested a limiting instruction as is

required by Williams (it did not), and that the lower

courts were actually split (they are not), neither

Williams nor the post-Williams cases supports such a

draconian view of the appropriate remedy for cases

where — unlike the present case — a procedural due

process violation has occurred.

First, and most obviously, Williams itself gave

courts the option to choose how to deal with an in-

stance where the jury improperly awarded punitive

damages for harm to third parties:

Although the States have some flexibility to

determine what kind of procedures they will

implement, federal constitutional law obli-

gates them to provide some form of protec-

tion in appropriate cases... . the application

of this standard may lead to the need for a

new trial, or a change in the level of the

punitive damages award.”

This was fully consistent with the Court’s opinion

in BMW of North America v. Gore, 517 U.S. at 586:

* Williams, 127 S. Ct. at 1065. Emphasis added.

29

Whether the appropriate remedy requires a

new trial or merely an independent determi-

nation by the Alabama Supreme Court of the

award necessary to vindicate the economic

interests of Alabama consumers is a matter

that should be addressed by the state court

in the first instance.

It is also fully consistent with the Court’s opinion

in State Farm Mutual Automobile Ins. Co. v. Camp-

bell, 538 U.S. at 422, which remanded the case to the

Utah courts for a recalculation of punitive damages —

and not a retrial — where the jury instructions were

held deficient because the jury had not been in-

structed “that it may not use evidence of out-of-state

conduct to punish a defendant for action that was

lawful in the jurisdiction where it occurred.””

A rigid view that remand is the only appropriate

remedy would, of course, negate the Court’s presump-

tively deliberate language in Williams that “a change

in the level of the punitive damages award” may

satisfy the procedural safeguard requirement. This

has been implicitly recognized by all lower courts

which have addressed the issue. There is no split of

authority at all; the cases are fully consistent with this

Court’s guidance in the foregoing opinions. Although

* On remand, the Utah Supreme Court made its own

determination of an appropriate punitive damage award in

accordance with the guidelines enunciated by this Court.

Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co., 98 P.3d 409, 411-

412, 416 (Utah 2004), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 874, 125 S. Ct. 114,

160 L. Ed.2d 123 (2004).

30

Exxon claims that “[a] number of courts, both before

and after Williams, have held that a reviewing court

must order a new trial when a jury’s award of puni-

tive damages is based either on improper evidence or

instructions,” this is plainly incorrect, and the cases

Exxon cites do not support Exxon’s statement.

Exxon cites two U.S. Ninth Circuit cases, White

v. Ford Motor Company, 500 F.3d 963 (9th Cir. 2007)

and Merrick v. Paul Revere Life Ins. Co., 500 F.3d

1007 (9th Cir. 2007). The Ninth Circuit’s conclusion

that Williams-defective jury instructions required

retrial may be explained by the fact that both cases

were going to be remanded for new trials because of

other errors anyway. Neither case held that retrial

was required whenever a jury had not been provided

with Williams guidelines, and both expressly recog-

nized that Williams permits either remand or reduc-

tion in the award.”

In the California Second District Court of Ap-

peals’ decision in Bullock v. Philip Morris USA, Inc.,

159 Cal.App.4th 655 (Cal. Ct. App. 2d Dist. 2008), the

court expressly recognized that:

The use of a remittitur by a reviewing court

is not limited to cases where the only error at

trial was in the amount of the award. Rather,

remittitur may be appropriate where in-

structional error resulted in an excessive

” White at 500 F.3d 972-973; Merrick, at 500 F.3d 1017-

1018.

31

award and the amount of the excess is ascer-

tainable . .. Moreover, in Stevens v. Snow ...

the California Supreme Court issued a re-

mittitur reducing by one-half the amount of

a judgment based on instructional error and

error in the admission of evidence despite

the Supreme Court’s express acknowledg-

ment that it could not determine how the er-

rors affected the amount of the judgment.”

The Bullock court decided that “[i]n this case, we

cannot determine how the instructional error that we

have found affected the amount of the punitive dam-

ages award and we cannot substitute our own as-

sessment of the appropriate amount of punitive

damages for that of a jury.” The reason for this was

clear: the punitive damage award was — exactly — one

million dollars for each of the 28,000 non-party Cali-

fornians who plaintiff argued had died from smoking

over the past 40 years. The lower court’s reduction of

this amount to $28 million dollars could not obscure

the fact that the entire punitive damage award was

clearly and precisely based on harm to non-parties.

By contrast, the Louisiana Fourth Circuit’s reduction

of the award in this case corresponds, equally pre-

cisely, to the compensatory damages sustained by the

Grefers, and is completely detached from any harm to

any third party.

In order to create the appearance of a “split,”

Exxon at Pet. 22-23 cites cases which did not remand

“ 159 Cal.App.4th 696.

32

for a new trial. All of these cases pre-date Williams,

and therefore do not have the advantage of this

Court’s explicit Williams analysis, nor do they dis-

cuss, or are even arguably concerned with, any “split”

of authority.” Reduction by an appellate court was

proper under State Farm; it is proper under Williams.

These cases are hardly evidence of a split of authority.

Indeed, Exxon has not cited one case which even

purports to say that there is only One True Path to

remedy a Williams violation. There is no split of

authority for this Court to straighten out.

Williams’ requires that state courts provide

appropriate protection, not necessarily state trial

courts. “Although the States have some flexibility to

determine what kind of procedures they will imple-

ment, federal constitutional law obligates them to

provide some form of protection in appropriate

cases.””

Uniquely, Louisiana’s Constitution provides for

appellate review of both law and fact. When a Louisi-

ana appellate court determines that trial errors may

have influenced a jury’s award, the appellate court is

under a duty to review de novo the law and the facts

and to render a judgment based upon that independ-

ent review. LA. Const. art. V, §10(B); Temple v. Liberty

“ This is also true of Sand Hill Energy, Inc. v. Smith, 142

S.W.3d 153 (Ky. 2004), which Exxon places in the “retrial only”

camp.

* Williams, 127 S. Ct. at 1065. Emphasis added.

33

Mutuai Ins. Co., et al., 330 So.2d 891, 892 (La. 1976)

and Riley v. Salley, 874 So.2d 874, 878 (La.App. 4th

Cir. 2004). Judicial economy, in addition to constitu-

tional authority, encourages Louisiana appellate

courts to review even factual findings because, when

the entire record is before the appellate court, re-

mand for a new trial produces “delay of the final

outcome ... while adding little to the judicial deter-

mination process.” Gonzales v. Xerox Corp., 320 So. 2d

163, 165-166 (La. 1975). The Fourth Circuit, in its

opinions below, recognized this unique function, and

held that

Furthermore, the U.S. Supreme Court re-

mand and the Philip Morris decision do not

mandate that we order a new trial but in-

stead allow wus to correct any procedural

and/or substantive errors by our constitu-

tionally delegated authority of de novo re-

view. This court is constitutionally allowed to

review both law and facts. La.Const. art. V,

§10(B).*

This is absolutely correct. The Fourth Circuit’s

review ensured the due process protection discussed

in Williams, despite Exxon’s unequivocal failure to

request it.

“ See also Rodriguez v. Taylor, 468 So.2d 1186, 1187 (La.

1985) and Buckbee v. United Gas Pipe Line Co. Inc., 561 So.2d

76 (La. 1990).

* Petr. App. 33a.

34

F. ANY STATE FARM RATIO ISSUE IS BE-

YOND THE SCOPE OF THIS COURT'S

REMAND, WAS NOT RAISED IN THE

COURTS BELOW, AND IS NOT EVEN AR-

GUABLY MERITORIOUS.

(1) Exxon’s 1:1 Ratio Argument Is Beyond

the Scope of This Court’s Remand and

Was Not Preserved on Appeal.

The Order remanding this case was clear:

The judgment is vacated and the case is re-

manded to the Court of Appeal of Louisiana,

Fourth Circuit for further consideration in

light of Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 549

US. , 127 S. Ct. 1057, 166 L.Ed.2d 940

(2007).

The Williams opinion expressly did not consider

any issue of proportionality between actual damages

and punitive damages. “Because we shall not decide

whether the award here at issue is ‘grossly excessive,’

we need now only consider the Constitution’s proce-

dural limitations.” Exxon did not raise the propor-

tionality issue in either its brief to the Fourth Circuit

or in its application for a writ to the Louisiana Su-

preme Court. Its petition for writ of certiorari to this

Court is bare of any citation to where the proportion-

ality issue has been preserved, as is required by Rule

* ExxonMobil Corp. v. Grefer, 127 S. Ct. 1371 (U.S. 2007);

Appendix 122a.

” Williams, at 127 S. Ct. 1063.

35

14(g)(i). Neither the Louisiana Fourth Circuit nor the

Louisiana Supreme Court has considered the issue

since Exxon’s first appeal — and this Court did not

deem the issue significant when it issued the GVR at

the conclusion of that first appeal. Consequently the

issue is unpreserved and should not be considered for

the first time now.

Even if Exxon had preserved the right to argue

that 1:1 ratio is the highest ratio constitutionally

permitted in this case, the issue lacks any merit and

does not justify this Court’s review.

(2) Exxon’s 1:1 Ratio Argument, Even if It

Could Properly Be Raised At This

Time, Does Not Merit This Court’s Re-

view.

a. The 2:1 Ratio In This Case Is En-

tirely Consistent With State Farm.

The State Farm decision provided the lower

courts with further guidance with respect to the

application of the BMW guidelines. For example, the

Court instructed that “in practice, few awards exceed-

ing a single-digit ratio between punitive and compen-

satory damages, to a significant degree, will satisfy

due process.” State Farm, 538 U.S. at 425 (emphasis

added). The Court also advised that “when compen-

satory damages are substantial, then a lesser ratio,

perhaps only equal to compensatory damages, can

reach the outermost limit of the due process guaran-

tee.” Id. (emphasis added). However, the Court

36

“decline[d] again to impose a bright-line ratio which a

punitive damages award cannot exceed.” /d. It reaf-

firmed that “the precise award in any case, of course,

must be based upon the facts and circumstances of

the defendant’s conduct and the harm to the plain-

tiff.” Id.

Exxon’s argument that a 2:1 ratio in this case is

excessive cuts against everything this Court held in

State Farm. This Court did not state (or even imply)

that 1:1 ratios are the absolute limit in substantial

damage cases.” If this Court had intended to do that,

it would not have said “perhaps only equal to com-

pensatory damages” and “can reach the outermost

limit of the due process guarantee.” This Court cer-

tainly would not have declined again to impose a

bright-line ratio which punitive damages cannot

exceed. Yet, again Exxon argues fervently that there

is a cap, and that it is 1:1. Pet. 27, 31. In reality, State

Farm allows for (and explains) the inconsistency in

the lower courts that Exxon argues must be “re-

solved.”

Recognizing that its argument that State Farm

imposed a 1:1 ratio limit on substantial damage

awards is a stretch among stretches, Exxon falls back

“ The history of the State Farm case after this Court

rendered its opinion supports the Grefers’ position. Following

the Utah Supreme Court’s reconsideration of the punitive award

against State Farm and consequent reduction to a 9:1 ratio, this

Court denied writs. Campbell v. State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co.,

98 P.3d 409 (Utah), cert. denied, 543 U.S. 874 (2004).

37

to another (even less credible) argument. Specifically,

Exxon asserts that, because the Grefer property only

has a market value of $1.5 million, the ratio in this

case is actually much higher than 2:1. Pet. 31. This

‘argument is thoroughly flawed. To begin with, it

disregards the fact that there are no cases which have

held that actual harm, for purposes of a punitive

damage analysis, can be limited to certain portions of

a compensatory award. Indeed, both BMW and State

Farm confirm that the compensatory award, as a

whole, comprises the plaintiff’s actual harm. BMW,

517 U.S. at 580 (“[E]xemplary damages must bear a

‘reasonable relationship’ to compensatory damages”);

State Farm, 538 U.S. at 425 (“ratio between punitive

and compensatory damages”). The lower courts are

consistent on this point.”

Exxon cannot dispute that the compensatory

portion of this award, pursuant to the Louisiana

Fourth Circuit’s final and executable judgment, is

$56,145,000.00. In fact, recognizing that there is no

basis to challenge the compensatory award in this

Court, Exxon has already unconditionally paid that

amount to the Grefers. In short, the actual harm in

this case has been established. Exxon is foreclosed

from arguing to this Court that a lesser amount is

* Tellingly, all of the cases cited by Exxon at pages 28-29 of

its Petition relate to the lower courts’ consideration of the ratio

between “punitives” and “compensatories.” Pet. 28-29 (emphasis

added).

38

somehow the “true” measure of the Grefer’s harm in

this case.

Moreover, Exxon’s argument ignores the fact

that, under Louisiana law, plaintiffs are entitled to

have their property restored, even if the cost of the

remediation plan exceeds the value of the land.”

Roman Catholic Church of the Archdiocese of New

Orleans v. Louisiana Gas Serv. Co., 618 So.2d 874,

879-80 (La. 1993). In other words, Louisiana law

instructs that the Grefers actual harm is the cost of

clean-up.”

This result is sensible. Without the $56 million

restoration award in this case, the Grefers would not

be in a position to conduct a clean-up that ensures

that their entire property complies with state and

federal standards. In turn, the Grefers would be

saddled with virtually never ending liability, and

their actual and potential harm would increase with

each passing day.” The Grefers would not be able to

prevent new civil lawsuits, and they would have no

way of complying with government enforcement

actions.

“ Petr. App. 71a-80a; 113a-114a.

“ Exxon does not challenge the constitutionality of this

substantive law.

“ Radium-226 has a half-life of approximately 1600 years.

R. 32:144.

39

CONCLUSION

Exxon’s petition for certiorari should be denied,

for at least the following reasons:

e Exxon’s full payment of compensatory

and punitive damages has mooted this

controversy under state law.

e Exxon completely failed to preserve any

Williams procedural due process claim.

It requested no limiting jury charge. In-

deed, there is no meaningful distinction

between the charge Exxon requested

and the charge the trial court gave.

Moreover, Exxon never objected to any

evidence on due process grounds. Wil-

liams requires that the issue be pre-

served, and it was not. An equally

dispositive point is that Exxon failed to

raise an assignment of error on its origi-

nal appeal as to the trial court’s punitive

damage instruction.

e Despite its utter failure to preserve

these alleged due process issues on ap-

peal, the Louisiana courts have bent

over backwards to provide consideration

to Exxon. The trial court fully analyzed

the case on post-trial motions. The Lou-

isiana Fourth Circuit has now reviewed

this case three times. The Louisiana Su-

preme Court has twice rejected Exxon’s

writ applications as not meriting review.

The analyses of these courts have care-

fully examined the trial and the verdict

in exquisite detail, and have determined

40

that Exxon received the benefit of all

due process protection afforded by Wil-

liams, State Farm, Gore and Louisiana’s

own cases. In particular, Louisiana’s ap-

pellate system has ensured that any al-

leged evidence of harm to third parties

introduced at trial was utilized only to

establish reprehensibility — which is

proper under Williams. The punitive

damages assessed against Exxon were —

exactly — twice the compensatory dam-

ages suffered by the Grefers, and do not

reflect any harm to third parties.

© Exxon has provided no support for its

contention that a procedural due process

denial necessarily requires a complete

retrial. Certainly, there is no split of au-

thority in the lower courts reflecting

such a dramatic new rule. Moreover, the

Louisiana Constitution uniquely pro-

vides for appellate review of both law

and fact.

° Exxon’s State Farm proportionality issue

was not the subject of this Court’s re-

mand, and was not deemed appropriate

for separate review by this Court. Even

if it were otherwise, the 2:1 ratio of pu-

nitive damages to compensatory dam-

ages is well within the permissible scope

of constitutional limits.

In short, there are no compelling reasons for

granting certiorari under Supreme Court Rule 10.

The courts below properly applied the factors which

41

were the subject of the Williams decision — even

before this Court issued the Williams opinion. Exxon’s

petition simply asks this Court to act as one more

appellate court in this case. The petition should be

denied.

STUART H. SMITH

MICHAEL G. STAG

SMITH STAG, L.L.C.

365 Canal Street

Suite 2850

New Orleans, LA 70130

(504) 593-9600

ANDREW B. SACKS

JOHN WESTON

LAW OFFICES OF ANDREW B.

SACKS AND ASSOCIATES

114 Old York Road

Jenkintown, PA 19046

(215) 925-8200

RON A. AUSTIN

AUSTIN & ASSOCIATES, L.L.C.

400 Manhattan Avenue

Harvey, LA 70058

(504) 436-7844

Respectfully submitted,

STEPHEN B. MURRAY

(Counsel of Record)

ARTHUR M. MURRAY

MURRAY LAW FIRM

909 Poydras Street

Suite 2550

New Orleans, LA 70112

(504) 525-8100

RALPH R. ALEXIS, III

PORTEOUS, HAINKEL AND

JOHNSON, L.L.P.

704 Carondelet Street

New Orleans, LA 70130

(504) 581-3838

JACK W. HARANG

HARANG & BARKER, L.L.C.

3500 N. Hullen Street

Metairie, LA 70002

(504) 456-8658

la

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 10, 2006

Via Facsimile No. (504) 581-4069

Ralph R. Alexis, III, Esq.

Porteous, Hainkel & Johnson, L.L.P.

704 Carondelet Street

New Orleans, LA 70130-3774

Re: Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer, Rose Marie

Crefer Hassi, and Henry Grefer v. Alpha

Technical, et al.

CDC No. 97-15004, Division “A”, Section 5

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Ralph:

In response to your letter dated May 9, 2006, this

is to confirm that in the event ExxonMobil’s renewed

request for stay is denied by the U.S. Supreme Court,

ExxonMobil will promptly pay the punitive damage

judgment, thereby satisfying the entire judgment. In

order to accomplish that, we will need to agree on a

target date to pay the judgment so we can calculate a

specific amount for the check. As with the previous

payment of the compensatory damages award, Exxon-

Mobil will need a letter on your letterhead stating the

specific amount, the instructions for electronic trans-

fer and tax identification number. I trust that this

written confirmation satisfies your requirements to

continue the hearing currently set for June 2nd. I will

be out of town attending my son’s graduation from

UGA starting tomorrow and returning on Tuesday. In

2a

my absence please direct any communications to

Martin Stern.

With kind regards, I remain

Very truly yours,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen Pilié

Glen Pilié

GMP/rye

3a

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 17, 2006

Via Facsimile No. (504) 593-9601

Michael G. Stag, Esq.

Smith Stag, LLC

365 Canal Street — Suite 2850

New Orleans, LA 70130

Re: Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer, Rose Marie

Grefer Hassi, and Henry Grefer v. Alpha

Technical, et al.

CDC No. 97-15004, Division “A”, Section 5

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Mike:

I have received your e-mail of today stating that

because ExxonMobil plans to exercise its right to file

a petition of certiorari, Plaintiffs refuse to accept

payment of the punitive damage award and to exe-

cute a satisfaction of judgment, and that Plaintiffs

will do so only if ExxonMobil promises not to exercise

its right to file a petition of certiorari. There is no

good faith basis for Plaintiffs’ position. Moreover,

ExxonMobil has consistently made clear its intent to

file a petition for certiorari in both its motion for stay

filed with the Supreme Court of Louisiana and most

recently the Supreme Court of the United States, and

has never said anything to the contrary.

We request you reconsider your position. If you

do not agree by 12:00 noon Central Time on May 18th

to accept payment and execute a Satisfaction of

4a

Judgment by a date certain, ExxonMobil will pursue

any and all rights and we place you on notice that

this may include sanctions as well as an independent

action for any damages that may result from Plain-

tiffs’ position.

Sincerely,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen Pilié

Glen Pilié

GMP/rye

Enclosure

cc: Ralph R. Alexis, III, Esq. — via fax

Arthur Murray, Esq. — via fax

5a

LAW OFFICES

SMITH STAG, LLC

ONE CANAL PLACE

365 CANAL STREET

SUITE 2850

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70130

TELEPHONE: (504) 593-9600

FAX: (504) 593-9601

WWW.SMITHSTAG.COM

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 18, 2006

Via Fax 504-566-0210

Glen Pilie

Adams & Reese

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Re: Grefer v. Alpha Technical, et al.

CDC Case No. 97-15004, Judge Gill-

Jefferson — Division “A”, Section 9

Our File No. 200147

Dear Glen:

I write in response to your letter of May 17 and

to confirm our telephone conversation today. As I

explained, our clients are interested in a final resolu-

tion of this case. We are agreeable to meeting Exxon’s

conditions for the tender and will forego our writ

application if Exxon is prepared to likewise forego its

writ application. We have concerns that the tender

being offered by Exxon comes with certain conditions,

including indemnification from liens and a satisfac-

tion of judgment that specifically reserves Exxon’s

6a

right to continue with the appeal. Exxon has granted

us until Monday at 12:00 p.m. to let you know

whether we will accept Exxon’s conditional tender in

exchange for abandonment of our judgment debtor

rule.

You further informed me that Exxon is consider-

ing whether to deposit the funds into the registry of

the Court. Our legal research has revealed that no

procedure exists in Louisiana law for such a deposit.

Furthermore, a deposit into the registry of the court

does not constitute an unconditional tender, which is

necessary to cease judicial interest. For your refer-

ence I enclose the case entitled American Motor

Insurance Co. v. American Rent-All, Inc., 617 So.2d

944 (1993). In light of this, we ask Exxon to consider

agreeing to a full and final dismissal, whereupon we

will accept Exxon’s conditional tender. Due to the

Monday deadline for us to respond, I ask that Exxon

please let us know whether this is agreeable by 12:00

p.m. tomorrow. I remain,

Very truly yours,

SMITH STAG, LLC

/s/ MGS

Michael G. Stag

MGS/jr

cc: Stuart Smith (via mail)

Andrew Sacks (via fax)

Steven Murray, Sr. (via fax)

Ralph Alexis (via fax)

7a

ADAMS AND REESE LLP |

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 18, 2006

Via Facsimile No. (504) 593-9601

Michael G. Stag, Esq.

Smith Stag, LLC

365 Canal Street — Suite 2850

New Orleans, LA 70130

Re: Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer, Rose Marie

Grefer Hassi, and Henry Grefer v. Alpha

Technical, et al. |

CDC No. 97-15004, Division “A”, Section 5

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Mike:

In order to ensure there is no confusion it this

matter, let me state ExxonMobil’s position clearly.

ExxonMobil intends to make full payment of the

judgment now and to timely seek review with the

United States Supreme Court.

ExxonMobil hereby makes an_ unconditional

tender of full payment of the punitive damage com-

ponent of the judgment and all legal interest thereon

as of May 24, 2006, the date on which the funds will

be wired to you. According to our calculations, the

amount to be paid on May 24, 2006, totals

$144,869,522.19. In order to make the payment,

ExxonMobil needs you to provide in writing on your

letterhead, no later than noon, Monday, May 22,

2006, the folloving: (a) wire instructions, (b) your

8a

firm’s tax ID, and (c) your confirmation of the full

amount to be paid.

ExxonMobil would prefer that the Grefers and

their attorneys execute a satisfaction of judgment and

another indemnity agreement regarding potential

attorneys’ fees liens (as you did without question with

respect to last month’s payment of the actual dam-

ages component of the judgment). However, we are

agreeable to dropping that request if it serves as a

stumbling block to ExxonMobil’s final payment on the

judgment.

We ask that you provide the letter with the

information requested above so that we may promptly

pay the judgment.

In light of this unconditional tender, we put you

on notice that any action taken by the Grefers to

otherwise enforce the judgment shall be considered

an abuse of process for with ExxonMobil will seek

appropriate sanctions and damages.

Sincerely,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen Pilié

Glen M. Pilié

GMP/rye

cc: Ralph R. Alexis, III, Esq., — via fax

Arthur Murray, Esq. — via fax

9a

MURRAY LAW FIRM

SUITE 2550 LL&E TOWER

909 POYDRAS STREET

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70112-1000

May 22, 2006

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

Via Regular Mail, E-Mail and Facsimile

Glen M. Pilie

Adams and Reese

701 Poydras Street, Suite 4500

New Orleans, LA 70139

RE: Grefer v. Alpha

Dear Glen,

We acknowledge receipt of yours of May 18, 2006

offering to “unconditionally” pay the punitive damage

judgment plus interest to a date certain. We must

respectfully reject your tender. Our refusal is not

arbitrary. First, your tender is not unconditional

under Louisiana law. See, e.g., LaGraize v. Bickham,

391 So. 2d 1185, 1190-91 (La. App. 4th Cir. 1980);

Gagner v. Zummo, 487 So. 2d 721 (5th Cir. 1986); and

Green v. Industrial Helicopters, 560 So. 2d 684 (La.

App. 3rd Cir. 1990). Second, receipt of the money by

the Grefers conditioned on your further appeal sub-

jects them to potential complicated income tax conse-

quences. Third, receipt of the money, under such

circumstances, could subject the Grefers to restitution

to Exxon in the unlikely event that the United States

Supreme Court grants Exxon’s writ and, subsequently,

reverses the judgment.

10a

The Grefers make the following alternative

proposal: If Exxon pays the entire judgment plus

interest and foregoes its writ application to the

Supreme Court, the Grefers will forego their writ

application. As we only have a short time to file our

respective writs, the Grefers ask that Exxon either

accept or reject this settlement offer by Friday, May

26 at noon. The Grefers hereby give Exxon assurance

that no action will be taken adverse to its interests

during that time.

Our proposal is based on the following: When the

United States Supreme Court denied Exxon’s re-

newed application, a very clear message was sent

with respect to the outstanding judgment. Specifi-

cally, after every Justice was given the opportunity to

consider the matter, the Court indicated that it does

not believe there is a “reasonable probability” that

four Justices will grant certiorari nor a “significant

possibility” that a majority of the Court will reverse

the decision below. Indeed, both the Louisiana Su-

preme Court and the United States Supreme Court

reached that conclusion, all told, on three separate

occasions. In short, we now know that Exxon has

virtually no chance of overturning or reducing the

current judgment.

The Grefers, on the other hand, have not yet

received such a clear message from the Court with

respect to the writ application they intend to file. In

their appeal, the Grefers raised an important consti-

tutional issue before the Louisiana Supreme Court,

one that they believe would merit the Supreme

lla

Court’s review. Unlike the issues already presented to

the Court by Exxon (and found to be unworthy of a

stay), the Grefers’ issue is one that the Court has not

yet considered and one that relates to an overriding

policy concern, rather than a particularized concern

about the propriety of the judgment in this case.

While the Grefers’ argument can be found in their

writ application to the Louisiana Supreme Court, the

following is a brief summary:

Despite the fact that Cooper v. Leatherman

allows a de novo review of the constitutionality of

punitive awards, the right to a jury trial on the

amount of punitive damages remains inviolate. Todd

v. Roadway Express, Inc., 178 F. Supp. 2d 1244 (M.D.

Ala. 2001). To keep juries in the decision making

process and to protect the right to a jury trial, defer-

ence must be given to the jury’s punitive award. By

reducing the jury’s punitive award to an amount it

determined to be appropriate, rather than the highest

amount constitutionally permissible, the Fourth

Circuit failed to give the jury’s award any deference,

effectively taking the jury out of the process.

Johansen v. Combustion Engineering, Inc., 170 F.3d

at 1320 (7th Cir. 1999); Sherman v. Kasotakis, 314

F. Supp. 2d 843, 867-68 (N.D. Iowa 2004); Ross v.

Kansas City Power & Light Co., 293 F.3d 1041, 1048-

51(8th Cir. 2002); Filipovich v. K & R Express Sys.

Inc., 2003 WL 1463531 at *14-15 (N.D. Ill. Mar. 21,

2003), rev’d in part on other grounds 391 F.3d 859

(7th Cir. 2004).

12a

The Grefers are confident that the Court will

seize the opportunity to consider the very important

issue raised in Johansen, Ross, Todd, and Sherman.

In light of the Cooper decision, does a reviewing court

have to give deference to a jury’s punitive award

when it makes a due process reduction? Of course, it

bears noting that the Court often accepts individual

writ applications or specific issues within writ appli-

cations while denying the remaining applications/

issues. The Grefers are, therefore, confident that

seeking their writ application and having it granted

will not necessarily lead to Exxon’s writ application

(one the Court has indicated lacks merit) being

granted. In other words, if both sides pursue their

writ applications, there is a very real risk for Exxon

that the only issue the Court will consider is whether

the Fourth Circuit did not give enough deference to

the jury when it reduced the punitive award.

If the Court decides that issue in favor of the

Grefers, it will then have to decide what the highest

constitutionally permissible amount is in this case.

The Boeken case, in which writs were recently denied

by the United States Supreme Court, is instructive.

See Boeken v. Philip Morris, Inc., 26 Cal. Rptr. 3rd

638 (Cal. App. 2nd Dist. 2005), cert denied, 126 S.Ct.

1567 (2006). Boeken involved a 9:1 ratio between

punitive damages ($50,000,000) and compensatory

damages (approximately $5,500,000). Jd. It is similar

to this case in many relevant respects. It involved a

multi-million dollar punitive award which had been

reduced by the state appellate court to comport with

13a

due process requirements. It also involved compara-

ble misconduct and significant actual and potential

harm. The Supreme Court’s refusal to grant certiorari

in Boeken suggests that a 9:1 ratio between punitive

damages and compensatory damages in a case such

as this one would not be constitutionally excessive.

See id.; see also TXO, 509 U.S. 443 (ratio of 526:1);

Mosing, 830 So. 2d 967 (ratio of 9:1). It is, therefore,

conceivable that the Grefers’ proposed writ applica-

tion could result in a significant increase in the

judgment (potentially as high as nine times the

compensatory award — over $500,000,000).

To sum up, the risk to Exxon should it further

pursue its appeal outweighs any benefit that could

reasonably be obtained thereby. A realistic best case

scenario for Exxon is that it convinces the Court,

despite its stay denial, to grant writs and reduce the

punitive damage award to a 1:1 ratio ($56,145,000

plus interest of more than $19,000,000). Conversely,

as was discussed above, the Grefers could increase

the award to $505,305,000 plus interest of more than

$171,000,000. There is, of course, the very strong

possibility that the Supreme Court will deny both

writ applications (after $24,611.51 in interest has

accrued on the punitive award each day the parties

await that decision). These risks to Exxon clearly

outweigh the potential gains. This is especially true

when one considers the fact that it does not appear

certain under Louisiana law that Exxon can fully

tender the amount of judgment after it becomes final

and executable and still maintain its right to further

l4a

appeal. There is simply no justification for Exxon to

take such a significant gamble with its shareholders’

money (i.e. risk more than $676,000,000 in the hope

against hope that it will only have to pay $75,000,000).

The final resolution proposed by the Grefers is in

the best interest of both’ sides to this dispute, and it

should be given serious consideration. Accordingly,

pursuant to the Sarbanes-Oxley Act of 2002, plaintiffs

request that you promptly forward the foregoing

settlement offer to your client’s Executive Committee

and Board of Directors for their review. This letter

has been written for settlement purposes only and is

not to be considered an admission against interest.

The Grefers hope and trust an amicable resolution

can be reached in this case.

Looking forward to hearing from you, I remain

Very truly yours,

/s/ Stephen Murray

STEPHEN B. MURRAY

Ce: Arthur Murray

Mike Stag

Stuart Smith

Ralph Alexis

Andrew Sachs

John Weston

Jack Harang

15a

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 22, 2006

Via Facsimile No. 504-584-5249

Stephen B. Murray

Murray Law Firm

Suite 2550, LL&E Tower

909 Poydras Street

New Orleans, LA 70112-4000

Re: Joseph Grefer v. Alpha Technical, et al.

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Stephen:

This will acknowledge receipt of your correspon-

dence dated May 22, 2006, rejecting ExxonMobil’s

offer of May 18, 2006, to unconditionally pay the

punitive damage judgment plus interest as of May 24,

2006. This constitutes the second time, since the

United States Supreme Court denied ExxonMobil’s

request for stay on May 15, 2006, that the Grefers

have refused to accept ExxonMobil’s tender to pay in

full the punitive damage judgment.

As we discussed in our phone conversation today,

ExxonMobil was preparing to file certain pleadings to

protect its interests in the event the Grefers rejected

ExxonMobil’s second offer to pay the punitive damage

portion of the judgment. The purpose of the pleadings

ExxonMobil planned to file today upon rejection of its

tender offer is to prevent the Grefers from moving

forward with the judgment debtor rule filed on their

l6a

behalf and presently scheduled to be heard on June 2,

2006. It is ExxonMobil’s position that those proceed-

ings are totally unnecessary and unwarranted, given

ExxonMobil’s offer on two occasions now to fully pay

the punitive damage judgment plus interest.

From our phone conversation today, I understand

you will consult with the Grefers and recommend

that the judgment debtor rule currently pending for

June 2, 2006, be continued without date. I respect-

fully ask that you notify me by noon tomorrow, May

23, 2006, whether the Grefers have agreed and in fact

will continue the judgment debtor rule without date.

If you cannot give me that assurance by noon tomor-

row, I have no choice but to move forward with the

filing of pleadings to protect the interests of Exxon-

Mobil from what it considers to be unwarranted

judicial process.

I look forward to your response and our continu-

ing dialogue.

Very truly yours,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen Pilié

Glen M. Pilié

GMP’/rye

cc Arthur Murray, Esq.

Michael Stag, Esq.

Stuart Smith, Esq.

Ralph Alexis, Esq.

17a

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

May 25, 2006

Via Facsimile No. 504-584-5249

Stephen B. Murray

Murray Law Firm

Suite 2550, LL&E Tower

909 Poydras Street

New Orleans, LA 70112-4000

Re: Joseph Grefer v. Alpha Technical, et al.

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Stephen:

Thank you for following up on our phone conver-

sation of May 22, 2006 and continuing the judgment

debtor rule without date. ExxonMobil has carefully

considered your legal analysis and your proposal set

forth in your correspondence of May 22, 2006. How-

ever, ExxonMobil at this time cannot agree to forego

seeking further review with the United States Su-

preme Court. ExxonMobil fully appreciates the legal

analysis you provided in your letter and understands

that the Grefers also have the ability to seek further

review.

As we discussed, ExxonMobil also renews its

position and stands ready to completely satisfy the

punitive damage portion of the award by wiring the

appropriate funds on a date certain to an account

designated by the Grefers. In order to make that

transfer, ExxonMobil needs written instructions on

18a

your letterhead confirming the amount owed includ-

ing interest as of a certain date, instructions for wire

transfer, and your tax ID number.

I understand that the Grefers are consulting with

tax counsel and as a result may have an alternative

method they wish to propose for funding the judg-

ment on an interim base while further judicial review

is sought by the parties. ExxonMobil is willing to

consider any proposal you wish to send.

With kind regards, I remain

Very truly yours,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen Pilié

Glen M. Pilié

GMP’/rye

ec Arthur Murray, Esq.

Michael Stag, Esq.

Stuart Smith, Esq.

Ralph Alexis, Esq.

Martin A. Stern, Esq.

19a

LAW OFFICES

SMITH STAG, LLC

ONE CANAL PLACE

365 CANAL STREET

SUITE 2850

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70130

TELEPHONE: (504) 593-9600

FAX: (504) 593-9601

WWW.SMITHSTAG.COM

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

June 16, 2006

Glen Pilie, Esquire Via Fax 504-566-0210

Adams & Reese

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Re: Grefer v. Alpha Technical, eé al.

CDC Case No. 97-15004, Div. “A”

Our File No. 200147

Dear Glen:

This is to confirm our conversation that the

Grefer plaintiffs have accepted ExxonMobil’s uncondi-

tional offer to pay and satisfy the punitive damage

award in the case. As such, we request that you wire

ONE HUNDRED FORTY-FIVE MILLION FIVE

HUNDRED FIFTY-EIGHT THOUSAND SIX HUN-

DRED FORTY-FOUR AND 38/00 ($145,558,644.38)

DOLLARS by the close of business Wednesday, June

21st, 2006 to:

20a

Bank of America Investment Services, Inc.

ABA: xxx-Xx-xxx

Beneficiary bank: Chase Manhattan Bank,

New York, NY

For the account at: NFS, Account # xxx-xxx-xxx

For the benefit of Smith Stag, LLC (Grefer

Escrow o/b/o Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer,

Rose Marie Grefer Hasse, Henry Grefer,

Stuart H. Smith, Michael G. Stag, Andrew B.

Sacks, Jack W. Harang, Ron A. Austin,

Stephen Murray, Sr., Arthur M. Murray,

Porteous, Hainkel & Johnson, LLP, Roger A.

Stetter, and Barry J. Cooper, Jr.)

Client Account Number: xxx-xxxxkxx

Sincerely,

SMITH STAG, LLC

/s/ Stuart Smith

Stuart H. Smith

SHS/gtm

cc:

Andrew B. Sacks

Michael G. Stag

2la

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

June 20, 2006

Via Facsimile No. (504) 593-9601

and United States Mail

Stuart H. Smith, Esq.

Smith Stag, LLC

365 Canal Street — Suite 2850

New Orleans, LA 70130

Re: Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer, Rose Marie

Grefer Hassi, and Henry Grefer v. Alpha

Technical, et al.

CDC No. 97-15004, Division “A”, Section 5

Our File No. 249-37

Dear Stuart:

This will acknowledge receipt on Friday, June 16,

2006, of your written confirmation on behalf of the

Grefers of the total amount of $145,558,644.38 to be

transferred by wire on Wednesday, June 21, 2006, to

the Grefers by ExxonMobil. Upon transfer of these

funds ExxonMobil will have completely satisfied the

punitive award in this case, including judicial inter-

est thereon since tlhe date of judgment. Upon confir-

mation of successful wire transfer this Wednesday, I

ask that you have the Grefers and you as their coun-

sel sign this letter in the space provided below indi-

cating receipt of the funds and acknowledging that

the punitive damage award has been completely

22a

satisfied by ExxonMobil, thereby allowing release of

the appeal bond posted in this matter by ExxonMobil.

Very truly yours,

ADAMS AND REESE LLP

/s/ Glen M. Pilié/rye

Glen M. Pilié

GMP/rye

RECEIPT OF AND ACKNOWLEDGED ON THIS

21ST DAY OF JUNE, 2006 By:

Joseph Grefer

Stuart H. Smith, Esq.

Counsel for Plaintiffs, Joseph Grefer, Camille Grefer,

Rose Marie Grefer Hassi, and Henry Grefer

23a

LAW OFFICES

SMITH STAG, LLC

ONE CANAL PLACE

365 CANAL STREET

SUITE 2850

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70130

TELEPHONE: (504) 593-9600

FAX: (504) 593-9601

WWW.SMITHSTAG.COM

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

June 22, 2006

Glen Pilie, Esquire Via Fax 504-566-0210

Adams & Reese

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Re: Grefer v. Alpha Technical, et al.

CDC Case No. 97-15004, Div. “A”

Our File No. 200147

Dear Glen:

This will confirm that we have received verbal

confirmation that Exxon’s unconditional tender to

Plaintiffs in satisfaction of the Grefer punitive dam-

age judgment has been received today. We are waiting

for written confirmation of the receipt of those funds.

Upon written confirmation, this unconditional tender

will satisfy the punitive damage award with interest

in the Grefer litigation. However, we are waiting for

written confirmation as to why the $147 million plus

dollar wire was delayed by one day. Obviously, this

24a

would necessitate an additional interest payment by

Exxon if it was Exxon’s fault.

Sincerely,

SMITH STAG, LLC

/s/ Stuart H. Smith

Stuart H. Smith

SHS/gtm

cc: Andrew B. Sacks (via fax # 215-925-0508)

Michael G. Stag

25a

LAW OFFICES

SMITH STAG, LLC

ONE CANAL PLACE

365 CANAL STREET

SUITE 2850

NEW ORLEANS, LOUISIANA 70130

TELEPHONE: (504) 593-9600

FAX: (504) 593-9601

WWW.SMITHSTAG.COM

[Names And Addresses Omitted In Printing]

June 28, 2006

Glen Pilie, Esquire Via Fax 504-566-0210

Adams & Reese

4500 One Shell Square

New Orleans, LA 70139

Re: Grefer v. Alpha Technical, et al.

CDC Case No. 97-15004, Div. “A”

Our File No. 200147

Dear Glen:

This will confirm that Plaintiffs are in receipt of

ExxonMobil’s unconditional tender of ONE HUN-

DRED FORTY-FIVE MILLION FIVE HUNDRED

FIFTY-EIGHT THOUSAND SIX HUNDRED FORTY-

FOUR AND 38/00 ($145,558,644.38) DOLLARS in

satisfaction of the punitive award in the Grefer case.

Sincerely,

SMITH STAG, LLC

/s/ Stuart H. Smith

Stuart H. Smith

SHS/gtm

26a

cc: Andrew B. Sacks (via fax # 215-925-0508)

Michael G. Stag

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.