Opposition Brief — Fogarty v. Evans (No. 07-980)

Supreme Court brief2007

Ask Donna

What actually matters in this document.

Text

GO

(3) FILED

No. 07-980 MAR 28 2008

OFFICE OF THE CLERK

Su Whe SUPREME COURT, U.S.

Supreme Court of the Gnited States

Sd

MICHAEL FOGARTY AND TERRIE FRITZ,

Petitioners,

V.

ALFRED MILTON EVANS; SOUTHEASTERN

OKLAHOMA FAMILY SERVICES, INC.; RUSTLING

WINDS, INC.; MORNING STAR MENTAL HEALTH

SERVICES, INC.; DIVERSIFIED FAMILY SERVICES,

INC.; SERENITY SPRINGS MENTAL HEALTH

SERVICES, L.L.C.; JCH, INC.; NEAL THRIFT; NANCY

GRAVES-THRIFT; JOHN MAJORS; CYNTHIA MAJORS;

CHARLES PARKHURST; MARY PARKHURST; LEROY

WHEELER; AND JOEL HOLCOMB,

Respondents.

*

On Petition For A Writ Of Certiorari

To The United States Court Of Appeals

For The Tenth Circuit

¢

BRIEF IN OPPOSITION TO

PETITION FOR A WRIT OF CERTIORARI

¢

MICHAEL L. CARR

Counsel of Record

HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS

9 East 4th Street

200 Reunion Center

Tulsa, OK 74103

(918) 295-8888

STEVEN FE. HOLDEN REAGAN L. MADISON

HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS

9 East 4th Street 9 East 4th Street

200 Reunion Center 200 Reunion Center

Tulsa, OK 74103 Tulsa, OK 74103

(918) 295-8888 (918) 295-8888

Counsel for Respondents

March 2008

COCKLE LAW BRIEF PRINTING CO. (800; 226 6964

OR CALL COLLECT (402) 342 2831

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT

Pursuant to Rule 29.6 of the Rules of the Su-

preme Court of the United States, Respondents

Alfred Milton Evans, Neal Thrift, Nancy Graves-

Thrift, John Majors, Cynthia Majors, Charles Park-

hurst, Mary Parkhurst, Leroy Wheeler, and Joel

Holcomb state that they are not stock-issuing corpo-

rations and that they have no parent corporations or

other corporate stockholders.

Respondents Southeastern Oklahoma Family

Services, Inc.; Rustling Winds, Inc.; Morning Star

Mental Health Services, Inc.; Diversified Family

Services, Inc.; and JCH, Inc. are Oklahoma corpora-

tions. The parent company of Rustling Winds, Inc. is

Tiinber Winds, Inc. No publicly-held corporation owns

any of Rustling Winds, Inc.’s stock. Diversified Fam-

ily Services, Inc.; JCH, Inc.; Morning Star Mental

Health Services, Inc.; and Southeastern Oklahoma

Family Services, Inc. do not have parent corporations,

and no publicly-held corporation owns ten percent

(10%) or more of their stock. Serenity Springs Mental

Health Services, L.L.C. is an Oklahoma limited

liability company and not a stock-issuing corporation.

il

TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

CORPORATE DISCLOSURE STATEMENT....... i

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES ...................cc cece eeeeeee v

STATEMENT OF THE CASE................ccceesseeeeees 1

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT.............. 2

I. This Court Should Deny The Petition For

A Writ Of Certiorari As To The Qualified

Immunity Issue Because The Issue Is

Moot, The Tenth Circuit’s Finding Of

Waiver Does Not Conflict With The Deci-

sions Of Other Circuits, And Petitioners

Are Not Entitled To The Protection Af-

forded By Qualified Immunity .................. 3

A. Whether Petitioners Should Have

Been Allowed To Assert Qualified

Immunity At The Second Trial Is

Moot, Because The District Court

Abused Its Discretion In Granting A

I, MN eek a ciuanociewinavad grveseul texans 3

B. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Found

That Petitioners Had Waived Their

Qualified Immunitv Defense For

Purposes Of The First Trial, And The

Tenth Circuit’s Finding Of Waiver

Does Not Conflict With The Decisions

Of Other Circuit Court ................00008. 5

ill

TABLE OF CONTENTS - Continued

Page

C. Even If The Tenth Circuit Erred In

Concluding That Petitioners Had

Waived Their Qualified Immunity De-

fense For Purposes Of The First

Trial, The Error Was Harmless Be-

cause Petitioners Are Not Entitled To

The Protection Afforded By Qualified

ROI uct ikaccravtuistnssicceaneunuseen iy

II. The Alleged Split Among The Circuit

Courts With Regard To The Proper Stan-

dard Of Review Of A Trial Court’s Grant

Of A New Trial Is Merely One Of Seman-

tics And Not Of Substance......................065 20

III. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Reinstated

The Punitive Damages Awards Against

Petitioners, Because The Amount Of The

Punitive Damages Awards Is Nearly

Three Times Less Than The Probable

Amount Of Compensatory Damages That

Will Be Awarded After Remittitur............. 30

Ree eI RPO Gs athens Lignan clacaehaguiecéemetodeasninealer@als 36

lv

APPENDIX TABLE OF CONTENTS

Page

Defendants’ Motion to Dismiss and Brief in

Support, Evans v. Fogarty (W.D. Okla. Apr. 4,

Is chai aiaucatnn seks ane cece acai cas App. 1

State Defendants’ Answer to Third Amended

Complaint, Evans v. Fogarty (W.D. Okla.

By URI erent nena ne a en App. 40

Order Granting Plaintiffs’ Motion for a Pre-

liminary Mandatory Injunction, Evans ov.

Fogarty (W.D. Okla. Feb. 12, 2001)............... App. 50

Order and Judgment Dismissing Defendants’

Interlocutory Appeal of the District Court’s

Order Denying Their Request to File a Third

Motion for Summary Judgment Based on

Qualified Immunity, Evans v. Fogarty (10th

Rie I I cer crisis tikecccacazeaaxscisoaniabbuania App. 75

Order Denying Defendants’ Request to File

Motions for Summary Judgment Based on

Qualified Immunity, Evans v. Fogarty (W.D.

Pes Rie le MII Races shchdcaits sincessnnccuceUarwiadneccones App. 82

Defendants’ Joint and Combined Motion for

Leave to File Motions for Summary Judg-

ment Based on Qualified Immunity, Evans v.

Fogarty (W.D. Okla. Nov. 12, 2003)............... App. 84

Defendants’ Answer, Evans v. Fogarty (W.D.

ois ONO See, IEE Biri ican con ncasisiconiatntcvasasuaibons App. 91

Vv

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES

Page

CASES

Ace v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 139 F.3d 1241 (9th

SG II dildos atic ck caa tulad ice eit cea utan ale eam aatal 29

Alexander v. Fulton County, Ga., 207 F.3d 1303

OR NE I iicsiienissiahbncinsckncdnakaceanabinbanenenuennibaniion 15

Amorgianos v. Natl R.R. Passenger Corp., 303

Be Be ae Ge I esc c ha ccenpanessoatnrnncionniatensonanns 25

Apostol v. Gallion, 870 F.2d 1335 (7th Cir.

I Siig teccadicniteantishsuasunccisaaaycs nite ipkasdatdaadacianbaadamins 11

Auster Oil & Gas, Inc. v. Stream, 835 F.2d 597

I ENED sith sicsikncicictpnusccnaiiicaadoneimiinsabadiaideamenianam 8

Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299 (1996)................... 10

Bennett v. Hendrix, 423 F.3d 1247 (11th Cir.

BI cixiatstnltsieeiasniihotansonsccssnatescneeelicisasannaclauaebasbeateatuiaaiieuaniie 18

BMW of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559

II sic. cass nied dich tus accmuiohconnva anaeasmvaneiaiae maaan 30, 31

Calderon v. Witvoet, 999 F.2d 1101 (7th Cir.

BED sti ise igncen Suecieaneuncaueh taco dsdcandiicanadinncaeihidaanaasnanminaae 6

Carbo Ceramics, Inc. v. Keefe, 166 Fed. Appx.

714 (5th Cir. 2006) (not selected for publica-

tion in the Federal Reporter)........................008 26, 27

Crane v. Consol. Rail Corp., 731 F.2d 1042 (2d

Se TTY tdiasettnscnshetecinnlsicaipausdhaciapiakciinntinboionmsabiiannanaiianns 25

Creech v. Nguyen, 153 F.3d 719 (4th Cir. 1998)

IIT III 6 dc cannccinnnceianennsinewewunssexanianan’ 26

Denhof v. City of Grand Rapids, 494 F.3d 534

I I or eas waar cis redenensiabasencnanckes 27

vi

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Eddy v. Virgin Islands Water & Power Auth.,

Be Be Be Ce Cy BIT) nvcsesccncssccsasncstssacressssesecss 7

English v. Dyke, 23 F.3d 1086 (6th Cir. 1994) ............. 7

Farquhar v. Jones, 141 Fed. Appx. 539 (9th Cir.

NEE cok dals ls ct eel cdi haiehe tal danieahanmieniabucatinienaddeieiasnaiies 7

Gasperini v. Ctr. for Humanities, Inc., 518 U.S.

RE Gatti ha sicuendisdntensd canbe sinipienavaiione 20, 21, 22, 27

Guzmdn-Rivera v. Rivera-Cruz, 98 F.3d 664

I IIc casos sancpaunancunimnnieiosknucenson 11, 12, 13

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800 (1982) ............ a3 4?

Kelly v. City of Oakland, 198 F.3d 779 (9th Cir.

Niland decent daria aad aaa ube Nasuns 15

Langevine v. Dist. of Columbia, 106 F.3d 1018

a ao elias La teatna 29

Malandris v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner &

Smith, Inc., 703 F.2d 1152 (10th Cir. 1981) ........... 32

Marshall v. Columbia Lea Reg'l Hosp., 474 F.3d

Fe CE el EES itinctsciiowineetnsninceycasannbsndicencccannann 16

Maul v. Constan, 928 F.2d 784 (7th Cir. 1991)............ 8

McGreevy v. Stroup, 413 F.3d 359 (3d Cir. 2005) ...... 18

Medcom Holding Co. v. Baxter Travenol Lab.,

Inc., 106 F.3d 1388 (7th Cir. 1997)................... 27, 28

Nagy v. Riblet Prod. Corp., 79 F.3d 572 (7th

ne at aii dae acunnacsdeessabapeiansessianiawnel 6

O’Connor v. Huard, 117 F.3d 12 (ist Cir.

I eg es 13, 14, 15

vil

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

Philip Morris USA v. Williams, 127 S. Ct. 1057

PF ac SINT Dididecssichccothunaataestacaliaseldcaaibtabeusuibiaiibnei decane etacnianide 31

Sales v. Grant, 224 F.3d 293 (4th Cir. 2000)................ 7

Skrtich v. Thornton, 280 F.3d 1295 (11th Cir.

EE Sc hicilicieicabiecnnsstakaeecblsduinscuaniplailaipuiaiciadtadieaiciuabadeisccbii 7

Spann v. Rainey, 987 F.2d 1110 (5th Cir. 1993)....14, 15

Stephenson v. Doe, 332 F.3d 68 (2d Cir. 2008)............. 7

United States v. Bertling, 510 F.3d 804 (8th Cir.

RC RS NS ACFE NP A TN ARTO Ne Eee eT 28

United States v. Hernandez, 433 F.3d 1328

GR TR RR in TO RL t eT ae Oe ON 5 Rea 29

United States v. Rivera Rangel, 396 F.3d 476

i te esi ccknk cs cocttpnconcckceennc pasty acenietbaciess 24, 25

United States v. Robinson, 430 F.3d 537 (2d

I ee eater as eee ae ra 25

Wilburn v. Maritrans GP Inc., 139 F.3d 350 (3d

ee he es 25, 26

Wulf v. City of Wichita, 883 F.2d 842 (10th Cir.

SI cocci tusicke uaa iuadeabise ami vesadeinattaminmne anal ndiahakenaes 33

CONSTITUTIONAL PROVISIONS

ere ee I Boog, cho crceenccnveceiaussaavanrsanesiods 2,18

U.S. Const. amend. VII.......................c000 20, 22, 23, 26

STATUTES

OKLA. STAT. ANN. tit. 51, § 162(A)(2).......0000000. ee. 1

Vili

TABLE OF AUTHORITIES - Continued

Page

OTHER

11 CHARLES A. WRIGHT, ARTHUR R. MILLER, &

Mary Kay KANE, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PRO-

CEDURE §§ 2818-19 (2d ed. 1995) ............. ee. 22, 24

Michelle Migdal Gee, Annotation, What Stan-

‘ dards Govern Appellate Review of Trial

Court’s Conditional Ruling, Pursuant to Rule

50(c)(L) of Federal Rules of Civil Procedure

on Party’s Motion for New Trial, 52 A.L.R.

FED. 494 (originally published in 1981)........... 22, 23

1

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Respondents adopt the facts as set forth in the

Tenth Circuit’s Order and Judgment filed August 22,

2007, Pet’r App. pp. la-53a, and as set forth in the

Tenth Circuit’s Order and Judgment filed January 26,

2005. See infra App. 78-81.

With regard to Petitioners’ Statement of the

Case, Respondents object to any and all facts suggest-

ing that Petitioners’ conduct toward Respondents was

based on a budgetary, as opposed to a retaliatory,

motive. Petitioners’ facts are slanted in their own

favor and are premised primarily on the District

Court’s grant of Petitioners’ motion for judgment as a

mz.er of law after the second jury trial. Petitioners

do not discuss, in detail, the findings of either jury or

the findings of the Tenth Circuit.

Additionally, Petitioners do not make this Court

aware of OKLA. StTaT. ANN. tit. 51, § 162(A\(2), which

impacts Petitioners’ personal liability for the compen-

satory damages awarded. That statute states, in

pertinent part:

A. The state or any political subdivision, subject

to procedural requirements imposed by this

section, other applicable statute, ordinance,

resolution, or written policy, shall:

2. Pay or cause to be paid any judgment

entered in the courts of the United

States, the State of Oklahoma or any

2

other state against any employee or po-

litical subdivision. ...

a.

vv

REASONS FOR DENYING THE WRIT

Petitioners are high-ranking state officials who

abused their positions and implemented a regime of

lawless conduct by retaliating against Respondents

for speaking publicly about the State of Oklahoma’s

Medicaid system. Respondents’ only means of vindi-

cating their First Amendment right to free speech are

damages. The Tenth Circuit’s opinion does not, as

Petitioners contend, unfairly impose liability on state

officials who were simply doing their job but, rather,

holds high-ranking state officials accountable for

their intentional abuse of power and deprivation of

Respondents’ First Amendment right to free speech.

The Tenth Circuit’s finding that Petitioners had

waived their qualified immunity defense does not

conflict with the decisions of other circuit courts and

is not in tension with the principles of qualified

immunity established by this Court.

The standard of review applied by the Tenth

Circuit to the District Court’s grant of a new trial is

not contrary to this Court’s decisions and does not

exacerbate an existing conflict among the courts of

appeals.

And finally, the Tenth Circuit’s reinstatement of

the punitive damages awards against Petitioners

3

after the first trial does not merit review, as a rea-

sonable relationship exists between the amount of

punitive damages that were awarded after the first

trial and the probable amount of compensatory

damages that will be awarded after remittitur.

I. This Court Should Deny The Petition For A

Writ Of Certiorari As To The Qualified Im-

munity Issue Because The Issue Is Moot,

The Tenth Circuit’s Finding Of Waiver Does

Not Conflict With The Decisions Of Other

Circuits, And Petitioners Are Not Entitled

To The Protection Afforded By Qualified

Immunity.

A. Whether Petitioners Should Have Been

Allowed To Assert Qualified Immunity

At The Second Trial Is Moot, Because

The District Court Abused Its Discre-

tion In Granting A Second Trial.

In their Petition for a Writ of Certiorari, Peti-

tioners try to blur the true issue on appeal to this

Court with regard to qualified immunity. Petitioners

did not argue to the Tenth Circuit that the District

Court had erred in prohibiting them from asserting

qualified immunity at the first trial, as Petitioners

had not even attempted to assert the defense at the

pre-trial/post-discovery phase, at the trial phase, or at

the post-trial phase of the first trial. Nor did Petition-

ers argue to the Tenth Circuit that the District Court

had erred in denying their motion to dismiss, in

which they had asserted qualified immunity at the

a

pleading phase of the first trial. The actual issue that

Petitioners presented to the Tenth Circuit was

whether the District Court had erred in not allowing

them to rely on the defense subsequent to the first

trial but prior to the second trial. The Tenth Circuit

abstained from answering that question, however,

because it found that the District Court had abused

its discretion in granting a second trial at all, thus

rendering moot the question of whether the District

Court had erred in denying Petitioners use of the

defense in advance of the second trial.

As explained more fully in Subsection (IT) below,

the Tenth Circuit correctly held that the District

Court had abused its discretion in granting a second

trial. For that reason, this Court need not now ad-

dress whether the District Court should have allowed

Petitioners to assert qualified immunity in advance of

the second trial, as the issue continues to be moot.

Because the Tenth Circuit reinstated the first jury

verdict, the real issue before this Court is whether

the Tenth Circuit erred in finding that Petitioners

had waived their qualified immunity defense for

purposes of the first trial.

The Tenth Circuit did not err in finding that

Petitioners had waived their qualified immunity

defense for purposes of the first trial. And, even if the

Tenth Circuit improperly overturned the District

Court’s grant of a new trial, the District Court did not

abuse its discretion in prohibiting Petitioners from

asserting qualified immunity in advance of the second

trial, because Petitioners’ failure to press qualified

5

immunity at the first trial effectuated waiver for

purposes of the second trial, as well.

B. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Found

That Petitioners Had Waived Their

Qualified Immunity Defense For Pur-

poses Of The First Trial, And The Tenth

Circuit’s Finding Of Waiver Does Not

Conflict With The Decisions Of Other

Circuit Courts.

By presenting a distorted version of the Tenth

Circuit’s finding and by providing incomplete ac-

counts of other circuit courts’ opinions, Petitioners

give the appearance that a circuit split exists with

regard to waiver of qualified immunity, hoping that

this Court will grant a writ of certiorari to resolve the

supposed conflict among the circuit courts. In actual-

ity, however, the issue on which the circuit courts are

supposedly split was not the basis of the Tenth Cir-

cuit’s finding of waiver.

Specifically, Petitioners argue that the Tenth

Circuit departed from the decisions of other circuit

courts when it found that Petitioners had waived

their qualified immunity defense for failure to include

it in the pretrial order. But, the Tenth Circuit did not

find that Petitioners had waived their qualified

immunity defense solely because they had failed to

include it in the pretrial order. Rather, the Tenth

Circuit found that Petitioners had waived the defense

because they had neglected to press it at every oppor-

tunity. They had “failed to assert qualified immunity

6

in their motions for summary judgment, the pretrial

order, or in their oral motions for [judgment as a

matter of law] at the close of the plaintiffs’ case.” Pet’r

App. pp. 16a-17a n.9. Therefore, any authority cited

by Petitioners as standing for the proposition that

qualified immunity is not waived if not included in

the pre-trial order (i.e., Calderon v. Witvoet, 999 F.2d

1101 (7th Cir. 1993); Nagy v. Riblet Prod. Corp., 79

F.3d 572 (7th Cir. 1996)), is wholly irrelevant in

determining whether the Tenth Circuit erred in

finding that Petitioners had waived their qualified

immunity defense. Moreover, even if the Tenth Cir-

cuit’s finding had been premised solely on Petitioners’

failure to include the defense in the pre-trial order,

Calderon and Nagy would lend no support to Peti-

tioners’ position, as those cases held that an affirma-

tive defense must generally be included in the pre-

trial order to be preserved but that an exception

exists when the district court has foreclosed the

defense from trial. As explained more fully below, the

District Court did not foreclose Petitioners’ qualified

immunity defense from the first trial.

At first blush, it appears that Petitioners are

arguing that failure to include qualified immunity in

the pretrial order should not result in waiver; how-

ever, a closer look reveals that Petitioners are, in fact,

arguing that qualified immunity lives forever and

that it may be pressed for the first time seven (7)

months after the conclusion of a jury trial. Petitioners’

position, however, is simply untenable, as even the

First and Fifth Circuits, which Petitioners cite as

7

allowing the defense to be raised at any time, hold

that, at some point, qualified immunity must be cut

off.

This Court has stated that qualified immunity is

an affirmative defense that must be raised by the

defendant. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 815

(1982) (citing Gomez v. Toledo, 446 U.S. 635, 640

(1980)). As an affirmative defense, qualified immu-

nity may be waived if not properly raised. See Farqu-

har v. Jones, 141 Fed. Appx. 539, 540 (9th Cir. 2005)

(not published in the Federal Reporter) (holding

that qualified immunity had been waived when

raised for the first time in an objection to the

magistrate judge’s report); Stephenson v. Doe, 332

F.3d 68, 76 (2d Cir. 2003) (explaining that qualified

immunity can be waived by failure to raise it in a

timely fashion or by failure to raise it with sufficient

particularity); Eddy v. Virgin Islands Water & Power

Auth., 256 F.3d 204, 209-10 (3d Cir. 2001) (stating

that a district court has discretion to determine

whether the defendant diligently raised quali-

fied immunity); Skrtich v. Thornton, 280 F.3d 1295,

1306-07 (11th Cir. 2002) (“Qualified immunity is an

affirmative defense to personal liability, which must

be pled, and if it is not, it is deemed waived.”); Sales

v. Grant, 224 F.3d 293, 294-96 (4th Cir. 2000) (hold-

ing that the defendants, who had only cursorily

referenced qualified immunity in their answer,

could not pursue the defense for the first time on

remand for a new trial); English v. Dyke, 23 F.3d

1086, 1090 (6th Cir. 1994) (“(TJhe trial court has

8

discretion to find a waiver if a defendant fails to

assert the defense within time limits set by the

court or if the court otherwise finds that a de-

fendant has failed to exercise due diligence or

has asserted the defense for dilatory purposes.”)

(citation omitted); Maul v. Constan, 928 F.2d 784,

785-86 (7th Cir. 1991) (holding that the defen-

dants, who had asserted “good faith immunity”

in their answer, had not sufficiently preserved

the defense and could not urge it for the first

time in a post-trial motion); Auster Oil & Gas, Inc.

vu. Stream, 835 F.2d 597, 601 (5th Cir. 1988) (declin-

ing to review whether appellants were entitled

to qualified immunity, because they had not

“squarely posed” the issue until filing a motion

for new trial).

The point at which qualified immunity is deemed

waived may vary, depending on the deciding court

and the circumstances of the case. But, the fact that

qualified immunity may be waived is undisputed, and

as noted in the above parentheticals, district courts

have discretion in deeming the defense waived.

Respondents recognize that qualified immunity

may be asserted at various stages of litigation and

that failure to assert the defense at one stage does

not necessarily preclude the defendant from asserting

the defense at a later stage. However, a defendant

may not casually assert the defense at the beginning

of a lawsuit and then rely on that one assertion for

the duration of the case, which is exactly what Peti-

tioners are urging.

9

Petitioners asserted qualified immunity prior to

the first trial in a motion to dismiss, which the Dis-

trict Court denied, and then again in their answers.

See infra App. 15-23, 48, 97; Pet’r App. pp. 115a-18a.

Thereafter, Petitioners failed to press the defense.

They did not assert it in their motions for summary

judgment. They did not include it in the pre-trial

order. They did not submit it with their proposed jury

instructions. And, they did not raise it in their mo-

tions for judgment as a matter of law at trial. See

infra App. 77-81. In fact, Petitioners did not forcefully

press the defense again until seven (7) months after

the first trial, when they retained new counsel to

represent them at the second trial and requested

leave of court to file a motion for summary judgment

on the ground of qualified immunity, which request

the District Court denied. See infra App. 82, 84-88.

Petitioners now argue that they did not need to

press their qualified immunity defense subsequent to

the District Court’s denial of their motion to dismiss,

claiming that the denial was a final resolution of

Petitioners’ entitlement to the defense for the entire

duration of the litigation. Petitioners, however, may

not use the District Court’s denial of their motion to

dismiss at the pleading stage of the first trial as an

excuse for their failure to reassert the defense at later

stages of the litigation.

Whether a defendant is entitled to qualified

immunity is analyzed differently at the summary-

judgment phase than it is at the motion-to-dismiss

phase. “At that earlier stage, it is the defendant’s

10

conduct as alleged in the complaint that is scrutinized

for ‘objective legal reasonableness. On summary

judgment, however, the plaintiff can no longer rest on

the pleadings, ... and the court looks to the evidence

before it (in the light most favorable to the plain-

tiff)....” Behrens v. Pelletier, 516 U.S. 299, 309

(1996).

Simply because the District Court found that

Petitioners could not be dismissed from suit at the

pleading stage of the first trial, because Respondents

had sufficiently alleged a violation of a clearly estab-

lished constitutional right in their complaint, was no

guarantee that the District Court would find that the

evidence produced during discovery was sufficient to

support the violation alleged in Respondents’ com-

plaint. Therefore, if Petitioners had thought that the

evidence produced during discovery did not support

the violation alleged in Respondents’ complaint, then

Petitioners could, and should, have asserted qualified

immunity in a motion for summary judgment at the

pre-trial/post-discovery phase of the first trial. See id.

(“It is no more true that the defendant who has

unsuccessfully appealed denial of a motion to dismiss

has no need to appeal denial of a motion for summary

judgment, than it is that the defendant who has

unsuccessfully made a motion to dismiss has no need

to make a motion for summary judgment.”). Because

Petitioners did not assert qualified immunity in their

motions for summary judgment, they did not even

give the District Court the opportunity to evaluate

whether they were immune from facing the burden of

11

trial. Moreover, because they did not bother to press

the defense at trial, they did not give the District

Court the opportunity to evaluate whether they were

immune from liability.

Petitioners cite Guzmdn-Rivera v. Rivera-Cruz,

98 F.3d 664 (1st Cir. 1996) to support their position

that the Tenth Circuit erred in finding waiver. Guz-

man-Rivera, however, actually provided the basis of

the Tenth Circuit’s finding. Pet’r App. p. 17a n.9.

The defendants in Guzmdn-Rivera asserted

qualified immunity on the eve of trial. Although the

First Circuit held that the defendants had not waived

the defense for trial, it did hold that they had waived

it for the pre-trial/post-discovery phase, meaning the

defendants were not immune from suit, even if they

might later be found immune from liability.

The First Circuit expressed concern in Guzmdn-

Rivera with regard to a defendant’s intentional delay

in asserting qualified immunity for the purpose of

prejudicing the plaintiff. To help reduce such tactical

delay, the First Circuit encouraged district courts to

enter scheduling orders, stating:

Delay generated by claims of qualified im-

munity may work to the disadvantage of the

plaintiff. Witnesses may become unavailable,

memories may fade, attorneys fees accumu-

late, and deserving plaintiffs’ recovery is de-

layed. See Apostol v. Gallion, 870 F.2d 1335,

1338 (7th Cir. 1989) (“Defendants may seek

to stall because they gain from delay at

12

plaintiffs’ expense, an incentive yielding un-

justified appeals.”). Delay is also costly to the

court system, demanding more time and en-

ergy from the court and retarding the dispo-

sition of cases... .

In order to reduce the potential for abuse by

defendants, we believe that the defense of

qualified immunity may be deemed to have

been waived if it is not raised in a diligent

manner during the post-discovery, pre-trial

phase. To find otherwise is to invite strategic

use of the defense by defendants who stand

to benefit from delay. .. .

[Djistrict courts are encouraged to enter

scheduling orders to prevent dilatory tactics

on the part of defendants with qualified im-

munity defenses. Absent an abuse of discre-

tion, this court will enforce those scheduling

deadlines by affirming a finding of waiver

and awarding double costs.

Id. at 667-69.

Petitioners are not similar to the defendants in

Guzmdn-Rivera, because not only did Petitioners fail

to diligently press qualified immunity at the pre-

trial/post-discovery phase of the first trial, they also

failed to diligently press qualified immunity at the

trial itself and at the post-trial phase of the first trial.

Moreover, Petitioners did not appeal the District

Court's denial of their motion to dismiss premised on

qualified immunity. See infra App. 78. The first

time that Petitioners diligently reasserted their

qualified immunity defense was approximately seven

13

(7) months after the first trial, when they filed a

motion seeking leave of court to file a motion for

summary judgment based on qualified immunity. See

infra App. 84-88. Petitioners’ failure to press the

defense prior thereto is the very type of prejudicial

delay about which the First Circuit expressed concern

in Guzmdn-Rivera. And, even if the purpose of Peti-

tioners’ delay was not to intentionally prejudice

Respondents, prejudice would have resulted had the

Tenth Circuit allowed Petitioners to escape liability

for their misdeeds after a jury verdict. Petitioners’

delay in asserting the defense appears to be one last-

ditch attempt to escape liability after gambling and

losing on the jury’s verdict. As explained by the Tenth

Circuit in its opinion, however, qualified immunity “is

not a parachute to be deployed only when the plane

has run out of fuel.” Pet’r App. p. 17a n.9.

Petitioners also cite to O’Connor v. Huard, 117

F.3d 12 (1st Cir. 1997) to support their contention

that the Tenth Circuit erred in not considering the

substantive elements of their qualified immunity

defense on appeal. Like Guzmdan-Rivera, however,

O’Connor is distinguishable.

In O'Connor, also a First Circuit case, the defen-

dant waited to assert qualified immunity until filing

a motion notwithstanding the verdict. On appeal, the

First Circuit reviewed the district court’s denial of the

defendant’s motion. But, the First Circuit reviewed

the denial for plain error only, because it found that

the defendant had not properly preserved the defense

14

by raising it for the first time after the verdict. Jd. at

17.

The case Spann v. Rainey, 987 F.2d 1110 (5th Cir.

1993), also cited by Petitioners, is somewhat similar

to the instant case in that the Fifth Circuit had to

decide whether to review the district court’s denial of

the defendant’s motion for summary judgment based

on qualified immunity, which had not been filed until

after a new trial had been granted. The Fifth Circuit

ultimately decided to review the denial. But, it noted

that it was not deciding whether a defendant who has

not presented qualified immunity at the first trial

may present it at the second trial, because the Fifth

Circuit found that the defendant had sufficiently

presented qualified immunity at the first trial. Al-

though the defendant had not moved to dismiss on

the ground of qualified immunity in advance of the

first trial and had not specifically included qualified

immunity in the pre-trial order, he had (1) incorpo-

rated into the pre-trial order all of the defenses

asserted in his answer to the complaint, which in-

cluded qualified immunity; (2) argued immunity at

the close of plaintiff’s case and at the close of evi-

dence; and (3) included in the jury instructions ele-

ments for immunity.

Unlike the defendant in Spann, Petitioners did

not assert qualified immunity at the first trial.

Rather, they reasserted it seven (7) months after the

first trial. Thus, the Fifth Circuit’s decision to review

the district court’s denial of the defendant’s motion

for summary judgment in Spann lends no support to

15

Petitioners’ contention that the Tenth Circuit erred in

not considering the substantive elements of their

qualified immunity defense, as the defendant in

Spann had sufficiently preserved his qualified immu-

nity defense for appeal by asserting it at the first

trial.

Petitioners also cite Alexander v. Fulton County,

Ga., 207 F.3d 1303, 1320 & n.10 (11th Cir. 2000) and

Kelly v. City of Oakland, 198 F.3d 779, 784 (9th Cir.

1999) to support their contention that qualified

immunity may be reviewed on appeal even if it was

not raised at trial. Once again, however, Petitioners

mischaracterize the facts of the authority they cite.

Like the defendant in Spann, the defendant in

Alexander raised qualified immunity at rial, as she

raised it at the close of the plaintiff’s case. And in

Kelly, the defendants asked for a jury instruction

containing elements of qualified immunity and then

raised qualified immunity again by motion after the

verdict, which the district court denied on the ground

that the defendant had not asserted qualified immu-

nity in a motion prior to jury deliberation. Like the

First Circuit in O'Connor, 117 F.3d at 17, the Ninth

Circuit in Kelly found that the defendant had waited

too long to assert the defense. Although the Ninth

Circuit reviewed the district court’s denial, it did so

only for plain error and only in the interest of justice,

stating: “We have ... occasionally reviewed for plain

error even when no motion for judgment as a matter

of law was made.” The Ninth Circuit, in no way,

stated that a denial of qualified immunity must be

16

reviewed on appeal if not properly preserved, how-

ever.

As stated hereinabove, the stage at which quali-

fied immunity is deemed waived varies, depending on

the court and the circumstances of the case. Some

courts allow defendants to assert qualified immunity

for the first time very late into the proceedings, while

others deem the defense waived. The Tenth Circuit is

actually quite lenient. If the defendant has properly

raised qualified immunity in an answer, in a motion

to dismiss, or in a motion for summary judgment but

then does not reassert the defense until after trial,

the Tenth Circuit will still review the district court’s

denial of the defense. Marshall v. Columbia Lea Reg'l

Hosp., 474 F.3d 733, 739 (10th Cir. 2007) (“[A] post-

trial grant of immunity would still confer a benefit by

shielding [defendants] from any liability for the

monetary damages awarded by the jury.”) (citing

Acevedo-Garcia v. Monroig, 351 F.3d 547, 562 n.6 (1st

Cir. 2003)). It will just review the evidence in the

light “most hospitable” to the party that prevailed at

trial. /d. (citing Jacobucci v. Boulter, 193 F.3d 14, 23

(1st Cir. 1999)).

The Tenth Circuit did not review the substantive

elements of Petitioners’ qualified immunity defense

for purposes of the first trial, because although Peti-

tioners had raised the defense in their motions to

dismiss and in their answers, they had not reasserted

it at the first trial or during the post-trial phase of

the first trial. Reasserting it seven (7) months after

the first trial is simply too late. Despite Petitioners’

17

wishes, qualified immunity does not live forever.

Petitioners had numerous opportunities to assert the

defense: (1) they could have asserted it prior to the

first trial in a motion for summary judgment; (2) they

could have included it in the pre-trial order; (3) they

could have submitted it with their proposed jury

instructions; (4) they could have asserted it at the

first trial after the Respondents’ case-in-chief; (5) they

could have asserted it after presenting their own case

at the first trial; and (6) they could have asserted it in

a motion notwithstanding the verdict. Petitioners

failed to take advantage of all of these opportunities.

For that reason, the Tenth Circuit was not unreason-

able in deeming the defense waived for purposes of

the first trial, and the District Court did not abuse its

discretion in deeming the defense waived for purposes

of the second trial.

C. Even If The Tenth Circuit Erred In

Concluding That Petitioners Had

Waived Their Qualified Immunity De-

fense For Purposes Of The First Trial,

The Error Was Harmless Because Peti-

tioners Are Not Entitled To The Protec-

tion Afforded By Qualified Immunity.

Qualified immunity is just that — qualified. It

does not protect from civil damages government

officials performing discretionary functions whose

conduct violates a clearly established statutory or

constitutional rmght of which a reasonable person

would have known. Harlow, 457 U.S. at 818.

18

There is no doubt that Respondents were en-

gaged in protected First Amendment activity when

they were speaking publicly about the State of Okla-

homa’s Medicaid system, and Petitioners did not

dispute this fact on appeal to the Tenth Circuit. Pet’r

App. p. 18a. The First Amendment right to free

speech is a clearly established right. Bennett v.

Hendrix, 423 F.3d 1247, 1255 (11th Cir. 2005);

McGreevy v. Stroup, 413 F.3d 359, 366-67 (3d Cir.

2005); Pet’r App. pp. 115a-18a.

Respondents presented a lot of evidence at trial

proving that Petitioners had retaliated against them

for speaking publicly about Oklahoma’s Medicaid

System. For example, Respondent Cynthia Majors

testified that Petitioner Fogarty had threatened that

if her husband, Respondent John Majors, continued

to lobby at the Capitol, “he could send someone down

to investigate [her] nursing home for fraudulent

billing.” Pet’r App. p. 36a. And, even before the first

trial, the District Court found that the evidence

presented by Respondents demonstrated “an uncanny

correlation” between Respondents’ exercise of free

speech rights and the administrative actions taken by

the Oklahoma Health Care Authority. See infra App.

59-63. The District Court also found that Respon-

dents were “likely to succeed in showing that the

[Petitioners] took certain retaliatory actions in re-

sponse to the exercise of First Amendment rights. .. .”

See infra App. 638. Then, two different juries con-

cluded that Petitioners had retaliated against Re-

spondents for speaking publicly about the State of

Oklahoma’s Medicaid system and that Petitioners’

19

conduct had not been for a budgetary purpose. Even

in the District Court’s February 23, 2005 order after

the second trial, the District Court denied Petitioner

Fogarty’s motion for judgment as a matter of law as to

all individual Respondents, except for Mary Parkhurst

and Joel Holcomb. And, if that is not enough to prove

that Petitioners’ violated Respondents’ First Amend-

ment right to free speech, the Tenth Circuit, after

reviewing all of the evidence on appeal, stated:

[W]e are satisfied that a reasonable juror

could conclude that Fritz and Fogarty acted

with “reckless or callous indifference,” if not

“evil motive or intent,” to the rights of the

[Respondents]. Hardeman |[v. City of Albu-

querque), 377 F.3d [1106,] 1121. Plaintiffs

met with persistent hostility from Fritz and

Fogarty, and were subject to a wide variety of

injuries in relation for their political activi-

ties. A reasonable juror could conclude, based

on the evidence before it, that Fogarty and

Fritz wanted to silence members of the Asso-

ciation, were embarrassed by their lobbying

efforts, and acted to starve them of Medicaid

funding in an effort to put them out of busi-

ness. This type of behavior is the sort that is

properly answered by punitive damages,

which act “to punish what has occurred and

to deter its repetition.” Youren v. Tintic Sch.

Dist., 343 F.3d 1296, 1309 (10th Cir. 2003).

Based on the foregoing, Petitioners certainly

violated a clearly established constitutional mght of

which any reasonable person would have known. No

reasonable person in Petitioners’ position would have

20

thought that it was legal to intentionally deny Medi-

caid reimbursement to deserving individuals simply

because they had engaged in public speech regarding

Oklahoma’s Medicaid system. Qualified immunity does

not protect government officials from civil damages for

such malicious conduct. Therefore, whether the Tenth

Circuit erred in finding waiver for purposes of the first

trial or whether the District Court abused its discretion

in finding waiver for purposes of the second trial is

completely irrelevant, because Petitioners would not

have been immune from liability in any event. As such,

this Court should deny the Petition for a Writ of Certio-

rari as to the qualified immunity issue.

II. The Alleged Split Among The Circuit

Courts With Regard To The Proper Stan-

dard Of Review Of A Trial Court’s Grant

Of A New Trial Is Merely One Of Seman-

tics And Not Of Substance.

Petitioners quote the following statement from

the United States Supreme Court case Gasperini v.

Ctr. for Humanities, Inc., 518 U.S. 415, 435 (1996) as

support for their contention that the Tenth Circuit

reviewed the District Court’s grant of a second trial

too stringently: “[Alppellate review for abuse of

discretion is reconcilable with the Seventh Amend-

ment as a control necessary and proper to the fair

administration of justice.” Petitioners have taken this

statement from Gasperini out of context, however, as

Gasperini concerned what standard of review, if any,

a federal appellate court should apply to a district

court’s dental of a motion for a new trial premised on

21

excessive damages. Thus, Petitioners’ argument that

Gasperini lowered the standard of review for the

grant of a new trial premised on insufficient evidence

is without merit. Furthermore, while Petitioners

primarily cite pre-Gasperini cases, in which a more

exacting scrutiny was applied, to bolster their argu-

ment that a more exacting scrutiny is a thing of the

past, the truth is that since Gasperini, the circuit

courts have continued to subject the grant of a new

trial to more exacting scrutiny, particularly when the

grant was premised on the ground that the evidence

did not support the jury’s verdict.

The precise issue presented in Gasperini was

whether federal appellate courts could apply a New

York state law that gave them the power “to review

the size of jury verdicts and to order new trials when

the jury’s award ‘deviate[d] materially from what

would [have] be[en] reasonable compensation.” Jd. at

418. Stated more simply, the issue was whether

appellate judges, who were not present at the trial,

possess the power to vacate a jury verdict on the

ground of excessiveness and to order a new trial when

the district judge, who was present at the trial,

declined to do so. On appeal to the United States

Supreme Court, this Court held that appellate judges

do possess such power, but only if the district judge

abused his discretion in denying a new trial.

The reason why the holding in Gasperini is

significant is because, at one time, it was the law that

the trial court’s denial of a motion for a new trial,

based on the ground that the verdict was against

the weight of the evidence or that the verdict was

22

excessive or inadequate, was not reviewable at all,

because such review was “deemed inconsonant with

the Seventh Amendment’s Reexamination Clause.”

Id. at 434; 11 CHARLES A. WRIGHT, ARTHUR R. MILLER,

& Mary Kay KANE, FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE

§ 2818, p. 197, § 2819, p. 200 (2d ed. 1995). The

holding in Gasperini finally put to rest all doubt that

appellate judges, who were not present at the trial,

have the power to set aside a jury verdict and to order

a new trial, despite the trial judge’s refusal to do so.

Id. at § 2819, p. 204. Thus, this Court’s statement

that “appellate review for abuse of discretion is

reconcilable with the Seventh Amendment as a

control necessary and proper to the fair administra-

tion of justice” simply means that appellate judges do

not violate the Reexamination Clause of the Seventh

Amendment when they review a district court’s

denial of a new trial.

Despite Petitioners’ assertion that Gasperini

should have governed the Tenth Circuit’s review of

the District Court’s grant of a new trial, “[dJifferent

considerations apply when the trial court has denied

[a] motion [for a new trial] than when it has granted it

and the problems must be considered separately.” Jd. at

§ 2819, p. 198-99 (emphasis added). See also Michelle

* The Seventh Amendment of the United States Constitu-

tion provides: “In Suits at common law, where the value in

controversy shal] exceed twenty dollars, the right of trial by jury

shall be preserved, and no fact tried by a jury, shall be otherwise

re-examined in any Court of the United States, than according

to the rules of the common law.”

23

Migdal Gee, Annotation, What Standards Govern

Appellate Review of Trial Court’s Conditional Ruling,

Pursuant to Rule 50(c)(1) of Federal Rules of Civil

Procedure on Party’s Motion for New Trial, 52 A.L.R.

Fep. 494 § 2 (originally published in 1981) (“It has

been recognized that closer appellate scrutiny is

required when a new trial has been granted ... than

when it has been denied ... , since in the latter

situation the trial judge has left standing the jury’

determination and, therefore, has in no way abridged

the parties’ right to a jury trial.”). “It has also gener-

ally been held that the degree of appellate scrutiny

depends on the reasons for the ruling. ... Where the

stated reason for granting a new trial was the weight

of the evidence ... , the appellate courts ... scruti-

nize{[ ] the ruling more closely....” Id. (emphasis

added). The reason why appellate courts scrutinize

the grant of a new trial that is premised on insuffi-

cient evidence more closely than they scrutinize the

dental of a new trial is because:

There is no Seventh Amendment problem...

if the appellate court reverses the trial

court’s grant of a new trial [on the ground

that the verdict was against the weight of

the evidence]. In this instance the appellate

court is not reexamining facts found by a

jury but is reinstating the jury’s findings as

against the contrary findings of the judge.

Appellate action in this context protects the

role of the jury, as envisioned by the Seventh

Amendment, rather than running contrary

to it.

24

11 FEDERAL PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE § 2819, p. 205

(emphasis added).

By quoting more-stringent-scrutiny language

from the opinions of certain circuit courts, Petitioners

try to give the appearance that a split exists among

the circuit courts with regard to the proper standard

of review for the grant of a new trial. However, the

circuit courts unanimously agree that the proper

standard of review is abuse of discretion. Simply

because some circuit courts examine the evidence

more closely than others does not mean that those

courts are not giving proper deference to the district

court’s decision or that a substantive circuit split

exists. At best, the split among the circuit courts is

one of semantics.

Petitioners cite no case law from the First Cir-

cuit, but as stated above, the articulated standard of

review in the First Circuit for the grant of a new trial

is abuse of discretion. United States v. Rivera Rangel,

396 F.3d 476, 485-86 (lst Cir. 2005). Although the

First Circuit does not use the same terminology that

the Tenth Circuit uses to define “abuse of discretion,”

the standard of review employed by the First Circuit

appears to be very much like the one employed by the

Tenth Circuit, because the First Circuit will find an

abuse of discretion if there was merely “ample” evi-

dence to support the jury’s verdict and if the jury’s

verdict was not “seriously erroneous.” Jd. at 486

(stating that “[t]here are ‘definite limits upon a

25

>»

district court’s right to upset a jury verdict’ ”) (citation

omitted).

Like the First Circuit, the Second Circuit ac-

knowledges “the need [for] particularly close appel-

late scrutiny where the trial judge grants a new trial

solely because the judge regards the verdict as

against the weight of the evidence.” See Crane uv.

Consol. Rail Corp., 731 F.2d 1042, 1048 (2d Cir.

1984). The Second Circuit even uses the same lan-

guage that the First Circuit used in Rivera Rangel to

describe the circumstances under which a trial judge

has authority to grant a new trial. See Amorgianos uv.

Natl R.R. Passenger Corp., 303 F.3d 256, 261 (2d Cir.

2002) (stating that a district court may grant a new

trial on the basis that the verdict was against the

weight of the evidence only if the jury reached a

“seriously erroneous” result or if allowing the verdict

to stand would result in a miscarriage of justice)

(citation omitted). See also United States v. Robinson,

430 F.3d 537, 543 (2d Cir. 2005) (stating that “the

court may not wholly usurp the jury’s role” and that

the trial judge may intrude upon the jury function

only where exceptional circumstances can be demon-

strated) (citation omitted).

Like the First and Second Circuits, the articu-

lated standard of review for the grant of a new trial

in the Third Circuit is abuse of discretion. Wilburn v.

Maritrans GP Inc., 139 F.3d 350, 363 (3d Cir. 1998)

(citation omitted). At the same time, however, the

Third Circuit exercises a “closer degree of scrutiny”

when the district court grants a motion for a new trial

26

on the ground that the verdict is against the weight of

the evidence, because the Third Circuit is cognizant

of the potential for a district court to substitute its

judgment for that of the jury. Jd. (citation omitted).

See also id. at 364 (“[T]his court has held that ‘new

trials because the verdict is against the weight of the

evidence are proper only when the record shows that

the jury’s verdict resulted in a miscarriage of justice

or where the verdict, on the record, cries out to be

overturned or shocks our conscience.’”) (citation

omitted).

Similarly, the Fourth Circuit’s articulated stan-

dard of review for the grant of a new trial is abuse of

discretion. Creech v. Nguyen, 153 F.3d 719, 1998 WL

486354, at *8 (4th Cir. 1998) (unpublished opinion)

(citation omitted). Yet, like the First, Second, and

Third Circuits, the Fourth Circuit exercises a “closer

degree of scrutiny and supervision” when reviewing

the grant of a new trial on the ground that the verdict

was against the weight of the evidence. Jd. “A closer

degree of scrutiny is warranted to protect the liti-

gant’s Seventh Amendment right to a jury trial.” Jd.

Petitioners list the Fifth Circuit as being one of

five circuit courts to apply a lower standard of federal

appellate review to the grant of a new trial. It is no

surprise, then, that the Fifth Circuit’s articulated

standard of review is abuse of discretion. Carbo

Ceramics, Inc. v. Keefe, 166 Fed. Appx. 714, 717, 2006

WL 197340, at *1 (5th Cir. 2006) (not selected for

publication in the Federal Reporter) (citation omit-

ted). Nevertheless, just like the First, Second, Third,

27

and Fourth Circuits, the Fifth Circuit scrutinizes the

grant of a new trial more closely than it scrutinizes

the denial of a new trial, and unless the Fifth Circuit

is able to independently satisfy itself that the jury

verdict was against the great weight of the evidence,

it will not affirm the grant of a new trial. /d.

As in the other circuits, abuse of discretion is the

articulated standard of review in the Sixth Circuit for

the grant of a new trial. Denhof v. City of Grand

Rapids, 494 F.3d 534, 543 (6th Cir. 2007). In practice,

however, the Sixth Circuit exercises a “closer degree

of scrutiny and supervision” when reviewing the

grant of a new trial premised on insufficient evidence

than it exercises when reviewing the grant of a new

trial premised on some other basis, such as “some

undesirable or pernicious influence obtruding into the

trial.” Id. (citations omitted). Therefore, unless the

jury’s verdict is unreasonable, the Sixth Circuit will

not affirm the grant of a new trial. 7d.

With regard to the Seventh Circuit, Petitioners

cite Medcom Holding Co. v. Baxter Travenol Lab.,

Inc., 106 F.3d 1388 (1997). In Medcom, the Seventh

Circuit stated that it had, at one time, applied a

“somewhat more exacting” standard of review than

ordinary abuse of discretion to the grant of a new

trial but that such practice is no longer necessary in

light of Gasperini. Id. at 1397. Despite that state-

ment, however, the Seventh Circuit went on to hold

in Medcom that the district court had abused its

discretion in vacating the first jury’s verdict and in

ordering a new trial. Jd. at 1405-06. What is more,

28

the justification given for its holding was that the

evidence was “sufficient” to support the verdict and

that the jury awards had “a reasonable basis.” Id. at

1402, 1405-06. “Sufficient” and “reasonable” suggest

that the Seventh Circuit does not, in practice, give

any more deference to the district court’s grant of a

new trial than the other circuit courts give. Therefore,

even though the Seventh Circuit claims that it no

longer applies a “somewhat more exacting” standard

of review to the grant of a new trial, in actuality&t

does.

Petitioners list the Eighth Circuit as being an-

other one of five circuit courts to apply a lower stan-

dard of federal appellate review to the grant of a new

trial. As in all of the other circuits, the articulated

standard of review in the Eighth Circuit is abuse of

discretion. United States v. Bertling, 510 F.3d 804,

807 (8th Cir. 2007) (citation omitted). Although the

Eighth Circuit does not speak in terms of “closer

scrutiny” or “more stringent scrutiny” with regard to

the grant of a new trial premised on insufficient

evidence, the Eighth Circuit has stated that

“(motions for new trials based on the weight of the

evidence are generally disfavored” and that “the

district court must grant a new trial ‘sparingly and

with caution.’” Jd. at 808. Thus, the Eighth Circuit

will overturn a district court’s decision to grant a new

trial if “the evidence in a particular case does not

‘preponderate [] heavily against the verdict, such

that it would be a miscarriage of justice to let the

verdict stand.’” Jd. at 808 (citation omitted).

29

Like the First Circuit, Petitioners cite no author-

ity from the Ninth Circuit with regard to the pr per

standard of appellate review for the grant of a new

trial premised on insufficient evidence. As in all of the

other circuits, though, the articulated standard of

review in the Ninth Circuit is abuse of discretion. Ace

v. Aetna Life Ins. Co., 1389 F.3d 1241, 1248 (9th Cir.

1998) (citations omitted). However, the Ninth Circuit

is one of several circuit courts that actually uses the

“stringent standard” language to describe the stan-

dard of review that is applied to the grant of a new

trial based on insufficient of evidence. Id.

The articulated standard of appellate review in

the Eleventh Circuit for the grant of a new trial

premised on insufficient evidence is also abuse of

discretion. United States v. Hernandez, 433 F.3d 1328,

1337 (11th Cir. 2005). And, like the Ninth Circuit, the

Eleventh Circuit speaks in terms of “close scrutiny.”

Id.

The District of Columbia Circuit is no different.

Like all of the circuit courts of appeals, the articu-

lated standard of review for the grant of a new trial is

abuse of discretion, and “a more searching inquiry” is

made when reviewing the district court’s grant of a

new trial, particularly when the grant was premised

on insufficient evidence. Langevine v. Dist. of Colum-

bia, 106 F.3d 1018, 1023 (D.C. Cir. 1997) (citations

omitted).

In the instant case, the Tenth Circuit expressly

stated that it reviews a trial judge’s decision on a

30

motion for new trial for abuse of discretion but that it

examines the grant of a new trial based on insuffi-

cient evidence more closely than it examines the

denial of a new trial to ensure that the district court

does not substitute its judgment for that of the jury.

Pet’r App. pp. 15a-16a.

In light of the foregoing authority, it could not be

any clearer that the Tenth Circuit applied the very

same standard of review that the other circuit courts

apply when reviewing the grant of a new trial based

on insufficient evidence. Although the terminology

used to describe the standard of review differs some-

what between circuits, the standard of review actu-

ally applied is the same. As such, this Court should

deny the Petition for a Writ of Certiorari with regard

to the standard-of-review issue.

Ill. The Tenth Circuit Correctly Reinstated

The Punitive Damages Awards Against

Petitioners, Because The Amount Of The

Punitive Damages Awards Is Nearly Three

Times Less Than The Probable Amount Of

Compensatory Damages That Will Be

Awarded After Remittitur.

Petitioners’ argument that the Tenth Circuit

erred in reinstating the punitive damages awards

while remitting or remanding most of the compensa-

tory damages is extremely weak. Respondents recog-

nize that “|t)he Due Process Clause of the Fourteenth

Amendment prohibits a State from imposing a

‘grossly excessive’ punishment on a tortfeasor.” BMW

31

of N. Am., Inc. v. Gore, 517 U.S. 559, 562 (U.S. 1996)

(citing TXO Pred. Corp. v. Alliance Resources Corp.,

509 U.S. 443 (U.S. 1993)). Respondents further

recognize that the ratio of the punitive damages

award to the actual harm inflicted on the plaintiff is a

factor to consider in determining whether a punitive

damages award violates the Due Process Clause.

BMW of N. Am., Inc., 517 U.S. at 581. Even further,

Respondents recognize that setting a punitive dam-

ages award at “two, three, or four times the size of

compensatory damages, while ‘not binding,’ is ‘in-

structive,’ and that ‘s]ingle-digit multipliers are more

likely to comport with due process.’” Philip Morris

USA v. Williams, 127 S. Ct. 1057, 1061-62 (U.S. 2007)

(citing State Farm Mut. Auto. Ins. Co. v. Campbell,

538 U.S. 408, 425 (2003)). However, the punitive

damages awarded in the instant case are not even

remotely close to violating the single-digit multiplier

rule, as the punitive damages award of $900,000 is

nearly three (3) times Jess than the probable individ-

ual damages that will be awarded after remittitur.

And, although corporate damages have yet to be

determined, Petitioners’ liability to the corporate

Respondents has been determined, so the corporate

Respondents are certain to be awarded some com-

pensatory damages, which will further increase the

compensatory damages award over the mere

$900,000 punitive damages award.

The first jury awarded Respondent Alfred Milton

Evans $300,000 in compensatory damages against

Fogarty and $150,000 in compensatory damages

32

against Fritz. The Tenth Circuit reinstated both of

those awards, holding that a combined award of

$450,000 did not shock the judicial conscience.

With regard to Respondents John Majors, Joel

Holcomb, Neal Thrift, Nancy Thrift, and Charles

Parkhurst, the first jury awarded compensatory

damages against Petitioners as follows:

Award Against Award Against

Fogarty Fritz

John Majors $825,000 $375,000

Joel Holcomb $780,000 $390,000

Neal Thrift $900,000 $450,000

Nancy Thrift $900,000 $450,000

Charles Parkhurst $600,000 $300,000

TOTAL $4,005,000 $1,965,000

The Tenth Circuit held that these awards were ap-

propriate for remittitur. Although the Tenth Circuit

did not dictate the amount by which these awards

should be reduced, it noted that the reduction in

Malandris v. Merrill Lynch, Pierce, Fenner & Smith,

Inc., 703 F.2d 1152 (10th Cir. 1981) was two-thirds.

Thus, reducing each of these five (5) Respondents’

awards by two-thirds, Respondents will recover the

following amounts after remittitur:

33

Award Against Award Against

Fogarty Fritz

John Majors $275,000 $125,000

Joel Holcomb $260,000 $130,000

Neal Thrift $300,000 $150,000

Nancy Thrift $300,000 $150,000

Charles Parkhurst $200,000 $100,000

TOTAL $1,335,000 $655,000

Hence, even after remittitur, these five (5) Respon-

dents will still receive a combined total of $1,990,000

($1,335,000 + $655,000) in compensatory damages.

With regard to Respondent Leroy Wheeler, the

first jury awarded $177,000 in compensatory dam-

ages against Fogarty and $88,500 in compensatory

damages against Fritz. The Tenth Circuit remanded

the verdict and directed the trial court to enter a

remittitur order of $1.00 in nominal damages against

Fogarty and $1.00 in nominal damages against Fritz,

for a total damages award of $2.00.

The first jury awarded Respondent Cynthia

Majors $300,000 in compensatory damages against

Fogarty and $150,000 in compensatory damages

against Fritz. The Tenth Circuit recommended that

Cynthia Majors’ damages be reduced to $50,000, as

was done to the plaintiff’s emotional damages in Wulf

v. City of Wichita, 883 F.2d 842, 875 (10th Cir. 1989).

With regard to Respondent Mary Parkhurst, the

first jury awarded $600,000 in compensatory damages

34

against Fogarty and $300,000 in compensatory dam-

ages against Fritz. The Tenth Circuit did not suggest

the amount of remittitur for Ms. Parkhurst’s award

but stated that it may counsel a reduction greater

than two-thirds. Thus, assuming that the District

Court reduces her award by an amount between

three-fourths and four-fifths, Ms. Parkhurst will

likely receive a total award of approximately

$200,000.

Based upon the foregoing, the total individual

damages — after remittitur — will most likely be

somewhere in the neighborhood of $2,690,002

($450,000 + 1,990,000 + $2.00 + $50,000 + $200,000).

A $900,000 punitive damages award is almost three

(3) times less than the amount of probable total

individual damages that will be awarded after remit-

titur. And, although the corporate damages have yet

to be determined, Petitioners’ liability to the corpo-

rate Respondents has been determined and, there-

fore, the total compensatory damages for both the

corporate Respondents and the individual Respon-

dents will be even greater than $2,690,002, further

widening the gap between the total compensatory

damages awarded to Respondents and the mere

$900,000 punitive damages awarded against Peti-

tioners. Thus, Petitioners’ argument that the Tenth

Circuit should have remanded the punitive damages

award to ensure that a reasonable relationship ulti-

mately exists between the compensatory damages

award and the punitive damages award is extremely

weak.

35

Petitioners try to gain this Court’s sympathy by

stating that neither the State of Oklahoma nor insur-

ance will pay the punitive damages awarded against

them. However, Petitioners’ own conduct necessitated

punitive damages, and while the second jury awarded

fewer punitive damages than the first jury did, the

fact that two different juries, as well as the Tenth

Circuit, have found Petitioners’ conduct deserving of

punitive damages is indicative of the reprehensibility

of Petitioners’ conduct.

Petitioners’ having to pay the cost of acting with

reckless or callous indifference, or with evil motive or

intent, to the Respondents’ rights to free speech does

not arouse much sympathy from Respondents and

should not arouse much sympathy from this Court,

either. During the course of this seven-year litigation,

Petitioners have avoided serving their punishment,

and Respondents have gone without retribution. It is

time for Petitioners to finally realize the magnitude of

their actions, which can only be accomplished by

payment of the first jury’s punitive damages award.

As such, this Court should deny the Petition for a

Writ of Certiorari as to the punitive damages issue.

¢

36

CONCLUSION

The Petition for a Writ of Certiorari should be

denied.

Respectfully submitted,

MICHAEL L. CARR

Counsel of Record

HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS

9 East 4th Street

200 Reunion Center

Tulsa, OK 74103

(918) 295-8888

STEVEN E. HOLDEN REAGAN L. MADISON

HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS HOLDEN, CARR & SKEENS

9 East 4th Street 9 East 4th Street

200 Reunion Center 200 Reunion Center

Tulsa, OK 74103 Tulsa, OK 74103

(918) 295-8888 (918) 295-8888

Counsel for Respondents

March 2008

App. 1

No. CIV-01-252-W

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

(1) ALFRED MILTON EVANS, et al.,

Plaintiff,

vs.

(1) MIKE FOGARTY, et al.,

Defendants.

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT

(Filed Apr. 4, 2001)

GREG S. ELDRIDGE, OBA #14950*

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

LITIGATION SECTION

4545 N. Lincoln Blvd., Suite 260

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 521-4274

FAX (405) 528-1867

and

HOWARD J. POLLOTTA

GENERAL COUNSEL

OKLAHOMA HEALTH CARE AUTHORITY

P.O. DRAWER 18497

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73154-0497

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS

April 4, 2001 *Attorney of Record

App. 2

INDEX

STATEMENT OF THE CASE...................ccessceesees

CONCLUSION........: OTR rere Ce Ne OREO IDIOT TOOTS

PROPOSITION I

THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT PRE-

VENTS THIS COURT FROM EXERCISING

JURISDICTION OVER STATE OFFICIALS

IN THEIR OFFICIAL CAPACITY WHEN

THE PLAINTIFF IS SEEKING RELIEF

OTHER THAN PROSPECTIVE INJUNC-

PROPOSITION II

THE PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT SHOULD

BE DISMISSED REGARDING COUNTS I,

II, IV AGAINST DEFENDANTS FOGARTY,

FRITZ, BROWN AND ALL OHCA BOARD

MEMBERS BECAUSE THE ALLEGATIONS

IN THE COMPLAINT LACK ANY ALLEGA-

TION OF PERSONAL PARTICIPATION

AND LACK ANY SPECIFICITY REGARD-

ING RETALIATION FOR PLAINTIFFS

EVAN’S ALLEGED STATEMENT ..........c00000

App. 3

PROPOSITION Iil

DEFENDANTS FOGARTY, FRITZ,

MITCHELL AND BROWN ARE ENTITLED

TO QUALIFIED IMMUNITY IN THEIR IN-

DIVIDUAL CAPACITIES ON PLAINTIFFS’

FIRST AMENDMENT CLAIMG........ « ©

A. Presumption in favor of Qualified

Neen ie bin kasaveaninnapsenaeunan 8

ane 8

C. How “clear” must the law be to be

“Clearly established?” ....................00008 9

D. State of the “clearly established” law

relating to the First Amendment pro-

tections of a government contractor.... 9

E. Summary Judgment and Qualified

ES 12

PROPOSITION IV

THE COURT SHOULD ABSTAIN FROM

DECIDING PLAINTIFF’S CLASS

CLAIMS BASED UPON THE BURFORD

ABSTENTION DOCTRINE..........cccccccsseesssees 12

PROPOSITION V

THE COURT SHOULD DISMISS COUNT

lil BECAUSE THERE IS NO CONSTITU-

TIONAL PROPERTY INTEREST THAT

WOULD NECESSITATE DUE PROCESS

RIGHTS TO PLAINTIPFES. ..........cccccccsescceseees 16

App. 4

PROPOSITION VI

THE COURT SHOULD DISMISS PLAIN-

TIFF’S CLAIMS IN COUNT V BECAUSE

PLAINTIFFS DO NOT STATE A CLAIM

UPON WHICH RELIEF CAN BE

GRANTEE cccocccccoscesseccocsocecccccscoccssocccscocccooccooses 18

PROPOSITION VII

PLAINTIFF CLAIMS IN VII SHOULD BE

DISMISSED BECAUSE BASED UPON

THE MEDICAID REQUIREMENTS OF

AMOUNT, SCOPE AND DURATION NO

VIOLATION OF LAW CAN OCCUR AS-

SUMING THE ALLEGATIONS IN THE

COMPLAINT ARE TRUE ..................ccsececeesees 19

PROPOSITION VIII

PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM UNDER COUNT

VIII FOR A VIOLATION OF 42 U.S.C.

§ 6009 SHOULD BE DISMISSED BE-

CAUSE THIS LAW HAS BEEN RE-

iF MERPERINEED acerasencncssssescncnseancscooccscssnscccssaccossonsssesse 21

PROPOSITION IX

THE CLASS PLAINTIFFS’ FREEDOM OF

ASSOCIATION CLAIM IS WITHOUT

App. 5

PROPOSITION X

THE CLASS PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIM FOR

REASONABLE ACCESS AND ADEQUATE

QUALITY IS WITHOUT MERIT................06 22

Cases Cited

Alfaro Motors, Inc. v. Ward, 814 F.2d 883 (2nd

RN ME I hi Arai hcic aaicer nce rina tiated hati va esitcdlneseaniecindanl 4

Anderson v. Creighton, 483 U.S. 635, 107 S. Ct.

ee ey 5 8,9

Applewhite v. U.S. Air Force, 995 F.2d 997

AIG TIE selina dass sssseuidecddicnstictnpnmtrannsbiniectimiieninbaninninse 8

Barr v. Abrams, 810 F.2d 358 (2nd Cir. 1987)............. 4

Bethphage Lutheran Service, Inc. v. Weicker,

966 F.2d 1239 (2nd Cir. 1902Z)........0.0<secorsssesonscesssooes 13

Board of County Com’rs, Wabaunsee County,

Kan v. Umbehr, 116 8S. Ct. 2342, 518 US.

668, 135 L. Ed. 2d 843 (1996)........ccceceeeeeee- 9,10, 11

Branch v. Tunnell, 14 F.3d 449 (9th Cir. 1994)........ 4,6

Brandon v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464, 105 S. Ct. 873,

Se ete i Se I onccccs casccicsetinn tks niccnnenavonsnninanne 2

Breidenbach v. Bolish, 126 F.3d 1288 (10th Cir.

III F csctsnciexMacsanaatdhialendedabenadouaihanmeadeiataeaacotslancsaakaaes 8

Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 U.S. 315, 63 S. Ct.

1098, 87 L. Ed. 1424 (1943).........00000... 13, 14, 15, 16

Colon v. Coughlin, 58 F.3d 865 (2nd Cir. 1995)........... 4

Davis v. Scherer, 468 U.S. 183, 104 S. Ct. 3012,

Oe eke Ses EE I 6 RRs ccsnsscienntneeonsassancinccosoanencnenaed 8

DeSario v. Thomas, 139 F.3d 80 (2nd Cir.1998) ....... 21

App. 6

Freeman v. City of Santa Anna, 68 F.3d 1180

(ORR Cie, BONG asi siicnctecsansintinkacicuemeaneen 22

Geriatrics, Inc. v. Harris, 640 F.2d 262 (10th

COR, BID) wcsissiscvarcticreramencienmeee 15, 16, 17, 18

Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S. 800, 102 S. Ct.

ZI21, TS Ly. Ek. Bed SOC (AGBD) wc csrsnsncsssccnsesssecesaces 4,12

Hern v. Beye, 57 F.3d 906 (10th Cir. 1995) .......... 20, 21

Hidahl v. Gilpin County DSS, 938 F.2d 1150

CEs Col RIED eissivinccnenccsidiatnienceiaaccteneneene 9

Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 116 L. Ed. 2d

GO CIDE) casnniccsinisistavianceissmiaeaeaaaea aa 6, 7

Jantz v. Muct, 976 F.2d 623 (10th Cir. 1992)............... 9

Kelly Care, LTD. V O’Rourke, 751 F. Supp. 1154

(B.D. NY, TD) cisicciccasansasatne eee 17

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 105 S. Ct.

2008, 87 1. Tk. Bek 108 CIGD visieesisstecctscaen 2

Ledet v. Fischer, 638 F. Supp. 1288 (M.D. La.

BIG asa vvcsisnsecsuinnvicsownsanidennenciaaednanmanena ae eee 21

Lee v. County of Los Angeles, 240 F.3d 754 (9th

Cae, DGD vss vaccnexsnesevssisecn amas 4,6

Maggio v. Sipple, 211 F.3d 1346 (C.A. 11 (Fla.)

GRE) nsnissidinatadsiassunaablesmas aoa eee 11

Medina v. City and County of Denver, 960 F.2d

1GRS (10C Che. LOGE) viskcctcctccnicanaeee 8,9

Monell v. Department of Social Services of the

City of New York, 436 U.S. 658, 98 S. Ct.

2018, SG L.. Tie. SE GEE CEG TS) vcvccsessaserivicestiasiomeanns 4

Nichols v. Department of Corrections, 631 P.2d

TH CORD. TOBE) vevessiescicasioneaciaseen eae 2

App. 7

O’Bannon v. Town Court Nursing Center, 447

U.S. 773, 65 L.ED. 2d 506, 518, 100 S. Ct.

SUUIEET CRIED scunsstacnononsadscesveicunneesedeuduinusbadsimnmaiecunaliins 18

Osteopathic Hospital Founders Association,

Inc. v. Splinter, 955 F.Supp. 1351 (N.D.

STIL: REPUTE <cciecnsecundenscnsunsunvicsasidassiisaiabanebeduniaanl 14

Pennhurst State School & Hospital v. Halder-

man, 451 U.S. 1, 101 S. Ct. 1531, 67 L. Ed. 2d

TEE TURD’ icniicedduacebiadupdenatéinaeusadlaecsmaamenanaeae 21

Pennhurst State School v. Halderman, 465 U.S.

89, 104 S. Ct. 900, 79 L. Ed. 2d 67 (1984)................ 2

Pickering v. Board of Ed. of Township High

School District 205, Will Co., Ill., 88 S. Ct.

1731, 391 U.S. 563, 20 L. Ed. 2d 811 (1968)...... 9,10

Post v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552

ER UER Me GOIUED Ksicdcticcsnivsdcccnsconsdancusesucnasedemuaenasaaian 7

Sawyer v. County of Creek, 908 F.2d 663 (10th

TIL GRIND ucccncokosuessidnnciindissamanaiiblassaimanmamamnamine aaa 8,9

Umbehr v. McClure, 44 F.3d 876 (10th Cir.

SITE nsendenneeheonaveseusedicunianibigialecbacnmet natn 9,10, 11

Will v. Michigan Department of State Police,

491 U.S. 58, 109 S. Ct. 2304, 105 L. Ed. 2d 45

TEED ssnsasinscnsinasiieenenalaieieiamiinnindichasenemaamaaanaal 2,3

Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28 S. Ct. 441, 52

is ERs. Fe CRIED Nereis cenecconnecndnéuakeasndinmeseeisennmaeaelaan 3

Statutes and Other Authorities Cited

EP NGE A. UF OID sncccocaceceseuceetcceastesasseuusecnaiinaden 14, 18,19

Oe UBC. & LBBB ...ccccccccnccccccconccccccoconscosasscsssuccbucens ae

BU. Be sec tsnsicsitdinislaininitinnienenemeaeneiad 21

42 U.S.C. § 6009, Repealed by Pub. L. 106-402

SP SE Gil vnnidhbicnediisinsictdadeictassentnanceunameseimebalianas 18, 21

GE Go ee ee wrth ctriikcncnstsinnssniontannatins 14, 20

0 Gis oe Pe cocdisencansntnctcnsnntndtenctinsianiiseinaiiabpantimasgnan 2

i Gn, CI. Be easiness niectneaidenssaiceeinitneseneniantones 5

63 Okla. Stat. § 5052(D) (Supp. 2000)....................00. 14

Oklahoma Administrative Code, § 317:2-1-2....... 14, 15

IN THE UNITED STATES

DISTRICT COURT FOR THE

WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

(1) ALFRED MILTON )

EVANS, et al., )

Plaintiff.

V. ) Case No. CIV-01-252-W

(1) MIKE FOGARTY, et ?

al., |

Defendants. )

DEFENDANTS’ MOTION TO DISMISS

AND BRIEF IN SUPPORT

COME NOW the Defendants and respectfully

request this Court to dismiss Plaintiffs’ First

Amended Complaint. Defendants submit the follow-

ing brief in support of this request.

App. 9

BRIEF IN SUPPORT

STATEMENT OF THE CASE

Plaintiffs bring this action pursuant to 42 U.S.C.

§ 1983. The Plaintiffs claim their federal constitu-

tional and statutory rights have been violated by the

Defendants. Plaintiffs ask for injunctive, declaratory

and monetary relief.

PROPOSITION I

THE ELEVENTH AMENDMENT PREVENTS

THIS COURT FROM EXERCISING JURIS-

DICTION OVER STATE OFFICIALS IN THEIR

OFFICIAL CAPACITY WHEN THE PLAINTIFF

IS SEEKING RELIEF OTHER THAN PRO-

SPECTIVE INJUNCTIVE RELIEF.

Plaintiffs have brought suit against all of the

Defendants in their official capacities. It is well

settled that a suit against a person in his or her

official capacity is, in fact, a suit against the entity

itself. As the Supreme Court stated:

Personal-capacity suits seek to impose per-

sonal liability upon a government official for

actions he takes under color of state law. ...

Official-capacity suits, in contrast, “generally

represent only another way of pleading an

action against an entity of which an officer is

an agent.”.... As long as the government

entity receives notice and an opportunity to

respond, an official-capacity suit is, in all re-

spects other than name, to be treated as a

suit against the entity.

App. 10

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 105 S.Ct. 3099, 87

L.Ed.2d 114 (1985). A judgment in a § 1983 action

against an official “in his official capacity” imposes

liability against the entity that he represents. Bran-

don v. Holt, 469 U.S. 464, 105 S.Ct. 873, 83 L.Ed.2d

878 (1985). Because an official capacity suit is, in fact,

a suit against the entity, a plaintiff cannot recover

money damages in such a suit. “Ie Court has held

that, absent waiver by the State or valid congres-

sional override, the Eleventh Arsendment bars a

damages action against a State 1 federal court.”

Kentucky v. Graham, 473 U.S. 159, 105 S.Ct. 3099,

3102, 87 L.Ed.2d 114 (1985). See also, Pennhurst

State School v. Halderman, 465 U.S. 89, 104 S.Ct.

900, 79 L.Ed.2d 67, 78-79 (1984). Here, there has

been no waiver by the State of Oklahoma, Nichols v.

Department of Corrections, 631 P.2d 746 (Okla. 1981),

see also 51 O.S. §§ 151, et seq, and no congressional

override. The Eleventh Amendment bars damages

against the Defendants in their official capacities.

There is a further bar to damages against Defen-

dants in their official capacities. When acting in those

capacities, Defendants are not “persons” within the

meaning of § 1983. The Supreme Court made that

perfectly clear when it wrote: “we hold that neither a

State nor its officials acting in their official capacities

are “persons” under § 1983.” Will v. Michigan De-

partment of State Police, 491 U.S. 58, 109 S. Ct. 2304,

105 L.Ed.2d 45 (1989), the Supreme Court left no

doubt that an official acting in his official capacity is

not a person under § 1983 and is immune from suit

App. 11

by operation of the Eleventh Amendment. The Court

held that:

A state official who is sued in his or her offi-

cial capacity for nonprospective relief is not a

“person” under § 1983, because (1) a state is

not a “person” under § 1983, and (2) a § 1983

suit for nonprospective relief against a state

official in his or her official capacity is not a

suit against the official, but rather is a suit

against the official’s office and, as such, is no

different from a suit against a state itself.

Id., 105 L.Ed.2d at 58.

Generally, a State and its agencies are entitled to

immunity under the Eleventh Amendment for actions

brought in federal courts, whether the action seeks

damages or equitable relief. However, there is an-

other exception to this rule. A party may sue pursu-

ant to Ex Parte Young, 209 U.S. 123, 28S. Ct. 441, 52

L.Ed. 714 (1908). The Ex Parte Young doctrine holds

that the Eleventh Amendment generally does not bar

a suit against a state official in federal court which

seeks only prospective equitable relief for violations of

federal law. In the present case, Plaintiffs seeks [sic]

injunctive, declaratory and monetary relief from

Defendants. The Eleventh Amendment and the

decision in Will both bar Plaintiffs’ claims to the

extent Plaintiffs seeks [sic] relief other that [sic]

prospective injunctive relief. Accordingly, Defendants

are entitled to denial of Plaintiffs’ requested relief.

App. 12

PROPOSITION II

THE PLAINTIFF’S COMPLAINT SHOULD BE

DISMISSED REGARDING COUNTS I, Il & IV

AGAINST DEFENDANTS FOGARTY, FRITZ,

BROWN, AND ALL OHCA BOARD MEMBERS

BECAUSE THE ALLEGATIONS IN THE COM-

PLAINT LACK ANY ALLEGATION OF PER-

SONAL PARTICIPATION AND LACK ANY

SPECIFICITY REGARDING RETALIATION

FOR PLAINTIFFS EVAN’S ALLEGED STATE-

MENTS.

In civil rights matters complaints must contain

specific allegations of fact, which indicate a depriva-

tion of constitutional rights. Alfaro Motors, Inc. v.

Ward, 814 F.2d 883, 887 (2nd Cir. 1987). Allegations

which contain general conclusions that shock a per-

son, but omit specific allegations are not sufficient.

Barr v. Abrams, 810 F.2d 358, 363 (2nd Cir. 1987).

Moreover, it is clear that a civil rights complaint must

allege personal participation by the Defendants to

gain monetary relief. Colon v. Coughlin, 58 F.3d 865,

873 (2nd Cir. 1995). Allegations of respondent [sic]

superior in section 1983 cases are not sufficient to

survive a 12 (b) (6) motion. Monell v. Dept. of Social

Services of the City of New York, 436 U.S. 658, 690-695,

98 S. Ct. 2018, 2035-2039, 56 L. Ed. 2d 611 (1978). A

heightened pleading requirement is required how-

ever, when officials are sued in their individual

capacities. Lee v. County of Los Angeles, 240 F.3d 754

(9th Cir. 2001). See also Branch v. Tunnell, 14 F.3d

449, 450 (9th Cir. 1994). This heightened pleading

App. 13

requirement is especially important when knowledge,

intent, and qualified immunity are possible defenses.

Id.

The Plaintiffs seek monetary damages from the

Defendants in this case. See Relief Requested on page

23 of the Amended Complaint, subsections E and F.

In paragraphs 18 to 31 of the Complaint Plaintiffs

describe Defendants. Defendant Fogarty is described

as CEO of OHCA. Defendant Fritz is described as the

Director of Behavioral Health for OHCA. Defendant

Mitchell is described as the State Medicaid Director.

Defendant Brown is described as the Legislative

Liaison for OHCA. All OHCA Board members are

described. But for Plaintiffs’ allegation that Defen-

dant Mitchell “is responsible for the termination of

the Plaintiffs’ Medicaid provider agreement” there is

nothing but conclusory allegations in the Amended

Complaint.

For example, in paragraph 22 Plaintiff [sic] state,

“Each of these Defendants has taken steps under

color of their official title to exercise the authority

vested in them by the State of Oklahoma for purposes

beyond the bounds of their official duties”. In para-

graphs 43 to 57 labeled “General Factual Allegations”

the Plaintiffs state that “Defendants took this action”,

(paragraph 48), “Defendants notified” (paragraph 48),

“as a result of the actions of Defendants” (paragraph

49) “affiliation ... was discovered by Defendants”

(paragraph 51), “a swarm of auditors from HCA

descended” (paragraph 52), the Defendants were

terminating the Plaintiff’s provider agreement” (para-

graph 55) “The Defendants and the Board members

App. 14

consistently deny reimbursement” (paragraph 56)

and finally “the Defendants action will necessarily

result in the denial of adequate physical facilities”

(paragraph 57).

In not one paragraph of these general allegations

nor any allegation in the Counts later provided by

Plaintiffs, do the Plaintiff [sic] identify which Defen-

dant allegedly retaliated against the Plaintiffs. The

Plaintiffs do not state what knowledge each Defen-

dant had of his public speech. Plaintiff does not allege

that any Defendant had intent to retaliate against

Plaintiff Evans, Plaintiff SOFS, or recipient Plain-

tiffs. In fact, in paragraph 51 Plaintiffs allege (and

this allegation must be taken as true) that Evans

assumed a role with SOFS as a contract consultant

rather than as an owner “to avoid retaliation. '

Given the fact that monetary damages are re-

quested, and that Plaintiffs sue officials of the State

in their individual capacities, and that these officials

have a defense of qualified immunity in this case,

Plaintiffs’ allegations in the Amended Complaint do

not arise to more than conclusory allegations. While

the allegations may shock a reasonable person who

reads them, nothing in the Amended Complaint other

than the allegation that the Medicaid Director termi-

nated a contract shows any retaliatory intent or

knowledge of Mr. Fogarty, Ms. Fritz or Ms. Brown or

* The inference here is that Plaintiff Evans sought to hide

who he was so officials would not retaliate.

App. 15

any Board member. Moreover, given the fact that

legally the OHCA Board has no statutory operational

responsibilities (Contrast 63 Okla. Stat. § 5007 with

5008) Plaintiffs’ allegations that the Board retaliated

must be plead for the Defendants to defend the case.

Plaintiffs’ Complaint fails to specifically plead

personal participation on behalf of the Defendants.

Plaintiffs merely plead general allegations. Accord-

ingly, Plaintiffs’ Complaint does meet the require-

ments necessary to survive a 12(b\(6) motion to

dismiss

PROPOSITION III

DEFENDANTS FOGARTY, FRITZ, MITCHELL

AND BROWN ARE ENTITLED TO QUALIFIED

IMMUNITY, IN THEIR INDIVIDUAL CAPACI-

TIES ON PLAINTIFFS’ FIRST AMENDMENT

CLAIMS.

There is within the jurisprudence of this country

a qualified immunity which shields a public official

from lawsuits. The immunity finds its basis in a balanc-

ing of the interests of the public.” The immunity is an

* As the United States Court of Appeals for the Eleventh

circuit has stated:

Suits against government officials for damages

against them individually are costly not only for the

defendants, but for society as a whole. The social costs

include the expenses of litigation, the diversion of offi-

cial energy from pressing public issues, and the deter-

rence of able citizens from acceptance of public office.

(Continued on following page)

App. 16

“immunity from suit rather than a mere defense to

liability.” Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S. 224, 116 L.Ed.2d

589, 595 (1991) (emphasis supplied). As this is an

immunity from suit, the United States Supreme

Court has repeatedly stressed the importance of

resolving immunity questions at the earliest possible

stage in litigation. Id.

Qualified immunity, according to the United

States Supreme Court, holds that government offi-

cials performing discretionary functions are shielded

from liability for civil damages insofar as their con-

duct does not violate “clearly established” statutory or

constitutional rights of which a reasonable person

would have known. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S.

800, 818, 102 S. Ct. 2727, 73 L.Ed.2d 396 (1982). As a

result;

[t]he qualified immunity standard gives am-

ple room for mistaken judgments by protect-

ing all but the plainly incompetent or those

who knowingly violate the law. The accom-

modation for reasonable error exists because

officials should not err always on the side of

caution because they fear being sued.

Qualified immunity recognizes that where an official’s

duties legitimately require action in which clearly es-

tablished rights are not implicated, the public interest

may be better served by action taken with independ-

ence and without fear of consequences.

Post v. City of Fort Lauderdale, 7 F.3d 1552, 1556 (11th Cir

1993) (internal citations omitted).

App. 17

Hunter v. Bryant, 502 U.S. __, 116 L.Ed.2d 589, 596

(1991).

The procedure for analyzing a defense of qualified

immunity is as follows:

Once the defendant raises a qualified immu-

nity defense, the plaintiff assumes the bur-

den of showing that the defendant violated

the clearly established law. To overcome the

qualified immunity defense, the Plaintiff

must identify a clearly established statutory

or constitutional right of which a reasonable

person would have known, and then allege

facts to show that the defendant’s conduct

violated that right.

Breidenbach v. Bolish, 126 F.3d 1288, 1291 (10th Cir.

1997)

A. Presumption in favor of Qualified Immu-

nity.

There exists a presumption of qualified immunity in

favor of the Defendants. Even defendants who violate

constitutional rights enjoy a qualified immunity that

protects them from a suit for damages unless it is

further demonstrated that their conduct was unrea-

sonable under the applicable standard. Davis uv.

Scherer, 468 U.S. 183, 190, 104 S.Ct. 3012, 82 L.Ed.2d

139, 147 (1984).

App. 18

B. Plaintiffs Burden.

Once the defendant raises qualified immunity,

the plaintiff must come forward with additional

allegations. Sawyer v. County of Creek, 908 F.2d 663,

665 (10th Cir. 1990). The Tenth Circuit has stated

that a plaintiff cannot meet his burden to demon-

strate that the right in question was clearly estab-

lished by “merely identifying a clearly established

right and then alleging that the defendant has vio-

lated it. The contours of the right must be sufficiently

clear that a reasonable official would understand

what he is doing violates that right.” Jd. at 666. “Once

a qualified immunity defense has been raised ... , the

plaintiff is held to a heightened standard of pleading.”

Id. at 667. See also, Breidenbach v. Bolish, supra at

1292.

The burden is on the Plaintiff to both plead and

prove that federal rights were clearly established and

that a violation of those clearly established rights

occurred. Applewhite v. U.S. Air Force, 995 F.2d 997,

1000-01 (10th Cir. 1993). The “clearly established”

standard is difficult for a plaintiff to meet. Medina v.

City and County of Denver, 960 F.2d 1493, 1498-99

(10th Cir. 1992). “Clearly established” is predicated

on a finding that “in light of pre-existing law the

unlawfulness is apparent.” Anderson v. Creighton,

483 U.S. 635, 640, 107 S. Ct. 3034, 97 L. Ed. 2d 523

(1987). Plaintiff must show that a reasonable person

would have understood that his actions violated

clearly established federal rights. Jantz v. Muci, 976

F.2d 623, 627 (10th Cir. 1992). Failure to convince the

App. 19

court that the law was clearly established calls for

the dismissal of the complaint with prejudice, Sawyer,

supra, at 667; or entry of judgment for the defen-

dants. Hidahl v. Gilpin County DSS, 938 F.2d 1150,

1155 (10th Cir. 1991).

C. How “clear” must the law be to be “Clearly

established?”

In determining whether the law is clearly estab-

lished, the 10th Circuit has stated that: for the law to

be clearly established, there must be a Supreme

Court or Tenth Circuit decision on point, or the

clearly established weight of authority from other

courts must have found the law to be as the plaintiff

maintains.” Medina v. City and County of Denver, 960

F.2d 1493, 1498 (10th Cir. 1992) (citation omitted).

D. State of the “clearly established” law relat-

ing to the First Amendment protections of

a government contractor.

In the case of Board of County Com’rs, Wabaun-

see County, Kan v. Umbehr, 116 S.Ct. 2342, 518 U.S.

668, 135 L.Ed.2d 843 (1996), the Supreme Court

addressed the issue of the level of First Amendment

protection a government contractor may claim. The

Court ruled that government contractors are entitled

to First Amendment protections, subject to applica-

tion of the balancing test set out in Pickering v. Board

of Ed. of Township High School Dist. 205, Will Co.,

App. 20

Ill., 88 S.Ct. 1731, 391 U.S. 563, 20 L.Ed.2d

811(1968). However, the Umbehr Court refused to

establish a bright line rule for establishing a govern-

ment contractors First Amendment protections.

In the Pickering case the Court held that a

government employee has First Amendment protec-

tions when speaking about the governmental em-

ployer. However, the Pickering Court did not establish

a bright line rule that all speech of a gove "nmental

employee is protected. The Court established a bal-

ancing test that requires the reviewing court to weigh

the interests of the employee against the interest of

the government. In Pickering the Court stated;

[Wje do not deem it either appropriate or

feasible to attempt to lay down a general

standard against which all statements may

be judged.... However, in the course of

evaluating the conflicting claims of First

Amendment protection ..., we shall indicate

some of the general lines along which an

analysis of the controlling interests should

”

run.

Pickering at 1735.

The Supreme Court in Pickering clearly estab-

lished that government employees have First

Amendment Protection sometimes, but the Court was

not sure exactly when those times are, so it estab-

lished a test for the reviewing courts to utilize on a

case by case basis.

App. 21

The Umbehr Court adopted the “general lines” of

the Pickering Court and said that this will be the test

for evaluating a government contractors First Amend-

ment Protections. The Umbehr Court stated;.

We therefore see no reason to believe that

proper application of the Pickering balancing

test cannot accommodate the differences be-

tween employees and independent contrac-

tors. There is ample reason to believe that

such a nuanced approach, which recognizes

the variety of interests that may arise in in-

dependent contractor cases, is superior to a

bright-line rule distinguishing independent

contractors from employees.

Umbehr at 2349.

To make this perfectly clear. It has been clearly

established by the United States Supreme Court, that

when evaluating a government contractors First

Amendment protections that the reviewing court is to

utilize a nuanced approach with no bright line rule

that recognizes the variety of interests that may arise

in independent contractor cases, however there is not

a general standard against which all statements may

be judged.

The Tenth Circuit ruled that the defendants were

entitled to qualified immunity in their individual

capacities due to the uncertainty of the law in the

area of a government contractor’s First Amendment

protections. Umbehr v. McClure, 44 F.3d 876 (10th

App. 22

Cir. 1995).° This decision was made before the nu-

anced approach of Board of County Com’rs, Wabaun-

see County, Kan v. Umbehr, 116 S.Ct. 2342, 518 U.S.

668, 135 L.Ed.2d 843 (1996) was established. How-

ever, the law in the area of a government contractor’s

First Amendment protection is still very unclear.

Just last year the Eleventh Circuit granted

qualified immunity to government employees, sued in

their individual capacity, by a government employee,

that claimed her First Amendment rights had been

violated. The Court stated:

Because the analysis of First Amendment re-

taliation claims under the Pickering-Connick

test “involve[s] legal determinations that are

intensely fact-specific and do not lend them-

selves to clear, bright-line rules ... a defen-

dant in a First Amendment suit will only

rarely be on notice that his actions are

unlawful.”

Maggio v. Sipple, 211 F.3d 1346, 1354 (11th Cir. 2000)

citing Martin v. Baugh, 141 F.3d 1417, 1420 (llth

Cir.1998).

The United States Supreme Court and the fed-

eral courts of appeal struggle when evaluating First

Amendment claims by government employees and

’ This is the case that was appealed in Board of County

Com'rs, Wabaunsee County, Kan v. Umbehr, 116 S.Ct. 2342, 518

U.S. 668, 135 L.Ed.2d 843 (1996), however the issue of qualified

immunity was not appealed. See Umbehr at 2346.

App. 23

government contractors. If the justices in the highest

courts in the land have difficulty determining this

issue it is reasonable to assume that employees of the

Oklahoma Health Care Authority will have difficulty.

It has not been clearly established that Plaintiffs are

entitled to First Amendment protections.

E. Motion to Dismiss and Qualified Immunity.

The only thing that is clear in the present case is

that the Defendants are entitled to qualified immu-

nity. The United States Supreme Court cannot de-

termine with certainty when a government contractor

is entitled to First Amendment protections. Defen-

dants, Fogarty, Fritz, Mitchell and Brown are

shielded from liability for civil damages because their

conduct did not violate “clearly established” statutory

or constitutional rights of which a reasonable person

would have known. Harlow v. Fitzgerald, 457 U.S.

800, 818, 102 S.Ct. 2727, 73 L.Ed.2d 396 (1982).

Accordingly, Defendants Fogarty, Fritz, Mitchell and

Brown are entitled to qualified immunity.

PROPOSITION IV

THE COURT SHOULD ABSTAIN FROM DE-

CIDING PLAINTIFF’S CLASS CLAIMS BASED

UPON THE BURFORD ABSTENTION DOC-

TRINE.

In Counts II, VI, VII, and VIII, the Plaintiffs

bring class claims against the Defendants. See Para-

graph 38 of Amended Complaint. More specifically, in

App. 24

Count II the Plaintiffs allege a violation of their First

Amendment Rights (a disruption of services, para. 67

of Amended Complaint); in Count VI the Plaintiffs

allege that they are denied reasonable access to and

adequate quality of care (the denial of reimbursement

and arbitrary and capricious termination of contract

of SOFS, para. 87 of Amended Complaint); in Count

VIi they allege a violation of amount, scope and

duration (significantly disrupted services ... deemed

to be medically necessary, para. 95 of Amended Com-

plaint); and in Count VIII they claim a violation of

the Developmental Disabilities Assistance Act (termi-

nation of treatment by certain clinicians and lack of

other treatment, para. 103 of Amended Complaint).

In all these claims the Plaintiff Class asserts that the

disruption or elimination of medically necessary

services or inadequate reimbursement at SOFS will

damage them.

In the case of Burford v. Sun Oil Co., 319 USS.

315, 63 S.Ct. 1098, 87 L.Ed. 1424 (1943), the United

States Supreme Court considered an appeal from the

Fifth Circuit Court of Appeals regarding an adminis-

trative order from the Railroad Commission. In this

case, the Railroad Commission had issued a permit to

drill four (4) oil wells on the east Texas field. The

jurisdiction of the Court was based upon diversity of

citizenship and the challenge to the Order was based

upon alleged due process improprieties in the issu-

ance of the Order. The Supreme Court assumed

jurisdiction was proper but decided as a matter of

sound equitable discretion to abstain from deciding

App. 25

the case. The Court’s reasoning was that the com-

plexities of Texas’ oil and gas law dictated that the

federal court abstain from deciding the case. More-

over, the Court found Texas had a well-organized

system of regulation and review. The review process

was legislated to prevent multiple courts from decid-

ing oil and gas issues.

The theoretical underpinnings of the Burford

doctrine has been described in the case of Bethphage

Lutheran Service, Inc. v. Weicker, 965 F.2d 1239, 1243

(2nd Cir. 1992) as follows:

The Supreme Court has characterized Bur-

ford abstention as appropriate where the ex-

ercise of federal review of the question in a

case and in similar cases would be disruptive

of state efforts to establish a coherent policy

with respect to a matter of substantial public

concern. We have held that the aim of Bur-

ford abstention is to “avoid resolving difficult

state law issues involving important public

policies or avoid interfering with state efforts

to maintain a coherent policy in an area of

comprehensive regulation or administra-

tion,” (“[A]bstention pursuant to Burford is

designed to avoid federal court interference

with specialized ongoing state regulatory

schemes... ”).

The Burford doctrine underpinnings has [sic] been

recognized as applicable in the Medicaid program in

the case of Osteopathic Hospital Founders Assn., Inc.

vu. Splinter, 955 F. Supp. 1351 (N.D. Okla. 1996). In

this case the United States District Court for the

App. 26

Northern District of Oklahoma held that the Burford

abstention doctrine applied to a Medicaid reim-

bursement case in which the Plaintiff hospital sought

injunctive relief in higher reimbursement rates from

the Oklahoma Health Care Authority. The Osteo-

pathic Hospital court considered four questions to

determine the applicability of the Burford doctrine:

(1) did the Medicaid regulations provide a compre-

hensive statutory framework to formulate policy and

decide cases; (2) was there a state scheme of regula-

tion that should be properly interpreted by a state

agency; (3) was the subject matter in Medicaid an

area of legitimate state interest; and (4) was the issue

one of complex and difficult state law.

In the present case this Court should find that

the Burford abstention doctrine applies to dismiss the

claims of the class members. First, a complex statu-

tory framework in Medicaid currently exists for

clients who have services denied, services suspended,

or are denied services because of medical necessity

decisions. This regulatory scheme is broadly defined

by federal law and carried out by the Defendants

through the Oklahoma Administrative Procedures

Act. Under 42 U.S.C. § 13896A(a) (3) and 42 C.FR.

§ 431.210 evidentiary hearings must be conducted for

those whose services are denied or suspended. See also

OAC (Oklahoma Administrative Code) § 317:2-1-2.*

* Under OHCA’s administrative rules, if the case involves a

recipient then a “Program Panel” of agency experts hears the

case before an evidentiary hearing is held. OAC 317: 2-1-2.2.

App. 27

After an administrative hearing, review under state

law exists with the Chief Executive Officer of the

Oklahoma Health Care Authority and the state

district court. 63 Okla.Stat. § 5052(D) (Supp. 2000).

Under this complex process there are three levels of

agency administrative review (the Program Panel,

the ALJ and the CEO) as well as state district court

review. Under the second factor for abstention to

apply, the Court should find that the agency should

be given the authority to interpret its regulations in

the Medicaid program. As for adequacy of rates, the

Osteopathic case specifically noted the state’s need to

control reimbursement and the problem with divisive

reimbursement rates possibly caused by federal court

judgments. More importantly here, questions sur-

rounding the medical necessity of services and the

adequacy of services, quality of services and the

denial of services are best left to the judgment of the

state agency. The uniformity of these decisions is

imperative for the Medicaid agency to properly ad-

minister the State Plan. With respect to the third

factor in applying the Burford doctrine, the Court

should find that the state remedy is available to each

recipient named by the Plaintiff and the remedy is

afforded each recipient. Finally, regarding the fourth

prong of the test to apply the Burford doctrine, the

Court should find the question regarding what care is

medically necessary and whether there is disruption

of services due to the termination of one service

provider are complex questions which require the

application of Medicaid law. As the Court is aware by

the pleadings, each of the recipients has a different

App. 28

disease, a different treatment course and a different

set of both pharmacological needs, as well as therapy

needs. Each of these cases is best left to state officials

who can devote its administrative process to develop

the facts to entertain the complaints of the Plaintiffs.

Based on the complexity of the federal law in this

case and state remedy afforded each recipient, this

Court should dismiss the claims of the class because

of the Burford abstention doctrine.

PROPOSITION V

THE COURT SHOULD DISMISS COUNT III

BECAUSE THERE IS NO CONSTITUTIONAL

PROPERTY INTEREST THAT WOULD NECES-

SITATE DUE PROCESS RIGHTS TO PLAIN-

TIFFS.

In Count III of the Amended Complaint Plaintiff

asserts that “Plaintiff had a clearly established

property interest in the facilities operated by SOFS

and in the continued operation of business at those

facilities. This includes the continued receipt of

Medicaid reimbursement.” See Amended Complaint,

para. 68. Plaintiff also asserts that this right was

taken without due process, and without any rational

basis. See Amended Complaint para. 73.

The contract between the Health Care Authority

and SOFS involves no constitutionally protected

property interest in the Medicaid program. |

App. 29

The law in this area of Medicaid is clear and

longstanding. In the case of Geriatrics, Inc. v. Harris,

640 F.2d 262 (10th Cir. 1981) (cert. denied 454 U:S.

832, 70 L.Ed. 2d 109, 102 S.Ct. 129) the United

States Court of Appeals for the Tenth Circuit consid-

ered a case in which the Colorado Medicaid agency

decided not to renew a Medicaid contract to a nursing

home. The claim of the plaintiff in the case was that

the State of Colorado could not fail to renew the

contract without a hearing and due process. The

allegations of the Plaintiffs in this case are very

similar to the allegations in the Amended Complaint

in this case. The Tenth Circuit stated,

Eventide assets that it had an expectation of

continued participation in the Medicaid Pro-

gram and this was a “property interest” to be

protected under due process. Also, that it had

more than a unilateral claim or mere expec-

tance.

Geriatrics, Inc. 640 F.2d at 265.

In finding no property interest protectable under

the United States Constitution, or federal Medicaid

statutes, the Court stated:

Eventide is not the intended beneficiary of

the Medicaid program. Instead, the purpose

underlying the funding program is to extend

financial benefits to the patients eligible to

receive their medical care at government ex-

pense. Eventide argues also that termination

of benefits would force the Home to close and

that it therefore has a significant financial

App. 30

interest to retain its certification. The

Home’s financial need for government as-

sisted patients is incidental to the purpose

and design of the program. Eventide’s oper-

ating license has not been resided and it may

still operate as a nursing home and render

care to private-pay patients. The unfortunate

reality that it will probably encounter diffi-

culty operating at capacity is not of constitu-

tional significance.

Geriatrics, Inc. v. Harris, 640 F.2d 262, 265 (10th Cir.

1981).

Similarly, in the case of Kelly Care, LTD. v.

O’Rourke, 751 F.Supp. 1154 (S.D. N.Y. 1990) (aff’d at

930 F.2d 170, cert. denied 502 U.S. 907, 116 L.ED. 2d

244, 112 S.Ct. 300) The State of New York cancelled

the contract with the provider, giving the provider

notice for a non-cause termination for personal care

services to Medicaid recipients. The Plaintiffs sued

the state and alleged that its due process rights were

violated and requested injunctive relief under consti-

tutional and federal law. The Plaintiffs also alleged

that a constitutional liberty interest was raised by

the mere implication that the termination of a con-

tract had negative implications. The Court rejected

both arguments finding no property or liberty interest

claim.

While it is unclear what plaintiffs in the

Amended complaint have this due process interest,

like Plaintiff SOFS and Plaintiff Evans, no Medicaid

recipient has any protectable life, liberty, or property

App. 31

interest in receiving services from a particular pro-

vider after being transferred from one Medicaid

provider to another. O’Bannon v. Town Court Nursing

Center, 447 U.S. 773, 785, 65 L.ED. 2d 506, 518, 100

S. Ct. 2467 (1980).

In the present case, the Court should dismiss

Count III from the Amended Complaint against all

Defendants. Plaintiffs have no protectable property or

liberty claim in the contract with OHCA.

PROPOSITION VI

THE COURT SHOULD DISMISS PLAINTIFF’S

CLAIMS IN COUNT V BECAUSE PLAINTIFFS

DO NOT STATE A CLAIM UPON WHICH RE-

LIEF CAN BE GRANTED.

In Count V of the Amended Complaint Plaintiffs

continue to allege that Defendants violated 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396 A (a)(13) with regard to adequate reimburse-

ment. Plaintiffs simply assert that Defendants cir-

cumvented and ignored the “proper method” to set

reimbursement rates. Further, the Plaintiff’s claim

reimbursement has been denied them during their

course of business.

Nowhere in the Amended Complaint does Plain-

tiff state what basis in law the reimbursement rates

were set improperly, or how reimbursement has been

denied. If the Court were to accept Plaintiff’s allega-

tions as true, no violations of law would occur. First,

42 U.S.C. § 1396 A (a)(13) was repealed in 1997. See

Section 4711 of (a) of Pub. L. 105-33 (1997). See also

App. 32

Page 12 of the Court’s Order dated February 12,

2001. Despite the Court’s finding the Plaintiff contin-

ues to assert the claim.

Second, the current version of 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396 A (a) (13) does not protect Plaintiff’s business.

It provides,

for a public process for determination of

rates of payment under the plan for hospital

services, nursing facility services, and ser-

vices of intermediate care facilities for the

mentally retarded. . .

Plaintiff is not a hospital, a nursing facility or an

intermediate care facility for the mentally retarded.

See paragraphs 6,7, and 8, Amended Complaint.

Because this statute does not afford Plaintiffs any

protection and the Plaintiff has failed to identify any

other state or federal law which dictates how Plaintiff

is protected by the setting of rates, the claims in

Count V should be dismissed.

PROPOSITION VII

PLAINTIFF CLAIMS IN VII SHOULD BE DIS-

MISSED BECAUSE BASED UPON THE MEDI-

CAID REQUIREMENTS OF AMOUNT, SCOPE

AND DURATION NO VIOLATION OF LAW

CAN OCCUR ASSUMING THE ALLEGATIONS

IN THE COMPLAINT ARE TRUE.

The Plaintiff in paragraphs 43 to paragraph 57

allege that in retaliation of Mr. Evan’s First Amend-

ment rights, OHCA cancelled the contracts of two (2)

App. 33

behavioral health facilities. Based upon this single

set of facts, in paragraphs 92 to 99 Plaintiffs assert

that “amount, scope, and duration” of services has

been violated. More specifically, Plaintiffs allege that,

“the termination of the SOFS Medicaid provider

agreement will significantly and drastically reduce

the availability of mental health and behavioral

health services in Southeastern Oklahoma.” Also,

Plaintiffs allege that “Defendants actions have dis-

rupted services or will lead to grossly unequal ser-

vices.” Based upon the Amended Complaint all of

Plaintiff’s charges are based upon SOFS’ termination

as a provider.

Under the Medicaid Act the requirement of

amount, scope and duration is found at 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396 A(a) (10) (B). This statute provides that the

medical assistance made available to any individual

described in subparagraph (A) (those who are cate-

gorically or medically needy) “shall not be less in

amount, duration, or scope than the medical assis-

tance made available to any other such individ-

ual....” The federal regulation underlying this

federal law requirement provides:

The plan must specify the amount, duration,

and scope of each service that it provides

for —

(1) The categorically needy; and

(2) Each covered group of medically needy.

App. 34

Each service must be sufficient in amount,

duration, and scope to reasonably achieve its

purpose

The Medicaid Agency may not arbitrarily

deny or reduce the amount, duration, or

scope of a required service under §§ 440,210

and 440,220 to an otherwise eligible recipi-

ent solely because of the diagnosis, type of

illness, or condition.

The agency may place appropriate limits on

a service based on such criteria as medical

necessity or on utilization control procedures.

The Plaintiff’s claim should be dismissed on this

claim because the sole claim of the Plaintiff is the

absence of SOFS’s participation in the program

somehow violates the amount, scope and duration

requirement. The requirement of amount, scope, and

duration in the Medicaid program involves a re-

quirement of services in the “State Plan”. Both the

requirement of statute and the regulation begins

with, “the Stete Plan or the plan must”. The State

Plan is the agency’s blueprint for the services it

covers. See 42 CFR § 431.40 and 431.50. There is not

a single allegation in the Amended Complaint, in all

103 paragraphs regarding the State Plan and how it

denies any recipient services. Assuming allegations in

the Complaint are true, nothing in the state plan

denies any recipient any service. Furthermore, every

case Defendant’s counsel could find construing the

amount, scope, and duration requirement involves

the systemic denial of a certain service to a recipient

App. 35

not a denial of one provider’s contract. For example,

in Hern v. Beye, 57 F.3d 906 (10th Cir. 1995) the

Tenth Circuit Court of Appeals considered the State

of Colorado’s systemic restriction of abortion services.

In DeSario v. Thomas, 139 F.3d 80 (2nd Cir.1998) the

Second Circuit considered Connecticut’s systemic use

of a list to allow or disallow durable medical equip-

ment services. In Ledet v. Fischer, 638 F. Supp1288

(M.D. La. 1986) the Court considered the State of

Louisiana’s plan which limited services to one pair of

glasses after cataract surgery. In none of these cases,

or any case construing this section of the law is

amount, scope or duration violated by the absence of

one or two contractors in the Medicaid Program.

Based upon all of the allegations in Count VII of the

Amended Complaint Plaintiffs have not stated a

claim upon which relief can be granted.

PROPOSITION VIII

PLAINTIFF’S CLAIM UNDER COUNT VIII

FOR A VIOLATION OF 42 U.S.C. § 6009

SHOULD BE DISMISSED BECAUSE THIS

LAW HAS BEEN REPEALED.

In paragraphs 100 to 103 of the Amended Com-

plaint the Plaintiffs allege that 42 U.S.C. § 6009 was

violated by Plaintiff’s ability to no longer receive

services at SOFS. As the Court pointed out in its

order of February 12, 2001, 42 U.S.C. § 6009 was

repealed by Public law No. 106-402 § 1401 (a). Even

prior to the repeal of this law, the United States

Supreme Court ruled that the Bill of Rights did not

App. 36

confer any substantive rights to treatment for dis-

abled persons and that Congress had unconstitution-

ally attempted to exert its power under the spending

clause by enacting the law. Pennhurst State School &

Hospital v. Halderman, 451 U.S. 1, 18, 101 S.Ct.

1531, 67 L.Ed. 2d 694, 708 (1981). For these reasons,

the claims in Count VIII should be dismissed.

PROPOSITION Ix

THE CLASS PLAINTIFFS’ FREEDOM OF

ASSOCIATION CLAIM IS WITHOUT MERIT.

Count II of Plaintiffs’ Complaint proposes that

the alleged retaliation by the Defendants violates the

class Plaintiffs’ First Amendment right of freedom of

association. The question is, freedom to associate

with whom? The class Plaintiffs do not assemble as a

group for purposes of associating to advocate mental

health rights. The class Plaintiffs individually seek

treatment for behavioral health issues. Likewise, the

class Plaintiffs do not associate with SOFS as a group

for the purpose of exchanging ideas. Plaintiffs go to

SOFS for treatment. The First Amendment protects

certain intimate human relationships as well as the

right to associate for the purpose of engaging in those

expressive activities otherwise protected by the

Constitution. Freeman v. City of Santa Anna, 68 F.3d

1180, 1188 (9th Cir. 1995).

The class Plaintiffs have not been deprived of an

associational right guaranteed by the Constitution.

App. 37

Accordingly, Count II of Plaintiffs’ Complaint should

be dismissed.

PROPOSITION X

THE CLASS PLAINTIFFS’ CLAIM FOR REA-

SONABLE ACCESS AND ADEQUATE QUALITY

IS WITHOUT MERIT.

The class Plaintiffs allege, at Count VI of the

Complaint, that they have been denied access to

Medicaid services and certain levels of quality in

care. At paragraph 87 of the Complaint Plaintiffs

claim that the denial of services was caused by the

“denial of reasonable and adequate reimbursement to

healthcare providers and the arbitrary and capricious

termination of SOFS’ Medicaid provider agreement.”

See paragraph 87 of Plaintiffs’ Complaint. These facts

to not give rise to a cause of action. SOFS’ Medicaid

provider agreement has not been terminated. In

addition, Plaintiffs argument as to denial of reason-

able and adequate reimbursement is the same argu-

ment mad [sic] at Count V of Plaintiffs’ Complaint.

Defendant has briefed the reasons why County [sic] V

of Plaintiffs’ Complaint should be dismissed at Propo-

sition VI of this brief. The same argument applies to

Plaintiffs’ reasonable and adequate reimbursement

argument in Count VI of the Complaint. Accordingly,

Count VI of Plaintiffs’ Complaint should be dis-

missed.

App. 38

CONCLUSION

Wherefore based on the foregoing arguments and

authorities Defendants respectfully request this

Court to dismiss Plaintiff’s Complaint and award

Defendants a reasonable attorney’s fee; plus any

other relief this Court deems just and proper.

Respectfully submitted,

/s/ Greg S. Eldridge

GREG S. ELDRIDGE, OBA #14950

ASSISTANT ATTORNEY GENERAL

LITIGATION SECTION

4545 North Lincoln Blvd., Ste. 260

Oklahoma City, OK 73105-3498

(405) 521-4274 FAX 528-1867

and

HOWARD J. POLLOTTA

GENERAL COUNSEL

OKLAHOMA HEALTH CARE

AUTHORITY

P.O. DRAWER 18497

OKLAHOMA CITY, OK 73154-0497

ATTORNEYS FOR DEFENDANTS

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

On this 4th day of April, 2001, a true and correct

copy of the foregoing was filed and mailed, postage

prepaid, to:

App. 39

Michael S. Ashworth

Steven E. Holden

Bruce A. McKenna

Stephen J. Capron

9 Fast Fourth Street, Suite 200

Tulsa, OK 74103

Steven A. Novick

Attorney at Law

1717 South Cheyenne Center

Tulsa, OK 74119-4611

/s/ Greg S. Eldridge

GREG S. ELDRIDGE

App. 40

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT OF OKLAHOMA

(1) ALFRED MILTON

EVANS, an individual,

and (2) SOUTHEASTERN

OKLAHOMA FAMILY

SERVICES. INC.,

a corporation,

Plaintiffs,

) Case No.

vs. ) CIV-01-252-HE

(1) MIKE FOGARTY, in his ) (Consolidated

individual capacity, as well) Case Number)

as in his official capacity

as Chief Executive Officer

for the Oklahoma Health

Care Authority, (2) TERRI

FRITZ, in her individual

capacity, as well as in

her official capacity as

Director of Behavioral

Health for the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority,

(3) DR. LYNN MITCHELL,

in her individual capacity,

as well as in her official

capacity as State Medicaid

Director for the Oklahoma ?

Health Care Authority,

(4) DANA BROWN, in her

individual capacity, as well )

as in her official capacity )

as Legislative Liaison from )

the Oklahoma Health Care )

Neel Ne Ne Nee es ee”

Nee Nee eee eee Nee Ne es”

App. 41

Authority, (5) JANA LEA

WEBB, in her individual

capacity, as well as in

her official supervisory

capacity on behalf of

the Oklahoma Health

Care Authority, (6) T.J.

BRICKNER, JR., in his

official capacity as Vice-

Chairman of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority, )

(7) RONALD ROUNDS, O.D.,)

in his official capacity as a )

member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(8) WAYNE HOFFMAN, )

in his official capacity as_ )

a member of the Oklahoma )

)

)

)

)

)

Nee Nee Nee ee Nee ee Nee ee ee”

Health Care Authority

Board of Directors,

(9) JERRY HUMBLE,

in his official capacity as

a member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(10) CHARLES ED McFALL,)

in his official capacity as_)

Chairman of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(11) GEORGE MILLER, )

in his official capacity as_)

a member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

App. 42

Board of Directors, )

(12) LYLE ROGGOW, )

in his official capacity as_)

a member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, and )

OKLAHOMA FOUNDATION)

FOR MEDICAL QUALITY, )

INC.,

Defendants.

and

(1) RUSTLING WINDS,

INC., an Oklahoma corpo-

ration, (2) TEN-KILLER

BEHAVIORAL SERVICES,

INC., an Oklahoma corpo-

ration, (3) MORNING

STAR MENTAL HEALTH

SERVICES, INC., an

Oklahoma corporation,

(4) DIVERSIFIED FAMILY

SERVICES, INC., an

Oklahoma corporation,

(5) SERENITY SPRINGS

MENTAL HEALTH SER-

VICES, L.L.C., an Okla-

homa limited Liability

company, (6) JCH INCOR-

PORATED, an Oklahoma

corporation, (7) NORTH-

EAST OKLAHOMA, INC.,

an Oklahoma corporation,

(8) DAVETTA McINTOSH,

an individual, (9) NEAL

i a ee ae oe a a a a a a ee a a a a a a a a ee ee

App. 43

THRIFT, an individual,

(10) NANCY GRAVES-

THRIFT, an individual,

(11) JOHN MAJORS,

an individual, (12) CINDY

MAJORS, an individual,

(13) CHARLES PARK-

HURST, an individual,

(14) MARY PARKHURST,

an individual, (15) LEROY

WHEELER, an individual,

(16) EDNA KEATON, an

individual, and (17) JOEL

HOLCOMB, an individual,

Plaintiffs,

Vv. ) Case No.

(1) MIKE FOGARTY, in his ) CIV-01-557-HE

individual capacity, as well

as in his official capacity

as Chief Executive Officer

for the Oklahoma Health

Care Authority, (2) TERRI

FRITZ, in her individual

capacity, as well as in

her official capacity as

Director of Behavicral

Health for the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority,

(3) DR. LYNN MITCHELL,

in her individual capacity,

as well as in her official

capacity as State Medicaid )

Director for the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority, )

New Ne Ne Ne eee eee eee ee ee” “ee”

Nee Nee eee eee ees ee”

App. 44

(4) DANA BROWN, inher )

individual capacity, as well )

as in her official capacity )

as Legislative Liaison from )

the Oklahoma Health Care )

Authority, (5) JANA LEA

WEBB, in her individual

capacity, as well as in

her official supervisory

capacity on behalf of

the Oklahoma Health

Care Authority, (6) T..J.

BRICKNER, JR.., in his

official capacity as Vice-

Chairman of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority, )

(7) RONALD ROUNDS, O.D.,)

in his official capacity as a )

member of the Oklahoma _)

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(8) WAYNE HOFFMAN, )

in his official capacity as _)

a member of the Oklahoma )

)

)

)

)

=

Newel Ne Nee eee” “ee”

Health Care Authority

Board of Directors,

(9) JERRY HUMBLE,

in his official capacity as

a member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(10) CHARLES ED McFALL,)

in his official capacity as_)

Chairman of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(11) GEORGE MILLER, )

in his official capacity as_)

a member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, )

(12) LYLE ROGGOW, )

in his official capacity as_ )

a member of the Oklahoma )

Health Care Authority )

Board of Directors, and )

OKLAHOMA FOUNDATION )

FOR MEDICAL QUALITY, )

INC., )

Defendants.

STATE DEFENDANTS’

ANSWER TO THIRD AMENDED COMPLAINT

(Filed Jul. 17, 2002)

1. Defendants Mike Fogarty, Terri Fritz, Dr. Lynn

Mitchell, Dana Brown, Jana Lea Webb, T.dJ.

Brickner, Jr., Ronald Rounds, O.D., Wayne Hoff-

man, Jerry Humble, Charles Ed McFall, Wayne

Hoffman, George Miller, and Lyle Roggow (State

Defendants hereafter) deny each and every alle-

gation in Plaintiffs’ Third Amended Complaint

(Complaint) except as_ specifically admitted

herein.

2. State Defendants admit this action is brought

pursuant to 42 USC § 1983 but deny the remain-

ing allegations in Complaint q 1.

10.

App. 46

State Defendants admit Complaint {q 3, 4, 5, 7,

9,10, 11, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 24, and 31.

State Defendants are without knowledge or

information sufficient to admit or deny Com-

plaint {{ 6, 33, 34, 38, and 39 and therefore deny

the same.

Complaint 4 8 requires no response

State Defendants admit Dana Brown is an Okla-

homa resident employed by the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority (OHCA) as a Governmen-

tal Relations Director but deny the remaining al-

legations in Complaint 4 12.

State Defendants admit Jana Lea Webb is

an Oklahoma resident employed by OHCA as

Supervisor of the Surveillance Utilization and

Review Subsystem but deny the remaining alle-

gations in Complaint { 13.

State Defendants admit this action is brought

against Fogarty, Fritz, Mitchell, Brown and Webb

in their individual and official capacities and that

they acted under color of state law but deny the

remaining allegations in Complaint { 14.

The Oklahoma Foundation for Medical Quality,

Inc. (OFMQ) has been dismissed from this action;

therefore, State Defendants deny Complaint

q 23.

Complaint 74 28, 29, 30, and 66 are statements

of law to which no response is required.

1l.

12.

13.

14.

15.

App. 47

State Defendants admit Plaintiff Milton Evans

lobbied the Oklahoma Legislature but are with-

out sufficient knowledge or information to admit

or deny the remaining allegations in Complaint

{ 35 and therefore deny the same.

State Defendants admit the Medicaid contract of

Texoma Mental Health Services, Inc., was not

renewed beyond thirty days but deny the remain-

ing allegations in Complaint 36.

State Defendants admit OHCA notified Plaintiff

Southeastern Oklahoma Family Services, Inc.,

that its Medicaid contract would be terminated

pursuant to the contract’s without cause termina-

tion procedures. State Defendants deny the re-

maining allegations in Complaint { 43.

Defendants Fogarty, Mitchell, Fritz, Brown and

_ Webb deny they denied reimbursement of any

kind to Plaintiffs. Defendants Brickner, Rounds,

Hoffman, Humble, McFall, Miller, Roggow admit

that acting as the OHCA Board of Directors they

do not reimburse private providers of behavioral

health services at a greater rate than Community

Mental Health Centers. State Defendants deny

the remaining allegations in Complaint q 44.

State Defendants admit private providers of

behavioral health services are paid only for those

services approved for Medicaid recipients prior to

the giving of services. State Defendants deny the

remaining allegations in Complaint ¥ 56.

App. 48

AFFIRMATIVE DEFENSES

Plaintiffs fail to state a cause of action for which

relief may be granted.

State Defendants have immunity from liability

for the actions alleged.

The actions are barred by the statute of limita-

tions.

Damages are not available from the State Defen-

dants named in their official capacities because

they are not persons.

Damages from the State Defendants named in

their individual capacities are limited by 42 USC

§ 198 1a.

The actions are barred by the doctrine of estop-

pel.

Respectfully Submitted,

/s/ Andrew Tevington

Howard J. Pallotta, OB #11147

General Counsel

Andrew Tevington, OBA #11545

Deputy General Counsel

Oklahoma Health Care Authority

P.O. Drawer 18497

4545 N. Lincoln Blvd., Suite 124

Oklahoma City, OK 73105

(405) 522-7431 Fax (405) 522-7472

Attorney for State Defendants

App. 49

CERTIFICATE OF MAILING

On this 17th day of July, 2002, the undersigned

caused the above and foregoing document to be placed

in the U.S. Mail, postage prepaid, and addressed to:

Steven E. Holden

Michael S. Ashworth

Stephen J. Capron

Holcen & McKenna

200 Reunion Center

9 East Fourth Street

Tulsa, Oklahoma 74103

Kevin Gordon

Timilia S. Rother

Charles Godwin

1800 Mid-America Tower

20 North Broadway

Oklahoma City, Oklahoma 73102

/s/ Andrew Tevington

Andrew Tevington

App. 50

IN THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT

FOR THE WESTERN DISTRICT

OF OKLAHOMA

ALFRED MILTON EVANS, an

individual, and SOUTHEASTERN

OKLAHOMA FAMILY SER-

VICES, INC., a corporation,

and

)

)

)

)

)

DOTTIE R., an individual, )

TOMMY W., an individual, )

RHONDA C., an individual, )

OLIVE D.., as an individual

and as legal guardian to

ELIZABETH E., BRIAN E. and )

DOUGLAS E., as well as all )

those similarly situated, )

ae )

Plaintiffs, ) Case No.

' CIV-01-252-W

)

)

)

)

}

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

)

Vs.

MIKE FOGARTY, in his individual

capacity, as well as in his official

capacity as Chief Executive Officer

for the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority, TERRI FRITZ, in her

individual capacity, as well as in

her official capacity as Director of

Behavioral Health for the Okla-

homa Health Care Authority, DR.

LYNN MITCHELL, in his individ-

ual capacity, as well as in his

official capacity as State Medicaid

Director for the Oklahoma Health

Care Authority, DANA BROWN,

App. 51

in her individual capacity, as well

as in her official capacity as Legis-

lative Liaison from the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority, T.J.

BRICKNER, JR. in his official

capacity as Vice-Chairman of the

Oklahoma Health Care Authority,

RONALD ROUNDS, O.D., in his

official capacity as a member of the

Oklahoma Health Care Authority

Board of Directors, WAYNE

HOFFMAN, in his official capacity

as a member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority Board of

Directors, JERRY HUMBLE, in

his official capacity as member

of the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Board of Directors,

CHARLES ED McFALL, in his

official capacity as Chairman of

the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Board of Directors,

GEORGE MILLER, in his official

capacity as member of the

Oklahoma Health Care Authority

Board of Directors, and LYLE

ROGGOW, in his official capacity

as member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority

Board of Directors,

ee ee ee i a a a a a a ee, Ae Le, ee, ee, Le 4444, 4 444

Defendants.

App. 52

ORDER

(Filed Feb. 12, 2001)

I. Introduction

Before the Court is Plaintiffs’ Application for

Temporary Restraining Order and Temporary Injunc-

tion filed on February 6, 2001. Defendants oppose the

motion and filed a response brief on February 8,

2001. The Court heid a hearing on the motion for

temporary restraining order on February 8-9, 2001.

All parties to the suit were represented by counsel at

the hearing.

The plaintiffs in this case are of two types. It

appears the primary plaintiffs (“plaintiffs”) in this

matter are Alfred M. Evans and Southeastern Okla-

homa Family Services, Inc. (““SOFS”). SOFS is a

provider of mental health care in southeastern Okla-

homa. The secondary plaintiffs (“class”) appear to be

patients of SOFS that would be harmed if defendants’

alleged conduct continues.

The defendant is, in essence, the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority (“HCA”). Plaintiffs are suing

certain HCA’s officers (in their individual and official

capacities) and the board of directors (in their official

capacities only). The HCA is responsible for the

disbursement of Medicaid funds to state-run, or state-

contracted, Medicaid facilities.

Plaintiffs claim they have been subject to arbi-

trary and capricious actions by the defendants. Spe-

cifically, plaintiffs claim that due to Evans and

App. 53

SOFS’s open criticism of the current Medicaid sys-

tem, SOFS has been subject to actions such as:

1. the use of abusive auditing tactics;

2. restriction of SOFS’s cash flow trough [sic]

arbitrary denials of reimbursement;

3. the exertion of improper influence over Medi-

caid reimbursement plans;

4. arbitrary delays in providing undisputedly

appropriate reimbursements, and

5. denial of reasonable and adequate reim-

bursement rates.

As a result of these actions, plaintiffs assert six

causes of action. Plaintiffs claim defendants’ actions

1) violate their First Amendment rights, 2) violate

their due process rights, 3) violate the Boren

Amendment guarantees of reasonable and adequate

reimbursements under the Medicaid program, 4)

violate the Boren Amendment guarantees of reason-

able access to and adequate quality of Medicaid

services, 5) violate the Medicaid Act’s guarantee of

medical services that are of sufficient amount, dura-

tion, and scope, and 5) violate 42 U.S.C. § 6009 guar-

antees of appropriate treatment, services, and

habilitation for disabled persons.

Defendants deny the allegations and submit that

their actions have been neither arbitrary, nor capri-

cious. They contend that the actions were legiti-

mately taken to enforce state and federal regulations

App. 54

and to ensure the well-being of the mentally ill popu-

lation in southeastern Oklahoma.

II. Background

The dispute between the parties arises from the

complex relationship between the parties to this suit.

Plaintiff Alfred M. Evans previously owned Texoma

Mental Health Services (“Texoma”), a Medicaid

mental health provider in southeastern Oklahoma.

Mr. Evans, is a vocal critic of Oklahoma’s current

system of Medicaid funding. He has lobbied various

government officials, including the Governor and

various state legislators, to provide greater funding

for private medical care providers in the state. As a

result of his and others’ efforts, the State appropri-

ated additional funding for state supported, privat-

ized medical care. According to plaintiffs, due to

Evans’ crusade for Medicaid reform in Oklahoma,

defendants terminated the State’s Medicaid contract

with Texoma.

Defendants deny that Texoma’s contract was

terminated as a result of Evans’ political activities.

Rather, defendants contend, Texoma’s contract was

cancelled as a result of substantial billing irregulari-

ties that were uncovered through the HCA auditing

process.

Without Medicaid reimbursement funds, Texoma

entered into bankruptcy. In an effort to continue ser-

vices, Evans started SOFS, a new non-profit mental

health company. In order to keep his involvement with

App. 55

SOFS from the defendants, Evans is not directly

affiiated with SOFS but rather works as a consult-

ant.

SOF began operations in the summer of 2000.

Within a few months of Texoma’s bankruptcy filing,

substantially all of Texoma’s personnel and client

base transferred to SOFS. SOFS offered medical

services throughout southeastern Oklahoma with

offices in Hugo, Durant, and Ardmore. SOFS serves

approximately 740 mentally ill individuals in a 10

county area.

The HCA conducted an audit of SOFS’s Hugo

facility on October 19, 2000. During that audit,

certain records were inspected and cataloged. While

complete findings were not issued at that time, the

auditors notified SOFS officials that various viola-

tions were taking place.

Evans continued his efforts on behalf of Medicaid

reform by filing an Oklahoma Open Records Act

request on November 22, 2000. In it, Evans sought

detailed information on the RCA’s spending and

administrative practices. Two business days later, on

November 28, 2000, SOFS’s Ardmore facility was the

~ subject of an audit conducted by the HCA. Once again

complete findings were not made on site, but the

auditors noted various violations of HCA policy.

Plaintiffs claim, however, that the exit interview with

the HCA auditors was very positive and complimentary.

The auditors apparently made “commendations” and

were helpful in devising solutions to the apparent

App. 56

deficiencies. On December 4, 2000, the HCA sent a

letter to Evans informing him that his Oklahoma

Open Records Act request would be expensive, and

that Evans would be responsible for bearing the cost.

The letter also gave Evans an opportunity to with-

draw his request. Evans declined and informed the

HCA of his intention to proceed with the request on

December 19, 2000.

The HCA released the full results of the Hugo

audit on December 14, 2000, the results of the Ard-

more audit followed on the same day Evans renewed

his records act request — December 19, 2000. Both

audits revealed deficiencies in SOFS’s performance

and the State sought recoupment of funds in both

cases. In each report, SOFS was notified both of its

right to appeal, the findings, and of the proper proce-

dure for pursuing an appeal.

Having received no response to his open records

request by the end of December, Evans again sought

the information in early January, 2001. At that time,

discussions with the HCA revealed an apparent mis-

communication; Evans was informed that his re-

newed request had not been received but that it was

now going forward. On January 8, 2001, the HCA.

notified SOFS of its cancellation of SOFS’s Medicaid

contracts; while the letter mentioned “serious defi-

ciencies” in SOFS’s performance, the HCA chose to

terminate the contract without cause. Immediately

following the termination letter, the HCA notified

SOFS that it was being placed on “or review” status.

This “on review” status apparently requires SOFS to

App. 57

submit all its billing manually rather than through

the electronic system normally used.

Negotiations between the parties continued and

on January 19, 2001, after a meeting with state

representative Randal Erwin, the HCA chose to

temporarily suspend the termination of SOFS’s

Medicaid contracts. Currently, the Medicaid contracts

are continuing, but SOFS is required to manually

submit all of its billings.

Ilt. Legal Standards

Plaintiffs’ motion for a temporary restraining

order seeks to maintain what they call the “anti-

status quo.” In essence, plaintiffs seek to have this

Court order the defendants to reinstate plaintiffs’

automatic billing privileges and keep the contract

termination in abeyance until after a full hearing on

the merits of this case.

When the party opposing a motion for a tempo-

rary restraining order actually receives notices of the

application, the procedure that is followed does not

functionally differ from that on an application for a

preliminary injunction. 7'LX Acquisition Corp. uv.

Telex Corp., 679 F.Supp. 1022, 1028 (W.D. Okla.

1987); see also WRIGHT, MILLER & KANE, FEDERAL

PRACTICE AND PROCEDURE: Civil 2d §2951. When the

opposizg party has an opportunity to be heard at the

TRO hearing, the court may properly treat the motion

as one for a preliminary injunction. Levas & Levas v.

Village of Antioch, Illinois, 684 F.2d 446, 448 (7th Cir.

App. 58

1982). When all parties have notice and appear at a

hearing, the higher showing contemplated by the

TRO provisions of FED.R.CIv.P. 65(b) is not necessary.

Id.

In order to merit a preliminary injunction, plain-

tiffs must establish that: (1) they have a substantial

likelihood of prevailing on the merits; (2) they will

suffer irreparable injury if they are denied the injunc-

tion; (3) its threatened injury outweighs the injury

that the opposing party will suffer under the injunc-

tion; and (4) an injunction would not be adverse to

the public interest. Autoskill, Inc. v. Natl Educ.

Support Sys., Inc., 994 F.2d 1476, 1487 (10th Cir.)

(citation omitted), cert. denied, 510 U.S. 916 (1993).

Plaintiffs must make a heightened showing

because they request the Court to command defen-

dants to alter the status quo by returning plaintiffs to

an automatic billing system. When plaintiffs seek

such a preliminary mandatory injunction, they must

meet a higher standard than if they were simply

trying to maintain the status quo. Malkentzos uv.

DeBuwno, 102, F.3d 50, 54 (2nd Cir. 1996). Because of

the heightened requirement for affirmative action,

plaintiffs must demonstrate that the preliminary

mandatory injunction weighs heavily in their favor.

App. 59

IV. Analysis

Likelihood of Prevailing on the Merits

Plaintiffs bring six causes of action in the present

suit. Specifically, plaintiffs assert that defendants’

retributive actions 1) constitute a prior restraint on

speech in violation of the First Amendment, 2) violate

plaintiffs’ due process rights by breeching [sic] the

implied covenant of good faith in the Medicaid con-

tracts, 3) violate the rights to reasonable and ade-

quate reimbursement for services afforded by the

Boren Amendment, 42 U.S.C. § 1396(a)(a)(13)(A), 4)

violate the right of reasonable access to medical care

for patients under the Boren amendment, 5) violate

patients’ rights to adequate amount, duration, and

scope of care afforded by the Medicaid Act’s imple-

menting regulations, 42 C.F.R. § 440.230, and 6)

violate patients’ rights to appropriate treatment,

services, and habilitation for disabilities pursuant to

42 U.S.C. § 6009. Plaintiffs bears [sic] the burden of

proving they are likely to succeed on these claims.

First Amendment Claim

In the view of the Court, the plaintiffs have

shown a substantial likelihood of success on the

merits of their First Amendment Claim. The core of

plaintiffs’ claim is that defendants have retaliated

against them because of Evans’ lobbying and other

political activities. Retaliation for the exercise of First

Amendment rights is an accepted cause of action. See

Board of County Commissioners, Wabaunsee County,

App. 60

Kansas v. Umbehr, 518 U.S. 668 (1996). In the pre-

sent case, the evidence presented during the hearing

demonstrates an uncanny correlation, between Evans’

exercise of free speech rights and administrative

actions taken by the HCA.

When Evans opposed the HCA by lobbying the

legislature for additional funding his predecessor

company, Texoma, lost its Medicaid contract. When

Evans submitted an Oklahoma Open Record Act

request to the HCA, the HCA instituted an audit of

SOFS’s Ardmore facility two business days later.

While some discrepancies were found, the overall

tone or the audit was positive; Dr. Baumberger testi-

fied that the auditors were complimentary and gave

numerous commendations to the SOFS staff.

To further add to the series of coinciaences, the

HCA contacted Evans and gave him an opportunity to

withdraw his open records act request a few days

after the audit. In addition, on December 19, 2000,

the day Evans renewed his request for information,

the HCA released the audit report that harshly

criticized SOFS’s Ardmore facility even though the

auditors had been very complimentary during their

exit interview.

The series of coincidences continued into January

2001. The HCA claims to have misplaced Evans’

information request. Evans again renewed his re-

quest on January 3, 2001 and on January 8, 2001,

SOFS received notice that the HCA was terminating

App. 61

all of SOFS’s Medicaid contracts. This letter was

followed by notice that SOFS was being put on an “on

review” status mandating manual billing procedures

on January 10, 2001. |

In an attempt to negotiate a compromise with the

HCA, plaintiffs again met with HCA officials on

January 19, 2001. This time, the meeting was in the

presence of State Representative Randall Erwin. At

this Meeting, the evidence appears to show that the

HCA’s legislative liaison, Dana Brown, made dispar-

aging remarks regarding Evans and SOFS. Testi-

mony from both Dr. Baumberger and Mr. Evans

shows that HCA was aware of Evans’ involvement

with SOFS and Texoma. Ms. Brown’s comments

indicated that she believed Evans to be “playing

games” with the HCA and that it would not be toler-

ated. Plaintiffs contend the timing correlation

between Evans’ political actions and HCA adminis-

trative actions shows that HCA was retaliating

against Evans and SOFS. Their claim is further

bolstered by the evidence showing Ms. Brown held a

very negative view of Mr. Evans and the companies

he was associated with.

The defendants claim the timing of these events

is purely coincidental. They presented evidence to

show that the audit system is semi-independent

of the HCA. Jana Webb, the supervisor of the Sur-

veillance Utilization and Review System (SURS),

testified at the hearing that SURS is completely

responsible for auditing Medicaid providers. She

also testified that she had no knowledge of Evans’

App. 62

information request and that she instituted the SOFS

audits of her own accord. She further testified that

she made the recommendation to terminate the SOFS

contracts and to place them on an “on review” status

based solely upon her audit findings.

Defendants do not deny that Ms. Webb should

have been notified if Mr. Evans’ information request

was being properly processed. Since the information

request specifically sought information from Ms.

Webb’s department, she should have been informed of

Evans’ information request. Defendants also do not

deny that the complaints that supposedly caused Ms.

Webb to instigate the SOFS audits were made by

persons fired from SOFS. Defendants merely claim

the information in the complaints was proven credi-

ble when the audits revealed missing files.

SOFS is a relatively new corporation. Plaintiffs

admit that some record keeping errors have occurred

as the business has begun to grow and mature.

However, rather than give plaintiffs adequate oppor-

tunity to correct the faulty procedures revealed

during the audits, defendants terminated the Medi-

caid contracts less than one month after the audit

reports were complete; they did not even leave

enough time for the appeals process to be completed.’

' After discussions with plaintiffs, the defendants have

placed the contract termination in abeyance pending completion

of the administrative appeal process.

App. 63

The Court believes the plaintiffs have shown that

they are likely to succeed in showing that the defen-

dants took certain retaliatory administrative actions

in response to the exercise of First Amendment rights

by Mr. Evans.

Due Process Claim

The Court believes that plaintiffs have shown a

substantial likelihood of success on the merits with

regard to their due process claim as well. From the

discussion above, it appears that the HCA may have

acted in bad faith in terminating SOFS’s Medicaid

contracts. Every commercial contract contains an

implied covenant of good faith and fair dealing. 12A

Okl1.St.Ann. § 1-203. Because the plaintiffs have

shown a substantial likelihood of success in showing

defendants’ bad faith, the Court finds there to be a

substantial likelihood of success on plaintiffs’ due

process contract claim.

Statutory Claims

Plaintiffs assert four statutory claims based upon

two statutes and one regulation. They claim rights

guaranteed in the Boren Amendment, 42 U.S.C.

§ 1396(a)(a)(13)(A), the Medicaid Act’s implementing

regulations, 42 C.F.R. § 440.230, and the Medicaid

Act itself, 42 U.S.C. § 6009, are all violated by defen-

dants actions.

App. 64

The Court finds that while some of plaintiffs

claims in this regard may not be successful, they have

shown a likelihood of success on the remainder of

their claims. The Court notes that the Boren

Amendment, 42 U.S.C. § 1396(a)(a)(13)(A) (1996), as

relied upon by the plaintiffs was repealed in 1997 and

replaced with a procedure for ensuring adequate

input into the reimbursement rate determination

process. 42 U.S.C. § 1396(a)(aX13)(A) (2000). The

statute as cited by plaintiffs no longer guarantees a

right of reasonable access to medical facilities.’ Be-

cause their claims regarding adequate reimburse-

ment and reasonable access to facilities are based on

a partially repealed statute, the Court finds that,

while plaintiffs may in fact prevail on these claims,

they have not shown a substantial likelihood of

success on the merits.

However, plaintiffs do make compelling argu-

ments with respect to their other statutory claims.

The rights guaranteed by 42 C.F.R. §440.230 and 42

U.S.C. § 6009*° appear to be infringed by defendants

* Plaintiffs presumably intend to pursue their claim to a

“reasonable reimbursement” based upon the new language of 42

U.S.C. § 1396(aXaX13).

* Plaintiffs have notified the Court that while the language

guaranteeing the right to reasonable access to medical services

has been removed from 42 U.S.C. § 1396(aXa\(13), it appears in

42 U.S.C. § 1396(aaX10\B). The Court presumes plaintiffs

intend to proceed under this statute.

“ The Court notes that 42 U.S.C. § 6009 was repealed by Act

of October 30, 2000, Pub. L. No. 106-402 § 401. However, the

(Continued on following page)

App. 65

actions. While there is some dispute as to the effects

of terminating SOFS as a medical service provider,

the Court believes defendants actions in terminating

SOFS as a provider, without ensuring the availability

of adequate replacement medical facilities (see ir-

reparable harm analysis below), demonstrate a

substantial likelihood of success with respect to some

of plaintiffs’ statutory claims.

Plaintiffs’ Irreparable Injury

Plaintiffs claim a variety of irreparable harms

will befall them if this Court refuses to issue a man-

datory injunction. Plaintiffs claim that failure to

issue an injunction will result in an unconstitutional

prior restraint of free speech. They also claim that

SOFS will be forced out of business, and that the

patients currently served by SOFS will either go

untreated or will receive inadequate care.

Harm to Evans

Prior restraints give rise to a heavy presumption

of unconstitutionality. Bantam Books, Inc. v. Sulli-

van, 372 U.S. 58 (1963). Plaintiffs have shown that

they feel threatened by defendants’ actions and that

there is a substantial likelihood that their speech has

been effectively chilled. Defendants simply deny any

rights previously codified in 42 U.S.C. § 6009 are substantially

reinstated in Pub. L. No. 106-402 § 109. The Court presumes the

plaintiffs wish to bring their action undcr this section.

App. 66

connection between Evans’ political speech and their

actions; therefore, they deny that any First Amend-

ment right is at issue. If defendants’ actions are

chilling plaintiffs’ speech, there is no doubt that

plaintiffs will suffer irreparable harm if an injunction

does not issue.

Harm to SOFS

Plaintiffs also claim that SOFS will be forced out

of business should the Court decline to issue an

injunction. Plaintiffs have provided evidence that, in

their line of business, most organizations operate on a

shoestring budget. Should their cash flow be dis-

rupted for any length of time, they will not be able to

continue operations. By placing SOFS on the “on

review” manual billing system, the evidence shows

that defendants have effectively slowed SOFS’s cash

flow to a trickle. The “on review” manual billing

system requires that, for each medical procedure

billed to the State, the plaintiffs must attach docu-

mentation proving that the procedure was, in fact,

performed. While this system may seem benign, the

evidence presented during the hearing shows that

being placed on the “on review” system is a death

sentence for virtually all providers placed on it. While

defendants readily admit that numerous providers

have been placed on “on review” status over the

years, they are more reluctant to admit that no

corporate medical provider placed on the list has ever

App. 67

gotten off of it; they have all gone out of business.°

The reasons that the manual system is a “death

sentence” appear to be numerous. In order to even

submit the billings to the state, clinicians’ reports

must be coilected and attached to lengthy, compli-

cated forms. Even well-trained personnel appear to

have difficulty completing to [sic] forms. After they

are sent to the state, the billings must be manually

reviewed by SURS personnel and then approved by

the HCA before being manually entered into the

billing system. Even then, the computer may reject

the claim for a variety of pre-determined rationale.

The evidence shows that, at best, the turnaround

time for a properly filed claim is two to three weeks.

However, sometimes the delay may exceed a number

of months. The “on review” system appears to be “an

anvil that has worn out many a hammer.”

Defendants claim that these harms to SOFS are

not irreparable. They allege that all harms stated are

merely economic and that if the plaintiffs prevail at

trial, money damages will be sufficient to compensate

them. However, the Court finds the precarious nature

of plaintiffs’ finances, coupled with the additional

burden of the “on review” system clearly show that

* Defendants claim that one corporate entity has survived

the “on review” procedure. However, from the evidence pre-

sented, it appears this provider has not been removed from the

“on review” status, but has merely survived for five months. In

addition, it is unclear if this “surviving” provider serves a

clientele similar to SOFS’s.

App. 68

SOFS will go out of business and lose personnel

should injunctive relief be denied. Therefore, the

Court finds that SOFS will suffer irreparable injury

should the Court decline to grant injunctive relief.

Harm to Patients

While the Court believes that harm will befall

both Evans and SOFS should injunctive relief be

denied, failure to grant injunctive relief will cause the

greatest amount of harm to the mentally ill patients

served by SOFS. The evidence shows that SOFS is

one of the few providers willing and able to care for

the chronically ill mental patients in southeastern

Oklahoma. Many of the chronic patients that SOFS

serves have been turned down by other mental ser-

vice providers in the region. One of the doctors em-

ployed with SOFS, Dr. Baumberger, characterized

SOFS as the provider of last resort for hundreds of

chronic mental patients.

In addition, the evidence presented during the

hearing shows that southeastern Oklahoma has an

unusually high need for mental health services.

Another doctor employed with SOFS, Dr. Foster,

testified that there is an unusually high incidence of

inter-generational mental problems in the area. In

addition, due to the poverty of the region, many

patients do not have the necessary transportation to

travel to medical providers. SOFS is one of the few

providers that offer in-home care for a number of its

patients.

App. 69

Most convincingly, plaintiffs showed that there

are simply not enough facilities in the region to

absorb the patient load if SOFS were suddenly forced

out of business. SOFS serves approximately 740

patients. Of those patients, testimony showed that

roughly 80% are chronically ill and extremely difficult

to place elsewhere. In addition, a significant number

of patients served by SOFS are children. Testimony

showed that other facilities are generally not

equipped or staffed to deal with the special needs of

mentally ill children. While defendants claim that

roughly ten other mental facilities stand ready to

accept those that [sic] displaced should SOFS close

down, they did not counter plaintiffs’ evidence that, at

best, 20% of SOFS’s patients could be transferred,

leaving many children and the chronically ill to fend

for themselves.

Plaintiffs also produced convincing evidence that,

even if places could be found at other providers, such

a sudden change would likely cause irreparable

damage to many of the patient population. The testi-

mony also showed that unless a proper transition

could be made, some patients will suffer from separa-

tion anxiety or abandonment. In many cases, this

anxiety would result in the need for hospitalization.

An abrupt closing of SOFS would not provide patients

an adequate transition period.

Defendants deny that patients will suffer any

harm from the closing of SOFS. They simply point to

ten different agencies in the geographic region that

accept Medicaid and claim that the patients will be

App. 70

cared for. They did not dispute Dr. Foster’s predic-

tions of numerous patient hospitalizations should

SOFS close, nor did they dispute his claim that the

chronically ill would go uncared for.

While they do not adequately refute plaintiffs’

evidence showing the irreparable harm that would

result from SOFS’s closure, defendants claim that

patients will suffer greater harm if SOFS is allowed

to remain open. They point to the lack of documenta-

tion revealed by the audits and infer that many

patients are receiving inadequate care at SOFS. The

defendants believe that documentation is inextricably

linked to the care given. However, the defendants

were not able to prove that a single patient had not

received adequate care at SOFS. The Court agrees

with Dr. Baumberger that while proper documenta-

tion is important, the level of care provided is more

important than the level of documentation recorded.

Balance of Harms

As detailed above, the plaintiffs will suffer a

number of harms should this Court refuse injunctive

relief. Plaintiff Evans will suffer an arguably uncon-

stitutional prior restraint of speech, SOFS will likely

be forced to cease business operations, and the men-

tally ill in southeastern Oklahoma will be without an

invaluable resource. Many of the patients will not be

accepted elsewhere and their condition will deterio-

rate. Clearly, the harms that will be suffered by the

plaintiffs are great.

App. 71

The question remaining is what harm will the

defendants suffer should this Court choose to grant

injunctive relief? The harm to the defendants result-

ing from a mandatory injunction appears to be slight.

The defendants claim that they have a duty to the

state to ensure that Medicaid procedures are properly

documented and performed. In essence, this amounts

to a duty to protect the public treasury. The Court

finds however, that even if an injunction mandating

plaintiffs’ return to electronic billing is issued, the

defendants should be adequately protected. The

defendants’ right to conduct audits and recoup monies

would be unaffected. In addition, plaintiffs would be

required to post a surety as required by FED.R.Civ.P.

65(c). As a final protection against improper billing,

plaintiffs have agreed to submit progress notes to

ensure the HCA receives proper documentation for

claims.

Nevertheless, defendants claim that monies that

might somehow be improperly paid to plaintiffs would

deprive other patients in the State of proper medical

care. The Court shares defendants’ concern for the

Medicaid recipients in Oklahoma but finds the pro-

tections against improper billing to be adequate to

protect the public treasury. Therefore, the Court finds

the potential harm to the plaintiffs significantly

outweighs the potential harm suffered by the defen-

dants.

App. 72

Public Interest

The final factor to consider is the effect of injunc-

tive relief on the public. Once again, the Court finds

the factor weighs in favor of granting injunctive

relief. The plaintiffs have provided the Court with

ample evidence in the form of affidavits and testi-

mony that the public will be better served if SOFS

remains in business pending the outcome of a trial on

the merits.

Plaintiffs have produced evidence to show that

the demise of SOFS would cause an increased burden

on law enforcement in the region. Because law en-

forcement is required to respond to every disturbance,

even a small increase in the number of mentally

unstable people in the general populace would stretch

current law enforcement resources beyond their

capacity.

In addition, the sudden closure of SOFS would

hurt the community as a whole. As the evidence has

demonstrated, many individuals currently receiving

care from SOFS would suddenly be without. Because

many of these individuals are dangerous to them-

selves and others if their conditions are not properly

treated, a failure to obtain care could have significant

repercussions.

Defendants counter these arguments by stating

that the patients will receive better care at other

facilities. Unfortunately, as discussed above, defen-

dants are unable to show the Court that these [sic]

many of these displaced patients will receive any care,

App. 73

much iess better care. Therefore, the Court finds that

the public interest is better served by the issuance of

a mandatory injunction.

Vv. Conclusion

As detailed above, plaintiffs have showed that

each of the four injunctive factors weigh in their

favor. While plaintiffs may not succeed on every claim

they assert, they have shown a substantial likelihood

of success on the merits for the majority of asserted

claims. They have also shown that they will suffer

irreparable harm should injunctive relief be denied,

that the balance of harms weighs substantially in

their favor, and that the public interest is best served

by the granting of an injunction. In addition, the

Court finds the plaintiffs have met the heightened

burden required for the granting of a preliminary

mandatory injunction. Therefore, fer the reasons set

forth more fully above, the Court:

1. GRANTS plaintiffs’ motion for a _ pre-

liminary mandatory injunction; and

2. ORDERS defendants to return SOFS to

the automated billing procedure; and

3. ORDERS plaintiffs to timely submit to

\ HCA all documentation that would be

required under a manual billing system;

and

4. ORDERS defendants to hold the termi-

nation of SOFS’s Medicaid contracts in

App. 74

abeyance pending an outcome on the

merits of the present suit; and

ORDERS plaintiffs to post a bond in

the amount of $40,000 pursuant to

FreD.R.Civ.P. 65(c).

ENTERED this 12th day of February, 2001.

/s/ Lee R. West

ul

LEE R. WEST

UNITED STATES

DISTRICT JUDGE

App. 75

UNITED STATES COURT OF APPEALS

TENTH CIRCUIT

ALFRED MILTON EVANS,

an individual; SOUTHEAST-

ERN OKLAHOMA FAMILY

SERVICES, INC., a

corporation,

Plaintiffs-Appellees,

Vv.

MIKE FOGARTY, in his

individual capacity, as well

as in his official capacity as No. 04-6007

Chief Executive Officer for (W.D. Oklahoma)

the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority; TERRIE FRITZ, aA ok Se

in her individual capacity, as

well as in her official capacity

as Director of Behavioral

Health for the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority;

DANA BROWN, in her indi-

vidual capacity, as well as in

her official capacity as Legis-

lative Liaison from the Okla-

homa Health Care Authority,

Defendants-Appellants,

and

DR. LYNN MITCHELL, in

his individual capacity, as

well as in his official capacity

App. 76

as State Medicaid Director for

the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority; T.J. BRICKNER,

JR., in his official capacity as

Vice-Chairman for the Okla-

homa Health Care Authority;

RONALD ROUNDS, O.D.,

in his official capacity as

member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority Board

of Directors; WAYNE HOFF-

MAN, in his official capacity

as member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority Board

of Directors; JERRY HUM-

BLE, in his official capacity

as member of the Oklahoma

Health Care Authority Board

of Directors; CHARLES

ED McFALL, in his official

capacity as Chairman of the

Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Board of Directors;

GEORGE MILLER, in his

official capacity as member

of the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Board of Directors;

LYLE ROGGOW, in his

official capacity as member

of the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority Board of Directors,

Defendants.

if

App.

ORDER AND JUDGMENT"

(Filed Jan. 26, 2005)

Before KELLY, ANDERSON, and

O'BRIEN, Circuit Judges.

Defendants Mike Fogarty, Terrie Fritz and Dana

Brown, employees of the Oklahoma Health Care

Authority (““OHCA”), seek an interlocutory appeal of

the district court’s order denying their request to file

a third motion for summary judgment asserting that

they are entitled to

This text is long and has been trimmed here. Open the source document for the complete record.

This is a copy of a public record, reproduced as it was published. It is not legal advice, and it may not be the version a court would rely on. Check the official source before you cite it.

A word about cookies

We need a few to keep you signed in and the library working. The rest help us see which pages people use and where they get stuck. They stay off unless you say yes.